Petitioners Brief — National Railroad Passenger Corporation v. National Assn. of Railroad Passengers

Supreme Court brief1974

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

a)

‘Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser TERM, 1973

No. 72-1289

NaTIoNAL RatiRoaD PASSENGER CORPORATION, CENTRAL

or Grorata Ramway Company, and SourTHERN

Ramway Company, Petitioners,

v

NatTIoNaL ASSOCIATION OF RAILROAD PASSENGERS,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit

BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS

Wurm O. Brrrman

Curtis E. Von KANN

815 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorneys for Petitioner National

Railroad Passenger Corporation

CHARLES A. HorskY

Wuu1am D. Iverson

888 16th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorneys for Petitioners Central

of Georgia Railway Company

Of Counsel: and Southern Railway Company

Hoean & Hartson

Covineton & BURLING

Puess or Byron S. Apams Paorriuna, Inc., Waseureron, D. C.

=>,

INDEX

Page

OQunen amp Orrmaon BaerOw ... ww ccc cc ccccccccescees 1

ai iis in ks cde PERU ba bebe Ke NRO SERS 6 1

QUESTION PRESENTED ........... se cece ee ceeeeeneses 2

Sratutory Provision INVOLVED .............-eeee005 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...... 5 ETE A OEE RRS: 3

POREAUEE GO BUUUEERD qo on os oid x cc es vannneenis vas 10

NS RE EA EL EEE ea ee ee eee 12

I. Tue Dectston BELOW MISCONSTRUES THE PLAIN

LANGUAGE AND THE LEGISLATIVE History oF SEC-

cp uesswkcckeseueagan 12

A. The Language of Section 307 Clearly Pre-

cludes Private Parties Other Than Em-

ployees and Their Representatives from

Suing Amtrak or a Railroad for Alleged Vio-

| ee ee ee eee 12

B. The Legislative History of Section 307 Re-

veals Congress’ Intent to Limit the Power

to Enforce the Amtrak Act to the Attorney

OS EAP rr rhe hr ere rr eee 14

Il. Tue Decision BELow Wovutp Serriusty FRvs-

TRATE THE FUNDAMENTAL PURPOSES OF THE AM-

wk vc cca oud ah anne 21

III. Tue Dectson BeLow Misapptiss 28 U.S.C. § 1337

to Tus Case ..... Teese bak ine abek hes 29

ceases i kek bend Once eae bee 37

8 AEE LIE LE OLE PIA OE Ge LNY TEENS MER IOD

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cass: Page

ees v. Richardson, 451 F.2d 1185 (10th Cir.

Ne ag ana euuees eke Co tpe stat atss

Allen v. State Board of Elections, 393 U.S. 544 (1969) . 35

Anderson v. Gladden, 188 F.Supp. 666 (D. Ore.

SR ee Apert eer ae ere eee CE ee 12, 13

Barlow v. Collins, 397 U.S. 159 (1970) ............-- 30

Bell v. Hood, 8327 U.S. 678 (1946) .... 0. cece ceceeees 34

B. F. Goodrich Company v. Northwest Industries, Inc.,

424 F.2d 1349 (3rd Cir. 1970), cert. denied 400

8 ee A ee eee ee CREE CO 35

Blaney v. Florida National Bank, 357 F.2d 27 (5th Cir.

| GO SS eae A oe rere OPE eee eee 35

Botany Worsted Mills v. United States, 278 U.S. 282

Re reer err re PERE OE eee. 12

Bowman v. Department of Agriculture, 363 F.2d 81

OU Cee, SID ions ease ec cc es oy cies ce cess's 18

Calhoun v. Harvey, 379 U.S. 134 (1964) .............. 35

Chicago & North Western Railway Company v. United

Transportation Union, 402 U.S. 570 (1971) ...... 18

City of New York v. National Railroad Passenger Cor-

poration, et al., No. 72 Civ. 1988 (S.D.N.Y.) ...... 26

Ex Parte York County Natural Gas Authority, 238

F.Supp. 964 (W.D.S.C. 1965) .......6....ee0e 12, 13

Fleischmann Distilling Corporation v. Maier Brewing

Company, 906 U.S. 714 (1967) «2.0... cnceweccess 31

Foureo Glass Company v. Transmirra Products Cor-

poration, 363 U.S. 222 (1957) ........ nce secsee: 30

Ginsberg & Sons v. Popkin, 285 U.S. 204 (1932) ...... 30

Griggs v. Duke Power Company, 401 U.S. 424 (1971).. 18

In Re Penn Central Transportation Company, 446 F.2d

1109 (3rd Cir. 1971), cert. denied 405 U.S. 918

ies ee ae ate See eee ere. wane ree 23 \

In Re Penn Central Transportation Company, 457 F.2d

Be Ce RE hs bs ss sence ese 37

J. I. Case Company v. Borak, 377 U.S. 426 (1964) .... 35

Lewis v. Martin, 397 U.S. 552 (1970) ................. 18

MacEvoy Company v. United States, 322 U.S. 102

En ee ee eae hy ae 30

Maiatico v. United States, 302 F.2d 880 (D.C. Cir. 1962) 12

Page

Massachusetts Trustees of Eastern Gas & Fuel Asso-

ciation v. United States, 312 F.2d 214 (1st Cir.

1963), af 2 377 U.S: 235 (1964)... cc cccsscees 13

McDonald v. Board of Election Commissioners, 277

Wms. 16. COA Tis BOD ov ake pc cacd oy vawwscs 12

Montana-Dakota Utilities Company v. Northwestern

Public Service Company, 341 U.S. 246 (1951) ...34, 35

National Automatic Laundry and Cleaning Council v.

Schultz, 443 F.2d 689 (D.C. Cir. 1971) ........... 16

Nouberger v. C.LE., 311 0.8. 83 (1980) .. go ss aus. 13

Noel Estate, Inc. v. Commercial National Bank in

Shreveport, 232 F.2d 483 (5th Cir. 1956) ........ 35

Philadelphia Television Broadcasting Company v.

FOO, 350 84d 262 (D.C; Cir. 1966) ............ 18

Potomac Passengers Association v. Chesapeake & Ohio

Railway Company, et al., opinion sub nom.-Con-

gress of Railway Unions v. Hodgson, 326 F.Supp.

gg Bs Cie. og | Oe eer er ne ey Oe 4

Power Reacter Development Company v. International

Union of Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers,

ee A I PED i as ts i aes 19

Red Lion Broadeasting Company, Ine. ae 395

Eh Oe RD hh is ok cds dacs ihe ee 18

Schilling v. Rogers, 363 U.S. 666 (1960) ............ 31

Schuler, et al. v. National Railroad Passenger Corpora-

tion, Ot OL, No, Taare eek (Pea Rs) vic kciv ves 26

State of New York v. United States, 299 F.Supp. 989

(N.D.N.Y. 1969), aff’d 396 U.S. 281 (207G) i553. 33

Switchmen’s Union of North America v. National Me-

diation Board, 320 U.S. 297 (1943) ............31-33

Trailmobile Company v. Whirls, 331 U.S. 40 (1947) .. 17

United States v. Chicago Title and Trust Company,

243 F.Bapb. 56 UND, Ts Teme) ok vn cig aeceens 12,13

United States v. City of Chicago, 400 U.S. 8 (1970) . 18

Wood v. National Railroad Passenger Corporation,

341 F.Supp. 908 (D. Conn. 1972) .... 0... 06.0. cos 25

STATUTES:

Communications Satellite Act of 1962, Section 403

iM USD Te? ...d. ss 9, 36-37

Interstate Commerce Act,. Section 13a (49 U.S.C. § 13a)

6, 8, 25, 33

EEE Oe

iv

Judicial Code: cage

Se Ee RCRD bn b vic hand es Mast eeedneds 2

eee ae eer errs 3

Be ee ea en ree 3, 11, 29-37

Rail Passenger Service Act of 1970 (45 U.S.C. §501 _

8 en ce eae Or amintn reer rar passim

Section 101 (45 U.S.C. § 501) ................. 7

Besteen 201 (05 UBS. $581) . ows... ccc cce 7, 9,18

Section 202 (45 U.S.C. § 522) ........... 9, 18-20, 32

Section 301 (45 U.S.C. § 541) .. 5... ceca esse 7

Seetion 303 (45 U.8.0. $545) ....... 0.05.5... 32

Section 305 (45 U.S.C. § 545) .......... cc eee 7

Section 306 (45 U.S.C. § 546) ................. 32

Section 307 (45 U.S.C. $547) . 2.0.00. cee passim

Section 308 (45 U.S.C. § 548) ................ 28, 32

Section 401 (45 U.S.C. § 561) .............. 8, 18, 33

Beotion 408 (45 US.C. $568) ........... 00004.

Section 403 (45 U.S.C. § 563) .............. 8, 18, 26

Section 404 (45 U.S.C. § 564) ............... 3, 8, 25

mection GOs (465 UC. § OUR) occ ences cncccess 1

ection 70: (65 UB.O. § G02) os. ... ccna 18

Mecteon Boe (45 U.S.C: GGGR) soi is cece scenes 3

Section 805 (45 U.S.C. § 644) ............0.... 32

Section 806 (45 U.S.C. § 645) ................ 18, 21

Railway Labor Act (45 U.S.C. § 151 et seq.) ......... 18, 31

Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. §77b et

OE oink ck i os BK dk ad i 4s i se 35

Voting Rights Act of 1965 (42 U.S.C. § 1973, et seqg.).. 35

MISCELLANEOUS:

Congressional Record Vol. 108 (1962) ........:...... 36

Hearings before the Subcommittee on Department of

Transportation and Related Agencies of the House

Committee on Appropriations, 93rd. Cong., 1st

ig Be: ee es ee ee 23

House Report No. 91-1580, 91st Cong., 2nd Sess. (1970)

5-8, 21

Senate Report No. 91-765, 91st Cong., 2nd Sess. (1970)

5, 6, 34

Supplemental Hearings on H.R. 17849 and S.3706 be-

fore the Subcommittee on Transportation and

Aeronautics of the House Committee on Interstate

and Foreign Commerce, 91st Cong., 2nd Sess.,

a ee EE. er ie eee Ae 14, 15, 29

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OctToBER TERM, 1973

No. 72-1289

NATIONAL RAILROAD PASSENGER CORPORATION, CENTRAL

OF GrorGIA RatLwAy CoMPANy, and SouTHERN

Raitway Company, Petitioners,

Vv.

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF RAILROAD PASSENGERS,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit

BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS

. ORDER AND OPINION BELOW

The unreported order of the District Court dismiss-

ing the cause appears at page 19 of the Single Appen-

dix (SA). The opinion of the Court of Appeals is

reported at 475 F.2d 325 and appears at SA 20.

j JURISDICTION

and opinion of the Court of Appeals

was rendered on January 5, 1973.1. On February 9,

1973, that court stayed the issuance of its mandate for

?On January 10, 1973, the opinion was amended to correct a

minor error, i.e., a reference at SA 23 to ‘‘Birmingham, Georgia’

was changed to ‘‘ Birmingham, Alabama.”’

et

SGN MONI 20" A AREA RN I ER RE

2

a period of thirty days, and on March 9, 1973 the stay

was extended to March 22, 1973. (SA 57). This

Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Can all passengers and other allegedly aggrieved

persons maintain actions in the District Courts to

enjoin supposed violations of the Rail Passenger Serv-

ice Act of 1970 (the ‘Amtrak Act’’), 45 U.S.C. § 501

et seq. (1970), as amended, (Supp. II, 1972), despite

thegprovision in Section 307 of the Act that the Dis-

trict Courts shall have jurisdiction to grant such relief

‘“‘upon petition of the Attorney General of the United

States or, in a case involving a labor agreement, upon

petition of any employee affected thereby, including

duly authorized employee representatives”’?

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

Section 307 of the Amtrak Act provides as follows:

Jurisdiction of the District Courts of the United

States to Impose Sanctions.

(a) If the Corporation or any railroad engages

in or adheres to any action, practice, or policy

inconsistent with the policies and purposes of this

chapter, obstructs or interferes with any activi-

ties authorized by this chapter, refuses, fails, or

neglects to discharge its duties and responsibilities

under this.chapter, or threatens any such viola-

tion, obstruction, interference, refusal, failure, or

neglect, the district court of the United States for

any district in which the Corporation or .other

person resides or may be found shall have juris-

diction, except as otherwise prohibited by law,

upon petition of the Attorney General of the

United States or, in a case involving a labor agree-

ment, upon petition of any employee affected

3

thereby, including duly authorized employee rep-

resentatives, to grant such equitable relief as may

be necessary or appropriate to prevent or termi-

nate any violation} conduct, or threat.

(b) Nothing contained in this section shall be con-

strued as relieving any person of any punishment,

liability, or sanction which may be imposed other-

wise than under this chapter. [45 U.S.C. § 547].

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

a: PROCEEDINGS BELOW.

This is an action to enjoin the discontinuance of

certain trains previously operated by the Central of

Georgia Railway Company. Central discontinued the

trains under authority of the Amtrak Act after enter-

ing into a contract with the National Railroad Pas-

senger Corporation (Amtrak) for assumption by

Amtrak of Central’s intercity rail passenger service

responsibilities.? Respondent National Association of

Railroad Passengers (NARP) alleges that this con-

tract does not comply with the terms and purposes

of the Amtrak Act. (Complaint, SA 8, 9). The suit was

said to be brought ‘‘pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1331,

1337, and 45 U.S.C. 501 et seq., and particularly sec-

tions 564(a) and 642 of Title 45.’’ (SA 9).

On May 5, 1971, the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia dismissed the complaint

on the ground, inter alia, ‘‘that the plaintiff does not

[have] standing to maintain this action under Section

307 of the Rail Passenger [Service] Act of 1970.”

(SA 19). On January 5, 1973, the Court of Appeals

? The principal provisions of the Act governing discontinuances

are described at pages 7-8, infra.

reece nema

4

reversed and remanded the case to the District Court

for an adjudication on the merits. The court con-

cluded that standing to sue Amtrak and the defendant

railroads should be determined by the same three-part

test that governs standing to seek judicial review of

governmental administrative actions and that the first

two elements of this test—(1) whether NARP has al-

leged that it suffered injury in fact and (2) whether

it is arguably within the zone of interests to be pro-

tected by the legislation—are satisfied in the present

case. (SA 25-27).

As to the third element of the test, the Court of Ap-

peals could see no convincing evidence that Congress

intended to preclude the maintenance of lawsuits by all.

aggrieved parties. Although petitioners argued that

the language, legislative history, and purposes of the

-Act clearly manifested a legislative intent to allow

only the Attorney General to bring enforcement actions

in eases not involving labor agreements, the court did

not believe that this evidence was sufficient to over-

come ‘‘the strong presumption in favor of judicial

review’? which the court considered applicable.

(SA 28).

Finally, after completing the ‘‘standing’’ analysis

described above, the court held that NARP’s right to

sue could also be sustained if the case were analyzed in

terms of jurisdiction or the existence of a private cause

of action.’ (SA 43-46).

In the same opinion the Court of Appeals reversed the judg-

ment of the District Court in Potomac Passengers Association v.

Chesapeake & Ohio Railway Co., et al., opinion sub nom. Congress

of Railway Unions vy. Hodgson, 326 F. Supp. 68 (D.D.C. 1971),

consolidated with this case on appeal. The court held that Section

307 was not involved in that case since the suit, properly con-

5

BACKGROUND OF THE AMTRAK Act.

In 1969 and 1970 both houses of Congress held hear-

ings which indicated that the nation was faced ‘with

the immediate threat of the complete curtailment of

rail passenger service.’’* In 1929 there were approxi-

mately 20,000 passenger trains in operation in the

United States; in 1969 there were 450. Ever since 1930,

except for the World War II period when gasoline

rationing forced many travelers off the highways,

operation of passenger trains has been generally un-

profitable.*

After World War II, resumption of automobile

production, expansion of highway facilities, and the

tremendous growth of air travel, all generously aided

by federal financial assistance, took increasing numbers

of passengers from the railroads. (S. Rep. 91-765,

p. 2). By the mid 1950’s the staggering losses from

passenger operations were no longer sufficiently ab-

sorbed by freight business to make continued passenger

service economically viable, and the railroads turned

with increasing frequency to state regulatory commis-

sions for authority to discontinue little-used passenger

trains. There, according to the Senate Report,

They met with considerable resistance; trains

which clearly ‘served no useful purpose were either

ceived, was not one for violation of the Amtrak Act but rather

an action for a declaratory judgment that certain trains were

*‘commuter’’ rather than ‘‘intercity’’ and that their discontinuance

_ was therefore not governed by the Amtrak Act. The correctness

of that decision is not at issue here.

‘H.R. Rep. No. 91-1580, 91st Cong., 2nd Sess. (hereafter cited

as ‘‘TT.R. Rep. 91-1580"’), p. 2 (1970).

‘8S. Report No.- 91-765, 91st Cong., 2nd Sess. (hereafter cited

as ‘‘S. Rep. 91-765’’), p..2 (1970).

BAR

eg

+ to be —_ in operation or were allowed

discontinued only after protracted adminis-

trative and judicial proceedings. [S. Rep. 91-765,

p. 2].

In 1958, in an effort to reduce the losses on passenger

train operations, Congress enacted Section 13a of the

Interstate Commerce Act (49 U.S.C. § 13a) authoriz-

ing railroads to petition the Interstate Commerce

Commission for permission to discontinue passenger

trains. While Section 13a temporarily eased the finan-

cial drain on the railroads, the number of passenger

trains continued to decline due, in part, to the inter-

state highwaysprogram (initiated in 1956), the jet air-

craft (1958), the Post Office’s conversion from enroute

sorting of mail in railway cars to stationary sorting at

section centers (1967), and the deterioration of passen-

ger services on some railroads. (S. Rep. 91-765, p. 2).

By 1970 Congress had concluded that rail passenger

service was an essential component of a balanced

national transportation system, particularly in light of

increasing congestion of the highways and airways

and consequent increases in fatalities and pollution.

(H.R. Rep. 91-1580, p. 2; S. Rep. 91-765, pp. 2-3). It —

had also concluded that, while the argument about the

causes of passenger train declines could go on indefi-

nitely,

if it continues it will be an argument only over

the past and the last passenger*train will be in a

museum. Positive action and a completely new

direction is required—and urgently required—

now. [H.R. Rep. 91-1580, p. 3].

*

To save any passenger trains at all, Congress found,

would require a paring of uneconomic routes since ‘‘a

large number of them hold no promise for financial

7

success in the foreseeable future.’’ It would also re-

quire the establishment of a quasi:public National

Railroad Passenger Corporation which could manage

rail passenger operations on a unified, national basis

and take innovative and decisive action to improve

such operations and revitalize rail passenger train serv-

ice throughout the United States. (H.R. Rep. 91-1580,

pp. 1, 3).

STRUCTURE OF THE ACT.

On October 14, 1970, Congress enacted the Rail Pas-

senger Service Act of 1970. The Act authorized crea-

tion (45 U.S.C. § 541) of a National Railroad Passen-

ger Corporation (‘‘Amtrak’’) to provide intercity rail

passenger service between points designated by the

Secretary of Transportation as components of a “‘basic

national system” of intercity rail service. (45 U.S.C.

§§ 501, 521). Though subsidized by the federal treas-

ury and vested with a broad mandate to reorganize

intercity rail service (45 U.S.C. § 545), Amtrak is not

“an agency or establishment of the United States Gov-

ernment.’ Amtrak is to act boldly and decisively, ‘‘em-

ploying innovative operating and marketing concepts

so as to fully develop the potential of modern rail serv-

ice in meeting the Nation's intercity passenger trans-

portation requirements.’’ (45 U.S.C § 541).

Under the Act, Amtrak was authorized to contract

with any railroad, on or before May 1, 1971, and be-

tween March 1, 1973 and January 1, 1975, to relieve

that railroad of its entire responsibility for provision

of intercity rail passenger service. Upon entering into

such a contract, the railroad could discontinue any in-

tercity train simply by filing with the Interstate Com-

merce Commission a thirty-day notice of intent to

a

4

j

’

4

E

Dat ad

1 OTE LEE

8

discontinue. (45 U.S.C. § 561(a)(1).° Railroads

which did not enter such contracts are forbidden to

discontinue any intercity passenger trains before

January 1, 1975, and can do so thereafter only by fol-

lowing the discontinuance procedures in Section 13a

of the Interstate Commerce Act. (45 U.S.C. § 564(a)).

Amtrak was required to provide the service included

within the “basic system’? until July 1, 1973, after

which it could effect discontinuances as provided in

the Act. (45 U.S.C. §564(b)). If ‘‘consistent with

prudent management,’’ Amtrak can also provide inter-

city rail passenger service in excess of the basic sys-

tem. It can, however, discontinue such additional

service at any time, except that any excess service pro-

vided for a eontinuous period of two years becomes

part of the ‘‘basic system.” (45 U.S.C. §§563(a),

564(b) (2)).

In establishing the Amtrak program, Congress rec-

ognized * that (1) a number of uneconomic trains would

have to be eliminated and (2) one of the most difficult

aspects of the program would be deciding which trains

to eliminate. In order to insure that these decisions

were wisely made, Congress prescribed (45 U.S.C.

®* The Central of Georgia trains involved in this litigation were

discontinued under this provision on May 1, 1971. They con-

sisted of two daily trains between Atlanta and Savannah, Georgia

and two trains between Albany, Georgia and Birmingham, Ala-

bama which ran on alternate days. |

™**TA] rational reduction of the present system will be required

to save any passenger service. The remaining service must he

organized into a cohesive system requiring a management which

takes into consideration the needs and abilities of the entire system

which will be a replacement for the diverse managements of the

present unintegrated. and in many instances unwanted (by man-

agement) passenger service.’’ [H.R. Rep. 91-1580, p. 3].

9

§ 521) specific policy factors to be considered in the

designation of the basic system * and further provided

that the basic system would not become final until the

Secretary of Transportation had responded in writing

to all recommendations he received from the Interstate

Commerce Commission, the various State Commissions,

the representatives of the railroads, and railroad labor

organizations concerning the passenger service to be

maintained. (45 U.S.C. § 522).

Finally, to insure that this program would be carried

out in accordance with the terms and purposes of the

Act, Congress provided in Section 307 (45 U.S.C. § 547)

an enforcement procedure largely borrowed from the

Comsat Act.’ Section 307(a), the focus of the present

case, provides that the Attorney General of the United

States and, in cases involving labor agreements,

affected employees and their representatives may peti-

tion the District Courts to enjoin any action by Amtrak

or a railroad which violates the Amtrak Act or threat-

ens to obstruct its purposes. Section 307(b) indicates

*In initially deciding which trains to include in the basic sys-

tem, the Secretary of Transportation utilized an interrelated set

of eight criteria:

(1) The Nation’s total transportation needs.

(2) Demand for the particular service.

(3) Cost of the particular service.

(4) The need for an integrated national rail network.

(5) Population of the points served.

(6) Profitability of the particular service.

(7) Potential for flexible service adjustments by Amtrak.

(8) Capital improvements required by the service.

(See pages 81-82 of Exhibit A to this brief.)

POE FOO OS ae

* ROO we pak: Sep t

®*See Section 403 0% the Communications Satellite Act of 1962

(47 U.S.C. § 743) set out in footnote 39, pp. 36-37, infra.

LEE LOE OL IP OLE TE Se ae

f

10

that the section leaves unaffected any causes of action

which arise other than from a violation of the Act."

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Section 307 of the Amtrak Act provides only for

enforcement suits by the Attorney General in non-labor

eases such as this. By the established construction

principle that specific Congressional expression of one

remedy excludes other remedies not expressed, Section

307 allows such suits only when brought by the Attorney

General, and not by any ‘“‘aggrieved person.’”? The

Court of Appeals rejected this statutory interpretation

despite the legislative history that strongly supports it.

During the hearings on the Amtrak Act, represen-

tatives of organized labor proposed and vigorously ar-

gued for an amendment to Section 307 which would,

inter alia, have authorized suits by any ‘“‘aggrieved

person.’’ The Secretary of Transportation acquiesced

in certain aspects of the suggested amendment (prin-

cipally, making Section 307 applicable to railroads as

well as Amtrak), but opposed the proposal to allow suits

by any ‘‘aggrieved persons.’’ He recommended that

Section 307 permit suits only by the Attorney General

and employees and their authorized representatives.

Congress followed the Secretary’s recommendations

carefully and precisely. It redrafted Section 307 to

incorporate the suggestion in which he anquenecet but

rejected labor’s proposal to allow suits by any ‘‘ag-

grieved person’’ and instead adopted his alternative

formulation.

The decision below is also erroneous because its inter-

pretation of Section 307 would severely hamper

1° Thus, suits for personal injuries allegedly caused by negligent

operation of Amtrak trains are not barred by the Act.

11

Amtrak’s achievement of its Congressional mandate to

create and admiriister a viable national system of rail

passenger service. Private suits by any railroad pas-

senger or other ‘‘aggrieved person”’ could, even if un-

sound on their merits, result in restraining orders or

preliminary injunctions that would force Amtrak to

continue the operation of uneconomic trains. This

would cost Amtrak (and thus the federal treasury) sub-

stantial sums of money and-would seriously disrupt

Amtrak’s closely coordinated plans for operating an

integrated national system of intercity rail service.

The court below erred in relying on a novel theory

that the specific jurisdictional limits imposed by Sec-

tion 307 of the Amtrak Act could be disregarded

because of the general jurisdictional grant of 28 U.S.C.

§ 1337 regarding controversies arising under statutes

regulating interstate commerce. But that theory over-

looks the established principle that specific statutory

provisions must, when applicable, take precedence over

more general provisions ir@the same or a different stat-

ute. Furthermore, even if Section 1337 could confer

jurisdiction on the District Court in a suit such as this,

that general jurisdictional statute merely allows adjudi-

cation of a cause of action arising under some other

statute regulating commerce, and does not itself give .

rise to a cause of action. The Amtrak Act creates nid

private cause of action under which persons other than

the Attorney General may bring suit to enjoin its

alleged violation. Since the Attorney General and

other legislative and executive institutions responsible

for monitoring Amtrak’s activities are quite capable

of insuring Amtrak’s full compliance with the Act,

there is no reason in this ease to create a private cause

of action by implication.

12

ARGUMENT

I. THE DECISION BELOW MISCONSTRUES THE PLAIN

LANGUAGE AND THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF

SECTION 307.

A. The Language of Section 307 Clearly Precludes Private

Parties Other Than Employees and Their Representatives

from Suing Amtrak or a Railroad for Alleged Violations of

the Act.

Section 307 of the Amtrak Act identifies only the

Attorney General as a proper party to sue for en-

forcement of the Act in non-labor eases." It is a well-

established principle of statutory construction that,

where Congress has expressly specified one party or

remedy, courts will not expand the coverage of the

statute to include other parties or remedies. As See-

tion 307 specifically authorizes suit by the Attorney

General, this principle indieates that he is the only

proper plaintiff in enforcement actions not involving

labor agreements.

Courts have traditionally relied on. this principle as

an aid to statutory eonstruction, particularly when—

as is the case here—it is supported by legislative his-

tory revealing a clear intent to exclude other parties

or meanings. See, e.g., Botany Worsted Mills v.

United States, 278 U.S. 282, 289 (1929); Maiatico v.

United States, 302 F. 2d 880, 886 (D.C. Cir. 1962) ;

United States v. Chicago Title and Trust Co., 242 F.

Supp. 56, 65 (N.D. Ill. 1965); Ex Parte York County

Natural Gas Authority, 238 F. Supp. 964, 979 (W.D.

S.C. 1965); Anderson v. Gladden, 188 F. Supp. 666,

679 (D. Ore. 1960). As noted in McDonald vy. Board of

Election Commissioners, 277 F. Supp. 14, 17 (N.D. Ill.

1967, it is ‘‘a rule of statutory construction that

where a statute enumerates persons affected, it must

11 The full text of Section 307 is set out at pages 2-3, supra.

pm eaecn es

13

be construed as excluding from its effect all those not

expressly mentioned.’’”

The court below rejected this analysis on the ground

that ‘‘whatever superficial appeal the maxim may

have, .. . it is only an aid to statutory construction,

not a rigid rule of law.’’ (SA 29). The court was cer-

tainly correct that the erpressio principle should not

be applied blindly, but neither logic nor the authori-

ties cited by the court suggest that the principle should

be rejected for no reason at all. Those authorities

point out only that the doctrine ‘‘can never override

clear and contrary evidence of Congressional intent.”’

Neuberger v. C.I.R., 311 U.S. 83, 88 (1940). As stated

by the Court of Appeals for the First Circuit in Mas-

sachusetts Trustees of Eastern Gas & Fuel Assoc. v.

United States, 312 F. 2d 214, 220 (1st Cir. 1963), aff’d

377 U.S. 235 (1964), ‘whether the specification of one

matter means the exclusion of another is a matter of

legislative intent for which one must look to the statute

as a whole.”’

More generally, as a matter of sound statutory in-

terpretation, there must be some recognized guide-

lines for construction so that courts, legislators, and

affected citizens can agree on how legislative enact-

ments will be applied in particular cases. Petitioners

do not argue that the erpressio principle is an abso-

lute and irrebutable rule which answers all questions

about the reach of statutory provisions. But the prin-

ciple has considerable force because of its intrinsic

logic and frequent past applications and should not be

12 Courts sometimes make shorthand reference to this principle

through the maxim exrpressio unius est exclusio alterius. See

United States v. Chicago Title and Trust Co., Ex Parte York Coun-

ty Natural Gas Authority, and Anderson vy. Gladden, supra.

aa t a

DON ee TA tae

MSPS ONO 9

14

disregarded unless independent sources within the

legislative history demonstrate that Congress did not

in fact intend to exclude other parties or remedies

than those specified. In the present case, the legisla-

tive history, far from suggesting that the principle is’

inapplicable, strongly supports the inference that

Congress did intend to exclude other parties from ini-

tiating enforcement actions.

B. The Legislative History of Section 307 Reveals Congress’

Intent To Limit the Power To Enforce the Amtrak Act

to the Attorney General.

In the context of this case, the significant fact in

the legislative history is that Congress considered but

rejected a proposed amendment to Section 307 that

would have authorized any aggrieved person to sue to

enjoin violations of the Act.

The original draft of the bill, considered by the

House Interstate and Foreign Commerce Committee

in June 1970, provided that the District Courts

would have jurisdiction to entertain suits against

Amtrak (but not individual railroads) ‘‘upon petition

of the Attorney General of the United States or, in a

ease involving a labor agreement, upon petition of any’

individual affected thereby .. .”. At the hearings \

spokesmen for organized labor urged that the bill be |

amended to allow actions against railroads as well as

Amtrak and to permit suits by ‘‘any person adversely

affected or aggrieved thereby, including the represen-

13 Supplemental Hearings on H.R. 17849 and 8.3706 before the

Subcommittee on Transportation and Aeronautics of the House

Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, 91st Cong., 2d

Sess., Serial 91-62 (1970) (hereinafter cited as ‘‘Supp. Hear-

ings’’) p. 43.

Po =— ee faa

15

tatives of the employees of any railroad or of the Cor-

poration.’’ One labor witness explained that,

[t]he . . . amendment we propose would modify

the language of Section 307(a) ... so as to pro-

vide that any aggrieved party, including employee

representatives, could institute legal proceedings

for violations of the law....

As the bill now reads, only the Attorney General,

except in cases involving a labor agreement, could

bring actions. [Supp. Hearings p. 134, emphasis

added].

Secretary of Transportation Volpe was asked by the

Committee to comment on these proposed changes. In

response he furnished the Committee with a letter in

which he stated that he did not object to that portion

of the proposed amendment which would allow suits

against railroads as well as Amtrak. On the other

hand, concerning the proposal to amend the bill to

permit suits by any ‘‘aggrieved person,”’ he stated:

Sanctions are normally imposed by the Govern-

ment. Consequently, I would be opposed to per-

mitting “‘any person”’ to seek enforcement of sec-

tion 307. I would have no objection, however, if

the section were revised to permit employee rep-

resentatives, as well as employees affected, to seek

equitable relief. [Supp. Hearings p. 85, emphasis

added. ]

The Committee redraft of Section 307 and the bill as

finally enacted are in exact conformity with Secretary

Volpe’s recommendations. Railroads were added to

its reach, but labor’s other proposal, which would have

4 See also Supp. Hearings at pp. 119, 122, 141.

i

:

t

16

permitted suit by any aggrieved party, was completely

rejected and Secretary Volpe’s language adopted in-

stead. |

The case is thus similar to National Automatic

Laundry and Cleaning Council v. Schultz, 443 F.2d 689

(D.C. Cir. 1971) in which the court likewise found

clear indication of legislative purpose in Congress’

rejection of amendments designed to limit the reach

of a broad remedial provision.” That the rationale

for rejecting the amendment in the National Auto-

matic Laundry case was articulated by a Congressman

and im this case’ was articulated by the cabinet officer

principally responsible for overseeing the subject pro-

gram is irrelevant. The intent of Congress can prop-

erly be divined from its acceptance of an Executive

branch recommendation as well'as from statements

made during floor debate. Indeed, the intention of the

Congress is even more evident here than in National

Automate Laundry. Here Congress did not simply

ignore or reject labor’s proposal but instead carefully

adopted that portion of the suggested amendment which

Secretary Volpe endorsed, rejected the specific portion

he opposed, namely, the suggestion that any “aggrieved

person”? should be able to bring suit, and instead

adopted his alternative formulation permitting suit by

the Attorney General, employees and their representa-

tives. :

The court below acknowledged the existence of this

legislative history but discounte | its significance. Cit-

15‘ In the matter before us there is not merely silence, proposals

languishing without any Congressional action, but positive action

by Congress rejecting the limiting amendments.’’ [443 F.2d

at 706 }. :

17

-

ing Trailmobile Co. v. Whirls, 331 U.S. 40 (1947), the

court stated that: it was unwise to-rely on statutory

changes made in Congressiohal committees without ex-

planation. In the Trailmobile case, however, the legis-

lative history was entirely inconclusive; there were no

comments from any source whatever concerning the

issue involved. In this case there was an abundance

of comment. Two prominent labor spokesmen vigor-

ously requested a specific change in statutory language.

The Secretary of Transportation urged that this broad

proposal be rejected and suggested an alternative

formulation which was subsequently adopted. In view

of this clear legislative history, it hardly requires a

‘strained process'of deduction,’ as the court below

viewed the matter (SA 36), to realize that Congress °

consciously and carefully chose not to permit all

allegedly aggrieved parties to maintain suits for sup-

posed violations of the Amtrak Act.

By suggesting that only reported debates or formal

statements by members of Congress are useful indicia

of intent, the court below has taken too narrow a view

of the legislative process. This approach ignores the

fact that Congressional committees bear the principal

burden of formulating precise legislative language,

and it is their actions and decisions which most aceu-

rately evidence the nuances of statutory meaning.

y

r.

In drafting Section 307, the House Committee’ on \

Interstate and. Foreign Commerce heard comment on

and then rejected labor’s proposal to allow any injured

party to sue and adopted a counterproposal by the \

Secretary of Transportation. While individual opin-

ions of private witnesses at committee hearings may

sometimes be of doubtful value in determining legisla-

18

tive intent,’* courts have traditionally deferred to the

opinion of the administrative officer statutorily

charged with administration of the act. See, e.g., Red

Tion Broadcasting Co., Inc. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367, 381

(1969) ; Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 433-34

(1971) ; United States v. City of Chicago, 400 U.S. 8,

10 (1970) ; Lewis v. Martin, 397 U.S. 552, 559 (1970) ;

Bowman v. Department of Agriculture, 363 F.2d-81

(5th Cir. 1966) ; Philadelphia Television Broadcasting

Co. v. FCC, 359, F.2d 282 (D.C. Cir. 1966). Some

federal courts have recently viewed this deference as

mandatory in the absence of clear, compelling language

to the contrary. ‘‘The Secretary’s interpretation .. .

if reasonable, must be given effect.’’ Alexander v.

Richardson, 451 F.2d 1185, 1187 (10th Cir. 1971). The

Secretary of Transportation has substantial responsi-

bility for establishing the Amtrak program and super-

vising its operation,” and certainly his opinion (that

the language he proposed for Section 307 would give

the Attorney General exclusive enforcement power in

non-labor cases) is entitled to great weight.

Furthermore, the Attorney General has taken the

position that ‘‘in non-labor agreement cases, Section

307 of the Act ... reserves to the Attorney General the

exclusive right to sue Amtrak or any railroad for

16 But see, Chicago & Northwestern Railway Company v. United

Transportation Union, 402 U.S. 570 (1971). in which this Court, in

construing the Railway Labor Act, attributed great weight to the

statements of spokesmen of railroad management and labor made

in hearings before the House Committee on Interstate and Foreign

Commerce.

17 See, for example, 45 U.S.C. §§ 521, 522, 548, 563, 602, 621,

and 645.

19

actual or threatened violation of the policies and pro-

visions of the Act.’’** This interpretation was re-

cently reaffirmed in the Memorandum for the United

States filed by the Solicitor General in support of the

petition for a writ of certiorari in this case. As this

Court has noted, courts should respect the construe-

tion of an administrative statute given ‘‘by the men

charged with the responsibility of setting its machin-

ery in motion, of making the parts work efficiently and

smoothly while they are yet untried and new.’”’ Power

Reactor Development Co. v. International Union of

Electrical, Radio and Machine Warkers, 367 U.S. 396,

408 (1961).

The court below also sought to demonstrate Con-

gress’ intent to allow private enforcement of the Act

by showing that it specifically denied judicial review

in other sections of the Act. (SA 38). Section 202 of

the Act (45 U.S.C. § 522) states that the Secretary’s

designation of which railroad lines shall constitute the

basic system ‘‘shall not be reviewable in any court.’’

The Court of Appeals argued that Congress therefore

knew how to draft decisively when it wished to limit

judicial review and would have put the word ‘“‘only”’

before the phrase ‘‘upon petition of the Attorney

General ... .”’ had it wished to preclude suits by anyone

else.

There is no logical or practical inconsistency be-

tween Section 202 and petitiovers’ construction of See-

tion 307. Section 202 involves a Government official’s

18 See letter of Acting Assistant Attorney General E. Grey Lewis,

dated September 6, 1972, set out as Appendix E to the certiorari

petition (p. 42a).

20

exercise of administrative authority of the sort nor-

mally reviewable by courts. Section 307, on the other

hand, involves suits against private railroad companies

and Amtrak, which is explicitly not an agency of the

Federal government. Having withdrawn the designa-

tion of the basic system from judicial review in Section

202, it would certainly have been anomalous for Con-

gress to provide disappointed train passengers in Sec-

tion 307 with an equally effective method of fighting

_the elimination of their lines, namely, institution of

expensive and: protracted actions to enjoin the discon-

tinuances.

The analysis of the legislative history by the court

below alsp rests on the assumption that Section 307 is

‘‘redundant’’ (SA 31) and that Congress ‘‘might well

have believed, notwithstanding the remarks of railway

labor representatives, that Section 307 as originally

drafted did not bar suits by all injured and aggrieved

parties.”” (SA 36). While these and other explana-

tions are, of course, ‘‘conceivable’’ (to use the court’s

language, SA 36), they do not appear likely.

As distinguished from such speculations, the Sec-

retary of Transportation, the Attorney General, and

the Solicitor General have all advanced the more logi-

cal: explanation that Section 307 simply means what

it says, namely, that to invoke the jurisdiction of the

District Courts, suits to restrain violation of the

Amtrak Act must be brought by affected employees,

their representatives, or the Attorney General. Peti-

tioners submit that the legislative history of the Sec-

tion, its plain language, and the purposes of the Act

all confirm this construction. |

21 : ~

II. THE DECISION BELOW WOULD SERIOUSLY FRUS-

TRATE THE FUNDAMENTAL PURPOSES OF THE AM-

TRAK ACT.

Not only does the decision by the Court of Appeals

misconstrue the language and the legislative history

of Section 307. In addition, that court’s interpreta-

tion of Section 307 would severely hamper the achieve-

ment of the statute’s purpose. Indeed, a decision by

this Court affirming the holding below that any

railroad passenger, passenger association, or other

aggrieved person may sue Amtrak or a railroad for

any supposed violation of this comprehensive legisla-

tion could so hobble this program for saving the

nation’s rail passenger service as to effectively prevent

He fulfillment of that important legislative goal.

The House Report which accompanied the bill that

became the Amtrak Act stated that “the overriding

purpose of this legislation is to preserve and: promote

intercity rail passenger service ...’’ (H.R. Rep. 91-

1580, p. 2). Accomplishment of this goal, Congress

concluded, would require a national management cor-

poration which could weld the passenger operations of

numerous railroad companies into a single, cohesive

system and could act decisively and innovatively to

make that system a viable transportation mode as

quickly as possible.” Amtrak has already made

significant progress toward achieving that goal,” but

18 See pages 5-7, supra.

*° The Amtrak Act, as amended, 45 U.S.C. § 645, (Supp. IT 1972),

required the Secretary of Transportation to transmit to Congress

by March 15, 1973, a coniprehensive report on the effectiveness of

the Act and the Corporation in promoting intercity rail passenger

service. That report is filed as Exhibit A to this brief and con-

cludes that, during its first 22 months of operation, ‘‘Amtrak has

a

1

Cl

22

- the program is still in a formative period, and there is

a great deal yet to do." During the months and years

ahead, Amtrak will need to take countless actions to

improve and streamline the national railroad pas-

senger system it was created to nianage. Of necessity,

many of these actions will affect very large numbers

of passengers and other persons.

Under the decision below, each of the several mil-

lion passengers who ride Amtrak trains is a potential |

plaintiff in a suit t6é enjoin some Amtrak action he does y

taken important steps to improve intercity rail passenger service.’””

(Ex. A, p. 4). Several indicators of such progress are cited :

‘‘Ridership in the period May-November 1972 was 11% he

higher than in the corresponding period of 1971.

The net cash loss from operations in FY 1972 was $152.7

million; the FY 1973 loss is estimated at $124.9 million. Un-

der the route and service levels recommended in this report it

is estimated to decline further to $95.6 million in FY 1974.

_ Revenue increased from $150.5 million in FY 1972 to an

estimated $179.4 million in FY 1973.

Amtrak acquired its own fleet of 1550 passenger cars and

420 locomotives. A major refurbishment program is under-

way.

New turbine powered trains have been either purchased or

ordered from U.S., Canadian, and French manufacturers.

Amtrak simplified tickets, timetables and fares; a new

computerized reservation system is being implemented.

On-train services have improved measurably ; train directors .

are being placed on most trains to supervise services.’’ (Ex.

A, p. 4).

21‘«Programs actively underway provide for improving equip-

ment, reservations, schedules, fare structure, food service, and

other passenger comforts. Administrative changes necessary to the

efficient and economic operation of the corporation are also under-

way, and include improved data collection on revenue, expenses and

ridership, improved cost control, auditing of contracts with par-

ticipating carriers and assuming direct control over functions solely

related to intercity passenger service.’’ (Ex. A, p. 3).

ee ee Se ge

7} #

93 .

not like.” Virtually everything Amtrak does could

be made the basis of an injunctive action by an

‘““aggrieved’’ passenger—the discontinuance of a par-

ticular train, a revision in schedules and timetables.

changes in on-board services (as, for example, substi-

tuting snack bar service in place of a dining car, or

reclining parlor chairs in place of a sleeping car),

revamping of ticketing and reservation procedures, a

redesignation of intermediate stops along a particular

route, and so on.

Furthermore, the decision below is not limited to

railroad passengers, but expressly encompasses all

allegedly injured and aggrieved parties. (SA 43).

Thus, Amtrak actions in purchasing new rolling stock,

refurbishing present equipment, upgrading roadbed,

changing mail and baggage car arrangements, and

many other matters could easily become the subject of

injunctive actions brought by affected parties other

than passengers.*

igo

*2In.1972 Amtrak trains carried approximately 16,600,000 pas-

sengers, about 96° of the nation’s total number of intercity rail

passengers for that year. Sce Hearings before the Subcommittee

on Department of Transportation and Related Agencies of the

House Committee on Appropriations, 93rd. Cong., 1st Sess., (1973)

Part 2—p. 1054,

*3 Compare District Judge John P. Fullam’s observation, quo-

ted in In re Penn Central Transportation Co., 446 F.2d 1109, 1113

(3rd Cir. 1971), cert. denied 405 U.S. Ga8 (1972) ;

‘‘It is a matter of common knowledge that very many interested

persons and governmental entities and agencies question the

adequacy of intercity rail passenger service proposed to be

supplied by Railpax [Amtrak]. It is not inconceivable that,

if they were free to do so, large numbers of such persons,

entities and groups might seek to litigate particular issues in

a wide variety of forums.’’

SER ATA TE IE REN TTR,

Sra) 7

Oe oO

24

The effect of this kind of litigation on the ability of

Amtrak to carry out its Congressional mandate can

best be appreciated by focusing on a single example.

In its Repsrt to Congress of March 15, 1973, the De-

partment of Transportation set forth a detailed analy-

sis of Amtrak’s present route structure. The report

pointed out that the establishment of an optimum

national route system was a dynamic process and would

require continued re-examination and adjustment.

(Ex. A, p. 79). On the basis of the same eight

criteria initially used to designate the basie system,

the report concluded that most of Amtrak’s routes

should be left intact but that certain modifications

were in order because of the excessive deficits experi-

enced on those lines. Thus, the Department recom-

mended that Amtrak discontinue the Chicago-Florida

train (deficit for fiscal year 1972—$5.1 million), the

New York-Kansas City train ($5 million deficit), and

the Washington, D.C.—Parkersburg, West Virgina

train ($700,000 deficit) and that service be reduced and

rearranged on the Chiecago-Houston run ($4.5 million

deficit) and Chicago-Newport News train ($4.4 million

deficit). (See Ex. A, pp. 80-98) .**

If, pursuant to these recommendations, Amtrak

seeks to discontinue the New York-Kansas City train

in order to achieve a viable national system, many

passengers who ride that train may feel themselves

‘‘aggrieved.”’? If any one of these passengers files a

24 These recommendations closely coincided with those made by

Amtrak and its consultant McKinsey & Company. (Ex. A, p. 6).

In each case, where the Department of Transportation recommended

discontinuance of a particular service, ‘‘well-developed alternatives

[ie., other transportation modes] are available.’” (Ex. A, p. 83).

-

PRO RI taken © eee eorerman eee

25

complaint * advancing even a superficially plausible

theory under which such a discontinuance would vio-

late the Amtrak Act, a District Judge unfamiliar with

the intricacies of the statute may feel that prelimin-

ary injunctive relief is necessary to preserve the

status quo until the merits of the matter can be fully

briefed and adjudicated.“ After a decision on the

merits in the District Court, there is the possibility of

further substantial delay if an injunction or restrain-

ing order is obtained while the case is on appeal. Even

if Amtrak ultimately wins such a suit, the continued

operation of the uneconomic train during the litigation

would cost Amtrak (and thus the federal treasury)

thousands or even millions of dollars.

Moreover, since the New York-Kansas City train

passes through nine states, a number of injunctive

actions could easily be filed in several different Dis-

*° Under the Act as presently drafted, 45 U.S.C. § 564(b) (3), dis-

continuances of basic system trains, such as New York-Kansas City,

are subject to the provisions of Section 13a of the Interstate Com-

merce Act. Because of the extensive monitoring of Amtrak by the

Executive Branch and Congress, the Department of Transporta-

tion has urged Congress to exempt Amtrak from such ICC juris-

diction to avoid the possibility that Amtrak could be required ‘to

perform an uneconomic service, through an extended period of

litigation, at substantial cost to the general taxpayer.” (Ex. A,

p. 108). Unless they have been operated for two continuous years,

experimentalggrains not required by the designated basie system,

like the Washington, D.C.-Parkersburg train, can be discontinued

by Amtrak at any time without ICC approval. 45 U.S.C. § 564(b)

(2).

*6Such a temporary restraining order was granted, then ex-

tended, by Chief Judge Blumenfeld in Wood v. National Railroad

Passenger Corporation, 341 F.Supp. 908 (D. Conn. 1972), but

later dissolved when Amtrak prevailed on the merits.

26

trict Courts,” possibly located in different Circuits.

If only one of these suits resulted in a preliminary in-

junction, the planned train discontinuance could be

delayed until the conflicting decisions of the various

District Courts were resolved by a Court of Appeals

or, perhaps ultimately by this Court.

It was exactly these considerations which the Solici-

tor General cited in urging this Court to grant

certiorari in the present case: |

Amtrak deficits resulting from operation of un-

economic and unneeded trains must be minimized

if Amtrak’s limited resources are to be put to the

best: possible use in the permanent improvement

of the rail passenger system. The court of

appeals’ decision, however, is likely to frustrate

that purpose.

The decision is likely to lead to a large number

of lawsuits, filed by states, localities, or private

persons or associations, designed to delay or de-

feat Amtrak’s curtailment or elimination of un-

economic or unneeded service. This is particu-

larly likely when the only alternatives are loss.of

service or subsidies from local budgets for the

service (45 U.S.C. 563(b)). Moreover, it is prob-

able that stays of the discontinuance of service

will be issued in many of those cases, thereby re-

quiring Amtrak to continue the service for the

duration of the litigation. The likely result of

27 When Amtrak made certain changes in its ‘‘Empire Service’’

between New York City and Buffalo, including the discontinuance

of certain trains between New York City and Albany, two separate

suits were brought to enjoin those changes—one by the Commis-

sioner of Transportation of the State of New York in the United

States District Court for the Northern District of New York, an-

other by the City of New York in the United States District Court

for the Southern District of New York. See Schuler et al v. Na-

tional Railroad Passenger Corporation et al., No. 72-CV-211 (N.D.

N.Y.) and City of New York v. National Railroad Passenger Cor-

poration, et al., No. 72 Civ. 1988 (S.D.N.Y.).

27.

«

permitting such suits to be maintained, therefore,

is a further drain on Amtrak’s limited resources

and their diversion into activities that are incon-

sistent with and unnecessary to the Congressional

plan to improve and rehabilitate intercity rail

passenger service. (Memorandum for the United

States, pp. 4-5).

The burden imposed upon Amtrak by even a single

preliminary injunction would not be limited merely to

the direct costs of the continued operation of the par-

ticular train involved. Substantial amounts of rolling

stock scheduled for use in other locations would be tied

up. Planned schedule changes in the operation of

other trains might well be made impossible because of

problems with connections, personnel transfers, lay-

overs, and so forth. In short, because the viability of

the overall passenger system depends on the efficient

coordination of many different services, one major

injunctive action could disrupt Amtrak’s operations as

severely as a multitude of lawsuits.

The inability of individual passengers to bring pri-

vate lawsuits would not, of course, leave these passen-

gers remedy-less or grant Amtrak freedom to disre-

gard the policies and provisions of its governing Act.

Running a national system of railroad passenger trains

is hardly an inconspicuous business, and everything

Amtrak does is closely watched and monitored by a

variety of interested governmental agencies which

can certainly be counted upon to act on their own

initiative, as well as in response to significant com-

plaints, to insure that Amtrak obeys the letter and

spirit of the law. Under the Act, the Secretary of

Transportation, the Interstate Commerce’¥ Commis-

sion, and the Corporation itself are required to submit

to the President and the Congress extensive annual re-

SIERO TARR RTE

aR Cal cae

28

ports on the state of the program, and Amtrak is also

required to submit detailed mouthly reports on its

operations. (45 U.S.C. § 548). Several Congressional

committees are keenly interested in Amtrak and have

held hearings to oversee its progress.* And the At-

torney General has established an Amtrak section

within the Department of Justice to insure that the

program is being carried out in conformity with the

terms and purposes of the Act.”

PRRs (eS et

If Amtrak attempts some major program which is

inconsistent with achievement of the desired legislative

goal, one can be sure that interest groups like the Na-

tional Association of Railroad Passengers will prompt-

ly bring the matter to Congress’ attention.” And if

such groups should believe that a specific action by

Amtrak violates the Act, they may present that con-

28 Since enactment of the Amtrak Act, the Senate Commerce

Committee and the House Interstate and Foreign Commerce Com-

mittee have each held two sets of hearings (in the spring of 1972

and the spring of 1973) to review Amtrak’s progress under the

Act. Amtrak has also been subject to annual appropriation hear-

ings in both the Senate and the House.

29 Supplemental Memorandum of National Railroad Passenger

Corporation filed in the Court of Appeals September 22, 1972

(hereafter ‘‘Supp. Memo.’’) p. 5.

30 Anthony Haswell, President of respondent National Associa-

tion of Railroad Passengers, has frequently testified before the

Ilouse Interstate and Foreign Committee and other Congressional

Committees. (SA 16). In the hearings leading to passage of tle

Amtrak Act, he testified that,

““T feel that it would be unnecessary and inconsistent to,

in effect, put a lotof teeth into the hands of some other Fed-

eral agency to make sure that the Corporation is ordered to

do the very thing that it is being brought into existence to

do. This Corporation will not have its attention diverted by

having to run freight trains or looking around for juicy in-

vestments in real estate, or whatever. Its purpose for being

£

=

aa

29

tention to the Attorney General and request that he

seek an injunction.** The Attorney General is well

suited to act as an overall ‘‘watchdog”’ of the Amtrak

program and to decide what lawsuits should be brought

and what relief sought in order to insure compliance

with the essential provisions of the legislative charter.

If, however, all actions taken or proposed by Amtrak

may be enjoined, even temporarily, at the behest of

any ‘‘aggrieved’’ passenger or other private party, it

will truly be impossible for Amtrak to carry out the

complicated and closely coordinated planning or the

innovative and responsive action on which the achieve-

ment of its Congressional mandate is premised.

Ill. THE DECISION BELOW MISAPPLIES 28 U.S.C. §1337

TO THIS CASE. ,

In the final portion of its opinion, the Court of |

Appeals finds support for its decision in a novel

theory which was never briefed or mentioned by the

parties below. Under this theory (SA 43), Section

307 of the Amtrak Act gives the Attorney General the

right to seek injunctions for violations of the Act and

for any action, practice or policy which, though not a

is to run passenger trains. Therefore, I am not concerned

about the absence of strong controls*or, directives and so forth

either in the statute itself, enforceable by the courts, or in

the hands of some other agency. I am certain, if, after the

first year, we are not getting the results that we want along

these lines, the Congress will take a very thorough look. The

statute requires that reports must be given every year to the

Congress. So, I am willing to set this thing up with positive

incentive and encouragement and let it go at least for a while.’’

(Supp. Hearings, p. 178, emphasis added.

31 Indeed, respondent’s present complaint was studied by the

Amtrak section at the Department of Justice which concluded,

after consultation with the Department of Transportation, that

the Amtrak-Central of Georgia contract does not violate the Act.

(Supp. Memo. p. 5).

4

OS “ey SE aoe te te 2 ROPERS 2gar Roe a ie CCN PN RR Me SNE ES SS EN

30

direct violation, is nonetheless inconsistent with the

purposes of the Act, while Section 1337 of Title 28,

United States Code gives all aggrieved persons the

right to sue Amtrak and the railroads for actual vio-

lations of the Act. (SA 31).

This analysis, which would make a nullity of Sec-

tion 307, ignores the well-established principle of stat-

utory construction that ‘‘specific terms prevail over

the general in the same or another statute which might

otherwise be controlling.” Fourco Glass Co. v. Trans-

mirra Prods. Corp., 353 U.S. 222, 228-29 (1957) ; see

also MacEvoy Co. v. United States, 322 U.S. 102, 107

(1944) ; Ginsberg & Sons v. Popkin, 2895 U.S. 204, 208

(1932). The specific language of Section 307 is ex-

pressly jurisdictional—‘‘the district court . . . shall

have jurisdiction . . . upon petition of the Attorney

General’’—and even fixes the venue for actions seeking

to restrain violations of the Act, ie., “the district in

which the Corporation or other person resides or may

be found.”’ Such a specific jurisdictional grant in a

particular ‘Congressional enactment must supersede

the general jurisdictional grant of 28 U.S.C. § 1337.

If this were not so, it would be meaningless for Con-

gress to insert specific jurisdictional provisions in any

4 of the vast number of statutes it has enacted under the

ecommerce clause since any allegedly aggrieved party

could ignore such specific jurisdictional limits—of

which there are many—by invoking the general juris-

diction of the District Court under Section 1337.

CoP Bit i NADL ARE BEGETS COE

But this is not the law. For example, in the recent

ease of Barlow v. Collins, 397 U.S. 159, 167 (1970),

|

3298 U.S.C. § 1337 provides that ‘‘the district courts shall have

| original jurisdiction of any civil action or proceeding arising un-

der any Act of Congress regulating commerce or protecting trade

and commerce against restraints and monopolies.’’

=

—— Beet PAS:

S me Pn Bek

So ae eS es J . ‘> reel

31

relied upon in the decision below (SA 24-25), this

Court cited Switchmen’s Union of North America v.

National Mediation Board, 320 U.S. 297 (1943) for

the proposition that ‘‘a clear command of the statute

will preclude [judicial] review, and such a command

may be inferred from its purpose.’’ Switchmen’s held

that the ‘‘broad grant of general jurisdiction”’ con-

tained in the predecessor to 28 U.S.C. § 1337 could not

be invoked ‘‘in the face of the special circumstances”

present in that case, namely, Congress’ obvious efforts

to protect the National Mediation Board’s handling of

the “‘explosive’’ problem of collective bargaining unit

certification and the ‘‘highly selective manner in which

Congress has provided for judicial review’? under

the Railway Labor Act. (320 U.S. at 300, 303, 305).

The Court’s opinion declares:

Congress for reasons of its own decided upon the

method for the protection of the ‘‘right’’ which it

created. It selected the precise machinery and

fashioned the tool which it deemed suited to that

end. Whether the imposition of judicial review

on top of the Mediation Board’s administrative

determination would strengthen that protection is

a considerable question. All constitutional ques-

tions aside, it is for Congress to determine how the

rights which it creates shall be enforced‘... In such

a case the specification of one remedy normally

excludes another. [320 U.S. at 301].

83 See also Fleischmann Distilling Corp. vy. Maier Brewing Co.,

386 U.S. 714 at 720 (1967) : ‘Where a cause of action has been ere-

ated by a statute which expressly provides the remedies for vindi-

cation of the cause, other remedies should not readily be implied.’’

Cf. Schilling v. Rogers, 363 U.S. 666 at 674 (1960) : ‘“The point is

that in this Act Congress was advertent to the role of courts and an

absence in any specific area of any kind of provision for judicial

participation strongly indicates a legislative purpose that there be

no such participation.’’

ae eee

~ 32

The Court of Appeals seeks to distinguish the

_ Switchmen’s case on the ground that there a ‘‘neutral

administrative body’’—the Mediation Board—was re-

solving disputes between competing interests. (SA

44). But the Court in Switchmen’s talked in

terms of Congressionally fashioned ‘‘machinery”’

and ‘‘tools,’’ not the existence of a particular admin-*

istrative body. It is not only courts and boards which

ean provide protection to affected individuals. As

noted above, in framing thé¥Amtrak Act Congress

established several specific procedures and provisions

to insure that the subject program would be carried

out in the best interests of the traveling public:

—The Secretary of Transportation was required to

solicit and consider the views of interested per-

sons, before finalizing his proposal for the ‘*hasie

system.” (45 U.S.C. § 522).

—The majority of Amtrak’s Board of Directors is

appointed by the, President of the United States.

(45 U.S.C. § 543).

__Amtrak is made subject to many, but not all, pro-

visions of the Interstate Commerce Act. (49

U.S.C. § 546). *

—Amtrak, the Secretary of Transportation, and the

Interstate Commerce Commission are all required

to submit to the President and the Congress

annual reports on progress made under the

Amtrak program and recommendations for the

future, and Amtrak is required to submit to the

Congress and release to the public detailed month-

ly reports on its operations. (45 U.S.C. § 548).

Accounts of the Corporation are to be audited

annually by independent certified public account-

ants and, if appropriate, the Comptroller General.

(45 U.S.C. § 644).

errr creel

2

33

—The Attorney General is empowered to seek in-

junctions for any actual or threatened violation of

the Act. (45 U.S.C. § 547).

Surely here, as in Switchmen’s, it is clear that Con-

gress has selected the machinery which it deems suited

to protection of persons affected by the Amtrak pro-

gram. To hold, in the face of these specifie safe-

guards, that any aggrieved person may also sue

Amtrak under the general jurisdictional grant of 28

U.S.C. § 1337 is to disregard entirely Congress’ efforts

to protect Amtrak from unnecessary and potentially

disruptive litigation. As the Court noted in Switch-

men’s,

Where Congress took such great pains to protect

the Mediation Board in its handling of an ex-

plosive problem, we cannot help believe that if

Congress had desired to implicate the federal

judiciary and to place on the federal courts the

burden of having the final say on any aspect of

the problem, it would have made its desire plain.

[320 U.S. at 303.] *

%* The court below also noted that Switchmen’s grew out of a

field long relegated to conciliation and mediation, while ratlroad

discontinuances have historically been subject to administrative and

judicial review. (SA 44-45) But the Amtrak Act expressly

embodies a radical departure from past practice—under 45

U.S.C. §561(a), any railroad participating in the Amtrak

program need only file a thirty-day notice to discontinue an inter-

city train, the old hearing and review procedure of Section 13a

of the Interstate Commerce Act having been there dispensed with.

In light of this sharp break with the past, it hardly seems likely

that Congress would attempt to sneak in through the back door

of Section 1337 an even broader right of judicial recourse than

had previously existed when federal courts could only review ICC

decisions in discontinuance cases on a ‘‘substantial evidence’’ basis.

State of New York vy. United States, 299 F.Supp. 989, 994 (N_D.

N.Y. 1969, Waterman J.), aff’d 396 U.S. 281 (1970).

LM PMOL I BS

34

Furthermore, even assuming that Section 1337 were

to give the District Court jurisdiction to entertain the

present suit, which we deny, the question would re-

main whether a passenger association has any enforce-

able cause of action on which to sue. As this Court

stated in Montana-Dakota Utilities Co. v. Northwestern

Public Servite Co., 341 U.S. 246, 249 (1951), ‘the

Judicial Code, in vesting jurisdiction in the District

Courts, does not create causes of action, but only con-

fers jurisdiction to adjudicate those arising from other

sourees....’’ Cf. Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678 (1946).

Section 1337 of the Judicial Code vests jurisdiction

in the District Courts only for suits ‘‘arising under any

Act of Congress regulating commerce.” Thus, we are

necessarily remanded to the Amtrak Act to see if that

Act gives rise to any such private cause of action as

the National Association of Railroad Passengers here

asserts. Clearly there is no section of the Act which

does so. Although Congress was aware of the kind of

complaints passengers could be expected to have in

regard to Amtrak operations,” it did not set forth in

the Act any private right of action for raiJroad pass--

engers in particular or ‘aggrieved parties”? in general.

Congress did, however, confer limited rights of action

on two specific groups—employees and their repre-

sentatives in eases involving labor agreements (45

U.S.C. § 547) and railroads seeking to recover com-

pensation for the provision of facilities or services

(45 U.S.C. § 562). It also vested the Attorney General

with the general power to enforce the terms and pur-

poses of the Act.

33 See, for example, S. Rep. 91-765, p. 4.

35

The conelusion of the court below that private suits

are necessary to insure realization of the goals of the

Amtrak Act rests on the unsupported premise that the

Attorney General cannot or will not act aggressively

and effectively to enforce the provisions of the Act.

This premise is wholly unwarranted.** As noted above,

the Attorney General has established an Amtrak sec-

tion within the Department of Justice. In conjunction

with the Department of Transportation, that section

has reviewed various complaints about alleged viola-

tions of the Act, including those of the respondent. The

Attorney General’s ability to exercise his informed dis-

cretion in deciding which situations warrant judicial

intervention is, as Secretary Volpe suggested to Con-

°® Cases such as J. I. Case Co. v. Borak, 377 US. 426 (1964), and

Allen v. State Board of Elections, 393 U.S. 544 (1969), cited by the

Court of Appeals for implying such a private right of action here

are inapposite. Unlike the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 or the

Voting Rights Act of 1965, the Amtrak Act does not seek to estab-

lish enforceable individual rights in a broad class of persons but at-

tempts to save a threatened national resource for use by the public

in general. Unlike the statutes in Borak and Allen, the Amtrak

Act is not ambiguous; it clearly defines who may bring enforcement

actions— the Attorney General. And the scope of possible viola-

tions is well within the Attorney General’s enforcement power—

while there may annually be hundreds or thousands of Security

Act violations or voting frauds throughout the country, possible

violations of the Amtrak statute are not so numerous as to suggest

that the Attorney General cannot monitor the way Amtrak is con-

ducting its business and bring suits therefor if necessary. In such

circumstances, no private right of action should be implied. Cal-

houn v. Harvey, 379 U.S. 184 (1964) ; Montana-Dakota Utilities

Co. v. Northwest Public Service Co.. 341 U.S. 246 (1951): B.F.

Goodrich Co. v. Northwestern Industries, I ne., 424 F.2d 1349 (3rd

Cir, 1970), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 829: Blaney v. Florida National

Bank, 357 F.2d 27 (5th Cir. 1966) ; Noel Estate, Inc. v. Commercial

National Bank in Shreveport, 232 F.2d 483 (5th Cir. 1956).

36

gress," one excellent reason for limiting the power to

bring suit to the Attorney General.

In enacting the sanction section of the Communica-

tions Satellite Act of 1962 (47 U.S.C. § 743), on which

Section 307 of the Amtrak Act is closely patterned,

Congress was confronted with exactly the same argu-

ment—that the Attorney General would not adequately

police the actions of the proposed Comsat corporation.

Senator Hubert Humphrey and Attorney General

Robert Kennedy both responded that legislation of this

kind must be enacted on the assumption that the

Attorney General will take appropriate action to safe-

guard the public interest," and Congress enacted the

section ® in language virtually identical to that of

Section 307.

87 See p. 15, supra.

38 108 Cong. Ree. p. 16697, August 16, 1962.

39 47 U.S.C. § 743 provides as follows:

(a) Petition of Attorney General for equitable relief; venue.

If the corporation created pursuant to this chapter shall engage

in or adhere to any action, practices, or policies inconsistent with

the policy and purposes declared in section 701 of this title, or if

the corporation or any other person shall violate any provision of

this chapter, or shall obstruct or interfere with any activities au-

thorized by this chapter, or shall refuse, fajl, or neglect to dis-

charge his duties and responsibilities under fits chapter, or shall

threaten any such violation, obstruction, interference, refusal, fail-

ure, or neglect, the district court of the United States for any

district in which such corporation or other person resides or may

be found shall have jurisdiction, except as otherwise prohibited

by law, upon petition of the Attorney General of the United States,

to grant such equitable relief as may be necessary or appropriate to

prevent or terminate such conduct or threat.

\

' 37

Certainly the present record provides no basis for.

asserting that the Attorney General cannot or will not

take appropriate action to terminate actual or threat-

ened violations of the Amtrak Act. There is thus no

justification for concluding that private parties must

be able to sue under 28 U.S.C. § 1337 in order to insure

compliance with the terms and purposes of the Act.

CONCLUSION

The Amtrak Act was designed by Congress to deal

with an emergency situation in the nation’s railroad

passenger service. As noted by the Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit,

It has become painfully apparent that the condi-

tion of the nation’s railroads is eroding daily.

Services are being cut back, existing services are

deteriorating, and the availability of working cap-

ital has become critically limited. Reacting to

an ever worsening rail passenger crisis, Congress

enacted the Rail Passenger Service Act of 1970,

supra .... The legislative history of the Act

and the findings therein make clear that Congress

regarded as imperative the timely im plementation

of the Act. In Re Penn Central Transportation

Co., 457 F.2d 381, 386 (3rd Cir. 1972), emphasis

added.

(b) Punishment, liability or sanction under other provisions.

Nothing contained in this section shall be construed as relieving

any person of any punishment, liability, or sanction which may

be imposed otherwise than under this chapter.

(ce) Duty of compliance with provisions of chapter and rules and

regulations.

It shall be the duty of the corporation and all communications

common carriers to comply, insofar as applicable, with all provi-

sions of this chapter and all rules and regulations promulgated

thereunder.

RD ER PIES BABS BE FE EE Ee SE PR I ON Ie an ee

38

The decision below holding that all aggrieved per-

sons may sue Amtrak or any railroad in the District

Courts to enjoin supposed violations of the Act mis-

construes the language of the Act and its legislative

history and threatens to severely frustrate Amtrak’s

efforts to achieve the important purpose for which

it was created. For these reasons, petitioners respect-

fully submit that the decision below should be re-

versed.

Respectfully submitted,

Wru1AM O. BITTMAN

Curtis E. Von KANN

815 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorneys for Petitioner National

Railroad Passenger Corporation

CHARLES A. HorsKY

Wiuu1aM D. Iverson

888 16th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorneys for Petitioners Central

of Georgia Railway Company

and Southern Railway Company

Of Counsel:

Hocan & HARTSON

CovINGTON & BURLING

ey aD a

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.