brief in Support of Petition — Freeman v. United States
Supreme Court brief1947
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
-
The opinion of the court below
Jurisdiction
SUBJECT INDEX
Statement of the case
Specification of errors
Argument
Summary of argument
Point
Point
Point
Point
Point
Point
Point
Point
1—The circuit court erred in holding that the indictment
and counts 1, 6, 7, 8, 11 and 12 charged offenses against
the laws of the United States
2—The circuit court erred in holding that the trial court’s
definition of proof beyond a reasonable doubt was not
error
3—The circuit court erred in holding that there was no
prejudice to petitioner by the trial court’s failure to de-
fine the term “wilful” in its instructions to the jury........
4—The Circuit court erred in holding that the trial court
adequately defined the legal elements involved and the
factual elements the jury must find to exist before the
jury could apply the facts to the law and find petitioner
guilty
5—The circuit court erred in sustaining the convictions on
counts 14, 15 and 16 of the information
6—The circuit court erred in failing to instruct that the
prosecution must prove that at least one of the overt
acts charged in the indictment as being committed in
the Eastern District of Washington was committed as
alleged ..............
7—The circuit court erred in instructing that the knowl-
edge of Michael could be imputed to petitioner................
8—The circuit court erred in holding that petitioner suf-
fered no prejudice by the trial court’s failure to instruct
the jury to disregard the argument of the United States
Attorney that the plea of guilty by Jacobs to the con-
spiracy tended to prove a conspiracy between Jacobs
and petitioner
34
42
42
43
SUBJECT INDEX
Point 9—The circuit court erred in holding that the trial court’s
admission of plaintiff's Exhibit 62 did not prejudice peti-
tioner
Point 10—The circuit court erred in holding that petitioner suf-
fered no prejudice from the admission of the impeach-
ing testimony of Louis E. Michael
Point 11—The circuit court erred in ruling that there were no
errors in the case which substantially prejudiced peti-
tioner
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED
CASES 3
Pages
Berger v. U.S. 295 U.S. 78 45
Bollenbach v. U. S. 326 U. S. 607....... 34 38
Boykin v. U. S. (CCA 5) 11 F. (2) 484 36
Brown v. Elliott 225 U. S. 392 34
Corson v. U. S. (CCA 9) 147 F. (2) 487 41
Egan v. U.S. (CCA DC) 287 Fed. 958 47
Fisher v. U. S. (Decided June 10, 1946, No. 122) 34
Foster v. U. S. (CCA 9) 253 Fed. 481 36
Freeman v. U.S. (CCA 3) 20 F. (2) 748 44
Garber v. New York City Ry. Co. 92 N. Y. S. 722 46
Gebardi v. U. S. 287 U. S. 112 35
Gordon v. Thomas (CCA DC) 70 F. (2) 752 46
Gordon v. U.S. (CCA DC) 289 Fed. 552..00...0.....ccesccsscseecceecoseecsecessecsosessseece 46
<ettenbach v. U. S. (CCA 9) 202 Fed. 377 34, 45
Lilienthal’s Tobacco v. U. S. 97 U. S. 287........ 37
Luse v. U.S. (CCA 9) 49 F. (2) 241... 46
Morris v. U. S. (CCA 9) 156 F. (2) 525 41
Nash v. U. S. 229 U. S. 373 43
N. Y. Central Ry. Co. v. Johnson 279 U.S. 810 ....cccccccceccecceeecsesseecsesoseeoseeos-. 45
Owens v. U.S. (CCA 9) 130 Fed. 279..... i ae 37
Pettine v. Territory of New Mexico (CCA 8) 201 Fed. 489... 37
Pierce v. U. S. (CCA 6) 86 F. (2) 949 41. 45
Quercia Vv. U. S. 289 U.S. 466... cccccccsceccsseeseee ‘aie 34
Screws v, U.S. 826 U.S. 91.0.0... cceccccceseeeee 34, 38
Starr v. U. &. 168 VU. B Olé... 34
OI Wi TB Ths Ri Gh Se cecenssnvnstaitenscinrshsdiclcietinaielidak bike as aed 38
U.S. v. Armstrong (DC Ind.) 265 Fed. 688.000.0000... ccccccccccccesseess 35
U.S. v. Crummer (CCA 10) 151 F. (2) 958......cccccccccccccsccsssccseccsccscoceoeeosees 36
We Ba DU li Os Mie ercecvctsnnicdacseplingaicenspilateaiea icant cada ol a Ne 35
U.S. v. New York Cent. & H. R. R. Co. (CC) 146 Fed. 298.................... 35
U.S. v. Woods (CCA 2) 66 F. (2) 262.000... 37
Viereck v. U. S. 318 U. S. 286............ 45
Vou? v, T.8. (O00 Gh 380. (0) Ob 45
Wietz v. Potter (CC) 32 Fed. 888 44
Williams v. U. S. (CCA 5) 55 F. (2) 226. 44
cna 7 ee ee eee er
STATUTES
A, et i BI Cae accncicentctnniinteenieatiinicnniteinctraitinaiibiicititidtinianeninan 36, 38
EN 38
Sec. 240 of the Judicial Code (Title 28 USCA sec. 347)... 25
MISCELLANEOUS
Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rule 37 (b).............................. 25
Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rule 52 (b) ....................-.......... 34
Sec. 11.7 Revised Ration Order No. 16 (9 F. R. 6756)... 39
Sec. 11.8 Revised Ration Order No. 15 (9 F. R. 6756)... 41
Sec. 20.1 Revised Ration Order No. 16 (9 F. R. 6765)... 35, 36, 38
See, 1364.407 (f) Rev. M. P. R. No. 169 (9 F. R 9617) ........... 36, 42
De ee
BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION
THE OPINION OF THE COURT BELOW
The opinion of the Circuit Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Cireuit (R. 556-567) being Causes No. 11190-11191
of that court is not yet reported.
JURISDICTION
The jurisdiction of this court is invoked by virtue of
section 240 of the Judicial Code (Title 28 U.S.C.A. sec.
347) and Rule 37(b) of the Federal Rules of Criminal
Procedure.
The opinion and orders of affirmance of the circuit court
were filed December 30, 1946 (R. 556, 566, 567). A petition
for rehearing was denied January 30, 1947 (R. 568).
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Some time in the early summer of 1944, petitioner Free-
man, who was doing business as a licensed accountant (R.
387), conceived the idea that a restaurant and recreation
center would succeed in Spokane and spoke to Harry C.
Huse about it (R. 186, 187).
Thereafter the defendant Rose and Huse discussed the
proposition (R. 188) which resulted in Rose and Huse en-
tering into a partnership agreement on August 15, 1944
(R. 188, 190; Pl. Ex. 41).
26
This agreement also provided that petitioner should be
the paid managing direetor of the business and devote time
to the financial management of the business (R. 193, Sec-
tion VIII). The agreement also provided that petitioner
was to act as the paid accountant for the firm, and that
checks could be signed by petitioner (R. 194; Sec. X and
X]).
On the same date an agreement between petitioner and
Huse was entered into (R. 200; Pl. Ex. 42) which provides
that in consideration of petitioner advancing Huse $10,000
in connection with the restaurant, Huse agreed to repay
this money, and to first devote all the profits of his share
of the partnership to such repayment. Upon this sum being
fully repaid petitioner then was to receive a one-third share
of Huse’s half interest in the Recreation Center. This sum
was never repaid to petitioner (R. 208, 218).
As managing director of the business petitioner nego-
tiated for the lease for the premises signed by Huse and
Rose (R. 60-78; Pl. Ex. 1), took care of the contracts for
the building construction, took care of the books of the
concern, and through an assistant in his office (R. 386,
422-423) signed checks for disbursements for the enter-
prise, and devoted such little time as he could to the oper-
ation of Huse’s Restaurant (R. 394, 396). Petitioner, as
managing director, had the authority to determine policy
(R. 151, 152), which he exercised.
27
The restaurant opened on December 27, 1944, and lost
money from its inception and until the partnership between
Rose and Huse was dissolved (R. 397). On May 22, 1945
petitioner and Rose became partners in the restaurant.
Petitioner advanced a total of $19,951 toward the enter-
prise, and was still paying on the $10,000 note at the time
of trial (R. 415).
Since petitioner and Rose had no experience in the
restaurant business (R. 383, 394, 396, 410), a man named
Michael, who was formerly with the restaurant section of
the OPA, was employed from December 17, 1944, to March
24, 1945, to run the restaurant, and to take care of the
rationing (R. 122, 123, 143, 395, 396). The ration checks
were all issued by Rose and Michael (R. 125-128, 143).
Petitioner knew nothing about rationing (R. 410, 412,
457, 458). The only connection he had with rationing was
that after Michael left an assistant in petitioner’s office
checked the invoices for the restaurant and made a mech-
anical check of the ration points shown on such invoices
(R. 422, 423).
The ration records were kept at the restaurant (R. 334,
335), and petitioner personally had nothing to do with the
computation of points for the restaurant (R. 425).
In January, 1945, petitioner met Ralph W. Jacobs (a
defendant in the case), who was a camp supervisor for the
ee 2
28
Northern Pacific (R. 356, 357). Petitioner asked him to
help him in the restaurant in view of his experience, and
Jacobs did give petitioner a number of valuable sugges-
tions (R. 357-358, 398) about running a restaurant.
Jacobs pleaded guilty to all charges before the trial,
but had not been sentenced (R. 371).
Jacobs testified that petitioner asked him about buying
meat and shipping it out, after telling Jacobs the restaur-
ant was short on points. Jacobs also testified that he told
petitioner that Jacobs could borrow some ration points
from his North Dakota account, and the restaurant would
have to pay them back in the future, and that petitioner
agreed to pay the points back (R. 358-362). Jacobs said
petitioner gave him $500 in cash for possible purchases
(R. 359), but it was, in fact, a check (R. 399-400; Deft’s
Ex. A) which was charged to Huse’s Restaurant (R. 399).
While Jacobs was in Minneapolis he purchased 4 barrels of
meat from the Crown Meat and Provision Company; later
he purchased another 4 barrels from the same concern and
directed both shipments to go to Huse’s Restaurant (R.
359, 360). Jacobs gave the seller points belonging to Man-
dan Creamery Company of North Dakota (R. 359, 360).
The points were insufficient to cover the merchandise, and
Jacobs told the seller he would send him the points in the
near future (R. 361). Huse’s Restaurant never repaid the
points because OPA seized the records (R. 362). When the
29
restaurant was sold it had 23,374 unused ration points on
hand (R. 468).
The shipments of the 4 barrels each were made on
February 6, 1945, and February 12, 1945 (R. 153, 154)
from Minneapolis, Minnesota, from the Crown Meat and
Provision Company to Huse’s Restaurant in Spokane
(R. 360).
There was a sharp conflict between Jacob’s story and
petitioner’s testimony concerning the conversation rela-
tive to ration points. Petitioner testified there was no con-
versation about points (R. 401, 402) concerning the barrels,
and that he did not know what, if any, points were required
(R. 412, 413). It should be remembered that the only evi-
dence against petitioner to show any wilful violation on
points re the barrel shipments was Jacobs because there
was no testimony of any kind that petitioner ever contacted
or saw the sellers of the produce or any of their agents
or even saw any of the barrels themselves or their con-
tents.
The other transaction upon which the charges are based
is a purchase of meat by Jacobs in Missoula, some forty
quarters. The evidence of this transaction is very clear
that Jacobs told petitioner that the meat he could purchase
in Missoula was point free. Jacobs so testified (R. 363)
twice in the government’s case in chief. When interviewed
by the OPA investigators, petitioner so stated in Jacobs’
30
presence (R. 331, 332), and it was not denied by Jacobs
(R. 337, 412). Petitioner told Rose it was point free beef
(R. 378, 379, 381, 382).
Petitioner also testified that Jacobs told him the meat
was point free (R. 405, 413).
The government sought to show that petitioner was
familiar with rationing by examining petitioner about his
signature on Pl. Ex. 68 (R. 458-461), but it is apparent
from the examination that petitioner knew nothing about
rationing.
All storage charges for all the meat was paid by Huse’s
Restaurant even after the account at the Hazelwood Cold
Storage Company was placed in petitioner’s name for
security purposes (R. 145, 154, 155, 179-186, 416, 417).
All withdrawals of meat from the Hazelwood storage
by Rose was for use in Huse’s Restaurant (R. 135, 154,
324-326). It is clear that all the meat withdrawn by Rose
and Michael was for use in Huse’s Restaurant, and the
government never contended otherwise.
It is also clear from all the evidence that petitioner
never at any time contacted any of the sellers, shippers or
storers of the meat and never even saw it.
While there was much documentary and other evidence
offered by the government, the facts above given are the
essentials of the case.
31
SPECIFICATION OF ERRORS
1. The Circuit Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
erred in holding that the indictment and each of Counts
1, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11 and 12 of the information charged petitioner
with offenses against the laws of the United States.
2. The Circuit Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
erred in holding that the trial court’s definition of proof
beyond a reasonable doubt was not error.
3. The Circuit Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
erred in holding that there was no prejudice to petitioner
by the trial court’s failure to define the term ‘‘wilful’’ in
its instructions to the jury.
4. The Circuit Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
erred in holding that the trial court adequately defined to
the jury all the legal elements involved and the factual
elements the jury must find to exist before the jury could
apply the facts to the law and find petitioner guilty of
the charges.
5. The Circuit Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
erred in holding that there was sufficient evidence to sus-
tain the conviction on Counts 14, 15 and 16.
6. The Circuit Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
erred in holding that the jury was sufficiently instructed
with reference to the proof required concerning the overt
acts alleged in the indictment.
ne
32
7. The Cireuit Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
erred in holding that no substantial rights of petitioner
were violated by the instruction of the court that Michael’s
knowledge of a violation of law could be imputed to peti-
tioner.
8. The Cireuit Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
erred in holding that petitioner was not prejudiced by the
failure of the trial court to instruct the jury to disregard
the argument of the United States Attorney that Jacobs
plea of guilty to the conspiracy charge tended to prove
the conspiracy between petitioner and Jacobs.
9, The Circuit Court of Appeals for the Ninth Cireuit
erred in holding that the admission of plaintiff’s exhibit
62 was not prejudicial to appellant.
10. The Circuit Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
erred in holding that petitioner suffered no substantial
prejudice from the admission of Louis E. Michael’s testi-
mony impeaching petitioner’s testimony.
11. The Cireuit Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
erred in holding that the assigned errors of the trial court
were not so prejudicial as to deprive petitioner of a fair
trial.
aa
ARGUMENT
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Briefly the argument is addressed to why the writ should
be granted and the grounds, broadly speaking, are that
petitioner was not granted a fair trial and that most of the
errors are of a fundamental character going to the roots
of our legal system and are of importance not only to peti-
tioner but to the general administration of justice in that
our historic judicial system of safeguards to defendants
generally must be maintained. We think serious intrusions
on those safeguards are represented in this case.
It should be noted that counsel representing petitioner
here and on the appeal to the cireuit court did not represent
him at the trial.
Trial counsel interposed no demurrer to the indictment
or information nor made any request for a bill of particu-
lars. No challenge to the sufficiency of the government’s
evidence was interposed at the conclusion of the govern-
ment’s case in chief. No motion for directed verdict was
made at the conclusion of the entire case. No requested
instruction on wilful was offered by trial counsel although
one was offered by the government (R. 24) and not given.
Trial counsel did not except to the giving of the instruc-
tions involved or to the failure to give any of the instruc-
tions here in issue. Many of our assignment of errors to
———
ee
Soe NE eT OE
34
the introduction of evidence and the argument of govern-
ment counsel are not supported by exceptions.
In view of the almost complete lack of protection afford-
ed petitioner in the trial we are relying upon the rule that
this court will notice material error though that error was
not challenged.
Rule 52(b), Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure
Fisher v. U. S. (decided by this court June 10, 1946,
No. 122)
Screws v. U. S., 325 U.S. 91, 107.
We also rely upon the rule that a federal judge is not
merely a moderator, but must assure a fair trial and protect
the essential rights of the accused.
Quercia v. U. S., 289 U.S. 466,
Starr v. U. S., 153 U.S. 614.
Bollenbach v. U. S., 326 U. 8. 607.
Kettenbach v. U. S., (CCA 9) 202 Fed. 377, 385.
POINT 1
THE CIRCUIT COURT ERRED IN HOLDING THAT
THE INDICTMENT AND COUNTS 1, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11 and 12
CHARGED OFFENSES AGAINST THE LAWS OF THE
UNITED STATES
The indictment is void because it fails to state where
the conspiracy was formed. It alleges complete ignorance as
to the place and does not even state that that it was form-
ed in the United States. Cf. Brown v. Elliott, 225 U.S. 392.
35
The indictment is void because the offenses allegedly
conspired to be committed involve the mutual co-operation
of the persons charged, and the preliminary agreement
between the parties to commit it is thus not an indictable
conspiracy.
U.S. v. Kate, 271 U. 8. 354.
Gebardi v. U. S., 287 U. S. 112.
This is particularly true since subdivision (i) of section
20.1 of Revised Ration Order No. 16 (9 F.R. 6765), repro-
duced in the appendix hereto, reads as follows:
‘‘No person shall offer, solicit, attempt or agree
to do, or assist in doing any act in violation of this
order.’’ (Italics ours)
This regulation covers conspiracy by its own terms. The
conspiracy thus charged is an agreement to agree to do
acts in violation of unspecified sections of the Ration
Order. To allow the indictment to stand is to countenance
charging a conspiracy to commit a conspiracy which is
not permissible.
U. 8. v. Armstrong (DC Ind.) 265 Fed. 683, 695.
U. S. v. New York Cent. & H. R. R. Co. (CC) 146
Fed. 298, 303.
The primary vice of both the indictment and the counts
of the information in question is that nowhere do these
pleadings point out specific acts based on specific provi-
sceneries rr eee >
36
sions of the regulations. The only regulation pointed out
is section 20.1. Reference to it compels one to read the
entire Ration Order consisting of 54 large pages of three
column fine print to try to find out what is prohibited.
It is plain that a mere reference to the very general
provision of section 20.1 and the statutes involved (50
U.S.C.A. App. sec. 925(b) and sec. 633(5) ), which also
give no warning of the specific acts prohibited, does not
remedy the vagueness and indefiniteness condemned by the
supreme court cases referred to in U. S. v. Crummer,
(C.C.A, 10) 151 F. (2) 958, 962; in Foster v. U. S. (C.C.A.
9) 253 Fed. 481, 483, and in Boykin v. U. S. (C.C.A. 5)
11 F. (2) 484, 485.
The rule that the charge must descend to particulars
applies here with great force since both section 20.1 of the
Revised Ration Order and the statutes are very general in
their terms.
Compare Counts 14, 15 and 16 and sec. 1364.407(f) of
Rev. M.P.R. No. 169 (9 F.R. 9617). There the regulation
referred to specifically describes the required act. Not so
with sec, 20.1 of Revised Ration Order 16. This comparison
makes the point very clear.
POINT 2
THE CIRCUIT COURT ERRED IN HOLDING THAT
THE TRIAL COURT'S DEFINITION OF PROOF BE-
YOND A REASONABLE DOUBT WAS NOT ERROR.
This instruction (R. 478) is so clearly erroneous as to
37
require but little discussion. Lilienthal’s Tobacco v. U. S.,
97 U. 8. 237, 266.
Much less objectionable instructions on the same subject
have been condemned.
Petite v. Territory of New Mexico (C.C.A. 8)
201 Fed. 489. 5:
Owens v. U. 8. (C.C.A. 9) 130 Fed. 279.
U. 8. v. Woods (0.0.A. 2) 66 F. (2) 262.
The circuit court erred in failing to see that other por-
tions of the instruction do not deal with proof but merely
define reasonable doubt, It is the portion dealing with the
proof we think obviously error. The distinction may be nar-
row, but it is vital.
The instruction manifestly deprives petitioner of his
fundamental right to an acquittal if the government fails
to prove the affirmative of the issues involved beyond a
reasonable doubt and shifted the burden to petitioner to
show that there was a doubt based on reason before he
could be acquitted.
This type of instruction has never been passed on by
this court to our knowledge.
We believe that it is so prejudicial to all future defend-
ants as to warrant this court in expressing its views on
the very vital point involved. The very broad approval
38
given it by the circuit court (R. 564-565) makes certain
that lower courts will feel free to use such an instruction
in the future. The rights of many defendants will depend
on this court’s action.
POINT 3
THE CIRCUIT COURT ERRED IN HOLDING THAT
THERE WAS NO PREJUDICE TO PETITIONER BY
THE TRIAL COURT’S FAILURE TO DEFINE THE
TERM “WILFUL” IN ITS INSTRUCTIONS TO THE
JURY.
Wilfulness is the root of all the offenses charged (56
U.S.C.A. App. sec. 925(b) and sec, 633(5) ).
The statutes are general in their terms and do not define
the specific acts prohibited. Section 20.1 of Revised Ration
Order 16 is general and refers to the entire Order which
must be searched to attempt to find what is prohibited.
Under these circumstances the court must clearly define
the term. Equivocation and uncertainty will not do. The
giving of a clear definition of what the term ‘‘wilful’’
means is the only safeguard any defendant has against
being punished for purported offenses which are not defin-
ed by the statutes but which must depend upon the terms
of regulations not in being when the statutes were enacted.
The trial court must clearly define the term.
Screws v. UV. S., 395 U.S. 91.
Bollenbach v. U. S., 326 U. 8S. 607.
Spurr v. U. S., 174 U. S. 728.
39
The circuit court erred in: justifying the omission by
referring to an instruction (R. 479) which did not define
wilful but only told how intent could. be determined. The
distinction is clear—telling how intent ts determinable is
not a@ definition of wilfulness.
The government offered a definition (R. 24) but none
was given.
The prejudice is obvious since the point of wilfulness
was at all times contested by petitioner and-is the crux of
the entire case. We believe that such an essential term
must be made crystal clear to jurors as well as the fact.
that whether the required intent was entertained is the
pivotal issue—the difference between guilt and innocence.
POINT 4
THE CIRCUIT COURT ERRED IN HOLDING THAT
THE TRIAL COURT ADEQUATELY DEFINED THE
LEGAL ELEMENTS INVOLVED AND THB FACTUAL
ELEMENTS THE JURY MUST FIND TO EXIST BE-
FORE THE JURY COULD APPLY THE FACTS TO
THE LAW AND FIND PETITIONER GUILTY.
The court failed to mention the statutes involved and
said that the regulations made transfers unlawful, without
mentioning the essential ingredient of wilfulness (Cf. R.
486, 487, 488). This gave the impression that the mere
doing of the acts was a crime, irrespective of wilfulness.
Likewise the court failed to instruct as to the effect of
section 11.7 of Revised Ration Order 16 (9 F.R. 6756).
— » Dente ee
DOT APOE MS TB
ARERR
A AO tt
40
This regulation is printed in the appendix and has the ef-
fect of allowing rationed foods to be stored and returned
from storage point free.
The evidence clearly shows that appellant was merely
the managing director of Huse’s Restaurant and an em-
ployee (R. 188, 190, Pl. Ex. 41). All meat was purchased
and stored for use in the restaurant (R. 135, 154, 324-326)
and withdrawn by Rose, one of the partners, and by
Michael, a co-employee of petitioner, for use in the res-
taurant (R. 155, 154, 324-326). The government did not at-
tempt to show or urge that petitioner sold any of the meat
to the restaurant.
Yet Counts 6. 7, &, q. 14, lo and if ary irawr nm the
theory that the meat was owned | ett stored for
his own use and that withdra» —
Michael for the use of '
regulations in that ;
tioner by Rose and V
be given by a seller wae
Plainly the jury
regulation which disp
these circumstances
The bearing on Spot
indictment is also clear
theory—unlawfulness of
41
meat from storage without the surrender of points to peti-
tioner.
Neither did the court instruct as to the legal effect of
section 11.8 of Revised Ration Order 16, (9 F.R. 6756)
printed in the appendix. The regulation provides that no
points need be given up for a transfer for security pur-
poses only. The prosecution hit hard and often at peti-
tioner’s instructions to change the storage account from
Huse’s Restaurant to his own name for security reasons,
inferring that it was wrong (R. 170, 416-418, 541-542) al-
though the storage charges were at all times billed to and
paid by Huse’s Restaurant (R. 180, 184). The question of
whether petitioner sought, by the transfer, to defraud
creditors was wholly irrelevant to the issue and should have
been checked by the trial judge. Pierce v. U. §. (C.C.A. 6)
86 F. (2) 949,
In view of these inferences the jury should have had
the benefit of the provisions of this regulation.
Taken as a whole we believe the instructions are subject
to the infirmities condemned in Morris v. U. 8. (C.C.A. 9)
196 F. (2) 525 and Corson v. U. g. (C.C.A. 9) 147 PB. (2)
437.
Where the jury does not have all the legal bases in-
volved, it cannot discharge its historic function of apply-
ing the facts to the law to determine guilt or innocence and
42
the convictions are void because the essential legal stan-
dards were not considered.
POINT 5
THE CIRCUIT COURT ERRED IN SUSTAINING THE
CONVICTIONS ON COUNTS 14, 15 and 16 OF THE
INFORMATION.
These counts involve Rev. M.P.R. No. 169, section
1364.407(f) (9 F.R. 9617).
That regulation, which appears in the appendix, provides
that the prescribed statement must be given by the seller
to the purchaser.
Since there was no evidence that petitioner sold any
meat to Rose, one of the partners for whom petitioner was
working, or to the partnership of Rose and Huse, there
was a complete failure of proof as to these counts.
In any event there is not a scintilla of proof that such
statements, even if required, Were not given by petitioner
to Rose. The record is completely silent on these counts.
The circuit court erred in not reversing as to these
counts.
POINT 6
THE CIRCUIT COURT ERRED IN FAILING TO IN-
STRUCT THAT THE PROSECUTION MUST PROVE
THAT AT LEAST ONE OF THE OVERT ACTS
CHARGED IN THE INDICTMENT AS BEING COM-
MITTED IN THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF WASH-
INGTON WAS COMMITTED AS ALLEGED.
The indictment is unusual in that it contains two separ-
43
ate categories of overt acts—one group charged as: oceur-
ring in Eastern Washington and one group in Montana.
The failure of the court to point out that one of the
Eastern Washington overt. acts must be established as
charged left the jury free to convict on overt acts occurring
in Montana.
The court’s instruction: was that ‘‘some overt act?’ must
be done (R. 483) and ‘‘that at least one or more overt
acts as charged was committed by one or more of them’’
(R. 484). The instructions fail to cover the point of what
overt acts must be established or the degree of proof neces-
sary to establish such required overt act.
We believe the action is in conflict with Nash v. U. 8.,
229 U. S. 373, 379, 380:
‘Thus while it may be admitted that not all of
the means alleged need be proved, the charge in-
vited: the jury to consider all and permitted a ver-
dict upon any one of them.’’
POINT 7
THE CIRCUIT COURT ERRED IN INSTRUCTING
THAT THE KNOWLEDGE OF MICHAEL COULD
BE IMPUTED TO PETITIONER.
The instruction (R. 501) clearly allows Michael’s know-
ledge of a violation of the law to be imputed to petitioner
if the jury considered Michael an accomplice.
We take it as elementary that a basic element of the of-
ren
44
fense cannot be imputed to petitioner where there is no
evidentiary basis therefor.
Freeman v. U. 8. (C.C.A. 3) 20 F. (2) 748.
Williams v. U. S. (C.C.A. 5) 55 F. (2) 226.
Wietz v. Potter (CC) 32 Fed. 888, 889.
The point is important because although Michael was
informed by Jacobs that the Montana seller of the beef
was holding out for points (R. 144) petitioner wasn’t there
when Jacobs told Michael that (R. 145). There is no evi-
dence that Michael, or anyone else, ever communicated that
information to petitioner.
The prejudicial character of the instruction is evident.
POINT 8
THE CIRCUIT COURT ERRED IN HOLDING THAT
PETITIONER SUFFERED NO PREJUDICE BY THE
TRIAL COURT’S FAILURE TO INSTRUCT THE
JURY TO DISREGARD THE ARGUMENT OF THE
UNITED STATES ATTORNEY THAT THE PLEA
OF GUILTY BY JACOBS TO THE CONSPIRACY
TENDED TO PROVE A CONSPIRACY BETWEEN
JACOBS AND PETITIONER.
The argument (R. 523) is a bald statement that because
Jacobs, who had good legal advice and counsel, had plead-
ed guilty to the conspiracy, that Jacobs testimony but-
tressed by such plea, overcame petitioner’s testimony con-
cerning the existence of the conspiracy.
It is elementary that no act or declaration of a co-con-
spirator can bind another co-conspirator after the con-
45
spiracy has ended. Arrest and arraignment certainly ends
‘ the conspiracy. Obviously a plea of guilty by Jacobs is not
binding or admissible to prove petitioner’s guilt as to the
. existence of the conspiracy.
Where the prosecutor hits below the belt ‘it is the duty
of the court to restrain him and to instruct. the jury. to
. disregard his remarks.
Berger v. U. 8., 295 U. S. 78.
Viereck v. U. 8.; 318 U. S. 236, 248.
N. Y. Central Ry. Co. v. Johnson, 279 U.S. 310.
Volkmor v. U. 8. (C.C.A.'6) 13 F. (2) 594.
Pierce v. U. 8. (C.C.A. 6) 86 F. (2) 949.
Kettenbach v. U: 8. (C.C.A. 9) 202 Fed. 377, 385.
The prejudicial character of the incident seems clear.
POINT 9
THE CIRCUIT COURT ERRED IN HOLDING THAT
THE TRIAL COURT’S ADMISSION OF PLAIN.
TIFF’S EXHIBIT 62 DID NOT PREJUDICE PETI-
‘ TIONER.
Exhibit 62 was prepared by’ the witness who testified
‘concerning the whole matter. It was obviously prepared
for trial purposes (R. 294-303). It was addressed to peti-
tioner, although not made at petitioner’s request and the
witness did not see or know petitioner. It was an official
‘ certificate as to the grades of meat said to be involved, al-
though clearly hearsay, and introduced to ‘establish the
‘character of the meat.
POE SOPOT IMT
46
No impeachment was involved—no lack of memory of
the witness was involved. The exhibit was offered and ad-
mitted as independent evidence of the things it purports
to state. This is error of the most flagrant type.
Iuse v. U. 8. (C.C.A. 9) 49 FP. (2) 241.
Garber v. New York City Ry. Co., 92 N.Y.S. 722.
The prejudice is obvious when the exhibit is examined in
the light of its official character (R. 299).
POINT 10
THE CIRCUIT COURT ERRED IN HOLDING THAT
PETITIONER SUFFERED NO PREJUDICE FROM
THE ADMISSION OF THE IMPEACHING TESTI-
MONY OF LOUIS E. MICHAEL.
The question propounded to appellant (R. 436, 437)
related to a time ‘‘a few days before the 1st of February,
1945.’’
The question purporting to impeach petitioner’s testi-
mony put to Michael fixed the time as ‘‘a few days before
March Ist, 1945.’’ an entirely different time by a month.
Since the time was materially different, the objection to
the purported impeachment should have been sustained.
Gordon v. U. 8. (C.C.A. DC) 289 Fed. 552.
Gordon v. Thomas (C.C.A. DC) 70 F. (2) 752.
The matter was important because this was the very
last testimony offered in the entire case and the jury was
— |
47
thus left with the strong impression that petitioner wil-
fully made a false statement under oath.
The prejudice is clear in the setting in which the incident
occurred.
POINT 11
THE CIRCUIT COURT ERRED IN RULING THAT
THERE WERE NO ERRORS IN THE CASE WHICH
SUBSTANTIALLY PREJUDICED PETITIONER.
We believe that the errors here committed and assigned
as error to the circuit court (R. 41) are so numerous and
of such importance that,’dt a-minimum, the case falls with-
in the principle of Egan v. U. 8. (C.C.A. DC) 287 Fed.
958, 971, that:
‘‘While there is perhaps no single instance
involving error so prejudicial as to warrant a re-
versal, we are convinced that, considered as a
whole, the rights of defendant were so prejudiced
thereby as to deprive him of that fair and impar-
tial trial which the constitution and the law of the
land accords to every citizen accused of the com-
mission of a crime.’’
ak Rega SRA CE VEN.
CONCLUSION
It is respectfully submitted that this case is one calling
for the exercise of this court of its supervisory powers by
granting a writ of certiorari and thereafter reviewing
and reversing said decision.
oHN J. KENNETT,
Counsel for Petitioner.
GeraLp D. Hite,
SaMvEL EDELSTEIN,
O. C. Moore,
Of Counsel for Petitioner.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.