Amicus Curiae Brief — Kewanee Oil Co. v. Bicron Corp.

Supreme Court brief1974

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Brief Amicus Curiae

Authority to File

Opinions Below

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions —_.__________.

Question Presented

Interest of the Amicus ___.. =

Summary of Argument

Argument

A.

B.

C.

E.

Conclusion

Introduction _-.-------- oe

Irrelevant Issues Advanced in This Court _..

The Indeterminate Origin of and Basis for

Trade Secret Law

The Constitution and Federal Law Preclude

the Permanent Injunction Sought —...._.

i.

Preemption by the Patent Clause and

Statutes

a. Patent Policies

b. Reasons for Preemption —........_-_.__.

Considerations Affecting Preemption Aris-

ing Solely Under the Commerce Clause __

Considerations Affecting Preemption Aris-

ing Solely Under the Fifth and Four-

teenth Amendments

Trade Secret “Property” In Technology—A

Necessary Incentive to Conduct Research? __

47

51

ae a a a ka

II

APPENDIX

Page

The Constitutional Provisions la

Article I, Section 8, Clauses 3 and 8 __............. la

Article VI, Clause 2 la

“Amendment Vo n-ne la

Amendment IX 2a

Amendment X : 2a

Amendment XIV, Sections 1 and 5 2a

35 U.S.C. §§ 101 and 102(b) : 3a

Article—“ The Constitutional Standard of Invention

—The Touchstone for Patent Reform” soon to be

published in the University of Utah Law Review by

E. S. Irons and M. H. Sears _ 4a

OE ALERT SS A UREA EERO PRE SEIS AN OMS ELLE EOI SL TBS OE IORI OILY LLG IT IIE HPN

—— Sen seg ES

pee - -

Ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Aligeyer Vv. Louisiana, 165 U.S, 578 (1886) -.... 42, 45

Atlantic Works v. Brady, 107 U.S. 192 (1883) -.. 11

Bates V. Coe, 96:U.8. 31. (1878)... 38

Becher v. Contoure Laboratories, Inc., 279 U.S. .

888 (1929) 38

Bliss, E. W., Co. v. Struthers-Dunn, Inc., 408 F.

2d 1108 (8 Cir. 1969) - ro 46

Blonder-Tongue Laboratories, “Ine. Vv. University

of Illinois Foundation, 402 U.S. 313 (1971) -. 42

Brown Vv. Duchesne, 60 U.S. 183 (1857) —---.. 26, 44

Brulotte v. Thys Co., 379 U.S. 29 (1964) -—....... 15, 39

Compco Corp. Vv. Day-Brite Lighting, Inc., 376

U.S. 34 01964) ....._._ 39, 41

Consolidated Fruit Jar Co. v. Wright, 94 U.S. 92

Me (| i 5 epee enneened omen ereeiry one’s err erh ata tte on nea aemeeT 36, 37

Continental Car-Na-Var Corp. Vv. Moseley, 148 P.

2d 9 (Sup. Ct. Cal. 1944) — 46

Corona Cord Tire Co. v. Dovan Chemical Corp.,

_ 276 U.S. 610 (1927) 37

Darcy Vv. Allin, Noy, Rep. 173, 74 Eng. Rep. 1131

CTE cece 20

Deepsouth Packing Co. v. Laitram Corp., 406 U.S.

518 (1972) 20, 21, 25, 44

Dr. Miles Medical Co. v. John D. Park & Sons

Co., 220 U.S. 373 (1911) 38

Egbert v. Lippmann, 104 U.S. 333 (1881) — 37

Gayler Vv. Wilder, 51 U.S. 477 (1850) —--_. 26, 36, 37

Gibbons Vv. Ogden, 22 U.S. 1 (1824) —- 42

Goldstein v. California, 412 U.S. 546 (1973)... 40, 41

Graham V. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1 (1966) -.6, 9, 27, 32

Greene V. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474 (1959) _..._. 42,45

Hall v. Macneale, 107 U.S. 90 (1882) _..- 37

Hammer v. Barnes, 26 How. Pr. (N.Y.S. Ct.

1863) 19

Huszar V. Cincinnati Chemical Works, 172 F.2d

6 (6 Cir. 1949) 37

International News Service v. Associated Press,

248 U.S. 215 (1918) 28, 29

Neg? it natty Seer ete Se Ne Yat PAIR

SEALS ATA ILL LED EN LIGETI ME EE ILLES SON EIT i

Iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Jarvis v. Peck, 10 Paige 118 (N.Y. Ct. 1843). 19

Kendall v. Winsor, 62 U.S. 322 (1858) —--.— 36

Lear, Inc. v. Adkins, 395 U.S. 653 (1969) 11, 39

Levine v. E. A. Johnson & Co., 237 P.2d 309 (Ct.

Bem, Ce, DO re 46

Macbeth-Evans Glass Co. v. General Electric Co.,

246 F. 695 (6 Cir. 1917) - seco 37, 38

Maloney Vv. E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., 352

F.2d 986 (D.C. Cir. 1965) - aoe 46

Marsh Vv. Nichols, 127 U.S. 605. (1888) - aeons 27

Mercoid Corp. v. Mid-Continent Investment Co., -

$20 U.S. 661 (1944) 11

Metallizing Engineering Co. v. Kenyon Bearing &

Auto Parts Co., 158 F.2d 516 (2 Cir. 1946) 35, 37, 38

Mine Safety Appliances Co. v. Electric Storage

Battery Co., 405 F.2d 901 (CCPA 1969) _.. 37

Newbery V. James, 35 Eng. Rep. 1011 (Ch. 1817) 19

Painton & Co. v. Bourns, Inc., 442 F.2d 216 (2

Gr Wi)... 7

Paraco, Inc. Vv. Owens, 333 P.2d 360 (Ct. App.

a TI) aes 46

Peabody v. Norfolk, 98 Mass. 1952 (Sup. Jud. Ct.

Mem. 1000) 6 eee 19

Pennock v. Dialogue, 27 U.S. 1 (1829) —.- 25, 35

Scott Paper Co. v. Marcalus Mfg. Co., 326 WS.

249 (1946) 39

Sears Vv. Gottschalk, 357 F. Supp. 1327 (E.D. ‘Va.

OL | eee 16

Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Stiffel Co., 8376 U.S. 225

(1964) - : . $9, 41

Shaw V. Cooper, 32 US. 390 (1888) ......... 25

Smith & Griggs Mfg. Co. v. Sprague, 123 US.

Oy CNN eee 37

United States Vv. Dubilier Condenser Corp., 289

U.S. 178 (1933) - . 31,38

United States v. Greenwald, 479 F.2d 320 (6 Cir.

1978)

13

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Williams v. Williams, 36 Eng. Rep. 61 (Cr. 1817) _ 19

Wilson v. Clarke, 470 F.2d 1218 (1 Cir. 1972) __ 46

Winston Research Corp. Vv. Minnesota Mining &

Mfg. Co., 350 F.2d 134 (9 Cir. 1965) __. 47

Woodbridge v. United States, 263 U.S. 50 (1923) 10,11

Yovatt v. Winyard, 1 Jac. & W. 394, 37 Eng. Rep.

425 (Ch. 1820) 19

Constitutional Provisions:

Article I, Section 8, Clause 3 _... == 2, 43, 44

Article I, Section 8, Clause 8 _... = 2, 32, 39

Article VI, Clause 2... 2, 44

Fifth Amendment _...._-=-= ==> 2, 5, 32, 42, 43,

44, 45, 46, 47

Ninth Amendment a i 2, 31

Tenth Amendment ______- ionianaianaanenanas 2, 31

Fourteenth Amendment __. etesteniecenteceiesae 2, 5, 32, 42, 43,

44, 45, 46, 47

Statutes and Related Materials:

Patent Act of 7790 34, 39

Patent Act of 1793 _. 34, 41

1 Stat. 318 §7 41

1 Stat. 318 §1 20 41

' Patent Act of 1836 34

' —R. S. 4886 38 |

35 U.S.C. 101 2, 4, 5, 18, 18, 40, 41, 42, 48 ,44

Revisor’s Note ____. 41

aR, NR icici . 2,18

35 U.S.C. 102(b) —-- 4, 5, 18, 19, 38

35 U.S.C. 108 9,18

35 U.S.C. 112 34

35 U.S.C. 122 16

35 U.S.C. 282 34

84 Stat. 1558 § 131 (1971) 50

eR ARATE ANN ig PME ANSE ee wave

VI

-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Proposed Statute S. 2504 § 301 18

Ohio Revised Code 1333.51(C) 14

Ohio Revised Code 1333.99 (E) 14

House Report No. 1494, 52nd Cong., ist Sess.

(1894) 2 27, 28

House Report No. 2222, 60th Cong., 2nd Sess.

(1909) 28

Hearings Before the Subcommittee on Patents,

Trademarks and Copyrights, Committee on the

Judiciary, United States Senate:

90th Cong., Ist Sess. (1967) 6, 48

92nd Cong., Ist Sess. (1971) 6, 47, 48

93rd Cong., lst Sess. (1973) 6

Rules:

Supreme Court Rule 42(2) 1

\ Other Authorities:

\ Adelman, “Seerecy and Patenting: Some Pro-

posals for Resolving the Conflict”, 1 APLA

Quarterly Journal 296 (1973) 32, 35

American Magazine, February 1788 _.._-____ 22

Blackstone’s Commentaries - 20

Blake, “Employer Agreements Not To Compete”,

73 Harvard L. R. 265 (1960) _ 46

Bugbee, “Genesis of American Patent and Copy-

right Law”, Washington Public Affairs Press

(1967) . 34

Chemical and Engineering News, October 15,

DOT ikcessecteteeen aweaeeddeiacqesseesaeiearadeneeos 8

Coke, “Institutes of the Laws of England’, III

(London 1797); III (1669 ed.) - 10

Doerfer, “The Limits of Trade Secret Law Im-

posed by Federal Patent and Antitrust Suprem-

acy”, 80 Harvard L.R. 1432 (1967) -................ 34

Oe NRE SERENE ETN ES NEESER DR TEERET SPY AESE Sh AERTS RNP ROE PE RE REPS ERM ETE

LLL LLL

VII

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Farrand, “The Records of the Federal Conven-

tion Of VTST coon cece eee eee 25

Federico, “Origin and Early History of Patents”,

11 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y 292 (1927) -22....000n.. 33

Fox, “Monopolies and Patents” (Toronto 1947)... 40, 41

House Document No. 398, 69th Cong., Ist Sess. .... 25

Jefferson, Letter to Isaac McPherson, VI Writings

of Thomas Jefferson (Washington ed. 1814) _... 23

Jefferson, Letter to Madison, July 31, 1788, “The

Papers of Thomas Jefferson, Vol. XII —.............. 24

Kane, “Limitations on the Law of Trade Secrets”,

53 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y 162 (1971) —...0..-----....... 21, 22, 24

Machlup and Penrose, “The Patent Controversy

in the 19th Century”, 10 Journal of Economics

History 1 (1950) 22 een eee 22, 23

Madison, Letter to Jefferson, October 17, 1788,

“Letters and Other Writings—Madison” Vol.

| ae Sy) eee eC 24

Madison, The Federalist Papers, No. 48 (1788) -... 41

Melman “The Impact of the Patent System on

Research”, Study No. 11, Subcommittee on Pat-

ents, Trademarks and Copyrights, Committee on

the Judiciary, United States Senate, 85th Cong.,

BG Peek. CLOGS D ccceccectceieieenennncan 48, 49

Michel, A. J., “Historical Development of Principal

Patent Systems”—Thesis available in Library of ~~

Congress (Card No, T215M48) Ke 88

Milgrim, “Trade Secrets”, Matthew Bender & Co.

New York 1967) —....--.---..-.----.-..----s.-e-eeeeeeeeneeeeeeee 7

National Science Foundation Study: “Barriers to

Innovation in Industry: Opportunities for Public

Policy: CRanget” C1GTG) asics 49, 50

Patent, Trademark and Copyright Journal (BNA)

—September 15, 1978 ......................-.2...--...-.-.--. 11

Prager, “A History of Intellectual Property from

1545 to 1787” 26 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y 711 (1944) _.. 20

set AEE OSE CORSETS NNO REA RENT PT IER A SE MRE I AN TT a

VIII

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Prager, “Standards of Patentable Invention from

1474 to 1952”, 20 University of Chicago L.R. 69

(1952)

Schiller, “Trade Secrets and the Roman Law; The

Actio, Servi Corrupte’, 30 Colum. L.R. 837

(1980)

Shapiro, “The Supreme Court and Administrative

Agencies”, The Free Press (New York 1968)....

Wall Street Journal—November 27, 1973 -.............

Weissman, “Testimony Before the Senate Judiciary

Committee ... ”, 55 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y 604

(1973)

Page

30

19

32

12

33

PIO TIE ELIMI HE

mo cams ne meme anetenr

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1973

No. 73-187

: KEWANEE OIL COMPANY,

7. Petitioner,

BICRON CORPORATION, et al.,

Respondents.

BRIBF AMICUS CURIAE

AUTHORITY TO FILE

This brief is filed on behalf of SCM Corporation under

Rule 42(2) of this Court with the written consent of

both parties, the originals of the consent letters being

filed herewith.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Ohio is not reported, though it is

understood that its findings of fact and conclusions of

law, with information as to the nature of the alleged

trade secrets excised," appears in the Appendix at 51

1 Based upon correspondence with petitioner’s counsel, it is fur-

ther understood that the material contained in the Appendix con-

stitutes the totality of the allegedly “secret” proceedings in the

District Court which have been made available to any of the amici

a pga a te 08 A ELE EER DETTE IIIT ELIE LONE EL ITLL IEE LI LO LEI LE

2

et seg. The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported

at 478 F.2d 1074.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The involved constitutional provisions are the Com-

merce and Patent clauses contained in Article 1, Section

8, clauses 3 and 8, the Supremacy clause contained in

Article VI, clause 2, the Fifth, Ninth and Tenth Amend-

ments and Sections 1 and 5 of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment. In addition, the case involves the proper interpreta-

tion of 35 U.S.C. 101 and 102. These provisions are all

reproduced infra, la to 3a.

QUESTION PRESENTED

The sole question properly raised by the record below is:

May a state perpetually enjoin use, by one who has

lawfully acquired it, of technical information within the

subject matter scope of 35 U.S.C. 101 on which the right

to a patent has been forfeited by failure to file a timely

patent application and by commercial use for more than

one year?

No other question, including the broader one suggested

in the petition, was decided below or finds sufficient evi-

dentiary support in the deliberations of the courts below

to warrant entertainment by this Court in this case at

this time.

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS

SCM is a worldwide diversified business enterprise en-

gaged in a variety of research, development and manu-

facturing pursuits which include every aspect of the

acquisition, development, protection and dissemination of

technical information.

appearing in this case before this Court including the United States

Department of Justice.

3

SCM has a broad based interest in the outcome of this

case which is essentially the same as that of many of

petitioner’s amici who are either corporations or associa-

tions comprising a plurality of corporate members.°

While SCM does not subscribe to the arguments advanced

by these parties or the conclusionary non-evidentiary

“facts” which are alleged to show that the decision be-

low, if affirmed, would discourage expenditure of money

on research and development activities to the detriment

of society, SCM does stand to be affected in precisely

the same way by the outcome of the Court’s decision in

this case as any of these corporate and corporate-cen-

tered amici.

In addition to its broad interest, SCM has a particular

interest in this case in that the central issue posed is

closely related to, though different from, the central issue

in SCM’s own litigation against Mobil Oil Corporation

pending in the District Court for the Northern District

of Ohio.‘

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Trade secrets are often utilized to perpetually monopo-

lize technical information, whether or not it meets the

exacting criteria for validly patentable invention. Con-

ventionally the monopoly is created by first requiring

employees to sign agreements preserving as permanently

“confidential” all of the proprietor’s unidentified trade

2? These amici include at least Optical Coating Laboratories, Inc.,

Rohr Industries, Inc., Electronic Industries Association, R.J.

Reynolds Industries, Inc., Southwire Company, Burroughs Corpo-

ration, The Budd Company, the Chamber of Commerce of the United

States of America and the Manufacturing Chemists Association.

3 Specifically, Civil Action C-73-751 filed July 18, 1973. Further

details concerning the relationship of that litigation to this case

are set out under the heading “Interest of the Amicus Curiae” at

pages 1-4 of SCM’s amicus brief opposing the grant of certiorari

in this case, the cited portion of which is incorporated herein by

reference.

4

secrets and then licensing competitors on a “confidential”

basis in exchange for a running “use” royalty. The only

attribute of patents lacking under such arrangements is

a legally enforceable right to exclude independent dis-

coverers of the “secret” from using it—and if the “secret”

is widely licensed in the pertinent industry, there will

be no need for that right because few, if any, interested

persons will remain who are outside the “confidence”.

Meanwhile the public suffers because the safeguards which

carefully limit the patent right to a statutorily authorized

sphere are inapplicable to trade secrets.

The decision below holds that “trade secrets” in in-

formation responsive to the subject matter definition con-

tained in 35 U.S.C. 101 are, under 35 U.S.C. 102(b),

dedicated to the public if used commercially for more than

one year, absent the timely filing of a patent application—

and that in view of this public dedication an injunction

may not issue to prevent use of the “secret” by a former

employee who learned it lawfully in the course of his

employment. The decision does not revoke the law of

trade secrets nor interfere with criminal penalties for

fraud, theft and the like. It does not contravene any

existing treaties, statutes or rules, nor does it disrupt

legitimate existing business relationships. Nor does it

deal with conflicts between patents and trade secrets aris-

ing under other sections of the patent law, or conflicts

with any aspect of antitrust law or the law of interna-

tional commerce. Trade secret “property” in technology

does not promote “investment” in research and develop-

ment, which is stimulated mainly by competitive pressures

and secondarily by direct subsidies—e.g. depreciation and

other tax advantages.

There is no natural law or preconstitutional common

law property right in technical information and property

is not an inevitable or legally required result of the ex-

penditure of time, money or labor.

5

The dedication policy of the patent system is based on

common law which predates the Constitution, when com-

mercial use was synonymous with making an invention

public regardless of whether precise details of the in-

vention were revealed by the commercially used or sold

article, and on the paramount public interest protected

by the Constitutional patent clause and the laws enacted

thereunder. That policy has been consistently recognized

and implemented in many decisions of this Court.

The federal patent law preempts state trade secret law

as to subject matter within the scope of 35 U.S.C. 101

and inexorably subjects an alleged “secret” if used com-

mercially for more than one year without the timely

filing of a patent application, to the bar of 35 U.S.C.

102(b). Federal preemption by the patent laws is further

required because patent policy must not compromise other

constitutional objectives. In particular, patent policy af-

fects interstate commerce and may not conflict with Con-

gressional policy adopted pursuant to constitutionally

exclusive federal power. Likewise, patent policy may not

derogate the rights of all citizens under the Fifth and

: Fourteenth Amendments. Moreover, these latter rights

are themselves paramount to and preemptive of state law

policies favoring corporate financial interests and they

per se preclude the permanent injunction petitioner seeks

against respondents.

ARGUMENT

A. INTRODUCTION

The decision below enunciates no new or novel proposi-

tion of law, nor does it suggest that the whole gamut

of state trade secret law is preempted by federal patent

law. It simply holds that where the right to federal

patent property in particular technical information has

been deliberately forfeited, no state may, on the pretext

of recognizing an adverse “natural” or contractual prop-

ne one a

. Se. aon - ee ps ES ACRE EER TT ES ITE EL TIA OES APTN IS ODT TEE IT TT LL TE FITS

wes EEE ta MP AID — Trae :

6

erty right, enjoin any person in lawful possession of that

same information from utilizing it.

At the heart of the numerous amicus briefs favoring

petitioner which the case has generated * is the fact that

the decision below is a significant obstacle to an ever

mounting campaign to circumvent, weaken, and ultimately

destroy the exacting criteria for patentable invention con-

tained in the federal patent laws as enacted pursuant to

4Some fourteen amici have filed briefs in support of the peti-

tioner. These amici include five individual corporations, i.e. Bur-

roughs Corporation, R.J. Reynolds Industries, Southwire Co., The

Budd Co., Rohr Industries, Inc., and Optical Coating Laboratory,

Inc.; three trade associations composed mainly of corporations, to

wit, the Chamber of Commerce of the United States, the Manu-

facturing Chemists Association, and Electronic Industries Associ-

ation; and six groups wholly or partially comprised of and led by

patent lawyer members, namely the American Bar Association, the

New York Patent Law Association, the American Patent Law

Association, the Bar Association of the District of Columbia, the

Association for Advancement of Invention and Innovation and

the Licensing Executives Society.

Most of these briefs are signed by one or more patent lawyers

and many of the signatory patent lawyers have personally been

active for some years in attempting to obtain a relaxation in the

federal statutory criteria for patentable invention either by judicial

fiat or through lobbying Congress for statutory changes. See,

e.g., the various amicus briefs filed by bar associations in the peti-

tioner’s behalf in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1 (1966),

and the statements made on behalf of various bar associations at

hearings on proposed patent legislation during the past seven years,

exemplary of which are those made before the Subcommittee on

Patents, Trademarks and Copyrights of the Committee on the

Judiciary, United States Senate, 90th Cong., Ist Sess. (1967) con-

cerning S. 2, S. 1042, S. 1877 and S. 1691 and 92nd Cong., 1st Sess.

(1971), regarding S. 643, S. 1253, and S. 1255 held May 11, 12 and

13, 1971. Similar views were expressed on behalf of bar associations

and in particular on behalf of the American Patent Law Association

in a then proposed bill (now H.R. 11868) submitted at the soon-to-be

published hearings of the same subcommittee held in September

1973 in regard to S. 1321 (93rd Cong., 1st Sess.).

The socio-economic arguments now advanced to support liberalized

trade secret protection are the same ones which have been unsuc-

cessfully advanced to induce judicial or legislative relaxation in

the strict criteria for patentable invention. See infra, p. 47.

eee

7

the Constitution.» This campaign embraces a plurality

of modes of attack, only one of which is concerned with

an enlarged “property” scope for trade secrets.‘

The degree of enlargement in the scope of trade secret

“property” rights today is evidenced to some extent by

the. facts of record concerning the confidentiality agree-

ments which petitioner in this case imposed upon the

various individual respondents.‘ According to Fact Find-

ing 104 (App. 83) petitioner “regularly requires its em-

ployees to execute .. .” blanket confidentiality agreements

which in no way adumbrate the scope of confidentiality

the employer will claim if the employee wants to leave

the company.‘

Such agreements convey no flavor of good faith arm’s-

length bargaining between equals; rather there is an

aura of duress or coercion, with the economically strong

5 For a detailed discussion of historical and constitutional con-

siderations surrounding some of these criteria see “The Constitu-

tional Standard of Invention—The Touchstone for Patent Reform”,

by Irons and Sears, written pursuant to invitation of and soon to

be published in the University of Utah Law Review, and reproduced

in its entirety infra, 4a to 50a.

6 Some commentators and text-writers have urged strongly that

trade secret protection is a viable alternative to patents. See e.g.

the articles cited by the amicus New York Patent Law Association

at p. 11 and Milgrim, ‘Trade Secrets”, Matthew Bender & Co. (New

York 1967; revised and supplemented yearly). The latter—a virtual

polemic for “competition” between patents and trade secrets inci-

dent protection of technical information—was heavily relied on to

support the decision in Painton & Co. v. Bourns, Inc., 442 F.2d

216 (2 Cir. 1971) said by petitioner, its amici and the Sixth Cir-

cuit to be “in confict” with the decision below.

7 See for example fact findings 48, 52, 54, 57 and 62 (App. 67-74).

8It is not at all unusual for employees to be kept in ignorance

that any technical information is claimed to be a trade secret until

such time as the employee’s resignation takes effect. Sometimes, if

an employee knew in advance that particular information was

deemed a “trade secret’, he might prefer not to be encumbered

with it—but employers rarely consider such matters.

8

employer imposing its will upon the economically far

weaker technically trained employee. When the employer

has successfully imposed “confidentiality agreements” up-

on all of its technically trained employees, then it has

the option of declaring all internally developed un-

patented and unpublished technical information to be

“secret”, thus effectively binding knowledgeable employees

to that company for life by ensuring that they have no

special skills marketable elsewhere.’

The briefs amicus of the Licensing Executives Society

(pp. 19-25), Rohr Industries, Inc. (pp. 9-15) and Optical

Coating Laboratories, Inc. (pp. 4-12) further give some

indication of the wide-spread degree to which allegedly

“secret” information is “confidentially” circulated through-

® Amicus Electronic Industries Association suggests that affirm-

ance of the decision below will “destroy employer-employee trust”

(Br. 3-5) inter alia because employees will “have little incen-.

tive to innovate on behalf of their employer or to share their discov-

eries with their employer” (Br. 4) if the well-nigh medieval shackles

of existing confidentiality agreements be so modified that unpatented

and unpatentable technical information in public use or on sale for

more than one year becomes per se nonconfidential. But history

shows and psychology confirms that \free men are better motivated

to innovate and make discoveries than bondservants and the sug-

gestion appears to be ill-conceived.

If anything, affirmance of the decjsion below will enhance em-

ployee trust, which is at a low ebb. See e.g. Chemical & Engineering

News for October 15, 1973 (p. 4) reporting a lawsuit against

E.I. duPont de Nemours & Co. for damages based on dismissal of

a chemical engineer having 16 years service who wrote a book

“critical of large chemical and petroleum corporations.” The article

points out inter alia:

“... that in most states professional employees enjoy essential-

ly no legal protection against arbitrary dismissal from their

jobs. Most professional employees are not members of unions.

Hence, they do not have the protection of a union contract.

In many cases protection under federal equal employment

opportunities legislation against discrimination on grounds, of

sex, race, religion, and the like is not pertinent. And most

employment contracts signed by scientific personnel on joining

a corporation are largely concerned with protecting the corpo-

ration.”

BMA POR Le NNR ps EAE NLM Hh MNF AMS LORE BE ELIE NT DLL EK LOD TALON AE LEI PL GG IE ES LLY SRS LEN PEO SFE

9

out industry as “property” under circumstances akin to

those which attend patent licensing—i.e. in exchange for

running royalty payments keyed in amount to the li-

censee’s commercial use of them.

When trade secrets are protected as “property” and

disclosed “confidentially” to all or most of the competitors

in a field in exchange for running “use” royalties, the

monopoly power of the trade secret “owner” is not signifi-

cantly different from that of a legitimate patentee inso-

far as its exclusionary impact is concerned. In such

cases, there is very little chance that the “secret” will be

discovered independently and published,” notwithstanding

the inconsistent arguments of petitioner and its amici

since essentially all interested people are already within

the penumbra of the “confidentiality”, and few, if any,

potential independent discoverers are left.

Moreover, in such cases, the trade secret “property

owner” really enjoys a more favored position than a

legitimate patentee. First of all, he is able to select the

subject matter limits of his trade secret himself and is

not bound by claim limitations imposed by the Patent

Office as a condition of the grant. Secondly, he is able to

select the term of his trade secret “property right” him-

self, just like petitioner in this case, and hence, is not

limited to the seventeen years afforded by the patent

laws.’' Furthermore, he can select any “license” terms

10 Tt is of course “public” whether or not published because used

in commerce. See Section D la, infra, p. 32. It is also “public”

because known to all or most of those persons most intimately

concerned with its.details and as such, it becomes a part of the

knowledge which goes to make up the ordinary level of skill in the

art. See 35 U.S.C. 103 and Graham v.eJohn Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1

(1966).

11The Court below noted that “Counsel for Kewanee frankly

stated in the course of the arguments before this Court that one of

the principal purposes of maintaining the secrecy of inventions,

including those here involved, as opposed to seeking patents under

the Patent Laws, would be to extend the commercial monopoly of

deepen RE TELLIN LILI CS GILLI. DEL ISIE SPO EPL TAG OE BE NI MEARE PMO EIS IAP HE

10

he wishes since there is no law of “misuse” applicable

to trade secrets, and hence, no need to fear that the trade

secret may be rendered unenforceable by inequitable licens-

ing conduct. Finally, there are no statutory and con-

stitutional criteria. for validity of trade secrets, and hence

the risk of loss is slight.

Tn short, to be able to hold technical information

“secret” while exploiting it just like a patent is to have

your cake and eat it too. No wonder that petitioner and

its amici are anxious to preserve this halcyon condition

and remain free to extend its benefits still further at their

own options, —

It is readily apparent that the trade secxet system as

it is now progressing and as it would flourish in the

event of ‘a decision for the petitioner in this case, is a

strong deterrent to “the Progress of Science and useful

Arts” which the patent system, pursuant to constitutional

mandate, must “promote”. By fostering non-publication

and controlled use of technical information, trade secret

law effectively precludes the use of knowledge as a stimu-

lant for the production of more knowledge, thus retarding

the progress of society. As said by this Court in Wood-

bridge v. United States, 263 U.S. 50, 61 (1923) the trade

secret owner “comes not within the policy or objects of

the invention beyond the seventeen years granted by the Patent

Laws.”

While Kewanee seeks to repudiate this admission (P.Br. 35, n.

11) and argues (P.Br. 26-28) that the injunction granted by the

district court was not “the common law equivalent of a patent

monopoly”, whatever that may mean, it does not deny that the in-

junction did afford a “monopoly”, as indeed it cannot. The classic

English definition of monopoly, enunciated by Sir. Edward Coke,

infra, p. 17a, note 27 contemplated that a monopoly exists

if “any person or persons .. . are sought to be restrained of any

freedom or liberty that they had before or hindered in their lawful

trade”—and respondents would certainly be restrained of the free-

dom to use all their knowledge and skill, and hindered in their

lawful trade if the injunction were reinstated.

ll

the Constitution or acts of Congress. He does not promote,

and, if aided in his design, would impede, the progress

of science and the useful arts. And with a very bad

grace could he appeal for favor or protection to that

society which, if he had not injured, he certainly had

neither benefitted nor intended to benefit.”

This trade secret system is not really “secret” at all,

but rather a system of private monopoly wherein a group

of conspirators all privy to the “secret” hold and use un-

published information within their own industry for their

own mutual benefit. Because this tends to discourage

competitive research, it also tends to “stabilize” each in-

dividual industry. It precludes cross-ferflization with

knowledge available in other technical disciplines, to the

ultimate detriment of the public. Realistically viewed,

these systems are conspirsties in restraint of trade where-

in each trade secret proprietor is able to “function as its

own patent office and impose its own law upon its li-

censees,”’ '*

Ease of availability of “property” protection for trival

technology, “trade secret” or otherwise, obviously dis-

courages research and development ' in more daring and

12 Mercoid Corp. Vv. Mid Continent Investment Co., 320 U.S. 661,

667 (1944). To the same effect is the separate, partially concurring

opinion of Mr. Justice Black joined by Mr. Chief Justice Warren

and Mr. Justice Douglas in Lear v. Adkins, 395 U.S. 653, 677

(1969).

%3As said in Atlantic Works v. Brady, 107 U.S. 192, 199-200

(1883)

“To grant to a single party a monopoly of every slight ad-

vance made, except where the exercise of invention, somewhat

above ordinary mechanical or engineering skill, is distinctly

- shown, is unjust in principle and injurious in its consequences.”

Statistics published by the Bureau of National Affairs in its

Patent, Trademark and Copyright Journal on September 13, 1973

show that West Germany and Japan—two countries whose re-

search and development efficiency is reckoned to be very high

at present—have much higher standards of invention than our

12

revolutionary technology, where the risk of not develop-

ing useful information is higher—a factor which un-

doubtedly has a significant bearing on the much talked

about deterioration of United States research and de-

velopment in recent years.“

B. IRRELEVANT ISSUES ADVANCED IN THIS COURT

Because the briefs of petitioner and its amici have ad-

vanced numerous “strawmen” issues not decided below

or raised by the record in this case and not even relevant

here, clarification is appropriate. °

Pointedly, the decision below did not disivey trade

secret law generally and did not even foreclose recogni-

tion of trade secrets in technical information. Because

Patent Office does, with about 30% and 40%, respectively, of patent

applications ‘filed maturing into patents compared to a figure of

75-80% in this country.

When the deterrent effects of trade secret monopolies on routine

subject matter are taken into account conjunctively with the

similar effects of the many trivial patents daily issued, it is not

at all surprising that the deterioration of United States research

and development efforts is rapidly becoming a matter for serious

concern.

14 Some evidence of the stagnating condition of American indus-

try may be found in the fact that revolutionary technology is not

being industrially applied. An article appearing in the Wall Street

Journal for November 27, 1973 headlined “Remember the Rolamite?

History’s 27th, and Newest ‘Elementary Mechanism’ Still Works,

but It Hasn’t Revolutionized Technology” states, inter alia:

“In all of history, by one count, only 27 elementary mechan-

isms—like the lever, the pulley, the ball joint, the hinge and

the clutch—have been invented. The 27th was the rolamite,

the only one to appear in this century. Invented in 1967, it’s

a cheap, practically indestructible gadget that theoretically

could replace the working parts of hundreds of more compli-

cated and costly mechanical devices. . . .

“But nobody saluted. Manufacturers admire the rolamite

but are unwilling to revamp their operations to make things

with it. Engineers say older mechanisms work well enough. . . .”

ow — * See SET digmmieaaies” “isk Siaeiiciniie — aires

13

it did not, petitioner’s question directed to whether the

Constitution and the patent laws preempt the state law

of trade secrets insofar as it applies to “confidential”

relationships is far too sweeping in scope. That question

as posed is not susceptible of answer in this case where

there is a vacuum of evidence relating to alleged “secrets”

other than those constituting information cognizable un-

der 35 U.S.C. 101 but forfeited to the public by com-

mercial use in excess of one year, coupled with failure

to file a timely patent application. The framing of such

an amorphous question has, however, permitted petitioner

and its amici to advance arguments in terms of “trade

secrets” broadly so as to suggest that existing law has

been disrupted to the point of upheaval. When put in

context with what was decided, these “horribles” are

illusory.

To amplify:

(1) The court below made no pronouncements on that

phase of trade secret law relating to criminal remedies

for “espionage”, burglary, theft, fraud, bribery, assault

and the like. As is apparent from the same court’s later

decision in United States v. Greenwald, 479 F.2d 320

(6 Cir. 1973), the decision below did not disrupt the

criminal law and was not intended to do so.

This is, of course, only logical. Remedies for unlawful

taking or copying of drawings, blueprints, manuscripts,

reports and other tangible items containing information

do not turn upon whether or not the information is

“secret” but rather are dependent upon that policy of law

’ which preserves the sanctity of a man’s person, home and

place of business against unauthorized invasion and gives

rise to the authorized police power of the states.’

15 See the briefs amici of Burroughs (p. 18 and p. 24, n. 41), the

Manufacturing Chemists Association (p. 15, esp. n. 24) and South-

wire Co. (p. 2) and Petitioner’s Brief at 46.

16 Police power does not, as suggested by some of petitioner’s

a ET 22S a SRY ET RATE HEE. AAT! RAAT

14

A similar policy governs the elicitation of a “trade

secret” from a man’s mind by threat of violence. Again,

the remedy is based on the unauthorized violation of the

sanctity of the persen and not upon alleged secrecy of the

information—the same remedy being available even if

the information elicited were old.

State law affording criminal remedies for embezzle-

ment of bona fide “trade secret” information such as e.g.

Ohio Revised Code §§ 1333.51(C) and 1833.99(E) repro-

duced at P.Br. 3, is likewise left undisturbed by the de-

cision below,*’ which simply holds that technical informa-

tion forfeited to the public by operation of the patent

laws cannot be a bona fide trade secret.

(2) The decision below does not deal at all with the

question of whether money payments may appropriately

be exchanged for disclosure of “trade secrets”, nor is

the matter in any way raised by the record in this case.

But exercise of the most ordinary common sense leads

to immediate recognition that the law authorizes, en-

courages and enforces payment of money in exchange for

communication of information that is neither “secret”

nor new in many legitimate relationships. For example,

people quite customarily take lessons in any number of

subjects that are in no serise secret, ranging from cook-

ing, sewing and flower arranging, to games such as golf,

bridge, tennis and the like to arts such as music and

painting. People also take lessons in how to speak foreign

languages, how to write and how to practice a useful

trade—e.g. carpentry or television repair. Attendance

amici, provide any basis or pretext for the creation of private

monopolies in the guise of “trade secrets”.

17 Note that criminal remedies for embezzlement of documents, in-

cluding blueprints, drawings, reports, models and other tangible

things do not rest upon whether the information embodied in the

embezzled item is “secret” or “public” but rather, upon unauthor-

ized taking of tangible property.

—

15

at schools and colleges, including those where tuition is

paid in exchange for instruction in a wide spectrum of

public record knowledge is regularly at a high level. In

the circumstances the suggestion ** that at least the pay-

ment provisions of existing and perhaps all contracts for

disclosure of alleged “trade secret” information already

forfeited to the public will be nullified by affirmance of

the decision below, seems impractical.”

The related argument of many amici * that no further

contracts for teaching secret “know-how” to competitors

will ever be consummated because it will be cheaper for

a competitor to hire an alleged “disloyal” employee at a

high salary than to enter into a contract for full in-

struction in the subject matter seems obviously invalid.

The amicus brief of the Licensing Executives Society

points out that, in the case of jet engines alone, secret

know-how may encompass “details of dimension of a

thousand parts, temperatures of operation, choice of

metallurgy, speed of rotation and centrifugal force on

18 The amicus Licensing Executives Society lists seven types of

contracts (Br. 19-26) that it says this case will “invalidate”;

amicus R. J. Reynolds Industries, Inc. laments that “existing con-

tracts . . . will be so frustrated that agreements for the exchange

of know-how .. . will be a thing of the past.” (Br. 11). See also

e.g. the briefs of amicus Optical Coating Laboratory, Inc., 8-9;

amicus Burroughs Corp. 12-14 and 16-17.

19 What will be nullified in such cases is the continuing “con-

fidentiality” of the information conveyed, not the obligation to pay

for services rendered incident proper instruction of a competitor in

all details of the subject matter of the purported “secret”, includ-

ing how to use it. Whether those provisions of such contracts that

require running “use” royalty payments subsequent to forfeiture

will also be nullified, analogously to the treatment of a contract

requiring similar “use” royalties under an expired patent in

Brulotte v. Thys Co., 379 U.S. 29 (1964) is for another case in

which the issue is properly raised.

20 See e.g.. the Optical Coatings Laboratory Brief 7-8, the R. J.

Reynolds Industries Brief 10, the Southwire Co. Brief 4, the

Burroughs Corp. Brief 15.

ee aa GEERT ERE RAE ORT INE z ae tal —_— o— — : —

16

blades, pressure on gas and air to burn how fast—the

distillation of a million ‘obvious’ details” (p. 39). Mani-

festly, one or two “disloyal” employees will not carry

such a complex mass of detail in their heads—and if it

is desired to acquire the “know-how”, a competitor will

need to pay for access to plans, engineering blueprints,

technical data and reports and instruction by a whole

team of company specialists and hence will have to ap-

proach the corporate proprietor of the “know-how”

directly.

(3) The decision below did not affect the validity of

any law passed by Congress, any court rule or any

treaty." Indeed, there is no evidence anywhere, including

in the briefs of the various parties who raise this point,

that the expression “trade secret” as utilized in any of

the cited statutes, rules and treaties was intended to

21 See Pet. Br. App. A. Petitioner and many amici seem to con-

sider a broad reference to “trade secrets”, without more, in a

statute, rule or treaty as antithetical to the decision below. See,

e.g., the briefs of the Association for the Advancement of Invention

and Innovation p. 8; Manufacturing Chemists Association pp. 38-

39; American Patent Law Association p. 4; Burroughs Corp. p.

7; R. J. Reynolds Industries p. 9; New York Patent Law Associa-

tion pp. 23-25; American Bar Association p. 3, n. 2; pp. 7-8; Bar

Association of the District of Columbia pp. 13-14; Licensing Execu-

tives Society pp. 57-58.

Amici Manufacturing Chemists Association (“MCA”) (p. 38)

and Rohr Industries (p. 4, n. 2) also endeavor to bootstrap the pro-

visions of 35 U.S.C. 122 into a recognition of a “patent applicant’s

option to retain his invention as a trade secret if no patent is ob-

tained” (MCA Br. 28). This interpretation of 35 U.S.C. 122 which

does not itself mention “trade secrets” was enunciated, without

support from precedent or legislative history in Sears v. Gottschalk,

357 F. Supp. 1327 (E.D. Va. 1973), a Freedom of Information Act

case, now on appeal (No. 73-1699) before the Court of Appeals for

the Fourth Circuit.

In that case, the Patent Office stipulated that it “has no right

under any statutory or constitutional provision or on any other

basis to recognize any sort of property right in subject matter

which it has adjudged unpatentable.” (Quoted from p. 48 of the

printed Appendix filed in No. 73-1699).

8 OTE ARE NE YO EIB eg ONT S ORCA ET

17

apply in any way to technical information, the right to

a patent for which had -been previously forfeited to the

people of the United States through commercial use for

more than one year. Absent very clear evidence that

“trade secret” as utilized in any one or more of those

authorities actually encompassed the type of alleged trade

secrets to which the decision below applies, these argu-

ments are simply irrelevant and should be disregarded.”

4. The decision below did not in any way deal with

the question of whether trade secret protection is con-

sistent or inconsistent with federal antitrust policy and

statutes (P. Br. 45-47), nor is the question in any way

raised by any part of the record. The cases cited by

petitioner to support the alleged consistency in no way

establish that federal antitrust policy would be served by

protecting as a “trade secret’? through a perpetual in-

junction, information already deliberately forfeited to the

public by failure to apply for a patent plus commercial

use for more than one year.

Nor is there any authority anywhere that would in-

dicate that the de facto monopolies created by disclosing

alleged “trade secrets” to a plurality of prospective (i.e.

employee) and actual competitors on a “confidential”

basis, thereby establishing a conspiracy to withhold the

“secret” information from outsiders and to prevent pub-

22 Moreover, as to those authorities which have to do with non-

disclosure by federal government agencies of alleged “trade secrets”

communicated to them, it seems evident from a practical viewpoint

that the intent of Congress was simply to encourage voluntary and

nonlitigious submissions, inter alia, for investigational and infor-

mational purposes. In other words, the government, to gain cooper-

ation in the submission of information needed or desired for gov-

ernmental studies, surveys and the like, found it desirable as a

matter of policy to accept as “trade secrets” any information so

labeled and to maintain it on that basis, leaving parties adverse to

the claimant including the government itself, to challenge the

bona fides of the trade secret claim in actual controversies where

the issue might arise.

a m2 SL PR IN EY NS RS

18

lication, are or could be consistent with antitrust policy.

And since a group of present and potential competitors

banded together for the purpose of exploiting and holding

“secret” from public view information forfeited to the

public under the patent laws has a marked resemblance

to the flagrantly monopolistic medieval guilds and their

equally monopolistic exclusive corporation successors in

Engiand, escape from which was once a major motivation

for coming to this country, antitrust policy would appear

to be mocked rather than served by these conspiratorial

groups.

5. Because the May 10, 1973 decision below obviously

could not touch upon proposed Section 301 of S. 2504,

the present administration’s proposed patent bill first

unveiled on September 27, 1973, petitioner’s effort to

influence this Court by what it might portend if it were

passed is presumptuous, to say the least. Whatever “the

Administration’s view” (P. Br. 52) of what the law

should be, this Court must deal with what it is.

6. The court below was properly not at all concerned

with fine points of whether the alleged “trade secret’

information involved in this case would have satisfied

either or both of U.S.C. 102 and 103 if one or more patent

applications had been filed.** Dedication to the public

by operation of 35 U.S.C. 102(b) occurs regardless of

whether technical information is both new (35 U.S.C.

101 and 102 generally) and unobvious (35 U.S.C. 103)

or new but obvious and hence not patentable.*' To put

23 See generally the briefs amicus of the Chamber of Commerce

(pp. 12-18) and the American Patent Law Association (p. 6).

24There is compelling authority from this Court and elsewhere

that technical information within 35 U.S.C. 101 which does not

meet the exacting standard of 35 U.S.C. 103 is “dedicated” to the

public as soon as it is first commercially used by operation of the

Constitution itself. See infra 28a et seq.

The Sixth Circuit had no need to reach that question in the

circumstance that all of the information in issue before it had been

. . ee

ESP PAA MLN FE PTE I ERNE ATRESIA I ER LE ES SS

tes

19

it another way, this case is controlled not by what might

have transpired if there had been a timely patent ap-

plication, but by what did necessarily transpire by reason

of petitioner’s deliberate forfeiture to the public of the

technical information on which the perpetual injunction

is sought. See Section D 1a, infra, p. 32.

C. THE INDETERMINATE ORIGIN OF AND BASIS

FOR TRADE SECRET LAW

Trade secret law is of relatively late day origin, hav-

ing apparently been recognized in England around 1820 *

and in the United States somewhat later about 1845.”

The heyday of trade secret law did not begin in this

country until sometime subsequent to the 1868 decision

of the Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts in Pea-

body v. Norfolk, 98 Mass. 1952.”

The Bar Association of the District of Columbia as

amicus curiae alleges that “the-right of an inventor...

commercially used for more than one year and no patent applica-

tions were filed—with the result that dedication had necessarily

occurred at the latest on the expiration of the year of grace afford-

ed by § 102(b) and well before the respondents’ interest in com-

peting with petitioner arose. See Section D la, infra, p. 32.

25 Yovatt v. Winyard, 1 Jac. & W. 394, 37 Eng. Rep. 425 (Ch.

1820) cited in the decision below; see also Newbery v. James, 35

Eng. Rep. 1011 (Ch. 1817) and Williams v. Williams, 36 Eng. Rep.

61 (Ch. 1817).

26 See Jarvis v. Peck, 10 Paige 118 (N.Y. Ch. 1843) ; Hammer v.

Barnes, 26 How. Pr. 174 (N.Y.S.Ct. 1863).

27 Amicus Curiae Manufacturing Chemists Association suggests

(p. 11) that trade secrets were recognized by the Romans, citing

Schiller, “Trade Secrets and the Roman Law; The Actio Servi

Corrupti”, 30 Colum. L.R. 837 (1930). Examination of the article

in question, however, reveals that this alleged “trade secret” pro-

tection consisted of certain police power type sanctions available

against third parties for corrupting a slave by bribery and the like.

; : : SERGIO EME TTR TR ra es

mone a See LASALLE OI ae BEN

TIES

20

is a right of natural law” (p. 7) and cites the 1602

decision in Darcy v. Allin*® as giving recognition to the

common law right of an inventor to practice his invention

secretly. Careful examination of that case and of the

section of Blackstone’s Commentaries cited (p. 7, n. 4)

to support the allegation reveal that these authorities,

viewed most favorably to the Association, recognized an

inventor’s common law right to maintain his invention in

secret rather than a right to practice in secret. The

distinction is material.

European, including English technology was for cen-

turies dominated by guilds and their “exclusive corpora-

tion” successors, each of which had absolute monopoly

power over an assigned segment of technology within a

given geographic area. If an inventor who was not a

member of a guild wished to practice his own invention,

he needed a patent—a license, as well as a temporary

monopoly, from the king—in order to do so.” Any secret

practice of an invention by a person not a guild member

would, absent a patent, infringe an existing guild monop-

oly and the result would have been fines and imprison-

ment for the secret practitioner, plus seizure and destruc-

tion of the involved goods.* As recognized in Deepsouth

28 Noy, Rep. 173; 74 Eng. Rep. 1131 (1602). This is the famous

case concerning the monopoly patent on playing cards, an old com-

mercial product, granted by Elizabeth I.

29 See infra 14a to 21a; see also the authorities therein cited.

One such authority, Prager, “A History of Intellectual Property

from 1545 to 1787”, 26 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y 711 (1944), reproduces

at p. 754 a part of the French edict of February 5, 1776 abolishing

the guilds as follows:

“.. . We want to abrogate those arbitrary institutions which

. .. retard the progress of the arts, by multiple difficulties put

in the way of an inventor; those guilds that dispute his right

to use a discovery never made by themselves. . . .”

30 The eventual nineteenth century implementation in England of

obligations of “confidentiality” in “trade secret’? technical informa-

tion is a bit ironic. England concurrently granted patent rights to

TL ATTEN I Ss BAN thems name

COI OAT ONES ata ES NE CS

21

Packing Co. v. Laitram Corp., 406 U.S. 518, 525-6 (1972)

“Under the [pre-Constitutional] common law the inventor

had no right to exclude others from making and using

his invention.” There was, hence, no “property right”

in an invention at common law in those times.

Consistent with its actual apparent nineteenth century

origin, one commentator has asserted that: *

“. . . The law protecting unpatented or unpat-

entable and uncopyrighted or uncopyrightable in-

tangible industrial property as ‘trade secrets’

evolved in the nineteenth century during the early

growth of industry in this country. The protection

afforded such intangible property was of course at

the expense of competing interests in individual

freedoms to thought and circulation of ideas, the

right to pursue any calling, the mobility of employ-

ees, and free competition, all interests reflected in

the Bill of Rights of our Constitution. The law of

trade secrets was a judicially created subsidy to

emerging industry at the expense of these interests.

This can be understood in the context of other sub-

sidies afforded industry by the law during that pe-

riod including the early sacrifice of the health and

welfare of workers as injuria absque damnum and

the strict limitations placed on tort remedies such as

nuisance against industrial offenders. Industry gen-

erally has been permitted to invade the public trust

without recourse. But, times have changed and they

have changed radically. Industry no longer needs

subsidization at the expense of other previous public

importers who obtained from others outside England by any means,

fair or foul, disclosures of new technology and then introduced them

into the realm. Thus as late as the early 19th century Englishmen

who “stole” so-called “secrets” outside England were rewarded—

yet those who “stole” them in England could be punished or en-

joined.

31 Kane, “Limitations on the Law of Trade Secrets” 53 J.Pat.

Off. Soc’y 162 (1971).

eT NBS ARE IEE NII TIE LCL LED TL TIE LO

22

interests reflected in the Constitution. Rather, it is

the individual freedoms to pursue any calling, of

mobility, of circulation of ideas, of free competition

and regimentation, which today need careful guard-

ing. ...” (Emphasis added).

In short, trade secret law was born of expediency. It

most assuredly was not born of “natural law”.

Indeed, the notion that natural law confers a “property

right” upon the creator or discoverer of any form of

information, irrespective of positive law recognition, finds

no support whatever in natural law ‘pallcoopay as origi-

nally promulgated.**

According to Machlup and Penrose,** who have traced

in detail its history, the “natural property right” concept

as applied to inventors was itself originated in a spirit

of expediency by the French politician De Bouffler™* as

a deliberate ruse to preserve patents from the strong

popular tide against privilege and monopoly and for

liberty and equality which dominated the French Con-

32 St. Thomas Aquinas, who is generally considered to be the

father of natural law philosophy, did not advocate any natural

property right in information. Nor did Aristotle, whose writings

are conceded to have heavily influenced Thomas Aquinas, make any

such suggestion.

33“The Patent Controversy in the 19th Century” 10 Journal

of Economic History 1, especially at 11-17 (1950).

34 Note 2, page 7 of the Brief Amicus of the Bar Association of

the District of Columbia, which suggests by truncated, out of ‘con-

text apparent quotation from an early article by Noah Webster that

he knew and espoused the concept in 1788, three years before De

Bouffler. Resort to American Magazine for February, 1788 reveals

no such statement as the quoted portio nof the note, though it does

show that Webster, who was editor of the magazine, made an im-

passioned editorial plea in quite different words for recognition of a

common law copyright. He said nothing about technical informa-

tion, inventions or patents, however.

ee ee ee ee ee ee gS ee ee ee a.) ee ee ee

ARIAT tANN: a

23

‘ stitutional Assembly in 1791.*° “It happens that those

who started using the word ‘property’ in connection with

inventions had a very definite purpose in mind: they

wanted to substitute a word with a respectable connota-

tion ‘property’ for a word that had an unpleasant ring

‘privilege’.” *°

Modern day adherents of the “natural property right”

of inventors in alleged trade secret technical information

appear, like De Bouffler, to be motivated by considera-

tions of expediency—their purpose being to find some

means by which constitutionally unpatentable technical

information can be protected as “property” so as to

permit exclusion ofothers on one pretext or another

from the use of the information.

35 The ruse was immediately successful. The French patent law

passed that year contained a preamble stating, inter alia, “that every

novel idea whose realization or development can become useful to

society belongs primarily to him who conceived it, and that it would

be a violation of the rights of man in their very essence if an in-

dustrial invention were not regarded as the property of its creator.”

Machlup and Penrose, supra, note 33 at 11.

36 Machlup et al note 33 supra at p. 14. Many proponents of

natural property rights in technical information argue in terms

of John Locke’s thesis that man has a natural right to the fruits

of his labor. The rationale is that the product of one’s labor, even

if an intangible such as technical information, must, therefore, be

recognized as one’s property.

The rationale breaks down because technical information, un-

like a tangible object, cannot be simultaneously exhibited to others

and retained within the sole domination and control of its originator.

Moreover, the nature of technical’ information is such that it may

be originated by a plurality of individuals at different times, with

the necessary result that it cannot be exclusive property of each or

any of them. As observed by Thomas Jefferson in 1813, “If nature

has made any one thing less susceptible than all others of exclu-

sive property, it is the action of the thinking power called an idea,

which an individual may exclusively possess as long as he keeps it

to himself; but the moment it is divulged, it forces itself into the

possession of everyone and the receiver cannot dispossess himself of

it.” Letter to Isaac McPherson, VI Writings of Thomas Jefferson

(Washington ed.) at p. 180 (1814).

24

Our Constitution originated under circumstances totally

inconsistent with the concept of a natural property right

in technical information.*' At least initially, many of the

founders of our nation, including Thomas Jefferson, were

opposed to monopolies of any sort including specifically

patents.** Nevertheless, it was ultimately agreed to au-

thorize a carefully limited patent system for the purpose

of promoting “Progress of Science and useful Arts” and

for no other purpose.” No record exists anywhere that

8? See the detailed discussion infra, p. 22a to 4la; see also

the authorities therein cited.

38 Thus Jefferson, writing to Madison from Paris on July 31, 1788,

observed that “saying there shall be no monopolies lessens the in-

citements to ingenuity, which is spurred on by the hope of a

monopoly for a limited time, as of 14 years; but the benefit even

of limited monopolies is too doubtful to be opposed to that of their

general suppression.” The Papers of Thomas Jefferson, Vol. XII, p.

440.

3° James Madison, one of the most active of the Constitutional

framers, responded to Jefferson, note 38 supra, in a letter of

October 17, 1788 that

“With regard to monopolies, they are justly classed among

the greatest nuisances in Government. But is it clear that, as

encouragements to literary works and ingenieus discoveries,

they are not too valuable to be wholly renounced? Would it not

suffice to reserve in all cases a right to the public to abolish

the privilege, at a price to be specified in the grant of it?

Is there not, also, infinitely less danger of this abuse in our

Governments than in most others? Monopolies are sacrifices of

the many to the few. Where the power is in the few, it is

natural for them to sacrifice the many to their own partialities

and corruptions. Where the power, as with us, is in the many,

not in the few, the danger cannot be very great that the few

will be thus favored. It is much more to be dreaded that the

few will be unnecessarily sacrificed to the many.” Letters

and Other Writings—Madison, Vol. I, 1769-98, p. 427.

In Madison’s parlance, trade secrets, which are “sacrifices of the

many to the few” are monopolies. Moreover, the usurpation in the

“few” of power over technology which trade secrets represent as

new. practiced in modern industry (supra, pp. 7 to 12) repre-

sents a very great danger to many individual liberties. See Kane

quoted supra at 21.

9s

suggests the Founding Fathers were aware of, discussed

or were in any way influenced by any concept of trade

secrets or that they ever recognized such a possibility as

an alternative to patents.“

Consonant with the limited power afforded it, Congress

promulgated a patent system, initially in 1790, and there-

after through a continuous chain of statutes. This Court

first considered and rejected the notion that the patent

system is based upon a natural right of inventors in

Pennock v. Dialogue, 27 U.S. 1, 16-17 (1829) and con-

cluded it to be solely a creature of positive law in which

the public interest, and not that of the inventor, was

paramount.*' The Court was careful to point out that

“the Constitution . . . contemplates . . . that this ex-

clusive right shall exist but for a limited period, and that

the period shall be subject to the discretion of Congress.

The Patent Act of the 21st of February, 1793, ch. 11,

prescribes the terms and conditions and manner of ob-

taining patents for invention; and proof of a strict com-

pliance with them lies at the foundation of the title ac-

quired by the patentee.” * |

Four years later in Shaw v. Cooper, 32 U.S. 390, 318

(1833), the Court again stressed that the exclusive right

*° See generally the voluminous historical documents relating to

the Constitutional Convention, including journals of its participants

included in House Document No. 398, 69th Cong., Ist Sess. and in

Farrand, “The Records of the Federal Convention of 1787.”

«1 This primacy of public interest is a fundamental cornerstone of

federal patent policy under the Constitution, from which this Court

has never departed. It has been reiterated most recently in Deep-

south Packing Co., supra, p. 21, 406 U.S. at 531. Trade secret

monopolies, of ceurse, invert the fundamental order of priorities

and for this additional reason are antagonistic to the patent system.

*2 The Court in Pennock also observed that “[i]t has not been,

and indeed cannot be, denied that an.inventor may abandon his in-

vention and surrender or dedicate it to the public. This inchoate

right, thus once gone cannot afterwards be resumed at his pleasure;

for, where gifts are once made to the public in this way, they

become absolute.” 27 U.S. 1, 16.

26

available under the patent laws, even though perhaps

justly deserved by inventors “can only be secured by a

substantial compliance with every legal requisite. His ex-

clusive right does not rest alone upon his discovery, but

also upon the sanctions which have been given to it and

the forms of law with which it has been clothed.” “

Similarly in Gayler v. Wilder, 51 U.S. 477, 494 (1850),

it was said that

“the discovery of a new useful improvement is vested

by law with an inchoate right to its exclusive use,

which he [the inventor] may perfect and make abso-

lute by proceeding in the manner which the law re-

quires... .

= * a *

Now, the monopoly granted to the patentee is for

one entire thing; it is the exclusive right of making,

using, and vending to others to be used, the im-

provement he has invented, and for which the power

is granted. The monopoly would not exist at com-

mon law and the rights, therefore, under it can not

be regulated by the rules of the common iaw. It is

created by the Act of Congress; and no rights can

be acquired in it unless authorized by statute and in

the manner the statute prescribes.”

To the same effect, the Court in Brown v. Duchesne

stated:

“But the right of property which a patentee has

in his invention, and his right to its exclusive use,

is derived altogether from these statutory provisions;

and this court has always held that an inventor has

no right of property in his invention, upon which he

can maintain a suit, unless he obtains a patent for

it, according to the Acts of Congress; and that his

rights are to be regulated and measured by these

** Unless otherwise stated, emphasis in quotations hereinafter

is added.

ENE LT NTA oC PET REPL NT PNT a ol ee: aa Sl RS Dente

27

laws, and cannot go beyond them.” 60 U.S. 183, 195

(1857).

Again, in Marsh v. Nichols, 127 U.S. 605 (1888 this

Court emphasized that:

| “ . . the patent for an invention conveys nothing

which the Government owns or its predecessors ever

owned. The invention is the product of the inventor's

brain, and if made known would be subject to the

use of any one, if that use were not secured to him.

Such security is afforded by the Act of Congress

when his priority of invention is established before

the officers of the Patent Office, and the patent is

issued. The patent is the evidence of his exclusive

right to the use of the invention; it therefore may

be said to create a property interest in that inven-

tion. Until the patent is issued there is no property

right in it, that is, no such right as the inventor

can enforce. Until then there is no power over its

use, which is one of the elements of a right of prop-

erty in anything capable of ownership. . . .”

Most recently in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S.

1 (1966), this Court as again reaffirmed that “/[t]he

patent monopoly was not designed to secure to the in-

ventor his natural right in his discoveries.”

Congress has itself clearly recognized that its power

to legislate as to patents is in no sense dependent upon

any alleged natural right of property in information.

Thus, in House Report No. 1494, 52nd Congress, First

Session, written as an incident to the codification of the

| patent statutes in 1894, it was stated that

|

“The object to be attained and the reason for the

constitutional grant of power are imbedded in the

grant itself. They are ‘to promote the progress of

science and the useful arts.’ There is nothing said

44 Compare the efforts of Kewanee in this case to maintain a suit

on the basis of “natural” or contractual property right.

¥

} .

SS oe REP IE ae ee se =e ree 3

28

about any desire or purpose to secure to the author

or inventor his ‘natural right to his property’. The

monopoly given him is avowedly given, not primarily

for his benefit, but for the benefit of society at large.

The claims made so often, especially of recent years,

that the author or inventor has a natural right to

the exclusive use of his production, and is therefore

entitled, as of course, to legislation securing to him

the full enjoyment of this right, does not seem to

have been specifically passed upon by the fathers;

but one thing is absolutely certain, they did not make

this. constitutional grant of power upon any such

ground. Much confusion of thought has arisen from

the assertion of this right as an innate, absolute

right existing in the individual, and a contempo-

raneous neglect to examine the limitation of the

power given in the premises to Congress.

“It is perhaps safe to say that for the past twenty

or thirty years no Committee on Patents has had an

existence which has not had the fortune to listen to

long and very interesting arguments claiming the

existence in the author or inventor of this right, and

the duty of Congress to give by legislative enact-

ment full and complete enjoyment of that right.

Whatever may be the correct conclusion as to the

existence of any such right, the duty of Congress is

measured by its power, and that power can be no

broader than the words conferring it.

“. . . It is sufficient to read the words of the grant

in their plain every-day meaning to discover that

the good of society was the only thing provided for,

or intended to be provided for. . . .” *

As well said by Mr. Justice Brandeis, dissenting, in

International News Service v. Associated: Press, 248 U.S.

215, 250 (1918):

«5 A second Congressional rejection, in much.the same language,

of the natural right argument, was made in connection with copy-

right legislation. See House Report No. 2222, 60th Congress, 2nd

Session (1909) at page 7.

29

. An essential element of individual property is

the “egal right to exclude others from enjoying it. If

the property is private, the right of exclusion may

be absolute; if the property is affected with a public

interest, the right of exclusion is qualified. But the

fact that a product of the mind has cost its producer

money and labor, and has.& value for which others

are willing to pay, is not sufficient to insure to it

this legal attribute of property.** The general rule

of law is, that the noblest of human productions—

knowledge, truths ascertained, conceptions, and ideas

—become, after voluntary communication to others,

free as the air to common use. Upon these incor-

poreal productions the attribute of property is con-

tinued after such communication only in certain

classes of cases where public policy has seemed to

demand it.” *

Essentially to the same effect Justice Holmes, con-

curring with the majority in the same case, said “[p]rop-

erty, a creation of law, does not arise from value, al-

though exchangeable—a matter of fact. Many exchange-

able values may be destroyed intentionally without com-

pensation. Property depends upon exclusion by law from

interference .. .” [248 U.S. at 246].

In short, property rights in technical information do

not arise simply in consequence of the expenditure of

#6 Tmportantly, this fact—i.e. that technical information costs

money and labor, and has a value for which others would be willing

to pay—is one of the bases advanced by petitioner and many of

its amici for protection of the trade secret “property’® rights denied

in the Court below. See infra, Section E,.p. 47.

47 The exceptions recognized in the immediately following passage

are those which are copyrightable and “the inventions and discov-

eries [constituting] . .. the few comprised within the patent law.”

In addition, Justice ‘Brandeis recognized cases in which courts

“interfere to prevent curtailment of plaintiff’s enjoyment of in-

corporeal productions” which are based upon “breach of contract

or of trust, or upon unfair competition” but gave no indication that

incorporeal productions already forfeited to the public could be

protected on any ground.

. 7 mepete oa? : ws aa alas

i bo , ‘¢

30

time, effort, labor or ingenuity; ** nor do they arise be-

cause the time, effort, labor and ingenuity required a

substantial financial outlay.*

D. THE CONSTITUTION AND FEDERAL LAW

PRECLUDE THE PERMANENT INJUNCTION SOUGHT

There being no “natural” property in intangibles such

as technical information, petiitioner’s claimed right to a

permanent injunction must sitand or fall on common or

statutory law of Ohio. The circumstance that there was

no common law right in trade secrets or inventions gen-

erally recognized prior to the adoption of the Constitu-

tion, suggests strongly the lack of basis for any argu-

ment that power to regulate trade secret rights being

48 This was recognized in English courts as early as 1571 in the

case of Matthey’s Patent for a particular kind of knife handle held

invalid on the ground that the cutlers’ guild had previously made

similar knives with a somewhat different type of handle and that

the change was within the ordimary skill of the art. The court

observed, inter alia, that “he could never have benefit from this

patent although he labored very greatly therein.” See Prager,

“Standards of Patentable Invention From 1474 to 1952,” 20 Uni-

versity of Chicago L.R. 69, 71-72 (1952) and authorities cited

therein.

49 Clearly only some financial outlays result in the acquisition of

property. Many others are made in exchange for services of one

sort or another including medical, legal, and accounting assistance,

personal grooming, household help, etc. Many such services can

be performed only through considerable expenditure of time, effort,

labor and ingenuity; yet no one argues that the product of these

services is “property” of any sort.

By far the major portion of research and development outlays

is payment for the services of trained personnel such as engineers,

chemists and the like who conduct the investigations. No reason

has been advanced for viewing the product of the services of these

people any differently from the product of the services of physi-

cians, dentists, lawyers, accountants, beauticians, barbers, maids or

waiters.

Seana ” LEE TENE BANE ARGS TREN PRET A LE RI OS ROR EE I LE NT EP BS NS “eR PR

31

“not given Congress was of course reserved to the

states.” °°

Rather, it seems clear on the fact of the Ninth (2a)

and Tenth (2a) Amendments to the Constitution that

any powers or rights not within the knowledge of the

people at the time the Constitution was adopted, were

intended to be reserved to the people under the Tenth

Amendment or retained by them under the Ninth Amend-

ment at least until expressly delegated to state or federal

government. Any other interpretation would be in direct

derogation of the sovereignty of the people, perhaps the

most basic tenet of our particular form of government.

There is no pretense here of an express reference to

trade secrets in the Constitution of Ohio—and this is

understandable inasmuch as Ohio had been a state well

before the emergence of the trade secret concept. Never-

theless the lack of in haec verba mention of trade secrets

in the earlier federal Constitution is urged by, petitioner’s

amici to be significant to show an intention! not to pre-

empt trade secret law at the federal level.

In short, the intent of the Constitutional framers as

to trade secrets was non-existent and questions of that

5° The quotation is from the brief amicus curiae of the Licensing

Executives Society, pp. 49-50; see also e.g. the brief amicus of the

Manufacturing Chemists’ Association, pp. 20-22; brief amicus of

Burroughs Corp., pp. 19-23 and the brief amicus of the Bar Asso-

ciation of the Distirct of Columbia, pp. 9-10. As to the latter, it

should be noted that the powers of both state and federal govern-

ments, under our system of government, were delegated by the

people. Hence, it is immaterial, even if correct, that “the states

did not delegate any power to regulate rights in secret inventions,”

(id. at 9). It seems fair to suggest, moreover, that the people

never delegated to either state or federal governments the full

power to regulate “secret inventions’”—hence the dicta in some

cases, e.g. United States v. Dubilier Condenser Corp., 289 U.S. 178

(1933) regarding an inventor’s privilege (rather than enforceable

right) only to keep his invention secret, i.e., to refrain from telling

it to anyone if he so chooses.

SSA RNA 2 PS MEN A eT ha Pee 5 = Swany onal =

32

intent are relevant here only insofar as they demonstrate

the meaning of the patent laws and the constitutionally

guaranteed right of every citizen to pursue a trade or

business and thereby show conflict with Ohio law.

1. Preemption by the Patent Clause and Statutes

Grants by the states of exclusionary rights in science

and useful arts which have the net effect of retarding or

even stifling progress are, regardless of purpose, in the

teeth of the Constitutional mandate for promotion of

progress in these fields. Hence, to the extent that Con-

gress exercises its patent power no state may engage in

activities that are contrary to, or otherwise designed to

frustrate, the federal action taken.

a. Patent Policies

For example, the constitutional patent clause contains

a mandatory minimum level standard of invention which

must be. met before a valid patent can issue.™

51 See infra, 5a to 50a. For the states to grant de facto mo-

nopolies under the “trade secret” label in technical information

which falls short of the high constitutional standard of invention

is in the teeth of the patent power and in derogation of Fourteenth

Amendment guarantees that every citizen is entitled to pursue an

ordinary calling (37a to 4la, infra). Hence the suggestion in Adel-

man “Secrecy and Patenting: Some Proposals for Resolving the

Conflict”, 1 APLA Quarterly Journal 296 (1973) that the decision

below be implemented only in regard to “patentable” inventions and

the states be permitted to grant trade secret protection to technical

information falling below the constitutional standard of invention,

flies in the face of constitutional strictures. In addition, the sug-

gestion would be cumbersome to implement.

In line with the “notorious difference” between Patent Office

and court strictness of application of patentability tests which

this Court referred to in Graham, supra, n. 10, “[i]t is now a

truism . . . that if you sit around the Patent Office long enough,

and change your claims often enough, you will eventually get some

kind of a patent on almost anything”. M. Shapiro, “The Supreme

Court and Administrative Agencies”, The Free Press (New York

1968) p. 189. Most patents are found invalid, if litigated—but

a — os

33

Similarly, the constitutional patent clause was drafted

at a time when the idea of a written specification was

very new.

The earliest patents for inventions, including new im-

portations, granted in England and the Italian city states

preceded the introduction of the printing press in Europe.

In those early times and continuing for more than two

centuries subsequent to its adoption, dissemination of

technical information by the written word was extremely

rare. The accepted fact was that an “inventor” (includ-

ing an importer) made his invention public by introduc-

ing it into commercial use.** While the notion of a writ-

ten patent specification appeared in England, spontane-

ously, about the middle of the seventeenth century, Eng-

land had no statute requiring the submission of a written

litigation is time-consuming and expensive and should not be a

requisite to determining whether the rationale below applies.

See also generally Weissman, “Testimony Before the Senate Judi-

ciary Committee, Subcommittee on Patents, Trademarks, and Copy-

rights, Relating to S. 1321 (Hart bill)”, 55 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y 604

(1973) wherein administrative pressures to issue ever increasing

numbers of lower and lower quality patents are quite fully and

candidly exposed.

52 See Federico, “Origin and Early History of Patents’, 11 J.Pat.

Off. Soc’y 292 (1927) which states at p. 304 that

“The consideration of the patent grant was the creation of

a new industry and, as has already been noted, knowledge was

given to the public by the actual establishment of the industry

and, in some cases, by the teaching of apprentices. The pat-

ents in general contained no description, either in writing or

by a drawing, and such description did not seem to have been

necessary. The change to a requirement of a formal written

disclosure, or specification was gradual. A few of the early

seventeenth century patents contained a description of the in-

vention and the custom of presenting a specification increased

with time. These specifications were made solely on the pat-

entee’s initiative and for the purpose of making the scope of

their grants more certain.”

34

specification until 1852,°* well after the promulgation in

this country of the various general patent laws of 1790,

1793 and 1836, each of which required a full and com-

plete written description analogous in every respect to

that required by present 35 U.S.C. 112."

Thus, to a point in time not long before the Constitu-

tion was adopted, commercial use of an invention was

definitely synonymous with making it public. There is

no indication that the requirement, in the first and sub-

sequent United States patent laws, for a written specifi-

cation was intended to change this state of affairs. Per

contra, there is every indication that this was based upon

a desire to “promote’ progress” by disseminating written

information quickly and freely. As one writer has sug-

gested, the intent of the constitutional patent clause and

the patent laws which implemented it “was to encourage

domestic invention, but the actual commercial introduc-

53 See Bugbee, “Genesis of American Patent and Copyright Law”

Washington Public Affairs Press (1967) at p. 41.

54 One of the vices of the “trade secret” concept as espoused by

petitioner and its amici is that an inventor often submits to the

Patent Office a specification couched in vague generalities, includ+

ing a detailed description of a few crude early experiments and

obtains a patent, while, at the same time, withholding from the

Patent Office the “know-how” requisite to actual commercial prac-

tice of the invention. Such deliberate withholding of information

requisite to apprise the public of precisely how to make and use

the invention under 35 U.S.C. 112 is a specific ground for invalidity

of a patent under the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 282. However, it is

difficult for the Patent Office, lacking machinery to compel disclo-

sure of evidence, including even subpoena power, to police the

completeness of the specification effectively. It is noted that on the

order of 70 to 75 per cent of litigated patents are held invalid in

the courts, many at least in part on grounds of deficiency under

35 U.S.C. 112.

The fact that many patent owners use trade secret law to “pro-

tect” know-how outside the patent laws in derogation of 35 U.S.C.

112, is the subject of comment by Doerfer in “The Limits of

Trade Secret Law Imposed by Federal Patent and Antitrust Su-

premacy,” 80 Harvard L.R. 1482, 1442-4 (1967).

Sainte SRP EA RENNER OLED EL ELLIO LE DOLLA LS

35

tion of the invention was left to business enterprise. It

was not intended to require that the inventive thought

should be withheld until the inventor could incorporate

it in actual manufacture. The intent was to bring about

publicity of the ideas as soon as possible as an incentive

for others to improve thereon and to stimulate and ad-

vance the useful arts,” *

Decisions of this Court are consistent with the sug-

gestion that the written specification was not intended

to ‘supplant commercial use as a means of introducing

technology to the public, but was intended as a stimulant

to early disclosure.

One of this Court’s earliest patent decisions, Pennock

v. Dialogue, supra, p. 25, clearly expresses the principle

that deliberate forfeiture by the inventor of the inchoate

right to a patent constitutes a gift to the public.”

55 See Michel, A.J., “Historical Development of Principal Patent .

Systems,” (page 19), a thesis available in the Library of Congress

-D under Card No. T215M43. ~

56 Pointedly there is no evidence that it was intended to so qualify

the history of centuries as to place technical information in the

public domain via commercial use only if completely disclosed by

the marketed product, thereby giving rise to that hypocrisy of

modern patent law—the “secret public use”. See e.g. the brief

amicus of Manufacturing Chemists Association, p. 30-31; P. Br.

. 28-32.

Note in this connection the fact that, as pointed out by Adelman

supra, note 51, recognition of a protectable “trade secret” in

commercially used technology where the product sold or used

does not reveal the “secret” would result in an arbitrary, unfair

and random classification among proprietors of technology as to

who would be eligible for protection and who would not.

57 See the language quoted in note 42 supra. Pennock is cited in

Metallizing Engineering Co. v. Kenyon Bearing & Auto Parts Co.,

153 F.2d 516 (2 Cir. 1946)—a case heavily relied on by petitioner

(P. Br. 29-30)—as supportive of the conclusion that a use can be

both commercial and secret but the real thrust of Pennock is that

commercial use of technical information was at that time, as ear-

lier, understood to constitute a gift to the public absent timely

steps to acquire a patent.

5 ‘ . - — ee teas

EE ————EE PS EE EE ur s es

36 .

The same thought appears clearly in the quotation

from Kendall v. Windsor, 62 U.S. 322 (1858) relied upon

by the court below in its decision in this case (478 F.2d

at 1082; Pet./ Al4).

In Consolidated Frat Jar Co. v. Wright, 94 U.S. 92

(1877), this Court squarely held that commercial use

in excess of the statutory period without filing a timely

patent application results in an unqualified gift to the

public, and hence places the pertinent technology within

the public domain.

As this Court put it:

“Inventors are a meritorious class. They are pub-

lic benefactors. They add to the wealth and comfort

of the community, and promote the progress of civi-

lization. A patent for an invention is as much prop-

erty as a patent for land. The right rests on the

same foundation, and is surrounded and protected

by the same sanctions. There is a like larger domain

held in ownership to the public. Neither an indi-

vidual nor the public can trench upon or appropriate

what belongs to the other. The inventor must comply

with the conditions prescribed by law. If he fails

to do this he acquires no title, and his invention or

discovery, no matter what it may be, is lost to him,

and is henceforward no more his than if he had

never been in anywise connected with it. Jt is made,

thereupon, as it were by accretion, irrevocably a

part of the domain which belongs to the community

at large. The invention here in question is within

this category.” *

58. Amicus the Bar Association of the District of Columbia relies

on the 6-3 decision in Gayler v. Wilder, 51 U.S. 477 (1850) to

allege that this Court has recognized “interplay of common [trade

secret] law and patent law” (Br. 11) by holding an alleged “secret

public use” not to defeat a later applied for patent. But as the ©

amicus is forced to admit (p. 11) the question of the possible

ii a - bas PUFA SFP ES

ELT ILE ELE I I I Ha TM TE I -

pees

37

As petitioner somewhat backhandedly recognizes (P.

Br. 30-31), Egbert ¥. Lippmann, 104 U.S. 333 (1881)

and Hall v. Macneale, 107 U.S. 90 (1882) are consistent

with Consolidated Fruit Jar. Both Hall and Smith &

' Griggs Mfg. Co. v. Sprague, 123 U.S. 141 (1887), which

follows Hall specifically rejected the notion that elements

“hidden from view” as an incident to commercial use

are “secret”.

See also Corona Cord Tire Co. v. Dovan Chemical

Corp., 276 U.S. 610 (1927) where automobile tire inner

tubes cured with diphenylguanidine—a fact not discern-

ible by inspection of the tubes—which were used publicly

by a third party more than the then two year grace

period prior to the patent application, were persuasive

on the question of dedication to the public.

Against this array of authority petitioner and its

amici rely on later lower court decisions,* none of which

reached this Court, to insist that a “public use” may be

so conducted as to reserve “trade secret” rights in the

user. These cases include Macbeth-Evans Glass Co. Vv.

General Electric Co., 246 F. 695 (6 Cir. 191% ; Metalliz-

ing cited supra, n. 57, and Huszar v. Cincinnati Chemi-

cal Works, 172. F.2d 6 (6 Cir. 1949). Notably,

not one of them is concerned with whether a perpetual

injunction-may issue to aid a putative inventor in re-

serving to himself a “secret’’ in technology used com-

dedicatory effect of the use was not argued in Gayler—and the

later decision in Consolidated Fruit Jar is in any event controlling.

Consolidated also clearly demonstrates error in Mine Safety Ap-

pliances Co. V. Electric Storage Battery Co., 405 F.2d 901 (CCPA

1969) cited and quoted by petitioner (p. 28) by making clear that

patent laws operate automaticolly to force technical information

into the public domain on the happening of statutorily defined

events.

59 See P. Br. 28-32; brief amicus of MCA, 29-31; brief amicus

of American Patent Law Association 6-7.

38

mercially for more than one year.® Rather, all find that

the commercial use whether or not embodying an alleged

“secret” bars a patent. Logic would seem to compel that

the same commercial use in excess of the grace period of

35 U.S.C. 102(b) (3a) would equally bar issuance of an

injunction to enforce what Metallizing refers to as “prac-

tical monopoly by means of secrecy.” (153 F.2d at 519).

In opposition to logic, petitioner and its amici advert

to this Court’s alleged recognition of a right to hold

information “secret. But the language quoted is in

every instance dictum and when read ‘in context suggests

only that a self-styled inventor is not under a legal com-

pulsion to obtain a patent or to make a public disclosure

of any kind. As said in Bates v. Coe, 98 U.S. 31, 45-6

(1878) “Inventors may, if they can keep their inventions

secret. . . .” There is no suggestion anywhere in this

-Court’s decisions of a legally protectable right to secrecy

in technology much less a holding that the law will aid

and abet one who claims “secrets” in unpatented and

unpatentable technology in obvious frustration of the con-

stitutional patent policy favoring free circulation of

ideas,“ by enjoining others from competitively using those ~

~ “secrets”.

In sum, this Courts’ pertinent decisions are overwhelm-

ingly to the effect that the forfeitures effected by the

*° Macbeth-Evans was decided under R.S. 4886 when the bar

period was two years and the principle otherwise unchanged.

* See e.g. P. Br. 42-43.

® Significantly Becher v. Contoure Laboratories, Inc., 279 U.S.

388 (1929) (P.Br. 43) involved a suit to compel assignment to the

true inventor’s corporate assignee of a patent which the inventor’s

co-worker wrongfully obtained in his own name and would not be

in any way affected by affirmance of the decision below. Neither,

insofar as the opinions show would the actu holdings in United

States v. Dubilier Condenser Corp., supra, note 50, or Dr. Miles

Medical Co. v. John D. Park & Sons Co., 220 U.S. 373 (1911)

heavily relied on at P. Br. 42-3. :

=

39

patent laws—whether as a consequence of patent expira-

tion, patent invalidity ™ or failure to file a timely ap-

plication when coupled with commercial use in excess of

the statutory grace period “—are automatic and depend

not upon what the public actually knows but upon what

the public has a free right to use, known or unknown.

b. Reasons for Preemption

Petitioner and its amici nonetheless suggest “ the power

of the states to be coextensive with that of the federal

® See Brulotte v. Thys, supra, note 19; Scott ee: Co. V.

Marcalus Mfg. Co., 326 U.S. 249 (1946).

* E.g. Lear, Inc. v. Adkins, 395 U.S. 653 (1969) ; Sears, Roebuck

& Co. v. Stiffel Co., 376 U.S. 225 (1964) ; Compco Corp. v. Day-Brite

Lighting, Inc., 376 U.S. 234 (1964).

65 Supra, pp. 35 to 37.

** Petitioner and its amici seem to suggest that so long as a pro-

- prietor of technology has a “secret he must receive some qu

pro quo in the way of protection to part with it. But the reward

afforded by the patent laws is not at all for giving up a right to

keep technology secret, but for timely disclosure of an invention

beneficial to society. Beginning with the 1790 patent act, the in-

ventor has always been required to disclose his invention in ex-

change for a chance of reward rather than a guarantee of reward,

consistent with the éonstitutionally mandated policy that the public

interest, not the inventor’s, is paramount.

“To approximately 1879, the applicable rules of the Patent Office

routinely made abandoned patent application disclosures publicly

available. Even today abandoned and, sometimes, pending patent

application disclosures are publicly available in a plurality of situ-

ations where no “reward” for the disclosure is given. For example,

European countries including those with patent registration sys-

tems where patents issue virtually immediately require that the

United States counterpart application be supplied as a basis for

claiming a priority right under tht Paris Convention and in such

cases, a copy of the United States application becomes promptly.

available from the foreign patent office. For another example,

abandoned applications mentioned in issued patents are routinely

available.

6 E £. P. Br. 37-40; brief amicus of the Chamber of Com-

merce 8-12; brief amicus of MCA 32-35.

40

government to protect technical information within the

scope of 35 U.S.C. § 101 and argue that, federal and

state objectives being different, there is no reason why

“patent” powers cannot coexist in the same manner as

state and federal copyright laws under Goldstein v.

California, 412 U.S. 546. (1973).

There are several answers to this position. One is that

regardless of possible differences in objectives, the results

of concurrent patent and trade secret “property” protec-

tion within the scope of 35 U.S.C. § 101 are overlapping

and disparate, with the trade secret protection being in

frustration of patent policies.

Another is that Goldstein itself recognizes and reaf-

firms the preemptive effect of the patent laws vis-a-vis

state unfair competition laws—and “trade secrets” are,

after all, just one variety of unfair competition (P.

Br. 46). .

Still another is that Goldstein relates to copyrights

which are narrow and unique rights, protective only

against copying, and not infringed by another’s original

_ ereation of even a closely related work. The patent on

the other hand is an absolute monopoly over a segment

of technology which prevents others from engaging in its

use in any way. State and federal copyright collisions

&8 See Fox, “Monopolies and Patents”, (Toronto 1947) at pp. 14-15

where it is stated: —

“. . . If an independent author arrives at the same results

by independent means, the copyright owner has no right to

prevent to that extent the invasion of his monopoly. The dif-

ference between the monopoly conferred by patent and by

copyright will be immediately perceived. If it could be shown,

as a matter of fact, that two precisely similar works were in

fact produced wholly independently of one another, the author

of the work published first would not be entitled to restrain

the publication by the other author of that author’s independ-

ent original work. What is given is the merely negative right

to prevent the appropriation of the labours of an author by

41

are hence easily avoidable—but state and federal patent

collisions with both operating inside the scope of 35 U.S.C.

$ 101 would be inevitable. Hence, federal law necessarily

governs pursuant to the Supermacy clause (la) and the

conflicting state law is void. See Sears and Compco,

supra, note 64. :

The fact that some state patents were granted in the

years prior to the Constitution as pointed out in Gold-

stein, supra, is not, as petitioner argues (n. 7, pp. 25-26)

supportive of a present right in the states to grant

“patents” or other exclusionary property rights within the

scope of 35 U.S.C. 101. Congress in the Patent Act of

1793 ° specifically conditioned the right to a federal

patent in the very same subject matter area now defined

by § 101 * for a previously state-protected invention upon

the relinquishment of the state patent and thus made clear

an intent to preempt the field absolutely. Failure of sub-

sequent patent acts to deal with the matter can, no doubt,

be attributed to the fact that inventors ceased seeking

state grants after the federal patent laws became ef-

fective."

another. A patent right, on the other hand, is quite different.

The monopoly is absolute, and once an inventor has complied

with the provisions of the Patent Act, and a valid patent has

issued to him, he can prevent the exercise of that invention

by anyone else who has, quite in the belief that he was ac-

tually inventing something new, and without knowledge of the

patentee’s patent, invented the same thing, even simultaneously

with the patentee.”

* 1 Stat. 318 § 7.

701 Stat. 318 § 1; see also the Reviser’s note to present 35 U.S.C.

§ 101. .

™ None of the states had established procedures governing the

manner of applying for a patent—hence, it was necessary for an

inventor to make a separate petition to and meet with the legisla-

ture in each state, a time consuming, cumbersome and expensive

undertaking. No doubt this was one of the reasons why Madison

noted in The Federalist Papers, No. 43, that “The States cannot

. . . Separately make effectual] provision for .. .” patents.

, —_— — Te

mio gett Piper ee acne onan rar egmecanserrne ogee one

: 42

Patents, unlike copyrights, are also powerful instru-

ments of interstate commerce. As the Court recognized

in Blonder-Tongue Laboratories v. University of Illinois

Foundation, 402 U.S. 313, 346 (1971), the circumstances

obtaining under prior law when a patent had been held

invalid as to ene manufacturer but was presumed valid

as to all others tended to promote artificial marketing and

pricing inequalities and to interfere with the free com-

petitive policy of the antitrust laws. For the states to

compete among themselves and with the federal govern-

ment in the grant of exclusionary rights in subject matter

defined by 35 U.S.C. § 101(3a) is hence to derogate the

exclusivity of federal interstate commerce power ™ and to

disrupt significantly the effectiveness of federal policies

promulgated under that — such as that expressed

in the antitrust laws.

Another compelling reason why the power to grant ex-

clusionary rights within the scope of the 35 U.S.C. 101

subject matter definition is and must be confined to the

operation of federal patent law, is the preeminent right

under the Fifth (la) and Fourteenth (2a) Amendments

to the Constitution (37a to 41a) of every citizen to utilize

his own talents and skills in the pursuit of a trade or

calling.** This right has a necessary interaction with the

patent laws, as explicated, infra, 37a to 47a. The para-

mount interest of society is in preserving the rights of all

citizens in the free use of their own skills and talents—

a goal which would be undermined by indiscriminate

patent grants or other grants of “property” in technology.

The federal patent laws, by strictly defining criteria for

patentable invention that neither interfere with the free

circulation of technical information generally nor with its

free use in pursuit of an ordinary trade or calling, co-

72 Gibbons Vv. Ogden, 22 U.S. 1 (1824).

73 Allgeyer Vv. Louisiana, 165 U.S. 578, 589-90 (1886) quoted

infra, 38a; Greene Vv. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474 (1959).

-

LVS ee ee ae 2¢Agogi ss

ibs, Saw >

43

operate with the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments. Ex-

ercise by the states of competing powers based upon com-

peting and subsidiary policy objectives would be detri-

mental to the preservation under the patent laws of the

constitutionally mandated individual rights. For a more

detailed discussion of these rights as they have been

explicated by this Court and the manifest relationship

between the preservation of these rights and the strict

maintenance of the constitutional standard for patenable

invention, see, infra, 37a to 41a.

In its exercise of the patent power, Congress has been

careful not to disturb objectives and policies dictated by

- other constitutional mandates. The complex interplay of .

Sh AGA LI Be

the patent system with federal antitrust policy under the

commerce clause and with society’s goal, committed to

federal supervision, of preserving rights of individual

citizens inter alia, in their use of their talents and skill

in pursuit of a trade or calling is a matter of such deli-

cate balance that intervention by the states in furtherance

of secondary policy objectives could not be countenanced.

Congress having preempted the grant of property rights

in technical information defined by 35 U.S.C. 101, the

states may not make conflicting grants."

2. Considerations Affecting Preemption Arising

Solely Under the Commerce Clause

Some of petitioners’ amici have stressed the alleged im-

portance and even necessity to international commerce

and to the United States balance of payments position in

7 The question of whether the states may take action to protect

inchoate property rights in technical information otherwise de-

fined by 35 U.S.C. 101 during the period when an invention is

being completed, a patent application filed and that application

examined in the Patent Office, is not within the scope of this case.

There is accordingly no intention herein to intimate one way or

another what judgment should be made on that question at such

time as it is properly presented in another case.

wi VSI e RAL CUE ee

seyret <i HE SAINT OPAL TR PS PRM _

44

world markets of preserving state trade secret “property

rights” in subject matter defined by 35 U.S.C. 101."

United States patent law and policy is, of course, ir-

relevant to foreign commerce because, as this Court has

repeatedly held, United States patents have no extraterri-

torial effect.**

Power over foreign commerce, however, is exclusively

the province of the federal government under the Com-

merce clause (la). We know of no basis—and peti-

tioners’ amici suggest none—pursuant to which individual

trade secret policies of the states could be validated as a

means for fostering foreign commerce in direct deroga-

tion of an exclusive federal power in which the states,

pursuant to the Supremacy clause (la), may not in-

termeddle.

Hence, to the extent that the trade secret “property”

here in issue is sought to be justified as a spur to

foreign commerce, the argument must be rejected, and the

matter left to such future legislative action as Congress

may elect to take."

3. Considerations Affecting Preemption Arising Solely

Under the Fifth and Fourtheenth Amendments.

The question of whether the state of Ohio may per-

manently enjoin respondents in this case from the use of

75 See e.g., the amicus briefs of the Chamber of Commerce,

especially at pp. 25-26 and 35; the Association for Advancement

of Invention and Innovation (p. 7); the Licensing Executives

Society (App. A., p. 92); Southwire Company (p. 4); Optical

Coating Laboratory, Inc. (p. 8) and Rohr Industries, Inc. (pp. 7-9).

76 See Brown v. Duchesne, supra, p. 26 at 195; see also Deep-

south Packing Co. v. The Laitram Corp., supra, p. 21.

7? In fairness, we do not understand that the record of this case

really raises any question directly relevant to foreign commerce

considerations. Hence, the Court should not in any event rest its

decision here on such considerations.

45

the alleged trade secret “property” in issue is one which,

independently of the patent power and its exercise, must

be examined for repugnance of the state law-authorized

injunction to the property right of every citizen, arising

under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments, to utilize

fully his own talents and skills in pursuit of a lawful

trade or calling.

In Greene Vv. McElroy, supra, note 73, this Court

was faced with the question of whether arbitrary

revocation of a security clearance without affording the

injured person an opportunity to cross-examine his ac-

cusers or confront the adverse evidence, was a valid ex-

ercise of federal administrative power in the circum-

stance that the employee was seriously prejudiced in his

ability to pursue his lawful calling and to earn his living.

This Court, having due regard to “the right to hold

specific private employment and to follow a chosen pro-

fession free from unreasonable governmental interference,

[which] comes within the ‘liberty’ and ‘property’ concepts

of the Fifth Amendment,” ** held the arbitrary administra-

tive action to be unjustified.** The facts show that by the

loss of the secret clearance on an arbitrary basis, Greene,

an aeronautical engineer of considerable experience, was

“formally barred from pursuit of many aspects of his

profession, given the current dependence of most phases

of the aircraft industry on Defense Department contracts,

not only for production but for research and develop-

ment work as well... .” 360 U.S. at 492, n. 21. While

the present record contains no facts to show the precise

injury to respondents if the permanent injunction issued,

it is predictable that in this day of intensive technological

specialization, persons like respondents who have devoted

78 360 U.S. at 492.

7?In so doing the Court cited, inter alia, Allgeyer, supra, note

73, thus giving tacit recognition to the same right which arises

under the Fourteenth Amendment and is hence binding on the

states.

BR LAE EL FOREN A ESSE AT RRR GEE, EF NTT ELT IRIE PI BE ASI ET

46

a considerable period of their lifetimes to research and

development in a specific narrow field—here the produc-

tion of the crystals which are the subject of the “trade

secret property” in issue—would be injured if curtailed

in their freedom to continue their studies in this area

utilizing all of the skills necessarily nurtured during the

period of their employment by petitioner.

If the federal government, with legitimate national

security interests to protect, may not freely injure a citi-

zen incident the pursuit of his lawful calling, logic de-

mands that a private corporation having only its own

individual financial “security” interests to protect, can-

not freely erect barriers, in the guise of trade secret

“property” or otherwise, to the pursuit by a former em-

ployee of his lawful calling. Particularly not, moreover,

when the “property” is of a nature such that the right

to a patent thereon has been forfeited, so that the public

policy of the patent laws is subverted.

While the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendment property

rights of every citizen in the use of his own skills and

talents to pursue a lawful calling is often not per se

mentioned in the cases, these rights seem to be the under-

lying rationale for the recognition of the concept of ‘free

mobility of employees.”

At least some state courts have recognized the Four-

teenth Amendment imperative," but these state court

8° See generally in this connection Wilson v. Clarke, 470 F.2d

1218, 1221-2 (1 Cir. 1972); Maloney v. E.J. duPont De Nemours &

Co., 352 F.2d 936, 939 (D.C. Cir. 1965) ; E.W. Bliss Co. v. Struthers-

Dunn, Inc., 408 F.2d 1108 ,1112-13 (8 Cir. 1969) ; see also generally

Blake, “Employer Agreements Not To Compete” 73 Harvard: L.R.

265 (1960).

81 E.g., Levine v. E. A. Johnson & Co., 237 P.2d 309 (Ct. App.

Cal. 1951); Continental Car-Na-Var Corp., v. Moseley, 148 P.2d

9 (Sup. Ct. Cal. 1944); Paraco, Inc. v. Owens, 333 P.2d 360

(Ct. App. Cal. 1959).

47

and lower federal courts as» well *—have most often un-

fortunately done so in context of an effort to “balance”

the rights of the individual employee against the financial

interests of the corporate employer.

The role of the Constitution in our scheme of govern-

ment, coupled with elemental justice, requires that the

basic Fifth and Fourteenth Amendment rights of the in-

dividual citizen be held paramount to the financial in-

terests of corporate employers and hence in this case

that the permanent injunction be refused on grounds

of non-compliance with Fifth and Fourteenth Amendment

guarantees.

E. TRADE SECRET “PROPERTY” IN TECHNOLOGY

—A NECESSARY INCENTIVE TO CONDUCT

RESEARCH??

Petitioner and its amici argue that the recognition of

“property” rights in trade secrets by the states is neces-

Sary as an incentive to the investment of risk capital in

research and development.*

This argument is not new. It is one of the most over-

worked cliches of apologists for drastically denigrated

criteria for patentability. Notably, the same argument

was presented over and over again to Congress at hear-

ings held May 11, 12 and 13, 1971 before the Senate

Subcommittee on Patents, Trademarks and Copyrights in

an effort to justify relaxed patentability criteria, de

82 See the cases cited supra, note 80; see also e.g. Winston Re-

search Corp. Vv. Minnesota Mining & Mfg. Co., 350 F.2d 134 (9

Cir. 1965).

83 This theme appears throughout the briefs filed on petitioner’s

behalf but is perhaps most markedly advanced by the Chamber of

Commerce, the Manufacturing Chemists Association, Burroughs,

Rohr, Optical Coating Laboratories, the Licensing Executives

Society and the Association for the Advancement of Invention and

Innovation.

48

facto removal of patents from the ambit of antitrust

laws, and non-preemption by federal law of state con-

tractual and trade secret concepts. It was made by some

of the same amici and counsel who are now before the

Court, including the Electronic Industries Association, an

amicus for petitioner, by Edward J. Brenner, now Di-

rector of the Association for Advancement of Invention

and Innovation, an amicus here; the American Patent

Law Association, an amicus here and the Department of

Commerce—which, albeit not an amicus in this case, is

liberally quoted in the brief amicus of the Chamber of

Commerce.

The same argument—in support of relaxed criteria for .

patentability—was earlier made at hearings before the

Subcommittee on May 17 and 18, 1967 by Tom Arnold,

counsel here signing the brief of the Licensing Executives

. Society, one of petitioner’s amici. To date, the argument

has not prompted legislative action.

Quite apart from the fact that the argument has be-

come a very tired one, no evidence has ever been pre-

sented in any forum, judicial or legislative, to support it.

Moreover, it seems contrary to the findings of those who

have studied the problem. For example, “The Impact

of the Patent System on Research”, Study #11, Subcom-

mittee on Patents, Trademarks and Copyrights, Com-

mittee on the Judiciary, United States Senate 85th Con-

gress, 2nd Session (1958), by Professor Seymour Melman

of Columbia University concluded that

“There is nothing to indicate that the absence of

the patent system would diminish the scope or char-

acter of scientific research in the universities. In-

deed, insofar as patent pressures were removed from

university scientists, this would probably. strengthen

the universities as producers of science and tech-

nology. Moreover, business expenditures for research,

in the estimate of this writer, would not be appre-

ee ee

49

ciably diminished by the elimination of opportunities

for claiming patent rights. It is true that in the ab-

sence of patenting, some of the characteristics of

individual research might be revised. Competitive

pressures along product and production cost lines,

that now impel the expansion of industrial research

outlays would, however, continue to be operative.”

(p. 56).

Professor Melman particularly noted also that in 1940,

Charles Kettering testified before the Temporary Na-

tional Economic Committee and acknowledged that the

sheer force of competition in the automobile industry

would probably require General Motors, of which he was

then Vice-President in Charge of Research, to continue

to fully operate its industrial laboratories even if’ there

were no patent laws. Professor Melman further showed

in his investigation that industrial research budgets and

scope of research activities at both the American Tele-

phone and Telegraph Company and the IBM Corporation

were programmed for expansion in the years immediately

subsequent to the antitrust consent degrees entered against

both firms in January 1956, requiring them “to make

available to other firms many thousands of patents as

well as related technical knowledge, either at reasonable

rate of royalty or on a free basis altogether.” (Id. p.

52). Professor Melman suggested that “the growth of

product competition and competition for production cost

reduction, account for the general expansion of the in-

dustrial research activity” (id. p. 53), and keep busi-

nesses under pressure to maintain and expand their re-

search and development activities, regardless of property

rights in information.

The September, 1973 report, “Barriers to Innovation

in Industry: Opportunities for Public Policy Changes”,

prepared for the National Science Foundation by Arthur

D. Little, Inc. and Industrial Research Institute, Inc.

expresses the view that “innovation is impeded by two

ACh TM TE NE GEE NIALL IG PILE LEN IE LE’ LIE LAEE ELDRED LEME LOLOL LP OLEOLEL LEO AGS SEO RES

50 4

types of barriers which are related to financial matters”

(p. 20)—(1) lack of funds for development, new plant

facilities and start up and (2) uncertainty about payout

on invested funds. It indicates that the ideas proposed

by the participants in the study—consisting of a carefully

structured sample of twenty-four firms, covering a num-

ber of industrial sectors (p. 2)—suggested that the fi-

nancial barriers to innovation might best be alleviated

by one or more of (a) specially negotiated depreciation

allowances, b) income tax reduction and (c) cost. sharing

on major developmental costs. Importantly, none of the

firms suggested the use of decreased patentability stand-

ards or increased trade secret “property” protection as

the solution to promoting investment in research and de-

velopment.*

Comparison of this study with previous testimony be-

fore the Senate Patent, Trademark and Copyright Sub-

committee (supra, p. 48) and the arguments of peti-

tioners’ amici here suggests that patent lawyers gen-

erally are inclined to express concern that strict observ-

ance of the exacting statutory criteria for patentable

invention will adversely affect the level of investment in

research and. development; corporation executives who are

not patent-oriented have no such fear.*

84 This study does show that the participants expressed concern

about the numerous invalid patent grants, the high incidence of

trivial “nuisance” patents, the non-exclusive licensing of govern-

ment-held patents to industry and the ambiguity of the status of

exclusive “field of use” licensing of patents. (Id. p. 19).

85 Proof that the concern has no substance resides also in the

fact that technologies in which no patents have been permitted

have progressed as well or better than those where they have—e.g.

computer programming and sexually reproduced plants «(where no

“ patents were permitted until the 1971 adoption of 84 Stat. 1558,

§ 131, the Plant Variety Protection Act).

ASTER TN PRL R ITE ORME OS EME OLEATE PITT NE ILL T TL ERE STEIN FI IIT IR GF INTE SIS NS BES

a

51

: CONCLUSION

The decision below is in all respects correct and should

be affirmed. .

/s/ MARY HELEN SEARS

EDWARD §. IRONS

1801 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D. C. 20006

TEE Ay SE ML ES

dire

PLOTTER PER TO ELF PoE Soe ————

APPENDIX

Qe HRM YYMEOT Be ee eee 2A

<*

la

THE CONSTITUTION

ARTICLE 1

SECTION 8, CLAUSES 3 AND 8

The Congress shall have Power...

To regulate Commerce with foreign Nations, and among

the several States, and with the Indian Tribes;

* . * a

To promote the Progress of Science and useful Arts, by

securing for limited Times to Authors and Inventors the

exclusive Right to their respective Writings and Dis-

coveries ;

-_ * . *

ARTICLE VI, CLAUSE 2

a a . *

This Constitution, and the Laws of the United States

which shall be made in Pursuance thereof; and all Treaties

made, or which shall be made, under the Authority of the

United States, shall be the supreme Law of the Land; and

the Judges in every State shall be bound thereby, any

Thing in the Constitution or Laws of any State to the

Contrary notwithstanding.

AMENDMENT V

Rights of Accused in Criminal Proceedings

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or

otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or in-

dictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the

land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual

service in time of War or public danger; nor shall any

person be subject for the same offense to be twice put in

2a

jeopardy of life or limb, nor shall be compelled in any

criminal case to be a witness against himself, nor be

deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process

of law; nor shall private property be taken for public use,

without just compensation.

AMENDMENT IX

The enumeration in the Constitution, of certain rights,

shall not be construed to deny or disparage others retained

by the people.

AMENDMENT X

The powers not delegated to the United States by the

Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are re-

served to the States respectively, or to the people.

AMENDMENT XIV

SECTION 1

All persons born or naturalized in the United States,

and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the

United States and of the State wherein they reside. No

State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge

the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United

States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny

to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection

of the laws.

So e J 2

SECTION 5

The Congress shall have power to enforce, by appro-

priate legislation, the provisions of this article.

3a

TITLE 35, U.S. CODE

$101. Inventions patentable

Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful proc-

ess, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or

any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a

patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements

of this title.

$102. Conditions for patentability; novelty and loss of

right to patent

A person shall be entitled to a patent unless—

(b) the invention was patented or described in a

printed publication in this or a foreign country or in pub-

lic use or on sale in.this country, more than one year prior

to the date of the application for patent in the United

a eae

= = = *

4a

THE CONSTITUTIONAL STANDARD

OF INWENTION—

THE TOUCHSTONE FOR PATENT REFORM

[Written pursuant to invitation of the University of Utah

Law Review and shortly to be published therein]

By: Edward S. Irons

Mary Helen Sears

December, 1973

5a

I. INTRODUCTION

Strong historical evidence, as well as often overlooked

legislative and judicial precedents of long standing, and

the totality of the Constitution itself, read in context, sup-

port the view that Congress lacks power to promulgate

patent legislation for protection of alleged inventions of a

nature such as to have arisen in the normal progression

of the application and practice of ordinary skill in the

art at the time they were made.

II. THE CONSTITUTIONAL PATENT CLAUSE

PER SE

On its face, the constitutional patent clause authorizes

Congress to grant exclusive rights to “inventors” only for

a limited purpose—“to promote progress of science and

useful arts.” *

1 The clause in question—Article I, Section 8, clause 8—provides

that “The Congress shall have Power . . . to promote Progress of

Science and useful Arts, by securing for limited times to Authors

and Inventors the exclusive right to their respective Writings and

Discoveries”.

Some writers have argued that this patent clause must be con-

strued as a “balanced sentence” in which “science” is equated to

“knowledge” and hence relates only to the power to protect the

“writings” of “authors”, while the patent power is confined to “dis-

coveries” in the “useful arts”. The argument is, in the main, a re-

action to Mr. Justice Douglas’ observation in Great A&P Tea Co.

v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 156 (1951), that

“(t]he Constitution never sanctioned the patenting of gadgets.

Patents serve a higher end—the advancement of science.’ Its

footless character is perhaps best exposed by reference to Section

3 of the Patent Act of 1793, a statute essentially contemporaneous

with the Constitution, which provides, inter alia, for a “written

description” of any invention sought to be patented “and of the

manner of using ... in such full, clear and exact terms as to...

enable any person skilled in the art or science of which it is a branch

or of which it is most nearly connected to make . . . and use the

same... .” (1 Stat. 318 §3). The same language appears in the

Act of 1836, 5 Stat. 117 § 6.

[Footnote continued on page 6a]

ODS OAR

. 6a

Because patents may be granted only for that limited

purpose, Congress may not indiscriminately provide for an.

award of exclusive rights in every “discovery” which hu-

man enterprise might unearth. Certain limits upon con-

gressional power are well understood and have found

virtually universal acceptance from the time of our very

first federal patent statute in 1790.

For example, it is well settled that Congress could not

constitutionally promulgate legislation conferring exclu-

sive patent rights upon discoverers of subject matter not

“new”. Similarly, abstract thoughts and theories includ-

ing mechanical and scientific principles and laws of nature,

though constituting “discoveries” of the most fundamental

sort, are not within the scope of congressional prerogative

under the patent clause of the Constitution because ex-

clusive appropriation, even for a limited period, would

rob the public of access to elemental building blocks of

creative thought and thereby stifle “progress in science

and useful arts”.* Consonant with these principles, every

1[ Continued ]

Nor is there substance to the further argument that, by asserting

patentable inventions ought to “push back the frontiers of chem-

istry, physics and the like”, Justices Black and Douglas in A&P,

supra, postulated “an impossibly high standard of invention” ad-

vanced, inter alia, by Lutz in “The Constitution v. The Supreme

Court Re Patents For Inventions”, 13 U. of Pittsburgh L. R. 449

(1952). ‘Any realist must acknowledge that the level of ordinary

skill in technology at the time of the A&P case encompassed ad-

vanced concepts of “chemistry, physics and the like’—and has

progressed to even more advanced ones today. As said in Graham

v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 19 (1966), “[t]he ambit of applicable

art in given fields of science has widened by disciplines unheard of

half a century ago. .. . He who seeks to build a better mousetrap

today has a long path to tread before reaching the Patent Office.”

It seems inescapable, moreover, that this constantly advancing level

of ordinary skill in the art is at least one important part of the

“progress” which the Constitution ordained that Congress should

have power to promote by the promulgation of a patent system.

See infra pp. 40a-4la.

2 Were this not so, the realm of theory and abstract truth would

soon be occupied by a relatively few monoplists and the community

Ta

patent statute enacted by Congress under the Constitution

has been careful to define the inventions for which patents

might be granted as products or processes (i.e. “arts’’)

which are both new and useful.*

It is likewise settled, consistent with every patent stat-

ute so far enacted, that under the Constitution, the patent

at large would be precluded from creative enterprise and endeavor.

Phillips, The Law of Patents for Inventions, 97-98, 109-111 (1837) ;

Curtis, A Treatise on the Law of Patents for Useful Inventions in

the United States of America, 1st ed. (1849), 3, 56-63, 4th ed.

(1873) 2, 156, 187; Robinson, The Law of Patents for Useful In-

ventions (1890) 190-198.

The Court has so recognized in at least LeRoy v. Tatham, 55 U.S.

156, 174-75 (1852); O’Reilly v. Morse, 56 U.S. 62, 112-113 (1853);

Burr v. Duryee, 68 U.S. 531 (1864); DeForest Radio Co. v. General

Electric Co., 283 U.S. 664, 685-86 (1931) ; Mackay Radio & Tel Co.

v. Radio Corp. of America, 306 U.S. 86, 94 (1939); Funk Bros. Seed

Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co., 333 U.S. 127, 130 (1948). See also

Corning V. Burden, 56 U.S. 282 (1853); Fuller v. Yentzer, 94 U.S.

288 (1877); Cochrane v. Deener, 94 U.S. 780, 787-88 (1877);-

Tilghman Vv. Proctor, 102 U.S. 708 (1881) ; New Process Fermenta-

tion Co. Vv. Maus, 122 U.S. 413, 427-28 (1887); The Telephone

Cases, 126 U.S. 1, 533 (1888) ; Risdon Iron & Locomotive Works v.

Medart, 158 U.S. 68, 76 (1895); Westinghouse v. Boyden Power

Brake Co., 167 U.S. 537 (1898); Busch v. Jones, 184 U.S. 598

(1902); Expanded Metal Co. v. Bradford, 214 U.S. 366, 381-5

(1909).

Most recently this fundamental limitation has been recognized

and again implemented in Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63 (1972).

3 Specifically, the Act of 1790, Section 1, defined that subject

matter for which patents could be granted as “any useful art, manu-

facture, engine, machine, or device, or any improvement therein

not before known or used... .” The language was slightly amended

in Section 1 of the Act of 1793 to refer to “any new. and useful

art, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new

and useful improvement in any art, machine, manufacture, or com-

position of matter. ...” That language essentially unchanged was

carried forward into Section 6 of the Act of 1836 and Section 24

of the Act of 1870. The latter, as R.S. 4886 (1874), remained in

force to the adoption in 1952 of the present 35 U.S.C. 101 in

which the word “process” has been substituted for the former

word “art” with, according to the pertinent reviser’s note, no change

in meaning.

te

8a

right must be confined to a limited time,‘ must be an

exclusive right,> and may be secured only to inventors”.*

The Supreme Court affirmatively in words, and Con-

gress implicitly by its actions, have consistently discerned

and given effect to a further constitutional requirement

that an alleged invention, to merit patent protection, must

exhibit a character which transcends that attributable to

the exercise of ordinary skill in the art and, within its

time frame, displays real ingenuity and creativity. The

Court has often called this a requirement for “invention”

explaining that if the subject matter sought to be patented

is such that it would have naturally developed incident to

the exercise of ordinary skill in the art—i.e. in the normal

pursuit of the related trade or calling—then the work is

that of a mechanic or other ordinary artisan and not that

of an inventor.’

‘The actual span of the limited time—i.e. the term of the patent

grant—has varied somewhat over the years from 1790 to the pres-

ent. At some periods the statutes have also permitted renewal for a

further limited time beyond the initial term of the grant. In no

case, however, was a grant in perpetuity authorized. Detailed dis-

cussion of this parameter of the patent power is outside the ambit

of this paper.

5 Questions have been raised as to whether statutory compulsory

licensing or working provisions would, if adopted, transgress the

exclusivity of the patent right in derogation of the Constitution.

Such questions, and exhaustive review of the scope of the right

afforded under various patent statutes are outside the scope of

this paper. Suffice it to say that under statutes in effect up to 1952,

patents granted an exclusive right to make, use and sell the patented

invention in the United States while since then, pursuant to 35

U.S.C. 154, the grant has been of “the right to exclude others from

making, using or selling” the patented invention in this country.

®The broad question of what constitutes an “inventor” under

the Constitution and its subsumed question—raised- by various

legislation proposed since 1966, including bills now pending—of

whether assignees may constitutionally apply for patents is outside

the scope of this paper, but will be treated in depth in a later paper.

7 See, e.g., Phillips v. Detroit, 111 U.S. 604, 607 (1884):

“. . . It is plain therefore that the improvement described in

the patent was within the mental reach of anyone skilled in

9a

: (

Ili. THE REQUIREMENT FOR INVENTION

IN THIS COUNTRY

Congress early gave effect to the requirement, albeit

without attempting to define its metes and bounds. Thus,

the patent statutes in the periods from 1790-1793 and

again from 1836-1952 specified that a patent might be

granted even on concededly new and useful subject matter

only if the examining body * deemed it to be “sufficiently

- useful and important”.®

In the time span between 1793 and 1836 when a patent

registration system was in effect and the adjudication of

the patent right left solely to the courts, the controlling

patent act in Section 2 thereof contained a specific limita-

tion “that simply changing the form or the proportion of

any machine, or composition of matter, in any degree shall

not be deemed a discovery”."’ This particular provision

was explicated by Phillips in 1837 as a “construction

[which] would undoubtedly have been put upon the law

without any such express exception”. As Phillips teaches:

“.. . It is indeed but the branch of a more general

rule in giving a construction to the law, namely, that

any change or modification of a machine or other

patentable subject, which would be obvious to every

person acquainted with the use of it, and which makes

no material alteration in the mode and principles of

its operation, and by which no material addition is

made, is not a ground for claiming a patent. To per-

the art to which the patent relates, and did not require in-

vention to devise it, but only the use of ordinary judgment

and mechanical skill. It involves merely the skill of the work-

man and not the genius of the inventor... .”

8In 1790-1793, this “body” was the Patent Board of which

Thomas Jefferson was a member; from and after 1836, it was the

Patent Office.

® See 1 Stat. 109 §1; 5 Stat. 117 § 7; 16 Stat. 198 § 31; R.S. 4893.

1 1 Stat. 318 § 2.

10a

mit a formal, trivial change in an article to be

patentable, or a reconstruction of it upon substan-

tially the same principles, with unimportant differ-

ences in form or proportions, would defeat the bene-

ficial operation of the statute and in effect repeal

Sicsca

The present patent statute, enacted in 1952, recites the

condition that “a patent may not be obtained .. . if the

differences between the subject matter sought to be pat-

ented and the prior art are such that the subject matter

as.a whole would have been obvious at the time the inven-

tion was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art

to which said subject matter pertains.” As phrased, the

statute simply expresses the same requirement for “in-

vention” that the Court had long recognized the Constitu-

tion to require—and the Court has clearly so held in

Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1 (1966) and Ander-

son’s Black-Rock v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57

(1969) .¥

In so stating, the Court was not, as some writers er-

roneously assert,'' making a startling or novel declaration

11 Phillips, “The Law of Patents For Inventions”, (1837) Section

XII, pp. 125-26. Consistent with Phillips, the Supreme Court in

Reckendorfer v. Faber, 92 U.S. 347, 354 (1876), emphasized that

“(pjrcof that there is no invention or discovery strikes at the root

of the whole claim. The patent is based on an affirmative fact of

which this is the direct negative. Jt needed no statute to aid or

justify this defense.” To the same general effect are Brown v.

Piper, 91 U.S. 44 (1875) ; Mahn v. Harwood, 112 U.S. 354 (1884);

and Slawson v. Grand Street R. R. Co., 107 U.S. 649, 652 (1883).

12 35 U.S.C. 103.

13 The Court itself in Peasce v. Mulford, 102 U.S. 112, 118 (1880),

had similarly characterized the requirement for invention saying,

“i]t must involve something more than what is obvious to persons

skilled in the art to which it relates.”

14 F..g. Kimball, “An Analysis of Recent Supreme Court Asser-

tions Regarding a Constitutional Standard of Invention”, 1 APLA

Quarterly Journal 204 (1973).

lla

of constitutional law. Per contra, the Court had as early

as 1885 decreed that the Constitution requires subject

matter, to be patentable, to transcend the ordinary level

of skill in the art.’

Moreover, the Court’s view that the “requirement for

invention” is constitutionally ordained was foreshadowed

in its early patent decisions. For example, in Pennock v.

Dialogue, 27 U.S. 1, 19 (1829), the inventor’s work was

denominated as “genius”, consistent with established par-

lance of centuries in which “genius” had a meaning be-

yond that of ordinary skill. In Pennock, moreover, the

primary public purpose of our patent system was first

emphasized by the Court."* This primary public purpose

15 See Thompson v. Boisselier, 114 U.S. 1, 11 (1885), in which

the Court stated:

“|. This court, however, has repeatedly held that, under the

Constitution and the Acts of Congress, a person, to be entitled

to a patent, must have invented or discovered some new and

‘useful art, machine, manufacture or composition of matter,

or some new and useful improvement thereof, and that ‘it is

not enough that a thing shall be new, in the sense that in the

shape or form in which it is produced it shall not have been

before known, and that it shall be useful, but it must, under

the Constitution, and the Statute, amount to an invention or

discovery.’ ” .

To the same effect, in Hollister v. Benedict *Mfg. Co., 113 U.S.

59, 73 (1885), the Court, in finding an alleged invention unpatent-

able, stated:

“_. It is but the display of the expected skill of the calling,

and involves only the exercise of the ordinary faculties of

réasoning upon the materials supplied by a special knowledge,

and the facility of manipulation which results from its habitual

and intelligent practice; and is in no sense the creative work

of that inventive faculty which it is the purpose of the Consti-

tution and the patent laws to encourage and reward.”

See also, Hill v. Wooster, 132 U.S. 693, 700 (1890) ; Cuno Engi-

neering Corp. v. Automatic Devices Corp., 314 U.S. 84, 91 (1941);

and the much maligned, but obviously correct, concurring opinion

of Justice Douglas in A&P, supra, note 1, p. 4a, 340 U.S. 156.

16 Specifically, the Court said:

“ .. While one great object [of our patent laws] was, by hold-

. PRM NT TIDES ENR PAC BY TNR RE RAR TY TGF AL EN

LSAT NOR

—

DS all Si a INE ctw ns Fey.

te ORE aL R ada

12a

was further explicated four years later in Shaw v. Cooper,

32 U.S. 290, 318 (1833), as follows:

“The patent law was @esigned for the public bene-

fit as well as for the benefit of inventors. For a val-

uable invention, the public, on the inventor’s com-

plying with certain conditions, give him for a limited

period the profits arising from the sale of the thing

invented. This holds out an inducemefft for the exer-

cise of genius and skill in making discoveries which

may be useful to society, and profitable to the dis-

coverer. But it was not the intention of this law to

take from the public that of which they were fairly

in possession.

“In the progress of society, the range of discoveries

in the mechanic arts, in science,’ and in all things

which promote the public convenience, as a matter of

course, Will be enlarged. This results from the aggre-

gation of mind and the diversity of talents and pur-

suits, which exist in every intelligent community.

And it would be extremely impolitic to retard or em-

barrass this advance, by withdrawing from the public

any useful invention or art, and making it a subject

of private monopoly. Against this consequence, the

Legislature have carefully guarded in the laws they

have passed on the subject.”

ing out a reasonable reward to inventors, and giving them an

exclusive right to their — for a limited period, to

stimulate the efforts of genius; The main object was ‘to pro-

mote the progress of science and the useful arts;’. . .”

This constitutionally-mandated primary public purpose of the patent

system has been repeatedly emphasized by the Court, inter alia, in

Kendall v. Winsor, 62 U.S. 322 (1859); Motion Picture Patents Co.

v. Universal Film Mfg. Co., 243 U.S. 502 (1917); Mercoid Corp. v.

Mid-Continent Invest. Co., 320 U.S. 661 (1944); Lear vy. Adkins,

395 U.S. 653 (1969); and most recently, Blonder-Tongue Labora-

tories, Inc. v. University of Illinois Foundation, 402 U.S. 3138

(1971).

17 See note 1, supra. The 1833 Court, like Justices Black and

Douglas, understood that the Constitution authorized a patent

system to promote both “science” and the useful arts.

13a

Notwithstanding the clarity and consistency of the

. Court’s pronouncements, many patent practitioners, espe-

cially over the last twenty-five to thirty years, have en-

gaged in vigorous challenge’to the “requirement for inven-

tion’’,** insisting that it lacks historical or constitutional

18 At least one segment of the patent bar professes an inability to

understand the ‘requirement for invention” because of its alleged

imprecision. See, inter alia, Rich, “Congressional Intent—Or, Who

Wrote the Patent Act of 1952”, Patent Procurement and Exploita-

tion, pp. 61-78 (1963); Rich, “The Principles of Patentability”, 28

George Washington L.R. 393 (1960); Rich, “The Vague Concept of

‘Invention’ As Replaced By Section 103 of the 1952 Act”, 8 Jdea

136 (1964).

The same group also professes to discern a different and more

precise meaning in the requirement of 35 U.S.Q 103 for “non-

obviousness”, despite the Supreme Court’s contrary holding in

Graham, supra, note 1, and Anderson's Black-Rock, supra, p. 10a.

Even without the Court’s ruling, however, the controversy be-

tween “invention” and “nonobviousness” would appear to be a

purely semantic one. The Court in Graham, supra, said that “[t]he

emphasis on nonobviousness is one of inquiry, not quality [as with

“invention” ], and, as such, comports with the constitutional stric-

tures (383 U.S. at 17), emphasizing that this did not change the

test. Thus, “. . . it bears repeating that we find no change in the

general strictness with which the overall test is to be applied... .

The standard has remained invariable in this Court.” (383 U.S. at

19).

Under any label, this standard is equally objective with, and

no more imprecise than, that of the “ordinary reasonable man” so

prominent in the law of torts. In Graham, the Court also com-

mented that the difficulties of applying the test “are comparable

to those encountered daily by the courts in such frames as negli-

’ gence and scienter, and should be amenable to a case-by-case de-

velopment”. (383 U.S. at 18). Dispassionately viewed, it seems clear

that the alleged imprecision is more often the result of application

or misapplication of the standard to specific factual situations in

particular cases, or the consequence of lifting a portion of the

language of a decision out of context, than it is of any true variance

or incomprehensibility in the standard itself. Other seeming fluctu-

ations in the staxidard of invention are not that at all, but are

attributable tothe continuing rise in the level of ordinary skill in

the art, which necessarily disqualifies from present patent pro-

tection many alleged inventions which would have been, or were,

eligible to be patented at an earlier period when the level of ordinary

skill was much lower. See note 1, supra.

l4a

' imperative and hence that Congress may change its focus

or even obviate it at will.’

In general, the challengers have ignored or failed to

appreciate the need to read the Patent Clause in context

with the balance of the Constitution or*have overlooked

significant aspects of relevant European and American

history.

IV. EUROPEAN ANTECEDENTS

Numerous writers have traced iri detail the emergence

of patent systems in England and on the Continent.*’ It is

generally acknowledged that the term “patents” was origi-

nally generic to exclusive privileges of various kinds, in-

cluding patents for true inventions, importation franchises

and even monopolies on old products.”

Initially patents were granted randomly and individ-

ually by special law or grant rather than pursuant to an

established administrative or statutory scheme.

19 See, e.g., Lutz, supra, note 1; Kimball, supra, note 14; Fox,

“Monopolies and Patents” (1947); Siedel, “The Constitution And A

Standard of Patentability”, 48 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y 5 (1966) ; Posnack,

“The Continued Erosion of Our Patent System”, 52 J. Pat. Off.

Soc’y 255 (1970).

20 See, inter alia, Mandich, “Venetian Patents”, 30 J. Pat. Off.

Soc’y 166 (1948); Frederico, “Origin and Early History of Pat-

ents”, 11 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y 292 (1927); Bugbee, “Genesis of

American Patent and Copyright Law”, Washington Public Affairs

Press (1967), pp. 12-48; Fox, “Monopolies and Patents”, Toronto

(1947), pp. 19-189; see also, Prager. “A History of Intellectual

Property from 1545 to 1787”, 26 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y 711 (1944);

Prager, ““The Early Growth and Influence of Intellectual Property”,

34 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y 196 (1952).

21 Some specific examples of different kinds of exclusive privi-

leges granted in the Italian city states and in England before 1500

and, later, on the Continent in countries other than Italy, appear,

inter alia, in Bugbee, supra, note 20; Federico, supra, note 20; and

the two Prager articles, supra, note 20.

22 There is some evidence of the existence of a Venetian patent

law in the early part of the 15th Century specifically directed to-

15a

The system of granting exclusive rights to individuals,

whether for an invention per se or the importation of a

new product,** seems to have gained headway in medieval

times as an inducement to encourage foreign craftsmen to

settle in a particular country and teach new technology

to its subjects. Absent such an inducement, foreign crafts-

men would have been precluded by existing local guild

monopolies from practicing any aspects of their arts in a

new country.*

The guild monopolies were of ancient origin, having

evolved from the Third Century when Roman emperors

utilized the sale of monepoly concessions in industry and

trade as revenue-raising measures.** By the Middle Ages

ward inventions in the field of machines and processes for speed-

ing up and improving silk making. See Prager, “The Early Growth

and Influence of Intellectual Property”, supra, note 20, at pp. 130-

31. The City-State of Venice certainly pioneered in the establish-

ment of a formal patent system as evidenced by the statute adopted

in 1474 discussed infra, p. 17a.

23 For many years, the word “invention” embraced importations.

See note 29, infra. For clarity it is utilized herein in its modern

sense to refer only to original creations.

24 For example, Edward III in the Thirteenth Century encouraged

such new industries as the manufacture of worsted cloth from wool

by a patent to Flemish immigrants. As late as the time of Eliza-

beth I, for€ign workmen experienced in various aspects of the art of

glassmaking were granted patents as an inducement to relocation

in England and teaching of these arts to English subjects.

25 Monopoly practices of the Roman emperors in the 3rd and 4th

Centuries resulted in heavy oppression of the common people, and

consequently in so much internal agitation and strife, that Zeno,

Emperor of the Eastern Roman Empire, in 483 outlawed some exist- ©

ing and all future monopoly awards. The same statute was later in-

cluded by Justinian I in his Code. See Mund,, “Monopoly—A

History and Theory”, Princeton University Press (1932) at 6-7.

The Roman law, however, permitted many established com-

mercial monopolies to subsist throughout and these monopolies in

the form of guilds survived the fall of Rome—perhaps because of

their relative stability in the chaotic political situation which fol-

lowed. Mund points out that during the Middle Ages up to at

l6a

these guilds had complete economic control of every aspect

of commerce and the arts. They regulated strictly

every aspect of price, cost and manufacture, as well as

worker education and security. They were empowered to

enforce their broad subject matter monopolies rigorously

within their geographic ambits inter alia by arbitrary

search of non-members’ premises and peremptory confisca-

tion of unauthorized goods. The guilds were, in general,

not interested in promoting technological progress, whether

through introduction of new inventions or otherwise. The

impetus within the guilds was instead for economic stabili-

zation and stagnation, inter alia, by suppression and re-

straint of inventions that infringed or might infringe

guild monopolies.*

It seems indisputable that as originally conceived, pat-

ents, whether for inventions or for importations, had a

triple purpose: first, to encourage new manufactures in

the realm, thereby promoting commerce; second, to edu-

cate the interested people of the realm in new technology,

thereby raising the level of their ordinary skill and pro-

moting further inventions; and third, to afford inventors a

right, otherwise belonging only to the guilds, to profit by

commercial practice of their inventions. The guilds, as

repositories of and autocrats over technology reflecting the

least the 12th Century, the term “monopoly” was not applied to the

guilds or the equally monopolistic agricultural manors even though

it certainly fit both. (Jd. at pp. 8-10).

26 Like all generalities this one had its exceptions, many of which

are pointed out in the books by Bugbee and Fox, supra, note 20.

It is a matter of historical record, however, that the guilds often

brought to bear very heavy pressures to restrain technological

progress. For example, reference is made by Frederico, supra,

note 20, at 298, to the refusal in England in the reign of Elizabeth

I.of a patent on a stocking knitting machine characterized as “one

of the most original and striking inventions of the age’ because

of guild objections that many would be forced out of work if the

machine were put into use. See also, Fox, supra, note 20, at 74.

17a

prevailing level of ordinary skill in the art, particularly

opposed the grant of individual monopolies—i.e. “patents”

—either for new inventions or newly imported manufac-

tures where the effect was to inhibit guild members in the

exercise of the ordinary skills of which they were already

in possession.**

The formal patent statute adopted by the Venetian Re-

public in 1474 is consistent with these principles. While

affirmatively recognizing the need to encourage the work

of “men of great genius apt to invent and discover ingeni-

ous devices”, it was careful to preserve the rights of the

guilds and minimize the invasion of their prerogatives by

requiring that the exclusive patent right be limited to a

term of ten years and be awarded only for “any new and

ingenious device .. . not previously made in our Common-

wealth .. . reduced to perfection so that it can be used

and operated.” **

27 Sir Edward Coke defined monopoly as “an institution or

allowance by the King, by his grant, commission, or otherwise, to

any person or persons, bodies politic or corporate; of or for the

sole buying, selling, making, working or using anything; whereby

any person or persons, bodies politic or corporate, are sought to be

restrained of any freedom or liberty that they had before, or

hindered in their lawful trade”. Institutes of the Laws of England

(London 1797), III, p. 181 (¢. 85); III (1669 ed.) Chap. LXXV,

p. 181.

Of course, the people in Medieval and Renaissance Europe, in-

cluding England, had very little real “freedom or liberty” at any

time “before” the guilds and similar collective monopolies, such as

agricultural manors, were established. Virtually every man had

some “lawful trade” within the framework of the guild or manor.

however; hence, “monopoly” repugnant to its pursuit was con-

sidered “‘odious”’.

°s The full text of this Venetian statute is reproduced in Bugbee,

supra, note 20 at pp. 22-23. Bugbee acknowledges in a footnote the

existence of a different translation of the same statute in Frumkin,

“The Early History of Patents for Invention”, LVIV (1947-48),

p. 27. The critical wording of the original Italian “nuovo et

ingegnoso artificio” is also reproduced by Prager in “The Early

Growth and Influence of Intellectual Property’, supra, note 20 at

p. 139.

PNR NAR ae a ee Se he te oe

18a

Pursuant to the statute, the General Welfare Board of

the City of Venice engaged in an actual inspection (“expe-

rientia”) of each alleged invention in operation before any

patent was awarded. It is important that the Venetian

statute could have provided for the award of patent rights

on the basis of a device that was simply “new”; the fact

that it did not do so reflects the recognition in Venetian

society of a need to balance the guilds’ interest in protect-

ing their members’ continued right to the full exercise of

ordinary judgment and skill in the art with the realm’s

desire to encourage both commercial and intellectual prog-

ress and its resolution—to reward only inventions exhibit-

ing ingenuity above the level of ordinary skill in the art.*°

The English patent system, which evolved concurrently

with that of Venice over several centuries from approxi-

mately the time of Edward III, was parallel in many re-

2° It is important to recognize that as of 1474 there was no way

in which new technology could’be communicated to the public unless

the article or process: involved were put into practical use in com-

mercial channels. The art of printing was then in its earliest in-

fancy, and published material was expensive and scarce. Besides,

writers of that era did not concern themselves with subjects so

mundane as technology.

It was several centuries before the idea of a written specification

describing the invention such as United States patent law has

always required (vide present 35 U.S.C. 112) was even a feasible

alternative, as disclosure of an invention, to the actual construc-

tion or practice of the alleged invention in commerce. The connec-

tidn between the unavailability of publications disclosing new tech-

nology up to the 18th Century or even later and the early practice

in England and on the Continent of classifying importers as “in-

ventors” has been recognized, inter alia, by Prager in “Standards of

Patentable Inventions from 1474 to 1952”, 20 U. Chicago L.R. 69

(1952) and-in “A History of Intellectual Property from 1545 to

1787”, supra, note 20 at p. 139. In the former work, Prager empha-

sized “[t]hat early English practice identified importers with

inventors does not show any lack of interest in the merits of the

items invented or imported. It only shows that, before the advent

of technical instruction in print, disclosure of new technology re-

quired actual commercial introduction and use.” (p. 71).

19a

spects to that of Venice, even though not governed by

any formal statutory or .4dministrative practice until

much later than that established pursuant to the 1474

Venetian statute. Patents came particularly into promi-

nence during the reign of Elizabeth I who utilized them

not only as a tool for promoting commercial and intellec-

tual progress, but also as an instrument of royal favor—a

circumstance which led to numerous abuses because of

indiscriminate award of monopolies in old commodities

ranging from such relative frivolities as playing cards to

such necessities as salt.*° The validity of patents in this

period, however, was within the province of the English

courts. These courts applied criteria essentially the same

as those mandated by the Venetian statute of 1474 and

those now demanded by our Constitution.

Thus, history records that prior to the 1624 Statute of

Monopolies, English courts regularly invalidated patents

granted for subject matter admittedly novel, but well

within the prevailing level of ordinary skill of the art.

In one such case, Matthey’s Patent, granted in 1571 for

a particular type of knife handle, was challenged by the

cutlers’ guild on the ground that “they did use to make

knives before, though not with such hafts, that such a

light difference or invention should be no cause to restrain

them... .”*' This resulted in a decision that “he [ Mat-

they] could never have benefit of his patent although he

labored very greatly therein.”

Another such case involved Hasting’s Patent for a cer-

tain kind of cloth, granted in 1569, but refused enforce-

ment against a guild which demonstrated that its mem-

30 See especially Fox, supra, note 20.

31 See Prager, “Standards of Patentable Invention From 1474 to

1952”, supra, note 29 at pp. 71-72. The same patent case is also

mentioned by Frederico, supra, note 20 at p. 297, but the inventor

“Matthey” is referred to as “Richard Matthew”.

_ ne

20a

bers had, prior to the patent, made cloth “very like to”

(albeit not the same as) that covered by the patent.*

Still another case involved Bircot’s Patent, apparently

granted prior to 1600," which was for a new method of

smelting. It resulted in a court decree of invalidity based

on evidence from which it was concluded that the subject

matter disclosed “was but to put a new button to an old

coat, and it is much easier to add than to invent.” ** These

early English cases are particularly remarkable in at least

two respects. In the first place, the apparently spontane-

ous selection of a standard of invention above the ordinary

level of skill in the art independently of the same selection

in Venice is persuasive evidence of a recognition that

society could not function satisfactorily if patents were

granted which interfered with the normal exercise by the

guilds of ordinary judgment and skill in their respective

arts. In the second place, the essentiality of this require-

ment to the proper functioning of society is the more

marked in view of the fact that these cases were decided

prior to 1624 when the Statute of Monopolies was enacted

and hence at a time when the right of the Crown to grant

patents arbitrarily and even capriciously enjoyed full

sway.**

32 See Prager, id. at p. 72; see also Hulme, “History of the Patent

System”, 12 Law Quarterly Review 141, 149-50 (1896).

33 Prager, id. at p. 72, says that this case was reported in the

Institutes of Sir Edward Coke first published shortly after 1600.

34 The quotation is from 1 Web. Pat. Cases 31, note (p) (1844).

35 The abuses of the patent power by the Crown prior to the

Statute of Monopolies are well known and have been extensively

documented by many writers, including Bugbee and Fox, supra,

note 20. It is important to recognize that the Statute curbed only

some monopolies. It left intact not only patents for inventions (in-

cluding importations) but also “patents”, charters, and franchises

previously granted which conveyed exclusive trading and manu-

facturing privileges to guilds, corporations and similar groups. The

monopolies abolished by the statute, albeit constituting the ones at

that time most bitterly resented by the common people, constituted a

2la

After the adoption of the Statute of Monopolies, the

English courts continued to require inventive merit as a

prerequisite to the enforcement of patents. In particular,

the principle of Bircot’s Patent that “it is much easier to

add than to invent” was so strictly observed that English

courts for many years refused to give effect to “improve-

ment” patents, taking the position that only so-called

“basic manufactures” could exhibit sufficient ingenuity to

constitute invention and hence merit exclusive patent

protection.*

relatively narrow class of “patents” granted to royal favorites on

old commodities such as salt and playing cards (supra, p. 19a).

It is also of interest that the statutory abolition of the Crown’s

power to grant arbitrary “patent” monopolies was initially more

formal than real and that the actual grant of such “odious”

monopolies by the Crown continued for about 50 years after 1624

and gave rise to intense internal strife, including a brief civil war.

36 According to Prager, “Standards of Patentable Inventions

From 1474 to 1952”, supra, note 29 at p. 72, this was the position

of the English courts up to the 1776 case of Morris v. Bransom

when a more lenient view of “inventive merit” was adopted. The

first Supreme Court patent case, Evans v. Eaton, 16 U.S. 454 (1818),

established that, while improvement patents could be given effect

in this country, it was incumbent on their inventors to clearly

delineate the extent of the improvement and distinguish it from

the thing improved. See also in this regard, the later decisions about

the same patent in the same and a related case—to wit, Evans Vv.

Eaton, 20 U.S. 356 (1822), and Evans v. Hettich, 20 U.S. 453

(1822). .

The failure of the English system to examine for “inventive

merit” prior to the grant of a patent persisted from before the

time of Elizabeth I to 1949 when a statute—the Patents and Designs

Act (1949) §14(1)—was adopted which required the British

Patent Office and, implicitly, its adjunct appellate courts, to deal

with questions of invention raised by third parties in opposition

to we grant of a patent. Even today, however, there is no ex

parte examination by the British Patent Office for “invention”,

though lack of inventive merit remains a ground for invalidation of

patents in the British courts. See generally, Meinhardt, “Inventions

Patents and Monopoly”, London, 1946 at p. 45.

22a

V. AMERICAN COLONIAL ANTECEDENTS

The colonization of the United States was initiated es-

sentially contemporaneous with the 1624 Statute of Mo-

nopolies ** and at a time during which economic regimen-

tation in England was at an exceptionally high level. As

one writer has put it:

“The economic system of restriction and regulation

reached its peak in England during the seventeenth

century. Most of the old restraints persisted and

with the growth of trade many new ones developed.

The corporate towns and guilds continued to restrict

the admission of new members and became, in the

words of a contemporary writer, ‘oppressive oligar-

chies, excluding or discouraging the English subjects

from trading in our great

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Amicus Curiae Brief — Kewanee Oil Co. v. Bicron Corp. · 416 U.S. 470 | Frix