Petition for A Writ of Certiorari — Sylvania Electric Products, Inc. v. Barker

Supreme Court brief1956

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

In the

Supreme Court of the Bnited States

Octoser Term 1956

No. 644

SYLVANIA ELECTRIC PRODUCTS, INC.,

Petitioner,

V.

IRENE BARKER, Exxcurn.

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

THomas H. Manory,

10 State Street

Boston 8, Massachusetts

Josepnx G. Bryer Attorney for Petitioner

Epwarp F. Manony

Gzorce T. Papua

Of Counsel

Blanchard Pr’ating Company, Boston, Mass. — Law Printers

Opinion below

Jurisdiction __..

ES Oa fae ae ee 2

— / 8 2

„ 8 Be ea ee 3, 36

MN 60g nis Ci so, Ae ae eee 3

Proceedings in the District Court bet

Proceedings in the Cireuit Court of Appeals 8

Reasons for allowing writ 9

1. The decision violates common law principles of

liability for negligence relating to substances

not inherently dangerous, generally recognized

throughout the various states 9

2. The decision applies a statute of limitations to

the causes of action generally recognized as not

— pe ĩͤ ae 12

The decision applies an improper principle in

the permission of fraudulent practices of and

perjury by plaintiffs in personal injury cases 16

The decision applies a principle to life expectancy

and future earnings generally condemned in the

. ᷣ Te ee 16

eee TO Be gad gr SP 17

Appendix A. Opinion of Circuit Court of Appeals 19

Appendix B. Statutes involved ..... sss 36

Appendix C. Report of Harman v. Mitcham Works

Ltd., Supreme Court of Judicature, Court of Ap-

peal, England, June 195 40

Crrations

Massachusetts

Bartlett v. Hall 288 Mass. 532 14, 16

Beausoleil’s Case 321 Mass. 344 16

Bloom v. Warshaw 1954 Mass. Adv. Sh. 881 12

Brophy’s Case 327 Mass. 557 16

ii Index.

Capucci v. Barone

Carter v. Yardley & Co. Lid.

Copithorn v. B. & M. R. R.

Crowley’s Case

DeFelippo’s Case

Deignan v. Lubarsky

Farley v. Tower Co.

Foley v. Boston Consol.

Gas Co.

266 Mass.

319 Mass.

301 Mass.

287 Mass.

284 Mass.

318 Mass.

271 Mass.

1955 Mass. Adv. Sh. 499 12

Gallo v. Leahy 297 Mass. 265

Gauld v. John Hancock

Mutual Life Ins. Co. 329 Mass. 724

Howard v. Lowell Coca-Cola

Bottling Co. 322 Mass. 456

John B. Frey Co. Inc. v.

Silk, Ine. 245 Mass. 534

Lebourdais v. Vitrified

Wheel Co. 194 Mass. 341

Lemieux v. B. & M. R. R. 219 Mass. 299

Maloney v. Brackett 175 Mass. 479

Peterson v. B. & M. R.R. 310 Mass. 45

Smith v. Brown 302 Mass. 432

Sturman v. Davis 321 Mass. 442

Thornhill v. Carpenter-

Morton Co. 220 Mass. 593

Walker v. Benz Kid Co. 279 Mass. 533

England

Harman v. Mitcham Works,

Ltd. See App. C.

Nebraska

Dryden v. Omaha Steel Works 148 Neb. 1

McCall v. Hamilton Co.

Farmers Tel. Assn. 135 Neb. 70

Index.

United States

Fritz v. Pa. Ry. Co. 185 Fed. 2nd 31

Mommand v. Universal Film

Exch. (DC-Mass.) 43 Fed. Sup. 996

Ramsden v. Knowles

(CC-Mass.) 151 Fed. 718

Thompson v. Camp 163 Fed. 2nd 396

Urie v. Thompson 337 U.S. 163

Wetherbee v. Elgin, Joliet &

Eastern Ry. 191 Fed. 2nd 302

Zimmerman v. General Elec-

tric Co. (D.C.-Conn.) 126 Fed. Sup. 690

STaTUTES

Revised Statutes of Nebraska of 1943 (1948 Ed.)

Section 25-201 „

Section 25-207

Section 26-217

Section 30-809

Section 30-810

Chapter 260, § 2

Chapter 260, § 9

In the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

Octroser TERM 1956

No.

SYLVANIA ELECTRIC PRODUCTS, INC.,

Petitioner,

V.

IRENE BARKER, Execurrr,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

Sylvania Electric Products, Inc. prays that a Writ of

Certiorari issue to review the decision and judgment of

the Circuit Court of Appeals for the First Circuit, en-

tered in the above case or cases on December 20, 1955.

Opinion Below

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the First Cireuit (App. A, 19), #4992 and #4993 Ist Cir.

December 20, 1955 is set forth in Appendix A.

— —

ot Joint Record Appendix and Proceedings are cited herein as

2

Jurisdiction

The order of the Circuit Court of Appeals affirming the

judgments of the District Court was entered on December

20, 1955. Upon application of the petitioner, the Circuit

Court of Appeals on January 4, 1956 ordered a stay of

the mandate until further order of that Court and set

February 10, 1956 for the filing of the within petition in

this Court. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

Section 1254 (1) of Title 28, United States Code Annotated.

Questions Presented

1. Can an alleged common law tort feasor manufacturer

of fluorescent glass tubes be charged with knowledge as

of early 1946 that the chemical element beryllium with

which element the tubes were lined, might, by inhalation,

produce a progressively fatal disease of the lungs known

as berylliosis in a person working on such tubes when no

such disease was known, no such dangerous characteristic

was suspected, and there was no such common knowledge

and no such information in the possession of physicians,

chemists or other scientists prior to late 1947, so as to

fix liability upon it for negligent failure to warn of such

danger?

2. Can the statute of limitations relating to Employ-

ers Liability cases under the Workmen’s Compensation

Statute of a state where an injury occurs be applied to a

personal injury case based upon common law negligence

of that same state in a trial at common law between a

citizen of that state and a defendant of a different state

in the United States District Court sitting in the latter

state whose statute of limitations covering common law

actions is entirely different?

3. Can a plaintiff suffering personal injuries be per-

mitted by perjuring himself successfully to deceive and

defraud one of two courts, for the purpose of obtaining

3

meney and by false statements under oath diametrically

opposed in the two instances profit materially and finan-

cially therefrom in both courts?

4. Can a jury be permitted to consider opinion evidence

from an actuary as to the life expectancy of a person of

the decedent’s age at death and the capitalization of the

alleged gross earning capacity of the decedent during that

life expectancy, where the actuary admits that neither the

life expectancy given nor the earning capacity assumed

would apply to the decedent because he had been bed-

ridden and progressively deteriorating in health for some

years prior to the date and age used as the basis for

the opinion and during the same period of years prior

to death had no earning capacity whatever?

Statutes Involved

The statutes involved are set forth in Appendix B.

Statement

The Proceedings in the District Court

The two actions at law arise out of the same facts.

The first action (No. 4992) was begun in 1950 by Rexford

L. Barker for a tortious personal injury allegedly due

to the inhalation of beryllium while blowing into beryl-

lium coated fluorescent glass tubing manufactured by the

defendant and bought by the deceased’s employer in

Omaha, Nebraska, in 1946, and allegedly causing a beryl-

liosis or pulmonary granulomatosis (JRA, 9-13), The sec-

ond action (No. 4993) was begun in 1954 for the tortious

death of Rexford L. Barker, allegedly resulting in 1954

from the said berylliosis (JRA 24-28). Both actions were

consolidated for trial by order of the court (JRA 41).

The evidence was by way of oral testimony, depositions

and exhibits. Barker began blowing suc’ beryllium coated

tubing as early as 1931 (JRA 66, 73, 81, 111). After a

4

tube was heated he would blow into one end of it and

bend it into the shape of letters for neon signs (JRA,

45-46). In 1941 he, himself, coated the inside of plain

glass tubes with similar fluorescent powders (JRA, 77,

111). The fluorescent powders so used by Barker in coat-

ing tubes and the powders with which the tubes of other

manufacturers were coated prior to 1946 contained beryl-

lium (JRA, 109, 111). From 1939 to 1944 such beryllium

coated tubing, blown by Barker, was supplied by at least

five manufacturers other than the defendant and none

by the defendant (JRA 68-75, 77, 109, 115-117, 123-124).

As early as 1941 Barker was exposed to beryllium (JRA,

173) and as early as 1943 evidenced symptoms of berylli-

osis in that he quickly became short of breath on exertion

and easily fatigued (JRA, 164-165). In 1948 Barker con-

sulted several physicians, among whom was Dr. F. L. Dunn

of Omaha, Nebraska, who finally, after several weeks and

several other diagnoses, diagnosed the condition as beryl-

liosis due to inhalation of beryllium or beryllium oxide

(JRA, 141, 146).

For a few weeks in early 1944, Barker’s employer bought

and used some 4200 feet of the defendant’s tubing during

a period when his employer’s exclusive manufacturer and

supplier (General Electric Company) was troubled by 4

strike (JRA, 76, 79). Other than that short period, General

Electric Company furnished all the coated tubing used

by Barker from early 1944 to 1948 when he quit work—

some 45,000 to 50,000 feet of tubing (JRA, 119, 122).

In 1948 or 1949 Barker brought action under the

Nebraska Workmen’s Compensation Act (JRA, 61-63),

to recover for his total disability from berylliosis, against

his employer in the Nebraska Court, having jurisdiction

thereof. In November, 1949, Barker filed a petition in

that Court for permission to compromise or settle said

claim for total disability in a lump sum, which petition

5

was signed and sworn to by him (JRA, 61-63; Ex. A,

JRA, 258-270). In the said petition, Barker swore that

he had contracted berylliosis in the course of his employ-

ment from exposure to fluorescent powders containing

beryllium (par. I, II, III of Ex. A, JRA, 258-270) and

further averred that his exposure to said occupational

disease was at least 40% contracted and incurred during

a period prior to the time when the Occupational Disease

Statute of Nebraska became effective (agreed upon by

counsel as August 1943), and that at least 40% of his

disability and medical expenses are not covered by said

Statute, and that defendants (employer and insurer) are

therefore not liable for at least 40% of the full benefits

scheduled in said Statute’ (par. III of Ex. A, JRA

259). The Nebraska Court, on December 7, 1949, entered

its decree upon said petition basing it upon specific find-

ings of fact, identical with or substantially identica) with

the said sworn statement of Barker (Ex. B, par. 3, JRA,

270-281). The Court also found as a fact that Barker

was („fully informed in the premises and is acting solely

upon his own information and upon the advice of his

own counsel after extended and exhaustive consideration

of the entire matter, and is not acting upon any repre-

sentations of the defendants or any of their representa-

tives“ (par. XXI of Ex. B, JRA, 270-281). The Nebraska

Court thereupon entered the said decree granting Barker’s

petition against his employer and the employer’s compen-

sation insurance carrier, for the cash payment of $3,750.00

and certain obligations as to future payments (Ex. B;

JRA, 280-281).

Thereafter Barker made claim against General Elec-

trie Company for the same permanent total disability

claiming that its coated tubing was the cause or a cause

of his disability. In May 1950, Barker executed a release

of all liability to General Electric Company for $17,500.00

6

(JRA, 86-90; Ex. C., JRA, 281-283). This release, while

in some respects resembling a covenant not to sue, appears

to be a general release for the disability due to berylli-

osis or a complete satisfaction therefor. It recited that

General Electric Company furnished Barker’s employer

with its products (coated tubes) from July 11, 1944 to

August 20, 1949, that Barker claimed ‘‘to have sustained

injuries and to have become permanently disabled by

reason of contacts and use, in his occupation, of products”

of that company, that Barker desired to settle such claims

as he had against that Company ‘‘and for all damages

that he may sustain or his estate may sustain or the

dependents or next-of-kin . . . may sustain in the event

of his death, as a result of said claimed injuries. He

further released that company for all damages . . on

account of injuries. .. resulting from damage and injury

claimed to have been sustained. . . as hereinbefore set

forth... Barker sought therein to limit the scope of.

the instrument to General Electric Company (Ex. C, JRA,

281-283). Similarly worded releases were simultaneously

signed by Irene L. Barker, individually and as wife of

Rexford L. Barker, in the sum of $2,000.00 (Ex. D, JRA,

283-285) and by Irene L. Barker, as Guardian of their

minor son, James R. Barker, in the sum of $500.00 (Ex. E,

JRA, 286-288).

Upon chemical analysis, made in 1951, of one of the

defendant’s tubes furnished in 1946, but not a tube used

by Barker, it appeared that there was but 87/100 of 1%

(0.0087) of beryllium in the coating of the tube (JRA,

128-129).

Dr. F. L. Dunn, over objection, testified that R. L. Barker

was substantially bedridden from September 1948 and

died as a result of heart failure or lung failure on Septem-

ber 12, 1952 (JRA, 150). At no time did he express the

opinion nor was there any other evidence that the de

7

fendant’s tubes were an adequate cause for the berylli-

osis or that any particular amount of beryllium or of

tubing with 0.0087 beryllium was adequate (JRA 145,

156, 157, 160-162, 164).

Dr. F. L. Dunn also testified, that in 1948 Barker told

him that he could not mow the lawn in 1943 as well as

in 1942 and that he found himself short of breath; that

in his opinion shortness of breath and fatigue were sympto-

matic of berylliosis at that time (JRA 165); that once

beryllium crystals got into the lungs they remained there

and that berylliosis developed progressively thereafter

(JRA 162, 166), the objective symptoms possibly not

appearing for several years thereafter (JRA, 166-167);

that Barker told him that he himself coated fluorescent

tubes in 1941 (and had been exposed to inhalation of beryl-

lium from 1941 on) (JRA, 173); and that the crystals

found in Barker’s lungs were not known to be beryllium

(JRA, 167-169).

Dr. Dunn further testified without any contradiction

that Barker’s was the first and apparently the only case

of berylliosis in Nebraska up to late 1948, the only one

that he knew of anywhere, (JRA, 165-166) and one which

took him some 16 weeks so to diagnose (JRA, 140-141,

169-172). There was no testimony that any similar case

had occurred anywhere in the world previously,

The trial court, over the defendant’s objections (JRA

133-135) permitted an actuary, John Boermeester, called

by the plaintiff, to testify in the death case, that a man

born on May 24, 1910, (the date of Barker’s birth) would,

on Septembér 12, 1952 when he died, have a life

expectancy of 28.1 years and that the then present value

of $6,000.00 (gross annual earnings) as of the date of

death for such life expectancy would be $114,534.00. No

caution was given to the jury by the court as to these

two items as was required under the circumstances.

8

In cross-examination, he testified that this life ex-

pectancy had no reference to Barker, who was a bed-

ridden invalid with a serious, progressive and fatal disease

of some four years prior to his death (JRA, 136-137) and

that the capitalized assumed earnings had no applicability,

because for the same four years, prior to his death Barker

had been totally incapacitated to earn anything (JRA, 197).

Motion was made to strike this evidence unsuccessfully

(JRA 211).

The defendant, except for the introduction of Exhibits

A, B, C, and D, rested at the conclusion of the plaintiff's

evidence (JRA, 198, 211) and duly moved in writing in

each case for a directed verdict in its favor, which motions

were denied subject to its exceptions (JRA, 241-244).

The jury returned a verdict for the plaintiff upon the

personal injury action for $30,498.00 and in the death

action for $61,750.00 (JRA, 250).

Thereafter, the defendant duly filed a motion in each

case for the entry of judgment n.o.v. and for a new trial

under Rule 50 (b) which motions were also denied (JRA,

251-253).

The Proceedings in the Circuit Court of Appeals

The cases presented upon appeal to the Cireuit Court

of Appeals were based upon (1) the denial of the two

motions for the direction of verdicts in its favor, (2) the

denial of the two motions for judgment for ihe defendant

n.o.v. and for new trial, (3) the admission and failure to

strike Boermeester’s testimony, and (4) thé instructions

given to the jury and the failure to give requested instrue-

tions.

The Cireuit Court of Appeals affirmed the judgments of

the District Court.

9

Reasons for Allowing the Writ

1. The decision of the Cireuit Court of Appeals with

reference to ex post facto knowledge of a conditionally

dangerous substance, conflicts with the common law prin-

ciple of negligence as a cause of action for personal in-

jury in every common law state in the United States and

particularly in the United States District Courts hereto-

fore applying such law. If allowed to stand, it will invite

in future trials the application of the principle of ex post

facto responsibility and the principle of nunc pro tunc

knowledge to attribute later acquired information to

earlier and non-negligent lack of knowledge. Neither one

of these principles should be permitted to be applied to

such a case and the decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals

ought not to be permitted to stand as a justification there-

for.

The Cireuit Court of Appeals in substance holds that,

admitting there was no evidence whatever of any actual

knowledge chargeable to the defendant in early 1946 (App.

A, 26), when it made and sold its tubes to the plaintiff’s

employer, that beryllium oxide if inhaled might produce

(what doctors late in 1947 and early 1948 concluded to

be and named as) berylliosis, nevertheless, because it was

determined by a post mortem examination in 1952—for

the first time in history, so far as the evidence goes—that

beryllium inhaled into the lungs could produce berylliosis

the defendant was presumed to have such knowledge in

1946 (App. A, 27). :

Thornhill v. Carpenter Morton Co., (1915) 220 Mass.

993, cited by the Circuit Court of Appeals as authority

for this proposition, is, in fact, no such authority. This

ease dealt with varnish stains containing volatile oil, ben-

zine and petroleum products all of which ingredients were

held to be commonly known to be dangerous. So too as to

10

Farley v. Tower, (1930) 271 Mass. 230 also cited. It dealt

with pyroxyloid or celluloid, compounds of cellulose and

nitric acid or gun cotton also held to be commonly known

to be dangerous. Carter v. Yardley d Co. Lid., (1946) 319

Mass. 92 dealt with a manufacturer who, admittedly, did

not know all of the ingredients used in the skin lotion

which it made and sold. So far as the manufacturer was

concerned, he took no steps to see that any known skin

poison or irritant was not used.

The case at bar is entirely different. Sylvania Electric

Products, Inc. knew that it was using beryllium. It did

not know, and had no reason to know that beryllium was

inherently dangerous or conditionally dangerous and there

was no evidence that any manufacturer of such tubes or

anybody else had or should have such knowledge.

The law of Massachusetts applicable to the two cases

which was not applied in either court below and which,

it is submitted, is the ecmmon law doctrine in all states

following the common law doctrine of negligence, provides

that to be classified as inherently dangerous a substance

must be ‘‘commonly recognized’’ or known to be such.

In the case of Lebourdais v. Vitrified Wheel Co., 194 Mass.

341, the Court in discussing this subject on page 343 said:

„ . . where by reason of its nature the article sold

is commonly recognized as intrinsically dangerous to

life or property, among which gunpowder, nitro-

glycerine and other highly explosive compounds,

naphtha and poisonous drugs are some familiar ex-

amples, if the seller without notice of their dangerous

or noxious qualities delivers them to a customer or

to a carrier who is ignorant of these properties, he

is liable not only to him, but to others to whom while

in the exercise of reasonable care they are the proxi-

mate cause of injury .. .’’

11

This common law doctrine was applied in the only case

of berylliosis found by counsel involving such issue

Harman v. Mitcham Works Lid., (1955) Supreme Court

of Judicature, Court of Appeal, England, not yet in the

reports, but reproduced herein as Appendix C.

The Harman case involved a manufacturer of beryllium

coated tubes and an employee who contracted berylliosis

while making such tubes, It is very similar to the case

at bar so far as concerns the issues herein discussed. The

court ruled that the chemical element beryllium was not

shown to be and was not in fact inherently dangerous;

that the defendant manufacturer was not chargeable with

knowledge as of July 1947, when it manufactured the

tubes in question, by reason of any actual or imputed

knowledge or of available information that beryllium was

conditionally dangerous when used to coat the inside of

fluorescent glass tubes; that such knowledge or information

was not available to che industry generally until late in

1947; and that in the absence of such knowledge, at the

time of manufacture the defendant manufacturer could

not be found to be negligent.

It is submitted that this is the common law principle

applicable to the case at bar and that the decision of

the Cireuit Court of Appeals, in seeking to apply a different

rule, violates the precedent established in every common

law jurisdiction as well as reason and justice.

The burden of proof of such negligence under the appli-

cable Massachusetts law was upon the plaintiff and there

was no burden upon the defendant to disprove negligence.

Peterson v. B & M RR, (1941) 310 Mass. 45; Smith v.

Brown, (1939), 302 Mass. 432; Copithorn v. B & M RR,

(1938), 301 Mass. 510.

The principle of res ipsa loquitur does not apply nor

does the burden of proof or the burden of going forward

with evidence shift to the defendant as suggested by the

12

Cireuit Court of Appeals (App. A, 27). Foley v. Boston

Consol. Gas. Co., 1955 Mass, Adv. Sh. 499; Bloom v.

Warshaw, 1954 Mass. Adv. Sh. 881; Walker v. Benz Kid

Co., (1932) 279 Mass. 533. See also Gauld v. John Han-

cock Mut. Life Ins. Co., (1953) 329 Mass. 724; Howard v.

Lowell Coca Cola Bottling Co., (1948) 322 Mass. 456;

Sturman v. Davis, (1947) 321 Mass. 442; Deignan v. Lubar-

sky, (1945) 318 Mass. 661; Gallo v. Leahy, (1937) 297

Mass, 265.

It is extremely important that the decision of the Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals, therefore, be reviewed and the law

applicable to the cases brought into conformity with that

of all common law jurisdiction throughout the country.

2. The decision in applying the Statute of Limitations

of Nebraska (limited to cases under its Workmen’s Com-

pensation Statute) to a common law negligence action

brought in the United States District Court for the Dis-

trict of Massachusetts violates the principle of Conflict

of Laws, not only as applied in Massachusetts but in

many if not all of the States, viz—that the Statute of

Limitations of the forum State applies to the issue of

seasonability of such an action. This decision ignores or

repudiates the law of such States and, unless overruled,

will complicate future trials in every court in which an

issue of such conflict arises.

Under Conflict of Laws principles generally applied and

particularly as applied in Massachusetts the law of the

forum or State in which the United States District Court

sits controls the trial on procedural matters including the

statute of limitations applicable to the cause of action.

Mommand v. Universal Film Exch., (D.C.-Mass. 43 Fed.

Sup. 996; Ibid (CCA Ist, 1948) 172 Fed. 2nd, 37; Ramsden

v. Knowles, (C.C. Mass., 1906) 151 Fed. 718; Ibid (CCA Ist,

1906) 151 Fed. 721, cert. denied 206 U.S. 562.

The Massachusetts Statute, General Laws, Tercen. Ed.,

13

C. 260, § 2, in force where the complaint was filed there-

fore, applied to the personal injury case directly and

indirectly to the death case. It provided generally that

the period of limitation for a negligently caused personal

injury action expired six years from the date it accrued

(App. B, 38-39).

Section 9 thereof further limited this period by pro-

viding that ‘‘no action shall be brought by any person

upon a cause of aetion which was barred by the laws of

any state or country while he resided therein“ (App. B).

The Nebraska Statute—Rev. Stats. 1943 Sect. 25.207—in

effect during the period involved, limited a cause of

action for negligence to four years after the occurrence

giving rise to it (App. B, 39).

The Cireuit Court of Appeals, erroneously, it is sub-

mitted held that the Nebraska Statute of Limitations re-

lating to Statutory Workmen’s Compensation applied to

the cases at bar. Its decision is likely to prejudicially

affect actions tried hereafter in any State other than

that in which a cause of action arises. It erred (1) in that

it held that General Laws (Ter. Ed.) c. 260 § 9 of the

Massachusetts statute incorporated an entire Nebraska

Statute of Limitations whereas it merely further limited

its own period, (2) in that it held that the Nebraska Statute

of Limitations affecting tortious personal injury claims

at common law incorporated that of the Nebraska Work-

men’s Compensation Act applicable only to cases brought

thereunder and (3) in that it held that the Massachusetts

statute of limitations would be presumed to do likewise

(App. A, 23-25).

That § 9 of the Massachusetts Statute was but a further

limitation of its own provisions and not an incorporation

of other terms of the Nebraska Statute is clear from

reading it with General Laws (Ter. Ed.) c. 260 6 2. Under

it the cause of action for common law negligence acerues

14

and the time from which the statute begins to run, is at

the time when the first act occurs which sets in motion

a series of events which result in the alleged injury. It

is immaterial under Massachusetts law whether the effects

of that act are known or even anticipated at that time.

Bartlett v. Hall, (1932) 288 Mass. 532; Maloney v. Brackett,

(1931) 275 Mass. 479; Capucci v. Barone, (1929) 266 Mass.

578. See also as to beryllium exposure Zimmerman v.

Gen. El. Co. et al, (D.C.-Conn.-1954), 126 Fed. Supp. 690.

The Circuit Court of Appeals ruled that the Nebraska

Statute of Limitations applicable solely to Workmen’s

Compensation cases brought thereunder in Nebraska does

not begin to run until an employee acquires ‘‘ knowledge

of a compensable disability’? (App. A, 25). The case the

Court cites as authority therefor—Dryden v. Omaha Steel

Works, (1947) 148 Neb. 1 was a case brought under the

Workmen’s Compensation Act, as were all the cases

similarly cited to that Court by the appellee-plaintiff. The

Circuit Court of Appeals thereupon gratuitously assumes

that in the absence of evidence to the contrary the same

rule would be applied to common law negligence actions

in Nebraska (App. A, 27) and applies that principle to the

case, and in effect incorporates it into the Massachusetts

Statute of Limitations.

There is, however, a vast difference between the philoso-

phy underlying Workmen’s Compensation Acts and cases

thereunder on the one hand and common law torts on the

other. The basic principle underlying Workmen’s Com-

pensation Acts is social justice—the obligation of society

or a portion thereof—an industry—to care for its em-

ployees and to compensate them for disability received

in the industry wholly apart from any question of negli-

gence, contributory negligence, assumption of risk, ete.

It is proper that under these circumstances and in such

15

field the discovery of the compensable disease or disability

should start the period for limitation for legal action.

The case of Urie v. Thompson, (1949) 337 U.S. 163 cited

by the Cireuit Court of Appeals was a Federal Employers

Liability Act case which held that ‘disabling disease

caused in violation of the act was compensable as well as

a physical injury.

On the other hand the underlying theory or philoso-

phy of common law negligently caused personal injury

is retributive justice—the obligation to compensate for a

wrong done to another. The law enforcing such an obli-

gation rightly provides that there must not only be a

breach of duty, but—in Massachusetts and Nebraska—the

injured party must also be free of contributory negligence

and must not have voluntarily assumed the risk of injury.

The decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals in this

respect, again, is certain to affect and prejudice many

future trials throughout the country unless corrected to

conform to the law as generally applied in t' e various

States.

The court also erred, and prejudicially to the same

extent in holding that not only would it assume that

Nebraska Courts would apply this Workmen’s Compen-

sation Law principle to common law torts sued on in

Nebraska but that Massachusetts Courts would do like-

wise.

In Massachusetts the law of Massachusetts is not assumed

to be the same as that of Nebraska in the absence of evi-

dence to the contrary, as the Circuit Court of Appeals

seems to assert (App. A, 31) but the law of Nebraska is

assumed to be the same as that of Massachusetts. John

B. Frey Co. Inc. v. Silk Inc., (1923) 245 Mass. 534;

Lemieux v. B & M RR, (1914) 219 Mass, 399.

The Massachusetts Courts apply to Workmen’s Com-

pensation Law cases substantially the same principle as

16

Nebraska. Brophy’s Case, (1951) 327 Mass. 557; Beau-

soleil’s Case (1947) 321 Mass. 344; Crowley’s Case, (1934)

287 Mass. 367; DeFelippo’s Case, (1933) 284 Mass. 531.

They do not apply this same principle to common law

torts. Bartlett v. Hall, (1934) 288 Mass. 532; Maloney v.

Brackett, (1931) 275 Mass. 479; Capucci v. Barone, (1929)

266 Mass. 578.

3. The decision which in effect permits a plaintiff liti-

gant, by means of sworn testimony to persuade a Nebraska

Court in 1949 to award him Workmen’s Compensation

for disability by way of occupational disease beginning as

early as 1943 and contracted through exposure to beryllium

prior to August 1943, and by directly contradictory sworn

testimony to persuade a jury in Massachusetts in 1954 to

award him damages for a common law personal injury

cause of action by repudiation of his sworn statement: to

the Nebraska Court as false, known to be false and made

solely to deceive that Court into awarding him money,

establishes a most dangerous principle in the law of torts.

It capitalizes dishonesty and fraud upon the courts and

ought to be seriously considered by this Court before it

is permitted to be adopted and followed generally.

4. The decision permits an actuary’s opinion as to the

life expectancy of a man of the decedent’s age as of the

date of his death and a capitalization of an alleged gross

earning capacity as of that date for that life expectancy.

In so doing it violates the rules heretofore generally

applied in the State Courts and United States Courts

(1) that such evidence is wholly improper and inadmissible

if it is not related specifically to the life expectancy of

the decedent, Wetherbee v. Elgin etc. Ry. Co., (CCA 7th)

191 Fed. 2nd, 302, 311; Fritz v. Pa. Ry. Co., (CCA Tth)

185 Fed. 2nd, 31, 36; Thompson v. Camp, (CCA 6th) 163

Fed. 2nd, 396, 403; (2) that anticipated benefits to the

statutory beneficiaries and not the gross earnings of the

17

deceased are the criteria of such a capitalization, Wether-

bee v. Elgin, Joilet & Eastern Ry., (CCA 7th-1951), 191

Fed. 2nd, 302; (3) that the capacity to earn which is

assumed must be evidenced by an earning capacity upon

the date taken for the capitalization and (4) that the

court must caution the jury upon these matters, Wetherbee

v. Elgin etc. Ry. Co., (CCA 7th) 191 Fed, 2nd, 302, 311;

Fritz v. Pa. Ry. Co., (CCA 7th) 185 Fed. 2nd, 31, 36;

Thompson v. Camp, (CCA 6th) 163 Fed. 2nd, 396, 403.

The decision, ought not, therefore, be permitted to stand.

It is clear that Boermeester’s capitalization was upon

an improper basis. The charge to the jury confirms this.

The court instructed the jury that Barker’s earnings

amounted to $6,000.00 per year and that . She (plaintiff)

is entitled to recover pecuniary losses that resulted from

Barker’s loss of salary, which you now know was $6,000.00

a year“ (JRA, 228.229). Barker deposed that it was

$5980.00 before tax deductions (JRA, 65). So too did his

wife (JRA, 179).

Conclusion

It is submitted that the questions raised herein are

important and require reconsideration to coordinate the

principle of common law and conflict of laws in the various

State Courts and Federal Courts.

Wherefore, your petitioner prays that a writ of certiorari

issue under the seal of this Court, directed to the Court

of Appeals for the First Cireuit, commanding said Court

to certify and send to this Court a full and complete

transcript of the record and of the proceedings of said

Court had in the cases numbered and entitled on its docket

nos. 4992 and 4993, Sylvania Electric Products, Inc.

Defendant-Appellant v. Irene Barker, Executrix, Plaintiff-

Appellee, to the end that this cause may be reviewed and

—

18

determined by this Court as provided by the statutes of

the United States; and that the judgment herein of said

Circuit Court of Appeals be revised by this Court, and

for such further relief as to this Court may deem proper.

Dated January 1956.

* Attorney for petitioner

(s) Tuomas H. Manony

Joskrn G. Bryer

Epwarp F. Manony

Georce T. Papua

Of counsel

United States Court of Appeals

For the First Circuit

Nos. 4992 and 4993.

SYLVANIA ELECTRIC PRODUCTS, INC.,

DEFENDANT, APPELLANT,

v.

IRENE BARKER, Execurerm,

PLAINTIFF, APPELLEE.

No. 4994.

IRENE BARKER, Exxcurnm,

PLAINTIFF, APPELLANT,

v.

SYLVANIA ELECTRIC PRODUCTS, INC.,

DEFENDANT, APPELLEE,

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS.

Before Macruver, Chief Judge, and Woopsury and

Hartigan, Circuit Judges.

Thomas H. Mahony for Sylvania Electric Products, Inc.

Peter E. Marchetti and Harry B. Otis, with whom Thomas L.

Mackin and A. Sheppard Taylor were on brief, for Irene Barker,

Executrix.

OPINION OF THE COURT.

December 20, 1955.

Woopsury, Circuit Judge. These three appeals from two

judgments entered on verdicts returned by a jury for the

plaintiff present several questions of law both substantive

and procedural. They arise out of the facts stated below

in the light most favorable to the plaintiff.

20

Irene Barker, the plaintiff and the appellee in Nos. 4992

and 4993, is a citizen of Nebraska and the widow and exee-

utrix by appointment of the appropriate courts of both

Nebraska and Massachusetts of Rexford L. Barker who,

during his lifetime, was also a citizen of Nebraska. The

latter, who will be referred to hereinafter as the decedent,

was a bender of glass tubing used in making neon signs,

and from the mid-1930’s on he was employed in that cap-

acity by Neon Products Company, Inc., of Omaha, Neb-

raska. His work consisted in plugging one end of a glass

tube and blowing into the other end with his mouth to

create pressure in the tube so that it would not kink or

collapse while it was being heated in a gas flame to a

malleable state and bent into the shape desired. It appears

that when a tube cooled and the olower's lips were removed

the heated air in the tube being under pressure blew back

against the blower’s lips, and it would seem to some extent

into the blower’s mouth.

During the early years of the decedent’s employment

only plain glass tubing was used. But starting about 1941

glass tubing coated on the inside with a compound con-

taining beryllium came into use. At first this coating gave

the appearance of having been painted on, and it did not

slough off during the bending process, although it did have

some tendency to flake off after a sign made with such

tubing had burned for a time. During 1944, perhaps to

remedy this defect, a new type of coated tubing came into

use. This tubing was also coated on the inside with a beryl-

lium compound but the coating was powdery and as a result

it had a tendency to slough off during the heating and

bending process. Thus when there was a blow-back the

blower got some of the powder on his lips and in his mouth.

The decedent did no tube blowing in 1945 but worked

outside during that entire year erecting and repairing

signs. He resumed blowing tubes in 1946, and early in that

21

year his employer, while temporarily unable to obtain

tubes from its usual source, General Electric Company—

from which it had bought some forty to fifty thousand feet

of coated tubing from 1944 to 1948—purchased hbout

forty-five hundred feet of beryllium coated tubing manu-

factured by the defendant, Sylvania Electric Products,

Inc., a Massachusetts corporation. All but two or three

hundred feet of this Sylvania tubing was fabricated into

signs in 1946 and the decedent blew most if not all of it.

Late in 1947 the decedent began to notice shortness of

breath and coughing, and early in 1948 he sought medical

assistance. The first two doctors he consulted gave him

no help but later in the year, about November, a third doc-

tor, after a thorough study of the decedent’s symptoms

and medical history and exhaustive laboratory and x-ray

tests, diagnosed the trouble as berylliosis, a chronic disease

of the lungs caused by inhaling particles of beryllium.’

In the meantime, however, in September, the decedent had

had to quit work because of his failing health.

Late in 1948 or early in 1949 the decedent brought an

action against his employer and its insurance carrier in

the appropriate local court in Nebraska to recover under

the Nebraska Workmen’s Compensation Act for his total

disability. In July 1949 he was awarded compensation and

the defendants appealed. In November both he and the

defendants applied to the court jointly for permission

to settle for a lump sum payment of $3,750, and about two

weeks later their petition was approved. The court in its

decree approving the settlement found that the decedent

was ‘‘fully informed in the premises“ and was acting

solely upon his own information and upon the advice of

his own counsel after extended and exhaustive considera-

The jury found specifically that by December Ist, 1948 the dece-

ent knew or should have known that he was suffering from the

22

tion of the entire matter and [was] not acting upon rep-

resentations of the defendants or any of their representa-

tives. And in paragraph III of both the application for

leave to settle and the decree approving the application

it is stated: N

„That plaintiff avers that shortly prior to Septem-

ber, 1948, he contracted an occupational disease known

as berylliosis and consisting of a fibrosis of lung tissue,

resulting from exposure to florescent powders con-

taining beryllium, and that said beryllium poisoning

culminated on or about September 13, 1948 in perma-

nent total disability. That plaintiff stipulates that

his exposure to said occupational disease was at least

40% contracted and incurred during a period prior

to the time when the Occupational Disease Statute of

Nebraska became effective,? and that at least 40%

of his disability and medical expenses are not covered

by said Statute, and that defendants are therefore

not liable for at least 40% of the full benefits scheduled

in said Statute.“

The following year the decedent made a claim against

the General Electric Company to recover damages for the

same total and permanent disability. This claim was

settled in May, 1950, for $17,500 and the parties entered

into an agreement and release which in some respects re-

sembles a covenant not to sue. At any rate it purports

to settle only the decedent’s claim against General Electric

Company and expressly reserves ‘‘all rights, claims and

demands that he may have against other suppliers of ma-

terial to Neon Products Company.“ At the same time the

plaintiff herself, both individually and as guardian of her

minor son, executed similar agreements and releases with

2 Counsel agree that this statute became effective in August 1943.

23

General Electric in consideration of $2,000 and $500 respec-

tively.

Three months later, in August 1950, the decedent brought

suit in the court below under its diversity jurisdiction

against Sylvania Electric Products, Inc., to recover for the

same total and permanent disability. He died on Septem-

ber 12, 1952, before the case was reached for trial and the

action was prosecuted thereafter by his widow in her cap-

acity of executrix. This case on appeal is No. 4992 on our

docket. On February 12, 1954, the executrix also brought

suit against the defendant in the same court under the

Nebraska death statute and this case on appeal bears our

docket number 4993. The actions were consolidated below

for trial by jury, the jury returned verdicts for the plain-

tiff, and the defendant thereupon took the present appeals

from the judgments entered on the verdicts. After the

judgments were entered the plaintiff moved that interest

be added to the amount of each judgment calculated at six

per cent from the dates of the respective writs. These

motions were denied and the plaintiff appealed but later

abandoned her appeal in the death case. Her appeal in the

personal injury case is No. 4994.

Sylvania Electric Products, Inc., as appellant, contends

that the application under oath for permission to settle

the Nebraska workmen’s compensation case for a lump sum

payment, and the Nebraska court’s decree thereon, estab-

lish conclusively that the decedent had and knew that he

had berylliosis at least as early as Angust 1943. It rests

three arguments on this contention. First, it says that its

fault, if any, could not be causal, for none of its tubing

was used by the decedent’s employer until 1946. Second,

it says that the decedent’s cause of action for personal

injuries prosecuted after his death by the plaintiff as exec-

utrix is barred by the Nebraska four-year statute of limita-

tions (Rev. Stats. of Neb. 1943 (1948 Ed.) § 25-207) which

24

applies because of the provision in the Massachusetts

statute of limitations (General Laws, Ch. 260 § 9) that,

‘no action shall be brought by any person upon a cause of

action which was barred by the laws of any state or country

while he resided therein.“ And third, it says that the

statutory bar to the maintenance of the action for personal

injuries also bars the death action, because the Nebraska

death statute provides that the cause of action for wrongful

death permits such actions only if the party fatally injured

could have maintained an action and recovered damages

had he lived.

We do not pause to consider these arguments in detail

for the foundation upon which they rest is unsound. The

judgment of the Nebraska court in the workmen’s com-

pensation case is not binding here under the doctrine of

res judicata because that was a suit against different de-

fendants—the decedent’s employer and its insurance car-

rier. Nor does the joint application for leave to settle the

compensation case for a lump sum payment require the

finding that the decedent was suffering from berylliosis

prior to 1943. The statement quoted above from the appli-

cation signed by the decedent is that his exposure to beryl-

liosis began prior to 1943, but that he did not contract the

disease until ‘‘shortly prior to September, 1948.’’ This is

not a statement that he was suffering, and knew thai he

was suffering, from berylliosis before 1943. But, even if it

could be construed as a statement to that effect, it would

not conclusively bind the plaintiff. So construed it would

be admissible as a prior contradictory statement but as

such its only use would be to detract from the credibility of

the decedent’s contradictory statements in his deposition

put into evidence at the trial. It would also be admissible

as a declaration against interest. As such it might indicate

affirmatively that the decedent had contracted berylliosis

prior to 1943. Still it would constitute at the most only

25

contradictory evidence which the jury could reject in favor

of the evidence tending to show that the decedent’s beryl-

liosis did not manifest itself until sometime late in 1947

or early in 1948, although insofar as it was caused by the

defendant’s tubing it must have been caused sometime in

1946.

This raises the question of when the decedent’s cause of

action accrued under the law of Nebraska. For if it accrued

prior to August 1946 his action for personal injuries

brought in August 1950 is barred by the Nebraska four-

year statute of limitations which applies because of the

provision of the Massachusetts statute of limitations cited

above.

Undoubtedly the decedent was exposed to the beryllium

in the defendant’s tubes before August 1946. But so far as

the evidence in the record is concerned, he was similarly

exposed after that date. But the question of the precise

time when the decedent actually contracted the disease

from which he died need not detain us, for what apparently

controls under the Nebraska law is the time when the de-

cedent knew that he had the disease. The Nebraska court

has repeatedly held in workmen’s compensation cases that

the statutory period within which such actions must be

brought does not begin to run until the employee acquires

knowledge of a compensable disability, see the recent case

of Dryden v. Omaha Steel Works, 148 Neb. 1 (1947), and

from this we assume, in the absence of authority to the

contrary, that it would apply the same liberal rule in ac-

tions of tort like the present. See Urie v. Thompson,

Trustee, 337 U.S. 163 (1949). Thus, since the jury found

specially that the decedent did not know that he had beryl-

liosis until the first of December 1948, it follows that his

personal injury action was not barred by the Nebraska

four-year statute of limitations.

We turn now to the question of the sufficiency of the

evidence to support the verdicts for the plaintiff.

There was evidence from which the jury could reason-

ably find that the decedent without knowing it contracted

berylliosis in 1946, that his disease was caused in part by

blowing tubes during that year manufactured by the defen-

dant, that his disease manifested itself late in 1947 or early

in 1948, that the decedent became totally incapacitated by

it in mid-September 1948, that his disease was not diag-

nosed until some two months later, and that after its onset

it progressed gradually until it caused the decedent’s death

on September 12, 1952.

We may assume that the defendant either knew or onght

to have known the uses to which its beryllium coated tubes

would be put, the method commonly used in fabricating

them for their intended purpose, and that in their fabrica-

tion beryllium particles would be deposited on the work-

men’s lips and in their mouths. But neither the plaintiff

nor the defendant introduced any evidence that in 1946

the defendant knew or was chargeable with knowledge that

inhalation of beryllium was dangerous to health. Indeed,

it would seem from Harman v. Mitcham Works, Lid., de-

cided by the Supreme Court of Judicature, Court of Appeal,

on June 21, 1955, that it may not have been until after 1946

that any one had any occasion whatever to believe that in-

halation of beryllium particles would cause chronic disease

of the lungs. Is this lack of direct evidence in the record

that the defendant either knew or at least ought to have

suspected that beryllium posed a danger to health fatal

to the plaintiff’s cases?

The nature and extent of the defendant’s liability as the

manufacturer of the coated neon tubing involved is, under

well established principles, determined by the law of Neb-

raska where the decedent’s injury occurred. And, it seems

very evident fro a the citation and quotation in Driekosen

27

v. Black, Swalls and Bryson, 159 Neb. 531 (1945), from

§§ 388, 390, and 392 of the Restatement, Torts, vol. II, that

the substantive rule in Nebraska is that a manufacturer

is liable to a person injured by his product only when the

manufacturer either knows, or from facts known to him

should realize, that his product is, or is likely to be, danger-

ous for the use for which it is supplied. The question re-

mains whether proof of this knowledge of actual danger

or realization of possible danger is an essential part of a

plaintiff’s affirmative case, or whether lack of such knowl-

edge or realization is a matter for the manufacturer to

show in defense.

In Massachusetts the rule seems to be that every manu-

facturer is presumed to know the nature and qualities of

his products.* Thornhill v. Carpenter-Morton Co., 220 Mass.

593 (1915); see Farley v. Tower, 271 Mass. 230 (1930);

and Carter v. Yardley, 319 Mass. 92 (1946) does not indi-

cate to the contrary. Thus, once a plaintiff establishes in

a Massachusetts court that a manufacturer-defendant’s

product is dangerous in its ordinary use, and that no

warning of its danger was given, a presumption of the

defendant’s knowledge of the danger arises, and this pre-

sumption with, of course, proof of causation and injury,

completes the plaintiff’s p~ima facie case. Hence in Massa-

chusetts it is up to a manufacturer-defendant to come for-

ward, if it can, with exculpatory evidence of its faultless

ignorance of the dangers of its product to those who might

use it. But does this Massachusetts rule of presumptive

knowledge apply in the case at bar or must we Inok to Neb-

raska’s rule, whatever its rule may be?

The question posed lies in the field of conflict of laws.

28

Thus, in accordance with the views expressed in Judge

Magruder’s opinion in Sampson v. Channell, 110 F. 2d 754

(C.A.1, 1940), cert. den. 310 U.S. 650, endorsed in Palmer v.

Hoffman, 318 U.S. 109 (1943), we refer to the conflicts rule

in Massachusetts for the answer, for our choice of law

must conform to the choice which would be made by the

Supreme Judicial Court of that Commonwealth.

We cannot be sure what conflicts rule the Massachusetts

courts would apply in the exact situation presented since

we have found no Massachusetts case in point. Nevertheless

we think the highest Massachusetts court would choose its

own rule of presumptive knowledge as applicable in the

case at bar in conformity with the general rule stated in

§ 595 of the Restatement, Conflict of Laws, which under

the heading Proof of Facts reads as follows:

**(1) The law of the forum governs the proof in court

of a fact alleged.

(2) The law of the forum governs presumptions and

inferences to be drawn from evidence.“

And see particularly Comment c. under the above section.

Further support for this view is found in Gregory v.

Maine Central R. R. Co., 317 Mass. 636 (1945). In that case

the court considered the question whether a plaintiff in a

suit in Massachusetts for personal injuries suffered in

Maine had the burden of proving his lack of contributory

fault in accordance with the law of Maine or whether the

burden of proving his contributory fault rested upon the

defendant in accordance with a Massachusetts statute. In

holding that the Massachusetts statute applied, the court,

with copious citations which we omit, spoke on pages 639

and 640 as follows:

‘‘What conduct constitutes contributory negligence

of the plaintiff is a question of substantive law

governed by the law of Maine, where the injury hap-

pened. But the law of the forum—Massachusetts—

29

governs the procedural question of the burden of proof,

and under our statute the burden of proof of con-

tributory negligence is on the defendant. The appli-

cable substantive law of Maine as to what conduct

constitutes contributory negligence goes no farther

than to define it as a failure, contributing to the injury,

to exercise as much care as the ordinarily prudent

man would have exercised under like circumstances.

Whether the evidence conclusively shows such failure

or not, is a procedural question to be determined ac-

cording to rules of practice in force in Massachusetts.’’

Since the Massachusetts statute referred to in the above

quotation puts on the defendant the burden of proof in the

sense of the burden of going forward with the evidence,

which concerns us here, as well as the burden of proof in

the sense of the burden of persuasion, with which we are

not concerned, the Gregory case indicates that the burden

of going forward with the evidence is regarded in Massa-

chusetts as a preoedural matter to be determined in accord-

ance with the rules of practice in force in the forum. We

do not think the rationale of this case is limited to contrib-

utory negligence.* Therefore we conclude that the plaintiff

may maintain her cases even though she did not introduce

any direct evidence that the defendant knew or should have

at least suspected that its product was or might be danger-

ous to those who would use it.

Sylvania Electric Products, Inc., as appellant in Nos.

Perhaps the foregoing discussion of conflict of laws principles is

academic for the reason that the Massachusetts court might apply its

local rule of presumptive knowledge on quite different reasoning.

Nebraska court so far as we can discover has never considered the

Massachusetts rule either to adopt it or to reject it, and in this situa-

tion, if the Massachusetts court should hold that Nebraska law applied,

it might well follow the usual practice and assume in the absence of

indications to the contrary that its rule of presumption was also the

rule in Nebraska.

30

4992 and 4993 makes the further contention that it is re-

lieved of all liability by the releases given to General

Electric Company by the decedent and by the plaintiff in-

dividually and in her capacity of guardian of her minor

son. The argument is that in the releases the decedent and

the plaintiff admitted receipt‘of complete satisfaction from

General Electric Company for their respective injuries.

Wherefore it is said taat to permit them to recover here

would be to allow them more than one satisfaction for their

injuries, which, of course, they cannot have. Thus, it is

asserted that the reservation in the releases of rights

against other suppliers of material to the decedent’s em-

ployer is void and without effect because the releasors

had nothing to reserve.

Again factual basis for the contention is lacking. The

releases as we read them do not purport to have been

given in full settlement of all the releasors’ damages. They

purport only to release General Electric Company insofar

as it and it alone contributed to cause the losses suffered

by the plaintiff and the decedent. Thus, the court below

correctly charged the jury that it should deduct the gross

amounts received in settlements or compromises ($28,502),

from any verdict it might return for the plaintiff.

We have considered other arguments advanced by Syl-

vania Electric Products, Inc., as appellant, such as its

argument that the decedent was guilty of contributory neg-

ligence as a matter of law, only to reject them as without

merit. We do not think they call for separate discussion.

Irene Barker’s appeal from the denial of her motion to

amend the judgment in the personal injury case by adding

interest on the amount of the verdict calculated from the

date of the writ remains for consideration. .

She rests her claim to interest exclusively on § 6-B of

Chapter 231 of the Massachusetts General Laws quoted in

31

the margin.’ We do not think the Massachusetts statute

applies.

Both parties appear to concede, and we agree, that under

the rule of Klazon v. Stentor Electric Mfg., Inc., 313 U.S.

487 (1941), the applicable law must be chosen in accord-

ance with the conflicts rule of Massachusetts. And, as

pointed out earlier in this opinion, Massachusetts follows

the usual rule that liability in personal injury cases is

governed by the law of the place where the injury occurred,

Trudel v. Gagne, 328 Mass. 464 (1952); Gregory v. Maine

Central R. R., 317 Mass. 636 (1945). Presumably also, al-

though we have found no case in Massachusetts squarely

on the point, the courts there would follow the usual rule

stated in § 412 of the Restatement, Conflict of Laws (1934),

that ‘‘The measure of damages for a tort is determined by

the law of the place of wrong.“ That is to say, in the words

of Comment a. on § 412, ‘‘what items of loss are to be in-

cluded in the damages’’ is determined by the law that

creates the right to recover in the first place.

On principle, interest on a verdict from the date of the

writ is an item of substantive damages awarded / in order

that the plaintiff may be more fully and justly compen-

sated for the wrong complained of.“ Moore-McCormack

Lines, Inc. v. Amirault, 202 F.2d 893, 895 (C.A.1, 1953).

And Massachusetts accepts this general principle, for in

"Amico v. Cariglia, 330 Mass. 246 (1953), the Supreme

Judicial Court of Massachusetts in discussing the statute

now under consideration and its predecessor said that

>

|

5 “Interest from Date of Writ added to Damages Awarded in Cer-

in Civil Actions. In any action of tort in which a verdict is rendered

finding made for pecuniary damages for personal injuries to the

i

|

|

ff]

i

Fad

ee

FA

i

F

|

32

Under both statutes interest was to be included as an item

of damages. Under Massachusetts conflicts rules, there-

fore, it follows that the plaintiff’s right to interest on the

verdict in the personal injury case figured from the date

of the writ must be determined by the law of Nebraska.

We are not referred to any Nebraska authority support-

ing the plaintiff’s position. In this situation the Nebraska

rule is presumed to be the general common-law rule as it

prevailed in Massachusetts prior to the statutory changes,

see John B. Fray Co. v. S. Silk, Inc., 245 Mass. 534 (1923),

and the Massachusetts rule prior to the statutory changes

was that interest is not an element of the damages re-

coverable in actions of tort for personal injuries. Cochran

v. Boston, 211 Mass. 171 (1912); see D’ Amico v. Cariglia,

330 Mass. 246, 247 (1953).

The judgments of the District Court are affirmed.

Magruder, Chief Judge (concurring). I concur in the

opinion and judgment of the court.

It is undisputed that under the substantive law of Neb-

raska a manufacturer owes a duty of ordinary care to re-

mote but foreseeable users of his manufactured products,

and is liable to such users for harm proximately caused by

the manufacturer’s negligence. If suit had been brought

in a Massachusetts state court on this alleged Nebraska

tort, no doubt the Massachusetts courts would apply the

foregoing substantive law of Nebraska. See Peterson v.

Boston d Maine R. R., 310 Mass. 45 (1941). Judge Wood-

6It should be noted that plaintiff's reliance on this case for the

proposition that the inclusion of interest from the date of the writ is a

the statutory change in the method of computing interest from

putation by jury to computation by the clerk of court, not the right to

have interest included as a part of the damages.

33

bury’s opinion has found indications in the Massachusetts

decisions that in such a suit, without regard to whether a

Nebraska court would do the same thing, the Massachusetts

courts would apply a ‘‘presumption,’’ regarded by them as

a rule of local procedure, that the manufacturer who puts

the component parts together must be taken to know the

nature and quality of the resultant product which he solicits

the public to purchase. By this is meant not a conclusive

or irrebuttable presumption, which becomes a rule of sub-

stantive law (see Am. L. Inst., Rest. of Conflicts § 595,

Comment c; Peterson v. Boston & Maine R.R., 310 Mass.

45, 47 (1941)), but that such knowledge is a **compelled

inference’’ in the event that the manufacturer fails to dis-

charge his burden of ‘‘going forward with evidence“ tend-

ing to show that he neither knew, nor in the exercise of

care would have discovered, by preliminary tests or inspec-

tions, the potentially dangerous character of the manu-

factured product. Such was the situation in the case at

bar, where the defendant did not go forward with any evi-

dence of an exculpatory nature. The manufacturer in that

situation is treated as if he knew, that is, he is „charged

with knowledge,“ for by force of the presumption it must

be taken that he actually knew, or in the exercise of due

care would have discovered, the dangerous properties of

his product before putting it on the market. Judge Wood-

bury’s opinion also concludes that a federal district court

sitting in Massachusetts in a diversity of citizenship case

such as this would be bound to apply the rule of presump-

tion which the Massachusetts state courts would apply,

even though the state courts for their own purposes might

classify such presumption as a local rule of. procedure.“

See Boyle v. Ward, 125 F. 2d 672 (C. A. 3d, 1942).

I assume that Judge Woodbury’s opinion is right in the

foregoing respects, but since the subject matter is cer-

tainly a difficult and cloudy one I should like to add an

34

additional comment which tends to support the court’s

conclusion that the judgments for the plaintiff, now on

appeal, should be affirmed. If Judge Woodbury’s opinion

is correct, the plaintiff below was entitled to a binding

instruction that Sylvania must be taken to have known that

the powdered beryllium with which it coated its glass tubing

might cause a lung disease to artisans making the ordinary

and expectable use of the product. The district court gave

no such binding instruction, but the error, if it was an error,

has become harmless to the plaintiff in view of the fact

that the jury brought in a plaintiff’s verdict anyway.

In the charge to the jury the district court said that a

manufacturer who produces an article that is inherently

dangerous ‘‘is presumed to know the nature and quality

of the product and its component parts; and if he or it

knew or should have known the product was inherently

dangerous, the manufacturer owed a legal duty to use

reasonable care to prevent injury to those whom he knows

or has reason to know will use or come in contact with the

product.’’ By this I take it the district court merely meant

that it was permissible for the jury to infer as a fact, on

the preponderance of probabilities, that the manufacturer

knew or should have known the dangerous character of its

product. I say this because later in the charge the district

court distinctly left it to the jury to determine as a fact

whether the defendant knew or should have known by the

exercise of reasonable care ‘‘that the tubes were inherently

dangerous, namely that the powder particles of the tubes

would slough off in their use and the powder content, beryl-

lium, . . . was poisonous.’’ The jury were told that it was

for them to resolve that question. ‘‘If the defendant did not

know or should not have known by the exercise of reason-

able care, the plaintiff cannot recover, as it is the plaintiff’s

burden of proof to prove that the defendant knew or should

have known.’’

35

In other words, all that the court below did was to apply

to the situation the familiar rule of res ipsa loquitur in

the simple form of a permissible, but not a compelled, in-

ference. See Sweeney v. Erving, 228 U.S. 233, 240 (1913);

Umted States v. Hull, 195 F.2d 64, 66 (C.A. Ist, 1952).

The Massachusetts state courts would certainly have gone

this far, and I take it also that the Nebraska courts would

have done so, even though they might not have applied a

rule of ‘‘presumption,’’ that is, a compelled inference of

knowledge in the absence of exculpatory evidence offered

by the manufacturer. See Miratsky v. Beseda, 139 Neb.

299, 297 N. W. 94 (1941); Security Ins. Co. v. Omaha Coca-

Cola Bottling Co., 157 Neb. 923, 62 N.W.2d 127 (1954);

Benedict v. Eppley Hotel Co., 159 Neb. 23, 65 N.W.2d 224

(1954). And see Note, The Procedural Effect of Res Ipsa

Loquitur in Nebraska, 33 Neb. L. Rev. 620 (1954).

36

Appendix B

Nebraska Law—Statute of Limitations

Revised Statutes of Nebraska of 1943 (1948 Ed)

Section 25-201. Civil Actions; when commenced.

„Civil actions can only be commenced within the

time prescribed in this chapter, after the cause of

action has accrued.”’

Section 25-207. Actions for trespass, conversion, other

torts and frauds.

„The following actions can only be brought within

four years: (1) An action for trespass upon real

property; (2) An action for taking, detaining or in-

juring personal property, including actions for the

specific recovery of personal property; (3) an action

for an injury to the rights of the plaintiff, not arising

in contract, and not hereafter enumerated; and (4) an

action for relief on the ground of fraud, but the

cause of action in such case shall not be deemed to

have accrued until the discovery of the fraud except

as provided in sections 76-288 to 76-289.’’

Section 25-217. Action; when deemed to commence.

An action shall be deemed commenced, within the

meaning of this chapter, as to the defendant, at the

date of the summons which is served upon him; when

service by publication is proper, the action shall be

deemed commenced at the date of the first publication,

which publication shall be regularly made.“

37

2. Death case

Rev. Stats. of Nebraska—1948 Edition

Sect. 30-809, Action for Wrongful Death; Creation.

„Whenever the death of a person shall be caused

by the wrongful act, neglect or default, of any person,

company or corporation, and the act, neglect or de-

fault is such as would, if death had not ensued, have

entitled the party injured to maintain an action and

recover damages in respect thereof, then, and in every

such case, the person who, or company or corporation

which would have been liable if death had not ensued,

shall be liable to an action for damages, notwithstand-

ing the death of the person injured and although the

death shall have been caused under such eireum-

stances as amount in law to felony.”’

Sect. 30-810. Action for Wrongful death; Limitation;

In whose Name Brought; J udgment ; Disposition of Avails;

Compromise of Claim; Procedure.

Every such action, as described in section 30-809,

shall be commenced within two years after the death

of such person. It shall be brought by and in the

name of his personal representatives, for the exclu-

sive benefit of the widow or widower and next of kin.

The verdict or judgment should be for the amount

of damages which the persons in whose behalf the

action is brought have sustained... A personal rep-

resentative shall not compromise or settle a claim

for damages hereunder until the court by which he

was appointed shall first have consented to and ap-

proved the terms thereof.

38

Nebraska—W orkmen’s Compensation Law.

Section 48-151—Terms defined . . .

(2) The word ‘accident’ as used in this act shall,

unless a different meaning is clearly indicated by the

context, be construed to mean an unexpected or un-

forseen event happening suddenly and violently, with

or without human fault, and producing at the time

objective symptoms of an injury.

3) The term ‘occupational disease’ shall mean

only a disease which is due to causes and conditions

which are characteristic of and peculiar to a particular

trade, occupation, process or employment and shall

exclude all ordinary diseases of life to which the

general public are exposed.“

Prior to enactment of Sub-section 3 above in 19431

Occupational disease was specifically excluded from the

paragraph relating to accidents unless arising in ‘‘smelt-

ing, metal refining or battery manufacturing industries.”

McCall v. Hamilton Co. Farmers Tel. Assn, (1938) 135

Neb. 70, 74.

Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 260, section 2:

‘‘Limitation of Six Years— The following actions

shall, except as otherwise provided, be commenced

only within six years next after the cause of action

accrues: First, Actions of contract founded upon

contracts or liabilities, express or implied, except

actions limited by the preceding section or actions

upon judgments or decrees of courts of record of the

39

United States or of this or any other state of the

United States.

Second, Actions of tort.

Third, Actions of replevin.’’

Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 260, section 9:

Suspension in Case of Non-Resident Defendant.—If,

when a cause of action hereinbefore mentioned accrues

against a person, he resides out of the commonwealth,

the action may be commenced within the time herein

limited after he comes into the commonwealth; and

if, after a cause of action has accrued, the person

against whom it has accrued resides out of the com-

monwealth, the time of such residence shall be ex-

cluded in determining the time limited for the com-

mencement of the action; but no action shall be brought

by any person upon a cause of action which was barred

by the laws of any state or country while he resided

therein.“

40

Appendix C

In THE Supreme Court or JUDICATURE

Court or APPEAL,

Royal Courts of Justice,

Tuesday, 21st of June, 1955.

Before:

Lorp Justice DennincG

Lorp Justice Birkett and

Lorp Justice Parker

HARMAN

v.

Mircuam Works LrMIrep

(Transcript of the Shorthand Notes of The Association of

Official Shorthandwriters, Ltd., Room 392, Royal Courts

of Justice, and 2, New Square, Lincoln’s Inn, London,

W. C. 2).

Mr. Tristram Beresrorp, Q. C., and Mr. P. H. Ripmay (in-

structed by Messrs. Lewis, Holman & Lawrence, agents

for Messrs. Ross & Son, Horley) appeared on behalf of

the Appellant (Plaintiff).

Mr. E. Ryver RIchARDSOx, Q.C., and Mr. R. Horkixs (in-

structed by Messrs. Carpenters) appeared on behalf of

the Respondents (Defendants).

JUDGMENT

Lorp Justice Denninc: Mrs. Harman is a young mar-

ried woman with two small children. Her life has been

ruined by chronic beryllium poisoning. She has spent long

41

periods in hospital. She suffers from breathlessness, chok-

ing feeling, cough, palpitation, lassitude and mental strain.

Her life has been shortened by 25 years. This has all been

due to two months work which she did for the Defendants

from July to September, 1947. They required her to work

with a beryllium compound which is a deadly poison. One

witness said that it is more dangerous than a poison. It is

more like a radio-active material in an atomic plant. A

slight exposure to it may have fatal results which do not

appear for months or even years afterwards. The Defend.

ants did not give Mrs. Harman the slightest warning that

there was any danger in it. They say that they did not

know themselves at that time that it was dangerous, So

they refuse to pay her any compensation at all.

Let me now say who the Defendants are, They are a

branch of the great concern known as Phillips Radios which

is a worldwide organisation, In 1946 they were engaged

in producing fluorescent lamps which was an important

new industry. They had previously bought fluorescent

powders from other people, but at the end of 1946 they

decided to make some of the powder themselves. They

built a new laboratory where they put in hand an ‘‘experi-

mental process’’, as they described it, of mixing ingre-

dients for producing a fluorescent medium. The work was

“being hurried’’: but this was no doubt because they did

not wish to be left behind in this new field. They got

information from their associates in America on how to

make this fluorescent medium: they employed a research

chemist, Dr. Rothschild, who had made it in Germany be-

fore the war: they looked up the American Chemical Ab-

stracts to see if there were any patents affecting the work:

and they then started work on the process.

It was in this process that Mrs. Harman was engaged

when she was poisoned. She had been with the company

for some years on other work but on 14th July, 1947, she

42

was put into the new laboratory where this experimental

process was being carried on. Her actual work was to sieve

powder through a wire sieve with a brush but she helped

with all parts of the process. After two and a half

months she left on the 4th October, 1947, for domestic

reasons. Some months later she was stricken with this

dreadful illness due to the poisoning in the process.

The Defendants say that, when they put her on to this

work, they had no knowledge that this process was danger-

ous and no reason to suspect it. They had been buying

fluorescent powders for three or four years from large con-

cerns like General Electric Company and British Thomson-

Houston, Those concerns had never hinted that they were

dangerous. The Defendants’ workmen had used the pow-

ders and had never had any trouble with them. The Amer-

ican associates of the Defendants gave no warning of any

danger. Nor had Dr. Rothschild. So the Defendants had

no suspicion that the beryllium compound was a toxic sub-

stance; and they gave no warning about it to Mrs. Harman

or any of their employees.

The Defendants, however, frankly admit that if they had

had any suspicion that it was toxic they would have made

a search which would have put them on their guard. Dr.

Sutherland, their chief chemist, who was in charge of this

process was asked: ‘‘do you agree that had any inquiry

been made—real research been made—before putting these

people on to work with beryllium, there would have been

available to you the knowledge that beryllium was a toxic

substance?’’, and he answered: ‘‘Yes, but we made no

specific search with reference to beryllium because we did

not suspect beryllium at all’. He added: If I had any

idea that it was alleged to be a toxic substance, I would

ask for a literature survey to be made, and I would ask

our medical officer to study the situation and make recom-

43

mendations to us’’. Let me examine what would have hap-

pened if he had done so.

If the Defendants had had a literature survey made, they

would have discovered in their very own library an entry

which showed that these beryllium compounds were danger-

ous. It was an entry in the American Chemical Abstracts

which they always took. Indeed they consulted it in March,

1947, for beryllium patents. But they did not consult it

for beryllium toxicology. If they had done so, in the issue

for 20th November, 1946, they would have found this entry:

„Delayed chemical pneumonitis occurring in workers ex-

posed to beryllium compound’’, (A reference is then given

in an article on the subject in the American Journal of

Industrial Hygiene). Case reports are given for 17 cases

of a delayed chemical pneumonitis which occurred in a

fluorescent factory where Be compounds are used, The

American article which is there referred to was available

in England at that time. It was certainly in the Patent

Office Library, and probably in the library of the British

Medical Association. If the Defendants had referred to

the article itself they would have found a full discussion

starting with the words ‘‘A puzzling disease has appeared

in employees of a concern manufacturing fluorescent lamps

... beryllium has attracted little attention in the United

States until recently because it has been used in American

industry very little until the war years—Kress and Crispell

in 1944 presented cases of an atypical pneumonia in men

working with fluorescent powder containing beryllium. Six

months ago Van Ordstrand presented an extensive report

of illness in the workers of the beryllium industry. The

present series is concerned with pulmonary disease in an

industry where beryllium compounds are used’’. Dr. Suth-

erland, the Defendant’s chief chemist, admitted that a

specific search would have found those documents,

Apart from those documents if the Defendants had asked

44

their medical officer to study the situation there is no doubt

that he would have reported that the substance was dan-

gerous. Dr. Franks, their present medical officer was asked

what his opinion would have been if he had read the litera-

ture available at the end of 1946. He answered: ‘‘I would

have considered beryllium oxide dangerous at the end of

1946’’: and he added: I could have obtained, if I had

wanted it, all the relevant American literature on this

problem at the end of 1946 from the library of the British

Medical Association in London’’. The learned Judge seems

rather to have discounted Dr. Franks’ evidence but he

was the only medical officer called by the Defendants—or

indeed on either side—and I see no reason why this admis-

sion should not be taken against them. Furthermore, the

British Medical Journal had published an article as far

back as 9th October, 1943, on the toxie hazard of beryl-

lium’’ which referred to an American article on ‘‘The

Toxicology of Beryllium’’, in which it was said that a

chemical pneumonia had been observed in three workmen

employed in extraction of beryllium oxide.

It is quite plain, therefore, that the Defendants, by mak-

ing research, could have discovered that this substance was

dangerous before ever they put Mrs. Harman on to work

with it. As it was, they did not make any research into

its toxic qualities. The reason was because they did not

suspect the substance at all. So they found out nothing

and gave her no warning.

The Defendants did not discover the dangerous nature

of the substance until the 15th December, 1947, by which

time Mrs. Harman had left their employment. One of their

medical officers in Blackburn then reported that ‘‘lung

diseases, acute and chronic, have been recorded in the basic

beryllium industry and in the fluorescent lamp and radio

tube industry where beryllium compounds have been used”’.

In 1948 the dangers of beryllium were discovered to be so

45

great that it was no longer used and has been replaced

by a different substance altogether.

Such being the facts, the Judge has exempted the De-

fendants from any liability to pay compensation to Mrs.

Harman. He states his conclusions in these guarded words:

J am unable to say that, in all the circumstances of this

case, I am satisfied_that the Defendants ought to have

known that their process was a dangerous one, which means

too, that I am unable to say that the Defendants are actu-

ally in breach of their duty to the Plaintiff’’. It looks as

if the Judge thought the case very near the line and only

decided as he did because he was not satisfied that the

Defendants ought to have known of the danger. Despite

the care which the Judge gave to this case, I think there

is one thing which he overlooked. He failed to recognise

the high duty of care which the law places on those who

deal in dangerous things. This beryllium compound was

beyond doubt a thing which was dangerous in itself—

dangerous per se, as it is said. It comes, therefore, within

the special category in which the law requires people to

use the greatest possible care. The duty was described by

Lord Dunedin in these words: ‘‘It has, however, again and

again been held that in the case of articles dangerous in

themselves such as loaded firearms, poisons, explosives

and other things ejusdem generis, there is a peculiar duty to

take precautions imposed upon those who send forth or

instal such articles when it is necessarily the case that

other parties will come within their proximity’’, see Domin-

ion National Gas Company v. Collins, 1909 Appeal Cases

at page 646. That passage was expressly approved by

Lord Atkin in Donoghue v. Stevenson, 1932, Appeal Cases

at page 596 where he said that it ‘‘exactly sums up the

position“.

It is worth recalling the words in which great lawyers

have spoken of this duty in regard to dangerous things.

46

Sir Frederick Pollock said in his book on Torts that in

these cases the law ‘‘subjects the actor to strict responsi-

bility. Sometimes the term ‘Consummate care’ is used to

describe the amount of caution required, but it is doubtful

whether even this be strong enough’’. (15th Edition,

page 386). Lord Macmillan, in an oft-quoted passage, said

that the law exacts a degree of diligence so stringent

as to amount to practically a guarantee of safety’’, see

Donoghue v. Stevenson, 1932, Appeal Cases at page 612.

Lord Simonds expressly accepted those words in Read v.

Lyons, 1947 Appeal Cases at page 182, and added his own,

saying that the obligation ‘‘is to be ultra-cautious in carry-

ing his ultra-hazardous activity“.

Those emphatic statements clearly apply where the De-

fendant knows that the thing is dangerous, but what is

the position when he does not know? Can he escape his

due responsibility by pleading ignorance? Surely not. The

duty has never been stated to rest on knowledge, see Burfitt

v. Kille, 1939 2 King’s Bench at page 749, per Mr, Justice

Atkinson. The reason is plain: a dangerous thing has a

more deadly potential in the hands of a man who is ignorant

than one who knows of the danger. A man who points a

loaded gun cannot escape his responsibility by pleading

that he did not know it was loaded. Consider the old case

where a man had taken out the priming and did not know

the gun might go off. He had used as much care as would

commonly be thought enough and still he was held re

sponsible, see Dizon v. Bell (1816) Maule and Selwyn, at

page 198. Take a modern case where a forwarding agent

handed a dangerous chemical ferro-silicon to a bargee for

carriage. The ferro-silicon was packed in casks, and the

forwarding agent did not know it was dangerous and was

not negligent in not knowing. During the journey the

ferro-silicon gave off poisonous fumes and killed the bargee

and injured his wife. The forwarding agents were held

47

liable, not only for the death of the bargee (with whom

they had a contract) but also for the injuries to his wife

with whom they had none, see Bamfield v. Goole, 1910, 2

King’s Bench, at page 94. Lastly take the case where manu-

facturers supplied a special cleaning fluid called **pluper-

fect liquid“ for cleaning ships. They had supplied it in

large quantities for eight or nine years without complaint.

They knew the ingredients but did not know it was dan-

gerous. It turned out that, when this liquid came into

contact with cast iron, it generated an explosive gas. An

explosion occurred and damaged the ship. Mr. Justice

Roche held that the liquid was a thing dangerous in itself

and that the manufacturers were liable to the shipowners,

even though they had no contact with him and did not

know the stuff was dangerous. Nor was any negligence

found against them in not knowing, see Anglo-Celtic Ship-

ping Company v. Elliott ( 1926) 42 Times Law Reports,

at page 297.

If and in so far as those cases would seem to suggest

that there is an absolute liability for dangerous things,

irrespective of negligence, they cannot stand with Read v.

Lyons, 1947, Appeal cases at page 156: but in so far as

they put a very high duty of care on a man to find out

whether the thing is dangerous or not, and to give warning

of it, they are in my opinion perfectly good law. In regard

to things which are duugervus iu themselves, the law re-

quires everyone who deals in them to take the greatest

possible precautions not only to avoid the danger when it

is known, but also to find out whether there is danger or

not. If the Defendants in this case had handed the beryl-

lium compound to a carrier, without giving him any warn-

ing that it was dangerous, they would undoubtedly be

liable to any one of the carrier’s servants who was injured

by it. So should they be liable when they hand it to one

of their own servants, and requires her to work with it,

— —

48

without giving her any warning that it is dangerous. It!

all very well for them to say that they did not suspect i

They ought to have suspected it until it was proved harn

less. They were starting a new process, an ‘‘experimenté

process’’, as they themselves called it. It behoved then

not only to call in their research chemists to tell them ho

to make it, but also to call in their medical officers to advis

them whether it was safe for their workers to handle. The

did not do this: and their failure to do so was a breae

of duty for which they are responsible.

It was suggested that if there was any breach of duty

her illness was not caused by it. I do not agree with thi

suggestion. It does not come well from a person, wh

has broken his duty to say that, if he had not broken i

the damage would have occurred just the same, see Moriso

v. Walter in the House of Lords recited by Lord Justice

Scutton in Coldman v. Hill, 1919, 1 King’s Bench a

page 457. If I am right up to now it means that, if th

Defendants had done their duty, they would have foun

out that this substance was dangerous. Thereupon the

would be bound, I should have thought, to warn the Plain

tiff of the danger. In Donoghue v. Stevenson, 1932, Appes

Cases at page 602. Lord Thankerton said the duty wa

either to afford protection or to give adequate warning. |

the Defendants had warned Mrs. Harman that the sul

stance was dangerous, she would probably have said sh

would rather not work with it: and in that case she woul

not have been injured. The damage is therefore traceab

to the: breach of duty.

I would only add that, as I see it, this case shows th

justice of our law about dangerous things. It does n

seem right that a great concern should exploit a ne

process at the risk of their workers without a word |

them of the dangers which it entails. It lies ill in the

mouths to say that they did not know it was dangero!

49

when their own medical officers, if they had been asked,

could have looked it up and told them so.

I would allow the appeal.

Lorp Justice bmxett: This is an appeal from a judg-

ment of Mr. Justice Gorman given on the 17th of January

of this year. It raises questions of great importance, and

also reveals facts of the most unusual kind. The Writ

which was issued in July, 1953, was settled by Counsel

of very great experience in this class of case and read:

“The Plaintiff’s claim is for damages for personal injuries

and consequential losses and expenses occasioned to the

Plaintiffs by reason of the negligence and/or breach of

statutory duty of the Defendants their servants or agents

between the months of July and October, 1947, at their

factory premises known as Salfords, Redhill, in the County

of Surrey“.

When the Statement of Claim came to be delivered in

October of 1953 the same learned counsel in Paragraph 3

stated the issue in this form: ‘‘The Defendants’ said prem-

ises at Salfords aforesaid in the year 1947 were known

as the Mullard Research Laboratories, and therein inter

alia, was carried on a certain process in connection with

the mixing of ingredients for use in fluorescent lighting

tubes. The said ingredients consisted inter alia of beryl-

lium, which was in fact and as the Defendants their serv-

ants or agents knew or ought to have known a substance

of high toxity to human beings the use of which involved

danger to health in particular if the same in any form was

inhaled’’, At the trial before Mr. Justice Gorman, the

learned Counsel appearing for the Plaintiffs and the De-

fendants agreed (to use the words of the learned Judge)

„that this paragraph of the Statement of Claim crystallised

exclusively the allegations of breach of duty alleged against

the Defendants, and that this alone was the issue of breach

of duty which in this action I have to determine. That

50

issue would thus appear to be in terms: Did the Defendants

or their servants or agents know, or ought they to have

known, that the beryllium compounds with which the Plain-

tiff was working were of high toxicity to human beings,

the use of which involved danger to health, in particular

if the same were inhaled in any form?’’. |

The Plaintiff, Mrs. Harman, was a young married woman

of 22 years of age in July of 1947. She had been employed

by the Defendants since 1942, but on July the 14th, 1947,

she worked in a new laboratory the Defendants had built

at Salfords, Redhill, and continued to work there until the

4th of October, 1947, when she left the employment of the

Defendants for domestic reasons of her own. When she

left the Defendants she was in perfect health and no com-

plaints of ill-health were raised by her, or on her behalf,

during the time she worked in the laboratory. For nine

months after she left the Defendants she was apparently

quite well, but in July of 1948 she began to feel unwell.

The agreed medical report which was before the learned

Judge was made in December, 1954, and from that docu-

ment it is clear that her illness was due to acute beryllium

poisoning. It was admitted at the trial before Mr. Justice

Gorman that Mrs. Harman was working in the laboratory

from July to October, 1947, that she there was working

with two compounds of beryllium, of which one was beryl-

lium oxide and the other zinc beryllium silicate. Both these

compounds were powders. It was also admitted that she

was never warned about any dangers connected with the

work she had to do in connection with the two compounds,

and that her illness was due to beryllium poisoning. It

would appear, though some matters are still in doubt, that

there are two forms of illness which may arise from contact

with compounds of beryllium, one being an acute disease

resembling pneumonia, and the other a chronic disease

which may occur one month to five years after exposure

51

to the compounds, The acute disease may follow exposure

to high concentrations, and the chronic disease may follow

exposure to minute concentrations. Some people would

appear to be immune, and some particularly sensitive, so

that it has been suggested that there may possibly be some

condition of the blood which determines whether the person

working with the compounds is immune or not.

From this bare recital of some of the main facts of this

appeal, it will be seen that the task of the learned Judge,

and of this Court, was by no means an easy one. Mitcham

Works Limited was a subsidiary company of a great organ-

isation. The Plaintiff was a young married woman whose

life had been irretrievably ruined because of her work in

the laboratory of the Defendants. It was almost inevitable

that the contrast between the Plaintiff coming to the Court

under the provisions of the Legal Aid and Advice Act of

1949, and the powerful Defendants, who could no doubt

pay compensation without feeling it, should spring to the

mind. But considerations such as these could not assist in

the proper determination of the legal question the learned

Judge propounded: Did the Defendants know, or ought

they to have known that the beryllium compounds were of

high toxicity to human beings, the use of which involved

danger to health?

The only question argued in this Court was whether

the Defendants ought to have known and whether they

were in breach of their duty to the Plaintiff in not knowing,

for Mr. Tristam Beresford made it plain that he could not

argue that the Defendants did in fact know. The conelu-

sions to be drawn from the evidence given before the

learned Judge are, therefore, of supreme importance. One

of the witnesses called for the Defendants was a Dr. Sieg-

fried Rothschild, a research chemist, who had personal

knowledge of beryllium compounds from 1937 onwards. It

would appear that the year 1937 was the year when Beryl-

52

lium compounds were first used in industry and Dr. Roth-

schild was concerned with their use in Germany. The firm

for which he worked was a subsidiary of Osram the makers

of fluorescent lamps, and he stated that large numbers of

people were brought into contact with the beryllium com-

pounds, beryllium oxide and zine beryllium silicate. He

said that he had no knowledge that these compounds were

dangerous to human beings until the 15th of December,

1947, when he received a copy of a report made by a medi-

cal officer employed in one of the branches of the Defendant

company. That report made quotations from ‘‘Chemical

and Engineering News’’, dated October 13th, 1947, and

from ‘‘Occupational Medicine’’, dated July, 1947. When

Dr. Rothschild came to England in September, 1938, he

was employed by Messrs. Thomas Tryer, a subsidiary of

Albright and Wilson and stayed with them until 1940 and

made the beryllium compound powders for his employers.

From August, 1941 to December, 1944, he was employed

by the Pye Electrical Company of Cambridge, and these

powders were also used by that company. Only a very few

people were brought into contact with them at Tryers and

Pyes, but Dr. Rothschild had never known a case of illness

of one of the workers engaged in handling these powders

either in Germany or in England. In 1944, Dr. Rothschild

was employed by the Defendants. He first worked for a

subsidiary company called Stella Lamps Limited who were

making zinc beryllium silicate for use in the manufacture

of fluorescent lamps. When the Defendants erected the

laboratory in which the Plaintiff worked, Dr. Rothschild

also worked in the laboratory and began actually to make

some of the beryllium compounds there. But before Dr.

Rothschild began the making of the powders, the Defend-

ants had been buying the powders from the General Elee-

tric Company and the British Thomson Houston Company,

and that practice continued after the Company began to

53

make the powders, for never at any time did the Company

make enough for its purposes, and Dr. Rothschild said the

quantity made was a small fraction of the total amout

used.

It is a circumstance of great weight in considering the

liabilities of the Defendants that no word of warning as

to the nature of these powders was ever given to the De-

fendants by either of these well-known companies, who

continued to supply the powders to the Defendants during

the months the Plaintiff was employed by the Defendants,

ie., from July to October, 1947. Dr. Sutherland, an indus-

trial chemist and a scientist of some distinction, employed

by the Defendants for many years, said that he first heard

of beryllium compounds being said to be toxic in December,

1947, and he spoke of the steps he took in consequence of

what he had heard. The Defendant had been using beryl-

lium oxide for making radio valves since 1942 or 1943 by

a process they obtained from the United States of America

and they operated that process without making any en-

quiries and were still doing so at the date of the trial of

this action. Dr. Sutherland had never known of a ease of

beryllium poisoning, and nobody had ever drawn his atten-

tion to any possible danger until December, 1947. Dr.

Strange who had been working with beryllium oxide and

zine beryllium silicate from 1936 to 1941 whilst in the em-

ployment of Electrical and Musical Industries Limited,

and from 1943 to 1948 whilst employed by Thorn Electrical

Industries Limited said that he had suffered no ill effects

himself, and knew of none affecting the persons who were

working with the compounds. In 1947 a man had died but

that was not thought to be in any way connected with the

use of the beryllium compounds, and Dr. Strange first heard

of the possible danger from these compounds from an

American visitor in December, 1947. Other evidence was

called for the Defendants to support their contention that

54

they had no knowledge of the dangers of beryllium com-

pounds at the time the Plaintiff was working for them in

1947, and to rebut the suggestion that on the facts they

ought to have known. The submission of Mr. Tristram

Beresford was that the Defendants ought to have instituted

what was called a ‘‘Literary Search’’ before starting to

use the beryllium compounds, and he said that if such a

search had been instituted the Defendants would have had

knowledge that beryllium compounds were at least under

grave suspicion of being dangerous, and they could have

warned their workpeople, or taken precautions, or aban-

doned the use of the compounds altogether. The question

of when such Literary search“ should have been instituted

is obviously a question of great importance. Should it have

been done before the Defendants began to use any of the

powders they purchased from the General Electrical Com-

pany of British Thomson-Houston?

Should it have been done in 1942 or 1943 when the De-

fendants began using beryllium oxide for making radio

valves having obtained the material from the United States

of America! Or should it have been done when the De-

fendants first began to make the powders themselves, which

would appear to be in 1945 or 19461

The growth of knowledge as to the nature of beryllium

compounds was not rapid, and it would seem that the paper

of Dr. Williams entitled: ‘‘Significant Aspects of Exposure

to Beryllium Compounds in Industry“, first really en-

lightened the industry as to the nature of the problem.

This Paper was published in the United States in July

1947 and when it became available in England is not known,

but it was in December, 1947 that Dr. Plum wrote his

memorandum based on Dr. Williams’ Paper which Dr.

Rothschild and Dr. Sutherland saw. By that time, of course,

the Plaintiff had left the employment of the Defendant, It

is significant that so late as July, 1947, Dr. Williams could

55

say: The case against beryllium is not clear-cut. There

are many voids and contradictions in the data. It is the

purpose of this paper to review briefly the evidence and

to indieate the need for further data to show the proper

status of beryllium as an industrial hygiene problem”’.

Mr. Beresford produced certain documents going back to

1938 and said that a literary search would have made the

Defendants acquainted with them. Many of these docu-

ments came from America and the learned Judge examined

them all with very great care. He subjected them all to

an analysis of what information they in fact disclosed, and

to an enquiry as to when the material was available in

this country, bearing in mind that from 1939 to 1945 this

country was at war. At the end of 1947, after the Plaintiff

had left the employment of the Defendants, the dangers of

Beryllium compounds was made quite plain in the memo-

randum of Dr. Plum which Dr. Rothschild and Dr. Suther-

land both saw. The learned Judge came to the conclusion

that the alleged breach of duty on the part of the Defend-

ants was not made out and in making known his decision

he said: I need not, of course, emphasize that I have

studied everything that has been brought here and brought

to my notice on the matter; but that is the clear view that

I have formed“

The learned Judge was obviously much impressed by

the evidence which showed that the beryllium compounds

had been in use in the Defendants factory for many years

with no reason to suspect any danger to the workers. He

had the evidenee of commercial use by firms such as the

General Electric Company and British Thomson Houston

Company with no evidence of warnings from those two

great firms. In considering the evidence of Dr. Frank it

must be remembered that he said that if the material had

been in commercial use for years before 1945 he would

not have thought it necessary to take the precaution of

— —

56

obtaining all the American literature on the subject. There

is no doubt that the Defendants had been using beryllium

compounds for many years. They obtained it from firms

of the highest possible standing. They received no warning

of danger from anybody until 1947, after the Plaintiff had

left their employment, and took action at once; and in

1948 abandoned the use of the compounds altogether. Al-

though they began to make small quantities of the com-

pounds in 1946, in no sense were they exploiting a new

process at the risk of their workers without a word to

them of the dangers which it entailed. They were not

starting a new process in any true sense of the words at

all. They still continued to use the powders they bought

for the bulk of the work, but they began to make some of

the powders themselves. But they were not making some-

thing new and hitherto unknown. They had no reason to

suspect the substances of any toxic dangers from their past

experience, and it would seem to be putting the duty on

the employer very high indeed to say that despite their

experience, they should have suspected the powders until

they were proved harmless.

It is to be observed that no argument was addressed to

the learned Judge, nor was any argument addressed to

this Court on the basis that the beryllium compounds were

dangerous in themselves, and were to be considered in the

light of the cases dealing with things dangerous in them-

selves. It ought to be said that Lord Justice Denning in

the course of the argument specifically raised the question

and mentioned one or two of the cases in brief but neither

Mr. Ryder Richardson nor Mr. Tristram Beresford argued

the matter at all. None of the cases on this branch of the

law were cited by Counsel at any stage of the appeal. From

the discussion by Professor Winfield in his chapter on

Dangerous Chattels in his book on the Law of Tort, the

fifth edition, and the cases there cited, it is plain that had

57

the Plaintiff ever raised the question, the Defendants might

have wished to argue that the law concerning dangerous

chattels had no application to the facts of this particular

case, and that before any higher standard of duty than the

standard of reasonable care came to be applied such as

“consummate care“ or “a guarantee of safety“ or ‘‘strict

liability’’, it would be necessary to show knowledge of the

dangerous thing on the part of the Defendants. Professor

Winfield says at page 548: It is true that the law expects

of a man a great deal more care in carrying a pound of

dynamite than a pound of butter, or in keeping a bottle of

poison than a bottle of lemonade. But this is only another

way of saying that what is a reasonable amount of care in

one set of circumstances is not so in another set of eireum-

stances, and reasonable care is the sole test of negligence.

And, passing to the decided cases of dangerous chattels,

we have been unable to trace anything in the reports that

is inconsistent with the view that the law of negligence

is all that is needed for the purpose.

In Dixon v. Bell, 1816, 5 Maule and Selwyn’s Reports,

Lord Ellenborough held the defendant liable when he had

sent a mulatto girl to the house of one Leman to fetch a

gun which he kept there, although he had told Leman to

draw ite priming before he gave it to her. Leman did draw

the priming and told the girl he had done so. Yet when

in play she pointed the gun at a child of eight and pulled

the trigger so that the gun went off and injured the child,

the Defendant was held liable because his duty was to

render the gun ‘‘safe and innocuous’” either by discharg-

ing it or withdrawing its contents. Mr. Justice Bayley

said the gun ought to have been so left as (to be out of all

reach of doing harm’’. The duty on the Defendant it

would seem was to use reasonable care, and by want of

care he had left the gun capable of doing injury, although

he mistakenly thought he had made it safe. But in Donoghue

.

58

v. Stevenson, 1932 Appeal Cases at page 562, Lord Mac-

millan said at pages 611-612: ‘‘The exceptional case of

things dangerous in themselves, or known to be in a dan-

gerous condition has been regarded as constituting a pecu-

liar category outside the ordinary law both of contract and

of tort ...I rather regard this type of case as a special

instance of negligence where the law exacts a degree of

diligence so stringent as to amount practically to a guar-

antee of safety“. This conjunction of words by Lord

Macmillan, The exceptional case of things dangerous in

themselves, or known to be in a dangerous condition“ seems

to point to knowledge before liability.

Poison, explosives, loaded guns are things dangerous in

themselves, and persons dealing with such things must

show that degree of diligence so stringent as to amount

practically to a guarantee of safety. A similar rule ap-

plies to things known to be in a dangerous condition. If

the law relating to dangerous things is to be invoked against

the Defendants so that they are under a ‘‘strict liability”

as compared with the ordinary duty to take reasonable

care, and in order to exonerate themselves they must prove

what Sir Frederick Pollock called ‘‘consummate care“

towards other persons, then it would seem that the De-

fendants are entitled to the right of making their submis-

sions on the subject. Mr. Tristram Beresford never sug-

gested that the Defendants in fact knew that beryllium

compounds were dangerous; his case always was that they

ought to have known. He never suggested that the liability

of the Defendants approximated to an absolute liability,

or that the degree of care should amount practically to

a guarantee of safety so that to excuse themselves the De-

fendants must show ‘‘consummate care’’; he suggested

that the Defendants had failed in their duty to take

reasonable care in that reasonable care would have given

them the means of knowledge which he admitted they did

59

not possess, In Bamfield v. Goole, 1910, 2 King’s Bench,

at page 94, the case turned on the delivery to a common

carrier of some casks of a chemical called ferro-silicon.

It is clear from the Judgment of Lord Justice Vaughan

Williams in the Court of Appeal that the Defendants were

held liable because of their neglect of duty in describing

the goods as general cargo“ and not as ‘‘ferro-silicon’’:

and by Lord Justice Moulton and Lord Justice Farwell

because the defendants impliedly warranted that the goods

were fit for carriage in the ordinary way and not dan-

gerous. In Anglo-Celtic Shipping Company v. Elliott, 1926,

42 Times Law Reports, at page 297, the owner of a steam-

ship sent it for the cleaning of a cast iron condensor to

the first defendants and told them to use a particular

cleansing fluid manufactured by the second defendants.

This fluid unknown to the plaintiffs and the first defendants

gave off hydrogen which made an explosive mixture in the

air. An explosion in fact took place and the second defend-

ants were held liable because the cleansing fluid was dan-

gerous in itself and no warning had been given with the

instructions sent out by the second defendants. But in

my opinion, these cases do not assist in the determination

of the question the learned Judge had before him. At the

same time, I cannot think that the Defendants were under

a duty of care so stringent as to amount practically to a

guarantee of safety when they had no knowledge of the

dangerous thing and when all their experience was to the

contrary. I think the learned Judge applied the right test

to the facts before him, and that was whether in all the

circumstances of the case, when they had no knowledge

of the danger, when they had had many years experience

in the use of the beryllium compounds without being put

on enquiry because of illness or disease happening to the

workers in the industry, when they had for many years

been purchasing the compounds from firms of the highest

60

repute without any warning of danger being given to them,

ought they reasonably to have known of the danger by

making the ‘‘literary search’’ referred to in the evidence

or instructing their medical officers to investigate the pos-

sibility of danger.

I think the learned Judge answered the question cor-

rectly and I would, therefore, dismiss this appeal.

Lorp Justice Parker: During the year 1947 the Defend-

ants were making, in a new laboratory at Salfords, Redhill,

a powder consisting of Zinc Beryllium silicate for use in

the manufacture of fluorescent lights. From July to Oeto-

ber of that year the Plaintiff was working in that labora-

tory and came in contact with two compounds of beryllium,

namely, the finished article, Zine beryllium silicate and an

ingredient used in its preparation, Beryllium oxide, also

a powder. In December, 1947, after she had left the De-

fendants’ employment she developed a cough and breath-

lessness, and was found to be suffering from chronic beryl-

lium poisoning, which it is admitted was due to her contact

with one or other of these beryllium compounds, Little is

as yet known about the disease save that it is of a delayed

action type, symptoms not occurring until 3 months to 5

years after exposure. It is also known that the intensity

of the disease bears no direct relation to the concentration

of the exposure and while most people are unaffected there

are those in whom the inhalation of but one speck of the

powder will set up the disease. Indeed, it is thought that

there must be some further element involved, possibly the

condition of the blood of the patient.

So far as the alleged breach of duty is concerned the

issue for the decision of the learned Judge was stated in

these terms: ‘‘Did the Defendants or their servants or

agents know, or ought they to have known that these two

beryllium compounds were of high toxicity to human beings,

the use of which involved danger to health in particular

61

if the same were inhaled in any form?’’. Before this Court

it was conceded, in the light of the evidence, that the De-

fendants their servants or agents in fact did not know of

this toxicity until after the Plaintiff left their employment,

and accordingly the question now is whether they ought

to have known.

Shortly stated, the Plaintiff’s case is as follows. Before

you, the Defendants, began using these berylliam com-

pounds for the purposes of gain it was your duty to make

an exhaustive search of all the literature on the subject.

In particular this became your duty when at the end of 1946

or the beginning of 1947 you began making Zine beryllium

silicate in the new laboratory. If you had done so, the

contention runs, you would have discovered that beryllium,

the element, and some at any rate of its compounds were

known to be toxic, and that then you should have taken

proper precautions to avoid inhalation of dust, or have

discontinued the use of the powders, as you in fact did in

1948,

I will deal first with the question of duty. Would a

reasonable and prudent employer mindful of the necessity.

of conducting his operations so as not to expose his em-

Ployees to unnecessary risk have made such a search? The

answer to this question must necessarily depend on all the

circumstances of the case. If, for instance, there is any

reason to believe that a substance is likely to be toxic and

inherently dangerous, then, no doubt, a reasonable and pru-

dent employer should make such a search particularly if the

substance is one which has not been used or manufactured

before on a commercial scale. On the other hand, if there

is no reason to suppose that the substance is toxic, and it

has been for some time used and manufactured commer-

cially by others in this country and without ill effects there

would appear to be no reason why an employer should do

62

otherwise than act in accordance with the general principle

of hygiene observed where a dusty process is involved.

It is important, therefore, to consider the exact circum-

stances here. In 1943, the Defendants began using Beryl-

lium oxide to manufacture getters for radio valves. The

process was obtained from America and the instructions

for its use disclosed no necessity for special precautions.

Some time before the Ist January, 1945, they had com-

menced using Zine Beryllium silicate in the manufacture

of fluorescent lamps. The Beryllium oxide and the Zine

beryllium silicate were obtained from the General Electric

Company Limited and the British Thomson Houston Com-

pany Limited, and it is clear that no warning as to their

use was ever given by these well-known companies. On

the Ist January, 1945, a Dr. Rochschild began working for

Stella Lamps, an associate company, making Zinc beryl-

lium silicate for use in the manufacture of fluorescent lamps.

He continued making the substance and at the end of 1946

or the beginning of 1947 he went to the Defendants’ labora-

tory at Redhill and continued making the substance there.

The Zinc beryllium silicate made in the laboratory was only

a fraction of that needed by the Defendants in the manv-

facture of fluorescent lamps and throughout the period the

Defendants continued to purchase it from the companies

referred to above. Dr. Rothschild had had considerable

experience of Zinc beryllium silicate. The earliest patent

was in 1935. In 1937 he was making the substance in Brus-

sels with a company Auer Gesellschaft. From September,

1938, on his arrival in England, until May, 1940, he made

the substance with a subsidiary of Allbright & Wilson.

After a short period of internment he had gone to the Pye

Electrical Company of Cambridge, and again made the

substance. Both Dr. Rothschild and Dr, Sutherland stated,

and the learned Judge accepted their evidence, that until

December 1947, they had no reason whatsoever to suspetl

63

that either Beryllium oxide or Zine beryllium silicate were

in any way toxic. Numbers of persons had been in contact

with these substances with apparently no ill effect, and

there was nothing to put them upon inquiry. Dr. Strange,

another experienced chemist, and quite an independent wit-

ness, gave evidence from his exverience. He had worked

with Beryllium oxide and Zine Beryllium silicate with Elec-

trical and Musical Industries Limited, from 1936 to 1941,

and with Thorn Electrical Industries Limited from 1943

to 1948. He also said that he had, until 1948, no reason

to suspect either of these substances. Numbers of people

in these two companies had been in contact with these sub-

stances without any ill effect until in 1947, he thinks the

latter part of the year, an employee died. Even then it

was not suspected that beryllium poisoning was the cause—

it was thought to be a form of cancer. Further, Factory

Inspectors had no reason to suspect the substances.

At the end of 1947, however, it was suddenly brought

home to the trade in this country that these two substances

might be dangerous to some people causing this chronic

poisoning. No doubt this knowledge resulted from an article

by an American doctor, Dr. Williams, entitled Significant

Aspects of Exposure to Beryllium Compounds in Indus-

try“, which was published in America in July, 1947, in a

copy of Occupational Medicine“. When knowledge of

this article reached this country is not clear. Dr. Suther-

land said that it was not available here in July, 1947. Dr.

Frank did not see it till January or February, 1948, but

in December, 1947, a Dr. Plum, a doctor working for the

Defendants or one of the associated companies knew of it

and warned Dr. Rothschild and ‘Dr. Sutherland of the

contents of the article. About the same time a visiting

American warned Dr. Strange and suggested that the

‘spected cancer in the employee who had died might be

beryllium poisoning. Even then, as the suggested precau-

64

tions in that article show, the danger of inhaling even a

speck of dust was not as yet appreciated. Indeed, on present

knowledge, the only safe course appears to be to abandon

using the substance which the Defendants have in fact done,

Mr. Tristram Beresford for the Appellant stressed the

fact that no one had been called by the Defendants from

the General Electric Company Limited, the British Thom-

son Houston Company Limited, E.M.I. Limited, or Derbys

Limited of London, all of whom had made or used these

substances, to speak as to their knowledge at the relevant

time; as to the precautions, if any, adopted by them; or,

indeed, as to whether at the relevant time they were still

using or making the substances. It is, perhaps, unfortunate

that no such person was called, but this at any rate is

known, that throughout 1947 all but a fraction of the Zine

beryllium silicate used by the Defendants was supplied by

the General Electric Company Limited and the British

Thomson Houston Company Limited and supplied without

any warning as to its dangerous qualities. During 1947,

the use in this country of these two substances was becom-

ing more and more extensive, and I find it impossible to

believe that if any of these companies were aware of the

danger their knowledge would not have been available in

the trade generally. In any event, it is for the Appellant

to prove her case, and one of the simplest methods would

have been to show, if she could, that other employers had

discontinued its use, or taken some special precautions.

The learned Judge came to the conclusion in all the cir-

cumstances of the case that the Appellant had not proved

any breach of duty in failing to make an exhaustive seared

for any literature concerned with these substances, and I

agree with hirn.

That is enough to dispose of this case, but even if I am

wrong, I should have great difficulty in holding that the

Appellant’s illness was caused by that breach of duty.

65

Assuming that the Defendants had discovered the contents

of the various articles on the subject within a short time

of their publication, it does not follow that as reasonable

and prudent employers they would have adopted the only

safe course, namely, to discontinue the use of the sub-

stances before the Plaintiff came in contact with them. I

need not go through all the articles in detail. It is enough

to say that the earlier articles were all concerned with

possible dangers in the extraction of the element Beryllium

from its ore, and any danger was thought to arise from

the beryllium itself, or from beryllium fluoride or oxy-

fluoride. Later, articles showed that there was a danger

due to the inhalation of dust from other beryllium com-

pounds, the danger being the result of massive exposure

causing an immediate acute pulmonary reaction. That was

not the disease contracted by the Appellant, and, indeed,

the evidence on behalf of the Respondents, which was ac-

cepted by the learned Judge, was that the laboratory had

to be, and was, clean and reasonably free from dust. The

Chemical Abstracts published in America in November,

1946, referred, however, to an article in the Journal of

Industrial Hygiene of September, 1946, by Hardy and

Tabershaw dealing, for the first time, with the discovery of

anew disease of the delayed onset type—that which affected

the Appellant, and then, in J uly, 1947, Dr. William's article

to which I have referred, was published mentioning specifi-

eally beryllium oxide and Zinc beryllium silicate. As I

have said, the significance of Dr. William’s article only

burst on the trade in this country at the end of 1947, which

was after the Appellant had left the Respondents’ employ-

ment.

I should add that neither before the trial Judge nor

before this Court was any point taken by Counsel that these

substances were dangerous per &. There seems little doubt

that in the light of present dax knowledge they are, and,

*

66

accordingly, that in regard to their use ‘‘the law exacts

a degree of diligence so stringent as to amount to prac-

tically a guaranty of safety“. See Lord Macmillan in

Donoghue v. Stevenson, 1932 Appeal Cases, at page 612,

approved by Lord Simonds in Read v. Lyons, 1947 Appeal

Cases at page 182. The question, however, still remains

as to whether the Respondents can be said to be in breach

of that stringent duty when they did not know of the

danger. The matter, as I have said, has not been argued

before us but as at present advised I find it difficult to sec

how it could be contended that they should have done some-

thing—that is, make an exhaustive literature survey, take

stringent precaution or warn—on the basis that the sub-

stances were dangerous per se when they had no reason

to expect any danger. A person does not use an article

dangerous per se at his peril. He is, however, under a

specially stringent duty in regard to its use, but this duty

arises in all the circumstances of the case, one of which is

his knowledge. It is true that knowledge is not necessary

when one is considering an occupier’s liability in a Rylands

v. Fletcher case. He is liable whether he knows or not that

the article in question is likely to do damage if it escapes

from his land e. f. Rainham Chemical Works Limited v.

Belvedere Fish Guano Company, 1921, 2 Appeal Cases,

page 465 at page 471, and West. v. Bristol Tramways Com-

pany, 1908, 2 King’s Bench, at page 14. In such a case,

however, the liability is absolute and does not depend on

breach of duty. Nor, as at present advised, can any help

be obtained from a consideration of the law applicable to

animals. There, it is a defense that the animal in question

belongs to a class which, according to the experience of

mankind, is not dangerous, and not likely to do mischief

unless its keeper knows that the particular animal is likely

to do mischief e. f. Tilburn v. People’s Palace & Aquarium

Company, 1890, 25 Queen's Bench Division, at page 258

67

In other words, once a particular animal turns out to be

dangerous the onus is on the defendant to show that it

belonged to a class which the common experience of man-

kind had proved not to be dangerous and that he did not

know it was dangerous. The law in regard to animals has,

however, always formed a special and peculiar branch of

its own. Beasts have travelled in a compartment of their

own’’, said Lord Simonds in Read v. Lyons vide supra at

page 182. I do not think that any similar onus can be put

on the Respondents in the present case.

Accordingly, in my judgment, this Appeal fails, and

should be dismissed.

Mn. Ryper Ricuarpson: I ask that the appeal be dis-

missed with costs. It is a Legal Aid case and in this ease

our clients do not ask for costs.

Lorv Justice Dennine: Ver well.

Mr. Tristram Beresrorp: I have to apply, firstly, for

taxation under the Legal Aid Act as between solicitor and

client.

Lorp Justice Dxxxixd: You may have that.

Mr. Tristram Beresrorp: Secondly, might we have leave

from this Court to go to the House of Lords? As your

Lordships readily appreciate, if we go there we have to go

in forma peuperis, and if your Lordships thought right,

whilst considering that matter, to grant leave, if we thought

it worth-while pressing on when we have had an oppor-

tunity of considering your Lordships’ judgment, it would

save an application to the House of Lords.

Lorp Justice Denninc: What do you say, Mr. Ryder

Richardson?

Mr. Ryper Ricuarpson: It is entirely a matter for your

Lordships to consider.

(Their Lordships conferred). -

Lorp Justice Denninc: Yes, Mr. Beresford, you may

have leave.

a

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.