Memorandum — NLRB v. Textile Workers
Supreme Court brief1972
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
je Supreme Court of the United States
Bet OcTOBER TERM, 1971
No. 71-711
FIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD, PETITIONER
3
a . BOARD, TEXTILE WORKERS
INION OF AMERICA, Local. 1029, AFL-CIO
a
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
_ UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
ei THE FIRST CIRCUIT
'SUPPLEMENTAL MEMORANDUM FOR THE
_ NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
© petition for certiorari in this case refers to
Lodge No. 405, IAM v. National Labor Re-
n Board, which was then pending before the
of Appeals for the District of Columbia Cir-
(Pet. 12, 5). On February 3, 1972, the court
~ 1
*
18
(1)
| 2 ?
of appeals handed down its decision in that case
The court’s opinion is set forth in the appendix here-
to.
Respectfully submitted.
APPENDIX
Anited States Court of Appeals
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT
No. 24,687
_ Boosrzr Lopoe No. 405, InrERNaTIowaL ASSOCIATION OF
Macuinists anp Arrospace Workers, AFL-CIO, perrriower
v.
— Narroxal. LABOR RELATIONS BoarbD, RESPONDENT
Te Boxixd Company, INTERVENOR
No. 24,744
Tae Bono Company, PETITIONER
v.
Narroxal. Laon RxLATrioxs BoaRD, RESPONDENT
Booster Lopcr No. 405, IxTRnNATIONAI. ASSOCIATION OF
— Macumsts anv Aznospace Worxess, AFL-CIO, mvrervenor
Petitions for Review and Cross-Application for Enforcement
bol Order of the National Labor Relations Board
Decided February 3, 1972
Before MacKrswow and Wuxzyr, Circuit Judges, and
Gouszzr,° Senter District Judge for the Western District of
Pennayivania, .
MacKnrwox,. Circuit Jule: In this case, we are called
upon to examine the right of a labor organization, consonant
with the provisions of the National Labor Relations Act
(N.L.R.A.), to discipline those members who have crossed
its picket line to work during an authorized strike. We must
determine the effect which a member’s resignation from the
union, before, during, or after such conduct, has upon the
union’s disciplinary authority. We are also requested to con-
sider the legal implications of the ‘‘reasonableness’’ of the
fines imposed, where the union has threatened enforcement
thereof, or has actually sought collection through legal
tive bargaining agreement which was effective from May 16,
1963, through September 15, 1965." Upon the expiration of
; a ba designation purmant to 28 USC. ad
23 cilia: 0 sacs ole. Shek egeemn
Booster Lodge No. 405 was not yet in existence. Boeing's
ee ee eee
l
t
t
l
t
e contract, the Union commenced a lawful strike against
Being at its Michoud plant, as well as at various other loca-
tions, This work stoppage lasted 18 days. On October 2, 1965,
new bargaining agreement was signed, and the economic
kers returned to work the following day. Both the expired
t and the newly executed contract contained main-
ance-of-membership clauses, which required all new em-
ees to notify both the Union and the Company within 40
ys of their acceptance of employment if they elected not
become Union members. It also required those who were
n members to retain their membership during the con-
During the strike period, approximately 143 employees, of
“the 1900 production and maintenance employees represented
by the Union at the Michoud plant, crossed the picket line
aud reported to work. All of these persons had been Union
Members during the 1963-1965 contract period. Some of the
ployees who worked during the strike made no attempt
design from the Union during the strike. The remaining
submitted their voluntary resignations, in writing, to
both the Union and the Company. About 61 of the employees
‘Who resigned did so before they crossed the picket line and
turned to work. Another 58 resigned during the course of
he st but after they had crossed the picket line in order
te work. All resignations were submitted after the expiration
of the 1963-1965 contract, and before the execution of the
‘Rew agreement, and all were submitted prior to the imposi-
of any Union discipliné. Union members had not been
*
warned prior to the strike that disciplinary measures could,
or would, be taken against those who crossed the picket line
to work, nor had any such discipline been imposed on men-
ders by Booster Lodge 405 prior to this tima.
In late October or early November of 1965, the Union noti-
fied all members and former members who had crossed the
stitution, for ‘Improper Conduct of a Member’? due to their
having ‘‘accept[ed] employment. . . in an establishment
where a a strike exist{ed].’* They were advised of the dates
ber of the International Assogiation of Machinists and Aero-
space Workers. Pursuant to the International Union Consti-
tution provision which permitted the imposition of disci-
plinary measures, including ‘‘reprimand, fine, suspension, or
expulsion from membership, or any lesser penalty or combi-
nation,’’ where a member had been found guilty of miscon-
duct after notice and a hearing, fines were imposed on all
employees who had worked during the strike. No distinction
was drawn between those persons who had resigned from
the Union during the course of the strike and those who had
remained Union members.
Employees who did not appear for trial before the Union
Trial Committee and those who appeared but were found
guilty were fined $450.00 each, the amount determined by the
membership, and they were barred from holding a Union
office for a period of 5 years. The fines of about 35 employees
who appeared for trial, apologized, and pledged loyalty to
the Union, were reduced to 50 percent of the earnings they
VVV
%% „„
$2.38 and $8.68 per hour, or between $96 and $145 per 40-hour
. during which these persons were prohibited from
he Union office was decreased to a period based upon
te number of days of strikebreaking activity each respec-
” tive person had engaged in. None of the disciplined indi-
A als processed intra-Union appeals. ;
Along none of the $450.00 fines has been paid, reduced
on February 18, 1966, the Company filed a charge with the
NI ., alleging that the Union had violated Section 8(b)
Y of the N. L. R. A.., and a complaint was issued by the
sd. § 158(b) (1) (A) (1970), which provides:
05) It shall be an unfair labor practice for a labor or-
USC. f 17 (1970) provides:
otherwise legal fines may be rendered violative of the
N.L.B.A. if unreasonably large. A cease and desist order
was issued, and the Union was ordered to refund any fines
collected from employees who had resigned before returning
Booster Lodge 405 challenges the Board’s conclusion that
a mid-strike resignation from a union relieves an individual
agreement
ration 188 (0) (8) of this title,
rt I of this opinion discusses the legality of the imposi-
m of the disciplinary fines by the Union in response to the
rikebreaking by the approximately 143 employees involved.
itt II considers the effect the reasonableness of the fines
upon their propriety under the N L. R. A., and the proper
tion of the N. L. R. B. in this area. Finally, Part III deals
th the propriety of the Board 's remedial order.
1
The Legality of the Disciplinary Fines
As early as 1954, in Minneapolis Star and Tribune Co.,
99 NLRB 727 1954), the Labor Board held that a union
not violate Section 8(b)(1)(A) of the Act by i
ring the course of an authorized strike. The Board de-
red that the proviso to 8(b)(1)(A)* precluded any inter-
rence by it with the internal affairs of a labor organization
such a situation. In V. L. R. B. „. Allis- Chalmers Manufac-
ring Co., 388 U.S. 175 (1967), a divided Supreme Court
hilarly determined that a union did not violate the N. L. R. A.
hen it imposed, and attempted to enforce through court ac-
n, reasonable fines against members for their failure to
mor an authorized picket line. Instead of relying upon the
press language of the provis6, however, the Supreme Court
a ally analyzed the entire legislative history of Section
Ab) (i) (A), and it concluded that Congress did not intend
“40 prohibit such internal union discipline by the prohibition
se
© See n. 4, supra.
* eee N or ‘‘coercion.’’ Zee 388 U. S. at 183-195,
4
HH
fi
i
aps is
15
i :
215 ll
i
0
biti
11
4
e e i
17 4h ff 33151 ge,
1355 i ate 11
8 1 7235 HEE 183
„ depeeegize 1151 i
1 fe ire 142
Bult 11 EH 1151
45 i 1 8 He 15
28 a Al So
11 al ttt 2211
i rule which reflects a legitimate union interest, im-
pairs no statutory labor policy, and is reasonably enforced
einst union members. See V. L. H. . „. Marine Workers,
.S. 418, 423 (1968). See also Rocket Freight Lines Co. v.
LR. B., 427 F.2d 202, 205-206 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 400
g 942 (1970); Silard, Labor Board Regulation of Union
scipline After Allis-Chalmers, Marine Workers and Sco-
id, 38 Gro. Wasu. L. Rev. 187 (1969). In light of these de-
lopments,’ it is clear that the Union acted within the sphere
its lawful authority when it decided to impose fines on the
Pras.
5 fag * We
1 1
ployees who resigned from the Union during the strike pe-
ne Company has asked this court to overrule Allis.
/ Chalmers in order to force reconsideration of the union dis-
une area by the Supreme Court, but that is not our fune-
, fon. We recognize that “the Supreme Court should retain the
/ @xelusive privilege of overruling its own decisions, save per-
haps. when opinions already delivered have created a near
tertainty that only the occasion is needed for pronouncement
E the doom.” Salerno v. American League of Professiqnal
ball Clubs, 429 F.2d 1008, 1005 (2nd Cir. 1970), ‘cert.
emed, 400 U.S. 1001 (1971). In light of Scofield and Marine
) Workers, any argument for such reconsideration must be ad-
Mressed to the Supreme Court itself. See U. S. Gypsum Co. v.
workers, 384 F.2d 88, 42-44 (5th Cir. 1967), cert. denied,
1889 U.S. 1042 (1968) ; United States v. Ullman, 221 F. ad 760,
de (2nd Cir. 1955), affd., 350 U.S. 422 (1966).
*See Part II. infra, regarding the effect of the “reasonable-
be of the fines imposed on their legality under § 8 (b) (i)
B. The Employees Who Did Resign
As the Supreme Court recognized in Allis-Chalmers, when
Section 8(b)(1)(A) was enacted, Congress was operating
. elle hue “aay 8 Hoa ae
prevailed at that time.”
NL. R. B. v. Allis-Chalmers Mfg. Co., supra, 388 U.S. at 192.
See International Association of Machinists v. Goneales, 356
U.S. 617, 618 (1958). Under this theory union membership
was deemed in effect to create a ‘‘contract’’ between the labor
organization and the imposed certain obliga-
tions on the member, and the
"In Allie-Chalmers, all of the persons disciplined by the
status. Thus
11
recognized this indispensable prerequisite in Scofield, 145
NLEB 1097, 1104 (1964), where it noted that „a] union
rule that a member is subject to a fine if he [violates a valid
union rule] does not mean that he is subject to such a fine
e an employee. (emphasis in original) This membership
requirement for union disciplinary authority was affirmed
by the Supreme Court in Scofield v. V. L. R. B., 394 U.S. 423,
4 n. 5: g
is As an employee, [an individual may. be a ‘‘good,
or indifferent’ Ct so long — the 1
obligations of the union security contract. * * But
a d union member, so long as he chooses to remain one,
de is subject to union discipline. (emphasis supplied)
See 394 U.S. at 435. Thus the Court recognized that union
members.. are free to leave the union and escape the
lumion] rule. Id. at 430. It is therefore apparent that
Booster Lodge 405 only had the authority to discipline those
employees who were in fact Union members at the time they
engaged in the complained of activity.
_. Approximately 58 of the employees who worked during the
strike submitted their resignations to the Union after they
No employee is subject to union rules if he chooses
do forego the privileges and duties of union membership.”
"Rev. 187, 190 (1969). See International Association of Ma-
cChinists and Aerospace Workers, Local Lodge 504, 185 NLRB
+ No. 22, 75 LRRM 1008, ( 1970).,Since unions are only author-
wed to impose discipline where legitimate internal affairs
tre concerned, N. L. R. B. v. Allis- Chalmers Mfg. Co., supra;
Scofield v. N. L. R. B., supra; N. L. R. B. v. Marine Workers, 391
8. 418, 424 (1968) ; Local 188, International Union of Oper-
Engineers, 148 NLRB 679, 682 (1964), it is clear that
y effort to fine non-members would constitute an attempt to
ect external activities, an area in which Congress did not
a to permit such union regulation. This was correctly
nized by the N. L. R. B. in this case.
12
ee proscribed by the
International D
cussion. regarding union authority over action undertaken
by full members, we must concur in the Board’s determina-
negated the authority of the Union over these persons with
respect to these acts, as the N.L.R.B. properly recognized.
Booster Lodge No. 405, International Association of Ma-
chinists and Aerospace Workers, AFL-CIO, 185 NLRB No.
23, 1970 OCH NLREB { 22,259, at p. 28,693 (1970).
d. Finés Imposed for Post-resignation Conduct
755 An extremely difficult question is presented with respect
to the fines which were imposed upon employees for their
™ A resignation acts to terminate the existing relationship
ation. See GA Con, Contracts § 1229, pp. 508-510
4
18
_ pest-resignation conduct. Booster Lodge 405 has made a
sophisticated argument which would expose persons who
Vers members at the commencement of a particular strike
t union discipline with respect to any strikebreaking action
_. «ndertaken during that specific work stoppage. Although it
ebnosdes that such a restriction is not contained in any of
_ the express language of the International Union Constitution
or By-laws, the Union urges this court to ‘‘flesh out’’ such
documents by imposing such an obligation by implication.
We must decline this invitation.
It must be emphasized that in situations like this, while
_ “the function of the court is o determine, as far as is pos-
“sible, the intention of the contracting parties and to give
gal effect thereto, ™ it is generally recognized that courts
Wil not usually imply offenses not specified in a union’s
99 Constitution or by-laws." We believe. that this latter con-
a is controlling with respect to the instant case. As
the Union recognizes, there is nothing in the record which
~ evidences any intention on the part of the approximately 119
who resigned during the strike in question that their
acceptance of Union inembership would impose upon
ats the type of continuing obligation which Booster Lodge
~ 405 now asks this court to impose. Furthermore, the vory fact
that they resigned during this period, in an obvious attempt
do escape the disciplinary authority of the Union, belies this
_ Proposed line of reasoning.
ts
would, of course, include the approximately 61“ fer-
resigned from the Union before engaging in any
ting activity, as well as the 58 persons discussed
ily, who resigned during the period of their strike-
1 Corsin, Contracts § 95, p. 896 (1968).
Summers, Legal Limitations on Union Discipline, 64
anv. L. REV. 1049, 1069-1061 (1951), and see cases cited
14
In addition, an extremely important national labor policy
militates against the imposition of such an implied obligation.
neee ee ee ee
post-resigna’
expressly Fe otherwise. The Supreme Court
the right of a union to enforce a properly
rule which reflects a legitimate union interest, im-
no Congress has imbedded in the labor laws,
reasonably enforced against union members who are
¢ the union and escape the rule. Scofield v.
„ supra, 394 U.S. at 430 (emphasis su om As the
concluded below, after resigna ‘*TbJoth
du let and the union's corre ding
e eee Heeech, of thet duty are xtin-
”? Booster Lodge No. 405, International Association
of . ser and Aerospace Workers, AFL-CIO, supra,
1970 CCH NLRB { 22,259, at p. 28,692.
The Union has relied heavily upon the First Circuit's
holding in V. L. R. B. v. Granite State Joint Board, Textile
Workers Union, Local 1029, 446 F. 2d 369 (1st Cir. 1971),
but we believe that the decision is inapposite to the present
fact situation. Although the court in Granite State upheld
the right of the union involved to impose fines on strike-
breakers for post-resignation activity, it emphasized that a
specific set of facts. was present which it believed rendered
such u result equitable, and it specifically recognized that
these considerations were not present with respect to the
HU
i
Hi
75
8
5
i
iff
10
. “29 U.S.C. § 157 (1970). See n. 4, supra.
5 15
" instant Booster Lodge 405 dase. - In Granite State, the Board
_ gonoeded that all of the fined employees had voted in favor
adhs strike in question." It is also important to note that
_ the fines had not been imposed pursuant to a general provi-
don in the union constitution, as here, but rather in accord-
" Mously adopted by the membership after the work stoppage
om See 446 F. ad at 370, 372 n. 5. Furthermore, all
Of those who were disciplined in Granite State had been
ax _pre-warned of possible punishment for strike-
_ tationale of Granite State to the instant factual situation.”
We strong equities which weighed in favor of the union
_ there, are clearly not present here. In fact, their very absence
| powerfully supports the result which we have accepted.
d resign at will, subject only to their being bound by any
permissible collective bargaining agreement provision limit-
ing this right. Local Union 621, United Rubber, Cork, Lino.
Teum and Plastic Workers of America, 167 NLRB 610
(1967) ; Communications Workers v. NL. R. B., 215 F.2d 835
( Cir. 1954) ; N.L.R.B. v. Mechanical and Allied Produc.
*
»
% Ses 446 F.2d at 872 u. 5, wherein the First Circuit’ dis-
446 F.2d at 870 n. 2 In the present case, there is no evi.
e that the disciplined strikebreakera voted. to. strike.
:
:
1
1157
=
8(b)(
[to §
its
the
al
i
1115
Warten HERD, ep, Fda 8
make
—
bl
—
1711
2
»
“correctly determined that the Uni
on’s right to
discipline employees terminated upon the employees’ sub-
i
116 0
9 pais
5
fs
lk
17
mission of their letters of resignation [, thus t]he attempted
imposition of discipline for subsequent conduct was beyond
the: powers of the Union.’’ Booster Lodge No. 405, Inter-
_ national Association of Machinists and Aerospace
Kolo, supra, 1970 CCH NLRB ¢ 22,259,
We therefore affirm the Board’s finding
_ Isted Section 8(b)(1)(A) of the N.LRB.A. by imposing fines
tening or attempting enforce-
NLRB 804 (1
Systems Co., 311 F.2d 782,
. bpb... NA SE Rae ee SO ee ee
TO HEHE
See N. L. R. B. v. Marine Workers,
District 50, Local 12419, 176 NLRB
No. 89, 71 LRBM 1311 (1969); Local 138, International
Union: of Operating Engineers, AFL-CIO, 148 NLRB 679
10
128, 178 NLRB 208, 72 LRRM 1049 (1969), enfd., 442
F. ad 92 (7th Cir..1971).” Wo thus grant enforcement of the
ith.
12 710
N. LAB. cease and desist order so far as it concerns the
imposition.of fines for post- rosiguation conduct.”
(1964). See also International Molders and Allied Workers
iy
53
ti
32
i:
i
11
14
ii
41
ing of Section Sb) (I) (A).
391 US. 458 (1068) ;
Loon
19
_ The Board’s Duty to Determine the Reasonableness of Fines
In its decision below, the N. L. R. B. relied upon a com-
panion case, International Association of Machinists and
Aerospace Workers, Local 504 [Arrow Development Co.],
_ 185 NLBB No. 22, 75 LRRM 1008 (1970),* in concluding
that a fine’s ‘‘reasonableness”’ has no effect upon its legality
mier the N.L. R. A. This conclusion was based upon the
Board's belief that Congress did not intend ta empower the
Labor Board with the authority to examine severity of
union discipline when ascertaining its legality, and it indi-
_ ¢ated that it thonght that local courts were the most logical
~ tribunals for the establishment of standards of reasonable-
ness. The Board therefore refused to examine the question
ek reasonableness in the present case, despite an express
determination by the Trial Examiner that the imposed fines
vero impermissibly excessive. We reject the position of the
Board.“ and remand the case for further proceedings in
_ tonformity with the views set out below.”
‘tthe
1501 HEE
3 13
. 2 388 US. at 191-192
ah. supplied).” This implicity recognised that, for a
of the fines imposed, due
the
that they have not exhausted all availabie internal
a remain, wo reject tie contention. An individual eo
The Board’s belief that it does not have the obligation
1115
1
a
„FFC
NA v, Allie-Chalmers Mfg. Co., supra, 388 U.S. at 183
|
HE
1
na >
11 iy 1
21
| Misciplinary fine to be less coercive than expulsion from the
~gnion, the fine imposed must be a reasonable one, for it is
intuitively obvious that enforcement of a grossly excessive
~ fine might visit a far greater burden upon an individual
: ban would mete expulsion.” The Supreme Court also ex-
ce
at ie
_ Pressly recognized this fact in its recent Scofield decision,
wherein it concluded that the enforcement of a proper union
rule by reasonable fines does not constitute the restraint or
- Soercion proscribed by 68b) (1) (A). Scofield v. V. L. R. B.,
bdupr Us
rule, duly adopted and not the arbitrary fiat of a union of-
oer, forbidding the erossing of a picket line during a strike
lis] . . . enforceable against voluntary union members by
_ @xpulsion or a reasonable fine.” 394 U.S. at 428 (emphasis
~ Supplied). In light of the Court’s emphasis on the require-
went of reasonable fines” if a union is to avoid a violation
5 “ot the Act in these circumstances, we must conclude that the
~ imposition of an unreasonably large fine, at least where the
mion threatens or actually attempts court enforcement of
We recognize that ‘state courts have been adjudicating
internal union disputes for more than 60 years.’’ Summers,
The Law of Union Discipline: What the Courts Do in Fact,
70 1a . 175 (1960). We further acknowledge the fact
**the state courts, in reviewing the imposition of union
discipline, find ways to strike down ‘discipline [which] in-
volves a severe [monetary] hardship.’ ’’** However,
28
" gonsiderations do not relieve the NLRB. of its duties under
not permit enforcement of excessive fines in a collection
m by the union, does not detract from their coerciveness,
the need for N. L. R. B. action. V.L.R.B. v. American B
ud Confectionery Workers, Local 300, 411 F. ad 1122, 1126
> Guild, Local 178 v. Rakos, 110 N.J. Super 77, 74 LRRM 2487
I. Sup. Ct., App. Div. 1970) ; L.A. Newspaper Guild, Local
IIR j ‘
= eration of Musicians, Local 294, 26 LRRM 2804 (Pa. Ct.
im. Pls. 1950).
' Although the Union has cited in U. O. p. V
(7th Gr. 1969). See Local Union No. 167, Progressive Mine
Workers of America v. N. L. R. B., 422 F 2d 538, 542 (7th
Cir.), cert. denied, 399 U.S. 905 (1970).
Other factors also support the conclusion that Board inter-
we exaghesine the fact that “{tJhe function of striking
that balance to effectuate national labor policy is often a dit.
responsibility
related area. Under Section 8(b)(5)," it is required to
_ determine whether initiation fees required by a labor organi-
_ gation under a union-security agreement are excessive.” The
last that Section 8(b)(1)(A) does not provide the Board with
"specific standards to be applied in determining the reason-
ahleness of a union fine, while Section 8(b) (5) does include
- geveral express standards, does not detract from the
NLBB.’s authority under 8(b)(1)(A). See N.L.R.B. v.
adio and Television Broadcast Engineers Union, 364 U.S.
_ 878, 582-583 (1961). Experience and common sense will
upply the grounds for the performance of this job,“ which
vs have concluded was implicitly entrusted by Congress to
the Board, 364 U.S. at 583.
de Board must remember that à fine imposed for the
vip of a legitimate union rule should be viewed as
_ presumptively protective, and therefore privileged, when the
amount of the fine, taking into account the character and im-
= Z
sc. f; 158 (b) (5) (1970), which provides:
00 It shall be an unfair labor practice for a labor or.
9 @anization or its agents
Pe 0 0 — „ „
SPR * 4
eee 00 to require of employees covered by an agreement
_»< tuthorized under subsection (a) (8) L. Le., a
* Provision,] the payment, as a condition precedent to be.
2 . of such organization, of a fee in an
mm fee the Board finds excessive or discrimingtory
“Under all the circumstances. In making such a finding, the
Jee, 6.9., JL. 4., Local 1419, 186 NLRB
15 Lie ant Got, whens vat oe FERS
‘was found. See also V. L. R. B. v. Television & Radio
Studio Employees, Local 804, 815 F.2d 898 (ard
along with others the Board may consider to be ap-
The reasonableness of a fine would necessarily have to be
of the work stoppage, the strength of the particular union
involved, the availability of other less harsh union remedies,
and many other similar considerations would clearly be
One additional consideration is worthy of mention, In its
fg. Co., supra, 388 U.S. at
195; Scofield v. N. L. R. B., supra, 394 U.S. at 423, 428. While
this principle clearly prohibits a union from seeking the sus-
pension or termination of an employee by his employer due
to his strikebreaking,” its implications may have further ap-
~ plication which might be relevant to the present case. Where
2 adiseiplinary fine is unreasonably excessive, it may possibly
affect the employee’s employment status as adversely—and
_ possibly even more adversely—as an illegally obtained em-
ployment suspension. On remand, the Board might also
eonsider this protective policy of the Act in determining
the reasonableness of the fines in question under Section
~ (b)(1)(A).”
— U.S.C. § 158(b)(2) (1970), which provides, inter
(b) It shall be unfair labor practice for a labor orgami-
sation or its agenta—
* * 2 * „ „ *
(2) to cause or attempt to cause an employer to dis-
TG) wninat an employee in violation.of subsection
a 3
US. § 158(a) (8) (1970), provides, inter alia:
(a) It shall be an unfair labor practice for an em-
td *
(8) by discrimination im regard to hire or tenure of
II
Labor Board Remedy
Although we.are remanding this case to the N.LE.B. for
* Congress has given the Board
remedies to effectuate the policies
r Act. So long as the Board exercises responsi-
its judgment, courts should not interfere with its
4 74 6
— Ap 3
e of any fines paid by employees who effec-
_ fively resigned before engaging in any strikebreaking
The utilization of remedial formulas has been approved
by the Supreme Court. V. L. R. B. v. Seven · Up Bottling Co.,
ion, we are unable to conclude that the order is a
attempt to achieve ends other than those which can
said to effectuate the policies of the Act.“ Virginia
s employees a better position . the Board can hardly
b said to be effectuating policies beyond the purposes of the
et by resolving the doubt against the party who violated the
Act." Leeds & Northrup Ca. v. V.LR.B., 391 F.2d 874, 880
bord Cir, 1968). We therefore must affirm this portion of
‘Board’s affirmative reimbursement egdter,
Se n. 24, supra, for further discussion of the remedy
to these ~
1 ve are cognizant of the fact that the Union's $450.00 fine
mpc i upon all strikebreakers—except those who apol-
The case is remanded to the Labor Board for further con-
sideration of the questions relating to the reasonableness of
the fines imposed by the Union.
So Ordered.
1 and pledged loyalty—regardless of the number of days
in by each. Although the Union
‘indicates that no pro rata reduction
required by the Board with
respect to these
obvious desire to
we recognize the N. L. RB.
MAR 1 1972
E. ROBERT SEAVER, CLERK
4 8 ]
Supreme Court of the Anited States
Ocroszr TxnNM, 1971
No. 71-711
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
PETITIONER
V.
GRANITE STATE JOINT BOARD,
TEXTILE WORKERS UNION OF AMERICA,
LOCAL 1029, AFL-CIO,
RESPONDENT
RESPONSE TO PETITIONER’S PETITION FOR
A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST
CIRCUIT |
Haron B. Rorrman
| 11 Beacon Street
: Boston, Massachusetts 02108
| Attorney for Granite State Jojnt
Board, Textile Workers Union of
America, Local 1089, AFL-CIO
Of Counsel:
Dowax J. SRI.
Saal, Rorruan & Coneman
11 Beacon Street
Boston, Mass. 02108
Blanchard Press, Inc., Boston, Mass. — Law Printers
2
ay
:
2
5
.
e
5
5
Question Presented sss sss tw
Statutes Involvet
Statement of the Case 5
A. The NLRB’s Decision and Order
B. The Court of Appeals’ Decision
Beasons for Denying the Writ
Taklx or Crrarioxs
Cases
Booster Lodge No. 405, LAM (The Boeing Company)
185 NLEB No. 23 5, 6, 8
Booster Lodge No. 405, IAM v. National Labor Rela-
tions Board, D.C. Circuit, Docket Nos. 24,687, 24,744,
decided February 3,1972,._F.2nd_ 7, 8, 9
National Labor Relations Board v. Allis-Chalmers
Manufacturing Company, 388 U.S. 175 6, 7
_ Scofield v. National Labor Relations Board, 394 U.S. 423 7
Statutes
- National Labor Relations Aet, as amended (61 Stat.
156, 73 Stat. 519, 29 U.S.C. 151 et seq)
Oe Section 8b) (1) (A)
v8.0. 12540)
No. 71-711
___ .. NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
5 PETITIONER
V.
ee GRANITE STATE JOINT BOARD,
4» TEXTILE WORKERS UNION OF AMERICA,
a LOCAL 1029, AFL-CIO,
. RESPONDENT
__ ~, RESPONSE TO PETITIONER'S PETITION FOR
A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
Frs COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST
CIRCUIT
„
= The Granite State Joint Board, Textile Workers Union
e America, Local 1029, AFL,CIO, respectfully urges the
met to deny the Petitioner's Petition for a writ of
in reproduced in Appendix A of, the Petitioner's
2
Petition. The NLRB’s desision in this case is reported at
reproduced in Appendix C, Pp. 13a-
. ble Pain
The judgment of the Court of Appeals (Appendix B of
Petitioner’s Petition) was entered on June 29, 1971. On
September 20, 1971, Mr. Justice Brennan extended the time
for ' filing a petition for a writ of certiorari through Novem-
ber 26, 1971. The Solicitor General flled a petition for a
writ of certiorari on November 26, 1971. On January 31,
1972, the Chief Deputy Clerk of the Supreme Court wrote
to Harold B. Roitman, attorney for the Granite State Joint
Board of the Textile Workers Union of America, Local
quested that a response to Peti-
of Certiorari be flled with the
Court on or before March 1, 1972. The jurisdiction of this
Court was originally invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).
ae -- Question Presented
WOME AoA SG ee e
strike, thay ‘escape his obligation to refrain from strike-
breaking by submitting a'resignation to his union and then
ee 2
nit 5 281 dg en “Searutes Involved A
“Sections 7 Nene of the National Labor Rela-
tions Act (61 Stat. 136, 73 Stat. 519, 29 U.S. C. 151 et seq.)
are involved in this ande “fn Yéleviint part, section 7 of th
4 des, ‘Employees shall have the right to self-
n or Assis labor ations
* r Concerted activities for be?
3
Purpose of collective ba
‘The pertinent parts of section 8(b)(1)(A) are as follows:
fb) It shall be an unfair labor practice for a labor
rganization or its agents— (1) to restrain or coerce (A)
mplo in the exercise of the rights guaranteed in
: Provided, That this paragraph shall not impair
‘the right of a labor organization to prescribe its own rules
with respect to the acquisition or retention of membership
therein;
e Statement of the Case
The International Paper Box Machine Company and the
ranite State Joint Board, Textile Workers Union of
merica entered into a collective bargaining agreement on
tember 20, 1965. The term of the agreement was three
bars. On September 14, 1968, six days before the scheduled
diration of the 1965 agreement, the union membership
e agreement was reached by the
3 Mine and a strike commenced on September 20, 1968.
A few days after the strike began, the union membership
a providing that anyone aiding
ring the strike would be sub-
4
On November 5. and 25, 1968 while the strike was still in
Progress two employees‘ sent letters of resignation to the
Union.“ The Union refused to accept these mid-strike resig-
nations and warned both employees of -their liability to
fines for strike-breaking: The two employees filed unfair
labor practice charges against the Union and shortly here
of fines in these circumstances violated Section 8(b) (1) (A).
After a bearing the Trial Examiner found no violation.“
During the months that followed the June, 1969 decision,
twenty-nine more employees submitted mid-strike resig-
nations; the Union.responded to these resignations in the
same manner it responded to those of Radziewicz and Kim-
ball. Later charges were brought against the strikebreakers
by Union members. All thirty-one were properly notified,
tried and found guilty by a duly constituted Union tribunal,
and varying fines were imposed. When the strikebreakers
failed to pay the fines and other amounts due to the Union,
the Union brought suit in the New Hampshire Court to
oolleet on its contracts.” At this point, the fined employees
filed unfair labor practice charges with the Board. A com-
se fines violated Section 8(b)(1)(A). The Trial Ex-
ne #0 found? and the Board sustained his findings
1 order.“
bes bai ‘The NLRB Decision and Order
‘The Board held by a 2.1 margin that the mid-strike
gnation of the thirty-one employees effectively severed
» #uy.comnection they might have had with the Union. Relying
on its decision in Booster Lodge No. 405, PAM (The Boeing
% the Board held that the fining of these strike-
sakers and the attempted collection by judicial process
‘those fines violated Section 8(b)(1)(A) of the NLRA.
me Board ordered the Union to rescind the fines and with-
aw the state court suits.
The Court of Appeals’ Decision
© The Court of Appeals denied enforcement of the NLRB’.
8 2
*
eder. In its decision of June 29, 1971, the Court applied
ide mutual reliance principle to the participants in this
We can imagine a case involving three hypothetical
ee employees whom we shall call Jones, Smith and Parks.
~ “Initially Jones is anxious to strike but Smith and
Parks hesitate, finally aequiescing on the condition that
all agree to stick it out for the duration of the strike.
We suggest that this kind of mutual reliance is implicit
zn all strike votes; many employees would hesitate
oe. to forego several weeks or months of pay if they knew
= — of the Trial Examiner reproduced st
13 also p. 13a of Petitioner's Petition.
‘ed see
wee cohortis were free to cross the picket line at any
Rho c hepsi Sey ae sere eee (empha-
alti e eee the 1947
amendment to Sestion 7 to authorize mid-strike resigna-
tions. Its interpretation was based on the meaning of the
term refrain and the legislative history of the amend-
ment. Additional support for the Court of Appeals’ decision
was found in NLRB v. Allis Chalmers Manufacturing Co.,
88 — we er |
‘Reasons for Denying the Writ
The ‘weit ‘should be denied ‘because the decision of the
8 Dou cl-tegnabia tet ween The mutual
reliance of each striking member upon the representations
of his fellow strikers more than justifies the Court’s de-
cision. Briefly stated, the Court of Appeals holds that
5
fic. resolution. of the local union authorized these fines.
apt to exhaust internal union remedies was made
decision is consistent with Allis-Chalmers, supra.
the’ Court held that Section 8(b)(1)(A) did not apply
ial enforcement of union strikebreaking fines. The
ile of Allis-Chalmers certainly mandates its extension
e thirty-one strikebreakers, At 388 U.S. 181, this
> “Integral to this federal labor policy has been the
power in the chosen union to protect against erosion
lari vital when the members engage in strikes. The
eoonomie strike against the employer is the ultimate
weapon in labor’s arsenal for achieving agreement
under its terms and It Ihe power to fine or expel
strikebreakers is essential if the union is to be an
‘effective bargaining agent. (Emphasis added;
“footnotes omitted).
Further, the writ should be denied becanse there is no
al conflict between the Circuit Courts of Appeal on the
estion presented. On February 3, 1972, the Court of
is for the District of Columbia Circuit decided
the fae eee ee eee,
in th then pending Boring car, The Court nota, d
Bootsy ease, supra, may. be distinguishable
ots ao „ were. autho-
Poarc E ee had not
s about the possible imposition of dis-
measures. Also the Boeing opinion did not
r whether any of the employees who crossed
cket line had originally voted to support the
j 9918
. 57
ee e beser ber, fora Dit of b
Mia eee eee Nocte kram Granite State in
— —
: — ae
of the union involved to impose fines on strikebreakers
for post- -resignation activity, it emphasized that a
set of facts was present which it believed ren-
such a result equitable, and it specifically recog-
that these considerations were not present with
to the instant Booster Lodge 406 case.“ In
Prt the Board conceded that all of the fined
employees had voted in favor of the strike in question.”
I is also important to note that the fines had not been
_ | ‘imposed pursuant to u general provision in the union
9
ressly pre- warned of possible punishment for
saking, v while the employees with whom we
concerned received no such pre-strikebreak-
se to apply the rationale of Granite State to the
factual situation.” The strong equities which
d in favor of the union there, are clearly not
mt here. In fact, their very absence powerfully
the result which we have accepted.
Conclusion
the reasons set out above, the petition for a writ
iorari should be denied.
Attorney for Granite State Joint
Board, Textile Workers Union of
America, Local 1029, AFL-CIO
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.