Petitioners Brief — Schneckloth v. Bustamonte

Supreme Court brief1973

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

In the Suprene Court

OF THE

Unite D State bs | Sepom- ¢ cert, U.S.

ee a Sa

OctosER TERM, 1971

MICHAEL RCDAK, JR..CLERK

el

ae

~

No. 732

’ han

MERLE R. SCHNECKLOTH, Superintendent,

California Conservation Center, Petitioner,

VS.

Roserr CiypeE BustaMonte, Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

——-

BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

a

EVELLE JJ. YOUNGER,

Attorney General of the State of California,

IieRBERT L. ASHBY,

Chief Assistant Attorney General—

Criminal Division,

Doris H. MAIER,

Assistant Attorney General—Writs Section,

Epwarp P. O'BRIEN,

Deputy Attorney General,

Rosert R. GRANUCCI,

Deputy Attorney General,

6000 State Building,

San Francisco, California 94102,

Telephone: (415) 557-1959,

Attorneys for Petitioner.

%

y

ARISEN pe

v7

RENN ERPS RIOT tS

-

-

eta

i Re a

Subject Index

Page

Opinion below ......-..-.- +. eee ee ete eee tect eens 1

Jurisdiction 2.0.0... .ccccsc ccc cecnc cece cesses eeeoescoccs 2

Questions presented ......-. 0... see e eee eee eee ee ene 2

Statement of the case ...- 0.2. cee cece te ete c eee ee sere gees 2

A. Proceedings in the state court .........-..-..+-005: 2

B. Proceedings in the federal courts .............-..+55 3

C. Statement of the facts ............- 000 c eee ee eee 3

Summary of argument .........-..-. 00. eee seen ete eens

ATQUMENt ..... 6 eee eect ert eee ete cnet e ete ete ntes 8

I

The Ford in which Bustamonte was riding was searched

pursuant to a valid consent and the Court of Appeals

erred in holding otherwise ...........-..--0+-ee 005: 8

A. California’s consent rule is constitutional ....... 12

B. Third party consent searches .......0.....+..--- 14

C. Requirement of an admonition ...............--- 17

D. Bustamonte’s consent was truly voluntary ....... ad

II

This court should hold that claims based on the exclu-

sionary rule should not be available to state prisoners

seeking to set aside their convictions on federal habeas

CORPUS £.k< pda ene aves eevee see en sean rsesietveneas 25

CARON oo oo Se oo ok a a OG hs eS 31

:

_

a

Table of Authorities Cited

Cases Pages

Anders v. California, 386 U.S. 738 (1967) .....-.------- 28, 29

Blair v. Pitchess, 5 Cal.3d 258, fn. 8 .....-.----+- eee eee 18

Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238 (1969) .......-+-----+-: 17

Bumper v. North Carolina, 391 U.S. 543 (1968) ....... 12, 13, 14

Burd v. Lane, 398 F.2d 750 (7th Cir. 1968) .....-..--.-- 18

3 California v. Green, 399 U.S. 149 (1970) .....-.----+---: 11

’ Carafas v. LaVallee, 391 U.S. 234 (1968) ........-.--+--. 25

4 Carnley v. Cochran, 369 U.S. 506 (1962) ......-.-+-+-+-: 17

; Castenada v. Superior Court, 59 Cal.2d 439, 30 Cal.Rptr. 1

j 6S) 9

: Channel v. United States, 285 F.2d 217 (9th Cir. 1960)... 19

a° Chimel v. California, 395 U.S. 752 (1969) ........-+.-+--- 14

; Cipres v. United States, 343 F.2d 95 (9th Cir. 1965) ...... 10, 15

Commonwealth v. Anderson, 208 Pa. Super. 323, 222 A.2d

495 (1966) 0.0... cece cee cece ete ete erence nee eeeenes 19

Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 US, 468 35 c35 sues: 16, 23, 30

Crooker v. California, 357 U.S. 433 (1958) .....-....--+--5 20

Cunningham v. Heinze, 352 F.2d 1 (9th Cir. 1965) ........ 11

Davis v. United States, 328 U.S. 582 (1946) .........-.-.- 12

Douglas v. California, 372 U.S. 353 (1968). coca es cena: 28

Draper v. Washington, 372 U.S. 487 (1963). ¢ cesaneacieess 28

Frazier v. Cupp, 394 U.S. 731 (1969) ........-..-- esse: 16

Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963) ...........--. 28

Gorman v. United States, 380 F.2d 158 (1st Cir. 1967) ... 18, 20

4 Government of Virgin Islands v. Berne, 412 F.2d 1055 (3d

i Cir, 1970) 10.0... cece cece eee e teen n eee en etaees 18

Griffin v. Illinois, 351 US. 12 (1956) ........6..0eeeeeees 28

Harris v. Nelson, 394 U.S. 286 (1969) .....-..----- eee es 25

Harris v. New York, 401 U.S. 222 (1971) .....-..----545: 25 -

Higgins v. United States, 209 F.2d 819 (D.C. Cir. 1954) .. 28

Hill v. California, 401 U.S. 797 (1971) .....---------+- 17

Hohnke v. Commonwealth, 451 S.W.2d 162 (Ky. Ct. App.

—

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED li

Pages

In re Lopez, 62 Cal.2d 368, 42 Cal.Rptr. 188 (1965) ...... 19

In re Sterling, 63 Cal.2d 486, 47 Cal.Rptr. 205, 407 P.2d 5

(1965)... nsececanscnsenues seceded nce ne vertaus sees 26, 27

Jackson v. Denno, 378 U.S. 368 (1964) ........-.....+-.- 28

Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458 (1938) ...........-..+..- 11

Kaufman v. United States, 394 U.S. 217 (1969) . .25, 27, 28, 29, 30

Ker v. California, 374 U.S. 23 (1963) ............ 7, 8,11, 12, 24

Leeper v. United States, 446 F.2d 281 (10th Cir. 1971) .... 18

Mancusi v. DeForte, 392 U.S. 364 (1968) ...............- 25

McCarthy v. United States, 394 U.S. 459 (1969) .......... 17

McMann v. Richardson, 397 U.S. 759 (1970) ,........-..- 29

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) ....14, 17, 19, 20, 21, 25

Morgan v. State, 2 Md.App. 440, 234 A.2d 762 (1967) .... 19

Oliver v. Amiotte, 382 F.2d 987 (9th Cir. 1967) ....... eee 5

Oliver v. Bowens, 386 F.2d 688 (9th Cir. 1967) .......... 11

Pennsylvania v. Ware, No. 71-964, cert. granted March 14,

1972, 40 U.S.L. Week 3449 ........-..-- cee eee eee eee 14

People v. Bustamonte, 270 Cal.App.2d 648, 76 Cal.Rptr. 17

(1969) ice cdues inet p en scetavere ete n ese eeeereereneas 3, 24

People v. Cahan, 44 Cal.2d 434, 282 P.2d 905 (1955) ..... 8

People v. Campuzano, 254 Cal.App.2d 52, 61 Cal.Rptr. 695

CIGGT) cccseviecsecpietae tes cece ese eens eens eens 18

People v. Chaddock, 249 Cal.App.2d 483, 57 Cal.Rptr. 582

(M067) xy cuaceciincecsesred cteanceeaae yee eteseeae 19

People v. Cirilli, 265 Cal.App. 2d 607, 71 Cal.Rptr. 604

CECB ay ona a ee a es ee ee ees 11

People v. Fioritto, 68 Cal.2d 714, 68 Cal.Rptr. 817 (1968) 20

People v. Gurley, 23 Cal.App.3d 536, 100 Cal.Rptr. 407

6) i a eee ee ee ee rere 10, 12, 18

People v. Johnson, 68 Cal.2d 629, 68 Cal.Rptr. 441 (1968) 9

People v. Kennedy, 256 Cal.App.2d 755, 64 Cal.Rptr. 345

PYOGTY oe con ee ee hs oe ces eee ee ene see 23

People v. Linke, 265 Cal.App.2d 297, 71 Cal.Rptr. 371

0) ne: ees ne Or ere eer ae 9, 18, 23

People v. Michael, 45 Cal.2d 751, 290 P.2d 852 (1955) ....8,9, 12

People v. Roberts, 246 Cal.App.2d 715, 55 Cal-Rptr. 62

| 6) i ree Teer ee err ee cre 18

Sia yciot vebed ies aes

Re ea ye Wee Ts Y

iv TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Pages

People v. Shelton, 60 Cal.2d 740, 36 Cal.Rptr. 433 (1964). .12, 19

People v. Smith, 63 Cal.2d 779, 48 Cal.Rptr. 382 (1966) ... 9

People v. Stark, 275 Cal.App.2d 712, 80 Cal.Rptr. 307

(1968): oo. scctasreere es ceseedensassebonceseuseeesnns 18

People v. Superior Court, 71 Cal.2d 265, fn. 7 (1969) .... 18

People v. Wilson, 145 Cal.App.2d 1, 301 P.2d 974 (1956) 9

Phillips v. People, 170 Colo. 520, 462 P.2d 594 (1969) .... 18

Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400 (1965) ........-..00.00.0. 28

Procunier v. Atchley, 400 U.S. 446 (1971) ........eeeeees 13

Robbins v. MacKenzie, 364 F.2d 45 (1st Cir. 1966) ........ 11

Schoepflin v. United States, 391 F.2d 390 (9th Cir. 1968)

rere Tre ones eedeseearesde eveveweteveiaewnescedes AU, L4, 19

Sims v. Georgia, 385 U.S. 538 (1967) .......... eee ee eee 28

State v. Andrus, 250 La. 765, 199 So.2d 867 (1967) ...... 18, 19

State v. Custer, 251 So.2d 287 (Fla. App. 1971) ......... 18

State v. Douglas, 488 P.2d 1366 (Ore. 1971) ............. 19

State v. Forney, 181 Nebr. 767, 150 N.W.2d 915 (1967) .... 19

State v. Johnson, 71 Wash. 239, 427 P.2d 705 (1967) ..... 19

State v. Leavitt, 103 R.I. 273, 237 A.2d 309 (1968) ....... 19

State v. McCarty, 199 Kans. 116, 427 P.2d 616 (1967) .... 18

State of Montana v. Tomich, 332 F.2d 987 (9th Cir. 1964) 11

State v. Oldham, 92 Id. 124, 438 P.2d 275 (1968) ........ 18

Stoner v. California, 376 U.S. 483 (1964) ................ 16

United States ex rel. Cole v. Mancusi, 429 F.2d 61 (2d Cir.

TO a_i 18

United States v. Goosbey, 419 F.2d 818 (6th Cir. 1970) 18

United States ex rel. Harris v. Hendricks, 423 F.2d 1096

(30 Cie 1900). sxe sca s cou cose cugacncgs seers eeers 18

United States v. Martinez, 450 F.2d 864 (8th Cir. 1971) ... 14

United States v. Mitchell, 322 U.S. 65 (1944) ............ 12

United States v. Noa, 443 F.2d 114 (9th Cir. 1971) ....17, 18, 24

United States v. Novick, 450 F.2d 1111 (9th Cir. 1971) ...16, 24

United States v. Vickers, 387 F.2d 703 (4th Cir. 1967) .... 18

United States v. Wilson, 447 F.2d 1 (9th Cir. 1971) ...... 15, 24

Warden v. Hayden, 387 U.S. 294 (1967) ..............4.. 25

Weeks v. State, 417 S.W.2d 716 (Tex. Crim. App. 1967) 19

White v. United States, 444 F.2d 724 (10th Cir. 1971) .... 18

Whitely v. Warden, 401 U.S. 560 (1971) ................ 25

Wren v. United States, 352 F.2d 617 (10th Cir. 1965) .... 28

LR AIRES ALM EON POETS Bf

caren! gs

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED Vv

Constitutions Pages

United States Constitution, Fourth Amendment

Speco eee es eu eeee es seeesseecegesuewd 8, 9, 14, 17, 18, 21, 26, 30

Codes

California Penal Code:

Mert SIO O) hg oes eee es 6h eh db bd eed chases 2

Statutes

28 United States Code:

eas ee 252 |G bp a a caer a ee 2

Sections 2258). conc cvc view deb epeevkervacenieuss 12, 13, 24

Texts

Amsterdam, Search, Seizure and Section 2255, 112 U. Pa.

L. Rev. (1964) pp. 378, 389-390 .............. ee eee eee. 27

76 Harv. L. Rev., P. Bator, Finality in Criminal Law and

‘ Federal Habeas Corpus for State Prisoners (1963) p. 441 29

10 Santa Clara Lawyer, Comment (1969) pp. 205, 211..... 9

37 U. Chi. L. Rev., D. Oakes, Studying the Exclusionary

Rule in Search and Seizure (1970) p. 665 .............. 27

3 John Marshall Journal of Practice and Procedure, D.

Owens, Consent to Warrantless Search (1970) pp. 403,

MOB: hiv cbs cee ciadaswacah os i vienecsevescsstexees 10,17

6 Cal. Western L. Rev., Note (1970) p. 216 .............. 12

67 Colum. L. Rev., Note, Consent Searches, A Reappraisal

After Miranda v. Arizona (1967) pp. 130, 149-150 ...15, 17, 21

5 Gonzaga L. Rev., Note, Consent Searches—Relinquishment

of Fourth Amendment Rights—The Need for a Warning

CUOTO). Bi SUS ec cuespeccwenscdus seuss eecieussasenss 17

12 St. Louis U.L.J., Note, Consent Search: Waiver of

Fourth Amendment Rights (1968) .............-.0.065 17

33 U.Chi.L.Rev., Note, Third Party Consent to Search and

etme (1068) TOE oa exept coos sey cre tes esess: 15

_

Iu the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OcroBER TERM, 1971

No. 732

MERLE R, SCHNECKLOTH, Superintendent,

California Conservation Center, Petitioner,

vs.

Rosert CLypE BustaMonte, Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit is printed in the appendix at

pages 6 through 10 and reported at 448 F.2d 699; the

memorandum opinion and order of the United States

District Court for the N ogthern District of California

is unreported and is printed in the appendix at pages

11 and 12.

2 |

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered

September 13, 1971. The petition for writ of certiorari

was docketed in this Court on December 3, 1971 and

granted February 28, 1972. The jurisdiction of this

Court is conferred by Title 28, United States Code

section 1254(1).

3 QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the court of appeals erred in holding

invalid the search of an automobile based upon a

verbal expression of consent to search in an atmos-

phere free from coercion, on the sole ground that the

state failed to demonstrate that the consent was given

with knowledge that it could be withheld.

2. Whether claims relating to search and seizure ,

should be available to a state prisoner seeking to set

aside his final conviction on federal habeas corpus.

‘

L STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Proceedings in the state court.

Robert Clyde Bustamonte, respondent herein, was

convicted by a jury of possession of a completed

check with intent to defraud in violation of California

Penal Code section 475(a). A state prison sentence

of from one to fourteen years was imposed. On appeal

to the California Court of Appeal for the First Ap-

pellate District, Bustamonte’s conviction was affirmed

in an opinion set fourth in the appendix at pages 18

i

:

3

through 25, and reported at 270 Cal.App.2d 648, 76

Cal.Rptr. 17 (1969). Bustamonte’s petition to the

California Supreme Court for a hearing was denied

May 8, 1969.

B. Proceedings in the federal courts.

On May 23, 1969, Bustamonte petitioned the United

States District Court for the Northern District of

California for a writ of habeas corpus. The petition

was filed on February 10, 1970; on that date the

district court also filed an order granting Busta-

monte’s motion to file in forma pauperis and denying

the petition. This order is printed in the appendix at

pages 11 and 12. j

Bustamonte-filed a notice of appeal to the United

| States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit on

| March 9, 1970; on that date the district court granted

a certificate of probable cause and permitted Busta-

monte to proceed without prepayment of cost.

On September 13, 1971, the court of appeals filed

its opinion vacating the order of the district court

denying the writ and remanded the matter to the

district court for further proceedings. Appendix pp.

6 through 10.

C. Statement of the facts.

é The facts of this case are stated in the opinion of

the California Court of Appeal in People v. Busta-

monte, supra, as follows:

“On the morning of January 19, 1967, Charles

Kehoe, owner of the Speedway Car Wash in

Mountain View, discovered that the business office

a

4

had been burglarized some time since he~had

closed on the previous day. A check-writing ma-

chine, known as a check protector, and a number

of blank checks had been removed from the office.

“On January 21, 1967, Joe Gonzales and Joe

Aleala went with defendant to the Food Fair

Market in Mountain View. According to the testi-

mony of Gonzales, defendant filled out a check

while they were in the parking lot. This check

was a Speedway Car Wash check ‘protectorized’

in the amount of $63.75 and defendant made it

out to a ‘Joe Garcia’ and signed it with Kehoe’s

name. Gonzales took the check into the market

where he cashed it in the process of buying a car-

ton of cigarettes. Kehoe identified the check pay-

able to Garcia and stated the signature was not

his. After cashing the check on January 21, de-

fendant, Gonzales and Alcala went to defendant’s

home. Gonzales saw defendant and Aleala lean,

over the open trunk of defendant’s parked Olds-

mobile automobile and then the two returned to

the truck where Gonzales was waiting, bringing

with them two additional Speedway Car Wash

blank checks. The amounts of money were filled

in on the checks but no names or signatures were

entered. The men next unsuccessfully attempted

to cash another check at the Blue Bonnett Bar

: in Sunnyvale.

4 ‘“‘Gonzales testified that at some time before

the incidents of January 21 defendant had shown

him the check protector and some blank checks

which were contained in the trunk of a Camero

automobile which had been rented by defendant.

‘On January 31, 1967, defendant Alcala and

Gonzales went to San Jose to find persons willing

AT IE EOE ERS ECA G ANI I AOL PEP EE

5

to use false identification for the purpose of

eashing checks. At about 11 p.m. they picked up

three other men. Attempts to cash checks at gro-

cery stores and a bar were futile. During the

evening they stopped at the Moonlite Shopping

Center where Gonzales saw defendant take some

checks from defendant’s Renault automobile

which was in the parking lot.

“Police Officer James Rand of the Sunnyvale

Department of Public Safety was in a_ police

vehicle alone on routine patrol at approximately

2:40 a.m. on January 31, 1967. He observed an

oncoming vehicle which had only one functioning

headlight. Rand made a U-turn and also observed

that the automobile in question did not have an

automobile license plate light. He stopped the

automobile which was a black 1958 Ford 4door

: sedan. Six men were in the automobile at the

time it was stopped, and Rand testified that de-

fendant was in the front seat along with Alcala,

and that Gonzales was driving. After Gonzales

failed to produce a driver’s license, Officer Rand

asked if any of the occupants of the Ford had

identification. Only Aleala produced a driver's

license and he indicated that the automobile be-

longed to his brother. Officer Rand asked the oc-

Y cupants to step out of the automobile. After the

men were out of the car and after Officer Rand

was joined by Officer Bissell and Captain Crab-

tree, he asked Alcala if he could search the ear.

According to Officer Rand’s testimony, Alcala

, replied ‘Sure, go ahead.’ Gonzales also testified

that Alcala had given permission for the search

and had actually aided the officer. Officer Rand

and Captain Crabtree searched the Ford. Wadded

up under the left rear seat they found three

6

checks. Each of the checks was ‘protectorized’ in

the amount of $67.34, each was signed with the

name of Kehoe as maker, and each/was a Speed-

way Car Wash check. One was payable to Robert

Gomez and two were payable to Jino Anthony.

‘Later, pursuant to a search warrant, the Ren-

ault at the Moonlite Shopping Center and de-

fendant’s Oldsmobile in Sunnyvale were searched.

Two checks were found in the Renault and the

check protector and several blank checks were

found in the Oldsmobile, along with a number of

traffic citations naming defendant. A criminolo-

gist testified that in his opinion the writing on

the Speedway Car Wash checks was the writing

of defendant.

Search of the Ford

‘‘At the time that Officer Rand and Captain

Crabtree searched the Ford automobile and dis-

covered the three completed checks, there was a

total of three police officers and three police

vehicles on the highway near the stopped auto-

mobile. The occupants were asked to step out of

the car and at one point Gonzales was told to

stand by the car; at another time Alcala was told

to back away from the area of the search. Gon-

zales was also given a citation for the missing

lights and for his failure to produce a driver’s

license. According to Gonzales’ testimony, the

police cars did not have the passengers hemmed

in. No one was under arrest at the time of the

search and none of the individuals had been ad-

vised as to any constitutional rights. After testi-

mony was taken in chambers on the constitution-

ality of the search, the court ruled that there had

been consent to the search and the motion of

eee ere

1 ORM BE PE ht ERIE WR

7

defense counsel to suppress the evidence was

denied.” Appendix pp. 1417.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The California trial and appellate courts found that

Bustamonte’s consent to search was voluntarily given.

California evaluates consent searches under an ob-

jective standard; the Ninth Circuit has held this

standard unconstitutional and substituted the require-

ment of a knowing waiver of Fourth Amendment

rights. However, the California standard is constitu-

tional, finding its counterpart in decisions of this

Court. Since California’s consent rule is a constitu-

tionally acceptable standard, the federal courts are

required to apply it in habeas corpus cases involving

state prisoners. Ker v. Caltfornia, 374 U.S. 23 (1963).

If on the other hand, a waiver standard is constitu-

tionally required, third party consent searches will

become virtually impossible, and an admonition re-

specting Fourth Amendment rights may be made a

prerequisite to the validity of a consent search. In the

present case, judged by California’s consent rule,

there is no doubt that the consent given by Aleala

was voluntary.

Alternatively, we urge that because the advantages

of the exclusionary rule as a deterrent to unlawful

police conduct are doubtful, as weighed against the

real disadvantages to the states involved in subjecting

final criminak judgments to collateral attack based on

the exclusionary rule, this Court should hold that

such claims can no longer be asserted on federal

habeas corpus. Recent decisions of this Court which

guarantee procedural fairness, 1.e., the right to coun-

sel, confrontation and the like, are sufficient to insure

the integrity of state court procedure. On the other

hand undermining the finality of state criminal judg-

ments, by allowing the litigation and relitigation of

complex and difficult Fourth Amendment claims hav-

ing no relationship to guilt or innocence, serves no

% © useful purpose and imposes an unnecessary burden

: upon the administration of justice.

ARGUMENT

I

THE FORD IN WHICH BUSTAMONTE WAS RIDING WAS

SEARCHED PURSUANT TO A VALID CONSENT AND THE

; COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN HOLDING OTHERWISE.

; This case involves nothing less than the constitu-

tionality of California’s standard for determining the

; validity of consent searches. We ask this Court to

; reaffirm that “‘Mapp sounded no death knell for our

federalism. .. .” Ker v. California, 374 U.S. 23, 31

(1963) (opinion of Mr. Justice Clark).

Ever since this state adopted the exclusionary rule

in 1955 (see People v. Cahan, 44 Cal.2d 434, 282 P.2d

905 [1955]), California courts have evaluated con-

sensual searches under the standard articulated by

former Chief Justice Traynor in People v. Michael,

45 Cal.2d 751, 753, 290 P.2d 852, 854 (1955) :

PSE SARA DE LEGO PL EEL POET EES

9

‘‘Whether in a particular case an apparent con-

sent was in fact voluntarily given or was in sub-

mission to an expressed or implied assertion of

authority, is a question of fact to be determined

in the light of all the circumstances.” Accord,

Castenada v. Superior Court, 59 Cal.2d 439, 30

Cal. Rptr. 1 (1963); People v. Smith, 63 Cal.2d

779, 48 Cal.Rptr. 382 (1966); People v. Johnson,

68 Cal.2d 629, 68 Cal.Rptr. 441 (1968).

California courts focus their inquiry on whether

the consent was truly voluntary. The consenting

party’s knowledge and understanding of his Fourth

Amendment rights are relevant to the extent that they

evidence coercion or non-coercion, but his subjective

knowledge and understanding of those rights is not

determinative. See People v. Wilson, 145 Cal.App.2d

1, 301: P.2d 974 (1956), limited in People v. Linke,

265 Cal.App.2d 297, 71 Cal.Rptr. 371 (1968); Com-

ment, 10 Santa CLaRa LAWYER 205, 211 (1969).

The theory underlying the California rule is this:

The Fourth Amendment proscribes only unreasenable

searches and seizures; when consent is uncoerced, law

enforcement officers have acted reasonably within the

meaning of the Fourth Amendment and the search is

valid. People v. Michael, supra, 45 Cal.2d at 753, 290

P.2d at 854.

Thus, California courts, concentrating upon the

conduct of the officer rather than on the subjective

state of mind of the consenting party, hold that ‘‘an

objective standard should be used in determining

whether there has been a valid consent to search. . . .”

10

_

People v. Gurley, 23 Cal.App.3d 536, 555, 100 Cal.

Rptr. 407, 420 (1972). This theory was articulated by

one writer as follows:

‘Tt is elementary that the fourth amendment does

not address itself to evidentiary questions but

rather the right to be free from unreasonable in-

trusions.

\# * *

‘“The very word ‘unreasonable’ could be the key

word to this amendment as it suggests a test

which is not only largely subjective but discre-

tionary as well. As the amendment affords free-

dom from ‘unreasonable’ searches and seizures

only, the only real question before a trial judge

is the reasonableness of the search. Is it really

unreasonable to search property where the owner

does not object? It would appear that a search

which does not degrade or in any other way

affect the dignity of the person whose property

is being searched would not be unreasonable. . ..

Of course, if there is any evidence of coercion or

misrepresentation by the police, the consent would

not be valid.”

D. Owens, Consent to Warrantless Search, 3

JOHN MARSHALL JOURNAL OF PRACTICE AND

PROCEDURE, 403, 419-420 (1970).

4 The Ninth Circuit has adopted an essentially .dif-

ferent approach in evaluating the validity of a con-

sent. That court focuses inquiry on the consenting

party’s subjective state of mind: Has he intentionally |

relinquished a -known right or privilege? Cipres v.

United States, 343 F.2d 95, 97-98 (9th Cir. 1965);

Schoepflin v. United States, 391 F.2d 390 (9th Cir.

EEA EBT, ANSP LEA EL EBACE SL RYE NIL TE YT SE GARGS SEAR SONG BIIELG, SA

11

1968). This is the standard for waiver first announced

in Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464 (1938). Its

effect is to require of police officers either clairvoy-

ance or an unrealistic degree of psychological insight.

See Robbins v. MacKenzie, 364 F.2d 45, 49 (1st Cir.

1966). The Ninth Circuit rule was criticized in People

v. Crrillt, 265 Cal.App.2d 607; 71 Cal.Rptr. 604 (1968).

‘“‘The reasonableness of a belief that consent has freely

been given is the very matter at issue, but it is an

objective reasonableness as viewed by the court, not

the subjective opinion of the officer that it was reason-

able to believe consent had been given.” Jd. at 611, 71

Cal.Rptr. at 607.

However, what is at issue here is not so much the

intrinsic merits of the Ninth Circuit rule but rather,

the power of that court to impose it upon the states

as the sole valid ground for determining the validity

of a consent search. ‘‘Federal authority was never

intended to be a ‘ramrod’ to compel conformity to

nonconstitutional standards.” California v. Green, 399

US. 149, 172 (1970), coneurring opinion of Chief Jus-

tice Burger. However, the Ninth Circuit has been

“‘ramrodding” its rule upon the states by applying its

subjective waiver test in habeas corpus cases involving

state prisoners. See e.g., Cunningham v. Heinze, 352 F.

2d 1, 3 (9th Cir. 1965) ; Oliver v. Amiotte, 382 F.2d 987

(9th Cir. 1967) ; Oliver v. Bowens, 386 F.2d 688 (9th

Cir. 1967) ; cf., State of Montana v. Tomich, 332 F.2d

987, 990 (9th Cir. 1964).

This approach is irreconcilable with the declaration

of this Court in Ker v. California, supra, 374 U.S. 23,

a

12

24 (1963) that ‘‘the states are not precluded from

developing workable rules governing arrests, searches

and seizures.”

A. California’s consent rule is constitutional.

The California rule reflecting the voluntariness ap-

proach to consent searches was impliedly approved by

this Court in Bumper v. North Carolina, 391 U.S. 543,

548-549 (1968) :

‘‘When a prosecutor seeks to rely upon consent

to justify the lawfulness of a search, he has the

burden of proving that the consent was, in fact,

freely and voluntarily given. This burden cannot

be discharged by showing no more than acquies-

cence to a claim of lawful authority.” See also

Note, 6 Cal. Western L. Rev. 216 (1970).

California courts uniformly hold that whether an

apparent consent to search was in fact voluntarily

given or was in submission to asserted authority is a

‘ question of fact. People v. Michael, supra; People v.

| Shelton, 60 Cal.2d 740, 36 Cal.Rptr. 433 (1964) ; Peo-

j ple v. Gurley, supra, 23 Cal.App.3d 536, 550, 100

5 Cal.Rptr. 407, 416-417 (1972). Consent is also viewed

as a factual question by this Court. United States v.

; Mitchell, 322 U.S. 65 (1944); Davis v. United States,

4 328 U.S. 582 (1946).

Title 28, United States Code section 2254(d) de-

elares that unless the State court hearing was unfair

or defective in specified respects,

‘In any proceeding instituted in a Federal court:

by an application for a writ of habeas corpus by

a person in custody pursuant to the judgment

13

of a State court, a determination after a hearing

on the merits of a factual issue, made by a State

court of competent jurisdiction in a proceeding to

which the applicant for the writ and the State

. were parties, evidenced by a written finding,

written opinion, or other reliable and adequate

written indicia, shall be presumed to be correct.

- (Emphasis supplied. )

After an in chambers hearing on Bustamonte’s mo-

tion to suppress the state trial court made a factual

finding that Alcala’s consent was voluntary. Appen-

dix p. 57. That determination was affirmed on appeal.

Thus, Bustamonte received a full and fair hearing at

the state trial and appellate levels in which the courts

applied a constitutionally acceptable standard of law.

Accordingly, the state court finding was entitled to the

presumption of correctness afforded by Title 28,

United States Code section 2254(d). Since, under

Bumper, voluntariness is a constitutionally acceptable

test and since Bustamonte’s petition did not allege

that the state court hearings were in any respect in-

adequate, apart from his claim that the state applied

an erroneous legal standard, the claim of invalid con-

sent should have been summarily rejected by the

court of appeals as it was by the district court. Procu-

nier v. Atchley, 400 U.S. 446, 454 (1971).

If, on the other hand, California’s voluntariness

standard is unconstitutional—and this is no less than

what the Ninth Circuit held—and in its place a waiver

standard is imposed, then serious consequences ensue

which the Court will eventually have to face. It should

face these consequences now instead of being con-

eee

iy

14

fronted in later cases with the dilemma of choosing

to vindicate the waiver standard at the expense of

settled principles heretofore felt to be wholly con-

sistent with the Fourth Amendment. Cf. Chimel v.

California, 395 U.S. 752, 769, (1969) (concurring

opinion of Mr. Justice Harlan). For if the waiver

standard is imposed, then this Court in addition to

overruling or limiting Bumper v. North Carolina, su-

pra, will have to overrule those cases which have ap-

proved third party consent searches, the apparent

authority doctrine, and searches based on a reasonable

mistake of fact. It will probably also have to impose a

warning requirement akin to the Miranda rule.’

B. Third party consent searches.

A waiver approach would make valid third party

consent searches virtually impossible. An excellent de-

scription of the current law on third party consent

searches appears in United States v. Martinez, 450

F.2d 864 (8th Cir. 1971), wherein the court of appeals

: stated as follows:

‘Originally couched in terms of a distinct per-

4 sonal right of the subject of the search which

, - could be waived only directly or through an agent,

[footnote omitted] the consent exception as ap-

plied to third party consents has recently been

focused on the third party. His legal and posses-

sory rights to the premises or items searched, his

relationship to the subject of the search and the

1Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966). Ironically, it appears

that Miranda itself is under reexamination. Pennsylvania v. Ware,

No. 71-964, cert. granted March 14, 1972, 40 U.S.L. Week 3449.

CANOES TIRE LAL EVR I ARINC HAE NAR ng ROR rac eee a meyE ME LI EE

_—

circumstances as they objectively appear to the

police at the time of the search are all to be con-

sidered in determining whether the third party

possessed an independent right to consent to a

warrantless search by the police which will op-

erate to foreclose subsequent attempts at suppres-

sion by the subject of the search.” Id. at 865.

15

However, advocates of a strict waiver standard ad-

mit that it would curtail if: not eliminate third party

consent searches. Under a waiver standard searches

pursuant to consent by a third party would be upheld

only in those rare cases where the third party is

actually an agent of the nonconsenting party and is

empowered to authorize a search on the latter’s be-

half, or when the consenting party’s interest in au-

thorizing a particular search clearly dominate the

nonconsenter’s interest in privacy. Note, Third Party

Consent to Search and Seizure, 33 U.Cu1.L.Rev. 797

(1966) ; Note, Consent Searches, A Reappraisal After

Miranda v. Arizona, 67 Corum. L. Rev. 130, 149-150

(1967).

Ironically, at approximately the same time the

Ninth Circuit was imposing upon California the

waiver standard articulated in the Cipres and Schoep-

fin cases, supra, that court declined to apply it in

federal prosecutions which used evidence obtained in

third party consent searches. Thus, in United States

v. Wilson, 447 F.2d 1 (9th Cir. 1971), the court char-

acterized Cipres and Schoepflin as coercion cases and

went on to hold that a person living in a common law

relationship with the defendant had validly consented

to a search of the apartment in which they were liv-

i

16

ing. The court decided the issue of voluntariness on

all the circumstances of the case and did not require

a showing of knowing waiver. 447 F.2d 4-6. Similarly,

in United States v. Novick 450 F.2d 1111 (9th Cir.

1971), the court used the same objective standard

approach.

A waiver approach to third party consent searches

would be wholly inconsistent with the decisions of this

Court. In Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443,

where a wife handed over to investigating officers

items of physical evidence which incriminated her

husband, this Court applied an objective test, i.c.,

were her actions voluntary, the product of her own

free will, as opposed to 4 response to an assertion

of official authority. Coolidge v. New Hampshire,

supra,’ 403 U.S. 443, 445, 489 (1971). In Frazier v.

Cupp, 394 U.S. 731 (1969), the Court applied the

third party consent doctrine to hold that a defendant

had assumed the risk that his companion would per-

mit the police to search a shared duffle bag (394 U.S.

at 740).

By way of contrast, in Stoner v. California, 376

U.S. 483 (1964), the Court found ‘‘[No] substance

to the claim that the search was reasonable because

the police, relying upon the night clerk’s expressions

of consent, had a reasonable basis for beltef that the

clerk had authority to consent to the search.” 7d. at

448. (Emphasis added.) Implicit in the Stoner opinion

is the assumption that if the police reasonably believed

that the consenting party had authority to consent,

the search based upon consent would have been valid.

17

This would accord with Hill v. California, 401 U.S.

797 (1971), where the Court upheld the validity of

an arrest based upon a reasonable mistake of fact

on the part of the arresting officers.

C. Requirement of an admonition.

Implicit in the decision below imposing a waiver

requirement is the necessity of a warning analogous

to that decreed by this court in Miranda v. Arizona,

384 U.S. 436 (1966), although the Ninth Circuit did

not go so far as to state that a spetific admonition

was required, and has specifically rejected that re-

quirement in federal prosecutions. United States v.

Noa, 443 F.2d 114, 147 (9th Cir. 1971). However,

wherever a waiver standard has been imposed by the

Court, the requirement of an admonition or indepen-

dent evidence of a knowing waiver almost neces-

sarily follows. See e.g., Carnley v. Cochran, 369 U.S.

506, 513 (1962) ; Miranda v. Arizona, supra, 384 U.S.

436, 469-473. (1966) ; McCarthy v. United States, 394

U.S. 459 (1969); Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238,

243 (1969). Some writers, taking their cue from these

cases and assuming that a consent search must be

based on a waiver of Fourth Amendment rights, have

urged that a warning is necessary before any effec-

tive consent. Note, Consent Searches, A Reappraisal

After Miranda v. Arizona, supra, 67 Cotum. L. Rev.

130 (1967) supra; Note, Consent Searches—Relin-

quishment of Fourth Amendment Rights—The Need

for a Warning, 5 Gonzaca L. Rev. 315 (1970): Note.

Consent Search: Waiver of Fourth Amendment

Rights, 12 St. Lovis U.L.J. (1968) ; cf. Owens, supra.

senenneennntiiindliniiinan

" a

The overwhelming weight of the case law is to the

contrary. California courts, the federal courts and |

courts of other jurisdictions have rejected any re

quirement that one whose consent is sought for a

search must first be advised of his Fourth Amend-

ment rights. Blair v. Pitchess, 5 Cal.3d 258, 275, fn.

8; People v. Superior Court, 71 Cal.2d 265, 270, fn. 7

(1969); People v. Gurley, 23 Cal.App.3d 536, 554-

555, 100 Cal.Rptr. 407 (1972); People v. Stark, 275

Cal. App.2d 712, 714-715 (1969), 80 Cal.Rptr. 307,

308-309; People v. Linke, 265 Cal.App.2d 297, 314,

71 Cal.Rptr. 371 (1968); People v. Campuzano, 254

Cal. App.2d 52, 61 Cal.Rptr. 695 (1967); People v.

Roberts, 246 Cal.App.2d 715, 55 Cal.Rptr. 62 (1966) ;

Gorman v. United States, 380 F.2d 158, 164 (1st Cir.

1967); United States ex rel. Cole v. Mancusi, 429

F.2d 61, 66 (2d Cir. 1970); United States ex rel.

Harris v. Hendricks, 423 F.2d 1096 (3d Cir. 1970);

Government of Virgin Islands v. Berne, 412 F.2d

1055 (3d Cir. 1970); United States v. Vickers, 387

F.2d 703, 707 (4th Cir. 1967) ; United States v. Goos-

bey, 419 F.2d 818 (6th Cir. 1970); Byrd v. Lane, 398

F.2d 750, 754-755 (7th Cir. 1968); United States v.

Noa, supra 443 F.2d 144 (9th Cir. 1971); Leeper v.

United States, 446 F.2d 281 (10th Cir. 1971); White

v. United States, 444 F.2d 724, 726 (10th Cir. 1971);

Phillips v. People, 170 Colo. 520, 462 P.2d 594 (1969) ;

State v. Custer, 251 So.2d 287 (Fla. App. 1971) ; State

v. Oldham, 92 Id. 124, 4388 P.2d 275 (1968) ; State v.

McCarty, 199 Kans. 116, 427 P.2d 616 (1967) : Hohnke

v. Commonwealth, 451 S.W.2d 162 (Ky. Ct. App.

1970) ; State v. Andrus, 250 La. 765, 199 So.2d 867

19

(1967); Morgan v. State, 2 Md.App. 440, 234 A.2d

762 (1967); State v. Forney, 181 Nebr. 767, 150

N.W.2d 915 (1967); State v. Douglas, 488 P.2d 1366

(Ore. 1971); Commonwealth v. Anderson, 208 Pa.

Super. 323, 222 A.2d 495 (1966) ; State v. Leavitt, 103

R.I. 273, 237 A.2d 309 (1968); Weeks v. State, 417

S.W.2d 716 (Tex. Crim. App. 1967); State v. John-

son, 71 Wash. 239, 427 P.2d 705 (1967).

Reason no less than the weight of authority compels

rejection of a Miranda approach in the area of con-

sensual searches. The original justification of the

Miranda admonition was that in the context of custo-

dial interrogation, the questions of the police were

assumed themselves to impart a right to an answer.

However, ‘‘the mere asking of permission to...

make a search carries with it the implication that the

person can withhold permission. . . .” People v. Chad-

dock, 249 Cal.App.2d 483, 485-86, 57 Cal.Rptr. 582

(1967).

Warnings required before custodial interrogation

are intended to eliminate conditions conducive to co-

ercion, ‘‘to sterilize the police antechamber.” Jn rc

Lopez, 62 Cal.2d 368, 374, 42 Cal.Rptr. 188, 192

(1965), cf. Miranda v. Arizona, supra, at 478 n. 46.

Consents to search generally are given at the suspect’s

residence, automobile, or some other public place.

Where consent is obtained at police headquarters, the

prosecution must satisfy a correspondingly heavier

burden of proof. See, ¢.g., Channel v. United States,

285 F.2d 217 (9th Cir. 1960); People v. Shelton, 60

Cal.2d 740, 36 Cal.Rptr. 433 (1964). The state and

Re... CBEST I Ds

2 ee

federal tests for consent are sufficiently sensitive to

exclude evidence secured by coercive police conduct.

Coercion during police interrogation raises a danger

of producing unreliable self-incriminating evidence.

‘‘[T]he rules governing searches are not concerned

with the exclusion of unreliable evidence. . . .” Gor-

man v. United States, supra, at 164.

Proponents of the Miranda rule emphasize that it

will improve police-citizen relationships because the

admonition demonstrates to the citizen that the police

stand ready to respect his constitutional rights. Police

convey the same impression when they request consent

to search. On the other hand, if a suspect withholds

consent after police advice, officers will arrest and con-

duct an incidental search in cases where they believe

probable cause exists. This is not calculated to im-

prove police-citizen relationships.

‘

:

‘‘A principal objective of . . . [Miranda] was to

establish safeguards that would liberate courts inso-

far as possible from the difficult and troublesome

necessity of adjudicating in each case whether coer-

cive influences, psychological or physical, had been

employed to secure admissions and confession.” Peo-

ple v. Fioritto, 68 Cal.2d 714, 717, 68 Cal.Rptr. 817,

818 (1968). The difficulty of resolving swearing con-

tests between police and defendants prompted the

search for a self-executing rule. See Crooker v. Cali-

fornia, 357 U.S. 433, 443-44 (1958) (dissenting opin-

ion of Mr. Justice Douglas) .?

2The Miranda admonition also facilitates the determination of

whether there has been an effective waiver; we urge that the waiver

test is inapplicable to consent to search.

21

Proof that the suspect was admonished together

with his subsequent statement, the existence of which

independently evidences cooperation, renders it un-

necessary for courts to prefer the testimony of the

police to that of the defendant. The same is not true

in the context of consensual searches. Conflicts in

testimony now center on the precise words of the de-

fendant relied upon by the police. Were a Fourth

Amendment warning required the conflict would be

about whether the admonition was given, the scope

of the consent, and revocation of consent. The tangi-

ble evidence disclosed by the search, unlike an admis-

sion or confession, would be silent on these questions.

There is no escape from the judicial dilemma posed

by consensual searches or from the overwhelming

body of authority rejecting any warning requirement.

Moreover, considerations of practicality compel re-

jection of a Miranda approach. Following the Miranda

decision, one of the commentators who urged extension

of that rule to consent searches (Sec, Consent Search-

es: A Reappraisal After Miranda v. Arizona, supra,

67 Corum. L. Rev. 130 [1967]), after considerable

exploration of what an effective Fourth Amendment

warning should convey at 150-158, set out a suggested

warning.

“You have a right to refuse to allow me to search

your home, and if vou decide to refuse, I will

respect your refusal. If vou do decide to let me

search, you won’t be able to change vour mind

later on, and during the seareh I'll be able to

look in places and take things which I couldn’t

even if I could get a search warrant. You have

Re...

os

a right to a lawyer before you decide, and if you

can’t afford a lawyer we will get you one and

you won’t have to pay for him. There are many

different laws which are designed to protect you

from my searching, but they are too complicated

for me to explain or for you to understand, so

if you think you would like to take advantage

of this very important information, you will need

a lawyer to help you before you tell me I can

search.” Id. at 158.

We submit that the very complexity of such a warn-

ing proves its unworkability, and the basic unsound-_,

ness of any theory that would require it.

D. Bustamonte’s consent was truly voluntary.

In its opinion, the Ninth Circuit appears to concede

that the atmosphere in which consent was given was

noncoercive and that permission to search was re

quested and given. This view of the facts is correct.

When the police stopped the 1958 Ford, Gonzales

- was driving; appellant was seated in the front with

Alcala; three men occupied the rear seat. Officer Rand

requested the six occupants to step out of the auto-

mobile after Gonzales failed to produce a driver's

license and only Alcala could furnish identification. —

Officer Rand asked Aleala if he could search the car. |

Alcala replied, ‘“‘Sure, go ahead,” according to Rand.

Gonzales testified that Alcala consented freely, even

casually, and actually aided the officers. The officers’ |

search uncovered three checks under the left rear

seat.

bp ALI ne ek

23

This is not a case where a party consented to a

search knowing that it was likely to disclose evidence

which would incriminate him. Alcala, not Bustamonte,

consented to the search. As Alcala was in the front

seat he could hardly know that his companions were

hiding checks under the rear seat. There is no basis

here for a presumption of coercion on the theory that

“no sane man who denies his guilt would actually be

willing that policemen search . . . for contraband

which is certain to be discovered.” Higgins v. United

States, 209 F.2d 819, 820 (D.C. Cir. 1954) ;* cf. Coolidge

v. New Hampshire, supra.

The early hour cannot be considered a coercive

factor. Cf. People v. Kennedy, 256 Cal.App.2d 755,

64 Cal.Rptr. 345 (1967) (2:00 a.m.). The road where

the stop was effected was peopled with twice as many

suspects as officers. Since Bustamonte and his friends

outnumbered the police six to three, the number of

officers could hardly be coercive. The occupants of —

the Ford were not ‘‘questioned” regarding any crime,

but merely asked to furnish a driver’s license or iden-

tification. The traffic citation was issued to Gonzales,

not Alcala.

Here there was no “‘dramatie excitement of drawn

guns,” or arrest preceding consent. Wren v. United

States, 352 F.2d 617, 619 (10th Cir. 1965). ‘‘The cir-

cumstances of the investigation by the police presents

8This line of reasoning seems to have led federal courts to dis-

trust and disfavor consensual searches. However. “one may ques-

tion a logic which fails to consider that aspect of human nature

which leads one person to believe he may bluff or beguile another.”

tise, v. Tanke, 265 Cal.App.2d 297, 306, 71 Cal.Rptr. 371, 376

).

—

24

[sic] a calm, routine performance of duty by the of-

ficers. There is no evidence of any threats on the

part of the officers or the use of any other means

from which duress or coercion could be inferred.”

Id. at 620.

Alcala’s expression of consent was specific, unequiv-

ocal, and affirmative. It was more than assent, it was

an invitation. The atmosphere was not coercive but

‘‘eongenial.” People v. Bustamonte, 270 Cal.App.2d

648, at 652, 76 Cal.Rptr. at 20 (1969). Alcala’s sub-

sequent assistance during the search confirms the vol-

untary nature of his consent.‘

Granting the validity of California’s consent rule,

there can be no question but that the state trial and

appellate courts can correctly conclude that Alcala

was not overawed by the badge and that his consent

was free and voluntary. The Ninth Circuit appears to

concede as much. The Ninth Circuit was obliged un-

der Title 28, United States Code section 2254(d) and

Ker v. California, supra, to respect that finding.

Finally, the decision below must be overturned be-

cause of the palpable injustice of imposing on Cali-

fornia a waiver standard inconsistent with the more

liberal approach the Ninth Circuit has taken in re

viewing federal convictions. See United States .

Novick, supra; United States v. Wilson, supra; United

States v. Noa, supra.

4Gonzales testified that Alcala opened the trunk. Appendix p. 52.

a VE te Be ome,

SQ <a

OPO OE - ey a are

—_—_

25

II

THIS COURT SHOULD HOLD THAT CLAIMS BASED ON THE

EXCLUSIONARY RULE SHOULD NOT BE AVAILABLE TO

STATE PRISONERS SEEKING TO SET ASIDE THEIR CON-

VICTIONS ON FEDERAL HABEAS CORPUS.

In our petition for certiorari in this case, we re-

quested the Court to reexamine Kaufman v. United

States, 394 U.S. 217 (1969), as well as those decisions

in which the Court has applied the exclusionary rule

in state habeas corpus cases. Whitely v. Warden, 401

U.S. 560 (1971); Harris v. Nelson, 394 U.S. 286

(1969) ; Mancusi v. DeForte, 392 U.S. 364 (1968) ;

' Carafas v. LaVallee, 391 U.S. 234 (1968); Warden v.

Hayden, 387 U.S. 294 (1967). This Court has accepted

that invitation. We now request that these cases be

overruled. .

The essence of our position is that the advantages

of applying the exclusionary rule on collateral attack

of state convictions are upon analysis illusory, and the

disadvantages in persisting in that practice are in fact

overwhelming. We ask the Court to adopt here a

balancing test comparable to that used in Harris v.

New York, 401 U.S. 222 (1971). In that case, which

involved the admissibility for purposes of impeach-

ment of a statement taken in violation of the Miranda

tule, the Court weighed the deterrent effect of total

exclusion of the impeaching evidence, against the com-

pelling policy in favor of admission of such evidence

as an aid to the truth-determining process, the very

purpose of a criminal trial:

“The impeachment process here undoubtedly

provided valuable aid to the jury in assessing

|

26

petitioner’s credibility and the benefits of this

process should not be lost, in our view, because

of the speculative possibility that impermissible

police conduct will be encouraged thereby.

Assuming that the exclusionary rule has a deter-

rent effect on prescribed police conduct, suff-

cient deterrence flows when the evidence in

question is made unavailable to the prosecution in

its case in chief.” Id. at 225.

. 2 fs

The same approach should be applied to the ques-

tion of whether Fourth Amendment claims should be

considered on federal habeas corpus. Taking first the

deterrent side of the balance, one must ask whether

the availability of federal collateral attack to review

the merits of state search and seizure questions adds

substantially to the deterrent effect of the exclusionary

rule. Prestigious authorities have said it does not.

Former California Chief Justice Roger Traynor put

the matter thusly: |

‘“‘The purpose of the exclusionary rule is not to

prevent the conviction of the innocent, but to

deter unconstitutional methods of law enforce-

ment. [Citations.|_That purpose is adequately

served when a state provides an orderly procedure |

for raising the question of illegally obtained evi- |

dence at or before trial and on appeal. The risk |

that the deterrent effect of the rule will be com-

promised by an occasional erroneous decision re-

fusing to apply it is far outweighed by the dis-

ruption of the orderly administration of justice

that would ensue if the issue could be relitigated

over and over again on collateral attack.” Jn re

Sterling, 63 Cal.2d 486, 487-488, 47 Cal. Rptr. 206,

w—,

207, 407 P.2d 5, 7 (1965), quoting In re Harris,

56 Cal.2d 879, 883-884, 16 Cal.Rptr. 889, 892, 366

P.2d 305, 308 (1961). See also, Amsterdam,

Search, Seizure and Section 2255, 112 U. Pa. L.

REv. 378, 389-390 (1964).

27

Moreover, since the decision in Kaufman, consider-

able research has been conducted into the actual deter-

rent effect of the exclusionary rule. D. Oakes, Study-

ing the Exclusitonary Rule in Search and Seizure, 37

U. Cur. L. Rev. 665 (1970). At the conclusion of his

article, Professor Oakes states in part as follows:

‘“As a device for directly deterring illegal

searches and seizures by the police, the exclusion-

ary rule is a failure. There is no reason to expect

the rule to have any direct effect on the over-

whelming majority of police conduct that is not

meant to result in prosecutioris, and there is

hardly any evidence that the rule exerts any de-

terrent effect on the small fraction of law enforce-

ment activity that is aimed atprosecution. What

is known about the deterrent effect of sanctions

suggests that the exclusionary rule operates under

conditions that are extremely unfavorable for de-

terring the police. The harshest criticism of the

rule is that it is ineffective. It is the sole means

of enforcing the essential guarantees of freedom

from unreasonable arrests and searches and seiz-

ures by law enforcement officers, and it is a fail-

ure in that vital task.” Id. at 755.

If, as Professor Oakes concludes, the deterrent effect

of the exclusionary rule as applied by state trial courts

is at best speculative, what then can be said about its

as i,

application by the federal courts to review state deci-

sions long since final? About the only justification

that can be advanced for such a practice was that

stated by the five-man majority in Kaufman v. United

States, supra, as follows: ‘“‘The availability of post-

conviction relief serves significantly to secure the in-

tegrity of proceedings at or before trial and on appeal.

. . . Collateral relief, unlike retroactive relief, con-

tributes to the present vitality of all constitutional

rights whether or not they bear on the integrity of

the fact-finding process.” Id. at 229.

However, we respectfully submit that this argument

misses the point; the integrity of the judicial process

is preserved by those decisions of this Court which

have guaranteed every state criminal defendant ade- —

quate process for both the litigation at trial and re-

view on appeal of federal questions in the state courts.

State criminal defendants are now entitled to coun-

sel at trial, Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335

(1963) ; confrontation of witnesses, Pointer v. Texas,

380 U.S. 400 (1965) ; definitive rulings by trial judges

on objections to the admissibility of confessions, Jack-

son v. Denno, 378 U.S. 368 (1964); Sims v. Georgia,

385 U.S. 538 (1967); and, where the state provides,

appellate review in criminal cases, the right to a free

transcript of the trial proceedings or its equivalent

for review on appeal, Griffin v. Illinois, 351 U.S. 12

(1956); Draper v. Washington, 372 U.S. 487 (1963);

and the right to counsel on appeal, Douglas v. Cali-

fornia, 372 U.S. 353 (1963), serving in the capacity

of an advocate, Anders v. California, 386 U.S. 738

29

(1967). The requirements that have been imposed by

this Court guarantee procedures in the state éourts

which are calculated to reach a just resolution of any

any material issue a defendant may seek to raise. The

integrity of state court procedures is best served by

guaranteeing procedural fairness, rather than the con-

stant litigation and relitigation of the merits of factual

issues years after the events in question.

The only way~in which the Kaufman rule can be

justified is if the interest of the states in maintaining

the finality of criminal judgments is totally disre-

garded. However, the public interest in the finality of

criminal convictions is substantial. McMann v. Rich-

ardson, 397 U.S. 759, 774 (1970): Never has the im-

perative of finality in the administration of criminal

- justice been better explained that it was by Professor

- Paul M. Bator in his definitive article, Finality in

| Criminal Law and Federal Habeas Corpus for State

Prisoners, 76 Hary. L. Rev. 441 (1963). Professor

Bator there pointed out the many undesirable results

of undermining the finality of criminal judgments by

allowing the relitigation of contested factual issues.

Such relitigation undermines public confidence in the

administration of criminal justice, tends to demoralize

state trial and appellate judges, and saps the criminal

law of its deterrent effect by clouding the certainty

of punishment even after a judgment has been af-

firmed on appeal. Moreover it is totally at odds with

any idea of rehabilitating criminal offenders. In Pro-

fessor Bator’s words, ‘‘the idea of just condemnation

lies at the heart of the criminal law, and we should

Fa

~

30

not lightly create processes which implicitly belie its

possibility.” Id. at 452.

Moreover, the disadvantages of relitigating the |

merits of Fourth Amendment claims on federal habeas —

corpus are compounded by reason of the fact that

questions pertaining to search and seizure are among

the most difficult and complex to be encountered in

the criminal law. See Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 408

U.S. 443 (1971). Because of this complexity and un-

_certainty decisions on these issues are unpredictable.

This unpredictability increases the possibility that a

persistant litigant, such as Bustamonte, will eventually

find a judge who agrees with his view of the exclu-

sionary rule. Bustamonte had failed to persuade one

state trial judge, ten state appellate judges, and one

United States District Court judge before a three-

judge panel of the Ninth Circuit agreed with his

positidn. Clearly, in these days of crowded court

dockets adherence to Kaufman retains ‘‘a burden on

the judiciary and on society at large, which results i in.

no legitimate benefit to the [habeas] petitioner and

does nothing to serve the interest of justice.” Kauf-

man v. United States, supra, 394 U.S. at 243 (dissent-

ing opinion of Mr. Justice Harlan).

atte

CN ate te oon a

BONNER SSS

ae

31

CONCLUSION

Petitioner respectfully requests this Court to re-

mand the case to the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

with directions to vacate its opinion and to affirm the

order of the District Court denying Bustamonte’s

petition for the writ of habeas corpus.

Dated, April 17, 1972.

EVELLE J. YOUNGER,

Attorney General of the State of California,

’ HERBERT L. ASHBY,

Chief Assistant Attorney General—

Criminal Division,

Doris H. Mater,

Assistant Attorney General—Writs Section,

Epwarp P. O’BRIEN,

Deputy Attorney General,

Rosert R. GRANUCCI,

Deputy Attorney General,

Attorneys for Petitioner.

7

>

BREE ar Ge ae ates OLE OTR IR Uh Bee mare 3 os set en eee

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.