Amicus Curiae Brief — Parker v. Levy

Supreme Court brief1974

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

October Term, 1973

No. 72-1713

SECRETARY OF THE NAVY,

Appellant,

v.

MARK AVRECH,

Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 73-206

< JACOB J. PARKER, et al.,

Appellants,

v.

HOWARD B. LEVY,

Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

RNID yon OU LYE ER

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE ON BEHALF OF THE

ASSOCIATION OF THE BAR OF THE

CITY OF NEW YORK

BAS ¥

THOMAS M. COMERFORD MARVIN M. KARPATKIN

1301 Avenue of the Americas 1345 Avenue of the Americas

New York, N. Y. 10019 New York, N. Y. 10019

Davip L. Fox LEONARD P. NOVELLO

280 Park Avenue 1 Chase Manhattan Plaza

New York, N. Y. 10017 * New York, N. Y. 10005

Attorneys for the Association

of the Bar of the City of New York

42 West 44th Street

New York, New York 10036

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Interest of the Amicus Curiae .................. 2

Statutes Involved ............. 0.0... ccc eee eeee 3

Questions Presented .............0...000.00000e 4

Statement of the Cases ...................00000. 4

Summary of Argument ...............00ce0eeee 4

i Argument:

| Point I:

| Article 134 is unconstitutional on its face ..... 6

| A. Article 134 is unconstitutionally vague .... 7

| 1. Article 134 does not give fair warning

: of what conduct is proscribed ......... 9

2. Article 134 fails to provide explicit en-

forcement standards ................ 18

B. Article 134 is unconstitutionally overbroad 23

C. No countervailing military necessity ...... 24

D. The effect of unconstitutionality ......... 25

| Point II:

| Article 133 is unconstitutional on its face .... 27

; Conclusion ............ 0c cece cece e cece ueees 33

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Burns v. Wilson, 346 U.S. 187 (1953) ........... 17

Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 418 U.S. 601 (1973) ...... 8

Brown v. Board of Education, 349 U.S. 294 (1954) 16

ewe, ADEE 0 DR ee BIT RE ET ae EM Se ee

a

ii

PAGE

Carter v. McClaughry, 183 U.S. 365 (1902) ...... 17

Cline v. Frink Dairy Co., 274 U.S. 445 (1927) .... 7

Coates v. City of Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611 (1971)

7, 9, 22, 28, 24, 32

Connally v. General Construction Co., 269 U.S. 385

CREE, ng be 9355 5 TRs pose eon et eenseies nee. 7, 8,18

Corporation of Haverford College v. Reeher, 329 F.

Supp. 1196 (E.D. Pa. 1971) ...............4.. 7

Dombrowski v. Pfister, 380 U.S. 479 (1965) ...... 17, 24

) Dynes v. Hoover, 61 U.S. (20 How.) 65 (1858) ... 15, ©

16,17

“| Giaccio v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. 399 (1966) .... 20-21,

, 31

; Gooding Vv. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518 (1972) ........ 7, 22,

| 24, 25, 31, 32

) Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104 (1972) 7,8,

19, 21, 23, 31

Johnson Vv. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458 (1938) ......... 17

Kauffman v. Secretary of the Air Force, 415 F.2d

ORL CEC. CAE, TURES eikric cee civic des cevssis / 1

Lanzetta v. New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451 (1938) .... 7,9,

22, 23, 28, 31

Levy v. Parker, 396 U.S. 1204 (1969) ........ .. 15, 26

Ez parte Milligan, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 2 (1866) .... 17

NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963) .......... 25

O’Callahan v. Parker, 395 U.S. 258 (1969) ...... 26

Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156

CAD TRD 5455044505 5 608 48s Ed eee oes 7, 8, 16, 22, 31

Reid v. Covert, 354 U.S. 1 (1957)

Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973)

POP CB ore “

OEE PRO Ws hy Portia % :

COURS PUR ATI ge series caren rer

CO ee

PAGE

Scott v. Sanford, 60 U.S. (19 How.) 393 (1857) 16

Union Bridge Company v. United States, 204 U.S.

364 (1905)... 2. eee. 10

United States v. Adams, 21 C.M.R. 34 (AFBR

BONGP 5 8564 kee 0000 e06s ane ooecavéxoiae tn 14

United States v. Alexander, 3 U.S.C.M.A. 346, 12

C.M.R. 102 (1953) ......................... 13

United States v. Annal, 13 U.S.C.M.A. 427, 32

C.M.R. 427 (1963) ......................... 13

United States v. Berry, 6 U.S.C.M.A. 638, 20 C.M.R.

GOW TEIOG). vkk cin ccvnccencvedvessccescesce 13

United States v. Butler, 11 C.M.R. 445 (ABR 1953) 14

United States v. Cardiff, 344 U.S. 174 (1952) . 7,22

United States v. Caune, 22 U.S.C.M.A. 200, 46

C.M.R. 200 (1973) ......................... 19

United States Civil Service Commission v. National

Association of Letter Caspiers, 413 U.S. 458

(1973) 2... ll... 8, 11, 12, 30

United States v. Cohen Grocery Co., 255 U.S. 81

8 a ee 7

United States v. Cole, 30 C.M.R. 755 (USCG Action

of General Counsel as Supervisory Authority

ROME) Sha secs seen tees vaeewedcedeceeiceus. 14

United States v. Community TV Inc., 327 F.2d 797

(10th Cir. 1964) .......................... 7

United States v. Cowan, 12 C.M.R. 375 (ABR 1953) 14

United States v. Cramer, 8 USCA. 221, 24

C.M.R. 31 (1957) .....0000.............2... 13

United States v. Daniels, 19 USC. M.A. 529, 42

C.M.R. 131 (1970) ......................... 24

United States v. Davis, 27 C.M.R. 908 (CGBR

Pl ae er as ee OTe

CO ee Oe rempary:

Juli da ites

Pe ae ee ees

iv

PAGE

United States v. Day, 11 U.S.C.M.A. 549, 29 C.M.R.

BOG CIODO) oS oss ke cew eens tan wo ewecsuesess 19

United States v. Downard, 6 U.S.C.M.A. 538, 20

C.M.R. 254 (1956) 2.0... ccc ccc eee ees 20

United States v. Eaton, 144 U.S. 677 (1892) ...... 10

United States v. Fisher, 6 C.M.R. 195 (ABR 1952) . 10

United States v. Floyd, 18 C.M.R. 362 (ABR 1954),

pet. denied, 6 U.S.C.M.A. 817, 19 C.M.R. 413

COOGRY nv ey oe ac a eee anes seeeeeas eneeseys 18, 14

United States v. Francis, 12 C.M.R. 695 (AFBR

1958), pet. denied, 3 U.S.C.M.A. 837, 13 C.M.R.

TAR TUDRE) noe oh beens xe teaeiwesss 20

United States v. Frantz, 2 U.S.C.M.A. 161, 7 C.M.R.

BT CIDOR) no ancd ener c hive cucecnse es stones 8, 15

United States v. Freeman, 15 C.M.R. 6389 (AFBR

1954), pet. denied, 4 U.S.C.M.A. 734, 16 C.M.R.

292 (1954) ;

United States v. George, 228 U.S. 14 (1913) ...... 10

United States v. Goldie, 1 C.M.R. 495 (NBR 1951) 14

United States v. Gray, 20 U.S.C.M.A. 68, 42 C.M.R.

S| ee errr nee cre 24

United States v. Grimaud, 220°U.S. 506 (1911).... WW Pp

United States v. Habbard, 12 C.M.R. 492 (AFBR

OGRE oie we eck cha CER h EG SSE eS EN bee ewnes 20

United States v. Harbin, 20 C.M.R. 925 (AFBR

BORG) nn cis eawn sun av aes Ouse 4 eo eke e ensures 14

United States v. Herndon, 15 U.S.C.M.A. 510, 36

C.M.LR. 8 (1965) 2... ccc ccc ccc cscs cc ecces 13

United States v. Holt, 7 U.S.C.M.A. 617, 23 C.M.R.

81 (1957) oo cc cee ee eee 10, 13

United States v. Howe, 17 U.S.C.M.A. 165, 37

CMR. 420 (1967) on ccc eccescetccscussecss 8, 24, 32

United States v. Hunt, 18 C.M.R. 498 (ABR 1954) 13

as

United States v. Jackson, 8 C.M.R. 215 (ABR 1952),

pet. denied, 2 U.S.C.M.A. 677, 8 C.M.R. 198

CSOO) soc hese ce ce ewan Gee eevcdessevanss 14

United States v. Johnson, 5 C.M.R. 268 (ABR 1952) 20

United States v Lee, 4 C.M.R. 185 (ABR 1952), pet.

PAGE

denied, 1 U.S.C.M.A. 712, 4 C.M.R. 178 (1952) .. 14

United States v. LeFort, 15 C.M.R. 596 (CGBR

BOORE 686 eee ch Ee 48a sk ee bees 4s wen es 20

United States y. Livingston, 8 C.M.R. 206 (ABR

1952), pet. denied, 1 U.S.C.M.A. 676, 8 C.M.R. 178

6): ) 14

United States v. Mallory, 17 C.M.R. 409 (ABR 1954) 14

United States v. Manos, 8 U.S.C.M.A. 734, 25

C.M.R. 288 (1958) 2... cece cee eae 19-20

United States v. Martinson, 21 U.S.C.M.A. 109, 44

C.M.R. 1638 (1971) 00... ccc cee eens 13

United States v. Maze, 42 C.M.R. 876 (ACMR

(1970), rev’d on other grounds, 20 U.S.C.M.A. 29,

44 C.M.R. 29 (1971) 22... ce cee ee eee 13

United States v. McCormick, 12 U.S.C.M.A. 26, 30

C.M.R. 26 (1960) 2... 0... ccc ccc cece ee 11, 22

United States v. Menta, 39 C.M.R. 956 (AFBR

1968) ccc cece cece e ene eeeeenes 20

United States v. Neill, 4 C.M.R. 221 (ABR 1952),

pet. denied, 2 U.S.C.M.A. 665, 5 C.M.R. 130

SAMURY 5.55665 4454 545ws ue ewe 4b kes 444s ness 14

United States v. Norris, 2 U.S.C.M.A. 236, 8 C.M.R.

86 (1953) ccc ccc eee eee 20

United States v. Ortega, 45 C.M.R. 576 (ACMR

ROUE 555 55 eae ee 0555 ie ees ee ev eeeSEAD 13

United States v. Priest, 21 U.S.C.M.A. 564, 45

C.M.R. 838 (1972) 22... 20.0.0... ccc ee ee eee 24

~ United States v. Ragan, 14 U.S.C.M.A. 119, 33

C.M.R. 381 (1968) ......... 0.00. cc cece eee 13

a ah ENS Cla A A i hE Ct tio te MEE shbset B —————

vi

United States v. Reese, 92 U.S. 214 (1875) .......

United States v. Rio Poon, 26 C.M.R. 830 (CGBR

POUR) one cn bu swad anes annnwdes cusses sane ss

United States v. Sadinsky, 14 U.S.C.M.A. 563, 34

COR. O46 CIDGE) kc cs ken diac sxcensssesnes

United States v. Sanchez, 11 U.S.C.M.A. 218, 29

CMR. SE C00GD) nvcaccvcccaceeteantss sans

United States v. Schneider, 27 C.M.R. 566 (ABR

BOD oun ec PUSS o eka FAR ASS Oe ERE SOE

United States v. Unrue, U.S.C.M.A. , 46

C.M.R. 1826 (Misc. Doc. 1973) ...........556-

United States v. Shoenberg, 16 U.S.C.M.A. 425, 37

C.M.R. 45 (1966) nc ccccescccnneccccccvcens

United States v. Siniger, 6 U.S.C.M.A. 330, 20

COR £6 (1088) icc ces cv ies eviwus dawesass

United States v. Smart, 12 C.M.R. 825 (AFBR

er a ce eee aes

United States v. Snyder, 1 U.S.C.M.A. 428, 4 C.M.R.

45 (10GR) cciccwncvice cee cdasusnwcsvinvnns

United States v. Walker, 21 U.S.C.M.A. 376, 45

CMR. 150 (1078) 9... ccc ccccesccncecsecess

United States v. Walter, 11 C.M.R. 355 (ABR 1953),

rev'd on other grounds, 4 U.S.C.M.A. 617, 16

C.M.R. 101 (1954) 2... ccc cscccvcsnvecvceeee

United States v. Waluski, 6 U.S.C.M.A. 724, 21

GMR. 46 (IBGE) on ccaccccsccsasvovcccuess

United States v. White, 7 C.M.R. 764 (AFBR 1953)

United States v. Will, 25 C.M.R. 674 (ABR 1958) ..

United States v. Witzell, 12 C.M.R. 269 (ABR 1953)

United States v. Wolverton, 10 C.M.R. 641 (AFBR

MORE nonce seehe Ene nee es bos ee REE Re ee ees

United States v. Woodard, 17 C.M.R. 813 (AFBR

i Sen rer re es

Viereck v. United States, 318 U.S. 236 (1943) ....

vii

PAGE

CONSTITUTION AND STATUTES

United States Constitution, First Amendment .... 7, 23

24, 32

United States Constitution, Fifth Amendment .... 6, 8,

12, 22

§ U.S.C. § 7824(a) (2) 20... eee eee 11

UO SAD is piv ncee ar oenes.cedacaneands ote 3

Article XX XIJ—Rules for Government of the Navy,

enacted 23 April 1800, 2 Stat. 45 .............. 15

Article of War, Article 97, 18 Stat. 1342 (1874) ... 17

Uniform Code of Military Justice:

Articles 15-20 (10 U.S.C. §§ 815-820) ........ 19

Article 34(a) (10 U.S.C. § 834(a)) ......... 19

Article 36(a) (10 U.S.C. § 886(a)) ......... 11

Article 56 (10 U.S.C. §856) ................ 11

Article 133 (10 U.S.C. § 933) .............. passim

Article 134 (10 U.S.C. § 934) .....0...0.... passim

5 CPLR. § 788 0. e ccc eee cccccc cee. . U

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Annual Report of the U.S. Court of Military Appeals

and the Judge Advocates General of the Armed

Forces and the General Counsel of the Depart-

ment of Transportation pursuant to the Uniform

Code of Military Justice for the period J anuary 1,

1972, to December 31, 1972 .................. 26

Department of the Army Pamphlet 27-9, Paragraph

4-122, “Military Judges’ Guide” (1969) ....... 21, 31

Department of the Army Regulation 350-212,

“Training: Military Justice’, (2 June 1972) .. 18

Department of the Army Subject Schedule 21-10,

“Military Justice (Enlisted Personnel)”, (24

June 1969) ........... ‘S¥Ee 5) ¥ e404 ve beeweean< 18

T —

PAGE

Gaynor, Prejudicial and Discreditable Military Con-

duct, A Critical Appraisal of the General Article,

; 22 Hastings L. J. 259 (1971) ................ 27

Hodson, Perspective, the Manual for Courts-Mar-

tial, 1984, 47 Mil L Rev. 1 (1972) ............ 26

Manual for Courts-Martial, United States (rev.

ed. 1969)

Paragraph 26b .............. 2 ce eee eee 32

bg ee ee eee 19

FO TOE ao se ee es sees 21

POPOMTODE TETG xx cous icciescicesseseeins 10

4 POPOMTOON BUR. x oon c kk ose ss cesccescceses 28, 31

PUPUIOD BEBO a xc 65 55 6 oes see pee seens 9, 10

; Paragraph 218¢ ..................2 002 ee- 10

; Paragraph 213d ...................-0005- 21

: gic tg we tS Sa a ena 10

| Appendix 6—Forms for Charges and

: Specifications ...................00e000e 10

Quinn, The United States Court of Military Appeals

3 and Individual Rights in the Military Service, 35

i Notre Dame Lawyer 401 (1960) .............. 24

| Reynolds, The Officer’s Guide (1969) ............ 29

Note, Taps for the Real Catch-22, 81 Yale L. J.

; TORO LROIB! 656555450555 see as ounn ee esness 10, 29, 32

Task Force on the Administration of Military Jus-

tice in the Armed Forces (1972). ............. 26

} Wiener, Are The General Military Articles Uncon-

stitutionally Vague?, 54 A.B.A.J. 357 (1968) .. 27

Wiener, Courts-Martial and the Bill of Rights, The

Original Practice 11,72 Harv. L. Rev. 266 (1958) 16

| IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1973

No. 72-1713

SECRETARY OF THE NAVy,

Appellant,

v.

MARK AVRECH,

Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

CIRCUIT

a.

vr

No. 73-206

4.

JACOB J. PARKER, et. al.,

Appellants,

v.

HOWARD B. LEvy,

Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

dy

| BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE ON BEHALF OF THE

¢ ASSOCIATION OF THE BAR OF THE

| CITY OF NEW YORK

The Association of the Bar of the City of New York

_ files this brief pursuant to Rule 42 of the United States

Supreme Court. Both appellants and appellees have con-

sented to the filing of this brief, and copies of their consents

have been filed with the Clerk of this Court.

SL OI Fy CRE NET RLF OOPS EE Re

Interest of the Amicus Curiae

The Association of the Bar of the City of New York

(“The Association”) has a membership of more than

10,200 attorneys admitted to practice in New York and

elsewhere. The Association was established by Act of the

New York State Legislature in 1871. Laws 1871, Chap-

ter 819; Amended Laws 1924, Chapter 134. Its stated

statutory purposes are “cultivating the science of juris-

prudence, promoting reforms in the law, facilitating the

administration of justice, elevating the standing of in-

tegrity, honor and courtesy in the legal profession and

cherishing the spirit of brotherhood among the members

thereof.”

The Committee on Military Justice and Military Af-

fairs is a Standing Committee of the Association, ap-

pointed by the President of the Association. There are at

present 24 members of the Association on the Committee.

The Chairman is Marvin M. Karpatkin, an active prac-

titioner in this field, who is a General Counsel of the

American Civil Liberties Union and an Adjunct Professor

of Law at New York University School of Law. Other

members include a law school dean, a judge of the Crimi-

nal Court of the City of New York, and the General Counsel

of the NAACP. Two of the members are currently on

active duty practicing criminal law in the Army Judge

Advocate General’s Corps; most of the members are former

members of the armed services, many of them of the legal

branches of those services; one is a recently retired Captain

in the U.S. Coast Guard whose last assignment was Chief

Legal Officer at the largest Coast Guard installation in

the country, Governor’s Island; and many of the members

have, as military and civilian lawyers, represented service-

men and servicewomen.

na— ;

The Committee’s Subcommittee on the Uniform Code

of Military Justice was asked by the Chairman of the Com-

mittee to study the constitutionality of Article 133 (Con-

duct Unbecoming an Officer and a Gentleman) and Article

134 (General Article) of the Uniform Code of Military

Justice. After due consideration, an overwhelming ma-

jority of the Subcommittee decided that Article 133 and

the first two clauses of Article 134 were unconstitutionally

vague and overbroad, and this finding was adopted by an

overwhelming majority of the Committee at its December

1973 meeting. The Association believes that the Commit-

tee’s views will be helpful to this Court in resolving one of

the key legal issues presented by the appeals at bar, and has

granted the Committee permission to file this brief in its

behalf.

Statutes Involved

Article 133 of the Uniform Code of Military Justice

(10 U.S.C. § 933) provides in pertinent part:

Any commissioned officer . . . who is convicted

of conduct unbecoming an officer and a gentleman

shall be punished as a court-martial may direct.

Article 134 of the Uniform Code of Military Justice

(10 U.S.C. § 934) provides in pertinent part :*

Though not specifically mentioned in this chap-

ter, [1] all disorders and neglects to the prejudice

of good order and discipline in the armed forces,

* The third clause of Article 134 provides trial by court-martial

for “crimes and offenses not capital.” This clause is used to charge

violations of federal law not elsewhere proscribed in the Uniform Code

of Military Justice, and violations of state law incorporated under the

Assimilative Crimes Act, 18 U.S.C. § 13. Although this clause was

mentioned in the opinion of the Third Circuit in the Levy case, 478

F. 2d at 790, we do not believe it is involved in these appeals, and we

offer no views as to its constitutionality. References in this brief to

“Article 134” are meant to encompass only the first two clauses.

PO SEEING RE I PLS BRIE Ts IAS EGE IGS OG LOOPED na OED IES

) —

Sri sit Sh AS hh tatiana 8 ist 8 creek iad RO ee ee

ee Te ores

eee

a

4

[and] [2] all conduct of a nature to bring discredit

upon the armed forces . . . shall be taken cognizance

of by general, special, or summary court-martial,

according to the nature and degree of the offense,

and shall be punished at the discretion of that

court.

Questions Presented

1. Whether Article 133 and Article 134 of the Uniform

Code of Military Justice are unconstitutionally vague and

overbroad.

2. In the case of a felony prosecution, should the armed

services be held to the re of specificity imposed

on civilians?

Because of the parties’ individual interests and their

exhaustive treatment ofall of the issues involved in these

appeals, we confine ourselves to discussion of the issues

we consider most important as a matter of constitutional

policy: the facial constitutionality of Article 133 and

Article 134. We will not discuss the other issues raised

or briefed by the parties.

Statement of the Cases

Amicus incorporates the statement of the Avrech case

as outlined in Appellee Avrech’s brief, and the statement

of the Levy case as outlined in the Appellant government’s

brief.

Summary of Argument

A statute which either forbids or requires the perform-

ance of an act in terms which are so vague that the average

reasonable man is forced to guess at its meaning, inter-

pretation, and application, is unconstitutionally vague and

overbroad, and violates due process of law.

I

Article 134 is so broad in scope that it gives no fair

warning of the conduct it proscribes and fails to provide

any ascertainable standard of guilt to circumscribe the

discretion of the enforcing authorities.

Furthermore, although the Manual for Courts-Martial,

United States (rev. ed. 1969), hereinafter referred to as

Manual, (the administrative regulations governing mili-

tary discipline which have been promulgated pursuant to

the Uniform Code of Military Justice) does contain a num-

ber of precise specifications which can be used to charge

a serviceman or servicewoman with a crime, administra-

tive regulations cannot be used to validate an otherwise

unconstitutional statute. In addition, the specifications

in the Manual are not all encompassing; they are only

examples of conduct which might be considered to come

under the Article. Accordingly, the Article as applied

represents a limitless catchall, without a unifying theme,

for various types of vague misconduct not otherwise codi-

fied, ranging from abusing animals to wearing unauthor-

ized insignia.

Moreover, there is no valid countervailing military

justification for suspending the application of the consti-

tutional right of fair warning to a penal statute which

prescribes serious criminal penalties to offenders, as op-

posed to administrative sanctions. The good order and

discipline necessary to accomplish the mission of the armed

services tair be achieved by means of a statute more clearly

in accord with constitutional guidelines.

Thus, this Article is unconstitutionally vague and over-

broad,

Ce KR pa PLE AO OE LES ENE Gh LO a BIO Pig BME AOD

e

abe hal lol, WALLA,

Sadly

si heabeny vA 20 6 9 AML 6 a Ae aE Land shat

Skid. 4 UR tL wee

ewe

Lindh shania \

ba edd lak WO Leila en rend OR Mian oid

ii

Article 133, which applies only to officers, suffers from

the same vagueness and lack of military justification as

Article 134. In addition, neither this Article nor the

Manual explain what conduct “ynbecomes” an officer or a

gentleman. Moreover, the word “gentleman” is a highly

subjective, amorphous term and open to abuse. It is un-

clear who is to decide what is or is not “gentlemanly” con-

duct, especially in a time of changing values and mores.

There is grave doubt that the statute gives fair notice of

the crimes intended to be covered.

Thus, this Article is unconstitutionally vague and over-

broad.

ARGUMENT

POINT I

Article 134 is unconstitutional on its face.

We submit that the convictions of appellees for violation

of Articles 133 and 134 in the instant cases must be held

violative of the due process clause of the Fifth Amendment

because the statute is unconstitutionally vague and over-

broad.!

At the outset, it is important to recognize that although

both of the instant cases are “free speech” cases, we do not

confine our argument to that area of constitutional inter-

pretation. Rather, unfettered by partisan interests, we

urge that this Court rule in these cases on strict constitu-

tional policy grounds. This Court has held a hard line

against vague criminal statutes which offend the constitu-

tional norm of due process. Moreover, this Court has not

limited it application of the vagueness doctrine to “free

speech” cases; decisions abound concerning vague statutes

1. As to the question of retroactivity, see note 14 infra.

_—_

which seek to regulate a wide range of activities, both within

and without the context of the First Amendment. Gooding

v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518 (1972) (free speech) ; Papachristou

v. City of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156 (1972) (vagrancy

law) ; Coates v. City of Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611 (1971)

(freedom of association); United States v. Cardiff, 344

U.S. 174 (1952) (FDA inspection statute); Lanzetta v.

New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451 (1938) (“gangster” label

statute) ; Cline v. Frink Dairy Co., 274 U.S. 445 (1927)

(anti-trust profit controls) ; Connally v. General Construc-

tion Co., 269 U.S. 385 (1926) (minimum wage law);

United States v. Cohen Grocery Co., 255 U.S. 81 (1921)

(price controls) ; and United States v. Reese, 92 U.S. 214

(1875) (statute describing violations of the Fifteenth

Amendment by election officials) .2

We suggest that the Court’s holding in the cases at bar

need not be restricted to a decision on First Amendment

grounds. Rather, as we point out infra, Articles 133 and

134 do not meet constitutional standards of due process

for reasons in addition to their capacity to stifle exercise of

First Amendment freedoms. For that reason we meet the

question of facial constitutionality of these statutes con-

sidering that their infirmity goes far beyond even the im-

portant First Amendment considerations.

A. Article 134 is unconstitutionally vague.

The requirement for specificity in drafting criminal

statutes is a “basic principle of due process.” Grayned v.

2. Other federal courts have also applied the vagueness concept

in areas other than free speech. See Corporation of Haverford C. ollege

v. Reeher, 329 F. Supp. 1196 (E.D. Pa. 1971) (state statute denying

financial aid to convicted misdemeanants). See also United States v.

Community TV, Inc., 327 F. 2d 797 (10th Cir. 1964) (excise tax laws

must be applied on the basis of specific description of transaction

covered, not by analogy ).

FARO TEE LO RTE TE EE ig EET OEE GT OTE

Rye oan eee ee ee eS Er es |

aA SWRA ipo kh eant ed Wipe iain a Sate el edd ee iad ee

i i ae Bs ase

8

City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 108 (1972). Thus, a

criminal statute must give fair warning to the citizenry

of what conduct is prohibited. If the statute is drawn

“in terms so vague that men of common intelligence must

necessarily guess at its meaning and differ as to its appli-

cation”, it will be held violative of “the first essential of

due process of law.” (citations omitted) Connally v. General

Construction Co., supra, 269 U.S. at 391. Furthermore,

a criminal statute must present those who apply it with

“explicit standards” for application in order to prevent

“arbitrary and discriminatory enforcement of the law.”

Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville; Grayned Vv. City of

Rockford, supra.

These principles are part of the very fibre of the due

process clause of the Fifth Amendment, and have been re-

affirmed by this Court most recently in Broadrick v. Okla-

homa, 418 U.S. 601 (1973). See United States Cwil

Service Commission Vv. National Association of Letter Car-

riers, 413 U.S. 548 (1973). Moreover, the standards ap-

plied by this Court in the civilian context have been held

applicable as well to statutes governing -the conduct of

military personnel. United States v. Howe, 17 U.S.C.M.A.

165, 176-79, 37 C.M.R. 429, 440-43 (1967). See also

United States v. Frantz, 2 U.S.C.M.A. 161, 7 C.M.R. 37

(1953).

Accordingly we submit that the terms of Article 134,

prohibiting “all disorders and neglects to the prejudice of

good order and discipline in the armed forces” and “all

conduct of a nature to bring discredit upon the armed

forces” do not meet the requirements of fair warning and

establishment of ascertainable standards for enforcement.

Thus, Article 134 is unconstitutionally vague and offends

the basic principles of due process required by the Fifth

Amendment.

9

' ° i ial

L coon eb candies nr Graeme arning of what

On its face, the statute gives no notice to the service-

man fro.a which he may determine what type of conduct is

“prejudicial to good order and discipline” or service-dis-

crediting. Appellant argues however, that this “general-

ized language . . . gains meaning from and embodies the

well-settled customs and practices of the military commu-

nity; and that those members therefore have sufficient

notice of what conduct is prohibited by the Article. ( Ap-

pellant’s Brief in Avrech at 27). We submit that careful

examination of the components of the “customs and prac-

tices of the military community” does not support that

conclusion.

Appellant has relied specifically on the provisions of

the Manual and the body of military and civilian case law

interpreting the general article (Appellant’s Brief in

Avrech at 28). Reliance on the Manual to fill the void

created by the vague facial language of Article 134 is un-

satisfactory. First, it is doubtful whether resort may be

had to such a publication for this purpose, for, as this

Court has held, if a statute is vague on its face, “specifica-

tion of the details of the offense[s]} intended to be charged

would not seem to validate it.” Lanzetta v. New Jersey,

306 U.S. 451, 453 (1938). See also Coates v. City of Cin-

cinnati, supra. In any event, the Manual itself does not

satisfy due process notice requirements because it is open-

ended and does not contain a description of all offenses

which may be punished under this Article.

The Manual, as a general guide, states that prosecution

under the first clause of Article 134 is limited to cases in

which the prejudice to good order and discipline is “rea-

sonably direct and palpable” (paragraph 2136), and that,

the second clause of the Article is intended to proscribe

conduct which “has a tendency to bring the service into

2

= * FO IBLE a FE AGLI EOLA AL PT ALG LE, TPO ge OT ES Bil TIO a Pe

ens

10 - .

disrepute or which tends to lower it in public esteem” (para-

graph 213c). But these terms suffer from the same vague-

ness problem as the language of Article 134 itself. How is

the serviceman to know what conduct constitutes a “rea-

sonably direct and palpable” prejudice to good order and

discipline? How is he to know which of his acts will have

a “tendency to bring the service into disrepute?” Examina-

tion of the Manual’s sixty-three model specifications under

this Article (Appendix 6c), the discussion of fourteen of

the offenses in some detail (in paragraph 213f), and the

listing of many of those and other offenses in the Table of

Maximum Punishments (paragraph 127c), is unsatis-

factory because the list is not intended to be exclusive, but

is purposely “elastic.” United States v. Fisher, 6 C.M.R.

195, 199 (ABR 1952). See also United States v. Holt,

7 U.S.C.M.A. 617, 23 C.M.R. 81 (1957). Indeed, the

Manual and Article 134 themselves restrict the punishable

offenses only by noting that they must be “not specifically

mentioned” in another article of the Code (Manual, para-

graph 213b).

Reference to the Manual to give definition to Article

134 is unsatisfactory also because the Manual is promul-

gated pursuant to Executive Order and does not constitute

a body of substantive law. Such a procedure would raise

serious constitutional questions.* The United States Court

3. We agree with appellant’s position that “The status of the

Manual’s specifications as substantive military law is unsettled”

(Appellant’s Brief in Avrech at 30, n. 14). See Reid v. Covert, 354

U.S. 1, 38 (1957). However, we urge this Court to reject a scheme

whereby the Executive may legislate substantive criminal conduct, a

task traditionally and rightly within the exclusive province of the

Congress. In this regard see Note, Taps for the Real Catch-22, 81

Yale L.J. 1518, 1523-24 (1972). See United States v.. Eaton,

144 U.S. 677 (1892) ; Viereck v. United States, 318 U.S. 236, 241

(1943) ; United States v. George, 228 U.S. 14 (1913) ; United States

v. Grimaud, 220 U.S. 506 (1911) ; Union Bridge Company v. United

States, 204 U.S. 364 (1905).

atl

1l

of Military Appeals itself has recognized that there is no

“basis for the proposition that the President may create

an offense under the Code”. United States v. McCormick,

12 U.S.C.M.A. 26, 28, 80 C.M.R. 26, 29 (1960). Thus,

this Court should not allow reference to the Manual to~

define offenses under the general article in the absence of

legislative provision for such reference. Congress has

directed only that the President establish rules of pro-

cedure and evidence and fix maximum penalties, 10 U.S.C.

§§ 886 and 856 (1970). He has a this in the Manual

under Articles 36(a) and 56 of the Uhiform,Code of-Mili-

tary Justice, respectively. Nothing in the President’s

statutory grant of power permits the establishment of sub-

stantive criminal offenses. -In any event, as discussed

infra, ‘the open-ended list of Article 134 offenses in the

Manual may give notice of what has been punished on oc-

casion in the past, but gives no warning of what other

types of conduct will be considered proscribed in the future.

Contrary to the appellant’s position (Brief in Avrech

at 31), this Court’s recent decision in Letter Carriers,

supra, does not resolve the problem in the instant cases.

That case held that a provision of the Hatch Act, 5 U.S.C.

§ 7824(a) (2) was not void for vagueness, in part be-

cause it gave notice of a listing of prohibited and permitted

activities contained in Civil Service Commission Regula-

tions, 5 C.F.R. § 733. It is important to note that, unlike

the Manual, the Civil Service Regulations do not purport

to proscribe conduct which will lead to criminal prosecu-

tion. Indeed, the penalty for violation of the Hatch Act

provision is removal from government service. While in

itself a stringent punishment, such a sanction does not

approach the deprivation of liberty and imposition of a

punitive discharge which may result from a federal court-

martial conviction. While in general there is no right to

Nat Ss on ee ee 2 7 tee TARE Are RT A ALT RS POM MOSS Ge RF ED ESSE

A

12

employment with the federal government, the Fifth Amend-

ment grants the right not to be tried, convicted or in-

carcerated without due process of law. Thus, the require-

ment for strict construction of penal statutes present in

the instant cases was not present in Letter Carriers, Fur-

ther, Congress specifically intended the Civil Service Com-

mission to exercise a rule-making function for the political

conduct of federal employees, although that power did not

give the Commission a “subordinate legislative role in

fashioning a more expansive definition of the kind of con-

duct that would violate [the statute],” Jd., 413 U.S. at

571-72; In the case of the Manual, however, the list of

substantive Article 134 crimes adopted by the President

reflects the exercise of a legislative role which exceeds his

| delegated powers. Indeed, the changes in the Manual in

1968 and 1969 reflect an effort at a “more expansive

; definition” of conduct prohibited under the general article.‘

Thus, a result in the instant cases which rejects resort to

the Manual as an enactment of substantive Article 134

offenses would not conflict with the holding in Letter Car-

; riers. The statutes, regulations and their purposes involve

different policy considerations. We deal here with penal

sanctions for criminal conduct, requiring the ultimate in

specificity and strict statutory construction. Letter Car-

riers simply does not apply.

3

i

3

|

}

{

Win 2st eS jetta 02

After the serviceman has been unable to determine

from the Manual what conduct Article 134 proscribes, he

is urged to examine the cases which have interpreted this

Article (Appellant’s Brief in Avrech at 28). However,

3

3

a

}

3

4

%

q

3

a

¢

4. For example, the Article 134 crimes of obstructing justice,

gambling with enlisted men, cohabitation, and burning with intent to

defraud were not mentioned in the 1951 Manual for Courts-Martial

but are included in the Table of Maximum Punishments in the Manual

and model specifications are provided therefor.

13

the cases give little idea of what to expect by way of

prosecution, for they interpret Article 134 to permit trial

for a myriad of offenses not listed or even hinted at in the

Manual.> While a reading of the cases and the Manual

5. There are actually seventy-six offenses listed in the Table of

Maximum Punishments for Article 134. Paragraph 127, Manual

for Courts-Martial. The following offenses not listed in the Manual

have been held violative of either or both of the first two clauses of

Article 134: a

Court of Military Appeals: Endangering military property even

though no damage inflicted, United States v. Martinson, 21

U.S.C.M.A. 109, 44 C.M.R. 163 (1971): window peeping, United

States v. Shoenberg, 16 U.S.C.M.A. 425, 37 C.M.R. 45 (1966) ;

making telephone calls without paying, an offense which the court

noted “sounded” in larceny, but even if not a “crime”, it was serious

service-discrediting conduct, United States v. Herndon, 15 U.S.C.M.A.

510, 36 C.M.R. 8 (1965) ; wrongfully jumping into the sea from an

aircraft carrier, United States v. Sadinsky, 14 U.S.C.M.A. 563, 34

C.M.R. 343 (1964) ; assaulting a specialist (as opposed to a non-

commissioned officer) in the execution of his office, United States v.

Ragan, 14 U.S.C.M.A. 119, 33 C.M.R. 331 (1963) ; embracing another

man, United States v. Annal, 13 U.S.C.M.A. 427, 32 C.M.R. 427

(1963) ; bestial acts with a chicken, United States v. Sanchez, 11

U.S.C.M.A. 218, 29 C.M.R. 32 (1960); defiling the flag, United

States v. Cramer, 8 U.S.C.M.A. 221, 24 C.M.R. 31 (1957) ; cheating

at calling out bingo numbers, United States v. Holt, 7 U.S.C.M.A.

617, 23 C.M.R. 81 (1957); engaging in sexual intercourse in the

presence of others (the couple in the next bed), United States v.

Berry, 6 U.S.C.M.A. 638, 20 C.M.R. 325 (1956) ; accepting money

to transport a Korean female in a government vehicle, United States

v. Alexander, 3 U.S.C.M.A. 346, 12 C.M.R. 102 (1953) ; soliciting,

without pay, other enlisted men to engage in sexual intercourse with a

female, United States v. Snyder, 1 U.S.C.M.A. 423, 4 C.M.R. 15

(1952).

Army Court of Military Review: Homosexual conduct not

amounting to sodomy, United States v. Ortega, 45 C.M.R. 576

(ACMR 1972); altering an official document without intent to

defraud, United States v. Maze, 42 C.M.R. 376 (ACMR 1970), rev'd

on other grounds, 20 U.S.C.M.A. 29, 44 C.M.R. 29 (1971): resisting

civil apprehension, United States v. Hunt, 18 C.M.R. 498 (ABR

1954) ; mistreating fellow POWs, United States v. Floyd. 18 C.M.R.

362 (ABR 1954), pet. denied, 6 U.S.C.M.A. 817, 19 C.M.R. 413

(Footnote continued on next page)

Sea lh tbl ald AO Bd ig — 1

Su Dalat! aa Mt yale Dead ARG ald) aie LR Al RRR ln tants eth Se tthe

AT Eh eal aid Ak AR SU EIRENE OY Latina

SSbeATt Sa

14

may give some idea what conduct was proscribed in the

past, there is still no fair warning of what conduct is

considered criminal today (nor was there then to those

convicted in the cases listed in note 5, supra).

To solve the notice question of what conduct will be

currently proscribed under Article 134, it has been argued

that military men will know from the customs and tradi-

tions of the service what standard of conduct is expected

of them in order to avoid prosecution under Article 134.

In this regard, the Court of Military Appeals, citing the

(Footnote continued from previous page)

(1955) ; associating with a notorious prostitute, United States v.

Mallory, 17 C.M.R. 409 (ABR 1954) ; soliciting and accepting money

for showing an obscene movie, United States v. Cowan, 12 C.M.R.

375 (ABR 1953) ; borrowing from an enlisted man, United States v.

Witzell, 12 C.M.R. 269 (ABR 1953) ; operating a bawdy house in

government quarters, United States v. Butler, 11 C.M.R. 445 (ABR

1953) ; soliciting an enlisted man to go AWOL, United States v.

Jackson, 8 C.M.R. 215 (ABR 1952), pet. denied, 2 U.S.C.M.A. 677,

8 C.M.R. 198 (1953) ; drinking with enlisted men, United States v.

Livingston, 8 C.M.R. 206 (ABR 1952), pet. denied, 1 U.S.C.M.A.

676, 8 C.M.R. 178 (1953) ; masturbating in the presence of children,

United States v. Neill, 4 C.M.R. 221 (ABR 1952), pet. denied, 2

U.S.C.M.A. 665, 5 C.M.R. 130 (1952) ; officer found in his apartment

with enlisted man’s wife during early morning hours, United States

v. Lee, 4 C.M.R. 185 (ABR 1952), pet. denied, 1 U.S.C.M.A. 712,

4C.M.R. 173 (1952).

Air Force Court of Military Review: Inducing others to commit

masturbation, United States v. Adams, 21 C.M.R. 734 (AFBR 1956) ;

making obscene telephone calls, United States v. Harbin, 20 C.M.R.

925 (AFBR 1955); procuring a miscarriage, United States v.

Woodard, 17 C.M.R. 813 (AFBR 1954) ; soliciting funds to act as

defense counsel im a court-martial, United States v. White, 7 C.M.R

764 (AFBR 1938).

Navy Court of Military Review: Striking another person in the

Navy, United States v. Goldie, 1 C.M.R. 495 (NBR 1951).

Coast Guard: Chief Petty Officer having a female in his quarters at

midnight, United States'v. Cole, 30 C.M.R. 755 (USCG Action of

General Counsel as Supervisory Authority 1961).

Manual as an example, has held that Article 134 has “ac-

quired the core of a settled and understandable content of

meaning.” United States v. Frantz, supra, 7 C.M.R. at 39.

Thus, that Court reasoned, because Article 134 has been

used in military law since before the American Revolu-

tion,® it must be considered “not in vacuo, but in the con-

text in which the years have placed it.” Jd.

This argument seemingly finds support»in Dynes v.

Hoover, 61 U.S. (20 How.) 65 (1858), which held that the

predecessor of the general article was not void for vague-

ness because the article involved (Article XXXII, Rules

for Government of the Navy, enacted 23 April 1800, 2

Stat. 45, 49) covered crimes that had been recognized as

such “by the usages in the navy of all nations” and because

“what the crimes are and how they are to be punished, is

well known to practical men in the navy and army and by

those who have studied the law of courts-martial.” Jd. at

82. Indeed, the Court of Military Appeals has refused to

reconsider the constitutionality of Article 134, considering

itself bound by the “precedent” of Dynes.?. We submit that

reliance upon Dynes as precedent for the constitutionality

of the present general article is completely misplaced, as

demonstrated by the Court below in Levy v. Parker, supra,

478 F.2d at 785-88. Put simply, times have changed.

- While “practical men” in the service of their country in the

nineteenth century may have been aware of the conduct

proscribed by the general article of 1800, the same is

hardly true today. Indeed} the sheer number of new and

unlisted offenses under current military laws demonstrates

oa

6. The history of this Article is amply discussed by the Circuit

Courts below, in Levy, 478 F.2d at 784: in Avrech, 477 F.2d at

1240-41.

7. United States v. Unrue, U.S.C.M.A. , 46 C.M.R. 1326

(Mise. Doc. 1973).

rt Tt ge! Retr He at ie See ee ee em es at ee ee ee

dA ane ite BPM ee ala a Nena haley 00 tet eet MS Be a

16

the improbability of such awareness.* Furthermore, in

1858 and throughout most of the nineteenth century the

standing Army and Navy of the United States numbered

in the hundreds. The pay was miserable and military

service attracted only the dregs of society in the lower

enlisted ranks. See Wiener, Courts-Martial and the Bul

of Rights, The Original Practice II, 72 Harv. L. Rev. 266,

292, 301-02 (1958). The concept of a standing Army and

Navy numbering in the millions, most of them conscripts,

was totally foreign to the nineteenth century American

thought. Surely rules which may have been necessary and

proper for regulating the armed forces 115 years ago can

no longer be assumed valid today, ipso facto. Any society

which permitted the existence of the “peculiar institution”,

slavery, could hardly be expected to be overly concerned

about the constitutional rights of soldiers and sailors.

Wiener, supra, at 293.

This Court has consistently rejected the argument that

contemporary interpretation of the Bill of Rights is dictated

be standards which existed in times past. See e.g., Roe v.

Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) (abortion case) and Papa-

christou v. City of Jacksonville, supra (Elizabethan poor

laws cannot be used to uphold vagrancy statutes because

such theories no longer. fit the facts). See also United

States v. Walker, 21 U.S.C.M.A. 376, 45 C.M.R. 150 (1972)

(concept that as times and facts change so must the reading

of the Constitution fundamental to our system of govern-

ment). Compare Scott v. Sanford, 60 U.S. (19 How.)

393 (1857) with Brown v. Board of Education, 349 US.

294 (1954). (it is interesting to note that Justice Me-

Lean, the sole dissenter in Dynes, was also one of the two

dissenters in the Dred Scott case).

8. See note 5, supra.

_—_

17

Finally, the scope of review by federal courts has

increased greatly since Dynes was decided. See Burns

v. Wilson, 346 U.S. 137 (1953); Johnson v. Zerbst, 304

U.S. 458 (1938). In Dynes, the Court followed the usual

practice of applying strict common law rules of pleading

and practice to all cases, civilian or military. See Ex parte

Milligan, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 2 (1866). Moreover, a court-

marital conviction for a violation of an Article of War which

constituted a “neglect or disorder” did not subject the

accused to imprisonment in a penitentiary. Articles of War,

Article 97, 18 Stat. 1842 (1874) ; Carter v. McClaughry, 183

U.S. 365, 376 (1902). Hence the primary vehicle for

collateral attack of any conviction, habeas corpus, was not

available for those who had been convicted of a “neglect or

disorder” by courts-martial. Federal jurisdiction is no

longer dependent upon these common law rules. Dombrow-

ski v. Pfister, 380 U.S. 479 (1965) ; Kauffman v. Secretary

of the Air Force, 415 F.2d 991 (D.C. Cir. 1969).

The only conclusion that can be drawn is that it is

completely inappropriate to rely on a case over 115 years

old in making a determination whether or not the present

general article is unconstitutionally vague and overbroad.

Not only have society and the Army radically changed dur-

ing this time but so has the article itself and the law ap-

plicable to it. Indeed, the mercurial nature of the applica-

tion of Article 134 is the quintessence of its constitutional

infirmity.

One method by which Congress has attempted to

achieve some modicum of notice concerning the meaning

of Article 134 is the provision in Article 137 that, among

other provisions, the punitive articles (i.e. Articles 77

through 134) “shall be carefully explained to each enlisted

member at the time of his entrance on active duty, or

T a

18

within six days thereafter. They shall be explained again

after he has completed six months of active duty, and again

at the time when he reenlists.” The crucial question arises

as to what constitutes a “careful expianation” of Article

134. The Army, for example, devotes a total of only

twenty minutes to an explanation of Articles 71-134 during

the first six days of enlisted basic training. The re-ex- —

planation six months thereafter consists of a forty-nine

minute period of instruction on these sixty-four punitive

articles. The instructors need not be attorneys, nor do

they seem to be provided with any regulatory guidance as

to what constitutes a “careful explanation” of the statute.

The problem is not merely that the training time is woe-

fully short, but more importantly that a careful explana-

tion would require an exposition of all of the case law and

Manual provisions interpreting Article 134. Even if such

a careful explanation were possible within a reasonable —

period of training, it would still not satisfy constitutional

notice requirements, however, because of the open-ended

nature of the Article. Thus, even Article 137, the statutory

notice provision, is inadequate to transform Article 134 into

a statute which gives fair warning of its proscription.

Based upon this analysis we submit that Article 134

is constitutionally infirm because it is drawn “in terms so

vague that men of common intelligence must necessarily

guess at its meaning. . . .” Connally v. General Construction

Co., supra, 269 U.S. at 391.

Snel AP bP ata Eiate Riele PL Wea vel a ABLES MRT RSIS IR RI des SMP ott heads abana MAME CVT Lert ans RS

2. Article 134 fails to provide explicit enforcement

standards.

The general article is vague not only because it fails

to provide notice, but also because “men of common intel-

9. Army Regulation 350-212, “Training: Military Justice,” 2

3 June 1972; Army Subject Schedule 21-10, “Military Justice (Enlisted

Personnel) ,” 24 June 1969, Courses A and B.

19

ligence . . . differ as to its application.” Jd. As a con-

comitant to lack of fair warning to servicemen in general,

the Article provides insufficient guidance to those who must

enforce it. The standard here is whether the statute pre-

vents arbitrary and discriminatory enforcement by provid-

ing “explicit standards for those who apply them.” Grayned

v. City of Rockford, supra, 408 U.S. at 108. In the mili-

tary society, the ultimate “enforcer” of the Uniform Code

of Military Justice is the commanding officer, at whatever

level. Initially it is the “unit commander” who usually

prefers charges and conducts the primary investigation

by himself or through military policemen. Manual, para-

graphs 296 and 32. Furthermore, it is a commander at some

level who must determine what level of judicial or non-

judicial action is to be taken. Articles 15-20 and 34( a),

Uniform Code of Military Justice. Thus, the threshold

question is whether Article 134, the Manual, or case law

circumscribes adequate standards so that the commander

will know when and how to apply the Article.!° For the

reasons discussed supra at pages 6 through 18, the answer

must be that there is insufficient guidance to prevent arbi-

trary and discriminatory enforcement. This conclusion is

supported by the many occasions on which the military ap-

pellate courts have been required to decree that commanders’

attempts to punish a variety of conduct under Article 134

were beyond the bounds of the statute."

10. As appellee Avrech points out (Brief at 58), the government

fails to address this vital issue in its brief.

11. The following conduct has been held to be not within either

of the first two clauses of Article 134:

Court of Military Appeals: Exposure of the genitals to a group of

men in the commanding officer's office. United States v. Caune, 22

U.S.C_M.A. 200, 46 C.M.R. 200 ( 1973) : usury, United States v. Day,

11 U.S.M.C.A. 549, 29 C._M._R. 365 (1960) : negligent indecent ex-

posure, United States v. Manos, 8 U.S.C_M.A. 734, 25 C.M.R. 238

(Footnote continued on next page)

PS POOR I OI LO LE, NEALE ILE EINE CEILS INGLE PRACT A CRE Bi OI I

W Aioadndited alien aioe neice

Wed Ear Ue bo Wt su: QML

AINE Nib Wadd: ew UNS AWA e ited *

ee ae Sey UR ree ere

. —

20

The requirement for providing ascertainable enforce-

ment standards does not stop with the need for notice to the

military commander. A statute may also be unconstitu-

tionally vague if it “leaves judges and jurors free to decide,

without any legally fixed standards, what is prohibited and

what is not in each particular case.” Giaccio v. Pennsyl-

(Footnote continued from previous page)

(1958) ; passenger in auto fleeing the scene of an accident, United

States v. Waluski, 6 U.S.C.M.A. 724, 21 C.M.R. 46 (1956) ; negligent

failure to maintain sufficient funds in a checking account, United

States v. Downard, 6 U.S.C.M.A. 538, 20 C.M.R. 254 (1956) ; wrong-

fully refusing to testify before a Canadian coroner’s inquest, United

States v. Siniger, 6 U.S.C.M.A. 330, 20 C.M.R. 46 (1956) ; mis-

appropriation of a government vehicle, United States v. Norris,

2 U.S.C.M.A. 236, 8 C.M.R. 36 (1953).

Army Court of Military Review: Introduction of obscene pictures

onto a federal reservation for personal use, United States v. Schneider,

27 C.M.R. 566 (ABR 1958) ; simple trespass, United States v. Will,

25 C.M.R. 674 (ABR 1958) ; occupying a hotel room with a female,

United States v. Walter, 11 C.M.R. 355 (ABR 1953), rev'd on other

grounds, 4 U.S.C.M.A. 617, 16 C.M.R. 191 (1954) ; possession of

another’s ration card, United States v. Johnson, 5 C.M.R. 268 (ABR

1952).

Air Force Court of Military Review: Sniffing glue, where no

intoxication is alleged, United States v. Menta, 39 C.M.R. 956 (AFBR

1968) ; burning one’s own home, United States v. Freeman, 15 C.M.R.

639 (AFBR 1954), pet. denied, 4 U.S.C.M.A. 734, 16 C.M.R. 292

(1954); wrongfully being in a WAF dayroom (accused male) at

3 A.M., United States v. Smart, 12 C.M.R. 825 (AFBR 1953);

ejecting a member of one’s household in the early morning hours

where no duty to support is alleged, United States v. Francis, 12

C.M.R. 695 (AFBR 1953), pet. denied, 3 U.S.C.M.A. 837, 13 C.MLR.

142 (1953) ; having introduced a German female onto a military post.

failing to remove her, United States v. Habbard, 12 C.M.R. 4%

(AFBR 1953) ; violation of foreign law, United States v. Wolverton,

10 C.M.R. 641 (AFBR 1953).

Coast Guard Court of Military Review: Removal of fuses from a

fuse box, United States v. Davis, 27-C.M.R. 908 (CGBR 1958);

possession of U.S. currency in the Philippines, United States v. Rio

Poon, 26 C.M.R. 830 (CGBR 1958) ; possession of narcotics para-

phernalia, United States v. LeFort, 15 C.M.R. 596 (CGBR 1954).

_—

21

vania, 382 U.S. 399, 402-03 (1966). See also Grayned v.

City of Rockford, supra. In trials by court-martial, the

military jury must be instructed upon all of the elements

of the offenses charged, including, in an Article 134 prose-

cution, whether the conduct charged is prejudicial to good

order and discipline or service-discrediting. Manual, para-

graphs 73a, 213d. By way of further definition, the in-

struction will invariably include the admonition that Article

134 does not contemplate “distant effects” but is limited to

cases where the prejudice is “reasonably direct and pal-

pable”, and that conduct which is service-discrediting is that

which “has a tendency to bring the service into disrepute or

which tends to lower it in public esteem.” Paragraphs

4-126, Department of the Army Pamphlet 27-9, “Military

Judges’ Guide”, (1969). This “definition” suffers from the

same vagueness as the statute and the Manual. Moreover,

it requires a wholly subjective decision by military judges

and court-martial members, each of whom will have his own

concept of what type of conduct (if not every type), should

be proscribed.

Appellants seem to suggest that the standard instruc-

tions assure that the prohibitions of Article 134 are con-

cretized and thus prevent overbroad application. See Appel-

lant’s Brief in Avrech at 38. See also discussion, infra, at

23-24. To the contrary, these instructions illustrate the im-

precision with which the statute may be applied at the whim

of the commander, the military judge and the military jury.

Even ascribing total good faith to all concerned, there is

more than a fair risk that the prosecution for a given type

of conduct will fall without the ambit of the statute. The

military cases in this area!? reflect the very real probability

that those who enforce them will do so against conduct which

12. See note 11, supra.

Roe err u

moe ae —— . rn

DNR nn abt LR aA ee RO ob DRE Se ee «teat

2 Bi

is not illegal, due to the absence of sufficient standards or

guidelines. Gooding V. Wilson, Papachristou v. City of

Jacksonville, and United States v. Reese, supra.

It is insufficient to argue that appellate courts may

eventually vindicate service members convicted improperly

under Article 134; no one should be subjected to prosecution

for conduct which is not illegal. Due process requires that

the accused must be afforded adequate notice by the statute’

under which he is charged, not merely through its eventual

interpretation years later by an appellate court. Article

134 does not provide that protection for the military accused,

either at the time he is charged or at the time he is tried.

Indeed, by submitting the question to the court members

on decidedly vague instructions, the military practice gives

fact-finders the unprecedented opportunity to make law

through their findings of guilty. If executive legislation is

prohibited, United States V. McCormick, supra, surely this

Court will not sanction the establishment of a military

common law of substantive crimes arrived at on an ad hoe

basis by diverse court-martial juries.

Just as the soldier or sailor cannot reasonably determine

what conduct is prosc ibed by Article 134, so the com

mander, military judge and court members are in the dark.

The danger is that the latter group are charged with en-

forcing this statute to regulate the conduct of the former.

This Court has never permitted the blind thus to lead the

blind through the maze created by a vague penal statute.

The strong constitutional policy against vagueness of this

sort dictates a holding that Article 134 does not comport

with the due process requirements of the Fifth Amendment

because it does not give fair warning to the accused or his

accuser. Gooding v. Wilson, Papachristou v. City of Jack-

sonville, Coates v. City of Cincinnati, United States V.

Cardiff, and Lanzetta v. New Jersey, supra.

_—_

23

B. Article 134 is unconstitutionally overbroad.

Because it has the capacity for prohibiting a wide range

of activities, both constitutionally protected and unpro-

tected, Article 134 is unconstitutionally overbroad. We

agree that the question of overbreadth is usually raised in

the context of abridgement of First Amendment rights.

(Appellant’s Brief in Avrech at 35). However, the neces-

sity for guarding against a “chilling effect” is not limited

to the “free speech” area as appellant seems to urge. (Jd.

at 34-38). Thus, in Coates v. City of Cincinnati, supra,

this Court reversed a conviction under a municipal ordi-

nance which forbade “annoying conduct”, because the stat-

ute could have encompassed both protected and unprotected

conduct within the realm of freedom of assembly and as-

sociation. Id., 402 U.S. at 615. See also Lanzetta v. New

Jersey, supra. Significantly, the Court in Coates did not

look to the application of the statute to the conduct allegedly

proscribed in that case:

. . - It is the ordinance on its face that sets the

standard of conduct and warns against transgres-

sion. The details of the offense could no more serve

to validate this ordinance than could the details of

an offense charged under an ordinance suspending

unconditionally the right of assembly and free

speech. I/d., at 616.

Thus, appellant’s attempt to narrow the issue here to

the application of Article 134 to “disloyal statements” must

fail. The issue is rather whether the statute is overly broad

on its face because it “abut[s] upon sensitive areas of basic

First Amendment freedoms”. Grayned v. City of Rockford,

supra, 408 U.S. at 109. The inquiry is not whether a “chil-

ling effect” has actually occurred in the case at bar, but

whether the challenged statute has an unconstitutional po-

Oe ae ee en eee

pid Neianbedolbicsite

oe ee eee

—

24

tential for such an effect when viewed on its face. See

Gooding v. Wilson, Coates v. City of Cincinnati, and Dom-

browski v. Pfister, supra.

When viewed on its face, even considering the specific

listing of possible offenses in the Manual the conclusion is

inescapable: a statute which proscribes “any conduct”

prejudicial to good order and discipline or service-discredi-

ting, is so broad in sweep that it may very well reach con-

duct which is protected under the First Amendment. This

Court need never reach the question of whether Levy and

Avrech engaged in protected activities. Their convictions

must fall on the threshold ground that the statute on its

face may~intrude upon constitutionally protected conduct

or speech. Coates v. City of Cincinnati, and Gooding v.

Wilson, supra.

C. No countervailing military necessity.

We recognize that due to the exigencies of military

service, including the need for effective discipline and com-

bat-readiness, the serviceman may not enjoy quite as broad

a First Amendment freedom as do other citizens. However,

the Court of Military Appeals has held that where these

circumstances exist an abridgement of First Amendment

freedoms may not be justified merely on the assertion that

the military is “different”. Rather, the special need of the

military must be clearly demonstrated. United States v.

Priest, 21 U.S.C.M.A. 564, 570, 45 C.M.R. 338, 344

(1972).!° This ad hoc approach demonstrates the over-

13. The Court of Military Appeals has made clear that Ce

are entitled to the protections set forth in the Bill of Rights, particularly

the guarantees of free speech and assembly contained in the First

Amendment. United States v. Priest, 21 U.S.C.M.A. 564, 45 C.M.R.

338 (1972) ; United States v. Gray, 20 U.S.C.M.A. 63, 42 C.M.R. 255

(1970) ; United States v. Daniels, 19 U.S.C.M.A. 529, 42 C.M.R. 131

(1970) ; United States v. Howe, 17 U.S.C.M.A. 165, 37 C.M.R. 429

(1967). See Quinn, The United States Court of Military Appeals

and Individual Rights in the Military Service, 35 Notre Dame Lawyer

491 (1960).

ana ae Re

. =

broad sweep of Article 134, because those who contemplate

certain action or speech are unable to determine whether

their conduct will fall within the ambit of the statute. In

this sense, the overbreadth of Article 134 is truly a symp-

tom of its vagueness.

While the parties to these cases have well described the

application of the general article to the offenses charged

against Avrech and Levy, we submit that as a matter of

sound policy this Court should not permit the statutes to

stand due to their facial overbreadth. To hold otherwise

would be to retreat unnecessarily from the standards of

specificity and narrow drafting which this Court has re-

quired of statutes which have the potential for abutting

| upon the personal freedoms of the citizenry. Gooding v.

Wilson, supra; N.A.A.C.P. v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1968).

Even considering the obvious need for order and discipline

in the military setting, the statute as presently worded is

too broad to comport with constitutional due process re-

quirements. >

D. The effect of unconstitutionality.

Obviously, because of the number of offenses charged

in the past under this Article, a ruling by this Court that

Article 134 is unconstitutional will] have a sweeping effect on

the military justice system.'* However, the military should

be ready. The first warning came from this Court in

14. We will not address in detail the difficult problem of retro-

activity or prospectivity. However, a sensible solution to the “flood-

gate of litigation” problem would be that adopted in Levy that applica-

ce ee

6

i Sgt

eet MEARE rey POST Te MAT Qe @eEsy PE Rey

EE. _ ee

i na a in chert halts Aci 6 ED nile is AP BG 8!

be fet pe ee ee eG

breadth of Article 134 make it,subject to abusive applica-

( ;

26

O’Callahan v. Parker, 395 U.S. 258, 266 (1969) when

Justice Douglas asked, in dictum, whether the “prejudicial

conduct” provision in Article 134 satisfied civilian courts’

standards of vagueness. Later in Levy v. Parker, 396

U.S. 1204-05 (1969) Justice Douglas, acting on appellee

Levy’s application for release pending appeal, noted that

the Court in O’Callahan had “reserved decision on whether

Article 134 satisfies the standards of vagueness required

by due process. Then, in a speech presented in 1972, the

Chief Judge of the U.S. Army Court of Military Review, a

former Judge Advocate General, Major General Kenneth

J. Hodson, recommended discarding Article 134 because

its use could not be defended by the military in a modern

society. Moreover, he predicted that this Article could not

withstand the attack now made in this Court. Hodson,

Perspective, the Manual for Courts-Martial, 1984, 47 Mil.

L. Rev. 1 (1972).

General Hodson is not alone among respected authori-

ties suggesting the abolition of the general article. In the

Annual Report of the U.S. Court of Military Appeals and

the Judge Advocates General of the Armed Forces and the

General Counsel of the Department of Transportation Pur-

suant to the Uniform Code of Military Justice for the

period January 1, 1972 to December 31, 1972, it is acknowl-

edged that “despite almost 200 years of constitutional his-

tory and precedent, [there is] no assurance that the Article

will withstand further appellate examination. There is

therefore a need for early congressional consideration of the

problem.” (Jd. at 2). This sense of urgency is also re

flected in the Report of the Department of Defense Task

Force on the Administration of Military Justice in the

Armed Forces (1972), which recommends codification of

offenses currently tried under the first two clauses of

Article 134 and expresses concern that the vagueness and

27

tion (Volume II at 79). See also Gaynor, Prejudicial and

Discreditable Military Conduct: A Critical Appraisal of the

General Article, 22 Hastings L.J. 259 (1971). But see

Wiener, Are the General Military Articles Unconstitution-

ally Vague? 54 A.B.A.J. 357 (1968).

When the views of those who daily administer military

justice are considered, it becomes clear that there is no

justification for not codifying offenses now charged under

Article 134 in order to provide fair warning, an ascertain-

able standard of enforcement, and statutes sufficiently

narrow that they do not impinge upon constitutionally

protected conduct or speech. We agree with the conclusion

of Judge Aldisert in the Levy case:

. + [T]here exist no countervailing military con-

siderations which justify the twisting of established

standards of due process in order to hold inviolate

these articles, so clearly repugnant under current

constitutional values. 478 F.2d at 796.

For these reasons, Article 134 should be held uncon-

stitionally vague and overbroad.

POINT II

Article 133 is unconstitutional on its face.

Article 133 proscribes “conduct unbecoming an officer

and a gentleman.” We submit that on its face Article 133

suffers from the same unconstitutional vagueness and over-

breadth as Article 184. Indeed, much of the discussion of

the standards concerning Article 134 is pertinent here, and

the arguments concerning fair warning, potential for arbi-

trary enforcement and overbreadth need not be repeated.

RES EE ET I TORE

| 28

Even assuming that Congress may validly legislate

3 against conduct which is “unbecoming”, the question in-

: herent on the face of Article 133 is what sort of conduct is

unbecoming to an officer and a gentleman? Since the statu-

tory language gives no answer we submit that ipso facto it

fails to meet constitutional notice requirements. See Lan-

zetta v. New Jersey, supra. Nonetheless, appellant urges

this Court to consider the content of the statute “by refer-

ence to the well-settled traditions and customs of the mili-

tary.” (Appellant’s Brief in Levy at 40.) The argument

runs that “to military officers, [Article 133] sufficienily

specifies what conduct it, prohibits to satisfy the constitu-

tional requirement that criminal statutes not be unduly

vague.” Jd. This argument apparently is designed to meet .

the objection that those who administer the Article, as well

as those who may be ensnared by its provisions, have a

special degree of knowledge which fills the void left by the

statute on its face. Where, then, does this knowledge come

from?

The Manual offers little enlightenment. If an officer

turns to paragraph 212 to determine whether to charge a

fellow officer under the Article (or whether to engage in

certain conduct himself) he is advised that:

AOA! hak a ME NOT OM dp Lee: pal pees do yen mS

... Not everyone is or can be expected to meet ideal

moral standards, but there is a limit of tolerance

below which the individual standards of an officer,

cadet or midshipman cannot fall without seriously

compromising his standing as an officer, cadet or

midshipman or his character as a gentleman. This

article contemplates conduct by a commissioned of-

ficer, cadet, or midshipman which, taking all the cir-

cumstances into consideration, is thus compromising.

DAS catalan NRT RIANA einen ea EC

Paw ee

If he desires further specificity about what will “com-

promise” either his official or personal moral standing, the

officer is advised only that

—<-

There are certain moral attributes common to the

ideal officer and the perfect gentleman, a lack of

which is indicated by acts of dishonesty or unfair

dealing, indecency or indecorum, or of lawlessness,

injustice or cruelty.

Finally, a catch-all sentence advises caution because

the Article

includes acts made punishable by any other article

provided these acts amount to conduct unbecoming

an officer.

‘The Manual lists eight “instances” of violation, but ob-

viously this list is merely illustrative, for the statute has

been used to sweep many different types of conduct within

its grasp.'5

Being thus unsatisfied, the officer must then consider

prior interpretations by military courts. Of course, as

noted above with respect to Article 134, that inquiry will

also be unsatisfactory because the statute may be used to

proscribe conduct which has not theretofore been the sub-

ject of a reported decision.

Finally, the officer is urged to consider the “customs and

traditions” of the military service, perhaps by reference to

commercial publications such as The Officer's Guide.

Resort to publications of this sort, and to an amorphous

body of tradition places the officer in no better position

than he was at the beginning of his inquiry: he is still

unable to find a definition of what type of conduct is “un-

becoming” to an “officer and a gentleman”; he is still

unable to find a definition of what is a “gentleman.” To

urge reference to the moral codes of the past is to fail to

15. See generally, Note, Taps for the Real Catch-22, note 3 supra,

at 1526-27.

16. Reynolds, The Officer's Guide (1969), which has been in

copyrighted publication since 1930.

a

Pe CLL ag PE EE Pe EE SO ON OE LIT LE LS 0

’

oe

ee ett ee ee ‘9g

we

Prices S sthantiad cas hears. Sabeatread gis obey. ak ME Ne

30

appreciate the plain fact that the armed services of the

1970s are not the armed services of the 1870s. Even*if

moral standards may be the subject of Congressional con-

trol, the standards must be updated to conform to the modes

of the times. On this regard we note a seemingly self-

defeating argument by appellant in Levy:

What is involved here is a system of values which has

been part of the military experience for centuries.

While these values are communicated to officers

through military customs and usage, by example,

they cannot be exhaustively codified without bring-

ing the standard of conduct expected of officers

“down to the requirements of a criminal code.”

(Appellant’s Brief in Levy at 43).

That position demonstrates the very constitutional prob-

lem inherent in Article 133. It is part of a criminal code

and yet purports to punish officers for failing to meet

standards which somehow come to his knowledge by “ex-

ample” from his predecessors through “military expe

rience.” While that approach may be satisfactory for

exacting administrative penalties for improprieties (cf.

Letter Carriers, supra), it is hardly sufficient to meet the

requirements of specificity for conviction by court-martial,

a federal criminal court. Contrary to appellant’s position

in Levy, the military services will not be precluded from

holding officers to traditional high standards of conduct if

Article 133 is struck down as vague (Brief at 43). Rather,

the prohibition will be against imposing criminal penalties

without .sufficient notice of an ascertainable standard of

criminal culpability. Indeed, if the traditions and customs

of the service are as well-defined and relevant today as

appellant claims (Brief in Levy at 44), the military should

have little difficulty in drafting regulations or statutes

which meet constitutional requirements of specificity.

‘aici te m1

As with the general article, Article 133 “leaves judges

and jurors free to decide, without any legally fixed stan-

dard, what is prohibited and what is not in each particular

ease.” Giaccio Vv. Pennsylvania, supra, 382 U.S. at 402-

03; Grayned v. City of Rockford, supra. Here the court

members are instructed that as an element of proof they

must determine that “under the circumstances the accused’s

conduct was unbecoming an officer and a gentleman.” Fur-

ther, the officer jurors are advised that “ ‘unbecoming,’ as

used in this specification refers to behavior which is not

merely inappropriate or unsuitable, as being opposed to

good taste or propriety or not consonant with usage, but

morally unbefitting and unworthy.” Paragraph 4-122,

Department of the Army Pamphlet 27-9, supra. (Emphasis

added.) See Manual paragraph 212. Thus, each court-

martial member is left to his own devices to determine what

“morally unbefitting and unworthy” conduct is. No fur-

ther standard is offered in the jury instructions, which un-

doubtedly result in the type of ad hoc adjudication of guilt

which this Court has found constitutionally unacceptable.

Gooding v. Wilson, Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville,

and Lanzetta v. New Jersey, supra.

An additional vice in the use of Article 133 in criminal

prosecutions is that it is designed to be used as punishment

for “acts made punishable by any other article, provided

these acts amount to conduct unbecoming an officer and a

gentleman.” Manual paragraph 212. For example, in the

Levy case, appellee was charged with violations of Article

133 and 134 for what was essentially the same conduct.

Another example is found in paragraph 212 of the Manual:

“a commissioned officer who steals property violates both

this article and article 121.” Is there a rational reason

for this multiplication of charges? Presumably “ease of

conviction” is the answer, because if the prosecution case

suffers a failure of proof it might nonetheless establish

=

ETP Bia Oh EEL ELE LOLOL E CAPELLA, LEE LLIN, ERNE CLEC RGR tot pe

TORS nhs acted ts

oe BOER N PRAEGER an

32

“conduct unbecoming” on facts which might not rise to the

level necessary to establish commission of the substantive

crime charged. However, “ease of conviction” is an un-

acceptable substitute for specificity in a criminal statute.

See Note, Taps for the Real Catch-22, note 3 supra, at 1535,

This potential for unreasonable multiplication of charges

against an officer offends not only constitutional require

ments of fairness; it seems as well to violate the proviggons

of Paragraph 26b of the Manual forbidding such pleading.

Finally, Article 133 suffers from the same facial over-

breadth as does Article 134. Appellant’s position (Brief in

Levy ‘at 44-47) notwithstanding, the constitutionality of

the statute does not turn on whether Captain Levy’s lan-

guage may not have been protected speech under the cir-

cumstances. Rather, this Court’s concern should be that

the statute itself contains no real boundaries, and may very

well cover conduct or speech which is protected by the First

Amendment. See Coates v. City of Cincinnati, supra. In-

-deed, the very fact that it has been used in Levy as a sword

against even unprotected conduct demonstrates its capa-

bility for use against speech that will ultimately be declared

protected. See United States v. Howe, supra. The “chill-

ing effect” here is obvious. If the military wishes to set

boundaries of speech for its officers it should do so within

constitutional limits to avoid encroachment into protected

areas. This strict requirement in the First Amendment

area is not met by the terms or application of Article 133.

Gooding v. Wilson, supra.

We fully recognize the necessity for a high standard

of conduct on the part of officers in our armed forces. In-

deed, their example and leadership are often the means

by which lives are saved in combat, and it is only through

an effective officer corps that a military institution can

function effectively. However, this valid policy require

33

ment must be accomplished by communicating to our offi-

cers in clear statutory language what standards are ex-

pected. This is particularly so if officers are to be sub-

jected to criminal penalties and a federal conviction for

failing to comply with the standards. Thus, as a matter

of sound judicial policy, Article 133 must be held violative

of constitutional due process because on its face it is vague .

and overbroad.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Association of the

Bar of the City of New York, Amicus Curiae, respect-

fully urges this Court to affirm the judgment of the Court

of Appeals in Avrech, and at least so much of the judg-

ment of the Court of Appeals in Levy that holds Articles

133 and 134 unconstitutional.

Respectfully submitted,

THOMAS M. COMERFORD

1301 Avenue of the Americas

New York, N. Y. 10019

Davin L. Fox

\ 280 Park Avenue

New York, N. Y. 10017

MARVIN M. KARPATKIN

1345 Avenue of the Americas

New York, N. Y. 10019

LEONARD P. NOVELLO

1 Chase Manhattan Plaza

New York, N. Y. 10005

Attorneys for the Association

of the Bar of the City of New York

Dated: . New York, New York

February 1974

a Grae teen ED sare

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.