Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Duluth Steamship Co. v. Allied Chemical & Dye Corp.

Supreme Court brief1956

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ae 3

a

IN THE | HAROLD § Fy,

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1955

No. * 7

Bruce Cox,

Plaintiff,

—against—

Dvuittn StTeaMsuHip Company,

Defendant and Third-Party

Plaintiff-Petitioner,

—against—

ALLIED CHEMICAL & Dyk CorPoRATION-SEMET

Sotvay Division,

Third-Party Defendant-

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW

YORK, APPELLATE DIVISION, FOURTH DE-

PARTMENT.

JOHN M. AHERNE

| Counsel for Petitioner

: 99 John St.

: New York 38, N .Y.

BicHaM, Enauiar, Jones & Hovston

Of Counsel

99 John St.

New York 38, N. Y.

4

195

ema fA Ne AN LEON ce IP SE pO BAM DRE AOE EI LSS hr As BOO CLE OA AD Se NE AO OTE

INDEX

PAGE

DD TOT a bc avertuvddvkcn decree senevedes igen 2

PE ic cbRs Oddine Hphenbhnneaumuubes been sede 2

Questions Presented for Review ...............244- 3

The Statute Which the Case Involves .............. 4

i ee et ere Pee pry eee er 4

The Contract and the Accident ..........cccccccces 6

The State Court Proceedings ...............2-e000. 10

Reasons for Granting the Writ ................0.- 12

The courts of the State of New York have decided

a federal question of substance in a way

which is not in accord with the applicable

decisions of this court, particularly with

Ryan Stevedoring Co. Inc. v. Pan-Atlantic

Steamship Corp., decided January 9, 1956,

(350 U. S. 124). The Ryan case announced

a significant and far reaching rule of law

regulating the rights and liabilities as be-

tween vessel owner and contracting stevedore.

The judgment at bar is a clear deviation from

the rule of the Ryan case and should be re-

viewed and reversed by this court in the in-

terest of preserving uniformity in the en-

forcement of maritime contracts .......... 12

tere em a I Eee CaaS neNE Amen | 19

Avvo bi dace ee CPt reten een eT |

OLR. wade VRP i nd

Demi peal Bia LAW Grete deceith asl tie a?

Sneek ie Tab IDA Dy ad SY saat Se pT bt Riley on

Badass wx

ORO FEO IR ae “U4

ii

Appennix A:

PAGE

Order of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court

of the State of New York Fourth Judicial Depart-

es BO PO oo sia v ew dcsseves veces la

Order of the Court of Appeals of the State of New

I Keke deUN Ch ecdamertbawaavad 4 rekdceonsvecs> 3a

Order of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court

of the State of New York Fourth Judicial Depart-

ment, dated Mareh 7, 1956 ......ccccccccccccece Da

Order of the Supreme Court of the United States ... 8a

Aprenpix B:

Excerpt from the Contract Between Duluth Steamship

Company and Allied Chemical & Dye Corpora-

tion-Semet Solvay Division ..................+. 9a

Excerpts from Testimony as Printed in the Record

on Appeal to New York Supreme Court, Appel-

late Division—Fourth Judicial Department .... 10a

Cases Crrep:

Alaska Steamship Co. v. Petterson, 347 U.S. 396 ...3, 15

Brady v. Southern Railroad Co., 320 U.S. 476 ...... 17

Fireman's Fund Indemnity Co. vy. U. S., Sth Cir., F.

nat ce eens bi a céodekbewk ence ex seaueks 17

Garrett vy. Moore McCormack, 317 U. S. 239 ........ 12

Great Northern Ry. Co. v. Wiles, 240 U.S. 444 .... 17

Hloffmann v. King, 160 N. Y. 618 ..............4... Si

Se ON, BO Ie a OO pe eccdccserivccccccces 17

Pope & Talbot, Inc. v. Hawn, 346 U.S. 406 ........ 12, 15

ee ——

iii

Baey V, Agwittnes, 206 NM. FT. BOB . 0... ccccccccevcs 18

Ryan Stevedoring Co. Inc. ¥. Pan-Atlantic Steamship

Corp., 350 U. 8. 124 ...3, 6, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19

Seas Shipping Co., Inc. v. Sicracki, 328 U. 8. 85 ..3, 15,17

U. S. v. Arrow Stevedoring Co., 9h Cir., 175 F. 2d

MY Seed aaleeda aCe inb ek sd ckeKdad cdots sien. 17

U.S. v. Rothschild International Stevedoring Co., 9th

ean Ma UE Ck os Bau huaibse od vue te eens 17

Orner Avruontrizs Crrep:

Federal Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ Com-

pensation Act, 33 U. S. C. 901-950 ........ 3, 4, 13, 14

NE EN een ts Sida s Fade baboe punt doneeuk 3,13

Section 905 (44 Stat. 1426) ........ 4, 5, 13, 14, 18, 19

a AE os oc 0 see heuswn re caieueUbadeeks 2

Restatement of Torts ¢ 441, Comment (1):¢ ......... 17

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1955

No.

-s

~

Brvcr Cox,

Plaintiff,

—against—

Deuivrn STeAMSHIP COMPANY,

Defendant and Third-Party

Plaintiff-Petitioner,

—against—

Avurep CuemicaL & Dyk CorporaTion-SemMet

Soivay Division,

Third-Party Defendaunt-

Respondent,

La

) ”

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW

YORK, APPELLATE DIVISION, FOURTH DE.-

PARTMENT.

To the Honorable the Chief Justice and Associate

Justices of the Supreme Court of the United

States:

Your petitioner, defendant and third-party plaintiff

in the state court, prays that a writ of certiorari be

issued to review so much of the final judgment of

oure---- 2 2 LAPLAND es LLL CO Oe AE ig tL OE Ot ee — eon me .

to

the Supreme Court of the State of New York, Appel-

late Division, Fourth Department, as affirmed the

judgment of the Trial Term of the Supreme Court

of the State of New York, dismissing the third-party

complaint, entered in the County of Erie. Motion for

leave to appeal to the Court of Appeals of the State

of New York was duly made and denied,

Opinions Below

No opinions were written by any of the New York

Courts. The order of affirmance of the Appellate

Division, Fourth Department, is reported at 286 App.

Div. 947, and the order of the Court of Appeals deny-

ing leave to appeal is reported at 309 N. Y. (No.

863) ii.

Jurisdiction

The order of the Supreme Court of the State of

New York, Appellate Division, Fourth Department,

affirming the Trial Term, was dated and entered the

14th day of July, 1955. The order of the Court of

Appeals of the State of New York denying leave to

appeal was dated and entered the 13th day of October,

1955.

On January 3, 1956, petitioner’s time to file a peti-

tion for writ of certiorari was duly extended, by an

order of Mr. Justice Harlan, to and including the

12th day of March, 1956 (App. A, p. 8a).

The jurisdiction of this court is invoked under 28

U. 8. C. 1257(3), viz., the general maritime law of

the United States as properly applicable to the right

— PPA DAP EE EEL I A eS ee en

of a vessel owner, held liable for personal injuries ,

sustained by an independent longshoreman aboard

the vessel on navigable waters of the United States,

to recover in contractual indemnity against the em-

ployer of the longshoreman, where the latter, being

insured in accordance with Federal Longshoremen’s

and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, 33 U.S. C.

901 et seq., pleads his compliance with such Act as

a complete bar. The basie question was recently be-

fore this court in Ryan Stevedoring Co. Ine. y. Pan-

Allantic Steamship Corp., decided January 9, 1956,

390 U. 8. 124.

Questions Presented for Review

1. Where the owner of cargo makes a written

agreement with the owner of a vessel, for carrying

coal, and agrees that it (the cargo owner) will load

and unload all the cargo without charge to the carry-

ing vessel, must not the cargo owner (under Ryan

Stevedoring Co. Inc. v. Pan-Atlantic Steamship ¢ ‘orp.,

300 U.S. 124) so conduct the loading and unloading

operations as to avoid the creation of dangerous con-

ditions aboard the vessel which cause injury to its

employees, and in consequence impose liability upon

the vessel owner for unseaworthiness under the doc-

trine of Seas Shipping Co. Inc. y. Sicracki, 328 U. 8.

8) and Alaska Steamship Co. y. Petterson, 347 U.S.

396.

2. Where the longshoremen employed by the cargo

owner to unload the coal spill coal on the deck, and

the vessel owner is held liable for injuries to a long-

shoreman who admitted he saw the coal and knew it

Was a danger, is the vessel owner (absent an express

bes ee.

4

agreement of indemnity in the written contract) en-

titled to reimbursement from the longshoreman’s em-

ployer for the damages which it has been required

to pay the longshoreman.

The Statute Which the Case Involves

The statute involved is that part of the Longshore-

men’s and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, 44

Stat. 1426, 33 U. S. C. 905, reading as follows:

**§ 905. Exclusiveness of liability. The liability

of an employer prescribed in section 904 of this

chapter shall be exclusive and in place of all

other liability of such employer to the employee,

his legal representative, husband or wife, parents,

dependents, next of kin, and anyone otherwise

entitled to recover damages from such employer

at law or in admiralty on account of such in-

jury or death, except * * *”’

Statement of the Case

The plaintiff below, a boss longshoreman, employed

by the respondent was injured on navigable waters

of the United States while unloading coal aboard

petitioner’s vessel ‘‘Sylvania’’. He sued the vessel

owner for his injuries in the Supreme Court of the

State of New York, Erie County, claiming negligence

and unseaworthiness. Petitioner impleaded plaintiff's

employer, claiming indemnity for any amount which

it became obligated to pay to the injured longshore-

man. Plaintiff's employer owned the coal carried

on petitioner’s vessel, and by written contract had

5

agreed to load the coal aboard and to discharge it at

destination (App. B, p. 9a).*

The third-party complaint alleges, among other

things, that the plaintiff’s injuries were caused by

respondent’s **breach of the duty to properly perform

the unloading operation’? (59). In its verified an-

swer to the third-party complaint respondent pleaded

various defenses, including the plea that the accideut

was caused by its employee's negligence (72); and

that having provided compensation insurance, it’s

liability was fully discharged; and under 33 U.S. ©.

905, such liability was exclusive of all other possible

liability arising out of the aecident (69-71).

The issnes as between plaintiff and petitioner were

submitted to the jury who returned a verdict for

$100,000 against petitioner (781). The issues raised

by the third-party complaint were (by stipulation

663-666) submitted to the trial court for decision:

and after the jury verdict that court dismissed the

third-party complaint on the merits (22-26). There-

after, defendant’s motions for judgment n. 0. v. and

the alternative motion for a new trial (783, 791-792)

were denied (121-122). An appeal was taken to the

Appellate Division, Fourth Department; and the

judgments and order of the trial court were affirmed

without opinion (App. A, pp. la-2a). Application for

leave to appeal to the Court of Appeals was denied

(App. A, pp. 3a-4a).

The judgment of the trial court. the affirmance

thereof by the Appellate Division, and the refusal of

* Numbers in parenthesis refer to folios of the record in the

court below, unless preceded by ‘*App.”* in which case they refer

to the Appendices to this petition.

6

the Court of Appeals to entertain the appeal, were

all had before January 9, 1956 on which date this court

decided Ryan Stevedoring Co. Inc. vy. Pan-Atlantic

Steamship Corp., 350 U. 8. 124.

The Contract and the Accident

Petitioner is an operator of bulk freighters on the

Great Lakes. It had a contract with the respondent,

Allied Chemical & Dye Corp.-Semet Solvay Division

(hereinafter sometimes called ‘‘Semet Solvay’’), a

manufacturer of coal products, for the transportation

of all respondent’s *twaterborne coal requirements”

to its plant at Harriet, New York. Under that con-

tract (App. B, p. 9a, Ex. 11, pp. 30-37) respondent

agreed to load its cargoes aboard petitioner’s vessel

and to unload them at destination, all without charge

to the carrying vessel; an arrangement obviously re-

flected in the freight rate. The contract further stipu-

lated that ‘‘the unloading operation shall be continu-

ous’? (App. B, p. 9a). As in the Ryan Stevedoring

ease, 350 U. S. 124, the contract contained no provision

expressly agreeing to indemnify petitioner for dam-

ages sustained as a result of respondent’s negligent

performance, or failure to perform, its contractual

obligations.

Petitioner’s vessel ‘Sylvania’? is more than 500

feet long, and has a cargo capacity of some 11,000

tons of coal (App. B, p. 22a). She has four holds

(App. B, p. 22a), aecess to which is obtained through

thirty openings on the main deck called hatches, run-

ning athwartships and numbered from 1 to 30, fore

to aft. The hatch covers are of a telescopic arrange-

ment (197-198), and with hatches open the only deck

PRR mec erramenn z LE AG IA SPL ie COR OD le Sms

~

area visible is that between the hatches—approxi-

mately two feet—and between the hatch covers and

the ship’s rail (App. B, pp. 10a-11a).

The entire unloading operation was under the re-

sponsibility and control of the respondent, Semet

Solvay, and was conducted by its employees. No

ship’s equipment was used (App. B, p. 14a). Plain-

tiff was respondent’s “utility foreman’’, in ‘‘charge

of unloading the boat’? (App. B, p. 10a). The un-

loading gang, and the entire operation, was under his

control.

Respondent’s unloading equipment at its Harrict

N. Y. plant consisted of a large dock-side crane hav-

ing a fixed horizontal boom which projected from

the dock over the ship. Buckets were operated from

this boom. It was ‘ta tremendously fast piece of

equipment”’ (App. B, pp. 20a-21a), and employed two

different sized buckets—first a big bucket and then a

smaller ‘‘clean-up”’ or ‘‘mop-up”’ bucket.

In order to preserve the equilibrium of the vessel

the numbered hatches are not unloaded consecutively,

but every other one from aft forward, and then from

forward aft. Since the horizontal boom from which

the bucket operates is fixed, it is necessary to move

the vessel as required to place the hatch openings

under the up and down bucket. When the ship had

to be moved, plaintiff gave the orders (App. B, p. 15a).

After all hatches have been worked with the big

bucket, the smaller ‘‘mop-up’’ bucket was put to

work, a bulldozer lowered into the hold, and aided by

four or five men with shovels, the remaining coal in

the hatches was unloaded (194-195).

air Neth as eats BA RE ete ceed

Se IC PRE he NRG a

= certs nr san

ss... BO) eed

8

The written contract called for a ‘‘continuous”’ un-

loading operation. It necessitated some sixty-eight

‘“‘shifts’’ of the vessel (App. B, p. 16a). There is a

great deal of ‘‘spillage’’ as the buckets are swung

from the hatches to the dock. Oftentimes the buckets

strike the sides of the hatches (App. B, pp. 21a-22a).

This is because the ‘‘continuous’’ unloading operation

is always a “‘hurry-up”’ job (App. B, p. 21a). They

are ‘‘usually in a strain’’ to get the ship away from

the dock (App. B, pp. 16a-17a). Often there would be

a ship waiting in the stream to unload (App. B,

p. 10a). Sometimes as much as thirty tons may be

spilled on deck (App. B, p. 22a). This spillage could

have been avoided if the stevedore (respondent) had

slowed down the operation (App. B, p. 22a).

The established practice was that the ship’s crew

would eventually clean up the coal spilled on the

deck by the plaintiff and other employees of the

stevedore (App. B, p. lla). However, the final

clean-up would not commence until after the Semet-

Solvay gang starts its mop-up run (App. B, pp. 11a,

19a, 23a) and under the established practice, the

ship’s clean-up crew is always two to three hatches

behind the hatch at which Semet Solvay employees

are working (App. B, pp. lla, 17a, 19a). It would

be unsafe to work any closer (App. B, pp. 15a, 18a).

This clean-up was an ordinary housekeeping opera-

tion for the benefit of the vessel—to make her ready

for the return voyage (App. B, p. 20a), —not for the

benefit of the stevedore.

The ‘‘Sylvania’’ docked port side to (206) at peti-

tioners Harriet N. Y. plant at approximately 11 p. m.

the night before the accident and the respondent ‘*im-

| cropenatis om ney = 7 -_

9

mediately began digging coal’’ (180) under super-

vision of the plaintiff. He worked until 7 o’clock the

next morning (181), and when he returned to the job

in the afternoon the stevedore was ‘‘in the final stage

of mop-up in No, 1 hatch’? (210).

When plaintiff came back aboard he noticed that

the clean-up work around No. 4 and 5 hatches bad

not yet been done (App. B, p. lla), and that this

area had about four bushels of coal spread across

the walk-ways (App. B, p. 1la). He also noted at

this time that the ship’s crew was cleaning up “two

or three hatches back of us’’ (App. B, p. 15a).

The last part of plaintiff’s job in discharging the

vessel was to remove the bulldozer which is always

taken out of No. 5 hatch (206). This required plain-

tiff to walk between No. 4 and No. 5 hatches so that

_ the erane operator could see his hand signals (203,

204, 212-213, App. B, p. 14a). Despite the fact that

the deck space between No. 4 and No. 5 hatches, had

loose coal spread across it, plaintiff went ahead with

the job of getting the bulldozer out without taking

any precaution to clear away the coal. It would

have taken about five minutes to remove the coal

(App. B, p. 12a), but plaintiff did not wait; nor did

he ask the ship’s crew to clean it up. He had the

eargo hook lowered into the hold, where it was at-

tached to the bulldozer (219-220). Plaintiff, stand-

ing between No. 4 and No. 5 and facing aft. directed

the operation. As the crane operator took the slack

out of the cable plaintiff was leaning over the open

hatch pushing the eable off from the coaming. He

was also moving to his left toward the center of

the ship (App. B, p. 12a) signaling to the crane

operator and keeping his eve on the men in the hold.

Oe) ae. ene

10

He testified that as he moved sideways he saw

the coal on the deck (App. B, p. lla). He knew it

was a “‘hazard’’ (App. B, p. 15a). He knew ‘‘it

spelled danger’? (App. B, p. 16a). In fact, he was

‘*kicking this coal out of the way’’, when suddenly

he ‘stepped on this coal’’, ‘slipped and rolled’’ and

plunged through the open hatch into the hold (App.

B, p. 18a).

:

{

‘

q

The State Court Proceedings

Plaintiff’s claim of negligence and unseaworthiness

was grounded upon the vessels allegedly culpable fail-

ure to correct a dangerous condition (coal on deck)

conceded to have been created by respondent in the

course of the performance of its contract obligations.

At the close of the evidence defendant moved for

the direction of a verdict on the grounds that the

evidence raised no issue of fact as to the negligence

on defendant’s part nor as to the unseaworthiness

of the vessel (653). This motion was denied (658),

as was defendant’s motion to submit special inter-

rogatories to the jury. Third-party defendant moved

to dismiss the third-party complaint (647, 659) and

it was stipulated that if questions of fact existed

between the third-party plaintiff and the third-party

defendant they would be decided by the court (663-

665).

The jury returned a general verdict for the plain-

tiff in the sum of $100,000; and the trial court, with-

out opinion, entered an order dismissing petitioner’s

third-party complaint against respondent.

a ee

—

11

It is manifest from the amount of the verdict, viz.,

$100,000, that no finding of, or allowance for, cou-

tributory negligence was made under the comparative

negligence rule as charged by the court. Defendant’s

motion for judgment n. o. v., and its alternative motion

for a new trial were denied.

The appeal to the Appellate Division of the New

York Supreme Court, Fourth Department, was fully

briefed and argued; and that court affirmed the judg-

ment and order appealed from, without opinion (App.

A, pp. la-2a). Petitioner’s application for leave to

appeal to the New York Court of Appeals from the

judgment of the Appellate Division was denied (App.

A, pp. 3a-4a).

After all these proceedings had heen completed in

the courts of the State of New York, and before

certiorari time had expired, this court, on January 9,

1956, handed down its decision in Ryan Stevedoring

Co. Inc. v. Pan-Atlantic Steamship Corp., 350 U. S.

124, establishing a rule of law which petitioner be-

lieves to be controlling in the case at bar. While

awaiting the decision in the Ryan Stevedoring ease,

your petitioner had applied for and obtained an

order extending its time within which to apply to

this court for certiorari until March 12, 1956. After

this court published its decision in the Ryan Steve-

doring ease your petitioner applied to the Appellate

Division of the Supreme Court, Fourth Department,

for a rehearing, basing its application upon the Ryan

Stevedoring case. The Appellate Division denied the

application for rehearing on March 7, 1956 (App. A,

pp. 5a-7a).

~ caatbas tess sneer, |

12

REASONS for GRANTING the WRIT

The courts of the State of New York have decided

a federal question of substance in a way which is not

in accord with the applicable decisions of this court,

particularly with Ryan Stevedoring Co. Inc. v. Pan-

Atlantic Steamship Corp., decided January 9, 1956,

(350 U. S. 124). The Ryan case announced a signi-

ficant and far reaching rule of law regulating the

rights and liabilties as between vessel owner and con-

tracting stevedore. The judgment at bar is a clear

deviation from the rule of the Ryan case and should be

reviewed and reversed by this court in the interest of

preserving uniformity in the enforcement of maritime

contracts.

The question for decision here is the respective

rights and liabilities, as between vessel owner and

stevedore under a maritime contract, arising out of

the occurrence of a maritime tort which (in the first

instance) has cast the vessel owner in damages to

a stevedore’s employee injured aboard the vessel.

The mere statement of the point seems adequate to

establish beyond cavil its substantial federal char-

acter. Thus the State Court was not free to fol-

low its own law. It was bound to follow the rules

announced by this court. (Pope & Talbot Ine. v.

Hawn, 346 U. 8S. 406, 409-410; Garrett v. Moore

McCormack, 317 U. S. 239, 243-246). This the New

York courts failed to do.

In the ease at bar petitioner (as third-party plain-

tiff) pleaded the provisions of its contract with Semet

Solvay, the respondent, and then alleged that ‘* plain-

r

13

tiff’s accident * * * was caused by a breach of the

duty to properly perform the unloading operation on

the part of the third-party defendant, * * *’’ (Third-

party Complaint, fol. 59). All parties conceded that

the dangerous condition on the deck of the vessel

(the loose coal) was caused by respondent, and that

the manner in which respondent unloaded the vessel,

caused coal to be spilled on the deck. Respondent’s

answer to the third-party complaint pleaded ex-

pressly that by reason of its compliance with the

Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ Compensa-

tion Act (33 U. S. C. 901-950) its liability in respect

of plaintiff’s injuries was confined, exclusively, to the

obligation to pay compensation. In its judgment dis-

missing the third-party complaint the trial court made

no findings, nor did it specify any reason for the

dismissal. Certainly if the courts below based their

judgment of dismissal on section 5 of the Longshore-

men’s and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act (33

U. 8S. C. 905), such judgment is in irreconcilable

conflict with the Ryan case.

The basie factual framework upon which the is-

sues raised by the third-party complaint rested, was

undisputed. Although the owner of the cargo, re-

spondent was acting in the capacity of an independ-

ent, compensated, stevedore whose employees were en-

gaged in the operation of discharging petitioner’s

vessel under a written agreement. To paraphrase

the language of the Court’s opinion in the Ryan

Stevedoring case, such an ‘agreement necessarily in-

cludes (respondent’s) * * * obligation’’ to discharge

the vessel **properly and safely’’. **Competency and

safety * * * are inescapable elements of the service

undertaken. This obligation is not a quasi-contrat-

tual obligation implied in law or arising out of a non-

Be

a eee ES 1 et ar SR AS

me

a aero e

ie

14

contractual relationship. It is of the essence of (re-

spondent’s) * * * stevedoring coutract’’. It is a

‘‘warranty of the workmanlike service that is com- |

parable to a manufacturer’s warranty of the sound-

ness of its manufactured product.”’ Ryan Stevedor-

ing case, 350 U.S. 124, 133-134.

The language last quoted from the yan case clearly

coutrols the case at bar. The obligation of the re-

spondent to unload the coal in such a manner as to

avoid creating a dangerous condition which would

cast the petitioner in damages to respoudent’s em-

ployees is self evident. That being the case the only

construction, possible to place on the decision below,

is that because the judgmeut was rendered before this

court handed down its decision in the Ryan Stevedor-

ing case, the New York courts considered, and decided

(erroneously, as later proved) either (1) that under

33 U.S. C. 905 the exclusive measure of respondent's

liability in the premises was the payment of com-

pensation under the Longshoremen’s and Harbor

Workers’ Compensation Act; or (2) that the non-con-

tractual rule of indemnity, applicable in ordinary tort

situations, viz., active and passive negligence, applied

to this maritime contract for carriage, loading and dis-

charge of a vessel’s cargo. Manifestly, whichever was

the basis of its decision, the Appellate Division decided

a federal question of substance in a way not in accord

with the applicable decisions of this court. The

Appellate Division, given opportunity to reconsider

its decision after the publication of the Ryan Steve-

doring opinion, declined to do so,

Both the court and the jury below regarded the

coal on the deck of petitioner’s vessel as creating a

—

condition of unseaworthiness, for which the vessel

was liable without regard to negligence of fault; just

the same as the defective block in Alaska Steamship

Co. Inc. v. Petterson, 347 U. 8S. 396; as the defective

shackle in Seas Shipping Co. Ine. vy. Sieracki, 328

U. 8S. 85; and as the grain on the deck in Pope &

Talbot, Inc. v. Hawn, 346 U. 8. 406. Thus petitioner,

as vessel owner, became absolutely liable to respond-

eut’s employee, without regard to fault. It is agreed

here, that the coal was spilled on the deck by the

respondent. Thus, the undisputed facts bring this

case within the general fact situation which existed

in the Ryan Stevedoring case.

The framework, factual and legal, of petitioner’s

rights against respondent is in no wise affected by

the claim that petitioner was the one required to clean

the coal from the decks. Petitioner freely admitted,

and testified below, that the eventual and ultimate

duty of clearing the vessel's deck of coal rested upon

it. That was the established practice (App. B, p. 11a).

However it was equally well established that the clean

up did not commence until after respondent's gang

started its final mop up run; and plaintiff (respond-

ent’s foreman) admitted that the ship’s clean up

crew was never nearer than two or three hatches

behind the hatch being discharged (App. B, pp. 11a,

17a, 19a). It would be unsafe for the men to work

any closer because coal was constantly spilling from

the bucket (App. B, pp. 15a, 18a).

Plaintiff’s sole claim, and complaint, against peti-

tioner in the courts below was the fact that the ship’s

clean up gang had not reached No. 5 hatch before

plaintiff got there to remove the bulldozer (App. B,

“ Se a eT

ech a leh ee ae

oe Fae Or «

7

16

p- 374). The “‘nearest cleaning’’ was ‘‘Two or three

hatches back of us’? (App. B, p. 15a), and it would

have taken only about five minutes to clean off that

portion of the deck (App. B, p. 12a), before plaintiff

started to work on it.

This injured plaintiff was the servant, agent and

employee of the respondent on this job. He was the

“utility foreman * * * in charge of unloading the

boat’. His acts, within the scope of his duties, were

the acts of respondent. His men had spilled the coal

and created the dangerous condition on the deck (the

unseaworthiness). Respondent (as personified by its

utility foreman, the plaintiff) recognized that such a

condition ‘spelled danger’? (App. B, p. 16a). He

felt the coal under foot (App. B, p. 13a). Looking

upward, and not in the direction he was moving, he

stepped on the loose coal, tried to kick it out of the

way, slipped, and plunged through the open hatch to

the hold 32 feet below (App. B, p. 13a).

If there was negligence here, as distinguished from

unseaworthiness, it was manifestly the negligence of

respondent in (1) spilling the coal on the deck in

its “hurry to unload” and creating the condition,

and (2) in proceeding, consciously and deliberately,

with the unloading operation in the face of a known

and recognized dangerous condition which (the jury

is assumed to have found) caused plaintiff to fall —

into the hold.

Like the vessel owner in the Ryan Stevedoring case

petitioner here is not barred from recovery against

the respondent merely because its clean up crew had

not yet reached No. 5 hatch. Judged by any stand-

ards of proximate cause, and, according to respondent

17

the full benefit of the most favorable reference rule,

the mere delay of the clean up gang in reaching hatch

No. 5 was not the cause of the plaintiff’s plunge into

the hold. Although proximate cause is usually a ques-

tion of fact, applying the most favorable inference

rule to the undisputed facts in this record, the proxi-

mate cause of this accident, as a matter of law, is the

concatenation of two events for each of which this re-

spondent is solely responsible: (1) the spilling of the

coal on the deck; and (2) the conscious and deliberate

election to proceed with the job in the face of the

known and recognized danger created by such spillage.

Brady v. Southern Railroad Co., 320 U. 8. 476, 479-80;

Great Northern Ry. Co. v. Wiles, 240 U. 8. 444; Laid-

law v. Sage, 158 N. Y. 73, 99; Hoffmann vy. King, 160

N. Y. 618, 628; Restatement of Torts §441, Comment

(1) se.

In U. S. v. Arrow Stevedoring Co., 9th Cir., 175 F.

2d 329, the contracting stevedore knowingly permitted

its men to work under a hatch cover secured upright

by defective dogs, and the accident resulted when the

hatch cover fell. The vessel had become aware of

the condition and arranged to repair it during the

following day shift. Under the Sicracki doctrine the

vessel owner becaine absolutely liable to the longshore-

man. In the vessel owner’s action to recover from the

stevedore the amount for which it had been cast in

damages to the stevedore’s employee, the Ninth Cir-

euit (Denman, C. J.) said that ‘the sole prorimate

cause of the injury to Williams was the negligence of

Arrow in its use of the door with knowledge of its

defects * * *.”’ (p. 331, our emphasis). To the same

effect are Fireman’s Fund Indemnity Co. v. U. S., 5th

Cir., 211 F. 2d 773, 776; U. S. v. Rothschild Interna-

oS tae ER Se et ORR ae

Greenies.

18

tional Stevedoring Co., 9h Cir. 183 F. 2d 181; Riley v.

Aywilines, 296 N,. Y. 402.

Thus no matter in what light this third-party claim

against respondent be regarded, the unseaworthy con-

dition on the deck of the vessel was created by the

respondent, and as was said by Mr. Justice Burton in

the prevailing opinion in the Ryan Stevedoring case:

**Whatever may have been the respective obliga-

tions of the stevedoring contractor and of the

shipowner to the injured longshoreman for proper

storage of the cargo it is clear that, as between

themselves, the contractor, as the warrantor of

its own services, cannot use the shipowner’s

failure to discover and correct the contractor’s

own breach of warranty as a defense.’’ 350 U. S.

124, 134-135.

This petition does not present the bald question

of the relative responsibilities of the parties for tort;

nor, in view of the rule of the Ryan case, does it now

present considerations of active and passive negli-

gence which might be present in a non-contractual

indemnity situation, Petitioner expressly grounded

its third-party complaint upon respondent's con-

’

tractual obligation safely to load and discharge the |

vessel—just as the vessel owner grounded its claim in |

the Ryan Stevedoring ease.

Without warrant in law or fact the trial court dis-

missed petitioner's third-party claim against respond-

ent. Under the undisputed facts of this record, it

could have done so only upon a theory of law contrary

to the most recent expressions of this court in the

Ryan case. If the theory of dismissal was that 33

rl

;

U. 8. C. 905 made compensation payments the exelu-

sive measure of respondent’s liability in the premises,

the judgment is flatly contrary to the first point de-

cided in the Ryan case, and must be reversed.

If the theory of dismis«al was that petitioner’s clean

up operation was slow in getting to the spot, that is

contrary to the second point decided in the Ryan case,

and must be reversed. Such theory might be valid in

an ordinary non-contractual tort situation, but the

facts and pleadings at bar present a ‘contractual

warranty” situation; and since the Ryan Stevedoring

decision, as between vessel owner and stevedore, the

latter cannot use the mere failure to immediately dis-

cover and remedy an unseaworthy condition (created

by the stevedore), as a defense to his breach of con-

tract 350 U.S. 124, 154-155.

Conclusion

The decision below was made before the decision of

this Court in the Ryan Stevedoring case. Ut is grounded

upon an erroneous legal concept of the relative re-

sponsibilities of a vessel owner and contracting steve-

dore, arising out of a maritime contract. The state

court has decided a federal question of substance in a

way which is not in accord with the applicable deci-

sions of thix Court. The Pyan Stevedoring Company

ge

a ee ee ee

20

decision was called to the attention of the state court

on a rehearing application, and the state court declined

to modify its decision. Accordingly this Court should

grant the petition for a writ of certiorari in this case,

and reverse so much of the judgment below as dis-

missed the third party claim against respondent.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN M. AHERNE

Counsel for Petitioner

99 John Street

New York 38, N. Y.

Bicuam, Encuar, Jones & Hovston

Of Counsel

99 John Street J

New York 38, N. Y.

APPENDIX ©

la

APPENDIX A

Order of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court

of the State of New York Fourth Judicial Depart-

ment

At a term of the Appellate Division of the

Supreme Court of the State of New York

in and for the Fourth Judicial Depart-

ment, at the City of Rochester, New York,

commencing on the 14th day of July, 1955.

Present—Hon. Francis D. McCurn,

Presiding Justice

‘** Raymonp C. VAUGHAN

** Henry J. KIMBALy

‘* —fR. Foster Piper

** —H. Doveitas Vax Dusen,

Associate Justices

s

>

Bruce Cox,

Respondent,

vs.

Dv_ttH StreamMsuHip Company,

Appellant.

DrittH STEAMSHIP Company,

Third-Party Plaintiff,

Appellant,

Vs.

ALLiep CHEeMicaL & Dye Corroratiox-SEMeT

Sorvay Drv.,

Third-Party Defendant,

Respondent.

¢

‘

,

eS ee ee tN

eae

eel ackt

Seabees,

Brenan

2a

Appendixc A

The above named Duluth Steamship Co., defend-

ant and third-party plaintiff in this action, having

appealed to the Appellate Division of the Supreme

Court, Fourth Department, from a judgment of the

Supreme Court, entered in the office of the Clerk

of the County of Erie, on the 13th day of May, 1954,

and from an order denying defendant’s motion for a

new trial, entered in said Clerk’s office on the 24th

day of May, 1954, and the said appeal having been

argued by Mr. John M. Aherne, of counsel for the

appellant, Mr. Joseph H. Chirlin, of counsel for the

plaintiff-respondent, and by Mr. Arthur E. Otten,

of counsel for the third-party defendant, respondent,

and due deliberation having been had thereon,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, That the judgment and order

so appealed from be, and the same hereby are, af-

firmed, with costs.

All coneur.

Enter.

Francis D. McCurn

Entered 14th day of July, 1955

Hersert E. Warr, Clerk.

a

Appendis A

Order of the Court of Appeals of the State of

New York

State of New York

In Court of Appeals

At a Court of Appeals for the State of New

York, held at Court of Appeals Hall in

the City of Albany on the thirteenth day

of October A. D. 1955.

Present—Hown. Abert Conway,

Chief Judge, presiding.

os

> ae

Mo. No. 405

Bruce Cox,

Plaintiff-Respondent,

VS.

DuiutH StreaMsHip Company,

Defendant and Third-Party

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vs.

ALLIED Cuemical & Dyr CorporaTion-SEMET

Sotvay Drviston,

Third-Party Defendant-

Respondent.

?

ke

i

4a

Appendir A

A motion for leave to appeal to the Court of Ap-

peals in the albove cause having been heretofore made

upon the part of the appellant herein, and papers

having been duly submitted thereon, and due delibera-

tion thereupom had:

Orvered, thiat the said motion be and the same here-

by is denied with ten dollars costs and necessary

printing disbursements.

(Seal)

Greanon KIMBALL

Deputy Clerk

a! Be se ee eee

AAP en . ——

PA wt Be was 0

>

ax

5a

Appendix A

Order of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court

of the State of New York, Fourth Judicial Depart-

ment

At a term of the Appellate Division of the

Supreme Court of the State of New York

in and for the Fourth Judicial Depart-

ment, at the City of Rochester, N. Y.,

commencing on the 6th day of March,

1956.

Present—Hox. Francis D. MceCvury,

Presiding Justice.

* Raymonp (, Vavanan,

* Henry J. Kimpann,

* Jounx (C. WHeeten

Associate Justices.

»

—_

Braver Cox,

Respondent,

Vs.

Detvrn STreamMsuipe Company,

Appellant.

DcL_vutTH STEAMSHIP COMPANY,

Third-Party Plaintiff,

Appellant,

Vs,

ALurep Cuemical & Dye Corporation-SemMer

Soivay Division,

Third-Party Defendant,

Respondent.

oy

6a

Appendiz A

The above named Duluth Steamship Company, ap-

pellant herein, having, on the 6th day of March, 1956,

duly moved before this Court for an order (1) grant-

ing leave to the defendant-third-party plaintiff-appel-

lant under Rule II of the Rules of this Court to make

a late application for reargument upon proof of spec-

ial reason; (2) granting a reargument herein of so

much of this appeal as relates to the cause of action

set forth in the third-party complaint and upon such

reargument vacating the order of this Court entered

on the 14th day of July, 1955 and reversing the judg-

ment below in so far as it relates to the third-party

complaint and granting third-party plaintiff-appellant

recovery over against third-party defendant-respond-

ent for such sums as third-party plaintiff has become

obligated to pay to plaintiff; or (3) in the alternative,

setting this case down for oral argument at such

time as this Court may direct; (4) or in the further

alternative, and in the event this Court grants a re-

argument and thereafter affirms its order of July

14, 1955 granting leave to appeal to the Court of

Appeals from this affirmance, and for such other

aud further relief as this Court may deem just and

proper,

Now, after reading and filing the affidavit of John

J. Martin, verified the 20th day of February, 1956,

the notice of said motion, together with proof of due

service thereof upon counsel for the opposing party,

and the opposing affidavit of Joseph H. Chirlin, veri-

a

7a

Appendix A

fied the 23rd day of February, 1956, and of Perey

R. Smith verified the 29th day of February, 1956,

and upon all the proceedings heretofore had and

taken herein, and due deliberation having been had

thereon,

It is hereby orverrp, That, the said motion be. and

the same hereby is, denied in all respects,

Enter.

Francis D. McCrre

Entered 7th day of March, 1956.

Hersert E. Warr, Clerk.

OOO AT a Oe A a ee le

freee hee leet GD arate Cet

ald A a I oes eet ea Scie ta Le tere

seers. %

Bases: pith sk Deane

8a

Appendix A

Order of the Supreme Court of the United States

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. October Term, 1955

La

>

Brvce Cox,

Plaintiff,

v.

Deieutu StreaMsuie Company,

Defendant and Third-Party

Plaintiff-Petitioner,

v.

Auurp Cuemica, & Dye Corporation-SeMet

Sorvay Division,

Third-Party Defendant.

Orpen Extexpixc Time to Fite Peririon ror

Writ or CEeRrriorani

4

——

Uron consiprration of the application of counsel

for petitioner,

Ir 1s orpernep that the time for filing petition for

writ of certiorari in the above-entitled cause be, and

the same is hereby, extended to and including Mareh

12th, 1956.

Jounx M. Haran

Associate Justice of the Supreme

Court of the United States.

Dated this 3rd day of January, 1956.

Sa

APPENDIX B

Excerpt from the Contract Between Duluth Steamship

Company and Allied Chemical & Dye Corpora-

tion—Semet Solvay Division.

(Reeord on Appeal, Pages 30-37, Exhibit 11)

2.

“All cargoes of coal for our Harriet, N. Y., plant

are to be transported in suitable bulk freighters

owned or operated or chartered either by you, The

Tomlinson Fleet or The Columbia Transportation

Company. All cargoes of coal will be loaded and un-

loaded without charge to the carrying vessel,

‘Delivery shall be made alongside our dock, Har-

riet, N. Y. Vessels shall berth in turn if necessary.

When berthed the unloading operation shall be con-

tinuous. We will make soundings to determine water

depth at our berth as soon as weather conditions

permit and will chart such soundings and furnish

you with a copy of said chart.’’ (91-92).

* * * *

ign i elation © oes Se |

eo eee

ae ete A Seek.

| ae _ eh

.

10a

Appendirs B

Excerpts from Testimony as Printed in the Record on

Appeal to New York Supreme Court, Appellate

Division—Fourth Department.

Note: Figures in parentheses denote page of Ree-

ord,

* * *. *

(47) Bruce Cox, the Plaintiff, called as a witness |

on his own behalf, and sworn, testified as follows:

Direct examination by Mr. Chirlin:

* ” * *

(52) * *& &

Q. Now, as a utility foreman, in 1948, during the

month of August, what would your general duties be?

A. Charge of unloading the boat.

Q. In the winter-time what would your duties be?

A. In various departments of the plant where a man

in a supervisory capacity would be needed.

* * * .

(55) * * &

Q. And about how many boats a week would come

to Senwt Solvay for unloading? A. Two, three, four;

sometimes we would even have a boat laying out in

the channel waiting for one boat to pull out.

* . . *

(61) * * *&

Q. Now, this matter of cleaning the deck on the

boat: with the hatches open, the only part of the deck

as EE eEEEOE————eeV—e

lla

Appendiz B

that would be visible would be the area between the

hatches and along either end of the hatches, up

against the rail of the ship, isn’t that so? A. Yes.

Q. Who did clean up on those boats? A. The mem-

hers of the ship’s crew.

Q. Was that an automatic thing, or did you have

to tell them when to start cleaning up, or just how

did it work? A. So far as I know, that (62) was

something that was understood, and we never spoke

to them about it. They just went right ahead and

did it.

Q. Well, let us assume that your boat has started

to be unloaded, and you are down, from 30 hatch,

down to 20 hatch: where would you expect the clean-

up crew to be? Would they start yet, or be at 30 or

40? <A. They should be cleaning up approximately

two or three hatches behind us. While we were in

No. 10 hatch on the final run, they should be in 7 or

8 hatch.

(71) ** &

Q. Well, when you finally went over between 4 and

5, to take out the bulldozer, can you tell us what the

condition was of the deck between those two hatches?

A. It had coal on it.

. * * *

Q. Now, how much coal was there, if it is possible

to say, in bushels or any possible way you can measure

it? A. Four bushels, I would say.

Appendic B

(72) * & &

Q. Does that shoveling or sweeping take very long?

A. Not too long, no.

Q. About how long would it take to do one little

walk? <A. Five minutes.

* * * *

(74) - ee

Q. And what happens to the cable if you allow it

to smack against the coaming? A. Well, if the cable

smacks against the coaming, it would be torn or

broken.

Q. Was it part of your job to do anything to pre-

vent that? A. To hold that cable off.

(75) Q. And how do you do that? A. By warding

it off with the palm of your hand.

Q. Did you ever grab on it and pull on it, or any-

thing like that? A. No.

Q. Did you have gloves on? <A. Yes. I had gloves.

Q. And were you warding the cable off the coam-

ing, that day the accident happened? <A. Yes.

Q. Tell us again what happens as the slack is taken

out of the cable. Where does the cable go and where

do you go?) The cable is here; you are holding the

cable off from the coaming to keep it from breaking

or being torn. A. Walking towards the center of

the ship.

Q. Were you moving sideways? A. Yes.

Q. And you are moving one—well, it would be

toward your left? A. My left.

Q. What do you do with your left hand: use that

for signals, or what? A. You ean use it for signals

=e Cee ee ee ae

/

Ba

Appendir B

to slow—have the operator slow the cable down, slow

it down a little bit, have it running quite slow before

you put the final load onto the cable, so you don’t have

a sudden jerk which would snap the cable.

* * * *

Q. What were you doing with your right hand just

before this accident? A. Holding the cable off the

steel coaming.

(76) Q. As you were walking along, I assume you

were on coal, in that area? <A. Yes.

Q. How was the footing underfoot? A. Very poor.

Q. Were you doing anything about that, vourself,

as you moved along? <A. I was trying to kick it out

of the way the best I could, without looking at it, and

trying to keep my eye on the operator and the men

down in the hold of the ship.

Q. How far did you get in this operation? Was

the slack actually ever taken out, when you went into

the hold? A. The slack wasn’t out of the cable.

Q. You tell us in your own way why you went into

the hold. A. In walking to my left, walking along,

finding secure footing, kicking this coal out of the

way, I stepped on this coal and that’s all I remember:

I slipped and rolled.

Q. When you slipped on the coal, did the coal move,

or did you move, or what— A. The coal moved.

Q. And you moved with it? <A. I fell forward.

* * * *

See eae | Sartre

Ty

14a

Appendiz B

(78) * & &

Bruce Cox, the Plaintiff, resumed testifying as

follows:

Direct examination resumed by Mr. Chirlin:

* * * *

Q. Why do you go between 4 and 5 over on the

port side? Why can’t you stay on the starboard side,

like you do when you have him up in (79) his regu-

lar cabin? <A. I have to be where I can observe the

men hooking up the bulldozer, and also where the

hoist operator can see my hand signals.

% - * a

(120) * & &

Bruce Cox, the Plaintiff, resumed testifying as

follows:

Cross examination resumed by Mr. Bleecker:

* * * *

Q. Do any of the vessel’s crew participate in the

unloading? A. No, except to shift the boat.

Q. They take no part in the actual unloading, do

they? <A. No.

(121) Q. And no part of the vessel’s equipment is

used in unloading, is it? A. Nothing used to un-

load, no.

* * * *

lda

Appendix B

(122) * & *&

Q. Was this question asked you:

“You instruct the crew if you want to

shift it’’?

A. Yes.

Q. And did you answer:

“That is the only order that we do give to

the crew’’?

A. Yes.

* * * 2

(123) Q. Do you have any safety rules governing

operations? A. Safety rules as governing operation

of unloading ship?

Q. Of unloading: are there any rules that the

company has promulgated? <A. Just to be careful.

Q. One of the principal hazards is that coal, lumps

of coal, will drop from the bucket, isn’t that true?

A. That’s right.

Q. Sometimes that is unavoidable, isn’t it? A.

Yes.

Q. How far away from the bucket do you keep

men—anybody—working? <A. I keep men in the

hold. They would be shoveling up three or four

hatches behind the bucket.

~ + « -

(125) * * *

Q. Where was the nearest cleaning? A. Two or

three hatches back of us.

* * * *

i

;

k

4

;

d

:

ee vin thks Pe RA?

Baatacinee. a aN rae

l6a

Appendis B

(126) * * *

Q. How much coal is likely to be left aboard that —

ship?

Mr. Chirlin: Where, Mr. Bleecker? On the |

deck ?

Mr. Bleecker: On the deck.

A. On the deck?

Q. Yes. <A. In this particular instance, there were,

I would say, four bushels of coal strewn between the

4 and 5 hatch.

Q. On each walk between the hatches, and there

are 30 hatches; and you did not take your own coal,

because the crew should clean it up, is that right?

A. That’s right.

Q. And you don’t care what becomes of that coal

which belongs to Semet Solvay? A. They never have.

Q. They never have cared, you say? A. Evi-

dently.

Q. Now, will you tell us: you went between No. 4

and 5, and you saw this condition, didn’t you? A.

Yes.

Q. And you knew it spelled danger, didn’t you?

A. Yes.

* * * *

(ig) * *°

Q. How many shifts, Bruce, do you have to make

in unloading the ‘*Sylvania’’ with her 30 hatches?

About 68, don’t you?) A. Approximately.

Q. Approximately 687 <A. Yes.

Q. One more or less would not do much harm, would

lia

Appendiz B

it? A. Except it would hold the boat up, and they

are usually in a strain to get it from the dock.

* * * *

(133) * & &

Bart Peters, called as a witness on behalf of the

Plaintiff, and sworn, testifies as follows:

[Peters was a Semet Solvay crane operator.]

* * * *

Direct examination by Mr. Chirlin:

* * * *

(135) * * *

Q. By the way, when the boat cleans up the deck—

the boat crew—in the normal operation, as it usually

would be done, about how far behind, in hatches, if

you can possibly tell us, would they stay from the

men who are unloading the boat?

Mr. Bleecker: I object to the question, your

Honor. He is a crane operator. He (136) just

said he knew nothing about this operation.

Mr. Chirlin: He didn’t say that.

The Court: I will permit him to answer if

he knows. Do you know, Witness?

The Witness: Yes, I do.

The Court: All right. You may answer.

A. Two to three hatches behind.

* * * *

i ashi ies

oe

aw eos

Bianco Teh

=,

18a

Appendix B

Cross examination by Mr. Bleecker:

* * * *

(137) * * *

Q. You say it is custom at Semet Solvay to permit

the crew of a vessel to work two or three hatches away

from your bucket? Is that the custom at Semet Sol-

vay? A. To let what?

Q. To permit anybody to work two or three hatches

away from where you are unloading a hatch? <A. Yes,

they safely work there.

Q. Do you consider that safe? A. Yes.

(). How far does coal fall when it falls out of the

bucket? A. Well, I would say, from the hatch over

to the end—to each hatch on both sides.

Q. In your opinion, it is safe procedure to

(138) permit men to work within two or three hatches

of where your bucket is? A. That is true.

* * * *

(140) * * *

Eimer Hanson, called as a witness on behalf of

the Plaintiff, and sworn, testified as follows:

[Hanson was a Semet Solvay crane operator.]

* * * *

Direct examination by Mr. Chirlin:

* * * *

(143) * * *

Q. Are you familiar with the cleaning of the deck,

as to whether or not they follow along the crew that

unloads the boat? <A. Yes, sir. |

(144) Q. Could you tell us about how far behind,

in hatches, they normally stay, from what you have

noticed? A. Approximately two to three hatches.

* * * Sa

19a

Appendir B

(148) * * &

Further cross examination by Mr. Bleecker:

* . * *

Q. And the clean-up bucket: there is no use of

cleaning up around the hatch before the clean-up

bucket is out of the hatch, is there? A. No, sir.

* * * *

(150) * * *

Peter Suznovicu, called as a witness on behalf of

the Plaintiff, and sworn, testified as follows:

[Suznovich was a Semet Solvay crane operator. ]

* * * *

Direct examination by Mr. Chirlin:

* * * *

(135) * * *

Q. You unload these vessels as expeditiously as pos-

sible, I suppose. A. What is that?

Q. You unload these vessels as quickly as possible?

A. That was the general opinion down there, to get

them out as fast as possible.

* * * *

j

— &

Beaars.. wits

20a

Appendis B

(165) Burris W. Wovrrers, called as a witness on

behalf of the Defendant, and sworn, testified as fol-

lows:

[Wolters was the First Mate on board the ‘‘Sy!-

vania’’ at the time of the accident.]

* * * *

Direct examination by Mr. Bleecker:

a." *

Q. And you have heard the testimony about the

custom of the crew of your vessels removing, cleaning

up the coal on the deck, after the unloading is finished.

Tell the Court and jury what you know about any

such custom. A. Well, since I have been Mate and

Captain of any of the vessels trading down there, it

has been the custom of the ship to clean up the deck,

which is the only dock on the Great Lakes that you

do do that, barring none and including all. I have

asked various foremen and men that work there what

to do with the coal. ‘*Don'’t make any difference.

Throw it over the side. Throw it wherever the hand-

iest place was to throw it,’’ and we cleaned the ship

up for our own benefit, because we had to haul—

rather, our men had to carry hatch cable across the

deck, when it came time to pull the hatches off.

* * * *

(168) Q. Is there anything unusual about this one

at Semet Solvay? A. Well——

Q. I mean, as to stationary or movable? A. It is

a stationary rig. I don’t know of any other one I

have worked on—that is, on coal—stationary such

2la

Appendiz B

as this one; and it is a tremendously fast piece of

equipment.

Q. Have you, in your experience of 22 years—is

it? A. That is correct.

Q. —observed the operation of the various rigs

around the Lakes? A. I have.

Q. Are you familiar with the operation of this

Semet Solvay rig? A. I am.

Q. From your observation, can you tell the Court

and jury the reason for the presence of coal between

hatches—not on the inboard, but can you explain why

you find coal between the hatches the whole length of

the ship? A. Well, it would be—the way they unload

is so rapid, it has always been “hurry up’? down

there; the faster out, the better, and the operators

really move that rig around. It is going and coming,

and it is very, very fast.

Q. And what puts the coal between the hatches? A.

When they drop this clam—I wouldn't say how much

it weighs; I would say in the neighborhood of five

ton, possibly. They dig the bucket in; the bucket

goes down and buries itself, and they are pulling it

out as it is buried, and there is coal spilling out. In

other words, if you fill a tea cup with sugar and

heap it up, it is going to spill. That is what happens

with the (169) coal as they are coming up with it:

coal is just streaming off. On the ‘Sylvania’ we

have to spot perfectly or our hatches will not ac-

commodate such a big bucket.

Q. What you are saying is that the bucket is over-

loaded? A. Always. It is always streaming coal.

Q. Is any spillage caused by the bucket knocking

the side of the hatch? A. Yes, if it hits the side of

the hatch, it will throw off.

ee eee ee re ete SC te emt ke Ce ete. soe kT Oe eer |

7

Appendirs B

Q. Is there any way to avoid striking the hatches?

A. Slower operation.

Q. Can you estimate the amount of coal, Captain,

in an ordinary unloading, that is left on the deck of

the ‘Sylvania’? A. When we clear——

Q. Can you estimate it in amount? A. 30 ton.

Q. Not all at one time, I suppose? A. All at one

time, right from No. 30 hatch, right straight through.

Before we start to shovel, there will be 30 ton between

hatches.

Q. That is what I mean. Approximately 30 tons?

A. That’s right, an average load.

* * * *

Cross examination by Mr. Otten:

* * * *

(170) “* *

Q. This **Sylvania’’: what is her size? <A. 504

fect long.

Q. How wide? A. 54 feet.

Q. How much does she carry? <A. Well, she will

average, depending upon the season and the (171)

depth of water that is allowed her in the Niagara

River, from 10,000 to 11,250, 11,300 tons.

* * * *

(174) ** *

Q. In other words, the decks were all cleaned, ready

to replace hatches? A. The hatches were on 2, 3, 4

compartments.

Q. How many compartments does this boat have?

A. Four.

—

23a

Appendix B

lata

Further cross examination by Mr. Otten:

Q. You said one thing in your testimony, just now,

that makes me wonder. This clean-up operation on

the boat: do you do that several times in the course of

unloading? A. I was mate. I did it just on the

second run back, because there was too terrific spillage

from the clean-up bucket. If there was terrific

spillage from the bucket from, possibly, hitting the

hatch coaming, or overloading the clam, we would

shovel that so we could walk through it.

* * * *

(187) *“* *

Wituiam T. Situ, called as a witness on behalf

of the Defendant, and sworn, testified as follows:

* * * *

[Smith was a Captain, U. S. C. G.]

Direct examination by Mr. Bleecker:

. a * *

(188 ) eo Re

Q. In the course of your experience in 36 years in

Buffalo, Captain, have you had occasion to observe

the operations of the unloading machinery at Semet

Solvay at Harriet? A. Yes, I have.

Q. Are you familiar with the setup? <A. Yes, I

am.

Q. You have heard testimony here regarding spill-

age of coal in unloading the ‘Sylvania’? in 1948.

Have you observed anything at that plant, Captain,

that, in your opinion, accounts for spillage of coal

ee ee oe

24a

Appendis B

in unloading—spillage of coal into the passageways

between the hatches? A. Well, of course, that would

depend on the handling and (189) operation of the

bucket; and there is times, I presume, when I have

been down on there, when they got a little overloaded,

but that is not anything that is unusual; and when

they are drawing it out, some of it spills off back into

the cargo hold again; and then the bucket may swing

over and hit the side of the coaming and some will

spill, off and on.

Q. Is that, in your opinion, proper handling, to

permit the bucket to hit the side of the hatch or to

come up overloaded ?

Mr. Otten: I object to that, if the Court

please. It doesn’t appear this man is qualified

to testify. |

The Court: I think I will permit him to

testify. You have the exception.

Mr. Otten: Exception.

A. It is a matter of—in the operation, it is usually

pretty hard to keep the bucket—uuless you operate

it slow—because that bucket is going to swing, and

while he might have a little tail line on that, which |

he would have to have on or it would be just like.

probably, someone on a flying trapeze, or something; |

but it is one of those conditions that the operator, if

he is fast—and they are, down there, they operate

quite fast; and the only thing that I could say, in my

opinion, from my own experience, is that, if it is

operated a little slower, more careful, it would pre-

vent the excess spillage, if any.

Q. Then spillage does not oceur, is that right? A.

That’s right.

* * * *

IN THE HAROLD B. WILLEY,

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1955

No. 753

BRUCE COX,

Plaintiff,

against

DULUTH STEAMSHIP COMPANY,

Defendant and Third-Party

Plaintiff-Petitioner,

against

ALLIED CHEMICAL & DYE CORPORATION—

SEMET SOLVAY DIVISION,

Third-Party Defendant-

Respondent.

BRIEF OF THIRD-PARTY DEFENDANT-

RESPONDENT OPPOSING APPLICA-

TION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

HAROLD J. ADAMS,

Counsel for Respondent,

705 Walbridge Building,

Buffalo 2, New York.

Artuvur E, Orren,

Of Counsel,

1106 Prudential Building,

Buffalo 2, New York.

SATAVIA TIMES, Law Printeas,

Batavia, TT.

INDEX

PAGE

NEE SS vos ee wey scudsekeecN ash baesa ad ckwe Cs 2

Questions Sought to be Presented .................. 2

ne ee RMON oe ce piniaelnteushe we dees 3

PETA Aas oad suelo hehe e RAW Maw hae wk hed L es ve bab ee )

MSs Coden Cie Paes bees abe cae cies ace 9

Jurisdiction is Not Established .................. i]

Petitioner Failed to Prove the Facts of its Case; it

Failed to Prove that Respondent Breached any

Duty; it Failed to Prove that Plaintiff's Injury

and Petitioner’ s Loss were Caused by any Act

of Respondent; the Proof Affirmatively Showed

that such Injury and Loss were Caused by Peti-

tioner’s Misfeasance in the Performance of its

SIE PRE as cras once pecans Fk ws 11

PE Seu er ett ou os Chas dhe ae re UReie les eae 16

APPENDIX

pg i we Re: er 20

Excerpt from New York Civil Practice Act § 193-a (2) 20

New York Civil Practice Act §588 ................. 17

New York Civil Practice Act §589 ................. 18

Cases Crrep

H. J. Gorman vs. Washington University, 316 U.S. 98 10

Ryan Stevedoring Co. Inc. vs. Pan-Atlantic Steamship

Re, SN sic c Ure as iar iny Vo ks ps60 vs 4

OrTHer AUTHORITIES CITED

EG Oe a ra it wanes Gee ooo wie yins oe be oo 10

Be Ml Ns po od oko dob kb ede wk oe w'enc 3

New York Civil Practice Act §193-a (2) ............ 3

New York Civil Practice Act § 588 ........c0cccceees 9-10

New York Civil Practice Act § 589

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoper Term, 1955

No. 753

BRUCE “OX,

Plaintiff,

against

DULUTH STEAMSHIP COMPANY,

Defendant and Third-Party

Plaintiff -Petitioner,

against

ALLIED CHEMICAL & DYE CORPORATION—

SEMET SOLVAY DIVISION,

Third-Party Defendant-

Respondent.

BRIEF OF THIRD-PARTY DEFENDANT-

RESPONDENT OPPOSING APPLICA-

TION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

For brevity, our reference to parties will be:

Plaintiff,_-to indicate Bruce Cox, plaintiff.

Petitioner,—to indicate Duluth Steamship Company,

defendant and third-party plaintiff-petitioner.

oe iv. on

> wae ieee as Dae it al

ey

+ Pape cate ene hn a ele RS

to

Respondent,—to indicate Allied Chemical & Dye Corpo-

ration, Semet Solvay Division, third-party defendant-

respondent.

Jurisdiction

The record filed herein, as indicated by the notice on

Form 75 served upon us by petitioner, fails to disclose

that the judgment sought to be reviewed is that of the

highest Court of the State of New York in which a deci-

sion could be had, and respondent requests that the peti-

tion, therefore, be denied and dismissed.

The judgment sought to be reviewed was reviewable by

the New York Court of Appeals by permission of that

Court or of the New York Supreme Court, Appellate

Division, Fourth Judicial Department, and the record filed

herein fails to disclose that application for such permis-

sion was made.

The matter is discussed in the argument section of this

brief.

Questions Sought to be Presented

The questions which petitioner seeks to present for re-

view do not arise upon the facts established at the trial.

Petitioner failed to prove the facts alleged in his third-

party complaint against respondent and in consequence

no substantial question arises between those parties. This

is not a case of a vessel owner being cast in damages for

injury caused by breach of duty on the part of another or

by unseaworthiness of the vessel without fault of the own-

er; the injury and the vessel owner’s liability therefor

arise from the vessel owner's misfeasance. The only ques-

tion framed by the facts is completely lacking in substance

and is as follows:

apres

Petes yy

3

Where spillage of coal on deck is an unavoidable inci-

dent of unloading bulk coal cargo, and the cargo owner

pursuant to the contract of carriage unloads his cargo and

breaches no duty therein, and the vessel owner cleans up

the spillage and is guilty of misfeasance therein and there-

by leaves a residue of the spillage on deck, and the cargo

owner’s employee in charge of the unloading being free

from contributing fault falls thereon and recovers full

damage from the vessel owner,—is the vessel owner en-

titled to reimbursement from the cargo owner.

Respondent alleged as a defense by avoidance against

petitioner that the Longshoremen’s & Harbor Workers’

Compensation Act, 33 U. S. C. See. 901 et seq. provided

the exclusive remedy, but any question arising thereon

became moot when petitioner failed to prove the facts of

his cause of action.

Statement of the Case

The statement made by petitioner requires correction

and supplementation.

The assertion in italics on Page 5 of the petition that

respondent alleged ‘‘that the accident was caused by its

employee’s negligence’’ (meaning the plaintiff) is erron-

eous and the inference arising therefrom that negligence

of the plaintiff, and therefore of respondent, his employer,

is conceded,—is diametrically opposed to fact. Respond-

ent’s plea to which petitioner refers was merely the asser-

tion that on the basis of petitioner’s allegations made

against respondent petitioner had certain defenses, includ-

ing that of contributory negligence, against plaintiff. (R.

24.) The plea so made pursuant to express authority of

New York Civil Practice Act Sec. 193-a (2) quoted in the

appendix to this brief, was merely to assure that if peti-

+

tioner’s charge of plaintiff's negligence, which respondent

denied, were true, it would be used as a shield against

plaintiff as well as a sword against respondent. Peti-

tioner’s allegation that respondent’s employee in charge

of the work (plaintiff) was incompetent and negligent

(R. 20) was denied (R. 22) and the issue was decided

adversely to petitioner, for, as stated at the top of Page

11 of the petition, ‘It is manifest from the amount of the

verdict, viz. $100,000. that no finding of, or allowance for,

contributory negligence was made under the comparative

negligence rule as charged by the court.’’

It should be noted as part of the statement of the case

that the jury in reporting its verdict expressly stated ‘* We

find the Steamship Company negligent.’’ (R. 261.) The

trial Court charged the jury that plaintiff asserted negli-

gence and unseaworthiness against petitioner (R. 233);

that reeovery for negligence depended upon proof of negli-

gence (R. 233-234), but that reeovery for unseaworthiness

did not depend upon negligence. (R. 234.) Under the

circumstances the jury’s report that ‘‘We find the Steam-

ship Company negligent’’ shows that petitioner's liability

was based not merely upon unseaworthiness without fault,

but upon petitioner’s negligence.

It also should be noted as part of the statement of the

ease that the Court below considered whether its decision

herein squares with the subsequent decision of this Court

in Ryan Stevedoring Co. Inc. vs. Pan-Atlantic Steamship

Corp., 350 U. S. 124, and decided that it does. Petitioner

applied for re-argument in the Court below on the basis of

this Court's decision in the Ryan Stevedoring Co. ease and

on March 7th, 1956 the application was ‘‘Denied in all re-

spects."’ (See certified copy of order attached to the ree-

ord.)

| a ay

5

Facts

Petitioner’s assertion that its negligence was merely

nonfeasance,—that its deck-cleaning operation had not

reached the area where plaintiff was injured, and that

that is why spillage in the area had not been removed, is

contrary to undisputed fact. The undisputed fact, sup-

ported by the testimony of petitioner’s first officer in

charge of the work, is that petitioner had reached the area

where plaintiff was hurt and had finished its deck-cleaning

operation there (R. 174) but neglected to remove a bushel

or two of the spillage (R. 176) which is supported by the

testimony of other witnesses (R. 130-131, 153); plaintiff

slipped and fell on the residue so negligently left by peti-

tioner. (R. 76.) Petitioner’s negligence clearly consisted

of active misfeasance.

Petitioner’s statement that the spillage which occurred

in the area where plaintiff was injured could have been

avoided if respondent had slowed down the operation is

not supported by the part of the record to which petitioner

refers and is contrary to undisputed fact. The testimony

to which petitioner refers is merely to the effect that

‘striking the hatches’’ (which may be one of the causes

of spillage) could be avoided by slower operation. (R. 169.)

The same witness, petitioner’s first officer, stated on cross-

examination that he did not want to be understood as testi-

fying that there was any striking of hatches on this ocea-

sion when plaintiff was injured (R. 171) and there is no

evidence of any striking of hatches during that time. The

obvious fact that some spillage in unloading bulk coal is

unavoidable is established by undisputed evidence. (R. 190,

123, 135.)

We could, in like manner as above, pick out and correct

each inaccuracy in petitioner's statement and supply each

—_—r

nis ~ Se. eS

tara ak wns Kite:

deficiency, but when he finished this Court still would not

have a comprehensive picture of the transaction involved.

It seems to us that this Court is entitled to such a picture

and petitioner having failed to present it, we shall do so.

Plaintiff was respondent’s employee in charge of unload-

ing respondent’s bulk coal cargo from petitioner’s ves-

sels. (R. 52.) While the accident occurred in 1948, the

history of the transaction begins in 1940 when respondent

installed at its dock special equipment thereafter used in

unloading its bulk coal cargoes from petitioner’s vessels,

(R. 140, 151.) It is ‘‘a tremendously fast piece of equip-

ment.’’ (R. 168.) The fast unloading that it accom-

plishes is, of course, desirable to petitioner in that it pro-

vides quick ‘‘turn around’’ for its vessels,—meaning that

they don’t have to lay up long while unloading. (R. 171.)

As plaintiff testified, ‘‘they (meaning the ship’s crew) are

usually in a strain to get it (meaning the ship) from the

dock.’’ (R. 127.)

Spillage of coal on deck is the unavoidable incident of

unloading bulk coal. (R. 190, 123, 135.) Normal spillage

in the course of unloading with respondent’s equipment

above mentioned is about 30 tons per boat (R. 169), spill-

age on deck amounting to about one-half ton between each

pair of hatches. (R. 176.) On the occasion when plaintiff

was hurt the spillage was substantially less, with only

about four bushels between hatches Nos. 4 and 5 where the

accident occurred. (R. 126.)

The spillage on deck constitutes no immediate hazard,

for the part of the deck upon which it falls is not then in

use; spillage oceurs only on the portside of the boat,—

none on the starboard side, which remains free of coal

(R. 68, 179); plaintiff, the only one of the unloading gang

working on deck (R. 65), works entirely on the starboard

5

Facts

Petitioner’s assertion that its negligence was merely

nonfeasance,—that its deck-cleaning operation had not

reached the area where plaintiff was injured, and that

that is why spillage in the area had not been removed, is

contrary to undisputed fact. The undisputed fact, sup-

ported by the testimony of petitioner’s first officer in

charge of the work, is that petitioner had reached the area

where plaintiff was hurt and had finished its deck-cleaning

operation there (R. 174) but neglected to remove a bushel

or two of the spillage (R. 176) which is supported by the

testimony of other witnesses (R. 130-131, 153); plaintiff

slipped and fell on the residue so negligently left by peti-

tioner. (R. 76.) Petitioner’s negligence clearly consisted

of active misfeasance.

Petitioner’s statement that the spillage which occurred

in the area where plaintiff was injured could have been

avoided if respondent had slowed down the operation is

not supported by the part of the record to which petitioner

refers and is contrary to undisputed fact. The testimony

to which petitioner refers is merely to the effect that

‘striking the hatches’’ (which may be one of the causes

of spillage) could be avoided by slower operation. (R. 169.)

The same witness, petitioner’s first officer, stated on cross-

examination that he did not want to be understood as testi-

fying that there was any striking of hatches on this occa-

sion when plaintiff was injured (R. 171) and there is no

evidence of any striking of hatches during that time. The

obvious fact that some spillage in unloading bulk coal is

unavoidable is established by undisputed evidence. (R. 190,

123, 135.)

We could, in like manner as above, pick out and correct

each inaccuracy in petitioner’s statement and supply each

6

deficiency, but when he finished this Court still would not

have a comprehensive picture of the transaction involved.

It seems to us that this Court is entitled to such a picture

and petitioner having failed to present it, we shall do so.

Plaintiff was respondent’s employee in charge of unload-

ing respondent’s bulk coal cargo from petitioner’s ves-

sels. (R. 52.) While the accident occurred in 1948, the

history of the transaction begins in 1940 when respondent

installed at its dock special equipment thereafter used in

unloading its bulk coal cargoes from petitioner’s vessels.

(R. 140, 151.) It is ‘‘a tremendously fast piece of equip-

ment.’’ (R. 168.) The fast unloading that it accom-

plishes is, of course, desirable to petitioner in that it pro-

vides quick ‘‘turn around’’ for its vessels,—meaning that

they don’t have to lay up long while unloading. (R. 171.)

As plaintiff testified, ‘‘they (meaning the ship’s crew) are

usually in a strain to get it (meaning the ship) from the

dock.’’ (R. 127.)

Spillage of coal on deck is the unavoidable incident of

unloading bulk coal. (R. 190, 123, 135.) Normal spillage

in the course of unloading with respondent’s equipment

above mentioned is about 30 tons per boat (R. 169), spill-

age on deck amounting to about one-half ton between each

pair of hatches. (R. 176.) On the occasion when plaintiff

was hurt the spillage was substantially less, with only

about four bushels between hatches Nos. 4 and 5 where the

accident occurred. (R. 126.)

The spillage on deck constitutes no immediate hazard,

for the part of the deck upon which it falls is not then in

use; spillage occurs only on the portside of the boat,—

none on the starboard side, which remains free of coal

(R. 68, 179); plaintiff, the only one of the unloading gang

working on deck (R. 65), works entirely on the starboard

7

side where there is no coal (R. 68) until the very end of

the operation. After finishing the last stages of unload-

ing, called mop-up, in No. 1 hatch, plaintiff then for the

first time is required to go upon a part of the deck where

spillage has occurred, namely, between hatches Nos. 4 and

5 (R. 68, 71, 78-79) to direct removal of the unloading

equipment. (R. 68, 71, 78-79.) The unloading operation

and established incidental practice and procedure as per-

formed by petitioner and respondent assures that the spill-

age is removed from the deck between hatches Nos. 4 and

5 before the plaintiff is required to go there (R. 73, 130-

131, 147-148) and the area is invariably free of coal when

plaintiff gets there. (R. 130-131, 147-148.)

The operation, practice and procedure that assures that

result is as follows: respondent unloads the coal and

petitioner cleans up the spillage. (R. 61-62, 135, 138, 147,

153.) Respondent’s unloading gang works over the boat,

one hatch at a time, three times, (R. 63-55.) The last going-

over, starting with hatch No. 30 and finishing at hatch No. 1,

is called mop-up. (R. 64.) While respondent’s unloading

gang proceeds from hatch to hatch in this work petitioner’s

crew follows along two to three hatches behind shoveling

up the spillage that falls on deck. (R. 135-136, 137-138, 143-

144.) Petitioner’s crew has no trouble keeping up with

the unloading gang in this operation because cleaning up

the spillage requires only five minutes around each hatch

(R. 72) while mop-up takes fifteen minutes at each hatch,

except No. 1 hatch, where more than an hour is required.

(R. 69-70, 78, 93, 136.) It is at once apparent that this

operation assures that petitioner removes the spillage from

the area between hatches Nos. 4 and 5 before plaintiff is

required to go there and that is the invariable result; the

area between hatches Nos. 4 and 5 is invariably free of

coal when plaintiff gets there. (R. 73, 130-131, 148.)

Bove dit jae Roe ee Slay AA EEE OS

8

The joint operation of petitioner and respondent above

outlined has been so performed ever since the equipment

was installed in 1940 (R. 135, 138, 143, 147-148, 153, 130-131)

during which period they handled as many as 110 boats a

year. (R. 158.) There is no evidence of any written memo-

randa between the parties until the spring of 1947 when

written confirmation was made of the contract of carriage ©

for that year. (Ex. 11, R. 200, 30-35.) The provisions

thereof here pertinent are merely that respondent would

unload the coal (R. 31) in a continuous operation (R. 31)

with freedom of liability for delay only when caused by

things beyond its control (R. 34); spillage in the course of

unloading and the cleaning up thereof were not mentioned.

That agreement was extended without material change for

the year 1948. (Ex. 11, R. 200, 36-37.) The agreement clear-

ly contemplated continuance of the same rapid operation

and incidental practice and procedure as performed by

petitioner and respondent in each of the previous years

and petitioner and respondent did in fact continue the same;

the operation above outlined and all details thereof remain-

ed precisely the same from 1940 right down to the day of

the accident. (R. 135, 138, 143, 147-148, 153, 130-131.)

The only variation which occurred at the time of plain-

tiff’s injury consisted of petitioner’s negligence in shovel-

ing up spillage between hatches Nos. 4 and 5. Whereas on

all prior occasions when plaintiff entered that area to

direct removal of the unloading equipment the area was

free of coal (R. 73, 130-131, 148) on this occasion a residue

of spillage still remained there. (R. 130-131, 147-148.) There

is no evidence or suggestion in the record that petitioner

lacked time or opportunity to do that work. On the con-

trary, petitioner’s first officer, who was in charge of the

work, stated that his crew had finished the job and on

cross-examination he admitted that they had left a residue

9

of spillage behind them in this area where plaintiff was

hurt. We quote his testimony:

“«Q. How did you do this clean-up: with a broom

or shovel?

A. Shovel.’’ (R. 176.)

“<Q, At what stage do you claim your deck-cleaning

operation was when this “weer oa was hurt?

A. We were through shoveling.

. You were through shoveling?

A. That’s right.’’ (R. 174.)

“(. How much was there this day, before you

cleaned, between 4 and 5, can you tell me?

A. Oh, I imagine a bushel basket had been left,

maybe two, by the time we finished our shoveling.”

(R. 176.)

Other witnesses confirmed the facet that petitioner left

a residue of spillage in the critical area between hatches

Nos. 4 and 5. (R. 130-131, 153.)

Upon entering this area to direct removal of the un-

loading equipment plaintiff saw the residue of coal peti-

tioner had left there,—recognized it as a source of danger

(R. 126),—tried to kick it out of his way (R. 76) and in the

operation slipped and fell into the open hatch. (R. 76.)

All of the facts hereinabove outlined are established by

undisputed evidence.

ARGUMENT

Jurisdiction Is Not Established

The judgment which petitioner seeks to review is the

judgment of the New York Supreme Court, Appellate Divi-

sion, Fourth Judicial Department. That judgment was

reviewable by the New York Court of Appeals by permis-

sion either of the Court of Appeals or of the Appellate

Division. The provisions of the New York Civil Practice

10

Act, Sections 588 and 589, prescribing when appeal to the

Court of Appeals lies as of right and when by permission,

are printed in the appendix to this brief; see particularly

Section 589, Subdivision 3 thereof. The transcript of ree-

ord filed herein fails to show that such application was

made to either Court. The record, therefore, fails to present

a matter within the jurisdiction of this Court.

The jurisdiction of this Court to review decisions of

State Courts by certiorari is limited by the provisions of

28 U.S. C. Section 1257 (pertinent provisions of which are

printed in the appendix to this brief) to judgments or

decrees rendered by the highest Court of the state in which

a decision could be had. Where the appeal to such highest

Court lies only by permission, the order of the Court deny-

ing application for such permission is sufficient for juris-

dictional purposes. It is jurisdictionally necessary that

the transeript of record show decision by the highest Court

of the state either on the merits or by rejection of applica-

tion for leave to appeal. U1. J. Gorman vs, Washington

Unirersity, 316 U.S. 98.

The situation presented in the Gormun case was similar

to that presented here in that there, as here, the judgment

sought to be reviewed was not the judgment of the highest

state court; there, as here, appeal to the highest state court

lay only by permission; there, as here, the record failed to

show that application for such permission had been made

and rejected. This Court dismissed the writ of certiorari

in the Gorman ease holding:

‘*As the record fails to disclose that the judgment,

review of which is now sought, is that of the highest

court of the state in which a decision could be had, we

are without jurisdiction and the writ must be dismiss-

ed.’’ (316 U.S. 98, 101.)

In like manner and for the same reason, the application

here for writ of certiorari should be denied and dismissed.

11

Petitioner Failed to Prove the Facts of its Case; it

Failed to Prove that Respondent Breached any Duty; it

Failed to Prove that Plaintiff’s Injury and Petitioner’s

Loss were Caused by any Act of Respondent; the Proof

Affirmatively Showed that such Injury and Loss were

Caused by Petitioner’s Misfeasance in the Performance

of its Deck-Cleaning Duty.

This case does not involve a general stevedoring situa-

tion. It is a special circumstance case involving a special

arrangement between vessel owner and cargo owner where-

by they shared the work incident to unloading in such man-

ner as to accomplish expeditious discharge of cargo and

quick ‘‘turn around’’ for the vessel. The arrangement was

that respondent would unload the coal and petitioner would

follow along immediately behind the unloading gang and

clean up the coal that spilled on deck. (R. 61-62, 135-136,

137-138, 143-144, 147, 153.) The parties so operated for

many years down to and including the time in question.

(R. 135, 138, 143, 147-148, 153, 130-131.) Respondent did

its usual work in the usual manner. Petitioner also did its

usual work (R. 174) but on this occasion did it negligently

and left a residue of spillage in a critical area and plaintiff

fell upon it. (R. 176, 130-131, 147-148, 76.) These are the

ultimate facts of the case and they are undisputed.

It is undisputed that some spillage in unloading bulk

coal is unavoidable (R. 190, 123, 135) and that the spillage

here involved was less than usual—four bushels compared

with one-half ton. (R. 126, 176, 169.) Petitioner presented no

direct evidence of how the spillage here involved occurred.

It offered only the testimony of what three witnesses

(Wolters, Reid and Smith) observed at several other un-

specified and unidentified occasions. The testimony of pe-

tioner’s witnesses appended to its petition is part of the

AVE BTR ORR” DOs tie Dal Acero

Basa wera wus

12

testimony of these three witnesses. They testified that at

these other unidentified occasions they observed that the

speed of respondent’s equipment caused spillage and that

sometimes the unloading equipment struck the sides of the

hatches causing additional spillage. There was no evidence

of any such striking of hatches on this occasion; Wolters,

the only one of the three witnesses who was present at the

time of the unloading here involved, stated on cross-exam-

ination that he did not want to be understood as testifying

that there was any striking of hatches at the time here in-

volved. (R. 171.) The most that could be claimed for peti-

tioner’s evidence is that respondent’s ‘‘tremendously fast

piece of equipment’’ has been observed at several unspeci-

fied and unidentified occasions to have caused spillage some

of which less speed might have avoided. This evidence had

no pertinent probative force particularly in the face of the

undisputed facts that some spillage is unavoidable and that

the spillage on this occasion was substantially less than

ordinary.

In any event, so long as the spillage on this occasion was

no greater than the ordinary amount—and there is no evi-

dence that it was—it entailed no breach of duty. Such spil-

lage was within the contemplation of the parties as incident

to the work performed.

Petitioner and respondent co-operated in unloading re-

spondent’s bulk coal cargoes for many years, with respond-

ent unloading the coal and petitioner cleaning up the coal

that spilled on deck. (R. 61-62, 135-136, 137-138, 143-144,

147, 153.) From this experience the parties knew how much

spillage to expect (30 tons per boat with one-half ton on

deck between each pair of hatches, R. 176); where the

spillage would fall on deck (on the port side, none on the

starboard side, R. 68, 179) ; that the deck area upon which

spillage oceurred was not then in use and would not be

ae

13

used until when at the very end of the operation it became

necessary for plaintiff to enter the area between hatches

4 and 5 where spillage had occurred in order to direct re-

» moval of its equipment (R. 65, 68, 71, 78-79); that in the

meantime the ship’s crew had ample time to clean up the

_ spillage (the deck-cleaning job which followed immediate-

_ ly behind the respondent’s unloading gang, R. 135-136,

137-138, 143-144, took only five minutes at each hatch, R.

72, while the unloading gang had to spend fifteen minutes

at each hatch, R. 78, 69-70, 136, and an hour or more at the

last hatch to be unloaded, namely, No. 1, R. 78, 69-70, 136) ;

that this operation would assure that the area between

hatches 4 and 5 would be free of spilled coal when it beeame

necessary for plaintiff to enter upon it and it invariably

was. (R. 73, 130-131, 148.) Petitioner and respondent so

operated for eight years (R. 135, 138, 143, 147-145, 153,

130-131) with as many as 110 unloadings a year. (R, 158.)

So performed, the operation was not hazardous but remark-

ably safe; there is no suggestion of the occurrence of any

accident or injury during the entire eight year period.

The written confirmation of the contract of carriage for

1947 and renewed for 1948 without material change, pro-

vided merely that respondent would unload its bulk coal,

and in order to assure quick turn around for petitioner’s

vessels it was further provided that the operation would

be continuous and that respondent would be relieved from

liability for delay only when caused by things beyond its

control. (Ex. 11, R. 200, 30-37.) It clearly contemplated

continuance of the same joint operation as performed by

the parties during each of the six preceding years, and

the parties so continued; they performed the operation

hereinabove outlined without change from 1940 right down

to the day of the accident. (R. 135, 138, 143, 147-148, 153,

130-131.) It was respondent's duty to unload the coal

ee Oe ee

+ 0k Pee LAM eae) aliens Cale ed Bes Sd

a oe

vt

14

with substantially the same speed which petitioner had

enjoyed during the preceding years; it was respondent’s

duty to clean up the spillage which their experience showed

was the ordinary incident of the unloading operation and to

so remove the spillage from between hatches 4 and 5 before

it was necessary for plaintiff to enter that area at the end

of the unloading operation. Ordinary spillage consti-

tuted no breach of duty; it was within the contemplation of

the parties as an incident of the work to be performed.

Respondent properly performed; the spillage was no

greater than ordinary but actually less—four bushels in

the critical area as compared with the ordinary one-half

ton. (R. 126, 176, 169.) Petitioner’s performance was

negligent; it left a residue of spillage in the critical area

where it was known plaintiff presently would have to work.

(R. 176, 130-131, 153.) Petitioner’s negligence consisted

not in failing to discover the spillage or in being slow

in reaching this particular area, as petitioner suggests;

petitioner knew that the spillage was there and in fact

cleaned the area (R. 174, 176) but did the work so negli-

gently that a residue of a bushel or two remained (R. 176,

130-131, 147-148) and caused the accident. Petitioner’s

negligence was aciive misfeasance; it left a residue of

coal in an area adjacent to an open hatch where it was

known that plaintiff would presently have to work and

plaintiff’s injury by falling upon it was the natural and

foreseeable result of petitioner’s negligence.

Petitioner's claim that in this situation plaintiff—and

through him, respondent—was negligent in not ceasing

the work and insisting upon petitioner coming back to this

area and doing a proper job, was not established to the

satisfaction of the trier of the facts. There is no assurance

that it would have done any good for plaintiff to complain

to petitioner for petitioner’s first officer in charge of the

dome wae

ea

15

work already knew that his crew had done a poor job

and had left some spillage in the area (R. 176) and he had

accepted it apparently because he couldn’t control them—

‘I couldn’t force them to clean it’’ he said. (R. 176.) In

any event, a prime and factual difficulty with petitioner’s

theory predicated upon plaintiff’s negligence, is that plain-

tiff’s negligence was not established; as stated by peti-

tioner at the top of Page 11 of its brief, it is manifest that

the jury concluded that plaintiff was not negligent. The

Courts below which denied petitioner’s application to set

aside that verdict and dismissed petitioner's complaint

against respondent, obviously agreed. When plaintiff

started his brief work in this area he was unexpectedly

confronted with a situation which he had never encountered

before; on all previous occasions this area had been cleaned

of spillage when he came to it. (R. 73, 130-131, 148),—now

he unexpectedly found coal there (R. 130-131, 147-148);

not much, perhaps only a bushel or two (R. 176), but some

coal was there and he realized that it created a dangerous

situation for him. (R. 126.) Upon being confronted with

this unexpected emergency he figured that he could shove

the dangerous coal away with his foot, and that is what

he did. (R. 123, 76.) While so engaged, he slipped and fell.

(R. 123.) How critically to judge the snap judgment and

conduct of a person in endeavoring to extricate himself

from an emergency into which the negligence of another

has injected him is peeuliarly within the province of the

trier of the facts. The Courts below concluded that plain-

tiff and respondent whom he represented were not negli-

gent.

It accordingly appears that petitioner failed to prove

the facts of his alleged cause of action and that in econ-

sequence no substantial question of law arises. Petitioner

failed to prove that plaintiff's injury and petitioner’s loss

ee ee

~~

Bain: SP aes ee Sted SP ate REN al ON etna Sealand ORRIN AL Sipe Sect NAS Micha De ESD NN

16

were caused by any breach of duty on the part of respond-

ent; it appeared on the contrary that the cause of plain-

tiff’s injury and of petitioner’s loss was petitioner’s active

misfeasance. Under the circumstances indemnity is not

indicated and was properly denied in the Courts below.

Conclusion

The transcript of record fails to show that the judg-

ment sought to be reviewed is the judgment of the highest

Court of the state in which a decision could be had and,

accordingly, fails to present a matter within the jurisdic-

tion of this Court.

On the merits, it appears that this is not a case of gen-

eral application or interest. It is not a general stevedoring

situation. It is a special circumstance case arising from a

special arrangement and co-operation between carrier and

eargo owner for the purpose of effecting expeditious un-

loading. The decision of the Courts below is based upon

petitioner’s failure to prove the facts of its case rather

than upon decision of any federal question of substance

and is not shown to be at variance with any decisions of

this Court.

The application for writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

HAROLD J. ADAMS,

Counsel for Third-Party Defendant-Respondent,

705 Walbridge Building,

Buffalo 2, New York.

Argtuer E. Orrex,

Of Counsel,

1106 Prudential Building,

Buffalo 2, New York.

Peet cae

es

15

work already knew that his crew had done a poor job

and had left some spillage in the area (R. 176) and he had

accepted it apparently because he couldn’t control them—

‘IT couldn’t force them to clean it’’ he said. (R. 176.) In

any event, a prime and factual difficulty with petitioner’s

theory predicated upon plaintiff’s negligence, is that plain-

tiff’s negligence was not established; as stated by peti-

tioner at the top of Page 11 of its brief, it is manifest that

the jury concluded that plaintiff was not negligent. The

Courts below which denied petitioner's application to set

aside that verdict and dismissed petitioner’s complaint

against respondent, obviously agreed. When plaintiff

started his brief work in this area he was unexpectedly

confronted with a situation which he had never encountered

before ; on all previous oceasions this area had been cleaned

of spillage when he came to it. (R. 73, 130-131, 148),—now

he unexpectedly found coal there (R. 130-131, 147-148) ;

not much, perhaps only a bushel or two (R. 176), but some

coal was there and he realized that it created a dangerous

situation for him. (R. 126.) Upon being confronted with

this unexpected emergency he figured that he could shove

the dangerous coal away with his foot, and that is what

he did. (R. 123, 76.) While so engaged, he slipped and fell.

(R. 123.) How critically to judge the snap judgment and

conduct of a person in endeavoring to extricate himself

from an emergency into which the negligence of another

has injected him is peculiarly within the province of the

trier of the facts. The Courts below concluded that plain-

tiff and respondent whom he represented were not negli-

gent.

It accordingly appears that petitioner failed to prove

the facts of his alleged eause of action and that in con-

sequence no substantial question of law arises. Petitioner

failed to prove that plaintiff's injury and petitioner’s loss

j

2

{

;

Biatraieinun =

|

were caused by any breach of duty on the part of respond-

ent; it appeared on the contrary that the cause of plain-

tiff’s injury and of petitioner’s loss was petitioner’s active

misfeasance. Under the circumstances indemnity is not

indicated and was properly denied in the Courts below.

Conclusion

The transcript of record fails to show that the judg-

ment sought to be reviewed is the judgment of the highest

Court of the state in which a decision could be had and,

accordingly, fails to present a matter within the jurisdic-

tion of this Court.

On the merits, it appears that this is not a case of gen-

eral application or interest. It is not a general stevedoring

situation. It is a special circumstance case arising from a

special arrangement and co-operation between carrier and

eargo owner for the purpose of effecting expeditious un-

loading. The decision of the Courts below is based upon

petitioner’s failure to prove the facts of its case rather

than upon decision of any federal question of substance

and is not shown to be at variance with any decisions of

this Court.

The application for writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

HAROLD J. ADAMS,

Counsel for Third-Party Defendant-Respondent,

705 Walbridge Building,

Buffalo 2, New York.

Artuur E, Ortex,

Of Counsel,

1106 Prudential Building,

Buffalo 2, New York.

Appendix

PROVISIONS OF NEW YORK CIVIL PRACTICE ACT.

See. 588. Appeal as of right.

Appeal to the court of appeals as of right lies only

1. from a judginent or order of the appellate division,

provided that the judgment finally determine an ac-

tion, or the order finally determine a special pro-

ceeding, and provided further that

(a) there be directly involved the construction of

the constitution of the state or of the United States;

or

(b) the action or proceeding was originally com-

meneed in the supreme court, a county court, a sur-

rogate’s court, the court of claims, or an administra-

tive agency, and

(i) one or more justices of the appellate division

dissent from its decision: or

(ii) the appellate division direct a reversal or modi-

fication of the judgment or order appealed from;

to

from a final judgment or order of the court of original

instance, entered following a determination by the

appellate division specified in section five hundred and

ninety of this act, subject to the same limitations as

prescribed in subdivision one hereof; and from a judg-

ment or order of the appellate division affirming such

a judgment or order:

3. from an order of the appellate division granting a

new trial or hearing, or affirming an order granting

a new trial or hearing, in an action or special pro-

ceeding originally commenced in the supreme court, a

county court, a surrogates court, the court of claims,

SS et els Key Site

aan ee ee

oth atte er Wee OR AIel Mr

Baireaantlk ee ee Ane an

18

or an administrative agency, where the appellant stipu-

lates that, upon affirmance, judgment or order absolute

shall be rendered against him; and upon such appeal

the court of appeals shall affirm and render judgment

or order absolute against the appellant unless it de-

termines that the appellate division erred as a matter

of law in granting the new trial or hearing;

from a judgment of a court of record of original juris-

diction which finally determines an action or an order

of such court which finally determines a special pro-

ceeding, where the only question involved on the appeal

is the validity of a statutory provision of the state or

of the United States under the constitution of the state

or of the United States; and on any such appeal only

the constitutional question shall be considered and de-

termined by the court.

See. 589. Appeal by permission.

Appeal to the court of appeals by permission lies only

1.

by permission of the appellate division, and not other-

wise,

(a) from a judgment or order of the appellate di-

vision which does not finally determine the action or

special proceeding in which it is entered, and

(b) from a judgment or order of the appellate di-

vision in an action or a special proceeding which was

originally commenced in a court other than the supreme

court, a county court, a surrogate’s court, or the court

of claims, unless the construction of the constitution

of the state or of the United States is directly in-

volved; and

by permission of the court of appeals upon the ground

that, in its opinion, a question of law is involved which

SST Sa

eee

19

ought to be reviewed by it, and without regard to the

availability of appeal by stipulation for final order

absolute, from an order of the appellate division

in a proceeding instituted by or against one or more

public officers or a board, commission or other body

of public officers or a court or tribunal, other than an

order which finally determines such proceeding; and

either

(a) by permission of the appellate division granted

before application to the court of appeals for per-

mission to appeal, and in case of refusal of such per-

mission, by permission of the court of appeals, or

(b) by permission of the court of appeals upon ap-

plication made directly to that court, from a judgment

or order of the appellate division, or of the court of

original instance, which is not appealable as of right

only beeause it does not comply with provision (a) or

(b) of subdivision one of section five hundred and

eighty-eight of this act.

(a) The appeals authorized by this section shall be

allowed upon questions of law when required in the

interest of substantial justice: and the appellate di-

vision, when it allows such an appeal, shall certify

that questions of law have arisen which in its opinion

ought to be reviewed by the court of appeals,

(b) In its order allowing an appeal from a judg-

ment or order which does not finally determine an ae-

tion or special proceeding, the appellate division shall

certify the questions of law decisive of the correctness

of its determination or of any separable portion there-

of; and the determination shall then be reviewable in

the court of appeals in the manner prescribed in see-

tions six hundred and three and six hundred and six

20

of this act. The court of appeals shall certify to the

appellate division its answers to the questions certified

and shall direct the entry of the appropriate order or

judgment.

EXCERPT FROM SECTION 193-a(2):

In his answer the third-party defendant may assert

against the plaintiff any defenses which the third-party

plaintiff has to the plaintiff’s claim.

28 UNITED STATES CODE

SECTION 1257.

§ 1257. State Courts; Appeal; Certiorari.

Final judgments or decrees rendered by the highest

court of a State in which a decision could be had, may be

reviewed by the Supreme Court as follows:

1

§

4

j

4

4

n

4

;

;

cium —

rar on

i

7

HAROLD 8. WILLEY ¢

IN THE a. lini f

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1955

No. 753

Brvce Cox,

Plaintiff,

—against—

DvcLctTH Steamsuip Company,

Defendant and Third-Party

Plaintiff-Petitioner,

—against—

ALLIED CuemicaL & Dye CorporaTion-SEMET

Soivay Division, )

Third-Party Defendant- F

Respondent.

es 5

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF f

Joux M. AHERNE ;

Counsel for Petitioner

99 John Street ;

New York 38, N. Y. '

f

BicHaM, Enoiar, Jones & Hovstox

Of Counsel

99 John Street

New York 38, N. Y.

eevee

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.