Amicus Curiae Brief — Roe v. Wade

Supreme Court brief1973

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

—

SUBJECT INDEX

Page

Motion for Leave to File Brief Amici Curiae in

Support of Appellants ................-.--sssssssssseseeeee:

Brief of Amici Curiae ........ FAECES Paar ON SSC T

Summary of Argument ................--------ss-+s-eeeeee0

I

The Georgia Abortion Law Infringes Upon the

Right to Marital and Individual Privacy With-

out a Compelling State Interest

A. The Statute Infringes Upon the Right to

Privacy

Do IEE INI, aloes ccukadsdodereasniocese

2. The Right of Privacy of the Indi-

vidual Woman

The Statute Infringes Upon Fundamental

Constitutional Rights Without Serving

Any Compelling State Interest ..............

1. The Statute Serves No Health Inter-

est of the State; On the Contrary,

It Has Created a Severe Health

Problem i

a. The History of the Abortion

Statute .....

b. The Adverse Effect Upon

Health of the Georgia Law ......

2. The State Has No Valid Interest in

Indirectly Legislating Morality, and

the Statute Does Not Actually Serve

11

14

Page

3. The State Has No Interest in Increas-

ing Its Population; On the Contrary,

nie

4. The State Has No Interest in Requir-

ing That All Embryos Develop and

Be Born 19

a. The Law Has Never Restricted

Abortions for the Purpose of

Protecting the Embryo ......... .. 19

b. There Is No Legal Recognition

of the Fetus as a Person; Live

Birth Is Required Before Any

Rights Attach . 20

c. The View That “Human Life”

Commences With Conception Is

a Philosophical Conclusion Not

Supported by Scientific Evi-

dence 20

5. Conclusion 21

I.

The Application and Effect of Restrictive Abor-

tion Laws, Such as the Georgia Abortion Law,

Results in Discrimination Against Poor and

Non-White Women in Exercising Their Funda-

mental Interest in Marital and Individual Pri-

vacy, Denying to Them the Equal Protection

of the Laws 22

A. Factual Data Demonstrate Discrimination

Against the Poor and Non-White ............ 22

B. As a Result of the Disproportionate Un-

availability of Hospital Abortions to °

Them, the Poor and the Non-White Re-

sort to Unsafe Criminal Abortions Which

iii,

Page

Lead to High Mortality and Morbidity

Rates 29

C. Where Abortion Restrictions Have Been

Eliminated, the Poor and the Non-White

in Fact Receive Abortion Services in a

Non-Discriminatory Manner 31

D. The Impact of the Restrictive Abortion

Law Effectively Denies Equal Protection

to the Poor and Non-White .................... 32

Mil.

Where the State Has Permitted Abortions to Take

Place in Certain Hospitals Under Certain Con-

ditions, but Has Delegated Unreviewable Au-

thority Without Standards to a Private Body

to Decide in Which Hospitals Abortions May

Take Place, and Has Delegated Unreviewable

Authority to Physicians and Committees of

Physicians to Decide Under Which Conditions

Abortions May Take Place, and Said Physi-

cians Have Compelling Reasons to Skew Their

Decisions Against Granting Abortions, and

Where Such Delegations of Authority Are

Likely to Result and in Fact Result in Dis-

crimination in Obtaining Abortion Against the

Poor and Non-White, the State Has Denied

to the Poor and Non-White the x Protec-

tion of the Laws ...... 37

A. Restricting Lawful Abortions to Accred-

ited Hospitals Results in Discrimination

Against the Poor and Non-White ............ 37

B. Delegation of Authority to Physicians and

Their Committees to Approve Abortions

at Their Peril Results in Discrimination

Against the Poor and the Non-White .... 43

iv.

IV. Page

Georgia’s Statutory Option for Hospitals to Re-

ject Abortion Patients, to the Extent It Is Ex-

ercised by Public or Publicly-Subsidized Hos-

pitals, Sanctions a Denial of Equal Protection

to the Class of Patients Requiring Abortion,

Having a Particularly Severe Impact on the

Poor and Non-White ; .-- 48

V.

Conclusion . 52

bs

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page

Babbitz v. McCann, 310 F. Supp. 293, app. dism. _

per cur., 400 US. 1 ne eeeeceecesseeeeeeseeee 13

Baired v. Eisenstadt, 429 F. 2d 1398, prob. juris.

401 US. 934 . 17, 18

Bates v. Little Rock, 361 US. 516 ES Re 14

Brooks Estate, In re, 32 Ill. 2d 361, 205 N.E. 2d

BSD cnncenscorecsennee 13

Carter v. Carter Coal Co., 298 U. Be BE ikieieieenens 38

Communist Party of U.S. v. SACB, 367 US. 1 .... 38

Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471 ........ 36, 42, 49

Doe v. Gen. Hosp., 313 F. Supp. 1170, 434 F. 2d

rere ee rseanbinecemnegeenorennens 24

Dougiws v. California, 372 U.S. 353 ...............- 33, 34

Edwards v. California, 314 U.S. 160 ...................... 24

Epperson v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97 21

Erickson v. Dilgard, 44 Misc. 2d 27, 252 N.Y.S.

2d 705 aa 13

Gardner v. California, 393 U.S. 367 ....................-- 34

Gomillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339 .................... 34

Griffin v. County School Board of Prince Edward

ee a! Sg 3 | REEERRR Sie neenno ee 51

NI ©, SOONG, FOR BOI BO nreceieesee 33, 42

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 ....8, 9, 10

ser Cosy eee 11, 18, 52

Harper v. Virginia Bd. of Elections, 383 U.S. 663

ss daca ethane dclesaacdll tei tonicoiaini.n baamoesesnninsneny 33, 42

Hobson v. Hansen, 269 F. Supp. 401, omseglindiasewouanavs 34

Jackson v. Denno, 378 U.S. 368 ............:cepeeceeeee- 46

Jacobson v. Massachusetts, 197 U.S. 11 13

James v. Valtierra, 91 S. Ct. 1331 51,52

Long v. District Court of Iowa, 385 U.S. 192 0.00.34

9

46

Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1

Mayberry v. Pennsylvania, 400 U.S. 455

McGautha v. California, 91 S. Ct. 1454 38, 39, 41

Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390

Murchison, In re, 349 U.S. 133

NAACP v. Alabama, 377 U.S. 288 ..

Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438

Patton v. Mississippi, 332 U.S. 463 .

People v. Belous, 71 Cal. 2d 954, cert. denied, 397

US. 915 12, 16, 20, 30, 46

Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510

Pres. & Directors of Georgetown College, Inc. v.

Jones, 231 F. 2d 1000, cert. denied, 377 US.

978

Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 399 U.S. 367

Reitman v. Mulkey, 387 U.S. 369

Rinaldi v. Yeager, 384 U.S. 305

Sams v. Ohio Valley Gen’l Hosp. Assn., 413 F. 2d

826 ,

Schecter Poultry Corp. v. U.S., 295 U.S. 495

Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 ....33, 36, 42, 50

Simkins v. Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp., 323

F. 2d 959, cert. denied, 376 U.S. 938

Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535

Smith v. Texas, 311 U.S. 128 ..

: Page

smuck v. Hobson, 408 F. 2d 175 . 34

State v. Murphy, 27 N.J.L. 112 ........... 15

Terry v. Ohio, 393 US. 1 ..... 11

Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88 41

Tumey v. Ohio, 273. U.S. 510 aa cua es 46

United States v. George, 239 F. Supp. 752 .......... 14

United States v. Grimaud, 220 U.S. 504 .............. 39

United States v. Rock-Royal Co-Op., 307 U.S. 533 .. 38

United States v. Vuitch, 91 S. Ct. 1294 ........ 44, 45

Williams v. Oklahoma City, 395 U.S. 458

Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356 ......... .33, 41, 42

Miscellaneous

New York Times (June 26, 1970), p. 1 ................ 35

United States Department of Health, Education,

Welfare, Hill-Burton Project Register (1969),

pp. 80-92 49

Statutes

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 45, Sec. 220.20.. 19

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 45, Sec. 220.21

Georgia Code Annotated, Sec. 26-1201

Georgia Code Annotated, Sec. 26-1202(a) ............ 43

Georgia Code Annotated, Sec. 26-1202(b)

Georgia Code Annotated, Sec. 26-1202(b)(3) ....

29, 43

Georgia Code Annotated, Sec. 26-1202(b)(4) ....

Be eth beabbacibevlitestersiciecaisidectte 29, 37, 38, 49, 40

Georgia Code Annotated, Sec. 26-1202(b)(5) ....

Viii.

Georgie Code Annotated, Sec. 26-1202(b)(6) 29

Georgia Code Annotated, Sec. 26-1202(¢) -.....2..)99

Georgia Code Annotated, Sec. 26-1202 (€) .2.-.<.2:48

Georgia Code Annotated, Sec.’ 26-1203

United States Code, Title 42, Sec. 291 20.0.1... 2&8

United States “Code, Title 42, Sec. 291c(e)

United States Code, Title 42, Sec. 705(a)(12)...17

United ‘States’ Code, Title 42, Sec. 1396 ....36, 48, 49

United States Code, Title 42, Sec. 1396a(a)(2)... 50

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment /

7, 9, 41, 53

Textbooks

American College of Obstetrics & Gynecology, .

Policy on Abortion, Medical Tribune (Oct. 12,

1970), p. 1 (35

15 American Law Reports 3d (1967), p. 992 ....-20

American Medical News (July 12, 1971), p. 9 .... 32

Bumpass.and Westoff, The Perfect Contraceptive .

Population, 169 Science (1970), pp. 1177, 1179

4 ig

Clark, Religion, Morality and Abortion: A Consti-

tutional Appraisal, 2 Loyola University (Los ,An-

geles) Law Review (Apr. 1969), p. 1

Clark, Religion, Morality and Abortion: A Con- »

stitutional Appraisal, 2 Loyola University (Los

Angeles) Law Review (1969), p. 7

Clark, Religion, Morality and Abortion: A Constitu-

tional Appraisal, 2 Loyola University (Los An-

geles) Law Review (Apr. 1969), p. 9

-3 Coke on Institutes (1648), p. 50

RI EEN THR COIGH

ix.

Page

Gold, et al., Therapeutic Abortions in New York

City: A 20-Year Review, 55 American Journal

of Public Health (1965), pp. 964, 966 26

Guttmacher, “The Shrinking Non-Psychiatric In-

dications for Therapeutic Abortion (Rosen ed.),

Therapeutic Abortion (1954), p. 12 27

Hall, Abortion in American Hospitals, 57 American

Journal of Public Health (1967), p. 1933 ..16, 17, 25

Hall, Abortion in icam Hospitals, 57 American

Journal of Public Health (1967), p. 1934

16, 17, 25, 30

Hall, Abortion Laws: A Call for Reform, 18 De-

Paul Law Review (1969), pp. 584, 585 16

Hall, Therapeutic Abortion, Sterlization and Con-

traception, 91 American Journal of Obstetrics

and Gynecology (1965), pp. 518, 519 25, 28

Hall, Therapeutic Abortion, Sterilization and Con-

traception, 91 American Journal of Obstetrics

and Gynecology (1965), p. 522 28

92 Harvard Law Review (1969), pp. 1065, 1130

82 Harvard Law Review (1969), p. 1178

Kauper, Penumbras, Peripheries, Emanations, Things

Fundamental and Things Forgotten: The Gris-

wold Case, 64 Michigan Law Review (1958), pp.

235, 258 ee

Kleegman, Planned Parenthood: Its Influence on

Public Health and Family Welfare (Rosen ed),

Abortion in America (1967), pp. 254, 256

Page

Kummer, A Psychiatrist Views Our Abortion Enigma,

The Case for Legalized Abortion Now (Gutt.

macher ed. 1967), p. 114 tat

Lader on Abortion (1966), pp. 29-30 .. 47

Leavy & Kummer, Criminal Abortion: Human

Hardship and Unyielding Laws, 35 Southern Cali-

fornia Law Review (1962), p. 123 .................. 30

Mandy, Reflections of a Gynecologist (Rosen ed.),

Abortion in America (1967), pp. 288-289. 27

Means, The Law of New York Concerning Abor-

tion and the Status of the Foetus, 1664-1968:

A Case of Cessation of Constitutionality, 14

” New York Law File (1968), pp. 411, 420, 453 .. 19

Moritz & Thompson, Septic Abortion, 95 American

Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology (1966),

p. 46 17

New York Penal Law (McKinney Supp. 1970),

Sec. 125.05 ......... 31

Niswander, Medical Abortion Practices in the

United States, in Smith (ed), Abortion and the

Law (1967), p. 53 25

Packer, The Limits of the Criminal Sanction (1968),

p. 344 29

Prosser on Law of Torts (4th ed. 1971), p. 336 .. 20

Rosen, A Case Study in Social Hypocrisy (Rosen

ed.), Abortion in America (1967), pp. 299,

306-307 28

Rosen, Psychiatric Implications of Abortion: A

Case Study in Social Hypocrisy, 17 Wisconsin

Res. Law Review (1965), pp. 435, 450 ............ 30

—

Page

silver & Worthington, Regulation of Quality of

Care in Hospitals, 35 Law & Contemp. Problems

lems (1970), pp. 305, 310-311 . 38

Silver & Worthington, Regulation of Quality of

Care in Hospitals, 35 Law & Contemp. Problems

SE i Be pesercemmcoreterneensone 40

Tietz, Morality With Contraception and Induced

Abortions, 45 Studies in Family Planning (Sept.

1969), p. 6 16

Tietze, Therapeutic Abortions in the United States,

101 American Journal of Obstetrics and Gyne-

cology (1968), pp. 784, 786 ..........---.--------105- 26

Williams, The Sanctity of Life and the Criminal

fgg RN NG | f smeeeetseeien aterm ee |

- Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1971

No. 70-40

Mary Dog, et al., etc.,

Appellants,

vs.

ArTHuR K. BoLToNn, Attorney General of the State of

Georgia, et al., etc.,

On Appeal From the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Georgia.

A ppellees.

Motion for Leave to File Brief Amici Curiae

in Support of Appellants.

The Nafional Legal Program on Health Problems of

the Poor, the National Welfare Rights Organization

and the American Public Health Association” hereby

respectfully move the Court for leave to file their at-

tached brief amici curiae in support of appellants in

the above-entitled matter.

The National Legal Program on Health Problems of

the Poor is a law reform center funded by the U.S.

Office of Economie Opportunity to provide support for

OEO Legal Services programs across the country in

iain

cases involving health problems of the poor, and ty

provide, through education, research and legal repr.

sentation, assistance in the preparation of important —

litigation in health law. In that capacity, the Program

participated as amicus curiae in this case in the cour

below. The Program is based at UCLA School of

Law.

The National Welfare Rights Organization is a yo}.

untary association with 125,000 members in 50 states

organized to represent the interests of low income peo

ple and welfare recipients with regard to redress of

legal grievances, to act as a spokesman for such people

and to educate and inform them of their legal rights.

The American Public Health Association is a volun

tary association of professionals and others in the field

of health care who are concerned about improving the

quality and the means of providing for the health care

of the American people. The APHA works to identify

and study these problems, and to communicate its con-

cerns to the government and the public.

These organizations share the view that restrictive

state abortion laws, such as the Georgia statute here

under review, have a negative effect on the health and

well-being of American women, and have a particular-

ly severe impact on the nation’s poor and non-white

populations. It is the poor and non-white who suffer

most from limited access to legal abortion, and it is

they who incur greatly disproportionate numbers of

deaths and crippling injuries as a result of being forced

to seek criminal abortion.

a

3

There are a number of grounds for constitutional

challenge to the abortion law here under review. Amici

request leave to file this brief at the invitation of coun-

sel for appellants, in order to present in some depth the

argument that the discriminatory application and effect

of the abortion law denies to the poor and non-white

the equal protection of the law.

It is the understanding and belief of amici that this

argument will not be developed in any detail in the

principal briefs for appellants, and that appellants rely

on the within brief for this purpose. Therefore, the

equal protection analysis and issues raised in this brief

will not be repetitious of other arguments.

Respectfully submitted,

ALAN F. CHARLES,

National Legal Program on

Health Problems of the Poor,

UCLA School of Law,

Los Angeles, Calif. 90024,

: SUSAN GROSSMAN ALEXANDER,

National Legal Program on

‘ Health Problems of the Poor,

UCLA School of Law,

Los Angeles, Calif. 90024,

Attorneys for Amici Curiae.

incall

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE.

Summary of Argument.

A woman who seeks an abortion is asserting certain

fundamental rights which are protected by the Consti-

tution. Among these are the rights to marital and fami-

ly privacy, to individual and sexual privacy; in sum,

the right to choose whether to bear children or not.

These rights are abridged by the state’s restriction of

abortions to limited circumstances. To justify such an

abridgment, the state must demonstrate a compelling

interest; no such compelling interest exists to save the

Georgia abortion law.

The state’s interest in protecting the woman’s health

no longer supports the restrictions on abortion set forth

in the Georgia statute. Medical science now performs

abortions more safely than it brings a woman through

pregnancy and childbirth. Any state interest in discour-

aging non-marital sexual relationships must be served

by laws penalizing these relationships, and not by an

indirect, overly broad prohibition on abortion. There

is no evidence, in any case, that abortion laws deter

such sexual relationships. The state’s purported interest

in expanding the population lacks any viability today;

government policy in every other area is now squarely

against it. And any purported interest in permitting all

embryos to develop and be born is not supported any-

where in the Constitution or any other body of law.

Because of its restrictions, the Georgia statute de-

nies to poor and non-white women equal access to le-

gal abortions. It is an undeniable fact that abortion

in Georgia and in virtually every other state in the

United States is far more readily available to the white,

sida

paying patient than to the poor and the non-white

Studies by physicians, sociologists, public health ex:

perts, and lawyers all reach this same conclusion. The

reasons for it are not purely economic, i.e., that be

cause abortion is an expensive commodity to obtain

on the medical marketplace, it is therefore to be ex.

pected that the rich will have greater access to it. It is

also because in the facilities which provide health care

' to the poor, abortion is simply not made available to

the poor and non-white on the same conditions as it

is to paying patients. As a result, the poor resort to

criminal abortion, with its high toll of infection and

death, in vastly disproportionate numbers.

Largely to blame are restrictive abortion laws, such

as the Georgia statute, in which the legislature has

made lay judgments about what conditions must exist

before abortions can be legally performed, and has dele-

gated the authority to make such decisions to physi-

cians and committees of physicians with the threat of

felony punishment if they err on the side of granting

abortion. Unlike more privileged women, poor and non-

white women are unable to shop for physicians and

hospitals sympathetic to their applications, cannot af-

ford the necessary consultations to establish that their

conditions qualify them for treatment, and must large-

ly depend on public hospitals and physicians with

whom they have no personal relationship, and who

operate under the government’s eye, for the relief they

seek. The resulting discrimination is easily dem-

ll

—

The state has confounded the unequal treatment of

the poor and non-white by requiring that abortions

may only be performed in hospitals accredited by the

Joint Commission on Accreditation of Hospitals, thus

severely limiting the number of hospitals to which the

poor and non-white may have access, without any legiti-

mate state purpose for doing so. The state has also

worsened the discriminatory treatment of the poor and

non-white by permitting all hospitals to arbitrarily re-

ject abortion patients, including hospitals which have

federal constitutional responsibilities not to discriminate

by virtue of their public or publicly-subsidized status.

In the absence of any compelling state interest, the

harsh discriminatory effect on the poor and the non-

white resulting from the operation of the Georgia abor-

tion law denies to poor and non-white women the

equal protection of the laws in violation of the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

Scie

ARGUMENT.

THE GEORGIA ABORTION LAW INFRINGES UPON THE

RIGHT TO MARITAL AND INDIVIDUAL PRIVACY

WITHOUT A COMPELLING STATE INTEREST,

A. The Statute Infringes Upon the Right to Privacy,

The right to privacy has been recognized as a cop.

stitutionally protected right. The Georgia abortion stat.

ute infringes on the right to marital privacy and the

woman’s right to individual privacy.

1. Marital Privacy.

In Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, this Court

recognized the right to marital privacy when the Court

voided a state statute prohibiting dissemination of con-

traceptive information and devices. The Court defined

the right to privacy in terms of the right to personal

solitude and autonomy and applied it to a “zone of

privacy in marriage,” thereby setting forth a right that

may not be disturbed by the state without a compelling

and valid interest.

The explicit recognition in Griswold of a right of

marital privacy is but one decision in a line of deci-

sions, dating over fifty years, giving constitutional pro-

tection to various rights in the procreative, marital and

family context, none of which is explicitly enumerated

in the Bill of Rights. These decisions include Skinner

v. Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535, 536 (“the right to have

offspring” is a constitutionally protected “human

right”); Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510,

534-35 (the right to send one’s children to private

school is derived from “the liberty of parents and guard-

ians to direct the upbringing and education of children

slain

under their control”); and Meyer v. Nebraska, 262

US. 390, 399 (the liberty guaranteed by the Four-

teenth Amendment denotes “the right of the individual

to. . . marry, establish a home and bring up chil-

dren”). More recently, Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S.

1, 12, specifically held that the Due Process Clause

of the Fourteenth Amendmant protects “the freedom

to marry...as one of the vital personal rights es-

sential to the orderly pursuit of happiness by free men”.

Recognition of the right of privacy asserted in the

case now before the Court thus would not usher in a

vast increase in judicial power. What has been said

pertaining to Griswold applies here:

It required no judicial roving at large to reach

the conclusion that the freedom of the marital re-

lationship is a part of the bundle of rights asso-

ciated with home, family, and marriage—rights

supported by precedent, history and common un-

derstanding. ...In exercising its powers in Gris-

wold to protect a fundamental personal liberty,

the Court, far from advancing to a new mile-

post on the high road of judicial supremacy, was

treading a worn and familiar path. Kauper,

“Penumbras, Peripheries, Emanations, Things

idamental and Things Forgotten: The Griswold

Case,” 64 Mich. L. Rev. 235, 258 (1958).

This Court, in Griswold, endorsed the contention

that certain areas of one’s life are so personal that

they are nobody else’s business; that there is a right to

simply withdraw into personal intimacy without hin-

drance by the State, and a right to protection of this

private sphere. Without any ‘invasion’ of the marital

bedchamber, and without any attempt by the state to

niin

obtain incriminating evidence, the Court held the Cop,

necticut statute to be an invasion of the protected

“zone of marital privacy.” Surely, the State had no ip.

terest in invading the sanctity, or privacy, of any other

decisions involving family planning.

Griswold’s act was to prevent formation of the

fetus. This, the court found, was constitutionally

protected. If an individual may prevent concep.

tion, why can he not nullify that conception when

prevention has failed? Clark, “Religion, Morality

and Abortion: A Constitutional Appraisal,” 2

Loyola U, (L.A.) L. Rev. 1,9 (Apr. 1969).

The Georgia statute, by limiting the authorization

of abortions to certain situations, puts limits upon the

married couple’s»fundamental right to decide whether

or not to bear a child, at the instant when an ovum

is fertilized. Until that moment, the couple has com-

plete freedom of choice as to when, ‘whether, and how

often they shall produce children. But once fertilization

occurs, their freedom of choice ends and they may not

choose not to have a child. The state thus invades,

and even supersedes, a married couple’s constitutional

right to control the use of their procreative powers.

Under Griswold it is surely not the means of control,

but the power to control which is significant.

The existence and enforcement of this statute allows

the state to intrude into the very essence of the marital

relationship and indeed to affect the very course and

fate of the marriage itself. As did the Connecticut anti-

contraceptive statute, the Georgia abortion statute un-

constitutionally “operates directly on an intimate rela-

tion of husband and wife.” 381 U.S. at 483.

ie, ae

2. The Right of Privacy of the Individual Woman.

The right to privacy, to seclusion and autonomy, es-

tablished as to married couples in Griswold, supra, sure-

ly belongs to individuals as well.

The right of a woman to control her own body,

specifically whether or not to continue a pregnancy, is

inherent in the decision in Terry v. Ohio, 393 US.

1, 8-9, that “no right is more sacred ... than the right

of every individual to the possession and control of his

own person... .” See also Olmstead v. United States,

277 U.S. 438, 478 (Brandeis, J., dissenting).

The right of the woman to decide whether to ter-

minate an unwanted pregnancy follows inexorably

from the broad principle that she is entitled to be

“let alone” by the state and its agents. For a state to

adopt such provisions as the State of Georgia has done

in this statute represents an impermissible intrusion

iftto her right to her personal integrity and is a depriva-

tion of her personal liberty. By compelling her, against

her will, to continue a pregnancy, the woman may

be adversely affecting the essential direction and quality

of her own life (and perhaps the lives of others with

whom she lives and works, as well). If a woman is

viewed as an individual entity, and not as a vessel for

propagation, each time she determines whether to bear

a child or not, she is without doubt making a truly

fundamental choice of her life. Women are no longer

a vehicle for a determination by others that super-

vening social interests require their frequent childbearing

for the purpose of adding to the population. Through

the medium of the abortion law, however, they are

subject to the determination of society in general,

which (so far as the lawmaking process is concerned)

ee

is largely male, that no woman may make for herself

the decision not to complete a pregnancy to term whea

she does not desire to. As set out below, the state has

no compelling interest in demanding that a woman

should carry an unwanted child.

- Several courts have acknowledged that the woman's

right to her physical integrity requires that she be a}

lowed to make the decision as to the termination of

her pregnancy without hindrance by the state. . These

cases stand for the proposition that abortion statutes

are wholly inconsistent with the existence of a right s

fundamental in nature, and are, therefore, unconstity.

tional. In one of these cases was the state’s interest in

the policy expressed in the challenged abortion statute

considered to be of sufficiently compelling nature to

justify legislative efforts to circumscribe a woman’s

right to decide, after consultation with her physician,

to terminate her pregnancy.

In People v. Belous, 71 Cal. 2d 954 (1969), cert,

. denied, 397 U.S. 915, for example, the Supreme Court

of California, in striking down as unconstitutional the

pre-1967 abortion law of California, stated:

The rights involved in the instant case are the wo-

man’s right to life and to choose whether to bear

children. The woman’s right to life is involved be-

cause childbirth involves risks of death. |

The fundamental right of the woman to choose

whether to bear children follows from the Su-

preme Court’s and this Court’s repeated acknowl-

edgment of a “right of privacy” or “liberty” in mat:

ters related to marriage, family, and sex. 71 ‘Cal.

2d at 963 (footnotes and citations omitted).

siletaie

See also Babbitz v. McCann, 310 F. Supp. 293

(ED. Wis. 1970), appeal dismissed per curiam, 400

U.S. 1, where the court said:

The police power of the state does not . . . entitle

it to deny to a woman the basic right reserved to

her under the Ninth Amendment to decide whether

she should carry or reject an embryo which has

not quickened. 310 F. Supp. at 302.

The right “to be let alone” has, to be sure, been

in a few cases involving physical intrusion in-

to the body, but only where the state interest has been

compelling, that is, where the exercise of that right has

threatened the rights of other members of society. For

example, the power of the state to require vaccinations

and to quarantine persons suffering from contagious

diseases, although upheld, has been limited to situa-

tions involving “great dangers”, and “the safety of the

general public.” Jacobson v. Massachusetts, 197 U.S. 11,

29 (1904). In Jacobson, even so minor an infringe-

ment of liberty and of the individual's sovereignty over

his body as vaccination was held to require a strong

justification. a

Also supporting the individual’s right to control his

own body are recent cases which have upheld the in-

dividual’s right to refuse medical treatment, even though

such a refusal will clearly result in death. See e.g.,

Erickson v. Dilgard, 44 Misc. 2d 27, 252 N.Y.S. 2d

105 (Nassau County Sup. Ct. 1962); In re Brooks

Estate, 32 Ill. 2d 361, 205 N.E. 2d 435 (1965).

In a case where blood transfusions were permitted

without the patient’s consent, Pres. & Directors of

Georgetown College, Inc. v. Jones, 231 F. 2d 1000

(D.C. Cir. 1964), cert. denied, 377 U.S. 978, the

' —l4—

court based its order on two-grounds: (1) the state

had an interest in preserving the life of a woman whose

small child might become a public charge if she died;

and (2) the patient was too weak from loss of blood

to be capable of making a competent decision: This

case was followed in United States v. George,.239 F.

Supp. 752 (D. Conn. 1965), in which blood transfy.

sions were ordered while the patient was semiconscious,

but withdrawn several days later when the patient re.

gained consciousness.

These cases demonstrate that an individual has a

right to refuse medical treatment unless the state’s in.

terest is so great that the rest of society will be en.

dangered absent such treatment. Similarly, the state

has no right to prevent an individual woman from ob-

taining medical treatment she desires, where that treat-

ment represents no danger to the community as a whole,

B. The Statute Infringes Upon Fundamental Constity.

tional Rights Without abi Any Compelling

State Interest.

Where there is a significant encroachment upoa

personal liberty, the State may prevail only upon

showing a subordinating interest which is com-

pelling. Bates v. Little Rock, 361 U.S. 516, 524. °

compelling state interest to justify its infringement upoa

constitutionally protected rights. The statute does not

serve any valid health purpose; instead it causes a se

vere health problem. The state has no valid interest in

regulating morality-indirectly through an abortion stat-

ute. The state has no valid interest in increasing popv-

lation through an abortion statute. And .the state has

——

we Yaa

no interest in requiring that all embryos develop and be

born.

L The Statute Serves No Health Interest of the State; On the

Contrary, It Has Created a Severe Health Problem.

Because a state has a valid interest in protecting

the health of its citizens, one frequently-asserted justi-

fication for restrictive abortion laws has been the state’s

concern with preserving the health of the woman be-

cause of the medical dangers associated with abortion

in the past. Indeed, the history of abortion legislation

in the United States shows that such a concern was

a primacy, if not the sole, reason for the passage of

such restrictive laws during the nineteenth century. But

current medical knowledge and techniques have dras-

tically reduced the hazards of abortion, and any such

state interest has disappeared. Now, pregnancy itself

may be more harmful to woman’s health than an abor-

tion performed under medically approved conditions. :

a. The History of the Abortion Statute.

Abortion before “quickening” (’i.e., when the first

fetal movements are felt by the pregnant woman, usual-

ly about the fourth or fifth month) was not a crime

under the common law of England; even after quick-

ening, abortion was only a misdemeanor. 3 Coke, In-

stitutes 50 (1648). American law followed suit until

the nineteenth century, when legislation making abor-

tion prior to quickening a crime began to appear. These

new laws were designed to protect the health of the

woman, as State v. Murphy, 27 N.J.L. 112, 114 (Sup.

Ct. 1858) declared:

The design of the [abortion] statute was not to

prevent the procuring of abortions, so much as to

guard the health and life of the mother against

the consequences of such attempts.

Ex ee

The risk of even hospital abortions in the 19th cep.

tury was formidable, but it is now safer for a woman to

have a hospital therapeutic abortion during the first

trimester than to bear a child. People v. Belous, supra

at 965.

“At the time the abortion laws were passed, the

laws made some medico-legal sense. But now, in

view of the progress of medical science, these

laws . . . make no sense whatsoever.” Hall, “Abor.

tion Laws: A Call for Reform,” 18 DePaul L. Rey.

584, 585 (1969). The rate of maternal mortality

from complications of or associated with pregnan.

cy and childbirth (excluding induced abortion) is

18 deaths per 100,000 live births, while the rate.

of mortality associated with legal abortions per.

formed in hospitals at an early stage of gestation

is three deaths per 100,000 abortions. Tietze,

“Mortality with Contraception and Induced Abor-

tions,” 45 Studies in Family a 6 (Sept.

1969).

There is no jonger any health interest served by

Georgia’s abortion statute.

b. The Adverse Effect Upon Health of the. Georgia

Law.

Present restrictive abortion laws, instead of protect-

ing the health of women, have produced a result in di-

rect conflict with that goal. When unable to obtain

competent medical treatment, meeting proper medical

standards, in appropriate medical facilities, women

commonly resort to abortions performed under “back-

alley” conditions which often lead to illness and death.

The law has thus created “a public health’ problem of

pandemic proportions.” Hall, “Abortion in American

—

BLEED THROUGH

po an

Hospitals,” 57 Am. J. Pub. Health 1933, 1934 (1967).

The number of criminal abortions performed annually

in the United States is not known but has been esti-

mated at from 200,000 upwards. The incidence of in-

fection and permanent physical damage is high, and

death is a constant threat. Recent studies reveal a high

_and increasing—incidence of infected abortions in

the hospitals studied (primarily large city hospitals)

and describe such septic abortions as a chief cause of

maternal deaths, See, e.g., Moritz & Thompson, “Sep-

tic Abortion,” 95 Am. J. Obst. & Gynec. 46 (1966).

It is thus clear that illegal abortions present a signifi-

cant health problem. By making abortion a crime (un-

less it comes within the categories of the existing law),

the state has succeeded in making highly dangerous a

form of conduct which serves a necessary function for

society and which can be performed safely under the

proper medical conditions. See Kummer, “A\ Psychiatrist

Views Our Abortion Enigma,” in The Case for Legalized

Abortion Now 114 (Guttmacher ed. 1967). The Georgia

statute is thus contrary to, rather than in furtherance of,

any state interest in protecting the health of its women.

2. The State Has No Valid Interest in Indirectly Legisiating

Morality, and the Statute Does Not Actually Serve Any

Moral Purpose.

It is sometimes asserted that the State has a moral

interest in prohibiting abortion because the availability

of abortions will tend to encourage promiscuity. If the

Georgia legislature is concerned with deterring fornica-

tion and adultery, it may enforce statutory prohibitions

of and penalties for those acts themselves. “It may not

do so, however, by making the penalty a personally,

and socially, undesired pregnancy.” Baird v. Eisenstadt,

a

429 F. 2d 1398, 1402 (1st Cir. 1970), prob. juris;

noted, 401 U.S. 934. a

Even if some state interest in circumscribing promis.

cuity could be shown, there is no evidence that pro

miscuity has been decreased or even affected by the

existence of abortion laws. If the prevention of such

conduct were indeed one purpose of the legislation

the statutory scheme is too indirect to accomplish the

legislative intent. Since married women who conceive

unwanted pregnancies by their husbands are equally

subject to the act, the method of control is not limited

to the “evil” sought to be regulated. The statute in.

volved here does not purport to distinguish between

married and unmarried women. Even where premarital

or extramarital relationships are banned, as in Con

necticut at the time of the Griswold opinion, a ban on

abortions by married couples in no way reinforces the

state’s ban on other sexual relationships. “At most

[such a] broad ban is of marginal utility to the de

clared objective.” Griswold v. Connecticut, supra at 506

(White, J., concurring).

3. The State Has No Interest in Increasing Its Population; Ox

the Contrary, Its Interest, if Any, Is in Limiting Populatics

'

In view of the increasing public concern over our

rapidly multiplying population, any supposed state in-

terest in increasing the number of lives in being can

hardly be raised as a justification for the prohibition

of abortion. Indeed, the growing emphasis of both fed-

eral and state agencies upon preplanning of families and

limitation of their size makes mainifestly inconsistent

treating the termination of pregnancy as a crime, while

BLEED ‘THROUGH

on

birth control devices are not merely permitted but are

promoted and encouraged by the government.

See, €.8:, 42 U.S.C. 705(a)(12); 45 C.F.R. 220.20,

220.21.

4 The State Has No Interest in Requiring That All Embryos

Develop and Be Born.

There is not now, nor has there ever been, a state

interest which requires that all embryos develop and

be born. |

a. The Law Has Never Restricted Abortions for the

Purpose of Protecting the Embryo.

The English common law, followed in this country

until the advent of statutory law, permitted abortion be-

fore quickening with the woman’s consent. The wo-

man’s right to abort her pre-quickened fetus was thus

“sn ancient common-law liberty” of which she was not

deprived until the nineteenth century. Means, “The

Law of New York Concerning Abortion and the

Status of the Foetus, 1664-1968: A Case of Cessation

of Constitutionality,” 14 N.Y.L.F. 411; 420, 453

(1968). Even under the current Georgia statute, the

woman is not prosecuted or punished for her complicity

in obtaining an illegal abortion or for aborting herself.

If anything, the historical development of the abor-

tion statutes reflects an interest in protecting the well-

being of the woman. “The new statutes were inspired

by reverence for life, to be sure; but the life they re-

vered was the pregnant woman’s, not that of the un-

quickened foetus.” Id. at 508.

' b. There Is No Legal: Recognition of the Fetus-q

-@ Person; Live Birth Is Required Before. “Ary

Rights Attach. =

All of the statutes and rules which are geectalljas

lied upon to show that an embryo or fetus is legally

equivalent to a born child “require a live birth or me

flect the interest of the parents.” People v. Belous,

supra at 968, 968 n. 12.

~ (1) No recovery is permitted for injuries negligently

inflicted upon a fetus by a third person unless the fetus

is born alive. Prosser, Law of Torts 336 (4th ed. 1971).

(2) No recovery whatsoever is permitted in many

states for wrongful death where there is a stillbirth,

Even in those jurisdictions which recognize such a Cause

of action, it is a recognition on behalf of the parents,

who have suffered a distressing wrong in the loss of

a child whose birth they desired. Id. at 337. Moreover,

every one of those cases requires that the injury have

occurred when the fetus was viable o—

“quick”). See 15. A.L.R. 3d 992 (1967).

(3) The fetus has no property rights; it must be

born alive to take property. See, e.g., People v. ~~

supra, at 968 n. 12.

c. The View That “Human Life’ Commences With

Conception Is a Philosophical Conclusion Not

Supported by Scientific Evidence.

The view that human life commences with concep

tion cannot be supported by any scientific evidence one

way or the other. At what point a fetus becomes a

“human being” is a subject more fitting for philosophi-

cal debate than for scientific judgment. Precisely be

cause human development is a continuum, any choice

RiIoeecn THR CYKIiGgkw

—21—

The Sanc

(1957).

The existence of a conceptus cannot be equated with

the life of a grown woman. This woman is—beyond

dispute—a human being. To equate her life and’ her

constitutional rights with those of a non-viable fetus is

to make a moral judgment. Any individual is entitled

to adopt such a moral judgment for guidance in his or

her private life, but it is surely a judgment which he

cannot enforce upon others through legislation. See ‘Ep-

person v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97.

5. Conclusion.

A single conclusion is dictated by all of the above:

the Georgia abortion statute serves no compelling state

interest. Because it fails to serve any compelling state

interest, its invasion of fundamental rights is in clear

violation of the Federal Constitution. bie

ee

I. 1%

THE APPLICATION AND EFFECT OF RESTRICTIVE

ABORTION LAWS, SUCH AS THE GEORGIA ARBOR,

TION LAW, RESULTS IN DISCRIMINATION AGAINST

POOR AND NON-WHITE WOMEN IN EXERCISING

THEIR FUNDAMENTAL INTEREST IN MARITAL

AND INDIVIDUAL PRIVACY, DENYING TO THEM

THE EQUAL PROTECTION OF THE LAWS.

While amici contend that to receive proper medical

care in the form of an abortion approved and per.

formed by a physician is, by itself, a fundamental ip.

terest protected by the Constitution (Part I, supra), it

is not necessary for abortion to be declared a consti-

tutional right to hold that its discriminatory denial vio.

lates guarantees of equal protection. Even when an ip

terest is not found to be fundamental under the Due

Process Clause, it may be deemed fundamental under

the Equal Protection Clause, and unequal treatment

with respect to that interest upheld only on a very

strong showing of justification. Note, “Developments in

the Law—Equal Protection,” 82 Harv. L. Rev., 1065,

1130 (1969).

A. Factual Data Demonstrate Discrimination Against

The State of Georgia has established a set of cate-

gories describing the circumstances under which women

may obtain abortions within the State. On their face,

these categories allow this treatment for all women who

are similarly situated with respect to those circum-

stances, and excludes from this treatment all others.

Presumably, therefore, those women who qualify for

a legal abortion according to the terms of the statute

should be able to obtain one, regardless of their race

BLEED THROUGH

=| oe

or socio-economic status. There is nothing demonstrable

in the differences of skin color or economic condition

which suggests that a substantially smaller proportion

of the poor or the non-white fall into these categories

than do the white and the non-poor, or that the poor

and non-white have a substantially different moral atti-

tude on abortion.

On the contrary, a recent study of births occurring

between 1960 and 1965 led investigators to conclude

that one-third of Negro (as contrasted with one-fifth of

white) births were unwanted. “This high level of un-

wanted births among Negroes indicates the magnitude

of the burden of unwanted dependents that is borne

by this population. . . .” Bumpass and Westoff, “The

Perfect ‘Contraceptive’ Population,” 169 Science, 1177,

1179 (1970). Unwanted births were in general more

than twice as high for families with incomes of less

than $3000 as for those with incomes of over $10,-

000; this differential was “particularly marked among

Negroes.” Id. The results indicated, in the view of the

investigators, that there is a “coincidence of poverty

- and unwanted births rather than a propensity of the

‘poor’ to have unwanted children.” Jd.

One explanation for this high level of unwanted

births among the poor and the non-white is surely the

fact that they do not have equal access to abortions.

Data demonstrate that the poor and the non-white do

not feceive this medical treatment on the same terms

as do others. They thus suffer a particularly harsh and

adverse effect from the operation of this statute, as they

do from that of the other restrictive abortion laws

which have existed and currently exist in the United

——y

States. Dr. Alan F. Guttmacher has summed up @

evidence:

Both in regard to incidence and iedlcations t

tween patients on private and clinic serviess —.°

voluntary and municipal hospitals . . . it has leg

been apparent . . . that municipal hospitals felisy

the letter of the law of the abortion statute med

more exactly than voluntary hospitals, and alo

that private patients are generally treated by a

more lenient interpretation of the law than service

patients. Guttmacher, “Abortion—Yesterday, To.

day and Tomorrow,” in Guttmacher (ed.), The

Case for Legalized Abortion Now (1967).

The additional burdens placed upon indigent women

by public hospitals before these women can obtain

abortions (obtainable with far greater ease elsewhere

by those who can pay) have been discussed by the two

federal courts» which examined the procedures at the

District of Columbia General Hospital, Doe v. Gen.

Hosp., 313 F. Supp. 1170 (D.D.C. 1970), 434 F, 2d

423 and 434 F. 2d 427 (D.C. Cir. 1970). Because

the poor rely primarily upon public hospitals for their

medical services, denials or delays at those institutions

are tantamount to a denial of prompt medical care sole-

ly because these women are without funds. “[T]he mere

state of being without funds is a neutral fact—consti-

tutionally an irrelevance, like race, creed, or color.” Ed-

wards v. California, 314 U.S. 160, 184 (Jackson, J.,

concurring). Yet that state has led to very different

medical treatment where restrictive abortion laws exist.

Dr. Robert E. Hall has collected and reported data

supporting this conclusion. In New York City, between —

1960 and 1962, Dr. Hall found that: :

BLEED THROUGH

seat ae

. . . the ratio of therapeutic abortions to live

births in the proprietary hospitals was 1:250; on

the private services of the voluntary hospitals, 1:

400; on the ward services of the same voluntary

hospitals, 1:1,400; and in the municipal hospitals,

1:10,000. ‘The same inequity pertains to ethnic

origin. The rate of therapeutic abortions per live

births among white women in New York is 1 per

380, among nonwhites 1 per 2,000, and among

Puerto Ricans 1 per 10,000. Hall, “Abortion in

American Hospitals,” 57 Am. J. Pub. Health

1933, 1934 (1967).

In a survey of 65 randomly selected major American

hospitals, Dr. Hall similarly discovered that the rate of

therapeutic abortions was 3.6 times higher on the pri-

vate services of these hospitals than on their ward

services. Hall, “Therapeutic Abortion, Sterilization and

Contraception,” 91 Am. J. Obst. & Gynec. 518, 519

(1965).

Kenneth R. Niswander has substantiated similar data

from a study of Buffalo, New York, hospitals. Niswand-

er, “Medical Abortion Practices in the United States,”

in Smith (ed.), Abortion and the Law 53 (1967).

Furthermore, he has written:

Hospitals vary greatly in their: abortion prac-

tices. At the Los Angeles County Hospital, which

treats only clinic patients . . . from 1946 to 1951

there was an incidence of one therapeutic abortion

per two thousand eight hundred sixty-four (2,864)

deliveries. At the opposite extreme, one finds repu-

table hospitals permitting abortion for one out of

every 35-40 deliveries. The variation in the hospi-

tals surveyed by [Robert E.] Hall extended from

sisi si

no abortions in 24,417 deliveries to one in 36 de.

liveries. It seems inconceivable that medical opip.

ion could vary so widely. Socioeconomic factors

must be playing a major role in the decision to

abort in certain institutions. Id. at 54-55 (emphe.

sis added).

Data collected from New York City by other investi.

gators for the period 1951-1962 revealed that:

Therapeutic abortion occur[red] most frequent.

ly among the white population by a considerable

margin. The white ratio [was] more than five

times that among the nonwhites and 26 times that

among the Puerto Ricans. (Well over 90 per cent

of all therapeutic abortions in New York City

[were] performed on white women.) Gold, et al,,

“Therapeutic Abortions in New York City: A 20

Year Review,” 55 Am. J. Pub. Health 964, 966

(1965) (emphasis added).

A nationwide survey of all short-term general hospi-

tals participating in the Professional Activities Survey

from 1963 to 1965 led to this conclusion:

. [T]he incidence of therapeutic abortion

was almost twice as high among white women as

among the nonwhite group. . . . Tietze, “Thera-

peutic Abortions in the United States,” 101 Am. J.

Obst. & Gynec. 784, 786 (1968).

Similar statistics and conclusions appear throughout

the literature in this area:

Perhaps the greatest injustice resulting from our

present policies is the creation of a double stand-

ard for private and indigent patients. . . . Almost

universally greater consideration is extended to the

BLEED THROUGH

—27)—

private patient for a multitude of reasons which,

not infrequently, include a recognition of their so-

cial and economic prestige. Mandy, “Reflections of

a Gynecologist,” in Rosen (ed.), Abortion in

America 288-89 (1967).

* * *

The rich and the poor, it should be noted, are

not treated alike: many ethical physicians, for in-

stance, are much more lenient in their application

of indications for therapeutic abortion to private

patients than to indigent patients on municipal

hospital services. It is the ‘private practice’ patient,

therefore, who can more readily obtain a thera-

peutic abortion. Kleegman, “Planned Parenthood:

Its Influence on Public Health and Family Wel-

fare,” in Rosen (ed.), Abortion in America 254,

256 (1967).

A partial explanation for the marked \ disparity in

these figures appears to lie in the far lower incidence

of abortions performed for psychiatric reasons among

and non-white women. In an era when non-

psychiatric medical reasons for abortions have stead-

ily decreased (Guttmacher, “The Shrinking Non-Psy-

chiatric Indications for Therapeutic Abortion” in

Rosen (ed.), Therapeutic Abortion 12 (1954)), a stead-

ily increasing number of abortions have been performed

for psychiatric reasons. Poor and non-white women

have not been the recipients of this treatment, however,

to the same extent as their white and wealthier

sisters. As Hall wrote in 1965, the discrepancy docu-

mented above

... may be attributed to the higher incidence of

abortions for psychiatric indications aaa pri-

vate patients. Whereas at Sloane Hospital: [for

Women, in New York City] one therapeutic abo,.

tion was performed for psychiatric reasons per

1,149. deliveries on the ward service, the com.

parable ratio for the private service was one per

104. . . . It would appear therefore that private

patients with unwanted pregnancies are more often

referred for primary psychiatric evaluation and/

or that psychiatric justification for abortion is

more easily obtained for private patients. . Hall,

“Therapeutic Abortion, Sterilization and Contra.

ception,” 91 Am. J. Obst. & Gynec. 518, 519, 522

(1965).

Dr. Hall’s survey of 65 major hospitals confirms the

- same wide discrepancy in granting peychistrically

related abortions. (Hall, op. cit. at 518.)

Why has this phenomenon occurred? Perhaps be

cause

. . . by the very nature of things, ward patients

are less likely to have the necessary consultations

requested, including the psychiatric, and to have

the necessary recommendations made and accept

ed by a hospital board, than are their well-to-do

sisters. Ethical and conscientious physicians de-

cry this fact, but nevertheless find it impossible

to controvert. . . . Rosen, “A Case Study in Social

Hyprocrisy,” in Rosen (ed.), Abortion in America

299, 306-07 (1967).

“Reform” legislation such as that in issue here is far

from a complete answer to this problem. As one writer

has noted:

.- [I]t must be recognized that moderate re-

form is essentially middle-class reform. It benefits

BLEED THROUGH

—

iit

those who are sufficiently well-educated, well-

connected and well-financed to take advantage of

the liberalized law. Where will the ghetto dweller

find a psychiatrist to testify that she runs a grave

risk of emotional impairment if she is forced to

give birth to her nth baby? Packer, The Limits of

the Criminal Sanction 344 (1968).

The Georgia statute’s onerous requirements of con-

siltation and review, moreover, limit access to legal

abortion to those who can afford all the unnecessary

services mandated by the statute. See §§26-1202(b)-

(3), (4), (5) and (6), 26-1202(c), Ga. Code Ann.

These provisions require a woman to retain a physician

to approve her request, retain two other physicians to

review and concur in that approval, have access to a li-

censed and accredited hospital and a committee there-

in to further approve the application, and possibly be

prepared to defend her request in a court action

brought by relatives of the fetus to the second degree

(which may include persons who are total strangers

to her). Only the latter provision was struck down by

the court below. See Appellant’s Jurisdictional State-

ment herein, App. F., pp. 2f, 3f, 4f.

B. As a Result of the Disproportionate Unavailability

of Hospital Abortions to Them, the Poor and the

Non-White Resort to Unsafe Criminal Abortions

Which Lead to High Mortality and Morbidity

Rates.

While socioeconomic conditions never per se

legally warrant therapeutic abortion, socioeconomic

status nevertheless frequently determines whether

or not an abortion will be performed, and if per-

formed, whether that self-same abortion will be

aa ,

therapeutic or criminal. Rosen, “Psychiatric Im.

plications of Abortion: A Case Study in Sociaj

Hypocrisy,” 17 W. Res. L. Rev. 435, 450 (1965), ~

Criminal abortion has been described as the greatest

single cause of maternal mortality in the United

States; it is one of the greatest causes of disease, infec.

tion, and resulting sterilization as well. See Leavy &

Kummer, “Criminal Abortion: Human Hardship and

Unyielding Laws”, 35 So. Cal. L. Rev., 123 (1962);

see also People v. Belous, supra at 965-966. The poor.

and the non-white suffer disproportionately from the

“back-alley” abortionists, whose services they seek. out

in lieu of the medically safe hospital —

erally denied them.

California, the only state known to officially com.

pile such figures, in its most recent published report

notes that approximately 7 percent of that state's non-

white female population subjected themselves to crim-

inal abortion in 1968, as opposed to only 14% percent

of the state’s white female population. (California Dept

of Public Health, Third Annual Report on the Imple-

mentation of the California Therapeutic Abortion Act,

Tab. 4 (1970). |

The often tragic results of these’ abortions are also

documented. In their New York study, Drs. Gold, et al,

op. cit. at 970-71, noted that the ratio of criminal

abortion deaths per 1,000 live births was 4.0 for white

women and 16.2 for non-whites. Likewise, Dr. Hall's

1960-62 study led him to conclude that approximately

half of the puerperal deaths among New York’s Negroes

were due to criminal abortions as opposed to only a

quarter of the puerperal deaths among white women.

Hall, op. cit., 57 Am. J. Pub. Health at 1934.

BLEED THROUGH

oe

in Georgia itself, non-hospital abortions caused the

deaths of 205 residents between 1950 and 1969. Of

these 205 non-hospital abortion deaths, 143 (70%)

were of black women. Of the 25 Georgia women who

died as a consequence of legal abortions between 1965

and 1969, 22 (88%) were black. While the abortion

mortality rate for white Georgia women fell 80% from

1950-54 to 1965-69 (partially reflecting adopting of

the instant, “reform” law in 1968), abortion mortality

among black Georgia women declined by only 33%

between the same two five-year periods. “Non-hospital

abortion mortality in Georgia is primarily a black

health problem.” U.S. Dep’t of HEW, Public Health

Service, Center for Disease: Control, Abortion Surveil-

lance Report 10 (1970), citing Rochat, et al., Division

of Maternal Health, Georgia Dep’t of Public Health,

“An Epidemiological Analysis of Abortion in Geor-

gia” (1970).

C. Where Abortion Restrictions Have Been Elimi-

nated, the Poor and the Non-White in Fact Re-

ceive Abortion Services in a Non-Discriminatory

In sharp contrast to the above data has been the

experience in New York State since July 1, 1970, when

categorical restrictions on abortion were eliminated.

See N.Y. Pen. Law §125.05 (McKinney Supp. 1970).

On April 5, 1971, New York City health officials re-

ported that the city’s public hospitals, which restricted

abortions to city residents, were performing an average

of 511 a week, and the “vast majority” of those

women would be unable to afford abortions in private

hospitals. N.Y. Times, Apr. 6, 1971, at 25.

A later report, issued on June 29, 1971, ~~

more revealing:

fa i acd“ ees ncaa SE

Ricans, who had little access to legal abortions

prior to the law, received half the abortions done

on women in [New York City]. In the first nine

months, 31% of the city’s abortions done on state

residents were reimbursable under Medicaid,

American Medical Néws, July 12, 1971, at 9,

It is clear from this evidence that where the law has

eliminated restrictions on the obtaining of abortions,

the poor and non-white women who were previously

unble to exercise the financial and other kinds of lever.

age required to have a “therapeutic” abortion, are able

to obtain medically safe abortions on an equal basis

with’ all other women, and they do obtain them to at

least the same extent as their more privileged sisters,

One result has been a drop in the maternal mortality

rate: New York City hospitals now report treating far

fewer victims of “botched” illegal abortions than they

did in years past. “The maternal mortality rate—to

which criminal abortions have always contributed a

major portion—is now at a record low of 2.3 per each

10,000 live births, compared with 5.2 . . . at this

time last year.” Id. ©

D. The Impact of the Restrictive Abortion Law Et-

fectively Denies Equal Protection to the Poor and

Non- White.

It has been amply demonstrated above that poor

and non-white women are not treated equally with

other women in obtaining lawful abortions. However

BLEED THROU

sonia

geutral its facial appearance, and however unexception-

able its underlying intent, the practical effect of a

satute in denying equal treatment to classes of persons,

such as the poor or the non-white, must be measured

by the. Court.

Though the law itself be fair on its face and im-

partial in appearance, yet, if it is applied and

administered by public authority with an evil eye °

and an unequal hand, so as practically to make

unjust and illegal discriminations between per-

sons in similar circumstances, material to their

rights, the denial of equal justice is still within

the prohibition of the constitution. Yick Wo v.

Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356, 373-74.

The standard articulated in Yick Wo has been con-

sstently applied by this Court. Moreover, it has been

applied to statutes which have a natural discrimina-

tory effect, whether or not there is evidence of e4

“evil” public administration.

Where the class affected is the poor, see Griffin v.

Illinois, 351 U.S. 12 (state’s provision of criminal ap-

peal, but not of free transcript held to be an effective

denial of equal protection to poor defendants); Harper

y. Virginia Bd. of Elections, 383 U.S. 663 (state’s

exaction of a poll tax from all voters held to be an

effective denial of equal protection to poor voters);

Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (state’s refusal to

make welfare payments to residents of less than one

year held to be an effective denial of equal protection

to poor recent residents and to the foreign poor who

wish to travel to the state); Douglas v. California, 372

U.S. 353 (state's provision of criminal. appealciy

where appellate court decides in advance.of hearing

whether appointment of counsel for indigent would tp -

“helpful”, held to be an effective denial of equal pip,

tection to poor defendants). See also Williams’. Oli

homa City, 395 U.S. 458; Gardner v. California, 393

US. 367; Long v. District Court of Iowa,. 385, US,

192; Rinaldi v. Yeager, 384 U.S. 305; Hobson v.: Han.

sen, 269 F. Supp. 401 (D.D.C. 1967), affd sub-nom,

. Smuck v. Hobson, 408 F. 2d 175 (D.C. Cir, 1969).

Where the class affected is non-white, see Gomillion

v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339 (state's drawing of voting

district lines which effectively excluded Negroes from a

city district held to be an effective denial of equal pro-

tection to Negroes); Patton v. Mississippi, 332. US,

463, and Smith v. Texas, 311 U.S. 128 (state's s facially

neutral system.of jury selection was administered, t

largely exclude Negroes held to be an effective denial

of equal protection to Negroes). ,

The impact of the cases cited immediately shone

that, while the state may not be bound to confer the

benefit at issue (here, the categorical exceptions to its

basic anti-abortion statute), if it chooses to do. 80 it

is obliged not to effectively preclude enjoyment of the

benefit to classes like the poor and non-white. Thus,

in Griffin v. Illinois, supra, the state was not obliged

by due process to provide appeals from criminal. con

victions, but since it had chosen to do so, it could

not provide them in a manner that effectively denied

poor persons access to the appeal process. tase

BLEED THROUC

—35—

» ‘The effect of the [Griffin] decision is to require

-»; Illinois to take account of economic inequities not

of its own creation. Note, “Developments in the

__Law—Equal Protection,” are achat Rev.

“at 1178.

ee hod fame ae eee

the. medical practice of abortion, the prevailing stand-

ards of medical practice in the United States today

yould sanction its performance without categorical re-

srictions. See AMA, Policy Regarding Abortion (Res-

olution of AMA House of Delegates, June 25, 1970)

discussed in “AMA Eases Abortion Rules,” N.Y.

Times, June 26, 1970, at 1; American College of Ob-

stetrics & Gynecology, Policy on Abortion, discussed in

Medical Tribune, Oct. 12, 1970, at 1. It is true that

the poor and non-white would still be limited in obtain-

ing treatment by the natural factors of inability to pay,

not having a family physician, and the limited number

of free or subsidized-care facilities in their communi-

fies. Nevertheless, it is clear that the state’s entry into

the field has aggravated the natural limitations of the

poor and the non-white by imposing artificial limita-

tions, as well as onerous and costly procedural require-

ments. The state has elected, first, to penalize the

provision of abortion services by everyone, including

physicians. It has then permitted physicians to provide

this treatment for certain. statutory categories of quali-

fied women. At the same time, the state has prescribed

necessary steps to secure qualification which are so

burdensome as to make it extremely difficult for the

JGH

—36—

poor and non-white to qualify. This results in an ¢

fective denial of equal protection to the poor and nop

white.

We have contended (Part I, supra) that abortion to

a woman is a fundamental interest, and it is being

restricted by the state without a compelling state inter.

est. The discrimination in the application and effect

of the statute likewise lacks a compelling state interest,

or even any rational connection to a legitimate state

purpose.

In sanctioning the vastly disproprotionate exclusion

of the poor and non-white from abortion services, the

state cannot assert that its purpose is to cut down the

number of abortions. Where abortion is otherwise law.

ful, and the poor or non-white woman legally qualifies,

the state has no interest in eliminating that which it

does not prohibit. The impact on the poor and non

white cannot be justified in terms of state budget-say-

ing, since restrictive abortion laws do not bear any

rational .relation to the allocation of state resources,

and they are clearly not a mere economic regulation.

See Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471. Even were

budget-saving asserted, in that medical care for the

poor and non-white is often subsidized by public funds

(e.g., the Medicaid program, 42 U.S.C. 1396 et seq.),

it cannot be accomplished by arbitrarily selecting

classes to suffer the deprivation. Shapiro v. Thompson,

394 US. 618.

BLEED THROU

canis

IIL.

WHERE THE STATE HAS PERMITTED ABORTIONS TO

TAKE PLACE IN CERTAIN HOSPITALS UNDER CER-

TAIN CONDITIONS, BUT HAS DELEGATED UNRE-

~~ vIEWABLE AUTHORITY WITHOUT STANDARDS TO

A PRIVATE BODY TO DECIDE IN WHICH HOSPI-

TALS ABORTIONS MAY TAKE PLACE, AND HAS

DELEGATED UNREVIEWABLE AUTHORITY TO

PHYSICIANS AND COMMITTEES OF PHYSICIANS

TO DECIDE UNDER WHICH CONDITIONS ABOR-

TIONS MAY TAKE PLACE, AND SAID PHYSICIANS _

HAVE COMPELLING REASONS TO SKEW THEIR

DECISIONS AGAINST GRANTING ABORTIONS, AND

WHERE SUCH DELEGATIONS OF AUTHORITY ARE

LIKELY TO RESULT AND IN FACT RESULT IN

DISCRIMINATION IN OBTAINING ABORTION

AGAINST THE POOR AND NON-WHITE, THE STATE

HAS DENIED TO THE POOR AND NON-WHITE THE

EQUAL PROTECTION OF THE LAWS.

Two other aspects of the Georgia abortion law result

in an effective denial of equal protection to the poor

and the non-white. One is the requirement that abor-

tions, to be lawful, must be performed in a hospital

accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation

of Hospitals. The second is the provision that other

physicians must approve the procedure.

A. Restricting Lawful Abortions to Accredited Hospi-

tals Results in Discrimination Against the Poor and

Non- White.

§26-1202(b)(4), Ga. Code Ann., provides that

abortions can only be performed in state-licensed hos-

pitals which are also accredited by the Joint Commis-

sion on Accreditation of Hospitals (JCAH). Eighty-

three of 214 state-licensed hospitals in Georgia are so

aK ;

accredited, leaving 103 Georgia counties withow ag

accredited hospital. See Appellant’s Jurisdictional Seats.

ment herein, p. 18, App. G.

The JCAH is a private, voluntary national accredi.

ing body located in Chicago, Illinois. It surveys and

accredits only those hospitals which request this sevice.

See Silver & Worthington, “Regulation of Quality of

Care in. Hospitals,” 35 Law & Contemp. Problems,

305, 310-11 (1970).

The state has delegated to this private body the av

. thority to choose which Georgia hospitals may lawfully

perform abortions. It is instructive to compare this dele.

gation @f authority with the three broad areas of

delegation which have traditionally been upheld as

constitutionally valid. See McGautha v. California, ....

US. ....,.91 S. Ct. 1454, 1499-1504 (1971) (Bren

nan, J., dissenting).

First, the Georgia legislature has not delegated this

power to select which of its hospitals may perform

abortions under reasonably fixed statutory standards.

McGautha v. California, supra, 91 S. Ct. at 1502, citing

Communist Party of U.S. v. SACB, 367 US. 1; US.

v. Rock-Royal Co-Op.,: 307 U.S. 533. The legislature

has provided no standards at all, and indeed the

JCAH would not be bound to accredit by state-fixed

standards. Nor has the state impliedly incorporated by

reference the fixed and existing standards of an expert

body. See, e.g., Schecter Poultry Corp. v. U.S., 295

U.S. 495; Carter v. Carter Coal Co., 298 US. 238.

The JCAH standards are subject to change, and have

in fact been changed since the adoption of §26-1202

(b)(4), Ga. Code Ann. See JCAH, Accreditation

Manual for Hospitals 1970 (1971), setting forth new

BLEED THROUG

=a

— os

gereditation standards which went into effect July 1,

1971.

Second, the Georgia legislature has not delegated a

rulemaking power to technical experts, under general-

ly declared policy goals, by which the rule-making proc-

ess itself serves to illuminate the policy decisions being

made and allows for meaningful legislative supervision

or review. McGautha v. California, supra, 91 S. Ct. at

1502-03, citing, e.g., U.S. v. Grimaud, 220 U.S. 504

(Dept. of Agriculture’s rule-making power to “im-

prove and protect” the national forests); Red Lion

Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 399 U:S. 367 (the “fairness”

doctrine). Again, of course, the JCAH would not be

bound by state-fixed policy goals even if they were

declared in the statute, which they are not. If § 26-

1202(b) (4), Ga. Code Ann., may be read to support

an inference that the state is concerned about the quali-

ty or integrity of the facility performing abortions, this

concern would seem to be satisfied by the requirement

of state licensing. The legislature obviously has the pow-

er of supervision and review of its state licensing stand-

ards, which is a-critical reservation of legislative pow-

er in-4 valid delegation of authority. 91 S. Ct. at 1503.

The state has no such power of review over the rule-

making functions of JCAH, and indeed the rule-making

functions of JCAH are in no wise guided by any ex-

press or inferable purpose in the Georgia law.

~ Byen assuming an inferable and legitimate state pur-

pose in the quality and integrity of facilities performing

abortions which, arguendo, might not be satisfied by

state licensing requirements, the delegation of this au-

thority to JCAH would seem facially to be an irration-

al classification. The JCAH Accreditation Manual for

Hospitals, supra, contains no special provisions for

—

abortion services, nor does it even mention the word,

To the extent that the quality and integrity of th

facility are concerned, the JCAH accreditation require-

ment would also seem to be an irrational classification

for the performance of abortions because there is no

articulated nor understandable reason why abortion re-

quires a different quality or integrity of hospital or.

ganization than more difficult and dangerous forms of

medical treatment, such as neurosurgery, open heart sur-

gery or organ transplants. For all such medical services,

the people of Georgia may choose to enter a state

licensed or-a licensed and accredited hospital. For abor-

tion alone, the women of Georgia are not allowed to

enter a state-licensed hospital unless it is also accredited,

Third, the rule-making or adjudicative functions here

delegated by the Georgia legislature to JCAH (i.e; to

adopt standards for and to decide which hospitals

qualify to perform abortions) are not premised “upon

an explanation of both the findings and reasons for a

given decision”, establishing a body of precedent from

which general principles may be deduced. 91 S. Ct.

1503-04, again citing Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v.

FCC, supra. In fact, the “findings and reasons” for

JCAH accreditation decisions are treated by JCAH as

confidential, and are not even shown to the Secretary of

Health, Education and Welfare for Medicare certifica-

tion purposes, much less to the Georgia legislature. See

Silver & Worthington, opfcit., supra at 325.

For the foregoing reasons, amici contend that the

Georgia legislature, in §26-1202(b)(4), Ga. Code

—

Ann., has delegated its authority to select which hos-

pitals may perform legal abortions in Georgia in a

manner violative of the Due Process Clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment. McGautha v. California, supra, 91

5. Ct. at 1500, n. 22; Yick Wo v. Hopkins,:118 US.

356.

The impact of this invalid delegation of authority is

to create a Classification of hospitals which serves no

legitimate state purpose, and which has the practical

effect of denying abortion services to a significant num-

ber of poor persons in Georgia, denying to the poor

the equal protection of the laws under the Fourteenth

Amendment. |

We have already discussed the lack of a rational

connection between any legitimate state purpose con-

cerned with the quality and integrity of a hospital facili-

ty in the performance of abortion and the JCAH ac-

creditation requirement. Granting the legitimacy of such

a state concern, it cannot be accomplished through an

unconstitutional and arbitrary means (the unreviewable

delegation to JCAH), particularly when it might be ac-

complished properly, as through state licensing with ar-

ticulated or legislatively reviewable standards. Yick Wo

v. Hopkins, supra; McGautha v. California, supra

(Brennan, J., dissenting); See also NAACP v. Ala-

bama, 377 U.S. 288; Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 US.

88.

There would seem to be no legitimate state purpose

served in cutting down the number of abortions by lim-

iting the hospitals in which they can be performed (83

es

of 214 licensed hospitals, supra), in that the concer,

here is with abortions which are otherwise legal under

state law. There is obviously no legitimate purpose

served in prohibiting that which is lawful. .

- There. are 0 state economic, or tixdgetenvies. ous

poses served in the accreditation requirement per se

and there is no demonstrable connection between this

classification and a rational allocation of state re

sources. See Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471.

On the other hand, the practical discriminatory ef.

fect of this irrational classification on the poor is clear.

A poor woman who resides in one of 103 Georgia

counties without a JCAH accredited hospital, but which

may have a ready, willing and able state-licensed hospi-

tal, and who qualifies for an abortion according to

law, bears a double burden. She must not only ob

tain the funds necessary to travel to another county,

she must also find another accredited hospital, able and

willing to perform the service free or through a pub

licly-subsidized program.

Even though the accreditation statute has no facial

discriminatory intent as to the poor, its practical effect

must be measured. Yick Wo v. Hopkins, supra. Proper

and lawful medical care must be viewed as fundamen-

tal-to the right to life. Where access to proper and law-

ful medical care is conditioned by the state by creation

of a classification, serving no legitimate or rational state

purpose, which has the effect of denying that care to

a particular group such as the poor, the effect of that

classification is to deny equal protection of the laws to

the poor. See Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 US. 618;

Harper v. Virginia Bd. of Elections, 383 U.S. 663; Grif

fin v. Illinois, 351 U.S. 12.

— one

B. Delegation of Authority to Physicians and Their

Committees to Approve Abortions at Their Peril

Results in Discrimination Against the Poor and the

Non-White.

The Georgia legislature has created certain protected

classes of women who may receive legal abortion: those

who would suffer life or permanent health threatening

consequences, those who are likely to bear defective

children, or those who have been the victims of sexual

assault. §26-1202(a), Ga. Code Ann. The court be-

low struck down the specification of these classes but

retained the general classification of women for whom

abortion is deemedf*necessary”. See Appellant's Juris-

dictional Statement Werein, App. F, p. 1-f.

The legislature has then delegated its authority to de-

termine who falls into these classes, and under what

circumstances, to physicians and hospital committees

made up of physicians. Two physicians other than the

woman's own must concur in the finding, and this con-

currence must in turn be approved by a committee of

at least three additional physicians in the accredited

hospital which is to perform the abortion. §26-1202(b)

(3) and (5). This statutory procedure was not in-

validated by the court below.

Abortion is otherwise criminal in Georgia, punish-

able by a one to ten year prison term. §§26-1201, 26-

1203, Ga. Code Ann.

Abortions performed outside of the Georgia abortion

law (§26-1201 et seq.) or performed in error under the

statute are criminal abortions. Physicians may clearly

be prosecuted even though excepted under the statute,

since a prosecutor and jury may not agree with the

physician as to the “necessity” of the abortion or the

—

presence of the life or health-threatening conditions

other circumstances specified in the law. The ‘burden

of going forward with the evidence to prove non-neces.

sity may be on the prosecution, but the decisions of

physicians are not immune from prosecution. See U.S.

v. Vuitch, .... U.S. ...., 91 S. Ct. 1294, 1298; but ef,

US. v. Vuitch, 91 S. Ct. 1294, 1311-12 (Stewart, J,

dissenting in part).

The Georgia legislature has assigned to these physi-

cians the task of determining whether a woman falls

into one of the specified categories at their peril. The

court below did not eliminate the peril, but merely lim.

ited the category for decision to the word “necessary.”

In either case, a prosecutor may choose to disagree with

the determination in favor of the woman, and a “sec

ond-guessing lay jury” may choose to convict. See U.S.

v. Vuitch, supra, 91 S. Ct. at 1312 (Stewart, J., dis

senting in part).

It must be noted here that so long as this second-

guessing of medical judgment is permitted, the mere ex-

istence of a moral temper adverse to abortion in the

prosecutor’s office or in the community may have a

heavy influence on the making of that judgment. The

majority in Vuitch suggest that this “danger exists in all

criminal cases, not merely those involving abortions.”

U.S. v. Vuitch, supra, 91 S. Ct. at 1299, n. 7. This is

not so. In virtually all criminal cases the factual issue

for the jury to decide is whether or not the defendant

committed the criminal act charged, the act and the

crime being one and the same. In abortion cases, com

_—_—e

_—

nission of the act of abortion by the physician, or its

sbetment by the committee, may be conceded. The crim-

inality of the act under the statute is, in every case, a

matter of qualitative judgment. This is not to say that

yir dire of jurors and the watchfulness of judges does

not help blunt the danger (U.S. v. Vuitch, id.) but it

does point up the danger to physicians in a hostile en-

vironment when it is not their commission or abetment

of the act which may be criminal, but the quality of

their expert judgment. This “danger” does not exist in

ail criminal cases. Mr. Justice Clark has added:

.. . [Doctors face an uncertain fate when per-

forming an abortion. This uncertainty will con-

tinue unless the legislatures or courts provide re-

lief from liability. Clark, “Religion, Morality and

Abortion: A Constitutional Appraisal”, 2 Loy. U.

(L.A.) L. Rev. 1, 7 (1969).

On the other hand, no prosecution or penalty ex-

ists for physicians who decide that the woman is not

qualified for an abortion. In considering the slanted

consequences of this kind of legislative delegation, the

California Supreme Court, in that state’s landmark

abortion case, said:

The inevitable effect of such delegation may be

to deprive a woman of an abortion when under

any definition [of the statutory categories] she

would be entitled to such an operation, because

the state, in delegating the power to decide when

an abortion is necessary, has skewed the penalties

in one direction: no criminal penalties are im-

posed where the doctor refuses to perform a neces-

sary operation, even if the woman should in fact

ii tad

die. . . . The pressures on a physician to decide

not to perform an absolutely necessary abortion are

... enormous. ... People v. Belous, supra at 973.

' Amici do not suggest that every physician faced

with the possibility of prosecution, and with having his

own medical judgment subjected to lay public review,

cannot nevertheless render a fair decision on the merits

of an application for abortion. But the risk to be rp

that the average physician will not be able “to hold th

balance nice, clear and true” is substantial, and its im

pact on Due Process plain. Tumey v. Ohio, 273 US,

510, 532. This kind of risk of a skewed decision by a

personally interested decision-maker has regularly been

held to be an invalid delegation of authority. See In re

v. Murchison, 349 U.S. 133; Mayberry v. Pennsyl

vania, 400 U.S. 455; Jackson v. Denno, 378 US. 368;

Tumey v. Ohio, supra.

Furthermore, the decision-making process under this

delegation of authority has all the aspects of a star

chamber proceeding. Time is obviously of the essence

in considering an application for abortion, and there is

no appeal from an abortion committee’s decision. Th

decision is made in private, with no provision for

personal appearance by the applicant. And in this

situation, the question to be decided may be one of

life or death, the most fundamental of all human

rights.

Where a poor, non-white woman is in need of abor-

tion, the delegation of this authority results in a denial

of equal protection, because the poor woman is fe

—4AT—

gricted by her economic circumstances to seeking abor-

fion in an accredited hospital willing or otherwise

to treat indigents. Nothing in the law or in

common medical practice prevents the affluent woman

from consulting with any physician and going to any

scoredited hospital most likely to provide the desired

treatment. The denial of abortion to a poor woman

under these circumstances has the effect of a decision

ves judicata. The more affluent woman may shop

among hospitals and doctors until she finds those who

will favor her application, even if it has been rejected

The most disastrous result of the abortion com-

mittee system has been the economic and social

discrimination against one group—the ward pa-

tients. In large cities the poor . . . are virtually

denied the same medical care as the privileged

few. Lader, Abortion 29-30 (1966).

The abortion practices of hospitals treating the poor,

as compared with the same practices respecting the af-

fluent (Part II, supra), reflect the discriminatory result

of this delegation of authority. Thus, in effect, a denial

of equal protection results when a statute conferring a

right to an abortion upon certain kinds of women op-

erates to confer decision-making authority as to the af-

fluent upon numerous abortion-providers, but in effect

results in limiting decision-making authority as to the

poor to one (or none) or a very few lawful abortion

providers with substantial and compelling interests im-

pairing their ability to decide impartially whether a

woman is entitled to an abortion.

acs

GEORGIA’S STATUTORY OPTION FOR HOSPITALS 79

REJECT ABORTION PATIENTS, TO THE EXTENT fr

BY PUBLIC OR PUBLICLY.sup.

HOSPITALS, SANCTIONS A DENIAL OF

EQUAL PROTECTION TO THE CLASS OF PATIENT;

REQUIRING ABORTION, HAVING A PARTICULAR.

LY SEVERE IMPACT ON THE POOR AND NON.

WHITE.

§26-1202(e), Ga. Code Ann., permits hospitals to

elect to refuse patients seeking abortion services.

Appellants and amici have no quarrel with the

notion that individual physicians with religious or mor-

al objections may choose not to perform abortions,

See Appellant’s Jurisdictional Statement herein, p. 22,

Hospitals, however, are fictitious entities, without re

ligious or moral scruples per se. Indeed, the statute

does not suggest religious or moral reasons as the

standard for hospitals in exercising this option; the

statute permits its exercise at whim.

Hospitals which are publicly owned or operated,

which are recipients of Hill-Burton federal construc

tion subsidies (42 U.S.C. 291 et seg.), or which par-

ticipate in the federal Medicaid program and receive

federal Medicaid funds (42 U.S.C. 1396 et seq.) have

sufficient public nexus to be engaged in state action,

prohibiting them from denying equal protection of the

law to irrationally selected classes of persons. When

these particular kinds of hospitals choose to deny serv- .

ices to a class of patients, the impact on the poor is

clear, since publicly owned hospitals largely serve the

poor, Hill-Burton hospitals have a statutory obligation

to provide service to the poor (42 U.S.C. 291c(e)) and

il

= wn

Medicaid funds are devoted exclusively to welfare recip-

ents or the medically indigent related to welfare cate-

gories (42 U.S. C. 1396).

Hospitals which have received Hill-Burton sobeidins

Have been held to be bound by constitutional equal pro-

iection requirements. The same public nexus analysis

would seem to apply to publicly owned hospitals and

those receiving federal Medicaid funds. See Simkins v.

Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp., 323 F. 2d 959 (4th

Cir. 1963), cert. denied, 376 U.S. 938; Sams v. Ohio

Valley Gen'l Hosp. Assn., 413 F. 2d 826 eo Cir.

1969).

Simkins involved refusing admission of black doc-

tors and their patients to Hill-Burton funded private

hospitals. It was held that this amounted to state’ action

in violation of the equal protection clause. The finding

was perhaps made easier because the inherently suspect

classification of race was present. In Sams, however,

there was no inherently suspect class, but merely a

refusal by the Hill-Burton funded private hospital to

grant staff privileges to doctors whose offices were

located outside the county. Relying solely on the test of

‘a rational basis for the classification (see e.g., Dan-

dridge v. Williams, supra) the court could find none.

The court gave particular weight to the consequences

of the policy for a patient living in the county being

denied hospital service because his physician’s office

was across the county line. 413 F. 2d at 829.

The impact of the state-sanctioned policy under con-

sideration here, to turn away the class of patients who

require abortion service, is similar. Where those patients

1There are more than 190 Hill-Burton funded hospitals in

Georgia, which is about 75% of all its licensed hospitals. See

US. Dep't of HEW, Hill-Burton Project Register 80-92 (1969).

——§0—

are poor, it will have the tragic consequence of denying

them any treatment at all. Where a public, a Medicaid

or a Hill-Burton hospital, which otherwise cares for the

poor and is capable of rendering abortion service

(e.g., by having an obstetrical staff, etc.), and which

is the only conveniently located licensed and accredited

hospital for an indigent who legally qualifies for ap

abortion, and who has a ready, willing and able staff

physician to perform it, chooses to reject all abortiog

patients as a class, then that indigent abortion patient

is denied equal protection of the law.

There is no legitimate state purpose served in sano

tioning an elimination of abortion services in such a

hospital. One state purpose might be to cut down the

number of abortions. But where state law permits abor.

tion, and where the patient is eligible for the service

under state law, there would seem to be no legitimate

state purpose served in denying her the treatment.

Another such purpose might be to save state funds,

to the extent they are involved in supporting a public

hospital, or in the state matching funds under Medicaid

(42 US.C. 1396a(a)(2)). But state budget-saving is

not a legitimate state purpose when the class to suffer

the deprivation of the state funds is arbitrarily and

unreasonably selected. See Shapiro v. Thompson, supra.

Another such purpose might be religious or moral

objection to abortion. But no such standard is articu-

lated in the statute, perhaps in recognition of the fact

that hospitals cannot, as ficitious entities, have religious

or moral scruples. Without such an articulated

standard, however, the statute clearly permits public,

Hill-Burton and Medicaid hospitals to exclude abor-

' tion patients for any reason at all, which would seem

—si—

clearly offensive to the constitutional responsibilities of

those hospitals. Thus, abortion patients might be ex-

cluded from an otherwise nonsectarian public or pub-

licly-subsidized hospital solely because of the religious

objections of the current administrator, or medical di-

rector, or the currently sitting majority of the board of

directors. |

The state may assert that it has not dictated the

elimination of abortion services, but has only permitted

hospitals to choose not to render them. The issue here

is not what ‘the rights of the parties might be were the

state law silent on this subject, and an individual hos-

pital decided to discriminate against abortion patients.

The issue here takes for granted the legality of abortion

in Georgia, at least under specified circumstances, and

the state’s permission under express color of law for

hospitals to turn away. this class of patients. The state

should not be allowed to expressly permit by law an

arbitrary discrimination against a class, without a legit-

imate state purpose, where it could not compel the

same. See Griffin v. County School Board of Prince

Edward County, 377 U.S. 218 (state law permitted,

by local option, the closing of schools, where purpose

was to discriminate against the class of Negro students);

Reitman v. Mulkey, 387 U.S. 369 (state law permitted

the conveying of property to anyone the conveyor might

choose, where the purpose was to authorize discrim-

ination in housing).

It may be contended that this statutory

of “choice” to exclude abortion patients and thus to

effectively deny treatment to the poor and non-white

is more closely analogous to the situation in James v.

Valtierra, ........ Ma Miintsed , 91 S. Ct. 1331, where man-

. —52—

datory referenda for low-cost housing projects were up

held against a claim that they permitted voters to dig

criminate against the poor. But the Court, in James

placed heavy reliance on the procedure there involyed

{a “democratic” election) and on the legitimate public

purposes served thereby (giving the people a voice ip

approving huge expenditures of public funds and

consequent lowering of tax revenues, and a voice in

general community planning). 91 S. Ct. at 1334. Here,

as mentioned, the only procedure provided is the whim

of the hospital, and there is no such legitimate state

purpose served in excluding these patients.

v.

CONCLUSION.

‘The equal protection infirmity of a statute whose bur-

den is felt more acutely by the poor has been noted in

Mr. Justice White’s concurring opinion in Griswold y.

Connecticut, supra at 503:

{T]he clear effect of these statutes as enforced

! is to deny disadvantaged citizens of Connecticut,

+ those without either adequate knowledge or re

sources to obtain private counseling, access to

medical. assistance and up-to-date information in

respect to proper methods of birth control. ...

In my view, a statute with these effects bears a

substantial burden of justification when attacked

under the Fourteenth Amendment. Yick. Wo v.

Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356; Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316

U.S. 535; Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners,

353. U.S. 232; McLaughlin v. Florida, 379 US.

184, 192.

—53—

Because this Georgia statute, like all restrictive abor-

tion laws, has the clear effect of denying poor and non-

white citizens of Georgia equal access to safe hospital

abortions without any justification whatsoever, it vio-

lates the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment.

Respectfully submitted,

ALAN F. CHARLES,

National Legal Program on

Health Problems of the Poor,

SUSAN GROSSMAN ALEXANDER,

National Legal Program on

Health Problems of the Poor,

Attorneys for Amici Curiae.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.