Amicus Curiae Brief — In Re WINSHIP (No. 778)

Supreme Court brief1969

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Office-Supreme oe US.

DEC 10 1969

- Supreme Court of tf the Unitt Ladin

OCTOBER TERM, 1969

No. 778

IN THE MATTER OF SAMUEL W.

Vv.

FAMILY COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

ON APPEAL FROM THE NEW YORK COURT OF APPEALS

BRIEF FOR THE NEIGHBORHOOD LEGAL SERVICES PROGRAM

OF WASHINGTON, D.C. AND THE LEGAL AID AGENCY FOR

THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA AS AMICUS CURIAE

MARIE S. KLooz,

WoopDLeEY B. OSBORNE,

PATRICIA M. WALD

Attorneys,

Neighborhood Legal

Services Program,

416 Sth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20001

NORMAN LEFSTEIN,

Deputy Director,

Of Counsel: LAWRENCE H. SCHWARTZ,

James H. COHEN Attorney,

Covington & Burling Legal Aid Agency

888 Sixteenth Street, N.W. 316 6th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006 Washington, D.C. 20001

TY

Washington, 0. C. - THIEL PRESS - 202 . 393-0625

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

i PTD. 4.0 b460d4 66 oe dn cn ies 5a 00 O%

Question Presented .. 1... cece eee een nees

a re

Argument:

I. The failure to afford a youth the right to be adjudicated

a delinquent by proof which leaves no reasonable doubt

that he committed the criminal offense with which he is

charged is a deprivation of liberty without due process

and a denial of equal protection of the laws .........

A. An individual convicted of committing a criminal

offense is deprived of his liberty without due process

of law unless the case against him is proved beyond

GS CUUIO GMI is ws ck coke re bec eeeeiacces

B. A convicted juvenile delinquent is deprived of his

liberty in the same manner, and with the same

consequences, as an adult criminal .............

1. A significant body of respected judicial authority

considers the application of the adult standard to

juvenile delinquency determinations a constitu-

CE PE nn ccna cc ccancscenans

2. Legislators, independent committees and comen-

tators have recognized that it is constitutionally

impermissible to deny a youth his freedom on

the basis of the preponderance standard .......

C. The stigmatizing effect of a conviction in the juvenile

court is at least equal to that which stems from a

conviction in an adult criminal proceeding .........

D. The discretionary authority by which a child may be

transferred to an adult court for trial under the reason-

able doubt standard constitutes a denial of equal

| CTT TTT CTCL LETTE

Il. Adoption of the reasonable doubt standard is essential

for the protection of a youth’s privilege against self-

EE BR ace ees enc ceesesenscceneens

—

(ii)

Ill. Adoption of the reasonable doubt standard will aid the

juvenile court system in achieving its laudatory goals by

concentrating the application of its resources on youths

who most need rehabilitation .................., 51

ee PET ee ELLE LEE 56

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases:

In re Agler, 249 N.E.2d (Ohio 1969) ................. 20, 22

In re Agler, 240 N.E.2d 874 (Ohio Ct. App. 1968) ..... 20, 21, 22

Agnew v. United States, 165 U.S. 36 (1897) ............. 6

In re Benn, 247 N.E.2d 335 (Ohio Ct. App. 1969) ......... 21

In re Bigesby, 202 A.2d 785 (D.C. Ct. App. 1964) ...... 9, 22, 27

Bloom v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 194 (1968) .............05.. 20

Brinegar v. United States, 338 U.S. 160 (1949) ........... 6, 28

Brooks v. United States, 164 F.2d 142 (Sth Cir. 1947) ...... 7

In re Bumphus, 254 A.2d 400 (D.C. Ct. App. 1969) ....... 27

Caron v. Franke, 121 F.Supp. 958 (W.D.N.Y. 1954) ....... 49

Christensen v. lowa State Highway Comm'n, 110 N.W.2d 573

Ct 65s cee e ee cube cide edaheaes 408s 47

Cities Service Oil Co. v. Dunlap, 308 U.S. 208 (1939) ....... 7

Coffin v. United States, 156 U.S. 432 (1895) ............. 6

Culombe v. Connecticut, 367 U.S. 568 (1961) ........... 46

Davis v. United States, 160 U.S. 469 (1895) ............. 6

DeBacker v. Brainard, 161 N.W.2d 508 (Neb. 1968), prob. juris.

noted, 393 U.S. 1076 (1969), appeal dismissed, 38 U.S. Law

Week 4001 (1969) (Nov. 12, 1969) .............05. 19, 20

Delaware Coach Co. v. Savage, 81 F.Supp 293 (D. Del. 1948) . 47

Dunbar v. United States, 156 U.S. 185 (1895) ........... 6

Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968) ...........006- 20

Edwards v. Mazor Masterpieces, Inc., 295 F.2d 547 (D.C. Cir.

A bee ST seidlaiiplete Unga ned | Bg ene e aRmeenrant ne

In re Ellis, 253 A.2d 789 (D.C. Ct. App. 1969) ...... .. 26,27

ee el

in re Elmore, 222 A.24 255 (D (ii)

F.2d 125 (D.C. Cir. 1967)

Fugate v. Ronin, 91 N.W.2d 24H C, Ct. 1966), modified, 382

Gardner v. Broderick, RTS oc ci cess ne csaces ees 10, 26, 27

Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S40 (Neb. eee 41

in re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967). 273 (1968)... . 6+ +++ seers a4

Georgia Power Co. v. Smith, ¥S. 493 (1967)... ..++++>> 44, 49

Gerak v. State, 153 NE. 902 6) Petpet ara passim

Government of Virgin Islands y4

Rare “einen $B 48 (Ga. Ct. App. 1956). 49

taleed States, 308 F (Ohio Ct. App. 1920) ......+- 4]

Greenberg v. Alter Co., 124 N v. Torres, 161 F.Supp. 699 ‘

ih OE ye

im ve ”*8.2d 303 (D.C. Cir. 1962)... .--- 45

Hicks v. District of Columbia,

oo N.W.2d 438 (lowa 1963) ......- 49

In re Hill, 253 A.2d 791 (D.C- 609 (1965)... +++ +e sree 44, 46

Holland v. United States, 348'. 197 A.2d 154 (D.C. Ct. App.

toe manne 26

Holt ». United States, 218 U.-° © APP. ee 27

Hopt v. Utah, 120 US. 430 @ US. 121 (1954)... - 26+ 28

Inre J.R., 242 N.E.2d 604 ( (Pa. 1954) .... 2. eee eee ees 34

(1968) ...-e- essere 1S eee 6

Jones v. Commonwealth, 38 (1887) ©... 66-2250

Juv. Ct. C :

Kent v. United States, 383 u! . y uyahoga County, Ohio .

} S.E.2 Va. 14, 15,

LaBoy v. New Jersey, 266 pi SE.2d 444 (Wa staan ech - -

Leland v. Oregon, 343 US. 7) 5. 541 (1966) ..----+++ 11, 12, 15,

ee ee -.4h ae

ilienthal v. United States, 9. giites

Lilienthal v. United States, %. 5.45 581 (D.NJ. 1967). +--+ >: 44

Lyon v. Commonwealth, 131

! 790, reh. denied, 344 U.S. 848

Inre M, 450 P.24 296(Cal. 6.7

In re McDonald, 153 A.24 67 Ys. 237 (1878)... + see 7

| S.E.2d 407 (Va. 1963) ...---- 41

f Seer 8, 22, 23, 24

651 (D.C. Ct. App. 1959)... .--- 9

(iv)

In re Madik, 251 N.Y.S. 765 (Sup. Ct. 1931)

Malloy v. Hogan, 378 U.S. 1 (1964) ...............25..

Micheli v. Toye Bros. Yellow Cab Co., 174 So.2d 168 (La. Ct.

SRP ws 20054 Sadat Vent eenaeekanwhwee 49

Mikens v. Commonwealth, 16 S.E.2d 641 (Va. a: Meee 15

Miles v. United States, 103 U.S. 304 (1880) ............. 6

Murphy v. Waterfront Comm'n, 378 U.S. 52 (1964)......... 46

Nelson v. County of Los Angeles, 362 U.S. 1 (1960) ....... 44

Nieves v. United States, 280 F Supp 994 (S.D.N.Y. 1968) . 43, 44,

45, 50

Noel v. United Aircraft Corp., 219 F Supp. 556 (D. Del. 1963). 47

Paige v. United States, 394 F 2d 105 (Sth Cir. 1968) .. .... 27

People v. Anonymous A, B, C & D, 279 N.Y.S.2d 540

Pn I GR, PUD nina ss ctciwccunccncenee. 14

People ex rel. Rodello v. District Court, Denver County, 436

EE UN cana ce Chu ena kskcbs ace 17, 20

People v. Fitzgerald, 15S N.E 584(NY.1927) .... ...... 14

People v. Lewis, 183 N E. 353 (N.Y. 1932) .... . ...... 9

People v. Licovoli, 250 N.W. 520 (Mich. 1933) _.... ..... 7

People ex rel. Schubert v. Pinder, 9 N.Y .S.2d 311 _ Ct.

WEEE SUE ME eGR valk uhekkeieas ies us Ra eat 7

People v. Yeager, 359 P.2d 261 (Cal. 1961) 22... . i

Pritchard v. Downie, 216 F.Supp. 621 (E.D. Ark. 1963), affd

326 F 2d 323 (8th Cir 1964) ..........020..., ae.

Reed v. Duter, No. 17546 (7th Cir. biel 18, ewe 6 Crim.

Die «hee s otk abe ek rene ee ee 17

In re James Rich, 86 N.Y .S.2d 308 na Rel. Ct., Child. Div.

SE PR RUEMSS 064000 CNSR Eas hme wRARAD REO; UK 14

In re Rindell, 36 U.S. Law Week 2468 (R.1. Fam. Ct., Jan. 10,

DE +5 CASSEL DEEN De abe wde one bb 00 dn bk Re ck —

Sampson v. Channell, 110 F.2d 754 (ist Cir. 1940)... ...... 7

Sanitation Men v. Sanitation Comm’r, 392 U.S. 280 (1968) ... 49

Shaw v. United States, 174 Ct. Cl. 899, 357 F.2d 949 (1966) . 7

®). Anema.

_

(v)

Page

smith v. Magnet Cove Barium Corp., 206 S.W.2d 442, (Ark.

OT) na vcccvcceseccescenesecssncecnaccenss 47

In re Smith, 326 P.2d 835 (Crim. Ct. App. Okla. 1958) ...... 17

y. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, reh. denied, 358 U.S. 860

iT Tee eee ee. 7, 28

Spevack v. Klein, 385 U.S. $11 (1967) .....-.- 0-0-0 44, 49

State v. Arenas, 453 P.2d 915 (Ore. 1969) (en banc) . .8, 10,24, 25

State v. Brinkley, 189 S.W. 2d 314 (Mo. 1945) ........... 41

State v. Dantonio, 115 A.2d 35 (N.J.1955) .......------ 7

State v. Doyal, 286 P.2d 306 (N.M. 1955) .........---55- 41

State v. Dunn, 99 P. 278 (Ore. 1909)... eee ee ee eee 9

State v. Essex, 275 F.Supp. 393 (E.D. Tenn. 1967), rev'd on

other grounds, 407 F.2d 214 (6th Cir. 1969) ..........- 27

State v. Lindsey's Interest, 300 P.2d 491 (Idaho 1956)....... 42

State v. Santana, 444 S.W.2d 614 (Tex. 1969) .......- 6, 18, 19,

49, 52, 53

State v. Santana, 431 S.W.2d 558 (Tex. Civ. Ct. App. 1968) . . .17, 18

State v. Van Buren, 150 A.2d 649 (N.J.1959) ........... 41

Teutrine v. Prudential Ins. Co. of America, 72 N.E.2d 444 (Ill.

i IE nb. Ob Acc ck nen ccuageanssesacerees 47

United States v. Anonymous, 176 F.Supp. 325 (D.D.C.1959) . 41

United States v. Caviness, 239 F.Supp. 545 (D.D.C. 1965)... 4!

United States v. Costanzo, 395 F.2d 441 (4th Cir. 1968) ... . 27,28

United States v. Essex, 275 F.Supp. 393 (E.D. Tenn. (1967)... 27

United States v. Jackson, 390 U.S. 570 (1968) .......... 44, 50

United States v. Kansas Gas & Elec. Co., 215 F Supp. 532 (D.

EN. naib pCuec ev dand eos cen hCeeiaeeas 47

United States v. New York, N.H. & H.R. Co., 355 U.S. 253

SE cities Sh Ue id x aed aan kas aes 7

Universe Tank Ships, Inc. v. Pyrate Tank Clearners, Inc. 152

en Cs OUD oka kv sc ck ceemecennccan 47

In re Urbasek, 232 N.E.2d 716 (Ill. 1967) ... . 15, 16, 18, 22, 27, 28

In re Urbasek, 222 N.E.2d 233 (Ill. Ct. App. 1966) ......... 16

White v. Village of Soda Springs, 266 P. 795 (Idaho 1928) ... 48

(vi) ee

Page

In re Whittington, 233 N.E.2d 333 (Ohio Ct. App. 1967),

vacated and remanded, 3911 U.S. 341 (1968) ....... 15, 20, 32

In re Whittington, 245 N.E.2d 364 (Ohio Ct. App. 1969) ..... 20

Williams v. Colonial Pipeline Co., 139 S.E.2d 308 (Ga. 1964) . 49

Wilson v. United States, 149 U.S. 60 (1893) ............. 47

In re Samuel W. v. Family Court, 299 N.Y.S.2d 414 (1969) . . 22,40

In re Wylie, 231 A.2d 81 (D.C. Ct. App. 1967) ........... 27

Zurich Ins. Co. v. Oglesby, 21\7 F.Supp. 180 (W.D. Va. 1963) . 49

Statutes:

Federal Juvenile Delinquency Act, 18 U.S.C. § 5033 (1964) ... 50

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 22-3-6 (Supp. 1967)...............2... 30

Md. Ann. Code, Art. 26 § 70-18(a) (Cum. Supp. 1969)....... 30

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 43-205.04 (1943) ...........c eee eeee 13

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 43-206.03(S) (1943) ...........00008. 34

Ps es GU. RPEOUERD ccc esc cee ecesnvenes 34

New York Family Court Act § 713 (McKinney 1962) ....... 15

New York Family Court Act §§ 782-784 (McKinney 1963) ... 34

Virginia Code Ch. 78, § 1910) (1942) ......-- 655 serene 14

D.C. Code:

Poo lt. 7) Se ee eee ee 2

SS. 0. Se eee ere er es eee eee eee es 9.15

BS 1DMR LISS) nw wcrc ewe enenerenseces 36

DERGSR AUP TD cine wee came nsccvcnsnereesses 13,42

§ 11-1586(a) (1967) ww ce were een ne: cone 35

§ 11-1586(c) (1967) ww wc ec eee ee cee wees 35

§ 16-290B(E) (1967) nw wc wee ccc n es cevenonnes 34, 36

§ 22-2902 (1967) wc ewer cer cc cneeeeveesens 43

§ 24-203 (1967) 2... wenn en eeccesee-sennescces 43

Treatises:

McCormick, Evidence § 321 (1954) www ee ee ee ee eee 5, 28

McCormick, Evidence § 319 (1954)... 6. ee ee eee ees 48

Sso7”™”

(vii)

Page

McNally, Rules of Evidence on Pleas of the Crown (1802) ... 5

Thayer, Preliminary Treatise on Evidence 558 (1898) ....... 5

8 Wigmore, Evidence § 317 (McNaughton 1961) ........... 46

9 Wigmore, Evidence § 2497 (Supp. 1964) ............4.- 28

9 Wigmore, Evidence § 2498 (Supp. 1964) .............-.. $1

Law Reviews:

Antieau, Constitutional Rights in Juvenile Courts, 46 Corn. L.Q.

| ae Acre Ss 6e Lee eee een ee 33

Cohen, The Standard of Proof in Juvenile Proceedings: Gault

Beyond a Reasonable Doubt, 68 Mich. L. Rev. ___ (1970)

(article forthcoming in Jan., 1970 issue and available upon

eS ee. Pee ee 2 oe ee 2 ere 33

Ketchum, What Happened to Whittington?, 37 Geo. Wash. L.

ee ae ed ee re 13

May, Reasonable Doubt in Civil and Criminal Cases, 10 Am. L.

DO PE WW Ce awh eee Eee se hous wees daas 6

Morgan, Presumption and Burden of Proof, 47 Harv. L. Rev.

I en a ea a 48

Parker, Some Historical Observations on the Juvenile Court,

Ps MN I Ss. Cb A cw woe ca Wek 6 kas cua ece 52

Rappeport, Determination of Delinquency in the Juvenile Courts:

A Suggested Approach, 1958 Wash. U.L.Q. 123 ......... 32

Trickett, Preponderance of Evidence and Reasonable Doubt,

Pe I, an Oe PD ck van ese ndiversccs 51

Waite, How Far Can Court Procedure Be Socialized Without

Impairing Individual Rights, 12.3. Crim. L. C.&P.S. 339

| GR ate tg TT ef PPE eR 5 32

Note, Juvenile Courts: Applicability of Constitutional Safe-

guards and Rules of Evidence to Proceedings, 41 Corn.

ek Cor oe mr 32

20 Syr. L. Rev. 1009 (1969) oo... eee eee eee cece 33

PG nik s Kin wc canenders 13, 33,

44 St. John’s L. Rev. 101 (1969) ................. 19, 33, 40

a

— oe epeenrnnsenE

(viii)

Books and Reports: Page

Tappan, Crime, Justice and Correction 392 (1960) ......... 35

2 Inbau, Thompson & Sowle, Cases and Comments on Criminal

Se CP on ek pn phancadnctawasanl 8

Michael & Weschler, Criminal Law and Its Administration

PNGE Cha 054 oh 46 GRO a nc hbk 664 4K 4RKRR ELS 53

Annual Report of the Juvenile Court for the District of Colum-

RIN 6-006 4h ik PA A ah ode Mitac bi ken 53, 54, 55

President’s Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration

of Justice, Task Force Report: Juvenile Delinquency and

Pee eT rT eee ee ee 11, 43

Report of the President’s Commission on Crime in the District

eT nc Ck WU ha Wile sade eke ue cu 11, 55

The President’s Commission on Law Enforcement and Adminis-

tration of Justice: The Challenge of Crime in a Free

PI ts dia telnl a kx Sake Bingo din dares lunes & 11, 37

“The Pre-sentence Investigative Report” Publication No. 103,

Administrative Office of the United States Courts (Division

IS 6k Slate Cr tra See bg nee oh wba Kein ack man 38

Interviews:

Silverman Interview, Director of Social Services, D.C. Juvenile

oS ee eee ee er ree ere 36, 38

Evans Interview, D.C. Hack Inspection Office (Nov. 5, 6, 1969) . 36, 39

Rowles Interview, Program Developer, Offender Rehabilitation

Div. of the Legal Aid Agency of the District of Columbia

er er er te ee ees 37, 38

Little Interview, Job Developer, Project Crossroads, District of

I Sc Es ss win we a vc w Oka wee eC ee 37, 38

Best Interview, Job Corps, District of Columbia (Nov. 3, 1969) 37, 38

White Interview, Manpower Training and Employment Service

Agency (MATESA) (Nov. 5, 1969) ................. 37

Evans (James) Interview, Bureau of Training, Civil Service

CC ON hace acncabeeneusr eee 37, 39

Bennett Interview, Clerk, D.C. Juvenile Court (Oct. 29, 1969) . 38

Beaudin Interview, Director, D.C. Bail Agency (Nov. 4, 1969) . 38

—7"7~""

(ix)

Page

Fortier Interview, Chief Petty Officer, U.S. Navy (Nov. 4,

Oo ee 38

Miles Interview, Air Force recruiter (Nov. 4, 1969) ........- 38

Hughes & Sanders Interview, Army Recruiting Division (Nov. 4,

|.) PEPPERS eS eee ee ee 36, 39

Brown Interview, Director of Admission, Howard University

OS Pe yr er err eee 39

Miscellaneous:

Uniform Juvenile Court Act § 2(2) (1968) ......... 9, 15, 30, 31

Federal Personnel Manual Ch. 731, 8§ 2.5-2.6 ...........-- 37

D.C. Juvenile Court Rules, Rule 4B-2(c) (1965 as amended) .... 35

New Jersey Court Rules, Rule 9-1(f) (1967) .........---- 30

Juvenile Court Rule 4.4(b), as adopted by the Washington

Judicial Council (29068) 0. ww cece cece cen nee 30

Model Rules for Juvenile Court, Rule 26 (Final Draft 1968) ... 32

Warren, Chief Justice, Address to the National Council of

Juvenile Court Judges, Vol. 15, No. 3, Juv. Ct. Judges, J. 14

Oe. ge Me rhea otis edaw ei bke x +<%s 5

National Council of Juvenile Court Judges, Directory and

OE EE ner 13

The Washington Post (March 7.1969) ..........2+--ee- 11

The Washington Post (Nov. 9, 1969) .........-ee eee eeee 11

The Washington Post (Nov. 14, 1969) ........ee seen 12

The Washington Post (Nov. 23, 1969) .......--2eee eens 12

Guides for Drafting Family and Juvenile Court Actions, Depart-

ment of Health, Education and Welfare, Social and Rehabili-

tation Service (Children’s Bureau) § 32(c) (1969)......... 32

Standardized Jury Instructions for the District of Columbia, at

_, 4 (PPP er ere Tere eee TTT eee 48

Recommendations to Investigate the Effect of Police Arrest

Records on Employment Opportunities in The District

ge 8. err ree ewer rae i rer 36

Army Regulations, Rule 3-9 (1969) ........--e+e ee eens 39

a a ae

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1969

No. 778

IN THE MATTER OF SAMUEL W.

Vv.

FAMILY COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

ON APPEAL FROM THE NEW YORK COURT OF APPEALS

BRIEF FOR THE NEIGHBORHOOD LEGAL SERVICES PROGRAM

OF WASHINGTON, D.C. AND THE LEGAL AID AGENCY FOR

THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA AS AMICUS CURIAE

The Neighborhood Legal Services Program of Washington,

D.C. and the Legal Aid Agency for the District of Columbia

file this brief Amicus Curiae pursuant to consent of the

parties hereto, submitted herewith.

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Neighborhood Legal Services Program (NLSP) of Wash-

ington, D.C. is a legal service program funded by the Office

of Economic Opportunity. The 10 field offices of this pro-

gram handle the cases of indigent juveniles in the nation’s

capitol. They handle several hundred of these cases each

year. The burden of proof standard applied by the District

of Columbia Juvenile Court in both court and jury trials is

“a mere preponderance of the evidence.”” Several cases han-

dled by NLSP attorneys which argue that the preponderance

ry

standard be changed to “beyond a reasonable doubt” are

pending in the United States Court of Appeals for the Dis-

trict of Columbia. Since the vast majority of juveniles who

come before the nations’ juvenile courts are without funds

to pay for legal services, the ruling in this case will have an

enormous impact on juvenile proceeding in the District and

throughout the country.

The Legal Aid Agency is required by statute to represent

youths charged with delinquent conduct in the District of

Columbia Juvenile Court. D.C. Code 82-2202 (1967). Dur-

ing fiscal 1969 for example, Agency attorneys appeared in

approximately 1500 delinquency cases. The Agency firmly

believes that justice in the District of Columbia Juvenile

Court would be enhanced if “beyond a reasonable doubt”

were the standard of proof to be applied in cases involving

determinations of delinquency. Litigation aimed at eliminat-

ing the present, civil standard of proof in juvenile cases involy-

ing criminal offenses has been pursued in the past by Agency’

attorneys, and an Agency case in which this issue is presented

is currently on appeal before the United States Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia.

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a youth who is charged with committing.a crim-

inal offense, the conviction for which may result in a pro-

longed period of institutional confinement and which, if he

were an adult, would constitutionally require proof beyond

a reasonable doubt, is deprived of his liberty without due

process of law or denied equal protection of the laws when

he is convicted of delinquency by a “mere preponderance

of evidence?”

2

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

A youth who is charged with committing a criminal

offense, the conviction of which may result in a prolonged

period of institutional confinement, and which, if he were

an adult would constitutionally require proof beyond a rea-

sonable doubt, is deprived of his liberty without due process

of the law and denied equal protection of the laws when he

~>~—~—

is convicted of delinquency by a mere preponderance of the

evidence.

Beyond a reasonable doubt has always been the standard

of proof required for a conviction in an adult criminal pro-

ceeding. The reason for the application of this standard is

that an individual whose liberty and freedom may be taken

away must be presumed innocent until the Government is

able to prove, by facts which leave no reasonable doubt in

the mind of the factfinder, that he is guilty of the offense

with which he has been charged.

A juvenile is deprived of his liberty when he is convicted

of committing a criminal offense. A conviction often results

in the youth being detained in an institution which is under-

staffed and ill-equipped, and which fails to provide the juve-

nile with an effective rehabilitative program. While the great

juvenile experiment had not failed, many of the laudatory

goals which it sought to achieve have not been attained in

fullest measure. Even the stigma attached to a finding of

delinquency subjects the convicted youth to a variety of

disabilities which juvenile court statutes euphemistically

assert do not attend the juvenile’s conviction.

3

Enlightened judicial and legislative opinion, as weil as

many commentators, recognize the necessity for adoption

of the reasonable doubt standard. The very fact that some

youths are accidentally afforded the reasonable doubt stand-

ard through their discretionary transfer to an adult court by

the juvenile court dramatizes the unequal treatment provided

those youths who are prevented from realizing a constitu-

tional right, apparently because they are considered “good”

enough to warrant the benefits of a proceeding conducted

in the juvenile court.

The preponderance standard conflicts with a youth’s asser-

tion of his privilege against self-incimination, a privilege ex-

tended to juveniles in Gault. Few youths would not feel

compelled to take the stand on their own behalf in order

to contradict the evidence presented by the Government

which must only demonstrate the factfinder that its case is

“more convincing” than the youth’s.

4

By adopting the reasonable doubt standard the rehabili-

tative purposes of the juvenile court are in no way jeopard-

ized. Indeed, application of the criminal standard to cases

involving youths charged with the commisson of a criminal

offense will allow, at the post-adjudicatory stage, convicted

juveniles who are in real need of treatment to derive the

greatest benefit from the meager resources presently avail-

able for rehabilitation; providing a greater chance of saving

such youths from returning to society as hardened criminals.

ARGUMENT

THE FAILURE TO AFFORD A YOUTH THE RIGHT TO

BE ADJUDICATED A DELINQUENT BY PROOF WHICH

LEAVES NO REASON\3LE DOUBT THAT HE COM-

MITTED THE CRIMINAL OFFENSE WITH WHICH HE

IS CHARGED IS A DEPRIVATION OF LIBERTY WITH-

OUT DUE PROCESS AND A DENIAL OF EQUAL

PROTECTION OF THE LAWS.

Both the Due Process and Equal Protection Clauses of

the Fourteenth Amendment require the application of the

criminal standard of proof in juvenile delinquency proceed-

ings. The “criminal” aspects of a juvenile court determina-

tion, the stigmatizing effect of a conviction and the charac-

teristic ease with which transfer to an adult court may take

place sharply dramatize the need for according juveniles the

same standard of proof protection which has long been con-

sidered a constitutional safeguard for adults.

The deprivation of a child’s liberty as a result of a con-

viction of a criminal offense is so severe that there no longer

appears to be any justification for denying the application

of the higher standard. Indeed, the poor institutional reha-

bilitation that juveniles generally receive makes it more im-

perative that a youth be accorded at least the same protec-

tion given an adult when the youth is charged with acts the

conviction of which may result in his prolonged, and often-

.

|

—_

5

times repressive, incarceration. In considering the necessity

for the application of the adult standard of proof in crimi-

nal cases, one is reminded of Mr. Chief Justice Warren’s as-

sertion in 1964 that:

“after all, what we are striving for is not merely

‘equal’ justice for juveniles. They deserve much more

than being afforded only the privileges and protections

being afforded their elders. A niggardly and indiscrim-

inate granting of concepts of justice applied to adults

will stunt the growth of the juvenile court and handi-

cap the progress of future generations.””'

A. An Individual Convicted Of Committing A Crimi-

nal Offense Is Deprived Of His Liberty Without

Due Process Of Law Unless The Case Against Him

Is Proved Beyond A Reasonable Doubt.

It is true that the requirement that a man be proved

guilty beyond a reasonable doubt finds no explicit constitu-

tional expression. Nevertheless, it has long been regarded as

an essential ingredient and one of the fundamental princi-

ples of American jurisprudence that an individual's liberty

may not be deprived without proof beyond a reasonable

doubt. As McCormick has noted:

“This demand for a higher degree of persuasion in

criminal cases was recurrently expressed frem «ncient

times, but its crystallization into the formula beyond

a reasonable doubt’ seems to have occurred as late as

1798. It is now accepted in common law jurisdictions

as the measure of persuasion by which the prosecution

must convince the trier of all the essential elements of

guilt.” McCormick, Evidence § 321 (1954).?

' Address by Mr. Chief Justice Warren, The National Council of

Juvenile Court Judges, Vol. 15, No. 3, Juv. Ct. Judges J. 14, 16(1964).

?McCormick cites as authority for this statement, Thayer, Prelimi-

nary Treatise on Evidence 558-9 (1898), which in turn quoted pas-

sages from Coke’s 3rd Institute. The first articulation of the standard

came in the high treason cases of 1798 in Dublin as reported

by McNally, Rules of Evidence on Pleas of the Crown (1802).

(Continued)

—

6

At a very early point in our nation’s judicial history we

see an unequivocal acceptance of “beyond a reasonable

doubt” as the applicable standard of proof in criminal pros-

ecutions. So universal has been its acceptance that not a

single case can be found in the law books rejecting that

standard.

Several decisions of this Court in the nineteenth century

have applied and interpreted the reasonable doubt standard

in both federal and state criminal cases. For example, in

Miles v. United States, 103 U.S. 304 (1880), a federal prose-

cution for bigamy, this Court said, at 312:

“The evidence upon which a jury is justified in return-

ing a verdict of guilty must be sufficient to produce a

conviction of guilt, to the exclusion of all reasonable

doubt.’

More recently, in Brinegar v. United States, 338 U.S. 160

(1949), this Court indicated:

“Guilt in a criminal case must be proved beyond a rea-

sonable doubt and by evidence confined to that which

long experience in the common law tradition to some

extent embodied in the Constitution, has crystallized

into rules of evidence consistent with that standard.

338 U.S. at 174.’

See also May, Reasonable Doubt in Civil and Criminal Cases, 10 Am.

L. Rev. 642, 656-7 (1876).

3See Hopt v. Utah, 120 U.S. 430, 439-42 (1887); Dunbar v. United

States, 156 U.S. 185, 198-9 (1895); Coffin v. United States, 156 U.S.

432, 460 (1895); Davis v. United States, 160 U.S. 469, 493 (1895);

Agnew v. United States, 165 U.S. 36, 51-2 (1897); Holt v. United

States, 218 U.S. 245 (1910), as well as the state court cases cited in

Hopt which applied the reasonable doubt standard. See also State v.

Santana, 444 S.W. 2d 614, 626-27 (Tex. 1969).

‘Even in the subsequent case of Leland v. Oregon, 343 U.S. 790,

reh. denied, 344 U.S. 848 (1952), where the Court found it constitu-

tionally permissible for a state to shift the burden of proof to the

defendant on an insanity defense, the Court reiterated that the overall

(Continued)

————

-

And in Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, 525-26, reh. de-

nied, 358 U.S. 860 (1958), this Court said again:

“In all kinds of litigation it is plain that where the

burden of proof lies may be decisive of the outcome.

Cities Service Oil Co. v. Dunlap, 308 U.S. 208; United

States v. New York, N.H.& H.R. Co. 355 U.S. 253;

Sampson v. Channell, 110 F.2d 754, 758. There is al-

ways in litigation a margin of error, representing error

in factfinding which both parties must take into ac-

count. Where one party has at stake an interest of

transcending value—as a criminal defendant his liberty—

this margin of error is reduced as to him by the proc-

ess of placing on the other party the burden or produc-

| ing a sufficiency of proof in the first instance, and of

persuading the factfinder at the conclusion of the trial

of his guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. Due process

commands that no man shall lose his liberty unless the

Government has borne the burden of producing the ev-

idence and convincing the factfinder of his guilt.’

burden of proving guilt beyond a reasonable doubt lay on the prosecu-

tion. 343 U.S. at 799. Frankfurter, J., dissenting in that case said:

“ From the time that the law which we have inherited has

emerged from dark and barbaric times, the conception of justice

which has dominated our criminal law has refused to put an ac-

cused at the hazard ot punishment if he fails to remove every

reasonable doubt of his innocence in the minds of the jurors. It

is the duty of the Government to establish guilt beyond a reason-

able doubt. This notion—basic in our law and rightly one of the

boasts of a free society—is a requirement and a safeguard of due

process of law in the historic procedural content of “due process’.

343 U.S. at 802-03.

5 Accord, Lilienthal v. United States, 97 U.S. 237 (1878); Leland

v. Oregon, 343 U.S. 790, dissenting opinion of Frankfurter and

Black, reh. denied, 344 U.S. 848 (1952); Brooks v. United States,

164 F.2d 142 (Sth Cir. 1947); Shaw v. United States, 174 Ct. Cl. 899,

357 F.2d 949 (1966); Government of Virgin Islands v. Torres, 161

F.Supp. 699 (D.V.I. 1958); People v. Licovoli, 250 N.W. 520 (Mich.

1933); People ex rel Schubert v. Pinder, 9 N.Y.S.2d 311 (Sup. Ct.

1938); State v. Dantonio, 115 A.2d 35 (N.J. 1955). See also In re

(Continued)

8

It should be remembered that, during the period when

the reasonable doubt standard was first articulated by the

Courts, children over the age of seven were tried and treated

as adults. They, too, were the recipients of this fundamental

procedural safeguard.°®

In sum, the reasonable doubt standard, while it had not

yet been definitely articulated at the founding of our nation,

evolved gradually into a universally-accepted element of com-

mon law criminal due process. This is reflected in many opin-

ions of this Court. The history of criminal procedure in our

country discloses no territroy, state, or federal court that

has even attempted to change that standard, since it is so

embedded in our notions of criminal due process.

The real question, therefore, is whether a conviction’ of

an offense in a juvenile proceeding can be considered “crim-

M, 450 P.2d 296, 801 (Cal. 1969); State v. Arenas, 453 P.2d 915,

917 (Ore. 1969) (en banc). Both cases refused to extend the reason-

able doubt standard to juvenile delinquency adjudications. See pp.

21-25, infra. Nonetheless, each recognized that an adult’s right to be

found guilty by the higher standard is a right which is inherent in the

Due Process Clause of both the federal and its own state constitutions.

See also 2 Inbau, Thompson & Sowle, Cases and Comments on Crim-

inal Justice 1145 (3rd ed. 1968): “An indispensable element of ‘due

process’ is the requirement that guilt be proved ‘beyond a reasonable

doubt.’”

But there is no trace of the doctrine of parens patriae in the his-

tory of criminal jurisprudence. At common law, children under seven

were incapable of possessing criminal intent. Beyond that age, they

were subjected to arrest, trial and in theory to punishment like adult

offenders. In these old days, the state was not deemed to have

authority to accord them fewer procedural rights than adults.” Jn re

Gault, 387 U.S. 1, 16 (1967).

7It is true that in the instant case the Court of Appeals insisted

that the proceedings were not criminal because, even if the juvenile

is incarcerated, the relevant statutory provision asserts that his adju-

dication is technically not a “conviction” and affects no right or pri-

(Continued)

—

9

inal” in the traditional sense that a youth loses his liberty.

To be sure, it was never intended that a determination of

delinquency in a juvenile proceeding would ever assume the

characteristics of a criminal adjudication. In fact, after the

emergence of the doctrine of “parens patrise,”*® and until

the profound changes wrought in juvenile cases by the de-

cision in In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967) most courts ac-

cepted without question the assumption that juvenile pro-

ceedings were civil, not criminal. They were concerned

solely with promoting the child’s rehabilitation, not punish-

ing his criminality. Indeed, the intention in creating juvenile

courts was laudatory: to remove all taint of criminality

from the child’s unlawful activity. An adjudication of delin-

quency was never supposed to restrict the beneficial proc-

esses used to prevent a youth from “copping out” of so-

ciety, nor from losing faith that his elders were giving him

a fair shake at readjusting to it. It followed that the cus-

tomary constitutional safeguards were unnecessary for and

inappropriate to determining the best interests of the child.’

But insofar as the assumptions upon which this paternal-

istic view rest are unfounded, and insofar as procedures pre-

serving the essential fairness of a juvenile proceeding are not

inconsistent with the goals of the juvenile court, the youth

should and must be accorded constitutional safeguards. It is

therefore necessary to examine these assumptions.

vilege. This type of provision is typical. But see, e.g., D.C. Code

§ 3-120 (1967), which seems to implicitly recognize that a hearing

on delinquency is in the nature of a criminal proceeding. See also

Uniform Juvenile Court Act § 2(2)(1968) and text accompanying

notes 17-18, 32, infra

8state v. Dunn, 99 P. 278, 280 (Ore. 1909).

%See, e.g., People v. Lewis, 183 N.E. 353, 355 (N.Y. 1932); In re

Bigesby, 202 A.2d 785-786 (D.C.Ct. App. 1964); Jn re McDonald,

153 A.2d 651 (D.C.Ct. App. 1959).

es CRIS IO TI

ra

B. A Convicted Juvenile Delinquent Is Deprived Of

His Liberty In The Same Manner, And With The

Same Consequences, As An Adult Criminal.

10

One basic reason for not providing “‘criminal”’ safeguards

in juvenile proceedings has been that any resulting confine-

ment is directed to rehabilitation, not punishment. The ap-

proach taken by the District of Columbia Courts is indica-

tive of the traditional view. For example, in /n re Elmore,

222 A.2d 255 (D.C. Ct. App. 1966), modified, 382 F.2d

125 (D.C. Cir. 1967), in which a 13 year old child was

found to be delinquent, the District of Columbia Court of

Appeals euphemistically asserted that:

““A delinquent child is neither considered nor treated

as a criminal but as a person needing guidance, care,

and protection. The safeguards which surround him

do not inherently derive from the Constitution but

from the social welfare philosophy which forms the

historical background of the Juvenile Court Act...

[t]he investigation and court proceeding. involving the

determination of a child’s delinquency are directed to

the status and needs of the child, and the disposition

thereof has as its goal not punishment but the rehabili-

tation and restoration of the child to useful citizenship.

The end result is that a child should not be labeled a

criminal, he is not punished as a criminal, and the pro-

ceedings against him should be far removed from the

characteristics of criminal trial” 222 A.2d at 257-8.'°

The premise that juvenile confinement is rehabilitative, ver-

sus punitive, in nature needs reexamination. For, not only

is most criminal confinement also directed, at least in part,

toward rehabilitation,'' but also there is reason to question

101t should be pointed out, however, that in this case the court was

not dealing with a boy who had committed any specific antisocial of-

fense, but rather with one whose “habitual” course of conduct placed

him beyond the control of his mother.

I See, e.g., State v. Arenas, 453 P.2d 915, 918 (Ore. 1969) (en banc).

Although the court refused to require the adoption of the adult stan-

dard of proof to determinations of delinquency, it noted:

[continued]

—

11

whether the confinement of youths has the desired rehabili-

tative effect. There is competent evidence to suggest that

the original objectives of the juvenile court system have not

been effectively accomplished.'? Institutions which house

convicted delinquents often fail to provide ai adequate

form of treatment for the youths.'? In fact, in Kent v.

“_. Aspects of the juvenile law which at its inception made it

substantially different from the criminal law are now also present

in the criminal law as it exists today in Oregon. Today in the

criminal law as well as in the juvenile law the court attempts to

find out as much as possible about the individual defendant be-

fore making any disposition of the case. In the criminal law as

well as the juvenile law the court makes a disposition which is

most likely to rehabilitate the individual and permanently re-

move him from the ranks of crime.”

12¢0¢ In re Gault, 387 U.S. at 26; PRESIDENT’S COMMISSION ON

Law ENFORCEMENT AND ADMINISTRATION OF JusTICE, TASK

ForcE REPORT: JUVENILE DELINQUENCY AND YOUTH CRIME 7-9

(1967); REPORT OF THE PRESIDENT’S COMMISSION ON CRIME IN THE

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA 665-76, 686-87, 773 (1966).

13S¢¢ THE PRESIDENT’S COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT AND

ADMINISTRATION OF JuSTICE: THE CHALLENGE OF CRIME IN A

FREE SociETY 87 (1967):

“[(F] or nearly half the Nation’s population there is no deten-

tion facility except the county jail, and many of the jails used

for children are unsuitable even for adult offenders.”

As recent as March 7, 1969, The Washington Post reported on the

testimony given by Joseph R. Rowan, former Federal delinquency

consultant and now director of the John Howard Association of Illi-

nois, before the juvenile Delinquency Subcommittee of the Senate

Judiciary Committee in which Mr. Rowan:

“__. emphasized his opinion that treatment of delinquents in

institutions for children was no better, and probably more

negligent, than in most adult prisons. He called juvenile institu-

tions ‘crime hateries’ where children are tutored in crime if they

are not assaulted by other inmates or the guards first.”

His testimony was given stark affirmation by the November 9, 1969

account in The Washington Post which reported on the charges made

by the Justice Department that “overseers of an Alabama juvenile

(Continued)

——

12

United States, 383 U.S. 541 (1966), the Supreme Court

noted that:

“While there can be no doubt of the original laudable

purpose of juvenile courts, studies and critiques in re-

cent years raise serious questions as to whether actual

performance measures well enough against theoreticai

purpose to make tolerable the immunity of the proc-

ess from the reach of constitutional guarantees appli-

cable to adults.” 383 U.S. at 555.

However they may be characterized, the truly criminal

nature of juvenile court proceedings becomes clear when

one considers the consequence of a finding of delinquency

on the personal liberty of the child. The importance of the

issue of the child’s loss of liberty cannot be underestimated.

The decision in Gault was influenced in large part by the

realization, confirmed by objective studies, that ‘‘whether it

be called punishment or rehabilitation, the juvenile delin-

quent’s confinement is no less a loss of liberty than the

home ‘freely and excessively’ administer corporal punishment to 440

Negro youngsters.” President Nixon, on November 13, 1969, also

called on Attorney General Mitchell to institute a major prison reform

drive in America. In a companion statement to his Directive, Mr.

Nixon noted “In an appalling number of cases, our correctional insti-

tutions are failing.” After citing a study indicating approximately

a forty percent recidivism rate amongst adult criminals, President

Nixon indicated that repeater rates were even greater among persons

under twenty, “and there is evidence that our institutions actually

compound crime problems by bringing young delinquents into con-

tact with experienced criminals.”” The Washington Post, November

14, 1969, 8A, at 2, col. 3. And on November 22, 1969 Former Justice

Fortas speaking before the Juvenile Court Practice Institute in Wash-

ington, D.C. specifically attacked the practice of confining juveniles

to institutions from which most he said, “emerge as hardened crimi-

nals... with improved skills as burglars, sex offenders, dope addicts

and the like.” The Washington Post, November 23, 1969, § A, at 23,

col. 1.

13

adult criminal’s.”'* Why, then, should the burden of proof

standard necessary to convict a child of a violation of the

law be an easier one to meet than the standard applied to

a youth who may be only slightly older, if at all, and who

is tried as an adult for the same offense?!§

1 A Significant Body Of Respected Judicial Author-

ity Considers The Application Of The Adult Stand-

ard To Juvenile Delinquency Determinations A

Constitutional Requirement.

Although most courts continue to classify juvenile pro-

ceedings as civil, long ago some courts began noting their

essentially criminal nature and the necessity for according

the same safeguards to juveniles and adults alike. Until the

instant case, the authority in New York was to this effect.'®

1437 YU. Cin. L. Rev. 851 (1968); see Gault, 387 U.S. at 27:

“The fact of the matter is that, however euphemistic the title,

a ‘receiving home’ or an ‘industrial school’ for juveniles is an

institution of confinement in which the child is incarcerated

for a greater or a lesser time.”

see Dc. Code §11-1553 (1967); Neb. Rev. Stat. § 43-205.04

(1943) aud similar provisions in other states under which a juvenile

may be waived, at the court’s or prosecutor’s discretion, to a “crimi-

nal” court for trial as an adult. Relatively few procedural steps or

substantive standards have ever been delineated for transfer of juris-

diction from a juvenile to an adult criminal court. Ketcham, What

Happened to Whittington? 37 Geo. Wash. L. Rev. 324, 336 (1968).

See National Council of Juvenile Court Judges, Directory and Manual,

301-46 (1963). See also the discussion of waiver in notes 68-75 and

accompanying text, infra.

'©See In re Madik, 251 N.Y.S. 765, 767 (Sup. Ct. 1931):

“The facts, however, of the charge must be proved against the

child in the same way as if the charge were made against an

adult; that is, by competent evidence.”

* * * *

“In the case of an adult, proof of guilt beyond a reasonable

doubt would be required. The district attorney concedes and

we think that such proof is required here.”

[continued]

——_

14

In Jones v. Commonwealth, 38 S.E.2d 444 (Va. 1946),

two boys were charged with a violation similar to breach of

the peace. Jones allegedly had thrown a number of rocks

and made loud noises in the late hours of the evening. A

good deal of the evidence against the defendant was, how-

ever, vague and confused in some respects, uncertain in

other respects, and contradictory in others.

A Virginia statute stated that:

‘

*. . . MO power is given to the juvenile courts to con-

vict any child of any crime, either misdemeanor or fel-

ony or to commit any child to any penal institution.

Such court may only adjudge a child delinquent and

commit him, not to a penal institution, but to the

State Board of Public Welfare, which board is given

power to make proper disposition of the child.’’!”

See also People v. Fitzgerald, 155 N.E. 584, 587 (N.Y. 1927).

In Jn re James Rich, 86 N.Y.S.2d 308 (Dom. Rel. Ct., Child. Div.

1949), a 15-year-old boy was charged with the fatal stabbing of

another boy. In discussing the burden of proof standard, the court

remarked:

“The rule of law is that a charge of crime must be established

beyond a reasonable doubt. If there is a reasonable doubt as to

the perpetration of the crime, that reasonable doubt must be

resolved in favor of the person charged with having committed

the act. Jt is no less applicable to a child than it is to an adult.

In this case, the doubt I have is only as to the truth that was

told; but in the last analysis, it is the result of speculation. And

I have no right to speculate.” [Emphasis added.] 86 N.YS.

i 2d at 311.

See also People v. Anonymous A, B, C and D, 279 N.Y.S.2d 540,

543 (Nassau County Ct. 1967), where the court held that the state had

the “burden of proving beyond a reasonable doubt” that a 16-year-

old boy had been guilty of stealing an automobile. The opinion in

the instant case has repudiated the enlightened approach taken by

both courts of first instance in Madik and Anonymous, as well as by

the specialized court in Rich.

'7 Virginia Code ch. 78, § 1910 (1942).

15

Despite this explicit mandate, and while recognizing that

the statute dealing with juvenile courts required a liberal

construction in order to accomplish its beneficial purposes,

the court was not reluctant to admit the basic criminal na-

ture of the boys’ trial. Following its fiat assertion that a

conviction of delinquency requires that “[g]uilt should be

proved by evidence which leaves no reasonable doubt,”’ the

court added:

“the trial and punishment of minor offenders fol-

lows the regular criminal procedure, modified, in cer-

tain respects, by the statutes setting up juvenile and

domestic relations courts.” 38 S.E.2d at 447, quoting

Mikens v. Commonwaalth, 16 S.E.2d 641, 643 (Va.

1941).'8

Spurred by Kent and Gault, several courts have recently

acknowledged the basic, fundamental restraint on a youth’s

liberty affected by an adjudication of delinquency. They

have begun to realize that, because of the kind of detention

to which a convicted delinquent is subject, the beyond a

reasonable doubt standard must be adopted to fully protect

the child accused of being a delinquent.

In re Urbasek, 232 N.E.2d 716 (Ill. 1967), is an impor-

tant decision which articulates one state’s judicial disposi-

tion on the burden of proof standard. In that case, an 11

year old boy had been charged with murder. When the Illi-

nois Court of Appeals first considered the case in 1966,

'8For other illustrations of the fact that courts and legislatures

recognize the criminal nature of the act which a youth commits, see,

eg, In re Whittington, 233 N.E.2d 333, 342 (Ohio 1967) (“Commis-

sion of a crime”); N.Y. Family Court Act §713 (McKinney 1962),

para. (a) Committee Comments (juvenile delinquent defined as “one

who commits a crime and requires official treatment”); D.C. Code §

3-120 (1967) (Juvenile Court has jurisdiction over “children 17 years

of age who shall be convicted of petty crimes or misdemeanors which

may be punishable with fine or imprisonment.”); Uniform Juvenile

Court Act § 2(2) (1968) (“delinquent act” defined as one “designated

a crime under the law.”) See also Gault, 387 U.S. at 49-50.

ae

16

222 N.E.2d 233 (Ill. Ct. App. 1966), this Court had de-

cided Kent, but not Gault. The Illinois Court initially ruled

that beyond a reasonable doubt was not the proper stand-

ard of proof to be applied to juvenile proceedings. On re-

view, however, and in light of the “transcendent spirit” of

Gault, the Illinois Supreme Court upset the finding that the

boy was delinquent.

The court acknowledged that Urbasek had not been de-

nied any of the specific rights which Gault had extended to

the adjudicatory stage of the juvenile court practice,'? but

held that application of any standard lower than “beyond

a reasonable doubt” would dilute the effect of the guaran-

tees which Gault assured for juveniles. To do so would not

be consonant with due process or equal protection.2° More-

over, it would not be constitutionally permissible, on a

quantum of proof lower than the criminal standard, to sub-

ject a child to a loss of liberty equal to or greater than that

which might be imposed on an adult for the commission of

the same act.?!

'°“While ... the respondent . . . was denied none of the rights [re-

quired, under due process of law, to be applied to juvenile court pro-

ceedings after Gault], it would seem that the reasons which caused

the Supreme Court to import the constitutional requirements of an

adversary criminal trial into delinquency hearings logically require that

a finding of delinquency for misconduct, which would be criminal if

charged against an adult, is valid only when the acts of delinquency

are proved beyond a reasonable doubt to have been committed by the

juvenile charged.” 232 N.E.2d at 719.

id.

*!“Since the same or even greater curtailment of freedom may at-

tach to a finding of delinquency than results from a criminal convic-

tion, we cannot say that it is constitutionally permissible to deprive

the minor of the benefit of the standard of proof distilled by cen-

turies of experience as a safeguard for adults.” /d. at 719-20. The

Illinois Court made clear that adherence to this reasonable doubt

standard would not weaken the unique benefits of the Illinois Juvenile

Court Act, nor would it require that this standard be applied in cases

(continued)

17

Five other recent state court decisions have specifically

dealt with the burden of proof issue. The case of State v.

Santana involved a 14 year old boy charged with rape. The

intermediate Court of Appeals, per its Chief Justice, 431

al'eging a violation of an ordinance (violation leading to a fine), since

no “possible loss of liberty for years” might result, as in an adjudica-

tion of delinquency. Jd. at 720. See In re Smith, 326 P.2d 835

(Crim. Ct. App. Okla. 1958), in which the court decided that, for pur-

poses of establishing the requisite burden of proof in a determination

of delinquency, a child must be accorded all the safeguards of a crimi-

nal trial where an unfavorable determination may result in detention

amounting to “grave” consequences. The clear implication of that

holding is that when grave consequences may result from a finding of

delinquency the determination must be made on the basis of the be-

yond a reasonable doubt standard. As in Smith, the youth in the in-

stant case faced the possibility of incarceration for a substantial num-

ber of years. The court noted at 839: “We are of the opinion rules

of procedure in a juvenile proceeding, where the life and liberty of

the juvenile delinquent is at stake, should be measured by the gravity

of the situation and the exigencies the case may impel. The ordinary

rules established and the regular processes provided to produce evidence

and to aid the court in testing and weighing it are not to be scrapped

because the proceeding is a summary one and findings of facts must

not rest upon hearsay. [Citation omitted.] Certainly a juvenile

should be subjected to no less protection than an adult. The law

throws every safeguard around the rights of an accused adult and his

enjoyment of those rights.” See also People ex rel. Rodello v. Dis-

trict Court, Denver County, 436 P.2d 672-76 (Colo. 1968), in which

the court remarked that the application of the reasonable doubt

standard would not convert a juvenile proceeding into a criminal one.

Of. Reed v. Duter, No. 17546 (7th Cir. Sept. 18, 1969), 6 Crim. L.

2081. Although the standard of proof was not in issue the court

suggested that “under Gault, there can be no constitutionally permis-

sible discrimination between the adult prisoner and the juvenile defen-

dant held in state custody.” The Seventh Circuit remarked further

that:

“Gault must be construed as incorporating in juvenile court pro-

cedures, which may lead to deprivation of liberty, all constitu-

tional safeguards of the Fifth and Sixth Amendments to the

Constitution of the United States which apply, by operation of

the Fourteenth Amendment, in criminal proceedings.”

tno ee Nah OO

18

S.W.2d $58 (Tex. Civ. Ct. App. 1968), held that the Constitu-

tion required the state to prove an act of delinquency be-

yond a reasonable doubt in proceedings which may result

in the youth being institutiona®: ed:

“[ T]he underlying reasoning of Gault logically requires

that a determination of delinquency is valid only when

the facts of delinquency are proved beyond a reason-

able doubt rather than by a preponderance of the evi-

dence as now required by the present Texas decisions.

We believe this is the clear and unmistaken effect of

that decision. In so holding, we are in agreement with

the interpretation of the Gault case by the Supreme

Court of Illinois in Jn re Urbasek.” 431 S.W.2d at 560.

But the Texas Supreme Court reversed the lower court and

retained the civil, preponderance test. 444 S.W.2d 614 (Tex.

1969). After reviewing the split on this precise question in

other state and federal courts, and after noting that “[t]he

facts in Gault were extreme,” the court chose to allow the

lower standard because “‘Gau/t does not require that the ju-

venile trial be adversary and criminal in nature.” 444 $.W.2d

at 622.

Justice Pope, writing for three dissenters in Sanatana, 444

S.W.2d at 623, interpreted Gault differently, disagreeing that

a lower standard of proof could in any way benefit the

youth.

“A juvenile court, therefore, which works with juve-

niles at the adjudicato-y stage, is at last a court; a

court which sits to resolve issues under principles of

due process, which is the best method yet devised for

fair play ....

“The real question then is not what is best for San-

tana; it is whether the reasonable doubt standard in a

proceeding of a felony grade which may lead to a dep-

rivation of liberty, is a part of due process . .

** * *

“Liberty is our real concern. Perhaps no greater

harm could come to Santana than the State’s mis-

guided efforts to rehabilitate him if, in fact, he is in-

—

19

nocent to begin with. His plea is that he wants fair-

ness first; therapy second. With equal logic, one could

have reasoned before Gault that the benefits of treat-

ment accorded a juvenile are so helpful and beneficial

to the juvenile that the State can be careless in notify-

ing him or his parents about the offense, or providing

him a lawyer, or permitting hearsay from an absent

complainant, or by tolerating his self incrimination.

The rights which Gault accords a juvenile reduce the

chances for unfairness and injustice. The reason for

the reasonable doubt rule is no different.” 444 S.W.2d

at 628.

A majority of the Supreme Court of Nebraska has ruled

in Debacker v. Brainard, 161 N.W.2d 508 (Neb. 1968), prob.

juris. noted, 393 U.S. 1076 (1969), appeal dismissed, 38

U.S. Law Week 4001 (1969), that the beyond a reasonable

doubt standard is constitutionally required in a juvenile

court proceeding.2? The case involved a 17 year old boy

who was charged with the crime of forgery. If the youth

had been charged under the general criminal laws, the pen-

alty for the offense would have been imprisonment for be-

tween one to twenty years and a fine up to $500.”* The

four judges who felt that the beyond a reasonable doubt

standard should be adopted to determine delinquency sug-

gested that:

2Under the holding of the court, four judges were of the opinion

that the Act requiring proof by a preponderance of the evidence rather

than beyond a reasonable doubt was unconstitutional. Since

Nebraska's constitution provides that no legislative enactment may be

held unconstitutional except by a concurrence of five judges, the

lower court's finding of delinquency using the lighter standard was

affirmed.

Bove 44 St. John’s L. Rev. 101, 109 (1969), which points out the

great disparity in confinement periods between that which could re-

sult from a conviction of an adult and that which might stem from

an unfavorable finding against the 12-year-old boy in the instant case.

In this connection see the discussion of waiver at text accompanying

notes 68-75 infra.

AA RN LI

a

“. . . a finding of delinquency, for misconduct which

would be criminal if charged against an adult, is valid

only when the acts of delinquency are proved beyond

a reasonable doubt to have been committed by the ju-

venile charged [citations omitted]. To the extent that

those provisions of the Juvenile Court Act incorporat-

ing a preponderance of the evidence standard for delin-

quency proceedings are in conflict, we also believe

they are unconstitutional and void.” 161 N.W.2d at

513.

While the Ohio Supreme Court has recently refused to

hold that the higher standard is required by due process in

juvenile proceedings, /n re Agler, 249 N.E. 2d 808 (Ohio

1969), it did insist that delinquency be proved by “clear

and convincing evidence.” /d. at 816. The Court upset an

intermediate state court’s opinion which had affirmed the

juvenile court’s conviction of the youth based on the pre-

ponderance standard. See 240 N.E. 2d 874, 875 (Ohio Ct.

‘App. 1968).25 The Supreme Court in Agler refused to

20

*This court dismissed the appeal after having noted probable juris-

diction, on the ground that, since there was no retroactive effect to

be given to its decision in Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968),

and Bloom v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 194 (1968), the juvenile “would have

had no constitutional right to a trial by jury if he had been tried as

an adult in a criminal proceeding” 38 U.S. Law Week at 4001.

*SThe Court of Appeals had emphasized the civil nature of juvenile

proceedings. Jd. at 876-77. But cf. Rodello, supra, note 21, where

the Court suggested that the adoption of the higher standard would

have no effect on the nature of the juvenile proceeding. The Court

of Appeals in Agler had felt constrained to decide the case in accord-

ance with its state’s legal precedent. See Jn re Whittington, 233 N.E.

2d 333 (Ohio Ct. App. 1967). This Court remanded Whittington

for reconsideration by the state court in light of Gault. In re Whit-

tington, 391 U.S. 341 (1968). The Ohio Supreme Court had held

(pre-Gault, post-Kent) that the preponderance standard was to apply

because the rehabilitative (versus punitive) goals of juvenile proceed-

ings emphasized the civil nature of such proceedings. Upon reconsid-

eration, the Ohio Court of Appeals did not treat the quantum of

proof issue. 245 N.E.2d 364 (Ohio Ct. App. 1969). The dissenting

opinion in the Court of Appeal’s decision in Agler suggested that

(Continued)

an 4

21

accept the classification of juvenile offenders as civil defend-

ants, and rejected the preponderance standard as being con-

stitutionally consistent with, or adequate under, Gault.

The court held:

“(T]he full protection of alleged delinquents empiri-

cally demands a broader application of any rule regard-

ing standard of proof. As noted by the Gault majority

(387 U.S., at 23-25, 87 S. Ct. 1428), long experience

has shown that despite commendable efforts to the

contrary, the suffering of a judgment of delinquency

can have a lasting detrimental effect upon a child’s

future. This is not to say that the noble experiment

has failed, but rather that one of the hopes attendant

to its development has not been fully realized. For

this reason, we conclude that any determination, of a

proper standard of proof in delinquency hearings must

there may well have been no precedent binding on the court. 240

N.E.2d at 879.

Prior to the Ohio Supreme Court’s holding in Agler one recent

decision seemed to suggest that Ohio might be moving towards the

adoption of the higher standard. See Jn re J. R., 242 N.E.2d 604,

605-06, (Juv. Ct. Cuyahoga County, Ohio 1968):

“Although the quantum of proof necessary for finding of de-

linquency, at time of the trial and at this writing, is a prepon-

derance of the evidence [citations omitted], the court in this

case had evidence in support of the petition that was beyond a

reasonable doubt.”

But see In re Benn, 247 N.E.2d 335 (Ohio Ct. App. 1969). In Benn,

the intermediate state court noted that it was affirming a case which

“exemplifies the fiction which allows the elision from ‘crime’ to

‘delinquency’ where a child is involved.... How long the illusion of

non¢-criminality can be maintained under the legerdemain of a Juve-

nile Code status determination is a matter of some dubiety.... With

deference, but reluctance, we conclude that juveniles in this state,

whose status is tested on matters criminal in adults, have no right to

a jury trial nor to have their condition measured by standards of

proof ‘beyond a reasonable doubt.’ ‘The condition of being a boy

still spells less procedurally than the condition of being a man in

— identical circumstances.” (Emphasis added.) 247 N.E.2d

at 337.

pte CR (OO IE

a

respond to the aspects of both deprivation of a child’s

liberty and the effect upon his future. . . .

“[W]le conclude that the burden of proof in those

juvenile hearings which can result in the child’s being

adjudged a delinquent, irrespective of disposition, need

not be beyond a reasonable doubt, but must be greater

than a mere preponderance of the evidence. The stand-

ard of proof which lends itself most logically to this

view of such proceedings, and which will best preserve

the special nature thereof, is that of clear and convinc-

ing evidence of the truth of the allegations contained

in the complaint.”” 249 N.E. 2d at 816.

The California Supreme Court also did not follow the

leadership provided by the Urbasek decision, nor did it even

go so far as the Ohio Supreme Court in Agler. In Jn re M,

450 P.2d 296 (Cal. 1969), the court considered a case

involving a 15-year-old boy who was charged with involun-

tary manslaughter and who was declared to be a ward of

the court. The court (Traynor, C.J., and three other jus-

tices concurring; one justice dissenting) held that the 1961

statute adopting the preponderance standard was not

“clearly, positively and unmistakably”’ unconstitutional,

450 P.2d at 305, and constitutional requirements did not

demand that delinquency be proved beyond a reasonable

doubt. As did the Court of Appeals in Agler, the Court

felt particularly bound by its earlier decisions.

22

Unlike the instant case, the evidence in M was clear and

the boy admitted that he had accidentally shot his girlfriend

dead with a gun which had been taken from an automobile

which he had previously stolen and abandoned.?°®

The court took a very limited view of Gault and indicated

that the Supreme Court, in Gault had taken “repeated pains

©Under the facts here, where the youth allegedly stole $112 from

the complainant’s pocketbook, the Family Court judge adopted the

statutory “preponderance” standard while admitting that the proof

did not satisfy the “beyond a reasonable doubt” standard. Jn re

Samuel W. v. Family Court, 299 N.Y.S.2d 414, 423 (1969). See

also In re Bigesby, 202 A.2d 785, N. 1 (D.C. Ct. App. 1964).

—

23

to limit its holding. . . ” 450 P.2d at 299. The California

Court concluded that:

“in the absence of a specific ruling on the issue

by the U.S. Supreme Court, we adhere to the pre-

Gault view of our courts that the established stand-

ard is valid and ‘No constitutional rights of the

appellant have been infringed by the use of the pre-

ponderance of the evidence test to determine the

truth of the allegation that he had committed a

crime.” Jd. at 305

In following the Gault statement that the juvenile court

hearing need not ‘“‘conform with all of the requirements of

a criminal trial or even of the usual administrative hearing”

387 U.S. at 30, the court refused to recognize the essen-

tially criminal nature of juvenile proceeding. It offered the

the euphemistic and unrealistic explanation that:

“Although the consequences of adopting the reason-

able doubt standard in juvenile court would perhaps

be less drastic than adopting a jury system, to do so

would nevertheless introduce a strong tone of crimi-

nality into the proceedings. The high degree of cer-

tainty required by the reasonable doubt standard is

appropriate in adult criminal prosecutions, where a

major goal is corrective confinement of the defendant

for the protection of society. But even after Gault,

as we have seen, juvenile proceedings retain a sui gen-

eris character: although certain basic rules of due pro-

cess must be observed, the proceedings are nevertheless

conducted for the protection and benefit of the youth

in question. In such circumstances, factors other than

‘moral certainty of guilt’ come into play: e.g., the ad-

vantages of maintaining a non-criminal atmosphere

throughout the hearing, and the need for speedy and

individualized rehabilitative services. Indeed, the

youth’s alleged crime may often be only the latest or

most overt symptom of an underlying behavioral or per-

sonality disorder which could equally well warrant a

declaration of wardship pursuant to other provisions

of the code. Thus a determination whether or not the

person committed the particular misdeed charged ~—al-

though the very heart of an adult criminal prosecution—

ooympesrreenaennet am

ay

24

may not in fact be critical to the proper disposition of

many juvenile cases. On the contrary, in the latter the

best interest of youth may well be served by a prompt

factual decision at a level short of ‘moral certainty.’ ”

450 P.2d at 302-03.

Judge Peters in dissent responded vigorously to the ma-

jority position. He suggested that Gault:

“« _. . stands for the proposition that a minor must be

afforded the same rights granted a defendant in a crim-

inal case unless there are compelling reasons why such

rights should not be granted, and that state decisions

and statutes providing to the contrary are violative of

the United States Constitution. This fundamental les-

son of the Gault decision is disregarded by the major-

ity. Certainly the right to a jury trial and the right to

insist that guilt be shown beyond a reasonable doubt

are fundamental and constitutional rights in a criminal

case. This the majority concede. But the majority

contend that the determination that the minor shall

be a ward of the court is not criminal in nature ....

Certainly to the minor the proceedings are adversary

and criminal in nature. The determination that the

minor shall be a ward of the court may result in the

confinement of the minor during minority and com-

plete restriction on his freedom of action. Realistically,

a proceeding that may result in such confinement and

restraint is adversary in nature and criminal in effect.

To hold that such a proceeding is not adversary in na-

ture and criminal in effect is to close one’s eyes to the

realities of the situation, and, as well, is contrary to

the teachings of Gault.” Id. at 309

In State v. Arenas, 453 P.2d 915 (Ore. 1969) (en banc),

the Oregon Supreme Court also dealt with the quantum of

proof issue in a case involving a 16-year-old boy who was

charged with an assault with a dangerous weapon. The

Court, though granting that an adult’s right to be found

guilty beyond a reasonable doubt when he is charged with

a crime is one inherent in the Due Process Clause of the

Federal and Oregon constitutions, felt particularly restricted

rr ——————— |

25

by the state’s legislative decision to adopt the preponderance

standard.

The Oregon Supreme Court noted that the requisite de-

gree of proof “‘is closely related to the basic philosophy of

juvenile law ‘to deal with the child because he needs cor-

rective treatment,’ not because he is ‘guilty’ of a ‘crime.’ ”

Id. at 918. The court added:

If the constitution requires that a juvenile cannot

come within the jurisdiction of the court unless crim-

inal conduct is proved beyond a reasonable doubt, the

great juvenile experiment is over.” Jd. at 919.

Justice O’Connell, dissenting in Arenas, noted that:

‘“« _ . procedure designed to determine whether a child

will be incarcerated is essentially criminal procedure.

Since the procedure is criminal in nature there is as

much reason to require the proof beyond a reasonable

doubt in determining the guilt of a child as there is in

determining the guilt of an adult.”

He added:

“Although the equal protection clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment does not require an across-the-board

similarity of criminal procedure for adults and children,

that clause does require the child to have the same pro-

tection as an adult where the character of the procedure

has no relationship to the ends that are served by deal-

ing with a child in accordance with the parens patrial

concept when a child is charged with the commission

of an act which is a crime if committed by an adult,

the question of whether the child committed the act

must be resolved by the trier of fact before the trial

judge takes over and attempts to apply the theories of

juvenile rehabilitation. It seems to me that this pre-

liminary question of guilt should be determined by the

same test whether the accused is an adult or a child. . . .

Since the relaxation of the burden of proof subjects

the child to the risk of incarceration it becomes an

integral part of a criminal procedure which, according

to the reasoning of Gault, must operate to protect the

child to the same extent as it would an adult.” Jd. at

921.

aay

26

The District of Columbia has also refused to relax its

restrictive view that a determination of delinquency is not

in the nature of a criminal adjudication, and, therefore, does

not constitutionally require the adoption of the higher stand-

ard of proof in juvenile proceedings. In Jn re Ellis, 253

A.2d 789 (D.C. Ct. App. 1969), the District of Columbia

Court of Appeals said:

“While we have not failed to follow the ruling of Gault

in those cases where it clearly applies, Gault did not de-

cide the question of the quantum of proof required in

juvenile cases. We are therefore not persuaded at this

time that we should apply the philosophy of Gault in

order to predict what the Supreme Court might decide

if faced with the same question. We are reluctant to con-

demn or abandon a long standing and useful practice

unless the unconstitutionality of that practice is plain

and manifest. Hicks v. District of Columbia, D.C. App.

197 A.2d 154, 155 (1964).”

“Concededly there are points of similarity between a

juvenile proceeding and a criminal trial. Nonetheless,

hearings held before the Juvenile Court remain civil in

nature and differ significantly from their criminal

counterpart. By statute, the records of juvenile cases

are not open to public inspection. Hearings are also

closed to the public. Furthermore, a child adjudged

delinquent is neither deemed nor treated as a criminal.

No civil disabilities are imposed upon him and he is

not disqualified from civil service. The purpose and

rationale behind such safeguards and, indeed, the very

procedure governing treatment of such juveniles is the

care, needs and protection of the minor and his reha-

bilitation and restoration to useful citizenship. /n re

Elmore, D.C. App. 222 A.2d 255, 257, 259 (1966),

reversed and remanded on other grounds, 127 U.S.

App. D.C. 176, 382 F.2d 125 (1967). A flexible ap-

proach to juvenile proceedings is the best manner in

which to achieve these ends. The safeguards which

surround him do not inherently derive from the Con-

stitution but from the social welfare philosophy which

27

forms the historical background of the Juvenile Court

Act.” 253 A.2d at 790.?’

Another recent judicial pronouncement on the burden of

proof standard in juvenile proceedings came in a decision

rendered by the Fourth Circuit, United States v. Costanzo,

395 F.2d 441 (4th Cir. 1968).28 Although the case dealt

with federal juvenile proceedings, the court’s language is

noteworthy. In dealing with a 17 year old youth who had

been charged with illegal interstate transportation of an

automobile, the court remarked:

“Our precise question then is whether for purposes of

the required quantum of evidence, no less than for

notice, counsel, cross-examination, and the privilege

against self-incrimination, a federal juvenile proceeding

which may lead to institutional commitment must be

regarded as criminal. We hold that it must be so re-

garded. No verbal manipulation or use of a benign

label can convert a four-year commitment following

conviction into a civil proceeding. See Gault, 87 S.

Ct. 1428 (1966). The Government’s burden in a ju-

venile case, therefore, is to prove all elements of the

offense ‘beyond a reasonable doubt,’ just as in a pro-

secution against an adult. We see a compelling simi-

larity between the enumerated safeguards due a juve-

See In re Hill, 253 A.2d 791 (D.C. Ct. App. 1969); Jn re Bum-

phus, 254 A.2d 400 (D.C. Ct. App. 1969); In re Wylie, 231 A.2d 81

(D.C. Ct. App. 1967); In re Elmore, 222 A.2d 255 (D.C. Ct. App.

1966), modified, 382 F.2d 125 (D.C. Cir. 1967); In re Bigesby, 202

A.2d 785 (D.C. Ct. App. 1964). The Illinois Supreme Court in Ur-

basek specifically noted that the decisions in Wylie and Bigesby did

not “comport with the recurrent theme of the majority in Gault.”

232 N.E.2d at 719.

Prior to the decision in Costanzo another federal court had before

it the question of whether a proceeding under the Federal Juvenile

Delinquency Act required proof of guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.

See Paige v. United States, 394 F.2d 105 (Sth Cir. 1968). The court

did not decide the question, since it was of the opinion that the proof

was not sufficient under either civil or criminal standards. But cf. _

United States v. Essex, 275 F.Supp. 393 (E.D. Tenn. 1967), rev'd on

other grounds, 407 F.2d 214 (6th Cir. 1969).

28

nile in as full measure as an adult and the requirement

of proof beyond a reasonable doubt. In practical

importance to a person charged with crime the insist-

ence upon a high degree of proof ranks as high as any

other protection; and if young and old are entitled to

equal treatment in the one respect, we can think of no

reason for tolerating an inequality in the other.”

After noting that Jones and Urbasek were in ‘‘conformity

... With the Supreme Court’s teachings’ in Gault, the court

continued:

“For nearly two centuries this higher standard of proof

required in criminal cases has been recognized as a

basic procedural safeguard and has been adopted by

virtually every jurisdiction in this country. See IX,

Wigmore on Evidence 82497 (3d ed. 1940, Supp. 1964);

see also McCormick, Evidence 8321 (1954). The Su-

preme Court has termed the Government’s obligation

to prove every element of the offense beyond a rea-

sonable doubt ‘a settled standard of the criminal law.’

Holland v. United States, 348 U.S. 121, 138 (1954).

“In Brinegar v. United States, 338 U.S. 1607174

- (1949), the Court observed that, ‘Guilt in a criminal

cause must be proved beyond a reasonable doubt,’ and

explained that requirement in Speiser v. Randall, 357

U.S. 513, 525-26. It would appear a patent violation

of due process and equal protection of the law if a

juvenile were found to have committed a crime on less

evidence than would be required in the case of an adult,

especially since the consequences of the adjudications

are essentially the same. Gault makes it abundantly

clear that ‘under our Constitution, the condition of

being a boy does not justify a kangaroo court.’ Jn re

Gault, supra, 387 U.S. at 28.

“If we had to decide this case on the standard of proof

issue tendered by the Government, we would be com-

pelled to reverse, for the diluted measure proposed for

juvenile cases is predicated upon a logic the cogency

of which has been utterly devastated.” (Emphasis

added.) (Some citations omitted.) 395 F.2d at 444-

45.

_

Perhaps no judge has more powerfully characterized the

restraint imposed on the liberty of an incarcerated juvenile

than Judge DeCiantis of the Rhode Island Family Court:

“The individual liberty of a juvenile is restrained

once he is committed to an agency or to the training

school. He is supervised, guarded, and punished. He

has no choice. He must obey the rules and the orders

given to him while he is at the training school. He

cannot go home at will. He cannot do what he desires.

He is a prisoner just as much as the adult in the state’s

prison. Not only is he deprived of his liberty, but he

is also subject . . . to disciplinary measures accorded to

adults and can be subjected to cruel and inhuman

punishment, which does exist. * * *

29

“Because the legislature dictates that a child who

commits a felony shall be called a delinquent, does not

change the nature of the crime. Let’s face it, murder

is murder; robbery is robbery; they are both criminal

offenses, not civil, regardless and independent of the

age of the doer. Nothing can change the nature of the

act which has been committed.

“With respect to the argument that confinement of

a delinquent is not punishment, the court would like

to point out that committing a boy who has been de-

clared a delinquent to the Training School is not trot-

ting him to Sunday school, to a World Series Game,

or his favorite swimming hole. Neither is releasing

him from a Training School the same as graduating

him from a high school or a junior college. Let’s come

down to earth and be realistic: the quicker we do,

the better it will be for all. Let us not deal with a

criminal matter in a civil way, with the result that we

have a ‘hodge podge’ of nothingness.

“IT am convinced that unless there is a separation of

civil process from criminal process, the system of ju-

venile methods will remain congested with many theo-

ries, philosophies and inflated dreams of social-minded

reforms, which is detrimental to the juvenile in that

it deprives him of his constitutional guarantees and in-

dividual liberty. All of the safeguards that are afforded

to an adult criminal trial should be, and constitutionally

noe TET

~——

30

must be applied to a juvenile case, even including that

of the right to trial by a jury of his peers, as well as a

finding of guilt beyond a reasonable doubt, rather than

by a preponderance of the evidence. Then, and only

then, will uniformity and due process prevail and the

juvenile, the police, the court, and everyone else con-

cerned will know where they are headed.” (Emphasis

added.) Jn re Rindell, 36 U.S. Law Week 2468 (R.I.

Fam. Ct. Jan. 10, 1968).

2. Legislators, Independent Committees and Com-

mentators Have Recognized That It Is Constitu-

tionally Impermissible to Deny A Youth His

Freedom On The Basis Of The Preponderance

Standard.

Legislatures and legislative committees are, like courts, at

last beginning to recognize the necessity for a criminal stand-

ard of proof in juvenile proceedings. Thus, at least four states

have already adopted the reasonable doubt standard, by stat-

ute or rule.2 Moreover, at its 1968 annual conference, the

National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State

Laws recommended that all states enact the Uniform Juve-

nile Court Act?! which they felt reflects a sound and prac-

tical approach in light of Gault and Kent. The prefatory

note to the Act states in part:

“In both cases [Gault and Kent] the language of the

opinions and the implications contained in them go

beyond the specific holdings. They indicate that if the

derartures in juvenile court from criminal procedures

are to be justified when delinquent conduct is alleged

involving what for an adult would be a criminal act,

the juvenile court proceedings and dispositions must

be governed in fact by the objectives of treatment and

Colo. Rev. Stat. 22-3-6 (Supp. 1967); Md. Ann. Code, Art. 26

§ 70-18(a) (Cum. Supp. 1969); New Jersey Court Rules, Rule 9-1(f),

effective September 11, 1967; Juvenile Court Rule 4.4(b), as adopted

by the Washington Judicial Council, effective January 10, 1969.

Philadelphia, Pa. (July 22-August 1, 1968).

3! Uniform Juvenile Court Act (1968).

31

rehabilitation. If the approach is a punitive one, these

cases indicate that the procedure must adhere to the

constitutional requirements which characterize a crimi-

nal proceeding.

“The Uniform Juvenile Court Act has been drawn with

a view to fully meeting the mandates of these decisions.

At the same time, the aim has been to preserve the basic

objectives of the juvenile court system and to promote

their achievement. In short, the Act provides for judi-

cial intervention when necessary for the care of deprived

children and for the treatment and rehabilitation of

delinquent and unruly children, but under defined rules

of law and through fair and constitutional procedure.”

The Uniform Juvenile Court Act also adopts the beyond a

reasonable doubt standard for findings of delinquency:>?

“If the court finds on proof beyond a reasonable doubt

that the child committed the acts by reason of which

he is alleged to be delinquent or unruly, it shall proceed

immediately or at a postponed hearing to hear evidence

as to whether the child is in need of treatment or re-

habilitation and to make and file its findings thereon.”’>4

Section 2(2) of the Uniform Act defines a “delinquent act” as

one “designated a crime under the law”. In Gault, this Court speci-

: fically noted that, for purposes of the Fifth Amendment privilege

against self-incrimination, juvenile delinquency proceedings which

may lead to commitment to a state institution are criminal in nature.

387 US. at 49-50: “To hold otherwise would be to disregard sub-

stance because of the feeble enticement of the civil label-of-convenience

which has been attached to juvenile proceedings.”

37d. at §2%(b). The Comment to this section asserts:

“More is required to sustain a finding of delinquency, unruly

conduct or deprivation than a preponderance of evidence. Since

the child’s liberty or the parent's right to his custody is involved,

at least ‘clear and convincing evidence’ should be required. The

Illinois Supreme Court has recently held that implications of the

Gault case require that proof must be beyond a reasonable

doubt to support a finding of delinquency. This section follows

the Illinois view in delinquency and unruly cases, but adopts the

(continued)

m=

The recently promulgated Guides for Drafting Family and |

Juvenile Court Acts, adopted by the Children’s Bureau of

the Department of HEW’s Social and Rehabilitation Serv-

ice, also recommend the use of the criminal standard in

determinations of delinquency.**

Commentators have also emphasized that a youth is

denied a constitutional right when he is adjudged a delin-

quent by the preponderance standard.*> Indeed, two recent

32

clear and convincing evidence, rule in deprivation cases and in

determining the need for treatment or rehabilitation.”

Cf. Model Rules for Juv. Ct. Rule 26 (Final Draft 1968), drafted by the

Council of Judges of the National Council of Crime and Delinquency

which did not go so far as to adopt a reasonable doubt standard but

did reject the preponderance standard:

“While the adjudicatory hearing is non-criminal in nature, and

therefore is not bound by the reasonable procedure requirement

of proof beyond a reasonable doubt, the serious nature of the

adjudication demands that the allegations of the petition be

proved by more than a mere preponderance of the evidence.

The allegations should be demonstrated by clear and convincing

evidence, which is the standard used in civil cases for issues of

special gravity, such as fraud.”” Rule 26, Comment.

It was clear that the Council felt reluctant to adopt the reasonable

doubt standard only because this Court had not specifically dealt

with and ruled in favor of that standard in Whittington. See Rule 26,

Comment:

“Note. The United States Supreme Court has granted certiorari

in a case in which the failure of the juvenile court to find a

child delinquent ‘beyond a reasonable doubt’ is assigned as

error. ... The publication of the Rules will be held up to incor-

porate the holdings in the Whittington case.”

Whittington is discussed in note 25, supra.

*Guides for Drafting Family and Juvenile Court Acts, Dept. of

Health, Education and Welfare, Social and Rehabilitation Service

(Children’s Bureau) § 32(c)( 1969).

38 See, e.g., Waite, How Far Can Court Procedure be Socialized With-

out Impairing Individual Rights, 12 J. Crim. L., C.&P.S. 339, 344

(1921); Note, Juvenile Courts: Applicability of Constitutional Safe-

guards and Rules of Evidence to Proceedings, 41 Corn. L.Q. 147, 153

(1955); Rappeport, Determination of Delinquency in the Juvenile

(continued)

7_

33

notes on the instant case, in favoring the adoption of the

“beyond a reasonable doubt” standard, have respectively

suggested that the Court of Appeals’ decision had produced

a “hiatus in New York’s Juvenile Law’™ and that it would

“unfortunately deny the youngster accused of a crime the

protections inherent within the Constitution.”>”

These court decisions, state statutes, recommendations

and commentators’ opinions reflect a significant body of

respected authority which recognizes that both policy and

the Constitution compel the adoption of the higher stand-

ard of proof in order to safeguard the fundamental rights

of a youth charged with committing a delinquent act. As

Gault so vigorously asserted:

“A proceeding where the issue is whether the child

will be found to be ‘delinquent’ and subjected to the

loss of his liberty for years is comparable in serious-

ness to a felony prosecution.””*8

C. The Stigmatizing Effect of a Conviction In The |

Juvenile Court Is At Least Equal To That Which

Stems From A Conviction In An Adult Criminal

Proceeding.

It has always been contended that one of the most bene-

ficial aspects of the juvenile court process was the avoidance

of any classification of the youth as a “criminal.” For ex-

ample, in most states specific statutory language supports

the benign view that a finding of delinquency is not intended

to have the same stigmatizing effect as a criminal convic-

tion:

Court. A Suggested Approach, 1958 Wash. U.L.Q. 123, 149-151;

Antieau, Constitutional Rights in Juvenile Courts, 46 Corn. L.Q. 387,

412 (1961); 37 U. Cin. L. Rev. 851 (1968); Cohen, The Standard of

Proof in Juvenile Proceedings; Gault Beyond a Reasonable Doubt, 68

Mich. L. Rev. ___ (1970) (article forthcoming in Jan., 1970 and

available upon request).

%44 St. John’s L. Rev. 101, 111 (1969).

3720 Syr. L. Rev. 1009, 1013 (1969).

3387 US. at 36.

a

34

“No adjudication by the juvenile court upon the

status of a child shall be deemed a conviction nor shall

the adjudication operate to impose any of the civil

disabilities ordinarily resulting from conviction. The

adjudication and the evidence given in the court-shall

not operate to disqualify the child in any future civil

or military service application or appointment.’’°9

But over 20 years ago, the court in Jones noted that:

“The judgment against a youth that he is delinquent

is a serious reflection upon his character and habits.

The stain against him is not removed merely because

the statute says no judgment in this particular proceeda-

ing shall be deemed a conviction for crime or so con-

sidered. The stigma of conviction will reflect upon him

for life. It hurts his self-respect. It may, at some in-

opportune, unfortunate moment, rear its ugly head to

destroy his opportunity for advancement, and blast his

ambition to build up a character and reputation en-

titling him to the esteem and respect of his fellow

man. Nor is the implication that he has wilfully sworn

to a falsehood to prevent a conviction to be disre-

garded lightly. Guilt should be proven by evidence

which leaves no reasonable doubt. Inferences must

give way when in conflict with facts established by

positive proof.” (Emphasis added.) 38 S.E. 2d

at 447,40

Other distinguished American jurists have not failed to

comment on this fiction. Few remarks, however, have been

so incisive in language or forceful in tone as that of Mr.

Justice Musmanno of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court. Dis-

senting in Jn re Holmes, 109 A.2d 523, 528-29 (Pa. 1954)

he cogently noted that the words of the majority (denying

that any taint of criminality attached to a finding of delin-

quency):

®Neb. Rev. Stat. § 43-206.03(5) (1943). See also, e.g., N.J. Stat

Ann. § 2A:4-39 (1952); N.Y. Family Ct. Act, 8 782-784 (McKinney

1963); D.C. Code § 16-2308(d)\ 1967).

See State v. Santana, 444 S.W.2d 614, 624 (Tex. 1969) (dissent).

RN aa

35

“|. are put together so as to form beautiful langu-

age but unfortunately the charitable thought expressed

therein does not square with the realities of life. To

say that a graduate of a reform school is not to be

‘deemed a criminal’ is very praiseworthy but this placid

bromide commands no authority in the fiercely com-

petitive fields of everyday modern life.”

This Court has also recently questioned whether under

modern circumstances it is realistic to assert that no taint

of criminality attaches to a finding of delinquency. In

Gault, the Court asserted that it was “disconcerting” that

the term “‘delinquent”’ had come to have “only slightly less

stigma than the term ‘criminal applied to adults’.”’*!

Supportive of the stigmatizing effect which a conviction

of a criminal offense carries with it is some recent data

which has been compiled in the District of Columbia. This

data makes it abundantly clear that institutionalized “‘treat-

ment”’ in a juvenile detention center may have some very

negative implications for the juvenile delinquent.

In the District of Columbia, the inspection and use of

Juvenile Court records is by law limited to the juvenile,

his parents, their duly authorized attorney, institutions or

agencies having custody of the juvenile, and other “interested

persons, institutions, and agencies by special order of the

court;"42 with violations punishable by a $100 fine or

ninety days or both.*? Juvenile Court rules supplement the

District of Columbia Code by allowing other courts in the

District of Columbia to see such records upon request.“ In

41387 U.S. at 23-24. A noted sociologist and authority in the

field of juvenile delinquency has also remarked:

“delinquency carries a stigma quite comparable to that

attached to the criminal status. In many cases the adjudication

and other related experiences may be a more severe psychic blow

to the child than criminal conviction is to the adult.” Tappan,

Crime, Justice and Correction 392 (1960).

“D.C. Code § 11-1586(a)(1967)

D.C. Code § 11-1586(c) (1967)

“4D.C. Juvenile Ct. Rules, Rule 4B-2(c) (1965, as amended.)

—y

36

addition, the Board of Commissioners (now Mayor-Commis-

sioner) of the District of Columbia promulgated regulations

in 1967 which make the police department’s use of juvenile

offender records subject to the aforegoing statutory limita-

tions.“ However, and in spite of the District of Columbia

Code’s assertion that a juvenile conviction is not a criminal

conviction and does not “operate to impose any of the civil

disabilities ordinarily imposed by conviction,” juvenile court

records (or knowledge thereof) are disclosed in various cir-

cumstances which stigmatize the youth.

There are several ways by which juvenile records become

available. The most common is waiver by the juvenile him-

self. For example, the Juvenile Court will release a juvenile

record (charges and dispositions) to the military when given

a signed authorization by the person whose record is re-

quested.*” In other cases this waiver occurs with a prospec-

tive enlistee is asked to sign an oath concerning his juvenile

and adult criminal record.**

Juvenile records can also be disclosed by social work

agencies referring people for employment. The Offender

4SRevisions and Adoption of Recommendations to Investigate the

Effect of Police Arrest Records on Employment Opportunities in the

District of Columbia (Oct. 31, 1967). See also D.C. Code § 4-134(a)

(1967).

D.C. Code § 16-2308(d) (1967).

“Interview with Edgar J. Silverman, Director of Social Services,

D.C. Juvenile Court, November 5, 1969. Applicants for a license to

drive a taxicab in the District of Columbia must list juvenile convic-

tions on the application and sign a waiver form for the juvenile record.

Interview with Officer Evans, Hack Inspection Office of the District

of Columbia, November 5, 6, 1969.

48Interview with Sgt. Sanders, U.S. Army recruiter, November 4,

1969.

- LE

37

Rehabilitation Project? Project Crossroads®° and Job Corps*?

feel obligated to disclose a youth’s criminal record to a pros-

pective employer in order to place him in a job.*? Interviews

with members of these agencies indicated that such disclos-

ure made it difficult to place people with some employers.

Employment investigations may also lead to the revelation

of juvenile records. Although Federal Employment Form

171 does not require a listing of offenses committed before

age 18,3 investigations for security clearances often reveal

an applicant’s juvenile conviction in interviews with friends,

neighbors, and school authorities.™

The Juvenile Court as a matter of course or upon special

request releases arrest and disposition information to other

government agencies in the District of Columbia. A juvenile’s

Interview with Miss Donna Rowles, Program Developer Offender

Rehabilitation Division of the Legal Aid Agency of the District of

Columbia, November 7, 1969.

Interview with Mr. Daniel Little, Job Developer, Project Cross-

roads, District of Columbia, November 4, 7, 1969.

5!Interview with Miss Susan Best, Job Corps, District of Columbia,

November 3, 1969.

°2Mr. John White of MATESA (Manpower Training and Employ-

ment Service Agency, formerly USES) indicated that his agency usually

does not inform employers of a person’s juvenile arrest or conviction

record, although he considers such information in making a job place-

ment. Interview, November 5, 1969. See also In re Gault, 387 U.S. at

24-25; PRESIDENT’S COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT AND AD-

MINISTRATION OF JusTICE: THE CHALLENGE OF CRIME IN A FREE

SocieTY 75 (1967): “There is evidence that many employers make

improper use of [juvenile] records despite the supposed confidential-

ity that surrounds them.”

S3FEDERAL PERSONNEL MANUAL, ch. 731, § 2.5-2.6.

Interview with Mr. James Evans, Bureau of Training, Civil Service

Commission, November 5, 1969.

i,

38

public school, for example, is routinely sent a record of

charges and dispositions against a youth.*> While there is

no specific statutory authorization for such disclosure, it is

apparently done pursuant to an “ongoing special order” of

the Chief Judge of the Court.*® Juvenile records are also

disclosed to the D.C. Bail Agency, an arm of the adult court

which gathers bail information. In practice, if the person

does not volunteer his juvenile record, the Bail Agency gets

it from the Court.57 Furthermore, probation officers of the

adult courts in the District have unhindered access to juve-

nile records in preparing their pre-sentence reports.*8

The actual impact of such disclosures is difficult to mea-

sure qualitatively. It may be assumed, however, that mere

identification as a juvenile offender will have some detri-

mental effect on the individual whose record is disclosed.*?

A potential Armed Services enlistee with a juvenile convic-

tion must have his application reviewed by a waiver board.

Presently, neither the Navy nor the Air Force will even pro-

cess an application requiring waiver of an adult or juvenile

conviction record,” while the Army bars admission to its

5SSilverman Interview, note 47 supra: Mr. Donald Bennett, Clerk

of the Court of the D.C. Juvenile Court indicated that he will disclose

a juvenile record to a school only if he “knows the school people and

how they will use the information.” Interview, October 29, 1969.

If such a special order was ever put in writing, no one had a copy

of it. Silverman Interview, note 47 supra.

‘’This material is always used in setting release conditions in the

adult court. Interview with Mr. Bruce Beaudin, Director, D.C. Bail

Agency, November 4, 1969.

58 Administrative Office of the United States Courts. “The Pre-

sentence Investigative Report” Publication No. 103 Division of Proba-

tion, at 11.

*® Rowles, Little, Best, Interviews, notes 49-51 supra.

Interviews with Chief Petty Officer Fortier, U.S. Navy and Sgt.

Miles, Air Force recruiter, November 4, 1969.

39

officer programs.®! Moreover, advancement and security

clearances under Civil Service often include an evaluation

of a person’s juvenile conviction record.”

Even the Hack Inspection Office considers the juvenile

record in processing taxi cab license applications, though it

has been asserted that a record is “not counted for too

much.” And in the very critical field of education, the

Director of Admissions of one reputable university has in-

dicated that “‘parents should be entitled to know what type

of children their children are attending school with” and

therefore there is a question about juvenile convictions on

its admissions application form. The Director of Admis-

sions also suggested that a youth “in trouble with the police”

would not get a recommendation from the high school.

Therefore, despite the fact that a youth is not labelled a

“criminal,” and despite the fact that statutes suggest that

the conviction of a boy for a criminal offense will not im-

pose any of the normal civil disabilities, these recent inter-

views in the District of Columbia clearly suggest that a

youth is subjected to a variety of very subtle, if not direct,

biases as he attempts to make his way through the adult

world in an honest endeavor to live down his youthful trans-

gressions.

6! Interview with Sgt.’s Hughes, and Sanders, Army Recruiting Di-

vision, Washington, D.C., November 4, 1969. See also Army Regula-

tions, Rule 3-9 (1969).

62 James Evans Interview, note 54 supra.

Officer Evans Interview, note 47 supra.

“Interview with Mr. Brown, Director of Admissions, Howard Uni-

versity on November 5, 1969.

Sig.

—

D. The Discretionary Authority By Which A Child

May Be Transferred To An Adult Court For Trial

Under The Reasonable Doubt Standard Constitutes

A Denial Of Equal Protection.

The matter involving Samuel Winship offers a cogent ex-

ample of the disadvantage at which a juvenile is placed in re-

lation to his adult counterpart. Samuel Winship, a youth of

only 12 years of age, was charged with stealing $112 from

the complainant’s pocketbook. As one recent note on the

instant case pointed out: |

“An adult who committed Samuel W.’s offense

would have been charged with one of the following

crimes: robbery in the third degree; grand larceny in

the third degree; or petit larceny. The adult offender,

convicted and sentenced by proof beyond a reasonable

doubt, could conceivably be released after less than

one year imprisonment. A teenager entitled to ‘youth-

ful offender’ treatment (ages 16 to 19) would enjoy

all the protections and guarantees available to the adult,

including conviction only upon proof beyond a reason-

able doubt and early release. Yet, because Samuel W.

was only twelve years old, he was confronted with a

period of incarceration ranging up to nine years. Thus,

a child subject to the benevolence and safe keeping of

the family court, where culpability is assessed by a

‘fair preponderance of the evidence,’ is actually bur-

dened with a longer sentence than is the ‘hardened

criminal.’ At the very least, such a disposition is il-

logical.”® (Citations omitted.)

The loss of Samuel’s liberty is, therefore, not an illusory

fear.®’

40

44 St. John’s L. Rev. 101, 109 (1969).

®7In Gault, this Court required the application of a variety of pro-

cedural safeguards to a 15-year-old boy who had been charged with

making lewd telephone calls. In the matter now before this Court,

a much younger boy has been charged with a more serious offense

that may result in a substantially longer period of detention than was

involved in Gault.

—

41

Compounding the discrimination between adults and ju-

veniles are laws in most jurisdictions which permit the

juvenile court (or the prosecutor), at its discretion, to

“waive” a youth charged with committing a crime to an

adult court for a full-scale criminal trial.©? The result of

such a waiver is to give the waived youth the benefit of the

“reasonable doubt” standard, while the nonwaived juvenile

may be found guilty on a lower quantum of proof. It

should also be noted that the statutes which provide for

waiver do not seem to entitle the juvenile to choose to be

See, e.g., Pritchard v. Downie, 216 F.Supp. 621 (E.D. Ark. 1963),

aff'd, 326 F.2d 323 (8th Cir. 1964); State v. Brinkley, 189 S.W.2d

314, 333 (Mo. 1945); Fugate v. Ronin, 91 N.W.2d 240 (Neb. 1958);

Gerak v. State, 153 N.E. 902 (Ohio Ct. App. 1920):

“The statutes conferring jurisdiction on the common pleas court

have always included the right to try ‘whoever’ commits a felony,

which, of course, includes minors. That court has long exer-

cised such jurisdiction, such statutes have not been specifically

amended in this particular, and there can be no question that

the common pleas court still has jurisdiction to try minors, as

well as adults, who commit felonies, unless the provisions of

the Juvenile Court Act limit such jurisdiction. As has been

said, that act does not expressly limit such jurisdiction of the

common pleas court; neither does it confer such jurisdiction

upon any other court.”

® See, e.g, Lyon v. Commonwealth, 131 S.E.2d 407 (Va. 1963);

State v. Van Buren, 150 A.2d 649 (N.J. 1959); State v. Doyal, 286

P.2d 306 (N.M. 1955). Where few criteria for waiver are delineated

in the statute, their formulation is a task residing with the juvenile

court. See, e.g., Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541, 553 (1966).

Even when waiver has been accomplished, the court to which the

child has been waived may be faced with the difficult task of decid-

ing whether it should conduct the case as one of delinquency, as op-

posed to one under the general criminal law. See, e.g., United States

v. Caviness, 239 F.Supp. 545 (D.D.C. 1965). The onus is on the

youth to petition the court for invocation of the delinquency proce-

dures. See, e.g., United States v. Anonymous, 176 F.Supp. 325 (D.

D.C. 1959).

’

<a tei

—

42

waived in order to benefit from the higher standard; the

choice is the court’s or prosecutor’s alone.”

Consider, for example, the effect of the present waiver

statute in the District of Columbia,”! allowing the court to

waive a 16-18 year old accused of a felony to the United

States District Court.

Assume that a 17 year old youth is caught “red-handed”

committing a robbery. Further assume that there is at least

some question as to the factual issues in the case. Under a

preponderance standard, conviction is assured. If proof is

required beyond a reasonable doubt, the boy has a chance

of being freed. The Juvenile Court judge now has the dis-

cretion to decide whether the youth shall be tried accord-

ing to the higher or lower standard. This constitutes a

denial of the equal protection of the laws as between juve-

niles tried for the same crime in the two different courts.

Nor is such a discrimination mitigated by the fact that

the nonwaived juvenile faces a lower maximum penalty than

But cf. State v. Lindsey’s Interest, 300 P.2d 491, 494 (Idaho

1956), where a 17 year old was held to have waived treatment as a

juvenile delinquent by his assertion of certain constitutional rights

and by his “right to be prosecuted under the criminal law.”

71 § 11-1553. Waiver of jurisdiction in case of felony and transfer

of case. When a child 16 years of age or over is charged with an of-

fense which if committed by a person 18 years of age or over is a

felony, or when a child under 18 years of age is charged with an of-

fense which if committed by a person 18 years of age or over is pun-

ishable by death or life imprisonment, a judge may, after full investi-

gation, waive jurisdiction and order the child held for trial under the

regular procedure of the court which would have jurisdiction of the

offense if committed by a person 18 years of age or over; or the

other court may exercise the powers conferred upon the Juvenile

Court by this chapter and subchapter 1 of chapter 23 of Title 16 in

conducting and disposing of such cases.” See note 15, supra.

43

the waived juvenile.” Juveniles may not, any more than

adults, be coerced into waiving basic rights because of the

fear of increased punishment if they choose to exercise

them. This was the clear holding of Nieves v. United States,

280 F.Supp. 944 (S.D.N.Y. 1968), involving a juvenile’s

right to jury trial in the federal courts.

“The alternatives presented exert strong pressure on

any juvenile defendant to waive his Sixth Amendment

right. Though he may well prefer to have the trier of

facts be a jury of twelve, the cost of such an election

is very nearly prohibitive. Such a Hobson’s choice is

not without parallel in other areas of criminal proce-

dure. In recent years, it has been repeatedly held that

procedural alternatives cannot be so structured so as

to (1) penalize the assertion of rights guaranteed by

the Bill of Rights, or (2) coerce the waiver of those

72 See Title 22 of D.C. Code (1967); D.C. Code § 24-203 (1967). It

may well be that the maximum penalty for conviction in the District

Court is less than the period of detention which a youth would face if

he were convicted of the crime in the Juvenile Court. For example, the

maximum penalty for an adult convicted of an attempted robbery in

the District is a fine of $500 and/or three years imprisonment. D.C.

Code § 22-2902 (1967). A 16-year-old youth who commits the same

crime, however, may be detained until his majority if he is tried in

the Juvenile Court. Such situations are not as uncommon as might

be thought. In Gault, for example, the 15-year-old defendant was

convicted of making lewd telephone calls and was sent to a state

reformatory until such time as he reached his majority. The penalty

for similar misconduct by an adult would have been a fine of $5 to

$50 or imprisonment for not more than two months. Indeed, one of

the reasons for concern with juvenile proceedings is that commitment

can usually extend until the youth reaches the age of 21, and there

are few limitations on the power of the judge to impose such a “‘sen-

tence.” PRESIDENT’S COMMISSION ON Law ENFORCEMENT AND AD-

MINISTRATION OF JUSTICE, TASK FORCE REPORT: JUVENILE DELIN-

QUENCY AND YOUTH CRIME 5 (1967). In the instant case a 12-year-

old boy may be confined for up to nine years for stealing $112, while

his conviction as an adult (under the reasonable doubt standard) might

conceivably result in his release after less than one year.

|

LT

—

44

rights. See, e.g., Spevack v. Klein, 385 U.S. 511, 87

S. Ct. 625, 17 L. Ed. 2d 574 (1967); Garrity v. New

Jersey, supra; Griffin v. California, 380 U.S. 609, 85

S. Ct. 1229, 14 L. Ed. 2d 106 (1965); United States y,

Jackson, 262 F.Supp. 716 (D. Conn.), prob. juris. noted

387 U.S. 929, 87 S. Ct. 2050, 18 L. Ed. 2d 989 (1967).

“These two rules are merely different statements of

the following fundamental doctrine: In many cases it

is constitutionally impermissible to require an individ-

ual to choose between the assertion of a right consti-

tutionally guaranteed and the waiver of that right.

Where a reward is held out to an individual for the

waiver of a constitutional right, or a greater threat

posed for choosing to assert it, any waiver may be said

to have been extracted in an impermissible manner. If

the individual asserts his right and thereby encounters

harsher treatment than he would otherwise, such treat-

ment may be struck down as a penalty. But see, e.g.,

Nelson v. County of LosAngeles, 362 U.S. 1, 80 S. Ct.

527. 4 L. Ed. 2d 494 (1960); Gardner v. Broderick, 20

N.Y.2d 227, 282 N.Y.S.2d 487, 229 N.E.2d 184

(1967), cert. granted, 390 U.S. 918, 88 S. Ct. 848, 19

L. Ed. 2d 978 (1968) (No. 635); Laboy v. New Jersey,

266 F.Supp. 581 (D.N.J. 1967).” 280 F.Supp. at 1000-

1001.

This reasoning must apply equally where the juvenile is

not even given the choice to begin with, but has it foisted

upon him.” In short, a State may not set up two tracks

73In Nieves the court also rejected the argument that the denial of a

jury trial was “balanced” by other advantages of juvenile proceedings.

“We doubt that erosion of a defendant’s fundamental right can be

sanctioned under the rubric of a balancing test.” 280 F.Supp. at

1002.

™It is arguable that a youth charged with the commission of a

crime, who could be waived for a trial to an adult court, should him-

self have the right to elect to be waived.

[continued]

_—

of criminal procedures for juveniles accused of the same

crime with varying degrees of proof necessary to convict

and allow judges to choose between them as to individual

juveniles. Such a double standard, as it pertains to so vital

a matter as the burden of proof, violates the most tradi-

tional notions of Equal Protection as the Nieves case so

45

The question of whether a juvenile should be able to elect to be

tried as an adult goes to the very basis of the waiver statute itself.

What is the policy of the statute?

On the one hand, it is arguable that the statute is designed to

protect society. The judge is to make a determination as to whether

the juvenile should be tried as an adult because his conduct is such

that he should be treated as a criminal. Cf People v. Yeager, 359

P.2d 261, 270 (Cal. 1961). But this raises significant issues. How

can the judge decide that the juvenile should be tried as an adult

because of the crime with which he is charged, unless the judge

assumes that the juvenile is in fact guilty of committing the acts

which he is accused of committing. See Green v. United States, 308

F.2d 303, 304 (D.C. Cir. 1962). Exactly what happens at a waiver

proceeding is unclear. But it is dubious that the judge considers only

the past conduct, independent of the pending charges, in making the

waiver determination. The more likely result is that the judge

examines the past conduct of the juvenile as revealed by his record

and then considers the pending charges as well. Cf. Yeager, 359 P.2d at

270, supra.

But if this is the case, then the judge is deciding to treat the

juvenile as an adult in society's interest. But upon being waived to

the adult court, society now offers the juvenile the benefit of all the

procedural protections offered criminals. The resulting situation is

indeed paradoxical: in society’s interest, the judge has decided that

the juvenile should be treated as an adult because of his criminal

nature. Yet society also offers him greater procedural protection,

including the beyond a reasonable doubt burden of proof standard.

This raises the question of whether in operation the waiver statutes

does in fact protect the juvenile’s interest more than it operates to

protect the interest of society. If the statute does so operate, then

the juvenile should be able to elect to have that protection. It would

appear to frustrate the statute if its operation were otherwise.

46

well perceived. If, on the other hand, basic due process

rights are accorded juveniles in both systems, the State very

well may provide for one form of disposition in the adult

penal system for one juvenile defendant (based on his past

record, potential for rehabilitation, etc.) and retain another

in the more lenient juvenile rehabilitation system, even

though they have been convicted of the same crime.”5

Il.

ADOPTION OF THE REASONABLE DOUBT STANDARD

IS ESSENTIAL FOR THE PROTECTION OF A YOUTH'S

PRIVILEGE AGAINST SELF-INCRIMINA TION

It seems clear that the preponderance test collides with

a youth’s Fifth Amendment right to remain silent in delin-

quency proceedings—a right extended to juveniles by Gault.

The privilege against self-incrimination, in fundamental re-

spects, emphasizes “... the principle that persons accused

of a crime cannot be made to convict themselves out of

their own mouths.” Culombe v. Connecticut, 367 U.S. 568,

571 (1961).”© That the right to remain silent is of substan-

tial importance to the youth accused of a crime cannot be

doubted. Indeed there are obvious reasons why this right

is even more critical to the juvenile than to the adult, who,

by virtue of his immaturity and insecurity is more likely to

be confused and overwhelmed by ‘he prospect of giving

See Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541 (1966).

See also Griffin v. California, 380 U.S. 609 (1965); Malloy v.

Hogan, 378 U.S. 1 (1964); Murphy v. Waterfront Comm'n, 378 U.S.

$2, 55 (1964); The Fifth Amendment reflects “an unwillingness to

subject those suspected of crime to the cruel trilemma of self-accusa-

tion, perjury or contempt”; 8 Wigmore, Evidence § 317 (McNaughton

1961): The Fifth Amendment embodies the concept of a “fair state-

individual balance by requiring the government to leave the individual

alone until good cause is shown for disturbing him and by requiring

the government in its contest with the individual to shoulder the en-

tire load.”

ons ee

—_

47

testimony in court than would a hardened criminal. As

this Court remarked in Wilson vy. United States:

It is not every one who can safely venture on the wit-

ness stand though entirely innocent of the charge

against him. Excessive timidity, nervousness when fac-

ing others and attempting to explain transactions of a

suspicious character, and offenses charged against him,

will often confuse and embarrass him to such a degree

as to increase rather than remove prejudice against him.

It is not every one, however honest, who would, there-

fore, willingly be placed on the witness stand. 149

U.S. 60, 60 (1893)

The preponderance test is commonly understood to de-

note simply a relative superiority of evidence in favor of

the party on whom rests the burden of proof, and on this

basis it is generally held that evidence predominates when

it is of “greater weight” or ‘“‘more convincing” than that

offered in opposition.”” This standard of proof therefore

See, e.g., Noel v. United Aircraft Corp., 219 F.Supp. 556 (D.

Del. 1963) (“greater weight or more convincing”); United States v.

Kansas Gas & Elec. Co., 215 F.Supp. 532, 543 (D. Kan. 1963) (“evi-

dence when considered and compared with that opposed to it which

has more convincing force and produces . . . a belief that such evi-

dence is more likely true than not true.”); Universe Tankships, Inc.

v. Pyrate Tank Cleaners, Inc., 152 F.Supp. 903 (S.D.N.Y. 1957)

(“more likely than not” or “more probable than not’’); Christensen v.

lowa State Highway Comm’n, 110 N.W.2d 573 (lowa 1961) (“stronger

impression,” “more convincing”). See also Delaware Coach Co. v.

Savage, 81 F.Supp. 293 (D. Del. 1948) (“greater weight”); Smith v.

Magnet Cove Barium Corp., 206 S.W.2d 442 (Ark. 1947) (“‘overbal-

ancing in weight”); Teutrine v. Prudential Ins. Co. of America, 72

N.E.2d 444 (IIl.Ct.App. 1947) (Preponderance exists when the weight

of the evidence “inclines” in favor of the party having the burden of

persuasion); Edwards v. Mazor Masterpieces, Inc., 295 F.2d 547 (D.C.

Cir. 1961) (“reasonable probability”).

48

contemplates the introduction of evidence by both parties

in a case.”8

Although it seems to be recognized that the preponder-

ance test, as applied to the civil defendant, does not require

the introduction of any evidence on his behalf in order to

succeed on the merits,”? it nevertheless seems clear that this

light standard of proof loses its viability without the balanc-

ing concept.

Indeed, many cases recognize that although the number

of witnesses presented is not determinative of the sufficiency

The model instruction employed in the District of Columbia offers

a typical illustration of the weighing concept imposed in the prepon-

derance test:

“Preponderance of the evidence means such evidence as,

when weighed against that opposed to it has the more convinc-

ing force . . . to establish by a preponderance of the evidence is

to move that something is more likely so than not so. In other

words, a preponderance of the evidence means such evidence

as, when considered and compared with that opposed to it, has

the more convincing force and produces in your minds belief

that what is sought to be proved is more likely true than not

true.

“If, however, you believe that the evidence on an issue is

evenly balanced, then your finding on that issue must be against

the party upon whom the burden of proof on that issue rested.”

(Standardized Jury Instructions for the District of Columbia,

at 19.) (Rev. ed., published by D.C. Bar Association).

79See McCormick, Evidence § 319 (1954); Morgan, Presumptions

and Burden of Proof, 47 Harv. L. Rev. 59, 66 (1933). The instances

in which a plaintiff introduces evidence sufficient to go to the jury

and the defendant offers no evidence are virtually non-existent. Con-

sequently, there appear to be no cases in which this situation has been

judicially analyzed, with the possible exception of White v. Village of

Soda Springs, 266 P. 795 (Idaho 1928). And in that case the court,

in affirming a judgmen* for the defendant, construed the defendant’s

failure to introduce ev:dence as a demurrer—hardly a desirable posture

for the juvenile who wishes to remain silent, since it requires that the

evidence be viewed in the light most favorable to the plaintiff.

—

49

of the evidence, all other things being equal, (that is, given

equally credible witnesses and equally plausible versions of-

fered on either side of a disputed question) the greater

number of witnesses should generally prevail over the lesser

number.®® And while it is generally understood that when

the evidence is evenly balanced there is no preponerance,*!

this would also suggest that where one party offers some

clear evidence and the opposing party presents none, the

latter has a good chance of losing. In the case of a youth

charged with a crime, the very risk of such a loss has a

“chilling” effect on the exercise of a Fifth Amendment

right.82 The loss would not be merely financial, as in the

case of a civil defendant—though a loss of or inability to

secure employment may well result®’—but also personal in

terms of the deprivation of the youth’s liberty.™

As we have noted in an earlier part of this brief with

regard to a youth’s right to the application of the reason-

able doubt standard, forcing an accused delinquent to sacri-

fice the beneficial procedures of juvenile proceedings in

order to obtain the higher standard is impermissible since

the state may not impose conditions on the grant of con-

stitutional right. Similarly, by choosing to assert his con-

stitutional right to remain silent, the juvenile who may be

80See, e.g., Micheli v. Toye Bros. Yellow Cab Co., 174 So.2d 168

(La.Ct.App. 1965); Caron v. Franke, 121 F.Supp. 958 (W.D.N.Y.

1954). See also Williams v. Colonial Pipeline Co., 139 S.E.2d 308

(Ga. 1964).

®!See, e.g., Zurich Ins. Co. v. Oglesby, 217 F.Supp. 180 (W.D. Va.

1963); Georgia Power Co. v. Smith, 94 S.E.2d 48 (Ga. Ct. App. 1956);

Greenberg v. Alter Co., 124 N.W.2d 438 (Iowa 1963).

CF Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493 (1967); Spevack v. Klein,

385 U.S. 511 (1967); Gardner v. Broderick, 392 U.S. 273 (1968);

Sanitation Men v. Sanitation Comm’r, 392 U.S. 280 (1968).

See text accompanying notes 49-54 supra.

*The reasons for using-the preponderance standard in civil cases

are set out in State v. Santana, 444 S.W.2d 614, 626 (Tex. 1969)

(dissent).

—

50

proven guilty by evidence which demonstrates that it is

“more likely” than not that he committed the offense,

faces emasculation of that right. Courts have repeatedly

said that this kind of Hobson’s choice is impermissible.

For example, in Nieves v. United States,*5 280 F.Supp. 994

(S.D.N.Y. 1968), a three-judge district court dealt with a

case involving a juvenile defendant who was given a choice,

under the Federal Juvenile Delinquency Act, 18 U.S.C. §

5033 (1964), between being tried as an adult with a jury

trial and being tried as a juvenile without a jury. The court

held that the youth had a constitutional right to a jury trial

and that it was not constitutionally permissible to present

him with an option to waive it in favor of juvenile proceed-

ings. The court asserted that:

*“*... procedural alternatives cannot be so structured so

as to (1) penalize the assertion of rights guaranteed by

the Bill of Rights, or (2) coerce the waiver of those

rights.

“Where a reward is held out to an individual for the

waiver of a constitutional right, or a greater threat

posed by choosing to assert it, any waiver may be said

to have been extracted in an impermissible manner.”

280 F.Supp. at 1000-1001.

In practical terms, there are probably few boys accused

of a crime who, in an unwitnessed occurrence or where

there are no persons available to confirm their alibi, would

not feel pressured to take the stand to rebutt the evidence

offered by the government. For the government’s position

may be far from convincing when it need only demonstrate

that it is “more probable” than not that the youth com-

mitted the crime.*® When a boy’s liberty is at sake, he is,

SCF United States v. Jackson, 390 U.S. 570 (1968).

86

“What those who have laid down the principle that ‘prepon-

derance’ of evidence will justify and require a decision con-

firmable with it, have failed to realize, is that perception of the

(continued)

eee |

51

therefore, compelled to forgo a constitutional right in the

hope that he will not be convicted on a meager amount of

evidence which may subject him to a prolonged period of

institutional atrocity and subsequent societal ostracism.

ADOPTION OF THE REASONABLE DOUBT STAND-

ARD WILL AID THE JUVENILE COURT SYSTEM IN

ACHIEVING ITS LAUDATORY GOALS BY CONCEN-

TRATING THE APPLICATION OF ITS RESOURCES ON

YOUTHS WHO MOST NEED REHABILITATION.

Even if it is correct that juvenile detention provides effec-

tive rehabilitation, and even if it is true that the status of

being, adjudicated a delinquent does not tarnish the image

of a youth, there is no basis for asserting that affording

procedural safeguards to a youth will prevent a juvenile

court from achieving its benevolent goals. Indeed, in specifi-

cally dealing with the dispositional stage of juvenile proceed-

ings “by which a determination is made as to whether a ju-

venile is a ‘delinquent’ as a result of alleged misconduct on

his part, with the consequence that he may be committed

to a state institutuion,” 387 U.S. at 13, this Court noted

in Gault:

“Unless appropriate due process of law is followed,

even the juvenile who has violated the law may not

preponderance of evidence is quite consistent with want of

belief. Of two pieces of very weak evidence, one may prepon-

derate. It might be barely enough to convince, had it not en-

countered the contradictory evidence. Opposed by the latter,

it may be sufficient to generate even the lowest degree of belief.

To detect a preponderance of evidence . . . is neither to believe

... nor to be logically required to believe. ... It would be

fatuous to affirm that a man ought to believe, even faintly, every-

thing the evidence for which is, in his opinion, stronger than the

evidence against it.” Trickett, Preponderance of Evidence and

Reasonable Doubt (The Forum, Dickinson School of Law, X,

76, 1906), cited in 9 Wigmore, Evidence § 2498 (Supp. 1964).

LO RR TI II

—

52

feel that he is being fairly treated and may therefore

resist the rehabilitative efforts of Court personnel.” Jd

at 26.

This Court repeatedly emphasized in Gault that by ex-

tending certain rights to juveniles at the dispositional stage

of a delinquency hearing it was in no way interfering with

the “commendable principles relating to the processing and

treatment of juveniles separately from adults.” Jd. at 22.

The Court appropriately noted that the incentive for twen-

tienth-century reform in legislation relating to juvenile

offenders had come from men who were terribly disturbed

by the adverse effects which fell upon young people who

were confined to state prisons along with hardened adult

criminals.*7 Guaranteeing certain safeguards to the juvenile

during the hearing state of the court process would in no

way prevent the effective rehabilitation of the youth sub-

sequent to any determination of his involvement in the of-

fense. The discretion afforded juvenile court in prescribing

treatment for juveniles is left unaffected by a grant of con-

stitutional protections. As the dissent noted in Santana,

supra:

“Santana is located at the same stage as was Gault,

at the adjudicatory stage, with a felony charged, which

resulted in the loss of liberty by commitment to an in-

stitution. We are not, therefore, concerned with any

limitations upon care, counseling, treatment, rehabilita-

tion, or other beneficences which he might have received

and during some period of the [intake or disposition]

stages. Our concern is not with juvenile philosophy

generally. Our concern is whether Santana has, in fact,

been judicially found to be a delinquent according to

due process. He declares he is innocent of the charge

of delinquency; and upon principles of justice, fairness,

and equal treatment that others receive when charged

87See Parker, Some Historical Observations on the Juvenile Court,

9 Crim. L.Q. 467, 476 (1967). Despite the objectives of these reforms

the effectiveness of rehabilitation in juvenile institutions has been

seriously questioned. See note 13 supra and accompanying text.

53

with rape, that he neither needs nor deserves the States’

benevolence.

To hold that an act of the Legislature settles this case

because it says that juvenile misconduct is a civil or a

non-criminal proceeding is too easy an answer. Gault

faced this issue squarely, and held that labels one way

or the other were inconclusive. It did not jettison the

juvenile philosophy of treatment and rehabilitation. It

recognized that there is room for the benefits of juve-

nile procedures which classify as non-criminal a juvenile

who is adjudged delinquent. The court expressly em-

phasized that a delinquency adjudication did not operate

as a civil disability or disqualify him for civil service

appointment. Following those statements, the court

said, ‘There is no reason why the application of due

process requirements should interfere with such provi-

sions.” (Emphasis added). 444 S.W. 2d at 624.%8

We have suggested that the adoption of the criminal stand-

ard of proof in juvenile delinquency determinations will in no

way denigrate the usefulness of the post-adjudicatory reha-

bilitative process. Perhaps more importantly, it should be

emphasized that the continued application of the prepon-

derance standard has a detrimental effect on the quality of

treatment which may be given to those convicted juveniles

who really need it. We offer the District of Columbia as an

example.

The District of Columbia Juvenile Court is suffering from

an unprecedented increase in referrals.®° It takes close to a

88One justification often given for the application of the lower

standard in juvenile proceedings is that the confinement of convicted

delinquents is rehabilitative in nature, while incarceration of adult

criminals is not. While rehabilitation is not given the priority it al-

legedly has in juvenile court, it nevertheless remains as one significant

purpose and goal of the law for all convicted offenders. See Michael

& Weschler, Criminal Law and Its Administration 11, 17 (1940). See

also note 11, supra.

896875 juvenile cases in fiscal 1969. See Annual Report of the

Juvenile Court, at 21 (1969) (hereafter referred to as “Annual

Report.”)

54

year to bring a juvenile to trial, and in cases of jury trials,

substantially longer. A higher standard of proof in criminal

cases would affect this by increasing the number of dismis-

sals, decreasing the number of cases originally pending, and

increasing the number of pleas to reduced charges.

With the exception of intake screening, the Juvenile

Court’s Social Services—preparing disposition recommenda-

tions and providing supervision for probationers—come into

play only after adjudication.” At the end of fiscal 1969,

the Court’s social staff of 31 persons was supervising 1442

children on probation, and preparing an additional 321 social

studies for children adjudicated but not yet disposed of.

The average case load per worker was 57.7!

Referring to the rehabilitative resources available to con-

victed juveniles who have been committed to custody, the

District of Columbia Juvenile Court’s 1969 Report noted:

“[O]ne of the most urgent problems confronting the Court

is the limited dispositional resources available to it.”°? For

example, the Juvenile Court provides totally inadequate re-

sources for drug-addicted juveniles and for emotionally dis-

turbed children; it has only one Youth Probation House

capable of housing 15 probationers without a suitable home;

and those youths committed to the Department of Public

Welfare Children’s Center find outdated programs and an

undermanned staff.?°

9° Annual Report at 7. In the Annual Report the court empha-

sized the need for more judges, due to a “severe backlog of cases and

a serious delay in processing them.” /d. at 17. It also cited the need

for more probation workers, pointing out that the present case loads

are “too high—almost double the standard case load recommended by

national standard-setting agencies—to allow the necessary time to make

probation a meaningful experience for the juvenile.” Jd. at 18.

917d. at 8.

927d. at 19.

937d. at 19-20.

ee ene

__——_——ee

The recidivism rates of juveniles also pointed out the in-

effectiveness of the rehabilitative treatment they receive. In

1966 the President’s Crime Commission Report on the Dis-

trict of Columbia showed a 42 percent recidivism rate with-

in six months after institutional release.** The court’s most

recent figures show that 33 percent of juvenile law offenders

referred to court have already been adjudicated on a previ-

ous occasion.?> Of the 1327 juvenile repeaters, 575 were

currently on probation (43 percent), 289 under the super-

vision of the Department of Public Welfare following insti-

tutionalization (22 percent), and 261 (20 percent) awaiting

action of the court on a prior referral.*°

RR LE IEE LE LEI LLEO ITE 2

These statistics merely illustrate one jurisdiction’s difficul-

ties. They indicate that juveniles are receiving inadequate

treatment as a result of meagre resources available to the

courts and the community. These same resources can pro-

vide the necessary processing and rehabilitation only if the

number of juveniles which must be accommodated to the

system is small. It would be a far better use of these re-

sources to limit them to youths who clearly—and by the

same due process standards as adults—need them.

Report of the President’s Commission on Crime in the District

of Columbia 709 (1966).

*S Annual Report at 28.

91d. at 41.

56

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court should reverse the

judgment of the New York Court of Appeals, and hold that

a youth convicted of a criminal offense is denied his Con-

stitutional rights unless he is proved guilty beyond a reason-

able doubt.

Respectfully submitted,

MARIE S. KLOOZ,

WOODLEY B. OSBORNE,

PATRICIA M. WALD,

Attorneys,

Neighborhood Legal Services

Program,

416 Sth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20001

NORMAN LEFSTEIN,

Deputy Director,

LAWRENCE H. SCHWARTZ,

Attorney,

Legal Aid Agency

316 6th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20001

Of Counsel:

JAMES H. COHEN

Covington & Burling

888 Sixteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.