Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Himmelfarb v. United States

Supreme Court brief1949

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

”

Ooo —— SS eraens ool GI Cea 46.7) ORO

SUBJECT INDEX.

PAGE

Petition for certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit........................... ee a ee 1

A. Opinion below : c 1

Be, amma, nnn nnnnseecerensespeewsnssassesevcsnecsnensonanpnnntneonecsane 2

C. Questions presented 2

D. Summary statement of matter involved................................ 6

es eI UII, MUIR cccrsteneneusnistinhignstalenastncinisipipinssiians 6

2. Double jeopardy 7

3. Immunity from prosecution...............................-. 8

4. Privileged communications 9

5. Violation of Fifth Amendment to Constitution............ 10

6. Res judicata, evidence pertaining to Counts 3 and 4

submitted to jury 10

7. Prejudicial misconduct of government attorney........ 11

8. Erroneous, confusing and conflicting instructions...... 18

E. Reasons relied on for the ai:wance of the writ................ 21

Brief in support of petition for writ of certiorari-....................... 27

I.

The opinion of the court below.......................ccccsccccccnsescsecsnees 27

II.

EL oes ee " ahaa 27

III.

Statement of the case sihaitininhinbasbahanicesiigsiabisinaiidia 28

IV.

Specification of errors 28

ii.

PAGE

V.

Argument -. 31

1. Double jeopardy th Astin toliatitn-sanaoancoemeninceeginiannds 31

2. Yetitioner was immune from prosecution... 39

3. Privileged communications - 42

4. Compelling the defendant to be a witness against him-

self in violation of the Fifth Amendment of the Con-

stitution 46

5. The trial court committed error in denying defend-

ant’s motion to strike all the evidence pertaining to

Counts 3 and 4 upon which the court had previously

acquitted said defendant 49

Res judicata 49

6. Misconduct of counsel... 56

, 7. Erroneous, confusing, conflicting instructions and fail-

ure to instruct : 59

Closing 64

—

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

iii.

CASES. PAGE

Allis v. United States, 155 U. S. 117, 15 S. Ct. 36, 39 L. Ed. 91.. 51

Awtio v. Miller, 92 Mont. tC e:6 e 5. oe 47

Barnes v. State, 61 Tex. Cr. ei eS SS a 62

Barrett v. Bigger, 17 F. 2d 699; cert. den., 274 U. S. 752.......... 32

Beach v. State, 138 Ga. Se Se) 62

Berger v. United States, 295 U. S. 78, 55 S. Ct. 629..............----- 57

Black v. State, 9 Tex. App. 328 a 36

Bleirer v. Wolf, 23 Wash. 2d 368, 161 P. 2) Se 47

Bonnifield v. Thorp, 71 Fed. 924; dism., 83 Fed. 1002..............-- 31

Boyd v. United States, 116 U. S. 616, 6 S. Ct. 524, 29 L. Ed.

746 .... 39

Butler v. Gill, 34 Okla. 814, 127 Pac. 439.......... a

Calvert v. City of Seattle, 23 Wash. 2d 817, 162 P. 2d 441........ 47

Carruthers v. Reed, 102 F. 2d 933; cert. den. 307 U. S. 643,

83 L. Ed. 1523. . 29

Chattock v. United States, 77 F. 2d 961; cert. den., 296 U.

ee 51

Cliett v. State, 167 Ga. 835, 147 S. E. 35, 39 Ga. App. 510,

147 S. E. 724 om 32

Collier v. Los Angeles Ry. Co., 60 Cal. App. 2d 169, 140 P.

2d 206 47

Commissioner v. Molten, 230 Px. 399, 79 Atl. SSR enes 62

Commonwealth v. Gray, 249 Ky. 36, 60 S. W. 2d 133...............- 32

Cornero v. United States, 48 F. 2d 69.........-..-..---:-e-esesee 33, 36, 38

Counselman v. Hitchcock, 142 U. S. 547......---...---scsssseeeeeseeesnsees 39

Craig v. United States, 81 F. 2d 816, 83 F. 2d 850. 22, 36

Crow v. State, 89 Tex. Cr. 149, 230 S. W. 148............... . 36

Davidson v. Gifford, 100 N. C. 18, 6 S. E. 718............... «ae

Emmich v. United States, 298 Fed .5; cert. den., 266 U. S. 608.. 51

Farkas v. United States, 2 F. 2d 644..........------------cscseeeeseeeeseeesenes 51

Fina v. United States, 46 F. 2d 643 siclindianbagtelsanil 24, 47

Fish v. United States, 215 Fed. 545, 132 C. C. A. 56, L. R. A.

1915a 809 a

iv.

Gart v. United States, 294 Fed. 66......... ;

Gillespie v. State, 5 Okla. Crim. 546, 115 Pac. 620 (Ann. Cas.

SOD i Ba intern htnchecnemtentrinnenteinceentinns w. 46

Glasser v. United States, 315 U. S. 60 PK, 3 Meat 23

Glover v. Bradley, 233 Fed. 721 acon

Glover v. United States, 147 Fed. 426, 77 C. C. A. 450.0... 62

Hartzell v. United States, 72 F. 2d 569; cert. den., 293 U. S.

621, 55 S. Ct. 216. 22, 36

Hawes v. State, 88 Ala. 37, 7 So. 302 wa. 43

Hightower v. State, 39 Ga. App. 674, 148 S. E. 300... 2. 63

Hipple v. State, 191 S. W. 1150, I. R. A. 1917(d) 1141............ 32

Hoge v. People, 117 Ill. 35, 6 N. E. 796. ... 62

Holt v. State, 160 Tenn. 366, 24 S. W. 2d 886.2000... 31

Horton v. Atchison, Topeka & Sania Fe Ry., 161 Kan. 403, 168

a eee ht EG, Skene a thn RR 47

Jackson v. Superior Court, 10 Cal. 2d 350, 74 P. 2d 243............ 36

Jacobs v. State, 85 Tex. Crim. 505, 213 S. W. 628....00 32

Jemma Wi eT, TG, naa nnn 23

Kinard v. United States, 68 App. D. C. 250, 96 F. 2d 522...

sakes tiielceinbichadakeheticdante ch teosipalidicattiasdasentestimeainccaeeptccakamntinamnnsiinant 24, 59, 60

Beemer v. aed State, 11 FF. Be Fee... 24

Kutler v. United States, 79 F. 2d 440.0000. 63

LaLance & Grosjean Mfg. Co. v. Haberman Mfg. Co., 87 Fed.

363... .24, 42, 44, 45

Lane v. State, 44 Fla. 105, 32 So. 896............. 62

Latham v. United States, 226 Fed. 420 ....0.0.....ccccccccccccceeeececceeeees 56

Lain Cee rer; Tie BF. Fancast cin 27

Lonergan: v. United States, 88 F. 2d 591; cert. granted, 58 S.

Ct. 18, 302 U. S. 663, 82 L. Ed. 512; rev., 58 S. Ct. 430, 303

U. S. 33.. & 23, 47

Malone v. United States, 94 F. 2d 282.00... cccccccecccccceceeceeseeeeeee 51

SG. DUI, EOD Bs GD OI ctietentnscinennnnnnteonniisicnsnnaniniapioanl 24

McKenzie v. State, 11 S. W. 2d 578, 111 Tex. Crim. 299............ 35

a

v.

PAGE

McKnight v. United States, 115 Fed. 972, 54 C. C. A. 358......

ss csaecenssnnnssneeeeessennnunussennnnnansseconamapussonsanauussenssnssnsneneneseerenns200te 24, 46, 48

Mills v. United States, 164 U. S. 644, 17 S. Ct. 210, 41 L.

Ed. 584 .n----o--0-=-- 23, 62

Monday v. State, 160 Tenn. 258, 23 S. W. 2d 656.......-..-.-------- 35

Montague v. Com., 10) Gait. PGT eacecsinrescsenenseeneccenacsenovere=szonce 36

Naftzger v. United States, 200 Fed. 494.........--------------sseesessreenseeee 63

New York Central R. R. Co. v. Johnson, 279 U. S. 310, 49

S. Ct. 300, 73 Le. Ed. 706...-cocorsn-seeeceeecnmnnnseensennnnnnsssenennnnnnnnnssssees 57

Nicola v. United States, 72 ye | Eaaeam 24, 60

O'Brian v. Com., 9 Bush. 333, 15 Am. R. 715. 35

O’Brien v. Schellberg, 59 Cal. App. 2d 764, 140 P. 2d 159........ 47

People v. Albertson, , a. @') a 52

People v. Best, 13 Cal. App. 2d 606, 57 P. ip Ae 59

People v. Deysher, 2 Cal. 2d 141, 40 P. 2d 259 63

People v. Grahm, 176 App. Div. 38, 162 N. Y. Supp. 334........ 62

People v. Handley, 100 Cal. 370, 34 Pac. 853 63

People v. Lapique, 10 Cal. App. 669, 103 Pac. 164...........-......-- 63

People v. Maughs, 149 Cal. 253 62

People v. Putnam, 20 Cal. 2d 885, 129 P. 2d 367........-.-.------ 59, 60

People v. Strassman, 112 Cal. 683, 45 Pac. 3.........-----.ccsc-sseesseeee 63

People v. Young, 100 Cal. App. 18

Pharr v. United States, 48 F. 2d 767.. 57

Pierce v. United States, 86 F. 2d 949.. 57, 58

Price v. McComish, 22 Cal. App. 2d 92 - 31

Redsted v. Weiss, 71 Cal. App. 2d 63 32

Rose v. United States, 128 F. 2d 622...........-----------seeesseeeeeesseesenss 51

Spies v. United States, 317 U. S. 492 23

State v. Crain, 22 Mo. 54, 100 S. W. 422 vse OB

State v. Dedge, 101 N. J. L. 131, 127 Ey I sinicesasaancuannonennics 35

State v. Helton, 234 Mo. 559, 137 S. W. TI 1d ies ceaddonbabeontin 62

State v. Merkley, 74 Iowa 695, 39 N. W. 111 : 46

State v. Slorah, 106 Atl. 768, 4 A. L. R. 1256.........-------------e-seeeee 36

State v. Stiff, 117 Kan. 243, 234 Pac. 704. : . 32

State v. Willie, 130 La. 454, 58 So. 147... .. 36

United States v. Armour & Co., 64 F. Supp. 855.0000... 39

United States v. Howard, 26 Fed. Case No. 15403, 3 Summ.

United States v. Monia, 317 U. S. 424, 87 L. Ed. 376....23, 39, 40

United States v. Newman, 25 F. 2d 357; rev., 28 F. 2d 1684... 31

United States v. Oppenheimer, 242 U. S. 85, 61 L. Ed. 161, 37,

SA Oc PRIN SUI ceemiotnabeoncerdhtciinnercceeusonnannarienininpatbinemaakapecniony 23, 55, 56

United States v. Perez, 9 Wheat. (22 U. S.) 579, 6 L. Ed.

ICSE ce et a ae ios rc econnssesscesnnseeenseeen 22, 23, 33

United States v. Perlstein, 120 F. 2d 276..0000......cccccccccccccceeceeeee 57

United States v. Smith, 27 Fed. Cas. No. 16,341, 1 Sawy. 277.. 35

United States v. Watson, 28 Fed. Cas. No. 16651.........0...... 31, 32

Van Blaricum v. People, 16 Ill. 364, 63 Am. D. 316............0....... 36

Volkmor v. United States, 13 F. 2d 594.200... cele tceeeceee 57

van pees Cee, Ge Ww. Oe PO as 23

Ee I I iret ora sectpntensnnnnennenceoccnseeanenrastonton 23, 33

rae @, Sete. 455 A. Sh, So oO. OPO... ee 35

Walshon v. Stainton, 71 Reprint 357, 2 Hem & M. 1................ 43

Weathers v. United States, 117 F. 2d 585............ 57

i Ae Ug Gl Oe eens 51

Welsing v. United States, 218 Fed. 369, 134 C. C. A. 177.......... 35

Westberg v. Wilde, 14 Cal. 2d 360, 94 P. 2d 590.000.000.000... 48

STATUTES

Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rule 26............02.....220...:.00 42

Food Conservation Act, In re, 254 Fed. 893................... 24, 55

Internal Revenue Code, Sec. 41 5, 20

Internal Revenue Code, Sec. 48 ........ 5

Rules of the Supreme Court, Rule 38 27

Statute of July 7, 1844, Sec. 2, par. E (5 U. S. C., Sec. 261)... 43

PAGE

United States Code, Sec. 145A. -......-.--s--ccecesneeseeeessesennseseeees 6, 30, 60

United States Code, Title 26, Sec. 3616, DOE, Pissceiccasl 6, 30, 59

United States Constitution, Fifth Amendment............. 2, 21, 23, B

United States Code Annotated, Title 18, Sec. ___ SRC ara 42

United States Code Annotated, Title 26, Sec. 3115(a) .............. 41

United States Code Annotated, Title 26, Sec. 3200, p. 06......... 43

TEgxTBOOKS

Bacon’s Abridgment on Juries, p. 365.......----.-----------ccescccssceeeseene 35

Bishop, New Crim., Sec. 1014...-...---o----c-seeceesseee 36

Bishop, New Crim., Sec. RII fini cancceciunaienigasbensinlaniinviaioteansinisne 36

3 California Jurisprudence, p. 667..............-.. 4 32

Cooley’s Constitutional Limitations (6th Ed.), p. 399.................- 36

16 Corpus Juris, p. 255 33

16 Corpus Juris, p 1054 ..........-.-c--se-csecsccecenesesseneeesensenneensensennennsencs 61

31 Corpus Juris, Sec. 445, p. 837 63

34 Corpus Juris, Sec. 1154, pp. 742, 743.......---.------c-sseescceseeeneeneeees 54

35 Corpus Juris, Sec. 404%, p. 346 34

70 Corpus Juris, Sec. 538, p. 501 43

7 Corpus Juris Secundum, pp. 897, 922, note 50O...........-..--------- 31

16 Corpus Juris Secundum, Sec. 2451, p. 1023.........-.---.---------0 60

22 Corpus Juris Secundum, p. 400, note 67.. 32

50 Corpus Juris Secundum, p. 927, mote 5............----s--sesssseeee 22, 36

50 Corpus Juris Secundum, Sec. 251, p. 1009 «: 3S

14 Encyclopedia of Evidence, pp. 646, 647 46

Internal Revenue Bulletin, Vol. XV-2, p. 341 43

2 Ruling Case Law, p. 995 32

Thompson & Merriam on Juries, Sec. 273 36

1 Thornton on Attorneys-at-Law, p. 386... 32

Wharton’s Criminal Law (12th Ed.), Sec. 395 33

8 Wigmore on Evidence (3rd Ed.), Sec. 2301, p. 584.............- 43

'

,

NR RYE to —EE ——E

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1949.

i cnitilinbachi

Sam ORMONT,

Petitioner,

US.

Unitep STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

Petition for Certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

To the Honorable, the Supreme Court of the United

States:

Comes now Sam Ormont, hereinafter styled petitioner,

and, applying for a writ of certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, respectfully

shows:

A.

OPINION BELOW.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals appears in the

record [R. Vol. V, pp. 1646-1707]. The judgment and

sentence of the District Court also appears in the record

[R. Vol. I, pp. 139-140].

ro a

B.

JURISDICTION.

Judgment of the Court of Appeals sought to be reviewed

was entered on June 3, 1949, and petitioner’s petition for

a rehearing before said Court was timely filed and was

denied on August 1, 1949 [R. Vol. V, p. 1710]. The jur-

isdiction of this Court is invoked under Title 28 U. S. C,

Section 1254, Subdivision 1.

C.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

1.

Was the petitioner's constitutional rights against being

twice placed in jeopardy violated?

2.

Where a jury was duly impaneled, accepted, and sworn,

and defendant thereby placed in jeopardy, did the Court

have the right thereafter, and without defendant’s consent,

to discharge that jury merely because, while the jury was

being impaneled, and before it was so passed, accepted, and

sworn, the U. S. attorney had merely made reference to an

O. P. A. case, but no challenge to the panel or to any of

the jurors was interposed by any of the parties on the

ground of such reference, but all the parties with full

knowledge of said statement accepted the jury, thereby con-

clusively waiving all grounds of challenge?

3.

Under such circumstances above delineated, has the

Court the right to again place the defendant in jeopardy

before another jury where proper objection to so doing

has been previously made without violating the Fifth

Amendment to the Constitution of the United States?

el

| _—

4.

Was the petitioner’s constitutional right against being

compelled to be a witness or furnish evidence against him-

self violated?

S.

Where petitioner was subpoenaed and pursuant thereto

was interrogated by the Grand Jury respecting profits and

illegal payments he had made for slaughtering livestock

for the year 1944 was he thereby immune from prosecu-

tion respecting his income and income tax?

6.

Where certified public accountant is employed by the

attorney for a defendant to help such attorney and as his

agent, in preparing income tax returns and documents and

giving advice pertaining thereto for the client, are com-

munications by the client to such attorney and accountant

privileged ?

7.

Was the defendant’s constitutional right against being

compelled to be a witness against himself, violated where

the Court intimated to the U. S. attorney, before the jury,

that he might resort to the processes of the Court to com-

pel the defendant to produce his books and pursuant there-

to, the U. S. attorney caused the Marshal to serve a

subpoena duces tecum on the defendant in open Court, in

plain view and presence of the jury, and where no ad-

monition to the jury to disregard such error and conduct

was given?

TT NT

=

8.

Was it error for the Court to refuse to grant a motion

to strike the testimony of witnesses pertaining only to

counts of the indictment on which the Court had preyj-

ously acquitted the defendant?

9.

Did the acquittal by the Court of the defendant for

Counts 3 and 4 for prior years, 1942 and 1943, constitute

res judicata so as to prevent the prosecution from using

said evidence for the purpose of determining wilfulness

in the year 1944?

10.

Did the argument of the U. S. attorney constitute preju-

dicial misconduct?

11.

Was the Court of Appeals justified in holding that the

activities of the U. S. attorney were merely subject to

criticism and not prejudicial misconduct?

12.

Where conflicting, confusing, and erroneous instructions

were given to the jury, can the Court say that no preju-

dice was suffered, and that the jury followed one instruc-

tion and not the other in arriving at a verdict?

a. Where indictment specifically alleged the manner

and means employed by defendant to commit the alleged

attempt to evade which consisted of only two, namely:

(1) filing an alleged false income and victory tax return,

and (2) by concealing from the Collector and officers of

the United States the correct gross and net income, was

it not prejudicial error for the Court to instruct the jury

ee ae teeehediinesmemmanatal

| ie

in effect that if they found defendant had attempted “in

any manner” to evade his tax they could find him guilty?

b. Was it not error for the Court to instruct the jury

that a taxpayer is required to report all sums “earned”

for the calendar year in which the same were “earned”

when such taxpayer was on a cash basis?

c. Was it not prejudicial error for the Court to in-

struct the jury in effect that they were to determine

whether or not a substantial part of $71,000.00 was in

fact received by each of the defendants as part of his in-

come from the Acme Meat Company operations, without

further instructing the jury that even if they so found

that, it would be further necessary for the jury to find

that such money was so received in the calendar year

1944, and was it not error in the same instruction to tell

the jury that they must determine whether or not “books

and records” were kept as required by the statute.

d. Was it not error to quote Section 41 of the Internal

Revenue Code which said in part:

“But if no such method of accounting has been so

employed, or if the method employed does not clearly

reflect the income, the computation shall be made in

accordance with such methods as in the opinion of the

commissioner clearly reflect his income.” (Italics

supplied. )

without any evidence in the record showing that the com-

missioner had determined any method or if so what such

method was, and which section further stated:

“If the taxpayers annual accounting period is other

than a fiscal year as defined in Section 48 * * *”

without also instructing the jury as to the contents of

said Section 48.

—

e. Did not the Court, by said instruction, submit to the

jury the decisions of questions of law or matters to be

determined by the Commissioner of Internal Revenue?

13.

Did not the Court err in failing to instruct the jury

on his own motion that they might find the defendant un.

der the indictment guilty of a misdemeanor under Subdi-

vision A of Section 3616 of Title 26, U. S. C., and also

Section 145 A of the same book.

D

SUMMARY STATEMENT OF MATTER

INVOLVED.

1.

Indictment and Plea.

Petitioner was charged by indictment of the Grand Jury

in this case, jointly with one Phillip Himmelfarb in Counts

1 and 2, and singly in Counts 3 and 4. The first count

charged petitioner and Phillip Himmelfarb with attempt-

ing to defeat and evade a large part of the income tax due

and owing by Sam Ormont to the United States of Amer-

ica for the calendar year 1944

“by preparing and causing to be prepared and filing

and causing to be filed with the Collector of Internal

Revenue for the Sixth Internal Revenue Collection

District of California a false and fraudulent income

and victory tax return * * *” (Italics supplied.)

[R. Vol. I, pp. 2-3.]

Count 2 charged the defendants jointly with an attempt to

defeat and evade a large part of the income due and owing

from Phillip Himmelfarb for the calendar year 1944.

scilliiee

Count 3 charged the petitioner, Sam Ormont, with attempt-

ing to evade and defeat part of his income tax for the

calendar year 1943. Count 4, a similar charge against

‘tioner, Sam Ormont, for income tax for the calendar

year 1942 [R. Vol. I, pp. 2-6]. To all of which Counts

petitioner entered a plea of not guilty.

2.

Double Jeopardy.

A jury was duly impaneled and sworn to try the de-

fendants on May 22, 1947 [R. Vol. I, p. 242]. There-

upon, William Katz, Esq., attorney for Phillip Himmel-

farb only, in behalf of his client, made a motion to declare

a mistrial and discharge the jury for the reason that the

prosecuting attorney, William Strong, during the selection

of the jury (before it was accepted and sworn) “made a

reference to a pending O. P. A. case” [R. Vol. I, p. 257],

which motion with consent of the Government Counsel was

granted by the trial judge, and said jury was discharged

without the consent of petitioner, Sam Ormont [R. Vol. I,

p. 260]. Thereupon, petitioner, Sam Ormont, through his

attorney, Daly B. Robnett, Esq., made a motion to dismiss

the case, and to enter a plea of once in jeopardy on the

ground that said jury after being duly impaneled and

sworn had been so discharged without the consent of the

petitioner [R. Vol. I, pp. 302-303], which motion was de-

nied by the Court in the following language:

“The Court: I was under the impression that the

motion was made on behalf of both defendants. Even

so, in considering the matter on the merits, I do not

think the motion for a once in jeopardy plea is well

taken. While the jury was sworn, there was not even

a witness sworn, no opening statement to the jury,

iin

and there was nothing that the jury could decide it on,

There was no evidence, no presentation of any kind,

and I think there has to be more than the mere swear-

ing of a jury to place a defendant once in jeopardy,

The motion will be denied.” [R. Vol. I, p. 304.]

Thereupon, a second jury was impaneled by the same

Court and trial judge, and the defendants were jointly tried

before such jury.

3.

Immunity From Prosecution.

The petitioner was subpoenaed before the Grand Jury

of the Southern District, Central Division of California,

and was questioned and testified concerning his income for

1944 as follows:

“Q. During your entire operations there, from the

time you went in to the time you went out, you never

knew whether you were solvent or insolvent? A. |

never did go out of business.

A Grand Juror: Did you make money while at

the Southern California Meat Company?

The Witness: Yes, we showed a nice profit.” [R.

Vol. I, p. 233.]

On page 235 of the same record we quote:

“A Grand Juror: How many times did you lose?

The Witness: I don’t think I had an instance of

once where I lost.

A Grand Juror: In other words, you came out

with a profit?

The Witness: In my particular instance, I did the

livestock purchasing myself; I had no outside buyers.”

——

and during the same examination he was asked in great

detail as to over-payments he had made for slaughtering

cattle—payments which were in violation of the O. P. A.

[see R. Vol. I, pp. 214-236], and not properly deductible

from income.

4.

Privileged Communications.

During the trial the government produced a Certified

Public Accountant by the name of William S. Malin as a

witness, which accountant testified that he was employed

by a Mr. Mirman who at the time was attorney for peti-

tioner, Sam Ormont and defendant, Phillip Himmelfarb,

to help said attorney in connection with the income taxes

of petitioner, Ormont, and defendant, Phillip Himmelfarb

[R. Vol. Ill, pp. 1094 and 1101]. The witness was al-

lowed, over objection, that all communications to the wit-

ness by either defendant were privileged to testify that

he sent Exhibits 51 A, B, C, and D to Mr. Bircher (who

was an agent of the Internal Revenue Department) [R.

Vol. III, pp. 1108-1115, 1123], and over a like objec-

tion, and further objection, there was no foundation laid

(there was no evidence of Malin’s authority from Ormont

or his attorney to deliver said exhibits to Mr. Bircher),

said exhibits were admitted in evidence [R. Vol. ILI, pp.

1114 to 1119], and over a similar objection the witness

was allowed to testify that he got the information con-

tained in these exhibits, particularly Exhibit 51A from

the taxpayer’s records [R. Vol. III, pp. 1119-1120].

willis

5.

Violation of Fifth Amendment of Constitution,

During the course of the trial in the presence of the

jury, the Court intimated to the prosecution that it might

use the processes of the United States Government and

of that Court to compel the production of defendant’s

books and records [R. Vol. II, pp. 599-600]. Thereafter,

the prosecution caused a subpoena duces tecum to be is-

sued by the Clerk of said Court directed to petitioner,

commanding him to produce his books, and caused a

Deputy United States Marshal to serve said subpoena on

said defendant in open court and in plain view of the

jury, and without instructing the jury to disregard the

activity of the prosecutor the Court and Marshall which

was thereafter assigned as prejudicial error [R. Vol. III,

p. 889].

6

Res Judicata, Evidence Pertaining to Counts 3 and 4

Submitted to Jury.

The trial consumed approximately four weeks, during

which time two witnesses, Eustice and Link, were the chief

witnesses for the prosecution, and the former was the gov-

ernment’s expert, and he testified for days on Counts 3

and 4, being for the years 1942 and 1943. At the close

of the prosecutions case, defendant Ormont’s counsel

moved the Court for a dismissal and acquittal of said de-

fendant on each separate count of the indictment, and the

Court granted such motion, and acquitted the defendant

(petitioner) on Counts 2, 3, and 4. Immediately there-

after, the counsel for petitioner made motions to strike the

testimony and evidence of witnesses, Eustice and Link,

pertaining to the years 1942 and 1943, on the ground that

_——

. —l1—

defendant had been acquitted for those two years, and it

would be prejudicial error to leave such evidence before the

jury. Said motions were denied [R. Vol. IV, p. 1374].

The prosecuting attorney used this evidence to obtain a

verdict on Count 1.

7.

Prejudicial Misconduct of Government Attorney.

The prosecuting attorney was guilty of prejudicial mis-

conduct and attempted to, and did excite the prejudices

of the jury, and its resentment to defendant and defend-

ant’s case in his argument to the jury by falsely accusing

defendant’s counsel of “dragging” in extraneous matters

which had nothing to do with the case and of wasting the

time of the Court and jury in nothing but attempts to

confuse [R. Vol. IV, pp. 1459-61], from which we quote

as follows:

“I ask you to consider whether those aren’t the

extra pieces that have nothing to do with this case.

Very confusing, no doubt about it, and if you don’t

separate them you will never get to building the jig-

saw puzzle as it should be built. You will never get

the final picture. You will have so many pieces that

have nothing to do with it that you may give up. [R.

Vol. IV, p. 1459.]

* + * * * * * *

Yes, there is an attempt to confuse, there is an at-

tempt to drag something else in, * * *” [R. Vol.

IV, p. 1460.] (Italics swpplied. )

And further he said:

“T submit to you, ladies and gentlemen, that in Mr.

Eustice’s testimony with reference to the computa-

tions of the amounts shown on the books and records

=

of the Acme Meat Company and the amounts shown

upon the bank records that are undenied and undis.

puted as of this amount, and that every single one

of those other items dragged in have absolutely noth.

ing to do with this because Mr. Eustice did not take

them in as part of the unreported income.

Now I am not going to take your time to point

out and show you all these if questions and assuming

questions—you remember them—this thing went on

for so long that after a while it was perfectly clear

as to what was going on and I think it is perfectly

clear as to why it was going on. And that is another

thing to consider, as I told you, because this case deals

with concealment of money, failure to report money

and an attempt to defeat and evade a tax.” [R. Vol,

IV, p. 1461.] (Italics supplied.)

And thereafter he said:

“And if you just disregard all the irrelevancies, all

of these red herrings—you know what a red herring

is, it is something you draw in here to distract atten-

tion—just forget all about these things that were

dragged in and that have nothing to do with this case,

and what does this case consist of?” [R. Vol. IV, p.

1481.]

The evidence and cross-examination above referred to by

the prosecuting attorney was very pertinent and demon-

strated to the trial court that defendant was innocent of

the charge of Counts 2, 3, and 4, and that the govern-

ment’s expert was merely building up an arbitrary case

based on hypothesis as was stated by the Court:

“But, on Counts 2 and 3, the whole case is built

upon by an arbitrary accounting method used by the

Government agent.” [R. Vol. IV, p. 1370.]

—13—

And again on page 1372 the Court said:

“T think it is not good law, on a criminal charge

against a person, to let an agent, however credible

he is, or sincere he might be, upon a hypothesis to

build up a crime.” [R. Vol. IV, p. 1372. ]

And again he falsely stated to the jury that the books

were in evidence as follows:

“The books speak for themselves. That is why

they were admitted in evidence. If they weren't in

evidence they wouldn’t be in this case.” [R. Vol. IV,

p. 1559.] (Italics supplied. )

The books were not in evidence.

Once more he falsely stated as follows:

“But I ask you, what are those payments? Do you

think they were payments in the business, which Mr.

Ormont earned, as he reported, some $12,000, in the

year 1944; he had such a fine clientele that they gave

him gifts, approximately eight-twelfths of the sum

he reported in 1945; about $220,000.00. Do you be-

lieve he got $220,000.00 in free and voluntary gifts?”

[R. Vol. IV, p. 1470.]

There is absolutely no evidence to this effect anywhere

in the record.

Again the U. S. Attorney misstated the facts as follows:

“And supposing he had the cash? Let’s assume

he had the cash. What did he do with it? Well, in

1943 (italics supplied) (defendant Ormont was ac-

quitted by the Court prior to the argument for the

year 1943) out of the $12,000 he bought about $8000

worth of bonds. You remember that testimony, $8000

worth of bonds. That I assume is intended to show,

or at least you are supposed to draw the inference

iii

[R. Vol. IV, p. 1476] from that, that the unreported

income which Mr. Eustice claims this man accumy.

lated during that year because he bought $8000 worth

of bonds.

Take the $8000 and then look at this Schedule No,

42 which shows how many bonds were actually bought

during that year and see if you don’t find over $50.

000 worth of bonds bought that year—$50,000 worth

of bonds—some such sum. Just look at them. They

are enumerated on the Schedule and it is in evidence.

What is $8000 off of that? It is $42,000. Well,

let’s assume he had $8000 in cash. Does that change

the story or the picture that was presented here by

Mr. Eustice from these records? I submit to you that

it doesn’t change it a single iota, not a single iota.

Any explanation as to the other money that was used

to buy the bonds? No, except some checks were

shown here. Which of the bonds were bought with

those checks? I can’t say. I don’t know.” [R. Vol.

IV, pp. 1476, 1477.] (Italics supplied.)

The foregoing statement was absolutely false and known

by the prosecuting attorney to be false as he had already

established by the government’s expert, Mr. Eustice, from

whom he was entirely relying as to those bonds for the

year 1943 the following:

“A. He purchased United States Government

bonds during 1943 of $51,475.

The Court: How much?

The Witness: $51,475.

Of these bonds he purchased by checks drawn on

his personal bank accounts $32,390.24, and by checks

drawn on his business bank account, that is, Acme

Meat Company, $5000.

| —15—

It was the total of those two items, that is, from

known sources, $37,390.24. The difference between

that and the actual bonds purchased was $14,084.76,

which could not be traced to any known sources and

was not explained by the taxpayer where the source

of the funds came from.” [R. Vol. IT, pp. 539, 540.]

The checks referred to by counsel and the $8000 fully

covered the $14,000 bond item above.

The prosecuting attorney falsely accused petitioner of

falsifying records, although the Court had previously ad-

monished him that such was not the fact. Yet he said to

the jury as follows:

“Mr. Link testified. * * * But the important

thing is that he testified to, and the important thing

that counts in this case because it deals with this at-

tempt to defeat and evade, it deals with the state of

mind of the defendant, it shows you his wilfulness,

his deliberateness, his intent and his purpose, is the

fact that Mr. Ormont told Mr. Link to change certain

figures on those books, raise the figures. That is falsi-

fying his records.” [R. Vol. IV, pp. 14601, 1462. |

(Italics supplied. )

The testimony of Link regarding these changes on the

books was that Mr. Ormont had given personal checks

for additional amounts on purchase price of cattle and

wanted them entered and at the time the evidence was in-

troduced the following remark was made by Mr. Strong

and the following admonition was made by the Court:

“Mr. Strong: It proves that the records are false.

The Court: Government counsel’s statement to the

jury will be disregarded by the jury.” [R. Vol. II,

p. 504.)

—— oe

and on cross-examination with regard to the entering on

the books of these additional items the witness testifieg

that Mr. Ormont had paid the same. We quote as fol.

lows:

“The Court: He actually paid the additional

money ?

The Witness: He paid the additional money with

a check which was drawn.

The Court: He paid the additional $3000?

The Witness: Yes.

The Court: So that the books were accurate when

it said that he spent $3000 more?” [R. Vol. II, p,

492.] (Italics supplied.)

The government counsel also was guilty of misconduct

in the following particulars in that he repeatedly argued

to the jury that the cross-examination of the witness,

Eustice, was based entirely upon hypothetical questions;

that there was nothing in the record to show that the facts

based therein were true, but that all such things were

purely supposition or assumptions and further stating that

the witness, Eustice, did not use a single one of the checks

in evidence in determining the unreported income which

the government claimed in the indictment [R. Vol. IV,

pp. 1457-1458], and further misled the jury in referring

to all the checks and all the evidence in the cross-examina-

tion was brought in merely to confuse the jury and had

absolutely nothing to do with the case. To demonstrate

the falsity of the argument, witness, Eusuce, identified

a check of $186.00, and said he did take it into account

as unexplained income |R. Vol. II, p. 678], and he also

identified a great list of checks that he took into account

as unexplained income [R. Vol. II, pp. 690-691], and an-

at

other check that was taken into unreported income [R.

Vol. Il, p. 693]. Testifying concerning Exhibits S and

T, S being a check for $1,332.27 to reimburse Mr. Or-

mont for the checks embraced in Exhibit T, the witness

said that he did not give credit for said sum as applying

on the purchase of bonds, but instead charged that amount,

and more as unreported income [R. Vol. II, pp. 779-

780]. Eustice admitted that if Exhibit S was used to

purchase bonds, that would change his calculations as to

the amount of unexplained income [R. Vol. II, p. 785).

Although the District Attorney said there was no proof

as to any of these items, the defendant testified positively

that this $1,332.27 was used by him to purchase bonds

[R. Vol. IV, p. 1303]. As to Exhibit Y, Eustice admit-

ted that he did take it into account in determining the un-

reported income [R. Vol. II, pp. 822-823]. Yet the Dis-

trict Attorney told the jury that Eustice didn’t take any

of these checks—not a single one of them—into account

and that there was no evidence that any of them were

used to purchase bonds. Yet the undisputed testimony of

appellant that these checks in Exhibit Y were used to pur-

chase bonds [R. Vol. IV, p. 1300]. As to Exhibit Z,

Eustice admitted that he gave no credit for that check on

the purchase of bonds, but charged the entire amount of

the bonds to unexplained income and did use it in the cal-

culation [R. Vol. II, pp. 793-794]. Mr. Ormont testified

positively that this check was used to buy bonds [R. Vol.

IV, pp. 1300-1321]. U. S. Counsel told the jury that all

the government had to prove was a substantial amount

of money as unreported income.

“If we prove a substantial amount of money, it is

just as good as proving the whole figure.” [R. Vol.

IV, p. 1480.]

—18—

8.

Erroneous, Confusing and Conflicting Instructions

The Court erred in the following charge to the jury:

“In the event that you find that either defendant as

to the particular count failed to report his true in.

come in the amount substantially as claimed by the

Government for the calendar year 1944, then as mat.

ter of law the tax for the calendar year 1944 would

have been substantially more than paid by such de

fendant for the calendar year 1944.” [R. Vol. IV,

p. 1578.] (Italics ours.)

Government counsel argued to the jury that all that was

necessary for the government to prove was a substantial

amount of money.

“Tt is just as good as proving the whole figure.”

[R. Vol. IV, p. 1480.]

He also argued that $11,000 was enough [R. Vol. IV,

pp. 1551-1552]. The indictment charged $24,000 which

is the amount which must be proved. The United States

Court of Appeals admitted [R. Vol. V, p. 1684] that the

instruction was erroneous, and should have used the word

“alleged” rather than “claimed.” The Court also errone-

ously charged “books and records” are required to be kept

under the Internal Revenue regulations, whereas the regu-

lation says “books or records,” and then went on and er-

roneously said:

“If ‘no books or records’ of the type required dy

law are kept, a fiscal year return cannot be filed, but

the sums ‘earned’ must be reported upon the calen-

dar year return for the year in which they were

‘earned’.” [R. Vol. IV, p. 1583.] (Italics supplied.)

Defendant assumed that government’s counsel had cor-

rectly quoted the regulation, hence no exception was taken.

adiiiien

The Court also instructed :

“A taxpayer who is on a cash basis need not re-

port any income on his return that may be due him

until he actually receives the said cash income.” (Ital-

ics supplied.) [R. Vol. IV, p. 1584.]

The Court erred in giving the following instruction :

“The law under which these defendants were in-

dicted in substance provides as is applicable to this

case, that any person who wilfully attempts im any

manner to evade or defeat any tax shall be guilty

of acrime. The pertinent portion of the statute pro-

vides as follows:

“‘Any person required under this chapter to

account for, and pay over any tax imposed by

this chapter, who wilfully fails to truthfully

account for any and pay over such tax, and any

person who wilfully attempts in any manner to

evade or defeat any tax imposed by this chap-

ter or the payment thereof, shall in addition to

other penalties provided by law, be guilty of a

felony and, upon conviction thereof,’ shall be

punished in the manner provided by law.” [R.

Vol. IV, pp. 1574-1575.] (Italics supplied. )

The Court erred in giving the following instruction:

“There has been placed in evidence the income tax

return for the fiscal year May 1944 to April 1945,

which was filed by the defendant on May 24, 1945,

In this connection, it is part of your functions to de-

cide whether the defendants actually had some in-

come-producing enterprise, or enterprises, from which

they derived the sum of roughly $71,000, which they

reported on the fiscal year basis in that return. In

this connection, you must determine what enterprise,

if any, the defendants engaged in besides the opera-

tion known as the Acme Meat Company, if you de-

—20—

cide they were engaged together in the Acme Meat

Company, and whether the money was received as in-

come with reference to some other transaction not

part of the Acme Meat Company sales and operations,

“Ultimately you are to decide in this connection,

among other things, whether the $71,000 odd dollars

reported on the fiscal year return was or was not part

of the income derived from the sales made as part

of the operations of the Acme Meat Company, and

whether that money, or a substantial part of that

money, was in fact received by each of of the defend-

ants as part of his income from the Acme Meat Com-

pany operations; and if not, then whether or not

books and records were kept of such other eréerprise

as required by the statute.

“The statute in that connection, Section 41 of the

Internal Revenue Code, reads as follows:

“<The net income shall be computed upon the

basis of the taxpayer’s annual accounting period

(fiscal year or calendar year, as the case may

be) in accordance with the method of accounting

regularly employed in keeping the books of such

taxpayer; but if no such method of accounting

has been so employed, or if the method employed

does not clearly reflect the income, the computa

tion shall be made in accordance with such

method as in the opinion of the Commissioner

does clearly reflect the income. If the taxpay-

er’s annual accounting period is other than a

fiscal year as defined in section 48 or if the tax-

payer has no annual accounting period or does

not keep books, the net income shall be computed

on the basis of the calendar year.’” [R. Vol.

IV, pp. 1581-1583.] (Italics supplied.)

Objections were duly made and exceptions taken to each

of the foregoing instructions.

= =

E.

REASONS RELIED ON FOR THE ALLOWANCE

OF THE WRIT.

1.

The Court of Appeals has decided important questions

of federal law which has not been, but which should be

settled by this Court as follows:

a. The Court of Appeals decided that where, during

the impanelment of a jury the government attorney made

some reference to an O. P. A. case, but no party challenged

the jury or any member thereof on that ground, but con-

clusively waived all objections and challenges to the jury,

and allowed it to be duly sworn to try the defendants,

and after it was sO sworn, the Court, without the consent

of the defendant (petitioner ) discharged the jury on

motion of a co-defendant, which motion was based en-

tirely upon the said reference by the United States at-

torney, that such discharge of said jury and the impanel-

ment of another jury over the objection of the petitioner

did not constitute placing the petitioner twice in jeopardy

within the meaning of the Fifth Amendment to the

Constitution of the United States;

b. The Court of Appeals incorrectly decided that the

circumstances above set forth constituted ‘manifest neces-

sity” or “legal necessity” for the discharge of the said -

jury;

c. The Court incorrectly decided that the circumstances

above set forth constituted “urgent circumstances or an

emergency which by diligence and care could not have been

averted and which would thwart the administration of

justice,” and that the Court was vested with discretion

—22—

to discharge the jury without petitioner’s consent, without

abridgment of the constitutional guarantee.

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit, lays down a rule of law with respect to

determination of double jeopardy that puts it entirely in

the hands of the trial judge as to whether or not a de.

fendant has been once in jeopardy to the end that the

yard stick laid down in the well known case of United

States v. Perez, 9 Wheat. (22 U. S.) 579, 6 L. Ed. 165,

and followed for more than 60 years, is meaningless

and a defendant is placed at the whim of the trial court

in never knowing whether he will be arbitrarily deprived

of the jury sworn and accepted by the parties to a crimi-

nal action, and in which he thereby has a vested right,

and the right of a defendant under the Fifth Amendment

to immunity against being twice placed in jeopardy is nul-

lified. (Hartzell v. U. S., 72 F. 2d 569, cert. den., 293

U. S. 621, 55 S. Ct. 216-217; Craig v. U. S., 81 F. 2d

8.6 (C. C. A. Cal.), 83 F. 2d 850; 50 Corpus Juris

Secundum, 927, note 5, and authorities cited.) Under the

guise of “urgent necessity” the opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals has held that even a ground of

challenge to a juror known by a defendant before the jury

is sworn, but never asserted, and, therefore, conclusively

waived may thereafter be used as an “urgent necessity”

for discharging the whole jury, even though no showing

of prejudice by reason of such cause of challenge is shown.

These matters of fundamental constitutional law deserve

pronouncement by this Court.

—23—

2.

That the Court of Appeals has decided questions involv-

ing the constitutional rights, privileges and immunities of

petitioner under the Constitution of the United States in

a way probably in conflict with applicable decisions of this

Court; it has, by its opinion, announced rules of law which

tend to abrogate and nullify the rights, privileges and im-

munities of this petitioner under the Fifth Amendment to

the Constitution. It has so far departed from the accepted

and usual course of judicial proceedings and so far sanc-

tioned such a departure by a lower Court, as to call for

an exercise of this Court’s power of supervision. (U. S.

v. Perez, 9 Wheat. 579, 6 L. Ed. 165; Wade v. Hunter,

336 U. S. 684; U. S. v. Oppenheimer, 242 U. S. 85, 61

L. Ed. 161, 37 Sup. Ct. Rep. 68; U. S. v. Monia, 317

U. S. 424, 87 L. Ed. 376; Lonergan v. U. S., 88 F. 2d

591, cert. granted, 58 S. Ct. 18, 302 U. S. 663, 82 L. Ed.

512, reversed 58 S. Ct. 430, 303 U. S. 33; Johnston v.

Zerbst, 304 U. S. 458; Glasser v. U. S., 315 U. S. 60;

Von Moltke v. Gillies, 332 U. S. 708; Mills v. U. S., 164

U. S. 644, 17 S. Ct. 210, 41 L. Ed. 584; Spies v. LS he

317 U. S. 492.)

: oe

The decision and opinion of the Court of Appeals in

this case has decided important questions of federal con-

stitutional law in a manner in conflict with decisions of

other Courts of Appeals on the same matter, which con-

stitutional questions have not been, but because of their

fi

extreme importance to all citizens, taxpayers, attorneys

and accountants of these United States, and to the goy-

ernment should be settled by decision of this Court. The

decision is in conflict with LaLance & Grosjean Mfg. Co,

v. Haberman Mfg. Co. (C. C. N. Y.), 87 Fed. 563; Me-

Knight v. U. S. (6th), 115 Fed. 972, 54 C. C. A. 358; In

re Food Conservation Act, 254 Fed. 893; Nicola v. U. §.

(3d), 72 F. 2d 780; Fina v. U. S., C. C. A. Colo., 46 F

2d 643; U. S. v. Andolschek (2d), 142 F. 2d 503; McCrea

v. Jackson (6th), 148 F. 2d 193; Kinard v. United States,

68 App. D. C. 250, 96 F. 2d 522, 523; Kreiner v. U. S.

(2d Cir.), 11 F. 2d 722, 731.)

If the opinion of the Court of Appeals is allowed to

stand:

a. All clients must communicate with their attorney, at

their peril, where an agent of the attorney is present;

b. A new precedent will be established depriving the

client of his constitutional and common law right to have

privileged communications between himself and his attor-

ney, merely because the attorney needed and employed and

expert (C. P. A.) to assist him in giving advice and per-

forming services for the client;

c. It will mean that every C. P. A. performing tax

services for a citizen where employed by an attorney, im-

mediately becomes an involuntary “‘stool pigeon” for the

government.

S—7~7—V~X“~7~_~ meee

) —25—

Wherefore, your petitioner respectfully prays that a writ

of certiorari be issue out of and under the seal of this

Honorable Court directed to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit commanding that court to

certify and send to this court for its review and determina-

tion on a day certain to be therein named, the full pro-

ceedings in this case, Numbered 11666, Sam Ormont, Ap-

pellant, v. United States of America, Appellee, and that

said judgment of the United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit, may be reversed by this Honorable Court

and that your petitioner may have such other and further

relief in the premises as to this Honorable Court may seem

meet and proper, and your petitioner will ever pray.

WILLIAM JENNINGS BRYAN, JR.,

SAM ORMONT,

Petitioner,

By Day B. Rosnetr and

BENJAMIN Kospon,

Attorneys for Petitioner.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1949.

BE nsctescticien

SaM ORMONT,

Petitioner,

VS.

Unitep STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR WRIT

OF CERTIORARI.

I.

The Opinion of the Court Below.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Cir-

cuit has not yet been officially reported.

II.

Jurisdiction.

1. The writ of certiorari is applied for under Rule 38

of this court and jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U. S. C.,

Section 1254, Subdivision 1, and is the proper remedy.

Ex parte Lau Ow Bew, 141 U. S. 583.

2. The opinion and judgment of the Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit was filed on June 3, 1949 [R. Vol.

V, pp. 1707-1708]. Petition for rehearing was timely

filed and denied on August 1, 1949 [R. Vol. V, p. 1710].

—28—

III.

Statement of the Case.

A full statement of the case has been given under “A”

in the petition for writ of certiorari, supra, and in the in-

terest of brevity, is not here repeated.

IV.

Specification of Errors.

The Court of Appeals Erred:

(a)

First. In holding that the petitioner’s constitutional

rights against twice being placed in jeopardy were not vio-

lated.

Second. In holding that the trial court had the right

to discharge the first jury without the defendant’s con-

sent after the jury was duly impaneled, accepted and

sworn, merely because while the jury was being impaneled

and before it was so passed, accepted and sworn, the U. S.

attorney had merely made reference to an O. P. A. case,

but no challenge to the panel or to any of the jurors was

interposed by any of the parties, including the judge, on

the ground of such reference, but all the parties with full

knowledge of said statement accepted the jury, thereby

conclusively waiving all grounds of challenge.

Third. In holding that the trial court under the cir-

cumstances above delineated had the right to again place

the defendant in jeopardy before another jury, where

proper objection to so doing had been previously made,

without violating the Fifth Amendment to the Constitu-

tion of the United States.

7 —29—

(b)

First. In holding that the petitioner’s constitutional

right against being compelled to be a witness or furnish

evidence against himself was not violated.

Second. In holding that where petitioner was sub-

poenaed and pursuant thereto was interrogated by the

Grand Jury respecting his profits for the year 1944 and

illegal payments made for slaughtering livestock he was

not immune from prosecution respecting his income and

income tax under any immunity statutes, even though the

government got its “pound of flesh” or its quid pro quod.

Third. In holding that communications to a Cr a

who was employed by and as the agent of the attorney

for the defendant to assist said attorney in preparing de-

fendant’s income tax reports, were not privileged.

Fourth. In holding that the cefendant’s constitutional

right against being compelled to be a witness against him-

self was not violated where the trial court intimated to

the U. S. attorney in the presence of the jury that the

U. S. attorney might resort to the processes of the Court

to compel the defendant to produce his books and pursuant

thereto the U. S. attorney caused the Marshal to serve a

subpoena duces tecum on the defendant in open court in

plain view and presence of the jury and where no ad-

monition to the jury to disregard such error and conduct

was given.

(c)

First. In holding that the trial court properly refused

to grant a motion to strike the testimony of witnesses

pertaining to counts of the indictment on which the court

had previously acquitted the defendant.

—30—

Second. In holding that the acquittal by the court of

the defendant for Counts 3 and 4 for prior years, 1942

and 1943 did not constitute res judicata so as to prevent

the prosecution from using said evidence for determining

wilfulness in the year 1944.

(d)

First. In holding that the activities of the U. S. at.

torney were merely subject to criticism and not preju-

dicial misconduct.

(e)

First. In holding that although instructions were con-

flicting, confusing, and erroneous that no prejudice was

suffered.

Second. In holding that the giving of an erroneous in-

struction was cured by giving a conflicting correct instruc-

tion.

Third. In holding that the trial court did not err in

failing to instruct the jury on his own motion that they

might find the defendant under the indictment guilty of

a misdemeanor under subdivision A of Section 3616 of

Title 26, U. S. C., and also Section 145A of the same

book.

Fourth. In holding that the trial court did not err

in giving to the jury an instruction which referred to a

statute merely by number and not instructing the jury as

to the substance of such statute.

Fifth. In holding that the trial court did not err in

instructing the jury that they might find the defendant

guilty if they found that he had attempted to evade his in-

come tax “in any manner” and not confining said instruc-

tion to the manner alleged in the indictment.

ee

V.

ARGUMENT.

1.

Double Jeopardy.

The petitioner was placed in double jeopardy in violation

of his constitutional rights when the trial court, without

the consent of the petitioner, and after all objections to

the panel and to the individual jurors had been conclusively

waived by all parties and the jury accepted and sworn,

thereafter made an order dismissing and discharging such

jury merely because, during the course of impanelment of

the jury the prosecuting attorney had made reference to

an O. P. A. case.

The Court of Appeals in its own decision correctly held

that neither petitioner, nor his counsel, consented to the dis-

charge of the jury and had not waived the constitutional

rights of the defendant to plead prior jeopardy.

See:

7 Corpus Juris Secundum 897, 922, Note 50;

Glover v. Bradley, 233 Fed. 721;

United States v. Newman, 25 F. 2d 357 (reversed

on other grounds, 28 F. 2d 1684) ;

Bounifield v. Thorp, 71 Fed. 924 (appeal dismissed,

83 Fed. 1002) ;

U. S. v. Watson, 28 Fed. Cas. No. 16651;

Price v. McComish, 22 Cal. App. 2d 92 at 97-99

(even though the stipulation was in open court

in the presence of his client) ;

Davidson v. Gifford, 100 N. C. 18, 6 S. E. 718;

Holt v. Statc, 160 Tenn. 366, 24 S. W. 2d 886;

wfifine

Jacobs v. State, 85 Tex. Crim. 505, 213 S. W. 628;

Redsted v. Weiss, 71 Cal. App. 2d 63;

State v. Crain, 22 Mo. 54, 100 S. W. 422;

Vol. 1, Thornton on Attorneys-at-Law, page 386,

Even consent of accused’s counsel to the discharge of

the jury after it has been impaneled and sworn is not

binding on the accused and does not prevent his reliance

on the plea of further jeopardy.

Cliett v. State, 167 Ga. 835, 147 S. E. 35 ( 39 Ga.

App. 510, 147 S. E. 724);

Hipple v. State, Tex. Crim. 191 S. W. 1150, I. R.

A. 1917(d) 1141, 22 C. J. S. 400 (Note 67).

As was said on page 386 of Volume I, Thornton on Attor-

neys-at-law :

“An attorney certainly cannot bind his client by

unauthorized acts which amount to a surrender in

whole or in part of any substantial right.”

To the same effect, see:

2 Ruling Case Law, p. 995;

3 Cal. Jur. 667 and authorities there cited.

Silence of the accused or his attorney does not constitute

consent to the discharge of a jury or a waiver of consti-

tutional inhibition against a second jeopardy for the same

offense.

Barrett v. Bigger, 17 F. 2d 699, cert. den. 274 U.

S. 752;

United States v. Watson, 28 Fed. Case No. 16651;

State v. Stiff, 117 Kan. 243, 234 Pac. 704;

Commonwealth v. Gray, 249 Ky. 36, 60 S. W. 2d

133.

i

EE

~

16 Corpus Juris 255, in which it is said:

“But the mere silence of a defendant, or his fail-

ure to object or to protest against an illegal discharge

of the jury before verdict, does not constitute a con-

sent to such discharge or a waiver of the constitu-

tional inhibition against a second jeopardy for the

same offense.”

The Court of Appeals said:

“The real issue presented is whether or not there

was a legal necessity supporting the discharge of the

first jury.” (Italics supplied.) [R. Vol. V, p. 1653. ]

The law established by this Honorable Court by an earlier

case, namely, United States v. Perez, 9 Wheat. 579, 6

L. Ed. 165 and which has been followed throughout the

course of the years is that the only time a trial court has

authority to discharge a jury before verdict is where:

“There is a manifest necessity for the act, or the

ends of public justice would otherwise be defeated.”

(Italics supplied.)

and further that:

“The power ought to be used with the greatest

caution, under urgent circumstances, and for very

plain and obvious causes.”

Wade v. Hunter, 336 U. S. 684;

Cornero v. U. S. (9th), 48 F. 2d 69.

Wharton’s Criminal Law (12th Ed.), Section 395, lays

down the rule as follows:

“The only causes for which a jury duly impaneled

and sworn to try an accused on a criminal charge can

be discharged by the court without a verdict are (1)

consent of the prisoner, (2) illness of (a) one of

—

the jurors, (b) the prisoner, (c) the court, (3) ab.

sence of a juryman, (4) impossibility of the jurors

agreeing on a verdict, (5) some untoward accident

which renders a verdict impossible, and (6) extreme

and overwhelming physical or legal necessity.”

In the case at bar there was no “manifest necessity” for

discharging the jury, there was no probability that the

ends of public justice would otherwise be defeated, there

was no probability that it would be impossible for the first

jury to agree upon a verdict, there was no untoward ac-

cident which rendered a verdict impossible, there was no

extreme or physical or legal necessity for discharging the

jury, and in addition thereto, there was no consent of the

defendant, Ormont, no illness of a juror or of the defend-

ant or of the court, no absence of any juryman. On the

contrary, the court discharged a jury, which had been ac-

cepted by all parties and sworn long after the claimed

reason had occurred. The only time the court would have

been authorized to discharge the jury or for any of the

parties to have objected to or challenged any juror, or

the whole panel, would have been before it was accepted

and sworn. No such objection or challenge was interposed

or intimated by any party, but on the contrary, all parties

accepted the jury as constituted after full knowledge of

the fact and ground which was the basis for the belated

motion of Mr. Katz. By so passing and swearing the

jury all parties and the court thereby conclusively waived

any and all objections and challenges to the jury, either

as a whole or individually. (Italics supplied.)

See 35 Corpus Juris 346, Section 404%, where it is

stated:

“It is well settled that a failure to challenge or

object operates as a conclusive waiver if the ground

———

: 5

of objection is known to the party at the time the

jury is impaneled, * * *” (Italics supplied. )

Citing:

U.S. v. Smith, 27 Fed. Cas. No. 16,341, 1 Sawy. 277,

and cases from Ala., Ark., Cal., Conn., Ga., Ill. Ind.,

Iowa, Kan., Ky., La., Me., Md., Mass., Mich., Minn.,

Miss., Mo., Nebr., Nev., N. H., N. J., N. M., N. Y., Ohio,

Okla., Pa., S. C., S. D., Tenn., Tex., Utah, Va., W. Va.,

Wis., England, and in Bac. Abr. “Juries” 365 it is said:

“No juror can be challenged without consent after

ne hath been sworn either in criminal or civil cases,

unless it be for some cause which happened since he

was sworn.”

See also 50 Corpus Juris Secundum 1009, Section 251 and

many authorities there cited.

Carruthers v. Reed (C. C. A. Ark.), 102 F. 2d 933.

cert. den. 307 U. S. 643, 83 L. Ed. 1523;

Welsing v. U. S., 218 Fed. 369 (134 GC. &. 177);

State v. Wilson, 204 La. 24, 145 2d 873;

State v. Dedge, 101 N. J. L. 131, 127 A. 139;

Monday v. State, 160 Tenn. 258, 23 S. W. 2d 656;

McKensie v. State (Tex. Crim.), 11 S. W. 2d 578,

111 Tex. Crim. 299.

It is reversible error for a court to exclude a juror or

discharge a jury after it has been sworn for a cause which

merely affords a ground of challenge which the parties

have waived.

O’Brian v. Com., 9 Bush. (Ky.) 333, 15 Am. R.

715;

Underwood v. State, 179 Ala. 9, 60 S. 842;

Walker v. State, 153 Ala. 31, 45 S. 640;

ett a I

—

Van Blaricum v. People, 16 Ill. 364, 63 Am. D.

316;

Crow v. State, 89 Tex. Cr. 149, 230 S. W. 148:

Black v. State, 9 Tex. App. 328;

Montague v. Com., 10 Gratt. (51 Va.) 767;

Cornero v. U. S. (9th), 48 F. 2d 69, 74;

Jackson v. Superior Court, 10 Cal. 2d 350, 74 P.

2d 243;

State v. Willie, 130 La. 454, 58 So. 147;

Cooley’s Constitutional Limitations, 6th Ed., 399,

Thompson & Merriam on Juries, Sec. 273;

Bishop, New Crim. Section 1014, 1015;

State v. Slorah (Me.), 106 Atl. 768, 4 A. L. R. 1256,

1260, where it is said as follows:

“Practically all authorities, with but few excep-

tions, agree that jeopardy begins when a respondent

is put upon trial before a court of competent juris-

diction, upon an indictment sufficient in form and

substance to sustain a conviction, and the jury has

been charged with his deliverance. The jury is said

to be charged with his deliverance when they have

been impaneled and sworn.” (Italics supplied.)

A jury once duly impaneled and sworn becomes a part

of the tribunal in which the defendant has a vested right

to that specific jury of which right he cannot be divested

without his consent.

People v. Young, 100 Cal. App. 18;

Hartzell v. United States, 72 F. 2d 569, cert. den.

a5 S. Ce. 216;

Craig v. United States, 81 F. 2d 816 (C. C.A.

Cal.), 83 F. 2d 850;

50 Corpus Juris Secundum 927, Note 5, and au-

thorities cited.

aaa

The decision of the Court of Appeals was based upon

its assertion that the dismissal of the jury was a matter

of “discretion” on the part of the trial court. The first

error in that premise is that the trial court did not pretend

to exercise “discretion,” but based its ruling on the er-

roneous premise that jeopardy had not attached, as the

judge in ruling on petitioner’s motion for dismissal and

plea of former jeopardy said:

“The Court: I was under the impression that the

motion was made on behalf of both defendants. Even

so, in considering the matter on the merits, ' do not

think the motion for a once in jeopardy plea is well

taken. While the jury was sworn, there was not even

a witness sworn, no opening statement to the jury,

and there was nothing that the jury could decide it

on. There was no evidence, no presentation of any

kind, and J think there has to be more than the mere

swearing of a jury to place a defendant once in

jeopardy. The motion will be denied.” [R. Vol. I,

p. 304.] (Italics supplied. )

_—

The court was not called upon to exercise any discretion.

Petitioner never at any time so much as intimated that

the jury, in which he then had a vested right, should be

discharged or that the court should pass upon the propriety

of discharging same. The mere fact that Mr. Katz, as

attorney for Mr. Himmelfarb only, long after he had

waived all objections to the jury made a motion in behalf

of his client to discharge the jury could not form the basis

for the court to discharge the jury so far as Mr. Ormont

was concerned. There was nothing to prevent the court

from proceeding to trial before that jury so far as Mr.

Ormont was concerned, and, in fact, as finally developed,

there should never have been a joint trial as Mr. Ormont

was acquitted on Count 2 and Mr. Himmelfarb was ac-

a

quitted on Count 1, and those were the only Counts jp

which both were charged and the final result was that Mr,

Ormont alone was tried on Count 1.

Lastly, the Court of Appeals was in error in holding

that under the circumstances of this case, the trial court

was vested with any discretion. The decision of the Court

of Appeals, if allowed to stand, extends the exception to

the constitutional provision against being twice placed in

jeopardy and adds an exception that never heretofore has

been applied, and one which, if affirmed, will in the future

constitute an authority which practically nullifies the con-

stitutional inhibition, and leaves the matter of double

jeopardy purely a matter of discretion rather than a con-

stitutional right.

The decision of the Court of Appeals in this case is

not in consonance with its decision of Cornero v. U. S.,

49 F. 2d 69, wherein it held that the general rule is that

where a jury had been impaneled in a criminal case, jeop-

ardy had attached, and in such case the plea of former

jeopardy should be sustained. And that the only excep-

tion to such a plea is where “urgent necessity” exists or

“in order that the ends of public justice may not be

defeated” the Court may discharge a jury without the

consent of the defendant, but then the Court went on to

state:

“It is true that there is language used by the

courts in the foregoing cases which, divorced from

its context and applied as authority for the general

proposition, would sustain the rule advocated by

the government in the case at bar. We are here

dealing, however, with a fundamental right of a

person accused of crime, guaranteed to him by the

Constitution, and such right cannot be frittered away

or abridged by general rules concerning the wm-

portance of advancing public justice,”

| —39—

2.

Petitioner Was Immune From Prosecution.

Petitioner having been subpoenaed before the Grand

Jury and pursuant thereto having been interrogated with

respect to having made profits during 1944 which of

course would be directly related to his income and income

tax and having also been interrogated with respect to

having made over-payments for slaughtering in violation

of the O. P. A. and which under the law would not have

been properly deductible from his income it follows that

he was made immune thereby from being prosecuted for

any crime under any statute, including the charge em-

braced in the indictment in this case, and this whether

or not his testimony before the Grand Jury brought forth

any incriminating answers since it was possible that the

questions might have brought forth incriminating an-

swers and the jury could have asked him questions that

would have been incriminating. This was so held in

United States v. Adolschek (2d), 142 F. 2d 503, 506;

United States v. Monia, 317 U. S. 424, 87 L. Ed. 376;

United States v. Armour & Co., 64 F. Supp. 855 and

authorities cited.

The opinion of the U. S. Court of Appeals is in

conflict with the following authorities that hold that

where a witness is so compelled to testify before a

Grand Jury he is immune from prosecution under the

particular provision of law being investigated but under

every other statute and law.

United States v. Andolschek (2d), 142 F. 2d 503 ;

Counselman v. Hitchcock, 142 U.S. 34;

Boyd v. United States, 116 U. S. 616, 6 S. Ct. 524,

29 L. Ed. 746.

—40—

In the case of United States v. Mona, supra, this Hon-

orable Court granted defendant immunity even though

he did not claim the privilege against incrimination al-

though in the case at bar the prosecuting attorney stated

that the petitioner and the other witnesses didn’t sign

waivers of immunity (R. Vol. I, p. 276).

The United States Court of Appeals reached its con-

clusion by the simple process of omitting the facts in

the opinion (Vol. V, pp. 1662-1663) as to the discus-

sion had before the Grand Jury with respect to the

profits made by the defendant. It is immaterial whether

the testimony given by Ormont before the Grand Jury

was remote as it covered the subject matter upon which

the government could have interrogated the defendant,

and even using the yard stick laid down in the dissenting

opinion in the Monia case, supra, which is by far a more

stringent norm than that set by the majority, the de-

fendant still ought to be entitled to immunity for the

reason that the government got its quid pro quod from

the Ormont testimony for the reason as appears from

the top of page 1663, R. Vol. V, of the U. S. Court

of Appeal’s opinion, that King and the Southern Cali-

fornia Meat Company entered pleas of guilty to their

indictment. We quote from the case of United States

v. Monia, 317 U. S. 424, 87 L. Ed. 376 as follows:

“The legislation involved in the instant case is

plain in its terms, and on its face, means to the

layman that if he is subpoenaed, and testifies, he

is to have immunity. Instead of being a trap for

wail

the government, as was the original act, the statutes

in question, if interpreted as the government now

desires, may well be a trap for the witness. Con-

gress evidently intended to afford government of-

ficials the choice of subpoenaing a witness and putting

him under oath with the knowledge that he would

have complete immunity from prosecution respecting

any matter substantially connected with the trans-

actions in respect of which he testified, or retaining

the right to prosecute by foregoing the oppor-

tunity to examine him.”

As was said in the Andolschek case, supra, where the

defendant was subpoenaed and testified regarding the

withdrawal by permittees from his warehouse of alcohol,

the Court quotes from Section 3115 (a), Volume 26,

U.S.C.A., Internal Revenue Code then said:

“No doubt, as the prosecution says, this is directed

against “permittees”; but when Andolschek allowed

“permittees” to withdraw “alcohol subject to tax,”

which they could not have done without his con-

nivance, he abetted them in violating section 3115

(a), and by so doing made himself a principal in

their crime. * * * Andolschek could not be forced

to testify to that conduct unless he was immune not

only from prosecution under Section 3115 (a), but

under every other statute, Section 4047 (e) included.”

(Italics supplied. )

—42—

3.

Privileged Communications.

The U. S. Court of Appeals completely ignored the

rights of the defendant to be entitled to the privilege

existing between attorney and client. Its decision js

not only in contravention of the common law, but is

likewise in conflict with the case of Lalance & Grosjean

Mfg. Co. v. Haberman Mfg. Co., 87 Fed. 563 (C. C.

N. Y.), where the Court held as follows:

“

. . » questions of science and art are frequently

so mingled with questions of patent law, in con-

troversies arising upon some patent, that a party

substantially retains an expert to conduct the case

almost as associate counsel with the solicitor. In

such case it would seem fair to apply the same rule

to the expert as to the counsel.”

Then the Court said:

“It does, however, appear that he was retained by

plaintiffs as an expert to assist them in the presenta-

tion of their case. As such witness did seem to

come within the privilege suggested in the former

memorandum—as similar to that of counsel.” (Ital-

ics supplied. )

Rule 26 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure,

18 U. S. C. A. (following Sec. 687) provides:

“The admissibility of evidence and the competency

and privileges of witnesses shall be governed, except

when an act of Congress or these rules otherwise

provide, by the principles of the common law as

they may be interpreted by the courts of the United

States in the light o1 reason and experience.”

—3—

The Common Law is laid down in Walshon v. Stainton,

71 Reprint 357, 2 Hem & M. 1, where the Court held:

“The principle is established that where a person

has occasion to employ a solicitor, and the solicitor,

in order to enable himself to advise on the matter,

calls in some other person to assist him and to give

his opinion, such communications are as much priv-

ileged as if they came from the solicitor himself.

In such a case the person called in (here it was an

accountant) is pro hac vice the solicitor’s clerk.”

(Italics supplied. )

To the same effect:

& Wigmore on Evidence, (3rd Ed.) Section 2301,

p. 584;

Also see

70 C. J. 501, Section 538.

Hawes v. State, 88 Ala. 37, 7 So. 302.

As a matter of fact, the witness, Malin, being a C. P. A.

(R. Vol. 3, p. 1091), the Tax Court and the Treasury

Department endowed the C. P. A. with the same priv-

ileges as a lawyer under their rules (see Rule 2 “b”

United States Code Annotated, Title 26 I. R. C., Sec.

3200 to end, p. 603). The Tax Court recognizes that

an accountant who practices before them has the same

privileges as a lawyer, including privileged communica-

tions (see Internal Revenue Bulletin, Volume XV-2,

July-December, 1936, p. 341). Also, see regulations

for the recognition of agents and attorneys, made by

the Secretary of the Treasury, under authority of Statute

1844, July 7, U. S. Code, Title 5, Section 261, Section

2, paragraph e:

“An agent enrolled * * * shall have the same

rights, powers, and privileges and be subject to the

same duties as an enrolled attorney, —

oe

It is to be noted that Mr. Malin, the C. P. A., was

retained by Mr. Mirman, the then attorney for the de

fendant, who specifically hired Mr. Malin for the purpose

of securing help from Mr. Malin in order to work out

some income tax matters for Mr. Ormont (see R. Vol,

III, p. 1094). (Italics ours.)

It is common knowledge, of which the Court can take

judicial note, that by reason of the maze of complications

in which the Income Tax Law is enshrouded—that most

of the taxpayers require the assistance of an “expert”

in figuring out and reporting their tax—and further that

Certified Public Accountants enter the field of such ex-

perts far more than attorneys—and usually an attorney

has to call upon such accounting expert to assist him in

solving the income tax accounting problems of his clients,

That was the exact situation in this case. Petitioner’s

attorney, Mr. Mirman, was not skilled in said tax law

and “required the assistance of an expert” and accordingly

said attorney—not Mr. Ormont—employed Mr. Malin

to assist him. Therefore, the reasons and logic employed

in patent case (Lalance, etc., v. Haberman, 87 Fed. 563)

apply in all respects to this case.

No additional cases are required to be cited for the

rule that the privilege communications prevails between

the client and the enrolled agent, or the agent of the

attorney, which in this instance happens to be a C. P. A.

To hold as the Court of Appeals held that the privilege

was waived merely because:

“Malin’s presence was not indispensable in the

sense that the presence of the attorneys secretary

may be. It was a convenience which, unfortunately

for the accused, served to remove the privilege char-

acter of whatever communications were made.” (R.

Vol. V, p. 1672.)

—_—

- =

is to disregard the common law, the law as set forth by

all the text book writers like Wigmore and Wharton,

and to disregard the decisions laid down by the several

states of the United States, and to disregard the opinion

as laid down in the Lalance case, supra, and to create

and establish a rule of law that is not in consonance

with the reason for the rule—violates the purpose for

which the rule was created—and which rule the U. S.

Court of Appeals concedes to be the law of privilege,

namely: “secure the client's subjective freedom of con-

sultation” (p. 18 of the opinion of the Court of Appeals)

and to “condone a dangerous laxity on the part” of the

Courts. There is absolutely no basis, in fact or in law,

warranting a conclusion reached by the Court of Appeals,

and is demonstrative of the fact that the Court of Appeals

was more interested in affirming the judgment than it

was in protecting the rights of the defendant or estab-

lishing sound precedents of law for the reason that a

-sading of the opinion clearly indicates that while numer-

ous cases are cited in favor of the defendant in each

instance the Court of Appeals extended previous exist-

ing law just one step farther by throwing the burden on

the defendant in each and every instance to show that

the defendant was not prejudiced by the error complained

or to create law that does not exist.

If indispensability is the basis for the test of privilege,

then is it not true that whether privilege exists can

never be determined in advance and until the trial cour.

exercises its discretion? We then become a government

of men and not of laws, and a client or a lawyer can

never be certain as to when the privilege exists or is

waived.

elifiion

4.

Compelling the Defendant to Be a Witness Against

Himself in Violation of the Fifth Amendment of

the Constitution.

It is error to request a defendant in a criminal case

in the presence of a jury to testify or produce documents

against his will, although he makes no objection.

McKnight v. United States, 6th, 115 Fed. 972,

927;

14 Encyclopedia of Evidence 646, 647;

State v. Merkley, 74 Iowa 695, 39 N. W. 111;

Gillespie v. State, 5 Okla. Crim. 546, 115 Pac. 620

(Ann. Cas. 1912, p. 259).

In the Gillespie case, supra, the Court said:

“When such a demand is made, a defendant must

accept the alternative of either producing the letters,

and thereby incriminating himself, or of having the

jury place the strongest possible construction against

him upon his failure to do so. If this can be done,

the very life, body, and soul of the Constitution

would be violated and trampled upon.”

On page 1686-1687, R. Vol. V, the Court of Appeals

said:

“It was clearly improper for the marshal to serve

the defendant in the court room in the presence of

the jury; however, there is support for the court's

conclusion that the defendant did not suffer preju-

dice thereby, the court stating that there is no

—

oe

showing that the jurors knew of the service and,

too, that most likely they didn’t; the court imme-

diately quashed the subpoena. In light of these

facts, we do not find that there was reversible error.”

The Court of Appeals in reaching that conclusion

violates and disregards the established law of numerous

cases for the reason that the law is that a denial or

deprivation of accused’s constitutional rights has been

held to be presumptively prejudicial, Fina v. U. S., C. C.

A. Colo., 46 F. 2d 643; Lonergan v. U. S., 88 F. 2d 591;

Cert. granted 58 S. Ct. 18, 302 U. S. 663, 82 L. Ed. 512,

revised 58 S. 430, 303 U. S. 33.

A presumption of law exists that one who looks sees,

or a person is presumed to see that which he could see

by looking. The presumption is itself evidence.

Awtio v. Miller, 92 Mont. 150, 11 P. 2d 1039;

Horton v. Atcheson, Topeka, Santa Fe Ry., 161

Kan. 403, 168 P. 2d 928;

Bleirer v. Wolf, 23 Wash. 2d 368, 161 P. 2d 145;

Calvert v. City of Seattle, 23 Wash. 2d 817, 162

P. 2d 441;

O’Brien v. Schellberg, 59 Cal. App. 2d 764, 140

P. 2d 159, 162;

Collier v. Los Angeles Ry. Co., 60 Cal. App. 2d

169, 140 P. 2d 206.

-— =

Westberg v. Wilde, 14 Cal. 2d 360, 94 P. 2d 590, the

Court held this presumption is itself a species of evidence

and it shall prevail and control unless it is overcome by

satisfactory evidence.

The Court attempted to distinguish the McKnight case

from the Ormont case on the facts, but a reading of the

incident involved will demonstrate that the Court disre.

garded the McKnight case. As a matter of fact at no

time was the jury ever instructed to disregard the error

and as to the quashing of the subpoena, the same occurred

during the absence of the jury and to make matters

worse in the case at bar and as additional reason for

reversing the case, the U. S. Attorney argued to the

jury that the books were in evidence, even though the

books were never in evidence. The error complained of

was caused by the Judge indicating to the U. S. Attorney

that the processes of the Court might be available to

compel the defendant to produce his books, and thereafter,

the Marshal in uniform with the United States Marshal

badge in plain view came right in front view of the

jurors and handed the petitioner, Ormont, the subpoena.

The Court remarked that she was a lady, and it is very

obvious that if the Court noticed the lady, the jurors

would likewise in conformance with the law above laid

down. Throwing the burden upon the defendant to

prove prejudice is indicative of the Court’s desire to

affirm the decision in violation of the general principles

of law as above laid down.

——

| Ai

5.

The Trial Court Committed Error in Denying Defend-

ant’s Motion to Strike All the Evidence Pertain-

ing to Counts 3 and 4 Upon Which the Court Had

Previously Acquitted Said Defendant.

Res JUDICATA

Immediately after the defendant, Ormont, was acquitted

on Counts 3 and 4, the defendant moved the trial Court

to strike all of the testimony and evidence given by the

government witnesses, Eustice and Line, (R. Vol. IV,

pp. 1374, 1629, 1640) for the years 1942 and 1943 upon

the grounds that the evidence was incompetent, irrelevant,

;mmaterial, and prejudicial, if it was allowed to remain

before the jury. Error in such ruling is apparent from

the fact that Mr. Eustices’ testimony accounted for over

five hundred pages of the record (Eustices’ testimony

will be found starting on p. 507 and ending on p. 1014),

three fourths of which was confined to counts 3 and 4,

and by such ruling the prosecuting attorney was not only

able to and did argue the evidence for the years 1942

and 1943, but was permitted, as a result thereof, to

falsify the evidence and draw false conclusions therefrom.

The holding of the Court of Appeals that such ruling

was not error is contrary to the case of Gart v. United

States, 294 Fed. 66, and cases therein cited wherein it

is said:

“The scope and purpose of testimony concerning

similar offenses is limited as has been laid down in

the Supreme Court of the United States in the case

of Boyd v. U. S., 142 U. S. 454, 12 S. Ct. 292,

35 L. Ed. 1077, and Hall v. U. S., 150 U. S. 76,

14 S. Ct. 22, 37 L. Ed. 1003. Only in exceptional

cases is the proof of such transactions admissible.

Where a case falls within the exception, the proof

—_§0—

must be clear and convincing. It will be unn

to discuss the point in this case as to whether or not

this line of testimony fell within the exception to the

general rule governing the proof of similar offenses,

for the reason that in the case at bar we have no

proof of an offense, but merely proof of a suspicious

circumstance.

“The rule which should apply to this case, has

been clearly stated by Judge Sanborn, of our own

circuit, in the case of Paris v. U. S., 260 Fed. 529,

at page 531, 171 C. C. A. 313, 315, in the following

language:

“*The general rule is that evidence of the admis-

sion by a defendant of an offense similar to that for

the alleged commission of which he is on trial is

not admissible to prove his commission of the latter

offense. Boyd v. United States, 142 U. S. 454, 456,

457, 458, 12 Sup. Ct. 292, 35 L. Ed. 1077; Hall v.

U. S., 150 U. S. 76, 81, 82, 14 Sup. Ct. 22, 37 L. Ed.

1003; 16 C. J. 186, Section 1132. To this general

rule there are exceptions. One of them is that,

where the criminal intent of the defendant is indis-

pensable to the proof of the offense, proof of his

commission of other like offenses at about the same

time that he is charged with the commission of the

offense for which he is on trial may be received to

prove that his act or acts were not innocent or

mistaken, but constitute an intentional violation of

the law. In cases falling under such an exception to

the rule, however, it is essential to the admissibility

of evidence of another distinct offense that the proof

of the latter offense be plain, clear and conclusive.

Evidence of a vague and uncertain character regard-

ing such an alleged offense is never admissible.

Baxter v. State, 91 Ohio St. 167, 110 N. E. 456;

State v. Hyde, 234 Mo. 200, 136 S. W. 316, Ann.

—51—

Cas. 1912D 191; 16 C. J. 592; People v. Sharp, 107

N. Y. 427, 469, 14 N. E. 319, 1 Am. St. Rep. 851;

State v. La Page, 57 N. H. 245, 259, 24 Am. Rep.

69; Fish v. U. S., 215 Fed. 545, 549, 132 C. C. A.

56, L. R. A. 1915A 809. Such evidence tends to

draw the attention of the jury away from a consid-

eration of the real issues on trial, to fasten it upon

other questions, and to lead them unconsciously to

render their verdicts in accordance with their views

on false issues rather than on the true issues on

trial. Speaking of evidence of other similar offenses,

the Circuit Court of Appeals of the First Circuit,

in the case last cited, well said: ‘Evidence of this

character necessitates the trial of matters collateral

to the main issue, 1s exceedingly prejudicial, is subject

to being misused, and should be received, if at all,

only in a plain case.” (Italics supplied.)

See also:

Farkas v. U. S., 2 F. 2d 644;

Weil v. U. S., 2 F. 2d 145.

The Court of Appeals cites a number of cases wherein

similar offenses were admitted (see Vol. V, pp. 1677 to

1679). A perusal of the cases cited by the Court of

Appeals will immediately reveal that in none of the cases

cited was a defendant acquitted on any Count.’

Mn Allis v. U. S., 155 U. S. 117, 15 S. Ct. 36, 39 L. Ed. 91,

evidence was admitted for the purpose of showing an intent in the

plan followed; the defendant there went on trial on all counts.

(Italics supplied.) Likewise Tinkoff v. U. S. (7th), 86 F. 2d 866,

879. In the case of Chattock v. U. S., 77 F. 2d 961, cert. den. 296

U. S. 609, there was no acquittal on any of the counts for the

defendant. In the case of Emmich v. U. S. (6th), 298 Fed. 5,

cert. den. 266 U. S. 608, the defendant there admitted an adjust-

ment or liability for the previous year and the defendant was not

rea or tried for any prior years. In the case of Rose v. U. S.

(10th), 128 F. 2d 622, 625, the defendant there was found guilty

> i at likewise in the case of Malone v. U. S. (7th), 94

—

To leave this voluminous evidence before the jury could

do nothing but confuse and warp their judgment as was

said in the case of People v. Albertson, 23 Cal. 2d at

580, 581:

“Here, the fact that the circumstantial evidence

of the prior merely suspicious occurrences was ad-

duced in great quantity so that it comprises a large

part of the voluminous record, cannot serve as a

substitute for ‘substantiality’ where none exists,

This erroneously admitted proof shows, if anything,

that it must by very reason of its voluminousness

have tended to confuse the jurors and warp their

judgment, Circumstantial proof of a crime charged

cannot be intermingled with circumstantial proof of

suspicious prior occurrences in such manner that

it reacts as a psychological factor with the result

that the proof of the crime charged is used to bolster

up the theory or foster suspicion in the mind that

the defendant must have committed the prior act,

and the conclusion that he must have committed the

prior act is then used in turn to strengthen the

theory and induce the conclusion that he must also

have committed the crime charged. This is but a

vicious circle.” (Italics supplied.)

As to Mr. Link’s testimony, more was addressed to

those two years than to 1944 and the Court, as to this

witness, said:

‘‘* * * T may be pardoned for saying this, but if

I had to weigh Mr. Link’s testimony I wouldn’t give

it much credence, * * *” (R. Vol. II, p. 1260).

With this vast amount of testimony and exhibits left in

before the jury, which at best was only confusing and

which certainly had no place therein, after the acquittal

on those two counts, and Government’s counsel’s argument

—

| _

referring to the great mass of evidence was sufficient in

itself to prejudice the jury against the defendant, not-

withstanding the acquittal by the Court on those counts

and on that evidence, but by leaving the evidence before

the jury and then instructing them as he did that they

might consider it on the matter of intent, there can be no

question bu what that fact alone influenced the jury and

caused a miscarriage of justice herein. The holding of

the above cited California case is in ccnsonance with the

rule laid down in the case of Fish v. U. S., 215 Fed. 545,

549, 132 C. C. A. 56, L. R. A. 1915a 809. The holding

of the United States Court of Appeals in extending the

rule just one step farther overlooks the general rule of

the inadmissibility of the similar offenses in cases of like

crimes is admissible in crimes involving intent of the

defendant, only as indispensable to the proof of the of-

fense for the purpose of showing that the act or acts were

not innocent or mistaken, but constitute an intentional

violation of the law; and in accordance with the authori-

ties above cited in cases falling under such exceptions to

the rule it is essential to the admissibility of evidence of

such other offenses that the proof of the latter offense be

plain, clear, and conclusive. Evidence of a vague and

uncertain character regarding such an alleged offense is

never admissible. The United States Court of Appeals

overlooks entirely the reason for the rule and fails to

realize that the issue as to whether or not the defendant

was guilty of the offenses and acts complained of in 1942

and 1943 were based upon and became res judicata by the

court’s acquittal of the defendant, Ormont. There is no

argument with the cases cited by the Court, except that

they are inapplicable to the situation at bar for in all the

EN

cases cited the defendant went to trial on all the counts,

We, therefore, have a situation of the United States

Court of Appeals stating in effect that the trial court

has the discretion of admitting into evidence any facts

that might fall far short of a completed offense, even

though the trial court stated that he thought he was help-

ing the defendant by leaving the mass of evidence in, for

the Court said:

“T thought that it benefited the defendants, leay-

ing it in, as much as it did the government, by virtue

of your cross-examination of the defendant Eustice.”

[R. Vol. IV, p. 1610.]

The defendant at all times questioned the benefit and still

does. The U. S. Court of Appeals in attempting to dis-

tinguish the admissibility of the similar offenses on the

grounds that they were merely admitted “to show his in-

tent to act wilfully, his intention, and his state of mind.”

[R. Vol. V, p. 1678.]

The rule laid down is in violation of all the holdings

pertaining to the general principle of res judicata. Corpus

Juris, Volume 34, Section 1154, pages 742 and 743, lays

down the rule and the ground of the doctrine after citing

numerous authorities for its holdings.

The doctrine of res judicata, first definitely formulated

in the Duchess of Kingston’s case, embodies two main

rules which may be stated as follows: (1) The judgment

or decree of a court of competent jurisdiction upon the

merits concludes the parties and privies to the litigation

and constitutes a bar to a new action or suit involving

the same cause of action either before the same or any

other tribunal. (2) Any right, fact, or matter in issue,

—7—

—55-—

and directly adjudicated upon, or necessarily involved in,

the determination of an action before a competent court

in which a judgment or decree is rendered upon the merits

is conclusively settled by the judgment therein and cannot

again be litigated between the parties and privies whether

the claim or demand, purpose, or subject matter of the

two suits is the same or not. The rules afford a logical

and convenient method of dividing the numerous cases

falling within the principle of res judicata. (In re Food

Conservation Act, 254 Fed. 893.)

The potency and cogency of the rule above laid down

is all the more apparent when it is realized that the court

itself adjudicated the very facts in favor of the defendant.

The doctrine of res judicata is applicable in criminal

cases, U. S. v. Oppenheimer, 242 U. S. 85, 61 L. Ed. 161,

37 Sup. Ct. Rep. 68, where Justice Holmes said as fol-

lows:

“In this respect the criminal law is in unison with

that which prevails in civil proceedings.”

This Court in closing stated:

“The safeguard provided by the Constitution

against the gravest abuses has tended to give the

impression that when it did not apply in terms, there

was no other principle that could. But the 5th

Amendment was not intended to do away with what

in the civil law is a fundamental principle of justice

(Jeter v. Hewitt, 22 How. 352, 364, 16 L. ed. 345,

348), in order, when a man once has been acquitted

on the merits, to enable the government to prosecute

him a second time.”

The Court having acquitted the defendant on Counts

3 and 4 of necessity adjudicated the fact that the of-

otiities

fenses complained of in the years 1942 and 1943 were

not committed and that the acts therein complained of

were not “offenses.” To, therefore, hold that the evidence

falling far short of the necessary elements required to

convict the defendant can be used to secure the conviction

for 1944 is, indeed, a violation of the defendant’s consti-

tutional rights of being twice placed in jeopardy and in

the language of the Oppenheimer case:

“is to do away with what in the civil law is a funda-

mental principle of justice.”

6.

Misconduct of Counsel.

We have set forth in our petition quotations from the

government counsel’s argument, and have shown therein

the falsity of such statements as were made, and we re-

spectfully submit that a reading of those quotations is suf-

ficient to show that the conduct of the prosecuting attor-

ney was deliberate and intended to prejudice the jury

against the defendant, and must have had that exact effect

and deprived defendant of a fair and impartial trial to

which he was entitled under the constitution. Keeping in

mind the fact as the Court of Appeals stated on Record

volume V, page 1680:

“We agree that the fact that the prosecutor holds

a position of importance lends weight to his utterances

and gives serious influence on the jury.”

See also:

Latham v. United Statics, 226 Fed. 420.

wall

It has been held that a single misstep on the part of

the prosecutor may be so destructive of the right of a de-

fendant to a fair trial that reversal must follow.

Pharr v. United States, 48 F. 2d 767 (C. C. A. 6);

Pierce v. United States, 86 F. 2d 949.

It has also been held that it is the duty of the Court

of its own motion to see to it that the defendant has a

fair trial and that the prosecutor does not misstate the

facts.

Pierce v. United States, 86 F. 2d 949;

Berger v. United States, 295 U. S. 78, 89, 55 S.

Ct. 629, 632.

See also:

United States v. Perlstein, 120 F. 2d 276;

Weathers v. United States, 117 F. 2d 585;

New York Central R. R. Co. v. Johnson, 279 U. S.

310, 49 S. Ct. 300, 73 L. Ed. 706.

It was also held that even though some transgressions

may be slight so that if they had been promptly corrected,

no prejudice would be suffered, but where they have not

been corrected, such a course of improper conduct com-

pes reversal.

Pierce v. United States, 86 F. 2d 949;

Volkmor v. United States, 13 F. 2d 594 (C. C.

A. 6);

Frants v. United States, 62 F. 2d 737 (C. C. A. 6).

And see also:

Berger v. United States, 295 U. S. 78, 89, 55 S.

Ct. 629, 632, 79 L. Ed. 1314.

_

In the case at bar as was stated in the Pierce case, %

F. 2d 949, as follows:

“was neither slight nor confined to a single instance,

but so pronounced and persistent that the cumulative

effect upon the jury cannot be disregarded as incon-

sequential.”

The prosecuting attorney in his argument to the jury

falsely accused the defendant of “falsifying his books,”

although he had been rebuked by the Court during the trial

for making a similar statement {R. Vol. II, p. 504] and

as we have heretofore shown, the books were made cor-

rect instead of falsified. Such an argument in effect

charged the defendant with a crime of falsifying his

books and this argument taken in connection with the

erroneous instruction given by the Court to the effect

that if they found that the defendant had “in any man-

ner to evade” [R. Vol. IV, p. 1575] could have brought

about the verdict in this case. This misconduct alone was

sufficient to deprive defendant of his fair trial, but in ad-

dition it was the further misstatements by the government

attorney to the effect that the books were in evidence—that

$50,000 worth of bonds had been purchased, and no ex-

planation of where the purchase money came from except

$8,000 cash (these bonds were all bought in 1943, and

this is the evidence we moved to strike out after the ac-

quittal of the defendant on the count based on 1943)—

that the false statement that none of the checks intro-

duced by defendant were taken into account by the gov-

ernment expert as unreported income. Certainly, the

accumulative effect of such a course of improper conduct

deprived the defendant of a fair and impartial trial on the

merits and should compel a reversal.

—_

—59—

7.

Erroneous, Confusing, Conflicting Instructions and

Failure to Instruct.

It was the duty of the Court on its own motion to fully

and fairly instruct the jury on all the law relating to the

facts of the case.

Kinard v. U. S., 68 App. D. C. 250, 96 F. 2d 522,

523;

People v. Putman, 20 Cal. 2d 885 at 890, 891, 129

P. 2d 367;

People v. Best, 13 Cal. App. 2d 606, 57 P. 2d 168.

The defendant has a right to rely upon the correctness

of instructions presented by prosecuting attorney. People

y. Best, supra. In this case, defendant had a right to as-

sume that the U. 5. attorney had correctly quoted the In-

ternal Revenue Regulations concerning books or records.

The Court should have instructed the jury on its own

motion of the lesser offenses contained within the indict-

ment which would be the offense denounced by Title 26,

U. S. C., Section 3616, Subdivision A, a misdemeanor

and which section reads as follows:

“Whenever any person * * *

(a) False returns. Delivers or discloses to the

collector or deputy and false or fraudulent list, re-

turn, account, or statement with intent to defeat or

evade the valuation, enumeration, or assessment in-

tended to be made; or,” (Italics supplied. )

—6Q0—

And likewise should have instructed the jury under Syh

division A of Section 145, under Title 26 U. S. C.

Nicola v. U. S. (3rd), 72 F. 2d 780;

Kinard v. U. S., supra;

People v. Putman, supra, and

16 Corpus Juris Secundum Section 2451, p. 1023,

It was an incorrect statement of the law and a preju-

dicial instruction that the Court gave wherein it stated that

income “earned”’ in a given calendar year must be reported

for that calendar year. This was highly prejudicial in

face of the fact that the prosecuting attorney argued to

the jury as follows:

“He was selling meat. He marked on the invoices

the price for the meat. In addition to that he gets

side money, extra payments, additional money. He

would like to call them gifts. He would like to call

them anything else.

“But I ask you, what are those payments? Do you

think they were payments in the business, which Mr.

Ormont earned, as he reported, some $12,000, in the

year 1944; he had such a fine clientele that they gave

him gifts, approximately eight-twelfths of the sum

he reported in 1945; about $220,000.00. Do you be-

lieve he got $220,000.00 in free and voluntary gifts?”

[R. Vol. IV, p. 1470.]

Throughout his argument he was contending to the jury

that the joint venture return which extended from the Ist

day of May, 1944 to the 30th day of April, 1945, thereby

having eight months in 1944 that the jury could take into

account in their calculation that Mr. Ormont had “earned”

eight-twelfths of such amount without any evidence that

ae

EE

=—

he had “received” any such sum and further the foregoing

statement of $220,000.00 finds absolutely no support in

the record.

Therefore, the foregoing erroneous instruction that they

could consider the amount Mr. Ormont had “earned” and

find him guilty because he had not reported such earning

in the year in which it was earned, regardless of when it

was received was in conflict with the law and with the

subsequent instruction given by the Court to the effect

that a taxpayer on a cash basis need report income only

for the year in which he “received” the income.

y

The Court of Appeals on page 1685 on Record volume

V regarding this instruction on earned income said:

“This latter statement is corrected by subsequently

saying in the instruction that he need not report any

income if filing on a cash basis until cash is actually

received.”

This was so stated in a subsequent disconnected instruc-

tion, but in any event the Court cites no authorities in sup-

port of its statement, and this for the obvious reason that

the authorities are to the contrary as held by the authori-

ties in general and as set forth in 16 Corpus Juris 1054,

where it is stated:

“Where an erroneous instruction consists of a pal-

pable misstatement of the law, it is not cured by a

conflicting or contradictory one which correctly states

the law on the point involved, unless the erroneous

instruction is expressly withdrawn, for the jury, as-

suming, as is their duty, that the instructions are all

=

correct, may as readily follow the incorrect as the

correct.” (Italics supplied.)

Mills v. United States, 164 U. S. 644, 17 S.

210, 41 L. Ed. 584;

Glover v. U. S., 147 Fed. 426, 77 C. C. A. 450;

People v. Grahm, 176 App. Div. 38, 162 N. Y.

S. 334;

People v. Maughs, 149 Cal. 253;

Funderburk v. State, 145 Ala. 661, 39 So. 672;

Lane v. State, 44 Fla. 105, 32 So. 896;

Beach v. State, 138 Ga. 265, 75 S. E. 139;

Barnes v. State, 61 Tex. Cr. 37, 133 S. W. 887;

Com. v. Molten, 230 Pa. 399, 79 Atl. 638;

State v. Helton, 234 Mo. 559, 137 S. W. 987;

Hoge v. People, 117 Ill. 35, 48, 6 N. E. 796.

In the case of Hoge v. People, 117 Ill. 35, 48, 6 N. E.

796, the Court said:

“Where one instruction says that the law is one

thing with regard to a particular matter or state of

circumstances, and another instruction says that the

law is another and materially different thing with re-

gard to precisely the same matter or state of circum-

stances, the instructions are repugnant, and no repeti-

tion of the correct instruction can cure the error of

those that are incorrect.”

The instruction of the Court which we have heretofore

quoted in the petition and found on page 1575, Vol. IV of

the Record to the effect that:

“any person who wilfully attempts in any manner to

evade or defeat * * *”

_—_

= ae

And then reads the full section of the Code using the same

language was highly prejudicial in this case for the rea-

son that the indictment charged the defendant with the

specific manner that it was claimed that he had attempted

to evade, namely, by filing a false and fraudulent income

and victory tax return, and withholding knowledge from

the Internal Revenue Department, and having so charged

the defendant, the allegations became a material part of

the indictment and the burden was upon the prosecution

to prove one or both of such means and manner and in

order to warrant a verdict.

See:

Kutler v. United States, 79 F. 2d 440;

United States v. Howard, 26 Fed. Case No. 15403,

3 Sumn. 12, 15;

People v. Deysher, 2 Cal. 2d 141, 40 P. 2d 259;

People v. Handley, 100 Cal. 370, 34 Pac. 853;

People v. Lapique, 10 Cal. App. 669, 103 Pac. 164;

People v. Strassman, 112 Cal. 683, 45 Pac. 3;

Hightower v. State, 39 Ga. Appeals 674, 148 S. E.

300;

Naftager v. United States, 200 Fed. 494.

See:

31 Corpus Juris 837, Section 445.

Also the giving of an instruction which referred to an-

other section of the code [R. Vol. IV, p. 1583] without in-

structing the jury as to the contents of said section was

highly prejudicial.

See:

Butler v. Gill, 34 Okla. 814, 127 Pac. 439, 440.

a

8.

Closing.

We believe that it is fitting that the writ be here granted

because this case presents to the Court many issues of

general and national importance. It deals with the most

fundamental constitutional rights, privileges, and immuni-

ties, the preservation of which it has repeatedly been held,

is the highest function of the jundiciary. It is important

and its implications reach far beyond the confines of this

case. There are certain questions that must be answered

here.

Shall a defendant be deprived of a specific jury that has

been duly sworn and accepted in which it is admitted

that a defendant has a property right? Shall a defendant

be deprived of a common law right of consultation with

his attorney because the attorney requires expert assistance

in order for him to give sound legal advice to his client?

Shall a defendant be deprived of his right of immunity

after the government extracts its “pound of flesh” or quid

pro quod? Shall we no longer protect the defendant from

his right not to be a witness against himself? Shall we

say that any number of errors are slight and not preju-

dicial no matter how erroneous, merely because the judi-

ciary is attempting to confirm a conviction, irrespective of

the defendant’s right to a fair trial? Shall we condone

a practice of a trial court and a Court of Appeals although

admittedly saying the prosecuting attorney committed

error?

The conduct, if approved by the opinion of the Court

of Appeals if followed gives rise to establishment of a

new concept of legal jurisprudence, namely, that the bur-

den of proof is upon the defendant, and it is necessary

—

for the defendant to prove himself innocent rather than

for the state to prove him guilty. It is a reincarnation

and legalization of those practices which originally gave

rise to the demand for these constitutional safeguards. We

have fought a war to safeguard the principal of democracy

_to make certain that our way of life shall continue—

and that the basic rights of individuals shall be main-

tained. Now under the guise of protecting the revenue of

the country we are seeing the steady and deadly denial

of rights of individuals. We have witnessed in the opin-

‘on of the United States Court of Appeals, the frittering

away of constitutional rights of a defendant.

We respectfully submit that this Honorable Court should

issue the writ prayed for.

WILLIAM JENNINGS BRYAN, JR.,

Day B. RosBNettT and

BENJAMIN KospDOoN,

Counsel for Petitioner.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.