Brief for Respondent — Gagnon v. Scarpelli

Supreme Court brief1973

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

at ¢

ee) NOV 2 1972

| MICHAEL RODAK, JR..CL

al

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1972

No. 71-1225

JOHN R. GAGNON,

Petitioner,

GERALD H. SCARPELLI,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT

WILLIAM M. COFFEY

DENNIS P. COFFEY

152 West Wisconsin Avenue

Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203

Counsel for Respondent

JOHN F. EBBOTT

_ Freedom Through Equality

- 152 West Wisconsin Avenue

_ Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203

OF COUNSEL

SPEAR LCE E EAB

Washington. pC..° THIEL PRESS ©. (202) 393.0625

(i)

CONTENTS

Page

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..<.....222...20.2 1

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.................... 5.7

ARGUMENT:

I. As a Consequence of the Expiration of the

Original Probationary Period Imposed Upon the

Respondent and as the Result of the Manner in

Which the Question Presented To This Court Is

Phrased, This Cause Is Moot as to Respondent bea hs we 79

Il. Assuming This Court Decides the Question

Presented by This Case Is Not Moot, the Court

Should Extend and Make Applicable to

Probationers the Hearing Procedure Established

for Parolees by Morrissey v. Brewer—Those

Hearings Being Required by the Due Process

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.......... 10-13

Ill. A Probationer Has a Constitutional Right to the

Assistance of Counsel at a Revocation Hear-

Sec 5 cs ks 13-27

A. The Right To Counsel Is Among the Most

Basic Elements of Due Process. ........... 13-16

B. Since This Court’s Decision in Gideon v.

Wainwright, the Right to the Assistance of

Counsel in Criminal Proceedings Has Been

Vastly Expanded Recognizing That This

Assistance is of such a Fundamental Nature

that It Cannot Be Denied. ............... 16-21

C. The Due Process Right to the Assistance of

Counsel Extends to Civil and Administrative

sey ntaieneae gee Pace Bee eo ee tee ae 21-23

D. The Due Process Right to the Assistance of

Counsel Applies to Adjudicatory Adminis-

ws aigtsindaemareeraee, Ee Toe Oe ee ee 23-27

(ii)

IV. The Right to the Assistance of Counsel Is an

Essential Element of Due Process of Law in

Probation Revocation Proceedings. ........... 27-37

A. The Private Interest Affected by Govern-

SU Ib ca Ao abate os eb ess 29

B. The Nature of the Governmental Function

WN Ais od es ns eS rea pS ss 30-35

C. The Burden on Government of Providing the

TUNE WP OIL, sos bat sieaiw we es e's oe 35-37

COMTI 5 sco bv cats vdeenty cult Haws 37

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Ahern v.- Board of Education, School District of

Grand Island, 456 F.2d 399 (8th Cir. 1972) ......... 32

Argersinger v. Hamlin, US... . 92.5ft .

EE EPOS cs ca ko 6 uo 59500 0's go 0 19, 20,

Betts v. Brady, 316 US. 455, 62 S.Ct. 1252, 86 L.Ed.

i CM ba sb Ae wwe 8 owe ws 16

Boykin v. Alabama, 395 US. 238, 89 S.Ct. 1709, 23

i EE. <n od pak oo Aan ahoue ° 18

Cafeteria and Restaurant Workers Union v. McElroy,

367 US. 886, 81 S.Ct. 1743, 6 L.Ed.2d 1230

CERES a pe nic ade 00-08 0:0 20+ men ein'd ce ons int 11,29

Coleman v. Alabama, 399 US. 1, 90 S.Ct. 1999, 26

L.Ed.2d 387-(1970) ioe ek See be ees 18-19

Dixon v. Alabama State Board of Education, 294

RATIO OMG) 5 8 OR. EE Ee 31

Doherty v. United States, US. ,92S(t.175, |

ek tn A Led | SEI Oy See . 19

Douglas v. California, 372 U'S. 353, 83 S.Ct, 814, 9

L.Ed.2d 811 (1963) ..... a AE EEE EEE PE 18

(til)

Becobedo v. Hlinois, 378 U.S. 478, 84 S.Ct. 1758, 12

EE ane Pg ee Fee 17,18

Gault, Application of, 387 U.S. 1, 89 S.Ct. 1428, 18

I MPEENOE 5. ARUP. Goce ec ek. 21-22

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 90 S.Ct. 1011,

*25 L.Ed.2d 287 (1970) ................. 23, 30-31, 35-36

Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335, 83 S.Ct. 792,9

Ee ae ee ee 16, 20, 21

Gilbert v. California, 388 U.S. 263, 87 S.Ct. 1951, 18

IN 6 bs gic ck coo od ON 53 SERRE. 18

Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474, 79 S.Ct. 1400, 3

No cob SeGRGS 18, 31

Gunsolus v. Gagnon, 454 F.2d 416 (7th Cir. 1971) ....... 5,8

Hague v. Committee for Industrial Organization, 307

US. 496, 59 S.Ct. 954, 83 L.Ed. 1423 (1939) ........ 35

Hahn v. Burke, 430 F.2d 100 (7th Cir. 1970)......... 5,8,9

Hamilton v. Alabama, 368 US. 52, 82 S.Ct. 157, 7

I ret cg et 18

Hannah v. Larche, 363 U.S. 420, 80 S.Ct. 1502, 4

LEd.2d 1307 (1960) ........... 10-11, 23-24, 25,26,27

Holden v. Hardy, 169 U.S. 366, 18 S.Ct. 383, 42

a aE SRE RS tna reel 14

Jenkins v. McKeithen, 395 U.S. 411, 89 S.Ct. 1843,

23 L.Ed.2d 404 (1969) Pas ee eae 25, 26, 27

Johnson v. Avery, 393 U.S. 483, 89 S.Ct. 747, 21

EN ey ot eS hs 34

Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 58 S.Ct. 1019, 82 7

NEMO a se 15, 34

Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath,

_ 341 US. 123, 71 S.Ct. 624,95 LEd. 817(1951)..._. 27-28

Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541, 86 S.Ct. 1045,

a 16 L.Ed.2d 84 (1966) |

@M*eeeseee 8 ee © 6 © oj8.8 @

(iv)

Kirby v. Illinois, US. , 92 St. 1877,

L.Ed.2d COTA) he cewds Se Bs 18

Massiah v. United States, 377 U.S. 201, 84 S.Ct.

1199, 12 LEd.2d 246 (1964) .......8..44.... 16,17

Mempa v. Rhay, 389 U.S. 128, 88 S.Ct. 254, 19

EMA DESIG(ING7): hos ic ow owe ESI AR Sw. 18, 32

Menechino v. Watden, 27 N.Y. 376,21 NYS2d-449 j

(2970)... cis 6a owe oN lee ea UES ORAS ara 32

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 86 S.Ct. 1602, 16

BeOS (1966) gc en oe eI ES. 17, 18, 30

' Morrissey v. Brewer, US. 49284 =, 33

L.Ed.2d 484 (1972) ....... $,6,10, 11-12, 13,26,28,29,34

Oestrich v. State, 55 Wis.2d 222, 198 N.W.2d 664

I sc Ma ps ee a 36

Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45, 53 S.Ct. 55, 77

L.Ed. 158 (1932) ...... 6, 14-15,16,17,19,20,21 ,23,32,34

Rescue Army v. Municipal Court, 331 U.S.549,67 |

S.Ct. #409, 91 L.Ed. 1666 (1947) .............. 78,9

State ex rel. Bernal v. Hershman, 54 Wis.2d 626, 196

SR ae CREP OI bik 0505 6.u'8 0 5k SF Nia eies oe on os 36

United States v. Wade, 388 U.S. 218, 87 S.Ct. 1951,

a OEE 5 5 o o-s bse ope 9 be 90> 18 -

State ex rel. Johnson v. Cady, 50 Wis.2d 540, 185

N.W.26306. (1970) 9 i.e eins er eec ene 9

United States ex rel. Bey v. Connecticut Board of

Parole, 443 F.2d 1079 (2nd Cir. 1971) ....... 32,33,34,36

Warten v. Michigan Parole Board, 23 Mich. App. 754,

re eT” he ks) Gn anos toa ee 32

White v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 59, 83 S.Ct. 1050, 16

Ne NE 6. s bp oriccnis MoH este 9 6 orn s as 48

Williams v. Patterson, 389 F.2d 374 (10th Cir. 1968). ... , .*32

Winship, In Re, 397 US. 358, 90 S.Ct. 1068, 25

SE BTU i ona ie bie Soo Seb 0d ape 6 oie e ee 22

(vy)

‘Title 5, United States Code, Section 551. et seq.,

_ Administrative Procedure Act of 1946

Title 8, United States Code, Section 1362

Other Authorities:

American Bar Association Standards Relating

Probation, Commentary, Section 5.4{a\ii)

Annual Report Ohio Adult Parole Authority,

1964/65 at 13-14

1 Gordon and Rosenfield, Immigration Law and

Procedure, Section 1.23

NOTE, Parole: A Critique of Its Legal Foundations

and Conditions, 38 NY Univ. Law Review, —

he iene ORE i

Sklar, Law and Practice in Probation and Parole

Revocation Hearings, 55 J. Crim. L.C. and PS. 174,

175, 194, Note 157 (1964)

Warren, Probation in the Federal System of Criminal

Justice, 19 Fed. Prob. 3 (Sept. 1955)

x

Sereme Court of the United States

No. 71-1225

JOHN R. GAGNON,

Petitioner,

v.

GERALD H. SCARPELLI,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On July 9, 1965, the Respondent entered a plea of

guilty to a charge of armed robbery in violation of

Section 943.32(1)(b)(2), Wisconsin Statutes, and was

sentenced on that date to an indeterminate term of not

more than fifteen (15) years at the Wisconsin State

Reformatory, Green Bay, Wisconsin by the Honorable

HOWARD J. DU ROCHER, County Judge, Branch 2,

Racine County, Wisconsin. Execution of the sentence was

stayed and Respondent was placed on probation to the

State Department of Public Welfare (now known as the

~ Department of Health and Social Services) for a period of

> seven (7) years.

4

On July 9, 1965, Respondent signed a “Parole

Agreement” and'a “Travel Permit and Agreement to

.Retum.” ‘He . thereupon travelled. to Illinois and on

August 5, 1965, the Adult Probation Department of the

Circuit Court of ‘Cook County, Illinois, accepted

Respondent’s probation supervision pursuant to the

Uniform Act for Out-of-State Parolee. Supervision.

(Section 57.13, Wisconsin Statutes). The ugreement

signed by the Respondent provided that he waive

extradition to the State of Wisconsin from any

jurisdiction in or outside of the United States and that he

could not contest any effort by any jurisdiction to retum

him to the State of Wisconsin. On August 20, 1965,

Respondent’s probation supervisor recommended to the

State Department of Public Welfare that Respondent’s

probation be revoked by reason of his association with

known criminals and his involvement in a burglary. On

the same day, the District Administrator concurred in the

recommendation, and on August 27, 1965, the Chief

Probation and Parole Services made the same recom-

mendation. Pursuant to these recommendations the

Director of the State Department of Public Welfare,

Wilbur ‘J. Schmidt, entered an order revoking the

petitioner's probation on September 1, 1965. The

recommendations for revoking probation were based on

the transcript of the. statement allegedly given by the

Respondent on August 5, 1965, to Mr. Robert J. Smart,

Assistant States Attorney, Cook County, Illinois, and

newspaper clippings from August 6, 1965, edition of the

Chicago Tribune pertaining to the occurrence in

Rrosetialth Lake County, Illinois of a burglary.

‘Pursuant to the revocation order, the Respondent was

picked up ‘in ‘Illinois at his place of ‘employment on

September 3 or’ September 4, 1965, and he was

transported to the Sheriff’s office, Niles, Illinois. On the

_

2

game day, Respondent was transported to the Racine

‘County Jail, Racine, Wisconsin. Respondent was held

overnight in the Racine County Jail and on the following

ay was transported to the Green. Bay Reformatory.

Respondent was received at the reformatory on

_ Respondent was never afforded a hearing, either by the

State Department of Public Welfare or by the sentencing

court prior to the revocation of his probation and

_ transportation to the Green Bay Reformatory. Further,

‘he was never granted a hearing of any kind in Illinois

after he was picked up and prior to the time he was

transported to the Racine County Jail. Respondent was

also denied an opportunity to consult with a lawyer of

his own choosing or appointed counsel prior to the

‘Tevocation of his probation, prior to his removal from the

State of Illinois to the Racine County Jail, and prior to

his transportation to the Green Bay Reformatory.

"On June 4, 1969, Respondent was released from

Ancarceration by the State of Wisconsin and was paroled

‘to a federal detainer. Respondent was previously

‘Wntenced to a term of eight (8) years on a federal

“fonviction. That sentence was to be served concurrently

With the sentence imposed in the State of Wisconsin. At

60

the present time Respondent has been released from the

‘Federal Correctional Institution at Leavenworth, Kansas

nd his status with regard to the State of Wisconsin is

of parolee.

Inasmuch as Respondent was on July 9, 1965, placed

Probation for a period of seven (7) years, that

batio period were the revocation not to have

rceded would have expired on July 9, 1972.

This statement of facts is presented as a result of

r exceptions being taken on the part of the

:

E

Be,

4 x

Respondent to the statement of facts presented in

Petitioner’s brief. Specifically, the Respondent takes

exception to the Petitioner’s relation of the facts

surrounding the alleged involvement of the Respondent

in a burglary occurring in Deerfield, Lake County, Illinois

on Friday, August 6, 1965. The facts recited by the

Petitioner are based entirely upon an account of the

burglary appearing in the August 6, 1965 edition of the

Chicago Tribune and upon a statement made by the

Respondent to Assistant States Attorney Robert J. Smart

in the Cook County Jail. The taking of this statement

commenced at approximately 3:15 p.m. on August 6,

1965. Respondent while admitting the making of the

statement has contended that the statement was made

under duress. The Petitioner’s characterization of the

Respondent’s explanation for the making of this

statement as well as the Petitioner’s characterization of

the Respondent’s explanation for a cut on _ the

Respondent’s hand as improbable explanations is

irrelevant and immaterial to the instant proceeding. The

Respondent was not convicted of the burglary occurring

in Deerfield, Lake County, Illinois, on Friday, August 6,

1965, and charges arising out of the said burglary were

dismissed upon Respondent’s return to the State of

Wisconsin. The Respondent was never convicted of any

involvement in this burglary.

Additionally, the Respondent would point out that

materials referred to by the Petitioner in his Facts

Relating To The Administration Of Law, and appearing

in the Addendum to Petitioner’s brief, are in no way an

exhaustive presentation of materials regarding parole and

probation revocation proceedings, nor is there any

indication, in light of the publication dates of these

materials, ‘that they are in any way representative of

proceedings now conducted in Wisconsin.

"4.5 SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

| “Respondent would argue that this case should be

dism in that it is moot as to him. It is a

fong-tecognized doctrine of this Court that the decision

of. ‘constitutional questions will be avoided if there is any

other ground on which the issues presented by a

controversy may be decided. In the instant case the Court

"of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit decided that the

holding of Hahn v. Burke, 430 F.2d 100 (7th Cir. 1970)

that a probationer facing revocation had a Due Process

tight to a hearing prior to revocation was applicable to

Respondent.See Gunsolus v. Gagnon, 454 F.2d 416 (7th

‘Cir. 1971) (this case below). The Court of Appeals’

decision that the holding of Hahn is applicable to

Respondent is not challenged in this action. In fact, the

Petitioner concedes that probationers facing revocation

are entitled, on the basis of Morrissey v. Brewer,

US. ,92S.Ct. , 33 LEd.2d 484 (1972), to

such a hearing. Inasmuch as Respondent was denied a

hearing prior to the revocation of his probation, that

‘tevocation was illegal regardless of this Court’s decision

regarding Respondent’s right to the assistance of counsel

at that hearing. Inasmuch as there is no authority in

Wisconsin law providing for the tolling of the

probationary period as a result of an illegal revocation

and inasmuch as the District Court ordered the record of

‘the revocation expunged from Respondent's record, the

seven (7) year probationary period imposed on July 9,

1965, expired as of July 9, 1972 and this case is therefore

‘Moot as to the Respondent.

Assuming that this Court should find that the

‘onsequences surrounding the revocation of probation are

‘Significant enough to mandate the decision of the

‘Question presented in this case, it is Respondent’s

Rss Se

Ree. A

6

contention that in light of the reasoning of this Court in

its decision, last- term, in Morrissey v. Brewer,

US. ~~, 92 S.Ct. —; 33 L.Ed.2d 484 (1972), the

revocation of any probation should be accomplished only

after the completion of a hearing procedure meeting the

minimal standards expressed in Morrissey. While Morris-

sey dealt, with the revocation of a parole, no significant

difference exists between the status of a parolee and that

of a probationer, and therefore the procedural safeguards

accorded parolees by Morrissey should be extended by

this Court to probationers.

While the Court in Morrissey specifically withheld

judgment as to whether or not the right to a hearing prior

to revocation included the right to the assistance of

counsel at that hearing, Respondent respectfully

contends that the granting of a right to a hearing is, in

large measure, the granting of a right void of significance

unless thgt hearing includes the right of the probationer

facing revocation to the assistance. of counsel. A

probation revocation hearing involves precisely the kinds

of problems which a defendant in a criminal prosecution —

faces. The revocation hearing is an attempt to reconstruct

certain disputed factual situations, the dispute occurring

between the probationer and his supervising agent.

Clearly; the reasoning in Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45,

53 S.Ct. 55, 77 L.Ed. 158 (1932), which suggests that

there are laymen illiterate and therefore incompetent to

protect themselves in the trial of a matter before a Court

is just as applicable in the case of a probationer facing an

analogous situation in a probation revocation hearing.

This Court very early in its history recognized that the

conduct of a hearing without the assistance of a lawyer,

sd to develop complex defenses, is often ‘not a

fing at all. In recent years this Court has broadened

eo alll

the availability of the assistance of counsel from

courtroom situations to administrative hearings, and

Respondent would contend that the instant case is an

- appropriate one for this Court to hold that the Due

“Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment requires,

minimally, that probationers, prior to revocation, be

provided a hearing and as a concomitant right the

assistance of counsel at that hearing.

7

ARGUMENT

I

AS A CONSEQUENCE OF THE EXPIRATION OF

THE ORIGINAL PROBATIONARY PERIOD

IMPOSED UPON THE RESPONDENT AND AS THE

RESULT OF THE MANNER IN WHICH THE

QUESTION PRESENTED TO THIS COURT IS

PHRASED, THIS CAUSE IS MOOT AS TO THE

RESPONDENT.

s Respondent contends that this cause should be

‘dismissed because it is moot as to him. In Rescue Army y.

Municipal Court, 331 U.S. 549, 67 S.Ct. 1409, 91 L.Ed.

1666 ( 1947), this Court discussed the “doctrine of strict

“Recessity” noting’ that the Court had developed a series of

filles for its own governance under which it avoided

: orm upon most of the constitutional questions raised

_before it. One of the rules there enumerated indicated

‘that if the record of the case presented a non-

‘Constitutional ground upon which the case could be

decided, the constitutional question involved in the case

‘would not be adjudicated. aoe

ay

oa If there is one doctrine more deeply rooted than any

~ other in the process of constitutional adjudication,

it is that we ought not to pass on questions of

~ constitutionality .-.unless such adjudication is

TF,

~

8

unavoidable. Spector Motor Service v. McLaughlin,

323-US. 101, 105, 89 L.Ed. 101, 103,65 S.Ct. 152.

It has-long been the Court’s ‘considered practice not

to. decide abstract, hypothetical or contingent

questions ...or to decide any constitutional ques-

tion in advance of the necessity for its deci-

sion... * * *” 331 U.S. at 570 (Fn. 34) (Emphasis

added)

Respondent was convicted of armed robbery on July

9, 1965 and sentenced to fifteen (15) years imprison-

ment. The sentence was stayed and he was placed on

probation for a period of seven (7) years. On September

1, 1965, after recommendation by the Probation and

Parole Services, his probation was revoked without

hearing by the State Department of Public Welfare (now

known as the Department of Health and Social Services

of the State of Wisconsin). -

In Hahn v. Burke, 430 F.2d 100 (7th Cir. 1970), it was

held that a probationer had a right to a hearing prior to

the revocation of his probation. Gunsolus v. Gagnon, 454

F.2d 416 (7th Cir. 1971) (this case below) made this

right applicable to the Respondent and those proba-

tioners sitnilarly situated. Neither the right to a hearing

prior to the revocation of probation nor the applicability

of the holding in Hahn v. Burke, supra, to Respondent is

in issue before this Court. In fact, Petitioner concedes in

his brief that a probationer is in all likelihood entitled to

a heating prior to revocation of his probation.

(Petitioner’s Brief, p. 18). The Respondent in this cause

was not granted any hearing whatever.

Inasmuch ‘as Respondent was denied his right to a

hearing prior to revocation, the revocation by administra-

tive order on September 1, 1965, was illegal and invalid

regatdless of any decision that this Court might make

a hc ve

een

9

regarding the right of Respondent to the assistance of

counsel at a probation revocation hearing. Since this

Court can decide the issue of counsel adversely to the

- Respondent and still not effect the propriety of the

revocation of his probation, it need not and should not

decide the issue of the right to counsel. Rescue Army v.

Municipal Court, supra.

Moreover, there existing no authority in Wisconsin law

for the proposition that the running of Respondent’s

probationary period was tolled upon the execution of the

improper revocation, and the period of Respondent's

probation having expired on July 9, 1972, this case is

moot. Even assuming that the cause were to be remanded

for a revocation hearing without counsel, Respondent

could not be compelled to appear at such a hearing. He

need only petition the Wisconsin Supreme Court or the

District Court for the Eastern District of Wisconsin for

his unconditional release from his present status as a

parolee of the State of Wisconsin. Substantively this

petition could be made on the basis of Hahn v. Burke,

supra, and the decision of the Wisconsin State Supreme

Court in State ex rel. Johnson v. Cady, 50 Wis.2d 540,

ts 185 N.W.2d 306 (1970), which adopted the holding of

the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in Hahn v.

' Burke, as the controlling law in the State of Wisconsin

with regard to the issue of a hearing prior to the

" fevocation of probation. Neither of these cases, Hahn nor

‘Johnson, is in issue before this Court. Therefore,

‘6 ‘Respondent respectfully contends this cause should be

a as presenting a moot question in that he is, by

wer court decision, guaranteed the right to a hearing

“puor to revocation, and this Court need not decide the

“question of Respondent’s right to the assistance of

-ounsel at such a hearing.

PROCEDURE ESTABLISHED FOR PAROLEES BY

MORRISSEY V. BREWER, .US

(1972)—-THOSE HEARINGS BEING REQUIRED BY

THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE OF THE FOUR-

In Morrissey v. Brewer, (1972), this Court held that

state correctional authorities seeking the revocation of a

parolee’s parole were required by the Due Process Clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment to provide the parolee

with certain procedural safeguards. These constitutionally

mandated minima are essentially as follows. The parolee

must be given: .

(a) Wriften notice of the claimed violations of

parole; (b). disclosure to the parolee of evidence

against him; (c) opportunity to be heard in person

and to present witnesses and documentary evidence;

(d) the right to confront and cross-examine adverse

- witnesses (unless the hearing officer specifically

finds good cause for not allowing confrontation); (¢)

a ‘neutral and detached’ hearing body such as a

- traditional parole board, members of which need

not be judicial officers or lawyers; and (f) a written

statement by the fact finders as to the evidence

relied on and the reasons for revoking parole. __

U.S. 33 L.Ed.2d at 499.

Morrissey established, as a minimum, a two stage

proceeding intended to fulfill the needs of the state while

protecting ‘the “right” of the parolee—his conditional

' liberty. This is wholly in keeping with the historical

application by this Court of the Due Process Clause. In

Hannah v, Larche, 363 U.S. 420, 80 S.Ct. 1502, 4

L.Ed.2d 1307 (1960), the Court said:

Bie gk co RN ee aoe

11

“Due process’ is an elusive concept. Its exact

boundaries are unidentifiable, and its content varies

according to specific factual contexts. Thus, when

governmental agencies adjudicate or make binding

_ determinations which directly effect the legal rights

of individuals, it is imperative that those agencies

use the procedures which have traditionally been

associated with the judicial process. 363 U.S. at 441.

Mr.. Justice. Frankfurter, concurring in Hannah, also

discussed the importance. 6f balancing government and

personal interests in arriving at a decision as to what

process was due in.a given case. He said:

_ The precise nature of the interest alleged to be

_ adversely affected or of the freedom of action

claimed to be curtailed, the manner in which this is

to be done and the reasons for doing it, the balance

of individual hurt and the justifying public

good—these and such like are the considerations,

avowed or implicit, that determine the judicial

judgment when appeal is to be made to “Due

Process.” 363 U.S. at 487-488.

“See also Cafeteria and Restaurant Workers Union y.

McElroy , 367 U.S. 886, 81 S.Ct. 1743, 6 L.Ed.2d 1230

(1961).

In Morrissey, the Court chose to describe this

balancing process as follows:

Whether any procedural protections are due depends

- on the extent to which an individual will be

' “condemned to suffer grievous loss.’ Joint Anti-

_ Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341 U.S.

128, 168, 95 L.Ed. 817, 852, 71 S.Ct. 624 (1951)

Frankfruter, J. concurring), quoted in Goldberg v.

Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 263, 25 L.Ed.2d 287, 296, 90

S.Ct. 1011 (1970). The question is not merely the

eight of the individual’s interest, but whether the

ure of the interest is one within the contempla-

12

‘tion of the. ‘liberty or property’ language of the

- Fourteenth Amendment. Fuentes: v. Chevin, 405

U.S..; 32. L.Ed,2d 556, 92 S.Ct. ___. (decided

June 12, 1972).4 — US. at ., 33 L.Ed.2d at 494,

This Court’ in Morrisey found that the nature of a

parolee’s interest in his continuation on parole was of

such a kind as to be one within the contemplation of the

‘liberty or property’ language of the Fourteenth

Amendment,’ and consequently the Court held that

Morrissey had a right to a hearing prior to revocation.

In the instant case, the Governmental interest and

private interests are undistinguishable from the interest

this Court had to balance in due process terms in

Morrissey. The nature of the Respondent’s interest in

maintaining his status as a probationer is, like Morrissey’s,

of a kind such as to be within the contemplation of the

“liberty or property” language of the Fourteenth

Amendment.

This Court in Morrissey said:

The liberty of a parolee enables him to do a wide

range of things open to persons who have never been

convicted of any crime. The parolee has been

released from prison based on an evaluation that he

shows reasonable promise of being able to return to

society and function as a responsible, self-reliant

person. * * * Though the state properly subjects

him to. many restrictions not applicable to other

citizens, his condition is very different from that of

confinement in prison. * * * The parolee has relied

on at least an implicit promise that parole will be

revoked only if he fails to live up to the parole

conditions. aioe U. S. at__, 33 L.Ed.2d at 494-495.

The ‘above passage is as true of probationers as parolets.

i, the very act of placing a man on probation

recognizes that the state, via its judiciary, has determined

13

that future criminal involvement on the part of the

i is unlikely. (See Section 57.01(1), Wisconsin

Statutes: (1967), Petitioner’s Brief, p. 6). Most impor-

tantly, the probationer, like the parolee, relies on at least

- the implicit promise that revocation will result only upon

a violation of the conditions of probation. The

probationer thus has a significant, even if only

conditional, right or interest in his probationary status,

and revocation seriously injures the probationer’s right.

Certain principles have. remained relatively

immutable in our jurisprudence. One of these is that

where governmental action seriously injures an

_ individual, and the reasonableness of the action

depends on fact findings, the evidence used to prove

the Government’s case must be disclosed to the

individual so that he has an opportunity to show

‘that it is untrue. Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474,

496, 79 S.Ct. 1400, 3 L.Ed.2d 1377 (1959).

The probationer’s interest or right in his status as a

probationer is injured by an attempt on the State’s part

to revoke that probation. Consequently, he, like a

parolee, shoufd be granted the procedural safeguards

insured parolees by the hearing process of Morrissey v.

Brewer, supra.

A PROBATIONER HAS A _ CONSTITUTIONAL

RIGHT TO THE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL AT A

REVOCATION HEARING.

A. The Right To Counsel Is Among The Most Basic

o3 Elements of Due Process

~ Respondent respectfully contends that the existence of

£ _ constitutionally guaranteed right to a hearing prior to

i revocation of probation requires as a necessary

‘corollary the right to the assistance of counsel at that

14

hearing. ‘To grant probationers the right to a hearing prior

to’ revocation while denying them the assistance of

counsel would result in the granting of an empty right.

The right to be assisted by counsel in proceedings which

greatly affect an individual’s rights has long been

recognized as one of the rights most fundamental to due

process of law. As this Court stated in Holden v. Hardy,

169 U.S. 366, 18 S.Ct. 383, 42 L.Ed. 780 (1898):

.. . There are certain immutable principles of justice

which inhere in the very idea of free government

which no member of the union may disregard. 169

U.S. at 389.

This language was relied upon by this Court in Powell y.

Alabama, 287 U.S. 45, 53 S.Ct. 55, 77 L.Ed. 158 (1932),

in holding that due process of law requires appointment

of counsel in a capital case. The Court held that the right

to the assistance of counsel:

Is of stich a character that it cannot be denied

without violating those ‘fundamental principles of

liberty and justice which lie at the base of all our

civil and ‘political institutions.’ (Citing Herbert v.

"State of Louisiana, 272 U.S. 312, 316). 287 US.

at 71-72.

Considering the question of what a ‘“thearing” includes !

the Powell Court stated:

Historically and in practice in our own country at

least, it has always included the right to the aid of

counsel when desired and provided by the party

asserting the right. The right to be heard would be in

many cases, of little avail if it did not comprehend |

- the right to be heard by counsel. Even the intelligent

and educated layman has small and sometimes ‘no

skill in the science of law. * * * He lacks both the

skill and knowledge adequately to prepare his

. defense, even though he have a perfect one. eee if

15

iim any case, civil or criminal, a state court were

+ arbitrarily to refuse to hear a party by counsel,

«employed. by and appearing for him, it reasonably

_ May not be doubted that such a refusal would be a

., denial of a hearing and therefore, of due process in

_ the constitutional sense. 287 U.S. at 68, 69.

- (Emphasis supplied).

Noting that the defendant stood in peril of their lives,

the Court in Powell examined the nature of the

governmental function involved. It noted that defendants

were young, ignorant and illiterate. They were being tried

- in an atmosphere of hostility, under close surveillance by

the military, and far away from friends and family.

Furthermore, they were imprisoned and thus unable to

prepare their defense without counsel. A lawyer was

found to be vital for the purposes of consultation,

’ thoroughgoing investigation, and the preparation of a

defense. Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. at 57.

Powell was decided, not upon the basis of the Sixth

Amendment guarantee to the assistance of counsel in a

criminal prosecution, but rather upon the due process

clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. This decision,

~ nevertheless, has become a touchstone for both due

process and Sixth Amendment decisions.

_ Since Powell, the right to counsel has been considered

_ essential to a fair trial, and the constitutional availability

_ of counsel has constantly expanded. Johnson v. Zerbst,

(304 U.S. 458, 58 S.Ct. 1019, 82 L.Ed. 1461 {1938),

- established that the right to counsel was so fundamental

_ that its waiver was required to be clearly determined and

Boted on the record. The Court stated that the right was:

-... Deemed necessary to insure fundamental rights

x a of life and liberty. 304 U.S. at 462.

16

Ten years after Powell, Betts v. Brady, 316 U.S. 455, .

62 S.Ct. 1252, 86 L.Ed. 1595 (1942), was decided by

this Court. Conceding the importance of counsel, it :

nevertheless determined that the right to the assistance of __

counsel was not a fundamental right in all cases, but only __

when counsel was so essential to fairness that

appointment was imperative. 316 U.S. at 471. The Betts

case is important because it severely limited Powell to its

own facts and expressly held that counsel was not a

“natural, inherent, and fundamental” principle of

fairness. 316 U.S. at 464. In 1963, Betts v. Brady was

overruled by Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335, 83

S.Ct. 792, 9 L.Ed.2d 799 (1963). The Court’s opinion in

Gideon made the Sixth Amendment applicable and

obligatory on the states and held that an indigent

defendant in a serious crime in a state court had the right

to haye counsel appointed for him. The basis for this

decision was ‘the fundamental character of the right to

the aid of counsel as set forth in Powell vy. Alabama,

supra, which was no longer limited to its particular facts.

B. Since This Court’s Decision In Gideon v.

Wainwright, The Right To The Assistance of

Counsel In Criminal Proceedings Has Been

Vastly Expanded Recognizing That This

Assistance Is Of Such A Fundamental Nature

That It Cannot Be Denied.

After this Court’s opinion in Gideon v. Wainwright,

supra, the right to the assistance of counsel as required by

the Sixth Amendment was extended beyond the bounds

of the.trial of a criminal prosecution itself by this Court’s

decision in Massiah v. United States 377 U.S. 201, 84

S.Ct. 1199, 12.L.Ed.2d 246 (1964), which held a

defendant was entitled to the assistance of counsel dfter

indictment and release on bail. This period of time was

a

17

eienined to be a “critical period of the proceedings”

within the meaning of that term as found in Powell v.

e The Mastin. decision foreshadowed this Court’s

7 in Escobedo y. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478, 84 S.Ct.

1758, 12° L.Ed.2d 977 (1964), wherein the Court held

that the right to counsel applied at a pre-indictment

police interrogation, and that any incriminating state-

ment made during that interrogation, after the suspect

has requested and been denied an opportunity to consult

with his lawyer, is excludable at trial. The Court cited

Powell and Massiah in finding this investigatory process

to be a critical stage in the proceedings, that is, a stage at

which the suspect was most in need of an attorney.

It would exalt form over substance to make the

~ tight to counsel, under these circumstances, depend

‘on whether at the time of the interrogation, the

authorities have served a formal indictment.

_ Petitioner had, for all practical purposes, already

_ been charged with murder. 378 U.S. at 486.

Even though the period between the arrest’ and

indictment of defendant was recognized as the period

during which most confessions were obtained and even

though this ruling would significantly diminish the

number of confessions obtained, the Court held that:

~~ Our Constitution, unlike some others, strikes the

balance in favor of the right of the accused to be

_ advised by his lawyer of his privilege against

_ self-incrimination.

“ Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 86 S.Ct. 1602, 16

-LEd.2d 694 (1966), expanded even further the right to

“@unsel discussed in Escobedo. The Court in Miranda

d that any statements obtained in a_ police

rrogation which were not preceded by a police

18

waming to the suspect regarding the suspect’s constitu-

tional rights with regard to the assistance of counsel

would: be inadmissible as a violation of the Fifth and

Sixth Amendments to the United States Constitution.

Not only did the Court direct that an accused be notified

of his right to counsel, but it also directed that upon any

indication by the accused that he desired to.consult with

counsel prior to speaking, all interrogation had to cease

pending the completion of that consultation.

Kirby vy. Illinois, U8 92: Sct 1677,

L.Ed.2¢ (1972), the Court, in holding there was not

right to counsel at pre-indictment line-ups, distinguished

Escobedo and Miranda and stated that the Sixth and

Fourteenth Amendment right to counsel attached “only

at or after the time that adversary proceedings have been

initiated against the defendant, (citing Powell), and thus

the right did not attach prior to the indictment.” —

U.S. atu.

Although this decision appeared to put a limitation on

the right to counsel after it had been expanded to apply

at arraignment, Hamilton v. Alabama, 368 U.S. 52, 82 S.Ct.

157, 7 L.Ed.2d 114 (1961); on appeal, Douglas v.

California, 372 U.S. 353, 83 S.Ct. 814, 9 L-Ed.2d 811

(1963); at preliminary hearings, White v. Maryland, 373

U.S. 59, 83 S.Ct. 1050, 10 L.Ed.2d 193 (1963); at

nt line-ups, United States v. Wade, 388 US.

218, 87 S.Ct. 1926, 18 L.Bd.2d 1149 (1967), and Gilbert

y. California; 388 U.S. 263, 87 S.Ct. 1951, 18 L.Ed.2d

1178 (1967); at probation revocation proceedings

wherein there was a deferred sentencing, Mempa v. Rhay,

389 U.S. 128, 88 S.Ct. 254, 19 L.Ed.2d 336 (1967);

prior to the acceptance of a guilty plea, Boykin .

Alabama, 395 U.S. 238, 89 S.Ct. 1709, 23 L.Ed.2d 274

(1969); at-a non-essential preliminary hearing, Coleman v.

vA ;

iehews. 399 U.S. 1,.90 S.Ct. 1999, 26 L.Ed.2d 387

(1970); and on a petition for writ of certiorari to this

s Court, Doherty v. United States, US. ; 92 S.Ct.

- $75, 30 L.Ed.2d 149 (1971), it did not indicate on the

~ part of this Court a retreat from the Powell analysis of

~ the right to counsel as a fundamental principle of liberty

and justice and as an essential feature of a meaningful

hearing. Rather the Court in Kirby was concerned

primarily with ty the point of commencement

of:

The “criminal prosecutions” to which alone the

explicit guarantees of the Sixth Amendment are

applicable. ca tS, O03

_. This Court has recently further expanded the Sixth

Amendment right to counsel by holding the assistance of

counsel to be essential in any criminal prosecution,

whether petty, misdemeanor, or felony, which might

result in imprisonment. Argersinger v. Hamlin, US.

J, 92 S.Ct.._, 32 L.Ed.2d 530 (1972). In deciding

Argersinger this Court relied upon Powell in describing

the fundamental nature of the right to counsel and found

that lawyers in criminal courts are necessities and not

luxuries. The Court evaluated the interest of the accused

in not being deprived of his liberty, even for a short

period of time, and stated that the prospect of losing

liberty even for a short time would not be viewed by an

“accused as a trivial matter. The Court weighed the

‘accused’s interest in this loss of liberty against the burden

upon the Government of providing counsel. It reasoned

that there were sufficient numbers of lawyers and law

Students available to satisfy the estimated requirement of

$75 to 2300 full time counsel.

_ + Mr, Chief Justice Burger in his concurrence expressed

- €oncern with the burden on the states, but he found the

dividual interest involved and the critical function of

sel at criminal trials to outweigh that burden.

any approach anno allows a for any

the aid of counsel at \trial; any

“Rep apade is a serious matter. The issues

be dealt with in a trial for a petty offense

pope may often be simpler than those

involved in a felony trial, and yet be beyond the

capability of a layman, especially when he is

opposed by a law trained prosecutor ... ——USS. at

——. (Mr. Chief Justice Burger, concurring)

This most recent construction of the Sixth Amendment

by the Court and the resultant greater availability of the

assistance ‘of counsel reaffirms the principle enunciated

by this Court in Powell that the right to counsel is

fundamental to due process of law, under both the Sixth

and Fourteenth Amendments. As the Court in Powell

stated:

The fact that the right involved is of such a

character that it cannot be denied without violating

those ‘fundamental principles of liberty and justice

which lie at the base of all our civil and political

institutions.’ (Herbert v. Louisiana, 272 U.S. 312,

316, 71 L.Ed. 270, 272, 48 ALR 1102, 47 S.Ct.

103) is obviously one of those compelling

considerations which must prevail in determining

whether it is embraced within the due process clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment, although it be

specifically dealt with in another part of the federal

Constitution, 287 U.S. at 67. (Emphasis supplied.)

Thus, the right to counsel is a right provided by the

Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment,

independent of the express guarantee of the Sixth

Amendment, and counsel was deemed required under

that.clause until Gideon v. Wainwright, supra, hela the

Sixth Amendment applicable to the states. Although the

21

cases subsequent to Gideon have dealt primarily with the

Sixth. Amendment right and have continuously expanded

‘that right, there existed prior to Powell and there exists

— today a Fourteenth Amendment right to counsel in

non-criminal proceedings.

C. The Due Process Right To The Assistance

Of Counsel Extends To Civil And

: Administrative Proceedings.

The right to counsel has been extended, under the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment, to juvenile

court proceedings—proceedings which are civil in nature.

In Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541, 86 S.Ct. 1045,

16 L.Ed.2d 84 (1966), this Court held that when

jurisdiction over a juvenile is waived from juvenile to

adult court, the juvenile must be provided a hearing, the

_ effective assistance of counsel, and a statement of reasons

for the waiver. The.Court did not require that the hearing

provide:

All of the requirements of a criminal trial or even of

the usual administrative hearing, but we do hold

that the hearing must measure up to the essentials of

_ due process and fair treatment. 383 U.S. at 562.

It is significant that the right to counsel was considered

one of the “‘essentials of due process.”

The right of counsel was considered fundamental to

another juvenile, civil proceeding—the adjudication of

@elinquency. In Application of Gault, 387 U.S. 1, 87

~ $£t. 1428, 18 L.Ed.2d 527 (1967), this Court found

- that where the threatened loss of liberty is comparable in

- severity to the loss of liberty occasioned by a felony

-_ prosecution, a juvenile requires the assistance of counsel:

*To cope with problems of law, and to make skilled»

“inquiry into the facts, to insist upon regularity of

22

the proceeding, and to ascertain whether he has a

defense and to prepare and submit it. 387 US. at

36 :

The Court re teens that the child and his parents were

to be advised of his right to be represented by retained or

appointed counsel.

Similarly, whoieé child te 'chhiged! with‘an act which

renders him liable to imprisonment for as long as six

years, due process demands that his guilt be proved

beyond a reasonable doubt, just as it requires that he be

granted the assistance of counsel. Jn Re Winship, 397

U.S. 358, 90 S.Ct. 1068, 25 L.Ed.2d 368 (1970).

The right to counsel has long been found necessary in

deportation proceedings which are, despite the severe loss

to the alien imposed by deportation, considered

administrative in nature. The General Counsel for the

Immigration and Naturalization Service has stated that:

The right to be represented by counsel is one of the

most important elements of due process of law. |

Gordon and Rosenfield, Jmmigration Law and

Procedure, Section 1.23.

And the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952 now

provides the right to counsel in proceedings adjudicating

excludability or deportability.'

The fundamental nature of the right to be represented

23

cae. Administrative Procedure Act of 1946, 5 U.S.C.

Section 551, et seq. This Act, which applies with certain

‘exceptions to all federal agency proceedings, provides

- that each person compelled to appear before any agency

‘is entitled to be represented by counsel. It also provides

such right to any party who appears in an agency

proceeding though not compelled to do so. See 5 US.C.

Section 551 and 5 U.S.C. Section 555(b).

The most recognition of the right to counsel in

administrative proceedings ‘ is Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 US.

954, 90 S.Ct. 1011, 25 L.Ed.2d 287 (1970), wherein this

Court held the right to exist in state administrative

proceedings terminating welfare benefits. The Court there

quoted Powell v, Alabama, supra, and stated:

We do not say that counsel must be provided at the

pretermination hearing, but only that the recipient

must be allowed to retain an attorney if he so

desires. Counsel can help delineate the issues,

present the factual contentions in an orderly

manner, conduct cross-examination, and generally

safeguard the interests of the recipient. 397 U.S. at

270.

Thus, the due process right to the assistance of counsel

has been recognized to exist in a number of non-criminal

administrative proceedings.

D. The Due Process Right To The Assistance Of

Counsel Applies To Adjudicatory Administra-

tive Proceedings.

” The right to the assistance of counsel is not an essential

7 in all administrative proceedings. The test by which it

P icscrmined whether fundamental due process rights

apply to administrative proceedings was enunciated by

“this Court in Hannah y. Larche, 363 U.S. 420, 80 S.Ct.

~1502, 4 L.Ed.2d 1307 (1960). The Court, noting that

: @ process is an elusive and flexible concept, stated:

24

when governmental agencies adjudicate or

binding determinations which directly affect

the legal rights of individuals, it is imperative that

those. agencies use the procedures which have

traditionally been associated with the judicial

process. On the other hand, when governmental

action does not partake of an adjudication, as for

example, when a general fact finding investigation is

being conducted, it is not necessary that the full

panoply of judicial procedures be used. 363 US. at

The Court found a purely investigative non-adjudicatory

proceeding by the United States Civil Rights Commission

not to require the right of confrontation and

cross-examination or notice of the identity of persons

making complaints to the commission. The function of

the Civil Rights Commission was described as:

Purely, ‘investigative. and fact finding. It does not

adjudicate. It. does not hold trials or determine

anyone’s civil or criminal liability. It does not issue

orders. Nor does it indict, punish, or impose any

legal sanctions. It does not make any determina-

tions, depriving anyone of his life, liberty, or

property. In short, the Commission does not and

cannot take any affirmative action which will affect

an individual’s legal right. The only purpose of its

existence is to find facts which may subsequently be

used as the basis for legislative or executive action.

363 U.S. at 441.

Even though the Commission’s investigation as to

whether voting registrars in the South had practiced racial

discrimination might result in those registrars suffering

approbrium and scorn, the loss of their jobs, and the

threat of criminal prosecution, those consequences were

found to be purely conjectural.

25

_. However, even if such collateral consequences were

to flow from the Commission’s investigations, they

would not be the result of any affirmative

~ determinations made by the Commission, and they

would not affect the legitimacy of the Commission’s

investigative function. 363 U.S. at 443.

In contrast, this Court determined that due process

required the right to confrontation and cross-examination

and the right to present evidence in adjudicative

investigations conducted, ‘by the Louisiana Labor

Management Commission of Inquiry. Jenkins v.

McKeithen, 395 U.S. 411, 89 S.Ct. 1843, 23 L.Ed.2d 404

(1969). Although the Act under which the Commission

operated was drafted with Hannah y. Larche in mind, and

the structure and powers of the Commission were similar

to those of the Civil Rights Commission, the adjudicative

nature of the Louisiana commission compelled the

providing of fundamental due process rights.

Tt is true...that the commission does not

‘adjudicate in the sense that a Court does, nor does

the commission conduct, strictly speaking, a

criminal proceeding. Nevertheless, the Act, when

analyzed in light of the allegations of the complaint,

makes it clear that the commission exercises a

function very much akin to making an official

adjudication of criminal culpability . . . In short, the

commission very clearly exercises an accusatory

function; it is empowered to be used and allegedly is

used to find named individuals guilty of violating

_ the criminal laws of Louisiana and the United States

_and to brand them as criminals in public. 395 U.S.

at 427-428.?

ourt did not decide whether there need by provided

rules of evidence, standards of guilt or innocence, and

assistance of counsel, leaving those issues to the District

wrt on remand. It is noteworthy that there was already a limited

Kright to counsel.

“athe C

26

Consequently, the Court found that the procedures of

‘ the Commission did not meet the minimal requirements

made obligatory on the states by the Due Process Clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment. 395 U.S. at 428.

The functions of a probation and parole board in

probation revocations under the standards set out in

Morrissey v. Brewer, ___ U.S. ___., 92 S.Ct.__, 33

L.Ed.2d 484 (1972), are much more like those in in the

Jenkins case, supra, than those in Hannah v. Larche,

supra. The board is adjudicative in nature. In the case of

Respondent, it makes determinations as to whether he

associated with known criminals and whether he was

involved in a burglary. On the basis of these

determinations, it can remand him to his probationary

status or revoke that status. If it revokes, it takes from

him his conditional liberty, sending him to prison for a

period of fifteen (15) years. The Parole Board, therefore,

makes determinations depriving Scarpelli of liberty. It

issues ordérs. It imposes legal sanctions, and it takes

affirmative action affecting an individual’s legal rights. It

is not. limited to findings of fact “which may

subsequently be used as a basis for legislative or executive

action.”’ Hannah v. Larche, 363 U.S. at 441. The Board

“exercises a function very much akin to making an

official adjudication of criminal culpability,” Jenkins v.

McKeithen, 395 U.S. at 427-428, in that it determines

whether Scarpelli has been involved in a burglary and on

the basis of that determination orders a return to prison.

This ‘adjudicatory function was acknowledged and

described by the American Bar Association Project on

Standards. for Criminal Justice when it specifically

required representation by retained or appointed counsel

in any probation revocation proceeding. Standards

Relating to Probation, Section 5.4(a){ii). In_ its

Commentary to this section, the Committee report

stated: 3

am

-»: The central task of ascertaining whether the prisoner

has committed the acts alleged, and measuring the

i, gets proven against the standard to which he was

obliged to conform is precisely the business of the

~~ ¢riminal trial itself where the right to the assistance

of counsel has been recognized as one of the

“immutable principles of justice.” Indeed, it may in

“many contested revocation proceedings, the conduct

» charged actually constitutes the commission of a

~ criminal act... [I]t would seem patently at war

with the central concept.of procedural justice to

deny to a person with his liberty at stake the

opportunity to hear and meet the specific charge

him with the benefit of counsel. Commen-

tary, Section 5.4(a)ii), Standards Relating to

Probation, at p. 68.

In view of this function, it is clear that the Due Process

Clause requires that a probationer, compelled to appear

before the Board, be provided with counsel under the

rationale of Hannah v. Larche, supra, and Jenkins v.

McKeithen, supra.

THE RIGHT TO THE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL IS

AN ESSENTIAL ELEMENT OF DUE PROCESS OF

LAW IN PROBATION REVOCATION PROCEED-

INGS.

It has frequently been stated that the concept of due

- process is flexible and not a technical conception with a

fixed content.

“Due process is not confined in its scope to the

» particular forms in which rights have heretofore

' been found to have been curtailed for want of

_ ¥procedural fairness. Due process is perhaps the most

__» Majestic concept in our whole constitutional system.

While it contains the garnered wisdom of the past in

28

insuring ‘fundamental justice, it is also a living .

principle, “not confined’ to past instances. Joint .

Anti-Fascist' Refugée Committee v. McGrath, 341 .

US. 123, 173-174, 72%. S.Ct. 624, 95 L.Ed. 817

(1951) (Mr. Justice Frankfurter, concurring.)

In determining a proper application of the Due Process

Clause in a particular situation it is necessary that an

examination be made as to whether or not an individual

will be “condemned to suffer a grievous loss,” Joint

Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341 US. at -

168, as well as an examination of the “precise nature of

the governmental function involved...’ Cafeteria and

Restaurant Workers Union v. McElroy, 376 U.S. at 895,

Having once examined and determined the governmental

function involved as well as the private interest effected it

is necessary to arrive at a proper balancing of those

factors. In Morrissey v. Brewer, supra, this Court found

that a-grieyous loss was present in the loss of a parolee’s

conditiortal liberty. Against this interest of the individual

in retaining his liberty as well as society’s interest

in his rehabilitation and fair treatment, this Court

balanced the State’s: —

..» Overwhelming interest in being able to return

the individual to imprisonment without the burden

of a new adversary criminal trial if in fact he has

failed to abide by the conditions of his parole.

_._ US. at__, 33 L.Ed.2d at 495.

Overwhelming as this interest is, the State has no interest

in revoking parole without some informal procedural

‘which will ‘assure the finding of a parole

violation , will. be based on verified facts and that the

exercise of discretion will be informed by an accurate

knowledge of. the parolee’s behavior.” 33 L.Ed.2d°495.

ee

: ng this same rationale to the facts presented by

this case, the necessity for retained or appointed counsel

at probation revocation hearings becomes evident.

A. The Private Interest Affected

a by Governmental Action.

As this Court held in Morrissey v. Brewer, supra, the

termination of parole inflicts a grevious loss on the

parolee and often on others.

The liberty of a parole¢, although indeterminate,

jnchudes many of the core values of unqualified

fiberty and its termination inflicts a ‘grievous loss’

on the parolee and often on others. 33 L.Ed.2d at

495,

As discussed in Section II above, probation is like

parole and frequently a probationer enjoys a freedom

even less restricted than that of a parolee. The revocation

of either status results in grievous loss sufficiently serious

to require minimal procedural safeguards. One of the

most fundamental of these safeguards is the right to the

assistance of counsel.

Under the analysis of Cafeteria and Restaurant

Workers Union v. McElroy, supra, therefore, the

probationer has an interest in not losing his liberty,

however conditional. Society has an interest, as it does

with the parolee, in “restoring him to normal and useful

life within the law” and in preventing revocation

“because of erroneous information or because of an

“qroneous evaluation of the need to revoke (probation)

_ given the breach of (probation) conditions.” Morrissey v.

Brewer, U.S.at __ , 33 L.Ed.2d at 496.

43

joka

30

B. The Nature of the Governmental

_ Function Involved.

Considering the adjudicative nature of the gover.

mental function, it is in enhancing the integrity of the

fact finding process that counsel becomes essential, both

to protect the individual faced with grievous loss and to

protect the interest of society. Miranda v. Arizona, supra,

384 U.S. at 466-470.

It is most difficult to accept Petitioner’s assertion that:

It is a fact of life that no probationer or parolee is

recommended for revocation unless he did the

things alleged against him. This is because the

probation or parole agent is so strongly motivated

against revocation that he does not recommend it

unless he is sure, . . . Petitioner’s Brief, p. 40.

As stated above, seat proceedings are adversary

proceedings in that, at least where contested, a factual

determihation must be made and a determination is best

made where in-put is available from both the agent

recommending revocation and from. the probationer

challenging that recommendation. To rest the contin-

uance of or the denial of a probationer’s freedom solely

on the of a probation agent’s good will or good

intentions is a very dangerous proposition. The danger of

permitting uncontestable administrative action is high-

lighted by this Court’s recitation of a portion of the

District Court opinion in Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 US.

254, 90 S.Ct. 1011, 25 L-Ed.2d 287 (1970). The District

Court said:

{T]he stakes are simply too high for the welfare

t, and the possibility for honest error or

irritable misjudgment too great to allow termingtton

of aid without giving the recipient a chance, if he so

desires, to be fully informed of the case against him

is re cee waa : —

31

Rao ee

go that he may contest its basis and produce

- evidence in rebuttal. 294 F.Supp. at 904-905. 397

US. at 266.

The Court in Goldberg found not only that the hearing

was required to protect recipients from unjust adminis-

jrative action but found the right to the assistance of

retained counsel to be-a right guaranteed recipients facing

termination.

In Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474, 79 S.Ct. 1400, 3

LEd.2d 1377 (1959), the Court discussed the need for

confrontation and cross-examination.

The evidence used to prove the Government's

‘case must be disclosed to the individual so that he

Jhas an opportunity to show that it is, untrue. While

- this is important in the case of documentary

evidence, it is even more important where the

_ evidence consists of the testimony of individuals

whose memory might be faulty or who, in fact,

.. might be perjurers or persons motivated by malice,

~ yindictiveness, intolerance, prejudice or jealousy.

360 U.S. at 496.

‘Discussing the actions of a school board in expelling

certain students who had participated in a mass protest

the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals said:

~ By its nature, a charge of misconduct, as opposed to

“a failure to meet the: scholastic standards of the

gollege, depends upon a collection of facts

~~ concerning the charged misconduct easily colored

me. 8 ap Pont of view of the witnesses. Dixon v.

~~ Alabamha State Board of Education, 294 F.2d 150,

158 Gth Cir. 1961).

Couns *s value then in a probation revocation proceeding.

‘lies in his ability to marshal the facts, introduce evidence

Ot mitigating circumstances and in general aid and assist

Te

32

the probationer to present his case. See Mempa v. Rhay,

389 U.S. 128, 88 S.Ct. 254, 19 L.Ed.2d 336: (1967).

Menechino v. Warden, 27 N.Y. 376, 21 N.Y.S.2d 449

(1970); United States ex rel. Bey v. Connecticut State

Board of Parole, 443 F.2d 1079 (2nd Cir. 1971); ABA

Standards. Relating to Probation, Section 5.4(a)(ii),

Commentary; Ahern v. Board of Education, School

District of Grand Island, 456 F.2d 399 (8th Cir. 1972);

Warren v. Michigan Parole Board, 23 Mich. App. 754, 179

N.W.2d 664 (1970) and Williams v. Patterson, 389 F.2d

374 (10th Cir. 1968). -

The reasoning of Mr. Justice Sutherland in Powell y.

Alabama, supra, is as appropriate and valid in the present

day in a probation revocation setting as it was then, and

truly as it has been since the legal system in this country

was initiated: For just as the right to be heard would have

been of little avail in 1932 in a hostile courtroom in

Alabania without the assistance of counsel, that right is

of little avail in this day in a revocation proceeding unless

the right to counsel is guaranteed. Just as there were

ignorant and illiterate and feeble-minded men in 1932,

there are ignorant, illiterate and feeble-minded men in

1972. It has always been recognized that:

A lawyer’s training particularly suits him to analyze

and organize for the benefit ofan impartial tribunal

evidentiary ‘matter: bearing on the occurrence or

- mon-occurrence, as well as the significance, of past

events, See Specht y. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605, 87

S.Ct. 1209, 18 L-Ed.2d 326 (1967). United States

ex rel. Bey v. Connecticut State Board of Parole,

443 F.2d 1079, 1087 (2nd Cir. 1971).

The Court in Bey discussed the value of a_ trained

ts, case tend ram The Court said:

a

33

A trained lawyer might well have discovered

‘mitigating circumstances and hidden significances

-not revealed or immediately obvious on the face of

_-Mercer’s report. For example, the Board might well

have welcomed the suggestion for a fuller

-jnvestigation of Bey’s alleged announced intent to

~ depart the state or his oblique threat to repeat his

past crimes. Perhaps Bey’s employers could have

supplied useful information as to Bey’s dependa-

-., bility and thoroughness: on the job. A review of

“ Bey’s reported letters to ‘Porter School girl students

“might have revealed different hues and motivation

~ than found their way into Mercer’s report.

. Thus, at the least, a diligent lawyer representing

"Bey before the Parole Board might have investigated

“the decisive events of Bey’s brief period of release

“and in an orderly, disciplined presentation to the

“Board, have attempted to establish facts more

“favorable to Bey than those presented by, Mercer

“and Mcliduff and have suggested their relevance to

“the four alternatives less severe than revocation

- available to the Board in disposing of Bey’s case.

» 443 F.2d at 1088.

Had the Respondent in the instant case been granted

the right to the assistance of counsel at a revocation

“hearing, the lawyer could have analyzed the factual

“gecurrences upon which the recommendation of the

‘Respondent’s supervising agent were based and the

‘lawyer could have marshalled the facts involved and

resented the occurrences in a light more favorable to the

pondent than that found in the recommendation of

pervising agent. Additionally, a lawyer could have

red mitigating circumstances which might have

d heavily in the final decision of the Department

Welfare as to whether to revoke or not. An

is obviously better suited as a result of his

34

training and his daily involvement in contentious matters

to effectively present a case before the supervising

authority than is a probationer overwhelmed by the

administrative agency.

The fact that the Board performs a predictive and

prognostic function does not depreciate the

importance of accurate factual exposition and

evaluation. Bey, 443 F.2d at 1088.

This is especially true if the probationer has little

intelligence or education, Johnson y. Avery, 393 US.

483, 89 S.Ct 747, 21 L.Ed.2d 718 (1969), or is already

incarcerated prior to the final decision upon his

revocation. Such incarceration makes it all but impossible

for the probationer to prepare his defense without the aid

of counsel, and it is a factor which has been raised by this

Court in both Powell vy. Alabama, supra, and Johnson y.

Zerbst, supra, and recognized as compelling the assistance

of counsel The Respondent was incarcerated while the

Department reviewed his probation agent’s recom-

mendation to revoke probation.

Given the adjudicative nature of the governmental

function, counsel is essential to protect the interests of

the probationer against the grievous loss of incarceration

- for a number of years as well as to further the societal

interest of preventing the revocation based upon

erroneous information. Society, as was recognized in

Morrissey v. Brewer, supra, has an interest in treating the

thereby increasing the likelihood of rehabilitation. The

societal interests are of course shared by the state, which

has a further interest in preventing erroneous probation

revocations—the great finaricial cost of keeping a mdn in

prison. Warren, Probation in the Federal System of

Criminal Justice, 19 Fed. Prob. 3 (Sept. 1955); Annual

35

, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, 1964/65 at 13-14;

Note, Parole: A Critique of Its Legal Foundations and

38. N.Y.Univ.. Law Review, 702, 705-707

(1963). (All cited in Morrissey v. Brewer) .

me . C. The Burden On Government of Providing

bese The Right to Counsel.

’ “Against the interests discussed above is balanced the

$tate’s interest in revoking probation and imposing the

prison sentence without a new criminal trial and in

conducting its revocation proceedings with minimal

expense and administrative inconvenience. To suggest, as

the Petitioner does, however, that the question presented

here-can or should be answered on the basis of economic

effect is unjustifiable. The right to be infringed—the loss

of freedom—even if only conditionally granted, cannot be

-walued monetarily. In Hague v. Committee for Industrial

Organization, 307 U.S. 496, 59 S.Ct. 954, 83 L.Ed. 1423

3 (1939), Mr. Justice Stone, concurring, said:

_ There are many rights and immunities secured by

; the. Constitution, of which freedom of speech and

’ assembly are conspicuous ‘ame which are not

- capable of money valuation. . . . 307 U.S. at 529.

“The right to the assistance of counsel in probation

“gevocation hearings may not be as conspicuous a right,

-but it, like freedom of speech and assembly, cannot be

= leasured in terms of a mill rate, as Petitioner suggests.

| # Court has held that in the welfare context, the

; ‘oven ental interests of expense and administrative

Mconvenience are not overriding when balanced against

adividual right and that the state had the capacity to

¢.costs and administrative burdens.

the interest of the eligible recipient in

errupted receipt of public assistance, coupled

36

| with the state's interest that his payments not be

erroneously terminated, clearly outweighs the stat

compelling concern to. prevent any increase in

fiscal and administrative burdens. Goldberg v. Kelly,

397 US. at 266.

Similarly, the probationer’s interest in retaining his

liberty coupled with the state’s interest that he not be

erroneously. incarcerated, clearly outweigh the state’s

competing interest in minimizing fiscal and administrative

burdens,

It should be noted that the State of Wisconsin has,

since the summer of 1972, provided juveniles in parole

revocation proceedings with the right to counsel, State ex

rel. Bernal v, Hershman, 54 Wis.2d 626, 196 N.W.2d 72

(1972), and the State of Wisconsin has also extended the

right of probation revocation hearings with counsel to

adults. Oestrich v. State, 5S Wis.2d 222, 198 N.W.2d 664

(1972)...

A lawyef’s participation in probation revocation need

not impede the flow of relevant information to the

Board, inasmuch as the reviewing official can control the

proceedings and prohibit dilatory or distracting tactics.

Counsel's proper role is to assist the Board, not to

impede it, and the Board may take appropriate

measures to assure that counsel appreciates his

limited role. and presents his client’s case accord-

ingly. Bey, 443 F.2d at 1089.

- There has never been demonstrated that the provision

of more rights in revocation proceedings, whether

probation or parole, results in fewer paroles being

granted. Sklar, Law and Practice in Probation and Parole

Revocation Hearings, $$ 3.Crim.L.C. and P.S. 174; 175,

194, Note 157 (1964). Nor will the right to cdunsel

introduce friction into the probationer-probation agent

i es : 37

relationship, which is already near an end when the

officer recommends revocation. To suggest that a

jon agent recommending revocation and the

probationer are seeking the same end seems naive at best.

They are adversaries and the probation agent as an

adversary has the whole weight of the supervising agency

behind him. The probationer, on the other hand, is alone

and needs the assistance of counsel to effectively

vindicate his right before that agency.

CONCLUSION

Should this Court determine that the question

presented in this case is not moot, it is respectfully

submitted that the judgment of the Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit should be affirmed.

Dated at Milwaukee, Wisconsin the 26th day of

October, 1972.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM M. COFFEY

DENNIS P. COFFEY

152 West Wisconsin Avenue

Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203

Attorneys for Respondent

Of Counsel

_ JOHN F. EBBOTT

- Freedom Through Equality

_ 152 West Wisconsin Avenue

_, Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203

p

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.