Brief for Respondent — Federal Maritime Comm'n v. Seatrain Lines, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1973

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

SCE se ee |

EE gn pa eine ial cae 2

I Sooo ee 2

SSR Stee ee ee 2

EE a6 05 0s +0 0% MM a oon ok cs :

Background of the Agreement in Suit ........... 3

3 4 Proceedings Before the Federal Maritime

Se are te eee 4

@. Proceedings in the Court of Appeals ............ 6

WMARY OF ARGUMENT ..................... ae

IGUME! hake hohe scsidiss.\.. 9

THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY

CONSTRUED SECTION 15 OF THE SHIP-

PING ACT, 1916, AS AUTHORIZING ANTI-

| TRUST IMMUNITY ONLY TO ONGOING

| ARRANGEMENTS AMENABLE TO COM.-

SU SUPERVISION .................... 9

_THE “PLAIN MEANING” OF SECTION 15

“DOES NOT MAKE ASSET ACQUISITIONS

_OR MERGERS SUBJECT TO THE COMMIS-

& SION'S JURISDICTION .................... 11

. A. Congress has elsewhere used the language

a the Commission relies on in a manner

contrary to the Commission’s understand-

SERN ee 12

Er 3B The Commission’s discovery of the “plain

= meaning” of Section 15 of the Shipping

Act, 1916, is very recent and merits no

a IEP SS Ceara Sng ee 16

(ii)

C. Acceptance of the Commission’s construc-

tion of Section 15 would repeal the

antitrust laws by implication ........

D. Volkswagenwerk v. F.M.C. does not

compel acceptance of the Commission’s

understanding of the reach of Section 15 .

Ill. THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF SEC-

TION 15 CONFIRMS THAT IT WAS

DIRECTED AT REGULARIZING ON-

GOING ANTICOMPETITIVE AGREE-

MENTS IN THE SHIPPING INDUSTRY

AND NOT IMMUNIZING ASSET ACQUISI-

TIONS OR CONSOLIDATIONS ........

IV. NEITHER POST ENACTMENT LEGISLA-

TIVE ACTIONS NOR POLICY CONSID-

ERATIONS SUPPORT THE COMMISSION’S

PIE iso Boa 56 ips ete wis tas

poh obs 8 | Pyrenean ie a oie Sora te ie

AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Acquisition of Marquette by TWA, 2 C.A.B. 1 (1940)

Agreement for Consolidation or Merger Between

American Mail Line, Ltd., American President

Lines Ltd., and Pacific Far East Line, Inc., 11

EEE ink A on hn 8 Wid wkd 68 Oho whe

Agreement No. 8555 between Isbrandtsen Steamship,

Inc., Isbrandtsen Co., Inc., and American Export

Lines, Inc., 7 FBLC. 125(1962). ...........

Agreements 8745 and 8745-1, Purchase of Vessels

“Alicia” and “Dorothy”, 7 F.M.C. 199(1962) ..

(iti)

Agreement No. 9810—Prudential Lines and Grace

Line, 11 Pike & Fischer Ship. Reg. Rep. 284

Agreement No. 9827 Between United States Lines,

Inc. and Sea-Land Service, In¢. et al., 11 Pike &

Fischer Ship. Reg. ne 17

Agreement No. 9827 Between United States Lines,

Inc., and Sea-Land Service, Inc., et. al., F.M.C.

Doc. Nos. 69-56 and 70-51, decided February 12,

Se: biog toes deny J Oe ee ana 5, 32

Agreement No. 9905, 11 Pike & Fischer Ship. Reg.

mae IOPOCF MC. 1970) ........5............. 17

Alaska Industrial Board v. Chugach Assn., 356 US.

320(1958) ....... VSPA EU eeGecasc. . 33

Alleged Rebate of Mitsui S.S. Co., 7 F.M.C. 248

eT ee bs aces ees. 17

Armement Deppe, S.A. v. United States, 339 F.2d

794 (Sth Cir. 1968), certiorari denied, 393 USS.

ithe Aas? Se SES es a ae 17

ATC Agency Resolution Investigation, 29 C.A.B. 258

NRA Ra SEE Cie ha ia aa 13

aang le EO EO eS NEE Sek 21

California v. Federal Power Commission, 369 U.S.

CESAR Sree ain en ake miata as 9, 11, 31, 33

Camation Co. v. Pacific Westbound Conference, 383

ee Aa emia 18, 21, 22, 23, 26

City of Portland, Oregon v. F.M.C., 433 F.2d 502

BNI eee 17

Denver & R.G.W. R.R. Co. v. United States, 387 U.S.

GL. s iy ais GUase Ts gc uk oo ks, 19

feral Maritime Board v. Isbrandtsen Co., 356 US.

Det ee OPA RS hOB ee bere ew bk Bobs Sy

(iv)

Federal Maritime Commission v. Svenska. Amerika

Linien, 390 U.S, 238 (1968) ......-- eee eeee 18, 32

Great Northern R. Co. v. United States, 315 U.S. 262

CPOE Siang s 0c Es we we HA Gepsi0'd a Bee reece. 16

Holy Trinity Church v. United States, 143 U.S. 457

CRIED ie RE we on bi Hewes wwe we eee e sco ee. 32

Hughes Tool Co. v. Trans World Air Lines, Inc.,

US. , 34 L. Ed. 24 577(1972) .. 22. eee eee eee 19

Matson Navigation Company v. F.M.C., 405 F.2d 796

CPUUN TUE occ ets pencdeserastecnceee 6, 17, 20

McManus v. C.A.B., 286 F.2d 414 (D.C. Cir. 1961),

certiorari denied, 366 U.S.928 .........eeeeeeeees 13

Moore-McCormack Lines, Inc. v. United States, 413

Te” ERC oe 4

New York and Porto Rico SS Co.—Waterman SS

Corp. Agreement, 2 U.S.M.C. 453 (1940) ............ 16

Pacific Far East Line, Inc. v. United States, 394 F.2d

TE os cece eee eee cw ec scene 4

Pan American World Airways v. United States, 371

eS ec es 12, 14, 15, 19

Rainwater v. United States, 356 U.S. 540(1958) ......... 31

Rockbridge v. Lincoln, 449 F.2d 567 (9th Cir. 1971) ...... 15

Schroegmann Bros. v. Calvert Corp., 341 U.S. 384

CSO EE ins os ea eee bes pak gm Gee ve eae 22

Sea-Land Service, Inc. v. Connor, 418 F.2d 1142

(SO 626 |) es iri ee oe 3

Seatrain Lines, Inc. v. Federal Maritime Commission,

460 F.2d 932 (D.C. Cir. 1972) ........ 1, 6, 20, 28, 29, 31

Section 15 Agreements—South African Ps

Trade, 7 F.M.C. 159(1962) ........-ceeeeereeees 17

Section 15 Agreement—Coal to Japan/

Korea, 7 F.M.C. 295 (1962) . 17

| United States v. Borden Co., 308 U.S. 188 (1939)

r Act, Section 7, as amended by Act of

- December 29, 1950, S. 1184, 64 Stat. 1125 15

8

_ United States v. McKesson & Robbins, 351 U.S. 305

ES ieee Sea 18, 22

United States Navigation Co. v. Cunard S.S. Co., 284

a ES nee 17

United States v. Philadelphia National Bank, 374 U.S.

AEE OSES te re 22

United States y. R. J. Reynolds ‘Tobacco Company,

325 F. Supp. 656 (D.N.J. ee a 6, 20

United Stevedoring Corp. v. Boston Shipping Assn.,

13 Pike & Fischer Ship. Reg. Rep. 257 (F.M.C.

8 ee POM NE Meee s tine cc usec. , 21

Volkswagenwerk v. F.M.C., 390 US. 261(1968) ....... passim

Woodwork Manufacturers Assoc. v. N.L.R.B., 386

e.g 22

Zuber v. Allen, 396 U.S. 168 EAE ae 16

Statutes and Executive Orders:

Civil Aeronautics Act of 1938, reenacted as Title IV,

Federal Aviation Act of 1958, 49 U.S.C. §§1371

et seq.:

Section 408, 49 U.S.C. Br gs 8,9, 13, 14, 15

Section 412, 49 U.S.C. By PR te 8,9, 12, 13, 15

Section 414, 49 U.S.C. ih ig, il 8, 13

eee

(vi)

Merchant Marine Act, 1936, as amended, 46 U.S.C.

§1101 et seq.:

EE REEL IT ELE CL 3

46 USC. $112]... eee eee eee eens 3

ee anne eee ree

ae EE eer eran 4

Shipping Act, 1916, Section 15, as amended 46

so eis aoe ee sabes. passim

Act of December 14, 1966, P.L. No. 90-195, 81 Stat.

os ie a Ad 6 08 oe ees 4

EN yc ees wav ko oe vee ss 2

RI SON CUIED oe ee cpa ns cbt ses ense 2,4

Ne a ks dae wee es ns 4

i eo Oc a ec eae da cheese cee 4

NN So Se vce ka eee ne nes 4

Executive Order No. 6166 §312 (1933) .......-.---+-- 4

Miscellaneous:

35 F.R. 16114 (October 14,1970) ........---- ee eees ss

“Alexander Report,” House Committee on Merchant

Marine and Fisheries, Report on Steamship Agree-

ments and Affiliations in the American Foreign

and Domestic Trade, H.R. Dec. No. 605, 63rd

Cons. 2ndée, Vol. @ os. eee. 8, 23-28

HLR. Rep. No. 2360, 85th Cong., 2nd Sess. (1958), 2

U. S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 3741 (1958) .......... 12

S.Rep. No. 1775, 81st Cong., 2nd Sess. 7 (1950), 2

U. S. Code Cong. Serv. 4300(1950) ............5.. 31

S. Rep. No. 792, 90th Cong., Ist Sess. (1967), 2 US. .

Code Cong. Ad. News 2172 (1967) ...........-.55: 4

(PT

ese Dye

IN THE

_ SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1972

No. 71-1647

FEDERAL MARITIME COMMISSION, Petitioner,

Vv.

SEATRAIN LINES, INC.; PACIFIC FAR EAST LINE, INC.;

THE OCEANIC STEAMSHIP COMPANY: and UNITED

» STATES OF AMERICA, Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS PACIFIC FAR EAST LINE,

INC., and THE OCEANIC STEAMSHIP COMPANY

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 17)! is

Teported sub nom. Seatrain Lines, Inc. y. Federal Mari-

eS Pet. App.” refers to pages in the appendix to the Commis-

$ petition for a writ of certiorari. “App.” references are to

s of the single appendix filed by petitioner pursuant to Rules

ind 36.

}

2

time Comihission at 460 F.2d 932. The opinions of the

Federal Maritime Commission (Pet. App. 51 and Pet.

App. 55) are not yet reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the District of. Columbia Circuit was entered on

March 23, 1972 (App. 70). The petition for a writ of

certiorari was filed on June 20, 1972 and granted on

December 11, 1972 (34 L.Ed. 2d 510). The jurisdiction

~~ of this Court rests on 28 U.S.C. § §1254(1) and 2350.

QUESTION PRESENTED

“Under Section 15 of the Shipping Act, 1916, Federal

Maritime Commission approval of certain anticompetitive

agreements among common carriers by water subject to

the Act excepts those agreements from the provisions of

the antitrust laws. The question presented is whether the

court of appeals correctly held that Section 15 does not

_ empower the Commission to approve and thereby

immunize from the antitrust laws a contract by one such

carrier to acquire the assets of another.

STATUTE INVOLVED

Section 15 of the Shipping Act, 1916, 39 Stat. 733, as

amended, 46 U.S.C. §814 (1970), is set out in pertinent

part at pp. 2 and 3 of petitioner’s brief.

3

STATEMENT

1. Background of the Agreement in Suit.

This case has its genesis in an October 1970 contract of

sale between Pacific Far East Line, Inc. (“PFEL’’) and

The Oceanic Steamship Company (“Oceanic’’), a wholly

owned subsidiary of Matson Navigation Company

(“Matson”). Under that contract (set out in pertinent

part at App. 2) PFEL acquired Oceanic’s four ships and

its interest in two “full containerships”? under construc-

tion, together with personnel and shoreside equipment

related to the vessels’ operations. The contract neither

terminated Oceanic’s corporate existence nor required

that carrier or its parent to refrain or withdraw from

competition with PFEL in any way (Pet. App. 53),

_ PFEL and Oceanic were not competitors, although

both were common carriers by water in the foreign

commerce of the United States Operating on routes in the

Pacific. Both carriers were subsidized under the Merchant

Marine Act, 1936,3 and confined by law and their

government subsidy contracts to operations on different

trade routes established by the Secretary of Commerce:

PFEL on Trade Route 29 (U.S. West Coast to the Far

East) and Oceanic on Trade Route 27 (U.S. West Coast

(0 Australia and New Zealand).* PFEL also maintained

~ *As distinguished from conventional freighters or “break-bulk”

thips, full containerships are modern vessels designed to carry cargo

stored in metal boxes of standard sizes in cells specially designed

for the purpose. See, Sea-Land Service, Inc. v. Connor, 418 F.2d

142 (D.C. Cir. 1969),

346 USC. §1101 et seq.

ae Merchant Marine Act, 1936 (in 46 U.S.C. §§1120 and

1121) authorizes the Secretary of Commerce to designate routes

“essential for the promotion, development, expansion, and mainte-

iM Se

Doe

4

an unsubsidized operation from the West Coast to Guam

with two vessels confined to that service by statute.* As

subsidized operators neither carrier could serve any other

trade route without government permission.

2. Proceedings Before the Federal Maritime Commission.

Under Section 15 of the Shipping Act, 1916, 46 U.S.C.

§814, certain agreements between common carriers by

water subject to the Act are unlawful unless first filed

with and approved by the Federal Maritime Commis-

sion. Commission approval of such agreements insulates

them from the operation of the antitrust laws.’ Contracts

icy oe

generally,

990, 992-93 (Ct. Cl. 1968);

United States, 413 F.2d 568, 570-71, 582 (Ct. Cl. 1969).

5 act of December 14, 1967, P. L. No. 90-195, 81 Stat. 581, 1

US. Code Cong. & Ad. News 633 (1967). See S. Rep. No. 792,

90th Cong., Ist Sess. (1967), 2 US. Code Cong. & Ad. News

2172-73 (1967).

6This authority was initially conferred on the United’ States

Shipping Board (39 Stat. 728, 733 (1916)), transferred to several

other agencies over the years (see Executive Order No. 6166,§12

(1933); 49 Stat. 1985 (1936); and 64 Stat. 1273 (1950)); and now

rests in the Commission, 75 Stat. 840 (1961). References to the

Commission in this brief include those predecessor agencies

the context requires. ;

7 Section 15 provides in pertinent part that: “Every agreement,

modification or cancellation lawful under this section, or per

mitted under section 813a of this title, shall be excepted from

the provisions of sections 1-11 and 15 of Title 15, and amendments

and Acts supplementary thereto.” 46 U.S.C. §814.

5

for the sale of ships and related assets by one ocean

carrier to another are not among those expressly included

in Section 15 as requiring such approval and entitled to

that exemption.

As a matter of business expediency PFEL and Oceanic

submitted the contract of sale to the Commission, but in

doing so expressly informed the agency that “‘they had

been advised by their counsel that the Contract of Sale

does not require approval of the Federal Maritime

Commission under the provisions of Section 15 of the

Shipping Act, 1916.” (App. 33). The Commission dis-

- agreed,® designated the contract as “Agreement

No. 9903,” and published notice in the Federal Register

that it had been filed “for approval pursuant to Section

15 of the Shipping Act, 1916.” 35 F.R. 16114 (October

14, 1970). . .

_ Seatrain Lines, Inc. (“‘Seatrain”’), which asserted that it

was “considering entry” into the West Coast—Far East

and South Pacific trades, objected to the agreement and

requested a hearing (App. 35). PFEL and Oceanic op-

posed the request on the ground that Seatrain lacked the

Fequisite interest, preserving as well their basic position

that in any event the contract of sale “‘is not subject to

Section 15.” (App. 52, n. 1). The Commission found,

inter alia, that Seatrain’s protest was based on “mere

speculation,” rejected the demand for hearing and ap-

proved the agreement on October 27, 1970; on December

*The Commission divided on the issue. Commissioner Day

of the view that “the Commission is without jurisdiction

and merger] agreements.” See Agreement 9827

States Lines, Inc., and Sea-Land Service, Inc. et

P. 2, (F.M.C. Docket Nos. 69-56 and 70-51,

73.)

6

8, 1970 the Commission denied Seatrdin’s motion for

reconsideration (Pet. App. 51, 57).?

3. Proceedings in the Court of Appeals.

On February 8, 1971 Seatrain petitioned the court

below for direct review of the Commission’s order under

the Hobbs Act,’ which makes the United States a

respondent in such proceedings.'’ PFEL and Oceanic

intervened as respondents and thie Department of Justice

appeared for the United States in that action. These three

respondents contended, inter alia, that Section 15 of the

Shipping Act did “not clothe the Commission with

authority to approve and immunize from the antitrust

laws contracts for the sale of assets between ocean

catriers. | :

The District of Columbia Circuit agreed, following

Judge Garth’s similar holding in United States v. R. J.

Reynolds Tobacco Co., 325 F. Supp. 656 (D.N.J. 1971),

and distinguishing the contrary result reached by a

divided court in Matson Navigation Co. v. F.M.C., 405

F.2d 796 (9th Cir. 1968). In a decision rendered March

23, 1972, the court of appeals held that “both the

language and context of Section 15 itself and the

legislative history accompanying it demonstrate” that

such agreements are not covered by the section, 460 F.2d

°The contract of sale was also contingent on certain approvals

by the Maritime Administration of the Department of Commerce,

which were obtained. See, 12 Pike & Fischer Ship. Reg. Rep. 218

(Jan. 15, 1971). -

10Now 28 U.S.C. § §2341 ff.

1128 USC. §2344.

7

932, 934 (Pet. App. 20-21). The court below vacated the

Commission’s approval of Agreement No. 9903 and

directed the Commission to remove the agreement from

its docket (Pet. App. 50). The Commission then 'peti-

tioned this Court to review the D.C. Circuit’s decision,

raising only the question of its jurisdiction under Section

15 (Pet. 2); no cross-petitions were filed.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I.

Section 15 of the Shipping Act, 1916, exempts certain

kinds of agreements among carriers subject tg the statute

from judicial scrutiny under the antitrust laws if they

receive the prior approval of the Federal Maritime

Commission. 46 U.S.C. $814. Contracts for the sale of

one Ocean carrier’s assets to another are not among those

specified in Section 15 as requiring approval and entitled

fo such immunization. The court below correctly held

that the section contemplates only limited antitrust

exemption for ongoing cooperative working agreements

‘among competing ocean carriers which are amenable to

the supervision of the Commission and does not reach

_ permanent, one-time transactions, like the sale of one

catrier’s .fleet to another, which are difficult if not

impossible to unscramble at a later date.

_ The Commission’s principal attack upon the decision

below purports to be based on its reading of the “‘plain

Meaning” of Section 15. When analyzed, however, its real

‘@gument is that a ship sale contract or merger arrange-

Ment is one potentially “destroying competition” and

fore within Section 15 by implication. The lower

8

court’s rejection bor this so-called “‘plain meaning” ap-

proach is on very sound ground. Congress has taken the

identical language from Section 15 upon which the

Commission relies and used it in what is now the Federal

Aviation Act of 1958 in a manner confirming that it

refers only to ongoing working and pooling agreements

and not to asset acquisitions or mergers. See 49 U.S.C.

§§1378, 1382, and 1384. The Commission’s contrary

view does not merit judicial deference; it is of recent

vintage and by no means a contemporaneous administra-

tive construction. Indeed, Commission practice until

recent years has always been to refuse jurisdiction over

ship sale contracts unless they were coupled with some

form of ongoing anticompetitive working agreement

between the parties such as one to refrain from competi-

tion. The Commission’s position also flies in the face of

the accepted principle that repeal of the antitrust laws by

implication are not favored. This Court’s earlier decision

in Volkswagenwerk v. F.M.C., 390 U.S. 261 (1968), does

not require a contrary result. The question of merger

jurisdiction under Section 15 was not before the Court in

that case and the decision itself makes plain that not all

agreements which might be read into Section 15 are in

fact within that provision. :

The legislative history confirms the court of appeals’

reading of Section 15. The “Alexander Report” upon

which it was based was the result of a Congressional

investigation which sought not to immunize cohsplida-

tions and mergers, but rather to bring anticompetitive

working arrangements and conference agreements in the

shipping industry out into the open and under govert-

ment regulation 2s a.means, among other things, of

discouraging such mergers and consolidations.

9

IV,

The Commission’s reliance on a 1950 amendment to

Section 7 of the Clayton Act as confirming its jurisdic-

tion over asset acquisitions was properly rejected as a

bootstrap attempt to gain additional authority where

none was intended to be conveyed. See California vy.

Federal Power Commission, 369 U.S. 482, 486 (1962).

After more than 50 years of operation, because Shipping

Act and antitrust policies are not identical there is no

reason now why the Commission’s jurisdiction must be ex-

panded to cover mergers and acquisitions in order to

enable it to do its job properly. At all events, that policy

atgument should be addressed to the Congress, which we

note has declined to grant other regulatory agencies

authority to immunize asset acquisitions and mergers

from the antitrust laws (See ‘e.g. California v. Federal

Power Commission, supra, and, even where it has done

$0, has insisted upon the application of different stand-

ards to suchetransactions than govern anticompetitive

working agreements. E.g., 49 U.S.C. § §1378 and 1382.

ARGUMENT

THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY CON.

STRUED SECTION 15 OF THE SHIPPING ACT,

Under Section 15 of the Shipping Act, 1916, certain

agreements must have Commission approval to be lawful;

‘Such agreements when approved are excepted from the

Ae

aititrust laws. The provision directs there be filed for

Pus

>

10

Commission approval every agreement between parties

subject to the Act (46 U.S.C. §814):

[1] “fixing or regulating transportation rates or

fares”;

{2] “giving or receiving special rates, accommoda-

tions, or other special privileges or advantages’’;

{3] “controlling, regulating, preventing, or destroy-

ing competition” ;

[4] “pooling or apportioning earnings, losses, or

traffic”’;

[5] “allotting ports or restricting or otherwise

regulating the number and character of sailings

between ports”;

[6] “limiting or regulating in any way the volume

or character of freight or passenger traffic to be

: carried”’; or

[7] “in any manner providing for an exclusive,

preferential, or cooperative working arrange-

ment.”

The arrangements Congress made subject to Commis-

sion approval—and for which it authorized antitrust

exemption—are thus spelled out in detail in Section 15;

conspicuous by their omission are references to contracts

involving asset acquisitions, such as the sale of ships

involved here, and mergers. It is the substance of the

Commission’s position that these are included by implica-

tion. It contends that PFEL’s contract to acquire

Oceanic’s assets was an agreement which could “quite

literally” eliminate or prevent competition between those

ocean carriers and, therefore, Commission jurisdiction to

approve that contract—and to immunize it from the

antitrust laws—“‘must follow from the plain meaning of

the language of Section 15 [Item 3].” (Brief, p. 7).

Z

1]

The ‘court of appeals rejected that “plain meaning”

_, Stgument on the ground that Section 15 is directed at a

" discrete problem: the control of ongoing anticompetitive

working arrangements among water carriers amenable to

Commission supervision. The court held that single

transactions of a permanent nature such as the sale of all

assets—which would be difficult if not impossible to undo

or modify at a later datée!? —were not intended to be

governed by the Section and not entitled to receive

"antitrust immunity. The D.C. Circuit was led to this

conclusion by the structure of the Act, its legislative

history, and its understanding of the “fundamental

import” of the nation’s antitrust policies. We are in

complete accord with th peals’ position

rest of brevity,

nts. We address

THE “PLAIN MEANING” OF SECTION 15 DOES

NOT MAKE ASSET ACQUISITIONS OR MERGERS

SUBJECT TO THE COMMISSION’S JURISDICTION.

The Commission’s basic

meaning” of Section 15

acquisitions and me

it must, that “

boil down to the

the statutory |

ences

"S00, ¢.g., California v. Federal Power Commission, 369 US.

- 482, 488-489 (1962).

12

ling, regulating, preventing or destroying competition.”

(Clause [3], supra). The superficial appeal of this

argument does not withstand a close analysis. |

A. Congress has elsewhere used the language

the Commission relies on in a manner contrary

to the Commission’s understanding.

There are a number of persuasive reasons why that

“plain meaning” argument lacks merit, not the least of

which is that Congress used the very language the

Commission relies on as a model in other legislation

which makes it abundantly clear that the phrase in

question does not encompass asset acquisitions or mer-

gers. Title IV of the Civil Aeronautics Act of 1938,

re-enacted without substantive change as Title IV of the

Federal Aviation Act of 1958, 49 U.S.C. §§1371 et

seq.,'* provides for aif carrier regulation in a manner

parallel to that governing ocean carriers under the

Shipping Act, 1916. Section 412, now 49 US.C.

§1382,!* requires Civil Aeronautics Board approval of

13 See Pan American World Airways v. United States, 371 US.

296, 300-301 (1963), and H. R. Rep. No. 2360, 85th Cong., 2nd

Sess. (1958), 2 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 3741, 3755 (1958).

1 Section 412, 49 U.S.C. §1382, provides (emphasis added):

(a) Every air carrier shall file with the Board a true copy,

or, if oral, a true and complete memorandum, of every

contract or agreement (whether enforceable by provisions for

air

section or hereafter entered into, or any modification or

cancellation thereof, between such air carriers and any other

air carrier, foreign air carrier, or other carrier for pooling or

apportioning earnings, losses, traffic, service, or equipment,

or relating to the establishment of transportation rates, fares,

charges, or classifications, or for preserving and imp

safety, economy, and efficiency of operation, or for controt-

13

specified anticompetitive arrangements between air car-.

fiers and was explicitly modelled on Section 15 of the

Shipping Act. McManus v. C.A.B., 286 F.2d 414, 419

(D.C. Cir. 1961), certiorari denied, 366 U.S. 928.'5 In

language virtually identical to that of Section 15 of the

Shipping Act, 1916, which the Commission relies on here,

Section 412 requires air carriers to file for Board approval

“every contract or agreement {among air carriers] . . . con-

trolling, regulating, preventing or otherwise eliminating

destructive, oppressive or wasteful competition, * * *,”

As is the case with the Shipping Act, Board approval of

such agreements carries with it immunity from the

antitrust laws. 49 U.S.C. § 1384.

Congress did not, however, intend the quoted language

of Section 412 to apply to transactions in the nature of

asset acquisitions or mergers. Rather, it provided ex pli-

citly for such transactions in an entirely separate provi-

sion of the same Act, Section 408, now 49 U.S.C.

(footnote 14 continued)

ling, regulating, preventing, or otherwise eliminating destruc-

tive, , Or wasteful competition, or for regulating

stops, schedules, and character of service, or for other

cooperative working arrangements.

_ by it, that it finds to be adverse

_ Violation of this chapter, and

find to be adverse to the public

interest, or in violation of this chapter; except that the Board

_ Carrier not

flee, aloo, ATC Agency Resolution investigation, 29 CAB.

: 259, 307 (1959), the underlying Board decision.

14

§1378.'® See Pan American Airways V. United States,

371 U.S. 296, 301-304 (1963). Section 408—which has

no Shipping Act counterpart—provides in pertinent part

that: “‘(a) it shall be unlawful unless approved by orderof

the Board as provided in this section— * * * (2) For any

air carrier... to purchase, lease or contract to operate

the properties, or any substantial part thereof, of any air

16 Section 408, 49 U.S.C. §1378, provides in pertinent part:

(a) it shall be unlawful unless approved by order of the

Board as provided in this section—

(1) For two or more air carriers, or for any air carrier

and any other common carrier or any person engaged in

any other phase of aeronautics, to consolidate or merge

their properties, or any part thereof, into one person for

the ownership, management, or operation of the proper-

ties theretofore in separate ownerships,

(2) For any air carrier, any person controlling an air

carrier, any other common carrier, or any person engaged

in any other phase of aeronautics, to purchase, lease, or

contract to operate the properties, or any substantial part

thereof, of any air carrier; . . . .

(b) Any person seeking approval of a consolidation,

merger, purchase, lease, operating contract, or acquisition of

control, specified in subsection (a) of this section, shall

peered my wo to the Board,.... Unless, after...

the finds that the consolidation, merger, |

purchase, lease, operating contract, or acquisition of control |

will not be consistent with the public interest or that the

conditions of this section will not be fulfilled, it shall by

order approve such consolidation, merger, purchase, lease,

operating contract, or acquisition of control, upon Si

terms and conditions as it find to be just and reasonable

and with such modifications as it may prescribe Provided,

That the Board shall not approve any consolidation, merger,

purchase, lease, operating contract, or acquisition of ton

which would result in creating a monopoly or mono

and thereby restrain or dize another ait

carrier not a party to the consolidation, merger, purchase,

i

:

&

g

B68

:

15

carrier, * * *.” If the language in Section 412 taken from

_ Section 15 of the Shipping Act, relating to filing and

_ approval of agreements “controlling, regulating, preven-

ting or otherwise eliminating... competition,” was

meant to embrace asset acquisitions and mergers, ‘then

Sections 408 would be surplusage. '!7 This is a result not

lightly attributed to Congress. Rockbridge v. Lincoin,

449 F.2d 567, 571 (9th Cir. 1971).

We recognize that the ‘actions of a later Congress are

not necessarily controlling respecting the intentions of an

earlier one. The Civil Aeronautics and Shipping Acts,

however, represent legislative attempts to resolve compar-

"'The Commission attempts to distinguish the separate provisions

in the Civil Aeronautics Act, treating acquisitions differently than

misplaced: (1) the question was not before the Board in Marquette,

(2) the Board quoted only Section 408 (ie., the merger section)

language as the basis for its substantive jurisdiction over the

American World Airways v. United States, 371 U.S. 296, 304

(1963). Moreover, the Commission makes no attempt to explain

why Congress would want the same acquisition of assets transac-

tion covered by two separate provisions of the Act each applying

different standards for approval. Compare Section 408(b), 49

USCC. §1378(b), which directs that the Board “shall not approve

MY consolidation, merger, purchase [etc.] . . . which would result

Which provides that “the Board shall by order disapprove any such

‘GOiitract or agreement . . . that it finds to be adverse to the public

or in violation of this chapter, . . . .”

16

able problems facing related industries. In this context it

is appropriate to consider subsequent legislation in

interpreting related prior enactments. Great Northern R.

Co. v. United States, 315 U.S. 262, 277 (1942). Congress

used Section 15’s language in the Civil Aeronautics Act in

a manner directly inconsistent with the Commission’s

reading of that same language. At the very least, this

makes dubious the “plain meaning” of Section 15 which

the Commission here urges on the Court.

B. The Commission’s discovery of the “plain meaning”

of Section 15 of the Shipping Act, 1916, is very

recent and merits no judicial deference.

Nor is this a case where deference should be accorded

an agency’s reading of its own enabling legislation

because its administrators participated in the drafting and

directly made their views known to Congress in the

committee hearings. On the contrary, as the Court

observed in Zuber v. Allen, 396 U.S. 168, 193 (1969),

“{t]hese props that serve to support a disputable

administrative construction are absent here.”

Far from being a “contemporancous construction,”

the Commission’s perception of the “plain meaning” of

Section 15 is of recent origin. Sales of ships are common .

in the maritime industry. Yet, until this case, to the best

of our knowledge of Commission practice extending back

more than 40 years, the Commission did not require

approval of such agreements where. they did not limit

competition between the parties.'* The absence of a

18 Until the recent cases, all the reported Commission decisions

involved some restrictive arrangement in addition to the ship sales.

See New York and Porto Rico SS Co.—Waterman SS Corp.

Agreement, 2 USMC 453 (1940) (sale of good will and agreement

17

jurisdictional claim over agreements of this type is

~ especially significant. If they are within Section 15, they

_ Must immediately be filed with the Commission for a

-. failure to file would itself violate Section 15, Volks-

wagenwerk v. F.M.C., 390 U.S. 261 (1968), a violation

‘the Commission could proceed against on its own

motion. United States Navigation Co. v. Cunard SS Co.,

— 284 US. 474, 484, 486 (1932).'® The Commission’s half

century of silence in the fate of innumerable unfiled asset

“aequisition agreements confirms that its jurisdiction over

‘ship sales contracts like the one at bar is far from “plain”

under Section 15.'*

not to compete for ten years); Agreements 8745 and 8745-1,

_ Purchase of Vessels “Alicia” and “Dorothy”, 7 FMC 199 (1962)

(Gale of two vessels and agreement not to compete for one year);

_ Agreement No. 8555 between Isbrandtsen Steamship, Inc.,

&brandtsen Co., Inc., and American Export Lines, Inc., 7 FMC 125

_ (1962) (sale of entire business including 14 vessels and agreement

~ not to compete); Agreement for Consolidation or Merger Between

Mail Line, Ltd., American President Lines Ltd., and

Pacific Far East Line, Inc., 11 FMC 53 (1967) (merger agreement

_ among competing carriers), rev’d on other grounds, Matson

_ Navigation Co. v. FMC, 405 F.2d 796 (9th Cir. 1968);

United States Lines, Inc. and Sea-Land Service, Inc. (and Walter

- Kidde & Co., Inc., and R. J. Reynolds Tobacco Co., Guarantors),

_ ii Pike & Fischer Ship. Reg. Rep. 759 ( 1970) (20 year charter of

16 vessels between competing carriers); cf., Agreement No.

- 9810—Prudential Lines and Grace Line, 1\ Pike & Fischer, Ship.

~ Reg. < 284 (1969) (merger agreement between non-competing

Carriers).

a See also, Unapproved Section 15 Agreements—South African

7 FMC. 159, 190-92 (1962); Unapproved Section 15

—Coal to Japan/Korea, 7 FMC. 295, 302 (1962).

Moreover, Section 15 applies with equal force to transactions

ween foreign-flag carriers which serve the United States. Alleged

Wate of Mitsui S.S. Co., 7 F.M.C. 248, 253 (1962); Armament

S.A. v. United States, 399 F.2d 794 (Sth Cir. 1968), \

18

C. Acceptance of the Commission’s construction

of Section 15 would repeal the

antitrust laws by implication.

_ Another sound reason why the Commission’s “plain

meaning” approach to Section 15 was properly rejected

by the court below is the substantive result its acceptance

would engender. To hold that the Commission has

jurisdiction over asset acquisitions or mergers is to decide

that Congress intended to grant antitrust immunity to

transactions not otherwise exempt. Federal Maritime

Commission v. Svenska Amerika Linien, 390 U.S. 238,

242-243 (1968). The Court’s decisions have long taught,

however, that a congressional purpose to grant such

immunity must be explicit. E.g., United States v. Borden

Co., 308 U.S. 188, 201 (1939). This is judicial

recognition of the “fundamental” role which the anti-

trust laws play in our economy, Carnation Co. v. Pacific

Westbound Conference, 383-U.S. 213, 219 (1966), and it

requires that exemptions from the antitrust laws be

strictly construed. United States v. McKesson & Robbins,

351 U.S. 305, 316 (1956).

This Court has explored the limits of Section 15

before. In so doing it has taken note of the fact that “(t]he

Congress which enacted the Shipping Act was not hostile

to antitrust regulation. On the contrary, the Shipping Act

was the end product of an extensive investigation of the

shipping industry that was conducted by the Congress

certiorari denied, 393 U.S. 1094. Ship sales and mergers are at least

as common among foreign carriers as domestic. The Commission

however, expressly disclaims Section 15 jurisdiction over mergers

between foreign-flag carriers but relies on the identical provision to

assert authority over foreign-flag agreements and sailing

arrangements. Compare Merger,—American Mail Line and Pacific

Far East Line, 11 F.M.C. 53, 57 (1967) with City of Portland,

Oregon v. FMC, 433 F.2d 502 (D.C. Cir. 1970). -

which enacted the Clayton Act.” Carnation Co. y. Pacific

_ Westbound Conference, supra, 383 U.S. at 218 (1966).

And with respect to the extent to which industry

transactions were to be excepted from the Sherman and

Clayton Acts, the Court concluded that (/d. at 218+220):

... the §15 exemption clearly demonstrates that

those who drafted the Shipping Act during the next

Congress decided not to give the industry complete

«” antitrust immunity. ‘Since the problem of the

“ application of the antitrust laws to the shipping

industry was one of the focal points of the entire

inquiry, the exemption provision could not have

been a casual afterthought. The language of that

provision must -have been selected as a matter of

deliberate choice... .

With all deference to the Commission, we submit that

_ the “Congress which enacted the Clayton Act” and

selected ‘“‘the language of [Section 15] as a matter of

deliberate choice,” was unlikely to endow a new admini-

strative agency with unprecedented authority to exempt

_ acquisition agreements and mergers from the antitrust

laws as “a casual afterthought”, ie., by implication

without express mention in the statute. In the circum-

stances, the court of appeals drew the correct conclusion:

“on the face of the Statute, the language of Section

15 does not vest the Commission with jurisdiction over

the type of agreement here at issue—the acquisition of all

the assets of one common carrier by water by another

Common carrier.” 460 F.2d at 938.20

_ ?°We fail to follow the Commission’s reasoning in attempting to

af the positions of the Interstate Commerce Commission

aad the Civil Aeronautics Board, which have jurisdiction over asset

- Sequisitions and mergers. (Brief, pp. 16-17). As this Court’s

‘decisions have repeatedly noted, each of those agencies derives that

from express statutory grants. See, e.g., Hughes Tool Co.

20

D. Volkswagenwerk vy. F.M.C. does not compel

acceptance of the Commission’s understanding

of the reach of Section 15.

The Commission’s conception of Section 15 appar-

ently stems from a belief that it is compelled by the

Court’s decision in Volkswagenwerk v. F.M.C., 390 US.

261 (1968).24 We respectfully suggest that this is not the

case. To begin with, whether asset acquisitions and

mergers were within the Commission’s jurisdiction under

Section 15 was neither an issue in nor decided by

Volkswagenwerk. That case held an agreement among

parties subject to the Shipping Act assessing contribu-

tions for a Fund to mitigate the effects of automation on

employees was subject to the Commission’s approval

under Section 15. The Commission itself had conceded in

its own decision, however, that the procedure decided

upon by the affected parties for raising the Fund was “a

cooperative working arrangement” within the express

language of Section 15 (390 U.S. at 271), but had

declined jurisdiction on the extra-statutory ground that

the arrangement did not “affect competition” (id. at

273). It was this conclusion by the Commission that the

Court held “does not square with the structure of the

statute.” (id. at 275).

y. Trans World Air Lines, Inc.,__ U.S. ____, 34 L. Ed. 2d 577,

582 (1972), and Pan American World Airways v. United States,

supra, (C.A.B.); Denver & R.G.W. R.R. Co. v. United States, 387

US. 485, 913 (1967) (1.C.C.).

21 4 similar conclusion was reached by the majority in Matson

Navigation Company v. F.M.C., 405 F.2d 796 (9th Cir. 1968), but

rejected by the dissenting judge (id. at 802), by the district court in

United States v. R. J. Reynolds Tobacco Company, 325 F. Supp.

656, 661 (D.N.J. 1971), and by the court below, 460 F. Supp. at

957.

21

To be sure, this Court did say in Volkswagenwerk that

the Commission had taken “‘an extremely narrow view of

a statute that uses expansive language.” (390 U.S. at

273). But that statement is to be understood in relation-

ship to the argument advanced by the Commission in, that

case that it could limit its jurisdiction over subject matter

Congress explicitly made subject to its authority in the

Act. It does not follow, however, that because the

Commission was off course in Volkswagenwerk a 180

degree turn was required. The Court itself recognized

- in that case that not all agreements which conceivably

could be read as within Section 15 are in fact embraced

by the provision. Thus the Court took pains in the

Volkswagenwerk decision to disassociate itself from any

suggestion that collective bargaining agreements in the

‘Maritime industry might be subject to the Commission’s

jurisdiction under Section 15, stating (390 U. S. at 278):

- Those agreements, reflecting the national labor

_ policy of free collective bargaining by representa- ©

tives of the parties’ own unfettered choice, fall in an

area of concern to the National Labor Relations

Board, and nothing we have said in this opinion is to

be understood as questioning their continuing

_ validity.??

An agreement subject to Section 15 and not filed for

Commission approval would, of course, be invalid.

Carnation Co. v. Pacific Westbound Conference, 383 U.S.

213 (1966).

_ The Commission, however, still insists it has Section 15

~ Sptisdiction over collective bargaining agreements at least to some

és . See Boston Shipping Assn. v. United States, _-~ F.2d__

4 & Fischer Ship. Reg. Rep. 20,828 (ist Cir. 1972); or on

temand to the Commission sub nom. United Stevedoring Corp. v.

Boston Shipping Assn., 13 Pike & Fisher Ship. Reg. Rep. 257

. 1972).

22

Asset acquisitions and mergers are on a similar footing,

Like the relations between. management and labor, they

involve basic national policies transcending the interests

of any single industry. See, Carnation Co. y. Pacific

Westbound Conference, supra; United States v. Phila-

delphiq National Bank, 374 U.S. 321 (1963); United

States v. McKesson & Robbins, supra; Schroegmann Bros,

v. Calvert Corp., 341 U.S. 384 (1951); United States y,

Borden Co., supra. Particularly in light of the Court’s

observations in Carnation Co. that the Congressional

draftsmen of Section 15 only “wanted to give the

shipping industry a limited antitrust exemption” (383

U.S. at 219-20), the court below very properly declined

to construe Volkswagenwerk as abandoning, sub silentio,

the carefully considered position which this Court

reiterated in the cases cited against implying exceptions

to the antitrust laws. Whether asset acquisitions or

mergers fall within Section 15 was simply not before this

Court in Volkswagenwerk. Not unexpectedly, the Court

made no attempt to discuss—much less distinguish—the

relevant cases and the fundamental antitrust principles

for which they stand.

In short, we submit that the language of Section 15

relied on by the Commission can not fairly be understood

to cover asset acquisitions and mergers. Even assuming ©

arguendo that the words can be stretched to cover the

Commission’s reading of them, “i]t is a ‘familiar rule, that

a thing may be within the letter of the statute and yet

not within the statute, because not within its spirit, nor

within the intention of its makers’.”” Woodwork Manu-

facturers Assoc. v. N.L.R.B., 386 U.S. 612, 619 (1967),

quoting Holy Trinity Church y. United States, 143 U.S.

457, 459 (1892). As we now show, the court below was

equally correct in concluding that the legislative history

of Section 15 does not support the Commission’s

position.

23

THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF SECTION 15

CONFIRMS THAT IT WAS DIRECTED AT REG-

ULARIZING ONGOING ANTICOMPETITIVE

AGREEMENTS IN THE SHIPPING INDUSTRY —

AND NOT IMMUNIZING ASSET ACQUISITIONS

OR CONSOLIDATIONS.

, The legislative history of ‘Section 15 does not support

the*contention that the provision was intended to give

the Commission jurisdiction over ship acquisitions or

consolidations of lines. The Court has previously noted

that “*[t] he genesis of the Shipping Act was the ‘Alexan-

der Report’?? in 1914,” and that the Act was intended to

catry out the recommendations of that Report.”* Pre-

pared under the supervision of Congressman J.W. Alexan-

der, then chairman of the House Committee on Merchant

Marine afid Fisheries, it encompassed the results of an

“exhaustive inquiry” into anticompetitive practices

prevalent in the maritime industry at the time. The

hearings were far-ranging, but the Committee’s focus of

interest is clearly illustrated its “Recommendations

Relating to Water Carriers Engaged in the Foreign

Trade,” (Alexander Report, p. 415 et seq., and repro-

duced in its entirety as an appendix to this brief, infra,

pp. la-10a):

23 House Committee on Merchant Marine and Fisheries, Report

on Steamship Agreements and Affiliations in the American Foreign

and Domestic Trade, H. R. Doc. No. 605, 63rd Cong., 2nd Sess.,

Vol_4 (1914) [hereinafter referred to as the Alexander Report] .

24 Federal Maritime Board v. Isbrandtsen Co., 356 US. 481

488 (1958); Carnation Co. v. Pacific Westbound Conference, supra,

a at 218-220; Volkswagenwerk v. F.M.C., supra, 390 U.S.

24

The facts contained in the foregoing report show

that it is the almost universal practice for steamship

lines engaging in the American foreign trade to

operate, both on the in-bound and out-bound

voyages, under the terms of written agreements,

conference arrangements or gentlemen’s understand-

ings, which have for their principal purpose the

regulation of competition through either (1) the

fixing or regulation of rates, (2) the apportionment

of traffic by allotting the ports of sailing, restricting

the number of sailings, or limiting the volume of

freight which certain lines may carry, (3) the

pooling of earnings from all or a portion of the

traffic, or (4) meeting the competition of non-

conference lines, Eighty such agreements or under-

standings, involving practically all the regular steam-

ship lines operating on nearly every American

foreign trade route, are described in the foregoing

report. (For a full classification of these agreements

see pp. 281 to 295 of the report.) The report also

presents the economic advantages and disadvantages

of steamship agreements and conference arrange-

ments as presented to the Committee by steamship

line representatives and the exporting and importing

interests of the United States. (For a full classifica-

tion of the advantages and disadvantages see pp. 295

to 307 of the foregoing report.)

It was against this background of largely secret

anticompetitive conference arrangements among the lines

which were “almost universal practice” that the Com-

mittee framed its proposals (Alexander Report 415-416):

In formulating its recommendations it became

apparent to the Committee, in view of all the facts

presented, that only two courses of action were

open for adoption. Either the agreements and

understandings, now so universally used, may be

25

prohibited with a view to attempting the restoration

of unrestricted competition, or the same may be

recognized along lines which would eliminate exist-

ing abuses.

After describing the claimed advantages of the system

as it operated under those agreements—regularity and

frequency of service, stability and uniformity of rates,

economy in the cost of service, better distribution of

‘sailings, rate parity and equal treatment of shippers—the

Committee decided in favor of allowing them to continue

under government supervision (Alexander Report at 416,

emphasis added): '

These advantages, the Committee believes, can be

secured only by permitting the several lines in any

given trade to cooperate through some form of rate

and pooling arrangement under Government super-

vision and control. It is the view of the Committee

that open competition can not be assured for any

length of time by ordering existing agreements

terminated, The entire history of steamship agree-

ments shows that in ocean commerce there is no

happy medium between war and peace when several

lines engage in the same trade. Most of the numer-

ous agreements and conference arrangements dis-

cussed in the foregoing report were the outcome of

rate wars, and represent a truce between the

contending lines. To terminate existing arrange-

ments would necessarily bring about one of two

results: the lines would either engage in rate wars

.. which would mean the elimination of the weak and

the survival of the strong, or, to avoid a costly

_ struggle, they would consolidate through common

“ownership. Neither result can be prevented by

’ Iegislation, and either would mean a monopoly fully

as effective, and it is believed more so, than can

_ €xist by virtue of an agreement.

26

The Alexander Committee was focusing on the prob-

lems inherent in ongoing arrangements among inde-

pendent steamship companies. It recognized that circum-

stances did not justify a flat prohibition against such

arrangements, for it appreciated that the result would be

consolidation and merger of the existing lines. This, in

the Committee’s view, was an even more undesirable evil.

One of the purposes of the Committee was to discourage

the trend to such consolidations by authorizing and

regularizing conference agreements which shielded the

weaker ‘lines. Alexander Report, p. 301. The Committee's

solution, adopted by the Congress, was to make the

conferences open and public and the restrictive agree-

ments subject to government approval and supervision.”

See Carnation Co. v. Pacific Westbound Conference,

US. at 219.

below property conciided that Congress’

the Shigping Act, 1916, was “to

miptaum cuticompetitive behavior

Hl:

Th

:

it

supervisio

anticempetitive arrangements”. (460 F.2d at

27

post ee ee ee |

Or

no basis to read into Section 15 of the Act any implied

intention on Congress’ part to cover such agreements;

they were not part of the problem. As for consolidations

and mergers, as noted the Committee was attempting to

discourage, not immunize, them. It had no reason to

author a means by which they could be protected from

the reach of the antitrust laws.

. “To be sure, the Committee did receive some data

lating to consolidations among the lines. However,

these were significant only in domestic commerce, not in

the foreign trades. The Committee’s own summaries of

the anticompetitive practices it uncovered lists “control

through acquisitions” only as a problem with respect to

water carriers in the domestic trade (Alexander Report,

p. 409), but makes no mention of any ‘similar problem

respecting the lines in American Foreign Trade (Alexan-

der Report, pp. 281-314). Not unexpectedly, the

_ Alexander Report made no recommendations regarding

ship acquisitions or mergers in the foreign trades but did

as to the domestic trades, limited, however, to pro-

scribing railroad acquisitions of interstate barge lines.

Alexander Report, p. 424.2© Given the Committee’s very

limited recommendations respecting consolidations of

domestic water carriers where such mergers were a

problem, it simply does not follow that the Committee

4

~- 26“Recommendation Relating to Water Carriers Engaged in the

senate Trade. ...(12) That all interstate traffic on canals be

: placed under the supervision of the Interstate Commerce Commis-

fon; and that the railroads be prohibited in the future from

quiring, either directly or indirectly ownership and control of or

st in canals, or water lines, forwarding companies and other

gationa facilities on such canals, when the same are used in

tstate transportation.

28

wanted to vest blanket jurisdiction over these matters in

the Commission respecting the foreign trades where they

were not a problem and unmentioned in its “Recom-

mendations.” The excerpts from the Report cited by the

Commission are not to the contrary.”’

The conclusion that Congress did not intend to

provide, sub silentio, for the antitrust immunization of*

acquisitions and mergers in enacting Section 15 is further

supported by the terms used in the Alexander Report.

For example, the Committee carefully distinguished

among “(1) control through: the acquisition of water lines

or the ownership or accessories to the lines; (2) control

through agreements or understandings; and (3) control

through special practices.” Alexander Report at 409. As

the court of appeals noted (460 F.2d at 939), term

“agreement” was not used in the Report to refer to asset

acquisitions or consolidations.”®

Moreover, it is to be recalled that the 62nd Congress,

which authorized Chairman Alexander’s investigation

into the shipping industry in 1912, was the same one

which enacted the Panama Canal Act later that year.

27The material quoted by the Commission at the bottom of

Witnesses for Proposed Legislation.” Alexander Report, p. 307.

Examination of the full quotation in context also makes clear that

the witnesses were concerned with the “regulation of rates” and

“conditions of water transportation,” not ship acquisitions or

mergers. Jd. at 308.

29

Among other provisions, that Act amended the Interstate

Commerce Act to make unlawful the control by railroads

of common carriers by water using the Canal. 49 U.S.C.

$5(14). And the Congress to which the Alexander

Report was submitted in 1914 enacted the Clayton Act.

Section 7 of that Act, as the court of appeals observed,

“speaks in terms of the ‘acquisition by one corporation

of the [whole or any part of the] stock of another’ and is

directed at controlling corporate mergers.” 460 F.2d at

‘937. The draftsmen of the Shipping Act were thus well

aware of statutory language to preclude corporate con-

solidations. In the circumstances, the court below rightly

concluded that (460 F.2d at 937, footnote omitted):

It is highly unlikely, in view of this specific

statutory treatment by Congress of the antitrust

implications of acquisitions of corporate control,

that Congress originally intended to exempt such

acquisitions under Section 15 of the Shipping Act

__ by making no specific reference to them but simply

_by including them under the rubric “agreement.”

_ On the contrary, the silence of Congress in Section

15 with respect to the subject of acquisition of

control or ownership can only be taken to mean

_. that Congress had no intention by the Shipping Act

- of 1916 to exempt such arrangements from the

_ Rormal administration of the antitrust laws. The

__ Federal Maritime Commission’s attempt to derive a

_ contrary affirmative intent on the part of Congress

_ from its silence is not a favored method of statutory

_ interpretation.

__ Because the court of appeals’ opinion delves fully into

the legislative history of Section 15, we have limited our

Own recapitulation to certain salient points. The estab-

hent of negative proposition, however, i.e., what

ess did not intend in enacting Section 15 over half a

30

century ago, is a difficult task. Congressional committee

reports are normally drafted in terms of their positive

goals and the Alexander Report is no exception. Reading

excerpted passages does not always convey fully the

direction of the authors’ concerns. For this reason we

have appended to this brief the entire section of the

Report containing the “Recommendations of the Cgm-

mittee.” (/nfra,. pp. 1a-10a). We respectfully submit that

even a cursory review of that section will confirm that

the Congressional authors of the Shipping Act did not

intend to convey the jurisdiction over ship sales, asset

acquisitions and mergers which the Commission here

claims.

IV.

NEITHER POST ENACTMENT LEGISLATIVE

ACTIONS NOR POLICY CONSIDERATIONS SUP-

PORT THE COMMISSION’S POSITION,

1. As it did in the court below, the Commission again

asserts “‘post enactment consideration of Section 15 by

Congress” supports its claimed authority over asset

acquisitions and mergers in the shipping industry (Brief,

p. 38). In particular, it relies on a 1950 amendment to.

Section 7 of the Clayton Act?? expanding the scope of

that Section to include asset acquisitions but exempting

from its application transactions authorized by several

agencies, including one of the Commission’s predecessors.

The Commission urges that this confirmed its merger

jurisdiction under Section 15.

29 act of December 29, 1950, c. 1184, 64 Stat. 1125-26, 15

USC. §18. .

31

“ The court below properly rejected the contention as

no more than a “bootstrap attempt” to gain additional

authority. As the court of appeals stated (460 F.2d at

941-942), the Commission was added to the list only as

the result of its own request which acknowledged. that

the legislative proposal in question did not purport to

affect any pre-existing authority. The correctness of that

acknowledgement was promptly confirmed in the Senate

geport on the measure.*° We note that a similar argument

was rejected in California v. Federal Power Commission,

369 U.S. 482, 486 (1962):

’ The words “transactions duly consummated pur-

suant to authority” given the Commission “under

“any statutory provision vesting such power” in it are

plainly not a grant of power to adjudicate antitrust

issues. Congress made clear that by this proviso in

§7 of the Clayton Act “...it is not intended

_ that... any... agency” mentioned “shall be grant-

_.ed any authority or powers which it does not

_ already possess.” S.Rep.No. 1775, 81st Cong. 2d

~ Sess., p. 7.

In short, here as in Rainwater.v. United States, 356

US. 540, 543 (1958), “at most the... amendment is

Merely an expression of how the. . . Congress interpreted

@ statute passed by another Congress... half a century

: nae, No. 1775, 81st Cong., 2d Sess. 7 (1950), 2 U.S. Code

mmission, or, for that matter, any other agency included

ae calnancy, shall be granted any authority or powers

it does not already possess. [Emphasis added] .

32

before. Under these circumstances such interpretation has

very little, if any, significance.”

2. Finally, the Commission’s brief urges that antitrust

and Shipping Act standards respecting asset acquisitions

and mergers are not the same and therefore “Commission

expertise must be called upon to reconcile the conflicting

national policies.” (Brief, p. 43). The extent of the

Commission’s “expertise” in this troublesome area is, te

say the least, a matter of some debate even among the

Commissioners.*' Be that as it may, however, policy

arguments of this sort are properly addressed to the

Congress. Without immobilizing the industries concerned,

31 By a 3 to 2 vote on February 12, 1973 the Commission

33

that body in its judgment has declined to grant other

regulatory agencies authority to immunize transactions of

this nature from the antitrust laws.*? And even where it

has granted this authority to agencies regulating other

modes of transportation, it has insisted that asset

acquisitions and mergers meet different standards for

‘approval than ongoing cooperative working arrangements

between: competitors.*? We respectfully suggest that the

Commission’s contentions regarding the appropriate

‘manner for handling these problems are being presented

before the wrong forum.*

32 See, e.g, California v. Federal Power Commission, supra, 369

US. at 485-487.

- 33See, e.g., the Sadeenl Aviation Act of 1958, discussed supra,

~ note 17 on page 15, supra.

_**PFEL and Oceanic have not briefed the issue whether the

~Commission’s approval of the contract of sale should be affirmed

Section 15, the issue not being presented here as no

raising it was filed. Alaska Industrial Board v.

gach Assn., 356 U.S. 320, 325 (1958). Should the Court reach

‘ewe nonetheless, respondents believe the Commission’s order

i be affirmed and respectfully request opportunity to address

34

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the judgment of the court of

appeals should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

ODELL KOMINERS .”

RICHARD S. SALZMAN

Attorneys for Respondents

Pacific Far East Line, Inc.,

and The Oceanic Steamship

Company.

KOMINERS, FORT, SCHLEFER & BOYER

Of Counsel.

February 26, 1973

la

APPENDIX

ALEXANDER REPORT, pp. 415-424

“Recommendations of the Committee”

_ The resolution (H. R. 587) under which the Committee has been

investigating shipping combinations directs the Committee “ to report

to the House all facts disclosed by said investigation, and what leg-

islation, if any, it deems advisable in relation thereto.” In compli-

ance with the directions of the resolution relating to legislation, the

Committee submits the following recommendations:

RECOMMENDATIONS RELATING TO WATER CARRIERS ENGAGED

IN THE FOREIGN TRADE.

_ The facts contained in the foregoing report show that it is the

~lmost universal practice for steamship lines engaging in the

American foreign trade to operate, both on the in-bound and out-

bound voyages, under the terms of written agreements, conference

arrangements or gentlemen’s understandings, which have for their

principal purpose the regulation of competition through either (1)

the fixing or regulation of rates, (2) the apportionment of traffic by

allotting the ports of sailing, restricting the number of sailings, or

limiting the volume of freight which certain lines may carry, (3)

the pooling of earnings from all or a portion of the traffic, or (4)

meeting the competition of non-conference lines. Eighty such agree-

‘ments or understandings, involving practically all the regular

.tteamship lines operating on nearly every American forcign trade

route, are described in the foregoing report. (For a full classifi-

cation of these agreements see pp. 281 to 295 of the report.) The

report also presents the economic advantages and disadvantages of

steamship agreements and conference arrangements as prescntéd

to the Committee by steamship line representatives and the exporting

and importing interests of the United States. (For a full classifi-

cation of the advantages and disadvantages see pp. 295 to 307 of the

foregoing report.)

In formulating its recommendations it became apparent to the

- Committee, in view of all the facts presented, that only two courses

of setion were open for adoption. Either the agreements and under-

“anc now so universally used, may be prohibited with a view

y attempting the restoration of unrestricted competition, or the

Ds may be recognized along lines which would eliminate existing

2a

416° REOOMMENDATIONS OF THE COMMITTER.

disadvantages and abuses. It isclaimed that the adoption of the first

courso—the prohibition of cooperative arrangements between practi-

cally all the lines in nearly all the divisions of our foreign trade—

would not only involve a wholesale disturbance of existing conditions

in the shipping business but would deprive American exporters and

importers of the advantages claimed as resulting from agreements

and conferences if honestly and fairly conducted, such as greater

regularity and frequency of service, stability and uniformity of raits,

economy in the cost of service, better distribution of sailings, mainte-

nance of American and European rates to foreign markets on a

parity, and equal treatment of shippers through the elimination of

secret arrangements and underhanded methods of discrimination.

(A classifieation of the advantages claimed as resulting from the

aforementioned factors is presented on pp. 295 to 308 of the fore-

going report.)

These advantages, the Committee believes, can be secured only by

permitting the several lines in any given trade to cooperate through

some form of rate and pooling arrangement under Government

supervision and control. It is the view of the Committee that open

competition can not be assured for any length of time by ordering

existing agreements terminated. The entire history of steamship

agreements shows that in ocean commerce there is no happy medium

between war and pence when several lines engage in the same trade.

Most of the numerous agreements and conference arrangements

discussed in the foregoing report were the outcome of rate wars,

and represent « truce between the contending lines. To terminate

existing agreements would necessarily bring about one of two re -

sults: the lines would either engage in rate wars which would mean

the elimination of thé weak and the survival of the strong, or, to

avoid a costly struggle, they would consolidate through common

ownership. Neither result can be prevented by legislation, and

either would mean « monopoly fully as effective, and it is believed

more so, than can exist by virtue of an agreement. . Moreover, steam-

ship agreements and conferences are not confined to the lines en-

gaging in the foreign trade of the United States, They are os uni-

yorsally used in the foreign trade of other countries as in our own.

The merchants of these countries now enjoy the foregoing advantages

of cooperative arrangements, and to restore open and cutthrost

competition among the lines serving the United States would plece

a

3a

RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE COMMITTEE. 417

eon exporters at a disadvantage in many markets as com-

with their foreign competitors.

~~ ‘Steamship line representatives, as well as the tec of the lines,

were almost a unit in emphasizing to the Committce the importance

and necessity of the aforementioned advantages of agreements and

conferences, and in asserting that these advantages can only be

flected by permitting the several lines in a given trade to cooperate

-« fm the regulation of their rates and the expeditious handling of their

business. Very few of the mafy exporters and importers, who com-

‘municated with the Committee, were opposed to agreements and con-

‘ferences in themselves, provided they are fairly and hdnestly con-

ducted. Many, however, objected to the secrecy with which agree-

ments and conferences are now conducted; and stated that, while the

advantages must be admitted, they have no assurance and no means

ot knowing whether the conditions claimed for agreements and con-.

ferences are always fulfilled. A considerable number of complaints

were also filed with the Committee objecting to excessive rates, dis-

erimination between shippers in rates and cargo space, indifference

to the landing of freight in proper condition, arbitrariness in the

_ ‘gettlement of just claims, failure to give due notice to shippers

when rates were to be increased, refusal to properly adjust rates as

between various classes of commodities, and the unfairness of certain

* methods—such as fighting ships, deferred rebates, and threats to re-

fuse shipping accommodations—used by some ‘conference lines to

meet the competition of nonconference lines. Unfortunately the

truth of many of these complaints could not be ascertained because

of the confidential nature of the information furnished. As pointed

out in the report (p. 306), it seemed to be the general impression

‘among shippers who filed complaints with the Committee that the

es conference lines—

‘0 completely dominate the shippers with whom they dcal that these shippers

% ‘qn not afford, for fear of retaliation, to place themselves in a position of active

i Matagonism to the lines by openly giving particulars of their grievances.

oe » While admitting their many advantages, the Committee is not dis-

peed to recognize steamship agreements and conferences, unless the

e are brought under some form of effective government super-

on. To permit such agrcements without government supervision

mean giving the parties thereto unrestricted right of action.

- 28655°—vor 4—14——27

4a

418 RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE COMMITTER, —

Abuses exist, and the numerous complaints received by the Com.

mittee show that they must be recognized. In nearly all the trade

routes to and from the United States the conference lines have vir-

tually s monopoly of the line service.

All monopolies—

Ae pointed uk la the foregoing report (p. 804)—

are Mable to abuse, and in our foreign carrying trade the monopoly obtained

by the conference lines has not been subjected to any legal control. While ar

riers by Jand are supervised and must conform to statutory requirements: ta

the matter of rates and treatment of shippers, steamship companies, through

private arrangements, have secured for themselves monopolistic powers as

effective in many instances as though they were statutory. Even granting the

_ advantages claimed for steamsbip conferences and agreements, all may be witb-

drawn in the absence of supervisory control without the shippers having any

redress or protection, The }ines are under no Jegal obligation to continue these

advantages. They exercise their powers as private combinations and are apt

te abuse the same unless brought under effective government control.

The Committee believes that the disadvantages and abuses con-

nected with steamship agreements and conferences as now conducted

are inherent, and can only be eliminated by effective government

control; and it is such control that the Committee recommends as

the means of preserving to American exporters and importers the

advantages enumerated, and of preventing the abuses complained of.

‘The consensus of opinion (see pp. 307 to 808 of the Report)—

As expressed in the testimony of witnesses and in the numerous

communications received by the Committee from shippers— ,

is overwhelmingly to favor of some form of government regulation of steam

ship carriers engaged in this country’s foreign trade. Nearly all the steamship -

ine representatives, who appenred before the Committee, expressed themselves as

not opposed to government supervision which is reasonable and which is limited

to the requirements of full publicity and approval of all, agrocments or arrange

ments which steamship lines may have entered into with other steamship lines,

with shippers, or with other carriers and trunsportation agencies. On the other

hand, the shippers who appeared as witnesses, or otherwise submitted recon

mendations for proposed legislation, were in the great majority of instances

favorable to a comprebensive system of government supervision, sufticiently

brosd to embpace the regulation of rates without actually fixing them, the

approval of contracts, agreements, and arrangements, and the genéral super

vision of all conditions of water transportation which vitally affect the inter

eats of shippers. While few of the shippers who communicated with the Com

mittee by letter (and the same may be said of witnesses) attempted to specify

Sa

¢ RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE COMMITTEE. 419

e

‘the detatle of their recommendations, they are almost a unit in stating that

they are convinced of the desirability of baving the Interstate Commerce Com-

/ pilasion, or a similar commission, exercise a general supervisory power over

foreign water carriers and enforce among the conference lives at all times the

" ¢arlous contentions which they have claimed for themselves during the beariugs

“pefore the Coumittce, It is noteworthy that only five of the many communica-

> -{lons received by the Committce, which were unfavorable to steamship agree-

~ eats and conferences as now conducted, display an attitude of hostility

_ feward government regulation. In. fict, many of the communications received

‘from shippers make it clear that the writers regard the contentions of the con-

"ference line representatives as advantageous to shipper and shipowner if they

are houestly and fairly carried out, but state that their experience bas been

* to the effect that, once the combination of lines is established, it is apt to be

“weed in an arbitrary and unfair way by favoring some large corporation or

> friend to the detriment of other shippers. Such discriminations and arbitrary

; “treatment, it is believed, can only be eliminated by the establishment of some

legally constituted authority which is empowered to bear Ss pcre and to

_order the discontinuance of abuses.

_ Relative to such supervisory control by the government of steam-

ship carriers in the foreign trade of the United States, the Committee.

_oflérs the following recommendations:

(1) That navigation companies, firms or lines engaged‘in the for-

’ “eign trade of the United States be brought under the supervision of

_ the Interstate Commerce Commission as regards the regulation of _

__rates, the approval of contracts entered into with other water car-

tiers, with shippers, or with American railroads and other trans-

portation agencies, and such other conditions of water transporta-

_, tion as affect the interests of shippers. The Committee has had under

e - tonsiderution the recommendation of a separate Commission for

this purpose, but believes that, in view of the close relations existing

ey between rail and water transportation, it would be best to entrust

"the supervisory control to the Interstate Commerce Commission. If

and necessary, in view of the added duties involved in the exten-

of the Interstate Commerce Commission’s jurisdiction to water

Atausportation in accordance with the recommendations to follow,

Committee further recommends that the membership of the

mission be enlarged.

(2) That all carriers engaged in the foreign trade of the United

parties to any agreements, understandings, or conference ar-

) nts hereinafter referred to, be required to file for approval

| Interstate Commerce Commission 2 copy of all written agree-

6a

sits teat vig titi WE thi wining, 0 sei

. ment is oral) entered into (1) with any other steamship companies,

firms, or lines engaged directly or indirectly in the American trade,

or (2) with American shippers, railroads or other transportation

pao All modifications and cancellations of such agreements or

understandings as may be made from time to time should also be

promptly filed, The Commission should be empowered to ondér

canceled any such agreements, or any parts thereof, that it may find

to be discriminating or unfair in character, or detrimental to the

commercial interests of the United States.

(8) That the Interstate Commerce Commission be empowered to

investigate fully complaints charging the unreasonableness or un-

fairness of rates, or to institute proceedings on its own initiative,

and to order such rates changed if convinced that the rate under con-

sideration is unreasonably high, or discriminating in character as

between shippers, or ports, or between exporters of the United States

_and their foreign competitors; and to order restitution to shippers

of all sums collected in excess of reasonable rates. This recom-—

mendation is also intended to extend to the supervision of freight

classifications used by the lines, and the investigation of complaints

charging refusal on the part of any carrier to properly adjust the

rates between classes of commodities.

The committee realizes that the steamship business differs essen-

tially from that of the railroads (for those differences see pp. 309 to

811 of the Report), and that it might prove injurious to both ship own.

ers and American exporters to require the lines to file their rates and.

not be permitted to lower the same until after a stipulated period of

notice to change rates had been given. On the other hand, the com-

mittee feels that in the absence of government control steamship

codaidiils may in many instances have it within their power to

arbitrarily raise rates to an unreasonable degree both as regards the

general level and in the case of particular commodities; or, if they

20 desire, to fail in maintaining rates from the United States to for-

eign markets on a parity with those from other countries. It is not

the purpose of this recommendation to prevent steamship lines from

promptly lowering their rates to meet competitive conditions and thus

to favor American exporters, who, in competing with foreign

markets, often find it necessary in order to close their contracts to have

quoted an immediate and favorable rate; but the purpose of the law

7a

RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE COMMITTEE. 421

be to protect the shipper against any unreasonably high rate

the combination lines may have within their power, by virtue

tie agreements and conference arrangements, arbitrarily to im-

™ in the absence of government supervision and control.

~ (4) That rebating of freight rates to shippers be made illegal;

‘and thet, with due regard to the proper loading of the vessel and the

"tonnage available, discrimination between shippers, or ports, in the

matter of rates and space accommodations be prohibited. In this

“connection it is the belicf of the’committee that water carriers should ©

‘be required to charge equal rates to all shippers, irrespective of the

yoluine of freight offered for shipment.

~ (8) That the Interstate Commerce Commission be empowered to

investigate fully all complaints (or to undertake such investigation

ga its own initiative) charging (1) failure on the part of any carrier

‘ to give reasonable notice of increase in rates, (2) .unfair treatment

ef shippers in the matter of cargo space and other facilities, (3) the

- tristence of discriminating or unfair contracts with ‘certain ship-

| pers, and (4) unfairness in the settlement of claims and indifference

to the Janding of freight in proper condition. In this connection

* the Commission should be empowered to order the discontinuance

of all unfair or discriminating practices which it may find to exist,

and to adopt whatever measures it may deem necessary to protect

the complainant against retaliation.

(6) That the use of “fighting ships” and deferred rebates be pro-

hibited in both the export and import’ trade of the United States.

_ Moreover, all carriers should be prohibited from retaliating against

any shipper by refusing space accommodations when such are avail-

. #ble, or by resorting to other unfair methods of discrimination, be-

¢ause such shipper has patronized an independent line, or has filed

; ‘ogo charging unfair treatment, or for any other reason.

(1) That adequate penalties be provided to correct and prevent

the abuses hereinabove set forth.

> ‘RECOMMENDATIONS RELATING TO WATER CARRIERS ENGAGED

Se, IN THE DOMESTIC TRADE.

e _ Unlike the practice of water carriers in the foreign trade of the

; States, agreements to divide the territory or charge certain

c din the domestic trade are few. Competition in rates between

¢ water lines, however, has been quite as effectively eliminated

8a

42 * meeeenimenaenue ov un coeurTree.

as in the forcign trade and this has been accomplished by the sev.

eral lines through one or more of the numerous methods discussed

in Part II of the foregoing report and summarized on pp. 409 to

412, (Also see pp. 408 to 412 giving a “summary of the extent and

methods of control of competition between water carriers in the

domestic trade.”)

The Act of August 9, 1912, providing for the opening, maisity

nance, protection and operation of the Panama Canal, contains pro-

visiohs extending the jurisdiction of the Interstate Commerce Com- °

‘mission over interstate transportation which involves the carriage

of property by rail and water, in the following particulars; viz,

(1) to establish physical connection, where this is reasonably prac-

ticable and justifiable, between the rail carrier and the dock of the

water carrier by directing either or both of the carriers to construct the

connecting tracks; (2) “to establish through routes and maximum

joint rates over such rail and water lines, and to determine all the

terms and conditions under which such lines shall be operated in the

handling of the traffic embraced”; and (3) “to establish maximum

proportional rates by rail to and from the ports to which the traffic is

brought, or from which it is taken by the water carrier, and to

determine to what traffic and in connection with what vessels and

upon what terms and conditions such rates will apply.” Section 11

of the Act glso provides for the divorcing of common carriers by

water from the railroads under certain conditions. These legisla-

tive requirements go far toward eliminating some of the unde-

sirable practices which were found by the Committee to exist in

the domestic commerce of the United States. The Committee. how- ©

ever, believes, in view of the facts presented in Part II of the report,

that additional legislation is required, and wishes to offer the fol-

lowing recommendations:

(1) That the jurisdiction of the Interstate Siena Commission

be extended to the interstate port-to-port traffic of domestic water

carriers, with full power to require all such carriers to file their

" port-to-port rates and to submit reports of their financial and busi-

ness operations. As regards interstate port-to-port traffic the Com-

aniceien, shoell be given Tell power to regulate eaten and to Geter

mine maximum charges.

(2) That water carriers be required to file for approval with the

Interstate eee Commission all agreements or arrangements .

9a

RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE COMMITTEE. 423

affecting interstate transportation, whether written or oral, and all

modifications or cancellations thereof, with other water carriers, with

railroads or other transportation agencies, or with shippers.

(8) That the carriers be prohibited from granting rebates of any

kind to shippers and from discriminating between shippers in rates,

- jn the giving of space accommodations and other facilities, and in

the making of unfair contracts based on the volume of freight

offered. Water carriers should also be prohibited from using fighting

ships, or deferred rebates, or from threatening or resorting to retalia-

tory or pther unfair measures against shippers or competitors. The

Interstate Commerce Commission should be empowered to adopt

whatever measures it may consider necessary to protect shippers or

+ competitors against such retaliatory methods. Water carriers, if

" gutting rates with a view to driving out a competitor, should be

denied the privilege of restoring rates; and jurisdiction should be

conferred on the Interstate Commerce Commission to determine

whether rates were cut with the object of crushing such competitor.

(4) That the Interstate Commerce Commission be empowered’ to

investigate fully all complaints charging unfairness in the settlement

of claims, and indifference to the Jon ting and landing of freight in

proper condition ; and to ‘adopt all necessary rules and regulations for

| the adjustment and seitlement of claims.

(8) That as regards all matters relating to Interstate transpor- °

"tation, all traffic associations or conferences, whether pertaining to

through rail-and-watcr transportation or to port-to-port traffic only,

be brought under the supervision of the Interstate Commerce Com-

mission. The Committce recommends that the conditions under

Which an outside water carrier is admitted to such associations or

. tonferences should be approved by the Commission, and that an out-

tide line should not be denied membership for unfair reasons or

‘simply because the unanimous consent of existing members of the

“ttociation or conference to the admission of said line cannot be

-, obtained.

> (8) That the railroads be prohibited from within the through

d-water route unprofitable as compared with the all-rail route

charging more for the same service on water-borne commodities

they charge for the proportionate share of the all-rail haul.

} That the Interstate Commerce Commission be empowered to

‘ failroads to allow competitive water carriers to apply effective

10a

424 RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE COMMITTES.

differentials. The Commission should also have full supervisory

power over divisions between railroads and water carriers as regards

_ through rail-and-water rates. The Committee recommends that rate

divisions on any trade route should be opened equally to all water

carriers that comply with such conditions of quality and regularity

of service as the Commission may determine to be reasonable. »?

(8) That the railroads and water carriers be required to inne

through bills of lading to all interstate water carricrs that meet

such conditions of quality and regularity of service as the Interstate

Commerce Commission may consider reasonable.

(9) That railroads be required to account separately to the Inter.

state Commerce Commission for the income and expenditures of

interstate water lines owned or controlled by them.

(10) That railroads be required to make their terminal facilities

available to water carriers on equal terms and under such reasonable

conditions as the Interstate Commerce Commission may prescribe.

The Committee also believes that the Federal Government should

pursue a policy of not expending money in the interests of any port

for harbor or channel improvements, unless that port has efficient

dock facilities available to all water carriers.

(11) That there should be legislation providing for equal treat-

ment to all shippers and water carriers by transfer and lighterage

concerns when forming a Jink in interstate or foreign commerce.

(12) That all interstate traffic on canals be placed under the super-

vision of the Interstate Commerce Commission; and that the rail-

roads be prohibited in the future from acquiring, either directly or

indirectly, ownership and control of or interest in canals, or water

lines, forwarding companies and other navigation facilitics on such

canals, when the same are used in interstate transportation. °

Respectfully submitted.

; : J. W. Aurxanver,

\ poe tens Chairmen.

.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.