Opposition Brief — Milliken v. Bradley

Supreme Court brief1974

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

SCHOOLS, SCHOOL DISTRICT OF THE CITY OF BERK-

) SCHOOLS, WARREN WOODS PUBLIC SCHOOLS, WAYNE-

ITY SCHOOLS, WOODHAVEN SCHOOL DISTRICT, and

“PUBLIC SCHOOLS; SOUTHFIELD PUBLIC SCHOOLS; and

OF THE CITY OF ROYAL OAK, Peti

Vs.

and RICHARD BRADLEY, by their Mother and Next Friend,

; JEANNE GOINGS, by her Mother cee ago Friend, BLANCH

LY LOVE, JIMMY LOVE end D ELL LOVE, by their Mother

CLARISSA LOVE; CAMILLE BURDEN, PIERRE BURDEN,

MYRA BURDEN, MARC BURDEN and STEVEN BURDEN, by

end Next Friend, MARCUS BURDEN; KAREN WILLIAMS and

iS, by their Father and Next Friend, C. WILLIAMS; RAY LITT

“BUR BLAKE, parents; all parents having children attending the pub-

of the City of Detroit, Michigan, on their own behalf and on behalf of

lildren, all on behalf of any person similarly situated; and NATIONAL

FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF COLORED PEOPLE, DETROIT

G. MILLIKEN, Governor of the State of Michigan and ex-of-

# of the Michigan State Board of Education; FRANK J. KELLEY,

of the State of Michigan; MICHIGAN STATE BOARD OF EDU-

ional body corporate, and JOHN W. PORTER, Superintendent -

bn, Department of Education of the State of Michigan; ALLISON

ea of the State of Michigan; BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE CITY

MIT, a school district of the first class; PATRICK McDONALD, JAMES

. ‘and CORNELIUS GOLIGHTLY, members of the Board of Education

Detroit; and NORMAN DRACHLER, Superintendent of the Detroit

“DETROIT FEDERATION OF TEACHERS, LOCAL 231, AMERI-

RATION OF TEACHERS, AFL-CIO; DENISE MAGDOWSKI and

OWSKI, by their Mother and Next , JOYCE MAGDOWSKI,

TI, by his Mother and Next Friend, VIOLET VIETTI, and the CITI

TTE! on BETTER EDUCATION OF THE DETROIT METRO-

“AR a Michigan non-profit Corporation; KERRY GREEN and

EEN, by their Father and Next Friend, DONALD G. GREEN,

C 1K and KATHLEEN ROSEMARY, by their Mother and Next Friend,

3. ROSEMARY, TERRI DORAN, by her Mother and Next Friend,

» SHERRILL, KEITH, JEFFREY and GREGORY COULS, by

(Continued on Reverse Side)

ARLEDGE, SHERYL and RUSSELL

MARY LOU PAUL, TRACY QUIG:

SE POINTE PUBLIC SCHOOL SYSTEM,

vs.

‘1D BRADLEY and RICHARD BRADLEY, by their Mother and Next

nd. VERDA BRADLEY; JEANNE GOINGS, by her Mother and Next

ad, BLANCH GOINGS; BEVERLY LOVE, JIMMY LOVE and

SLL LOVE, by their Mother and Next Friend, CLARISSA LOVE;

f BURDEN, PIERRE BURDEN, AVA BURDEN, MYRA BUR-

N, MARC BURDEN and STEVEN BURDEN, by their Father and Next

Friend, MARC!’S BURDEN; KAREN WILLIAMS and KRISTY WIL-

-LIAMS, by their Father and Next Friend, C. WILLIAMS; RAY LITT and

~ MRS. WILBUR BLAKE, parents; all parents having children attending the

_ spublic schools of the City of Detroit, Michigan, on their own behalf and on

pehalf of their minor children, all on behalf of any person similarly situ-

ated; and NATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF

. COLORED PEOPLE, DETROIT BRANCH; DETROIT FEDERATION OF

‘TEACHERS, LOCAL 231, AMERICAN FEDERATION OF TEACHERS,

AFL-CIO; BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE CITY OF DETROIT, a

school district of the first class; PATRICK McDONALD, JAMES HATHA-

WAY and CORNELIUS GOLIGHTLY, members of the Board of Educa-

tion of the City of Detroit; and NORMAN DRACHLER, Superintendent

of the Detroit Public Schools; WILLIAM G. MILLIKEN, Governor of the

State of Michigan and ex-officio member of the Michigan State Board of

Education; FRANK J. KELLY, Attorney General of the State of Michigan;

MICHIGAN STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION, a constitutional body

and JOHN W. PORTER, Superintendent of Public Instruction,

of Education of the State of Michigan, ALLISON GREEN,

State Treasurer; ALLEN PARK PUBLIC SCHOOLS, SCHOOL DISTRICT

OF THE CITY OF BERKLEY, BRANDON SCHOOLS, CENTERLINE

PUBLIC SCHOOLS, CHERRY HILL SCHOOL DISTRICT, CHIPPEWA

VALLEY PUBLIC SCHOOLS, SCHOOL DISTRICT OF THE CITY OF

CLAWSON, CRESTWOOD SCHOOL DISTRICT, DEARBORN PUBLIC

SCHOOLS, DEARBORN HEIGHTS SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 7, EAST

DETROIT PUBLIC SCHOOLS, SCHOOL DISTRICT OF THE CITY OF

FERNDALE, FLAT ROCK COMMUNITY SCHOOLS, GARDEN CITY

PUBLIC SCHOOLS, GIBRALTAR SCHOOL DISTRICT, SCHOOL

DISTRICT OF THE CITY OF HARPER WOODS, SCHOOL DISTRICT

OF THE CITY OF HAZEL PARK, INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL DISTRICT

OF THE COUNTY OF MACOMB, LAKE SHORE PUBLIC SCHOOLS,

LAKEVIEW PUBLIC SCHOOLS, THE LAMPHERE SCHOOLS, LINCOLN

PARK PUBLIC SCHOOLS, MADISON DISTRICT PUBLIC SCHOOLS,

MELVINDALE-NORTH ALLEN PARK SCHOOL DISTRICT, SCHOOL

DISTRICT OF NORTH DEARBORN HEIGHTS, NOVI COMMUNITY

SCHOOL DISTRICT, OAK PARK SCHOOL DISTRICT, OXFORD AREA

COMMUNITY SCHOOLS, REDFORD UNION SCHOOL DISTRICT NO.

1, RICHMOND COMMUNITY SCHOOLS, SCHOOL DISTRICT OF THE

CITY OF RIVER ROUGE, RIVERVIEW COMMUNITY SCHOOL

DISTRICT, ROSEVILLE PUBLIC SCHOOLS, SOUTH LAKE SCHOOLS,

TAYLOR SCHOOL DISTRICT, WARREN CONSOLIDATED SCHOOLS,

WARREN WOODS PUBLIC SCHOOLS, WAYNE-WESTLAND COM-

_ MUNITY SCHOOLS, WOODHAVEN SCHOOL DISTRICT and WYAN-

_ DOTTE PUBLIC SCHOOLS; KERRY and COLLEEN GREEN, by their

_ Father and Next Friend, DONALD G. GREEN; JAMES, JACK and KATH-

IN ROSEMARY, by their Mother and Next Friend, EVELYN G.

(Continued on Reverse Side)

eer ereweeeee eee ererer eee ereee eee eee

. SOF Ci ATONE noice hes as CRED Nee Seas

Reasons for Denying the Writs ................0 esses

1. Certiorari should be denied as this is not an appeal from

a final decision since the Sixth Circuit has remanded the

case to the district court to determine what type of

remedy should be ordered, and what districts, if any,

should be included in that remedy. ................

2. Certiorari should be denied because this Honorable

Court cannot properly assess the propriety of a multi-

district remedy when all factual aspects of the remedy

are hypothetical and speculative and their impact, if

any, upon each Petitioner is unknown at this time. ....

3. The metropolitan desegregation remedy ordered by the

courts below is based on specific Michigan public school

law, set in the context of the relevant metropolitan

Detroit community, and thus certiorari should be

NE a aie Bas, 4N 6 os RON eS ORAS

4 Certiorari should be denied as the courts below did not

err in ordering a metropolitan remedy, without regard

to artificial city or boundary lines, to eliminate uncon-

stitutional, racially identifiable schools in the metropoli-

tan Detroit community, since the State of Michigan, in

and of itself, has sole responsibility for education within

NE Oar ee re PECTS Pe er eo ee

$.Since this Honorable Court has encouraged district

- gourts to fashion broad, tailor-made, equitable remedies

_ for the elimination of constitutional violations in each

13

17

19

27

ee

given situation, there is nothing unconstitutional in the

instant remedy, pursuant to established Michigan public

school law, so as to justify certiorari. ..............

6. The courts below found systematic acts of segregation

affecting the constitutional rights of black children for

which the State Defendants are responsible. .......,.

7. The Petitioner school districts have not been denied

due process of law since they are agencies of the State

Board of Education which has been a party to this

litigation from its inception, and which has adequately

protected the interests of the Petitioner school dis- .

I es ean ae Wig vas sea oe os hs aac a a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

ies Construction Company v. Jacksonville T & K.W.R.

_ Company, 148 U.S. 372 (1893) ...... 0... e eee ee ee 13

_ fttomey General, ex rel Kies v. Lowrey, 131 Mich. 639

_ (1902), aff'd, 199 U.S. 233 (1905)..............2... 19

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962) .................... 36

Bradley et al. v. Milliken et al., 433 F2d 897 (6th Cir., 1971) . 2, 7

Bradley et al. v. Milliken et al., 438 F2d 945 (6th Cir., 1971). 2, 7

Bradley et al. v. Milliken et al., 468 F2d 902 (6th Cir., 1972),

cert, denied, 409 U.S. 874 (1972) . 2... oe eee 2

esos vs cee ve aNs Ce ds cee Cs cee OAD 54

Bradley v. School Board of the City of Richmond, §1 F.R.D.

Me WO SITE os ons sos ot dnkedeccae 53

Bradley v. School Board of the City of Richmond, 462 F.2d

1058 (4th Cir., 1972), aff'd, _._U.S.____ , 93 S.Ct. 1952

PE Cl Se oo kk Chk Male iwi, Ck 26, 42

Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and Enginemen v.

Bangor & Aroostook R. Co., 389 U.S. 327 CGT = Sees 14

Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, 347 U.S. 483

MM Nec tete eer ceils ca fe 28, 31

Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, 349 U.S. 294

ee 8s Fs NS COA PE 17, 31, 45

Burleson v. County Board of Election Commissioners of

Jefferson County, 308 F.Supp. 352 (E.D. Ark. 1970),

aff'd per curiam, 432 F.2d 1356 (8th Cir. 1970) ....... 41

Catlin v. U.S., 324 U.S. 229 (1945) .................... 13

ark v. Board of Education of Little Rock School District,

426 F.2d 1035 (8th Cir. SPT heck eee 35

Cooper v. Aaron, 358 U.S. 1(1958) ................... 50

Davis v. Board of School Commissioners of Mobile County,

402 US. MENTS 8 oceans a 33, 34, 40

Dickinson v. Petroleum Conversion Corp., 338 U.S. 507

; (1950) SPERM eS Se heey FETS lesen cto ee 14

Gillespie y, U.S. Steel Corporation, 379 U.S. 148 (1964). ... 14

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970)... 0.2 ee eee 54

Gomillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339 (1960) .......... 36, 40

Goss v. Board of Education of the City of Knoxville, Civil

Nos. 72-1 766-1767 (6th Cir. July 18, 1973) ........... B

Green v. County School Board of New Kent County, 391

US AIO CHIOEP CSR a ER a 17, 36

Griffin y. School Board of Prince Edward County, 377 US.

MRRP OGD in vin ss k ME eptkch Hach = (even .eseiPlGAAh »ie: ei via-sineh )

Hall v. St. Helena Parish School Board, 197 F.Supp. 649

(E.D. La. 1961), aff'd, 287 F.2d 376 (Sth Cir. 1961), aff'd

POF Copan, FOG Ue STS CFSE) ek ce eee css een 4

Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros., 204 U.S. 251(1916) 14

Haney v. County Board of Education of Sevier County, 410

AN: CPE ae 6 CCAS Sek SOS Oct Onkia cane 4]

Hatton v. County Board of Education of Maury County, 422

Re ae FCN TUR RPI og 6.6 KO hull bc ake wo Vike 48d eae 54

Higgins v. Board of Education, City of Grand Rapids, No.

6386 (D.C. W.D. Mich., July 18, 1973). .........-.005, 53

Isdaner v. Beyer, 53 F.R.D. 4 (D.C. Pa. 1971) .........455 53

Jenkins v. Township of Morris School District, 58 N.J. 483,

FIP Oe CLOT ED. ncwk ce eek a cee xk RAR 43

Kelley v. Metropolitan County Board of Education of Nash-

ville and Davidson County, 463 F.2d 732 (1972), cert. _

Genta, GIF US. FOOT GIST 2) soci: 6 ahi g 0 03h) 8.0.0'6 nse cg 3B

Keyes v. School District No. 1, Denver,___US.___., 37 L.Ed. |

De SR CATS 6 oi bh OG Oe Bee 47, 48, 49, 50

Lee v. Macon County Board of Education, 448 F.2d 746 (Sth —

CB TOT rs ss ceeds ee Ml

Lemon v. Bossier Parish School Board, 446 F.2d 911 <sth

CM BPTI) iwc ei ei tees cee ue cen ke eee 3

Lindsey v. Normet, 405 U.S. 56 (1972)... 2... eee en ene

Louisiana v. United States, 380 U.S. 145 (1965) .....-++5:

Morgan v. Thompson, 124 F. 203 (8th Cir. 1903) ....... OF

Be

PAGE

Northcross v. Board of Education of Memphis, 420 F.2d 546

(1969), aff'd per curiam, 397 U.S. 232 (1970)......... 28

Owenby v. Morgan, 256 U.S. 94 (1921) ................ 54

Raney v. Board of Education of Gould School District, 391

A EID ie asta bs Ak es pigieo vin wich ann WR Mg eas 28

Reynolds v. Sims, 377 U.S. 533 (1964) ................. 40

San Antonio Independent School District v. Rodriguez, 411

SU RAEUTOD. oo ep 0'h io ans vom dbe humus meh bes wem evens 50

Spencer v. Kugler, 326 F.Supp. 1235(D. N.J. 1971), aff'd,404

REE EOE” eh RITE URAL I 8 43

St. Louis, LM. and S.R.R. v. Southern Express Company,

ESN oS lnc <U oa 00 e CURSES Oho dace lee tt 13

Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, 318

aD. TOO CUD. NA ISTO) i ak AL A 51

Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, 402

MCL OP ED fier Wrisivs 11, 17, 27, 28, 33, 34, 35, 44, 45

Taylor v. Board of Education of New Rochelle, 288 F.24 600

EE Cis phd Al SG ak COTS wae EN Sue wie 25 14

Turmer v. Warren County Board of Education, 313 F.Supp.

ae PA AOE ie See abies SBE NE ERC Baie 41

United States v. Scotland Neck City Board of Education, 407

NORTE 6S ors pO Ska UN ee keaen ota 28, 41

United States v. State of Texas, 447 F.2d 441 (Sth Cir..1971) 41

Wright v. Council of City of Emporia, 407 U.S. 451 (1972)28, 41

Pade: emer MP ee 4, 50, 51, laa

US. Const, amend. XIV .... 2... een cease 4, 35, 42, 51, laa

PR IN Ne on ait a hye: 4, 35, laa

Michigan Const. art. VIII, $2......... 00.00.0000 4, 6, laa

Judicial Code, 28 U.S.C. $1292(b) ............... 4, 9, 2aa

Act 48, Sec. 12, Mich. Pub. Acts of 1970 .......

cep eee ee ew ee ewe sceeesseeensese een

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 1973

No. 73-434

No. 73-435

No. 73-436

WILLIAM G. MILLIKEN, et al.,

Petitioners,

“VS~

RONALD BRADLEY, etal.,

Respondents,

ALLEN PARK PUBLIC SCHOOLS, et al.,

Petitioners,

-VS-

RONALD BRADLEY, et al.,

Respondents.

GROSSE POINTE PUBLIC SCHOOL SYSTEM,

Petitioner,

-Vs-

RONALD BRADLEY , et al.,

Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITIONS FOR

WRITS OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Respondents, the Board of Education for the School District

of the City of Detroit, a school district of the first class, Patrick

McDonald, James Hathaway, Cornelius Golightly and Normat

Drachler, respectfully pray that these Petitions for Writs of € et

tiorari should be denied. a

OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW

The opinion of the Sixth Circuit, not yet reported, appears in

a Appendix, at 110a-240a.! Other opinions delivered in the

courts below are:

United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Michigan, Southern Division

September 27, 1971, Ruling on Issue of Segregation, 338

‘ F.Supp. 582. (1 7a-39a).

November 5, 1971, Order [for submission of Detroit-only

and metropolitan desegregation plan] , not reported. (46a-47a).

March 24, 1972, Ruling on Propriety of Considering a Metro-

politan Remedy to Accomplish Desegregation of the Public

Schools of the City of Detroit, not reported. (48a-52a).

March 28, 1972, Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law on

Detroit-ofily Plans of Desegregation, not reported. (53a-5S8a).

_ June 14, 1972, Ruling on Desegregation Area and Order for

Development of Plan, and Findings of Fact and Conclusions of

Law in Support of Ruling on Desegregation Area and Develop-

ment of Plan, 345 F.Supp. 914. (59a-105a).

July 11, 1972, Order for Acquisition of Transportation, not

reported. (106a-107a).

United States Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit

July 20, 1972 Order [granting leave to appeal] , not reported.

(108a-109a).

_ Other opinions of the Sixth Circuit rendered at prior stages

of the present proceedings are reported in 433 F.2d 897, 438 F.2d

- 945 and 468 F.2d 902, cert. den., 409 U.S. 844 (1972).

Bak Hereinafter references to the Petitioners’ Appendix already filed herein

- will be indicated by page numbers enclosed in parentheses and desig-

nated by the letter “a”. Appendix references followed by the letters

ond gggad to the Appendix to this Brief commencing at page laa

JURISDICTION

There is no jurisdiction in this Honorable Court because th

decision of the district court is not final and is not at an approps-

ate stage for review.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Should certiorari be denied since this is not an appeal from

a final decision and since the Sixth Circuit has remanded the cag

to the district court to determine what type of remedy should be

ordered, and what districts, if any, should be included in that

remedy?

2. Should certiorari be denied because this Honorable Court

cannot properly assess the propriety of a multidistrict remedy

when all factual aspects of the remedy are hypothetical and specv-

lative and their impact, if any, upon each Petitioner is unknown at

this time?

3. Should certiorari be denied where the metropolitan de

segregation remedy ordered by the courts below is based on spe

cific Michigan public school law, set in the context of the relevant

metropolitan Detroit community?

4. Should certiorari be denied when the courts below did

not err in ordering a metropolitan remedy, without regard to arti-

ficial city or municipal boundary lines, to eliminate unconstitv-

tional racially identifiable schools in the metropolitan Detnit

community, since the State of Michigan, in and of itself, has sok

responsibility for education within its boundaries?

5. Should certiorari be denied where this Honorable Court

has encouraged district courts to fashion broad, tailor-made, equit-

able remedies for the elimination of constitutional violations in

each given situation, and where there is nothing unconstitutional

in the instant remedy, pursuant to established Michigan public

school law?

6. Should certiorari be denied where the courts below

found systematic acts of segregation affecting the constitutional

rights of black children for which the State Defendants are respor

sible? 4

“ka

EE

7. Should certiorari be denied where the Petitioner school

districts have not been denied due process of law since they are

agencies of the State Board of Education, which has been a

to this litigation from its inception, and which has ade-

quately protected the interests of the Petitioner school districts?

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

The constitutional provisions, statutes and rules relevant to

the issues in this case are: U.S. Constitution Amendment XI; U.S.

Constitution Amendment XIV; U.S. Constitution Amendment

XV; Michigan Constitution Art. VIII, Sec. 2; Judicial Code, 28

US.C. §1292(b); Fed. R. Civ. P. 19 and 24(a) (2); and Michigan

Public Acts of 1970, Act 48, Sec. 12, which are set forth in

relevant part in the Appendix to this Brief in Opposition to Peti-

tions for Writs of Certiorari.

5

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The School District of the City of Detroit is one of 85 school

districts in the metropolitan Detroit community and one of about

600 school districts in the State of Michigan. Unlike most of the

school districts in Michigan, the Detroit School District is cotep.

minous with a political boundary (i.e. the city limits of Detroit),2

At the time the district court rendered its decision on the issue of

segregation, September 27, 1971, the Detroit School District ser.

viced some 280,000 school children, 180,000 of whom wer

black. (20a). This resulted in a school population ratio of approxi-

mately 65% black and 35% white, though the City of Detroit itself

had a population ratio of 56% white and 44% black. (21a). With

some exceptions, the surrounding school districts in the metro

politan Detroit community have overwhelmingly white oniee

populations. (66a).

The City of Detroit is part of the metropolitan Detroit

community which is intensely interrelated in terms of social and

economic activities. The metropolitan Detroit community is

viewed by the United States Census Bureau as a single standard

metropolitan statistical area. Metropolitanization has become a

growing hallmark of government services in the metropolitan

Detroit community. There is a metropolitan transit system

(SEMTA), a metropolitan park authority (Huron-Clinton Metro

politan Authority), a metropolitan water system, a metropolitan

sewage system and a metropolitan council of governments (SEM-

COG). (80a).

[2] At least the following Petitioner school districts are not coterminow

with political boundary lines of any municipality or county, to wit:

Brandon Schools, Cherry Hill School District, Chippewa Valley Public

School District, Crestwood School District, Dearborn Heights School

District No. 7, Flatrock Community Schools, Lakeshore Public Schook,

Lakeview Public Schools, The Lamphere Schools, Melvindale-North

Allen Park School District, Allen Park Public Schools, Schoo! District of

North Dearborn Heights, Oxford Area Community Schools, Redford

Union School District No. 1, Richmond Community Schools, South

Lake Schools, Warren Consolidated Schools, Warren-Woods Pul

Schools, Wayne-Westland Community Schools, Grosse Pointe

Schools. AF

herd

Oye

a

6

s

the field of education, children in the metropolitan

Detroit community have crossed school district lines to attend

school or to receive educational services. Some educational

services in the metropolitan Detroit community are already

provided to students on an inter-district, inter-county, or metro-

‘politan basis by county-wide intermediate school districts and the

State Department of Education. (79a). Education in Michigan has

‘been a function of the State since the Northwest Ordinance of

1787 which governed the then Territory of Michigan, (165a). The

current Constitution of Michigan, the Constitution of 1963, Ar-

ticle Vill, Section 2, provides in part as follows:

“The legislature shall maintain and support a system of free

public elementary and secondary schools as defined by law.”

The Michigan legislature, exercising the aforementioned constitu-

tional mandate, which was also found in Michigan’s preceding

three constitutions, established numerous school districts. These

school districts under Michigan law are creatures of the State of

Michigan and act as instrumentalities of the Michigan legislature

under the control of the State Board of Education. (167a). School

district boundaries in Michigan are not sacrosanct. (167a). This is

evidenced by the fact that the State Board of Education had

between 1964 and 1968, eliminated 700 school districts. (168a).

Since that time the State Board of Education has eliminated

additional school districts.

Detroit is located in Wayne County, where a number of

school districts have been merged and consolidated by the State

Board of Education primarily for financial and educational service

feasons. (168a). The pervasiveness of State control over its school

districts is further illustrated by the fact that the State provides

Massive State financing, dictates the number of school days, re-

quires certain courses to be taught, controls the use of particular

text books, and imposes many other details of regulatory control.

(170a-17 1a).

__ On April 7, 1970, the Detroit Board of Education adopted a

desegregation plan for its high schools. (17a). However, before the

Vetroit Board of Education could implement its April 7, 1970

desegregation plan, the State of Michigan exercising its plenary

powers of control over local school districts enacted Act 48 of

Public Acts of 1970 which automatically invalidated the April 7,

1970 plan, thereby frustrating the execution and operation of the

Detroit School Board’s attempts to desegregate. (15 1a).

It was this action of the State of Michigan that precipitated the

complaint filed herein by plaintiffs alleging acts of de jure segregs.

tion on the part of the Board of Education for the School District

of the City of Detroit, as well as the Superintendent of Public

Instruction for the State of Michigan, the Michigan State Board of

Education, the Governor of the State and its Attorney General,

Although Michigan does have a procedure whereby the Attorney

General may render opinions as to the legality of legislation and

the Governor is accorded the privilege of addressing the legislature

on matters of public importance, there is nothing in the record

below to indicate that the Attorney General or the Governor took

any action as State officers to advise the legislature of the uncon

stitutional aspects of Act 48 in depriving black children of their

constitutional rights. The same is true as to the Superintendent of

Public Instruction and the State Board of Education.

The plaintiffs originally filed their preliminary injunction to

reinstate the Detroit Board’s April 7, 1970 plan which had been

thwarted by Act 48. The district court denied the injunction. On

appeal, the Sixth Circuit affirmed the denial of the injunction

while properly holding that Act 48 was unconstitutional insofar as

it nullified the implementation of the Detroit Board’s April 7th

Plan. 433 F.2d 897 (1971).

On remand, the plaintiff sought implementation of a tempor-

ary plan of desegregation. The district court permitted the

Detroit Board to introduce three temporary desegregation plans,

one of which, the so-called Magnet Plan was approved by the

court for implementation pending the trial on the merits.

Plaintiff again appealed this order of the district court, but

the Sixth Circuit remanded with instructions that the case “beset

forthwith and heard on its merits.” 438 F.2d 945, 946 (1971). _

The trial on the merits began on April 6, 1971 and laste

forty-one trial days through the spring and summer, 1971,

parties were ably represented by counsel, had the o

:

8

evidence and fully participate in the trial. On September

27, 1971, the district court issued its Findings of Fact and Con-

dusions of Law, (17a), holding inter alia that the State of Michigan

was guilty of de jure segregation committed directly by bodies or

officers with state-wide jurisdiction and by its local subordinate

agent, the Detroit Board of Education. The State Defendants and

‘the Detroit Board appealed these Findings, but the Sixth Circuit,

dlismissed the Appeal as being untimely.

Subsequently, the district court ordered the Detroit Board

to present Detroit-only desegregation plans and the State De-

fendants to present metropolitan plans of desegregation. After

such plans had been presented to the trial court, a hearing on

plans of desegregation limited to the geographic boundaries of the

City of Detroit commenced. The State Defendants vigorously

urged a Detroit-only remedy.

On March 28, 1972 the district court issued its ruling on the

Detroit-only plan. The district court properly concluded that no

Detroit-only plan could constitutionally desegregate the Detroit

school system, because of this stark reality: without some

700,000 white students in the surrounding metropolitan Detroit

community, any desegregation plan directed towards the 180,000

black school children and the 100,000 white school children with-

in the Detroit School District would have resulted in unconstitu-

tional black racially identifiable schools, encircled by schools ra-

cially identifiable as white, thereby continuing to racially isolate

black children in the metropolitan Detroit community. The Chief

Education Officer of Michigan, the Chief Executive of the State of

Michigan and the Chief Legal Officer of the State of Michigan

could not convince the district court otherwise though they at-

tempted to do so.

It should be noted that the State Defendants were parties

throughout this litigation who adequately represent the interests

of their subordinate agents, the local school districts. Despite mas-

sive publicity received by this litigation, Petitioner school districts

were apparently satisfied that their interests were properly repre-

sented for it was not until February 9, 16 and 17, 1972 that the

Petitioner school districts asked for the right to intervene. The

district court granted intervention on March 15, 1972. In passing

9

be

:

it should be noted that the publicity of the case resulted in th

Detroit Federation of Teachers and a group representing hom

owners within the City of Detroit intervening as party defendants

even prior to the trial on the issue of segregation.

The Petitioner districts had every opportunity to participate

in the hearing on metropolitan plans and were not denied the right

to present any evidence as to metropolitan plans. As proof of thes

fact, several school districts prevailed in limiting the metropolitan

desegregation plan to exclude their school districts.

The district court, on June 14, 1972, (97a), adopted certain

basic guidelines for metropolitan desegregation plans designed to

eliminate the isolation of black children within the metropolitan

Detroit community. The court used the guidelines announced by

this Honorable Court designed to eliminate the vestiges of segreg:-

tion “root and branch”’, and to do it in the most practical, con-

venient manner employing all known techniques of desegregation

approved by this Honorable Court.

Of course, the findings of fact and conclusions of law as to

the metropolitan desegregation plans announced on June 14,

1972, were far from complete, and the district court acknowl

edged this. The district court established a desegregation panel to

develop a plan for further hearings. The Petitioner school districts

were granted répresentation on that panel. The Superintendent of

Public Instruction was also on that panel. The panel was directed

to develop a metropolitan plan of desegregation consistent with

the court’s findings of fact and conclusions of law under a clear

mandate that further hearings would be held on the plan. Peti-

tioners, at all times, had full opportunity to participate in this

procedure.

At the request of both the Attorney General of the State of

Michigan, who has always represented the State Defendants and

the Petitioner school districts, the District Judge certified the case

for review pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1292(b). The Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit in a three judge panel reviewed the entir

proceedings. After the Petitioners were given every maha

file briefs along with the original parties and to argue orally, the

Sixth Circuit on December 11, 1972, unanimously affirmed the

district court. he

Secu

<3

10

On petition for rehearing en banc, the Sixth Circuit granted

the petition, and again, the Sixth Circuit en banc affirmed the

district court on all matters save the final form of the metropoli-

tan remedy which they remanded to the district court with

instructions to permit those districts which had not chosen to

intervene in the hearing to develop a metropolitan plan.

~ On remand, the district court is proceeding to hold hearings

to determine, with all petitioners present, what other local school

districts should be brought into the hearings, and what procedure

should be followed in developing the metropolitan plan. The hear-

ings are not complete. There is much work to be done. The oppor-

tunity to provide additional legal input by interested parties is

present and pending. The case, at this point, is still incomplete,

making an appeal to this Honorable Court, most premature and

most untimely.

11

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Sixth Circuit sitting en banc remanded this case to the

district court for the development of a desegregation remedy pur-

suant to the guidelines previously announced by this Honorable

Court, including the use of “mathematical ratios” as a “starting

point in the process of shaping a remedy”. Swann v. Charlotte.

Mecklenburg Board of Education, 402 US 1, 17-18 (1971). This

case does not, and never has, involved a racial balance remedy,

Among the issues which must yet be resolved in a final metropoi-

tan desegregation plan are the extent and type of transportation to

be required, the precise method of crossing school district bouné-

aries to exchange pupils, the number of pupils to be exchanged

and the faculty to be exchanged, if any. A case which is in this

posture does not represent a final decision for which this Honor

able Court should grant certiorari.

If this Honorable Court were to grant certiorari, it would

place itself in the novel position, which it has consistently con-

demned, of deciding hypothetical, speculative and abstract ques-

tions as there is no specific desegregation plan now before this

Court for review.

Under Michigan public school law, the sole responsibility for

education rests with the State, and Michigan school districts ar

mere instrumentalities of the State subordinated to the State

Board of Education and the Legislature and subject to pervasive

State control. Thus, the de jure actions of the subordinate agent

Detroit School District are binding on the State of Michigan just a

the de jure actions of the State of Michigan are binding on the

Detroit School District. It is the State of Michiganj and only th

State of Michigan, that has committed de jure acts of segregation,

and it is the State alone that must provide a remedy.

A Detroit-only desegregation plan would not eliminate ut

constitutional racial isolation in the relevant metropolitan Detroit

community. There are 180,000 black children and 100,000 white

children in the Detroit School System — a system surrounded by

700,000 white school children in the metropolitan Detroit com

munity.

The relevant metropolitan Detroit community is an intensely

interrelated community both socially and economically with many

oo

z

12

forms of metropolitan governmental services. Students in the

metropolitan Detroit community already cross school district lines

- to attend school. Educational services are already provided to the

Se eogelitan sradeats on an inter-district basis. The boundaries of

Michigan school districts in general bear no relationship to the

4 eee of other municipal or county governments.

The arguments presented by the Petition of the State Defen-

‘eis have failed to explain that if the State can eliminate 700

school districts out of 1438 school districts in a five-year period

(1964-1968), including districts in the metropolitan Detroit com-

‘munity, for financial and educational reasons, then why are the

- Michigan school district lines so sacrosanct when it comes to pro-

‘tecting constitutional rights of black children?

The Michigan State Board of Education has always been a

party to this litigation and has adequately represented the interests

of its subordinate districts. Petitioner school districts, although

having every opportunity to intervene in a case that had great

publicity, chose to intervene in February, 1972. The Sixth Circuit

in its remand has made it clear that all districts may participate in

the fashioning of a metropolitan remedy, which still is in the

process of being developed.

If the State of Michigan can continue to provide educational

services for students on an inter-district basis and continue to

transport students across school district lines, then a multi-district

desegregation remedy is consistent with Michigan school law. It is

‘Mandatory for the district court, exercising its equity powers, to

temedy the constitutional violation of the rights of 180,000 black

school children isolated from the rest of the relevant metropolitan

Detroit community. By practical necessity, this requires a multi-

district remedy .

\ (acting alone or through its agent,

the Detroit School District),

13

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRITS

I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED AS THIS IS NOT Ay

APPEAL FROM A FINAL DECISION SINCE THE SIXTH

CIRCUIT HAS REMANDED THE CASE TO THE Djs.

TRICT COURT TO DETERMINE WHAT TYPE OF

REMEDY SHOULD BE ORDERED, AND WHAT Dis

TRICTS, IF ANY, SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THAT

REMEDY.

A grant of certiorari would be improvident in this case as the

decision of the Sixth Circuit is not a final decision. The Sixth

Circuit agreed with the district court on its conclusion to consider

a metropolitan remedy and remanded the case for the joinder of

additional parties and for a determination of the relief to be

granted the plaintiffs; namely what type of metropolitan remedy

should be ordered. The district court has begun proceedings in

compliance with the instructions of the Sixth Circuit.

Among the issues that must be resolved in the district court

are (1) the identities of the school districts to be included ina

final desegregation plan, (2) the extent and type of transportation

to be required, (3) the precise method of crossing school district

boundaries to exchange pupils, (4) the number of pupils to be ex-

changed, and (5) the faculty involved.

If “a ‘final decision’ generally is one which ends the litigation

on the merits and leaves nothing for the Court to do but execute

the judgment,” Catlin v. U.S., 324 U.S. 229, 233 (1945), the June

12, 1973 decision of the Sixth Circuit is not a final decision, Se

St. Louis, ILM. and S.R.R. v. Southern Express Company, 108 US.

_ 24, 28 (1883); Morgan v. Thompson, 124 F. 203, 204 (8th Gi.

1903).

This Honorable Court admittedly has power to grant certio

rari in cases that are not yet final, but it has consistently refused

to review interlocutory, orders of the courts of appeals “‘unlessitis

necessary to prevent extraordinary inconvenience and embarrass

ment to the conduct of the cause.” American Construction Com-

pany v. Jacksonville T & K.W.R. Company, 148 U.S. 372, 384

(1893). This refusal to review especially follows when the cons

14

been remanded to the district court for further proceedings. See

Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros., 204 U.S. 251, 257-58

(1916); Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and Enginemen v.

Bangor & Aroostook R. Co., 389 U.S, 327, 328 (1967).

The possibility that the Sixth Circuit has erred may present

some slight inconvenience, but that inconvenience is much less

than would result from repeated piecemeal appeals. On the facts

of this case the inconvenience, if any, is hardly extraordinary, nor

will delay in Supreme Court review cause any “embarrassment to

the conduct of the cause.” Neither the State of Michigan nor the

Petitioner school districts are placed in any danger of being de-

prived of rights which cannot be vindicated by an appeal in the

normal course of litigation. Assuming, arguendo, that the State

and Petitioner school districts should be entitled to prevail on

every substantive point they raise, those points will still be capable

of vindication after the district court has concluded its hearing.

Consequently, there is no “danger of denying justice by delay.”

Dickinson v. Petroleum Conversion Corp., 338 U.S. 507, 511

(1950); Gillespie v. U.S. Steel Corporation, 379 U.S. 148 (1964).

Judge Friendly’s opinion for the Second Circuit in Taylor v.

Board of Education of New Rochelle, 288 F.2d 600, 602

(1961) dealt decisively with the related issue of finality of a dis-

trict court decision after a finding of segregation and before the

ordering of a remedy:

“Upon full consideration, we conclude that we have no

power to entertain the Board’s appeal until the District Court

has finished its work by directing the Board to take or refrain

from action.

“Familiar decisions of the Supreme Court establish the con-

trolling principles. ‘Finality as a condition of review is an

_ historic characteristic of federal appellate procedure. It was

bs written into the first Judiciary Act and has been departed

~ from orfly when observance of it would practically defeat the

“right to any review at all:’ Cobbledick-v. United States, 1940,

- 309 U.S. 323, 324-325, 60 S.Ct. 540, 541, 84 L.Ed, 783.

_ ‘The foundation of this policy is not in merely technical

ee conceptions of ‘finality.’ It is one against piecemeal litigation.

15

‘The case is not to be sent up in fragments * * *’ Luxtony,

‘North River Bridge Co., 147 U.S. 337, 341 [13 S.Ct. 356,

358, 37 L.Ed. 194]. Reasons other than conservation of

judicial energy sustain the limitation. One is elimination of

delays caused by interlocutory appeals.’ Catlin v. United

States, 1945, 324 U.S. 229, 233-234, 65 S.Ct. 631, 634, 89

L.Ed. 911.

“*A ‘final decision’ within 28 U.S.C. $1291, the basic

statute authorizing appeals to the courts of appeals, and

its predecessors going back to §§ 21 and 22 of the Act of

Sept. 24, 1789, c. 20, 1 Stat. 73, 83-84, ‘is one which ends

the litigation on the merits and leaves nothing for the court

to do but execute the judgment.’ Gatlin v. United States,

supra, 324 U.S. at page 233, 65 S.Ct. at page 633. Plainly

Judge Kaufman’s decision of January 24, 1961 does not fit

that description. It constituted only a determination that

plaintiffs were entitled to relief, the nature and extent of

which would be the subject of subsequent judicial considera-

tion by him. What remained to be done was far more than

those ministerial duties the pendency of which is not fatal to

finality and consequent appealability, Ray v. Law, 1805, 3

Cranch 179, 180, 2 L.Ed. 404. An order adjudging liability

but ee of relief still to be determined has

been a classic example of non-finality and non-appealability

from the time of Chief Justice Marshall to our own, The

Palmyra, 1825, 10 Wheat. 502, 6 L.Ed. 375; Barnard v. Gib

son, 1849, 7 How. 650, 12 L.Ed. 857; Leonidakis v. Inter-

national Telecoin Corp., 2 Cir., 1953, 208 F.2d 934; 6

Moore, Federal Practice (1953 ed.), p. 125 and fn. 5, ak

though in all such cases, as here, this subjects the defendant

to further proceedings in the court of first instance that will

have been uncalled for if that court’s determination of liabi-

lity is ultimately found to be wrong.

* * *

“Here, while we understand defendants dislike of presenting

a plan of desegregation and attending hearings thereon that

would be unnecessary if the finding of liability were ultt

- mately to be annulled, and also the possibly unwarranted —

16

~~ expectations this course may create, this is scarcely injury at

- all in the legal sense and surely not an irreparable one.

~’ Equally inapposite is the doctrine of Cohen v. Beneficial In-

dustrial Loan Corp., 1949, 337 U.S. 541, 545-547, 69 S. Ct.

1221, 1225, 93 L. Ed. 1528, also advanced: by appellants,

‘permitting review of orders ‘which finally determine claims

of right separable from, and collateral to rights asserted in the

_-action, too important to be denied review and too indepen-

_ dent of the cause itself to require that appellate consideration

be deferred until the whole case is adjudicated.’ Here the

» issue sought to be reviewed, far from being collateral to the

_ main litigation, represents the very findings and conclusions

upon which any final judgment against the defendants must

rest.”

Judge Friendly’s rationale is equally persuasive and dispositive

of this case.

For these reasons, certiorari should be denied.

17

fl. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED BECAUSE THis

HONORABLE COURT CANNOT PROPERLY ASSESS THE

PROPRIETY OF A MULTI-DISTRICT REMEDY WHEN

ALL FACTUAL ASPECTS OF THE REMEDY ARE Hypo.

THETICAL AND SPECULATIVE AND THEIR IMPACT, IF

ANY, UPON EACH PETITIONER IS UNKNOWN AT THis

TIME.

At this stage of the case there are too few firm facts available

to this Honorable Court in reviewing the work of the courts

below. Petitioners’ objections are to hypothetical conditions,

Remedies in school segregation cases, being matters of equity, are

characterized by a flexibility deeply rooted in the facts of each

case. See Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, 349 U.S. 294,

299-300 (1955); Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Educe-

tion, 402 U.S. 1, 12-13, 15,1971). As this Honorable Court has

said, “There is no universal answer to complex problems of deseg-

regation; there is obviously no one plan that will do the job in

every case. The matter must be assessed in light of the cir

cumstances present and the options available in each instance.”

Green v. County School Board of New Kent County, 391 US.

430, 439 (1968). That task cannot be done well if this Honorable

Court is not fully informed of the circumstances and options. The

Supreme Court cannot properly evaluate the decisions of the

courts below in the factual vacuum that exists at this point in this

case. Every major measureable aspect of a desegregation remedy is

unsettled in this case, as indicated in Reason I, supra at 13.

The Petitions for certiorari show on their face that they

present hypothetical questions divorced from the concrete facts

necessary to sound judicial decision-making. Petitioner Grose

Pointe Public School System refers to “the impact of the lower

courts’ proposed remedy upon the residents of every school dis

trict in the Detroit Metropolitan Area”. Grosse Pointe Public

School System, Petition for Writ of Certiorari, at 14. Yet that

petition cannot point to an actual remedy agreed upon by thos

courts. Rather, Petitioner concedes that the district court's plan

was vacated by the Sixth Circuit. (/d. at 16.) Nevertheless, in the

eyes of Petitioner Grosse Pointe Public School System, the vacated

plan “remains fully illustrative of the magnitude of a plan” the

Petitioner. wants to attack. Only if one assumes that the lower

RS

courts are playing games with the parties, can one assume before

tehearing that a vacated plan is “fully illustrative” of the ultimate

plan. This Honorable Court does not sit to resolve “illustrative”

issues but to deal with concrete legal issues. Petitioner jumbles

statistics based on a vacated plan and statistics from a much larger

metropolitan area in an effort to discredit a remedy that has not

yet been ordered. (/d. at 16). Petitioner admits that “the exact

geographical area and the number of students to be involved” are

unsettled, but asserts that the consequences of a remedy will be

“important” to Petitioner. Significantly, Petitioner cannot assert

with absolute certainty that it will be included in the geographical

area of the ultimate plan. Petitioner Grosse Pointe Public School.

System in effect concedes that all the critical facts are unknown:

pupil reassignment and transportation, faculty reassignment,

“governance, finance and administrative arrangements.” (/d. at 17,

note 25). Yet it asserts, as a justification for premature interven-

tion of this Honorable Court, that the cost of the unknown factors

‘is “inestimable”. (/d. at 17, note 25). The fact that all aspects of

the remedy are inestimable is good cause for this Honorable Court

to stay its hand and allow the district court to finish its work.

Petitioners Allen Park Public Schools, ef ai., are similarly un-

certain of the scope of the remedy. They also vacillate between

the vacated plan and the outer limits of the three county metro-

politan area in asserting the unreasonableness of a remedy that has

not yet been announced. Allen Park Public Schools, et ai., Petition

for Writ of Certiorari, at 14-15. Their uncertainty is reflected in

the very terms of the Statement of Questions Presented. Question

ll refers to an order “embracing up fo eighty-five (85)” school

districts and requiring the transportation of “hundreds of

thousands” of children. (/d. at 3, emphasis added). Precision was

obviously impossible at this stage of the case. Question III asserts a

failure to afford a meaningful hearing to “Petitioners against

whom relief is imposed.” (Id. at 4, emphasis added.) The wording

of the question obscures the fact that relief has never been “im-

posed” against some of those petitioners and, for all that is now

known, never will be. Other petitioners were included in the vacat-

ed plan but may or may not be affected by the next one.

Sound judicial administration will not be served by deciding

. Major issues of constitutional law on the speculative factual basis

tly available to this Honorable Court.

19

Ill. THE METROPOLITAN DESEGREGATION REMEDY Op.

DERED BY THE COURTS BELOW IS BASED ON Spr.

CIFIC MICHIGAN PUBLIC SCHOOL LAW, SET IN THE

CONTEXT OF THE RELEVANT METROPOLITAN De.

TROIT COMMUNITY, AND THUS CERTIORARI SHOULD |

BE DENIED. |

The Sixth Circuit correctly concluded that the Public School _

System in Michigan is a State function and that the local school

districts are mere “instrumentalities of the State created for

administrative convenience’. (165a). More succinctly stated,

under Michigan law, “the school district is a State agency”. —

Attorney General, ex rel Kies v. Lowrey, 131 Mich. 639, 644,92 |

N.W. 289, 290 (1902), aff'd, 199 U.S. 233 (1905). |

Tracing the long history of State control over local public

education in Michigan the Sixth Circuit noted as follows:

“The Northwest Ordinance of 1787 governing the Tert-

tory of Michigan provided:

‘Religion, morality and knowledge, being necessary to

good government and the happiness of mankind, schools

and the means of education shall forever be encouraged.’

Art. III.

“With this genesis, Michigan’s four Constitutions have

clearly established that the public school system in that State

is solely a State function. The Constitution of 1835 in Article

X, Section 3, provided, in part: ‘The legislature shall provide

for a system of common schools...’ The Constitution of

1850, Article XIII, Section 4, provided, in part: “The legisle-

ture shall... provide for and establish a system of primary

schools . . .’ Section | of the same Article provided, *. . . the

Superintendent of Public Instruction shall have general super

vision of public instruction . . .”

“The Constitution of 1908 in Article XI, Section 2, pro-

vided that the Superintendent of Public Instruction ‘shall

have general supervision of public instruction in the State.’

Article XI, Section 9, provided, in part as follows:

i

As

20

“The legislature shall continue a system of primary

schools, whereby every school district in the State shall

provide for the education of pupils without charge for tui-

tion...”

“The Constitution of 1963, the present Constitution of

the State of Michigan, in Article VIII, Section 2, provides, in

part, as follows:

‘The legislature shall maintain and support a system of

free public elementary and secondary schools as defined

by law.”

“In interpereting [sic] the above educational provisions of

the Constitution of 1850, the Michigan Supreme Court stat-

ed: “The school district is a State agency. Moreover, it is of

legislative creation...’ Attorney General v. Lowrey, 131

Mich. 639, 644, 92 N.W. 289, 290 (1902). Again, inter-

preting the Constitution of 1850, the Supreme Court of

Michigan in Attorney General v. Detroit Board of Education,

154 Mich. 584, 590, 118 N.W. 606, 609 (1908), adopted

lower court language which read:

‘Education in Michigan belongs to the State. It is no

part of the local self-government inherent in the township

or municipality, except so far as the legislature may chose

to make it such. The Constitution has turned the whole

subject over to the legislature . . .’

“The Supreme Court of Michigan interpreted Article XI,

Section 9, of the Constitution of 1908 to mean:

‘The legislature has entire control over the schools of

the State subject only to the provisions above referred to.

The division of the territory of the State into districts, the

conduct of the sclregl, the qualifications of teachers, the

subjects to be taught therein are all within its control.’

Child Welfare v. Kennedy School Dist., 220 Mich. 290,

296, 189 N.W. 1002, 1004 (1922).

“In the leading case concerning construction of this sec-

tion of the Michigan Constitution of 1963, the Michigan Su-

preme Court said:

the pervasive effect of State control over local school districts in

21

‘It is the responsibility of the State board of education

to supervise the system of free public schools set up by the

legislature and, as a part of that responsibility, to promul-

gate regulations specifying the number of hours necessary

to constitute a school day for elementary school students

as well as for other classifications or groupings of students,

to determine the curricula and, in general, to exercise

leadership and supervision over the public school system,’

Welling v. Livonia Board of Education, 382 Mich. 620,

624, 171 N.W.2d 545, 546 (1969). See also Governor y.

State Treasurer, 389 Mich. 1, 13, 203 N.W.2d 457 (1972).

“Michigan has not treated its school districts as sacrosanct.

To the contrary, Michigan always has regarded education as

the fundamental business of the State as a whole. Local

school districts are creatures of the State and act as instr-

mentalities of the State under State control. Cf Senghas y.

L’Anse Creuse Public Schools, 368 Mich. 557, 118 N.W.2d

975 (1962); McLaughlin v. Board of Education, 255 Mich.

667, 239 N.W. 374, (1931). (16Sa-167a)

The Sixth Circuit also cited numerous examples illustrating

Michigan. These examples serve to unequivocally substantiate the

court’s conclusion that local school districts are mere instrumen-

talities or agents of the State created for administrative conven-

ience. As cited by the Sixth Circuit, examples were as follows:

“1. Following the holding of Welling v. Livonia Board of

Education, supra, that there was no minimum length of day

required under the 1 80-day school attendance rule absent a

State Board of Education regulation, the Michigan State

Board of Education, acting under its Constitutional mandate

without legislative authority, established an administrative

rule requiring local school boards to provide a minimum

number of hours per school year. See, School Districts Child

Account for Distribution of State Aid, Bulletin No. 1005,

Michigan State Department of Education (1970).

(167a-1 68a).

“2. Public Act 289 of 1964 (MSA 15.2299 (1) et seq,

MCLA §388.681 et seq.) required Michigan school districts

3a —

22:

-- to operate K-12 systems. When Public Act 289 become effec-

~ tive, 1,438 public school districts existed in Michigan. By the

beginning of 1968, this figure had been reduced to 738,

meaning that 700 school districts in Michigan have disap-

peared since 1964 through reorganization. Annual Report,

Committee on School District Reorganization, 1968 Journal

of the Senate 422-423 (March 1, 1968). (168a).

“3. Pursuant to Act 289 of 1964, supra, the State Board

of Education ordered the merger of the Brownstown No. 10,

Hand, Maple Grove and Carson school districts, all in Wayne

County. The action is best explained by the fact that Browns-

town was, at that time, the wealthiest school district in the

State, indeed, with a property valuation of $340,000 backing

each child, perhaps the wealthiest district in the nation, while

the other three districts were extremely poor. (168a).

“4. When the Sumpter School District was on the verge

of bankruptcy in 1968, the State Board of Education, acting

under Public Act 239 of 1967 (MSA §15.2299 (51) et seq.,

MCLA 8§388.691 et seq.), merged the district with four ad-

joining districts, including the Airport School District. Signi-

ficantly, though Sumpter was in Wayne County, Airport was

in Monroe County, showing that county lines are not in-

violate in Michigan. (168a).

“5. The Nankin Mills School District in Wayne County

was beset with financial problems and had no high school.

Again, pursuant to Act 239, the State Board of Education in

1969 ordered this school district to merge with the Livonia,

Garden City and Wayne Community schools. (168a).

“6. When the Inkster School District in Wayne County

was on the verge of financial bankruptcy, the Michigan legis-

lature passed Public Act 32 of 1968 (MSA § 15.1916 et seq.,

MCLA §388.201 et seq.) enabling the district to borrow

~ $705,000 but on the condition that if the district could not

~ balance its budget the State Board of Education could reor-

ganize, merge or annex the district. The legislative history of

Act 32 indicates at least two legislators voted against the bill

_ in the House of Representatives because of the excessive con,

trol given to the State Board of Education:

23

‘I voted No on House Bill No. 3332 because in setting

up the machinery to bail out distressed districts, it takes

from the local communities the control over their own

educational system by providing for excessive arbitrary re

organization powers in the hands of the Board of Educa.

tion...’

‘This bill certainly sets up the State Board of Education

to be a dictator of all school districts that run into fi.

nancial problems.’ 1968 Journal of the House of Represen-

tatives 1965. (168a-169a).

“7. Too small and too poor to operate a high school, the

all-black Carver School District in suburban Oakland County

reached a crisis in 1960 when other surrounding white dis-

tricts refused to accept Carver pupils on a tuition basis. The

Carver district was merged with Oak Park. (169a).

“8. The State Board of Education and Superintendent of

Public Instruction may withhold State aid for failure to

operate the minimum school year. MSA §15.3575, MCLA

§ 340.575. In 1970, funds were withheld from the City of

Grand Rapids School District. 17 Michigan School Board

Journal 3 (March, 1970). For Attorney General Opinions

holding that State aid may be withheld by the State Board of

Education from the school districts for hiring uncertified

teachers, defaulting on State loans and for other reasons, see

Op. Att’y Gen. No. 880, 1949-1950 Report of the Attorney

General 104 (January 24, 1949, Roth); No. 2333, 1955

Report of the Attorney General 561 (October 20, 1955,

Kavanaugh); No. 4097, 1961-1962 Report of the Attorney

General 553 (October 8, 1962, Kelley). (169a-1 70a).

“9. The State of Michigan contributes, on the average,

34% of the operating budgets of the 54 school districts in-

cluded in the proposed Metropolitan Plan of Integration. In

eleven of the 54 districts, the State’s contribution exceeds

50% and in eight more, it exceeds 40%. State aid is appropt-

ated from the General Fund, revenue raised through state

wide taxation, and is distributed annually to the local school

districts under a formula devised by the legislature. See, ¢g, _

Public Act 134(1971), MSA §15.1919(51), MCLA $388.61 leg ly

24

“Though the local school districts obtain funds from the

assessment of local property, the ultimate authority in in-

suring equalized property valuations throughout the State is

the State Tax Commission. MSA §7.631, et seq., MCLA

§209.101, et seq.; MSA §7.206, MCLA §211.148; MSA

$7.52, MCLA $211.34. The State’s duty to equalize is re-

quired by the Michigan Constitution, Article IX, Section 3.

This ‘State equalized valuation’ serves as the basis for calcu-

lating local revenue yields. See, Ranking of Michigan Public

High School — School Districts by Selected Financial Data,

1970, Bulletin 1012, Michigan State Department of Educa-

tion (1971). (170a).

“10. The Michigan School Code reaffirms the ultimate

control of the State over public education. Local school dis-

tricts must observe all State laws relating to schools,! hold

school a minimum number of days per year,2 employ only

certified teachers, teach civics, health and physical educa-

tion and drivers’ education,4 excuse students to attend reli-

gious instruction classes,> observe State requirements when

teaching sex education,© make annual financial and other re-

ports to the Superintendent of Public Instruction,? adopt

only textbooks which are listed with the Superintendent of

Public Instruction’ and must follow all rules and regulations

of the State Department of Education.

“Local school districts, unless they have the approval of

the State Board of Education or the Superintendent of Public

MSA §15.3253(c), MCLA §340.252(c).

MSA §15.3575,MCLA $340.575.

MSA §§15.1023(10)(a), 15.3570, MCLA §$388.1010(a), 340.570.

MSA §6§15.1951, 15.3361, MCLA §§388.371, 340.361; MSA

§$15.3781, 15.3782, MCLA § §340.781, 340.782; MSA §9.2511(c),

MCLA §257.811(c).

MSA $15.3732(g), MCLA §340.732(g).

MSA $15,.3789, MCLA §340.789.

MSA §15.3612, MCLA §340.612;MSA §§15.3616, 15.3688, MCLA

§ §340.616, 340.688.

MSA $15.3887(1), MCLA $340.887(1).

25

Instruction, cannot consolidate with another school district 9

annex territory,!9 divide or attach parts of other districts,!!

borrow monies in anticipation of State aid,!2 or construct,

reconstruct or remodel school buildings or additions to

them.!3

“The power to withhold State aid, of course, effects enor.

mous leverage upon any local school district, since on the

average 34 per cent of the operation budget of the 54 school

districts included in the proposed Metropolitan Plan is paid

for by the State.

“In the instance of the City of Detroit, the State exhibited

its understanding of its power over the local school district

by the adoption of Act 48 of the Public Acts of 1970 which

repealed a high school desegregation plan previously adopted

by the Detroit Board of Education, See 433 F.2d 897.”

(170a-17 1a).

As noted in the above excerpt from the Sixth Circuit

Opinion, the State of Michigan eliminated 700 school districts be-

tween 1964 and 1968. (168a). Those school districts were elimi-

nated by the State for educational and financial reasons. The fact

that Michigan can, and did, eliminate nearly half of its local school

districts in a five year period is overwhelming evidence that, in

Michigan, local school districts are mere “‘instrumentalities of the

State” that can be created, eliminated, or consolidated for the

administrative convenience of the State. If this Honorable Court

has any doubt about the pervasive state control of education in

Michigan we urge this Honorable Court to re-read the Petition for

Writ of Certiorari of Michigan’s Attorney General and ask this

simple question: Does the Attorney General at any point deny the

“ [9] MSA §15.3402, MCLA §340.402.

[10] MSA §15.3431,MCLA §340.431.

[11] MSA §15.3447, MCLA §340.447.

[12] MSA §15.3567(1), MCLA §340,567(a).

[13] MSA §15.1961, MCLA §388.851, Op. Att’y Gen. No. 1837, 1952:

1954 Report of the Attorney General 440 (Nov. 8, 1954).”

26

finding of the district court, affirmed by the Sixth Circuit, that

jocal school districts in Michigan are mere state agencies through

which the state acts?3

_ Since the Michigan State Board of Education has previously

arranged for multi-district co-operation, and in some cases multi-

district consolidation, for educational and financial purposes,

there is no reason why the Michigan State Board of Education and

‘its agents, in the instant case the metropolitan Detroit community

school districts, cannot be involved in remedying a constitutional

violation of the rights of black children.

In Michigan, it makes no difference whether the offender of

those constitutional rights was the agent, the Detroit School Board,

or the principal, the State of Michigan, or both. The action of the

Detroit School Board is, under Michigan law, the action of the

State of Michigan. Conversely, the actions of the State are binding

on the Detroit School Board.

The instant decision by the Sixth Circuit, based on specific

Michigan public school law set in the context of the relevant

metropolitan Detroit community, is limited to Michigan and can-

not be applied to other states having different applicable public

school law. The public school law of Michigan, as enunciated by

the Michigan Constitution, the State Legislature, judicial inter- .

pretation and avowed public policy, is clear and consistent: local

school districts are mere instrumentalities or agents of the State of

Michigan. Hence, the contention that school district boundaries in

Michigan are sacrosanct, and that the Courts below have no power

to grant effective remedial equitable relief beyond established

school district boundaries, should be rejected and Certiorari

denied.

[3] Because of the unique agency relationship existing between the State

of Michigan and its local school districts, case law involving public ed-

ucation in other states may not necessarily apply. For example, in

Bradley v. School Board of the City of Richmond, 462 F.2d 1058 (4th

Cir. 1972), aff'd by an equally divided court, U.S, ____ , 93 S.Ct.

1952 (1973) the Fourth Circuit noted that:

“The power to operate, maintain and supervise public schools in

Virginia is, and always has been within the exclusive jurisdiction of

the local school boards and not within the jurisdiction of the State

Board of Education.” 462 F.2d at 1067.

The Sixth Circuit, in the instant case, emphasized the distinction be-

tween Virginia and Michigan public school law, when it said:

“The record in the present case amply supports the finding that the

State of Michigan has not been subject to such (referring to Vir-

ginia law) limitations in its dealings with local school boards.”

27

IV. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED AS THE COURTS BE.

LOW DID NOT ERR IN ORDERING A METROPOLITAN

REMEDY, WITHOUT REGARD TO ARTIFICIAL CITY OR

MUNICIPAL BOUNDARY LINES, TO ELIMINATE UN.

CONSTITUTIONAL, RACIALLY IDENTIFIABLE

SCHOOLS IN THE METROPOLITAN DETROIT COMMU.

NITY, SINCE THE STATE OF MICHIGAN, IN AND OF IT.

SELF, HAS SOLE RESPONSIBILITY FOR EDUCATION

WITHIN ITS BOUNDARIES.

On the basis of the Record in this case the courts below

correctly ordered a metro litan remedy.

1. This is not a racial balance case. Instead the courts below

used a racial proportion of the relevant community as a

starting point for desegregation as specifically endorsed by

Swann Vv. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, 402

U.S. 1 (1971).

2. The relevant community is the metropolitan Detroit commv-

nity; not just the City of Detroit.

3.A finding of de jure acts on the part of the Petitioner school

districts, or the de jure establishment of school boundaries, is

unnecessary because of the legal relationship between the

Petitioner school districts and the State.

4.A Detroit-only remedy is constitutionally impermissible as

such an alleged remedy is not a remedy which results in de-

segregation.

1. THIS IS NOT A RACIAL BALANCE CASE.

This is not a racial balance case. The district court found that

the schools in Detroit, averaging 65% black, are racially identi-

fiable in a metropolitan community that is three-quarters white.

There is nothing constitutionally repugnant in having black me

jority schools per se in majority black communities. However,

what is constitutionally repugnant is a remedy which would mait-

tain a set of majority black schools, clearly identifiable as dif

ferent, in a community in which the vast majority of the rest of

the schools are all white. Swann, supra.

28

Petitioners’ reliance on Wright v. Council of City of Emporia,

407 U.S. 451 (1972) and United States v. Scotland Neck Board of

Education, 407 U.S. 484 (1972) for the proposition that pre-

dominately black schools can be tolerated in the metropolitan

Detroit community is misplaced.4 Both cases involved county-

wide black communities. For that reason, the.fact that the schools

in the relevant community were racially identifiable as black was

not constitutionally repugnant. In fact, this Honorable Court re-

jected an attempt by municipalities, within those counties, to

withdraw from the county-wide school districts after a desegrega-

tion order had been issued. Neither Emporia nor Scotland Neck is

applicable to the instant case because here the relevant community

is the metropolitan Detroit community which is urban and ma-

jority white. The maintenance of identifiably black schools in such

a community results in the racial isolation that Brown J con-

demned. Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka 347 U.S. 483

(1954).

Where the relevant community is majority white, then a rem-

edy which retains racially identifiable black schools is repugnant

to the Constitution of the United States. This Honorable Court, in

Swann, specifically held that every school, or almost everyschool,

should consist of a mixture of the races that roughly approximates

the make-up of the student community as a whole.

The courts below examined the Detroit metropolitan com-

munity of 780,000 students and, in the words of Swann, used

racial ratios as “‘a starting point in the process of shaping a rem-

edy, rather than [as] an inflexible requirement.” 402 U.S. at 25.

[4] We are unable to explain the State’s reliance, page 35 of its Petition, on

Raney v. Board of Education of Gould School District, 391 U.S. 443

(1968). The Raney case rejected ‘freedom of choice” as a tool for

desegregation. The question of “freedom of choice” is not an issue in

the instant case.

The State also has relied on a 1969 Sixth Circuit case, Northcross v.

Board of Education of Memphis, 420 F.2d 546, 548 (1969), aff'd per

curiam, 397 U.S. 232 (1970), for the proposition that a unitary school

system can be effectuated in a school district that is majority black.

The Sixth Circuit was obviously aware of its Northcross holding, and

the particular facts which supported it, when it agreed with a metro-

politan plan in principle, while remanding same to the district court

with instructions to develop a metropolitan plan of desegregation.

29

. 2. THE COMMUNITY INVOLVED IS THE METROPOLI-

TAN DETROIT COMMUNITY.

The relevant community for an appropriate remedy in the

instant case is much larger than the City of Detroit. The district

court’s. findings, adopted by the Sixth Circuit, noted the following

facts clearly establishing the metropolitan nature of the Detroit

community: |

A. Many pupils in the metropolitan Detroit community already

cross school district lines to attend school or receive edu-

cational services on an inter-district basis. (79a-80a)

B.The metropolitan Detroit area has been labeled by the

Bureau of the Census as a Standard Metropolitan Statistical

Area because of the high degree of interaction among the

populace of the tri-county (Wayne, Oakland and Macomb)

area (80a). :

C. Recognizing the interdependence of its citizens, the Detroit

metropolitan community has joined together in establishing

the Metropolitan Detroit Water System. (80a).

D.The metropolitan Detroit community has joined together to

establish a joint transportation system known as the South-

eastern Michigan Transportation Authority (SEMTA). (80a)

E. The metropolitan Detroit community has joined together in

establishing a Metropolitan Sewage System. (80a).

F. The metropolitan Detroit community has joined together in

establishing a metropolitan park authority known as the

Huron-Clinton Metropolitan Authority. (80a).

G.The local governments have recognized their interdependence

by creating the Southeastern Michigan Council of Govern-

ments (SEMCOG). (80a).

H.The school authorities have recognized the metropolitan

nature of education by creating intermediate school districts

which provide educational serviceson an inter-district basis in

each of the three counties. (80a).

30

_ 1. A number of school districts encompass more than one city.

For example, Petitioner, Grosse Pointe School System,

encompasses five separately incorporated cities (Grosse

Pointe Park, Grosse Pointe City, Grosse Pointe Farms, Grosse

Pointe Woods, and Grosse Pointe Shores) and part of a sixth

(Harper Woods), most of which have at least one common

indistinguishable pavement border with the City of Detroit.

(80a).

J. The economic and social life of metropolitan Detroit is

metropolitan in scope. (70a-80a).

Subjective perceptions as to the metropolitan nature of the

Detroit community coincide with above objective data. Metropoli-

tan Detroit residents cross indistinguishable political lines casually

in shopping, commuting to work, seeking recreation and seeking

private or higher education. Dr. Robert Green, an expert witness

in the trial below, testified to those perceptions when he referred

to the stream of whites driving down the freeway from the sub-

urbs to Detroit in the morning rush hour traffic and when he

described how Detroit-educated whites have fled to the suburbs.

Just as black children in a 90% black school still perceive their

school as identifiably black, even though all children in the atten-

dance zone go to the same school, children in a 60% to 80% black

Detroit school will continue to perceive their school as identifiably

black even though it is no different from any other school in

Detroit — precisely because they know that there are nearby

suburbs full of white youngsters receiving educations in all-white

schools.

It would be a most unusual third grader of any race who

could stand on Tireman Street, a paved indistinguishable boundary

line, separating overwhelmingly white Dearborn from Detroit, and

explain that a political boundary, rather than race, was the reason

the white children south of Tireman attended a white school and

the black children north of Tireman attended a black school. His

Perception of the metropolitan community also is conditioned by

the metropolitan orientation of the communication media — news-

31

papers, television, radio — to which he is exposed. There is no

evidence in the Record which permits an assumption that the per.

ception of the community felt by a black child in Detroit is limit.

ed to the:irregular boundaries of the school district of the City of

Detroit and further limited to the racial composition of the stu.

dents in the Detroit school system. It is obvious, in a community

that is so interrelated between city and suburbs, that the black

child would wonder why his school does not reflect the total racial

composition of the metropolitan Detroit community, and why he

has been racially isolated.

The avoidance of racial isolation has been a part of the law of

school desegregation for 19 years. Mr. Chief Justice Warren form-

ulated this issue for a unanimous Court in Brown v. Board of

Education of Topeka, (Brown I), 347 U.S. 483 (1954) when he

said:

“To separate them (blacks) from others of similar age and

qualification solely because of their race generates a feeling

of inferiority as to their status in the community that may

affect their hearts and minds in a way unlikely ever to b

undone.” 347 U.S. at 494.

There are over a million children of school age in the metro

politan Detroit area. There are 280,000 school children in the

Detroit system, of which 180,000 are black children. It would be

unconstitutional racial isolation to confine these children to the

city limits of Detroit. Their education is the responsibility of the

State of Michigan. And the State of Michigan has established, for

its own administrative convenience, the Detroit school system and

the surrounding, basically all-white school districts. ie

We may add that in Brown JI, 349 U.S. 294 (1955), Chief

Justice Warren speaking to the method of desegregation, stated:

“To that end, the Courts may consider problems related to

administration, arising from the physical condition of the

school plant, the school transportation system, personnel, te

vision of school districts and attendance areas into compat

units to achieve a system of determining admission to the

public schools on a non-racial basis, and revision of local laws

and regulations which may be necessary in solving the fore

— gees

going problems. They will also consider the adequacy of any

plans the Defendants may propose to meet these problems

and to effectuate a transition to a racially nondiscriminatory

school system.” 349 U.S. at 300-301.

The district court and the Sixth Circuit, both in panel and

en banc, came to realize that the only way unconstitutional racial

school isolation in the extensively interrelated metropolitan

Detroit community can be eliminated is through a metropolitan

desegregation remedy.

3. A FINDING OF DE JURE ACTS ON THE PART OF

THE PETITIONER SCHOOL DISTRICTS OR THE DE

JURE ESTABLISHMENT OF SCHOOL BOUNDARIES

IS UNNECESSARY BECAUSE OF THE LEGAL RELA-

TIONSHIP BETWEEN THE PETITIONER SCHOOL

* DISTRICTS AND THE STATE.

The suggestion that a de jure finding must be made against

the suburbs is totally irrelevant. Assuming, arguendo, that the

Courts below proceeded on a de jure basis, and that there cannot

be any showing of de jure acts on the part of the Petitioner school

districts, or with regard to the drawing of their boundary lines, the

results here would be the same. The Sixth Circuit has demonstrat-

ed with clarity the pervasive power of the State of Michigan over

individual school districts and has shown that the districts are

mere instrumentalities or agents of the State of Michigan.

If the Detroit School Board committed de jure acts of segre-

gation, as an agent or instrumentality of the State, its actions con-

stitute State action, and the State of Michigan is responsible for a

desegregation remedy. If the State of Michigan alone committed

de jure acts of segregation, again, the State is responsible for a de-

segregation remedy. In fact, the court below found that both the

State of Michigan and the Detroit School Board had committed de

jure acts of segregation. The Petitioner school districts have con-

veniently ignored their relationship with the State of Michigan. It

makes no difference what basis was used for drawing their bound-

ay lines. These Petitioner school districts are an integral part of

’s system of education and when there is an unconstitu-

33 ae

tional violation in that system they must form part of the remedy.

If the State of Michigan is responsible for a remedy either because

of the State’s own actions or because of the actions of its agent,

the Detroit School Board, or both, the State of Michigan cap

properly be ordered to implement a remedy that involves the

school districts contained within the metropolitan Detroit com-

munity which, as State controlled agents created by the State for

its convenience, are nothing more than the State of Michigan it.

self.

There are at least four elements that must be present fora

desegregation plan to work.

(1) Every school, or almost every school, should contain a

mixture of the races that roughly approximates the make-up of

the student community as a whole. Swann, supra; Davis v. Board

of School Commissioners of Mobile County, 402 U.S. 33 (1971).

(2) The plan should be educationally sound. Swann, supra

(3) The plan should avoid resegregation. Lemon v. Bossier

Parish School Board, 446 F.2d 911 (5th Cir. 1971).

(4) The plan must be practical. Each of these elements ofa

workable plan deserves to be examined more closely. Swann,

supra; Davis, supra.

Racial Mix: We repeat that Swann validates the use of race in

student assignments where the goal is desegregation rather than

segregation. This Honorable Court has recognized the racial assign

ment concept as a primary teaching of Swann in Kelly v. Metro

politan County Board of Education of Nashville and Davidson

County, 463 F.2d 732 (1972), cert. denied, 409 US. 1001

(1972), where this Honorable Court said:

“Perhaps the primary thing that the Swann case decided was

that in devising plans to terminate such residual effects, itis

appropriate for the school system and the District Judge to

take note of the proportionof white and black students with

in the area and to seek as practical a plan as may be for ené-

ing white schools and black schools and substituting therefor

schools which are representative of the area in wae

students live.

34

We have noted that the District Judge in Swann employed a

flexible 71% white to 29% black population ratio as a guide

in seeking a practical plan. The Supreme Court specifically

approved his doing so. See Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg

Board of Education, supra at 16, 23-24. The District Judge in

this case clearly read and followed the Swann guideline. As to

this issue, we find no error.” 463 F.2d at 744

In the instant case, the district court found that in the metro-

politan Detroit desegregation area the ratio of whites to blacks was

approximately 75% to 25% and, therefore, on June 14, 1972,

adopted a plan that would approximate this ratio, in the spirit of

Swann as apparently approved by this Honorable Court in Nash-

ville.

Educational soundness: No desegregation plan can function

unless it is educationally sound. The educational soundness of an

integration plan is to a large extent dependent upon how effec-

tively it gives children an opportunity to have stable multi-racial

experiences in groups composed substantially like the surrounding

" community. Such experiences, especially if begun as early as pos-

sible, give children of both major races accurate perceptions of

their own abilities and those of the members of the opposite race.

These informed self-perceptions in turn lead to more self-con-

fidence and better scholastic performance. Multi-racial education is

essential preparation for life in a multi-racial society. For this rea-

son, if no other, schools should reflect the racial composition of

the entire metropolitan community which they serve.

Practicalities: Swann and Davis obviously suggest that a plan

must be practical. The transportation plan envisioned by the dis-

trict court in its desegregation area is no more massive nor does it

require rides longer in distance than are presently being under-

taken by children in the metropolitan Detroit area. The clusters

are so designed as to provide for administrative convenience. (72a-

7Sa).

In other words, there is nothing in the plan to suggest that it

is not practical. To illustrate, a substantial part of the educational

program of the State is not conducted on a local school district

basis. The intermediate school districts provide inter-district educa-

_ tion for the physically handicapped, the emotionally disturbed

35

and vocational students. Frequently, with the exception of voca

tional education which is usually operated at large central skills

centers, these special educational programs are operated on an

inter-district basis. In point of fact, inter-district transportation has

been a common phenomenon for the special education student for

a good many years. If there is any distinction between the pro

priety of the State of Michigan providing a metropolitan desegre-

gation remedy for the purpose of terminating the violation of con-

stitutional rights and the propriety of the above inter-district activi-

ties, such distinction escapes the Detroit School Board.

Resegregation: No desegregation plan can function if it offers

a ready avenue for resegregation. Even policies pursued by school

board officials in good faith do not relieve them of their duty to

fully eradicate the vestiges of segregation. Clark v. Board of Educa-

tion of Little Rock School District, 426 F.2d 1035 (8th Cir.

1970): It follows then that the courts should require school

authorities to take steps to prevent resegregation by various

means. Lemon, supra. Similarly, in protecting Fourteenth and

Fifteenth Amendment rights, this Honorable Court has spoken of

a “need to eradicate past evil effects and to prevent the continua

tion or repetition in the future of discriminatory practices...”

Louisiana v. United States, 380 U.S. 145, 156 (1965). Were a less

rigorous standard insisted upon by the courts, the constitutional

obligation to eradicate segregation “root and branch” would be re-

duced to a pruning that would let the old evil grow back, more

vigorous and more intractable than ever. See Swann, supra.

Neither this Honorable Court nor the school authorities would be

true to their duty were they to adopt a plan that will create more,

rather than less, segregation.

Failure to adopt a metropolitan remedy would mean that the

black children of the City of Detroit would, in effect, have had

their constitutional rights denied and would be without a remedy

required by Swann. In other words, we would have the anomaly

that there is a constitutional wrong but no remedy.

"~

am

a

SS

tae x

Sie

36

In recent years it has been urged upon the federal court sys-

tem that constitutional violations as to voting rights could not be

remedied. See Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962). This Honorable

Court responded and now voting rights cases are an intricate part

of our system of constitutional protections with remedies. See,

eg., Gomillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339 (1960). We suggest that

the remedy in the instant case must be the metropolitan remedy

adopted by the district court which considered the necessity of

racial mix, education soundness, prevention of resegregation, and

the practicalities of the situation, and which has attempted to eradi-

cate the evils of segregation “root and branch” pursuant to the dic-

tates of Green v. County School Board of New Kent County, 391

U.S. 430 (1968).

No more elegant statement of the legal and practical reasons

for a metropolitan remedy in the Detroit metropolitan community

has been made than the district court’s own statement from the

bench on July 19, 1972:

“I think it should be clearly understood, however, that in my

disposition of the motions before me today this Court does

not retreat from nor abandon... our conclusion that any

plan for the desegregation of the public schools of the City of

Detroit would not accomplish desegregation and that only a

Metropolitan Plan of desegregation would accomplish the de-

segregation of those schools.”

“The Equal Protection clause of the Fourteenth Amendment

to the Constitution of the United States, as I read it, is not

geographically limited. It is difficult for this Court to believe

that any higher judicial authority of the United States would

or, for that matter Constitutionally could, engraft on that

amendment any such geographical limitation. The vindication

of the Plaintiffs’ Constitutional right to equal education can-

not be denied on the claim of alleged sovereign powers of

local school districts.” (Tr. 1947-48).

4. A DETROIT-ONLY PLAN IS CONSTITUTIONALLY IM-

PERMISSIBLE

It is the contention of all Petitioners that the district court’s

finding that “relief of segregation in the Detroit public schools

cannot be accomplished within the corporate geographical limits

of the city”, is in error. This contention completely ignores the

37

constitutional rights of 280,000 Detroit school children.

We call this Honorable Court’s attention to what the district

court stated in its Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law as to

Detroit-only plans in its Opinion of March 28, 1972.

With regard to Defendants’ Plan A, the district court found:

“4. As conceded by its author, Plan A is neither a desegrega-

tion nor an integration plan.” (54a).

As to Defendants’ Plan C, the district court held:

“2. We find that this plan covers only a portion of the

grades and would leave the base schools no less racially

identifiable.” (54a).

Insofar as Plaintiff's Plan was concerned, the district

court said:

“7. The Plaintiffs’ Plan would make the Detroit school

system more identifiably Black, and leave many of its

schools 75 to 90 per cent Black.” (55a).

“8. It would change a school system which is now Black and

White to one that would be perceived as Black, thereby

increasing the flight of Whites from the City and the

system, thereby increasing the Black student popu-

lation.” (55a).

Thus, the district court’s conclusions of law on this point,

were most explicit.

“2. On the basis of the court’s findings of illegal school seg-

regation, the obligation of the school defendants is to

adopt and implement an educationally sound, practice

ble plan of desegregation that promises realistically to

achieve now and hereafter the greatest possible degree

of actual school desegregation. Green v. County School

Board, 391 U.S. 430; Alexander v. Holmes County

Board of Education, 396 U.S. 19; Carter v. West

. 38 :

Feliciana Parish School Board, 396 U.S. 290; Swann v.

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, 402 U.S. 1.

(Emphasis added). (56a).

** *

“4. Plaintiffs’ Plan, while it would provide a racial mix more

in keeping with the Black-White proportions of the

student population than under either of the Board’s

plans or as the system now stands, would accentuate the

racial identifiability of the district as a Black school

system, and would not accomplish desegregation.

' (Emphasis added). (56a).

“5. The conclusion, under the evidence in this case, is ines-

capable that relief of segregation in the public schools of

the City of Detroit cannot be accomplished within the

corporate geographical limits of the city.”” (Emphasis

added). (56a).

The Sixth Circuit emphatically agreed with the district court

when it said:

“At the outset it is obvious from what we have said per-

taining to the inadequacy of any Detroit only desegregation

plan that this court feels that some plan for desegregation be-

yond the boundaries of the Detroit School District is both

within the equity powers of the District Court and essential

to a solution of this problem.” (173a)

As the above citations indicate, both the district court and

the Sixth Circuit have agreed that complete relief within Detroit

is constitutionally impossible. Detroit is the hub of a highly inter-

related metropolitan area which contains a public school popula-

tion that is approximately 75% white and 25% black. Yet the

student population within the Detroit school system is 65% black

and 35% white. There are no steps the Detroit Board of Education

can take within its boundaries which would desegregate the

Detroit public schools.

39

This Honorable Court should not grant certiorari. The rem.

edy proposed is consistent with Michigan school law and the

metropolitan nature of Detroit. It recognizes the fact that in the

metropolitan Detroit community, governmental services — parks

water, sewage, transportation and education — have assumed

metropolitan dimensions. Thus, a metropolitan desegregation

remedy is compelling in its logic and irrefutable in its necessity,

40

y. SINCE THIS HONORABLE COURT HAS ENCOURAGED

‘DISTRICT COURTS TO FASHION BROAD, TAILOR-

MADE, EQUITABLE REMEDIES FOR THE ELIMINATION

OF CONSTITUTIONAL VIOLATIONS IN EACH GIVEN

SITUATION, THERE IS NOTHING UNCONSTITUTIONAL

IN THE INSTANT REMEDY, PURSUANT TO ESTAB-

LISHED MICHIGAN PUBLIC SCHOOL LAW, SO AS TO

JUSTIFY CERTIORARI.

As the courts below clearly indicated, education in Michigan

is solely a function of the State. Local school districts are mere

creatures of the State acting as agents or instrumentalities of the

State under pervasive State control.

When the district court, having heard over fifty-eight days of

testimony, including five days on a Detroit-only desegregation

remedy, ruled in favor of a metropolitan desegregation remedy, it

was simply responding to this Honorable Court’s directive to

“make every effort to achieve the greatest possible degree of

actual desegregation.” Davis v. Board of School Commissioners of

Mobile County, 402 U.S. 33, 37 (1971). The Sixth Circuit twice

(December 8, 1972 and June 12, 1973) (110a-111a) approved the

necessity of a metropolitan desegregation remedy as found by the

district court. .

The legal path for the metropolitanization of school districts

was first cleared by this Honorable Court in the so-called voting

rights cases. Those decisions established that constitutional re-

quirements supercede the importance of maintaining State created

legislative districts. Reynolds v. Sims, 377 U.S. 533 (1964);

Gomillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339 (1960).

The concept of ignoring political division lines for purposes

of guaranteeing constitutional rights has been extended to school

districts. Where a city attempted to remove its schools from a

county system when the latter was ordered to establish a unitary

school system, the Fifth Circuit refused to permit the secession

because it would have had a substantial adverse effect on desegre-

gation. Lee v. Macon County Board of Education, 448 F.2d 746

(Sth Cir. 1971). The court observed:

“[S]chool district lines within a State are matters of political

convenience.” 448 F.2d at 752.

41

In another case, a district court refused to permit the creg

tion of two school districts where one could operate as easily as

two, and where the creation of two school districts was obviously

designed to foster racial segregation. Turner v. Warren County

Board of Education, 313 F.Supp. 380 (E.D. N.C. 1970). See algo,

Hall vy. St. Helena Parish School Board, 197 F.Supp. 649, 658

(E.D. La. 1961), aff'd, 287 F.2d 376 (Sth Cir. 1961), aff'd per

curiam, 368 U.S. 515 (1962); Burleson vy. County Board of Elec-

tion Commissioners of Jefferson County, 308 F.Supp. 352 (ED.

Ark. 1970), aff'd per curiam, 432 F.2d 1356 (8th Cir. 1970).

The principle that school district lines may not be used for

purposes of violating fundamental constitutional rights has re

cently been recognized by this Honorable Court. School districts

are not permitted to withdraw from county-wide school systems

where the effect of such a separation would impede the process of

dismantling a segregated school system. Wright v. Council of City

of Emporia, 407 U.S. 451 (1972); United States v. Scotland Neck

City Board of Education, 407 U.S. 484 (1972).

Refusal to permit the separation of school districts wher

such action would foster segregation has its counterpart in the

court-ordered merger of districts. In Haney v. County Board Edu-

cation of Sevier County, 410 F.2d 920 (8th Cir. 1969), the Eighth

Circuit ordered the merger of a white school district and a black

school district even though they had been maintained as separate

units for fourteen years. The court declared:

**[S] tate political subdivisions have long ago lost their

mastery over the more desired effects of protecting the equal

rights of all citizens.” 410 F.2d at 924.

The Eighth Circuit viewed merger of the two districts in Sevier

County as the only possible means of effectively desegregating the

schools. In Texas, the annexation and consolidation of all-black

school districts with nearby biracial units was ordered as a means

of achieving meaningful racial desegregation. United States v. State

of Texas, 447 F.2d 441 (Sth Cir. 1971). With regard to changesin

school district boundaries, the Fifth Circuit specifically directed:

‘‘Defendants shall not permit, make arrangements for,

approve, acquiesce in, or give support of any kind to changes

42

in school district boundary lines — whether by detachment,

annexation, or consolidation of districts in whole or in part —

which are designed to, or do in fact, create, maintain, rein-

force, renew, or encourage a dual system based on race,

color, or national origin.” 447 F.2d at 443-444.

In short, the courts have found that the State has an affirmative

duty to enforce Fourteenth Amendment rights.

Bradley v. School Board of the City of Richmond, 462 F.2d

1058 (4th Cir. 1972), aff'd,___U.S , 93 S.Ct. 1952 (1973) can

be clearly distinguished from the instant case. In Richmond, the

district court ordered consolidation of three separate school dis-

tricts, all of which were declared to be unitary by the Fourth

Circuit. In the instant case, there is no district court order for

consolidation of school districts, but rather an order for a study of

plans for the reassignment of pupils in school districts comprising

the metropolitan Detroit community. In Richmond, the district

court found that neither the past nor present Virginia Constitu-

tions or statutes would have permitted the State Board of Educa-

tion, acting alone, to have consolidated three school districts into

a single system under the control of a single school board. The

Fourth Circuit merely held that compulsory consolidation of poli-

tical subdivisions in the State of Virginia was beyond the power of

a federal court because of the Tenth Amendment to the Constitu-

tion of the United States. The instant case involves no such re-

structuring of school districts. Rather, it merely concerns the

transfer of students.

Moreover, as we have already pointed out in this Brief,5

the Board of Education of the State of Michigan has the power to

consolidate school districts and in fact has utilized that power to

consolidate seven hundred school districts in five years for pur-

poses that could have been no more important than remedying the

Violation of the constitutional rights of 180,000 black school

children. Given these considerable distinctions between Richmond

and the instant case, Petitioners’ substantial reliance on the Rich-

mond holding is without justification. ‘

a In the instant case, the courts below recognized — not Vir-

_ [5] See Reason III at 19, supra.

43

ginia law or the law of any other state — but only Michigan public

school law. The courts also found that: the metropolitan Detroit

community is extensively interrelated, both economically and

socially; has already taken massive steps toward the provision of

metropolitan community and government services; and that in the

relevant metropolitan Detroit community the isolation of 180,000

black school children in racially identifiable schools was in viola

tion of the Constitution of the United States and required remedy.

Petitioners’ reliance on Spencer v. Kugler, 326 F.Supp. 1235

(D. N.J. 1971), aff'd, 404 U.S. 1027 (1972) for the unique propo-

sition that there can be a finding that racially identifiable schools

violate constitutional rights, but that the remedy for the violation

may and must be the continuation of racially identifiable schools,

is wholly without foundation. Petitioners fail to distinguish be-

tween the basic right to a remedy and the remedy itself.

Spencer merely held that a statute of the State of New Jersey

making school district boundary. lines coterminous with the

boundary lines of municipalities in the State was not unconstitu-

tional. The case did not involve an effective allegation that the act

of enacting the statute was segregation by State action; rather it

contemplated an assertion that the act involved a suspect classifi-

cation based on race. On those assertions the lower court found,

and this Honorable Court affirmed, that the classification was

neutral and had a reasonable basis. The case has no application to

the appropriateness of school desegregation remedies, and -

not even attempt to establish a right to a desegregation remedy 6

“Petitioners reliance on Goss v. The Board of Education of the

City of Knoxville, Nos. 72-1766-1767 (6th Cir., July 18, 1973)is

equally misplaced. As the Sixth Circuit noted in that case:

“Appellant complained that the result in this case is incon

sistent with that reached by this Court in other school

[6] We suggest quite strongly that if Spencer were tried in the State courts

of New Jersey the result could very well have been different. in

1971, the year that Spencer was first decided, the Supreme Court of

New "Jersey held that racial imbalance is unconstitutional under the

State’s Constitution. Jenkins v. Township of Morris School District, 38

N.J. 483, 279 A.2d 619 (1971). i

44

desegregation cases. If the result is different, it is only be-

cause the evidence produced in the District Court required a

different result... This Court has consistently upheld the

decrees of District Judges of this Circuit when properly sup-

ported by the pleadings and evidence...” Slip Op. at4.

The Sixth Circuit made this same point in the instant case when it

said:

“We reject the contention that school district lines are sacro-

sanct and that the jurisdiction of the District Court to grant

equitable relief in the present case is limited to the geographi-

cal boundaries of Detroit. We reiterate-that school districts

and school boards are instrumentalities of the State. See

Cooper v. Aaron, 358 US 1, 16 (1958). As early as Brown II

the Supreme Court: pointed out that:

‘[{T]}he courts may consider problems related to adminis-

tration, arising from the physical condition of the school

plant, the school transportation system, personnel, revision

of school districts and attendance areas into compact units

to achieve a system of determining admission to the public

schools on a nonracial basis, ....” 349 U.S. at 300-01.

The Supreme Court has held that school bout ary lines can-

not be changed or new school systems created where the re-

sult is a larger imbalance in racial ratios in school systems

where all vestiges of enforced racial segregation have not been

eliminated. United States v. Scotland Neck Board of Educa-

tion, 407 U.S. 484 (1972); Wright v. Council of the City of

Emporia, 407 U.S. 451 (1972). This is true regardless of

“dominant purpose.” Wright v. City of Emporia, 407 U.S. at

462.

If school boundary lines cannot be changed for an unconsti-

tutional purpose, it follows logically that existing boundary

lines cannot be frozen for an unconstitutional purpose.”

(174a)

In the instant case the Sixth Circuit correctly affirmed the

district ‘court’s use of traditional equity powers, within the guide-

lines set forth in Swann, to remedy constitutional violations. The

mSwann decision emphasized:

45

“Qnce a right and a violation have been shown, the scope of a

district court’s equitable powers to remedy past wrongs is

broad, for breadth and flexibility are inherent in equitable

remedies.” 402 U.S. at 15.

We cannot ignore the equity teachings of Brown II, which ar

as equally important today as they were in 1955 when this Honor

able Court said:

“In fashioning and effectuating the decrees, the courts will be

guided by equitable principles. Traditionally, equity has been

characterized by a practical flexibility in shaping its remedies

and by a facility for adjusting and reconciling public and pri-

vate needs. These cases call for the exercise of these tradi-

tional attributes of equity power. At stake is the personal in-

terest of the plaintiffs in admission to public schools as soon

as practicable on a non-discriminatory basis. To effectuate

this interest may call for elimination of a variety of obstacles

in making the transition to school systems operated in ac

cordance with the Constitutional principles set forth in ou

May 17, 1954, decision. Courts of equity may properly take _

into account the public interest in the elimination of suclrob

stacles in a systematic and effective manner. But it should go

without saying that the vitality of these Constitutional princi

ples cannot be allowed to yield simply because of disagree

ment with them.

“(T]he courts may consider problems relating to administre

tion, arising from the physical condition of the school plant,

the school transportation systems, personnel, revision of

school districts and attendance areas into .compact units to

achieve a system of determining admission to the public

schools on a non-racial basis, and revision of local laws and

regulations which may be necessary in solving the foregoing

problems.” 349 U.S. 294, 299-300.

This posture was reiterated in Swann, which quoted the above lan

guage verbatim, 402 U.S. 1, 12-13 (1971). There is absolutely n0

reason why the power of a court of equity should not be extended

to metropolitan school desegregation plans. Under prificiples of

46

equity, the remedy must be evaluated by assessing its capacity to

achieve the ultimate objective — the establishment of a unitary

school system.

Since constitutional rights have been violated, the district

court, affirmed by the Sixth Circuit, was within the scope of its

equity powers in remedying the violation by ordering a metropoli-

tan planof desegregation based upon Michigan public school law

as it applies to the relevant metropolitan Detroit community.

Returning to our initial proposition, the State of Michigan

controls all education in Michigan. The Detroit School Board is its

instrumentality. If either or both have violated the constitutional

rights of black school children, then the remedy can extend to the

other school districts in the metropolitan Detroit community, be-

cause they are mere instrumentalities of the State, and the State,

acting through its agents, must remedy the situation.

~

es

< VI. THE COURTS BELOW FOUND SYSTEMATIC ACTS OF |

SEGREGATION AFFECTING THE CONSTITUTIONAL

RIGHTS OF BLACK CHILDREN FOR WHICH THE STATE

DEFENDANTS ARE RESPONSIBLE.

The Detroit Board of Education has chosen not to appeal the

Sixth Circuit's decision because it believes that there is no appeal

‘ able issue. Keyes v. School Dist. No. 1,__U.S.___, 37 L.Ed.

548 (1973) indicates that this Honorable Court, in desegregation

cases, is more concerned with the legal standard applied by th

courts below than the specific factual findings of unconstitutional

acts of ‘segregation. Regardless of the relative culpability of De

fendants below, if a constitutional violation has been found under

the appropriate legal standard, a remedy must issue. Public school

education is a function of the State of Michigan. Clearly it is the

State of Michigan that must provide the remedy in the instant

case.

The State of Michigan functions through subordinate school

districts which are its agents. The expendability of those school

districts is illustrated by the fact the State of Michigan eliminated

seven hundred of them between 1964 and 1968, for financial and

educational purposes. Yet, what reason, other than segregatory

intent, could explain the State’s contradictory position. On th

one hand, it is willing to eliminate numerous school districts for

48

financial and educational purposes, but on the other hand, it re-

fuses to accept a necessary multidistrict solution to its own viola-

tion of black children’s constitutional rights.”

Prior to the district court’s finding of unconstitutional acts

of segregation in the Detroit School System, the Detroit School

Board, as agent of the State of Michigan, attempted to desegregate

high schools within the City of Detroit. The State of Michigan,

through the enactment of Public Act 48 of 1970, thwarted the

efforts of its agent, the Detroit School Board, to desegregate the

Detroit school system. The district court (28a) and the Sixth

Gireuit (15la) both found that the enactment of Public Act 48

was one of several systematic acts which helped to create and

maintain segregated conditions within the Detroit school system.

segregated conditions within the Detroit school system.

The State challenges the findings of the district court and

the Sixth Circuit as to the effect of Public Act 48. Public Act 48

was declared unconstitutional by the Sixth Circuit. The Act’s

statutory stigmatization of black children, because of race,

occurred as late as 1971 and would certainly fall within the Keyes

(71 ‘The State asserts in its Petition at 15, footnote 3, that the Detroit

School Board’s decision not to petition for certiorari in this

case is “proof positive that under Michigan law, the Detroit Board of

Education governs and controls the conduct of the school district of

the City of Detroit”. In light of the examples of State control cited

in this Brief and found to be true by the district court and the Sixth

Circuit, such a statement is totally without merit. It is true that under

MSA §§15.3154 and 15.3192 local school districts may sue or be sued.

However, the State fails to point out that this privilege was granted to

the local school districts by the state legislature as a matter of admin-

istrative convenience in the processing of legal matters involving the

In addition, the State in its Petition at 15-16, erroneously cites the

Sixth Circuit Opinion (177a) to substantiate its makeweight claim

that there is no agency relationship between the State Defendants and

the local school districts. To the contrary, the citation (177a) con-

tains no denial of an agency relationship — express or implied—but

rather refers to a completely different issue, the right of other school

districts to be made parties. In fact, the previous page (1 76a) states

quite specifically: “Under the authorities heretofore discussed, these

school districts are arms and instrumentalities of the State of

Michigan."

49

guidelines that racially inspired actions have an impact beyond the

particular schools that are the subjects of those actions. Public Act

48 was sufficiently proximate to other acts of segregation found

by the courts below to establish a requisite causal nexus between

those prior state acts of segregation and the resulting pattern of

unconstitutional segregation.

In its Petition for Certiorari,8 the State asserts, under Mich-

igan law, that the Michigan Superintendent of Public Instruction had

no control over school site selection prior to 1949 and after 1962.

Furthermore, the State indicates that most of the school

construction relied upon by the lower courts in finding acts of de

jure segregation occurred after 1962. This Honorable Court in

Keyes, however, pointed out that the site selection for even one

school in a school district the size of the Denver School District

(96,580 pupils in 1969 and 119 schools) can have a substantial

reciprocal effect on the racial composition of other nearby

schools.

“Similarly, the practice of building a school — such as the

Barrett Elementary School in this case — to a certain size and

in a certain location, ‘with conscious knowledge that it would

be a segregated school’, 303 F.Supp. at 285, has a substantial

reciprocal affect on the ratio composition of other nearby

schools.” US. , 37 L.Ed.2d 559.

* *

“The Court found that by building Barrett Elementary

School west of the Boulevard and by establishing Colorado

Boulevard as the Eastern boundary of the Barrett attendance

zone, the Board was able to maintain for a number of years

the Anglo character of the Park Hills School.” US.

, 37 L.Ed.2d 561.

It is apparent from Keyes that even discrimination in one

school site selection can be pervasive considering the long range

effect that school site locations can have on the racial composition

of surrounding areas. The courts below predicated their finding, in

the instant case, on this very proposition.

[8] State Petition at 22-23.

ee. es

50

The State erroneously asserts? that the late 1950's practice

of busing black Carver School District high school students to black

inner-city schools (while by-passing nearby all white high schools)

should be overlooked as evidence of discrimination in light of the

1960 merger of the Carver School District with the predominately

white Oak Park School District. The Keyes standard does not

uphold the State’s contention. Can there be any doubt that the

discriminatory treatment of the black Carver school district high

school students as late as 1959 had “‘a profound reciprocal effect

on the racial composition of residential neighborhoods within

{the} metropolitan area” of Detroit?__U.S___, 37 L.Ed. 2d

559.

The State and school district Petitioners (except Grosse

Pointe) cite San Antonio Independent School District v. Rodriguez,

411 US 1 (1973), for the rule that “this Court has never doubted

the propriety of maintaining political subdivisions within the

states and has never found in the Equal Protection Clause any per

se tule of territorial uniformity (citations omitted)”.!° But Rodri-

quez was a school finance case, not a desegregation case. The

inappropriateness of a “‘per se rule of territorial uniformity” in

that case was confined to the financing of school districts, for

which a “rational basis” legal standard was developed. The instant

case, however, is a desegregation case concerned with the denial of

equal protection on racial grounds. ! !

The State has suggested that certain State officials,

Defendants below, are improper parties to this suit by virtue of

the sovereignty provisions of the Eleventh Amendment.!2 The

argument presented by the State is not novel. It previously has

been made by states in an attempt to frustrate federal court

remedial orders in the area of school desegration. It has

consistently been laid to rest as quickly as it has been raised. The

(9) State Petition, at 21.

110] 411 U.S. 54, cited at 24 of State Petition and at 17-18 of School

District Petitions.

(1) Except for a minor finding by the District Court (152a), inter-district

financial disparities are not mentioned by the courts below.

112) The genesis of this argument dates back as early as Cooper v. Aaron,

358 U.S. 1 (1958).

$1

response to the State’s argument is the universal holding of courts

that it is the duty of state officers to support both the Constitution

and the rights guaranteed against infringement by the states under

the Fourteenth Amendment.

In Griffin v. School Board of Prince Edward County, 377 US.

218 (1964), which involved the closing of public schools and the

operation of a system of private schools by the county with the

acquiescence of the Commonwealth of Virginia, Mr. Justice Black,

speaking for a unanimous Court, summarily dismissed the

Eleventh Amendment argument.

“It is contended that the cases and action against the State, is

forbidden by the Eleventh Amendment, and therefore should

be dismissed. The complaint, however, charged that State and

county officials were depriving Petitioners of rights

guaranteed by the Fourteenth Amendment. It has been

settled law since Ex parte Young, (citation omitted), that

suits against State and County officials to enjoin them from

invading constitutional rights are not forbidden by th

Eleventh Amendment.” 377 U.S. at 228.

The Court went on to state that the district court could, in

addition to its injunctive powers, force the various Defendants, that

is, the Board of Supervisors, School Board, Treasurer, Division

Superintendent of Schools of Prince Edward County, the State

Board of Education and the State Superintendent of Education,

all of whom were held to have duties which related “directly or

indirectly to the financing, supervision, or operation of the

schools”, to undertake positive action to reopen the public schools

in the county:

“For the same reasons, the District Court may, if necessary

to prevent further racial discrimination, require the

Supervisors to exercise the power that is theirs to levy taxes

to raise funds adequate to reopen, operate and maintain with

out racial discrimination a public school system in Prine

Edward County . . .” 377 U.S. at 233.

Furthermore, as the district court correctly recognized in.

Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, 318 F.

Supp. 786 (W.D. N.C. 1970), the implementation of procedures

$2

necessary to assure any Constitutional rights of the individual may

place, directly or indirectly, additional financial burdens upon the

State, even though it is not a formal party to the proceedings:

“However, a Constitutional right has been denied, this court

believes that it is the Constitutional right that should prevail

against the cry of ‘unreasonableness’. . .. The unreasonable-

ness of putting the State to some expense cannot be weighed

against or prevail over the privilege against self-

incrimination, or the right of people to be secure in their

homes. If, as this court and the Circuit Court have held, the

rights of children are being denied, the cost and inconve-

nience of restoring those rights is no reason under the Con-

stitution for continuing to deny them.” (Citation omitted).

318 F. Supp. at 801.

Thus, it becomes readily apparent that State Defendants,

through the exercise of inherent powers which they possess as

officers and agents of the State, can and should effectuate and

implement the remedy ordered by the courts below. School

boards in Michigan being but agents of the State, any finding of

unconstitutional segregatory actions traceable to the state, if not

clearly erroneous, compels the conclusion that the state shall be

held accountable and shall be included in a remedy.

$3

VII. PETITIONER SCHOOL DISTRICTS HAVE NOT BEEN

DENIED DUE PROCESS OF LAW SINCE THEY ARF

AGENCIES OF THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION,

WHICH HAS BEEN A PARTY TO THIS LITIGATION

FROM ITS INCEPTION, AND WHICH HAS ADEQUATELY

PROTECTED THE INTERESTS OF THE PETITIONER

SCHOOL DISTRICTS.

The Petitioner school districts have not been denied due pro

cess of law. Throughout the proceedings in the courts below, State

Defendants including the State Board of Education had been

joined and did participate fully in all phases of the trial and

early appeals. As the State was represented, the school districts

were represented, for under Michigan law local school districts

are mere agencies and instrumentalities of the State. Education

in Michigan is a state function and not a matter of local concem

except as the legislature may choose to maké it such.!3 Th

joinder of all possible parties need not be had if the various

interests are likely to be adequately protected by those already

parties to the cause, and joinder would be onerous or defeat

jurisdiction. Isdaner v. Beyer, 53 F.R.D. 4(D.C. Pa. 1971). The

interests of the local school districts, being identical to those of

the State, were adequately represented by the State Defendats.

Cf. Higgins v. Board of Education, City of Grand Rapids, No.

6386 (D.C. W.D. Mich., July 18, 1973), Slip Op.-at 79-80.

To have required joinder of local school districts, prior to the

ruling that a Detroit-only plan would not remedy the violation

found in this cause, would have been not only onerous, but in-

possible. Joinder is required after it becomes apparent that addi-

tional parties will be necessary in order to afford complete relief in

the proceedings. F.R.C.P. 19. Bradley v. School Board of the City

of Richmond, 51 F.R.D. 139 (D.C. Va., 1970). Prior to the hear-

ing and decision that a Detroit-only plan would not be effective,

there was no indication that additional parties would be necessary

to afford complete relief. As of that point in time, the advisability

of joinder became apparent as to Petitioners and to the district

court.

[13] See Reason III, supra, at 19-26.

54

The Sixth Circuit recognized this in vacating all proceedings

subsequent to the hearing on Detroit-only plans and remanding to

the district court for a hearing on the propriety of a Metropolitan

remedy, after joinder of the school districts likely to be affected

thereby. Bradley v. Milliken, Nos. 72-1809-1814, (6th Cir., June

12, 1973). (244(a)-245(a)). To have called for a joinder of local

school districts prior to the date that it became apparent that they

might be affected by the remedy in this cause, would have re-

quired that all local school districts throughout the State of Michi-

gan be joined, pending a determination by the district court re-

garding which of them would not be affected by the remedy

necessary to grant Plaintiffs below full relief. This would have not

only been onerous, but of no substantive merit, as the State De-

fendants had already been joined and were able to adequately

protect whatever interests local school districts may have had in

the litigation. ;

There is no indication by Petitioner school districts that the

State defendants did not adequately represent their interests in the

litigation, prior to their joinder; if such were the case, Petitioners

had adequate remedy during the course of the trial proceedings to

request intervention on that basis. F.R.C.P. 24 (a) (2); Hatton v.

County Board of Education of Maury County, 422 F. 2d 457 (6th

Cir. 1970).

Finally, Petitioners claim that the conditions imposed upon

them by the Sixth Circuit in the litigation of matters on remand

constitute a denial of due process. The hearing granted, in order to

meet requirements of due process, must be meaningful. Goldberg

v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970). However, reasonable conditions

may be imposed upon such a hearing. Owenby v. Morgan, 256

U.S. 94 (1921).

The denial by a state, through its statutes, of the right of a

litigant to raise certain defenses in an action brought against him,

does not constitute a denial of due process, Lindsey v. Normet,

405 U.S. 56 (1972). The Sixth Circuit in this cause has provided

Petitioners with a hearing which will deal with those matters

which directly affect them — the formulation of a proper remedy

within the guidelines enunciated by this Honorable Court. The

Rlitigation of issues already decided in the district court in this

55

cause would add nothing to the question of de jure segregatory

acts by the State Defendants and the Detroit Board of

Education, as found by the district court and affirmed by the

Sixth Circuit en banc. A relitigation of the issues regarding the

propriety of a Detroit-only plan would also add nothing to the

present status of this cause. Presentation of evidence regarding

the propriety of a Detroit-only plan by Petitioners would be of

no substantive merit and would be cumulative to that presented

by State Defendants including the State Board of Education in

the hearing below.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons above stated it is respectfully submitted that

this Honorable Court deny the Petitions for Writs of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

RILEY AND ROUMELL

By: GEORGE T. ROUMELL, JR.

JOHN F. BRADY

THOMAS M. J. HATHAWAY

GREGORY P. THEOKAS

C. NICHOLAS REVELOS, Of Counsel

720 Ford Building

Detroit, Michigan 48226

Telephone: 313/962-8255

Counsel for Respondents,

BOARD OF EDUCATION FOR THE SCHOOL

DISTRICT OF THE CITY OF DETROIT,

a school district of the first class;

PATRICK McDONALD,

JAMES HATHAWAY and

CORNELIUS GOLIGHTLY,

members of the Board of

Education of the City of Detroit and

NORMAN DRACHLER, Superintent

of the Detroit Public Schools.

Dated: October 5, 1973

laa

APPENDIX

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

United States Constitution, Amendment XI provides:

Limitation of judicial powers.

The Judicial power of the United States shall not be con-

strued to extend to any suit in law or equity, commenced or

prosecuted against one of the United States by Citizens of another

State, or by Citizens or Subjects of any Foreign State.

United States Constitution, Amendment XIV, Section 1, provides:

Citizenship; security of persons and property, due process

and equal protection clauses.

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United

States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of

the United States and of the State wherein they reside. No

State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the

privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor

shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or proper-

ty, without due process of law; nor deny to any person with-

in its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

United States Constitution, Amendment XV, Section 1, provides:

Right of citizens to vote; race; color.

Section 1. The right of citizens of the United States to

vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or

by any State on account of race, color, or previous condition

of servitude.

Michigan Constitution of 1963, Art. 8 § 2 provides:

Free public elementary and secondary schools; discrimi-

nation. ;

Section 2, The legislature shall maintain and support a

system of free public elementary and secondary schools as

defined by law. Every school district shall provide for the ed-

ucation of its pupils without discrimination as to religion,

creed, race, color or national origin.

Judicial Code, 28 U.S.C. s 1292(b) provides:

§ 1292. Interlocutory decisions

Act 48, Sec. 12, Mich. Pub. Act of 1970 provides:

ditions. [M.S.A. 15.2298(12)]

2aa

UNITED STATES STATUTES

(b) When a district judge, in making in a civil action ap

order not otherwise appealable under this section, shall be of

the opinion that such order involves a controlling question of

law as to which there is substantial ground for difference of

opinion and that an immediate appeal from the order may

materially advance the ultimate termination of the litigation,

he shall so state in writing in such order. The Court of

Appeals may thereupon, in its discretion, permit an appeal to

be taken from such order, if application is made to it within

ten days after the entry of the order: Provided, however

That application for an appeal hereunder shall not stay pro-

ceedings in the district court unless the district judge or the

.. Court of Appeals or a judge thereof shall so order.

MICHIGAN STATUTES

388.182 Attendance provisions, implementation; con-

Section 12, The implementation of any attendance pro

visions for the 1970-71 school year determined by any first

class school district board shall be delayed pending the date

of commencement of functions by the first class school dis-

trict boards established under the provisions of this amend

tory act but such provision shall not impair the right of any

such board to determine and implement prior to such date

such changes in attendance provisions as are mandated by

practical necessity. In reviewing, confirming, establishing or

modifying attendance provisions the first class school district

boards established under the provisions of this amendatory

act shall have a policy of open enrollment and shall enable

students to attend a school of preference but providing pr-

ority acceptance, insofar as practicable, in cases of insuffi

cient school capacity, to those students residing nearest the

school and to those students desiring to attend the school for ,

3aa

participation in vocationally oriented courses or other

specialized curriculum.

FEDERAL RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE

Fed. R. Civ. P. 19 provides:

Rule 19. Joinder of Persons Needed for Just Adjudication

(a) Persons to be Joined if Feasible. A person who is sub-

ject to service of process and whose joinder will not deprive

the court of jurisdiction over the subject matter of the action

shall be joined as a party in the action if (1) in his absence

complete relief cannot be accorded among those already

parties, or (2) he claims an interest relating to the subject of

the action and is so situated that the disposition of the action

in his absence may (i) as a practical matter impair or impede

his ability to protect that interest or (ii) leave any of the per-

sons already parties subject to a substantial risk of incurring

double, multiple, or otherwise inconsistent obligations by

reason of his claimed interest. If he has not been so joined,

the court shall order that he be made a party. If he should

join as a plaintiff but refuses to do so, he may be made a

defendant, or, in a proper case, an involuntary plaintiff. If

the joined party objects to venue and his joinder would

render the venue of the action improper, he shall be dis-

missed from the action. "

(b) Determination by Court Whenever Joinder not Feas-

ible. If a person as described in subdivision (a) (1)-(2) hereof

cannot be made a party, the court shall determine whether in

equity and good conscience the action should proceed among

the parties before it, or should be dismissed, the absent per-

son being thus regarded as indispensable. The factors to be

considered by the court include: first, to what extent a judg-

ment rendered in the person’s abserice might be prejudicial to

him or those already parties; second, the extent to which, by

protective provisions in the judgment, by the shaping of

telief, or other measures, the prejudice can be lessened or

avoided; third, whether a judgment rendered in the person’s

_ absence will be adequate; fourth, whether the plaintiff will

Fed.

4aa

=~

have an adequate remedy if the action is dismissed

nonjoinder.

(c) Pleading Reasons for Nonjoinder. A pleading as

a claim for relief shall state the names, if known to:

pleader, of any persons as described in subdivision (a) (3

hereof who are not joined, and the reasons why they are me

joined. _

(d) Exception of Class Actions. This rule is subject to th :

provisions of Rule 23.

R. Civ. P. 24 provides in part:

(a) Intervention of Right. Upon timely application amp

one shall be permitted to intervene in an action: (1) whe

statute of the United States confers an unconditional

intervene; or (2) when the applicant claims an interest ®

lating to the property or transaction which is the subject af

the action and he is so situated that the disposition of

action may as a practical matter impair or impede his ability

to protect that interest, unless the applicant's interest

adequately represented by existing parties.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

I ND oo wg bc 6a 6a deus ce weductess 1

Reasons for Granting the Writ .................. 2

ecu kkk 4s boneebe sob 00d easace 5

Appendix ....... seta tees tee eeeneaeenes pore 7

INDEX OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Oliver v. School District of Kalamazoo, 448 F. 2d

EE EE oe ca uk ke hocnsbassiaeeis 3

Smuck v. Hobson, 408 F 2d 175 (Dist of Col Dis-

betas Nae so Neukan cede baksaee 3

.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term 1973

No.

——>—

THE GROSSE POINTE PUBLIC SCHOOL SYSTEM,

Petitioner,

vs.

RONALD BRADLEY, et al.,

Respondents

eee See

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONS FOR WRIT

OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

SIXTH DISTRICT

——+— ‘

The briefant, Professional Personnel of Van Dyke,

upon Order of the Sixths Circuit Court of Appeals, was

granted the right to intervene in this cause.

This brief is written in support of the three Petitions

for Writ of Certiorari previously filed herein. Its page

references are to the Petition of the Grosse Pointe School

System.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Professional Personnel of Van Dyke is an independent,

Le, unaffiliated, labor union, representing some three

hundred and fifty-three teachers in the Van Dyke School

District. It is the exclusive bargaining agent of such

teachers, having been so elected under the appropriate

statutes of the State of Michigan (423.211 M.C.L.A.). As

such exclusive bargaining agency, it has entered into a

labor contract, (called ‘‘Master Agreement” by the par-

2

ties) with the School District of Van Dyke. Such agree

ment covers the salaries, fringe benefits, class size, teacher .

assignments, grievance procedure and teacher responsibil.

ity.

The school district is located in southeast Macomb

Courty (immediately north of Detroit). It has 1,500 stu.

dents.

When, at the trial level, it first became apparent that

the trial judge might fashion a remedy that encompassed

school districts other than the defendant, School Distrie

of the City of Detroit, Professional Personnel of Van

Dyke petitioned for the right to intervene, or, in the al

ternative, for leave to intervene. This petition, filed on

February 22, 1972, was denied by order dated March 1i,

1972. Professional Personnel then filed a motion for

re-hearing of its original petition. Filed on April 11, 1972,

the re-hearing was denied on June 29, 1972.

Finally, on July 2, 1973, the United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth District reversed. (Its Order is

appendixed herein.)

(It is noteworthy that the Detroit Federation of Teach-

ers, the bargaining agent for the teachers of the School

District of Detroit, was granted intervention early in

this matter, and without the difficulty experienced by the

Professional Personnel).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Professional Personnel of Van Dyke agrees with Ree

son 1 (of Petition of Grosse Pointe School System—p§).

The Decisions Below are in Direct and IRRECOD-

CILIABLE CONFLICT WITH THE DECISIONS OF

OTHER UNITED STATES COURTS OF APPEAL, AS

WELL AS DECISION OF THE UNITED STATES SU:

PREME COURT; and Reason 2 (p. 14).

a

3

THE DECISIONS BELOW INVOLVE ISSUES

OF IMMENSE PUBLIC IMPORTANCE OF (A) THE

FAR-REACHING PRECEDENT ESTABLISHED

THEREBY, AND (B) THE IMPACT OF THE LOWER

COURTS’ PROPOSED REMEDY UPON THE RBSI-

DENTS OF EVERY SCHOOL DISTRICT IN THE DE-

TROIT METROPOLITAN AREA. It is in agreement

with Reason 3, p. 17) as well, but would restate such

reason to be more specifically applicable to this briefant,

an organization of teachers, as follows:

THE REFUSAL OF THE LOWER COURTS TO

ACCORD FUNDAMENTAL DUE PROCESS

OF LAW TO THE PROFESSIONAL PER-

SONNEL OF VAN DYKE, WHO, IT IS NOW

CONCEDED, SHOULD HAVE BEEN

GRANTED THE RIGHT TO INTERVENE

(AS OF FEBRUARY 22, 1972) REQUIRES

THE EXERCISE OF THIS COURT OF ITS

SUPERVISORY POWERS.

Professional Personnel of Van Dyke was singularly

unsuccessful, on the trial level, in its attempts to inter-

vene. Its original petition was filed on February 22, 1972

(prior to the adoption by the trial court of the so-called

Metropolitan Plan.) It was denied on March 15, 1972.

Its petition for re-hearing, filed on April 11, 1972, was

denied on June 14, 1972, after the passage of two very

critical months in the proceedings. And this in spite of

the fact that the law was clear that its motion to inter-

vene should have been granted. [Oliver v School Distnict

of Kalamazoo, 448 F 2d 635 (CA 6, 1971) and Smuck v

Hobson, 408 F 2d 175 (Dist of Col District, 1969) ].

Assuming a Metropolitan Plan, the issues to be deter-

mined by the trial court are overwhelming: Teacher place-

ment, tenure, grievance, salaries and advancements; cur-

wricula and class size are but a few of them.

4

The original input in an attempt to solve these prob.

lems is to be made by a court-appointed panel, consisting

of two members of the defendant, State Board of Educa.

tion, three members of the defendant, Detroit Board of

Education, one from the plaintiff, one from defendant ip.

tervenors, Magdowski (who favor a Metropolitan Plan

and who are essentially white home owners residing in

the City of Detroit,) one from all the intervening school

districts and one from the Michigan Civil Rights Com.

mission (Joint Appendix 99a).

It is at once noteworthy that no one from any teacher

organization is included. Yet without any teacher parti-

cipation, this panel is mandated to re-assign faculty and

staff, and to develop criteria ‘‘in the hiring, assignment,

promotion, demotion and dismissal of faculty and staff

...” (Joint Appendix 1038a). And the Court of Appeals

expressly held that such panel should proceed with its

studies and plans (Joint Appendix 178a).

It is respectfully submitted that such panel—totally

without a representative of any teacher organization or of

any teachers—is violative of elementary due process and,

indeed, contrary to the statutes of the State of Michigan

(M.C.L.A. 423.211) recognizing collective bargaining right

of public employees. It is further submitted that such

panel has been given the power to completely obliterate

the contractual rights of members of the Professional

Personnel of Van Dyke.

The grant of the Petition to Intervene, as ordered by

the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals, is rendered totally

meaningless if Professional Personnel is foreclosed from

full and active participation in open court as well as this

most important planning panel.

5

In its appellate brief on the denial of its Petition to

Intervene, Professional Personnel wrote:

Once an order is entered herein that affects the

Van Dyke School District, the movant appellant

will be practically foreclosed from litigating its

rights in any form. Its members may be laid off,

transferred, have their salaries reduced, their con-

tractual rights decimated, have their tenure lost,

without any day in court.

In reversing the trial court and ordering intervention,

the Court of Appeals must have agreed with such think-

: ing. Yet, under the terms of the Judgment of the Sixth

Cireuit Court of Appeals, Professional Personnel will be

sent back to the trial court with naught but a hollow

“tight to intervene.” It will not have a day in court-un-

less, the Supreme Court grants the writs of certiorari re-

quested.

CON CLUSION

Wherefore, Professional Personnel of Van Dyke re-

spectfully submit that the Writs of Certiorari requested

issue.

Respectfully submitted,

ROSS, BRUFF and HENRIKSEN

By: William Ross

Attorneys for Professional

Personnel of Van Dyke

215 S. Gratiot

Mt. Clemens, Michigan

962-6281

a

APPENDIX

M.C.L.A. 423.211 Representatives designated or se-

lected for purposes of collective bargaining by the major-

ity of the public employees in a unit appropriate for such

purposes, shall be the exclusive representatives of all

the public employees in such unit for the purposes of

collective bargaining in respect to rates of pay, wages,

hours of employment or other conditions of employment,

and shall be so recognized by the public employer: Pro-

vided, That any individual employee at any time may

present grievances to this employer and have the griev-

ances adjusted, without intervention of the bargaining

representative, if the adjustment is not inconsistent with

the terms of a collective bargaining contract or agree-

ment then in effect, provided that the bargaining repre-

sentative has been given opportunity to be present at such

adjustment.

8

ORDER

(U. S. Court of Appeals—Sixth Circuit)

(Filed July 2, 1973)

In re Appeal of

Professional Personnel of Van Dyke,

Appellants.

Ronald Bradley, et al.

v.

William G. Milliken, et al.

No. 72-2008

Before PHILLIPS, Chief Judge, and EDWARDS and

PECK, Circuit Judges.

This is an appeal by Professional Personnel of Van

Dyke, which is the exclusive bargaining agent for the

teaching personnel of the Van Dyke School District. Ap

pellants undertook-to intervene in the District Court in

the case of Bradley v. Milliken. On March 15, 1972, the

District Court denied the motion of appellants to inter-

vene. On April 11, 1972, appellants filed a petition for re

hearing of their motion to intervene. On June 29, 1972,

the District Court affirmed its previous denial of the mo-

tion.

Upon consideration, it is Ordered that the decision of &

the District Court denying to appellants the right toi —

tervene is vacated and the case is remanded to the Dis

trict Court with directions to grant the motion to inter

vene.

Entered by order of the court.

/s/ James A. Higgins, _

e

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.