Amicus Curiae Brief — Roe v. Wade

Supreme Court brief1973

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Wh In the

Supreme Court of the

ge Rexnearina, Ocrosrr Team,

No. 70-18

Janz Roz, Joun Doz, and Many

) Appellant-Intervenor,

Hewny Wang,

Appellee.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Texas.

No. 70-40

Mary Doz, et al., etc.,

on Appellants,

Azruvur K. Botton, Attorney General of the State of

Georgia, et

rgia, et al., etc., , z

On I from the United States District Court

the Northern District of Georgia.

Motion for Leave to File Brief Amici Curiae on

Behalf of Organizations and Named Women in

Support of Appellants in Each Case, and Brief

Amici Curiae.

Tae Catrrory1a Commrrree To Legalize

ABORTION

Tae Sovrn Bay Cuapresr or Tue Nationa.

N FoR WomMEN

Zeno Popu.ation GrowTH, Inc.

CuerreL Mozencu Jensen

Lynetre Perxes

Joan K. Braprorp

987 Laurel Street

San Carlos, California 94070

Attorney for Amici Curiae

ING COMPANY OF CALIFORNIA, 346 FIRST STREET, SAN FRANCISCO 94108

SUBJECT INDEX

: Page

Motion for Leave to File Brief Amici Curiae on Behalf

of Organizations and Named Women in Support of 4

Appellants in Each Case 1

Amici Curiae Brief on Behalf of Organizations and

Named Women in Support of Appellants in Each

Case ....... 4

Opinions Below 4

Jurisdiction 5

Interest of Amici Curiae 5 :

Summary of Argument 4)

Argument: Laws Which Restrict or Regulate Abor-

tion as a Special Procedure Violate the Thirteenth

Amendment by I ing Involuntary Servitude

Without Due Conviction for a Crime 6

I. Under the Thirteenth Amendment a Woman

Has the Right to Freedom from the Involun-

tary Servitude of Pregnancy and Childbearing

in the Absence of Due Conviction for a Crime 6

A. Scope and Application of the Thirteenth

Amendment 6

B. Involuntary Pregnancy and Childbearing

as Involuntary Servitude 9

1. Pregnancy: A State of Physical Servi-

tude 9

a. Changes Due to the Physical Inva-

sion of the Pregnant Woman’s

Body 9

sg |

ik Sussect InpEx

Page

b. Results of Metabolic Alteration of

the Pregnant Woman’s Vital Sys-

tem - 10

ce. Depletion of the Pregnant Wom-

an’s Calcium and Iron.........00...0000...... ll

2. Involuntary Pregnancy 12

a. Contraceptive Failure -......0000000.. 12

b. Limitations on the Right to Refuse 14

3. The Thirteenth Amendment Includes

Protection Against Involuntary Preg-

nancy and Childbearing 15

II. There Is No Compelling State Interest to Jus-

tify Impairment of the Pregnant Woman’s

Fundamental Constitutional Right to Be Free

from Involuntary Servitude 16

A. The Necessity of Showing a Compelling

State Interest 16

B. The Nature of State Interest in Areas of

Exception Permitting Limited Imposition

of Involuntary Service. : 17

1. Military Service . 17

2. Involuntary Commitment or Hospitali-

DRI ccostevivennvns 18

3 Jury Duty .................0000 18

4. Payment and Reporting of Taxes .......... 19

C. The Nature of State Interest in the Abor-

Cs CIE animsssteninsin intivtnsinsinenniieitnaieaitanitivspatiiien 19

1. The State’s Interest in Rights of the

Fetus 19

a 2 SEAM EIRENE ANE NPAAE RHE st SDC OE DRT tame? 08

Sussect InpEx

or RoE: ea

Page

2. The State’s Interest in Protecting the

Health and Welfare of the Pregnant

Woman

3. The State’s Interest in Promoting Pop-

ulation Growth

4. The State’s Interest in Punishing Sex-

ual Conduct and Promoting “Public

Morality”

Ill. If the Culpability of the Pregnant Woman Is

Presumed Rather Than Proved, She Is Denied

Due Process Under the Fourteenth Amendment

Conclusion

25

26

31°

ie ie - PRR Pe RAAT EO EY INE wrk 9 ROE CR ORT

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

ConsTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS Pages

United States Constitution:

Amendment XIII . vincent iain passim

FT TRY exciciercicneessinensanentcpesnansannnerion 19-20, 29.30

STATUTES

Comstock Act, Stat. Sec. 3893, 42nd Congress, Ch, 3

(1883) 27-28

Georgia Code Ann., Sec. 26-1103 (1969) 1”

Georgia Code Ann., Sec. 30-102 (1971) 15

New York Consolidated Laws, Ch. 40, See. 1142 (1884) 2%

2A Texas Penal Code, art. 1201 (1961) mI

38 U.S.C., See. 101 et seg. (1958) 18

50 U.S.C. app., Sec. 454 (1967) 18

Uniform Anatomical Gifts Act 22

CasEs

Allen v. Hixson, 111 Ga. 460, 36 S.E. 810 (1900)............ 23

Arver v. United States, 245 U.S. 366 (1918)... 18

Bailey v. Alabama, 219 U.S. 219 (1910) 7, 16

Bates v. City of Little Rock, 361 U.S. 516 (1960).......... 1

Beltran v. Cohen, 303 F, Supp. 889 (N.D. Cal. 1969)... 19

Bonner v. Moran, 126 F.2d 121 (D.C. Cir, 1941)... 22

California v. Belous, 71 Cal. 2d 954, 458 P.2d 194, 80

Cal. Rptr. 354 (1969) cert. denied, 397 U.S, 915

CUD ON chisniinsientetenineienssasrecasecensniittinatonnpetbsibberinnannonen 20, 25-26

Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S, 296 (1940)... |

Carroll v. Skloff, 415 Pa. 47, 202 A.2d 9 (1964) .............. »

Crews v. Lundquist, 361 Ill. 193, 197 N.. 768 (1935)... 19

Civil Rights Cases, 109 U.S. 3 (1883) 6-8, 16

Clyatt v. United States, 197 U.S. 207 (1905).................. 1

—_ PIE LATIN PEALE WAT Ho SOULE ABE AED .

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES Vv

Pages

Deutch v. United States, 367 U.S. 456 (1961).................. 30

Kisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 430 (March 22, 1972) ...... 28-30

Gilbert v. Gwin-McCollum Funeral Home, 268 Ala.

372, 106 So, 2d 646 (1958) 23

Griswold v, Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965) ................ 28

Harper v. Virginia State Board of Education, 383

U.S. 663 (1966) 8

Hodges v. United States, 203 U.S. 1 (1906) ................ 7, 16-17

Hurley v. Eddingfield, 156 Ind. 416, 59 N.E. 1058

(1901) 23

In re Wells’ Will, 221 N.Y. Supp. 714 (1927) ................ 20

Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717 (1961) 30

Jobson v. Henne, 355 F.2d 129 (1966) 18

Jones v. Mayer, 392 U.S. 409 (1968) 8, 16

Keeler v. Superior Court, 2 Cal. 3d 619, 470 P.2d 617,

87 Cal. Rptr. 481 (1970) 20

Kramer v. United States, 147 F.2d 756 (6th Cir. 1945)

cert. denied, 324 U.S. 878 (1945) 18

London vy, Atlanta Transit Company, 91 Ga. App. 753,

87 S.E. 2d 103 (1955) ...............00.: 23

McCann v. Babbitz, 310 F. Supp. 293 (IE.D. Wis. 1970)

(per curiam) appeal dismissed, 400 U.S. 1 (1970)

(per curiam) . 17, 20

MeLaughlin v. Florida, 379 U.S. 184 (1964) 000... 17

N.A.A.C.P. v. Alabama, 377 U.S, 288 (1964) 0.000.000... 29

N.A.A.C.P. v. Button, 371 U.S, 415 (1963) oo. 17

a

i

%

POE ap Lo a aan ee gepe —

Cae IRR Pee EER GNIS ota St BAR

vi TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Pages

O’Keefe v. W. J. Barry Company, 311 Mass. 517, 42

N.E, 2d 267 (1942) 8

Osterlind v. Hill, 263 Mass. 73, 160 N.I5. 301 (1928) ... 93

People v. Sanger, 222 N.Y. 192, 118 N.E. 637 (1918) ...... 28

Pollock v. Williams, 322 U.S. 4 (1944) 78

Reese v. United States, 225 F.2d 766 (9th Cir. 1955) ... 18

Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479 (1960) . 17, 29

Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398 (1963) 17

Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535 (1942) —2000. 31

Taylor v. Georgia, 315 U.S, 25 (1942) 2... 18

Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88 (1940) .002 29

Toadvine v. Cincinnati N. 0. & T. R. Ry., 20 F. Supp.

226 (E.D. Ky. 1937) 23

Union Pacific Rwy. Co. v. Botsford, 141 U.S. 250

(1891) 16

United States v. Bennett, 24 Fed. Case No. 14571 (S.

D.N.Y. 1879) 28

United States v. Lumsden, 499 F.2d 154 (9th Cir.

1971) 18

United States v. Rogers, 454 F.2d 601 (7th Cir. 1971) 18

Whitfield v. Whitfield, 89 Ga. 471, 15 S.E. 543 (1892) 15

LecaL LITERATURE

AND COMMENTARY

Avins, Freedom of Choice in Personal Service Occu-

pations: Thirteenth Amendment Limitations on An-

tidiscrimination Legislation, 49 CornE.u L. Q. 228

(1964) 17

oa ____ ne RRR ER DIOR, Mi a re ate TRS E RDORES

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES vii

Pages

Atkinson, Witts (2d ed. 1953) 20

Clark, THe Law or Domestic Retations (1968) .......... 15

Curran, A Problem of Consent: Kidney Transplanta-

tion, 34 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 891 (1959) 22

Leavy and Kummer, Criminal Abortion: Human

Hardship and Unyielding Laws, 35 So. Cau. L. Rev.

123 (1962) 26

Means, The Law of New York Concerning Abortion

and the Status of the Fetus, 1664-1968: A Case

Study of Cessation of Constitutionality, 14 N. Y.

L. F. 411 (1968) 26

Note, District of Columbia Hospitalization of the

Mentally Ill, 65 Cotum. L. Rev. 1062 (1965) _.0....... 18

Note, The New Thirteenth Amendment: A Prelimin-

ary Analysis, 82 Harv. L. Rev. 1264 (1969) 0. 8

Perkins, Criminat. Law (1957) 26

Prosser, Law or Torts (3d ed. 1964) 20

Richards, Medical-Legal Problems of Organ Trans-

plantation, 21 Hastines L. J. 77 (1969) 0000... 22

RestaTEMENT OF Torts (Sgconp), Section 314 (1965) 23

Sanders and Dukeminier, Medical Advance and Legal

Lag: Hemodialysis and Kidney Transplantation, 15

U.C.L.A. L. Rev. 357 (1968) 22

Sands, Therapeutic Abortion Act: An Answer to the

Opposition, 13 U.C.L.A. L. Rev. 285 (1966) .............. 20

The Failure to Rescue: A Comparative Study, 52

Cotum. L. Rev. 631 (1952) 23

Ziff, Recent Abortion Law Reforms, 60 J. Cru. L.C.

& P.S. 3 (1969) 20

—_—_ . “ae grenmegerng yn

—

—

Viii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Mepicau LITERATURE

AND COMMENTARY

Pages

American Medical Association Official Pamphlet,

Wuat You SHovutp Know Asovut THE Pitt (1970) 13

Bumpass and Westoff, The Perfect Contraceptive

Population, 169 Science 1177 (1970) 14

Chaudhuri, Correlation of Toxemia with Anemia of

Pregnancy, 106 Am. J. Osst. & Gynec. 255 (Jan. 15,

1970) ll

Davis, The Shield Intrauterine Device, 106 Am. J.

Osst. & Gynec. 456 (Feb. 1, 1970) 12

Food and Drug Administration Advisory Committee

of Obstetrics and Gynecology, F.D.A. Report On

OraL Contraceptives (Sept. 1969) 12

Havemann, Birtu Controt (1967) 13

Hern, Is Pregnancy Really Normal?, 3 Famity Puian-

ninG Perspectives 7 (Jan. 1971) 9-12

Kinsey, Pomeroy and Martin, SexvaL Bewavior 1x

THE Human Mate (1948) 14

Macy and Huncher, An Evaluation of Maternal Nitro-

gen and Mineral Needs During Embryonic and In-

fant Development, 27 Am. J. Osst. & Gynec. 878

(1934) il

Moritz and Thompson, Septic Abortion, 95 Am. J.

Osst. & Gynec. 46 (1966) ....... 35

Ober, Analysts of Surgical Practice at the New York

Hospital, 1808-33 (1970) yA)

Oxorn and Foote, Human Lazor anp Birt (1968) .... 10

aa we Pe wi otra DANE i SRST eB |

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ix

Pages

Reid, Assessment and Management of the Seriously

Ill Patient Following Abortion, 199 J.A.M.A. 805

(1967) -..... 25, 26

State of California Department of Public Health,

Firrh ANNUAL REPORT ON THE IMPLEMENTATION OF

~ THE CALIFORNIA THERAPEUTIC ABORTION Act, A Re-

port to the 1972 Legislature Pursuant to Section

25955.5 of the Health and Safety Code ...................... 13

Taylor, OpsteTRics (1972) 10-11

Tietze, Mortality with Contraceptive and Induced

Abortion, 45 Srupms In Famiry Piannine 6

(1969) 13, 25

Williams, Antepartum Thrombophlebitis Complicated .

by Hyperuricemia, Uremia and Polyhydramnios,

105 Am. J. Osst. & Gynec. 116 (Sept. 1, 1969) .......... 10

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Ehrlich, Paul, Toe Poputation Boms (1968) ................ 27

Gilmore, Something Better Than the Pil?, N.Y. Times

MacazinE, 7, 36 (July 20, 1969) 13

PopuLATION AND THE AMERICAN FuTuRE, THE REPORT

OF THE PrREsIDENT’s ComMMISsION ON PoPvuLATION

GrowTH AND THE Future (March, 1972) ..................-. 27

United States Department of Commerce, PopuLation

Cuaracteristics, BirtH Expectations Data: JuNE

1971, Series P-20, No. 232, Feb. 1972 14

Wilson, Robert A., M.D., Feminine Forever (1966) .... 24

ts PA he OL ALIS + A Se aa ti

In the

Supreme Court of the Wnited States

REHEARING, OcToBER TERM, 1972

No. 70-18

JANE Roz, Joun Doz, and Mary Dog,

Appellants,

James Husert Hatirorp, M.D.,

Appellant-Intervenor,

vs.

Hengy Wape,

Appellee.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Texas.

No. 70-40

Mary Dog, et al., etc.,

Appellants,

vs.

ArTHuR K. Bouton, Attorney General of the State of

Georgia, et al., etc.,

Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

oe the Northern District of Georgia.

Motion for Leave to File Brief Amici Curiae on

Behalf of Organizations and Named Women in

Support of Appellants in Each Case.

The organizations and named individuals whose names

are appended here respectfully move for leave to file a

brief amici curiae in these cases. The attorneys for appel-

lants in both cases and for appellant-intervenor in the

Md

&

ia —

|

2

Texas case have consented to the filing of this brief, The

respective attorneys for the appellees have not so consented,

THe CatirorniaA CoMMITTEE TO LEGALIZE ABORTION is an

organization consisting of approximately 5,000 individuals

organized into chapters throughout the State of California

and dedicated to the cause of removing the State’s interven.

tion in the decisions of pregnant women to obtain abortions,

The California Committee to Legalize Abortion engages in

activities which include preparation and circulation of peti-

tions, one such initiative petition bearing approximately

300,000 signatures from California citizens requesting that

a measure be placed on the California ballot to remove the

State’s intervention process in current California abortion

law.

Tue Soutn Bay CHAPTER OF THE NATIONAL ORGANIZATION

FoR WomEN is located in the San Francisco Bay Area, Cali-

fornia, as an affiliate of the National Organization for

Women, a civil rights organization founded in 1966 and

with approximately 20,000 members throughout the United

States. The South Bay Chapter was founded in 1970 and

consists of approximately 300 members dedicated to active

work in bringing women into the mainstream of society and

affirming a belief in the basic human right to limit one’s own

reproduction, including women’s civil right to abortion.

Zero PopuLaTion GrowTH, Inc., is a national organiza-

tion dedicated to achieving population stabilization by

voluntary means. Founded in 1969, Zero Population Growth,

_Inc., (ZPG) has 300,000 members in 300 active chapters

throughout the United States. The organization favors the

recommendation on abortion contained in the 1972 Report

of the President’s Commission on Population Growth and

the Future.

The concern of amici, CHERIEL Mosncu JeNsEN and

Lynerre PerKES, stems from their desire to be single whole

individuals, unencumbered by a pregnant condition and in

3

full control of their physical destiny. The necessity of

Lynette Perkes to participate fully in her marriage,

coupled with the frequency of contraceptive failure (already

experienced twice), precludes her right to be secure in a

non-pregnant condition. The concern of Cheriel Moench

Jensen stems from her need to be as reliable and promising

a professional person as the men with whom she must com-

pete. As long as normal married life puts her at constant

threat of having her capacity to work and to earn a living

suspended by unintended pregnancy and childbearing, she

cannot enter into financial or professional commitments

with the same confidence as a man.

Each of the organizations and individuals urges upon the

Court the position that laws restricting or regulating abor-

tion as a special procedure violate the Thirteenth Amend-

ment by imposing involuntary servitude without due

conviction for a crime and without the justification of serv-

ing any current national or public need.

Amici believe that this brief raises aspects of constitu-

tional issues before this Court hitherto unexplored by the

parties, and that the expressions herein will be of agsistance

to the Court in the decisions of importance now before it.

For these reasons, we respectfully request leave to file

the within brief Amici Curiae.

Respectfully submitted,

Joan K. Braprorp

Attorney for Movants

In THE

Supreme Court of the Wnited States

REHEARING, OcToBeR TERM, 1972

No. 70-18

JANE Ror, Joun Dor, and Mary Doz,

Appellants,

James Husert Hauirorp, M.D.,

A ppellant-Intervenor,

vs.

Henry WabE,

Appellee,

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Texas.

No. 70-40

Mary Dor, et al., etc.,

Appellants,

vs.

Artuur K. Botton, Attorney General of the State of

Georgia, et al., etc.,

Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Georgia.

Amici Curiae Brief on Behalf of Organizations and

Named Women in Support of Appellants in

Each Case.

OPINIONS BELOW.

The opinions have been stated in appellants’ briefs and

are not repeated Mérein.

JURISDICTION.

The jurisdiction has been stated in appellants’ briefs and

is not repeated herein.

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE.

The interest of Amici Curiae has been set forth in the

accompanying motion to file this brief and need not be re-

iterated here.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. \

Despite the numerous issues involved in these cases, this

brief will address itself only to one, so as to avoid repeti-

tion of the arguments presented by appellants and by other

briefs of amici curiae. We believe that the time is ripe for

this Court to announce that the laws which restrict or regu-

late abortion as a special procedure violate the Thirteenth

Amendment by imposing involuntary servitude without due

conviction for a crime.

Although the Texas abortion laws permit abortion only

in the single instance where the mother’s life would be saved

and the Georgia laws permit abortion in certain additional

categories, both, in the view of Amici, involve rights of un-

willingly pregnant women that make it appropriate to treat

the particular issue, to which this brief addresses itself, as

being the same in both cases.

CO

be

&

6

ARGUMENT: LAWS WHICH RESTRICT OR REGULATE

ABORTION AS A SPECIAL PROCEDURE VIOLATE

THE THIRTEENTH AMENDMENT BY IMPOSING INVOLUNTARY

SERVITUDE WITHOUT DUE CONVICTION FOR A CRIME,

1. UNDER THE THIRTEENTH AMENDMENT A WOMAN Has

THE RIGHT TO FREEDOM FROM THE INVOLUNTARY

SERVITUDE OF PREGNANCY AND CHILDBEARING IN THE

ABSENCE OF DUE CONVICTION FOR A CRIME.

A. Scope and Application of the Thirteenth Amendment.

The Thirteenth Amendment to the Constitution provides:

Neither slavery nor involuntary servitude, except as a

punishment for crime whereof the party shall have

been duly convicted, shall exist within the United

States, or any place subject to their jurisdiction.

The Amendment, by its very language, prohibits both

slavery and involuntary servitude, and requires due con.

viction of a crime as a condition precedent to all forms of

involuntary servitude regardless of racial contexts.

From the outset, the Amendment has been interpreted by

this Court to apply to all persons without regard to race or

class, and to guarantee universal freedom in the United

States.

The first cases on the Amendment, the early Civil Rights

Cases of 1883, 109 U.S. 3, interpreted the Amendment as

establishing two principles: (1) the prohibition of all forms

of involuntary servitude and slavery, and (2) a guarantee

of universal freedom to all persons. The Civil Rights Cases

found that just as the opposite of “slavery” is freedom, 80

this Amendment, by abolishing the conditions of slavery

and involuntary servitude, established “freedom” through-

out the United States by implication. This Court construed

the Amendment as “establishing and decreeing universal

civil and political freedom throughout the United States.”

(Id. at 20)

7

By its own unaided force and effect it abolished slavery,

and established universal freedom . . . for the amend-

ment is not a mere prohibition of state laws establish-

ing or upholding slavery, but an absolute declaration

that slavery or involuntary servitude should not exist

in any part of the United States. (Jd. at 20)

Application of the Amendment has never been limited to

racial contexts. As this Court stated in Batley v. Alabama,

219 U.S. 219, 240-241 (1910) :

While the immediate concern was with African slavery,

the Amendment was not limited to that. It was a charter

of universal civil freedom for all persons, of whatever

race, color, or estate, under the flag. . .. The plain in-

tention was to abolish slavery of whatever name and

form and all its badges and incidents; to render im-

possible any state of bondage; to make labor free, by

prohibiting that control by which the personal service

of one man is disposed of or coerced for another’s bene-

fit, which is the essence of involuntary servitude.

The Thir‘eenth Amendment prohibits many forms of

compulsory labor, i.e., involuntary servitude of all kinds. As

defined by this Court, involuntary servitude is “a condition

of enforced compulsory service of one to another.” Hodges

v. United States, 203 U.S. 1, 16 (1906).

Laws compelling personal service in liquidation of a debt

or other obligation are null and void as violations of the

Thirteenth Amendment. Batley v. Alabama, supra; Clyatt

v. United States, 197 U.S. 207 (1905); Pollock v. Williams,

322 U.S. 4 (1944). Statutes imposing criminal penalties on

laborers who fail-te perform work necessary to pay off ad-

vance wages from a prospective employer are void as viola-

tive of the Thirteenth Amendment, the undoubted aim of

the Amendment being, “not merely to end slavery but to

maintain a system of completely free and voluntary labor

§

ft

$

é

-

bid

x

‘

5

PONE LIYE SORT D,

a ee ae A

SHELTER OL YMRS YO DMP ER: LE LELIE SI GALI SEIT PAD

SERRE EN ge samme nee

PO IIR ai.

8

throughout the United States.” Pollock v. Williams, supra

at 17.

As conditions and values change, constitutional language

takes on new meanings, because constitutional concepts are

not static, “not shackled to the political theory of a particu.

lar era.” Harper v. Virginia State Board of Education, 383

US. 663, 669 (1966). The Thirteenth Amendment, as revived

by this Court with new force in Jones v. Mayer, 392 US.

409 (1968), reconsidered the early interpretation of the

Amendment as set forth in The Civil Rights Cases of 1883,

supra. In Jones v. Mayer, supra, the Court stated, at 443:

At the very least, the freedom that Congress is em.

powered to secure under the Thirteenth Amendment

includes the freedom to buy whatever a white man can

buy, the right to live wherever a white man can live, If

Congress cannot say that being a free man means at

least this much, then the Thirteenth Amendment made

a promise the Nation cannot keep.

In Jones v. Mayer, supra, this Court was not reluctant to

recognize within the Thirteenth Amendment the “promise

of freedom,” turning the focus again from what the Amend.

ment prohibits to what it guarantees, a broader principle

of freedom from compulsory service of one person to

another. (Note, The New Thirteenth Amendment: A Pre-

liminary Analysis, 82 Harvarp L. Rev. 1264, 1307 [1969].)

From time to time, this Court has recognized certain ex-

ceptions to the Thirteenth Amendment in the interests of

serving compelling national or public needs, e.g., military

service, jury duty, confinement of the mentally ill (see the

cases cited under Section II. B. herein) ; each time surround-

ing the exception with safeguards to insure individual

rights. :

It is the purpose of this brief to show that anti-abortion

laws, which force an unwillingly pregnant woman to con-

9

tinue pregnancy to term, are a form of involuntary servitude

without the justification of serving any current national or

public need.

B. Involuntary Pregnancy and Childbearing as Involuntary Servi-

tude.

1, PREGNANCY: A STATE OF PHYSICAL SERVITUDE.

Pregnancy is not a mere inconvenience. “The physical

and functional alterations of pregnancy involve all the body

systems,”’ displacing body parts, depleting the body of its

necessary elements and changing its chemical balance.

The pregnant woman’s body is in a state of constant

service, providing warmth, nutrients, oxygen and waste

disposal for the support of the conceptus.? These activities

are always to the detriment of the woman’s body. They are

performed for the benefit of the conceptus alone unless an

interest of the pregnant woman is also served thereby, that

is, unless the pregnant woman defines the pregnancy as

wanted.

a. Changes due to the physical invasion of the pregnant woman's body.

During pregnancy, enlargement of the uterus within the

abdominal cavity displaces and compresses the other abdom-

inal contents including the heart, lungs and gastro-intestinal

tract. The resulting pressure has a direct effect on circu-

lation of the blood and increase in venous pressure, some-

times leading to irreversible varicose veins and hemorrhoids

1. Hern, W., Js Pregnancy Really Normal?, 3 Famity PLANNING

PERSPECTIVES 7 (January, 1971).

2. Amici use the term “conceptus”’ in this section because it is

the only medical term which covers the uterine contents in all stages

of pregnancy. Hereinbelow, in Section II. C. of this brief, the term

‘‘fetus’’ is used because it is the term of legal familiarity. In all

cases, amici continue to mean the uterine contents at all stages of

pregnancy.

Re Re he eo ne ee fs Ce enn Sener Tori. fret

a ~rasdy

.

—

10

and, with predictable frequency, to disabling thrombophle.

bitis.* The gastro-intestinal tract experiences functional ip.

terference causing constipation and displacement of the

urinary tract, thus urinary tract infections occur in six

to seven per cent of all pregnant women and such infections,

in turn, lead to kidney infections. During the second and

third months, bladder irritability is quite constant. Tearing

and overstretching of the muscles of the pelvic floor occurs

frequently during delivery, causing extensive and irrepa-

rable damage to the pelvic organs and their supporting con.

nections. Surgery is often required to return these organs

to position. Bladder control may be permanently lost!

The weight of the contents of the uterus causes sacroiliac

strain accompanied by pain and backache, with the effects _,

of the pressure being felt as far as the outermost extremities

of the woman’s body. The weight causes such pressure on

the cervical spine as to result in numbness, tingling and

proprioceptive acuity reduction in the hands.°

b. Results of metabolic alteration of the pregnant woman's vital systems.

During pregnancy estrogen levels exhibit severe increase,

this phenomena accounting for the symptoms of nausea and

vomiting occurring in one-half or more of all pregnant

women. If this condition is prolonged, hospitalization is

required. Evacuation of the contents of the uterus results

in immediate and dramatic relief of symptoms. In severe

cases blood protein may be destroyed. Bodies of women who

3. Hern, supra, 8; Taylor, E., Ossterrics, 206 (1972) ; Williams,

Antepartum Thrombophlebitis Complicated by Hyperuricemia,

Uremia and Polyhydramnios, 105 Am. J. Ost. & Gynec., 116 (Sept.

1, 1969).

4. Hern, supra, 8; Oxorn, H. and Foote, W., HuMAN Lasor ann

Birtu, 7, 8, 12 (1968).

5. Taylor, supra, 70, 216.

—-_

11

have died from this condition exhibit the symptoms of

starvation, acidosis, dehydration and multiple vitamin de-

ficiencies.®

The excess progesterone produced by the placenta causes

fluid retention, increase in blood pressure, weight gain,

irritability, lassitude, severe emotional tension, nervousness,

inability to concentrate, and inability to sleep.” At least

40 per cent of pregnant women have symptomatic edema,

distorting the hands, face, ankles and feet. A woman’s

lungs respire 45 per cent more air than normal in an at-

tempt to obtain the needed oxygen, but oxygen absorbed is _’

less than normal despite the extra effort of the crowded

lungs.®

¢c. Depletion of the pregnant woman's calcium and iron.

Because the conceptus utilizes almost twice as much cal-

cium as the pregnant woman can assimilate from adminis-

tered and dietary calcium, extra calcium must be drawn

from a woman’s calcium stores, mostly from her long bones.

Thus, the pregnant woman is likely to suffer leg cramps.”

In young women, permanent bone deformation results.

Total loss of a woman’s iron stores during pregnancy and

delivery is measured at 680 mg. Thus anemia of pregnancy

is high and almost all pregnant women, especially those

having repeated pregnancies, require supplementary iron.”

6. Hern, supra, 7; Taylor, supra, 186, 187,

7. Hern, 8; Taylor, 73.

8. Taylor, 189.

9. Id. at 52.

10. Macy and Hunscher, An Evaluation of Maternal Nitrogen

and Mineral Needs During Embryonic and Infant Development, 27

A. J. Onst. & Gynec. 878 (1934).

11. Taylor, 199; Chaudhuri, Correlation of Tozemia with

= co “f Pregnancy, 106 Am. J. Osst. & Gynec., 255-258 (Jan.

Sede A eet oe]

4

Ty RLS

Samet

Rr oy de nant

Se ho AL ee

EDIE SI TAEDA, RP BLEED KO LE OR A CS lS

12

Efforts to correct this condition may fail because many

pregnant women cannot tolerate iron supplements,

With such extensive effects, can pregnancy be considered

as merely a “natural” state of being?”

2. INVOLUNTARY PREGNANCY.

Amici ask this Court to consider the lack of options

open to the pregnant woman at the time of onset of her

pregnancy.

a. Contraceptive failure.

Contraceptives are never foolproof. Any act of inter-

course between a fertile man and woman constitutes some

risk of conception, no matter what contraceptives are used.

One woman in five using the most effective contraceptive

available, the combined oral contraceptive “pill,” will have

one unplanned pregnancy during her 25 reproductively sus-

ceptible years.* Many women cannot take the “pill” because

of its side effects. The second most effective device is the

intrauterine shield. With this device in place, one woman

in three will have one unwanted pregnancy. (The tolerance

rate among women using this device is 96 per cent.’* Intra-

12. See Hern, supra, at 5-10.

13. Food and Drug Administration Advisory Committee on

Obstetrics and Gynecology, F. D. A. Report on OrAL CONTRACEP-

Tives (Sept. 1969). Failure rates are: combined oral contraceptives,

0.7 per cent ; sequential oral contraceptives, 1.4 per cent ; intrauterine

loop, 2.7 per cent; the double-coil intrauterine device, 2.8 per cent.

Each average woman has 25 reproductively susceptible years. Mul-

tiply 25 years X device failure rate per 100 woman years. Ex-

ample: 25 years X 1.4 failures per 100 woman years due to sequen-

tial pill = 35 per cent chance per woman, meaning one woman in

three having one faijure during her lifetime due to the use of the

sequential pill. Figures for “the pill” include only those failures

resulting from the drug properties. They do not include forget-

fulness.

14. Davis, The Shield Intrauterine Device, 106 Am. J. Osst. &

Gynec. 456 (Feb. 1, 1970).

z

: ‘ PRR PARMA AES OBL I OIE DARE Ma 6 a OAT A LEROY AN FROG! INTs IRON Ei AIT i YC i

pa iv

i gs

13

uterine devices are not normally prescribed for women who

have not already given birth.) The death rate associated

with the use of either of these devices is about the same—

three per 100,000 woman users per year;® or put another

way, one woman in 1,300 using either of these methods

will die as a result. Among women taking the “pill,” one

in 80 will suffer blood clotting requiring hospitalization.?*

The diaphragm results in three failures per woman over

her 25-year reproductive life span. Other methods (foam,

jellies, rhythm, condoms) are far less reliable.”

If 100,000 women who do not wish to become pregnant

take the pill, three will probably die within the year and

1,000 will become pregnant.

Using these figures as a basis, a far safer method can

be postulated. If these 100,000 women use the diaphragm,

resulting in 12,000 pregnancies which are then legally ter-

minable with abortion, the total death risk to these 100,000

women then beqgmes 0.36 per 100,000 women. The laws

under consideration do not allow women to reduce their

risks in this way.?8

15. Gilmore, Something Better Than the Pill?, N.Y. Times

Macazine, 7, 36 (July 20, 1969).

16. American Medical Association Official Pamphlet, WHat You

SHoutp Know Apovut THE ‘‘Pinw’’ (1970).

17. Havemann, Brrn ContrRo., at 58, 59 (1967). Failure rates

for the diaphragm = 12 per 100 woman years (three per fertile

woman lifetime); the condom = 14 per 100 woman years (3.5 per

fertile woman lifetime); withdrawal = 18 per 100 woman years

(4.5 per fertile woman lifetime) ; rhythm = 24 per 100 woman years

(6.0 per fertile woman lifetime).

18. State of California Department of Public Health, Firrn

ANNUAL REPORT ON THE IMPLEMENTATION, OF THE CALIFORNIA

TuerxareuTic ABorTION Act, A Report to the 1972 Legislature,

pursuant to Section 25955.5 of the Health and Safety Code; Tietze,

Mortality with Contraception and Induced Abortion, 45 Stupirs IN

FamILy PLANNING 6 (1969).

14

Westoff® reports that one-fifth of all pregnancies studied

were unwanted. The magnitude of the problem then jg

very large, affecting most women in substantial ways.

Under the present state of contraceptive failure, a woman

does not have the option of remaining free of pregnaney

by making careful use of contraceptives. She is at some

risk in using the most effective methods of contraception

available.

b. Limitations on the right to refuse.

The average married woman expects to bear two to three

children,” yet coitus takes place between a couple married

during the period of the woman’s reproductive years (age

18 to 43) an average of 2,535 times.” The frequency of

coitus stated in the Kinsey Report is average behavior

between married couples. If the woman wishes to remain

free of pregnancy once her desired family size is reached,

her only sure method of remaining so free of pregnancy

is complete abstinence from sexual intercourse. If she em-

barks on such a course, will the law uphold her decision!

A wife has no legal power to refuse to participate in the

intimacies of married life. If she refuses her husband's

19. Bumpass and Westoff, The Perfect Contraceptive Popula

tion, 169 Science 1177 (1970).

20. United States Dept. of Commerce, CurrENT POPULATION

REPorTS, POPULATION CHARACTERISTICS, BirTH EXPECTATIONS Data:

June 1971, 1, Series P-20, No. 232 (Feb. 1972).

21. This figure is derived from data provided in the Kinsey

Report, SexuaL BEHAVIOR IN THE HUMAN MALE, showing average

marital coitus taking place with a frequency of 2.6 times per week

when the male is age 20, and 1.3 times per week when the male is

forty-five. As the figures show a straight line decline, the average

weekly frequency rate is 1.95. Thus, 1.95 times per week X 52

weeks per year X 25 fertile years = 2,535 acts of coitus per married

woman’s fertile lifetime. Kinsey, Pomeroy, and Martin, SexvaL

BEHAVIOR IN THE HuMAN MALE, at 255, data from Fig. 49 (1948).

15

forced attentions, there is no law to intervene in her behalf.

She cannot charge her husband with rape. Indeed, if a mar-

ried woman attempts to practice abstinence, the laws of

most states treat her behavior as a denial of the marital

right of the husband. Some jurisdictions construe refusal

of sexual relations as desertion and thus ground for

divorce. This is the law in Georgia under Ga. Code Ann.

Sec. 30-102. (See also, Whitfield v. Whitfield 89 Ga. 471,

15 S.E. 543 [1892].) In some other jurisdictions, desertion

is held to occur upon cessation of sexual relations not-

withstanding that the spouses continue to take meals to-

gether, converse and in other ways behave as husband and

wife In some other states in which cruelty is a ground,

such refusal constitutes cruelty, giving the husband cause

for divorce. In the states now recognizing “no-fault” divorce,

or dissolution of marriage, the husband no longer needs to

plead or prove specific grounds; his dissatisfaction is thus

acceptable as sufficient cause for dissolving the marriage.

Under present law, a married woman has two choices: -

she can attempt to refuse to fulfill the sexual obligations

of the marriage and thus risk termination of-her marriage;

or she can participate in normal marital relations and risk

unwanted pregnancy and childbirth. With a choice of either

alternative, she risks the consequence of a legally imposed

penalty. The woman is left with no non-punishable course

of action.

3. THE THIRTEENTH AMENDMENT INCLUDES PROTECTION AGAINST

INVOLUNTARY PREGNANCY AND CHILDBEARING.

The women who bear children and the medical experts

who assist them testify that pregnancy and childbearing are

indeed labor. The fact that many women enter into such

labor voluntarily and joyfully does not alter the fact that

22. Clark, THz Law or Domestic RELATIONS, 336 (1968).

<2 RR TN ta

16

other women, under other circumstances, find childbearing

too arduous, become pregnant through no choice of their

own, and are then forced to complete the pregnancy to term

by compulsion of state laws prohibiting voluntary abortion.

It is the purpose of the Thirteenth Amendment to prohibit

a relationship in which one person or entity limits the

freedom of another person. In the absence of a compelling

state interest or due conviction for a crime, the state’s

forcing the pregnant woman through unwanted pregnancy

to full term is a denial of her Thirteenth Amendment right

to be free from “a condition of enforced compulsory service

of one to another.” (Hodges v. United States, supra). This

is the very essence of involuntary servitude in which the

personal service of one person is “disposed of or coerced

for another’s benefit.” (Bailey v. Alabama, supra.)

ll. THERE IS NO COMPELLING STATE INTEREST TO JUSTIFY

IMPAIRMENT OF THE PREGNANT WOMAN'S FUNDAMEN.

TAL CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO BE FREE FROM INVOL-

UNTARY SERVITUDE.

A. The Necessity of Showing a Compelling State Interest.

The Thirteenth Amendment guarantees to every person

those fundamental rights which are “the essence of civil

freedom.” Jones v. Mayer, supra; The Civil Rights Cases,

supra. In Union Pacific Railway Company v. Botsford, 141

U.S. 250, 251 (1891), this Court recognized :

No right is held more sacred, or is more carefully

guarded, by the common law, than the right of every

individual to the possession and control of his own

person, free from all restraint or interference of others,

unless by clear and unquestionable authority of law.

It is clear that in order to justify the regulation of

fundamental private rights, the state must show a compel-

ling need. “Where there is significant encroachment upon

17

personal liberty, the State may prevail only upon showing

a subordinating interest which is compelling.” Bates v, City

of Little Rock, 361 U.S. 516, 524 (1960).

The critical issue is whether the state’s regulation is

“necessary ... to the accomplishment of a permissible state

policy.” (McLaughlin v. Florida, 379 U.S. 184, 196 [1964];

NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415, 4388 [1963]; Sherbert v.

Verner, 374 U.S. 398, 403 [1963]), and whether legislation

impinging on constitutionally protected areas is narrowly

drawn and not of “unlimited and indiscriminate sweep.”

Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479, 490 (1960). See also Cant-

well v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296, 308 (1940); McCann v.

Babbitz, 310 F. Supp. 293 (E.D. Wis. 1970), (per curiam)

appeal dismissed, 400 U.S. 1 (1970) (per curiam).

:

2

Re

a

F

x =

=

e

;

k

B. The Nature of State Interest in Areas of Exception Permitting k

the Imposition of Involuntary Service.

The law has recognized certain exceptions to the Thir-

teenth Amendment, all such exceptions being based on the

state’s compelling interest in serving the common need.

Thus, although the Thirteenth Amendment proscribes a

“eondition of enforced compulsory service of one to an- i

other” (Hodges v. United States, supra), services required

by the state for the benefit and protection of all citizens do

not fall within the meaning of involuntary servitude under

the Thirteenth Amendment. Avins, Freedom of Choice in

Personal Service Occupations: Thirteenth Amendment Lim-

itations on Antidiscrimination Legislation, 49 Corne.y L.Q.

228, 240 (1964).

Deengonn Fee cata gh fee

ERP TIS TH os terre Bec

SMELT

SAA RNR

1, MILITARY SERVICE.

Compulsory military service is not regarded as involun-

tary servitude, because the draftee’s surrender of personal

freedom and safety are made in the interests of national j

SRA IOS RN

“=

IDSA Stites Ni, Ft Re AIPA De acl ARAN

18

defense, a common need, Arver v. United States (Selective

Draft Law Cases), 245 U.S. 366 (1918); United States »,

Lumsden, 449 F.2d 154 (9th Cir. 1971). Nor is the Thir.

teenth Amendment regarded as violated by assignnient of

conscientious objectors to work camps or other work assign.

ments as an alternative to military service ; again, a common

need is served. Kramer v. United States, 147 F.2d 756 (6th

Cir. 1945), cert. den. 324 U.S. 878; Reese v. United States,

225 F.2d 766 (9th Cir. 1955) ; United States v. Rogers, 454

F.2d 601 (7th Cir. 1971). However, the draftee is pressed

into service only if his physical condition permits such.

service (Selective Service Act of 1967, 50 U.S.C.A. app.

Sec. 454 [a]); he is paid for his services (Id. Sec. 454 [e});

and is further reimbursed by way of veterans’ benefits

(38 U.S.C. See. 101, et seq.).

2. INVOLUNTARY COMMITMENT OR HOSPITALIZATION.

The compulsory commitment of mentally ill individuals

who may be harmful to themselves or to society if allowed

to remain at large does not violate the Thirteenth Amend-

ment, but only if the commitment procedures contain sufi-

cient procedural safeguards and if the activities required

of the individuals are for therapeutic purposes. Jobson ».

Henne, 355 F.2d 129 (1966). However, if the mental insti-

tution requires inmates to perform chores which have no

therapeutic purpose or relationship to the inmate’s personal

needs, the Thirteenth Amendment is violated. Ibid. See also

Taylor v. Georgia, 315 U.S. 25 (1942) and Note, District

of Columbia Hospitalization of the Mentally Ill, 65 Couum.

L. Rev. 1062, 1066-72 (1965).

3. JURY DUTY. ¥

Jury duty does not constitute involuntary servitude; such

service rendering effective the government under which

19

liberty of the citizen may be protected. Crews v. Lundquist,

361 Ill. 193, 197 N.E. 768 (1935). But the citizen called for

jury duty is excused if personal duties override.

4. PAYMENT AND REPORTING OF TAXES.

Payment and reporting of taxes is not regarded as in-

voluntary servitude because the service is for support of

the general welfare and not for another individual. Beltran

v. Cohen, 303 F. Supp. 889 (N.D. Cal. 1969).

C. The Nature of State Interest in the Abortion Conflict.

The state’s restriction or regulation of abortion as a spe-

cial procedure imposes limitation on the pregnant woman’s

control of her person and her services. What compelling

state interest justifies such impairment of her personal

rights? A number of possible reasons have been stated:

1, THE STATE'S INTEREST IN RIGHTS OF THE FETUS.23

An argument recently raised is that the state has a com-

pelling interest in protecting the rights of the fetus. This

is the legal position taken by those who argue that concep-

tion is a dramatic moment in the evolution of a human being,

after which the fetus becomes a “person” within the terms -

of the due process clause of the Fourteenth Amendment,

and is so entitled to the constitutional protections afforded

any other citizen.

Such argument disregards the nature of the state’s in-

terest in the fetus in all contexts other than the modern

abortion conflict: First: The rights of citizenship con-

23. Amici will, in this section, use the term “fetus” when

referring to the contents of the uterus although the term is medically

incorrect. Medically, the term ‘‘embryo’’ refers to the organism

from conception through the first three months of gestation; the

term ‘‘fetus’’ refers to the organism from the end of the first three

pre-natal months until birth; the term “conceptus’’ covers in utero

being through all stages of pregnancy. Amici use “fetus” here, a

more familiar legal term.

a

ferred by the Fourteenth Amendment relate to “all persons

born or naturalized . . .” (emphasis added). There are no

cases holding that fetuses are protected by the Fourteenth

Amendment. Second: Of all the statutes and rules referred

to by proponents of the “right to life” argument, none con.

fers rights on the fetus in utero; all such rights exist only

in contemplation of live birth or réflect interests of the

parents.* Third: The state does not generally regard as

punishable the destruction of the fetus by any person other.

than the doctor or abortionist. See Keeler v. Superior Court,

2 Cal. 3d 619, 470 P.2d 617, 87 Cal. Rptr. 481 (1970), in which

the California Supreme Court held that the assailant of a

pregnant woman could not be guilty of murder although a

Caesarean section and examination in*utero revealed that

the fetus, of approximately thirty-five weeks, had died of

a severely fractured skull and resultant hemorrhaging. The

same result would apply in Texas under 2A Tez. Pen. Code,

art. 1202 (1961) and in Georgia under Ga. Code Ann., See.

26-1103. :

Some courts and commentators have already analyzed

and rejected the idea that the state has any compelling in-

terest in protecting the rights of the fetus. See California v.

Belous, supra; McCann v. Babbitz, supra; Sands, Thera-

peutic Abortion Act: An Answer to the Opposition, 13

U.C.L.A. L. Rev. 285, 305 (1966) ; Ziff, Recent Abortion Law

Reforms, 60 J. Crim. L. C. & P.S. 3 (1969).

Nevertheless, even if the position were accepted, argu

endo, that the fetus is a “person” or “potential person,” *

24. See e.g. In re Wells’ Will, 221 N. Y. Supp. 714 (1927), and

Carroll v. Skloff, 415 Pa. 47, 202 A.2d 9 (1964), ‘(ownership of

property wholly dependent on live birth) ; Atkinson, Wis, 75

(2d ed. 1953) ; Prosser, Torts, 356 (3d ed. 1964), (an individual

may sue for pre-natal injuries ‘‘provided he is born alive’);

California v. Belous, 71 Cal. 2d 954, 968, 458 P.2d 194, 80 Cal.

Rptr. 354 (1969), cert. den. 397 U.S. 915 (1970), (‘‘ All of the

statutes and rules relied upon [to support the right to life] require

a live birth or reflect the interest of the parents.’’).

&

21

such recognition of the fetus would not provide the state

with a compelling interest to justify encroachment upon the

pregnant woman’s possession and free control of her own

person.

Let us assume, for the time being, that the pregnant

woman and the fetus she carries within her body have come

before the law as equal “persons.” The woman desires an

abortion. May the state legitimately intervene to prevent

the abortion? At the present stage of medical knowledge

and ability to control human incubation, the fetus cannot

survive and develop into a separate self-sustaining person

without contribution of the bodily force of the single female

individual who carries that particular fetus within her body.

Yet the laws prohibiting and regulating abortion, unlike

all other laws in respect of persons, compel this pregnant ~

woman to breathe, process food and donate blood for the

sustenance of another human entity, either fully or partially

developed. In no other instance does the law compel one

individual to donate his/her bodily force to another indi-

vidual. In no other instance does the law give another

human — even a fully developed human — a right to life

beyond that which the person himself can sustain.

The law does not give a person in need of blood the right

to receive blood from an unwilling donor; the conclusive-

ness of the law on this subject being so clearly recognized

that it is difficult even to imagine testing such a principle in,

* the courts.*

25. Notwithstanding the close relationship of parent and living

child, there is no legal duty of the parent to contribute blood from

his/her body*for the donation to the living child: Even the parent

of a live hemophiliae child is not required to donate his/her blood

—the principle element for keeping the child alive. Nor are parents

of living children required to draw any substance from their own

bodies for contribution to their children. Mothers are not compelled

to breast-feed their babies although medical data indicate that

breast-fed babies are healthier.

ce Re Se ee en ee ee me ne re

22

The law does not give a person whose kidneys or other

body parts are not functioning the right to demand another

person’s kidneys or body parts. The Uniform Anatomical

Gifts Act, now enacted in forty-four states, recognizes that

bodily parts are contributed only by the voluntary act of

the donor; and the very titles of the statutes known as

anatomical “gift” acts imply that lawmakers have never had

any intention of authorizing forcible contributions of bodily

parts from one human being to another. Rather than pro.

tecting the interests of potential donees in such cases, the

state zealously safeguards the rights of potential organ

donors. Legislators, courts and commentators, recognizing

that there is no obligation, either legally or morally, for one

person to supply another, even a close relative who may be

dying, with a healthy organ, turn their attention to the issue

of informed consent of the potential donor to make sure

that he is acting free from any psychological coercion. See

Bonner v. Moran, 126 F.2d 121 (D.C. Cir. 1941); Curran,

A Problem of Consent: Kidney Transplantation, 3

N.Y.U. L. Rev. 891 (1959); Richards, Medical-Legal Prob-

lems of Organ Transplantation, 21 Hastinos L. J. 77 (1969);

Sanders and Dukeminier, Medical Advance and Legal Lag:

Hemodialysis and Kidney Transplantation, 15 U.C.L.A. L.

Rev. 357 (1968)**

26. Sanders and Dukeminier note that the law permits kidney

donation only from adult persons fully informed of the risks and

consequences; that the use of prisoners as organ donors has been

discontinued on the grounds of possible abuse; that kidney trans-

plantations from living donors are illegal in France because of the

fear of moral or psychological coercion. The authors state that

donors with only one remaining kidney run the risk of shortening

their lives should they be afflicted with kidney disease ; and conelude

by questioning the propriety of allowing any donor to take such

risk. Where the life of the kidney donor may be placed in jeopardy

by his donation, or where the consent of a minor is involved,

courts use extreme care to be sure that knowing and voluntary

consent precedes the donation. See Bonner v. Moran, supra.

23

As a general rule the law has traditionally been reluctant

to impose liability on a person who has failed to rescue or

aid one in peril as such liability would be an unwarranted

limitation on personal freedom. The Failure to Rescue:

A Comparative Study, 52 Cotumsia L. Rev. 631, 632

(1952). A person is not required to jeopardize his own

safety to rescue another placed in danger by emergency

circumstances. London v. Atlanta Transit Company (1955)

91 Ga. App. 753, 87 S. E. 2d 103, 106. This rule has a long

history in case law,” and has been reaffirmed in the Restate-

ment of the Law of Torts (Second) Section 314 (1965):

“The fact thet the actor realizes or should realize that action

on his part is necessary for another's aid or protection does

not of itself impose upon him the duty to take such action.”

And Comment C of the Reporter's Notes states:

The rule stated in this Section is applicable irrespec-

tive of the gravity of the danger to which the other is

subjected and the insignificance of the trouble, effort,

- or expense of giving him aid or protection.

While it may be argued that the continuation of pregnancy

is a non-active course, and so lacking in comparison with

eases relating to “no duty to act,” experts recognize that,

once conception has taken place, there is no non-active

course open to the pregnant woman. To abort takes action;

to sustain the fetus also takes action. Even if the life sup-

port services which the woman’s body brings into per-

formance for sustenance of the fetus are largely automatic

and non-voluntary, they are not non-services or non-actions.

They are, according to medical experts, arduous, tiring and

obstructive of other work. The contractions of childbirth

27. Toadvine v. Cincinnati, N.O. & T.R. Ry. (E.D. Ky. 1937),

20 F. Supp. 226; Allen v. Hixson, 111 Ga. 460, 36 S.E. 810 (1900) ;

Hurley v. Eddingfield, 156 Ind. 416, 59 N.E. 1058 (1901) ; Gilbert

v. Gwin-McCollum Funeral Home, 268 Ala. 372, 106 So. 2d 646

(1958) ; O’Keefe v. W. J. Barry Company, 311 Mass. 517, 42 N.E.

2d 267 (1942) ; Osterlind v. Hill, 263 Mass. 73, 160 N.E. 301 (1928).

24

are literally “labor.” They are the most strenuous work of

which the human body is capable.

According to Robert A. Wilson, M.D., obstetrician ang

gynecologist: “The pressure exerted in this act of birth

is at least 80 pounds per square inch, a truly astonishing

feat of sheer muscular strength.’

Abortion laws alone compel the contribution of one indi.

vidual’s organs, blood, breath and life support system for

another individual, either fully or partially formed. Unless

the law recognizes fetuses as more valuable to the state or

more worthy of the state’s intervention than other potential

donees of bodily organs or unless the state finds the freedom

and bodily integrity of pregnant women to be less valuable

than that of other potential donors, the state must be

assumed to maintain in the abortion conflict at least the

same position as it does in any similar conflict between two

living persons. That is, whenever one person requires an

organ donation, or a pint of blood, or even the temporary

use of the other person’s lung power for artificial respira-

tion, the potential donor’s right to refuse is not measured

by the degree of interest the state may take in the life of

the potential recipient. Rather, it is measured against the

potential donor’s right in his/her own bodily integrity.

If the pregnant woman, as potential donor, and the

fetus, as potential donee, come before the law as equal

“persons,” one may not command involuntary servitude

of the other; and so the potential donor retains her sov-

ereignty over her body and her right to refuse. Therefore,

it follows that the fetus, a potential person, can have no

greater right over a potential donor. Unless the state has

28. Wilson, Robert A., M.D., (Fellow of the American College

of Surgeons Board of Obstetricians-Gynocologists, Diplomate of

the International College of Surgeons, Fellow of the International

College of Surgeons) describes such measurements in his book

FEMININE Forever (1966).

25

some other compelling interest in forcing the donation of

the pregnant woman’s body to the service of the fetus, the

state must stand aside in the abortion conflict; it cannot

legitimately intervene in preventing the pregnant woman

from withholding her life force from the fetus.

2. THE STATE'S INTEREST IN PROTECTING THE HEALTH AND WELFARE

OF THE PREGNANT WOMAN.

Strict control by the state of all surgical procedures, not

just abortion, is justifiable in the interests of the health

of the persons involved. But state control of abortion other-

wise available through modern medical science actually

inhibits the health of the mother, and frustrates the very

interest the state would protect.

When abortion laws were first adopted in this country,

surgery was very dangerous. Aseptic procedures and anti-

bioties were unknown. Nearly 40 per cent of patients under-

going surgery of all kinds in the early 19th century died.

See, e.g., Ober, Analysis of Surgical Practice at the New

York Hospital, 1808-33 (1970) ; California v. Belous, supra,

at 965.

Today, jiowever, it is literally safer for a woman to have

an aboy#fon in early pregnancy than to go through child-

birth. See California v. Belous, supra, at 965. The maternal

mortality rate for therapeutic abortion is three per 100,000;

the maternal mortality rate connected with pregnancy and

childbirth is 20 per 100,000. Tietze, Mortality with Contra-

ception and Induced Abortion, 45 Stupies 1x Famity Puan-

nine 6 (1969).

On the other hand, women who cannot obtain therapeutic

abortions because of the law are driven to criminal abor-

tionists where mortality and morbidity rates are astronomi-

cal. See, e.g., Moritz and Thompson, Septic Abortion, 95

Am. J. Osst. & Gynec. 46 (1966); Reid, Assessment and

Management of the Seriously Ill Patient Following Abor-

Perea aco

=

x

*

me

f

os

=

Fa

&

:

Fy

g

es

Z

0 Sete Myatt ya ts

FOI PE LP Pod storks! e sey yesh Pe

26

tion, 199 J.A.M.A. 805 (1967). Today, abortion restrictions

designed “to protect women from serious risks to life and

health in modern times become a scourge.” California 4,

Belous, supra, at 967.

Any justification for abortion laws based on protecting

the woman’s health has long since been rendered obsolete

by medical science, and no compelling state interest in this

justification can possibly remain.

3. THE STATE'S INTEREST IN PROMOTING POPULATION GROWTH.

Abortion was not a crime at common law unless induced

after the fetus had “quickened,” 7.e., moved in the womb,

Perkins, Criminal Law (1957) 101. Abortion prior to quick.

ening was outlawed and punished as crime in France,

England and the United States at the time when those

countries required manpower for armies, settling or coloni-

zation, with the harshest anti-abortion laws existing in

societies with an overriding interest in producing soldiers

for military conquest. See Leavy and Kummer, Criminal

Abortion: Human Hardship and Unyielding Laws, 35 So.

Cal. L. Rev. 123 (1962); Means, The Law of New York

Concerning Abortion and the Status of the Fetus, 1664

1968: A Case Study of Cessation of Constitutionality, 14

N.Y.L.F. 411 (1968).

In the early history of our country’s colonization and

settlement, there was a felt need for more persons. Conse.

quently, population growth was encouraged by anti-abortion

law, and importation of slaves was allowed.

Unfortunately, our abortion law is dangerously out of

date. Many of our laws and customs still reflect the desires

of a nation seeking to fill a frontier. These laws, sensible

enough at earlier stages of history when man’s survival may

have depended on encouraging population maintenance and

growth, have become foolish and dangerous in the light of

changed circumstances.

a, BSNS iSO CR AT IER I RS Bm ROO DIOR Cmtinn Er

27

A state cannot seriously contend today that restrictions

on abortion are justified by an overriding state interest in

increasing population. See Ehrlich, The Population Bomb,

1968. On the contrary, it is accepted government policy to

limit family size and to encourage family planning. Such

state interest is expressed in Population and the American

Future, The Report of the President’s Commission on

Population Growth and the Future (March, 1972) p. 192:

Recognizing that our population cannot grow indefin-

itely, and appreciating the advantage of moving now

toward the stabilization of population, the Commission

recommends that the nation welcome and plan for a

stabilized population.

The President’s Commission recognizes the acceptability of

voluntary abortion as a method of achieving population

stability. (Jd. at pp. 173-174, 177-178).

4. THE STATE'S INTEREST IN PUNISHING SEXUAL CONDUCT AND PRO-

MOTING "PUBLIC MORALITY.”

It is often argued that restrictions on abortion discourage

sexual promiscuity by deterring pre-marital and extra-

marital sex, and thus enhance “public morality.” Such argu-

ments must be reviewed in historical perspective.

The Nineteenth Century morality, in which anti-abortion

and anti-contraceptive laws first flourished in this country,

regarded sex and sexual information as “sinful.” The Com-

stock Act®, which prohibited dissemination of obscene ma-

29. The Comstock Act, Stat. § 3893, 42nd Congress, Ch. 3

(1883) : “ Whoever . . . shall sell, lend, or give away . . . or shall

have in his possession . . . any obseene book, pamphlet, writing,

advertisement, circular, print, picture, drawing or other

representative figure . . . or any drug or medicine, or-any

article whatever, for the prevention of conception, or for,

causing unlawful abortion, or shall advertise the same for

sale . . . or shall manufacture, draw or print . . . any of such

articles shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor .. .”

a

ji

Ly

Pe ts aca

ae peeneenen anna serene vaca A ee

: 28

terials, did not differentiate between medical or technical

studies of sexual activity, contraception, abortion, marriage

manuals or hard core pornography. The public was to be

shielded from all such sexual information.

The first case brought under the Comstock Act found a

book dealing with sex in marriage to be obscene. A New

York statute* patterned after the Comstock Act Served ag

the basis for conviction of Margaret Sanger when she

opened the first birth control clinic in New York and at

tempted instruction of women regarding their reproductive

systems.*?

In the modern context, such archaic laws have been

abridged by judicial decision and legislation recognizing

needs for population control, public health and rights of

individuals. (See Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 US. 479 ¢

[1965] and LFisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 430 (March 22,

1972].) -

There is no evidence that a prohibition on abortion deters

“immoral conduct” or even non-marital sex. This Court

recently rejected a similar argument in invalidating a

Massachusetts statute that prohibited sale of contraceptives

to unmarried persons. Eisenstadt v. Baird, supra.

[W]e cannot agree that the deterrence of pre-marital |

sex may reasonably be regarded as the purpose of the

Massachusetts law. . . . It would be plainly unreason-

able to assume that Massachusetts has prescribed

pregnancy and the birth of an unwanted child as pun-

ishment for fornication ... (Jd. at 440.)

In Eisenstadt v. Baird, this Court found that a prohibi-

tion on dissemination of contraceptives without limitation

30. United States v. Bennett, 24 Fed. Case No. 14571 (S.D.N.Y.

1879).

31. N. Y. Consolidated Laws, Ch. 40 § 1142 (1884).

32. See People v. Sanger, 222 N.Y. 192, 118 N.E. 637 (1918).

9 ae PE FOES rena ter ~ .

29

to specifically criminal conduct swept too broadly. We

submit that a prohibition on abortion without limitation to

specifically criminal conduct (e.g., fornication, adultery,

prostitution) sweeps too broadly, prohibiting abortion for

unwanted pregnancy occurring in marriage, or without

criminal sexual conduct, as well as that resulting from an

unlawful relationship. A statute cannot withstand the

challenge of invasion of constitutional rights if it has such

overbreadth that it forbids legitimate acts as well as illegiti-

mate ones. Eisenstadt v. Baird, supra; N.A.A.C.P. v. Ala-

bama, 377 U.S. 288 (1964); Shelton v. Tucker, supra;

Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88 (1940).

il, IF THE CULPABILITY OF THE PREGNANT WOMAN IS PRE-

SUMED RATHER THAN PROVED, SHE IS DENIED DUE

PROCESS UNDER THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT.

The very language of the Thirteenth Amendment pro-

hibits subjection to involuntary servitude “except as punish-

ment for crime whereof the party shall have been duly

convicted.” Yet, the state’s subjection of an unwilling woman

to the continued pregnancy and childbearing compelled by

anti-abortion law is accomplished without defining her sub-

stantive crime or providing her with due process in proving

. her guilt and inflicting her punishment.

It is pointless to argue that the pregnant woman is not

the subject of the punishment inflicted upon a doctor/

abortionist. On -e regnancy begins, the unwillingly preg-

nant woman is with a governmental mandate that

requires her to dedicate her body and her strength to a

fetus or, in the alternative, to seek out an illegal abortionist

in unhealthful surroundings and thereby risk her health

and life. The state, by withholding from the pregnant

woman the assistance of competent surgical and medical

care for legal abortion, effectively condemns the woman to

Soon ONZE SAE ESAS LOD I TIE I ROT

0 Aa Ny SRO NENA LEIA YN MRNA hth NER ET ARE EN EME OA NG AAS a REAM Cah A es DOUALA ART OB a

30

the alternative courses of the continued servitude of preg.

nancy or the dangers of risking her life and health.

What is the woman’s crime? Substantive due process re.

quires that it be clearly defined, not vague, not arbitrary,

Is her crime that of having engaged in a sexual relation.

ship? If the relationship occurred within marriage, no crime

is involved in any state. On the contrary, the woman was

compelled by virtue of her married state to submit to her

husband. (See Subsection I.B. 2.b. supra.) Even if the

pregnancy may have occurred as the result of some pro.

hibited non-marital sexual conduct (according to due proof),

an anti-abortion law punishing such conduct would be over.

broad and beyond the competence of the state. (See Eisen.

stadt v. Baird, supra.) Is her crime that of failing in knowl.

edge of, access to, or effectiveness of contraceptives? Such

crime has not been defined by the state.

Regardless of the possible crime that a state might formu-

late as the basis for a pregnant woman’s fault, procedural

due process under the Fourteenth Amendment establishes |

a presumption of innocence which can be overcome only by

evidence beyond a reasonable doubt, produced in a court.

room with the safeguards of fair procedure, As this Court

stated in Deutch v. United States:

“One of the rightful boasts of Western civilization is

that the [prosecution] has the burden of establishing

guilt solely on the basis of evidence produced in court

and under circumstances assuring an accused all the_-

safeguards of a fair procedure.” Irvin v. Dowd, 366

U.S. 717, 729. Among these is the presumption of the

defendant’s innocence,

(367 U.S. 456, 471 [1961])

Can due process be totally oyerlooked in regard to individ-

ual rights of unwillingly pregnant women?

31

It is true that, at varying times in our country’s history,

rights of om individuals have gone unrecognized while

urgently felt public needs pressed for stronger recognition.

Thus, during the early years of this country’s colonization

and settlement, the pressing need for more persons to

settle and work the land was allowed to override considera-

tions of individual rights. Slaves were imported to work

ad the females of society were pressed into repeated

reproductive service,

Today, this country’s population has moved far beyond

its needed growth, and current government policy is to en-

courage population control. Anti-abortion laws have out-

lived their purpose if regarded in historical perspective.

Rights of the individual pregnant woman can no longer be

ignored,

The Thirteenth Amendment’s promise of freedom has

long provided to male citizens the sovereign control of their

own bodies. «|

In 1942, this Court protected the civil right of a male

person, even one duly convicted of crime, to control his

own reproductive system. Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U.S.

535. Is it any the less important that this Court protect

the right of a female person to control her body and her

reproductive system?

CONCLUSION ;

We respectfully request this Court to recognize that the

anti-abortion laws which force an unwillingly pregnant

woman to continue pregnancy to term are a form of invol-

untary servitude without due conyiction for a crime and

without the justification of serving any national or public

need,

Respectfully submitted,

Joan K. Braprorp,

Attorney for Amici Curiae.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.