Opposition Brief — Rubinstein v. United States
Supreme Court brief1948
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
wa Ee a AN ae
. Events preceding the submission of the affidavit of
February 2, 1943
. The affidavit submitted on February 2, 1943 (counts
. Evidence relating to the falsity of the October affidavit -
. Events subsequent to October 12, 1943
Keeler._y. Fred T. Ley & Co., 65 F. 2d 499
Kreibich v. United States, 261 Fed. 168
Peskoe v. United States, 330 U. 8. 824
Pinkerion v. United States, 328 U. 8. 640
Seven Cases v. United States, 239 U. 8. 510
Shell Oil Co. v. State Tire & Oil Co., 126 F. 2d 971
Singer v. United States, 323 U. 8. 338
United States v. Bayer, 331 U. S. 532
United es v. Katz, 271 U.S. 354
United States v. Sullivan, No. 121, dec. January 19, 1948_-_--
United States v. Uram, 148 F. 2d 187, certiorari denied sub
nom, Sohmer v. United States, 325 U. S. 875
United States v. Zeuli, 137 F. 2d 845
Vulcan Metals Co. v. Simmons Mfg. Co., 248 Fed. 853,
ue certiorari denied, 247 U. S. 507
% Statute:
8 Selective Draft Act of 1917 (50 U. S. C. App. 201). ---.--
Selective Training and Service Act of 1940, c. 720, 54 Stat. 885:
Sec. 5 (50 U. 8S. C. App. 305)
Sec. 11 (50 U. S. C. App. 311)
Selective Service Regulations:
Guthe Supreme Gourt of the Binited States
OctosER TERM, 1947
No. 647
Serce M. Rusinstern, Atso Known as SERGE
MANUEL RUBINSTEIN DE RovVELLO, PETITIONER
Vv.
Unrtep States or AMERICA
No. 648
ALLEN GorDON FOosTER, PETITIONER
v.
Unrrep States or AMERICA
ON PETITIONS FOR WRITS OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND
CIRCUIT
BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION
OPINIONS BELOW
The opinions in the circuit court of appeals (R.
2227-2240) have not yet been reported.
JURISDICTION
The judgment of the circuit court of appeals
was entered February 5, 1948 (R. 2241). The
(1)
2
petitions for writs of certiorari were filed March
5, 1948. The jurisdiction of this Court is in-
voked iander Séetion!240' (a): of tthe Iudieiat Code,
as amended by the Act of February 13, 1925.
See also Rules 37 (b) (2) and 45 (a), F. R.
Crim. P.
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1. Whether false statements in support of a
claim for occupational deferments are false state-
ments as ‘to liability for service within the pur-
view of Section 11 of the Selective Training and
Service Act.
2. Whether deliberately false statements as to
the importance of a registrant to a business fail
to come within the purview of Section 11 because
they involve matters of opinion.
3. Whether the evidence is sufficient to support
the verdict.
4. Whether, after Ssieaaehas the jury as to
the nature of the offense charged in the indict-
ment, the judge was required to give instruc-
tions to the jury not to base its verdict on other
evidence.
5. As to petitioner Rubinstein (No. 647),
whether he could be separately punished for being
a party to the making of a false statement by
the employer and for conspiracy to make such
false statement.
:
STATUTE INVOLVED
Section 11 of the Selective Training and Serv-
ice Act of 1940, ¢. 720, 54 Stat. 885, 894-895 (50
U.S. C. App., 311), provides in pertinent part:
* * * any person who shall know-
ingly make, or be a party to the making of,
any false statement or certificate as to the
fitness or unfitness or liability or non-
liability of himself or any other person for
service under the provisions of this Act, or
rules, regulations, or directions made pur-
suant thereto, or who otherwise evades
registration or service in the land or naval
forces or any of the requirements of this
Act, or who knowingly counsels, aids, or
abets another to evade registration or serv-
ice in the land or naval forees or any of
the requirements of this Act, or of said
rules, regulations, or directions, * * *
shall, upon conviction in the district court
of the United States having jurisdiction
thereof, be punished by imprisonment for
not more than five years or a fine of not
more than $10,000, or by both such fine and
imprisonment, * * *
STATEMENT
An indictment in five counts charging the mak-
ing of false statements as to the liability of peti-
tioner Rubinstein for service under the Selective
Training and Service Act was returned in the
United States District Court for the Southern
District of New York (R. 2219-2296). The first
count against Rubinstein ‘alone is not presently
4
involved, since his conviction on that count was
reversed on appeal (R. 2238). The second count
charged that petitioners, Rubinstein and Foster,
submitted false statements to the Selective Serv-
ice Board in that they submitted an affidavit
seeking an occupational deferment for Rubinstein
which contained knowingly false statements to
the effect that the successful operation of Pan-
handle Producing and Refining Company, Mid-
way Victory Oil Company, and Panhandle Steel
Products Company depended upon the continu-
ance of Rubinstein’s employment by those com-
panies, and that loss of his services would seri-
ously impair the drilling program and other ac-
tivities of the companies (R. 2220-2221). The
third count charged a conspiracy to commit the
offense charged in the second count (R. 2222-
2223). The fourth count charged that Rubin-
stein and defendant Hart made false statements
in an affidavit for occupational deferment to the
effect that Rubinstein was executive assistant to
the president of Tayloreraft Aviation Corpora-
tion and had been employed by that corporation
since August 2, 1943 (R. 2223-2224). The fifth
count charged a conspiracy to commit the offense
charged in the fourth count (R. 2224-2225).
- Rubinstein was convicted on all counts and he
was sentenced to imprisonment for a period of
21% years and to pay a fine of $10,000 on each, the
prison sentences to run concurrently (R. 2182,
2190-2191). Foster was convicted on counts 2
5
and 3 and sentenced to imprisonment for two
years and to pay a fine of $5,000 on each; execu-
tion of the imprisonment sentences was suspended
and he was placed on probation for five years (R.
9182, 2192), Hart was convicted on counts 4 and
5 (R. 2182) but did not appeal.
The evidence for the Government may be sum-
marized as follows:
A. Events preceding the submission of the
affidavit of February 2, 1943.—Rubinstein, a na-
tional of Portugal, registered with his local draft
board under the Selective Training and Service
Act (Ex. 2, R. 10). On March 3, 1942, he was
placed in Class III-A, the classification for per-
sons deferred because of dependents (R. 13-14).
On November 19, 1942, Rubinstein submitted an
occupational questionnaire in which he stated that
he was chief executive officer of Midway Victory
Oil Company, a corporation which had ‘‘working
control’? of Panhandle Producing and Refining
Company and Panhandle Steel Products Com-
pany (Ex. 11, R. 19). There was also submitted
an affidavit by Foster and one Duffy to the effect
that Rubinstein’s full time was devoted to the
affairs of the companies mentioned and that his
duties were the direction and management of the
companies (Ex. 12, R. 19)... On November 25,
‘Foster, an interior decorator, was a director of several
companies in which Rubinstein was interested, including
Midway Victory Oil Company and Panhandle Producing
and Refining Company (R. 356). Duffy was a director of
Panhandle Producing and Refining Company (R. 360).
—.. ee
6
1942, Rubinstein was classified in Class ITB;
i.'e., he‘was given an ocetipational deferment (Ex.
21,’R. 20). .
‘B. The affidavit submitted on February 2, 1943
(counts 2 and 3).—Some time after November 25,
1942, Rubinstein was placed in Class I~A, the
classification for persons liable for immediate in-
duction, and thereafter he requested a hearing
before the board on that classification (R. 21-22).
He appeared before the board on February 2,
1943, and submitted a number of documents (R.
24-25). Among them was Form 42A, an em-
ployer’s affidavit for occupational -deférment,
sworn to by Foster as a director and officer of
Midway Victory Oil Company and Panhandle
Producing and Refining Company and as an offi-
cer of Panhandle Steel Products Company (Ex.
15A, R. 25). The affidavit stated that Rubin-
stein’s ‘‘duties actually performed’’ consisted of
direction of drilling operations, sale of crude and
other products, negotiations for obtaining sub-
contracting work for shipyards, negotiations with
the petroleum coordinatcr, and directions for ne-
gotiations of contracts for the steel plant with
various government departments. It also stated
that the companies were engaged in 100 percent
war work. In answer to the question as to how
long it would take to replace the employee, the
affidavit stated that ‘‘because of the character of
employee’s functions the successful continuance
ee = mene. SEE
7
of operations depends upon employee remaining
with the company.” The affidavit further stated
that it was impossible to replace Rubinstein
“without seriously impairing drilling program
and otherwise hampering the Companies’ activi-
ties.”” Counts 2 and 3 are based upon these latter
statements.
Duffy, a director of Panhandle Producing and
Refining Company, testified that during the eve-
ning of February 2, 1943, while Foster was in
his office, Rubinstein’s secretary brought him a
number of papers, including the Form 42A al-
ready completed (R. 357, 359, 407). Duffy
started to read the form, but Rubinstein came in
and took it from him and gave it to Foster (R.
357). Foster; said that he wauted to read the
form, but Rubinstein said that it was not neces-
sary to do so, that Foster could sign it and Rubin-
stein would explain it on the way uptown (R.
357).. As presented to the draft board later that
evening, the form was sworn to by Foster (Ex.
15A, R. 25).
C. Evidence relating to the falsity of the aff-
davit of February 2, 1943.—Panhandle Produe-
ing and Refining Company was a holding com-
pany which did not itself engage in the produc-
tion of oil and steel products (R. 360-361, 416-
417). Its operating subsidiaries were located at
Wichita Falls, Texas, and all activities of those
companies were carried on in Texas (R. 417, 435,
506-507). The minute books and all the records
780992—48—-2
of the parent company, as well as of the sub-
sidiaries, were kept in Wichita Falls until Janu-
ary 1, 1944 (R. 533). No Form 42A had been
executed outside of Texas for anyone connected
with the Panhandle companies except that which
Rubinstein submitted to his draft board (R. 533).
Petitioner Foster had not been at the Pan-
handle properties in Texas (R. 532-533). None
of the companies’ names appeared on the door of
Rubinstein’s suite in New York until after Febru-
ary 2, 1943 (R. 533-534). Rubinstein had been
in Wichita Falls only twice prior to February 2,
1943.. He was there for two days in August 1942,
but did not go out to the oil wells (R. 512, 538).
He was there for part of one day in September
when he sought unsuccessfully to have himself
elected president of Panhandle Refining Com-
pany, the oil producing subsidiary (R. 512-514).
Rubinstein was not an officer of Panhandle Re-
fining Company, but only of the parent holding
company (R. 513-514). He was merely a direc-
tor of the subsidiary (R. 514).
The Panhandle companies had been operating
for many years before Rubinstein became asso-
ciated with them (R. 506). Roy B. Jones had
founded the companies and was president and
general manager of Panhandle Refining Com-
pany and president of Panhandle Steel Products
Company (R. 506, 515). Next under him was
Stanford, vice president (R. 515). Although
Rubinstein became president of the Panhandle
a
Steel Products Company in November 1942,
Jones continued active to the same extent as be-
fore in both the refining and steel products com-
panies and continued to receive the same com-
pensation (R. 523, 586). Rubinstein received no
additional compensation as president (R. 524).
Each of the various departments of the refining
company was headed by a competent person of
long experience and up to February 2, 1943,
Rubinstein had done absolutely nothing for any
department (R. 515-521), except speak briefly
about one account (R. 520). Rubinstein was
never manager of field operations and did nothing
by way of directing the operations of Panhandle
Producing and Refining Company or any other
Panhandle company in the field (R. 527). Rubin-
stein himself had one Stzykgold made manager of
field operations (R. 521) and directed that opera-
_ tions be subject to the joint agreement of Stzyk-
gold and Stanford (R. 526).
As to Panhandle Steel Products Company, Ru-
binstein had been at its plant only once for less
than an hour in the period before February 2,
1943 (R. 431-432, 492, 502). All of the manufac-
turing and business operations of that company
were supervised by the witness Helmcamp (R.
494-495), who, as vice-president, general manager
and director (R. 428), secured and filled orders,
purchased raw materials and distributed them,
directed its personnel and determined their wages
and salaries, and was entirely responsible for all
10
of its operations, activities and production gen-
erally (R. 494-497). All of the company’s em-
ployees reported to Helmeamp alone (R. 430) and
all of the company’s business was conducted at
Wichita Falls (R. 496).
On questions of policy, Helmcamp consulted
only Jones, Stanford, and the directors resident at
Wichita Falls, not Rubinstein (R. 430-431, 491-
492), even after Rubinstein became president of
the company (R. 492-493). All directors’ meet-
ings were held at Wichita Falls (R. 435-436), and
up to February 2, 1943, Helmcamp made no re-
ports of any sort to Rubinstein (R. 439, 472), re-
porting only to Jones and Stanford (R. 492-493) ;
nor did he receive any orders, instructions, or
advice from Rubinstein (R. 491, 496-497).
As to Midway Victory Oil Company, it was for
the most part merely a corporate entity through
which Rubinstein purchased and sold securities
(R. 366). Four employees were sufficient to con-
duet its oil business in Texas (R. 365-366, 1094-
1095). Such drilling as was conducted was in
charge of one Cassidy (R. 423-424).
Rubinstein did not devote full time to the affairs
of the Panhandle companies. In December 1942,
_ he wrote to a fellow director of the parent Pan-
handle company as follows (Ex. 79, R. 634):
The Directors have appointed me presi-
dent [of the parent eompany j, which post I
have accepted with the understanding that
until such time as I am able to devote more
a
time to the company’s operations. I. will
receive only $300.2 month in lieu my
Executive Committee fees of $225,
Similarly, on two or three occasions in 1943,
Rubinstein told a Panhandle officer that he heped
his own personal affairs would soon be cleaned
up, so that he could devote more time to those of
Panhandle (R. 643, 670-672). In May 1942,
Rubinstein had obtained permission from his
draft board! to go to Chile for six months to at-
tend to his own financial affairs (Exs. 9, 10, R.
16-17).
In the affidavit submitted by Foster, it was
stated that the Panhandle companies were en-
gaged 100 percent in war work (Ex. 154, R. 25).
In fact, however, only about 30 to 50 percent of
the refining company’s products were used in the
war effort (R. 527-528, 573-575, 578), and only
about half of the steel products company’s output
was so used (R. 434, 480).
D. The affidavit submitted on October 12, 1943
(counts 4 and 5)—On the basis of the documents
submitted on February 2, 1943, Rubinstein was
classified II-B (R. 29). An appeal was taken
by the City Director of Selective Service and the
appeal board placed him in Class I-A (R. 29).
On September 7, 1943, however, the local board
reopened Rubinstein’s classification and reclassi-
fied him II-B (R. 41). An appeal was again
RE yt er SA RR
12
taken and Rubinstein was again classified I-A
(R. 41-42). He was notified of that action on
October 2, and on October 8 he was ordered to
report for inductién on October 20 (R. 41-42,
44-45). On October 12, Rubinstein asked for
* another hearing and on that day he presented to
the board a form 42A, signed by Hart, to the ef-
feet that Rubinstein was executive assistant to
the president of Taylorcraft Aviation Corpora-
tion, that he was in charge of financial and
administrative matters for the company, and that
he had been employed in such capacity ‘since
August 2, 1943 (R. 46-47; Exs. 25 and 26, R. 47).
Counts 4 and 5 are based upon these statements.
E. Evidence relating to the falsity of the Oc-
tober affidavit—On October 4, two days after
Rubinstein had been notified that he had been
placed in Class I—A, he proposed that Panhandle
Producing and Refining Company invest in Tay-
loreraft Aviation Corporation, but his suggestion
was disapproved (Ex. 65, R. 368-369). On Oc-
tober 7, Rubinstein met Hart and one Buckley,
both Tayloreraft directors, in New York (R.
1170). Hart and Buckley had been placed in
charge of Taylorcraft by one Baker and his as-
sociates (R. 1794, 1819). Baker and his asso-
ciates were negotiating for the sale of their stock
in Tayloreraft and had received an offer from
prospective purchasers who desired to merge
Tayloreraft with their own company (R. 688,
690, 694, 1757-1758, 1794~1977), thus threatening
Hart’s position as president.
On October 9, Rubinstein flew with Buckley to
Alliance, Ohio, where the Taylorcraft. plant: was
located (R. 1989). On Sunday, October 10, Hart
had the personnel director of Taylorcraft. come
to the plant (R. 699, 713-715). Hart introduced
Rubinstein to the personnel director and stated
that Rubinstein was to go on the Tayloreraft pay-
roll as Hart’s executive assistant, and that. on ap-
proval of the board of directors, Rubinstein was
to be vice president in charge of finances. He
also stated that he wanted Rubinstein’s name
added to the Taylorcraft replacement list which
was to be filed with Ohio selective service head-
quarters the following day. (R. 714-715.) At
Hart’s request, the personnel director brought
him three blank forms 42A, and Hart and Rubin-
stein then went into Hart’s office (R. 715-716).
When they emerged, Hart handed the personnel
director a form filled out in pencil, not in Hart’s
handwriting (R. 716). Mrs. Hart typed two
copies of the form, which were signed and sworn
to that Sunday morning (R. 716-718). One copy
was left with Hart and the other copy was taken
by Rubinstein (R. 729, 734).
Upon his return to New York, Rubinstein gave
his secretary a purported letter of employment by
Tayloreraft dated August 2, 1943, and instructed
her to have it photostated and filed (R. 793-794;
ae
4
Ex. 95, R. 744).*. Rubinstein also directed that
the legend, ‘‘Taylorcraft Aviation Corporation,
New York Representative,’’ be placed on the door
of his suite of offices (R. 796-797).
On October 11, the personnel officer revised the
replacement schedule of Taylorcraft to include
Rubinstein’s name and took it by plane to state
selective service headquarters at Columbus, Ohio
(R. 723, 727). When he returned, Hart stamped
the copy of the form 42A which he had retained to
indicate that the schedule had been accepted and
sent it immediately to Rubinstein (R. 728-730).
On the same day in New York, at a meeting of
the directors of Panhandle, Rubinstein, by per-
sonally guaranteeing Panhandle against loss, ar-
ranged for a loan by Panhandle to a holding com-
pany owned by Hart and Buckley (R. 373-374,
646-647).
Rubinstein’s name did not appear on the Tay-
loreraft payroll register for any of the payroll
periods prior to October 12, 1943 (R. 708-712).
After December 14, entries were made showing
compensation to Rubinstein for the period from
August 2 to November 16, 1943 (R. 752). Neither
the secretary of the company nor a director famil-
iar with its financial affairs had any knowledge
* The letter was admittedly typed by Mrs. Hart at Taylor-
craft’s plant (R. 1766-1767). Mrs. Hart was at the plant on
October 10, 1943 (R. 714). On August 2, 1948, Mrs. Hart
was pregnant and she gave birth to a child a few days later
(R. 745, 1767).
15
of any connection of any sort between Rubinstein
and Tayloreraft (R. 687-688, 765-767; see also
R. 752). In an affidavit submitted to the draft
board on August 12, 19438, giving the personal his-
tory statement required of aliens, Rubinstein
made no mention of any employment by Taylor-
eraft (Gov. Ex. 21, R. 37-40).
F, Events subsequent to October 12, 1948.——The
local board refused to change Rubinstein’s re-
classification, and he was ordered to report for
induction (R. 56). Thereafter he filed form 301,
claiming exemption from service as the subject of
a neutral country (R. 56-58).
ARGUMENT
1. Petitioners contend (No. 647, Pet. 6, 7,
11-18; No. 648, Pet. 4, 5-6, 9-16) that it was not
a criminal offense to make a false statement to a
local draft board with a view to obtaining a de-
ferment from military service. They concede that
the making of a false statement for the purpose
of securing an exempt classification, as distin-
guished from a deferred one, was a violation of
the third clause of Section 11 of the Selective
Training and Service Act of 1940. That clause
provided for the punishment of any person—
who shall knowingly make, or be a party to
the making of, any false statement or cer-
tificate as to the fitness or unfitness or lia-
bility or nonliability of himself or any
other person for service under the pro-
te |
16
visions of this Act, or rules, regulations, or
directions made pursuant thereto * * *,
Petitioners’ theory is that ‘‘liability for serv-
ice’ related only to the question whether a reg-
istrant was totally exempt.from service under the
Act, and that a false statement which did not seek
to establish total exemption from service was not
one in respect of the registrant’s liability for serv-
ice under the Act. Nothing except an extremely
narrow reading of the word “‘liable’”’ supports this
view, and no court has read the word that nar-
rowly. This Court denied a petition for a writ of
certiorari which made, among others, the same
argument. Peskoe v. United States, No. 874, Oc-
tober Term, 1946, 330 U. S. 824.
There is no basis, in our view, for distinguish-
ing between a false statement directed to an
exemption and one related to a deferred classifi-
eation. When a local board classified a registrant
in an exempt classification, it determined that he
was not at any time liable for service under the
Act. On the other hand, when the board deter-
mined that a registrant should be placed in a
deferred classification, it determined that at that
time he was not liable for service. In contrast
to the exempt status, a deferred classification
meant that the registrant was not then liable for
selection for service, but that at any time in the
future, if his situation changed or if the regula-
tions establishing deferred categories were
17
amended, his classification might then be changed
to I-A, and he would then become liable for selec-
tion for military service. The sole difference be-
tween an exemption and a deferment was the
difference between being totally relieved of service
and being relieved on condition subsequent.
In either event, it was the function of the local
board to classify the registrant. Thus, for ex-
ample, a minister of religion was exempt from
service and was classified IV-D (Reg. 622.44) ;
a person employed in an essential occupation was
deferred and was classified II-A (Reg. 622.21).
To make either classification, the board necessarily
had need for the true facts. Certainly, nothing
which inheres in the word ‘“‘liable’’? requires the
conclusion that Congress did not intend to pro-
scribe the making of a false statement to a local
board where the purpose of the registrant was to
obtain a deferred classification. And nothing is
suggested showing that Congress intended not to
strike at falsity of the kind here involved.
It is said that Congress used the word ‘‘liable”’
in other parts of the Act in the narrower sense
and that a broader construction should not be
given it in Section 11. But Congress also pro-
vided for deferments (Sec. 5, 50 U. S. C. App.
305). And it is unreasonable to believe that Con-
gress did not intend to extend the enforcement
provisions to this category as well as the other.
The legislative history of Section 11 shows no
18
more than that it was a substantial reenactment
of the enforcement provisions of the Selective
Draft Act of 1917 (50 U. S. C. App. 201 et seq.).
See Singer v. United States, 323 U. S. 338, 342,
348. Section 6 of that act proscribed the making
of a false statement as to liability for service, and
this was held to include a false statement made for
the purpose of delaying, on grounds of depend-
ency, the time when the registrant would be se-
lected for service. Kretbich v. United Siates, 261
Fed. 168 (C. C. A. 8). The same kind of state-
ments are involved in these cases. It is true that
there are variations between the predecessor stat-
ute and the 1940 act, but the significant feature
for us is the fact that the word ‘‘liable’’ was broad
enough in the earlier act to reach statements like
petitioners’ and there is nothing to suggest that
Congress intended to use it in a narrower sense
in the later act. There is a casus omissus in Sec-
tion 11, as petitioners contend, only if one is read
into the all-embracive language used in that pro-
vision. Construction of an important provision
of an important statute does not require that the
narrowest possible meaning be given to words
which reasonably may be accorded a meaning more
consistent with the obvious purpose of Congress.
Even criminal statutes “should be given their fair
meaning in accord with the evident intent of
Congress.’’ United States v. Sullivan, No. 121,
decided January 19, 1948.
19
2. Petitioners also contend ‘(No. 647, Pet. 6, 8,
28; No. 648, Pet. 4, 6, 16-21) ‘that the statements
in the form 42A signed by Foster, to the effect
that the successful operation of the business of ‘the
Panhandle companies ‘depended on Rubinstein’s
continued émployment and that it was im-
possible to replace him without seriously impair-
ing the drilling program—the statements spe-
cifically charged as false in counts 2 and 3—
were merely statements of opinion, and hence
that a prosecution for making false statements
eould not be based thereon. The question thus
raised is largely of academic interest, since, as the
court below pointed out (R. 2235), petitioners
were guilty of making false representations of
fact as well as of opinion. The statement that,
““because of the character’’ of Rubinstein’s func-
tions, the success of the business depended upon
his continuing employment, obviously referred to
the statement of duties set forth in the prior por-
tion of the affidavit (see Statement, supra, p. 6),
These were clearly false statements of fact as to
the “‘character’’ of Rubinstein’s functions which
were carried over into the statement alleged in
the indictment.
In any event, the decision below is clearly ¢ot-
rect in holding that petitioners’ statements of
opinion were false statements as to liabiluy for
service under the act. As this Court stated in
Seven Cases v. United States, 239 U.S. 510, 517:
eT TT NT
state of mind is itself a fact, and may be a
material fact, and false and fraudulent rep-
resentations may be made aboutit * * *,
Even in the civil law of fraud, the assertion in
bad faith of a belief or opinion not honestly enter-
tained under circumstances which would justify
reliance on such opinion constitutes fraud. Shell
Oil Co. v. State Tire & Oil Co., 126 F. 2d 971, 974
(C. C. A. 6); Keeler v. Fred T. Ley & Co., 65 F.
2d 499, 501 (C. C. A. 1); Vulcan Metals Co. v.
Simmons Mfg. Co., 248 Fed. 853, 856 (C. ©. A. 2),
certiorari denied, 247 U. S. 507; Goodrich-Lock-
hart Co. v. Sears, 270 Fed. 971, 977 (E. D. Ky.).
The same rule, we submit, must necessarily
apply under Section 11 of the Selective Service
and Training Act. Statements as to liability for
service in many cases necessarily involved matters
of opinion. Many claims for occupational de-
ferment depended on opinions. Even medical
judgments are opinions based upon observable
facts. There is, of course, a vast difference be-
tween an honest error of judgment and an opinion
deliberately advanced in bad faith without any
honest belief therein. Manifestly, Congress must
have intended that persons making statements to
a draft board, necessarily involving matters of
Opinion, must have done so in good faith.
No conflict of decisions is involved here. The
ease of Chaplin v. United States, 157 F. 2d 697
(App. D. C.), upon which petitioners rely, in-
volved a prosecution for false pretenses, a com-
mon law offense which the court held was limited
by its history. The practical considerations
which the court thought gave rise to the common
law limitations and which the court deemed of
sufficient importance to justify the continuance of
the common law rule, have no application to the
situation presented by the Selective Service and
Training Act. Under that Act, as we have shown,
statements of opinion were an integral part of
the systezn created by Congress. As the cases
cited by petitioners themselves show (see No. 647,
Pet. 21-22), with respect to other offenses where
false representations of state of mind would tend
to subvert the purpose which the statute was de-
signed to achieve, prosecutions based on false
representations of state of mind have regularly
been upheld. Durland v. United States, 161 U. 8.
306; United States v. Uram, 148 F. 2d 187
(C. C. A. 2), certiorari denied sub nom. Sohmer v.
United States, 325 U. 8. 875.
3. The contentions that the proof was insuffi-
cient to support the verdicts (No. 647, Pet. 6, 9,
27-28; No. 648, Pet. 5, 6, 22-26) are sufficiently
answered by the summary of the evidence set
forth in the Statement, supra. In fact, the bits
of evidence which petitioners have gleaned from
the record to show some activity by Rubinstein in
behalf of Panhandle companies (No. 648, Pet.
23-26) show that Foster could not in good faith
have deemed Rubinstein necessary to the drilling
operations and other activities of those companies.
ie J
ip Oe ILE LLL LAL IE
22
As to counts 4 and 5, it is clear that Rubin-
stein’s alleged employment by Taylorcraft was a
last-minute scheme concocted in a desperate effort
to avoid liability for service.
4. Petitioners further contend (No. 647, Pet.
6, 9, 26; No. 648, Pet. 4, 6, 21-22) that the ‘trial
court committed prejudicial error in failing to
instruct the jury that they could not base a con-
viction upon a finding that the Panhandle com-
panies were not wholly engaged in war work, as
stated in the form 42A on which counts 2 and 3
were based. They admit that such evidence was
properly admitted ‘on the question of intent, but
‘argue that the verdict of the jury might have
been based on such false statements rather than
on the specific statements alleged in the
indictment.
At the opening of his charge, the trial judge
read the indictment to the jury, including, of
course, the specific allegations set forth in the
various counts (R. 2163-2170). He told the
jury that such were the charges to which the de-
fendants had pleaded not guilty, and that the
plea of not guilty put in issue every material
allegation of the charge (R. 2170). A little later
(R. 2172), he charged the jury that as to counts 2
and 4—
It is for you to determine whether the
statements of the defendants were know-
ingly false and to determine further
whether they were material and made with
’
— —— a
23
criminal intent, that.is, knowingly. i ts
believe, that they were made honestly, then
you must acquit; if you find, beyond. a Tea:
sonable doubt that they are false and ‘that
the defendants or any of them knew they
were false, you must convict. To put it
another way, it is a crime to make such
statements to a Selective Service Board,
knowing such statements to. be false. * * *
The instruction obviously referred. to the state-
ments charged in the indictment as false, and the
jury must so have understood.
Having told the jury what they must, find, the
judge was not required to tell them what they did
not have to find. Since he did not review the evi-
dence in the case, there was no necessity for him
to go into the evidentiary details, such, as the
false statements respecting the extent.of the war
work of the Panhandle companies.
5. Rubinstein also contends (No. 647, Pet. 6,
23-25) that since counts 2 and 4 were based on
employers’ affidavits, he could have committed the
offenses only if he acted in concert with the em-
ployers, and hence that he could not also be con-
victed of conspiracy to commit such offenses.* He
relies on the rule that if an executed substantive
crime necessarily involves mutual cooperation of
two or more persons, such persons may not be
convicted of conspiracy on the basis of the same
concert of action. United States v. Zeuli, 137 F.
* This contention affects only the fines, since the imprison-
ment sentences are to be served concurrently.
CT SRE TT RT TT Rae Ae
~
2d 845 (C. C. A. 2); see Pinkerton v. United
States, 328 U. S. 640; United States v. Katz, 271
U. 8. 354. The doctrine of those cases is, how-
ever, limited to situations where concert of action
is itself a necessary element of the substantive
offense. That factor is not present here. Con-
cert of action is not an element of the offense of
making false stattements as to liability for service
under the Selective Training and Service Act.
The employer, alione, could make false statements.
A registrant, allone, could under some circum-
stances, cause ain innocent employer to..make a
false statement. The mere fact that the proof
in this case established guilty participation by the
employer and tlhe registrant is not sufficient to
take the case owt of the general rule that con-
spiracy to commiit a crime and the crime itself are
separate offensess. United States v. Bayer, 331
U. 8. 532; Pinkerton v. United States, 328 U. 8.
640.
CONCLUSION
We respectfullly submit that the petitions for
writs of certiorairi should be denied.
Puiuie B. PERLMAN,
Solicitor General.
T. Vincent Quinn,
ssistant Attorney General.
Rosert S. Erpad1,
Irvine 8. SHaPiRo,
BEATRICE ROSENBERG,
Attorneys.
U. S$. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1946
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.