Appellants Brief — Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1973

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

. Violation of Fifth, Ninth and Tenth Amend-

. Griggs v. Allegheny County

a Posture of the Federal Aviation Administra-

National Uniformity

The Burbank Ordinance Is Not Preempted ..

The Conflict Issue

Runway Preference Order :

Interference With Federally Certificated .

Rights

Interference With Use of the Navigable Air-

‘Need for Single Authority

Violation of Fifth, Ninth and Tenth Amend-

ment Rights

. Griggs v. Allegheny County ...

The Solution |

Relief at the Federal Level

Interim Measures

_ Injunctive Relief Through the Courts

Reversal of Griggs v. pee: County -.

ioe Scarce Foes Senate Report No. 1353,

90th: Congress, Second Session ------APP Pp.

_ Excerpt From 34 Federal Register 18355-18356

Nov. 18, 1969 ._....

Inthe Mater of th ein of Foran A Drei 4

iii.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

2

rt

i Cases Page

Aaron y. City of Los Angeles, 11 Avi. 17, 642

(Cal. Super. Ct. 1970) . 78

Air Transport Association of America, et al. v. City

“of Inglewood, et al. (No. 71-1153-CC) __. 31

Allegheny Airlines Inc. v. Cedarhurst, 238 F. 2d

812 (2d Cir. 1956) ide 33

American Airlines Inc. v. Audubon Park, 297 F.

* Supp. 207 (W.D.Ky. 1968), affd per curiam,

407 F. 2d 1306 (6th Cir. 1969), cert. denied,

"396 US. 845 (1969) 33

American Airlines, Inc. v. Hempstead, 272 F.

Supp. 226 (E.D.N.Y. 1967), affd 398 F.2d

¢ 369 (2d Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 393 U.S. 1017

_ (1969) 33

Batten v. United States, 306 F. 2d 580 (1962)

_ ett. denied, 371 U.S. 955 (1963), rehear. den.,

- 372 US. 925 (1963) 78

Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535 (1971) 68

Bibb y. Navajo Freight Lines Inc, 359 US. 520

~ (1959) - 58

Boyd v. City of Sierra Madre, 41 Cal. App. 520,

183 Pac. 230 (1919) 37

Airways v. Nebraska State Board, 347

S. 590 (1945) 33, 34

Recta 62

hood of Locomotive Engineers v. Chicago

ck Island & Pacific Railroad Co., 382 US.

(1966) 81

dod of Railroad Trainmen v. Jacksonville -

inal Co., 394 U.S. 369 (1969) 83

iv.

California v. Taylor, 353 U.S, 553 (1957) 81

California v. Zook, 336 U.S, 725 (1949) 37

Calvert Cliffs’ Coordinating Committee, Inc. v.

Atomic Energy Commission, 449 F. 2d 1109

(D.C. Cir. 1970) 75

Citizens to Preserve Overton Park, Inc. v. Volpe,

401 U.S. 402 (1971) 75

City of Detroit v. Murray Corporation of America,

355 U.S. 489 (1958) 2

Colorado Anti-Discrimination Com. v. Continental

Adar Lines, Inc., 372 U.S. 714 (1963) ......44, 46, 82

Dreifus, In re) FAA Regulatory Docket No. 9071

(7/10/69) 6, 28, 41, 45, 52, 53, 55

Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74 (1970)

Buclid v, Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 356 (1926)... 57

Friends of Mammoth v. Board of Supervisors of

Mono County, Nov. 6, 1972, Sacramento 7924 .. 75

Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67 (1972)

Gibbons v, Ogden, 9 Wheat. 1 (1824)

71

U.S. 424 (1963) _

wessoeesnnseoneeensess . 35, 36, 46, 63, 82

Huron Portland Cement Co. v. Detroit, 362 US.

. 330 (1960) -... 34, 47, 62,°81, 82 -

Interstate Busses Corp. v. Holyoke Street R. Co. |

273 US. 45 (1927) . .

¥.

3

3h

+o.

ae

4

>

BSA

we

Page

‘Local 24 International Brotherhood of Teamsters v.

© Oliver, 358 U.S. 283 (1959) 81

Loma Portal Civic Club v. American Airlines, Inc.,

~ 61 Cal.2d 582, 39 Cal.Rptr. 708, 394 P.2d

548 (1964) 28, 35, 36, 50, 56, 77

Martin v. Port of Seattle, 64 Wash. 2d 309, 391

P. 2d 40 (1964), cert. denied, 379 U.S. 989

» (1965) 78

Napier v. Atlantic Coast Line Railroad Co., 272

US. 605 (1926) 82

Nestle’v. City of Santa Monica, 6 Cal. 3d 920, 101

Cal, Rptr. 568, 496 P. 2d 480 (1972) .......... 67, 68

New Jersey v. New York, 283 U.S. 336 (1931) .... 75

Northern States Power Company v. State of Minne-

£ sota, 447 F. 2d 1143 (1971) 84

‘Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438 (1928) .... 69

Perez v. Campbell, 402 U.S. 637 (1971) ............ 50, 58

Port of New York Authority v. Eastern Airlines,

259 F. Supp. 142 (1966) 14

Rice v. Board of Trade, 331 U.S. 247 (1947) ..48, 49

Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218

(1947) 36, 48, 64

peas

‘Sniadach v. Family Finance Corporation, 395 U.S.

“337 (1969) 68

‘South Carolina State Highway Dept. v. Barnwell

‘)Bros., 303 U.S. 177 (1938) 65

i ig aan Co. v. Arizona, 325 U.S. 761

58

Stag y. Municipal Court of Santa Monica Judicial

+) District, 2 Cal.App.3d 318, 82 Cal.Rptr. 578

(9969) 32, 41

vi

aa Page

Terminal Reilsoad Ass’n‘of St. Louis v.:Brotherhood —

of Railroad Trainmen, 318 US. 1°(1943) ...81, 82

Thain-¥. City’ of Palo‘ Alto, 207.:Cal. pp. 20.278, i

24 Cal. Rowe 15 (1962) | 57

-y. Port of rented 233 Ore. 178, 376

Pi 2d 100, (1962) -. 78

Thornburg v. Port of Portland, 244 Ore. 69, 415 P.

'2d-750 (1966) = 78

Toviiship ‘of Hiinover v: Town of Morristown, 108

‘NE tal #64, 261 Atl. Rptr. 2d:'692 (1969)

oiiui.32, 60, 77, 78

Udall ¥y, Federal Power Commission, 387 U: = 428

. (1967). 75

Liatandut@be:- Pigs: ine, Co. v. Ideal Cement ‘Co,

52369. U.S. 134 (1962) 2

United States (Federal Aviation Administration) v.

«City of Inglewood, et al. (No. 71-1632-CC) ..

Virginians for,.Dulles v. Volpe, ats F, Supp. —

(1972) set pani 32,55

Watson Vi Employers. Liability Assurance Corp.,

: 348 US, 66. (1954)

2 cs 3 __ Miscellaneous

Aviation Week ion Technology, Nov. 6; 1972,

op. 19. : 32, 71

Aviation tek: &Gyche: Technology, Nov. 6, 1972,

Op. 27.

Califofnia’ Department of Public Health, A Repost

“* to, the. 1971 Legislature on the Subject of Noise —

_ Pursuas sto, Assembly » Copourrent Rendiation z

Edy 19TO: CAOTAY -1-s---1,2--18- iB

Cleat Air. ‘Amendments of. 1970,. PL No. Of608

_ (December 31, 1970) ( {

Vii.

Page

118 Congressional Record (daily ed. Feb. 29,

1972) No. 29; p. H 1509 22

118 Congressional Record (daily ed. Feb. 29,

1972) No. 29, pp. H 1510, H 1518, H 1534,

23

118 Congressional Record (daily ed. Feb. 29,

1972) No. 29, pp. H 1512,-H 1515-16, H 1519,

‘H 1520 26

118 Congressional Record (daily ed. Feb. 29,

1972) No. 29, pp. H 1523, H 1530, H1531 .... 27

118 Congressional Record (daily ed. Feb. 29,

1972) No. 29, p. ‘H 1534 55

118 Congressional Record (daily ed. February 29,

1972) No. 29, p. H 1538 30

118 Congressional Record (daily ed. Oct. 18, 1972)

~ No. 169, pp. S 18638-S 18643 86

Evansville-Vanderburgh Airport Authority a

_ Of Delta Airlines, Inc., 405 U.S. 707 (3972)...

BE 61, es

House of Representatives Bill No. 11021, 92nd

, Cong., 2d Sess. 22, 86

ST he Stine of tc Sucecems Satan

Court of Massachusetts, 271 NE 2d 354 (1971)

ie pe 31

‘Panel on Noise Abatement, Dept. of

4 The Noise Around Us (1970), p. 2 .............. 23

“Benate Bill No, 3342, March 14, 1972 .....__ 22

ie Bill 3755, 92nd Cong., 2d Sess. .............. 80

i Report No. 1353, 90th Cong, 2d Sess.

8), pp. 6-7 6, 28, 40

bas ae

Report} No. WOR” 703 (RY), 9A ssn...

Pablication

Burbank Daily Review (Ota a2, 1972). .. 78

¥

Birbank Muni Code,- Sec. 20-32.1 ae

California’ Public Resources Code, Sec. 21000 _... 75

California Public Resources Code, Sec. 21151 ... 76

Califotnia Public Utilities Code, Sec. ara )

City. of Burbank Ordinance No. 2216

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 14, Part.36 ..

Come Fogees Regulations, Title 14, Sec. 36.5 .. F

SSE 28, 29, 40

Code ‘of Federal Regulations, Title 14, ‘Sec. “91. =

87; Part 91 .

Céde of FFéderal Regulations, Tite 14, See.'91.87

“(dy

Godenel Radstht Reghlatins; ‘Pise'14, ‘Sec. 91.87 ©

(3 cannes

Federal Aviation Act of 1958, Sec. 101(24) .

Federal “Aviation ‘Act ‘of 1958, Sec. 104 30 596, Cn

Federal--Aviation “Act-of 1958; Sec.°202(b)(2) ..

Federal: Aviation Act of 1958, Sec. 401. -...

Federal Aviation ‘Act of 1958, Sec."401 (i) \.14, 54

eiga ausn ted ie Sec. 611 215,20

-éated—ine>-—bifat 22n..40; 48,51

ation. ‘Act of 1958, Sec. G42 iscsi

: i viatic "At 858, Ss 1106

_ Federal, Aviation Act,of 1958, ‘Sec. 139A{6).. a

e-3 Se

Se se

ix:

Federal Aviation Act of 1958, Sec. 1374(b) _. 44

Noise: Control. Act of 1972, Sec. 17(c)(2) i... 86

Noise Control Act of 1972, Sec. 18(c)(2) 86

199 Statutes at Large, Ch. 313, 486. 37

“48 Statutes-at Large, p. 1064 ..... siseccincss 3S

49 Statutes at Latge, Ch. 945, p. 1491 BES 48

‘States Code, Title 20, Sec 1531 56

United States Code, Title 28, Sec. 1254(2) .......... 2

States Code, Title 28, Sec. 1331... 7

United. States Code, Title 28, Sec. 1337 ........ 7

United States Code, Title 42, Sec. 1857 ............56, 85

United States Code, Title 42/ Sec. 1857f-6a(b) .... 85

ilited States Code, Title 42, Sec. 1857611. 80

United States Code, Title 42, Sec. 4321 56, 74

United States Code, Title 42, Secs 4371-4374 ___ *

United States Code, Title 42, Sec. 4371(b)(2) ...

‘Waited States Code, Title 42, Secs. 4372-4374 6

tanker Steen nat 35

| Code, Title 49, Sec. 1102 ievteoeee 67

oe Title 49, Sec. 1301 .....16, 34

States Code, 38, 43, 71

States Code, Title 49, Sec. 1304 veinnses56, 71

ec ‘ound Code, Title 49, Sec. 1350... 14

fd States Code, Title 49, Sec..1371 53

Code, Title 49, Sec. 1371(i) . .14, 54

& Code, Title 49, Sec. 1431 15, 22, 40

48; 51

United States Code, Title 49, Sec. 1432

Untiited States Code, Title 49, Sec. 1506 -...........

United States Code, Title 49, Sec. 1701

et a eee

Duids

United States Constitotion, Art. I, Sec. 8, Cl. 11-14

7,

United States Constitution, Art. VI, Cl. 2 .

8

3

5, 4, 8

United ‘States Constitution, Fourth Amendment .... 69

United States Constitution, Fifth Amendment

19, 66, 67, 69, 70

United States Constitution, Ninth Amendment . 4

ie Si. IBS 26;:21, 66, 70, 87

United States Constitution, Tenth Amendment

19, 20, 21, 66,: 70, 87

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment.

7, 8, 68

st Textbooks )

Beckman, The Right. to a Decent Environment

“Under the Ninth Amendment, 46 Los Angeles »

- Bar Bulletin 415 (Sept. 1971) 70

Berger, | Nobody ‘Loves an ‘Airport, 43 So.Cal_L.R.

~ 631° (1970); p. 724 27

Berger, Nobody Loves An Airport, 43 So.CalL.R.

%:1631. (1970), pp. 771-774 29

Berges, Nobody Loves An Aipor, 43 SoCal LC |

is 6

es ceede eaieun “=

1ePinees Ace Fiving: 4 Urban. Lawyer: 1/ (1972) ..

*,

im Page

Branch and Beland, Outdoor Noise and the Metro-

politan Environment—Case Study of Los An-

geles with Special Reference to Aircraft, 1970

(Library of Congress Catalog Card No. 72-

126027 ; 73

Branch and Beland, Outdoor Noise and the Metro-

politan Environment—Case Study of Los Angeles

_ with Special Reference to Aircraft, 1970 (Library

of Congress Catalog Card No. 72-126027 ), p.

21 waz BD

Fadem & Berger, A Noisy Airport Is a Damned

Nuisance! 3 Southwestern Univ.L.R. 39 (1970)

27

34 Federal Register, Nov. 18, 1969, pp. 18355-

18356 6, 15, 40

35 Federal Register 16,980 (Nov. 4, 1970) .... 30

Hildebrand, Noise Pollution: An Introduction to

the Problem and an Outline for Future Legal

2 Research, 70 Colum. L.Rev. 652 —

Kanner, Some of My Best Friends Use Airports,

12 California Trial Lawyers Journal, Spring,

1972, No. 2, pp. 61-87 >.

‘Lesser, The Aircraft Noise Problem: Federal Power

_ But Local Liability, 3 Urban Lawyer 175 (1971)

27

rs

Le

72

#sser, The Airport Noise Problem: Federal Power

* Sut Local Liability, 3 Urban Lawyer 175 at p.

204 (1971) 29

h, Are There Certain Rights . . . Retained

the People? 37 N.Y.U. L.Rev. 786 (1962) .... 70

An Environmental Lawyer Urges: Plead

he Ninth Amendment, Natural History, 26

ig.-Sept. 1970) 70

‘Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1972

No, 71-1637

ANDREWS, Chief of Police of the City of Burbank,

LOCKHEED AIR TERMINAL, INC, a corporatica, PACIFIC

SOUTHWEST AIR LINES, a corporation, and AIR TRANS.

PORT ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA,

hee A

ps On Appeal From the United States Court of Appeals

? for the Ninth Circuit.

BRIEF OF THE APPELLANTS.

———

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

‘Ninth Circuit is reported in 457 F. 2d 667

included in the Appendix (A. 410). The opinion

United States District Court for the Central Dis-

California is reported in 318 F. Supp. 914

lt included in the Appendix (A. 341).

se, a

JURISDICTION.

The *judgment..of the’ United States Court of Ap

peals was entered on March 22, 1972 (A. 5, 428).

Notice of Appeal to this Court was filed with the

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit on May 15, 1972 (A. 5). The Jurisdic

tional Statement was filed with the Clerk of this Court

on: June 17,1972. This Court noted probable juris

diction’ on October 10, 1972. Since this is an appeal

froma judgment of the United States Court of Ap

peals which held invalid an ordinance of the City of

Burbank, as repugnant to the Supremacy Clause of

the Constitution of the United States (Art. VI, Clause

2), the jurisdiction of this Court rests on 28 U.S.C.

§1254(2). The following “decisions sustain the juris

diction of this Court to review the judgment in this

case on appeal: United Gas Pipe Line Co. v. Ideal

Cement Co., 369 U.S. 134, 135 (1962); City of De

troit vy. Murray Corporation of. America, 355 U.S. 489,

492 (1958); Watson v. Employers Liability Assurance

Corp., 348 U.S. 66, 70.(1954); Dutton v. Evans, 40

9 74,77 C1990).

ORDINANCE INVOLVED: —

The ordinance involved in this case is Ordinance

No. 2216 of the City-of:Burbank passed and adopted

on March 31, 1970, which added Section 20-3211

to the. Burbank Municipal Code providing as follow

he 378):. ba a

“Sec, 20-32.1. Aircraft Take-Otfs. :

ma) "Put ets Prohibited from Taking Off ©

Between 11:00 P.M. mt 0 AM

ee

® «o°Sit shall be unlawful for any person at the con-

trols of a pure jet aircraft to take off from the

‘Hollywood-Burbank Airport .between 11:00 P.M.

ui Lea 00 AM, Se mest day

1 *(b) "Airport Operator Prohibited from Allow-

ing Take-Offs.

voi At, Shall _be unlawful for the operator of the

Hollywood-Burbank Airport to allow a pure jet

j=, Siteraft to take off from said airport . between

ee _ 11:00 P.M. of one day and 7:00 A.M. the next

pe, i ie

Play Saceptiiar: Eesarpincies.

“This Section shall not apply to flights of. an

_ emergency nature if the City’s Police Department

4 is contacted and the approval of the Watch Com-

re mander on duty is obtained before take-off.”

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED. -

The. provisions of the Constitution of. the United

he aaa teaaRt

" (1) The Supremacy Clause (Art. VI, Clause 2)

which provides:

“This Constitution, and the Laws of the United

Fe alte made in Pursuance there-

ot; and all Treaties made, or which shall be

made, under the Authority. of the United States,

Sched be, fo. gupeeme, Lay of, the Land: and the

ce Fades. in very State. shall be bound thereby,

‘i ll ac a ila aia

sal tien

(2): The Commerce Clause» wees I, Section 8

Clause 3),-which provides:

(“Phe Congress shall have power . . .”]

“To regulate Commerce with foreign Nations,

“'/ and: athong ‘the several States, ‘and' with the Indian

Tribes;”

3) That portion of the Fifth Acieiidcoent: Wilh

(a le iif ary potson] Wo dope ot

liberty, or property, without due process of lav;

nor shall private property be taken for public ws

without just compensation.”

: * (4) The Ninth Amendment which provides:

ie “The enumeration in the Constitution, of cer

tain rights, shall not be construed to deny or dit

parage others retained by the people.”

(5) ‘The Tenth Amendment which provides:

xa “The powers not delegated to the United States

by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the

States, are reserved to the States respectively, of

to the people.”

The questions presto review are as follows

(A. 55,342):

(1) Whether the ‘Federal government has so pt

empted thé fields of regulation of the use of aif spac

doormat ele ert

‘ili

(2) Whether the ordinance is in conflict with Fed-

eral statutes or Federal regulations and is rendered

void and unenforceable by the Supremacy Clause (Ar

“(3) Whether enforcement of the ordinance would

result in an intolerable and unreasonable burden on

interstate commerce in violation of the Commerce

Clause (Article I, Section 8,'Clause 3).

(4) Whether the ordinance constitutes an attempted

fegulation of a phase of the national commerce which,

becausé of the need of national uniformity, demands

that regulation, if any, be prescribed by a single au-

thority.

“In the terms and circumstances of the case the

question presented for review is whether the City of

Burbank is powerless to restrict departures of pure jet

“titeraft ‘from’ Hollywood-Burbank Airport, a privately

owned and operated airport within its boundaries, be-

fween the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. under the

© €@) To accommod late jet ‘aircraft the private ai

Hoprietor’ (Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc.) has extended

fhe “2irpo runways to the maximum limits of its

at low a'titudes over. adjacent residences, with resulfant

Gist vance of the occupants of such residences, par-

Sasi

minations in the hands of individual airport proprie

tors.’ etiye ite ‘

(c) Airport proprietors, without violating any Fed.

eral statute or regulation, may exclude any airctaft

om Sie <hasie; seh: nalee nopeiderations, 02 SORE A+ ay

exclusion is nondiscriminatory.*

6d): The ‘FAA Chlétof: the Algport: Trattic Ci

trol Tower at the Hollywood-Burbank Airport has reo

ognized the seriousness of the noise problem in the

vicinity of. the airport and the steps taken by him t

reduce this problem were ineffective (A. 317, 319).

(e) The Federal Aviation Administrator, under sim-

ilar circumstances, has declared that nondiscrintine

tory time limitations may be an effective and appro

priate means of adapting aircraft noise to the needs of

local. communities. and that such form of locally r

sponsive noise control is clearly in the national inter

est.*

. (f) The only regularly scheduled flight affected by

the ordinance was in intrastate flight of an intrastate

air carrier (Pacific Southwest Air Lines) departing st

11;30 p.m. each Sunday (A. 394). The other flights

peek: ee mnreety -depereres: coment ee.

aircraft (A. 395).

(

:|

"434 Federal Register 18355-18356, Nov. 18, 1969; now 14

“Append

The in the

tie ea tom set out

ee3|

i

dated June 22, 1968

the on. Interstate

inet He

SE

See also

; In re}

Te.

a

at

ia

Be 7

sa. (\) -sSYATEMENT OF THE CASE.

ere 2 1. Nature of the Case.

SEE SN

iic:* (hereinafter referred to as “Lockheed”), a Del

wire corporation, as owner and operator of the Hol-

ank Airport, and by Pacific Southwest

‘Air Lines (hereinafter referred to as “PSA"), an intra-

state air carrier” incorporated under the laws of the

State of California, against the City of Burbank (here-

inafter referred to as “Burbank”) and certain ‘of its

Officers, seeking declaratory and injunctive relief with

8, Clauses 11-14) and the Supremacy

eta | VET Ciaing 2) OP the Chanthantion°ot te

‘States (A. 15). The District Court's jurisdiction

p invoked ‘under 28 U.S.C. $1331 and 28 U.S.C.

1337 (A. 7).

"Air ‘Transport Association of America (hereinafter

=a Abel enna eal

1 h of scheduled interstate air carriers,‘ was sub-

seque ity permitted to file a complaint in intervention

fexing the same relief but only alleging that the or-

fir fe violated the Commerce Clause (Art. I, Sec. §,

of. the stock of Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc. is. owned

~ Aircraft Corporation (A. 99,438).

ee PSA is not

ie i e

or es

Clause 3), and the Supremacy Clause (Art. VI, Claus

2) of the United States. Constitution (A. 27, 34).

Lockheed and PSA subsequently abandoned any

contention that the ordinance violated the Due Proces

Clause (XIV Amendment) or the War Powers Clauses

(Ast. I, Sec, 8, Clauses 11-14) of the United States

Constitution (A. 55),.and withdrew these issues from

the District Court’s consideration (A. 66-67).

-_ 2. Course of Proceedings and Disposition.

The. original complaint herein was filed on May

14, 1970 (A. .2) together with an application for a

temporary restraining order and an order to show

cause why.a preliminary injunction against the enforce.

ment: of the ordinance pending trial should not issue

[R.,421}. The application was, granted and the hearing

on the preliminary injunction was held on May 2),

1970: [R. 421]. At the request of Lockheed the tem

porary restraining order was dissolved and the hearing

on the order to show cause placed off calendar as

Lockheed. [R. 421]. Pursuant to stipulation betwees

PSA and the defendants, the temporary restraining or

der was continued in effect so as to permit PSA 00 -

continue its 11:30 p.m. Sunday night flight from Hol

lywood-Burbank Airport until July 12, 1970, and

PSA. withdrew its application fora preliminary ®

junction [A. 83-84; R. 421]. As a result the ordinane

became effective again on July 13, 1970 and contit

ued in effect until November 30, 1970.

The trial took place on September 15, 16"aad M7

1970 (A. 3). On November 30, 1970 the finding

of fact, conclusions of law and’ judgment were signed

and. filed and the judgment entered (A. 4). The jule

wile:

thent of the District Court declared the ordinance un-

constitutional, illegal and void and ‘enjoined its en-

forcement (A. 408). In reaching this conclusion the

District’ Court held the ordinance to be repugnant to

the Supremacy Clause (preemption and conflict) and

to'the Commerce Clause (A. 405).

- The Court of Appeals, in deciding the case, limited

itself to the issue whether the’ ordinance was repugnant

tothe Supremacy Clause in two aspects, namely, (1)

preemption and (2) conflict (A. 414). While there

was unanimity on the conflict issue and affirmance of

the judgment of the District Court, one of the three

judges refused to concur in that portion of the opinion

which dealt with the preemption issue (A. 427).

ie ; 3. Relevant Facts.

we Hollywood-Burbank Airport.

+ Hollywood-Burbank Airport is located in a thickly

populated area (A. 373, 393) and entirely within the

Gity of Burbank except approximately 2,050 feet of

the northernmost portion of its “North-South” runway

e. t lie in the City of Los Angeles (A. 380-381).

“North-South” runway is the preferential runway

ke-off (from north to south), not only because of

ler length (approximately 6,900 feet), but also

_ Because of its southerly slope and the fact that the pre-

tailing wind is generally from the south (A. 157-159).

ft taking off to the south over-fly a residential

hin the City of Burbank from one-third to

Seenalf mile distant (A. 336). Hollywood-Burbank

Aiport also has an “East-West” runway (A. 381)

: foximately 6,000 feet in length (Agi 56). Aircraft

fing to the east on this runway over-fly a resi-

al area within the City of Burbank somewhat closer

ver

—10—

craft: departing to the west over-fly that portion of the

City..of. Los..Angeles. known as North Hollywood (A —

74)...The-FAA: Departure Charts for Hollywood-Bur

bank Airport [PI. Ex. 7, A..452-453, 103] specify mis

imum climb rates for departing aircraft varying from

260 feet to 347 feet per nautical mile.

None of the runways-at Hollywood-Burbank Airport

can tabieusaiiainsiin tian dot eicensteciath, 0045

707. and the DC-8 (A. 141).-They are generally sut-

ficient’ to accommodate the smaller jet aircraft such

as. the.727, the. DC-9 and the 737. (A. 142). Lok

heed... achieved ..the runway lengths indicated by. e-

tending these runways to the limits of the property

which it owns or controls [Pl. Ex. 2, A. 428-429, 98].

Hollywood-Burbank Airport is used by United Air

Lines, Western, ‘Air West ‘and Pacific Southwest Air

(LAX) when landing there is precluded by weathe

conditions (A. 170).

United Air Lines, “Western, Air West, Continent

‘Ait ‘Lines and Pacific Southwest Air Lines also utilie

“tat Sa ahi pew als cet

craft. taking off or landing at, Hollywood-Burbank Air

port dates dates ‘from about 1965 when jet aircraft began

using the airport on a regular basis (A. 142). The fint

"Thess havo been instances when sit cartier have tad

ab ts None oe

to

Gfficiat recognition of the adverse environmental effects

ef-this “jet aircraft traffic was in the latter part of

1967- when the FAA Chief of the Airport Traffic Con-

procedures. for take-offs and landings in an attem

reduce noise complaints (A. 112). These proce-

yes. were modified several times, the last of which

lated September 4, 1969) provided, on a non-man-

datory ‘basis, that Runway 25 (take-offs to the west

On the “East-West” runway) should be used as much

a8 po for departures of turbine powered aircraft

“during the period from 2300 to 0700 when people are

‘tileep (Pl, Ex. 30, A. 453, 113]. The only discernible

lect of this procedure was an increase in i

by people living west of the airport (A. 317). The

fumber of complaints from south of the airport re-

ned about the same (A. 319).

‘¥@n-March 31, 1970 the City Council of the City

Burbank duly and regularly adopted Ordinance No.

d) -which added Section 20-32.1 to the Burbank

Municipal Code to provide as set forth above. It be.

effective on May 4, 1970. (A. 378). Its pro-

ms ‘were two-fold, one making it unlawful for

lot of a pure jet aircraft to take off from the

wood-Burbank Airport between 11:00 p.m. of one

7:00 a.m. the next day, and the other making

ful for the operator of the Hollywood-Burbank

(Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc.) to allow a pure

reraft to take off from the airport during such

Beds, Flights of an emergency nature were excepted.

‘Be to the effective date of this ordinance, Mr. Da-

vid M.

pn ie i a

flights of ‘in emergency nataté which would: justify’s

jet ‘departure during ‘the’ hours proscribed [Def. Bx

A, AS 518, 1797 ‘and by’ letter dated May 1, 197%

(Det! Bx: A-1, A. 520, 180], Mr. Simmons was aj

vised by the City Attorney that the list of emergeng

conditions appeared reasonable and would be used by

the Police Department. at least for the time being. He

also-advised. that.a 6:40 a.m. charter flight by Lock

heed-California specialists ‘to Palmdale’ each working

daly had ‘been’ cleared ‘as an emergency flight. Amida

thie other departures: authorized as‘ emergency flight

were aircraft scheduled for departure prior to 2300

which had been delayed by mechanical problems, weatt

er or air traffic control procedures; aircraft which had

to land because of ‘emergency conditions; and aircraft

—13—

“The ‘only other flights affected by the ordinance

Were ‘principally departures (at least three per week)

Of corporate jet aitcraft (A. 395).

Ba dens Federal Regulation.

"Lockheed, as the proprietor and operator of the

ywood-Burbank Airport, is not subject to Federal

gonomic. or other regulation, except in terms of the

safety. of its operation.’ It establishes its own sched-

ile Of rates and charges for the use of the airport by

air carriers and other aircraft, and such schedule is not

¢t to approval of: the Civil Aeronautics Board, the

Federal Aviation Administration or any other govern-

mental agency or body (A. 170). Lockheed’s consent

must be obtained for use of its airport by an air car-

er even though a Certificate of Public Convenience

and Necessity issued by the Civil Aeronautics Board

ecifies that airport as one of the points on the route

SMSection 612 (49 U.S.C. §1432), which was added to the

mal Aviation Act of 1958 in 1970, became effective on

—14—

[Pl Ex, 35. at.p: 43,.A.:118].". As matter of

policy, Lockheed supports route applications before the

Civil Aeronautics Board or the California Public Uti,

ties Commission which would entail the use of it

facilities, ‘to demonstrate ‘that it is in full accord (A

147), and has had’ no occasion to do otherwise be

cause the’ aitport has had: excess capacity for a mum

ber ‘Of ‘years (A. 168). In addition, Lockheed my

exchide’ any aircfaft’on the basis of noise and impor

operational ‘regulations’ on the airlines: using the air

port’ (A!'171-172), including a restriction on runway

wee and ‘hours of operation." It may substantially re

conse t siport or ler the runway layout wit

FAA ‘approval? Bet

| In sharp contrast to the foregoing and as to thor

‘S¢additionally, subsection (i) of ogg ae (49 je

eerie ie eseky' eed’ orth

P Convenience and reo

set forth at length in the Findings of Fact of the Dis-

ret’ Court (A. 375).

“| Ka tothe control and abatement of aircraft noise,

Sction“611 (49 U.S.C. §1431) of the Federal Avia

tion Act of 1958 requires and empowers the Federal

Aviation Administrator to “prescribe and amend such

tules' and regulations as he nfay find necessary to pro-

vide for the control and abatement of aircraft noise.”

nerd under this authority, the Administrator has

adopted regulations prescribing noise standards for

all new subsonic turbojet-powered aircraft (34 Federal

Register 18355-18356, Nov. 18, 1969, now published

at 14. CFR. Part 36). However, in doing so, he stated

that “The noise limits specified . . . are not intended to

substitute federally detebinaied noise levels for those

hore restrictive limits determined to be necessary by

2 airport proprietors in response to the lo-

~ally determined desire for quiet and the locally de-

prmined need for the benefits of air commerce”, and

‘ “that the Federal Aviation Administration makes

to ion, under Part 36, on the acceptability

of te eee AY Wet shyt

areonmen 2

~ Se 5m ition, the Federal Aviation hidestaleiepss has

operational regulations which require tur-

2 d fixed wing aircraft to maintain an alti-

_—onhesirertermem ten

farther descent is required for a safe landing,

my D to 1,500 feet as rapidly as practicable,

ing off (14 CFR. §91.87(d), (£)).

» Z

ae

The toliviving iva-simamty olstbecteinciga: poly

paneer

if ih

|

tae

Hil ti

“The Federal sicts relating to air commerce and the

exercise of Federal commerce power do not preveat

action ‘or regulation ‘is designed to protect the health

set forth and the contentions made in the Argument t

State action consistent with that power where the State

*

ational uniformity

desirable nor. pos-

: himself has

vernments may regulate in this area, This

further held that State or local governmental

ated enterprise has freedom to act. In this

action necessary to exclude aircraft on the

9t noise considerations. Accordingly, the City of

RK had the power to require Lockheed to exer-

is discretion in the manner as set forth in the

—18-—

against the Appellants by concluding that the Burbank

ordinance “stands as an obstacle to accomplishment

and execution of the full purposes and objectives o

Congress.” The conflict ‘which it found was with re

spect to a non-mandatory runway preference order of

a minor FAA official in charge of the Air Traffic

Control Tower at Hollywood-Burbank Airport. It viewed

the non-mandatory runway preference order as a &

termination by the FAA that no further steps could

properly be taken to alleviate the noise pollution result

ing from operations at the Hollywood-Burbank Airport.

This so-called “determination” was itself in conflict with

other determinations made by the Federal Aviation A¢

ministrator. The only weight that can be properly a

corded to the FAA Tower Chief's determination is that

of all noise abatement runway procedures he had a

tempted, this last one had the best prospects of achieving

the greatest noise reduction. As to the effect of the Bur

bank ordinance on! the 11:30 p.m. PSA Sunday night

flight, the convenience of the persons departing on tha!

flight as well as the convenience of those who wish to

need of. thousands of persons who reside in the vicinity

‘Of the Hollywood-Burbank Airport for uninterrupted

sleep. As to the Certificates of Public Convenience am

Necessity issued by the Civil Aeronautics Board, gid

certificates confer no right to utilize a particular aitpat

—19—

eee: ah ‘Burden on Interstate Commerce,

There is no evidence in this case that the Burbank

ordinance imposed or would impose any burden on

interstate commerce. The evidence introduced in this

case to demonstrate the effect the Burbank ordinance

would have if it were applied to all major airports

throughout the United States: is purely an attempt to

loud the issue. The extent to which air commerce re.

quites a single authority in control is a legislative ques-

lion,” ‘not & judicial question. Up to the present time

Congress has not seen fit to place airports utilized by

ftir under the contol of any Federal roca

Tt oe |

‘airport proprietors are not subject to Federal eco-

Momic or other regulation except in the area of ‘airport

‘ af .

: some . degree to. preserve Fifth Amendment rights

pect ble body of opinion that the right to a

Avironment is one of the rights retained by the

people under the Ninth and Tenth Amendments, anj

that action which leads to the destruction of the emi

ronment may be restrained or limited.

6. Griggs v. Allegheny County. :

Griggs v. Allegheny County, 369 U.S. 84 (1962),

and the decisions of the Court of Appeals and th

District Court in this case cannot stand together. If th

decision in this case is allowed to stand without reversal

of Griggs, then the Federal Aviation Administration

will be able to continue its questionable course of con

duct without interference, and the Federal governmeat

and the airlines will remain shielded from liability for

their actions or non-action.

7. The Solution.

There can be no question that interim measures,

such as the Burbank ordinance, are morally, socially

and. environmentally necessary. The preemption am

conflict doctrines of this Court mark out a sufficient

area in which interim measures, such as the Burbank

ordinance, can fit, without violation of the Supremacy _

Clause of the United States Constitution.

Should Griggs be reversed so that Federal government

and the airlines would become liable for the “taking” of

air or noise easements, and, more importantly, should

prospect that the airlines and the Federal Aviation A¢

ministration would then be able to prevail on Congres

to declare a preemption of this field. If such should

“

3

:

1. The Problem.

We are before this Court because there is no other

place to go for relief. Legislation before Congress,

which held some promise of future relief from jet air

craft noise ‘by transferring the Federal Aviation Aé

ministrator’s powers under Section 611 (14 USC

§1431) of the Federal Aviation Act of 1958 to the Aé

ministrator of the Environmental Protection Agency

(Senate Bill No. 3342 introduced March 14, 1972),

failed to survive under the combined assault of the air

lines and the Federal Aviation Administration.

Noise Pollution.

The effect and extent of noise pollution in this cour

try, as revealed during the course of Congressional de

bate on this bill and a companion bill in the House of

Representatives (H.R. 11021) are frightening. Accord

ing to an Environmental Protection Agency report,

noise appears to affect to a measurable degree of im

pact at least 80 million persons, or approximately 40%

of the present population of the United States. 0!

that number, at least one-half are believed to be risking”

potential health hazards, hearing impairment in partic

ular, as the result of long enduring exposure Wt

noise." The effect is psychological, physiological and

sociological. There is proof that many people in ou

mental institutions have been put there as a result of

excessive noise and irritation caused by noise, Noix

affects the body physically and can cause different dis

eases. As many as 44 million persons in the Uniled

18118 Cong. Rec. (daily ed. Feb. 29, 1972) No. 29 ap

H 1509. | |

area, and the prospects for

have been the subject of a specific study.”

= reveals that in areas immediately surround:

‘id. at p. H 1510. |

iM te

ing airports, low-flying aircraft and those taking off,

taxiing and testing engines on the ground generate th

most intense and frequent noise in the city.” It further

reveals that the smaller jet aircraft of the type which

utilize the Hollywood-Burbank Airport produce an wa |!

acceptable level of noise (100 plus PNdb) over a

area approximately one mile in width and extending

from two to three miles from the end of the airport's

runways.” It further noted that noise levels in exces

of 87 PNdb cause substantial speech interference and

produce various temporary changes in the physiological

state. The most important of these is a reduction in th

size of the median and smaller arterials. Some of th

side effects of this phenomenon are an increase in

pulse rate, a paling of the mucous membrane

throughout the organism, and an increase in respiration

rate. In addition, rest and relaxation is interfered with

to a substantial degree. It is the conclusion of this study

that although apparently higher sound levels can bk

tolerated by man without permanent damage or break-

down from this cause alone, an urbanwide limit above

87 PNdb would be indefensible and irresponsible.”

As to aircraft noise specifically, it is stated that such

noise in excess of 82 PNdb impairs conversation and

reading outdoors, and generally disturbs concentration,

especially when aircraft over-flights are frequent and

the climate favors outdoor activity, and that aircraft

noise is psychologically more intrusive because of it

contrast with the usual sound level and its relatively

“sudden” occurrence.” | feb

*11d. at p. 8.

%3/d. at p. 21.

387d. at p. 40.

Jd. at p. 41.

iyo! Posture of the Federal Aviation Administration.

“'Tarning now to the posture and lack of effort on the

part “Of the Federal Aviation Administration with re-

pect to aircraft noise abatement, the statements of vari-

ous members of Congress in the course of the debates

on the bills ‘referred to above are particularly revealing

(these ‘statements were made in an unsuccessful at.

inpt to persuade the House’ of Representatives to shift

fircraft noise abatement authority from the Federal

‘Aviation Administrator to the Administrator of the En-

vironmental Protection Agency):

Cc Wydler:

at ai

__ “The problem is, however, although they [FAA]

if have competence they have shown to the Congress

"Of the United States and to the American people

a complete and utter lack of willingness to use the

| authority which we give them to set the limits on

» jet noise which they should be setting.

niet “In other words, Mr. Chairman, it is not enough

~~ to say that the FAA is competent to do the job.

Ps The question we have to answer in this House to.

+ day is whether the FAA intends to do the job and

___ intends to do anything to utilize the powers that

=e gave them or whether they intend to remain,

_ &8 they apparently have over the years, 2 very

- Willing partner of the airline industry in keeping

® «effective regulations from being put into effect.

“Mr. Chairman, if you will look at the record of

FAA in this field, you will see that what I am

y is a fair and just statement. The Congress

fee and a half years ago in 1968 passed a bill

“Which would have given and in fact did give the

AA ‘the power to take action in the area of re-

ducing jet noise for presently flying aircraft. Thor

are the aircraft making the noise and the aircraft

which will be.making the noise for the next deo

ade or 15 years. We gave to the FAA the powe

to reduce noise in those aircraft and set limit

_which could have meant that they would be retro

fitted with noise suppression devices to bring the

levels of noise down. For three and a half years the

FAA stalled us and the American people and has

taken the position that industry wanted them

take and done nothing.”*

Congressman Mikva:

“If the past is any guide, we are not likely

bring much relief to residents in the vicinity of our

airports by turning over to the FAA the power to

set noise standards for airplanes.”

Statements. of other Congressmen on this subject ar

found in the footnotes. These statements confim

26

7 li8. Cone. Ree Rec. (daily ed. Feb. 29, 1972) No. 29 at p

- 9d: et p. Hi 1517.

WILK Cogy Riek. : (dally 08.’ February '29, 1972) No. 2%:

nr ee

“Unfortunately history has ctan

Ye FAA to undertake a meaningful program of aircrali

, noise abatement.” “esta dnansataras

eee

health should not be

airlines.” (at p. H 1531)

feeeipe

secondary to the

aN

m Univ 39

Fadem &

Southwestern

“gt

—223—

this “no-action”. policy. of the Administrator is found

in his opinion in In the Matter of the Petition of Jordi

A. Dreifus,, FAA Regulatory. Docket. No. 9071, th

full:text.of which is set forth in-the Appendix to ti

Brief (p. 4).

“It is worthy of note: that at every opportunity the

Federal “Aviation Admitistration expressly . disclaim

that the noise standards. which it adopts are. acceptable

in any specific airport environment and following its

previous pattern declares that airport owners acting

proprietors can deny the use of their airports to aircraft

on the: basis: of noise considerations.” The net result

is that airport proprietors are not regulated in terms of

the. permissible level of noise which may be created by

aircraft using their airports. This attitude and approach

by. the. Federal Aviation Administration allows the Fed.

eral government to remain immune from liability for air-

craft; noise.under Griggs v. Allegheny County.” It al

permits the Federal Aviation Administration to pary

the-thrust of citizens’ ‘complaints by pointing to the air

port proprietor as the culprit. As a result we have

the “lacuna” about ‘which the California Supreme Court

warned in Loma Portal Civic Club v. American Air

Hines, Inc.™

Bivest im the one ares where the Federal Aviatio

Aeeiplecse bes sted—o sdoqton of noe sm

“91369 OR 84 (1962).

39 CabkRptr, 394 B

oti cus sg 78, 994, 2 “a ”

—29—

Pa for new subsonic turbojet-powered aircraft—his

‘actions again demonstrated a lack of concern for the

A had stated that it was “well within the state of

’ to achieve noise levels of 106 EPNdb (this is

‘fefinement of the PNdb concept which takes into ac-

it the duration of noise and pure tones such as the

whine“of a jet engine) measured at three statute miles

from the start of take-off, one statute mile from the

landing threshold, and 1,500 feet from the center-

Bet Go runway ” In spite of this, the standards

# actually promulgated permit noise levels of 108

EP) id ‘at points farther from the runway than origi-

nally proposed and levels as high as 110 EPNdb, if

: | greater reduction of sideline noise is achieved.

he difference between 106 EPNdb, as originally sug-

peated, ‘and 110 EPNdb represents a substantial in-

ly 50%. To make matters worse,

the Administrator exempted from these standards

‘the first group of approximately 160 Boeing 747’s.™

Other ‘exemptions will no doubt be forthcoming.

4 he _Administrator’s record with respect to existing

jet aircraft is equally unimpressive. In July of 1970 he

released a study prepared by Rohr Corporation” which

. = JD, Bat, Blatt, Associate Admsineicaon, PAA, to Wil-

ce Come Tey to PAA Ma

CFR. §36 §36

x, The laine Noise Problem: Federal Power ed

ia © eaptng pl tiling 204 (1971). See

rger, “ Nobody Loves An Airport, 43 So.CalL.R. 631

P pp. 771-774.

Report os soe ee by Rohr Corporation, dated

¢ Prepared) for Department of Transportation, Fed-

~~ (This is continued on next page)

—30—

reached. the conclusion. that the 727’s, the 737s al |

the DC-9's (the ‘largest type of jet: aircraft presently

in use at’ the Hollywood-Burbank Airport) could te

retrofitted to achieve reductions of 5 EPNdb in noi

levels on take-off and 10 EPNdb on landing, and

in the case of 707 and DC-8 jet aircratt, reduction

of 8 EPNdb on take-off and 13, EPNdb on landing

That these reductions would be substantial is borne out

by the fact that a reduction of 8 EPNdb on takeoff

noise of the 707 and DC-8 jet aircraft would drop th

annoyance level by 45% and a reduction of 13 EPNéb

would drop the annoyance level by some 60%." The

shady Sipther qdvises that the cost of retrofitting cl

be recovered through nominal fare increases.” Th

release of this report was followed in November of the

same year by the issuance of an FAA Advance Notice

noise: reduction ‘retrofit. requirements.” Although

hearings ‘have been held on this subject by the Fedetal

Aviation ‘Administrator, nothing ‘resulted, and in th

early part of ‘this year the Administrator postponed fur

deration of the mattet for 18 months."

Office of Eco-

Acoustically Treated Nacelle ad

Cottiguisions. Applicabte to Low Bypass Turbofan Es

"Supra, footnote 35.

**Supra, footnote 36. "

"9935 Federal Register 16,980 (Nov. 4, 1970).

wih SS ee a cde #

: 1968. 68 nuthorng the FAA to sc "aig Ht ad and elt

=~ A) “a

PO pe

oe ae

he equally distressing aspect of this matter is to

find'the Federal Aviation Administrator joining with the

Air’ ‘I iation in almost every recent case

involving attempts by State and local governments to

4 good example. Shortly after Lockheed and PSA with-

drew their application for. preliminary injunction on

May 27,1970, so that the Burbank ordinance would be

fective again on July 13, 1970, the Air Transport

Assdtiation filed an application to intervene as a plain-

tiff and the application was granted. From that time on

the case was substantially under the control of the attor-

iieys of that organization and this control has continued

Wp to the present time. Amicus briefs were filed by

thé’Federal Aviation Administration in the District

phe

wae FAA issued an announcement proposed

ides, to require installation of noise suppression de-

™ on existing jets

he Coa Bano cana

pi ‘

an ordinance of the

;

Court and the Court of Appeals. This same practice,

with some. variations, has been followed in. other cases,“

one. ,in. California”. and, one in New Jersey,“ both of

which held that. the Federal, government had not pre

a Te ee ee

Reliel Through the Comrts.

“The decision. of the Court of Appeals in this cam,

buttressed as it is: by: the decision of the District Cour,

is one, more nail in the environmental coffin. The de

cision has already been. cited and used in denying r

lief to.those seeking some relief from the adverse effecs

of poles. teiion, omnes (7. Fe agcrab” In Fume

1971 the Governor of

e

it

F

=

Stage v. v. Municipal Court of Santa Monica Judicial District,

2 Cal App 34 318, 82 Cal. Rptr. 578 (1969). :

sae ha of Hanover v. Town of Morristown, 108 NI

AS. Roel. 2d,692(1969).

J Berio <t pur-

pose of the ensuing argument to demonstrate that this

seemingly impenetrable facade of Federal power, which

bas been constructed bit by bit through the decisions

0 F the Jower Federal courts, should and must be

Clause, The Federal

Federal Avia-

“Airways v. Nebraska State Board, 347 US:

« $68

ee af

eee

oe

pr a>, Kas

393°U.S. ; Airlines, ;

woe F. 2d 812 American Airlines Inc.

bon Park, 1968), affd per

107. F 2d. 1 a a

scl aie

a ichlieeaee “—

“These Federal ‘Acts regulating air commerce

are bottomed on the commerce power of Con

gress, not on national ownership of the navigable

gt wigodm pews sma ptm dl

_e & & *

“The commerce power, since Gibbons v. Og

den (US) 9 Wheat. 1, 193, 6 L ed 23, 69, has

comprehended navigation of streams. Its breadth

covers all commercial intercourse. But the fedenl

commerce power over navigable streams does not

prevent state action consistent with that power.

Gilman v. Philadelphia (US) 3 Wall. 713, 729,

18.L, ed 96, 100. Since, over streams, Congres

acts by virtue of the commerce power, the sr

ereignty of the state is not impaired.”

- Likewise forgotten is the fact that this Court has

been less willing to find preemption where the state

action or regulation is designed to protect the health or

welfare of those who reside or work in a particular

State or community. This was amply demonstrated in

the decision of this Court in Huron Portland Cement

Co..v. Detroit, 362 U.S, 440 (1960). |

With these preliminary observations, we will proceed

with an examination of the preemption issue.

No Express Preemption.

There is nothing inthe Federal Aviation ~Act of

1958 (49 U.S.C. §1301, et seq.) which would suggest

that Congress intended to preempt the regulation

airport proprietors. In fact the Act/itself rose

ar WN

the-contrary.=Section 1106 of that Act (49 US.C.

§1506) provides as follows:

¢22: “Nothing contained in this chapter shall in any

way abridge or alter the remedies now existing at

ss Uisileas Wik ft by tntehc. nt Che perelaicns ot

, this. chapter are in addition to such remedies.”

ii ‘Head vy. Board of Examiners, 374 US. 424

(1963), Mr. Justice Brensian, in commenting on an

identical provision contained in the Communications

Act.of 1934, 48 Stat. 1064, as amended, 47 U.S.C.

§§151 et seq., stated (separate concurring opinion 374

US. pages 443-444): .

; “Rather than mandate ouster of. state regula-

__,, tions, several provisions of the Communications

Act suggest a congressional design to leave stand-

“ing various forms of state regulation, including

“© the fom embod in the New Meco state

First, the: Act contains a ‘saving clause,’ 47 U.S.C.

A414, providing that ‘Nothing in this chapter con.

tained shall in any way abridge or alter the rem-

_., dies now existing at common law or by statute,

., but the provisions of this chapter are in addition

Es Sh tare Of course, such a general pro-

ae eo am eta pace po

Transp, Co. y. Southern R. Co., 372 US 658, 671,

¢ 22, 10 L ed 2d 52, 60, 83 S Ct. 984, but

inclusion. in the statute plainly is inconsistent

t congressional displacement of the state stat-

emer rest tt memo, smote

1 Portal Civic Club v. American Airlines,

tes yea 2d 582, 39 Cal. Rptr. 708, 394 P. 2d

a

548 (1964), the California Supreme Court took a sim

ilar view of the effect of the “saving clause” (49

U.S.C. 81506) in the Federal Aviation Act of 1958

(394 P, 2d 548 at page 555):

“Here we have an expression of the intent of

Congress. The Federal Aviation Act expressly de-

clares that ‘Nothing contained in this chapter shall

in any way abridge or alter the remedies now

isting at common law or by statute, but the pro

visions of this chapter are in addition to such

remedies” (49 U.S.C. §1506.) Thus, it is. clear

’ that ‘the federal legislation was not intended to

be exclusive.” ; ,

~ ‘The validity of a claim of Federal preemption car

not be judged by reference to broad statements. about

the “comprehensive” nature of Federal regulations ut

der a particular Act or the “exclusive jurisdiction” of

Congress. Thus in Head v. Board of Examiners, supra,

it is stated (374 U.S. at pages 429-430):

“In dealing with the contention that New Met

co’s jurisdiction to regulate radio advertising has.

been preempted by the Federal Communications

Act, we may begin by noting that the validity of

~ this claim cannot be judged by reference to broad

‘statements about the ‘comprehensive’ nature of

federal regulation under the Federal Commumict

tions Act. ‘[T]he “question whether Congress and

its commissions acting under it have so far exc

cised the exclusive jurisdiction that belongs tot

as to. exclude the State, must be answered by!

—37—

_«/ iconcerning the “exclusive jurisdiction” of Congress

«+ dbeg the only controversial question: whether Con-

ewo.gress intended to make its jurisdiction exclusive.’

California v. Zook, 336 US 725, 731, 93 L ed

«>» 1005, 1010, 69 S Ct 841. Kelly v. Washington,

, 302 US 1, 10-13, 82 L ed 3, 10, 12, 58 $ Ct

Was

28”

Earlier, in California v. Zook, 336 U.S. 725 (1949),

gressional intent. There with respect to the “coincidence

ions, the Court stated (336 U.S. at pages 729 and 732-

733): 7

~~ * “Fhe Court could not have intended to enunci-

| “ate a mechanical rule, to be applied whatever the

feat.

ae * ee &

~~ “In short, we would be setting aside great num-

bets of state statutes to satisfy a congressional pur-

pose which would be only the product of this

‘ourt’s imagination.” :

M8.(1947) is misplaced. Involved in that case

te United States Warehouse Act (39 Stat. 486,

), a8 amended. It was expressly declared in Sec-

tm <7 of the Act that “the power, jurisdiction and

ith ity’ of the Secretary of Agriculture conferred un-

wate Act “shall be exclusive with Fespect to all per-

dines

sons” licensed under the Act.(331 U.S..at page 233),

and similar unambiguous statements were made in the

reports of the Committees of the Senate and the Hous

of Representatives (331 U.S. at pages 232-234). .

Notwithstanding this broad and positive declaration

of preemption, this Court held, with respect to three

other matters covered by the Illinois Public Utilitie

Act, as follows (331 U.S. at page 237):

“The United States Warehouse Act contains no

provisions relating expressly to these those aaa

ters. And we are told that the Secretary of Agr-

culture has made no attempt to exercise any juris

- « diction over them. But ee

_. Tepugnancy are conjured up.”

**# * &

Federal Compress Co. v. McLean, supra (291

US p. 23, 78.L ed 627, 54 S Ct. 267), In mor

ambiguous situations than this we have refused to

hold that state regulation was superseded by 4

federal law. Penn Dairies v. Milk Control Com

mission, 318 US 261, 87 L ed 748, 63 S Ct 617.”

As will be seen, the Federal Aviation Act of 1958

(49 U.S:C. $1301, ef seg.) contains no provisions

expressly relating to airport proprietors, except a pro

vision adopted in 1970 relating to airport safety,”

and the Federal Aviation Administrator has made no

attempt to exercise jurisdiction over them in terms of

eee

Bay, ooo National Uniformity,

To achieve any meaningful discussion of the more re-

tonal uniformity. ‘That it does not, requires little more

than a consideration of the situation at Hollywood-Bur-

bank Airport: By any standard it is inadequate even

from the standpoint of safety. It has no “clear” zones.

Its runways terminate at public streets. On leaving the

thickly populated areas no matter what the direction of

take-off may be. In the terms used by this Court in

Griggs v. Allegheny County,” this airport is “inoper-

the country where the impact of aircraft noise on those

who live or work in surrounding areas is reduced to a

‘fititimim because of favorable physical location or the

aoquisit of necessary clear zones and avigation ease-

ents: To say that all airports require national uni-

10 nity in terms of hours of operation or permissible

levels of noise is equivalent to saying that airports must

accept all types of aircraft, even though the runways

m Some are not adequate for the larger aircraft. _ :

sBeyond :this it has been repeatedly recognized that

maHional uniformity in this area of regulation is neither

‘arable nor possible. Thus in a letter dated June 22,

‘1968, submitted by the Secretary of Transportation to

“4 2.8 hate Committee on Interstate Commerce” at

ie of its consideration of the addition of Section

69 US. 84-(1962).

is letter is set out in full in’ the Appendix to this Brief

sessile

611 (49 U.S.C..§1431) to the Federal Aviation Act

of 1958, he stated:

_“Just.as.an airport owner is responsible for de

ciding how long the runways will be, so is the

owner responsible for obtaining noise easements

necessary to permit the landing and takeoff of the

aircraft. The Federal Government is in no position

to require an airport to accept service by larger

aircraft and, for that purpose, to obtain longer

-Tunways, Likewise, the Federal Government is in

no position to require an airport to accept service

by noisier aircraft, and for that purpose to obtain

additional noise easements. The issue is the service

desired by the airport owner and the steps it is

willing to take to obtain the service. In dealing

- with this issue, the Federal Government should not

substitute its judgment for that of the States or

elements of local government who, for the most

part, own and operate our Nation’s airports. The

proposed legislation is not designated to do this

and will not prevent airport proprietors from ex-

cluding any aircraft on the basis of noise co

sideration.” ' . .

The Committee concurred in these views."

In connection with the adoption of aircraft type cer-

tification noise standards for new subsonic aircraft”

the Federal Aviation Administrator stated:

“The noise limits specified in Part 36 are the

technologically practicable and economically. ree

~ ‘sonable limits of aircraft noise reduction technol

~ #Senate Report No. ro pom Cone, 2d Sess. 6-7 (1968).

Pie kee eee gg

Rederal, Register 18355-18356, November 18, | bow

now FOR $36. See also Appendix to this Brief p. 3.

Gity of Santa Monica, in response to 4 locally de-

“femmined desire for quiet, had enacted an ordinance

which provided that “no pure jet aircraft shall take off

expe ed to increasing turbo jet aircraft traffic and

1S Noise, requested (as set forth in the decision )

etal Aviation Administration to amend the Fed-

—~—42—

eral Aviation Regulations to prescribe noise restrictions

and limithtions for turbo jet aircraft operating at the

Santa .Monica Municipal Airport of the type that the

City of Santa Monica had. attempted to impose by its

ordinance. The arguments, as stated by the petitioner

embraced all of the contentions advanced by Lockheed,

PSA and ATA in this case. Petitioner argued, among

other things, that “failure of the FAA to issue restric

tions’ at Santa Monica and other airports would allow

the State and local governments to issue their own air

port ‘use restrictions” and further that “the restrictions

would result in chaos, confusion, interference and ob

struction to aircraft operations, which could te

Contrary to the national interest”. In response t

this “argoment, the ‘Federal Aviation Administrator

stated." ite

“Péitioner’s argument 8, describing the adverse

@ffects of local airport use restrictions is not sup

.. - ported by any facts or experience known to the

“-' “FAA. This form of locally responsive noise con

trot ts-clearly in the national interest in the light

~ of the quoted portion of the Senate Report. Fur

tse non tat te ale mt

Cie deen

natively applied.” (italics added).

As:to petitioner's further argument (9) that “failure

of the. FAA .to issue noise abatement regulations for

with the primary reason for the Federal Aviation Ac

of 1958, which was.the unification of the control of ait

cont operations is a single Federal agency to assure

SS pte

itll ean

safety and the orderly development of aviation”,

the Administrator's response was as follows:

+*** “Petitioner’s argument 9, coverin g the unifica-

~ “tion objective of the Federal Aviation Act of

~~ 1958, is correct insofar as it describes the need for

“°* @ single Federal agency in the field of the safe,

*" orderly development of aviation. ‘However, the Sen-

~~ ate Report makes it clear that, just as the FAA

“© recognizes the proprietary interest of airport opera-

“tors by not requiring an airport to accept service,

$0 it should recognize the proprietary interest of

~~ airport operators by not substituting its judgment,

“* ‘so far as acceptance of noisy aircraft by the air-

**~ port is conceived, for that of the State or local

~~ governmental elements that own and operate the

nation’s airports.”

Thus we have clear and unequivocal statements by

those ‘charged with the administration of the Federal

Aviation Act of 1958 (49 U.S.C. §1301, ef seq.),

Which recognize the diversity of individual airports and

their. environments, and the need for restrictions in

_Mimivof the permissible levels of aircraft noise in par.

ticular airport environments, including time restric.

fons when operational regulations have failed to pro-

Wie the needed relief. This recognition is accompanied

Fequally positive assertions that the Federal govern-

Seat is in no position to, and will not, enter this area

anbtihans

The Burbank Ordinance Is Not Preempted.

Tse wat pertinent: tee snoge recent decisions

this Court, is. Colorado Anti-Distrimination Com. ¥,

Continental Air Lines, Inc., 372 U.S. 714 (1963). At

issue im .that case was. whether the Colorado Ant-

Discrimination Act of 1957 was preempted by the Fed

eral Aviation Act of 195$ and, in particular, by Sec

tion. 1374(b). which prohibited. air carriers from sub

jecting any person “to any unjust discrimination” and

Section .1302(¢) which required “the promotion of

adequate, economical,. and efficient service by air

carriers at reasonable charges, without unjust discrimi

nations.” In holding that the Colorado Act had not

been preempted by ‘these sections of the Federal Avis

tion Act of 1958, this Court stated as follows (372

US. at pp. 723-724): :

“This is a familiar type of regulation, aime

by regulations. Notwithstanding this broad author-

_ ity, .we-are satisfied that Congress. in the Cwil

Aeronautics Act-of 1938, and its successor had no

express or implied intent to bar state legislation

in this field and that the Colorado statute, a

least so long as any power the Civil Aeronautics

ge

—45—

“@The Federal Aviation Administrator in his decision

fe the Dreifus matter made reference to the fact that

the FAA, in an attempt to solve the problem, had

provided for “(1) the use of a noise abatement run-

way When permitted by wind conditions; (2) the use of

a noise abatement departure path to avoid congested

areas; and (3) the use of raised traffic patterns.”“ He

made further reference to section 91.87 of Part 91

Of the Federal Aviation Regulations which prescribes

‘Boise abatement approach, departure and runway re-

quirements for turbine powered and large airplanes.”

He then observed as follows:

ra __“Beyond these rules, and the FAA’s monitoring

__ of the Santa Monica Airport under the FAA Or.

__ det, the FAA believes that further relief from air-

“ ¢taft noise should involve airport use restrictions

“similar to those that petitioner states were issued

in the Santa Monica City Ordinance. In short, the

<< °FAA at present does not know of any action,

/>-\short of the type attempted by Santa Monica,

» # that will satisfy the needs of the neighbors of

=; the airport or supply the relief requested.” (Italics

$0 in this case, the efforts in this regard of the FAA

Chief of the Airport Traffic Control Tower at the Holly-

“wood. Airport were likewise unsuccessful (A.

HY, 319). As in the case of the Santa Monica Air.

‘Petty the only feasible means of satisfying the “needs”

‘Whose who resided in the vicinity of the Hollywood-

Barbank Airport was to impose the time restrictions

@@ jet aircraft takeoffs as specified in the Burbank

—~46—

ordinance (which conformed to those specified in th

Santa Monica ordinance). If the power to impose such

restrictions resides in the Federal Aviation Adminis

trator, it remained “dormant and unexercised."“ . .

- Accordingly, at least until the Administrator act,

"On this point Head v. Board of Examiners, supra"

has further relevance. Before the Court in that cas

‘was the Constitutional validity of a statute of the Stat

of New Mexico which prohibited certain price adver

tising methods in the sale of glasses over radio ste

tions and in newspapers which also served the ad

joining State of ‘Texas. At issue, among ‘others, was

whether the’ statute was preempted by the Feder

Communications / Act. It appears from the opinion

but that since World War II it had largely left thes

matters in the hands of the Federal Trade Commission.

In holding that the New Mexico statute had not beea

preempted, this Court stated (374 U.S. at p. 432): -.

. “As in Colorado Anti-Discrimination Com. ¥.

Continental Air Lines, Inc. 372 US 714, at 724,

—_» 10,L ed 2d 84, 91, 83 S Ct 1022, we are satit

.. fied thatthe state statute ‘at least so long as any

power the [Commission] may have remains “dor

- mant and unexercised,” will not frustrate any pat

of the purpose.of the.federal legislation.” - .

“Colorado Anti-Discrimination Com. v. Continental Aivinn,

Inc., 372 U.S. 714 (1963) at p. 724.

374 U.S. 424 (1963).

—47—

bi Haron Portland Cement Co. v. Detroit, 362 U.S.

440 (1960), the very issue was whether the City of

Detroit by ordinance would require boilers, which had

been approved and licensed by the Federal Govern-

ment for use on navigable waters, to be replaced by

other equipment in order to relieve that City from the

diects of air pollution. In holding that it could and

that the ordinance was not Preempted by -Federal legis-

lation, this Court first observed as follows (362 U.S. at

=

_°“The ordinance was enacted for the manifest

dines, of promoting: the ‘health: and ‘welfare of

_ the city’s inhabitants. Legislation designed to free

“from pollution the very air that people breathe

Clearly falls within the exercise of even the most

‘traditional concept of what is

wn as the police power. In the exercise of

‘that power, the states and their instrumentalities

we. MY act, in many areas of interstate commerce

~~ and Maritime activities, concurrently with the fed-

~ “eral government.”

It then pointed out that Congress had for many years

Maintained an extensive and comprehensive set of con-

ttols over ships and shipping, including the inspection

steam vessels, and that these inspections were broad

‘M Mature, including, among other things, boilers. It con-

das follows (362 U.S. at pages 445 and 446):

“The thrust of the federal inspection laws is

a, limited to affording protection from the

Perils of maritime navigation.”

* * *&

es as 6

bis the elimination of air pollution to protect

“a

ae3

ea

ate,

PS

wise

48

the health and-enhance the cleanliness of the local

community.” “3

see

“We conclude that there is no overlap between

the scope of the federal ship inspection laws and

that of the municipal ordinance here involved.

For this ‘reason we cannot find that the federal

inspection legislation has pre-empted local action

‘To. hold ‘otherwise would be to the teach-

ing of this Court’s decisions which enjoin secking

out conflicts between state and federal regulation

where none clearly exists.”

Totally apart from this view of the matter is the

fact that Congress, in adding Section 611 to the Fed

eral Aviation Act of 1958 (49 U.S.C. §1431), left air

tion of the permissible level of noise that could b

created by aircraft using their airports and, as already

indicated, the discretion of airport proprietors in thal

regard has been repeatedly affirmed by the Federal

Aviation Administrator.“ This, in and of itself, is suf

ficient to validate the Burbank ordinance. Thus in Rice

vy. Board of Tradé, 331 U.S. 247 (1947), companion

cases. to Rice v: Santa Fe Elevator Corp., supra, the

ing the Commodity Exchange Act, 49 Stat. 1491,’

$45, had preempted the ability of the Illinois Com

merce Commission to regulate the Chicago Board of

‘Frade, 2 commodity xchange. In holding that th

Illinois Commerce Commission had the power to rege

late the Chicago Board of. Trade in those areas wher

& c

Bee

——i—

that Board had freedom to act, this Court stated (331

7****Tnsofar as those rules are concerned, all that

“®" the’ Act’ ‘and the regulations of: the Secretary do

s vide standards ‘for warehouses whose receipts are

‘lacceptable’ in satisfaction’ of futures contracts.

“SS eretion. °

"2 “Hetice it’ seems to us that no action of the

“Illinois Commission within the zone where the

" Botrd tide freedom to act would contravene the

federal scheme of regulation. It would be quite

i - the Secretary. But such collision is not necessary;

ta

“> 7

Toh

aA) -

2* w

& wie af *

.5 a : Rie

0 e ti

7 ‘> a

rg roe

The comments of the California Supreme Court

Loma Portal Civic Club v. American Airlines, Inc;

supra," on the effect of a holding of Federal preemp

tion are worth repeating. In that regard the Court

stated (61 Cal. 2d at pages 591-592, 39 Cal. Ree

at page 714, 394 P. 2d at page 554):

“A holding of federal.preemption would hav

the effect of disabling thé state from any action in

the entire field, and placing in the federal gov

ernment complete and sole responsibility for regu

lation of all aspects of that field. Such a holding

by a single state court would have, of course, no

effect on the conduct of other states with respect

to regulation of that field, and unless Congress had

in fact intended such preclusion of state regule

tion and were to carry out its responsibilities, there

would. result within that state a lacuna which the

state would be powerless to fill.”

In this Gase we have a “lacuna” which the Burbank

ordinance has attempted to fill.

3. The Conflict Issue.

The Court of Appeals resolved the conflict iswe

against the Appellants by concluding that the Burbant

‘ordinance “stands as an obstacle to accomplishment

and execution of the full purposes and objectives of

Congress,” citing Perez v.. Campbell, 402 US. 637

(1971). The conflict which it found was with respec

to-# Ra-msandisey9. renway preference order of 6 mie

FAA official in charge of the Air Traffic Contd ;

Tower at Holywood Barvank Airport (A- 426). By

R61 Cal 2d 582, 39 Cal. Rot. 708, 394. P. 2doM

(1964). ay

oe

also stated that the Burbank

of flight of prospective

night flight

Airport} of

(A. 427, fm. 12). On the

‘Testriction imposed by the Federal Aviation

the Hollywood-Burbank Airport. Neither was it

vt lation by the Federal Aviation Administrator of

be. contemplated by Section 611 (49. U.S.C:

of the Federal Aviation Act of 1958. It was

Memnably issued under the authority of FAA order

700.13." There was obviously no conflict between it

- wurdank ordinance. Nevertheless the Court of

itlusion of Law No. 17 (A. 404-405).

Betusion of Law No. 18 (A. 405).

Bx 30 (A. 453-455).

iiding of Fact No. 56 (A. 392).

a), ee

reduce the community exposure to noise to the lowelt

practicable minimum”, and then went on to state tht

“This assertion represents a considered determination by )

_ an authorized representative of the FAA that measur

of the magnitude of that taken by the City of Burbank

are beneath ‘the lowest practicable minimum’.” A com

plete answer to this assertion is found in our discussion

of the Preemption Issue under the hearings “National

Uniformity” and “The Burbank Ordinance is Not Pre

empted”, wherein we pointed out that this so-called

“determination” was in conflict with the determination

of: the Federal Aviation Administrator in the Dreifus

matter, namely, that when noise abatement and other

procedural regulations had: failed to provide needed te

lief, “further relief should involve airport use restrictions

similar to those” imposed by the Santa Monica ordi-

nance.” In making this statement the Administrator

observed that, as the proprietor of the Washing

National Airport he had imposed restrictions on its use.”

Time limitations, however, are not the only approved

method of reducing the effects of aircraft noise.

There was yet- another measure available to ©

duce the community exposure to noise below this “low

est practicable minimum”, namely, the exclusion of air

craft from Hollywood-Burbank Airport on the basis o

noise considerations. This likewise had the specific ap

proval. of. the Federal Aviation Administrator in Dret

fus™ and had earlier been asserted as a means of

alleviating the adverse effects of aircraft noise-by th

"Appendix to this Brief at p. 7. eteiay: —

"8d. at pp. 5, 12. er

"jd, at p. 11. | Ré a

a ae

Seqretary of Transportation.” It should be noted that the

ponmandatory..runway preference order on which the

‘Gourt.of Appeals relied was issued September 4,

969." The Dreifus opinion was issued July 10,

OG TT: _—s

- Ih view of the foregoing, the only weight that can

p properly accorded to the FAA Tower Chief's de-

ttxipination is that of all noise abatement runway pro-

cedures he had attempted,” this last one had the best

prospects. of achieving the greatest reduction of noise.

7" Interference With Federally Certificated Rights.

attempt to overcome the absence of any

2 -

toga

SB a sa

€ of conflict with any Federal statute or regu-

f, the argument was advanced in the District

‘and carried over into Conclusion of Law No. 17

t is easily demonstrated. Under Section 401 of the

ra Aviation Act of 1958 (49 U.S.C. §13%)) the

Sie

hereby authorized ». .” [Pl. Ex. 8, A. 104]. Under

Subsection (i) of Section 401 of the Federal Aviation

Act of 1958 (49 US.C. §1371(i)) a Certificate of

Public Convenience and Necessity issued by the Civil

Aeronautics Board does not “confer any proprietary,

property, or exclusive right in the use of any airspace,

Federal airway, landing area, or air-navigational facil

ity”: (Italics added). The Civil Aeronautics Board itself

has recently recognized the limitations imposed by this

subsection in its decision in Pacific Northwest-Califor-

nia Investigation, Docket 18884 of May 12, 1970 [PL

Ex. 35, A. 118] when it granted to Continental Air

Lines, Inc. a route which involved the use of Ontario

International, Long Beach Municipal, Hollywood-Bur-

bank and Orange County Airports, As appears from

its decision, the City of Long Beach and the County of

Orange were unwilling to allow Continental to use their

airport facilities and, in that connection, the Civil Aero

nautics Board stated at page 13:

“Since cooperation of the local airport author

ities will be needed before any service can be it

augurated, it will be up to the satellite carrie

[Continental Air Lines, Inc.]. we have selected

convince these authorities that their express fear

are exaggerated or are outweighed by affirmative

sderations.” ’

At the time of trial in this case Continental. had bees

unsuccessful in persuading these local airport author

ities to accept their aircraft and as a e.

wag not providing any service to ot, from these Ps

ticalar airports (A. 239°242). : *

power; without violating any Federal statute or regula-

tion, t0 exclude aircraft on the basis of noite considera.

fe nities es

s

‘Admittedly it precludes entry into the navigable air-

space from }the Hollywood-Burbank Airport between

the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. except in emer-

fetcies. That there is nothing unusual or unreasonable

out this is attested by the fact that the Federal Avia-

—$6—

raceme pepe aciheopniieattomebedogsenatiage:

Act of 1958."

Nav abet ‘cb ie Cicclh ot he Cay ol Beene

enacting the ordinance in question, clearly accords with

and implements the policy of Congress as expressed in

its more recent legislative enactments, (e.g., The Ne

tional Environmental Policy Act, 42 U.S.C. §4321;

Environmental Education Act, 20 U.S.C. §1531; Air

Quality Act of 1967, 42 U.S.C. §1857 et seq.; Environ

mental Quality Improvement Act of 1970, 42 om

§§4372-4374).

Of importance for the purposes of this discussion

are the observations of the California Supreme Court

in Loma Portal Civic Club v. American Airlines, Inc.

(1964), 61 Cal. 2d 582, 592, 39 Cal. Rptr. 708, 714,

394 P. 2d 548, 554:

“Moreover, we note that noise abatement is a fed-

‘eral as well as a state aim, and when not incon

‘sistent with safety . . . would not necessarily

preserit a conflict with federal law but might well

Hiferce te™

The Court of Appeals, in its statement that the effect

of the Burbank ordinance “was to terminate the right .

of flight of prospective passengers [approximately 80]

through this portion of the airspace at this time,” was

obviously attempting to bring its’ prohibition within

the language of Section 104 (49 U.S.C. §1304) of the

Federal Aviation Act;of 1958 which declares “a public

tight of freedom of fransit through the navigable air

space of the United States” (Italics added). In actuality

ths ‘onrtinince' dit “sot deny ‘freedom of transit theca

~ Appendix to this Brief at pp. 11-12. / is

silica

‘the navigable ‘airspace. What it did was prohibit entry

p:the navigable airspace from the land on which the

wi irbank Airport is located during the pro-

Where is: nothing in the Federal Aviation Act of

1958 which confers on the public or anyone else the

fight 10 enter the navigable. airspace from land where

such entry has been prohibited by an ordinance or land

ise tegulation adopted by a municipality. It is well

settled in California that, in the exercise of its police

power, a municipality may enact ordinances the ob-

jectiof which is to abate or prevent nuisances caused by

businesses located within its boundaries. Thain v. City

0 Palo Alto, 207 Cal. App. 2d 173, 24 Cal. Rptr. 515,

523 (1962) [Hearing denied by Supreme Court]; Boyd

¥. City of Sierra Madre, 41 Cal. App. 520, 183 Pac.

0, 232 (1919). It is also well settled that municipal-

$ may enact land use regulations which have the

: Hollywood-

4

Ow)

airport. Bet

m, it is i

—,) =

use by every typeof aircraft, no matter what the effect

may ‘be on:those who reside.in the surrounding ares,

To tlevate ‘the ‘possible convenience of 80 persons

departing from the Hollywood-Burbank Airport for San

Diego once a week on a Sunday night at 11:30 p.m fo

a point of constitutional significance, is to us a perver

sion ‘of this Court's teachings in Perez (402 U.S. 637)

and other decisions. The same may be said of the nop

mandatory runway preference order. It is clear from

the Perez decision that if the majority of this Court had

been convinced that the Arizona statute would serve to

promote the health, safety or welfare of the citizens of

Arizona, the constitutionality of the statute would have

been sustained. The same observation is applicable to

Southern Pacific Co. v. Arizona, 325 U.S. 761 (1945'

and Bibb v. Navajo Freight Lines Inc., 359 U.S. 520

(1959).

| Magnifying the possible convenience of these 80 per

sons and disregarding the need of thousands of person

who reside in the vicinity of Hollywood-Burbank Air

port for uninterrupted sleep on a Sunday night prior

to a Monday morning, does not comport with a proper

cannes ag ae ey ee Pele

dinance, -- :

: Thi. the ‘iiaace wad reaicnebla' and neceaneyh

attested by the fact that the Due Process issue (XI

Amendment) was withdrawn by the Plaintiffs from th

District Court’s consideration (A. 66-67), and further

statements made:-by the counsel for the plaintiffs during

the Course of the trial [R. Tr. pp. 437-438], The nec

and fiecessity for providing some relief for those who

reside in the vicinity of Hollywood-Burbank Airports

further demonstrated by the fact that in the area i

pean) ome Be ene ypc Op

—59—

- has decreased by 11.1% since 1960" and in

area immediately to the east of that area by

‘152%. As to the area immediately to the east of

f i, “East-West” runway, the population has decreased

fen, 1960 by TA%” All of the areas referred bo

Ie Js in excess of 100 plus PNdb.” This indicates

that those who have been able to move from these

| done so. The rest, presumably unable to do

$9, continue to remain subject to the severe noise pol-

lution created by operations at the Hollywood-Burbank

hirport. The only real relief that these residents have

ii is that provided by the Burbank ordinance during

ie short period of time that it remained in effect prior

9 the issuance of the restraining order and during the

~ od from July 13 to November 30, 1970, as a result

F Aviation Administration could have pro-

pd this needed reliet, not by regulation of the airport

ietor (Lockheed), but through operational regula-

i ed upon the aircraft which it controls. In-

»$. Census, Burbank Code Area 3111: 1960 popula-

3286; 1970 population, 4,012.

P See coe Aree 3110: 1960 population,

) population, 3,6

$. Census, Burbank ‘Cle Area 3105: 1960 population,

19 Be epi Si

anch ; ay epee Noise and the Metropolitan

«i vt Lie Angeles with Special Reference

pf, 170 ayo Congress Catalog Card No. 72-

‘te otnc 8, supra, The Court of made no specific

of corporate jet aircraft, other to note that such

j (This footnote is continued on next page)

iq

—0—

4. Burden on Interstate Commerce. sage

* Although the Court of Appeals declined to consider

the issue as to whether the Burbank ordinance const

tuted an unreasonable burden on interstate comment,

the District Court concluded that it did. This concly

sion ‘was reached, not because the ordinance did in fact

burden interstate commerce, since it only affected ont

regularly schetuled intrastate flight and flights of cor

porate jet ‘aircraft, but! rather on the basis of ATA}

contention that the ordinance had to be viewed as if it

were adopted by all major airports within the United

States. A similar approach was attempted by the airlines

in the recent case of Evansville-Vanderburgh Airport

Authority District of Delta Airlines, Inc., 405 U.S. 70

(1972). There the airlines contended, as to the pe

aircraft were go emg pager tint off during the

' v. Town of Morristown, 1%

=

oe

‘tapita charges imposed on airline passengers by State

port.proprietors, that “If such levies were imposed

‘Byeach airport along a traveller's route, the total ef.

fecton.the cost of air transportation, could be pro-

itive, the competitive structure of air carriers could

‘beaaffected, and air transportation, compared to other

fos. of transportation, could be seriously impared”

05 USS. at page 721). In rejecting this contention

i: that these charges were constitutionally

miss this Court stated (405 U.S., at page 722):

» =“But there is no suggestion that the Indiana. and

New Hampshire charges do not in fact advance

he constitutionally permissible objective of having

>, iMterstate commerce bear a fair share of the costs

..#0 the States of airports constructed and main-

for the purpose of aiding interstate air

In that circumstance, *[a]t least until Con-

Gress chooses to enact a nation-wide rule, the

power will not be denied to the State[s].’ Free-

than v. Hewit, 329 US, at 253, 91 L Ed at 272;

te also Southern Pacific Co. v. Arizona, 325

US 761, 775-776, 89 L Ed 1915, 1928, 65 S$ Ct

3 ‘1515 (1945).”

se

@We.should note here parenthetically that the -airlines

[the passengers which utilize the Hollywood-Bur-

pAirport are not bearing their “fair share” of the

mt their use of this airport. It is the owners of

erty and residents under the necessary approach-

@nd departure paths of that airport who bear a

tial cost of its operation. Not only are the air-

tnd their passengers enjoying a “free ride” at the

aan

a

—§2—

<Bileck ot the Burbank Ordinance, gy,

ceuick truss teiialaiarsaiiiadidaeareiar-en' ial

ment Of the ordinance has imposed ‘or would impor

any burden on. interstate ‘commerce. The burden, ‘¢

course,° was upon Lockheed; “PSA ‘and ATA to show

that enforcemenit of the ‘ordinance operated to prejudice

interstate commerce (Interstate Busses Corp. v. Holydke

Street R. Co. 273 US? 45 (1927) at p: 51). In enatt

ing the ordinance ‘the Council of the City of Burbank

was fulfilling’ thé duty imposed ‘on ‘it “to protect’ the

well-being and: tranquility” of the City (See Breard ».

Alexandria; 341 U.S. 622:(1951) at p. 640).

The casé’of Huron Portland Cement Co. v. Detroit,

sipra; (362 °U.S. 440), discussed in’ connection with —

the presrtiption issue, is equally pertinent to this ism.

The following excerpts’ from the Court’s opinion at

relevant (362 U.S.'at pp: 447-448): ;

Es “The mere possession of a federal license, how

~ ‘ever, does not immunize a ship from the operatio

of the normal incidents of local police power,

mot constituting a direct regulation of commerce.”

* 2 8

. the Detroit ordinance requires no more than.

- compliance with an orderly and reasonable scheme

‘of-conimunity ‘regulation. The ordinance does 10

- exGlude ‘a licensed vessel from the Port of Detroit,

- por does it destroy the right of free passage. We

cannot hold that’ the local “regulation so burdess

a ET Eater 3

ee valid.” ee ae

Hron ‘cannot be viewed 38 an isolated colon

of law outside of the mai strea ‘of this Court's tea

ings. to what sonsltuies “an anlawol burden 00

state. commerce. It is the cornerstone of the deci-

tain Head v. Board of Examiners, supra (374 U.S.

fhich, as we have previously observed, sustained

te of the State of New Mexico forbidding cer-

advertising methods in the sale of glasses

dio stations and in newspapers which also

the adjoining State of Texas. In so holding, the

led (374 USS. at pages 428-429):

“Like the smoke abatement ordinance in the

fon case, the.statute here involved is a measure

< addressed to protection of the public

lth, and the statute thus falls within the most

iti concept of what is compendiously

wn as the police power. The legitimacy of

te legislation in this precise area has been ex-

ssly established. Williamson v. Lee Optical of

Ja., Inc. 348 US 483, 99 L. ed 563, 75 S Ct

|. A state law may not be struck down on the

te showing that its administration affects

rstate commerce in some way. ‘State regulation,

minate against interstate commerce or operate

disrupt its required uniformity, may constitu-

ally stand.’ Huron Portland Cement Co. v.

1 supra (362 US at 448).

| has not been suggested that the statute,

licable alike to ‘any person’ within the State of

. Mexico, discriminates against interstate com-

7 as such. Nor can we find that the legisla-

impinges upon an area of interstate commerce

..by its nature requires uniformity of regula-

t The appellants have pointed to no regula-

Ons-of other States imposing conflicting duties,

—64—

»<) Imes, 3972: US.714,.10 L ed 2d 84, 83:S Ct 1023;

_We-hold that.the New Mexico statute, as applitd

-». hereito prevent the publication in New: Mexico:

.. constitutionally. prohibited ‘burden upon interstate

- (Commerce.”” 9 - Sa

‘The Burbank ordinance, like the New Mexico

statuté, controls the proprietor of a ‘business located

within tts boundarie ele iis td

by’ Odlier cities of ‘airport t proprietors cannot be readily

nanan

“The fears expressed by ATA’s s witnesses, that if the

Burbank ordinance is sustained it will lead to a prolifer.

ation of similar restrictions throughout the country, find

ho basis in fact. States and elements of local gover

poll gas ‘for the most part, own and operate ou

Nation’s airports have always had the power to deny the

use ‘of their airports to aircraft on the basis of noix

considerations,” and there is no evidence that this

power has been indiscriminately or unreasonably exer

cised. There will be time enough for this Court, «

other ‘courts having jurisdiction, to consider the reaso-

abletiess of any regulations imposed by other loal

authorities or States on aitport Operations, when and if

such’ occuts. ‘The “possibilities of conflict and repug

nancy” which ATA fias “conjured up”, by contending

that’ the ‘Burbank' ordinance should be viewed in tk

aspect as if applied to all major airports throughout the

United ‘States, is purely an attempt to cloud’ the isu

(See Rice ¥. Santa'Fe Elevator Corp.. supra, 331 US

pairs hth

SrsEretsizt Stig et

© : : eSiee : ‘

ilies

“Further discussion is therefore unnecessary except to

F out that, under at least one decision of this

louit; theextent to which commerce requires a single

ity in control has been determined to be a legis.

question, not a judicial question. Thus in South

a State Highway Dept. v. Barnwell Bros., 303

(1938) the Court stated (303 U‘S. at pages

):

“Congress, in the exercise of its plenary power

tegulate interstate commerce, may determine

Mate’s regulatory power. But that is a legislative

ot judicial function, to be performed in the light

‘Congressional judgment of what is appro-

e of Fact No. 83 (A, 401)

of Law No. 19 (A. 405).

ere ae .

ee

BES

+

5

es ae

priate regulation of interstate commerce, and th

extent to which, in that field, state power am

Jocal interests. should be required to yield tothe

national authority and interest. In: the abseae

of such legislation the judicial function, under

the commerce clause as well as the Fourteenth

Amendment, stops with the inquiry whether th

state legislature in adopting regulations such

the present has acted within its province, and

whether the means of regulation chosen are reason

ably adapted to the end sought.” (Italics added.)

- Up to the present time Congress has not seen fit to

place airports utilized by air commerce under the con

trol of any Federal agency, and, as previously ob

served, airport proprietors are not subject to Fedenl

economic or other regulation except in the area of air-

port safety.”

5, Violation of Fifth, Ninth and Tenth Amendmet

Rights.

One of the points which Appellants stressed in ther

argument before the Court of Appeals was that a dec

sion holding Burbank powerless to enact and enforce the

ordinance in question would allow private airport pro

prietors, such as Lockheed, to ride roughshod over the

rights of owners of property surrounding airports ia

violation. of constitutional guarantees. This is exactly

what has occurred and is occurring since, the Distt

Court rendered its decision.

sll thet talinddeateadt exsediact of: the: Voted: Al

Acheabiditesiidis usd Gi Sililindt Grobe ‘en cosine a

ee ae ee Airport ~ sufficient “=

runway are on land

(A. 380-381);

$2,000,000 on the insemfatt”

iliac

is satisfied and just’ compensation paid, must be up

held if that Amendment is to have any real meaning,

These’ arguments are not without support in decision

of this Court. In Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535 (1971),

this Court held that before a person’s driving prive

leges could be terminated because of involvement in an

accident, the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment requires that a hearing be provided’ for

the determination of whether there is a reasonable pot

sibility of a ‘judgment being rendered against him as 2

result of the accident. In Sniadach v. Family Finance

Corporation, 395 U.S. 337 (1969), it was likewise

held that before a person’s property could be taken

under a prejudgment garnishment, the Due Process

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment required notice

and a hearing. To the same effect is Fuentes v. Shevin,

407, U.S. 67 (1972). The following excerpts from that

opinion are particularly pertinent (407 USS. .

plies

. the prohibition against the deprivation of

scintsh nlthiahi: duis dencsin- ck late, ated

high value, embedded in our constitutional and

political history, that we place on a person's right

to. enjoy what is his,-free of governmental inter: .

Ci Slate OHI A

**s *

“But no later hearing and no damage award cap

see Fe ae ok Piseranees ee erooes.

already occurred. ‘This Court has not ... .

"fedead ee praca tcxeodiicg thet « toe

be done if it can be undone.’ [Citation. ]

spat .“This is no new ‘principle of constitutional lay,

The right to a prior hearing has long been’ ..

‘States, 277 U.S. 438

ft a

Page 478):

sali

If the Fifth Amendment is not applicable, there iss

respectable body of opinion that the right to a decent

environment is one of the rights retained by the people

under the Ninth and Tenth Amendments, and that

it would appear to be beyond question that one of the

rights retained by the people under the Ninth and Tenth

Amendments was the right to restrain private persons

“Thoss»who! would attempt to protect the environment

ts are striving to carve outs

existing provisions of our Constitutioe.

et reg een oe

A.B.A.J. 1061 (Nov. 1970). Such ogre

eae ae

haning\oeen: enacted by a legislative body duly elected

b the People of the City of Burbank,

"We hiave reserved the case of Griggs v. Allegheny

oF

sa

County, 369 U.S. 84 (1962): for separate discussion

iB the scope of Federal control and that it is the

. pro brietor who makes the necessary deterinina-

pa where the airport should be built, the length

tl ies

of its runways, and other features which would affect th

type and size of the aircraft which may: utilize’ it

facilities. We certainly do not dispute the validity of this

conclusion, but what we stated before the Court of

Appeals has equal validity here, to wit:

“Griggs. and-the decision of the District Comt

in this..case cannot stand together. If the FAA

has the power Over airports which it and the Ap

pellees. contend it has, then Griggs must :b

overruled. If such should ever occur, there will be

at least one good result, namely, the Federal Gov.

ernment and the airlines will no longer be able to

avoid. liability for the destruction and damage

caused by an airport, such as Hollywood*Burbank

_» Airport, which has neither provided nor acquired

adequate approachways to its facilities.”

‘We say again that if Congress has in fact pr

empted the field of regulation of noise created by je

aircraft to the exclusion of States and local govem

_ ments, as the opinion of the Court. of Appeals in thi

case holds, then the decision in Griggs must be recor

sesh duiailig cali thin,Kiceak cabs de. Wik eae

should go responsibility. If the decision in this cases

allowed to stand without reversal’ of Griggs, then th

' Federal Aviation Administration will be able to coe

tinue its questionable course of conduct without inter

ference, and the Federal government and: the airlins

will remain shielded from liability for their actions.

* 96

WSee Lasser, The Aircraft Noise ‘Problem: Federal em

Bis Local Liability, 3 Urban Lawyer 175 (1971). Mr

“While we recognize that liability for a “taking” of air

on noise easements necessary for the operation of the

Hollywood-Burbank Airport is not directly at issue in

this case, neither was the liability of the Federal Govern-

mentor the airlines for such a “taking” directly at

is ¢ ‘in the Griggs case. Nevertheless, on the strength

ofthe Griggs decision, there has been no attempt to our

ko : led t to impose liability for such a taking on the

Federal government except in cases where the Federal

geverament is the owner and operator of the airport.

Khim fact the Federal government by virtue of legisla-

fon or exercise of power has preempted the ability of

ies and local governments to exercise reasonable con-

Wer airports within their boundaries, in terms of

noise abatement, then we feel that the Court

| ak this opportunity to reverse Griggs to the

Kent indicated. Noise pollution by jet aircraft is too

igus a matter to allow for.the time it takes a decision

h this Court, should someone have the time, en-

Miy) money ‘and fortitude to weather adverse decisions

the lower Federal courts and finally reach this

—T4— :

statue dean distil dane eal

relief from the adverse effects of noise pollution caitsd

by. jet aircraft: will only come ‘when the noise from

jet engines is. reduced. to liveable levels. As has already

been demonstrated to..a degree, the. Prospects of, this

' ir ose here to fe

a ¢ for the solution

Faas wee eta 6

phase of” this argumént in which we contend that if

the safety, health and ‘welfare of the People of thee

United States is to be preserved, States, local gover

ments and the Courts must be released from the strait

jacket of the preemption. and conflict. doctrines which

have been gradually extended in their scope and effin

since Gibbons v, ‘Ogden, 9 Wheat. 1 (1824). We will

attempt to dethonstrate the imperative necessity for this

Court’s reconsideration of these doctrines in light of th

situation: as it exists in this country today and how it

will bein the future if this Court should fail to intr

yene. There can be no dispute that such a review and ©

consideration are well within the issues involved in ths

case.

‘Relief at the Federal Level. :

Mueh. has already -been said: regarding~ the posture

and inaction of the Federal Aviation’ Administration ia

the area of abatement of jet aircraft noise, and it need

not be repeated here. Reference has likewise been ma

to the apparent impossibility of persuading the Congres

to: shift the responsibility for the abatement 6f aircraft

pole, 08 et Federal agency less subject to domine

tion by the airlines. While we have the National Enviror

ee ee

eM? US.C. $4321, et seq.

onli

at Act of—~1970,” these Acts provide no pres-

pect to new projects which may have an adverse

n the environment, it has been necessary for this

‘and other courts* to compel the Federal

concerned to give proper consideration to the

tal impact of proposed actions in accord-

h the provisions of the applicable statute—

ugh this Court has, even without the benefit of

‘legislation by Congress, intervened to protect

ronment, there is no indication yet that:

lement the broad policy statements in these

P upholding State and local governmental regula-

fim this field. The California Supreme Court has

ently taken the State Legislature at its word

zed similar broad statements of environmental

mtained in the California Environmental Qual-

of 1970'* to extend the requirement of an

ental impact report to private Projects, even

Overton Park, Inc. y. Volpe, 401

Coordinating Committee, Inc. y. Atomic

ECommission, 449 F. 2d 1109 (D.C. Cir. 1971). There

Se fy, Ar showt, ie to 000 that lnaportot logit

0 i is to see that t tive

mposes, heralded in the halls of Congress, are not lost

* rected. in the vast hallways of the federal burean-

v. New York, 283 U.S. 336 (1931); Udall

ower , 387 U.S. 428 (1967).

ends of Mammoth v. Board of Supervisors of Mono

eovember 6, 1972, Sacramento 7924. This case has

Public Resources Code §21000, et seg.

misfortune of baving wo reside i the vicinity of n

port servicing jet aircraft. These could include a require

a am. eS See at

ce

Li

ek

zt

ace

i

iin

a

retrofitted for noise. suppression to the extent possible

under ‘the present state of the art, Other interim

measures which have been adopted or suggested aro the

py

ll

pit

Ht

td

Douglas poy 1011 and Fokker T-28. Jets bull

roma tt 1 not be certified, officials said, for flights. be

tween 11:30 p.m. and 6 a.m.

y

itt

l 3

if

i

pet.

s alteady been indicated to some extent,

O'present prospect of obtaining injunctive relief

he courts because of the views expressed by the

rts in this case and in other Federal lower court

The one bright spot is the decision of the Nev:

uperior Court in Township of Hanover v. Town

ristown, 108 N.J. Super. 461, 261 Atl. Rptr. 2d

960), which imposed a curfew on jet operations

tie Morristown Airport. However, it is reported that

i Federal Aviation Administration is seeking a Fed-

tra ourt injunction to enjoin the enforcement of this

¢atfew on the ground that it violates the Supremacy

Giiuse of the United States Constitution, and if the

pres bat pattern is followed, it will be successful. Even

‘the Californiz Supreme Court has been unwilling to

we its injunctive powers to interfere with the flight

aths of certificated air carriers using the San Diego

Airport, although there are suggestions in the opinion

ab if the airport proprietor had been a party, it might

hav done something about the resulting noise pollu-

|. Reversal of Griggs v. Allegheny County.

wersal of Griggs v. Allegheny County™ to

fie extent of additionally imposing liability for the tak-

fof air or noise easements on the Federal govern-

eat and the airlines would no doubt serve to dramati-

stimulate the Federal Aviation Administration and

wt. ‘See Berger, Nobody Loves An Airport, 43 So.Cal.

Mat'p. 748.

fa Portal Civic Club v. American Airlines, Inc., 61 Cal.

39 Cal Rptr. 708, 394 P.2d 548 (1964). .

3 _ ; re z

eS DP! fae eee Sea SS FS th —_

. my . \ Fe xs

. o Sg ote o bY > op ee ‘ : ¥ > 5 x v de

oe 4 ts Ss * Pe aes f oer

f o.2 *_ 4s * . t . I f

nf 1uga | C I oI is: ‘ i PPA Sy ag 4 ught 4 "

the. taking of air or. noise easements, such litigation

is painfully slow and in the end probably serves fx

the. most.part to-benefit the attorneys.involved. As was

observed in the New. Jersey case referred to above,”

pollution, caused by jet aircraft.” Not everyone liviag

lives: and. property: are so severely affected by noix

er, £¥ per

: —79—

‘jaethevicinity: of an airport owns the property on

Wiehe ‘resides, It probably matters little to the land-

od wh: thereffect of such noise pollution may be on

iiitenants, since he would be looking shead to the

ks nm fez oning to ial or i j trial use

‘Weuld’enable him to achieve a handsome profit. The

Witedy"Of damages serves no useful purpose to a

senior c: izen:who has witli considerable agony observed

theiproliferation and increase in jet aircraft noise. The

valusiof his ‘property has either remained static or de-

eased in spite of the inflationary trend. It would do

legood to seck damages since even if he were

lely' successful, and after payment of the fees of

ttorney, he would be unable to duplicate what he

emption and conflict doctrines of this Court

at a sufficient area in which interim measures,

‘ch as the Burbank ordinance, can fit without viola-

S08.of the Supremacy Clause of the United States Con-

tition, where, as here, Congress has not clearly in-

intent to preempt the area of jet aircraft

sment. Any thoughts that Congress may have

ction is tempered by the knowledge that if it

Will eliminate the shield from liability pro-

Should Griggs

—80—

preemption of this field. To support this assertion»

quires’ nothing: more, than 4-reference to this Courts

decision: in -<Evansville-V anderburgh Airport Authority

District’ v:, Delta: Airlines, ‘Inc’* The ink was hardly

dry on that opinion:‘when the airlines and the Feden!

Court’s decision.”*. This legislation: was: passed by both

Houses of Congress and immediately sent to the Pres

legislation was. included with appropriations for air

ene nee ne ene

dent vetood the measure." @

’ Another example ‘of the: eae of the sir

in overcoming State legislation is found in their ability

to secure passage by Congress of legislation referred to

ad the’ Clean’ ‘Ait “Amenduients’‘of“1970."* One d

pean cature Of this tcgislation was a sectin

ascpeilg Giles illece'eny aadend sad

ing emissions ‘of ‘any air pollutant from any aircraft o

engine thereot unless such’ standard was identical with

the’ Federal’ standard.“* The stimulus and reason fo

their ‘sudden; activity was to foréstall the necessity

ea ae ee ee

7388405 US. 707.(1972). bi

Senate, Bil 3755, 92nd Cong. 2d Sess. *

cs Seer Technology, “Nov. im

Cena Ar Amendments of 1970, PL. No. 91-604 o

pe has > ee

‘ Z

of

if

2

Taylor; 353 US.

(7

—82—

ways been so. In the earlier case of Napier v. Atlantic

Coast Line Railroad Co., 272 U.S. 605 (1926), which

involved the ability of States to prescribe automatic fir

doars on railroad engine fire boxes and engine cab cu

tains, regulations, admittedly designed to protect the

health, safety and welfare of those involved in ther

) operation, this Court flatly declared that the States'in

volved could not do so because of Federal preemption,

There is some language in that opinion out of harmony

with the opinions in Colorado Anti-Discriminatio

Com. and Head.™ A later decision of this Cour,

Terminal Railroad Association v. Brotherhood of Rait

road Trainmen, 318 U.S. 1 (1942), appears to ha

ignored Napier, even. though it was cited in the briels,

and sustained a regulation of the Illinois Commer:

Commission which required cabooses on trains operat

ed in interstate commerce to protect the health, safety

and welfare of those involved in their operation, ln

Huron,™ although Napier was cited in the majority

opinion,’ it was chiefly relied upon by the dissent s

support for the view that the Detroit air pollution ont

nance had been preempted.’ Notwithstanding ths

trend, the Court has continued to at least state the ruk

that if Congress has clearly expressed its intent to

cupy a particular field, State or local regulation in that

field will not be permitted.

1429372 U.S. 714 (1963).

108362 US. at p. 443.

e362 US, at pp. 452-453.

CE OS ae eee eee

ae

a

“08:

Beh Be 2

1 vi

+

the States to legislate

and thus has permitted

e euations to mesh with federal controls.

i¢ Federal Compress ress Co. v. McLean, 291 US 17,

kt Ct 267; Townsend v: Yeo-

: 54, 81 L Ed 1210, 1220, 57

a om

| SCt842; Penn Dairies: v. Milk Control Comfy

: Ail BERNE O61, EA. Ba: 248, 63 S Ct 67,

‘ : “Even: here, (there have been: dissents when it

naan rpm cenmemtaetom: )

_ the facts of a case.” coe |

Some. judges of the lower Federal hea

cated..a similar reluctance in applying an alin

Glusive doctrine in.areas where health, safety and we

fare are. involved. An example of this is found in the

ing opinion in Northern States Power Company

v,,.State of Minnesota, 447.F. 2d 1143 (1971), a caw

which, is presently before this Court for review. Whik

the. dissent in that case recognizes the existence of the

preemption. and conflict. doctrines. which would pre

clude a State orlocal regulation if Congress so declares,

nn ompine eisketts:© dagirine which would be sem

mh St

this country, and cookd jpell. be. doctine which ait

be .adopted. if the legitimate interests of States and

local governments. and their citizens are to be protected

against the continuing encroachment of Federal powe.

It is there stated (447 F. 2d at pages 1157-1158):

_ “The majority opinion also. observes that state

_. might. adopt overprotective environmental coat

aor ns which would go the extent of stultify

_ ing the industrial development and use of ston

nergy. I agree that such a possibility exists, How

Spt dn ape tiene fase fae tral conc’ ae

othe case-on the. basis of absolute preemption as 4

fatter of Jaw.and refused to permit. testimony 0

-; the reasonableness of the state regulations or th

, balancing of environmental protection against the

peed tevelopment othe wo} atomic a.

LF

“

4 by the framers of the United States Consti-

fe’ Was necessity then to protect the Federal

“from those who would have preferred

ue Whider the Articles of Confederation. But

tion has changed. Now the States and local

fal grants’ such as those authorized under the Air.

ind’ Airways Development and Revenue Acts of

me insidious trend is noted in recent Federal

in. In the Air Quality Act of 1967 Con-

has delegated to the Administrator of the Environ-

I Protection Agency veto power over State air pol-

tegulations pertaining to. motor vehicles.” The

rusion was achieved in the Noise Control Act

—

of 1972, just recently enacted.” Abnsoguesiciaille

tirely ‘clear, it would appear that no State or political

subdivision can establish: -and enforce standatds or cop

trols om-environmental noise emitted by railroad equip

ment or facilities and motor carriers, or control their use,

operation or moyement, unless first approved by. the

dmir Pav, ge, Yo nom have fee, legtimat, ag

cise of the police powers of States and local gover

es, Bee sites abet to the shin or taal

of whoever may be occupying the position of Adminis

trator in that Federal agency, or his subordinates.

The quality of our environment has deteriorated

such an extent. that the freedom to live in an atmos

ig Ae GRR eda

The,.“domestic tranquility” which the framers of the

titution, sought to promote is no. longer with u,

not,only in the area of noise but also in other areas of

citizen. need... a

” ‘The: primary-ceason. for-this is that. Congress has y

and: large ceased to. be responsive to the will of the

people; To a large degree needed legislation is under the

control.of committees of the House and Senate. Indivi¢

ual smembers-of:Congress.can, by delaying tactics and

’ other. means, frustrate the passage of necessary leg

ition... Special interest groups, such as the airlines, ap

pear to have am. unusual ability to block legislation ia

ae area of concern to them.

: i. We, therefore, respectfully urge this Court to ©

examine the preemption and conflict doctrines as pe

IHS eh

iHouse of Representatives Bill No, 11021, 92nd

2d Sess.; 118 ry. Fae (daily ed. Oct. 18, 1972) x

at pp. S 18638-S 1

181See Section 17(c)(2) “Wy Seon 18(6)(2), Noise: Gis

trol Act of 1972, footnote 130, +. :

aS

ae

m; Ot aa t eee on

a ‘such State and local governmental enact-

on of the foregoing, it is respectfully sub-

at the decisions of the Court of Appeals and

ict Court in this case should be reversed and

ction issued by the District Court dissolved.

SAMUEL GORLICK,

City Attorney,

RICHARD L. SiG, JR.,

Assistant City Attorney,

Counsel for All Appellants

Except Samuel Gorlick,

RICHARD L. S1gG, Jr.

Counsel for Appellant

Samuel Gorlick.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Appellants Brief — Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc. · 411 U.S. 624 | Frix