Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Gorum v. Loudenslager

Supreme Court brief1947

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

LT SE Ee ET NY

INDEX

Susyect Inpex

Page

Petition for writ of certiorari..................... 1

RESERPINE Beery iae meee tes ame 1

Opinion of the court below.................... 2

Summary statement of the matter involved. .... 2

Jurisdiction of this Court.................... 11

ora wesc heehee om 12

Reasons relied on for the allowance of the writ. . 15

NI a is atric fs Saas 4 hbbeond Ors 19

ES Gee PE ree ry Pen ree eee 21

Opinion of the court below ................... 21

I i I eo ok ces ps nencd 21

Specifications of error to be urged............. 21

Summary of the argument ................... 22

EE Wace Wek Gh ee be ase etek. aekanavneds 26

Cases Crrep

Carpenter v. Strange, 141 U.S. 87................. 24, 30

Chicago, Rock Island & Pac. Ry. v. Schendel, 270 U.S.

RE Dh gatos eae s PLES OSE 6% G45.6:2 12, 24, 26, 30, 31, 32

Christmas v. Russell, 5 Wall. 290.................. 23, 28

Clarke v. Clarke, 178 U.S. 186 .................... 26, 33

Equitable Life Assur. Soc. of U. 8S. v. Pool, 145 S. W.

a ek at ea ie wha <5 23, 28

Gates v. Mortgage Loan & Inv. Agency, 139 S. W.

Ey ee i ke ae ba KNEE 24, 30, 31

mene v. arenes, Ger U. GAL... .. «ce 26

Huntington v. Atrill, 146 U.S. 661................. 26, 33

Irvan v. Bounds, 170 S. W. (2d) 674............... 23, 29

Magnolia Petroleum Co. v. Hunt, 320 U. S. 4380,

12, 23, 26, 28, 32, 33

Maltz v. Jackoway-Katz Cap Co., 82 S. W. (2d) 909. . 23, 29

Milwaukee County v. White Co., 296 U.S. 268....... 26

Olmstead v. Olmstead, 216 U.S. 386................ 26, 33

Riley v. New York Trust Co., 315 U.S. 343.......... 26, 32

——-8164

ii INDEX

Roche v. McDonald, 275 U.S. 449...............-.. 23, 28

Rutherford v. Tobin Quarries, 82 S. W. (2d) 918,

23, 24, 26, 29, 30

State ex rel. v. Fulbright, 169 S. W. (2d) 59,

23, 24, 26, 29, 30

U.S. v. California & Oregon L. Co., 192 U.S. 355... . 26, 32

Werlein v. New Orleans, 177 U.S. 390............-. 26, 33

Williams v. State of North Carolina, 317 U. S. 287.. 12, 26

Wisconsin v. Pellican Ins. Co., 127 U.S. 265.......-.. 26, 33

Constitution oF Unirep States CiTEeD

Section IV, Article 1, Constitution of the United

scale Go 1, 15, 16, 17, 19, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27

Statute CrTep

Laws Arkansas 1939, Act 319, Sec. 25 (a)........... 23, 28

SUPREME COUNT OF THE UNITED. STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1946

No. 575

JACK GORUM anp NATIONAL MUTUAL CASUALTY

COMPANY,

vs.

RUBY 0. LOUDENSLAGER ann CHARLOTTE

LOUDENSLAGER

Petitioners,

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF MISSOURI

To the Honorable Chief Justice and Associate Justices of

the Supreme Court of the United States:

Come now Jack Gorum and National Mutual Casualty

Company and respectfully petition this Honorable Court

to grant a writ of certiorari to review the opinion and

judgment of the Supreme Court of Missouri en banc,

rendered and entered on the 10th day of June, 1946, in the

case lately pending in said Supreme Court of Missouri en

banc styled Ruby O. Loudenslager and Charlotte Louden-

slager, respondents, vs. Jack Gorum and National Mutual

Casualty Company, appellants, being Cause No, 39532 of

lm

a

2

the causes on the docket of said Supreme Court of Missouri

en bane, said judgment and opinion affirming the judgment

of the Circuit Court of Cedar County, Missouri, which said

Circuit Court judgment affirmed the award of the Missouri

Workmen’s Compensation Commission, in the sum of

$9,521.00, in favor of respondents and against petitioners

(R. 234 C, D, E) which said judgment of the Supreme

Court of Missouri en banc became final on the 8th day of

July, 1946, by the overuling by that Court of petitioners’

motion for rehearing (R. 255).

Opinion of the Court Below

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Missouri en banc

in said cause of Ruby O. Loudenslager and Charlotte Lou-

denslager, respondents, vs. Jack Gorum and National Mutual

Casualty Company, appellants, which petitioners here seek

to have reviewed, is reported in 195 S. W. (2d) at page 498,

and appears on page 246 to page 253 of the transcript of

the printed record filed herewith. Said opinion has not yet

been published in the official State Reports.

Summary Statement of the Matter Involved

This proceeding was commenced by the filing of a claim

for compensation before the Missouri Workmen’s Compen-

sation Commission by Ruby O. Loudenslager for herself and

on behalf of her minor daughter, Charlotte Loudenslager,

on the 17th day of December, 1941, seeking an award of

compensation under the Missouri Workmen’s Compensa-

tion Act on account of the death of R. Guy Loudenslager

on the theory that he was an employee of Jack Gorum

under a contract of hire entered into in the State of Mis-

souri (R. 2-6). R. Guy Loudenslager was the husband

of Ruby O. Loudenslager and the father of Charlotte Lou-

denslager (R. 4).

3

Petitioner Jack Gorum was engaged in the trucking busi-

ness under the name of Arkansas Traveler Truck Lines, at

Bentonville, Arkansas (R. 3). Petitioner National Mutual

Casualty Company carried workmen’s compensation insur-

ance on Jack Gorum’s employees in the State of Arkansas.

R. Guy Loudenslager owned a refrigerated tractor trailer

truck, which he was using to haul freight for Jack Gorum

under a contract, whereby he was paid a percentage of the

gross freight charges for the freight he hauled (R. 101,

154). Jack Gorum’s operations extended into Missouri

through Arkansas and into Mississippi and Louisiana

(R. 99-100).

On June 18th, 1941, R. Guy Loudenslager was driving his

truck north on U. S. Highway 65, just outside of Pine Bluff,

in the State of Arkansas, returning from a trip to Missis-

sippi, hauling freight under contract with Jack Gorum (R.

234.D). His truck collided with another truck on the high-

way and R. Guy Loudenslager sustained injuries from

which he died the following day at Pine Bluff, Arkansas

(R. 234 D).

On July 23rd, 1941, Ruby O. Loudenslager filed a claim

for herself and on behalf of her minor daughter, Charlotte

Loudenslager, respondents herein, before the Arkansas

Workmen’s Compensation Commission, to recover com-

pensation under the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation

Act on account of the death of R. Guy Loudenslager, on

the ground that he was an employee under a contract of

hire with Jack Gorum and died as a result of accidental in-

juries arising out of and in the course of his employment—

Employer’s and Insurer’s Ex. 1 (R. 22, 297). This claim

was heard before the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation

Commission on December 15th, 16th, and 17th, 1941, and was

at that time continued until January 12th, 1942, for further

hearing, at the request of claimants (R. 26). On January

2m

4

12th, 1942, said proceeding was continued to January 24th,

1942—Claimants’ Exhibit C (R. 29, 262). The cause was

taken as submitted and an award was entered February

16th, 1942—Employer’s and Insurer’s Exhibit 1 (R. 22,

290-297).

The Arkansas Award

The award was entered on the merits of said claim by the

Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission, finding

that R. Guy Loudenslager was not an employee of Jack

Gorum and that he was an independent contractor, and

finding that the contract under which he was working at the

time of his injury was entered into in the State of Arkansas

—Employer’s and Insurer’s Exhibit 1 (R. 22, 290, 296).

Compensation was denied because claimants (respondents

herein) failed to prove that deceased was an employee

under a contract of hire. Compensation was not denied on

the ground that the Arkansas Compensation Law afforded

no remedy.

No appeal was taken from this award of the Arkansas

Workmen’s Compensation Commission—Employer’s and

Insurer’s Exhibit 1 (R. 22, 306), and the award became final

and conclusive between the parties in the State of Arkansas

thirty days thereafter—Section 25 (a) of Act No. 319, Acts

of the General Assembly for the year 1939, State of Arkan-

sas (R. 14, 19).

Thereupon, on February 5th, 1942, petitioner Jack

Gorum in his answer to the claim for compensation filed

before the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commis-

sion, pleaded, alleging that all of the issues before the Mis-

souri Workmen’s Compensation Commission had been

finally adjudicated by the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensa-

tion Commission (R. 7-9).

On May 17th, 1943, petitioner National Mutual Casualty

Company, in an amended answer filed before the Missouri

————

5

Workmen’s Compensation Commission to the claim for

compensation of Ruby O. Loudenslager and Charlotte .

Loudenslager, pleaded the final adjudication and award by

the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission of

the issues presented in the claim filed before the Missouri

Workmen’s Compensation Commission (R. 9, 10-11). The

claim before the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Com-

mission was heard on February 22nd, 23rd, and 24th, 1944,

at Jopiin, Missouri, by a Referee of the Missouri Work-

men’s Compensation Commission (R. 12). Petitioners,

Jack Gorum and the National Mutual Casualty Company,

introduced a duly authenticated copy of the record of the

Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission in evi-

dence, showing the final award of that Commission, Em-

ployer’s and Insurer’s Exhibit 1 (R. 22, 290-307).

The Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Law was intro-

duced in evidence hefore the Missouri Workmen’s Com-

pensation Commission (R. 14, 15-21). That law provides:

‘Sec. 2. Definitions. As used in this chapter

(a) ‘Employer’ means any individual, partnership,

association or corporation carrying on any employment

. *** toa

(b) ‘Employee’ means any person, including a minor,

whether lawfully or unlawfully employed, in the service

of an employer under any contract of hire or appren-

ticeship, written or oral, express or implied * * *

(R. 14, 15).

(c) ‘Employment’ means every employment carried

on in the state in which five or more employees are

regularly employed in the same business or establish-

ment, except (1) domestic service, (2) agricultural

farm labor, (3) institutions maintained and operated

as public charities, (4) the State of Arkansas and each

of the political subdivisions thereof, (5) any person

engaged in the vending, selling or offering for sale or

6

delivering directly to the general public, any news-

papers, magazines, or periodicals * * * (R. 14, 15).

(f) ‘Injury’ and ‘Personal Injury’ shall mean acci-

dental injury or death arising out of and in the course

ofempluyment * ° *°’’ (R. 14, 15).

Section 3 provides that every employ er and em-

ployee, unless specifically exempted, is wanenss to the

provisions of the Act (R. 14, 16).

Section 4 provides that the remedy granted to an em-

ployee under the Act is exclusive of all other rights and

remedies of such employee (R. 14, 16).

Section 5 provides that every employer subject to the

Act shall secure compensation to his employees for dis-

ability or death from injury arising out of and in the

course of the employment (R. 14, 16).

Section 15 (c) (3) provides for payment of compen-

sation for death to the widow and children (R. 14, 17).

Section 25 ‘‘Review of Compensation Order. (a) A

compensation order shall become effective when filed in

the office of the commission as provided in Section 23,

and, unless reversed or modified on appeal as provided

in sub-division (b) of this Section, shall become final at

the expiration of the 30th day thereafter’’ (R. 14, 19).

The Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Law (Sec. 3689-

3766 R. S. Mo. 1939) provides:

Section 3690 provides that every employer and em-

ployee, unless otherwise provided, shall be conclusively

presumed to nave elected to accept the provisions of

the compensation law, unless prior to the accident he

shall have filed with the Commission a written notice of

rejection of the law.

Section 3691 provides that if both employer and em-

ployee shall accept the provisions of the law, the em-

ployer shall be liable to furnish compensation for

personal injury or death of the employee by accident

| aa

7

arising out of and in the course of his employment, and

provides that the remedy is exclusive of all other

remedies.

Section 3694 (a) defines an employer as ‘“Every

person, partnership, association, corporation, trustee,

receiver, the legal representatives of a deceased em-

ployer, using the service of another for pay * * *”

Section 3695 (a) defines an employee as ‘«Every

person in the service of an employer, * * * under any

contract of hipe, express or implied, oral or written,

or under any appointment or election * * *”?

Section 3709 (d) provides for compensation to the

widow of an employee who dies as a result of accidental

injuries arising out of and in the course of his em-

ployment.

Section 3700 (b) provides compensation for injuries

or death occurring outside Missouri under a contract

of employment made in Missouri unless the contract

shall otherwise provide.

The Missouri Law covers independent contractors en-

gaged on or about the premises of the employer, Sec. 3698

R. S. Mo. 1939, but excludes independent contractors who

are engaged in driving trucks on public highways not under

the control of the employer (See Brief 33). The Arkansas

Law cover only employees (See Brief 30).

The Missouri Award

At the conclusion of the hearing on February 24th, 1944,

the Referee of the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Com-

mission took the case as submitted (R. 232), and entered an

award on the 8th day of March, 1944, finding that R. Guy

Loudenslager was an employee of Jack Gorum under a

contract of employment made in the State of Missouri, and

awarded claimants compensation in the sum of $9,521.00

(R. 232 A, B, C).

ee

8

‘Thereupon Jack Gorum, on March 10th, 1944, duly filed his

application for review (R. 234 A), and National Mutual Cas-

ualty Company, on March 14th, 1944, duly filed its applica-

tion for review (R. 234 B), and said proceeding was taken as

submitted on review on March 10th and March 14th, 1944,

by the full Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission

(R. 234), and said Missouri Workmen’s Compensation

Commission entered a final award on August 11th, 1944, find-

ing that the deceased R. Guy Loudenslager was an employee

of Jack Gorum and that the contract of employment was

entered into in the State of Missouri, and awarded claim-

ants compensation in the sum of $9,521.00 (R. 234C, D,

235).

Thereupon, on August 22nd, 1944, Jack Gorum and Na-

tional Mutual Casualty Company duly filed their notice of

appeal from the award of the Missouri Workmen’s Compen-

sation Commission to the Circuit Court of Jasper County,

Missouri (R. 236 A) ; and thereafter, on September 5th, 1944,

the Secretary of the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation

Commission transmitted said record, together with certifi-

cate on appeal, to the Circuit Court of Jasper County, at

Joplin, Missouri, and said transcript on appeal was duly

lodged in the Cireuit Court of Jasper County on Septem-

ber 6th, 1944 (R. 236 B, 359). Said cause was duly trans-

ferred from Jasper County to Cedar County, Missouri, be-

cause of the interest of the judges as counsel in said cause

(R. 237).

Thereafter, on the 17th day of November, 1944, said cause

was heard on appeal in the Circuit Court of Cedar County

and an amended judgment entry was made (R. 237-239),

affirming the award of the Missouri Workmen’s Compensa-

tion Commission. Thereafter, on December 19th, 1944, Jack

Gorum and National Mutual Casualty Company filed their

affidavit for appeal, and on the same day and during the

November Term, 1944, of the Circuit Court of Cedar County,

and at the same term at which the judgment had been entered,

—

9

said court made an order granting an appeal to the Supreme

Court of Missouri (R. 1, 2), and fixed the appeal bond at

$15,000.00 (R. 240). Thereafter, on December 23rd, 1944,

the appeal bond was filed and duly approved (R. 240).

Thereafter, on March 13th, 1945, the Circuit Court of

Cedar County made an order extending the time to file the

transcript on appeal in the Supreme Court of Missouri from

March 19th, 1945, to April 19th, 1945 (R. 240), and on April

17th, 1945, said Court entered an order extending the time

to file the transcript on appeal in the Supreme Court from

April 19th, 1945, to June 19th, 1945 (R. 241). It was stipu-

lated between the parties, appellants and respondents, that

certain exhibits would be filed in the Supreme Court of

Missouri under separate cover under Rule 1.05 of the Rules

of the Supreme Court of Missouri (R. 241-2).

The case on appeal was duly assigned to Division 1 of

the Supreme Court of Missouri, and was argued and sub-

mitted to said Court on January 8th, 1946. Thereafter, on

February 11th, 1946, Division 1 of the Supreme Court of

Missouri entered a judgment and filed its opinion affirming

the award of the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Com-

mission (R. 244). On February 26th, 1946, within the time

allowed by Rule 1.19 and 2.02 of the Supreme Court of

Missouri, petitioners filed their motion for rehearing and

to transfer said cause to the Supreme Court of Missouri

en banc. Said motion for rehearing and to transfer to the

Court en banc was overruled on March 11th, 1946, and the

Court, on its own motion, transferred said cause to the Court

en banc, under Section 4 of the Amendment of 1890 to

Article VI of the Constitution of Missouri (Rev. St. Mo.

1939, Vol. 1, p. 127¢), because a Federal question was in-

volved (R. 244). The case was set for argument and was

argued before the Supreme Court of Missouri en banc on

May 23rd, 1946, and was on that day taken by the Court as

submitted. On June 10th, 1946, the Supreme Court of Mis-

rE

10

souri en banc entered its judgment, affirming the award of

the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission and

adopting the opinion of Division 1 of the Supreme Court of

Missouri theretofore filed in said cause (R. 245). On June

22nd, 1946, within the time allowed by Rule 1.19 of said

Court, petitioners filed in said Court their motion for re-

hearing (R. 253), which was by the Court overruled by an

order entered of record on July 8th, 1946 (R. 255).

Opinion of Supreme Court of Missouri

The Supreme Court of Missouri en banc held in its opin-

ion that the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commis-

sion had jurisdiction to make the order refusing compensa-

tion (R. 248), and further held that the award of the Ar-

kansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission was not sub-

ject to collateral attack (R. 248). The Supreme Court of

Missouri held that the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation

Commission was not required to give full faith and credit to

the award of the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Com-

mission because the Arkansas award found that claimants

were not entitled to anything under the Arkansas Act (R.

249), and because the Wokmen’s Compensation Acts of

Missouri and Arkansas are different in many respects and,

therefore, the finding of the Arkansas Commission, that

claimants had no remedy to recover anything for Louden-

slager’s death under the Arkansas Act, does not mean that

they could not be given a remedy therefor by the Missouri

Act (R. 249).

Judgment of Supreme Court of Missouri

The Supreme Court of Missouri entered judgment affirm-

ing the judgment of the Circuit Court of Cedar County,

Missouri (R. 245).

il

Jurisdiction of This Court

The jurisdiction of this Court is based on Section 237 of

the Judicial Code as amended and reformulated by the Act

of February 13th, 1925, C. 229, Section 237, 43 Stat. 937,

Title 28, U. S. C. A., See. 344 (b), providing that it shall be

competent for this Court, by certiorari, to require that there

be certified to it for review and determination any cause

wherein a final judgment or decree has been rendered by

the highest court of a state in which a decision could be had,

where any title, right, privilege, or immunity specially set

up or claimed by either party under the Constitution, or any

treaty or statute, of, or commission held, or authority exer-

cised under, the United States.

The judgment of the Supreme Court of Missouri en banc

sought to be reviewed was entered on June 10th, 1946 (R.

245). A motion for rehearing was filed in said Court on

June 22nd, 1946, within the time prescribed by the rules of

the Supreme Court of Missouri (R. 253), and said motion

of petitioners for rehearing of said cause was denied by the

Supreme Court of Missouri en banc on July 8th, 1946 (R.

255), which is the date on which the judgment of the Su-

preme Court of Missouri in said cause became final. The

Supreme Court of Missouri en banc was the highest court

of the State of Missouri in which a decision could be had

in said cause, and in said cause petitioners specially set up

and claimed a right under Article IV, Section 1 of the Con-

stitution of the United States— See answers to claim for

compensation (R. 7-11), Brief in Supreme Court of Mis-

souri (R. 244-5), and motion for rehearing (R. 253-5), which

right was denied petitioners by said Supreme Court of

Missouri en banc.

Petitioners specially pleaded in their answer to the claim

for compensation, filed before the Missouri Workmen’s Com-

pensation Commission, their right to have the final, con-

on i ily

12

clusive award of the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation

Commission accepted as a final and conclusive determination

of the issues theretofore adjudicated between the same

parties by the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commis-

sion (R. 7-11). Petitioners in their brief in the Supreme

Court of Missouri assigned as error the refusal of the

Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission to give

full faith and credit to the final Arkansas award and the is-

sues adjudicated therein and duly argued said question

before said Court (R. 244-5). The Supreme Court of Mis-

souri, in its opinion, held:

‘‘Therefore, we must find that the Arkansas Commis-

sion had jurisdiction to make the order refusing com-

pensation. Nevertheless, we do not think that the

Schendel and Magnolia Petroleum Company cases pro-

hibit the award made herein by the Missouri Commis-

sion. (R. 248) * * * We, therefore, hold that the

Cireuit Court properly affirmed the award of the Mis-

souri Workmen’s Compensation Commission as to the

employer.’’ (R. 251)

The cases thought to sustain the jurisdiction of this Court

are:

Magnolia Petroleum Co. v. Hunt, 320 U. S. 430;

Williams v. State of North Carolina, 317 U. 8S. 287;

Chicago, Rock Island & Pac. Ry. v. Schendel, 270 U.S.

611.

Questions Presented

I

Whether the respondents had one cause of action on ac-

count of the death of R. Guy Loudenslager, which, when

prosecuted to a valid, final, conclusive award between the

parties before the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation

Commission, would be entitled to full faith and credit under

Se

13

Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitution of the United States

and the Acts of Congress implementing same, as to all issues

that were adjudicated in the Arkansas proceeding and as to

all issues that could have been adjudicated in that proceed-

ing, when duly pleaded and proven in a second action be-

tween the same parties, seeking an award of compensation

on account of the same death before the Missouri Work-

men’s Compensation Commission, where the Arkansas

Workmen’s Compensation Law and the Missouri Work-

men’s Compensation Law both provided for an award of

compensation to the widow and minor child of an employee

who died as a result of accidental injuries arising out of

and in the course of his employment, and both compensation

laws define an employee as any person in the service of an

employer, under any contract of hire, express or implied,

written or oral, and both compensation laws exclude inde-

pendent contractors driving trucks along public highways,

and where the claim adjudicated by the Arkansas Work-

men’s Compensation Commission was to recover compen-

sation on the ground that deceased was an employee under

a contract of hire, and that he died as a result of accidental

injuries arising out of and in the course of his employment,

in Arkansas, and the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation

Commission, after a hearing on the merits, found from the

evidence that deceased was not an employee, but was an in-

dependent contractor, and the claim before the Missouri

Workmen’s Compensation Commission was upon the same

ground, to-wit: that deceased was an employee under a con-

tract of hire, and that he died as a result of accidental in-

juries arising out of and in the course of his employment.

II

Whether the findings that deceased was not an employee

under a contract of hire, in a final, conclusive adjudication

by the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission,

14

having jurisdiction of the parties and subject matter,

brought to recover an award of compensation under the

Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Law on the ground

that deceased was an employee under a contract of hire,

wherein those issues were duly presented by the claim for

compensation and answer thereto filed before said Commis-

sion, and were duly contested and presented to said Com-

mission for decision by the evidence, are entitled to full

faith and credit, under Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitu-

tion of the United States in a subsequent proceeding, be-

tween the same parties, filed before the Missouri Workmen’s

Compensation Commission to recover compensation under

the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Law on account of

the same death on the ground that deceased was an em-

ployee under a contract of hire entered into in the State

of Missouri, where the prior final.award was duly pleaded

and proven in the second action.

III

Whether the fact that the Arkansas Workmen’s Compen-

sation Law and the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Law

differed in many particulars not material to the right to

compensation in question would except the valid, final, con-

clusive award of the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation

Commission from the requirements of full faith and credit

under Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitution of the United

States, when duly pleaded and proven in a second action

before the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission

by the same parties, seeking compensation on account of the

same death, and where both claims for compensation were

brought on the ground that the deceased was an employee

under a contract of hire, and the Arkansas Workmen’s

Compensation Commission in the first action held that he

was not and held that he was an independent contractor,

and the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission in

=

15

the second action held that he was an employee, and both

the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Act and the Mis-

souri Workmen’s Compensation Act provide for compensa-

tion to a widow and child on account of the death of the em-

ployee as a result of an accidental injury arising out of and

in the course of his employment, and neither the Arkansas

Workmen’s Compensation Act nor the Missouri Workmen’s

Compensation Act authorizes an award of compensation to

an independent contractor driving a truck along a public

highway, as the deceased was in this case.

Reasons Relied On for the Allowance of the Writ

I

Your petitioners believe that the Supreme Court of the

State of Missouri has decided a Federal question of sub-

stance in a way probably not in accord with applicable de-

cisions of this Court.

This Court has stated the rule of res judicata, as it is

applied under Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitution of

the United States, as follows:

‘‘The effect of a judgment or decree as res judicata

depends upon whether the second action or suit is upon

the same or a different cause of action. If upon the

same cause of action, the judgment, or decree upon the

merits in the first case is an absolute bar to the subse-

quent action or suit between the same parties or those

in privity with them, not only in respect of every mat-

ter which was actually offered and received to sustain

the demand, but also as to every ground of recovery

which might have been presented. But if the second

case be upon a different cause of action, the prior judg-

ment or decree operates as an estoppel only as to mat-

ters actually in issue or points controverted, upon the

determination of which the judgment or decree was

rendered,’’

en ee > ee ORE Crm CameNr eRe > lei

16

The Supreme Court of Missouri held in its opinion that .

the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission had

jursidiction to make the award it did make, and that such

award was not subject to collateral attack, yet said Court

denied full faith and credit to that award.

The claim filed before the Arkansas Workmen’s Com-

pensation Commission and the claim filed before the Mis-

souri Workmen’s Compensation Commission were upon the

same cause of action and were between the same parties.

Under the above rule, the final Arkansas award was res

judicata as to all issues that were adjudicated therein, and

likewise as to all issues that could have been adjudicated

therein. The issue adjudicated by the Arkansas Work-

men’s Compensation Commission was whether the deceased

was an employee or an independent contractor. The Ar-

kansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission found that

he was not an employee and that he was an independent

contractor. The issue before the Missouri Workmen’s

Compensation Commission was the same, to-wit: whether

the deceased was an employee or an independent contractor.

The Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission again

litigated this question and found that the deceased was an

employee. In so doing, the Missouri Workmen’s Com-

pensation Commission violated Article IV, Section 1 of the

Constitution of the United States.

II

The terms of the contract under which R. Guy Louden-

slager was working on June 18th, 1941, constituted him an

employee of Jack Gorum or an independent contractor

doing work for Jack Gorum. This issue was presented to

the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission by the

claim of respondents and by the answer of petitioners. The

issue was duly adjudicated by the Arkansas Workmen’s

ee

.

17

Compensation Commission, and the final, conclusive award

of the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission

adjudicating this issue was specially pleaded in the answer

of Jack Gorum and the National Mutual Casualty Company

to the claim for compensation filed before the Missouri

Workmen’s Compensation Commission. A duly authenti-

cated copy of the record of the Arkansas Workmen’s Com-

pensation Commission was introduced in evidence before

the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission. Peti-

tioners submit that Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitution

of the United States, as construed by this Court, required

the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission to give

full faith and credit to this adjudicated issue and to ac-

cept the finding of the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation

Commission as conclusively establishing the relationship

created by the contract under which deceased was working,

and prevented the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation

Commission from again litigating this issue and finding

that R. Guy Loudenslager was an employee under a con-

tract of hire with Jack Gorum.

Ill

Your petitioners believe that the Supreme Court of the

State of Missouri en banc has decided a Federal question

of substance not theretofore determined by this Court, in

this, that the Supreme Court of Missouri en banc has ruled

in its judgment and opinion that the valid, final, conclusive

award of the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Com-

mission is excepted from the requirements of full faith and

credit under Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitution of the

United States and the Acts of Congress implementing same,

because the award of the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensa-

tion Commission denied respondents a recovery and be-

cause there are many differences between the Arkansas

TT

18

Workmen’s Compensation Act and the Missouri Work-

men’s Compensation Act, although these differences are

not found to be pertinent or material to the claim for com-

pensation here involved.

It is believed that this Court should determine what judg-

ments and records of one state are excepted from the

requirements of full faith and credit when pleaded in a

second action in another state. This Court does not seem

to have ever excepted a money judgment or award from the

requirements of full faith and credit, and the decisions of

this Court seem to establish that no judgment or record of

one state will be excepted from the requirements of full faith

and credit unless the enforcement of that judgment or rece-

ord in another state will create a serious conflict with the

policy of such other state. The enforcement of the final, con-

clusive award of the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation

Commission in the State of Missouri will work no conflict

with the policy of the State of Missouri. This is true be-

cause both the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Act and

the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Act apply precisely

the same to the right of respondents to compensation on ac-

count of the death of R. Guy Loudenslager. Both the Ar-

kansas and the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Acts pro-

vide for an award of compensation to the widow and minor

child of a deceased employee who dies as a result of acci-

dental injuries arising out of and in the course of his em-

ployment, and that was the theory upon which both the

Arkansas and Missouri compensation claims were prose-

cuted. The Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Law and

the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Law likewise do

not provide for compensation on account of the death of an

independent contractor driving a truck along a public high-

way, as R. Guy Loudenslager was doing in this case, and it

appears from the record in this case that respondents sought

the same remedy in the proceeding before the Missouri

a

19

Workmen’s Compensation Commission which they had

under the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Law in the

proceeding theretofore adjudicated before the Arkansas

Workmen’s Compensation Commission. Under the facts

found by the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commis-

sion, no award of compensation could be made under the

Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Law; and likewise,

under the findings made by the Missouri Workmen’s Com-

pensation Commission, compensation would be awarded

under the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Law.

Your petitioners believe that the question involved in

this case is one of substance because the judgment and

opinion of the Supreme Court of Missouri denies your

petitioners a Federal right. The petitioners specially

pleaded their right to have the final, conclusive award of

the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission given

full faith and credit in the subsequent action before the

Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission under

Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitution of the United

States. The judgment of the Supreme Court of Missouri

denies your petitioners this right.

Your petitioners believe that the question involved is of

importance and should be determined by this Court be-

cause it is believed that orderly procedure requires that

a cause of action or an issue duly adjudicated by a tribunal

having jurisdiction should be conclusive in a second action

| between the same parties and should not be again litigated

in a subsequent action.

| Prayer

Wuererore, petitioners pray that a writ of certiorari

be issued by this Court directed to the Supreme Court of

Missouri to the end that said opinion and judgment of the

Supreme Court of Missouri en banc, in said cause of Ruby

ee

20

O. Loudenslager and Charlotte Loudenslager, respondents,

vs. Jack Gorum and National Mutual Casualty Company,

appellants, No. 39,532, be reviewed by this Court, as pro-

vided by law, and that upon such review said judgment be

reversed, and that petitioners have such other relief as to

this Court may seem appropriate.

JoserH N. Hassett,

Attorney for Petitioners,

412 Paul Brown Bldg.,

St. Louis 1, Mo.

21

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

Opinion of the Court Below

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Missouri in said

cause of Ruby O. Loudenslager and Charlotte Louden-

slager, (claimants) respondents, vs. Jack Gorum and Na-

tional Mutual Casualty Company, (employer and insurer)

appellants, which petitioners here seek to have reviewed,

is reported in 195 S. W. (2d) 498, and appears on pages

246 to 253 of the transcript of the printed record filed

herewith. Said opinion has not yet been published in the

official State Reports.

Statement of the Case

The essential facts of the case are fully stated in the

petition for writ of certiorari, and in the interest of brevity

are not repeated here. Reference will be made to such

facts on the points involved in the course of the argument

which follows.

Specifications of Error to Be Urged

The Supreme Court of Missouri en banc, in its said

opinion in said cause, erred:

1. In holding and deciding that the Missouri Workmen’s

Compensation Commission was not required to give full

faith and credit, under Article IV, Section 1 of the Con-

stitution of the United States, to the final, conclusive award

of the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission in

a subsequent case on the same cause of action between the

same parties.

2. In holding that the findings of the Arkansas Work-

men’s Compensation Commission on matters in issue, on

22

the determination of which the Arkansas award was ren-

dered, were not conclusive between the same parties in the

subsequent Missouri proceeding.

3. In holding that the award of the Arkansas Workmen’s

Compensation Commission was excepted from the require-

ments of Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitution of the

United States, because the Arkansas award denied com-

pensation and there was some difference in the Arkansas

law and the Missouri law.

Summary of the Argument

I

The respondents filed a claim for compensation before

the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission, seek-

ing an award of compensation on account of the death of

R. Guy Loudenslager. That proceeding was prosecuted

to a final, conclusive award between the parties in Arkansas.

Respondents filed another claim for compensation before

the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission, seek-

ing an award of compensation on account of the death of

R. Guy Loudenslager. Petitioners duly pleaded and proved

the final, conclusive award of the Arkansas Workmen’s

Compensation Commission in the proceeding before the

Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission. The Mis-

souri Workmen’s Compensation Commission refused to ac-

cept the final Arkansas award as conclusive between the

parties and again litigated that issue. The Arkansas Work-

men’s Compensation Commission denied compensation on

the finding that the deceased was not an employee, but was

an independent contractor. The Missouri Workmen’s Com-

pensation Commission entered an award in favor of re-

spondents on the finding that the deceased was an employee.

Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitution of the United

States, required that the final, conclusive award of the

en

23

Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission, when

duly pleaded and proven in the subsequent proceeding be-

fore the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission,

be given full faith and credit. The Missouri Workmen’s

Compensation Commission and the Supreme Court of Mis-

souri denied full faith and credit to the Arkansas award,

and held that the issue could be litigated a second time. In

so ruling, the judgment of the Supreme Court of Missouri

violated Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitution of the

United States.

Magnolia Petroleum Co. v. Hunt, 320 U. 8S. 430, 439,

443, 444, 445.

Roche v. McDonald, 275 U. 8. 449, 454, 455.

Christmas v. Russell, 5 Wall 290, 301, 302.

Equitable Life Assur. Soc. of U. 8. v. Pool, 145 8S. W.

(2d) 25, 27 (Ark.)

State ex Rel. v. Fulbright, 169 S. W. (2d) 59 (Mo.)

Rutherford v. Tobin Quarries, 82 S. W. (2d) 918, 923

(Mo.)

TIrvan v. Bounds, 170 S. W. (2d) 674, 677 (Ark.)

Maltz v. Jackoway-Katz Cap Co., 82 S. W. (2d) 909,

916 (Mo.)

Article IV, Section 1 of the U. S. Constitution.

Act 319 Laws Arkansas 1939, Section 25 (a).

II

Respondents filed a claim for compensation before the

Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission to re-

cover compensation on account of the death of R. Guy

Loudenslager. That proceeding was prosecuted to a final,

conclusive award in Arkansas. Respondents also filed a

proceeding before the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation

Commission to recover on account of the same death.

Petitioners duly pleaded and proved the final, conclusive

i —

ceertn nets CETTE LLP EEO I

24

award of the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Com-

mission in the Missouri proceeding. The Missouri Work-

men’s Compensation Commission and the Supreme Court

of Missouri refused to give full faith and credit to the

final, conclusive Arkansas award; they held the issue

determined in the Arkansas proceeding could be again

litigated. The parties in both proceedings were the same,

and even though the Missouri and Arkansas proceedings

were not upon the same cause of action, Article IV, Section

1 of the Constitution of the United States required the

Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission and the

Supreme Court of Missouri to give full faith and credit

to that award on the matters in issue, upon the determina-

tion of which the Arkansas award was entered. The mat-

ter in issue, upon the determination of which the Arkansas

award was entered, was whether the deceased was an em-

ployee or an independent contractor. The Arkansas Com-

mission found that he was not an employee. The Missouri

Workmen’s Compensation Commission had before it the

same issue, and the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation

Commission found that the deceased was an employee.

Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Ry. v. Schendel, 270

U. S. 611, 616, 617;

Carpenter v. Strange, 141 U. S. 87, 102, 103;

Gates v. Mortgage Loan & Inv. Agency, 139 S. W.

(2d) 19, 23 (Ark.) ;

State ex rel, v. Fulbright, 169 S. W. (2d) 59 (Mo.)

Rutherford v. Tobin Quarries, 82 S. W. (2d) 918, 923.

Article IV, Section 1 of the U. S. Constitution.

Ill

Respondents filed a claim for compensation on account

of the death of R. Guy Loudenslager before the Arkansas

Workmen’s Compensation Commission, which was prose-

| cagpaaaiee oe

ae

25

cuted to a final, conclusive award between the parties in

Arkansas. They filed a second action seeking an award of

compensation on account of the same death before the

Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission. Peti-

tioners, in their answer before the Missouri Workmen’s

Compensation Commission, duly pleaded the final, conclu-

sive award of the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation

Commission, and on hearing before the Missouri Work-

men’s Compensation Commission introduced a duly authen-

ticated copy of the final, conclusive award of the Arkansas

Commission. The Missouri Supreme Court, in its opinion,

held that the final, conclusive award of the Arkansas Work-

men’s Compensation Commission was excepted from the

requirements of Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitution

of the United States, and that the Missouri Courts did not

have to give it full faith and credit, because the Arkansas

award denied compensation and held that the claimants

were not entitled to compensation under the Arkansas Act,

and because the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Act

and the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Act differed

in many respects, and that the finding of the Arkansas Com-

mission, that the claimants were not entitled to compensa-

tion under the Arkansas Act, does not mean that they

could not be given a remedy therefor by the Missouri Act.

The issue in both proceedings was whether the deceased

was an employee or an independent contractor. The Ar-

kansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission, after hear-

ing, found that he was not an employee. The Missouri

Workmen’s Compensation Commission, after hearing, found

that he was anemployee. Both Acts provided for compensa-

tion to respondents under the facts found by the Missouri

Workmen’s Compensation Commission, and both Acts de-

nied compensation to respondents under the facts found by

the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission.

-

nea

26

Neither Act provided for compensation on account of the

death of an independent contractor.

This Court is the final arbiter of the extent to which full

faith and credit must be given to the judgments of a sister-

state, and likewise as to what judgments may be excepted

from the requirements of full faith and credit. The Ar-

kansas award did not conflict with any public policy of the

State of Missouri and, therefore, Article IV, Section 1 of

the Constitution of the United States required that the

Missouri Courts give full faith and credit to that award.

In attempting to except that award from the requirements

of full faith and credit, the judgment and opinion of the

Supreme Court is brought into conflict and violates Article

IV, Section 1 of the Constitution of the United States.

Magnolia Petroleum Co. v. Hunt, 320 U. S. 480, 438;

Williams v. “tate of North Carolina, 317 U. S. 287, 302;

Riley v. New York Trust Co., 315 U. 8. 348, 348;

Milwaukee County v. White Co., 296 U. 8. 268, 274;

Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Ry. v. Schendel, 270

U. S. 611, 616;

Hood v. McGhee, 237 U.S. 611

Olmstead v. Olmstead, 216 U. S. 386;

U. S. v. California & Oregon L. Co., 192 U. 8. 355;

Clarke v. Clarke, 178 U.S. 186;

Werlein v. New Orleans, 177 U. S. 390, 398, 399 ;

Huntington v. Atrill, 146 U. S. 661, 666, 685;

Wisconsin v. Pellican Ins. Co., 127 U. 8. 265;

State ex rel. v. Fulbright, 169 S. W. (2d) 59;

Rutherford v. Tobin Quarries, 82 S. W. (2d) 918, 923.

Argument

I

This proceeding grows out of a claim filed December 19th

1941, by respondents before the Missouri Workmen’s Com-

—

27

pensation Commission, seeking an award of compensation

under the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Law on ac-

count of the death of R. Guy Loudenslager.

Prior to filing the Missouri claim, respondents, on July

23rd, 1941, filed a claim for compensation before the Arkan-

sas Workmen’s Compensation Commission, to recover com-

pensation under the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation

Law on account of the same death.

Both claims sought an award of compensation on the

ground that R. Guy Loudenslager was an employee under

a contract of hire (R. 3-4, 6). Employer’s and Insurer’s

Exhibit 1 (R. 22, 297). The Arkansas proceeding was

first prosecuted to an award on February 16th, 1942—

Employer’s and Insurer’s Exhibit 1 (R. 22, 290). No ap-

peal was prosecuted from the Arkansas award-—Em-

ployer’s and Insurer’s Exhibit 1 (R. 22, 306), and it be-

came final and conclusive between the parties on March

18th, 1942. See. 25 (a), Act 319 Laws of Arkansas 1939

(R. 14, 19).

The Arkansas award was pleaded in the Missouri pro-

ceeding (R. 7-11), and a duly authenticated copy of the

award and record of the Arkansas Workmen’s Compen-

sation Commission was introduced in evidence (R. 22).

Petitioners claim that it was the duty of the Missouri

Workmen’s Compensation Commission to accept this final

Arkansas award as conclusively establishing the relation-

ship of deceased to petitioner Jack Gorum, under Article

IV, Section 1 of the Constitution of the United States

and the Acts of Congress implementing same. 28 U. S.

C. A., Sec. 688. Regardless of such proof of the final

Arkansas award, the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation

Commission proceeded to again litigate the issue finally

adjudicated by the Arkansas award, and made a finding

contrary to that award (R. 232 A-234 A, 234 C-234 D).

Dee a ee

7

The claims filed in these proceedings show that the

parties were the same (R. 3-4; Employer’s and Insurer’s

Exhibit 1, R. 22, 297). Respondents had one cause of

action on account of the death of R. Guy Loudenslager.

Magnolia Petroleum Co. v. Hunt, 320 U. S. 443, 444, 445.

They could seek their remedy in either Arkansas or Mis-

souri, but having chosen to seek it in Arkansas, where the

award was final and conclusive—Act 319 Laws Ark. 1939,

Sec. 25 (A) (R. 14, 19), the full faith and credit clause

precludes them from again seeking a remedy in Missouri

upon the same ground. Magnolia Petrolewm Co. v. Hunt,

320 U. S. 444.

The rule laid down by the applicable decisions of this

Court, in construing Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitu-

tion of the United States and the Act of Congress imple-

menting same, is that a final, conclusive judgment of one

state, when duly pleaded and proven in a subsequent action,

between the same parties on the same cause of action

brought in another state, must be given the same force and

effect in the second action that it had in the state where

rendered, under the principle of res judicata.

Christmas v. Russell, 5 Wall. 290, 301, 302.

Magnolia Petroleum Co. v. Hunt, 320 U.S. 430, 439.

Roche v. McDonald, 275 U. 8S. 449, 454, 455.

28

The award was conclusive and final between the parties

in Arkansas. Act 319 Laws Arkansas 1939, Sec. 25 (b)

(R. 14, 19).

Under the rule of res judicata in the State of Arkansas,

the award conclusively established that deceased was not

an employee. Equitable Life Assur. Soc. of U. S. v. Pool,

143 S. W. (2d) 25, 27.

The same validity and effect should have been given to

the Arkansas award by the Missouri Workmen’s Compen-

sation Commission.

29

Such validity and effect was denied the Arkansas award

and the issue was again litigated.

The recognition of the Arkansas award by the Missouri

Workmen’s Compensation Commission and the granting

it full faith and credit would not violate or conflict with

any policy of the State of Missouri. This is so because

the award of compensation was denied by the Arkansas

Workmen’s Compensation Commission because it found

deceased was not an employee, but was an independent

contractor—Employer’s and Insurer’s Exhibit 1 (R. 22,

296). The policy of Missouri, as shown by its compensation

law and decisions construing same, is to deny compensation

to independent contractors. State ex rel. v. Fulbright,

169 S. W. (2d) 59; Rutherford v. Tobin Quarries, 82 S. W.

(2d) 918, 923.

Under the facts found by the Arkansas Workmen’s Com-

pensation Commission, neither Missouri nor Arkansas law

provides for compensation. Under the facts found by

the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission, both

Missouri and Arkansas laws provide for compensation to

the widow and child.

It would seem that the only reason why the Missouri

Supreme Court and the Missouri Workmen’s Compensa-

tion Commission were unwilling to grant full faith and

credit to the Arkansas award was because they were not

agreeable to accepting the finding of fact made by the

Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission.

Both Arkansas and Missouri apply the same rule of law

to determine whether a workman is an employee or an

independent contractor. Irvan v. Bounds, 170 S. W. (2d)

674, 677; Maltz v. Jackoway-Katz Cap Co., 82 S. W. (2d)

909, 916.

Petitioners submit that the Supreme Court of Missouri

violated Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitution of the

-—

30

United States, and the Act of Congress implementing same,

by denying full faith and credit to the Arkansas award,

and the judgment of said Court should be reversed.

II

However, if it should be thought that the Arkansas pro-

ceeding and the Missouri proceeding were upon different

causes of action, the Arkansas award was nevertheless

entitled to full faith and credit. The parties were the

same—Employer’s and Insurer’s Exhibit 1 (R. 22, 297, 3-4).

The matter in issue, upon the determination of which the

Arkansas award was rendered, was whether the deceased

was an employee or an independent contractor. The

Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission found he

was not an employee—Employer’s and Insurer’s Exhibit 1

22, 296). It found he was an independent contractor.

It denied compensation on a trial on the merits because of

these findings.

If the Arkansas award had been given full faith and

credit and the issues there adjudicated had been accepted

as final and conclusive, no award of compensation could

have been made by the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation

Commission. State ex Rel. v. Fulbright, 169 S. W. (2d) 59;

Rutherford v. Tobin Quarries, 82 S. W. (2d) 918, 923.

This is so because the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation

Law does not provide compensation for the injury or death

of an independent contractor not engaged on or about the

premises of the employer.

The parties being the same, the matters in issue, on the

determination of which the Arkansas award was rendered,

in the first action are conclusive in the second action when

pleaded and proven. Carpenter v. Strange, 141 U. S. 87,

102, 103; Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Ry. Co. v. Schen-

del, 270 U. S. 611, 617; Gates v. Mortgage Loan & Ins.

nt nee Tay

31

Agency, 139 S. W. (2d) 19, 23 (Ark.). Whether deceased

was an employee was the matter in issue, on the determina-

tion of which both the Arkansas and the Missouri awards

were rendered. The issue in both proceedings was the

same. Chicago, R. I. d P. Ry. Co. v. Schendel, 270 U. S.

616.

Your petitioners, therefore, believe that the judgment

of the Supreme Court of Missouri conflicts with the ap-

plicable decision of this Court and violates Article IV,

Section 1 of the Constitution of the United States.

Ill

The Supreme Court of Missouri, in its opinion, held

that the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission

had jurisdiction and that the Arkansas award was not sub-

ject to collateral attack (R. 248). Yet said Court refused

to give that award full faith and credit (R. 248-9). The

opinion of said Court has excepted the Arkansas award

from the requirements of full faith and credit. The reasons

for excepting this final, conclusive award from the require-

ment of full faith and credit are stated in the opinion to

be because the Arkansas award denied a recovery of com-

pensation, and the Arkansas and Missouri compensation

laws differ in many respects, and the right to compensation

under the Missouri law was not involved in the Arkansas

proceeding, and the right to compensation under the

Arkansas law was not involved in the Missouri proceeding.

It was not held or contended by the Missouri Supreme

Court that the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Law

granted respondents any remedy to recover an award of

compensation which was not also granted respondents in

the Arkansas proceeding under the Arkansas Workmen’s

Compensation Law.

32

It is for this Court to determine the extent to which full

faith and credit must be given to the judgments and rec-

ords of the State of Arkansas by the Courts of Missouri,

as well as to determine what judgments and records shall be

excepted from the requirement of full faith and credit.

Williams v. State of North Carolina, 317 U. S. 287, 302;

Milwaukee County v. White Co., 296 U. S. 268, 274.

It was not thought by this Court, in Chicago, Rock Island

é Pacific Ry. v. Schendel, swpra, that the fact that there

was a difference between the Iowa Workmen’s Compensa-

tion Law and the Federal Employers’ Liability Act would

except the Iowa compensation award from the require-

ments of full faith and credit. Nor was it thought in the

Schendel case that the fact that the right to recover dam-

ages under the Federal Employers’ Liability Act was not

involved in the Iowa compensation proceeding, and the

right to recover compensation under the Iowa Compen-

sation Law was not involved in the Minnesota proceeding

brought under the Federal Employers’ Liability Act, cre-

ated any exception to the requirement of full faith and credit

under Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitution of the

United States.

Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitution of the United

States and the Act of Congress implementing same have

made it mandatory for the Courts of Missouri to give the

final, conclusive award of the Arkansas Workmen’s Com-

pensation Commission the same force and effect it has in

Arkansas, when pleaded and proven in the Missouri com-

pensation proceeding, under the principle of res judicata.

Magnolia Petroleum Co. v. Hunt, 320 U. 8. 430; Chicago,

R. 1. & P. Ry. Co. v. Schendel, 270 U. S. 611, 616; Riley v.

New York Trust Co., 315 U. S. 343, 348.

Under the principle of res judicata, this Court held, in

U. 8. v. California and Oregon Land Co., 192 U. 8. 355,

that a decree in a former action in favor of defendant, deny-

33

ing affirmative relief, was res judicata in a subsequent

action, and a like ruling was made by this Court in Werlein

v. New Orleans, 177 U. 8. 390, 398, 399.

This Court has not seen fit to except a money judgment in

a civil suit from the requirements of full faith and credit.

Magnolia Petroleum Co. v. Hunt, 320 U. S. 430, 438, although

some exceptions to the requirements of full faith and credit

have been established.

As was observed in Magnolia Petroleum Co. v. Hunt,

320 U. S. 430, the exceptions to the requirements of full

faith and credit have been few and far between.

Those cases which have been established as exceptions

to the requirements of full faith and credit are for the

most part cases where an attempt is made to enforce the

penal laws of one State in the courts of a sister-State, by

use of the requirements of Article IV, Section 1 of the

Constitution of the United States. Wisconsin v. Pellican

Ins. Co., 127 U. 8. 265; Huntington v. Atrill, 146 U. S.

661, 666, 685. Or where the effect of full faith and credit

will be to allow the courts of one State to control the

transfer of real estate located in sister-States. Clarke v.

Clarke, 178 U. 8. 186; Olmstead v. Olmstead, 216 U. S. 386;

Hood v. McGhee, 237 U.S. 611.

Judgments excepted from the requirement of full faith

and credit seem to be limited to such judgments, the enforce-

ment of which will seriously conflict with the policy of the

State in which their enforcement is sought.

In this case it is impossible to harmonize the two awards.

The granting of full faith and credit to the Arkansas award

by the Missouri Courts will not do violence to or conflict

with any policy of the State of Missouri, because Mis-

souri denies compensation to independent contractors.

State ex rel. v. Fulbright, 169 S. W. (2d) 59; Rutherford v.

Tobin Quarries, 82 S. W. (2d) 918, 923.

34

The judgment and opinion of the Supreme Court of Mis-

souri not only conflicts with applicable decisions of this

Court construing Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitution

of the United States and the Act of Congress implementing

same, it demonstrates a positive policy to deny full faith and

credit to all compensation awards which deny compensation.

This is true because it will be difficult to find two workmen’s

compensation laws which do not differ in many respects.

This opinion will, if allowed to remain unreversed, stand

as a precedent for the Workmen’s Compensation Commis-

sion of Missouri to deny full faith and credit to all awards

of other States which deny compensation. It will no doubt

be so construed by the Missouri Workmen’s Compensation

Commission and will be so applied thereby, resulting in

the confusion and disrespect for the law which the full faith

and credit provision of the Constitution was adopted to

eliminate.

In Conclusion

In conclusion, your petitioners earnestly urge that the

question here presented does not grow out of any conflict

between the Workmen’s Compensation Law of the State

of Arkansas and the Workmen’s Compensation Law of

the State of Missouri, because both the Arkansas Work-

men’s Compensation Law and the Missouri Workmen’s

Compensation Law provide for an award of compensation

to the widow and child of a deceased employee whose death

results from an accidental injury arising out of and in the

course of his employment, and both Workmen’s Compen-

sation Laws deny an award of compensation for the death

of an independent contractor from accidental injuries

arising out of and in the course of his work while driving

‘ a truck along a public highway, as R. Guy Loudenslager

was doing in this case. Neither does the question here in-

volved arise out of any conflict or difference between the

—

35

public policy of the State of Arkansas and the State of Mis-

souri in reference to granting of compensation to employees.

This is so because it is the policy of both States to deny

compensation to the widow and child of a deceased work-

man under the facts found by the Arkansas Workmen’s

Compensation Commission, and it is the policy of both

States to grant compensation to the widow and child of a

deceased employee under the facts found by the Missouri

Workmen’s Compensation Commission. From this it ap-

pears that the question here results solely from the fact

that the Arkansas Workmen’s Compensation Commission

believed from the eviderse, after the hearing on the merits,

that the deceased was not an employee, and because the

Missouri Workmen’s Compensation Commission refused

to accept that final award as conclusive and again ad-

judicated the same issue. The same rule of law is applied

in both Arkansas and Missouri in determining who is an

employee under the Workmen’s Compensation Laws of

these States. It is not enough that the Courts of Missouri

disagree with the finding of fact by the Arkansas Work-

men’s Compensation Commission to base a denial of full

faith and credit to the final award of the Arkansas Work-

men’s Compensation Commission on that ground.

Your petitioners, therefore, respectfully urge that the

writ of certiorari prayed for should be issued, to the end

that this Court may review the judgment of the Supreme

Court of the State of Missouri in this case.

Respectfully submitted,

Joserx N. Hassert,

Attorney for Petitioners,

412 Paul Brown Bldqg.,

St. Louis 1, Mo.

(8164)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.