Opinion

Lexington Insurance v. Western Pennsylvania Hospital

  • 423 F.3d 318
Court
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
Filed
Sep 9, 2005
Status
Published
On the bench
Becker, Fuentes, Puentes, Van Antwerpen Becker
Cited by
2 cases
Authority
More cited than 40.1%

The opinion

Opinions of the United

2005 Decisions States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

9-9-2005

Lexington Ins Co v. W PA Hosp

Precedential or Non-Precedential: Precedential

Docket No. 04-1642

Follow this and additional works at: http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_2005

Recommended Citation

"Lexington Ins Co v. W PA Hosp" (2005). 2005 Decisions. Paper 485.

http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_2005/485

This decision is brought to you for free and open access by the Opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit at Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in 2005 Decisions by an authorized administrator of Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. For more information, please contact Benjamin.Carlson@law.villanova.edu.

PRECEDENTIAL

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 04-1642

LEXINGTON INSURANCE COMPANY

v.

WESTERN PENNSYLVANIA HOSPITAL; ELIZABETH

LIEB; HARRY LIEB, h/w, Parents, and Natural Guardians of

KATHRYN LIEB, a Minor

Western Pennsylvania Hospital,

Appellant

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. No. 03-cv-1675)

District Judge: Honorable Thomas M. Hardiman

Argued June 7, 2005

Before: FUENTES, VAN ANTWERPEN, and BECKER,

Circuit Judges.

(Filed: September 9, 2005)

OPINION OF THE COURT

THOMAS E. BIRSIC (ARGUED)

CHARLES E. McCHESNEY II

Kirkpatrick & Lockhart LLP

Henry W. Oliver Building

535 Smithfield Street

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Attorneys for Appellant

EDWARD B. WOOD

Wood Group, P.C.

Two Chatham Center, Suite 1050

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Attorney for Appellant

STEPHEN A. COZEN (ARGUED)

DEBORAH M. MINKOFF

NANCY STUART PORTNEY

Cozen O’Connor

1900 Market Street

Philadelphia, PA 19103

Attorneys for Appellee

BECKER, Circuit Judge.

Lexington Insurance Company (“Lexington”) sought a

declaratory judgment in the District Court that it is not liable for

payment of a medical malpractice claim against its insured,

Western Pennsylvania Hospital (“West Penn”), because West Penn

notified Lexington of the claim more than a year and a half after

the policy period ended. The District Court found for Lexington,

determining that the claim was governed by Lexington’s excess

coverage provision created by Endorsement #007 of the policy,

which provides follow-form, claims-made coverage; and that the

policy required West Penn to notify Lexington of any claims before

the close of the policy period, which it failed to do.

West Penn relies on Endorsement #001, which provided that

the Lexington policy would apply immediately over the coverage

limit of the Pennsylvania CAT Fund (described infra p.4). West

Penn contends that Endorsement #007 and Endorsement #001 are

mutually exclusive, such that, where, as here, the CAT Fund took

responsibility for paying the underlying claim, the notice provisions

2

contained in Lexington’s occurrence policy—which permits a more

flexible time limit for reporting claims than under Endorsement

#007—should apply instead of Endorsement #007’s notice

provisions. The District Court, however, rejected West Penn’s

argument that Endorsement #001 superseded Endorsement #007,

and held that West Penn’s failure to timely report the claim relieves

Lexington of liability under the terms of the policy. For the

reasons that follow, we agree with the District Court that the two

Endorsements are complementary and not exclusive, and that

Endorsement #007’s time bar applies.

In view of this conclusion, this appeal turns on whether

West Penn gave Lexington notice of the claim during the policy

period. West Penn’s General Counsel admitted that she did not

report the Lieb claim until February 12, 2003, well after the policy

period, and the first correspondence in the record between West

Penn and Lexington regarding the Lieb claim is a letter dated

February 12, 2003. Nevertheless, West Penn relies on an internal

Lexington document, called an “HPL Create Sheet,” which

contained a notation that arguably suggests that West Penn reported

the medical malpractice claim to Lexington during the policy

period. While we find this document to be (barely) admissible

evidence, notwithstanding strong objections to it on authentication

and hearsay grounds, we conclude that its probative value is too

slight to enable West Penn to survive summary judgment.

Neither is West Penn’s notice contention supported by the

speculative affidavit and deposition testimony of West Penn’s then-

Assistant General Counsel, Karen Barringer, who merely assumed

that Lexington had been made aware of the claim. This absence of

evidence, coupled with the concession of West Penn’s General

Counsel that West Penn did not provide notice during the policy

period, compels the conclusion that a reasonable jury could not find

compliance with the notice requirement. We will therefore affirm

the order of the District Court granting summary judgment in favor

of Lexington.

I. Factual and Procedural Background

On May 25, 2001, Elizabeth and Harry Lieb filed a medical

3

malpractice claim in state court against West Penn, alleging that,

eleven years earlier, the Lieb’s daughter, Kathryn, suffered long-

term brain damage as a result of West Penn’s negligent delay in

performing a caesarean section. West Penn submitted a “Notice of

Claim” to its primary professional liability insurer, PHICO

Insurance Company (“PHICO”), under the terms of its policy.

PHICO provided West Penn with institutional professional liability

coverage for medical incident claims made against West Penn and

reported to PHICO between January 1, 2001, and January 1, 2002

(“the PHICO policy”).

The PHICO policy was a “claims-made” policy, which

provided coverage for any claim actually reported during the policy

period, even if the incident occurred in prior years. See St. Paul

Fire & Marine Ins. Co. v. Barry, 438 U.S. 531, 535 n.3 (1978).

The PHICO policy states that it will pay for damages “caused by

a medical incident which occurs on or after the Initial Effective

Date . . . and for which claim is reported to Company during the

policy period.” (emphasis added).

PHICO, however, did not ultimately pay the Lieb claim

because it referred the matter to the Medical Professional Liability

Catastrophe Fund (“the CAT Fund”), which is governed by the

Pennsylvania Health Care Services Malpractice Act, 40 Pa. Stat.

Ann. § 1301.101 et. seq. When a claim is made against a health

care provider more than four years after the incident giving rise to

the claim, the CAT Fund takes responsibility, in the place of a

primary insurer, for defending the claim and for indemnifying the

health care provider for the first one million dollars. Such claims

are commonly referred to as “605 claims.” Because the Lieb claim

was asserted more than four years after the occurrence giving rise

to it, the CAT Fund assumed PHICO’s responsibility for defending

West Penn in the ensuing litigation. As it emerged, however, the

damages resulting from the Lieb claim exceeded the one million

dollars of CAT Fund coverage.

During this same period, Lexington provided two types of

4

coverage to West Penn.1 First, it provided liability coverage on an

occurrence basis as set forth in Lexington’s pre-printed policy

form (“Lexington’s occurrence policy”). In contrast to a claims-

made policy, an occurrence policy provides coverage if the

incident giving rise to the claim occurred during the policy period,

regardless of when the claim is ultimately brought against the

insured, provided the claim is reported to the insurer “as soon as

practicable.” See City of Harrisburg v. Int’l Surplus Lines Ins.

Co., 596 F. Supp. 954, 960-61 (M.D. Pa. 1984), aff’d w/o opinion

770 F.2d 1067 (3d Cir. 1985).

Second, Lexington provided excess coverage for medical

professional liability over and above the primary insurer’s policy

limits (“Lexington’s excess policy”). This expansion of coverage

was effected by Endorsement #007 which provided excess

coverage to West Penn on proof that it had purchased primary

medical liability coverage. This excess policy was, by its terms,

“follow-form, claims-made” coverage, meaning that the Lexington

policy incorporated the terms and conditions of the primary

PHICO policy for medical malpractice claims. As mentioned

above, the PHICO policy extended coverage to claims that were

both “made and reported” during the policy period, even if the

injury occurred prior to the policy period. Because the Lieb claim

exceeded the coverage limits under the CAT Fund and the PHICO

policy, Lexington’s excess policy was implicated.

Endorsement #007 of the Lexington Policy provided, in

relevant part:

Medical Professional Liability–Follow Form

PROVIDES CLAIMS-MADE COVERAGE—PLEASE

READ CAREFULLY

....

Insuring Agreement IA–Medical Professional Liability

Coverage

1

The Lexington policy consists of a Declarations page, a

Forms Schedule, a Schedule of Underlying Insurance, a pre-

printed policy form, and twelve endorsements.

5

Insofar as coverage is available to the Insured in

the underlying insurance as set forth in the Schedule of

Underlying Insurance, this policy applies to liability

arising out of medical incidents. All of the terms and

conditions of said underlying insurance shall apply to this

insuring agreement except as otherwise expressly stated

herein.

The dispute on appeal arises out terms of Endorsement #007 and

the interplay between Endorsement #007 and Endorsement #001,

described below.

The 2001 Lexington Policy expired on December 31, 2001.

On the last day of the PHICO and Lexington policy period, West

Penn advised Lexington of 23 claims, but Lexington contends that

the Lieb claim was not among those discussed. Lexington submits

that West Penn did not give notice of the Lieb claim until February

12, 2003, more than a year after the policy ended. As West Penn

failed to notify Lexington of the Lieb claim until after the policy

terminated, Lexington asserts it should not be required to cover the

claim.

Lexington filed suit against West Penn seeking a

declaratory judgment that it could deny coverage for the Lieb

claim. On cross-motions for summary judgment, the District Court

granted summary judgment for Lexington. The District Court held

that the Lexington insurance policy was unambiguous in requiring

West Penn to provide notice of medical malpractice claims during

the policy period, as required by Endorsement #007’s follow-form,

claims-made language. Because the Court found that West Penn

had conceded that it did not report the Lieb claim to Lexington

until February 12, 2003, it held as a matter of law that Lexington

was not required to cover the claim. West Penn timely moved for

reconsideration, which was denied.

West Penn appeals the District Court’s grant of summary

judgment, asserting that (1) the Lexington policy did not require

notice of the claim to be given during the life of the policy; and

alternatively, that (2) there was a genuine issue of material fact as

to whether West Penn gave Lexington notice prior to December

6

31, 2001. We describe the basis for jurisdiction and our standard

of review in the margin.2

II. Was West Penn Required to Give Notice During the

Policy Period?

A.

West Penn disputes that it was required to give notice to

Lexington during the policy period. As this is a diversity case, we

must apply Pennsylvania law to interpret the Lexington policy.

Under Pennsylvania law, the interpretation of an insurance

contract is a matter of law for the court. Madison Constr. Co. v.

Harleysville Mut. Ins. Co., 735 A.2d 100, 106 (Pa. 1999). “Where

a provision of a policy is ambiguous, the policy provision is to be

construed in favor of the insured and against the insurer, the

drafter of the agreement. Where, however, the language of the

contract is clear and unambiguous, a court is required to give effect

to that language.” Id. (quoting Gene & Harvey Builders, Inc. v.

Pennsylvania Mfrs.’ Ass’n, Ins. Co. 517 A.2d 910, 913 (1986)).

2

The District Court had diversity jurisdiction pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1332(a), as the amount in controversy exceeds $75,000

and the citizenship of the parties is diverse—Lexington is a

Delaware corporation with its principal place of business in

Massachusetts, and West Penn is a Pennsylvania corporation with

its principal place of business in Pennsylvania. We have appellate

jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

Our review of a grant of a summary judgment motion is

plenary, and we apply the same standard as the District Court:

Summary judgment is appropriate only where, drawing all

reasonable inferences in favor of the nonmoving party, “there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is

entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c);

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986). The

moving party has the initial burden of “informing the district court

of the basis for its motion.” Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317,

323 (1986). Once the moving party has met this burden, however,

the nonmoving party must identify, by affidavits or otherwise,

specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue for trial. Id.

7

“Contractual language is ambiguous ‘if it is reasonably susceptible

of different constructions and capable of being understood in more

than one sense.’” Id. (quoting Hutchison v. Sunbeam Coal Corp.,

519 A.2d 385, 390 (1986)).

West Penn’s primary argument is that Endorsement #007’s

follow-form provision does not apply to the Lieb claim because the

CAT Fund substituted for PHICO in this case. West Penn first

points to the portion of Endorsement #007 that provides, “[i]nsofar

as coverage is available to the Insured in the underlying

insurance,” to argue that Endorsement #007’s follow-form

provision only applies when the underlying medical malpractice

claim is actually paid by the primary policy. West Penn contends

that since the CAT Fund assumed responsibility for the Lieb claim,

coverage was not “available” under the PHICO policy, and thus

Endorsement #007 does not apply.

Additionally, West Penn points to Endorsement #001,

which it contends renders Endorsement #007, and thus terms of the

PHICO policy, inapplicable to “605 claims” like the Lieb claim.

Endorsement #001, entitled “Coverage Amendment—Section 605

Claims,” provides:

In the event underlying insurance shall not be

applicable to any claim for the reason that the [CAT]

Fund shall assume or be required to assume primary

responsibility for payment . . . ,coverage under this

policy as to such claim shall apply as excess

immediately over the limit of liability of the [CAT]

Fund.

All other terms and conditions remain unchanged.

West Penn argues that Endorsement #007 and Endorsement #001

are mutually exclusive provisions, such that, where the CAT Fund

assumes responsibility for payment, the notice provisions

contained in Lexington’s occurrence policy, rather than PHICO’s

notice requirements, should control.

Condition F of the pre-printed form, see supra note 1, sets

8

forth the notice provisions for Lexington’s occurrence policy.

Entitled “Duties In The Event Of An Occurrence, Claim Or Suit,”

Condition F states that West Penn must notify Lexington “as soon

as practicable of an Occurrence which may result in a claim under

this policy.” Relying on Condition F, West Penn contends that it

was required to report the Lieb claim “as soon as practicable,”

rather than during the policy period, as would have been required

under the PHICO policy.

Lexington responds that Endorsement #001 and #007 are

complementary, not exclusive, and that the policy must be read as

a whole so as to give effect to both Endorsements. In Lexington’s

submission, the purpose of Endorsement #007 was to provide

medical professional liability coverage to West Penn so long as

West Penn purchased primary coverage. Endorsement #001, it is

contended, served a different purpose: it recognized that § 605

claims, like the Lieb claim, are particularly susceptible to “drop

down” coverage disputes because the indemnity available from the

CAT Fund may be less than the underlying policy’s limits.3

Endorsement #001 avoids this problem by providing that

“coverage under this policy as to such claim” will apply “as excess

immediately over the limit of liability” of the CAT Fund; it does

not, however, negate the policy requirements applicable to medical

professional liability coverage.

The District Court found Lexington’s arguments persuasive,

holding:

Although the Court agrees that Endorsement #001 requires

3

A “drop down” coverage dispute arises when an excess

liability insurance carrier disputes its duty to “drop-down” in order

to provide coverage below the primary insurer’s policy limits.

Such disputes are common when the primary insurer becomes

insolvent, see, e.g., J. Kinderman & Sons, Inc. v. United Nat. Ins.

Co., 593 A.2d 857, 858 (Pa. Super. Ct. 1991), but also could occur

when the CAT Fund takes responsibility for a claim and provides

less coverage than the primary policy.

9

Lexington to provide umbrella coverage to West Penn for

liability over the CAT Fund’s limit, nothing in Endorsement

#001 suggests that Endorsement #007 is ineffective when

Endorsement #001 is implicated. Contrary to West Penn’s

claims, . . . these two endorsements are complementary.

Endorsement #007 requires Lexington to provide excess

claims-made professional liability coverage while

Endorsement #001 makes explicit that Lexington remains

liable for coverage even if the CAT Fund supplants PHICO

as underlying insurer.

In support of this conclusion, the District Court also reasoned that

of Condition F’s “‘occurrence’ language,” which permits reporting

a claim “as soon as practicable of an Occurrence which may result

in the claim under this policy,” would be “inconsistent with the

follow form, claims made language in Endorsement #007 and the

PHICO policy,” which would clearly require reporting during the

policy period.

B.

We agree with the District Court that the logical reading of

the Lexington policy is to find Endorsement #001 and #007 to be

complementary rather than mutually exclusive. First, we look to

the plain language of Endorsement #007. See Reliance Ins. Co. v.

Moessner, 121 F.3d 895, 901 (3d Cir. 1997) (“If . . . the terms of

the policy are clear and unambiguous, the general rule in

Pennsylvania is to give effect to the plain language of the

agreement.”). Endorsement #007 is titled “Medical Professional

Liability—Follow Form” and it states in all capital letters

“PROVIDES CLAIMS-MADE COVERAGE—PLEASE READ

CAREFULLY.” This provision makes clear that medical

malpractice coverage was provided in a follow-form, claims-made

fashion.

Moreover, Endorsement #007 states that any exceptions to

this follow-form coverage would need to be “expressly stated.”

Endorsement #001 does not appear to constitute such an express

exception to Endorsement #007, given that Endorsement #001

does not directly mention Endorsement #007 or its follow-form

10

notice requirement, nor does Endorsement #001 clearly implicate

the terms of Endorsement #007. Thus, the absence of an express

exception in Endorsement #001 bolsters reading Endorsement

#007 and #001 as complementary rather than mutually exclusive.

See Pa. Dept. of Transp. v. Manor Mines, Inc., 565 A.2d 428, 432

(Pa. 1989) (“[E]ffect must be given to all provisions in the

contract.”).

Second, it would strain both logic and insurance industry

practice to extend Condition F’s “as soon as practicable” notice

provision to § 605 claims like the Lieb claim. As the District

Court recognized, Condition F clearly speaks in terms of

occurrence-based, not claims-made, coverage. Lexington’s pre-

printed policy form provides only occurrence-based coverage,

which is clearly inapplicable to the Lieb claim, where the incident

giving rise to the claim occurred in 1989 or 1990, well before the

effective date of the Lexington policy. Thus, Lexington

persuasively argues, “West Penn’s proffered interpretation renders

Endorsement #001 nonsensical because the remaining ‘Lexington

Policy terms and conditions’ would not provide coverage for the

Lieb claim—or indeed any claim assumed by the CAT Fund.”

That is because, by its very nature, the CAT Fund only covers

claims that occur more than four years prior to the claim, while an

occurrence policy covers only those incidents that occur during the

policy period.

To extend Condition F’s occurrence-based notice

provisions to a claim that occurred eleven years prior to the policy

period would make little sense given the important differences in

the role played by claims-made and occurrence-based policies for

both the insurer and the insured. We have noted the importance of

these distinctions:

Notice provisions serve different purposes in

occurrence and claims-made policies. In an

occurrence policy, notice provisions are included to

help the insurer investigate, settle, and defend claims;

they do not define coverage . . . . “By contrast, the

event that invokes coverage under a ‘claims made’

policy is transmittal of notice of the claim to the

11

insurance carrier . . . . Thus, an extension of the

notice period in a ‘claims made’ policy constitutes an

unbargained-for expansion of coverage, gratis,

resulting in the insurance company’s exposure to a

risk substantially broader than that expressly insured

against in the policy.”

Claims-made policies are less expensive

because underwriters can calculate risks more

precisely since exposure ends at a fixed point.

Extension of time periods would significantly

increase both the risk to insurers and the cost to

insureds. If the potential exposure period is extended

. . . claims-made policies must necessarily become

more expensive.

American Cas. Co. v. Continisio, 17 F.3d 62, 68-69 (3d Cir. 1994)

(quoting Zuckerman v. National Union Fire Ins. Co., 495 A.2d

395, 406 (1985)) (internal citations omitted). By providing claims-

made coverage for medical professional liability, Endorsement

#007 establishes a category of coverage not available under

Lexington’s occurrence policy because occurrence-based policies

do not cover claims, like the Lieb claim, where the incident giving

rise to the claim occurred before the policy period.

Furthermore, under West Penn’s proposed interpretation of

the policy, Endorsement #001 would expand the coverage under

Lexington’s occurrence policy to claims that occurred more than

four years prior to the policy date and would allow West Penn to

report such claims after the policy period. Such an expansion of

coverage would give West Penn the best of both the occurrence

and claims-made worlds when it comes to “605 claims.” The

language of Endorsements #001 and #007 does not support this

result.

In contrast to West Penn’s strained reading of Endorsement

#001, we note Endorsement #001’s obvious and significant

purposes: (1) to ensure that the excess policy would still apply in

the event that the CAT Fund assumed liability, and (2) to prevent

a dispute in the event that the CAT Fund payment limits are lower

than PHICO’s policy limits. Indeed, West Penn does not address

12

what appears to be the operative portion of Endorsement #001,

which provides that “coverage under this policy as to such claim

shall apply as excess immediately over the limit of liability of the

[CAT] Fund.” Thus, the District Court’s interpretation is the most

logical reading of the policy: Endorsement #001’s purpose is

simply to make clear that the excess claims-made coverage will

apply in the event the CAT Fund takes responsibility for payment

of a claim.4

Notwithstanding this conclusion, we acknowledge the facial

appeal of West Penn’s argument that the introductory phrases of

Endorsements #007 and #001 render the Endorsements mutually

exclusive. Endorsement #007 states that it applies only “[i]nsofar

as coverage is available. . . in the underlying insurance.”

Endorsement #001, on the other hand applies “[i]n the event the

underlying insurance shall not be applicable to any claim for

reason that the [CAT] Fund shall assume or be required to assume

primary responsibility for payment . . . .” West Penn contends that,

where the CAT Fund assumes responsibility for payment,

Endorsement #007 must not apply, because if Endorsement #007

applied even when the primary insurer did not actually pay the

claim, the phrase “[i]nsofar as coverage is available” would be

stripped of meaning.

In response, Lexington notes that the language of the two

phrases differs: Endorsement #007 uses the word “available”

while Endorsement #001 uses the word “applicable.” Lexington

contends that the PHICO policy may be generally “available”

4

The dissent suggests that we have read in the claims-made

reporting requirement because § 605 claims “must be timely

reported the CAT fund.” Contrary to the dissent’s

characterization, our conclusion that the Lieb claim was governed

by Endorsement #007 was not driven by the fact that the CAT

Fund is itself based on a claims-made model, for the reporting

procedures for the CAT Fund have nothing to do with the

reporting requirements under the Lexington policy. Rather, our

opinion is driven by the language and structure of the Lexington

policy itself.

13

even in situations where such insurance is not “applicable” to a

specific claim because the CAT Fund took over responsibility for

paying that claim. Lexington provides several other examples of

when the PHICO policy would be available but not applicable to

a specific claim, such as where the medical liability arose out of a

criminal act or where PHICO did not have to pay because of its

exhaustion limits. This reading highlights the important principle

of Pennsylvania contract law, which requires courts to give effect

to all of the language of the agreement whenever possible. See

Manor Mines, Inc., 565 A.2d at 432. Particularly in light of the

foregoing discussion and the difficulties inherent in West Penn’s

approach, we accept Lexington’s distinction between the terms

“available” and “applicable,” and find Endorsement #007 to

govern the notice requirement for 605 claims.

Lastly, West Penn argues that even if the District Court’s

interpretation was reasonable, the agreement was ambiguous, and

under Pennsylvania law, ambiguities should be resolved in favor

of coverage. As we have explained, however, we do not believe

the policy is ambiguous as to the notice requirements under the

policy. See Bohler-Uddeholm America, Inc. v. Ellwood Group,

Inc., 247 F.3d 79, 93 (3d Cir. 2001) (“[A] contract is not rendered

ambiguous by the mere fact that the parties do not agree on the

proper construction.” (quoting Duquesne Light Co. v.

Westinghouse Elec. Corp., 66 F.3d 604, 614 (3d Cir.1995)).

Therefore, we hold that West Penn was required to abide by the

PHICO policy’s notice provisions, which required West Penn to

report the Lieb claim during the policy period.5

5

We also reject West Penn’s reliance on Brakeman v.

Potomac Ins. Co., 371 A.2d 193, 194 (Pa. 1977), which held that

an insurer must show prejudice before it can deny coverage based

on untimely notice, because we have determined that the Lieb

claim is governed by a claims-made rather than an occurrence

policy. While Pennsylvania courts have not directly addressed this

issue, the available precedent has consistently held that the

Brakeman rule is not applicable to claims-made policies. See, e.g.,

Pizzini v. Am. Int’l Specialty Lines Ins. Co., 210 F. Supp. 2d 658,

669 (E.D. Pa. 2002); Borish v. Britamco Underwriters, Inc., 869 F.

14

III. Was Notice Given to Lexington During the

Policy Period?

West Penn argues that even if the Lexington policy required

notice of the Lieb claim to be given during the policy year, there is

a genuine issue of material fact whether West Penn gave Lexington

notice prior to December 31, 2001. The District Court did not

engage this argument, stating only that West Penn “concedes that

it did not report the Lieb claim to Lexington until February 12,

2003.”

There is certainly evidence to support the District Court’s

supposition that West Penn conceded its failure to report the Lieb

claim during the policy period. West Penn’s General Counsel,

Paula Hooper, admitted in her affidavit that she did not provide

notice until February 12, 2003. Moreover, the first written

communication in the record that mentions the Lieb claim is a

letter from the Hooper to Lexington dated February 12, 2003.

West Penn, however, points to two pieces of evidence

which it contends establish a genuine issue that the Lieb claim was

reported during the policy period: an internal Lexington document,

called an HPL Create Sheet, and the deposition testimony of West

Penn’s Assistant General Counsel, Karen A. Barringer.

A. The HPL Create Sheet

Supp. 316, 319 (E.D. Pa. 1994); City of Harrisburg, 596 F. Supp.

at 960-61. We are persuaded that the Pennsylvania Supreme Court

would not extend the Brakeman rule to claims-made policies

because such an extension of the notice period would defy the very

purpose of a claims-made policy—that the claim be reported

during the policy period. See Continisio, 17 F.3d at 69 (“[A]n

extension of the notice period in a ‘claims made’ policy constitutes

an unbargained-for expansion of coverage, gratis, resulting in the

insurance company’s exposure to a risk substantially broader than

that expressly insured against in the policy.” (quoting Zuckerman

v. National Union Fire Ins. Co., 495 A.2d 395, 406 (Pa. 1985)).

15

The “HPL Create Sheet” consists of a printed form, which

has been filled out with handwritten notations, providing

information such as the name of the insured, the claimant, the

policy number, and a space for description of the loss. The form

is dated August 20, 2003, and specifically refers to the Lieb claim.

The key portion of the form, for our purposes, is a entry which

originally read “Date of Loss.” That phrase has been crossed out

and “Date of RPT 12-31-01” is handwritten.

The only evidence in the record regarding the nature and

purpose of this document is the deposition testimony of Denzil R.

White, an employee of a Lexington affiliate, AIG Technical

Services (“AIGTS”), who had been responsible for assembling

documents produced in response to West Penn’s discovery

requests. White testified as follows:

Q. What is an “HPL Create Sheet”?

A. It’s used by the department to get information

about the claim and policy information to create the

claim on our system.

Q. This is the cover sheet that you use to give to your

data processing people so that they would open files

in Toolkit and LMS; isn’t that right?

....

A. Yes.

....

Q. Do you complete these?

A. No.

Q. These are completed by the director, to your

knowledge?

A. To my knowledge, yes.

Q. Can you identify this handwriting as the

handwriting of Mr. Ruane?

A: I am not sure.

....

Q. Do you have any reason to believe that “RPT”

does not signify report?

....

A. I don’t know what it means.

Q. Have you made any inquiry of anybody to

16

determine who wrote that and what it means?

A. No.

....

Q. Do you see the date at the top?

A. Yes.

Q. That is August 23, 2003, is it not?

A. Yes.

Q. Do you have any reason to believe that that is

anything other than the date that this document was

drafted and placed in your files?

A. I am not sure.

As a threshold matter, Lexington claims that the HPL

Create Sheet is inadmissible either because it cannot be properly

authenticated or because it is hearsay and not within any exception

to the hearsay rule. We find, however, that the document is likely

to be admissible. Nevertheless, the probative value of this

document is insufficient to withstand summary judgment.

1. Authentication

While the point is extremely close, we conclude that the

HPL Create Sheet meets the minimal requirements for

authentication under Federal Rule of Evidence 901(a). Rule

901(a) states: “The requirement of authentication or identification

as a condition precedent to admissibility is satisfied by evidence

sufficient to support a finding that the matter in question is what

its proponent claims.” We have repeatedly noted that “[t]he

burden of proof for authentication is slight.” McQueeny v.

Wilmington Trust Co., 779 F.2d 916, 928 (3d Cir. 1985); see also

Link v. Mercedes-Benz of North America, 788 F.2d 918, 927 (3d

Cir. 1986). In Link, we elaborated on the standard for

authentication of documents:

[T]he showing of authenticity is not on a par with

more technical evidentiary rules, such as hearsay

exceptions, governing admissibility. Rather, there

need be only a prima facie showing, to the court,

of authenticity, not a full argument on

17

admissibility. Once a prima facie case is made, the

evidence goes to the jury and it is the jury who

will ultimately determine the authenticity of the

evidence, not the court. The only requirement is

that there has been substantial evidence from

which they could infer that the document was

authentic.

788 F.2d at 928.6 Applying this standard, in United States v.

McGlory, 968 F.2d 309 (3d Cir. 1992), we held that handwritten

notes met Rule 901’s standard for authentication even though a

handwriting expert could not definitely determine that the notes

were in the defendant’s writing, finding that the circumstantial

evidence linking the notes to the defendant was sufficient. For

example, we relied on the fact that the notes were found in the

trash outside the defendant’s residence, some of the notes were on

paper from a notebook found in defendant’s home, and the

contents of the notes were consistent with defendant’s use of

initials and other code words. Id. at 330-31.

When we combine White’s testimony with the

circumstantial evidence of the authenticity of the document, in

particular the fact that it was produced by Lexington pursuant to

discovery requests, we believe that there is a sufficient foundation

for a jury to determine that this document is what it is purported to

be: a Lexington HPL Create Sheet. See McQueeney, 779 F.2d at

929 (“[T]he fact that the copies were produced by the plaintiff in

answer to an explicit discovery request for his Sea Service

Records, while not dispositive on the issue of authentication, is

surely probative.”); In re Japanese Elec. Prods. Antitrust Litig.,

723 F.2d 238, 286 (3d Cir. 1983), rev’d on other grounds, 475

U.S. 574 (1986) (“[The exhibits] have the appearance, content, and

substance typical of [board] minutes. They were produced by the

6

Our Court has not precluded reliance on unauthenticated

documents to oppose a motion for summary judgment, so long as

they are ultimately “reduc[ible] to admissible evidence.” Williams

v. Borough of West Chester, 891 F.2d 458, 466 n.12 (3d Cir. 1989)

(quoting Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 327 (1986)).

18

defendants pursuant to a discovery order in this proceeding. They

come from a source where such minutes are likely to be kept . . .

. No more evidence was needed to establish a prima facie case of

authenticity than the record contains.”) (citations omitted); see also

Burgess v. Premier Corp., 727 F.2d 826, 835-36 (9th Cir. 1984)

(holding that evidence found in defendant’s warehouse was

adequately authenticated simply by its being found there).

While it is troubling to us that the author of the handwritten

notations remains unknown, and that White could not be sure of

correct date, there does not appear to be any genuine dispute that

the HPL Create Sheet was filled out by a Lexington employee for

the purpose for which this sheet is typically used, i.e., to search for

data on a claim.

The real controversy between the parties on this issue

relates to what the document purports to be (or more particularly,

what it tends to prove). In Lexington’s submission, the document

is “evidence only of the HPL Create Sheet itself, not at all proof

that West Penn reported the Lieb claim to Lexington during the

policy period.” But for authentication purposes, Rule 901(a) does

not require the document to be probative of a particular fact, but

requires only that there be sufficient evidence for a jury to

conclude that the document “is what its proponent claims it to be.”

See In re Japanese Elec. Prods. Antitrust Litig., 723 F.2d at 285

(focusing “on the limited question of genuineness” to establish

authenticity under Rule 901). Because we agree that the HPL

Create Sheet is what it purports to be—a Lexington internal

document used to retrieve information regarding claims—we

conclude that the authentication requirement is satisfied.

2. Hearsay

Lexington submits that, even if the document can be

authenticated, it is hearsay and does not fall into any exception to

the hearsay rule under the Federal Rules of Evidence. Hearsay is

an out-of-court statement offered to prove the truth of the matter

asserted in the statement. Fed. R. Evid. 801(c). We have doubts,

however, that the declaration in question—the handwritten words

“Date of RPT: 12/31/01”—constitutes a “statement” under the

19

hearsay rule. A “statement” is defined as an “oral or written

assertion.” Fed. R. Evid. 801(a)(1). The Advisory Committee

Notes clarify that “nothing is an assertion unless intended to be

one.” Fed. R. Evid. 801(a) advisory committee’s note.

White stated that the purpose of the HPL Create Sheet is to

request information about a claim from the data processing

department. In this sense, the information on the HPL Create

Sheet is more in the nature of an inquiry than an assertion. Courts

have held that questions and inquiries are generally not hearsay

because the declarant does not have the requisite assertive intent,

even if the question “convey[s] an implicit message” or provides

information about the declarant’s assumptions or beliefs. Long v.

Mayfield, 905 F.2d 1572, 1579-80 (D.C. Cir. 1990); see also

United States v. Lewis, 902 F.2d 1176, 1179 (5th Cir. 1990)

(“While ‘assertion’ is not defined in the rule, the term has the

connotation of a positive declaration. The questions asked by the

unknown caller, like most questions and inquiries, are not hearsay

because they do not, and were not intended to, assert anything.”

(citation omitted)); see also 5 Weinstein’s Federal Evidence §

801.11[2] (2d ed. 2002).

For example, in Long, the D.C. Circuit held that an

unidentified caller’s inquiry into whether “Keith ‘still had any

stuff’” was not hearsay despite the clear inference from this

statement that Keith in fact had “stuff” or that, more generally,

Keith was involved in drug distribution. 905 F.3d at 1579-80. In

United States v. Jackson, 88 F.3d 845 (10th Cir. 1996), the panel

determined that the question “Is this Kenny?” was not hearsay

under Rule 801(a)(1) and (c). The Court held that, even though “it

might be possible to imply that the declarant believed [Kenny] was

in possession of the pager and therefore he was the person

responding . . . to the declarant’s message . . . [t]he mere fact . . .

that the declarant conveyed a message with her question does not

make the question hearsay.” Id. at 848.

In this case, White’s deposition suggests that the HPL

Create Sheet is an inquiry into whether the data processing

department can find information on a claim based on certain

criteria. Notwithstanding the fact that this inquiry could reveal

20

assumptions the declarant might have made about the Lieb

claim—in particular that the date of report was December 31,

2001—we can infer from the HPL Create Sheet’s purpose that the

declarant was not making an assertion, but rather was asking a

question, which does not constitute hearsay under Rule 801(a)(1)

and (c).7 Therefore, because we find that the HPL Create Sheet

ultimately could be rendered admissible under the Federal Rules

of Evidence, it can be used to oppose Lexington’s summary

judgment motion.8 Cf. note 5, supra.

3. Genuine Issue of Material Fact

7

Even if this document constituted an assertion, it would

likely be admissible as an admission by a party opponent under

Federal Rule of Evidence 801(d)(2)(D). Rule 801(d)(2)(D)

provides: “A statement is not hearsay if . . . [t]he statement is

offered against a party and is . . . a statement by the party’s agent

or servant concerning a matter within the scope of the agency or

employment, made during the existence of the relationship.” It is

not disputed that a Lexington employee was responsible for filling

out the HPL Create Sheet. As such, the writing is an admission by

a party-opponent within the meaning of Rule 801(d)(2)(D), and

thus would fall outside the proscription against hearsay.

Although we do not know how this employee gathered the

information reflected on the HPL Create Sheet, or whether he or

she had personal knowledge supporting the information, see Fed.

R. Evid. 602, these are not requirements for admissibility under

Rule 801(d)(2)(D). See United States v. Ammar, 714 F.2d 238, 254

(3d Cir. 1983); Mahlandt v. Wild Canid Survival & Research

Center, Inc., 588 F.2d 626, 630-31 (8th Cir.1978) (holding that the

personal knowledge requirement does not apply to Fed. R. Evid.

801(d)(2)(D)). Rather, it is sufficient under the Rule for the

declarant to be a party’s employee and to have made the declaration

within the scope of the employment.

8

We need not reach Lexington’s contention that the HPL

Create Sheet fails to satisfy the business record exception to the

hearsay rule because this document is either not hearsay or would

likely qualify as an admission of a party opponent, see supra note

6.

21

Notwithstanding the HPL Create Sheet’s likely

admissibility, this document can not preclude summary judgment

because it has such minimal probative value that it could not be a

basis on which a jury could find that West Penn had in fact

reported the Lieb claim on or before December 31, 2001. White,

who provides the only evidence in the record dealing with this

document, could not discern the meaning of the notations on the

HPL Create Sheet, identify the person who filled out the form, or

even verify that the report was created on the date listed at the top

of the form. Without further information about this form and the

notations, a factfinder could not reasonably draw any inference

from this document.

More specifically, White testified that the purpose of the

document is to retrieve information about a claim from the data

processing department. The purpose is not, for example, to record

the date of report or other information about the claim—it is

merely a search tool. As noted above, while the fact that the HPL

Create Sheet is in the nature of an inquiry, rather than assertion,

renders it admissible as not hearsay, this same fact also diminishes

the probative value of the information on the sheet because,

viewing the notation as an inquiry, it cannot be used to prove that

the date of report was in fact December 31, 2001. See United

States v. Oguns, 921 F.2d 442, 449 (2d Cir. 1990) (“[A] question

cannot be used to show the truth of the matter asserted . . . .”);

Headley v. Tilghman, 53 F.3d 472 (2d Cir. 1995) (viewing a

question as providing circumstantial evidence of the assumptions

underlying the question, but not as probative of the truth of the

items inquired about).

There is no evidence of why this unknown employee used

December 31, 2001, as the inquiry date, or whether this employee

had any basis for using such date other than the fact that this was

the last day of the policy period. Additionally, the HPL Create

Sheet is dated August 23, 2003, long after the end of the policy

period. Thus, we agree with Lexington that, even viewing this

document and White’s testimony in the light most favorable to

West Penn, the evidence shows at most that, more than a year and

a half after the policy period, an unknown Lexington employee

filled out the HPL Create Sheet to search for information about the

22

Lieb claim using December 31, 2001, as the report date.

While we may not weigh evidence at the summary

judgment stage, we further note that, pitted against this cryptic

document, is the affidavit of West Penn’s General Counsel

conceding that she notified Lexington of the Lieb claim on

February 12, 2003—more than a year and a half after the policy

period ended. Her February 12, 2003, letter makes no reference to

prior communications between West Penn and Lexington, and

simply provides a report of the claim. In light of this admission,

and without any other information about this document, we do not

believe a jury could reasonably rely on the HPL Create Sheet to

find that West Penn in fact reported the claim prior to December

31, 2001. We therefore conclude that this document is not

sufficient to create a genuine issue of material fact as to when

West Penn reported the Lieb claim.

B. Deposition and Affidavit of Karen A. Barringer

West Penn next points to the deposition testimony and

affidavit of Karen A. Barringer, who served as West Penn’s

Assistant General Counsel during the relevant period. West Penn

asserts that her testimony could establish that West Penn provided

Lexington with notice of the Lieb claim at the 2001 year-end

claims meeting.

Barringer’s deposition testimony was as follows:

A. I know that Lexington had the loss runs. I know that the

loss runs—or the claim was reported to PHICO and then to

the CAT Fund in mid-year of ‘01. And I would find it hard

to believe that it didn’t make it to the loss runs, and I have to

make the assumption that they had information about that

claim from at least that source, and potentially others that I

don’t remember

....

Q. Other than the PHICO loss runs that were presented, was

there any other information that was presented to Lexington

with respect to claims made to PHICO . . . [a]t the claims

conference, at any other point during the policy period?

23

A. I am very comfortable that we touched on it at the claims

conference. I would assume there are or were

correspondence keeping Lexington apprised of cases as they

were developing. But I don’t specifically recall any piece of

correspondence or any snippet of a conversation that I may

have had.

Barringer’s affidavit stated,

While I have no specific recollection of a discussion

of the Lieb Claims at the 2001 Lexington claim

review meeting, there were no questions for which

responses were outstanding on December 31, 2001.

I provided Lexington with all claim information that

its claims staff requested at the meeting, including

any information that Lexington may have requested

regarding the Lieb Claims.

We disagree with West Penn that this evidence creates a

genuine issue of material fact. Barringer admitted in both her

deposition and her affidavit that she had no specific recollection of

reporting or discussing the Lieb claim. Her belief that the claim

was reported was predicated on her assumption that the claim was

included in the loss runs which she provided to Lexington at the

claims meeting.

While Barringer’s deposition testimony that she “touched

on” the Lieb claim at a claims conference appears at first blush to

make this a close issue, and while juries often do resolve such

conflicts in testimony, we agree with Lexington that this testimony

is too speculative to defeat Lexington’s motion for summary

judgment. See Hedberg v. Indiana Bell Tel. Co., Inc., 47 F.3d 928,

932 (7th Cir. 1995) (“Speculation does not create a genuine issue

of fact; instead, it creates a false issue, the demolition of which is

a primary goal of summary judgment.”); see also Adler v.

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 144 F.3d 664, 674 (10th Cir. 1998) (finding

no genuine issue of material fact as to whether employer had

knowledge of a sexual harassment incident where plaintiff could

not “remember when or exactly what was said” in her discussion

24

with her supervisor).9

For the foregoing reasons, we conclude that West Penn has

failed to establish a genuine issue of material fact as to the date of

notice; hence, the District Court appropriately determined as a

matter of law that notice was not given during the claims period.

IV. Conclusion

As we have determined that West Penn was required to give

notice during the policy period, and as there is no genuine issue of

material fact that timely notice was given, we will affirm the order

of the District Court granting summary judgment in favor of

Lexington.

9

Courts are particularly wary of forcing the opposing party

to prove a negative at the summary judgment stage. See Parker v.

Sony Pictures Etm't Inc., 260 F.3d 100, 111 (2d Cir. 2001). If a

document existed which could establish that notice was given,

West Penn should have produced it, or explained through

affidavits or other evidence why they could not do so. For

example, the loss runs or the ongoing correspondence that

Barringer mentioned in her deposition would affirmatively show

notice was given during the claims period. West Penn, however,

has thus far produced no evidence other than Barringer’s

speculation and the HPL Create Sheet that they contend shows that

the Lieb claim was reported along with the other 2001 claims.

25

Fuentes, Circuit Judge, dissenting.

Contrary to the majority view, I believe that Endorsement

# 007 of the Lexington Insurance Company (“Lexington”) policy

is inapplicable in this matter and that Western Pennsylvania

Hospital (“West Penn”) is entitled to excess coverage under the

terms of that policy. Under those terms, where a claim, such as

the Lieb claim, is not covered by West Penn’s primary insurer

(PHICO), but is instead covered by the Medicial Professional

Liability Catastrophe Fund (the “CAT Fund”), the default notice

provisions of the Lexington policy apply. Under those notice

provisions, West Penn gave timely notice. Alternatively, even

assuming that the majority’s construction of the contract is

correct, I believe West Penn has created a genuine dispute as to

whether notice was timely given. I therefore respectfully

dissent.

A.

The central question here is whether West Penn was

required to give Lexington notice of the Lieb claim by December

31, 2001, pursuant to Endorsement # 007, or within a

“reasonable” time, pursuant to Endorsement # 001 and

Lexington’s default notice requirements. If West Penn is right

that Endorsement # 007 does not apply, then under

Pennsylvania’s “notice-prejudice rule,” Lexington may not

refuse coverage unless it was prejudiced by late notice. See

Brakeman v. Potomac Ins. Co., 371 A.2d 193, 195-96

(Pa. 1977). As Lexington concedes it was not prejudiced, West

Penn would be entitled to coverage.

The interplay between Endorsement # 001, Endorsement

# 007, and § 605 (the CAT Fund) is critical to the notice issue.

As the majority explains, if West Penn failed to notify Lexington

of the Lieb claim within the policy period (January 1, 2001 to

26

January 2, 2002),10 Lexington may refuse coverage if and only if

Endorsements # 007 and # 001 are co-extensive with respect to §

605 claims like the Lieb claim. Lexington may not refuse

coverage if those endorsements are alternatives to one another,

i.e., if Endorsement # 007 applies only to PHICO claims and not

to § 605 claims.

The plain language of the two endorsements at issue here

clearly favors West Penn. Endorsement # 007 applies where

“coverage is available to the Insured in the underlying insurance

as set forth in the Schedule of Underlying Insurance.” In other

words, Endorsement # 007 would apply if the PHICO policy

were available to West Penn. Endorsement # 001 applies “[i]n

the event underlying insurance shall not be applicable to any

claims for the reason that the Medical Professional Liability

Catastrophe Fund [CAT Fund] shall assume or be required to

assume primary responsibility for payment.” That is, if the CAT

Fund assumes responsibility for a claim, as it does here for the

Lieb claim, then Endorsement # 001, not Endorsement # 007,

applies.11 Endorsement # 001 goes on to provide that the terms

of the Lexington policy are otherwise unchanged. On its face,

the Lexington policy in no way invokes the reporting

requirements of the PHICO policy with respect to § 605 claims.

As such, the Pennsylvania notice-prejudice rule applies, and

since Lexington concedes it cannot show prejudice, it must

provide West Penn with coverage.

The majority asserts that Endorsements # 007 and # 001

101

As I discuss below, I believe West Penn has created a

genuine dispute as to this fact.

112

The majority points out that Endorsement # 007 refers to

the “availab[ility]” of PHICO coverage while Endorsement # 001

refers to the “applicab[ility]” of PHICO coverage. Lexington’s

theory that a policy may be “generally” available for claims that the

policy does not in fact cover is novel, but implausible. While a

policy may be unavailable for any number of reasons, it is neither

available nor applicable to claims for which coverage is explicitly

excluded by the terms of the policy.

27

are complementary, largely on the grounds that both PHICO and

§ 605 claims are claims-based, rather than occurrence-based. As

such, the majority reasons that it would be illogical to apply the

default notice provisions of the Lexington policy to § 605 claims

because those provisions are intended to apply to the otherwise

occurrence-based coverage of the Lexington policy.

The majority is right in its assumption that the CAT fund

operates on a claims-made model. Pennsylvania law provides

that “[i]n the event that any claim is made against a [qualified]

health care provider . . . more than four years after the breach of

contract or tort occurred which is filed within the statute of

limitations, such claims shall be defended and paid by the fund.”

40 Pa. Stat. Ann. Tit. 40 § 1301.605.12 In 1996, the statute was

amended to trigger coverage only “if the fund has received a

written request for indemnity and defense within 180 days of the

date on which notice of the claim is given to the health care

provider or his insurer.” Id. This reporting requirement,

consistent with traditional claims-made policies, is not subject to

the Brakeman notice-prejudice rule. See Pa. Med. Soc. Liab.

Ins. Co. v. Commonwealth of Pa. Med. Prof’l Liab. Catastrophe

Loss Fund, 842 A.2d 379, 385-86 (Pa. 2004).

The majority is also right that claims-made policies

almost always predicate coverage on reporting of a claim by the

insured to the insurer within the policy period. “[A] ‘claims-

made’ insurance policy represents a distinct bargained-for

exchange between insurer and insured.” See Pizzini v. Am. Int’l

Speciality Lines Ins. Co., 210 F. Supp. 2d 658, 668 (E.D. Pa.

2002). “An insurer obtains the benefits of a clear and certain

cut-off date for coverage. In return, the insured typically pays a

lower premium.” Id.

Nevertheless, the usual reporting requirements for claims-

123

Section 605 of the Health Care Act was later repealed by

the Pennsylvania legislature when it reconstituted the CAT Fund as

the Medical Care Availability and Reduction of Error Fund. See

Act of March 20, 2002, P.L. 154, No. 13, § 5104(a)(2).

28

made policies cannot be read into an insurance policy to make it

more economically sensible where those reporting requirements

are not actually set forth in the policy. See Harleysville Ins. Co.

v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Ins. Co., 795 A.2d 383, 386-87 (Pa.

2002) (“[T]he standard for interpreting insurance policies does

not allow us to focus solely on the nature of the policy and

ignore the plain meaning of the policy terms.”). Section 605

claims are ‘claims-made’ because the CAT fund operates on a

claims-made model, not because they are covered by

Endorsement # 007. The mere fact that § 605 claims are claims-

based and that they must be timely reported to the CAT fund

does not imply that, vis-a-vis Lexington, they are governed by

Endorsement # 007 and PHICO reporting requirements. On its

face Endorsement # 007’s coverage is defined and limited to

PHICO claims.

Moreover, Endorsement # 001, which indisputably does

cover § 605 claims, does not provide that the reporting

requirements of the CAT fund apply to Lexington’s excessive

coverage for § 605 claims (in the way that Endorsement # 007

provides that the reporting requirements of the PHICO policy

apply to Lexington’s excessive coverage for PHICO claims).

Instead, Endorsement # 001 leaves the general notice

requirements of the Lexington policy in place with respect to §

605 claims.13

134

Endorsement # 001 leaves all the general terms of the

Lexington policy in place except insofar as they are contravened by

the terms of the endorsement. The notice provisions of

Lexington’s general policy apply to claims covered by

Endorsement # 001 because that endorsement does not set forth

alternative notice requirements. By contrast, Lexington’s general

requirement that covered claims relate to incidents that occurred

during the policy period does not apply because Endorsement # 001

explicitly provides excess coverage for § 605 claims, all of which

arise more than four years after the underlying occurrences.

Because Lexington’s general policy requirements apply to § 605

claims except insofar as they contradict the terms of Endorsement

# 001, the majority’s worry that Endorsement # 001 is rendered

29

Lexington Insurance is correct that if it appears that

Endorsement # 007 governs § 605 claims, its reporting

requirements trump those of the general policy. See St. Paul &

Marine Ins. Co. v. U.S. Fire Ins. Co., 655 F.2d 521, 524 (3d Cir.

1981) (“If there is a conflict between the terms of the

endorsement and those in the body of the main policy, then the

endorsement prevails, particularly when it favors the insured.”).

“[W]hen a specific form of insurance is provided by an

endorsement tailored to meet the particular needs of the insured

and the company, that language must be followed to carry out

the intentions of the parties.” Id. at 524. However, in this case,

the language of Endorsement # 007 gives no indication that it

was tailored to § 605 claims. Endorsement # 007 appears on its

face to have been intended to apply only to PHICO claims.

Accordingly, the Lieb claim is governed by Endorsement # 001

alone, and Lexington’s general notice requirements apply.

Under Brakeman, Lexington may not deny coverage under those

provisions because it was not prejudiced by any delay in notice.

At the very least, the fact that Endorsement # 007 was not

written to capture § 605 claims renders the scope of its notice

requirements ambiguous. If Lexington wanted to require that it

be notified of § 605 claims by the close of the policy period,

such a requirement would have been easy to articulate. Indeed,

West Penn’s Lexington excess coverage policy for the 2002

calendar year included Endorsement # 006, which expressly

provided that excess coverage was available only if claims were

made and reported to Lexington within the policy period.

Lexington’s “failure to utilize more distinct language” in the

2001 calendar year policy even though it was available

“reinforces a conclusion of ambiguity under Pennsylvania law.”

Med. Protective Co. v. Watkins, 198 F.3d 100, 105 (3d Cir.

1999) (quotations omitted). If the insurance policy is

ambiguous, we must construe it in favor of the insured and West

Penn prevails. See Contrans, Inc. v. Ryder Truck Rental, Inc.,

nonsensical under a literal reading because Lexington’s

occurrence-based requirements would exclude all § 605 claims, is

unfounded.

30

836 F.2d 163, 168 (3d Cir. 1988); Reliance Ins. Co. v.

Moessner, 121 F.3d 895, 905 (3d Cir. 1997). For the foregoing

reasons, I would vacate the District Court’s order of summary

judgment and direct it to enter summary judgment in favor of

West Penn.

B.

Even assuming that the majority’s construction of the

policy is correct, I would still vacate the order of summary

judgment in favor of Lexington because West Penn has raised a

genuine issue as to material fact that barred summary judgment.

There is no doubt that if West Penn gave Lexington notice of the

Lieb claim within the policy period, i.e., January 1, 2001 to

December 31, 2001, the Lexington policy would have to provide

excess coverage for Lieb’s malpractice action. In the District

Court, Lexington denied receipt of proper notice. West Penn,

however, offered evidence from Lexington’s own records that

casts doubt on this denial of notice. Specifically, West Penn

introduced a document entitled the “HPL Create Sheet.” The

document pertains to the Lieb claim and contains the following

notation: “Date of Rpt: 12-31-01.” In the HPL Create Sheet,

Lexington appears to admit that the Lieb claim was reported to it

within the policy period.

Moreover, while I agree with the majority that the

testimony of Karen A. Barringer, West Penn’s Assistant General

Counsel during the relevant period, standing alone, may be

insufficient to establish a timely report date, the existence of a

file in Lexington’s records consistent with her account (i.e., that

West Penn notified Lexington of the Lieb in the very last days of

the policy period) bolsters its reliability. Together with the HPL

Create Sheet, her testimony meaningfully contests Lexington’s

claim that West Penn failed to give notice within the policy

period. For this alternative reason, I would vacate the order

granting summary judgment to Lexington and remand for

resolution of the disputed issue as to the timing of notice.

31

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.