Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Elof Hansson, Inc. v. United States (No. 380)
Supreme Court brief1961
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
orchie COURT. eae
gViPkrele °:
ING, Clerk |
ail
is Tre
Supreme Conrt of the United States
Ocroper Teem, 1969
Kor Haxssos, INe..
Petitioner
Usirep STATES.
Respondent
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Customs and Patent Appeals
James R. Suanp
1108 - 16th Sireet, NW.
Washington 6. D.C.
< Counsel for Petitioner
Of Counsel:
Myron Souter, Esq.
SHarep & BoGan
WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co. - RE 7-6002 - WASHINGTON 1. D. C.
INDEX
PAGE
CITATIONS TO OPINION BELOW 2000000000000... 1
ei) ky |. Sea Teo STORRS M4
QUESTION PRESENTED ...........0020.000000000.00. cc 2
ue igs - RE 4 | See :
a . 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ................ 4
RRS A eae to a 8
ee eee eS on. AT
B—Opinions and Judgment Below ~....... B-1
C—Conflicting Opinions -......0...0......-..-.- (*-1
CITATIONS
Cases:
Amerada Petroleum Corp. v. Federal Power Com-
— sion, 231 F. 2d 461 (10th Cir., 1956) 0000 .. 6
Eastern Air Lines, Inc. vy. Union Trust Co., 221
F. 2d 62 (D.C. Cir., 1955) rev'd on other
grounds, 350 U.S. 907, orig. holding adhered to
239 F. 2d 25, cert. denied 3583 U.S, 942 _... iccices 6
Hotch v. United States, 212 F. 2d 280 (9th Cir.,
I ie a a, Ges ete D
United States vo Tucker Truck Lines, 344 U.S.
(LE ARO TTE ES i 8 neo ee OF LCOS Oo TT 4
Statutes:
Administrative Proeedure Act, 60 Stat. 238-239:
mee. (a) (5 U.S.C. See. 1008)... 27
See. 10(e) (5 U.S.C. See. 1009)... a
Antidumping Act of 1921, See. 201(a) 42 Stat.
1 (198 UBC. See. 160, 1952 Ed.)........ o 2
Pub. Law 85-630, 72 Stat. 583 _.... Gera os We the ado 2
In THE
Supreme Lourt of the United States
Ocropern Teem, 1961
No.
EMior Hansson, INe.,
Petitioner
Vv.
Usitep STATES,
Respondent — -
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Customs and Patent Appeals
Blof Hansson, Inc., petitioner herein, prays that a
writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the
United States Court of Customs and Patent Appeals,
entered in the above entitled ease on December 22, 1960.
CITATIONS TO OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of a single judge of the United States
Customs Court) sitting in) reappraisement (R. 76) is
reported in 41 Cust. Ct. 519. The opinion of the Appel-
late Term of the United States Customs Court (R. 9S)
is reported in 43 Cust. Ct. 627. The opinion of the
United States Court of Customs and Patent) Appeals,
printed in Appendix B hereto, infra, p. B38, is reported
in Treasury Decision Advance Sheets, Vol. 96, No. 24,
June 15, 1961, p. 71.
a
JURISDICTION
-The judgment of the United States Court of Customs
and Patent Appeals was entered on December 22, 1960.
Infra, p. B-2. Rehearing was denied on June 9, 1961.
Infra, p. B-9. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C., Section 1254(1).
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether failure to publish notice of proposed rule
making in the Federal Register as required by Sectien
4(a) of the Administrative Proeedure Act renders in-
valid a finding of dumping made by the Secretary of the
Treasury under the Antidumping Act of 1921.
STATUTES INVOLVED
Sections 4(a) and 10(e) of the Administrative Pro-
eedure Act of 1946, 60 Stat. 238-239, 5 U.S.C. $$ 1103
and 1009 printed in Appendix A, mfra, p. A-1. Seetion
201(a) of the Antidumping Act of 1921, 42 Stat. 11, 19
U.S.C. § 160 (1952 edition), printed in Appendix A, infra,
p. A-2.. Publie Law &5-630, 72 Stat. 583, amending Sec-
tion 201(b) of the Antidumping Act of 1921, printed in
Appendix A, imfra, p. A-3.
STATEMENT
The Seeretary of the Treasury commenced a dumping
investigation on about March 31, 1953 in aecordanee with
the provisions of Section 201 of the Antidumping Act of
1921 with respect -to hardboard imported from Sweden.
(R. 11.) Notice of the dumping investigation was not
published in the Federal Register as required by Section
4(a) of the Administrative Procedure Act. (R. 16-17.)
Petitioner herein reeeived actual notice of the dumping
investigation on about May 5, 1953, and participated in
*)
vw
that Investigation. (R. 12.) Thereafter, the Acting See-
retary of the Treasury made and published a finding of
dumping with respect to hardboard from Sweden on
August 26, 1954 (R. 77), following which the Appraiser
of Merchandise at New York determined the “foreign
market value” and “purchase price” of the entry at bar
under the provisions of the Antidumping Act of 1921,
(R. 7.) Petitioner duly filed an appeal for reappraise-
ment by a single judge of the United States Customs
Court (R. 79), whereupon that eourt acquired jurisdie-
tion under 28 U.S.C. Section 1582. Objection to the
Secretary’s failure to publish notice of proposed rule
making was first raised by petitioner at the trial of ihe
appeal for reappraisement.
Judge Rao, sitting as a single judge of the Customs
Court in reappraisement, found that the Administrative
Procedure Act did not apply to the function of the
Secretary of the Treasury under the Antidumping Act
of 1921, and thus sustained the value found by the ap-
praiser, (Kk. 93.) Upen application for review duly
taken, the Appellate Term of the Customs Court reversed
the Judgment below and held: (1) that the requirements
of the Administrative Procedure Act are applicable to
proceedings leading to a finding of dumping under the
Antidumping Act of 1921; (2) that the Secretary of the
Treasury in making a finding of dumping is an“ agency’
within the meaning of the Administrative Procedure Act:
(3) that a finding of dumping is “rule making” within
the meaning of the Administrative Procedure Act: and
(4) that failure to publish notice of such proposed rule
making in the Federal Register as required by the Ad-
ministrative Procedure Act renders the finding of dump-
ing invalid. (R. 112.)
Upon appeal duly taken to the United States Court of
Customs and Patent Appeals, the Judgment of the Ap-
pellate Term below was reversed. The C.C.PLA. rejected
ms
4
as bases of decision the questions considered controlling
by the Appellate Term below, and instead saw the “fund-
amental and underlying issue” as:
“Did appellee [petitioner herein], having actuai
notice of the pendency of the investigation
and having participated actively and without objec-
tion in the investigation preeeding the finding of
dumping, thereby waive its right to rely upon the
asserted procedural irregularity to nullify the find-
ing of dumping?” (Appendix B, infra, pp. B-3, B-+4)
Addressing itself to the question thus posed, the court
held:
“The view we take of this ease is, therefore, that
it is not necessary to pass here on the applicability
of the A.P.A. to antidumping investigations under
the Antidumping Act of 1921 .... We... hold
on the authority of the Tucker decision [United
States v. Tucker Truck Lines, 344 U.S. 33] that the
procedural irregularities which appellee asserts arose
from the failure of the Seeretary of the Treasury
to publish the notice required by Section 4 of the
A.P.A. was a procedural irregularity which the ap-
pellee has waived by participating in the antidump-
ing investigation without making timely objection
to the Secretary of the Treasury.” (Ibid., pp. B-6,
B-7.)
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
1. The summary manner in which the C.C.P.A. de-
eided the instant case presents a significant departure
from the analysis which this Court indicated fer the
decision of such cases in United States v. Tucker Truck
Lines, thus giving rise to an important conflict of prin--
ciple. Tuis Court, in Tucker, held! that a defect in the
appointment of an I.C.C. hearing examiner, resulting
from a failure to comply with the Administrative Pro-
1Mr. Justice Frankfurter and Mr. Justice Douglas dissenting.
Appendix C, infra, pp. C-5 and C-7.
oD
cedure Act, was “not one whieh deprives the Commission
of power or jurisdiction, so that even in the absence of
timely objection its order should be set aside as. ¢
nullity.” (Appendix (Cy infra, p. (-5.) This Court) thus
indicated in’ plain terms that there can be procedural
defects resulting from failure to comply with the Ad-
ministrative Procedure Act of sueh oa’ serious nature
that they may be asserted to nullify administrative action
whether or not objection was made before. the agency
below, and consequeniially that a determination of wheth-
er the defect complained of rises to such dignity is
essential to the decision of such eases. The court below
expressly declined to determine, or even consider, that
indispensable question and instead held, in’ effect. that
Whether or not the agency's procedural omission was
Jurisdictional, petitioner had “waived” its right to com.
plain by having had actual notice of the proposed rule
making and having failed to make timely objection. — It
is indeed startling to learn that a Jurisdictional defect
nay be waived by an affected party, and that the Himita-
tions on agency action imposed by the Administrative
Procedure Act are within the dispensing power of a
litigant. :
2. There exists a direct conflict antong several Fed-
eral circuits on one of the main questions of law pre-
sented by the instant case, viz., whether an agency rule
not formulated or issued in compliance with the publica-
tion requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act
is valid as to a party having actual notice of the rule.
The decision of the court below is in direct. conflict
with the decision of the Ninth Circuit Court. of Appeals
in Hotch v. United States, 212 F.2d 280 (9th Cir, 1954)
(Appendix C, infra, p. C-8), which held that failure to
publish a regulation as required by the Administrative
Proeedure Act renders the regulation’ a nullity, despite
actual notice of its contert by the person charged, and
despite the fact that he first objected to the procedural
Re.
é
6
irregularity by petition for rehearing to the Court of
Appeals. In turn, the Ninth Cireuit is in direct conflict
with the District of Columbia and Tenth Cireuits. In
Fastern Air Lines, Inc. v. Union Trust, 221 F. 2d 62
(DC. Cir, 1955) (Appendix C, infra, p. C-15), reed on
Other grounds 350 U.S. 907, original holding adhered to
259 FL 2d 25, cert. denied 353 U.S. 942, the District of
Columbia Circuit held that failure to adhere to the pub-
lication requirements of the Administrative Procedure
Act does not render a regulation invalid as to an affected
party who had actual notice. The Tenth Cireuit has held
that when parties affected have actual notice and par-
ticipate inoa hearing which results in the affirmance of
a prior order which was not issued in aceord with the
publication requirements of the Administrative Procedure
Act, such parties may not challenge the validity of the
subsequent order on the ground of failure to publish
notice. Amerada Petroleum Corp. v. Federal Power
Commission, 231 F. 2d 461 (10th Cir, 1956) (Appendix
(', ifra, p. C-24.)
These three cases and the ease at bar, although arising
under differing circumstances,.present the same question
of law and decide it in a conflicting manner.
3. The question presented by this petition is of mani-
fest importance to the operation of the Administrative
Procedure Act. Jurisdictional defect) in agency rule
making is in reality a question of seope of delegation of
legislative powers and the point at whieh eneroachment
by the executive on the legislature begins. The doctrine
that inheres in the instant decision would permit the
notice requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act
to be “waived,” without careful weighing of whether rule
making without the statutory notice, rises to an imper-
missible overstepping by the agency of delegated powers.
The decision below puts the stamp of appellate approval
on, and indeed invites, administrative agencies to formu-
late rules in reliance upon actual notice rather than upon
the public notice contemplated by Section 4(a) of the
Adininistrative Procedure Act. Whether such ao grave
departure from the intended effeet of the Adininistrative
Procedure Net should be tolerated is. it is believed, prop-
erly a matter of concern for this Court.
Nor does ‘the fact that the Antidumping Act of 1921
Was amended in 19587 to require the Secretary of the
Treasury to publish notices of dumping investigations
in the Federal Register moot the issue presented here,
The question arises, not under the eustoms laws, but
under the Administrative Procedure Act, and its resolu.
tion affects rule making by all the many agencies subject
to that Act.
t
It is also to be noted that the instant ease arose as a
test case, the outcome of whieh will control the disposi-
tion of 396 appeals for reappraisement now pending
before the Customs Court,
4. It is believed that the decision below is erroneous
in that it holds that whatever right petitioner had= to
object to the procedural irreguiarity, it waived by having
aetial notice and by participating in the investigation
Without then objecting, irrespective of whether the fail-
ure to publish notice of proposed rule making rendered
the resulting finding of dumping a/tra cores. The error
is doubly egregious ino view of Seetion 10te) of the Ad-
Inmistrative Procedure Aet, which requires that:
“(e) So far as necessary to decision a Where
presented the reviewing court) shall)... (B) hold
unlawful and set aside ageney action, findings, and
Conclusions found to be... (3) im exeess of statue
tory jurisdietion, authority, or limitations, or short
of statutory right; (4) without observance of pro-
cedure required by law; (Appendix A. dufra, pp.
A-1.)
2For convenience, the text of that amendment is set out in
Appendix A, infra, p. A-3.
8
If, ::s we believe, the omission of publication of notice
of proposed rule making constitutes such a serious de-
parture from the mandatory requirements of the Ad-
ministrative Procedure Act as to deprive the Secretary
of the Treasury of jurisdiction, then it is a novel propo-
sition, indeed, that a litigant may “waive” an unlawful
encroachment by the executive upon the legislature.
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, this petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.
Respectfully submitted,
JAMES R. SHarp
1108-16th Street, N.W.
Washington 6, D. C.
Counsel for Petitioner
Date: September 1, 1961
A-1
APPENDIX A
Section 4(a), Administrative Procedure Act
§ 1008. Rule Making
Except to the extent that there is involved (1) any
military, naval, or foreign affairs function of the United
States or (2) any matter relating to agency management
or personnel or to public property, loans, grants, bene-
fits, or contracts—
Notice, publication and contents
(a) General notice of proposed rule making shall be
published in the Federal Register (unless all persons
subject thereto are-named and either personally served
or otherwise have actual notice thereof in accordance
with law) and shall include (1) a statement of the time,
place, and nature of public rule making procecdings;
(2) reference to the authority under which the rule is
proposed; and (3) either the terms or substance of the
proposed rule or a deseription of the subjects and issues
involved. Except where notice or hearing is required
by statute, this subsection shall not apply to interpre-
tative rules, general statements of policy, rules of agency
organization, procedure, or practice, or in any situation
in which the agency for good cause finds (and incorpo-
rates the finding and a brief statement of the reasons
therefor in the rules issued) that notice and public pro-
cedure thereon are impracticable, unnecessary, or con-
trary to the public interest.
Section 10(¢), Administrative Procedure Act
§ 1009. Judicial review of ayency action
Except so far as (1) statutes preclude judicial re-
view or (2) agency action is by law committed to agency
diseretion.
e es s e
A-2
Scope of review
(e) So far as necessary to decision and where pre-
sented the reviewing court shall decide all relevant ques-
tions of law, interpret constitutional and statutory pro-
visions, and determine the meaning or applicability. of
the terms of any agency action. It shall (A) compel
agency action unlawfully withheld or unreasonably de-
laved; and (B) hold unlawful and set aside agency
action, findings, and conclusions found to be (1) arbi-
trary, capricious, an abuse of diseretion, or otherwise
not in accordance with law; (2) contrary to constitu-
tional right, power, privilege, or immunity; (3) in excess
of statutory jurisdiction, authority, or limitations, or
short of statutory right; (4) without observance of pro-
cedure required by law; (5) unsupported by substantial
evidence in any case subject to the requirements of see-
tions 1906 and 1007 of this title or otherwise reviewed
on the record of an ageney hearing provided by statute;
or (6) unwarranted by the facts to the extent that the
facts are subject to trial de novo by the reviewing court.
In making the foregoing determinations the court shall
review the whole record or such portions thereof as may
be cited by any party, and due account shall be taken
of the rule of prejudicial error.
Section 201(a), Antidumping Act of 1921
See. 201. (a) Whenever the Secretary of the Treas-
ury (hereinafter in this Act called the “Secretary”),
after such investigation as he deems necessary, finds
that an industry in the United States is being or is
likely to be injured, or is prevented from being estab-
lished, by reason of the importation into the United
States of a class or kind of foreign merchandise, and that
merchandise of such class or kind is being or is likely
to be sold in the United States or elsewhere at less than
its ‘air value, then he shall make such finding public to
the extent he deems necessary, together with a descrip-
A-3s
tion of the class or kind of merchandise to which it ap-
plies in such detail as may be necessary for the guidance
of the appraising officers.
Public Law 85-630
AN ACT
To amend certain provisions of the Antidumping Act,
1921, to provide for greater certainty, speed and. effi-
ciency in the enforcement thereof, and for other purposes.
Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Repre-
sentatives of the United States of America in Congress
assembled, That Section 201 of the Antidumping Act,
1921, (19 U.S.C. 160) is amended as follows:
(2) By striking out “he shall forthwith authorize” in
subsection (b) and inserting in Heu thereof “he shall
forthwith publish notice of that fact in the Federal
Register and shall authorize.”
B-1
APPENDIX B
UNITED STATES COURT OF
CUSTOMS AND PATENT APPEALS
Wednesday, Octoher 12, 1960
At a session of said court continued and held at. the
city of Washington, pursuant to adjournment, on this
12th day of October, A. D. 1960.
Present the Honorable Eugene Worley, Chief Judge,
and the Honorables Giles S. Rich, 1. Jack Martin, and
Arthur M. Smith, Associate Judges, and the Honorable
William H. Kirkpatrick, United States Senior Judge for
the Eastern District of Pennsylvania.
~The court was opened for business in due form,
> & a e % a * *
Customs Appeal No. 5052
Tue Usitep Srates,
Appellant
v.
Mier TANsson, PNxe..
Appellee
Said appeal came on to be heard before the court
and after hearing the arguments of counsel on behalf
of the Government and Robert (. Keck as amicur curiae
and counsel for the importer the eause was taken under
advisement by the court. Appellee granted three weeks
to file supplemental brief and appellant) granted two
Weeks to reply.
B-2
UNITED STATES COURT OF
CUSTOMS AND PATENT APPEALS
Thursday, Deeember 22, 1960
At a session of said court continued and held at the
city of Washington, pursuant to adjournment, on this
22nd day of December, A. D. 1960.
Present the Honorable Eugene Worley, Chief Judge,
and the Honorables Giles S. Rich, I. Jack Martin, and
Arthur M. Smith, Associate Judges, and the Honorable
William Tf. Kirkpatrick, United States Senior Judge for
the Eastern District of Pennsylvania.
The court was opened for business in due form.
* * * * x s e *
Customs Appeal No. 5082
THe Unitep States,
Appellant
v.
Evor Hansson, INc.,
Appellee
Said appeal having heretofore been brought on to be
heard before the eourt and due consideration thereon
having been had, it is—
ORDERED that the judgment of the United States
Customs Court be, and the same is hereby, reversed,
and said cause is remanded to said court for further
proceedings consistent with the views expressed in the
opinion of this court herein.
8.3
[Date of Decision: Dee. 22, 1960]
UNITED STATES COURT OF
CUSTOMS AND PATENT APPEALS
October Term 1960
Customs Appeal No. 50382
THe Unitep States,
Appellant
Vv.
Erior Hansson, INe.,
Appellee
SMITH, Judge.
The single judge Customs Court in Reap. Dee. 9212
sustained the determination of the Acting Secretary of
the Treasury (89 Treas. Dee. 197, TLD. 58567) made
pursuant to the Antidumping Act of 1921 (19 U.S.C.
160) that “the industry manufacturing hardboard! in
the United States is likely to be injured by reason of
the importation into the United States of hardboard
from Sweden, and that hardboard from Sweden is being
sold and is likely to be sold in the United. States at less
than its fair value.” The judement of the trial court
was reversed by the Third Division, Appellate) Term
(A.R.D. 114) and the present appeal was taken.
The Appellate Term = stated the primary issue to be
“whether the Adminjstrative Procedure Aet (5) USC
§ 1001, June 11, 1946, ch. 325; 60 Stat. 2837 as amended)
applied to findings of dumping made under the <Anti-
dumping Act of 1921." The trial court held that the
1 Hardboard is a hard, dense board made from wood fibers
interfelted and compressed under heat and pressure. (This foot-
note added.)
B-4
Administrative Procedure Act? did not apply while the
Appellate Term held that it did.
It is our opinion, however, that the stated issue is not
the primary issue requiring decision. The fundamental
and underlying issue as we see it is: Did appellee,
having actual notice of the pendency of the investigation
by the Secretary of the Treasury under the Antidumping
Act of 1921; and having participated actively and with-
out objection in the investigation preceding the finding
of dymping, thereby waive its right to reply upon the
asserted procedural irregularity to nullify the finding
of dumping?
The facts pertinent to a determination of this issue
are that the antidumping investigation, which lasted one
and one-half years and culminated in the presently chal-
lenged finding of dumping, originated in a petition dated
March 31, 1953, which was filed with the Secretary of
the Treasury by the Hardhoard Association as repre-
sentative of all, but three, of the domestic manufactur-
ers of hardboard. ay
Within a month after filing the petition, Mr. Geller, an
Examiner of Merchandise from the office of the Ap-
praiser of Merchandise, contacted representatives of ap-
pellee and informed them of the petition, told them that
the Secretary of the Treasury was making an investi-
gation, solicited information in the form of analytical
data, and invited appellee’s participation in the proceed-
ings, Appellee participated in the proceedings and sup-
plied data to Mr. Geller under a cover letter dated May
dD, 1953. 3
The testimony also establishes that from April 20,
1958, and extending through the spring and summer of
1953, there were numerous conferences between a Mr.
Weitzel, Assistant to the Assistant Secretary of the
2 Hereinafter referred to as the A.P.A.
B-5
Treasury, and the importers of Swedish hardboard, in-
eluding appellee, concerning the investigation. These
conferences sometimes involved the importers and some-
times their attorneys, as well as representatives from
the foreign embassies and from the domestie industry.
Information was communicated both in verbal discussions
and in writings. The exhibits here include a letter dated
June 29, 1953, from appellee to the Commissioner of
Customs, containing a request for a copy of the Hard-
board Association’s petition. Another letter is one dated
June 30, 1953 from the attorneys for appellee requesting
an opportunity to be heard and to submit. evidence,
should the bureau find that a “prima facie ease of dump-
ing is established.” There was an extensive correspond-
ence by appellee’s attorneys directed to the Customs
Bureau with respect to the investigation.
On August 21, 1953, while the investigation was pend-
ing, appellee purehased the merchandise, the appraise-
ment of which is here in issue. On October 13, 1953,
the Acting Commissioner of Customs issued a letter
authorizing all appraisers to withhold appraisements of
entries of Swedish hardboard, and te issue the Customs
Form 6459 Notice of Withheld Appraisement.* Copies
of this notice were sent to appellee and to the collector.
On December 3, 1953, appellee’s merchandise was en-
tered, and appellee acquiesced without objection to with-
holding the appraisement after receipt of notice thereof
on Customs Form 6459.0 Approximately nine) months
later, the investigation was completed and the Acting
Secretary, on August 26, 1954, made the finding of
dumping which was published in the Federal Register
on September 3, 1954 (19 F.R. 5631). Shortly there-
after, on September 9, 1954, notice of appraisement was
3 Form 6459 contains the following statement: ‘“Appraisement
is being withheld on * * * pending investization as to whether
or not the said merchandise is being imported in violation of
the Antidumping Act of 1921.”
B-6
sent to appellee, who soon thereafter instituted the pres-
ent action.
No notice of the investigation was published in the
Federal Register. However, all of the importers of
Swedish hardboard whose merchandise was either await-
ing appraisement on, or was entered subsequent to,
October 13, 1953, reeeived Customs Form 6459 notices.
In addition, the testimony indicates that the importers,
embassies and domestic producers received actual notice
of the petition and that they actively participated in the
investigation from the outset. At no time during the
course of the entire investigation was any issue raised
before the Sceretary, either directly or through the Cus-
toms Bureau, of any procedural irregularities in the in-
vestigation based on alleged non-compliance with the
A.P.A. provisions requiring the publication in the Federal
Register of notice of “rule making” proceedings.
The best interests of orderly procedure require that
if any right or interest of appellee were infringed or
even endangered by the procedure followed in the investi-
gation, appellee should have made _ timely objection
thereto.
The only asserted procedural irregularity in the anti-
dumping investigation here in issue is the failure, based
on appellee’s theory that the finding of dumping was
“rule making,” of the Secretary of the Treasury to pub-
lish notice of the proceeding in the Federal Register
as required by Section 4 of the A.P.A.
These facets seem to us to bring the present case
squarely within United States v. Tucker Truck Lines,
3d44 U.S. 33. It is our opinion that the Tucker decision
clearly requires that the issue here sought to be raised
should have been raised by timely objection at the ad-
ministrative level. Appellee’s position here is aptly
characterized, in the words of the Tucker decision as
eee B-7
being “clearly an afterthought, brought forward at the
Jast possible moment to undo the administrative proceed.
ings without consideration of the merits and [which |
can prevail only from teehnical compulsion irrespective
of considerations of practical justice.” (dd. p. 36.)
Applicable here, is the rationale of the Tucker case,
as stated by the Supreme Court, that
Courts should not topple over administrative deci
sions unless the administrative body not) only has
erred but has erred against objection made. (/id.
p. 37.)
The view we take of this case is, therefore, that it is
not necessary to pass here on the applicability. of the
A.P.A. to antidumping investigations under the Anti-
dumping Act of 1921. We disiniss, on the authority of
the Tucker decision, appellee’s argument that) the pro
eedurai irregularity resulted in the loss of ageney juris.
diction so that the order is totally void. The holding
in the: Tucker case is directly contrary to appellee's
position that the procedural irregularity Vere was con
verted into a jurisdictional irregularity.
Appellee relies heavily upon the deeision in Hoteh vy.
United States (C.A. 9th) 208 F.2d 244 (1953), petition
for rehearing granted, 208 F.2d 249, petition for rehear-
ing denied, 212 F.2d 280 (1954), to support its position.
We think the Fotch case is clearly distinguishable and
is, therefore, not controlling here.
In the Hotch case, as distinzuished from the instant
situation, Hotech had no opportunity to object. to the
procedures followed by the Seeretary of the Interior
prior to the criminal action against him. Hoteh had no
notice of and did not participate in the “rule-making”
hearings. The issue upon which our decision turns, viz.
whether a participant in administrative proceedings can
raise a procedural objection for the first time on appert
to the courts, was never before the court in the Match
B-8
case and, therefore, was not decided. Thus that case
ix not pertinent in determining the matters here in issue.
We, therefore, hold on the authority of the Tucker
decision that the procedural irregularities which appellee
asserts arose from the failure of the Secretary of the
Treasury to publish the notice required by Section 4 of
A.PLAL was a procedural irregularity which appellee has
waived by participating in the antidumping investigation
without making timely objcetion to the Secretary of the
Treasury.
The view we take of this issue makes it unnecessary
to pass upon either the issue of applicability of the
A.PLA. to an antidumping investigation under the Anti-
dumping Act of 1921 or the issue of whether or not the
finding of dumping was “rule making” as defined in the
A.P.A. and leaves for our consideration only the issue
based on appellee’s contention that the Secretary erred
in finding that the domestie hardboard industry would
be “injured” by the nnports of Swedish hardboard.
The specific language placed in issue by this contention
is found in Section 201(a) of the Antidumping Act of
1921, as follows:
(a) Whenever the Seeretary of the Treasury
(hereimaiter called the “Secretary”), after such in-
vestigation as he deems necessary, finds that an
industry in the United States is being or is likely
to be injured, or is prevented from being established,
by reason of the importation into the United States
of a class or kind of foreign merchandise, and that
merchandise of such class or kind is being sold or
ix likely to be sold in the United States or elsewhere
at less than its fair value, then he shall make sueh
finding publie to the extent be deems necessary, to-
gether with a description of the class or kind of
mershandise to whieh it applies in) such detail as
may be necessary for the guidance of the appraising
officers.
B-9
It is appellee’s contention that when Congress used
the word “injured™ ino the said) section it meant “de-
stroved."” Tt is fatal te appellee's position on this issue
that it has produced neither evidence as to the construe
tion plaeed upon the word “injured™ by the Seeretary
nor evidence to indicate what the Seeretary found with
respect to the effeets of the imports upon the domestic
industry.
In this ccanection, appellee directs the attention of
the court to a report of the Tariff Commission on the
hardboard industry, made at the request of the Senate
Committee on Finance for certain information. Appellee
suggests that we either accept the Tariff Comiiission's
findings as those of the Secretary or reevaluate the evi-
dence to make our own findings.
In Aleberg & Co, (luew) ve Cnited States, 21. COPA
110, T.D. 46446 (1955), this court, after a review of the
pertinent cases, said:
iis we are not at liberty here to go into an
Investigation as to whether the facets shown on the
trial below justified the issuanee of the order com
plained of, Under the statute, the Secretary was
not confined to any particular source of information
or means of investigation. Furthermore, suelo in
formation as he might obtain was not open toe pubite
Inspection, Unless he felt that the publie interest so
required, Norweqin Nitrogen Products Ca. ov.
United States, 20 CLCLPLA. (Customs) 27. TLD. 45074,
affirmed in J8s U.S, 294.
The judgment is rerersed,
is reversed,
REVERSED
~B-10
UNITED STATES COURT OF
CUSTOMS AND PATENT APPEALS
Monday, June 5, 1961
At a session of said court continued and held at the
eity of Washington, pursuant to adjournment, on this
oth day of June, A.D. 1961.
Present the Honorable Eugene Worley, Chief Judge,
and the Honorables Giles S. Rich, I. Jack Martin, and
Arthur M. Smith, Associate Judges, and the Honorable
William H. Kirkpatrick, United States Senior Judge for
the Eastern District of Pennsylvania.
The court was opened for business in due form.
@ & * * ® e * e
Customs Appeal No. 5032
Ture Unitep States,
Appellant
v.
E.or Hansson, INc.,
Appellee
Appellee having duly filed petition for rehearing and
due consideration thereon having been had, it is—
ORDERED that said petition be, and the same _ is
hereby, denied.
“a
C-1
APPENDIX C
Unitep States or AmMertca and Interstate
Commerce Commission,
Appellants
Vv.
L. A. Trekker TrveKx Lixes, INc.
Mr. Justice Jackson delivered the opinion of the Court.
One Cunningham applied to the Interstate Commerce
Commission for a certifieate of publie convenience and
necessity to authorize extension of his existing motor
carrier route.’ A railroad and eleven motor carriers,
including appellee, intervened to, oppose. The issues
were referred to an examiner who after hearing recom-
mended that. with exceptions not material here, a cer-
tificate be granted. Appellee excepted, whereupon Divi-
sion 5 of the Commission, in substance, approved. the
recommendation. Appellee requested reconsideration bh)
the full Commission, whieh was denied, and then peti-
tioned for “extraordinary relief," which also was refused.
The Commission thereupon issued a certificate to Cun-
ningham. Appellee upon the ground that the evidence
did not show need for the additional transportation serv-
ice, petitioned the Distriet Court to set aside the certifi-
‘ate and order. The Commission and the United States
answered and a three-judge court was convened.
On the day appointed for hearing, appellee moved for
leave to amend its petition to raise, for the first time, a
contention that the Commission's action was invalid for
want of jurisdiction because the examiner had not been
appointed pursuant to $11 of the Administrative Pro-
cedure Act2 The District Court allowed amendment and,
149 USC § 307.
25 USC § 1010.
C-2
upon proof that the appointment had not been in accord-
ance with that Act, invalidated the order and certificate
without going into the merits of the issue tendered in
the original complaint.4| This appeal by the United States
and the Interstate Commerce Commission raises but a
single question—whether such an objection, first made
at that stage of the proceedings, was not erroneously
entertained. We hold that it was.
Appellee did not offer nor did the court require any
excuse for its failure to raise the objection upon at least
one of its many opportunities during the administrative
proceeding. Appellee does not elaim to have been misled
or in any way hampered in ascertaining the facts about
the examiner’s appointment. It did not bestir itself to
learn the facts until long after the administrative pro-
ceeding was closed and months after the case was at issue
in the District Court, at which time the Commission
promptly supplied the facets upon which the contention
was based and sustained.
The apparent reason for complacency was that it was
not actually prejudiced by the conduet or manner of
appointment of the examiner. There is no suggescvon
that he exhibited bias. favoritism or unfairness. Nor is
there ground for assuming it from the relationships in
the proceeding. He did not aet and was not expected
to aet both as prosecutor and judge. The Commission,
Which appointed him, did not institute or become a party
in interest to the proceeding. Neither it nor its examiner
had any function except to decide justly between eon-
testants in an adversary proeceding. The issue is clearly
an afterthought, brought forward at the last possible
moment to undo the administrative proceedings without
consideration of the merits and ean prevail only from
technical compulsion irrespective of considerations of
practical justice.
3100 F. Supp. 432.
C-3
In Riss & Co. ve. United States, 341 US 907, 95 TL. ed
1845, 71 S. Ct. 620, this Court held that officers bearing
applications for certificates of convenience and necessity
under § 207(a) of the Interstate Commerce Act are sub-
ject to the provisions of the Administrative Procedure
Act But timeliness of the objection was not before us,
because ino that case the examiner’s appointment had
been twice challenged in the administrative proceedings,
once, as it should have been, before the examiner at the
hearings and again before the Commission on a petition
for rehearing. That) decision established) only that a
litigant in such a case as this who does make such de-
mand at the time of hearing is entitled to an examiner
chosen as the Act prescribes.
We have recognized ino more than ai few decisions?
and Congress has recognized ino more than a few. stat-
utes,® that orderly procedure and good) adiuinistration
require that objections to the proceedings of an adminis-
trative agency be made while it) has opportunity for
correction in order to raise issues reviewable by the
courts, It is urged in this case that the Cominission
had a predetermined poliey on this-subjeet which would
4Our decision in the Riss Case was announced after the ad-
ministrative proceeding herein, but before the District Court's
hearing. Riss apparently prompted appellee to raise the point
about the examiner’s qualifications in the District Court.
5 Spiller v. Atchison, T. & S. F. R. Co. 253 US 117, 130, 64
L. ed 810, 819, 40 S. Ct. 466; United States ex rel. Vajtauer v.
Commissioner of Immigration, 273 US 103, 113, 71 L. ed. 560,
566, 47 S. Ct. 302; United States v. Northern Pacific R. Co..
28S US 490, 494, 77 L. ed 914, 917, 55 S. Ct. 406; Unemploy-
ment Compensation Com. of Alaska v. Aragon, 329 US 143, 155,
91 L. Ed. 136, 145, 67 S. Ct. 243. :
6 Section 9(a) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 USC $77(i);
§ 25(a) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 USC §$ 7&(y);
§ 24 of the Public Utility Holding Company Act, 15 USC §79(x);
§ 10 of the Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 USC § 210; §10(e) of
the National Labor Relations Act, 29 USC §160(e).
C-4
have required it to overruie the objection if made. While
this may well be true, the Commission is obliged to deal
with a large number of like cases. Repetition of the
objection in them might lead to a change of policy, or,
if it did net, the Commission would at least be put on
notice of the accumulating risk of wholesale reversals
being ineurred by its persistence.’
Simple fairness to those who are engaged in the tasks
of administration, and to litigants, requires as a general
rule that courts should not topple over administrative
decisions unless the administrative body not only has
erred but has erred against objection made at the time
appropriate under its practice.
It is argued, however, that this ease falls outside of
this general rule and the result below is technically com-
pelled because, if the appointment of the hearing exami-
ner Was irregular, the Commission in some manner lost
Jurisdiction and its order is totally void. This inference
is drawn from our decision in Wong Yang Sung v. Me-
Grath, 389 US 338, 94 L ed 616, 70 S Ct 445, for it. is
eontended we could not have sustained a collateral attack
by writ of habeas corpus in that case unless we found
the defeet in that examiner’s appointment to be one of
Jurisdictional magnitude. We need not inquire what
should have been the result upon that ease had the Gov-
ernment denied or the Court considered whether the
objection were sustained was taken in time. The effect
of the omission was not there raised in briefs or argu-
ment nor discussed in the opinion of the Court. There-
7The Government informs us that in about five thousand cases
commenced after the effective date of the Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, orders are for an indefinite period vulnerable to attack
if no timely objection during the administrative process is re-
quired. The policy of the Commission is to grant application for
rehearing in cases where applicant made the objection before the
examiner. Since its established practice is not to consider issues
not raised before the examiner, it will refuse rehearings in
other cases.
C-95
fore, the case is not a binding precedent on this point.
Even as to our own judicial power or jurisdiction, this
Court has followed the lead of Mr. Chief Justice Marshall
who held that this Court is not bound by a prior exercise
of jurisdiction in a case where it was not questioned and
it was passed sub silentio.®
The question not being foreclosed by preeedent, we
hold that the defeet in the examiner's appointment was
an irregularity which would invalidate a resulting order
if the Commission had overruled an appropriate objection
made during the hearings. But it is not ons whieh de
prives the Commission of power or jurisdiction, so thei
even in the absence of timely objection its order should
be set aside as a nullity.
The judgment is reversed and the cause remanded. to
the District Court for determination on the merits.
Mr. Justice Frankfurter, dissenting.
Were we dispensing what is complacently called) ori-
ental justice, according to which the merits of the in:
dividual case alone, so one is told, determine the result,
IT would join my brethren in’ reversing this judgment.
For I see no reason to disagree with the Court's view
that in this case noncompliance by the Interstate Com-
merce Commission with the requirements of the Adminis-
trative Procedure Aet did not) prejadice the appellee.
Nor do T deny that some rights personal to a party may
be waived, either explicitly or by failure to assert them.
But | find no explicit waiver here, nor is it elear te
me how the appellee can be charged with knowledge of
® Webster v. Fall, 266 US 507, 69 L. ed. 411, 45 S. Ct. 148.
® United States v. More (US), 3 Cranch 159, 172, °2 L. ed. 397,
401; Snow v. United States, 118 US 346, 354, 30 L. ed. 207, 209,
6 S. Ct. 1059; Cross v. Burke, 146 US 8&2, 87, 36 L. ed. 896, 89%,
13 S. Ct. 22; Louisville Trust Co. v. Knott, 191 US 225, 236,
48 L. ed. 159, 163, 24 S. Ct. 119; United States ex rel Arant
v. Lane, 245 US 166,170, 62 L. ed. 223, 224, 38 S. Ct. 94.
C-6
the official status of the examiner on the basis of whose
report the Commission took action adverse to it. In any
event, the requirement of the Administrative Procedure
Act that) proceedings which lead to an administrative
adjudication must be conducted by an independent hear-
ing examiner is now something personal to a party. Tt is
a requirement designed to assure confidence in’ the ad-
ministrative process by defining and Tnniting the various
organs through which that process is allowed to function.
I do not use the term “yurisdiction” because it isa
verbal coat of too many colors, But we are dealing with
legislation which sought to remedy what were believed
to be evils in the way in whieh administrative agencies
exercised their authority prior to the enactment of the
Administrative: Procedure Act of June 11, 1946. That
Act accordingly prolubited the commingling of the con-
Hieting funetions exercised by these agencies. T do say,
therefore, that it) created unwaivable limitations upon
the power of these agencies, as much so as do the defini-
tions In judiciary acts of the different categories of cases
which different courts are empowered to hear and decide.
The Jimitations upon the power of the Interstate © om-
Inerce Commission to act, imposed by the command that
it must do so only in accordance with the requirements
of the Administrative Procedure Act, are thus not with-
in the dispeusing power of any litigant. They bind and
confine the Commission itself,
I} cannot otherwise read what we deeided in’ Wong
Yang Sune ve MeGrath, S389 US 33, 94 L ed 616, 70S Ct
$45, and Riss & Co. ve. United States, 341 US 907,95 L ed
45, 71 NS Ct 620. 1 do not rest my conelusion on any
assumption of jurisdiction sub silentio in the Wong Yang
Sune Case. What I am resting on is the significance
we attached to the requirement of independent. hearing
examiners as inherent in the process of administrative
adjudieation.
C-7
After we decided Wong Yang Sung v. MeGrath (US)
supra, Congress was promptly asked to relieve the de-
portation process of this requirement and it did so, See
Chapter TE of The Supplemental Appropriations Net,
Pol (Act of September 27, 1950, Pub TL No. 845). After
we meade the same ruling as to the Interstate Commerce
Commission, Congress Was promptly asked to validate
procecdings previously conducted by the Commission in
disregard of the requirements for independent hearing
examiners, Congress has chosen not to enaet such
remedial leeislation.’ To do not construe this want of
action as controlling upon the issue before us. Tb refer
to this subsequent legislative history merely as an in-
dication of the path by which undesirable consequences
flowinee from our decision in Riss & Co. ve United States
(US) supra, may be corrected without injustice. Situ.
ations like this arise from time to time when decisions
of this Court in’ the observance of law suggest corrective
legislation. See e.g. United States ve Heinszen & Co.
206 US 370, 51 Led 1098, 27 S Ct 742, 11 Ann Cas 68s,
Mr. Justice Douglas, dissenting.
This decision gives a capricious twist to the law. One
would assume frome aoreading of the opinion in’ Wong
Yang Sune ve. MeGrath, 559 US 235, 94 Led 616, TOS Ct
445, that the failure of a federal agenev to use the type
of examiner preseribed by Congress in the Administra-
tive Procedure Act, 60 Stat 327, 5 USC o* 1001 et SOU,
Vitiated the proceedings whether objection was raised
er not, The Congress decided to separate the judicial
functions of examiners from the investigative and) prose-
euting functions. It required the separation ino cases
involving property interests as well as those involving
personal liberty. Tt) condemned as unfair ao practice
1A remedial bill was successful in the House but failed in the
Senate. The bill was HR 5045. See HR Rep. No. 1637, 82d
Cong. 2d Sess.
C-8
which had grown up of allowing one man to be the police
officer, the prosecutor, and the Judge.
Violation of that requirement led the Court in Wong
Yang Sung’s Case to issue a writ of habeas corpus to
save an alien from deportation where the hearing ex-
aminer did not meet the requirements of the Adminis-
trative Procedure Act. That was a collateral attack on
the administrative proceeding, suecessfully made even
though no objection to the examiner was raised at the
hearing?
The objection raised in the present case likewise was
not made at the hearing; but it was made before review
of the order had heen completed. It would seem, there-
fore, that reversal of this administrative order would
follow a fortiori from Wong Yang Sung’s Case.
No one knows how the commingling of police, prose-
eutor and judicial functions in one person may affect a
particular decision. In some situations it might make
no difference; in others it might subtly corrupt the ad-
ministrative process. The only important consideration
for us is that Congress has condemned the practice; and
we as supervisors of the federal system should see to
it that the law is enforced, not selectively but in all cases
coming before us.
Of course, an ageney that flouts the mandate for fair
examiners does not lose jurisdiction of the ease. Even
habeas corpus is no longer restricted to the testing of.
“jurisdiction” in the historic sense. See Johnson vy.
Zerbst, 304, US 458, 467, 82 L ed 1461, 1468, 5&8 S Ct
1019, 146 ALR 357; Bowen v. Johnston, 306 US 19, 24,
83 L ed 455, 459, 59 S Ct 442. But the action of the
Commission in the present case created an error that
permeates the entire proceeding. It is error that goes
to the very vitals of the case. I would therefore set aside
2 And the alien in that case, like the respondent here, was
represented by counsel in the administrative proceedings.
C-9
the order and send the case back for a hearing that
meets the statutory standards of fairness. [T would make
the rule of Wong Yang Sung’s Case good for more than
the day and the occasion.
Horen ve. Unitep Srares
No. 13621
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
NINTH CIRCUIT
March 22, 1954
Before STEPHENS, BONE, and ORR, Circuit Judges.
STEPHENS, Circuit Judge.
Steven V. Hoteh was convicted of fishing in violation
of a regulation of the Department of the Interior extend-
ing the period closed to commercial fishing on the Taku
inlet.’ In an opinion filed September 14, 1953, this court
affirmed the conviction, holding that the cited regulation
Was within the seone of the authority delegated by
statute? and that it applied to Hoteh. See Hoteh v.
United States, 9 Cir, 1953, 208 F.2d 244. Subsequently,
Hotch petitioned this court for a rehearing at) whieh
time he first raised the argument that the regulaticn was
not effective since it had not been published ino the Ped-
eral Register. As the petition raised a jurisdictional
point, we entertained it and in a supplemental opinion,
filed December 2, 1953, reversed the conviction on the
ground that the regulation closing the Taku Inlet to com-
mercial fishing from 6:00 P.M. Thursday of each week
1 Regulatory Announcement 35, Announcement No. 2, announced
by the Regional Director of the Fish and Wildlife Service,
Juneau, Alaska, under authority delegated to him by the Secre-
tary of the Interior, See Title 48 U.S.C.A. § 221, and Title 50
C.F.R. § 102.3(a).
2 Title 48 U.S.C.A. § 220 et seq.
C-10
was ineffective since it had not been published in the
Federal Register’ Hotch v. United States, 9 Cir, 1955,
208 F. 2d 249.
The United States now petitions for a rehearing on
the ground that publication was not necessary to make
the regulation ino issue effective against the defendant
in this action since (as it is stated in the petition) the
defendant had actual potice of the extended closed period.
Section d(a) of the Federal Register Aet, Title 44
ULS.CLA. $305, requires the publication in the Federal
Register of, among other documents? such documents or
classes of documents as may be required to be published
by Act of Congress.2 Any such document which is not
duly published is invalid.” In 1946, Congress enacted
the Administrative Procedure Act, 60 Stat. 287, 5
U.S.C.A, § 1001 et seq., in which it) described certain
¢lasses of documents which it required to be published.
Section 4(a) of the Administrative Procedure Act, Title wee
do ULS.CLA, § 1003(a), requires that:
3 Title 5 U.S.C.A. §§ 1001(c), 1002(a)(3), and 1003.
*The term “document” includes agency rules, by definition.
Title 44 U.S.C.A. § 304.
5 Section 5: “(a) There shail be published in the Federal Reg-
ister * * * (2) such documents or classes of documents as may
be required so to be published by Act of the Congress: * * *”
Title 44 U.S.C.A. § 305.
® Section 7: “‘No document required under section 305(a) of
this chapter to be published in the Federal Register shall be
valid as against any person who has not had actual knowledge
thereof until the duplicate originals or certified copies of the
document shall have been filed with ihe Division and a copy made
availabie fur public inspection as provided in section 302 of
this chapter; and unless otherwise specifically provided by statute,
such filing of any document, required or authorized to be pub-
lished under section 305 of this chapter, shall, except in cases
where notice by publication is insufficient in law, be sufficient
to give notice of the contents of such documents to any person
subject thereto or affected thereby. * * *” Title 44 U.S.C.A.
§ 307.
C-11
“General notice of proposed rule making shall be
published in the Federal Register (unless all persons
subject thereto are named and either personally
served or otherwise have actual notice thereal in
accordance with law) * * "24
And Section 3(a)(3), Tithe 56 ULS.CLAL § 1002 (a) (3) re
quires that:
“Every ageney > shall separately state and cur
rently publish in’ the Federal Register * * * sub
stantive rules adopted as authorized by law * * *."
We quote from the Report of the Tlouse of Repre-
sentatives Committee on the Judiciary in its statement
on the substance of the Adiministrative Procedure Act:
“In the ‘rule making’ (that is, tlegislative’) fune
tion it {the Administrative Procedure Net | provides
that with certain exeeptions agencies must publish
notice and at least permit interested parties to subi
their views In writing for agency consideration be
fore the issuance of general regulations (see. 4)
funderseoring ours |. ULS. Code Congressional Sery
lee, T9th Congress, Second Session, 146. po TE,
at 1205.
The report goes on to state that hearings need net he
held on a proposed regulation * unless required by statute.
*It will be noted that the only exception from the necessity
of publication is where the persons subject to a particular rule
are specifically named, and even then only if they are aleo either
personally served or have actual notice. In the instant case,
neither the statute fixing closed periods, Tithe 4% U.S.CLA. § 224,
nor the proposed regulations extending the statutory closed period
“(see Title 50 CFR §§119.4 and 102.3a, and Regulatory An-
nouncement 34, Announcement No. 2) names the persons subject
ihereto. Therefore, the exception clause to the requirement of
publication in section 4(a) of the Administrative Procedure Ac
as to persons with actual notice does not apply.
8“ *Agency’ means each authority * * * of the Government of
the United States other than Congress, the courts, or the govern-
ments of the vossessions, Territories, or the District of Columbia.”
Title 5 U.S.C.A. §1001(a).
® While the Administrative Procedure Act uses the term “rule”,
its definition encompasses the term “regulation”. See Title 5
C-12
But the important disclosure is that publication is a
prerequisite to the issuance of a regulation.
{1] The Congressional directive in regard to the pro-
cedure to be foliowed in the issuance of agency regula-
tions must be strietly complied with, since the issuance
of regulations is in effect an exercise of delegated legis-
lative power. In the case before us, neither notice that
aA regulation extending the closed period on the Taku
Inlet was to be issued, nor the proposed regulation itself,
was published in the Federal Register. The failure to
eompiy with either of the referred to provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act means that the procedure
laid down by Congress for the implementation of agency
rules and regulations has not been met.
Appellee (United States) relies heavily on the language
of section 7 of the Federal Register Act, Title 44 U.S.C.A.
§ 307, to support its contention that actual notice is a
substitute for the requirement of publication, to-wit:
“No document required under section 305(a) of
this chapter to be published in the Federal Register
shall be valid as against any person who has not had
actual knowledge thereof until the duplicate originals
or certified copies of the documents shall have been
filed with the Division '® and a copy made available
for public inspection as provided in section 302. of
this chapter [seetion 2 of the Federal Register Act |;
e**” (Underseoring ours]
But section 7 does not imply, as appellee would have it,
that the referred to doeument or rule would be valid
without publication as to a person who has actual notice.
For section 7 must be read in connection with section 2
U.S.C.A. §1001(c) and Report of the House of Representatives
Committee on the Judiciary: ‘“*, * * general regulations (called
‘rules’ in the bill) * * *.” U. S. Code Congressional Service,
79th Congress, Second Session, 1946, p. 1195 at 1205.
10The National Archives Establishment of the Office of the Ad-
ministrator of General Services. Title 44 U.S.C.A. §301; §1
Federal Register Act.
C -13
Which it modifies. Section 2 sets up a requirement. in
addition to publication, ie. it provides that an original
and two duplicate originals ef a proposed rule must be
filed with the Division. And section 7 provides that a
proposed rule is not valid, although published, until those
duplicate originals have been filed. An exception to. the
requirement of filing the duplicate originals is made. in
the circumstances where the interested party has had
aciual notice, But no exception is made to the independ-
ent requirement of publication, nor can section 7 of the
Federal Register Act be inferred to intend such an ex-
ception, particularly in view of the reiteration of the
requirement of publication found in subsections 4(a) and
(¢) of the Administrative Procedure Act, whieh is a later
expression by Congress; Tithe 5 U.S.CLAL £ 1008(a) and
(¢).
[2] While the Administrative Procedure Act and the
Federal Register Act are set up in terms of making in-
formation available to the public, the Acts are more than
Inere recording statutes whose function is solely to give
constructive notice to persons who do not have actual
notice of certain ageney rules." The Aets set up. the
procedure which must be followed in order for ageney
rulings to be given the foree of law. Unless the pre-
seribed procedures are complied with, the ageney (or
administrative) rule has not been legally issued, and
consequently it is ineffective.
The United States, in support of its argument. that
actual notice obviates the need for publication in’ the
“It is an elementary rule in the construction of recording
laws that notice of an unrecorded instrument is equivalent to the
recording of it, with respect to the person having such notice.”
{Underscoring ours.] 45 Am. Jur. 527. “Constructive notice is
the law’s substitute for actual notice, * * *. Constructive notice
has sometimes been defined by statute as notice imputed to a
person not having actual notice, and it has been said that an
essential part of the presumption is that the person sought to
be charged is in fact ignorant of the facts.” 39 Am. Jur. 236.
C - 14
Federal Register, cites cases in which it has been held
that publication gives constructive notice to all inter-
ested parties that a rule has been issued.’* However,
the holdings in those cases do not support the conclusion
that a required definite procedure in the establishment
of a criminal offense is waived by personal notice that
the legislative body having jurisdiction to legislate had
intended to create the offense.
[3-6] Under our system of law, no act is punishable
as a crime unless it is specifically condemned by the
common law or by a statutory enactment of the legis-
lature." The Congress has here made it an unlawful
Offense against the United States to fish in “closed”
waters, and has delegatéd the authority to determine
Which waters shall be closed to the Seeretary of the
Interior who, in turn, has subdelegated his- authority.
Since Congress could delegate its authority, it eould also
delegate the manner in which that authority is to be
exercised, Therefore, the Administrative Procedure Act
and the Federal Register Act must be read as a part
of every Congressional delegation of authority, unless
specifically excepted. Those Acts require publicaticn,
irrespective of actual notice, as a prerequisite to the
issuance of a regulation making certain acts criminal.
If notice of a proposed rule is not published in’ the
Federal Register at least-thirty days prior to its issuance,
or if food cause is not found and published for the im-
mediate issuance of a rule," the rule cannot be legally
12 Among the cited cases are: Federal Crop Insurance Corp. v.
Merrill, 1947, 332 U.S. 380, 385, 68 S. Ct. 1, 92 L. Ed. 10;
Flannagan v. United States, 9 Cir., 1944, 145 F.2d 740; Kempe
v. United States, 8 Cir., 1945, 151 F.2d 680; and Borak v. Biddle,
1944, 78 U.S. App. D.C. 374, 141 F.2d 278, 280.
See, also, Willapoint Oysters v. Ewing, 9 Cir., 1949, 174 F. 2d
676; United States v. Morton Salt Co., 1950, 338 U.S. 632, 70
S. Ct. 357, 94 L. Ed. 401.
15 22 C.J.S., Criminal Law, § 17.
144“The required publication or service of any substantive rule
* * * shall be made not less than thirty days prior to the effective
j
C-15
issued; if the rule itself is not published, it follows that
it has not been issued; and if a rule has not been issued,
it has no foree as law.
(7-9) Tf certain acts have not been made crimes by
duly enacted law, the knowledge of their contemplated
administrative proscription cannot subject. the informed
person to criminal prosecution. While ignorance of the
law ix no defense, it is conversely true that a law which
has vot been duly enacted is not a law, and therefore a
person who does not comply with its provisions cannot
be guilty of any crime.
[10} We hold that sinee neither the proposed regu-
lation nor the regulation itself in the instant case were
ever published, the regulation is not valid) whether or
not appellant had actual notice of its contents. Whether
or not actual notice might be required in addition to pub-
lication in certain circumstances,” ‘we do not decide.
It will be noted that on February 15, 1952. just three
months prior to the instant extension of the closed period
on the Taku Inlet to 6:00 P.M. Thursday, the Department
of the Interior had made changes in the closed period on
the Taku Inlet through a regulation duly published in
the Federal Register. 17 F.R. 1478, 50 CLF.R. 119.5.
The instant, further, extension .of the closed period on
the Taku Inlet) should have been accomplished in’ the
same way.
The petition of the United States for rehearing is
denied.
date thereof except as otherwise provided by the agency upon
good cause found and published with the rule.” Title 5 U.S.C.A.
§ 1003(c).
15 As the United States in its brief points out, there are times
when the commercial fishing regulations are changed while com-
mercial fishermen are at sea and when it _ be unjust to
bind them with regulations published in Washington, D. C.
j
C - 16
Eastern Air Lines, INC.,
Appellant
Y.
Union Trust Company et al.,
Appellees
Unrrep States or AMERICA,
Appellant
Vv.
Union Trust Company et al.,
Appellees
Nos, 11991, 11992, 12017, 12018
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT
Argued June 22, 1954
Decided Feb. &, 1955
Petition for Rehearing in Bane Denied in all Cases
on April 15, 1955
Petition for Rehearing Denied by the Division which
Heard the Case in Nos, 11991-2 on May 4, 1955
Petition for Rehearing Denied by the Division which
Heard the Cases in Nos. 12017-8 on May 11, 1955
Before EDGERTON, WILBUR K. MILLER and
FAHY, Cireuit Judges. |
WILBUR K. MILLER, Circuit Judge.
On the morning of November 1, 1949, an Eastern Air
Lines DC-4 plane was flying from New York to Wash-
ington, carrying fifty-one passengers and a crew of four.
When it was on final approach for landing on runway 3
at the Washington National Airport and at an altitude
C-17
of about 300 feet, the airliner was struck from above and
behind by a P-38 military-type aireratt just purchased
by the Bolivian Govermuent, whieh was being tested by
a Bolivian military pilot, Erie Bridoux, who was its only
occupant. The DC-4 was cut in two. The forward part
fell in the Potomac River, the after portion on the Vir-
ginia shore, All fifty-five persons aboard were killed.
The P-388, badly damaged, of course, plunged into the
river but somehow Brideux escaped from the cockpit.
He was rescued and, despite serious injuries, survived.
These suits were brought in the United States District
Court for the Distriet of Columbia by the Union Trust
Company and Melville W. Stuart as the executors of
Ralph F. Miller and Mildred) ik. Miller, his wife, who
Were passengers on the DC-4.0 Mastern Air Lines, Ine.,
and rie Bridoux were named as defendants in two of
the actions and the United States was the defendant in
the other two.!) Many similar suits filed on behalf of
the estates of others who died in the fatal crash are
pending under an agreement that the determination of
liability ino these cases shall govern their disposition.?
Although the two captioned cases against Bridoux
and Kastern were tried to a jury, and the two against
the Government to the court, by agreement of the parties
all four actions were tried simultaneously, The jury
found Bridoux not “lable,” but found against Eastern
1 Aubin & Lyons, t/a Universal Marine and Supply Company,
were also named as defendants on the theory they owned or had
some interest in the P-38. They were dismissed when it ap-
peared that title to the plane had passed to the Bolivian Gov-
ernment.
2It was also agreed that the determination of the situs of
the accident (whether it occured over the Potomac River, which
is in the District of Columbia, or over land in Virginia), made
in these cases, shall be binding in all the others. The situs is
important because a Virginia statute limits recovery for wrongful
death to $15,000. In the District of Columbia there is no statu-
tory limit.
C-18
Air Lines in the sum of $50,000 for the estate of Ralph
KF Miller and in the sum of $15,000 for the estate of his
wife. In the Federal Tort Claims actions against the
United States, the trial judge held the Government table
to the estates and fixed the damages at $50,000 and
$15,000) respectively, D.C) 118 F.Supp. 80. Eastern Air
Lines and the United States appeal.
I
We first summarize the factual background which ts
essential to an understanding of the reasons for reversal
advanced by the appellants. The Washington National
is a controlled airport; that is to say, from a_glass-
enclosed observation platform ino a control tower stand-
ing above and west of runway 3, employees of the Civil
Aeronautics Administration observe arriving’ and depart-
‘ng planes and direct their movements by radio. An in-
coming plane may not land and a departing plane may
not take off until it receives tower permission to do so.
The Administrator of Civil Aeronautics adopted, and
published in the Federal Register October 14, 1949 [14
Fed. Reg. 6247-6250), a regulation for the administration
of the Washington National, which is a civilian airport
owned by the United States. Section 570.50(¢) of the
regulation is as follows:
“(¢) Aircraft landing or taking off shall conform
to the air traffie pattern as published jointly in the
Airman’s Guide by the Anacostia Naval Air Station,
Bolling Field and the Washington National Airport.”
The air trafic pattern referred to is a map of the airport
and vicinity, with lines drawn over it intended to show
the general flight patterns for taking off from and land-
ing on the various runways. For landing on runway 3,
it shows a southward pattern to a point south of Alex-
andria (the downwind leg), then an east turn until over
the Potomac River (the base leg), then northwardly over
the river to a point a short distance northeast of Alex-
C -19
andria, where it curves to the left over the Potomac
Yards, and then a curve to the right inoa line for a
straight approach te runway 3.0 The drawing itself Wits
published im the Airman’s Guide Mareh 1. 1949) but was
not published imo the Federal Register until August 7,
W952. Jone after the aeeident here invelved. The regu.
lation published Oetober 14. 1949, referred to but) did
not include the traffie pattern.
Over Eastern Air Lines* vehement objection, the trial
court admitted the traffie pattern when it was offered in
evidence by the appellees, and charged the jury that it
was a binding Federal regulation, and that an unauthor-
imed deviation therefram would be negligenee por ose.
Bastern admittedly had knowledge of the pattern,
Ono the morning of the aeeident Glenn Do Pigner, one
of the seven traffic control operators who Were Working
in the tower, was advised by the Hastern DC-4 at about
11shsS am. that it was over Beltsville, Maryland, bo miles
northeast of the airpert, and was asking for landing
instructions, ‘Tigner authorized it to enter a lett trathe
pattern for landing on runway 2 and advised the pilot
to contact the tower again from oa point closer to the
airport. Tiener testified that in a second communication,
When the Hastern plane was still north of the airport, he
eleared it) to land on runway 0.4 Tle fixed the time of
$The Administrator of Civil Acronautics was called by the
court as a Witness on the meaning of the phrase “cleared to land”.
He testified that when a plane in the traffic pattern of an air-
port is “cleared to land,” the pilot of the plane is thereby au-
thorized to commence his landing approach operation immediately ;
in other words, when a pilot receives that clearance, wherever
he may be in the traffic pattern, there is no plane ahead of him
and he may make his turn at his discretion and consistently with
the safe management of his plane and may come in and land at
once on the runway which has been designated by the tower.
That this is the only meaning of the phrase “cleared to land”
was the unanimous testimony of all the certified air traffic con-
trollers who testified on the subject. The trial judge instructed
the jury as a matter of law that such was the meaning of the
phrase “cleared to land.”
C - 20
the clearance as approximately 11:44 a.m. The DC-4
eontinued its flight and entered the traffie pattern as it
had been direeted to do. Tt had circled from the pattern
and was on final approach for runway 38> when it) was
struck by the Bolivian plane.
The Bolivian P-38 had taken off from rinway 3 at
17:37 a.m. and therefore had been in the air only between
nine and ten minutes when the collision occurred, Short-
Iv after he had cleared the DC-4 to land, Tigner observed
the P-38 at oa high altitude, circling Alexandria about
seven miles south jof the airport, heading toward the
east and starting:a turn to its left. Tigner was then
talking to another plane. THe was informed by a tower
eolleague the P-38 was requesting landing instructions.
He saw it continuing its left turn and said by radio,
“Bolivian 927, did) you request landing instructions?”
Bridoux replied he had done so, whereupon Tigner told
him he was cleared to enter the left traffie pattern for
runway 3 and asked him to report on his downwind leg
west of the airport.
Tigner said when he next saw the P-38 it was about
five miles southwest of the airport at about 4.000 feet
heading northeastwardly with its gear down and in a
steep and rapid deseent. At 11:45 a.m. he warned the
DC-4 that the P-388 was in traffic. He said to the P-38,
“Bolivian 927, make a 360 to vour left. You are No, 2
to land. Traffie is an Eastern DC-4, turning final ahead
and below you.” Bridoux did not acknowledge the mes-
sage and did not turn as directed. Tigner then called,
“Bolivian 927, turn left, turn left. You are No. 2 to land,
following an Eastern DC-4 turning final ahead and below
you.” Bridoux did not acknowledge or comply.
During these transmissions the DC-4 was on its base
leg turning into final approach. When Tigner saw the
P-88 was not complying with his instructions, he called
the DC-4 and said, “Eastern 537, make an immediate
C-21
left turn. Traffie is P-38 above and behind vou.” The
DC-4, which had gone only about a quarter of a mile on
final approach, responded -with a surge of power into
a left turn. As it-did so, the Bolivian plane struck it.
Bridoux testified that a minute after his take-off he
began to have engine trouble. He reported that fact to
the tower and requested landing instructions. Receiving:
no answer, he repeated his request and the tower said,
“Land 2 on Runway 3." which he understood to mean
there was another plane ahead of him behind which he
was to land. He testified he also understood this mes-
sage to constitute a clearance to land rather than merely
clearance to enter the traffic pattern,
When he was about two miles west of the airport
descending at a rate of 500 to 600 feet a minute, Bridoux
said he saw a plane making a final approach for a land-
ing either on runway 36 or 3, which was either a Beech-
craft C-45 or a Lockheed C-60. He said, "* * * |
realized that that was the reason IT was No. 2 to Jand.”
He continued flying south until he was about five or six
miles south of the field and then made a 90-degree left
turn. As he did so, he observed the Lockheed or Beech-
craft on the ground taxiing toward the buildings. He
had not seen it actually land.
Having been told by the tower he was No. 2 to. land
on runway 3 and having seen, as he thought, that the
plane which was No, 1 to land on that runway had al-
ready done so and had taxied away, Bridoux concluded
it was unnecessary for him to cheek with the tower to
learn whether the plane ahead of him had landed. We
reproduce in the margin * his testimony that he regarded
*“Q. As a matter of fact, at that point you not only accepted
that clearance which you told us was given, but you made another
complete 360-degree turn around the airport; and then after you
(Con’t. on following page)
C - 22
the tower's statement, “You are No. 2 to land on runway
6)
3,° as absolute eclearanee to land after he had decided
for himself, without further communication with or from
the tower, that the No. 1 plane was out of the way.
* (Con’d.):
had done that, you started downwind leg five or six miles. A.
Because I was No. 2 to land, sir.
“Q. You at no time, Captain, asked the identity of the plane
that was ahead of you, did you, Captain? A. No, sir.
“Q. And you had no way of knowing, based upon information
from the tower, that that plane was ahead of you, did you, Cap-
tain? A. Unless I see.
“Q. And you didn’t see it. <A. 1 saw it on final approach, the
C-45 or C-60. ©
“Q. What you are telling us is after getting that clearance, you
assumed /the plane you saw was the one they meant was ahead
of you? A. Yes, sir. :
“Q. But you didn’t check with the tower to see if that was
the plane? A. Why have I got to check, if I am seeing?
“Q. I am not asking you why. I am simply asking you if it
isn’t a fact that that you didn’t check back with the tower to
see if that plane you saw was the one ahead of you. A. It isn’t
necessary, because I was seeing the airplane.
“Q. Would you please answer yes or no to my question? You
didn’t check back with the tower to see if that plane you told
us you noticed on final approach was the one ahead of you, did
you? A. When I was on final approach, I called the tower.
“Q. Captain, I am asking you, sir, if after you saw that piane,
which you said seemed to be lined up for landing, which seemed
to be on approach for landing, on runway 3, did you at any time
thereafter ask the tower if that was the plane that had been
ahead of you? A. No, I didn’t ask. It wasn’t necessary ‘to.
“Q. You did not ask the tower— A. Because it wasn’t neces-
sary. I was seeing the airplane. I was watching it.
“Q. What you mean is you saw a plane. A. Yes, sir.
“Q. You have no way of knowing whether that one was the
one the tower was referring to, or some other plane, have you,
Captain? A. There was a way because he was on final approach.
If he didn’t land yet, I understand he is No. 1.
“Q. Isn’t it a fact that from that point on there was a lapse
of four or five minutes before you came in, on your own final
approach? A. More or less.
“Q. And you never contacted the tower to find out where the
plane that was No. 1 was, did you? A. I called on final ap-
(Con’t. on following page)
C-23
After seeing the Lockheed or Beecheraft taxiing from
runway 3, Bridoux flew on for about one and one-quarter
inles and made another 90-degree left turn to proceed
on final approach, after which he headed north tlying at
*(Con’d.):
proach, advising them I was on final, and they could tel! me any-
thing at that time, in order to realize that.
“Q. That was after you had lined up for runway 3, wasn't it?
A. No, sir.
“Q. You said you were on final approach. A. On final; but the
final is not just the straight line. The final is after the turn
from base leg.
“Q. Did you ask the tower for any permission before you lined
up for final approach? <A. No.
“Mr. Bress: He hadn't said he lined up for final approach.
“The Witness: I called to the tower, after the turn from base
and I began the final approach.
“By Mr. Galiher:
“Q. And you didn’t ask the tower for permission before you
began the final approach, did you? <A. I didn’t have to‘ask the
tower ior permission, after I had been cleared for landing, sir.
“Q. You hadn’t been cleared to land at that point, had you,
Captain? A. I had been cleared for landing, and the first call
from the tower cleared me for landing.
“Q. You mean when you were told you were No. 2 to Jand on
runway 3? A. Yes.
“Q. And that is the only clearance you have had up to this
point? A. I know I was the second.
“Q. And that was issued upon the final approach? A. No; it
was before the final approach.
“Q. Whether it was after or before you had begun the final
approach, you had begun the final approach before you got any
landing clearance from tle tower. <A. No, sir. The first call from
the tower was when I was cleared for landing.
“Q. For what? A. They cleared me for landing.
“Q. For landing No. 2? A. Yes, sir.
“Q. Did you tell us that being cleared for landing No. 2 is a
lai..ing clearance, a final landing clearance? A. If they mention
that word, it is.
“Q. You say it was a final landing clearance, the clearance that
told you you were cleared to land on runway 3, behind another
plane, or No. 2, as I think you used it? A. No. 2. That was all.
“Q. No. 2. You have no way of knowing whether that plane
you told us you saw when you were on downwind leg was the
(Con’t. on following page)
C - 24
150 m.p.h. and at an altitude of about 1,200 feet. Tle
said he then called the tower, advising he was on final
approach and that the tower responded, saying, “Bolivian
P-38, prepare to land on runway 3,” and gave him the
wind direction; and that he acknowledged the instruction.
He then put his flaps down, reduced his speed to about
130 m.p.h., and began an S turn to line up with runway
3. As he did so, he heard over the radio, “Clear to the
left, clear to the left,” but thought the instruction was
for somebody on the ground. He did not turn to the
left or take any other action, but continued on his course
and the collision occurred two or three seconds later.
The visibility from the P-3S was structurally limited
so that Bridoux could not see ahead of him except at a
* (Con’d.) :
plane you later saw on the landing strip or not, do you? A. { saw
the craft, and I assumed it was the No. 1, sir.
“Q. That plane you told us you saw as you were on downwind
leg, west of the tower— A. Before.
“Q. Then you told us when you got down south, when you
were turning on base leg, you noticed a plane that was landing
or had landed-——I think you used the expression-— A. Yes.
“Q. —on the landing strip. A. Yes.
“Q. It was actually on the ground? A. Yes, sir.
“Q. You had no way of knowing from that distance of five
or six miles away, did you, whether that was the same plane you
had previously seen, or some other plane, did you? A. I don’t
know exactly. But I saw more or less the same airplane.
“Q. And you never tried to contact the tower to inquire whether
or not the plane you had seen un final approach, as you call ii,
when you were on downwind leg, was the plane that was No. 1,
did you? A. But how am I going to ask the tower that? Am
I going to say ‘Is the plane I am seeing No. 1? How is the tower
going to know what plane I am seeing? There was no reason of
calling back to the tower.
“Q. It would have prevented this accident, wouldn’t it, if you
had called the tower and inquired as to the identity of the plane
ahead of you? A. Except that I happened to observe this plane
on final approach, not any other plane. Therefore I assumed this
was the No. 1. This was the only one on final approach.
“Q. And that is where the trouble came in, because you assumed
that was the plane that was ahead of ydu, isn’t it, Captain?
A. Probably, sir.”
considerable distanee. Tle was flying entirely by iime,
computing the distance covered by multiplying his ped
per minute by the number of minutes traveled. Hle snc
that at an altitude of 1200 fect and four and oa hall
miles from the airport he could) see nothing ahead ane!
below for a distance of two and one-half miles. dt is alse
observed that Bridoux said that as he deseended= the
nose of duis plane was not more than ten degrees imder
horizontal, and that he was seeomplishing the deseent by
redueng his speed. ‘Thus there was not enough nose
declination to inerease appreeiably the extent of visibilits
Immediately in’ front of and below the PoBs. | Briers
did not see the Eastern D¢ “4 at any time,
IT
[1,2] With the foregoing baekground., we turn. te
Kastern’s contention that the court erred ino admittiag gs
evidence the approach and landing pattern offered as an
exhibit by the appellees; and in instrueimg the jury it
Was a binding Federal regulation, a breach of whiet
would constitute negligence per se,
With respect to the traffie pattern, the eourt charged
the jury as follows:
“eee TP his pattern in a general sense provided
that an aireraft arriving from the north and desiring
to land at the Washington National Airport om Run
way 3 would proceed) from north to west, ims tie
general vicinity of the Pentagon. and then proceed
from that direction south, on * * © its downwind lee.
and continue in the southerly direction south im the
direction of the George Washington Memoria! Tern
ple and south of the city of Alexandria: then turn
ing due east on what is called the base lew. nid
ultimately what is called the final apnoroach. a north
or northeast heading.
“eee ee This is the preseribed pattern. But) vou
are instructed as a matter of law that there is moth
ing rigid about it. Tt imust be conformed to in oa
C - 26
general way. In other words, the pattern ‘s not a
line drawn over the ground which must be followed
by the airplane in question. It is just exactly as
the word itself indicates, a pattern which must be
followed, but not with the rigidity and the inflexi-
bility of a line from one point to another. Indeed,
the very purpose of flight traffie patterns is to control -
trafhe, and at an uncontrolled airport it must be
followed; but at a controlled airport, such as Wash-
ington, the controller has the final say; and you are
so instructed.
“ However, the unauthorized stepping out of the
pattern, leaving the pattern, departing from it-——and
note my language—the unauthorized stepping out of
the pattern, leaving the pattern, departing from it,
would be a violation of law, because the pattern is
preseribed by rule which has the force and effect of
law. And so, therefore, unauthorized action of the
character I have just referred to would be negligence,
as I have defined that term to you, and would be,
as we lawyers say, negligence per se, in other words,
would be negligence as a result of the verv act itself
and no further proof would be necessary. This is
the negligence, in this aspect of the case, which the
plaintiff alleges against Eastern. * * *”
In insisting the court erred in admitting the traffic
pattern as an exhibit and in instructing the jury that
it was a binding regulation and that an unauthorized
deviation from the pattern would be negligence per se,
Fastern relied on the fact that the traffie pattern had
not been published in the Federal Register and cited
Hotch v. United States, 9 Cir., 1953, 208 F. 2d 244, 250,
as authority that it was therefore not a binding regu-
lation. The pattern had been officially prescribed, how-
ever, and Eastern had actual knowledge of it. In those
circumstances we think the pilots of the DC-4 were re-
quired to follow the pattern and, since it is obviously
a safety measure to some extent, the court correctly
charged the jury that an unauthorized departure from it
was negligence per se.
C-27
AMEKADA PrerroLeEuM Corporation,
Petitioner
Vv.
FepernaL Power COMMISSION,
Respondent
Mipstares Oi Corporation,
Petitioner
¥.
Teperan Powrr ComMMIssion,
Respondent
Cirres Service Ou. Company,
Petitioner
¥.
FeperaL Power ComMMIssION,
Respondent
SKELLY O1n Company,
Petitioner
Vv.
FepERAL PowrER COMMISSION,
Respondent
Nos. 5044, 5046, 5099, 5103
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
TENTH CIRCUIT
March 17, 1956
Rehearing Denied April 25, 1956
Before HUXMAN, MURRATD and PICKETT, Cireuit
Judges.
HUXMAN, Circuit Judge.
On June 7, 1954, the Supreme Court rendered its deei-
sion In) Phillips Petroleum Co. v. State of Wisconsin,
C - 28
347 U.S. 672, 74S. Ct. 794, 796, 98 L. Ed. 1035, holding
that the Federal Power Commission had jurisdiction over
independent producers whieh engage in “the sale in in-
terstate commerce of natural gas for resale”, and that
such a company is a natural gas company as defined in
the Natural Gas Aet, 15 U.S.C.A. §$ 717-717w. This
decision was contrary to the Federal Power Commission's
prior interpretation of its own jurisdiction over such
activities. Shortly after the Phillips decision, on July
16, 1954, the Federal Power Commission issued its order
174.') Order 174-A was directed to all “independen — pro-
ducers” as defined and covered by the Natural Gas Act.
Among other things it required all independent producers
who on or since June 7, 1954, had engaged in the inter-
state transportation and sale of natural gas subject to
the Act to (1) file their contracts in force on June 7,
1954, which in eifeet became their rate schedules: (2)
make no changes in the -tune 7, 1954, rates except after
notice to the Federal Power Commission and subjeet to
its right to suspend such changes; (3) apply to the Com-
mission for certifieates of public convenience and = neces-
sity covering gas sales made by them; and (4) continue
any sales or serviees rendered until termination was
given the express approval of the Federal Power Com-
mission. One commissioner dissented from = this order,
raising many of the substantive questions asserted by
petitioners in this court.
No advance notice was given or hearing held prior to
the formulation of orders 174 and 174A.) Petitioners
(Amerada Petroleum Corporation, Midstates Oil Cor-
poration, Cities Service Oil Company and Skelly Oil
Company) along with more than one hundred other per-
sons and corporations sought by petition for a “rehear-
ing” to have the Commission set aside the order or
1 Thereafter the order was changed in minor respects and was
superseded by Orders 174-A and 174-B.
c-3
change its provisions. The Commission allowed) briefs
and oral argument inoa hearing like that contemplated
in Section 4 of the Administrative Procedure Act = to be
held before the promulgation of general substantive rules
and regulations. After that hearing the order was re-
issued with minor changes, immaterial here, as 174-B.
It is from that order petitioners bring the appeals con.
solidated herein. They assert that the order is: appeal-
able, that as independent producers within the definition
of the order they have standing to prosecute an appeal;
and as grounds for overruling the order they say its
formulation violates in several respects the Natural Gas
Act, the Administrative Procedure Act, and their rights
under the United States Constitution.
(1!) Petitioners make oa preliminary contention that
eonsidered or even as procedural rules and regulations
the regulations in question are void because petitioners
were not aceorded the hearing to which they were en-
titlhed under the Administrative Procedure Act) before
the rules were adopted. Section 4 of the Administrative
Procedure Act requires notice of proposed rule making
and that an opportunity to participate in the rule making
be afforded interested persons unless the ageney involved
expressly finds that such proeedures are impractical, un-
necessary or contrary to the publie interest. No notice
or oppertunity to be heard was given with respeet to
Order 174 or Order 174-A, which was a modification of
the original order. Namerous producers ineluding ap-
pellants filed appleation for a rehearing of Order 174-4,
The Commission acted upon these applieations and
granted oral arguments before the full Commission. = In
granting oral arguments the Commission called for sug-
gestions and comments as to the revision or modification
of Order 174-A. Following the submission of briefs and
oral arguments, the Commission issued Order 174-B, the
order involved ino this controversy. Assuming without
25 U.S.C.A. § 1005.
C - 30
deciding that under the facts of this case petitioners
were entitled to notice and hearing, they have no cause
for complaint. They were heard, granted an opportunity
to file briefs and present oral arguments. It was only
thereafter that Order 174-B, the order under attack here,
was formulated. It must, therefore, be said that the
order under consideration was adopted only after a full
hearing was: accorded petitioners.
[2] Petitioners assert that the order violates their
substantive rights in a number of respects. We need
not pass upon these contentions because in our view thie
order is not reviewable. Section 19(b) of the Natural
Gas Act provides that “Any party to a proceeding * * *
aggrieved by an order issued by the Commission
may obtain a review of such order in the cireuit court
of appeals of the United States * * *.” The order chal-
lenged here was not issued in an adversary proceeding
to determine violations of the Natural Gas Act or a
Commission ruling thereunder; it purports to be issued
under the general rule making power of the Federal
Power Commission. It is of general applicability, ad-
dressed to all independent producers subject to the
Natural Gas Act as defined.
* & *
There is no holding or determination by the Commis-
sion that the order is applicable to any of the petition-
ers. Petitioners herein do not admit that they are sub-
ject to the Natural Gas Act. They state only that they
come within the definition of an independent producer as
eontained in the order or that they cannot. ascertain
whether they are within the definition of the order. The
only particularly directed order is one against Skelly
to show cause why it should not be determined a natural
gas company within the Act and why it should not be
directed to continue a particular sale and delivery of
gas. But that portion of the order is still undisposed of
before the Commission. In Canadian River Gas Co. v.
C - 31
Federal Power Commission, 10 Cir., 110 F.2d 350, it was
held that an order directing a particular company to he
investigated to determine whether it was a natural gas
eompany within the Act was a preliminary finding and
fas not appealable. Therefore, jurisdiction to consider
the appeal cannot be predicated on the Skelly show cause
order.
Without even admitting that the Commission has juris-
diction over them and without a finding by the Commis-
sion that it has jurisdiction over any of petitioners, peti-
tioners content that the order violates their substantive
rights in several important respects and, therefore, con-
stitutes a final appealable order. They allege that they
own and operate gas wells and sell gas under a number
of contracts. The opinion is expressed by them that the
order may force submission to the jurisdiction of the
Federal Power Commission. This position is predicated
upon the definition of an independent producer in’ the
order as follows: “An ‘independent producer’ as that
term is defined in $$ 154.91 ta, 154.202 means any person
as defined in the Natural Gas Act who is engaged in the
production or gathering of natural gas and who trans-
ports natural gas in interstate conumerce or sells natural
gas in interstate commerce for resale, but who is not
primarily engaged in the operation of an interstate pipe-
line.” Those are almost the exact words of the Supreme
Court in defining an independent producer’ Without a
determination by the Commission Whether any of them
fall within.this definition, and without the aid of a par-
ticular application of the definition by the PPC to any
given set of facts, we are asked to examine and define
the exact extent of the production and gathering exemp-
tion in the Natural Gas Act as it applied to these peti-
tioners and are in fact asked to determine that they
are not subject to the jurisdiction of the Comunission.
3See Phillips Petroleum Co. v. State of Wisconsin, 347 U.S.
672, 74 S. Ct. 794, 98 L. Ed. 1035.
C - 32
The-ease most analogous to the one before us is United
Gas Pipeline Co. v. Federal Power Comm., 86 U.S.App.
D.C. 314. 181 F.2d 796. That ease also arose under the
Natural Gas Aet. It likewise involved a general order.
The order was directed to the United Gas Pipeline Com-
pany and all other companies similarly situated, requir-
ing them to file rates on a designated basis. The Gas
Companies there, as here, contended that the provisions
of the order requiring them to fil. rate schedules worked
a retroactive change in rates and was, therefore. review-
able on appeal. The court ina well considered opinion
held that the order was general: chat it was prospective
in nature and of general appheatility and not) subject
to review, That court aiso considered and distinguished
Columbia) Broadeasting Svstem. Ine. ve United States,
316 US. 407, 62.8. Ct. 1194. 86 LL. Nd. 1563. upon which
petitioners there, as here, placed strong reliance, We
agree with the analysis of the court of the Columbia
Broadeasting System case distinguishing it upon) facts,
and it is our conelusion that the facts in this case like-
wise distinguish it from that case.
As pointed out, the challenged order is directed to no
one, Tt requires only that all gas companies falling
Within the definition as daid down make applieation for
a ocertifieate of convenienee and file their rate schedules
as oof June 7. Tt leaves to each company ins the first
Instance a determination of whether it is under the Aet.
If petitioners are right ino their contention. that) their
activities do onot bring them within’ the Commission's
Jurisdiction they need do nothing. The difficulty is that
if it is ultimately determined that they are under the
jurisdiction of the Commission then their failure to eom-
ply with the general order subjeets them to severe penal:
ties. But that ts a difficulty inherent in the way in which
the need tor the exercise of the Commission's authority
arose, Tt was necessary for the Commission to make a
heginning. For this purpose it promulgated general rules
and regulations applying to all subjeet to the Net. It
first defined companies subjeet to its jurisdietion and
required only that such companies file schedules of rate.
and make applications for certifieates of convenience.
This is the only practical way the Commission could
have made a beginning. The only alternative would have
been to hold individual hearings with respeet to each
of innumerable companies to determine upon the adduced
facts whether they were under its jurisdietion., ‘The im-
practicability of such a iethod is obvious.
Neither do we think that the assertion that by the
appheation for a certificate of convenience the applicant
submits itself to the Jurisdietion of th oeourt is well
taken. Such appleation, of course, ean be a quatitied one
and made so as to reserve te the appleant the right te
challenge the Jurisdietion of the Commission.
Nor do we think the contention that by fixing the
schedule rates as oof June To oas the oeffeetive rate con
stitutes a betroaetive fining of rates or iidhkes a venmera:
order substantive in that respeet and, therefore, subject
to appeal Ngai the Comuinission was faced with) the
Necessity of a beginning rate. Ut might well lave fixed
the rate as of a different thine as the beginning rate, and
itmary even be conceded that the rate as of June 7 might
work hardship ince particular case. But tlt does not
Intake the regulation requiring the tiling ef suelo arate
definitive in character, subject to review on appeal Phe
door is left wide open for a proceeding before the Com:
Mission to correct such orate doit is ime quitable or umpust,
The fact remains that this ease comes te us without a
record, without aosinghe established facet oor finding, and
Without evidence, ard in that posture we as an appellate
court are asked to exercise our appediate: nawers of
review, Tn faet, we are asked te detertuine that peti
tioners are not subject to the jurisdiction of the Com
Inission Without ao single faet upen whieh to base sueh
C - 34
determination and in the abseuce of any findings of fact
by the Commission.
[3] Seetion 10 of the Administrative Procedure Act is
pleaded to support our jurisdiction to review the merits
of petitioners’ claims. It is our view that that Section
adds nothing to our authority. It provides for a right
of review in a proper court of final agency action where
other statutory authority is absent or inadequate, but
here Seetion 19(b) of the Gas Act provides for a review
and we think it is entirely adequate and, therefore, makes
inapplicable Section 10 of the Administrative Procedure
Act.
It is our conclusion that the petitions for review are
premature and are, therefore, dismissed.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.