Petition for Writ of Certiorari — L. N. Jackson & Co. v. Royal Norwegian Government

Supreme Court brief1950

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

oud Office - Supreme Court, U. & FF

FiILxD

EB 2 1950

CHARLES ELMORE CROPLEY

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser TeERM—1949

No. 576

L. N. Jackson & Co., Inc.,

Petitioner,

against

Tue Royat Norwecian GovERNMENT,

Respondent.

Oe

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI AND

SUPPORTING BRIEF

CopaL Mintz,

Attorney for Petitioner,

150 Broadway,

New York 7, N. Y.

INDEX

a,

Petition FOR Writ oF CERTIORARI

Judgment Sought To Be Reviewed

| The Opinions Below

The Matter Involved

A Summary Statement of the Facts

The Ratio Decidendi of the District Court

The Grounds of the Reversal

Judge Learned Hand’s Dissent

The Testimony of Defendant’s Representatives

Basis of Jurisdiction

SupportTinG Brier

Preliminary Statement

Summary of Argument

Port I: The Authorities Cited in the Prevailing

Opinion Do Not Countenance the Enunciation—

and Reject the Doctrine—That, Even Though a

Contract Is Valid and Binding, the Law Does

Not Hold the Promisor to Performance If, in the

Circumstances of the Case, it Appears to A

Court That ‘‘In Fairness and Justice’’ the

Promisor Should Not Be Held To His Promise

Summary of the Cases Cited in the Prevailing

li INDEX

PAGE

Pornt II: The Authorities Cited in the Prevailing

Opinion Do Not Countenance ‘‘Governmental

Coercion’’—as Distinguished From Frustration

By Law—As Releasing a Promisor From Lia- |

bility For Non-Performance .................. 4

Pornt III: Other Authoritative Decisions—Decisions

Not Mentioned in the Prevailing Opinion—Rule

Out ‘‘Governmental Coercion’’ As an Excuse .. 4

Pornt IV: No ‘‘New Circumstances’’ Require Or

Justify the Disregard Or Reversal of the Well-

Settled Principles of Law in the Field of Con-

tract Jurisprudence Which Are Involved Here 4

Porst V: The Factual Hypothesis of the Prevailing

Opinion—That the Defendant Was ‘‘Coerced”’

by the Government of the United States Which

Exercised and Exerted an ‘‘Overriding Power”’

—Are Without the Slightest Basis in the Record

and Directly Contrary to the Testimony of the

SE © WOMENS ny. uh cs ceuaebn sv nvce cen 47

Concuiusion: It Is Respectfully Submitted That the

Petition Herein Should be Granted and Writ of

Ces CE OID cc ccc ce ceenasa onde 47

APPENDIX

Testimony of Defendant’s Witnesses George Otto

Mejlaender and Per A. Lorentzen ........... 48-54

TABLE oF CasEs

Allanwilde Transport Co. v. Vacuum Oil Co., 248 U.S.

Ee SE Kéd deuce nkucavocNuRcna pen iwton ances 34

Arkell &€ Douglas v. N. H. Borenstein & Sons, 188

A, EX UR, Kee Bh. Es GH: GSR CEBEB) «on oo ceca 16

ill

PAGE

Baker Castor Oil Co. v. Insurance Company of North

America, 60 Fed. S. 32 (S. D. N. Y. Goddard, J.)

aff’d 157 F. (2nd) 3 (C. C. A. 2), ed. 329 U.S.

7, 14, 17, 35-7, 40-41, 44

Bank Line Ltd. v. Arthur Capell & Co., 1919 A.C. 485 28

Canadian Industrial Alcohol Co. v. Dunbar Molasses

Co., 259 N. Y. 193 (1932)

Cameron-Hawn Realty Co. v. City of Albany, 207

N. Y. 377 (1913)

Carnegie Steel Co. v. U. S., 240 U.S. 156 (1916)...

The Claveresk, 264 F. 276 (C. C. A. 2nd Cir.,, 1920,

Rogers, Hought and Manton, C. J.), affirming

8 a i RS ee aan 34-5

Chicago & Eastern Ill. Rwy. Co. v. Collins Produce

Co., 249 U. S. 186 (1918)

Columbus Railway & Power Co. v. Columbus, 249 U.S.

399 (1919)

Companhia De Navegacao Lloyd Brasileiro v. C. J.

Blake Co., 34 F. 2d 616, 619 (2nd C. 1929)

Day v. U. S., 245 U. &. 159 (1917)

Edward Maurer v. Tubeless Tire Co., 285 F. 113

(C. C. A. 6th Cir., 1922)

E. Hulton & Co., Lid. v. Chadwick & Taylor, 34 T. L.

R. 230 (1918)

Eppens, Smith & Wiemann Co. v. Littlejohn, 164 N. Y.

187 (1900)

F. A. Tamplin Co. v. Anglo-Mezxican Co., 1916, 2 A. C.

Gottesman v. Canada, Atlanta & Pacific Steamship

Co., 259 F. 298 (E. D. N. Y., 1919)

The Isle of Mull, 257 F. 798 (D. C. Md. Rose, D. J.,

1919) reversed 278 F. 131 (4th C. 1921) e.d. 257

SS ee eT re er eee eee 22-3, 28, 39

Joseph Constantine Steamship Line Ltd. v. Imperial

Smelting Corp., Ltd., 1941 2 ALL Eng. R 165. .28-30, 39

** Julian Blake’’, 107 U. S. ee pers 2

The Kronprinzessin Cecile, 244 U.S. 12 (1917) ...... 26-7

Krulewitch v. National Importing & Trading Co., Inc.,

195 A. D. 544, 186 N. Y. S. 838 (1921)........... 16

L. N. Jackson & Co. v. Seas Shipping Co., Inc, 185

SE cates bab cae and 6 O48 bale A AOS «cK aeE 38

Madeirense Do Brasil 8/A v. Stulman-Emrick Lum-

ber Co., 147 F. 2d 399 (C. C. A. 2nd Cir. 1945),

“SS 4 GERRI Cet SE ra SET OE es 16, 314

Mawhinney v. Milbrook Woolen Mills, 231 N. Y. 290

Nia nk he Cin 55 ths ashhi ot eoed heen ccknn 37

Megan v. Updike Grain Corp., 94 F. 2d 553 (8th C.,

DE Sat Giada cee ake atin awk eabandnd bah cdnee 16

Moore & Tierney, Inc. v. Roxford Knitting Co., 250 F.

278 (N. D. N. Y. 1918), aff’d 265 F. 177 (2nd C.),

ee ee es rere 24-6, 37, 41

BE chia cd x bKCMAN RAE CANRLS a Soe eee KER e AE 10, 39

New York Trust Co. v. Securities Exchange Commis-

ston, 131 F. 2d 274 (C. C. A. 2nd Cir., 1942), ed.

Bs i AK bath aed ae w Ramen eaaan sob 0 40k <eaws 35

Nitro Powder Co. v. Agency of Canadian Car & Foun-

Gry Cé., SEB RB. TF. BOO CIBER). wns ccc encsavcs 378

Northern Pacific Railway Co. v. American Trading

Coy 190: U0. G. GBD (BOE) «6:5 ins ctnwsivtcas 16-17, 34, 4

119 5th Avenue v. Tatyo Trading Co., Inc., 190 Mise.

ee 2 eS 6 Res eee eerreree 16

Patch v. Solar Corp., 149 F. 2d 558 (C. C. A. 7th

Cir., 1945), ed. 326 U. S. 741

The Poznam, 276 F. 418 (S. D. N. Y., 1921)

Raner v. Goldberg, 244 N. Y. 439 (1927)

Richards € Co. v. Wreschner, 174 A. D. 484, 158

N. Y. S. 1129 (1916)

Rubin v. Dairymen’s League Co-Op. Assn., Inc., 284

The Simmons Transportation Co. v. Alpha Port-

land Cement Co., 286 F. 955 (S. D. N. Y., 1922)

State Mutual Life Assurance Co. v. Gruber, 269 A. D.

170, 54 N. Y. S. 2d 720 (1945)

Sun Printing € Publishing Assn. v. Moore, 183 U. S.

642, 654-5 (1901)

Swayne € Hoyt v. Everett, 255 F. 71 (9th C.,

16, 17, 46

The Texas Co. v. Hogarth Shipping Co., 256 U. S.

619 (1921)

Thaddeus Davids Co. v. Hoffman-LaRoche Chemical

Works, 178 A. D. 855, 166 N. Y. S. 179 (1919) ... 16

The Tornado, 108 U. S. 342 (1882)

W. J. Tatem, Ltd. v. Gamboa, 1939 1 K. B. 132 ....

Watts, Watts & Co. v. Mitsui, 1918 A. C. 119

TABLE OF STATUTES

Act of May 31, 1941, 55 Stat. 236, amending Act of

June 28, 1940, 50 U. S. C. A. App. Section

1152(a) (7)

Act of June 6, 1941, c. 174, 55 Stat. 242,50 U.S. C. A.

App. Section 1271

vi INDEX

PAGE

National Defense Act of June 3, 1916, c. 134, 39 Stat.

BD £50 bees b wees boob ee eeks GO abe Wesneninnns 25, 37

Naval Appropriations Act of March 4, 1917, c. 180,

PE AEE cue kn iwd al Can eh Ekes wd dea CA0K As 3

Ship Warrants Act, 55 Stat. 591, U. S. C. Title 50,

Appendix, Section 1281, et seq. ............. 5, 6, 9, LL

28 U. S. C., Section 1254, Subdivision 1 (Public Law

773—S0th Comgress) .........ccccccccccceess 13

TaBLE or TEXTS

Corbin, ‘‘Frustration of Contract in the United

States of America’’, 29 J. Comp. Leg. and Inter.

oe, SF es Se errr Pret iee 8

Dodd, ‘‘Impossibility of Performance of Contracts

Due to Wartime Regulations’’, 32 Harv. L. Rev.

Serer rerrrr rt rr err re Tree 3

Frey, ‘‘Contract Defaults and Cancellations in War-

ae Pere creer ee eee i

Pedrick and Springfield, ‘‘War Measures and Con-

tract Liability’’, 20 Texas L. Rev., 710 ........ 10

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser TermM—1949

No.

yp.

v

L. N. Jacxson & Co., Inc.,

Petitioner,

agaist

Tue Roya Norwecian GoveERNMENT,

Respondent.

dp

v

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To roe HonoraBLE SuPREME Court OF THE UNITED STATES:

L. N. Jackson & Co., Inc. (a New York corporation),

hereby respectfully petitions this Court to issue a writ

of certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for

the Second Circuit to certify to this Court, for review

and determination, its proceedings and final judgment,

rendered on November 10, 1949 (with the dissent of Chief

Judge Learned Hand), reversing a $91,384.52 judgment in

plaintiff’s favor against the Royal Norwegian Government

and directing the dismissal of the complaint.

The judgment so reversed had been rendered by the

United States District Court for the Southern District of

New York on March 3, 1949 after trial before Goddard, J.,

without a jury (R. 340-1).

2

A timely petition for rehearing was filed on November

23, 1949, and was denied on November 29, 1949 (R. 364

385).

This action was commenced in the referred to United

States District Court on November 27, 1946, by the filing

of the complaint and issuance of summons (R. 2-8). Those

were served on November 29, 1946 (R. 1). Issue was

joined on April 29, 1947 (id). The action was tried

before the Hon. Henry W. Goddard, without a jury, on

December 27-29, 1948 (id). An opinion was rendered on

February 9, 1949. Findings and conclusions were signed

on March 2, 1949. Judgment followed on March 3, 1949

for damages in the sum of $64,190.00 plus interest of

$27,096.95 plus costs of $94.56, making in all $91,384.51.

The Royal Norwegian Government duly appealed to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit.

That Court (composed of Judges Learned Hand, Thomas

W. Swan and Charles E. Clark), rendered its opinion,

decision and judgment, as noted above, on November 10,

1949, Chief Judge Hand, dissenting.

After the denial of a petition for rehearing, the Court

of Appeals issued its mandate on November 30, 1949.

Judgment in accordance therewith was entered in the

District Court on December 9, 1949.

The Opinions Below

The opinion of the trial court appears at pages 326-335

of the record and is reported in 83 F. Sup. 486.

The reversing opinion of Clark, C. J., concurred in by

Swan, C. J., and the dissenting opinion of Learned Hand,

C. J., are reported in 177 F. 2d 694 and appear at pages

347-362 of the Record. |

Digests of the opinions appear at pages 6-12, infra.

The Matter Involved

The matter involved is the exoneration of a promisor

from the payment of damages caused by his total non-

performance of an unqualified commercial contract—where

such non-performance is claimed to have arisen from, or

been due to, compliance by the promisor (who owed ne

allegiance and was not subject to the laws of the United

States) with an earlier voluntary and at-will contract with

the United States.

The exculpating decision by the majority of the Court

of Appeals appears to be an unprecedented departure

from all prior decisions on the point.

Performance in this case cannot be said, and has not

been said, to have been rendered impossible by the de-

struction or governmental requisition of the res or of the

means of performance nor by a supervening contingency

beyond the promisor’s control nor by the intervention

of superior power or force; nor was performance pro-

hibited by law or any act having the force of law.

Thus none of the hitherto recognized grounds of exculpa-

tion applied.

Acknowledging that, the opinion of the reversing two

Cireuit Judges rested their decision on a liberal appli-

cation of a philosophy, quoted from Professor Dodd’s

“Impossibility of Performance of Contracts Due to War-

Time Regulations’, 32 Harv. L. Rev. 789, 791, that

“Courts are free to regard the problems arising out of

governmental interference in war-time as to a large de-

gree sut generis, and that they need not adhere strictly

in cases of this sort to the precedents which have been

established in the law of impossibility of performance in

- general, but are at liberty to reach the results most con-

‘sistent with justice and public policy, as long as these

--Tesults can be obtained with due regard to the more funda-

mental principles of the law of contracts’’ (R. 351).

4

A Summary Statement of the Facts

On November 7, 1941, in New York, by a contract in

writing (Plif’s. Ex. 1, R. 239-240, admitted at R. 62-3) which

expressed no qualifications or reservation, The Royal Nor.

wegian Government (acting through a domestic berth

agent) undertook to transport to the plaintiff in New York

from Beira in Africa 1,000 tons of copra, at $22.00 per

ton, by a vessel named the ‘‘Tropic Star’. ~

The vessel was ‘‘owned, operated, controlled and man.

aged’’ by The Royal Norwegian Government and flew the

Norwegian flag (finding 3, R. 336). It was then in Africa

(finding 7, R. 337). It had not been here for a year, if at

all (R. 113).

After consented to delay in the commencement of the

voyage and while the copra was awaiting loading, ‘‘deiend-

ant notified the plaintiff on December 23, 1941 that pursv-

ant to the orders of the United States Maritime Commis-

sion, plaintiff’s shipment of copra * * * was cancelled”

(finding 8, R. 337).

The referred to ‘‘orders’’ were a telegram from an

assistant director (one of a number) of the United States

Maritime Commission to the berth agent in New York:

‘*Tropic Star due to requirements for critical strategic

commodities please cancel booking 1,000 tons of copra,

substitute sisal wool. Confirm’? (Defendant’s Exhibit E,

R. 279, admitted R. 133). The substance of this was re-

iterated by the same assistant director in a telegram on

January 2, 1942 (Defendant’s Exhibit G, R. 280, admitted

R. 135).

Thereafter, defendant refused and failed to load and

carry plaintiff’s copra. In place thereof, it carried 1,00

tons of wool, at $56.00 per ton (R. 220, 234). Thus non-

performance of the contract with the plaintiff resulted in

a profit to the defendant of $34,000.

Wool and copra had precisely the same O. P. M. strategic

rating of C (R. 295), and according to O. P. M.’s official

certification, there was no O. P. M. directive for priority

5

of one over the other (R. 293-4). It was the O. P. M.

which determined and certified to the Maritime Commis-

sion the relative strategic needs (R. 139, 144-52, 175-9,

215-216, 218).

The assistant director of the United States Maritime

Commission who had sent the telegrams testified that he

did so on his own initiative, without consulting, or report-

ing to, any of his superiors or the legal department; he

consulted neither as to the policy nor authority to direct

or request a breach of an unqualified contract, which, as

here, had been entered into after consultation with, and

approval by, the Commission (R. 159-160, 205-9). His im-

mediate superior testified that he had not been consulted,

nor informed, and that the matter of ordering ship owners

to cancel shipping contracts had never been taken up by

him or the Commission (R. 139, 144-7). The matter was

not covered by any instructions or regulations (R. 147,

207). A request or directive to cancel a specific contract

was without precedent (R. 190).

A month before contracting with the plaintiff—on

October 4, 1941—‘‘defendant voluntarily filed’’ with the

United States Maritime Commission, an ‘‘ Undertaking for

Merchant Ship Warrants’’ under the Ship Warrants Act

of July 14, 1941 (55 Stat. 591, U. S. C. Title 50, Appendix

See. 1281, et seq.). The ‘‘undertaking’’ was ‘‘in respect

to the vessels described in Schedules A and B attached

hereto’’. The ‘‘Tropic Star’’ was not included in any

schedule filed prior to April, 1942. (Finding 5, R. 536;

Defendant’s Exhibits B, C, J, R. 259-278, 283-4, admitted

R. 85, 95, 136). The trial court, however, found that the

“Undertaking’’ which the defendant ‘‘voluntarily filed’’

om October 4, 1941 was ‘‘for all its ships which would or

might come to United States ports’’ (Finding 5, R. 336).

The ‘‘Undertaking’’ specified no period of duration.

Its at-will character (Rubin v. Dairymen’s League Co-Op.

Assn., Inc., 284 N. Y. 32) was emphasized by provisions

that ship warrants were surrenderable at the will of the

6

holder and revocable at the will of the Commission (R.

261).

After the filing of the ‘‘ Undertaking’’ as before, and in.

cluding November and December, 1941, and January, 1942

according to the uncontradicted testimony of the repre.

sentatives of the defendant as witnesses for the defend.

ant, defendant at all times dealt with the United States

Maritime Commission not on a basis of command and

obedience but on the basis of mutual consultation and

mutual agreement; there never was a taking of orders (R.

69-70, 74-76, 109-112, quoted in the Appendix, pp. 48-54,

infra).

‘‘The facts found by the [trial] court’’, the defendant

said in its brief to the Court of Appeals, ‘‘are, generally

speaking, deemed correct with the exception of finding No.

10 (F. 1011) which a conclusion of law.’’ The referred

to finding 10 is: ‘‘This intervention of the United States

Maritime Commission was an event which was foreseeable

by the defendant at the time it entered its contract with the

plaintiff and was a condition that could and should have

been provided for in the said contract’’ (R. 337).

The Ratio Decidendi of the District Court

The District Court held that defendant’s contract with

the United States Maritime Commission having been er-

tered into—voluntarily—on October 4, 1941, the defendant,

at the time of contracting with the plaintiff on November

7, 1941, ‘‘knew or should have known’’ that the latter was

‘subject to the conditions and potential limitations of

the Ship Warrants Act’’ and if defendant expected to be

excused from performing in the event of a conflict with its

obligations under the earlier contract with the Maritime

Commission, a condition to that effect ‘‘could and should

have been provided * * * in the contract with the plaintiff”

(findings 9-10, R. 337). ‘‘* * * the defendant cannot claim

that the orders of the Maritime Commission were not fore-

seeable’’ even though it be assumed that it ‘‘did not ex

pect the outbreak of war nor anticipate that the Maritime

7

Commission would exercise the rights granted under the

Ship Warrants Act’’ (opinion, at R. 333).

The District Court held further (R. 333-4) :

“To establish the defense of frustration it must

appear that the one asserting it had not been instru-

mental in bringing about the intervening event either

by positive action or acquiescence, and the act of

government which is alleged to have frustrated the

performance of the contract must be one in its sover-

eign capacity, a vis major or in the nature of a vis

major. * * *

‘‘Where one voluntarily by contract places ships

under government order, the doctrine of frustration

does not apply. * * * It further appears that the act

of the Maritime Commission in requesting the cancel-

lation of the booking of plaintiff’s copra was not an

exercise of vis major, but merely the exercise of a con-

tractual right granted to it by the defendant. Baker

Castor Oil Co. v. Insurance Company of North

America, 157 F. (2nd) 3 (C. C. A. 2).”’

The Grounds of the Reversal

In reversing the judgment of the District Court, Judges

Clark and Swan, in an opinion written by the former, held,

in substance, as already indicated, that the doctrine of

the inexorableness of the obligation to perform a contract,

except as expressly or impliedly qualified by the terms of

the contract itself, has been undergoing a process of

progressive relaxation and that it was time to pronounce

the rule to be that non-performance is excused when, in

“fairness and justice’, a party should not be held to his

contract. They held further that in this case it was

unfair and unjust to hold The Royal Norwegian Govern-

ment in damages for its non-performance because it

seemed to them [without proof] that the Norwegian Gov-

ernment acted under ‘‘governmental coercion’’ by the

United States and, further, in laudable cooperation ‘‘with

8

the war effort’’ in which the two governments were jointly

engaged as allies.

In this connection, the opinion of Judge Clark states:

‘*Here the parties, the court below, and the state court

have framed the issue in terms of the ‘frustration’

of a contract; but that, as Professor Corbin has said,

may be ‘only perpetuating the use of a bad term to

state the result.’ Corbin, Frustration of Contract in

the United States of America, 29 J. Comp. Leg. & Int.

L., Pts. III and IV, pp. 1, 7 * * * And since the

parties may have stipulated as to, or at least had in

mind, the very occurrence, the issue becomes one as

to the fairness and justice of excusing performance

in the light of the circumstances affecting the parties

at the time they made their contract. [R. 352]

‘* * * To us the overriding power of the American

government seems so clear. * * * [R. 352-3]

‘*Finally the assertion that defendant, as a sov-

ereign power, was not bound to obey the commands

of an ally overlooks the realities of defendant’s

position, as well as the terms of its own comnit-

ment. This was a year and a half after the German

invasion of Norway. Defendant was then a gover-

ment in exile. Neither then nor later did it give sign

of lack of loyalty to the allied cause; and it was one

of the twenty-six countries which on January 2, 1942

subscribed to the ‘Declaration by the United Nations,

as a pledge to pursue a common purpose against a

common foe and to co-operate with each other in their

common struggle. It was not likely, therefore, that

it would join with the three countries of known Fascist

sympathies—Argentina, Portugal, Spain—against the

vast body of the world’s neutral merchant marine, in

refusing to accept the Ship Warrants system. Had it

done so, the President’s power to requisition foreign

merchant vessels in American waters had already been

granted by the Act of June 6, 1941, c. 174, 55 Stat

242, 50 U. S. C. A. App. § 1271, and was available for

9

as effective use here’ as was its operation against, for

example, the Danish vessels. * * * And the reality

of the coercion upon the defendant to carry the wool,

instead of the copra, is not subject to doubt upon this

record.’ [R. 353-4]

Turning ‘‘to the controlling question that the defend-

ant’s promise was so without exception in law, that not-

withstanding the governmental coercion, it must pay the

plaintiff’s lost profits on the transaction’’ (R. 354), Judge

Clark stated that the District Court’s ‘‘approach prac-

tically puts the burden upon the promisor to show non-

foreseeability’’ of the interfering contingency (R. 355).

That was ‘‘too heavy a burden upon the defendant’’ (R.

355). It ‘‘passes belief’’ that the plaintiff did not know

on November 7, 1941 that defendant’s vessels had been

placed under the Ship Warrants Act—although no evidence

was presented by either party of such knowledge by the

plaintiff or its shipping brokers (R. 356). ‘‘ Plaintiff

should have known of the existence and operation of the

system substantially as fully as the defendant. * * * De-

fendant could reasonably, have so concluded, and hence

** * there was no arbitrary® obligation on the defendant

to protect itself by express stipulation against the opera-

tion of the system’”’ (R. 356).

‘After all, we need not consider what would have been

the legal effect of a direction from the Maritime Com-

mission for the substitution of a cargo in the place

of the one contracted for had it been given before

1 This argument overlooks (a) the realities of international inter-

course and (b) also the fact that the statute applied only to merchant

vessels “lying idle in the waters within the jurisdiction of the United

States’. Most of defendant’s vessels, including the Tropic Star,

were not in the United States (R. 96, 99, 112).

_* The record contains not an iota of evidence of such coercion ;

directly to the contrary is the testimony of only defendant’s own

witness (see appendix, infra, pp. 48-54).

* Why call it “arbitrary”?

10

December 7. That did not happen. It is clear that

the Maritime Commission, which originally suggested

the availability of the ‘Tropic Star’ to Seas Shipping

for this voyage, expected the arrangement to be car.

ried out, as did all the other parties at the time it

was initiated. Actually it was the Pearl Harbor

calamity, the resulting wars over the world, and the

immediate shipping crisis which furnished the real

oceasion for the chain of events precipitating this case,

To say that this, the greatest naval disaster in our

history, was unexpected is of course an understate.

ment.’’ [R. 357]

e . * *

‘‘Finally we turn to an important enunciation of

public policy in situations of this sort as made by

Congress in the Act of May 31, 1941, 55 Stat. 236,

amending the prior act of June 28, 1940, and now set

forth in 50 U. S. C. A. App. §1152(a)(7). This aet

authorized the President to assign priorities on de

livery of materials and then provided: ‘No person,

firm or corporation shall be held liable for damages or

penalties for any default under any contract or order —

which shall result directly or indirectly from his con-

pliance with any rule, regulation, or order issued

under this section.’ (Later it was amended to add that

this should be so, even though the rule, regulation,

or order should thereafter be declared invalid.) Since

the Commission’s order was a step to carry out the

priority requirements as established by the Office of

Production Management, there is ground for asserting

that this statute is directly applicable to the circum-

stances of this case. Pedrick and Springfield, supra,

at 719; ef. Nash v. Southern Pac. Co., D. C. N. D. Cal,

260 F. 280, 284. But we need not go that far here in

view of the basis we find in the common law for our

conclusion. At the very least the Act, particularly

against the background of its legislative history, is

ample demonstration of the legislative view that per-

11

sons co-operating with the war effort should not be

held liable for civil damages because of their acts.

Frey, supra at 169. It thus re-enforces and supports

the common-law principle.’’ [R. 359-360]

That disposition of the case, petitioner verily believes,

ignores the facts as found by the trial court despite de-

fendant’s concession of the correctness thereof, ignores

“the issue’ as ‘‘framed’’ by the parties and tried and

decided by the District Court (see Judge Clark’s opinion

at R. 352) and postulates facts which have no basis in the

evidence and are contrary to the evidence, and lays down

rules of law contrary to those which heretofore have pre-

vailed.

Judge Learned Hand’s Dissent

In dissenting, Chief Judge Learned Hand noted the ab-

sence of evidence that at the time of contracting the plain-

tiff knew ‘‘that the defendant had already consented to

take out warrants under the [Ship Warrants] Act’’ (R.

361-2). ‘‘For this reason,’’ he continued (R. 361-2),

‘in the case at bar the defendant’s excuse is to be

judged as though it had not in fact consented to

take out warrants for all its ships; and, while I agree

that we cannot say affirmatively that our entrance into

the war would not in that case have excused the de-

fendant’s performance, this record does not satisfy

me that it would. True the plaintiff did urge upon

the Commission that a cancellation of its contract

would involve it in loss, and the Commission was ob-

durate; but, the defendant was in a much weaker

position to press such a claim because of its consent.

Perhaps it would not have been successful had it not

consented; but I do not see how we can say that a

priori. After all, although it was at the time a feeble

government in exile, it represented a friendly power

and an ally, which by hypothesis had not yet agreed to

12

pool its many ships; and surely it would have bee

highly desirable to us that it should do so voluntarily,

I do not suggest that the Commission could not have

forced it to comply, but I do suggest that it might have

thought that less than one third* the cargo space of

the ‘Tropic Seas’ was not a stake which would have

justified coercive measures, while the defendant’s won-

sent still remained in abeyance; or indeed a stake

which, all things considered, would have justified even

a request to repudiate its contract with the plaintiff.

Whether such a request unaccompanied by any in-

timation of coercion would have been an excuse is a

question which I am not prepared to answer, and it

is not necessary to do so, since my views are not to

prevail.

‘‘Therefore, I think that the defendant had the

burden of proving (1) either that the Commission

would have coerced or at least would have requested

the defendant to repudiate its contract; or (2) that

the plaintiff would have engaged the space in the

‘Tropic Seas,’ even if it had known that the defend-

ant had already consented to take out warrants for

its ships. Strictly, we might therefore affirm the judg-

ment because of this failure in the proof; but that I

think would be scarcely just for the trial was not con-

ducted on any such theory. I would therefore reverse

the judgment; but, instead of dismissing the complaint

I would remand the cause for a new trial.’’

The Testimony of Defendant’s Representatives

Not only is the record barren of any evidence of the

hypothesized ‘‘governmental coercion’’; but supposition

thereof, on the basis of alleged historical perception or in-

tuition, is precluded in this case by the affirmative testi-

—

“Actually it was only approximately one-eighth, for the vessel

carried 7,806 tons (R. 219).

13

mony of defendant’s representatives negativing and dis-

avowing subservience by defendant to the government of

the United States. That testimony is reproduced in an

appendix hereto (pp. 48-54, infra).

Basis of Jurisdiction

This petition is presented pursuant to, and invokes this

Court’s jurisdiction under 28 U. S. C., Section 1254, sub-

division 1 (Public Law 773—80th Congress).

The Questions Herein

In the light of the ground taken in the fourteen page

opinion of Judges Clark and Swan, the questions presented

herein are:

1. Was the defendant mistaken in formulating and

urging its defense in terms of ‘‘frustration’’ by the law,

and is ‘governmental coercion’’ (assuming its existence)

—as distinguished from legal prohibition—sufficient to

excuse from performance?

2. Is the true test of legal liability for non-performance

of a contract (which, in terms, is unqualified), whether ‘‘in

fairness and justice’’ as viewed by the Court the promisor

should be held to his promise?

3. Is there any evidence in the record of ‘‘ governmental

coercion’? Does the record show that, as postulated by

the prevailing opinion (R. 352-3), ‘‘the American gov-

ernment had and exercised an overriding power’’ over

its ally, the equally sovereign Royal Norwegian Govern-

ment, and that had the latter refused to ‘‘accept the Ship

Warrants system’’ its vessels would have been subject to

“the President’s power to requisition foreign merchant

vessels in American waters’’ under the Act of June 6,

14

1941, c. 174, 55 Stat. 242, 50 U. S. C. A. App. See. 1271

even though under that Act power to requisition foreign

merchant vessels was limited to those ‘‘lying idle in the

waters within the jurisdiction of the United States’’?

4. May it be assumed, in the absence of evidence, that

in November-December, 1941 and thereafter, operation of

vessels without ‘‘warrants’’ issued by the United States

Maritime Commission under the Ship Warrants Act of

July 14, 1941 was so burdensome and impracticable as to

be a practical impossibility, in the face of the evidence in

the record that a number of foreign governments continued

to operate their vessels to and from the United States

without such ‘‘warrants’’ (R. 202-3) and in the face of the

adjudication in Baker Castor Oil Co. v. Insurance Com.

pany of North America, 60 Fed. Sup. 32 (U. S. D. C,

S. D. N. Y., Goddard, J.), affirmed 157 Fed. 2d 3 (C. C. A.

2d Cir.), ce. d. 329 U. S. 800?

5. Were the relied on telegrams from an assistant diree-

tor of the United States Maritime Commission (who acted

on his own initiative without consultation with or knowl

edge of any of his superiors or the legal department of

the United States Maritime Commission) coercive, and did

they constitute ‘‘governmental coercion’’, when the only

evidence in the case, in that regard, is the testimony of

defendant’s representatives that the dealings between the

United States Maritime Commission and the defendant

were on the basis of the equality of the sovereignty of the

two governments and of mutual consultation and agree-

ment and not that of command and obedience?

6. If, as held by the Court of Appeals, the basis or

source of exoneration is defendant’s undertaking on Octo-

ber 4, 1941 under the Ship Warrants Act, can it fairly be

said that the impediment to performance in this case arose

from the ‘‘unexpected’’ ‘‘disaster’’ at Pearl Harbor rather

than the October 4, 1941 agreement with the United States

15

Maritime Commission without which the United States

Maritime Commission could not have exercised any author-

ity in the premises?

7. Where, in pleadings and at the trial, a case is pre-

sented to the District Court on a defense deliberately

formulated and urged by the defendant, and the District

Court renders judgment thereon, and, on appeal, the de-

fendant again presents the case on the same theory and

ground, is it proper for a United States Court of Appeals

not only to reverse the judgment but also dismiss the com-

plaint on a ground and theory formulated by the Court

itself?

8. If the test is what is ‘‘fair and just’’, is it fair and

just that the defendant should retain the $34,000 additional

freight which it received by carrying wool instead of plain-

tiff’s copra? If ‘‘fairness and justice’’ is the guiding

goal, should not the courts in such cases prevent a party

from being enriched by his non-performance, at the expense

and damage of the stranded promisee, by molding a doc-

trine of constructive trust or agency whereby the profit

would belong to the injured promisee?

Reasons for Granting the Writ

1. It is respectfully submitted that the decision sought

to be reviewed constitutes, in the very important field of

contract law, a radical departure from, and a reversal of,

the law which heretofore has prevailed under the decisions

of this Court and the courts throughout the land.

The doctrine ingrained in the common law, it is sub-

mitted, is that fairness and justice require that where there

is a valid contract, the promisor should be held to his

promise (as connoted by the terms used and their fair

implication), regardless of how unexpectedly burden-

some or difficult performance becomes; that the only per-

missible course for one unwilling to assume such a burden

16

is properly to qualify his promise; that it is not fair an

just for one to promise unqualifiedly and then seek to

excuse himself on the ground of unexpected or uwnap.

ticipated obstacles (e. g. Columbus Railway & Power

Co. v. Columbus, 249 U. S. 399 (1919); Carnegie Steel

Co. v. U. S., 240 U. S. 156 (1916); Day v. U. S., 2%

U. S. 159 (1917); Northern Pacific Railway Co. y,

American Trading Co., 195 U. S. 439 (1904) ; Sun Printing

& Publishing Assn. v. Moore, 183 U. S. 642, 654-5 (1901);

Madeirense Do Brasil S/A v. Stulman-Emrick Lumber Co,

147 F. 2d 399 (C. C. A. 2nd Cir. 1945), ¢. d. 325 U. S. 861;

Megan v. Updike Grain Corp., 94 F. 2d 553 (8th C. 1938);

Companhia De Navegacao Lloyd Brasileiro v. C. J. Blake

Co., 34 F. 2d 616, 619 (2nd C. 1929); The Poznam, 276 F.

418 (S. D. N. Y., 1921); Swayne & Hoyt v. Everett, 25%

F. 71 (9th C., 1919); The Simmons Transportation Co.

v. Alpha Portland Cement Co., 286 F. 955 (S. D. N. Y,

1922) ; Gottesman v. Canada, Atlanta & Pacific Steamship

Co., 259 F. 298 (E. D. N. Y., 1919); Canadian Industrial

Alcohol Co. v. Dunbar Molasses Co., 259 N. Y. 193 (1932);

Raner v. Goldberg, 244 N. Y. 489 (1927); Cameron-Hawn

Realty Co. v. City of Albany, 207 N. Y. 377 (1913); Ep

pens, Smith & Wiemann Co. v. Littlejohn, 164 N. Y. 187

(1900); State Mutual Life Assurance Co. v. Gruber, 269

A. D. 170, 54 N. Y. S. 2d 720 (1945) ; Thaddeus Davids Co.

v. Hoffman-La Roche Chemical Works, 178 A. D. 855, 166

N. Y. S. 179 (1919); Krulewitch v. National Importing ¢

Trading Co., Inc., 195 A. D. 544, 186 N. Y. S. 838 (1921);

Arkell & Douglas v. N. H. Borenstein € Sons, 188 A. D.

158, 176 N. Y. S. 581 (1919); Richards € Co. v. Wreschner,

174 A. D. 484, 158 N. Y. S. 1129 (1916) ; 119 5th Avenue v.

Taiyo Trading Co., Inc., 190 Misc. 123, 23 N. Y. S. 2d 774

(1947) ; Watts, Watts € Co. v. Mitsui, 1918 A. C. 119).

That when there is no prohibition by law ‘‘ governmental

soercion’’ affords no excuse for the non-performance of an

anqualified contract was held directly by this court in

Northern Pacific Railway Co. v. American Trading Co.,

supra, 195 U. S. 439 (1904), and, in a case analogous to the

17

one at bar, by the United States Circuit Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit in Swayne & Hoyt v. Everett, supra,

255 Fed. 71 (1919).

Moreover, the very court which decided this case—the

Second Circuit Court of Appeals—in Baker Castor Oil Co.

y. Insurance Company of North America, supra, held that

the “Ship Warrants system’’ under the Ship Warrants

Act of July 14, 1941 was not coercive in the sense of afford-

ing an excuse, ‘‘as a restraint of princes’’, for deviation

from a later contract.

The prevailing opinion, it will be observed, relies heav-

ily and almost exclusively on the writings of several schol-

arly authors who have urged that the decisions in this field

of law are outmoded and should be abandoned. Such

a departure from established law, it is urged, should be

considered and reviewed by this court before it is allowed

to become the law of the land.

It seems to petitioner particularly appropriate that

there be a review by this court in the light of the fact that

the judges below have divided evenly—2 to 2—District

Judge Goddard and Chief Circuit Judge L. Hand holding

one way and Circuit Judges Clark and Swan holding the

other way.

2. The Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit being

located in the business nub of the country, its decision

herein is bound very substantially to affect the course of

decision in that most important business section of the

world. The decision (if not reversed), of course, will be

binding as a precedent on the federal courts in that circuit.

In addition, because of the prestige and high repute of that

court, the decision is likely to influence the course of de-

cision in many other jurisdictions, State and Federal.

If the decision is erroneous, the injustice and error which

it will thus work should, it is submitted, be avoided.

Bc

18

Moreover, since the decision is a conscious and almost

express alteration of the law as previously expounded and

applied, petitioner respectfully urges that the decision

should be reviewed and considered by this Court before it

has a revolutionary effect on this branch of contract lay,

3. The decision sought to be reviewed casts a serious

reflection upon the Government of the United States, in

the assumption that because of the distress in which the

Royal Norwegian Government found itself as a result of

its having been overrun by the Hitler forces, ‘‘the Amer.

ican Government had and exercised an overriding power”

over the Norwegian Government and subjected the latter

to ‘‘coercion’’ under threats of taking measures in respect

to its vessels and property somewhat akin to the force

which Hitler had exercised.

As already pointed out, the defendant has made no such

representation; its witnesses testified directly to the con.

trary; no one has made a charge of that character.

4. The decision is of substantial importance to the

plaintiff since it deprives it of an over $91,000 judgment.

If, as is verily believed, that decision is contrary to the

law and is contrary to the course of decision which here-

tofore has been followed by this court and the courts

throughout the land, there is here a deprival which, it is

submitted, it would be unjust not to correct.

The Appended Brief

A more detailed consideration of the decision sought to

be reviewed and its abandonment of ingrained precedent

appears in the appended brief.

19

Prayer

Wuenerore petitioner respectfully prays that this Peti-

tion for a writ of certiorari to review the complained of

judgment be granted.

Dated, New York, February 1, 1950.

L. N. Jackson & Co., Inc.

By Copa Mintz,

Attorney for Petitioner.

Supreme Court of the United States

OcrosErR TeERM—1949

No.

’™

v

L. N. Jackson & Co., Ine.,

Petitioner,

against |

THe Roya Norweeian GoveRNMENT,

Respondent.

>

7

PETITIONER’S BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF THE

FOREGOING PETITION FOR A

WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Preliminary Statement

Since the foregoing petition contains an adequate state-

ment of the opinions below (pp. 2, 6-12, supra), the basis

of jurisdiction (p. 13, supra), the facts, to the extent

material (pp. 3-6), and the questions involved (pp. 1314,

supra), those matters are not repeated here.

This brief is intended merely to supplement the petition

in only one respect—to demonstrate that the 2 to 2 prevail-

ing decision herein is a radical departure from, and cot

stitutes a reversal of, the law in such a vital branch of

jurisprudence as the law of contracts.

20

21

Summary of Argument

L The authorities cited in the prevailing opinion do not

countenance the enunciation—and reject the doctrine—

that, even though a contract is valid and binding, the law

does not hold the promisor to performance if, in the cir-

cumstances of the case, it appears to a court that ‘‘in fair-

ness and justice’’ the promisor should not be held to his

promise (pp. 22-44, infra).

IL The authorities cited in the prevailing opinion do

not countenance ‘‘governmental coercion’’—as distin-

guished from frustration by law—as releasing a prom-

isor from liability for non-performance (p. 44, infra).

IIL Other authoritative decisions—decisions not men-

tioned in the prevailing opinion—rule out ‘‘governmental

coercion’? as an excuse (pp. 44-46, infra).

IV. No ‘‘new circumstances’’ require or justify the

disregard or reversal of the well-settled principles of law

in the field of contract jurisprudence which are involved

here (p. 46, infra).

V. The factual hypothesis of the prevailing opinion—

that the defendant was ‘‘coerced’’ by the Government of

the United States which exercised and exerted an ‘‘over-

riding power’’—are without the slightest basis in the

record and directly contrary to the testimony of the de-

fendant’s witnesses (p. 47, and appendix, pp. 48-54, infra).

22

The authorities cited in the prevailing opinion do

not countenance the enunciation—and reject the

doctrine—that, even though a contract is valid and

binding, the law does not hold the promisor to per

formance if, in the circumstances of the case, it ap.

pears to a court that “in fairness and justice” the

promisor should not be held to his promise.

This brief does not undertake an examination of the

authors referred to in the prevailing opinion, nor a com-

parison of their writings with views on the subject ex-

pressed by other eminent writers, for—whatever may be

the impact of those dissertations on the minds of the judges

—there necessarily is a variance between the products of

such unilateral thinking and the legal principles which the

courts apply as the result of their long course of resolving

concrete conflicts, in the light of the fuller understanding of

all sides wrought by adversary presentation and scrutiny.

Therefore, we proceed to test what is said in the prevail-

ing opinion of Judge Clark with the cases therein referred

to—in the order in which they appear therein.

The Isle of Mull, 257 F. 798 (D. C. Md. Rose, D. J., 1919),

reversed 278 F. 131 (4th C. 1921), ¢.d. 257 U. S. 662, was a

case of true frustration of a charter party by the lawful

requisition by the British Admiralty of the chartered

British vessel owned by a British corporation.

The District Court, recognizing the frustration, never-

theless held that, as a matter of justice and equity, the char-

terer should receive the amounts which the owner was paid

by the British Admiralty in excess of the stipulated charter

hire during the period of the charter party, for, otherwise

the frustration and consequent non-performance would

result in the enrichment of the non-performer at the ex-

pense of the promisee.

__.<gals

The Circuit Court of Appeals was much impressed with

the justice of that determination and catalogued ‘‘the

strong reasons in favor’’ of it. Nevertheless it felt itself

constrained to reverse the judgment for the amount of the

owner’s enrichment because, as a matter of law, the actual

requisition by a government in the exercise of its govern-

mental power over its nationals and over its ships ‘‘com-

pletely frustrated the contract and put an end to all rights

of both parties.’’ The Circuit Court discountenanced the

embarking by the courts on an effort to adjudicate con-

troversies over business contracts in accordance with a

judge’s appraisal of the equities, in these words (at p. 135):

-

“The hardship of applying [the rule of law] to some

cases in the meantime cannot be denied, but it will be

found in the practical administration of justice better

to allow even this hardship than for courts to enter

upon the confusing, if not impossible, task of adjusting

the equities. * * * The effort to measure [the] * * * fac-

tors entering into the adjustment of the equities would

involve the parties in intricate and costly litigation

and delay.’’

Certiorari was denied by this Court.

The Texas Co. v. Hogarth Shipping Co., 256 U. S. 619

(1921), likewise, was a case of true frustration by lawful

governmental requisition. There is nothing in the facts or

opinion in that case which lends support to the opinion of

Clark, J., in this case. The subject of the charter party

in that case was a British vessel owned by a British corpo-

ration. ‘‘While in British waters and being provisioned

for the intended voyage’’ the vessel ‘‘was requisitioned by

the British Government and pressed into war service’’ (at

p. 626). ‘*The owner made the usual preparations for com-

plying with the charter party, earnestly sought to prevent

the requisitioning of the vessel, urged the existence of the

charter party as a reason for leaving her free, and

24

respected the requisition when made, because no other

course was reasonably open”’ (at p. 627).

Upon those facts this Court said (at pp. 627-8):

‘* As the ship was British and in British waters and the

owner was a British corporation, the power of the

British Government to requisition the ship is beyond

question.”’

This Court held further that since the continued avail-

ability of the vessel was necessary to the performance of

the charter party, the contract necessarily ‘‘must be re

garded as subject to an implied condition that, if * * *

without the default of either party the particular thing

ceases to exist or be available for the purpose, the contract

shall be dissolved and the parties excused from performing

a

Continuing its exposition, this Court took the pain to

say that the principle did not apply where the terms or

nature of the contract did not import the implication ‘‘nor

where performance is not practically cut off but only

rendered more difficult or costly. * * * Here the ship * **

was rendered unavailable for the performance of the char-

ter party by the requisition’’ and thus ‘‘compliance of the

charter party was made impossible by an act of state. * **

The important consideration is that [the contract] became

impossible of performance through a supervening act of

state which operated directly on the ship and the parties

could not avoid’’ (at p. 631).

The Tornado, 108 U. S. 342 (1882), also was a case of

true and absolute frustration. There the disabling occur-

rence was the accidental burning of the vessel. That

involuntary destruction terminated the contract because

the continued availability of the vessel was a sine qua non

of the contract and thus an implied condition thereof.

Moore & Tierney, Inc. v. Roxford Knitting Co., 250 F. 278

(N. D. N. Y. 1918), aff’d 265 F. 177 (2nd C.), ¢. d. 283

U. S. 498, was a case of frustration by imperative law.

25

Nothing in the opinions therein give countenance to what

has been said in the case at bar. The National Defense Act

of June 3, 1916, c. 124, 39 Stat. 166, and the Naval Appro-

priations Act of March 4, 1917, ¢. 180, 39 Stat. 1168, were

construed, in accordance with their express provisions as

making it obligatory upon manufacturers to accept govern-

ment procurement orders end give them priority, under

penalties of fines and imprisonment and plant requisition.

Therefore, if compliance with orders placed by the govern-

ment under the Acts ‘‘made it impossible’’ for the con-

tractor to fill contracts with private individuals, the latter

contracts ended. ‘‘In such case or cases it is clear that,

under the provisions of the Acts of Congress referred to,

performance * * * was made impossible by the act and

requirements of the United States Government.’’ How-

ever, added the court, if a party (emphasis supplied)

“thinking it more profitable or patriotic, to work for

the government than in the performance of its existing

contract with B, voluntarily sought a contract with the

government * * * and voluntarily entered into such

a contract sought by it with the United States a teats

he is not excused, * * * In such case performance * * uf

is not prevented by act of God, or viz major. Non-

performance is the result of his voluntary act or acts,

not that of the government, and he acts under no com-

pulsion whatever’’ (at pp. 281-2).*

The Circuit Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

(Ward, Rogers and Hough, C. J.) in an affirming opinion

by Judge Rogers said:

“Tt is not questioned that, if a party by his contract

charges himself with an obligation possible to be per-

formed, he must make it good, unless performance is

rendered impossible by the act of God, the law or the

* See directly in point Chicago & Eastern Ill. Rwy. Co. v. Collins

Produce Co., 249 U. S. 186 (1918).

26

other party. If what is agreed to be done is possible

and lawful, it must be done. Sun Printing & Publish.

ing Assn. v. Moore, 183 U. S. 642; Carnegie Steel Co,

v. U. S. 240 U. S. 156, 165. The plaintiff admits that jt

entered into contracts with defendant which it did not

completely perform within the time agreed upon. The

performance was not prevented either by act of God or

the other party. Was-it prevented by the law? If

not, was performance excused under the clause in the

contracts declaring that the obligations assumed were

subject to ‘delays or nondelivery caused by * * * any

other reasons beyond our control?’ ’’ (at p. 178).

**If the orders [by the government for plaintiff's

manufacture of goods] were contracts voluntarily

made, we agree that the performance of contracts so

made was not entitled to precedence over other con-

tracts previously taken’’ (at p. 180).

E. Hulton & Co., Ltd. v. Chadwick & Taylor, 34 T. L. B.

230 (1918), also, was a case of true frustration by the law

of the land of which both the plaintiff and the defendant

were subjects and where the contract was to be performed.

Nothing in the opinion in that case gives support to the

judgment in this case.

The Kronprinzessin Cecile, 244 U. S. 12 (1917), like The

Texas Co. v. Hogarth Shipping Co., supra, turned upon an

implied condition. Performance of the contract with the

plaintiff in that case, as well as performance of the con-

tracts with the other shippers and with the passengers,

depended upon the safety of the ship. Therefore the con-

tracts imposed upon the carrier the obligation of reason-

able vigilance in safeguarding the ship. Consequently

what the master, reasonably and in good faith, deemed

necessary for the safety of the ship and of the cargo and

the passengers was in performance rather than in breach

of the contract. Hence, the master acted within the scope

of the contract as the nature of the engagement has been

understood for generations. The necessity of the safety

27

of the ship is so obviously vital to all contracts of carriage

by sea that, in the historical development of maritime law,

it has been the mutual and joint concern of the owners of

the cargo no less than of the owner of the vessel; therefore,

the master, in a sense, has been viewed also as the agent

of the owners of the cargo (see The “‘Julian Blake’’, 107

U. S. 418 (1882)).

There is no analogy whatsoever between that and this

case—factually or legally. No question of safety of the

vessel was involved here. The principles there enunciated

provide no support for exculpation of a voluntary and

wilful choice not to perform in furtherance of a purely

voluntary at-will commitment to a government which had

no sovereign jurisdiction in the premises.

W. J. Tatem, Ltd. v. Gamboa, 1939 1 K. B. 132, contains

nothing other than strict definitions of frustration. It was

there held that frustration occurs when the thing upon

which performance depends ceases to exist through circum-

stances beyond the control of the parties.

F. A. Tamplin Co. v. Anglo-Mexican Co., 1916, 2 A. C.

397, was another case of the requisition by Britain of a

British vessel. There was no disagreement among the

judges as to the effectiveness of the requisition to prevent

performance during the period of requisition and the

supervention thereof over the five year charter party

between the parties. The disagreement was over whether

the requisition effected a complete frustration of the char-

ter party or merely modified it or suspended it, and that

disagreement was not due to divergence of view as to the

underlying legal doctrine. Viscount Haldane of the minor-

ity expressed no dissent from Earl Loreburn of the ma-

jority who said that the only allowable principle upon

which the courts proceed is the existence of a releasing

‘implied condition in the contract * * * for no court has

an absolving power’’ (at p. 404). Since charter parties are

dependent upon the ‘‘continued availability’’ of the vessel,

28

there necessarily is an implicit condition (unless affirms.

tively negatived) that when the vessel ceases to be avail.

able ‘‘by reason of circumstances beyond the control of the

parties’’ the charter party ‘‘comes to an end’’.

That was repeated by Lord Haldane several years later,

in Bank Line Ltd. v. Arthur Capell & Co., 1919 A. C. 435,

where a vessel which was the subject of a charter party

was requisitioned by the government of which the owner

of the vessel was a national and whose flag the vessel flew.

He there said (at p. 445):

‘*What is clear is that when people enter into a

contract which is dependent for the possibility of its

performance on the continued availability of the sub.

ject matter, and that availability comes to an unfore-.

seen end by reason of circumstances over which its

owner had no control, the owner is not bound unless

it is quite plain that he has contracted to be so.”’

In the same case Lord Sumner remarked that it was

‘*well-settled that the principle of frustration of an adven-

ture assumes the frustration arises without blame or fault

on either side. Reliance cannot be placed on self-induced

frustration’’ (at p. 452).

Directly contrary to the rationale of the prevailing opin-

ion in this case, Lord Sumner said that cases of this charac-

ter should not be disposed of according to a jury’s view

‘‘of what is fair between man and man’’ (see p. 459), but

on rules capable of objective application without regard to

what may be deemed the ‘‘equities’’ of a particular case.

Lord Sumner did not claim for judges a power of sub-

jective disposition according to individual views which he

held improper for collective consensus and judgment by

juries (cf. the later decision by the C. C. A. 4th Cir. in

The Isle of Mull, swpra at pp. 22-3).

Joseph Constantine Steamship Line Ltd. v. Imperial

Smelting Corp., Ltd., 1941 2 All Eng. R. 165, concerned

al

29

itself solely with a question of burden of proof which is

not presented in the case at bar. There the performance

of the contract was frustrated by an explosion of the vessel

which everybody agreed excused performance unless such

explosion was caused by the defendant or its employees.

The presentation of all of the available proof left the

causation of the explosion a mystery. In those circum-

stances, it was decided that the presumption of innocence

and absence of fault led to the exculpation of the defend-

ant. The opinions rendered in that case seem to petitioner

significant here for the following contents.

Viscount Simon, L. C., said (emphasis supplied) :

“<* * * There is no doubt of course that * * * ‘self-

induced’ frustration provides no defense. Thus in

Mertens v. Home Freeholds Co., Lord Sterndale, M. R.,

observed, at p. 536: ‘It has never been held that a man

is entitled to take advantage of circumstances as a

frustration of the contracts if he has brought those

circumstances about himself’ * * * Similarly * * * Lord

Wright * * * laid it down. * * * ‘The essence of ‘‘frus-

tration’’ is that it should not be due to the act or elec-

tion of the party’ ’’ (p. 169).

“The most satisfactory basis, I think, upon which

the doctrine (of frustration) can be put is that it de-

pends on an implied term in the contract of the parties.

** * Tt has the advantage of bringing out the distinc-

tion that there can be no discharge by supervening

impossibility if the express terms of the contract bind

the parties to performance notwithstanding that the

' supervening event may occur. Discharge by super-

vening impossibility is not a common law rule of gen-

eral application like discharge by supervening ile-

gality. Whether the contract is terminated or not

depends on its terms and surrounding circumstances

in each case. * * * Every case in this branch of the

law can be stated as turning on the question whether,

30

from the express terms of the particular contract,

a further term should be implied which, when its con.

ditions are fulfilled, puts an end to the contract”

(p. 171).

Viscount Maugham observed that ‘‘the contract auto

matically comes to an end * * * provided only that the

event is ‘caused by something for which neither party was

responsible’ ’’ (p. 177).

Lord Russell of Killowen said:

“** * * as a general rule, impossibility of perform.

ance does not release from liability the person who

promised the performance. An exception, however,

exists in the case of contracts the performance of

which is necessarily dependent in the continued exist-

ence, or the continued existence in sound condition, of

a person or thing’’ (p. 180).

Directly contrary to the doctrine enunciated in the pre

vailing opinion in this case are the following remarks by

Lord Wright:

‘** * * the court is not claiming to exercise a dis-

pensing power, or to modify or alter contracts. The

parties did not express the qualification because they

did not think of the possibility of the occurrence * * *”

(p. 186).

. a * . * *

‘*The explanation which has been generally accepted

in English law is that impossibility or frustration de

pends on the court implying a term or exception and

that as part of the contract’’ (p. 187).

The principle rests, he continued, ‘‘on the true meaning

of the contract, as it appears to the court. The essential

feature of the rule is that the court construes the contract,

7. ey

31

In Madeirense Do Brasil S/A v. Stulman-Emrick Lum-

ber Co., 147 F. 2d 399 (C. C. A. 2nd Cir. 1945, Swan, Clark

and Frank, C. J.), ¢.d. 325 U. S. 861, a seller in Brazil con-

tracted with a buyer in New York on December 5, 1940,

to ship certain lumber ‘‘up to December 31, 1940”. The

contract was entered into in contemplation of shipment on

a vessel for which arrangements had been made and at an

agreed upon freight rate of $14. The vessel thereafter

refused to take the lumber. Substitute carriage was ex-

tremely difficult to procure and, if procurable, only at a

freight rate of over $33. In those circumstances, the seller

declared the contract ‘‘canceled on account of force majeur

eee?)

Under the reasoning of the prevailing opinion in this

ease, the court should have said that since the contract had

been entered into in the expectation by both parties that

the arranged for vessel would carry the lumber and do so

at the agreed upon rate of $14, the radical change of condi-

tions through no fault of the seller, in fairness and justice,

exonerated the seller from his contract.

Directly to the contrary, however, did Judge Clark write

in that case (emphasis supplied) :

‘Even had there been no ships available, plaintiff

was not under the circumstances of this case excused

from performance. The plaintiff’s [seller’s] letters

indicate clearly that at the time of the making of the

contract * * * it was aware of the fact that boats were

at a premium. * * * There was no startling change in

conditions. * * * Hence the lack of ships in January

1941 was a foreseeable risk which plaintiff willingly

took upon itself; and it cannot under such circum-

stances plead the defense of ‘force majeur’. Com-

panhia De Navegacao Lloyd Brasileiro v. C. G. Blake

Co., supra, 34 F. 2d at p. 619.”

32

In the case last cited, the court refused to exonerate g

seller because of extreme difficulty in procuring shipping

accommodations where it appeared that the parties con.

tracted with knowledge of those conditions. Judge Learned

Hand, writing for himself and Judges Swan and Augustus

Hand, said: ‘‘* * * this was a risk which both parties well

understood, and in the face of which the seller made his

engagement’’. Therefore, the seller was bound to perform

his engagement irrespective of the conditions beyond his

control.

On a parity of reasoning, Judge Clark in this case should

have written that the defendant having contracted with the

plaintiff at a time when (according to the construction of

its ‘‘undertaking’’ to the Maritime Commission which de-

fendant successfully urged upon the courts below), it had

engaged itself to follow directions by the United States

Maritime Commission as to what to carry and what not

to carry—even to the point of giving the Commission

authority to direct the non-fulfillment of an unqualified

contract entered into with the Commission’s express ap-

proval—it, the defendant, ‘‘willingly took upon itself’’ the

risk and consequence of such an obstacle to performanee,

when, and in the face of its commitments, it unqualifiedly

contracted with the plaintiff to carry plaintiff’s 1,000 tons

of copra.

The important circumstance here cannot be an assump-

tion that defendant expected the United States Maritime

Commission to abstain from exercising the contractual

authority which it is said the defendant had granted to the

Commission, or that the defendant did not foresee the

arisal of an occasion for the exercise of that contractual

authority. The controlling consideration is that (according

to the defendant and the courts below) such contractual

authority had been granted. In consequence, the possi-

bility or likelihood of the exercise thereof plainly was

‘‘foreseeable’’ by the defendant. Surely, one who deliber-

33

ately and knowingly grants contractual authority cannot

pe heard to plead that he did not foresee the likelihood or

possibility of its exercise. Why is authority asked and

given if not in anticipation of its exercise—at least so that

it might be exercised?

It will be observed that in the cited case, the fact that

parties contracted unqualifiedly in the face of unusual cir-

cumstances known to both and risks foreseeable by both,

was held by Judge Clark (following the established rule

of construction) to preclude the implication that interfer-

ence with performance by the foreseeable contingencies

would excuse performance. In the case at bar, however,

Judge Clark adopted diametrically contrary reasoning and

construction and, to bring plaintiff into the orbit of a thus -

inverted rule, he imputed to the plaintiff (without an iota

of evidence) knowledge of, and complete familiarity with,

defendant’s contract with the United States Maritime

Commission.

The illogic of tne holding in this case, it seems to peti-

tioner, is indicated by (1) not only its head-on conflict with

the rule of construction heretofore unanimously applied,

(2) not. only by the necessity of charging the plaintiff, as a

matter of law, with as complete and intimate a knowledge

of the defendant’s business and commitments as the defend-

ant itself possessed, but (3) also by the fact that since

defendant certainly must be presumed to have fully

known its own business and its own outstanding commit-

ments, it follows that had defendant intended its engage-

ment with the plaintiff to be purely conditional and subject

to cancellation in the event of a request therefor by the

United States Maritime Commission, it would have said so

very plainly by such a simple statement as ‘‘subject to

cancellation at the request of the United States Maritime

Commission.’”’

It seems to petitioner strange reasoning indeed that fair-

ness and justice should be deemed to require that the court

34

insert a provision which the defendant knowingly failed to

include.

In the next case cited, Allanwilde Transport Co, y,

Vacuum Ou Co., 248 U. S. 377 (1918), there was an abgo.

lute frustration by law since the sailing in that case wa

absolutely prohibited by the lawful denial of clearanc

from New York.

The Claveresk, 264 F. 276 (C. C. A. 2nd Cir., 19%,

Rogers, Hough and Manton, C. J.), affirming 254 F. 1%

(L. Hand, J.), like most of the other cases mentioned in

the opinion, was an instance of a charter party frustrated

by the requisitioning by the British Admiralty of a British

vessel. In that case the charter party was entered into in

1913 by a British corporation as owner and a Pennsylvania

corporation as charterer. It contained the usual ‘break

down’’ and ‘‘restraint of princes’’ clauses. On January

25, 1917, the owner, at its home office in Newcastle, Eng.

land, received notice of requisition of the vessel. Pursuant

to that notice the vessel thereafter went into government

service at a rate of hire greater than specified in the char-

ter party. In an action for damages by the charterer, the

owner ‘‘substantially pleaded the requisition (1) as a

restraint of princes; (2) as a frustration of the commer-

cial adventure between the parties’’. The court found that

the owner ‘‘did not voluntarily—.e. did not seek to—with-

draw the Claveresk from libellant’s service, nor ask nor

induce the government to requisition.”’

In holding, in those circumstances, that the requisition

by the British government of a British vessel from a Brit-

ish owner located in England was a yielding ‘‘to that

restraint of princes’’ which was provided for in the charter

party, the court, in an opinion by Hough, C. J., said:

‘** * * The fundamental essential of a restraint of

rulers is that the restraining act should be govern-

mental. Northern, ete. Co. v. American ete. Co., 1%

Roa

35

* * * No citizen or subject is by lawful private con-

tract either required to or justified * * * in resisting or

evading the compulsion of its government’’.

In Edward Maurer v. Tubeless Tire Co., 285 F. 113 (C.

C. A. 6th Cir., 1922), the contract, by its terms, was ex-

pressly subject to all rules and regulations imposed by the

United States Government.

New York Trust Co. v. Securities Exchange Commission,

131 F. 2d 274 (C. C. A. 2nd Cir., 1942), ed. 318 U. S. 786,

held that where a valid and binding order of the Securities

Exchange Commission dissolved a corporation, such dis-

solution necessarily called for the liquidation of the un-

matured obligations and, therefore, contract provisions for

the payment of premiums in the event of voluntary pre-

payment had no application. That was a plain case of

termination of a contract by law or by lawful act of gov-

ernment having the force and mandate of law.

Similarly, Patch v. Solar Corp., 149 F. 2d 558 (C. C. A.

Tth Cir., 1945), c.d. 326 U. S. 741, was a case of suspension

of a contract by inexorable legal prohibition. In that case

the manufacture of the article which was the subject of

the royalty contract was prohibited by law, and the court

held that the royalty provisions were suspended coter-

minously with, and during the period of, the prohibition

of manufacture. Again, the prohibition was imposed by

a government upon its citizens within its territory, and

the parties had no lawful alternative to obedience of their

sovereign.

While the prevailing opinion in this case disposes of the

same court’s prior decision in Baker Castor Oil Co. v.

Insurance Company of North America, 60 Fed. Sup. 32

(S. D. N. Y., Goddard, J.), affirmed 157 F. 2d 3 (1946), e.d.

329 U. S. 800, as ‘‘not in point’’, it is respectfully sub-

mitted that the Baker Castor Oil Co. case is squarely in

point, because therein the courts held that the compliance

by the government of Brazil, in its operation of a ship-

36

warrant-holding Brazilian vessel, with a directive of th

War Shipping Administration (the successor to the Tegy.

latory functions of the United States Maritime Comnis

sion), legally, was voluntary as an act of choice by the

Brazilian government as owner, and was not an act of

state. What the Brazilian Government did, it was held,

was not in mandated obedience to the United States Gor.

ernment as sovereign and certainly not as sOvereign over

Brazil.

The facts virtually completely parallel those of the case

at bar. Yet, therein the same court with the concurrence

of Clark, J., found no occasion for ascribing to the United

States Government the exercise of ‘‘coercive power” nor

did it find therein a practical necessity to Brazil to do as

bidden by the Shipping Administration. There Judges

Augustus N. Hand, Chase and Clark, speaking through

Judge Chase, in affirming the District Court (Goddard, J,),

said:

“‘The District Court correctly held that there were

no acts by either the Government of Brazil or that of

the United States constituting a sovereign restraint

within the terms of this war risk policy * * *, What

Lloyd Brasileiro did as a private owner and with re-

gard only to its own ships was not the exercise of any

sovereign power. Nor were the acts of the War Ship-

ping Administration and its branches an exercise of

the sovereign power of the United States. Rather,

those acts were the exercise of a right voluntarily con-

ferred upon the War Shipping Administration by the

owners in order to secure the warrants and hull in-

surance. The United States did not purport to deny

all rights to any owner not obeying its rules * * *”

(emphasis supplied).

In the District Court, Goddard, J., said in that case that

“there is no evidence indicating’ that had the vessels

gone to the destination contracted for “*they would have

37

-jneurred any penalty other than forfeiting their right to

the priorities which they gained from the ship warrants

and voiding their insurance’. The election to avoid such

detriments to it is ‘‘voluntary conduet of the owner, how-

ever strong are the motives * * * for so acting”’.

Mawhinney v. Milbrook Woolen Mills, 231 N. Y. 290

(1921), does no more than parallel Moore & Tierney, Inc. v.

Rozford Knitting Co., supra at pages 24-26. The New

York Court of Appeals construed the 1916 National De-

fense Act as making the acceptance of and compliance

with government procurement and purchase orders ‘‘ob-

ligatory’’ and the giving of preference and priority thereto

as mandatory. Therefore, the court held that if, and to

the extent that, such mandated orders actually prevented

compliance with private contracts, there was presented a

case of true frustration by law. The limitations of the

principle are pointed out in the later decision in that case

(234 N. Y. 244) rendered after retrial. The New York

Court of Appeals there said that ‘‘it does not follow that

defendant could ignore plaintiff’s rights entirely. It was

bound to do the best it could for him under the circum-

stances * * *. With all the indulgence conceded to the

manufacturer by this Court in its former decision, no

intimation was given that it might unnecessarily ignore

the claims of its private customers prior to November 24,

1917’? when defendant’s plant was completely requisi-

tioned by the government.

In Nitro Powder Co. v. Agency of Canadian Car &

Foundry Co., 233 N. Y. 294 (1922), ‘‘the contract’’, said

the court, ‘‘is in terms conditional on governmental inac-

tion and subject to the condition that if the government

should requisition the goods and render it impossible that

the seller should perform its contract, performance should

be excused’. There was such a governmental requisition-

ing under express statutory provision. ‘‘Defendant had

no control over the situation’’, said the court; ‘‘defendant

merely acquiesced in action which it had no power to stop

38

***. It cannot be said that the taking by the governmey}

was induced or procured by the defendant. Defendant was

not an unwilling party, but the taking was not dependent

upon its consent. No doubt it was complaisant if no

eager. That its attitude had any effect upon the result

is purely speculative * * *. The case is destitute of the

suggestion that after the contract in suit was made defend.

ant went to the government and brought the material to its

attention, or induced it to action where inaction was im.

minent’’. Plainly, that is no authority for exoneration

when non-performance is a purely voluntary preference

resulting from the exercise of freedom of choice.

The decision by the trial court in L. N. Jackson & Co. y,

Seas Shipping Co., Inc., 185 Mise. 94, in so far as it deals

with the question of frustration, held only that the Seas

Shipping Co., Inc., a New York Corporation (which in that

case mistakenly was sued as the contracting party), was

bound to obedience of an order issued by the United States

Maritime Commission. But the contract herein in fact, as

that court held, was not by or with the Seas Shipping Co,

Inc.; the contract was by and with the Royal Norwegian

Government who itself was a sovereign, on a par with and

not in any way subject or subordinate to, the sovereign

power of the United States. Not a word in the opinion, or

in the findings or conclusions, of the New York Supreme

Court relates to the exculpability of the Royal Norwegian

Government. It is apparent from the record that the New

York Court of Appeals affirmed the judgment in favor of

the Seas Shipping Co., Inc. solely on the ground that hav-

ing contracted in behalf of the Royal Norwegian Gover-

ment as a disclosed principal, the Seas Shipping Co., Ine.

had no contractual obligation and, therefore, could not be

liable for any breach of contract. This appears from the

fact that the court refused to certify that it had passed

on any federal question (R. 50, 61-2, 81-4, 187, 231-2; Plf’s

Exs. 4, 5, admitted at R. 231-2 and printed at R. 2444

246-250; see also 296 N. Y. 529).

39

In the last case mentioned in the prevailing opinion,

Nash v. Southern Pacific Co., 260 F. 280 (D. C. N. D., Cal.

1919), petitioner can find nothing in point.

Summary of the Cases Cited in the Prevailing Opinion

The foregoing digest and discussion of each of the cases

referred to in the opinion of Clark, J., make clear, it seems

to petitioner, that the decision herein is contrary to every

fore, if it were practicable, and legally and socially de-

ease cited on the subject.

1. None of the referred to decisions suggests that where

legal prohibition of performance of a contract is absent,

the test of the excusability of non-performance is whether,

in the light of the circumstances known to the parties at

the time of contracting and as altered by subsequent

events, the promisor, ‘‘in fairness and justice’’, should be

held to his promise.

Indeed, such a subjective nebulous concept as a prac-

ticable basis for the determination of rights and liabilities

under business contracts, was considered in The Isle of

Mull, supra pages 22-23, 278 F. 131, ¢.d. 257 U. S. 662, only

to be emphatically rejected.

That idea was rejected also by Viscount Haldane in

F, A. Tamplin Co. v. Anglo-Mexican Co., supra at page

27, when he said ‘‘no court has an absolving power’’

and by Lord Wright in the more recent case of Joseph

Constantin Steamship Line, Ltd. v. Imperial Smelting

Corp., supra at pages 28-30, when he said that courts do

not ‘‘exercise a dispensing power’’.

Surely, a claim of novelty in circumstances cannot justify

a reversal in that regard, for whatever may be said about

the impact of new conditions upon the law, certainly the

striving for, and the concept of, fairness and justice are

ancient and perennial; old, too, is the problem of non-

performance of contracts when the unusual occurs. There-

40

sirable, to make the determination of the liability in suc)

cases dependent upon the court’s view of what was fair

and just in the particular case, that doctrine would haye

been enunciated long, long ago.

The unacceptability of such an absence of objective

standard or workable formula seems patent. ‘‘ Fairness

and justice’’, however idyllic, obviously furnish no rule,

no guide. Judges, no differently from other men, on the

same facts and circumstances, come to opposing conclusions

as to what is fair and just. Much depends upon which, of

what may appear equally logical major premises, is ac.

cepted or selected as the vantage point. That may he

conditioned by, and varies with, the judges’ personality

and experience in life. Some are exacting; others, lenient

or indulgent. If the personal nature and outlook of the

judge were to be determinative, how would businessmen

know when they have firm contracts on which they can rely

for either performance or full indemnification in the event

of non-performance?

Heretofore, the settled rule has been that every party

is held to his valid contract and is required to perform

(except when otherwise stipulated or implied) unless

performance is probibited by law or rendered impossible

by an act of God. Those rules furnish practicable and ob-

jective tests capable of uniform application. It is sub-

mitted that there have been no ‘‘new circumstances’”’ which

warrant or call for a judicial alteration of that long-

enforced basic principle of contract law.

2. None of the referred to cases countenances ‘‘govert-

mental coercion’’, as distinguished from true vis major,

as sufficient to excuse performance of a contract which

a party lawfully and in fact could perform.

Indeed, as late as 1946, the United States Circuit Court

of Appeals for the Second Circuit unanimously (with the

participation of Clark, J.), and the apparent concurrence

of this Court, refused to hold compliance with a directive

41

of the War Shipping Administration under the Ship War-

rants Act as a ‘‘restraint of princes’’ (Baker Castor Oil

Co. v. Insurance Co., supra at pp. 35-37).

The problem of interference with the performance of

private contracts by governmental action is not one which

arose only recently. The techniques used during the re-

cent war were fully developed during the First World

War. The fact that there was a broader use of them does

not change the underlying principles.

It is made abundantly clear in all of the cases that

only where there is an ‘‘act of state’’ which is binding

and mandatory on the promisor and which allows the

promisor no alternative to non-performance of his pri-

vate contract, is there a legal absolution from the private

eontract. In other words, there must be true frustration

by law—by the law itself or a lawful act of government

in its sovereign capacity which has the force of law. Vol-

untary election, in the legal sense—whether out of patri-

otism or the baser motive of more profit—to perform a

contract with the sovereign, expressly was said to furnish

no excuse in Moore & Tierney, Inc. v. Roxford Knitting

Co., supra at pages 24-26, 265 F. 177, ¢.d. 253 U. S. 498.

Such a voluntary preference to serve one’s government,

at another’s expense, does not present a case of preven-

tion ‘by act of God or vis major”’ and ‘‘is the result of

** * voluntary * * * acts, not that of the government”’

(id).

If the exigencies of total war had been thought to

require setting aside and nullification of all contracts, or

the elimination of private claims under contracts volun-

tarily ignored by parties in their fervor to render what

appeared to them a service more helpful to the war effort,

Congress, as the law-making branch of the government,

would have so legislated. Is it gainsayable that such

absolution is a matter of law making, not judicial con-

struction of contracts?

42

3. Except where there is true frustration by law ¢qp.

tingencies beyond a party’s control excuse performance,

in the absence of a provision therefor, only when a pn.

vision for such exoneration is implicit in the nature o

provisions of the contract. That implied condition is the

sole permissible basis of exoneration is virtually the

unanimous holding of all the authorities.

Therefore, under the cases cited in the prevailing opin.

ion the result reached therein is justifiable only if, as

matter of contract construction, the defendant’s contract

with the plaintiff may and should be read as embodying

(1) a reference to the fact that the defendant had con

tracted with the United States Maritime Commission to

place all its vessels, or the ‘‘Tropic Star’’ in particular,

under the complete supervision and control of the United

States Maritime Commission, (2) a statement that, under

that contract, the Commission is authorized to request

cancellation of the engagement to the plaintiff and in that

event defendant would be obliged to and would caneel,

and (3) accordingly, the engagement was subject to can-

cellation if and when requested by the United States Mari-

time Commission.

Is it reasonable to say that is what the parties meant

by their words? Is that what a reader of the contract

on November 7, 1941 would have understood it to say!

All the decisions, other than the 2 to 2 prevailing decision

in this case, say no.

Under the law as understood and applied heretofore,

because the contract, as written, was dependent for per.

formance upon the continued availability of the ‘‘Tropic

Star’’, it was impliedly conditioned upon the ‘‘Tropie

Star’’ not ceasing to be available through an act of God or

action by the enemy or other true vis major or unavoidable

accident. That condition was inherent in the nature of

the engagement and, therefore, under well-settled lav,

implicit in the contract.

43

But under the same well-settled law, interference with

performance by conditions which the defendant itself vol-

untarily brought on or by the obligations of a conflicting

eontract in which the defendant voluntarily entered, were

not implicit in—but directly in conflict with—the engage-

ment to which defendant signed its name and on which

the plaintiff, in good faith, relied. This contract cannot

be read differently without reversing existing law and

setting up as the law the converse of what heretofore has

prevailed.

It should not be overlooked that, in characteristic fash-

ion, the contract was written by the defendant; that the

writing of, and entry into, such contracts was part of

defendant’s regular course of business; that this was a

business engagement of defendant’s own election; that

the plaintiff, no differently from others, had the right to

assume that the defendant was acting with full knowl-

edge and appraisal of its outstanding commitments.

Surely, plaintiff had the right to assume that the defend-

ant knew what it was at, and plaintiff had the right to

take defendant at its word.

A business engagement should not be presumed to have

been intended as an illusory or misleading promise. That

the plaintiff placed in the contract full reliance is estab-

lished by the stipulated proof that the plaintiff did not

contract for the copra until the defendant, by a firm con-

tract, had engaged itself to transport it (R. 241).

If the defendant intended that its promise should not be

depended upon and was to be understood by plaintiff as

purely contingent, it easily could have, and, as a matter of

fair-dealing, should have, said so (Carnegie Steel Co. v.

U. §., supra, 240 U. S. 156, at p. 165). It could have done

80 by a simple clause. Plaintiff then would have had the

choice of whether or not to contract on that basis.

44

Since the above facts and considerations are typical,

the far reaching consequences of the decision herein seen

apparent.

The authorities cited in the prevailing opinion &

not countenance “governmental coercion”— as dis

tinguished from frustration by law—as releasing 1

promisor from liability for non-performance.

This, it is submitted, is evident from the digest of the

cases cited in the prevailing opinion, and is highlighted by

Baker Castor Oil Co. v. Insurance Co. of North Ameria

(supra at pp. 35-37).

In every case where a party was exonerated because of

prevention by governmental requisition or by priority man

dated for government contracts, it was emphasized that the

controlling consideration was the absence of legal alterna-

tive to compliance with the governmental mandate.

In every one of the cases, the governmental action was

by the government in its sovereign capacity and the

promisor owed allegiance to, and was subject to the

jurisdiction of, the government; compliance was absolutely

mandatory.

Other authoritative decisions—decisions not men

tioned in the prevailing opinion—rule out “gover

mental coercivn” as an excuse.

The prevailing opinion is significant for its omission of

any mention of Northern Pacific Railway Company \.

American Trading Co., 195 U. S. 439. In that case, the

‘‘governmental coercion’? was not a matter of hypothesis

45

in the absence of evidence. It was established beyond dis-

ute. It was real. It was imperative. It was irresistible

except by litigation which would have meant costly delay.

But, in point of law, the action of the Collector of the Port

was unlawful. Compliance therewith, therefore, was held

® no excuse when it resulted in failure to perform a corttract.

The Collector’s erroneous action, this Court said ‘‘should

not be at the expense of the shippers who had obtained this

contract for transportation while all parties actwally knew

the difficulties that might concern the exportation’’.

Although the act of the governmental official made clear-

ance of the vessel with the plaintiff’s goods thereon impos-

sible, that, it was held, ‘“‘did not render unlawful the con-

tract to transport’’ and, since the Collector’s act was con-

trary to the law ‘‘it was not an act of the state’’; therefore,

whatever its practical effect and consequence, it was ‘‘not

sufficient as an excuse for the non-performance of the con-

tract’? with the plaintiff.

From the fact that the prevailing opinion below does not

mention that decision, it is to be inferred that the author

of that opinion deemed the decision outmoded. Yet, what

has happened since 1904 to impair the substance of that de-

cision? The expansion of governmental controls and the

consequent multiplication of occasions for directives or

refusals by governmental officials? That, it seems to peti-

tioner, sharpens, rather than dulls, the necessity of distin-

guishing authoritative and truly mandatory acts of state

from those which are merely advisory or precatory or

unauthorized. Surely, the same legal consequences do not

attach to utterances in the latter category as to acts which

truly are binding on parties. It cannot be that our battling

authoritarianism abroad has boomeranged to destroy for

us here the significance of our boast that ours is a ‘‘gov-

ernment of law and not men’’.

The prevailing opinion below is significant also for its

omission of any reference to Swayne & Hoyt v. Everett, 255

46

F. 71 (C. C. A. 9th C. 1919), where, again, ‘‘ governmental

eoercion’’, although not so labelled, was held no excuse for

non-performance of a contract. In that case, a California

corporation operating a vessel between Shanghai ani

United States ports, whose British Shanghai agent refused

to accept a shipment from Everett, a citizen of the Unite

States, because of orders against him by the British Gov.

ernment for his dealings with Germany which at the time

was at war with England, was held liable to Everett. The

orders of the British Government to the carrier’s agent, a

British subject, were held no defense because the British

Government had no governmental jurisdiction over the

American carrier.

IV.

No “new circumstances” require or justify the dis

regard or reversal of the well-settled principles of law

in the field of contract jurisprudence which are in

volved here.

To what already has been said above, petitioner deems it

necessary to add only that this case presented no new prob

lem nor a new phase of an old problem.

The number and variety of the cases mentioned in the

prevailing opinion and which are digested above—but a

fraction of the reported cases in point—make clear the

absence of novelty.

The novelty here is only the opinion of which review is

sought—an opinion which, it is earnestly and sincerely sub-

mitted, departs from established law as fully as it ignores

the facts proved by the evidence and postulates as facts

conclusions not drawn from, and contrary to, the record

in the case.

47

V.

The factual hypothesis of the prevailing opinion—

that the defendant was “coerced” by the government

of the United States which exercised and exerted an

“overriding power’—are without the slightest basis

in the record and directly contrary to the testimony

of the defendant’s witnesses.

The Court is respectfully referred to the testimony re-

produced in the Appendix (at pp. 48-54, infra).

CONCLUSION

It is respectfully submitted that the petition herein

should be granted and writ of certiorari should issue.

Respectfully submitted,

Copa Mintz,

Attorney for Petitioner.

February 1, 1950.

48

APPENDIX

Testimony of Defendant’s Witnesses George Otto

Mejlaender and Per A. Lorentzen

[At R. 68-69]:

‘*Grorce Orro MEJLAENDER, called as a witness on behalf

of the defendant, being first duly sworn, testified as follows:

Direct Examination by Mr. Murphy:

Q. Mr. Mejlaender, what is your business? A. Ship

brokers.

Q. In 1941 were you connected with the Norwegian

Shipping & Trade Mission? A. Yes, sir.

Q. In what capacity? A. As representative in

Washington of the Norwegian Shipping & Trade Mis

sion.

* * * *

Q. For how long were you connected with the Nor.

traship? A. From June 1941 until November 1, 194.

Q. Did your duties then take you into contact with

the United States Maritime Commission? A. Yes, sit.

Q. About how often during a week would you say

you were in consultation with various persons con

nected with the U. S. Maritime Commission? A. Every

hour of the day.

Q. Will you give us all the details, as best you recall,

of the business that you did on behalf of Nortraship

with the United States Maritime Commission from

June 1941 until the end of 1941? A. Why, tt com

sisted largely in consulting with the Maritime Com-

mission as to the utilization of ships, that is to sa,

where they were to go and what they were to load.

49

Appendix

The Court: Did you follow their instructions in

reference to where the ships were to go and what

they were to carry?

The Witness: Yes, sir.

[At R. 74-77]:

Q. Your main job was to offer the services of the

Norwegian merchant marine to the United States? Is

that the sum and substance of what you did? A. My

job was to determine together with the United States

where the ships were going to be used and to the best

effort, and where they could do their maximum service

in the war.

Q. Does the answer to my last question also extend

over to January 2, 1942, with respect to following the

orders of the Maritime Commission. A. I don’t quite

understand the question, Mr. Murphy.

Q. The last question I asked you, about Nortraship

obeying orders of the Maritime Commission from

June to the end of December, 1941, did that also extend

over to January 2, 1942? A. Yes, sir.

* . o aa

The Witness: I think I can say that the coopera-

tion between Nortraship and the United States after

Pearl Harbor was, of course, still more close than at

any other time prior to December 7th.

Cross-examination by Mr. Mintz:

Q. Mr. Mejlaender, was it a policy of cooperation

or of taking orders which your Government was fol-

lowing? A. The Norwegian Government had exactly

the same interests as the United States Government,

50

Appendix

that is to say, to win this war. It was a question tha

was never raised. We were just as interested in oy

ships being utilized to the fullest extent in the war

effort as the United States was because we had mor

at stake than anybody else.

Q. Were there occasions when there were differ.

ences of opinion between the officials with whom yu

were dealing in behalf of the United States Goven.

ment and your own Mission? A. Yes, sir.

Q. As to what would be the best thing to do under

certain circumstances? A. Yes, sir.

Q. What happened in cases where there were thos

differences of opinion? A. They were abways compro.

mised. It was a question of give and take and the

were compromised.

Q. So it was not a situation where your Gover.

ment was taking orders from the United States Gov.

ernment? <A. I don’t think you can say that tt wasa

case where the Norwegian Government took orders.

We are a democracy both in this country and in Nor.

way. It wasn’t a question of taking orders. It wasa

question of compromising any differences and arrit-

ing at a solution that was to the best purposes of th

war effort.

_ Q. Of course, during that period you maintained the

position that the Norwegian Government was a sov-

ereign power? A. I do, sir.

Q. On a par with the United States as a sovereign

power? A. I do, sir.

(Witness excused.)

51

Appendix

‘‘Pgr A. LoRENTZEN, called as a witness on behalf of the

defendant, being first duly sworn, testified as follows:

Direct Examination by Mr. Murphy:

Q. In 1941 were you connected with the Nortra-

ship? A. Yes, sir.

Q. In what capacity? A. I was manager of the

chartering department.

[At R. 109-112]:

Q. Mr. Lorentzen, prior to the execution of that

undertaking on October 4, 1941, did the Norwegian

Shipping & Trade Mission accept directions from the

Maritime Commission as to what routes your Nor-

wegian ships would follow and what cargo they would

earry? A. I will say we followed the requests.

Q. And you heard Mr. Mejlaender testify this morn-

ing, did you? A. Yes.

Q. Do you subscribe, from what you know of your

dealings personally with the Maritime Commission,

to what he testified this morning? A. Yes, sir.

Q. By the way, in your dealings with the Maritime

Commission were there times when you differed with

them with respect to what cargo a ship ought to carry

and what type of cargo was best fitted for that ship?

A. Yes. -

Q. When you differed with them, you then discussed

it with them and explained what your knowledge of

the ship was and what was best for the safety of the

ship for it to carry? <A. Yes.

The Court: And did you follow their orders?

The Witness: Well, your Honor, I am—I don’t

think it ever came to a question of ordering. It was

a question of cooperation.

52

Appendix

The Court: At all times you complied with their-

The Witness: Requests.

The Court: Requests.

Cross Examination by Mr. Mintz:

Q. You regarded them as requests and not a

orders, is that not so? A. Well, as I repeat, I don

think it came to becoming an order, because it was

never necessary to give an order.

Q. In other words, you from time to time had dis

cussions and came to agreements and then you com

plied with whatever you agreed to comply with, is

that correct? A. That is right.

Q. You did have the right to refuse to comply? A

If there was—if we thought we had reason to do w.

Q. In other words, you did not surrender the sor.

ereign rights of the Norwegian Government with r

spect to these vessels, is that so?

The Court: Do you understand that question!

The Witness: Yes, I understand.

Q. What is the answer? A. I think I understand it

My answer is, yes, we did not submit.

The Court: You what?

The Witness: We did not submit.

The Court: Have you any objection: to that ques

tion?

Mr. Murphy: He is talking about before the exe

eution of this undertaking, your Honor, I take it

I have no objection, if it is before October 4th.

The Court: There is no limitation put on th

question, as I heard it.

Mr. Murphy: Then I do object to anything afte

October 4th, your Honor.

53

Appendix

The Court: That objection is sustained.

Mr. Mintz: I respectfully except.

Q. In October—

The Court: The answer is stricken out, if there

was an answer.

Q. Let me put it this way: Were you dealing with

the United States Maritime Commission as a repre-

sentative of another sovereign power? A. Yes, sir.

The Court: At what time? I think you should

indicate it.

Q. Was that so in October, November and December

of 19417 A. Yes.

Q. And in January 1942? A. Yes.’’

[At R. 120-121]:

**Q. And between October 1941 and January 1942,

if you decided you want to take the Tropic Star and

send her elsewhere than the United States, you were

at liberty so to do, weren’t you? A. That I couldn’t

answer.

Q. Well, who was in control of the vessel? A. The

Norwegian Shipping & Trade Mission.

Q. Who employed the captain? A. The Norwegian

Shipping & Trade Mission.

Q. Who employed the crew? A. The Norwegian

Shipping & Trade Mission.

Q. Under whose orders did the captain operate? A.

Under the orders of Norwegian Shipping & Trade

Mission.

Q. Had he received any orders from you to proceed

elsewhere than to the United States— A. No, sir.

——Q.-No, I say, had he received orders, he would have

been bound to obey your orders, would he not? A. Yes.

54

Appendix

Q. The captain? The captain was acting under or.

ders of the Norwegian Shipping & Trade Mission!

A. To proceed when he could.

Q. If he had received orders from you not to pn.

ceed, he would have been bound to obey your orders,

isn’t that so? A. Yes.

Q. You expect him to take your orders, do you not!

A. Yes.’’

[At R. 123]:

**Q. You say any request would have been followed

Suppose you regarded a certain request as being w-

reasonable? A. I would discuss it.

Q. So it wasn’t a case of taking orders? A. 4s/

said before, t never came to the question of taking

orders to my knowledge.”’

No witness testified in contradiction of the above.

MAR 2 1950

Ocroser TeRM—1949

No. 576

y*

a4

L. N. Jacxson & Co., Inc.,

Petitioner,

against

Tue Roya Norwecian GOVERNMENT,

Respondent.

wp

v

PETITIONER’S REPLY MEMORANDUM

Petitioner begs leave to respectfully submit the following

several brief observations in reply to the respondent’s

brief.

(1) In its argument as to the effect and scope of re-

spondent’s ‘‘undertaking’’ to the United States Maritime

Commission, and the consequences of failure to heed a

request or directive thereunder, respondent’s brief over-

looks not only (a) the testimony of respondent’s own rep-

resentatives (quoted in Petitioner’s Br., Appendix, pp. 48-

54) and (b) the sovereignty of the respondent, but also that

(c) the ‘‘undertaking’’, by its terms, was limited to the

scheduled vessels, (d) the applicability of the ‘‘undertak-

ing’ to any vessel was terminable by the surrender of the

warrant therefor, and (e) the agreement (R. 263) ‘‘to give

priority to the transportation of materials specified by the

Commission, to the extent of the full cargo carrying capac-

2

ity of any vessel,’’ was qualified by the following language

immediately following that quoted in respondent’s brief:

‘‘the terms and/or condition of such transportation to be

fair and reasonable. The Commission will equitably ap.

portion, insofar as is practicable, requests for such trans.

portation between operators of suitable and available

ships’’ (R. 263). Respondent’s brief ignores those quali-

fications in the abbreviated quotations on pages 3, If

and 18.

(2) At several points of its brief, respondent cites as

established facts the wholly uncorroborated generalized

utterances of a witness, which, if true, could have been

properly documented. That applies to the footnote on

page 4, the quotation from the Record on page 9, and the

footnote on page 13.

(3) Respondent’s discussion of, and quotation from, the

opinion and decision of Mr. Justice Irving L. Levey of the

New York State Supreme Court overlook the fact that that ©

Justice was discussing the obligations of the defendant in

that suit, the Seas Shipping Co., Inc., who was a resi-

dent national of the United States. Mr. Justice Levey was

not called upon to consider, and offered no views on, the

obligations and liabilities of the sovereign Royal Nor-

wegian Government (who was not before him as a party

or otherwise).

(4) Respondent’s brief appears to be a complete rejec-

tion of the opinion on and by which the Court of Appeals

reversed the judgment of the District Court. Surely, Judge

Clark would not have written the lengthy opinion reported

in 177 F. 2d 694, and Judge Swan would not have con-

curred in it, if they deemed this a case where the law

intervened to enjoin performance and rendered it unlavw-

ful. And if that were the situation, Judge Learned Hand

would not have written as he did.

3

(5) Respondent’s argument of res judicata was rejected

by the District Court and by Judge Learned Hand and

cannot be claimed to have been sustained by Judges Clark

and Swan. The suggestion that Mr. Justice Levey’s deter-

mination in the New York court that respondent’s disclosed

agent, the Seas Shipping Co., Inc., was not liable to peti-

tioner for breach of the contract of its principal The Royal

Norwegian Government, is available to the latter as res

judicata that it is not liable, is contrary to the basic prin-

ciples of estoppel by judgment and is opposed by a host

of cases of which several examples are: U.S. v. California

Bridge & Construction Co., 245 U. S. 337; Bigelow v. Old

Dominion Copper Co., 225 U. S. 111; United Shoe Machin-

ery v. U. S., 258 U. S. 451; U. S. v. Pink, 315 U. S. 203,

216-218; Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U. 8S. 32; Anderson v. Ab-

bott, 321 U. S. 349, 354-5; Drummond v. U. S., 324 U. S.

316, 317-318; Land v. Dollar, 330 U. S. 731, 736-7; U. S. v.

Kales, 314 U. 8. 186, 197-200; U. S. v. Nunnally Investment

Co., 316 U. S. 258; Commissioner of Internal Revenue v.

Sunnen, 333 U. S. 591, 597-602; Fish v. Vanderlip, 218

N. Y. 229.

Respectfully submitted, |

CopaL Mintz,

Attorney for Petitioner.

February 28, 1950.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.