Brief for the United States — United States v. Brignoni-Ponce
Supreme Court brief1975
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
\
\ INDEX
Page
: IN iio coun ckanesduiacanpbnckunnkence 1
re iain cans ccupencecvccnde decube 1
. eo cheb omndvknecsuncdncwcese 2
Statute and regulation involved---__.-..........-------- 2
SN a ee me 3
\ Argument: Border Patrol officers may, without a warrant,
\ lawfully stop a vehicle in the area of the Mexican border
to question the occupaats concerning their right to be
or remain in the United States. ____..........-----_. 8
\ - A. Introduction end summiery..................... 8
B. There exists an area-wide equivalent of probable
cause that justifies a brief stop of a vehicle in
the Mexican border area to inquire about the
\ citizenship of its occupants_____.._......---.- 12
C. Advance judicial approval through the warrant
procedure is not necessary to ensure the reason-
ableness of a brief investigative stop of a vehicle_ 22
ene pera Romane ee cane En AE Cea ce ae ve eae a 31
CITATIONS
Cases:
, Adams 7, Pre, Ge Se WO nics coon wkekcnccé 14
Almeida-Sanchez v. United States, 413 U.S. 266-- - _- Passim
Au Yi Lau v. Immigration and Naturalization Service,
Oa WE iow ad bdo dn Ciee oe eeks cos cdeeeds 16
Cady v. Dombrowski, 413 U.S. 433_.-...._.---.----- 23
Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523__.....---- 10, 14
Cardwell v. Lewis, No. 72-1603, decided June 17,1974. 25
Cheung Tin Wong v. Immigration and Naturalization
Bs Pos ich dai onc h he wucawcce
Cooper v. California, 386 U.S. 58............-.------
1)
Cases—Continued fon
Fernandez v. United States, ie fe 6 Beer nee 15
Fumagalli v. United States, 429 F.2d 1011___________- 15
_ Lipton v. United States, 348 F. 24-591____________._- 28
Myricks v. United States, 370 F. 2d 901, certiorari
SE, Bt Aa Cg cs oc neko 28
Roa-Rodriquez v. United States, 410 F. 2d 1206__.-2....-. 15
ROTTS WN Be bo oie ees 14, 23, 24, 25, 31
United States v. Avey, 428 F. 2d 1159, certiorari.denied, . -
i i edie uch AO
United States v. Baca, 368 F. Supp. 398-._...-..-.-.. 4,20
United States v. Biswell, 406 U.S. 311. -.-____- 12, 18, 28, 29
United States v.- Bowen, 500 F. 2d 960, certiorari. .
granted, October 15, 1974, No. 73-6848_._.:...-_-- . 6
United States v. Bowman, 487 F.2d 1229-___- sie erie 7,16
United States v. Campos, 471 F. 2d 296__..__...._._-- + 18
United States v. Cho Po Sun, 409 F. 2d.489, certiorari
denied, 396 U.S. Me Matic. wndicndebdadiqaduwsa a 16
United States v, Croft, 429 F. Sarg 26 See 28
United States v. Edwards, 415 U.S, 800__...-...-.---- 24
United States v. Eequer-Rieera, C.A. 9, Nos. 74-1110,
FT as oie tit dies peel eticlne ines ss 22
United ‘States v. Mavis. 444 F. 2d 86__2_.2.. shia ghiheic 15
United States v. McCormick, 468 F. 2d 68, certiorari
Gu eee ee 16
United States v. McDaniel, 463 F. 2d 129, certiorari
nee SEN Re i a ns uses 15
United States v. Miranda; 426 F. 2d 283____:____ 22 #16
United States v. Montez-Hernandez, 291 F. Supp. 712_.-.14, 28
United States v. Newman, 490 F. 2d 993.__._______- 16
United States v. Peltier, 500 F.2d 985, certiorari eye,
November 11, 1974, No. 73-2000_____.-__2._--.- 5, 6,9
United States v. Ramirez, 263 F. 2d 385___-----____- 15
United States v. Rodriguez-Hernandez, 493 F. 2d 168,
pending on petition for writ of certiorari, No..73-
Cases—Continued
United States v. Wright, 486 F. 2d 1027, certiorari
Page
oe ek | Sere, \iieareeememeee 15
"am Sang Kwai v. Immigration wkd Naturalization
ee | I ee ee ee 16
Constitution, statutes, and regulation:
U.S. Constitution, Fourth Amendment_-___________ Pasaim
Immigration and Nationality Act, 66 Stat. 163, as —
amended, 8 U.S.C. 1101 et seq.:
Sectlins 274(a)@), 8 U.S.C. 1324 (e)(2):. -. =... 3
Section 287(a), 8 U.S.C. 1357(a)__......_-- 2, 6,17, 21
Section 287(a)(1), 8 U.S.C. 1357(a)(1).....____- 7,30
Section 287(a)(3), 8 U.S.C. 1357(a)(3)__. ---__- 22, 30
ee Aa, Ws oo Gs cds boos aen Mao snnnn , 4
NS i a a ac euahis dceunsanee oe |
Miscellaneous:
Comment, Freedom of the Road: Public Safety vs.
Private Right, 14 DePaul L. Rev. 381 (1965)_______ 28
Comment, Interference with the Right to Free Move-
ment: Stopping and Searching of Vehicles, 51 Calif.
Races ns ee 28-29
Note, Automobile License Checks and the Fourth Amend-
ment, 60 Virginia L. Rev. 666 (1974)_-___________ 28
Note, Random Road Blocks and the Law of Search and
Seizure, 46 Iowa L. Rev. 802 (1961)_.._-________- 29
Note, The Driver’s License “Display” Statute: Problems
Arising from Its Application, 1960 Wash. U. L. Q.
Yn the Supreme Gout of the Whited States
OctToBER TERM, 1974
; _ No. 74-114
UnitTEeD StaTEs OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
. :
Fetix HuMBerto BricNoni-Ponce
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE NINTH OIROUIT
eemrneecnnnaet: at
BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
‘OPINION BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals (A. 18-27) | is
reported at 499 F. 2d 1109.
JURISDICTION
The en banc judgment of the court of appeals
(A. 18) was entered on June 14, 1974. On July 10,
1974, Mr. Justice Douglas extended the time for filing
a petition for a writ of certiorari to and including
Au,ust 13, 1974. The petition was filed on that date
and was ‘granted on October 15, 1974 (A. 19). The |
jurisdiction of this Court rests on 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).
(1)
2
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether the warrantless stop of an automobile by
Border. Patrol, officers, in order to question ‘persons
in. the- yehicle, concerning their, right. to. be or remain
in the United States, violates the Fourth Amend- —
ment’s proscription against unreasonable searches and
seizures and requires_the suppression of evidence
_ obtained solely as a result. of the stop and questioning
and not as a result of any subsequent search.
STATUTE AND REGULATION INVOLVED
‘1. Section 287(a) of the Immigration and National-
ity Act, 66 Stat. 233, 8 U.S.C. 1357(a), provides in
pertinent part: '
Any officer or employee of the [Immigration
and Naturalization} Service authorized under
' regulations prescribed by the Attorney General
‘+ ghall have.power without warrant—
(1) to interrogate any alien or person be-
lieved to be an alien as to his right to be or to
‘ remain in the United States;
* * + + *
-@ (3) within a reasonable distance from any
external boundary of the United States, to
_' board and search for aliens any vessel within |
the territorial waters of the United States and
any'railway car, aircraft, conveyance, or vehi-
cle, and within a distance of twenty-five miles
from any such external boundary to have access
to private lands, but not dwellings, for the
purpose of patrolling the border to prevent the
illegal entry of aliens into .the United
States; =" °
/
|
3
2. 8 C.F.R. 287.1 provides in pertinent part:
(a)(2) Reasonable distance. The term ‘‘rea-
sonable distance,’’ as used in section 287(a) (3)
of the Act, means within 100 air miles from
any external boundary of the United States or
any shorter distance which may he fixed by the
district director, or, so.far as the power to board
and search aircraft is concerned, any distance
fixed pursuant to paragraph (b) of this section. |
(b) Reasonable distance; fixing by district
directors. In fixing distances not exceeding 100 -
air miles pursuant to paragraph (a) of this
section, district directors shall take into con-
sideration topography, confluence of arteries of
transportation leading from external bound-
aries, density of population, possible inconven-
ience to the traveling public, types of convey-
ances .used, and reliable information as_ to
movements of persons effecting illegal entry
into the United States: Provided, That when-
ever in the opinion of a district director a dis-
tance in his district of more than 100 air miles
from any external boundary of the United
States would because of unusual circumstances
be reasonable, such district director shall for-
ward a complete report with respect to the
matter to the Commissioner, who may, if he
determines that such action is justified, declare
such distance to be reasonable.
‘
.
STATEMENT |
After a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Southern District of California, re-
spondent was convicted on two counts cf violating 8
U.S.C. 1324(a)(2), transporting aliens who; were
4
present in this country illegally. He was sentenéed to
four years’ imprisonment on count 1, subject to the
immediate parole eligibility provisions of 18 U.S.C.
4208(a) (2), and five years’ probation on count 2, to be
commenced upon release from confinement or titi
(A. 11-12).
1. The evidence at trial established that on ae
11, 1973, Border Patrol Agents Brady and Harkins
were on duty in a patrol car observing northbound
traffic on Interstate Highway 5 approximately four
miles south of San Clemente, California (A. 5-6). The
officers were parked off the highway at the siteof a
permanent immigration checkpoint that was closed be-
cause of inclement weather and a shortage of man-
power (A. 6). The patrol car was parked at a 90-
degree angle to the highway with its headlights on,
enabling the officers to see the occupants of passing
vehicles (A. 6, 9).' During.the early evening hours,
they observed, traveling north, a vehicle driven by
respondent and containing two passengers. The officers
pursued and stopped the car for a “routine immigra-
tion inspection,” because they observed that its three
occupants appeared to be of Mexican descent (A.
6-9).
Upon questieriing the passengers in the vehicle in
English and Spanish concerning their citizenship, | the
-§
“3 The Si San Clemente checkpoint, at which the officers were
parked, is approximately 62 air miles and 66 road miles north
of the Mexican border. United States v. Baca, 368 F. Supp. 398,
410 (S.D. Cal.). The validity of a warrantless search of a
vehicle for aliens at that checkpoint, conducted as part of the
checkpoint’s normal operation, is before this Court in United
States v. Ortiz, No. 73-2050.
5
officers discovered that they spoke no English and had
no papers authorizing them to be in the United States
(A. 7). Respondent and the passengers were then ar-
rested (A. 8). At trial, both passengers testified that
they were Mexican citizens who had entered the
United States illegally (Tr. 24-25, 57, 63-64).
The parties agreed by stipulation that respondent’s
motion to suppress the evidence derived from the stop
of his vehicle could be heard at the time of trial (A.
10). The district court formally denied thé motion
three months after the trial had ended (7bid.).
2. Subsequent to respondent’s trial, this Court de-
cided Almetda-Sanchez v. United States, 413 U.S. 266,
which held that a warrantless roving patrol search of
an automobile for concealed aliens, conducted by
Border Patrol officers acting without probable cause
or reasonable suspicion to believe that the vehicle con-
tained aliens present in this country unlawfully, vio-
lated the Fourth Amendment’s proscription against
unreasonable searches and ‘seizures. The Ninth Cir-
cuit thereafter held that the ruling in Almeida-
Sanchez should be applied retroactively to require the
exclusion of evidence seized in similar roving patrol
searches conducted prior to the date of this Court’s
decision in Almeida-Sanchez (United States v. Peltier,
500 F. 2d 985, certiorari granted, November 11, 1974,
No. 73-2000), The Ninth Circuit also held, however,
that Almeida-Sanchez should apply only prospectively
with respect to searches conducted .at fixed immigra-
tion checkpoints (United States v. Bowen, 500 F. 2d
565-548— 74-2
6
960, certiorari granted, October 15, 1974, No. 73-
6848). |
In the present case, the court of appeals, sitting en
banc, reversed respondent’s conviction (A. 13-17). It
held first that the Border Patrol officers’ conduct in
pursuing respondent’s vehicle and flagging it to the
side of the road was ‘‘more characteristic of a roving-
patrol stop than of a fixed-checkpoint stop”’ (A. 14).
The court therefore determined, pursuant to its prior
decision in Peltier, that the principles of Almeida-
Sanchez were applicable even though the stop occurred
prior to this Court’s decision in that case (ibid.).
The court next held that warrantless stops of vehi-
cles, “without probable cause, and without even a
reasonable suspicion that any of the occupants are
illegal aliens [,] * * * are entirely inconsistent with
the Supreme Court’s opinion in Almeida-Sanchez”’
(A. 15). The court of appeals acknowledged that
Almeida-Sanchez involved a search rather than. only
a stop and that 8 U.S.C. 1357(a) gives Border Patrol
officers authority not only to search vehicles for con-
cealed aliens without a warrant but also “to interro-
gate any alien or person:believed to be_an alien as to
his right to be or remain in the United States * * *.”’
eeeegnageen 8 td
- ®The Ninth Circuit had first held in Bowen that Almeida-
Sanchez should be extended to invaldate—warrantless searches
ef automobiles for aliens at fixed! checkpoints. We argue in
Bowen and in United Sta/es v. Ortiz, No. 73-2050, that war-
rants should not be required for checkpoint searches of vehicles
for concealed aliens and that, even if warrants are required,
the ruling should ‘not apply in the Ninth Circuit to checkpoint
searches that occurred prior to that court's decision in Bowen.
7
soned, however, that this Court’s opinion
The court reaimchez ‘‘reflects at least as much concern
in Almeida-Sal stop as with the subsequent search’’
with the initi
(A. 15). soncluded that a warrantless stop of a
The court nissible only if the officers have informa-
vehicle is perites “a founded suspicion” that one or
tion that cre¢s of the vehicle are aliens whose pres-
more occupanuntry is unlawful (A. 17). Although not
ence in this ¢C the officers here had reason to believe
PS ent and his passengers were aliens, the
ab respone¢st they ‘“‘did not possess facts which
court held tt os
: founded suspicion that [respondent] or
constituted a , ae ope ;
hi s were illegal aliens” (tbid.; emphasis
is passenger
added). The ourt therefore concluded that “the stop
and interrog ation * * * were illegal, and the fruits of
the illegal eonduet were inadmissible” (tbid.).
The court 1¢fused to “adopt the approach taken by
our brothers 29 the Tenth Cireuit” (A. 15) in United
States v. Bowman, 487 F. 2d 1229, in which that court
held that the stopping of an automobile ‘‘for the lim-
ited purpose of determining [the driver’s] citizenship
was entirely justified’ under 8 U.S.C. 1357(a) (1) and
is not barred by the Fourth Amendment or by the
principles of ‘Almeida-Sanchez (487 F. 2d at 1231).
,
8 ~*~,
BORDER PATROL OFFICERS MAY, WITHOUT A WARRANT,
LAWFULLY STOP A VEHICLE IN THE AREA OF THE
MEXICAN BORDER TO QUESTION THE OCCUPANTS. CON-
CERNING THEIR RIGHT TO BE OR REMAIN IN THE UNITED
STATES
A. INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY
This case is similar to Almetda-Sanchez insofar as
both involve roving patrol operations * in the Mexican
_ border area, conducted as part of the Border Patrol’s
overall program to enforce the Nation’s immigration
laws. The present case differs from Almetda-Sanchez,
however, in one important respect. Whereas the mari-
huana that formed the basis of the prosecution in
Almeida-Sanchez was discovered under the back geat
of the defendant’s automobile in the course of a search
for concealed aliens, the evidence that was held inad-
missible by the court of appeals in the present case
was derived solely from “the stop and interrogation
of Brignoni-Ponce ar“ the passengers in his car”
(A. 17). There is no contention that any evidence
introduced at respondent’s trial was the fruit of an
unlawful search of his automobile.
The only question presented here, therefore, is
whether the warrantless roving patrol stop of. re-
spondent’s vehicle by Border Patrol officers, in order
* The court of appeals in the present case, recognizing that
“the line between a roving-patrol stop and fixed-checkpoint stop
is not a clear one,” concluded that “pursuing a passing car and
flagging it to the side of the road is conduct more characteristic
of a roving-patrol stop than of a fixed-checkpoint stop” (A. 14).
Though we think the question is a close one, we do not here
dispute the court’s conclusion.
9
to question the vehicle’s occupants concerning their
right to be or remain in the United States, violated
the Fourth Amendment and requires suppression of
the evidence derived therefrom.‘
Two inquiries are necessary to determine the law-
fulness of the stop. First, what is the nature and
quantum of cause necessary, in the area of the Mex-
ican border, to justify a stop of a car and an inquiry
into the citizenship status of its occupants? Second,
may such a stop properly be made without advance
judicial approval through the warrant procedure ?
Looking first to the question of cause, we argue in
this brief that the stop of respondent’s automobile
was properly predicated upon an area-wide equivalent
of probable cause that would have justified not merely
a brief stop for interrogation but even a limited
search of the vehicle for aliens. Because of the unique
conditions and difficult law enforcement problems in
the Mexican border areas, it may be reasonable to
*The stop of respondent’s vehicle occurred prior to this
Court’s decision in Almeida-Sanchez. In United Sates v.
Peltier, No. 73-2000, we argue that Almeida-Sanchez should
not be applied retroactively to exclude evidence discovered as
a result of a warrantless roving patrol stop and search con-
ducted prior to Almeida-Sanchez. If the Court agrees with our
contention in Peltier, we assume that the exclusionary rule
would also be inapplicable to a pre-Almeida-Sanchez stop
for interrogation without a search. We do not urge the non-
retroactivity of Almeida-Sanchez as a ground for reversal here,
however, because respondent’s case was the vehicle for an ex-
tension of Almeida-Sanchez by the Ninth Circuit. If this
Court holds that warrantless stops are unlawful, then we would
agree, in line with our position in United States v. Ortiz, No.
78-2050, and Bowen v. United States, No. 73-6848, that re-
spondent should be given the benefit of that new rule.
10
stop a vehicle to ask the ovcupants about their right
to be or remain in this country even though the offi-
cers lack an articulable suspicion that the particular
vehicle to be stopped contains illegal aliens.
Turning to the warrant issue, we then argue that
advance judicial approval of such a stop through. the
warrant procedure is not necessary to ensure the rea-
sonableness of so brief and limited an interference
‘with the privacy interests of the traveling public. Al-
though Mr. Justice Powell concluded in Almeida-
Sanchez that an area warrant was required to justify
a roving patrol search of a vehicle for aliens, a brief
stop for questioning, which ordinarily takes less than
a minute and requires no more of the occupants than
a response to one or two questions and possibly the
production of an immigration document, is a far less
drastic intrusion than a search of the vehicle for
aliens. In view of the important governmental in-
terest:in making such stops, the difficulty of adapting
most roving patrol operations to an area warrant
procedure, and the limited scope of the resulting in-
terference with highway travel, a routine investigative
stop in the border area, made by Border Patrol offi-
cers pursuant to express statutory authority, is not an
unreasonable seizure under- the. Fourth Amendment
even though conducted without an area warrant.
B. THERE EXISTS AN AREA-WIDE RQCIVALENT OF’ PROBABLE CAUSE,
‘THAT JUSTIFTES A BRIEF sror OF A VEHICLE, 1N ce MEXICAN.
‘BORDER AREA (TO TRQUIRE: ABOUT’ “Tre _ CrrmeNsmirr oF Hs
“OCCUPANTS : ¥ i
ik The Aéeisiow of the cobrt of ‘appeals dete upon a a
fundamental ‘inigconéeption concerning thé hatite of
11
N\
the cause necessary to justify a stop of a vehicle in
the border areas. The court held that the investigating
officers must ‘‘possess facts” amounting to “a founded
suspicion” that the particular vehicle to be stopped
contains aliens illegally present in this country
(A. 40).
It is true that in*the usual case the permissible rea-
son for a search or seizure must be focused with
particularity upon the person or object to be searched
or seized. But this Court has recognized that the prob-
able cause requirement may be ‘satisfied in some
circumstances by knowledge of conditions in an
“area as a Whole” rather than by ‘‘specific knowledge”
with respect to the particular object of a search
(Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523, 536, 538).
Camara involved a city-wide pr ogram of routine
and periodic ‘building inspections to identify housing
code violations. This Court ‘ruled that the constitu-
tionality of any particular inspection turned not upon
the existence of probable cause to believe that a viola-
tion would be uncovered in the particular building to
be inspected, but upon the reasonableness of the
inspection program itself. “[T]he agency’s decision
to conduct an area inspection is unavoidably based on
its appraisal of conditions in the area as a whole, not
on its knéwledge of ‘conditions in each particular
building” (387 U.S. at:536). The Court held that, if
entry to-a particular building were refused, a warrant
could be issued on the basis of this area-wide probable
cause, ‘if reasonable legislative or administrative
standards for conducting an ‘area inspection are satis-
12 low
fied with respect to a particular dwelling’’ (id.
at 538). See also Colonnade Catering Corp. v. United
States, 397 U.S. 72; Umited States v. Biswell, 406
U.S. 311. ray
We argued in Almetda-Sanchez ‘that the Border
Patrol’s traffic checking procedures in the area of the
Mexican border were essential to the effective en-
forcement of this country’s immigration laws and that
roving patrol searches coila be justified on the
basis of an area-wide probable cause like that in
Camara. Though the Court held that such searches
could not, in any event, be deemed reasonable in the
absence of a warrant, the majority opinion did not re-
ject the applicability of area-wide probable cause in
this context, and both Mr. Justice Powell’s coneurring
opinion and Mr. Justice White’s dissenting opin-
ion (joined by the Chief Jusiice and Justices Black-
mun and Rehnquist) agreed that the probable cause
principles of Camara may be applicable to the Border
Patrol’s roving patrol search operations.
Mr. Justice Powell stated that ‘‘under appropri
limiting cireumstances there may exist a constitution-
aliv adequate equivalent of probable cause to conduct
roving vehicular searches in border areas’’ (413 U.S.
at 279). Because many illegal entrants “cross the
border on foot, or at places other than established
[border] checkpoints, it is simply not possible in most
cases for the Government to obtain specific knowledge
that a person riding or stowed in an automobile is an
alien illegally in the country” (id. at 276-277). “[O]n
appropriate facts,’’ however, ‘‘the Government can
13
satisfy the prebable cause requirement for a roving
search in a border area without possessing imnforma-
tion about particular automobiles’’ (7d. at 281).’
As we show in our brief in United States v. Ortiz,
No. 73-2050, pp. 20-32, the factors that persuaded
Mr. Justice Powell that roving patrol searches could
be justified in the border areas on the basis of this
area-wide ‘‘functional equivalent of probable cause”’
(413 U.S. at 277) are at least as strong tuday as they
were at the time of the decision in A/metda-Sanchez.
There is no need to repeat here what we said in our
iivief in Almeida-Sanchez and what we reiterated in
our brief in Ortiz. It is enough to say that the high con-
centration of illegal aliens in the Mexican border area,
the absence of any reasonable law enforcement alter-
native to conducting roving patrol searches, and the
consistent judicial approval of such searches prior to
Almeida-Sanchez combine to justify, on an area-wide
hasis, the modest intrusion caused by a limited roving
patrol search of a vehicle for aliens. Though a war-
rant is gequired for such a search under Almeida-
Sanchez, it may be issued without a showing that there
>Mr. Justice Powell concluded, however, that a warrant
should be required for such searches. The dissenting Justices,
though disputing the need for a warrant, agreed that area-wide
probable cause would satisfy the Fourth Amendment's require-
ments for issuance of warrants. Mr. Justice White stated: “[A]t
least one Justice, Mr. Justice Powell, would uphold searches
by roving patrols if authorized by an area warrant issued on
less than probable cause*in the traditional sense. I agree with
Mr. Justice Powell that such a warrant so issned would satisfy
the Fourth Amendment, and I expect such warrants would be
readily issued” (413 U.S. at 288).
265-048 —-T4-—-- 5
14
is reason to believe : that any some sere vehicle is
carrying a concealed alien.
The present case involves only a brief stop of a
vehicle to question its occupants concerning their
right to be or remain in the United States, and this
Court has held that an investigative stop by a law
enforcement officer may be justified on less than
probable cause. ‘“‘[A] police officer may in appro-
priate circumstances and in an appropriate manner
approach a person for purposes of investigating pos-
sibly criminal behavior even though there is no prob-
able cause to make an arrest.”’ Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S.
1, 22; see also Adams v. Williams, 407 U.S. 148.
When Terry is read together with Camara and the
econeurring and dissenting opinions in Almeida-San-
chez, this is what emerges. An investigative stop of
an automobile to inquire into the citizenship status of
its occupants may be made on the basis of reasonable
suspicion not amounti g td probable cause, but that
suspicion, like the pro able jeause.in Camara, need not
be focused with particularity on the specific vehicle
to be stopped. It may be based, instead, upon knowl-
edge of conditions in the area as a whole. The condi-
tions in border areas are such that investigative roving
patrol stops; like the more intrusive roving patrol
searches, are essential to the effective enforcement
of the immigration laws.’ Since those conditions may
6“[1}]f immigration authorities were unable to question aliens
as to their right to be in this country without some independent
evidence that they we here illegally, their job would be im-
possible.” United Stcves v. Montez-Hernandez, 291 F. Supp.
712,715 (E.D.Cal.).
16
! provide “a constitutionally ‘adequate equivalent of
% probable cause’’ (413 U.S. at 279) to conduct a rov-
ing patrol search, it follows a fortiori that the same
conditions may constitute sufficient cause to conduct a
far less intrusive stop for questioning.
We ‘submit, therefore, that the court of appeals
erred in holding that the Fourth Amendment could
be satisfied only upon the basis of particularized sus-
pieion with respect to each vehicle stopped. Putting
' aside for a moment the question whether:a warrant is
required, it is our submission that the same area-wide
equivalent of probable cause that at least five Justices
thought could justify a roving patrol search in Al-
meida-Sanchez also may justify the lesser intrusion
involved in a brief investigative stop.
Prior to this Court’s decision in Almeida-Sanchez,
the courts of appeals had uniformly upheld investiga-
tive stops of vehicles in the Mexican border areas
without requiring particularized suspicion. F.g.,
Ramirez v. United States, 263 F. 24 385 (C.A. 5);
Contreras v. United States, 291 F. 2d 63 (0.A. 9);
Fernandez v. United States, 321 F. 2d 283 (C.A. 9);
United States v. Campos, 471 F: 2d 296 (C.A. 9);
United States v. Saldana, 458 F. 2d 352 (C.A. 10); —
Roa-Rodriquez v. United States, 410 F. 2d 1206 (0.A.
10).’ Even after Almeida-Sanchez, the Tenth Circuit
—_—_—_——_— |
"In many cases in which the courts considered the legality of
a search of a vehicle; the lawfulness of the initial stop was
} unquestioned. See, e.g., United States v. Wright, 476 F. 2d
1027 (C.A. 5), certiorari denied, 414 U.S. 821; United States
} v. McDaniel, 463 F. 2d 129 (C.A. 5), certiorari denied, 413 U.S.
919; United States v. Marin, 444 F. 2d 86 (C.A. 9); Fumagalli
-y, United States, 429 F. 2d 1011 (C.A. 9); United States v.
/
adhered to its view that the Fourth Amendinent is jot
violated when Border Patrol officers, without a war-
rant, stop a vehicle “to make ine inquiries as to
an individual’s nationality” (W/nited States vy. Bow-
man, supra, 487 FP. 2d at 1231).” i
2. A word suould be said, however, about the reja-
tionship between what the Fourth Amendment may
tolerate on the one hand and what the Immigration
and Nationality Act may authorize on the other hand.
Avey, 428 F. 2d 1159 (C.A. 9), certiorari denied, 100 U.S. 903;
United States v. Miranda, 426 F. 2d 283 (C.A. 9): United
States v. McCormick, 468 F. 2d 68 (C.A. 10). certiorari denied.
410 U.S. 927.
Outside the border areas, and in the context of personal Ch:
counters rather than highway stops, some courts have applie«
different rules. In the District of Columbia Circuit. for ex-
ample, “forcible detentions of a temporary nature for pur-
poses of interrogation” were permitted “under circamstances
creating a reasonable suspicion, not arising to the level of prob-
able cause to arrest, that the individual so detained is i/egally
in the eountry. ” Au Yi Law v. Immigration and Naturalization.
Service. 445 F. 2d 217, 223 (emphasis added); see also Yum
Nang Kwai y. Immigration and Naturalization Service, 411 ¥.
2d 688 (C.A. D.C.y; Cheung Tin Wong vy. Immigration ‘and
Naturalization, Service, 468 F. 2d 1123 (C.A. D.C.); United
States v. Cho Po Sun, 409 F. 2d 489 (C.A. 2), certiorari denied,
396 U.S. 864. Though we do not necessarily ayree that the D.C.
Cirenit’s standard is correct, we note that the conditions that
give rise to area-wide probable ¢ause in the border, areas may
not be present in other locations.
* See also United States v. Newman, 490 F. 2d 993, 995 (C.A,
‘10). The Fifth Circuit has not had occasion to decide the ques-
tian since the decision in Almeida-Sanchez. One panel, however,
expressed “serious doubt” as to the continued validity of
warrantless stops for interrogation. United States v. Rodriquez-
Hernandez, 493 F. 2d 168, 169, pending on petition for a writ
of certiorari, No. 73-6851. a
17
Section 287(a) of the Act, 8 U.S.C. 1357(a), gives
Border Patrol officers the ‘‘power without warrant—
(1) to interrogate any alien or person believed to be
an alien as to his right to be or to remain in the
United States [and] * * * (3) within a reasonable
distance from any external boundary of the United
States, to board and ‘search for aliens mel.”
vehicle * * *.”’ The term ‘‘reasonable distance’’ as
used in subsection (3) is defined by 8 C.F.R. 287.1(a)
(2) as “within 100 air miles from any external
boundary of the United States * * *.”
The search authority conferred by subsection (3) is
not conditioned upon the existence of any particular-
ized knowledge. The Border Patrol is authorized to
search “any vehicle” (emphasis added). That author-
ity may be exercised, however, only within a reason-
4 able distance from an external boundary, and the scope
of the search power is limited to places in a vehicle
where a human being could reasonably be concealed.”
Obviously, the power conferred by subsection (3) to
conduct a limited search of any vehicle in the border
area necessarily comprehends the power to stop any
vehicle in that area and to ask questions of its oceu-
pants to determine whether the vehicle contains con-—
cealed aliens.
The interrogation authority conferred by subsection
(1), unlike the search authority conferred by sub-
section (3), is not limited to a reasonable distance
* As we indicated in our brief in Ortiz (p. 29), an auto-
mobile inspection is usually limited to a brief look in the
’ ' trunk but occasionally extends to a look under the hood, be-
. a neath-the chassis, or behind the back seat.
OSS ah a ea
ee
18
> *
from an external boundary. Its exercise, however, is
conditioned upon the existence of some particularized
knowledge concerning the person to be questioned. He
must be an ‘‘alien or person believed to be an alien
** *.” Moreover, the questioning under subsection
(1) may extend only to the person’s “right to be or
to remain in the United States.” :
Thus, when the two subsections are read together,
they authorize the Border Patrol to conduct the fol-
lowing investigative activity without a warrant.
Within a reasonable distance from an external bound-
Presi: fficers may stop any vehicle, may question its
occupants concerning both their right to be in the
United States and the possibility that aliens may be
concealed in the vehicle, and may search the vehicle
for aliens. Outside a reasonable distance from an ex-
ternal boundary, Border Patrol officers may stop only
those vehicles containing persons whom the officers
believe to be aliens, may question those persons only
as to their right to be or to remain in the United
States, and may search a vehicle only upon ——
lan probable cause. ;
The statute represents the considered judgment of
€ongress that the measures it authorizes are essen- .
tial to the effective enforcement of the immigration
laws and consistent with the reasonableness standard
of the Fourth Amendment. Almeida-Sanchez v. United
can supra, 413 U.S! at’ 291, 293 (Mr. Justice
> sidianhle respect. lek United States v. Biswell, supra,
406. U.S. at 315-317; Colonnade Catering Corp. v.
United States, supra, 397 U.S. at 76. Insofar as the
19
judginent is incorrect, however, the authority con-
ferred by the statute is ultimately circumscribed by
the Fourth Amendment, for “[i]t is clear * * * that
no Act of Congress can authorize a violation of the
Constitution” (Almetda-Sanchez v. United States,
supra, 413 U.S. at 272). .
Thus, in Almetda-Sanchez this Court held that a
roving patrol search conducted without a warrant
pursuant to the authority conferred by subsection (3)
nevertheless violated the Fourth Amendment. And ,we
acknowledged in. Almeida-Sanchez that routine
searches of vehicles for aliens in Times Square would
be ‘“unreasonable’’ in the constitutional sense, even
though it is technically within a ‘‘reasonable distance”’
of an external boundary as that term is defined by the
regulation. The conditions in New York City would
not provide an area-wide equivalent of probable cause
sufficient to justify the practice of conducting such
searches.” Qa ns
But even if a statute authorizes law enforcement
conduct that might in some circumstances be regarded
as unreasonable under the Fourth Amendment, that
does not mean that the authorized conduct must be
viewed as unreasonable in all circumstances. It may
be, for example, that a. Bérder Patrol law enforce-
» The Immigration ‘and Naturalization Service, of course, has
never claimed or exercised any authority to conduct such searches
in New York or similar. places. The Border Patrol has con-
ducted routine’ searches of vehicles for aliens only in the area,
of this country’s border with Mexico, where illegal entry is a
serous problem and ‘where the concentration of illegal entrants
is high, and occasionally: in the area of the Canadian border when:
sasonal and other circumstances lead to increased border-crossing
vielat ions.
20
ment method apparently authorized by statute would
be unreasonable if used in Times Square but quite
reasonable if used near E] Paso, Texas, a mile or two
from the Mexican border. The official conduct should
not be regarded as unconstitutional when it occurs in
El Paso simply because it might be unconstitutional
if it occurred in New York.
The Border Patrol officers in the present case were
observing traffic in a patrol car at the closed San
Clemente checkpoint, located in an area known to have
a high incidence of illegal alien traffic. The checkpoint
“straddles a natural corridor along which illegal aliens
frequently travel in their migration towards the labor
markets in the north,” and it has been described as
“the primary, or cornerstone, checkpoint maintained
by the Border Patrol’’ in southern California (United
States v. Baca, 368 F. Supp. 398, 410, 415 (S.D.
Cal.)). More than 12,000 deportable aliens were ap-
prehended at the checkpoint in fiscal year 1973, and
in normal operation it is common for an eight-hour
shift to result in as many as 20 or 30 apprehensions
(td. at 410).
Against this background, it is not difficult to under-
stand why Border Patrol Agents Brady and Harkins
acted as they did when they observed respondent’s
northbound vehicle pass the checkpoint containing
three persons who appeared to be of Mexican descent.
Though. the officers had no particularized suspicion
that those individuals were illegally present in the.
country, the circumstances made it appropriate to stop.
the vehicle briefly to inquire whether they were citi-.
zens of the United States or had a right.to-be here. We
contend that t 21
thorized b .
— bie minimally intrusive conduct was au-
that it was rea
ith subsections of 8 U.S.C. 1357(a) and.
wan required—Sonable under the Fourth Amendment—
wide equiva again, the question whether a warrant
suspicion, ( —because it was predicated upon an area-
The authornt of probable cause or reasonable
statute is not
distance fromty conferred by subsection (1) of the
that we read limited to exercise within a reasonable
words, as per an external Houndary, and it is: true
a vehicle anythat subsection, in the court of appeals’
gate its occupmitting “immigration officials [to] stop
States, withowhere in the country in order.to interro-
without even ants as to their right to be in the United
occupants art 4 warrant, without probable cause, and
no need to CO, reasonable suspicion that any of the
have been suf ijepal aliens” (A. 15). But there is
— “nsider in this case whether there would
coe he cient cause to make a similar stop for
thine nt ar Omaha, Nebraska, or Nashville, Ten-
of probable «
was made he that outside the Mexican border area
appear to a no comparable “functional equivalent
answered in tause’’ to justify the kind of stop that
wide probablere, even though subsection (1) would
respondent’s uthorize it. The only question to be
have shown, ‘his case, however, is whether such area-
justify the e cause exists in the border region where
_ =. vehicle was in fact stopped. If, as we
there was sufficient area-wide cause to
stop involved here, then it should net
putting aside,
pons NBR ee oy srmeneeneneseee
22
matter whether sufficient cause would exist to make a
similar stop elsewhere.”
C. ADVANCE JTDICIAL APPROVAL THROUGH THE WARRANT PROCEDURE
IS NOT NEUVESSARY TO ENSURE THE REASONABLENESS OF A BRIEF
INVESTIGATIVE STOP OF A VEHICLE
If, as we have shown, the Border Patrol officers had
sufficient cause to stop respondent’s vehicle in order to
inquire about the citizenship status of its occupants,
there remains the question—which the court of ap-
peals did not address—whether advance judicial ap-
proval in the form of an area warrant, required by
this Court for a roving patrol search in Almeida-
Sanchee,, should also be required for the kind of brief
roving patrol stop and questioning that took place in
this case: ,
1 Similarly, although we believe that Border Patrol officers
may, under 8 U.S.C. 1357(a) (3), lawfully make routine vehicle
ig, in the border areas even when they do not have reason
to believe that the occupants of the vehicle may be aliens,
that issue need not be decided in this case. Border Patrol
Agent Brady testified that respondent’s vehicle was stopped
because the people in the car appeared to be of Mexican
descent (A. 9). All that must be decided here, therefore, is
whether the authority conferred by subsection (1) to inter-
rogate persons believed to be aliens may be exercised by ,
stopping vehicles containing such persons for brief question-
ing within the Mexican border areas.
72 The Ninth Circuit has held that the particularized suspicion
requirement for roving patrol stops that was announced in this
case extends also to stops at fixed checkpoints in the course of
their normal operation. United States v. Esquer-Rivera, Nos.
74-1110, et al., decided July 1, 1974. If this Court agrees with
our contention in Ortiz that searches of vehicles for aliens may
be conducted at fixed checkpoints routinely and without a war-
rant, it would follow that stops for questioning at such check-
—
23
Our contention can be stated quite simply. The
“seizure’’ involved in this case was so limited an in-
trusion into the privacy interests protected by the
Fourth Amendment that the interposition of a mag-
istrate was unnecessary to ensure its reasonableness.”
Just as the nature of the cause necessary to justify a
particular search or seizure depends in part upon the
extent of the intrusion contemplated (Terry v. Ohio,
392 U.S. 1, 17-18, n. 15), so should the need for a
warrant turn in part upon the scope of the official
interference with protected interests.
This is so because “[t]he ultimate standard set
forth in the Fourth Amendment is reasonableness’’
(Cady v. Dombrowski, 413 U.S. 433, 489). Although
“both the concept of probable cause and the require-
ment of a warrant bear on the reasonableness of 2
search”’ or seizure (Almeida-Sanchez v. United States,
supra, 413 U.S. at 277, Mr. Justice Powell concur-
ring), there are some circumstances in which a search
or seizure may be reasonable without a warrant or
without probable cause or even without both (ibid.).
This is ‘‘the central inquiry under the Fourth Amend-
ment—the reasonableness in all the circumstances of
points may also be made routinely and without a warrant. But
even if the Court holds that warrants are required for check-
point searches, we would argue that warrants are not required
for brief stops for questioning at checkpoints. Our analysis
here with respect to roving patrol stops would apply as well
‘to checkpoint stops.
18 We acknowledge that even a brief stop of a vehicle to make
a limited inquiry about a person’s nationality may be a suffi-
cient interference with an individual’s “personal security” to
constitute a “seizure” under the Fourth Amendment (7erry v.
Ohio, supra, 392 U.S. at 19 and n. 16).
‘
guceceestltaesneenememusennsnesemsesmmmee
24
the particular governmental invasion of a citizen’s
personal security” (Terry v. Ohio, supra, 392 US.
at 19). ae
The absence of a warrant for a particular search
or seizure may raise warning signals, but whether
that absence makes the search or seizure unreason-
able depends at least in part upon the nature and
scope of the intrusion.” For example, ‘“broad and un-
suspected governmental incursions into conversational
privacy [through] electronic surveillance’’ may ‘‘jeop-
ard[ize] * * * constitutionally protected speech”’ and,
i .partieularly..when.directed..against “those suspected
of unorthodoxy in their political beliefs,” may make
“Fourth Amendment protections * * * the m»re neces-
sary” (United States v. United States District Court,
407 U.S. 297, 313-314). The magnitude of “the po-
tential danger posed by unreasonable surveillance to
individual privacy and free expression’”’ (id. at 315)
heightens the “risk” involved in relying solely on “un-
reviewed executive discretion’ as a guarantee of rea-
sonableness (id. at 317). In those circumstances, this
Court concluded that ‘‘the needs of citizens for pri-
- vaey and free expression may * * * be better pro-
tected by requiring a warrant before such surveillance
is undertaken” (id. at 315).
When law enforcement officers use less “constitu-
‘ tionally sensitive means in pursuing their tasks” (id.
1*The test in these cases, as this Court has held, is “not
whether it was reasonable to procure a search warrant, but
whether the search itself was reasonable.” United States v.
Edwards, 415 U.S. 800, 807; see Cooper v. California, 386 U.S.
58, 62.
25
\
at 317), however, a warrant may not always be re-
quired. An on-the-street investigative stop of a sus-
picious individual and a frisk of his person for
concealed weapons may be conducted by a law en-
forcement officer without a warrant (Terry Vv.
. Ohio, supra).” Similarly, four members of this Court
; concluded in Cardwell v. Lewis, No. 72-1603, decided
June i7, 1974, that the scraping of paint from the
exterior of an automobile did not “invade * * * a
right to privacy which the interposition of a warrant
requirement is meant to protect” (slip op. 5, plurality
opinion). od
The brief stop of a vehicle in the border area to
ask its occupants a few questions about their citizen-
ship and right to be in the United States, while not
trivial, does not constitute the kind of:instrusion into
protected privacy interests that was involved in even
the limited search for aliens conducted in Almeida-
Sanchez. The oT and Naturalization Serv-
ice informs us that a\ stop for questioning at a
checkpoint ordinarily takes no more than about 5 sec-
onds per occupant and that even a roving patrol stop
for questioning usually consumes no more than a min-
ute. Such stops involve no search unless the officers
have particularized probable cause. All that is re-
quired of the vehicle’s* occuparts is a response to a
brief question or two and possibly the production of
a document evidencing a right to be in the United
States.
18 Of course, in the Jerry context no warrant could have been
obtained, since there was neither area probable cause nor in-
dividualized probable cause.
SPER Saget THE NN eH tye
26
.,.We submit that: this momentary verbal encounter
does not present the sort of dangers that a warrant is
designed to protect against. In contrast to the situa-
tion: as viewed by. the majority in Almeida-Sanchez,
there is here no claim of an ‘“‘extravagant license to
search” (413 U.S. at 268). A brief stop for question-
ing is a far less “constitutionally sensitive” (United
States v. United States District Court, supra, 407
U.S. at 317) law enforcement method than a stop and
search, and we believe that the need for‘and utility of
advance judicial approval are correspondingly
reduced. :
_ Moreover, roving patrol operations are not easily
adapted to an area warrant procedure. Roving patrol
traffic checking operations are considered by the
Border Patrol to be essential to supplement the fixed
checkpoints as part of an overall program to deter
illegal entry and apprehend illegal entrants, Although
the need for some roving patrols—to cover one or two
roads that bypass a major fixed checkpoint, for
example—may be sufficiently foreseeable to permit
advance planning, most roving patrol traffic checking
operations can be employed effectively only if
they can be used flexibly.
Basie roving patrol strategy is established on a
regional basis, but the deployment of particular patrol
cars and agents is ordinarily determined by field
supervisors, who must take account of such variable
factors as the season, the weather, the traffic flow, the
time of. day, manpower and patrol car availability,
recent experience on a road or roads, information con-
27
cerning illegal activity, and so on. In areas
with thany bypass roads, one patrol car may be as-
signed to cover 10 or,.more roads and many square
miles during a single shift.
For these reasons, the need for and assignment of
roving patrols ordinarily cannot be axticipated for a
future period but must be determined on a day-to-day
basis consistent with regional policy.” Weekly or
monthly warrants would therefore not be feasible.
The Border Patrol has found that it would be im-
practical to seek daily warrants for each patrol car,
in part because that; would require’ an inordinate
conunitment of resources to the preparation of in-
formation to be presented in suppert of warrant
applications. After this Court’s decision in Almeida-
Sanchez, therefore, the Border Patrol effectively dis-
continued the use of roving patrol traffic checking
operations except when specific information was ob-
tained concerning possible smuggling operations.
Even if these practical problems were not consid-
ered sufficiently disruptive of the Border Patrol’s
enforcement program to justify a roving patrol
search without a warrant,” we submit thafc bal-
ance of reasonableness shifts when the contemplated
intrusion is limited to a brief investigative stop. The
1 The instant case is illustrative of the problem, The “rov-
ing patrol” operation here involved was in response to imme-
diate and unanticipated weather and manpower exigencies.
17 Mr. Justice Powell stated in <A/meida-Sanchez that “the
roving searches are apparently planned in advance or carried
out according to a predetermined schedule” (413 U.S. at 283).
As we have indicated, that is true only with respect to a
minority of roving patrol traffic checking operations.
Po ——
result here should reflect the substantial difference
between the intrusiveness of a search and the in-
trusiveness of a momentary ‘‘seizure.” “
The situation here, we submit, is similar to that in
United States v. Biswell, supra, where this Court up-
held as “reasonable official conduct under the Fourth
Amendment” (406 U.S. at 316) a warrantless search
of a federally licensed firearms dealer’s locked store-
room, conducted pursuant to an inspection program
that was authorized by statute. Although, as Mr. Jus-
tice Powell stated in ‘Almeida-Sanchez, “[o]ne who
merely travels in regions near the borders of the coun-
try can hardly be thought to have submitted to>
spections in exchange for a special perquisite’’ (413
U.S. at 281), drivers and motor vehicles are licensed
by the states, and the lower federal courts have upheld
routine warrantless stops of vehicles for license and
registration — m A roving patrol immigration
% One district court aptly stated: “It cannot be considered
an arbitrary invasion of privacy merely to ask for proper iden-
tification in an area known to contain large numbers of illegal
Mexican aliens, particularly when the person being questioned
gives the appearance of being nervous and being of Mexican
ancestry. This is especially true when it is the only feasible
way to apprehend the seemingly endless parade of aliens who
escape detection at the border” (United States v. Montez-Her-
nandez, supra, 291 F. Supp. at 716)...
19 See, ¢.g., United States v. Croft, 429 F. 2d 884 (C.A. 10);
Myricks v. United States, 370 F. 2d 901 (C.A. 5), certiorari
denied, 386 U.S. 1015; Lipton v. United States, 348 F. 2d 591
(C.A. 9). See generally Note, Automobile License Checks and
the Fourth Amendment, 60 Virginia L. Rev. 666 (1974) ; Com-
ment, Freedom of the Road: Public Safety v. Private Right,
14 DePaul LL. Rev. 381, 407-409 (1965) ; Comment, /nterference
29
stop, though not part of any state highway safety in-
spection program, is no more intrusive than the
routine license check with which most motorists are
familiar. ‘ . vo
Moreover, as in Biswell, “the prerequisite of a war-
rant could easily frustrate” the enforcement scheme;
“and if the necessary flexibility * * * is to be ‘pre-
served, the protections afforded by a warrant would be
negligible’’ (406 U.S. at 316). Warrantless roving pa-
trol investigative stops, like the unannounced inspec-
tions of firearms dealers in Biswell, are specifically au-
thorized by statute. The Court’s conclusion in Biswell
thus bears as well upon the resolution of the issue
here. The Court there had “‘little difficulty in conclud-
ing that where * * * regulatory inspections further
urgent federal interests, and the possibilities of abuse
and the threat to privacy are not of impressive dimen-
sions, the inspection may proceed without a warrant
where specifically authorized by statute’’ (id. at 317).
Although immigration stops may not be ‘‘regula-
tory inspections’’ in furtherance of a licensing scheme,
they involve a far less drastic intrusion than the
unannounced searches sanctioned in Biswell. ‘‘[T]he
possibilities of abuse and the threat to privacy’’ are
of even less ‘‘impressive dimensions’’ in this context
than in Biswell (tbid.).
Taking into account that ‘‘Congress has broad
with the Right to Free Movement: Stopping and Search of
Vehicles, 51 Calif. L. Rev. 907 (1963); Note, Random Road
Blocks and the Law of Search and Seizure, 46 Towa L. Rev. .
802 (1961); Note, The Driver's License “Display” Statute:
Problems Arising from Its Application, 1960 Wash. U.L.Q. 279.
30 j*
authority to fashion standards of' redsonableness for
searches ‘and seizures’’ (Colonnide Catering Corp. v.
United States, supra, 397 U.S. at 77), we believe that
Border Patrol officers may lawfully, exercise their
express statutory authority to make brief vehicle stops
without warrants to inquire about the citizenship of
the oecupants., These limited intrusions do not posé
the kind of: dangers that might make it necessary to
disregard the congressional’ judgment that warrants
are not needed to ensure the reasonableness of the
law enforcement conduct. °
is not per se unreasonable if made without, a warrant,
we do not mean to suggest that an aggrieved person
may not allege and prove in a particular factual
officers’ subsequent questioning were unlawful. We
do say, however, that the Fourth Amendment values
at stake are adequately protected when these claims
are adjudicated after the stop and questioning and in
the context of an adversary proceeding on specific
facts. .
As we showed earlier (pp. 20-21, supra), the stop
U.S.C. 1357(a)(1) and (3) and were reasonable
under the Fourth Amendment. Border Patrol Agents
Brady and Harkins were observing traffic on a high-
way frequently used to transport illegal entrants, at
the site of the closed San Clemente checkpoint where
thousands of illegal entrants are apprehended each
In arguing that a roving patrol investigative stop |
‘setting that’ the stop of his automobile was in fact.
unreasonable ‘or that the manner and scope of ‘the
and questioning in this case were authorized by 8
rs
31
year. When they observed respondent’s northbound
vehicle containing three persons who appeared to be
of Mexican descent, they were justified in stopping the
car to question its occupants about their citizenship
and their right to be in the United States. Once the
vehicle was lawfully stopped, the officers’ brief ques-
tioning of the passengers revealed that they were
present in this country illegally.
We submit that this law enforcement action “was
justified at its inception’’ and ‘‘reasonably related in
scope to the circumstances which justified the inter-
ference in the first place’ (Terry v. Ohio, supra, 392
U.S. at 20). The limited “seiure”- ofwhich respond-
ent complains was not ‘“‘unreasonable’’ under the
Fourth Amendment.
CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be
reversed.
Respectfully submitted.
Rosert H. Bork,
Solicitor General.
Henry E. PEreRsEN,
Assistant Attorney General.
Mark L. Evans,
Assistant to the Solicitor General.
Perer M. SHANNON, Jr., -
RevBen H. WALLACE, Jr.,
Atturneys.
DECEMBER 1974. :
U.S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: t974
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United
Octroser Term, 1974
No. 73-2000
Unirep States or AMERICA,
_—V
JaMEs Rospert PELTIER,
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
>
No. 73-2050
Unrrep STaTEs OF AMERICA,
—vVv.—
Luis ANTONIO ORTIZ,
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APi’EALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
—>—__-
No. 73-6848
JoHN LEE Bowen,
Ve
Unrrep States OF AMERICA,
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
>
No. 74-114
Unrrep States oF AMERICA,
_—V
Fe.rx HUMBERTO BriGNont-PoNcE,
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
“
Bian 30
MICHAL PUDAK 3
Petitioner,
Respondent.
Petitioner,
Respondent.
Petitioner,
Respondent.
Petitioner,
Respondent.
1
BRIEF OF THE MEXICAN AMERICAN LEGAL DEFENSE
AND EDUCATIONAL FUND, AMICUS CURIAE
———
a
Epwarp A. ToMLINSON Vima S. MARTINEZ
University of Maryland
School of Law
500 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
SANFORD JAY ROSEN
JOAQUIN GUADALUPE AVILA
Mexican American Legal
Defense and Educational Fund
145 Ninth Street
San Francisco, California 94113
=
INDEX
Table of Authorities...................
Interest of Amicus Curiae .............
Questions Presented....................
Statement of the Cases.................
Summary of Argument....................
ARGUMENT
I. PROBABLE CAUSE IS REQUIRED FOR
AN UNCONSENTED WARRANTLESS i
SEARCH BY FEDERAL OFFICERS OF
AN AUTOMOBILE FOR ILLEGAL
PERI ark oo can iK aad a qe’
II. PROBABLE CAUSE IS REQUIRED FOR
AN UNCONSENTED WARRANTLESS
SEARCH BY FEDERAL OFFICERS OF
THE INTERIOR OF AN AUTOMOBILE
FOR ILLEGAL ALIENS CONDUCTED
AT A FIXED CHECKPOINT............
III. WARRANILESS UNCONSENTED CHECK -
POINT SEARCHES OF AUTOMOBILE
INTERIORS FOR ILLEGAL ALIENS
CONDUCTED BY FEDERAL OFFICERS
WITH ONLY AN AREA-WIDE
EQUIVALENT OF PROBABLE CAUSE
ARE NOT ADMINISTRATIVE SEARCHES
PERMISSIBLE UNDER CAMARA V.
MUNICIPAL COURT,
IV.
. il
387 U.S. 523 (1967).------+--2-..
THE FOURTH AMENDMENT DOES NOT
PERMIT FEDERAL OFFICERS TO
MAKE RANDOM, WARRANTLESS STOPS
OF AUTOMOBILES ON THE PUBLIC
HIGHWAY TO QUESTION THE OCCU-
PANTS CONCERNING THEIR RIGHT TO
BE IN THE UNITED STATES..........
=
iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases:
~ Adams v. Williams, 407 U.S. 143 .
~ (1972)... . © «© © ee ew ew ee 44 ;
Almeida-Sanchez v. Unsted States,
G52 F.2d 459 (9th
rev'd., 413 U.S. 266 (1973). . passim
Almeida-Sanchez v. United States,
ZI3 U.S. 266 (1973)... . =. © passim
Camara v. Municif al Court. 387
U.s. 523 T1967) o ew ete 0 oo eo 64, 34,49
Cardwell v. Lewis, 41 L.Ed. 325
(1974). + #ie's & & © 6 ee oe OSE
Carroll v. United States, 257
U.S. 132 (1925) ....+. +... passim
Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42
(1970), reh. den., 400 U.S. 856 16,20,44
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403
U.S. 443 (I971), reh. den.,
ADA U.8. B76, s 6 6k 6 e's « 6 (86,21
Edelman v. Jordan, U.S.
. Ct. 1347 (1974) ..... 31
Garcia v. Hoobler, Civ. Act. No.
74-301-T (5.D. Cal. ) (Filed
June 20, 1974), complaint dis-
missed with leave to amend,
Order On Motions For Summary
Judgment And To Dismiss (S.D
Gala sd ee a Bes 6 8 8
Katz v. pastes States, hes U.S.
347 (1 ; ca a
Denver, e UE.
Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S.
ar8 (1969).
rt
United States v. ch cir. 1973).
cert. _. , 94
3. Ct. 881 (1974) Sig sae
United States v. Bowen, 462
7 (9th Cir.),
reh, denied, (1972), cert.
ranted, ud ent vacated
and case remande or recon-
sideration,
> conviction affirmed,
Hernandez v. Texas, 347 U.S. 475
(1954) a . ° - oO . . ° -¢e °O
Keyes v. School District No. l, |
5 P %
Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968).
Page
42,45
eI
Page
500 F.2d 960 (9th Cir.) (en
banc), cert. granted, ___ U.S.
. , 42 L.Ed. Oct. 15,
1974) (No. 73-6848) / 4%
passim
United States v. Bowen, 500 F.2d
th Cir.) (en banc), cert.
ranted, _—i'U.S. ___—=«y,-—«42:«dL Ed.
5 L47 (Oct. 15, 1974)(No. 73-
6848) . . .... +... 6 © » » passim
United States v. Bowman, 487 F.2d
th Cir. 1973) ..... 22
United States v. Brignoni-Ponce,
F. 109 (9th Cir.) (en
banc), cert. granted, U.S.
; Led ta (Oct. 15,
1974) (No. 74-114). .......
United States v. Camacho-Davalos,
‘ 1382 (9th Cir. 1973) . 30
passim
United States v. Di Ree, 332 U.S. 20
United States v. Guana-Sanchez,
Cr. No. 72 CR 50 (Unreported
decision, N.D. Ill. June 8,
1972), affirmed, 484 F.2d 590
(7th Cir. 1973), cert. granted,
| us. , 4i E-Ed.2¢ 1138
(1974) (No. 73-820) ...... «3,22
United States v. Legato, 480 F.2d
th Cir. 1973), cert. den.,
414 U.S. 979. . ..... see 2
vi
Page
United States v. Madueno-Astorga,
503 F.2d 820, (9th Cir. 19725 . 19
United States v. Mallides, 473
F.2d 859 (9th Cir. 1973). . . . 22,30,42
United States v. Martinez-
Miramontes, 494 F.2d 808 (9th
Gees Bees 8G .0 wb wt we ee 29
United States v. Morgan, 501 F.2d
1351 (9th Cir. 57%) ke eee 8
United States v. Nevarez-Alcantar,
8 (10th Cir. 1974) . 19
United States v. Ortiz, Cr. No.
-D. Cal>Dec. 5, 1973),
reversed, (unreported), (9th Cir. :
June 19, 1974), cért. granted,
U.S. L.Ed.2d ——)
WNo. 73- Or ra be peanin
United States v. Peltier, 500 F.2d
. r.) Cen banc), cert.
granted, U.S. : |
(No. 73-2000) * 28©« e@ © © e@ © @ ¢ passim
United States v. Bnilitps , 496 F.
2d 1395 (5th Cir. o 8
White v. Regester, 93 S.Ct. 2332
(1973). te tae ok ew. oe Oe
Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356
(1886) .
31
—
vii
Page
Federal Statues:
8 U.S.C. §1324(a) (1-4) 7
* 8 U.S.C. §1324(a) (2) 10,36,37
8 U.8.C. §1323:. °. 37
8-U.S.C. §1357(a) (1) 42,46,47
8 U.S.C. §1357(a) (3) 26,41,47
21 U.S.C. §844(a) (1) 12,48
42 U.S.C. §2000a, et seq. - 32
Title II, Civil Rights ct of
1964 ..... _* + 32
. Federal Regulations:
8 C.F.R. 287.1 . 26
Miscellaneous:
Automobile License Checks and the
~ Fourth Amendment, 60 VA.L.REV.
666 (19/74) . . ee oe ae ae ae 45
Area Search Warrant in Border
Zones: Almeida-Sanchez and
Camara, ALE . Ju) 1974) 35,38
.Warrantless Searches and Seizures
re) utomobiles, et
17
Hearings on H.R. 982 before
Subcommittee No.1 of the
House Committee on The
Judiciary, 93rd Cong., lst
Sess., 31-32 (1973). . 37
In The
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1974
No. 73-2000
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Petitioner,
Vv.
JAMES ROBERT PELTIER,
Respondent.
On Wrjt of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit
. No. 73-2050
UNITED STATES OF AMFRICA,
f
sil Petitioner,
Vv.
LUIS ANTONIO ORTIZ,
Respondent.
On Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit
{
No. 73-6848
JOHN LEE BOWEN,
Petitioner,
v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
. Respondent.
On Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit
No. 74-114
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Petitioner,
v.
FELIX HUMBERTO BRIGNONI-PONCE, /
Respondent.
On Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit
BRIEF OF THE MEXICAN AMERICAN
LEGAL DEFENSE AND EDUCATIONAL
RUND, AMICUS CURIAE
L
3 .
ie
Interest of Amicus Curiae
THe Mexican American Legal Defense and
Educational Fund (MALDEF) was established
on May 1, 1968, primarily to secure the
civil rights of Mexican Americans tirrough
litigation and education. In its efforts
to assist the Mexican American community to
achieve its rights urder the law, MALDEF
has been involved in litigation which has
challenged the traditional barriers facing
Mexican Americans: abridgement of partici-
patory, constitutional, and political rights;
unequal educational -opportunity; discrim-
inatory employment practices; unequal dis-
tribution of public services; and law en-
forcement misconduct. Because both citizens
and lawfully admitted resident aliens of
Mexican ancestry are frequently victimized
be overzealous searches for illegal aliens,
MALDEF has challenged such activities in
numerous lawsuits. See, e.g., United
States v. Guana-Sanchez, U.S.S.Ct. No. 73-
820 (amicus brief); Garcia v. Hoobler, F.
Supp. , Civ. Act. 74-301-T (S.D. Cal.
Jan. 8, 1975, Order granting defendants'
Motions For Summary Judgment And To Dismiss,
with leave to plaintiffs to amend it
part).
1/ Letters of consent to the filing of
this brief from each party in each case
have been filed with the Clerk.
4
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1. Whether the Fourth Amendment per-
mits federal officers to conduct an un-
consented, warrantless search of, the in-
terior of an automobile for illegal
aliens when the federal officers do not
have probable cause fbr believing either
that the automobile to be searched con-
tains illegal aliens, or that the auto-
mobile or its contents have recently
crossed an internationei border.
2. Whether the Fourth Amendment per-
mits federal officers to conduct at fixed
checkpoints an unconsented, warrantless
search of the interior of an automobile
for illegal aliens when the federal
officers do not have probable cause for
believing that the automobile to be
searched contains illegal aliens or that
the automobile or its contents have re-
cently crossed an international border.
3. Whether the rationale of Camara v.
Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523 (1967),
should be extended to sustain; as a law-
ful administrative search, the warrant-
less, unmconsented checkpoint search of an
automobile's interior for illegal aliens
conducted by federal officers, on the
basis only of an area-wide equivalent of
probable cause, and without probable
cause for believing that the automobile
to be searched contains illegal aliens.
4. Whether the Fourth Amendment per-
mits federal officers to conduct an un-
consented, warrantless stop of an auto-
mobile on the public highway to question
the occupants concerning their right to
be or to remain in the United States
Where the federal officers do not have
reasonable grounds for believing that one
or more of the occupants are illegal
aliens?
6
STATEMENT OF THE CASES’
‘The Ortiz Case [No. 73-2050].
On November 12, 1973, Border Patrol
agents at the United States Border Patrol
Immigration Checkpoint at San Clemente, 2/
California, stopped Respondent Ortiz while
he was driving a 1969 Chevrolet sedan
northward on Interstate Highway 5 toward
Los Angeles, California. (Appendix to
Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 44A.)3/
The San Clemente checkpoint is located 62
air miles and 66 road miles north of the
border and lies north of the densely pop-
ulated San Diego metropolitan area. (App.
Pet. in No. 73-2050 at 24A-25A.) Border
Patrol agents at the checkpoint directed
respondent's automobile to the secondary
inspection area at the side of the road.
While conducting a routine search,
they found three aliens concealed inside
the trunk of the automobile.
At the subsequent trial, District Judge
Edward Schwartz ruled that the "San Clemente
checkpoint is a permanent checkpoint and
that the stopping of the vehicle and the
search by the Border Patrol was a valid
legal searche (App. Pet. in No. 73-2050
2/ Hereinafter cited as (App. Pet. in No.
73-2050 at __
3/ The Border Patrol is a division of the
Immigration and Naturalization Service
which is a part of the United States De-
partment of Justice.
ee SS “Ly
ee LE LS AT OT
7
at 47A.) After a non-jury trial respon-
dent was then convicted on three counts
of transporting aliens who were in the
country illegally, in violation of 8 U.S.
C. § 1324(a) (1-4).
The Court of Appeals subsequently re-
versed respondent Ortiz's convictions on
the authority of its en banc decision in
United States v. Bowen, 500 F.2d 960,
cert. granted, U.S. , 42 L.' Ed.2d 47
(1974). In Bowen, the Court of Appeals
held, primarily on the basis of this
Court's decision in Almeida-Sanchez v.
United States, 413 U.S. 266 (1973), that
the rea Amendment prohibited a check-
point search of an automobile for aliens .
conducted without a warrant and without
probable cause unless the checkpoint
search was the functional equivalent of a
border search. For a checkpoint search to
be the functional equivalent of a border
search, there must be a reasonable cer-
tainty, or at least a probability that the
vehicle stopped or its contents had re-
cently crossed an international border.
500 F.2d at 966. Under this test the
Ninth Circuit subsequently held in United
States v. Morgan, 501 F.2d 1351 (9th Cir.
(en banc), that routine searches of
automobiles at the San Clemente checkpoint
were not the functional equivalent of
border searches. The Ninth Circuit, how-
ever, limited its decision in Bowen to
checkpoint searches conducted after June
21, 1973, the date of this Court's decis-
ion in Almeida-Sanchez. Bowen, supra,
500 F.2d at 975-80. Since the search of
respondent Ortiz's automobile occurred
v
ee ee
8
after that date and was not deemed a border
search, his conviction: based on the illeg-
ally seized evidence was reversed.
The Bowen Case (No. /73-6848). Petition-
er Bowen on January , » was driving a
pickup with a camper northward on Califor-
nia State Highway 86 when he was stopped at
the United States Border Patrol Immigration
Checkpoint. (Appendix at 35.)4/ The check-
point on California State Highway 86 is
located 36 air miles and 49 road miles north
of the Mexican Border. (App. Pet. in No. 73-
2050 at 30A); the population centers of
Heber, El Centro, Brawley, Imperial, West-
moreland and Indio lie between the check-
point and the border. (App. in No. 73-
6848 at 39.) Petitioner satisfied the Immi-
= Officer on Duty as to his United
tates citizenship (App. in No. 73-6848 at
36). The officer noticed nothing suspicious
or unusual about petitioner Bowen or the
camper (App. in No. 73-6848 at 41), but
nevertheless, asked him to open up the back
of the camper to search for illegal aliens
(App. No. 73-6848 at 36). Petitioner
Bowen opened the door of the camper, and
the officer immediately detected the smell
of marijuana (App. in No. 73-6848 at 41).
The officer then entered the interior of
Bowen's camper through a rear door and,
with the assistance of a flashlight, dis-
covered a quantity of miarujuana (App. in
No. 73-6848 at 36 and 43-47). No illegal
aliens were discovered.
4/ Hereinafter cited as.(App. in No. 73-
6848 at _.).
9
Bowen's motion to suppress the evidence
was denied on August 23, 1971, and he was
subsequently convicted by a jury on August
31, 1971 of smuggling marijuana into the
United States from Mexico, transporting
marijuana, Sight depressant and stimu-
lant drugs in violation of federal law.
The Ninth Circuit initially affirmed the
convictions in United States v. Bowen, 462
F.2d 347 (9th Cir. 1972), but this Court
then remanded the case to the Ninth Circuit
for further consideration in light of
Almeida-Sanchez, 413 U.S. 915 (1973). On
remand, the Ninth Circuit held that routine
immigration searches at fixed checkpoints
removed from the border, conducted without
a warrant or probable cause, violated the
Fourth Amendment. United States v. Bowen,
500 F.2d 960 (9th Cir. I974) (en banc), —
cert. granted, U.S. , 42 L.Ed. 2d 47
(i974). Nevertheless, they affirmed
Bowen's conviction since the search cf his
camper occurred prior to this Court's
decision on June 21, 1973 in Almeida-
Sanchez.
The Brignoni-Ponce Case (No. 74-114).
Respondent Brignoni-Ponce on March ll, 1973,
was driving north on Interstate Highway 5
near San Clemente, California, when his car
was stopped by agents of the United States
Border Patrol. Pispendix at 5, 8.)5/ The
checkpoint was closed due to lack of man-
power and inclement weather, but two Border
Patrol agents were on duty parked in a
patrol car observing northbound traffic.
(App. in No. 74-114 at 6.) The patrol car.
was parked at a 90° angle to the highway
with its headlights on. In the early even-
ing hours, ‘tHe.agents observed Brignoni-
5/ Hereinafter cited as (App. in No. 74-
114 at _.).
10
Ponce's car going north and decided that
they "wished to inspect" it. (App. in
No. 74-114 at 6.) The agents' desire to
inspect the car was based solely on the
occupants’ Mexican appearance. (App. in
No. 74-114 at 9.) Upon questioning the
passengers in Brignoni-Ponce's vehicle
concerning their citizenship, the agents
determined that they were aliens illegally
in the United States, After unsuccessfully
challenging the validity of the stop,
Brignoni-Ponce was convicted of two counts
of transporting illegal aliens in violation
of 8 U.S.C. 1334 (a) (3) . Furthermore, the
court rejected the government's attempt to
distinguish this case from Almeida-Sanchez
on.the grounds that Almeida-Sanchez involv-
ed.a search rather than a stop. The Ninth
Circuit reasoned that Almeida-Sanchez
"reflects at least as much concern with the
initial stop as with the subsequent search."
499 F.2d at 1111. Thus, for purposes of
Fourth Amendment protections, roving patrol
searches as well as roving patrol stops are
prohibited.
Since the stopping of Brignoni-Ponce's
automobile and the discovery of illegal
aliens occurred prior to the decision
announced in Almeida-Sanchez, an issue of
retroactive application was raised. In
United States v. Peltier, 500 F.2d 985 (9th
cir. 1974) (@ banc), the Ninth Circuit held
that Almeida-Sanchez would be applied to
similar cases pending an appeal at the time
of this Court's decision in Almeida-Sanchez.
However, in cases involving fixed check-
point searches conducted prior to Almeida-
Sanchez, there would be no retroactive
application. United States v. Bowen, 500
F,2d 960 (9th Cir. 1974) (en banc). Since
1l
the Ninth Circuit characterized Brignoni-
Ponce's stop as a roving patrol stop
rather than a fixed checkpoint stop,
Almeida-Sanchez was applied retroactively
in this case, resulting in te reversal
of Brignoni-Ponce's conviction.
The United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit reversed the ¢on-"
viction. United States v. Brignoni-Ponce,
499 F.2d 1109 (9th Cir. 1974) (en banc). The
Court of Appeals unanimously held that a
warrantless stop of a vehicle to inquire
as to the citizenship of the occupants is
permissible under the Fourth Amendment
only if the Border Patrol agents have a
"founded suspicion" that the occupants of
the vehicle are aliens whose presence in
this country is unlawful. 499 F.2d at
1112. The mere fact that Brignoni-Ponce
and his passengers appeared to be of Mexi-
can descent did not provide the agent with
adequate cause to stop the automobile.
The Peltier Case (No. 73-2000). On
February 28, 1973, Respondent Peltier was
driving northward on United States Route
395 near Temecula, California, when his
automobile was purstted-and stopped by a
roving border patrol. The Border Patrol
officers then searched the trunk of the
automobile for concealed aliens. The stop
tcok place approximately 70 air miles north
of the Mexican border. The Border Patrol
agents decided to stop and search Peltier's
automobile because he appeared to be of
Mexican descent and was driving an old
model car. After stopping the car, the
agents also observed that it bore out-of-
state license plates, that Peltier was
alone in the car, and that there were some
12
clothes in the back seat. Upon searching
the. car, the agents did not discover any
ot hee aliens, but did discover a quanti-
ty of marijuana in the trunk. Peltier was
subsequently convicted in the United States
District for the Southern District of
California of possessing marijuana with
intent to distribute in violation of
21°U.S.C. 844(a) (1), after Peltier's
motion to suppress the marijuana as evi-
dence was denied. Subsequent to the
District Court's decision, this Court held
in Almeida-Sanchez that a warrantless
roving patrol search of an automobile for
concealed aliens violates the Fourth
Amendment when the Border Patrol agents
have acted without probable cause for
believing that the automobile contained
illegal aliens. The Court of Appeals for
the Ninth Circuit then reversed Peltier's
conviction on the authority of Almeida-
Sanchez. United States v. Peltier,
U.S. 985 (9th Cir. 1974). Although the
roving patrol search in this case occurred
before June 21, 1973, the date of this
Court's decision in Almeida-Sanchez, the
Ninth Circuit held that Almeida Sanchez
"should be applied to similar cases pend-
ing an appeal on the date the Supreme
Court's decisions was announced." 500 F.
2d at 986 (foornote omitted).
}
}
|
|
13
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Over the last several decades, this
Court has developed a substantial body of
Fourth Amendment law. This body of law
emphasizes probable cause as the normal
predicate for a constitutionally valid
search of an automobile's interior. While
a somewhat lesser standard may justify the
investigatory stop of a person or of an
automobile on a public highway, random or
routine stops have not received the Court's
approval. A separate rationale for rou-
tine administrative searches has been
developed, but that rationale has *o far
been limited to cases where there are at
least the paceyuence of the warrant pro-
cess or where intensively regulated busi-
nesses are involved. Border searches have
also received separate treatment, but the.
government recognizes that the instant j.,
our cases do not involve border stops or 4 y
searches. (Brief for Petitioner United ,
States in No. 73-2050 at 16.)
Almeida-Sanchez v. United States, 413
U.S. 266 (1973) Lis consistent with this
body of law. In this amicus brief MALDEF
argues that this Court’s basic Fourth
Amendment jurisprudence not only dictated
the result in Almeida-Sanchez but also
requires the Court to condemn the searches
and stops in the instant four cases. Auto-
mobile searches at fixed checkpoints are
essentially no different from automobile
searches conducted by roving border patrols,
and investigatory stops of automobiles are
subject to the same prohibition of routine
and random searches. The application of
this Court's basic Fourth Amendment law to
these cases is especially important to
—s
_
14 /
those Mexican Americans, both citizens and
lawfully admitted aliens, who are the ,
actual or potential victims of automobile
stops and searches conducted by Border Pa-
trol agents looking for illegal aliens. |
The application of basic Fourth Amendment
principles to these cases would operate to
vindicate the rights of United States citi-
zens of Mexican descent, and lawfully resi- |
dent aliens of similar descent, to travel
on the public highway free of random, dis-
criminatory or otherwise unreasonable
searches and seizures.
_ Since no new law is, involved in these
cases, the basic Fourth Amendment princi-
ples developed by this Court should be
applied in these cases. Thus, the judg-
ments of the United States Court of’ é
Appeals for'the Ninth Circuit in Ortiz
(No; 73-2050), Brignoni-Ponce (No. 74-
114) and Peltier (No. - ), reversing
the respondent convictions, should be
affirmed, while the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Cir-
‘cuit in Bowen (No. 73-6848), affirming the
peer. conviction, should be reversed.
/
6/ This brief does not. present additional
argument on the retroactivity issue pre-
sented in Bowen (No. 73-6848), Brignoni-
Ponce (No. 74-114) and Peltier (No. 73-
2000). On’this issue MALDEF adopts the
arguments advanced by each of the’ defen-
dants.
15
ARGUMENT
I
PROBABLE CAUSE IS REQUIRED FOR AN
UNCONSENTED WARRANTLESS SEARCH BY
FEDERAL OFFICERS OF THE INTERIOR OF
AN AUTOMOBILE FOR ILLEGAL ALIENS
The defendants in these cases, Ortiz
in No. 73-2050, Brignoni-Ponce in 74-114,
Peltier in 73-2000 and Bowen in 73-6848,
were all wa, what hundreds of thousands,
if not several million, Americans do every
day: they were lawfully driving an automobile
on a public highway within one hundred miles
of an external boundary of the United States.
Border Patrol agents stopped, and in three of
the four cases searched, the defendants’
automobiles for illegal aliens.
In Ortiz (No. 73-2050), the respondent
was stopped and his automobile searched for
illegal aliens at a permanent immigration
checkpoint on Interstate Route 5 near San
Clemente, California, about 62 miles from
the Mexican border. (App. Pet. in No. 73-
2050 at 43A-45A.) In Bowen (No. 73-6848),
the petitioner was stopped and his automobile
searched at a similar checkpoint on California
State Highway 86 approximately 36 air miles
and 49 highway miles north of the Mexican
border. United States v. Bowen, 500 F.2d
’ 960, 961 (Sth Cir. 1974). Both cases in-
volved routine searches where the Border
Patrol officers who conducted the searches
had no reason to believe that the drivers
of the automobile were other than innocent
and law-abiding individuals exercising their
rights to operate a motor vehicle on a public
——
16
highway within one hundred miles of an ex-
ternal border.
In Brignoni-Ponce (No. 74-114), the
agents stopped but did not search the re-
spondent's automobile. The stop occurred
to the north of a fixed checkpoint not then
in operation. The officers' decision to stop
the vehicles was based solely on the occupants'
Mexican appearance. (App. No. 74-114 at 9.)
In Peltier (No. 73-2000), the agents
both stopped and searched the respondent's
automobile at a spot approximately a mile
and a half north of a checkvoint that was
also not in operation. The agents acted
because Peltier was alone driving an old
model: car with out-of-state license plates
‘in an area the offices knew to be frequented
by smugglers of iliegal aliens.
This Court has consistently required pro-
bable cause as the minimum requirement for
a search by federal officers of an automobile
stopped on a public highway. Carroll v.
United States, 267 U.S. 132, 149 (1925) ("On
reason and authority the true rule is that
if the search and seizure without a warrant
are made upon a belief, reasonably arising
out of circumstances known to the seizing
officer, that an automobile or other vehicle
contains that which by law is subject to
seizure and destruction, the search and
seizure are valid."'). The officers who make
the stop must have probable cause for believ-
ing that the particular automobile to be
searched is carrying seizable items that are
the object of the search. Coolidge v. New
»Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 460- :
Champers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42, 48, 51
(1970): See generally, Note, Warrantless
17
Searches and Seizures of Automobiles, 87
% a : is probable
cause requirement should be applied to the
automobile searches in the instant cases
to avoid the creation of a Fourth Amendment
free-fire zone in the hundred mile wide
strip contiguous to an external boundary
of the United States.
Carroll v. United States, 267° U.S. 132
(1925), is the leading case explicitly
recognizing the probable cause requirement
for automobile searches on public highways.
In Carroll, federal officers discovered and
seized contraband liquor during the course
of a warrantless search of an automobile
stopped on a public highway. Federal pro-
hibition agents at that time faced a law
enforcement pro!slem comparable in magnitude
to that faced voday by the Border Patrol.
The transpccation of contraband liquor by
automobiles was an essential part of most
boot legging operations just as the trans-
porting of illegal aliens by automobiles
‘in an important part of most alien smuggling
operations.
Although recognizing the significant
constitutional interest under the Eighteenth
Amendment advanced by the officers’ actions,
nevertheless, in Carroll the Court required
that warrantless searches and seizures of
contraband located in automobiles be pre-
dicated upon probable cause, and held that:
"[t]he measure of legality of such a seizure
is, ...that the seizing officer shall have
reasonable cause for believing that the auto-
mobile which he stops and seizes has contra-
band liquor therein which is being illegally
transported." 267 U.S. at 155-54. The
Court further held that the Fourth Amendment
a
18
guaranteed to travellers on a public highway
a right to free passage without inter-
ruption or search unless there is known to
a competent official authorized to search,
probable cause for believing that their
vehicles are carrying contraband or illegal
merchandise. 267 U.S. at 153.
If the Fourth Amendment requires that
federal agents have probable cause for
believing that a specific automobile is
carrying contraband liquor before they
search that automobile for the liquor, it
also requires that federal agents have
probable cause for believing that a specific
automobile is carrying illegal aliens be-
fore they search that automobile for the
aliens. As stated by the Court in Almeida-
Sanchez v. United States, 413 U.S. 266, 269
(1973): “...{[T}he Carroll doctrine does not
declare a field day for the police in search-
ing automobiles. Automobile or no. auto-
mobile, there must be probable cause for
the search." (footnote omitted)
Almeida-Sanchez merely reiterated the
well established principle that automobiles
are protected by the Fourth Amendment. This
protection is triggered by an individual's
expectation of privacy, Katz v. United States,
389 U.S. 347, 351-52 (1967), and is not
dependent on the type of contraband sought
to be seized. Thus the mere fact that il-
legal aliens are the targets of a search
should have no bearing on the probable
cause requirement afforded by the Fourth
Amendment. Such protection is warranted in
the cases at bar, moreover, since searches
of motor vehicles for illegal aliens are
similar in their intrusiveness into consti-
tutionally protected areas as is the search
for contraband liquor. The federal agents
i?
may search in the trunk, under the hood, in
the interior of a camper or of a pickup
truck, behind the back seat, and in any
other area of a vehicle where a human being
could reasonably be concealed. In Almeida-
Sanchez, for example, the agents searched
under the rear seat of the automobile,
which the Court of Appeals concluded was a
place where an alien might conceal himself
by removing the springs, 452 F.2d 459, 461
} (9th Cir. 1971), rev'd 413 U.S. 266 (1973),
| while in Bowen (No. 73-6848) and in Peltier (No.
73-2000), respectively, the agents searched
the interior of a camper truck and the trunk
of an automobile. In United States v.
Madueno-Astorga, 503 F.2d 820, 821 (Sth
Cir. 1974), ene agents even removed the
back seat of an automobile when the driver
was unable to open the trunk.
In the course of these searches federal
agents examine areas of the automobile that
are private and closed to public view; they
may even come across, in "plain view",
seizable items other than the illegal
aliens which are the object of their
searches. In Almeida-Sanchez and many
other cases marijuana has been found, and
the drivers have been prosecuted for the
illegal transportation of marijuana rather
than the illegal trasportation of aliens.
‘ See, e.g., United States v. Phillips,
| 496 F.2d 1395 (5th Cir. 1974); United
States v. Nevarez-Alcantar, 495 F.2d 678
th Cir. ; United States v. Marti-
nez-Miramontes, 49 ; th Cir.
is phenomenum has led at least
one circuit court judge to comment in the
related area of airport searches that
"[i]t is passing strange that most of these
airport searches find narcotics and not
bombs, which might cause us to pause in our
—
20
rush toward malleating the Fourth Amendment
in order to keep the bombs from exploding."
United States. .v. Legato 480 F.2d 408, 414
(5th Cir. 1973) Cane J., concurring) ,
cert. den., 414 U.S. 979 (1973).
To prevent abuses in such searches, the
scope of the search should be limited by
the nature of the item sought to be seized.
For example, a search of an automobile for
illegal aliens does not authorize a search
of the occupants or of the handbags or
other similar containers in the automobile.
See United States v. Di Ree, 332 U.S. 581,
586-587 (1948). The application of this
familiar principle to the instant cases is
conceded by the United States in Ortiz.
(No. 73-2050) (Brief at 29.)
Certainly, this Court has not vitiated
the probable cause requirement for the
search of the interior of an automobile on
the grounds that such a search is less in-
trusive than a search of a person or of a
dwelling. Although for purposes of the
Fourth Amendment there is some constitu-
tional difference between searches of
houses and of cars, Chambers v. Maroney,
399 U.S. 42 (1970), this difference results
from the high degree of mobility enjoyed by
motor vehicles and only permits law enforce-
ment officers in some circumstances to dis-
pense with the warrant requirement. Nothing
‘has affected the probable cause requirement
established in Carroll for motor vehicle
searches. 399 U.S. at 51. In this respect
Cardwell v. Lewis, U.S. , 41 L.Ed. 2d
, is consistent with the Carroll-
Chambers line of decisions because in
Cardwell, the Court merely upheld a warrant-
less examination or "search,'' based on pro-
21
bable course, of the tire tread and exterior
paint of the defendant's automobile. The
observation in the plurality opinion, 41 L.
Ed.2d at 335, that a person has less of an
expectation of privacy in a motor vehicle
than in a dwelling, and that automobile
searches are therefore less intrusive than
residential searches, was not made in the
context of the search of the interior of an
automobile or camper. If Cardwell had in-
volved an interior search, the plurality's
statement that automobiles are seldom a
"repository of personal effects" and that
their "contents are in plain view" would
simply not be true. Millions of Americans
Carry personal effects in private areas of
their automobile, such as the trunk or the
glove compartment or the interior of a
camper. These areas are concealed from
public view by the exterior of the vehicle.
An expectation of privacy in one's personal
effects should not be defeated simply be-
cause one transports them on a public high-
way. We are a free and mobile society whose
members frequently change residences, and
who frequently motor to vacations at summer
homes, campsites and resort hotels. Surely,
our household effects are not fair game for
an unconsented warrantless non-probable
cause search simply because they are in
transit in the interior ofa motor vehicle
\ on a public highway. As noted in Coolidge
v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 461-62(1971),
~The word ‘automobile’ is not a talisman in
a whose presence the Fourth Amendment fades
away and disappears."' This Court therefore
should not sanction warrantless interior
automobile searches on less than probable
cause on the ground that such searches are
less intrusive than other searches.
——
ya 3
A final consideration to be taken into
account concerns a widespread practice of
apprehending illegal aliens by state and
local law enforcement agencies. In the
Southwest, city police, county sheriffs,
and other law enforcement officers often
participate in stopping, detaining, and
interrogating persons to determine their
citizenship. E.g., Umited States v.
Mallides, 473 F. 859 (th Cir. 1973)
(two city police officers stopped an auto-
mobile due to their suspicion that the car
contained illegal aliens); United States
v. Guana-Sanchez, Cr. No. 72 CR 50 (Unre-
ported decision, N.D. Ill. June 8, 1972),
affirmed, 484 F.2d 590 (7th Cir. 1973),
cert. granted, U.S. __, 41 L.Ed. 2d.
T1338 ( No. 73-820). If the protec-
tions afforded by the Fourth Amendment are
not made applicable to these stops, then
state and local law enforcement officials
can stop any person of Mexican descent
ostensibly for the purpose of determining
the person's citizenship. Thus local law
enforcement officials will be able to cir-
cumvent the guarantees provided by the
Fourth Amendment simply by relying on the
wide discretion afforded to immigration of-
ficers pursuant to 8 U.S.C. §1357(a)(1).
See United States v. Bowman, 487 F.2d 1229
(10th Cir. 1973) (where immigration officials
were held to be empowered to stop individuals
to determine their citizenship without a
warrant, without probable cause, and even
without reasonable suspicion that the per-
sons are illegal aliens).
Thus both to identify further the limi-
tations on the stop and search powers of
federal Border Patrol officers, and to help
prevent state and local police circumvention
~
23
of the Fourth Amendment rights of Mexican
appearing individuals, this Court should
apply the probable cause requirement to
unconsented, warrantless searches of auto-
mobiles by federal officers seeking illegal
aliens.
24
ARGUMENT
II
PROBABLE CAUSE IS REQUIRED FOR AN
UNCONSENTED WARRANTLESS SEARCH BY
FEDERAL OFFICERS OF THE INTERIOR
OF AN AUTOMOBILE FOR ILLEGAL ALIENS
CONDUCTED AT A FIXED CHECKPOINT.
In Ortiz (No. 73-2050) and in Bowen
(No. 73-6848) the automobile searches were
conducted at fixed border patrol check-
points, at San Clemente, California, and
on California State Highway 86, respective-
ly, while in Peltier (No. 73-2000) the re-
spondent's automobile was stopped and
searched by a roving border patrol. In
Brignoni-Ponce (No. 74-114) there was no
automobile search. The government concedes
that the fixed checkpoint at San Clemente,
Brief for Petitioner in Ortiz, No. 73-2050
at 16, is not the functional equivalent of
the border permitting a warrantless full-
scale border-type search of a vehicle for
aliens or contraband becausé@ it cannot be
said with any degree of assurance that the
vehicles searched or. their contents had
recently crossed the border. This conces-
sion would also seem to cover the check-
point on California State Highway 86 which
the Court of Appeals in United States v.
Bowen, 50C F.2d 960, 966 (9th Cir. 1973)
(en banc), specifically found not to be
the functional equivalent of the border
since there was no reasonable certainty or
even probability that the vehicles searched
or their contents had recently crossed an
international border. The government never-
theless argues in these cases that Almeida-
25
Sanchez v. United States, 413 U.S. 266
, only condemns warrantless auto-
mobile searches for aliens conducted with-
out probable cause by roving patrols and
does not affect similar searches at fixed
checkpoints. This distinction is untenable,
and the Fourth Amendment, as consistently
construed by this Court from Carroll v.
United States, 267 U.S. 132 (1925), through
Almeida-Sanchez in 1973, prohibits both
roving patrol and fixed checkpoint searches
for aliens that are conducted by federal
agents without consent, without a warrant
and without probable cause.
The fixed checkpoints in these cases
are not "fixed" by any immutable necessity
or by any court order but by executive of-
ficials within the Border Patrol. The gov-
ernment recognizes that the sites for fix-
ed checkpoints are selected "as the result
of careful study by relatively high-level
officials of the Border Patrol." (Brief
for Petitioner in Ortiz, No. 73-2050 at 13.)
Even assuming that the Border Patrol has
engaged in careful study in selecting the
sites for fixed checkpoints, additional
study, especially of the data collected
from the operation of existing checkpoints,
may convince the Border Patrol to open new
checkpoints or to move existing checkpoints.
A "fixed" checkpoint is therefore fixed
only by executive decision and may move and
become "roving" by executive decision.
There is nothing inherently fixed about any
checkpoint's location. While some loca-
tions may be more suitable geographically
than others, functionally a checkpoint is
very mobile. The signs, traffic cones,
lights, and uniformed officers which are
26
the essential elements of a checkpoint may
readily be assembled, with portable or tem-
porarily installed equipment if necessary,
at a new location where there is an ade-
quate stretch of open road to permit safe
operation. :
The Border Patrol has statutory author-
ity to search vehicles for aliens, and pre-
sumably to establish checkpoints to accom-
plish these searches, within a reasonable
distance from any external bounda'ry of the
United States. 8 U.S.C. 1357(a)(3). "Rea-
sonable distance" has been defined by reg-
ulation to mean 100 miles in most cases.
8 C.F.R. 287.1. While this statute and
regulation cannot authorize the Border
Patrol to conduct otherwise unconstitutional
searches, Almeida-Sanchez v. United States,
413 U.S. 266, 272 (1973), they do authorize
the Border Patrol within constitutional
limits to site checkpoints and search vehi-
cles, operated to uncover iliegal aliens,
anywhere within one hundred miles of the
border. Under the authority conferred by
the statute and the regulations, the Border
Patrol could conceivably establish a "fixed"
checkpoint anywhere on the New Jersey Turn- /
pike to search vehicles for illegal aliens.-—
7/. The government recognizes that check-
point searches at Times Square, and pre-
sumably also.on the New Jersey Turnpike,
would be unreasonable and hence unconsti-
tutional because the local conditions at
those sites do not provide the "area-wide
equivalent of probable cause" which the -
government argues is the sole constitutional
27
More realistically, the Border Patrol may
find at some future date that it is more
effective to replace its temporary check-
points with a system of mobile checkpoints
on both main and back roads that operate
to surprise the smuggler of illegal aliens
by moving or “roving" from one location to
another. Since no checkpoint is permanent-
ly fixed and since mobile checkpoints are’
no different than roving patrols, the Fourth
Amendment prohibits warrantless automobile
searches for aliens without probable cause
at Border Patrol checkpoints.
prerege2s7 56 for a checkpoint search.
(Brief for Petitioner in Brignoni-Ponce,
No. 79-114, at 19.) This recognition that
many potential checkpoint locations would
be unconstitutional undermines the govern-
ment's contention chat subsequent judicial
consideration of the reasonableness of the
checkpoint's operation in the context of
a motion to,suppress is an adequate sub-
stitute for advance judicial approval of
the checkpoint's operation through a warrant
procedure. How many innocent motorists |
will be subject to unconstitutional vehicle
searches at a checkpoint whose location is
improper before a guilty one is found who
subsequently challenges the search by a |
motion to suppress in a criminal prosecu-
tion? The number may be very high indeed
because the subsequent judicial challenge
may be slow in coming, particularly if the
government exercises its discretion, as it
frequently does, not to prosecute illegal
aliens criminally but to deport them.
28
There is another, more basic reason why
fixed checkpoint searches of automobiles
for illegal aliens should be treated the
game as roving patro] searches. In Almeida-
Sanchez, the Court «ondemned the roving |
patrol search because it "was conducted in
the unfettered discretion of the members of
the Border Patrol, who did not have a war-
rant, probable cause or consent." 413 U.S.
at 268 (footnote omitted).' Checkpoint
searches are also conducted in the “unfet-
tered discretion" of Border Patrol agents
without a warrant, probable cause or consenc.
Only a small percentage of the automobiies
that pass through a fixed checkpoint are
searched for aliéns. At the busy San Cle-
mente checkpoint only three per cent of the
vehicles are even stopped for inquiry re-
garding the citizenship of the ‘occupants
and for possible search of the car. (App.
Pet. in No. 73-2050 at 16A-17A.) At the
checkpoint on California State Highway 86
the Border Patrol is more active and seventy-
five per cent of the vehicles are stopped
for inquiry but only ten or fifteen per cent
are searched for illegal aliens. (App. Pet.
in No. 73-2050. at 30A).. Nationwide, the
Border Patrol estimates that approximately
27.4 million vehicles passed through "fixed"
checkpoints in fiscal year 1974. Only
320,000 vehicles, slightly over one per’
cent of the total, were subjected to a phy-
sical inspection or search for aliens.
(Brief for Petitioner in Ortiz, No. 73-2050
at 28-29.) | ;
The "fixed checkpoint" thus closely
resembles the roving border patrol because
only a small percentage of the’ vehicles ‘en-
countered or observed by the federal agents
‘
ae
29
operating either the "fixed" checkpoint or
the roving patrol are stopped and searched.
The majority of the Court of Appeals recog-
nized this important factor in peares States
v. Bowen, 500 F.2d 960, 964 (9t
(en banc): "Since not all vehicles nade
through a checkpoint are stopped, and since
not all vehicles stopped are searched, the
officer at the checkpoint still retains a
good deal of discretion to ‘single out' some
travelers for stops or intrusive searches."
No doubt some roving patrol operations,
especially those conducted at night, are
more .frightening or traumatic to the driver
and occupants of the car searched than are
the more anticipated and orderly "fixed"
checkpoint searches. However, it is only
the stop by the roving patrol which may have
a different traumatic effect and not the
subsequent search of the private areas of
the vehicle’s interior. The search of the
vehicle is exactly the same regardless of
whether it takes place on the open highway
or at a "fixed" checkpoint. Furthermore,
Border Patrol agents on roving patrol ap-
parently are*uniformed and in official ve-
hicles. The indicia of lawful authority
thus quickly become evident to a driver
stopped by a roving border patrol, just as
the indicia of lawful authority are evident
to the driver who approaches a "fixed" auto-
mobile checkpoint. In both instances a
search of the automobile for illegal aliens
is normally conducted 1t the side of the
road to avoid blocking ongoing traffic.
The search -- the warrantless, uncon-
sented search, not based upon probable
cause -- is an indignity that innocent driv-
ers and passengers should not be subjected
30
to at the whim of the Border Patrol agent.
The crucial factor is whether or not there
is probable cause for the search by law
enforcement officers, and not whether the
search takes place at night or in the day-
‘time or on the open road or at a "fixed"
checkpoint.
The unfettered discretion of Border
Patrol agents at "fixed" checkpoints to
search some vehicles for illegal aliens
while not searching the great majority of
vehicles which pass through the checkpoints
adversely affects the rights of Mexican
Americans in two respects. First, the ini-
tial stop is usually based upon constitu-
tionally impermissble criteria, e.g., a
person's Mexican appearance. Secon these
arbitrary stops infringe the victims’ con-
stitutional right of interstate travel.
In both Brignoni-Ponce (No. 74-114) and
in Peltier (No. - , the Border Patrol
agents stopped the respondents' automobiles
because the occupants appeared to be of
Mexican descent. It is not a crime to be
of Mexican descent, nor is a person's Mexi-
can appearance a proper basis for arousing
an officer's suspicions. <Those broad de-
scriptions literally fit millions of law
abiding American citizens and lawfully resi-
dent aliens. Unitéd States v. Camacho-
reve tos. 488 F.2d 1383 (Sth Cir.
nth Circuit has rightly condemned law
calosdenuie officers, both state and federal,
who stop cars because their occupants fit
the loose description of "Mexican appearing.'
United States v. Mallides, 473 F.2d 849
(th Cir. 1973)(state officers); United
States v. Brignoni-Ponce, 499 F.2d 1109
31
”
(9th-Cir. 1974)(Border Patrol agents).
A person's racial or ethnic background
or appearance is a neutral factor in ap-
praising probable cause or reasonable sus-
picion, United States v. Bugarin-Casas, 484
F.2d 853, 854 (9th Cir. 1573), cert. den.,
u.8. , 94 S. Ct. 881 (1974); and .
to permit Law enforcement officers to base
their decision to stop or search an auto-
mobile on the racial or ethnic appearance
of the occupants would be to sanction the
very same discriminatory law enforcement
condemned in Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S.
356 (1886) as violative of the Equal Pro-
tection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.
Such a conclusion is compelled by this
Court's recent decisions characterizing
Mexican Americans as an identifiable group
for Fourteenth Amendment purposes. See
Keyes v. School Dist. No. 1, Denver, 413
0S. 189 (1973); White v. Regester, 412
U.S. 755 (1973); Hermandez v. Texas, 347
U.S. 475 (1954). This discrimination is
inevitable if Border Patrol agents enjoy
unfettered discretion to search whatever
vehicles they chose, since they will natu-
rally continue to focus on drivers of Mexi-
can’ descent or who are of Mexican appear-
ance, or whose passengers meet these crite-
ria, as the most likely targets for routine
or random vehicle searches.
Persons of Mexican descent or appear-
ance enjoy the same constitutional right
to travel on the public highways free of
unreasonable searches and seizure as do
other United States citizens and lawful
resident aliens. The basis for this funda-
mental right was recognized in Carroll v.
'32
United States, 267 U.S. 132, 153-54 (1925):
Travelers may be so stopped
in crossing an international
boundary because of national
self-protection reasonably
requiring one entering the °
country to identify himself
as entitled to come in, and
his belongings as effects
which may be lawfully brought
in. But those lawfully with-
' in: the country, entitled to
use the public highways, have
right to free passage without
interruption or search unless
there is known to a competent
official authorized to search,
probable cause for believing
that their vehicles are carry-
ing contraband or illegal
merchandise.
The Carroll decision, of course, is fully
consistent with more judicial and congres-
sional decisions extending and protecting
the gpa me right of interstate
travel. See, e.g., Shapiro v. Thompson,
394 U.S. 618 (T5855, atte ed . Kalman v.
Jordan, 7.3. , ee 8. Ce> 1347
; Title II of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §§2000a et seq. (Public
Accomodations) .
The records in the cases at bar clear- .
ly demonstrate the substantial danger: of
infringement of the right of travel result-
ing from the present operations of "fixed"
33
checkpoints. By imposing the protections
afforded by the probable cause requirement
on searches conducted at "fixed" check-
points, as they already have been imposed
on the searches conducted by roving patrols,
the Court will prevent further violations
of the rights of Mexican Americans to
travel on the highways without the fear of
being stopped or searched merely because
of their Mexican appearance.
34
ARGUMENT
“RIT
WARRANTLESS UNCONSENTED CHECKPOINT
SEARCHES OF AUTOMOBILE INTERIORS FOR
ILLEGAL ALIENS CONDUCTED BY FEDERAL
OFFICERS WITH ONLY AN AREA-WIDE
EQUIVALENT OF PROBABLE CAUSE ARE NOT
ADMINISTRATIVE SEARCHES PERMISSIBLE
UNDER CAMARA vy. MUNICIPAL COURT,
387 U.S. 323 (1967/7)
The government .argues in Ortiz that
there existed an area-wide equivalent of
probable cause at the San Clemente check-
point that made the automobile search
constitutional even though the Border
Patrol agents who conducted the search had
no probable cause for believing or even a
reasonable. basis for suspecting that Ortiz's
automobile was carrying illegal aliens.
The government's chief authority for this
argument is Camara v. Municipal Court, 387
U.S. 523 (1967). In Camara this Court held
that an unconsented warrantless search of
an apartment building by municipal building
inspectors violated the Fourth Amendment
but concluded that a warrant could be ob-
tained on the basis of area-wide probable
cause "if reasonable legislative or admin-
istrative standards for conducting an area
inspection are satisfied with respect to a
particular dwelling." 387 U.S. at 538. If
there is area-wide probable cause, the
constitutionality of the search of a dwell-
ing for building code violations "will not
necessarily depend upon specific knowledge
of the condition of the particular dwelling."
387 U.S. at 538.
35
Camara reconciled the unique conflict
between the homeowner's Fourth Amendment
rights and the community's need to prevent
and abate dangerous and unsanitary condi-
tions. An unthinking and unhesitating
application of Camara beyond the exceptional
facts of such a case may lead to a general
erosion of Fourth Amendment rights. Com-
ment, Area Search Warrants in Border Zones:
Almeida - Sanchez and Camara, 84 Yale L.J.
Labelling a search as an
administrative inspection does not eliminate
the protective role of the Fourth Amendment.
One of the hallmarks of a totalitarian
society is the subjection of the citizenry
to a myriad of routine administrative
searches or inspections to ensure that the
governed are not’ about to make any trouble
for the government. Privacy and personal
security, values which the Fourth Amendment
is intended ‘to protect, are lost in the pro-
cess of identity checks and physical inspec-
tions. This Court should therefore be
very hesitant in approving routine admin-
istrative "inspections" where federal of-
ficers lack the traditional probable cause
to search.
The Court in Camara upheld the reasona-
bleness of area code-enforcement because
it found a long history of judicial and
public acceptance, of suchsearches in the
urban health context, a strong public in-
terest that all such dangerous conditions
be prevented or abated, and a relatively
limited invasion of the urban citizen's pri-
vacy. The inspection of a dwelling for code
vioiations was a relatively limited intru-
sion because the inspection was "neither
personal in nature nor aimed at the discov-
ety of evidence of crime." 387 U.S. at 537.
36
Searches of automobiles for illegal aliens,
on the other hand, are personal in nature
and aimed at the discovery of evidence of
crime. The knowing transportation by auto-
mobile of illegal aliens is a felony pun-
ishable by~a maximum of five years under
8 U.S.C. §1324(a)(2). Illegal aliens are
thus a form of contraband, and searches of
automobiles for illegal aliens are no dif-
ferent than searches of automobiles for
contraband liquor. Both are searches for
criminal evidence. Building codes, by
comparison, are generally enforced by the
inspector's issuance of an administrative
compliance order to correct any violations
discovered on the premises. The violation
of the administrative order, not initial
the presence of the code violation, is the
criminal offense. Even if the presence of
the code violation is itself a crime, as
‘was the case under the New York City code
provision cited in Camara, 387.U.S. at
531 n. 7, the penalties are generally light
and the crime is one of the public welfare
variety. ss
Building inspections are therefore
administrative searches because their pri-
mary function is to insure that homeowners
correct any violations on their premises.
Vehicle searches for illegal aliens, on the
other hand, are not transformed from searches
for criminal evidence into permissible
administrative searches simply because any
illegal aliens discovered are normally de-
ported rather than prosecuted criminally.
It could just as well be argued that vehicle
searches for untaxed liquor are administra-
tive searches because the contraband liquor
is always destroyed but the transporter may
not always be prosecuted criminally. In
37
addition, smugglers of illegal aliens are
prosecuted under 8 U.S.C. §1324(a)(2) for
transporting illegal aliens, which is pre-
cisely what happened to Ortiz and Brignoni-
Ponce in the instant cases.
While the illegal aliens who are pas-
sengers in the vehicle may be deported and
not prosecuted criminally, the driver, who
is the victim_of the search, may well be
prosecuted criminally, especially if he is
an American citizen and therefore not sub-
ject to deportation. The Immigration and
Naturalization Service's own reports in-
dicate that during fiscal 1972, 2,927
violations of 8 U.S.C. §1324(a)(2), which
punishes knowing transportation of il-
legal aliens, were presented to United
States Attorneys for possible prosecution.
Prosections were authorized in 731 or
approximately one quarter of these cases.
Only 873 violations of 8 U.S.C. §1324(a) (2)
were closed by blanket or general waiver.
By comparison, more than twenty times as
many violations of 8 U.S.C. §1325, which
punishes illegal entry, were closed admin-
istratively than were ever presented to
tha United States Attorneys for possible
prosecution. (A total of 376,197 viola-
tions of 8 U.S.C. §1325 were reported; of
these only 16,783 were presented to the
United states Attorneys for prosecution. )
Hearings on H.R. 982 Before Subcommittee
No. 1 of The House Committee on The Judi-
ciary, 93rd Cong., lst Sess., 31-32 (1973).
Searches of automobiles for illegal aliens
should therefore be treated in the same
fashion as are searches of automobiles for
contraband and other evidence of crime.
Camara is also distinguisable because
38
the need for building inspections for code
violations is greater than is the need to
search automobiles for illegal aliens.
There is no way to determine whether the
interior of a dwelling complies witha .
building code other than to inspect its
interior. Illegal aliens may be apprehended
in many ways in addition to searching the
interior of vehicles on a public highway.
Increased efficiency certainly is not a
sufficient reason for“subjecting all
motorists within one hundred miles of our
external boundary to arbitrary vehicle
searches. Finally, the remaining reason
advanced by the Court in Camara for modi-
fied search and seizure standards, the
long history of judicial and public accept-
ance of area-wide building inspections, is
not applicable in the context of vehicle
searches for illegal aliens. "Although prior
circuit court approval of these searches is
technically a history of judicial acceptance
it is insignificant in comparison with the
history supporting the Camara court.
Camara involved a practice that not only
had been accepted for more than 150 years
but also had been previously upheld by the
Court in Frank v. Maryland." Comment, Area
Search Warrant in Border Zones: Almeida -
Sanchez and Camara, 84 Yale L.J. 355, 362
(1974).
For these reasons Camara should not be
extended to permit area-wide probable cause
to serve as the basis for automobile.
searches for illegal aliens in places as
remote from the border as the San Clemente |
and California State Highway 86 checkpoints,
The record does not indicate how many vehi-'
cles pass through these checkpoints annual-
ly or daily or how many vehicles are
39
searched, but it cannot be disputed that
; the overwhelming majority of vehicles po-
tentially or actually subject to search
are not transporting illegal aliens. While
twenty or thirty illegal aliens may be
apprehended in a normal 8 hour shift at
San Clemente (App. Pet. in No. 73-2050 at
25A), the number of vehicles searched
surely is muc'’j higher. If the approach
were adopted that such limited results
justified are wide searches for criminal
evidence, large areas of this country
might become in effect free-fire zones
where area-wide searches for illegal aliens,
1 or for other forms of contraband such as
i bombs, illegal handguns or narcotics, would
| be permissible because the relatively
| higher incidence of such contraband within
; the given areas would justify area-wide
searches to uncover the evidence.
If area-wide probable cause is ever to
justify vehicles searches for illegal
aliens, advance judicial approval should
be required through the warrant process,
as it was in Camara for building inspec-
tions. Subsequent judicial consideration
of the reasonableness of a program of
adminstrative searches conducted on the
basis of area-wide probable cause is not an
adequate substitute for advance judicial
approval because many innocent motorists
will be subject to possible unconstitutional
searches before a "guilty" one comes forward
and subsequently changes the search by a mo-
tion to suppress in a criminal prosecution.
See, infra, at p. n. . Furthermore, the
government's argument that a warrant process
is unworkable because the Border Patrol must
retain a degree of surprise and flexibility in
opening temporary checkpoints (Brief for Petitioner in
Ortiz, No. 73-2050, at 41), indicates that the
TN te ae ee Seer fT
40
Border Patrol wants to retain the authority
to search at whim (or "seasoned judgment"
as the government puts it) all vehicles in
the Border area. The danger of arbitrary,
discriminatory law enforcement adversely
affecting the constitutional rights of in-
nocent Mexican-Americans is too great to
permit federal agents to conduct such
searches without probable cause, without
consent, and without advance judicial ap-
proval.
41
ARGUMENT
IV.
THE FOURTH AMENDMENT DOES NOT PERMIT
FEDERAL OFFICERS TO MAKE RANDOM,
-WARRANTLESS STOPS OF AUTOMOBILES ON
; THE PUBLIC HIGHWAY TO QUESTION THE |
OCCUPANTS CONCERNING THEIR RIGHT TO fas
BE IN THE UNITED STATES.
In Brignoni-Ponce (No. 74- 114), Border.
Patrol agents stopped respondent's automo-
bile on the public highway and questioned:
its occupants as to their right to be in
the United States. The stop did not take
place at a fixed checkpoint but on the
open highway. The Border Patrol agents
| who stopped respondent's automobile had
observed many vehicles pass without stop-
ping them before they stopped Brignoni-
Ponce's automobile, The agents pursued
‘and stopped the automobile for a routine |
immigration inspection solely because they
observed that its three occupants appeared
to be of Mexican descent; the agents had
no basis for believing that: either 8irgnoni-
Ponce or his two passengers were illegal
aliens. 499 F.2d at 1112. The agents
quite plainly intended to search the inte-
rior of the automobile and did so; but only
after they had discovered that the pas-
sengers were illegal aliens.
ante hai lah I Rinse oe ~ we senerascs ad Bs
The government contends that this "stop"
and the subsequent search are not con-
trolled by this Court's decision in Almeida-
Sanchez v. United States, 413 U.S. 2
. They claim that Almeida-Sanchez
interpreted only 8 U.S.c§1357(a) (3), which
;
4 /
4
si Fe as : P
42
authorizes "...the board[ing] and search-
[ing] for aliens. » {of} eny... vehicle...."
The stop in the Brignoni- -Ponce case, the
government claims, was authorized ander 8
U.S.C. §1357(a)(1), which authorizes Border |
Patrol agents “without warrant ...to inter-
rogate any alien or person believed to be
an alien as, to his right to be or to re-
main in the United States...."' Almeida-
Sanchez, however did not turn on the nicety
of the authorizing statute relied upon by'
the government. It was a decision examin- :
ing the scope of Fourth Amendment protec-
tions. Even adopting the goverment's
approach, its attempt to distinguish the
instant case from Almeida-Sanchez, is un-
availing.
!
, ee stop of: Brignoni-Ponce's automobile |
was a "seizure" of the automobile and its
occupants for Fourth Amendment purposes.
"It must be recognized that whenever a
police officer accosts an individual and
restrains his freedom to walk away, he
has ‘seized’ that person. Terry v. Ohio,
392 U.S. 1, 16 (1968). If stopping a per-
son walking on the street to inquire about
his activities constitutes a "seizure" of
the person, stopping an automobile on a
public highway to question its occupants
about their right to be in the United
States similarly constitutes a seizure of
the automobile and of its occupants. "A
person whose vehicle is stopped by police
and whose freedom to drive away is re- |
strained is as effectively ‘seized’ as is |
the pedestrian who is: detained." United
States v. Mallides, 473 F.2d 859, 861 (9th
Ciy. 1973). The occupants plainly are not
free to leave while the questioning con-
es FR a EE S oat coe
43
tinues. Conceivably the driver or owner of
‘ the automobile is free, if the agents do
not assert a right to search the automobile,
to direct any available third party to re-
move it from the scene to any location he
desires. However, the automobile has,
nevertheless, been forcibly stopped and
immobilized on the public highway and must
remain stopped until the inquiry of its
occupants is completed or arrangements are
made to conduct the inquiry at a place se-
parate trom the automobile.
Random, roving patrol stovs or seizures
of antomobiles on the public highway, there-
fore, impose seizures and indignities that
cannot be brushed aside as modest intru-
sions undeserving of significant Fourth
Amendment protections: The stops abridge
the driver's "right to free passage without
interruption or search."" Carroll v. United
States, 267 U.S. 132, 154 (1925). It also
adversely affects his interests in personal
security. Law enforcement officers who pur-
sue automobiles and direct them to the side
of the road normally have cause to believe
that there has been a violation of the law.
At least this is the popular understanding
of what is involved when a driver is forced
to the side of the road by a police officer.
Drivers stopped in this fashion naturally ——
inquire of themselves: Why me? What have I
done? Why did they pick on me? It is
therefore a significant intrusion on per-
sonal liberty if a person lawfully driving
on the public highway is ordered by Border
Patrol agents to pull over to the side of
the road and is detained there by the
agents until they have finished their in-
quiries. The intrusiveness of the stop is
further demonstrated by the fact that the
44
agents may take advantage of the plain view
doctrine to observe much of the automobile's
interior and may in appropriate cases even
frisk for weapons those occupants of the
automobile whom they reasonably believe to
be armed and dangerous. Adams v. Williams
407 U.S. 143 (1972).
This Court has not separately treated
the level or quantum of cause required for
the stopping of individual vehicles on a
public highway. Probable cause is neces-
sary to stop and search an automobile for
contraband or other evidence of crime,
Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42 (1970),
and there is no clear indication that a
smaller quantum of information will suf-
fice to justify a stop alone. This Court .
has in any case never sanctioned random
and potentially discriminatory stops of
automobiles. The Court's opinion in
Almeida-Sanchez v. United States, 413 U.S.
266 73), reflects at least as much con-
cern with the random stop of the defendant's
automobile in that case as with the sub-
sequent random search of the automobile's
interior:
"Tt is undenied'that the Border Patrol
had no search warrant, and that there
was no probable cause of any kind for
the stop or the subsequent search...."
413 U.S. at 268 (emphasis added).
"(Njeither this Court's automobile
search decisions nor its administrative
inspection decisions preter: ‘any support
for the constitutionality of the stop
and search in the present case....
413 U.S. at 272 (emphasis added).
eS DAY te A PAP SE Eth PC LILA oP
45
At the very least this Court should re-
quire for an investigatory stop of an
automobile and the interrogation of its
occupants by federal officers the same lev-
el of cause that is required for the inves-
tigatory stop and interrogation of a pedes-
trian. In both instances law enforcement
officers "must be able to point to specific
and articulable facts, which, taken together
with rational inferences from those facts,
reasonably warrant... [t]he intrusion."
Terry v. Ohio,.392 U.S. 1, 21 (1968). Any
esser standard would make a person's free-
dom of movement on the public highway sub-
ject to the inarticulate and unsubstanti-
ated "hunches" 8 Border Patrol agents.
392 U.S. at 22.8
8/ The stopping of automobiles by state and local
police to check for operator's licenses and automo-
biles registrations raises different issues than do
investigatory stops by Border Patrol agents. There
is no way to determine whether the operator of a
motor vehicle is properly licensed other than to
stop the vehicle and question the driver. There are
“Many ways to apprehend illegal aliens. Furthermore,
the primary purpose of license checks is regulatory.
In order to promote safety on the highways, police
officers must be able to take reasonable measures
to insure that only properly licensed drivers oper-
ate motor vehicles on the public highways. Despite
these distinctions, there is nevertheless a division
of authority on whether random vehicle stops to check
operator's licenses are constitutional and there is
a strong basis for arguing tha to be constitutional
stops for license checks a conducted according
to a systematic non-discretionary procedure and not
on a random basis at the whim or uncontrolled dis-
cretion of police officers, Note, Automobile License
Checks and the Fourth Amendment, 60 VA.L.REV. 666,
695-96 (1974).
—< 46
~ the United States argues in Brignoni-
Ponce (No. 74-114) that Section 2B7atT) of
the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.
C. :§1357(a)(1), authorizes Border Patrol
agents to stop any vehicle anywhere in the
United States and question its occupants
whenever the agents believe the vehicle
contains aliens. (Brief of Petitioner in
Brignoni-Ponce, No. 74-114, at 17-18.) The
government does not indicate on what basis
the agents believed Brignoni-Ponce or his
passengers to be aliens. The government is
evidently willing to accept the notion of
alienage at a glance. For the agent be-
lieved that Brignoni-Ponce and his passen-
gers were aliens simply because they looked
like aliens, i.e., they appeared to be of
of Mexican descent. Many United States
citizens are of Mexican descent, and the
government seemingly argues that the brief-
est glance at an individual by a Border
Patrol agent permits the agent to arrive
at a "belief" that the individual is
not only of Mexican descent but also an
alien from Mexico. Surely this approach
gives free rein to the inarticulate and
unsubstantiated hunches of Border Patrol
agents and subjects Mexican Americans
to discriminatory stops based solely on
their racial appearance.
ee
There is simply no rational basis for
believing that a person of Mexican| appear-
ance traveling in an automobile on'an Inter-
state Highway in Southern California is an
a_ien, much less for believing that he is
an alien whose -presence in this country is
illegal. Settlers and immigrants have come
to this country from all corners of the
globe, and most United States citizens today
47
bear to a greater or lesser extent the
physical characteristics of persons dwel-
ling in country or countries of origin.
The physical characteristics of many
Mexican American citizens may more clearly
identify their country of origin than do
the physical characteristics of citizens
of Irish, German or other European descent.
Mexico is also a country that shares a
lengthy boundary with the United States
and is the source of many illegal aliens
within the United States. Nevertheless,
to protect the constitutional rights of
these Mexican American citizens and law-
fully admitted aliens this Court should
permit under 8 U.S.C. §1357(a)(1) the
investigatory stop of a vehicle and the
questioning of its occupants by the Border
Patrol only when the Border Patrol agents
have knowledge of specific and articula-
ble facts that gives them reason to be-
lieve that the vehicle contains aliens /
whose presence in this country is illegal=
9/
= The government recognizes that it is only the
high incidence of illegal aliens in border areas
of the country that justify investigatory stops un-
der 8 U.S.C. §1357(a)(1) and searches under 8 U.S.C.
§1357(a)(3). (Brief for petitioner in Brignoni-Pon-
ce,No. 74-114 at 13; Brief of Petitioner in Ortiz,
No. 73-2050 at 20) and does not advance the poten-
tially broader justification that federal officers
may stop and search in order to keep under surveil-
Vance aliens whose presence in this countty is lawful.
The object of the stops and searches conducted under
those sections in these cases was the discovery of
aliens whose presence in this country is illegal. See
e.g. , App. in No. 73-6848 at 36 where the Border
ees (cont. next page)
48
Even the government recognizes that
there is a difference between "what the
Fourth Amendment may tolerate on the one ~
hand and what the Immigration and Nation-
ality Act may authorize on the other" (Brief
for Petitioner in Brignoni-Ponce, No. 74-
114 at 16), and that f U.S.C. §1357(a) (1)
constitutionally can only authorize inves-
tigatory stops of vehicles where there is
an area-wide equivalent of “reasonable sus-
picion not amounting to probable cause."
C78 .*-oe: 34.3 The government argues that —-
the Fourth Amendment permits Border Patrol
agents to stop all vehicles in such areas
to question the occuvants on their right
to be or to remain in the United States
(id. at 8) and evidently treats the addi-
tional requirement that the agents believe
that the occupants are aliens to be solely
a statutory requirement under 8 U.S.C.
§1357(a)(1) and not a constitional require-
ment. Where there is an area-wide equiva-
jient of reasonable suspicion not amounting
to probable cause, the.government argues
that the suspicion “need not be focused
with particularity on the specific vehicle
to be stopped. It may be based, instead,
upon knowledge of conditions in the area as
a whole." (Id. at 14.)
- The government recognizes that conditions
in many areas of the country would not
justify random vehicles stops on an area-
wide basis (id. at 19) but leaves the crea-
tion of such free fire-zones to be unfettered
discretion of executive officials in the
Border Patrol without any prior judicial
Patrol agent testified on direct examination, "I
asked him to open up the back of the camper for a
search for illegal aliens."
|
Wintec BAU lace a Ki LOE
fev Soe be: at
49
approval through the warrant process. Although
the government indicates in its brief (id.
at 19) that conditions in New York City
would not provide an area-wide equivalent
of cause sufficient to justify random vehi-
cles stops, recent statements by the Com-
missioner of the Immigration and Naturaliza-
tion Service indicate that there are a high
concentration of illegal aliens in the New
York Metropolitan area, perhaps more than
one million. (New York Times, December 29,
1974, p.1 col.5 and December 31, 1974, p.26
col.1l, City Edition.) Might not the Border
Patrol create a new area for random stops
of vehicles in portions of the New York
Metropolitan Area where a large number of
illegal aliens are believed to be employed?
At the very least any such program of area-
wide stops should be subject to the prior
control of the warrant process since the
burden of obtaining a warrant is noc likely
"to frustrate the governmental purpose
behind the search." Camara v. Municipal
Court, 387 U.S. 523, 533 (1947).
The government evidently believes that
area-wide cause for stopring vehicles and
questioning their occupants exists through-
out the border regica (Brief for Petitioner
in Brignoni-Ponce, No. 74-114 at 19). If
Border Patrol agents can make a warrantless
stop of Birgnoni-Ponce's automobile on an
Interstate Highway, 60 or so miles from the
border, they could just as readily do so
on a residential street in San Diego, which
is also in the border region. Mr. Justice
Powell in his concurring opinion in Almeida-
Sanchez envisioned a more particularized
judicial definition of the relevant "area"
when he 7 approvingly of advance judicial
approval for roving patrol stops and
}
|
50
searches "on a particular road or roads \ §
for a reasonable period of time." 413 U.S. :
at 282. If the Border Patrol is given dis-
cretion to create at will broad areas
throughout the country for random stops,
it will be resolving by itself "the type
of delicate questions of constitutional
judgment which ought to be resolved by
the Judiciary rather than the Executive."
413 U.S. at 284. (Powell, J., concurring.)
In addition, before approving any program
of area-wide stops, the judiciary could
require safeguards to protect the rights
of Mexican Americans from discriminatory
stops based solely on their racial physi-
cal appearance.
CONCLUSION
For the above reasons, and those stated
in the briefs of the parties supported by
the amicus curiae, the decisions in Ortiz
(No. 73-2050), Brignoni-Ponce (No. 74-114)
and Peltier (No. FF 5000) should be affirmed,
and the dcision in Bowen (No. 73-6848) should
be reversed.
Respectfully submitted,
January 1975 VILMA S. MARTINEZ
SANFORD JAY ROSEN
JOAQUIN G. AVILA
Mexican American Legal Defense
and Educational Fund
145 Ninth Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
EDWARD A. TOMLINSON
University of Maryland
School of Law
500 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.