Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Cass v. United States
Supreme Court brief1974
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
shiinihote Pate AM eT oben RN IRA Ae PRR BARRA RY MD aR A einai, a yabsiclreniany Ae
1
Page
I el a ob hd e ne ow ee eheKeee 2
sain i ois + kek Rake nee ne ae 2
EE ONIN 0, a ie ne tee g en doe cne ces 2
Sratutory Provision INVOLVED ............-..-2200- 2
Gabe as babe eke ve whee 4
Reasons ror GRANTING THE WRIT .................¢- 4
The Decision of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit Directly Conflicts with a Recent Decision of
bude vnesesbaanobs 4
ngs ba Ka cubed cocbactucee 7
Appenprx A:
Opinion of the United States District Court for the
District of Montana—Cass vy. United States .... la
Appenpix B:
Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Ninth Circuit—Cass v. United States ...... 4a
Appenpix C:
Opinion of the United States Court of Claims—
OU CO ol. icc ceaebeevee 9a
Appenprx D:
Pending Federal Court Cases Involving Entitle-
ment to Readjustment Pay Under 10 U.S.C. § 687
es aia an dian n desea cane beebsuesseacs <0
ii Index Continued
AUTHORITIES CITED
CaSEs : Page
American Auto. Ass’n v. United States, 367 U.S. 687
ORS MCLANE LRG Re RR Os
Schmid v. United States, 436 F.2d 987 (Ct.Cl1.), cert.
sonted, 604 UB. GGL CIBTA) «. ckc cvs tee ess 4, 5, 6, 7
United States v. Consol. Edison Co., 366 U.S. 380 (1961) 6
United States v. Zacks, 375 U.S. 59 ae 6
Waterman S.S. Corp. v. United States, 381 U.S. 252
SUED Sik cas ahi c cic ph ecavs cea diewchs Kapur sens.
STaTuTeE:
Se ta ae Ew eiickc o's a's Deaelnp ae oa ciees 2,3, 4,5
ot. qrepmmencey eowna ee sm
AE RCL I Et
qoe enemas eee enee =
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OctToBER TERM, 1973
Donatp C. Cass, Petitioner
v.
UntTep States oF AMERICA, Respondent
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
Petitioner, Donald C. Cass, prays that a writ of cer-
tiorari issue to review the opinion and judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit entered on August 1, 1973, which reversed a
judgment of the United States District Court of the
District of Montana. The District Court held that
the petitioner was eligible for readjustment pay under
10 USC § 687(a).
2
OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the United States District Court for
the District of Montana dated June 20, 1972 has been
published at 344 F.Supp. 550, and is printed herein as
Appendix A. The opinion of the Court of Appeals for |
the Ninth Circuit dated August 1, 1973 has not yet been
published and is printed herein as Appendix B.
JURISDICTION
The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Cireuit was entered on August 1, 1973. The jurisdic-
tion of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).
QUESTION PRESENTED
Is an individual involuntarily released from active
duty with the Armed Forces entitled to readjustment
pay in accordance with 10 USC §687(a) where such
individual has served more than four years and six
months, but less than five years, of continuous active
duty ?
STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED
10 U.S.C. § 687 (a) provides in pertinent part:
‘*Non-Regulars: readjustment payment upon ‘in-
voluntary release from active duty
(a) Except for members covered by subsection
(b), a member of a reserve component or a member
of the Army or the Air Force without component
who is released from active duty involuntarily, or
because he was not accepted for an additional tour
of active duty for which he volunteered after he
had completed a tour of active duty, and who has
completed, immediately before his release, at least
five years of continuous active duty, is entitled to a
readjustment payment computed by multiplying
his years of active service (other than in time of
war or of national emergency declared by Con-
3
gress after June 28, 1962), but not more than
eighteen, by two months’ basic pay of the grade
in which he is serving at the time of his release.
* * * For the purposes of this subsection—
(1) a period of active duty is continuous if it
is not interrupted by a break in service of
more than 30 days;
(2) a part of a year that is six months or
more is counted as a whole year, and a part of
a year that is less than six months is disre-
garded; and
(3) a period for which the member concerned
has received readjustment pay under another
provision of law may not be included.”’
STATEMENT OF FACTS
As a member of the United States Army Reserve,
the petitioner served a tour of active duty with the
United States Army from July 16, 1966 to April 26,
1971 at which time the petitioner was honorably and
involuntarily released from active duty, having com-
pleted four (4) years, nine (9) months and thirteen
(13) days of continuous active duty. At the time of
his involuntary release from active duty petitioner had
attained the rank of Captain and was ston a base
pay of $1,063.80 per month.
On April 20, 1971, petitioner requested as the
Department of the Amny a lump-sum readjustment
payment in the sum of $10,638.00 which was the amount
of readjustment payment due calculated in accordance
with the provisions of 10 U.S.C. § 687 (a) under the
assumption that petitioner was eligible for a readjust-
ment payment. Petitioner’s request was denied.
Petitioner brought suit against the ‘United Statés
in the United States District Court for the District of
4
Montana and for jurisdictional purposes waived all
readjustment pay due in excess of $10,000. The parties
stipulated to the above recited facts and agreed. that
on the basis of these facts the District Court should
determine whether petitioner was entitled to the read-
justment payment prayed for in accordance with 10
U.S.C. § 687(a).
The District Court relied upon the decision of
the Court of Claims in Schmid v. United States, 436
F.2d 987 (Ct.Cl.), (1971), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 951,
in concluding that the rounding provision, 10 U.S.C.
§ 687(a)(2), applies to both eligibility for and the
computation of a readjustment payment. The District
Court therefore entered judgment for petitioner in the
sum of $10,000. The Schmid decision is printed herein
as Appendix C.
The Government appealed the District Court’s deci-
sion to the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.
The Court of Appeals reversed, rejecting the interpre-
tation of 10 U.S.C. § 687(a) (2) rendered by the Court
of Claims in Schmid and relied upon by the District
Court. The Court of Appeals concluded that the
rounding provision of 10 U.S.C. § 687(a) applies only
to the determination of the amount of readjustment
payment, and not to the eligibility requirement for
readjustment pay.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
The Decision of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
Directly Conflicts with a Recent Decision of the Court of
Claims
The aecision of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit is in direct conflict with the case of Schmid
v. United States, 436 F.2d 987 (Ct.Cl.), cert. de-
ao
5
nied, 404 U.S. 951 (1971). The Court of Claims held in
Schmid that 10 U.S.C. § 687(a) requires only four
years and six months of continuous active duty in
order for an individual involuntarily released from
active duty to be eligible for a readjustment payment.
The Court of Claims concluded:
We find that the section is clear and unambiguous
on its face and is susceptible, on its face, of only
one interpretation. The relevant part of the last
sentence of section 687(a) provides that ‘‘For the
purposes of this subsection * * * (2) a part of a
year that is six months or more is counted as a
whole year, and a part of a year that is less than
six months is disregarded * * *. Congress imposed,
no express or implied limitation on the applica-
bility of this rounding provision. The clear indi-
cation is that, in determining eligibility for read-
justment pay and in computing the amount thereof,
a period of 6 months or more is counted as a whole
year. 436 F.2d at 989.
Additionally, after a review of the legislative history
of § 687(a), as urged by the Government, the Court of
Claims nevertheless concluded that the intent of Con-
gress was in accord with the plain meaning of 10 U.S.C.
§ 687(a).
In reversing the decision of the District Court for
the District of Montana, the Court of Appeals for
the Ninth Cireuit expressly rejected the rationale
of the Court of Claims in Schmid and held that 10
U.S.C. § 687(a) was clear on its face in requiring five
years of continuous active duty in order to confer eligi-
bility for a readjustment payment. The Ninth Circuit
also held that the legislative history behind 10 U.S.C.
§ 687(a) supports this interpretation. The petitioner
submits that the Ninth Circuit erred in not following
the rationale set forth in Schmid.
6
The Supreme Court has in the past acted to resolve
a conflict between a decision of a circuit court and a
decision of the United States Court of Claims. See
Waterman S.S. Corp. v United States, 381 U.S. 252
(1965) ; United States v. Zacks, 375 U.S. 59 (1963) ;
United States v. Gilmore, 372 U.S. 39 (1963) ; Ameri-
can Auto. Ass’n. v. United States, 367 U.S. 687
(1961); United States v.. Consol. Edison Co., 366
U.S. 380 (1961). <A resolution of the issue involved
in this ease by this Court is particularly desirable since
there are other cases pending involving this identical
issue in the Court of Claims, the Court of Appeals for
the Seventh Circuit and at least two district courts.
A summary of the pending cases is printed at Appen-
dix D. There are hundreds, if not thousands, of
individuals who have been and may be involuntarily
released from active duty with at least four years and
six months, but less than five years, of continuous
active duty, and therefore the issue involved in this
case is of great importance to past and present mem-
bers of the Armed Forces and to the Government.
PORE PR RNS LE TE SEL LILO AE EE LO aa eS
7
CONCLUSION
The requested Writ of Certiorari should be granted
in order to resolve the conflict between the decision of
the Court of Claims in Schmid v. United States and the
decision of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals in Cass
v. United States.
Respectfully submitted, -
ARTHUR B. Hanson
ARTHUR A. BIRNEY
JOHN N. FENRICH, JR.
Hanson, O’Brien, Birney,
Stickle & Butler
888 Seventeenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
Attorneys for Petitioners
Of Counsel:
CHARLES A. SMITH
Smith & Harper
2210 North Roberts
Helena, Montana 59601
ee
APPENDIX
ELIE. A EEE ARON EEE ONE NS AE OPEL IE LIE GSE TNS
ees,
eS gee
Ne!
a .
”
la
APPENDIX A
Opinion of the United States District Court for the
District of Montana
Dated June 20, 1972
Donan C. Cass, Plaintiff
v.
Unrtep States or AMERICA,
Defendant.
Civ. No. 2014.
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT,
D. MONTANA,
HELENA DIVISION.
suNE 20, 1972.
Proceeding on claim of involuntarily released officer for
readjustment pay. The District Court, Russell E. Smith,
C.J., held that rounding provision in statute providing for
readjustment pay upon involuntary release from active
duty applies to both eligibility for and computation of
readjustment pay; thus, officer who was involuntarily
released from active duty after serving four years, nine
months, and thirteen days of continuous active duty was
entitled to readjustment pay.
Judgment for plaintiff.
Armed Services § 13.1(16)
Rounding provision in statute providing for readjust-
ment pay upon involuntary release from active duty applies
to both eligibility for and computation of readjustment
pay; thus, officer who was involuntarily released from
active duty after serving four years, nine months, and
thirteen days of continuous active duty was entitled to
readjustment pay. 10 U.S.C.A. § 687(a) (2).
2a
Charles A. Smith, Smith & Harper, Helena Mont., for
plaintiff.
Otis L. Packwood, U. S. Atty., Billings, Mont., for
defendant.
Optnion AND ORDER
RUSSELL E. SMITH, Chief Judge.
This case was submitted on an agreed statement of facts
which is adopted as the findings of the court.
Plaintiff, Donald C. Cass, was a member of the United
States Army Reserve and served a tour of active duty with
the Army from July 16, 1966, to April 26, 1971—four years,
nine months, and 13 days of continuous active duty. Cass
was honorably and involuntarily released from active duty
on April 26, 1971, and as Captain was then receiving base
pay of $1,063.80 per month. Upon notification that he was
released, Cass requested a lump-sum readjustment pay-
ment as provided by 10 U.S.C. § 687(a). The request was
refused because Cass had not served a full five years.
Cass seeks the amount of readjustment pay due, $10,-
638.00, but for jurisdictional purposes has waived all in
excess of $10,000.00.
The statute in question reads as follows:
§ 687(a) ... a member of the Army or the Air Force
without component who is released from active duty
involuntarily, . . . and who has completed, immedi-
ately before his release, at least five years of contin-
uous active duty, is entitled to a readjustment pay-
ment computed by multiplying his years of active serv-
ice .. . but not more than eighteen, by two months’
basic pay of the grade in which he is serving at the
time of his release. * * * For the purposes of this
subsection—
3a
(1) a period of active duty is continuous if it is
not interrupted by a break in service of more than
30 days; F
(2) a part of a year that is six months or more
is counted as a whole year, and a part of a year
that is less than six months is disregarded; and
(3) a period for which the member concerned has
received readjustment pay under another provi-
sion of law may not be included. (#mphasis
added.)
On the authority of Schmid v. United States, 436 F.2d
987, 193 Ct.CL 78 (1971), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 951, 92
Sup. Ct. 283, 30 L.Ed. 2d 268 (1971), I conclude that the
rounding provision, 10 U.S.C. § 687(a)(2), applies to both
eligibility for and the computation of the readjustment pay.
It is ordered that plaintiff have judgment against the
defendant in the sum of ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00).
+ mess
4a
APPENDIX B
Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit
Dated August 1, 1973
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
No. 72-2633
Donautp C. Cass, Appellee,
v.
Unrrep States or America, Appellant.
Nos. 72-3028, 72-3029, 72-3030
Francis A. Apams, Rosert J. STENEMAN,
Micuagt W. Youncguist, Appellees,
v.
SEcRETARY OF THE Navy, Et AL., Appellants.
[August 1, 1973]
72-2633—Appeal from the United States District Court,
District of Montana, Helena Division
72-3028) Appeal from the United States District Court,
72-3029) Central District of California
72-3030)
Before: Mere and Cuoy, Circuit Judges, and
Cont1,* District Judge
Contt, D.J.:
This case involves the interpretation of 10 U.S.C. 687(a),
which permits servicemen to receive readjustment pay-
ments upon release from the armed forces. Two issues are
* Honorable Samuel Conti, Unit#d States District Judge, North-
ern District of California, sitting fh» designation.
+ rE
sient a Ta ea rd
5a
involved in this appeal: (1) Whether the ‘‘rounding pro-
vision’’ of subparagraph (2) of 10 U.S.C. 687(a) applies
to reduce the eligibility requirement for readjustment pay ;
and (2) whether the preliminary injunction issued by the
District Court in the Adams-Steneman-Youngquist cases
would moot this appeal because they would now qualify
under any interpretation of the statute.
These actions were instituted by reserve officers on active
duty in the Armed Forces. Each had served more than
four and a half years and less than five years. Cass was
honorably and involuntarily discharged from the Army.
Adams, Steneman and Youngquist, captains in the Marine
Corps, were ordered to be involuntarily released from
active duty under honorable circumstances, but obtained a
preliminary injunction which prevented their release until
after they had served more than five years. The prelim-
inary injunction was then dissolved while their cases were
still pending. In all the cases the trial courts found in
favor of the plaintiffs.
With regard to the substantive issue of whether or not
10 U.S.C. 687(a) (2) was properly interpreted by the district
court, it is the opinion of this court that it was not.
The relevant statute provides in pertinent part:
‘|... a member of a reserve component . . . who is
released from active duty involuntarily . . . who has
completed, immediately before release, at least five
years of continuous active duty, is entitled to a read-
justment payment computed by multiplying his years
of active service . .. by two months’ basic pay of the
grade in which he is serving at the time of his release
... For the purposes of this subsection—
(1) a period of active duty is continuous if it is not
interrupted by a break in service of more than 30
days;
6a
(2) a part of a year that is six months or more is
counted as a whole year, and a part of a year that is
less than six months is disregarded .. .”’
The district courts ruled in favor of plaintiffs, following
the rationale of Schmid v. United States, 436 F.2d 987
(Ct.Cls.) cert. denied 404 U.S. 951 (1971). In Schmid the
court of claims decided that the rounding! provision of
687(a)(2) that ‘‘a part of a year that is six months or
more is counted as a whole year’’ applied not only for the
purposes of calculating the amount of the readjustment pay
owed servicemen eligible for payments, but also in deter-
mining whether the five year eligibility requirement was
met. Thus, if appellees’ position is correct, their time in
service (more than four and a half years) was properly
_rounded off to five years in the district courts and they
were thus eligible and entitled to readjustment payments
under 10 U.S.C. 687(a). We disagree and reverse.
The concept of readjustment pay was originally made
into law in 1956. That Act of July 9, 1956, 70 Stat. 517, 50
U.S.C. 1016(a) (1958 ed.) provided in pertinent part:
‘*A member of a reserve component who is involun-
tarily released from active duty after the enactment of
this section and after having completed immediately
prior to such release at least five years of continuous
active duty, except for a break in service of not more
than thirty days... is entitled to a lump-sum readjust-
ment payment computed on the -basis of one-half of
one month’s basic pay in the grade in which he is
serving at the time of release from active duty for
each year of active service ending at the close of the
eighteenth year. For the purpose of computing the
amount of readjustment payment (1) a part of a year
that is six months or more is counted as a whole year
..’’ (Emphasis added)
7a
Thus, that Act clearly provided that the rounding pro-
vision applied only to the determination of the amount of
payment, and not to the eligibility requirement. In 1962,
the statute was codified into its present form.
The present form of the statute does not explicitly limit
the rounding provisions to computation of the amount of
the benefits. However, the clause of the statute which sets
the minimum eligibility at five years, appears to be clear
on its face and not subject to the interpretation given it
by the court in Schmid.
However, even if the statute is arguably ambiguous, the
result is unchanged. The rounding provisions conflict with
the clear statement that five years is required for eligibility,
if the rounding provision applies to eligibilty. The use of
the rounding provision would serve no useful purpose in
determining eligibility. , Eligibility is defined in terms of a
fixed duration under the statute. The rounding provision
could only be applicable in a situation in which a service-
man had served between four and a half and five years.
There is no apparent reason why Congress would choose
such a circuitous method to determine eligibility.
An examination of the legislative history behind the 1956
and 1962 versions of the statute supports the interpreta-
tion argued by appellant. The senate hearings on the 1956
_ bill specifically considered and adopted the language which
limited the rounding provision to the computation of the
amount of the payment. 1956-2 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad.
News, pp. 3068, 3070.
In 1962, Congress codified the readjustment payment
laws. In the process the language that the rounding pro-
vision was limited to the computation of the amount of
readjustment pay was deleted. However, the senate report
on the new law stated that the bill ‘‘is not intended to make
any substantive change in the existing law’’. Senate
Report No. 1876, 87th Cong. 2d Sess., 1962 U.S. Code & Ad.
8a
News, p. 2456. It would be inconsistent with the above
declaration for this court to construe that Congress
intended to broaden the eligibility requirements. There-
fore, we reverse on the substantive issue of interpretation
of 10\U.S.C. 687fa).
With regard to the arguments of Adams, Steneman and
a. the preliminary injunction issued by the
district in their cases served to make them eligible
for readjustment benefits under any interpretation of the
statute, we disagree.
The case of Paul v. Seamens, 468 F.2d 361 (1st Cir. 1972),
held that a preliminary injunction designed to preserve the
status quo, cannot count toward retirement benefits. In
the case at bar, we have decided for appellant, and there-
fore the injunction in the district court was improperly
issued, and cannot be relied upon to support eligibility for
readjustment benefits.
The injunction created no additional rights in appellees
that they did not have under the statute in question. Any
other decision would allow appellants to ‘‘bootstrap’’ them-
selves into eligibility.
Therefore, the decisions of the district court are
reversed.
RE —
9a
APPENDIX C
Opinion of the United States Court of Claims
ArtHus C. Scump, Jz.
v.
THe Unttep States.
No. 493-69
Unrtep States Court or Cuarms.
Jan. 22, 1971.
[4386 F.2d 987]
Proceeding on claim by involuntarily released officer for
readjustment pay. On plaintiff’s motion and defendant’s
cross motion for summary judgment, the Court of Claims,
Collins, J., held that rounding provision in statute pro-
viding for readjustment payment upon involuntary release
from active duty applies equally to eligibility requirement
and to. method of computation, so that officer who was
involuntarily released from active duty after having served
4 years, 6 months and 27 days of continuous active duty
was entitled to readjustment pay.
Judgment for plaintiff.
Nichols, J., dissented and filed opinion.
Armed Services—13.1(16)
Rounding provision in statute providing for readjust-
ment payment upon involuntary release from active duty
applies equally to eligibility requirement and to method of
computation, so that officer who was involuntarily released
from active duty after having served 4 years, 6 months
and 27 days of continuous active duty was entitled to
readjustment pay. 10 U.S.C.A. § 687(a) (2).
Arthur B. Hanson, Washington, D. C., attorney of rec-
ord, for plaintiff.
SSNS ERENT EEN a IE AI CREA EA
= Se >
10a
Arthur A. Birney, Washington, D. C., and John H. Blish,
Providence, R. I., of counsel.
Arthur E. Pay, Washington, D. C., with whom was Asst.
Atty. Gen. William D. Ruckelshaus, for defendant.
Before Cowen, Chief Judge, and LaramMorge, Durreg,
Davis, CoLuins, SKELTON, and NicHo.s, Judges.
On PuarntirFr’s Motion AnD DEeFENDANT’s Cross-Morion
For SuMMARY JUDGMENT
Couns, Judge.
This case comes to us on the parties’ cross-motions ‘for
summary judgment. There is no dispute as to the facts.
On June 27, 1969, Arthur C. Schmid, Jr., plaintiff herein,
was involuntarily released from active duty as a member
of the United States Naval Reserve. On the date of his
release plaintiff had attained the rank of lieutenant and
was receiving a base pay of $753 per month. He had served
4 years, 6 months, and 27 days of continuous active duty,
beginning November 30, 1964. Previously, he had served
on active duty from June 30, 1958, to August 30, 1962, a
period of 4 years, 1 month, and 30 days. The present claim
arises out of the denial by the Department of the Navy of
plaintiff’s request for readjustment pay pursuant to 10
U.S.C. §687(a), as amended (Supp. III, 1965-67), and it
is this statute to which we must now direct our attention.
The statute provides, in relevant part, as follows:
§ 687. Non-Regulars: readjustment payment upon invol-
untary release from active duty.
(a) Except for members covered by subsection (b), a
member of a reserve component or a member of the
Army or the Air Force without component who is
released from active duty involuntarily, or because he
was not accepted for an additional tour of active duty
lla
for which he volunteered after he had completed a
tour of active duty, and who has completed, immedi-
ately before his release, at least five years of contin-
uous active duty, is entitled to a readjustment pay-
ment computed by multiplying his years of active serv-
ice (other than in time of war or of national emergency
declared by Congress after June 28, 1962), but not
more than eighteen, by two months’ basic pay of the
grade in which he is serving at the time of his release.
** * For the purposes of this subsection—
(1) a period of active duty is continuous if it is
not interrupted by a break in service of more than
30'da ys;
(2) @ part of a year that is six months or more is
counted as a whole year, and a part of a year that
ts less than six months is disregarded; and
(3) a period for which the member concerned has
received readjustment pay under another provi-
sion of law may not be included. [Emphasis sup-
plied. ]
It is the Government’s position that the statute is ambig-
uous, but that its legislative history makes it clear that the
rounding provision of subsection (2) was intended to apply
only to the computation of readjustment pay and not to
the 5-year eligibility requirement therefor. That is, the
Government argues that the statute, illuminated by its leg-
islative history, requires continuous active duty service of
5 actual years in order to establish eligibility for readjust-
ment pay. Thus, since plaintiff was on continuous active
duty for less than 5 actual years during his last period of
active duty, he has not established eligibility under the
statute and is not entitled to readjustment pay.
Plaintiff argues that the statute is clear on its face—
the rounding provision applies equally to the eligibility
are SEE EEN IS DS RE GEN EET
12a
requirement and to the method of computation. There is,
therefore, no need to refer to legislative history, which,
according to plaintiff, is supportive of plaintiff’s position
or, at least, ambiguous. Because plaintiff served more than
4 years and 6 months of continuous active duty immedi-
ately before his discharge, he claims that, for purposes of
the eligibility requirement, he has served the required 5
years.
We find that the section is clear and unambiguous on its
face and is susceptible, on its face, of only one interpreta-
tion. The relevant part of the last sentence of section
687(a) provides that ‘‘For the purposes of this subsection
* * * (2) a part of a year that is six months or more is
counted as a whole year, and a part of a year that is less
than six months is disregarded * * *.’? Congress imposed
no express or implied limitation on the applicability of
this rounding provision. The clear indication is that, in
determining eligibility for readjustment pay and in com-
puting the amount thereof, a period of 6 months or more
is counted as a whole year.
But, although we find no ambiguity in the words of the
statute, we are not precluded from examining the legisla-
tive history underlying the enactment in order to determine
whether there is clear and compelling support for the in-
terpretation urged by the defendant. See Lionberger v.
United States, 371 F.2d 831, 834, 178 Ct.Cl. 151, 157, cert.
denied, 389 U.S. 844, 88 S.Ct. 91, 19 L.Ed. 2d 110 (1967).
As the Supreme Court has said, ‘‘[w]hen aid to construc-
tion of the meaning of words, as used in the statute, is
available, there certainly can be no ‘rule of law’ which for-
bids its use, however clear the words may appear on ‘su-
perficial examination.’ ’’ United States v. American Truck-
ing Ass’ns, 310 U.S. 534, 543-544, 60 S.Ct. 1059, 1064, 84
L.Ed. 1345 (1940) (footnotes omitted). After a careful re-
view of the legislative history of section 687(a), we con-
clude that the support which it lends to defendant’s po-
— Ta Fe ne
13a
sition is not so clear and compelling as to require us to
adopt an interpretation of the section inconsistent with the
clear import of its terms.
Section 687(a) was first enacted in 1962' and was in-
tended as a revision of the former readjustment pay stat-
ute, Act of July 9, 1956, ch. 534, § 265, 70 Stat. 517. The
1956 statute, which was repealed by section 687(a), read,
in pertinent part, as follows:
‘““SEC. 265. (a) A member of a reserve component
who is involuntarily released from active duty after the
enactment of this section and after having completed
immediately prior to such release at least five years of
continuous active duty, except for breaks in service of
not more than thirty days, as either an officer, warrant
officer, or enlisted person, is entitled to a lump-sum
readjustment payment computed on the basis of one-
half of one month’s basic pay in the grade in which he
is serving at the’time of release from active duty for
each year of active service ending at the close of the
eighteenth year. For the purposes of computing the
amount of readjustment payment (1) a part of a year
that ts six months or more ts counted as a whole year,
and a part of a year that is less than six months is dis-
regarded, and (2) any prior period for which sever-
ance pay has been received under any other provision of
law shall be excluded. * * *’’ [Emphasis supplied.]
The language of the repealed statute of 1956, which, it
should be pointed out, could easily have been employed in
section 687(a), made it perfectly clear that a part of a year
that was 6 months or more was to be counted as a whole
year only for the purpose of computing readjustment pay.
1 The section was amended in 1966. However, for present pur-
poses, that amendment is irrelevant.
SOS Fie ELIF Oe PA PR LN TTT IS WE Te RE PT RL MMT RAI ? , RAPIST HS
14a
Defendant has stressed that the Senate report accom-
panying H.R. 10433 (part of which became section 687(a),
as passed states:
This bill, as amended, is not intended to make any
substantive change in existing law. Its purpose is to
bring up to date title 10 of the United States Code, by
‘incorporating the provisions of a number of public
laws that were passed while the bill to enact title 10
into law was still pending in the Congress, and to trans-
fer to title 10, provisions now in other parts of the code.
S.REP.NO.1876, 87th Cong., 2d Sess., 1962-2 U.S. CODE
CONG. & AD. NEWS, p. 2456. We think the defendant re-
lies too heavily upon this general statement of purpose,
however, especially when the impact of the statement turns
on a determination of what is a ‘‘substantive change in ex-
isting law.’’ Even if the legislative history of section 687
(a) contained no indicia of an intent contrary to that ex-
pressed in the quoted statement of purpose, we doubt whe-
ther that statement, standing alone, furnishes the clear and
compelling evidence of intent which is required before the
plain meaning of statutory words can be disturbed.”
In any event, we are not faced with having to decide
whether the statement of purpose, standing alone, is suf-
ficient to justify disturbing the plain meaning of the stat-
ute because there is, in the statute’s legislative history, a
strong indication that the intent of Congress was in accord
with the statute’s plain meaning. In enacting section 687
(a), Congress discarded the unambiguous language of the
1956 statute and adopted, instead, language which it had
? Defendant also points to the fact that the revision notes accom-
panying Senate Report No. 1876 state that the words ‘‘ ‘For the
purposes of’ are omitted as surplusage.’’ S.REp. No. 1876, 1962-2
U.S. Cope Cone. & Ap. News, p. 2457. This is no argument at all.
The omitted words would have been surplusage regardless of the
interpretation given section 687 (a).
TL i ADO RRS LAP Sma . Wht ety
lia
ample reason to believe would make the rounding provision
applicable to the eligibility requirement as well as to the
computation formula.
The 1956 statute originated as H.R. 9952. As it was passed.
by the House, the bill read, in pertinent part:
‘“SEC. 260. (a) A member of a reserve component
who is involuntarily released from active duty after
having completed immediately prior to such release
at least 5 years of continuous active duty, except for
breaks in service of not more than 30 days, as either an
officer, warrant officer, or enlisted person, is entitled
to a lump-sum readjpstment payment computed on the
basis of one-half of 1 month’s basic pay in the grade
in which he is serving at the time of release from active
duty for each year of active service ending at the close
of the 18th year. For the purposes of this subsection, a
part of a year that is 6 months or more is counted as
a whole year, and a part of a year that is less than 6
months ts disregarded. * * *’’? [Emphasis supplied.]
H.R. 9952, 84th Cong., 2d Sess. (1956). The Senate, how-
ever, amended the legislation, adopting several recommen-
dations contained in a letter, dated November 17, 1955, from
the Comptroller General to Senator Russell, Chairman of
the Committee on Armed Services, commenting on a similar
bill. That letter stated in pertinent part:
Although the language of subsection (a) of the bill
seems to indicate that a minimum of 5 years’ contin-
uous active duty as an officer or warrant officer is nec-
essary to qualify for a readjustment payment, the last
sentence of that subsection appears to reduce the mini-
mum qualifying service to 4 years and 6 months. Pre-
sumably the provision authorizing the counting of 6
months or more as a whole year was intended to apply
only for the purpose of computing the amount of a
lump-sum payment and not the quantum of qualifying
ake Nad SOP oo ae ERT LEER er: ? Bas
16a
service. If so, the language should be clarified, perhaps
somewhat as follows:
‘‘For the purpose of computing the amount of
the readjustment payment a fractional part of a
year amounting to 6 months [or 183 days] or more
shall be counted as a whole year and a shorter pe-
riod shall be disregarded.’’
1956-2 U.S.CODE CONG. & AD. NEWS, pp. 3068, 3070. The
restoration in section 687(a) of the language of H.R. 9952,
that which the Comptroller viewed as reducing the mini-
mum qualifying service to 4 years and 6 months, is, we
think, a strong indication of congressional intent—far
stronger than that on which the defendant relies. We do not
mean to say that the legislative intent underlying section
687(a) is in accord with the clear meaning of the statutory
words, only that the legislative history of that section does
not so clearly evidence an intent inconsistent with the plain
meaning of the statutory language as to enable us to depart
from that plain meaning.
Defendant also argues that the Department of the Navy,
one of the agencies charged with the administration of sec-
tion 687(a), interprets the statute as providing for round-
ing only for the purpose of computing readjustment pay,
and that this administrative interpretation of the statute
is entitled to great weight.
There are many instances when the prior administrative
interpretation of a statute is entitled to great respect.
* * * [T]he practical construction given to an act of
Congress, fairly susceptible of different constructions,
by those charged with the duty of executing it is enti-
tled to great respect and, if acted upon for a number
of years, will not be disturbed except for cogent rea-
sons. [Footnote omitted. ]
OPO TNE BELEN CD LE be i GE ISG os Hm gp
17a
McLaren v. Fleischer, 256 U.S. 477, 481, 41 S.Ct. 577, 578,
65 L.Ed. 1052 (1921). This is, however, but one of many
principles bearing on the construction of legislation. It is
not the cardinal or dominating rule. In this instance we find
that, all things considered, the Navy’s course of interpre-
tation is less persuasive than the factors which point to the
construction urged by the plaintiff. These other factors, the
statutory words and the critical part of the legislative his-
tory to which reference has already been made, are sufficient
to overcome the administrative construction.
For the foregoing reasons we grant plaintiff’s motion for
summary judgment and deny defendant’s cross-motion for
summary judgment. Judgment is entered for plaintiff in the
amount of $13,554, computed, according to section 687(a), by
multiplying his years of active service (9)* by 2 months’
basic pay ($1,506). No interest is allowable under 28 U.S.C.
_-§ 2516 (1964).
NicHo.s, Judge (dissenting).
I think § 687 is ambiguous by reason of the words ‘‘* * *
who has completed, immediately before his release, at least
five years of continuous active duty * * *.’’ This I read as
saying that anything under five years is not enough. It is
seemingly contradicted by subsection (2) as Judge Collins
quotes it. If two parts of a statute can be read as not con-
tradicting one another, that reading is to be preferred, but
such a reading is difficult here. I agree that the legislative
history looks both ways and the Navy practice is not of long
enough standing to control, nor are we shown what the other
Services have done.
Confronted with an ambiguous statute, with legislative
history and prior administrative practice unhelpful, and
with no prior court decisions cited to us, we must fall back
on our intuition for the intent of Congress. It may be de-
5 This figure is arrived at by totaling and rounding all of plain-
tiff’s active duty service.
RCPS
.
18a
batable how finely tuned my intuition is, but for whatever
it is worth, I just cannot force myself to believe the Congress
intended that anyone having under five years active service
should qualify. It might be said, if the Congress meant four
years and six months when it wrote five years, it would have
been simpler to have written four years and six months.
I do not say it because, in all honesty, I know that the Con-
gress sometimes elects the long way around. That approach
is too simplistic. We may ask ourselves instead what legis-
lative scheme or plan would envision four years and six
months as a qualifying period. How was it selected?
In resolving ambiguity, we must allow ourselves some rec-
ognition of the existence of sheer inadvertence in the legis-
lative process. I think that in 1962 they just simply over-
looked that in adopting a change of language, there might be
some literal-minded persons who would infer a change of
meaning. The struggle between the brash re-codifer who |
wants to ‘‘clean up”’ the language, and is sure he knows how
to do so without changing substance, as against the cautious
one who clings to obsolete and opaque terminology, for fear
of making an inadvertent change, is ancient in the field of
legislative draftsmanship. Notorious examples exist in other
fields, as for example the standard policy of marine insur-
ance. Conceding that, if I am right, the recodification here
was not skillfully done, I think the result gives aid and com-
fort to the anti-re-codification school of thought and tends to
discourage an activity which, in my view, is in the public
interest on the whole.
That the change was inadvertent is strongly supported by
the reports reproduced in 1962-2 U.S.Code Cong. & Ad.
News, at p. 2457. They set forth the statutory sources of
§ 687, purport to show each change of language, and to ex-
plain in each instance the lack of any substantive change.
Yet the reduction of the qualifying period from five years
to four years six months is nowhere mentioned. I believe
that the Congress, had it consciously considered reducing
POLE EON LOREAL I EE BEG EOE tet mnt ae
19a
the qualifying period as alleged, would have held hearings
and received reports and testimony. This would have been
a matter of importance to the GAO, which commented on
the 1956 legislation, as well as to executive agencies, and to
veteran’s organizations. Apparently nothing of the kind oc-
curred.
I take this occasion to reiterate what I wrote, concurring,
in Sarkes Tarzian, Inc. v. United States, 412 F.2d 1203,
1214, 188 Ct.Cl. 766, 787 (1969) :
Defendant forgets that the intent of Congress must
be our lodestar, and that any statutory construction
necessarily imputes an intent to Congress. If Congress
didn’t intend it, the statute doesn’t do it. * * *
There it was defendant that forgot. Here I fear it is the
court.
20a
APPENDIX D
Penpinc FreperaAL Court Cases INVoLVING ENTITLEMENT TO
READJUSTMENT Pay Unper 10 U.S.C. § 687(a).
O’Meara v. United States—Court of Appeals for the Sev-
enth Circuit, Docket No. 73-1802. Class action certified
to the Court of Appeals by the District Court for N.D.
“Til, Doeket No. 72-C-2386.
Bushery v. United States—District Court for W.D. Miss.,
West. Div., Docket No. CA2056-2. Class action.
Siat v. United States—District Court for S.D. Cal., Docket
No. 73-102-E.
Court of Claims cases: Docket No.
Brown v. United States 393-72
Clough v. United States 147-72
Crooks v. United States 143-73
Dalluge v. United States 136-73
Harris v. United States 327-72
Lafaver v. United States 184-72
Lattimore v. United States 366-72
Murphy v. United States 250-72
Parker v. United States 144-73
Reuter v. United States . 241-72
Smythe v. United States 255-72
Wells v. United States 407-72
EPA RE CTO OE let De te. _— 2 weet CEP ote pee
a
>:
PAAR Ue A ihe PAC A WLaP EA as MOTEL Sap PTET ANT OA STALL 2 BEN CET SiOh ST i i
In the Supreme Court of the United States
OcTOBER TERM, 1973
No. 73-604
DONALD C. Cass, PETITIONER
v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
No. 73-5661
FRANCIS A. ADAMS, ET AL., PETITIONERS
A
SECRETARY OF THE NAVY, ET AL.
ON PETITIONS FOR WRITS OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT
MEMORANDUM FOR THE RESPONDENTS
Petitioners in these cases have served more than four
and a half years, but less than five years, of active
military duty. They were denied readjustment pay when
they were involuntarily separated from active service,
on the ground that 10 U.S.C. 687(a) authorizes such
payments only after five years of service. That Section
provides that a member of a reserve component released
after “at least five years of continuous active duty”
is entitled to a readjustment payment of two months’
basic pay for each year of service. It also states that
(1)
2
a partial year over six months is to be counted as a
whole year, while a partial year less than six months
is to be disregarded. They contend that the statute’s
rounding provision applies to the length of service
requirement, so that, having served more than four years
and six months, they must be considered to have served
five years, and to be entitled to readjustment pay.
Petitioner in No. 73-604 was released after continuous
active duty in the Army Reserve for four years, nine
months, and thirteen days; the Army denied his request
for readjustment pay of $10,638 (Pet. in No. 73-604 at
3). He commenced this action in the district court for
the District of Montana; on June 20, 1972, he was
awarded judgment of $10,000 (Pet. App. in No. 73-604
at 3a).!
Petitioners in No. 73-5661 were reserve officers in
the Marine Corps, who were notified that they would
be released from active duty after more than four and
a half years but less than five years of continuous ser-
vice, under orders which specified they were not entitled
to readjustment pay. Prior to their release dates, peti-
tioners brought separate actions in the district court for
the Central District of California seeking to enjoin their
involuntary release and to compel payment to them of
readjustment pay.? Preliminary injunctions issued,
which were dissolved when the petitioners completed
five years of service (Pet. App. in No. 73-5661 at 14-
' To bring the case within the district court's jurisdiction
under 28 U.S.C. 1346(a), petitioner waived his claim to read-
justment pay in excess of $10,000 (Pet. App. in No. 73-604 at
2a).
2 It was stipulated that the readjustment pay, if due, would
be $9,273 for petitioner Adams and for petitioner Steneman, and
$10,065 for petitioner Youngquist.
3
15).3 On September 25, 1972, the district court held
petitioners were entitled to readjustment pay (Pet. App.
in No. 73-5661 at 13-15).
On appeal, the Ninth Circuit reversed both district
courts, holding that petitioners are not entitled to
readjustment pay, since the rounding provision applies
only for the purpose of computing the amount of read-
justment pay, not for determining whether the minimum
five-year period of service necessary for eligibility has
been met (Pet. App. in No. 73-604 at 4a-8a; Pet. App.
in No. 73-5661 at 16-19).4
As the court of appeals recognized (Pet. App. in No.
73-604 at 6a), its decision conflicts with that of the Court
of Claims in Schmid v. United States, 436 F. 2d 987
(Ct. C.), certiorari denied, 404 U.S. 951. In Schmid,
the Court of Claims held that a serviceman having
active service of more than four and one-half, but less
than five years, qualifies for readjustment pay (Pet.
App. in No. 73-604 at 9a). As our petition for certiorari
in Schmid stated (No. 71-361, O.T. 1971, pp. 5-6),
under the four and one-half year eligibility requirement
announced by the Court of Claims, the -government
would be subject to an estimated potential liability of
more than $12,000,000. Moreover, the controversy over
the minimum service requirement for readjustment
pay has led to many cases now pending in numerous
3 Both courts below held that petitioners’ service for more than
five years because of the injunctions did not render them eligible
for readjustment pay. No issue relating to these injunctions or
their effect on petitioners’ rights is raised in the petition.
‘The decision of the court of appeals is also reported at 483
F. 2d 220.
4
lower courts (see Pet. App. in No. 73-604 at 20a).5 For
these reasons, this Court should resolve the conflict
between the Ninth Circuit and the Court of Claims. :
We submit that the decision of the Ninth Circuit
is correct; the minimum service requirement for read-
justment pay is a full five years. Section 687(a) expressly
requires “at least five years of continuous active duty”
for eligibility. The ambiguity that arises from the juxta-
position of this portion of Section 687(a) with the
rounding provision is dispelled by the history of the
readjustment pay provision. As originally enacted in
1956, the statute specified that “at least five years of
continuous active duty” were necessary. 70 Stat. 517.
Under that statute, as under the present one, the amount
of the readjustment pay, as well as entitlement to it,
was based upon the number of years of active duty.
There was no ambiguity created by the original rounding
provision, however, because the 1956 act provided,
“For the purposes of computing the amount of read-
justment payment, (1) a part of a_ year that is six
months or more is counted as a whole year * * *.”
70 Stat. 517 (emphasis added). Indeed, the underscored
phrase was added at the suggestion of the Comptroller
General in order to preclude any possible confusion as
to whether a full five years’ service was required for
eligibility. See S. Rep. No. 2288, 84th Cong., 2d Sess. 11.
‘In addition to the fifteen cases cited by petitioner Cass, at
least seven other pending cases involve this issue. Bell v. Secretary
of the Navy, Civ. No. 72-1944 (C.D. Cal.); Branson vy. United
States, Civ. No. 73-H-1135 (S.D. Tex.): Fimiani v. Secretary of
the Navy, No. 73-2822 (C.A. 9): Hudson v. Secretary of the Navy,
Civ. N!o. 72-2860-FW (C.D. Cal.); Arane v. Secretary of the Navy,
Civ. No. 72-2859-FW (C.D. Cwal.); Owens v. Secretary of the Navy,
Civ. No. 73-420-FW (C.D. Cal.); Reeid v. Secretary of the Navy,
Civ. No. 72-1789-FW (C.D. Cal.).
5
The present language of the rounding provision re-
sulted from a 1962 codification of military statutes.
76 Stat. 506, 507. It is a settled principle of statutory
construction that a change in statutory language re-
sulting simply from a codification does not alter the
meaning of the statute, even where a literal construction
of the new language could result in a substantive change.
See, e.g., United States v. Cook, 384 U.S. 257; Ohio
Bank & Savings Co. v. Tri-County National Bank, 411
F. 2d 801 (C.A. 6). That principle is especially applicable
here, inasmuch as both committee reports accompanying
the 1962 codification specify that the bill was “not
intended to make any substantive change in existing
law.” S. Rep. No. 1876, 87th Cong., 2d Sess. 6; H.
Rep. No. 1401, 87th Cong., 2d Sess. 1.
Moreover, the rounding provision serves a functional
purpose only with respect to computing the amount of
pay. If Congress had intended that four and one-half
years of service were sufficient for eligibility, it could
simply have so specified rather than adopting a cir-
cuitous method for determining eligibility. Finally, under
the uniform administrative construction of the present '
provision, a serviceman is ineligible for readjustment
pay unless he has five full years of service. This
administrative construction is entitled to deference.
Udall v. Tallman, 380 U.S. 1.
For these reasons, we believe that the decision below
is correct. We nevertheless acquiesce in the granting
of these petitions for certiorari, so that the conflict
with the Court of Claims may be resolved.
It is therefore respectfully submitted that the petitions
for writs of certiorari should be granted.
RoserT H. Bork,
Solicitor General.
DECEMBER 1973.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.