Amicus Curiae Brief — Goldfarb v. Virginia State Bar

Supreme Court brief1975

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Question presented_____-----------------------

Interest of the United States________---._------

PGi hg a hn bance been nek

A. The district court’s findings and decision ----

B. The court of appeals decision--------------

Summary of argument...... 2... .--........-..

PN oii co shank ne nee kGan shams wil te

I. Introduction—The legal profession and min-

imum fee schedules - _-----------------

A. The legal profession----------------

B. The nature of fee setting and the role

of minimum fee schedutes--_--_- ----

II. The prohibitions of the Sherman Act apply

to restraints of trade among members of

“pernsd protemionie’ . . . .....2........

A. Neither the language nor legislative

history of the Sherman Act justifies

an exemption for competitive re-

straints by members of “learned

OIE oo. uke rekc sake

B. This Court has never recognized a

Sherman Act exemption for mem-

bers of “learned professions’’-_ - -- - -

'C. Application of the Sherman Act to the

commercial aspects of law practice

will serve the purposes of the Sher-

man Act without disserving any

important interest underlying the

regulation of the practice of law---

89)

566-536—74-——-1

21

21

23

25

II

Argument—Continued Page

III. The minimum fixed fee schedule restrains

_ interstate commerce _________________- 31

A. Locally-oriented restraints are pro-

hibited by the Sherman Act if,

viewed either in isolation or as part

of a general practice, they may

significantly affect “interstate com-

EC eng Naty GSCI ng ek OT a 32

“'B. The restraints challenged in this case

substantially affect interstate com-

ia ied wu wewiencane 32

IV. The actions of the state bar in proposing

and enforcing the challenged. minimum

fee schedule are not exempt from the

Sherman Act as involving “state action’’_ 34

MINS ees a ek ce ee 48

PI os cee hd cs id wk la

CITATIONS

Cases:

American Medical Ass’n v. United States,

a a ee hes ote 22, 24

Apex Hosiery Co. v. Leader, 310 U.S: 469____ 30, 31

Asheville Tobacco Bd. of Trade, Inc. v. Federal

Trade Commission, 263 F. 2d 502________- 40, 41

Atlantic Cleaners & Dyers, Inc. v. United

Piaies, BOG WB. MRT eo 22, 24, 25

Burke v. Ford, 389 U.S. 320_......_________ 31

California v. Federal Power Commission, 369

Ri Ms ke ee ee i a bc ems: 22, 43

Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97______- 48

Continental Ore Co. v. Union Carbide & Car-

bon Corp., 370 US: 000... osc. 43

Eastern R.R. Presidents Conf. v. Noerr Motor

Preige; Tat., HG VB. 197 30

Edelman v. Jordin, BAD AI. COR conc cdnus 47

Ill

Cases—Continued Page

Fashion Originators’ Guild of America, Inc., v.

Federal Trade Commission, 312 U.S. 457 - - - 28

Federal Baseball Club of Baltimore, Inc. v. Na-

tional League, 259 U.S. 200_------------ &, 23, 24

Federal Trade Commission v. Raladam Co., ~~

AT OS on cccmeenademonen 8, 23, 24

Flood vy. Kuhn, 407 U.S. 258. -.------------ 2

Freeman, In re, Estate of 34 N.Y. 2d 1, 311

N.E: 23d 480, 356 N.Y: 94.:006....----..-. 17, 40

Fuller v. Oregon, 417 U.S. 40....----------- 12

‘Gas Light Co. v. Georgia Power Co., 404 F. 2d

1135, certiorari denied, 404 U.S. 1062- - - -- 42

George R. Whitten, Jr., Inc. v. Paddock Pool

Builders, Inc., 424 F. 2d 25, certiorari

denied; 400 0.5. S50. 2... -+---- nanan ten 41,44

Gibson v. Berryhill, 411 U.S. 564_...-------- 40

Gulf Oil Corp. v. Copp Paving Co., No. 73-

1012, decided December 17, 1974_-------- 32

Hecht v. Pro-Football, Inc., 444 F. 2d 931-_--- 44

Hyde v. Moxie Nerve Food Co., 160 Mass. 559,

96 3: Bs isn chwbneccctnaneeeess 15

Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., No. 73-

5845, decided December 23, 1974- ----- 40-41, 42

Katzenbach v. McClung, 379 U.S. 294-------- 31

Lathrop v. Donohue, 367 U.S. 820_---------- 16

Mandeville Island Farms, Inc. v. American

Crystal Sugar Co., 344 U.S. 219_--------- 31

Merrill Lynch, Pierce Fenner & Smith, Inc. v.

Wise. CAE Goo ee ner nas 44

* New Mexico v. American Petrofina, Inc., 501

DP. Oe Oe oa cnicn pce nebeeanueaae 41

Nymph, The, 18 Fed. Cases 506------4----- 25

Otter Tail Power Co. v. United States, 41

Northern Pac. Ry. v. United States, 356 \ 1_.. 25,28

US.

\

£

IV

Cases—Continued Page

Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341_ 2, 7, 8, 11, 34, 35, 39,

41, 42, 43, 46, 47

Radovich v. National Football League, 352 U.S.

i cg irc oo wiki alten tots acu 22

Schwegmann Bros. v. Calvert Distillers Corp.,

RE Sie Ms ao eatin eames omc candi ~ 46

Silver v. New York Stock Exch., 373 U.S. 341__ 28, 44

Simpson v. Union Oil Co., 396 U.S. 13_____- 48

Standard Oil Co. v. United States, 221 U.S. 1_- 28

Super Tire Eng’g. Co. v. McCorkle, 416 U.S.

EAM gc nen ii ccna can baud cow oe ee 48

United States y. American Institute of Archi-

tects, Civ. No. 992-72 (D.D.C.), terminated

by Consent decree June 19, 1972__ |). _____ 2-3

United States v. American Institute of Certified

Public Accountants, Inc., Civ. No. 1091-72

(D.D.C.), terminated by consent decree

PU Fa io ile etcnwapens ocho 3

United Mine Workers v. Pennington, 381 U.S.

Os cde oo ob bh kis eee eke 30

United States v. American Soc’y of Civil Eng’rs,

Civ. No. 72 C1776 (S.D.N.Y.), terminated by

consent decree June 1, 1972_______.____ 2

United States v. Borden Co.; 308 U.S. 188____ 42

United Staies-v. Employing Plasterers’ Ass’n,

We A Ans csc eek wane cack 31

United States v. Frankfort Distilleries, Inc.,

| A Ms nhs oo so ape eek week 31

United States v. National Ass'n of Rea! Estate

SOON ee A ses oe ck 22,

24, 26, 27, 30

United States v. National Soc’y of Professional

Engrs, Civ. No. 2412-72 (D.D.C.) decided

stn FG, 30re. c 3, 29, la

United States v. Oregon State Medical Soc’y,

Oe MI Oo oS oatiue cu cunccucenncck 28

.

Cases—Continued Page

United States v. Oregon State Bar, No. 74-362

(D. Ore.), decided November 25, 1974---- 3,

28, 40, 42, 45, 47

United States v. Pacific S.W. Airlines, 358 F.

Supp. 1294.....---------------------- * = 44

United States v. Philadelphia Nat'l Bank, 374

TE BOE on con cw nse ee neeees cennegne 22, 43

United States v. Prince Georges County Bd. of

Realtors, Civ. No. 21545 (D. | a 2

United States v. Radio Corp. of America, 355

TIS, BOE wn cndicnsnenevns iitamecneges 43

United States v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., 310

1G AO oii ces kne nea geannne em 27

United States v. South-Eastern Underwriters

Ass'n, 322 U.S. 533 - - ------------------- 23, 30

United States v. Topco Assocs, Inc., 405 ae

ep ten aaeiheda ask +a 25-26, 28, 30

United States v. Trenton Potteries Co., 273

TOR oo oon pac cc po meade reese cnr" 27

United States v. Utah Pharmaceutical Ass'n,

201 F. Supp. 29, affirmed per curiam, 371

ee ee can ioarendornas- ener 22

United States v. Women’s Sportswear Mfrs.

Ass'n, 336 U.S. 460- -------------------- 32

United States v. Wrightwood Dairy Co., 315 -

AOR. ocak pera nese 31

Washington Gas Light Co. v. Virginia Elec. &

Power Co., 438 F.2d 248. -- ------------- 41,42

Marjorie Webster Jr. College, Inc. v. Middle

States Ass’n of Colleges & Secondary Schools,

Inc. 432 F.2d 650, certiorari denied, 400

VI

Constitution and statutes:

Page

United States Constitution:

Eleventh Amendment_______.._______. 47

Fourteenth Amendment..._.__________ 41

Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act, 50

Stat. 246, as amended, 7 U.S.C. 601, et seq_- 35

Coasting and Fisheries Act of 1793, 1 Stat.

BeOS AAI Selb is le OSL hc ano niet ay 25

Sherman Act, Section 1, 26 Stat. 209, as

emnenged, 15 U8.C..1... 10, 23, 27, 29

Oe ae os eg 47

Ris 2) a) eer See ae 47

Oe er es Oe 34

aU ee Oe. ee 34

UD. Me a a 34

Us wee, ee 34

Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code Ann., Sec. 6160, et seq.

o,f SARTO OT eed Cae ear ee an 13

Md. Code Ann., Sec. 23-441, et seq..-.______ 13

N.Y. Bus Corp. L. Ann., Sec. 1501, et seq.

Nh ea a 13

Pa. Code Ann., Sec. 15-12601, et seg... ______ 13

Solicitors’ Act, 1957, as amended 5 & 6 Eliz.

oi ee ee 46

Va. Code Ann.:

Section 13.1-542 ef seg.........___._.__ 13

Sections 54-42.2-42.3.........._____ 13

th pans Seok te, OR MN 37

S|. 44

FD 38

Sections 54-59 (1972 Repl. Vol.)________ 7

Miscellaneous:

American Bar ,;Ass’n, The Economics of the

Legal Profession (1988) <....... - 16

1 hai A Rc a A AS GSES UO

aE SAM tha Near ths ANN AS AE ta RN Ne Boat ch atilge rees RELE

VII

Miscellaneous—Continued Page

1973-1974 American Bar Ass'n Directory - - --- 16

Arnould & Corley, Fee Schedules Should Be

_ Abolished, 57 A.B.A.J. 655 (1971)__ 16, 18, 19, 21

Branca, Bar Association Fee Schedules’ and

Suggested Alternatives: Reflections on a Sher-

man Exemption That Doesn't Exist, 3

- U.C.L.A.—Alaska L. Rev. 207 (1974)----- 3, 15

Canon 12 of the Canons of Professional Ethics,

908 Va. 1018. 22 Se lect 528 seca sa. 38,39

Christensen, Lawyers for People of Moderate

Means (1970). - -.------------ ite: awe 18

Chroust, The Rise of the Legal Profession in

America (1965) - - - ------------------- 15, 17, 46

Code of Professional Responsibility, 211 Va.

0 sieint pn ssenusaheduebuwer 39

Disciplinary Rule 2-106 (B) (3)- - ---------- 39

Ethieal Consideration 2-18 -- - ------------- 39

Goulden, The Superlawyers (1971) - - -- ------ 13

3 Halsbury’s Laws of England, Barristers (3d

ed. 1953, 1972 Supp.) - - - ---------------- 47

36 Halsbury’s Laws of England, Solicitors

(3d ed. 1961)---------------------- Seta 46

Hearings before the Subcommittee on Repre-

sentation of Citizens Interests of the Senate

Committee on the Judiciary, on Legal Fees,

93d Cong., Ist Sess., pt. I---------------- a

Kiralfy, The English Legal System (5th ed.

1078) i se eee bese e see a 47

Mayer, The Lawyers (1966) - - --------- i sc Eg] 16

McKean, The Integrated Bar (1963) - - - ------ 16

McLaren, Antitrust—The Year Past and The

Year Ahead, 1970 N.Y. State Bar Ass’n

Antitrust L. Symp. 15-_---+-------------- 2

VHI

Miscellaneous—Continued — Page

McLaren, Interview, 39 Antitrust ‘sé. +368

Leak Sis aschiihac hee Hh cwkoeda dein nt 2

Miller & Weil, Let’s Improve, Not Kill, Fee

Schedules, 58 A.B.A.J. 31 (1972)_________- 18, 21

Note, A Critical Analysis of Bar Association

Minimum Fee Schedules, 85 Harv. L. Rev.

971 (1972) ____- EE Sle Ng UN, eS 18, 20

Opinion No. 302, Committee on Professional

Ethics and Grievances, American Bar Asso-

ciation (1961) GE A Ki’ <seNii lin > cbiimenions aso 3

Opinion No. 323, Gameniites on Ethics and

Professional Responsibility, American Bar

—

SOE STE eR SaaS ak Sete RGR Re a DON ae laisse A — |

Dpsoriationn (3070)... .....- 053 .,.....<- 3

Patterson & Cheatham, The Profession of Law i

GO ION CEE MeO 12, 14 :

Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia, 205

Va. 1011, as amended, 210 Va. 411, 211 i

Va. 295, et SSE WITS ORES oR emt? Se aha FP 38 :

DAE bid ets Sim kiidndcdnricn dnd 38

| tee pdndekdm wes 38

BORG) 5 —5-sied—ivinsinnds-- 38

8. 1, Bist Cone. It Bom... 2 --2406;-4..-5:- : 22

Smigel, The Wall Street Lawyer (1964)______- 13

Statistical Abstract of the United States (1974). 12, 13

Unauthorized Practice of Law Opinion No.

207, Virginia State. aig diane (1965

ed. ) Ghd Meh Millen ehh Dwg «dt don dink 19

Washington Post jase 9,10,11,12,1972). 20

York & Hale, Too Many Lawyers? The Legal

Services ‘Industry: Jis Structure and Out-

ee aed Poe Cn Cae See Teer tS Neb

look, 26 J. Leg. Educ. (1978).---_.--- 12, 13, 14

Zander, Lawyers and the Public Interest: A,

Study in Restrictive Practices (1968) - - - - -- - 21°

9) Came Oe. Oe... 23

120 Cong. Fec. H10120, — (daily ed., |

ME Fo i ec 4

Yn the Supreme Gourt of the United States

Ocroser TERM, 1974 ,

No. 74-70 /

Lewis H. GoiprarB AND Rutu 8. GOLDFARB,

PETITIONERS

v.

Virnarxia STATE BAR AND

Farrrax County Bar AssociaTIONn

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The United States will discuss the following ques-

tions:

1. Whether a minimum fixed fee schedule promul-

gated by a county bar association is exempt from the

Sherman Act’s prohibition against price fixing on the

ground that the restraint on competition is among

the members of a “learned profession.”’

2, Whether interstate commerce is affected by col-

lectively-fixed fees for attorneys’ services in connection

with the purchase of real estate in Northern Virginia.

i (1)

a }

|

3. Whether the Virginia State Bar is exempt from

the Sherman Act for its role in the establishment and

enforcement of minimum fee schedules, under the

“state action” doctrine of Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S.

J4i. | ,

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

Responding to evidence that prices for personal

services were increasing more rapidly than the rate

of inflation in the pest of the economy, more than

four years ago the United States initiated a concerted

program of antitrust enforcement directed at re-

straints of trade occurring in the “commercial” aspects

of various professions (including attorneys) and other

providers of personal services.’ This program has in-

cluded widely-disseminated statements of the Anti-

trust Division’s policies, followed by litigation chal-

lenging particular anticompetitive practices of various

professions. The government has challenged, as illegal

per se, so-called “ethical’’ standards by professional

associations of engineers, architects, accountants and

realtors that prevent price competition in the charges

for services by members of these professions.’ In

* See, e.g., McLaren, Antitrust—The Year Past and The Year

Ahead, 1970 N.Y. State Bar Ass’n Antitrust L. Symp. 15, 23;

McLaren, /nterview, 39 Antitrust L.J. 368, 377 (1970); Hear-

ings before the Subcommittee on Representation of Citizens

Interests of the Senate Committee on the Judiciary, on Legal

Fees, 98d Cong., Ist Sess., pt. I, pp. 164-185.

*E\.g., United States v. Prince Georges County Bd. of Real-

tors, Civ. No. 21545 (D.Md.), terminated by consent decree on

December 28, 1970; United States v. American Soc’y of Civil

Eng’rs, Civ. No. 72 C 1776 (S.D.N.Y.), terminated by consent

decree on June 1, 1972; United States vy. American. Institute of

Architects, Civ. No. 992-72 (I).D.C.), terminated by consent

: ©

(il Abe D33 SAAB abe a. Bos Ps

bites Gb hatire

3

May, 1974, the government filed a similar action chal-

lenging a bar association’s minimum fee schedule.*

Despite the government’s enforcement efforts,’ bar

association minimum fee schedules, a fairly recent de-

velopment,’ are still widespread; they have been used

by as many as 34 state, and about 750 local, bar orga-

nizations* (Pet. App. A-20). The decision of this

Court on the legality of such schedules under Section

1 of the Sherman Act will not only have great impact

upon the legal profession but also is likely signifi-

cantly to affect the use of such methods of fee-fixing

by organizations in other professions.

decree on June 19, 1972; United States v.. American Institute

of Certified Public Accountants, Inc. Civ. No. 1091-72

(D.D.C.), terminated by consent decree on July 6, 1972; United

States v. National Soc’y of Professional Eng’rs, Civ. No. 2412-

72 (D.D.C.), decided in the government’s favor on December 19,

1974 (bar against competitive bidding). The decision is appended

to this brief (App., infra).

3 United States v. Oregon State Bar, No. 74-362. (D. Ore.),

filed May 9, 1974. On defendant’s motion for sunimary judg-

ment, raising the “learned profession” and “state action”. claims,

liseussed infra, pp. 21-30, 34-48, but not the “commerce” issue

(see pp. 31-34, infra), the district court held on November 22,

1974, that neither of these exemptions applies. The decision is

appended to petitioners’ brief (“Pet. Br. App.”).

4The American Bar Association, which in 1961 endorsed

minimum fee schedules by concluding that.the habitual charg-

ing of fees less than those established by such a schedule may

be evidence of unethical conduct (Opinion No. 202, Committee

on Professional Ethics and Grievances), stated in 1970 that

“[m Jere failure to follow a minimum fee schedule, even when

habitual, cannot, standing alone and absent evidence of mis-

conduct; afford a basis for disciplinary action” (Opinion No.

323, Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility).

’See Branca, Bar Association Fee Schedules and Suggested

Alternatives: Reflections on a Sherman Exemption That Docant

Evist, 3 U.C.L.A.—Alaska L. Rey. 207, 208 (1974).

* Branca, supra, 3 U.C.L.A.—Alaska L. Rev. at 208.

4

The interest of the United States in this ease is

underscored by the President’s reeent announcement

of his economic program, in which he referred par-

ticularly to the need for enforcement of the antitrust

laws with respect to “noncompetitive professional fee

schedules and real estate settlement fees * * *.” 120

Cong. Ree. H10120, H10121 (daily ed., October 8,

1974). |

STATEMENT

Petitioners filed a class action against respondents,

the Fairfax County Bar Association (* Association”)

and the Virginia State Bar (“State Bar”), alleging

that the Association’s adoption and use of a minimum

fixed fee schedule, declared by the State Bar to be an

enforceable ethical standard, constituted price fixing

and restraint of trade and commerce in violation of

Section 1 of the Sherman Act.

Petitioners claimed to represent a class consisting

of all persons who, like petitioners, had purchased

houses in Reston, Fairfax County, Virginia, during

the four years preceding the filing of the complaint,

and who had been charged title examination fees by

attorneys as prescribed in the Association’s schedule.

Petitioners sought damages, a declaratory judgment

and an injunction, but the district court severed the

issue of damages and held a trial as to liability.

A. THE DISTRICT COURT’S FINDINGS AND DECISION

In ruling for petitioners, the district court made

the following findings of fact and conclusions of law

(Pet. App. A; 355 F. Supp. 491).

2

=

4

ET GPE BLES GEILE N DELLE DSSS AS EDINA A IO AREA ha chi Ris sees oie he 8 tai tats es thas

5

In the fall of 1971, petitioners, who then resided

in Arlington, Virginia, contracted to purchase a house

in Reston, Virginia. In searching for an attorney

to represent them in the legal aspects of the transac-

tion, petitioners were advised that they would be

charged for title examination services in accordance

with the minimum fee schedule of the Association.

In 1969, the Virginia State Bar Association had

published a ‘‘consensus recommendation * * * as to

fees which should be assessed * * * for the legal

services indicated” (Pet. App. A-9). The recom-

mended fees reflected in most cases ‘‘a general scaling

up of fees” recommended in a similar schedule pub-

lished by the State Bar in 1962 (A. 25; see A. 19-23).

The recommendation suggested that title examination

fees should be 1 percent of the first $50,000 of the

loan amount or purchase price plus 14 percent of the

amount between $50,000 and $250,000 (A. 26). (Zbid.)

Shortly after the State Bar’s promulgation of the

new fee schedule, the Fairfax County Bar Association

(and the bar associations in Alexandria, Arlington

and Loudoun Counties) adopted a virtually identical

minimum fee schedule which followed the State Bar

schedule with immaterial variations (A. 37-43).

In adopting the minimum fees outlined by the State

Bar, the Association increased both flat dollar fees

for various legal services (compare A. 34-36 with

‘Originally named as defendants and co-conspirators, the

Arlington County Bar Association and the Alexandria Bar

Association agreed to a consent judgment requiring them to

cancel their minimum fee schedules (Pet. App. A-2, n. 1).

6

A. 40-43) and percentage rates for services * over the

levels established in the similar schedule adopted by

the Association following the 1962 minimum fee report

of the State Bar.

The Canons of Ethics in effect until 1971, and

the current Code of Professional Responsibility pro-

mulgated by the Supreme Court of Virginia, both

provide that, in determining charges for title exam-

ination and certification, it is proper for a lawyer to

consider a suggested fee schedule. The Canons also

provided, however, that “no lawyer should permit

himself to be controlled thereby or to follow it as his

sole guide in determining the amount of his fee” (Pet.

App. A-9). Nevertheless, the State Bar has issued two

opinions (Nos. 98 and 170) which, the district found,

“in effect say that it is unethical habitually to charge

fees below those suggested in a minimum fee schedule’”’

(id. at A-5). je

The district court held that minimum fee schedules

constitute a form of price fixing which is indistin-

guishable from fixed sales prices and which is illegal

per se. It ruled that they cannot be justified as a

guide to setting charges, or to assure an adequate

income for research, development and continued edu-

cation, and that they are often likely to result in

charges unrelated to the worth of the services per-

formed (td. at A-3—A-5).

8 For example, the 1969 schedule increased the minimum

fee for a title examination from 0.75 percent to one percent

for the first $20,000 of the sale price, and from 0.5 percent

to one percent for the portion of the selling price between

$20,000 and $50,000 (A. 34, 40).

eee 2

aiid WT LN AS SARA TE ES

Seamer sx

7

The court concluded that the challenged activity sub-

stantially and directly affected interstate commerce

because it found that: a significant portion of funds

used for purchasing homes in Fairfax County came

from outside the state of Virginia; almost all

lenders require a new title search and title insurance ;

a large percentage of Fairfax County residents work

outside Virginia; and significant amounts of real

estate loans in the county are guaranteed by the federal

Veterans Administration and Department of Housing

and Urban Development (id. at A-4).

Phe court held that there was no “learned profes-

sion” exemption from the Sherman Act for profes-

sional services performed by lawyers pursuant to a

minimum fee schedule. On the contrary, it concluded

that ‘‘[c]ertainly, fee setting is the least ‘learned’

part of the profession” (id. at A-5).

Finally, the court held that the State Bar acts as

an administrative state agency of the Sapreme Court

of Virginia (Va. Code Ann., Sec. 54-59 (1972 Repl.

Vol.)). Since the district court found that the activi-

ties of the State Bar were state action, and that it

never had disciplined attorneys for undercutting fixed

minimum fee schedules, the court held that it was not

liable under the antitrust laws in view of Parker v.

Brown, 317 U.S. 341 (Pet. App. A-6). In contrast, be-

cause the Association is a voluntary private organiza-

tion whose implementation of suggested minimum fee

schedules does not depend upon action by the legisla-

ture or the Virginia Supreme Court, the court held

that it is not exempt from the antitrust laws.

8

The court enjoined the Association from maintaining

fixed fee schedules and ordered a further hearing on

versed (Pet. App. B; 497 F. 2d 1).

B. THE COURT OF APPEALS DECISION

The court of appeals, Judge Craven dissenting, re-

versed (Pet. App. B; 497 F.2d 1).

1. The court held that the State Bar, as an admin-

istrative agency of Virginia’s Supreme Court of Ap-

peals, fell within the governmental action exemption

to the Sherman Act defined by Parker v. Brown,

supra. The court ruled, however, that the Parker

exemption did not extend to the Association, a velun-

tary non-governmental organization (Pet. App.

B-12). :

2. Although it found clear from the record that the

minimum fee schedule and the enforcement mecha- —

nism supporting it substantially restrain competition

among attogneys practicing in Fairfax County: (id.

at B-13), the court concluded, citing Federal Base-

ball Club of Baltimore, Inc. v. National League, 259

U.S. 200, and Federal Trade Commission vy. Rala-

dam Co., 283 U.S. 643, that such collective restraints

are lawful because the Sherman Act reaches only

restraints of ‘‘trade or commerce,” and the practice of

law is a ‘‘learned profession,” not trade or commerce,

3. Although the court acknowledged that the

“learned profession” exemption did not apply inso-

far as the “fee schedule restrains those engaged in

the financing and insuring of home mortgages by in-

flating a component part of the cost of securing hous-

ing” (Pet. App. B-15), it ruled that the schedules did

BRASS

_-—__——_-=g

9

not have a direct and substantial effect upon interstate

commerce. It held irrelevant the fact that Fairfax

County residents work outside the state, and concluded

that the adverse effects that the district court found

the schedules to-have on out-of-state lenders and guar-

antors were merely incidental toa general local ac-

tivity—the practice of law—which the Association

regulated (id. at B-15—B-18).

4, Finally, the court held that to apply the Sherm:

Act to minimum fixed fee schedules would amount to

judicial legislation; would cast doubt upon the valid-

ity of bar admission standards, prohibitions upon ad-

vertising and other restrictions upon the practice of

law; and would threaten retroactive application of a

punitive statute in a manner that would create con-.

fusion in the legal profession (id. at B-19).

5, Judge Craven, dissenting, concluded that there is

no exemption from the Sherman Act for “learned pro-

fessions” (id. at B-23—B-24), and that the activities

of the Association with respect to the fee schedule

sufficiently affected commerce to be within the scope

of the Sherman Act (id. at B-21—B-23). He would

have affirmed the dismissal of the State Bar, however,

on the ground that its involvement in promulgating

and maintaining the fee schedules was too insubstan-

tial to render it liable for violation of the Act (7d. at

B-21).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. The promulgation and concerted use of minimum

fee schedules by lawyers is inherently anticom-

petitive, a form of price fixing which, if undertaken in

almost any other business, would be a per se viola-

566-536—74——2

10

¢

tion of Section 1 of the Sherman Act. Though east in

the form of an “ethical” standard of the legal profes-

sion, such schedules involve the most commercial

aspect of law practice, are intended primarily to in-

crease lawyers’ incomes, and inevitably result in

higher prices to consumers and non-use of legal serv-

ices when they are needed. Accordingly, the use of

such schedules is contrary to the basic purposes of the

Sherman Act, and does not serve any significant non-

pecuniary, ethical interest of the legal profession.

2. The court of appeals erred in concluding that the

Sherman Act does not apply to competitive restraints

by members of a ‘learned profession.” Neither the

language of the Act nor its history supports any such

exemption, and implied exceptions to the Sherman

Act are disfavored. Moreover, the application of the

Sherman Act to fee fixing by lawyers does not involve

any clash of statutory or public policies warranting

the Court to imply such an exemption.

The court of appeals misread certain dicta in this

Court’s opinions concerning other issues as recogniz-

ing a “learned profession” exemption, although the

Court has in later decisions expressly treated that

question as still open. In any event, the decisions that

originally raised the question whether “learned pro-

fessions” are covered by the Sherman Act rested upon

narrow views of the power of Congress to regulate

“commerce” which this Court has long since rejected.

If there are other reasons for such an exemption, they

involve matters of legislative policy which are not for

the courts, but the legislature. _

11

3. In reversing the judgment against the Association

the court of appeals also erred in holding that the

challenged restraints on price competition by lawyers

in Fairfax County do not affect interstate commerce.

Here, too, the court applied an outdated conception

of the commerce power, since the Shorman Act

extends to the full reach of Congress’ power to regu-

late commerce. The record in this case established a

sufficiently substantial impact on interstate commerce

to bring the challenged price-fixing within the scope

of the Sherman Act. °

4. The court of appeals erred in concluding that

the State Bar was immune from liability under the

Sherman Act on the ground that its role in the chal-

lenged fee fixing constituted ‘state action” and it

was hence exempt under Parker V. Brown, 317 U.S.

341. The State Bar’s promulgation and endorsement

of minimum fee schedules satisfies none of the three

bases for establishing state action that Parker an-

nounced.

First, the schedules do not derive their authority

and efficacy from the legislative command of the state

(id. at, 350), since the Virginia legislature has not

specifically authorized or required the use of such

schedules. Second, the State Bar’s activities concern-

ing the schedules did not constitute actions of the

state or its officers or agents directed by its legislature

(id. at 350-351), since the State Bar consists of all

lawyers practicing in Virginia and is not a state

agency.

Finally, the schedules have never been adopted,

approved or enforced by the state or a state agency

12

(id. at 352). The Virginia Supreme Court is the only

arguably relevant state agency. That court’s approval

of reference to “customary charges” or “suggested”

fee schedules as being among the several factors to be

considered by lawyers in setting fees does not con-

stitute the requisite state approval of the use of

‘minimum fee schedules. The court of appeals erred

in concluding that the state court’s failure to dis-

approve. such schedules constituted such approval.

ARGUMENT

a BIE a as LEGAL PROFESSION AND MINIMUM

FEE SCHEDULES

A, THE LEGAL PROFESSION

In “the distribution of legal assistance, [which,]

like the distribution of all goods and services, is gen-

erally regulated by the dynamics of private enter-

prise” (Fuller v. Oregon, 417 U.S. 40, 53), the lawyer

can be described as “ ‘a self-employed business man.’ ”

Patterson & Cheatham, The Profession of Law 263-

. 264 (1971). The practice of law now constitutes a

significant segment of the national economy. In 1973,

the provision of legal services accounted for $9.3

billion of total national income. Statistical Abstract

of the United States 371, 752 (1974). Of some 325,000

lawyers in the United States in 1970, more than

236,000 were in private practice. Id. at 158.°

° According to one estimate, in 1970 about 75 percent

of all lawyers were in private practice, twelve percent pri-

vately employed, and fourteen percent in government service,

of which three percent were in the judicial branch. York &

13

No longer do all lawyers operate as independent |

enterpreneurs of legal services. Numerous law firms \ _

are now large organizations with more than 100 law-

yers, often having offices in several cities—perhaps

several countries. Cf., e.g. Smigel, The Wall Street

Lawyer 206-207 (1964). In Virginia and many juris-

dictions, moreover, law firms can and do now operate

as corporations.” :

The development of the modern large law firm has

paralleled and been closely interrelated with the de-

velopment of business generally. Cf., Bg.» Smigel,

supra, at 48; Goulden, The Superlawyers (1971).

The connection between commercial activity and the

legal profession is graphically reflected by figures

showing the distribution of attorneys in the United

States. As one recent study of the legal profession ob-

served : rn:

The demand for legal services today is mainly

‘a function of institutional economic activity.

It is dependent upon the number of corpora-

tions in the market, the volume of retail sales,

and the number and size of retail and

service organizations. Although there are cer

tain forms of demand for legal services which

have an obvious relationship to the population—

such as personal-injury litigation or will pro-

nicneneiabnecee

Hale, Zoo Many Lawyers? The Legal Services Industry: [ts

Structure and Outlook. 26 J. Leg. Edue. 1, 7-10 (1973). In

Virginia there were 6.401 lawyers in 1970, of whom 4,354 were

in private practice. Statistical Abstract of the United States

158 (1974).

0 See, e.g., Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code Ann., Sec. 6160, et 8¢q-

(Supp.) ; Md. Code Ann., Sec. 23-441, et seq.; N.Y. Bus. Corp. L.

Ann., See. 1501, ef s¢q- (Supp) ; Pa. Code Ann., Sec. 15-12601,

et seq.; Va. Code Ann., Sec. 131-542, ef 8eq- 54-42.2-42.3

(Supp.)-

-

_

14

baticon—legal services are increasingly de-

manded by institutions and those who must deai

with them. [York & Hale, Too Many Lawyers?

The Legal Services I ndustry: Its Structure and

Outlook, 26 J. Leg. Educ. 1, 13 (1973). J

The study also concluded that “economic activity

rather than population is the best indicator of demand

for, and hence supply of lawyers” (id. at 10), and that

about half of the country’s lawyers are located in five

industrial states where commerce is most intense (New

York, California, Illinois, Texas and Ohio) and at the

seat of the federal government in the District of Co-

lumbia. Ibid. Although no detailed data are available,

it has been estimated that about 40 percent of all pri-

vate lawyers’ income derives from serving commercial

interests, the other 60 percent deriving from services

involving individuals. See Mayer, The Lawyers 19-20

(1966).

B. THE NATURE OF FEE SETTING AND TUE ROLE OF MINIMUM FYF

SCHEDULES °

Whatever once may have been thought about law-

. yers’ fees, “‘[t]here'is nothing left of the pose that tlre

‘Jawyer receives only an honorarium slipped into the

hind pocket of his gown out of the gratitude of the

client.” Patterson & Cheatham, supra, at 263-264. Fee

setting is not only “the least ‘learned’ part of the pro-

fession” (Pet. App. A-5), as the district court aptly

observed, it is the most commercial aspect of law prac-

tice. M ‘eover, the setting of fees involves “an ines-

capable conflict of interest between lawyer and client” :

(Patterson & Cheatham, supra, at 269), so ‘that it is

a

an area less satisfactorily left to regulation by ethical

considerations primarily implemented by the person

facing conflicting pressures.

Although American legal history has been marked

by sporadic local efforts at collective fee setting since

the Republic’s earliest days,” the practice more gen-

erally prevailing until recent decades was reflected in

Justice Holmes’ opinion in H yde v. Moxie Nerve Food

Co., 160 Mass. 559, 560-561, 36 N.E. 585, 586):

Free competition prevails at the bar as well

as elsewhere, and different men command dif-

ferent rates of compensation—some of them

much in excess of any official salaries. Thus far

the experience of the Commonwealth has been

that this freedom has not operated to keep citi-

zens from the courts, or to shut the puor off

from justice.

15

Beginning in the 1950’s, however, minimum fee

schedules were widely adopted by unified bars or bar

associations at the state and local levels. Branca, Bar

Association Fee Schedules and Suggested Alterna-

tives: Reflections on @ Sherman Exemption that

Doesn’t Exist, 3 U.C.L.A.-Alaska L. Rev. 207, 208

(1974). Minimum fee schedules have been adopted by

bar organizations at the state-wide level in 34 states

and the District of Columbia and by more than 700

Yoeal bar organizations. Id. at 208. Moreover, since

many of these states now have unified or integrated

11 Jn 1796, members of the Boston Bar adopted schedules of

charges by which lawyers bound themselves “not to receive less

fees or compensation than therein expressed.” II Chroust. The

Rise of the Legal Profession in America 233, n. 36 (1965).

16

bars, with whose :cquirements a lawyer-member

must comply, the impact of such schedules has been

enhanced. Indeed, the vast majority of lawyers appar-

ently make some use of minimum fee schedules. Ar-

uould & Corley, Fee Schedules Should Be Abolished,

37 A.B.A.J. 655, 660 (1971). °

More than 35 years ago, in an effort to improve the

economic condition of the legal profession, the Ameri-

can Bar Association concluded that the purpose of

minimum fee schedules was “[e]ssentially * * * to

discourage competitive price-cutting and to check the

practice some laymen have of shopping around among

lawyers * * *.”” American Bar Ass’n, The Economics

of the Legal Profession 153 (1938). A more recent

study similarly concluded that the aim of minimum

fee schedules is still “to prevent that ‘shopping around’

among lawyers. which many regard as the reason why

the legal profession has failed to keep pace with the

doctors in income growth over the last generation.”

Mayer, supra, at 22. Not surprisingly, fee schedules

appear to be used most heavily by low-income lawyers.

Arnould & Corley, supra, 57 A.B.A.J. at 660.

Collective fee determination pits each client against

the organized strength of the bar as a whole, and

denies the client the right, enjoyed in other affairs,

to choose among offerings of comparable quality on

the basis of price. Moreover, collective fee setting

** See generally McKean, The /ntegrated Bar (1963) ; Lathrop

v. Donohue, 367 U.S. 820, Integrated bars have already been

established in 29 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto

Rico; Arkansas has a partially-integrated bar (1973-1974 Amer-

ican Bar Ass'n Directory 143A-146A) and Montana is expected

to have an integrated bar in 1975.

17

deprives both client and lawyer of the right to deter-

mine for themselves the compensation to be paid for

personal services rendered," and is directly incon-

sistent with the independence that has been the hall-

mark of the private practitioner in America.’ As

the district court observed (Pet. App. A-5):

[T]here is a basic inconsistency between the

lofty position that professional services, hot

commodities, are here involved and the position

that a minimum fee schedule is proper. The

former properly contemplates differences in

abilities, worth and energies expended of those

rendering the services. Such differences are

made as meaningless by a minimum fee sched-

ule as they would be by a maximum fee sched-

ule. :

The primary impact of minimum fee schedules is

upon small businesses and middle income individuals,

23 Cf. In re Estate of Freeman, 34 N.Y. 2d 1, 311 N.E. 2d

480, 355 N.Y.S. 2d 336, stating that, while a surrogate court’s

reference to a minimum fixed fee schedule in setting a fee

award was not invalid under a state statute similar to the

Sherman Act, the use of such schedules by lawyers to hinder

fee competition may be unethical. 34 N.Y. 2d at 11, 311 N.E.

2d at 485, 355 N.Y.S. 2d at 342.

2

4 One legal historian has written (I Chroust, Zhe Rise of the ©

Legal Profession in America xii-xiii (1965)) : [A] learned pro-

fession such as the legal profession always presupposes indi-

viduals who are free to pursue a learned art unhampered by

-ouitside political influence. Only a free individual can strive for

the greatest possible development and unfolding of all his moral

and intellectual powers by way of an undeterred application of

his chosen field of learning and the free exercise of his trained

judgment. Anything which tends to weaken the independence

of the lawyer as a ‘private person’ in the long run is destruc-

tive of the profession as a whole.”

18

who only occasionally use legal services. Proponents

of such fee schedules assert that they are most useful

“in routine affairs that affect the individual: divorce,

adoption, sale of a home, probating a smaller estate

or routine appearance in court.” Miller & Weil, Let’s

Improve, Not Kill, Fee Schedules, 58 A.B.A.J. 31,

32 (1972). Such schedules also typically cover transac-

tions likely to be encountered by small businesses,

such as ereation and dissolution of partnerships and

corporations, bill collection, minor litigation, foreclo-

sure and bankruptcy. See Arnould & Corley, supra,

57 A, BAS . at 657.

By contrast, legal services for large enterprises and

persons of wealth tend to be unaffected by minimum

fees, because the general level of fees to such individ-

uals and enterprises is usually well above the sched-

uled minima. The poor, on the other hand, have access

to various forms of publicly-financed or uncompen-

sated, voluntary legal serviées. See generally Note,

A Critical’ Analysis of Bar Association Minimum

Ice Schedules, 85 Harv. L. Rev. 971 (1972) ; Christen-

sen, Lawyers for People of monate ame is-39

(1970). Hee 5

Minimum fixed fee schedules have adverse economic

consequences. In some cases, the minimum fee level

will be higher than the level that would prevail if

the fee were set by the free competitive interaction —

of supply and demand so as to reflect the true economic

value of the services rendered. Although no evidence

was presented to the district court in this ease that

the minimum fee schedule involved here “does permit

the charging, by an attorney, of more than the services

19

are worth” (Pet. App. A-5), the court noted that

such schedules may result in inflated fees not measured

by ‘‘differences in abilities, worth and energies eX-

pended of those rendering the services”? (tbid.).”

Tn fact, the levels of minimum fee schedules strongly

suggest that such schedules provide “unreasonable”

fees that “cannot be justified by * * * economic con-

ditions.” Arnbuld & Corley, supra, 57 A.B.A.J. at

657, 658.

The impact of fee schedules, moreover, is not con-

fined to transactions pilled at the minimum level.

The fixing of a minimum fee naturally tends to affect

other charges because the scheduled minimum rate

can be and often is used as a starting point for pricing

of legal services—hoth those directly covered by the

schedule but billed at above-minimum rates and those

not covered by the schedule. ;

For many: of the legal services significantly affected

by minimum fee schedules, the demand is likely to

be price-inelastic, in that the client must employ a

lawyer. The instant case is a classic example, since

in Virginia various aspects of real estate transactions

must be handled by lawyers,” unlike other jurisdic-

tions, such as the District of Columbia, where similar

8 This may occur, for example, where a lawyer is handling

a large number of similar transactions and charges the same

fee for work that is essentially repetitive, involving marginal

costs far below the minimum fee level. Fixed fee schedules

thus may tend to produce charges that. are not related to the

professional factors—skill, time and responsibility—that should

form the basis for lawyers’ fees.

16 See Unauthorized Practice of Law Opinion No. 207,

Virginia State Bar—Opinions 239 (1965 ed.).

20

services have customarily been supplied by title

companies. In that situation, the consumer has no

choice but to pay at least the price established by the

fee schedule. }

Not surprisingly, real estate closing costs in. the

Washington metropolitan area are substantially higher

in Northern Virginia than in the District of Columbia,

in part because lawyers’ fees in Virginia were higher

than title company charges in the District for com-

parable services. See Washington Post, January 9,

1972, p. Al; id., January 10, 1972, p. Al ;,td., Janu-

ary 11, 1972, p. Al; td., January 12, 1972, p. Al.

In transactions involving discretionary use of legal

services, the inevitable tendency of minimum fee

schedules will be to lead some consumers to forego

Jegal services that they need and would use if a lawyer

charged, or had been free to charge, a lower fee. If

each individual lawyer can determine his own fees,

economic principles will operate as in other free mar-

kets, tending to force prices and the offering of legai

services to levels better matched to the publie’s needs."

** Under a regime of competitive fee-setting,. each lawyer's

offering of services is forced toward a level that equals the

price that clients can be induced to pay. “No lawyer can

demand much more than this price without losing clients to

lawyers whose services are considered comparable and who

are willing to accept no more’ than the normal profit already

included in total cost.” Note, supra, 85 Harv. L. Rev. at 976-

977. Unrestrained individual fee-setting also tends to allocate

limited resources to those lawyers who are most efficient in

fe 21

ll. THE PROHIBITIONS OF THE SHERMAN ACT APPLY TO

RESTRAINTS OF TRADE AMONG MEMBERS oF “LEARNED

PROFESSIONS”

In reversing the district court’s judgment as to

the Association, the court of appeals concluded that

th prohibition of the Sherman Act against “[e]very

* * * restraint of trade or commerce among the sev-

eral States’? does not apply to restraints upon the

practice of a “learned profession’’ such as law (see,

p- 21-30, supra). Insofar as that conclusion rests upon

erroneous assumptions about the reach of the Sher-

man Act into the “‘trade or commerce” of the nation,

we discuss it in point ITI. Here we show that such

an exemption is without basis in the language, history,

policy and past interpretations of the Act, and is not

required to accommodate any special circumstances

concerning the practice of law.

A. NEITHER THE LANGUAGE NOR LEGISLATIVE IISTORY OF THE

SHERMAN' ACT JUSTIFIES AN EXEMPTION FOR COMPETITIVE

RESTRAINTS BY “MEMBERS OF “rEARNED PROFESSIONS”

Section 1 of the Sherman Act prohibits “[Le]very

contract, combination in the form of trust or other-

wise, or conspiracy, in restraint of trade or commerce

among the several States, or with foreign nations

* * * 7 45 U.S.C. 1. This comprehensive prohibition

does not expressly exempt members of “learned pro-

fessions,’’ and such an exemption may not be lightly

utilizing them. See éd. at 977. See also Arnould & Corley,

supra; Miller & Weil, supra. - re

Arguments for and against fixed fee schedules among English

solicitors are analyzed in Zander, Lawyers and the Public

Interest: A Study in Restrictive Practices 185-208 (1968).

22

implied. See, e.g., United States v. Philadelphia Nat'l

Bank, 374 U.S. 321, 350-351; California v. Federal

Power Commission, 369 U.S 482, 485.

As we show below (see n. 18, infra), nothing in 3

the legislative history of the Sherman Act indicates

that the phrase “trade or commerce” was not in-

tended to cover all commercial restraints, no matter

by whom imposed. Accordingly, the Act has been con-

strued as applying to restraints affecting a variety of

services unrelated to the production of goods. See, e.7.,

Radovich vy. National Football League, 352 U.S. 445

(professional football); United States v. National

Ass’n of Real Estate Bds., 339 U.S. 485, 489-492 (real

estate dealers); American Medical Ass’n vy. United

States, 317 U.S. 519 (medical care and hospitaliza-

tion); Atlantic Cleaners & Dyers, Inc. v. United

States, 286 U.S. 427, 485-437 (dry cleaners) ; United

States v. Utah Pharmaceutical Ass’n, 201 F. Supp.

29, 35-36 (D. Utah), affirmed per curiam, 371 U.S.

* 24 (pharmacies).

If Congress had intended to exempt from the broad

prohibitions of the Sherman Act price-fixing or other

competitive restraints imposed by members of some

undefined category of “learned professions,” presum-

ably that intent wouldhave been reflected in the ex-

tensive legislative history of the Act. However, pro-

ponents of an exemption for the “learned professions”

have proffered no such history, and we have found

none.”

18 The only relevant history we have found shows that it was

thought unclear whether the original Sherman bill (S. 1, 51st

Cong., 1st Sess.), which applied only to combinations prevent-

23

B. THIS COURT HAS NEVER RECOGNIZED A SHERMAN ACT EXEMPTION

FOR MEMBERS OF “LEARNED PROFESSIONS”

The court of appeals based its ruling that the Sher-

man Act does not cover price-fixing by members of a

‘earned profession” upon dicta in this Court’s deci-

sions in Federal Baseball Club of Baltimore, Ine. V.

National League, 259 U.S. 200, and Federal Trade

Commission v. Raladam Co., 283 U.S. 643. In neither

ease, however, was that question before the Court.

Justice Holmes’ opinion in Federal Baseball, im hold-

ing that professional baseball was not “commerce”

covered by the Sherman Act, stated broadly that

‘‘personal effort, not related to production,.is not a

subject of commerce.” 259 U.S. at 209. The Court’s

decision rested, however, upon an approach to the

Congressional power to regulate commerce that it has

since rejected. The actual holding in Federal Base-

ball, characterized by this Court as an “aberration”’

ing competition in “articles of growth, product or manufacture,”

would apply to “combinations * * * between bar associations

and doctors for raising their prices or fees * * *.” 21 Cong.

Ree. 2726. Any doubts were presumably eliminated when the

language of the bill was broadened to cover, as enacted, “[e]very

contract, combination * * * or conspiracy, in restraint of trade

or commerce * * *.” 15 U.S.C. 1.

In United States v. South-Eastern Underwriters Ass'n, 522

U.S. 533, the Court held the insurance business not to be ex-

empt froin the Sherman Act, in the face of far more substantial

evidence than exists here that Congress did not intend the Act

to reach that business. See id. at 556-558, 574-577.

24

(Flood v. Kuhn, 407 U.S. 258, 282), has survived only

by virtue of the doctrine of stare decisis. Ibid.”

Raladam did not even involve the Sherman Act.

There the Court set aside a Federal Trade Commis-

sion order against the sellers of an obesity cure, under

Section 5 of the Federal Trade Commission Act, be-

cause there was no evidence of the injury to competi-

tion required under Section 5 as originally enacted.

In dictum the Court observed that while some doctors

may have been, misled by the seller’s advertisements,

they “follow a profession and not a trade” and were

not in competition with the seller. 283 U.S. at 653.

Since Federal Baseball and Raladam this Court has

made plain that neither case established an exemption

for “‘learned professions,” because it has in later cases

treated that question as still an open one which it had —

no need to decide.”

The court of appeals also relied ual Court’s

reference in Atlantic Cleaners & Dyers, Ine. v. United

States, supra, 286 U.S. at 435-436," to language in

~The Court’s comment. in Federal Baseball that “a firm of

lawyers sending out a member to argue a case * * * does not

engage in such commerce because the lawyer * * * goes to an-

other State” (259 U.S. at 209) would have been. superfluous if

lawyers were exempt from the coverage of the Sherman Act

by reason of being members of a “learned profession.”

* Thus, the Court found it unnecessary to decide in American

Medical Ass'n v. United States, 317 U.S. 519, 528, “whether a

physician’s practice of his profession constitutes trade under

§3 of the Sherman Act,” and in United States vy. National

Ass'n of Real Estate Bds., 339 U.S. 485, 491-492, declined to

“intimate an opinion” on whether the “professions” constitute

“trade” under the Sherman Act. Sorts

** See also United States vy. National Ass'n of Real Estate

Bds., supra, 339 U.S. at 490-491.

25

a decision by Justice Story in 1834, on circuit, in

which he held that mackerel fishing was a ‘‘trade”

within the meaning of the Coasting and Fishery Act

of 1793, 1 Stat. 316. The Nymph, 18 Fed. Cas. (No.

10388) 506 (C.C. Me.). In an extended. discussion con-

cerning the varied meanings of the word “trade,” Jus-

tice Story said in passing that ‘‘[w]herever any occu-

pation, employment, or business is carried on for the

purpose of profit, or gain, or a livelihood, not in the

liberal arts or in the learned professions, it is con-

stantly called a trade.” Id. at 507. That characteriza-

tion of the meaning of “‘trade” in a 1793 statute, how-

ever, provides little meaningful guidance in applying

to the realities of the 1970’s the broad language of the

Sherman Act of 1890.

In Atlantic Cleaners, moreover, the Court did not

rely upon the reference in The Nympl-to*‘learned

professions,” but rather applied Justice Story’s

_ “broad” interpretation of ‘‘trade” in holding that

the business of cleaning, dyeing and renovating clothes

constituted “trade or commerce” covered by Section 3

of the Sherman Act.

Cc. APPLICATION OF THE SHERMAN ACT TO THE COMMERCIAL ASPECTS

OF LAW PRACTICE WILL SERVE THE PURPOSES OF THE SHERMAN ACT

WITHOUT DISSERVING ANY IMPORTANT INTEREST UNDERLYING THE

REGULATION OF THE PRACTICE OF LAW

The ultimate purpose of the Sherman Act is to

protect the consumer through preservation of com-

petition. See, e.g., Northern Pac. Ry. United States,

356 U.S. 1, 4-5; United States v. Topco Assocs., Inc.,

566-536—74——-3

anny

20

405 U.S. 596, 610. Although an anti-competitive re-

straint in a business or profession may directly affect

only the members of that group, as is the case with

fixed minimum fee schedules, the ultimate economic

injury is borne by the public at large in the form

of higher costs, and unavailability of legal’ services.

For this reason, the court of appeals’ suggestion that

collective price fixing by members of learned profes- °

sions is consistent with the Sherman Act so long as

it westrains only the business of other members of

the profession, and not other commercial activities,

is unsound (Pet. App. B-15).

Nor is the Sherman Act rendered inapplicable to

commercial restraints within the learned professions

because such restraints are assertedly motivated by

a non-commercial purpose. Application of the anti-

trust laws does not depend upon the motives of those

who restrain competition,.| ut upon the economic

effects of their conduct. As ip Court stated'in United

States v. National Ass’n of Real Estate Bds., supra,

; 339 US. at. 489:

Price-fixing is per se an unreasonable restraint

of trade. It is not for the courts to determine

whether in particular settings price-fixing

serves an honorable or worthy end. An agree-

ment, shown either by adherence to a price

schedule or by proof of consensual action fixing

the uniform or minimum. price, is itself illegal

under the Sherman Act, no matter what end

it was.designed to serve. That is the teaching

of an unbroken line of decisions. [Accord,

United States v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., 310

27

U.S. 150, 224-226, n. 59; United States Vv.

Trenton Potteries Co., 273 U.S, 392, 396-401, ] *

In any event, as we ‘have indieated (see pp. 16-20

supra), a primary purpose of minimum fee schedules

is to increase lawyers’ incomes, and an inevitable

consequence is either to prevent consumers from using

legal services or to require that they pay more for the

legal services they se.

The claim that anticompetitive policies are being

enforced only to eliminate improper practices and

yaise ethical standards in an industry is no novelty

in antitrust litigation; too frequently, however, the

“ynethical’? conduct in question turns out to be the

vigorous competition that the antitrust laws are de-

‘signed to stimulate and protect. See, e¢.g., Sugar In-

stitute, Inc. v. United States, 297 U.S. 553, 598-602 ;

22 The result in Marjorie Webster Jr. College, Inc. Vv. Middle

States Ass’n of Colleges & Secondary Schools, Inc., 432 F. 2d

650 (C.A.D.C.), certiorari denied, 400 U.S. 965, is not to the

contrary, although we disagree with the cdurt’s rationale. That

case did not involve a per se offense like’ price-fixing. It held

that a college accreditation association’s refusal to accredit any

proprietary institution did not violate Section 1 of the Sherman

Act. Drawing a line between commercial and “non-commercial

aspects of the liberal arts and the learned professions” (452

F. 2d at 654), the court found that the challenged restriction

was motivated solely by educational concerns, not by a purpose

to effect the commercial aspects of education, and’ thus was per-

missible as an incidental restraint of an essentially noneommercial

activity. The court declared, however, that restrictions with com-

mercial motivations would be subject to antitrust’ policy. 432 F. 2d

at 654-655. .

We question the soundness of the “commercial motivation”

test, in view of this Court’s decisions in Real Estate and other

‘eases, Nevettheless, even under Marjorie Webster, bar associa-

‘tion fixed minimum fee schedules must be viewed as essentially

“eommercial,” rather than non-commercial (see supra, Pp.

14-17), and hence invalid. ;

28

Fashion Originators’ Guild of America, Inc. v. Fed-

eral Trade Commission, 312 U.S. 457, 467-468 ; United

States. v. National Ass’n of 7“ Estate Bds., supra,

339 U.S. at 489.

Application of the Sherman Act to fee-fixing by

lawyers will not, as the court of appeals feared, neces-

sarily undermine admission standards and other

ethical criteria that might have some restr aining effect

on competition. Unlike price-fixing, which is illegal

per se because of its almost uniformly pernicious ef-

fects, most other restraints of competition are subject

to the rule of reason, which calls for balancing the

various harms and benefits resulting to the public by

the coaduct in question. See Standard Oil Co. v.

United States, 221 U.S. 1, 61-68; Northern Pac. Ry.

v. United States, supra, 356 U.S. at 4-5; United

States v. Topco Assocs., Inc., supra, 405 U.S. at 606-

607. The impact of the Sherman Act on such other

professional ‘standards is not before the Court in this

ease, and cannot effectively be considered in the ab-

stract. We note only that invalidation of minimum

fee schedules is not inconsistent with a ruling that

the Sherman Act permits the collective adoption and

enforcement of standards concerning essentially non-

commercial professional conduct. that are no more

restrictive than necessary to assure the public a satis-

factory level of professional service. Cf, United States

v. Oregon State Medical Soc’y, 343 U.S. 326, 336 ;

Silver v. New York Stock Exch., 373 U.S. 341, 357.

The decision of the court of appeals in this case

“actually forges a new exemption to the Sherman |

Act.’ United States v, Oregon State Bar, No. 74-362

ba

29

(D. Ore.), decided November 22, 1974 (Pet. Br. App.,

B-18). In Oreyon State Bar, the district court denied

the ‘state bar association’s motion to dismiss an

antitrust action by the United States challenging mini-

mum fixed fee schedules as violating Section 1 of the

“Sherman Act. In declining te follow the court of ap-

peals’ decision here, the district court noted (id, at

B19):

There are indeed many factors which might

convince a lawmaking body that the legal pro-

fession should not be subject to all the rigor

of the Sherman Act. However, the creation of

‘exemptions to the Sherman Act is the province

of Congress, not the courts. * * * [ft is not for

this court to create a new exemption tothe

Sherman Act for so-called ‘“‘learned profes-

sions.”

Additional reasons why any Sherman Act exemp-

tion for lawyers should be made by Congress, not by

the courts, were recently indicated by the district court

in United States v. National Soc’y of Professional

Eng’rs Civ. No. 2412-72 (D.D.C.), decided December

19, 1974. In rejecting a claim that the Sherman Act

exempted limitations on competitive bidding imposed

by an association of EOE Toe upon its mem-

bers, the court stated (App., infra, 8a) :

The issue of whether a profession is a learned

_ = one is not seen by the Court as the appropriate

approach for resolving the higher question of

.. whether the Sherman Act is applicable to that

profession. To engage in such an inquiry would

chart the Court on a semantic adventure of

questionable value. It would be a dangerous

_ form of elitism, indeed, to dole out exemptions

, 30

to our antitrust laws merely on the basis of the

educational level needed to practice a given

profession, or for that matter, the impact which

the profession has on society’s health and wel-

fare. |

Lawyers provide services that are often also avail-

able from other sources, such as estate brokers

and title companies. If the She Act prohibits

such alternative sources from fixing the prices of such

services (see, e.g., United States v. National Ass’n of

Real Estate Bds., supra), then surely it prohibits such

price-fixing by lawyers, absent a clear expression of

Congressional intention to exempt one group but not

the other. In any event, “if exceptions [for ‘learned

professions’] are to be written into the Act, they must

come from the Congress, not this @surt” (United

State luderwrittfs: Ass’n, 322 U.S.

533, 861), because, “to make the delicate judgment on

the relative values to society of competitive areas of

the economy, the judgment of the elected representa-

tives of the people is required.’’ United States v. Topco

Assoes., Inc., supra, 405 U.S. at 612."

** Thé Court has found an implied exception to the Sherman

Act for activities that may incidentally restrain commerce

where other legislation has expressed a Congressional policy to

exempt certain actions undertaken by a group primarily for

purposes other than to restrain trade or commerce. £.g., Apex

Hosiery Co. v. Leader, 310 US. 469; United Mine Workers v.

Pennington, 381 U.S. 657, 661-869. It has also based an implied

. exception upon the need to accommodate constitutionally-

protected rights to petition for redress of grievances or to en-

gage in other types of political action. £.g., Eastern R-R. Presi-

dents Conf. v. Noerr Motor Freight, Inc., 365 U.S. 127; Otter

Tail Power Co. v. United States, 410 U.S, 366, 879-380. No

such basis exists, however, for an éxemption df commercial

restraints by members of “learned /profeasions.”

WETS: bait Fae . a)

31

I. THE MINIMUM FIXED FEE SCHEDULE RESTRAINS

INTERSTATE COMMERCE ©

In holding that the Association’s minimum fee

schedule does. not restrain interstate commerce, the

court of appeals relied upon an unjustifiably narrow

view of the scope of: commerce covered’ by the Sher-

man Att, and erred’ in concluding that the record in

this case did not establish the requisite interstate

nexus.

A. LOCALLY-ORIENTED RESTRAINTS ARE PROHIBITED BY THE SHERMAN

ACT IF, VIEWED EITHER IN ISOLATION OR AS PART OF A GENERAL

PRACTICE, THEY MAY SIGNIFICANTLY AFFECT INTERSTATE COM-

MERCE

The Sherman Act’s prohibition of ‘“[e]very con-

tract, combination * * * or conspiracy, in restraint of

trade or commerce” extends to the full reach of Con-

gress’ power to regulate interstate and foreign com-

merce. E.g., Apex Hosiery Co. V. Leader, 310 U.S.

469, 495; United States v. Frankfort Distilleries, Inc.,

324. U.S. 293, 298. The Sherman Act applies both to

activities occurring in commerce and to those sub-

stantially affecting it. Burke v. Ford, 389 U.S. 320,

~ 321; United States v. Employing Plasterers Ass’n, 347

U.S. 186, 189. :

The Act’s applicability, to intrastate transactions

that affect interstate commerce does not depend on :

whether the particular activity is “loeal” in some sense.

Mandeville Island. Farms, Ine. V. American. Crystal

Sugar Co., 334 U.S. 219,. 234; cf. United States %_

Wrightwood Dairy Co., 315 U.S. 110, 121; Wickard. ve

Filburn, 317 U.S. 111, 118-129; Katzenbach v. Me-

Clung, 379 U.S. 294, 301-305. :

a emeirs

32

The source of the restraint may he intrastate,

as the making of a contract or combination us-

ually is; the application of the restraint may

be intrastate, as it often is; but neither matters

if the necessary effect is to stifle or restrain

commerce among the states. If it is interstate

commerce that feels the pinch, it does not mat-

ter how local the operation which applies the

squeeze. [United States v. Women’s Sportswear

Mfrs. Ass’n, 336 U.S. 460, 464. ]

The Court recently quoted Women’s Sportswear with

approval in Gulf Oil Corp. v. Copp Paving Co., No.

73-1012, decided December 17, 1974, slip op. 8.

B. THE RESTRAINTS CHALLENGED IN THIS CASE SUBSTANTIALLY

AFFECT INTERSTATE COMMERCE

The district court’s findings of fact show that the

application of minimum fixed fee schedules to real —

estate transactions in northern Virginia substantially

affects interstate commerce.

The court found that ‘a significant portion of

funds furnished for the purchasing of homes in Fair-

fax County comes from without the State of Virginia”

(Pet. App. A-4), and that almost half of the deeds of

trust of under $100,000 that identify the location of

the mortgagee, as sampled in the Office of the Record-

er of Deeds for Fairfax County, shuwed the mort-

gagee to be located outside the state (id. at A-7). Al-

most all the lenders making mortgage loans require

title insurance and a title examination (id. at A-4).

The court also found that a substantial percentage of

Fairfax County residents work outside of Virginia

and that a significant volume of loans on Fairfax

7

+4 $5.

33

County real estate is guaranteed by government agen-

cies headquartered in the District of Columbia (ibid.),

~and that more than 31 percent of the persons who

lived in Fairfax County in 1970 had lived outside of

Virginia in 1965 (id. at A-T).

On these facts, the district court found the Associa-

tion’s minimum fixed fee schedules for title examina-

tions and for the preparation of title insurance papers

by attorneys in Virginia substantially affect inter-

state commerce (id. at A-4).

The court of appeals did not disturb these findings.

Instead, it rejected the ultimate conclusion that the

challenged fee schedules directly and substantially

affect interstate commerce. This ruling, as noted (see

pp: 21-22, supra), rested on theories of the limited

scope of the commerce power no longer current, and

the mistaken view that use of an attorney’s services

affects commerce only incidentally because the inter-

state aspects of real estate transactions in Fairfax

County are merely ‘‘a fortuitous circumstance” (Pet.

App. at B-18).

This unrealistic characterization ignores the clear

pattern and heavy volume of interstate transactions

shown in the record and found by the district court.

’ No out-of-state lender will finance a real estate trans-

action without the safeguards that are available in

Virginia only through the services of an attorney.

Those services are not incidental, but they are indis-

pensable to interstate financing of real estate transac-

tions in Virginia, to the purchase of housing by new

34

Virginia residents, and to government financing of

real estate transactions there.”

IV. THE ACTIONS OF THE STATE BAR IN PROPOSING AND

ENFORCING THE CHALLENGED MINIMUM FEE SCHEDULE

ARE NOT EXEMPT FROM THE SHERMAN ACT AS INVOLY-

ING “‘STATE ACTION’’*

The court of appeals concluded that the actions

of the State Bar in proposing minimum fixed fee

schedules and threatening to enforce them were within

‘the implied exemption from the Sherman Act for

*‘state action’”’ recognized in Parker v. Brown, supra,

317 U.S. at 350-352 (Pet. App. B-4+—B-12). Under

that doctrine, restraints of trade do not violate the

Sherman Act where they (1) derive their ‘‘authority

and * * * efficacy from the legislative command of

the state’’ (317 U.S. at 350), (2) consist of activities

of ‘‘a state or its officers or agents * * * directed by

its legislature” (id. at 350-351), and (3) are adopted,

approved and enforced by the state or a state agency,

acting as such. Id. at 352. We submit that this doc-

trine does not exempt from the Sherman Act the

2*Jt cannot seriously be suggested that lawyers are neces-

sarily beyond the coverage of other acts of Congress regulat-

ing commerce (e.g.. 29 U.S.C. 141, e¢ seg. (labor-management

relations); 29 U.S.C. 201, e¢ seg. (fair labor standards}: 29

U.S.C. 651, et seg. (occupational safety and health) ; 42 U.S.c.

2000e, et seg. (equal employment opportunities) ). Respondents

have not suggested, nor did the court of appeals hold, that the

practice of law is exempt from the Sherman Act because it

is beyond the power of Congress to regulate.

28 While we specifically address only the question whetiier the

court. of appeals erred in holding the State Bar's actions

exempt under Parker v. Brown, we believe that the Associa-

tion’s claim of such an exemption is invalid a fortiori.

35

State Bar’s activities in proposing and enforcing the

minimum fee schedules.

Parker v. Brown was a suit by a produeer and

packer of raisins seeking to enjoin the California

Director of Agriculture from enforcing an agricul-

tural proration program imposing price and other

limitations on; the sale of raisins, established pursuant

to state legislation specifically providing for such pro-

grams. The plaintiff claimed that the state program

was preempted by the Sherman Act and the Agricul- _

tural Marketing Agreement Act, 50 Stat. 246, as

amended, 7 U.S.C. 601, et seg., and that it imper-

missibly burdened interstate commerce in violation

of the Commerce Clause. :

Participation in these programs was mandatory,

and the statute provided criminal penalties for non-

cempliance. Further, even though organization of a

prorate marketing plan was first proposed by private

parties (i.e., the producers), and althdugh the ‘ pro-

ducers had to approve the prorate program by refer-

endum, the State Agricultural Prorate Advisory Com-

mission had the final authority to revise, modify, re-

ject, or approve proration programs. This Commission

consisted of the California Director of Agriculture

and eight other members (including one consamer

representative) appointed by the Governor with the

consent of the State Senate. The Commission was to

exercise final authority only after holding a public

hearing and finding that the program would carry

out the objectives of the legislation, Thus, the Com-

mission possessed and exercised full control over the

establishment of proration programs. Jd. at 352. That

36

the state was the ultimate source of these programs

was Clear.

As this Court pointed out, a declared purpose of the

statutory scheme was ‘‘to ‘conserve the agricultural

wealth of the State’” by raising and maintaining

prices. Id. at 346. Thus, the California legislature had

in a clear and specific manner established a basic

state policy against free price competition in the mar-

keting of raisins and had commanded state officials

and private parties to carry out this policy under

penalty of law.

This Court did not decide whether the Sherman

Act preempted the state program, because it con-

clufled that the Act was inapplicable. The Court held

that the program was sv specifically mandated by the

~state as to constitute ‘state action,” i.e., an act of

government, to which the Sherman Act was not in-

tended by Congress to apply. Id. at 350-352. Assum-

ing that the prorate program would violate the Sher-

man Act if organized and effected by virtue of a

contract, combination or conspiracy of private per-

sons, the Court held that, because the program “de-

rived its authority and its efficacy from the legislative

command of the state and was not intended to operate

or become effective without that command” (id. at

350), it was in fact that action of the State of Cali-

fornia and hence not subject to the Sherman Act.

The Court repeatedly emphasized that the antitrust

exemption it found was limited to official action of

a state’s officers or agents which is directed, com-

manded or imposed by the state legislature or by a

37

duly authorized arm of the state Sa at 351-352;

emphasis supplied) :

The Sherman Act makes no mention of the

state as such, and gives no hint that it was

intended to restrain state action or official

action directed by a state. * * *

* * * * *

* * * Here the state command to the Com-

mission nd to the program committee of the.

California Prorate Act is not rendered unlaw-

ful by the Sherman Act * * *.

The state * * * imposed the restraint as an

act of government which the Sherman Act did —

not undertake to prohibit.

The State Bar’s activities in connection with the

minimum fee schedule did not constitute the direction,

command or imposition of the program by the State

of Virginia or its officials. Under Virginia law, the

State Bar is an association ‘‘composed of the attor-

neys-at-law of this State * * *.”’ Va. Code 54-49.

Governed by rules promulgated by the Supreme Court

of Virginia,” the State Bar is “to act as an admin-

istrative agency of the Court for the purpose of inves-

tigating and reporting violations’? of rules adopted

by the Court pertaining to the practice of law. Ibid.

The Supreme Court is authorized to require that all

persons practicing law in Virginia be members of

*> Prior to 1974, the state court was known as the Supreme

Court of Appeals, but we shall refer to it by its current name.

38

the State Bar in good standing (ibid.), and it has

done so. Article IV, Part Six, Va. Sup. Ct. R., 205

Va. 1033, as amended, 210 Va. 411.

“Only active practitioners, the vast majority of

whom practice privately (see p. 13, supra, n. 9), may.

serve as officers of the State Bar. 205 Va. 1011, 1033.

It is controlled by a Council consisting of attorneys

elected from the state’s judicial circuits plus six judi-

cially-appointed members and the President, the im-

mediate Past-President and President Elect (Pet.

App. B-11, n. 31). The State Bar derives funds from

fees collected from member attorneys, which are de-

posited in a State Bar Fund in the State Treasury,

earmarked for use only by the State Bar, and dis-

bursed on vouchers from officers of the State Bar. Va.

Code 54-52. The Council has power “[t]o make alloca-

tions of funds within the amounts available.’’ Rule

9(g¢), 205 Va. 1038.

Thus, the State Bar is essentially a self-regulating

organization of private persons operating under the

aegis of state law and general rules established by

the Supreme Court. It serves as the Court’s adminis-

trative agency, to investigate and report upon viola-

tions of the rules adopted for governance of the Bar.

The Supreme Court has issued such rules, but they

do not establish or provide for minimum fee schedules.

See Articles IT and IV, Part Six, 205 Va. 1011, as

amended, 210 Va. 411, 211 Va. 295.”

*° Canon 12 of the Canons of Professional Ethics promulgated

by the Supreme Court of Virginia, 205 Va. 1012, referred to

“the customary charges of the Bar for similar services” as one

of six factors that could properly be considered in fixing the

fee. 7d, at 1015-1016. However, it also emphasized that “[n]o

39

The State Bar was involved in the promulgation and

enforcement of the Association’s fixed fee schedules

challenged here, and the parties have stipulated that

the Supreme Court has declared “that suggested fee

schedules and economic reports of the State Bar and

of Local Bar Associations involve questions of ethics

within the [authority of]” the State Bar and the Su-

preme Court (Pet. App. A-19). The district court

found that the State Bar has issued opinions (A. 45-

48) that in effect declare unethical the practice of

habitually charging fees below those suggested in. a

minimum fee schedule (Pet. App. A-5). Moreover, the

State Bar distributed minimum fee schedule reports

which became the basis for the minimum fee schedules

published by local bar associations in Virginia, in-

cluding the Association (id. at A-18).

The fact that the Supreme Court has declared that

suggested fee schedules and economic reports involve

questions of ethics does not establish that the sched-

ules are “state action.” Under Parker v. Brown the

one of these considerations in itself is controlling.” /d. at 1016.

“Customary charges” therefore appears to refer to the generally

prevailing price level for the service, rather than to fixed fees

as such.

Effective January 1, 1971, the Supreme Court repealed the

previous Canons of Professional Ethics and replaced them with

the Code of Professional Responsibility promulgated by the

American Bar Association. 211 Va. 295. Ethical Consideration

2-18 and Disciplinary Rule 2-106(B) (®) provide, respectiy ely,

that suggested fee scheduies and “customary charges” in the

couununity offer some guidance as to. refsonable fees. Jd. at

302, 213. The State Bar, however, has sin¢e declined to follow

the ruling of the American Bar Association that even habitual

failure to follow a m‘nimum fee schedule is itself not mis-

conduct (see p. 3, supra, n. 4), and has_reaffirmed_its view

that such conduct is unethical (A. 47-48).2

40

question is whether the state has authorized and re-

quired such schedules, not whether it had sanctioned

regulation of their use. See United States v. Oregon

State Bar, supra (Pet. Br. App. B9-B13) ; ef. In re

Estate of Freeman, discussed at p. 17, supra, n. 13.

The fee schedules here were not required by any

legislative commanc of the state,” and were not

adopted, specifically approved, or directly enforced by

the Supreme Court, the only arguably relevant state

agency.” The court of appeals held dispositive the

fact that the state court has a general statutory duty

to supervise the State Bar in prescribing and enfore-

‘ing the court’s code of ethics for attorneys. The ‘‘state

action” exemption, however, does not arise from the

meré fact that economic activity is regulated by the

state, even when that regulation is extensive and

detailed.

As this Court recently stated in a different con-

text, “the inquiry must be whether there is a suffi-

ciently close nexus between the State and the chal-

lenged action of the regulated entity so that the

action of the latter may be fairly treated‘ as that of

the State itself.’’ Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co.,

27 The court of appeals characterized certain stipulations as as-

serting that the regulatory program of the State Bar had “re-

ceived its authority and efficacy from legislative command”

(Pet, Br. App. B-12), but it is evident from the underlying

stipulations (Pet. App. A-17—A-19) that the court of eppeals’

conclusory description of the stipulations goes beyond their

actual seope.

** As the court of appeals “rectly recognized (Pet. App.

B-11), the State Bar itself, consis.ing of those subject to regu-

lation, has insuflicient independence to be regarded as a state

agency under Me™ state action” doctrine. See Asheville Tobacco

Bd. of Trade, Ine. v. Federal Trade Commission, 263 F. 2d 502,

508-510 (C.A. 4); ef. Gibson v. Berryhill, 411 U.S. 564, 578-579.

41

No. 73-5845, decided December 23, 1974, slip op. 6.

This test, invoked to determine state action for pur-

poses of the Fourteenth Amendment, is not without

relevance here.

The theory of the state action limitation of Parker

v. Brown is that Congress did not intend the Sher-

man Act to reach action taken by the states in their

sovereign capacity. Whether particular conduct con-

stitutes “state action’’ for this purpose, however, turns

on whether the state has affirmatively required the

conduct, See, e.g., Asheville Tobacco Bad. of Trade,

Inc. vz Federal Trade Commission, 263 F. 2d 502,

508-510 (C.A. 4); George R. Whitten, Jr., Inc. v.

Paddock Pool Builders, Inc., 424 F. 2d 25 (CA. 1),

certiorari denied, 400 U.S. 850; New Mexico v. Amer-

ican Petrofina, Inc., 501 F. 2d 363, 369-370 (C.A. 9).

The question is “whether the anti-competitive result

actually is a goal of the state entitled to the state’s

immunity rather than a private group masquerading

under the banner of ‘state action.’ ’’ Id. at 369.

Here, the state was not involved to the extent of

making the anticompetitive conduct a mandatory re-

quirement. The court of appeals recognized that the

Supreme Court has not specifically approved or dis-

approved the schedules in question (Pet. App. B-11),

but found sufficient active supervision by that court

to satisfy Parker under the rationale of its earlier

interpretation of Parker in Washington Gas Light

Co. v. Virginia Elec. & Power Co., 438 F, 2d 248

(C.A. 4). In that case the court of appeals held

that a regulatory agency’s failure to. disapprove acts

by those regulated supports an inference that “silence

42

means consent’? and hence establishes the state in-

volvement required by Parker. Id. at 252. We submit

that this analysis, which the Fifth Circuit ° * and the

court in Oregon Bar refused to follow (Pet. Br. App.

_B-12), is unsound.

There is a sharp distinction between regulatory au-

thority that permits, or fails to prohibit, particular

restraints on competition, and state action requiring

particular conduct. Cf. United States v. Borden Co.,

308 U.S. 188, 198-201. This distinction is highlighted

in the Court’s recent holding that a-utility (like that

involved in Washington Gas Light) was not engaged

in “state action” when it terminated service to a non-

paying customer (Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison

Co., supra; slip op. at 12; emphasis supplied) :

| The nature of governmental regulation of pri-

vate utilities is such that a utility may. fre-

quently be required by the state regulatory

scheme to obtain approval for practices a busi-

ness regulated in less detsil would be free to in-

stitute without any approval from a regulatory

body. Approval by a state utility commission of

such a request from a regulated utility, where

the Commission has not put its own weight on

the side of the proposed practice by ordering

it, does not transmute a practice initiated by

the utility and approved by the Commsiasion

into “state action.”

Similarly, this Court has long held that conduct

merely authorized, but not commanded, by a regula-

tory statute is not exempt from the antitryst laws.

-

See Gas Light Co. v. Georgia Power Co., 440 F, 2d 1155,

1139-1140 (C.A. 5), certiorari denied, 404 U.S. 1062.

43

United States v. Radio Corp. of America, 358 U.S.

334, 350-351; California v. Federal Power Comn.is--

sion, supra, 369 U.S. at 485; United States v. Phila-

delphia Nat’l Bank, supra, 374 U.S. at 352; Otter

Tail Power Co, v. United States, supra, 410 U.S. at

373-375.) This distinction is made clear by Continen-

tal Ore Co. v. Union Carbide & Carbon Corp., 370

U.S. 690. There the Court rejected a private party’s

claim that its status as exclusive purchasing agent for

the Canadian government brought it within the exemp-

tion of Parker v. Brown, because there was no indica-

tion that any Canadian government official had “di-

rected” the defendant to engage in the anticompetitive

conduct (id, at 706) or that Canadian law “compelled”

such conduct. Id. at 707.

Numerous enterprisésin the American economy are

tlosely regulated because they involve essential serv-

ices affected with a public interest. But this does not

transmute them into *‘state actors in all their actions.”

Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., supra, slip op.

at 8. “Doctors, optometrists, lawyers, Metropolitan

[Edison] and * * * [a] grocery selling a quart of

‘milk are ali in regulated businesses, providing argu-

ably essential goods and services, ‘affected with a

public interest.” We do not believe that such a status

converts their every action, absent niofe, into that of

the State.” Zd. at 8-9. Thus, we Cireuit has

erred in assuming that under Parker v. Brown the

existence of a general scheme of state regulation, of

itself, exempts all supervised activity from the Sher-

man Act.” rg

-” Moreover, even a general statutory scheme by which eom-

petitors regulate themselves is subject to the principle that

44

There is no evidence here that minimum fixed fee

schedules were required either by the Virginia legis-

lature or the Supreme Court. Because ‘the Supreme

Court is not a regulatory-agency, its supervisory duty

has been confined to the decision of individual cases

and to the implementation of the broad guidelines

established by the Virginia legislature. Those: guide-

lines specifically require that, in.its oversight of the

bar, the court not adopt rules ‘‘inconsistent with any .

statute * * *.°? Va. Code 54-51. The court of appeals’

reasoning misconceives the role of the’‘Supreme Court

and fails to recognize that the existence of some degree

of governmental oversight or involvement does not

itself make Parker applicable. See George R. Whitten,

Jr., Ine. v. Paddock Pool Builders, Inc., supra, 424

F. 2d at 30; Hecht v. Pro-Football, Inc., 444 F. 2d

931, 935 (C.A.D.C.); United States v. Pacific SW.

Airlines, 358 F: Supp. 1224 (C.D. Cal.)

collective restraints imposed thereunder are not exempt from

the antitrust laws unless they are essential to achievement of

the objectives of the statutory scheme, and are no more re-

strictive than necessary. Silver v. New York Stock Each,

supra, 373 U.S. at 361. This principle is not properly applicable

to determine whether a case involves state action under Parker

v. Brown. It has been invoked, however, to determine whether

state and federal law may be reconciled, without one or the

other being completely ousted. Merrill, Lynch, Pierce, Fenner &

Smith, Ine. v. Ware, 414 U.S. 117, 127. No question of irrec-

oncilable conflict between state law and the Sherman Act was

decided in Parker, nor is it presented with respect to the Vir-

ginia regulatory plan for lawyers. If it were, a

under the test of Silver and Merrill Lynch, collective price

fixing under such a statutory scheme is neither essential for

regulation of the bar (see supra, pp. 15-20), nor ure least re-

strictive alternative for prevention of abuses in fee determina-

tion.

ubmit that, .

45

That the State Bar functions as an administrative

agency of the Virginia court for the purpose of en-

forcing the court’s rules for governance of the Bar

does not convert every action the State Bar takes

into a command of the court. No court rule requires

it to propose or enforce local minimum fixed fee sched-

wes. Its members, on the other hand, are directly and

personally interested in fee levels. The State Bar exer-

cised a private initiative, Net required by statute or

court rule, when it proposed schedules and determined

that habitual failure to adhere to them would con-

stitute unethical conduct.

A similar conclusion was reached in United States v.

Oregon State Bar, supra. An Oregon statute declared

the state bar to be an agency of the state for the

purpose of carrying out the provisions of the state

integrated bar law, and also to be “a public corpora-

tion and an instrumentality of the Judicial Depart-—

ment” of the state’s government (Pet. Br. App. B2).

After finding that the Oregon bar was composed of

- private attorneys, that no state statute authorized

fixed fee schedules, and that the schedules were not

the product of a disinterested state agency, the dis-

trict court held that “the substantial state direction

and involvement required to meet the legislative man-

date requirements [of Parker] and to elevate these

Oregon State Bar activities to the plateau of ‘state

action’ immunity” were lacking (id. at B9). The same

reasoning applies here.

46

A different, and more ‘diffieult,* case might be pre-

sented if the Supreme Court or some other independent

public agency of the state, acting under explicit statu-

tory authorization, required attorneys to adhere to

fixed fee schedules.” But since the fee schedules

“On this record, the Court need not consider the extent to

which a state requirement for pice fixing among lawyers might

be inconsistent with the Sherman Act. In Parker the Court

stated that “[a] state does not give immunity to those who

violate the Sherman Act by authorizing them to violate it, or

by declaring that their action is lawful” (517 U.S. at 351), and

that a state cannot become a “participant in a private agree-

“wut or combination by others for restraints of trade.” /d. at

351-352. Citing Parker, the Court has also observed that

“when a state compels retailers to follow a parallel price policy,

it demands private conduct which the Sherman Act forbids.”

Nchwegmann Bros. vy. Calvert Distillers Corp., 341 U.S. 384

389. :

* For example, in the early history of this country several

states adopted laws directly interfering with competitive forces

in the market for legal services, in that they established maxi-

mum levels for fees. See II Chroust, supra, at 232-277

Similarly, under the statute governing English solicitors,

minimum remuneration for “no-contentious” business (business

for which a tribunal cannot tax solicitors’ fees as costs), is

regulated by orders issued under the Solicitors’ Act, 1957, as

amended, 5 & 6 Eliz. 2, ch. 27, Sec. 56. These orders are made

not by a private organization but by a committee consisting

of the Lord Chancellor, the Lord Chief Justice, the Master

of the Rolls, the President of the Law Society (the English

equivalent of a bar association), the president of a provincial

law society, and, so far as céncerns business relating to land

registry, the Chief Land Registrar. Moreover, the orders are

statutory instruments that can be annulled by either house of

Parliament, 36 Halsbury’s Laws of England, Solicitors € 142,

p. 107 (8d. ed. 1961). Litigated business is subject to taxation

of costs having regard to skill, labor, and responsibility, except

where there is an agreement of the parties. Such agreements do

not affect rights or remedies for recovery of costs payable by

any person other than the client, and agreements for excessive

47

were not authorized by any state statute, were not

required by the Supreme Court, and were not pronvl-

gated by an independent and disinterested state body,

and since the public had no voice in their establish-

ment, the elements for immunity defined in Parker are

absent. Because, as in the Oregon Bar case, supra,

the minimum fixed fee schedules were not a product

of a valid comniand of the state and were not estab-

lished by independent state officials, Parker is in-

applicable.

amounts may be referred by the costs taxing officer to the tri-

bunal, which ean reduce the amounts. 7d. at 122-129.

A. barrister’s fees are fixed by his clerk through negotiation

with his instructing solicitor. Kiralfy, Zhe English Legal Sys-

fem 255 (Sth ed. 1973). English barristers are now regulated

by a General Council of the Bar, consisting of the Attorney

General, the Solicitor General, the chairman of the Council

and elected barristers. A rule setting an absolute minimum fee

for Queen’s Counsel and juniors, respectively, was abrogated

in 1967. 3 Halsbury’s Laws of England, Barristers, § 54, p. 40,

n. /. (Sd ed. 1953, 1972 Supp.). .

“In view of this Court’s denial of the State Bar's motion

“to dismiss, we do not address in detail the State Bar’s conten-

tion concerning the Eleventh Amendment. Since the State Bar

is not the alter ego of the State of Virginia, nor a state agency

in any relevant sefse (see p. 40, supra, n. 28), a judgment—

even for money damages—against the State Bar, which has its

own funds (see p. 38, supra), would not be equivalent to a

judgment against the state. Accordingly, the Eleventh Amend-

ment does not immunize the State Bar frdém a suit against

it in the federal courts. See generally Edelman v. Jordan, 415

U.S. 651, 668-671. To hold that under the Eleventh Amend-

ment the State Bar is immune from suit in federal court would

in effect be to hold it immune from Jiability for violations of

the antitrust laws, for suits to enforce those laws may be

brought only in federal courts. See 15 U.S.C. 4, 15.

The district court having severed the questions of liability

and damages, neither court below has definitively ruled on

\

Ph Setar thy 4 ae as Yo EE ATS

48

Paraphrasing Metropolitan Edison, even if lawyers

in Virginia could be regarded as being “heavily regu-

lated * * *, enjoying at least a partial monopoly” in

the praviding of legal services within the state, and if

a state agency had found their challenged actions to be

‘permissible under state law,” that would not suffi-

ciently connect the state with those actions as to make

them attributable to the state for purposes of the

Sherman Act. Slip op. at 158.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the judgment of the court

of appeals should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

| Rosert H. Bork,

Solic’‘or General.

THomas FE. Kavren,

Assistant Attorney General.

_ GeraLp P. Norton,

Assistant to the Solicitor General.

Howarp E. SHapro,

Attorney.

JANUARY 1975.

whether or to what extent either respondent might be liable

in damages to the petitioners or to other members of the

class they represent. It is therefore premature for this Court

to consider issues relating to damages, such as whether a non-

retroactive imposition of liability would be warranted. Com-

pare Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97, 105-109; Simpson

v. Union Oil Co., 396 U.S. 13, 14. The pendency of the dam-

age claims, however, coupled with petitioners’ request for a

declaratory judgment, means that, even if injunctive relief is

no longer required against either the Association (because “.

has now withdrawn the challenged schedule) or the State Bar

(e.g., because of immunity), the case is not moot. Cf. Super

Tire Engg Co. v. McCorkle, 416 U.S. 115.

° |

otal

APPENDIX

my Dee. 19, 1974, James F. Davey, Clerk]

Un States District Court for the District of

Columbia

Civil Action No. 2412-72

Unitep Srares OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF

Vv.

NATIONAL SOCIETY OF PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS,

DEFENDANT

Opinion

This is an antitrust suit brought by the United

States against the National Society of Professional

Engineers (NSPE) under §1 of the Sherman Act,

15 U.S.C. .§2, which declares illegal every “contract,

combination * * * or conspiracy, in restraint of trade

or commerce among the several States. * * *’? The

alleged offense centers on Section 11(e) of defend-

ant’s Code of Ethics which prohibits members of

NSPE from submitting competitive bids for their

engineering services.’ Plaintiff seeks to enjoin the

combination and conspiracy which maintains the pro-

hibition against competitive bidding as well as to

have canceled all provisions to the Code of Ethics

and other relevant rules or statements of policy which

support the bidding ban.

Section 11(c)eprovides:.

_ “Section 41—The Engineer .will not compete unfairly. with

another engineer by attempting to obtain employment or

: ne: la

2a

NSPE is a professional society incorporated under

the Iaws of South Carolina with more than 69,000

members located throughout the United States. Mem-

bership in NSPE accounts for slightly less than 10

percent of all graduate engineers in the nation holding

a collegiate degree in engineering frem an institution

of higher learning. Upon a demonstration of profi-

ciency, each of the states permits engineers to hold a

certificate of registration or license to practice. Ap-

proximately 325,000 are so registered of whom 55,000

or 17 percent, are members of! NSPE. About half of

the registered professional engineers in this country

are engaged in offering services to the public as con-

sulting engineers. Although NSPE is a national orga-

nization, it is affiliated with pfofessional engineering

societies in each of the 50 states, territories and the

District of Columbia.. When a member joins NSPE,

advancement or professidnal engagements by competitive bid-

ding * * * :

“ce, He shall not solicit or submit engineering proposals

on the basis of competitive bidding. Competitive bidding for

professional engineering services is defined as the formal or

informal submission, or receipt, of verbal er written estimates

of cost or proposals in terms of dollars, man days of work

required, percentage of construction cost, or any other measure

of compensation whereby the prospective client may compare

engineering services on a price basis prior to the time that

one engineer, or one engineering organization, has been selected

for negotiations. The disclosure of recommended fee schedules

prepared by various engineering societies is not considered to

constitute competitive bidding. An Engineer requested to sub-

mit a fee proposal or bid prior to the selection cf an engineer

or firm subject to the negotiation of a satisfactory contract. shall

attempt to have the procedure changed to conform to ethical

practices, but if ‘not successful he shall withdraw from con-

sideration for the proposed work. These principles shall be

applied by the Engineer in obtaining the services of other

professionals.”

3a

he joins the applicable state society and local chapter

at the same time.

Defendant’s Board of Directors adopted the present

format of the NSPE Code of Ethies in 1964. Section

11(c) of the Code provides that an engineer ‘“‘shall

not solicit or submit engineering proposals on the basis

of competitive bidding.” The section defines competi-

tive bidding as any measure of compensation ‘‘wherehy

the prospective client may compare engineering ser. -

ices on a price basis prior to the time that one engi-

neer * * * has been selected for negotiations.’’ While

Sec. 11(c) advises that disclosure of a recommended

state society fee schedule does not constitute compeéti-

tive bidding, it requires that the engineer ‘‘withdraw

from consideration for the proposed work’’ if the. .

prospective client insists on competitive bidding.

In practice, adherence to Sec. 11(c¢) by the engineer

and client means the prospective client will limit his

initial search to the engineer whose background and

reputation suggests he is the best qualified and most

appropriate for the client’s needs. Discussion of fees,

however, will not be permitted until after the client

has actually selected an engineer and discussed the

scope of his particular problem. Should the engineer

and client be unable to agree upon a satisfactory fee

arrangement, the client will withdraw his selection

and approach a new engineer. This procedure is known

as the traditional method of retaining professional

engineering services. say met ne

In addition to the Code of Ethics, the defendant has

sought to promote its ban on competitive bidding by

a variety of other means. These include publication of

professional policy statements, issuance of opinions

on a case analysis basis by its Board of Ethical Re--

view, distribution of pamphlets to members and clients,

personal letters to individual clients suspected of

yomapes

4a

soliciting on a competitive bid basis, and participation

with other professional societies in preventing gov-

ernmental agencies from obtaining price proposals

for ‘architect-engineering (A-FE) projects by competi-

tive bidding methods.

_ While NSPE has no authority to terminate an engi-

neer’s membership in his state society for unethical

conduct, it has played a significant role in coordinat-

ing and encouraging state society investigations into

suspected misconduct. NSPE has recommended pro-

cedures to be followed by state societies upon the filing

of charges of unethical conduct against a member,

assisted in the conduct of these investigations, and

directly warned members of apparent Sec. 11(¢) vio-

lations.

The policing actions of defendant with respect to

See. 11(¢) have met with apparent success. The record °

is devoid of any evidence suggesting significant defec-

tions by members from the bidding ban. Attempts by

at least one federal agency to exchange the traditional

method of procuring A-E services for competitive

bidding met strong resistance resulting in part from

actions of NSPE urging its members to refuse to

offer their services.

The nature of engineering services provided by

NSPE members covers « wide spectrum embracing

the study, design and construction of real property

improvements located thro the United States

and abroad. Engineering sérvices include pre-feasibil-

ity studies, feasibility studies, planning, preliminary

studies, the preparation of drawings, plans, designs,

specifications, cost estimates, manuals, and reports,

consultations, surveys, and inspections. This work is

performed in connection with myriad projects ranging

from highway construction, public utilities and com-

ve

munications facilities to commercial structures, trans-

portation means and mining facilities. The list is vir-

tually endless. The clients for whom NSPE members

offer their se-vices include governmental agencies at

all levels, manufacturing companies, industrial com-

panies and retailing companies operating throughout

the United States.

NSPE members practice as sole practitioners, part-

nerships and corporations ranging upwards in size to

1500 individuals. Individual members are often li-

censed to perform engineering services in several

states at one time. Engineering firms with which

NSPE members are affiliated frequently maintain

offices in states and foreign countries other than their

principal places of business. Such firms perform serv-

ices on a nuulti-state, regional or national basis.

Most design and construction projects require the

services of both architects and engineers whose serv-

ices are often provided by a single firm. The engi-

neer’s portion of the firm’s fee normally accounts for

about 5 to 6 percent of the cost of construction. For the

vear 1972, the 438 largest A-E design firms accounted

for approximately $2.2 billion in fees. Profit margins

for many firms range as high as 10 to 12 percent.

Forty, or approximately 9 percent, of the top 438 A-E

design firms were publicly held corporations or affili-

ated with publicly held corporations, whose fees ac-

counted for situietpiameatan 14 percent of the receipts

from this group.

In addition to A-E pare firms, there is a second

significant group of firms performing engineering

services known as design/construet firms which differ

from typical consulting engineering firms in their

added capability of performing construction work as

well as traditional A-E design work. In 1972, 30, or 4

6a

approxiniately 48 percent, of the top 62 design/con-

struct firms in the nation were publicly held corpora-

tions or affiliated with such corporations and ac-—

counted for 65 percent of the $26 billion of new project —

contracts awarded this group.

The Government attacks defendant’s ethical prohibi- °

tion gainst competitive bidding on grounds it con-

stitutes price fixing in per ‘se violation of §1 of the

Sherman Act. Claiming that Sec. A1(¢) operates to

deny clients access to competitive price information,

plaintiff contends the bidding ban ilegally tampers

with the price structure of engineering services hy

eliminating ail forms of price competition thereby

stabilizing engineering fees. NSPE proffers a three

propged defense contending first, the practice of pro-

fessional engineering is not trade or commerce within

the scope of §1; second, the ethical prohibition is a

reasonable practice in the field of professional engi-

neering ; third, the practice of professional -engineeri.g

is exempt from antitrust attack because it is a state

regulated profession. The Court will consider these

defenses seriatim. :

Defendant claims that the practice of professional

engineering falls outside the ambit of ‘trade, or com-

merce beeatise it is a so-called “learned profession”’

governed by self-regulation. The notion that learned

professions are not covered by the Sherman. Act has

its genesis in the construction placed upon the term

‘restraint of trade” under §3 of th®Sherman Act by

the Supreme Court in Atlantic Cleaners d& Dyers,

Inc. v. United States, 286 U.S. 427, 436 (1932). In

giving expansion to the word ‘“‘trade”, the Court

quoted with approval from now famous dictum set

down by Mr. Justice Story in The Schooner Nymph,

1 Sumn. 516, 517-518; 18 Fed. Cas. 506, 507, No. 10,338

(1834) :

7a

Whenever any. occupation, employment, or

business is carried on for the parpose of pro-

fit, or gain, or a livelihood, not in the liberal arts

or in the learned professions, it is constantly

called a trade.

Notwithstanding this favorable reference to an early

nineteenth century conception of trade, the Supreme

Court has never held that a learned profession is ex-

empt from the Sherman Act and has in fact affirmed

its intention not to ‘‘intimate an opinion on the cor- -

rectness of the application of the term [trade] to the

professions.” United States v. National Ass’n of Real

Estate Boards, 339 U.S. 485; 491-2 (1950).? The only

circuit court to declare a learned profession exemp-

tion was the Fourth Circuit in Goldfarb v. Virginia

State Bar, 497 F. 2d 1 (1974). In that case, a divided

court held that a legal profession’s fee schedule was

immune from a § 1 attack because of the applicability

of the “learned profession exemption.” Jd. at 15. More

receiitly, however, a federal district court, after giving

careful consideration to the entire litany of learned

profession cases, arrived at an opposite conclusion

finding that the ‘‘fee schedule activities of the defend-

ant, Oregon State Bar, are not immuye to Sherman

2Two cases are generally cited as authority for the learned

profession exemption: Federal Baseball Club, Inc. v. National

Leaque of Professional Baseball Clubs, 259 U.S. 200 (1922),

where the Supreme Court noted that “personal efforts, not re-—

lated to production, is not a subject of commerce.” Jd. at 209:

FTC y. Raladam Co., 283 U.S. 643 (1931), where the Court

stated that “medical practitioners * * * are not in competition

with respondent. They follow a profession not a trade. * * *”

Id. at 653. Both references to learned professions are dicta and

not considered to be a holding by the Court of the Existence

of a learned profession exemption to the Sherman Act. For a

discussion of these cases as precedent for a learned profession

exemption, see opinion of Judge Craven (dissenting in part) in

Goldfarb v. Virginia State Bar, 497 F. 24 1, 25-24 (1974).

Sa

Act attack * * * by the ‘learned profession’ exemp-

tion.” United States v. Oregon State Bar, Civil Action

No. 74-362 (D.C. or. Nov. 22, 1974).

The concept of a learned profession exception to

the antitrust laws is of dubious validity in view of

the repeated reluctance of federal courts to recognize

it as a legitimate exception to the Sherman Act. The

issue of whether a profession is a learned one is not

seen by the Court as the appropriate approach for re-

solving the higher question of whether the Sherman

Act is applicable to that profession. To engage in such

an inquiry would chart the Court on a semantic ad-

venture of questionable value. It would be a dangerous

form of elitism, indeed, to dole out exemptions to. our

antitrust laws merely on the basis of the educational

level needed to practice a given profession, or for

that matter, the Impact which the profession has on

society's health and welfare. Clearly, the move appro-

priate and fairer course is to examine the nature and

conduct involved in the profession on a case by case

hasis together with the context in which it is prac-

ticed.

Congressional intent behind the Sherman Act

focused on a desire to prevent restraints to ‘“‘free

competition in business and commercial. transactions

which tended to * * * raise prices or otherwise con-

trol the market to the detriment of purchasers of

goods and services. * * *”? Apex Hosiery Co. v.

Leader, 310 U.S. 469, 493 (1940). The types of busi-

ness and commercial transactions which Congress in-

tended the Sherman Act to protect have generally

been accorded broad recognition by the courts. United

States v. National Ass’n of Real Estate Boards, supra,

(business of real estate broker is trade within the

meaning of \3 of the Sherman Act); United States v.

South-Eastern Underwriters Ass’n, 322 U.S. 533

4

Se ee ec i. oe ene oe ie at

9a

(1944) (business of insurance not exempt from oper-

ation of the Sherman Act); American Medical Ass’n

v. United States, 317 U.S. 519 (1943) (group health

organization engaged in obtaining medical services for

its members is conducting trade under §3 of the

Sherman Act). Each of these cases has turned on the

character of the restraint and the activity restrained

as opposed to a litmus test based on professionality.

Cf. Apex. Hosiery, supra, at 485. In view of this ap-

proach taken by the courts, it can be said at the very

least that where the activity of a profession so di-

rectly impacts upon interstate trade and commerce as

to suhstantially contribute to the latter’s character

and direction, it must be concluded that the profes-

sion’s activity has become subsumed within the gen-

eral scope of §1 of the Sherman Act regardless of

whether the profession may be characterized as a

learned one. As the Supreme Court noted in South-

Eastern Underwriters, supra, with reference to the

language of §§ 1 and 2 of the Sherman Act:

Language more comprehensive is difficult to

conceive. On its face it shows a carefully studied

attempt to bring within the Act every person

engaged in business whose activities might

restrain or monopolize commercial intercourse

among the states. 322 U.S. at 553.

The record amply demonstrates that professional

engineering is not a metaphysical pursuit but rather a

conduit through which abstract scientific principles

are reduced to a level of practical application in re-

sponse to a given problem. In this sense, professional

engineering offers a service. And with respect to de-

sign engineers who prepare plans and specifications

for real property improvements and articles of manu-

facture, professional engineering also offers a prod-

uct. Unlike the lawyer’s brief or the scholar’s text

THEIR PEI ELAN LOS ARS TT

SEA AT NGO SETAE PE NEN REG MENTE, SINTRA EERE

10a

which convey thought, an engineer’s blueprints con-

stitute a necessary physical tool which when combined

with standardized techniques of manufacturing and

construction, yield a final, functional. reduction to

practice. In this regard, professional engineering en-

joys a maximum interface with end erodects of con-

struction and manufacture.

The business nature of professional engineering

firms is clearly established in the record. It is an

industry often organized on a local, regional, national

and even international seale controlling, guiding and

shaping the pace and direction of the vast array of

interstate transactions needed to carry out much of

the nation’s construction and manufacture. Fully 50

to 80 percent of the cost of constructing and equip-

ping construction projects is controlled by an engi-

neer’s work. A substantial amount of equipment and

material is transported in interstate commerce at the

specific direction of NSPE members. It would not be

hyperbole to observe that professional engineering

services are at the very backbone of the major portion

of the nation’s commerce. This is not a case of indirect

and insubstantial impact by a so-called learned pro-

fession upon-interstate commerce. The record is im-

pressive in demonstrating that the imprint of profes-

sional engineering upon interstate commerce is clear

and unmistakable. It is a driving force of seminal

character which continues to forge the very founda-

tion from whieh our commercial trade emanates. The

Court is satisfied in light of the well documented rec-

ord that the activities of NSPE and its members fall

well within the scope of §1 of the Sherman Act.

II

Tt is undisputed that price fixing is a per se unrea-

sonable restraint of trade under the Sherman Act and

SRG ARG yO MERE QE RISE ORES RINGS SR ot CR OARS #5 DEPT +

lla

that in such cases it is not for the court to decide .

whether a particular price fixing activity serves an

honorable or worthy end. United States v. Socony-

Vacuum Oil Co., 310 U.S. 150 (1940); United States '

National Ass’n of Real Estate Boards, supra at

489: United States v. South-Eastern Underwriters

Ass’n, supra at 561. Hence, if the See. 11(¢) ban on

competitive bidding acts to fix the prices of engineer-

ing services, the Court’s inquiry is ended and it need

not consider the reasonableness of the ethical

ial agi oon .

In order for conduct to be characterized ‘as price-

fixing, it is not necessary to show that the alleged com-

bination or conspiracy has actually pegged prices at a

particular level. Kiefer-Stewart Co. v. Seagram &

Sons, 340 U.S, 211 (1951). It need on'y be established

that the suspect conduct acts to restrain free price

movenient. It is the act of tampering with the price

structure which is at the core of the offense. As the

Court in Secony-Vacuum noted:

Any combination which tampers with price

structures is engaged in an unlawfui activity.

Even though the members of the pric e-fixing

group were in no position to control the market,

to the extent that they * * * stabilized prices

they would be directly interfering with the free

play of market forces. 310 U.S. at 221.

Accordingly, where the application and practice of a

code of professional ethics leaves members of a pro-

fessional association genuinely free in their pricing

decisions, no § 1 offense arises.

Section 11(¢) prohibits defendant's members from

engaging in any form of price competition when offer-

ing their services; selection is restricted to considera-

tions of reputation and ability. No fee information

may be given a prospective client which takes the

ANSE FNP OR RTE STONES ALL MEO ORNS. ARRAS NG RRR REMUS ROE

12a

form of cost estimates or other proposals m terms of

dollars, man days of work required, or percentage of

construction cost which can be compared to that of

another engineer. Section 11(¢), however, does permit

members to disclose recommended state society fee

schedules to prospective clients in the course of the

selection process. Moreover, Sec. 9(b) of defendant’s

Code of Ethics requires its members not to accept

work at a fee “below the accepted standards of the

profession in the area.” * As a result of these sections,

the only priee information available for input into the

client’s selection equation is a uniformly regular fee

schedule. Should the client persist in requiring com-

petitive bids, See. 11(e) requires the engineer to with:

draw the offer of his service altogether. >

Although the actual implementation and enforce-

ment of Sec. 11(¢) is not critical to a determination

of whether a combination or conspiracy exists to re-

strain trade, Socony-Vacuum, supra at 225, n. 59, the

record does support a finding that NSPE and its mem-

bers actively pursue a course of policing adherence to

the competitive bid ban through direct and indirect

communication with members and prospective clients.

As note supra, NSPE has engaged in educational cam-

paigns and personal admonitions to members and

clients who were suspected of engaging in competitive

bidding practices.

Upon careful review of the pertinent authorities,

the Court is convinced that the ethical prohibition

“The Sherman Act offenses alleged in the Complaint do not

specify activities involving the use of fee schedules by defend-

ant and accordingly the Court does not consider their legality

to be at issue in this case. The Court does believe, however, that

insofar as the use of fee schedules by defendant's members

might affect the impact which See. 11(c) has on trade and

commerce, en inquiry into their promotion and enforcement by

defendant js plainly relevant.

7 RR REG RRL Bae Sy

13a

against competitive bidding is on its face a tampering

with the price structure of engineering fees in viola-

tion of §1 of the Sherman Act. It is not important to

know what effect the Sec. 11(¢) prohibition has on the

price of professional engineering services. Kiefer-

Stewart Co. v. Seagram & Sons, supra at 213. What is

of critical significance is, that the agreement among

defendant’s members to refrain from competitive bid-

ding is an agreement to restrict the free play of mar-

ket forces from determining prices to sacrifice free-

-dlom in pricing decisions to market stability. The com-

bination becomes a per se illegal one under § 1 of the

Act when it tends to “cripple the freedom of traders

and thereby restrain[s] their ability to sell in accord-

ance with their own judgment.” Kiefer-Stewart, Ibid.

By proscribing competitive bidding, Sec. 11(¢) has as

‘its purpose and effect the excision of price considera-_

tions from the competitive arena of engineering serv-

ices. The ban narrows competition to factors based on

reputation, ability, and a fixed range of uniform

prices. The prospective client is thus forced to make

his selection without all relevant market information.

The See. 11(¢)’ ban on competitive bidding is in every

respect a classic example of price-fixing in violation

of § 1 of the Sherman Act.

haaone Til

‘Action to regulate trade undertaken by state offi-

cials pursuant .to state legislative command is not

governed by thé Sherman Act. Parker v. Brown, 317

U.S, 341 (1943). In Parker, a producer and packer

ized the establishment, through state officials, of mar-

keting programs for state produced agricultural prod-

ucts. The purpose of the legislation was to stabilize

prices by restricting competition in order to “conserve

<-

l4a

the agricultural wealth of the State” anc “prevent

economic waste in the marketing of agricultural prod-

‘ucts.” Id. at 346. The Court in Parker held:

We find nothing in the language of the Sher-

man Act or in its history which suggests that

its purpose was to restrain a state or its officers

or agents from activities directed by its legis-

lature. Id. at 350-51.

Defendant has cited statutes in 16 states which pro-

hibit fee bidding by engineers. It is defendant’s posi-

tion that because See. 11(¢) coincides with state law,

the Parker doctrine of state action immunity shields

defendant from Sherman Act liability. The Court

finds this extension of Parker unacceptable for several

reasons.

“The.state program in Parker comprised a carefully

legislated administrative plan for trade regulation

Whieh jinsured continuous state supervision through

the offices of a state created commission. It was not

a case where agricultural growers had been allowed

to restrain trade in contravention of the antitrust

laws by mere legislative fiat. The Court emphasized

this point by noting:

_ [A] state does not give immunity to those

who violate the Sherman Act by authorizing

them to. violate it, or le declaring that their

action is lawful. * * *” Jd. at 351.

Likewise, the First Cireuit observed in George R.

Whitten, Jr, Inc. v. Paddock Pool Builders, Inc.,

424 BF. 2d 25, cert. denied, 400 U.S. 850 (1970) :

The [Parker] Court's emphasis on the extent

of the state’s involvement precludes the facile

conclusion that action by any public official

automatically confers exemption, * * * Our

reading of Parker convinces us that valid gov-

ernment action confers antitrust immunity only

when government determines that competition

PIAL RET EIS ANN i a ae

i ats

lida

is not the swmmum bonum in a particular field

and deliberately attempts to provide an elter-

nate form of public regulation.’’ Id. at 30.

The instant Complaint charges defendant with

illegal restraint of trade on a nationwide basis. It

does not attack the action of any state official or

agency. Unlike the situation in Parker, the challenged

activity of NSPE and its members was a private

conspiracy in restraint of trade and not conducted

pursuant to the command of any state legislature.

There is no evidence of any state enforcement machin-

ery, present in Parker, which suggests that when the

16 states decided to prohibit competitive bidding they

also intended to establish an alternate form of public

regulatory control. Defendant’s activities are plainly

interstate in nature, unencumbered by the reguia-

tions of individual states. The extrapolation of Parker

urged by defendant is both unfounded in logic as well

as in law. The doctrine cf state immunity enunciated

by the Court in Parker simply has no applicability

to a code of ethics which has been formulated outside

the command and supervision of a state agency.

For the reasons stated supra, the Court finds that

promulgation and enforcement of. See. ll(e) by

NSPE, its members and state societies, constitutes a

combination and conspiracy in unreasonable restraint

of interstate trade and commerce in violation of 8]

of the Sherman Act.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law are

annexed hereto.

JOHN LEwts Suirtn, Jr.,

United States District Judge.

DeEcEMBER 19, 1974.

4.$. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE to7s

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.