Opposition Brief — Atwell Building Corp. v. Sound, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1949

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

JITICE © SUD T * |

FILE COPY | ~ FILED

APR 11 1949

oe || CHARLES ELMORE Lit

Gc

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, A. D. 1948.

No. 661

In THE MatTTer OF

SOUND, INC., a Corporation,

DeEsror.

ATWELL BUILDING CORPORATION, a Corporation,

Petitioner,

vs.

SOUND, INC., a Corporation, anp FRED DONENBERG,

TRUSTEE,

Respondents.

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT, SOUND, INC., DEBTOR, IN

OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CER-

TIORARI.

‘ Joun A. Busstan,

208 South La Salle Street,

Chicago 4, Illinois,

Attorney for Respondent,

Sound, Inc., Debtor.

THE GUNTHORP.WARREN PRINTING COMPANY, 210 WEST JACKSON, CHICAGO

INDEX.

PAGE

Opinions ££ fF ere 1

Daletithae «oon nnn sninne ots 660000608 00006neSkST bs 2

Respondent’s Statement of the Case................ 3

Reasons Relied Upon for Denial of Writ............ 7

AveeMORE oon cccrccesccsesenssacescesensestsesecas 9

TaBLe or CasEs.

Adams v. Ore Knob Copper Co., 7 Fed. Rep. 634, 639.. 21

Bishop v. Trustees of Bedford Charity, 28 L. Jour. 25. 28

Bowman v. Foot, 29 Conn. 331, 336.................. 17

Donovan v. Murphy, 217 Ill. App. 31, 36.............. 16

Fifty Associates v. Howland, 11 Met. 99............ 28

Gomek we ‘Weis GR GR Bis oan ccdcccteciatiavecicn 21

Knickerbacker L. Ins. Co. v. Morton, 96 U. S. 234,

Ste Se Gey Sica +c bie chainls :oumnicdcwiendee’ 12

In Re Larkey, 214 Fed. 867, 871.................... 25

Magnum v. Coty, 262 U. S. 159, 67 L. Ed. 923........ 7-9

Medinah Temple Co. v. Currey, 162 Ill. 441, 445...... 21

Model Dairy Co. v. Foltis-Fischer, 67 F. (2d) 704, 706,

Moffat Tunnel Improvement Dist. v. Denver & S. L.

Ry. Co., 45 F. (2d) 715, 730

Montello Brick Works, 163 Fed. 624, 628, Affirmed 167

MEE Hide bas Wha GAdald da 0 ee ea dend ode kan Ox

Morrison v. Smith (Maryland), 44 Atl. 1031, 1032.... 16

Schneider v. Springmann, 25 F. (2d) 255, 256

Sexton v. Chicago Cold Storage Co., 129 Ill. 318, 332.. 16

ii

Shannon v. Jacobson, 262 Mass. 463, 160 N. E. 245... 9

Smith v. Goodman, 149 Ill. 75, 84..................., 16

Sproul v. Help Yourself Store, 16 Fed. 2d 554........ 21

Stewart v. Griffith, 217 U. S. 323, 30 S. Ct. 528, 529,

DU A PEL oho ceccausecyenbsengsensechebecsen 1

Title & Trust Co. v. Hisey, 95 F. (2d) 555. ........... 10

U. S. Trust Co. v. Schaeffer, 542 N. Y. S. 2d 530...... 2]

Re Walker, 98 F. (3d) BBL, BBS... ww. wwe ccwceces 143]

Waukegan Times Theatre Corp. v. Conrad, 324 IIl.

a, Gs GUE shai ncewarsccvesesccsicevess 15-16-20-25

Webster v. Nichols, 104 Ill. 160, 171................ 1)

Weece v. Gaunt, 327 Ill. 21, 22... 1... ccc cece eens 16

Willoughby v. Lawrence, 116 Ill. 11, 12.............. 16

Woodworth & Harding, 75 (App. Div.) 54, 59........ 24

Text Books anp STaTuTEs.

Fe eee. Sr rere eee err 9

Amer. Jur. Vol. 19, page 488, Sec. 28............... 26-27

Kent’s Commentaries, 14th Ed., page 133.......... 20-27

-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, A. D. 1948.

No. 661.

In THE MATTER OF

SOUND, INC., a Corporation,

Desror.

ATWELL BUILDING CORPORATION, a Corporation,

Petitioner,

vs.

SOUND, INC., a Corporation, anv FRED DONENBERG,

TRUSTEE,

Respondents.

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT, SOUND, INC., DEBTOR, IN

OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CER-

TIORARI.

OPINIONS OF COURT BELOW.

On January 23rd, 1948, after notice to all counsel of

record, the Special Master to whom the matter was re-

ferred, after hearings and consideration of the evidence,

documentary and oral, rendered his written report to the

Court (R. 70 to 77, inel.). His findings of fact and conclu-

sions of law (R. 72-74) recommended the dismissal of

Atwell Building Corporation’s Petition for Possession of

Leased Premises.

No written objections were filed by Counsel for Atwell,

under Rule 53 E(1-2) of Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

a

-

The District Court, on February 6th, 1948, took the

Master’s Report and Atwell’s oral objections thereto, the

nature of which do not appear of record under advisement

(R. 77), and on February 9th, 1948, the Court confirmed

the Master’s Report and overruled Atwell’s oral objections

thereto (R. 77).

The Circuit Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

affirmed the Decision of the District Court dismissing At-

well’s Petition. No petition was filed by Atwell for rehear-

ing and the Court’s mandate was issued and filed in the

District Court January 13th, 1949 affirming the decree of

the District Court cismissing Atwell’s Petition for Pos-

session of the Leased Premises, with costs. The Court's

opinion (R. 109) is reported in 171 Fed. (2d) 253.

JURISDICTION.

Petitioner does not show any Jurisdictional Grounds for

a review on a Writ of Certiorari in that Counsel fail to

show:

(a) That the decisi... of the Court of Appeals is in

conflict with the decision of another Circuit Court of Ap-

peals on the same matter;

(b) That the decision in this case is in conflict with the

decisions of this Court on the same subject matter;

(c) No showing of public interest has been made. This

litigation is between private citizens of the State of IIli-

nois and involves purely contractual rights. The legal

principles involved have long been settled by the Courts of

this State. The Federal cases on the same subject ui-

formly follow the Rules of Decision of the Courts of this

and other States.

RESPONDENT’S STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

Petitioner’s statement of the case is not correct and is

an unfair presentment of the facts.

The summary of the facts as stated by the Circuit Court

of Appeals (R. 109) is a correct statement and affirms the

findings of the Master (R. 70-74), as confirmed by the lower

Court (R. 77).

Petitioner, Atwell Building Corporation (hereinafter

sometimes referred to as ‘‘ Atwell’’), leased to Respondent,

Sound, Inc. (hereinafter sometimes referred to as

“Sound’’), the Eighth Floor of its building, located in

Chicago, for light manufacturing purposes, for the term

commencing October Ist, 1945 and ending September 30th,

1950 (Ex. ‘‘B’’, R. 22).

The Lease contained the following pertinent provision:

‘Third :—That in order more effectually to secure

to the lessor the payment of rent and the performance

of all other covenants herein contained, it is agreed as

an additional condition of this lease that the filing of

any petition in bankruptcy or insolvency by or against

the lessee shall constitute a breach of this lease and

thereupon ipso facto, and without entry or other ac-

tion by the lessor, this le>se shall terminate and not-

withstanding any other provisions of this lease the

lessor immediately upon said termination and without

action or notice, shall be entitled to recover as liqui-

dated damages for such breach an amount equal to

the amount of the rent reserved in this lease for the

unexpired portion of the term thereof, plus the esti-

mated cost of obtaining a new tenant for the demised

premises, less the fair rental value of the premises for

said unexpired portion of said term.”’

a

4

On November 8th, 1946, an involuntary petition in bank.

ruptey was filed against Sound, Inc., but no adjudication

in bankruptcy has been entered. On February 28th, 1947,

Sound filed its Petition in the bankruptcy proceeding for

reorganization under Chapter X and Fred Donenberg was

appointed Trustee.

Counsel for Atwell concede that soon after the filing of

the Petition for adjudication against Sound, the President

of Atwell learned of the pendency of the bankruptcy pro-

ceeding (R. 42) but nevertheless being aware of its pend-

ency, Atwell billed Sound for rent in accordance with the

terms of the lease for the months of December, 1946 and

January, 1947. See Trustee and Sound Ex. 2 a-b-c and d

and 7 a-b-e and d, R. 68 and following pages.

Sound paid Atwell’s bills as rent and the payments were

accepted as rent by Atwell. Findings, based on these ex-

hibits and oral evidence (R. 42, 43, 55, 56, 57, 57) were

made by the Master, confirmed by the District Court and

affirmed by the Court of Appeals.

From February, 1947 to and including August, 1947,

Atwell billed Sound for use of the leased premises but

payments were made as rent, and as found by the Master

and confirmed by the Court (R. 73, 74, 77), were accepted

by Atwell as rent.

This practice continued until January, 1948, when Atwell

again changed and billed Sound as rent and all rent stands

paid as rent to and including March, 1949.. The monthly

payments of rent made from August, 1947 to and including

March, 1949 are not shown in the record, but we believe

counsel for Atwell will, as he did in the Court of Appeals,

concede that these payments have been made.

Atwell at no time during Donenberg’s Trusteeship billed

him for rent or for use of the premises. Statements in

each month were billed in the name of Sonnd, Ince.

5

Sound’s Answer (R. 24) to Atwell’s Petition for Posses-

sion set forth the defense that Atwell’s acceptance of rent

with knowledge of Sound’s bankruptcy and its subsequent

conduct constituted as a matter of law a waiver of the pro-

visions of paragraph 3 of said lease.

This defense and the substantial evidence offered and

received in evidence, as found by the Master, confirmed by

the lower courts, constitute the crux of the whole contro-

versy.

The bankruptcy proceeding was instituted November 8,

1946 (R. 2). Sound’s Petition to Reorganize was filed Feb-

ruary 17, 1947 (R. 11) and approved by the Court Febru-

ary 28, 1947 (R. 15). On March 3, 1948, a Joint Plan for

the Reorganization of Sound was filed in this proceeding

(R. 81), and a hearing thereon was set for April 23, 1948,

notice of which was given to all of Sound’s creditors, in-

eluding Atwell.

This Plan (R. 81) included a provision for the confirma-

tion of Atwell’s lease and further provided that the court’s

decree confirming the Plan would include adequate provi-

sions for the protection of lessor’s interest under said lease

as shall be determined by the court to be just and equitable.

On March 5, 1948 (R. 82), Donenberg, Trustee, filed his

written declaration confirming said lease. No objection was

made by Atwell to the filing of the Joint Plan nor to the

form of Donenberg’s declaration confirming the lease (R.

82). In the orderly course of procedure, the matter came

on to be heard on April 23rd, 1948, no objections being

filed by any party in interest, including Atwell. Upon

hearing, the court, by appropriate order, approved the

Joint Plan and set a hearing to consider the confirmation

thereof on May 25th, 1948.

Again, in the orderly course of procedure, after due

notice to all creditors, including Atwell, the Plan, as ap-

6

proved by the court, came on to be heard, and upon hearing,

was confirmed by appropriate decree, and, again, Atwell

made no objection. The decree included appropriate pro.

visions that Donenberg, Trustee, should, on June 15, 1948

turn back to Sound, Inc., the Debtor, all of its property

and assets pursuant to the Joint Plan, as approved and

confirmed by the court, and, accordingly, on said date,

Donenberg, Trustee, by appropriate bills of sale and as.

signments, returned to Sound, Ine. all of its property and

assets, including all of its right, title and interest in and

to the Atwell lease. Again, with full knowledge of the

proceedings, Atwell made no objection or protest.

Subsequently, on November Ist, 1948, Donenberg, as

Trustee of Sound in the reorganization, filed his Final

Report and Account as such Trustee, which Report and

Account was approved by the court and he was discharged.

Therefore he has no further interest in the proceeding.

REASONS FOR DENIAL OF THE WRIT.

I.

Under Rule 38(5) of this Court and the principle set

forth in Magnum v. Coty, 262 U. 8. 159, this Court, in the

exercise of its sound judicial discretion, should, under the

facts and the law applicable to this case, deny Petitioner

a review on certiorari.

Il.

The Master, the District Court and the Court of Appeals

were correct in deciding that Atwell, by the billing and

acceptance of rent, with full knowledge of Sound’s bank-

ruptey, waived the breach under paragraph 3 of the lease

and that the lease was not ipso facto terminated on

Sound’s bankruptey and thereby rendered ‘‘Void.’’ The

lease was only rendered ‘‘Voidable’’ at Atwell’s election

and it chose to waive the breach.

III.

A condition in a lease once waived by the lessor with

full knowledge that grounds for termination had occurred,

he will not be heard to say thereafter that the lease was

terminated.

IV.

Under all the authorities, the question whether Atwell

waived the breach of the lease with knowledge of Sound’s

bankruptey was a question of fact, and the Master found

that Atwell, having billed and accepted rent from Sound,

with knowledge of such bankruptcy, constituted a waiver

of such breach and the Master’s findings (R. 73), based

upon substantial evidence and adopted by the District

Court and affirmed by the Court of Appeals, should not be

set aside, unless clearly erroneous.

V.

Atwell, by its conduct, is estopped from asserting that

the lease is not now in force, and, under the facts and

circumstances of this case, the question has become moot.

VI.

A Court of bankruptcy is a Court of Equity and this

proceeding in Equity calls for the application of Equitable

Principles.

VII.

Our answer to Contentions of Counsel for Atwell and

eases cited by him.

ARGUMENT.

I.

Under Rule 38 (5) of This Court and the Principle Set Forth

in Magnum v. Coty, 262 U. 8. 159, This Court in the Ex-

ercise of Its Sound Judicial Discretion, Should, Under the

Facts and the Law Applicable to This Case, Deny Peti-

tioner a Review on Certiorari.

Under Rule 38(5) of this Court, in light of this Court’s

interpretation of the rule, as stated in Magnum v. Coty,

262 U. S. 159, 67 L. Ed. 922, this Court should deny Peti-

tioner a review on Certiorari.

In the Magnum case, at page 163, this court said:

‘“‘The question how the court should exercise this

power next arises. The jurisdiction to bring up cases

by certiorari from the circuit courts of appeals was

given for two purposes; first, to secure uniformity of

decision between those courts in the nine circuits; and,

second, to bring up cases involving questions of impor-

tance which it is in the public interest to have decided

by this court of last resort. The jurisdiction was not

conferred upon this court merely to give the defeated

party in the circuit court of appeals another hearing.

Our experience shows that 80 per cent of those who

petition for certiorari do not appreciate these neces-

sary limitations upon our issue of the writ.’

Moreover, under Title 28 U. S. C. A., Sec. 725, and cases

cited, the rule of this case is controlled by the decisions of

this State and no Federal question is really involved.

Sec. 725 provides:

‘‘Laws of States as Rules of Decision. The laws

of the several States, except where the Constitution,

treaties, or statutes of the United States otherwise

10

require or provide, shall be regarded as rules of

decision in trials at common law, in the courts of the

United States, in cases where they apply (R. §,

& 721).”’

And in Title Ins. € Trust Co. v. Hisey, 95 Fed. (2d) 555,

the court recognized the principle that Federal courts

should take cognizance of the state law upon questions

of this character. The court said at page 561:

‘‘The California courts have settled beyond a per-

adventure of a doubt that ‘the acceptance of rent by

the landlord from the tenant, after the breach of a

condition of a lease, with full knowledge of all the

facts, is a waiver of the breach, and precludes the

landlord from declaring a forfeiture of the lease by

reason of said breach’ (citing cases).’’

However, as will be seen from a review of the cases

cited and discussed under our proposition II the Federal

Courts have uniformly followed the Rules of Decisions of

the State Courts on the question involved in this case.

IL.

The Master, the District Court and the Court of Appeals

Were Correct in Deciding That Atwell, by the Billing

and Acceptance of Rent, with Full Knowledge of Sound's

Bankruptcy, Waived the Breach Under Paragraph 3 of

the Lease and That the Lease Was Not Ipso Facto Ter-

minated on Sound’s Bankruptcy and Thereby Rendered

‘*Void.’’ The Lease Was Only Rendered ‘‘Voidable”’ at

Atwell’s Election and It Chose to Waive the Breach.

Counsel also concede that Atwell, with knowledge of

Sound’s bankruptcy, billed Sound for rent and accepted

monthly payments as rent.

The Circuit Court of Appeals cites the case of

a

Moffat Tunnel Improvement Dist. v. Denver & S. L. Ry. Co.,

45 Fed. (2nd) 715, 730; in support of its holding that as

paragraph 3 of the lease was for the sole benefit of Atwell,

it had the right on Sound’s bankruptcy to waive the breach,

acknowledge the continued existence of the lease, and that

having done so, the Master and District Court were right

in finding, based upon substantial evidence, that Atwell

was thereafter bound by its course of conduct. In the

Moffat case, the Circuit Court of Appeals for the Tenth

Cireuit (pp. 30, 31) said:

“Other amici curiae contend that the contract is

illegal because the railway is not bound for the full

term, in that by Section 9 of the lease, the lease is

terminated without notice and the lessor may re-enter

if there is a default in the payment of rental for a

year or more. Such provisions are familiar in leases

and contracts of sale, and are uniformly held to be

for the benefit of the lessor or vendor and may be

waived by him. The contention that a party to a

contract may relieve itself of liability by default in

its own obligations thereunder, is unusual but not

unprecedented. A similar contention was made in

Stewart v. Griffith, 217 U. 8. 323, 30 8. Ct. 528, 529,

o4 L. Ed. 782, 19 Ann. Cas. 639, where the language

was even stronger, the contract there providing that

in case of default, the down payment ‘is to be for-

feited and the contract of sale and conveyance to be

null and void and of no effect in law.’ There was a

default and the seller brought an action for the balance

of the price, and the buyer contended that by for-

feiting the down payment, he was relieved of further

liability, because the contract was then null and void.

But the Supreme Court held otherwise saying:

‘“‘*The condition plainly is for the benefit of the

vendor, and hardly less plainly for his benefit alone,

except so far as it may have fixed a time when Stewart

might have called for performance if he had chosen to

do so, which he did not. This being so, the word

It

a

12

‘*void’’ means voideble at the vender’s election, and

the condition may be insisted upon or waived, at his

choice (citing cases)’ ’’ (Italics ours).

The Court of Appeals also cites Schneider v. Springmann,

25 Fed. (2nd) 255, 256, wherein the Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit (pp. 255) said:

**(1,2) Two considerations lead us to agree with

the District Judge. One is that ordinarily the party

for whose benefit a condition is provided has an

election whether or not to insist upon the condition;

and this principle applies to leases as well as to other

contracts. ‘Leases which * * * declare that on the

happening of the contingency the demise shall there-

upon become null and void (mean) that the forfeiture

may be enforced * * * at the option of the lessor.’

Ewell v. Dagg, 108 U. 8. 148, 149, 2 S. Ct. 408, 412

(27 L. Ed. 682). See, also, Taylor’s Landlord and

Tenant (8th Ed.) & 492°’ (Italics ours).

To the same effect is Montello Brick Works, 163 Fed.

624, and affirmed by the Circuit Court of Appeals, 167

Fed. 482.

Here it is to be noted that the Court in the Moffat case,

supra, cites the case of Stewart v. Griffith (supra) decided

by this Court.

In the \Stewart case, Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes

wrote the opinion concluding that the forfeiture provision

was plainly for the benefit of the vendor alone. That the

vendor had the right to call for strict performance which

he chose not to do. Thus, as a matter of law, as applied

to our case, the word ‘‘Void’’ means ‘‘Voidable’’ at

lessor’s option and that the condition may be insisted upon

or waived at lessor’s choice.

Another case in point decided by this court and also

cited in the Moffat case is Knickerbacker L. Ins. Co. v.

Morton, 96 U. S. 234, 24 L. Ed. 689.

13

This Court, in an able opinion by Justice Bradley, page

692, said :

‘‘Forfeitures are not favored in the law. They are

often the means of great oppression and injustice.

And, where adequate compensation can be made, the

law in many cases, and equity in all cases, discharges

the forfeiture, upon such compensation being made.

“The case of leases is not without analogy to the

present. It is familiar law, that, when a lease has

become forfeited, any act of the landlord indicating

a recognition of its continuance, such as distraining

for rent, or accepting rent which accrued after the

forfeiture, is deemed a waiver of the condition (citing

cases).

. . . . *

‘‘And then the learned Judge cites authorities, going

back to the Year Books, to show that a determination

of a man’s election in such cases may be made by

express words, or by act; and that if, by word or by

act, he determines that the lease shall continue in

existence, and communicates that determination to the

other party, he has elected that the other shall go on

as tenant.

. > . . o

‘*These cases show the readiness with which courts

seize hold of any circumstances that indicate an elec-

tion or intent to waive a forfeiture’’ (Italics ours).

Therefore, contrary to the contention of Counsel for

Atwell, this Court has decided the principle involved in

this case, t.e., that the acceptance of rent with knowledge

of an absolute cause for forfeiture is a waiver of the

condition.

Provisions similar to paragraph 3 of Atwell’s lease are

familiar in leases and have been uniformly held to be for

the sole benefit of the lessor and thus may be waived by

14

him. There are no cases to the contrary and counsel for

Atwell do not cite any. The Circuit Court of Appeals iy

our case also cite Model Dairy v. Foltis-Fischer, 67 Fed,

(2nd) 704, wherein the Circuit Court of Appeals for the

Second Cireuit recognize this rule in stating that the

lessor’s election not to exercise the right of re-entry on

the bankruptcy of the lessee is final and may be inferred

from receipt of rent accruing after the breach, and at

page 706, said:

‘*Though delay as such is immaterial, if the lessor

elects not to re-enter his decision is final; it will be

inferred from the receipt of rent accruing after the

breach, or from any other recognition of the continu.

ance of the term. Greene’s Case, 1 Leonard 262;

Green’s Case Croke’s Eliz. 3; Pennant’s Case, 3 Coke,

64(b); Goodright v. Davids, 2 Cowp. 803; Roe y.

Harrison, 2 Term Rep. 425; Courts have been at times

astute to find that the lessor has so elected (Italics

ours).

and at page 707, continuing, said:

‘** * * The question of ‘estoppel’ is closely related

to what we have just said. Indeed, it is hard to find

more in it than election; because, if the lessor’s con-

duct onee indicates an election not to pursue his

remedy, he may not pursue it, whether the lessee has

acted in reliance on it or not.’’

And In re Walker, 93 Fed. (2d) 281, 283, 346, the court

in effect said that although the debtor, as trustee, was not

authorized to pay any rent, if the lessors in fact received

the payments as rent, it would toll their re-entry. All the

Federal decisions we have been able to find follow the rule

as laid down by the Supreme Court of this state and the

courts of last resort of other states in holding that pro-

visions similar to paragraph third of Atwell’s lease do

not render the lease void upon lessee’s bankruptcy but

only voidable at lessor’s election. The leading case in

—

15

Illinois which has been cited with approval in many other

cases is Webster v. Nichols, 104 Ill. 160. The court, at

page 171, in holding that a provision in the lease against

the assignment of lessee’s interest to be for the sole benefit

of the lessor and that the receipt of rent subsequently

accruing from the tenant, knowing of a cause of forfeiture,

is a waiver of such forfeiture, said:

“The clause in the lease providing that the

premises shall not be assigned without the written

consent of the lessors, is clearly for the benefit of the

lessors only. It does not render the assignment when

otherwise made, absolutely void, but voidable only,

at the option of the lessors or their representatives.

** * ‘any act done by a landlord knowing of a cause

of forfeiture by his tenant, affirming the existence of

the lease, and recognizing the lessee as his tenant, is

a waiver of such forfeiture (1 Williams’ Saunders,

287; 2 Platt on Leases, 471; 1 Washburn on Real

Property, 454). The receipt of rent subsequently

accruing from the tenant by the landlord is such an

act, and the forfeiture thereby waived (Bleeker v.

Smith, 13 Wend. 530; Jackson y. Allen, 3 Cow. 220,

and authorities cited by Sutherland, J. 230).’ Ireland

v. Nichols, 46 N. Y. 416. See also, Shattuck v. Lovejoy,

8 Gray 204; Fisher v. Deering, 60 Ill. 114 (Italics

ours).’’

And in Waukegan Times Theatre Corporation v. Conrad,

324 Ill. App. 622 (1945), our Appellate Court in following

the rule laid down in Webster v. Nichols, supra, said at

page 632:

“This well recognized rule has its foundation, at

least in part, upon the fundamental rule, that one

having the exclusive right to terminate an executory

contract, must abrogate it altogether, if at all. He

cannot be heard to say it is valid for one purpose,

and, in the same breath, that it is invalid for all other

purposes, but is founded chiefly upon the principle of

common honesty and natural justice, which the law

16

exacts of mankind in their intercourse and dealings

with each other (Schimp v. Cedar Rapids Ins. Co.,

124 Ill. 354, 357). In the case at bar, as in Webster

v. Nichols, supra, appellants are attempting to enforce

rights under an assignment, by seeking to recover for

the unpaid fuel oil bill, under the terms of the lease,

and in addition to accepting the rent from the several

assignees, including appellee, they accepted rent from

appellee, without protest or condition, for the month

of September, 1938, after they had notice of the bank-

ruptcy of Silverman. Under the doctrine laid down

in Webster v. Nichols, supra, this was also a waiver

of forfeiture on account of such bankruptey.’’

To the same effect are the following Illinois cases:

Willoughby v. Lawrence, 116 Ill. 11, 12; Seaton v. Chicago

Cold Storage Co., 129 Ill. 318, 322; Smith v. Goodman,

149 Ill. 75, 84; Weece v. Grant, 337 Ill. 21, 22; Donovan v.

Murphy, 217 Ill. App. 31, 36, and many others could be

cited but none to the contrary.

This rule has been settled by the great weight of au-

thorities, if not by all, as will be seen by a review of the

decisions of the Courts of last resort of other states.

In the case of Morrison v. Smith, 44 Atl. Rep. 1031, 1032,

the Supreme Court of Maryland said:

‘‘The ordinary waiver of forfeiture occurs by an

acceptance of rent which became due after a breach

committed by the tenant. Tayl. Landl. & Ten. (7th

Ed.) Sec. 497. This seems to be the well recognized

rule of law on the subject, settled by the great weight

of authorities, if not by all. * * * We hold that upon

a proper construction of the lease, considering all its

terms and provisions, with the view of arriving at the

intention of the parties, it was votdable only upon a

breach of the covenant by the lessee, at the election

of the lessor, and not absolutely void, as contended for

by the appellant;’’ (Italics ours).

17

And in Bowman v. Foot, 29 Conn. 331, the Supreme

Court of Connecticut said, page 337:

‘‘High authority sanctions the idea that the accept-

ance of rent accruing after condition broken, is in law

a waiver of the forfeiture, and not evidence of such

waiver merely. It has also been said by judges of

eminence, that the right of the party who pays money

to control its application, constrains the lessor who

receives rent, tendered as such, to waive his claim of

forfeiture. The only point which we propose to settle

as the law of the present case is, that, upon the facts

stated, there was no legal determination of the lessee’s

ek or

“One of these covenants was for the payment of a

quarterly rent upon certain quarter-days named. In

a subsequent part of the instrument is a proviso of

the following tenor: ‘Provided, however, that if the

lessee neglects to pay the rent, etc., then this lease

shall thereupon, by virtue of this express stipulation

therein, expire and terminate, and the party of the

first part may, at any time thereafter, re-enter said

premises, and the same have and possess as of his

former estate.’

~ = * . =

page 338.

“It was the clear intent of the parties, whatever

they may have supposed to be the legal consequences

in detail of such a stipulation, to attach to the demise

a condition for the lessor’s benefit, upon the breach of

which he was authorized to compel the tenant to sub-

mit to a forfeiture of his tenancy.

“The legal interpretation of the instrument agrees

with this manifest intent. There is no peculiar sig-

nificance to the words ‘shall expire and terminate’.

They mean just as much, and just as little, as would

the more common phrase, ‘shall become void,’ if in-

serted at the same place. Indeed it appears that both

terms were employed together in a lease, the con-

struction of which was the subject of determination

in the case of Jackson v. Harrison, 17 Johns 66. It

was there provided that in case the rent should not

18

be paid ‘it should be lawful for the lessor to re-enter,’

etc. and that ‘the lease and estate thereby granted

should cease, determine and become utterly void, if

the lessor should elect so to consider it.’ It is well

understood that such expressions as these in leases

for years do not designate the non-payment of rent

as an event, like a death or a marriage, at the date

of which an estate shall cease at all events. If 0,

it would be in the power of the tenant, whenever his

leasehold property became unprofitable or onerous, to

relieve himself, at any pay-day, of his duty to retain

it, by simply violating his own covenants. Such a

construction would be a plain perversion of the intent

of the parties. Accordingly, such stipulations are now

universally taken to be for the advantage of the land.

lord. ‘Void’ means ‘voidable at his election.’ Jones

v. Carter, 15 Mees. & Wels., 718. ‘Expire and termi-

nate’ is also an elliptical phrase meaning ‘expire and

terminate at the lessor’s option.’ This principle of

construction leaves us nothing to do with a distinction,

which is said to prevail between freehold interests

and leases for years, requiring in one case, and not

requiring in the other, an entry or claim to divest an

estate wholly void by the breach of a condition. In

cases like the present, the estate is not wholly void by

reason of a breach. Compare Shep. Touch., pages

139 and 194. See also Doe v. Bancks, 4 B. & Ald. 401.

To ascertain the law of the case in hand, we must fill

up the ellipsis. The lease is to expire and terminate

after non-payment, at the option of the lessor, who

may then re-enter and annul the tenancy.

‘“‘This rendering of the contract makes the duration

of the lease contingent on the exercise by the lessor

of his right to terminate it. To denote how this is to

be done, the instrument, fairly read, implies that a

re-entry shall take place; the usual technical mode

prescribed in such contracts, indicating, in the case of

estates, less than freehold, not necessarily a literal

entry, but some proceeding that should in a significant

and decisive manner declare the forfeiture of the lease

and assert the landlord’s rights’’ (Italics ours).

—_— «

Thus, it clearly appears from the rule laid down in the

aforementioned cases, as applied to leaseholds, that an

ipso facto termination of forfeiture clause which renders

a lease void on breach thereof may be waived by the lessor,

as the word ‘‘void’’ means voidable, and that ‘‘expire and

terminate’? mean @xpire and terminate at lessor’s election,

and that, as the Circuit Court of Appeals said in our case,

the cases turn upon the conduct and intention of the

lessor with reference to his rights under the lease after

knowledge that a breach has occurred, and, therefore, if

Atwell did not want to treat the lease as terminated, it

had a right to do so.

Here it is to be especially noted that Atwell did not

avail itself of its right reserved in the aforementioned

| paragraph 3 of said lease to file a claim in Sound’s bank- |

ruptey for rent accruing after the date of bankruptcy. As |

a matter of fact, this was not necessary, as it has received

since the date of Sound’s bankruptcy all the monthly pay- |

ments of rent from Sound and has accepted same. Hence |

no injury.

| The Court of Appeals further said that based upon the

| facts of our case established by substantial evidence as

found by the Master and confirmed by the District Court,

it makes no difference to a court of bankruptcy, which is

in effect a court of equity, (paragraph 3) whether the

provision of the lease is termed a conditional limitation or

a condition subsequent. It provides for termination or

forfeiture upon breach of paragraph 3, and as we have

seen from a reading of the cases means ‘‘At Lessor’s

Option.’ Therefore, regardless of what the provision is

called, it being strictly for the benefit of the lessor, under

all the authorities, may be taken advantage of only by

him and him alone therefore, if he chooses, he may waive

it, which he did.

Here it is to be especially noted that Counsel for Atwell

does not answer the Court of Appeals decision to the effect

a

that it makes no difference whether paragraph 3 of the

lease is termed a conditional limitation or condition gub.

sequent. Atwell certainly was the only one that had the

right of re-entry for condition broken and, hence, there

appears to be no logical reason why it could not, if it

chose, waive the breach which the lower courts held it did,

We will show, under our Answer to Contentions of Coun.

sel for Atwell (XII), page 26 hereof, that the distinctions

between conditions and limitations are extremely subtle

and artificial, Kent’s Commentaries, 14th Ed., page 133,

20

Hl.

A Condition in a Lease Once Waived by the Lessor With

Full Knowledge That Grounds for Termination Had Oc-

curred, He Will Not Be Heard to Say Thereafter That

the Lease Was Terminated.

It was established by substantial evidence and found by

the Master and confirmed by the lower courts that Atwell

by the acceptance of rent waived the breach of the lease

with knowledge of Sound’s bankruptcy and as a matter of

law was therefore estopped from contending that the lease

was terminated by the institution of bankruptcy proceed-

ings.

As was said in Model Dairy Co. v. Foltis-Fischer, supra,

at page 707:

«* * * The question of ‘estoppel’ is closely re- |

lated to what we have just said. Indeed, it is hard to |

find more in it than election; because if the lessor’s —

conduct once indicates an election not to pursue his

remedy, he may not pursue it, whether the lessee has

acted in reliance on it or not.’’

Also, our Appellate Court, in the case of Waukegan

Times Theatre Corporation v. Conrad, supra, said:

‘‘A condition once waived is forever gone.”

_—

And the Court of Appeals so held (R. 110, 111):

‘Since the appellant did not treat the lease as ter-

minated, although it had full knowledge that the

grounds for termination had occurred, it will not be

heard to say afterwards that the lease had been ter-

minated.’’

IV.

Under All the Authorities, the Question Whether Atwell

Waived the Breach of the Lease With Knowledge of

Sound’s Bankruptcy Was a Question of Fact, and the

Master Found That Atwell, Having Billed and Ac-

cepted Rent from Sound, With Knowledge of Such

Bankruptcy, Constituted a Waiver of Such Breach and

the Master’s Findings (R. 73), Based Upon Substantial

Evidence and Adopted by the District Court and Affirmed

by the Court of Appeals, Should Not Be Set Aside, Unless

Clearly Erroneous.

The courts have uniformly held that whether there was

a breach of a lease with knowledge of the cause of for-

feiture, is a question of fact and whether there is a waiver

in a particular case is largely a matter of intention. To

this effect, Shannon v. Jacobson, Mass. 160 N. E. 245 ;

Grant v. White, 42 Mos. 285; U. §. Trust Co. v. Schaeffer,

042 N. Y. S. 2d 530; Sproul v. Help Y ourself Store Co.,

(1926; C. C. A. 3d) 16 F. (2d) 554; Adams v. Ore Knob

Copper Co., 7 Fed. Rep. 634, 639; Medinah Temple Com-

pany v. Currey, 162 Ill. 441, 445.

The Master found, based upon substantial evidence, oral

and documentary (R. 42, 43, 55, 56, 57, 68, and Sound’s

Ex’s. 1 to 10, inclusive), that Atwell, with knowledge of

Sound’s bankruptey, waived the breach by acceptance of

rent, and his findings were adopted by the District Court

ma

22

(R. 77) and approved by the Circuit Court of Appeals (R.

111), wherein the Court said:

‘*When the event upon which the termination was to

take place happened, a breach of the lease occurred,

The appellant had a right, since the provision was for

its benefit, to do one of two things—stand on the

breach and treat the lease as terminated, or ignore the

breach and acknowledge the continued existence of the

lease. Having done the latter, as the court found

upon substantial evidence, the appellant is bound by

its course of conduct.’’

V.

Atwell, by Its Conduct, Is Estopped from Asserting That

the Lease Is Not in Force, and, Under the Facts and Cir.

cumstances of This Case, the Question Has Become Moot.

The bankruptcy proceeding was instituted November 8,

1946 (R. 2). Sound’s petition to reorganize was filed and

approved February 28, 1947 (R. 15). On March 3, 1948

a Joint Plan for the Reorganization of Sound was filed in

this proceeding (R. 81) and a hearing thereon was set for

April 23, 1948, notice of which was given to all of Sound’s

creditors, including Atwell. This plan (R. 81) included

a provision for the confirmation of Atwell’s lease and

further provided that the court’s decree confirming the

Plan would include adequate provisions for the protection

of lessor’s interest under said lease as shall be determined

by the court to be just and equitable. Immediately, (R.

82) on March 5, 1948, Donenberg, Trustee, filed his written

declaration confirming said lease. No objection was made

by Atwell to the filing of the Plan nor to the form of

Donenberg’s declaration confirming the lease (R. 82). In

the orderly course of procedure the matter came on to be

heard on April 23rd, no objections being filed by any party

in interest, including Atwell, upon hearing the court by

——

appropriate order approved the Plan and set a hearing to

consider the confirmation thereof on May 25th. Again

in the orderly course of procedure, after due notice to all

creditors, including Atwell, the Plan as approved by the

court came on to be heard and upon hearing was confirmed

by appropriate decree and again Atwell made no objection.

The decree included appropriate provisions that Donen-

berg, Trustee, should on June 15, 1948, turn back to Sound,

Inc., the Debtor, all of its property and assets pursuant to

the Plan as approved and confirmed by the court and ac-

cordingly on said date, Donenberg, Trustee, by appropriate

bills of sale and assignments returned to Sound, Ine. all

of its property and assets, including all of its right, title

and interest in and to the Atwell lease. Donenberg has

since filed his Final Report and Account, which has been

approved by the Court, and has been discharged as Trus-

tee and, therefore, has no further interest in the proceed-

ing.

Here it is to be particularly noted that from November

1946 to the present time Atwell has received its rent each

month, all of which was paid as rent and received by it as

such. Therefore having suffered no injury and at the

same time seeking the aid of this court to oust Sound of

the possession of the leased premises does not come with

good grace.

Under all the circumstances the question has become

moot.

The only case we have been eble to find wherein a paral-

lel situation existed is Woodworth v. Harding, 75 (App.

Div.) N. Y. 54, 59.

The court in discussing the relative rights of a lessor

and lessee after the lessee’s receiver had returned all of

the property and assets belonging to the lessee, including

the lessee’s interest in the leasehold, said:

The receiver represented Harding as well as his

E

creditors. The receiver held the property subject to

the order of the court, and was finally ordered ap.

parently to return it to Harding. He held the leased

premises as well as the assets located therein, and

when he returned the property to Harding he re.

turned his interest in the lease with it. Harding could

insist as against the plaintiffs that his rights under

the lease had not been taken from him by the bank.

ruptey proceedings, which had terminated in a return

of the property and building to him. And the plain-

tiffs could insist that their rights in the lease against

Harding had not been taken away by the appointment

of the receiver, the taking possession of the property

by him, the holding possession until the termination

of the proceedings and the returning of the property

and the leased building to Harding. (Italics ours.)

24

Under this authority the effect of Donenberg returning

all of Sound’s property and assets, including the Atwell

lease hold estate placed Atwell and Sound in the same po-

sition they were in prior to the time the petition in bank-

ruptey was filed with the lease binding on both parties.

We submit that the question thus brought to this court

by Atwell has become moot.

VI.

A Court of Bankruptcy Is a Court of Equity and This Pro.

ceeding in Equity Calls for the Application of Equitable

Principles.

What motive could Atwell have in wanting to oust Sound

from possession of the leased premises, when lessor must

admit that all rental payments have been made to date,

and there is no evidence that future rentals will not be

met. An examination of the lease discloses a possible

reason. Ordinarily, rent during the term of the lease in-

creases, but for some reason not of record here, the rent

_ a

was to be reduced (R. 20, Ex. b) which provides rental

payments for the full term of five years as follows:

Nine (9) payments at Two Thousand One Hundred

Eighty-five and no/100 Dollars ($2,185.00).

Fifty (50) payments at One Thousand Seven Hun-

dred Sixty and no/100 Dollars ($1,760.00).

One (1) payment of One Thousand Six Hundred

Eighty-five and no/100 Dollars ($1,685.00).

It is common knowledge and the court may take judicial

notice of the fact that there is and has been for the past

several years acute shortage of improved real estate, in-

cluding commercial and industrial space. This has brought

about an unprecedented demand. Possibly a special offer

for Sound’s space. Thus to regain possession of the de-

mised premises would enable Atwell to relet the premises

at greatly increased rent. This seems the only possible

motive and if it succeeds, Sound is hopelessly without a

home, because there is just no place for it to go.

But we are in a court of equity and must bear in mind

the application of equitable principles as was said in Wau-

kegan Times Theatre Corporation v. Conrad, supra, page

639 :

25

‘‘The court said the only conceivable benefit which a

forfeiture would confer upon the landlords was that

they might, if relieved of the present tenants, be able to

lease the premises at a higher rental, a consideration

which should not commend itself to a court of equity.”’

And In Re Larkey, 214 Fed. 867, 871, the court said:

‘*T think the clear effect of these decisions is that the

bankruptcy court may dispose of matters which come

before it, upon equitable principles, when justice and

equity require that it should do so. While many cases

might arise in which it would be considered equitable

to enforce, against a bankrupt’s estate, a surrender of

leased premises for breach of covenants, with a right

of re-entry, because the landlord could not proceed to

enforce his legal right in any other court, still the bank.

ruptey court may properly refuse such relief when jj

would be inequitable to grant it. To hold otherwise

would be to deny the right to apply equitable princi.

ples in proceedings which are in equity.’’

This is a proceeding in equity and applying equitable

principles under all the facts and circumstances of the case

this court should follow the ruling of the lower courts,

Vil.

Our Answer to Contentions of Counsel for Atwell and Cases

Cited by Him.

Counsel for Atwell contends that paragraph 3 of the lease

should be construed as a conditional limitation and that by

reason thereof, regardless of Atwell’s subsequent conduct

with knowledge of Sound’s bankruptcy, the lcase was auto-

matically terminated upon institution of bankruptcy pro-

ceedings and that the doctrine of waiver and estoppel has

only to do with conditions subsequent.

We do not concede that this provision created truly a

conditional limitation, as was said by the author in Amer-

ican Jurisprudence, Vol. 19, page 488, Sec. 28:

‘*The true conditional limitation exists where prop-

erty goes over to a third person upon defeasance in-

stead of reverting to the creator.”’

But as the Circuit Court of Appeals said (R. 110):

‘*We think that it makes no difference to a court of

bankruptcy, which in effect is a court of equity, whether

the provision of the lease was a conditional limitation

or a condition subsequent. It was obviously made for

the benefit of the lessor (Moffat Tunnel Improvement

Dist. v. Denver &@ S. L. Ry. Co., 45 F. 2d 715, 730;

Schneider v. Springmann, 25 F. 2d 255, 256) and if the

lessor did not want to treat the lease as terminated, it

27

had a right to do so. Since the appellant did not treat

the lease as terminated, although it had full knowl-

edge that the grounds for termination had occurred, it

will not be heard to say afterwards that the lease had

been terminated.’’

We believe no useful purpose would be served to discuss

the distinction between a conditional limitation and a con-

dition subsequent as the distinction is extremely subtle

and artificial and has no application to the facts of our

case, which involves a leasehold, with the sole right of

re-entry in the lessor for condition broken. As stated by

the author in Kent’: Commentaries, Lacy’s Ed., page 132-

133, in discussing conditions and limitations:

‘‘Whether the words amount to a condition, or a

limitation, or a covenant, may be matter of construc-

tion, depending on the contract. The intention of the

party to the instrument, when clearly ascertained

is of controlling efficacy; though conditions and limi-

tations are not readily to be raised by mere inference

and argument (b). The distinctions on this subject

are extremely subtle and artificial; and the construc-

tion of a deed, as to its operation and effect will after

all depend less upon artificial rules than upon the ap-

plication of good sense and sound equity to the object

and spirit of the contract in the given case.’’

This statement of the Court of Appeals is fully supported

by the autuoritses and may we again call the Court’s at-

tention to the case of Bowman vy. Foot, supra, cited here

at page 17. In this case, the Supreme Court of Connecti-

cut said in effect that a provision such as paragraph 3 of

Atwell’s lease is now universally taken to be for the ad-

vantage of the landlord. ‘‘Void’’ means ‘‘voidable at his

election’’ and ‘‘ Expire and terminate’’ being also an ellipti-

cal phrase, means ‘‘Expire and terminate at lessor’s op-

tion’? and that in the case of a breach of a condition in a

lease for years, an entry or claim to divest the lessee’s

28

estate is required as the lease is to expire and terminate

only at lessor’s option and accordingly if lessor chooses he

may waive it.

The Court further said at page 339:

‘“‘If a tenant’s right is thus voidable only, the op.

tion to avoid must be exercised under the contract and

according to legal usage. The re-entry clause at all

events creates a necessity for some positive act of the

landlord to determine his tenant’s estate.’’

. > + . .

‘*Where a léase is thus voidable, the landlord’s op.

tion to avoid it should be exercised at the proper point

of time and in the proper place; and above all, should

be brought home to the tenant’s knowledge through

some unequivocal act, in order to certify to him that

he is absolved from the further performance of a

lessee’s duties.’’

Citing cases: Fifty Associates v. Howland, 11 Met. 99;

Bishop v. Trustees of Bedford Charity, 28 L. Jour. 215;

which was afterwards reviewed in the Exchequer Cham-

ber.

The Court’s holding is stated at page 337:

‘*High authority sanctions the idea that the accept-

ance of rent accruing after condition broken, is in law

a waiver of the forfeiture, and not evidence of such

waiver merely. It has also been said by judges of

great eminence, that the right of the party who pays

money to control its application, constrains the lessor

who receives rent, tendered as such, to waive his claim

of forfeiture.

‘The only point which we propose to settle as the

law of the present case is, that, upon the facts stated,

there was no legal determination of the lessee’s es-

tate.’’

For the purpose of our case, it should be sufficient to say

that the provision was included for Atwell’s benefit and its

alone, and as the Court of Appeals said, Atwell had the

right to do one of two things—stand on the breach and

treat the lease as terminated, or ignore the breach and ac-

knowledge the continued existence of the lease. Having

done the latter, as the Court found upon substantial evi-

dence, Atwell is bound by its course of conduct. As we have

seen by numerous cases cited by us, the lease, upon the

happening of Sound’s bankruptcy, was not rendered ipso

facto void, but voidable only at Atwell’s option or election.

The condition under the facts as established by the evi-

dence, by reason of Atwell’s subsequent conduct in billing

Sound for rent and accepting payments as rent, was dis-

pensed with and Atwell cannot now be heard to say that the

lease was terminated upon Sound’s bankruptcy. Counsel

for Atwell have failed to show why as sole owner of the

right of re-entry for condition broken Atwell could not

waive the breach. There is no answer. It is a simple mat-

ter of contract law, and which the Court of Appeals in the

Schneider case, supra, cited herein at page 12 applies to

leases as well as other contracts.

None of the cases cited by counsel for Atwell are in point

because the question of waiver was not involved in any of

them.

On oral argument before the Circuit Court of Appeals,

counsel for Atwell relied upon the case of Jandrew v.

Bouche, 29 Fed. (2d) 346, to support his contention that

Atwell’s lease with Sound terminated upon Sound’s bank-

ruptey and that the provision could not be waived by At-

well, but as the Court of Appeals points out in its opinion

(R. 111), that case is not controlling because the question

of waiver was not involved. That case turned entirely upon

construction of the lease, whereas, here, our case turns

upon the conduct and intention of Atwell with reference

to the lease after knowledge of the breach and the court

30

said that the Jandrew case does not hold that a conditiona]

limitation when applied to a lease for a term of years, may

not be waived by lessor upon breach of condition.

In the Jandrew case, lessee was adjudicated a bankrupt

on January 16, 1928, and on January 27, a Trustee was

elected. On January 30, 1928, the Trustee sold the entire

assets of the bankrupt on the leased premises and turned

same over to the purchaser together with the keys of the

store, telling the purchaser that he had no interest in the

lease and that the purchaser would have to make arrange-

ments with the landlord if he desired to continue to oe-

cupy the premises. The lessor refused to deal with the

occupant of the building and filed her proof of claim in the

bankruptcy proceeding. Thus the court will readily see

that there was no continued occupancy by lessee after their

bankruptcy and no payment or acceptance of rent by lessor,

whereas, in our case, Atwell has received payment of rent

each month from the time of Sound’s bankruptcy to the

present time without objection or protest.

Counsel also cites the cases of Irving Trust Co., as Trus-

tee v. A. W. Perry, Inc., 293 U. 8. 307, 311; 79 L. Ed. 379,

382. An examination of this case discloses that it was

not an action for possession and the question of waiver was

not involved. Quite the contrary, the case involved the

right of a lessor to file and have allowed a proof of claim

in lessee’s bankruptcy proceeding for future rent equal

to the difference between the present fair value of the re-

maining rent due under the lease and the present fair rental

value of the premises for the balance of the term. Appar-

ently after lessee’s bankruptcy occurred, lessor, not re-

ceiving rent, with vacant premises on its hands, had no

other course to follow than to file a claim in the bankruptcy

proceeding, which the court justly allowed.

Likewise, an examination of Finn v. Meighan, 325 U.S.

_—

31

300, discloses that the question of waiver was not involved

or raised. This clearly appears from the opinion of this

Court and the Circuit Court of Appeals (146 Fed. 2nd 594).

Murray Realty Co. v. Regal Shoe Co., 193 N. E. 164

(N. Y.) page 165 was also a suit for rent and again we

see that the question of waiver was not involved and the

decision is not binding on this Court.

And in the case of Model Dairy, Inc. v. Foltis-Fischer

(Second Circuit), 67 Fed. (2d) 704. A study of this case

discloses that payments were consistently made for use and

occupation and not as rent and the court very properly

points out the distinction which we have cited in our brief

and again quote from page 706:

«* * * Tf the lessor elects not to re-enter his deci-

sion is final; it will be inferred from the receipt of rent

accruing after the breach, or from any other recogni-

tion of the continuance of the term. Greene’s case, 1

Leonard, 262; Green’s case, Croke’s Eliz. 3; Pennant’s

case, 3 Coke, 64 (b) ; Goodright v. Davids, 2 Cowp. 803;

Roe v. Harrison, 2 Term Rep. 425; Courts have been

at times astute to find that the lessor has so elected.’’

And again In Re Walker (also Second Circuit), 93 Fed.

(2) 281, the payments were not designated either as rent

or for use and occupation and the court stated that the

burden was on the Debtor to establish that the payments

were made as rent and in this regard it failed, but the

court did recognize as we have pointed out that if the

payments had been made as rent, it would have tolled the

lessor’s re-entry. Thus the cases clearly analyzed sustain

our contention that if the payments are actually made as

rent the lessor’s right of re-entry is thereby tolled.

32

Conclusion.

Based upon all! the facts and circumstances of this case

and in recognition of equitable principles, it is submitted

that the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Joun A. Bussian,

Attorney for Respondent,

Sound, Inc., Debtor.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.