Appellees Brief — United States v. Weller

Supreme Court brief1971

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

=“FILE COPY

4

‘i

OcroBer Term, 1970 ee |

No. 77

<i

Unitep States OF AMERICA,

Appellant,

—V.—

Tuomas WILLIAM WELLER,

Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

pes Sele tI Fae ep

BRIEF FOR APPELLEE

Marvin M. KarpaTKIN

MicHarEL N. PoLuet

Joun E. LeMovutr

1345 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10019

‘PETER FRANCK

2905 Telegraph Avenue

Berkeley, California 94705

Me.vin L. Wuur

ACLU Foundation

. 156 Fifth Avenue

New York, New York 10010

PauL N. HaALvonik é

ACLU of Northern California

593 Market Street, Suite 250

7 San Francisco, California 94105

Attorneys for Appellee

Of Counsel

Ruopa H. Karparkin

CHarLes C. Marson

INDEX

Jurisdiction 1

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes and Regulations

Involved 1

Questions Presented . 2

I I aii iraleceeminencechnicibaiccnmtanenteonssidioss 3

EG Ae COON 7

Point I

The exclusive jurisdiction of this Court to hear

this direct appeal is explicitly mandated by both

the motion in bar and statutory construction pro-

visions of 18 U.S.C. $3731, the Criminal Appeals

Act 14

1. The Ruling of the Court Below Which Dis-

missed the Indictment Prior to Trial, Ending

the Cause and Exculpating the Defendant on

the Basis of Questions of Law Outside of the

General Issue to Be Tried, Is a Motion in Bar

for the Purposes of the Criminal Appeals Act 15

2. The Decision of the District Court Dismissing

the Indictment Is Based Upon the Construction

of the Statute Upon Which the Indictment Is

Founded and Also Confers Jurisdiction in This

Court Upon Direct Appeal ...... ; 19

PAGE

Port I

The selective service regulation which prohibits

the presence of counsel at a local board personal

appearance is invalid because it is a denial of a

traditional procedural safeguard which was not

explicitly authorized by Congress . 5

1. Only Congress Has the Power to Conscript

Armies and to Limit the Procedural Rights of ,

Selective Service Registrants 5

2. The Court Below Correctly Applied the Re-

quirement of Explicit Authorization .................... 7 = «&f

3. Congressional Inaction Does Not Provide the

Required Authorization ............... 29

4. The Argument of Congressional Acquiescence j

Is Not Persuasive ...................... 30 =«

5. The Legislative History of the 1967 Act Is

at Best Ambiguous .. 32

Pornt III

A Selective Service registrant has a constitutional ‘

right to counsel at a local board personal appear-

SIUGED + iirecicccetenipdsereebicadicociaichstaneisniaceiicadiabameies vesaiebiatialisnen 37

1. A Registrant’s Personal Appearance at a Local

Board Is an Adjudicative Hearing Affecting

IE 37

a. Nature of the Personal Appearance ............ 37

b. Incidents of Personal Appearance ................ 42

ce. Adjudicative Character of Local Board

BPMN, Gsiccccstcchesidcskdectnestinnd baktestigcsinneinanpatinue eae 43

ili

d. The Moribund Myth of “Little Groups of

Neighbors”

e. Growing Recognition by This Court of

Adjudicative Powers of Local Boards ........

f. Judicial Recognition of the Unfairness of

Adversary Hearings Without Counsel ........

2. Since a Personal Appearance Is an Adjudica-

tive Hearing Affecting Substantial Rights, the

Prohibition of Counsel Is in Violation of the

Constitutional Right, Arising From the Fifth

Amendment, to Minimum Standards of Due

Process at Such a Hearing .......0222220222202eec-ec2eceee-

a. An Adjudicative Hearing Is Not Lawful Un-

less at Least the Constitutionally Minimum

Standards of Due Process Are Afforded ....

b. The Constitutionally Minimum Standards of

Due Process Require Recognition of the

Right to Appear With Counsel ......0..0.0......

3. Because of the Narrowly Cireumscribed

Judicial Review of Selective Service Classifica-

tion Actions and the Inevitable Criminal Prose-

cution for Induction Refusal Which Follows a

Denial of a Conscientious Objector Application,

a Conscientious Objector Applicant’s Personal

Appearance Before His Local Board Is a

“Critical Stage” of the Pre-Prosecution Events

During Which He Is Entitled to the Right of

Counsel Under the Sixth Amendment

PAGE

45

49

56

56

iv

PAGE

4. Counsel Can Play a Useful and Constructive

Role at Local Board Personal Appearances;

Removing the Present Prohibition Would Cause

No Real Danger of Litigious Interruption ........ 88

5. The Registrant’s Constitutional Right to

Counsel Is Not Satisfied by the Government

Appeal Agents or the Optional Provision of

Advisors to Registrants 93

6. There Is a Corps of Private Counsel Competent

in Selective Service Matters and Available to

Perform These Necessary Functions ................ 97

Me gk | | SRC C RINE InER SNE Senne 99

ConcLusIon e da a aa 100

eS a aaiiaidleniiidiiiidaeaminsieel 101

TABLE or Cases AND OTHER AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Almon y. Morgan County, 245 Ala. 241, 16 So.2d 511

PRP a Sassi ste getrsscieegsch eecahperesaceaneeebsshconplibmeedieilosei aoe 64

Anniston Mfg. Co. v. Davis, 301 U.S. 337 (1937) —.......... 58

Anonymous y. Baker, 360 U.S. 287 (1959) -..............-... 80

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962) ....--200c-c-cccccececcceeeveerseres 27

Baldwin v. New York, 399 U.S. 66 (1970) ~...002222-.. 66

Bancroft v. Board of Governors, 202 Okla. 108, 210 P.2d

en pny Reed a RT TD RE 63

Benitez-Manrique v. Micheli, 305 F. Supp. 334 (D. P.R.

ID ccvtctaesthasstnicstteasabdieahdeilcbileteclighinnctcasindiatenianlieiistaaibaliin 4)

)

PAGE

Berk v. Laird, —— F.2d ——, 3 S.S.L.R. 3142 (2d Cir.

IGTO) 2-nnoeccrccrecnecercsserscensenneccennanescceees 27

Berkshire Fine Spinning Associates v. Label, 74 RL

6, 60 A.2d 871 (1948) ......... 63

Billings v. Truesdell, 321 U.S. 542 (1944) 00 31

Blalock v. United States, 247 F.2d 615 (4th Cir. 1957) .. 82

Board of Kducation v. Kennedy, 256 Ala. 478, 55 So.2d

BOE CID accicctecessstestoctncictsicininsinanahintentimsietebbabpiicnapeotianeitiats 64

Bowles v. Baer, 142 F.2d 787 (7th Cir. RIPEN gusdetinindihondinns 61

Bratton v. Chandler, 260 U.S. 110 (1922) 2.202222. 58

Breen v. Local Board No. 16, 396 U.S. 460 (1970) ........ 53

Brown vy. Air Pollution Control Board, 11 Ill.2d 450,

227 N.E.2d 754 (1967) ...... ‘ : 63

Camp v. United States, 413 F.2d 419 (5th Cir.), cert.

denied 396 U.S. 968 (1969) .. si 69

Capobianco v. Laird, 424 F.2d 1304 (2d Cir. 1970) -...... 90

Capson v. United States, 376 F.2d 814 (10th Cir.), cert.

denied 389 U.S. 901 (1967) - 69

Cassidy v. United States, 428 F.2d 585 (8th Cir. 1970) .. 68

Caverly v. United States, 429 F.2d 92 (8th Cir. 1970) 77, 20

Central of Georgia Ry. v. Wright, 207 U.S. 127 (1907) .. 58

Chandler v. Fretag, 348 U.S. 3 (1954) ...00022022..eccccceeoeeee 94

Chaney v. United States, 406 F.2d 809 (5th Cir.), cert.

denied 396 U.S. 867 (1969) Pte 68

Chernekoff v. United States, 219 F.2d 721 (9th Cir.

NTE asraneshiceeini serch ib nce cerca datthds 18

Chin Loy You, Ex parte, 223 F. 833 (D. Mass. 1915) .... 62

Clark v. Gabriel, 393 U.S. 256 (1968) —00000020 0 52, 83

Clay v. United States, 397 F.2d 901 (5th Cir. 1968),

vacated and remanded on other grounds 394 US.

a IT tnich satcihcsnhehinginecniabariitatncieaigaseaaaidssaduniasoisicieaeviceactiaids 48

Coleman v. Alabama, 399 U.S. 1 (1970) .....-.2222.--2---22...

Cox v. United States, 332 U.S. 442 (1947)

Crooker v. California, 357 U.S. 433 (1958)

Czepil v. Hershey, 425 F.2d 251 (7th Cir. 1969), cert.

denied US. , 39 U.S.L.W. 3149 (October 12,

See RARER TER 49

Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471 (1970) ~....22... 36, 82

De Remer v. United States, 340 F.2d 712 (8th Cir. 1965) 82

Dickinson v. United States, 203 F.2d 336 (9th Cir.),

rev'd on other grounds, 346 U.S. 389 (1953) -....... 41, 43,

44, 50, 9

DuVernay v. United States, 394 F.2d 979 (5th Cir.

1968), aff'd 394 U.S. 309 (1969) ...... 48

Ehlert v. United States, 422 F.2d 332 (9th Cir. 1970),

cert. granted, —— U.S. TOPO scextsvatasinscthasasie 39

Endo, Ex parte, 323 U.S. 283 (1944) —002. 27, 28, 31

KEsealera v. New York City Housing Authority, 425

F.2d 853 (2d Cir.), cert. denied —— US. ——, 39

USLW 3149 (1970) .............--.-0.c--0-ce- 59

Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478 (1964) 2220. 87, 89

Estep v. United States, 327 U.S. 114 (1946) _..... 42, 49, 50,

70, 74, 82

Federal Communications Commission v. WJR, 337 U.S.

BS eee on oe ;, ; 59

Fleming v. Tate, 156 F.2d 848 (D.C. Cir. 1946) 00... 62

Galvan v. Press, 347 U.S. 552 (1954) 200. ceccneeeee 2

Gault, In re, 387 U.S. 1 (1966) 2200220 .. 12, 60, 61, 74, 75

Gearey v. United States, 368 F.2d 144 (2d Cir. 1966),

cert. dented 389 U.S. 959 (1967) .........-c-c-ccececccccencesees 39

Vii

PAGE

Gee v. Smith, 306 #. Supp. 891 (N.D. Ga. 1969) 2200... 48

Gibson v. Reynolds, 172 F.2d 95 (8th Cir. 1949) _...... 44-45,

Gillette v. United States, 420 F.2d 298 (2d Cir. 1970),

cert. granted, —— U.S. —— (1970) une eeeeeeeeeeeee 39

Girouard v. United States, 328 U.S. 61 (1946) —...... 31, 33

Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S. 60 (1942) 0000. 95

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970) _...... 12, 13, 58, 59,

60, 62, 74, 75,

76, 80, 88, 91

Goldsmith v. United States Board of Tax Appeals,

SO: UT I ea tint cla aadeileaehonseciauecedads 58

Gomez v. Heard, 218 F. Supp. 228 (S.D. Texas 1962),

aff'd 321 F.2d 88 (Sth Cir. 1963) .......................... 93-94

Gonzales v. United States, 348 U.S. 407 (1955) ....51, 52,

78, 87

Gonzalez v. Freeman, 334 F.2d 570 (D.C. Cir. 1964) ..28, 58

Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474 (1959) _...6,9, 22, 25, 27,

28, 29, 31, 36, 42,

57, 59, 60, 79

Groban, In re, 352 U.S. 330 (1957) ...22022..2..222222.-2.-0-- 80, 81

Gutknecht v. United States, 396 U.S. 295 ( 1970) ....28, 30, 53

Hackin v. Arizona, 389 U.S. 143 (1967) 00. 99

Hannah v. Larche, 363 U.S. 420 (1960) ........ 9, 12, 29, 30, 35,

36, 56, 57, 60, 80

Haughton v. United States, 413 F.2d 736 (9th Cir.

POUT dnintelacetiubeGhataeteidaeiieiatetcn te ae. roe |

Haven v. United States, 403 F.2d 384 (9th Cir. 1968)

cert. dismissed 393 U.S. 1114 (1969) oo. 69

Henderson Harris, In re, 69 Cal. 2d

Vili

PAGE

Hunt Foods and Industries, Ine. v. F.T.C., 286 F.2d

803 (9th Cir. 1961), cert. denied 365 U.S. 877 (1961) 30

Hyser \. Reed, 318 F.2d 225 (D.C. Cir. 1963) ........ 62

Hyun vy. Landon, 219 F.2d 404 (9th Cir. 1955) 00... 61

Imboden v. United States, 194 F.2d 508 (6th Cir.), cert.

Bowed SEB TSB. BET CUBR) an caccnscncncsvccccissceceesrenesscees 69

Jessen v. United States, 242 F.2d 213 (10th Cir. 1957) 49

Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath,

ek Rf ee re 57, 66, 85, 86

Kammerer v. Board of Fire and Police Commission-

ers, 44 Ill. 2d 500, 256 N.E.2d 12 (1970) -20202200...... 63

Kent v. Dulles, 357 U.S. 116 (1958) ....................0..... 28, 31

Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541 (1966) 200... 60-61, 75

Kwong Hai Chew v. Colding, 344 U.S. 590 (1953) ....58, 59

Lehr v. United States, 1389 F.2d 919 (5th Cir. 19438) ... 71

Lipke v. Lederer, 259 U.S. 357 (1922) 0... 58

Little v. United States, 409 F.2d 1343 (10th Cir. 1969) 18

Londoner y. City of Denver, 210 U.S. 373 (1908) ........ 43, 58

Lowe v. United States, 389 F.2d 51 (5th Cir. 1968) ... 18

McCoy v. United States, 403 F.2d 896 (5th Cir. 1968) 69

McGregor v. Hogan, 263 U.S. 234 (1923) 2022... 58

McKart v. United States, 395 U.S. 185 (1969) ....41, 52-53

Madera v. Board of Education, 386 F.2d 778 (2d Cir.

1967), cert. denied 390 U.S. 1028 (1968) ............ 68, 80, 81

Marsano v. Laird, 412 F.2d 65 (2d Cir. 1969) 2000000... 40

Maryland v. Baltimore Radio Show, 338 U.S. 912 (1950) 26

Mathis v. United States, 391 U.S. 1 (1966) _00... 84, 87

PAGE

Mayor v. Nichols, 79 N.Y. 582 (1880) ..............-.csscsese--+ 64

Mempa v. Rhay, 389 U.S. 128 (1967) -................ 62-63, 86

Menechino v. Oswald, —— F.2d ——, No. 34665 (2d

i: RE Gi TD eccairrciiaciiicenenernidiensinmentcnsbnnsel 62, 92

Merritt v. United States, 401 F.2d 768 (5th Cir. 1968)

69, 70

Moore v. Reid, 246 F.2d 654 (D.C. Cir. 1957) -........... 62

Mora v. McNamara, 389 U.S. 934 (1967) WW... 26

Morgan v. United States, 304 U.S. 1 (1938) ...... 56, 57, 58, 60

Mulloy v. United States, 398 U.S. 410 (1970) ........ 39, 53, 83

Nevarez Bengoechea v. Micheli, 295 F. Supp. 257 (D.

as IE: nsicasiecienioebenseionievnisianinlasiiaiane tee cinghelinisiakagblmpcenaenins 45

Nickerson v. United States, 391 F.2d 760 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied 392 U.S. 907 (1968) .. on 69

Niznik v. United States, 173 F.2d 328 (6th Cir. ), cert.

mma Te TEs TE CY assis ttcicsetieececisee 74

O’Brien v. Resor, 423 F.2d 594 (4th Cir. 1970) _.000000.... 77

Oestereich v. Selective Service Board, 393 U.S. 233

(1968) sginkis cise Leessiactiacbahtanipiceaet 52

Ohio Bell Telephone Co. v. Public Utilities Commis-

sion of Ohio, 301 U.S. 292 (1937) ...... 58

Olvera v. United States, 223 F.2d 880 (5th Cir. 1955) .. 50

Panama Refining Company v. Ryan, 293 U.S. 388

(1935) srnassasesantaacideraieaaateingdblesiniaieiiaeniiattahh 28

Parker v. Lester, 227 F. 2d 708 (9th Cir. 1955) .............. 59

Paszel v. Laird, 426 F.2d 1169 (2d Cir. 1970) .....0000....... 77

Penner v. United States, 399 U.S. 522 (1970), revers-

ing 420 F.2d 344 (10th Cir. 1970)

PAGE

People ex rel. Ellett v. Flood, 64 App. Div. 209, 71

N.Y. Sapp. 1007 ¢ord Dept. 1901) ~.......................... 64

Petersen v. Clark, 289 F. Supp. 949 (N.D. Cal. 1968) .. 64

Peterson v. United States, 173 F.2d 111 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied 337 U.S. 925 (1949) .................. a 73, 74

Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45 (1932) ......0.0........... 60, 86, 94

Powell v. MeCormack, 395 U.S. 486 (1969) 20022... 7

Railroad Commission of California v. Pacific Gas &

Electric Company, 302 U.S. 388 (1938) -.0.2.2..... 58

Rempel v. United States, 220 F.2d 949 (10th Cir. 1955) 82

Rich v. Hershey, 412 F.2d 65 (2d Cir. 1969) 2022... 40

Schneider v. Smith, 390 U.S. 17 (1968) 220.202... 98

Schwegmann Bros. v. Calvert Distillers Corp., 341 U.S.

IED icc hos paca sicannekelninniAseelioceleananinnh-oiveipein deseewsnstiieieesien 34

Scott v. Commanding Officer, —— F.2d ——, 3 S.8.L.R.

pt Bh a Re Se |, |) SR eee 77

Seeger v. United States, 380 U.S. 163 (1965) 0.0202... 52

Sellers v. McNamara, 398 F.2d 893 (5th Cir. 1968),

cert denied sub nom. Sellers v. Laird, 395 U.S.

III cierto tbenilappebelobipnbcsn cheered 48

Sicurella v. United States, 348 U.S. 385 (1955) -.0........ 39, 50

Simmons y. United States, 348 U.S. 397 (1955) 00... 51, 54

Stanziale, Ex parte, 188 F.2d 312 (3rd Cir.), cert.

denied sub nom. Stanziale v. Paullin, 320 U.S. 797

POMIIEE SchdicaisnibeiiebiiodbieaecasceGeecaahinsebciiiiinnties 70

Steele v. United States, 240 F.2d 142 (1st Cir. 1956) ....94-95

Storey v. United States, 370 F.2d 255 (9th Cir. 1966) 64

Sullivan, Ex parte, 107 F. Supp. 514 (D. Utah 1952) .. 87

Swaczyk v. United States, 156 F.2d 17, cert. denied

Re I I estar doc ncnidictehtneacstiscahadlbiniscaabchcoonte 82

PAGE

Toussie v. United States, 396 U.S. 875 (1970) —...... 31

Truax v. Raich, 239 U.S. 33 (1915) 42

United States v. Abilene & So. Ry., 265 U.S. 27

(1924) a 58

United States v. American Vonskine Ass’ns, 310 U.S.

| ene 30

United States v. Baker, 1 S.S.L.R. 3191 (10th Cir.

SS kas reas enoncwinbanintinsindereseipncnasncennnenes 89

United States v. Ssdltren, 306 IF. Supp. 385 (N.D. Cal.

1969) RSME On Ree Oe 48

United States v. Blue, 384 U.S. 251 (1966) —......... 15, 17, 18

United States v. Bouziden, 108 F. Supp. 395 (W.D.

BEES A See . 44

United States v. Brock, —— F. Supp. ——, 3 S. S.L.R.

(N.D. Cal. February 26, 1970) 49

United States v. Brooks, 415 F.2d 502 (6th Cir. 1969) 48

United States v. Broyles, 423 F.2d 1299 (4th Cir. 1970) 77

United States v. Burlich, 257 F. Supp. 906 (S.D.N.Y.

1966) 40

United States v. Burns, —— F.2d ——, 3 S.S.L.R. 3191

(10th Cir. 1970) ........ 89

United States v. Cabbage, —— F.2d ——, 3 S.S.L.R.

3179 (6th Cir. July 31, 1970) ........

United States v. Capson, 347 F.2d 959 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied 382 U.S. 911 (1965) .. 69

United States v. Carver, 260 U.S. 482 (1923) 00... 26

United States v. Celestine, 215 U.S. 278 (1909) ........ 15, 16

United States v. Clinton, —— F. Supp. ——, Crim.

No. 31857 (E.D. La. April 21, 1970) -.....0.0...u........... 46-47

United States v. Corliss, 280 F.2d 808 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied 364 U.S. 884 (1960) oo... eeecceeeeeeeeeeeee 82

xil

PAGE

United States v. Covington, 395 U.S. 57 (1969) -...... 15,17

United States v. Deere, 428 F.2d 1119 (2d Cir. 1970) ... 77

United States v. DeLime, 223 F.2d 96 (3rd Cir. 1955) ....96

United States v. DeMareo, —— F. Supp. ——, 2 SS.

L.R. 3204 (N.D. Cal. July 30, 1969) ............................ 49

United States v. Dicks, 392 F.2d 524 (4th Cir. 1968)....71, 72

United States v. Eisdorfer, 396 U.S. 1066 (1970) -........... 23

United States v. Evans, 425 F.2d 302 (9th Cir. 1970) ... 68

United States v. Fisher, 307 F. Supp. 7 (D. Conn. 1969) 49

United States v. Fix, F.2d ——, No. 25216 (9th

i I canines ps andes cncatnripmsecnicpsiesincnarecaniini tla 15

United States v. Foster, 233 U.S. 515 (1914) -........-..... 22

United States v. Freeman, 388 F.2d 246 (7th Cir.

BID © vicorinsieeseseniontevnicnnonhacanasabignacpeananeaielaaaetnid 56, 83, 84, 85

United States v. Gearey, 368 F.2d 144 (2d Cir. 1966) ... 64

United States v. Goldman, 277 U.S. 229 (1928) ............ 15

United States v. Greene, 220 F.2d 792 (7th Cir. 1955) ... 54

United States v. Gustavson, —— F. Supp. , 3

Ee SOD CD. TER, TED) assists 90

United States v. Hark, 320 U.S. 531 (1944) -................... 15

United States v. Harris, 302 F. Supp. 1194 (D. Oreg.

United States v. Harte, —— F. Supp. ——, 3 8.8.L.R.

3193 (N.D. Ill. 1970)

United States v. Heljenck, 275 F. Supp. 579 (E.D. Pa.

United States v. James, 417 F.2d 826 (4th Cir. 1969) ... 77

United States v. Johnson, 302 F. Supp. 584 (M.D. Pa.

United States v. Jones, —— F. Supp. ——, 2 8.8.L.R.

3392 (C.D. Cal. October 14, 1969)

—

xiii

PAGE

United States v. Kovalchick, 255 F. Supp. 826 (E.D.

Pa. 1966) 69

United States v. Lemke, 310 F. Supp. 1298 (N.D. Cal.

1969) 48

United States v. Lemmens, —— F.2d ——, 3 S.S.L.R.

3185 (7th Cir. Aug. 4, 1970) 77

United States v. Machado, 306 F. Supp. 995 (N.D. Cal.

a 48

United States v. McMillan, —— F. Supp. ——, 2 S.S.

L.R. 43 (C.D. Cal. 1969) 49

United States v. Mendoza, 295 F. Supp. 673 (5.D.N.Y.

BOE. quinteuialidinntintccintaestanecaiioats 69

United States v. Mersky, 361 U.S. 431 (1960) ........ 8, 17, 18,

19, 20, 22, 23

United States v. Mientke, 287 F.2d 1009 (7th Cir. 1967),

cert. denied 390 U.S. 1011 (1968) ..... 72

United States v. Miller, 143 F. Supp. 712 (N.D. W. Va. ),

aff'd 239 F.2d 148 (4th Cir. 1956) .. 71

United States v. Murdock, 284 U.S. 141 (1931) 0... 15

United States v. Norman, 413 F.2d 789 (6th Cir. 1969),

cert. dented 396 U.S. 1018 (1970) ou. cececeeceeeee 18

United States v. Nugent, 346 U.S. 1 (1953) ....12, 50, 51, 60,

64, 77, 78, 79

United States v. Nussbaum, 306 F. Supp. 66 (N.D. Cal.

ane, OE IAT OED. Rome ERCON 8 Cea ROE Ra clon 49

United States v. Oppenheimer, 242 U.S. 85 (1916) ue 15

United States v. Pitt, 144 F.2d 169 (3rd Cir. 1944) ....71, 73

United States v. Purvis, 403 F.2d 555 (1968) ................ 52

United States v. Rabb, 394 F.2d 230 (3d Cir. 1968) ....... 18

United States v. Rabinowich, 238 U.S. 78 (1915) ............ 15

PAGE

United States v. Richmond, 274 F. Supp. 43 (C.D. Cal.

1967) 70

United States v. Robel, 389 U.S. 258 (1967) ................. 27

United States v. Sandbank, 403 F.2d 38 (2d Cir. 1968),

cert. denied 394 U.S. 961 (1969) 18

United States v. Schwartz, 143 F. Supp. 639 (E.D.N.Y.

1956) 56, 67, 68

United States v. Seeger, 380 U.S. 163 (1965) —........... 6, 39

United States v. Simmons, 213 F.2d 901 (7th Cir. 1954),

rev'd on other grounds, 348 U.S. 397 (1955) -............... 44

United States v. Sisson, 297 F. Supp. 902 (D. Mass.

1969), appeal dismissed, 399 U.S. 267 (1970) ~......... 39

United States v. Sisson, —— U.S. ——, 38 U.S.L.W.

RIE saigtitibdesnsntannissneninnnin 15, 18, 24

United States v. Spiro, 384 F.2d 159 (3rd Cir. 1967) ... 95

United States v. Stafford, 389 F.2d 215 (2d Cir. 1968) 5

United States v. Stephens, 245 F. 956 (D. Del. 1917),

ON ne IE ID epcvtceistniensnisetacrnomensnimiesiiiniotasings 45

United States v. Sturgis, 342 F.2d 328 (3rd Cir.), cert.

denied 382 U.S. 879 (1965) : 12, 73

United States v. Tantash, 409 F.2d 227 (9th Cir. 1967) 68

United States v. Turner, 421 F.2d 1251 (3rd Cir. 1970) 54

United States v. Wade, 388 U.S. 218 (1967) ....86, 87, 88, 92

United States v. Washington, 392 F.2d 37 (6th Cir.

NE ane hahaa ihenthinreiepctemnnseentniinipenenidiaineisan 77

United States v. Weersing, 415 F.2d 130 (9th Cir. 1969),

cert. denied 396 U.S. 987 (1970) “ 18

United States v. Wierzchucki, 248 F. Supp. 788 (W.D.

SID. diiinsintstncinchitsiaisninineeines ..09, 67, 68, 85, 86

United States v. Williams, 420 F.2d 288 (10th Cir. 1970) 9%

EO EE EE Eee ee ee ee ne eee ee

PAGE

United States v. Willis, 409 F.2d 830 (5th Cir.), cert.

denied 396 U.S. 864 (1969) .. 68

United States ex rel. Berman y. Craig, 207 F.2d 888

(3rd Cir. 1953) 54

United States ex rel. Brown v. Resor, —— F.2d ——,

3 S.S.L.R. 3188 (10th Cir. July 21, 1970) oo. 77

United States ex rel. Castro-Louzan v. Zimmerman, 94

F. Supp. 22 (E.D. Pa. 1950) 62

United States ex rel. Vaccarino v. Officer of the Day,

305 F. Supp. 732 (S.D.N.Y. 1969) 220 54

Walsh v. Local Board No. 10, 305 F. Supp. 1274 (S.D.

N.Y. 1969) <accesnseenenneltiighy OO

Welsh v. United States, 398 U.S. 333 (1970) 0... ~

West Ohio Gas Co. v. Public Utilities Commission

Ohio (No. 1), 294 U.S. 63 (1935) 0. 45, ud

Willner v. Committee on Character and Fitness, 373

Ss PERE IE aCESeS eT P as ee eee cea 58

Wisconsin Telephone Co. v. Publie Service Commission,

232 Wise. 274, 287 N.W. 122 (1939) W000... .-.....2.0.---..-- 63

Witmer v. United States, 348 U.S. 375 (1955) 39, 50

Wong Yong Sung v. McGrath, 339 U.S. 33 (1950) __.... 59

Yates v. United States, 404 F.2d 462 (1st Cir. 1968),

cert. denied 395 U.S. 925 (1969) ... . 18

Yiannopoulos v. Robinson, 247 F.2d 655 (7th Cir. 1957) 62

Youngstown Sheet and Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S.

ees RTT OL ERR ES AEE 26

PAGE

Constitutional Provisions:

United States Constitution

Article I, §8 9, 25

Article ITI, §2 25

Fifth Amendment ........................ 1, 3, 12, 56, 59, 71, 72, 88

Sixth Amendment .................-.. 1, 3, 7, 12, 69, 72, 81, 86, 88

PAGE

PAGE

Federal Statutes:

EE > ES NCAR ee nen nn eer an aI Par 1, 2, 7,14

I a caller

25 U.S.C.A. §70n 7

Sn

38 U.S.C.A. §3404 ....

42 U.S.C.A. §1975a

45 U.S.C.A. §153j

Oy RE IIIS, 1st atahbeiaibclgiobnaiehiioal

Bd? oe SG”. |) RES enw een Daan ee arte ater «

PIN IN ii ccissseethicasebsnanicelioleseslonabisieicbaandaeans

GE RS Ss | eee eae ae eens a

ER ig | PARR een Denn os eer nee RE 2, 38, 51

50 U.S.C.A. §460(b) 2

50 U.S.C.A. §460(b) (1) 21

50 UB.C.A. $4GO(D) (8) -2222ncecccccecccenceseee 21, 22, 30, 38, 41, 43

50 U.S.C.A. §462(a) 21

State Statute:

N.Y. Education Law, $3214, Subdivision 6c, as

III IRs GUE eciasitciciciecinetnidicnesctssnsesomcecenncinseeiadh 81

XVii

PAGE

Regulations :

a MIN esis nrviitciliiicbopeamaphabeacbiadideilbanede 66

5 C.F.R. §22.601 .. 65

BI IE Weaietacale lh nicehiciionsiiniicivtninstecnaidusssaisbeabicaddnteisnil ts 65

9 C.F.R. §202.11e a

10 C.F.R. §2.713 .. RE PN Ura ieetene t OBE 65

TL Eee eee RC ee mE Ce 66

IE ae a SR aE Tee 66

ESS Ree ee we OO ee 66

14 C.F.R. $13.33 ‘a . 66

ee 66

17 C.F.R. §0.61 ssi liaenesbsaieelvinahioeiaceneedioaadmenistnase 66

I TRIE Shae hse ea I ey 66

Is 66

fe A SES eee ee lan ee De See 66

66

66

66

66

66

66

66

I I is iceicenensncnehcrlenciencnicceeaesehinalone

i I se cetdhllcinndtesieinleiospacnih oe

OI cei ecb ocasnna gece tengttenddsin

21 C.F.R. $2.58 ...............

24 C.F.B. §200.192 .................

28 C.F.R. $201.5 ....... ™

I i ca

Regulations:

RI NI a 73

pe CR cg fe OS OLEATE OT 73

Oe i I ccc 2, 67, 73, 94

TN I ao a oe Ot 2, 42

92 C.FR. $1604.52 (€) ....2.0cceccecceocencscserecenneee 48, 49

CIN I sacs dle cops las 43

xviii

B32 CAPR. $1604.54 on... eeeeecececeneeeeeecencaseenenenennenennsnenences

32 C.F.R. $1604.55 -...

32 C.F.R. $1604.57

32 C.F.R. $1604.58

SE RTE 2, 34, 95

32 C.F.R. §1604.71(d) (5) 95

SS SEED TO Dee een: 43

32 C.F.R. $1621.15 ....... Be a ee ae 2, 43, 76

ne cena 2, 41, 43

i entclanmnianeline 38

EE ANTE ES 38

EEL a 40

a I ssessnenmsantetninlabaad 2, 41

Oe NN iininaenseenormbinn 40

ATA 40

OG ATTN EET nt 40

ON a scouceieecteemainenceec 40

32 CUBR. §1622.40(a)(1)-(9) covooscsccsscccsssssccssssssseeesssessesesen 41

SO CIR. §1622.40(0) (10) cncccncccsscoccccorsosoccecccccereseorsssseseees 41

I ie 4

ESATO: 41

32 CUF.R. §1622.42(b) eoeeecceecnoeen os : 41

SRE 41

eT | | Ree aI 41

32 C.F.R. §1622.43 ; 4

i cssemsncneeneeestinscbiccionuanl 78

Sore ok 2, 31

oes HID... 6,14

32 CPLR. §1624.2 oo.cesessssssceeccesee ; 2, 38, 41

Be A RT |) enone 41

PAGE

out 2p a kf | eee 42

32 C.F.R. §1624.2(e) iiclideadnensanipia 42

32 C.F.R. §1626.1 35

92 C.F.R. $1626.2 ............. ssbbicbuatindbasdabinliaassatisnaigotaaeisien 35

STI dre scrcnacstees rained vskeinadeeliobadarcAssiaagssedlictendlloutdedadala 53

2 CFE iat ..... ip ataiieisedtaalaceiaggididiiaadatndik shies 66

Sa I sachet edited aipgpiaecanind vdeo 66

Ce FBS ECE Soe ee DE TE eR 66

INI CUIIDY sacsasspceninaecabttssnscteibinhesnbibaslecbobasamatiancadlasics 66

I SI cacao aststclacndibchssondenbetiednaesibbliciainiincnibliicainiciee 66

Other Authorities:

ABA Code of Professional Responsibility, [HC4-1

(Adopted by ABA House of Delegates, Aug. 12,

1969, effective Jan. 1, 1970)

ABA Informal Opinion No. 287

ABA Informal Opinion No. 1026 ¢

Air Force Regulation 35-24, §8b(4) (May 1, 1970) .... 79

Army Regulation 135-25, {7b(3) (June 17, 1970)

Army Regulation 635-20, 4b(3) (July 31, 1970)

Coast Guard Commandant Instruction 1900.2, 95 (Oct.

41 Cong. Ree. 2752 (1907)

41 Cong. Ree. 2753 (1907)

113 Cong. Ree. 12503

Davis and Dolbeare, Lirr_e Groups or Neicupors: THE

SeLective Service System (1969)

Department of Defense Directive 1300.6 {VIB4 (May

10, 1968) ...

Department of the Navy Bupers Instruction 1900.5, 3

(July 18, 1968)

PAGE

Executive Order No. 11555, 35 Fed. Reg. 14191 (1970) 49

Federalism and State Criminal Procedure, 70 Harv. L.

ag) a 61

Forkosch, The Constitutionality of the Vietnam Ven-

ture and a Registrant's Right to Counsel Within the

Selective Service System, 22 So. Car. L. Rev. 287

I + scilat ida sdsachal-adebahsinieesbeamaneinnisaei 44, 99

Friedenthal, Government Appeals in Federal Criminal

Cases, 12 Stan. L. Bev. 71 (1960) ....ccccosocccceseecevsccses 16, 23

Gellhorn and Byse, Apministrative Law, 664 (1954 ed.) 93

Handler, Controlling Official Behavior in Welfare Ad-

ministration, 54 Cau. L. Rev. 479 (1966) 00. 92

Hershey, Legal Aspects of Selective Service, 28 (rev'd

En . pcabiadataldediasetiaieiveiaassatacnsesianiienedimaiieade 19, 42, 83

H.R. Rep. No. 267, 90th Cong., Ist Sess., 31 0.0000. 91

Kurland, The Mersky Case and the Criminal Appeals

Act: A Suggestion for Amendment to the Statute,

cis ee bk | ennenemennnereennn 22-23

Layton, Lawyers Cannot Be Informants, 54 ABAJ 153

SID ceteshacionsnaiadelcisanscoiinintealedaeiindiedabnivalbehesincnitddideinieoomnaniacdis 95

Maegill, Selective Conscientious Objection: Divine

Will and Legislative Grace, 54 U. Va. L. Rev. 1355

IIIA pe cicaeacaiticasrtcicatlselan ected sadn taemtoweadnasiladeoapiennatiedsaanisendaiad 64

Marine Corps Order 1306.16B, {7b(4) (June 18, 1969) 79

McKinney’s New York Session Laws 1969 ......000.20....... 81

OEO Pamphlet 6140-2 .20.000.0.u..2...sncsncensoeee 98

Review of the Administration and Operation of the

Selective Service System, An Interim Report of the

Committee on Armed Services of the House of Rep-

resentatives, 89th Cong., 2d Sess., August 4, 1966

RN MI TINE “cinccctieconccnsssthainniecsedonanabeaiidia tidied aniataadammdnate 32, 36

EE SS

PAGE

Review of the Administration and Operation of the

Selective Service System, Hearings Before the Com-

mittee on Armed Services of the House of Repre-

sentatives, 89th Cong., 2d Sess., June 22-24, 28-30,

Re I Be 0 ie ID ititernicericiiaictieiicentcbisecininninsicinsnces 32

Report ory THE Nationa Apvisory ComMMIsSION ON

Setective Service (the Marshall Commission), In

Pursuit or Equity: Wo Serves Wuen Not ALL

RG CID etcceieniteeicnnntiannnthindntemmenndinelad 46, 90, 94, 97

Right of Counsel in the Selective Service System, Hear-

ing Before the Subcommittee on Administrative

Practice and Procedure of the Committee on the

Judiciary, United States Senate, 90th Cong., 2d Sess.,

BE Ts BPP isiietiecnebieiepuasnenttephalitiniptientaibichisinisoiasieiteptaecnapiine 98

Rivkin, GI Ricguys anv Army Justice: Tue Drarrer’s

Guwe to Mivivary Lire anv Law, 360 (1970) 20000000... 99

Smith and Bell, The Conscientious Objector Program

—A Search for Sincerity, 19 U. Prrr. L. Rev. 695

TINUED A cicesessebiganniiatcemehdbiiteias cabinets onl tecelacatads 51, 64, 78, 91

Stern & Gressman, Supreme Court Practice 213 (1969) 26

2 Sutherland, Statutes and Statutory Construction,

Se SUR CIe Ce OD tircneritinisiscinitiliniotnidiearvennnasl 31, 35

Tatum and Tuchinsky, Guipe ro tHE Drarr (1969) 272 99

The Selective Service System: Its Operation, Prac-

tices, and Procedures, Hearings Before the Sub-

committee on Administrative Practice and Proce-

dure of the Committee on the Judiciary, United

States Senate, 91st Cong., Ist Sess., October 29-

PIE els INI aaininsiigriaedechecipicbiaieataleiecsndd 46, 47, 48, 89

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcroserR TERM, 1970

No. 77

>

Unitep States or AMERICA,

Appellant,

—

THomas WitLt1AM WELLER,

Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

~~

BRIEF FOR APPELLEE

Jurisdiction

In appellee’s view exclusive jurisdiction is conferred on

this Court by the Criminal Appeals Act, 18 U.S.C. §3731,

and particularly the motion in bar and statutory construc-

tion provisions of such Act. See Point I, infra, for a full

discussion of the jurisdictional questions.

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes and

Regulations Involved

This case involves the due process clause of the Fifth

Amendment and the assistance of counsel clause of the

Sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution.

2

Pertinent provisions of the Criminal Appeals Act (18

U.S.C. $3731) and $10(b) of the Military Selective Service

Act of 1967 (50 U.S.C. App. §460(b)) are reprinted jn

Appendix A of appellant’s brief, pp. 55-57. The relevant

provisions of §6(j) of the Selective Service Act of 1948

(former 50 U.S.C. App. §456(j)), 65 Stat. 83, are set forth

in Appendix A of this brief, ixfra, pp. 101-102.

Several Selective Service regulations are likewise in.

volved, some of which (32 C.F.R. §§1604.41, 1604.71, 16241

and 1624.2) are reprinted in Appendix A of appellant’s

brief, pp. 57-61. Additional Selective Service regulations

which are involved in this case (32 C.F.R. $§1604.52,

1604.52a(a), 1604.54, 1604.55, 1604.57, 1604.58, 1621.15,

1622.1(c), and 1622.20(a)) are set forth in Appendix A of

this brief, infra, pp. 102-106.

{VIB 4 of the Department of Defense Directive 1300.6,

also relevant, is also set forth in the Appendix, infra, p.

106.

Questions Presented

1. Whether this Court has exclusive jurisdiction over this

direct appeal by the Government from the decision of

the district court which granted a motion to dismiss an

indictment for armed forces induction refusal on the

grounds that the Selective Service regulation prohibit-

ing counsel at local board personal appearances was not

explicitly authorized by statute and is otherwise con-

stitutionally invalid.

2. Whether the Selective Service regulation which pro-

hibits the appearance of counsel for a registrant at a

local board personal appearance is invalid because right

3

:

1

3

of counsel is a traditional procedural safeguard of

which a registrant cannot be divested without explicit

authorization by act of Congress.

3. Whether the Selective Service regulation which pro-

hibits the appearance of counsel at a local board

personal appearance is in violation of a registrant’s

constitutional right to due process under the Fifth

Amendment and to the effective assistance of counsel

under the Sixth Amendment.

Statement of the Case

Appellee concurs with so much of the statement of the

case as appears in the brief for the United States (pp.

3-5) as recites the chronology of developments. Pursuant

to Rule 40(3) of the Rules of this Court, appellee deems it

necessary to set forth the following additional statement

to correct inaccuracies or omissions appearing in the

Government’s statement:

1) The initial request by appellee and his counsel (A.

12)* that appellee’s counsel be present at the personal

appearance hearing was expressly for the purpose, as

stated by counsel, “to advise him with respect to his rights.”

A later communication by appellee’s counsel to the chair-

man of the local board made it clear that:

“TI propose to be present to advise my client as to his

rights, and to aid him in any way I could with his

presentation of his case to your board. This function is

quite distinct from that of representation which is all

that the cited regulation bars” (A. 18).

* “A” refers to the Appendix in this Court.

4

The same letter from appellee’s counsel stated as another

reason for allowing counsel to be present the fact that under

the recently terminated Department of Justice hearing

procedures for conscientious objector applicants, counsel

was allowed to be present.

“The appearance before the local board is now the

one and only time wherein a registrant may have any

kind of hearing, present his case in person, present

testimony on his own behalf, and meet his accusers in

the sense that he may determine the reasons for prior

denial of his claim” (A. 19).

Moreover, appellee’s counsel’s letter noted that recent

decisions of this Court had upheld the right to counsel

“where the proceeding involved a matter of the liberty and

substantial personal rights of the individual” (A. 19).

Finally, appellee’s counsel’s letter requested, in view of

the substantially changed circumstances, “whether the

Selective Service System has made a determination of the

validity of the prior requirement with regard to exclusion

of counsel” (A. 19).

The board chairman responded to this letter and dis-

cussed in detail other aspects of the personal appearance,

but made no response or comment whatsoever to the request

for counsel (A. 21-22).

A subsequent communication from appellee’s counsel

enclosed a copy of appellee’s summary of his personal

appearance hearing, expressly disclaimed any waiver of

the prior request for counsel, and made the following com-

ment:

5

“There is a great and probably growing gap between

the generations in our Nation. Communication across

this line is difficult under the best of circumstances.

Young people do not use the same words and language,

or, when they do they may mean quite different things.

In a period when they feel an increased alienation from

the formal institutions of our society, to ask them to

communicate their deep and heartfelt beliefs through

cold, formal, letters, is unrealistic” (A. 23-24).

The only response from the board (A. 28) was a letter

to appellee, a copy of which was sent to appellee’s counsel,

advising that the board had decided not to reopen appellee’s

classification. Subsequent letters by appellee (A. 30) and

his counsel (A. 29-30) noted express and specific objection

to the board’s denial of counsel.

2. There are sharp disparities between the board’s

‘record’ of what transpired at appellee’s personal ap-

pearance (A. 16-17) and the summary prepared by appellee

(A. 24-27). According to the appellee’s version, consider-

ably more ensued at the personal appearance than that

revealed by the board’s version. To cite one specific in-

stance: if the appellee is correct in his statement that

the chairman or a member of the board advised him that

“it was not their function to judge such legal questions”

as “whether they thought that certain sorts of religious

beliefs and background were necessary...” (A. 24), then

the board clearly acted erroneously and failed to exercise

its mandated duty to hear and det::mine all questions con-

cerning classifications. See Point III, Section 1, infra.

3. These proceedings occurred in November of 1967. At

such time, United States v. Seeger, 380 U.S. 163 (1965) had

6

been decided which gave a broader definition to religious

training and belief than that which had previously pre-

vailed. The record does not contain any statement of

reasons for the board’s action (A. 17, A. 28), and it is not

at all clear that the board followed the proper standards,

Appellee did not have counsel present to assist him in the

presentation of his claim and to insist in the application of

the proper legal principles.

4. The district court ruled that a local board personal

appearance “is a critical stage of an administrative process

at which substantial rights are adjudicated” (A. 32), and

that the holding by this Court in Greene v. McElroy, 360

U.S. 474 (1959), requires explicit congressional authoriza-

tion before any fundamental procedural safeguard may be

denied in such an administrative adjudicatory proceeding.

Ibid. The court carefully reviewed the statute and, finding

no such explicit authorization, ruled that the regulation

which prohibits counsel at a local board personal appear-

ance (32 C.F.R. §1624.1(b)) is invalid (A. 33). Following

Greene v. McElroy, supra, the court held that any argu-

ment of “acquiescence or implied ratification” by congres-

sional inaction was insufficient (A. 33-34). The court below

carefully distinguished other decisions holding that there

was no constitutional right to counsel under the due process

clause for a number of reasons, including that none of

these prior decisions had ruled on the question of explicit

authorization.

The district court also held, tracing recent decisions of

this Court and other courts in other types of administrative

adjudications involving personal and property rights, that

there was a constitutional right under the due process

7

clause to counsel at such adjudications. The Government’s

suggestion (brief, p. 5) that the district court “was careful

to circumvent” deciding the constitutional question, is not

borne out by a reading of the district court’s opinion.

However, the district court did refrain from deciding

whether there is a right of counsel under the Sixth Amend-

ment.

The opinion of the district court also discussed the use-

ful function which could be played by counsel at a local

board personal appearance (A. 39-40), discounted any argu-

ment that counsel’s presence would cause “litigious inter-

ruption” (A. 34-35, A. 39), and noted the inadequacy of the

regulations dealing with optional advisors to registrants

and government appeal agents (A. 40-41).

Summary of Argument

i

After its appeal was filed in this Court pursuant to the

provisions of the Criminal Appeals Act (18 U.S.C. §3731),

the Government changed its position and moved to remand

this case to the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit,

The Government’s motion to remand was denied and fur-

ther consideration of the jurisdictional question was post-

poned to the hearing of the case on the merits.

The decision of the district court brings this appeal di-

rectly within the motion in bar and statutory construction

provisions of the Criminal Appeals Act, thereby confer-

ring exclusive jurisdiction on this Court.

Contrary to the claims of the Government, this Court has

never held that the motion in bar provision is constricted

8

to the common law definition of the term “plea in bar.”

Rather, this Court has held on many occasions that where an

indictment is dismissed prior to trial terminating the cause

and exculpating the defendant on the basis of questions

of law outside of the general issues to be tried, all of the

requisites of a motion in bar have been met. Moreover,

where, as here, the defendant “confesses” to the acts

charged in the indictment (refusal to report for induction)

but “avoids” the consequences of those acts by relying on

extraneous matter (refusal to permit counsel at a personal

appearance before the local board), the jurisdiction of this

Court is clear even under the most restrictive reading of

the motion in bar provision. See United States v. Mersky,

361 U.S. 431, 457 (1960) (dissenting opinion of Mr. Justice

Stewart).

Furthermore, the jurisdiction of this Court is mandated

also by that provision of the Criminal Appeals Act grant-

ing direct appeal where the decision of the district court

is based upon the construction of the statute upon which

the indictment is founded. As in United States v. Mersky,

supra, there is an intimate nexus between the statute and

the regulations declared invalid. The district court’s deter-

mination that the regulation was unauthorized by the Act

necessarily involved a direct construction of the Aet.

Finally, the underlying Congressional purpose of requir-

ing an exclusive appeal to this Court where a district judge

dismisses an indictment because of major constitutional

questions in the construction or validity of an Act of Con-

gress, is properly served by this Court’s retaining juris-

diction, and not acceding to the Government’s contention

that the case should be remanded to the Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit.

9

Thus direct appeal to this Court is mandated by the

Criminal Appeals Act under both the motion in bar pro-

vision and the statutory construction provision.

Il.

Only Congress has the power, under Article I, $8, of the

Constitution, to raise armies, and thus only Congress has

the power to establish the procedures by which men are to

be conscripted. Without congressional authorization, the

President may not establish such procedures at all; and

without the most clearly explicit authorization, he may not

attempt to establish procedures which deny to registrants

traditional procedural safeguards.

The strong statement of this principle enunciated by this

Court in Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474 (1959), has in no

way been weakened by Hannah vy. Larche, 363 U.S. 420

(1960), or any other subsequent case. In the light of

Greene’s clear statement that such explicit authorization

is not to be found in mere “acquiescence or non-action,”

360 U.S. at 507, the Government is clearly in error in re-

sorting to such an argument.

Moreover, as to the legislative history which is so exten-

sively cited by the Government at pp. 25-31 of its brief, the

most that can be said for it is that it is exceedingly am-

biguous. The views of General Hershey, as expressed in

the Hearings of the House Armed Services Committee,

were later expressly rejected by that Committee; Repre-

sentative Kastenmeier’s remarks on the floor of the House

clearly were addressed only to the procedures followed

at the appeal boards, and had nothing to do with the right

to counsel at personal appearances before local boards;

and finally, the debate on Senator Morse’s amendment to

10

the 1967 Act was patently so confved and so misleading as

to render any “interpretation” based upon it utterly with.

out persuasive value.

III.

The principal constitutional question in this case jg

whether a selective service registrant has a constitutional]

right to the advice and assistance of retained counsel at a

personal appearance before his local board.

When a registrant exercises his guaranteed right to a

personal appearance, it is for the express purpose of con.

testing a classification which the board has previously given

him. The board’s function, in line with statute and regula.

tions, is to “hear and determine” all questions or claims

with respect to classifications, exemptions and deferments,

The broad array of possible classifications, conscientious

objector and otherwise, which a local board must consider

and determine, perforce requires it to engage in a series of

fact-findings, determinations of legal questions, and exer-

cises of discretion.

In performing these functions the local board adjudicates

questions involving personal and property rights, much as

any other administrative agency performing an adjudica-

tory function. Furthermore, the regulations governing local

board personal appearances, such as swearing of witnesses,

subpoena power and burden of proof, bespeak its adversary

character.

A number of court decisions have expressly recognized

the adjudicative character of local board classification ac-

tions, in accord with a host of decisions from other areas of

administrative law which have found that the essence of an

adjudicatory hearing is the process of hearing and deter-

11

mining factual and legal questions. The quaint image of

local boards as non-adversary “little groups of neighbors”

is revealed as a fiction upon analysis of the board’s proc-

esses and functioning. This analysis is buttressed by vari-

ous studies which have been made and a number of deci-

sions which have sought to enforce the oft-violated regula-

tion requiring local board members “if at all practicable”

to be residents of the board’s jurisdictional area.

A review of the history of selective service law decisions

by this court from 1946 to 1970 reflects an increasing rec-

ognition of the essential adversary and adjudicative char-

acter of local board classification action. Moreover, a num-

ber of decisions of lower federal courts have specifically

commented on the unfairness of subjecting registrants with-

out counsel to this adjudicative process.

It is an axiom of administrative law that certain minimum

standards of due process must be met where an agency ad-

judicates personal and property rights. It is no less axio-

matic that one of the most fundamental of these procedural

due process safeguards is the right to be heard, in person,

and to present evidence, and that such right is meaningless

without the accompanying right to the presence, assistance

and advice of counsel. This right has been recognized with

respect to welfare termination hearings, non-criminal ju-

venile proceedings, deportation proceedings, parole revoca-

tion proceedings, license application and revocation pro-

ceedings, and a variety of other proceedings. It was

specifically recognized for twenty years in many thousands

of conscientious objector hearings before Department of

Justice hearing officers.

Many federal agencies expressly recognize right of coun-

sel by statute and/or regulation; a number do not appear

to have any right to counsel regulations; but there is no

12

other agency with an express prohibition analogous to that

of selective service.

There is no rational basis for justifying unique treatment

for selective service personal appearances. The special

treatment mythology which the agency has itself developed

and fostered over the years should be recognized and ended.

Various decisions cited by the Government as supporting

the denial of counsel are all distinguishable, many on the

most obvious grounds, and none of them show any careful

review of the constitutional question involved. This Court's

decisions in Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970), and

In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1966), which hold that there is a

constitutional right to counsel under the due process clause

in welfare and juvenile proceedings, are plainly and per-

suasively in point. On the other hand, United States v.

Nugent, 346 U.S. 1 (1953), cited by the Government, is

plainly not in point for a number of reasons, including

principally the fact that it was not a right of counsel case

since the registrant had counsel in the very proceeding

involved in that case. Other cases cited by the Government

are also inapplicable because they involved non-final, non-

adversary, non-adjudicatory proceedings which this Court

has always held do not require the same due process rights

as adversary proceedings which adjudicate personal and

property rights. See Hannah v. Larche, 363 U.S. 420 (1960).

In addition to the argument based on Fifth Amendment

due process, appellee contends that there is a right to coun-

sel under this Court’s interpretation of the Sixth Amend-

ment’s right to counsel at every critical stage of the pre-

trial events. It is virtually inevitable that a conscientious

objector applicant whose claim has been denied will refuse

induction and be required to seek judicial review by means

13

of defense to a prosecution for induction refusal. This, com-

bined with the exceedingly narrow scope of judicial review,

makes the local board personal appearance a critical stage

of the proceedings. Unless the right to counsel is afforded

at this critical stage it may well be useless at the trial.

Many of the catalogued abuses of registrants’ rights

which have occurred, either innocently or non-innocently,

might well have been prevented if registrants were per-

mitted to be accompanied by counsel. Counsel’s role of

delineating the issues, assisting in fact presentation, and

safeguarding the registrant’s interest would be essentially

the same as that contemplated by this Court for counsel for

welfare recipients in Goldberg v. Kelly, supra. There is

no reason to fear litigious interruption or delay and, in any

event, the size of the local boards can be increased to cope

with any increase in activity. Moreover, it can be expected

that counsel’s presence will be useful to the agency as well

as to the registrant. Government Appeal Agents, subject

to serious conflict of interest, and optional advisors to regis-

trants have demonstrably not satisfied the registrants’

needs or their constitutional rights for a number of reasons,

of which the principal one is their unavailability. Private

counsel, experienced in selective service law, are available.

Free legal services are available for indigent registrants

both from publicly-funded legal service offices and from pri-

vately organized panels.

VG PNT VL AER NTI AR AE DI BE DOOR BRETT IR

14

POINT I

The exclusive jurisdiction of this Court to hear this

direct appeal is explicitly mandated by both the motion

in bar and statutory construction provisions of 18

U.S.C. §3731, the Criminal Appeals Act. fo

The Appellee, defendant below, moved in the district ve

a eee ; , th

court to dismiss the indictment prior to trial on several

crounds. It was contended by the defendant that the Selec. *

tive Service regulation barring attorneys at personal ap- va

pearances before a local board [82 C.F.R. 1624.1(b)] was iu

either a denial of his constitutional rights or was unau- | ;

thorized by the provisions of the Military Selective Service Be

Act of 1967 (A. 3-4). After hearing the arguments of cou. ”

sel, considering legal memoranda, and reading defendant's [ Bi

entire Selective Service file, the district court dismissed | :

the indictment, holding as follows: ms

“Accordingly this court is loath to hold that the ad- be

ministrative denial of such a right is either authorized co.

by Congress or is constitutional” (A, 42). of

ins

Following the order of the district court, the Government re

filed its notice of appeal to this Court pursuant to the pr

Criminal Appeals Act, 18 U.S.C. §3731, on the grounds that 53

authority for direct appeal attached thereunder (A. 48). (1!

The Government then changed its mind with respect to the | [)

basis of the jurisdiction of this Court and on January 16, J gy

1970 moved to remand the case to the Court of Appeals | Sf

for the Ninth Cireuit. On March 23, 1970 this Court denied Bl

the Government’s motion to remand and further considera- U.

tion of the jurisdictional question was postponed to the al

U.S. (A. 44).

hearing of the case on the merits.

15

1. The Ruling of the Court Below Which Dismissed the Indict-

ment Prior to Trial, Ending the Cause and Exculpating

the Defendant on the Basis of Questions of Law Outside of

the General Issue to Be Tried, Is a Motion in Bar for the

Purposes of the Criminal Appeals Act.

In claiming that the Criminal Appeals Act does not con-

fer direct jurisdiction upon this Court, the United States is

asking the Supreme Court to adopt the proposition that

the motion in bar provision is limited to its common law

scope (Government’s Brief, pp. 6, 14). This Court has

never accepted that approach. See United States v. Sisson,

site B, » 88 U.S.L.W. 4616, dissenting opinion of

Mr. Justice White, at 4635. Contrary to the Government's

contention, this Court on several occasions has held that

where the dismissal of an indictment by its own force

would end the cause and exculpate the defendant without

subjecting him to double jeopardy, the requisites of a

motion in bar for purposes of the Criminal Appeals Act

have been met. In other words, it is the effect of the ruling

below—and not of how the pleading is styled—that is of

consequence. So long as the ruling below has the effect

of an absolute bar to further prosecution without subject-

ing the defendant to double jeopardy, that ruling consti-

tutes a motion in bar and is directly reviewable in the Su-

preme Court. See United States v. Hark, 320 U.S. 531,

030-36 (1944); United States v. Murdock, 284 U.S. 141

(1931) ; United States v. Oppenheimer, 242 U.S. 85 (1916) ;

United States v. Celestine, 215 U.S. 278 (1909); United

States vy. Goldman, 277 U.S, 229, 236-37 (1928); United

States v. Rabinowich, 238 U.S. 78 (1915); United States vy.

Blue, 384 U.S. 251 (1966) ; United States v. Covington, 395

US. 57 (1969). See also United States vy. Fiz, F.2d

—, No. 25216 (U.S. Court of Appeals, 9th Cireuit, July 1,

16

1970) ; Friedenthal, Government Appeals in Federal Crim.

inal Cases, 12 Stan. L. Rev. 71, 77-78 (1959).

Since the appellee had not yet been brought to trial when

dismissal occurred, there can be no question of double

jeopardy. See United States v. Celestine, supra. Undoubt.

edly, the effect of the district court’s ruling was to end

the cause permanently and exculpate the defendant. Thus,

pursuant to the above cited decisions of this Court, juris.

diction under the Criminal Appeals Act is secure.

Contrary to the contentions of the United States, the

legislative history of the Criminal Appeals Act supports

this interpretation rather than that proposed by the Gov.

ernment of limiting the motion in bar provisions to its

common law ambit. For example, Senator Knox, a former

Attorney General, stated as follows:

“The Government takes the risks of all the mistakes of

its prosecuting officers and of the trial judge in the trial,

and it is only proposed to give it an appeal upon ques.

tions of law raised by the defendant to defeat the trial

and if it defeats the trial.”

41 Cong. Ree. 2752 (1907).

Furthermore, Senator Patterson, one of the sponsors of

the Act, defined a special plea in bar as follows:

“A special plea in bar... is a plea that does not relate

to the guilt or innocence of the defendant in the sense

as to whether he did or not commit the act for which

he was indicted. A special plea in bar is that which

is set up as a special defense notwithstanding the de-

fendant may be guilty of the offenses with which he is

charged; it is for some outside matter; yet it may have

been connected with the case.”

17

41 Cong. Ree. 2753 (1907).

It is obvious from these remarks that the framers of the

Criminal Appeals Act intended a case such as this one to

be included within the motion in bar provisions. The ques-

tions of law raised by appellee prior to the trial defeated

the trial and were based upon matters unrelated to his

refusal to report for induction, the offense for which he

was indicted.

Moreover, jurisdiction in this case obtains under the

motion in bar provision even under its most restrictive

reading. This interpretation was set forth by the dis-

senters in United States v. Mersky, 361 U.S. 431, 457

(1960). Mr. Justice Stewart, joined by Mr. Justice Frank-

furter and Mr. Justice Harlan,' stated that a motion in bar

was identical to the common law plea in confession and

avoidance :

“The plea in confession and avoidance did not con-

test the facts alleged in the declaration, but relied on

new mnatter which would deprive those facts of their

ordinary legal effect. * * * It set up affirmative defenses

which would bar the prosecution.”

361 U.S. at 457.

It is only by strained and convoluted argument that the

Government contends that the motion and ruling below

fails to fall within this definition. It is clear that the ques-

tion of law raised by the motion and by the ruling of the

district court did not appear on the face of the indict-

‘Mr. Justice Harlan delivered the opinions of the court in

United States v. Blue, supra, and United States v. Covington,

supra, both post-Mersky decisions, which upheld direct appellate

jurisdiction.

18

ment and that “new matter” was relied upon, United States

v. Blue, supra, at 254, which insulated the appellee’s refusal

to report for induction from its ordinary legal effect. The

position taken by the appellee was that he “confessed,” that

he did not submit to induction, but that he sought to “avoid”

that as an act for which he could be prosecuted by “relying

on new matter which would deprive these facts of their ordi.

nary legal effect.” Mersky, supra, at 457.

Unlike the defendant in Sisson, supra, however, the “new

matter” relied on by the appellee in this case, and raised

by his motion, did not consist of facts which would neces.

sarily be tried with the general issue in this case. The

primary elements of the offense of a refusal to submit to

induction are refusing to step forward when one’s name is

called the third time and having the required criminal in-

tent. See Chernekoff v. United States, 219 F.2d 721 (9th

Cir. 1955); United States v. Rabb, 394 F.2d 230 (3d Cir.

1968). The crux of the prosecution’s case when the crime

alleged is induction refusal is simply whether or not the

defendant has wilfully refused to submit to induction. The

courts have consistently held that a presumption of regu-

larity attaches to the official acts of local boards, which,

standing alone, is sufficient to uphold a conviction for in-

duction refusal. See Yates v. United States, 404 F.2d 462

(ist Cir. 1968), cert. denied 395 U.S. 925 (1969); United

States v. Weersing, 415 F.2d 130 (9th Cir. 1969), cert. de-

nied 396 U.S. 987 (1970); United States v. Norman, 413

F.2d 789 (6th Cir. 1969), cert. denied 396 U.S. 1018 (1970);

Little v. United States, 409 F.2d 1343 (10th Cir. 1969);

United States v. Sandbank, 403 F.2d 38 (2d Cir. 1968),

cert. denied 394 U.S. 961 (1969); Lowe v. United States,

389 F.2d 51 (Sth Cir. 1968).

rns es OO

_——

19

It is completely incongruous for the United States, in the

light of all these holdings and of the consistent posture

which it takes in the prosecution of Selective Service cases,’

to now argue that the propriety of a Selective Service regu-

lation barring counsel is a “fact” which would be presented

to the jury in trying the general issue. Thus, the motion

below and the ruling of the district court qualify as a mo-

tion in bar for the purposes of the Criminal Appeals Act,

no matter which interpretation is given to that provision.

The Government’s arguments in this case seeking to take

this ruling out of the jurisdiction of this Court make the

comments of Mr. Justice Brennan, concurring in United

States v. Mersky, supra, appropriate here. To adhere to the

contentions put forward by the Government would “unsettle

what has been settled by [the Supreme Court’s] precedents

and re-introduce[s] archaisms into federal criminal pro-

cedure...” United States v. Mersky, supra, at 441.

2. The Decision of the District Court Dismissing the Indict-

ment Is Based Upon the Construction of the Statute Upon

Which the Indictment Is Founded and Also Confers Juris-

diction in This Court Upon Direct Appeal.

In addition to the clear jurisdiction of the Court under

the motion in bar section of the Criminal Appeals Act, it

is also plain that the decision below is based upon the con-

struction of the statute upon which the indictment is

founded, and for that reason as well the Supreme Court has

jurisdiction on direct appeal.

The guidebook published by the Selective Service System to

aid prosecutors states that the Government’s case “is satisfied by

proof that an order to report for induction was issued and the

registrant failed to comply.” L. HersHey, LeGaL ASPECTS OF

SeLectIvE Service, 54-55 (Rev’d ed. 1969).

20

In United States v. Mersky, supra, this Court held that

the construction of a regulation promulgated under a stat.

ute is a construction of the statute for the purposes of the

Criminal Appeals Act. In so holding, the Court said:

“Here the statute is not complete by itself, since it

merely declares the range of its operation and leayes

to its progeny the means to be utilized in the effecty.

ation of its command. * * * The result is that neither

the statute nor the regulations are complete without

the other, and only together do they have any force. In

effect, therefore, the construction of one necessarily

involves the construction of the other.” 361 US. at

437-438.

The present case involves a very similar statutory scheme

to that considered in Mersky. The following provisions of

the Military Selective Service Act authorizing the Presi.

dent to promulgate rules and regulations under that Act

illustrate the close nexus between the Act and the regula-

tions promulgated thereunder: |

“The President is authorized, from time to time,

whether or not a state of war exists, to select and induct |

into the Armed Forces of the United States for train. |

ing and service in the manner provided in this title

* * * such number of persons as may be required to

provide and maintain the strength of the Armed

Forces.” 50 U.S.C. App. §454(a).

“The selection of persons for training and service under

section 4 * * * shall be made in an impartial manner,

under such rules and regulations as the President may

prescribe, * * *” 50 U.S.C. App. §455(a) (1).

—,

21

“The President is authorized—

(1) to prescribe the necessary rules and regulations

to carry out the provisions of this title.” 50 U.S.C. App.

§460(b) (1).

(3) * * * Such local boards, or separate panels

thereof each consisting of three or more members,

shall, under rules and regulations prescribed by the

President, have the power within the respective juris-

dictions of such local boards to hear and determine,

subject to the right of appeal to the appeal boards

herein authorized, all questions or claims with respect

to inclusion for, or exemption or deferment from, train-

ing and service under this title * * * of all individuals

within the jurisdiction of such local boards.” 50 U.S.C.

App. §460(b) (3).

“Any member of the Selective Service System or any

other person charged as herein provided with the duty

of carrying out any of the provisions of this title [sec-

tions 451, 453, 454, 455, 456 and 458-471 of this Ap-

pendix], or the rules or regulations made or directions

given thereunder, who shall knowingly fail or neglect

to perform such duty * * * shall, upon conviction in

any district court of the United States of competent

jurisdiction, be punished by imprisonment for not more

than five years or a fine of not more than $10,900, or

by both such fine and imprisonment * * * ” 50 U.S.C.

App. §462(a).

Indeed, the indictment charging the appellee with an

offense charged him with a wilful and knowing violation of

both the Act “and the ... regulations . . . duly made pur-

22

suant thereto” (A. 2). Thus, there is no question but that

here, as in Mersky, the statute is not complete in and of

itself but authorizes and in fact requires the promulgation

of regulations to fill out its scheme. “When the statute

and regulations are so inextricably intertwined, the dis.

missal must be held to involve construction of the statute.”

Mersky, supra, at 438.*

The court below, in applying the authorization test of

Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474 (1959), analyzed the statu.

tory and regulatory scheme (A. 12). The court first read

the Act to search for an express authorization for the denial

of the right to counsel (A. 13-14). It then reads the Act to

try to find any express delegation of the power to do so

(A. 14). It found none in the Act. It then analyzed the

Act for possible sources of implicit delegation of such au-

thority. It examined Section 1(¢) [50 U.S.C. App. 451(c)]

and Section 10(b) (3) [50 U.S.C. App. 460(b) (3) ], construed

them, and found that they are clearly “not ‘explicit action

by the Nation’s lawmakers’ (in this case Congress) taking

the constitutionally-suspect action of removing the right to

be represented by counsel” (A. 23). To view this analysis

of the court below as anything other than a construction of

the statute is to twist language beyond reason.

It is obvious that where, as here, the issue before the

court is whether a regulation is authorized by a statute,

the judicial determination of that question involves a con-

struction of the statute and authorizes direct appeal under

the Criminal Appeals Act. See United States vy. Foster,

233 U.S. 515, 523 (1914); Kurland, The Mersky Case and

5’ Notwithstanding its position that statute and regulation are

not “inextricably intertwined” in this case, earlier in the Govern-

ment’s brief the combination of statute and regulation is without

much ado characterized as “part of the Selective Service law,”

p. 5.

<- Zl te

t!

23

the Criminal Appeals Act: A Suggestion for Amendment

to the Statute, 28 U. Chi. L. Rev. 419 (1961); Friedenthal,

supra.

Obviously, the purposes of the Criminal Appeals Act are

equally well served when a court declares a regulation in-

yalid as unauthorized by a statute as when a court construes

the statute directly. As this Court stated in United States

y. Mersky:

“It therefore appears abundantly clear that the remedial

purpose of the Act was to avert ‘the danger of frequent

conflicts, real or apparent, in the decisions of the vari-

ous district or circuit courts, and the unfortunate re-

sults thereof’; and to eliminate ‘the impossibility of the

government’s obtaining final and uniform rulings by

recourse to a higher court.’ 20 Harv. L. Rev. 219. More-

over, the desirability of expedition in the determination

of the validity of acts of Congress, which is pointed to

as a desideratum for direct appeal, applies equally to

regulations. In practical operation, correction of a

regulation by agency revision invariably awaits judi-

cial action.” Supra, at 436 (emphasis added).

The Government’s attempt to distinguish this case from

United States v. Eisdorfer, No. 330, 1969 Term, appeal dis-

missed, 396 U.S. 1066 (1970), and from the positions taken

therein both by the Government and by the Court, is unper-

suasive. The Government concedes that to apply the Fis-

dorfer rationale here

‘

‘... it is necessary to argue that the issue of the le-

gality of appellee’s classification, which goes to the

validity of the order to report, is encompassed in the

charge of disobedience to the order and that the regu-

lation bearing upon the process by which the local board

24

determines the classification in turn conditions the ya.

lidity of the classification.” Brief, p. 19.

Further, it is conceded (p. 19) that the district court was

justified in dismissing the indictment (once it fownd that

the process leading to the order to report for induction was

invalid). Yet the Government suggests that the dismissal

was not based on a finding that the induction order was

void. It seems to suggest that the decision of the court

below should be read as holding that in some metaphysical

sense the order to report for induction was valid, and that

nevertheless the registrant could not be prosecuted for

wilful disobedience of it. Even if this theory were con.

ceptually valid, it is an analysis which would put the case

squarely back in the “confession and avoidance” category

as a motion in bar.

In conclusion, the exclusive jurisdiction of this Court

upon direct appeal, pursuant to the Criminal Appeals Act,

is clearly mandated in both the motion in bar provision and

the statutory construction provision. This is evident not

only from the foregoing analysis, but from a consideration

of the broad statutory purpose of allowing a direct appeal

to this Court from decisions of district courts which dismiss

indictments because of major constitutional questions in the

construction of the statute. See United States vy. Sisson,

supra. The purpose was to bring such decisions of na-

tional impact directly to this Court for review by the highest

constitutional authority.* The decision below, holding that

*“Appeal was to be for the purpose of deciding ‘constitutional

questions’, ‘questions of law’ which if the district judge’s decisions

were permitted to stand could lead to conflict and different treat-

ment under the same criminal statutes in different parts of the

country.” United States v. Sisson, supra, 38 U.S.L.W. at 4631

(dissenting opinion of Mr. Chief Justice Burger).

ore

25

a thirty-year old “part of the Selective Service law,” Gov-

ernment’s Brief, p. 5, whose continuation, we are urged, is

necessary to avoid “constructive paralysis” (p. 46) of the

system, was invalid on constitutional grounds, is plainly

that kind of decision.

POINT II

The selective service regulation which prohibits the

presence of counsel at a local board personal appear-

ance is invalid because it is a denial of a traditional

procedural safeguard which was not explicitly author-

ized by Congress.

1. Only Congress Has the Power to Conscript Armies and to

Limit the Procedural Rights of Selective Service Registrants.

The essence of the decision of the court below is that:

“... nowhere in the Act has Congress expressly denied

the right to counsel or expressly delegated the power

to do so to the President” (A. 33).

Following Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474 (1959), the dis-

trict court held that the statutory provisions which au-

thorize presidential regulation of local boards

“

. clearly are not ‘explicit action by the Nation’s

lawmakers’ (in this case, Congress) taking the consti-

tutionally-suspect action of removing the right to be

represented by counsel” (A. 33).

The premises underlying the court’s holding are that

only Congress can declare war, Constitution, Article I, §8;

and only Congress can draft manpower. Consequently,

26

only Congress can declare that a selective service regis.

trant shall be denied counsel. These self-evident constity.

tional axioms are, however, questioned by the Government

(Brief, p. 22, n. 7). The incredible suggestion is made—

without any citation of authority—that the President him.

self has power under Article II, §2, of the Constitution—

even without congressional authorization—to deny tradi.

tional safeguards to selective service registrants.*

The Government superimposes upon this argument of

limitless presidential power the contention that the exer.

cise of such power is unreviewable, since it presents “non-

justiciable controversies of a political nature... .”°

With all due respect, the Solicitor General is wrong on

both grounds. This Court has on many occasions reiterated

that there are constitutional limits on the President’s exer-

cise of military powers, even in wartime. See Youngstown

Sheet and Tube Co. vy. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579 (1952);

5 The implication of the Government’s argument in footnote 7

of its brief is that the President has power—without congressional

authorization or sanction—to promulgate regulations which would

provide for conscription of manpower without any personal ap-

pearances at all, and without any procedural safeguards whatso-

ever. It is not clear if the Government’s argument runs so far as

to claim exclusive presidential power—without congressional au-

thorization—to draft manpower, or even to use his powers as

commander-in-chief of the armed forces to raise an army whenever

and however he deems it appropriate.

*The only authority cited for this dubious proposition is this

Court’s denial of certiorari in Mora v. McNamara, 389 U.S. 934

(1967). It is surprising to find the Solicitor General imputing

substantive significance to a denial of certiorari in the light of the

repeated admonitions by this Court that such a denial “imports no

expression of opinion upon the merits of the case, as the bar has

been told many times.” United States v. Carver, 260 U.S. 482, 490

(1923). See Maryland v. Baltimore Radio Show, 338 US. 912,

917-920 (1950); Stern & Gressman, Supreme Court Practice, 213-

218 (1969).

27

United States v. Robel, 389 U.S. 258, 263 (1967); Galvan

y. Press, 347 U.S. 522, 530 (1954) ; Ex parte Endo, 323 U.S.

983 (1944). Moreover, the “political question” spectre has

been decisively exorcised. See Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186

(1962); Powell v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486 (1969); com-

pare Berk v. Laird, —— F.2d ——, 3 §.S.L.R. 3142 (2d Cir.

1970).

2. The Court Below Correctly Applied the Requirement

of Explicit Authorization,

The court below correctly applied Greene v. McElroy,

supra, to reach its decision that the regulation prohibiting

counsel was never authorized by Act of Congress (A. 33-

34). This Court held in Greene that the requirement of ex-

plicit congressional authorization before any denial of a

procedural safeguard is constitutionally tolerable is neces-

sary because:

“Without explicit action by lawmakers, decisions of

great constitutional import and effect would be rele-

gated by default to administrators who, under our sys-

tem of government, are not endowed with authority to

decide them.” 360 U.S. at 507.’

"It is, therefore, difficult to understand how the Government

reads Greene v. McElroy as holding that a denial could be legitima-

tized “either by direct action or by careful and purposeful inac-

tion” (p. 22). Nowhere does the phrase “careful and purposeful

inaction” appear in the cited pages of Greene v. McElroy, 360 US.

at 506-507. The phrase which this Court did use was “careful and

purposeful consideration” as a concomitant of “explicit action.”

This court specifically held that “such decisions cannot be assumed

by acquiescence or non-action.” Ibid. It is a mystery, to say the

least, how the authors of the Solicitor General’s brief can so nimbly

convert “inaction” into its opposite. That this Court meant what

it said when it required “explicit action” is further demonstrated

by the very sharp dissenting opinion of Mr. Justice Clark, 360

US. at 510-524. Pointing to the many instances of congressional

consideration and review of the personnel security program in-

28

This Court’s decision in Greene was not a biological

sport, but merely a continuation of a well-established doe.

trine requiring express congressional approval as a pre.

condition for denial of procedural rights. See Panama Re.

fining Company v. Ryan, 293 U.S. 388, 418 (1935) (regula.

tion invalid because “The Congress left the matter to the

President without standard or rule, to be dealt with as he

pleased.”) ; Ex parte Endo, 323 U.S. 288, 300 (1944) (“We

must assume, when asked to find implied powers in a grant

of legislative or executive authority, that the lawmakers

intended to place no greater restraint on the citizen than

was clearly and unmistakably indicated by the language

they used.”) ; Kent v. Dulles, 357 U.S. 116, 129 (1958) (“We

hesitate to find in this broad generalized power an au-

thority to trench so heavily on the rights of the citizen.”);

Schneider vy. Smith, 390 U.S. 17 (1968); see also Gonzalez

v. Freeman, 334 F.2d 570, 579 (D.C. Cir. 1964).°

The most recent application by this Court of the Greene

doctrine oceurred in Gutknecht v. United States, 396 US.

295 (1970), where a selective service regulation which de-

nied procedural safeguards was held invalid because of

the absence of explicit congressional authorization. In

Gutknecht, however, the proponents of the Government's

position could and did argue that there was some explicit

congressional authorization evidenced by the use of the

volved in the Greene case, and particularly the publication by Con-

gress of all of the regulations in an official directory, Mr. Justice

Clark wrote “In other cases we have held that the inaction of the

Congress, in circumstances much less specific than here, was a clear

ratification of a program as it was then being carried out by the

Executive.” Jd. at 523.

8 In Gonzalez, supra, then Circuit Judge Burger held that in the

absence of specific legislative authority, a statute would not be read

to authorize debarment of a Government contractor without regula-

tions establishing safeguards and a basically fair procedure.

29

word “delinquent” in the statute. In this case, a fortiori,

there is not a single word in the statute which suggests

explicit authorization of the prohibition of counsel.

3. Congressional Inaction Does Not Provide the

Required Authorization.

The Government next suggests (Brief, p. 23) that this

Court modified the Greene v. McElroy rule of explicit au-

thorization by its decision one year later in Hannah vy.

Larche, 363 U.S. 420 (1960). But a reading of Hannah

gives no support to the Government’s desire that “pur-

poseful inaction” be deemed synonymous with “explicit

authorization”. This Court in Hannah was not faced with

the problem of finding explicit authorization for a regula-

tion restricting traditional safeguards at adjudicatory

proceedings. First, as the Court determined, the proceed-

ings of the Civil Rights Commission in Hannah did not

involve the adjudication of personal and property rights.

363 U.S. at 441. See discussion in Point III infra, pp. 37-45.

Second, in HZannah it was abundantly evident that there

were two discrete and contradictory legislative proposals

before Congress, each of which explicitly dealt with the

procedures to be followed by the Civil Rights Commission.

Although both proposals allowed right of counsel and

certain other fundamental procedural rights, that which

was rejected by Congress allowed greater scope to the right

of counsel and broader procedural rights to witnesses

called before the Commission. This Court found that

Congress explicitly rejected the broader proposal and ex-

plicitly aeeepted the narrower proposal. Hannah v. Larche,

363 U.S. at 431-437,

The situation in this case is vastly different. There is

no mention in the statute of a limited right of counsel as

30

was the case in Hannah. There is not even the tangential

use of the word “counsel” in any context relating to a per.

sonal appearance. Compare Gutknecht vy. United States,

supra. Much less is there here any express authorization

to the President to promulgate a regulation denying coun.

sel, or limiting the right of counsel, or authorizing the

President to grant or deny counsel in his discretion. As

we set forth below, the legislative history evinces consider.

able confusion with regard to the role of the government

appeal agent and the advisor to registrants, and to related

selective service procedures. On the other hand, in the

adoption of this very same statute, the Military Selective

Service Act of 1967, Congress knew how to legislate an ex-

press prohibition of that which it feared might cause

“litigious interruption,” and indeed did so in the amend-

ment of Section 10(b)(3) of the Act, 50 U.S.C. App.

§460(b) (3), so as to limit judicial review of local board

classifications and processing.®

4. The Argument of Congressional Acquiescence

Is Not Persuasive.

Finally, the Government argues that the regulation

should be held valid, even if not explicitly authorized, be-

cause of what it regards as long congressional acquies-

cence. Brief, pp. 23-25. A number of cases are cited os-

*“Expressio unius est exclusio alterius.” See Hunt Foods and

Industries, Inc. vy. F.T.C., 286 F.2d 803, 807 (9th Cir. 1961), cert.

denied 365 U.S. 877 (1961). In totally ignoring the obvious impli-

cations to be drawn from the very words of the statute, the Govern-

ment has failed to take account even of the language of Mr. Jus-

tice Reed, in United States vy. American Trucking Ass’ns, 310 US.

534, 542 (1940) : “There is, of course, no more persuasive evidence

of the purpose of a statute than the words by which the legisla-

ture undertook to give expression to its wishes.”

31

tensibly in support of this proposition.’ To begin with,

this Court specifically refused to follow the argument of

acquiescence in Greene vy. McElroy, 360 U.S. at 506-507.

See also Ex parte Endo, supra; Kent v. Dulles, supra. Just

this past term, in T’oussie v. United States, 396 U.S. 875,

95 L, Ed.2d 156 (1970), this Court was urged to find that

failure to register was a continuing offense because

Congress had repeatedly re-enacted selective service acts,

often with substantive changes, but had taken no action

to repudiate the long-standing administrative and judicial

construction. The Court nevertheless refused to find

requisite congressional approval, since this could be found

only in “explicit language of the substantive criminal

statute.” 25 L. Ed.2d at 161.

The teaching of Girouard vy. United States, 328 U.S. 61,

69-70 (1946) is most applicable.

“It is at best treacherous to find in Congressional

silence alone the adoption of a controlling rule of law

...++ The silence of Congress and its inaction are as

consistent with a desire to leave the problem fluid as

they are with an adoption by silence... .”

* All of the cases cited by the Government (p. 25) are subject

to the analysis in 2 Sutherland, Statutes and Statutory Construc-

tion, §5107 (3rd ed. 1943), likewise cited by the Government, that

the theory of “long-standing interpretation” will be followed where

“... reliance has been placed thereon by the public and those

having an interest in the interpretation of the laws.” Jbid. It is

thus significant that most of the cases cited by the Government,

and most other cases which have applied this theory, have dealt

with tax or other fiscal regulations where private individuals are

most likely to have made decisions of great importance in relia

on a continuing interpretation of a governmental regulation. 11:

the lone selective service case cited, Billings v. T ruesdell, 321 U.S.

542 (1944), the theory of long-standing interpretation was invoked

in favor of a private individual and against the Government.

32

5. The Legislative History of the 1967 Act

Is at Best Ambiguous.

The legislative history of the 1967 Act, cited extensively

by the Government at pp. 25-31 of its brief, is not nearly

so persuasive as the Government would have one believe,

Much is made (pp. 25-29) of the testimony of General

Hershey before the House Armed Services Committee, in

response to various criticisms of selective service proce-

dures, including the denial of the right to counsel. (Review

of the Administration and Operation of the Selective Ser.

vice System, Hearings before the Committee on Armed

Services of the House of Representatives, 89th Cong., 2d

Sess., June 22, 23, 24, 28, 29, and 30, 1966 (Doe. No. 75), pp.

9984-9995.) The Government neglects to mention, however,

that in its subsequent Interim Report (Review of the Ad-

ministration and Operation of the Selective Service System,

An Interim Report of the Committee on Armed Services

of the House of Representatives, 89th Cong., 2d Sess., Au-

gust 4, 1966 (Doe. No. 76), hereinafter “Interim Report”),

ater noting the objections which had been raised to exist-

ing administrative procedures, and General Hershey’s re-

plies to those objections’ (Interim Report, pp. 10177-

10189), the Committee most explicitly stated: “However,

the analysis of General Hershey by no means necessarily

reflects the views or conclusions of the Committee on Armed

Services” (Interim Report, p. 10190). Such an explicit

disclaimer of intent to adopt the views expressed by Gen-

eral Hershey on the question of selective service proce-

11 At these same hearings, General Hershey explained his resist-

ance to any change in the statute:

“You can do almost anything under this law, which is more

than you can say for a great many laws that are on the books.”

Id. at 9698.

33

dures, of course, very seriously weakens any presumption

that the Committee’s failure to introduce an amendment in

favor of permitting counsel should be construed as a posi-

tive approval of the denial of counsel. Here, as in Girouard,

supra, one might readily conclude that at most the desire

of the Committee was to “leave the problem fluid.” 328

U.S. at 70.

The Government also offers, in support of its interpreta-

tion of the legislative history of the statute, a substantial

amount of material from the floor debates in both the House

and the Senate. But there is little in it to support the Gov-

ernment’s contention that it demonstrates an explicit con-

gressional intent to permit denial of counsel. How the

criticisms by Rep. Kastenmeier of the procedures before

appeal boards (emphasis in Government’s Brief at p. 28)

can be deemed even to have informed the members of

the House of the lack of counsel at local boards, let alone

to have demonstrated House approval of the procedure,

is not explained by the Government for there is no way it

can be explained.”

The Government also places great reliance on the defeat

of the amendment offered by Senator Morse, on the floor

of the Senate, which would have permitted counsel to reg-

istrants in personal appearances. An examination of the

debate which preceded the vote on this amendment, how-

“Rep. Kastenmeier’s apparent effort was to open up appeal

board proceedings to allow presence of registrant and counsel. In-

deed, so far as appeal boards are concerned, the registran’ has

now, and had in 1967, the right to submit in writing any docu-

ment which he desires to submit, including, if he wishes, memo-

randa or other writings by counsel. Government’s Brief, p. 41,

n. 28. Thus, since the registrant himself does not personally appear

before the appeal board, but is limited to the submission of written

materials, the registrant has the right to counsel to the full extent

of his contact with the appeal board.

34

ever, provides a most illustrative example of the dangers

of which Mr. Justice Jackson was speaking when he issued

his caveat about floor debates in Schwegmann Bros. vy. Cal.

vert Distillers Corp., 341 U.S. 384, 396 (1951) (concurring

opinion), that they are “not always distinguished for candor

or accuracy.” ** Thus, Senator Morse made the argument

that counsel was required because “ ... [T]he appeals

officer does not represent the registrant. He represents the

board. As I stated in my main remarks, we cannot justify

having a prosecutor serve also as an attorney for the de.

fendant.” 113 Cong. Ree. 12503. In reply, Senator Richard

Russell, Chairman of the Senate Committee on Armed

Services, stated:

“T understood [Senator Morse] to say that it would

be the same person in both cases. That is not so. The

appeals agent does not represent both the board and

the registrant in the same proceeding.

“There is a counsel for the registrant, and the ap.-

peals board has an appeals agent in addition. They

are not one and the same person.” Jbid.

The statements of Senator Russell, quoted above, are

in direct contradiction to the provisions of 32 CFR $1604.71

(d)(4) and (5), which require the appeals agent to render

assistance to the local board and to be “equally diligent

in protecting the interests of the Government and the

rights of the registrant in all matters.” Senator Russell

was also obviously confused and in error in his perception

of the availability of “a counsel for the registrant.” See

18 Mr. Justice Jackson argued persuasively that “resort to legis-

lative history is only justified where the face of the Act is in-

escapably ambiguous . . . . Moreover, it is only the words of the

bill that have presidential approval, where that approval is given.

It is not to be supposed that in signing a bill the President en-

dorses the whole Congressional Record ....” 341 U.S. at 396.

35

diseussion of optional advisors to registrant and of divided

responsibility of appeal agents, infra, pp. 93-97.**

This is only one of several misstatements occurring in the

debate on Senator Morse’s proposed amendment.’* The

1* Senator Russell’s statement that “There is a counsel for the

registrant” may suggest that the proper interpretation of the

Senate’s action is that suggested at 2 Sutherland, Statutes and

Statutory Construction, §5015 (3d ed. 1943): “... [S]uch re-

jection may occur because the bill in substance already includes

those provisions. Other interpretive aids may indicate that this

is the case.”

15 (1) Senator Russell stated that the only question involved was

whether a lawyer “should be permitted to go into the local selective

service board when they are making their classifications.” This is

inaccurate, since appellee does not question the power of a local

board to engage in its deliberations in executive session. The ques-

tion of counsel involves presence with the registrant while the

registrant’s case is being presented to the board in an attempt to

persuade the board to adjudicate in the registrant’s favor. (2)

Senator Holland, who actively participated in the debate, was

under the mistaken impression that there is “always an appeal to

the selective service head in the state.” If the Senator was refer-

ring to the state appeal board, this is indeed true, provided that

the registrant files a notice of appeal within thirty days of the

prior classification action. 32 CFR §1626.2. But if the Senator

was referring to an application for the discretionary exercise of

power by the state director of selective service, this is clearly dis-

cretionary. 32 CFR §1626.1. (3) Senator Holland was, likewise,

under the mistaken belief that allowing counsel would subject the

board to lawyers’ arguments “before there were decisions from the

local boards... .” This betrays a fundamental misconception of

the function of the personal appearance. A personal appearance

does not occur, and cannot occur, until after the local board has

already made its classification decision. See Point III, §1, infra.

(4) Finally, Senator Ervin was under the mistaken impression

that a lawyer’s services were already available under existing law,

with the sole exception that “they just don’t let him make an oral

argument.” There was no recognition by Senator Ervin that a

lawyer could not even be admitted for the limited purposes of

rendering advice, which is allowed before the Civil Rights Com-

mission, see Hannah v. Larche, supra, and no recognition that a

lawyer’s function at a personal appearance might be more than

that of oral argument, but would include assistance in fact

presentation and insistence on the regularity of procedures. See

Point III, §4, infra.

36

cumulative effect of the confusion and misunderstanding

casts the most serious doubt on any contention that the

defeat of the amendment may be taken as demonstrating

an informed intent in Congress to ratify the regulation’s

denial of counsel.

Finally, the Government seeks to show from the removal

of the restrictions on Reserve personnel serving as Appeal

Agents (Brief at pp. 31-32) that Congress sought to meet,

“from within the Selective Service System itself, the ree.

ognized needs of registrants for legal advice and as.

sistance...” But, in view of the serious confusion over

the status and duties of the appeal agent introduced into

the floor debate by the material quoted above, and the

House Armed Services Committee’s express rejection of

the views of General Hershey on the necessity or advisa-

bility of permitting counsel (Jnterim Report, supra), it ean

hardly be said that an explicit position on the denial of

counsel was here taken by Congress. Relying, as it does,

on other aspects of the legislative history to lend support

to the latter contention, it is clear that the Government's

argument here is of the very weakest nature. “These

slender threads of legislative comment simply cannot be

woven into a conclusion of legislative sanction.” Dandridge

v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471 (1970) (dissenting opinion).

To conclude this point, the Government’s argument in

opposition to the eminently sound decision of the court

below begins with a misreading of the explicit authorization

requirement of Greene v. McElroy; proceeds to a misunder-

standing of the holding of Hannah v. Larche; and over-

looks the sharp limits which have been placed on the doe-

trine of legislative acquiescence. The Government’s be-

labored argument of legislative history shows simply that

37

General Hershey had sharp views on the question, which

were officially disclaimed by the House Committee; that

the only debate in the House concerned appeal hearings;

that the Senate debate over the Morse amendment was so

thoroughly confused that it cannot fairly be said that any

of the Senators accurately knew what existing regulations

provided. This is obviously leagues away from the explicit

authorization upon which this Court has insisted before

tolerating the divesting of a fundamental right of consti-

tutional dimension.

POINT III

A Selective Service registrant has a constitutional right

to counsel at a local board personal appearance.

1. A Registrant’s Personal Appearance at a Local Board Is an

Adjudicative Hearing Affecting Substantial Rights.

a. Nature of the Personal Appearance:

(1) A personal appearance in selective service law is

a specific and discrete proceeding. It is a matter of right.

Section 1624.1 of the selective service regulations, 32

C.F.R. §1624.1, grants to the registrant an unequivocal right

to a personal appearance after classification action has

been taken by the local board, so long as the registrant

makes a written request for the personal appearance within

thirty days of the notification to him by the board of the

classification action. Thus, the structure of the personal

appearance is such that it subsumes dissatisfaction with

the classification action, and provides a formal method

before the tribunal of first instance, the local board, to

effect a change in the classification. Following the personal

appearance, the local board is charged with the respon-

38

sibility of considering the evidence, documentary and other.

wise, which the registrant presented to it and determining

whether it should adhere to its prior classification decision

or whether the registrant’s contentions that the classifica.

tion should be changed should prevail. 32 C.F’.R. §1624.2,

(2) An analysis of the various types of classification

decisions which local boards make demonstrates that inso-

far as concerns a dissatisfied selective service registrant,

the local board determines questions of fact and law, and

exercises discretion, with the same force and effect, and in

much the same manner, as any other administrative agency

performing an adjudicative function.’”® A review of the

classifications provided by statute and regulation reveals

an enormous array of findings of fact, conclusions of law,

and exercises of discretion in which a local board must

perforce engage to fulfill its statutory function “to hear

and determine . . . all questions or claims with respect to

inclusion ... exemption or deferment....” Military Selee-

tive Service Act of 1967 (hereinafter “Act”), §10(b)(3);

50 U.S.C. App. §460(b) (3).

(a) Conscientious Objectors. The board must determine

if an applicant is a conscientious objector to participation

in war in any form and thus entitled to I-O classification,

32 C.F.R. $1622.14, or if his conscientious objection is lim-

ited to combatant service and training and he is thus entitled

to I-A-O classification, 32 C.F.R. §1622.11; Act §6(j), 50

U.S.C. App. §456(j). In making this determination, the lo-

cal boards must properly apply the legal standards of re-

ligious training and belief as determined by decisions of this

16 See discussion of distinction between agency performing rule

making function and agency performing adjudicative function,

infra, pp. 56-57.

39

Court. See, e.g., Welsh vy. United States, 398 U.S. 333

(1970) ; Seeger v. United States, 380 U.S. 163 (1965) ; Sicu-

rella v. United States, 348 U.S. 385 (1955). It must deter-

mine if the applicant is conscientiously opposed to partici-

pation in all wars or whether he is a “selective” conscien-

tious objector. See United States v. Sisson, 297 F. Supp. 902

(D. Mass. 1969), appeal dismissed for lack of jurisdiction,

399 U.S. 267 (1970) ; Gillette v. United States, 420 F.2d 298

(2d Cir. 1970), cert. granted, U.S. (1970). It must

determine, in many instances, if the application of a

claimant for conscientious objector status makes out a

prima facie ease. Mulloy v. United States, 398 U.S. 410

(1970). In the case of an application presented after an

induction order, special rules must be applied in terms of

the time and manner of maturation of the registrant’s

views. See Gearey v. United States, 368 F.2d 144 (2d Cir.

1966), cert. denied, 389 U.S. 959 (1967); Ehlert v. United

States, 422 F.2d 332 (9th Cir. 1970), cert. granted, ——

US. (1970). In making these determinations, a

large number of questions of fact must be evaluated, such

as the weight to be given possible factual inconsistencies.

See Witmer v. United States, 348 U.S. 375 (1955). This

Court has reiterated on many occasions that the most

significant factual determination is whether the applicant

is sincere. Witmer v. United States, supra; Welsh v. United

States, supra. Sincerity is a question of fact which must

be determined in every case. United States v. Seeger,

380 U.S. at 185.

(b) Occupational Deferment. Although the regulations

have changed from time to time over the years, the

essential determinant in applications for occupational

deferment in Class II-A was whether the employment is

in the national health, safety and interest. 32 C.F.R.

40

§1622.22. The definition of deferable employment contained

in Section 1622.23 of the regulations reveals a large num-

ber of factual and mixed legal/factual determinations

which the board must make. Section 1622.20(b) enjoins

the board that occupational deferments cannot be granted

on a mass basis, but only “upon the basis of the status of

such individual.”

(c) Student Deferments. Determination of whether a

student is entitled to I-S classification as a “student

deferred by statute,” pursuant to Section 1622.15, is

obviously a legal question. See Marsano vy. Laird, 412 F.2d

65 (2d Cir. 1969); compare Rich v. Hershey, 408 F.2d 944

(10th Cir. 1969). Whether a student is entitled to a II-S

classification involves determination of such questions as

whether he has “requested” the deferment, whether he is

“satisfactorily pursuing a full-time course of instruction,”

whether the institution which he attends is a “college,

university or similar institution of learning,” definition of

the “academic year” in terms of fixing the date of “the

beginning of his course of study,” and whether satisfactory

progress is being made towards his degree. Section 1622.25.

(d) Hardship Deferments. In the case of a registrant

who seeks a III-A classification, the board must decide the

mixed legal/factual question of whether his induction would

result in “extreme hardship;” the factual questions of

whether the allegedly dependent person is “physically or

mentally handicapped” and whether the registrant has

“assumed in good faith” the support of such dependent

person; and in many instances whether a person claimed

to be a “child” meets the proper definition in the regula-

tions. Section 1622.30. See United States v. Burlich, 257

F. Supp. 906 (S.D.N.Y. 1966).

41

(e) Other Classifications. Similar determinations of

factual and legal questions must be made by the board to

determine if a registrant is entitled to a veteran’s classifica-

tion under Class IV-A, 32 C.F.R. §1622.40(a)(1)-(9); or

whether the registrant is entitled to such classification as

a “sole surviving son.” Section 1622.40(a)(10). See Mc-

Kart v. United States, 395 U.S. 185 (1969). Questions of

law are essentially involved in determining whether a

registrant is a public officer deferred by law (e.g. “judge of

a court of record”) under Section 1622.41. The same is

true when the board must determine if a registrant is

entitled to a IV-C classification as being in one of those

categories of aliens who are not obligated to perform mili-

tary service under the law. Section 1622.42(a), (b), (e), (d).

Whether a registrant is entitled to a IV-D classification as

a “regular minister of religion,” a “duly ordained minister

of religion,” or a student “preparing for the ministry”

who meets certain other requirements involves many ques-

tions of law and fact. Section 1622.43. See Dickinson v.

United States, 346 U.S. 389 (1953); Cox v. United States,

332 U.S. 442 (1947).

(3) All of these questions and many others must be

decided by the local board whose statutory task is “to hear

and determine, subject to the right of appeal to the appeal

boards herein authorized, all questions or claims with

respect to inclusions for, or exemption or deferment from,

training and service under this title, of all individuals

within the jurisdiction of such local boards.” Act, Section

10(b)(3); 50 U.S.C. App. §460(b)(3); 32 C.F.R. §1622.1

(c); see §1622.20(a) (“On the local board is placed the re-

sponsibility, under applicable rules and regulations, of

deciding which men should be deferred because of their

civilian activities.”). See Section 1624.2, paragraphs (b),

42

(d), and (e), each of which recognizes the hearing and

determinative function of the local board.

This Court has explicitly recognized that the local board

is an agency with “authority to hear and determine all ques.

tions of deferment or exemption.” Estep v. United States,

327 U.S. 114, 120 (1946). It is argued infra, that where

an administrative ageney performs adjudicative functions

with regard to personal or property rights, any hearing

before it is an adversary proceeding. See infra, pp. 58-59,

However, even on the most obvious level, determination

that one registrant rather than another is to be unwillingly

stripped of an occupational deferment clearly involves an

adversary proceeding affecting his right to employment."

See Truax v. Raich, 239 U.S. 33 (1915); Greene v. Me.

Elroy, 360 U.S. 474 (1959). As Mr. Justice Brandeis

pointed out in a ease involving a determination as to

which of two carriers would get a more favorable rate,

“Every proceeding is adversary in substance if it may

result in an order in favor of one carrier [registrant]

as against another.” United States v. Abilene & So. Ry.,

265 U.S. 274, 289 (1924).

b. Incidents of Personal Appearance.

The adjudicative and adversary character of a local

board personal appearance is further demonstrated by the

provision, in the selective service regulations, of a large

number of features which customarily accompany adjudica-

tive hearings before administrative agencies. The com-

position of the local board, 32 C.F.R. $1604.52; the cireum-

stances under which a local board may be divided into

* It is the official position of the Selective Service System that

“In determining deferment claims, its [the local board’s] pri-

mary interest must be the national defense rather than the wel-

fare or necessities of the registrant,” L. HersHey, Legal ASPECTS

OF SELECTIVE SERVICE 28 (Revised ed. 1969).

43

panels, §1604.52a; the jurisdiction of each local board,

§1604.54; and the grounds of disqualification of local board

members, $1604.55, are clearly delineated. Section 1604.57

mandates the administration of a specific oath to “every

person testifying” before the local board. The oath refers

specifically to the giving of “evidence” and designates the

proceeding as a “hearing.” The board is required to keep

minutes, §1604.58. The board has subpoena power, $1621.15,

under which it can require “any person” to appear before

it, to produce papers and records, and to testify under

oath, and compliance with the subpoena is enforceable in

a United States court. See Dickinson v. United States,

346 U.S. at 396.°° Section 1622.1(¢) places the burden of

proof upon the registrant: “Each registrant will be con-

sidered as available for military service until his eligibility

for deferment or exemption from military service is clearly

established to the satisfaction of the local board.”

ce. Adjudicative Character of Local Board Function.

It is thus apparent that the local board hears and

determines, Act $10(b) (3), just like any other administra-

tive agency performing adjudicative functions. See, e.g.,

West Ohio Gas Co. v. Public Utilities Company of Ohio,

294 U.S. 63, 70 (1935) (“suitable opportunity through

evidence and argument” to challenge a rate); Londoner v.

City of Denver, 210 U.S. 373, 386 (1908) (tax assessment

requires full and fair opportunity to be heard on objections,

including oral argument and proof); Hornsby v. Allen, 326

F.2d 605, 608 (Sth Cir. 1964) (“licensing consists in the

** Perhaps an even more compelling demonstration of the recog-

nized adversary nature of board proceedings is the provision in

§1613.14 which requires a selective service registration official to

contest, contradict and report in writing answers to questions be-

lieved to be incorrect or false.

44

determination of factual issues and the application of

legal criteria to them”). “No matter how this language is

examined, ‘hear and determine’ has ordinarily and usually

implied but one thing, where no qualifying language is

explicitly used, namely, an adjudicative, judicial-type, trial

proceeding, whether in the courts or administrative

agencies.” Forkosch, The Constitutionality of the Viet.

nam Venture and a Registrant’s Right to Counsel Within

the Selective Service System, 22 So. Car. L. Rev. 287,

326-328 (1970).

That the local board’s classification process is one of

fact finding, evaluation, and determination “analogous to

what occurs in a court trial or administrative quasi-judicial

type hearing,” Forkosch, supra, at page 332, is revealed in

a number of cases. Thus, one Court of Appeals, in discuss-

ing a local board’s function in evaluating the sincerity of a

conscientious objector, speaks of “best evidence,” and of

“credibility and demeanor,” and recognizes the board as

“the fact finding agency.” United States v. Simmons, 213

F.2d 901, 904 (7th Cir. 1954), rev’d on other grounds,

348 U.S. 397 (1955). Another Court of Appeals recognizes

that “The board had the same right to evaluate the testi-

mony of a witness before it as has a trial court.” Dickinson

vy. United States, 203 F.2d 336, 345 (9th Cir.), rev'd on

other grounds, 346 U.S. 389 (1953).

Several courts have explicitly recognized that “the

function of the draft board is quasi-judicial.” See United

States v. Bouziden, 108 F. Supp. 395, 399 (W.D. Okla.

1952). The Eighth Circuit has held that draft board mem-

bers are “quasi-judicial officers rather than in a purely

ministerial or executive position.” Gibson v. Reynolds, 172

45

F.2d 95, 98 (8th Cir. 1949)."° Accord, Dodez v. Weygandt,

173 F.2d 965, 966 (6th Cir. 1949); Nevarez Bengoechea v.

Micheli, 295 F. Supp. 257, 258 (D.P.R. 1969) (“Draft

board proceedings are quasi-judicial and as such must

conform to basie principles of due process of law.”);

Benitez-Manrique v. Micheli, 305 F. Supp. 334, 338 (D.P.R.

1969). See also United States vy. Stephens, 245 F. 956,

963 (D. Del. 1917) (“The boards undoubtedly possess dis-

cretionary or quasi-judicial powers ... .”), aff'd 247 U.S.

504 (1918).

d. The Moribund Myth of “Little Groups of Neighbors.”

In the light of the foregoing demonstration of the powers,

functions and processes of local boards, it is sheer fiction

to contend that a personal appearance before the board is

an informal “non-adversary and non-judicial” encounter

between a registrant and his neighbors. See Government’s

brief, pages 36, 39. If it were ever true that local boards

consisted of “little groups of neighbors” getting together

informally with a young man from the neighborhood, whom

they all had known since infancy, for the purpose of

arriving at a mutual consensus on what is best for him and

best for the country, it has been conclusively demonstrated

that those haleyon days are gone.

* The court analogized draft board members to a variety of other

administrative officials, including members of the United States

Parole Board, Warden of a Federal Penitentiary, Director of

Bureau of Prisons, officials of the Home Owners Loan Corpora-

tion, Chairman of the Tariff Commission, and Deputy Fire

Marshal. It held local board members and other draft personnel

to be quasi-judicial officers because they “must fairly, fearlessly,

freely and conscientiously determine the personal destinies of a

sector of the American people, probably greater in number than

the combined number of all of those affected by the discharge of the

oor duties of all of the officers first above enumerated.” 172

2d at 98.

46

This myth was exploded by the Rerort or THE NaTionar

Apvisory Commission ON SELEcTIVE Service (the Marshall

Commission), Ixy Pursvir or Equiry: Wuo Serves Wuey

Nor Att Serve? (1967) (hereinafter “Reporr’”’), which

revealed that the comfortable concept of personalized treat.

ment by boards of neighbors has withered in our increas.

ingly technological and urbanized society:

“However universally valid this personalized con-

cept might have been in the past, only in rural areas

does it appear to be true today. Urban board members

usually work in anonymity—and indeed seem to look

upon that anonymity as an advantage. Rarely it would

seem do those on such a board actually know the men

whom they are classifying on the basis of their

records—and vice versa. After taking an extensive

look into local board operations in one state, a team of

researchers reported to the Commission: ‘Very little

evidence exists to suggest that the fact of drafting by

local boards has more than symbolic significance, if

that, in urban settings.’” Report, p. 20.

The abandonment of the “little groups of neighbors”

concept was repeatedly pointed out in The Selective Service

System: Its Operation, Practices, and Procedures, Hear-

ings before the Subcommittee on Administrative Practice

and Procedure of the Committee on the Judiciary, United

States Senate, 91st Cong., Ist Sess., October 29-November

13, 1969 (hereinafter “1969 Senate Hearings”). Included

in the Record of those hearings was a study performed by

Gary L. Wamsley entitled SeLective Service anp A CHanc-

inc America (1969). In his study, Mr. Wamsley described

how the “local” board concept had rapidly eroded in urban

areas:

47

“In the six months encompassed by this study there was

no instance observed in which board members knew a

registrant or his family.” (1969 Senate Hearings, p.

780).

A study by two staff members of the Marshall Commis-

sion, James W. Davis, Jr., and KennetH M. Do.peare,

LittLe Groups oF Neicupors: THE SELECTIVE SERVICE Sys-

rem (1969) (also printed in the Record of the 1969 Senate

Hearings), cites many of the factors which depersonalize

these so-called “local” boards. Aside from the wide gap

between members and registrants in age, occupation and

attitude, Davis and Dolbeare identified the residence of

board members as a factor:

“One indicator of the validity of the little groups of

neighbors image might be the extent to which local

board members reside in the local board area. The

study by Wamsley found that fully one-third of local

board members did not live in their jurisdictions and

only a few lived in a location that could be loosely

construed as ‘in the area.’” (1969 Senate Hearings,

p. 765).

In the urban setting, where racial and ethnic homogeneity

is usually a more important definition of “neighborhood”

than geographical boundaries, the prevalence of white

board members on draft boards in black neighborhoods

makes a mockery of the “neighbors” concept. Wamsley

illustrated this problem in his report:

“A major departure from the ‘friends and neighbors’

concept was found in a board covering a Negro neigh-

borhood. There were no Negro members on the board

and none of the members lived in the jurisdiction. The

48

Chairman who was the oniy member residing even ip

the ‘vicinity,’ lived in perhaps the last ‘all-white block’

to be found near the neighborhood, and had stated on

numerous occasions that he would resign before he

would allow a Negro to sit on the board.” (1969 Senate

Hearings, p. 781).*°

Registrants claiming prejudice by this procedure of

classification by non-neighbors of different racial back.

ground have been unable to obtain relief because of the

concept that even if improperly constituted such local

boards have de facto authority.”

Because the regulation requiring that members of local

boards “if at all practicable” be residents of the area

where the board has jurisdiction (32 C.F.R. §1604.52(c))

was widely violated, there are many cases holding that

improperly constituted local boards lack jurisdiction to clas-

sify registrants. United States v. Cabbage, —— F.2d —,

3 S.S.L.R. 3179 (6th Cir. July 31, 1970); United States v.

Beltran, 306 F. Supp. 385 (N.D. Cal. 1969) ; United States

v. Machado, 306 F. Supp. 995 (N.D. Cal. 1969); United

States v. Lemke, 310 F. Supp. 1298 (N.D. Cal. 1969) ; United

20The Marshall Commission reported that there were no Negro

members of local boards in the states of Alabama, Louisiana, or

Mississippi, where the Negro percentages of the population were

respectively 30.06, 31.9, and 42.0.

21 DuVernay v. United States, 394 F.2d 979 (5th Cir. 1968),

aff'd by equally divided court 394 U.S. 309 (1969); Clay v.

United States, 397 F.2d 901 (5th Cir. 1968), vacated and re-

manded on other grounds 394 U.S. 310 (1969); Sellers v. Me-

Namara, 398 F.2d 893 (5th Cir. 1968) cert. denied sub nom. Sellers

v. Laird, 395 U.S. 950 (1969) (see dissenting opinion of Mr. Jus-

tice Douglas) ; see also United States v. Brooks, 415 F.2d 502 (6th

Cir. 1969) ; Uniied States v. Johnson, 302 F. Supp. 584 (M.D. Pa.

1969) ; Gee v. Smith, 306 F. Supp. 891 (N.D. Ga. 1969).

49

States v. Clinton, I’. Supp. , Crim. No. 31857 (E.D.

La. April 21, 1970); United States v. Jones, F. Supp.

—, 2 S.S.L.R. 3392 (C.D. Cal. October 14, 1969) ; United

States v. DeMarco, —— F. Supp. , 2 S.S.L.R. 3204

(N.D. Cal. July 30, 1969) ; United States v. McMillan,

F. Supp. —, 2 8.8S.L.R. 43 (C.D. Cal. 1969) ; United States

y. Brock, —— F. Supp. ——, 3 S.S.L.R. 3125 (N.D. Cal.

February 26, 1970).

Other courts, however, have refused to require that the

residency requirements in the regulations be enforced.

Czepil v. Hershey, 425 F.2d 251 (7th Cir. 1969) cert. denied

— US. , 09 U.S.L.W. 3149 (October 12, 1970) ; Jessen

y. United States, 242 F.2d 213 (10th Cir. 1957); United

States v. Nussbaum, 306 F. Supp. 66 (N.D. Cal. 1969) ;

United States v. Fisher, 307 F. Supp. 7 (D. Conn. 1969).

The answer of the Selective Service System to this raft

of litigation has been simply to rescind the residency

requirements of §1604.52(c) of the regulations. Execu-

tive Order No. 11555, 35 Fed. Reg. 14191 (1970), has deleted

the requirement that local board members shall “if at all

practicable” be residents of the area where the board has

jurisdiction. Where the “little groups of neighbors” concept

was previously a rapidly dissolving illusion, it is now

officially abolished. The myth should not be allowed to

survive.

e. Growing Recognition by This Court of Adjudicative

Powers of Local Boards.

The history of selective service decisions by this Court,

from the World War II era to the present, demonstrates an

increasing recognition of the sweeping adjudicative powers

of local boards and the adversary nature of a personal

appearance. In Estep v. United States, 327 U.S. 114 (1946),

50

this Court insisted that selective service orders must be

subject to some measure of judicial review in order to

protect registrants against an “order which may be con.

stitutionally invalid, or unauthorized by statute or regula.

tion, or issued by mistake, or issued solely as the result of

bias and prejudice.” 327 U.S. at 126 (concurring opinion,

Murphy, J.). In United States v. Nugent, 346 U.S. 1 (1953),

it was ruled that a conscientious objector applicant was

entitled to “a fair resume of any adverse evidence,” id. at §

(emphasis added), because conscientious objector claims

involve “difficult analyses of facts and individualized judg.

ments, and there is always a possibility that such a claim

has been misjudged by the local board.” Jd. at 8. In Dickin-

son v. United States, 346 U.S. 389 (1953), the court noted

the great leeway given local boards in hearing and con-

sidering different categories of evidence and invalidated

local board action that was based on suspicion and specula-

tion.

Two years later, on March 14, 1955, this Court decided

four cases dealing with the selective service laws and their

administration.” In Witmer v. United States, 348 U.S. 375,

381-382 (1955), the Court outlined the differen. types of

“objective facts” and other evidence relevant to a determin-

ation of a conscientious objector applicant’s “veracity.”

Sicurella v. United States, 348 U.S. 385 (1955), demon-

strated that local boards can commit errors of law in

interpreting the proper legal criteria for determining

22 Chief Judge Hutcheson hailed “the four cases just decided...

[as] a new Magna Charta of liberties in conscientious objector

cases, a turning back from conviction by administrative absolutism

to conviction only in accordance with the tradition of due process

and the law of the land....” Olvera v. United States, 223 F.2d

880, 882 (5th Cir. 1955).

51

conscientious objector classification. Simmons v. United

States, 348 U.S. 397 (1955), and Gonzales y. United States,

348 U.S. 407 (1955), concerned the statutory right then in

existence” of a conscientious objector applicant to a Depart-

ment of Justice hearing. The court held it must be a

“meaningful hearing,” Gonzales, 348 U.S. at 415, where the

registrant would be entitled to receive in advance a fair

resume of the unfavorable evidence in order to enable him

to “defend against the adverse evidence—to explain it, rebut

it, or otherwise detract from its damaging force.” Simmons,

348 U.S. at 405. Moreover, the registrant was entitled to a

copy of the Department of Justice recommendation to the

appeal board so that he could “muster his facts and argu-

ments to meet . . . [the Government’s] contentions.”

Gonzales, 348 U.S. at 414. A fair hearing, this court held,

was “a fundamental safeguard” to which the registrant is

entitled. Simmons vy. United States, 348 U.S. at 406.*

8 Section 6(j) of the Universal Military Training and Service

Act of 1951 provided for referral to the Department of Justice

of all claims for conscientious objector classification which were

denied by local boards and appealed. The Department was di-

rected to conduct an “appropriate inquiry” and then “hold a

hearing with respect to the character and good faith of the objec-

tions of the person concerned . . .” 65 Stat. 83. The Military

Selective Service Act of 1967 completely eliminated this procedure.

*It is significant to note that all four of these 1955 decisions,

as well as the 1953 Nugent decision, involved Department of Jus-

tice hearings under the pre-1967 statute. The right to appear

with counsel at such hearings was acknowledged from the be-

ginning. See United States v. Nugent, 346 U.S. at 4, footnote 3,

and Record in Nugent case, page 54. See also, Smith and Bell,

The Conscientious Objector Program—A Search for Sincerity,

19 U. Pirr. L. Rev. 695, 702 (1958). Thus, all of the discussion

and ruling in conscientious objector cases prior to June 30, 1967,

oceurs in a context where the right to counsel is recognized at a

hearing which is a significant part of the process. See discussion,

infra, p. 73.

52

The next selective service decision by this Court was the

second Gonzales v. United States, 364 U.S. 59 (1960). The

court held, 5-4, that a conscientious objector applicant was

not ordinarily* entitled to a copy of the hearing officer's

report to the Department of Justice. The majority decision

was essentially a close analysis of the factual questions

before the board and an evaluation of whether there was

basis in fact for the board to have regarded some of the

registrant’s statements as inappropriately exaggerated,

In Seeger v. United States, 380 U.S. 163 (1965), this

Court construed the statute to apply new criteria for

qualification as a conscientious objector, thus providing

a new legal test for boards to invoke. At the same time

this court reiterated the importance of evaluating “the

threshold question of sincerity,” “a question of fact.” 380

U.S. at 185.

Oestereich v. Selective Service Board, 393 U.S. 233, 238

(1968), in the course of striking down lawless reclassifica-

tion action for punitive reasons, recognized that the

customary activity of a local board is the “exercis[ing] of

discretion . . . in evaluating evidence and in determining

whether a claimed exemption is deserved.” The companion

per curiam decision of Clark v. Gabriel, 393 U.S. 256, 258

(1968), emphasized the local board’s function, in conseien-

tious objector classifications, of fact determination and

exercise of discretion. McKart v. United States, 395 US.

2° As the court below observed, A. 35, fn. 2, the majority opinion

in the second Gonzales case recognized that production of the

hearing officer’s report might be required under other cirecum-

stances where its withholding would result in “actual unfairness.”

364 U.S. at 64. Applying Gonzales, the Second Cireuit held that

fairness required production in United States v. Purvis, 403 F.2d

555, 562 (1968).

53

185 (1969), listed a number of selective service classifica-

tion questions which involved local boards in the exercise

of discretion, 395 U.S. at 198, and ruled that the board

had in this ease made an incorrect legal interpretation of

the statutory exemption for a sole surviving son.

This past term in Gutknecht vy. United States, 396 U.S.

995 (1970), and in Breen vy. Local Board No. 16, 396 U.S.

460 (1970), this Court struck down the delinquency regula-

tions, 32 C.F.R. Part 1642, pointing out, inter alia, that their

invocation by local boards involved determinations of fact

and law totally without due process protections. In Welsa

y. United States, 398 U.S. 333 (1970), the legal criteria by

which boards must hear and determine claims of conscien-

tious objection were further refined, and in Mulloy v.

United States, 398 U.S. 410 (1970), this Court referred to

the work of the board as being that of “evaluative deter-

mination” and pointed out that “Because of the narrowly

limited scope of judicial review available to a registrant,

the opportunity for full administrative review is indispen-

sable to the fair operation of the Selective Service System.”

398 U.S. at 416.

We respectfully submit that this brief review of the

sixteen selective service decisions by this Court which have

dealt with local board functions over the past twenty-five

years reflects an increasingly critical observation of some

of the low visibility decision-making processes of selective

service local boards, and a corresponding articulation of

procedural rights requisite to making an adversary adjudi-

cative hearing into a fair hearing. It is particularly sig-

nificant, in the light of the repeated admonitions by the

Government that allowing the right of counsel would cause

untold litigious interruptions and a “constructive paralysis”

of the operations of the Selective Service System (Brief,

54

page 45), that these same arguments were repeated and

reiterated in virtually every one of the prior cases, but

uniformly rejected by this Court.

f. Judicial Recognition of the Unfairness of Adversary

Hearings Without Counsel.

No decision of this Court has discussed the problem

arising from the denial of counsel to a registrant at a

personal appearance. However, a number of decisions by

courts of appeals and district courts have recognized the

inherent unfairness to the selective service registrant of

the juxtaposition of adversary hearings with the pro-

hibition of counsel. In United States ex rel. Berman y,

Craig, 207 F.2d 888, 891 (3rd Cir. 1953), the court criticized

the local board for treating registrants “as though they

were engaged in formal litigation assisted by counsel.”

(Cited with approval by this court in Simmons vy. United

States, supra.) The same court, seventeen years later,

criticized a local board for exhibiting “an adversary policy

towards the defendant, as if he were an antagonist against

whom the board was on guard rather than a young man

dealing with his own government without the aid of

counsel... .” United States v. Turner, 421 F.2d 1251, 1254

(3rd Cir. 1970). Accord: United States v. Greene, 220

F.2d 792, 794 (7th Cir. 1955); United States v. Stafford,

389 F.2d 215 (2d Cir. 1968).

Judge MacMahon, of the Southern District of New York,

in two widely reported cases, has excoriated the denial of

counsel and the Selective Service System view that the

informal nature of the proceedings makes counsel un-

necessary. United States ex rel. Vaccarino v. Officer of the

Day, 305 F. Supp. 732, 736 (S.D.N.Y. 1969) (a “labyrinth

of statutes and regulations, which are inscrutable not only

—

55

to laymen but also to most lawyers ...”)** In Walsh v.

Local Board No. 10, 305 F. Supp. 1274, 1279 (S.D.N.Y.

1969), Judge MacMahon berated “the draft board’s over-

zealous, high-handed and erroneous handling of this young

man’s plight... .””

The frustrating dilemma facing district court judges

reviewing local board files, and noting the harmful effect

upon a registrant’s rights of the prohibition of counsel when

accompanied by limited judicial review, was aptly noted

by Judge Doyle in United States vy. Wierzchucki, 248 F.

Supp. 788, 790 (W.D. Wise. 1965) :

“It appears that the time may have come for re-

evaluation of the constitutional implications of the

closed circuit outlined above....

“This court considers that this motion to dismiss

presents a true dilemma, that the issue it raises is

** Judge MacMahon observed that it would take “a skilled

lawyer” to “glean from the murky language” that @ certain no-

tice had informed petitioner of his rights to a personal appearance

and an appeal. 305 F. Supp. at 735. Cf. United States v. Harris,

302 F. Supp. 1194, 1196 (D. Oreg. 1968).

27 Judge MacMahon observed further:

“(I]t is this kind of mistreatment which has alienated the

youth of the nation, bred disrespect for law, sparked the dis-

orders which have torn a gap between generations and ripped

open the very structure of society. It feeds the clamor for

abolition of the whole selective service system, from top to

bottom, not only yy mounting numbers of defiant young men,

but also by the President and many members of congress,

where no less than 43 bills to change the draft law are pend-

ing. At the very least, those entrusted with the awful power

of conseripting the nation’s young men into the armed forces

in time of war or other military venture owe a duty of the

most searching examination of the facts, scrupulous fairness,

sensitive care, compassionate hearing, patient consideration,

cautious action and deliberate and rational decision within

the law. We afford no less to the worst criminal in our so-

ciety.” Id.

56

genuine and profound, and that the resolution of the

underlying issue cannot and should not be avoided.” *

2. Since a Personal Appearance Is an Adjudicative Hearing

Affecting Substantial Rights, the Prohibition of Counsel |;

in Violation of the Constitutional Right, Arising From the

Fifth Amendment, to Minimum Standards of Due Process

at Such a Hearing.

a. An Adjudicative Hearing Is Not Lawful Unless at Least

the Constitutionally Minimum Standards of Due Process

Are Afforded.

(1) We have demonstrated above that a _ personal

appearance is substantially similar in all vital respects to

any other adjudicative hearing by an administrative

agency. This Court, on numerous occasions, has declared

that certain minimum due process rights are constitution-

ally guaranteed to “those who are brought into contest with

the Government in a quasi-judicial proceeding aimed at the

control of their activities.” Morgan v. United States, 304

U.S. 1, 18 (1938). Chief Justice Warren, writing for the

court in Hannah v. Larcke, 363 U.S. 420, 442 (1960), held:

“. .. when governmental agencies adjudicate or

make binding determinations which directly affect the

legal rights of individuals, it is imperative that those

agencies use the procedures which have traditionally

been associated wit’: the judicial process.”

“This Court has been zealous to protect these rights from

erosion ... not only in criminal cases . . . but also in all

28 Cited with approval in United States v. Freeman, 388 F.2d

246 (7th Cir. 1967). See also United States v. Schwartz, 143 F.

Supp. 639, 640 (E.D.N.Y. 1956) (failure to provide legal advisors

“for counsel as to his rights,” as required by regulation then in

effect, deprives registrant of valuable rights and requires finding

of not guilty).

57

types of cases where administrative and regulatory actions

were under scrutiny.” Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474,

497 (1959). It was pointed out in Hannah v. Larche, supra,

that the well-known distinction in administrative law

between administrative agencies acting in a rule-making or

investigative capacity, and agencies performing an adjudi-

catory function, had specific due process consequences.

Consequently, the Court ruled that certain due process

rights were not available in the investigatory and fact-

finding proceedings of the Civil Rights Commission, since

such rights were not customarily available “when Govern-

mental action does not partake of an adjudication.” 363

U.S. at 442.° The court elaborately discussed the dif-

ferences between the two kinds of proceedings and ex-

plained that the traditional safeguards of due process which

were held requisite in Morgan y. United States, supra;

Greene v. McElroy, supra; and Joint Anti-Facist Refugee

Committee v. McGrath, 341 U.S. 123 (1951), were all be-

cause “the government agency involved in each was found

by the Court to have made determinations in the nature of

adjudications affecting legal rights.” Hannah v. Larche,

363 U.S. at 451.

It could hardly be contested that a selective service

registrant at a personal appearance before his local board

is involved in a “proceeding aimed at the control of [his]

activities.” Morgan v. United States, supra. It is, likewise,

indisputable that a local board at a personal appearance

makes “binding determinations which directly affect the

legal rights of individuals.” Hannah v. Larche, supra.

_ * A limited right of counsel, including the right to appearance

in person with the person called before the Commission, and to

render advice concerning constitutional rights, was nevertheless

recognized by the Commission. Jd. at 431.

58

(2) That an administrative agency, for all its uncireun.

scribed rule-making or investigatory power, cannot adjudi-

cate personal or property rights without providing the

essentials of a fair hearing is virtually a first principle

of administrative law. This principle has been applied in

a large variety of administrative proceedings by this Court

and by lower federal courts. See, e.g., Goldberg v. Kelly,

397 U.S. 254 (1970) (termination of welfare benefits);

Londoner v. City of Denver, 210 U.S. 373 (1908) (tax

assessment) ;*° Goldsmith v. United States Board of Tar

Appeals, 270 U.S. 117 (1926) (license rights) ;** United

States v. Abilene € So. Ry., 265 U.S. 274 (1924) (pub.

lie utility rates) ;** Gonzalez v. Freeman, 334 F.2d 570

(D.C. Cir. 1964) (debarment of Commodity Credit con-

tractor) ;** Kwong Hai Chew v. Colding, 344 U.S. 590

°° See also Lipke v. Lederer, 259 U.S. 557 (1922); Central of

Georgia Ry. v. Wright, 207 U.S. 127 (1907); ef. Anniston Mfg.

Co. v. Davis, 301 U.S. 337 (1937) ; McGregor v. Hogan, 263 US

234 (1923).

51 See also Willner v. Committee on Character and Fitness, 373

U.S. 96 (1963); Bratton v. Chandler, 260 U.S. 110 (1922);

Hornsby v. Allen, 326 F.2d 605 (5th Cir. 1964).

32“Nor was the proceeding under review any the less an ad-

versary one because the primary purpose of the Commission was

to protect the public interest. ...” 265 U.S. at 289, per Cardozo, J.

33 See also Railroad Commission of California v. Pacific Gas &

Electric Company, 302 U.S. 388 (1938) ; Morgan v. United States,

supra; Ohio Bell Telephone Co. v. Public Utilities Commission of

Ohio, 301 U.S. 292 (1937); West Ohio Gas Co. v. Public Utilities

Commission of Ohio (No. 1), 294 U.S. 63 (1935).

’¢Then Circuit Judge Burger pointed out that “debarment is

not intended to punish but is a necessary ‘means for accomplishing

the congressional purpose’ of Commodity Credit to ‘aid in the

development of foreign markets for, agricultural commodities.’”

Id. at 577. This is a succinct refutation of the baseless contention

made in the Government’s brief (p. 39) that due process rights

need not be afforded selective service registrants because the pur-

pose of the personal appearance and classification is not “puni-

tive.”

59

(1953)** (deportation of alien) ;* Escalera v. New York

City Housing Authority, 425 F.2d 853 (2d Cir.), cert. denied

— US. —, 39 USLW 3149 (1970) (termination of

public housing tenancy and imposition of additional rent

charges); Parker v. Lester, 227 F.2d 708, 716 (9th Cir.

1955) (termination of merchant seaman’s employment:

“When it is proposed to take from a citizen through ad-

ministrative proceedings some right which he otherwise

would have, it has always been held that the constitutional

requirement is that he shall be afforded notice and an op-

portunity to be heard.”).*”

In the light of the foregoing, the suggestion in the

Government’s brief (p. 36, n. 25) that due process might

be satisfied without an opportunity to appear in person

appears almost incredible. This Court, in Goldberg v.

Kelly, supra, expressly held that the due process clause of

the Fifth Amendment guaranteed certain procedural rights,

the most fundamental of which was the right to be heard

and to be heard in a meaningful manner. 397 U.S. at

267-268.**

so“. . not even Congress may expel him without allowing him

a fair opportunity to be heard.” 344 U.S. at 598.

*° See also Wong Yong Sung v. McGrath, 339 U.S. 33, 50 (1950)

(“When the Constitution requires a hearing, it requires a fair

one, one before a tribunal which meets at least currently prevailing

standards of impartiality.”)

** See also Greene v. McElroy, supra.

* The case cited in the Government’s brief (at n. 25), Federal

Communications Commission v. WJR, 337 U.S. 265, 275-77 (1949),

presumably in support of its suggestion that a personal appearance

could be dispensed with entirely, is specifically distinguished by

this court in Goldberg v. Kelly, supra, n. 15, as one not involving

fact-finding or fact determination.

60

b. The Constitutionally Minimum Standards of Due Prog.

ess Require Recognition of the Right to Appear With

Counsel.

(1) The indisputable place of counsel in the adminis.

trative adjudicatory process is so widely acknowledged

and recognized that it is unusual to find a modern case*

where a court is called upon to rule on this question. Most

cases involving due process rights before administrative

agencies involve a factual setting where some right to

counsel was acknowledged or assumed, and the questions to

be decided were what additional due process rights were

required.” In Goldberg v. Kelly, supra, this Court held,

without any elaboration, as if to signify that it was virtually

self-evident, that any enunciation of the due process rights

of welfare recipients would be meaningless unless the right

to counsel were included. 397 U.S. at 270.

Decisions of this court dealing with the due process

rights of juveniles have made it very clear that even in

these noncriminal proceedings the right to counsel was

absolutely necessary to insure fair treatment. See Jn re

Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1966); Kent v. United States, 383 US.

5° As long ago as 1877, it was stated that “... however much

the forms of proceeding or the nature of the tribunal may be

changed, due process of law must necessarily include each and

all of these requisites” [including “right to counsel”]. Srory oy

THE CONSTITUTION (Cooley Ed.), at 668.

#9 See, e.g., Greene v. McElroy, supra; Hannah v. Larche, supra;

Morgan v. United States, 304 U.S. at 16; United States v. Nugent,

346 U.S. at 4, n. 3 (1953).

‘41 The Government’s brief, after unconvincingly attempting to

distinguish Goldberg v. Kelly (p. 48), then proceeds to criticize

the decision, particularly the court’s citation of Powell v. Alabama,

287 U.S. 45 (1932), p. 48, n. 39.

61

541 (1966). This Court held in Gault that “the juvenile

needs the assistance of counsel to cope with problems of

law, to make skilled inquiry into the facts, to insist upon

regularity of the proceedings ... .” 387 U.S. at 36. It is

respectfully submitted that the selective service registrant,

whether an 18- to 20-year-old “juvenile” or a 21- to 26-year-

old “adult,” likewise needs the assistance of counsel for

these very same purposes. In Kent v. United States, supra,

a decision rendered by this Court prior to the declaration

of full due process standards in Gault, the Court observed

that it might even be sufficient for a hearing in a juvenile

case to provide a lesser degree of due process than “the

usual administrative hearing ;” but the court made it clear

that even under this lesser standard the right of counsel was

so primary that it must be recognized. 383 U.S. at 561.”

Other federal agencies where the question of the right

to be represented by counsel has been raised have, with the

sole exception thus far of the Selective Service System,

been uniformly admonished by the courts to allow the

presence of counsel. See Bowles v. Baer, 142 F.2d 787, 789

(7th Cir. 1944) (Circuit Judge, later Mr. Justice, Minton

held it essential as part of any hearing that “The parties

are entitled to be present in person and by counsel... .”).

Accord: Hyun v. Landon, 219 F.2d 404, 406 (9th Cir. 1955),

aff'd 350 U.S. 990 (1956) (deportation proceeding; “ ... in-

dispensable to a fair hearing are reasonable notice, the

“The primacy of the right to counsel was emphasized by Mr.

Chief Justice Schaefer of the Illinois Supreme Court, in Federal-

ism and State Criminal Procedure, 70 Harv. L. Rev. 1, 8 (1956) :

“Of all the rights that an accused person has, the right to be

represented by counsel is the most pervasive, for it affects his

ability to assert any other rights he may have.”

62

right to examine witnesses and to testify and to present

witnesses and to be represented by counsel ... .”).*

In a series of cases involving the rights of parolees at

parole revocation hearings, the Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia has held that the statutory right of a

parolee to appear before the parole board for such purpose

would be totally ineffective and meaningless without the

right to counsel. Fleming v. Tate, 156 F.2d 848 (D.C. Cir.

1946) ; Moore v. Reid, 246 F.2d 654 (D.C. Cir. 1957) ; Hyser

v. Reed, 318 F.2d 225 (D.C. Cir. 1963). In Fleming v. Tate,

supra, the court reversed an administrative practice of

denying parolees the right to counsel which had been in ex.

istence since 1910. “The long administrative practice would

be compelling upon us if we did not consider the statute

plain and the issue vitally important.” 156 F.2d at 851.

Fleming v. Tate is often described as being based simply on

the words of the statute and without any constitutional

gloss. See Hyser v. Reed, supra. However, the court in

Fleming v. Tate gave explicit constitutional content to its

holding: “These two features, the presence of counsel and

the receipt of evidence, are the basic characteristics of our

whole system of administration of justice.” Id. at 850.“

43 See also Yiannopoulos v. Robinson, 247 F.2d 655, 657 (7th

Cir. 1957) ; ef. United States ex rel. Castro-Louzan v. Zimmerman,

94 F. Supp. 22, 26 (E.D. Pa. 1950); Ex parte Chin Loy You,

223 F. 833, 838-839 (D. Mass. 1915) (although no absolute right

to counsel in deportation proceedings, where counsel “seasonably

requests the privilege of being present . . . during the taking of

the evidence,” refusal of the request denied a fair hearing.)

44In Menechino v. Oswald, —— F.2d , No. 34665 (2d Cir.,

August 5, 1970), a majority of the Second Circuit held that the

acknowledged right of counsel in New York State parole revocation

proceedings could not be extended to allow counsel at parole appli-

cation hearings. Circuit Judge Feinberg dissented, holding that

there was such a right under Goldberg v. Kelly, supra, and Mempa

63

In accord are a number of decisions of state courts, in-

eluding the Supreme Court of Illinois, which held:

“Even if the statute did not provide a right to coun-

sel in a proceeding such as here, which could affect

one’s property rights, the right to counsel would be un-

deniable. Administrative as well as judicial proceed-

ings are governed by fundamental principles and re-

quirements of due process of law.”

Brown v. Air Pollution Control Board, 11 11).2d 450, 454, 227

N.E.2d 754, 756 (1967); cited with approval in Kammerer

y. Board of Fire and Police Commissioners, 44 Tll.2d 500,

956 N.E.2d 12, 14 (1970, per Mr. Justice Schaefer). See

also In re Henderson Harris, 69 Cal.2d ——, 446 P.2d

148 (1968) (civil commitment proceedings); Bancroft v.

Board of Governors, 202 Okla. 108, 210 P.2d 666 (1949)

(In hearing where Board has power to revoke dentist’s li-

cense, dentist may be represented by counsel.) ; Berkshire

Fine Spinning Associates vy. Label, 74 R.I. 6, 60 A.2d 871

(1948) (In proceeding under State Workmen’s Compensa-

tion Law, employee could have counsel if requested.) ; Wis-

consin Telephone Co. v. Public Service Commission, 232

Wise. 274, 287 N.W. 122 (1939) (A legislative act conferring

power upon Public Service Commission to issue order af-

fecting rights of citizens without opportunity to be heard

is invalid and the right to hearing includes counsel.) ;

v. Rhay, 389 U.S. 128 (1967). However, the entire court agreed

that the right to counsel was an essential ingredient of procedural

due process under the following circumstances:

“The type of interest protected by procedural due process

... is usually one presently enjoyed, e.g., welfare benefits . . .

occupation of premises .. . attendance at school ... status as

an alien immigrant . .. employment .. . or existence as a

charitable organization. ...” Slipsheet Opinion at 4089 (cita-

tions omitted).

64

People ex rel. the Mayor v. Nichols, 79 N.Y. 582, 588 (1880)

(“[{I]n no other way could the person sought to be removed

[from office] have a due hearing or ‘opportunity to be

heard’.”) ; People ex rel. Ellett v. Flood, 64 App. Div. 209,

71 N.Y. Supp. 1067 (3rd Dept. 1901); Almon v. Morgan

County, 245 Ala. 241, 16 So.2d 511 (1944) (Procedural due

process, whether in administrative authority or court, in.

cludes right to counsel if desired.); Bd. of Education y,

Kennedy, 256 Ala. 478, 55 So.2d 511 (1951) (In hearing

before Board of Education for dismissal of teacher, due

process includes right to counsel.).

Until June 30, 1967, there was an acknowledged right to

counsel for conscientious objector applicants appearing in

person before the Department of Justice hearing officer.

See United States v. Nugent, supra, 346 U.S. at 4, n. 3;

Storey v. United States, 370 F.2d 255 (9th Cir. 1966) ; Smith

& Bell, The Conscientious Objecior Program—A Search

For Sincerity, 19 U. Pirr. L. Rev. 695, 702 (1958); ef.

Petersen v. Clark, 289 F. Supp. 949, 952 (N.D. Cal. 1968)

(counsel allowed to appear at local board). The right to be

accompanied and advised by counsel at hearings occurring

at this vital stage*® of adjudication of conscientious objector

claims may well have ameliorated to some extent the pro-

hibition against counsel at the local board personal appear-

ance. Since mid-1967, however, a selective service regis-

trant has been totally stripped of any right to be accom-

4s “Observers sympathetic to the problems of the conscientious

objector have recognized that this provision in the statute im-

proves the system of review... .” United States v. Nugent, supra,

346 U.S. at 9. “As a result, a more objective and disinterested

approach to granting exemptions can be expected.” United States

v. Gearey, 368 F.2d 144, 148 (2d Cir. 1966). See Maegill, Selec-

tive Conscientious Objection: Divine Will and Legislative Grace,

54 U. Va. L. Rev. 1355, 1380, n. 98 (1968).

65

panied and advised by counsel when he is face-to-face with

those who must decide his fate.

(2) Without any real specification or explanation, the

Government argues at various places in its brief (p. 38,

p. 40, p. 47) that the right to counsel should not be recog-

nized for selective service registrants because of some no-

tion of selective service exceptionalism. Without identify-

ing the nature and dimension of the exception, much less

justifying it, the Government argues that regardless of

the due process standards which may be applicable to other

agencies, selective service is somehow different.

We respectfully submit that the Government is defending

a totally baseless myth which was created by the Selective

Service System for its own bureaucratic convenience. As

we have shown above, in all material respects selective

service local boards make decisions affecting personal and

property rights no differently from any other administra-

tive agency. Yet, because of the sedulous propagation of

selective service mythology, the Selective Service System

alone, of dozens, even hundreds, of federal administrative

agencies, appears to be the only administrative agency

whose regulations presume explicitly to prohibit the appear-

ance of counsel. We list in the footnote** thirty-four federal

** The right to be represented by counsel is guaranteed by stat-

ute in proceedings before the Civil Aeronautics Board, 49 U.S.C.A.

1481; Civil Rights Commission, 42 U.S.C.A. 1975a; Indian Claims

Commission, 25 U.S.C.A. 7@n; Interstate Commerce Commission,

49 U.S.C.A. 17(12) ; Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers Compen-

sation Board, 33 U.S.C.A. 919; National Railroac Adjustment

— 45 U.S.C.A. 153 j; Veterans Administration, 38 U.S.C.A.

Regulations acknowledge the right to counsel in the Atomic

Energy Commission, 10 C.F.R. 2.713; Board of Immigration Ap-

peals, 8 C.F.R. 3.1; Building and Defense Services Administration,

BDSA Reg. 5, Sec. 8; Civil Service Commission, 5 C.F.R. 22.601;

66

administrative agencies where the right to counsel is guar.

anteed by statute and/or regulations. Moreover, appel.

lee’s counsel respectfully advise the court that an exhans.

tive study has been made of the various federal agencies

and there does not appear to be a single instance, other

than selective service, where the right to counsel ig ex.

pressly prohibited. “This near-uniform judgment of the

Nation,” see Baldwin v. New York, 399 U.S. 66, 72 (1970),

should, in logic, place some reasonable obligation upon those

who would justify this unitary exception to come forward

and provide cogent reasons for its existence.” But, as we

Civil Service Commission (Voting Rights Program), 45 C.FR.

801.308; Commodity Exchange Commission, 17 C.F.R. 0.61; Dela-

ware River Basin Commission, 18 C.F.R. 401.42; Employees Com-

pensation Appeals Board, 20 C.F.R. 501.11; Federal Aviation Ad-

ministration, 14 C.F.R. 13.33; Federal Communications Commission,

47 C.F.R. 1.22; Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, 12 C.F R.

308.2; Federal Housing Administration. 24 C.F.R. 200.192; Federal

Maritime Commission, 46 C.F.R. 136.07-35; Federal Power Com-

mission, 18 C.F.R. 1.4; Federal Reserve Board, 12 C.F.R. 263.3;

Federal Tariff Commission, 19 C.F.R. 201.15; Federal Trade Com-

mission, 16 C.F.R. 4.23; Federal Water Pollution Control Adminis-

tration, 18 C.F.R. 606.8(d); Food and Drug Administration, 21

C.F.R. 2.58; Foreign Claims Settlement Commission, 45 C.F.R.

500.1; National Labor Relations Board, 29 C.F.R. 102.38; Packers

and Stockyards Act—Hearings Under Department of Agriculture,

9 C.F.R. 202.11¢; Patent Office, 37 C.F.R. 1.31; Securities Exchange

Commission, SEC Rules of Procedure #2; Small Business Ad-

ministration, 13 C.F.R. 103.13; Subversive Activities Control

Board, 28 C.F.R. 201.5; Tennessee Valley Authority, 18 C.F.R.

301.2(f) 2.

*7 Cf. Mr. Justice Frankfurter’s concurring opinion in Joint

Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341 U.S. 123, 149, 172

(1951) :

“That a hearing has been thought indispensable in so many

other situations, leaving the cases of denial exceptional, does

not of itself prove that it must be found essential here. But

it does place upon the Attorney General the burden of show-

ing weighty reason for departing in this instance from a

rule so deeply imbedded in history and in the demands of

justice.”

67

believe we have demonstrated, there does not exist any basis

for this exception in law or in fact.

Nevertheless, given the existence of some twenty years

of selective service mythology, it is not surprising that a

body of case law has developed which is said to be suppor-

tive of the selective service exception. See Government’s

brief, pages 36-38. It is surprising, however, how little real

discussion and analysis there is in any of these cases and

how readily distinguishable they are for a number of rea-

sons.

(3) The cases cited by the Government appear to be an

impressive array in support of the proposition that the

Constitution does not compel that a registrant be permitted

an attorney in Selective Service proceedings. Upon closer

examination, however, this array becomes much less im-

pressive ; indeed, none of the cases cited by the Government,

and none which counsel for appellee have been able to dis-

cover, can be said to have devoted to this issue any sem-

blance of the serious consideration which it requires.

Both United States v. Schwartz, 143 F. Supp. 639 (I.D.

N.Y. 1956), and United States v. Wierzchucki, 248 F. Supp.

788 (W.D. Wise. 1965), alleged by the Government to con-

tain dicta in support of its contentions, should properly be

read in precisely the opposite light. Schwartz dealt with a

defendant who asserted that he had been prejudiced because

his local board had failed to post the names of advisors to

registrants, at a time when Section 1604.41 of the Regula-

tions (32 C.F.R. 1604.41) made the appointment of advisors

and the posting of their names mandatory. The court held

that, because of the denial of counsel before the local board,

the registrant “must depend on the advisors for counsel

68

as to his rights to a proper classification,” 143 F. Supp,

at 640, and that failure to comply with the regulation was

thus so prejudicial as to require a finding of not guilty,

No opinion expressing such scrupulous concern that the

registrant have proper advice as to his rights can be taken

to support the contention that the registrant may be denied

counsel even where the appointment of advisors has be.

come discretionary.

Likewise, United States v. Wierzchucki, discussed supra

at p. 55, can hardly be said to support the Government's

position; the court merely notes the fact of denial of coun-

sel, and suggests great dissatisfaction with it. Finding the

record insufficiently developed, however, the court asserts

that it is unable to reach a decision on the point, and does

not do so.

A substantial number of the cases which the Government

cites devote not more than a sentence or two to the counsel

issue, often a mere conclusory statement. Perhaps most

extreme is United States v. T'antash, 409 F.2d 227, 228 (9th

Cir. 1967), in which the entire discussion of the point is as

follows: “Appellant was not entitled to be provided with

legal assistance in the selective service process. 32 C.F.R.

1624.1(b).” Other cases disposing of the counsel question

in a similarly cavalier manner, occasionally offering one or

two supporting precedents, but giving the issue no discus-

sion whatever, include Cassidy vy. United States, 428 F.2d

585 (8th Cir. 1970); United States v. Evans, 425 F.2d 302

(9th Cir. 1970) ; United States v. Willis, 409 F.2d 830 (5th

Cir.), cert. denied 396 U.S. 864 (1969); Chaney v. United

States, 406 F.2d 809 (5th Cir.), cert. denied 396 U.S. 867

(1969); Madera v. Board of Education, 386 F.2d 778 (2d

Cir. 1967), cert. denied 390 U.S. 1028 (1968), which was not

69

a selective service case;* United States v. Mendoza, 295

F. Supp. 673 (E.D.N.Y. 1969); United States v. Heljenek,

975 F. Supp. 579 (E.D. Pa. 1967) ; United States v. Koval-

chick, 255 F. Supp. 826 (E.D. Pa. 1966).

Others of these cases appear to deal only with the right

to counsel in the selective service appellate process, such

as both the Capson eases, United States v. Capson, 347 F.2d

959 (10th Cir.), cert. denied 382 U.S. 911 (1965), and Capson

y. United States, 376 F.2d 814 (10th Cir.), cert. denied 389

U.S. 901 (1967); and Imboden vy. United States, 194 F.2d

508 (6th Cir.), cert. denied 343 U.S. 957 (1952).

Moreover, the Capson cases both dealt only with the ques-

tion of whether the right to counsel in criminal cases

guaranteed by the Sixth Amendment extended to selective

service proceedings; this is made clear at the very outset

of the earlier of the two, United States v. Capson, supra, in

the court’s statement that Capson’s claim was “That he was

denied the assistance of counsel, as guaranteed by the VI

Amendment...” 347 F.2d at 960. Other cases considering

only the Sixth Amendment contention include Camp v.

United States, 413 F.2d 419 (5th Cir.), cert. denied 396

U.S. 968 (1969) ; McCoy v. United States, 403 F.2d 896 (5th

Cir. 1968) ; Haven v. United States, 403 F.2d 384 (9th Cir.

1968), cert. dismissed 393 U.S. 1114 (1969); Merritt v.

United States, 401 F.2d 768 (5th Cir. 1968); Nickerson v.

United States, 391 F.2d 760 (10th Cir.), cert. denied 392

U.S. 907 (1968).

In none of these cases is serious attention given even

to the Sixth Amendment contention. See infra, pp. 81-88.

Typical of the opinions is that in Merritt, asserting that

““Furthermore,” as the court below correctly noted, “to the

extent that the Madera case relies on Selective Service cases for

authority it is for present purposes circular.” A. 39.

70

“The procedure under the draft law and classification by a

local board is in no way penal, nor is it a criminal trial

with the right to be represented by counsel, and to call, ex-

amine, and cross-examine witnesses.” 401 F.2d at 769.

There is no discussion of the many quasi-judicial and ad-

judicatory functions which are in fact performed by the

local board, as discussed supra pp. 43-45; the language

is directly traceable to dictum in Ex parte Stanziale, 138

F.2d 312, 314 (3rd Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. Stanziale y.

Paullin, 320 U.S. 797 (1943), a wartime case which ex-

pressed no opinion as to the constitutionality of the denial

of counsel, but merely was acknowledging the existence of

the regulations and the state of war.

In some of tiie cases, it was held that denial of counsel

could not be alleged as a ground of prejudice, because no

request for counsel had been made at the time of appear-

ance; this is so in United States v. Richmond, 274 F. Supp.

43 (C.D. Cal. 1967); elsewhere, not only had counsel not

been requested, but the registrant did not allege that lack

of counsel had prejudiced him. In many of the latter cases,

as in Stanziale, supra, the courts cannot be said to have

expressed any opinion on the constitutionality of the denial

of counsel; they merely recited the existence of the prohibi-

tion in outlining the situation faced by the registrant.

Representative of the utterly gratuitous remarks on counsel

*°TIt should further be remembered that this 1943 case, which

the Government cites repeatedly (Brief pp. 38-39) as its standard-

bearer, was decided at a time when there was virtually no judicial

review of selective service cases; Estep v. United States, 327 US.

114, was not decided until three years later. The completely dif-

ferent jurisprudential world prevailing at the time of the Stanziale

decision is vividly demonstrated by the court’s remarks that the

Government had won all but three cases since the adoption of

the Act in 1940—and that the Government had enjoyed the same

statistical experience with the World War I draft act. 138 F.2d at

314, n. 5.

_—

occasionally to be found in this area is that in United States

y. Pitt, 144 F.2d 169, 172 (8rd Cir. 1944) :

“While a denial of the right to counsel in a judicial pro-

ceeding would constitute a denial of due process, the

proceedings before the selective service agencies are

not within that category. It will be observed moreover

that ... he at no time requested the Board to permit

counsel to appear in his behalf. He does not assert that

his lack of counsel is evidence of denial of due process.”

(emphasis added.)

71

Similar to Pitt in the immateriality of their remarks on

counsel are Lehr v. United States, 139 F.2d 919 (Sth Cir.

1943), and United States v. Miller, 143 F. Supp. 712 (N.D.

W.Va.), aff'

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Appellees Brief — United States v. Weller · 401 U.S. 254 | Frix