Amicus Curiae Brief — Roe v. Wade

Supreme Court brief1973

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

he NOS 70 - 18 and 70 = 40

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

: "OCTOBER TERM, 1971

JANE ROE, et al.,

Appellants

VS.

HENRY WADE,

Appellee,

and

MARY DOE, et al.,

Appellants

VS.

:

:

:

ARTHUR K. BOLTON,

Appellee

MOTION FOR PERMISSION TO FILE BRIEF

AMICUS CURIAE AND TO PARTICIPATE IN

ORAL ARGUMENT ON BEHALF OF NEW

| -~WOMEN LAWYERS,WOMEN'S HEALTH AND

: ABORTION PROJECT, INC., and WOMEN'S

NATIONAL ABORTION ACTION COALITION

MOTION FOR PERMISSION TO FILE BRIEF

AMICUS CURIAE AND TO PARTICIPATE IN

ORAL ARGUMENT,

Amici, the New Women Lawyers, the Women's

Health and Abortion Project, Inc. and the Women's

ational Abortion Action Coalition, by their under-

d counsel hereby move this Court for permis-

ion to file the annexed Brief Amicus Curiae in the

poveecaptioned cases and to participate in oral ar-

ment.

Amici have requested permission of the at-

orneys Tor the parties to file the annexed brief

but have not yet received responses from all of them,

Amici have set forth the reasons why they

ek to Tile a brief amicus curiae and why they feel

heir brief would be of special assistance to the

ourt in the statement of interest, accompanying their

otion, Amici believe they have raised aspects of the

onstitutional issues before this court hitherto un-

xplored by the parties.

Any decision by this Court in the two

ases before it will deeply affect the lives of more

han half the citizens of this country. Amici are

ware that this Court has treated limited aspects of

he question of abortion before and recognize the com-

petence of the counsel in the above-captioned cases.

onetheless, given the gravity of the question of a

oman's right to abortion, aspects of which are being

aised de novo before this Court, and given the fact

hat some decisions of this Court have turned on ar-

puments raised by an amicus curiae, amici believe

heir participation in oral argument would be of as-

istance to this Court in determining the sensitive

nd complex issues before it.

Therefore amici respectfully urge this Court

0 grant their motion and permit them to file the re-

quested brief amicus and participate in the oral ar-

pument of the cases of Roe v. Wade and Doe v. Bolton.

@-1e

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy Stearns

c/o Center for Consti-

tutional Rights

588 Ninth Avenue

New York, New York

100 36

NOS. 70-18 and 70-40

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1971

JANE ROE, et al.,

V8.

HENRY WADE,

and

MARY DOE, et at.,

VB

ARTHUR K. BOLTON,

Appellants

Appellee,

Appellants

Appellee.

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE ON BEHALF OF NEW

WOMEN LAWYERS, WOMEN'S HEALTH AND

ABORTION PROJECT, INC., NATIONAL

ABORTION ACTION COALITION

NANCY STEARNS

c/o Center for Constitu-

tional Rights

588 Ninth Avenue

New York, New York 10036

INDEX

STATEMENT OF INTEREST -----------------

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ---- ae

I.

II.

III.

IV.

V.

THE GEORGIA AND TEXAS STATUTES

RESTRICTING THE AVAILABILITY OF

ABORTION VIOLATE THE MOST BASIC

RIGHTS OF WOMEN TO LIFE, LIBERTY

AND PROPERTY GUARANTEED BY THE

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT TO THE

CONSTITUTION --------------------

A. The Right to Life -----------

B. The Right to Liberty --------

THE GEORGIA AND TEXAS STATUTES

RESTRICTING THE AVAILABILITY

OF ABORTIONS DENY WOMEN THE

EQUAL PROTECTION OF THE LAWS

GUARANTEED TO THEM BY THE

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT won --------

te,

ABORTION LAWS VIOLATE THE

CONSTITUTIONAL GUARANTEE

AGAINST THE IMPOSITION OF

CRUEL AND UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT ----

THERE IS NO COMPELLING STATE

INTEREST JUSTIFYING THE VIO-

LATION OF FUNDAMENTAL CONSTI-

TUTIONAL RIGHTS EFFECTED BY

THE CHALLENGED ABORTION LAWS ----

YOUNGER v. HARRIS DOES NOT

IMPAIR OR LESSEN THE JURIS-

DICTION, POWER OR RESPONSI-

BILITY OF THIS COURT TO GRANT

THE RELIEF REQUESTED a

CONCLUSION -----------~~----~~----------

10

14

25

34

aa

57

60

CASES CITED

Aberle v. Markel, Civ. Action

1 (D.Conn. Conn., May 14, 1971) ----

Abramowicz v. Lefkowitz, 67 Civ.

~-D.N.Y.) == yo

Abromowitz v. Kugler, 431-1970

Adams v. American Fastener Co.,

onn. Supp. 379 (1939) -----------

Allgeyer v. State of Louisiana,

ioe as. 578 (1897) ---------..-..-

Babbitz v. McCann, 310 F.Supp.

.D.Wise., 1970), remanded

400 U.S. 1 (1971) ------- eae,

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186

(1962) -------------~--------------

Bates v. City of Little Rock,

~~ 361 u.S. 516 (1960) ---------------

Beaver v. State, 256 S.W. 929

“(Cr .App.Tex., 1923) ---------------

Bey a v. Landry, e S.Ct. 958

> A cnquartnnsieaeninpenSbibabdihenthinilidntpihen enn ailicanip

Breen v. Kahl, 296 F.Supp. 702

(W.D.Wisc., 1969), aff'd 419

F.2d 1034 (7th Cir., 1969) --------

Brown v. Board of Education,

347 U.S. 483 (1958) ----- penanenendimnunaodiis

wtie

Cases Cited (Cont'd)

rnia v. Belous, 80 Cal.

2-48 ( cert denied,

97 U.S. 915 (1970). en enwianaiesenanenticaseninen

lifornia v. Robb #14 ,005

un.ct. Orange Co., Cal.,

anuary 9, 1970) -----------------

ani v. Danaher, 13 Conn.Sup.

feelin. , 1943) +---=--+--------

911 v.Skloff, 415 Pa. 47,

U A.2d 9 F2964) Se Oe we ee ew ee ee

ty of New York v. Wyman,

aw Journa ay 19,

hen v. Chesterfield County

hool Board, Civ. Action

R (E.D.Va., May 17,

> vy. Dunbar, Civ. Action

BME (0, 0010.) meencennendencee

ev. Scott, Civ. Action

0 ; 395 (E. D.Ill., January 29,

971) -----------------—--- -

uglas v. California, 372 U.S.

963) <2 een een wen ne

rham v. Pulsiter, 312 F.Supp.

! D.Vt., 1970) eR Se SP SS he Se ah as eee

-iii-

—h Gena Gepe, seedle Gee 4 Oe eee oo

19

48

18 ,26,27-8

45

25

16

Cases Cited (Cont'd)

Dyson v. Stein, 91 S.Ct. 769 (1971) ---- *.

Endresz v. Friedberg, 24 N.Y.2d

U78, 301 N. 7 . 5 (1969) See 222 22e2ee

Everson v. Board of Education,

eSe 1 BP OOOO OOOO O2OOEODO2OEO

Ex Parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 -=----

Fletcher v. State, 362 S.W.2d 845

(Cr. App-Tex., 1962) -------------------

Graf v. Taggart, 43 N.J. 303,

“S08 Ao Tt0 Ti96h) —------~-----------

Grape v. Brown, 231 So.2d 663

~App.La., 1970) --------------------

Gomillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S.

339 (1960)

Griffin v. Tatum, 300 F.Supp. 60

(M.D-Ala., 1909) ---------------------=

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S.

"79 (1965)

Br EGS ren. acca

Hargrove v. Ltoyss Casuarit reese

° ew York > e sau =e Lteeows een

-iv-

- Cases Cited (Cont'd)

iemans v. United States , 163

F.ca 228 (6th Cir, 19 7) we re 38

lernandez v. Texas, 347 U.S. 475 Ate

91 s.ct. 1656 (1971) sacarenuonnuena net as 2

jome of Holy Infancy v. Kaska

. . ex., 1565) — “Oe 29

mre Carl, 174 Misc. 955, 22

V.¥.S.cd 782 (Dom.Rel., 1940) ---- 39

iodgson v. Randall, 7 Cr.L. 2186

an

in re Roe, 92 N.Y.S.2d 882, 883,

196 Misc. 830 (Dom.Rel.Ct.,

lanello v. Administrator Unem-

loyment Compensation Act, 178

wer 202, O35 conn.sup. 155

(Conin., 1961) -qa----------------= 18

fennan v. Nichol, 71-C-118

TW.D.Wise.) ---------------------- 2

feyes v. Construction Service,

HO Mass. 633, 165 NE.2d O12

(1960) qnncnnnnn nn nnnnnnnn nnn nn = 48

and Visitors

of Virginia,

-D.Va.,; 0)---

91 S.Ct. 1017

of Education, Civ. Action

-D.Ohio, May 27,

oa-_ 6¢ oe oe ean ete oo ee © 45e@ «

Cases Cited (Cont'd)

Lane v. Phillips, 6 S.W.2a 208

(Tex., 1965) -------------------=--

Lenz v. Admistrator Un loyment

Compensation Act, 16 Conn. sare.

482 (Super. Ct., 1951) ------------

Lukienchuk v. Administrator Unem-

loyment Compensation Act, 176 a

wer 892, 23 Conn.supp. 55 (Supp. “id

Cte, 1961) ---- ae

Madera v. Board of Education of

the City of New York, 3060 F.2d ise

778 (ea Cir., 1967) pe

Mengelkoch v. Industrial Welfare me)

Commission, 437 F.cd 563 (9th

Cir., 1971) ----------------------- z.

Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 74

3) eae enn nn nnn anna nna a

2

Mississippi Employment Securit

Soenteetee Vv. eorts > 148 So. 2a

ss., 19 - ¥

Muller v. Oregon, 208 U.S. 412 q

Norman v. Murphy, 124 Cal.App.2d '

“32 768 P.2a 178 (Dis.ct.App.» :

195 = ------

-vi-

Cases Cited (Cont'd)

ple v. Edwards, 42 Misc.2d

BO, 249 N.Y.S.cd 325 (1964) ---- 29

ple vy. Robb, #149005 and

E9061, Munic.Ct. Orange Co.,

1. (January 9, 1970) ---------- 2,56

Jman v. United States, 247

. (1915) SS See Sows eee eoeere 58

y vy. Grenada Municipal

pparate Schoo strict, 300

Upp» : N.D.F 88., 1969) senedtmedeewst el

llips v. Martin Marietta,

Feed 1 (5t P.j ;

manded, 91 S.Ct. 496 (1971) --- 20,28,30

) een nnn nnn nnn = 45

vy. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961)- 15

ers v. City of Tro 4 Mich.

>. 72, Tie N.W.2a~ 2a 418 (1966) -- 48

chenberg v. Nelson, 310 F.

pp. 40 (D.Nebr. . 1970) spies ugh ecg tpane eget 16

I Acer: = EBC a RE LO 31

a 0: 2 SS A 54

Cases Cited (Cont 'd)

Vv. 370 iia

3. seep "

v. Wade, 324 F.Supp. 1217 a

rb. ;, 1970

) jurisdiction 23

noted, 91 8.Ct. 1610 (1971) ------ 8

8 v. Civ Action *

‘ 3eonr (We tise.) 2

Rosen v. Louis State Board of ost

“Wedic popee sane 310 F.Supp. 3

Set ‘er Inn v. Kirby, #29811

Ct. ‘ff. 27, 1971) -----

eres v. Texas Employment

ssion, Civ. aston

No. A-70-Ca-75 (W.D.Tex.,

February 25, 1971 and April 16,

1971) aie

Seidenberg v. McSorely's Old Ale a

ouse, inc., 317 F.Supp. 593 “4

970) -—- ~ --- z.)

>

eDeMelkeos &

Shapers v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618

Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535

met: ya)

Smith v. Hill, 285 F.Supp. 556

“TD.N.C., 1908) ers

ogg

Cases Cited (Cont'd)

Page

ith v. Texas, 233 U.S. 630 (1914) -- 14

ith v- Peters, 339 U.S. 276 (1950)-- 45

th Dakota v. Munson, Circuit

ngton Cty. (S.D.

fil 20, 1070) --------------------- 2,18,55

ite v. Hunter, 300 P.2d 445,

W ore. o8c (Ore., 1956) ----------- 31

sinberg v. Rhodes, C-70-289

-p.Ohio

oon oars er Zz.

rahashi v. Fish and Game

mmission, 334 U.S. 410 (1945) ----- 25

ype v. Housi Authority, 393

(OOS, ot recount 23

p v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86 (1958)---- 36,42,43

man v. Ullman, 151 A.D. 419,

5 N.Y.S. 80 (1912) =---- 39

ited States ex rel. Robinson v.

wk, O01 F.Supp. 6 (D.Conn.,

08} --------~---~------------------ 25

ited States v. Vuitch,

5 F.Supp. 1032 (D.D.C., 1969)

wersed on other grounds 91 S.Ct.

94 (1971) ----------------- 8

\singham v. Florida, Case No. 40,210

aaa A., duly 42; 2971); 26-1 2,8-9,2!

35, >

et passim

ms v. United States, 217 U.S.

IY (1910) iii caantneni aon cskpiesansintieaietnei 35,36,40,

2

Cases Cited (Con

Westley v. Rossi, 305 F.Supp.

6 .Minn., 1969)

White v. Crook, 251 F.Supp. 401

(M.D.Ala. > 1566) aad

Women of Rhode Island v. Israel,

Ve ' c on TR.1. )------

Yick Wo v. Hopkins 118 U.S.

“356 (1886)

Yo ) er v. Harris, 91 S.Ct. 746

Zwickler v. Koota, 381 U.S.

AUTHORITIES CITED

American Women: Report of the

President's Commission on the

Status of Women, 1963 ----------

Cisler "Unfinished Business:

Birth Control and Women's

Liberation," Sisterhood is

Powerful, ed. Robin Morgan,

om House, 1970 ---

"Competitive Problems in the

‘Drug Industry", Subcommittee

on Monopoly of Senate Select

Committee on Small Business,

9lst Cong. 2nd Sess. <«<<--<----"

-X=-

CARY ROLIND T00 CLOSE IN CENTER

Authorities Cited (Cont 'd)

Robert F., S-J-, "The

vality of Abortion Laws,"

, Rabbi David M., Birth

pntrol in Jewish Law, New

iniversity Press, 1967)-----

, Ernest, A Special Report:

irth Control, Time-Life Inc.,

yw York (1967): seee-eesenn nnn

ifer, The Battered Child,

niversity of Chicago Press

as, Roy, "Federal Constitu-

4onal Limitations of the En-

orcement and Administration

¢ State Abortion Statutes,

v N.C.L. Rev. 732 (June

968) ---------- wee ee ee ee een

ns, Cyril C., Jr-, "The Law

New York Concerning Abortion

nd the Status of the Fetus

664-68: A Case of Cessation of

onstitutionality, *; N.Y ial é

ore, Emily, Induced Abortion

nd Contraception, Workshop of

Development and National

stitute of Mental Health,

BLEED THROUGH

1P. '68 ------------------------

ational ins ute of Child Health

ber 15-16, 1969, p. 12 -------

Page

51

52,53

21

11

39

by, 52

qu

44 49,52

13

Authorities Cited (Cont'a)

New York Times, "Compromise Warning

Soe en Pill Announced," April 8,

19 --

New York Times, "Warning on Pill

Drafted by F.D.A." March 5, 1970 ---

Pratt, Rappaport & Barlow, Arch.

Gen. Psychiat. 20:408-414 (1969) ---

Rosen, Harold, M.D. “Psychiatric

Implications of Abortion,” A Case

Study of Social Hypocrisy, 17 Wes.

R.L. Rev. 454 -

Schulder & Kennedy, Abortion Rap,

McGraw Hill, 1971 ------------------

Sinclair, Andrew, The Emancipation

of the American Woman, per

Colophon Books, New York (1966) ----

Studies in Family Planning, 34:6-8

September 1969, Population Council,

New York os ll

Study of Employment of Women in

Federal Government, 1968; U.S.

Civil Service Commission, Man-

power Statistic Division,

Washington, D.C. “=

Tietze, Dr. Christopher, Legal

Abortion in Eastern Europe,

J.A.M.A., 175:1149 (1961) April ----

Victo How Women Won It, National

iaarteas Women Suffrage Associa-

tion, A Centennial Symposiun,

1840-1940, H.W. Wilson Co., 1940 ---

-xii-

4)

22

2,

)

2

STATUTES CITED

Page

Georgia Code Annotated 8 26-1201

et seq. a 3

Tex,Penal Code Articles

1191, 1192, 1193, 1194 & 1196 --- 3

-xtii-

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

During the past two years the question of the

onstitutionality of abortion laws - of the right of

to control her own body and life - has become

e of the most burning issues for women throughout

ne country. As women have become aware of the myriad

yels of unconstitutional discrimination they face

aily, they have become most acutely aware of the pri-

sry role which restrictions on abortions plays in

hat discrimination. As a result, women throughout

he country have become determined to free themselves

the crippling and unconstitutional restrictions on

weir lives. As a major part of their efforts, thou-

ands of women have sought and continue to seek the

4g of federal and state courts in their challenges

» abortion statutes. In New York State, more than

hundred persons, primarily women sued to have

neir state laws declared unconstituional. Abramo-

ez v. Lefkowitz, 69 Civ. 4469 (S.D.N.Y.), dismissed

3 moot on July 1, 1970 when the New York State Sta-

te went into effect permitting the performance of

bortions up to twenty-four weeks of pregnancy. In

w Jersey more than one thousand women sought the aid

f the federal courts. Abromowitz v. Kugler, 431-1970

.N.J, argued in December, 1970, and awaiting de-

4sion. In Pennsylvania again well over one thousand

rsons, most of whom were women, similarly sought the

dof the court in Ryan v. Spector, 70-2527, E.D.Pa.

e also Connecticut, where women sued in Aberle

. Markel, Civ. Action #14291 D.Conn. (May 14, I97I),

ismissed, presently on appeal; and Rhode Island,

here over one hundred took similar action in Women of

hode Island v. Israel, Civ. Action #4605 (D.R.I.) in

hich a three judge court has been convened.*

These actions by women are only a portion of the

eeping challenges on the abortion laws of this coun-

ry which have taken place in the last two years. The

ollowing is a partial list of such challenges. Cali-

ornia v. Belous, 80 Cal. Rptr. 354 (1969), cert.

(footnote continued following page)

aia

Similar efforts to challenge the aborti¢

laws of their states are being developed by

in other states throughout the country. These “ae

women have sought the assistance of the federal |

courts because of the degree to which restric

on the availability of abortion have crippled

even destroyed their own lives and lives of many”

other women,

“a

The organizations listed below share the, ;

concern of these thousands of women who have soughi

the assistance of the courts. Each of the groups

has a particular concern to see that these unconsti.

tutional burdens and restrictions on a woman's life

be removed. aes

» + aie ‘go

The issues raised by the Texas and osoreins

cases presently before this Court are not local

is ied

Tin. continued from preceding page) fe

denied, 397 U.S. " (1970) ;. Porn: Robb, fay

and 159061, Muniec.Ct ib posure. . (Jan. 9, 1

Babbits v. 293 (E.D.Wisc., } in

remanded an'8-tee 1375 (1971); Kennan v. Nichol,

71-C-118 (W.D.Wise.); n "y. Randall, T Ores

L,2186, affirmed, 91 ° ° ( no0dgson RS

Minnesota, cert. denied, 41 S.Ct. 1655 (19 3 Doe”

Vv. Scott, Civ. Action #70 C 395 (E.D.I11.); Rosen

v. Lou: na S (ee Board of Medical Examiners, jig:

F.Supp. fing the constitutionaliy

of the soukeienn senkase , Cassibry, J., dissenting

Rogers v. Danforth, Civ. Action No. 18360-2 W.D,

ssed September 10, 1970; Stei v. Rhodes,

C-70-289, W.D.Ohio; Doe v. Dun v. Action —

#C-2402, D.Colo.; South Dakota v. "Munson, Cireuitl:

Ct., Pennington cty. 5.D., April 20, I970; a

rer). Florida, No. 40,210 (Sup . ct. Pla., Ju y

put national issues. The problems raised by restric-

tive abortion laws are problems of millions of preg-

nant women, *

Therefore, Amici have drawn on cases and

statutes throughout “thé country in order to aid this

Court in deeply and fully understanding the problem

pefore it.

The New Women Lawyers is an unincorporated

neabership association of women lawyers and law

students in the New York City area.

Amongst its purposes is to work through the

courts to redress the discrimination and oppression

yhich women face under the law.

As women lawyers and law students amici are

poth members of the class whose interests are before

this Court and advocates for that class. Therefore,

amici have special insight into the problems and

Tisues presented in the two abortion cases which may

be of assistance to the Court.

The Women's Health and Abortion Project, Inc.,

is a non-profit corporation in the State of New York

which grew out of the challenge to the constitution-

ality of the former New York abortion statute.

Amongst the purposes of the Project is to counsel, and

provide information to women concerning family

planning and abortionwithout fee. Since the liberal-

ised New York abortion law went into effect on July l,

* There are three basic types of laws used though--

out the United States to prevent the performance of

abortion, laws permitting the performance of abor-

tion, a) only when necessary to save the life of

the woman, b) when necessary to preserve her life and

health and c) the "reform type law which permits

abortion for reasons of life and health, as well as

when the fetus resulted from rape, incest or when

(fn. continues on next page)

=§-

.1970,: the Project has counselled thousands /ogm)

desperate women.from across the country. who.é

to New York seeking abortions. The women's He

and Abortion Project therefore has particular 7»

eT ay for.and understanding of the problems gp

women in need of abortion and is particularly.

concerned with the infringement of women's right

by laws such as those of Georgia and Texas ‘res:

stricting the availability of abortion to we

The Women's National Abortion Action ..

Coalition is a coalition of women's groups and ~

individual women throughout the country who have.

united in efforts to eliminate. all abortion re

Many: of the individual women within the Coali-: i

tion are plaintiffs in class action litigation;;

challenging the constitutionality of the abortign

laws of their own states. Many others work with

pregnancy counseling groups and are members of ;..

women's groups whose prime concern is the elimin.

tion of diacrininatory laws such as ' abortion tm.

Therefore, the Coalition is particularly

concerned about the issues presented in the two

cases before this Court and well. suited to under.

stand and present to this Court, to the fullest,

extent, the tolls which these laws take on Cher

lives of women,

Amici believe that their special perspee-

tive on ti® Constitutional issues before this -

Court. will be of assistance to this Court in its

deliberations on one of today's most sensitive

issues -- an issue of overwhelming aay gsc to

Tin. continued from preceding page)

there is a likelihood of fetal deformity, oneis

In discussing the constitutional infirmities of

abortion laws, amici have not distinguished amongst

the different types of laws because regardless of

their wording their effect has all been the sane

-- to deny an abortion to nearly every woman who

wishes one.

-4.

more than 50% of the nation's population. Amici

have sought to present aspects ofthe issue in-

yolving the constitutional rights of women which

1 believe have not been treated by the parties

to this ye gn or by other amici such as the

manner in which the challenged Texas and Georgia

statutes deprive women of their rights to life,

liberty and the equal protection of the laws

ranteed by the Fourteenth Amendment and the

e to which they constitute cruel and usual

shment in violation of the Eighth Amendment

to the Constitution.

AmicL therefore, urge this Court to

accept their Brief Amicus in the hope that it

will be of assistance in unravelling the crucial

constitutional issues before this Court.

This is abrief in support of action

challenging the constitu fae lity of the abort

statutes of Georgia, Georgia Code Annotated § 2

1201 e A572 9); and Texas, Texas Penal

s 1192, 1193, 1194 and 1196. tm

Texas statute permits abortion only when nec

to preserve the life of the pregnant woman. '

the Georgia statute a woman may obtain an

only with the approval of a committee of doctos

where the abortion is necessary to preserve her

life or health, or when the pregnancy resulted.

from rape, or would result in a deformed ne

Amici have argued that both statutes are

void in that they violate the most basic consti

tional rights of women.

First, the Texas and Georgia statutes ani.

other statutes which restrict the availability of

abortion, deny to women their right to control ani

direct their lives and bodies as protected by the

Fourteenth Amendment's guarantees of life and

liberty. Amici have attempted to set corth ¢ for

this Court the manner in which the status of preg:

nancy and motherhood severely restricts the life

of a woman the way in which an unwanted pregnancy

can unalterably change and even destroy her life.

Amici have next shown that despite the fact

that both man and woman are responsible for any

pregnancy, it is the woman who bears the dispro-

portionate share of the de and cto bu de

and penalties of pregnantY, gnanty, “ehria oath

rearing. Thus, any statute which denies a come

the right to determine whether she will bear thos

burdens denies her the equal protection of the lm.

Carrying, giving birth to, and raising an

unwanted child can be one of the most painful and

longlasting punishments that a person can endure.

amici have argued that statutes which condemn wo-

pen to share their bodies with another organism

against their will, to be child breeders and

against their will, violate the Eighth

amendment 's proscription against cruel and unusual

punishment.

Finally, amici contend there is no con-

pelling state interest in forcing a woman to these

deprivations of her constitutional rights. For,

it is no longer possible to justify a ban on abor-

tions to protect a woman's health and such a ban

is a consitutionally unacceptable method to use to

establish a particular moral standard. Further-

more, the argument that the state must protect the

life of the fetus when examined closely is in

reality a codification of a particular religious

doctrine and therefore constitutionally insufficient.

In closing, amici have a that the doc-

trine of Younger v. Harris does not bar the Court

from aoc dae thie matter before it for in fact

Mary Doe in Doe v. Bolton and Jane Roe in Roe v.

Wade may not challenge the abortion statutes of

Georgia and Texas in state criminal proceedings as

envisioned in er and must turn to the Federal

Courts to safeguard their constitutional rights.

Z. THE GEORGIA AND TEXAS STATUTES RE- => |

STRICTING THE AVAILABILITY OF ABOR-- |

TION VIOLATE THE MOST BASIC RIGHTS :

OF WOMEN TO LIFE, LIBERTY AND PROj-

PERTY GUARANTEED BY THE FOURTEENTH . =

AMENDMENT TO THE CONSTITUTION. q

Under the Fourteenth Amendment to the

tution, no state shall "...deprive any -person of

liberty, or property without due process of law."

courts have not yet, however, begun to come to gr

with the fact that approximately one half of our is,

zenry is systematically being denied those guarantees.

of the Fourteenth Amendment. That is exactly © ag

the effect of the abortion laws of Texas and Ge

and nearly every other State in the United States,

Amici urge this Court not to shrink from redressin

the constitutional wrongs perpetrated on women,

—_

ts :

y x

5

For the first time, this Court has the.

tunity to give serious and full consideration to

degree to which laws such as those challenged

in denying women the control of their reproductive

violate their most basic constitukional rights. ©»

In the past two years, the Supreme Court.

the State of California, the United States Dist

Court for the District of Columbia below, and ‘the i

nicipal Court of Central Orange County, California,»

cognized that it is "the fundamental right of the wo-

man to choose whether to bear children..." Calif

v. Belous, 80 Cal. Rptr. 354, 359 (1969), Cert. Sa

397 U.S. 915 (1970). See also United States v.

305 F.Supp. 1032 (D.D.C., 19693 reversed on other

grounds, 91 S.Ct. 1294(1971); Roe v. Wade, 314 Supp.

1217 (N.D. Tex.,1970) jurisdiction noted, 91 S.Ct.16i!

(1971); Babbitz v. McCann, 310 F.Supp. 293 (E.D.Wise,

1970) remanded 400 U.S. 1 (1971); South Dakota —

v. Munson, 7th Jud'l District, Pennington Co., ScDak.

(1970); Doe v. Scott, #70 C 395 (N.D.I11.) Jan 29,

1971; California v. Robb, #140,005 Mun. Ct., Orange |

Co., Cal., Jan 9, 1970, and most recently, Walsinghar

-8—

Maes

=

porida, #40,210, Sup.Ct. Fla.,(July 12, 1971) which

<arned convictions of three men convicted of con-

to commit abortion and cast severe doubt on the

titutionality of the Florida statute,and City of

York v. ayn reported in full, New York Daw Jour-

fay 19; » invalidating state restrictions on

cade reimbursement for abortions. In Wyman, Justice

gel spoke of "... the fundamental nature of the

pt to terminate pregnancy" and stated that "a woman

The decision by a woran of whether and when

will bear children may be the most fundamental de-

on of her life because of its far-reaching signi-

nce, affecting almost every aspect of her life from

earliest days of her pregnancy. ‘

A. The Right to Life.

Persons seeking to uphold restrictive,

laws that the State has a compelling inteney

protect human life. Amici could not agree nae

But, we argue that the responsibility of the State

to persons who are living and that the State’ ry

maintain laws which effect the most serious iny,

of the constitutional rights of its citizens.:

From the very fact, as noted by the Calis

Supreme Court in Belous, that "childbirth involve

risk of death", California v. Bejous, 5 at °

should be most obvious that laws which force wo

bear every child she happens to conceive raises”

severe constitutional questions under the

Amendment. os

Nearly ten years ago a medical expert rey

that "the risk to life from an abortion, perfor

an experienced physician in a hospital on a health

woman in the first trimester of pregnancy is far

smaller than the risk ordinarily associated withp

nancy and childbirth. (Dr. Christopher Tietze

Abortion in Eastern Europe J.A.M.A. 175:1149 (1961

April). A recent study of the death rate from chi

birth in the United States revealed that there an

still 20 deaths per 100,000 pregnancies among Ane

women. Studies in Family Planning, 34:6-8 Septest

1969, ee teet ae Council, New York. The same s'

ported that the deatn rate due to legalized abort

performed in hospitals in Eastern Europe is 3 per}

000 pregnancies. And so, in the United States t

birth is nearly 7 times more dangerous thi

therapeutic abortion. ‘

Furthermore, if a woman truly believes #

should not continue an unwanted pregnancy and give

birth to and raise an unwanted child, she will nm

be deterred by the fact that an abortion in her ¢i

curmstances would be illegal. She will do this é@

spite the great hazards to her physical and mental

health -- and the great financial expense involvei

my ee

i ee ee ee eee a i ie

will do this even though she knows that under lo-

law she is performing a criminal act.

The very fact that legal abortion is unavail-

» for most women forces them into an additional ha-

4 to their health and life. Aware of the failure

of most contraceptives® and afraid of an acciden-

pregnancy which they will be unable to terminate,

ons of women daily expose themselves to the known

as yet unknown dangers of the pill®** even though

y would prefer notto.

mere is no such thing as a contraceptive device

*h is both 100% safe and 100% effective. Oral

septives, which have the highest degree of ef-

tiveness are the least safe. However, for a va-

ty of reasons, 15-28% of the women who use the pill

> taking it after two years. The interuterine de-

(I.U.D.) is not 100% effective though its fail-

pate has not yet been fully determined. However,

fate, 50% of the women who use the I.U.D. have it

pved within two years. Sheldon J. Segal, PhD,

tion Council, and Christopher Tietze, M.D. Pop-

on Council, "Contraceptive Technology, Current

Perfected Methods, Reports of Population Family

ming," issued by the Population Council and the

national Institute for the Study of Human Re-

tion, Columbia University, October, 1969, pp. 9

7.

he failure rate for the diaphragm is 12% (that is,

100 women using the diaphragm in a year, twelve

m will become sroweant The failure rate for the

is 14%. Ernest Havamann, Ed., Time-Life, Inc.

pecial Report: Birth Control, New York, 1967, p. 159.

Although there are not yet definitive conclusions

erning the dangers of oral contraceptives, their

tty and general effects on women are sufficiently

question to have warranted full-blown Senate hear-

by the Subcommittee on Monopoly of the Senate

ct Committee on Small Business which began in

(fn. continues on next page)

BLEED THR OUGH

The fear of accidental pregnancy is so great. ¢

even women who have medical histories that ing

cate that they should not take oral contrace

Tin. continued from preceding page)

January 1970, and continued in February and is

See “Competitive Problems in the Drug Industry.4

Subcommittee on Monopoly of Senate Select Commit

on Small Business, 9lst Cong. 2nd Sess. Al or "

there has been a conflict of medical and scienti-

fic opinion expressed at the hearings, the respe

of the government to the question seems to be

markedly casual in contrast with its swift actin,

on a somewhat related matter -- cyclamates. - It.

certainly leads women to believe that their gov

ment is less concerned with their health and

safety than with curbing population or with t

matters which also affect men. This concern on:

part of women was not eased when they observed th

action of the Food and Drug Administration with

respect to warnings about possible dangers of birt

control pills. Following the first part of the.

Senate hearings the F.D.A. ordered that a leafiet

lising in detail the dangers of oral contraceptir:

be enclosed in each package of pills. New Y

Times, "Warning on Pill Drafted by F. Doo Rath

T9570. Only one month later the Department of —

Health Education and Welfare announced that a.

“compromise” warning would be used. A we ng

"far shorter and less emphatic about dangers thi

{the} earlier version." The compromise ver

only eliminated nearly the entire list of potenti

hazards, merely noting there might be side effect

and further stated, without any basis in fact, »

"'These points were discussed with you when you”

chose this method of contraception.'" New York —

Times, "Compromise Warning on Birth Pil oun

April 8, 1970.

nan

PA sia

’

Aes

1 compelled to do so.®

Thus while governments profess their over-

‘ concern for human life, they force their

ale citizens into the intolerable dilemma of

posing between what in many instances would be a

tally irresponsible act of bearing and casting

or even "raising" an unwanted child or jeo-

jizing their life and health, both physical

4 mental, by obtaining an illegal abortion or

tempting to self-abort. What is more, this pro-

ed concern for life in fact results in hazards

yomen's lives, often forcing them into the hands

unskilled and unscrupulous persons directly in

face of the guarantees of the Fourteenth

ndment . :

It may be reassuring to note that a high use of

prtion is generally coupled with a high use of

mntraception. That is, women who use contracep-

ives have "a higher motivation toward fertility

ontrol. They are likely to resort to abortion when

ontraceptive efforts fail. The greater the expecta-

fon of avoiding pregnancy through contraception

greater the likelihood of an induced: abortion

ne cy occurs..." "What is more, liberali-

tion of abortion laws tends to accompany an in-

in the use of contraceptives." Induced Abor-

ion and Contraception, paper delivered by Emily

at Workshop of National Institute of Child

th and Human Development and National Institute

f Mental Health, December 15-16, 1969, p. 12.

SK

laren.

is court state

nave those children.

In Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390, 399 (1823)

Without doubt ‘liberty’ denotes not merely free-

dom from bodily restraint but also the right of

the individual to contract, to engage in any of

the common occupations of life, and acquire un-

due knowledge, to marry, establish and home and

pring up romper ys Migs worship God according to

the dictates of

own conscience, and general-

ly to enjoy those privileges long recognized at

common law as essential to the orderly pursuit

of happiness by free men.

should go without saying that the liberty to establish

and bring up children is nearly meaningless if it

es not include the liberty to decide when and whether

Of course, this right to control

timing of one's family is now express in Griswold v.

ticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965).

e

ee?

Even this does not circumscribe the limits of

berty, however.

ssent in Poe v. Ulman, 367 U.S. 497, 516 (1961):

Though I believe that ‘due process' as used

in the Fourteenth Amendment includes all of

the first eight Amendments, I do not think

it is restricted and confined to them....

The right ‘to marry, establish a home and

bring up children’ was said in Meyer v. Ne-

braska «e. to come within the ‘Tiherty: or.

é person protected by the Due Process

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.... ‘Li-

berty’' is a conception that sometimes gains

content from the examinations of other spe-

cific guarantees... or from experience with

the requirements of a free society.

st recently the understanding of personal liberty has

we to include such matters as physical appearance --

p way in which a person presents himself or herself

ay a

As Justice Douglas expressed in his

to the world. In Breen v. Kahl ses F.Supp. 702, ee

(W.D.eWisc., 1969), art’d 415 F. 34 1034 (7th Cirge )

the court ordered the reinstatement of high school =

dents whose hair length did not conform to the.

board eer stating:

The freedom of an adult male or female to.

present himself or herself physically to tt

world in the manner of his or her own Le

is a highly protected fréedom....

For the state to impair this freedom, in

absence of a compelling subordinating inten ”

est in doing so, would offend a widely shang:

concept of human dignity, would assault pen

sonality and individuality, would undermine:

identity, and would invade human ‘being’,

would violate a basic value ‘implicit in the

concept of ordered liberty’. Palko v. Com

ticut, 302 U.S. 219, 325... :

It would deprive a man or woman of liberty

without due process of law in violation ot

the Fourteenth Amendment. See Griswold

U.S. at 499-500 (Harlan, J., concurring). % "

Accord, Griffin v. Tatum, 300 F.Supp. 60 (M.D. Ala...

1969)5 westteg ey v. Rossi, 305 F.Supp. 706 (D. aa

Durham V, Pulsiter, F.Supp. 411 (D. Ut., 1970);

bere ¥. v. NeIson, 310 F.Supp. 248 (D. Nebr., 1970),

The concept of the right to liberty is one ¥ whi

has developed from the right to contract in Allgeyer,

the right to raise a family in Meyer, to the right t

trol one's own appearance in Breen. Surely none of ¢

rights can be seen as more basic, fundamental or wor

of protection than a woman's right to control her body

and the nature, direction and quality of her oo ee

In light of this understanding of the neanii!

the guarantees of the Fourteenth Amendment, it is eve:

ay ae

ans mmettinm Sem et ACEH hs Co arTe pe

¢ critical that this Court carefully examine the ways

ynich women are systematically deprived of their rights

the abortion laws of Texas and Georgia as well as those

nearly every state in the nation.

It should be obvious that from the moment a wo-

n becomes pregnant her status in society changes as a

sult of both direct and indirect actions of the govern-

nt and because of social mores. Except in very rare

ses (primarily among the wealthy) she is certainly no

nger "free in the enjoyment of all [her] faculties; ...

ee to use them 4n all lawful ways; to live and work

ere [she] will; to earn {her] livelihood by any lawful

ling; to pursue any livelihood or avocation...". Ma-

ra v. Board of Education of the City of New York, su-

a at 783-4.

Pregnancy » from the moment of conception, severe-

, limits a woman s liberty. In many cases of both pub-

i¢ and private employment women are forced to temporar-

ly or permanent ly leave their employment when they become

pregnant « The employer has no duty to transfer a preg-

t woman to a less arduous job during any stage of preg-

(should the woman or her doctor consider this advi-

ble); nor is there any statutory duty to rehire the wo-

n after she gives birth. For example, under the New

nk State Civil Service Law, Rule 3, & female employee

st report her pregnancy to the appointing authority

>t later than the fourth month. The appointing au-

ty then may in his discretion ".eeplace the em-

oyee on leave at time when in its judgment the

nterest_ of sither the department or the employee

mld be best served. Lemphsis supp ied] There is

> indication that the employee's medical condition

the critical factor and there are no standards on

nich the decision in made. What is plain is that re-

jless of whether the woman wishes and/or needs to

mtinue working, regardless of whether she is physi-

ly capable of working, she may nonetheless be re-

red to stop working solely because of her pregnancy.

nmany if not most states women who are public em-

loyees are compelled to terminate their employment

t some arbitrary date during pregnancy regardless of

af.

BLEED THROUGH

Dea

, ~

ss

3s

SY

% os

whether they are capable of continuing work. See ¥,

example N Ve Chesterfield Count School Board-¢

Action No. TOK (E.0.Va. 571; Schatten

Ve eae tens see Civil Action No, My

CA=- eDet@Xe ruary 971; and LaFleur y,

Ve es ee Board of "Education, Civil Ketien

No. - e e Oy 2 e Se.

In Connecticut a directive from the Atto

General in 1938 stated that a pregnant woman could

be employed “during the four weeks previous to and ¢

lowing her confinement." This rule still exists, . a

fact, such employment is a criminal offense (directs,

‘against the employer). This denial of liberty in,

work is accompanied by an unconstitutional taking a

property, for Connecticut provides. no maternity }

fits. A woman is also denied unemployment comper

during her last two months of pregnancy, even when =

unemployment is due to some reason other than pr ;

CGST 31-236(5). Janello v. Administrator, Unem

Cc nsation Act T78 Ke2a 282, onn. Supp,

otal or partial unemployment is due toy

nancy," the woman is completely ineligible for ber

Janello,supra at 156, Even worse, the employer has

the absolu e, arbitrary right to fire a pregnant wo

when, in his estimation, her pregnancy would intees

with her work. Janello, supra at 157.

In Louisiana a recent amendment in 1968 of ty.

S.A.= R.S. 23:1601(6)(b) enables a woman who is force

to leave her employment either by contract or other

on account of pregnancy, to qualify for unemployment

compensation. But, as illustrated in the case of Grp

ve Brown, 231 So. 3a 663 (Ct. App. La., 1970) the

unemployment compensation in no way adequately com:

pensates either for the actual wages lost, or for th

denial of liberty which forces a woman to receive m

employment compensation. Mary Grape was employed as

a key punch operator by Southwestern Electric Power |

Co. When she became pregnant she was advised that th

company policy required that expectant mothers teral-

nate employment no later than the end of the 150th

-18-

mmm SPAITEIN STAM CT ACE ti CENTER

—

yy of pregnancy and that no leaves of absence would

» granted. Thus she was forced onto unemployment

yapensation and had lost her job.

Mississippi laws curtail even more severely

ne liberty of @ woman and her property. Sec. 7379(a),

iss, code 1942 Rec. states that a married woman who

as left work because of. pregnancy is considered to

ave voluntarily severed her employment without good

guse and therefore is not even entitled to unemploy-

ent compensation. See Mississippi Employment Secu=-

ity Commission v. Corley. Oe S8e, 3).

>» vne ne ye a her ed i aaiy ae OS

and is force © become economica ependen

ears The law 18 most harsh on cress eee

no are heads of households, and depended upon as

readwinners. Statistics show that a very high per-

ent of all working women are in this position, i.e.

hey must work to support themselves and/or their

hildren.

But restrictions on a woman's liberty and pro-

rty only begin with pregnancy. A woman worker with

omg considered "unavailable for work" (which

ans that she cannot qualify for unemployment com-

ensation), if she restricts her hours of availabil-

ty to late afternoon and night shifts so that she

way care for her children during the day. Connecticut

ourts have often held that "domestic responsibilities"

re "personal reasons unrelated to employment," Luk-

fenchuk v. Administrator, Unemp. Comp. Act, 176 K.2d

SS, ©3 Conn. Sup. 65 (Super. Cte, 1961) or “entirely

lisconnectied from any attribute of employment" Lenz

;, Administrator, Unemp. Comp. Act, 17 Conn. Sup. 315

Super. es e nm one decision the court said

that a woman had just five weeks to try to rearrange

ner life and her domestic responsibilities to try to

make herself “available for work" according to Con-

necticut standards (i.e. ready to work at all hours

ofthe day.) There is only one case that held that

a woman who restricted her availability for personal

reasons was entitled to unemployment compensation.

The woman had seven children. Carani v. Danaher, 13

Conn. Supp.109(Super. Ct. 21943 *

aG=

BLEED THROUGH

But the dominant belief is that a woman's”

sonal reasons" (in most cases, "domestic responsé

ties") for seeking work during specific hours saree:

relevant to employment. Thus, women with home regia’

sibilities (children or husband) =-- who need or wan.

to work @- are considered “unavailable for work,"

are denied the freedom "to live and work where thes

will, to earn their livelihood by any lawful caligme

Al er v. Louisiana, supra and "to engage in any

common occupations o fe" Meyer v. Nebraska.

ra <= freedoms that are implicit i the Fourteenth

Amendment's “concept of ordered liberty.” Palko y,¢

necticut, 302 U.S. 319(1937). It becomes clear fra

onnecticut decisions on pregnant working women that)

the State of Connecticut considers pregnancy a"malamys

Adams v. oe Fastener Co., 7 Conn. Supp. 379(igm

Under these circumstances, a case can well be r¥

the anti-abortion law, in compelling a pregnant wom.

to continue this condition against her wishes, ig:

merely a denial of liberty, but also an imposition

cruel and unusual punishment on the woman. See Se

III infra. "Confinement" well describes the situa

of the pregnant woman, or mother, who is denied woi

or restricted in her work because of an employer's

cision on her ability to work. *¢

Here we see how inextricably the rights to.

life and liberty are mixed and even more how laws re

stricting abortion deny women both. BENG

"Pea

Once a woman has given birth, according to tie:

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, she may stili”

be barred from employment as long as she has pre-scho!)

children. Phillips v. Martin Marietta Corp., 411 a

1 (5th Cir., ELSE See Section ll, intra, for a dis-

cussion of the treatment of Phillips by this Court.:

Furthermore, if she needs or merely wishes to work whik

she has pre-school children she cannot unless she is

fortunate enough to have family who will care for th

children or is wealthy enough to hire help. And,

though a housekeeper, nurse, or baby sitter is a netes-

sary expense enabling her to work, she may not deduct

the salary of that person from her income tax 26 U,S,¢,

_

mms emmiisim SAA Ft ACE th CE arre np

sand thua is normally left with little if any of

or pay acter those expenses are covered,

4% qhus as long as a woman has young children

he 4@ denied the right to obtain employment though

r to earn a living for [herself] and those

{her] is in the nature of personal

; a Smith v. Hill, 285 F.Supp. 556, 560 (D.N.C.,

A further denial of liberty results from the

that women are generally forced to arbitrarily end

education because of pregnancy. Until recently,

t were forced to drop out of

In New York City, Central

xample, Per.

et -SO0-F. Supp. 740 (H-D-Mise+, E569). Many

.

omen are also deprived of higher education because

f hl rules requiring that pregnant women leave

chool.

The importance of education in modern society

been stressed and restressed in recent years,

ince Chief Justice Warren stated in Brown Vv. Board

f Education, 347 U.S. 483, 493 (1954):

Today, education is perhaps the most im-

portant function of state and local govern-

mentSeee.e It is required in the perform-

ance of our most basic public responsibili-

ties..e. It is the very foundation of

good citizenship. Today it is a principal

instrument in awakening..cultural values,

in preparing...for later professional

training and in helping...to adjust norm

ally to his environment.

BLEED THROUGH

though "men and women aré equally in need of ém

tinuing education...at present women's opportu

ties are. more limited than men's." Can Wel

of Women, 1963, p. 11. Nonetheless, women ares.

robbed of their education and opportunity for ai:

Gevelopment and self~fulfillment; robbed of thet:

Pignhts to be “Bee in the enjoyment of all (theis |

faculties," Madera, supra, at 783-4, by chance @

unwanted pregnancy. &

The incursions on the liberty of an un~

married woman who becomes pregnant are even mm

severe. She too may be fired from her job and is

even more likely to be compelled to discontinue

her education. Unable to terminate her pregnang.

she is often forced into marriage against her q

and better judgment in an attempt to cope with ty

new economic and social realities of her life, Sw

marriages are forced on women despite the fact thy

the right to marry or not to may not be ine |

vont the state. Loving v. Virginia, 388 0,8, 1)

1967). ee

Of course, frequently, the man who

is responsible for the pregnancy re-

fuses to marry her. Then unable to support herself

she may be forced to become a welfare recipient,

become part of that cycle of poverty, and expose

herself to the personal humiliation, loss of per-

sonal liberty and inadequate income that entails,

To further add to her difficulties, the mere

# The reaction of forcing a pregnant girl or wom

into marriage as a “solution” to an unwanted out-of.

wedlock pregnancy is exemplified by the ruling of:

Maryland court in 1955, waiving the marriage age

requirments to permit a thirteen year old pregnant

girl to marry. Harold Rosen, M.D., Psychiatric Ip

paicattons of Abortion, A Case Stu Social

°

ypocrisy, es.R.L.Rev. 454, at 454.

ct of her out-of-wedlock pregnancy or child result-

from that pregnancy may be used as “some eviden-

gl or presumptive effect” to a decision to exclude

» pemove her from public housing. Thorpe v. Hous-

authorit r 393 U.S. 268, 271 (19 © hus,

een rorced to bear a child she did not want,

be deprived of her right and ability to pro-

for herself and her child either because of em-

joyer policies or because of her inability to leave

he child. Surviving on at least marginal income,

he who is most obviously in need of public housing

3 then deprived of decent shelter because of the

xistence of that very same child.

For a woman perhaps the most critical aspect

f liberty is the right to decide when and whether

he will have a child -- with all the burdens and

imitations on her freedom which that entails. But

nat has been robbed from her by men who make the

laws which govern her.

As early as 1848 women spoke out against the

wy in which men controlled their lives -- denied

vhem of any meaningful liberty. At the Women's Rights

‘onvention held in Seneca Falls, New York, on July 14,

1848, the women spoke of men as follows:

He has compelled her (woman) to submit to

laws in the formation of which she has no

yolceseee He has taken all her rights to

property, even to the wages she CarnSeceee

In the covenant of marriage...the law

(gives) him power to deprive her of her

liberty and to administer chastisementeces

He closes against her all the avenues of

wealth and distinction which he considers

most honorable to himself.... He has de=-

nied her the facilities for obtaining a

thorough educations... He has endeavored

in every way that he could to destroy her

confidence in her own powers, to lessen

her self-respect, and to make her willing ?

eee an abject life. Victo y, How We

It, National American Woman Suffrage gy.

age ation, A Centennial Symposium, LEN 9 n

H.W. Wilson Co., 1940, pp. 1525. Be Vag

Restrictive laws governing abortion uae as ti

of Texas and Georgia are a manifestation of the fag,

men are unable to see women in any role other than;

of mother and wife. Furthermore, ba

So long as he continues to think and write,

speak and act, as if maternity was the one gy

sole object of a woman's existence << so

as children are conceived in weariness and ¢

gust <-- you must not look for high-toned my

and women capable of accupl ishing any creat

and noble achievement. *

As recently as July 12, 1971 the Supreme ins

of the State of Florida reversed three convictions fo

conspiracy to commit abortion. In the concluding «

sentence of its opinion the Court stated: “In sum th

[abortion] statute intrudes into the area of personal

liberty of women and does it crudely in vague, uncer

tain, archaic language." Walsingham v. Florida,

slip opinion, p. 15, Ervin, J., Concurring. =

The Florida statute does not alone abridge a

woman's fundamental right to liberty. The statutes of

Georgia, Texas and nearly every other state in the

nation similarly deny to women throughout the c

their most precious right to control their lives and

bodies.

# Elizabeth Stanton to Gerrit Smith, December 2l,

1857, Stanton Papers, LC, quoted in Andrew Sinclair,

The Emancipation of the American Woman, Harper Colopha

Books, New York, 1900, p. O59.

-2h-

COPY BOUND TOO CLOSE IN CENTER

THE GEORGIA AND TEXAS STATUTES RESTRICTING

THE AVAILABILITY OF ABORTIONS DENY WOMEN

THE EQUAL PROTECTION OF THE LAWS GUARANTEED

TO THEM BY THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT.

The express guarantee of equal protection was

originally designed to protect black people. Since

that time, its protection has been rreatly extended.

pirst the courts extended equal protection to protect

chinese, Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356 (1886). More

recently it has been extended to protect aliens, Taka-

hashi ve Fish_and Game Commission 334 U.S. 410 (T9458);

——Wexican American, Hernandez v. Texas, 347 U.S. 475

(1954), and poor persons, Griffin v. Illinois, 351

U.S. 12 (1956); Douglas v. California, 372 U.S. 353

(1963), and Shapiro v. Thompson, 300 0.S. 618 (1969).

Most recently federal estate courts have berzun

to apply the guarantees of the equal vrotection of the

laws to prohibit discrimination against women.

In White v. Crook, 251 F. Supp. 401 (M.D. Ala.

1966) exclusion of women and Negroes from Alabama jur-

jes was held unconstitutional. In United States ex rel

Robinson v. York, 281 F. Supp. 8, (D. Conn. 1968)

erential sentences for men and women were struck

down as “invidious discrimination against {women] which

is repugnant to the equal protection of the laws guar-

anteed in the Fourteenth Amendment. In Kirstein v.

Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia, 309

F, Supp. 105 (F.D. Va. 1070) a three judge court held

that the exclusion of women from the University of

Virginia violated their rights to the equal protection

of the laws. In 1970 a federal District Court in New

York held that a public tavern could not deny service

to a womah, Seidenberg v. McSorely's Ale House, Inc.,

317 F.Supp. 5 ‘ eDeNeYo, 1970).

More recently the Supreme Court of the state

of California rejected the ruling of this Court in

Muller v. Oreron, 208 U.S. 412 (1908) to find that

Taws restricting women from being bartenders except

in the most limited circumstances stand in violation

of the guarantees of the Fourteenth Amendment. Sail'ter

Inn v. Kirby, # 29811 Sup. Ct. Calif. May 27, 1971.

ae

BLEED THROUGH

Federal district courts have also looked to the gu

antees of equal protection to invalidate regulations

compelling female employees to take a leave of abs nee |

from work because of pregnancy. Cohen v. Chesterfieis’

County School Board, # 678-70-R (E.D.va.) (May 17, Tey

Schattman v. Texas Employment Commission, # A-70~Cas7.

(W.D. Tex.) (April 16, 1971) Order Denying Motion fop

Relief from Judgment. See also Menge lor v. Indus.

tria 437. F. Cir. Ty}

olding that plaint s' challenge to California pro. -

tective labor laws raised substantial constitutional,

questions. es

Despite the fact that women are entitled to

the equal protection of the laws, one major area in.

which they are daily denied that protection is in the

area of abortion. Exe.

Man and woman have equal responsibility for th

act of sexual intercourse. Should the woman accident.

ally become pregnant, against her will, however, she _

endures in many instances the entire burden or "punish.

ment.

In obtaining an abortion, the threats and

punishments fall on the woman. This happens even where

the decision to have an abortion has been a mutual one,

Only the woman is subjected to the variety of threats

which often accompany the painful search for abortion -

the threats of frightened or hostile doctors of giving

her name to the police - the threat of subpoena and/or

prosecution if the doctor who would help her is a

It is often said that if men could become

pregnant or if women sat in the legislatures there woul

no longer be laws prohibiting abortion. This is not:

said in jest. It reaches to the heart of the unequal

position of women with respect to the burdens of bear-

ing and raising children and the fact that they are

robbed of the ability to choose whether they wish to

bear those burdens.

And the woman carries an unequal and greater

share of the burden, not merely for nine months, but

<36—

for many years, all in violation of the equal protec-

jon of the laws, as we shall discuss below. The

abortion laws therefore present a rather unusual con-

stitutional situation. At first glance, it would

appear that the concept of equal protection of the

laws might not even apply to abortion since the laws

relate only to women. However, when we look beyond the

face of the laws to their effect, we see that the con-

stitutional test of equal protection must be applied.*

ror the effect of the laws is to force women, against

their will, into a position in which they will be sub-

jected to a whole range of de facto forms of discrimin-

ation based on the status of pregnancy end motherhood.

As we have discussed at length above, & woman

yho has a child is subject to a whole range of de jure

and de facto punishments, disabilities and limitations

to her freedom from the earliest stages of pregnancy.

In the most obvious sense she alone must bear the pains

and hazards of pregnancy and childbirth. She may be

suspended or expelled from school and thus robbed of

her opportunity for education and self-development.

She may be fired or suspended from her employment and

thereby denied the right to earn a living and, if

single and without independent income, forced into the

degrading position of living on welfare.

For example, many if not most employers

including public employers have policies requiring

pregnant women to take a leave of absense or other-

wise terminate their employment at a given stage of

pregnancy. Recently the case of LaFleur v. Cleve-

land Board of Education, # C-71-292 N.D. Ohio, May

12, 1971 upheld one such regulation. Contra, Cohen

* Here , of course, we are discussing not the secon-

dary effect of the laws on persons who perform abor-

tions and who might be men or women, but on the persons

vho feel the greatest impact of the laws, women.

=27=

Rieen Tup Cv Ie

ie

v. Chesterfield County School Board, supra, and.

Schattman v. Texas State Empl cenent Commission, §

she has pre-school age c ren, employers: may.

refuse to hire her despite the provisions of the *

Civil Rights Act of 1964 which states that it is 7%

unlawful for an employer "to fail or refuse to hing

or to discharge any individual ... because of such”

individual's sex...." 42 U.S.C. 200 e-2(a) (4) (empnm:

sis added), for, accarding to the Fifth Circuit, i¢)

is inconceivable that Congress intended to:

exclude absolutely any consideration of the

normal relationship of working father to ™

their pre-school age children and to re-

quire that an employer treat the two ex- |

actly alike in the administration of its

general hiring policies. Phillips v. a

Martin Marietta, supra, 411 F. a5 at 4, ©

ia

Only this winter this Gourt effectively affirmed that

court's ruling with Justice Marshall dissenting by =

holding that te

The existence of such conflicting family ~

ébligations, if demonstrably more relevant’

to job performance for a woman than for a=

man, could arguably be a basis for dis-.

tinction under 8703(@) of the [civil rights]

Act. Phillips v. Martin Marietta Corp. 91.

S. Ct. 496, 58 (1971). ay

In other words this court said if men refuse to share

equally in the care of their children then women may

be doubly burdened - they may be burdened with the.

responsibilities of child care and they may be de-

prived of employment opportunities as well.

If a woman is unmarried, unless she succeeds

in obtaining an abortion, she has no choice but to —

bear the child, while the man who shares responsibilit

for her pregnancy can, and often does, just walk away.

As a practical matter, the woman is then alon

with the problem of seeking and financing an abortion

-28-

and if that fails, she is alone paying the expenses

of pre-natal care and childbirth and raising and

rting the child. She could seek to establish

ternity of the father and therefore some measure

financial responsibility, However, to do this she

must expose herself to accusations by the father con-

ce her sexual behavior as part of his attempt to

avoid legal responsibility for the child. In some

states she would further be forced to admit the com-

mission of 4 erime, e.g. D.C. Code B 22-1002 (Crime

of Fornication). Furthermore, although in most areas

a parent has the legal responsibility to support his

or her child whether married or single, ©.f- D.C. Code

§22-903, in some of those same places a parent will

only be punished for neglect where married -- thus

the irresponsibility of the man who walks away from

the child he has helped to create is reinforced by the

rule of law. For example, under New York law the

mother is expressly liable for child support if the

father is unable to suoport the child or cannot be

found within the state. New York Family Court Act 6

414, ad

In Texas, a father of an out «of wedlock child

has neither the common law nor the statutory duty to

support» his child. Home of Holy Infancy v. Kaska,

1 S.W. 2a 208 (Tex. i ee also Lane v. Phillips

6 S.W. 610 (Tex. 1887), Beaver v. State, 256 S.W. 929 ;

(Cr, App. TeXe, 1923).

Having been forced to give birth to a child

she did not want, a woman may be subject to criminal

sanctions for child neglect, @-&-; D.C. Code $22-902,

if she does not care for the_child to the satisfaction

of the state. In some states even here the disabilities

for the woman are greater than for the man. The New

York courts seem to have found as a matter of law that

the mother has a greater responsibility for the child

than the father. In the case of People v. Edwards, 42

Misc. 20 930, 249 N.Y.S. 2d 325 (19 ,. though the

father and mother were jointly indicted for failure to

provide shelter and medical attention for their baby,

the court held that only the mother could be punished

for failing to bring the baby to a doctor when a con-

dition which began with a diaper rash resulted in the

child's death. Of course, again, if the woman is

-29-

unmarried and paternity was never legally establi

the woman bears these legal burdens alone.

The unwed mother may suffer additional di ya? *-

abilities by being denied employment because of her? ;

status. Courts are gradually recognizing the in- = )).

equities of so penalizing unwed mothers, Nonetheless;

not every woman is in a position to go to court to =

contest such discriminatory actions and many such

policies and practices still exist throughout the ~

country unchallenged.

Even where the father is present, the mother

rather than fatherwill be primarily responsible fop

raising the children. As long as “women, as a class

earn less than men." Gruenwald v. Gardner, 390 F.24 -

591 (2d-Cir., 1968), and women have less opportunity

for advancement®*, they, rather than the father, wil

remain at home to raise the family.

: The rulings of the Fifth Circuit and this Cour

in Phillips v. Martin Marietta, supra, further reinfore

this arbitrary role differentiation, forcing the preate

burden on child care on the mother. For in saying that

a mother of pre-school age children may constitutionally

be denied employment though a. father may not, the power

and authority of the courts is reinforcing the actions

of private employers and society to force a woman to

"stay at home and take care of the children' even if

she has otherwise provided for their care.

| If such a broad range of disabilities are

permitted to attach to the status of pregnancy and

* "In 1959, 1960 and 1961, median earnings for male

workers with taxable incomes was...approximately twice

the median earnings of females." Gruenwald v. Gardner,

supra, p. 592 n. 2.

## See, for example, Study of Employment of Women in

the Federal Government, 1568: U.S. STeit Service Conm-

mission, Manpower Statistics Division, Washington, D.C.

-30-

!

mer mmrithin SAM eT ACE thi CE ATs Re

motherhood, that status must be one of choice. And it

ig not sufficient to say that the women "chose" to have

sexual intercourse, for she did not choose to become

pre nt. As long as she is forced to bear such an

extraordinarily disproportionate share of the pains

and burdens of childrearing (including, of course, preg

nancy and childbirth), then, to deprive her of the

ultimate choice as to whether she will in fact bear

those burdens violates the most basic aspects of “our

american ideal of fairness" guaranteed and enshfined

in the Fourteenth Amendment. Bolling v. Sharpe, 347

y.s. 497 (1954).

There is yet another way in which women are

denied the equal protection of the laws. This Court

has shown great concern with the "conception of a

ical equality" Reynolds v. Sims, 377 U.S. 533, 55

(1964) pe particuairly with "questions of alleged

‘invidious discriminations # # # against groups or

types of individuals in violation of the constitutional

guaranty of just and equal laws.'" Reynolds v. Sims,

supra, 377 U.S. at 561 citing Skinner v. ahoma ,

*s. 535, 536 (1942). Because of this concern,

in a line of cases the court has sought to guarantee

that each citizen is fairly and equally represented

in the legislature which make laws governing his or

her life. See Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962),

Reynolds v. Sims, supra, and their progeny. Neverthe-

less, in the instance of abortion laws one finds the

grossest. form of lack of representation.

This court can surely take judicial notice of

the fact that the state legislatures in Texas and

Georgia, like state legislatures throughout the

country are composed almost exclusively of men. AS

the supreme court of the state of Oregon stated in

State v. Hunter, 300 P. 2d 455,457-7, 208 Ore. 282

(Ore., 1956).

...We believe that we are justified in

taking judicial notice of the fact that

the membership of the legislative assembly

which enacted this statute was predomin-

ately masculine. That fact is important

Slo

=a Se — ., eer ree Ae eee

in determining what the legislature mighty.

have had in mind with respect to this pam.

ticular statute... + ie

nee

Therefore we have a situation in which persons are.

making laws which could never possibly effect then?

‘Se

These laws which are passed largely by men and only

affect women were first instituted many years prior

to the time that women even had the vote. The

statute was enacted in 1876, the Texas in 1907.

relationship between the legislators and the laws

are making is even more complex than it may appear op,

the surface. For laws such as the abortion laws pre-

sently before this court in fact insure that women-

never will be able to function fully in the society

in a manner that will enable them to participate as

equals with men in making the laws which control ang

govern their lives. For as long as women are unable

to control their reproductive lives they will be

forced to disrupt their education, forego their

career, and will never be a totally functioning part

of the government which determines her rights. Force

to remain at home with her children a woman has neither

the time, the money, nor the mobility to either organ. Bf

ize an effective lobby on her own behalf or to assert

her own rights as a direct participant in the legisis.

tive workings of government. The underrepresented :

city dweller could not realistically look to the rum

dominated legislature to rectify the inequality of

representation, nor could black people look to a

white controlled legislature to eliminate the gerry-

mandering which cheapened their votes. Gomillion vw,

aie eens 364 U.S. 339 (1960). Neither can women:

ally look to male controlled legislatures to

change laws which will return to them the control of

their lives and bodies and that may incidentally

a,

* It may be worth noting that the only other major

areas of law in which this occurs is with laws govern

ing children and incompetents; that alone may give

interesting insights into the views of legislators

towards women.

mms BAILII STAM CT ACE ti CENTER

e them to actively participate in those same legis-

tures. Therefore, if women are to have their rights

Mressea they can look only to the courts.*

Amici. have not addressed themselves to the economic

scrimination resulting from the application of the

portion laws off Texas and Georgia on the understanding

at the issue is being treated fully by other amici

d by parties to the litigation. Amici are deeply

oncerned, however about the{feconomic hardship and

latant economic discrimination effected by such laws

stricting the availability of legal abortion.

-33-

eat OS ee ., ewer ree Ae e ee F

=

III. ABORTION LAWS VIOLATE THE CONSTITUTIONS.

GUARANTEE AGAINST THE IMPOSITION OF L:

AND UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT. aS

To understand what having an unwanted pre.

nancy and child means to a woman, it may be best to

consider the following analogy: a group of people ay

walking along the street. Half the group crosses; ¢

remainder are stopped by a red light. Those stopped

by the light are told the following: ie.

"From now on, for about nine months, you

are going to have to carry a twenty-five

pound pack on your back. Now, you wil]

have to endure it, whether you develop yl.

cers under the load whether your spine be.

comes deformed, no matter how exhausted yu

get, you and this are inseparable. .

Then, after nine months you may drop this

load, but from then on you are going to

have it tied to your wrist. So that, wh

ever you go this is going to be with you th

rest of your life and if, by some accident,

the rope is cut or the chain is cut, that

piece of rope is always going to be tied to

you to remind you of it."#

Of course, this analogy is. not complete. I

does not include the extreme, sometimes excruciating

pain and risk of death involved with the process of

transferring the pack from your back to your wrist,

does it fully describe the limitations placed on you

liberty by having that load chained to your wrist for

substantial portion, if not all of your life. Ita&

however, begin to give some picture of the pain and

den of pregnancy and motherhood when both are inyvo

tary. orcing a woman to bear a child against her ul

is indeed a form of punishment, a result of society's

bivalent attitude towards female sexuality.The ex

* Testimony of psychiatrist Natalie Shainess, in Schi

der & Kennedy, Abortion Rap, McGraw-Hill, 1971, p.!

=30.

mens emntsirm SArar et Meer 2 CR are fe

— ainien

sexual "double standard" has created the social

,onse that when @ woman becomes pregnant accident-

ghe must be "punished" for her transgression,

vticularly if she is single. This punishment falls

lely on the woman : she must face the physical burdens

, emotional strains of an unwanted pregnancy, the

raging experience of having an illegal abortion

in filthy motel rooms at the mercy of quacks who

, charging exhorbitant fees." Ervin, J. concurring,

singham v- Florida, Case No. 40,210 (S.Ct. Fla.,

, 1971); and if unable to get such an abortion,

e responsibilities and trauma involved in raising an

anted child. The man equally responsible for the

nancy faces no such punishment.

7

Those who seek to impose the punishment of forc-

»a woman to bear a child against her will could not

*sonsidering its scope and dimensions. Such a punish-

nt condemns a woman to severe physical burden, pain and

por not only during pregnancy, but also through the

th process and after the child is born, imposing on

years of toil and loss of freedom. To deny an un-

ied woman an abortion is even more obviously a

nishment and an act of greater cruelty as she is

tally alone, with all of the physical, financial and

beial burdens of raising a child.

The Eighth Amendment to the United States Consti-

ution protects all persons against the infliction of

ruel and unusual punishment." Amici contend that the

panding constitutional concern, as expressed by this

burt, with practices which “offend the dignity of man",

contrary to "the evolving standards of decency that

k the progress of a maturing society" and punishment

lisproportionate to the offense committed" as violative

the Eighth Amendment necessitates a finding that laws

stricting abortion are unconstitutional

In 1910, the Supreme Court in Weems v. United

tes, 217 U.S. 349 (1910), repudiated the nineteenth

fury assumption that the.punishments proscribed by the

shth Amendment were limited to the barbarous practices

-35-

BLEED THR OUGH

of seventeenth century England. "The Cruel

Unusual Bunishment Olause and The Substantive ©

Criminal Law" 79 Harv.L.Rev. 635, 636-7 (1966);05

The Court in invalidating a section of the:

Phillipine Pena e authorizing a sentence of-ic

years hard labor and concomitant forfeiture of aH

zenship rights noted that a “principle to be vit:

must be capable of wider application than the nig

chief which gave it birth," 217 U.S. at 373. ==)

Purther the Court held that the Eighth Amend 2

"ig not fastened to the obsolete but may acquire

meaning as public opinion becomes enlightened by

a humane justice." 217 U.S. at 367. Underlying

Court's holding was the concept of "proportional

punishment" as a “precept of the fundamental lay,"

Significantly, the Court considered the moral |

ma and mental anguish suffered as a result of

punishment to be of equal relevance as the purely

physical burden imposed. ie

In Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86 (1958), inv.

idating a ote Toheent of denaturalization for deser.

tion as unconstitutional in violation of the Eights

Amendment, the Court again emphasized the standan

of proportion, and the flexible, expansive nature

of the Eighth Amendment's ban, while declaring ther

willingness to apply the Eighth Amendment affirm.

tively to protect individual liberty. Noting that

the "traditional" punishment for desertion was

the court rejected the notion that "excessiveness'

alone was determinative of constitutional validity.

Instead, the Court asserted that "the question is

whether the punishment subjects the individual to

a fate forbidden by the principle of civilized ©

treatment guaranteed by the Eighth Amendment." 356

U.S. at 99. "The basic concept underlying the Eig

Amendment is nothing less than the dignity of man.’

356 U.S. at 100. The Amendment, the Court noted,

was not a static one; it "must draw its meaning f

evolving standards of decency that mark the progres

of a maturing society." 356 U.S. at 101. In setti_

a standard for the application of the Amendment, %

Court rejected, as well, an exclusive concern

the physical aspect of punishment, forbidding what

it characterized as "the total destruction of the

individual's status in organized society." 356 U.S.

at 101.

aa

This Court's most recent analysis of the flea

bility of the Eighth Amendment is found in Robinso'

=36-

yifornia, 370 U.S. 660 (1962). In that case, the

sid that a state law which made the "status" of

reotics addiction a criminal offense constituted

uel and unusual punishment" in violation of the

tees of the Eighth Amendment. For Justice Doug-

3 stated in his analysis of the constitutional de-

sjopment of the Eighth Amendment; Douglas, J. concur-

ing at 675:

The historic punishmentsthat were cruel and

unusual included "burning at the stake, cru-

ecifixion, breaking on the wheel" (In re Kemm-

ler, 136 U.S. 436, 446, 10 S.Ct. 930,

L.Ed. 519) quartering, the rack and the thumb-

screw (see Chambers v. Florida, 309 U.S. 227,

237, 60 S.ct. 472, 477, 84 L.Ed. 716) and in

some circumstances even solitary confinement

(See In re Medley, 134 U.S. 160, 167-8, 10

S.Ct. 304, 300, a3 L.Ed. 835). The question

presented in the earlier cases concerned the

degree of severity with which a particular

offense was punished or the element of cruel-

ty present. A punishment out of all propor-

tion to the offense may bring it within the

ban against "cruel and unusual punishment,"

See O'Neil v. Vermont, 144 U.S. 323, 331, 12

$.Ct. 603, 696, 30 L.Ed.450. So may the cru-

elty of the method of punishment as, for ex-

ample, disenbowdling a person alive. See Wil-

kerson v. Utah, 99 U.S. 130, 135, 25 L.Ed.

305. But the principle that would deny power

to exact capital punishment for a petty crime

would also deny power to punish a person by

fine or imprisonment for being sick.

The essence of the Eighth Amendment, as evolved

the cases discussed above, lies in its concern with

“disproportionate” nature of the punishment im-

, the moral anguish as well as physical burdens

punishment, the extent to which punishment is a re-

to an individual's 'status' and 14s measured by

standarcs of decency", &"d offersiveness to tre "dignity of

«37<

man." Laws which force women to. endure unwantedieas

nancy and motherhood against their will or to Beam

criminals and take the risks to physical and m@

health resulting from an illegal abortion are @j

portionate to the act for which they are being’ gs

--an act which, in many instances, is not even’

Purther, amici contend that abortions, in fact if.

in theory, punish women for private, sexual ty

for which only women bear the repercussions of pres

therefore punishing them for their status as womens»

potential child~bearers. fe

The pain and suffering associated with an m

wanted pregnancy or child, is not solely physical»

The emotional pain and scarring which accompanies a

unwanted pregnancy is an equally important and far

lasting form of pain which must be considered in th

context of guarantees of the Eighth Amendment, and tj

emphasis given to. mental anguish as a crucial compos

of “cruel and unusual punishment." According to ph,

Natalie Shainess, who has devoted the majority of he

25-year practice as a psychoanalyst and psychiatrist

the area of feminine psychology and particularly wit

experience of being a mother, a woman who does not.

her pregnancy suffers depression through nearly th

tire pregnancy and often that depression is extrenely

severe. Furthermore, according to Dr. Shainess tht

depression continues even after birth may even go in

psychotic states, and may result in permanent enotia

damage to the woman. a ee

Such potential permanent emotional damage,

risks to physical health and safety which may also:

sult in permanent physical harm, see Fletcher v. &t

362 S.W.2d 845 (Cr.App-Tex., 1962), and the burden

taking care of an unwanted child, constitute a@ font

long-term imprisonment. Such long term imprisonment,

"sould be so disproportionate to the offense as to

within the inhibition" of the Eighth Amendment. ‘im

v. United States, 163 F.2d 228 (6th Cir., 1947)...m

most women, bearing and raising an unwanted child is;

# Schulder and Kennedy, supra, p. 122.

=38~

COPY BOUND TOO CLOSE IN CENTER

ree, it is life-term imprisonment. For the woman, the

nancy may also carry with it the trauma of

rejected or mistreated by the man when he learns

pregnancy. Under such conditions, the child re-

eiae from the relationship would constitute a lasting

eanipresent ‘peminder of the suffering the woman ex-

the man. Such a life-long reminder is

of constant punishment that the woman should not

foreed to face. When she is forced into that situa-

» not only does she suffer emotionally,

her suffering is manifested in her relations with

. child. She may vent her anger by physically injur-

the child,® neglecting the child, or being extreme-

‘over protective, virtually "smothering" the child

optionally -

According to New York law as interpreted by its

uwts, a "child at tender age is entitled to have such

re, love and discipline as only a good and devoted

ther can usually give," Ullman v. Uliman, 151 A.D.

9, 135 N.Y.S. 80 (1912) Temphasis added); it is en-

tled to care which includes its “spiritual and moral

fe" In re Roe, 92 N.Y.S.2d 882, 883, 196 Misc. 830

m.Rel.ct., 1949). Nonetheless, the State, by its in-

tence on the right to life for the fetus, practically

ures that once born, the child will receive neither

» care, love, nor spiritual and moral life to which it

entitled. If indeed, the unwanted child is a hated

ild, in denying women the right to abortion Texas,

orgia, and all other states with laws which restrict

ortion are punishing not only the mother, but also

> very child they claim to protect. Furthermore, under

York law a mother is required to give "care, guid-

se, supervision, love and affection," In re Carl, 174

¢. 955, 22 N.¥.S.2a 782, 784 (Dom.Rel., 1940), to the

According to Ray E. Helfer, M.D., who has recently

ited a book called The Battered Child, University of

icago Press, 1968, and is an expert in the field, an

anted pregnancy may be a crisis situation in the three

ctor pattern which leads to physical abuse of children.

-39-

i on a —a ow Wie at Mle Pe ofa Oi

child she never wanted in the first place and ghey

pumished if she is unable to. St

By denying women the right to abortion the -

state is punishing her for her sexual activity wi

the equivalent of long-term imprisonment and giy

her an indeterminate sentence of life with an y

child.- Sentencing a woman to a full term pregnancy

and motherhood against her will is thus a clear yi.

lation of her right to be free from cruel and ums,

punishment. The words of this Court in Weems, sup

are most appropriate in describing such a “séntence!

{Her] prison bars and [some] chains are re.

moved, it is true after [nine months], but.

[she] goes from them to a perpetual limita-

tion of {her] liberty. [She] is forever

kept under the shadow of [her] crime....

..-CLShe] is subject to tormenting regulat-

tions that. if not so tangible as iron bars

and stone walls, oppress as much by their

continuity, and deprive of essential

liberty. It may be that even the cruelty

of pain is not omitted. [She] must beara

chain night and day. [She] is condemned

to en as well as hard labor. 30 S.Ct.

at 549. »

Even where the woman decides she cannot endur

the pains and penalties of pregnancy and motherhood,

which the law attempts to force on her, she is still

exposed to what may be the great physical and emoti

pain and the far greater danger of illegal abortion.

It has long been thought that abortion in and of it-:

self caused substantial destructive emotional effects

on women. More recently, however, a number of stuti

have shown that when abortions are legally obtained

women do not suffer psychological harm as a result

their experience, but rather in most cases their em

tional status improves and many report that they «-

perience emotional growth as a result of the abortia

-4o-

eee

xperience. Pratt, Rappaport & Barlow, Arch. Gen.

syoniat., 20:408-414 (1969). pe

It is no answer to suggest that the woman may

ways choose to minimize her pain by placing the child

or adoption following birth -- performing the function

of "commodity" or a “baby breeder".’ For as one woman

as movingly described: *

The kind of trauma of giving a baby up for

adoption leaves you with the feeling of --

at least I had my feeling about it as a

mother -- I was a mother who had abandoned

my child and I fought against this self-

concept.

I prepared to think of myself as a breeder,

I was just breeding babies for someone else

to take rather than think of myself as a

mother who abandoned her baby.

But the milt -- for months after I left the

home, I'd wake up in the night crying and

sort of rocking my pillow and this feeling

sometimes of deprivation but.... the guilt

was stronger than the feeling that someone

else had deprived, someone had ripped the

baby from my arms.

I would have been more comfortable that way

than what I did, because I actually signed

the papers and gave the baby up.

For this woman, and for many others, this experience

carries with it a further overwhelming sense of guilt

at having done something shameful -- a sense of guilt

which may haunt her for years after and which, in the

same person, will not develop in connection with an

abortion -- even an illegal abortion. Such mental

anguish, and the emotional harm which ultimately

! Schulder and Kennedy, Ibid., p. 23.

wbtc

no? Com LIE we tee

results is certainly disproportionate to the act’:

for which a woman is being punished, and constitute, -

cruel and unusual punishment for her. .

Finally, some might feel that whereas it

may be constitutionally impermissible to deny a ©

married woman an abortion, it is permissible to (7

force an unmarried woman to see her pregnancy and<*.

its consequences through as a "deterrent to her =

immorality." However, not only is such a position.

unconstitutional, it is irrational. Compared with

@ married woman, an unmarried woman is likely to.

experience even greater unconstitutional deprivation;

of her liberty, as a result of the greater pain ‘and.

suffering from being forced to bear and raise an —

unwanted child with no help from the man who is

equally responsible for the conception of that child,

Furthermore, both she and the child will become a ~

financial "burden" on the society if she is forced

to go on welfare. .

Millions of women are now becoming truly

conscious of the manifold forms of oppresion and

discrimination of their sex in our society. They are

beginning to publicly express their outrage at what

they have always known - that bearing and raising a

child that they do not want is indeed cruel and un-

usual punishment. Such punishment involves not only

an indeterminate sentence and a loss of citizenship

rights as an independent person as held. unconstitu-

tional in Weems, supra, great physical hardship and

emotional damage Filsccepactionate' to the "crime"

of participating equally in sexual activity with a

man, as held unconstitutional in Trop, supra, but

is punishment for her ‘status’ as a woman and a

potential child-bearer as held unconstitutional in’

Robinson, supra. As this Court in Trop so firmly

Stated, the concept underlying the th Amendment

is “hothing less than the dignity of man" 356 U.S. at

100 and “must draw its me from evolving standaré

of decency" at 101. Abortion laws reinforce the leg

legitimized indignities that women have already

-42-

suffered under for too long and bear witness to the

inferior position to which women are relegated.

The total destruction of a woman's status in society

results from compelling her to take sole responsibil-

ity for having the illegal abortion or bear the un-

wanted child, and suffer the physical hardship and

mental anguish whichever she chooses. Only the

yoman 18 punished by society for an act in which she

has participated equally, only. she is punished for

ner "status" as child-bearer. In light of "evolving

standards of decency that mark the progress of a

maturing society", the basis of the Eighth Amendment

as set forth in Trg, supra, the struggle of women

for full and meaningful equality in society over the

last hundred years indicates that it would indeed be

a sign of the immaturity of our social development if

these laws were upheld. White versons yhave had to

readjust their thinking and actions to question whe-

ther laws which discriminated against blacks were

unconstitutional.

Men (of whom the legislatures and courts are

almost exclusively composed) must now learn that they

may not constitutionally impose the cruel penalties

of unwanted pregnancy and motherhood on women, where

the penalties fall solely on them.

: es .

so

IV. THERE IS NO COMPELLING STATE INTEREST tp

JUSTIFYING THE VIOLATION OF FUNDAMENTAL

CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS EFFECTED BY THE

CHALLENGED ABORTION LAWS.

Historically under common law and in the early

years of American law, abortion was legally permigs.

ible before the fetus was “quick" inside the mother,

See generally, ie (ae S. Means, Jr., “The.Law of New

york Abortion and the Status oF the Fetus

» Fed. > an Oy Lucas, "Federal .

SR ae Limitations aon Ls Enforcement and

ra ae ° atutes oe

Ve ae auch on of laws regu-

lating (ana’ Slenat effectively plddtnetine) legal

abortion came about for a combination of three major

reasons, none of which can any longer constitution-

ally justify the extreme incursion into and violation

of protected rights effected by the challenged

abortion laws. The three reasons were: (a) "com-

pell uniform adherence to specified moral norms

eeeLby (1)egal bans on both contraception and all

aevekanson. Lucas, supra, p. 732, 1.e€., moral

norms regarding sexual relations; (b) protecting

the health of the mother from the dangers then ine

herent in any operation, Lucas, supra, p. 732;

Means, supra; and (c) enforcing the newly established

religious concept that the soul was present in the

body from the time of conception. Lawrence Lader,

Abortion, Beacon Press, Boston, 1966.

-

The operation and effect of the challenged

Georgia and Texas abortion laws directly violate

plaintiffs' constitutionally protected rights of life,

liberty, equal protection, personal privacy of asso-

ciations and others as well. As the Supreme Court of

California stated in California v. Belous, supra,

80 Cal.Rptr. at 360:

The critical issue is not whether such

rights exist, but whether the state has

a

a compelling interest in the regulation

of a subject which is within the police

powers of the state (Shapiro v. Thomp-

gon (1969), 394 U.S. 618, 89 S.Ct. 1322,

22 L.Ed.2d 600; Sherbert v. Verner,

(1903), 374 U.S. 398, 403, 83 S.Ct. 1790,

10 L.Ed.2da 965), whether the regulation

is "necessary *** to the accomplishment

of a permissible state policy” (McLaugh-

lin ve Florida (1964), 379 U.S. 184, 196,

85.S.Cte 283, 290, 13 L.Ed.2d 222; see

also, NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415, 438,

83 S.Ct. 328, 9 L.Ed.2d 105; Bates v.

City of Little Rock (1960) 361 U.S. 516,

527, 80 S.Ct. 412, 4 L.Ed.2d 480; Huntley

vy, Public Util. Comm, 69 A.C. 62, 69 Cal.

Rptr. 605, 442 P.2d 685; Vogel v. County

™ of Los Angeles, 68 Cal.2d 18, 21, 64 Cal.

Rptr. 409, 434 P.2d 961; People v. Woody,

61 set 716, 718, 40 Cal.Rptr. 69, 39

P,2d $13.

The fact that the abortion laws may have been

yalid when first enacted does not resolve the ques—

tions concerning the present constitutionality of

the law. California v. Belous, supra, at 362. Com-

pare Gray V. Sanders, 372 U.S. 368-301 (1963) with

South ve Peters, 339 U.S. 276, 277 (1950); Baker

y, Carr, 309 Uses. 186, 237 (1962); with Colgpove v.

Green, 328 U.S. 549, 556 (1946); Brown Vv. Soard of

Faucation, supra, with Plessy v. Ferguson, To3 U.S.

537 (1890).

Most persons who seek to justify the constitu-

tionality of abortion laws would now concede that the

first two of the three justifications mentioned above

are no longer able to sustain abortion laws which

take such great tolls on the lives of women.

It is common knowledge that an aborticn no

longer entails the danger it did in the mid 1800's

and early 1900's when the Texas and Georgia abortion

tiga

laws as well as the laws of nearly all the other

states were first enacted. In fact, as pointed

out above, there is considerable evidence that

abortion now carries about the same, if not lesser

risks then childbirth. See p. 10, supra. There-

fore the medical rationalization to sustain abor.

tion restrictions can be easily dispensed with.

As for the use of abortion laws to ensure

the community standard of morality, it should be

clear from this Court's decision in Griswold v,

Connecticut, supra, 381 U.S. at 498, Justice Golam

rg, Warren and Brennan, concurring that such an

argument is not constitutionally sufficient. See

also Wals am v. Florida, supra, slip opinion,

p. 12, which notes that the abortion statutes thes

selves "...[do] not show a compelling state inte

in prohibiting premarital sexual intercourse (the

prelude to unwed mothers) since [they draw] no dis-

tinction between married and unmarried women." In

any case it is quite evident that the "community"

standard is at present a changing one. Furthermore,

we must consider just who is the community. For on

this particular issue there are at minimum two

communities -- the community of men and the community

of women, Normally, we cannot and should not con-

sider degisiation from such a perspective but in

is case we can and must. For, here we have legis

lation which is made by men [see Page 32-33,

supra] who are never directly affected by it (ex-

cept to the extent that they fear that they themselve;

might never Mave been born were there no abortion

law). It is women, who at best have an indirect voice

in the determination of these laws, who must suffer

from them, And it should be plain that the community

of women does not support these laws. For centuries

they have been seeking and obtaining abortions even

at substantial risk to themselves despite the voice

of the legislature.

It may well be said that the abortion laws

which the states seek to maintain in fact undermine

ants

a

the moral fabric of the community. For, it is

those laws which not only force countless women to

flagrantly violate the law each year, but forces

them into the sordid underworld of criminal abor-

tions. ®

However, even assuming the maintenance of a

particular standard of morality for men and women

re sufficient to sustain some legislation in the

area, that legislation could not be drawn in such

a way as to consistently place all of its weight

and burden on only one sex. For this is just the

sort of invidious discrimination prohibited by the

Fourteenth Amendment.

Thus we must look to the third rationale

, for abortion laws. Although it is generally dis-

cussed in terms of the “right to life," if we ana~

lyze it more closely, the third rationale is actua-

ally a means of enforcing the religious concept

that the soul is present in the body from the time

of conception and therefore must be saved. The use

of criminal statutes to enforce the views of one

or more particular religious groups is of course

proscribed by the First Amendment's Establishment

Clause.

Looking closer at the argument that the

state must guarantee to every fetus its right to

life, we must immediately be struck by tremendous

inconsistencies in the state's alleged concern for

life.

# Amici do not take either the position that women

who have abortions are "criminals" or that all per-

sons who are willing to aid women in terminating un-

wanted pregnancies are criminals. However, there

are many persons who unscrupulously profit from wo-

men's predicament and misery with little concern for

their health and safety.

om

In fact, claims of great concern for the

life of the fetus are at best questionable in ;

practice and turn sour when examined in light «

their consequences on the lives of women,

It is clear both from the application of the

abortion laws as well as from other areas of lay

that the concern of the state in the life of thieves: -

fetus is at best a qualified.concern. Firstly, <%

under the laws of many states the fetus has “no ok

legal nie eng ply Marek identity until aPeg the «

is t of pa Ae dresz v. Friedberg, N.Y.2d - “s

478, 301 N.Y¥.S.2d 605, 70 (1565), = x therefore,

an action for wrongful Beate of: a fetus os heer.

anetained. See also, Graf v. Taggart , 43 N.J, ~

303, 204 A.2a 140 (196%); Norman v. urphy, 124 a

Cal.App.2d 95, 268 P.2d i78 (Dis.Ct.App., 1954);

Keyes v. Construction Service, 340 Mass. 633, 1 si

d 912 (I960); Powers v. City of Troy,4 Mich;~ —

App. $72 145 N .W.2d 018 (1966); Carrol. v. Skates

415 Pa. h7, 202 A.2d 9 (1964), for similar rules ta

New Jersey, California, Massachusetts, Michigan “4

Pennsylvania.

What is more laws governing abortion in

Georgia as in several other states with supposed ~

"reform laws" show at best a qualified concern for

the life of a fetus. Those statutes permit the

abortion of a fetus resulting from rape or incest,

and in some states a fetus growing within the body

of an unmarried woman under the age of fourteen, ©)

fifteen or sixteen, or a woman with German Measles,

a eBee Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. 8 40-2-50 et seq. aia

In other states, a pregnant woman may not be’

-4g-

executed if she is "quick with child". New York

code of Criminal Procedure, 68 501 et seg. Presum-

ably, a5 was true historically, a woman who is preg-

vant with am unquick fetus may be executed.* Of

course, in that case the fetus will die with her.

Furthermore, in no other way do the states

act to protect the fetus from dangers to its exist-

ence, There exist no intensive prenatal care

; for those expectant mothers who do not re-

ceive this necessary care. There exist no massive

education programs concerning diet, exercise, etc.,

for expectant mothers. There is no mandatory inno-

culation against rubella, a crippling disease for

a fetus to be affected by. Drugs harmful to the

fetus are allowed on the market even though alterna-

tive treatment could be utilized. In New York, for

example, the State Department of Social Services

does not provide additional money for the fetus until

the fourth month of pregnancy. Title 18, Codes,

Rules and Regulations of the State of New York,

§ 35302. Clearly, the states take no affirmative

action to care for the fetus in which they claim

such @ compelling interest. Nor do the governments

consistently protect the interest of the children who

are subsequently born. ** '

* Por further historical discussion of this distinc-

tion between the quick and unquick fetus in New York

law, see Means, supra, 14 N.Y.LeF. at pp. 441-3.

## If governments insist that there is a compelling

state interest in protecting human life and therefore

in outlawing abortions, why is it that these same

governments fail to protect the rights of illegiti-

mate children who are subsequently born. Although

vy V. Louisiana, 391U.S. 68 (968 ), stated that

a state cannot treat an illegitimate child differently

from legitimate offspring, in Labine v,. Vincent, 91

(fn, continues on next page

-49-

% In light of these facts we must look

at the argument that the state must protect ea

and every fetus which has been conceived, 4

to assert this view one must assume that every

is a human being equal in all respects to ever

living citizen from the moment of conception,

Stripped of any religious definitions of when

ingful human life begins, that is when the s m3

enters the human organism, the various nthe pio-!

cedures for terminating pregnancy that are cu:

illegal under the challenged laws are not signif:

cantly different from some current methods of t ra

control, *® 23

(in. continued from preceding page) mes A

S.Ct. 1017 (1971), this conet upheld a Louisiana. -

statute which prohibited illegitimate children, «

though duly acknowledged, from claiming and takin

property by interstate succession for their father’,

estate, There are cases in both the states of .

Georgia and Texas which reveal the same form of d,.

crimination. In Patterson v. Liberty Mutual

ance COs, 147 S.E.oa ba T1966); e ° a of

Appeals refused to allow a posthumous illegitimate

child who brought a proceeding to recover compensa.

tion for death of the Daag sc employee, the child’;

father, to recover, in ve Vv. Lioyds Cas

Company of New York, 6 66 ( 12s

° e an Pretend child could not re-

cover compensation for her father's death under

Workingman's Compensation Act. Thus there would -

seem to be a fundamental inconsistency in vn ea

protecting the right of the child to be born and

then denying that same child equal protection.

protection of the property of the father from the:

claims of his out-of-wedlock children may well be -

yet another factor to encourage men to desert the:

children they have fathered and the mothers of the ni

children,

* E.G., it is commonly accepted that the intra-

uterine device (IUD) acts as an abortive agent

rather than as a CS SreESs which prevent cone

ception.

-50-

ra

There is a great variation in positions as

, when the essential Semennete” which causes

to protect the life of its citizens actu- ©

ly develops. In fact, the final determination

3 a philosophical or religious one,

For example, one might consider that the

- of fertilization is the moment of creation

f a human being. Under that approach the develop- .

nt of that "life" could ‘not be interfered with

wm that moment of fertilization. In that case no

\U,D.'8 could be legally used by women though

ey are widely used throughout the country. Ac-

to Father Robert F, Drinan, former Dean of

poston College Law School, and now United States

ongressman,

There is no doubt whatever that countless

individuals and several opinion molding

ups in America are convinced that the

Catholic Church is using its persuasion,

its prestige and its political power to

fight any change in the abortion laws.

These individuals and-associations are

sometimes afraid to speak openly about the

role of the Church lest they deepen the

Church's antagonism to the causes they

espouse. Drinan, Robert Fe, Sede, "The

Morality of Abortion Laws," 14 Cath.

Lawyer ist; TO5 Summer (1968).

‘For that reason the political activities of the

atholic Church and its proponents in opposing even

beralization of abortion laws remains an open secret

which is d: cult if not impossible to “prove” in a

raditional legal sense. However, in reporting the

passage by the Hawaii legislature of a bill repealing

nat state's abortion law, the New York Times stated

nat "The Roman Catholic Church waged a long battle to

ry to keep the abortion bill from passing." New York

28, 2/25/70, 1:5. The Hawaiian experience is

a

plainly not an isolated experience.

: Significently, under the common law the

appears to have been no legal proscription agi

abortion before the fetus was quick within tf

mother -- and it was at that time that the s

was thought to enter the organism. Means, Mm Ta.

at 426-8, At approximately the time that’ the

of the Catholic Church shifted concerning th :

try of the soul, laws concerning abortion did®

-- both moving back to the time of conceptior

What is more, according to Rabbi Davie -

Feldman, Author of Birth Control in Jewish Law)

the position of the Catholic Church on the questi,

of abortion is doctrinal rather than a gene ;

moral position. The position stems in part

an ancient interpretation of the Hebrew Septug ag’ a

with respect to “ensoulment™ leading to the x <i.

scription of abortion of a "formed" fetus. Peli

Birth Control in oe Law, New York University

: ress » PP. 69. It further ste

from the position of ene Church on original sin

baptism, which leads to the conclusion that a

fetus is not permitted to develop to term so that

can be baptized at birth, it is "worse than murde

for then the fetus is doomed to limbo. Feldman,

In contrast with the Catholic approach to

abortion, under Jewish law, the welfare of the

woman -- her pain and suffering -- is paramount,

Feldman, Ibid., pp. 291-2. In Jewish law, the fet

does not become a person until the moment of birt

Feldman, Ibid., pp. and 273. The fetus, at

least in the early stages is considered part of

s

*## This was coupled with crusades in Calvinist

theology and New England Puritanism against sex a

a Lader, Lawrence, Abortion, Beacon

(1966). ee

snert's body, Feldman, Ibid., p. 265, and only

wen its head emerges is It inviolate. Feldman,

bide, Pe 27298 Therefore, in any number of situa-

tong in which abortion would be permissible

ger gewish law it would be forbidden under the

ys of Texas and Georgia and nearly every other

tate in the country as would be more consonant

th Catholic doctrine.

Abortion laws throughout the country are

pased on a religious definition of when

life begins. As a result, no woman may

y terminate an unwanted pregnancy except

ner the most limited circumstances, because to do

o would offend the religious precepts of others.

ne then, though forced to adopt certain beliefs,

1s her personal constitutional freedoms eroded by

which not only favor one religious. doctrine

ut actually enforce it. Thus, the Texas and

orgia a8 Well as most other abortion laws are in

ct conflict with constitutional rule that

[tJhe government is neutral, and while protecting

, it Lronbegtn — > oe it nie ag none."

school District o bington Township v. Soperee

PIT U5. CUS, JO5)6 8 8 ourt stated in

hat case:

The wholesome ‘neutrality’ of which this

Court's cases speak thus stems from a

recognition of the teachings of history

that powerful sects or groups might bring

about a fusion of governmental and reli-

gious functions or a concert or dependency

of one upon the other to the end that

official support of the State or Federal

Government would be placed behind the tenets

of one or all orthodoxies. 374 U.S. at 222.

Just such fusion deprives countless of women

pach year of the most basic control over their bodies

nd their lives in a way which will affect them for

he rest of their days, and all in violation of the

onstitutional proscription against the establishment

~53~

of religion. rare 1 ie

itis |

a . 4

ey

_. The pohehidasnenh. of religion’ clause

of the First Amendment means at least

this: Neither a state o~ Federal

Government can set up a church. Neither |

can pass laws which aid one religion, aid .

all religions, or prefer one religion . “a .

over another, Neither can force nor ites

fluence a person to go to or to remain ©

away from church against his will or >a

force him to profess a belief or table

in any religion. No person can be

punished for entertaining or professing _

religious beliefs or disbeliefs, for ‘4

church attendance or none-attendance. No .

tax in any amount, large or small, can be.

levied to support any religious activities

or institutions, whatever they may be

called, or whatever form they may adopt

to teach or practice religion. Neither a.

state nor ‘the Federal Government can,

openly or secretly, participate in the

affairs of any religious organizations or

groups and vice versa. In the words of

Jefferson, the clause against establish-

ment of religion by law was intended to

erect “a wall of separation between church

and state." Everson v. Board of Education

330 UsS. 1, 15-16 (1947), citing Reynolds”

Vv. United States, 98 U. Se 145, 1 ety.)

The Texas and Georgia laws governing abortion consti.

tute the most glaring example of the demolition of t

wall, Furthermore, insisting that a woman carry to

term each and every pregnancy which may occur the

state is not only enforcing a particular religious &

lief but developing a form of right unique in Ameri

law. For, in no other instance does the right to

live include the right to use another person's bod

his or her kidney, heart and lungs. Yet the denial:

athe

f

yomen the right to an abortion gives a fetus the

right to occupy an unwilling woman's body and use

not only her uterus but every other organ of her

pody without her consent.

Thus stripped of the remaining religions

justification for the prohibition of abortion,

there 18 no argument sufficient to sustain the

abridgment of a women’s rights effected by the

denial of abortion.

“Where there is a significant encroachment

upon personal liberty, the State may prevail only

by showing a subordinating interest which is com-

pelling." Griswold v. Connecticut, supra, 381

U.S. at 497, ¢ Bates v. City of le Rock

361 UsS. 510, 524 es 580s ——

Amici urge this Court to consider the

following questions:

Are the interests of society being

served by a law which exposed over a

million women last year to such risks

{as described above]? Are the inter-

ests of society being served by women

bearing unwanted children, subjected

to the pressures of an emotionally

and financially deprived existence?

Are the interests of society being

served by the population explosion we

are now witnessing? South Dakota v.

Munson, s » Slip opirion, p. 9.

Thus the real question is not “How can

we justify abortion"? but “How can we

justify compulsory childbearing?"

Cisler, "Unfinished Business: Birth

Control and Women's Liberation,” Sister-

hood is Powerful, ed., Robin Morgan,

Random House, 1970, p. 278.

iv

eat

This court must then conclude, as —

courts have across the nation, that,

Upon a balancing of relevant interest,

we hold that a woman's right to refuse

to carry an embryo during the early

months of pregnancy may not be invaded

by the state without a more compelling’

public necessity than is reflected in

the statute in question. Walsingham.

v. Florida, supra, slip opinion, p. 12,

citing Babbitz v. McCann, supra.

And further, that,

The Court can find no compelling inter.

est of the state and concludes that the

right to choose to bear or not to bear

children is a fundamental right of the

individual woman to be exercised in

manner she chooses and which may not in

any way be abridged by law. People v,

Robb, supra, slip opinion, p, 5

~56~

y. YOUNGER v. HARRIS DOES NOT IMPAIR

THE JURISDICTION, POWER

OR RESPONSIBILITY OF THIS COURT

TO GRANT THE RELIEF REQUESTED.

In Younger v. Harris, 91 S.Ct. 746 (1971),

and its companion cases this Court refused to rule

on the constitutionality of several state statutes

challenged on First Amendment grounds. The Court

neld that the constitutional objections could a

should be raised by the litigants in defense to a

criminal prosecution, and the litigants would not

pe irreparably harmed by raising their constitu-

tional rights in that forum. That is not the case

here however.

In the two cases before this Court the

primary plaintiffs are women in need of abortions.

Neither they, nor other women throughout the

country, who daily have their rights denied by the

Georgia, Texas and other abortion statutes, can turn

to the state criminal process for a determination of

their rights. For, the violation of their rights

does not stem primarily from the fact that they may

be prosecuted for having an abortion (though in

rare cases they are), but from the fact that a very

real threat of criminal prosecution of third parties

prevents them from obtaining the medical care they

require. As long as abortion laws such as those

of Georgia and Texas are in effect they will not be

able to obtain abortions. As the Supreme Court

of the State of California recognized in California

vy. Belous, supra, 80 Cal.Rptr. at 366, since the

doctor 18 risking his own freedom and professional

career in performing an abortion, "Rather than being

impartial, the physician has a ‘direct, personal,

substantial, pecuniary interest in reaching a con-

clusion' that the woman should not ‘have an abortion."

The situation of women barred from obtaining

-57-

abortions by unconstitutional laws is thereforg:..

distinguishable from that of appellees in Boyle

Ve Landr r 91° 8.Ct. 758 (1971). ‘This Col

that they were deterred from exercising their

constitutional rights only by their own "“imagi-

nary or speculative fears of prosecution." 9]

S.Ct. at 758. Furthermore, women are not re-

quired to entrust the protection of their consti.

tutional rights to a third party which has litte

interest in protecting those rights. Perlman y,.

Amici have attempted to show that to re->

quire a woman to carry, give birth to and raise

a child against her will is indeed irreparable ».

harm sufficient to satisfy the standard of -

v. Stein, 91 S.Ct. 769 (1971), decided with:

Younger v. Harris, supra, in which the Court

stator tnt

--.-federal intervention affecting pend-

ing state criminal prosecutions, either

by injunction or by declaratory judg-

ment is proper only where irreparable

injury is threatened. The existence

of such injury is a matter to be deter-

mined carefully under the facts of

each case.

The rights of women such as Mary Doe and

Jane Roe who are denied the abortions they seek

must not turn on whether some few medical personne)

are courageous enough to open themselves to prose-

cution by performing the needed abortions, and then

challenge the restrictive law in a criminal pro-

ceeding. This is too tenuous a thread for million

of women throughout the country to rest their con-

stitutional rights on. In Younger v. Harris, ree

91 S.Ct. at 751, this Court no that It has Ion

been considered appropriate for the federal courts

to rule on the constitutionality of state criminal

=58~

statutes where,

. The threat to the: plaintiffs

federally protected rights [is] one

that cannot eliminated by his de-

fense ta @ single criminal

. $3. parte Parte

voums, 203 0.8. ee

rat is “7. the situation before the Court.

vonen are having their lives and bodies mangled

and destroyed daily abortion laws such as

those Bn and and cannot look to the

state to rid themselves of the

ponds of theese This Court must, therefore,

exercise the “6 of the federal courts to hear

snd decide fed: ral constitutional claims, for

the federal courte ere the "...primary and power-

ful reliances for vindicat every right given

by the Conseetyssee: ° oo" Zwickler v. Koota, 381

-59-

and Texas Penal Code: articles 1191, 1192, 2105

1194 and 1196 violate the most fundamental rigy

of women guaranteed by the United States — e. &

Constitution.

oo Sg

Respectfully submit ¢

NANCY STEARNS

c/o Center for Constitye

tional Rights 41 :

588 Ninth Avenue aryed;

New York, New York 10036.

$e.

ape

The attorney for amici wishes to note with.

ciation the invaluable assistance of Eli

Schneider of New York University School and -Cheis

Stern of Brooklyn Law School in the te

of this Brief.

we

oe

-60-

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Amicus Curiae Brief — Roe v. Wade · 410 U.S. 113 | Frix