Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Walter W. Johnson Co. v. Reconstruction Finance Corp.

Supreme Court brief1956

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

In the Supreme Court of the

United States

Ocroper TERM, 1955

Wa ter W. JoHnson CoMPANY,

Petitioner,

VS.

RECONSTRUCTION FINANCE CORPORATION,

Respondent.

f Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

Epwin S. Pruusspury

Davin M. ATCHESON

564 Market Street

San Francisco 4, California

Attorneys for the

Petitioner

JUN 13 i956

PARKER PRINTING COMPANY, 180 FIRST STREET, SAN FRANCISCO 8

Fok ie as

er

FEELIN

Pores

SONA EER PINON DE ENTS

ate Min oe

SR smh Os

SUBJECT INDEX

Page

IARI TRI | icsssesesinsesonnnncisinanishenntmnasinnsnnsncenatintnbetinmanssiimmpliceitt 2

IN scheieopes cestntea cd charles sedeahnctorracedinieden eee Taihepaisenialiementinee 2

Questions Presented ............ sett ae bseetaiialabiaas seein nataaaaalon 2

TORE GE SI iri nics sets ctireenierecne aetna 3

Reasons Relied on for the Allowance of the Writ.........0.............. 9

IN cx isvarinitnct scstaens nes codicninatiaciteviaiishepaanbeanatandlasitaen diated 10

I. The District Court made no attempt to determine

Il.

ILI.

whether there were genuine issues as to any material

facts, and wholly ignored issues which were plainly

IIIS casincigese,icsicinbianatidnsniguithatdicctineliehas aves ciuadin stpaaenchiaaoien

The Court of Appeals made the same error, and, instead

of ascertaining what the issues were, or considering the

conflicting evidence bearing thereon, merely stated that

it agreed with the lower Court. .................c:2:ccceeccseeeeeecenees

The net result of the two decisions is that the petitioner

has been deprived of his fundamental right to a trial

otk is TA, ea oe ce ee aku

The failure of both courts to give serious or any con-

sideration to the requirements of Federal Rule 56(c¢)

amounts to so gross a departure from the aecepted and

usual course of judicial proceedings as to call for an

exercise of this court’s power of supervision (Sup. Ct.

A | i Spe ener Oe tN ae Bee UR Ee

eS RT RES oA PRY SOE PULMONAR. OS 8s. een, Near tuh LIER

10

21

23

24

ie

wee

CE Oe

BE

cussed ale alta ae

Peadiae:

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Adams v. California Mutual B. & L. Association, 18 C. (2d),

yt TIDE RL aie ec CE OE CO

Begnaud v. White, 170 F. (2d) 323 (CCA 6-1948) 0... 13,

Ee ae Se La fe DG ||.) ee eeneeee en nCeneC NEN

Berkey v. Halm, 101 C.A. (2d) 62 (1950) —............. Velah EMS Tae

Bollinger v. National Fire Insurance Co., 25 C. (2d) 399 (1944)

Bowers v. E. J. Rose Mfg Co.. 149 F.(2d) 612, (CCA 9, 1945)

Carson Pirie Scott & Co. v. Parrett, 346 Ill. 252, 1748 N.E. 498

(OR Seat EL Daa A lea EE

Cf. Knox v. Kaelber, 140 N. J. Eq. 474, 55 A.(2d) 53 (1947)...

City of Richmond v. Goodloe, 308 Ky. 549, 215 S.W. (2d) 128

See gh Fp Geel eS Ne A NE a a

Colby v. Klune, 178 F. (2d) 872 (CCA 2, 1949) .....00000202...

I Wh, MI ME, CUE) osc vsscisncessnnnecnnnneosenmenrsinencanevvns

Doehler Metal Furniture Co. v. U.S., 149 F. (2d) 130 (CCA

a a lees aapiesncenainiabiniaienens

Hadley v. Vassaic, Nat. B & T Co., 113 NJ Eq. 548, 165 Atl.

/ ik: Geer AE ACS et RSE EE eee I A OR

Industrial Indemnity Co. v. 1. A. C., 115 C_A. (2d) 684 —........

Johnson v. Clark, 7 Cal. (2d) 529 (1936)....................................

Mitehell v. West End Park Co., 171 Ga. 878, 156 *.E. 888

5 pe oN IRAE A Ae ee EAS nie ee

National Surety Co. v. County Bd. of Edue., 15 F(2d) 993

(oh Ot Eke deie li seetAOIS aS P SEN EEE Se oeee See e

Niemann v. Nadelman, 136 Mise. 386, 240 N.Y.S. 47 (1930).

Northwestern Mut. Sav. & L. Ass'n v. Kessler, 66 N.D. 737.

oO BB elt aD "9 a elie ie ee eee ee ee

Oldland v. Gray, 179 F. (2d) 408 (CA 10, 1950)...

14, 23

13

19

13

16

TABLE oF AUTHORITIES CITED iii

Pages

Pacifie Ready-Cut Homes Inv. v. Title Ins. & Trust Co. 216

Cah, 447 (1982) u...a-ocnnncccnecnconconnvoeenencevernenecennesenersecsssueansensanenseneees 18

Sampson v. Bruder, 47 Cal. App. (2d) 431, 4385 (1941)............ 20

Sartor v. Arkansas Gas Corp., 321 U.S. 620, 88 L. Ed. 967

ee i sat classaccnasiatenlnisoecnshoorennarmi 10

Smith v. Anglo-Calif. Trust Co. 205 Cal. 496 (1928).........-.---. 18

Theatre Realty Co. v. Aronberg-Fried Co., Ine., 85 F. (2d)

383 (Sth Cir. 1936)..........--....---c--ccerecccerccensensrsecsnesssnrsensenseseeneoens 18

Title Guar. T. & S. Bank v. Clifton Forge Nat. Bank, 149 Va.

168, 140 8.B. 272 (1927) ......---.--0-:0-c-ccencneronensevenrernsnsvsensenerssaene 17

Tuolumne Gold Dredging Corporation vy. Walter W. Johnson

Company, 61 F. Supp. 62 (D.C. DR WR settcnctisectnancometeoeeen 5

Tuolumne Gold Dredging Corporation vy. Walter W. Johnson

Company, 71 F. Supp. 111 (D.C. Cal. 1947)... 5

Western Pipe & Steel Co. v. Tuolumne Gold Dredging Cor-

poration, 63 C.A. CR CA) isis since ceritasinsiiticcaniorinvese 5

Whitaker v. Coleman, 115 F. (2d) 305 (CCA 5, 1940) ~.......... 10

Whiting-Mead Co. v. West Coast B & M Co., 66 C.A. (2d)

AGO (1944) ..0.0--.cncnenencneceovascercoveereoscsersnenensvsnensnensboancansesncorosnensnenes 18

Wichita Fed. Sav. & L. Ass’n v. Jones, 155 Kan. 821, 130 P.

(Dd) BEG (1D42) ..2.0nno-cencecersrenrn-vesenneoneensnenrnencentencennvnsenvaccnnsosesore ..16, 18

Woodhead Lumber Co. v. E. G. Niemann Investments, Inc., 99

Cal. App. 456 (1929) ......-------------c-cececseeseseeeenenensnencnsaneneneneesenenens 15

BRETT ae.

ee

oe

iv TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

STATUTES Pages

Reconstruction Finance Corporation Act (USCA Title 15. par.

neon tg ee EME LE AE EEN OSs SE jriestiadehisetnedbiee 3

United States Code, Title 28:

WI EES SBF toc ne 2

a ee |) Re ETE hijepdecek dee ae 2

RULES

IRIN TI NR cot eg rem cet ek, 4

OME HD TD TO oe ncn ees 10, 24

NC Se. SE Os EE ee rahe eee 10, 24

TEXTS

40 California Law Review 204, ‘‘Summary Judgment Under

Federal Practice’’ by Judge Yankwieh............. 10

9 California State Bar Journal, at page 246.000.0000 23

Corbin on Contracts, Vol. 4, Se. 776..0.0..0-.cccc0cccccccceseeeeeeeeeeeeec-.. 15

Pomeroy Equity Jurisprudence, Vol. VI, Section 1080 (Sth ed.

| ue MRS RN ETE RIES SOUL Sh Est IOC eee dk ve ore A ln 17

In the Supreme Court of the

United States

Ocrober Term, 1955

Watrer W. Jounxson Company,

Petitioner,

Vs.

Reconstruction Finance Corporation,

Respondent.

tf)

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

To the Honorable, the Chief Justice of the United States

and the Associate Justices of the Supreme Court of the

United States:

Walter W. Johnson Company, a corporation, files this

petition for a writ of certiorari to the United States Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit to review a judgment

affirming a summary judginent of the United States District

Court for the Northern District of California, Northern

Division, upon petitioner’s counterclaims to recover the bal-

ance of money due upon its construction of a gold dredge

financed by respondent.

ee ee

MS Pre, 28 ete Bete ee eo eh

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the United States District Court for the

Northern District of California, Northern Division, is re-

ported in 137 F. Supp. 855. The first opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Cireuit which dis-

inissed the first appeal herein is reported at 223 Fed. (2d)

101. The second opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit which affirmed the summary

judgment of the District Court is reported in 230 Fed. (2d)

479.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit was entered on February 10, 1956. A petition for

rehearing, filed in time, was denied on March 22, 1956.

Jurisdiction of this court is invoked under United States

Code, Title 28, Section 1254(1), the writ having been applied

for within ninety days as provided by United States Code

Title 28, Section 2101(¢).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) Whether the Court of Appeals erred when it affirmed

the summary judgment granted by the District Court dis-

missing petitioner’s five causes of counterclaim without con-

sidering the clear existence of many genuine issues of

material facts in the case;

(2) Whether the Court of Appeals erred when it failed

to specifically determine whether genuine issues of material

facts existed as claimed by petitioner:

(a) That the respondent herein waived the statute of

limitations and is estopped to assert laches;

(b) That petitioner had a lien upon the dredge ;

(¢) That respondent was unjustly enriched by ap-

propriating proceeds from the operations of the dredge

while petitioner remained unpaid:

3

(d) That respondent, by appropriating the proceeds

of the operations of the dredge, did so as a constructive

trustee for petitioner; and

(e) That respondent was liable for payment oi state

sales taxes incurred during construction of the dredge

which were paid by petitioner. B

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Reconstruction Finance Corporation, plaintiff below and

respondent here, hereinafter referred to as REC, filed its

Complaint to Foreclose Indenture and Chattel Mortgage

(R. 3) on June 28, 1949. It invoked federal jurisdiction on '

grounds of the amount in controversy and as arising under

the Reconstruction Finance Corporation Act (USCA Title

15, par. 601-607). Defendant below and _ petitioner here,

Walter W. Johnson Company, a Nevada corporation, here-

inafter referred to as Johnson, filed its answer which

included five causes of counter-claim on June 30, 1950 (R.

74). Jurisdiction on the counterclaim was invoked on the ;

ground of the amount in controversy and on the ground that

Johnson was a Nevada corporation, whereas RFC was a

federal corporation (R. 77). REC filed its amended answer

to Johnson’s counter-claim on Mareh 31, 1952, admitting

the jurisdictional allegations (R. 91).

On June 5, 1953, pursuant to motion made by RFC and

without oral argument, the District Court entered its order

granting summary judgment to REC dismissing the counter-

claims (R. 243-274).

Johnson thereupon appealed to the Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Cireuit. That court dismissed the appeal because

the Distriet Court’s order granting summary judgment was

deemed not appealable because it did not dispose of the entire

case and the judgment lacked the certification required by

Pyert

’ |

4

Federal Rule 54(b). Johnson thereafter secured the neces-

sary certification from the District Court and a subsequent

appeal was taken to the Court of Appeals which, on Feb-

ruary 10, 1956, entered judgment affirming the summary

judgment upon the grounds specified in the memorandun

opinion of the District Court (R. 481-4, 485). A petition for

rehearing in the Court of Appeals was denied on March 22,

1956 (R. 486).

The record discloses the following factual situation:

In the latter part of 1936 RFC passed a resolution de-

claring its intention to make a loan to Tuolumne Gold

Dredging Corporation (hereafter called Tuolumne) for the

purpose of constructing a gold dredge (R. 78). Thereafter,

Tuolumne entered into negotiations with Johnson for a eon-

tract for construction of the dredge. On many occasions

the negotiations took place in the Washington offices of RFC

with RFC actively participating in the drafting of the con-

tract (R. 291, 292). On May 11, 1937 Tuolumne executed an

Indenture and Chattel Mortgage for the benefit of RFC

securing the payment of the principal sum of $600,000 to be

loaned by RFC and used for construction of the dredge and

related purposes (R. 78) (see Exhibit A to Complaint—R.

17-69).

On the same day, simultaneously with the execution of

said moitgage and with the approval of RFC, Tuolumne

entered into a contract with Johnson for the construction

of the dredge (see Exhibit D to Agreed Statement of Facts

—R. 192) specifying that the entire cost of the dredge would

not exceed $552,500.

Johnson asserts completion of the dredge on June 13,

1938, and delivery to Tuolumne on September 20, 1938 (R.

79-80). At all times until June 15, 1938, there were ample

monies in the Construction Fund established under the REC

loan to pay Johnson the balance due for the construction

of the dredge (R. 80) which in June 1938 amounted to

$51,203.99 and the further sum of $7,815.41 for necessary

parts and supplies furnished for the dredge (R.81).

Notwithstanding the fact that adequate monies remained

in the Construction und at that time to make payment of

these oblig tions, Tuolumne and RFC depleted the Fund so

that on September 24, 1938 there remained only $40,000

therein, which sum Tuolumne and RFC attempted unsuc-

cessfully to compel Johnson to accept in full payment of its

claims (R. 81).

Johnson thereafter brought an action against Tuolumne

in the state courts for the monies due it, which resulted in

protracted litigation between Johnson and Tuolumne, both

in the state and federal courts, as a result, it was not until

April 1949, that this litigation terminated and it was finally

determined that Tuolumne was indebted to Johnson for the

items in question (R. 81-83).

This litigation is reported as follows:

Western Pipe & Steel Co. v. Tuolumne Gold Dredg-

ing Corporation, 63 C.A. (2d) 21 (1944):

Tuolumne Gold Dredging Corporation v. Walter W.

Johnson Company, 61 F. Supp. 62 (D.C. Cal.

1944) ;

Tuolumne Gold Dredging Corporation v. Walter W.

Johnson Company, 71 F. Supp. 111 (D.C. Cal.

1947).

During the course of the litigation between Johnson and

Tuolumne. representatives of RFC had, on numerous ocea-

sions, represented to Johnson that if Jolinson prevailed

against Tuolumne, REC would arrange that the balance due

Johnson under the contract would be paid (R. 215-216, 123.

6

219, 417-419). However, when Johnson approached REC

for payment after successfully prevailing in the litigation

against Tuolumne, the RFC suddenly took the position for

the first time that the question of liability was a “close one”

and that, therefore, RFC could not inake payment (R. 239).

The liability of RFC in this case is founded not only upon

the Trust Indenture and Chattel Mortgage, but upon the

underlying factual situation which was involved in the tri-

partite transaction between RFC, Tuolumne and Johnson,

to arrange for the financing and construction of the gold

dredge. The Affidavit of Mr. Walter Johnson shows one

facet of this three-cornered relationship where he states

that it was the usual practice of his company to retain legal

title to a dredge until the work was completed and the pur-

chase price was paid (R. 213). When the RFC began to

finance the construction of gold dredges, however, it insisted

upon a first mortgage on the dredge, and Johnson Company

agreed to relinquish the title it normatly reserved, solely

upon the understanding that the RFC financing and the

“Construction Fund” which such financing established,

would unquestionably see that Johnson was paid (R. 213).

In three prior instances of building dredges under RFC

financing, Johnson had received full paynent from the Con-

struction Fund established under the Trust Indenture (R.

214).

The RFC was well aware of Johnson’s attitude and reli-

ance on the proceeds of the REC loan long before the docu-

ments were signed in the instant transaction (R. 241, 397,

398). The gist of the transaction was that since Tuolumne

was without funds or other assets, save for the value of

exploratory work it had done, RFC would provide $600,000

under its Indenture (R. 371, 396). The eost of the dredge,

$552,500, would thus be paid entirely out of the Construction

7

Fund (R. 371, 396). In fact, prior to execution of these

agreements the RFC prepared a list of the expenditures to

be made from the Construction Fund thus earmarking the

loan funds (R. 397-398). Tuolumne planned to raise only

$50,000 apart from the RFC loan (R. 396). Johnson was

expected to contribute $10,000 of this $50,000 (R. 371).

Tuolumne’s $50,000 was to be added to the Construction

Fund, and thus a total of $650,000 would be placed in the

Construction Fund subject to RFC control (R. 38-39).

Johnson looked to and relied upon the RFC loan for pay-

ment of the dredge (R. 212, 396-8). Johnson’s affidavit

states:

“* ** Upon many occasions during the course of prep-

aration of both documents, it was stated by me and

agreed to by others present representing RFC that |

was looking for payment to Johnson Company of any

money which might become due under the contract

solely to the proceeds of the loan to be made by RFC

and that I would not enter into such a contract for my

company unless the loan was made. It was understood

by all present and so stated, including to and by repre-

sentatives of RFC, that Tuolumne did not have suffi-

cient funds to pay for the construction of a dredge

unless a loan was made by RFC which would cover the

cost of such a dredge.” (R. 212-213)

An analysis of the Indenture (R. 17-73) together with the

construction contract (R. 192-206) bears out Johnson’s un-

mistakable reliance upon RFC. The Indenture contains

elaborate provisions as to the manner in which all of the

loan funds were to be placed in the Construction Fund over

which RFC reserved complete control (R. 38, 39, 41). The

procedure was for RFC to advance loan monies into the

Construction Fund from which it would authorize payment

to Johnson upon proper invoices and bills, approved by

eas |

SR PREG SISE REIS IC BONES IE TN SEIS IEG APRON OTS SH Rt tf

EY Nar

AEST E AE. TP ee Fe

8 7]

F Tuolumne, being presented to it for payment. Pursuant

to this procedure, RFC caused payments amounting to

| $510,000 to be made to Johnson up to and including May

| 28, 1938 (R. 119-120). After this date, RFC refused to

authorize any further payments to be made because of a

pay Johnson the balance of over $50,000 claimed to be due

for the dredge (R. 214). At this time, there was approxi-

mately $55,000 in the Construction Fund. However, some

time during the summer of 1938, RFC allowed Tuolumne

to withdraw $15,000 from the Construction Fund (R. 215).

In 1939, the RFC represented that $40,000 was still in the

Fund which would be kept intact (R. 215). Nevertheless,

RFC subsequently allowed this money to be withdrawn by

question raised by Tuolumne as to its legal obligation to

Tuolumne prior to the conclusion of the litigation between

Johnson and Tuolumne, and without safeguarding John-

son’s rights to receive payment of the balance due him from

the Fund.

The close working relationship between RFC and Tuo-

lumne is shown by the fact that in the course of the litiga-

tion between Johnson and Tuolumne, RFC was at all times

fully aware of its progress in all its phases (R. 242). RFC

| or its counsel had copies of the pleadings and transcripts

| in the litigation (R. 327, 331) and RFC itself advanced

funds for the payment of costs, fees, and other expenses of

Tuolumne, in the litigation (R. 236-7, 242).

In addition to the foregoing factors, RFC not only caused

the disbursement of the remaining $40,000 in the Construe-

tion Fund (R. 412) but it also loaned subsequently an

additional $120,000 to Tuolumne which it caused to be satis-

fied out of Tuolumne’s earnings, over which the Indenture

gave REC absolute control. While paying off its subsequent

loan from these earnings, RFC made no provision for pay-

CES

9

ment of Johnson’s claims for the balance due upon its con-

struction of the income producing property, viz: the gold

dredge (R. 48, 182-183).

From the foregoing, i: will be realized that Johnson’s

claims against RFC are founded upon a broad factual back-

ground which began prior to the execution of the 1937

Indenture and continued antil as late as the commencement

of this suit. The deposition of Walter W. Johnson, con-

sisting of 166 printed pages (R. 281-446), the Agreed State-

ment of Facts covering enly limited facts and basic docu-

ments (R. 176-206), Interrogatories addressed by RFC to

Johnson (R. 100-113) aad Answers thereto (R. 114-24),

Requests for Admissions addressed by RFC to Johnson (R.

124-68) and Answers thereto (R. 168-72) and four affidavits

filed on behalf of Johnsox, to wit, those of Walter W. John-

son, Harley Hise, DeLanty C. Smith, and William F. Kelly

(R. 211-242) all demonstrate that there are a multitude of

genuine issues as to mate‘ial facts present in this case which

involve the basie liability of RFC and the additional ques-

tion of whether RFC hadwaived the Statute of Limitations.

The single issue beforethis court is whether the summary

judgment was improperly granted, inasmuch as there were

many genuine issues as to material facts in the cause. It is

our conviction that this is a “fact” case and that it involves

a great many genuine wssues of fact which Johnson was

entitled to have heard in ¢ full trial on the merits.

REASONS RELIED ON FOR THE ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT

l. The Distriet Couit made no attempt to determine

Whether there were genuine issues as to anv material facts,

and wholly ignored issues which were plainly triable.

Il. The Court of Appeals made the same error, and,

instead of ascertaining what the issues were, or consider-

}

?

ee ae ee ae eg nang

Seer y

DRYER eM MSR hin te eR

10

ing the conflicting evidence bearing thereon, merely stated

that it agreed with the lower court.

Ill. The net result of the two decisions is that the peti-

tioner has been deprived of his fundamental right to a trial

on the merits.

IV. The failure of both courts to give serious or any

consideration to the requirements of Federal Rule 56(c)

amounts to so gross a departure from the accepted and

usual course of judicial proceedings as to call for an exercise

of this court’s power of supervision (Sup. Ct. Rule 38, 4,

(b)).

ARGUMENT

I. The District Court made no attempt to determine whether there

were genuine issues as to any material facts, and wholly

ignored issues which were plainly triable.

We earnestly believe that the District Court misconceived

the scope of its duties in passing upon the motion for sum-

mary judgment. Rule 56(c) permits the granting of sum-

mary judgment only if it is determined that there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact. The inquiry on the

motion is to determine whether any such genuine issue ex-

ists, not to the weight of evidence bearing upon any such

issue.

Sartor v. Arkansas Gas Corp., 321 U.S. 620, 88 L. Ed.

967 (1944);

Whitaker v. Coleman, 115 F. (2d) 305 (CCA 5, 1940):

Doehler Metal Furniture Co. v. U.S., 149 F. (2d) 130

(CCA 2, 1945);

Colby v. Kluane, 178 F. (2d) 872 (CCA 2, 1949);

40 California Law Review 204—"Summmary Judgment

Under Federal Practice” by Judge Yankwieh.

ll

We respectfully urge the members of this court to read

the District Court’s Memorandum Opinion (Tr. 245-274)

for the purpose of determining for vourselves that the Dis-

trict Court made no attempt whatever to determine whether

there were genuine issues as to any material facts.

Not only is there no reference whatsoever in the lengthy

Memorandum Opinion to the correct test for determining

whether a summary judgment should be granted, but there

is positive indication that the District Court’s decision was

motivated by two incorrect or improper considerations, Viz. :

First, the Distriet Court appeared to base its opinion

upon a certain “Agreed Statement of Facts” which the Dis-

trict Court erroneously conceived to be the entire factual

basis for decision, Thus paragraph 1 of the Memorandum

Opinion refers to the Agreed Statement of Facts and dis-

cusses its contents. Paragraph 2 of the Opinion further

states, at R. 251:

“In the Court’s view of the issues, and in the light of

the Agreed Statement of Facts and the factual recitals

contained in the above-mentioned reported decisions,

only a brief summary of the present pleadings is here

required.”

The probability that the District Court was thus acting

solely on the basis of the “Agreed Statement of Facts” (in

addition to the pleadings and the reported decisions) is

further substantiated by the fact that the lengthy Memoran-

dum Opinion makes no reference whatsoever to the inter-

rogatories and answers thereto, the requests for admissions

and replies thereto, one deposition, and four affidavits which

were before the Court and should have been considered. In

short, we assert that the Distriet Court overlooked all this

material, which plainly indicated the existence of conflicting

evidence, and looked only to the pleadings and the “Agreed

AR ESO TRE

per

PPE COS RRR OI

RUSE 400

Peters

12

Statement of Facts”’—whch dealt only with certain limited

facts.

Second, the District Cort exhibited injudicious irritation

and annoyance toward De Lancey Smith, Esq., who was

then, but is no longer, tht counsel for Johnson, for his fail-

ure to render a prompt reply to an inquiry from the District

judge after the motion for summary judgment was sub-

mitted (R. 267-268). In this connection, the court said:

“The court deploresthe fact that counsel for Johnson

has not seen fit to exert himself to supply promptly the

requested information. Frankness and punctuality are

obligations due the court from its officers.” (R. 268)

Such annoyance and iritation found further expression

when the District Cour intemperately characterized the

petitioner’s claim as an ‘appeal for alms” rather than for

“justice” (R., 243), andfurther characterized the claim as

“but another instance of grasping at straws in an effort to

make Uncle Sam pay fa Johnson’s own improvidence or

misfortune” (R. 273).

We submit that it ill »ecomes any court to address such

intemperate language ata striving litigant, and we submit

further that the fault is zrossly compounded when in doing

so the court wholly faik to give judicial consideration to

the issues at hand, and :t the same time denies the litigant

his fundamental right toa “day in court.”

The following resume of the petitioner’s principal con-

tentions herein demonsrates clearly the many issues of

material facts which existed and which were ignored by the

District Court.

1. Limitations and “aches. The Distriet Court held

that any claims Johnso: might have had against RFC for

diversion of monies inthe Construction Fund must have

accrued in 1938 when REC caused the balance of the Con-

13

struction Fund to be diverted to other purposes, and held

accordingly that the six vear statute of limitations on claims

against the United States barred Jolmson’s claims in 1944

(R. 261).

It is clearly established that the statute of limitations e

may be waived, and that a party (even including a public .

agency) may be estopped to assert limitations or laches by

statements or conduct.

Adams v. California Mutual B. & L. Association, 18

C. (2d), 487 (1941);

Benner vi 1. A.C., 26 C. (2d) 346 (1945):

Berkey v. Halm, 101 C.A. (2d) 62 (1950) :

Industrial Indemnity Co, v. 1. A. C., 115 CLA. (2d)

O84;

Bollinger v. National Fire Insurance Co., 25 C. (2¢)

399 (1944).

The record before this court contains numerous examples

of REC conduct which, if proved, would constitute a waiver

of the statute of limitations and estop RFC from success-

fully asserting laches. In this regard, Johnson must only

demonstrate that a genuine issue of fact exists on the point,

and if so, the summary judgment should not stand.

The ease of Beqnaud v. White, 170 F. (2d) 323 (CCA

§-1948) is remarkably similar to the instant case in that a

summary judgment had been granted on the ground that

there was no genuine issue as to the fact that the action was

harred by limitations. Plaintiff and appellant, however, had

filed an affidavit in opposition to the motion for summary

judgment, claiming that it had refrained from filing suit

within the statutory period in reliance on the statements

and conduet of the defendant. The Court of Appeals held

that this showing created a genuine issue as to a material

fact, saving:

14

“* * * Whether the jury would accept such testimony

at its face value or reject it is not the present question.

Taking it at its face value on the motion for summary

judgment, it clearly puts in sharp issue the defendant's

claim that the bank’s liquidators did not rely upon the

representations and negotiations of White.” (Begnaud

v. White, 170 F.2d 323, 327)

Just so in the instant case Jolinson’s showing in opposi-

tion to the motion for summary judgment contained abund-

ant evidence in support of the issue that the RFC was

estopped to assert the statute of limitations and had waived

the same. RFC promised on many occasions to pay John-

son if and as soon as the Tuolumne litigation was finally

determined in Johnson’s favor (R. 123, 219, 417-419). For

example, Mr. Johnson’s Answer to Interrogatory No. 64

states in part:

“* * * among other things stated by Mr. McCartney or

his subordinates, it was said that if Johnson Com-

pany won the appeal from the State Court decision in

Stanislaus County, RF'C would arrange that the bal-

ance due Johnson Company under the contract would

be paid.” (Italies ours) (R. 123)

And in his affidavit, Mr. Johnson stated:

“* * * TTpon many occasions between 1944 and 1947,

Mr. MeCartney, at the office of RFC at Washington,

told me that as soon as the Federal court case was

finally determined in our favor, if it was, RFC would

arrange to pay Johnson Company.” (R. 219)

In addition, there is evidence demonstrating a continuing

willingness of RFC to negotiate a settlement with Johnson

(R. 215, 217, 224, 227-8, 238).

There is not a single indication of any intention on the

part of RFC at any time to assert the statute of limitations

15

or laches as a bar to Johnson's claims. In view of the fore-

going it is clear that at the very least, a genuine issue of

material fact exists with respect to waiver of limitations

and estoppel to assert laches in this case.

2, First Cause of Counter Claim. The District Court

assumed, without deciding, that Johnson's claim as the bene-

ficiary of a third party contract was valid, but that such

claim was barred by limitations. If the question of limita-

tions is put to one side, we believe that the question whether

a party is a beneficiary of a third party contract depends

largely upon the “intent” of the parties thereto. The ques-

tion of intent must be determined by analyzing the docu-

ments theinselves as well as the factual situation surround-

ing their execution. In cases somewhat similar to ours, a

supplier has thus been held to be the beneficiary of such a

contract.

Carson Pirie Scott & Co. v. Parrett, 546 WM. 252, 1748

N.E. 498 (1931);

Woodhead Lumber Co. v. EB. G. Niemann Invest-

ments, Inc., 99 Cal. App. 256 (1929) ;

City of Richmond v. Goodloe, 308 Ky. 549, 215 S.W.

(2d) 128 (1948);

Niemann v. Nadelman, 136 Mise. 386, 240 N.Y.S. 47

(1930).

See also:

Corbin on Contracts, Vol. 4, See. 776.

This “intent” of the parties can only be determined in this

case by a careful analysis of the comsticated factual back-

ground which this record can only suggest. It was there-

fore clearly error to deny Johnson the chance to present

and develop the full factual story of the transaction.

EFOLLETT LT YIM 4 ai a a a ei |

16

8 Second Cause of Counter Claim. It is apparent the

District Court rejected Johnson’s second cause of counter

claiin because it misunderstood the basis of Johnson’s claim

of lien. Johnson does not claim “vendor’s lien” nor a com-

mon law lien based upon possession. Neither does Johnson

ground his claim upon a mechanie’s or other statutory lien.

Johnson waived all liens. This cause of counter claim, like

the balance of Johnson’s case, except for the first cause of

counter claim, sounds in equity. It is predicated upon equi-

table rules of estoppel and upon the maxim that he who

seeks equity must do equity.

Johnson contends it has a prior lien. That claim rests

primarily upon grounds of equitable estoppel. A case in

point is:

Wichita Fed. Sav. & L. Ass’n v. Jones, 155 Kan, 821,

130 P.(2d) 556 (1942).

There the money lender with a first mortgage did not

make the entire loan, and because of that, some of the sup-

pliers of labor and material were not paid. They filed

mechanic's liens. The Court held that, although the mort-

gage was expressly senior to the mechanic’s liens, the

mortgagee was estopped to set up that priority. The Court

said at 130 P.(2d) 559:

“We are of opinion the materialmen in seeking infor-

mation as to the source from which they were to be paid

and learning that a mortgage had been made for the

purpose of financing construction, had a right to rely

thereon, at least to the extent that the amount of the

loan would be advanced, whether they received it or

not.”

Cf. Knox v. Kaelber, 140N, J. Ky. 474, 55 A.(2d) 58

(1947);

Mitchell v. West End Park Co., V1 Ga. R78, 156 S.K.

SSS (1951):

17

Northwestern Mut. Sav. & L. Ass’n v. Kessler, 66

N.D. 737, 268 N.W. 692 (1956) ;

Title Guar. T. d& S. Bank v. Clifton Forge Nat. Bank,

149 Va. 168, 140 8.1K. 272 (1927).

Foreclosure of the chattel mortgage by REC, and sale,

cannot affect the rights of the parties. H/quity will transfer

Johnson’s lien to the proceeds of the sale and enforee it

against REC.

Pomeroy Equity Jurisprudence, Vol. VI, Section

1080 (5th ed. 1941).

4. Third Cause of Counter Claim, This cause of counter

claim is based upon the assertion that RFC was “unjustly

enriched” by receiving the earnings of the dredge during its

period of operation without assuring that Johnson was fully

paid for constructing it. The District Court’s error in grant-

ing summary judgment on this cause of counter claim is best

illustrated by the Court’s conclusion (R. 271):

“Under the pleadings, the stipulation, and the exhibits

in this case, Johnson has completely failed to establish

‘unjust enrichment’ on the plaintiff's part.”

Once again the Court weighed the limited facts referred

to, and held that Johnson had failed to “establish” unjust

enrichment on the part of RFC. Of course, Johnson had no

burden of “establishing” any fact at all on summary judg-

ment procedure. It merely had to show that a genuine issue

of amaterial fact existed in the ease,

The Court did concede that RVC was enriched (R. 270).

It was enriched heeause it received all the earnings from

the operation of the dredge (R. 270). Tt was further

enriched in that it received the dredge as security for its

first chattel mortgage while Johnson remained unpaid.

aS ST die ai Be Dad

15

Then, by this suit, RFC sought to enrich itself further by

selling at foreclosure a security for which the builder had

never been fully paid, and by pocketing the proceeds with-

out using any part of them to pay for that security. Whether

or not this enrichment is unjust can only be determined

fairly after a full trial on the merits.

The cases hold that where a lender advances money to a

property owner for construction of a building, taking a first

mortgage for seeurity which is prior to all mechanie’s lien

claims, then all of the loan fund must be devoted to costs of

construction. If any supplier of material or labor is not

paid in full, any unexpended portion of the loan fund is

impressed with an equitable lien in favor of the unpaid sup-

pliers, who to this extent come ahead of the mortgage.

Smith v. Anglo-Calif, Trust Co, 205 Cal. 496 (1928);

Pacific Ready-Cut Homes Inv. v. Title Ins. & Trust

Co. 216 Cal. 447 (1932);

Theatre Realty Co, v. Aronberg-Fried Co., Ine,, 85 ¥.

(2d) 383 (Sth Cir. 1936) ;

Wichita Fed. Sav. & L. Ass'n v. Jones, 155 Wan. 821,

130 P(2d) 556 (1942):

Whiting-Mead Co. v. West Coast B & M Co., 66 CA.

(2d) 460 (1944)

Since the entire loan fund was earmarked for construction

of the dredge and related acts (R. 37, 38, 119, 200), RFC’s

diversion of the monies to other purposes was wrongful.

This diversion of funds is clearly one basis of RFC's liabil-

ity. Once the lien attached to the monies in the Construction

Mund it is manifest REC could not eseape that len by trans-

ferring the funds to third parties,

National Surety Co, v. County Bid. of Kdue.. VF e20)

903 (COCA 4, 1926):

19

Hadley v. Passaic, Nat. B & T Co., 113 NJ Eq, 548,

168 Atl. 38 (1933).

RFC’s unjust enrichment is three-fold. Firs/, Johnson

provided the security for both RFC’s first mortgage and its

second mortgage while RFC used the funds designated for

building the dredge to make later repairs on it, or for some

such purpose (R. 413). Second, RFC took the earnings,

leaving Tuolumne nothing with which to pay Johnson. That

was the very essence of injustice. Finally, by this suit RFC

seeks to foreclose its first mortgage, sell the dredge and

take all the proceeds, still without paying for the dredge.

Only by a full trial on the merits could all the pertinent

facts be brought out. By denying Johnson the right to trial,

the District Court and the Court of Appeals have effectively

prevented Johnson from developing the myriad facts which

cumulatively would have established that RFC was unjustly

enriched. For that error the judgment should be reversed.

5. Fourth Cause of Counter Claim. This cause of counter

claim is based upon the proposition that RFC became a

constructive trusteee for the benefit of Johnson when it

appropriated the proceeds of operating the dredge while

Johnson remained unpaid for constructing it. Here again,

the trial court misconceived Johnson’s cause of counter

claim. Johnson does not assert deliberate dishonesty or

intentional fraud on the part of RFC. Johnson does, how-

ever, assert that when one acquires title to property to

which another has a better right, a court of equity will con-

vert him into a constructive trustee,

Crosby v. Clark, 132 Cal. 1, (1901);

Johnson v. Clark, 7 Cal. (2d) 529 (1936),

“A constructive trust is imposed not because of the

intention of the parties but because the person holding

CCR ANE t

Se ARE ne td UL I a i

|

t

20

the title to the property would profit by a wrong or

would be unjustly enriched if he were permitted to keep

the property. A constructive trust, unlike an express

trust or resulting trust, is remedial in character. ( Re-

statement, Trusts, Vol. 2, p. 1249). Sampson v. Bruder,

47 Cal. App. (2d) 451, 435 (1941).

The record in this case, incomplete as it is, shows ¢learly

that RFC as a constructive trustee recognized its obligation

to pay Johnson if Johnson won its suit against Tuolumne

CR. 215, 216, 217-18, 219). It is quite clear that RFC did not

repudiate its obligation to pay Johnson until the litigation

with Tuolumne terminated in 1949, and for that reason the

statute of limitations did not begin to run in favor of RFC

until that time.

Oldland v. Gray, 179 F. (2d) 408 (CA 10, 1950).

6. Fifth Cause of Counter Clam, This cause of counter

claim is based upon the sales tax which was payable by

Johnson on the price of the dredge, The parties had antici-

pated that sucha tax might be assessed so they provided in

Article X of the Construction Contract (R. 199-203) that

“sales taxes paid thereon, if any, and in accordance with

Article XPM,” should be a proper charge against the revoly-

ing fund whieh in turn would be replenished from the Con-

struction Fund over which RFC had control. RFC tacitly

agreed to pay any sales tax assessed on the price of the

dredge as a legitimate charge on the Construction Fund or

as a proper charge against the earnings of Tuolumne, Sueli

taxes, if they arose, were a cost item of the dredge and in

this respect, the liability of RFC to pay for such taxes has

the same bests as the first four causes of counter claim.

REC's liability depends not merely upon the terms of the

1927 trust indenture and construction contract, but also on

Te TRE

21

the dealings and negotiations of the parties. We submit that

it is clear that there were genuine issues of fact upon which

the liability of RFC was predicated and the court should

not have summarily denied trial on these issues.

i. The Court of Appeals made the same error, and, instead of

ascertaining what the issues were, or considering the con-

flicting evidence bearing thereon, merely stated that it agreed

with the lower court.

Appellant filed a sixty-nine page brief with the Court of

Appeals, pointing out the failure of the Distriet Court to

determine whether there were genuine issues as to material

facts, and pointing out further that there were genuine

issues on such matters as the following, viz.: That it was the

intent of all concerned in the 1936-1937 negotiations that

Johnson should be paid in full out of the Construction Fund ;

that Johnson relied on the Construction Fund as the sole

source of payment; that RFC disbursed the Construction

Fund in violation of Johnson's rights; that RFC promised

and represented that it would pay Johnson; that the reason

it gave for not paying promptly was that the litigation

between Johnson and Tuolumne had not become final; that

RFC requested Johnson not to press its claim against RFC

until litigation ended; that as soon as the litigation ended

RFC negotiated for a settlement; that Johnson relied on

these negotiations as a waiver of and estoppel to assert the

statute of limitations; that a relation of trust and confidence

existed between Johnson and RFC; that REC’s appropria-

tion of the earnings from the dredge constituted unjust

enrichment, under the ciremustances: that the time when

the statute of limitations began to run was a genuine issue

of fact.

The Court of Appeals in its Opinion filed February 10,

1956, does not even allude to these formidable contentions.

P :

22

Instead, the author of that Opinion dwells upon a number

of procedural matters disclosed by the record. The Opinion

points out at some length that although a request for 21 ad-

Inissions was served on appellant by appellee on November

4, 1952, the answers thereto were not filed until December

1 8, 1953. From this overdue filing the opinion implies that

appellant, in effect, admitted each of the matters on which

i an admission was requested. The true fact is, however, that

i the late filing is explained by a “Stipulation for Supple-

i mentation of Record on Appeal” (R. 279) which expressly

! provides :

i “It further appearing that the court and counsel for the

respective parties treated said answers as if they had

been filed.” (R. 280)

The Court of Appeals was thus in error in its conclusion

that appellant had, in effect, admitted each of the matters

on Which an adimission was requested,

; Bowers vo Ed. Roxe Mtg. Co., 149 F.2d) 612, (CCA

%, 1945)

The only discussion of the main basis for appellant's

appeal is contained in a single paragraph in which the

Opinion states that:

“* * * the Distriet Court impliedly held that the plead-

ings, deposition and admissions on file, together with

the affidavits, showed * * * that * * * there was no

genuine issue as to any material fact * * *”, (italies

ours )

and that “we agree with that holding” and further states

that it would agree with the holding even if the admissions

on file did not include the admissions requested by appellee

on November 4, 1952.

23

It will be seen that tle court completely failed to review

the record in order to letermine whether compliance with

Rule 56(¢) had been olxerved. The court did not even men-

tion the decision of theCourt of Appeals for the Sixth Cir-

cuit in Begnaud v. Whic, 170 F.(2d) 323 (1948), where the

Court of Appeals founc that a genuine issue of fact existed

relating to the waiver o' the statute of limitations and hence

reversed a summary julgment.

It seems anomalous for the Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit to require a person appealing to it to prepare

a statement of points on which appellant intends to rely,

and for such appellant to file a thorough and careful brief

supporting those points, when the court avoids discussion

of the points in its Opinion. Your petitioner respectfully

suggests that an Appdlate Court may unwittingly fail to

analyze and consider sifficiently tne points and authorities

ina complicated case vhere it decides the case without dis-

cussing the points raised by counsel, and, as the Court of

Appeals did, inerely states in general terms that it “agrees

with the court below.” In this connection, the following lan-

guage by James A. McLaughlin of the Los Angeles Bar

appearing in 9 Califomia State Bar Journal, at page 246,

is in point:

“Regardless of the superior qualities which a judge

may possess, it isalmost a mathematical certainty that

he would not give the cases in which he wrote no opin-

ion the same careful consideration which he gives to

the cases where hs opinion will be perpetually subject

to the serutiny of judges, professors, legal writers, and

of the legal profession in general.”

lll. The net result of the two decisions is that the petitioner has

been deprived of his fundamental right to a trial on the merits.

PED NOE PRET EL! AUER Y GopURER vey EP eco eere te peri t

SP eS RENO

2 OREN PDair

SLR

24

IV. The failure of both courts to give serious or any consideration

to the requirements of Federal Rule 56(c) amounts to so gross

a departure from the accepted and usual course of judicial

proceedings as to call for an exercise of this court's power of

supervision (Sup. Ct. Rule 38, 4, (b)).

CONCLUSION

Petitioner is a small business enterprise which has spe-

cialized for some vears in the construction of gold dredges.

It contracted to build such a dredge for Tuolumne on the

faith and credit of the RFC loan. The loan was more than

adequate to pay the cost of the dredge. But when the dredge

was finished RFC diverted the balance of the loan to pur-

poses not connected with its cost of construction. This was

wrongful.

We have shown it is the law that when a lender estab-

lishes a loan fund for the purpose of paying a builder, and

the builder, who would otherwise have had a lien upon the

building, relies instead upon the loan fund for payment, the

lender is liable as a matter of law to the builder if he diverts

the loan fund to other purposes before the builder is fully

paid.

We confidently believe that if a trial on the merits is

allowed we shall clearly establish the ultimate liability of

RFC for the payment of the balance due.

Johnson was entitled to a trial on the merits. Johnson

was entitled to its day in court. It was entitled to put its

President, Mr. Walter W. Johnson, on the stand, so that he

could personally present his evidence to the court in full

and without summary deprivation of the right to a fair

hearing. He was entitled to call and examine RFC’s repre-

25

sentatives with whom he negotiated and obtain their admis-

sions as to the negotiations and promises which were made.

He has been denied the most fundamental right afforded

by our judicial system. We earnestly urge the court to issue

its writ of certiorari, and we submit that there is a sufficient

showing of genuine issues of material facts in the record

to warrant a per curiam reversal of the judgment of the

Court of Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

Epwin 8S. PILtspury

Davin M. Atrcuison

Attorneys for the

Petitioner

Dated: June 15, 1956

(Appendix follows)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.