Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wray Equipment Corp. v. Westinghouse Electric Corp. (No. 885)

Supreme Court brief1960

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Iu the <

Snpreme Court of the United States

P

. 4° = a

meet \ , :

\ Pa @>

-

, ‘ ’ !

(ach (

‘ = ’

ore e soi Bn ( da

oa.

‘14h \ :

-

e

; - -

PETITION’ FOR A WRIT: OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE’FIRST CIRCUIT

se

Cen CAR we SRR Oe oO PRE eM CEE eke eee ee ee

“7. 1940) 111 F.2d 63

' Page

> . Upinions Below ...... CE ee a Said’ “Y.

Jurisdiction ..... ES ROG AS eh ee Ee RO

NN INN ui cub cosa dv sssave'esvsh odes 3

Statutes Involved ......... Zt bepoe it ALY ES OEE i

Statement of the Case ............. bh waite ceaaice 8

1. Proceedings Below ..... Kanth NRE Ree Ries ne ee 3

II. Summary of Findings of Fact and ( ‘onclusions

* _of-Law of the Distriet Court: .720 22.00... 5

IIL. Summary of Opinion of the Court of a = &

Reasons for Granting the Writ ..................... 1

‘1. The failure of respondents to raise the issue of

prejudice: at trial ............ PC sieesGh ne wien end 10.

_Il. The harmless effeet of the Hoyt deposition testi-

PE . NaNpanatceune eh apn thous 6b eb neecasewews I

> IIL. Phe harmless effect of the failure of petitioner

to introduce related parts of a deposition on

"© consecutive pages of a transcript ............ lo

[V. The failure of the Court of Appeals to find a

_ single demonstration of prejudice by the trial

ee ir cee e Cask aetetae hin hie Sas gee ae

Conclusion mr “\ ae kauks = Sapsnetceeeen tiariieta we 17

I ee ee adie wae wins 18

RR ae A

Citations — ~~~

Cases

Assoctated Press vy. United States, 326 U.S.1 0.0... Is

. Baker v. Mueller (CA. 7, 1955) 222, F.2d 186, 183 .. 11, 12

Becker Steel Company of America v..Cummings, 296

» ~Cloeago, M. & St. Paul Ry. Co. ¥. Harrelson, (CLA. &,

15

Northern Pacific Railway v. United States, 356 U.S. |,

i Index

Page

Dowell, Inc. v. Jowers (CA. 5, 1950) 182 F.2d 76,

International Salt ( 'o. v. United States, 332°U.S. 392.

el ee ena els nc See

Kobe, Inc. v. ‘Dempsey. reas Co., (C.A. 10, 1952) 16

F.2d 416, 423, cert. dem..344 U.S. 837°. ............. l4

New Arcade Co. v. Owens (C.A.D.C. 1919) 258 F. 965 .. 15

EE ci dedtecinvkanecheeheenekas 4nd seuss 1304-

Osborn v. Sinclair Refining Co., (C.A. 4, 1960) 1960

Trade Cases p. T7080 ....ccccccesecccccceccceuss 14

Oxford Varnish Corp. v. Ault & rane Corp. (C.A. 6,

A Eo iin bing cD tnd cesicesscess: Be

Ralston Purina Co. v. Novak (CA. 8,1940) 111 F.2d 65) 15

Scott v. Beams (C.A.10, 1941) 122 F. 2d 77, 782, TR,

cert. den. 315 U.S.809 ... - ee ero ere os i aa

Slattery v. Marra Bros, (U.A. 2,°1951) 186 F.2d 154,

137, cert. den. 341-U.S. 915 ................ M1, 12, Ie

Socony-Vacuum OW'Co. v. t "nited-States, 310 U.S. 150.5

LV ae ti cna AKER awe ORK TET ae

Standard Oil Co. v. United States, 337 U.S. 293 ......

Suburban Transit Corp. v. Malone, (C.A. 4, es) 156i

cg ere r rere rrr yr rer rT er verry pre 1]

Texas Pacific Ry. Co. v. Watson, 190 U.S. 287, 291. 1)

' United States v. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100, 107, 108 ae 14

United States v. Yellow Cab Co., 332 U.S. 218 .7...... 14

Statutes

Sherman Act, 26 Stat. 209 r

Section 1, 15 U.S.C. §1 ... ri... ee

Section 2, 15 U.S.C. §2 .............. Munareee

(‘layton Act, 38 Stat. 731

Section: 3, 15 U.S.C. §14-...... Pedaon tae ee

Section -4,.15 U.S.C. 615 .......... PO RR ster

°

“A

° * ‘ " Fu the ; '

Supreme Court of the Ruited States

‘Octone n TeRM, ° 1960

No.

ty

W RAY EQUIPMENT. CORPOR ATION,

PETITIONER,

vr.

W ESTINGHOUSE Ki BCTRIC CORPORATION AND

" ALD NEW YORK INC.,

RESPONDENTS. ai

?

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

ED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FO

To THe HonoraBLeE THE CHIEF JUSTICE AND THE ASSOCIATE

JUSTICES OF THE SuPREME C'ouRT OF THE UNITED STATES:

Petitioner prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review

_ the judgment of the United States ( oat of Appeals for the

First Ci *

: st Cireuit. SPS ; ‘a

Opinions Below

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the First Cireuit is not yet reported but is printed in Ap-

a :

2 ) a

pendix A to this petition.’ The District Court did not file

an opinion. The District (ourt’s Findings of Fact an

Conclusions of Law are found in the Consolidated Recor

Appendix beginning at p. 1623. 7

| ‘Jurisdiction

Question mae

‘In wv seven-year-old antitrust case tried without a jury.

where defendants contended that the trial judge displayed °

prejudice against them throughout a 28-day trial but where

defendants raised the niatter of prejudice for the first time

on appeal, whether a court of appeals is justified in va

eating a judgment for plaintiff and remanding the case for

re-trial béfore another judge on the ground of the origina’

trial judge’s prejudice: [ay

(a) without any specification of the prejudice al-

legedly shown by the trial judge except for the possible

commission of harmless error in the admission of evi

dence; and Rn

~

‘

1 (App. A). as used hereinafter refers to the opinion of the Court o/

Appeals ‘as printed in Appendix A...”

2 Both respondents appealed from the judgment of the District Court.

The appeal of respondent Westinghouse Electric Corporation ,¥2

docketed in the Court of Appeals as No. 5682 and that of respondent

ALD, New York, Inc. as No. 5683. The record in both appeals w

consolidated and consists of three volumes. Volumes I and II contain

pleadings and testimony. Volume III contains exhibits and Proceeding»

in Court of Appeals. This consolidated record will be referred tv het

inafter as R.A. rerven by the appropriate page number.

3

(b) without. any consideration of the merits of the

case.

Statutes Involved

The statutes involved are Sections 1 and 2 of the Sher-

nan Act, 26 Stat. 209, 14 U.S.C. Sections 1 and 2 ‘und

Sections 3 and“4 of the Clayton Act, 38 Stat. 731, 14 U.S.C.

- Sections 14and 15, all.of which are set forth in Appendix B «-

‘to this petitions pp. 25 and 26, —

bac? Statement of the Case _

~~ Procrepixes BeLow vb

Petitioner, a Massachusetts corporation, was at all perti-

nent times engaged in selling machinery aud equipment to

Operators of so-called automatic half-hour laundries. Re-

spondent ALD New York, Ine.,.a New York corporation

(héreinafter ALD), was engaged: in the same business as

petitioner. Respondent Westinghouse Electrie Corporation

a Pennsylvania corporation (hereinafter Westinghouse),

“was engaged, among other things, in manufacturing and

selling 9-pound washing machines, for use in half-hour laun-

dries, :

On February 4, 1954, petitioner filed a complaint in the

‘United States District Court for the District of Massachiu-

setts (R.A. 13). In substance the complaint alleged. that

.'the respondents combined and conspired to restrain and

monopolize, and entered into unlawful agreements with re-

spect .to, interstate commerce in half-hour laundry ma-

chinery, in. violation of Sections 1 and 2 ef the Sherman

Act and Section 3 of*the Clayton Act. It was further

alleged that the unlawful conduct of respondents consisted,

in part, of their exclusive dealing arrangetients as to the

grea

_ Westinghouse 9-pound washing machine accompanied |.

tie-in sales of other laundry equipment; of their refusal

. to deal with petitione?; and of threats to other makers of,

laundry machines to prevent their dealing with petitioner: -

‘As a result, according to the complaint, petitioner way in.

jured in its business.

Respondents’ answers denied most of the munteeia! alle.

gations of the complaint.

Trial of-the case commenced on October 8, 1958. Testi. -

mony was taken intermittently on 28-days,. concluding on

January 13, 1959. Both respondents filed motions to di--

miss (R.A. 1581) and motions to strike certain evidence

(R.A. 1585, 1614). All parties submitted requests for find:

~ ings of- fact, conclusions of law and briefs and presented

oral arguinent. On February 18, 1960, the District Cour

filed its Findings of Fact and Conclusions-of_Law in whiel’.

it was ruled that, through their violations of the antitras—

laws, respondents had injured petitioner to the extent of

$55,000.00_(R.A. 1623-1632). |

Thereafter, petitioner applied for the allowance of cou

sel fees and costs and for the entry of a judgment, fo

_ treble the amount of the damages found, plus any cost

and ‘counsel’ fees which might be awarded. This matte!

was briefed and argued orally by the parties. On March 25,

1960, thé District Court entered a judgment totalling

$198,102.84 in faver~of petitioner and» against hot h I

spondents.{R.A. 1633-1634).

Westinghouse filed its notice of appeal on April 5, 16

and ALD followed with its notice on _— 8. 1960). (R.A:

1634). |

It should be noted that at no stage of the pre-trial and

trial proceedings, all of which were administered by the

same judge and which encompassed the period betweew

February 4, 1954 and April 5, 1960, did respondents bring

to the judge’s notice any claim that a single ruling was

.

od

‘prompted by bias. or “prejudice. Respondents raised the

question of prejudice for the first time on appeal.

On February 2, 1961, the Court of Appeals filed its

‘ opinion and entered its judgment vacating the judgment

of the District Court and remanding the cause for a new

trial before a different judge. As will be stated more fully

below, the Court of Appeals based its action upon its find-

ing of a prejudicial attitude on. the part of the trial judge.

Hl. SumMaky of Finpines oF Fact anp Conciusions oF Law |

oF THE District Court

The Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law of the Dis-

trict Court (R.A. pp. 1623-1632), may be summarized: a-

follows: | de

o The District Court found that Westinghouse had granted

. respondent ALD and ‘its parent ALD, Inc. the exclusive

right to buy and re-sell the commercial Westinghouse: 9)-

pound washing machine (known as a Laundromat ) to half-

hour laundries. This exclusive arrangement also delegated

solely to the ALD companies the authority to permit. the

half-hour laundries to advertise themselves .as Westing- |

house stores. The ALD companies reciprocated by agree-

ing to buy and re-sell no 9-pound washers except the West-

_ inghouse Laundromat. |

According to the District Court’s findings the commercial

Laundromat, in construction and performance, is a uniqae

and superior 9-pound waslier for use in half-hour laundries..

This cireumstance resulted in such expansion of the sales

of commercial Laundromats that during the period of the

case more of those machines were sold to half-honr lani-

dries than all other makes combined. Similarly, the Laun-

dromat outstripped all competitive produets i in sales in the

New England grea.

The casi Court also found that, although the primary

‘ .: .

concern of the half-hour laundry operators was to obtain

commercial Laundromats, the operator also needed asso-

‘ciated equipment: such.as driers, extractors, boilers and the

like. Westinghouse -did not manufacture this associated

equipment. Nevertheless, Westinghouse permitted the oper-

_ ator. to advertise his store as an ‘‘Authorized Westing-

-house Laundromat Equipped Half-Hour Laundry" with

the knowledge that it contained much of this non-W esting-

house machinery.

The ev idence also demonstrated, aeons to the Dis-

‘ trict ‘Court, that the ALD organization instructed its sales”

‘men and announced to the trade that if the half-hour

laundry operator wanted to obtain the commercial | aun.

dromat, he would also have to buy all needed non-Westing:

house equipment from ALD. W estinghouse was found to

- have acquiesced in this practice.

- In-its early days, petitioner, which the Distriet Court

found to be comparable to ALD in ability to serve the

trade, made purchases of Laundromats from ALD for re-

sale to new half-hour laundries. ALD was found to have

known of petitioner’s intended use of these machines. Ilow-

ever, upon‘a subsequent order from petitioner and there.

-after both ALD and W estinghouse refused to furnish |.aun-

dromats to petitioner. ‘This refusal was determined to be

without justification by the District Court.

The District Court also found that ALD tortiously inter-

fered with petitioner’s business relationships with sup. -

pliers of equipment. In that connection, the District Court

mentioned two such suppliers, Hoyt Manufacturing Corpe-

ration and Cook Machinery Company. . .

As to the Cook company, the District ( ourt found that

it had been acquired by respondent ALD’s parent, AL AD.

Ine., and that thereupon petitioner had been denied its

previously exercised right to purchase 25-pound: Washing

v

machines made by Cook. The Court of Appeals ‘made no

mention of this Cook incident in its opinion.

The District Court also found that, because of the co-

ercion of ALD, the Hoyt company refused to sell a dryer

to petitioner to fill a particular order. In making the find-

‘ing, the District Court quoted this statement of ‘Hoyt, the

company president, as to the pressure exerted by ALD:

I tried to exercise a certain amountof prudence. If a

man is going to hold me up, I am not going to find out

whether he has a bullet in his gun.

As will be explained below, the Court of Appeals singled

out the Disiriet Court's reception and use of the quoted

' statement as the primary facts hearing upon the District-—

Court's so-called prejudice.

As the result of the above-summarized and other acts of

respondents, the Distriet Court found that petitioner was

not ouly prevented from selling Westinghouse Laundro-

Mats but was also’ prevented from selling other laundry

machines not made by Westinghouse. Petitioner's damages

were determined to be $55,000.

From its faet- findings, the District Court drew a number

of lvgal conclusions. Its basic conclusions were three, First,

it held that’ respondents injured petitioner in its business

by combining to restrain a ‘‘not insubstantial’? amount of

iiterstate commerce in automatic, laundry machines in vio-

lation of Section 1 of the Sherman Act. Seconfly, the Dis-

trict Court concluded that respondents had. damaged. jieti-

tioher by monopolizing and attempting to monopolize an

. appreciable segment of the laundry machine trade in viy-

lation of Section 2 of the Sherman Act. Finally, the District

Court ruled that the tie-in sales of Westinghouse and non-

Westinghouse equipment.impesed on half-hour laundrie~

by respondents injured petitioner and wrought a substan-

8

tial lessening of competition in ehohation of Section 3 of the

Clayton Act. Accordingiy, the District Court conc luded —

as a matter of law that respondents’ violations of the anti.

trust laws resulted in damages to ew to the extent

of $55,000.00.

Il. Summary oF OPINION OF THE C‘ouRT oF APPEAL ~ .

The opinion of the Court of Appeals specifies that the

- District Court committed prejudicial error in receiving ouw

piece of evidence and that’the District Court departed

from orderly procedure in treating with deposition testi.

mony. Without identifying any portion of the record to

support the charge, the opinion also concludes wit! the

statement that a reading of the record shows that the Dis-

trict Court was prejudiced in favor of petitioner.

The Ogurt of Appeals assigned as prejudicial error tle

District Court’s reception in evidence and use in findings

of the colorful ‘‘gun’’ statement of the Hoyt president

referred to in the summary of the District Court's findings

(App. A. 20-23).

As appears from the Court of Appeals opinion, Hoyt,

inade the statement at a deposition given -a. few mon'li-

after the incident took place, but more than four years

before trial. As his memory was somewhat: hazy whien a

witness. at trial, petitioner’s counsel read the quotation

in question to him for two pufposes, to refresh his: reco!

lection or to.show a prior inconsistent statement.

The Court of Appeals concluded that Hoyt’s mc inory

was not refreshed ‘by the reading of the deposition; that,

he did not adopt the deposition statement as his present

recollection; that a majority of eases do not allow a prior

statement to be received in evidence as a prior incon~:-teu!

statement and that it was prejudicial error to receive that

particular statement on any theory (App. A. 22, 23).

a

a

~<A -

=e

* ee 9 = -

The Court of Appeals did not diséuss .the question of:

whether the Hoyt statement was essential to the finding

that-ALD had exerted undue pressure on Hoyt Manufae-

turing Corporation; of the question of Whether the Hoyt —

Manufacturing Corporgtion incident -was essential to the

finding that ALD had tortiously interfered with petitioner's

---afrangements with suppliers; or the question of whether

the finding as to tortious interference was essential to the

ultimate conclusion reached by the District Court. As will

he pointed out under Reasons for Granting the Writ, the

Hoyt statement was a picturesque but trivial item of proof

with respect to an independently proved incident .which

could not have changed the ultimate outcome even if not

proved. If error, it will be shown to be harmless.

_ It is not argumentative to state that the second fault

- foiind-by_the Court of Appeals is of even less consequence

than the first. In-the early stages of the trial, petitioner

rend into evidence certain portions of depositions. There-

upon, respondents requested ‘that ‘petitioner read other —

portions claimed to be related to the parts already. read. |

Petitioner objected to reading such portions “and claimed

that they formed a part of respondents’ case. The District ,

Court sustained petitioner’s objection, Later, respondents

read such portions into the record and petitioner offered

ir evidence as a part of its own case the portions read by -

_ respondents (App. A. 23-24). |

_ The. Court of Appeals ruled that the District Court's _

treatment-of this deposition testimony was faulty because

the supplementary testimony read by respondent was sepa-

rated by more than 1000 pages of the transeript from ‘the -

deposition testimony read by petitioner. The Court of

Appeals stated that such a wide separation of .relevant

parts of a deposition ‘‘unduly impedes the orderly con-

sideration of the deposition testimony, even in.a non-jury

' case."’ (App. A. 23-24).

, 10

After its discussion of the Hoyt testimony and the depo.

sition testimony situations, the Court of Appeals concluded

its opinion with the sweeping and serious charge that a

reading of approximately 2000 pages of: transeript. showed?

that the trial judge was prejudiced in favor of petitioner

(App. A. 24). To support this conclusion, the Court

of Appeals mentioned that there were several indications

of prejudice manifested bythe District Court’. ‘eros.

ex#mination’’ of respondents’ witnesses ( App. A. 24):

The Court of Appeals did not identify a single instane® 01

improper ‘‘cross-examination ”’ by the District Court and.

it did not* advert to the fact that the District “Court

also questioned petitioner's witnesses (e.g. RvAy 119, 398).

Finally, the,»Court of Appeals speculated that the Pistrict

Court’s prejudice may have resulted from the Hoyt refer:

enee to the gun (App. A. 24). For. these reasons, the

Court of Appeals ‘vacated the judgment in favor of yeti-

tioner and ordered a re-trial before a new judge. a

o

Reasons for Granting the Writ

; ™

I. Tue Faure or. Respoxpests to Raise tHE Iss) bo

— Presepice at Trin |

; ¥

- The principal reason for the Court of Appeals* vacating

the Disirict Court's judgment in favor of petitioner and

remanding for a new triai before a different judge was i!-

_ conclusion that the trial judge was prejudiced. This issu

of prejudice was_never raised by respondents duritiy th

four years of pre-trial rulings by the same judge. As th:

docket entries show there were many such rulings (R..\.

1-7). The issue was never raised by respondents at any

time during the 28-day trial. It was not raised at the final

oral argument held before submission of the ease 'o the,

1]

District Court for decision, It was not made the subject

of a motion for new trial.

Respondents gave the ‘trial judge no opportunity to

disqualify Himself. Indeed, they gave the trial judge no

hint or inkling that they believed he was doing anything

other than ruling according to the law and facts as he

- saw them during the protracted trial. They waited to sec

whether the trial judge would find in their favor. When te

did ‘not, théy then claimed before another court, the Court

of Appeals, that the trial judge had displayed bias and

prejudice. . fa ‘ A &

The Court of hstounie’ reversal of the District Court's

judgment under these circumstances was. in conflict with

decisions of this Court and in conftiet with decisions of

other federal courts of appeals. ca 7

If'there is one rule pertaining to the auestione properly

to he considered on appeal which is uniformly applied, it is

that where the appellant: has, failed to object to rulings

or conditions below, he may not raise them on appeal, in

" the absence. of rare- and unusual circumstances. Becker

Steel Co. of America vy. Cummings, 296 U.S. 74; Socony-

Vactum Oil Co.-v. & nited States, 810 U SS. 150, 238, 230s.

Scott v. Beams (C.A.-10, 1941), 122 F.2u Tit, 782; 789, cert.

den. 315 U.S.809; Suburban Transit Corporation v. Malon

ACLA. 4, 1946) 156 F.2d 422; Dow ell, Inc. v. Jowers (CLA. 2

1950) 182 F.2d 576, 579; Slattery ry Vv, Marra Bros, (CLA.

1951) 186 F.2d 134, $37, cert. ‘den, 341 U.S. 915; ee ia v.

Mueller, (C. A. 7, 1955) 222 F.2d. 180, 183.

Petitioner concedes tliat if the record shows a ¢ lear mani-

festation of bias ‘of the trial judge, an appellang court may

take cognizance of the fact even though the issue were not

raised at trial. However, in the cases cited above, showings

~ Were made of trial proceedings much more likely to be

prejudicial to the litigants | than those the Court of Appeals

was-able to muster in this case.

12

In Dowell, the trial jadge made remarks in the presence

of a jury which were claimed to be prejudicial. The (our: °

of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit held that it was appel-

lant’s duty wake a-seasonable objection. In. Sluttery.

appellant raised the issue that the trial judge’s questioning

of witnesses was prejudicial and that it posed such a

_ serious problem that it should be noticed on Appeal even

though not brought out below. The Court of Appeals fo

the Second Circuit, through Judge Learned Hand, heli:

that timely Objections should have been made even if the

error were serious. The Court of Appeals for the Seventh

Circuit in Baker refused to consider the question of whether

the trial judge should have disqualified himself, cans:

_ the point was not raised in the District Court. In Svott,

_ the Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit held that th

question of whether the tsial judge was prejudiced wa no:

timely raised’ because, although brought to the attention of

the trial judge before appeal, it was not raised until <ixt)

days after the alleged prejydice became apparent.

Here, the alleged prejudice was not raised for more than

eighteen months after respondents claimed it became ap

_parent. Moreover, accordfng to the opinion of the Court of

cd

Appeals in this case, the only demonstration of pregydic:

by the trial e consisted of one instance of admitting

some coating, Wilaa- thesia not have been admitted, of

one instance of not follow ing an-erderly procedure in the’

admission of evidence and of some _undeseribed- atid wn

identified ‘‘cross-examination’’ of witnesses, This shouing

falls far short of the unusual cireumstanees whieh }« rmit

‘an appellate court to consider alleged errors not claimed

below. Furthermore, as will be demonstrated below, the

Court of Appeals’ holding that any of these three types o!

actions by the District €ourt would amount to prejidici:

error. is in conflict with decisions of other federal apjllat«

courts.

<7 | 13

IL. Tue HARMLESs Kerect or tue Hoyt Dareomnes Trst1-

MONY ‘ ae

a)

' Before reaching the question as to whether the Hoyt

deposition testimony was improperly admitted to* prove

__ that Hoyt Manufacturing Corporation was coerced by ALD.

~~ it should be pointed out that under the facts which it found

_ the District Court was required to reach its ultimate de-

cision regardless of the entire Hoyt incident.

The District Court found that respondents had a mu- .

tually exclusive arrangement whereby Westinghouse would

sell its 9-pound washer only- to the ALD companies and the -

ALD companies would buy no 9-pound washer other than

the Westinghouse Laundromat ; that the Westinghouse

Laundromat was unique among 9:pound washers and wa-

most in demand by half-hour laundries; that ALD would

sell the Laundfomat to half-hour’ laundries only on con-

“dition that, they would buy their necessary non-Westing

house-made equipment from ALD; that the 9-pound washer

was the most important piece of equipment in a hatf-hour

. laundry; that petitioner. was at first permitted to buy the |

Westinghouse Laundromat but was later unjustifiably de-

nied the right to purchase the machiffe hy both respondents ;

that petitioner was, thereby, not only prevented from sell-

ing Westinghouse Laundromats but other laundry equip

ment to those Kalf:hout laundries which demanded, the

- Laundromat; and that the interstate commerce in the West

_ inghouse and non-Westinghouse equipment invelved in the

Hea ‘case was-appreciable in extent (R.A. 1623-1632).

_From-these facts, apart from the Héyt incident, the Dix

trict (ourt_woald have been. required to conclude that re

spondents violated Section 1 af-the Sherman Act to the -

injury of petitioner’ ~ business. Associated Press vl nited

Sfates, 326 U.S. 1; International Salt Co. v. United States. ~~ —__

332 U.S. 392, 396; Northern Pacific Railway v. U nited :

=

14

States, 356 U.S. 1, 10, 11; Oxford Varnish Corporation y.

Ault & Wiborg Corporation (CLA. 6, 1936) 83 F.2d 764:

Osborn v. Sinclair Refining Co. (C.A. 4, 1960) not yet offi

‘cially.reported but found in 1960 Trade Cases, p. 77030.

The same amtivities of respondents also constituted a

violation of Séction 2 of the Sherman Act to petitioner's

damage. ['nited States +. Yellow Cab, 332 U.S. 218; Kobr.

Inc. v. Dempsey Pump Co. (CLA. 10, 1952) 198 F.2d 416,

423, egrt. den. 344 U.S. 837. «

Similarly, the tie-in sales involved, constituted violations

of Section 3 of the Clayton Act actionable by petitioner.

Standard Oil Cou. v, United Stotes, 387 U.S. 293; 0; ford

Varnish Corp. v. Ault d) Wioorg Corp., supra.

The Hoyt incident, therefore, wax but ‘frosting. on the

cake’’ which indicated that ALD liad a predatory intent,

un intent unnecessary for petitioner to establish. Ser

‘United States vy. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100, 107, 108.

Moreover, without the **gun*’ statement by Hoyt, there

was sufficient independent evidence introduced to cause the

District Court to conclade that ALD did influence the Hovt

Manufacturing Corporation not to: sell a dryer te pet:

tioner. °

For exantple, Hovt testified at trial that his compiins inauel

heen “under pressure” to. *tdo business: entirely with

ALD” (R.A. 369). An ALD representative. conceded that

he called Hoyt about the transaction in question (R.\. 1H82.

1083). A representative of the Hoyt company, other that

Mr. ‘Hoyt, notified ‘petitioner that the Hoyt Company wer

under pressure about the transaction in question (R.\. 211,

212). Hoyt acknowledged that he was filling order. fo

_ ALD when he held up petitioner's order (R.A. 399).

Thus, the District Court was amply justified | in conelned-

ing, from evidence which the. Court of Appeals did ne!

question, that ALD had exerted pressure upon petitioner

supplier, Hoyt Manufacturing (Corporation.

15

Finally, even if the Hoyt incident were oritien to the

case, the admission of the Hoyt deposition testimony could

not be prejudicial error because it was corroborated by his

later testimony’ (R.A. 369): and by the other testimony

noted above. Texas Pacific Ry. Co. v. Watson, 190 U.S. 287,

291; Chicago, M. & St. Paul Ry. Co. v. Harrelson (CLA. &y

1926) 14 F.2d 893; Ralston Purina Co. v. Novak, (CLA. &,

1940) 111 F.2d 63.

Til. Tue HarMuess Errect or tHe Faitune or Peririoner

to Intropuce Revatep Parts or a Devositign ox Con-

SECUTIVE Pages oF TRANSCRIPT

The Court’ of Appeals complains of the lack of orderli- ~

ness in the fact. that. relevant portions of the same depo-

~ition were separated by 1000 pages of the transcript in a

ion-jury trial, The Court of Appeals did not indicate how

any prejudice to respondents could possibly acerue from

such separation, There coukd be nove. All of the relevant

portions of the depositions became a part of petitioner's’

case before the total case way submitted to the District

Court: for consideration and decision. Respondents had

imuple opportunity by briefs, requests for findings and oral.

argument to make such use‘of all parts of the depositions

as they saw fit. It could hardly be contended that, if the

District Court relied on memory instead of, a reading of

the transcript, it would have remembered the éarlier rather

than the latter readings from deposition testimony.

The District Couft did not commit prejudicial ‘error in its

hamlling of the depositions. New Arcade Co. v. Owens,

(CLA, D.C., 1919) 258 F. 965:

16

IV. Tue Fature or THe Court or APPEALS Ww Fivn 4

“Since DemonstraTion or Presupice By ‘THE Trial.

JUDGE

‘As noted above under the Statement of the Case, the

Court of Appeals, in its opinion, failed to identify. ove iota

of evidence of bias and prejudice on the part° of the trial

judge. It was conteyt to base this accusation on it» w-

supported statement that a reading of the record brouglit

_ about this conviction. Its allusion to some unspecitied ‘in-

stances of ‘‘cross-examinatiow’’ on the part of the trial

judge and its speculation that the ‘‘ prejudice’? was ** per-

~haps’’ the result of the testimony about the gun, Add

nothing in substantiation of the charge. More precisely

documented charges of prejudice on the part of a triai

“judge have been found wanting by federal appellate courts.

Dowell, Inc. vy. Jowers, supra; Slattery v. Marra Baws.

ra; Scott v. Beams, supra. An examination of thie en-

tire record of this case will show that the trial judge wa. _

not prejudiced but was impartial. This Court is in as gourd

a position as the Court of Appeals to make that exami

nation and determination. | '

Since the Court of Appeals’ opinion was utterly bere!

of reasons as to why, when and how the trial judge was

prejudiced, its judgment in’remanding the case for re-tria!

before a new judge should not be permitted to stand. Thi

petitioner is a small concern which has lost money in it-

operations as the record shows (Ex. K, R.A. 1970). After

its case was pending more than four years, jt had it~ day

in court and obtained a judgment after what must be con

.sidered a fair trial. Certainly, the Court of Appeal- failed

to show the contrary. The findings of the District (vu'".

which were not even examined by the Court of Apyeal>

support the legal conclusions reached. It would Jw i

equitable to subject petitioner to another long trial, sagen

17

years after this case was filed, without a determination as

to whether it should have prevailed on-the merits.”

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, petitioner requests that the

writ of ‘certiorari issue and that this Court either decide

the case on the merits or, in the alternative, remand the

— ease to the Court of Appeals for a consideration of the

merits. |

Respectfully submitted,

James M. Matioy

RaLtpo WarkEN SuLiivan

10 State Street |

- Boston 9, Massachusetts

Attorneys for Petitioner

Mautoy, SuLtuivan & Myerson |

of Counsel ;

18.

APPENDIX A

United States Cc Court of Appeal

_ -For the First Circuit

No. 5682.

_ WESTINGHOUSE ELECTRIC CORPORATION,

DEFENDANT, “APPELLANT,

v. ae

WRAY EQUIPMENT cone.

PLAINTIFF, APPELLEE;

"No. 5683.

ALD NEW YORK, INC.,

DEFENDANT, APPELLANT,

v.

WRAY EQUIPMENT CORP.,

PLAINTIFF, APPELLEE.

APPEALS FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR TRE

DISTRICT OF MASSAC HUSSTTS

Before Woopsury, Chief Judge, Hartican, Circuit Jutge,

and Juan, District Judge.

John M. Hall, with whom Rhodes G. Lockwood and Choate, Hall

& Stewart were on brief, for appellant in No. 5682.

Douglas L. Ley, with-whom Elliott V. Grabill, Nathaniel J. 7 ‘4,

Jr., and Grabill, Ley & Mason were on brief, for appellant in No. 5083. —

James M. Malloy, with whom Ralph Warren Sullivan and Morton |

Myerson were on brief, for appellee.

OPINION OF THE COURT

February 2, 1961

HaaricaN; Circuit Judge. These are appeals from a judg-

ment of the United States District Court for the District

of Massachusetts entered for plaintiff on March 25, 1960.

—_

4g

Plaintiff-appellee, Wray Equipment Corp., sued West- ©

inghouse, Electric Corporation (Westinghouse) and ALD

New York, Inc. (ALD) for treble damages under the

‘Sherman and (layton Acts, 15 U.S.C. §1. et seq., alleging

that the defendants and various co-conspirators. had con-

___spired-and-—were conspiring to monopolize and unreason-

ably restrain interstate trade and commerce in half-hour

launderette machinery and equipment, and that by various

acts done in furtherance of this conspirdey plaintiff had

been injured in its business:

- The plaintiff alleged that the conspiracy and acts in

furtherance of it included: (1) an agreement between West-

inghouse and ‘ALD that Westinghouse would not sell its

nine pound laundry machines to any launderette machinery

distributor other than ALD and that ALD would purchase

nine pound machines only from Westinghouse; (2) pur-

suant to the agreement and with the approval of ALD,

Westinghouse refused to sell its nine pound machines to

3

plaintiff at any price; (3) with the approtal of Westing- |

house, ALD refused for several months to sell nine pound

machines to plaintiff at a price lower than that charged.in-

dividual launderette operators and subsequently ALD re-

fused to sell nine pound machines to plaintiff at any price;

(4) with the approval of. Westinghouse, ALD used its ex-

elusive right to distribute Westinghouse nine pound ma-

chines to cause prospective launderette operators desiring

| these machines to purchase from ALD their entire re-.

a of twenty-five pound laundry machines, dryers,

: (5) with the approval of Westinghouse, ALD used

sindbis right to distribute the Westinghouse. nine

pound machine as the basis for threatening manufacturers

of twenty-five pound machines, boilers, dryers, ete. with a

boyeott if they did not discontinue making sales to the

plaintiff. Plaintiff alleged, inter alia, tHat as a result of

the conspiracy and the acts in furtherance of it, (1) plain.

20

tiff had been prevented from making sales of Westinghouse

nine pound machines to launderette operators ; (2) plaintiff

had been prevented from making sales of boilers, dryers,

etc. to launderette operators who desire to use Westing-

house nine pound machines; (3) manufacturers of the’ as-

sociated equipment have refused to sell to-plaintiff and have

refused to meet shipping commitments on machines al. —

. ready sold to plaintiff. -

The case was tried by the district court sitting without

a jury. An unnecessarily protracted trial of twenty-cight

days was held during which a great deal of evidence was re-

ceived by the court over the objection of the defendants.

The district judge announced several times that in order

to conduct the trial expeditiously he would receive the

evidence but that it was subject to a motion to strike to

be made at the conclusion of the trial. Motions to strike

were made by the defendants at the close of the evidence.

In the preface to its findings of facts and conclusions of

law the lower court stated: “Defendant ALD submitted

a Motion. to Strike, whicl{ is denied.’’!

The court. made findings of facts and conclusions of law

‘ that plaintiff was entitled to recover treble damages under

the Sherman and Clayton Acts and entered judgment for

the plaintiff.

Defendants in their appeals specify numerous errors, hut

we do not believe it is necessary to discuss all of them in

the disposition which we make of this case.

We -believe that the district court weed prejedicially by

failing to grant defendants’ motions to strike certain evi-

dence objected to by the defendants. The president of Hoyt

Manufacturing Corp., Harry Hoyt, was called as a witness. 4

by the plaintiff io testify in connection with an alleged” a at-'

iThe record dves not contain any disposition by the court of de-

fendant-Westinghouse’s motion to strike certain evidence from the

21

tempt by ALD to have Hoyt Manufacturing Corp., a man-

ufacturer of dryers, slow down delivery of a dryer to plain-

tiff. When Hoyt was asked at the trial if defendant ALD’s |

‘employee Rowan had spoken to him about an order from

plaintiff, Hoyt replied that he had no recollection of such

a conversation. Plaintiff’s counsel then asked: ‘‘Do you

recall testifying on deposition in this case .. .?’ Hoyt re-

plied: ‘‘I recall making a deposition, yes, sir.’’ Plaintiff’s

counsel then read from the deposition,’ stating he was so

doing for two purposes, to refresh the witness’ recollec-

tien and to indicate a prior inconsistent statement. At

the conclusion of the reading, plaintiff’s counsel asked

Hoyt: : |

~- **Q. Do you recall so testifying, Mr. Hoyt?

A. If that is my deposition, I do.

Q. The statements you made there are true? -

A. They would be, yes, sir.’’

be.

~ On cross-examination Hoyt was asked :

‘XQ. Do you have any memory now of the conver- -

sation you had with Mr. Rowan?.

A..Other than what the deposition shows. [sic]

XQ. Did Mr. Rowan make any suggestions to you

that the shipment to Wray Equipment Company be

delayed?

A. I do not reeall.’’

Earlier in his testimony when Hoyt was questioned by

plaintiff’s counsel in’ ne to the delay of shipment he

. said:

‘*Q. You have no recollection of these transactions,

independent of the documents I must show you?

A. No, I haven’t. I haven’t had access to them.

It has been, what. four or five years?

22

Q. You-do recall that’ you testified at some length

about these transactions?

A. Ido.

The Court: You knew you were going to be a

witness here? ,

The Witness: Yes, sir.

The Court: You knew you had answ ered some

questions by way of deposition?

The Witness: Yes, sir.

The Court: Did it occur to you it would have been

a good idea to refresh your recollection on the ques-

tions that you were asked in the deposition, at the

time it was taken, when you knew you were going tw ‘

be here? ¢ 3 .

The Witness: Mr. Malloy [counsel for’ plaintiff| ~

said that he woul! have the deposition here."’

In the deposition read during the trial Hoyt had stated:

‘*That was one of my reasons {for delaying the plaintiff's

order}. I tried to. exercise a certain amount of prudence.

If a man is going to hold me up, I am not going té find

out whether he has a real bullet in his gun."’ The’ district

judge in commenting on this testimony recognized that

Hoyt was not testifying from his present recollection and

said: ‘‘Figuratively speaking, someone put a gun to hi-

head ... He [Hoyt] gave an answer four ang a half year-

ago, and he very frankly and honestly said: ‘If I gave

that answer under oath, my memory then was better than

now, and ‘that is the answer’ ” and that is what I would ex-

pect a good citizen to say .

‘The cases are clear, leeds that a deposition used in

an attempt to refresh the witness’ recollection is not itself

admissible as evidence. See U. S. v. Socony-Vacuum (il

Co., 310 U.S. 150, 234 (1940); 5 Wigmore, Evidence (1415

(3d ed. 1940). When a witness is unable to recall a pas!

. 23

transaction, the majority of the cases do not allow a_prior.

statement of the witness concerning tliat transaction to be

introdaced 4s a prior inconsistent statement. See Corsick

v. Boston Elevated Ry., 218 Mass. 144, 105 N.E. 600 (1914); .

3Wigmore, Evidence §1043 (3d ed. 1940).? We believe that

the district court erred in receiving the deposition of plain-

tiff’s witness Hoyt. The incorporation of Hoyt’s gun

figure of speech from his deposition in the court’s opinion.”

as well as frequent references to it by the court during the

trial indicates that defendants were prejudiced by the ad-

mission into evidence of the deposition. | ;

There is another matter which arose during the trial

‘that warrants cominent because it may be met again in

a new trial. Parts of several oth® depositions were pro-_

perly admitted and read into evidence by plaintiff’s counsel. —

When counsel for the defendants sought then to have ir

troduced other parts of these*depositions relevant to those

read into evidence, relying on F.R.Civ.P. 26(d) (4), the dis-

triet court refused to allow such ere The court

indicated that defendants could intre'uce the desired parts

at a later time? ‘

We have been directed to no cases bearing directly on

this point. Rule 26(d)(4) provides:

‘If only part of a deposition is offered in evidence

by a party, an adverse party may require him tp in-

‘troduce all of it which is relevant to the part intro-

duced, and any party may introduce any other parts.’’

_ _ 2 Wigmore states that the basis of this exclusion is the possibility of |

improper testimonial effect being given to the prior statement. The

instant case presents a forceful example of this danger.

_- Toward the end of the trial the plaintiff's counsel offered the parts

read by defendants’ counsel as part of plaintiff's case and the court so

noted. We do not believe thag this step obviated the defect pointed

out below. | ;

24

The rule provides a methfd for averting, so far as pos-

sible, any misimpressions from selective use of deposition

testimony. The opposing party is entitled under the rule

to have’the context of any statement, or any qualifications

made as a part of the deponent’s testimony also put into .

v-evidence. We believe that the spirit of the rule dictates that

the opposing party should be able to require the introduc.

‘tion of the relevant parts of the deposition testimony at

least at the conclusion of the reading of the deposition. I

the instant case the supplementary relevant testimony au.

thorized by the rule was separated by more than 1,000 .

_ pages of transcript from the deposition testimony intro.

duced by thé plaintiff: Ipseems to us that such wide separa-

tion of the relevant parts of a deposition unduly impedes

the orderly consideration of the deposition testimony, even,

in a non-jury case.

We conclude from a careful reading of the record of “ip.

proximately 2,000. pages that the trial judge was prejudice»

in favor of the plaintiff. Several indications of this preju-

dice are’ manifest in his ‘‘cross-examination’’ of certain

of the defendant’s witnesses. Perhaps his’ prejudice wa-

a result of Hoyt’s reference ‘to a gun in his deposition.

which appears from the record to have made an extreme

and unreasonable impression on the trial. judge. What

ever the cause, the court’s prejudicial — warrants a

new trial before another judge.

We express no opinion on the merits of this case. ;

Judgment wiil.be entered vacating the judgment of thr

district court and remanding the case for anew trial con-

' sistent with this opinion.

29

APPENDIX B

. Statutes Involved,

Section 1 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. ‘J so far as

- pertinent : cane <a

Every contract, combination in the form of trust or ‘

otherwise, or conspiracy, in restraint of trade or com-

merece among the several States, or with foreigi na-

tions, is declared to be illegal... °

Section 2 of the Sherman ‘Act, 15 U.S.C. §2 so far as

pertinent: ,

Every person who shall ‘monopolize, or attempt to

monopolize, or ¢ombine or conspire with any other

person or persons, to monopolize any part of the trade.

or commerce among the several States,.or with foreign

nations, shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor .. .

Section 3 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. G14:

It shall be unlawful for any person engaged in com-

merece, in the course of such commerce, to lease or

make a sale or contract for sale of goods, wares, mer-

chandise, machinery, supplies, or other commodities,

whether patented or unpatented, for use, consumption,

or resale within the Unmted Statics or any Territory

. thereof or the District of Columbia or any insuiar pos-

session or- other: place under the juxisdiction of the

United States, or fix a price charged therefor, or dis-

count from, or rebate upon, such price, on the con-

dition, agreement, or understanding that the lessee o1”

purchaser thereof shall not “ise or deal in the goods,

26

a

wares, merchandise, machinery, supplies, or other

‘commodities of, a competitor or competitors of the les-

sor or seller, where the effect of such lease, sale, or

contract for sale or such condition, agreement, or .

understanding may be to substantially lessen competi

tion or tend to create a monopoly in any line of com

merce. |

.

a .

Section 4 of the Clayton Act 15 U.S.C. S15:

¥

#2

Any person who shall be injured in his busines.

‘property by reason of anything forbidden in the anti

trust laws may sue therefor in-any distriet court of,

the United States in the district in which the defendant

resides or is found or has an agent,-without respect to

the amount of controversy, and shall recover threefold

the damages by him sustained; and the cost of ~<uit,

including a reasonable attorney's fee.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.