Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Gulf States Util. Co. v. FPC

Supreme Court brief1973

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

@2-1178 | FETE

E COPY MAR 13 1972

MICHAEL ROBAK, uR_cLeRg cn

In THE

Suprente Court of the vit States

OctosEeR Term, 1971

IAG: iticin

Guur Srates Urtmities Company,

Petitioner,

v.

FreperRaL Power CommMIssIoN,

Crry or Larayetre, Louisiana,

City or PLaquemine, Louisiana,

Respondents.

PETITION OF

GULF STATES UTILITIES COMPANY

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Bengamin D. OrGain

B. H. HuGues

Orcarn, Bett & Tucker

4th Floor

Beaumont Savings Building

Beaumont, Texas 77701

Counsel for Petitioner

FIDELITY PRINTING COMPANY, INC., HOUSTON

Opinions Below ..........sssscssssssssesssssssssesssssssssnssnsssssssensasesneensensensesens

RIE ciacec ceccsmisnntipsidsaiareseritinion enpliehartaeathentnaniainectimmstiarasmenbits

Questions Presented ..........+-.cvssssssssssssssesscsssssnsserssesensensesscsnsesneess

abs ERGURVOE cxcccsnencasnvsnnnsscsasveininicinn tabsiecnmensetisiiiamieneiecineienes

Rintement ....ccccrccrsecocscecccceseccerecccecescoves ssvscetesesgvcidcseosete

Reasons for Granting the Wit .0..........cccsssssessssseeceeeseeseersess

COnClUSION .......:ccescesseeeessseeeceee seusseosseues 6taesvesssieessosteescsaseses

Appendices

A Court of Appeals Opimion 2.00.0... eecseeteeeceeeseeseeeesees

B Court of Appeals Judgment ......0.......cccecseesseeeeeseeseees

C Court of Appeals Order Overruling Motion for

II scien vecsteteianntinsresicensncsengeenciitiinthenetisiiensmpennsin

D Federal Power Commission Order Authorizing

Issuance of Bonds, Granting Intervention

and Denying Hearing 2.0.............cccccscessescessceecescceases

E Federal Power Commission Supplemental Order ......

F Federal Power Commission Order Denying

Application for Rehearing ................ccccccsceseesseseceeees

G Statutes Involved oo. lccececscecessccescseceeccceccecececees

CITATIONS

Cases

Alabama Electric Cooperative v. S.E.C., 122 US. App. D.C.

367, 353 F.2d GOS (1963) cecccecccsssecccssssesssssesssssesssssescrcsesessseeses

California v. Federal Power Commission, 369 U:S. 482

RADE isesbrschecnsste basen tsonsincsinennexvsvedsueserseevsinlucnisvanianiasaiionnne

California Motor Transport Co., et al, v. Trucking Unlimited,

92 S.Ct. 609 (January 13, 1972) coecccscssssccsssesesesseesssesecees

Cardillo v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Co., 330 U.S, 469

ERE -icssinssxasiseees asst edastonsiosecdoacanarnventeasssindainseaiosdussouset teecioccs

City of Pittsburgh v. Federal Power Commission, 99 U.S.

App. D.C. 113, 237 F.2d 741 (1956) coiccccccsccsccscccssessssseeseeeen

pbs a eS thn RP ROY

aX

sant

ii

Pace

Denver & Rio Grande Western R. Co. v. United States, 387

Ries: I LAE) siigeitvsiainndciNcaNienidtekiclgses hotapadeei aiid 5, 6,7, 8,9

Eastern Railroad’s President’s Conference v. Noerr Motor

COIS, FaGig, Se Sees BARE CREE Bi: sencsisnissiquanciobtasbopesersvenivicecs 10

Federal Power Commission v. Florida Power & Light Co.,

OF B. Ce, SEE CAM BG, TITS) vrrisessscnsitictssscccaviesscsnesenininsnres 11

Gainesville Utilities Dept. v. Florida Power Corp., 402 U.S.

BUR CN ey D cecknidecisctesrsscsiesionsneciaipndtbeaasnelaniineitideinins ll

Gray ¥. Powell, 314 U.5. G02 (1961) cncscssscscscesssssccsceceseveonsonssere ll

Interstate Commerce Commission v. Jersey City, 322 US.

Pe iii cs see ireeartisondetenmnnis ll

McLean Trucking Co. v. United States, 321 U.S. 67 (1944)... 4

Municipal Elec. Assn. of Massachusetts v. SEC, 134 USS.

App. D.C. 145, 413 F.2d 1052 (1969) ....ecsssecssseeessssnnnessesen 3

Municipal Elec. Assn. pf Massachusetts v. SEC, 136 US.

App. D.C. 175, 419 FZ TST (20GB) .ncoscseneosccsscosessencsoveconcese 5

Northern Natural Gas Co. v. Federal Power Commission,

130 U.S. App. 220, 399 F.2d 953 (1968) ............cccsceccssseseee 5

Pacific Power & Light Co., 27 F.P.C. 623 (1962) wu g

Securities and Exchange Commission v. Central-IIlinois

Securities Corp., 338 U.S. 96, 127 (1949) wc ceseseeseenne 1]

Securities and Exchange Commission v. Chenery Corp., 332

ys EF eh iiss ah inc stnieaconieatncienenigneibdocilcomnianceettpsinibavents 1]

Securities and Exchange Commission v. New England Elec-

tric Byastems, GOO US. BOT (YOGG): insccssccsdsscosesscsvesncssovsnssconeess 10

United States v. Drum, 368 U.S. 370 (1962) ou... eessssessseene ll

Udall v. Tallman, 380 U.S. 1 (1965) ......7iiiuuu....sccccscsccssssssesees 9

Statutes

Fodoral Power Act. .cccccsccssscsescssssosesnavessevees seseseescsenevessssvevensseccsoves 9, 12

Rieti BOE; BE BG, GOI css vecicescsin sssvesacssencsiconenstiicceinnn GF

Section 202, subsections (a) and (b), 16 U.S.C. §824a.... 3,10

Beotion 20S, 16 UB... SABE .cecscscssocereccoovesencoversevevesnssssin 3, 10

Section 904, 16 U.B.C., SBBKC .nrcrocoscrcesooseseosese 2, 3, 5, 9, 10,11

Section 205, 16 U.S.C., §824d .....scsssssseseesseensenssssnessenssesees 3, 10

ili

PAGE

Section 206; 16 U.8.C., §824e .......scccccsrsrceposees saausaana 3, 10

Moston SOG. 16 UB... GORGE cnssecsscccssesssescescecsssqoososssorenses 3, 10

ties SU TE TG, II wins iesticsncicsessicticxsnesicninasieess. GAD

las Oe OEE BONE is ssniscsssninteaisavoscctoatesndnicavatn 3, 10

Dailies BI Fie Tike Aides SON: sscakasenspetsnscavssimnbeiiseirisesishcnne 3, 11

Clayton Act

eet FFE TIT: GAO Siirsetinsntiaiesdictsnnineasoroniviatseieveiateneteses 7,10

Section 11, subsections (a) and (b), 15 U.S.C. §21........ 3,7

Interstate Commerce Act

Ri RR AEE hy GH snsipevcntnsncrncnintetevesssnaesctncrenbinsendaiecs 5, 8, 9

Public Utility Holding Company Act

ai A Fe EF oath cash ssntictoermecsanesentiivinsnvenensietinv’ 2,10

ema FT TG UA g Be tei iittinetenicasntonaisraninsdsninncssiscinese 2,10

Sherman Act least aieputganils op eclinlad ah ova alceneiiicipeiipiactenainda isi beleanebd 4,7,9

RE OR OE ip SONNEI, SOBSEEIA CEs CEC sea ne ar eR 2

Miscellaneous

National Transportation Policy. ......0.cccssessessssesssssseesesiesssoresseces 8,9

OPY

In THE

Supreme Court of the ¥inited States

OcroserR Term, 1971

Se

Guiry Srates Urtiities Company,

Petttioner,

v.

FreperaL Powrer CoMMISSION,

Ciry or LAFAyETTE, LOvIsIANA,

Crry or PLaquemine, Louisiana,

Respondents.

PETITION OF

GULF STATES UTILITIES COMPANY

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Gulf States Utilities Company (“Gulf

States”), prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the

opinion and judgment of the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the District of Columbia Circuit, decided October

12, 1971, petitioner’s Motion for Rehearing overruled De-

cember 15, 1971.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the District of Columbia Cireuit, not yet reported, is

9

_

App. A, infra, at p. la. Judgment of the Court of Appeak

is App. B, infra, at p. 30a. Order overruling petition for

rehearing is App. C, infra, at p. 3la. The order of the Fed.

eral Power Commission (“FPC”) authorizing Gulf States

to issue $30,000,000 principal amount of First Mortgage

Bonds is App. D, infra, at p. 32a; supplemental order ap.

proving price and interest rate is App. E, infra, at p. 389:

and FPC order overruling motion for rehearing filed by

Cities of Lafayette and Plaquemine, Louisiana (“Cities”),

Intervenors in the proceeding before the FPC, is App. F,

infra, at p. 41a.

JURISDICTION o

The order of the United States Court of Appeals for

the District of Columbia Circuit was%entered October 12°

1971. Petition for rehearing was denied on December 1),

1971. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

U.S.C. §1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the FPC has a duty to investigate charges of

Sherman Act violations under $204 of the Federal Power

Act.

2. Whether the FPC and the SEC have different duties

for investigation of alleged Sherman Act violations in pro-

ceedings under $204 of the Federal Power Act and, under

§6 (a) and §7 (d) (6) of the Public Utility Holding Con-

pany Act, respectively.

3. Whether the Court of Appeals can require the FPC t

investigate antitrust allegations found to be irrelevant by

the FPC.

FLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

3

STATUTES INVOLVED

Sections 201, 202, subsections (a) and (b), 203, 204, 205,

906, 305, 306, 307, and 313 of the Federal Power Act, 16

USC. S824, SS24a, subsections (a) and (b), {S824b, °S24e,

‘wud, (S24e, (25d, 6S25e, (S25f, and $825 1, and §11,

subsections (a) and (b) of the Clayton Act 15 U.S.C. 621,

subsections (a) and (b), are set forth in Appendix G,

infra, pp. 48a-09a.

STATEMENT ~~ .-

Section 204 of the Federal Power Act (App. G, infra,

fia-49a) provides that no public utility shall issue any

security until, upon application by the public utility, the

FPC by order authorizes such issue. It also provides the

FPC shall make such order only if it finds among other

things that such issue is for some lawful object and com-

patible with the public interest.

On October 12, 1970, Gulf States, a public utility, filed

with the FPC an application for an order authorizing it

to issue and sell bonds at competitive bidding (R. pp. 1-12,

inel.).' The application stated that the proceeds from the

sale of the bonds would be used to pay off part of the

Company's short-term indebtedness. Cities filed a verified

protest which, with appendices, consisted of 106 pages (R.

pp. 04-160, incl.) charging Gulf States with engaging in friv-

olous and repetitive litigation and mounting a public rela-

tious drive and lobbying effort in concert with two other

wility companies over a period of years “apparently” vio-

lative of the antitrust laws, among others, to Cities’ damage.

Gulf States answered (R. p. 263) pointing out that the bond

proceeds would he used merely to refund short-term secur-

*“R” refers to the printed appendix filed in the Court of Ap-

peals in connection with the appeal which resulted in the judg-

ment (App. B, infra, p. 30a) which Gulf States asks this court to

review,

CPOY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

4

ities theretofore authorized by an uncontested FPC orde

and urging the irrelevancy of intervenors’ contentions 9,

that and other grounds.

The FPC permitted Cities’ intervention but without ,

hearing overruled the same and granted Gulf States’ ay.

thorization for issuance of the bonds (App. D, infra, at p,

32a). Cities’ petition for rehearing was overuled by the FP¢

(App. F, infra, at p. 41a). Cities filed Petitions for Review

of Orders of the FPC in the U. 8. Court of Appeals for

the District of Columbia Circuit, where it was docketed

as Cause No. 71-1041 and consolidated, for purposes of

argument, with Causes Nos. 24,764 and 24,963 wherein

Cities were petitioners, Securities and Exchange Comnis.

sion (“SEC”) was respondent and Louisiana Power & Light

Company was intervenor. The Court disposed of all three

numbered causes in a single opinion (App.- A, wmfra, p. 1a).

Facts and contentions of the parties are more extensively

set forth in the opinion of the Court of Appeals below(App.

A, infra, p. 1a).?

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court of Appeals has imposed an additional duty

upon the FPC to investigate alleged Sherman Act viola-

tions and has relieved the SEC of such duty under compar-

able circumstances, all in face of determinations by both

commissions that the activities alleged to be anticompetitive

in both proceedings were irrelevant to the purposes of the

respective proceedings. In so doing, such Court of Appeals

has decided important questions of federal law whieh have

not been, but should be, settled by this Court, and, the Court

of Appeals in attempting to reconcile its own prior deci

‘2 The Court’s statement (App. A, infra,-p. 10a) of Cities’ argt-

ment in petition for rehearing before the FPC is erroneous but

not thought to be material to consideration of this petition.

FLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

=

4)

ions, has left the only court interpretations in this vital

area of law in a confused and inconsistent state.

The FPC neither filed motion for rehearing with the

Court of Appeals below nor petitioned this Court for certio-

rari. This should not refleet on the importance of the issue.

The FPC may have been stung by the implication of counsel

for the Cities that the F PC's position was that of “an in-

genious Commission which wishes to avoid regulatory prob-

lems by narrowing its own jurisdiction."

1. The importance of granting this petition is documented

by clear evidence that if this case is not reviewed the FPC

_and public utilities subject to its jurisdiction will labor

under a court ordered construction of §204 of the Federal

Power Act arrived at without objective consideration be-

cause of a mistaken belief that it was compelled by an in-

apposite opinion of the Supreme Court. The Court below

selected the opinion of the Supreme Court in Denver & Rio

Grande Western R. Co. v. United States’ as the pattern for

its opinion and judgment. If that opinion does not support

the Court of Appeals, then it has no support. The Court of

Appeals noted that $204 of the Federal Power Act is almost

identical with certain provisions of $20a of the Interstate

Commerce Act which were interpreted in the Supreme

Court's opinion in Denver & Rio Grande and treated that

opinion as controlling here.

Hf the Court of Appeals failed to note that the Supreme

Court in its opinion in Denver and Rio Grande written by

Justice Brennan warns:

* Alabama Elvetric Cooperative v. SEC, 122 U.S. App. D.C. 367,

$93 F.2d 905 (1965); Municipal Electric Ass'n of Massachusetts

0 SEC, WE US. App. D.C. 145, 413 F.2d 1052 (1969) ; Municipal

Ele, Ass'n of Mass. v. SEC, 136 VS. App. D.C. 175, 419 F.2d 757

(69); City of Pittsburgh v. FPC, 99 US. App. D.C. 113, 237

F.2d 741 (1956) ; Northern Natural Gas Co. v. FPC, 130 US. App.

D.C. 220, 399 F.2d 953 (1968). All of these cases are mentioned in

the opinion of the Court below (App.A, infra, p. lai.

‘Brief for Petitioner Cities in Court of Appeals below, p. 20.

5387 U.S. 485 (1967)

CPOY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

6

Section 20a, like § 5, must after all be read in thy

context of overall ICC responsibilities. The responsi.

bility under §11 of the Clayton Act to enforce tha

Act’s provisions is one of them.® (Kmphasis supplied,

Further in the same opinion, it is said:

... the Clayton Act is prohibitive, and imposes a posi.

tive obligation upon the ICC to act. The Commissiyy

is directed, whenever it has reason to believe any car.

rier within its jurisdiction is violating §7, to “issy

and serve upon such person... @ complaint stating its

charges . . . and containing a notice of a hearing.”

15 U.S.C. § 21(b), Section 16, 15 U.S.C. § 26, excepts

from the power of private persons to bring §7 suits

for injunctive relief all cases involving matters sub.

ject to ICC jurisdiction. By thus limiting the authority

of private persons to institute court proceedings t

enjoin §7 violations, this proviston underscores the

ICC’s responsibility to act when such violations ar

brought to its attention.’ (Emphasis supplied.)

The Court of Appeals erred in tracking the language just

quoted to reach its own decision in the instant case. In Dev.

rerand Rio Grande, the Court was reviewing an application

to the ICC for authority to issue securities to another car-

rier in which it was cither conceded or assumed arquends

by all parties that “anticompetitive” effects were involved:

The Court said that the TCC need not grant a hearing in

every case, but that when the ICC exercises its discretion to

approve issuances Without first considering important con-

petition issues, the reviewing court must closely serutiniz

its action in light of the ICC's statutory obligations to pro-

tect the public interest and to enforce the antitrust laws:

6 37 US. 485, 493 (1967)

7387 U.S. 485, 502

* At page 491

9 387 U.S. 485, 498. This statement is included by the Court belo

in a quotation (App. A, infra, p. 15a) used to support its insistent

on close scrutiny by the reviewing court of omission of a hearin:

on anticompetitive issues apparently without the Court notice

that the FPC does not have the same statutory obligation as the

ICC.

PLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

7

Having noted " the ICC’s responsibility under $11 of the

Clayton Act, the Court concludes its opinion’® with the

statement:

The Government was correct in its position before the

ICC that this record placed “before the Commission

serious questions under section 7 of the Clayton Act,”

requiring a hearing. (Emphasis supplied.)

The FPC (like the SEC) ts not among the governmental

agencies authorized by §11(a) to enforce $7 of the Clayton

Act. Sections 11(a) and (b) of the Clayton Act (App. G,

infra, p. 97a) confirm what the Supreme Court has else-

where remarked that “Other administrative agencies are

authorized to enforce $7 of the Clayton Act when it comes

to certain classes of companies or persons; but the Federal

Power Commission is not included in the list.’* (Emphasis

supplied.) Thus, Denver and Rio Grande would not have

heen apt authority in the instant case even if Gulf States

had heen accused of Clayton Act violation. But Cities have

invited the FPC’s attention to an “apparent” violation of

the Sherman Act. The Court below has said previously in

City of Pittsburg v. Federal Power Commission that

“...the Commission has no power to enjoin conduct as ille-

gal under the Sherman Act or even to declare such illegal-

ity... 2° Tf the FPC in the remanded proceedings should

enter an order placing restrictions on the use of the pro-

ceeds of future securities issues (the proceeds of the Bonds

have long since been used for the purpose specified in the

FPC’s order), would this not be doing by indireetion what

the same Court has said can not be done directly? Would

this not be in effect a prospective judgment of illegal pur-

1 387 U.S. 485, 501

1 At page 507.

= California v, Federal Power Commission, 369 U.S. 482. 486.

18237 F.2d 741, 754.

CPOY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

averse |

sah Bt

‘Se

8

pose and in effect an injunction against anticipated opera.

tions or activities the FPC judged might be illegal?"

The Supreme Court in Denver & Rio Grande declared ap.

other reason for reading anticompetitive issues into the

public interest standards of §20a of the Interstate Coy.

merce Act. Justice Brennan, speaking for the Court, said.

The responsibility to advance the National Transporta.

tion Policy, read into the “public interest” standard of

§5, is another persistent and overriding duty, equally

applicable to §20a."°

The National Transportation Policy *

lation to accomplish various things:

provides for regu.

without unjust discriminations, undue preferences, or

advantages, as unfair or destructive competitive prac.

tices. (Emphasis supplied.)

The declaration of policy contained in §201 of the Federal

Power Act (App. G, infra p. 48a) contains nothing similar

and nothing concerning competitive practices.

What the opinion in Denver and Rio Grande makes crys-

tal clear is that the ICC must read into the “public interest”

test of (20a of the Interstate Commerce Act anticompetitive

responsibilities imposed upon it by the Clayton Act and

14 The bonds were sold when authorized by FPC supplemental

order issued December 9, 1970, almost a year before the Court of

Appeals remanded the cause for FPC attention to anticompetitive

issues. Thus, the FPC was not directed to reconsider whether or

not the bonds should be authorized but to consider whether or no

evidence of unlawful anticompetitive activity should be investigated

and, presumably, if evidence of continuing antitrust violations was

discovered, to take appropriate action. What such action should b

is not easy to envision. One possible action would be to report

possible violation to the Attorney General. However, §314(a) of

the Federal Power Act does not make it the duty of the FPC t

report antitrust violations to the Attorney General as does §20a

of the Natural Gas Act. es

15 387 U.S. 485, 493. See also McLean Trucking Co. v. Unite

States, 321 U.S. 67 (1944).

16 54 Stat. 899, 49 U.S.C.A: (note preceeding §1.)

me Sey The erie POOR COPY

9

the National Transportation Policy. By failing to recognize

those factors, as it must in fairly judging FPC responsi-

bility under $204 of the Federal Power Act, and‘in relying

ona similarity of language between §204 and parts of §20a,

the Court below fell into the error of tracking in our case

the directions of the Supreme Court to the ICC in Denver

and Rio Grande.

Had the Court of Appeals not felt shackled by Denver, it

might have followed the declared practice of the Supreme

Court and shown deference to the interpretation given the

statute by the agency charged with its administration’? by

following the FPC’s construction of §204 in Pacific Power &

Light Co., 27 F.P.C. 623 (1962) noticed by the Court below

at App. A, infra, pp. 16a-17a. The FPC there held the pur-

pose of §204 is to prevent issuance of securities which might

impair financial security or ability to perform public utility

responsibilities.

A subsidiary question, if the FPC is assumed to have

some Sherman Act responsibility under $204 of the Fed-

eral Power Act and if it is assumed that the proceeds

of the securities to be issued might be used in further-

ance of Sherman Act violations, is whether it has a duty

to consider alleged Sherman Act violations not claimed to

arise from or be related to operations or activities subject

to FPC regulation. In the instant case, Cities alleged Gulf

States instigated a series of lawsuits over a period of five

years which delayed the use of funds by a publie electric

authority not a party to this litigation, engaged in frivo-

lous and repetitive litigation and mounted a public relations

drive and lobby effort against such public authority. These

are activities over which the Federal Power Act gives the

Udall vy. Tallman, 380 U.S. 1 (1965).

y +r. -_ = oe ee ee ee ee an eee eT in eee ee

10

FPC no regulatory responsibility.” If Gulf States deene;

it in its best interest to endeavor to protect its business and

retain its customers against the activities of competitors hy

filing lawsuits or engaging in public relations drives, the

Federal Power Act did not require it to first obtain author.

ization from the FPC.”

2. While the structure of §204 of the Federal Power Aq

differs from that of §6 (15 USC, §79f) and §7 (15 TS¢,

$79g¢) of the Public Utility Holding Company Act (49 Stat

838, as amended, 15 USC 879, et seq.), there is no support

in either logic or policy for giving them different interpre.

tations in the respects under consideration.

3. The Court of Appeals below has decided a federal

question in a way which is in conflict with applicable deci-

sions of the Supreme Court in that it has set aside a find.

18 Although the Court below discussed (App. A, infra, pp. 18a,

27a), some of the following sections, the Court referred to n

allegations of violations by Gulf States or requests for relief by

Cities, and there were none, within the scope of §202 in subsections

(a) and (b) (App. G, infra, pp. 44a-45a) relating to interconne-

tions, §203 (App. G, infra, p. 46a) to merger, consolidation an’

acquisitions of another public utility, $205 and $206 ( App. G, inro,

pp. 49a-52a) to rates, and §305 (App. G, infra, p. 52a) to inter-

locking directorates. Had charges been made of violations under

those sections, §306 (App. G, inf, p. 53a) provides for complains

and §307 (App. G, infra, p. 54a) for investigations by the FPC «

violations of the chapter.

19 The Supreme Court has held that publicity campaigns ani

litigation directed toward obtaining governmental action adverv

to prospective competitors is not illegal merely because affected by

an anticompetitive purpose nor is it illegal for one to seek action

on laws in hope of achieving an advantage for himself and a dis

advantage to competitors. Eastern Railroad’s President's Confe-

ence ¥. Noerr Motor Freight, Inc., 365 U.S. 127 (1961). The rule

was recently reaffirmed in California Motor Transport Co., et dl.

v. Trucking Unlimited, 92 S.Ct. 609 (decided January 13, 1972 .

This line of authority only serves to increase the difficulty of the

FPC in determining the direction and scope of actions or orders

which might be appropriate if investigation of antitrust activity

should be undertaken upon remand of this cause.

PLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

11

ing of the FPC supported by substantial evidence.?° If the

FPC has a duty to consider alleged Sherman Act viola-

tions, surely it can be assumed that such duty does not

arise in a £204 proceeding if the proposed use of the pro-

coeds of the securities issue do not relate to furtherance of

any such violations. In effect, this is what the FPC found

in thix case. In its order the F PC found:

(6) the matters asserted and activities alleged in the

filed protest and petition to intervene by the Cities of

Lafayette and Plaquemine, Louisiana, are irrelevent to

the purpose of issuing bonds to refund short-term in-

debtedness heretofore authorized by this Commission.

(App. C, infra, at p. 36a.)

Preliminary to this specific finding the FPC addressed itself

to the refunding purpose of the bond issue in the body of its

order, App. C, at pp. 54a and 35a, the latter part of which

was quoted in the opinion of the court below at App. A, p.

Wa. Gulf States declared the purpose for which its bonds

were to be issued in its verified Application to the FPC (R.,

*" Federal Power Act. $313(b), App. G. p. 54a, 55a; Gainesville

Utilities Dept. v. Florida Power Corp., 402 U.S. 515 (May 24.

W71); Federal Power Commission v. Florida Power & Light Co.,

#28.Ct. 637 (January 12, 1972). Even if the quoted finding be

treated as dealing with more than a “pure” fact question, it is a

finding based on substantial evidence within an area of discretion

assigned to FPC for the exercise of its expertise and should not be

disturbed by the Court. Securities and Exchange Commission vy.

New England #£lectrie System, 390 U.S. 207 (1968) ; United States

Vv. Drum, 368 U.S. 370 (1962); Interstate Commerce Conimission v.

Jersey City, 322 U.S. 503 (1944): Sceuritics and Evchange Coim-

mission V. Central-Ilinois Securitics Corp., 338 US. 96, 127 (19495.

That there is no dispute concerning the evidentiary facts does not

permit Court to substitute its judgment for that of the agency.

Gray v. Powell, 314 U.S, 402, 412 (1941). On undisputed facts, the

Court is free to disturb the Commission’s finding only if it lacks

any rational or statutory foundation. Securitics and Exchange Com-

mission ¥. Chenery Corp., 332 U.S. 194, 207 (1947). A reviewing

Court cannot set aside an inference because it believes an opposite

inference to be more reasonable. If supported by evidence and not

inconsistent with law, the agency’s finding is conclusive. Cardillo

v. Iaberty Mutual Insurance Co., 330 U.S. 469, 477-8 (1947).

CPOY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

12

p. 5)."" Despite this clear evidence of a deliberated finding

by the FPC, the Court below said:

It suffices for present purposes to say that the PPC,

terse and cryptic statement did not comply with the

requirement we see in Denver & Rio Grande, that the

ageney’s reason for denying or deferring hearing of

anticompetitive issues be clear on the record, meaning.

ful in findings or discussion. (App. A, infra, pp. 2la,

22a).

In summary, if permitted to stand, the opinion of the

court below will add to the number of governmental agen-

cies with the responsibility or authority to investigate anti-

trust law violations or anticompetitive activities and impose

upon the FPC and public utilities hereafter secking its au.

thority for the financing of construction of electric systems

(for which the Federal Power Act provides no certificating

requirements), the burden, delay, and expense of investiga.

tion and examination of matters which are beyond the scope

of the FPC’s lawful responsibility or regulatory authority.

It will also add two more strands to the tangled web of ae.

tivity in the antitrust field and further compound the con.

fusion by reaching opposite results for the FPC and the

SEC under comparable fact situations. These important

questions should be settled by this Court. Further, the Court

of Appeals should not be permitted to set aside a supported

finding of the FPC in a way which conflicts with applicable

decisions of this Court.

21 Gulf States’ statement in full of the purpose for which the

securities were to be issued under Item J of its application was:

“The proceeds from the sale of the New Bonds will be used by the

Company to refund and pay off part of its commercial paper and

short-term notes to banks to be outstanding as of the date of i»

suance. The Company estimates that on December 16, 1970, the date

the securities are expected to be sold, there will be outstandinz

approximately $55,000,000 principal amount of commercial paper

and short-term notes issued on various dates. The aforesaid com

mercial paper and short-term notes to banks constitute an issuane

of securities previously authorized by the Commission (Docket No

4-7509.” (R., p. 5.)

PLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

13

CONCLUSION

For these reasons this petition for a writ of certiorari

should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

BENJAMIN D. OrGaAIN

B. H. Hucues

Counsel for Petitioner

March, 1972

APPENDIX A

Notice: This opinion is subject to formal revision before publi-

cation in the Federal Reporter or U.S.App.D.C. Reports. Users are

requested to notify the Clerk of any formal errors in order that cor-

rections may be made before the bound volumes go to press.

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Nos. 24,764

& 24,963

Crry or LaFayette, Louisiana

Ciry or PLaQvEMINE, Louisiana,

Petitioners

Vv.

SecurITIEs AND ExcHANGE CoMMISSION,

Respondent

Lovistana Power & Licutr Company,

Intervenor

No. 71-1041

City or LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA

City or PLaqueMminE, Louisiana,

Petitioners

v.

FrepErRAL PowrEr Commission,

Respondent

Gur Srares Urmities Company,

Intervenor

PETITIONS FOR REVIEW OF ORDERS OF

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

AND FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION

Decided October 12, 1971

2a

Before BazeLon, Chief Judge, and Fany, Senior Circuit

Judge, and LeventTHAL, Circuit Judge.

LevenTHAL, Circuit Judge: The Cities of Lafayette and

Plaquemine, Louisiana (“Cities”) petition this court to re.

view orders of the Federal Power Commission and the Se.

curities and Exchange Commission which approved appli-

cations, presented to the Securities and Exchange Comnis.

sion by Louisiana Power and Light Company (“LP&L”),

and to the Federal Power Commission by Gulf States Util.

ities Company, proposing issuance of bonds, notes, and

stock to finance capital requirements. The gist of peti-

tioners’ complaint is that the agencies failed to take proper

account of their claims that the proceeds would be used

for the Companies’ unlawful conspiracy to suppress con-

petition. We affirm as to the orders of the Securities & Ex.

change Commission, and remand as to the order of the

Federal Power Commission.

I. BACKGROUND

A. Pertinent Statutes

The Public Utility Act of 1935, passed August 26, 1935,

49 Stat. 803, contains, in Title I, the Public Utility Holding

Company Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 79 et seq., which provides for

regulation of public utility holding companies and is ad-

ministered by the SEC. Its Title II enacted the Federal

Power Act, Parts II and III, 16 U.S.C. §§ 824 et seq. with

provisions, for regulation of electric utility companies en-

gaged in interstate commerce, administered by the FPC.

Holding Company Act

Sections 6 and 7 of the Holding Company Act give the

SEC jurisdiction over sales of securities by holding con-

panies and their subsidiaries, subject to certain exceptions,

3a

notably an exemption in § 6(b) for issues approved by state

commissions.!

Section 6 forbids the sale of a security by a holding com-

pany or its subsidiary, unless the sale is in accordance with

a declaration it has filed under § 7, and with an order of the

SEC permitting such declaration to become effective.

Under § 7 the SEC may not permit a declaration to be-

come effective unless it finds compliance with certain re-

quirements. One of these requirements, set forth in § 7(c)

(2), is satisfied if the Commission finds “(2) such security

is to be issued or sold solely ... (B) for the purpose of

financing the business of the declarant as a public utility

company... .” If the requirements of §{ 7(c) and (g)? are

met, §7(d) requires that the SEC “shall permit a declara-

tion... to become effective unless it finds that —... (6) the

terms and conditions of the issue or sale of the security

are detrimental to the public interest or the interest of in-

vestors or consumers.”

Finally, § 7(f) provides that the Commission’s order per-

mitting a declaration to become effective “may contain such

terms and conditions as the Commission finds necessary to

assure compliance with the conditions specified in this

section [7].”

‘Section 6 is codified as 15 U.S.C. § 79f. Section 7 is codified as

1) US.C. § 79g. Section 6(b) provides that if a particular security

issue of a subsidiary has been expressly authorized by the appro-

priate state utility commission, the SEC shall exempt the issue

“subject to such terms and conditions as it deems appropriate in

the public interest or for the protection of investors or consum-

Oe Figs “

*§7(g) prohibits a declaration from becoming effective if the

Commission has been informed by a State commission having juris-

diction over a company’s issuance of securities, or alteration of

rights of security holders, that State laws applicable thereto have

not been complied with.

ost

4a

Federal Power Act

Section 204 of the Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. § 824,

relates to the issuance of a security by a public utility, —

defined by § 201 as a company transmitting electric energy

in interstate commerce or selling electric energy at whole.

sale in interstate commerce. Section. 204(a) provides that

no such public utility shall issue any security except as an.

thorized by FPC order. It continues:

The Commission shall make such order only if it finds

that such issue... (a) is for some lawful object, within

the corporate purposes of the applicant and compatible

with the public interest, which is necessary or appro.

priate for or consistent with the proper performance

by the applicant of service as a public utility and which

will not impair its ability to perform that service, and

(b) is reasonably necessary or appropriate for such

purposes.

Subsection (b) of § 204 gives the Commission broad av-

thorization to place conditions on the granting of an ap

plication, and specifically contemplates provisions “as to

the particular purposes, uses, and extent to which... any

security ... or the proceeds thereof may be applied. ...”*

Subsection (f) of § 204 establishes an exclusion as to

a utility organized and operating in a state under the laws

of which its security issues are regulated by a State con-

mission.

3(b) The Commission, after opportunity for hearing, may grant

any application under this section in whole or in part, and with

such modifications and upon such terms and conditions as it may

find necessary or appropriate, and may from time to time, after

opportunity for hearing and for good cause shown, make suel

supplemental orders in the premises as it may find necessary or ap-

propriate, and may by any such supplemental order modify the

provisions of any previous order as to the particular purposes, uses

and extent to which, or the conditions under which, any security

so theretofore authorized or the proceeds thereof may be applied.

subject always to the requirements of subsection (a) of this

section.”

ha

B. Petitioners’ Antitrust Allegations

Louisiana Power and Light is a wholly-owned subsidiary

of Middle South Utilities, Inc., a holding company regis-

tered under the Holding Company Act. It is engaged, as

is Gulf States and Central Louisiana Electric Company

(CLECO) (the three companies together being sometimes

referred to as “Companies”), in generating, transmitting

and selling electricity at wholesale and retail in Louisiana.

Gulf States also does this in Texas. The three Companies

are interconnected, engage in sales and exchanges of elec-

tricity among themselves, and are members of the eleven

“South Central Electric Companies” which engage in a

seasonal exchange of energy with the Tennessee Valley Au-

thority. The Companies are owners in Louisiana of major

transmission facilities, handling voltages up to 500 KV.

Petitioners allege that these three Companies engaged

ina conspiracy to suppress and defeat an interconnection

and pooling agreement between the Cities, Dow Chemical

Company and Louisiana Electric Cooperative, Ine.

(“LEC”). LEC, a generation and transmission coopera-

tive financed by the Rural Electrification Administration,

is made up of twelve electric distribution cooperatives,

all of which operate in Louisiana.

In September 1964, the REA undertook to make a $56.5

million loan to LEC for construction of & 200 MW gener-

ating station with 1611 miles of transmission lines through

which the LEC could serve eight of its twelve member

cooperatives. Prior to this time, the three Companies had

been selling power to these cooperatives. According to

petitioners, the Companies succeeded in delaying the ac-

tual use of the funds thus provided for more than five

years, through a series of lawsuits filed by the Companies

themselves and by the Companies’ attorneys on behalf of

other putative plaintiffs.

6a

Petitioners allege that in August, 1968, the Cities, Doy

and LEC executed an Interconnection and Pooling Agree.

ment providing for the interconnection of their generating

systems and a long term pooling and coordination arrange.

ment, with a minimum term of ten years. The agreement,

approved by the REA administrator on November 19,

1968, provided for a combined planning of load require.

ments for the Cities, the LEC members and Dov, [I

meant, according to petitioners, assurance of a market for

all surplus capacity and secondary energy, as well as eo.

ordination, and substantial savings, in the construction of

new generators, in sum, economies of scale, plus benefits jn

the form of back-up for each system and energy inter.

changes.

Petitioners state that by engaging in frivolous and repeti-

tive litigation, and by mounting a public relations drive and —

lobbying effort against LEC, the three Companies were able

to hold up disbursement of the loan money until January,

1969, when a new REA administrator was sworn into office,

This prevented the members of the new pool from going

ahead with their agreement. Furthermore, a rise in costs

during the five-year delay raised a serious question whether

the original loan would suffice to finance all of the LEC:

generation and transmission needs. Therefore, the new Ad-

ministrator advanced funds only for the LEC generating

station, but not for transmission lines, and LEC was left

to negotiate with the three companies for use of their

transmission lines.

Petitioners contend that the conspiracy continued during

these negotiations. They say that the Companies, while

willing to supply transmission of power to some of the

LEC members, refused to supply transmission services

between pool members. They further say that the Com-

panies demanded that LEC limit its power capacity to the

Ta

200 MW already planned, and that the Companies supply

all further power needs of the twelve cooperatives, thus

precluding further LEC expansion to serve its members’

expanding load.

C. Agency Proceedings

1. Securities and Exchange Commission

Case No. 24,764: On September 16, 1970, LP&L filed

with the SEC a declaration for authority to issue and

sell $20 million of first mortgage bonds and $7 million in

preferred stock. The stated purpose of this financing was

to enable LP&L to repay short-term borrowings it had

made as temporary financing for its 1970 construction pro-

gram, and for other corporate purposes,

On October 9, 1970, counsel for the Cities submitted a

letter to the Commission, setting forth the allegations out-

lined above. The Cities asked the Commission to order an

investigation of these matters by its staff, to consult with

the staff of the FPC, and to withhold action on the author-

ization pending the results of the investigation or at least

a conference with the parties. The Cities contended in their

letter that the funds, if approved, would be utilized for the

construction of facilities that would assist LP&L and its

associates in their nnlawful objectives, and asked that such

approval, if granted, be conditioned on cessation of these

activities and the establishment of a program to remedy

the damage already done. The Cities requested that the

matter be set down for hearing unless LP&L’s parent agreed

to such a condition. The Cities also requested a conference

with the Commission and the Companies.

On October 27, 1970, the Commission issued its order

stating that the Cities had not filed a Notice of Appearance

as a party pursuant to Ruie 9(a) of its Rules of Practice,

8a

or requested a hearing. The order further stated that “thj,

controversy does not justify withholding of the requeste

order since it is not relevant to the consideration of th

‘proposed transactions which in all respeets satisfy the stand.

ards of Section 7.”

Case No. 24,963: On November 2, 1970, LP&L filed with

the SEC a declaration for authority to issue and sel] up

to $40 million of short-term notes, during the period throug,

December, 1972. The stated purpose of these borrowings

was to finance the construction of new facilities and improve.

ments, and for other corporate purposes,

On November 30, 1970, petitioners filed with the SEC a

formal “Protest and Intervention,” which contained sub

stantially the same allegations as the October 9 letter, and

further requested that the Cities be made parties to the

proceeding and that the SEC hold hearings.

On December 29, 1970, the SEC issued its Order per.

mitting the declaration to become effective. The SEC

found that the Cities did not directly attack the proposed

use of proceeds or the terms and conditions of the pro-

posed securities, but were simply maintaining “that author-

ization for the proposed financing enhances Louisiana's

financial position to pursué\the alleged violations of the

antitrust laws.” The SEC héeld that its authority under

Section 7(d)(6) of the Act, to impose terms and condi-

tions, related solely to the terms and conditions of the

security to be issued, and “does not extend to the resolution

of collateral and unrelated controversies in which a de-

clarant may be engaged with other parties.” The SEC

concluded that the allegations in the Protest did not present

issues relevant to Section 7 and therefore did not justify

withholding the requested Order.

The SEC made findings in each proceeding “that it is

appropriate in the public interest and in the interest of

PEED TuROICH POOR COPY

9a

investors and consumers” that the declaration be permitted

to become effective. It permitted both declarations to be-

come eifective without a hearing, and the security sales

authorized were promptly completed.

)» Federal Power Commission

Case No. 71-1041: On October 12, 1970, Gulf States filed

an application with the FPC to sell $30 million of first mort-

gage bonds at competitive bidding. The application stated

that the proceeds would be used to pay off part of Gulf

States’ commercial paper and short-term notes. On October

16, 1970, the F PC noticed the application and announced

that protests or petitions to intervene should be filed on or

before November 2, 1970.

On November 2, the Cities filed their protest and peti-

tion to intervene with the Commission. The protest set

forth the allegations outlined above, claiming that Gulf

States had violated the antitrust laws, the Federal Power

Act, and the Holding Company Act. The Cities requested

that the application be set down for hearing unless, as a

condition to receiving approval for the sale of its securi-

ties, Gulf States would agree to purge itself of these al-

leged violations and remedy the damage already done.

Following an answer by Gulf States, the Commission, on

December 3, 1970, entered an order denying a hearing and

authorizing Gulf States to issue the proposed bonds. The

Commission stated that the Cities’ allegations were “ir-

relevant to a requested authorization of securities,” and

further found that:

The proposed issuance and sale of Bonds, as herein-

after authorized, will be for a lawful object, within the

corporate purposes of Applicant and compatible with

the public interest, which is appropriate for and econ-

sistent with the proper performance by Applicant or

CPOY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

ee |

10a

service as a public utility and which will not impair its

ability to perform that service, and is reasonably nee.

essary and appropriate for such purposes.*

The FPC refused the Cities’ request. for a hearing

stating:

The requested approval of the issuance of the Bonds

allows the Company only to change the form of a por.

tion of its outstanding indebtedness, it does not call

for the initiation of any construction or other program

by the Company which might effect [sic] the interest

of the Petitioners. The alleged violations which peti-

tioners attempt to raise in this proceeding are irrele-

vant to a requested authorization of securities. There

is no relief that the Commission can order in author.

izing the issuance of the Bonds for refinancing pur-

poses that would have any effect on the interest of the

Petitioners, or solve any of the problems outlined by

them.

In the petition for rehearing, filed December 16, 1970,

the Cities argued that the Commission could not have

known the purpose for which the bond proceeds would be

used, because Gulf States had stated only that they would be

added to the Company’s general funds, to be used as part

of interim funds for construction. Furthermore, the Cities

argued, it was unclear whether the Commission considered

their antitrust allegations irrelevant to a Section 204

determination generally, or only because, in this particwar

case, a refunding rather than new funding was involved.

The Cities again urged that the Commission condition its

approval to assure,that the bond proceeds “would not be

used to the detriment of the Cities or in a manner inimical

to the proposed pool.” The Commission denied rehearing,

stating that the Cities’ grounds for rehearing presented no

4 By amendment filed December 9, 1970, Gulf States advised the

Commission of the terms it proposed to accept in the financing.

The Commission approved these terms by an order filed the same

day, and again stated that the proposed bonds were for a lawful

purpose, and their issuance compatible with the public interest.

PLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

lla

facts or legal principles warranting any change in its

orders.

Il. PROCEDURAL PROBLEMS

Before proceeding to the substantive issues involved in

this case, We note that intervenors LP&L and Gulf States”

contend petitioners are not properly before this court.

Neither the SEC nor the FPC suggest any procedural

obstacle to the petitions.

We find no merit in intervenors’ procedural contention.

LP&L’s initial contention® is essentially grounded in a

claim of failure to exhaust administrative remedies. While

the Cities may not have followed SEC procedures to the

letter, they made plain their objections and the Commis-

sion ruled on the merits. We see no impediment to judicial

review. Joseph v. FCC, 131 U.S.App.D.C. 207, 404 F.2d

207 (1968).

Intervenors contend that the Cities are not aggrieved

by the actions of the SEC and FPC, and therefore may not

seek judicial review of their orders, either under the review

provisions of the particular agency statutes,® or under the

general review provisions of the Administrative Procedure

Act.’

°LP&L argues that in case 24,764 Cities failed to file a notice of

appearance or formally request a hearing, and this amounted to a

failure to urge its objections before the Commission, which pre-

cludes judicial review under § 24(a) of the Holding Company Act,

15 U.S.C § 79x(a).

* Section 24(a) of the Holding Company Act, 15 U.S.C. § 78x‘)

provides judicial review for any “person or party aggrieved by an

order issued by the Commission under this title. . . .” ~Section |

313(b) of the Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. § 825 1(b) provides —

judicial review for any “party to a proceeding under this chapter

aggrieved by an order issued by the Commission in such proceed-

ee

; Section 10 of the Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. § 702,

grants judicial review to a “person suffering legal wrong becan<e

of agency action, or adversely affected or aggrieved by agency ac-

tion within the meaning of a relevant statute.”

CPOY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

12a

This contention must be rejected on the authority of

Data Processing Service v. Camp, 397 U.S. 150 (1970), and

Barlow v. Collins, 397 U.S. 159 (1970). The petitioners have

alleged injury in fact resulting from the Comunission’s —

failure to consider their antitrust contentions relevant,

The interest asserted by the petitioners arguably falk—

within the zone of interests to be protected by the tthe

There is a non-frivolous claim that the “public interest” ~

requirements of these statutes requires consideration of

antitrust conspiracy.’ Even assuming petitioners’ conten.

tions should be rejected on the merits, they raised an

arguable claim of right under the relevant statutes that

establishes procedural standing...

Ill. VALIDITY OF THE ORDERS

The orders of the FPC and SEC are accompanied by

conclusory findings that approval of the applications is in

the “public interest.” The issue is whether these orders

are valid in view of the refusal of these agencies to order

a hearing on the allegations of intervening parties of the

anti-competitive purpose and consequence of each applica-

tion and its approval by the Federal agency involved.

The regulatory library includes a host of decisions e:-

tablishing that when an agency is called upon to determine

whether a proposal or condition satisfies the “public in-

terest,” or another similar broad standard, the agency has

the authority and typically the responsibility to consider

a challenge based on the asserted anti-competitive purpose

or consequence of the proposal.®

8 Northern Natural Gas Co. v. FPC, 130 U.S.App.D.C. 220, 31°

F.2d 953 (1968) ; City of Pittsburgh v. FPC, 99 U.S.App.D.C. 115,

237 F.2d 741 (1956).

®FMC v Aktiebolaget Svenska Amerika Linien, 390 U.S. 23>.

242-246 (1968); Denver & Rio Grande Western R.Co. v. United

o4

Ida

This generality is not necessarily conclusive. The same

statutory phrase may have different meanings in different

contexts, and the statutes, agencies and court decisions are

not necessarily fungible. A particular statute may have

such a setting that, on consideration of its legislative Jis-

térv, the nature of the agency, and breadth of responsi-

bility involved, and other material factors, a court may

ore to the conclusion that though its public interest Jan-

guage is broad its meaning in context warrants a relatively

restricted reading.’°

However it is a fair consensus of the cases cited that

th/nattion’s profound and pervasive devotion to competi-

tion as a fundamental economic policy, and conviction that

the public interest is disadvantaged when private enter-

prises are permitted to engage in anti-competitive agree-

ments and restraints, is applicable at least presumptively

even in the case of monopolies or quasi- monopolies charac-

terized by various degrees of government control and pro-

tection, subject of course to offset or rebuttal on analysis

by the cognizant agency.

With these general observations as a point of departure,

we consider the orders and statutes before us.

States, 387 U.S. 485 (1967) ; United States v. El Paso Natural Gas

Co., 376 U.S. 651 (1964); United States v. Philadelphia National

Bank, 374 U.S. 321 (1963) ; California vy. FPC, 369 U.S. 482, 484-85

(1962) ; United States v. Radio Corporation of America, 358 U.S.

34 (1959); McLean Trucking Co. v. United States, 321 U.S. 67

(1944) ; Marine Space Enclosures, Ine. v. FMC, 137 U.S.App.D.C.

4.17 ff, 420 F.2d 577, 585 (1969) ; Municipal Elec. Ass'n of Mass.

v. SEC, 134 U.S.App.D.C. 145, 413 F.2d 1052 (1969) ; Northern

Natural Gas Co. v. FPC, 130 U.S.App.D.C. 220, 226, 399 F.2d 952.

499 (1968) ; City of Pittsburgh v. FPC, 99 U.S.App.D.C. 113, 237

F.2d 741 (1956)

lw

ee Alabama Electric Cooperative, Inc. v. SEC, 122 US.App.D.C.

367, 353 F.2d 905 (1965), cert. denied, 383 U.S. 968 (1966) = Ala-

~~ Electric Cooperative, Inc. v. SEC, 359 F.2d 434 (5th Cir.

l4a

Federal Power Commission Order

Since Gulf States is an electric utility company engaged

in interstate commerce, subject to regulation under Title

II of the Federal Power Act, its proposal to sell $30 mil.

lion of first mortgage bonds required an application by the

company, and approval by the FPC, under § 204 of the

Federal Power Act. Section 204 of the Federal Power Act

is almost identical with the pertinent provisions of § 20a

of the Interstate Commerce Act, as amended, 49 U.S.C.

§ 20a, which was recently given an authoritative reading

in Denver € Rio Grande Western R. Co. v. United States,

387 U.S. 485 (1967). :

In Denver & Rio Grande the Court was concerned with

an application of Railway Express Agency to sell shares

equal to 20% of its outstanding stock to Greyhound Cor.

poration. On a finding of urgent need the ICC authorized

this issuance without a hearing, and deferred decision of

contentions presented by objectors that the proposal was

not in the “public interest” or for a “lawful object” because

it would result in “control” of the applicant by the car-

rier purchasing the shares, with “anti-competitive” con-

sequences.

The Court rejected the Government’s contention “that

§ 20a was designed to accomplish only the limited objec-

tive of protecting stockholders and the public from fiscal

manipulation. ...”?! The Court held that the ICC had erred

in entering its approval while deferring consideration of the

anti-competitive effects of the transaction, and remanded

to the ICC for further proceedings. It set forth in unmis-

takable terms the authority and responsibility of the ICC

to consider the “anti-competitive” issues. See 387 US. at

492:

11 See 387 U.S. at 491-92.

See AP, 'y

ae

Gat

15a

We do not agree that Congress limited ICC consid-

eration under § 20a to an inquiry into fiseal manipula-

tion. Even if Congress’ primary concern was to pre-

vent sugh manipulation, the broad terms “public in-

terest” and “lawful object” negate the existence of a

mandate to the ICC to close its eyes to facts indi-

cating that the transaction may exceed limitations

imposed by other relevant laws. Common sense and

-sound administrative policy point to the conclusion

that such broad statutory standards require at least

some degree of consideration of control and anti-

competitive consequences when suggested by the cir-

cumstances surrounding a particular transaction. Both

the ICC and this Court have read terms such as “pub-

lic interest” broadly, to require consideration of all

important consequences including anticompetitive ef-

fects.

The FPC observes that in another passage the Court

said that the ICC was not required tohold a hearing in

every case, That language merits exposition. See 387 U.S.

at 498:

We conclude, therefore, that the ICC is required, as

a general rule, under its duty to determine that the pro-

posed transaction is in the “public interest” and for

a “lawful object,” to consider the control and anti-

competitive consequences before approving stock is-

suances under § 20a(2). This does not mean the ICC

must grant a hearing in every case, or that it may

never defer consideration of issues which arise when

special circumstances are present. But it does mean

that, when the ICC exercises its discretion to approve

issuances without first considering important control

and competition issues, the reviewing court must close-

ly serutinize its action in light of the ICC’s statu-

tory obligations to protect the public interest and to

enforce the antitrust laws. Whether or not an abuse

of discretion is present must ultimately depend upon

the transaction approved, its possible consequences,

and any justifications for the deferral.

snail

16a

In this passage the court plainly earmarked the [Ces ay.

thority to omit a hearing on anticompetitive issues or to

defer consideration thereof in cases presenting special cir.

cumstances — as an authority that required agency “justif.

cation” and close scrutiny by the reviewing court to assure

against any abuse of discretion or default in statutory obli-

gation.

The action of the FPC in the order before us is plainly

inconsistent with its duties as developed in Denver & Rig

Grande. The FPC contends to us that § 204 does not re.

quire the FPC to consider antitrust allegations when av-

thorizing the issuance of securities. We are cited to Po-

cific Power & Light Co., 27 FPC 623 (1962), and urged to

show deference to the interpretation given a statute by

the agency charged with its administration.’* In the Pa-

cific Power & Light proceeding the FPC was concerned with

an application to issue “first mortgage bonds and con-

mon stock to use a portion of the proceeds to build a

transmission line from Oregon to California at a higher

voltage than would be presently required.” The FPC noted

that it had not been given certificate jurisdiction and “con-

cluded that Section 204 could not be used as a vehicle for

‘comprehensive licensing-type regulation * * *. 27 FPC

at 626. In the Commission’s view, the plain purpose of

Section 204 was ‘to prevent the issuance of securities which

might impair the company’s financial integrity or its abil-

ity to perform its public utility responsibilities.’ Ibid.”

We are not called upon to review the FPC’s decision in

Pacific Power & Light, or to take account of the points

raised in Commissioner Morgan’s vigorous dissent. The

FPC’s 1962 ruling came prior to the Supreme Court's

1967 decision in Denver d Rio Grande, a point that merits

12 Udall v. Tallman, 380 U.S. 1 (1965).

me l7a

particular emphasis since the FPC itself stressed that

6204(a) was “copied almost verbatim from Section 20a

of the Interstate Commerce Act” (27 F.P.C. at 627), and

relied on the proposition that the purpose of § 20a was to

ensure a sound railroad credit structure.!® But of course

the Court’s Denver and Riv Grande opinion establishes that

while sound financial credit was the dominant objective of

(20a of the Interstate Commerce Act, the breadth of the

“public interest” criterion extends to the anticompetitive

issues, Thus the FPC’s own 1962 reasoning that its law

tracks the ICC’s statute undercuts the survival of its broad

conclusion that ¢ 204(a) is limited to financial matters.

The same may be said for the FPC’s conclusion that its

authority is necessarily limited since an interstate electric

utility may issue short-term notes without FPC authority

pursuant to § 204(e) of the Federal Power Act,'® and could

launch its construction with those funds. The same might

have been said as to the ICC, which has even less authority

over short-term notes than the FPC.'® The short answer

is that a utility would be improvident indeed if it relied on

its short-term authority to obviate agency overview on ap-

plication for approval of the long term securities.

The Pacific Power & Light ruling stated that the FPC

lacks authority to certificate a utility’s operation or expan-

'’ Citing Sharfman, Interstate Commerce Commission, 190 (N.Y.

1931)

The FPC noted that the Senate Committee “stressed” that con-

trol over capitalization is an essential means of safeguarding the

public against unsound financial practices, see S. Rep. No. 621, 74th

Cong., ‘Ist Sess. (1935) p. 50. But this Senate Report in no way

negatives Justice Brennan’s comment in Denver & Rio Grande that

this dominant concern is not exclusive.

Under § 204(e), 16 U.S.C. § 824e(e), the FPC is not given

authority as to notes of less than a year’s maturity aggregating less

than a% of the company’s outstanding securities.

"Under § 20a(9) of the Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C,

$ 20a(9), the authority of the ICC does not extend to notes of two

Years or less duration not exceeding 5% of outstanding securities.

18a

sion. This has some weight, but not enough. It would haye

more if the FPC were in the same position as the SEC, of

having no regulatory authority over operations of the

utility. But the FPC does have authority over interstate

electric utilities, and that authority is by no means ingub.

stantial. As was rightly said in its most recently available.

annual report, the FPC “exercises national responsibility

for the regulation of the interstate electric power indus.’

wc

Apart from regulating interstate electric utilities jp

regard to their issuance of securities, the FPC is mandated

under the Federal Power Act to regulate their charges for

the interstate transmission of electric energy ({ 206), and

their mergers or consolidations ({ 203).

Significantly the FPC has been given authority and re-

sponsibility by § 202 of the Act, 16 U.S.C. § 824a, in regard

to interconnection and coordination of facilities.

For the purpose of assuring an abundant supply of elec.

tric energy throughout the United States with the greatest

possible economy and with regard to the proper utilization

and conservation of national resources,” § 202(a) directs

the FPC “to divide the country into regional districts for

the voluntary interconnection and coordination of facilities

for the generation, transmission, and sale of electric

energy” and pronounced it the “duty of the Commission

to promote and encourage such interconnection and coordi-

nation within each district and between such districts.”

Section 202(b) gives mandatory authority to the FPC,

upon application of any State commission or of any per-

son engaged in the transmission or sale of electric energy,

to order an interstate electric utility “to establish physical

interconnection of its transmission facilities with the facili-

171970 Annual Report, FPC, p. 24.

19a

ties of one or more other persons engaged in the transmis-

sion or sale of electric energy, to sell energy to or exchange

energy With such persons.” This authority exists if the FPC

makes a finding that its exercise is in the public interest,

subject only to the proviso that the interconnection not

require the regulated utility to enlarge its generating facili-

ties or impair its existing services.

In view of the FPC’s broad public interest charter to

enhance optimum interconnection and interchange of elec-

tric energy, not to mention its array of other activities

in furtherance of electric energy capability,’* the circum-

stance that its jurisdiction has not been extended to cer-

tifieating responsibility is no reason for limiting it under

§ 204 to a tunnel vision of the public interest.

At oral argument the Commission’s General Counsel put

it that the PC is interested in safeguarding costs, rates

and reliability, but it wants to stay out of the fight between

investor-owned utilities on the one hand and cooperatives

and municipalities on the other. Whether or not this is

tactical wisdom, it may not be achieved at the expense

of abdicating responsibility. And we see no reason «why

the responsibility of considering the public interest re-

quires any jeopardy of the kind of objectivity that is eon-

templated for an independent regulatory commission.

The Commission is expected to make determinations as

to the public interest in matters where there is such under-

lying conflict. Its docket contains a number of complaints

'S The 1970 Annual Report discusses, inter alia, its Electric

Power Reliability Policy; adoption in pursuance thereof, of “a

system of comprehensive reporting by all segments of the electric

power industry (private, public, cooperative and Federal) of infor-

mation on operating data and advance planning by power pools,

coordinating groups, and individual utilities and on studies to

support such plans”; its 1970 National Power Survey: and the

work of its Task Foree on Environment. ue

is

24a

appropriately referred to as supple and flexible.*® The

doctrine of primary jurisdiction “has become one of the

key judicial switches” in furtherance of “coordination

between judicial machinery and [administrative] agencies”

in matters of mutual concern.?® Switches operate both

ways, and, depending on the nature of the issue, an ageney

may wait for a court as well as the reverse.

We have been at pains to set forth the latitude available

to the agency in approach and procedure to obviate any

concern that this court seeks to interfere with its exer.

cise of discretion. What the court does require is that the

agency take a “hard look” at problem areas.*°

Securities and Exchange Commission

Section 7(d)(6) of the Holding Company Act is not

written in the same terms as § 204 of the Federal Power

Act. The SEC, in holding petitioners’ antitrust allegations

irrelevant to its determination, and refusing to set the

matter down for hearing, stated :*!

The phrase “terms and conditions” as here used re-

lates solely to the terms and conditions of the security

to be issued, and therefore, the phrase “detrimental to

the public interest” refers to such terms and conditions

and not to extraneous matters. Section 7(f) provides

that “any order permitting a declaration to become

effective may contain such terms and conditions as the

23 .J.M. Huber Corp. v. Denman, 367 F.2d 104, 111 (5th Cir.

1966).

29 Port of Boston Marine Terminal Ass'n vy. Rederiaktiebolaget

Transatlantic, 400 U.S. 62, 68-69 (1970); Brawner Building, Ine.

v. Shehyn, U.S.App.D.C. ——, 442 F.2d 847 (1971). Compare

United States v. Morgan, 307 U.S. 183, 191 (1939).

%9 Greater Boston Television Corp. v. FCC, U.S.App.D.C.

; F.2d (slip opinion at p. 18) (Nov. 13, 1970), cert.

denied, 403 U.S. 923 (June 14, 1971) ; WAIT Radio vy. FCC, 135

U.S.App.D.C. 317, 418 F.2d 1153 (1969).

31 JA 160, Holding Company Act Release No. 16955.

25a

Commission finds necessary to assure compliance with

the conditions specified in this section.” Authorization

to impose terms and conditions under Section 7(f) does

not extend to the resolution of collateral and unrelated

controversies in which a declarant may be engaged with

other parties. See Alabama Power Co., (Holding Com-

pany Act Release No. 15252, June 1, 1965), affirmed,

Alabama Electric Cooperative, Inc. v. SEC, 353 F.2d

905 (1965), cert. denied, 383 U.S. 968.

We turn first to the precedent cited by the SEC. In

Alabama Electric Cooperative v. SEC, 122. U.S.App.D.C.

367, 353 F.2d 905 (1965), Alabama Power, seeking to issue

$14 million of common stock, claimed an exemption from

SEC supervision under §6(b) of the Holding Company

Act, on the ground that the issue was subject to regulation

by a state commission. The Cooperative objected that the

holding company intended to use the proceeds of this sale

so as to duplicate its lines and facilities, and asked the SEC

to prevent such use, through its power to impose conditions

on an exemption “in the public interest or for the protec-

tion of investors or consumers.” When the SEC refused,

the Cooperative argued it had erred in refusing to copsider

the claim of anti-competitive effect. We affirmed the Com-

mission, saying (122 U.S.App.D.C. at 369, 353 F.2d at 907) :

The purpose of the Public Utility Holding Company

Act... was to supplement state regulation—not to sup-

plant it. Nowhere in the Act isthere a provision grant-

ing to the SEC the sort of regulatory power attributed

to it by the petitioner. Indeed, the congressional choice

of that Commission to administer the Act is, in itself,

the strongest sort of proof that the general purpose

of the Act was to regulate the issuance of securities

which could not be reached by state commissions.

In Municipal Electric Ass’n of Massachusetts v. SEC,

134 U.S.App.D.C. 145, 413 F.2d 1032 (1969), however, this

court required the SEC to consider anti-competitive effects.

Vist

cae

tate

ay

22a

comply with the requirement we see in Denver & Rio

Grande, that the agency’s reason for denying or deferring

hearing of anticompetitive issues be clear on the record,

meaningful in findings or discussion.

Accordingly we deem it necessary to remand the order

under review. To avoid misunderstanding, we think it

appropriate to say expressly that an agency is not required

to hold hearings in matters where the ultimate decision

will not be enhanced or assisted by the receipt of evi-

dence.?? And as to interventions raising anti-competitive

issues we see no objection in law to a disposition without

hearing that is accompanied by an explanation, supported

in the record, that the intervenor’s contentions are too in-

substantial or barren to indicate the existence of substantial

anticompetitive issues, or to meet the requirement of a rea-

sonable nexus between the activities challenged and the

activities furthered by the application.‘

We do not undertake to determine now what is involved

in the requirement of reasonable nexus, which we think is

fairly implied in the jurisprudence. Development of this

requirement must await consideration in the first instance

by the agency involved, and an analysis of the factual

context.

We are aware, too, of the pertinence of the comment of

FPC’s counsel, that security issues to provide funds for

a utility’s construction must be decided in a time frame

much more limited than that often contemplated for anti-

23 Denver Union Stock Yard Co. v. Producers Livestock Market-

ing Ass’n, 356 U.S. 282, 287 (1958) ; Citizens for Allegan County

Inc. v. FPC, 134 U.S.App.D.C. 229, 414 F.2d 1125 (1969).

24In Municipal Elec. Ass’n of Mass. v. SEC, 134 U.S.App.D.C.

145, 152, 413 F.2d 1052, 1059 (1969), the court noted that the con-

trol challenged by the cities “is tied in significant manner to the

acquisition of the stock” for which approval was sought.

23a

trust litigation. But the doctrine of public interest con-

sideration does not contemplate that an agency will be

engaged in a determination of antitrust issues as such.?5

In the context of a particular matter, it may become evi-

dent that the agency may approve forthwith a large portion

of the application, and the use of the funds contemplated

thereby, while reserving decision on the difficult issue. In-

deed even an entire application may be approved if the

agency stands ready to proceed with hearing and consid-

eration of the anticompetitive issues, and to take the prob-

lems into account in the disposition of another application

projected for presentation to the agency within a reasonable

time.”6

So far as antitrust issues are concerned the agency has

the opportunity to obtain the comments of the Department

of Justice.*7.It may even, indeed, defer its disposition

pending determination of relevant court litigation where

that will aid in the determination of the “public interest”

issue. This would be in effect a reverse application of the

doctrine of primary jurisdiction, a doctrine that has been

*° Northern Natural Gas Co. v. FPC, supra, note 9, 130 U.S.App.

D.C. at 229-30, F.2d at 962-63.

*6 Even in courts the doctrine of mootness does not apply to

questions of a recurring nature. Southern Pacific Terminal Co. vy.

ICC, 219 U.S. 498 (1911) ; Friend v. United States, 128 U.S.App.

D.C. 323, 388 F.2d 579 (1967).

27 Northern Natural Gas Co. v. FPC, supra, 130 U.S.App.D.C. at

227, 399 F.2d at 960. Intervenor observes that § 314(a) of the Fed-

eral Power Act does not set for a duty in the FPC to report anti-

trust violations to the Attorney General such as appeared in

$20(a) of the Natural Gas Act of 1938. If this is more than an

accident of drafting style, perhaps marking the change between

1935 and 1938, it does not limit the authority of the agency either

to refer matters to the Attorney General or to entertain his presen-

tations.

a a ee ee as i a ei i i |e i hii a i i

20a

by public utilities and by cooperatives against private com.

panies, both for physical interconnection and for termina.

tion of charges attacked as discriminatory or otherwise yp.

lawful.’® It is illuminating that only recently the Supreme

Court sustained an FPC interconnection order that ye:

jected the claim of a private utility to make an intereop.

nection with a municipally-owned utility on terms mor

onerous than those required of other investor-owned utili.

ties.?°

Replacement of Short-Term Notes

The FPC’s counsel vigorously urged an alternative con.

tention, that the Cities’ intervention did not require a hear.

ing since their allegations concerning Gulf States’ opera.

tions could have no. meaningful relation to an application

that only sought to replace short-term notes with long-term

bonds.

This contention is not without appeal, and also not with.

out problems, First, the order giving Gulf States authority

to issue $30 million bonds to replace short term notes ap.

parently operated to give Gulf States authority to increase

its overall debt, since it would have had authority forth-

with to issue an additional $30 million in short-term notes!

It is not clear whether FPC counsel would have urged

1? Annual Report for 1970, Table 10, p. 26.

*° Gainesville Utilities Department et al v. Florida Power Corp.

402 U.S. 515 (1971). The FPC rejected the claim of Florida Power

Co. that the city system pay not only the capital cost of the inter.

connection but also an annual payment for the backup service. It

noted among other matters that Florida Power had not includeda

comparable charge in any of the contracts for interconnection

voluntarily negotiated with members of the Florida Operating

Committee, an informal group coordinating the technical opere-

tions of five Florida utilities.

*1 Its previously granted authority to issue $80 million short term

notes would not have been terminated, though the duration of the

notes authorized would have been reduced by the lapse of time.

a

ELEED THROUGH POOR COPY

2la

the same contention if the outstanding short-term notes

had been of one year’s duration and had been issued by

Gulf States, pursuant to §204(e) of the Act, on its own

authority and without an FPC order. A contention this

broadly put would raise most serious questions.

The ultimate reason, however, for rejecting this conten-

tion of FPC counsel is that the cryptic statement of the

FPC does not permit us to conclude with reasonable confi-

dence that this was the position taken by the FPC. And

we cannot permit arguments of counsel to take the place

of agency findings.??

Our problem is not a merely technical one. The point

here urged by counsel has significance only on the assump-

tion that at another time the FPC would consider the anti-

competitive issues as material. But that assumption means

a modification or restriction of the FPC’s 1962 ruling in

Pacific Power & Light, supra. We have no guidance from

the FPC that it accepted a limitation of that ruling. Indeed

we have been asked to affirm its order on the reasoning of

that 1962 ruling. Moreover when the Cities, in their peti-

tion for rehearing, expressly requested the FPC to advise

whether the reason for denial of a hearing was the nature

of the application as seeking approval for long-term bonds

oi a refunding of short-term notes, the FPC declined to

say this,

We do not consider what ruling we would make on the

basis of such a position if thought through and embodied

in FPC policy and findings. It suffices for present purposes

to say that the FPC’s terse and cryptic statement did not

* Burlington Truck Lines, Inc. v. United States, 371 U.S. 156

(1962) ; Public Serv. Comm. of the State of New York v. FCC,

— U.S.App.D.C. ——, 436 F.2d 904 (1970); WAIT Radio vy.

FCC, 135 U.S.App.D.C. 317, 418 F.2d 1153 (1969) ; Braniff Air-

ways, Ine. v. CAB, 126 U.S.App.D.C. 399, 379 F.2d 453 (1967).

CPOY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

26a

That case involved an application by several New England

electric utilities, under §10 of the Holding Company Act,

15 U.S.C. §79j, to approve their acquiring the stock of

two nuclear-power electric generating companies, The

Municipals sought a hearing on their charge that any’ap

proval of the acquisition, to the exclusion of the Municipals’

opportunity to obtain power directly from the nuclear.

power plants, would not be in the public or consumer jp.

terest, since it would deprive the Municipals of access to

a course of cheap power and thus harm them competitively,

The SEC denied the request for a hearing, holding that

the Municipals had presented no issue of fact relevant to

the proceedings. We reversed, and remanded for a hearing

before the SEC concerning the imposition of appropriate

conditions on the transaction.

Petitioners claim that both our action and opinion in

Municipal establish the necessity of considering antitrust

allegations before granting approvals to stock issues under

§§ 6 and 7. However, the Municipal opinion expressly as-

serts that a line, albeit a “fine line,” is to be drawn be.

tween SEC’s approval of an acquisition of stock by a util-

ity, and a sale of securities by a utility. Acquisitions are

governed by §§9 and 10 of the Holding Company Act.

Our Municipal opinion pointed out that §10, unlike 47,

expressly prohibits approval of a transaction if the Com-

mission finds that it will tend toward interlocking rela-

tions or the concentration of control of public-utility com-

panies, of a kind or to an extent detrimental to the public

interest or the interest of investors or consumers.

The Alabama Cooperative case is not to be read as limit-

ing SEC’s consideration under §7(d)(6) solely to review-

‘ing the financial terms of the security to be issued. The

force of that 1965 opinion is weakened, apart from the 1967

opinion in Denver & Rio Grande, by its erroneous assump-

27a

tion of the narrow reading to be given to § 10, an assump-

tion undercut by our 1969 opinion in Municipal. Moreover,

Alabama Cooperative did not involve an SEC approval in

the course of exercising its jurisdiction under §{6 and 7,

but the question whether it could impose terms to qualify -

the exemption provided by §6(d) for security issues ap-

proved by a state commission. In Municipal Elec. Ass’n

of Mass v. SEC, 136 U.S.App.D.C. 175, 419 F.2d 757 (1969),

we specifically reserved the issue of whether antitrust con-

siderations are included in the public interest referred to

in approvals of $46 and 7.

We think proper resolution of the problem now before

us is provided by affirmance of the SEC’s order, but with

modification in part of our discussion in Alabama Coopera-

tive. Where an agency has some regulatory jurisdiction

over operations, it must consider whether there is a reason-

able nexus between the matters subject to its surveillance

and those under attack on anti-competitive grounds, But

the general doctrine requiring an agency to take account

of antitrust considerations does not extend to a case like

the one before us where the antitrust problem arises out

of operations of the regulated company (past and projected )

and the agency, here the SEC, has not been given any regu-

latory jurisdiction over operations of the company. The

SEC has no jurisdiction over operations and stands in a

different posture from the FPC which, as we have already

noted, has regulatory jurisdiction over operations in view

of its authority, inter alia, to direct utilities to interconnect

on reasonable terms, or to prohibit a utility from discrim-

inating in rates and facilities against its municipal cus-

tomers.

In Municipals the utility’s acquisition of stock was sub-

ject to SEC jurisdiction. And the court held that the ex-

ereise of the authority to approve acquisitions requires

28a

consideration of antitrust matters, particularly in view of

the statutory purpose to avoid undue concentration of

control in public utility holding companies. This is a more

static issue than direct surveillance of operations. It js

rather a review of proposed structure to ascertain whether

it embraces a substantial possibility of undue concentra.

tion of control. Of course a decision on structure requires

“economic forecasting” concerning operations, in such mat.

ters as ¢.g., profitability, consequence -of independence of

management. SEC v. New England Elec. System, 390 US,

207, 211, et seq. (1968). Yet although the matters are inter.

related, the SEC’s jurisdiction relates to structure rather

than directly to operations.

To avoid misunderstanding, we are not here accepting

the contention of SEC counsel that the distinction lies

between application under $10 for acquisition, which re.

quires consideration of antitrust—issues, and applications

under §6 for approval of security issues, which do not.

As to applications under §6 the question left open by

second Municipals is still open. So far as this opinion is

concerned the court will be free to determine, if the circum.

stances warrant, that the application under §6 requires

consideration of antitrust issues because the purpose of the

application is significantly related to the structural position

of the applicant in the industry — perhaps by a proposal

for operating affiliation as well as one for capital affiliation

— which presents the kind of issue, of undue concentration

of control, that lies within the regulatory jurisdiction of

SEC upon consideration of an application under § 10.

There may also be circumstances where a particular pro-

posed operating use of funds will, it is claimed, be linked

significantly to operations within the SEC surveillance con-

templated by Congress. Suppose it were objected that the

utility planned a covert use of a significant part of the

29a

proceeds of a security issue to establish a political slush

fund prohibited by §12(h) of the Holding Company Act.

We think the SEC would be under a duty to give considera-

tion to the claim, for the matter challenged is within the

reasonable contemplation of Congress as one in which the

SEC has a sphere of interest, and should explore further

when the issue is brought to its attention.

Addressing ourselves broadly, however, to the question

of sale of securities, and taking into account the regulatory

volumes involved** and the lack of any SEC authority

to regulate operations of utilities, we think an objecting

intervenor cannot require SEC consideration of the appli-

cant’s operating activities from the point of view of un-

due restraints on competitors or potential competitors.

We state this doctrine in terms of broad application rather

than in categorical terms, for we leave open the resolution

appropriate if in a particular case the operations assailed

are of such a nature as to be equivalent, in significance and

consequence, to structural affiliation, or if the purpose of

the utility’s sale of securities is otherwise shown to have a

reasonable nexus to matters within the SEC’s jurisdiction

under other provisions. Within the broad reach of the

doctrine we deem applicable we do not think petitioners

have made a showing of reversible error.

In Nos, 24,764 and 24,963, the orders of the SEC are.

affirmed. In No. 71-1041, the cause is remanded to the

PPC for further proceedings not inconsistent with this

opinion.

So ordered. ‘

__

In fiscal 1970, 15 active registered bidding companies and

their subsidiaries sold 59 issues, pursuant to SEC authorization,

and raised new capital in the amount of $1,684,000,000. SEC 36th

Ann. Report (for 1970) p. 164. :

30a

APPENDIX B

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIKCUIT

SEPTEMBER TERM, 1971

United States Cot of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

FILED Oct. 12, 1971

/s/ Nathan J. Paulson

Clerk

No. 71-1041

Ciry or Larayette, Lovistana

City or PLaqueMIneE, LovisIana,

- Petitioners

v.

-_

FeperaL Power CoMMISssION,

Respondent

Guur States Urmities Company,

Intervenor

Petition for Review of Order of the

Federal Power Commission

Befoge: Bazzton, Chief Judge; and Fany, Senior

Circuit Judge, and Leventuat, Circuit Judge.

JUDGMENT >

This case ¢ame on to be heard on the record from the

Federal Por Commission, and was argued by counsel.

‘Respondent thereafter filed*a supplemental memorandum.

On consideration of the foregoing, it is

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED by this Court that this

case is hereby remanded to the Federal Power Commission

for further proceedings consistent with the opinion of this

Court filed herein this date.

Per Curiam

For the Court:

/s)} NATHAN J. PAULSON

NATHAN J. PAULSON

Clerk °

-

3la ; o

APPENDIX C

Hnited States Court of Appe:

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

SEPTEMBER TERM, 1971

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

FILED Dec. 15, 1971

/s/ Nathan J. Paulson

Clerk

No. 71-1041

Ciry or Larayette, Louisiana

Crry or PLaQqueMINeE, Louisiana,

Petitioners

v.

FEperaL Power CoMMIssIon,

Respondent

Guir Srares Urimities Company,

Intervenor

Before: Bazevon, Chief Judge; Fauy, Senior

Circuit Judge and LevenTHAL, Circuit Judge.

ORDER

On consideration of intervenor’s petition for rehearing

on petition to review an order of the Federal Power Com-

mission, it is

ORDERED by the Court that intervenor’s aforesaid

petition is denied.

. Per Curiam

For the Court:

/s/ NATHAN J. PAULSON

NATHAN J. PAULSON

Clerk

meses Seeder ee ee be dee nde

ew |

32a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION

Before Commissioners :

John N. Nassikas, Chairman; Lawrence J. O’Connor, Jr,

Carl E. Bagge, John A. Carver, Jr., and Albert E. Brooke,Jr,

Guur States Urinities Company,

Docket No. E-7567

ORDER AUTHORIZING ISSUANCE OF

FIRST MORTGAGE BONDS, GRANTING

INTERVENTION AND DENYING HEARING

(Issued December 3, 1970)

Gulf States Utilities Company (Applicant), -aen

tion organized under the laws of the State of Texas and

doing business in the States of Texas and Louisiana, filed

an application on October 12, 1970, seeking an order pur-

suant to Section 204 of the Federal Power Act authorizing

it to issue and sell at» competitive bidding, $30,000,000

aggregate principal amount of First Mortgage Bonds, due

2000.

The Applicant proposes to issue the Bonds under their

Indenture of Mortgage to Manufacturers Hanover Trust

Company, dated September 1, 1926, as supplemented and

proposed to be further supplemented by a Twenty-ninth

Supplemental -Indenture dated as of the date of the new

Bonds.

Applicant originally proposed to publish bids for pur-

chase of the Bonds on November 24, 1970, and to accept

a bid-on December 9, 1970. The proposed publication of

bids can be delayed for one-week and still allow the Appli-

cant to meet the date set for bid acceptance.

PLEED THROUGH FOCR COPY

33a

Each bid must be presented by a single bidder or by a

group of bidders to the Company at Manufacturers Han-

over Trust Company, the Federal Room, Fourth Floor, 40

Wall Street, New York, New York 10015, before 11:00 A.M.

New York Time, on December 9, 1970.

Each bid shall specify, among other things, (1) the

interest rate of the Bonds, which shall be a multiple of 4%% ;

(2) the price (expressed as a percentage of the principle

amount), exclusive of accrued interest, to be paid to the

Company for the Bonds, which shall not be less than 99%

and not more than 10242% of the principle amount of the

Bonds, and that accrued interest on the Bonds from the first

day of the month in which the Bonds are issued to the

“date of payment therefor and delivery thereof will be

paid to the Company by the Purchaser or Purchasers.

The proceeds to be realized from the sale and issuance

of the proposed Bonds will be used by the Company to

refund and pay off part of its commercial paper and short-

term notes to banks to be outstanding as of the date of

issuance. The Company estimates that on December 16,

1970, the date the securities are expected to be sold, there

will be outstanding approximately $55 million principal

* amount of commercial paper and short-term notes issued

on various dates. The short-term indebtedness of the Com-

pany was authorized by the Commission in Docket No.

E-7509 and the proceeds from the notes were expended in

connection with the Company’s construction program and

for other corporate purposes. The cost of new construction

is expected to total $110 million in 1970 and $93 million in

1971.

Written notice of the application has been given to the

Texas Railroad Commission, the Louisiana Publie Service

Commission, and to the Governor of each of those States.

CPOY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

%

34a

Notice has also been given by publication in the Federal

Register on October 27, 1970 (35 F.R. 16649), stating that

any person desiring to be heard or to make any protest

with reference to the application should on or before No.

vember 2, 1970, file a petition or protest with the Federal

Power Commission, Washington, D. C. 20426,

On November 2, 1970, the Cities of Lafayette and Plaque.

mine, Louisiana, filed a protest and petition to inter.

vene in the proceeding requesting that the Commission

withhold the order authorizing the issuance of the proposed

Bonds and that the proceeding be set for hearing. Inter.

venors allege that activities of the applicant violate Federal

anti-trust laws, Section 10(h) of the Federal Power Act,

and the Public Utility Holding Company Act of 1935. All

violations arising from Applicant’s activities allegedly

prevented construction of generating facilities by certain

utilities in Louisiana and power pooling arrangements in

which the cities are to participate.

On November 12, 1970, the Applicant answered the pro-

test and petition to intervene denying violations of the anti-

trust laws, the Federal Power Act, or the Public Utility

Holding Company Act of 1935, and contending, among

other things that the Cities lack standing to intervene, in

that they have not alleged any interest which may be

affected, or as to which they will be bound by Commission

authorization of the proposed Bond application.

The requested approval of the issuance of the Bonds allow

the Company only to change the form of a portion of its out-

standing indebtedness, it does not call for the initiation

of any construction or other program by the Company

which might effect the interest of the Petitioners. The

alleged violations which petitioners attempt to raise in this

proceeding are irrelevant to a requested authorization of

ELEED THROUGH en ae

35a

securities. There is no relief that the Commission can order

in authorizing the issuance of the Bonds for refinancing

purposes that would have any effect on the interest of the

Petitioners, or solve any of the problems outlined by them.

The Commission finds:

(1) The Applicant, a corporation, is.a public utility

within the meaning of Section 204 of the Federal Power

. Act subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission as here-

tofore determined and set forth in the Commission’s order

issued November 27, 1957, In the Matter of Gulf States

Utilities Company, Docket No. E-6785 (18 FPC 701).

(2) The proposed issuance and sale of Bonds, as de-

scribed above will constitute an issuance of securities within

the purview of Section 204 of the Act.

(3) Applicant is not organized and operating in a State

under the laws of which the security issue here involved is

regulated by a State Commission within the meaning of

Section 204(f) of the Act; and the proposed issuance of

securities is, therefore, not exempt by virtue of that Section

from the requirement of Section 204 of the Act.

(+) The proposed issuance and sale of Bonds, as here-

inafter authorized, will be for a lawful object, within the

corporate purposes of Applicant and compatible with the

public interest, which is appropriate for and consistent

with the proper performance by Applicant or service as

a public utility and which will not impair its ability to

perform that service, and is reasonably necessary and ap-

propriate for such purposes.

(3) Intervention by the above-mentioned petitioners

may be in the publie interest for purposes of Commission

consideration of their petition.

CPOY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

NS oof

36a

(6) The matters asserted and activities alleged in the

filed protest and petition to intervene by the Cities of Lafay.

ette and Plaquemine, Louisiana, are irrelevant to the pur.

pose of issuing bonds to refund short-term indebtedness

heretofore authorized by this Commission.

(7) The matters asserted and activities alleged in the ~

filed protest and petition to intervene by the Cities of

Lafayette and Plaquemine, Louisiana, do not raise any

issue which requires a hearing.

The Commission orders:

(A) The above-mentioned petitioners are hereby per.

mitted to intervene in this proceeding subject to the rules

and regulations of the Commission. Provided, however,

That the admission of the afore-mentioned petitioner’s shall

not be construed as recognition by the Commission that

the petitioners might be aggrieved because of any order

or orders of the Commission entered in this proceeding.

(B) The above-mentioned petitioners request for hear-

ing is denied.

(C) The proposed issuance and sale of Bonds upon the

terms and conditions and for the purposes specified in the

application as described above, is hereby authorized, sub-

ject to the provisions of this order.

(D) The proposed issuance and sale of Bonds at com-

petitive bidding shall not be consummated until:

(i) Applicant shall have amended its application

pursuant to the requirements of Section 34.2(g) of the

Commission’s Regulations under the Federal Power

Act relating to compliance with competitive bidding

requirements, and Section 34.2(h) of those Regulations

relating to affiliation, and shall have either filed such

amendments or shall have mailed them and advised

37a

the Commission by telephone and telegraph, as contem-

plated in Section 34.9 of the Regulations;

(ii) The Commission, by a further order, shall have

approved the price to be received by Applicant for the

proposed issuance of Bonds and the interest rate

thereof.

(E) This authorization shall expire unless the trans-

actions hereby authorized are consummated within 90 days

from the date of issuance of this order.

(F) The foregoing authorization is without prejudice

to the authority of the Commission or any other regulatory

body with respect to rates, service, accounts, valuation,

estimates or determinations of cost, or any other matter

whatsoever now pending or which may come before this

Commission.

(G) Nothing in this order shall be construed to imply

any guarantee or obligation on the part of the United States

with respect to any securities to which this order relates.

By the Commission.

(SEAL)

Gordon M. Graut,

Secretary.

38a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION

Before Commissioners: Jolin N. Nassikas, Chairman;

Carl E. Bagge, and Albert B. Brooke, Jr.

Gulf States Utilities Company Docket No. E-7567

SUPPLEMENTAL ORDER AUTHORIZING

ISSUANCE OF FIRST MORTGAGE BONDS

(Issued December 9, 1970)

By order issued December 3, 1970, in the above-entitled

matter, the Commission authorized Gulf States Utility Com-

pany (Applicant), to issue and sell at competitive bidding

$30,000,000 principal amount of First Mortgage Bonds sub-

ject, among others, to the provisions set forth in paragraph

(D) of that order, as follows:

(D) The proposed issuance and sale of Bonds at con-

petitive bidding shall not be consummated until:

(i) Applicant shall have amended its application

pursuant to the requirements of Section 34.2(g) of the

Commission’s Regulations under the Federal Power

Act relating to compliance with competitive bidding

requirements, and Section 34.2(h) of those Regulation:

relating to affiliation, and shall have either filed such

amendments or shall have mailed them and advised

the Commission by telephone and telegraph, as con-

templated in Section 34.9 of the Regulations;

(ii) The Commission, by a further order, shall have

approved the price to be received by Applicant for the

proposed issuance of Bonds and the interest rate

thereof.

i oe “ad <a ae. Bia wa" ar. ee POOR COPY

,

39a

Applicant, on December 9, 1970, filed an amendment, pur-

suant to the requirements of the afore-mentioned Commis-

sion order, in which it states, among other things that it

proposes to accept, as representing the lowest cost of money

to be paid by the Applicant to the underwriters, the bid

of The First Boston Corporation, Salomon Brothers and

Eastman Dillon, Union Securities & Co. Underwriters to

purchase the proposed $30,000,000 issue of First Mortgage

Bonds carrying a coupon rate of 77% at a price to the

Company of $99.42% of principal amount. Based upon an

initial public offering price of 100.286% of principal

amount, the yield will be 7.85% and the Company’s cost

of money will be 7.9259%.

~ The Commission finds:

(1) Applicant has satisfactorily complied with the re-

quirements contained in. paragraph (D) of the Commis-

sion’s order issued December 3, 1970, in the above-entitled

Docket; and the competitive bid it proposes to accept for

the Bonds and the interest rate thereof are reasonable.

(2) The proposed issuance and sale of Bonds as herein-

after authorized, will be for a lawful object, within the

corporate purposes of Applicant and compatible with the

public interest, which is appropriate for and consistent with

the proper performance of service by Applicant as a public

utility and which will not impair its ability to perform

that service, and is reasonably appropriate for such pur-

poses,

ee

The Commission orders:

(A) The price to be received by Applicant for the pro-

posed Bonds and the interest rate thereof, are approved

as reasonable.

CPOY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

40a

(B) The proposed issuance and sale of Bonds referred

to above, upon the terms and conditions, and for the pur.

poses specified in the application, as supplemented by the

amendment referred to above, are hereby authorized, sub.

ject only to the provisions of paragraph (E), (F) and

(G) and of the Commission’s order issued December 3,

1970, in the above docket.

By the Commission.

(SEAL)

Gordon M. Grant,

Secretary.

4la

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION

Before Commissioners:

John N. Nassikas, Chairman; Lawrence J. O’Connor, Jr.,

John A. Carver, Jr., and Albert B. Brooker, Jr.

Guur Sratres Utinities Company

Docket No. E-7567

ORDER DENYING APPLICATION FOR HEARING

(Issued January 13, 1971)

By order issued December 3, 1970,’ the Commission

authorized Gulf States Utilities Company (Applicant) to

issue, $30,000,000 principal amount of First Mortgage

Bonds, due 2000, subject, however, to further Commission

approval of the price of the Bonds to be paid to the Appli-

cant and the interest rate of the Bonds. The Commission

also granted leave to intervene to the Cities of Lafayette

and Plaquemine, Louisiana, based upon their protest. and

petition to intervene filed November 2, 1970; Hearing in the

proceeding was denied.

By supplemental order issued December 9, 1970, the

Commission approved the price of the Bonds and the

interest rate thereof, thereby authorizing the immediate

issuance of the Bonds.

Intervenors on December 16, 1970, filed in this proceeding

an application for rehearing of the Commission’s orders of

December 3, 1970 and December 9, 1970, seeking withdrawal

of those orders, setting the ease for full hearing, and direct-

ing Commission Staff to pursue an investigation of Appli-

cant’s activities. In their application for rehearing, Inter-

venors incorporate all grounds raised in their original

CPOY BOUND CLOSE INCENTED

Ae AS honey

2 RFS ee

42a

petition to intervene as previously considered by the Com.

mission, In addition, Intervenors present the further argp.

ment that the Applicant’s described use of the funds author.

ized in Docket No. E-7567 and Docket No. E-7509, as set

forth in the applications, are not sufficient to support the

Commission’s findings that the issuance of Bonds igs for q

“lawful object ... compatible with the proper performance

by (Gulf States of) service as a public utility. . .”

The Commission finds:

The grounds for rehearing set forth in the application

. filed on December 16, 1970, by the Cities of Lafayette and

Plaquemine, Louisiana in Docket No. E-7567 present no

facts or legal principles which would warrant any change in

or modification of the aforementioned Commission orders

issued December 3, 1970 and December 9, 1970.

The Commission orders:

The application for rehearing filed by the Cities of

Lafayette and Plaquemine, Louisiana on December 16,

1970, in Docket No. E-7567 is denied.

By the Commission.

(SEAL)

Gordon M. Grant,

Secretary.

ELEED THROUGH POOR COPY

43a

APPENDIX G

FEDERAL POWER ACT

TITLE 16 USCA

SUBCHAPTER II.—REGULATIONS OF ELECTRIC

UTILITY COMPANIES ENGAGED IN

INTERSTATE COMMERCE

§824. Declaration of policy; application of subchapter;

definitions

(a) It is declared that the business of transmitting and

selling electric energy for ultimate distribution to the public

is affected with a public interest, and that Federal regula-

tion of matters relating to generation to the extent provided

in sections 824-825r of this title and of that part of such

business which consists of the transmission of electric ener-

gy in interstate commerce and the sale of such energy at

wholesale in interstate commeree is necessary in the public

~ interest, such Federal regulation, however, to extend only to

those matters which are not subject to regulation by the

States.

(b) The provisions of sections 824-824h of this title shall

..“pply to the transmission of electric energy in interstate

commerce and to the sale of electric energy at wholesale in

interstate commerce, but shall not apply to any other sale

of electric energy or deprive a State or State commission of

its lawful authority now exercised over the exportation of

hydroelectric energy which is transmitted across a State

line. The Commission shall have jurisdiction oyer all facili-

ties for such transmission or sale of electric energy, but

shall not have jurisdiction, except as specifically provided

in said sections, oyer facilities used for the generation of

électrie energy or over facilities used in local distribution

or only for the transmission of electric energy in intrastate

>

CPOY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

tta

commerce, or over facilities for the transmission of electric

energy consumed wholly by the transmitter.

(c) For the purpose of sections 324-S824h of this title.

electric energy shall be held to be transmitted in interstate

commerce if transmitted from a State a nsumed at any

point outside thereof; but only insofar Neda transmission

takes place within the United States.

(d) The term “sale of electric energy at wholesale” when

used in sections 824-824h of this title, means a sale of elec.

tric energy to any person for resale.

(e) The term “public utility” when used in sections 824.

825r of this title means any person who owns or operates fa-

cilities subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission under

sections 824-82+4h of this title.

(f) No provision in sections 824-824h of this title shall

apply to, or be deemed to include, the United States, a State

or any political subdivision of a State, or any agency,

authority, or instrumentality of any one or more of the

foregoing, or any corporation which is wholly owned, di-

rectly or indirectly, by any one or more of the foregoing

or any officer, agent, or employee of any of the foregoing

acting as such in the course of his official duty, unless such

provision makes specific reference thereto. June 10, 1920,

¢. 285, § 201, as added Aug. 26, 1935, ¢. 687, Title I, § 213,

49 Stat. 847.

§ 824a. Interconnection and coordination of facilities;

emergencies; transmission to foreign countries—

Regional districts; establishment; notice to State

commissions

(a) For the purpose of assuring an abundant supply of

electric energy throughout the United States with the

greatest possible economy and with regard to the proper

ELEED THROUGH oe Sor

, |

45a

utilization and conservation of natural resources, the Com-

mission is empowered and directed to divide the country

into regional districts for the voluntary interconnection

and coordination of facilities for the generation, transmis-

sion, and sale of electric energy, and it may at any time

thereafter, upon its own motion or upon application, make

such modifications thereof as in its judgment will promote

the public interest. Each such district shall embrace an

area which, in the judgment of the Commission, ean eco-

nemically be served by such interconnected and coordinated

electric facilities. It shall be the duty of the Commission

to promote and encourage such interconnection and coor-

dination within each such district and between such dis-

triets. Before establishing any such district and fixing or

modifying the boundaries thereof the Commission shall

give notice to the State Commission of each State situated

wholly or in part within such district, and shall afford each

such State commission reasonable opportunity to present

its Views and recommendations, and shall receive and con-

sider such views and recommendations. *_

Sale or exchange of energy; establishing physical

connections

(b) Whenever the Commission, upon application of any

State commission or of any person engaged in the transmis-

sion or sale of electric entrgy, and after notice to each

State commission and public utility affected and after op-

portunity for hearing, finds such action necessary or appro-

priate in the public interest it may by order direct a public

utility (if the Commission finds that no undue burden will

be placed upon such publie utility thereby) to establish

.physieal connection of its transmission facilities with the

facilities of one or more other persons engaged in the trans-

mission or sale of electric energy, to sell energy to or ex-

change energy with such persons: Provided, That the Com-

mission shall have no authority to compel the enlargement

of generating facilities for such purposes, nor to compel

CPOY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

ee |

46a

such public utility to sell or exchange energy when to do sy

would impair its ability to render adequate service to jts

customers. The Commission may prescribe the terms and

conditions of the arrangement to be made between the per.

sons affected by any such order, including the apportion.

ment of cost between them and the compensation or rej.

bursement reasonably due to any of them. (§202)

§ 824b. Disposition of property; consolidations; purchase

of securities :

(a) No public utility shall sell, leade, or otherwise dispose

of the whole of its facilities subject to the jurisdiction of

the Commission, or any part thereof of a value in excess of

$50,000, or by any means whatsoever, directly or indirectly,

merge or consolidate such facilities or any part thereof with

those of any other person, or purchase, acquire, or take any

security of any other public utility, without first having

secured an order of the Commission authorizing it to do so.

Upon application for such approval the Commission shall

give reasonable notice in writing to the Governor and State

commission of each of the States in which the physical prop-

erty affected, or any part thereof, is situated, and to such

other persons as it may deem advisable. After notice and

opportunity for hearing, if the Commission finds that the

proposed disposition, consolidation, acquisition, or control

will be consistent with the public interest, it. shall approve

the same.

(b) The Commission may grant any application for a

order under this section in whole or in part and upon such

terms and conditions as it finds necessary or appropriate

to secure the maintenance of adequate service and the coor-

dination in the public interest of facilities subject to the

jurisdiction of the Commission. The Commission may fron

time to time for good cause shown make such orders supplr-

PLEED [THROUGH nae Sere

47a

mental to any order made under this section as it may find

necessary or appropriate. June 10, 1920, ¢. 285, § 203, as

added Aug. 26, 1935, e. 687, Title II, § 213, 49 Stat. 849.

§824c. Issuance of securities; assumption of liabilities;

filing duplicate reports with Securities and

Exchange Commission

(a) No public utility shall issue any security, or assume _

any obligation or liability as guarantor, indorser,.surety, or

otherwise in respect of any security of another person, un-

less and until, and then only to the extent that, upon appli-

cation by the public utility, the Commission by order

authorizes such issue or assumption of liability. The Com-

mission shall make such order only if it finds that such issue

or assumption (a) is for some lawful object, within the

corporate purposes of the applicant and compatible with

the public interest, which is necessary or appropriate for

or consistent with the proper performance by the applicant

of service as a public utility and which will not impair its

ability to perform that service, and (b) is reasonably neces-

sary or appropriate for such purposes. The provisions of

this section shall be effective six months after Aug. 26,

1935.

(b) The Commission, after opportunity for hearing,

may grant any application under this section in whole or

in part, and with such modifications and upon such terms

and conditions as it may find necessary or appropriate, and

may from time to time, after opportunity for hearing and

for good cause shown, make such supplemental orders in

the premises as it may find necessary or appropriate, and

may by any such supplemental order modify the provisions

of axy previous order as te the particular purposes, uses,

ea to which, or the conditions under which, any

fecurity so theretofore authorized or the proceeds thereof

€

CPOY BOUND CL,CSE IN CENTER

7

48a

may be applied, subject always to the requirements of spb.

section (a) of this section.

(c) No public utility shall, without the consent of the

Commission, apply any security or any proceeds thereof

to any purpose not specified in the Commission's order.

or supplemental order, or to any purpose in excess of the

amount allowed for such purpose in such order, or other.

Wise in contravention of such order.

(d) The Commissi®n shall not authorize the capitaliza-

tion of the right to be a corporation or of any franchise,

permit, or contract for consolidation, merger, or lease jp

excess of the amount (exclusive of any tax or annual

charge) actually paid as the consideration for such right,

franchise, permit, or contract.

(e) Subsection (a) of this section shall not apply to the

issue or renewal of, or assumption of liability on, a note or

draft maturing not more than one year after the date of

such issue, renewal, or assumption of liability, and aggre-

gating (together with all other then outstanding notes and

drafts of a maturity of one year or less on which such

public utility is primarily or secondarily liable) not more

than 5 per centum of the par value of the other securities

of the public utility then outstanding. In the ease of securi-

ties having no par value, the par value for the purpose of

this subsection shall be the fair market value as of the date

of issue. Within ten days after any such issue, renewal, or

assumption of liability, the public utility shall file with the

Commission a certificate of notification, in such form as

may be prescribed by the Commission, setting forth such

matters as the Commission shall by regulation require. »

(f) The provisions of this section shall not extend toa

public utility organized and operating in a State under

the laws of which its security issues are regulated by a

State commission.

FLEED THROUGH on Core

49a

(g) Nothing in this section shall be construed to imply

—

any guarantee or obligation on the part of the United

States in respect of any securities to which the provisions

of this section relate.

(h) Any public utility whose security issues are ap-

proved by the Commission under this section may file with

the Securities and Exchange Commission duplicate copies

of reports filed with the Federal Power Commission in lieu

of the reports, information, and documents required under

section 77g and sections 781 and 78m of Title 15. June 10,

1920, ¢. 285, § 204, as added Aug. 26, 1935, c. 687, Title II,

{ 213, 49 Stat. 850.

§824d. Rates and charges; schedules; suspension of new

rates

(a) All rates and charges made, demanded, or received

by any public utility for or in connection with the trans-

mission or sale of electrie energy subject to the jurisdiction

of the Commission, and all rules and regulations affecting

or pertaining to such rates or charges shall be just and

reasonable, and any such rate or charge that is not just

and reasonable is hereby declared to be unlawful.

(h) No public utility shall, with respect to any trans-

inission or sale subject to the jurisdiction of the Commis-

sion, (1) make or grant any undue preference or advantage

WW any person or subject any person to any undue prejudice

or disadvantage, or (2) maintain any unreasonable differ-

ehee in rates, charges, service, facilities, or in any other

respect, either as between localities or as between classes

of service,

(¢) Under such rules and regulations as the Commis-

‘on may prescribe, every public utility shall file with the

Commission, within such time and in such form as the

CPOY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

50a

a

Commission may designate, and shall keep open in eo.

venient form and place for public inspection schedule

showing all rates and charges for any transmission or sali.

subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission, and the elas.

sifications, practices, and regulations affecting such rates

and charges, together with all contracts which in any man.

ner affect or relate to such rates, charges, classifications.

and services.

(d) Unless the Commission otherwi ise orders, no change

shall be made by any public utility in any such rate,

charge, classification, or service, or in any rule, regula.

tion, or contract relating thereto, except after thirty days

notice to the Commission and to the public. Such notice

shall be given by filing with the Commission and keeping

open for public inspection new schedules stating plainly

the change or changes to be made in the schedule or sched.

ules then in force and the time when the change or changes

will go into effect. The Commission, for good cause shown,

may allow changes to take effect without requiring the

thirty days’ notice herein provided for by an order speci-

fying the changes so to be made and the time when ther

shall take effect and the manner in which they shall be

filed and. published.

(e) Whenever any such new schedule is filed the Con-

mission shall have authority, either upon complaint or upon

its own initiative without complaint, at once, and, if it 9

orders, without answer or formal pleading by the public

utility, but upon reasonable notice, to enter upon a hearing

concerning the lawfulness of such rate, charge, classifica-

tion, or service; and, pending, such hearing and the decision

thereon, the Commission, upon filing with such schedule:

and delivering to the public utility affected thereby a state

ment in writing of its reasons for such suspension, may |

suspend the operation of such schedule and defer the use of

5la

such rate, charge, classification, or service, but not for a

longer period than five months beyond the time when it:

would otherwise go into effect; and after full hearings,

either completed before or after the rate, charge, classifica-

tion, or service goes into effect, the Commission may make

such orders with reference thereto as would be proper in a

proceeding initiated after it had become effective. If the

proceeding has not been concluded and an order made at the

expiration of such five months, the proposed change of rate,

charge, classification, or service shall go into effect at the

end of such period, but in case of a proposed increased rate

or charge, the Commission may by order require the in-

terested public utility or public utilities to keep accurate

account in detail of all amounts received by reason of such

increase, specifying by whom and in whose behalf such

amounts are paid, and upon completion of the hearing and

decision may by further order require such public utility or

public utilities to refund, with interest, te the persons in

whose behalf such amounts were paid, s@ch portion of such

increased rates or charges as by its decision shall be found

not justified. At any hearing involving a rate or charge

sought to be increased, the burden of proof to show that the

increased rate or charge is just and reasonable shall be upon

the publie utility, and the Commission shall give to the

hearing and decision of such questions preference over

other questions pending before it and decide the same as

speedily as possible. June 10, 1920, ¢. 285, § 205, as added

Aug. 26, 1935, ¢. 687, Title IT, § 213, 49 Stat. 851.

§824e. Power of Commission to fix rates and charges;

determination of cost of production or transmission

(a) Whenever the Commission, after a hearing had upon

its own motion or upon complaint, shall find that any rate,

charge, or classification, demanded, observed, charged, or

>*

o2a

collected by any public utility for any transmission or sal

subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission, or that any

rule, regulation, practice, or contract affecting such rate

charge, or classification is unjust, unreasonable, unduly

discriminatory or preferential, the Commission shall deter.

mine the just and reasonable rate, charge, classification,

rule, regulation, practice, or contract to be thereafter ob.

served and in force, and shall fix the same by order.

(b) The Commission upon its own motion, or upon the

request of any State commission whenever it can do »

without prejudice to the efficient and proper conduct of its

affairs, may investigate and determine the cost of the pro.

duction or transmission of electric energy by means of faci-

lities under the jurisdiction of the Commission in eases

where the Commission has no authority to establish a rate

governing the sale of such energy. June 10, 1920, ¢. 285,

§ 206, as added Aug. 26, 1935, c. 687, Title II, § 213, 49 Star.

852.

§ 825d. Officials dealing in securities; declaring dividends

out of capital account; interlocking directorates

(a) It shall be unlawful for any officer or director of

any public utility to reeeive for his own benefit, directly

or indirectly, any iivney or thing of value in respect of the

negotiation, hypothecation, or sale by such public utility of |

any security issued or to be issued by such public utility,

or to share in any of the proceeds thereof, or to participate

in the making or paying of any dividends of such public

utility from any funds properly included in capital account.

(b) After six months from August 26, 1935, it shall be

unlawful for any person to hold the position of officer or

director of more than one public utility or to hold the

Sel

position of officer or director of a public utility and the |

ELEED THROUGH moan COM

d3a

position of officer or director of any bank, trust company,

banking association, or firm that is authorized by law to

widerwrite or participate in the marketing of securities of

a public utility, or officer or director of any company sup-

plying electrical equipment to such public utility, unless

the holding of such positions shall have been authorized by

order of the Commission, upon. due showing in form and

manner prescribed by the Commission, that neither public

nor private interests will be adversely affected thereby. The

Commission shall not grant any such authorization in

respect of such positions held on August 26, 1935, unless

application for such authorization is filed with the Com-

mission within sixty days after that date, June 10, 1920,

¢, 285, § 305, as added Aug. 26, 1935, c. 687, Title II, § 213,

49 Stat. 856.

§825e. Complaints

Any person, State, municipality, or State commission

complaining of anything done or omitted to be done by any

licensee or public utility in contravention of the provisions

of this chapter may apply to the Commission by petition

which shall briefly state the facts, whereupon a statement

of the complaint thus made shall be forwarded by the Com-

mission to such licensee or public utility, who shall be called

upon to satisfy the complaint or to answer the same in

writing within a reasonable time to be specified by the Com-

mission. If such licensee or public utility shall not satisfy

the complaint within the time specified or there shall appear

to be any reasonable ground for investigating such com-

plaint, it shall be the duty of the Commission to inv estigate

the matters complained of in such manner and by such

means as it shall find proper, June 10, 1920, ¢. 285, § 306, as

added Aug. 26, 1935, e. 687, Title IT, § 213, 49 Stat. 856.

’'CPOY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

54a

§ 825f. Investigations by Commission; attendance of

witnesses; depositions; immunity of witnesses

(a) The Commission may investigate any facts, cond.

tions, practices, or matters. which it may find necessary o

proper in order to determine whether any person has

violated or is about to violate any provision of this chapter

or any rule, regulation, or order thereunder, or to aid jp

the enforcement of the provisions of this chapter or jy

prescribing rules or regulations thereunder, or in obtaining

information to serve as a basis for recommending further

legislation concerning the matters to which this chapter

relates. The Commission may permit any person to file

witk it a statement in writing under oath or otherwise, as

it shall determine, as to any or all facts and circumstances

concerning a matter which may be the subject of investiga.

tion. The Commission, in its discretion, may publish or make

available to State commissions information concerning any

such subject. (4307)

§ 8251. Rehearings; court review of orders

(a) Any person; State, municipality, or State commis.

sion aggrieved by an order issued by the Commission in 4

proceeding under this chapter to which such person, State,

municipality, or State commission is a party may apply

for a rehearing within thirty days after the issuance of

such order. The application for rehearing shall set forth

specifically the ground or grounds upon which such appli-

cation is based. Upon such application the Commission shall

have power to grant or deny rehearing or to abrogate or

modify its order without further hearing. Unless the Con-

mission acts upon the application for rehearing within

thirty days after it is filed, such application may be deemed

to have been denied. No proceeding to review any order of |

the Commission shall be brought by any person unless such

pe

55a

person shall have made application to the Commission for

a rehearing thereon. Until the record in a proceeding shall

have been filed in a court of appeals, as provided in sub-

section (b) of this section, the Commission may at any

time, upon reasonable notice and in such manner as it shall

deem proper, modify or set aside, in whole or in part, any

finding or order made or issued by it under the provisions

of this chapter.

(b) Any party to a proceeding under

grieved by an order issued by the Commissign in such pro-

ceeding may obtain a review of such order\in the United

* “States Court of Appeals for any circuit where\n the licensee

or public utility to which the order relates is located or has

its principal place of business, or in the United States Court

of Appeals for the District of Columbia, by filing in such

court, within sixty days after the order of the Commission

upon the application for rehearing, a written petition pray-

ing that the order of the Commission be modified or set

aside in whole or in part. A copy of such petition shall forth- .

with be transmitted by the clerk of the court to any member

of the Commission and thereupon the Commission shall file

with the court the record upon which the order complained

of was entered, as provided in section 2112 of Title 28.

Upon the filing of such petition such court shall have juris-

diction, which upon the filing of the record with it shall

be exclusive, to aflirm, modify, or set aside such order in

whole or in part. No objection to the order ‘of the Commis-

sion shall be considered by the court unless such objection

shall have been urged before the Commission in the appli-

cation for rehearing unless there is reasonable ground for

failure so to do. The finding of the Commission as to the

facts, if supported by substantial evidence, shall be con-

clusive. If any party shall apply to the court for leave to

adduce additional evidence, and shall show to the satis-

d6a

faction of the court that such additional evidence js Ma-

terial and that there were reasonable grounds for failur:

to adduce such evidence in the proceedings before the Com.

mission, the court may order such additional evidence ty

be taken before the Commission and to be adduced upon

the hearing in such manner and upon such terms and eo,

ditions as to the court may seem proper. The Commissio,

may modify its findings as to the facts by reason of th:

additional evidence so taken, and it shall file with the cour

such modified or new findings which, if supported by sub.

stantial evidence, shall be conclusive, and its recommends.

tion, if any, for the modification or setting aside of th.

original order. The judgment and decree of the court, affirm.

ing, modifying, or setting aside, in whole or in part, any

such order of the Commission, shall be final, subject to

review by the Supreme Court of the United States upon

certiorari or certification as provided in sections 346 ani

347 of Title 28.

(ec) The filing of an application for rehearing under sub.

section (a) shall not, unless specifically ordered by th:

Commission, operate as a stay of the Commission’s order,

The commencement of proceedings under subsection (b) o!

this section shall not, unless specifically ordered by thi

court, operate as a stay of the Commission’s order. Jun

10, 1920, c. 285, § 313, as added Aug. 26, 1935, ¢. 687, Title Il

§ 213, 49 Stat. 860, and amended June 25, 1948, c. 646,32 |

(a), 62 Stat. 991; May 24, 1949, ec. 139, § 127, 63 Stat. 107:

Aug. 28, 1958, Pub.L. 85-791, § 16, 72 Stat. 947.

|

57a

CLAYTON ACT

TITLE 15 USCA

§ 21. Enforcement provisions—Commissions and Boards

authorized to enforce compliance

(a) Authority to enforce compliance with sections 13,

lt, 18, and 19 of this title by the persons respectively

subject thereto is vested in the Interstate Commerce Com-

mission where applicable to common carriers subject to

the Interstate Commerce Act, as amended; in the Federal

Communications Commission where applicable to com-

mon carriers engaged in wire or radio communications or

radio transmission of energy; in the Civil Acronauties

Board where applicable to air carriers and foreign air

carriers subject to the Civil Aeronautics Act of 1938; in

the Federal Reserve Board where applicable to banks, bank-

ing associations, and trust companies; and in the Federal

Trade Commission where applicable to all other character

of commerce to be exercised as follows:

Issuance of complaints for violations; hearing; intervention; filing of

testimony; report; cease and desist orders; reopening and

alteration of reports or orders

(bh) Whenever the Commission or Board vested with

jurisdiction thereof shall have reason to believe that any

person is Violating or has violated any of the provisions of

sections 13, 14, 18, and 19 of this title, it shall issue and

serve upon such person and the Attorney General a com-

plaint stating its charges in that respect, and containing

‘ notice of a hearing upon a day and at a place therein

fixed at least thirty days after the service of said com-

plaint. The person so complained of shall have the right to

‘ppear at the place and time so fixed and show cause why

an order should not be entered by the Commission or Board

requiring such person to cease and desist from the viola-

tion of the law so charged in said complaint. The Attorney

General shall have the right to intervene and appear in

said proceeding and any person may make application,

and upon good cause shown may be allowed by the Com.

mission or Board, to intervene and appear in said pro-

ceeding by counsel or in person. The testimony in any

such proceeding shall be reduced to writing and filed in

the office of the Commission or Board. If upon such hearing

the Commission or Board, as the case may be, shall be of

the opinion that any of the provisions of said sections

have been or are being violated, it shall make a report in

writing, in which it shall state its findings as to the facts,

and shall issue and cause to be served on such person an

order requiring such person to cease and desist from such

violations, and divest itself of the stock, or other share

capital, or assets, held or rid itself of the directors chosen

contrary to the provisions of sections 18 and.19 of this

title, if any there be, in the manner and within the time -

fixed by said order. Until the expiration of the time allowed

for filing a petition for review, if no such petition has been

duly filed within such time, or, if a petition for review

has been filed within such time then until the record in

‘the proceeding has been filed in a court of appeals of the

United States, as hereinafter provided, the Commission or

Board may at any time, upon such notice and in such

manner as it shall deem proper, modify or set aside, in

whole or in part, any report or any order made or issued

by it under this section. After the expiration of the time

allowed for filing a petition for review, if no such petition

has been duly filed within such time, the Commission or

Board may at any time, after notice and opportunity for

hearing, reopen and alter, modify, or set aside, in whole

or in part, any report or order made or issued by it under

this section, whenever in the opinion of the Commission or

EE -

59a

Board conditions of fact or of law have so changed as to

require such action or if the public interest shall so require:

Provided, however, That the said person may, within sixty

days after service upon him or it of said report or order

entered after such a reopening, obtain a review thereof in

the appropriate court of appeals of the United States, in

the manner provided in subsection (c) of this section. (411)

LOAD EN LE LELEL LAIN

,

BELEN TT IIIA TY POOLE OLE LS PON IO, ae

EEE ALLELE IGE TPM

Wk i he i ll le

®

:

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.