Amicus Curiae Brief — Roe v. Wade

Supreme Court brief1973

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

M.D., Ph.D.

F aiversty Y Bebo! of Medicine

t of Pediatrics

M.

er of Paychiatry

wy of California

Angeles

3 E. McLENNAN, M.D.

of Gynecology and Obstetrics

University

‘W, OVERSTREET, M.D.

of Obstetrics and Gynecology

ty of California

D B. SHAW, M.D.

of Pediatrics, Emeritus

sit) rot Califo -nia School of Medicine

9B 8. HARRIS, M.D.

¢. Clinical Prof. of

trices & Gynecology

ol of Medicine

(BERT E. LONG, M.D.

te Clinical Professor of

i ries and Gynecology

niver ity of California, San Francisco

CoLORADO

a. WHITTINGTON, M.D.

tor of Psychiatry

of Health and Hospitals

te — of Health

ID W. TALMAGE, M.D.

et m, Shoo! of Medicine

os Professor of Microbiology

and Medicine

iivetsity of Colorado Medical Center

C. HENRY KEMPE, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

Department of Pediatrics

University of Colorado Medical Center

Denver

E. STEWART TAYLOR, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

University of Colorado

Denver

CONRAD M. RILEY, M.D.

Professor

Departments of Pediatrics

and Preventive Medicine

University of Colorado Medical Center

Denver

3

CoNNECTICUT

NATHAN KASE, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Yale University School of Medicine

New Haven

CLARENCE D. DAVIS, M.D.

Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Yale University School of Medicine

New Haven

District OF COLUMBIA

JOHN F. J. CLARK, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Howard University and

Freedmen’s Hospital

Washington

ROBERT H. BARTER, M.D.

Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology

George Washington University

2141 K Street, Northwest

Washington

FLoripa

E. M. PAPPER, M.D.

Vice President and Dean

School of Medicine

University of Miami

Miami

WILLIAM A. LITTLE, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

University of Miami School of Medicine

HARRY PRYSTOWSKY, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

University of Florida College of Medicine

Gainesville

Hawa

WINDSOR C. CUTTING, M.D.

renege: Me agg

University o

Honolulu

ILLINOIS

WILLIAM J. GROVE, M.D.

tive Dean

execursity of Llinois College of Medicine

Chieago

ROBERT B. LAWSON, M.D.

Vice President for Health

Northwestern University

Chicago

D. N. DANFORTH, Ph.D., M.D.

f and Chairman

Simard of Obstetrics & Sreseiee?

Northwestern University Medical School

Chicago

ROBERT ©. STEPTO, M.D.

Chairman, t of

FREDERICK ZUSPAN, M.D.

John Bolivar DeLee dcp and Chairman

t of Obstetrics and Gynecology

The Chicago Lying-In Hospital

The University of Chicago

Chicago

CHARLES cova M.D.

Clinical Professor

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Mount Sinai Hospital

Chicago

ALBERT DORFMAN, M.D.

Richard T. Crane Distinguished Service

Professor of Pediatrics

University of Chicago

Chicago

InDIANA

CARL P. HUBER, M.D.

Coleman Professor

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Indiana University Medical Center

Indianapolis

Iowa

ROBERT C. HARDIN, M.D.

Viee Provost and Dean

Health Affairs

University of Iowa

Iowa City

Kansas

KERMIT E. KRANTZ, M.D., Litt),

Professor and Chairman

Department of Gynecology and Ob

Professor of Anatomy

University of Kansas Medical Center

Kansas City

KENTUCKY

DOUGLAS M. HAYNES, M.D.

Dean and Professor of Obstetrics

and Gynecology

University of Louisville School of

Health Sciences Center

Louisville

W. 8. JORDAN, JE., M.D.

Dean

University of Kentucky

College of Medicine

Lexington

TOM F. WHAYNE, M.D.

Associate Dean

University of Kentucky

College of Medicine

Lexington

Professor and

University of Kentucky Medi

versity of Kentu ical Center

Lexington

JOHN W. GREENE, JR., MD.

Chairman

WARREN E. WHEELER, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

Department of Pediatrics

University of Kentucky

Medical Center

Lexington

LOUISIANA

RICHARD L. FOWLER, M.D.

Professor and Head

Department of Pediatrics

Louisiana State University

School of Medicine

New Orleans

MarYLAND

DAVID E. BOG M.D.

Medical Faculty

ne ine University School of

asticl

: logy

ms s Hopkins University School of |

Medicine

KINS, M.D.

se “pr Obstetrics and Gynecology

Tniversity of Maryland Hospital

Baltimore

AVIN M. CUSHNER, M.D.

Rye Genter for Social Studies in

roduction

oor Scones of Obstetrics and

jynecolo

Bix Hopkins University School of

Medicine

SADORE A. SIEGEL, M.D.

“meritus Professor of Obstetrics and

mheerghy of Maryland Medical School

Baltimore

HELEN B. TAUSSIG, M.D.

Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics —

The Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

‘ H COUDON, M.D.

od Atlantic Association of Obstetrics

and Gynecology

Diplomate, American Board of Obstetrics

and Gynecology

Pe ile

MASSACHUSETTS

20BERT H. EBERT, M.D.

Dean of the Faculty of Medicine

Medical School

BEORGE V. SMITH, M.D.

Wm. H. Baker Professor of Gynecology,

‘University of Minnesota School of Medicine

DAVID CHARLES, M.D.

Director, Department of Obstetrics and

Gynecol =

Boston City Hospital c

Boston

MICHIGAN

T. N. EVANS, M.D.

Acting Dean and

Chairman, Department of Gynecology and

Obstetrics

Wayne State University

Detroit

ANDREW D. HUNT, JR., M.D.

Dean

Coll of Human Medicine

Michigan State Universit

East Lansing :

WILLIAM B. WEIL, JR., M.D.

Professor and Chairman

Department of Human Development

a University

East ing

MINNESOTA

DAVID G. DECKER, M.D.

hoo and owen

epartment of trics and Gynecolo

Mayo Clinic rr

Rochester

JOSEPH H. PRATT, M.D.

Professor of Surge

MARY E. MUSSEY, M.D.

Consultant in Gynecology

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecol

Mayo Clinic ey

Rochester

H. MEAD CAVERT, M.D.

Associate Dean

Minneapolis

JOHN J. SCIARRA, M.D.

Professor and Head

rtment of Obstetrics and Gynecology

University of Minnesota Hospitals

Minnenpetie

HARRY FOREMAN, M.D.

Director, Center for Population Studies

University of Minnesota

Mayo Memorial Hospital

Minneapolis

FRANK W. QUATTLEBAUM, M.D.

Associate Professor of Surgery

School of Medicine

University of Minnesota

Minneapoli

JANE E. HODGSON, M.D.

Assistant Clinical Professor of

Obstetrics and Gynecology

School of Medicine

University of Minnesota

Minneapolis

HAROLD G. RAVITS, M.D.

President, Ramsey County Medical Society

Chairman, and Clinical Professor

Department of Dermatology

University of Minnesota School of Medicine

St. Paul

DWIGHT MARTIN, M.D.

President-elect, Ramsey County Medical

Society

Clinical Assistant Professor

Department of Medicine

ag oral of Minnesota School of Medicine

t.

DAVID M. CRAIG, M.D.

pe resident, Ramsey County Medical

Clinical Associate Professor

De ment of Medicine

University of Minnesota School of Medicine

St. Paul

CARL RICE, M.D.

Editor, Minnesota Medicine

Clinical Associate Professor

University Of Minnesota School of Medicine

ERICK Y. HAKANSON, M.D.

Chairman and Associate Prof

Chairman and Associate Professor

THEODORE T. WATSON, M.D,

Clinical Assistant Professor

Department of Obstetrics and G

University of Minnesota School of

Minneapolis

FRED A. LYON, M.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor

Department of Obstetrics and G

University of Minnesota School of Met

Minneapolis

MELVIN T. BAKEN, JR., M.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor

Department of Obstetrics and G

University of Minnesota School of Mot

Minneapolis

JOHN F. PERRY, M.D.

Professor of Surgery

University of Minnesota School of Mois,

Minneapolis

WILLIAM BERNSTEIN, M.D.

Clinical Professor of Surgery

University of Minnesota School of

Minneapolis

SAMUEL W. HUNTER, M.D.

Clinical Associate Professor of Sx

University of Minnesota School of Medi

Minneapolis

MILTON M. HURWITZ, M.D.

Clinical Professor of Medicine

University of Minnesota School of

Minneapolis

ROBERT B. BENJAMIN, M.D.

Clinical Associate Professor of Sw

University of Minnesota School of Mots

Minneapolis

_"

/ Mississippr

ROBERT E. BLOUNT, M.D.

Director and Dean

University of Mississippi School of

Medicine

Jackson

Si Missouri

JAMES C. WARREN, M.D.

Professor and Head, Designate

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Washington University Medical School

St. Louis

NEBRASKA

ROBERT B. KUGEL, M.D.

Dean, College of Medicine

The University of Nebraska

Omaha

H. PEARSE, M.D.

dorwr-oh Professor and Chairman

renartment of Obstetrics and Gynecology

sniversity of Nebraska Medical Center

ond and Dewey Streets

New HAMPSHIRE

ETON B. CHAPMAN, Dean

Seek Meties) School ”

Hanover

New MEXIco

ROBERT A. MUNSICK, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor and Chairman

Nenartment of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Vniversity of New Mexico School of

Medicine

Albuquerque

New YorkK

AN F. GUTTMACHER, M.D.

President, Planned Parenthood/World

Population

ew York

OUIS M. HELLMAN, M.D.

Professor Emeritus of Obstetrics and

Gynecolo

Btate University of New York

Down tate Medical Center

Brooklyn

REORGE JAMES, M.D.

ident

count Sinai Medical Center

lew York !

HAROLD C. WIGGERS, M.D.

Executive Vice President and Dean

Albany Medical College

Dany

RITZ FUCHS, M.D.

Fiven Foundation Professor and Chairman

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

ornell University Medical College

New York

k. B. GUSBERG, M.D., D.Sc.

Professor and Chairman of Obstetrics and

Gynecolo

t. Sinai School of Medicine

of the City University of New York

New York :

ROBERT J. HAGGERTY,.M.D.

Professor and Chairman J

Department of Pediatrics

University of Rochester School of

Medicine and Dentistry

SAUL KRUGMAN, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

Department of Pediatrics

New York University Medical Center

New York

JONATHAN T. LANMAN

Professor and Chairman

Department of Pediatrics

Downstate Medical Center

Brooklyn

CURTIS J. LUND, M.D.

Hon. sod orale mote :

epartment o trics-Gynecology

University of Rochester School of

Medicine and Dentistry

Rochester

JAMES H. NELSON, JR., M.D.

Professor and Chairman

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

State University of New York

Downstate Medical Center

Brooklyn

ROBERT E. L, NESBITT, JR., M.D.

nepering oof Obetetrice dG 1

partment o tet: and Gynecolo,

State University of New York zi

Upstate Medical Center

Syracuse

SEYMOUR L. ROMNEY, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Bronx Municipal Hospital Center

Pelham Parkway and\Eastchester Road

ee of logy and Obstetrics

ronx

DONALD. P. SWARTZ, M.D.

Director, Department of Obstetrics and

G 1

Harlem Hospital Center

HAROLD M. M. TOVELL, M.D.

Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

College of Physicians and Surgeons

Columbia University

New York

RAYMOND L. VANDE WIELE, M.D.

Der roe wa Obstet 7 d Gynecol

partment o rics an

Director of the Ob-Gyn Service Sed

Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center

New York

JEAN A. CORTNER, M.D.

Professor of Pediatrics

State University of New York

Buffalo

EDWARD C. CURNEN, JB., M.D.

Professor of Obstetrics and ~ oe

New York University School o Medicine

New York

HABRY H. GORDON, M_D.

Professor of

Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Bronx

RICHARD L. DAY, M.D

Emeritus Professor of Pediatrics

Mount Sinai School of Medicine

New York

HERBERT G. WINSTON, M.D.

Clinical Professor of Obstetrics and

Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Bronx

NortH CaRoLina

W. G. ANLYAN, M.D.

Professor of Surgery and

Vice President for Health Affairs

Duke University Medical Center

Durham

MANSON M.D.

Vice President for Medical Affairs and

Dean

The Bowman Gray School of Medicine

Winston-Salem

RICHARD L. BURT, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

Bowman Gray School of Medicine

Winston-Salem :

ROY T. PAR M.D.

F. Bayard Carter fessor and

i Department of Obstetrics and

Duke Medical Center

Durham

NortH Dakota

WALLACE W. NELSON, M.D.

Assistant Dean, Student Affairs

School of Medicine

University of North Dakota

Grand Forks

Oro

— G. GRULEE, JR., M.D.

Oaege of Cincinnati

ry

Cincinnati

FREDERICK C. ROBBINS, M.D.

Dean, School of Medicine

Case Western Reserve University

Cleveland

M. A. AYERS, M.D.

pera homer f Obstetrics and

° Gynecolegy

——— as

0

ROBERT G. PAGE, M.D.

Dean and Professor of Medicine and

Pharmacology

Medical College of Ohio

Toledo

E. L. PRATT, M.D.

Director, t of Pediatrics

University of Clactanatt

College of Medicine

Children’s Hospital

Cincinnati

RICHARD W. STANDER, M.D.

FRANK FALKNER, M_D., M.B.C.P.

Cubentpat ccm a

versity 0:

of Medicine ~

Cincinnati

OKLAHOMA

JAMES A. MERRILL, M.D.

Professor and Head

t. of Gynecology and Obstetrics

University of Oklahoma

School of Medicine

Oklahoma City

HARRIS D. RILEY, JR., M.D.

Professor of Pediatrics

Children’s Hospital

University of Oklahoma

Oklahoma City .

OREGON

RALPH C. BENSON, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

rtment of Obstetrics and Gynecology

University of goes

Medical School, ospitals and Clinics

Portland

DONALD N. MEDEARIS, JB., M.D.

Professor of Pediatrics

Dean, School of Medicine

nett ee of Pittsburgh

Pittsburg

WILLIAM G. SLATE, M.B., Ch.B., M.S.

Temple University School of

iy er Division of Soames and

sent Binsteia Medical Center

Philadelphia

VICTOR C. VAUGHAN ITI, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

t of Pediatrics

Temple University School of Medicine

Philadelphia

tEeoKn THR COLIGH

South CAROLINA

LAWRENCE L. HESTER, JBR., M.D.

Professor and Chairman

mt of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Medical University of South Carolina

Charleston

D. STROTHER | POP x

Secretary, e'

Past: President (1966)

Gpamagieal Sole

a

pre e a -

South DaxoTa

GEORGE -W. KNABE, JR., M.D.

Dean

School of Medicine

University of South Dakota

Vermillion

TENNESSEE

STEWART A. FISH, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

University of Obstetrics and > aid

aed of Tennessee College of

cw a

DONALD A. GOSS, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Nashville

W. F. BERNELL So dre M.D.

ame and Chairman

rtment of Obstetrics and Gynecology

el Medical College

TEXas

CHARLES E. GIBBS, M.D.

President

Texas Association of Obstetricians and

Anson eet Department of

te essor, mt 0

Obstetrics and G sag

The University of edical School

at San Antonio

HUGH —— M.D.

exas Medical Association

Committee re > Study Abortion Laws in Texas

Fort Worth

JOSEPH M. WHITE, M.D.

Vice-President for Academic Affairsand ™

- Dean of Medicine

The University of Texas Medical Branch

Galveston

AIM DAME AIIAARE

ARLES WILLIAM DAESCHNER, JR.,

Chairman

nt of Pediatrics

The University of Texas Medical Branch

Galveston

HEINZ F. EICHENWALD, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

Department of Pediatrics

The University of Texas Southwestern

Medical School

Dallas

HAMILTON FORD, M.D.

’ Professor and Chairman

Department of Neurology and Psychiatry

The University of Texas Medical Branch

Galveston

RAYMOND H. KAUFMAN, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

ent of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Baylor University College of Medicine

Houston

PAUL MacDONALD, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

t of Obstetrics and Gynecology

The University of Texas Southwestern

Medical School

Dallas

WILLIAM J. McGANITY, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

t of Obstetrics and Gynecolo

The University of Texas Medical Bran

Galveston

JACK PRITCHARD, M.D.

Professor and former Chairman

t of Obstetrics and Gynecology

The University of Texas Southwestern

Medical School

Dallas

JOSEPH SEITCHIK, M.D.

Professor and Chairman

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecol

The University of Texas Medical £ School”

at San Antonio

ROBERT H. BARNES, M.D.

Professor, Department of Psychiatry

The University of Texas Medical School

at San Antonio

HERMAN L. GARDNER, M.D.

Clinical Professor

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Baylor University College of Medicine

Houston

ROBERT 8. GLEN, M.D.

Professor, Department of Psychiatry é‘

The University of Texas Southwester,

Medical School "

Dallas

WILLIAM C. LEVIN, M.D.

Professor

Department of Internal Medicine ood

The University of Texas Medical Brand

Galveston

L. CHARLES POWELL, M.D.

Amram f Obste ' b

partment o trics and G

The University of Texas Medical 1 Beat

Galveston ,

ROBERT L. ROESSLER, M.D.

Professor

Department of Psychiatry

Baylor University College of Medicine

Houston

PEGGY JOYCE WHALLEY, MD.

Depertasent of Obstetrion and Gyaceda

partment o and

The University of Texas Southwestera

Medical School

Dallas

ROBERT B. WHITE, M.D.

Professor

Department of Neurology and

The University of Texas Medical Branch

Galveston

=)

:

ni’

]

in

0

ni

y

UTan

THOMAS C. KING, M.D.

Provost

University of Utah

School of Medicine

Salt Lake City

VERMONT

WILLIAM H. LUGINBUHL, M.D.

Dean

University of Vermont

College of Medicine

Burlington

JOHN VAN 8. MAECK, M.D.

at and ee

artment of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Chief of Service wi

University of Vermont College of Medici

Burlington

VimcInia

10 J. DUNN, -M.D.

and Chairman

sancti of Obstetrics and Gynecology

dical College of Virginia

, ch Science Division

Seoeannestth University

“ ond

G. THURMAN, M.D.

: of Pediatrics

— t of Pediatrics

iversity of Virginia School of Medicine

ottesville

NORMAN THORNTON, JR., M.D.

partment of Obstetrics and Gynecology

BBniversity of Virginia School of Medicine

parlottesville

WasHINGTON

RNARD GOMBERG, M.D.

inical Assistant Professor of

Obstetrics and Gynecology

niversity of W

Medicine

School of

RALPH J. WEDGWOOD, M.D.

Professor and Chairman Department of

Pediatrics

University of Washington School of

Medicine

Seattle

WEst VIRGINIA

WALTER A. BONNEY, M.D.

Professor and rman Department of

Obstetrics and Rinaaiees

West Virginia University School of

Medicine

Morgantown

WILLIAM G. KLINGBERG, M.D.

Professor and Chairman Department of

Pediatrics

West Virginia University School of

WISCONSIN

BEN M. PECKHAM, M.D.

Chairman, Department of Gynecology and

Obstetrics

te Clinical Affairs

University of Wisconsin Medical School

Madison

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 70-40, 1971 Term

>

Mary Dog, e¢ al.,

Appellants,

—V.—

Agrnur K. Botton, Attorney General

. of the State of Georgia, et al.,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

-_

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF AS AMICI CURIAE

FOR THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF OBSTETRICIANS

AND GYNECOLOGISTS, AMERICAN MEDICAL WOMEN’S

ASSOCIATION, AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC ASSOCIATION,

NEW YORK ACADEMY OF MEDICINE, MEDICAL SCHOOL

DEANS AND PROFESSORS, AND CERTAIN INDIVIDUAL

PHYSICIANS

Pursuant to Rule 42(3) of this Court, the organizations

and physicians named on the cover and initial pages of

this Motion, respectfully ask leave to file the annexed brief

as Amici Curiae in the above-styled case.

Counsel for appellant have not responded to the request

for leave to file a brief. Counsel for appellee asked Amici

to seek the leave of this Court.

Interest of Amici Curiae

Amici are organizations and individuals from the medi-

eal profession generally, as well as particular specialties.

Amicus American College of Obstetricians and Gynecolo-

gists was founded in 1951 and has 13,400 Fellows and

Junior Fellows. ACOG was organized in part to “establish

and maintain the highest possible standards for obstetric

and gynecologic education in medical schools and hospitals,

2

obstetric and gynecologic practice and research” and to

“maintain the dignity and efficiency of obstetric and gyne.

cologic practice in its relationship to public welfare.” The

ACOG “Policy on Abortion” recognizes that “abortion

may be performed at a patient’s request, or upon a

physician’s recommendation.” (For complete text of policy

statement, see Appendix A.)

Amicus American Medical Women’s Association, which

was organized over 56 years ago, is composed of some 2,000

women physicians and women medical students throughout

the United States and territories. AMWA has supported

liberalization of abortion laws “for those who, for family

planning or health reasons, wish it, and that this be done

with the approval of their physicians.”

Amicus American Psychiatric Association is a scientific

and educational medical organization, composed of 18,783

qualified doctors of medicine who specialize as psychiatrists

in the diagnosis, care and treatment of mental diseases

and defects of the mind. It is the second largest medical

specialty organization in the United States. Abortions

are a prime interest to psychiatrists because pregnancy,

child-bearing, birth and abortion can have material effects

upon the mental processes of patients requiring psychiatric

diagnosis, evaluation and care. The Board of Trustees of «

the APA on Dec. 12-13, 1969, upon the recommendation of

the Committee on Psychiatry and Law, approved the

following:

“Position Statement on Abortion”

“A decision to perform an abortion should be re-

garded as strictly a medical decision and a medical

responsibility. It should be removed entirely from the

jurisdiction of criminal law. Criminal penalties should

be reserved for persons who perform abortions with-

out medical license or qualifications to do so. A medi-

cal decision to perform an abortion is based on the

careful and informed judgments of the physician and

the patient. Among other factors to be considered in

arriving at the decision is the motivation of the patient..

}

3

Often psychiatric consultation can help clarify moti-

vational problems and thereby contribute to the pa-

tient’s welfare.”

Composed of 3,118 Fellows, Amicus the New York Acad-

emy of Medicine was incorporated, by special act of the

_ Legislature of the State of New. York in 1851, for the ad-

vancement of science and medicine:

“The New York Academy of Medicine recommends

repeal of those sections of the criminal code referable

to the performance of abortion by qualified physicians

and further supports the legal changes that would

place abortion under the general provisions of the

medical practices act of all the various states.”

The individual Amici also include over 170 medical

school deans, departmental chairmen, and professors of

both obstetrics and gynecology and other branches of medi-

cine. z

Amici have a vital interest in overturning the jurisdic-

tional holding of the lower court. The panel found no “case

or controversy” posed by the sub-class of physician plain-

tiffs. Doe v. Bolton, 319 F. Supp. 1048, 1052-54 (N.D. Ga.

1970) (per curiam); J.S., at 4-a to 9-a. Although the dis-

trict court upheld the “standing” of the physician class,

the judges denied that physicians who “are not free to

perform or counsel the obtaining of abortions” may con-

test the law short of inviting criminal prosecution. Id.

This determination runs completely contrary to decisions

by this Court, e.g., Investment Co. Institute v. Camp, 401

US. 617, 620 (1971) ; LSCRRC v. Wadmond, 401 U.S. 154,

158-59 (1971) ; Epperson v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97, 101-02

(1968) ; Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136, 151-

53 (1967). It also asks the near impossible of physicians

and their patients. Either-a pregnant woman must file an

action and await lengthy judicial deliberations which risk

her very life and health (fifteen weeks intervened between

the April 16, 1970, filing date and the July 31 decision in

this case). Or, a physician must invite criminal prosecu-

tion, wheré nore is necessary to reveal the continuing im-

4

pact of the statute’s restrictions. Only two physicians in

Anglo-American history have had sufficient courage to

choose the latter route. See Rex v. Bourne [1939] 1 KB.

687 ; Hodgson v. Randall, 314 F. Supp. 32 (D. Minn. 1970), |

. aff'd mem., 402 U.S. —— (May 17, 1971).

Amici have a second important interest in the merits,

The Georgia law regulating the medical procedure of abor-

tion is patterned after analogous Model Penal Code pro-

visions. Similar laws are currently in force in twelve

states.? Amici include or represent physicians from each

of these additional jurisdictions. A decision on this appeal

will have the effect of settling, one way or another, objec

tions to those other eleven statutes. For this reason, Amici

have a legitimate claim to be heard.

. Equally important to the Amici is the need to present

medical data to the Court concerning the implementation

of this type of legislation. On a cumulative as well as state-

by-state basis, data have gradually become available from

public health authorities. These reveal discriminatory

variations in access to medical abortions, from county-to-

county, hospital-to-hospital, and state to state. All pur.

port to be operating under similar statutory language.

To the extent that these data have bearing upon the

constitutional questions before this Court, Amici have pre-

pared illustrative tables and charts. These appear in

Appendix B to the brief annexed hereto.

Amici Curiae, as physicians, also have data and argn-

ment in support of the contention that state law cannot

rationally differentiate the medical procedure of abortion

from all other procedures, by limiting the former to general

community hospitals accredited by the Joint Commission

on Accreditation of Hospitals [JCAH]. The aforemen-

tioned tables and charts show the paucity of such fully

1 See Movet Pena Cove §230.3, at 189 (Proposed Official Draft,

1962); Id., §207.11, at 144 (Tent. Draft No. 9, 1959), both of

which follow almost verbatim from the fifteen year old 1955 draft.

*The twelve states are: Arkansas, California, Colorado, Dela-

ware, Kansas, Maryland, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon,

South Carolina, Virginia, and Georgia.

accredited hospitals in the affected states, such as Georgia, —

Arkansas, and another eight states with substantially the

game requi t. This lack of available facilities is ac-

centuated by the tendency for many accredited hospital

directorates to permit their physicians to perform few or

no medical abortions.

In some states, however, the laws permit specialized

abortion facilities. In others, data from abortion experi-

ence suggests that the limitation of this medical procedure

to fully accredited general community hospitals goes far

beyond legitimate public health demands. Amici have

assembled the most relevant and recent scientific findings.

These are discussed in the annexed brief.

In two respects the brief for Amici Curiae will supple-

ment the brief for appellants in a manner useful to the

Court. First, Amici will concentrate arguments primarily

on the interference of the statute with physicians, patients,

and the physician-patient relationship.

Second, Amici will present these arguments from a na-

tional perspective, by showing how the Georgia-type law

compares with laws in other states, both in terminology

and implementation at the statewide, county, and hospital

levels. ,

For the most part, the data materials are no more tech-

nical than the far more extensive records filed in antitrust,

patent, and food and drug litigation. Amici have prepared

the annexed brief and appendix to ensure that the Court

will not be without what Judge Learned Hand denominated

as “the aid of unpartisan and authoritative scientific assist-

ance in the administration of justice” in this case. See

Parke-Davis & Co. v. H. K. Mulford Co., 189 Fed. 95, 115

(C.C.S.D.N.Y. 1911) (L. Hand, J., referring to the need

for technical assistance in interpreting the patent on

“adrenalin.”).

For the reasons set forth, the Court should grant the

Motion of Amici and receive the annexed brief.

Respectfully submitted,

Roy Lvcas,

Attorney for Movant Amici Curiae.

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 7040, 1971 Term

>

Mary Doe, et al.,

Appellants,

Vie

Artuur K. Botton, Attorney General of the

State of Georgia, et al.,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

~~ Sea

— Sanne

BRIEF AS AMICI CURIAE FOR THE AMERICAN COLLEGE

OF OBSTETRICIANS AND GYNECOLOGISTS, AMERICAN

MEDICAL WOMEN’S ASSOCIATION, AMERICAN PSYCHI- |

ATRIC ASSOCIATION, NEW YORK ACADEMY OF MEDI-

CINE, MEDICAL SCH DEANS AND PROFESSORS,

AND CERTAIN UAL PHYSICIANS

—~ Sain

a —

Roy Lucas

James Madison Constitutional Law

Institute, Inc.

Four Patchin Place

New York, N.Y. 10011

@el.: 212-691-2020

_ Attorney for Amici Curiae

oo

lit i toat aint ste saa

1 sii en RS

°C TS eae

5 A

INDEX

PAGE

Interest of Amici Curiae 1

Questions Presented 1

Statute Involved 3

Statement of the Case 7

I. Medical Aspects of Abortion 7

II. Incidence of Medically Induced Abortion .......... 13

III. Incidence and Sequelae of Nonmedical Abortion 15

IV. Abortion and Contraception 16

A. Contraceptive Failure 16

B. Lack of Access to Contraception .................... 18

ARGUMENT:

JURISDICTION :

I. The District Court had jurisdiction to grant

declaratory and injunctive relief to the class of

physicians 22

A. Physicians have standing to assert their

own fundamental personal rights, and those

of the class of their patients who seek medi-

cal advice and treatment, because enforce-

a

PAGE

ment of the statute in question is almost

solely against physicians, the physicians’ in-

terests are inextricably related to those of

~ their patients, and the rights of patients

cannot be adequately protected unless con-

sidered along with those of physicians ........ 22

1. Standing of Physicians 22

2. Physician’s Standing to Assert Patient’s

Right to Seek Medical Care ................... 23

B. The drastic regular and recurring impact of

the statute upon physicians and their pa-

tients poses a continuing case or contro-

versy, which is ripe for adjudication, be-

cause physicians are deterred and hampered

by the statute in advising and treating their

patients, and repeatedly compelled to refuse

to provide medical care out of a reasonable

fear of enforcement of the statute ................ 5

C. Injunctive relief was necessary to prevent

inevitable grave and immediate injury to

physicians and their patients, because de-

fense of criminal and/or administrative pro-

ceedings in a single case could not eliminate

the recurring controversy, and the mere fact

of such a state proceeding would drastically

invade the physician-patient relationship,

as well as exert an in terrorem effect upon

the profession 34

Tse MERITS:

Il. The provisions in Georgia Criminal Code $$26-

1201, -1202(a)(1)-(3), -1202(b)(1)-(9), -1202

(ce), and -1202(e), which differentiate the medi-

cal procedures of therapeutic and elective in-

duced abortion from all other forms of health

care, deprive physicians of the fundamental

personal right to administer to their patients,

and patients of the right to seek medical care,

in violation of the Due Process and Equal Pro-

tection clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment ..

A. The rights of physicians to administer

health care, and of patients to seek medical

treatment, are fundamental personal inter-

ests recognized by national and interna-

tional standards of medical practice, and

protected by the First, Ninth, and Four-

teenth Amendments

1. Physicians Have a Fundamental Right

to Administer Health Care Without

Arbitrary State Interference ....................

2. Patients Have a Fundamental Right to

Seek Health Care Which Includes the

Treatment of Medical Abortion ..............

B. The Equal Protection and Due Process

clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment re-

quire that restrictive classifications in the

challenged statute be narrowly drawn and

supported by compelling state interests, in

37

41

iv

PAGE

order not to abridge fundamental personal

rights

. The Georgia law on medical abortion, and

similar laws in eleven other states, restrict

access to this medical procedure in a man-

ner which offends the Equal Protection

clause of the Fourteenth Amendment ........

1. The “Health” Clause Is Interpreted Dif-

ferently in Every State, Community, and

Hospital, and Has Been Demonstrated

to Be Without a Reasonably Specific

Meaning

2. Widespread Discrimination on the Basis

of a Patient’s Place of Abode Has Re-

sulted From the Statute and Its Uneven

Administration

. The provisions in Georgia Criminal Code

§§26-1201, -1202(a) (1)-(3), -1202(b)(1)-(9),

-1202(c), and -1202(e) are not narrowly

drawn and do not advance a compelling

state interest

1. The Limitation of Medical Justifications

to Cases in Which: (1) Continuation of

Pregnancy Would “Endanger the Life”

of the Woman, or “Seriously and Per-

manently Injure Her Health,” or (2)

“(t]he Fetus Would Very Likely Be Born

With a Grave, Permanent, and Irreme-

45

PAGE

dial Mental or Physical Defect,” or (3)

“Tt]he Pregnancy Resulted From Forci-

ble or Statutory Rape,” Is Neither Nar-

rowly Drawn Nor Supported by Any

Compelling State Interests -................----- 69

a. The limiting provisions are not ra-

tionally related to a public health in-

terest 70

b. The provisions advance no legitimate

interest in protecting human life -....... 72

c. The provisions do not advance any

rational moral value 73

2. The Requirement That Patients Bequest-

ing a Therapeutic or Elective Abortion

Be Examined and Certified by Three

Physicians, and That Certifications Be

Approved Further by a Hospital Com-

mittee of Three or More Physicians, Is

Neither Narrowly Drawn Nor Suppor-

tive of a Compelling State Interest -....... 74

a. The consulting requirement pre-

cludes a clinical relationship by cre-

ating an adversarial one, which

‘serves no medical purpose ................ 74

b. Multiple physician consultations have

no rational justification where the pa-

tient has no specialized medical prob-

lem which could complicate the in-

duced abortion procedure ................---- 76

PAGE

ce. The committee process is devoid of

procedures which remotely resemble

those required by the due process

clause

. The requirement that the medical pro-

cedure of abortion be undertaken only in

hospitals accredited by the Joint Com-

mission on Accreditation of Hospitals

unjustifiably discriminates against a

single medical procedure, and seriously

limits the availability of medical facili-

ties for abortion, without advancing any

compelling state interest

a. The JCAH itself does not advocate

that medical procedures be confined

to a given type of facility or limited

to particular patient circumstances ..

b. No public health justification can be

advanced for confining the medical

procedure of abortion to those lim-

ited institutions which are JCAH-

accredited

. The prohibition further limiting access

to the medical procedure of induced

abortion to the single class of patients

who are “bona fide- legal resident[s] of

the State of Georgia” violates the Privi-

leges and Immunities clause of Article

IV, §2, and the Equal Protection clause

78

82

PAGE

of the Fourteenth Amendment by ex-

cluding non-resident patients for rea-

sons which are neither narrowly drawn

nor supportive of any legitimate, com-

pelling state interest 90

CoNCLUSIONS 96

AppenDIx A A-1

Appenpix B . B-1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Constitutional Provisions:

United States Constitution—

Amendment I 22, 38, 40

Amendment VIII 48

Amendment IX 38

Amendment XIV passim

Article IV, §2 90, 92, 94, 95

Statutes :

Georgia Statutes—

Georgia Criminal Code §26-1201 (1969) -..... a 8

37, 68

Georgia Criminal Code §26-1202 (1969) passim

Georgia Criminal Code §26-1203 (1969) ........ 3,6

PAGE

Other Statutes and Rules:

Abortion Services, N.Y.C. Heattu Cope tit. ITI, Art.

42, 98 Crry Recorp 6313-6315 (Oct. 23, 1970) ............ 89

Family Planning Services and Population Research

Act of 1970, Pub. L. No. 91-572 (Dec. 24, 1970) ............ 18

40A Minn. Strat. Ann. §617.19, at 286 (1964) ................ 49

Public Law, U.S. Congress 89-749 42

2A Texas Penat Cone, Art. 1196, at 436 (1961) ............ 49

Cases:

Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136 (1967) ..30, 36

Alabama State Teachers Ass’n v. Lowndes County Bd.

of Education, 289 F. Supp. 300 (M.D. Ala. 1968) ........ 66

American Commuters Ass’n v. Levitt, 279 F. Supp. 40

(S.D.N.Y. 1967) 9%

Application of Georgetown College, Inc., 331 F.2d 1010

(D.C. Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 377 U.S. 978

(1964)

Avery v. Midland County, 390 U.S. 474 (1967) ............

RF

Baggett v. Bullitt, 377 U.S. 360 (1964)

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962)

Baldwin v. Hale, 68 U.S. (1 Wall.) 223 (1864) —........... a.

Barrows v. Jackson, 346 U.S. 249 (1953)

Baxtrom v. Herold, 383 U.S. 107 (1966)

Birnbaum v. Trussell, 371 F.2d 672 (2d Cir. 1966) ........

Blake v. McClung, 172 U.S. 239 (1898)

Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371 (1971) -..............passim

Brockington v. Rhodes, 396 U.S. 41 (1969) (per

curiam) 0

SBRBSRSBRS

PAGE

Brooks v. Beto, 366 F.2d 1 (5th Cir. 1966) ............... ae,

Brotherhood of Railway Trainmen v. Virginia, 377 U.S.

1 (1964) 40

California v. Belous, 71 Cal.2d 954, 458 P.2d 194, 80

Cal. Rptr. 354 (Sept. 5, 1969), cert. denied, 397 U.S.

915 (1970) passim

Canale v. Stevenson, —— Tenn. ——, 458 S.W.2d 797

(1970) 66

Clayton v. North Carolina State Bd. of Elections, 317

F. Supp. 915 (E.D.N.C. 1970) 65

Corfield v. Coryell, 6 Fed. Cas. 546 (C.C.E.D. Pa.,

1832) (No. 3,230) 92

Corkey v. Edwards, 322 F. Supp. 1248 (W.D.N.C.),

appeal docketed, 40 U.S.L.W. 3048 (U.S. July 17,

1971) (No. 71-92, 1971 Term) 29, 90

Crossen v. Breckenridge, —— F.2d ——, No. 20852 (6th

Cir. June 23, 1971) %

Dent v. West Virginia, 129 U.S. 114 (1889) .......27, 38, 39, 51

Doe v. Bolton, 319 F. Supp. 1048 (N.D. Ga. 1970) (per

curiam), juris. postponed, 402 U.S. —— (May 3,

1971) (No. 7040, 1971 Term) passim

Doe v. Dunbar, 320 F. Supp. 1297 (D. Colo. 1970) ........ 29

Doe v. Randall, 314 F. Supp. 32 (1970) 26

Doe v. Scott, 321 F. Supp. 1385 (N.D. Ill.) appeal dock-

eted sub nom. Hanrahan v. Doe, 39 U.S.L.W. 3438

(U.S. Mar. 29, 1971) (No. 70-105, 1971 Term) ............ 29

Eisenstadt v. Baird, 429 F.2d 1398 (1st Cir. 1970), prob.

juris. noted, 401 U.S. 934 (1971) (No. 70-17, 1971

. Term) 73

Elfbrandt v. Russell, 384 U.S. 11 (1966)

Epperson v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97 (1968)

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970)

Golden v. Zwickler, 394 U.S. 103 (1969)

Graham v. Richardson, 402 U.S. —— (June 14,

1971) 45, 46, 95

Gray v. Sanders, 372 U.S. 363 (1963) 61

Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474 (1959) 22, 79-80

Griffin v. County School Board, 377 U.S. 218

(1964) 64, 65, 67

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965) ............ passim

Hall v. Beals, 396 U.S. 45 (1969) 30

Harper v. Virginia Board of Elections, 383 U.S. 663

(1966) 61

Hawkins v. Town of Shaw, Mississippi, 437 F.2d 1286

(5th Cir. 1971) 62, 65

Hodgson v. Randall, 314 F. Supp. 32 (D. Minn. 1970)

aff’d mem., 402 U.S. —— (May 17, 1971) 29-30

Towa Nat'l Bank v. Stewart, 214 Iowa 1229, 232 N.W.

445 (1930) 34

Jacobson v. Massachusetts, 197 U.S. 11 (1904) ............ 43, 48

Kennan v. Nichol, —— F. Supp. ——, 71-C-118 (W.D.

Wis. Apr. 27, May 5, 6, 1971) 35

King v. Smith, 392 U.S. 309 (1968) 73

Lane v. Wilson, 307 U.S. 268 (1939) 66, 67

Long v. Robinson, 316 F. Supp. 22 (D.Md. 1970), aff’d,

436 F.2d 1116 (4th Cir. 1971) 65

Loving v. Commonwealth, 388 U.S. 1 (1967)

LSCRRC v. Wadmond, 401 U.S. 154 (1971) .................---

McCann v. Babbitz, 310 F. Supp. 293 (E.D. Wis. Mar.

5, 1970) (per curiam) appeal dismissed, 400 U.S. 1

(1970) (per curiam) Ss seoeaclllty SD

McCann v. Babbitz, 320 F. Supp. 219 (E.D. Wis. 1970)

(per curiam), vacated for consideration, 402 U.S.

903 (1971) 35

McCready v. Virginia, 94 U-S. 391 (1877) 95

Morey v. Doud, 354 U.S. 457 (1957) 46, 69, 84

Mullaney v. Anderson, 342 U.S. 415 (1952) .........--.c0-0- 95

NAACP v. Alabama, 357 U.S. 449 (1958) 20...........eceececeees 40

NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963)

Norwalk CORE v. Norwalk Redevelopment Agency,

395 F.2d 920 (2d Cir. 1968)

Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438 (1928) ............ 44

Orr v. Thorp, 308 F. Supp. 1369 (S.D. Fla. 1969) ............ 66

Paul v. Virginia, 75 U.S. (8 Wall.) 168 (1869) .......... 92-93

People v. Barksdale, —— Cal. App. 3d ——, —— Cal.

Rptr: ——, 1 Crim. 9526 (Calif. Dist. Ct. App. July

22, 1971) 90

Perez v. Ledesma, 401 U.S. 82 (1971) 36

Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925) ........ 24, 32,

33, 44

Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961) ................-.-- 30, 31, 32, 33

Rex v. Bourne [1938] 3 All Eng. Rep. 615 [1939] 1

K.B. 687 29

Reynolds v. Sims, 377 U.S. 583 (1964) ooo... 61, 65, 67

PAGE

Richards v. Townsend, 303 F. Supp. 793 (N.D. Calif.

1969) 66

Roe v. Wade, 314 F. Supp. 1217 (N.D. Tex. 1970) (per

curiam), juris. postponed, 402 U.S. —— (May 3,

1971) (No. 70-18, 1971 Term) passim

Ruffalo, In Re, 390 U.S. 544 (1968) 79

Sams v. Ohio Valley General Hospital Ass’n, 413 F.2d

826 (4th Cir. 1969) 65

Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners, 353 U.S. 232

(1957) 38

Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1969) ................ 46, 9%

Shuttlesworth v. City of Birmingham, 394 U.S. 147 |

(1969) 8

Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535 (1942) ........ 43-44, 47.48

Slochower v. Board of Higher Education, 350 U.S. 551

(1956) am |

Smith v. Texas, 233 U.S. 630 (1914) .... 38

Sniadach v. Family Finance Corp., 395 U.S. 337 (1969) 79

Southern Pacific Terminal Co. v: ICC, 219 U.S. 498 .... 30

Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1969) 44

State v. Coleman, 46 N.J. 16, 214 A.2d 393 (1965) ........ 34

State v. Fowler, 193 N.C. 290, 136 S.E. 709 (1927) ........ 66

State v. Swegori, 318 Mo. 998, 2 S.W.2d 747 (1924) ........ 66

Steinberg v. Brown, 321 F. Supp. 741 (N.D. Ohio

1970) eoeeeeD0, 29

Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965) 61

Terrace v. Thompson, 263 U.S. 197 (1923) .................... 33

Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968) 43

22

Tileston v. Ullman, 318 U.S. 44 (1943) (per curiam) ....

Toomer v. Witsell, 334 U.S. 385 (1948) -...........--.0+-+-

Truax v. Raich, 239 U.S. 33 (1915) ;

Union Pac. Ry. v. Botsford, 141 U.S..250 (1891) ........ 43, 48

United Mine Workers v. Illinois State Bar, 389 U.S.

217 (1967) 40

United States v. Freund, 290 Fed. 411 (D. Mont. 1923) 39

United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367 (1968) ................ 41

United States v. Vuitch, 305 F. Supp. 1035 (D.D.C.

Nov. 10, 1969), modified and reversed, 402 U.S. 62

(1971) passim

United Transportation Union v. State Bar of Michigan,

401 U.S. 576 (1971) 40

United States ex rel. Dr. Jesse Williams, II v. Zelker,

— F.2d —, No. 35381 (2d Cir. July 2, 1971)

(Tom C, Clark, J a 24

United States ex rel. Lawrence v. Woods, 432 F.2d 1072

(7th Cir. 1970), cert. denied, 402 U.S. —— (May 17,

1971) 34

Valle v. Stengel, 176 F.2d 697 (3d Cir. 1949) ................ 94

Ward v. Maryland, 79 U.S. 418 (1870) 93

West Virginia Board of Education v. Barnette, 319

U.S. 624 (1943) 33

Willner v. Committee on Character and Fitness, 373

U.S. 96 (1963) 22

Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356 (1886) 48

Young v. United States, 315 U.S. 257 (1942) ................ 27

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971)

xiv

PAGE

Mepicat LITERATURE AND COMMENTARY:

Aarons, Therapeutic Abortion and the Psychiatrist,

124 Am. J. Psycuiatry 745 (1967) 75

Abortion, Proceedings of the American Medical Ass’n

House of Delegates 47 (June, 1970)

Am. J. Osst. & Gyn. 694 (1969)

Anderson & Speroff, Prostaglandins, 171 Sctence 502

(1971)

Appendectomy Profile, 1968, 7 PAS Reporter No. 16,

at 1-4 (Dec. 22, 1969)

Arey, L., DEVELOPMENTAL Anatomy (7th ed. 1965) ........

Baird, D., The Obstetrician and Society, 60 Am. J.

Pusuic Heattx 628 (1970)

Basic DocuMENTs OF THE WorL”D HeattH OrGANiza-

TION 1 (Geneva 1969 ed.) 42

Bourne, et al., Surveillance of Legal Abortions in the

United States, 1970 (Proceedings, 9th Annual Meet-

ing, American Ass’n of Planned Parenthood Physi-

cians, Kansas City, Mo., April 5-6, 1971) -.....0......... 31

Bumpass & Westoff, The “Perfect Contraceptive”

Population, 169 Science 1177 (1970) .................... 14, 18, 20

CaLDERONE, M. (ed.), ABORTION IN THE UNITED STATES

(1958) * 14, 56

Chase, Abortions to Out-of-State Residents (June 29,

1971) (Report released by the Health Services Ad-

o& 8 &8

ministration, City of New York) 15, 31, 61

Cholecystectomy Mortality, 8 PAS Reporter No. 8,

at 1 (Apr. 20, 1970) lt

CuaPEsaTILE, H., THe Doctors Mayo (1941) ................ 42, 90

PAGE

Crowley & Laidlaw, Psychiatric Opinion Regarding

Abortion: Preliminary Report of a Survey, 124

Am. J. Psycuiatry 145 (1967)

Curran, The Right to Health in National and Inter-

national Law, 284 New Ena. J. or Mepicrne 1258

(1971)

Davis, L. E., FenLowsxip or Surcrons: A History oF

THE AMERICAN CoLLEGE oF Surceons (1960) ...............-

Droegemueller, Taylor & Drose, The First Year of Ex-

perience in Colorado with the New Abortion Law, 103

Dryfoos, et al., Eighteen Months Later: Family Plan-

ning Services in the United States, 1969, 3 Famity

PLANNING Perspectives No. 2, at 29 (Apr. 1971) ........

Fisher, Criminal Abortion, in ABoRTION IN AMERICA

3-6 (H. Rosen-ed. 1967)

Forssman & Fhuwe, One Hundred and Twenty Children

Born After Application for Therapeutic Abortion

Refused, 42 Acta Psycuiatric Scanpinavia 71-88

(1966) reprinted in ABORTION AND THE UNWANTED

Cup 123 (C. Reiterman ed. 1971)

GesuarD, P., et al., PreaNancy, BirtH AND ABORTION

(1958)

Goldsmith & Margolis, Aspiration Abortion Without

Cervical Dilation, 110 Am. J. Osstetrics & GyNe-

cotocy 580 (1971)

Group FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF PSYCHIATRY, THE

Ricut To Aportion: A Psycuiatric View (Comm. on

Law & Psychiatry, 1970)

Hall, Abortion in American Hospitals, 57 Am. J. Pus.

Heattu 1933 (1967)

56

42

81

19

14

14

87

57

PAGE

Hetiman, L., & Prircuarp, J.,. WiiLiams ORSTETRICS

(14th ed. 1971) 4, 9,

Huntingford, Mortality and Morbidity of Abortion,

Tue Lancet 1012 (May 15, 1971) 86

Hook, Refused Abortion, 37 Acta Psycuiat 203 (1961) 5%

Israel & Mazer, Safety and Advantage of Office

Curettage, 36 Am. J. Osstetrics & GynecoLocy 445

(1938) 88

Margolis & Overstreet, Legal Abortion Without Hospi-

talization, 36 Osstetrics & GynecoLocy 479 (1970) .... 8

Need For Subsidized Family Planning Services:

United States, Each State and County, 1968 Table I,

p. 92 (Office of Economic Opportunity, 1968) —.......... 19

Novak, E., et al., TextBook or GyNnecoLocy (8th ed.

1970) 16

Overstreet, Abortion and Obstetrics, in II Aportion In

A Cuanoina Worp 74 (R. Hall ed. 1970) -................... 55

PAS Hospitals, 8 PAS Reporter No. 1, at 1 (Jan. 12,

1970) 10, 11

Patten, B., Human Emsryowocy (3d ed. 1968) ............ 9

Peet, J., & Ports, M., Contraceptive Practice (1969) 17

Penfield, Abortion Under Paracervical Block, 71 N. Y.

Strate J. or Mepicine 1185 (1971) 87

Pike, Therapeutic Abortion and Mental Health, 111

Cauir. Mepicrnez, 318 (1969) 56,58

Potts, Posiconceptive Control of Fertility, 8 Intsr-

NATIONAL J. OF GynEcoLocy & OssTetrics 957 (1970)..8, 12

Regine, A Study of Pregnancy Wastage, 13 MiBank

Mem. Funp Quart. No. 4, at 347-65 (1935) -................. 14

xvii

PAGE

Rochat, et al., An Epidemiological Analysis of Abor-

tion in Georgia, 61 Am. J. Pusiic Heatto 543

(1971) 16, 60, 64, 71

Russell & Jackson, Therapeutic Abortions in Cali-

fornia, 105 Am. J. Osst. & Gyn. 757 (1969) ............-.-- 57

Ryan, Humane Abortion Laws and the Health Needs

of Society, 17 W. Res. L. Rev. 424 (1965) -....... 10, 58, 73

Scuwarz, R. H., Sepric Aportion (1968) ..............------ 15, 57

Speroff & Ramwell, Prostaglandins in Reproductive

Physiology, 107 Am. J. Oxssterrics & GYNECOLOGY

1111 (1970) 88

T é A Profile, 8 PAS Reporter No. 5 (Mar. 9, 1970) .... 11

Taussic, F., ABortion: SponTaNzous AND INDUCED

(1936) 14

Thompson, Cowen & Berris, Therapeutic Abortion:

A Two-Year Experience in One Hospital, 213 J. A.

Mepicat Ass’n. 991 (1970) 59

Tietze, Abortion Laws and Abortion Practices im

Europe, in V ADVANCES IN PLANNED PareNTHOOD 194

(1969) (Proceedings of the Seventh Annual Meeting

of the American Ass’n of Planned Parenthood

Physicians) 13, 71

Tietze, United States: Therapeutic Abortions, 1963-

1968, 59 Srupres 1s Famiiy Piawyine 5 (1970) -....passim

Tietze, et al., Teaching of Fertility Regulation im

Medical Schools, 196 J. AmMenican Mepicau Ass’n 20

(1966) 19

Walter, Psychologic and Emotional Consequences of

Elective Abortion, 36 Ossterrics & GyNnEcoLocy 482

(1970) 50

—

PAGE

White, Induced Abortions: A Survey of their Psychi-

atric Implications, Complications, and Indications,

24 Tex. Reps. or Biotocy & Mepicine 531 (1966) -...57, 58

Willson, Abortion—A Medical Responsibility?, 30 Os-

sTeTRIcs & GyNEcOLOGY 294 (1967) 51

Willson, e¢ al., OpstETRICS AND GyNEcoLOGY 178 (4th

ed. 1971) 7

LecaL COMMENTARY:

Bicxet, A., THE Least Dancerous Brancu (1962) ....32, 34

Clark, Religion, Morality, and Abortion: A Constitu-

tional Appraisal, 2 Loyota Univ. (L.A.) L. Rev. 1

(1969) passim

Comment, 50 Cauir. L. Rev. 137 (1962) 32

Declaratory Relief in the Criminal Law, Note, 80 Harv.

L. Rev. 1940 (1967) 32

Louisell, Abortion, the Practice of Medicine and the

Due Process of Law, 16 U.C.L.A.L. Rev. 233 (1969) 5

Louisell & Noonan, Constitutional Balance, in Tue

Moratity oF ABportTion 249 (Noonan ed. 1970) ......... a

Moyers, Abortion Laws: A Study in Social Change, 7

San Dreco L. Rev. 237 (1970) 59

Overstreet, in Sympostum—Pregnancy Termination:

The Impact of New Laws, 6 J. Repropuctive MeEpi-

cing 274 (June 1971) 77

Packer & Gampell, Therapeutic Abortion: A Problem

in Law and Medicine, 11 Stan. L. Rev. 417 (1959) _. 57 _

PAGE

Roemer, Abortion Law Reform and Repeal: Legislative

and Judicial Developments, 61 Am. J. Pustic

HeattH 500 (1971)

Schwartz, Moral Offenses and the Model Penal Code,

63 Cotum. L. Rev. 669 (1963)

Sedler, Standing to Assert Constitutional Jus Tertit,

71 Yate L.J. 599 (1962)

Smith, et al., Report to the Legislature: State of

Hawati—Hawaii’s Abortion Law 15 (Apr. 20, 1971)

Wis, G., THe Sanctity oF LIFE AND THE CRIMINAL

Law (1966)

OrHER AUTHORITIES:

Abortion Regulations Adopted by the Washington

State Board of Health (Dec. 10, 1970)

Accreditation Manual for Hospitals 1 (JCAH 1970) ..

Bulletin No. 42, JCAH (Aug. 1966)

Chase, Abortions to Out-of-State Residents (June 29,

1971) (Report by Health Services Administration,

City of New York)

Constitution of the World Health Organization, in

Basic DocUMENTS OF THE WorLD HEALTH ORGANIZA-

tion 1 (Geneva 1969 ed.)

Hospitals, 44 J. Am. Hosprrat Ass’n 1 (1970) (Guide

Issue)

Jain & Sinding, North Carolina Abortion Law 1967

(Carolina Population Center 1968)

91

91

59

PAGE

Mopezt Pena Cope §207.11, Comments (Tent. Draft

No. 9, 1959) 52, 81

Model Penal Code $230.3(2) (Proposed Official Draft,

1962) ; 14

Policy on Abortion, American College of Obstetricians

and Gynecologists (Aug. 1970) 52

Recommended Standards for Abortion Services

(APHA 1970) 89

Statement by John I. Brewer, M.D., Commissioner

JCAH (July 9, 1971) 82, 83

Untrorm Axsortion Act (2d Tent. Draft 1970) -.......52,8

1 U.S. Bureau of the Census, Census of Population

ch. a (1960) 62

U.S. Bureau of the Census: Statistical Abstracts of

the United States: 1970, Table 69, at 55 (91st ed.) ..10, 20

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 70-40, 1971 Term

<>

Mary Dog, e¢ al.,

Appellants,

—Y,—

ArtHour K. Botton, Attorney General

of the State of Georgia, e¢ al.,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

-_

BRIEF FOR THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF OBSTETRICIANS

AND GYNECOLOGISTS, AMERICAN MEDICAL WOMEN’S

ASSOCIATION, AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC ASSOCIATION,

NEW YORK ACADEMY OF MEDICINE, MEDICAL SCHOOL

DEANS AND PROFESSORS, AND CERTAIN INDIVIDUAL

PHYSICIANS AS AMICI CURIAE

Interest of Amici Curiae

The professional and personal interests of the Amici

Curiae in the subject matter of this case are described in

the Motion for leave to file this brief, supra.

Questions Presented

I. Whether the district court should have granted both

declaratory and injunctive relief to the class of physician

plaintiffs, to prevent continuing drastic and irreparable

2

injury caused by the statute in question, which sharply

curtails access to the medical procedure of induced abortion,

II. Whether the classifications in Georgia Criminal Code

§§26-1201, -1202(a)(1)-(3), -1202(b)(1)-(9), -1202(c), and

-1202(e), which differentiate the medical procedure of in.

duced abortion from all other forms of therapeutic and

elective health care, by:

[Aj confining the procedure to the limited number of

hospitals both accredited by the Joint Commission on

Accreditation of Hospitals [JCAH] and licensed as

hospitals by the Georgia State Board of Health; and

{B] requiring that the patient’s chosen physician obtain

the approval of (1) two additional examining physi-

cians, and (2) a hospital committee of three or more

physicians before performing a medical abortion;

and

(C] limiting the medical justifications for the procedure

to instances certified by all of the above physicians

wherein: (1) continuation of pregnancy would “en-

danger the life” of the woman, or “seriously and per-

manently injure her health,” or (2) “[t]he fetus

would very likely be born with a grave, permanent,

and irremedial mental or physical defect,” or (3)

“(t]he pregaancy resulted from forcible or statutory

rape;” and further

[D] restricting access to the medical procedure of in-

duced abortion to the single class of patients who

are “bona fide legal resident[s] of the State of

Georgia,” ,

violate the Equal Protection and Due Process clauses of the

Fourteenth Amendment by unjustifiably abridging the fun-

damental persongl rights to administer and seek medical

care.

>

:

:

3

Statute Involved

Georcia CriminaL Cope $§26-1201, through -1203, at 85-

89 (1969) provides:

26-1201. Criminal abortion.—Except as otherwise

provided in section 26-1202, a person commits criminal

abortion when he administers any medicine, drug or

other substance whatever to any woman or when he

uses any instrument or other means whatever upon any

woman with intent to produce a miscarriage or abor-

tion. |

26-1202. Exception.—(a) Section 26-1201 shall not

apply to an abortion performed by a physician duly li-

censed to practice medicine and surgery pursuant to

Chapter 84-9 or 84-12 of the Code of Georgia of 1933,

as amended, based upon his best clinical judgment that

an abortion is necessary because:

(1) A continuation of the pregnancy would endanger '

the life of the pregnant woman or would seriously and

permanently injure her health; or

(2) The fetus would very likely be born with a grave,

permanent, and irremedial mental or physical defect;

or

(3) The pregnancy resulted from forcible or statu-

tory rape.

(b) No abortion is authorized or shall be performed

under this section unless each of the following condi-

tions is met:

(1) The pregnant woman requesting the abortion

certifies in writing under oath and subject to the penal-

4

ties of false swearing to the physician who proposes to

perform the abortion that she is a bona fide legal resi-

dent of the State of Georgia.

(2) The physician certifies that he believes the

woman is a bona fide resident of this State and that

he has no information which should lead him to believe

otherwise.

(3) Such physician’s judgment is reduced to writing

and concurred in by at least two other physicians duly

licensed to practice medicine and surgery pursuant to

Chapter 84-9 of the Code of Georgia of 1933, as

amended, who certify in writing that based upon their

separate personal medical examinations of the preg-

nant woman, the abortion is, in their judgment, neces-

sary because of one or more of the reasons enumerated

above.

(4) Such abortion is performed in a hospital licensed

by the State Board of Health and accredited by the

Joint Commission on Accreditation of Hospitals.

(5) The performance of the abortion has been ap-

proved in advance by a committee of the medical staff

of the hospital in which the operation is to be per-

formed. This committee must be one established and

maintained in accordance with the standards promul-

gated by the Joint Commission on the Accreditation

of Hospitals, and its approval must be by a majority

vote of a membership of not less than three members of

the hospital’s staff ; the physician proposing to perform

the operation may not be counted as a member of the

committee for this purpose.

g

r——

5

(6) If the proposed abortion is considered necessary

because the woman has been raped, the woman makes a

written statement under oath, and subject to the penal-

ties of false swearing, of the date, time and place of the

rape and the name of the rapist, if known. There must

be attached to this statement a certified copy of any

report of the rape made by any law enforcement officer

or agency and a statement by the solicitor general of

the judicial circuit where the rape occurred or allegedly

occurred that, according to his best information, there

is probable cause to believe that the rape did occur.

(7) Such written opinions, statements, certificates,

and concurrences are maintained in the permanent files

of such hospital and are available at all reasonable

times to the solicitor general of the judicial circuit in

which the hospital is located.

(8) A copy of such written opinions, statements, cer-

tificates, and concurrences is filed with the Director of

the State Department of Public Health within 10 days

after such operation is performed.

(9) All written opinions, statements, certificates, and

concurrences filed and maintained pursuant to para-

‘graphs (7) and (8) of this subsection shall be con-

fidential records and shall not be made available for

public inspection at any time.

(ec) Any solicitor general of the judicial circuit in

which an abortion is to be performed under this sec-

tion, or any person who would be a relative of the

child within the second degree of consanguinity, may

petition the superior court of the county in which the

abortion is to be performed for a declaratory judgment

Se

6

whether the performance of such abortion would vio.

late any constitutional or other legal rights of the fetus,

Such solicitor general may also petition such court for

the purpose of taking issue with compliance with the re.

quirements of this section. The physician who pro-

poses to perform the abortion and the pregnant woman

shall be respondents. The petition shall be heard ex.

peditiously and if the court adjudges that such abor-

tion would violate "the constitutional or other legal

rights of the fetus, the court shall so declare and shall

restrain the physician from performing the abortion.

(d) If an abortion is performed in compliance with

this section, the death of the fetus shall not give rise to

any claim for wrongful death.

(e) Nothing in this section shall require a hospital to

admit any patient under the provisions hereof for the

purpose of performing an abortion, nor shall any hos-

pital be required to appoint a committee such as con-

templated under subsection (b) (5). A physician, or

any other person who is a member of or associated

with the staff of a Hospital, or any employee of a hos-

pital in which an abortion has been authorized, who

shall state in writing an objection to such abortion on

moral or religious grounds shall not be required to par-

ticipate in the medical procedures which will result in

the abortion, and the refusal of any such person to par-

ticipate therein shall not form the basis of any claim

for damages on account of such refusal or for any dis-

ciplinary or recriminatory action against such person.

26-1203. Punishment.—A person convicted of crimi-

nal abortion shall be punished by imprisonment for not

less than one nor more than 10 years.

>

S—X—-”7"

Statement of the Case

The specific facts which gave rise to this action and ap-

peal are fully set out in appellants’ brief. Amici will ac-

cordingly not repeat those matters, but will concentrate

instead upon the broader national impact of the Court’s

decision in this case, and background data which may aid the

Court in its deliberations.

L Medical Aspects of Abortion

The standard text on obstetrics and gynecology, co-

authored by the dean of American gynecology, now Deputy

Assistant Secretary for Population Affairs, HEW, Louis

M. Hellman, M.D., defines abortion, both spontaneous and

induced, as follows:

“Abortion is the termination of a pregnancy at any

time before the fetus Has attained a stage of via-

bility. Interpretations of the word ‘viability’ have

varied between fetal weights of 400g (about 20 weeks

of gestation) and 1,000 g (about 28 weeks of gestation)

.... Although our smallest surviving infant weighed

540 g at birth, survival even at 700 or 800 g is unusual.”

L. Hettman & J. Prircuarp, Wiuiams OsstTetrics 493

(14th ed. 1971).

The procedure of induced abortion differs from spon-

taneous not in the result, nor in the underlying reason for

the abortion but primarily in its being conscious and voli-

tional. For example, a patient infected with rubella (Ger-

man measles) may abort spontaneously, because her body

rejects a badly damaged embryo. Another similarly situ-

ated patient may ‘seek an induced abortion as part of a

reasoned mental judgment in order to reject a damaged

embryo in favor of a subsequent normal pregnancy. From

.

8

this perspective, “spontaneous abortion can be regarded:

as an important biologic mechanism which has evolved in

viviparous animals to deal with the numerous embryologic

errors arising during development.” Potts, Postconceptive

Control of Fertility, 8 InrTERNATIONAL J. oF GYNECOLOGY &

Osstetrics 957 (1970).

Spontaneous abortions cannot be brought about, under

current technology, solely by the will of the patient. Yet,

the bio-chemical systems of patients play an increasing

role in what had previously been regarded as an accidental

phenomenon. One recent study of spontaneously aborted

embryos showed that 38% “had a chromosomal abnor.

mality.” Carr, Chromosome Studies in Selected Spon.

taneous Abortions, 37 Osstetrics & GynEcoLocy 750 (1971),

Not only do fetal defects frequently cause spontaneous

abortion, but numerous other causes beyond the patient’s

control, and often working in her favor, appear to be

involved. In fact, “[w]hen pregnancy is defined as

beginning at fertilization or implantation, then the rate of

spontaneous wastage is even higher and may approach

50%.” Potts, supra.

No law requires that a patient seek or a physician pro-

vide treatment to prevent spontaneous abortion. Neither

nature nor the law values an embryo which the patient's

bio-chemical system rejects. In such cases the needs of

the patient, and the treatment provided by the physician

are committed by law in every state to the discretion of

the physician and patient, and accepted medical practice.

No hospital committees interfere with this relationship; no

government programs seek to promote confinement and

treatment in cases of threatened spontaneous abortion.

Indeed, spontaneous abortions before the fourth week of

pregnancy are “perceived by the patient as delayed men-

9

struation or may not be recognized at all.” L. Hettman &

J. Prrrcnarp, Wituiams Opsstetrics 496 (14th ed. 1971).

This is perhaps the case because in early pregnancy, when

the overwhelming number of all abortions take place,

embryonic development has scarcely begun. “The 4 weeks

old embryo measures 5 mm. [1/5 in.]. ...” Shettles,

) Fertilization and Early Development From the Inner Cell

Mass, in Screntiric Founpations oF OBSTETRICS AND

GynecoLocy 154 (KE. E. Philipp, e¢ al., eds. 1970). As noted

in standard embryology texts,

“during these early stages, the development of all mam-

mals is fundamentally the same. The specific char-

acteristics of any form emerge but slowly, and rela-

tively late.... The illustrations of sections of 5-mm

human embryos are quite applicable, for example, to

similarly located sections of 5-mm pig embryos. The

basic plan of early body structure is amazingly simi-

lar.” B. Parren, Human Emsryowoey 5 (3d ed. 1968).

The 5-mm embryo, for example, still has “a conspicuous

tail... .” L. Arey, DEvELOopMENTAL ANaToMy 98 (7th ed.

1965) (italics in original).

Neither the medical profession nor state health au-

thorities treat spontaneous or induced abortions prior to

20 weeks of development as events which in any way are

comparable to the loss of human life. As one prominent

physician recently stated:

“To the medical profession operating within its

present framework, the conceptus, prior to twenty

weeks of age, does not have the same legal status as

one after that time. Should there. be an untimely

birth before twenty weeks, the act is considered an

abortion, not a delivery, and is not listed on the

10

mother’s parity record. A birth or death certificate is

not required and the body is handled as a pathological

specimen without requiring legal interment.” Ryan,

Humane Abortion Laws and the Health Needs of

Society, 17 W. Res. L. Rev. 424, 427 (1965).

Induced abortion, in medical practice, is a relatively

minor surgical procedure, insofar as risks to the patient’s

physical or mental well-being are concerned. This excep.

tional safety consideration was noted by Dr. John McKel-

vey, former head of obstetrics and gynecology at the Uni-

versity of Minnesota:

“Under ideal circumstances, abortions can be done

with very little vital risk. The procedures which are

open to the poor on the contrary can be very risky

not only to the life of the individual but to her future

health.” McKelvey, The Abortion Problem, 50 Muxx.

Mep. 119, 124 (1967).

The degree of safety can be readily seen by comparing

patient mortality rates for induced abortion with those of

childbirth and other typical medical procedures.

The maternal mortality rate in the United States for

1967 averaged 28.0 deaths per 100,000 live births. For non-

whites the rate was almost three times as high, 69.5 deaths

per 100,000 live births. The comparable mortality rates

for various surgical procedures in the United States, per

100,000 operations, have been as follows:* Appendectomy'

?U.8. Bureau of the Census: Statistical Abstracts of the United

States: 1970, Table 69, at 55 (91st ed.).

* The data are derived from surveys by the Commission on Pr-

fessional and Hospital Activities, in Ann Arbor, Michigan, which

are published in the Professional Activities Survey (PAS) Re

11

—A400 per 100,000; Cholecystectomy‘ (gall bladder opera-

tion)—1,600 per 100,000; Tonsillectomy/adenoidectomy'—

5.2 per 100,000. ,

In the years 1963 to 1968, therapeutic abortions were

unavailable in the United States on any large scale. Most

patients had to show serious physical or mental disease

to obtain the procedure. Of the 9,722 therapeutic abortions

in the 1963-68 survey by the Commission on Professional

and Hospital Activities only a single death “unequivocally

resulted from the operation.”* This death represents

the equivalent of a mortality rate of 10.3 per 100,000

therapeutic abortions. Even this figure is misleadingly

high in that the abortion was induced by an abdominal

operation (hysterotomy) which poses substantial hazards

of its own. Nonetheless, a 10.3 rate is 2.7 times safer than

childbirth, 38.8 times safer than appendectomy, and 155

times safer than cholecystectomy, all other factors being

equal.

A more correct estimation of the surgical risks from

induced abortion can be made by examining the induced

abortion mortality rates from other jurisdictions, in which

abortion is available as an elective procedure in cases of

contraceptive failure.

porter. Over 1,200 hospitals provide the Commission with data

for more than 10 million patients per year. See PAS Hospitals, 8

PAS Reporter No. 1, at 1 (Jan. 12, 1970).

*Appendectomy Profile, 1968, 7 PAS Reporter No. 16, at 1-4

(Dee. 22, 1969).

- me Mortality, 8 PAS Reporrer No. 8, at 1 (Apr.

*T & A Profile, 8 PAS Reporter No: 5 (Mar. 9, 1970).

*Tietze, United States: Therapeutic Abortions, 1963-1968, 59

Srupies iv Famiy PLannine 5, 7 (1970).

12

In England and Wales, which only recently reformed

their 1803 abortion law, the 1968-1969 data showed g

total of 15 deaths from 54,000 legal abortions, a rate of

28.0 per 100,000.’ This included, however, “the many

surgeons within the N.H.S. [National Health Service]

who perform a few abortions each [and] have had a higher

death rate (36/100,000) than the few surgeons who do

many abortions in private practice (14.2/100,000).”*

Again, the British data do not begin to demonstrate the

safety of elective abortion in a sample wherein the

patients are healthy, the medical practitioners skilled, and

the procedures undertaken in very early pregnancy. This

circumstance, moreover, does not exist even in northem

Europe “where rates of about 40 per 100,000 have been

reported in recent years.”* There, higher mortality rates

resulted in large part from “the fact that a substantial

proportion of legal abortions is performed after the third

month of gestation.”*® Only in eastern Europe, where

“almost all legal abortions are performed in the first

trimester of pregnancy with the majority in the second

month,” * have mortality rates fallen to as few as 1.2 per

100,000 operations (Hungary: 1964-67, 9 deaths, 739,00

legal abortions).

The extent to which elective induced abortion for healthy

women is enormously safer than childbirth and variou

* Potts, Postconceptive Control of Fertility, 8 INTERNATIONAL

J. oF GynEcoiogy & Osstetrics 957, 967 (1970).

* Td.

* Tietze, Abortion Laws and Abortion Practices in Europe, in

V ADVANCES IN PLANNED PARENTHOOD 194, 208 (1969) (Proceed-

ings of the Seventh Annual Meeting of the American Ass’n of

Planned Parenthood Physicians).

10 Td.

11 Td,

_ —

13

other medical procedures can be seen by tabulating the

figures given above:

MORTALITY

MEDICAL PROCEDURE OR EVENT (per 100,000 procedures)

Elective induced abortion

(Hungary : 1964-67) 1.2

Tonsillectomy (U. S.: PAS 1969) 5.2

Therapeutic induced abortion

(U. S.: 1963-68) 10.3

Childbirth (U. S.: 1967) 28.0

Appendectomy (U. S.: PAS 1968) 400

Cholecystectomy (U. S.: PAS 1968) 1,600

From these figures, it should be abundantly clear that a

state must carry a heavy burden of persuasion to classify

induced abortion apart from other medical procedures in

terms of any public health or safety considerations.

In sum, the medical procedure of induced abortion,

which is severely restricted by the statute involved in this

ease, is potentially 23.3 (28/1.2) times as safe as the

process of going through ordinary childbirth. Numerous

lower state and federal courts have reviewed or taken judi-

cial notice of the facts set out in holding that no legitimate

public health rationale could justify restrictive abortion

legislation. See, e.g., California v. Belous, 71 Cal.2d 954,

965, 458 P.2d 194, 200, 80 Cal. Rptr. 354, 360 (1969), cert.

denied, 397 U.S. 915 (1970); McCann v. Babbitz, 310 F.

Supp. 293, 301 (E.D. Wis.) (per curiam), appeal dis-

missed, 400 U.S. 1 (1970) (per curiam).

IL. Incidence of Medically Induced Abortion

In the United States on the whole, induced abortion under

medical auspices was relatively restricted until 1967, when

the first of twelve states, Colorado, enacted the American

14

Law Institute abortion law proposal in the Model Peng)

Code.” Georgia followed in 1968.

Only 5,000 therapeutic abortions were estimated to have

been done in United States medical facilities in 1963,” as

contrasted with 200,000 to 1,000,000 unwanted pregnancies

thought to be terminated annually outside of the clinica)

setting.’* These are over and above the “nearly 20 percent

of all recent births [which] were unwanted,” according to

the “1965 National Fertility Study (NFS) ....” Bumpass

& Westoff, The “Perfect Contraceptive” Population, 169

Science 1177, 1180 (1970).

Since 1967, the incidence of abortions in medical facilities

has risen substantially, but only in the few states which

have removed virtually all restrictions that previously dif.

ferentiated abortion from other forms of medical treat-

ment.

In New York City alone, for example, nearly 165,00

abortions were performed between July 1, 1970, and May

12 MopEL Pena Cope §230.3(2) (Proposed Official Draft, 1962).

The Twelve states are Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware,

Georgia, Kansas, Maryland, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon,

South Carolina, and Virginia. See generally Roemer, Abortion

Law Reform and Repeal: Legislative and Judicial Developments,

61 Am. J. Pustic Heats 500 (1971).

18 Tietze, supra note 6.

14 Secret induced abortions are inherently incapable of quan-

tification. Nonetheless, one can be certain that the number is very

high. For estimates, see Fisher, Criminal Abortion, in ABortion

in America 3-6 (H. Rosen ed. 1967); M. CaLDERONE (ed.), ABOR

TION IN THE UNrTED States 180 (1958) ; P. GeBHarp et al., Pree

NANCY, BirTH AND ABORTION 136-37 (1958) ; F. Taussic, ABORTION:

SPONTANEOUS AND INDUCED 25 (1936); Regine, A Study of Preg-

nancy Wastage, 13 Mi.pankK Mem. Funp Quart. No. 4, at 347-65

(1935).

—

15

31, 1971." Nearly 40,500 of these women were not residents

of New York State!**

Ill. Incidence and Sequelae of Nonmedical Abortion

The problem of abortions induced by nonmedical per-

sonnel, in circumstances conducive to infection, psychic

trauma, and not infrequently death, remains with the

medical profession in most other states, however.

“[S]eptic abortion has become a leading cause of ma-

ternal deaths. “In Philadelphia over 50 percent of the

maternal deaths result from complications of abortion,

and this fact apparently holds true in other areas of

the country: Stevenson reports 57 percent in Michi-

gan; Hellman, 33 percent at the Kings County Hospital

in Brooklyn; and Fox, 28 percent in California.” R.

Scuwarz, Septic Aportion 7 (1968).

The booklength treatment by Dr. Schwarz of the University

of Pennsylvania School of Medicine could never have been

written but for the legal restrictions on abortion. The

chapters describe in detail the medical techniques of treat-

ing patients who are refused abortion by physicians and

then resort to incompetent, nonmedical practitioners.

These patients often return for treatment of complications

that can be traced back to statutes such as that in question

in this case.

Georgia remains among the states with an exceptionally

low number of medical abortions. Despite an ostensibly

more generous statute, Georgia has a serious continuing

public health problem in illegal abortions induced by un-

5 Chase, Abortions to Out-of-State Residents (June 29, 1971)

(Report released by the Health Services Administration, City of

New York).

16 Id.

16

trained practitioners in dangerous settings. For the 1968

1970 period Georgia was last in number of abortions per

1,000 births among the twelve states with Model Penal

Code-type therapeutic abortion acts. In Georgia the ratio

was 4.0, by contrast with California where a similar law

resulted in 194.2 abortions per 1,000 births for 1970 (Sez

Aprenpix B, infra, Table I-2, at B-5, 6, for data on all

twelve states). Only “5 percent of the practicing physicians }

in Georgia reported performing abortions in 14 percent of —

Georgia’s counties during 1968 and 1969.” Rochat, et al.,

An Epidemiological Analysis of Abortion in Georgia, 61

Am. J. Pusiic Hearts 543, 547 (1971).

IV. Abortion and Contraception

A. Contraceptive Failure:

Significant contraceptive failure rates, and widespread

lack of information about contraception, are two of the

many factors which must be understood in assessing the

impact of abortion laws on families and individuals in

Georgia, and the United States.

A wealth of medical evidence shows that the factual

basis for this position is sound.

The most effective contraceptive known, “the pill” or

oral contraceptive, has in practice produced side effects

“disagreeable enough to cause a 20 to 40 per cent drop-out

rate” among those patients who were informed of and chose

to use the method in the first place. E. Novak, et al., Texr-

BOOK oF GynecoLocy 647 (8th ed. 1970). The vast propor-

tion of the population not receiving family planning ser-

vices never reach that option, of course. Other methods

are less effective in practice than the 99% effective oral

contraceptive. Jd. These range from the intrauterine de-

vices, which pose problems of their own and vary in

__ ——

17

effectiveness, to abstention and rhythm, which are not

seriously regarded by the medical profession in this cen-

tury.”

The following chart illustrates the contraceptive failure

problem :

Failure Rates of Contraceptive Methods

Pregnancy rates for

100 woman-yeare

of uses

Method Tigh Low

No contraceptive 80 80

Aerosol foam _ 29

Foam tablets 43 12

Suppositories | 42 4

Jelly or cream 38 4

Douche 41 21

Diaphragm and jelly 35 4

Sponge and foam powder 35 28

Condom 28 7

Coitus interruptus 38 10

Rhythm 38 0

Lactation 26 24

Steroid contraception

(the “pill”) 2.7 0

Abortion 0 0

Intrauterine contraception (averages)

Lippes loop (large)

0-12 months 2.4

12-24 months 1.4

source: After Berelson et al., Family Planning and Pop-

ulation Programs, University of Chicago Press, 1966.

7 For discussion of contraceptive-techniques, effectiveness, and

the full range of complex factors involved, see generally J. PEEL

& M. Ports, CONTRACEPTIVE Practice (1969).

%* The factor of patient use, or non-use is always relevant. Highly

motivated, sophisticated users might have no failure with a amr a

ceptive foam, for example.

18

The number 80 in the first line indicates that among 10

women utilizing no contraception for one year, 80 will

become pregnant.

B. Lack of Access to Contraception:

All too frequently it is presumed that people have access

to and are able to use highly effective contraceptives, and

are themselves at fault in cases of unwanted or unplanned

pregnancy. This assumption could not be further from

medical reality. Contraception is not widely available in

the United States. In fact, Congress passed the Family

Planning Services and Population Research Act of 1970,

Pub. L. No. 91-572 (Dec. 24, 1970), with an overall appro-

priation exceeding $380 million “to assist in making com-

prehensive voluntary family planning services readily

available to all persons. ...” National studies on the mag-

nitude of unwanted births, such as data from HEW’s 1965

National Fertility Study, for example, showed:

“[In] the period 1960 to 1965 there were 4.7 million

births that would have been prevented by ‘perfect con-

traception.’ These births represent one fifth of all

births during the period. Approximately two million

of these births occurred among the poor and the near-

poor and half of these among Negro poor and near-

poor.” *

The most recent studies identify as a principal problem

the absence of adequate information and services for peo-

ple with a need to know about contraception, and when

1* Bumpass & Westoff, The “Perfect Contraceptive” Population,

169 Scrmence 1177, 1179 (1970).

7"

19

that fails, medically induced abortion. As late as the close

of 1969,

“some 4.3 million women in need of subsidized family

planning services were not receiving them insofar as

could be determined from reports of organized pro-

grams; no programs at all could be identified in 1,636

counties—53 percent of all counties—containing one-

fourth of the unmet need. Services continue to be con-

centrated in relatively few populous counties. .. .”*°

The basic 1968 study covered each State by county. In

Georgia a total of 179,932 medically indigent women in

need of family planning information were shown to be

unseryed. This amounted to 88% of such women.” These

individuals can hardly be thought to be able to protect their

marital and personal privacy through contraception, when :

that is altogether unavailable to them.

This deficiency is not confined to patients. Only a few

short years ago, a review of texts used in medical sehools

revealed that “[t]wo thirds of the texts (25 texts) con-

tained either no mention of contraception or only isolated

reference to it, with no complete discussion.” Tietze, et al.,

Teaching of Fertility Regulation in Medical Schools, 196

J. American Mepicat Ass’n 20, 23 (1966).

Patients have limited access to contraceptive methods

and information. Physicians have limited willingness to

*Dryfoos, et al., Eighteen Months Later: Family Planning

Services in the United States, 1969, 3 Fami.y PLANNING PERSPEC-

nives No. 2, at 29 (Apr. 1971).

2 Need for Subsidized Family Planning Services: United States,

oo State and County, 1968, Table I, p. 50, cols. 10 & 11 (OEO,

1968).

20

prescribe contraception. As if this were not enough, con.

traceptive devices, techniques, and use are far from effee.

tive as a means whereby a family can determine how many

children they will have and no more.

While a narrow concern is occasionally voiced that

“those who dance must pay the piper,’”** such an ap.

proach to judicial reasoning obscures the medical and legal

issues. In the first place, studies of unwanted fertility,

such as Bumpass & Westoff, supra, were of samples of —

married couples. This study did not evaluate the fact that |

339,200 illegitimate births occurred in 1968, which at that —

time were 9.7% of all births.”

In or out of wedlock, unwanted pregnancy can haya

damaging consequences, not only for the married couple,

or unmarried woman, but more so for the society which —

must face and deal with anti-social behavior, delinquency,

an@ crime brought about to some degree by unwantedness,

A detailed study of 120 children who were born after their

mothers’ applications for therapeutic abortions had been

turned down in Sweden casts light upon the social conse.

quences of restrictive abortion laws.* Among the “un-

wanted” group, by their twenty-first birthday, 28.3% had

received psychiatric care, 18.3% had been registered with

child welfare boards for delinquency, 8.3% were on the

penal register, and 14.2% had received public assistance.

The authors concluded:

22 Steinberg v. Brown, 321 F. Supp. 741, 747 (N.D. Ohio 1970).

78.8. Bureau of the Census, Statistical Abstract of the United

States: 1970, Table 58, at 50 (91st ed.).

*4 Forssman & Thuwe, One Hundred and Twenty Children Born

After Application for Therapeutic Abortion Refused, 42 Act&

PsYcHIATRIC SCANDINAVIA 71-88 (1966), reprinted in ABORTION AND

THE UNWANTED CuHitp 129(C. Reiterman ed. 1971).

———— nem —

21

“(TJhe very fact a woman applies for legal abortion

means that the prospective child runs a risk of having

to surmount greater social and mental handicaps than

its peers, even when the grounds for the application

are so slight that it is refused.” *

Amici have presented the above analysis and data to

introduce the medical and social context of this case. The

data and conclusions which follow therefrom, are not in-

tended to suggest that this Court, or any judicial body,

ought to weigh policy matters to determine questions of

constitutional law. Only when it is claimed that a statute

interferes with a litigant’s fundamental personal rights, is

it incumbent upon the Court to inquire into the case. Such

an inquiry must ask the nature of the rights asserted,

whether such rights are implicit or express in constitu-

tional doctrine, and whether a legislative body might jus-

tifiably abridge the rights asserted. The very nature of

the rights in this case necessitates an understanding of

contrateption, abortion, and associated phenomena. The

response to possible legislative justifications similarly re-

quires an examination of medical and social facts. In the

threshold treatment above, and in the arguments which

follow, Amici will concentrate on particularly relevant

medical data thought to be necessary to the Court’s ulti-

mate determination of law.

5 Id. at 143,

22

ARGUMENT

JURISDICTION

I.

The District Court had jurisdiction to grant declara.

tory and injunctive relief to the class of physicians.

A. Physicians have standing to assert their own fundamental

personal rights, and those of the class of their patients

who seek medical advice and treatment, because enforce.

ment of the statute in question is almost solely against

physicians, the physicians’ interests are inextricably related

to those of their patients, and the rights of patients cannot

be adequately protected unless considered along with those

of physicians.

1. Standing of Physicians

The sub-class of physicians alleged throughout that the

statute in question directly curtailed their own interests

in providing adequate medical advice and treatment for

patients. These interests are aspects of “liberty,” “prop.

erty,” and association directly protected by the First and

Fourteenth Amendments. There can no longer be doubt

that the opportunity to pursue one’s profession is encom-

passed within the concepts of “liberty” and “property.”

This has been the teaching of decisions involving members

of and aspirants to the bar, Willner v. Committee on Char-

acter and Fitness, 373 U.S. 96, 102-03 (1963); teachers,

Slochower v. Board of Higher Educ., 350 U.S. 551 (1956);

scientists, Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474, 492 (1959);

and physicians as well, Birnbaum v. Trussell, 371 F.2d 672

(2d Cir. 1966).

The present case, therefore, is wholly unlike Tileston v.

Ullman, 318 U.S. 44 (1943) (per curiam). There a physi-

a

23

cian, who claimed no rights whatsoever of his own, sought

declaratory relief against a statute which prohibited pa-

tients from using contraceptives. Here, physicians are

drastically affected by direct enforcement provisions of

the challenged statute. Tileston, however, had made “no

allegations asserting any claim under the Fourteenth

Amendment of infringement of [his] liberty or his prop-

erty rights.” 318 U.S. at 44. It is abundantly clear that

the physician sub-class

“alleged such a personal stake in the outcome of the

controversy as to. assure that concrete adverseness

which sharpens the presentation of issues upon which

the court so largely depends for illumination of diffi-

-eult constitutional questions.” Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S.

186, 204 (1962), quoted in Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S.

83, 99 (1968).

2. Physician’s Standing to Assert Patient’s Right to

Seek Medical Care

The physicians also invoked the rights of their pres-

ent, past, and prospective patients. A pregnant woman is

generally in no position to undertake protracted litigation

to establish her right to an abortion, and none has ever

been prosecuted. Neither a physician’s rights, nor those

of his patients, should depend upon the ability to find a

cooperative martyr, to be indicted as a principal.

This case, then, is a close parallel to Griswold v. Con-

necticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965), because

“(t]he rights of [patients] are likely to be diluted or

adversely affected unless those rights are considered

in a suit involving [physicians] who have this kind

of confidential relationship to them.” 381 U.S. at 479,

24

Similarly, it has been held in abortion prosecutions that

the physician may assert his patient’s rights, a proposi-

tion which the lower court correctly accepted, and Cali.

fornia v. Belous* considered so self-evident as to justify

no more than a footnote. In fact, each federal and state

court decision in recent months has concluded, without

the need for extensive discussion, that physicians in both

declaratory and defensive actions have standing to assert

the rights of patients. E.g., United States ex rel. Dr. Jesse

Wiliams, II v. Zelker, —— F.2d ——, No. 35381 (2d Cir,

July 2, 1971) (Tom C. Clark, J.); Crossen v. Breckenridge,

—— F.2d ——, No. 20852 (6th Cir. June 23, 1971) (Miller,

J.). See also Truax v. Raich, 239 U.S. 33 (1915); Pierce

v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925); see generally

Sedler, Standing to Assert Constitutional Jus Tertii, 71

Yaue L.J. 599 (1962).

Physicians, in light of their direct involvement in the

day to day effects and enforcement of the statute, are situ-

ated in much the same way as the defendant-covenantor

in Barrows v. Jackson, 346 U.S. 249 (1953), because here

as there “it would be difficult if not impossible for the

persons whose rights are asserted to present their griev-

ances before any court.” 346 U.S. at 257. In any medical

context it is meaningless to speak of physicians without

patients and patients without physicians. In law it would

be equally meaningless to hold that a physician may not

rely upon her or his patients’ rights. —

2671 Cal.2d 954, 963 n. 5, 458 P.2d 194, 199, 80 Cal. Rptr. 354,

359 (1969) (“Dr. Belous’ standing to raise this right is unchal-

lenged.”), cert. denied, 397 U.S. 915 (1970).

a —_

25

B. The drastic regular and recurring impact of the statute

upon physicians and their patients poses a continuing case

or controversy, which is ripe for adjudication, because

physicians are deterred and hampered by the statute in

advising and treating their patients, and repeatedly com-

pelled to refuse to provide medical care out of a reason-

able fear of enforcement of the statute.

“There can be little doubt that fear of the law is a deter-

mining factor in the policy adopted by hospitals and sur-

geons, both in the United States and in Great Britain.”

G. Was, THE Sancrity or Lire AND THE Criminal Law

168 (1966). Medical professionals, commendably, do not

habitually flout laws in order to contest their validity. This

Court, and lower courts, should not force such anti-social

conduct by taking an unduly narrow view of the Article III

ease or controversy requirement, as was done by the lower

court. Nothing in Article III, prior decisions by this Court,

or considerations of judicial management remotely suggests

that a physician must flout a statute and risk fines, impris-

onment, and license revocation in order to challenge a law

which poses concrete cases and controversies in the physi-

cian’s office day after day.

The nature of the recurring case or controversy produced

by the challenged statute is understandable, specific, and

fully manageable within sound judicial procedures. Physi-

cians do not simply “ ‘feel inhibited’” by the restrictions

on reasons and procedures for medical abortions in Georgia.

See Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37, 42 (1971). They are

inhibited in a very serious, plainly demonstrable, concrete,

and specific manner.

Georgia, and to a similar degree eleven other states, —

have singled out for criminal sanctions the medical pro-

cedure of abortion, separating it from all other procedures,

26

This in itself is ‘a threat to physicians whose patients over

a period of time may include hundreds who request abor.

tions for valid personal reasons not covered by the law,

Georgia has enacted a special criminal statute which a

physician must obey when processing applications for medi.

cal abortion. Otherwise he risks license revocation, fines,

and imprisonment. These sanctions do not exist for other

medical procedures.

While it is not incorrect to state that “whether a particn.

lar operation is necessary for a patient’s physical or mental

health is a judgment that physicians are obviously called

upon to make routinely whenever surgery is considered,”

United States v. Vuitch, 402 U.S. 62, 72 (1971), this

does not terminate what must be a more searching inquiry.

A decision reached between Scylla and Charybdis, or “under

the Sword of Damocles,” Doe v. Randall, 314 F. Supp. 32, 36

(D. Minn. 1970) (Neville, J., concurring), is qualitatively

different from one of proceeding with a routine appendec.

tomy.

Performance of even the most perilous surgery does not

require approval by three examining physicians and e

parte rehearing de novo before a special hospital commit

tee. More importantly, in no other sphere of medical prac-

tice could a physician perform a medical procedure be-

lieved to be in the patient’s best interests and requested by

the patient, complete the treatment with total satisfaction

to himself and the patient, and nonetheless face license revo-

cation and ten years in state prison, indeed ten years per

patient.

The difference between routinely evaluating the need for

requested surgery, and applying the Georgia law on medi-

cally-induced abortion, lies in the wide-ranging and irree-

27

oncilable points of view among physicians as to when a

patient “deserves” an abortion, the novelty of the law, the

severe penalty provision, and the unique impact upon the

physician-patient relationship of such laws.

Traditionally, the medical profession has been subject

only to generalized limitations upon the scope of patient

treatment. First, the physician must undertake necessary

training and secure by license the right to practice his pro-

fession. This license is general in terms, and removes the

physician from scrutiny by the criminal law in his treat-

ment of patients.” State medical licensing laws are uni-

formly upheld, as in Dent v. West Virginia, 129 U.S. 114

(1889). The rationale for limited legislative intervention

in the complex sphere of medicine is reasonable and not

difficult to discern. As stated by Mr. Justice Field in Dent:

“Few professions require more careful preparation

by one who seeks to enter it than that of medicine.

It has to deal with all those subtle and mysterious in-

fluences upon which life and health depend, and re-

quires not only a knowledge of the properties of vege-

table and mineral substances, but of the human body

in all its complicated parts, and their relationship to

each other, as well as their influence upon the mind.”

129 U.S. at 122.

Even with respect to the dispensing of hard narcotics,

legislatures have never sought to prescribe the patient’s

symptoms which justify treatment and those which do not,

much less to require treatment only in a particular type

of medical facility. In fact, Young v. United States, 315

U.S. 257- (1942), construed the Harrison Narcotic Act to

7 An obvious exception would be wanton and reckless mis-

conduct.

28

exempt altogether “physicians administering to patients

whom they personally attend.” 315 U.S. at 259. No inquiry

was to be made into the complexities of diagnosis and

treatment.

With respect to the medical abortion procedure, hoy.

ever, physicians could reasonably anticipate criminal and

administrative sanctions if they engaged in the ordinary

practice of medicine. Normally a physician only seeks con.

sultation for specialized problems. For abortions, he must

call in an additional two examining physicians, and present

his patient’s case to a three or more member hospital abor.

tion committee. With other surgery:he would simply sched-

ule the operating room for a given hour.

In ordinary medical practice, some procedures are done

in the physician’s clinic, some perhaps as a yolunteer in

a public free clinic, and others in a hospital, which may

or may not be accredited by the Joint Commission on

Accreditation of Hospitals [hereinafter JCAH]. With

respect to medical abortion, however, the JCAH-accredited

hospital is the sole institution authorized by Georgia law

to permit abortions. The law further permits hospital

owners to refuse to allow any abortions at all, regardless

of the types of other comparable surgery normally under-

taken there.

The low rate and maldistribution of medical abortions

in Georgia, the very fact that this lawsuit was joined m

by a physician subclass, and the severity of penalties which

a physician might incur by violating the statute or hospital

rules, are evidence of “a specific live grievance.” Golden

v. Zwickler, 394 U.S. 103, 110 (1969). While the lower court

did not find a case or controversy between the physician

subclass and state officials, that conclusion was unaccom-

29

panied by explanation. By contrast, federal courts in Wis-

consin,* Texas,” Colorado,” Llinois,* North Carolina,”

and Ohio™ have faced the same questions of pre-indictment

case or controversy, and ruled in the manner suggested by

Amict.

It is not the province of a physicians’ brief for Amici

Curiae to undertake a lengthy review of this Court’s de-

cisions in the ripeness and case or controversy field. As

Amici, physicians note, however, that prospective lawyers

are not required to be disbarred or refused admission to

the bar in order to contest statutes which affect the conduct

of law students. LSCRRC v. Wadmond, 401 U.S. 154, 158-

59 (1971). The teachers in Epperson v. Arkansas, 393

US. 97 (1968), and Baggett v. Bullitt, 377 U.S. 360 (1964),

did not face a court-imposed dilemma forcing them to flout

an anti-evolution stajgte in the Scopes tradition, or risk

entanglement in a perjury prosecution which might follow

the signing of a loyalty oath. The Scopes trial was an

exciting event. Abortion prosecutions are another matter

altogether. Only two physicians in Anglo-American history

have had sufficient courage to choose the latter route. See

Rex v. Bourne [1939] 1 K.B. 687; Hodgson v. Randall,

McCann v. Babbitz, 310 F. Supp. 293 (E.D. Wis.) (per

curiam), appeal dismissed, 400 U.S. 1 (1970) (per curiam).

2?Roe v. Wade, 314 F. Supp. 1217 (N.D. Tex. 1970) (per

curiam), juris. postponed to merits, 402 U.S. —— (May 3, 1971)

(No. 70-18, 1971 Term).

% Doe v. Dunbar, 320 F. Supp. 1297 (D. Colo. 1970).

* Doe v. Scott, 321 F. Supp. 1385 (N.D. Ill), appeal docketed

sub nom. Hanrahan v. Doe, 39 U.S.L.W. 3438 (U.4 Mar. 29, 1971)

(No. 70-105, 1971 Term).

* Corkey v. Edwards, 322 F. Supp. 1248 (W.D.N.C.), appeal

ee “ie 40 U.S.L.W. 3048 (U.S. July 17, 1971) (No. 71-92, 1971

erm).

%8 Steinberg v. Brown, 321 F. Supp. 741 (N.D. Ohio 1970).

30

314 F. Supp. 32 (D. Minn. 1970), aff'd mem., 402 U.S. —

(May 17, 1971). In neither instance was the recurring eq.

flict between the physician’s duty to the patient, and th

physician-citizen’s obligation to obey the law, resolved by

defense of criminal charges.

Similarly, the drug companies in Abbott Laboratorie

v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136 (1967), were permitted by this

Court to make a broad attack on labelling regulations pro.

mulgated by the Commissioner of Food and Drugs. Phy.

sicians, even more than drug companies, “deal in a sensitive

[profession], in which public confidence,” 387 U.S. at 153,

is especially important.

Indeed, even the earlier “ripeness” cases which found

no controversy support the presence of a sufficient degree

of justiciable adversity on the facts presented here.”

A bare majority in Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961),

for example, found no controversy over the unenforeed

Connecticut law against the use of contraceptives. Justice

Frankfurter’s plurality opinion relied upon four factors:

(1) a history of non-enforcement of the statutes against

physicians and patients. 367 U.S. at 501-02; (2) the fact

* The present action recalls the election cases where judicial

review was sought too late, but underlying issues would recur again

and again. As the Court stated in Moore v. Ogilvie, 394 U.S. 814,

816 (1969), “[t]he problem is . . . ‘capable of repetition,

ing review,’ Southern Pacific Terminal Co. v. ICC, 219 US.

498, 515. The need for its resolution thus reflects a continuing

controversy. ...” And so it is here. Physicians seek to challenge

the full ony Some on its face, and as applied in agi |

kinds of cases. The problem here is repeated on a scale far

— of recurring egg” end presidential elections. .

is not a case like Hall v. Beals, 396 U.S. 45 (1969) (per

curiam), where no continuing injury whatsoever was present.

is Brockington v. Rhodes, 396 U.S. 41 (1969) (per curiam), per-

tinent. There the relief sought was limited in nature and

impossible to grant by the passage of time.

31

that “contraceptives are commonly and notoriously sold in

Connecticut stores. Yet no prosecutions are recorded. .

367 U.S. at 502; (3) the absence of “real threat of ‘siteces:

ment,” 367 U.S. at 507; and (4) the failure to find “deter-

rent effect . . . grounded in a realistic fear of prosecution.”

367 U.S. at 508.

Each of these features is different in the present case,

and additional considerations make this case even more

appropriate for decision, on the merits.

(1) Physicians can easily document the fact that abor-

tion statutes are regularly enforced by criminal prosecu-

tions and license revocations. In addition, hospital com-

mittees in effect enforce the laws within their institutions.

Neither Poe nor Griswold indicated that hospital commit-

tees in Connecticut regulated the prescription of contra-

ceptives to patients.

(2) Abortions in Georgia’s hospitals are obviously not

“commonly and notoriously” available upon requést.

(3) There is more than “real threat of enforcement” of

Georgia’s abortion laws. There is frequent actual enforce-

ment at the administrative level of decision making.

Georgia residents from July to December, 1970, were

27th nationally in abortion-to-birth ratios. Approximately

67% were forced to leave the State for treatment. See

Aprenvix B, infra, Figure I-2, at B-7. From July 1, 1970 to

March 31, 1971, a total of 838 Georgia residents obtained

legal abortions in New York City. Chase, Abortions to Out-

of-State Residents (June 29, 1971) (report released by

Health Services Administration, City of New York).

The above analysis considers the Poe plurality opinion

in isolation and assumes the case was correctly decided.

32

However, Poe was handed down over persuasive dissents

by Justices Harlan and Douglas, and memorandum not.

tions of dissent from Justices Stewart and Black. Poe ha

been repeatedly criticized and suggestions made that it be

or was limited to its facts.” These criticisms largely derive

from the sentiment that no civilized legal system should

require an honest citizen to risk prison and disgrace to

test the constitutionality of a statute.”

Poe appears to be one of the exceedingly few decisions

which requires a litigant to invite and undergo criminal

prosecution. Ultimately, the physicians prevailed, seven.

to-two, four years later. Suppose they had not? The Poe

decision would have consigned them to accepting the pen.

alty. Other decisions, as Justices Harlan and Douglas

pointed out, dissenting in Poe, imposed no such Hobson's

choice.*’

Justice Harlan’s dissent in Poe undertook at length to

demonstrate that the majority was in substantial error.

367 U.S. at 522-39. The Justice placed chief reliance on

Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925), and Tuas

v. Raich, 239 U.S. 33 (1915). Both permitted anticipatory

relief to avoid damage caused by the present effect of a

*5 See A. Bicken, THe Least Dancerous Brancu 143-55 (1962);

Note, 62 Cotum. L. Rev. 106 (1962) ; Comment, 50 Caui. L. Rav.

137 (1962). For an excellent general discussion of the “ripeness”

uestion in the context of criminal law, see Note, Declaratory

Relief én the Criminal Law, 80 Harv. L. Rev. 1490 (1967).

eA is the not infrequent condemnation of those who

flagrantly a law to test its validity.

*t After Thomas Hobson (1544-1631), of Cambridge, England,

who rented horses, but gave customers only the horse nearest the

door. Here the physician must.often choose between sending the

patient out the door, or being taken out himself by law enforcement

officers.

33

statute rather than imminence of enforcement. Signif-

icantly, in Pierce

“g Court which included Justices Holmes, Brandeis, and

Stone rejected a claim of prematureness and then

passed upon and held unconstitutional a state statute

whose sanctions were not even to become effective for

more than seventeen months after the time the case

was argued....” Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497, 538

(1961) (Harlan, J., dissenting).

See also West Virginia Board of EducatiSh v. Barnette, 319

U.S. 624 (1943) (students allowed to challenge possible

expulsions prior to actual dismissal, and prior to effective

date of rule which, if enforced, would have required expul-

sion); Terrace v. Thompson, 263 U.S. 197, 216 (1923)

(“They are not obliged to take the risk of prosecution,

fines and imprisonment and loss of property in order to

secure an adjudication of their rights”).

Moreover, Congress, in passing the Declaratory Judg-

ment Act, recognized the need to provide a federal antic-

ipatory remedy in lieu of defense to a criminal prosecu-

tion. A Senate Report reflected this specific concern:

“Jt is often necessary, in the absence of the declara-

tory judgment procedure, to violate or purport to vio-

late a statute in order to obtain a judicial determina-

tion of its meaning or validity.” S. Rep. No. 1005,

73d Cong., 2d Sess., at 2-3.

In the instant case, physicians positively refrain from

treating and advising patients for the reason that they

fear criminal prosecution, or administrative sanctions.

They are not uninterested citizens urging an academic

question, but are a class of citizens greatly affected

deterred by the challenged statutes. As Professor Bi

suggested, in a slightly different context, “it may be true

that by hypothesis no more suitable case can ever be cop.

structed, because those who are unjustifiably deterred will

never be prosecuted, and what deters them i is precisely the

prospect of litigation.” *

In light of the considerations set out above, the lower

court erred in dismissing claims of the physician subclass

for want of a case or controversy.

C. Injunctive relief was necessary to prevent inevitable grave

and immediate injury to physicians and their patients, be.

cause defense of criminal and/or administrative proceed.

ings in a single case could not eliminate the recurring con.

troversy, and the mere fact of such a state proceeding would

drastically invade the physician-patient relationship, as well

as exert an in terrorem effect upon the profession.

Amici, as physicians, can point to three substantial rea-

sons why the lower court should have issued an injunction

to enforce the extent of declaratory relief granted.

(1) First, the law is unclear on the extent to which state

law enforcement authorities are bound by federal declara-

tory judgments pending appeal. There is authority that

the Georgia courts would not have been bound by any

aspects of the lower court’s opinion, should officials have

determined to institute state court proceedings against a

physician. See United States ex rel. Lawrence v. Woods,

432 F.2d 1072. (7th Cir. 1970), cert. denied, 402 U.S. —

(May 17, 1971) ; State v. Coleman, 46 N.J. 16, 214 A.2d 393

(1965); Iowa Nat'l Bank v. Stewart; 214 Iowa 1229, 232

N.W. 445 (1930). Under such an interpretation, Georgia

8° A, BICKEL, THE Least DANGEROUS BRANCH 149-50 (1962).

a

authorities would have been free to proceed against any

physicians or hospitals that altered their practices.

, The suggested dilemma is not fanciful. Under similar

facts state officers in Wisconsin sought to ‘defy and cir-

cumvent judgments by federal courts in two different dis-

tricts of the state. See McCann v. Babbitz, 320 F. Supp.

919 (E.D. Wis. 1970) (per curiam), vacated for reconsid-

eration, 402 U.S. 903 (1971); Kennan v. Nichol, —— F.

Supp. —, 71-C-118 (W.D. Wis. Apr. 27, May 5, 6, 1971).

An injunctive order removes any doubt about the rights

of the respective parties, not only with respect to the

scope of permissible conduct, but also concerning which

party should appeal, and to what appellate court. The

parties in Wisconsin made one trip to this Court only to

learn that the attorney general had appealed to the wrong

forum, as had the physician. McCann v. Babbitz, 310 F.

Supp. 293 (E.D. Wis.) (per curiam), appeal dismissed,

400 U.S. 1 (1970) (per curiam).

(2) Where, as here, an injunction is needed to clarify

the effect of a declaratory judgment, the order serves to

avoid altogether the state-federal friction which might

otherwise ensue. In many respects a bare declaratory

judgment is an open invitation to state authorities to

ignore the federal court at their option. By contrast, an

injunction brings certainty and finality to the dispute, and

at least discourages state officials from threatening or

initiating any administrative or criminal proceedings or

investigations. More importantly, an injunction ab initio

obviates the possibility of a subsequent need to enjoin

state court judges and proceedings under one of the ex-

press exceptions to 28 U.S.C. 2283 (1964 ed.). In this

—

36

sense, the injunction at the outset is sensible preventive

medicine. »

(3) The third reason for initial injunctive relief is to

avoid the kind of grave irreparable injury which would

befall physicians and their patients should the declaratory

judgment be ignored at the administrative. or any other

level. There is no adequate remedy at law, or in the state

courts, for a woman who is compelled to continue a preg.

nancy against her will. What was not undone by contra.

ception, or by medical abortion in early pregnancy, or by

spontaneous abortion in many cases, cannot be recompensed

after birth. It is the unwilling mother Who must accept

the role of child-rearing for up to twenty years, not the

legislators, and not the judges of the lower court.

By the same token, defense of a single criminal charge

or license revocation proceeding would neither be an ade-

quate forum in which to resolve the “continuing contro

versy between [physicians] and the State . . . ,” Perez y,

Ledesma, 401 U.S. 82, 102 (1971) (Brennan, J., concurring),

nor an avenue that posed no threat of grave irreparable

injury. If Abbott Laboratories means anything, it is that

the mere fact of prosecution in a sensitive health-related

industry is presumed to have disastrous consequences.

Where, as in this case, the physicians present a straight-

forward legal issue, “the [statute] is directed at them in

particular; it requires them to make significant changes

in their everyday [professional] practices; if they fail to

observe the [statute] they are quite clearly exposed to the

imposition of strong sanctions,” 387 U.S. at 154, then in-

junctive relief is both necessary and proper. Even more 80

is this the case, when one recalls that Abbott Laboratories,

Inc., was a corporation asserting purely economic interests.

37

THE MERITS

Il.

The provisions in Georgia Criminal Code §§26-1201,

.1202(a) (1)-(3), -1202(b)(1)-(9), -1202(c), and

.1202(e), which differentiate the medical procedures

of therapeutic and elective induced abortion from all

other forms of health care, deprive physicians of the

_ fundamental personal right to administer to their pa-

tients, and patients of the right to seek medical care, in

violation of the Due Process and Equal Protection

clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment.

The statute in question undoubtedly restricts a physician

in the practice of his profession. It limits his right to exer-

cise his skills and apply his overall knowledge to the pa-

tient’s benefit. By the same token, the statute deprives the

patient of the right to seek health care in connection with

the medical procedure of induced abortion.

The magnitude of the restrictions imposed by statutes

such as the Model Penal Code-type abortion law is far

reaching. As the co-reporter to the Code observed in a

critical examination of its limitations, “[it] is not a ques-

tion of restricting the freedom of a few eccentrics to avoid «

inflicting great psychic injury on the bulk of the popula-

tion, but-of restricting the freedom of scores of millions

of citizens, having conflicting but equally respectable sensi-

bilities to be protected.” Schwartz, Morals Offenses, and

the Model Penal Code, 63 Corum. L. Rev. 669, 683 (1963).

The contention of Amici Curiae, in full support of the

Appellants in the case, is that the restrictions in the statute

——

40

as is necessary to preserve their health.” The Vuitch de-

cision went on-to construe the term health to encompass

“psychological as well as physical health,” and “ ‘the state

of being sound in body or mind.’” :

The present case also has First and Fourteenth Amend-

ment freedom of association implications, namely, the

right of the physician to provide medical information,

followed by treatment, for his patients, and the right of

the patient to receive same. The right of a competent

licensed physician to give medical advice can be charac-

terized as free expression alone, or when viewed as an

aspect of the physician-patient relationship, it becomes

part of the freedom of association between physician and

patient. The First Amendment has long been held to ac-

cord presumptive protection for the “freedom to associate

and privacy in one’s associations.” NAACP v. Alabama,

357 U.S. 449, 462 (1958). This has been the case with

the marital relationship,® and that of attorney and client.”

The relationship between physician and patient is no dif-

ferent; it promotes the fundamental purpose’ of maintain-

ing the health and well-being of the American people.

The advice aspect of medical practice is but one part of

claim, for medical treatment involving interruption of the

% See Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 486 (1965), de-

scribing the “marriage relationship” as

“an association that promotes a way of life, not causes; a har-

mony in living, not political faiths; a bilateral loyalty, not

commercial or social projects. Yet it is an association for as

noble a purpose as any involved in our prior decisions.”

*© See NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963) ; Brotherhood of

Railway Trainmen v. Virginia, 377 U.S. 1 (1964); United Mine

Workers v. Illinois State Bar, 389 U.S. 217 (1967) ; United Trans-

portation Union v. State Bar of Michigan, 401 U.S. 576 (1971).

ss

41

unwanted pregnancy may be what the patient ultimately

requests, and the criminal statute proscribes.

“[WJhen ‘speech’ and ‘nonspeech’ elements are com-

bined in the same course of conduct, a sufficiently

important governmental interest ... must appear. ...”

United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367, 376 (1968).

The nature of this interest has been described by a

“variety of descriptive terms: compelling; substantial;

subordinating; paramount; cogent; strong.” 391 U.S. at

376-77 (citations omitted).

The interests of patients must also be considered before

examining the implementation of this law.

2. Patients Have a Fundamental Right to Seek Health Care

Which Includes the Treatment of Medical Abortion

United States v. Vuitch, 402 U.S. 62 (1971), took the

initial steps toward recognition of a right to seek medical

treatment as a fundamental personal right protected by the

Constitution. There this Court suggested a right of patients

to “such treatment as is necessary to preserve their health.”

While Vuitch had no need to hold, as a matter of con-

stitutional law, that the right of access to health care was

a fundamental personal right, such a holding in the pres-

ent case would be judicially ‘sound, and expressive of a

manageable judicial principle.

Some measure of the recognition which nations give to

the right of access to health care can be seen in the Con-

stitution of the World Health Organization:

“The enj.. ment of the highest attainable standard of

health is one of the fundamental rights of every human

being without distinction of race, religion, political

belief, economic or social condition.” *

Congress, in passing the Comprehensive Health Planning

Act of 1966, took a similar position:

“[T)he fulfillment of our national purpose depends on

promoting and assuring the highest level of health

attainable for every person, in an environment which

contributes positively to healthful individual and fam-

ily living... .”*

The text of the Constitution supports this position by

directly recognizing the rights to “life and liberty” in the

Fourteenth Amendment. The term “life,” in particular,

was used in the 19th century in the manner that “life and

health” are used today. As late as the 1880’s Sir Joseph

Lister’s surgical techniques were only beginning to be used

in the United States. “‘First Listerian operations’ were

still dotting the American surgical scene all through the

eighties.” H. Cuapesatrie, Tae Docrors Mayo 194 (1941).

Only after Listerism gained a firm position in American

surgery did non-emergency operations become feasible, not

simply as “a last desperate throw of the dice with death,

but a means of restoring health deliberately chosen in the

early, curable stages of disease.” Jd. at 269 (emphasis

added).

“1 Basic DocuMENTS OF THE WorRLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION 1

(Geneva 1969 ed.). See also Curran, The Right to Health in

National and International Law, 284 New Ena. J. or MEDICINE

1258 (1971).

* Public Law 89-749.

43

In addition to the decisions upholding rights associated

with access to health care (and marital privacy), an over-

lapping body of precedent extends significant constitutional

protection to the citizen’s sovereignty over his or her own

physical person.

As early as 1891 this Court stated:

“No right is more sacred, [nJor is more carefully

guarded .. . than the right of every individual to the

possession and control of his own person, free from

all restraint or interference of others unless by clear

and unquestionable authority of law. As well said by

Judge Cooley, ‘The right to one’s person may be said

to be a right of complete immunity: to be let alone.’ ”

Union Pac. Ry. v. Botsford, 141 U.S. 250, 251 (1891),

quoted in Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 8-9 (1968).

This right, like all rights, has limits, as illustrated by

Jacobson v. Massachusetts, 197 U.S. 11 (1904). There the

Court upheld a compulsory vaccination law, but only to

avoid “great dangers” and to protect “the safety of the

general public.” 197 U.S. at 29. The lengths to which

the Court went, however, to justify a shot in the arm,

point up the degree to which personal autonomy in health

matters is entitled to protection.

In family matters relating to child rearing and procre-

ation, the Court has recognized and sustained individual

rights on a constitutional plane. “The freedom to marry

... 5” Loving v. Commonwealth, 388 U.S. 1, 12 (1967) ;

“the right to have offspring,” Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316

‘8 Botsford involved government coercion in forcing a medical

examination.

S.

U.S. 535, 536 (1942) ; “the liberty of parents and guardians

to direct the upbringing and education of children under

their control,” Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510,

534-35 (1925); as well as the right, at least of a married

woman, to use contraceptives, Griswold v. Connecticut, 381

U.S. 479 (1965), are all protected constitutionally.

Most recently the Court reaffirmed the “fundamental

... Tight to be free, except in very limited circumstances,

from unwanted governmental intrusions into one’s pri-

vacy,” Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557, 564 (1969)

(Marshall, J.), and embraced with approval Mr. Justice

Brandeis’ dissent in Olmstead v. United States:

44

“The makers of our Constitution undertook to secure

conditions favorable to the pursuit of happiness. They

recognized the significance of man’s spiritual nature,

of his feelings and of his intellect. They knew that

only a part of the pain, pleasure and satisfactions of

life are to be found in material things. They sought

to protect Americans in their beliefs, their thoughts,

their emotions ard their sensations. They conferred,

as against the Government, the right to be let alone—

the most comprehensive of rights and the right most

valued by civilized man.” 277 U.S. at 478.

Chief Justice, then Circuit Judge, Burger, in Application

of Georgetown College, Inc., 331 F.2d 1010, 1016-17 (D.C.

Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 377 U.S. 978 (1964), also

urged a right to be let alone, in the context of a religious

objection to blood transfusions, which could include “even

absurd ideas which do not conform, such as refusing medi-

cal treatment even at great risk.” 331 F.2d at 1017. If

refusing health care might be constitutionally protected,

oS an

45

surely the right to seek health care for sensible reasons

should enjoy equal or greater constitutional status.

Retired Justice Tom C. Clark has also suggested that

constitutional concepts should include control over family

planning beyond the stage of contraception. He wrote:

“fA]bortion falls within that sensitive area of privacy

_—the marital relation. One of the basic values of this

privacy is birth control, as evidenced by the Griswold

decision. Griswold’s act was found to prevent forma-

tion of the fetus. This, the Court found, was constitu-

tionally protected. If an individual may prevent con-

ception, why can he not nullify that conception when

prevention has failed?

B. The Equal Protection and Due Process clauses of the Four-

teenth Amendment require that restrictive classifications in

the challenged statute be narrowly drawn and supported

by compelling state interests, in order not to abridge funda-

mental personal rights.

Several basic considerations have been articulated for

the evaluation of competing interests in equal protection

cases. One, which applies in matters of unique local in-

terest involving taxes and business regulations, states:

“Under traditional equal protection principles, a

State retains broad discretion to classify as long as

its classification has a reasonable basis.” Blackmun, J.,

in Graham vy. Richardson, 402 U.S., ——, —— (June ¥

14, 1971).

-

“* Clark, Religion, Morality, and Abortion: A Constitutional

ef 2 Loyoxa Univ. (L.A.) L. Rev. 1, 9 (1969) [hereinafter

“Clark”}.

=e

46

However, a somewhat different technique is necessary

when a “suspect classification” appears or important fun-

damental personal rights are threatened. As stated with

respect to the fundamental personal right to travel in

Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618, 638 (1969) :

“(T]he traditional criteria do not apply in these cases,

Since the classification here touches upon [a] funda-

mental right . . . its constitutionality must be judged

by the stricter standard of whether it promotes a

compelling state interest.” (Emphasis by the Court.)

This is also the case with the “suspect classification”:

“The classifications . . . are inherently suspect and

are therefore subject to strict judicial scrutiny

whether or not a fundamental right is impaired.”

Graham v. Richardson, 402 U.S. ——, —— (June 14,

1971).

In all cases, moreover,

“a statutory discrimination must be based on differ-

ences that are reasonably related to the purposes of

the Act in which it is found.” Morey v. Doud, 354 US.

457, 465 (1957).

Stringent standards are more appropriate for the pres-

ent case. These standards apply because the Georgia

statute does more, far more, than regulate the medical

procedure of abortion in the same way it might regulate

some other medical practice, i.e., by requiring that all

clinics or hospitals obtain State licensure, or that all

physicians obtain a license to practice.

The Georgia Therapeutic Abortion Act touches heavily

upon the fundamental rights of physicians and patients.

-—

Its classifications specify State-imposed “conditions” which

a private physician and patient must satisfy to avoid

criminal responsibility.

47

These “conditions” have no parallel in other medical

procedures. They abridge the fundamental rights of some

individuals by altogether prohibiting abortions for them,

i.e. women whose physical or mental health would be

“seriously,” but not “permanently” impaired by con-

tinuation of pregnancy, or “healthy” women who had

contraceptive failure. The classifications make abortions

exceedingly difficult for others to obtain, 7.e., those women

in areas of Georgia where the only accredited hospitals

refuse to do any abortions, or those who lack the finan-

cial resources to obtain psychiatric certification and cover

hospitalization costs (barriers erected not by the patient,

but by the State). Because of the statute’s impact on

fundamental rights, its classifications cannot stand unless

supported by “a countervailing state interest of overriding

significance.” Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371, 377

(1971). Also, if any such compelling State interest is

promoted by a classification, the class must not be unnec-

| essarily restrictive. “‘Precision of regulation must be the

touchstone in an area so closely touching our most pre-

cious freedoms.’” Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479,

497, 498 (1965) (Atm iste Goldberg, concurring).

Here, a reading of the statute shows suspect classifica-

tions which impinge upon the marital relationship, as af-

fected by the timing and spacing of children, cf. Griswold

v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965); the personal interest

in access to medical care, cf. United States v. Vuitch, 402

U.S. 62 (1971); the “human right” [not] “to have off-

spring,” cf. Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535, 536 (1942) ;

48

and the right announced as early as 1891 by Mr. Justice

Gray (within limits) “to the control and possession of his

{or her] own person, free from all restraint or interference

of others, unless by clear and unquestionable authority of

law.” Union Pac. Ry. v. Botsford, 141 U.S. 250, 251 (1891).

As to the latter, this Court only upheld the compulsory

vaccination laws to avoid “great dangers” and to protect

“the safety of the general public.” Jacobson vy. Massa-

chusetts, 197 U.S. 11, 29 (1904) (Harlan, J.).

The stringent standards of review apply not only to

the arbitrary features of the statute which appear on its

face, but also to applications and effects of the statute

which come about in practice.

C. The Georgia law on medical abortion, and similar laws in

eleven other states, restrict access to this medical pro-

cedure in a manner which offends the Equal Protection

clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

It is settled that a law “applied and administered by

public authority with an evil eye and an unequal hand,

so as practically to make unjust and illegal discriminations

between persons in similar circumstances, material to their

rights [constitutes] the denial of equal justice... .”

Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356, 373-74 (1886) (Mat.

thews, J.). In several respects, the administration of the

statute in question has created a patchwork of invidious

discriminations.

49

1. The “Health” Clause Is Interpreted Differently in Every

State, Community, and Hospital, and Has Been Dem-

onstrated to Be Without a Reasonably Specific Meaning

Georgia’s restriction on reasons for medical abortion,

in words, is not so strict as the typical statute remaining

in thirty jurisdictions. The standard pre-1967 prohibition

forbade a woman to obtain an abortion “unless the same

is necessary to preserve her life, or that of the child

whereof she is pregnant... .” 40A Minn. Strat. Ann.

§617.19, at 286 (1964); accord, 2A Texas Penau Cope art.

1196, at 436 (1961). That is, a pregnancy may wreck a

woman’s physical health, create insuperable psychiatric

difficulties, and leave her bedridden in Minnesota and

Texas, but the laws require that she accept this burden,

unless she aborts spontaneously.

In Georgia the burden is almost as severe. The woman

and her physician must conclude that continued pregnancy

would “seriously and permanently injure her health... .”

Ga. Crim. Cope $26-1202(a) (1), at 85 (1969). If pregnancy

seriously injures her health, that'is not enough. If preg-

nancy permanently injures her health, that too is insuffi-

cient. Like the Eighth Amendment, the statute is in the

conjunctive, not the disjunctive. For actual wording of

the “health” justifications in the other eleven similar states,

. see Appenpix B, infra, Table I-1, at B-1.

To some physicians and laymen, “health” means “physi-

eal survival.” Permanent and serious injuries to “health”

to them may mean inevitable lifetime inyalidism, and noth-

ing less.

To other physicians and laymen, “health” means “a state

of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not

merely the absence of disease or infirmity.” Constitution

50

of the World Health Organization, in Bastc Documents

or THE WorLp HeattH Orcanization 1 (Geneva 1969 ed.),

A “physically healthy” woman with no classic “mental

health” problems such as neurosis, may nonetheless be-

come a victim of rape or contraceptive failure, and find

that termination of the pregnancy would enhance some

additional category of her “mental health.” Indeed, “for

the healthy woman with a happy marriage, abortion ig

most often truly therapeutic.” Walter, Psychologic and

Emotional Consequences of Elective Abortion, 36 Oxsrer-

rics & Gynecotoay 482, 487 (1970).

It is not so much what “health” can mean, as the way

such a term is used, whether as a reason for undertaking

surgery, or a reason for declining to do so. With ordinary

elective surgery, a physician seeks “health” reasons why

the procedure should be done, i.e., “indications,” as well

as “health” reasons why it should not, 1ie., “contra-

indications.” The two avenues of inquiry, moreover, may

not at all overlap and may be altogether unrelated. For

example, cosmetic surgery may be indicated as necessary

to alleviate irrational self-doubt. However, the procedure

may be contra-indicated in an unusual case by likelihood

of uncontrollable blood loss.

If valid “indications” for a procedure are found, and

these are not overcome by “contra-indications,” the surgeon

proceeds. The trouble with abortion statutes is that they

reveal an understandable, but nonetheless substantial ig-

norance of how medicine is practiced. As much could be

expected if physicians drafted statutes stipulating how

attorneys should practice law. Attorneys would be required

to do “justice” to their clients, particularly physician-

clients, and failure to do so would result in ten years’

imprisonment.

51

The practice of medicine is no more standardized than

the practice of law. An instrument as blunt as the criminal

law cannot begin to define and regulate “those subtle

and mysterious influences upon which life and health

depend... .” Dent v. West Virginia, 129 U.S. 114, 122

(1889).

Physicians differ widely in their evaluation of indica-

tions and contra-indications for medical abortion, prob-

ably more so than in any field of practice. Rather than

avoiding abortion practice altogether, however, physicians

with narrow concepts of indications remain on hospital

committees and other bodies which affect or control the

interpretation of abortion laws.”

A lawyer or judge, after reading the statute, can examine

the medical literature to assess how the statute affects med-

ical practice, and whether its implementation is arbitrary

or discriminatory. The literature presents an unending

array of scholarly medical analysis with careful explana-

tions of how arbitrary, indefinite, and standardless abortion

laws have been.

Retired Justice Tom C. Clark set a commendable medico-

legal example in his full treatment of the very question pre-

sented in this section. According to Justice Clark:

“The increasing number of abortions subjects physi-

cians to increased dangers of liability for incorrectly

interpreting a statute .... [DJoctors face an uncer-

tain fate when performing an abortion. This uncer-

45 Amicus Dr. J. Robert Willson, a former president of the Amer-

ican College of Obstetricians, spoke volumes when he stated: “After

all, legal abortion is controlled by individual hospitals, not by the

atate capitol.” Abortion—A Medical Responsibility?, 30 Oxnstet-

rics & GyNEcoLoey 294, 302 (1967).

52

tainty will continue unless the legislatures’ or courts

provide relief from liability.” *

Indeed, the commentators for the Model Penal Code pro-

vision on abortion, which in essence is under attack in this

case, foresaw that “[p]sychiatric justifications for abortion

are harder to classify and verify, and psychiatrists them-

selves have expressed concern at the shadowy line between

medical and social justification.” MopeL Prenat Cong

$207.11, Comments, at 153 (Tent. Draft No. 9, 1959). The

ALL had “no body of experience,” id. at 156, with reform

abortion laws at that time and took no position on the need

for further modifications of the Code. It appears that the

A.L.I. has since been inactive on this ‘subject.

The “body of experience” over the period from 1959 to

date has been catalogued in the medical journals with in-

creasing frequency and in growing volume. In response,

both the American Medical Association*’ and the American

College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists“ have found

Model Penal Code-type policies on abortion to be unwork-

able. In 1970 both organizations abandoned their previous

Code-type approach for policies permitting the physician

to consider the patient’s entire family setting (without fear

of reprimand for defining “health” more generously than

his department chairman). Similarly, in 1970, the Second

Tentative Draft of the Unirorm Asortion Act eliminated

previous listings of “health” reasons for abortion.*®

** Clark, supra note 44, at 7.

*? Abortion, Proceedings of the American Medical Ass’n House

of Delegates 47 (June, 1970) ; see 213 J. AMERiIcAN MEDIcaL Ass’N

1242 (1970).

“8 Policy on Abortion, American Céllege of Obstetricians and

- Gynecologists (Aug. 1970) ; Appendix A, infra, at A-1.

«© Unirorm AporTion Act (2d Tent. Draft, Aug. 1970).

53

One facet of experience has been to understand that con-

cepts such as “health,” “physical health,” “mental health,”

“social conditions,” and “patient’s environment,” are flex-

ible abstract constructs, -not a part of measurable scientific

matter. Not one or two factors enter into a physician’s

judgment in assessing the “health” justifications for a med-

ical abortion, but many ; indeed, more than could be resolved

in ten exercises of a state law remedy in state courts. Some

of the questions which are not illuminated by the language

and history of the Georgia statute are as follows:

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

To what extent, if any, may “mental health” factors

be considered?

If only “physical health” factors are permissible,

what kinds of physical injuries are contemplated by

the statute?

Are the dangers of physical injury brought on by

mental response to unwanted pregnancy, %.e., at-

tempted suicide, self-mutilation, resort to quack or

self-abortion, sufficient under the law?

Must the pending physical injury be from a pre-

existing condition directly associated with the repro-

ductive organs?

If “mental health” factors are cognizable, must these

be diagnosed by one or more psychiatric specialists,

or is the private physician enough?

To what extent, if any, may the two extra examining

physicians rely upon the private physician’s evalua-

tion, as contrasted with their independent findings?

By the same token, to what degree must the hospital

committee conduct an independent evaluation?

54

(8) Is a history or pre-existing mental illness with con-

finement in an institution necessary?

(9) Is any history of prior psychological difficulty neces.

sary? .

These are not fine-spun, legalistic distinctions. The ex-

amples are taken from the lengthy medical literature on

difficulties of administering the twelve A.L.I.-style abortion

laws.

Illustrations from principal medical authorities and texte

show that hospitals, their committees, department heads,

and individual physicians interpret this type of statute in

an impermissibly fluctuating manner. The consequence has

been arbitrary and discriminatory implementation of ac.

cess to this medical procedure.

Louis M. Hellman, M.D., co-author of the definitive text

on obstetrics and gynecology, reviewed the recent experi-

ence as follows:

“Because concepts are changing rapidly, the definition

of therapeutic abortion laeks precision. The word

‘health’ in particular is variously interpreted. . . .

In a time of rapidly changing laws, concepts, and

mores, therapeutic abortion cannot be defined nor can

the listing of its indications carry any degree of ac-

eee?

curacy or permanence.

The reform of abortion laws along the guidelines

drawn by the American Law Institute has not worked

well. Although the number of abortions has increased

markedly, the poor still find it difficult to obtain abor-

tions even in situations of obvious merit.” L. HELLMaN

55

& J. Prircnarp, Wituiams Osstetrics 1085, 1087 (14th

ed. 1971).

The then-Chairman of the Department of Obstetrics and

Gynecology at the University of California School of Medi-

cine, San Francisco, Edmund W. Overstreet, M.D., related

a similar experience under the California therapeutic abor-

tion law, which also is of the Model Penal Code variety:

“[P]sychiatrists will vary greatly in their diagnosis of

mental illness and the nonpsychiatric physician finds

it even more difficult to decide whether or not a patient

has mental illness to the point of [legally, not medi-

cally] justifying therapeutic abortion. . . .

“(T]he adjudication of therapeutic abortion, especially

the mental illness area (and that is 88 per cent of our

cases at the present time), is uneven, inequitable, and

discriminatory. No one is happy about it in California.

No satisfactory guidelines are developing as to how

approach candidates for therapeutic abortion. Several

studies going on now in California, and some of the

Swedish results, suggest that forcing a woman to carry

an unwanted pregnancy to term against her will always

. impairs her mental health.” Overstreet, Abortion and

Obstetrics (Panel), in II Asortion 1n A CHANGING

Wortp 74-75 (R. Hall ed. 1970).

The intimation by Dr. Overstreet that deeply unwanted

pregnancy per se in a “physically” healthy woman might

impair her “mental” health has become the focal point of

further studies which verify his suggestion. Today, much

of the medical literature recognizes “the undeniable effects

of sociological factors on an individual’s mental health,”

—_——

56

Pike, Therapeutic Abortion and Mental Health, 111 Carr,

MepicinE 318, 319 (1969). See generally Hook, Refused

Abortion, 37 Acta Psycuiat 203 (1961).

Nonetheless, in this area of medicine, the physician.

patient relationship is non-existent at the hospital commit-

tee level. There a woman may find her application blocked

by a physician she has never seen who is “convinced that

women have a need to give birth and urge[s] that there be

no interference with their doing so.” Crowley & Laidlaw,

Psychiatric Opinion Regarding Abortion: Preliminary Re-

port of a Survey, 124 Am. J. Psycuiatry 145, 147 (1967).

It would unduly lengthen this brief for Amici to point out

the many additional studies on capricious and discrimina-

tory administration of the type statute involved here. For

the Court’s reference, and to emphasize this important

point, Amici are including excerpts from such studies

below.”

5° Materials from medical and psychiatric literature which illus-

trate the wide-ranging interpretations of language in laws on abor-

tion, and the sometimes arbitrary implementation of these laws

include the following authorities :

(1) Hall, Abortion in American Hospitals, 57° Am. J. Pus.

HEattTH 1933, 1935 (1967) :

“Abortion policies vary not only from hospital to hospital

but also from service to service within the same hospital.

They also vary widely from doctor to doctor on the same

service of the same hospital.”

(2) M. CaLpERONE, (ed.), ABORTION IN THE UNITED States 34-35,

52 (1958) :

“(Necessity as a sine qua non of performing an abortion

. . . leaves the doctor’s position perilous and uncertain.

* * © The current laws provide no accurate criteria by

which the doctor can govern his actions.”

(3) For a vivid illustration of the variations among California

hospitals in assessing the legality of therapeutic abortion on

—

57

A final observation, however, should be that even the

more prominent opponents of abortion reform acknowl-

edged this statutory uncertainty. Father John T. Noonan,

Jr., criticized the A.L.I. proposal’s “physical or mental

‘health’” terminology because “[t]here is nothing in the

statute which would aid the physician in making the de-

termination.” Louisell & Noonan, Constitutional Balance,

in THE Moratity or Asortion 249 (Noonan ed. 1970). An

earlier article by Professor Louisell stated: “ ‘Mental

a given set of facts, see the questionnaire study and analysis

of results in Packer & Gampell, Therapeutic Abortion: A

Problem in Law and Medicine, 11 Stan. L. Rev. 417, 423

(1959). The study is discussed and relied on in California

v. Belous, 71 Cal.2d 954, 972, 458 P.2d 194, 205, 80 Cal.

Rptr. 354, 365 (1969).

(4) White, Induced Abortions: A Survey of their Psychiatric

Implications, Complications, and Indications, 24 Tex. REPs.

or Biotocy & MepicinE 531, 541 (1966) :

“(T]he enormous variability in the frequency of thera-

peutic abortions from one hospital to another . . . must

surely reflect, more than anything else, differences in the

personal values, religious beliefs, and social ideology of

the staffs of the respective hospitals about the matter of

abortion.”

(5) R. H. Scuwarz, Septic Aportion 11 (1968) :

“The legal status of abortion varies not only throughout

the world but from state to state. Interpretation and

enforcement differ from community to community; pro-

fessional assessment varies from hospital to hospital, and

from physician to physician.”

(6) Group FoR THE ADVANCEMENT OF PSYCHIATRY, THE RiGgHT

ro ABoRTION: A Psycuiatric View 40 (Comm. on Law &

Psychiatry, 1970) :

“(T]he rate of therapeutic abortion varies dramatically

from hospital to hospital within a state, even though all

are supposedly governed by the same statutes.”

(7) Russell & Jackson, Therapeutic Abortions in California, 105

Am. J. Osst. & Gyn. 757, 762, 765 (1969) :

“It is obvious that there exists wide variability in the appli-

cation of the [statute]... . Variation exists from com-

58

health of the mother’ is particularly nebulous and suscep.

tible to subjective value judgments.” Louisell, Abortion,

the Practice of Medicine and the Due Process of Law, 16

U.C.L.A.L. Rev. 233, 252 n. 83 (1969). Opponents of re.

form in North Carolina “attacked the vagueness of such

munity to community, and from hospital to hospital within

the same community.

Many factors have contributed to this state of affairs.

Some of these are:

“1. A certain vagueness in what is intended, legisla-

tively speaking, by ‘mental’ and ‘physical’ health. * *

[T]he definition of mental health is one of the most vague

parts of an often vague piece of legislation.”

(8) Droegemueller, Taylor & Drose, The First Year of Experi-

ence in Colorado With the New Abortion Law, 103 Am. J.

Osst. & Gyn. 694, 697 (1969) :

“There is a great deal of variation in the interpretation of

psychiatric indications. .. .

“The hospitals in the small and medium-sized towns are

performing very few therapeutic abortions.”

In addition to the above authorities, who stress variations from

place-to-place and person-to-person, much research and analysis

has examined some of the many reasons why physicians and

psychiatrists have difficulty with the statutes, including specific

aspects of confusion:

(9) Ryan, Humane Abortion Laws and the Health Needs of

Society, 17 W. Res. L. Rev. 424, 431 (1965) :

“Distinctions between physical and mental health are mean-

ingless in terms of modern medical thinking. Health can-

not be divorced from socio-economic factors which in-

fluence people’s lives since health is a product of these

conditions.”

(10) White, supra no. (4), at 532:

“[T]here are no generally accepted policies, little or no

systematically gathered data, and remarkably few well

and objectively substantiated points of view among psy-

chiatrists about ‘legally’ or ‘illegally’ induced abortions.”

(11) Pike, Therapeutic Abortion and Mental Health, 111 Caur.

MEp. 318, 319 (Oct. 1969).

“One of the controversial aspects of the situation is the

undeniable effect of sociological factors on an individual’s

terms as... ‘substantial risk,’ ‘gravely impair,’ ‘grave

physical or mental defect’ and urged greater precision.

_.” Jain & Sinding, North Carolina Abortion Law 1967,

at 29 (Carolina Pop. Center 1968).

Further factors in the implementation of Georgia’s law

increase its irregular impact. The problem of construing

mental health. The stress and consequences of an unwanted

pregnancy as they affect mental health must be determined

for an individual patient, taking into consideration her

total life situation. Factors such as marital status, family

support, economic conditions, subcultural attitudes toward

the pregnancy, and personality structure all contribute

toward her ability to maintain and complete her preg-

nancy without damage to her mental functioning.

The new law requires physicians to make judgments

that are difficult to make, impossible to prove and of

crucial importance to the patient’s welfare and the welfare

of those dependent on her and intimately involved with

her.

(12) Sir Dugald Baird, The Obstetrician and Society, 60 Am. J.

Pusiic HEALTH 628, 635 (1970).

“[E]ven in a basically stable woman, emotional health and

subsequently physical health can be undermined by ad-

verse social conditions: for example, substandard housing,

overcrowding, illness in other children, elderly or bet-

ridden parents, alcoholic husband, and economic. necessity

for the mother to work outside the home.”

(13) Thompson, Cowen & Berris, Therapeutic Abortion: A Two-

Year rer in One Hospital, 213 J.A.M.A. 991, 994

(1970) :

“Psychiatric and socioeconomic problems are so intertwined

that it is difficult for the Therapeutic Abortion Board to

extract the relevant data in order to make a just and

an lawful decision. ... . In light of the previously stated vague-

ness of the law, the evaluation of the patient for psychi-

atric indications has been one of our major problems.”

(14) Moyers, Abortion Laws: A Study in Social Change, 7 San

Diego L. Rev. 237, 241 (1970) :

“Although some hospitals in the state have done away with

the requirement, most committees still require. Raa Hos

consultation when a request for abortion is presented or.

this [mental health] ground.”

a

—

60

“health” rests not solely with her personal physician. Two

additional examining physicians are required by the statute.

Moreover, any conclusion reached bv the first three physi-

cians may be overturned by the hospital committee possibly

composed of yet three more physicians, at a minimum. All

of the uncertainties set out above are multiplied at this

stage by the further examining and committee physicians.

Putting to one side the extraordinary waste of highly

skilled professional time consumed by this cumbersome

ritual, the multiple physician evaluation has a common

denominator effect. This is a particular problem in Georgia

because “(maternal mental health indications are more re-

strictively detiaed by the medical community in Georgia

than in other states with similar laws.” Rochat, ct al.,

An Epidemiological Analysis of Abortion in Georgia, 61

Am. J. Pustac Heaurn 543, 551 (1971).

The victim of this confusion is the patient, the very

individual whose health interests should be of prime con-

cern. Throughout the literature on discriminatory imple-

mentation of abortion laws, mention of her is slight or non-

existent. Under the statutory language, her health interests

are penultimate. In practice, her interests are secondary to

state and county lines, hospital quotas, professional dis-

putes among schools of psychiatric philosophy, and a host

of sub-conscious motivating factors present in the indi-

viduals who stand between her and her private physician.

In short, to obtain a medical abortion in Georgia and simi-

lar states, a patient must find physician A, sympathetic

examining colleagues B and C, cooperative JCAH-accred-

ited hospital D, in county E, a sympathetic committee of

physicians F, G, and H at the hospital, and personal

patience of an exceptional variety.

_ ems Bs

61

2. Widespread discrimination on the basis of a patient's

place of abode has resulted from the statute and its

uneven administration

None of the barriers described above stand between a

physician and patient with respect to any other medical

procedure, not even organ transplants or brain surgery.

It is no statistical aberration that 67% of the Georgia

residents who obtained legal medical abortions between

July and December, 1970, did so in another state. ApPEN-

pix B, Figure 1-2, infra, at B-5, 6. A total of 838 Georgia

residents obtained legal abortions in New York City alone as

of March 31, 1971. Chase, Abortions to Out-of-State Resi-

dents (June 29, 1971) (report released by Health Services

Administration, City of New York). The figure of 838

for nine months extrapolates to 1,117 for twelve months.

This compares with the 1968-1970 in-state Georgia total

of 939 legal abortions, for almost three full years (April

12, 1968 to December 31, 1970; 2.72 years), or 1,035 for

three years as extrapolated. In short, New York City

physicians provided legal medical abortions for more

Georgia residents in one year than Georgia itself has

permitted in three years.

Abortion may be a recent subject insofar as litigation is

concerned, but the data presented here reveal the same

‘kinds of discriminations dealt with forcefully in the past

by this Court. One need only review a few of the decisions

on jury selection," voting rights, and legislative mal-

apportionment. In every area wherein the rights of any

81 F.g., Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965).

2 F.g., Harper v. Virginia Board of Elections, 383 U.S. 663

1966).

83 F.g, Gray v. Sanders, 372 U.S. 363 (1963) ; Reynolds v. Sims,

377 U.S. 533 (1964)..

62

American citizen are abridged for arbitrary reasons,

“figures speak and when they do, Courts listen... .”

Brooks v. Beto, 366 F.2d 1, 9 (5th Cir. 1966). This has

increasingly been the case with respect to important

personal needs, particularly where the State exercises

monopolistic control over access to the means to vindicate

the need. E.g., Boodie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371 (1971);

Hawkins v. Town of Shaw, Mississippi, 437 F.2d 1286 (5th

Cir. 1971).

Data on the availability and distribution of legal medical

abortion in Georgia and other A.L.I. states reveal an

arbitrary and discriminatory pattern inherent in the

statutes themselves. This has been the studied concensus

of proponents and opponents of abortion reform alike, and

is verified by available data.

Tables I-2, IIl-A & III-A, supplemented by Figures

TI-A-1 & II-A-2, Aprenpix B, infra, at B-5, 6, et seq., shows

the numbers of legal abortions.by county in Georgia, and the

distribution within the state.

Georgia is a state with 159 counties. However, only 56

counties have a JCAH-accredited hospital, while 103

(65%) do not. Although only 38% (5/13) of the metro-

politan counties’ lack JCAH-accredited facilities, a full

67% (98/146) of rural counties are without facilities

authorized to do legal abortions. Even more significant is

the fact that 96% (153/159) of Georgia’s counties had 10

or fewer legal abortions in the most recent year, 1970.

54% of the metropolitan counties had fewer than 10 legal

8 The standard definition of “metropolitan county” is one con-

taining at least one city of 50,000 or more inhabitants, or a county

integrated with such a city in a neighboring county. Figures are

based or the 1960 census data. See I U.S. Bureau of the Census,

Census ef Population ch. A saa

_ <a

63

abortions in 1970, but a full 100% of the rural counties

had fewer than 10. Of the 150 Georgia hospitals which are

licensed by the State, 79 (53%) are not JCAH-accredited,

and-accordingly not permitted to perform legal abortions.

71 of these 79 are in non-metropolitan counties.

Data from the other A.L.I. states, where available, have

been included in the additional tables and charts which

make up Appendix B to this brief. These show a com-

parable state of affairs in other jurisdictions which are

operating under the Model Penal Code-type statute. See

Aprenpix B, esp. Table 1-2, infra, at B-5, 6.

The ratio of legal abortions to births, which is a rough

measure of the availability of abortion, varied from a 4.0

low in Georgia to a 194.2 high in California, although both

have essentially the same statute.

The percentages of counties in A.L.I. states wherein

fewer than 10 legal abortions were performed in 1970

exceeded 50% in eight of the ten states for which data

were available: Georgia (96%), South Carolina (85%),

North Carolina (79%), Virginia (91%), Maryland (68%),

Colorado (86%), New Mexico (78%), and Oregon (53%).

These figures point to a systematic pattern of dis-

crimination. In practice the A.L.I. statute excludes an

extraordinarily disproportionate number of: (1) rural

patients; (2) patients lacking sufficient access to any

family planning measures at all, and funds for a legal

medical abortion when needed; (3) patients lacking access

to the few hospitals and physicians who are most sympa-

thetic to legal abortion; (4) black patients who, as a class,

are more economically deprived in Georgia, for example,

a

64

and account there for 88% of the non-medical abortion

deaths (1965 to date). Rochat, et al., An Epidemiological

Analysis of Abortion in Georgia, 61 Am. J. Pusric Heaura

543 (1971).

As to these classes of patients, their entitlement to

scrupulous judicial scrutiny of the statute’s effects is

particularly well-established. Not only do they suffer in

the inability to exercise the fundamental personal rights

described previously, but they are also denied access to

medical abortion on grounds of: (1) place of residence;

(2) financial status; (3) lack of information; and (4)

race.* As physicians, Amici contend that such factors

should have no bearing upon an individual’s entitlement

to medical care.

Discrimination against persons on the basis of place of

residence has been uniformly condemned, provided that

factor had no relevance to the person’s status in relation

to the particular law. The medical data in this case show

vast disparities in access to medical care from county-to-

county and hospital-to-hospital. Patients are thé victims

of this disparity. In the same way that “white children”

had “accredited schools” in Prince Edward County,

Griffin v. County School Board, 377 U.S. 218, 230 (1964)

(Black, J.), white, urban, and affluent patients have access

to JCAH-accredited medical facilities in urban Georgia.

The State imposes the JCAH requirement, forbids rural

non-JCAH hospitals to offer this single medical procedure,

and permits even the JCAH general community hospital

‘governing boards to forbid entirely the medical procedure

of abortion.

55 Other arbitrary classifications in the statute are examined

“infra, such as the structures on medical justifications for abortion,

the limitation to JCAH-accredited hospitals, and the requirement

of residency.

—

65

In Griffin and the reapportionment cases this Court held

that persons “cannot be classified, constitutionally, on the

pasis of where they live... .” Reynolds v. Sims, 377 US.

533, 560 (1964). The cumulative effect of the restrictions

on medical abortion in Georgia, however, accomplishes this

forbidden result. By statute Georgia creates the obstacles

which inherently work to the disfavor of rural physicians

and their patients.** While it is commendable that at least

this discrimination may not have been foreseen, or

‘In light of the fact that the rural counties in Georgia have

81% of the State’s hospitals, and account for 42% of births, it

cannot be maintained that the rural discrimination results from

lack of facilities, or. other special rural characteristics.

Discrimination based on location within the state has frequently

been held to violate the Equal Protection clause. See, ¢.g., Avery

vy, Midland County, 390 U.S. 474, 480 (1967) (White, J.) :

“A city, town, or county may no more deny the equal protection

of the laws than it may abridge freedom of speech. . . .”

Hawkins v. Town of Shaw, Mississippi, 4837 F.2d 1286, 1292

(5th Cir. 1971) :

“IN]o compelling state interests can possibly justify the dis-

criminatory results of Shaw’s administration of municipal ser-

vices... .” (Emphasis in original.)

Long v. Robinson, 316 F. Supp. 22, 27 (D. Md. 1970), aff’d, 436

F.2d 1116 (4th Cir. 1971) :

“[T]here is no psychological or physical basis for distinguish-

ing between sixteen and seventeen year olds residing in Balti-

more Citf and in the Counties.”

Sams v. Mhio Valley General Hospital Ass’n, 413 F.2d 826, 827

(4th Cir. 1969) :

“[Wl]ithout semblance of reason for the differentiation, these

hospitals accord full participation to doctors with offices and.

practices within Ohio County but refuse the same éntitlement

to those not so classifiable.” (Emphasis added.) f

Clayton v. North Carolina State Bd. of Elections, 317 F. Supp

915, 920 (E.D.N.C. 1970) :

“TN]o evidence has been adduced to show why the siz counties

should be treated differently from the other ninety-four with

66

“thoughtless,” the lack of overt invidious intent is of

little consolation to the poverty-stricken rural mother of

- ten who is facing her eleventh pregnancy. The Constitution

forbids “sophisticated as well as simple-minded modes of

discrimination. It hits onerous procedural requirements

which effectively handicap exercise -of the [right in

question]... .” Lane v. Wilson, 307 U.S. 268, 275 (1939)

(Frankfurter, J.). >

respect to the distance from the polling place at which elec-

tioneering may lawfully be conducted.” (Emphasis added.)

Orr v. Thorp, 308 F. Supp. 1369, 1372 (S.D. Fla. 1969) :

“TD]efendants have made no effort to demonstrate that Palm

Beach County is in any way unique so as to justify placing

its educational employees in a class apart from those of other

Florida counties.”

Richards v. Townsend, 303 F. Supp. 793, 795 (N.D. Calif. 1969): .

“The equal protection clause applies not only to unreasoned

- distinctions based on race or relative affluence, but also to those

based on accidents of geography.”

- Alabama State Teachers Ass’n v. Lowndes County Bd. of Educa-

tion, 289 F. Supp. 300, 304-05 (M.D. Ala. 1968) :

“,. Alabama denied the benefits of the teacher tenure law to

eight counties which, with one exception, are amon

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Amicus Curiae Brief — Roe v. Wade · 410 U.S. 113 | Frix