Amicus Curiae Brief — Saxbe v. Bustos

Supreme Court brief1974

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Mi-j.?,

is

SUPREME COURT. | ue ty

Supreme ‘Court of th of the Unite

‘October Term, 1973

No. 73-480

~ Cuustosat ee amigg et at

No. 73-300

_-Buuor Cs RICHARDSON, arse General, et al,

_. Petitioners,

: a

eet ay et ai

‘

Bo Secpee b> ace

‘Bilt one Merits of American Farm Barean Feders:

ys,

Cross-Petitioners.

oo

a

SUBJECT INDEX

Page

Interest Of Amici Curiae -........-2---<cc-cooco-n-ceeseoennoes 1

SRS OE PP IOUIOO, eisai inc csniceiccaianemioienseinneen 3

PE ee coat coco chiciealseu associa dunicecplasoeanumaalanaciaas 5

An Order That the Petitioner Classify as Nonim-

migrants All Lawful Permanent Resident

Aliens Who Are Employed in the United

States, Have Their Families Reside in Mexico,

and Visit Their Families Daily or Seasonally,

i . eeteemaiibrar enaereronnetienaces Women

A.

B.

Respondents Seek Such an Unlawful

Order From TRIG COU: once ccccccscsssssneys

Any Affirmation of the Order Made by

the Circuit Court Below, or the Granting

of the Order Requested by Respondents,

Would Violate the Legislative Intent of

Congress as Shown by Its Ratification

of Past Policy of the Immigration and

NatureligtiOt SOU VIOE nnncencesccensereeessesenty

5

Congress Has Ratified the Present Polio’

of the Service to Allow Lawful Perma-

nent Resident Aliens Who Are Employed

in the United States but Whose Families

Live in Mexico or Canada the Privilege

of the Informal Documentary Waiver

Provisions of 8 USC 1181(b) and 8 CFR

PAGE Sf 5 @ 4 Regomsntemme namenn ramtintonimesrs ence As IY

Recent Court Decisions Would Allow the

Equation of Employment With Residence

for the Purpose of Defining Aliens With-

ing the Coverage of 8 USC 1101(a)

88. | MagMeiole eire ct SSA ian a eben

13

Page

E. The Order by the Court Below and/or the

Order Proposed by Respondents That the

Immigration Service Classify as Nonim-

migrants All Lawful Permanent Resident

Aliens Who Are Employed in the United

States, Have Their Families Residing in

Mexico and Visit Them Daily or Season-

ally, Would Violate the Procedural Due

Process Rights of the Aliens Affected ...... 17

II.

The Policy of the Attorney General of Classify-

ing Lawful Permanent Resident Aliens Into +

Commuters and Noncommuters for Purposes

of Enforcing the Immigration Act, Is Unlaw-

Re acc Lnnenicscincnnsiliied deceit gistikoiekissuaaoessad 20

Ill.

Daily or Seasonal Visits by Lawful Permanent

Resident Aliens, Who Are Employed in the

United States, to Their Families Who Reside in

Mexico, Are Not Departures From the United

States Which Can Be Regarded as Meaning-

fully Interruptive of the Aliens’ Permanent

MD a 23

CO ie ea 30

Appetit, 22 CO AGAMA ok... App. p. 1

ea 3

S See Leerer terte) ok... 4

es ee ee a 4

cE > RGIS Eee occa CP Repa iba anne oe 5

CO Se a 6

BE Ts 8s SISOS Shien or se ye cei omer 5 ee 11

De etic cence en. 11

Report From the Committee on the © to

Accompany H.R. 98, September 11, 1973 .... 17

RIES ATEN MOOSE E LES ERED IEE OLLIE IIE RET T OO SHI NARA TE EAL A EES EE OLN TT

ili.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page

Barrese v. Ryan, 203 F.Supp. 880 (Dist. Conn.

| Sg OR EP RCD a TET SPO NRE Oe RTE Ne ONCE E 15

Breen ¥. Wiest, S26 U.S. VSS ncceccnnesccncccnssnesn 19, 22

Burciaga-Sa!cedo, Matter of, 11 I&N Dec. 665 .... 6

““Biystos v. Mitchell, 481 F.2d 479 (D.C. Cir. 1973)

ere a a 1

Cermeno-Cerna v. Farrell, 291 F.Supp. 521 (C.D.

ise ics es 15

Fook Hong Mak v. Immigration and Naturaliza-

tion Service, 435 F.2d 730 (2nd Cir. 1970) .. 21

Gamero v. Immigration and Naturalization Service,

Los “Angeles Dist., 367 F.2d 123 (9th Cir.

ES sects ie isich esieeiaeadae coed basis canstohedadcaantiaens a

Git Foo Wong v. Immigration and Naturalization

Service, 358 F.2d 151 (9th Cir. 1966) .......... -_

Gooch v. Clark, 433 F.2d 74 (9th Cir. 1970)

ih kai iliibendiinincadinlapiieessipelildnlavbuiaidioentes 10, 14, 20, 21

Graham v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 365 ............ 19, 22

Harisiades v. Shaughnessy, 342 U.S. 580 (1952) .. 22

Hoffman-Arvayo, Matter of, Int. Dec. #2095

Be 2 SNOT EN UCRY fe SL RERRRNT De 7 Os OE 28

Itzcovitz v. Selective Service Local Bd., No. 6,

N.Y., N.Y., 447 F.2d-888 (2d Cir. 1971) ...... 26

Japanese Immigrant Case, 189 U.S. 86 (1903) .. 18

Janati-Ataie, Matter of, Int. Dec. #2170 (1927) .... 27

Karnuth v. United States ex rel. Albro, 279 U‘S.

4 RE Ge n't aetna EEO RRC Se AEE G ORE OMEN OST 11

‘Kowng Hai Chew v. Colding, 344 U.S. 590 (1952)

iv.

Page

Lesto v. Day, 21 F.2d 307 (2nd Cir. 1927) .......... 10

Lindberg v. Brenner, 399 F.2d 990 (D.C. Cir.

1968) .. 14

Massachusetts Trustees of Eastern Gas & Fuel As-

sociate v. United States, 377 U.S. 235 (1964) .. 14

Rosenberg v. Fleuti, 374 U.S. 449 ....4, 28, 24, 28, 29

Sam Andrews’ Sons v. Mitchell, 457 F.2d 745. (9th

CO TRFE ee nes) Noma. AG May 2 |

Serpico v. Trudell, 46 F.2d 669 (D.C. Vt. 1928) .. 11

Tejada v. United States Immigration & Naturaliza- |

tion Serv., 346 F.2d 385 (9th Cir. 1965) .......... 15

Toon-Ming Wong v. Immigraiion and Naturaliza-

tion Service, 363 F.2d 234 (9th Cir. 1966) .. 25

Transatlantica Italiana v. Elting, 66 F.2d 542 (2d

OO Fee cies teeneeaies 10

United States v. Lehmann, 239 F.2d 663 (6th Cir.

3} septs ane Pree a Naan e rare ipciliniiens 16

Wadman v. Immigration and Naturalization Service,

wate ts eee. ae... 25

Whitfield v. — 22 Fed. 745 (8th Cir. 1915)

SECT PD RG ad etn elder PEN ed 18

Zimmerman v. Lehmann, 339 F.2d 943 (7th Cir.

1965) - cddiddiecekisnsanies 25

es Miscellaneous

Genet Geter Me. 86 Hi, 13

pe | SaReidmcoman ss Reema ov. vee Oe 14

House Report 982 Pm ee aaa : 14

:asanEEREREEEEEEEEeeeeeen

V.

Statutes Page

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 8, Sec. 211.1

hE A eae ate ee sober nae ee ee 4.12, 13, 15; 2, 22; 3

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 22, Sec. 42.-

SO scab tinsecseeareiecacpantnaeieniaaiaiis tide a linidiomedalneie $

Immigration and Nationality Act, Sec.’ 4(b) ....10, 13

Immigration and Nationality Act, Sec. 101(a) (13)

Immigration and Nationality Act, Sec. 244(a) er

United States Code, Title 8, Sec. ee ‘

United States Code, Title 8, Sec. 1101(a)(20) .. 29

United States Code, Title 8, Sec. 1101(a)(27)(b)

siccepabislintiars 4, 13, 15, 16, 18, 20, 21, 22, 29, 30

United States Code, Title 8, Sec. 1181(b) ......4, 13

Pee a ES ts i SER ....15, 20, 29, 30

TGS) picts cnemnecccapeeceniiictatnaeidalapneinecnrhempnnevinatiies 25

Textbooks

“Aliens in the Fields: The ‘Green Card Commuter’

Under the Immigration and Naturalization Laws”,

21 Stanford Law Review (1969), p. 1750 ...... 10, 14

Computers, Illegals and American Farm Labor Prob-

lem, 48 New York University Law Review, pp.

YRS aes Reiger tate else aot) read ee CLO a ae

Gordon & Rosenfield, Immigration Law and Proce-

aed. Bi BATS) sctientecndiscicinienticnncicn 5

vi.

Page

48 New York University Law Review, pp. 439,

440, 476-480 . ; 10, 14

48 New York University Law Review, pp. 475-6

43 Statutes at NAS. Sear ate Sra sienna 10

66 Statutes at Large, p. 167 .............1... me

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1973

Nos. 73-480, 73-300

No. 73-480

CRISTOBAL CARDONA, et al.,

Cross-Petitioners,

vs.

ELLioT C. RICHARDSON, Attorney General,

Petitioner.

No. 73-300

_ Extwiot C. RICHARDSON, Attorney General, et al.,

Petitioners,

7 vs.

ROBERT Bustos, et al.,

Cross-Petitioners.

Brief on the Merits of American Farm Bureau Federa-

tion, California Farm Bureau Federation and Na-

tional Council of Agricultural Employers, Amici

Curiae. :

Interest of Amici Curiae.

The California Farm Bureau Federation is a non-

profit corporation organized under the laws of the State

of California. It presently has approximately 62,000

members consisting primarily of farmers and others inter-

ested in farm problems in California. The American

Farm Bureau Federation is a general farm organiza-

alibi

tion with more than 2,000,000 member families who

belong to state farm bureaus in 49 states and Puerto

Rico. It is a voluntary, nonprofit corporation, organized

under the laws of the State of Illinois. The National

Council of Agricultural Employers is a nonprofit cor-

poration organized in the District of Columbia, com-

posed of members who are agricultural employers in

46 states.

The Respondents, Robert Bustos and Lupe Marquila,

are two California farm workers; the Respondent,

United Farm Workers Organizing Committee, is an

organization of farm workers. The Respondents filed

a class action in the United States District Court for

the District of Columbia on behalf of all citizens and

alien permanent residents of the United States engaged

in farm labor in California. The Cross-Petitioners, Cris-

tobal Cardona, Jose Maria de la Garza, Placido Ruiz,

and Julio Ruiz, are Texas farm workers who are granted

the right to intervene as plaintiffs on behalf of them-

selves and all farm workers in Texas.’

The amici curiae represent substantially all of the

employers of the farm workers represented by Respond-

ents. Any adverse decision made by the Court in this

case will substantially damage a great portion of ag-

ricultural employers in states along the Mexican bor-

der.? The damage to amici would be the same type

1Robert Bustos, et al., are respondents in case number 73-300,

Attorney General v. Bustos. Cristobal Cardona, et al., are peti-

* tioners in case number 73-480, Cardona v. Attorney General.

Both cases were consolidated for the purposes of filing briefs and

oral argument by an order of the Court of Jan. 14, 1974. For

the purpose of convenience in this brief, both res ents and

cross-petitioners will be collectively referred to as “Respondents”.

2In the amici curiae brief in support of Petition for Certiorari,

originally filed in case number 73-300, the California Farm

Bureau estimated that the adverse decision of the court below in

§

as that suffered by the California farming partnership

known as Sam Andrews’ Sons, outlined in Sam An-

drews’ Sons v. Mitchell, 457 F.2d 745 (9th Cir. 1972).

For example, in his Petition, the Attorney General

said:

“If the seasonal commuter system is illegal, the

Service must move to pick up all alien registration

receipt cards of aliens adversely affected by the

decision and to deny them reentry for the purpose

of seeking or returning to employment.”*

The impact of such an order would be devastating to

the employers represented by amici and to the agri-

cultural economy of the United States.

Summary of Argument.

The Court of Appeals below classified as nonimmi-

grants all lawful permanent resident aliens who are

employed in the United States, have their families reside

in Mexico, and visit-their families seasonally. Respond-

ents would go further to have the classification include

all lawful permanent residents who visit their families

either daily or seasonally. Either order would violate

the legislative intent of Congress, which has ratified

the present and past policy of the Immigration and Nat-

uralization Service to allow lawful permanent residents —

to work in the United States, have their families reside

in Mexico or Canada and visit them on a daily or sea-

sonal basis. This policy was first established in 1924,

and has continued up to the present time. It is accom-

Bustos v. Mitchell, 481 F.2d 479 (D.C. Cir. 1973), affected

150,000 out of a work force of 210,000, or 71.4%. See also the

statistics in a note entitled “Computers, Illegals and American

Farm Labor Problem”, at 48 NYU Law Review 339, 466.

’Petition of Elliot L. Richardson, pp. 11 and 12.

plished by the Service equating employment with resi-

dence so that the lawful permanent resident aliens

involved can take advantage of the informal docu-

mentary waiver provisions of 8 USC 1181(b), and 8

CFR. 211.1(b)(1), available for all lawful permanent

residents defined by 8 USC 1101(a)(27)(b). The order

made by- the Court below and/or requested by Re-

spondents would also violate the procedural due process

rights of the lawful permanent residence aliens in that

it would subject them to deportation or exclusion pro-

ceedings with a conclusive presumption of deportabil-

ity, which they could not rebut by the introduction of

other evidence.

The policy of the Attorney General of classifying

lawful permanent resident aliens into commuters and

noncommuters for purposes of enforcing certain immi-

gration regulations, such as the labor dispute provision

of 8 CFR 211.1(b)(1), is unlawful. Such a classifica-

tion is not rationally related to the administration of the

Immigration and Nationality Act.

Finally, daily or seasonal visits by lawful permanent

resident aliens, who are employed in the United States,

to their families who reside in Mexico, are not depar-

tures from the United States which can be regarded

as meaningfully interruptive of the alien’s permanent

residence under the authority of Rosenberg v. Fleuti

374, US 449. Since such visits are not “entries” within

the meaning of 8 USC 1101(a)(13), they cannot be

used as a basis for bringing eases or exclusion

proceedings.

cee eee

oS

ARGUMENT.

I. '

An Order That the Petitioner Classify as Nonimmigrants

All Lawful Permanent Resident Aliens Who Are

Employed in the United States, Have Their Fami-

lies Reside in Mexico, and Visit Their Families

Daily or Seasonally, Would Be Unlawful.

A. Respondents Seek Such an Unlawful Order From This

Court. ;

Paramount to any argument is a clarification of the

order which Respondents seek.

First, the order is to affect aliens who are lawful

permanent residents of the United States.* Any lawful

permanent resident alien would have been issued an im-

migrant visa, pursuant to 22 CFR 42.124. Such an alien

would have then had to enter the United States, and a

record of lawful admission for permanent residence

would have had to have been created under 8 USC

1230(a). Such a procedure would have been recorded

on form I-181, and only then would the alien have been

issued his alien registration receipt card, form I-151.

Gordon & Rosenfield, Immigration Law and Procedure,

§6.17(a).

Second, the order affects an alien, after admission

for permanent residence, who: (1) was employed in the

United States; (2) had members of his family residing

in and/or a family home in Mexico or Canada; and,

(3) visited this home either daily or seasonally while

employed in the United States.*

- The Court of Appeals below held that the status of

such a lawful permanent resident alien would be re-

4Respondent’s Cross-Petition, p. 10.

niles

scinded, and he should be classified as a nonimmigrant

under 8 USC 1101(a)(15)(h) of the Act, as long as

his visits to his family are seasonal and not daily.

Bustos v. Mitchell, 481 F.2d 479, 484 ? C. Cir. 1973),

footnote 14 emphasized.

Respondents go further. They wish the status of all

lawful permanent resident aliens rescinded whether

they visit their families in Mexico on a daily or seasonal

basis. (Cross-Petition, p. 16.)

B. Any Affirmation of the Order Made by the Circuit Court

Below, or the Granting of the Order Requested by Respond-

ents, Would Violate the Legislative Intent of Congress as

Shown by Its Ratification of Past Policy of the Immigra-

tion and Naturalization Service.

For the past 40 years, the Immigration and Naturali-

zation Service has allowed a lawful permanent resident

alien to work in the United States,° have his family

reside in Mexico or Canada, and commute over the

border for visits on either a daily or seasonal basis.

A good summary of the rationale behind. this policy

is found in Matter of Burciaga-Salcedo, 11 I&N Dec.

665, 666 and 667, as follows:

“For generations prior to the Immigration Act of

1924, native and foreign-born citizens of foreign con-

tiguous territory living there came daily to work in the

United States and then returned to their homes. Im-

mediately before the passage of the Immigration Act of

1924, they had been admitted as visitors on the basis

of visitor’s laws which were valid for a year and were

good for successive applications for temporary admis-

5For purposes of convenience, the Immigration and Naturaliza-

tion Service will be sapecmnnes: referred to as the “Service”.

ae, Se

sion. Passage of the 1924 Act raised a question as to

whether a commuter was an immigrant rather than a

visitor. The Act termed an alien an immigrant unless

he proved he was a nonimmigrant. (An immigrant

needed an immigrant visa—it was good for one entry

only and could be issued only under restrictions not

applicable to the issuance of nonimmigrant visas.) The

nonimmigrant category pertinent to this discussion was

that of the alien coming as a temporary visitor for

‘business’. In this category the commuter was adminis-

tratively first placed, permitting him to follow his reg-

ular employment in the United States and reside in

foreign contiguous territory. Reluctance to disturb a

long-standing custom, and reluctance to affect the deli-

cate balance which existed between the United States

and the contiguous countries dictated the decision.

However, the pressure of other factors soon brought a

change—there was a lack of specific law authorizing

the entry of commuters as nonimmigrants, foreign-born

_ citizens of contiguous territories who because of quota

limitations could not obtain immigrant visas to enter

the United States were, nevertheless, entering daily to

work as commuters, and, there was rising unemploy-

ment in the United States—these factors gave rise to

an administrative ruling that made the entry of com-

muters inore difficult.

In 1927, it was administratively decided that under

the 1924 Act an alien coming to work in the United

States must be considered as an immigrant. (He could

be admitted only if he had an immigrant visa and ap-

plied for admission for permanent residence.) Strict

enforcement of this ruling would have seriously af-

fected the livelihood of smany on both sides of the _

border, the functioning of border cities, and the exist-

‘ ~—-S-

ence of friendly relations with the border nations. A

compromise arose which followed the form of the law

yet permitted a limited continuance of the commuter

status. It was to treat the commuter who obtained an

immigrant visa as if he lived in the United States al-

though he continued to live in the contiguous terri-

tory.

An alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence

and domiciled in the United States could be issued a

border crossing card which authorized him to make- a

temporary visit to foreign continguous territory and to

return to his home in the United States without pre-

senting a new visa or other immigration document,

therefore, why not require the commuter to obtain an

immigrant visa, admit him for permanent residence, is-

sue him a border crossing card, and then permit him,

if he did not desire to live in the United States, . to

return to his home in foreign contiguous territory and

to enter the United States daily on his border crossing

card.on the theory that he was returning from a tem-

porary visit to contiguous territory? This arrangement

was adopted in 1927.

There were difficulties in treating a commuter as. if

he was a domiciled alien. The alien actually domiciled

in the United States attempting to enter as a returning

resident with a border crossing card after a temporary

visit outside the United States lost his right to reenter

unless he established that he at all times maintained

the intention of ‘returning to his domicile in the United

States. The commuter did not have a domicile in the

United States and in many cases had no intention of

moving here, was he therefore to be unrestricted in his

right to reenter? The administrative solution was to

equate employment with domicile. Then whether the

siuclbiinas

e United States and whether he had

the intention of working in the United

States. ThyS equality of treatment of the commuter and

domiciled alien resulted in the ruling that since the

domiciled alien lost his right to reenter the United

States on a border crossing card if he was absent

more than six months, the commuter lost his right to

reenter on a border crossing card if he was unem-

ployed for more than six months.

To treat the commuter as if he were a domicifed

alien was a necessary if awkward fiction which per-

mitted the practice to continue, but it was at odds with

the administrative desire to have commuters make

their homes in the United States. Soon rules concerning

inspection and entry arose which made the commuter

realize that not only would it be more convenient to

live in the United States than to commute, but that

loss of the right to enter the United States as a com-

muter could occur without his fault and even despite

his intention to retain the right. Thus, the conclusive

presumption arose that a commuter unemployed in the

United States for more than six months had abandoned

his intention to enter as a commuter—he could be re-

admitted to the United States to work only if he had

a new immigrant visa. This conclusive presumption,

with one exception, applied:even though the commuter

had retained the intention to commute and even

though he had entered in the meantime to search for

employment. This treatment was in contrast to that

given the domiciled alien temporarily absent from the

United States for more than six months; he, if he had

not abandoned the intention to return, could be read-

eal

mitted as a returning resident upon a waiver of the

documentary requirements.

An exception to the conclusive presumption was

made in the case of the commuter outside the United

States for more than six months because of illness,

accident, or pregnancy,With this background in mind,

we may consider the facts in the case before us and the

precedent decisions.”*

This equation of employment with domicile was

actually in accordance‘with the 1924 Act, which except-

- ed from any quota resttictions aliens previously lawfully

admitted to the United States as immigrants, returning

after a temporary visit abroad. See §4(b) of the 1924

Act, 43 Statutes 155.

The classic set of decisions interpreting this section

came in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Cir-

cuit with Judge Learned Hand sitting on the panel.

In Lesto v. Day, 21 F.2d 307 (2nd Cir., 1927), the

Court said, at pp. 308 and 309, as follows:

“Without attempting a complete definition of ‘a

temporary visit,’ we may say that we ff the

intention of the departing immigrant must be to

return within a period relatively short fixed by

some early event.” _ 7

This was followed by Judge Hand’s decision in

Transatlantica Italiana v. Elting, 66 F.2d 542 (2d

Cir. 1933). The Court had to decide whether or not

fines should be remitted in over 100 cases where

*A more complete history of this background is found’ in

ther ese in the Fields: The ‘Green Card Commuter’ Under the Im-

ation and Naturalization Laws”, 21 Stanford Law pono

780 (1969); 48 NYU Law Review 439, supra; brief of

th Ramsey Clark, et al., in Gooch v. Clark; 24788, 24791,

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. © :

LPL ARETE LE LESLIE TELLER IDOLOS IE NRE BECO NON TET

sic Biases

Italian aliens, who had been lawfully admitted for per-

manent residence, were held as “not returning from a

temporary absence abroad” and were, therefore, ex-

cludable. There are printed in the Appendix the cases

found on pages 546 through 552 of the Opinion, where

it was ruled the aliens were returning from a temporary

absence abroad. The importance is that in each of these

cases, Italian aliens immigrated to the United States

for purposes of employment, kept their families in Italy,

visited them on a regular basis and were still held to

be returning from a temporary visit abroad. The ration-

ale was that the alien, while in Italy, had a fixed intent

to return to the United States at a date certain and

carried out that intent.’

This same rationale is seen in General Order No. 86,

issued by the Service in 1927.° Sections 4 and 5 forced

aliens living along the border who worked in the United

States, to obtain immigrant visas, but did not require

them to intend to establish, or in fact establish, the resi-

dence of their families in the United States. The Su-

preme Court, in turn, in Karnuth v. United States ex

rel. Albro, 279 U.S. 231 (1929), sustained the validity

of General Order No. 86.

“After General Order No. 86 of 1927 the com-

muter regulations prior to 1952 had been greatly

condensed and finally consisted of a single sen-

tence:

‘Aliens entering the. United States to engage in

existing employment or to seek employment in this

country and who desire to continue to reside in

7For a similar holding, sce Serpico v. Trudell, 46 F.2d 669

(D.C. Vt. 1928).

SA_verbatim copy of General Order No. 86 is set out in the

Appendix.

a |

foreign contiguous territory will be considered as

aliens of the immigrant class.’

“After 1952 the substance of former 8 CFR

110.6 was republished as an internal Operations

Instruction. The real ‘rules’ had been and continue

to be the body of published administrative deci-

sions on commuter cases. At any rate, on and °

after December 24, 1952, thousands of resident

alien border-crossing card holders were permitted

to cross the border on their way to work each

day without interruption.”

Set forth in the Appendix is the result of a study

of cases of the Board of Immigration Appeals, each one

of which involves the exclusion of a lawful permanent

resident alien whose family lived on the Mexican or

Canadian side of the border. Each of.these cases recog-

nized the principle that a lawful permanent resident

alien can be employed in the United States and still

maintain a homé for his family in Mexico or Canada.

‘ The difference in result is caused solely by the duration

of employment. :

The present policy of Petitioner is reflected in the

Petition for Certiorari, pages 6 and 7, and the. Stipula-

tion of Facts set out on pages 34 and 35. Petitioner al-

lows lawful permanent resident aliens to be employed in

the United States, have their families reside in Mexico,

visit them daily or seasonally, and be readmitted to the

United States by presenting form I-151 at the border.’®

*Brief of Appellee, Attorney General, Gooch v. Clark, supra,

pp. 42 and 43.

10The fact that the Service tried to limit the activities of “com- »

muter” aliens through the enactment of the labor dispute provision

of 8 CFR 211.1(b)(1) in 1967 will be discussed later.

eeeeeetieee Eee eee

win Din

C. Congress Has Ratified the Present Policy of the Service to

Allow Lawful Permanent Resident Aliens Who Are Em-

ployed in the United States but Whose Families Live in

Mexico or Canada the Privilege of the Informal Docu-

mentary Waiver Provisions of 8 USC 1181(b) and 8 CFR

211.1(b) (1).

As has, been previously pointed out, from 1927 to the

present date, the Service has followed the polity of al-

lowing lawful permanent residents to be employed in the

United States, have their families reside in Mexico or

Canada, and be allowed the documentary waiver provi-—

sions of 8 USC 1181(b) and 8 CFR 211.1(b)(1). This

was done in 1927 by General Order No. 86, which

confirmed the practice as consistent with the statutory

language of §4(b) of the Act. This defined a nonquota

immigrant as “an immigrant previously lawfully admit-

ted to the United States who is returning from a tem-

porary visit aboard.” The present practice is based on

§1101(a)(27)(b) of the Act, which allows the infor-

mal documentary waiver provisions of 8 USC 1181(b)

and 8 CFR 211.1(b)(1) for an alien lawfully admitted

for permanent residence who is returning from a tem-

porary visit abroad.

Respondents urge this Court to hold that this prac-

tice of the Service violates the statutory language of 8

USC 1101(a){27)(b). Certainly, when an alien who

is employed in the United States, leaves to spend one or

a series of 1,ights with his family across the border, his

stay ihere is temporary because he intends to come

back to resume employment. “ ‘When statutes are suscep-

tible of different readings, it is practically axiomatic

that ‘administrative interpretation practice and usage is

accorded great weight as an extrinsic aid in interpreta-

tion of statutes by courts.’ 3 Sutherland, Statutory —

Neabhccs

Construction, 6605 (Third Edition) 1943; Halvering v.

Winmill, 305 U.S. 79; 59 Supreme Court 45; 83 Law-

yers Edition 52 (1938). Such deference is paid by the

courts, especiully when the construction placed upon

a statute by the administrative agency is contempor-

aneous with its enactment; the practice is long stand-

ing; or, the agency suggested the legislation subsequent-

ly enacted.” Lindberg v. Brenner, Ite F.2d 990 (D.C.

Cir. 1968)."

Since 1950, there have been numerous congressional

hearings where “the commuter system” has been dis-

cussed. Three separate bills.have been introduced which

would ‘affect “the commuter system”.’* Certainly, with

the number of congressional hearings exploring the

commuter system as affected by the decision of Gooch

v. Clark, 433 F.2d 74 (9th Cir. 1970), no one can

accuse Congress of ignoring the problem.

In 1973, the House of Represent&tives passed the

most complete revision of the Immigration and Nation-

ality Act since 1965, HR 981 and HR 982." The re-

marks of the chairman, the Honorable ‘Peter W. Ro-

dino, Jr., are made part of the Appendix. There is

nothing either in HR 981, HR 982, or the remarks of

Chairman Rodino to indicate Congress wishes to change

the present “commuter system”. Since the practice is

longstanding and is known by Congress, which has

made no effort to change it, the agency practice has

been ratified. Y |

See also Massachusetts Trustees of Eastern Gas & Fuel As-

sociate v. United States, 377 U.S. 235 (1964).

%A summary of all the hearings as well as legisla-

tion to end the commuter system is set forth in 21 Stanford Law

Review 1750, supra, and 48 NYU Law Review 440, supra.

. 948 NYU Law Review at 476 through 480, supra.

“HR 981 passed the House on September 26, 1973; HR 982

passed on May 3. 1973. Both are now pending in the Senate

Subcommittee on Immigration of the Judiciary Committee.

Beas Bee

D. Recent Court Decisions Would Allow the Equation of

Employment With Residence for the Purpose of Defining

Aliens Within the Coverage of 8 USC 1101(a)(27)(b).

Barrese v. Ryan, 203 F.Supp. 880 (District of Con-

necticut, 1962) and Tejada v. United States Immigra-

tion and Naturalization Serv., 346 F.2d 385 (9th Cir.

1965) both deal with the definition of an alien within

the coverage of 8 USC 1101(a)(27)(b). Barrese was

a Canadian who worked in the United States and regu-

larly visited his sisters in Canada. He would stay in Can-

ada two weeks to 30 days at a time, but leave clothes

in the United States. He was held to be a lawful perma-

nent resident alien who was returning after a temporary

absence abroad.

Tejada was a lawful permanent resident who left the

United States for the Philippines in 1946 and reentered

in 1962. The issue was whether or not his original eight-

een month absence was of such sufficient duration so

\ as not to be considered “temporary” within the meaning

| of 8 USC 1101(a)(27)(b) and 8 USC 1181(b). Al

though Tejada’s family was in the Philippines and his

only tie to the United States was employment, the court

ruled that as a matter of Jaw;~he migla»be eligible for

reentry and remanded the matter for further ad-

ministrative findings.

In Cermeno-Cerna v, Farrell, 291 F.Supp. 521 (C.D.

Calif. 1968), fifteen lawful permanent resident aliens

challenged the legality of their arrest and subsequent

deportation proceedings under the labor dispute provi-

sions of 8 CFR 211.1(b)(1). They were arrested be-

cause the Immigration Service contended they were |

“commuters” who worked in the United States, but lived

in Mexico where their families resided. The Court held

nk Gem

the aliens were within the provisions of 8 USC 1101

~~ (a)(27)(b); and, thus, 4 deportable, because of the

following evidence:

“The evidence as eee by each of the

individual plaintiffs shows, that each have been

admitted for permanent residence in the United -

States and when leaving /their residence, either

from labor camps supplied by their employers or

from rented homes, they left belongings in the

United States and in each instance intended to

return after a vacation to rest and visit with their

‘families and friends.” aa F.Supp. at 530.

» Finally, when a statute is capable of several mean-

ings, recent court decisions have affirmed a policy of

giving that meaning to it which would prevent deporta-

tion or exclusion.

“Although it is not penal in character and not

subject to the constitutional inhibition against the

passage of an ex post facto law, deportation is a

drastic measure, at times the equivalent of banish-

ment or exile, for which reason deportation stat-

utes should be given the narrowest of the several

possible meanings.” [cites omitted] United States

vy. Lehmann, 239 F.2d 963, 666 (6th Cir. 1956).

In summary, even if one c oricedes that 8 USC 1101

-(a)(27)(b) is capable of tw different meanings, one

equating employment with idence; and the other

against such an equation, the fact that the latter would

mean deportation or at of thousands of aliens

should be sufficient to Greve its vas 9 He

Sia

ph. ~ sy

For a atari discussion of the ipardshi ithe end of the “com-

muter” program might cause, see 48 NY w Review at 475-6. a.

— UL a oe

GOL LA LSEAO RLM LNG ELON oe easton: ts ow 4 eee

a NREL? CPE MRO

,

® a, — .

een verceecacemamenermeenes etre as heer:

rf

Pa

” i

oi

nial Mess

E. The Order Made by the Court Below and/or the Order

Proposed by Respondents That the Immigration Service

Classify as Nonimmigrants All Lawful Permanent Resident

Aliens Who Are Employed in the United States, Have Their

Families Residing in Mexico and Visit Them Daily or

Seasonally, Would Violate the Procedural Due Process

Rights of the Aliens Affected.

The court below in Bustos v. Mitchell, supra, held

that all lawful permanent. resident aliens which fit into

the court’s definition of seasonal commuters, must im-

mediately be considered as nonimmigrants by the Serv-

ice for ‘purposes of enforcing the Immigration Act. 481

_F.2d at 484. Respondents, in their Petition, ask that the

order be éxpanded to affect all lawful permanent resi-

dent aliens which are classified as daily and seasonal

commuters. The Attorney General, in judging the im-

pact of these statements, has said that “if the seasonal

commuter} system is illegal, the Service must move to

pick up all alien registration receipt cards of aliens

adversely affected bythe decision and to deny them re-

posed’ by Respondents, would violate the procedural. .

dué process rights of the lawful permanent resident

aliens involved, by establishing in deportation and/or

exclusion proceedings a conclusive presumption that

any lawful permanent resident alien whose actual dwell-

ing place in fact, without regard to intent, is—in—a

foreign contiguous country and who contmutes daily :

or seasonally to work in the United States is not within

Ee ae Se IE I LRT PME NSO ee

ae va

the coverage of 1101(a)(27)(b) of the Act regardless

of any other evidence which might be produced to the

contrary. 481 F.2d at 482."°

In the Japanese Immigrant Case, 189 U.S. 86, 100

to 101 (1903), this court in emphatic and unmistak-

able terms rejected any supposition that deportation

could be ordered without a fair hearing for the alien

involved. The Eight Circuit in Whitfield v. Hanjes, 222

Fed. 745 (8th Cir. 1915), discussed the Japanese Im-

migrant Case, supra, and summarized the essential ele-

ments of a fair hearing at page 749 as follows:

“Indispensable requisites of a fair hearing ac-

cording to these fundamental principles are that

the course of the proceedings shall be appropriate

to the case and just to the party affected; that the

accused shall be notified of the nature of the

charge against him in time to meet it; that he shall

have such an opportunity to be heard that he may,

if he chooses, cross-examine the witnesses against

him, that he may have time and opportunity, after

all the evidence against him is produced and

known to him, to produce evidence and witnesses

to refute it; that the decision shall be governed

by and based upon the evidence at the hearing, and

that only; and that the decision shall not be with-

out substantial evidence taken at the hearing to

support it.”

164mici agree that it would be possible for a lawful perma-

nent resident alien to lose contact with the United States in such

a way that he would not be returning from a temporary absence

abroad; and, therefore, would be deportable and/or excludable.

But certainly, the requirements of procedural due process would

prevent any conclusive presumptions in an administrative hearing ©

and would give the Alien the right to present all evidence in his

behalf.

ha itiataentied betas 7 bl a haa Sh a ee pt a

. fori

Fa

/ ‘

|) SPAR eR DOTEROE REY EARS

>

winlliia:

This Court has followed these decisions in giving the

same protection of procedural due process to Jawful

permanent resident aliens as to citizens. In Bridges v.

Wixson, 326 U.S. 135, it ruled that the alien had been

ordered deported without a fair hearing and reversed

the judgment of the court below. Justice Murphy con-

curring, stated that a lawful permanent resident alien

was “. . . invested with the rights guaranteed by the

Constitution to all people within our borders. Such

rights include those protected by the First and Fifth

Amendments and by the due process clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment.” 326 U.S. at 161.

In Kowag Hai Chew v. Colding, 344 U.S. 590

(1952), this Court held that a lawful permanent resi-

dent alien who went outside the United States on a

vessel of American registry, with its home port in the

United States, and upon completion of such voyage re-

turned on such vessel to the United States was, from a

constitutional point of view, a person entitled to pro-

cedural due process under aie Amendment. What _

is important is that the court held this to be true for

- purposes of both a deportation and/or an exclusion

hearing. 344 U.S. at pages 600 to 602.

More recently, in Graham v. Richardson, 403 U.S.

365, 376, this’Court held that “. . . a state statute

elfaré benefits to resident aliens and one

to aliens who have not resided in the

States for a specified number of years, violate

equal protection clause.”

These cases ‘illustrate the vice of the blanket order

ade by thé cautt-bélow_ and/or urged by Respond-

ar a ae that would conclusively prevent law-

ful permanent fesident, aliens from producing evidence

IE Pt pe IP

nulla i

to show that they were in fact within the coverage of

8 USC 1101(a)(27)(b) would violate procedural due

process of law.

: Il.

The Policy of the Attorney General of Classifying Law- .

ful Permanent Resident Aliens Into Commuters

and Noncommuters for Purposes of Enforcing the

Immigration Act, Is Unlawful.

Although the Service acknowledges that all lawful

permanent resident aliens should receive the benefits

of the documentary waiver provisions of 8 USC 1181

(b) and 8 CFR 211.1(b)(1),” it still claims the right

to classify lawful permanent resident aliens into com-

muters and noncommuters for purposes of enforcement

of other parts of the Immigration and Nationality Act.

For example, the labor dispute provision of 8 CFR

211.1(b)(1), is acknowledged by Petitioner in the

Stipulation of Facts to bé applicable to “commuter”

lawful permanent resident aliens only.”

The question of the validity of this provision was

raised by the Circuit Court below in Bustos v. Mitchell,

supra, when it asked “. . . does 8 CFR 211.1(b)(1)

(1972) permit commuters to enter the country to take

employment where a labor dispute exists even if they

have previously been employed there?” 481 F.2d at

481. The question of the validity of the Service’s posi-

tion on this regulation was raised by Respondent in its

Cross-Petition on pages 6 and 8.

In Sam Andrews’ Sons v. Mitcheil, supra, the Ninth

Circuit held this labor dispute provision illegal.’* The

17Gooch v. Clark, supra.

'8Petition of AttorneyGeneyal, pp. 35-37. :

19Jt should be noted that Justice Wright, who wrote the dis-

sent in Gooch v. Clark, supra, joined the unanimous panel in

holding this provision illegal.

le ie

eS

—21—

Court first noted that the labor dispute regulation and

the Government’s interpretation and application of it

created two distinctions: “. . . first and primarily, the

distinction between the commuter who works for a

certified employer and the commuter who does not;

and second, the distinction between the commuter and

otherwise similar §1101(a)(27)(b) immigrants who

permanently reside in the United States.” 457 F.2d at

748. The Court held that in accordance with Fook

Hong Mak v. Immigration and Naturalization Service,

435 F.2d 730 (2nd Cir. 1970), the Attorney Gen-

eral had the right to make regulations on considerations

rationally related to the statute he is administering, but

it held that the classifications made by the Service in

this case were not rationally related to the administra-

tion of the Immigration and Nationality Act. At page

748 it stated as follows:

' “Nothing in the statute or its legislative history

supports continuing regulation of alien laborers

by the Secretary of Labor or by the Attorney Gen-

eral. Cermeno-Cerna v. Farrell, 291 F.Supp. 521, ~

528 (C.D., Cal., 1968). Congress empowered the

Secretary and the Attorney General to regulate the

initial entry of an alien into the United States,

but once a commuter has been lawfully admitted,

he may ‘make regular entrances into the United

States as an immigrant “lawfully admitted for per-

manent residence, who is returning from a tem-

porary visit abroad.” ’ Gooch, supra, 433 F.2d at

81. i

There is nothing in the statute or its legislative

history intimating that Congress intended the

green card system to be used as a means of Gov- ’

_ernment intervention in domestic labor disputes.”

nabs

As to the argument that the distinction could be

discretion, it held that “. . . there is no rational basis

to distinguish between commuters and resident $1101

(a)(27)(b) immigrants, as the District Court recog-

-nized that the commuter and the resident alien have

the same immigration status.” 452 F.2d at 749. It con-

cluded, citing Graham y. Richardson, supra, as follows:

“The commuter when on the job in the United

States is entitled to full constitutional protection.

‘His constitutional status is not terminated, altered

‘ or diminished because he spends the night across

the border. See Kwong Hai Chew, supra. Such a

departure is merely a ‘temporary visit abroad.’

Gooch, supra, 433 F.2d at 79-81.” 457 F.2d at

749.”

Amici urges the Court to affirm the decision of the

Ninth Circuit in Sam Andrews’ Sons v. Mitchell, supra.

Such/affirmation could prevent the Service from cate-

gotizing those lawful permanent resident aliens who

had not moved their families to the United States as

“commuters” and enacting discriminatory regulations

against them, such as the labor dispute provision of 8

CFR 211.1(b)(1). At the same time, such affirmation

could prevent orgaizations, such as those represented

by Respondents from pressuring the Service into dis-

criminating between lawful permanent residents when

such discrimination might be to their advantage.

2°When the court used the term “constitutional protection”, it

did not explain whether it was talking about procedural due

process or substantive due process. Because of the problems in-

volved in granting substantive due process to aliens (Bridges v.

Wixon, supra; Harisiades v. Shaughnessy, 342 US 580 [1952]),

and because the Court decided that the regulation violated the.

legislative intent of Congress, we have not reached the questicn“

of whether or not the classification violates the constitutional

rights of the aliens involved.

a th a

. Ill.

Daily or Seasonal Visits by Lawful Permanent Resident

Aliens, Who Are Employed in the United States, to

Their Families Who Reside in Mexico, Are Not

Departures From the United States Which Can

Be Regarded as Meaningfully Interruptive of the

Aliens’ Permanent Residence.

In Rosenberg v. Fleuti, 374 U.S. 449, this Court

considered the issue of whether a permanent residence

alien’s return to the United States from his a#fernoon

trip to Ensenada, Mexico, constituted an “entry” with-

in the meaning of §101(a)(13) of the Immigration

and Nationality Act of 1952, 66 Stat. 167, 8 USC

§$1101(a)(13), such that said alien was excludable

for a condition existing at that time even though he

had been permanently and continuously a resident in.

this country for several years prior thereto.** More

specifically, the Court considered whether the alien’s

short visit to Mexico could be regarded as a “departure

to a foreign port or place . . . [that] was not in-

tended” within the meaning of the exception to the term

“entry” created by said statute. The Court concluded,

at page 462:——.

21Section 101(a)(13) provides:

“The term ‘entry’ means any coming of an alien into the

United States, from a foreign port or place or from an out-

lying possession, whether voluntarily or otherwise, except

that an alien having a lawful permanent residence in the

United States shall not be regarded as making an entry into

the United States for the purposes of the immigration laws if

the alien proves to the satisfaction of the Attorney General

that his departure to a foreign port or place or to an outlying

session was not intended or reasonably to be expected by

im or his presence in a foreign port or place or in an

cutlying possession was not voluntary: Provided, That no

“erson whose departure from the United States was occa-

sioned by deportation proceedings, extradition, or other legal

process shall be held to be entitled to such exception.”

cae,” Ware

“We conclude, then, that it effectuates congres-

sional purpose to construe the intent exception to

§101(a)(13) as meaning an intent to depart in

a manner which can be regarded as meaningfully

interruptive of the alien’s permanent residence. °

One major factor relevant to whether such intent

can be inferred is, of course, the length of time

_ the alien is absent. Another is the purpose of the

visit, for if the purpose of leaving the country is

to accomplish some object which is itself contrary

to some policy reflected in our immigration laws,’

it would appear that the interruption of residence »

thereby occurring would properly be regarded as

meaningful. Still another is whether the alien has

to procure any travel documents in order to make

his trip, since the need to obtain such items

might well cause the alien to consider more fully

the implications involved in his leaving the coun-

try. Although the operation of these and other~

possibly. relevant factors remains to be developed

‘by the gradual process of judicial inclusion and

exclusion,’ Davidson v. New Orleans, 96 U.S. 97,

104, we declare today simply that an innocent,

casual, and brief excursion by a resident alien

outside this country’s borders may not have been

‘intended’ as a departure disruptive of his resi-

dent alien status and therefore may not subject

him to the a of an ‘entry’ into the

country on his return. .

Since Fleuti was decided i in 1963, there has been

“development as to the above-mentioned relevant fac-

: tors. “by the gradual process-of judicial inclusion and

<<

BS TEL FIN TH LZ AND RAE Ny SOMO TS I Se

oP ae aE ATI ANI ITS “NT i RR gE mene

PAR Pe MELT VEIT EE RR RIM:

acne pe 3c AP RS ei ca tg oe

eee, | ee

exclusion.” In Toon-Ming Wong v. Immigration and

Naturalization Service, 363. F.2d 234 (9th Cir. 1966),

petitioner sought review of the order of Board of Im-

migration Appeals denying his motion to reopen de- .

portation proceedings and permit him to apply for sus-

pension of deportation under the provisions of §244

(a) of the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 USC

1254(a) (Supp. 1965). On instructions of his foster

father, the alien, then 16, accompanied the daughter

of the foster parent to her home in Canada to assist

with her children during the journey. The intention

was that the alien would return to his home in the

United States within a week or two, and resume his

high school studies. However, because ofan illness

in the family, the daughter asked that the alien remain

to help-her, and the alien’s foster father agreed. The

alien remained at his foster sister’s Canadian home for

six months before returning to the United States. The

Court concluded that the alien’s minority was a rele-

vant circumstance, and remanded the case for certain

factual and legal determinations. Of particular impor-

tance, was fhe Court’s holding that the opinion of

the Board of Immigration Appeals that a six-months’

absence barred relief as a matter of law was in error.

The Court, at page 236, stated:

“The length of absence is relevant, but not

alone determinative.””

+

The following absences have been held not to be meaning-

fully interruptive of the alien’s permanent residence: 2-hours, Git

Foo Wong v. Immigration and Naturalization Service, 358 F.2d

151 (9th Cir. 1966); S-days, Wadman v. Immigration and

Naturalization Service, 329 F.2d 812 (9th Cir. 1964); and, 1-

week, Zimmerman v. Lehmann, 339 F.2d 943 (7th Cir. 1965).

Seventeen years has been held to be meaningfully interruptive in

Gamero v. Immigration and Naturalization Service,.Los Angeles

Dist., 367 F.2d 123 (9th Cir. 1966).

ba

PE OS Oe

mer ae

It would appear that “judicial inclusion” is increas-

ing. In Itzcovitz v. Selective Service Local Bd., No. 6,

N.Y., N.Y., 447 F.2d 888 (2d Cir. 1971), a per-

manent resident alien sought declaratory relief to enable

him to reenter the United States after a proposed busi-

ness trip to Israel without being subjected to exclusion

proceedings. The Court, at pages 893-94, held:

“. . . The time factor is, to be sure, longer

than in Zimmerman, Wadman or Fleuti, but it is

still limited to three weeks, and is fairly charac-

terized as only temporary. The purpose of Itzco-

vitz’s planned trip is in a real sense for the bene-

fit of his employer; he is not merely vacation-

ing, as were the petitioners in the other cases just

mentioned. True, he doesn’t have to go, but

whether he would be able to keep his job, much

less advance himself, without going to Tel Aviv is

doubtful. In any event, he has been directed by

his employer to go. In a general sense Itzcovitz

‘intends’ to go to Tel Aviv, just as Fleuti intended

to go to Mexico. But appellant is not in the pos-

ture of having taken the trip in disregard of the

immigration consequences; rather he has here

sought relief in advance. The purpose of his trip

is entirely bona fide, honorable and lawful. He has

every intention of retaining permanently his resi-

dence in the United States. And, indeed, the sole

purpose of the three week trip is to qualify him

for more useful employment service as he con-

tinues his permanent residence. Under these cir-

' cumstances—and we consider them limited—we

do not think a ant’s trip to Tel Aviv ‘will be

‘meaningfully interruptive’ of his permanent resi-

4

7

rw

eae, 3a

dence ‘within the meaning and ameliorative intent

of the exception to §101(a)(13).’ Rosenberg v.

Fleuti, supra, 347 U.S. at 461, 462, 83 S.Ct. at

1812.”

In Matter of Janati-Ataie, Int. Dec. #2170 (1927),

the Board of Immigration Appeals went further. In this

case, the permanent resident alien, an Iranian, returned

to Iran in 1965 to visit his parents and was absent |

from the United States for a period of 35 days; and,

in 1968 he made a second trip to Iran to introduce his °

wife and child to his parents, and he was absent from

the United States for a period of 30 days. The Board

concluded that the alien did not make “an entry” into

the United States after either of these visits; at ‘Page V%

it pointed to the following: f

“All the cases since Fleuti, both before this

Board and the courts, cited above and others, in-

dicate quite clearly that no one factor is conclusive

as to whether there was a meaningful interruption .

of the alien’s legal permanent residence status, but

they further indicate that most careful considera-

tion must be given to the intent factor. The im-

portance of the ‘intent’ element has been empha-

sized in all recent cases regarding entry. |

“It is our opinion. that the respondent in the in-

stant case did not make an entry when he returned

from the two trips to Iran. The length of time he

was away was a reasonable minimum time in

which to travel to Iran for a visit with his parents.

Also, this Board has never held that the distance

from the United States of the country to which the

alien goes is determinative, considering the~swift

jet airplane travel available.

©

—28— .

“It is true that the respondent did have fo renew

_ his Iranian passport, but here again no one factor

is controlling. His intent not to interrupt or aban-

don permanent residence is indicated by the follow-

ing facts: That his trips were of relatively short

duration, that he had both real and personal prop- -

erty here, that he had an established home here,

that he had a permanent steady job to which he

was returning, that his wife and child, both

United States citizens, are living with him here,

and that the purpose of his trips was to visit his

parents.” ; c.

However, at the request of the Commissioner of Im-

migration and Naturalization, the Attorney General of

the United States reviewed this decision and reached

the opposite conclusion. /d. at pages 16-19.

The Board of Immigration Appeals has even gone

so far as to hold that a permanent resident alien need

only be physically present in the United States for more

than six months in the aggregate during a particular

year for creating the inference that there is no intent to

depart in a manner which can be regarded as meaning-

fully interruptive ofthe alien’s permanent residence. In

Matter of Hoffman-Arvayo, Int. Dec. #2095 (1971),

the alien admitted for permanent residence maintained

living quarters in the United States while gainfully em-

ployed for 5 days each week and visited his family in

Mexico on intermittent weekends.”

In the instant case, an important issue is whether y

daily or seasonal visits by lawfu! permanent resident —

aliens, who are employed in the United States, to their

families who reside in Mexico, are departures from

28The Board held there was no “entry” because of the “Fleuti”

atiaiaaai nti PMID MOOTED

i.

the United States which can be regarded as meaningful-

‘ly interruptive of the aliens’ permanent residence. Ap-

plying Fleuti and related authority, it should be clear

that permanent resident aliens who remain in the United

States for at least six months, whether at one time or

in the aggregate in the case of those who live in the

United States during the work week, have not mean-

ingfully interrupted their residence. For, the length of

their stay abroad is not excessive; they have not left

+ es purpose inconsistent with the immigration laws;

ey do not require special travel documents; and, they

intend to return to the United States. Also, regarding

those aliens who live in Mexico and daily commute to

the United States to work, if work is equated with

residence, their departures, too, cannot be regarded as

meaningfully interruptive of their permanent residence.

The court below in Bustos, 481 F.2d at 484, and

Respondents held that “commuter” -aliens. are deport-

able because “each and every time an alien enters

the United States, his entry must be legal as of that

time.” Since “commuter” aliens are not within th:

coverage of 8 USC 1101(a)(27)(b), they cannot be

“the beneficiaries of the informal documentary waiver

provisions of 8 USC 1181(b), and their entries can-

not be legal. However, this question is never reached

if these aliens never make an “entry” under 8 USC

1101(a)(20) under the saving provisions of the Fleuti

- doctrine. -

EEL ARES ER OO RCE Ne NLS Deere be " a * MH a ae

eae

Conclusion.

For the above reasons, the amici curiae ask the

Court to confirm the .policy of the Petitioner in allow-

ing lawful permanent resident aliens to equate employ-

ment with residence for the purposes of classification

within the provisions of 8 USC 1101(a)(27)(b) of the

Immigration and Nationality Act. The amici also ask

the Court to confirm the past policy of the Service

in allowing such aliens the informal documentary

waiver provisions of 8 USC 1181(b). At the same time,

however, the Court should make an order preventing

the Petitioner from classifying permament residents

into commuters and noncommuters for purposes of en-

forcing other policies, such as the labor dispute pro-

vision of 8 CFR 211.1(b)(1), which should be de-

clared illegal.

Respectfully submitted,

RONALD H. BONAPARTE,

JOHN A. JOANNES,

MILTON C. GELENIAN,

LEON L. GORDON,

THOMAS F. OLson,

ALLEN LAUTERBACH, .

By RONALD H. BONAPARTE,

Attorneys for Amici Curiae.

ELE RN yey EPRI NEL SRFm aR

m

Vi 3 -

~ bahay %

¥ + |

ment rT , , 7

) 2

is (

,

4

2 ,

i ep

A

“e - LS

| 4

+ a |

} ;

; Me :

FS | ‘

| i} i |

-

i } c

. 1 .

: 5

%

; ; pin ~6

i \ r

i 3

: Son

4 A cA ;

* x

6 > _ . * j

M >! . ae

3 ; hk if

a ss (

« 9 4 ; +:

: 4 ;

(4 x

, : ;

} Y =

j

H

———

amet

APPENDIX.

22 CFR 42.124.

§ 42.124 Procedure in issuing visas.

(a) Insertion of data. In issuing an immigrant visa -

the pertinent information shall be inserted in the desig- .

nated blank spaces provided on Form FS-511 (Immi-

grant Visa and Alien Registration), in accordance

with the instructions contained in this section.

(1) A symbol as specified in § 42.12 shall be used

to indicate the classification of the immigrant.

(2) An immigrant visa issued to an alien subject to

numerical limitations shall bear the number assigned

to the immigrant. The foreign state or dependent area

limitation to which the alien is chargeaole shall be en-

tered in the space provided for such entry. If the alien

is chargeable to the numerical limitation prescribed in

section 21(e) of the Act of October 3, 1965, the nota-

tion “Western Hemisphere” shall be entered in the

space on the face of the visa for “Foreign State/De-

pendent Area.”

(3) Immediate relative visas issued under section

201(b) and special immigrant visas issued under the

provisions of section 101(a}{27) (B) through (E)

of the Act may be numbered: in consecutive order at

each consular office, beginning a new series on July 1

of each year, if the principal consular officer considers

the numbering of such visas to be desirable. In issuing

such visas, no entry should be made on the visa in

the space provided for the foreign state or other ap-

plicable area limitation.

(4) The date of issuance and the date of expira-

tion of the visa shall be inserted in the proper places

—2—

on the visa and shall show the day, month, and year

in that order, the name of the month being apeled © out,

as “24 December 1952.”

(5) In the event the passport requirement has been

waived under the provisions of § 42.6, a notation

shall be inserted in the space provided for the passport

number, setting forth thé authority (section and

paragraph) under which the passport was waived.

(6) A signed photograph shall be attached in the

space provided on Form FS-511 by the use of a legend

machine unless specific authorization has been granted

by the Department to use the impression seal only.

(7) A photograph, appropriately signed, shall be

attached in the space provided on Form FS511 by

the use of a legend machine unless specific authoriza-

tion has been granted by the Department to use the

impression seal only.

(b) Documents comprising visa. Form FS-511,

and Form FS-510, when properly executed, together

with one copy of each document required by the con-

*. gular officer in accordance with § 42.111 shall consti-

tute an immigrant visa.

(c) Attachment of documents. Form FS-511 shall

be placed immediately above Form FS-510 end the

supporting documents attached thereto. The duplicate

copies of Form FS-511, Form FS-510, and supporting

documents shall be retained in the files of the consular

office. Any document furnished to the consular officer

by the alien’s sponsor or other person with a request

that the contents not be divulged to the visa applicant

shall, if required to the be attached to the visa, be

placed in an envelope and sealed with the impression

seal of the consular office, before being attached to the

a, oe

visa. If an immigrant visa is issued to an alien who is in

possession of a U.S. reentry permit, whether valid or

expired, the consular officer shall attach the permit to

the immigrant visa for appropriate disposition at the port

of entry by the Immigration and Naturalization Service.

Documents submitted: which have no bearing on the

alien’s qualifications or eligibility to receive a visa may

be returned to the alien or to the person furnishing them.

(d) Signature, seal and delivery of visa. The consu-

lar officer who issues an immigrant visa shall affix his

signature, indicate his title, and impress the seal of his

office on Form FS-511 in a manner which partly covers

the photograph and his signature. Thereupon, the immi-

grant visa shall be issued by delivery to the immigrant

or his authorized agent or representative.

(Sec. 221, 66 Stat. 191; 8 U.S.C. 1201) [Dept. Reg.

108.429, 25 F.R. 3255, Apr. 15, 1960, as amended by

Dept. Reg. 108.480, 27 F.R. 3626, Apr. 17, 1962;

Dept. Reg. 108.528, 30 F.R. 14789, Nov. 30, 1965;

Dept. Reg. 108.588, 33 F.R. 9399, June 27, 1968]

8 USC 1230.

§ 1230. Records of admission

(a) The Attorney General shall cause to be filed, as

a record of admission of each immigrant, the immigrant

visa required by section 1201(e) of this title to be sur-

rendered at the port of entry by the arriving alien to an

immigration officer.

(b) The Attorney General shall cause to be filed

such record of the entry into the United States of each

immigrant admitted under section 1181(b) of this title

and of each nonimmigrant as the Attorney General

deems necessary for the enforcement of the immigra-

tion laws.

_ oo .

8 USC 1101(a)(15)(h).

(H) an alien having a residence in a foreign coun-

try which he has no intention of abandoning (i) who .

is of distinguished merit and ability and who is coming

temporarily to the United States to perform services of

an exceptional nature requiring such merit and ability;

or (ii) who is coming temporarily to the United States

to perform temporary services or labor, if unemployed

persons capable of performing such service or labor

cannot be found in this country; or (iii) who is coming’

temporarily to the United States as a trainee; and the

alien spouse and minor children of any such alien

specified in this paragraph if accompanying him or

following to join him.

8 USC 1101(a) (27) (b).

(27) The term “special immigrant” means—

(A) an immigrant who was born in any independent

foreign country of the Western Hemisphere or in the

Canal Zone and the spouse and children of any such

immigrant, if accompanying, or following to join him:

Provided, That no immigrant visa shall he issued pur-

suant to this clause until the consular officer is in

receipt of a determination made by the Secretary of

Labor pursuant to the provisions of section 1182(a)

(14) of this title;

(B) an immigrant, lawfully admitted for perma-

nent residence, who is returning from a temporary visit

abroad;

—_—

?> 43 Statutes 15S¢

; NON-QUOTA IMMIGRANTS.

Sec. 4.) When used in this Act the term “non-quota

immigrant” means—

Term construed.

(a) An immigrant who is the unmarried child under

18 years of age, or the wife, of a citizen of the United

States who resides therein at the time of the filing of a

petition under section 9;

Minor child or wife of resident citizen appli-

cant.

Post, p. 157.

(b) An immigrant previously lawfully admitted to

the United States, who is returning from a temporary

visit abroad;

. Returning from temporary visit abroad.

sides

General Order No. 86.

U.S. Department of Labor

BUREAU OF IMMIGRATION

Washington

April 1, 1927.

55479/537

55266/General.

SUBJECT: Land border crossing procedure.

1. Hereafter aligns residing in foreign contiguous

countries and entering the United States to engage in

existing employment or to seek employment in this

country will not be considered as visiting the United

States temporarily as tourists, or temporarily- for busi-

ness or pleasure, under any provisions of the Immigra-

tion Law which exempt visitors from complying with

certain requirements thereof; that is, they will be con-

sidered as aliens of the “immigrant” class.

2. However, the following aliens of the said “im-

migrant” class residing in foreign contiguous countries

ard who are now enjo-ing the border crossing privilege

may Continue so to enj>y it upon the payment of head

tax, provided such hea! tax was assessable on aliens

entering permanently at the time of original admission

and, provided further, that they are not coming to seek

employment.

A. Aliens whose original admissjon occurred

prior to June 3, 1921.

B. Natives of nonquota countries whose orig-

inal admission occurred prior to July 1, 1924.

C. Natives of quota countries whose original

admission occurred subsequent to June 2, 1921,

and prior-to May 11, 1922, who at the time of

PIPE eS

on

such admission had resided in the Dominion of

Canada, Newfoundland, the Republic of Cuba,

the Republic of Mexico, or countries of Central or

South America, or adjacent islands, for a period of

one year.

D. Natives of quota countries whose original

admission occurred subsequent to May 10, 1922,

and prior to July 1, 1924, who at the time of

such admission had resided in the Dominion of

Canada, Newfoundland, the Republic of Cuba,

the Republic of Mexico, or countries of Central

or South America, or adjacent islands, for a period

of five years.

3. Aliens of all nationalities of the “immigrant”

class whose original admission occurred subsequent to

June 30, 1924, will be required to meet all provisions

of the Immigration Laws applying to aliens of the “im-

, migrant” class. Aliens of this class already enjoying the

border crossing privilege, however; will be granted a

syeree time, not to exceed six months from July

, 1927, within which to obtain immigration visas and

peta comply with the laws.

4. Aliens who have already complied with the re-

quirements of the Immigration Laws and this General

Order may be permitted to continue to enjoy the bor-

der crossing privilege.

5. Aliens who have complied with the requirements

of this General Order governing permanent admission

will be considered as having entered for permanent resi-

dence.

6. The use and issuance of identification cards to

all classes of aliens entitled to same will continue as

heretofore.

ssi

7%. Identification cards held by or issv2d to aliens

of the “immigrant” class shall be rubber-stamped as

follows: .

IMMIGRANT

ee ee ee eee eee ee

A a Inspector.

8. ‘Identification cards held or issued to aliens of

the “nonimmigrant” class shall be rubber-stamped as

follows:

NONIMMIGRANT

ee ee eee eee

Immigrant Inspector.

\

9. To insure uniformity stamps furnished by the Bu-

reau, only, shall be used and blank spaces, including

that for signature, shall be filled in by the use of in-

delible pencil.

10. All identification cards heretofore issued, held

by aliens who cannot, or do not, meet the requirements

of law, regulations and th's onder, will be taken up

and canceled upon an incoriing trip of the nolder and

appropriate action taken.

11. The work of validating \pilseendien cards

should proceed slowly, systematically, steadily and

persistently, and in such a manner as to avoid con-

. fusion, congestion, interference with proper routine ad-

ministration and the giving of just grounds for” com-

plaint upon the part of the traveling public »° ., -

SOT eC Cae oe eee herd

intel

12. The status of holders of identification cards

shall be inquired into periodically, preferably every

six months from date stamped, where practicable, but

in any event not less frequently than once a yeer..

When inquiry has so made, it will be evidenced’

by a notation to show date of such inquiry and initials

of the officer upon the reverse of the card. When the

holder of a “nonimmigrant” identification card quali-

fies as an “immigrant,” a new identification card shall

be issued, stamped to shov: the correct status.

/s/ George J. Harris

GEORGE J. HARRIS,

Acting Commissioner General.

APPROVED:

/s/ Robe Carl White

ROBE CARL WHITE,

Assistant Secretary.

OL I Reh eI Oe Oe SMB,

st IS

SR as eats

on, | Cae

Cases found on pages 546-552 of the case of Trans-

atlantica Italiana v. Elting, 66 F.2d 542, whereby

Judge Learned Hand ruled that Italian aliens were re-

turning from ,a temporary absence abroad and, there-

fore, not excludable:

Action No. 479.

No. 2. Absent one year five months. In United

States seventeen years; wife and family in Italy; went

to take care of old mother; meant to bring family

here; overstayed six months .because of wife’s sickness;

owned property in New Jersey.

vw

No. 5. Absent one year five months. In United

States nine years. Took wife to Italy with him; had

property and business in both countries; delayed by

sickness.

No. 7. Absent one year five months. In United

States fourteen years. Took wife with him to visit and

was sick for year with malaria.

No. 8. Absent one year two months. In United

States eighteen years. Wife in Italy; took out passport

within five months, but could not get passage.

No. 15. Absentyone year four months. In United

States nine years. Had declared intention to become citi-

zen. Went to get married, but sick for eleven months.

Warned on visa, but one member of Board voted to

admit.

No. 18. Absent two years three months. In United

States eight and a half years. Wife in Italy, whom he

left to marry; one member voted to admit. Stayed over

to get money from bank which failed.

Action No. 480.

Saet Lae ime .

a) ae

No. 8. Absent one year one month. In United

States sixteen years with one absence of a year. Evi-

dence that he tried to return four months earlier.

No. 29. Absent one year six months. In United

States twelve years. Wife and three children in Italy.

Left motorcar here. Delayed by sickness. One member

of Board voted to admit. »

No. 54. Absent one year-three months. In United

States seven years. Declared intention just before leav-

ing. Married, delayed by sickness, trachoma not dis-

coverable.

| 8 USC 1181(b).

Readmission without required documents; Attorney

General's discretion

(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 1182

(a) (20) of this title in such cases or in such classes

of cases and under such conditions as may be by

regulations prescribed, returning resident immigrants,

defined in section 1101(a)(27)(B) of this title, who

are otherwise admissible may be readmitted to the

United States by the Attorney General in his discretion

without being required to obtain a passport, immigrant

visa, reentry permit or other documentation.

8 CFR 211.1(b) (1).

(b) Aliens returning to an unrelinquished lawful

permanent residence— (1) Form 1-151, Alien Regis-

tration Receipt Card. In lieu of an immigrant visa, an

immigrant alien returning to an unrelinquished lawful

permanent residence in the United States after a tem-

porary absence abroad not exceeding 1 year may pre- .

sent Form I-151, Alien Registration Receipt Card, duly

issued to him: Provided, That during such absence he

f

'

ae

did not travel to, in, or through any of the following

places: Cuba and Communist portions of Korea or Viet-

Nam, and, except for children who have not attained

the age of 16 at the time they apply for admission

into the United States, Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslova-

kia, Estonia. Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Outer Mon-

golia, People’s Republic of China, Poland, Romania,

P= a, NE en

the Soviet Zone of Germany (“German Democratic ~

Republic”), the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, or

Yugoslavia. The foregoing restrictions shall. not apply

when the alien has passed in direct and continuous

transit through the Soviet Zone of Germany to Berlin

from West Germany by automobile, rail, or plaiie and

returned to West Germany; or when the alien has

passed in direct and continuous transit through Yugo- -

slavia to or from Austria, Greece, or Italy. An alien

regularly serving as a crewman in any capacity required

for normal operations and services aboard an aircraft

or vessel of American registry who is returning to an

unrelinquished lawful permanent residence in the

United States after a temporary absence abroad not

exceeding one year may, in lieu of an immigrant visa,

present Form I-151, duly issued to him, notwithstand-

ing travel to, in, or through any of the restricted places

named in this subparagraph pursuant to his employ-

ment as a crewman. An alien who proceeded abroad

temporarily without a reentry permit and in whose case

subsequent to his departure from the United States the

Department of State has approved travel to, in, or

through Cuba, or Communist portions of Korea or Viet-

28 ER PE AER em OUTS Core Re ely ~ lon,

ae |, ae

Nam, may, in lieu of an immigrant visa or reentry

permit, present Form I-151 together with the letter

from the Department of State approving his travel to,

in, or_through the place or places named in the letter,

if he is returning to an unrelinquished lawful per-

manent residence in the United: States after a tempo-

rary absence abroad not exceeding one year. An alien

who proceeded abroad temporarily without a reentry

permit and in whose case subsequent to his departure

from and prior to his return to the United States the

Service has approved travel to, in, or through any of

the other place or places named in this subparagraph

for which Form I-151 is not valid may, in lieu of an im-

migrant visa or reentry permit, present Form I-151/ to-

gether with the letter from an officer of the Service

approving his travel to, in, or through the place or

places named in the letter, if he is returning to an

unrelinquished lawful permanent residence in the

United States after a temporary absence abroad not

exceeding 1 year. When returning to an_ unrelin-

quished lawful permanent residence in the United

States after a temporary absence abroad, a spouse or

child of a member of the Armed Forces of the United

States or of a civilian employee of the U.S. Government

stationed foreign pursuant to official orders may, in

lieu of an immigrant visa, present Form I-151, pro-

vided such spouse or child resided abroad while such

member of the Armed Forces or such civilian employee

was on overseas duty and is preceding or accompany-

ing the member or employee, or is following to join .

a) | a

the member or employee in the United States within

4 months of the member’s or employee’s return, and

during the temporary absence did not travel to, in, or

through any of the restricted places named in this sub-

paragraph, except those named places concerning

which the restrictions do not apply when an alien has

passed in direct and continuous transit through such

areas. When the Secretary of Labor determines and an-

nounces that a labor dispute involving a work stoppage

or layoff of employees is in progress at a named place

of employment, Form I-151 shall be invalid when pre-

sented in lieu of an immigrant visa or reentry permit

by an alien who has departed for and seeks reentry

from any foreign place and who, prior to his departure

or during his temporary absence abroad has in any

manner entered into an arrangement to return to the

United States for the primary purpose, or seeks reentry

with the intention, of accepting employment at the

place where the Secretary of Labor has determined that

a labor dispute exists, or of continuing employment

which commenced at such place subsequent to the date

of the Secretary of Labor’s determination. —

—

8961 ‘I Jequiajdag ‘OJ's

‘3[Qepnjoxe JON ‘Yue 0} Joquisseqd Wosj Oolxe~ ‘uoIAW =uTUefusg = ‘saya

Ul SUIOY JOY} Ul poAl] puew JesX ySe"2 Jo IaquMIaAON, 0} Judy “Uy soy ‘ase poyodoiup

Wo.J OURjaq Ul sode13 payoid Uos pur osm ‘puegsny ke jo SuNsIs SLS 960 ELV ‘ON

“UOd sjUapisel jWouRUIed [nyme] URSIXxayW jo dno Apuey y opty ‘Soplavusg jo Jaye

“31Qepnyjoxe JON "SPUSYIOM 3U9}}IULIO}UI UO

OOIXO] “BIOUOS Ul Ape} STY PoISIA puke eUOZLTY ‘UOSOny UI OSL °C N FI ET

poXojduia sem pure papisal quapisal jUoUeULIOd [nme] UBAKIA WY OABATY-URUTYOH] JO Ide

“aiqepnjoxy “reak

ouo Ajayeunxoidde 10y yuowAojduia ut yeolq & Jaye “SQ ou)

ur yuaWAo|dWa sIy 0} epeueD UI sOUApIsel sy WOlj s}nNUIWIOD £89 ‘9°00 N FIEI

| 0} ONUNUOS 0} payueM JWopisel JUsUeUIEd [nme] URIPeURD VY WOWYSIA JO Joye]

7 ‘a1Qepnyjoxs ION "yuou

~Aojdurs sty 0) epgued ul awoY sty Woy ayNUTWOD 0} anuTZUOD

0} payueM Jaje] SYJUOW p ‘S'— 24) UI JUOWAO;dMIa pouINsol

pue gof si; smb ‘yao au0 payxJom 196] Jo [dy ul poytul | 9SS 2200 N FIZ |

“pe Ajjeursiso sem Oym Wopisel JusueUIad jNyMe] ueIpeueD vy prvyslayH jo Jayep |

“21Qepnjoxe ION “PIGS [It A[snotses & Joy

2189 0} pey SYS VsNedeq SYJUOW g URY} Q0UI Joy paydniJ9jUI sem

juswAojdurs Jap “epeueD UI soUSpIser WIOIy S9qeIg PoyUP) 9y? UI $99 ‘9200 N PIII

juswAojdua 0} saynwIWOS yWopIsel JuoUeULIEd [JME] UvIpeuwy Opadojeg-eseIsing jo J9Ney

UOISINNG] syoe.j Jo Areurung oureN] 9seD

sjeeddy uonessruuy jo preog ay) Ag papioaq sasea

XIGNHddV

|

,

oa

“21QepNpoxe JON

‘a19epnjoxy

‘a19epnjoxq

‘919ePN]oxo JON

‘a1Qepnyoxa JON

‘a1qepnpoxg

woIsisoq

‘Jaquadsed & se soyeIg poyUE oy) UI yom

peAojduis-jjas sum yed 0} saynurwos epeues Ul su) [[NJ poAojd

“UID S} PUB SAT] OYA JWapisol yuoueULIEd [Nye] ueipeueD vy

“epeue) Ul sWoY Woy jUusWIAO;dUID 0} aynWIWOD

0} NUTUOS 0} pajyueM syJUOU QI JO poued ke IJ9A0 sinoy Z JO}

‘S'N Ut pafojdure st'oym WepIsal JUsUeULIEd [nJMe] ULIPeUe>

“Bpeued Ul SOUIOY JI9Y} 0} aINUIUIOD 0}

DAUNUOS 0} po}ULM SyIUOUT XIS IZAO JOY ‘$'N 94) UT paXojduoun

W99q PRY OYM syUaprsel yuoueUIEd jnyMey ueipeuey 2014],

‘OOIXgTeD ul yuowAoj;dura 0} poynwUIO0D

PUL TROXI Ul Peal] OYmM WWopisal JuoUeULIEd [nme] uedIxoW

“SSOUTTI JO BsNed9q SYIUOUI SAY JOJ YIOM JO 3NO seM nq JuoUT

-Aojdurs *§*F 01 paynwiui0s WopIsal JUoUeULIEd [NJMe] UeIPeURD

‘quautAojdwia punoy 19A0u

INQ *S'N O} peynuWOS jUapisex yuoUeULIEd [Njmey] ueipeues

$798.7 Jo Arewuing

99p 9° N FI IT

Agyreg jo Jayepy

£v9 9° N FI8

~T J9 JoNeW

607 9° N F18

‘Te 39 -S-C-W Jo Jone

9IL AN PIS

-O-H Jo 19NeY

PSP PAN PIP

~J jo Jane

61S PQA NPIE

“Ord Jo onNeW

owen aseD

‘OORKa JO epeueD Ul pay] Aprwey sty pue sayeIg poweg 94} Ul poysom ualye oy} UsyM (qQ)/Z

(8) TOTTI OSN 8 Jo eBesorco oy) uITIM sem Use JWoptsel yWouRULIed [NJMe] & OU JO JOYyIOYM JO ONSST oy) UO

sjeaddy uoneBruwy jo preog ay) hg popisaq soseD

XIGNHddV

Pe Pe Oe

SRP 8 hg ERE OPN BRS EAR EBLE OL LIE AEG CT. ATES FELIS gE OEE ORS Le

oan |, ae

Report From the Committee or. the Judiciary to

Accompany H.R. 981, September 11, 1973.

ADDITIONAL VIEWS OF THE HONORABLE

PETER W. RODINO, JR.

I am in complete agreement with the major objec-

tives of H.R. 981 and with one significant exception

I strongly support this legislation. The 1965 amend-

ments to the Immigration and Nationality Act abolished

the national origins quota system and also imposed —

for the first time a numerical limitation of 120,000 on

immigration from the Western Hemisphere. This limita-

tion was added in the later stages of consideration of

the 1965 legislation and it was not fully integrated into

the basic design of the Immigration and Nationality Act

since it failed to provide an adequate mechanism for

selecting immigrants from the Western Hemisphere

(i.e. preference system).

Therefore, when the Western Hemisphere ceiling

took effect in July, 1968, there was an imbalance

between the immigration provisions dealing with the

Eastern and Western Hemisphere and this imbalance

was directly attributable to the omission of a preference

system for the Western Hemisphere. This omission has

caused considerable hardship for citizens and lawful

permanent residents ct the United States as well as for

many intending immigrants. The need for such a pref-

erence system has been universally recognized and the

enactment of H.R. 981 will remedy this serious and

unintended defect in our immigration laws.

Although this legislation will significantly advance

the desirable goal of adopting uniform provisions for the

Eastern and Western Hemisphere, this legislation deals

very unjustly and unwisely with Canada and Mexico

ae

a

|

by imposing a numerical limitation of 20,000 on im-

migration from each of these countries.

We must not fail to recognize that both Mexico and

Canada stand in a relationship to us that is unique.

We share common borders, we occupy the same con-

tinent. We cannot ignore these facts, even if we might

wish to. It has been said that the same kind of argu-

ment was used to justify the national origins quota

system which discriminated in favor of certain coun-

tries such as Great Britain, Ireland and Germany. It

may well be that the same words were used, but their

meaning was vastly different. The unique or special re-

lationship which existed between us and those other

countries was based on historical and sentimental con-

siderations, combined with elements of racial prejudice.

The uniqueness of our relationships with Canada and

Mexico lies not merely in historical or sentimental fac-

tors, but more importantly in the practical day-to-day

process of living together on the same continent.

Our dealings with Canada and Mexico are of a

kind that merit the term “unique”. There are reciprocal

agreements concerning manufactured goods; many

unions in the United States have locals in Canada;

many American firms have branches in Canada sud/or

Mexico and many Canadians firms have branches in

the United States. In addition, there are many cultural

and social and other economic ties between our

countries which link us together on a daily basis.

Canada is our most important trading partner and we

are theirs. Graduates of Canadian medical schools are

eligible to seek licensure in the United Staics without

the additional requirements that graduates of medical

schools in other countries must meet.

i

Certainly this cooperative pattern has been mutually

beneficial in promoting friendly relationships with our

two contiguous neighbors. Recognizing the special re-

lationship, the Administration in their bill, H.R. 9409,

proposed separate immigration allotments of 35,000,

aunually for Canada and’ Mexico. Representatives of

the Departments of State and Justice and the vast ma-

jority of public witnesses who testified before the Sub-

committee on Immigration, Citizenship, and Interna-

tional Law supported an increased allotment of visa

numbers for Canada and Mexico. However, the bill

. how reported by this Committee has rejected this

recommendation. Instead, as I have noted, H.R. 981,

as amended, imposes an annual Jimitation of 20,000 on

immigration from all Western Hemisphere countries,

similar to the present per-country limitation on Eastern

Hemisphere countries.

On its face, this provision has the appearance of fair-

ness since each country is treated in a uniform manner.

While I. am most sympathetic to the concept of equal

treatment for all countries with respect to immigra-

tion, I feel that this equitable principle may have led

us into an unfortunate situation in this particular case.

First of all, I agree that we cannot and should. not

attempt to. solve any population or employment prob-

lems either country might have through our immigra-

tion policies nor do I believe that Canada and Mexico

wish us to do so. But, it is very evident that our im-

migration policies are viewed in these countries as an

aspect of our overall attitude toward them. Prior to

1968 there was no numerical limitation on immigration

to the United States from any Western Hemisphere

country. However, as a result of the 1965 legislation,

all countries of this Hemisphere were subjected to the

—20—

120,000 hemispherical limitation. This limitation had a

severe impact on immigration from Canada. Interesting-

ly enough, the Canadians weye aware of this develop-

ment from its inception and began to launch. diplo-

matic protests even before the ceiling became operative.

Since that time the Canadians have discreetly and per-’

sistently made their objections known to our govern-

ment. Mexico, on the other hand, was not adversely af-

fected by the 1965 amendments and, in fact, has been

the principal source of Western Hemisphere immigra-

tion for the past five fiscal years.

Consequently, at the present time we have a situa-

tion in which one of our neighbors has been drastically

affected by existing legislation but the other one has

not. H.R. 981, as amended, would have the unfortu-

nate, dual result of failing to alleviate the adverse im-

pact on Canadian immigration and at the same time

creating a new restriction on Mexican immigration.

For example, the last annual report of the Immigra-

tion and Naturalization Service shows that during fiscal

year 1972 there were 64,040 immigrants from Mexico,

of whom 41,707 were subject to the Western Hemis-

phere numerical limitation. Enactment-of-the 20,000

cciling would thus result“in an immediate reduction of

over 50% in lawful immigration from Mexico.

It seems to me that this drastic reduction in lawful

immigration from Mexico is unsound and undesirable.

In a bill designed to deal fairly with Western Hemis-

phere countries, it operates restrictively against our

friendly neighbor, without any apparent justification.

All of us are familiar with the enormous problem cur-

rently posed by illegal immigration from Mexico. In

seeking to control that problem it seems essential to re-

tain opportunities for legal immigration. Indeed, in its

o

Ree, eae

Final Report of January 15, 1973, the Special Study

Group on Iflegal Immigration from Mexicio, appointed

by the President after discussions with the President of

Mexico, urged that there be no reduction in the present

level of lawful immigration from Mexico. Yet H.R.

981 would accomplish an immediate reduction of over

50% in the number who could immigrate lawfully.

By curtailing the opportunities for lawful immigration

from Mexico, H.R. 981 would unfortunately give fur-

ther impetus to the pressures for illegal immigration.

It is necessary for us to take into account also the

effect of this measure on our foreign relations, par-

ticularly with Mexico. Since the actual effect of the

20,000 limitation would be a marked reduction in im-

‘ migration from Mexico, the Government of that country

might well regard this legislation as an affront to its

people.

The difficulties that I have mentioned could be avoid-

ed by providing a separate visa allocation of 35,000

each to Canada and Mexico; or alternatively, by pro-

viding for the issuance of special visas to natives of

these countries. The additional immigration that would

be ‘involved is insignificant and separate treatment for

these countries can be justified because of the special

relationship which exists with our neighboring countries.

Through the simple expedient of increased ceilings or

special visa allocations, we would demonstrate to our

neighbors our awareness of their problems and our de-

sire to deal with them in a constructive and cooperative

manner. I believe that such a provision would greatly

assist in promoting friendly relationships with Canada

and Mexico and would certainly further our national

interests)

Peter W. Rodino, Jr.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.