Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wilson v. Civil Aeronautics Board (No. 434)
Supreme Court brief1957
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
‘IN THE
Supreme Court nf the United States,
‘OCTOBER, TE RM, 1957 °
ABA
Sipney W, Witson, Petitioner
Vv
Crvtt.. AERONAUTICS Boarp, Respondent
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI ‘TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
. THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT *
. KF. HARoLp BENNETT |
_ 55th Street and Cicero Avenue -
(Chicago, Tlinois
GEORGE EL ARCHER *
~D47 West Jackson B vd.
= wi Chicago, [linois
oo anne Fuge |
: as 1366. National Press Building
: Washington, D.C. .
Atfor neys for Pe titiones®
- farses or Bynor S. ADAMS, — D.C.
- ! *
—- Renee mae. * en ; .
my
INDEX
‘ = Page
Opinions . arsed fo ahead et ee eee piace casdvecese 1
Jurisdiction * Ach Neeedaneseeaa’ Peer: eee erst 2
Questions Presented ae cas ay .: van mawgeneneas- 2
‘Statutes and Regulations ......0.........00. ere ae
“Statement of the DONE cask tiny veers Sbesecésese @
Reasons ‘for Granting the Writ. Se ee Pen a
‘I. The Decision of the Court of Appeals Below Is
in Probable Conflict with sacatcanrs Decisions of
eee ad ae eee eens wake >"
1.The Asserted Power to Punish Under Section
Wr Sik bs car cceakas ces ckeennneareneares a ae
y Analogous Statutes as Aids in Construction ens
. 3.. The Mack of Sufficient Standards in Section. 609
* When Used as a Penal Statute ....2.......... 11
4.The Applicability of Administrative Construc-_
SO 5 ss-nnc iPass once etka ey hkeiek scenacas « .
IIs ‘The Court of Appeals Has Decided an Important
Question of Federal Law Which Has Not Been,
But Should Be, Settled by This Court .......:.. 17.
Conclusion ........... ekaivicees akhes ee ery
* Appendix Peeee ve eeees ice ee ees BPs aber yee Ta =
* ‘PABLE OF AUTHORITIES |
: CASES:
American Airlines 1 v. North American, 351 U.S. 7 15
Anderson v. McKay, 94 US. ‘App. D.C. 11, 211 F. 2d ‘
. Anniston Mfg. ‘Co. v. Davis, 301 U.S. 337 ewes
Boston Sand Co. v. United States, 278 U.S. 41.. 8 2
Brown v. Civil Aeronautics Authority, ie F. 2d 737
(CA. ) eee wee ve eens Tesadghesvess 6
Index Continued
( | Page
Brubaker and Ghien, CAB Dockets, SR-2168, 2169 . .6, 13
Bulger v. Benson, 262 Fed. 929 (C. 3. ee | ie
Campbell v. Galeno, ty = RReuneee ae 7
Champlin Refining Co. v. Corporation Commission, Be
©. 5 ft RIE Pad cie Wha eRe knadudwsssangaes sees (12
' Crowell v. Benson, 285 U. i pc kacuveaeeee urease (12
- Dimick v. ‘Schiedt, 293 U.S, 474 .....5:.......5.005° 8
District of Columbi « v. Colts, 282 U.S. 63 ..... eee
. Everson v. Board .7 Education, ge Se 12
Federal Trade Comm. x. American Tobacco Co:,
RE SE cui bed bandsdanadisanneaceented 12
_ Fong Haw Tan ‘v. Phelan, ; i t eer 11
‘ er v. Berkow, 83 U.S. Mpp: D.C. 70, 165
2°) Fees
Hard v.. Civil Aeronautics Board, (C.A.. 7,- No. -
ES ASP Pe error 18
Helwig v. United States, 188 US. 605 ckwenen salto CMe
‘Huntington v. Attrill, 146 U.S..657 2 .........4... 6
Iselin v. United States, 270 U. eee 7.
Keppel v.. Tiffin Savings Bank, 197 U.S. 356 ..... .
L. P. Stewart-& Bro. v. Bowles, 322 U.S. 398\...... 7
Lee v. Civil Aeronautics Board, 96 U.S. App. D.C.
me + = = & weOPEPPrTrTiTrerrr TT UTS <
Louisville & Nashville Ry. v. United States, 282 U.S. -
ME Schick tuuete sands dndeae ceeds anes eane nes 14
. Norwegian Nitrogen Co. v. United States, 288 U. S. ’
Sa a ree ee ery rr ee ee 5
Order of Railway Conductors v. Swan, 152 F. 2d°
oe th Serer ree 13 oa
Sanford’s Estate v. Commissioner, 308 U.S) 39 . 141
United States v.\C.1.0., et SS rere 8
United States v. ‘Delaware & Hudson Co., 213 U. ‘~ z
a aie eee eeg ey Teer rrr rere 11; 12
= United States v. FE. I. DuPont de Nemoars & Co., 353 |
| it & Fee arr er re OTT yt yey ee ix: Ie
~ United States v.-Jim Fuey Moy, 241 U.S. 394...... 12
United States ‘v. Standard Brewery, 251 U. S. 210... 14
-¢ United States v.:200 Barrels of Whiskey, 95 TLS. os :
eae a lid a ANA Ge aad LORE NSE S ROA
Tinited States:ve Weitzel, 246 U.S. ee a
Wallace v. Cutten, 298>U.S. 229 .............. ae
Wiison. v. Civil Aeronautics Board, US. “App. §
7 DC: ., D4 BR: 2d TTB ... wee ewe cee eee eee 2la 3
= -
“
tnuex Couuunueas » iii.
| : : . Page
; Sratures: Ke —
Section 411, Civil Aero. Act of 1938, “49 USE. 491;
66 Stat. rer ree ees ee 15
Section 609, Civ. Aero. Act of 1938,; 49 USC. Sec. |
D09, 52 Stat. SE ..2,3; 0, 6, 8,10, 11; 15, 3a —
Section 901,Civ. Aero. Act of 1938, 49 U.S.C: ‘See.
3 <a ee 3, 5, 8, 15, 17, 18, Sa
‘Section 903, Civ. Aero, Act. of 1938, 49. U.S.C, Sec.
2 623, 52 Stat, Me Sc itass eget aaa’ 3, 8, 17, 16, 4a
-. Seetion 1006, Civ. Aero. Act of 1938, #08 S.C. 646 2,5
“15 U.S.C. 78s, Fe Se re es °10—
98 U.S.C. See. EE 60s 4 0h5 au cane hs ay ‘exe oe
28 U.S.C. Sec. 2101(c) ......... a de tane baees Pea
Bf ee Se ee errr ere vericways os Turee Tea %
47 U.S.C.A. Sec. 303(m) ...... <ekes pickbaaesnes - 10
49 U.S.C.A. 312, 49 Stat: 658 ore Abexauenek ae
ee OR OE eer creer err rr 2
- Rey. Stat. 4450; 46. U.S.C.A. 939(6), 49 Stat. 1381, |
=e amended ‘eehisas cchacwbe rene aee eases a
Reavtarions: ;
Civil Air Reguidtions, Section . 21.16, 14 CFR. ne
kh En ae es ek ks LET Se ae 3,16, 4a
Civil Air Regulations, Section ‘O1. 24(4), 14 C. FR. -
DAE 5. Sct Ade cagiicn« suka accuse es a, * 17, 5 Sa
Civil Air Regulations, Section 21. 41, 14 CER. Poa
BE oh Se ae Re ate ee Cs ee eke ee eee & 3, 16, aa
Civil Air Regulations, Section 21 42, 14 C. F.R. 7
BO cis caw Ae eee RER he ky Rae xeee es beens 3, 16, 5a.
Civil Air. Regulations, | Section 40.301, 14 C.F.R. ,
., ee neues Lh ak ache Raeas Sakae we kee ees 3,16, 6a
Civil Air Regulations, Section 40.302, . 14 CER.
PF eT Te PETE TT 3, 16, 6a
C.A(B.. Rules, Ait “Safety ‘Proceedings, Section” .
/ B16, 14 C.F.R. 301.26 Sean envensceees ss is ae
Ornen " £ }st
meee by Senator MeCarray, 88 Cong. Ree. 66342. 18
|
i)
|
1
4
P
IN THE
Puprews Congrt nf the Auited States
Octoase TERM, 1957
~ No.
—— wee
Swney W. Wuson, Petitioner
a 3
Crvm, AERONAUTICS Board, Respondent
. @ : PERNA - Se nn a
_ PETITION FOR-A-WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT :
a . | hs 5 SS
foe
Petitioner, Sidney W. Wilson, prays that a writ of
certiorari issue to review the opinion and judgment
of the United States Court of Appeals for the District
of Columbia Circuit decided in the above case on May
9, 1957 by which that Court affirmed orders entered by
respondent suspending: petitioner’ s airline. transport
‘pilot err
.
OPINIONS BELOW
- The Initial Decision of tife Civil Aeronautics Board
‘Hearing Examiner was issued-October 18, 1955 It is
not officially reported but appears inthe Joint Appen-
dix below as certified to this Court (J. A. 5-22). The
a
f ‘
Or
2
original Opinion and Order of the respondent, Civil |]
Aeronauties Board, was issued March 28, 1956. It.also
is not reported officially but appears in said J oint Ap- @
pendix below (J.A. 22-31). On reconsideration the
* Board issued its Supplemental Opinion and Orde? on
, July 31, 1956 which appears in the Joint Appendix
aforesaid (J.A. 32-38). The Opinion of the Court of
Appeals ( U.S.App. D.C. 244 F. 2d 773) -is §
printed. in the Appendix hereto. ( pp. la to ee
JURISDICTION
, “The judgment: of the Court of Appeals was canal |
May 9, 1957 and is included in the record as, trans-—
mitted to this Court. The basis of jurisdiction i in that
_ court was Section 1006 of the Civil Aeronautics Act of
. 1938, 49 U.S.C. 646. This petition for a writ of certi-
orari is filed within the time prescribed in 28 U:S.C.
- Sec. 2101(e); as further extended to September 7, 1957"
by Order of this Court dated July 26, 1957. The juris-
diction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. See.
1254(1) and 49 U.S.C. See. 646(f).. a. ioe
_ QUESTIONS PRESENTED
In a proceeding under Section 609 of the Civil Aero- 4
nauties Act of 1938, as amended, (49 U.S.C. See. 599,
52 Stat. 1011) the Civil Aeronautics Board issued, on™
. reconsideration, an order suspending petitioner’s air- .
line transport pilot certificate forg period of ten days.
There was no a nor was it contended, that peti-
tioner was in any wa unqualified to hold such certifi- °
eate, the ten-day suspension having been ordered as a
deterrent sanction against petitioner for violation of _
« the Civil Air’ Regulations. The Court of Appeals af-
firmed the Board’s Order. — | :
m
_ The ae presented, therefore, are ( 1) whether
under Section 609 of the Civil Aeronautics Act‘ of 1938, ——
Congress. intended: to empower the Board-to ‘Suspend
the airnian certificate of.a-qualified pilot purely as a
~ deterrent sanction for penal purposes, and (2) whether cu
~ a long standing practice and custom of the Board/is .
sufficient to justify the exercise of such penalty power
under Section 609 J mit ,
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS 3
“The pertinent provisions ‘of the Civil Aéronauties
_ Act of 1938 are Sections 609, 901 and 903, together with
Civil Air Regulations Sees. 21.16, 21949, 21.42, 21.24(d)
- and 40.301-302, all of which are set’ out in, the Appen-
dix hereto, pp. 3a to 7a, so far, as material here.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE e
Petitioner, Sidney ‘W.. Wilson, is an airline trans- 3
port pilot employed by National Airlines, Inc. (J.A. ~
22). On December 31, 1954, the Administrator of
Civil Aeronautics,. asserting his authority under Sec-
tiori 609 of the Civil Aeronautics Act: of 1938 (52 Stat.
973, 49 U.S.C. 401 et seq.) filed a Complaint (J.-A: , 3-4)
With the Civil Aeronautics. Board alleging that peti-
tioner, on July 6; 1954, while pilot-in-command of Na- |
tional Airlines Flight 611, a DC-6B aircraft, engaged
in air commerce between Miami, Florida and’ Pitts:
_ burgh, Pennsylvania, had violated certain Civil Air
-Regulations in that he did not execute the missed ap-
‘proach procedure specified in the standard instrument
approach procedure’ for “Runway 28 at the-Greater -
Pittsburgh Airport (J.A. 22-23). It was further alleged
that petitioner violated the regulations in failing to
maintain a continuous radio watch on the appro- |
ee Fe
iia frequency (J.A. 23).. A hearing was held by
CAB Examiner: Caldwell who found that petitioner
had violated the regulations as alleged | but, con-
sidering that petitioner had - a. clear: record of over
10,000 flying hours to his credit, and inasmuch as he ©
-had flown continuously without incident during the
fifteen months that had elapsed, between the violation
incident and the Initial agrees stated that ‘‘.... any
suspension of respondent's airline. transport: pilot rat- .
ing . ... would in effect be a punishment and not of a
remedial nature, »(J.A. 20) The Examiner was of the
further opinion n that-‘‘no usefuF purpose’? would be
served by imposing a suspension of the certificate and
that ‘‘the publicainterest at this time does not. aa
any remedial action.”’ (J.A.20) - ¥
“The ease was appealed to the Jelena Board |
which, on March 28, 1956, affirmed the Examiner and
: found that the record did not eontain any evidence as
-to the need fora ‘‘suspension aga punitive or deterrent
sanction.”’ (J.A. 30) However the - Administrator :
petitioned for reconsideration on the. grounds that ‘‘it -
. is the added duty of the Board’’ (J.A. 35) to. impose
_- adequate sanctions for violation of. the regulations and
“that, the Board did not consider whether its action
would have a deterrent -effect on other pilots. (J.A..
36) On reconsideration the Board agreed with the:
» Administrator,and issued its Supplemental Order sus-
pending the petitioner ’@ certificate for a ten day period: .
(J.A. 37) -A Petition for Reconsideration of this
- Supplemental Opinion, filed on the grounds that the ~
Board exceeded its statutory powers by issuing the
- penalty sanction, (J.A. 38-40) was denied by the Board
- -but an appropriate order was issued staying execution
of the suspension. (J.A. 41-43) A Petition for Review
: eee
of the Board’s Order was filed under authority of Sec-:
tion 1006 of the Act, 49 U.S‘C. 646, in the. United
- States Court of Appeals for bea! pibiriet of Columbia
— Circuit.
. The Court of Appeals affivnied the. Board’ s iia.
mentai Order of Suspension in an Opinion dated May
9, 1957, holding that, Section 609 of the Act conferred
broad discretionary - ‘authority “upa the Board and
stating:
‘Nothing 1 in the Act or its titans listory per-
suades- us that disciplinary action for, violation ‘of.
- regulations was intended to be the exclusive prov-
ince of Section se :
&
In addition, the Court held that the practice of the ns
Board since-1938 has been to impose such suspensions
. gand that this: consistent and unchallenged administra-
tive practice would not be overturned except for very:®
cogent reasons. The Court was of the opinion thas ait
safety supported this. practice.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
1 THF DECISION OF THE COURT. OFr APPEALS BELOW IS in
PROBABLE CONFLICT : WITH APPLICABLE DECISIONS OF
THIS COURT - whe ; pe ole
‘A The Asserted, Power to Punish Unda: + Section 609
~ Regardless- of whether-the action of the Board is’
te termed a forfeiture, deterrent sanction, or disciplinary
_ action for violations of Civil Air Regulations, it is
still, nonetheless, a penalty. The Board itself, ‘in a
case decided shortly before the. present one, carefully
analyzed the nature of,a suspension of an airman’s
" certificate because of a violation of, the Civil Air Regu-
_ lations and a the ase time specifically held as fol-—
lows:
&
@ s : a 6
“We are inclined to the view, and. hold, that sus- |
pensions imposed merely to prevent and deter vio- |
-Jations, and where requalification in one or more .
respects is not involved, are punitive in the consti-
tutional sense, and are. a type of ‘penalty’ from
which immunity i is proyided by Section 1004(i).”” «
Brubaker and Olsen, CAB Dockets SR-2168, 2169, - -
August * 2 ga
This, of course, éonforms with a long“line of federal
eases and can leave little doubt that the Order herein
constitutes a penalty. See Huntington v. Attrill, 146 © |
U.S. 657, 668; Hélwig-v. United States, 188 U.S. 605, . -
611; Brown Vv. Civil Aer onautics Authority, 112 F. 2d
737..(C.A.9); Porter v. Montgomery, 163 F. 2d. 211
215 (C, A.3); Heitmuller v. Berkow, 83 U.S. App. D.C. —
70, 165 F. 2d 961, 962; Lee v. Civil Aeronautics Board,
96 U.S. App. D.C. 299, 225 F. 2d 950, Judge Pretty-:
man, dissenting on-another issue, 225 F’. 2d 953.
Actually, Section 609 of the Act is a purely remedial
statute whereby Congress has grarited the Board power
to ‘‘reinspect”’ aircraft and their. components and ‘‘re-
examine’’ airmen and, thereafter, ‘‘if the interest of.
the public so requires”’, to alter, amend, modify, sus-.-
pend and revoke. certificates previously issued under §
powers delegated in other sections of the Act. -Peti-
tioner does not contest Sectiop 609 as a remedial. pre-
vision, but questions whether it may be used to invoke »
penal sanctions.
It ts believed that the decision below is unique. in
that itis apparently the first time any court has _im-
plied a penal power from statutory Janguage which in.
no way contains a penalty provision or any. language
suggestive of punishment. :
oe
x long line of cases has sonsiatently uplela the prin- :
ciple that authority to penalize will not be presumed. :
unless the statute involved expressly provides the
power. United States-v. 200 Barrels of Whiskey, 95 | >
U.S. 571, 576, Keppel v, Tiffin Savings. “Bank, 197 US.
' 356, 362, 373, Iselin v. U. S., 270 U.S. 245, ‘Campbell v.
| Galeno, 281 US. 599, Wallace v..Cutten, 298 US. 229,
LL P. Steuart & Bro. ‘Tne. v. Bow les, 322 U.S. 398, 404.
moe P. Steuart & Bro. v. Bow ‘les, supra, was a wartime >
_ ease in which this Court found that the power*to. allo- -
- eate rationed materials included the power to withhold
‘such materials when it was established that the peti-
tioner had used these crucial wartime goods in viola- - .
tion of the statute. The Court concluded that a sus-
pension order preventing the dealer from obtaining.
his share of: these materials -was remedial in nature...
It should be noted, however, that the Court expressly
- affirmed ithe principle that penalties for punitive pur- :
- poses avill not. be implied from. general words of a
.. statute, stating at 322 U.S. 404:
| “ave agree that it is for Congress to nintnevibe the ea
‘penalties for the-laws which it writes. It would
transcend both the judicial and the administrative ,
function to: make additions to those which Con- ©
gress has placed behind a statute. ( Citing cases) | |
Hence we would have no culty in agreeing
with petitioner’s contention jf the issue were
whether a suspension: order c be-used’ as‘a
means of punishment of an offénd¢r. But that
‘statement of the question is a distortio of thei issue
presented on this record. 9 .
Tt should be further ak: that the spenete | vase igs —--
not a. matter involving legislative inadvertence (Cf.
wWnited States v. Weitzel, 246 U. 8. 533, 043) or. the .
?
oe ee > s
* application of ‘the ‘rule of necessity’’. It is strictly
a question of whether a penal power can be read ‘into
Section 609 by implication. Congress expressly pro-
vided for punishment of violators of the act and regu-
- lations ‘in Sections 901 and'902. In Sections.901 and
7 903 the specific civil penalties and the procedures are
sef out including the right to a trial by jury. Both the
language and the jurisdictional amount in Section 903
follow the wording of the Seventh Amendment to the
Constitution. As a practical result of the decision be-
low any holder of a certificate fssued by the Civil Aero-
nauties Administration becomes dependent upon the
whim of the Administrator for a statutory right to a. .
trial by jury in cases where it is sought to punish such -
certificate holder; he has been afforded a statutory |
sight to a jury trial, which by such interpretation is
no longer his to demand. We need not remind this
_ Cougt that any seeming curtailment of a right to a
jury trial will be .severely scrutinized.. Dimick v. -
/Schiedt, 293 U.S. 474; District of Columbia v. Colts,
98° U.S. 63. ~ : =o, e-
gant as Aids in Consfruction .
_ We believe th¢ statute is clear in providing a judi-
cial forum for penalty proceedings against alleged vio- |
-. ators (Sections 901-903). - Nevertheless, to dispel any
doubts as to the legislative intention, it is appropriate
* to examine other enactments in related fields of gov-
‘ erment activity... See, Boston Sand Go. v. U. S., 278
U.S.-41; and UnitedStates v. C. I. 0., 335 U.S. 106.
The most qnalogous law is the statute regulating the’
merchant, marine. [hat act in diregt language em:
‘powers the Coast Guard Commandant to suspend or
. Be
: 4
“¢ “a
y :
revoke certificates for specified violations. The perti-- |
nent section reads: _ ee -
_ Tn any investigation of acts of incompetency or
misconduct or of any act in violation of the pro-
visions of title 52 of the Revised Statutes or of any
- of the regulations issued thereunder, committed by
any licensed officer or any holder ‘of a: certificate
of service, the person whose conduct is under in-:
vestigation shall be given rcasonable notice of the.
time, place and subject of such investigation and .
an opportunity to be heard in his own defense...
The whole record-of the testimony received by such
-investigation and thé findings and recommenda-
tiofts shall be forwarded to the Commandant of
' © the Coast Guard, and if that officer shall -find
that such licensed officer or holder of certificate of
service is incompetent or has been guilty of mis-
behavior, negligence, or unskillfulness, or has en-
dangered life, or has willfully violated any of the ;
provisions of title. 52 of .the Revised Statutes or
any of the regulations issued thereunder, he shall,
» _ in a written order reciting said findings, suspend
or revoke the license or certificate of service of ©
such officer or holder of such certificates . . .”’
(Italies supplied). R.S. 4450; March-3, 1911, ¢.
231, or See. 291, 36 Stat. 1167, as amended May 27,
- 1936, 49 Stat. 1381; 46 U.S.C.A. 239 (g). oe
iP
_ The seetion péstaining to,sea captains, who certainly
*‘are akin to airline captains, reads: ieee
>. “Licenses of eaptains . . . such license shall be sus- .
‘pended ar revoked upon satisfactory proof of bad
_. conduct, ‘intemperate habits, incapacity, inatten-
‘tion to his duties, or the willful violation of any -
provision of thi8 chapter . . . applicable ‘to him.”’
‘6 USOA. 2B... .
The Communications Act of 1934, as amended, is
equally helpful in demonstrating that the Congress is
\
AV
~ able properly to siauaibuil its intention of conferring .
' punishment power. There, the Federal Communice.
tions Commission is empowered to affirm, modify, sus-
pend, or revoke certificates in issue- after notice of hear-
ing. It specifically enumerates a detailed list of vio-
lations such as ‘‘violating any act, treaty or convention,
. willfully damaging radio apparatus, transmitting
false or deceptive signals, . . . willfully or maliciously
we ie with any other communication or signal”
..’ ete. 47 U.S.C.A. 303 (m).
As to violators of radio operations aboard sis the
Federal Communications Commission 1 is empowered as
follows:
If the holder of a cumtttiine violates the redic
provisions of the Safety Convention or the provi-
sions of this chapter, or the rules, regulations or .
conditions prescribed by the Commission, and if the
efficient @giministration of the Safety Convention
or of this part so requires, the Commission, after,
“hearing, is authorized to modify or cancel a cer- .
tificate which it has issued . . .”’ (Italies supplied)
June 19, 1934, 50 Stat. 195, 60 Stat. 697 as renum-
bered in 68 Stat. 706, 707, 47 U.S.C.A. 359.
See also, the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15."
U.S.C. 78s,.48 Stat. 898, and the Interstate Commerce .
Act, Part II, See. 212, 49 U.S.C.A. 312, 49 Stat. 555, .
which specifically allow suspension where a licensee _
has willfully failed to- comply. — the Act or —
- tions.
Contrasting thé punitive’ provisions of these Acts: *
with the broad general terms of Section. 609° clearly
illustrates the remedial nature of that Section and em-
. phasizes the absence of. the typical statutory language
that is essential in order to sustain the Board’s action .
:
|
|
,
|
|
|
|
|
in inflicting a penalty suspension for ‘an alleged vio-
*Jation. See Fong Haw Tan v. Phelan, 333 US. 6.
o _Even in statutes of the merchant marine tvpe, there
is hesitancy to allow penal jurisdiction to be exercised
- by quasi-judicial bodies. In Bulger v. Benson, 262
Fed. 929 (C.A., 9, 1920) the Federal Supervisory In-_
spector filed a complaint tharging that the Master of |
_a ship was guilty of inattention to duty and had vio-
lated certain Pilot Operating Rules which: caused his ~
vessel to have a collision. After hearing, specific stat-
utory authority was cited to sustain a fine of $50 and
a suspension of the Master’s license for six months.
The government’s argument that this was a remedial -’
- action was rejected by the Court of Appeals in holding
that the-statute was ‘‘penal in its nature’’ and that the
suspension order under the procedure followed by the
Government was’in excess of the statutory authority. .
_ Only the $50 fine was upheld.
8. The Lack of Sutficient Standards in Section _-
- 609 When Used as a Penal Statute ; .
Another reason for denying the power to punish un-
der Section 609 is that it lacks an adequate criterion.
“There is neither an applicable uniform standard nor a
- limitation on the punishment... The penalty to fit the
alleged violation can be tailored: by the administrative .
"_ ageney as it sees fit: This, we suggest, is quite distaste-
- ful to a legal system which insists upon due process as
‘its cornerstone, and certainly approaches the brink of
violating constitutional safeguards. Jt has been re--
peatedly stated by this Court that. legislative enact-
. ments must be construed not only to avoid the con-
clusion that they are unconstitutional but also to avoid
grave doubts on that seore. United States v. Delaware
—_
ae
~_—
& Hudson Company, 213 U.S. 366, 408; United States
Vv. Jin Fuey Moy, 241 U.S. 394, 401; Federal Trade
Commission v. American Tobacco Compens, 264 U.S.
298, 307; United States v. LaF ranca, 282 U.S. 568, 574;
Anniston Mfg. Co. v. Davis, 301 U.S. 337, 352; Cf.
Crowell v. Benson, 285 U.S. 22, 62; Lverson v. Board
of Education, 330 U.S. 1.
In Champlin Refining Company v. Connatiitienl Com-
mission, 286° US. 210; 240-43, this Court rejected the
-contention that an oil allocation statute was remedial |
and held that actually it was imposing additional
penalties, for violations.of the Act. It was, therefore,
held void for lack of a definite standard, quotingcat
_. p..242, the following statement from Connally v. Gen-
eral Construction Co., 269 U.S. 385, 391: .:
“* «That the terms of a penal statute creating a new.
offense must be sufficiently explicit to inform those.
~ who are subject to it what conduct or their part
will render them liable to its penalties, is a well
~ recognized requirement consonant alike with ordi-
nary notions of fair play and the settled rules of.
law. And a statute which either forbids or re-
-.quires.the doing of an act in terms so vague that.
men of common intelligence must necessarily guess
cat its meaning and differ as to its application, vio-
lates the first essential of cue process of law.’”’ .
aa
4. The Applicability of Administrative Construction
The Court below stated that since 1938: the ened
has consistently suspended airmen’s certificates -for
violation of the regulations. There appears.to be some
doubt in the Board itself as to this consistency, for as _
late as October 18, 1955 in. the Initial Decision herein ~
- the Hearing Examiner referred to his. powers in reme-
dial weal mses 20- 2r) thus following the languhge 7
} /
~~
‘ ® et : , °
and meaning of the Board’s own Rules in Air Safety
Proceedings: = :
‘301.26 Initial Decision. (b) Where the examiner
» has determined that remedial action is required
.." . the examiner shall inquire of the Administrator
? if there is any record of previous suspensions or
revocationg of Respondent’s certificates; whether
Respondent has had any assessment of civil
penalties levied on. him or any previous discipli--
-nary action for violation of air safety standards;
whether proper notice thereof has been given Re-
spondent, and request copies of any reply thereto.’’
Further, the question here has never previously been
* actually contested and argued before the Board, and it _
- eannot reasonably be held to have decided the penal
naturé of a suspension for violation of regulations
until Brubaker and Olsen, GAB Dockets No. SR-2168, -
- 2169 (Aug. 2, 1954), quoted above. Under these cir-
cumstances no effect should be given to the so-called
administrative practice. See Anderson v. McKay, 94 _
- U.S. App. D.C. 11, 211 F. 2d 798 and, Ordér of Rail-
- way Conductors v. Swan, 152 F.2d 325 (C:A. 7), aff'd.
329 U.S. 520. Only last spring this Court‘in United _—
States v. E. I. DuPont de Nemours & Co., 353 U.S. 586,
590 overruled an argument that a thirty-five year ad-
ministrative practice by. the Federal Trade Commis-
sion in refusing to apply Section 7°of the Clayton Act -
to s6-ealled ‘‘vertical acquisitions’’ was persuasive as»
to the intent of Congress. This Court held that the
question was being decided by it for the first time and .
that not only had the Court the duty to reconcile ad-
‘ministrative interpretations with the policies laid down -
~ by Congress, but that the failure.of the Commission to —
act was ‘‘not a binding administrative interpretation
that Congress did not intend vertical acquisitions to .
, ,
come within the purview of the Act.’ By the same
reasoning, it is submitted that the previous actions by
the Civil Aeronautics Board in suspending certificates
as punishment for violations does not bind the Courts.
Certainly administrative rulings eannot add to the :
‘_- terms of an act. of Congress and make conduct criminal
which such laws"leave untouched. United States v.
Standard. Brewery, 251 U.S. 210, 220. Moreover, the
rule as to the persuasive effect of administrative prac-
-tiee is applicable only- where the statute is ambiguous
‘or doubtful, Louisville d: Nashville Ry. v. United.
States, 282 U.S. 740, 757 and where an administrative —
agency assumes a power plainly not granted, no amount
of administrative interpretation in favor of the as-
sumed power is binding upon the courts. Tezras Pacific &
-Ry. Co. v. United States, 289 U.S. 627, 640.
In Sanford’s Estate v. Commissioner of Internal .§
Revenue, 308 U.S. 39, Mr. Chief Justice Stone stated
at p. o2:
“‘ Administrative practice may be of persuasive
weight in determining the construction of a statute
of doubtful meaning? where the practice does not ~
conflict. with other provisions of the statute and .
is not so inconsistent with applicable decisions of
the Courts as to produce inconsistency and con-
fusion in the administration ef. the law.’’ (Italics
supplied)
and further, sat p. 53:
“The very purpose ‘sought to be ‘cian by:
judicial acceptance of.an administrative practice
would be defeated if we were to regard the present
practice as controlling. If a practice is to be ac;
cépted because of the superior knowledge of ad-
ministrative officers of the administrative needs
.¢
and eonvenience (citation) there i is no such reason ae
for its acceptance here.”’
= We concede that Section 609, -when viewed in ite |
remedial context, grants. broad general powers, but -we
~ strongly urge that it is clear and unambiguous in not —
providing punishment for violators. The respondent —
has heretofore relied on the Section 609 phrase ‘‘if the
interest of the public so requires ‘fas granting the:
power to punish for violations, but it has been ‘stated
by this Court that the phrase ‘‘in the interest of the
public’’ contained in in Section 411 (49-E8.C. 49], 66
” Stat-628) of the Act is not sufficient to impute puni-
_ tive powers. In American Airlines v. North American,
= 351 U.S. 79, 85 this Court stated,
“The section is not concerned with punishment of
wrongdoing or protection of injured competitors,
but rather with protection of the _— interest. ee
(Italies nee)
By the same token, Section 901, not availed of by re-
spondent. here, is unequivocal in providing penalties for
such violators.
Norwegian N itrogen Co. v. United States, 288 US.
-294 the only citation in the opinion below, in petition-.
er’s view does not affect the validity of the foregoing
3 contentions. The full statement from which the Court:
quoted is at p: 315 of 288 U. S., as follows:
“True indeed it is that administrative practice
does not qvatl to overcome.a statute so plain in its
commands as to leave nothing for construction.
True it also is that administrative practice consis-
tent .and generally unchallenged will not. be over=
- turned except for very cogent reasons if: the scope
of command is indefinite and doubtful. ae
— =< Italics —
@. 16
‘It'is submitted there is no warrant to the assertion
below that air safety is the touchstene of public policy.
supportirig the administrative practice: No one, has
‘offered in the record or elsewhere.to demonstrate the
truth of this proposition, the respondent having merely |
relied on ‘‘the common knowledge of mankind. ”” (Resp.
Brief below, p. 29.) :
“Iti is submitted that the. contrary i is salen the fact. ©
Commercial’ fiying demands the highest degree of. pro-
ficiency. It-is mandatory for professional ' pilots to
maintain their skis at their peak by constantly exer-
cising them. Of course, the Respondent Board is fully
cognizant of this important aviatinn axiom.
‘The Civil Air Regulations in several instances. re-
quire recent flying experience in order to obtain and
exercise the privileges of an airline transport’ pilot
rating. See C.A.R. Sées. 21.16, 21.41, 21.42, 40.301; -
14 CF. RE Sees, 21.16, 21.41, 21.42, 40.301-2 (Appendix
pp. 3a ‘to 7a). In order.to maintain such rating,
an airline. transport pilot. must undergo a route fa-
miliarity examination (C.A.R. Sec. 40.302; 14 C.F.R.
_ See. 40.302) at least once every twelve months, and at
_ least each six months he must satisfactorily demon-
strate his navigation; instrument, ‘radio and other.
_ flight skills in actual flight. C. A.R. See. 40.302, supra.
Hence, the Board’s present insistence that it is pro-—
moting safety by grounding experienced airmen is not
only inconsistent with its own regulations, but is a mis-
conception of its statutory ‘powers.-, Clearly, the
grounding of an experienced and qualified airman for
any period whatsoever cannot be in the public interest:
ee
If itil: it will tend to make a pilot less qualified— a
at least temporarily.’ |
. This administrative meiteaie can be ecalbicwecs. ,
, versing the Court below... It is probably unnecessary to
-add that there is an ample deterrent element .(assum-_
ing, arguendo, that it is necessary in order to require
pilots to fly safely), in imposing a pecuniary fine after
full judicial: process, theluding trial Sy jury, as con- »
templated ‘by. Congress in Sections 901-903. Indeed,
the structure of the Act*is such, as pointed out above,
that Congress must have believed the fine would have a
\more incisive and more forceful deterrent effect. than eS
espe =. & eee a
I. THE COURT OF APPEALS HAS DECIDED AN IMPORTANT |
' QUESTION OF: FEDERAL LAW WHICH HAS MOT BEEN.
BUT SHOULD .BE, SETTLED BY THIS COURT
- Section 903.(b) (1) of the Act (49 U.S.C.A. Sec. |
- 623 (b) (1)) details the procedure in respect to civil
penalties for violation of Title- VI’ (the authority for
promulgating Civil Air Beenie). —— (4) —
of f that Section states: Sead =
“*(4) The Supreme Court of the United States,
and under its direction other courts of the United
States, may prescribe rules regulating such pro-
ceedings in any. particular not provided by law.”’
_
Reported cases of these decisions are rare and. so. far
as we are aware, this Court has never had occasion to
1 The ] present case, involves only a 10 day suspension, but recent
Board: cases indicate 6 months is within its concept of the public
interest. Indeed, there is no limit to the sanctions ‘possible under
Section 609, a fact that is embraced by C.A.R. 21.24(d) ; 14 C.F.R.
21.24(d) (App. p. ...-) which authorizes revocation as legitimate
‘sanction. ws poe ediieal
18
‘prescribe, or divect other courts to” prescribe, such rules
not otherwise provided by law. © :
- The present atrophic condition of Sections 901 and
903 is a result of administrative legislation and is _in-
consistent with the substantial body of law that nffist
__ have been anticipated by the Congress’ in order to have.
‘. induced it to provide this important provision. A ?
glance at Titles V, VI and. VII (the only parts of the
-rAct subject to the. civil penalties of Section 901) will
demonstrate that this congressional foresight could be |
| predicated only upon anticipated judicial proceedings
involving any penalty for violations of the regulations
promulgated under Title VI. ae e
This premise considered, it is respectfully urged that |
it is of importance: to that Segment of the public in- -
volved in interstate and foreign air commerce that this .
_ Court consider this case to determine in-what cases the.
holders of certificates -issued by the Civil Aeronauties
Administration are entitled to judicial presen, and a |
trial by jury. — ;
Petitioner wishes finally to advine the Court that _
there‘is now pending in the United States Court of <
- Appeals for the Seventh Circuit the case of Hard v.-
‘Civil Aeronautics Board; No. 11989 in which although
there are additional considerations, the issue is similar
_to the issue presented herein, i.e., whether under See-
‘tion 609 of. the Act the respondent has the power to
invoke penal sanctions by suspending an airman’s cer- —
tifieate for violation of regulations. Oral argument is -
scheduled i in that ease + for September 16, 1957.
2 See eet by Senator McCarran, 83 Cong. Ree. 6634 (May .
9, 1938). .
19
CONCLUSION.
For the reasons above stated; it. is respectfully: sub-
mitted that this petition for a writ of certiorari should
abe — a: ae os
ee F. Harorp BeNnert |
oy i 55th Street and Cicero Avenue:
3 Chicago, Hlinois —
2
‘Grorce F. ARCHER
547 West Jackson Blv a.
_. Chicago, Illinois |
LLoyp FLETCHER
' 1366 National Press Building
Washington, D.C. |
Attorneys for Petitioner i
Ww
* ‘
*
xh
‘9
4
¢g
la
a ee
SiDNey Ww. Wisos,. Petitioner,
=, oe
Civi. Azronavtics Boarp, Respondent.
- No. 13553.
| United States Court of Appeals
District of Columbia Circuit. -
Argued April 1, 1957”
Decided May 9, 1957
* * * * * @ .
cs Mr. Lloyd Fletcher, Washington, D, C., for. appellant.
Mr. O. D. Ozment, Chief Litigation and Research Divi-
_ sion, Civil Aeronautics: Bd., with whom Messrs. Franklin ©
-M. Stone, Gen. Counsel, Civil Aeronautics Bd., John H.
Wanner, Associate Gen. Counsel, Civil .Aeronautics Bd.,.
Gerald F. Krassa and Ulrich V. Hoffmann, ‘Attys., Civil |
Aeronautics "Bd., and Daniel M. Friedman, ‘Atty., Dept. of
Justice, were on the brief for respondent. .Mr. Robert L.
Park, Atty., Civil Aeronautics Bd., also entered an appear-
ance for respondent. —
e
"Before BaZELoN, Fany and DaNAHER, Cirenit Judges.
Bazewon, Circuit Judge.
Petitioner, an airline pilot, seeks review of Civil”.
Aeronautics Board orders which (1) suspended his airman
certificate for ten days, and (2) denied reconsideration of
the’ suspension. The single 1 issue is stipulated to be:
Whether, i in Groundtances in, which, the Civil Aero-
. nauties Board does not find the pilot to. be unqualified ~
to fly, the Board i is empowered under Section 609 of ;
oe 2a
the Civil Aeronautics ‘Act? to suspend. nits 8 airman cer-
tificate as a deterrent sanction.
- .
é
Under: § 609, the Board “may reexamine any airman, ~
and, after investigation, and upon notice and hearing, may
alter, amend, modify, or suspend * * * [his] airman cer- -
tificate * * *, if the interest of the public so” requires,* wth:
Emphasis adtied. |
=,
Petitioner argues that, since reexamination is a condition. i
precedent to action under § 609, thé section must be read to
authorize suspension only for lack of competence or qualifi-
. eations as an airman. Disciplinary action for viqlation of ©
regulations, he says, is covered exclusively by § 901 of the
Civil Aeronautics. Act? which' provides that a. ‘‘person: who.
- violates {regulations] shall be subject to a civil penalty eee
not to. exceed $1000 for: ‘ach such violation. ’”* His view: is .
that/Congress did not authorize suspension of a certificate
for disciplinary purposes. We oganot agree. on
By resting suspension on a Board determination that
“the interest of the public so requires,’’ Congress conferred
broad discretionary authority upon the Board. What Con-
gress had in mind appears from the direction contained in’
§ 601(b) of, the Act® that the Act be administered ‘‘in such.”
manner as will best tend to reduce or éliminate the possibil-
ity of, or recurrence of, accidents in air ‘transportation
adie Nothing i in the Act or its legislative history per-
suades us that disciplinary action for violation of regula-
tions was intended to be the exclusive province of § 901.
Moreover, the Board has never ‘recognized such ex-
clusivity in its administration of the Act. From the effec- |
ue date of the Act in 1938 through June 30, 1956, the - a
- -152Stat. 1011 1 (1938), 49 U.S.0sA. 93559. Se
252 Stat. 1015 (1938), 49 U.S.C.A. § 621.
* 52 Stat. 1007 (1938), 49 USCA. § 551.
a
~ ,
I)
7 ae
ae
_ ‘Board has suspended approximately 4000 airmen for-viola-_ =
tion of rules, without findings that they lacked competence | ;
or qualifications ‘and. without requiring re-examination be-
fore reinstatement. This consisterit and, until now, un-
‘challenged administrative practice ‘‘will not be overturned
‘except for very ‘cogent reasons * * *.’? Norwegian Nitro-
gen Products Co. v.-United States, 1933, 288.U.S. 294, 315,
53 S. Ct. 350,358, 77 L.Ed 796.° The most cogent of rea-
sons—air safety—supports the administrative practice here
e -
under attack.
Affirmed, : ie ae. A
est ‘Statutes Involved “4 4.
“The Civil Aeronautics Act of 1938 (52 Stat. 973) as ~”
_ amended, (49:U. S.C. A. 401 at seq.), provides in part:
Sec. 609 (52 Stat. 1011, 49 U.S.C.A. 559) Sg
‘‘The Board may, from: time to time, reinspect any
aircraft, aircraft engine, propeller, appfiance, air navi-.— .
gation facility, or air agency, nay reexamine’ any air-
mah,’ and, after investigation, and upon notice and
hearing, may alter, amend, modify, or suspend, in
whole or in.part, .any type certificate, _ production
- certificate, airworthiness cértificate, airman certificate,
dir carrier operating. certificate, air navigation facility
certificate, or air agency certificate if the interest ©
© . of the. public so requires, or may revoke, in whole ©
or in part, any such certificate for any cause which,
‘at the time of revocation, would justify the Ad-. ;
_. \ministrator of Civil) Aeronautics in’ refusing’ to
issue to the -holder of such certificate a like cer-
tifieate ....” Sak oe ame, SO aa
ay
4
© See.'901 (52 Stat, 1015, 49 U.S.C,A. 621)
' (a) Any person who violates (1)- any provision of.
subchapters V, VI, and VII of this chapter, or any
provision of subsection (a) (1) of section 181. of this
'. title, or (2) any rule or regulation issued by the Post-._ .
v
ad
S
©
° é =
ta .’ af
- master General dion: this chgpter, shall be silos, to
a civil penalty of not to exceed $1,000 for each such
violation. -Any such penalty may be compromised by
_ Board or the Postmaster General, as the case may
. ‘(b) ‘In edse an aircraft.is involved in such viola-
_ tiqp and the violation is by the owner or person in com-
mand of ‘the —* suth aircraft shall be subject to
_ lien for the —-- |
‘so
See. 903 (52 Stat, 1017, 49 U.S.A, 623)
““(b} (1) Any civil penalty, imposed under “this
chapter may ke collected by proceedings in parsonant
against the person subject to the penalty...: Such pro- |
ceedings. shall conform as nearly as may ‘he to civil
suits in admiralty, except that either party may
demand trial by jury of any issud of fact, if the value
in controversy exceeds $20, and the facts so. tried
shall not be. re-examined other than in accordance
with the rules of the common law . +s
**(4) The Supreme Court of the United States, and
under its direction other courts ofthe United States,
may prescribe rules regulating such proceedings: in
any particular not ——— by law.’
C.A.R. 21.16, 14 C.E.R. See. 21. 16. Aeronautical experience.
An applicant for an airline transport pilot rating shall
hold a valid commercial pilot rating, or equivalent as de- *
"termined by the Administrator, and shall meet the dotlow- ,
ing aeronautical experience requirements:
(a) Applicant shall have had at least 250 heiens of flight
time composed of time aS pilot in command, or time as
eopilot actually performing the duties and functions of
a pilot.in command under the surveill@nce of the pilot in
- command, or any combination thereof. Of this time, at ~
YW least 100 hours sh have been cross-country flight time,
and at least 25 hours shall have been night flight time.
Flight time shown in fulfillment of the requirements of
this paragraph may also be used for the purposes of ae
graph (b) of this section. : ,
5a
2 (b) Applicant shall have had at least 1,200 hours of.
flight time as pilot within the last 8 years, of which |
fe hours shall have been had: within 60 days immedi-
‘ately preceding the date of application ;
(2) 200 hours Shall. have been eross-country flight time ; : 5
. (3) 100 hours shall haye been night flight time ;
(4) 75 hours shall have been instrument time under
actual or simulated instrament conditions of which not less
one 50 hours shall have neon | in actual flight.
CAR 21:24, 4 CER. ted: 21.24.
_(d) Nothing in this section shall -be construed to aay
or defeat the jurisdiction of. the Federal courts, the Ad-
+ ministrator, or the Board to gnpose any authorised sane-
tion, including revocation of the certificate, for a viola-|
tion 6f the act or of the regulations in this sub-chapter
occurring during: the effective period of the certificate.
C.A.R. 21.41, 14 C.F.R. Sec. 21.41 Passenger carrying.
__ A certificated airline transport pilot shall not pilot any
_ aireraft carrying-any person other. than members of the
crew thereof, ceptificated airmen carried in air ¢arrier
aircraft in furtherance of their official duties, or a cer-
tifiecated instructor rated tor the aircraft operated, unless,
within the 90 days immediately preceding, he shall have -
made at least 3 take-offs, and three-landings to a full stop,
in an aircraft of the same category (§ 21.34) aid if an
airplane, within the same class (§ 21.35 (a)) as that of the
aircraft in which any such — is carried. aoe
> CAR. 21.42, 14 C.F.R. ‘See. 21.42 Recent angertoncs re-
| _ quirements. )
(a) Passenger flight (day and night yA certificated sip.
line transport ‘pilot shall not pilot an aircraft carrying
any person other than the members of the crew thereof, .
_ certificated airmen. carried in air carrier aircraft in fur-
a. @ _ a
Pata
6a
therance of their official duties, or a certificated instruc,
_ tor rated for the aircraft operated, unless within the
' preceding 3 calendar months he shall have made and
- logged*at least 3 take-offs and landings to a full stop in
an aircraft of the same category, ¢lass, -and type as that
' of the aircraft in which. such person is carried.
(b) Instrument flight. A certificated. airline transport
pilot, who within the preceding 6 erilendar months has
~ not flown and logged at least 2 hours of flight time solely °
- by reference to instruments under either actual or properly
sintulated instrument flight conditions, shall not pilot an .
aircraft under such. conditions until , he has flown and 1
logged at least 2 hours of such flight time accompanied
by a certificated pilot of at least private grade holding an -
appropriate category, class, and type rating for the aircraft.
and authorized to operate aircraft under instrument eondi-—
tions.. :
CAR. 40.301, 14 C.F.R. See. 40.301 Pilot recent experience:
No air carrier shall schedule a pilot to serve as such in
scheduled air transportation unless ‘within- the -preceding
90 days he has made at least 3 take-offs and 3 landings
in the airplane of tlie particular type on which he is to.
serve.”
-~)
C.A.R. 40.302, 14 C.F.R. See. 40.302. Pilot checks.
(a) Line check: Prior to: serving as pilot i in initia
and ataleast: once éach 12-months thereafter, a-pilot shall —
| ead accomplish 2 line check ir one of the types -
of-aifplanes normally to be flown. by. him. his check
shall be given by a check pilot who -is ‘qualified. for the
route. It shall consist of at ‘least a scheduled flight be-
tween terminals over a route to w hich the pilot is normally -
assigned during which the check pilot shall determine
whether the individual being. checked satisfactorily ex-.
ercises-the duties and responsibilities of pilot i in command.
7a : ‘4
(b) Proficiency check: (1)-An air carrier shall not utilize
a pilot as ‘pilot in command until he has satisfactorily —
-demonstrated to a-check pilot or a representative. of the
Administrator his ability to pilot and nayigate airplanes,
to be flown by him. Thereafter, at least twice each 12 -
months at intervals of not less than 4 months or more than’ . -
- 8 months, a similar pilot proficiency check shall be given
each such pilot? Where such pilots serve in more than
one airplane type, the pilot proficiency check shall be gives.
‘in the larger airplane.type at least once each 12 months.
6, *
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.