Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Norwitt v. United States

Supreme Court brief1952

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

4 WAT LU 1952

CHARLES ELMORE CROPLEY

CU atx

In the Supreme Court a

OF THE

United States

WY

Ocroser Term, 1951

No. Al 5 7

i‘

Pavut C. Norwrrt,

Petitioner,

vs. ,

Unstrep States oF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

to the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit

. AND

BRIEF IN SUPPORT THEREOF

Leo R. FrrepMan,

935 Russ Building, San Francisco 4, California,

Attorney for Petitioner.

Pusnau-Waiee Printing Co., 8a Francisco, CaLivoRnisa

Subject Index

Page

Petition for writ of certiorari ..................cc00000-.. 1

The indictment, sentence, ete. .................0000005.. 2

Statement of the case presenting the questions involved... ... 3

(a) Preliminary and explanatory facts ................. 3

(b) Evidence relating to the preparation and filing of

the corporate return (Count 1) .................... 6

(ce) Evidence relating to the existence and condition of

books and records of Norwitt and the corporation.... 11

(d) Evidence relating to the preparation and filing of the

amended returns for 1942 and 1943 (Counts 2 and 3) 15

(e) Evidence relating to the Government’s computation of

petitioner’s taxable income ........................ 26

Jurisdictional statement ..................0.cccececcceen. 31

1. Jurisdiction of the court .......................... 31

2. The decision and judgment of the Court of Appeals 31

3. Basis upon which it is contended the Supreme Court

has jurisdiction and cases in support thereof........ 31

wae SR PD 8 ka seca ceke 34

Points relied upon for the issuance of a writ of certiorari... 35

Brief in support of petition for writ of certiorari.......... 41

The opinions and judgments of the courts below.......... 41

PD suk vdenkccnnch baad cudicvesckbaabiecds chee 42

seznee rte soap ob ke. TOOT Dae RABE oo 42

Specification of errors relied upon ........................ 42

GE | binancbiveccdkecesrescksdeoushcnsciea 44

I. The Court of Appeals erred in holding that where a

person files a fraudulent income tax return for a

particular year and thereafter files a false amended

return for the same year, the filing of such amended

return constitutes a new and separate violation of 18

Bd AEs at an 44

II.

Il.

IV.

Sussecr Inpex

Page

The Court of Appeals erred in holding that petitioner

could not ‘ely on the correctness of the amended re-

turns as ;repared by his accountant, and that the

evidence etablished wilfulness and intent to defraud

The opinid of the Court of Appeals is in error in

holding tht falsity of the corporate return and the

two amenéd returns was established by evidence that

amounted ‘© no more than mere speculation, assump-

tion, surmS¢ and conjecture .......................

The Cour of Appeals erred in limiting its scope of

review wiTe insufficiency of the evidence is involved

and in holing that there was proof that the corporate

return ha been filed by petitioner or under his au-

thority ee ee ee eee ft? ee eee en

The Cour °f Appeals is in error in holding that it is

still the #le of law that a judgment will not be re-

versed were a defendant is charged with two or

more offéSes and the evidence supports the convic-

tion on ¢¥ One count and the sentence imposed does

not excee that which might lawfully be imposed on

52

59

63

Table of Authorities Cited

Cases Pages

Abrams v. United States, 250 U.S. 616, 63 L.Ed. ee 64

Adams v. Woods, 2 Cranch 336, 2 L.Ed. 297.......... 48

Boles v. United States (4th Cir.), 73 Fed. iB, Ser 32

Cave v. United States (8th Cir.), 159 Fed. (2d) 464...... 32, 46

Dept. of Treasury v. Ingram-Richardson Mfg. Co., 313 U.S.

Fr CO A ene eee 32, 33

Federal! Trade Comm. v. Raladam Co., 316 US. 149, 96

gg EE OE EI Re: 31

Fiswick v. United States, 329 U.S. 211.......... 34, 35, 38, 44, 70

Garrison v. United States (5th_Cir.), 163 Fed. (2d) 874... 60

Gompers v. United States, 233 U.S. 604, 58 L.Ed. 1115.... 50

Guzik v. United States (7th Cir.), 54 Fed. (2d) 618...... 32

Hargrove v. United States (5th Cir.), 67 Fed. (2d) 820.... 54

In re Rothrock, 16 Cal. (2d) 449, 106 Pac. (2d) 907...... 71

International Ry. Co. vy. Davidson, 257 U.S. 506, 66 L.Ed.

PO SAE 0 CUM Watts scaeg OSU a sag ar Cico 31

Leach v. Board of Dental Examiners, 87 Cal. App. 207, 262

sgh ge ee TOTO a eta see 68

Levy v. United States, 271 Fed. 942.000.0000. 51

Lurding v. United States (6th Cir.), 179 Fed. (2d) 419... .33, 54

Myres v. United States (8th Cir.), 174 F. (2d) 329........ 46

Pendergast v. United States, 317 U.S. 412, 87 L.Ed. 369.. 50

Pennsylvania R. Co. v. Chamberlain, 288 U.S. 333, 77 L.Ed.

Reese v. Smith, 9 Cal. (2d) 324, 70 Pac. (2d) 983........ 67

Towbin v. United States, 93 Fed. (2d) 861................ 60

TaBLE OF AuTHoriTIEs CITED

Pages

United States v. Cole (DC-Cal.), 90 Fed. Supp. 147........ 46, 47

United States v. Irvine, 98 U.S. 450, 25 L.Ed. 193......... 49

United States v. Johnson, 123 Fed. (2d) 111 and United

States v. Johnson, 319 U.S. 508 .................... 32, 45, 59

United States v. Smith, 13 Fed. (2d) 923................. 51

United States v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., 310 U.S. 150, 84

ME SE dec cette nien sch bsseeeuoseencuncsteoo 64

Worcester County Trust Co. v. Riley, 302 U.S. 292, 82

Es SE nix 00 a cbdcveubscicaduakineedouecccsccncen, 31

Yoffee v. United States (1st Cir.), 153 Fed. (2d) 570.... 62

OP We EE avn sedsacc patna tacarenncaakinesas 43, 44, 46

26 U.S.C. Sec. 145b; Internal Revenue Code, Sec. 145b....

GEbbbSUORNESTARS baw kebah eno erin. 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 46, 48, 51

CCHS HSHSSHEHSEHSHHSHESHEEHOSHO SHEESH OE EEHHO SES ECEEEEE®S

g

In the Supreme Court

United States

Ocroser Term, 1951

No.

See

Pauw C. Noewrrr, :

Petitioner,

Vs.

Unrrep States or AMERICA,

Respondent. }

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

to the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit.

To the Honorable Fred M. Vinson, Chief Justice of the

United States, and to the Honorable Associate Jus-

tices of the Supreme Court of the United States:

The petition of Paul C. Norwitt for a writ of certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Cir-

cuit respectfully shows:

2 y

THE INDICTMENT, SENTENCE, ETC.

Petitioner was indicted (R. 3-6) for three violations of

attempting to evade income taxes. (26 U.S.C. 145b.)

Count 1, charged that on June 23, 1945, petitioner who

was the President of the General Refrigerator Corpora-

tion, attempted to defeat and evade a large part of the

tax due and owing by said corporation for the fiscal year

ending July 31, 1941, by filing and causing to be filed

with the Collector of Internal Revenue, a false and

fraudulent return alleging that the net income of the cor-

poration for said year was the sum of $317.05 and the

tax due thereon was $47.08, whereas the net income for

said year was the sum of $9905.68 upon which there was

a tax due of $2990.24.

Count 2, charged that on June 23, 1945, petitioner, who

during the year 1942 was married, did attempt to defeat

and evade a large part of the income tax due by him and

his wife for the calendar year 1942 by filing with the

Collector of Internal Revenue a false and fraudulent in-

come tax return, wherein it was stated that their net

income for said year was $11,540.74 and the tax due

thereon was $2731.48, whereas their joint income for said

year was $30,808.76 and the tax due thereon was $12,-

744.37.

Count 3, charged that on June 23, 1945, petitioner, who

during 1943 was a married man, attempted to defeat and

evade a large part of the income and victory tax due and

owing by him and his wife for the calendar year 1943 by

filing with the Collector of Internal Revenue a false and

fraudulent joint return wherein it was stated that their

net income for said year was $23,081.04 and the tax due

thereon was $11,760.88, whereas their joint income was

$46,805.43 and the tax due thereon was $24,010.50.

After trial by jury petitioner was convicted on all three

counts and sentenced to a year’s imprisonment on each

count, sentences to run concurrently, and to pay a fine of

$10,000 and ‘costs.

At the conclusion of all the evidence petitioner moved

the Court for judgments of acquittal (R. 8) which mo-

tions were denied. A motion for a new trial was made

and denied. (R. 10-11.)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE PRESENTING

THE QUESTIONS INVOLVED.

(8) Preliminary and explanatory facts.

Paul C. Norwitt was a married man. From 1937 to 1941

he was president of the General Refrigerator Corporation,

a corporation engaged in the purchase and sale of used

refrigerators; after July 31, 1941, he personally acquired

the assets and all capital stock of the corporation and

conducted its business as a sole proprietorship. Until

December, 1944, Mareo Norwitt was Vice President and

Barney Norwitt, Secretary-Treasurer of the Corporation.

On December 30, 1944, Paul, Marco and Barney Norwitt

resigned as officers of the Corporation (R. 482), and some-

time prior to December 1944, all the stock of said corpo-

‘Although counts 2 and 3 charged the filing of income tax re-

turns in the year 1945, these returns in reality were amended

returns. Original returns for the years 1942 and 1943 had been

filed within the time required by law.

4

ration had been transferred to The Mission Company, a

corporation. (R. 482.) On December 30, 1944, V. D. Dardi,

J. C. Ernst and Frank Morrill were ele:ted officers and

directors of the General Refrigerator Corporation in the

place of the three Norwitts who had resigned (R. 483),

and the attorney for the Refrigerator Corporation was

directed to turn over all books and records to the attorney

for The Mission Company. (R. 483.)

On June 23, 1945, there was allegedly filed, as a delin-

quent return, an income tax return for the General Re-

frigerator Corporation for the fiscal year ending July 31,

1941. (R. 24-25.) The return had been prepared in 1941.

It was signed by Paul C. Norwitt as President and by

Marco Norwitt as Vice President. This return was actu-

ally prepared in 1941 (R. 452) though neither acknow!l-

edged nor filed until 1945 and at a time when neither Paul

nor Marco Norwitt were officers, directors or stockholders

in the corporation.

On April 15, 1943, Paul C. and Freda Norwitt filed

their joint income tax return for the year 1942 (Govern-

ment’s Exhibit 2) and on June 23, 1945, they filed their

amended return for 1942 (Government’s Exhibit 2), to-

gether with delinquent returns for 1939, 1940 and 1941.

On March 15, 1944, Paul and Freda Norwitt filed their

original joint income tax return for the vear 1943 (Gov-

ernment’s Exhibit 3) and on June 23, 1945, filed their

amended return for the vear 1943. (Government’s Ex-

hibit 3.) Counts 2 and 3 of the Indictment are based on

the amended returns filed in 1945 for the years 1942 and

1943.

- al

In 1943, a fire occurred in appellant’s place of business,

partially destroying some and making illegible other of

appellant’s books and records. (R. 202.)

Appellant conceded that the two original, individual in-

come tax returns filed in 1943 and 1944 by Paul and Freda

Norwitt were inaccurate and understated the taxable in-

come; but appellant was not on trial for having filed these

returns.

Early in 1945, appellant, being desirous of correcting

the inaccurate individual returns filed in 1943 and 1944

and to file returns for 1939, 1940 and 1941, employed

Nathan Spivock, a certified public accountant, to figure

out and make amended returns for the vears °42 and °43

and to file delinquent returns for the preceding 3 vears.

Spivock, being unable to make a full and correct return

based on the partially destroyed records of appellant.

after conferences with the Internal Revenue agents, de-

cided to make such returns on a net worth basis. He took

all of appellant’s assets as of December 31, 1944, as ap-

pellant’s net worth on the latter date: he then started

appellant out as of January 1, 1939, with no assets or net

worth at all and then, after conferences with the Internal

Revenue agents, allocated the net worth as of December.

1944, over the preceding vears, adding thereto for each

year a sum for living expenses for such vear. A draft

for each vear was prepared and submitted to the Internal

Revenue agents and the Internal Revenue agents had re-

turns corresponding thereto typed in the offices of the

Internal Revenue Department and sent down to appellant

for his and his wife’s signatures.

ee OEP ERR IR SII LOL EE IE I IE IS TPO et ETE ET NS

The theory of the Government (R. 20-22) was to the

effect that appellant had falsely represented that all his

records had been destroyed and had concealed a great

mass of sales tags showing sales of refrigerators, etc.,

which were not included in his reported income; that he

had concealed these sales not only from the Government

but from his own accountant. The Government also relied

on the computations of Agent Bobadilla to establish that

the reported income for the years in question was too low.

(b) Evidence relating to the preparation and filing of the cor-

porate return. (Count 1.)

There was produced in evidence as Government’s Ex-

hibit 1 (R. 24-25) an income tax return for the General

Refrigerator Corporation for the fiscal year ending July

31, 1941. The return bears the signatures of Paul C. Nor-

witt as President and Marco Norwitt as Vice-President

of the corporation. This return was prepared by a public

accountant named William McIntosh in the year 1941 (R.

357-8), who testified that after preparing the return he

executed it as the person who prepared the same and

turned it over to petitioner. (R. 360.) MeIntosh further

testified that he had a faint recollection of petitioner

signing the return when he turned it over to him in 1941

and recalled making a statement to petitioner that he

thought petitioner should sign the same before a notary.

(R. 452.) The corporate return bears a filing mark as

having been filed with the Internal Revenue Department

on June 23, 1945, more than four years after it was pre-

pared by the accountant and the signatures of Paul and

Marco Norwitt as President and Vice-President bear the

Aap 1 REE ARE OE a? a

7

acknowledgment as of June 25, 1945 and as having been

sworn to before Richard E. Korn, a Deputy Collector of

Internal Revenue. Korn, when called as a witness by

the Government, testified that although his signature ap-

peared on the return, he didn’t remember putting his

signature there; didn’t remember the name of the corpo-

ration and didn’t know if two names appeared thereon

when he ‘‘juratted’’ it and didn’t recall when or where

it was signed, or who appeared before him. (R. 378-9.)

In February of 1945, Adolph Washauer, Division Chief,

General Investigation Section, Bureau of Internal Reve-

nue, wrote a letter to one Arthur Shapro (who was attor-

ney for petitioner and the General Refrigerator Corpora-

tion in matters other than taxes), requesting that Mr.

Shapro show to him certain books and records of the

corporation. (R. 430.) As a result of this letter, Mr.

Washauer, accompanied by his assistant, Ralph Mohr,

called at the office of Mr. Shapro and the various parties

to this meeting testified as follows:

Adolph Washauer testified that he called at Mr. Sha-

pro’s office early in May of 1945;? that Shapro brought

forward a file containing the minutes and certain papers

relating to the corporation and among those papers was

the corporate return for the year ending July 31, 1941

(R. 292); that he called Shapro’s attention to the fact

that this return was subscribed and sworn to on October

1, 1941 by Charles E. White, one of his Deputies (R. 294) ;

that Shapro said: ‘‘ Well, we forgot to file’’ and that was

2This meeting actually took place in February of 1945 as is evi-

denced by the letter written by Washauer to Shapro (R. 430), and

by Washauer'’s own records. (R. 317-318.)

) Ty

all that was said and Shapro turned this return over to

him and he took it along with some minutes and by-laws

of the corporation (R. 294-5); that when Shapro produced

the papers, including the return, that he, Washauer, said

it was delinquent as it had never been filed; that Mr.

Shapro then said nothing; that Shapro gave him the re-

turn; that there was no discussion why it had not been

filed; that Shapro gave him the return as part of the

records he had (R. 335); that the return was given to

him for filing by Mr. Shapro but he didn’t file it until

June 23rd (R. 305) because it was not properly sworn to;

that the proper officers of the corporation didn’t sign the

return in 1941; that it was signed by the proper officers

on June 25, 1945. (R. 305-6.)

Ralph Mohr, called by the United States, testified that

he had no recollection of seeing the corporate return prior

to the month of June, 1945 (R. 491); that he was present

at the meeting held in Shapro’s office in the early part

of February, 1945 where Shapro presented them with cer-

tain records and permitted the use of a room where they

could examine those records; that he was quite sure there

was no income tax return among the records he examined.

(R. 492.)

Arthur P. Shapro, called as the only witness on behalf

of petitioner, testified that the corporate return for the

Refrigerator Corporation for the year ending July, 1941

was never in his possession from January to June of

1945, nor at any other time; that he never delivered that

document to Mr. Washauer or to any other person con-

nected with the Government and that he didn’t tell Mr.

any of his assistants or deputies or anyone

y should file that document; that the docu-

Washauer orver in his possession (R. 423-4); that in the

else that therbruary, 1945 he accompanied petitioner to

ment was nev the Collector and went into Mr. Boland’s

month of FelField Deputy with the Collector of Internal

the office of \at Mr. Boland, Mr. Mohr and Mr. Wash-

office (Chief Fesent; that Boland asked him if he knew

Revenue); tha@ration had not filed some tax returns; that

auer were préeoland he had nothing to do with the corpo-

why the corpoie years he mentioned; that Mr. Boland

he told Mr. Bem income tax return and Boland said it was

ration for thé return for the corporation which they had

showed him ansome of the records for the corporation and

an income tax t been filed with the Collector’s Office; that

found among ste knew nothing about it; that he had never

which had not tax return or tax matters for either Mr.

Shapro said hehe corporation (R. 426); that Mr. Boland

handled any tpapers on his desk and he opened one of the

Norwitt or théook out the income tax return form which

had a lot of p@ing on it; that he, Shapro, never examined

folders and tovause he had never handled any income tax

had some typireturns for Norwitt or the corporation (R.

the form becar received a letter dated February 12, 1945

matters or refVashauer requesting the minutes, by-laws,

428): that he k certificate book and stock ledger, ete. of

from Mr. Wa.on and the documents and records evidencing

charter, stock bulk assets from the corporation (R. 431) ;

the corporatiomg the letter Mr. Washauer and Mr. Mohr

the sale of bunim; that he made available to them the books

that following of the corporation; that they took them into

ealled upon him

and records of

10

the outer office; that Washauer came back and asked if

they could have certain of the records to be photostated

and copied, which they did (R. 432); that there was no

income tax returns executed or unexecuted turned over

to Washauer and Mohr or in Shapro’s possession.

John J. Boland, called by the United States, testified

that he recalled a meeting in his office in February, 1945

at which Norwitt, Shapro, Mohr and Washauer were pres-

ent (R. 484-85); that at that meeting he asked Mr. Sha-

pro what records of the General Refrigerator Corporation

he could make available for examination and Shapro said

he would make some records available (R. 485); that he

didn’t recall any other conversation; that he didn’t recall

any conversation about any income tax return (R. 486);

that he didn’t recall seeing the delinquent tax return for

the General Refrigerator Corporation or any similar re-

turn at that meeting (R. 487); that he didn’t have much

recollection about the meeting and didn’t recall much else

other than discussing the availability of record. (R. 487.)

At the conclusion of all the evidence, petitioner moved

for a judgment of acquittal as to count one on the fol-

lowing grounds: (a) That there was no evidence to estab-

lish that the return was filed by or under the authority

of petitioner; (b) That under a pertinent decision of

the Court of Appeals the return constituted no return at

all, in that it was not signed by the persons required by

law to sign it; (ce) That at the timé the return was al-

legedly acknowledged by petitioner and his brother, they

11

were no longer officers of or connected with the corpora-

tion; and (d) That there was no proof that the return

allegedly filed was false or untrue.

The trial Court denied the motion. The same points

were raised on appeal and the Court of Appeals errone-

ously decided each of said points against petitioner.

(c) Evidence relating to the existence and condition of books and

records of Norwitt and the corporation.

Adolph Washauer, Division Chief, I.R.D., testified for

the Government as follows: In February, 1945, Mr. Mohr

and I went to the office of the General Refrigerator Cor-

poration to look for Mr. Norwitt, but we were advised

he had sold his place and that Dardi & Co. had taken over

the General Refrigerator Corporation (R. 287-8); the ac-

countant there said, ‘‘ Well, here are some of their books.’’

There were about half a dozen books on a table. I did

not take the books with me because Mr. Norwitt was not

present. (R. 288.) We went to see Mr. Norwitt at his

place of business, the National Liquor Store, in April,

1945. We asked him if he were able to obtain his books

of the General Refrigerator Corporation and his individ-

ual business records. He stated that all the records were

burned in two fires. (R. 289.) A few days later Mr. Spivock

appeared in our office and said that Mr. Norwitt told him

all his records were burned and that he (Spivock) would

have to work it out on a basis of net worth. (R. 292.) In

my various conversations with Norwitt and Spivock, I

was told that all the books and records had been de-

stroyed. I didn’t discuss at any time with Norwitt or

Spivock that I knew there were books of Mr. Norwitt’s

12

out at the old

Street. (R. 313.’ General Refrigerator place on Mission

Nathan Spivc

ment as follows°”’ the C.P.A., testified for the Govern-

“Q. I x

to assist yo° Did you ask Mr. Norwitt for records

and 19437 | in preparing amended returns for 1942

A. Yes, °

ever is need@ @8ked for necessary papers and what-

Q. And éd to make a proper return.

for that pur!d he provide you with adequate records

A. No, ose? 3

these were here were some records available and

Q. Whatome not available.

A. Well, records were available?

ten t hk at this date I wouldn’t know and at that

inadequate ’t make a list of it. I knew they were

and if ther’? prepare 100 per cent proper returns

it is—the r 8 82Y information missing whatsoever

ih on rdsu wouldn’t be correct, using the par-

Q. Doy

available?

S. Be - t don’t, specifically.

ae you inspect the records which were avail-

A. ti I looked at the records.

, Q. How much time would you say you spent look-

ing at then

: A. It is hard to say. I spent sufficient time—put

it this way. | spent sufficient time to satisfy myself

that @ PrO}er return could not be prepared from the

records Vs ilable.

yu remember any of the records that were

Q. Now gid Mr. Norwitt express to you why there

were not Cymplete records available?

13

A. Yes, he stated there was a fire in 1943. In fact,

I had seen some of the records which were spoiled

by the water damage. The ink had run on some of

the sheets and you couldn’t read the writing any

more. Must have been washable ink. Other records

were singed and partially burned.”’ (R. 197-8.)

Q. There was a discussion of the basis on which

the income should be computed?

A. Yes, I discussed the matter with the deputy

collectors and told them of the condition of the

records and that it was almost physically impossible

to make a proper return, also the element of time

and money, cost of doing. * * *”’ (R. 202.)8

Thomas W. Cleary, Special Agent I.R.D., testified for

the Government that in November, 1945, he went to the

General Refrigerator Corporation’s offices; that Norwitt

was no longer there, having been out for a year or more;

that he saw quite a pile of records, cancelled checks and

sales invoices there of the General Refrigerator Corpora-

tion (R. 139-140) ; that a few days later, accompanied by

3 men from the deputy collector’s office he went back and

took the records, etc., away. (R. 141.)

8Mr. Spivock testified that the collectors were in quite a rush to

get the returns completed ; that they said they were anxious to have

it rapidly ‘‘In fact, wanted it so rapidly they typed it themselves. ’’

(R. 231.)

Mr. Washauer testified that he told Spivock that their (the Gov-

ernment’s) fiscal year ended June 30, 1945: that they wished to

put those assessments on before their fiscal year ended ; that they

would have to cut their week to about June 25 in order that their

report would arrive in Washington about August 1; that as

Spivock said his office was too busy to type the returns before the

25th, that the collector’s office would type the returns as an ae-

commodation to both sides. (R. 307-8.)

14

I also found some additional sales invoices off the

garage at 32 Crescent Avenue. (R. 143.) I learned that

the State Board of Equalization had been making an

investigation and procured from that Board journals and

sales ledger sheets for the last 3 months of 1943 and

records for 1944. (R. 146.) In October of 1947, Mr. Nor-

witt came to see me in response to a letter I sent him

and I asked him for the rest of his books. He said he

would bring them in and he did so the next week. (R.

147.) The records I then had, there were some missing

parts. One I was concerned particularly with, the sales

register for 1942 was missing for the whole year. (R.

147.) There were ledger sheets for ’41, ’42 and °43, except

a part of 1942 and 1943 was reconstructed from the

journal. (R. 148.)

**Q. Now, you also made some reference to some

records being reconstructed. What did you mean by

that?

A. There was a part of the sales ledger for either

42 or °43 missing which I put in the amounts I

thought should be there, tied it in with the (original)

returns and figures found from other sources.

Q. So you reconstructed that part?

A. Yes, I did.’’ (R. 179.)

a os =

A. I had a cash receipts register when it recorded

cash sales.

Q. I see. Was any part of that missing?

A. I didn’t inquire too closely. I really can’t say.

It was my impression that parts of all the records

were missing, certain parts, but I don’t know.” (R.

178-9.)

15

Lastly, Mr. Clearly sums up his whole testimony and the

case as follows: ‘‘I can’t be sure of anything in this

particular case. I am not sure of anything, bat——”’ (R.

185.)

(d) Evidence relating to the preparation and filing of the

amended returns for 1942 and 1943. (Counts Two and Three.)

In February of 1945 the Internal Revenue Department

requested that petitioner furnish a statement as to his

net worth condition at the end of 1944. (R. 290, 427.)

This was prepared by Mr. Spivock, the C.P.A., and filed

in May of 1945. This statement showed Norwitt’s net

worth as of December 31, 1944 to be $57,360.40 including

assets in the sum of $112.50 (R. 212) and a savings

account in the San Francisco Bank of $1466.99. (R. 213.)

The evidence established that this net worth statement

was only incorrect in one particular, that the U. S. Bonds

should have been $225 instead of $112.50. (R. 213-4, 241.)

Nathan Spivock, called as a witness on behalf of the

Government, testified:

I did work for Norwitt in 1945 to prepare his 1944

income tax returns. Mr. Stephenson was in my employ

and he handled most of the details.

The original return of Paul C. Norwitt for the year

1944 now shown me is the return to which I have refer-

ence. This was filed May 15, 1945. We needed some addi-

tional information. We ascertained that there was some

missing information, particularly of rents, and we needed

depreciation figures, so we asked for the prior years’

returns. I believe they were supplied. (R. 193.)

16

When I inspected those returns, I discovered that no

rents had been reported in the returns. I reported that

to Mr. Norwitt. He didn’t give me any instructions. I

made the suggestions that the returns be amended and

corrected. (R. 194.)

In order to prepare the amended returns for 1942 and

1943, we had discussions with the deputy collector’s office.

(R. 199.)

We ultimately used the net worth method. At the first

discussion at the collector’s office, I am almost sure

Mr. Washauer was present, but I wouldn’t be positive.

We had several such discussions; I do not know over

how long a period of time such discussions took place,

maybe a month or two months, leading up to the filing

of the amended returns. (R. 200.)

The main subject of the discussions with Washauer

and Ralph Mohr and Mr. Stephenson was the best way

to get this thing straightened out. The collector’s office

asked for a financial statement. That was the starting

point, and from there on it came out that they wanted

the prior returns, so we informed them that we had

started already on the ’42 and ’43. They asked what

about the 39, 40 and ’41? So I inquired of Mr. Norwitt

whether he had filed any. He said he thought he had,

but the collector’s office said they had no record. I told

deputy collectors of the condition of the records and that

it was almost physically impossible (R. 201) to make

@ proper return, also the element of time and money and

the cost of doing so. So we discussed it back and forth

and we finally agreed to use the net worth method and

file the returns that way.

17

First of all, we had the necessary information to pre-

pare the 1944 tax return. There were books and records

on that, so we prepared separate returns for that year

upon the basis of books and records which were avail-

able. For the other returns, since it was impossible to

prepare a 100% proper return, we decided on the net

worth basis. So we determined to use December 31,

1944, net worth inasmuch as that was the end of the year

closest to the time this increase Started. I believe we

started with January 1, 1939. (R. 202.) Defendant’s Ex-

hibit A for identification indicates very plainly that the

years from 1939 to 1943 were involved. That is the orig-

inal of the typewritten Statement which is attached to

each of these returns that were later prepared by Mr.

Stephenson and myself. We didn’t file the returns. We

prepared them. (R. 203.) The note on top of the state-

ment says: ‘‘To be attached to 1939, 1940, 1941, 1942 and

1943 returns. The amounts shown as other income repre-

sents estimated living costs and is added pursuant to an

informal understanding of the Office of Collector of In-

ternal Revenue. The amount in item 8 of the 1941 return

and the additional amount added to item 9 of the amended

1942 return represents the difference between (1) the

taxpayer’s net worth as of December 31, 1944, and (2) the

amount of income reported on the 1944 and 1942 returns

and the amended 1943 return. This is in accordance with

an informal understanding with the Office of Collector of

Internal Revenue. It is not possible to obtain exact

figures or details, because the taxpayer’s records were

destroyed by fire in 1943.’ (R. 204.)

18

We had quite a few discussions and I informed the

collector’s office that I would throw the smallest amounts

in the earlier years and the biggest amounts in the later

years, which would be the most probable answer, instead

of dividing it equally between all the years. Part of this

net worth increase was spread through all years involved,

1939 to 1943, inclusive. (R. 205.)

The computation involves consideration of living ex-

penses for a net worth computation, that is the adjust-

ment on account of the net worth basis. We had infor-

mation as of the end of the period. We did not have

information as of the beginning. We assumed the begin-

ning of zero, which would be detrimental to the taxpayer

if he had anything at all. He would have paid that much

less. We assumed January 1, 1939, as the point of time.

(R. 208.)

The ending point of my net worth period was Decem-

ber 31, 1944. I personally obtained everything possible

as to Mr. and Mrs. Norwitt’s assets and liabilities. (R.

209.)

I deducted certain living expenses in preparing these

returns. I asked Mr. Norwitt what his living expenses

were for these years. He gave me certain figures, the

amounts of which I don’t remember at present. I brought

them back to the Deputy Collectors and showed them

the figures. I also pointed out certain details making

up the figures. For example, his rent in 1939 was $23.00

a month. He had later bought a home and his total pay-

ments for interest, principal, taxes and insurance were

$54.00 a month. He had one life insurance policy on

which he paid $87.00 a year less approximately $25.00

—— |

19

what they call dividends a year. That period was 1939

to 1943, inclusive. I took those figures to the Deputy

Collectors’ office and I believe we finally raised them

and the final figures were used in the amended returns.

(R. 216.)

I had no knowledge of any large group of invoices in

1932, or other items which had been unrecorded. If I had

known of such invoices, 1 would still have used the net

worth method (R. 218), because some of the documents

and records were missing. Without all the records, you

cannot make a proper return.

I might state there appears to be an overcharge over

the net worth system of about $10,000. I told Mr.

Stephenson what to do and he made the allocations and

apparently a $10,000 error crept in in favor of the Gov-

ernment. Using the net worth basis, the total income

to be reported from 1939 to 1944 should have been in

round numbers $70,000. In computing Mr. Norwitt’s net

worth as of January 1, 1939, I started him at zero. For

the purpose of my computation, he had no property nor

assets of any kind on that day. He did have some-

thing. He had stock of the General Refrigerator Cor-

poration, which was a corporation at that time. I don’t

know the value. It wasn’t too much. (R. 225.) It might

have been worth $3,000, or something like that. That

is just my guess. I don’t think he had any property

but I don’t know. It is my estimate that he had at least

$3,000 that I know of at that time.

Assuming that the net worth as figured out in the

statement of $57,360.40 was correct, and it started from

cuacienieeee SPRL ETL SNIPE EPRI ce is

zero, actually that figure was approximately $3,000 in

favor of the Government again. I explained that to the

deputy. I stated I would weigh heavily against Mr. Nor-

witt and in favor of the Government because he did not

have complete records. The original returns of 1939,

1940, 1941, 1942 and 1943, the ones that were filed in

1945, were typed up in the office of the Collector of

Internal Revenue. (R 226.)

None of these were typed in my office. The collector

typed the returns, retained them, brought them to the

taxpayer and had the taxpayer sign them, and then of

course the collector, after they were signed, still retained

them. (R. 228.)

My testimony is that, taking this as the ending net

worth to be accounted for and assuming zero starting

point, at some point prior to this, the increase in net

worth which is reported here by the excess of assets

over liabilities was spread back through several of these

returns for several years. I believe that if we will read

the second paragraph carefully it does substantiate what

has actually been done and that a $10,000 error has crept

in there somehow. (R. 233.)

The salaries that he received from the corporation

were taken up in the returns and that was in addition

to the increase in the net worth plus the living expenses.

Those salaries were erroneously included. I did not

ascertain what his net worth was at the beginning of

1941. I don’t know what it is now. We didn’t make

any attempt to because we used the beginning of ’39

as being zero and he didn’t have much. (R. 236.)

—_ raw eet 4.45 ch ee S&S cob £ bebe

EE nn a ee

21

Harry Stephenson, the accountant employed by Spivock,

sstified for the Government as follows:

I found evidence Mr. Norwitt had some rental income

rom these properties. When I checked the original re-

urns for 1942 and 1943, I did not find any rental income

eported. For that reason, I undertook the preparation

f amended returns. I advised him it would be the best

hing to do, to get them amended and get out of trouble.

Ar. Norwitt told me he had been engaged in a business

snown as the General Refrigerator Corporation. I asked

iim for records of that business and his reply was that

they had been burned in a fire. (R. 35.)

In looking over my working papers T found where

there were some unrecorded sales added into the returns.

I believe it was 1943, but it might also have been 1942.

I mean, it may have been both years. I can’t recall. The

papers now handed me are the working papers in the

ease of Mr. Norwitt. I did not prepare all of them, but

substantially all of them. (R. 36.)

All the field work, I believe, was done hy me. Looking

at those papers, there is a schedule of unrecorded sales

which was not in the papers the last time I looked at

them. That refreshes my recollection as to the year in

which I say additional sales were reported on the amended

return. It was 1943. The amount that was added to the

amount originally reported as sales was a total of $9,180.

It represents 51 refrigerators which were sold. (R. 37.)

To the best of my recollection, 1 obtained the informa-

tion that appears on that working sheet from Mr. Nor-

witt, but I can’t be positive; after six years I can’t be

positive. In preparing the amended return, I added this

amount of refrigerator sales which had not been reported

in the original return. (R. 38.)

I was present at at least one conference with the col-

lector’s office. I don’t recall when that took place. (R. 55.)

It was in June I believe, it was naturally prior to June

23, 1945, the filing date which those returns bear. Mr.

Washauer, who testified here this morning, was present

at that conference, and I believe Mr. Mohr. I can’t recall

what was said at the conference, but the purpose of the

conference was to arrive at figures for his living expenses

which would be satisfactory to the Government. There

was some discussion about the amount of the estimated

living expenses. We had to arrive at an amount which

we felt would be satisfactory to the Government. As I

recall it, we talked about so much per month. (R. 56.)

The amended returns or delinquent returns for the

years 1941, 1942 and 1943 were prepared without refer-

ence to the original returns. So far as I know, they

were prepared for the purpose of representing to the

Government the full taxable income for those years.

These amended returns were prepared upon the basis

that the original returns were not correct and in pre-

paring the returns for 1941, 1942 and 1943 the net worth

system of computation was used. In using that system,

I computed the unaccountable difference between his

reported income, or the income as I was able (R. 66) to

determine it, and the net worth figure at the end of the

period, and that was done, so far as my office or I was

concerned, for the purpose of representing to the Gov-

ernment the entire taxable income.

Zashauer testified for the Government as fol-

ril Mr. Spivock appeared and asked to discuss

Adolph Washat- Mohr and I were present on behalf of the

lows: In April MOffice; Mr. Spivock said Norwitt had told him

the case, Mr. Mords were burned so he, Spivock, would have

Collector’s office; Out on a net worth basis (R. 292); later

all his records w22" to work on a net worth statement and

to work it out '@t the minutes of the corporation as well as

Spivock began gate) return be turned over to him (R. 295);

he asked that theet worth papers were being resubmitted for

the (corporate) p®. Spivock brought back the corporate return

when the net wollt. Spivock, Mr. Roder and I had a meeting

our attention, Spi 1945 in the Collector’s office—we discussed

(R. 296); Mr. gprth statement (R. 296-7); our next meetings

on June 4, 1945 pivock were on June 12 and 13, 1945 at which

the net worth sté?- Mohr and I were present. We had another

with Mr. Spivock:! June 22 at which meeting amended returns

meetings Mr. MopHtted by the accountant. No representative of

meeting on June °F suggested the use of a net worth statement

were submitted b: °UF meetings; that suggestion was made by

the Collector vit (R. 297); no one in the Collector’s office

at any of our mgreement with Norwitt or Spivock that returns

Mr. Spivock (R. ™ the net worth basis would be accepted as

made any agreeme 299)-

prepared on the ie witness produced his appointment book show-

correct (R. 299). lowing appointments with Mr. Spivock relative

(Here the witne: and the General Refrigeration Corp.:

ing the following w 6, 1945; June 4, 5, 6, 12, 13, 22, 23. (R. 317-

to Norwitt and th

February 6, 1940t tell Mr. Spivock he could use a 1944 net

318).) ement. I made no suggestion whatsoever. That

I did not tell |

worth statement. |

—y

24

was his business. He is the accountant. He had power

of attorney, he didn’t tell me anything. He said he would

prepare a net worth statement for a certain period. That

is all he told me. I didn’t say nothing. (sic.) That is his

prerogative to do whatever he pleases. It is my business

to help the taxpayer. You know the accountant. He is

a CPA. He is capable of handling himself. I don’t know

of any request being made up to the time of June 23,

1945 of Mr. Spivock or Mr. Norwitt for a net worth

statement as of the end of each year 1941, 1942, 1943 or

1944, (R. 325.)

The only discussion Mr. Spivock had with us was about

living expenses. I am stating for the record, that you can

draw up a net worth statement including living expenses

as part of the net worth. (R. 326.)

About all that was discussed was about living expenses.

Nothing was discussed as to how the figures had been

arrived at. Nothing was discussed as to what this man’s

net worth was at the end of any year. That was a sworn

statement. We didn’t have to discuss it at all. (R. 327.)

The sum and substance of my testimony is that Mr.

Spivock came in and all I did was listen. I haven’t much

recollection of what was said. The matter was under

investigation. I accepted it. The Bureau accepts any-

thing a taxpayer or a taxpayer’s representative submits

to the Bureau of Internal Revenue while the matter is

still under investigation. We must accept anything. The

purpose of the conference was not at all to see what

should be filed. Mr. Spivock called on me to submit a net

worth statement and the increase in net worth. (R. 328.)

- —

25

The purpose of the conference with Mr. Spivock from

the time I got the financial statement until June 22, 1945

was that Mr. Spivock, the accountant for the taxpayer,

wished to file amended returns on the basis of net worth

increase. No discussion was necessary and we accepted as

the taxpayer or taxpayer’s accountant presents it for the

Bureau of Internal Revenue. He could probably have

done that without talking to me about it. If he didn’t

file with us, we would ask him to bring that information

in. When he brought it in, he showed me what I call

his working sheets. The topic came up of his living exr-

penses. He suggested a lower figure. I felt it was too

low, then he raised the figure to a higher figure. That

is his prerogative. (R. 329.) There was no rejection. We

thought it was too low, so he raised it. (R. 330.) When

he came in on the 22nd, he had the returns all written

out in pencil. I didn’t look at the figures at all. I don’t

think any figures were discussed at all. I don’t think he

discussed with me the net worth Statement that had been

filed back in May. Mr. Mohr was present on the 22nd. |

think that Mr. Spivock did all the talking. I accepted

the returns. (R. 331.) I think all these returns were taken

down by Gus Roder to be signed. I didn’t see the returns

at all when they were taken down to Mr. Norwitt.

Gustave C. Roder called as a witness by the Govern-

ment testified that he was a deputy collector of internal

revenue; that he took the delinquent returns for 1939,

1940 and 1941 and the amended returns for 1942 and 1943

down to Mr. Norwitt’s office and Mr. Norwitt signed them

in his presence (R. 348); that Mr. Washauer handed him

the returns on June 22nd and that he, Roder, typed them

up from the hand-written returns (R. 349); that after

typing up the returns he made an appointment with Mr.

Norwitt by telephone and then went to Mr. Norwitt’s

office and that Mr. Norwitt’s wife was present and signed

the returns where her signature was necessary. (R. 350.)

When he made the appointment with Norwitt over the

telephone ‘‘I said that I had a few returns which re-

quired his signature which were brought in by his ac-

countant, and that I would appreciate it if he were pres-

ent, together Possibly with his wife, so that they could

sign their sigf@tures on the return. Q. Yes. First you

identified yourself to him, told him who you were? A.

Oh, yes, absolvtely.’’ (R. 352.)

When I car’® to Mr. Norwitt’s office he just signed the

returns. I was there about ten or fifteen minutes. (R. 353.)

(Here the wit?@SS was shown the returns for 1939, 1941,

1942 and 1943 and his attention called to the fact that in

each instance the signature of Freda Norwitt was signed

by Paul C. Norwitt and so appears on the returns [R.

353-5]); that though there were requirements as to who

should sign rhe returns ‘‘we wouldn’t be very specific

about that”, we would assume the correct signature was

354.) I stood right there while the returns

igned but I had no right to question Mr.

355.)

on there. (R.

were being s

Norwitt. (R. .

‘ela’ to the Government’s computation of peti-

(e) Evidence ety Sao . :

tioner’sta>

. > did the Government attempt to prove the

At no time

a, : amended returns that were filed on the net

falsity of the . .

. The Government’s entire proof was confined

worth basis.

hat the original returns filed for the years

to proving tl

Z —_

1942 and 1943 were false, a fact that had been conceded

by petitioner.

From the beginning of the trial, petitioner objected to

any proof that was directed to the falsity of the original

returns filed, asserting that defendant was not on trial

for having filed such original returns. (R. 104.) At the

end of the Government’s case, appellant moved to strike

out all of the testimony given by the Government’s wit-

nesses Bobadilla and Cleary, dealing with the false char-

acter of the original returns. (R. 467-469.) This motion

was denied.

William Bobadilla, a deputy collector, testified for the

Government that he had added up the sales tags which

were found in the Mission Street premises and in the

garage, and found that they showed sales for the year

1942 less sales tax, of $9699.28 (R. 120); that the sales

tags for the year 1943 totalled, less sales tax, $42,986.43

(R. 122), plus $239 (R. 123); that he had been able to

secure a lot of Norwitt’s personal cancelled checks (R.

123), most of which were made out to cash and bore no

endorsement (R. 124); that he went ahead and scheduled

all of those checks which appeared to him as being per-

sonal, as the personal withdrawals and expenditures of

petitioner (R. 124); that the checks so scheduled by him

for Norwitt’s personal expenses were as follows: For

1941, $3054.52, for 1942, $12,884.74 and for 1943, $15,-

565.45 (R. 124-5); that he allotted all these checks to

Norwitt’s personal living expenses because they were all

written to cash and as he had no records to verify it

“I presumed they were personal withdrawals’? (R. 244,

245); that he charged them against Mr. Norwitt because

it appeared to him that he went in and took some cash

and cashed these checks and then redeposited the checks;

that he assumed that Norwitt had taken this money in

cash and then deposited the check in the bank (R. 249) ;

that he didn’t assume that he had also made a deposit

to cover the amount of these checks (R. 249); that he

assumed Mr. Norwitt may have taken that cash: that

there was a possibility he may have paid it out of cash

and put in the checks as it is written (R. 250); that he

didn’t adopt the assumption that the money had been

paid out on account of business and the check then de-

posited, although that was possible; that he didn’t adopt

that theory but adopted the theory against Mr. Norwitt.

(R. 250.)

On cross-examination Bobadilla identified a series of

checks which he said he had allotted to the personal

living expenses of Norwitt for the year 1942 (R. 248.

257) and checks he had so allotted for the vear 1941

(R. 261-273) and the checks he charged to personal ex-

penses for the year 1943. ( 267-275.)

Petitioner then intraduced in evidence the check regis-

ter from January to November, 1941 (R. 471) and the

check register from January to September, 1943. (R. 471.)

There was no check register for 1942. Petitioner then

read into the record from said check registers the entries

therein showing the purpose for which the checks in 1941

and 1943 had been issued, the same being the checks that

Bobadilla had assumed were for Norwitt’s personal ex-

penses. (R. 473-479.) The check register disclosed that

of the checks Bobadilla had assumed for Norwitt’s living

expenses for the year 1941, that $2324.65 thereof was paid

g

out for business expenses such has payroll, labor, ete., and

that for the year 1943, $2022.77 had been paid out for like

purposes; that for the year 1942, although there was no

check register for this year, the checks corresponding with

those which in the year 1943 were expended for business

expense, totalled $1612.43.

Thomas W. Cleary, Special Agent, Internal Revenue

Department, testified for the Government that he added

up the sales tags or invoices found at the Mission Street

office and at the Crescent Avenue address and found that

for the fiscal year ending July, 1941 there were sales

totalling $9026.32 which were not included in the cor-

porate return (R. 159-161); that for the year 1942 the

total amount of sales slips which bore no posting was

$22,455.45 including sales tax of $624.85 (R. 164): that

he arrived at these figures by comparing the sales tags

with the sales ledgers (R. 155); that as to the corporate

return he found*that the sales reported on that return

coincided with the amounts shown in the ledger and the

sales register (R. 157); that for the year 1943 the sales

reported on the original return coincided with the sales

shown in the business ledger (R. 157); that he had no

sales register for the year 1942 (R. 157); that the sales

tags which were recorded in the sales register and ledger

seemed to have check marks on them and others had no

check marks; that for the year 1942 they found a group

of tags that had no check marks on them; that he based

the fact that certain sales were not registered in the sales

register or other books on the absence of check marks on

the sales tag, although there were tags with check marks

on them that had not been entered in the books for the

32

County Trust Co. v. Riey, 302 U.S. 292, 82 L. ed. 268:

International Ry. Co. v. Davidson, 257 US. 506, 66 L. ed.

341; Federal Trade Comm. v. Raladam Co., 316 U.S. 149,

96 L. ed. 1336.

(b) The decision of the lower Court holding that

where one has violated Sec. 145b of the Internal Revenue

Code by filing a false and fraudulent income tax return

for a particular taxable vear and thereafter files one or

more false amended returns for the same year, the filing

of each such amended return constitutes a new and

separate violation of said section is in direct conflict with

decisions from other circuits, such as the cases of United

States v. Johnson, 123 Fed. (2d) 111, 119; Care v. United

States (Sth Cir.), 159 Fed. (2d) 464: Guzik v. United

States (7th Cir.), 54 Fed. (2d) 618, 619, and Boles v.

United States (4th Cir.), 73 Fed. (2d) 772, 774. Under

such circumstances, this Court has jurisdiction on cer-

tiorart to review the action of the lower Court. (Dept. of

Treasury v. Ingram-Richardson Mfg. Co., 313 U.S. 252,

85 L. ed. 1313.)

(c) The decision of the Court of Appeals holding that

where a taxpayer files an income tax return and there-

after files an amended income tax return for the same

taxable year, proof of the falsity of the original tax

return constitutes proof of the falsity of the amended tax

return is in direct conflict with the decision from the 7th

Circuit in the case of United States vr. Johnson, 123 Fed.

(2d) 111. Under such cireumstances, this Court has jur-

isdiction to review the action of the lower Court on

certiorari. (Dept. of Treasury v. Inaram-Richardson Mfoa.

Co., supra; Rule 38 of the Supreme Court, Par. 5b.)

a

33

(d) The holding of the Court of Appeals that under

the facts in this case petitioner was not entitled to rely

on the income computed by his accountant, is in direct

conflict with the decision in the case of Lurding v. United

States (6th Cir.), 179 Fed. (2d) 419, 429 and under such

circumstances this Court has jurisdiction to review the

matter on certiorari. (Dept. of T reasury v. Ingram-

Richardson Mfq. Co., supra, Rule 38 of the Supreme

Court.)

(e) The decision of the Court of Appeals upholds the

conviction of a defendant on the testimony of Govern.

ment’s witnesses that amounts to no more than specula-

tion, assumption, surmise and conjecture. This rule is in

direct conflict with comparable decisions of this Court in

which jurisdiction was exercised to review and correct

such error. Pennsylvania R. Co. v. Chamberlin, 288 US.

333, 344.

(f) The decision of the Court of Appeals that one can

be guilty of Violating See. 145b of the ‘Internal Revenue

Code because a corporate income tax return bears the

Signature of the defendant without any proof that the

same was filed by or under the authority of such defend-

ant, presents a new and novel rule of evidence that has

not been announced or passed upon by the Supreme

Court. In such case this Court has jurisdiction to review

the matter involved. (See eases cited under Subpar. (a)

above.)

(g) The holding of the Court of Appeals, that in a

criminal prosecution where defendant is charged and

found guilty of two or more offenses the judgment wil]

Eee

30

year 1943 and he also found sales tags with no check

marks on them which had been entered in the books. (R.

180.)

Augustus B. Brady, technical advisor in the Penal

Division in the chief counsel’s office in the Treasury De-

partment, testified to a computation he made of the cor-

rect income of appellant for the years 1942 and 1943 (R.

409) and produced a mimeographed sheet five pages in

length of his computations. These computations were

made prior to trial (R. 410) and were based upon the

testimony thereafter to be given by Mr. Bobadilla and

were made for the purpose of showing that the original

returns filed were false. Brady in making his computa-

tions took certain figures as being correct from the orig-

inal returns. (R. 455, 460, 461.) Brady further testifies:

‘*T didn’t compute the amended returns’’. (R. 464.) Brady

further testified that he made no computation to figure

what the tax due the United States would have amounted

to based on the net worth basis. (R. 466.) In other words,

all of Brady’s testimony and all his computations were

solely for the purpose of showing that the original re-

turns were false. This has been admitted at all times.

In the trial Court and Court of Appeals, petitioner

contended as to counts two and three of the indictment

as follows: (a) That there was no competent evidence

to establish the falsity of either amended return; (b)

That there was no competent evidence to establish that

appellant filed either amended return for the purpose of

defeating or evading the tax; that on the contrary, the

evidence established that said returns were filed in reli-

te aieeintenateriantie ie

31

ance upon the work of the certified public accountant with

the consent, approval, collaboration and request of the

Internal Revenue Officers; (c) That the filing of the

amended returns did not constitute a violation of Sec.

145b of the Internal Rvenue Code as false original returns

for the same years had been filed by appellant and said

section can only be violated once for each taxable year.

These contentions of petitioner were erroneously held

by both the trial and Appellate Court to be without merit.

-_-_e

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT.

1. Jurisdiction of the Court.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under Title 28

U.S.C. see. 1254(1).

2. The decision and judgment of the Court of Appeals.

The decision and judgment of the Court of Appeals was

rendered on March 12, 1952. (R. 506, 527.)

Petition for rehearing denied on April 14, 1952. (R,

528.)

8. Basis upon which it is contended the Supreme Court has

jurisdiction and cases in support thereof.

(a) The Court of Appeals’ decision, that a person can

be guilty of two or more separate violations of Sec. 145b

of the Internal Revenue Code for the same taxable year,

is a decision on an important question of federal law

which has not been but which should be settled by the

Supreme Court. In such case this Court. has jurisdiction

to review the question involved as was held in Worcester

34

not be reversed if the evidence sustains the conviction

on any one count and the sentences imposed do not exceed

that which might lawfully be imposed on any single count,

is no longer the law and in conflict with the decision of

this Court in Fiswick v. United States, 329 U.S. 211,

wherein the Court exercised its jurisdiction on certiorari.

In view of the language of this Court in the Fiswick case,

this entire question should be reconsidered by this Court

as it constitutes an important question of Federal law.

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

The questions presented and raised by this petition are

as follows:

1. Where a person files a false and fraudulent income

tax return in violation of Sec. 145b of the Internal Rev-

enue Code and thereafter and for the same taxable year

files one or more false amended returns, does the filing

of each such amended return constitute a new and

separate violation of said Sec. 145b?

2. Where a person files a false and fraudulent income

tax return in violation of Sec. 145b of the Internal Rev-

enue Code and thereafter files an amended return for the

same year, does mere proof of the falsity of the original

income tax return constitute proof that the amended re-

turn is false and fraudulent?

3. Where a taxpayer employs an accountant to prepare

his income tax return and makes available to the account-

ant, all books and records that he has and makes full dis-

closure to the accountant of his assets and liabilities, is

—

35

not such person entitled to rely upon the accuracy of the

return prepared by his accountant despite the fact that

the taxpayer may have lied to Internal Rvenue Agents as

to the existence of his books and records?

4. In a prosecution for violating Sec. 145b of the In-

ternal Revenue Code wherein it is necessary that the Gov-

ernment prove unreported taxable income, can a convic-

tion be sustained where the evidence as to such unre-

ported taxable income amounts to no more than mere

speculation, surmise and conjecture on the part of the

Government’s witnesses?

5. Where one who has been an officer of a corporation

is charged with filing a false income tax return on behalf

of such corporation, can his conviction be sustained where

there is no proof that the return was filed by him or

under his authority?

6. In view of the language of this Court in Fiswick rv.

United States, 329 U.S. 211, does it still continue to be

the rule that where a defendant is charged with two or

more offenses, the judgment will not be reversed if the

evidence sustains the conviction on any one count and

the sentences imposed do not exceed that which might

lawfully be imposed on a single count?

POINTS RELIED UPON FOR THE ISSUANCE OF

A WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

The Writ of Certiorari prayed for herein should issue

for each and all of the following reasons:

36

1, The Court of Appeals has announced the rule that

for any one taxable year a taxpayer can be guilty of a

hundred violations of Sec. 145b of the Internal Revenue

Code. Thus, the Court of Appeals has held that if one

has violated this section by filing a false and fraudulent

income tax return, he can thereafter again violate this

section for the same taxable year by filing false amended

returns or by in any other manner attempting to evade

the income tax for such year. By so holding the Court

of Appeals has done away with the statute of limitations

relative to such offense and has in effect held that the

initial violation of the section can be repeated day after

day and long after the statute of limitations has run as to

the initial violation. This presents a new and important

question of Federal law. It has never been passed upon

by this Supreme Court and should be passed upon for all

future guidance.

2. For many years it has been the law that when a

taxpayer honestly employs an accountant to prepare his

income tax return and makes available to such accountant,

all his books and records and such other information as

is required and the accountant prepares such return and

it is filed, the taxpayer has a right to rely on the return

as prepared by his accountant and such facts negative

any criminal intent on the part of the taxpayer. The

decision of the Court of Appeals herein lays down a

contrary rule and announces that the taxpayer is not

entitled to rely on his accountant’s activities if at some

other time and place and to persons other than his ac-

countant he lied about his books and records, his assets,

income and liabilities. This rule should not be allowed

SEE Eee

37

to stand and the qi

of this Court, id and the question merits the earnest consideration

; Court.

3. It has alwa:

for income tax evat has always been the law that in prosecutions

of proving to a mio™me tax evasion, the Government bears the burden

doubt that the defing to a moral certainty and beyond a reasonable

he didn’t report jnthat the defendant acquired taxable income which

of Appeals herein’ t report in his return, The decision of the Court

of such unreported®#!s herein lays down the rule that the existence

the testimony of “reported taxable income can be established by

give their assumptidmony of Government’s witnesses who merely

existence of such wT assumption, surmise and speculation as to the

the Court of Appe? °f such unreported income. Such holding of

accepted and usual 't of Appeals is a marked departure from the

conflict with the pre: 8294 usual course of judicial proceedings, is in

of the rule that provith the presumption of innocence and destructive

yond a reasonable dule that proof of a defendant's guilt must be be-

herein warrants this®@Sonable doubt. The holding of the lower Court

its decision re-estg@Trants this Court in reviewing the same and by

criminal cases. sion re-establishing the rules of evidence in

4. The Court of SSS

that an income taxe Court of Appeals has held that the mere fact

taxpayer is found ir income tax return bearing the signature of a

Revenue, constitutes is found in the files of the Collector of Internal

or under the author Constitutes proof that such return was filed by

a new and novel d the authority of the taxpayer. This constitutes -

in criminal cases and novel departure from the rules of evidence

Court. ial cases and should be reviewed by the Supreme

5. The Court of

where a defendant ie Court of Appeals has relied upon the rule that

more offenses, the defendant is charged and found guilty of two or

enses, the judgment will not be reversed if the

EE

TE

38

evidence sustains the conviction on any one count and the

sentences imposed do not exceed that which might law-

fully be imposed on any single count. In view of the lan-

guage of this Court in Fiswick v. United States, 329 U.S.

211, the present validity of this rule should be re-examined

and if such rule be not abrogated, it should at least be

restricted in its operation to convictions that do not fall

within the class discussed in the Fiswick case. Where a

man is convicted of several offenses and only one of such

offenses finds support in the evidence, the stigma and

extra-judicial penalties that will attend the man through

the balance of his life as the result of his erroneous con-

viction on the remaining charges, is a matter that merits

the further consideration of this Court. The necessity

for a reconsideration of this rule is amplified in our sup-

porting brief.

Wherefore, petitioner respectfully submits that this

Honorable Court issue a Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, to the

end that the questions involved may be fully presented

and argued and justice done in the premises.

Dated, San Francisco, California,

May 6, 1952.

Respectfully submitted,

Leo R. FrrepMan,

Attorney for Petitioner.

CERTIFICATE oF CouNnsEL

I hereby certify that I am a member of the bar of the

Supreme Court of the United States and that I am coun-

sel for the petitioner in the above entitled cause and that,

in my judgment, the foregoing petition is well founded

in point of law as well as in fact and that said petition

is not interposed for delay.

Dated, San Francisco, California,

May 6, 1952.

Leo R. FriepMan,

Attorney for Petitioner.

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

Ocroser Term, 1951

No.

__

5

Pau C. Norwrrt,

Petitioner,

vs.

Unrtep States or AMERICA,

Respondent. ;

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

THE OPINIONS AND JUDGMENTS OF THE

COURTS BELOW.

The judgment of the trial Court was rendered and filed

on April 10, 1951. (R. 12-14.)

The decision of the Court of Appeals was rendered and

filed on March 12, 1952. (R. 506.)

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on

_ March 12, 1952. (R. 527.)

, Petition for rehearing denied on April 14, 1952. (R.

- 528.)

42

JURISDICTION.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under Title 28

U.S.C., Section 1254(1).

The basis on which it is contended this Court has jur-

isdiction and cases in support thereof are fully set forth

in the foregoing petition at page 31 thereof.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

Petitioner was indicted (R. 3-6) for three violations of

attempting to evade income taxes (26 U.S.C. 145b; Sec.

145b, Internal Revenue Code). Count 1 charged that

petitioner, as president of the General Refrigerator Cor-

poration, in 1945 filed a false and fraudulent income tax

return for said corporation for the fiscal year ending July

31, 1941. Counts 2 and 3 charged that petitioner, a mar-

ried man, in 1945 filed false and fraudulent joint returns

for the years 1942 and 1943. (While the indictment

charged the filing of such joint returns, in fact the returns

involved in counts 2 and 3 were amended returns, the

petitioner having filed in 1942 and 1943 respectively origi-

nal joint income tax returns.)

A full statement of the case is set forth in the fore-

going petition at pages 4 to 31.

SPECIFICATION OF ERRORS RELIED UPON.

1. The opinion of the Court of Appeals is in error in

holding that where a person files a false and fraudulent

income tax return for a particular taxable year and there-

43

after files a false amended return for the same taxable

year, the filing of such amended return constitutes a new

and separate violation of 18 U.S.C. see. 145b.

2. The opinion of the Court of Appeals is in error in

holding that there can be two or more violations of said

Section 145b by the same person for the same taxable

year, involving the same taxes and the same income.

3. The opinion of the Court of Appeals is in error in

holding that it is no defense to a charge of attempting to

evade income taxes, by filing an alleged false return,

where the taxpayer has employed a certified accountant

to whom he has made full disclosure of all available books

and records and his assets and liabilities and the return

is honestly prepared by such accountant on a net worth

basis, merely because the taxpayer had theretofore lied

to the income tax officials by stating that all his books

and records had been destroyed.

4. The opinion of the Court of Appeals is in error

in holding that a person can be convicted for filing alleged

false and fraudulent income tax returns, where the proof

offered of unreported income amounts to no more than

mere speculation, assumption, surmise and conjecture.

9. The opinion of the Court of Appeals is in error in

holding that one can be guilty of filing a false and fraudu-

lent income tax return on behalf of a corporation, where

there is no proof that the return, though signed by de-

fendant, was ever filed by him or under his authority,

thus misconstruing the scope of review where insufficiency

of the evidence is in issue.

6. The opinion of the Court of Appeals is in error in

holding as still the law the rule that where a defendant

46

‘‘The crime denounced by §145(b) of wilfully at-

tempting to defeat or evade the tax is complete when

the taxpayer wilfully and knowingly files a false

and fraudulent return with intent to defeat or evade

any part of the tax due the United States. Guzik v.

United States, 7th Cir. 54 F.(2d) 618, 619, Certiorari

denied 285 U.S. 545, 52 S.Ct. 395, 76 L.Ed. 937;

Bowles v. United States, 4th Cir. 73 F.(2d) 772, 774.’’

Cave v. United States, (8th Cir.) 159 F. (2d) 464;

Myres v. United States, (8th Cir.) 174 F. (2d) 329,

335.

In the case of United States v. Cole, (DC-Cal.) 90 Fed.

Supp. 147, defendant was charged with violating the pro-

visions of Sec. 145b and the district judge granted a

motion for judgment of acquittal. He first quoted from

the language of the Cave case above set forth and then

at p. 154 states:

‘*By the same token if the criminal act is not com-

mitted at that time, we cannot take a subsequent act

and retroject it to the time of filing and charge it as

criminal,

‘‘If a criminal act is established as of a definite

date, a criminal or fraudulent act committed later

may bear on the intent and be admissible, but we

cannot base criminality solely upon something that

was done after the return has been made, unless it

is of a character to show conclusively the existence

of the criminal purpose at the earlier date. (See

U.S. v. Renee Icecream Co., Third Cireuit 1947, 160

Fed.(2d) 353 and 357.)’’

In the instant case, for each of the years 1942 and 1943

petitioner and his wife, within the time required by law,

——

47

had filed original income tax returns for such years. It

was not until the year 1945 that the amended returns for

1942 and 1943 were filed. As the offense of violating Sec.

145b is not a continuing offense and as such crime is

completed when a false and fraudulent return is filed, it

must follow that any act done thereafter relating to such

years cannot constitute an attempt to evade the tax for

such years. Such attempt had been completed and a de-

fendant can only be tried and convicted once for such

offense: as said in the Cole case, supra, any act done

after the completion of the offense can only bear upon

the intent with which the act was done constituting the

offense.

If the law were not as above stated, the bar of the

statute of limitations could never become operative as to

any particular year. Furthermore, appellant could never

avail himself of the plea of once in jeopardy if the law

were other than as stated. Let us assume that petitioner

had been tried and convicted for filing a false and fraud-

ulent original return for the year 1942, can he again be

tried and convicted for filing an amended return in 1945

for the same year of 1942? Would not appellant, under

such circumstances, have committed but one crime for

which he was tried and punished? We believe the answers

to these questions are obvious.

Let us assume a different set of facts. Assuming that

the defendant was tried and convicted for filing a false

and fraudulent return in 1942 and thereafter, in order

to avoid the payment of a just tax for such vear, he

secreted his assets in the year 1943 and again secreted

them in 1944 and in 1945 transferred them from one

BI ORS ETAL LOSES EP. ILS SEIN: OEE NRG ET eR

44

is charged with two or more offenses the judgment will

not be reversed as to any such offense if the evidence

sustains the conviction on any one count and the sentence

imposed does not exceed that which might lawfully be

imposed on such single count, despite the language of

this Court in the ease of Fiswick v. United States, 329

US. 211.

ARGUMENT.

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN HOLDING THAT

WHERE A PERSON FILES A FRAUDULENT INCOME TAX

RETURN FOR A PARTICULAR YEAR AND THEREAFTER

FILES A FALSE AMENDED RETURN FOR THE SAME YEAR,

THE FILING OF SUCH AMENDED RETURN CONSTITUTES A

NEW AND SEPARATE VIOLATION OF 18 U.S.C. SECTION 145b.

On April 15, 1943 petitioner and his wife filed their

joint income tax return for the year 1942 (R. 24) and

on June 23, 1945 they filed their amended return for 1942

(R. 25). On March 15, 1944 they filed their original in-

come tax return for the vear 1943 (R. 24) and on June 23,

1945 they filed their amended return for said year 1943.

(R. 25.) Counts Two and Three of the indictment are

based on the falsity of the amended returns filed in 1945

for the years 1942 and 1943.

Petitioner conceded that the original joint returns were

false and understated the taxable income and the Govern-

ment established the falsity of the original returns.

Petitioner contended that when he filed the original

joint returns for the years 1942 and 1943. This consti-

tuted a violation of Sec. 145b; that a violation of said

section was not a continuing offense and could only be

a

45

committed once for any taxable year and from this

premise contended that the filing of the amended returns,

even though they were false (which is not admitted), did

not constitute a new and separate offense.

The Court of Appeals ruled to the contrary (R. 520-

522) and held that there could be several separate offenses

by the same person in attempting to evade the tax on

his income for one taxable year. Thus, the Court of

Appeals in effect held: (a) that a person for one taxable

year and involving the same income could be guilty of

365 separate offenses: (b) that the statute of limitations

never ran against an attempt to evade an income tax; and

(c) that the defense of jeopardy was not available to one

who had been tried and convicted of filing a false income

tax return and thereafter filed a false amended return for

the same year.

An attempt to evade a tax and the payment thereof is

not a continuing offense. While there may be such a

crime in each year for which an income tax is due, once

the attempt has been consummated by the filing of a

false and fraudulent return in any particular year, the

offense has been completed for that year and nothing

done thereafter to carry out the initial unlawful purpose

for such year can constitute a new offense. Such is the

holding in United States v. Johnson, 123 Fed. (2d) 111,

119. (Overruled on other grounds in United States v.

Johnson, 319 U.S. 503.)

It has been the invariable holding of our Courts that

where one files a false and fraudulent return as a wilful

attempt to evade the tax or payment thereof the crime is

complete upon the filing of such return.

7

48 |

State to another and placed them in a safe deposit box

under a fictitious name. Would each of these acts con-

stitute a new and distinct crime? We think not. Under

the law, a violation of Sec. 145b can only take place once

for any particular taxable year.

As stated above, any holding to the contrary would

render nugatory the statute of limitations.

We call attention to two early decisions of our Supreme

Court which have been cited and followed with approval

down to the present time.

In the case of Adams v. Woods, 2 Cranch 336, 2 L.Ed.

297, an action had been brought to recover a penalty of,

$2,000.00 under an Act of Congress prohibiting the carry-

ing on of the slave trade from the United States to any

foreign country. The defendant claimed that more than

two years (the Statute of Limitations) had elapsed from

the time of his carrying on said slave trade. The Gov-

ernment argued (1) that it was not a criminal action

and therefore not governed by the limitation of criminal

actions and (2) that the non-payment of the penalty was

a continuous offense against which the statute did not

run. Chief Justice Marshall delivered the opinion of the

Court and held first, that as it was to recover a criminal

penalty, it was a criminal action. The Court then stated:

‘*In expounding this law, it deserves some con-

sideration, that if it does not limit actions of debt

for penalties, those actions might, in many cases, be

brought at any distance of time. This would be

utterly repugnant to the genius of our laws. In a

country where not even treason can he prosecuted

after a lapse of three years, it could scarcely be sup-

49

posed that an individual would remain forever liable

to a pecuniary forfeiture.’’

Earlier in the decision, the Chief Justice stated as fol-

lows:

‘Almost every fine or forfeiture under a penal

statute, may be recovered by an action of debt as

well as by information; and to declare that the in-

formation was barred while the action of debt was

left without limitation, would be to attribute a ca-

priciousness on this subject to the legislature, which

could not be accounted for; and to declare that the

law did not apply to cases on which an action of

debt is maintainable, would be to overrule express

words, and to give the statute almost the same con-

struction which it would receive if one distinct mem-

ber of the sentence was expunged from it. In this

particular case, the statute which creates the for-

feiture does not prescribe the mode of demanding it;

consequently, either debt or information would lie.

It would be singular if the one remedy should be

barred and the other left unrestrained.’’

In United States v. Irvine, 98 U.S. 450, 25 L.Ed. 193,

the defendant was charged as the agent and attorney of

Mrs. Berkeley with wrongfully withholding from her a

pension in the sum of $500. The facts showed that in

December of 1870 Mrs. Berkeley had demanded her

money and that the defendant had refused to pay her and

had never paid her up to the filing of the indictment in

1875. The defendant pleaded the two year statute of

limitations. In holding that the two year statute applied,

the Court said:

line of reasoning pursued in the cases of Gompers v.

United States, 233 U.S. 604, 58 L.Ed. 1115 and Pender-

gast v. United States, 317 U.S. 412, 87 L.Ed. 369.

returns in 1945 did not constitute a new and distinct

‘‘But whatever this may be which constitutes the

criminal act of withholding, it is a thing which must

be capable of proof to a jury, and which, when it

once exists, renders the party liable to indictment.

There is in this but one offense. When it is com-

mitted, the party is guilty and is subject to criminal

prosecution, and from that time, also, the Statute

of Limitations applicable to the offense begins to

run.

It is unreasonable to hold that twenty years after

this he can be indicted for wrongfully withholding

the money, and be put to prove his innocence after

his receipt is lost, and perhaps the pensioner is dead;

but the fact of his receipt of the money is matter

of record in the pension office.

He pleads the statute of two years, a statute which

was made for such a case as this; but the reply is:

You received the money. You have continued to

withhold it these twenty years; every year, every

month, every day, was a withholding, within the

meaning of the statute.

We do not so construe the Act. Whenever the act

or series of acts necessary to constitute a criminal

withholding of the money have transpired, the crime

is complete, and from that day the Statute of Limi-

tations begins to run against the prosecution.’’

The above authorities have been cited and the same

For the foregoing reasons the filing of the amended

51

crime. The evidenc

established the falsite evidence contended for by the Government

of the amended retd the falsity of the original returns. The filing

we do not admit) coended returns, if false and fraudulent (a fact

pose of enjoying the admit) could only have been filed for the pur-

the original return \Jjoying the benefit of the crime committed when

If guilty of any c% return was filed.

guilty of the offensy of any crime or crimes at all, appellant was

filed the original reithe offense denounced by Sec. 145b when he

was then completed jriginal returns for 1942 and 1943. The crime

his could constitute -ompleted for each of such years and no act of

such years. constitute a second violation of the section for

The Court of App:

by drawing an anahrt of Appeals attempts to uphold its decision

hypothetical set of ip an analogy between the facts at bar and a

successful attempts a] set of facts of where a man makes 366 un-

United States, corre attempts to assassinate the President of the

man would be guiltates, correctly holding that in such instance the

these hypothetical {) be guilty of 366 separate crimes. However,

of the case at bar. othetical facts do not coincide with the facts

Appeals, each atteme at bar. In the case assumed by the Court of

attempted was not ,»-p attempt was unsuccessful in that the crime

filing of the origine was not completed. In the instant case, the

pleted the offense dhe original false and fraudulent returns com-

man had succeeded offense denounced by Sec. 145b. Thus, if the

first attempt, an attsucceeded in assassinating the President on his

stitute acrime. it an attempt to again kill him would not con-

Lastly, the Court:rime.

v. United States, 2744. Court of Appeals relies on the case of Levy

13 Fed. (2d) 923. Isrates, 271 Fed. 942 and United States v. Smith,

tion raised, disews54) 993, In neither of these cases was the ques-

d, discussed or decided that the offense was

——

complete on the filing of the original return. The only

question raised was that a person could not be convicted

for filing a fraudulent return marked ‘‘amended’”’ as the

law did not provide for any such thing as an amended

return.

We submit that the question involved is of paramount

importance and should be decided by this Court. Sec.

145b prescribes a crime that can only be committed once

for any particular income during any particular year.

Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN HOLDING THAT PETI-

TIONER COULD NOT RELY ON THE CORRECTNESS OF THE

AMENDED RETURNS AS PREPARED BY HIS ACCOUNTANT,

AND THAT THE EVIDENCE ESTABLISHED WILFULNESS

AND INTENT TO DEFRAUD.

The Court of Appeals held ‘‘that Norwitt was not

entitled to rely on the income computed by his accountant

when he withheld from him the information whence that

income could have been correctly determined.’’ (R. 519.)

This holding is contrary to the record and to the law.

While it is true that there is evidence given by the Gov-

ernment’s witnesses Washauer (R. 289) and Stephenson

(R. 35) that Norwitt told these parties that all of his

records had been destroyed by fire, there is no evidence

in the record that he so mis-informed his accountant,

Spivock. The record is just the contrary and establishes

that the accountant had made available to him, all of the

existing books and records of Norwitt and the corpora-

tion.

The question involved is not whether Norwitt lied to

the Internal Revenue Agents as to the existence of books

a :

and records, but is whether Norwitt made such books

and records available to his accountant.

Nathan Spivock, the accountant employed by Norwitt

to prepare the income tax returns, called as a Government

witness, testified that Norwitt made available to him such

books and records; that the same were inadequate to

prepare a 100% proper return; that he examined the

records and satisfied himself that a proper return could

not be prepared because they did not contain all of the

necessary information; that some of the records were

spoiled by water damage, the ink had run and you

couldn’t read the writing; that other parts of the records

were singed and partially burned (R. 198); that if he

had had any knowledge of a large group of invoices which

had been unrecorded, he would still have made the returns

on the net worth basis because without all of the records

& proper return could not have been made. (R. 218-19.)

The lower Court’s holding that Norwitt was not entitled

to rely on the amended returns prepared on a net worth

basis because he had withheld certain books and records

from his accountant is thus refuted by the Government’s

own witness. There is no question but what there had

been a fire; there is no question that some of the records

were destroyed and others illegible. There was no evi-

dence to refute Spivock’s testimony that without a com-

plete legible set of records, a proper return could not be

made on either a receipt and disbursement basis or an

accrual basis. The recognized procedure in such cases is

to make a return on a net worth basis.

There is no contention that any assets were withheld

from Spivock or the Government in the computation of

Norwitt’s net worth. Under the circumstances set forth

in our “‘Statement of the Case’’ and as summarized here-

after, Norwitt had the absolute right and was correct in

relying on the computations made by his accountant and

in signing the returns that were presented to him by an

agent of the Internal Revenue Department.

In addition to proof that income tax returns were er-

roneous in not correctly reflecting the taxable income,

there must be proof by the Government that the returns

were filed ‘‘wilfully’’. To establish this latter element,

the Government must prove knowledge of the falsity of

the return and that it was filed with the specific intent

to defraud the Government. (Lurding v. United States

(6th Cir), 179 Fed. (2d) 419, 422; Hargrove v. United

States (5th Cir.) 67 Fed. (2d) 820, 823.) Where a tax-

payer employs a certified public accountant to make out

his income tax return and he signs the same believing

that it is a true and correct representation of his taxable

income, he is not guilty of any crime if the return is in-

accurate or contains an understatement of his taxable

income. (Lurding v. United States (6th Cir.), 179 Fed.

(2d) 419, 421.)

The evidence in this case firmly establishes that the

amended returns filed for the years 1942 and 1943 were

prepared by a certified public accountant after successive

conferences with representatives of the Internal Revenue

Department and were brought to Norwitt for his signa-

ture by a Deputy Collector of Internal Revenue; that

Norwitt had every right to believe that the figures con-

tained in the returns were correct and had been approved

=

not only by his own accountant, but by the Internal Rev-

enue Department. The facts are as follows:

Nathan Spivock, a Government witness, testified: ‘that

in order to prepare the amended returns for 1942 and

1943 he had discussions with Deputy Collectors (R. 199),

as a result of which the net worth method was used. The

discussions covered a month or two. (R. 200.) The

main subject discussed with Washauer and Mohr was the

best way to get the thing straightened out. The Collec-

tor’s Office asked for a financial statement and also re-

quested prior returns for 1939, 1940 and 1941. Spivock

told the Deputy Collectors of the condition of the records

and that it was almost physically impossible to make a

proper return due to the condition of the records and the

element of time. The matter was discussed back and

forth with the Revenue Agents and it was finally agreed

to use the net worth method. (R. 201.)

Spivock further testified that he examined the books

and records of Norwitt and of the General Refrigerator

Corporation; that some were missing; that the ink had

Tun on some; that you couldn’t read the writing on

others; that some were singed and partially burned: that

he discussed this matter with the Deputy Collectors (R.

202); that it was impossible to prepare correct returns

if any of the records were inaccurate or missing; that it

was decided to use December 31, 1944 for determining

Norwitt’s net worth at that date and to start with zero

as of January 1, 1939 (R. 202); that in discussions with

the Collector’s Office, Spivock advised the Collectors that

they would allocate the net worth over the years from

1939 to 1944 putting the smallest amounts of the alloca-

55

tions in the earlier years and the biggest amounts in the

later years (R. 205); that he personally obtained every-

thing possible as to Norwitt’s assets and liabilities in pre-

paring the net worth statement (R. 209); that he figured

out Norwitt’s estimated living expenses (giving the basis

therefor) and took the figures to the Deputy Collector’s

Office and raised them and the final figures were used in

the amended returns.

Harry Stephenson, the accountant in the employ of Mr.

Spivock, testified that in the course of his work he found

a schedule of unrecorded sales which had not been in-

cluded in the original returns. (R. 36.) There were also

some sales of refrigerators which were sold and had

not been included (R. 37); that the information about the

unrecorded sales of refrigerators and the other unre-

corded sales came to him from Mr. Norwitt (R. 38); that

he was present at a conference in the Collector’s Office

in June; that Mr. Washauer and Mr. Mohr were present.

The purpose of the conference was to arrive at figures for

Norwitt’s living expenses which would be satisfactory to

the Government and there was a discussion about the

amount of the estimated living expenses (R. 55-6); that

the returns for the years 1941, 1942 and 1943 were pre-

pared without reference to the original returns and for

the purpose of representing to the Government the full

taxable income for those years; that the amended returns

were prepared upon the basis that the original returns

were not correct. (R. 66.) The net worth system of com-

putation was used for the purpose of representing to the

Government the entire taxable income. (R. 67.)

4g 57

Adolph Washauer testified that the suggestion of a net

worth statement came from Mr. Spivock. (R. 297.) He

testified to meetings with Mr. Spivock on February 6th

and June 4th, 5th, 6th, 12th, 13th, 22nd and 23rd of 1945

(R. 317-18) ; that he made no suggestion to Spivock that a

1944 net worth statement be used (despite the fact that

it was his office that demanded such statement) (R. 325);

that there were discussions with Spivock about living ex-

penses (R. 326) ; that the purpose of the conferences with

Spivock from the time Washauer got the financial state-

ment until June 22nd was that Mr. Spivock wished to file

amended returns for the taxpayer on the basis of net

worth increase (R. 329); that when the topic came up of

Norwitt’s living expenses Spivock suggested a lower

figure; I felt it was too low; then he raised the figure to

a higher figure. (R. 329.) We thought it was too low

so he raised it. (R. 330.)

Washauer further testified that all the returns were

typed in his office and were taken down by his deputy,

Mr. Roder, to Norwitt for Norwitt’s signature. (R. 332.)

Gustave C. Roder called as a witness by the Govern-

ment testified that he was a deputy collector of internal

revenue; that he took the delinquent returns for 1939,

1940 and 1941 and the amended returns for 1942 and

1943 down to Mr. Norwitt’s office and Mr. Norwitt signed

them in his presence (R. 348) ; that Mr. Washauer handed

him the returns on June 22nd and that he, Roder, typed

them up from the handwritten returns (R. 349); that

after typing up the returns he made an appointment with

Mr. Norwitt by telephone and then went to Mr. Norwitt’s

office and that Mr. Norwitt’s wife was present and signed

taxable income for the years involved. Evidence in this

regard which amounted to no more than surmise, assump-

tion, suspicion or conjecture was wholly insufficient to

sustain the Government’s burden of proof. (Garrison r.

United States (5th Cir.), 163 Fed. (2d) 874; Towbin rv.

United States, 93 Fed. (2d) 861.)

Without discussing the facts, the lower Court has as-

sumed that, based upon some method of computation

other than the net worth method, the Government estab-

lished unreported taxable income for the years 1941, 1942

and 1943. There was no competent evidence to establish

such fact. The facts which the Government advanced as

showing the understatement of income are set forth on

page 21 of its brief filed in the lower Court as follows:

‘“*By competent and wholly uncontroverted evi-

dence, the Government proved the appellant’s true

net income for the year 1942 to have been $31,586.76.

This evidence is summarized on pages 2 and 3 of

Government Exhibit 31, as compiled from the testi-

mony of Thomas W. Cleary (R. 138, et seq.); Ger-

aldine Peterson (R. 99, et seq.); Bernard Chirar (R.

105, et seq.); William F. Bobadilla (R. 115, et seq.) :

and Richard Stewart (R. 361, et seq.). This factual

exposition of true net income in the amount of

$31,586.76 need only be compared with the net in-

come reported on the amended return for ine vea>

1942 in the amount of $11,540.74 (Government's Ex.

2), or an approximate understatement of $20,000.00.

By a like method of proof and from the iestimony

of William F. Bobadilla (R. 115, et seq., 235 et seq.);

Robert B. Hatfield (R. 113, et sey.): and bernard

Shirar (R. 105, et seq.), as compiled on pages 4 and

5 of Government’s Exhibit 31, the Government con-

61

clusively proved appellant’s net income for the vear

1943 to have been $32,822.63, whereas on the amended

return the net income was stated to be $28,081.04.

(Government’s Ex. 3.)’’

A mere inspection of the record discloses that the

foregoing computation is without support in the evidence.

Where appellee refers to ‘‘true net income’’ the figures

are referring to ‘‘gross income’’ and not taxable income.

William F. Bobadilla testified as to having added up

certain sales tags which were found in the Mission Street

premises and at Crescent Avenue. (R. 119-122.)

Bobadilla further testified that he didn’t have complete

books from which to make any computation; that he had

the sales register for one or two years (R. 117); and that

he didn’t have a complete set of records to check against;

that he had sales tags and checks and that there was not

sufficient bills or records to make an audit or to verifu

anything. (R. 246-7.)

Thomas W. Cleary testified that of all the records he

eventually acquired, there were some missing parts, par-

ticularly the sales register for 1942 (R. 147); that part of

the ledger sheets for the years 1942 and 1943 had been

reconstructed. (R. 148.) He further testified that, in add-

ing up the sales tags which had been found, for the vear

1941 he found sales totaling $9026.32 that had not been

recorded in the sales register (R. 161): that for the vear

1942 he found a total of $21,830.60 which bore no post-

ing reference to that vear. (R. 164.) He further testified

that he had no sales register for the year 1942 but that he

assumed, because certain tags had checkmarks on them

Le RMT IND

oe

the returns where her signature was necessary. (R. 350.)

When he made the appointment with Norwitt over the

telephone ‘‘I said that I had a few returns which re-

quired his signature which were brought in by his ac-

countant, and that I would appreciate it if he were pres-

ent, together possibly with his wife, so that they could

sign their signatures on the return. ‘Q. Yes. First you

identified yourself to him, told him who were were? A.

Oh, yes, absolutely.’ ’’ (R. 352.)

When I came to Mr. Norwitt’s office he just signed the

returns. I was there about ten or fifteen minutes. (R.

353.) (Here the witness was shown the returns for 1939,

1941, 1942 and 1943 and his attention called to the fact

that in each instance the signature of Freda Norwitt

was signed by Paul C. Norwitt and so appears on the

returns (R. 353-5), that though there were requirements

as to who should sign the returns ‘‘we wouldn’t be very

specific about that ’’; that we would assume the correct

signature was on there. (R. 354.) I stood right there

while the returns were being signed but I had no right

to question Mr. Norwitt. (R. 355.)

From the foregoing it is apparent that Mr. Norwitt

signed the returns under the direction of Mr. Roder;

that Roder identified himself as being connected with the

Collector’s Office of Internal Revenue; that he, the deputy,

had the returns in his possession; that they had been

prepared by Mr. Norwitt’s accountant and that within ten

or fifteen minutes from the time Roder entered Norwitt’s

place of business, Roder left with all the returns signed.

There were eight returns, one each for Paul Norwitt and

Freda Norwitt for the years 1939, 1940 and 1941 and

-

59

joint returns for the years 1942 and 1943. Clearly, Mr.

Norwitt had no opportunity to examine the figures on

these eight returns but, being brought in by a Collector of

Internal Revenue under the circumstances narrated above

and Norwitt having employed a certified public accountant

to prepare these returns, he could not do otherwise than

believe that they were true and correct and had been ap-

proved both as to form and fact by the Internal Revenue

officers.

Under the authorities cited above, there was a total

failure of proof on the part of the Government to estab-

lish any ‘‘wilfulness’’ or intent to defraud on the part of

Norwitt.

Ii. THE OPINION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS IS IN ERROR

IN HOLDING THAT FALSITY OF THE CORPORATE RETURN

AND THE TWO AMENDED RETURNS WAS ESTABLISHED

BY EVIDENCE THAT AMOUNTED TO NO MORE THAN

MERE SPECULATION, ASSUMPTION, SURMISE AND CON-

JECTURE.

The greater part of the Government’s case consisted

of proof directed to the falsity of the original returns

filed for the years 1942 and 1943; that these returns were

inaccurate and understated the taxable income was always

admitted by petitioner. Admission or proof that the

original returns were false and fraudulent could not estab-

lish the falsity of the amended returns. (See United

States v. Johnson (7th Cir.), 123 Fed. (2d) 111.)

The burden was on the Government to establish to a

moral certainty and beyond a reasonable doubt that each

of the returns involved in the indictment understated the

—

e

and others did not, that those without checkmarks repre-

sented sales that had neither been recorded nor reported.

(R. 157, 158.)

Cleary further testified that he found sales tags with

check marks on them that had not been entered in the

books and he also found sales tags with no check marks

on them which had been entered in the books. (R. 180.)

Bobadilla further testified that in going over checks

issued by the General Refrigerator Corporation and Nor-

witt’s personal cancelled checks, he allotted to Norwitt’s

personal living expenses, great numbers of those checks

which appeared to him as being the personal withdrawals

and expenditures of petitioner (R. 124) and which he

therefore allotted to Norwitt’s personal living expenses

(R. 244, 245); that he assumed that Norwitt had taken

the money in cash and deposited the check in the bank

(R. 249); that although there was a possibility that the

money had been paid out in cash and the check drawn

therefor and put in the bank (R. 250), he didn’t adopt

that assumption but adopted the theory against Mr. Nor-

witt. (R. 250.)

Mere proof of gross income does not establish net tax-

able income. Bobadilla testified there was not enough

material to verify or audit any of the invoices or bills

payable by the General Refrigerator Corporation. (R.

247.)

Mere proof of sales and the price thereof is insufficient

to establish net taxable income. (Yoffee v. United States

(Ist Cir.) 153 Fed. (2d) 570, 576.)

63

It necessarily follows that the figures relied upon as

establishing net taxable income were the mere assump-

tions, surmises and speculations of the Government’s wit-

nesses.

“Leaving out of consideration, then, the inference

relied upon, the case for respondent is left without

any substantial support in the evidence, and a verdict

in her favor would have rested upon mere speculation

and conjecture. This, of course, is inadmissible. ’’

Pennsylvania R. Co. v. Chamberlain, 288 U.S. 333,

344, 77 L.Ed. 819, 825.

The Court of Appeals in upholding the convictions has

ignored the presumption of innocence, disregarded the

law that places the burden of proof beyond reasonable

doubt upon the Government and has held that a convic-

tion can be sustained on evidence that amounts to no

more than speculation, surmise and conjecture.

-—_—_———

IV. THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN LIMITING ITS SCOPE

OF REVIEW WHERE INSUFFICIENCY OF THE EVIDENCE

IS INVOLVED AND IN HOLDING THAT THERE WAS PROOF

THAT THE CORPORATE RETURN HAD BEEN FILED BY

PETITIONER OR UNDER HIS AUTHORITY.

At the conclusion of all the evidence in the case, peti-

tioner moved for judgments of acquittal, which motions

were denied. (R. 8.) The motions were made on the

grounds of insufficiency of the evidence to support each

or any count of the indictment. The same questions were

raised on appeal.

This Court has oft announced the law that under the

foregoing circumstances:

64

**A question of law is thus presented, which calls

for an examination of the record, not for the purpose

of weighing conflicting testimony, but only to deter-

mine whether there was some evidence, competent and

substantial, before the jury, fairly tending to sustain

the verdict.’’

Abrams v. United States, 250 U.S. 616, 619, 63 L.Ed.

1173, 1177.

United States v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., 310 U.S.

150, 254, 84 L.Ed. 1129, 1184.

The Court of Appeals has ignored the foregoing rule

by holding that there was sufficient evidence to support

the conviction on count one even though there was no

competent or substantial evidence to establish that the

corporate return was ever filed by or under the direction

of petitioner. The Court of Appeals has picked out one

statement made by the Government’s witness Washauer

that the corporate return ‘‘was given to him by Shapro

for filing’’ (R. 509) as being sufficient to establish the

fact.

The evidence relative to the filing of the corporate

return is correctly summarized as follows:

Adolph Washauer testified that in early 1945 he went

to the office of Mr. Shapro, attorney for petitioner, to

receive certain papers relative to the corporation; that

Shapro gave him certain papers among which was the

corporate return for the year 1941 (R. 292); that he

called Shapro’s attention to the fact that the return was

sworn to on October 1, 1941 and that Shapro said: ‘‘ Well,

we forgot to file’’ and that was all that was said (R.

65

294-5); that wher

no discussion as ® Shapro gave him the return there was

gave him the retto why it had not been filed; that Shapro

355); that the rturn as part of the records he had (R.

Shapro but he dreturn was given to him for filing by

305) because it widn’t file it until the following June (R.

Arthur Shapro™*™ t properly sworn to. (R. 305.)

come tax returns’ testified that he never handled any in-

tion (R. 426); tf OT matters for Norwitt or the corpora-

of Mr. Boland oft he first saw the return in the office

told him the eat! the Internal Revenue Department who

records of the ec@@ had been found among some of the

with the Collect poration and that it had not been filed

never had that or’s Office (R. 426); that he, Shapro,

and never delivé®t¥™™ OF any return in his possession

dee end neve pred it to Mr. Washauer or to anyone

should file the acold Washauer or anyone else that they

veument. (R. 423, 424.)

Ralph Mohr, \

oa who accompanied Mr. Washauer to Mr.

Shapro’s office, t . s

: estified that he was present when Shapro

delivered the cor ;

‘porate papers to Washauer and to him:

that he examine the papers and there was no income

tax return ameng thom

John J. Bolang called to refute Shapro’s testimony, did

not deny that th

2 return was in his possession but merely

stated that he hog no recollection about any conversation

about any incom, 4, . return (R. 486) and did not recall

seeing = deling nent tax return for the corporation at

the meeting witl, Shapro. (R. 487.) He further testified

that he did not pave very much recollection about the

meeting at all. (R. 487.)

66

We therefore have a situation where the evidence of

Washauer is itself contradictory, he stating that the re-

turn was given to him for filing; that it was merely given

to him as part of the records that Shapro had; that noth-

ing was said by Shapro about the return as to why it had

not been filed when he delivered the papers to him, ete.

Shapro also testified that he never had the corporate

return and never gave it to anyone for filing.

As we have pointed out above, the circumstances sur-

rounding the signing of the returns are most peculiar.

The eight individual returns were typed in the Internal

Revenue Department’s office and by one of its agents.

They were brought to Mr. Norwitt for signature by Mr.

Roder, an Internal Revenue Agent, and were signed by

Norwitt in front of Roder who made no protest when

Norwitt signed the returns that should have been signed

by Mrs. Norwitt. It is extremely probable that the cor-

porate return was among the returns presented to Nor-

witt for signing by Roder because Ralph Mohr of the

Internal Revenue Department testified that the first time

he saw the corporate return was on the daily reports he

checked for Mr. Roder. It was on the daily copy of June

23, 1945 (R. 491); that a deputy who is collecting soime-

one’s income tax return at the end of the day or the

following day makes a report of that day’s activities

and attaches it to the returns that were involved in those

activities. (R. 493.) It must be remembered that it was

Mr. Roder who made the report referred to by Deputy

Mohr and that it was Roder who took the income tax

returns to Norwitt for his signature.

67

A mere scintilla of evidence is insufficient to sustain

the burden of proof. ( Pennsylvania R. Co. v. Chamberlin,

288 U.S. 333, 343.)

Thus we find Mr. Washauer testifying in various man-

ners as to the return; that it was given to him for filing ;

that it wasn’t given to him for filing; that he received it

in February; that it wasn’t filed until June, ete.

Where a witness testifies in two manners relative to a

particular transaction—that a certain thing did happen

and that a certain thing did not happen—such evidence

is wholly insufficient to Support any claim on the part of

the party who bears the burden of proof. The rule is

correctly set forth by the Supreme Court of California in

the case of Reese v. Smith, 9 Cal. (2d) 324, 328, 70 Pac.

(2d) 933, as follows:

“‘In that connection it should be noted that upon

the issues raised by the pleadings, the plaintiff was

bound to assume the burden of proof and in the end

prevail by a preponderance of the evidence. If the

existence of an essential fact upon which a party

relies is left in doubt or uncertainty, the party upon

whom the burden rests to establish that fact should

suffer, and not his adversary. (Patterson v. San

Francisco ete. Ry. Co., 147 Cal. 178 [81 Pac. 531].)

A judgment cannot be based on guesses or conjec-

tures. (Puckhaber v. Southern Pac. Co., 132 Cal. 363

[64 Pac. 480].) And, also ‘A finding of fact must

be an inference drawn from evidence rather than on

a mere speculation as to probabilities without evi-

dence. A majority of chances never can suffice alone

to establish a proposition of fact, since the slightest

real evidence would outweigh all contrary probabil-

ities. (23 Cor. Jur., sec. 1750, p. 18.)’”’

68

See also:

Leach v. toard of Dental Exammers, 87 Cal. App.

207, 26 Pac. 61.

The Supreme Yourt of the United States has announced

the rule as folloys:

must be arrived at that the Government failed to sustain

“We, theefore, have a case belonging to that class

of cases whre proven facts give equal support to

each of twoinconsistent inferences; in which event,

neither of hem being established, judgment, as a

matter of lay, must go against the party upon whom

rests the neessity of sustaining one of these infer-

ences a8 aginst the other, before he is entitled to

recover. (Cting cases.)

The rule + succinctly stated in Smith v. First Nat.

Bank, 99 Mas. 605, 611, 612, 97 Am. Dec. 59, quoted

in the Des foines Nat. Bank case (C.C.A. 8th) 145

Fed. 273, stra:

“There beng several inferences deducible from the

facts which appear, and equally consistent with all

those facts, he plaintiff has not maintained the prop-

osition upor which alone he would be entitled to re-

cover. Thee is strictly no evidence to warrant a

jury in findng that the loss was occasioned by negli-

gence and iot by theft. When the evidence tends

equally to ustain either of two inconsistent propo-

sitions, neiher of them can be said to have been

established by legitimate proof. A verdict in favor

of the part; bound to maintain one of those proposi-

tions again the other is necessarily wrong.’ ”’

Penn. R.Co. v. Chamberlain, 288 U.S. 333, 339-

340, 77L.Ed. 819, 823.

Applying the ‘oregoing rules to the facts, the conclusion

its burden of proof as to the filing of the corporate

return. In fact, all of the evidence preponderated in

favor of the view that the return was never filed by

Norwitt or under his authority. The mere statement of

Washauer that the return was given to him for filing is

ridiculous. Washauer testified that the return was not

executed by the proper officers; that he received it in

February and did not file it or cause it to be filed until

late in June without giving any adequate explanation for

the long delay.

We submit there was no substantial or competent evi-

dence to support the Government’s contention that the

corporate return was filed by Norwitt or under his author-

ity and that the Court of Appeals has erred in not apply-

ing the foregoing rules and in holding that there was

substantial and competent evidence to establish such fact.

V. THE COURT OF APPEALS IS IN ERROR IN HOLDING THAT

IT I8 STILL THE RULE OF LAW THAT A JUDGMENT WILL

NOT BE REVERSED WHERE A DEFENDANT IS CHARGED

WITH TWO OR MORE OFFENSES AND THE EVIDENCE

SUPPORTS THE CONVICTION ON ANY ONE COUNT AND

THE SENTENCE IMPOSED DOES NOT EXCEED THAT WHICH

MIGHT LAWFULLY BE IMPOSED ON SUCH SINGLE COUNT.

The Court of Appeals, apparently realizing that as to

some counts of the indictment its holding that the evi-

dence was sufficient was subject to question, has relied

upon the rule that a Court need not consider the suf-

ficiency of the evidence introduced as to all counts of an

indictment since the sentence imposed did not exceed that

which might lawfully have been imposed under any single

70

count, and that the judgment must be affirmed if the

evidence is sufficient to sustain any one of the counts.

(R. 524.)

We realize that this rule has been many times an-

nounced by this Court but we believe, under the language

of this Court in Fiswick v. United States, 329 U.S. 211,

220, that the rule should no longer prevail. In the Fiswick

case, Fiswick was sentenced to eighteen months and had

served this time when his case came before the Supreme

Court where it was argued that the matter had become

moot. This Court held to the contrary on the ground

that certain penalties and disabilities attached to the sen-

tence and that Fiswick was entitled to have these removed

even though he had served his time.

In the instant case, Norwitt has been convicted of three

felonies. These convictions deprive him of certain civil

rights and lay him open to impeachment for having been

convicted of three felonies and operate to deprive him of

his rights to procure licenses to operate businesses (he

being presently engaged in the business of selling wines

and liquors which require licenses), ete.

A man may be convicted of three or four offenses all

charged in the same indictment, three of which involve

moral turpitude and one of which does not. The offenses

involving moral turpitude may not have found support in

the evidence but the conviction on all four offenses would

be upheld under the foregoing rule if the evidence sup-

ported and the sentence imposed did not exceed that which

might lawfully be imposed on the count that did not

involve moral turpitude. Of course, a great distinction

oe

71

exists between these two classes of offenses. Offenses

involving moral turpitude carry with them great stigma

and deprivation of rights, while offenses not involving

moral turpitude fall into a different category. Thus, in

California, a lawyer or doctor may be convicted of a

felony and, if it does not involve moral turpitude, can

retain his professional license. If the offense does involve

moral turpitude the conviction carries with it a loss of

such professional license. (In Re Rothrock, 16 Cal. (2d)

449, 106 P. (2d) 907.)

We therefore submit that the rule so oft announced by

this Court requires reconsideration. No man should be

required to go through life bearing the stigma and penal-

ties of several convictions of a felony where as a matter

of law and fact, he has only been guilty of one offense.

Dated, San Francisco, California,

May 6, 1952.

Respectfully submitted,

Leo R. FriepMan,

Attorney for Petitioner.

INDEX

Opinions below

Jurisdiction .....

Questions presented

Statute involved

Statement ........ ; ae oo asks

Argument............ oF canes

Conclusion 5 de ar ee pau

CITATIONS

Cases:

Abrams v. United States, 250 U. S. 616

Borgia v. United States, 78 F. 2d 550, certiorari denied,

296 U. S. 615

Fiswick v. U nited States, 329 U.S. 211

bs Se ae ee aed

Glasser v. United States, 315 U. S. 60

Henderson v. United States, 143 F. 2d 681

Hirabayashi v. United States, 320 U.S. 81

Levy v. United States, 271 Fed. 942

Morrissey v. U a States, 67 F. 2d 267, certiorari de-

nied, 293 U. S. 566

Pasadena Senant Laboratories v. United States, 169

F. 2d 375

Pinkerton v. United States, 328 U. S. 640

Spies v. United States, 317 U.S. p-

United States v. Hall, 52 F. Supp. 796

United States v. Smith, 13 F. 2d 923

Statute:

Internal Revenue Code, Sec. 145 sinth U.S.C. 1946 ed.,

See. 145)

a)

8

NeOwWNNH

~

a

,

Inthe Supreme Court of the Waited States

Octoser Term, 1951

No. 761

Paut C. Norwitt, PeTiTioneR

Vv.

Unirep States of AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH

CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The Distriet Court rendered no opinion. The

opinion of the Court of Appeals (R. 506-526) is

reported at 195 F. 2d 127.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was en-

tered on March 12, 1952. (R. 527.) The petition

for rehearing was denied on April 14, 1952. (R.

528.) The petition for a writ of certiorari was

filed on May 10, 1952. The jurisdiction of this

(1)

2

Court is invoked under the provisions of 28 U.S.C.,

1254(1). See also Rules 37 (b)(2) and 45(a) of

the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether, after an admittedly false return

has been filed, the additional filing of a false and

fraudulent amended return constitutes an attempt

to defeat and evade a tax under Section 145(b)

of the Internal Revenue Code.

2. Whether the evidence was sufficient to sustain

the verdict.

3. Whether, after a finding of guilty on a three-

count indictment, a general sentence not exceed-

ing the sentence which might have been imposed

on each count should be upheld if the evidence sus-

tains conviction on any one count.

STATUTE INVOLVED

Internal Revenue Code:

Sec. 145. PEeNALTIEs.

(b) Failure to Collect and Pay Over Taz,

or Attempt to Defeat or Evade Tax.—Any per-

son required under this chapter to collect, ac-

count for, and pay over any tax imposed by

this chapter, who willfully fails to collect or

truthfully account for and pay over such tax,

and any person who willfully attempts in any

manner to evade or defeat any tax imposed by

this chapter or the payment thereof, shall, in

a |

additic! to other penalties provided by law, be

guilty { a felony and, upon conviction thereof,

be fine: 20t more than $10,000, or imprisoned

for noj™ore than five years, or both, together

with ti ©oS8ts of prosecution.

* 7 * 7

(26 U>C- 145.)

STATEMENT

Petition? 5 indicted on August 16, 1950, in

the Di strie Ot for the Northern District of Cal-

tia a hree counts. Count one charged that

ni “ilfully attempted to defeat and evade

petitioner of the taxes due and owing by the Gen-

a large Par ator Corporation for the fiscal year

eral Refrig, 1941, by filing and causing to be filed

ended July fraudulent tax return wherein he al-

a false @Mhe net income of the corporation was

leged that that the tax due thereon was $47.08,

$317.05 aD, net income of the corporation was

whereas tl), which the tax due was $2,990.24.

$9,905.68 1

(R. 3-4) o charged that petitioner wilfully at-

Count tevade and defeat a large part of the

tempted te due and owing by him and his wife

income tax 1949 by filing a false and fraudulent

for the yeie tax return wherein he stated that

joint ineohet income for the calendar year was

their jointnd that the tax due thereon was $2,-

$11,540.74 eas their joint net income for that year

731.48, whé.76 and the tax due was $12,744.37.

was $30,8(

(R. 4-5.)

a

4

Count three charged that petitioner wilfully at-

tempted to evade and defeat a large part of the in-

come and victory tax due and owing by him and

his wife for the year 1943 by filing and causing to

be filed a false and fraudulent joint income and

victory tax return wherein he stated that their

joint net income for the calendar year was $28,-

081.04 and that the tax due thereon was $11,760.88,

whereas their joint net income for that year was

$46,805.43 and the tax due was $24,010.50. (R.5-6.)

The court below found that the tax return of the

General Refrigerator Corporation, which forms

the basis of the first count in the indictment, was

prepared in 1941 by William McIntosh, a public

accountant, and turned over by him to the peti-

tioner. (R.360.) The corporate return was signed

by the petitioner, as president, and by Marco Nor-

witt, the petitioner’s brother, as vice president.

(R. 509.) The return, although prepared in 1941,

was not filed until June 23, 1945. (R. 509.) It

was first submitted to Adolph Washauer, Division

Chief of the Office of the Collector of Internal Rev-

enue at San Francisco, California, in May, 1945, by

Arthur P. Shapro, attorney for petitioner. At the

time the petitioner’s attorney, Arthur P. Shapro,

first submitted the 1941 corporate return to Mr.

Washauer, he said: ‘“‘Well, we forgot to file.’

Sometime later, Nathan Spivock, the petitioner’s

accountant, borrowed the return, but later returned

it. (R. 508-509.) Arthur P. Shapro had given the

return to Adolph Washauer for filing. (R. 509.)

a

5

Although the return was filed on June 23, 1945, the

jurat is dated June 25, 1945. (R. 509.)

The tax returns, which form the basis for counts

two and three, were both filed on June 23, 1945.

These were amended returns. Original returns

had been filed for the calendar years 1942 and 1943

on April 15, 1943, and March 15, 1944, respectively.

(R. 509-510.)

The evidence produced by the Government

showed that the amended returns were prepared

under the following circumstances: In the spring

of 1945, prior to March 15th, the petitioner em-

ployed Nathan Spivock to prepare the petitioner’s

and his wife’s income tax returns for 1944. Harry

J. Stephenson, an employee of NatHan Spivock,

handled most of the details. In the course of his

work Mr. Stephenson learned that certain rental

- income had been omitted from the original returns

filed for 1942 and 1943 and recommended that

amended returns be filed for those years. Mr.

Stephenson also learned that the petitioner had

engaged in business as the General Refrigerator

Corporation and requested the records of that

venture. The petitioner advised Mr. Stephenson

that the records had been destroyed by fire. (R.

510-511.) Nathan Spivock was also advised by pe-

tioner that part of his records were destroyed by

fire. (R.198.) In the absence of records the peti-

tioner’s amended returns for 1942 and 1943 were

prepared by use of the net worth method of ac-

counting. (R. 199-215.) Mr. Spivock obtained the

net worth information from the petitioner after

6

explaining to tae petitioner the necessity of obtain-

ing complete end accurate information. (R. 43-

44.) From th: information supplied by the peti-

tioner, Mr. Stephenson prepared the amended re-

turns which were filed for 1942 and 1943. (R. 39,

42.) Each of the amended returns contained the

following statement: ‘‘It is not possible to obtain

exact figures or details because the taxpayer’s rec-

ords were destroyed by fire in 1943.’ (R. 512.)

The petitioner also advised Adolph Washauer and

Ralphe Mohr that all of his records, the refrigera-

tor company’s as well as his own, had been burned.

(R. 511.)

The Government produced evidence that all of

the petitioner's records had not been destroyed by

fire. Early in February, 1945, Adolph Washauer

and his assistant, Ralphe Mohr, visited the peti-

tioner’s former place of business and had exhibited

to them five or six corporate books belonging to the

old company. In November, 1945, Special Agent

Thomas W. Cleary visited the former offices of

petitioner and saw “‘a pile of records, canceled -

checks, sales invoices.’ Shortly thereafter, the

special agent, together with Deputy Collector Wil-

liam F. Bobadilla, Robert Farrell and Ralphe

Mohr, again visited the petitioner’s former office

and obtained the records. The records consisted of

correspondence, purchase invoices, a few balance

sheets and accountant’s balance sheets. During

this last visit R. W. Pfeiffer, manager of the new

company, advised that he had called the petitioner

several times but tha the petitioner had not come

a 7

to pick up the records. (R. 512-513.) Subse-

quently, in March, 1946, Special Agent Cleary un-

earthed four cardboard boxes of sales slips in the

basement of a residence at 32 Crescent Avenue,

San Francisco, California. (R. 142-143.) This

residence had formerly been occupied by the peti-

tioner. (R. 51-52.) Thereafter, in October, 1947,

the petitioner, at the request of Special Agent

Cleary, submitted the rest of his books. (R. 513.)

The sales invoices found by the special agent repre-

sented sales made by the petitioner during the

three years involved in this case and which were

not posted to the petitioner’s sales register. (R.

513.) A large majority of these sales invoices were

in the handwriting of the petitioner. (R. 395,

401.) The records disclosed that credit sales had

been posted to the sales register and that all of

the larger cash sales, «uch as those found in the

invoices located at 32 Crescent Avenue, were not

posted at all. (R. 155.) Additional testimony

was adduced to the effect that sales had been made

by the petitioner for which there were neither sales

tags nor book recordation. (R. 513.)

By use of the records obtained during the inves-

tigation, the Government was able to reconstruct

the petitioner’s corrected income. The Govern-

ment’s computation of income of the General Re-

frigerator Corporation for the fiscal year ended

July 31, 1941, and the personal income of the peti-

tioner, which were not recorded in his books and

records but which were reflected by the sales in-

voices and other evidence, far exceeded the income

| q

reported in the corporate return and the original

and amended returns for the calendar years 1942

and 1943. The evidence showed a tax deficiency by

the corporation for the fiscal year ended July 31,

1941, in the sum of $2,943.16 and a tax deficiency of

$10,486.54 and $3,173.85 with respect to the returns

filed for the calendar years 1942 and 1943, respec-

tively. (R. 412-422.)

A motion for acquittal was made at the close of

the case and was denied. (R. 8.) A verdict of

guilty was returned as to each count by the jury on

March 30, 1951. (R. 8-9.) A motion for new trial

was denied on April 10, 1951. (R.11.) The court

sentenced the petitioner to imprisonment for a pe-

riod of one year on each count, to run concurrently,

and imposed a fine of $10,000 and costs of $796.12.

(R. 11-12.)

On appeal the judgment was affirmed. (R. 527.)

ARGUMENT

1. In effect, petitioner contends with respect to

Counts 2 and 3 that since he filed inaccurate orig-

inal returns he cannot be charged with wilful at-

tempted evasion based on the filing of false and

fraudulent amended returns. The gist of the crime

of tax evasion is the wilful attempt to evade and

defeat. The attempt may be committed, in the

language of the statute, ‘‘in any manner’’. The

petitioner was charged with having attempted to

evade tax by the filing of false and fraudulent re-

turns. The fact that these returns were not the first

ones filed by petitioner is immaterial. An offense

rT

with respect to the original returns filed for the cal-

endar years 1942 and 1943 was not in issue. The is-

sue before the jury was whether the petitioner had

filed false and fraudulent amended returns in his

attempt to evade tax. Such acts constituted a proper

basis for an evasion charge. In Levy v. United

States, 271 Fed. 942, 943 (C.A. 3d) the court said:

9

While amended or corrected income tax re-

turns may not be prescribed by the statute,

they are nevertheless allowed and received by

the Treasury Department in the administra-

tion of the Income Tax Law, and on such re-

turns taxes are assessed by the Commissioner

of Internal Revenue. When so assessed, these

are the taxes which under the law are charged

against and collected from the taxable.

See also United States v. Smith, 13 F. 2d 923

(W.D. La.), and United States v. Hall, 52 F. Supp.

796 (D. Conn.).

2. As noted above, the means of attempted eva-

sion was the filing of false and fraudulent returns.

There was persuasive evidence of understatement

of net income and consequent tax deficiencies.’

‘For example, the Government proved that the records

maintained by the petitioner did not contain all sales: that

sales invoices, the majority of which were in the handwriting

of petitioner and had been secreted in a former residence of

the petitioner, had not been made a matter of record; that the

petitioner had available or under his control adequate records

from which proper returns could have been made; that the

petitioner falsely advised his accountants and the Government

representatives that his records had been destroyed by fire;

that the petitioner concealed from his accountants the exist-

ence of his records; that the petitioner failed to make a com-

plete disclosure of his books and records to his accountants

12

stands convicted are identical. The possible loss

of civil rights would be the same whether he were

convicted on one count, two, or three.

CONCLUSION

The decision of the court below is plainly correct

and presents no conflict. The petition for a writ

of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Pur B. PERLMAN,

Solicitor General.

E.uis N. SLack,

Acting Assistant Attorney General.

MEYER ROTHWACKS,

ARTHUR B. CUNNINGHAM,

Special Assistants to the Attorney General.

JUNE, 1952.

W uv. &. GOVERNMERT PRINTING OFFICE. 1982 neces = 808

_

’ CERTIOR

_ ee eee

ws

Sey

10

From all of the circumstances in the case, the jury

was entitled to draw an inference of wilfulness

and was not foreclosed by petitioner’s alleged re-

liance on his accountants in view of the evidence

that he withheld vital information from them.

Spies v. United States, 317 U. 8. 492, 499.

Petitioner particularly urges that the evidence

was insufficient to establish that he filed or caused

to be filed a false and fraudulent return for the

corporation, as charged in count one of the indict-

ment.? Although the facts surrounding the execu-

tion and filing of this return are far from clear,

there was ample testimony from which the jury

could find that petitioner did file or cause the

fraudulent corporate return to be filed.’

and knew that in the absence of records the accountants

determined his income by the net worth method of accounting,

which net worth information was supplied the accountants

by petitioner.

2 In the court below, petitioner argued that the fact that he

was no longer an officer of the corporation at the date the

corporate return was filed absolved him of responsibility.

Apparently he no longer relies on that argument in this Court.

In any event, the Court found that the evidence indicated

that petitioner had in fact sworn to the returns in 1945 when

they were filed, so that he purported to act for the corporation

at that time and, moreover, he had a transferee’s interest in

the corporation tax (R. 515-516).

3 William McIntosh testified that he had been employed

by the petitioner in 1941 to prepare the tax return for the

General Refrigerator Corporation for the fiscal year ended

July 31, 1941 (R. 357), and that he prepared the return and

delivered it to the petitioner. (R. 360.) Adolph Washauer

testified that Arthur P. Shapro, the petitioner’s attorney,

submitted the return to him (Washauer) in May, 1945, for

filing. (R. 295.) He testified further, that Nathan Spivock,

the petitioner's accountant, asked that the return be turned

back to him for assistance in preparing the amended returns;

that this was done and that he resubmitted the return; that the

11

The verdict of the jury must be sustained if there

is substantial evidence, taking the view most fa-

vorable to the Government, to support it. Glasser

v. United States, 315 U. 8. 60; Henderson v. United

States, 143 F. 2d 681, 682 (C. A. 9th): Pasadena

Research Laboratories v. United States, 169 F. 2d

375 (C. A. 9th) ; Borgia v. United States, 78 F. 2d

550 (C. A. 9th), certiorari denied, 296 U. 8. 615;

Morrissey v. United States, 67 F. 2d 267 (C. A.

9th), certiorari denied, 293 U. S. 566.

3. The basis of petitioner’s objection to the gen-

eral sentence is not clear, since the court below

found that the evidence adduced at the trial was

sufficient to sustain the verdict with respect to each

of the three counts. Moreover, the sentence im-

posed did not exceed that which might have been

imposed with respect to any single count. The

judgment in this case should be affirmed, therefore,

even if the evidence was insufficient to convict as to

one or two counts. Abrams v. United States, 250

U. S. 616; Pinkerton v. United States, 328 U.S.

640, 642; Hirabayashi v. United States, 320 U.S.

81, 85. The case of Fiswick v. United States, 329

U. S. 211, relied upon by petitioner, is inapposite.

It is no authority for the novel proposition ad-

vanced that conviction on all three counts here may

deprive petitioner of certain civil rights if he is

guilty with respect to only one count. (Pet. Br.

69-71.) The felonies of which the petitioner now

corporate @ urn was filed on June 23, 1945 (R. 295-296) ;

that the corporate return was given to him (Washauer) for fil-

ing by Arthur P. Shapro. (R. 305.)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.