Motion — United States v. Connecticut Nat. Bank

Supreme Court brief1974

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

- ~~ ~

E

IN THE DEC 11

Supreme Court of the United tates

OCTOBER TERM, 1973 _ || MICHAE RODAL

No. 73-767 -

Unitep States oF AMERICA,

v. Appellant,

THE Connecticut NationaL Bank, THE First New

Haven NationaL Bank, and James E. Sirs,

Comptroller of the Currency,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

MOTION TO AFFIRM

Gerorce D. Reycrartr

JoHN Boyer

Haven C. Roosevett

One Wall Street

New York, New York 10005

Counsel for Appellees, The Con-

necticut National Bank and The

First New Haven National Bank

Ricuarp G. BELL

205 Church Street

New Haven, Connecticut 06509

Counsel for Appellee, The First

New Haven National Bank

CADWALADER, WICKERSHAM & TAFT

TyLer, Cooper, Grant, BowERMAN & KEEFE

PuLLMAN, CoMLEy, BrapLey & REEvEs

Of Counsel.

December, 1973

INDEX

Motion to Affirm

Restatement of the Question Presented

Restatement of the Case

Connecticut Banking Structure

The Parties

Argument

Potential Competition ...........................-.-

Section of the Country

Line of Commeree ..................-

4]

BERR aww n nk

Conclusion

Citations

Cases:

Brown Shoe Co. v. United States, 370 U.S. 294

(1962) 10, 28, 39, 40

F.T.C. v. Procter & Gamble Co., 386 U.S. 568 (1967)... 11, 12

United States v. Continental Can Co., 378 U.S. 441

(1964) 36

United States v. El Paso Gas Co., 376 U.S. 651 (1964) 13

United States v. Falstaff Brewing Co., 410 U.S. 526

(1973) 11, 12, 14, 16, 18

United States v. Pabst Brewing Co., 384 U.S. 546

(1966) ; 30, 31

United States v. Penn-Olin Co., 378 U.S. 158

(1964) 11, 12, 16

United States v. Philadelphia National Bank, 201

F. Supp. 348 (E.D. Pa. 1962) -............ 27

PAGE

United States v. Philadelphia National Bank, 374 U.S.

321 passim

United States v. Phillipsburg National Bank, 399 U.S.

350 (1970) passim

United States v. Von’s Grocery Co., 384 U.S. 270

- (1966) 30

Whitney National Bank v. Bank of New Orleans &

Trust Co., 323 F.2d 290 (D.C. Cir. 1963); rev’d on

procedural grounds, 379 U.S. 411 (1965) -................. 19

Statutes:

Bank Merger Act of 1966, 80 Stat. 7, as amended, 12

U.S.C. Section 1828(c) (7) (A) 11

Clayton Act, Section 7, 38 Stat. 731, as amended, 64

Stat. 1125, 15 U.S.C. 18 9, 12, 27, 31, 39, 43

Conn. Gen. Stat., Annotated, Section 36-59 0.0... 17

Federal Reserve Act, 44 Stat. 1228 (1927), as amended,

12 U.S.C. 36(e) (1) (1962) 17

Miscellaneous:

Annual Report of the Bank Commissioner of the State

of Connecticut, March 6, 1973 _.2222...2.e eee eee eee 7

38 Fed. Reg. 3118 19

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Summary of

Accounts and Deposits in all Commercial Banks,

New York FDIC District, June 29, 1968 .................... 37

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Summary of

Accounts and Deposits in all Commercial Banks,

Philadelphia FDIC District, June 29, 1968 ................ 37

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Summary of

Accounts and Deposits in all Mutual Savings Banks,

FDIC, June 29, 1968 37

Federal Reserve Board, Distribution of Bank Deposits

by Counties and Standard Metropolitan Areas,

December, 1960

Moody’s Bank & Finance, Supp., July 1973

IN THE

Supreme Cowt of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1973

No. 73-767

a

Unttep States oF AMERICA,

Appellant,

v.

Tue Connecticut NationaL Bank, THE First NEw

Haven Nationa Bank, and James E. Smits,

Comptroller of the Currency,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

i

MOTION TO AFFIRM

Pursuant to Rule 16(c) of the Rules of this Court,

appellees, The Connecticut National Bank and The First

New Haven National Bank, move that the judgment of the

District Court, reported at 362 F. Supp. 240, be affirmed.

Restatement of the Question Presented

Whether plenary review is warranted in a potential com-

petition case when no grounds are presented for disturbing

the District Court’s findings of fact or conclusions drawn

therefrom.

Restatement of the Case

CONNECTICUT BANKING STRUCTURE

Banking in the State of Connecticut is highly competi-

tive. Rather than a trend toward concentration, Connecti-

cut is experiencing a significant increase in the number

of banking alternatives available to the public. The number

of Connecticut commercial banks at November 1972 (64)

was the same as at year-end 1963 (GX-90; DX-71, DX-72).*

Since November 1972 six new commercial banks have been

organized in Connecticut and there now are more com-

mercial banks in Connecticut than there were in 1963 (cf.

n. 7, J.S. 6). Connecticut residents who commute to New

York and medium and larger sized Connecticut business

customers have banking alternatives which include the

nation’s largest banks with offices in New York City and in

Westchester County adjacent to Connecticut. Six New

York City banks alone drew over $483 million in deposits

from Connecticut in over 23,000 accounts during 1972

(DX-60; J.S. 26a). Furthermore, by year-end 1975 most of

the 68 Connecticut savings banks and their 229 offices will

provide additional banking alternatives offering a full

range of services, including checking accounts, to Connec-

ticut retail customers (DX-52, p. 13, Table 5; DX-94).?

1. The abbreviations used herein are as follows: “GX” for appel-

lant’s exhibits; “DX” for appellee banks’ exhibits; “Tr.” for tran-

scripts of proceedings below; “J.S.” for appellant’s Jurisdictional

Statement; and “Marine J.S.” for appellant’s Jurisdictional State-

ment in United States v. Marine Bancorporation, Inc. et al., No.

73-38.

2. The new Connecticut legislation according savings banks power

to offer personal checking accounts provides that such power may

be exercised by savings banks in all towns except those of less than

25,000 population in which the head office of a commercial bank with

assets of less than $50 million is located. Even in these towns sav-

ings banks may offer nape checking accounts in‘the circumstances

described in Section 8(b) and (c), Public Act No. 73-195.

3

Connecticut savings banks now offer a full range of retail

banking services other than checking accounts, including

personal loans.

The number of commercial banking alternatives available

to those customers, such as small business enterprises and

individuals whose banking options are the most highly

localized, has increased dramatically from 1955 to 1971

(DX-4).

Of the 169 towns in Connecticut, there have been

increases in the number of commercial banking alternatives

since 1955 in 107. There has been no change in 60 towns

and there have been decreases in only two towns in the

period from 1955 to 1971 (Tr. 1525-6; DX-4). In 20 of the

23 Fairfield County towns where Connecticut National

Bank has most of its offices, there are more commercial

banking alternatives available today than there were in

1955 and in no town are there less alternatives than there

were in 1955 (Tr. 1524; DX-4). In 23 of the 27 New Haven

County towns where First New Haven National Bank has

all of its offices there are more commercial banking

alternatives today than there were in 1955, while in only

one, the City of New Haven, has there been a decrease

during the same period (Tr. 1524-5; DX-41).

The two largest banks in the state, Connecticut Bank

and Trust Company (“CBT”) and Hartford National Bank

and Trust Company (“Hartford National”), were the two

most likely entrants into the City of New Haven under

appellant’s theories during the period 1955-1971. If these

two banks had entered New Haven de novo rather than by

acquisitions (which were not opposed by appellant), there

would have been no decline in the number of commercial

banking alternatives in New Haven during that period.

The proposed merger will result in no change in banking

alternatives available in either New Haven or Bridgeport

(Tr. 1525).

Be Se LILO PLEIN OE Re Le Te eee FEE EIR

4

Among the 119 towns in Connecticut outside Fairfield and

New Haven Counties, there has been an increase in the

number of banking alternatives in 64 of such towns and a

decrease in only one, while in the 54 remaining towns no

change occurred from 1955 to 1971 (Tr. 1525; DX-4).

Appellant’s banking economist, Dr. Neil B. Murphy, agreed

that between 1955 and 1971 banking in Connecticut has

become more competitive.*

Until 1933, branch banking was not permitted in Con-

necticut. In that year, the Connecticut legislature author-

ized branching on a limited scale. Connecticut’s branching

laws prohibit any bank from branching into any town which

is the head office town of any other bank.

By 1969 the two far larger Hartford banks, CBT and

Hartford National, had begun to branch outside the Hart-

ford area‘ (J.S. 8a-9a). These two Hartford headquart-

ered banks dominate banking in the state. Together they

held 39% of the deposits held by commercial banks with

offices in Connecticut in 1970 (J.S. 42a). By year-end 1972

together they held 41.3% (DX-93) and have made nine

acquisitions since 1960 without opposition by appellant

(GX-72). Both are now statewide banks. With the excep-

tion of Union Trust Company, the state’s third largest com-

mercial bank, all other banks in Connecticut are still con-

fined to the same general areas where they were situated in

3. “The Court. Do you think between 1955 and 1971 despite the

decrease in the number of banks, . . . Connecticut as a whole has

become more competitive in banking?

A. Yes” (Tr. 406; J.S. 94a).

4. CBT and Hartford National had deposits at year-end 1969 of

$844 million and $838 million, respectively. Appellees, Connecticut

National and First New Haven, had deposits at the same date of

$336 million and $234 million. By year-end 1972, CBT and Hart-

ford National both had deposits over $1.3 billion, while Connecticut

National and First New Haven had $412 million and $272 million

(DX-69; GX-121, p. 12, GX-119, p. 6; DX-93).

5

the 1950’s. The resulting banking structure thus consists

of two dominant statewide banks based in Hartford, one

bank with offices from Greenwich on the New York border

to New London on the Rhode Island border in the southern

portion of the state and a number of smaller regional and

local banks. Only Hartford, among Connecticut's five lead-

ing cities, is the headquarters site of banks represented in

virtually all of the state’s leading business centers, includ-

ing Bridgeport, New Haven, Stamford and New London.

No bank from these towns has been able to enter Hartford

which is one of the most highly concentrated banking areas

in the country (Tr. 1292). Appellant’s enforcement policies

threaten to perpetuate that imbalance.

To the extent that there has been any increase in concen-

tration of deposits among Connecticut banks, or among

Connecticut commercial banks alone, since 1959, virtually

all of the increase is accounted for by the two dominant

Hartford banks and by two savings banks, all substantially

larger than appellees (DX-8; DX-9; DX-10; DX-13).

The combined share of all deposits in Connecticut com-

mercial banks held by CBT and Hartford National has

steadily increased from 34.5% in 1959 to 41.3% in 1972 (JS.

42a; DX-93). The share of such deposits held by the next

six largest commercial banks combined during the period

1959-1971 increased in some years and decreased in other

years, as one would expect in a competitive environment,

with a net increase of only 1.2% from 35.8% to 37.0% (DX-

13). In the ten years from 1961 to 1971, Hartford National

added $36.3 million to its capital accounts, while CBT added

$41.8 million. These increments alone are each substantially

larger than the total capital of either Connecticut National

or First New Haven (Tr. 928; DX-14; DX-15). In the one

year period September 30, 1971 to September 30, 1972, CBT

and Hartford National increased their total assets by $183

—

6

million and $196 million, respectively. Each of these

increases is almost equivalent to the total -assets of the

state’s tenth largest commercial bank, Second New Haven

Bank, which had $219 million at September 30, 1972 (DX-

76). The combined increases in assets gained in one year by

the two Hartford banks almost equal the total assets of

Connecticut National and exceed the total assets of First

New Haven (J.S. 9a). The combined additional deposits

obtained by the Hartford banks, CBT and Hartford

National, from December 31, 1969 to September 30, 1972

($745.3 million) exceeded the combined total deposits of

appellee banks at September 30, 1972 ($672.8 million) (J.S.

45a; Tr. 1526; DX-69).

_ For the one year ended December 31, 1972, the two Hart-

ford banks increased their combined deposits by about $580

million. Thus CBTincreased its share of deposits of com-

mercial banks headquartered in Connecticut from 19.1% in

1971 to 20.9% in 1972, while Hartford National increased its

share from 18.8% to 20.4%. During this same period,

Connecticut National’s share decreased from 6.5% to 6.2%,

while First New Haven declined from 4.7% to 41%

(DX-93).

Savings banks have traditionally accepted personal sav-

~ ings deposits and made loans secured by real property.

Connecticut savings banks have important additional

powers which savings banks in other states do not have (Tr.

1007). Connecticut savings banks are empowered to make

personal loans up to $5,000 repayable in monthly install-

ments. Savings banks may lend up to 8% of their total

assets in personal loans (Tr. 147, 212, 730). At September

30, 1972 total assets of Connecticut savings banks were

about $7.2 billion. Accordingly, at that date about $576

million were available at Connecticut savings banks for

personal loans (Tr. 730). Appellant's banking expert

eS

7

agreed that mutual savings banks in Connecticut are a rea-

sonable substitute for commercial banks for borrowers

seeking personal loans for a wide variety of purposes up to

$5,000 (Tr. 214).

Unlike most other states, savings banks in Connecticut

have more deposits than the commercial banks. As of year-

end 1971 savings banks had $6.1 billion in deposits, while

commercial banks accounted for $5.7 billion (DX-62; GX-

70).5

By December 31, 1975, savings banks in Connecticut will

have the power to accept demand deposits in non-interest

bearing personal checking accounts, and it is likely that

savings banks will seek legislation enabling them to offer

an even greater range of services (J.S. 17a-18a; Tr. 1648,

1764). .

THE PARTIES

First New Haven National Bank had $272.4 million in

deposits at year-end 1972, ranking thirteenth among all

banks headquartered in Connecticut and eighth among com-

mercial banks (J.S. 3a-4a).°

5. As*shown in DX-63, the percentage share of total savings

held by Connecticut savings and commercial banks fluctuated during

the five years prior to trial as follows:

Year-end as Banks

OP sik cas cennveraesxts 58.9 22.2

ee $82 . 232

"ee 59.2 22.2

WUD: ss crarscacstenveian 59.0 22.5

NE scicsasacunasconen 59.7 218

6 hanrtng ye Ge Aunt Deed a i Se er

of the State of Connecticut, March 6, 1973, pp. 108-109, there were

five savings banks with total deposits at December 31, 1972 larger

than First New Haven and two savings banks with deposits larger

than Connecticut National. Thus, the actual rankings of First New

Haven and Connecticut National at year-end 1972 were thirteenth

and sixth among all Connecticut banks.

—

First New Haven ranked fourth in deposits with $266 |

million at year-end 1971 among commercial banks with

offices competing in the City of New Haven behind Hartford

National ($1.1 billion), CBT ($1.1 billion) and Union Trust

Company ($530 million) (J.S. 48a; GX-70). Two savings

banks in New Haven also exceeded it in size. It thus

ranked sixth among all banks which have offices in New

Haven. At year-end 1971 there were nine commercial banks

and six savings banks headquartered in Connecticut with

total deposits over $200 million (GX-70; DX-52, p. 15).

First New Haven operates 22 offices, all in New Haven

County (J.S. 4a).

Connecticut National, with $412.2 million in deposits at

year-end 1972, ranked sixth among all banks headquartered

in Connecticut and fourth among commercial banks (J.S.

3a).? Connecticut National operates 51 offices of which 41

are located in Fairfield County adjoining Westchester

County in New York (J.S. 3a).

At year-end 1971, Connecticut National, with $375 million

in deposits, was the third largest of the Connecticut-head-

quartered commercial banks competing through offices

located in Bridgeport, and the fifth largest in Fairfield

County, ranking behind CBT and State National Bank of

Connecticut ($380 million) in Bridgeport and Hartford

National and Union Trust Company in Fairfield County

(GX-70; GX-72). In Bridgeport, People’s Savings Bank

had 1971 deposits of $721 million, nearly twice the size of

Connecticut National’s 1971 deposits (DX-52, p. 15; GX-70).

Connecticut National faces substantial competition from

many of the largest banks in the Nation located in New

York and Westchester County (J.S. 25a, 41a-42a).

The merging banks’ combined share of total deposits of

Connecticut-headquartered banks has decreased from 6.8%

7. See note 6, supra.

9

in 1959 to 5.9% in 1970 (DX-9), while their share of total

deposits held by Connecticut commercial banks decreased

during the same period from 13.8% to 11.6% and decreased

further by year-end 1972 to 10.3% (DX-17; DX-93). The

combined banks’ share of deposits held at year-end 1971

by Connecticut-headquartered commercial banks amounted

to 9.68%, when reduced by the deposits derived from Con-

necticut by only six New York City and four Boston-head-

quartered banks* and by the deposits in the offices of the

merging banks to be divested as required by the order of

the court below (J.S. 104a-105a). Applying the same reduc-

tion factors to reflect the proven banking business origi-

nated in Connecticut by the six New York and four Bos-

ton banks, the combined shares of commercial bank deposits

held by appellees would be approximately 8.8% and approx-

imately half that with respect to all Connecticut bank

deposits, including savings banks.

ARGUMENT

Appellant asserts that the questions presented here are

whether Section 7 of the Clayton Act (15 U.S.C. 18) has

been violated “by eliminating the two banks as significant

potential entrants into each other’s markets in Bridgeport

and New Haven and into other local banking markets in

Connecticut” and “by stimulating other mergers and by in-

tensifying the trend toward banking concentration in the

state as a whole” (J.S. 2). The question whether the two

banks are “significant potential entrants into each other’s

8. The Connecticut deposits of the six New York City and four

Boston banks reflected in the Report of the S Master (DX-60)

are well under the totals a 7S derived rom the state, as that

Report establishes. The competi ye these banks which

have aggregate assets well in me aa billion, over thirteen times

_ the total assets of all commercial banks in Connecticut, is self-

evident.

10

markets” is, of course, a question of fact which was deter-

mined by the District Court adversely to appellant. Appel-

lant’s proof on the subject was limited to (a) charts showing

de novo branching and merging histories of appellees and

other commercial banks in Connecticut, (b) evidence that

certain standard metropolitan statistical areas (“SMSA’s”)

in Connecticut have enjoyed good overall economic growth

(although a number of central cities including Bridgeport

and New Haven were stagnant or worse),® and (c) testi-

mony of an expert witness regarding the criteria used by

economists to rank the significance of potential entrants,

and the application of such criteria to this case.

The question whether the banks’ “markets in Bridgeport

and New Haven” were correctly determined by the District

Court when it rejected appellant’s contention that the nine

SMSA’s in Connecticut were ipso facto banking markets, in

conformity with this Court’s similar rejection in United

States v. Philadelphia National Bank, 374 U.S. 321 (1963),

United States v. Phillipsburg National Bank, 399 US. 350

(1970), and Brown Shoe Co. v. United States, 370 U.S. 294

(1962), is also a question of fact determined adversely to

appellant whose evidence was limited on this issue to testi-

mony as to how SMSA’s are constructed by the Office of

Management and Budget.

Appellant’s contention that the merging banks were sig-

nificant potential competitors in “other local banking

markets in Connecticut” is also an issue susceptible to

proof by testimonial or documentary evidence. Appellant’s

failure of proof on this issue was virtually total. Appellees,

9 Bridgeport’s population declined from 1960-1970, while total -

employment increased only 3.4% in contrast to the state as a whole

which realized ulation growth of 19.6% and an increase in total

employment of P38. New Haven’s population declined 9.4% and

total employment 9.5%. Manufacturing employment decreased

25.3% from 1963-1967 (DX-28; DX-29; Tr. 1262, 1272-3).

il

on the other hand, introduced a detailed objective study

of the structure of potential competition in the state pre-

pared under the direction of Dr. Merton J. Peck, Chairman

of the Economics Department of Yale University, which

concluded that the merger would not adversely affect

potential competition. The District Court accepted

Dr. Peck’s study and testimony and rejected appellant’s

fragmentary proof (J.S. 28a). Appellant is asking this

Court to make new findings of fact on each of these issues

based largely on rhetoric.

Finally, appellant’s characterization of the issues pre-

sented argues that this merger will stimulate other mergers

and increase concentration in the state when the record

establishes, and the District Court found, that the only

significant increase in concentration resulted from growth

by the two large Hartford banks which appellant has per-

mitted to make nine acquisitions since 1960. Appellees’

share of the state banking market has decreased.

The appellant’s unique statutory authority, 12 U.S.C.

1828(c)(7)(A), to obtain an automatic preliminary injune-

tion makes virtually certain that no anticompetitive merger

can be consummated without appellant’s acquiescence

(J.S. 101a).

Contrary to appellant’s argument, this case does not

present “important legal issues . . . involving bank mergers

that eliminate potential competition in commercial bank-

ing” (J.S. 12). The District Court correctly analyzed and

followed this Court’s decisions in United States v. Falstaff

Brewing Corp., 410 U.S. 526 (1973), United States v. Penn-

Olin Co., 378 U.S. 158 (1964) and F.T.C. v. Procter &

Gamble Co., 386 U.S. 568 (1967). The District Court agreed

that “The concept of potential competition is, of course,

a valid one” (J.S. 98a). In applying this Court’s decisions

12

the District Court simply found that appellant’s evidence

did not support its theories.

Affirmance of the District Court’s decision will not have

any significant adverse impact on the Antitrust Division’s

ability to enforce the antitrust laws. This Court’s deci-

sions in Falstaff, Penn-Olin and Procter € Gamble have

established the opportunity of the Department of Justice

to prove that the elimination of potential competition may

have the effects proscribed by Section 7 of the Clayton Act.

Successful utilization of this opportunity, however, requires

evidence which appellant, despite diligent efforts, was

unable to adduce.

The issues in this case are not “closely related to those

in United States v. Marine Bancorporation, Inc., et al.,

No. 73-38, in which the Court noted probable jurisdiction

on October 15, 1973” (J.S. 12, 13). As appellant admits,

this case presents “a different factual context” (J.S. 13).

In the Marine case, according to appellant’s Jurisdictional

Statement, the acquisition being challenged is by “the

second largest banking organization” in the state with

“total deposits of $1.6 billion (22.8 percent of total deposits

held by Washington commercial banks) . . .” (Marine

J.S. 7). Here the larger of the two banks ranks fourth

with deposits of $412.2 million, representing, even accord-

ing to appellant, only “6.2 percent of deposits of commer-

cial banks in Connecticut” (J.S. 7-8).

In the State of Washington no other competing system

of financial institutions will offer a full range of retail

banking services within the next two years.

In the Marine case the size of the smaller bank “had

increased by 50 percent” in the “five years preceding this

merger” (Marine J.S. 6). First New Haven’s size has

changed only from $222 million to $272 million in the past

five years and its share of deposits held by Connecticut-

_—

13

based commercial banks decreased from 5.5% in 1966 to

4.1% in 1972.'°

In Marine the District Judge announced his decision

from the bench after trial and “adopted, without change,

the defendant’s proposed findings of fact and conclusions

of law” (Marine J.S. 10). This Court has had occasion

to note that “mechanically adopted” findings “. . . do not

reveal the discerning line for decision of the basic issue

in the case.” United States v. El Paso Gas Co., 376 U.S.

651, 657 (1964).

In conformity with that view, Judge Zampano in Con-

necticut requested proposed findings of fact from all

parties and issued carefully detailed findings six months

after the trial which are clearly the product of careful

judicial deliberation and can in no way be characterized as

the wholesale adoption of findings proposed by either side.

Appellant contends that in the State of Washington “the

sponsored bank procedure has become an. established

method by which national banks enter new markets in

Washington” (Marine J.S. 9).

In the State of Connecticut no such entry has ever

occurred or been attempted.

Appellant contends in Marine that The National Bank

of Commerce (NBC) could have entered Spokane by

“acquisition of a smaller ‘foothold’ bank.” There is no

“foothold” or even “toehold” bank in the City of New

Haven to be acquired by Connecticut National. First New

Haven, with decreased earnings and continued losses on

nine of its branches, is in no position to acquire The

Lafayette Bank & Trust Co. in Bridgeport. James Staples

& Co. a private banker in Bridgeport with deposits of

$2.1 million (GX-65), would not even be a “toenailhold”

means of entry into Bridgeport.

10. Computed from GX-120, p. 12 and DX-12; DX-93.

—.

14

NBC does not compete with two banks over three times

larger throughout its service area as do both Connecticut

National and First New Haven.

In the Marine case, “The experts on both sides agreed

that Spokane is growing” (Marine J.S.17). Both Bridge-

port and New Haven have experienced declining business

and residential population (J.S. 34a-35a).

In the Marine case there was “objective evidence which

established that NBC was perceived by other banks in

Spokane as a potential competitor and as such exerted a

‘beneficial influence on competitive conditions in that mar-

ket’” (Marine J.S. 19). NBC also had a “longstanding

and conceded” interest in entering Spokane (Marine J.S.

17). NBC was “one of only two institutions capable of

entering Spokane de novo or by foothold acquisition”

(Marine J.S. 21).

There was no such “objective evidence” in this ease. The

evidence presented was to the contrary. In Connecticut

there would remain four commercial banks capable of enter-

ing New Haven and five capable of entering Bridgeport by

appellant’s standards (J.S. 33a, 35a). Appellant was not

unaware of the importance of such evidence (See Falstaff,

supra). The reason that appellant could not obtain such

“objective evidence” in this case, despite ample opportunity

to do so, is because the evidence did not exist.

The record in the Marine case showed “that the highly

concentrated Spokane market was marked by interdepend-

ent behavior in an atmosphere of friendly cooperation

rather than vigorous price and service competition” and

that there were “specific instances of cooperation between

competitors in such matters as rates and service charges

...”, as well as other specific evidence of anticompetitive

behavior (Marine J.S. 20). Again no such evidence was

introduced in this case because appellant could not obtain it.

15

Thus the reasons which led this Court to note probable

jurisdiction in the Marine case simply are not present here.

Summary affirmance of the District Court’s decision here

is, in appellees’ view, clearly appropriate.

POTENTIAL COMPETITION

Appellant failed in its burden to establish that appellees

were reasonably likely to become engaged in substantial

competition in the future or that the loss of either bank as

a potential entrant into other areas of Connecticut has any

actual or perceived impact on the market place. Appellant

did not even attempt to show that either defendant pres-

ently projects a significant competitive influence from the

fringe of the areas presently served through the threat of

entry—actual or perceived. Appellant’s entire proof on the

“wings effect” consisted of two paragraphs stating the

theory, with no application to the facts of this case."

The first two elements of the appellant’s case, the banks’

expansion history since 1955 and the record of economic

growth in Connecticut, are at least as probative of the

opposite conclusion as of the proposition that Connecticut

ll. “Q.... is there another beneficial effect which is related to

potential competition? A. Yes. In general, we think in terms of

a—if a concentrated market exists with a strong potential competitor

capable of entering, that in these cases the participants in the con-

centrated markets may find it to their advantage not to exercise

their market power. That is, the threat of an entrant in the so-called

—in the wings, the wings effect, could conceivably affect their

behavior in such a way that they may have—[the] outcome sane,

be more like a less concentrated market.

Q. You are saying that the mere existence of this potential com-

— has some effect? A. Yes, it could have some effect. Right”

(Tr. 207).

See - Tr. 556-557:

. a competitor in the wings will tend to have a desirable

aa within a market area, within some market area, if it’s

not presently operating there.”

16

National and First New Haven are likely to become sub-

stantial competitors in the future. Neither bank has

entered the other’s home office town nor have they entered

“other local banking markets in Connecticut” in competi-

tion with each other ouside the New Haven and Bridgeport

areas.

Appellant offered no evidence to support the view that

either bank has been “waiting anxiously to enter an oligop-

olistic market”, Penn-Olin, supra, 378 U.S. at 174, or that

either defendant “was so positioned on the edge of the mar-

ket that it exerted beneficial influence on competitive condi-

tions in that market.” Falstaff, supra, 410 U.S. at 532-33.

If remand were ordered by this Court to reassess the con-

clusions regarding potential competition reached by the

District Court, as requested by appellant, there is no fac-

tual basis in the record to decide in favor of appellant on

either question. The District Court would be at a loss to

reassess the supposed evidence of influence exerted on “the

edge” of the market, since there is no evidence to reassess.

In fact, as the District Court found, a closer analysis of

appellee banks’ expansion history reveals strong objective

evidence motivating against significant future de novo

branch expansion. Connecticut National opened 15 de

novo branches from 1961 to 1965. In the next five years

the bank opened only five offices and the profitability of the

bank in terms of return on investment increased by 30%

(J.S. 46a). This objective evidence counsels against the

statewide branching program in which appellant would

have appellees engage. Moreover, this five-year branch

expansion rate was the lowest among the nine largest

Connecticut commercial banks (J.S. 46a). —

Uncontroverted is the evidence that First New Haven

opened nine de novo offices since 1963, of which five are in

the City of New Haven (@X-73); that in 1971 nine of the

17

bank’s twenty-two offices were still showing operating losses

aggregating $535,000 per year (J.S. 51a); and that the

average cost of a new branch office has steadily risen over

the past decade to about $300,000 today (J.S. 47a, 51a).

The evidence is clear (J.S. 46a) that attractive branching

sites have become fewer and that the ratio of population to

existing banking offices is not sufficient in the towns in ques-

tion to support viable new branches.

First New Haven’s net income for the six months ended

June 30, 1973 ($1,108,793) decreased more than 14% from

the comparable period in 1972 ($1,300,549). The banks’

capacity and motivation to embark on important new

branching programs were examined in depth at the trial,

and, in objective terms, the District Court found appellant’s

theories were unsubstantiated (J.S. 46a-5la). These find-

ings are not clearly erroneous.

The banks are not free of their own will to expand geo-

graphically into areas served by other banks. No de novo

branch may be opened by either defendant (outside its own

head office city) in any city or town in which another com-

mercial bank is headquartered.’* Such towns, including all

the major urban centers of the state, are “closed” by law to

de novo branching. Appellant argues, nevertheless, that a

less anticompetitive (“toehold”) entry into such towns can

be gained by a resourceful bank by one of two alternative

means: (a) by merging with an existing small bank in the

closed town, or (b) by forming a holding company, causing

it to charter a new bank and affiliating with it.

In New Haven no such toehold exists or was shown to be

likely to exist. In Bridgeport the mere existence of The

12. Moody's Bank & Finance, Supp., July 20, 1973, at 1602. This

decrease is not surprising in view of the entry of the state’s largest

two banks into New Haven in competition with First New Haven.

13. Conn. Gen. Stat. Section 36-59, as amended; 12 U.S.C.

Section 36(c) (1).

18

Lafayette Bank & Trust Co., a $50 million institution, and

James Staples & Co., a private banker, does not lead to the

conclusion that they provide likely means of alternative

entry into Bridgeport for First New Haven. As the Dis-

trict Court found (J.S. 34a), where only two or three pos-

sible sellers exist as a means of entry, the premium that a

selling bank can extract tends to discourage merger (Tr.

1261). Moreover, First New Haven is fighting to retain its

business in New Haven against the state’s three largest

banks, two of which are over five times its size. Its stated

intentions not to enter Bridgeport are highly credible in

view of this threat to its primary service area and in view

of its unimpressive growth and profit rates in the past three

years. It is simply in no position to pay a premium to

enter Bridgeport and Fairfield County where it would

encounter the state’s five largest banks as competitors.

The court below recognized that testimony of the banks’

officers on this subject was “certainly not the last word .. .”

(see Falstaff, supra), but went on to note that “no reason

has been advanced for doubting their credibility” (J.S.

99a).

In evaluating the market impact of chartering a new

bank in a closed town by an existing bank, and how

such a hypothetical event is “perceived” by those in the

market, it is significant that no bank in Connecticut has

ever attempted it. The District Court found that the State

of Connecticut does not permit the chartering of a new

bank for the purpose of sale to a holding company (J.S.

57a). Between 1962 and October, 1972, 32 applications

were filed for new state charters, of which 17 were

approved, 10 disapproved and no action taken on the bal-

ance (DX-71).'*

14. The new bank chartered in Bridgeport after trial, referred

to in note 43 (J.S. 28) by appellant is subject to the proscription

in the Connecticut State Banking Department’s new charter appli-

cation (DX-7) that:

19

None of these newly chartered banks was organized by

a holding company. The Comptroller approved only three

of the 25 applications for new charters in Connecticut filed

from 1963 to the date of trial (DX-72 ; 1674-1677). Two of the

three were actually “interim” (or “phantom”) banks formed

by United Bank and Trust Co., a Hartford based bank, and

CBT to facilitate acquisitions of existing banks.'5 The only

new operating national bank was chartered in 1972 in Stam-

ford with initial capital of $2 million. On July 24, 1973,

after the trial, the Comptroller gave preliminary approval

to a new charter in the town of Fairfield, requiring initial

paid-in-capital of $2.5 million, the same amount required

by the State Banking Department for the new charter

approved in Trumbull after trial. Of four other state appli-

cations made in 1973, three are pending and one has been

disapproved in Windsor Locks.’®

Out of over 60 new charter applications filed and 20

approved in the past ten years by state and federal bank-

ing agencies, none has been by existing banks or holding

companies to gain new entry. The state, moreover, has

made it clear that it will not permit any new bank to be

formed for the purpose of sale to an existing banking

organization (Tr. 2156) and no bank in Connecticut has

attempted to use this route as a means of entry into

“closed” towns.’”

“This proposed bank is not to be organized for the purpose

of selling to, merging or consolidating with state bank

and trust company or national bank now in-eomence.”

15. See, e.g., 38 Fed. Reg. 3118 (Feb. 1, 1973).

16. The three applications pending are in the Towns of Clinton,

Hartford and New Milford. Towns newly closed to de novo

branching by approvals of new charters since November 1972

or er ic Monroe, Fairfield, Shelton and Ridgefield. Cf.

n. S. 6).

.17. Legal barriers were cited by one witness as the reason. (Tr.

1695) Cf. Whitney National Bank v. Bank of New Orleans &

Trust Co., 323 F. 2d 290 (D.C. Cir. 1963), rev’d on procedural

grounds, 379 U.S. 411 (1965).

20

>

All of these obstacles apply even if a bank should deter-

mine that the substantial capital costs involved in these

modes of entry will be incurred to the exclusion of other

competing demands for capital investment in the bank’s

operation that are predictably more profitable.

These legal, regulatory and financial obstacles are high

“barriers to entry” and the higher the barriers, the less

significant is the influence of potential entry on the behavior

of competitors already in an area protected by the barriers.

Put simply, the competitors already present in a “closed”

city, such as New Haven, do not take seriously the prospect

that a Bridgeport bank will somehow climb the barriers,

since there are no small, “toehold” banks headquartered in

New Haven and the de novo charter route has never been’

attempted in Connecticut and would require the organizers

to make false statements if they were organizing a state

bank (J.S. 56a).

Similarly, with respect to those towns which are “open”

to de novo branching in Connecticut, entry must be ~~

approved by bank regulatory officials who apply objective

standards based on population and income. Testimony by

the Regional Administrator of National Banks established

that a number of public interest criteria are taken into

account in the Comptroller’s determination whether to

approve or disapprove a new branch. One of the principal

standards in this process is the capacity of a particular

community to support an additional banking facility; in

short—the need for a new branch (J.S. 37a-40a).

Just as most “closed” towns in Connecticut consist of

major population centers or medium-sized cities where the

head office of a commercial bank is located, most “open”

* towns consist of suburban or rural areas without high den-

sities of population. Thus, of Connecticut’s 128 “open”

towns, 41 had no commercial bank offices in 1972. These

z

cd

,

’

a

af

=< ee eee 5 x r ae ita RESP sas

=

21

towns average 2,600 in population, a level which experience

shows has not attracted any of the state’s 64 commercial

banks even to seek entry, whether or not the Comptroller,

or the State Bank Commissioner and the FDIC would

approve the application. In contrast the average popula-

tion per branch office in all “open” towns with one or more

commercial bank offices was 5,633 in 1972 (JS. 37a).

Clearly, an application to enter any town by de novo

branching in circumstances where the addition of one office

would result in a ratio of population per banking office

significantly below the state average presents a formidable

burden on-the applicant to establish need and to convince

the regulator that the community has the capacity to sup-

port the additional facility (J.S. 37a).

The District Court found that the addition of a single

office in many of the “open” towns where one or the other

of the appellee banks maintains an office would reduce the

population per banking office to a point significantly below

the state average (J.S. 38a-39a). In those “open” towns

where neither of appellee banks is represented, it would, of

course, require appreval of de novo branches of both banks

before any future competition would develop. The addition

of two new branches in many more of these “open” towns

_ would not only reduce the population per branching office

" below the state average, but even below the 2,600 threshold

level at which, on average, no bank has been attracted to

enter. Lack of economic opportunity in such case (the

expectancy of a low level of return on invested capital) can

thus be deemed either a barrier to entry or simply a lack of

inducement to enter.

In either event, it was not the appellee banks’ burden to

show that it is probable they would not enter such open.

towns, but rather the appellant’s burden to show that it is

reasonably likely that the legal, regulatory and economic

= on CERT OS

22

inhibitions to entry in the open towns would likely be sur-

mounted by both appellee banks. The appellant did not

carry that burden and offered no objective evidence on the

subject.

Even if entry into some of these open towns by both of

the appellee banks seemed to be a possibility, contrary to the

evidence, the question remains whether that possibility can

have any competitive impact in light of the number, size and

location of other banks which are, by objective criteria,

more likely entrants into a given area.

Taus, if it can be shown that in ten years time, given

projected population growth, a town could arguably support

two more branch offices, the removal of one of the merging

banks .as a potential entrant cannot have any discernible

effect on competition if there are in fact at least three more

likely entrants ranked by size and geographic proximity.

To test this hypothesis, Dr. Peck prepared tables (DX-27)

for all 165 “open” and “closed” towns in Connecticut

(affected by the consolidation as areas of potential entry)**

ranking appellees according to deposit size and geographic

proximity to the town in question among the ten leading

potential entrants.”®

18. See n. 14 (J.S. 29a).

19. Dr. Peck testified that his analysis of potential competition

took into account five of the six objective factors listed in appel-

lant’s answer to Defendants’ Interrogatory 18, namely size, financial

resources, demonstrated willingness to expand by de novo branching

and/or merger with smaller banks, incentive to enter indicated by

significant economic growth of the markets involved and geographic

a. He testified that he did not take into account the sixth

actor, “economic similarity of the markets”, since he “wasn’t sure

exactly what this element was or how it would be quantified” (Tr.

1236). A high degree of rank correlation was found among the first

three factors of size, financial resources and demonstrated willing-

ness to (Tr. 1233-1237). Ample factual basis was found

by the District Court ‘to support the opinion of the banks’ expert

witness that the town is the appropriate unit.of analysis of poten-

23

Dr. Peck’s study was based on the fact that branching

laws in Connecticut are written around towns, rather than

some other unit, and result in towns being either “open” or

“closed”, and on the recognized fact that convenience plays

a major role in the banking industry.” The starting point

for assessing the effect of a bank consolidation on poten-

tial competition accordingly is the smallest geographic unit

to which legal barriers to entry attach. This analysis

demonstrated that the proposed consolidation does not

eliminate the most likely entrant, ranked by size, into any

“open” town in Connecticut (J.S. 30a) and that generally,

ranked by both criteria of size and proximity, the bank

affected by the consolidation does not even rank among the

top ten most likely entrants (J.S. 31a).

‘The District Court found that in no case would there be

less than four firms identified by appellant as having state-

wide capabilities left as potential entrants. In those few

towns where either merging bank ranks among the top

‘ten potential entrants, the District Court found that, even

in terms of projected 1980 population, there is no prospect

that these towns could support more entrants than the

number of banks ranking ahead of appellee banks by size

and proximity (J.S. 38a-40a).

In summary, appellant’s burden of proof to show some

likelihood of potential competition between appellant banks

throughout the state cannot be carried merely by showing

that certain towns or metropolitan areas in Connecticut are

enjoying good economic growth. A burgeoning town of

30,000 may well be “overbanked” from the vantage point

~ 20. “A banker in Woodbridge, for example, would not be con-

cerned with a new entrant into Guilford, even though the two towns

are in the same SMSA. The reason is simple; the driving time

between the two towns is over 45 minutes and there are seven banks

with 39 offices in the intervening towns between Woodbridge and

Guilford” (Tr. 1239, 1347); (J.S. 28a).

24

of an outside bank or a regulatory official if there are

already six or seven commercial or savings bank offices

serving the area. The obstacles to new entry in such a case

are substantial and the necessary regulatory approval less

than assured. eover, the competitive significance of

removing only one of y potential entrants into a bank-

ing market (which has never been empirically established

by economic research) was not even addressed by appel-

lant.

With Bridgeport and New Haven both closed to de novo

branching, appellant’s case consists of no more than an

invitation to speculate on the ways these two banks might

structure future moves to overcome those two inconvenient

facts. The means suggested are (1) by engaging in major

de novo branching programs into the “open” towns, (2)

“foothold” acquisitions or (3) holding company affiliations

through newly chartered banks. Each of these alternatives

was shown by appellees’ evidence and found by the District

Court to be either unavailable or subject to clear regulatory

veto, or both, and inconsistent with the merging bank’s

economic motivations.

Professor Peck did not express any opinion on the like-

1 lihood of entry by either bank or the competitive weight

to be given the “wings” effect. Instead, he analyzed the

effect of the proposed transaction on potential competi-

tion as though it were important here, i.e., assuming that

appellant had proven the likelihood of entry, that there was

a “wings” or “perceived” effect and that competition from

savings banks should be ignored—all contrary to the record.

In this way, Professor Peck’s analysis focused directly on

appellant’s ultimate argument—that the proposed consol-

idation would be likely to result in a significant change in

the structure of potential competition in commercial bank-

ing in the State of Connecticut.

i |

aaa SNEERRE RAE NESTE GS SLR PE APN TPE ROLLY IONE ANE EIN EN ATE OE NO ttl

25

The analysis on which the conclusion was reached did not

take into account the competitive impact of savings banks

in Connecticut or the subjective expressed intent of any

banking officials. The District Court found that Professor

Peck:

“. . . limited his survey solely to commercial banks.

He did not take into account the presence of savings

banks; thus, it is evident that his conclusions would

be strengthened if the competitive effects of savings

banks had been considered” (J.S. 29a).

His conclusion that the merger would not adversely affect

the structure of potential competition among commercial

banks in Connecticut and the objective factors on which

that conclusion was reached were adopted by the District

Court (J.S. 28a, 99a). Appellant offers no persuasive rea-

son to review these factual issues here.

With full cognizance of the criteria to be applied in poten-

tial competition cases—capacity and incentive of the merg-

ing banks to undertake de novo entry, the perceived com-

petitive effects on the fringe of the market, barriers to

entry, the number and strength of remaining potential

entrants, the rank of the potential entrants, the rank of the

potential entrants affected by the merger and the structure

and trends within the market—the District Court took

pains to apply all of the relevant legal standards to the

facts on record. He found appellant’s proof fell short.

He need not have gone on to weigh the needs and conve-

nience of the community because he found no violations of

the Clayton Act.

¢

j

j »

198 Bs Rr

608 NSO RATS ALM he TH DW Ba

26

SECTION OF THE COUNTRY

Appellant contends that the District Court erred in find-

ing that the State of Connecticut as a whole was the only

relevant section of the Country within which to analyze the

competitive effects of this merger. Appellant argues that

“the New Haven and Bridgeport areas are also relevant

sections of the country” (J.S. 14).

The District Court found to the contrary based in part

on appellant’s own evidence. Appellant sought to demon-

strate that the nine Connecticut Standard Metropolitan

Statistical Areas, as defined by the Office of Management

and Budget, were the appropriate geographic banking mar-

kets in this case.2!_ The cities of New Haven and Bridgeport

are both the focal points of separate SMSA’s, but under

Connecticut banking law each of these cities is treated as

a unit for home office protection purposes, while the SMSA

has no legal significance. The SMSA as a “market” con-

cept was essential to appellant’s potential competition

theory, however, because it had to show, as a threshold to

proving its allegations, at the least, that one of the two

merging banks is one of the most likely entrants into the

other’s market. Since both New Haven and Bridgeport are

closed to de novo branching by banks headquartered outside

those cities, appellant must argue that entry into any town

in the SMSA would constitute entry into the principal mar-

ket of the resident bank. Its only witness to so testify

admitted that his familiarity with the geographic area con-

sisted of attending “a couple of Yale football games.” The

21. Appellant also sought to demonstrate that a “four-town

area” consisting of Orange, Derby, Ansonia and Milford con-

stituted a section of the country. Its own expert witness, however,

did not agree that this was a banking market and appellant has now

abandoned that contention (J.S. 4).

22. The locale was in the City of New Haven as well as in the

_ New Haven SMSA (Tr. 312).

27

District Court, understandably, did not accept this testi-

mony nor did the District Court find persuasive his and

appellant’s contention that the town of Woodbridge, a small

semi-rural community in the New Haven SMSA, could con-

stitute a meaningful toehold entry for Connecticut National

to compete in the City of New Haven.

Appellant’s principal evidence in support of its conten-

tion that SMSA’s are ipso facto sections of the country

within the meaning of Section 7 of the Clayton Act in a

bank merger case was the testimony of Dr. Frederick

Glantz who described the manner in which SMSA’s are de-

lineated. Dr. Glantz, who conceded his lack of expertise

in banking and who made no analysis of competition or

banking markets in this case, admitted that the definition of

SMSA’s did not include consideration of any banking data

and was not developed as a tool for analyzing banking mar-

kets (J.S. 18a). Dr. Murphy, who was offered by appellant

as an expert on bank competition, agreed that Stamford

and Norwalk (separate SMSA’s) and New York City might

all be part of the same banking market (J.S. 25a).

The Department of Justice in its report to the Comptrol-

ler of the Currency on this merger did not use the SMSA

concept in discussing competitive effects but relied instead,

as appellees did at trial and as they do here, on the

town as the unit of analysis and the State of Connecticut as

the relevant geographic market (J.S. 19a).

This Court in Philadelphia, supra, at the urging of appel-

lant, specifically rejected the eight county Delaware Valley

area, which comprises the Philadelphia, Pennsylvania-New

Jersey SMSA, as the appropriate section of the country.

374 U.S. at 357. The Court below had stated that “at the

very least it (the section of the country) must include the

entire Delaware Valley.” 201 F. Supp. 348, 364 (E.D. Pa.

1962). Appellant contended in this Court that that was

error.

28

Appellant argued in this Court in Phillipsburg, supra,

that the SMSA was not the appropriate section of the coun-

try in which to evaluate the competitive effects of the pro-

posed merger of Phillipsburg National Bank and Trust

Company and Second National Bank of Phillipsburg. There

the SMSA included Lehigh and Northampton Counties in

Pennsylvania and Warren County in New Jersey. But the

Department of Justice argued that Phillipsburg-Easton, a

smaller area, was appropriate and this Court accepted that

argument. Appellant argued that the District Court in

that case erred when it “stressed the economic and social

integration among the population and other businesses in

the larger merchandising area that it viewed as the only

appropriate geographic market” (in other words, the

SMSA).”3 Appellant now contends that the District Court

in this case should have done what it contends was error on

the part of the District Courts in the Phillipsburg and Phila-

delphia cases. The United States, even as an advocate,

should not be allowed to shift course so blithely to accom-

modate the exigencies of its case.

As this Court has pointed out: “While there is undoubt-

edly some commercial intercourse between smaller com-

munities within a single ‘standard metropolitan area,’ the

most intense and important competition—will be confined

to—the particular communities in such an area and their

immediate environs.” (emphasis added) Brown Shoe Co.,

supra, at 339.

Appellees’ position in this case follows that view of this

Court as expressed by Chief Justice Warren. The town

or community is the appropriate unit for analysis of the

competitive effect, particularly where, as here, home office

protection varies by town. The state as a whole is the

relevant “section of the country” within which to appraise

23. Brief for Appellant at 32-33, Phillipsburg, supra.

>

, _ : OI ETE RR IE OE x eee

Oe ee Se ee Oe Se ee ee 6 . C i

29

any effects because, subject to home office protection, that

is the area “which state law apparently recognizes as a

meaningful banking community in allowing . . . banks to

branch within it...” Philadelphia, swpra, at 361.

Appellant demonstrates some uncertainty in determining

which geographic area to select to maximize its opportunity

to find some anticompetitive effect resulting from this

merger. On the one hand its argument that the SMSA is

the relevant banking market requires it to concede that the

two banks are in separate markets and not in significant

competition with each other. On the other hand it argues

that this Court’s decisions in ordinary horizontal competi-

tion cases are controlling here. Appellant cannot deny that

each bank is now prohibited by law from branching into the

town in which the other has its head office, New Haven and

Bridgeport, respectively. It asserts that 82.7% of the

146,596 workers living in the Bridgeport metropolitan area

and 88.7% of the 129,810 workers living in the New Haven

metropolitan area work in the area where they live. These

figures alone demonstrate, since, as appellant argues, “bank-

ing is a business in which the geographic market is particu-

larly affected by convenience of location to the customer

who is neither very large nor very small” (J.S. 17, 18),

that the two bs are not in significant existing competi-

tion with each offfér and that this Court’s decisions in hori-

zontal merger cases do not apply.

Appellant then turns to the State of Connecticut as a

whole. As appellant concedes “under this horizontal analysis

(using the state as a whole) neither of the merging banks

“could have competitive significance as a potential entrant

in the principal operating area of the other” (J.S. 14).

Appellant argues nevertheless, that this Court’s decisions

in Philadelphia, supra, Phillipsburg, supra, United States

RINSE INET EROS EE SEPALS ART

30

v. Von’s Grocery Co., 384 U.S. 270 (1966) and United States

v. Pabst Brewing Co., 384 U.S. 546 (1966), establish a per se

rule of illegality based on the conclusion that the combined

banks would have 11.3 percent of the market.* But in Phil-

adelphia, Phillipsburg, Von’s and Pabst the merging parties

were in substantial direct competition with each other. In

Philadelphia the head offices of the two banks were across

the street from each other and the banks competed through-

out the four-county area within which both were limited by

state law in branching and merging.

In Phillipsburg the merging banks were direct competi-

tors.

“PNB and SNB are direct competitors. Their main

offices are opposite one another on the same down-

town street. SNB’s only branch is across a subur-

ban highway from one of PNB’s two branches.” 399

U.S. at 354.

This Court’s decision in Von’s also involved two firms

in direct competition with each other. Mr. Justice White

described the two firms as “substantial competitors” and

observed that “[T]he merger not only disposed of a sub-

stantial competitor but increased the concentration in the

leading firms.” 384 U.S. at 281 (emphasis added). Not

only are Connecticut National and First New Haven not

“substantial competitors” but the merger by definition

would not increase concentration in either of the two

claimed banking markets on which appellant offered its

proof in the District Court. There would be no increase in

' the concentration ratios in the Bridgeport or New Haven

24. As we discussed earlier, appellees’ combined share of depos-

its held by Connecticut-based commercial banks was only 10.39%

at year-end 1972 and when reduced by proven Connecticut business

= by New York banks and divestiture would be approximately

%.

APNE AIO CEN OAT NER TT IRE MENA —————

31

SMSA’s following the merger and, in fact, there would be

a decrease, due to the decision by the two banks to sell six

branches to new entrants.

Appellant’s citation. of Pabst, supra, is also inapposite.

There this Court said “The merger of Pabst and Blatz

brought together two very large brewers competing against

each other in 40 States. In 1957 these two companies had

combined sales which amounted to 23.95% of the beer sales

in Wisconsin, Illinois and Michigan and 4.49% of the sales

throughout the Country.” Pabst, swpra, at 551.

Cases holding unlawful mergers between companies which

are direct competitors throughout their market areas have

no application to this case where appellant has stated the

principal question presented to be whether Section 7 is

violated “by eliminating the two banks as significant poten-

tial entrants into each other’s markets in Bridgeport and

New Haven and into local banking markets in Connecticut”

(J.S. 2).

This case is a potential competition case by the appel-

lant’s allegations in the complaint, its proof at trial and its

statement of the questions presented. In such a case mar-

ket share figures taken from horizontal merger cases are 4

largely irrelevant. “fs

The District Court found correctly that the Bridgeport

SMSA does not comprise Connecticut National’s relevant

banking market, relying in part on the fact that only 57%

of Connecticut National Bank’s deposits originated from

towns in the SMSA. The District Court concluded that

Connecticut National’s market was the area within which it

had established branch offices (J.S. 20a).25 That area con-

sisted of 25 towns in Fairfield, New Haven and Litchfield

Counties. The District Court found the SMSA concept

25. Cf. Philadelphia at 361, where the Court noted that the area

where the banks had branched was the area of effective competition.

32

“particularly useless in New England where banking organ-

izations have offices and derive substantial deposits beyond

the boundaries of the SMSA where their head offices are

located” (J.S. 20a). He observed that the three federal

bank regulatory agencies define a bank service area as the

geographic area from which the bank derives 75% of its

deposits (J.S. 20a). The service area, as so defined, extends

beyond the Bridgeport SMSA in the case of Connecticut

National to the west to the New York border, encompassing

the Stamford and Norwalk SMSA’s, and in the case of First

New Haven extends beyond the New Haven SMSA to the

east, nearly to New London. ;

Appellant argues that the District Court’s definition of

the market was erroneous because it was seller oriented.

But appellant also argues (J.S. 21) that “although the State

of Connecticut is not a commercial banking market in the

customer-supplier sense described in Philadelphia National

Bank, it is nevertheless a ‘section of the country’ for deter-

mining the effect of the merger on competition.”

In assessing the competitive effects of a bank merger in

Connecticut, evaluation of the impact of New York City

based banks is inescapable. The State of Connecticut is

directly contiguous to Westchester County in-New York

State where banks headquartered in New York City are

permitted by state law to branch. New York City head-

quartered banks have numerous offices throughout West-

chester County and obtain banking business from Connecti-

cut, both on the retail level from the substantial number of

commuters who cross state lines and on the commercial level

from the active solicitation of customers in Connecticut

(J.S. 24a-27a).

Appellant’s expert banking witness, Dr. Murphy, agreed

that commuting patterns and the substantial competitive

interaction between New York City and Southern Con-

33

necticut, supported the conclusion that substantial compe-

tition exists for banking business in Connecticut from New

York City banks. Appellant’s evidence showed that

approximately 50,000 heads of households commute into

Connecticut from New York or vice versa in approximately

equal numbers and showed that this was part of an increas-

ing trend of cross-commutation. The evidence established

that in Fairfield County, where Connecticut National is

headquartered, the daily circulation of The New York Daily

News was 44,058 copies and The New York Times, 29,360

copies. The circulation of each of these New York papers

exceeded the circulation of Fairfield County’s only morn-

ing daily, The Bridgeport Post Telegram, which averaged

11,521 eopies, and combined amounted to approximately six

times as much. The evidence showed that New York banks

advertise heavily on television, which saturates Fairfield

County, in the newspapers and in the railroad stations.

The competitive impact in Connecticut of the advertising of

rates on savings deposits and rates charged for loans by

New York banks was found by the District Court to be sub-

stantial (J.S. 25a).

In a survey which covered only a part of the banking

business obtained by but six of the over 70 New York City

area banks, it was established that over $480 million in

Connecticut based deposits were held in over 23,000

accounts by these New York City banks. The survey also

showed that six New York City commercial banks alone

obtain over $381 million in commercial and industrial and

mortgage loans from Connecticut customers. These figures

do not include banking business obtained from Connecticut

~ by 64 other commercial banks headquartered in the New

York City area or the business obtained from Connecticut

by New York City and Westchester savings banks.

Appellant apparently agrees with the District Court’s _

finding that the state as a whole is an appropriate section t

’ —

‘ ul

j aj

bee ban. ‘ 1

PM DIAN YPM TUE TIVES RE MLTR EMME a la Bade “Tet Oe -

vee nedieateal

ens x tet nitcapphihals

>

34

of the country in which to assess the competitive effects of

this merger, (J.S. 21), but as in the case of savings banks,

it would ignore the reality of existing competition from

New York banks in pursuit of its potential competition

theories.

LINE OF COMMERCE

The discussion of potential competition has dealt with the

issues on appellant’s terms—namely, that the line of com-

merce should be limited to commercial banking and that

existing competition from savings banks should be ignored,

although savings banks have more total deposits in Con-

necticut than do commercial banks and compete for over

75% of the loan business which commercial banks do in

Connecticut and by the end of 1975 will compete with

commercial banks for all retail banking business.

It is appellees’ view this Court’s opinions in

Philadelphia and Phillipsburg Y not require a District

Court to ignore competition where competition in fact

exists. Appellant’s banking economist has stated that

“some reconsideration of the commercial bank product line

specifications may be in order” since Philadelphia was

decided by this Court because of “increased competition

among commercial banks and thrift institutions for savings

type liabilities in the 1960s.” (DX-58). This statement is

in accord with appellees’ view and does not. imply that

Philadelphia was incorrectly decided. The reality is that

the extent of competition between commercial banks and

savings banks has drastically changed since the close of the

record in the Philadelphia case in 1962. Nowhere has the

intensity of such competition become more severe than in

Connecticut. Even if this case involved two commercial

banks headquartered in Bridgeport—the kind of direct

competition which existed in Philadelphia and Phillipsburg

—it would be unrealistic to ignore the fact that savings

banks in Connecticut are now strong competitors and will

compete for all retail banking customers (over 90% of

appellees’ accounts) by 1975.

At trial appellant failed to offer any proof on the line

of commerce issue, reflecting its view that it is no longer

necessary in any bank merger case to consider the size,

scope or functions of competing sources of financial serv-

ices in light of this Court’s decisions in Philadelphia and

Phillipsburg.

However, no decision of this Court has directed lower

courts to totally ignore existing competition from financial

institutions other than commercial banks in evaluating the

importance of potential competition in a commercial bank

merger case. Appellant argues here that this Court should

declare unlawful a merger which it alleges, but failed to

prove, may eliminate potential competition between the two

banks while asking the Court to ignore proven existing

competition which*both banks now encounter from savings

banks for over 75% of their loan business. Even if this

Court should find that commercial banking is the appropri-

ate line of commerce in this case, contrary to what the evi-

dence has established, it would be illogical and at odds with

the Court’s prior decisions to ignore the impact of savings

bank egmpetition on competitive behavior within a commer-

cial banking line of commerce.

In this appeal, the Court is being asked by appellant to

’. speculate that appellees will find their way around the law

and policy of the State of Connecticut and enter each

other’s markets at some time in the future, contrary to the

record and the findings of the District Court. It asks the

Court to conclude that the effect of the elimination of that

possibility “may be substantially to lessen competition, or

eee ee

36

to tend to create a monopoly” while at the same time it asks

the Court totally to ignore retail banking competition

where it now exists merely because it goes under a different

name. To do so would be almost as unrealistic as ignoring

competition between national banks and state banks merely

because they operate under different supervisory agencies

and may have somewhat different powers. This Court has _

refused to follow similar suggestions in prior cases such as

United States v. Continental Can Co., 378 U.S. 441 (1964).

The record is clear that savings banks in Connecticut are

direct competitors of commercial banks for time and sav-

ings deposits, personal loans and real estate loans as well

as for branch sites and personnel (J.S. lla). By year-end

1975 they will be able to accept demand deposits and hold

personal checking accounts. Appellant’s expert witness

agreed that such competition exists (J.S. 12a). Of the

ay

merging banks’ total IPC deposit accounts, over half pres-

ently consists of accounts for which Connecticut savings

banks are direct competitors (DX-35, Tables 1-6). Appel-

lant admits that over three-quarters of appellees’ total loan

portfolios consists of personal and real estate loans obtained

in direct competition with Connecticut savings banks (J.S.

16, n. 21).

Total deposits of Connecticut savings banks at year-end —

1971 amounted to $6.1 billion, substantially in excess of the

total deposits of Connecticut commercial banks—$5.7 bil-

lion at the same date (DX-62; GX-70). Two of the state’s

savings banks, moreover, are larger than all but the two

dominant Hartford commercial banks and are larger than

either of appellee banks (DX-52, p. 15; G@X-70).

With these facts on record, it is instructive to compare

the data available to the District Courts and to this Court

in the Philadelphia and Phillipsburg cases which led to the

—

*

+ ote ee Rea BA Rone ET OE - neD ADE TS nN Ne _

37

conclusion that the cluster of products and sertices offered

by commercial banks in Pennsylvania and New Jersey com-

prised a distinct line of commerce.

For Pennsylvania as a whole, commercial banks held

$13.7 billion of the $15.7 billion held by all Pennsylvania

commercial and savings banks.”*

Based on figures for mid-year 1960’ (the period on which

the trial record in Philadelphia was built) commercial

banks held $4.5 billion of the $6.3 billion of total deposits

of commercial banks and savings banks in the four-county

area adjudged the relevant geographic market in Phila-

delphia and savings banks in Philadelphia did not make

personal loans and did not offer checking accounts.

In the Phillipsburg-Easton area, held to be the relevant

geographic market in Phillipsburg, no savings bank com-

petition existed as of June 29, 1968, while total commercial

bank deposits in the Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton metro-

politan area were reported by the FDIC to amount to $1.1

billion at the same date. For the State of New Jersey as

a whole, commercial banks held $12.2 billion of the $14.7

billion in deposits of all state commercial and savings banks

in June, 1968.78

The relative immunity from savings bank competition

described in the /hiladelphia case is totally inapplicable

to Connecticut. Defendants’ Exhibit 52, “National Fact

Book of Mutual Savings Banking, 1972”, at Table 62 (page

46), shows that savings banks in Connecticut realized net

26. Federal Reserve Board, Distribution of Bank Deposits by

Counties and Standard Metropolitan Areas, December, 1960.

a. 4&8.

28. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Stmmary of Accounts

and Deposits in all Commercial Banks, New York FDIC District; id.

Philadelphia FDIC District, June 29, 1968; Summary of Accounts

and Deposits in All Mutual Savings Banks, FDIC, June 29, 1968.

—

38

gains in savings of $4.77 billion from 1950-1971 as com- |

pared to net gains of $1.86 billion in savings at Connecticut

commercial banks. This fact demonstrates that savings

banks have been nearly three times as effective as commer-

cial banks in competing for new savings deposits during

this period.

In none of the cases decided since Philadelphia have sav-

ings banks occupied a position comparable to that in Con-

necticut where they have more deposits and loans than

commercial banks and where they compete directly for the

bulk of commercial banks’ deposit and loan business. Ac-

cordingly, the record amply supports the conclusion that

“banking” in Connecticut is the relevant line of commerce—

including savings banks as well as commercial banks.

The differences between banking market realities today

and those under analysis in Philadelphia and Phillipsburg

led appellant’s chief witness to conclude that since this

Court’s decision in Philadelphia, economic evidence indi-

cates a change in the amount of competition between sav-

ings banks and commercial banks (Tr. 211). He stated

in the Summer 1971 Journal of Bank Research at page 18:

“|. That is, even if an analysis of competition in

each bank activity was undertaken in the years prior

to the Supreme Court decision [in Philadelphia] the

evidence over that period does not strongly support

the hypothesis that commercial bank time and sav-

ings deposits were close substitutes for MSB

[Mutual Savings Bank] deposits and S&L shares.

Thus, the Court’s finding was not inconsistent with

the statistical evidence of the 1950s. However,

increased competition ameng commercial banks and

thrift institutions for savings-type liabilities in the

1960s suggests that some reconsideration of the com-

mercial bank product line specification may be in

SSSR TR Ae GOES RN FEE ARTI TSN TES ES NITE ETE EE _

39

order. This is especially important if MSBs are suc-

cessful in obtaining the demand deposit privilege in

several of the states in which they are permitted to

operate and S&Ls make use of the capability to make

third-party transfers” (DX-58). -

Thus even if the issue in this case were the elimination of

actual competition, the record below justifies the conclusion

that the appropriate line of commerce in which to assess

the effects of the proposed merger would be “banking”,

including savings and commercial banks.

However, this is not an actual competition case, but, as

appellant concedes, a potential competition case.

_ Tt is now the law in Connecticut that, no later than

December 31, 1975, savings banks in Connecticut will have

the power to offer personal checking accounts. Thus by

1976 the competitive arena in Connecticut will include sav-

ings and commercial banks offering all of the important

retail banking services: savings and checking accounts, real

estate loans, personal loans for a wide variety of purposes

and passhook loans. For almost all retail customers both

savings and commercial banks will offer the cluster of

services that permits one-stop banking.

Nor can appellant argue that savings banks will not take

advantage of their new power to offer personal checking

accounts. Two savings bank officials testified at trial that

their banks would offer checking accounts if empowered

to do so, and one such official stated that his bank had

already made extensive studies of how to implement

demand deposit services (Tr. 1654, 1946).

To deny the certainty of savings bank competition for

personal checking accounts is to deny competitive reality

and hence the teaching of this Court which said in Brown

Shoe, supra, that the relevant product market in a Section

7 merger case “must be drawn with sufficient breadth to

* STE PETIA NTI SERIA SoS 8S EE °C ETE isa

Le ee oee

Pa

TEM See Tee ee

A PARR ONDE tok a yteenn tr

ee]

eae

of nh i GAMMA AM aE tin et task cl ip cv h og 2

ee

;

4

40

include competing products of each of the merging com-

panies and to recognize competition where, in fact, compe-

tition exists.” 370 U.S. at 326. Certainly in a potential

competition case, logic as well as Brown Shoe compelled

the District Court to recognize competition where, in fact,

competition exists and will exist even more strongly in the

immediate future.

By focusing solely on commercial banks’ power to make

commercial loans and accept commercial demand deposits

and neglecting the convenience and banking needs of the far

greater number of individual retail customers, appellant

urges application of the wrong standard. It is the retail

customers whose banking needs are most localized. As

appellant has pointed out to this Court, commercial bank

services such as “international transactions, commercial

loans of more than $1.2 million . . ., student loans and min-

ing loans” are of a type which “necessarily were not impor-

tant to the great bulk of bank customers in the area, and it

is the effect upon the entire market area which determines

the validity of the merger” (Marine J.S. 22).

The record shows that business borrowers are not con-

fined to New Haven or Bridgeport banks. They are solici-

ted on a regular basis by New York and Boston banks,

and, of course, the two dominant Hartford banks compete

statewide. The importance of potential competition between

the appellee banks would be lost on a business borrower in

Connecticut with even moderate banking requirements when

so many alternatives are available.

Appellant argues that Phillipsburg compels a result

contrary to that reached by the court below. We disagree.

With respect to the appropriate line of commerce, this

Court in Phillipsburg relied on the immense importance to

retail customers of one-stop banking:

“For some customers, full-service banking makes

possible access to certain products or services that

~

-

AMIS NA ey ASIN RN ON PTO ee ERLE BEN Se BE a a at see TS

41

‘would otherwise be unavailable to them; the cus-

tomer without significant collateral, for example,

who has patronized a particular bank for a variety

of financial products and services is more likely to

be able to obtain a loan from that bank than from a

specialty financial institution to which he turns sim-

ply to borrow money.

“A customer who uses one service usually looks to

his bank for others as well, and is encouraged by the

bank to do so. Thus, as was the case here, customers

are likely to maintain checking and savings accounts

in the same local bank even when higher savings

interest is available elsewhere. This is perhaps par-

ticularly true of banks patronized principally by

small depositors and borrowers for whom the con-

venience of one-stop banking and the advantage of

a good relationship with the local banker—and thus

of favorable consideration for loans—are especially

important.” (citations omitted) 399 U.S. at 360-1

(emphasis added).

In Connecticut customers are likely to maintain checking

and savings accounts in the same local bank and will do so

by year-end 1975 in either a savings or commercial bank.

A customer without significant collateral can now turn to

either a commercial or savings bank for a personal install-

ment loan. A savings bank in Connecticut is not a “spe-

cialty financial institution to which (the depositor) turns

simply to borrow money.” For the retail customer a sav-

ings bank and a commercial bank will be equally useful

alternatives to which he can turn for the convenience of

one-stop banking and the advantage of a good relationship

with the local banker.”? Indeed full-service retail banking in

29. Contrary to appellant’s statement that the record establishes

that “savings banks in Connecticut do not compete with commer-

cial banks for commercial loans” (J.S. 16; n.21), DX-20 shows

savings banks with $26 million of such loans at year-end 1971 (Tr.

1008-1009).

Bs isa

42

both commercial and savings banks will be uniquely avail-

able to Connecticut’s banking public.

It is somewhat anomalous for appellant to argue on the

one hand that some of the benefits resulting from a bank

merger such as increased lending limits, international trans-

actions, sophisticated computer services and corporate and

municipal financing services are “not important to the great

bulk of bank customers in the area” because it is “the great

bulk of bank customers who make up the community whose

convenience and needs the merger is supposed to serve”

(J.S. 30-31), while asking this Court to ignore the fact that

it is the great bulk of bank customers in the State of Con-

necticut who are and will be the beneficiaries of the savings

and commercial bank competition.° For this great bulk

of bank customers—the retail bank customers—interchange-

ability of use and cross-elasticity of demand compelled the

District Court to conclude that the appropriate line of com-

merce includes savings and commercial banks.

In sum, the largest number of purchasers of banking ser-

vices can or will be able practicably to turn to both commer-

cial and savings banks for supplies. The advent of full

service one-stop retail banking at either type of bank cor-

rectly led the court below to conclude that ‘banking’ is the

appropriate line of commerce in which to assess the com-

pecitive effects of the proposed merger. In any event

whether this Court concludes that “banking” or “commer-

cial banking” is the appropriate line of commerce is rela-

30. As appellant’s own exhibits (GX-33; GX-48) show, 95% of

the demand deposit accounts at the main offices of appellee banks are

below $10,000 in size. Clearly, savings banks will be competitive

for the bulk of these accounts. Note 24 in the Jurisdictional State-

ment (J.S. 17) appears to be asking this Court to decide the line

of commerce issue on the basis of the dollar volume of accounts

held by less than 1% of the account holders at appellee banks’ main

offices set forth in such exhibits.

POEL LILI SAGE LNG ILE I NEE A NE Ee et

—

43

tively insignificant in a case where the appellant has failed

to prove any of the prohibited effects under Section 7 of the

Clayton Act no matter how narrowly or broadly the prod-

uct market is defined.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the District Court should be

affirmed for the reasons set forth above.

Respectfully submitted,

Grorce D. Reycrart

JoHN Boyer

Haven C. Roosrtvett

One Wall Street

New York, New York 10005.

Counsel for Appellees, The Con-

necticut National Bank and The

First New Haven National Bank

Ricwarp G. Bett

205 Church Street

New Haven, Connecticut 06509

Counsel for Appellee, The First

New Haven National Bank

CapDWALADER, WICKERSHAM & Tart

Tyier, Cooper, Grant, Bowerman & KEEFE

Putiman, Comey, Braptey & Reeves

Of Counsel.

December, 1973

EGER DES IIS ELE PATE TEE SE: TI NT GN OR Ng

=e .

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.