Brief for the United States — Gojack v. United States

Supreme Court brief1966

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

lied ys Pm on fe

om rae 4

S: pe gee Nl TRE Ez ais x itt 3

es GUAT Te eT ese i teas

+3 ede, |

weer eee eacesueseocs Seocba o-

of pay ryad’s vipa

~- -----

- :

excites.

mt od) 1o 9) 3 tgatimony! ni ise privi-

alan a ial Jeged) in ‘aid of an investigation

ye ied | inte atiy proper subject of con-

i segoliaca g. ae

get x »o |) tional security against subver-

me a no? enegvaameties of the Communist

mh 1hiM Party in general—and such ac-

heh ©) -tevities in the labor movement

8 ecg) i particular—is a proper sub-

ge RICH TED ND Only} ee erenienel considera-

8. An yen “ot Communist

0 Snfiteration of labor unions is.

&.Ofl) PoMas “therefore,” > hoe Congress’ .

power:

B, The purpose of the questioning of peti

pres tioner was to elicit information relevant

“4 -. to @ valid subject of legislation—rather

_. than to expose him for the sake of

S erechag sotnd os sont aad

(safe,

by the First Amendment... cae

II. The procedures of the investigating committee in _

this case were regular and proper, and furnish

no ground for reversing Petitionen's contempt —

conviction. .....-

A. The Committee approved the investiga-

tion. .of which the hearings at which

petitioner appeared were a part... __.

B. There was a proper delegation to the sub- _

_, committee of authority to conduct the _

hearings_ ;

C. Petitioner's claim that he was not ap-

prised by the Committee of the per-

tinency of the questions that he refused

‘to answer is not properly before this

Court and, in any event, lacks merit_. -

1. Having failed to challenge the

pertinency of the questions be-

fore the Committee, petitioner

cannot now claim that he was

not apprised of their pertinency.

2. Petitioner was apprised of the

pertinency of the questions. ---

D. Petitioner was adequately apprised that

his objections, to the Committee’s juris-

diction had been rejected

III. The indictment sufficiently alleged the authority |

of the subcommittee__.....-..-...---------

eens

; Amen (imino Aine vi needa 339 US.

30, 31, 32, 36, 39, 58, 59

al In re, 366 US. 82 34

* Anderson v. Dunn, 6 Wheat. 204 24

. Aptheker v. Secretary of State, 378 U.S. 500 34

Arizona vy. California, 283 U.S. 423_...22.--.....-.. 41

Barenblatt v. United States, 360 US. 109 16,

| - 18, 19, 21, 41, 42, 49, 51, 52, 54, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61,

65, 73, 75, 76, 80.

sg United States ex rel. Ounningham, 279 U.S.

aoaer United States, 167 F. 2d 241, certiorari denied,

334 U.S. 843__..2- anne atts wes oe yale (46, 87

Bart v. United States, 349 U.S. 219 84

Beilan v. Board of Publie Education, 357 U.S. 399__.. 34, 58

Braden v. United States, 365 U.S. 431 16,

21, 51, 56, 57;'58, 59, 61, 66

Briggs v. MacKellar, 2 Abb. Pr. 30

Carlson v. Landon, 342 U.S. 524

Chapman, In re, 166 U.S, 661

Communist Party v. Subversive Activities Control Board,

OT Rite i AT BaR. wntulis dadcds 21, 33, 35, 58

Cummings v. Missouri, 4 Wall. 277 ,

DeGoagery.v. New Hampshire, No. 396, this Term, de-

cided April 4, 1966

Dennis v. United States, No. 502, October Term, 1965,

pending on writ of certiorari. ---

Dennis v. United States, 171 F. 2d 986, affirmed on

other grounds, 339 U.S: 162

Dennis v. United States, 341-U.S. 494

Flemming v. Mai 363 U.S. 603

Galvan v. Press, 347 U.S. 522

t Garende ¥. Baird of Sugervioors, 361. U2. 90.2. Jae

“Gibeen ¥. rey oo, tie auth rm

21,97,

Gejeck ¥. etied Satie: 200 B. avdis.......2 ee,

Hale v. Henkel, 201 UB OB. Sivteuiesiel. ial

5

Jurney v. MacCracken, 204 US. 125_...- 2.222222.

Kilbourn v. Thoimpeon, 103 US. 168_... 28, 24, mms

Koenigsberg v. State Bar; 366 US. 36-_... 22.2... 22: u

Kune v. New York, $40 US. 200.2... 2..--- Geral gy |

Latweon v. United States, Aves es; certiorari denied,

NAACP. v. nbicaii Sa U.S. 415

Norris v. United States, 257 U.S. 77

Osman v. Douds, 339 U.S. 846.-.1-.22 2202S. 0.222 é Fy

People v. Keeler, 00 N.Y. 463.2. -2- Qos lk SS SHSS sus.

Quinn v. United States, 349 U.S. 155 |

Russell v. United States, 369 US. 749... .1, 4, 15, 20; 86,

Sacher v. Lalted: Siatey): 298 F- 2d 828, ‘toversed, S00 |

257%

Gidlee ¥. United States, 367 U.S. 2032_0-lu Gh. Dane 2 WS

Shelton v. United States, 280 F. an day sbduncedeal

other grounds sub nom, gate vi ee States,

369 US. 39-2. 24 --+ nuk whkGlo. paus. Lu tea

mares No Bomanas: sane

Tenney v. Brandhove, 341 US. 367

Townsend v. United States, 95'F. elog. rib cottiereat

denied, 303 U.S. 664212. 2.1 20. .u o2

salad

tot

Viv

om Oostnnel _ Rese

United States;v. Brown, 381 Us a see) 3, 35, 48

ge oat 58, reversed, 174 F.

9 US 323... ...-...-.. 46, 58, 72, 73

: ~ oat Z na 1Co.,304U.S.144.... 64

: hae ri 246US. 374... cimek

United States v. Fleischman, 339 US. 349_....... 46, 72, 73

» A nited States -v,: Josephson, 165:F. 24 82, certiorari.»

denied, 335 U.S. Shih ooeth demsaiss ee om te ee i 57

"United States vy. Kamin, 136 ¥. Supp. Msiatisia«e _ 58, 73

United States v. Lamont, 236 F. 2d 212.......... 85, 90, 91

United States v. Lattimore, 215 F. 2d 847 Si peas: GE i... &

United States v. Lovelt, 3228 U.S, 303. .3:-..--. 222-21 48

United States v: Orman, 207 F. 2d 148. paieshtonces allie 57

United States v. Rumely, 345 US. 41.........-.. 25, 27, 28

United States v. Seager, 303 F.2d 478. -.. 69, 85, 01, 92

Uphaue v. Wyman, 360 U.S. 72... ......... 45, 51, 54, 58

Watkins v. United States, eT er eee 22,

» 88, 42, 45, 50, 51, 55, 62, 64, 73

\Whitman v. United States, No. 10, October Term, 1961. °° 86

Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357__.-..----- woo talicn QE

Wilkinson v. United, States, 365 U.S. 399......-.-... 16,

21, 41, 49, 51, 56, 50, 61, 66

Constitution: .

MOTE b, COCUI Bac caccwnnecesnes <issutnhninams 8

Article I, Section 9. .....- i065 tee e cee 18, 48, 61, 75

‘First Amendment. .. .._.__ "Aid < bielbiediatiabbetioe inetin st 8,

9, 10, 23, 22, 61, 52, 53, 57, 58, 75, 76

Fifth Amendment... 2. 2.5 2 on cence ene 9, 16, 35, 51

Fourteenth Amendment. . 5... 2.05... cok. se le 58

Statutes and rules:

Communist Control Act of August 24, 1954, c. 886,

68 Stat. 775, § 2 (60 U.S.C. 841)___.........--.. 29, 39

Internal Security Act of 1950, § 5,50 U.S.C. 784.... 33

Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act,

Sec. 504, 73{Stat. 536, 29 U.S.C. 504............-- 31, 39

Legislative ion Act of 1946, 60 Stat. 828._ 88, 89

National Labor ions Act (Act of July 5, 1935),

¢. 372, as amended by the Labor Management Re-

lations Act {of June 23], 1947, c. 120, § 101, 61 Stat.

146, § 9(h) (29 U.S.C. 159(h)).. Sip WO alicia ea 30, 31, 39

vr’

Statutes and rules—Continued Dott ok am |

“Subversive ‘Activities’ Control’ Aot’ of 1950)" aot atts

September 23, 1950, 64 Stat. 987, as amended by”

the Act of August 24, 1954, § 10, 68 Stat. 778, 60

US.C. Whale ESLER Swetessoceccu ap?

i>» 2 i 5 &

Revised Statutes, 102, 3USC.} eed a, ey 19, solan

Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure: Rule 7(c)-. 22. 3a

Rules of Procedure of the House Committee on Un- | hy

- American Activities:

‘Rule I... -- AUS ABLE IO 3, 19,8

Rule XI of the House of Representatives, 60 Stat.

OG ese tL be ae 3, 4, 18, 49, 50, 68, 9

Congressional materials: ©

Hearings before the Committee on Un-American ”

Ast. Sess., ner Investigation of Commnaiien®

Miecellcneous,

House a on Un-Amerioan Activities, 1984

Oupiakilagl

Power of Investigation, 40 Harv. L. Rev. 153__ 23, 24, 25,8

eo cael

from the CIO, compiled by the

Pouleie Dept., CIO (Sept. 1954, p. 18). .....--.2. “8

tia

- ee oy SES ee 8 eS Fee Oe eS

ypeeios Uses. fossa ¢e} i ce LE ced sd

pA ’ > Ms

belt sat Hoidteey. aE

9 ih

nt of eed Sai

Corona "Teta, 19655 *

Seats Tt Gotaor, PETITIONER

v.

Uxrem fais OF Anmmnr0a.

Sie

ee ae

ON WRIT OF CBRTIORARI TO THE UNITBD STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA OIROUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals on the judg-

ment under review (R, 419-424) is reported at 348

F. 2d 355; the district court’s opinion (R. 206-208) is

not reported. The first opinion of the court of ap-

peals is reported at. 280 F. 2d 678, and the opinion

of this Court reversing the court of appeals’. first

decision (sub nom. Russell v, United Aen 9 is re-

ported at 369 U.S. 749.

® ysupRisprcrron

The judgment of the court of appeals (R. 424) was

entered on May 27, 1965, and a petition for rehearing

was denied on July 23, 1965 (R. 435). On July 30,

1965, Mr. Justice White extended the time for: filing

(1)

a petition for a writ of certiorari to and ix

September 21, 1965 (R. 436). The acai va

wie $i Bn pe jab i

invoked under 28-1J9.C, 1245(1),,...

Petitioner was convi¢ted ‘of contempt of Congres

by reason of having refused (not on: self-incrimin

tion grounds) to testify at a hearing of a subcom-

mittee of the’ Odrminittée on Un-American Activities

ee

ene OTR x er needy Bis Mik iod

if

1. Whether the octane Pend! the power

of Gieupretin” vei Abaca acted "wsdnw boii

legislative purpose but Was conducted solely for A

sake of exposure.

2. Whether. subpoenaing petitioner to testify at the

hearing constituted a ‘forbidden bill of attainder.~

"8. Whether Rule XT of the House of Represents |

tives~the thandate of the House Un-American Activ :

ties Corimittee—is unconstitationally vague.

4. Whether petitioner’s refusal to testify was pt

tected by the First Amendment.

IT

5. Whether the Committee (a) authorized the tb

vestigation in question and (b) delegated au i0ri

to condtict it to the ‘subcommittee ‘before which ot

tioner appeared.

iy ae ‘

ree

ee 8

oo: Whether petitioner’ wat adequately apprised of

neers soca que that he refused to

sneer. SEATS

r ei etdtbbebtiniieie’ ‘stequalily apprised that the

eee At ke eeeninnd es sone

ing the questions. ©

Tit

8. Whether the indictment sufficiently alleged the

seboomamitten: 's authority. .

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

en aes

The pertinent portions of 2 U.S.C. 192, Rule XI of

the Rules of the House of Representatives, Rule 7(c)

of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, and

Rule I of the Rules of Procedure of the House Com-

mittee on Un-American Activities are printed in the

appendix to petitioner’s brief. See, also, p. 89, n. 58.

INTRODUCTION

Petitioner was summoned as a witness before a

hearing conducted early in 1955 by a subcommittee of

the Committee on Un-American Activities of the

House of Representatives as part of an investiga-

tion of Communist activities in the labor field: He

refused to. answer a number of questions put to him

by the subcommittee, on a number of different grounds

(not including self-incrimination). He was convicted

upon an indictment returned in December 1955, of

having wilfully refused to answer six questions per

tinent to matters under inquiry by the Committee, in

4

violation of 2 U.S.C, 192. The conviction was’

turned by this Court sub nom. Russell v. Unite

States, 369 U.S. 749, on the ground that the -iz

ment was defective. He was reindicted for the sam

offense and again convicted. The court of appek

affirmed, and the case is here on certiorari.

Bhi

I, THE . FACTS

A. THE BACKGROUND OF THE INVESTIGATION )

As part of a continuing investigation into Com

munist activities in the labor field, including infiltr.

tion into labor organizations and- dissemination-¢t

Communist labor propaganda, the House Un-Amer

ican Activities Committee had been engaged inter

mittently in investigating alleged Communist

activities by officials of the United Electrical, Raia

and Machine Workers of America (U.E.) from

August 1949 until February 1955 when petitioner

appeared before the Committee (GX 11, 13; R. I);

It had received sworn testimony in 1951 from om

Decavitch, a long-time district president of the U.B

and a former member of the Communist Party, that

the Communist Party had infiltrated the union to the

extent that, of its important officials, ‘‘99.9 percent”

were “pure Communist Party members” (R. 17-18).

In July 1953 another former Communist Party

member, Jack Davis, who had been an organizer for

7 Rule XI of the House of Representatives, 60 Sta

H. Res. 5, 84th Congress, authorizes the Committee to investi

gate un-American and subversive propaganda and

It is set forth in pertinent part at p. 89, n. 58, infra

> eee

5

the UB, testified that all of the U.E. organizers who

attended meetings were members of the Communist

Party (R. 18-19). Before petitioner was sub-

poenaed, the Committee had information that he was

a vice-president of the national union and the presi-

dent of District 9 (R. 19).

On February 9, 1955, at a meeting of the Gani

mittee held from 10 a.m. to 11 a.m. that day, seven

members present, a motion was made and passed that

petitioner be subpoenaed to appear “before a Sub-

committee of the Committee on Internal Security’’

(sic) in open hearings at Fort Wayne, Indiana. At

the same meeting, the Chairman of the Committee

(Congressman Walter) appointed a subcommittee to

conduct the Fort Wayne hearings (GX 5, R. 212-213;

R. 10). On January 20, 1955, the Committee, in

executive session, eight of the nine members being

present, had adopted a resolution that its Chairman

be authorized to appoint subcommittees “for the pur-

pose of performing any and all acts which the Com-

mittee as a whole is authorized to perform” (GX 4,

R. 209).

On February 9, 1955, the Committee announced that

hearings would begin in Fort Wayne, Indiana, on

February 21 (R. 94, 123-124). A newspaper account

mentioned petitioner, who was a resident of Fort

§ Wayne, as a prospective witness (R. 123, 407). On

February 10, Congressman Walter received a tele-

gram from petitioner protesting on behalf of the

union the scheduling of the hearings for February

21, in view of a National Labor Relations Board elec-

tion scheduled to be held at the Magnavox plant on

February 24, 1955, involving the U-E. and rival

(GX 9, R, 125-127). The telegram claimed, among

other things, that the hearing would be a “flagrant

use of a Congressional Committee for union-busting’

that “we have every right to ask whether the May

navox Company is paying for this: Congressional »

sistance in union-busting,’’ and that the Committ,

was run by ‘‘publicity-mad. zealots” who ‘‘tarnigh”

On February 14, 1955, George Goldstein, U.B

Washington. representative, sought a continuaneg of

tioner’s telegram, Mr. Goldstein’s request was heani

before the Committee at a recorded session (R. 5- §

116, 119), at which the Chairman told Mr. Goldstea

that the Committee had first learned of the NLRB

election when the Chairman received petitioner’s tek

gram (R. 116). The following exchange then -

place (R. 116).

Mr. Gotpsrern. Let me just say this. ist

as I am concerned, this visit of mine was ‘sim

ply for the purpose of asking the question thi

I mentioned a moment ago, whether or not you

were aware of [the NLRB] election, and if ba

to tell you about it, and to say this: that 1

looked to us and it would look to a lot of pa

ple as though the coincidence of the two was

more than a coincidence. Now, I am saying

that without accusing you.

Chairman Water. I docznt-eare:if.yaie

cuse me or not. I do not care what you haw

to say about me. -But this telegram said yey

definitely that this was a case ©: lis

?

Now, there is no one on this committee inter-

-; ested. in busting unions. All of us have very

© sible reat bt ll of us are inte

Although repeatedly asked to do so (R. 117-119), Mr

Goldstein refused to state any definite knowledge he

might have about an NLRB election. The Committee

adjourned without any action being taken (R. 119).

Petitioner’s subpoena to appear at the February 21

hearing, dated February 10, was served upon him on

February--15,-1995_-(R.-14, -95).—-The next--day,-the

eounsel for the Committee, Frank Tavenner, received

a telegram from an attorney representing petitioner

whieh requested a continuance until “any time after

next week” because of the attorney’s heavy schedule

and the impending NLRB election at the Magnavox

Company (R. 14). The request was at first denied:

But, after further communication between counsel,

Mr, Tavenner inquired into the proposed election and

explained the situation to Chairman Walter, who

agreed that the hearings be postponed (R. 15). By

Committee resolution of February 23, 1955, the hear-

ings were rescheduled for February 28, 1955, in Wash-

ington, D.C. (Gov’t Ex. 7, R. 215). Petitioner’s

counsel was notified of the rescheduling and a new

subpoena was issued and served on petitioner (R. 15-

16).

B. THE QUESTIONING OF PETITIONER

Petitioner appeared on February 28 and March 1,

1955, before the subcommittee (see p. 5, supra) in

8

Washington, D.C... Upon convening the subcommil

on the morning of February 28, Representatiy

Moulder, the chairman, explained the purposes of thy

hearing as follows (R. 219) :* i

There will be considered, at this

testimony relating to Communist Party nt

ties within the field of labor, the methods used

by the Communist Party to infiltrate labo

organizations, and the dissemination of Com-

munist Party propaganda.

There was testimony that petitioner was present when

the hearing began (R. 103-109). Before the first

witness, Julia Jacobs, was sworn, her attorney filet

with the Committee, on her behalf and on behalf of

two other clients of his, petitioner and Lawrence

Cover, also subpoenaed to appear before the subcom-

mittee (R. 220), a motion “for incorporation in the

record” (DX 1; R. 83, 405-406) claiming that th

Committee did not have a valid legislative purpos;

that no criminal charges had been made against th

three witnesses and that, in any event, under Article]

Section 3 of the Constitution only the courts can ir

vestigate crime; that the Committee’s authorizing re

olution did not give it the power to engage in break

ing a union and that, if it purported to confer this

power, it violated the First Amendment; that the

2X 12 is the record of the Hearing before the Commie f

on Un-American Activities, House of Representatives, SH

Congress, 1st Sess., entitled Jnvestigation of Communist Acti

ties in the Fort Wayne, Ind., Area. The hearings appear #

two points in the record. Portions appear at R. 42-82 as mal

by government counsel below, and the complete hearing |

as relevant to this case at R. 216-400.

authorizing resolution was uneonstitutionally vague;

and that compulsory disclosure of political beliefs and

associations violated the First Amendment.

At the outset of petitioner’s testimony on February

28; he objected that the investigation did not have “a

bona’ fide legislative purpose” (R. 242). After a

colloquy concerning “union busting,” Congressman

Doyle, a member of the subcommittee, told petitioner

that “{iJf you will tell us the truth and the facts

about the extent to which there are Communists in

your union, that will be helpful. * * * We want to

know if you are a Communist and the extent to which

you have been” (R. 254-255). Petitioner testified

that he was still president of district council 9, vice-

president of the national union, and a member of its

general executive board (R. 261-262).

When asked whether he had ever been a& member of

the Communist Party while holding any of these un-

ion offices, petitioner stated that the Committee did

not have the “right to investigate my political be-

liefs or affiliations, especially so when its purpose is

union-busting” (R. 263). The question was re-

phrased several times, but he stil] refused to answer,

citing as ground for his refusal to answer that he had

signed affidavits annually from 1949 to 1954 that he

was not a Party member, and that the question vio-

lated the First Amendment (R. 262, 264). Petition-

ér was then asked. whether he had ever been a mem-

ber of the Communist Party (R; 265), and again in-

voked the First Amendment, disclaiming any reliance

on the Fifth Amendment (R. 266). He was also

asked whether he had been a Party member at any

10

time during 1948 (R. 268), end he refused to sawn

purpose (R. 268). He then refused to say whether

he was “‘now a member of the Communist Party,’*@

the grounds that his affidavit stated that he was net

a Communist, that the question violated the Fin

Amendment, and that “I am not going to cooper

with union busters” (R. 269-270). mae hearings ae

then adjourned for the day.

Petitioner wos the first witnens whet the hen

Were resumed on March 1, 1955, After further que

tions about Communist activities in labor unions (R

271-278, 276), the Committee asked whether peti

tioner had attended a union meeting in 1946 at whid

he presented a letter written to him by the secretary

of the Communist Party (R. 277). The Committe

read to petitioner the minutes of the meeting, whik

said that a letter had been sent to ‘Brother Gojack”

from the secretary of the Party offering to donates

hundred copies of the Daily Worker. Petitioner could

not recall these events, nor could he recall who wa

the Party secretary or chairman in Indiana at th

time (R. 280). Petitioner repeated his objection

to the hearings on the ground that they had no legs

lative purpose and violated the First Amendments

well as that they exceeded the authority given th

Committee by Congress (R. 283). ‘The Commitie

counsel asked petitioner whether he was acquainted

* This refusal formed the basis of count one of the prea

indictment. See p. 15, infra. The other questions on which t

indictment was based are indicated in the text, ~

a

with Elmer Johnson * (R. 280). Congressman Scherer

stated that “[yJou have left us under the impression

at this point that by reading the newspapers you

knew that Johnson was chairman of the Communist

Party of Indiana and I am asking you if that is the

only way that you knew Johnson” (R. 287). Peti-

tioner refused to answer this question (count two).

He based his refusal on the ground of the Committee’s

alleged use of paid informers, whom he called liars,

on the First Amendment, and on the Committee’s

lack of authority under its authorizing resolutions

to break a union (R. 289-290).

mittee had used a “paid liar's testimony to try to

break [a) strike,” petitioner refused to say whether he

knew Henry Aron‘ on the same grounds that he had

refused to answer the earlier questions, particularly

the First Amendment and the Committee’s use of in-

formers (R. 293-294). He was subsequently asked,

and refused to answer on the basis of the First Amend-

ment, whether Johnson or Aron had ever addressed

& group of people when petitioner was present (count

three) (R. 296). Petitioner was also questioned

concerning the State Department’s refusal to issue

him a clearance in 1952 on security grounds (R. 305,

310, 319, 321-324, 334-338). During this discussion,

after petitioner objected that the Committee was at-

*The Committee had heard testimony that Eimer Johnson

was the chairman of the Communist Party in Indiana (R. 21).

"The Committee had heard testimony that Henry Aron was

the secretary of the Communist Party in Indiana (R. 19-90).

213-355-—¢8-—__

12

tempting to find him guilty without a trial, Cor .

man Doyle stated (R. 327): the

[W]e are not here finding anybody guilty,

: aie wetiae etiweeinp. of Chaplain

to find out the extent to. which

have infiltrated your union, if they have—the

union of which you are the executive vice p

dent. That is what we are here for, |

man; not to find you guilty of anything, but

find out the extent to which you know of ph

munist domination or control in your union, if

there is such domination and control or

infiltration.

Petitionse testified that he knew a Russell Nixon,

\ bat when askec whether he knew Nixon to be a Party

member, petitioner said that he knew him as legisla.

tive representative of the U.E. in Washington‘

Petitioner said that he would not answer questions

concerning political beliefs and affiliations because the

Committee lacked jurisdiction (R. 340-342). He then

refused for the second time to say whether he knew

Russell Nixon to be a member of the Communist

Party (count four), on the ground that the Commit-

tee’s authorizing resolution did not give the Commit-

tee power to expose people (R. 341-342).

The Committee’s counsel handed petitioner a letter

to him from Russell Nixon, sent immediately after a

“peace pi pilgrimage” to Washington, enclosing a letter

~ ‘Nixon. had earlier appeared as a witness before the Com-

mittee and refused to answer questions concerning his alleged

Communist Party activities (R. 73-76), Dorothy Funan, s

former member of the Communist Party, had testified befor

eS ON eee

13

the Metal Workers Trade Union, an organiza-

tion tha the Committee had reason to believe was

munist-dominated (R. 350, 352-357). Petitioner

F that hé Shad sent the latter letter, which

praised the Stockholm peace appeal, to locals of the

U.E. (R. 360). Committee counsel noted that peti-

tioner had said that he had been involved in many

meetings on behalf of peace, and informed petitioner

that the Committee believed that the Communist

Party had been involved in the Stockholm peace ap-

peal and similar activities (R. 361). Petitioner then

refused to answer the question whether he had taken

“an active part in the peace pilgrimage to Washing-

ton which was organized by one of the ‘front’ orga-

nizations known as the American Peace Crusade”

(count five) (R. 361-362). When petitioner indicated

that the basis of his refusal to answer was the First

Amendment, the Committee counsel said (R. 362) :

I want to make it clear, Mr. Gojack, that I

am not interested at all in what your beliefs or

opinions were about those matters. What I

am interested in is the extent to which the Com-

munist Party was engaged in manipulating

peace moves in this country in behalf of a

foreign power. * * *

Congressman Doyle said (R.'362-363) :

Mr. Chairman, may I add * * * that I am

also interested in knowing what the witness

knows about the extent to which the American

Communist Party, in connection with these

peace moves or otherwise, was using the leader-

ship of American labor unions, especially any

labor union that the witness might have been a

14

- member of at that time or had any conneetis

with: ‘The aareton} is the extent. to which th

labor unions * * *, the ‘extent to which they

Boe ee oe

their conspiratorial purposes. .

Petitioner refused, on the grounds he had

stated, to say whether he had taken part in the pil

grimage to Washington, whether he was a member

of the American Peace Crusade, and whether he had

frequently served as chairman of its meetings @

366).

Petitioner was shown a copy of the February 1

1951, issue of the Daily Worker, which listed a “John

Gojack, international vice president, UERMWA,

Fort Wayne, Ind.” as.an initial. sponsor of the

American Peace Crusade (R. 368; see R. 22)." Peti-

tioner refused, on the grounds he had _ previously

stated, to answer the question who had solicited him

as sponsor; nor would he say what method of solici-

tation had been used (count siz) (R. 369).

Il, THE PROCEEDINGS

A. THE FIRST TRIAL AND APPEAL

In December 1955, petitioner was indicted for will ?

ful refusal to answer questions pertinent ‘to a subject

under inquiry by Congress,'in violation of 2 U.S,

192. The indictment was in nine counts, each based on

the refusal to answer one of the questions put to peti

‘The Committee also had a leaflet. of the American Peas

Crusade, which was signed by a “John Gojack,”

“Bring Our Boys Home From “Korea. Make Peace With

China Now” (R. 22-25). at

15

tioner at the Washington hearings. He was convicted

on six of the counts and his conviction was affirmed

bythe Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia

Circuit. Gojack y. United States, 280 F. 2d 678. This

Court granted certiorari to review the judgment of

the court of appeals (along with the judgments in

issues were tendered to the Court, but only one—

common to all six cases—was decided. The Court

held that the indictments of Gojack and the other

defendants were insufficient because they did not al-

lege the subject of the inquiry to which the questions

asked were alleged to be pertinent. Accordingly, the

judgment in Gojack’s case was reversed. Russell vy.

United States, 369 U.S. 749.

general sentence of three months’ imprisonment. plus

a $200 fine (R. 8-9). Petitioner appealed. While not

contending that the new indictment was deficient un-

der the rule of this Court’s Russell decision or that

the Court’s mandate had been disobeyed in redrawing

the indictment, petitioner renewed the contentions he

had made in the earlier round (and which this Court

in Russell had not reached). The court of appeals

unanimously affirmed the conviction '(348 F, 2d 355),

PCctine

B most of petitioner’s grounds summarily

but discussing expressly petitioner’s contention. tha ;

the Committee had failed adequately to apprise him

that his objections to the hearings had been overruled,

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ie

In this contempt-of-Congress case, petitioner raises

numerous issues. They are of three kinds, First,

there is a sweeping attack, under a variety of over:

lapping constitutional rubrics—the limits of the Legis.

lature’s powers, free speech, bill of attainder, vague

ness—on the legitimacy of investigations by the House

Un-American Activities Committee into Communist

activities, petitioner’s ultimate thesis being that ‘the

Committee is powerless (quite apart from problems

of self-incrimination under the Fifth Amendment,

which petitioner did not invoke) to compel the dis.

closure by witnesses of Communist activities and as-

sociations in the circumstances of this case—and in-

deed of all cases. We regard these broad contentions

as foreclosed by the prior decisions of this Court in

this field (Barenblatt v. United States, 360 U.S. 109;

Wilkinson v. United States, 365 U.S. 399; Braden,

United States, 365 U.S. 431; Gibson v. Florida Legis-

lative Comm., 372 U.S. 539, 547, 549), but, in view of

the importance of the question, we devote Part Tof

our argument to its answer.

The second type of issue raised by petitioner (b

which we devote Part II) relates to the particular

procedures of the Committee in questioning peti

tioner. The issues here are less far-reaching; ™

show that they were correctly resolved below. h

Part III, we take up another relatively

17

issue—petitioner’s challenge to the sufficiency of the

present indictment—and show that petitioner’s con-

tention is without merit. Thus, we conclude, peti-

tioner’s conviction suffers from no infirmity warrant-

ing reversal. :

It is fundamental, we think, that Congress could

not adequately discharge its legislative functions if

it were denied a broad power of inquiry and investiga-

tion (including the use of compulsory process to elicit

testimony not otherwise privileged) into subjects of

proper legislative concern. This Court has many

times declared—and numerous legislative enactments

upheld by this Court attest—that Communist activi-

ties are such a subject. We therefore regard as

settled the proposition that Congress has a valid and

lawful interest in conducting investigations with the

object of obtaining information concerning such activ-

ities as a possible predicate of appropriate antisub-

versive legislation.

The hearings at which petitioner was questioned

were part of such an investigation. Communist in-

filtration of labor unions has been a continuing topic

of congressional concern and legislation, and the

House Un-American Activities Committee had reason

to believe both that the union of which petitioner was

an important official was dominated by Communists

and that petitioner could supply valuable information

concerning Communist activities in the union. The

questioning of petitioner by the Committee was de-

signed to elicit such information, clearly relevant to

4 proper subject of legislation.

18

- Against this background, petitioner’s attack upg, —

the constitutional legitimacy of the Comanittee/a quam

tioning ‘of him must, in our view, fail. Petiti |

the contrary notwithstanding, the purpose of the:in

vestigation was not exposure for exposure’s sake,

Rather, the objective was to gather evidence in @

area of legitimate congressional concern. In ligh

of this valid legislative purpose, there is no occasion

to search the motives of individual members Behe

Committee.

Once the existence of a valid legislative —

established, other broad arguments advanced by peti

tioner likewise fall. Since exposure for its own sake

was not the purpose of the hearing, there can bem

contention that petitioner was the victim of a bill of

attainder—even under petitioner’s view of the seop

of the Attainder Clause. And Rule XI of the Hou

of Representatives (which authorizes the House Up

American Activities Committee to investigate m

American and subversive activities and propaganda)

is not unconstitutionally vague, as petitioner em

tends, It is not a mandate for improper investigs

tions, nor even a penal or prohibitory statute. Mon

over, the particular subject of a hearing at which 1

witness is questioned, must be adequately defined and

explained in advance (as it was here), thereby. saa

pelling any possible uncertainty.

Finally, petitioner’s freedom of belief or seit

tion was not infringed by compelled disclosure ¢

facts pertinent to a legitimate subject of congressi¢l

inquiry and legislation. Applying the standands

Barenblatt v. United States and the cases followiigt

19

in maintaining secrecy. Indeed, as we explain, this is

an.@ fortiort case in this regard compared to the prior

QB is ad? BER Redan se) BD: og Bony sre

~

oS

Petitioner's challenge to.the specifies of the Oc,

ther he was adequately

apprised by the Committee that the questions he re-

fused to answer were pertinent to the subject under

inquiry (as required by 2 U.S.C. 192), that issue is

foreclosed here (Barenblatt v. United States, 360 U8.

109; Deutch v, United States, 367 U.S. 456); but in

any event the Committee gave petitioner repéated de-

tailed explanations of the pertineney of the questions

and it is clear that he was in fact fully apprised

thereof. Petitioner’s ‘contention that the Committee

was required, and failed, to overrule ‘his written ob-

jections to the Committee's jurisdiction before he was

questioned was never raised in. the courts below

and hence also is not properly before this Court.

Nor is there merit in the claim. The record estat).

lishes that petitioner’s objections were rejected and

that he knew such to be the case. In short, none of

a

the alleged defects ‘in the Commiittee’s procedirresiy —

this ‘case constitutes reversible error! © orig:

SARI BT ABO iie Tatoo Miter] “ea

iy chiasi detente ty ea Pkt aipsenp ental

ciency found by this Court when last the case“wiy

here—was sufficient. It not only alleged that ‘the

hearings ‘at which petitioner was. questioned ‘wer

authorized by Congress (all we think need “te

alleged) sit also set forth the entire chain of author

ity from Congress to the particular subcommittee that

eonducted ‘the hearings in question. ‘No link in’ the

chain ‘was omitted, and surely no further allegations

of authority were necessary to enable ‘petitioner to

prepare his defense. Applying the general principle

underlying this Court’s decision in Russell v. Unites

States, 369 U:8. 749, we believe that ‘the indictment

was clearly adequate. oa Fl

peeare pert Rit we

lL. THE COMPELLED) DISCLOSURE. OF PETITIONER'S, COMMU:

_.NIST ACTIVITIES AND ASSOCIATIONS WAS (THERE. BEING

NO FIFTH AMENDMENT CLAIM OF by Biedusie.

WITHIN THE LAWFUL POWER OF CONGRESS dip

‘We first consider the broad question, raised ta

titioner in a variety of guises, whether it. is within

the lawful power of Congress to investigate (with the

aid of compulsory process) Communist activities.and

associations, in general, and this petitioner’s activitie

and associations, in particular. We preface our dit

cussion of this point with a, review of settled pring.

ples governing the investigative power of Cong TRS,

and its application in the field of subversive acti

, rae

Bri ee 21

es

Actually)’ however, ‘petitioner's broad attack on ‘the

jets) 0 enisbcaibdtil civirinittoen' to -ctmnivd dia:

cireumstances of the present case is foreclosed by this

Gourt’s prior decisions. In Barenblatt v. United

States, 360 U.S. 109, the Court*held that the use of

compulsory process to elicit testimony in aid of con-

gressional investigations of Communist activities, in

cireumstances comparable to those oi the present case,

has a valid legislative purpose.and. does not. violate

the First Amendment. This holding was reaffirmed

in Wilkinson v.. United States, 365. U.S. 399, and

Braden v. United States, 365 U:S.-431: “And, just two

Terms: ago, in Gibson. y.. Florida Legislative Gomm.,

372 U.S. 539, 549, the Court-noted that it is constitu-

tionally “permissible [for the Legislature] to inquire

into the subject of Communist. infiltration. of. educa-

tional or other organizations,’ because. the ‘‘govern-

mental interest in controlling subversion and the par-

ticular character of the Communist Party and its ob-

jectives outweigh the right of individual Communists

to conceal ‘party membership or affiliations.’”’ “Com.

munist Party membership is “a permissible subject

of regulation and legislative scrutiny.” P. 547.

Petitioner to the contrary; there is no occasion to

reconsider those decisions.’ The underlying principle

* Petitioner asks overruling of these cases on the ground that

in recent’ years the menace of Communism has subsided. But,

surely, this is an argument properly addressed to Congress, not

this Court; it calls for a legislative judgment. - Cf. Communist

Party v. Subversive Activities Control Board, 367 U.S. 1. In

any event, the argument is hardly pertinent here, since the hear-

ings at which petitioner refused to answer the Committee’s

ee : ie

is exercising,.an. inherent power to. investigate and

does not violate the First Amendment—is in accor

with our. constitutional history and is sustained, gs

wo shal, show, by;a,s00re of elated presedents rap

ir cna ponnten dr iggile CEN gPRRO

of the Communist movement, .. 0.5 4

A. Time DvVEeTIGATION OF COMMUNIST ACriviTiEs, 4

lap huhestbcysleua vaneauneleisas teas ANB

1. Congress Has Power To Require Testimony, Wot Otherwise

Pier Se ae fon eR mite ange:

_ geet of Congressional Legislation yh

In Watkins v. United States; 354 U.S. 178; te

Ohief Justice wrote (p. ¥87):' Ker

The power of the Congress to conduet investl-

gations is inherent in the legislative procem

That power is broad. It encompasses inquities

concerning the administration of existing law

as well as proposed or possibly needed stat

utes, *.* *

History—and this Court’s decisions—eonfirm tint

this inherent constitutional power to eompel testi-

mony in aid of investigations extends to any subjed

upon which Congress has power to legislate. Early

in the sixteenth century (and increasingly after th

Revolution of 1688 established the supremacy of

Parliament) Parliament as a whole, or one of it

questions were held in 1955—one year after the hearings in

volved in Barenblatt and three years before those invol

Braden and Wilkinson. a

’ at

~~

+

“

fT

tigations by Parliament was tit

powers’ sinte Parfiament had both judicial

investigative committees authorized to send for pi —

sons and papers, and this practice was followedin

numerous congressional investigations beginning igs

early as 1792. Landis, supra, 7j'..168-191, Sing

the. Civil War, moreover, Congress has increasingly

determine whether and how it should legislate,, ,

Until comparatively recently, the courts ranly

ruled on the power of Congress to investigate, for the

power was seldom challenged. See Landis, supra,

p. 212." But the early case of Kilbourn. v, Thompgon,

103..U.S, 168, did impose an important limitation

There, a witness was arrested by the House for refus-

OG, BAER AY Coe asked by a committee ‘that

was investigating a bankruptcy. which had resulted

in losses to numerous creditors, including the United

States. This Court did not find it necessary to decide

whether. Congress had investigatory powers as part

of its legislative function, for it held that the investi-

gation was not into the administration of the govern

ment or into the need for new legislation, but rather

into the “private affairs of individuals,” P..1%

and legislative powers and its investigations were carried out

under the former power, However, Professor Landis he

shown that, by the time Parliament conducted inyestigationsyit

had only legislative powers, and that therefore Congress’ power

can be traced back directly to the practices of Parliament,

This view was accepted by this Court in Mc@rain v. Dee

273 U.S. 135, 161.

* As early as 1821, however, in Anderson.y, 6 Wheat

204, this Court sustained the power of the S of » the

House to convict a person for attempting to bribe a

The Court held that this power was necessarily implied in

for the legislative power to operate (pp. 226-227).

| ‘This subject ;was' already before a federal court in a

‘gress had no judicial. power to conduet a, similar pro-

QUOMTNG 5 200645565: bynes ne :

Kilbourn v, Thompson thus established the emi-

nently'sound principle that the power of Congress is

not to prosecute, expose, or put on: trial. But

nothing in that decision cast doubt.upon. the power of

Congress to investigate where it had a proper legisla-

tive purpose.“ The later decisions. confirm.. the

power and emphasize its breadth. In re Chapman,

166 U.S. 661, sustained the power of a Senate com-

mittee to require a witness to testify concerning

allegedly corrupt influences attempted to. be exerted

during the Senate’s consideration of a tariff bill, and

also upheld the constitutionality of Section 102 of

the Revised Statute (the predecessor of the statute

(2 U.S.C, 192) under which petitioner was con-

vieted), which gave the federal district courts power

to punish for contempt of Congress. The Court

stated that a house of Congress could investigate any

matter within its jurisdiction, Pp. 667, 671. —

suggest a strict and unfriendly

f congressional investigation or

Bei.

Cea

& * En!

metiieia

bes

seni tb

yous ami

of its committees testimony needed : a

and

to punish for contempt refusente

‘to-give

by “a rm

witness

Relying‘ on

or : een ie == : :

= po

: = is 5 :

oan en = dinatisbean mt wet

<< a5 sae :

” &. obi : ~ = .

a eae ir oe

to

the

dos

an

persis aes arin

27

r be indulged that this was the real object.”

Pp. ‘Iti, 178. It quoted with approval (p. 178),

the statement of the New York Court of

(People y. Keeler, 99 N.Y. 463, 487) that “Twle are

bound to presume that the action of the legislative

body. was with,a legitimate object if it is eapable of

being-so construed *.* *,’

Ta Barry v.. United States ex rel. Cunningham, 279

US. 597, the Court applied the same fundamental

pinciples to'an investigation of corruption i in a Senate

election, saying that “if judicial interference can be

sneeessfully invoked it can only be upon a showing of

such arbitrary and improvident use of the power as

will constitute a denial of due process of law.’ P. 620.

See, also, Jurney v. MacCracken, 294 U.S. 125. And |

in Tenney v. Brandhove, 341°U.S. 367, the Court

stated that “[t]o find that a committee's investigation

has exceeded the bounds of legislative power it must

be obvious that there was-a usurpation of functions

exelusively vested in the Judiciary or the Executive.”

P. 378. See, also, Sinolair v. United States, 279 U.S.

?

United. States ¥. Boneste, $45 U.S. 41, the Court re-

mie a fsenvistion for contempt on the ground thatthe reolo

5s

TE Tein “only 46 Gbeehve that tna

the’ power wer ‘of Congr. sa Be bide hive y

-cotnpel ‘the the ‘attend: 8 Cp imie care if drodite

tion of” papers, ‘and ‘to ‘punish ' disobedience ‘as dan

tenipt, arise’ otit of netessity ‘and sre’ inherent in th

legistative ‘prodess: As’ Professor Landis De

(our pp: 200-210) hse

“8 CT ttle ‘need be said ‘of Be necessity iy a.

repeal ention Where’ new probléms are faced by

'o SGoneress to be met with’ different devices for

legal control. To deny” Congress power its

. eequaint ‘itself with facts is: equivalent: to: te 3

quiring .it..to .preserihe remedies in darknex

oa use of. committees, for. such Purposes

perhaps most common, ..In. J 2 the activities

' Dreakers ‘in’ the ‘pailroad troubles’ mpd’ rg bs

°eaused investigations’ to ‘be eonducted ‘by both

Senate’ and~ House. Such investigations ‘hae.

bith left major’<imprints) upon legislation: Th

fe oii Customs Appeals, owes its. onigin

thereto ; restrictions upon, the immigration. a

dorsi, 98 cornet. labor pene SONOS, Rahs wor

ttee in e Ie!

sat gran a 1990. followed in part fhe’ recom

1 rendationy’ of the’ aes! Content tl

“) Senate Comnittée- ort Interstate’ Comrher

-lo thé House ‘Comniittee ‘on Interstate. and F

9 Peng wing Bae by

ween" + na Ga

paige @Ommpeting,:

serrated

SAivyuct

sant Bat "Wid “ns Webtvn" thi ii OF it

Noapl ‘i a hot, ‘involve “

whether can ‘ constitutionally site

activities, the issue here.

"the future from employing the same devies.

| RLeyislation Safeguardiig thé Nasional Security’ Against

Subversive Activities: of the Communist Party in General—

. and Such Activities in the Eabor M. mt in Particular—

s 4 Proper Subject of Congressional Consideration aan

- An, Section 2 of the; Subversive, Activities Control

Act of 1950 -(50 U.S.C. 781), Congress, on the basis

of detailed. investigations, found that there, exists, an

international, Communist, movement, foreign..; con

trolled, . whose...purpose is, to /establish:, totalitarian

‘to ‘overthrow the Government of the:

~ States. * * * [The policies and progra

the Communist Party ‘are ‘secretly

for it by the foreign leaders of the

- Communist movement.

Surely, it is not to be thought that Ouiigilalle

no power whatsoever to enact legislation designed tp

prevent such a movement from infiltrating important

areas of national life as part of a program to ove

throw the government by force and violence. .

priate measures designed to prevent a foreign-¢

nated conspiracy from overthrowing the government !

by such means are an exercise not only of inherent

sovereign power but of the congressional duty

adit for the common defense. Accordingly, ¢

upon the view that the activities of the Commum

Party endanger the security of the United State

and are therefore a proper subject of congressionl |

regulation. Some of the cases have evoked =

ences of opinion within the Court, but none: of te

opinions, whether for the Court or in coneurren

or dissent, suggests that the activities of the

munist Party are immune from legislation. Nors

any such suggestion to be found in tons *t cision

that have invalidated portions of such legislation, ~

In American Communications ‘Asseciatiin w oud,

339 U.S. 382, the Court had before it Section 91

the National Labor Relations Act, which be

information before its several Committees and from

facts of general knowledge, Congress could rationally

conclude that, behind its political party facade, the

Communist Party is a conspiratorial and revolution-

ary junta, organized to reach ends and to use methods

which are incompatible with our constitutional system.”

P. 424. Its goal is “to seize powers of government by

and for aminority rather than to acquire power through

the vote of a free electorate’’ (p. 425 ; emphasis in origi-

nal) ; “Violent and undemocratic means are the calcu-

lated and indispensable methods to attain [this] goal”’

- (p. 429; emphasis in original). It is “a secret conclave.

Members are admitted only upon acceptance as reli-

“In United States v. Brown, 381 U.S. 437, a successor pro-

vision to 9(h) (Section 504 of the Labor-Management Report-

ing and Disclosure Act of 1959, 29 U.S.C. 504), which made it

a criminal offense for anyone who is (or, within the preceding

ta asked that Douds be overruled on the ity of Brow

In neither case there any issue, however, as to the basic power

ot Congress to regulate Communist activities by appropri

‘able and aftér indoctrination in its policies, to wid

the member | is ‘fully’ ‘committed:’’ P. 432, By

‘member: ** pledges unconditional obedience to py

‘authority. Adherents are known’ by ‘secret a

names. They constitute ‘cells’in the factory, the fie,

the political society, or the labor union. For any 4

ation from ‘the’ party line they are purged”

‘exéluded.””' Ibid::) It, moreover, ‘talone among Ama. -

ican parties past or present is dominated and ey

‘trolled by a foreign: oteheescong It is'a satrap pay

er ba

of ‘betrayal into” alien hands” (p. 427; empha

original). bi

bent dsb wis Doniede ¥.'Dulted States, $i

US. 494, where the Court upheld the constitution

ality, as applied to officers of the Communist Pary,

of the provisions of the Smith Act making it a erin

for any person knowingly or willfully ‘to advotah

‘the overthrow of the government of the United State

by foree or violence or. to organize any group Whidl

so advocates or to conspire so to advocate.

In Carlson v. Landon, 342 U.S. 524, the Court sw

tained the constitutionality of a provision of the In

migration Act allowing the Attorney General in hi

discretion to hold in custody without bail, p pending de

termination of their. deportability, aliens who @

members of’ the Communist Party. ‘The Court 8 i

that “[w]e have no. doubt that the pignae sk an nd

tices ‘of Communism. clearly enough teach,

foree to achieve political control to give cons

basis, according to any theory of reasonablen

a

P. 590, In Galvan y, Press, 347 U.S. 522, the Court

knowledge that the Party advocated overthrow of the

government, In Flemming y, Nestor, 363 U.S, 603,

Social Security

aliens deported

arty. Communist

such investiga-

tions. Pp. 96-97, 102.» And in’ Scales’ v."|

‘States, 367 US. 203; 228-230, the Court upheld

membership clause of the Smith Act.” : =

Reeent decisions’ invalidating some provisions of

congressional legislation dealing with subversive'ss

tivities leave undisturbed ‘the fundamental premix

that Congress has power to regulate such activities by

appropriate means. In Aptheker’ v. Secretary

State, 378 U.S. 500, the Court invalidated the pase

port provision of the Subversive Activities Conta

Act of 1950 (Section 6, 50 U.S.C. 785), on the ground

that it too broadly and indiscriminately curtailed fre

"This Court has also upheld State power in relation to Com

munist activities. In Gerende v. Board of Supervisor, Mi

US. Oe oe eres were

quire every candidate on the ballot to swear in an. affi

he was not engaged in any attempt to overthrow the g

ment by force and violence. In Garner v. Board " fae

Works, 34% U.S. 716, the Court held that a city has power

require its employees to execute affidavits disclosing :

were or had ever been. members of the Communist

mined that a New York ‘statute which makes any membet #

an organization advocating the overthrow of the gover

by force or violence ineligible for employment in the j

‘schools was constitutional. In Beilan v. Board of Public E

who refused to answer. questions pertaining to ship

Party. ’ Mr. Tastee Harlan said that

re : 35

dom) to travel, but the Court left no doubt of Con-

gress’ power—which it termed ‘‘obvious and unargu-

able” (p. 509)—to “‘safeguard our Nation’s security”’

(sbid.) by more carefully tailored legislation (see

pp. 512-513). In United States v. Brown, 381 U.S.

437 (which, as noted earlier (p. 31, n. 16, supra),

invalidated a provision of the Labor Management

Reporting and Disclosure Act forbidding members

of the Communist Party to hold union office), this

Court did not question the constitutional power of

Congress to regulate Communist or subversive a:tivi-

ties; it held only that in doing so Congress could not,

without violating the constitutional proscription

against bills of attainder, “specify the people upon

whom the sanction it prescribes is to be levied,” but

“must accomplish such results by rules of general

applieability.” P, 461. And. in Albertso: v. Sub-

versive Activities Control Board, 382 U.S. 70, tiie

Court, again without disturbing either the principle

of congressional power to regulate subversive activi-

ties or ics earlier decision in Comzaunist Party v.

Subversive Activities Control Board, 367 U.S, 1 (see

p. 33, supra), held merely. that a member of the Party

could not, consistently with his Fifth Amendment

right against compulsory self-incrimination, be com-

pelled to register with the Attorney General.

Thus, the unbroken course of the relevant decisions

of this Court sustains the power of Congress to enact

| appropriate legislation controlling Communist activi-

- ties. ‘That Communist infiltration of labor unions

the subject of inquiry by Congress in this case—is a

Proper subject of such legislation is also, we think,

celaneebubladey dir abinyporerew cial

torial ‘énds. ‘The’ Court’ summarized the evidens

available in 1947 in ‘American Communications fe

pinnate’ ‘Douds, 339 'U.8. 382, 388-389: ey

” Substantial amounts of evidence were presented

: =

ab fyy' 4

Bs mn. objectives ‘to Sbetructive strikes

hye Sper duet ty Pacey adore often, in’d up-

‘port of the policies of a foreign 5 om

‘ment. *®* *°° , fc oes

r Hetandlih-punpeedswolit béiencteaiofdll

wathsil lasigthi the ‘evidanee’ befeesCongreilie

lating to the problem of political. strikes, m

can. Aifeaaah, 8 eememe: fhe NATHAN.

j of evidence, It. is sufficient to. ;

a)

And see, also p. 53, infra,

8, An Janiestigation of infliration of Labor Unions

a, cnigidte There ores rithin Congress’ Power i

Sinee Congress has undoubted power to sarteatilate

iemeaiaeslighaegetats legislation would be eon-

siete permissible, the investigation that gave

rise to the citation of petitioner for contempt could

byeomsidnod bepend the power af Congress only if

no legislation upon the’ subject of Communist activi-

ties inthe labor movement could be. devised that Con-

gress had power to enact. ‘That is surely an unten-

able’ proposition.*’ ‘The congressional legislation and

judicial ‘opinions reviewed in the ‘preceding section

demonstrate that there was a rea sona able foundati ‘

for believing ini 1955-that the activities ‘the House

Committee’ ‘on Un-American Activities ‘was investi-

guting might be found disruptive of labor conditions

and warrent’ appropriate legislative ‘correction, and

there'is'no oecasion to reconsider’ here the eorrectne

dence available. The power of Congress to investi-

gate cannot depend upon its ability to ‘prove’ in ad:

vance the answer to the very question to be investi-

gated. It is surely enough that Congress in 1955 had

cause to believe that there might bea condition calling

for appropriate legislation—for the very purpose of

the investigation is to ascertain whether the condition

“SFurticular provisions of such legislation ‘may, of course,

run afoul of specific constitutional prohibitions.’ See p.' 35,

in fact exists. Again we emphasize that if Oongtgy

ean legislate concerning Communist activities gm

erally, and in the labur field in particular, a fortis

it can conduct NG A RON ae

legislation. Lu all

Se ee ee ee

INFORMATION RELEVANT TO A VALID SUBJECT OF

RATHER, THAN 7D, AFORE NIM HOR. THE SAR OF BXPORERR

The discussion just concluded advances the general

proposition that the investigation of Communist.as

tivities—specifically the kind of investigation at ism

here, conducted by the Committee on Un-Ameriém

Activities in the labor field in 1955—is within th

scope of the legislative powers granted

the Constitution, We grant, however, that a par

ticular congressional hearing or course of questioning

might conceivably lack a valid legislative purpim,

being designed not to elicit relevant information bit

to expose or punish individual witnesses—and thal i

that event, a citation for contempt based on a Wit

ness’s refusal to answer questions put to him byte}

investigating committee would be invalid. In

bourn v. Thompson, 103 U.S, 168, 195, as we saw, thi

Court held the use of compulsory process to eli

testimony in a congressional investigation and thes

sequent citation for contempt invalid because thé

vestigation was judicial in nature and “could emt

in no valid legislation on the subject to. wh ch th :

inquiry referred,” and in Watkins v. United 8

354 U.S. 178, 200, the Court said: ins?

We; have.no. doubt that there is no ¢ :

sional power to expose for the sake of expo

Vern 89

utile publte ta/'of course; entitiea to be informed

ye : ‘concerning the workings of its government.

, » That cannot be inflated into a general power to

ws Pogpgy nig of the private rights of

This injunction has been repeated in later cases. Ey.

Hutcheson v. United States, 369 U.S. 599, 614. We

accept it. It was not, however, violated in the present

case.

1, The subject Congress was investigating —Com-

munist infiltration of labor unions—not only is within

the area of possible legislation (sée pp. 29-36, supra) ;

it has also been the subject of several enactments ; and

this, wo think, de nonstrates Congress’ bona fide legis-

lative concern. In 1947, the Labor Management Rela-

tions Act inserted Section 9(h) into the N ational Labcr

Relations Act, closing the facilities of the N ational

not filed non-Communist affidavits. See American

Communications Association v. Douds, 339 U.S. 389.

e Labor Man-

agement Reporting and Disclosure Act, made it a

crime for a member of the Communist Party to hold

In addition,

of 1950, as

geen: ‘in! repcoarn oe re ~~ —— 4

witnesses. ~

At’ the’ ian ‘of he! bastliie” noe he iti bonita

petitioner, the House ‘Un-American Ketivities Com

mittee had reason to believe that petitioner would |

have valuable and pertinent information concerning

Communist infiltration, of labor organizations. '

Committee ttee had been informed’ that petitioner was a

general vice-president of the United Electrical, Radio

and Machine Workers of America, and president, at

District No. 9 of the union; it. had received swom

testimony i in 1951 from a long-time district presi nt

of the ‘union ‘that almost | all of its ‘important, officials

we members; and a former Con.

“Party member, who had ‘been’ an organizer

Pa ee Ft had testified that. all of the organizer

for the rao ‘who attended meetings were members a

the Communist Party. ' (See Statement, supra, PD

4-5.) That eliciting from petitioner pertinent i in-

formation concerning Communist activities. in

Uunioris ‘was thé true object of the Committee’ 8

tioning of petitioner is manifest from the opening

statement of the Chairman, from the course of the

questioning | ‘of petitioner and prior witnesses, and

from the explanations made to. petitioner d the

hearings. . (See, ‘Statement, supra, pp. Fa oa DR

59-64, infra.) fa’) a ant-x Gy ty

p= We a We consider, peptone of sotto recital

greater length, infra, PP. 59-64, in. discussing. petitioner's thee g

that the questioning ‘infringed “his First barley

belief -and | assdéciation. -We/ are concerned Het only pny

issue whether petitioner established that-such questioning Inckod

ény bona fide legislative purpose. : ee sigh nolo

ri’

~& congressional inquiry into

« pubjoet: of, demonstrated legislative concern and, the

witness in a position to give highly relevant informa-

tion—one could..conclude that the Committee . was

abusing its powers only by challenging the motives of

acai gach an inquiry... It is,‘‘not. our “si

tion,”.the Chief Justice said in Watkins, to engage

“in testing the motives of committee members. * * ;*

Their motives alone would not vitiate an investigation

which had. been instituted by a House.of Congress jif

that, assembly’s legislative purpose is, being. served.”

354. 0.S.,\p. 200... Accord, Barenblatt v. United States,

360,U.Si; 109,132; Wilkinson, v., United. States; :365

US, 399, 412....This rule is; not: new. or; confined : to

congressional: investigations: As long ago as McCray

v. United States, 195 U.S. 27, 55, it. was held that there

isino, authority in the judiciary to restrain a lawful

exercise of. power by another department of.the gov-

ernment. because,@ |wrong motive or purpose has im-

pelled the exercise of the power. See, also, Arizona v.

California, 283 U.S. 423, 455. Accordingly, we sub-

mit, onge a. valid legislative purpose fc

inquiry..is. shown—as was done | here-—any> further

raatia of the legislators’ motives or intentions

improper, But, at all events (as.now we show), the

pet of ; these, proceedings refutes any..claim. that

there were a igh motives—“inion busting” and

the} in

a Tab’ ‘as: jiinsdlaloven nse of aniphopee ehittive sitios

is"baséd'on statements’ of the Chairman of the Committes ‘atid’

its employees, what petitioner alleges to be the Committed’s’

EB

42

°'2. On February 9, 1955; the Committee annoiatides

that hearings would be held in Fort Wayne, Indiana»

At that time, neither the Chairman of the 08

nor the members of the subcommittee, nor Commits

counsel had any knowledge that an N.L.R.B. election

was scheduled to be held at the Magnavox plant in

Fort Wayne on February 24, 1955 (R. 94, 116; 193.

124). ‘Nevertheless, petitioner sent the Chairman a

highly abusive telegram (R. 125-127) (which he nr.

eeived on’ February 10, 1955) stating that, in view of

the scheduled ‘election and in view of what was de.

scribed in the telegram as the criminal conviction of

former Committee Chairman Thomas for ‘‘bribery,”

petitioner had every right to ask whether the Com

mittee had been bribed by management to help it in

“union busting.”” On. February 14, 1955, George

Goldstein, Washington representative of the UE,

sought a continuance of the hearing until after the

union election at Magnavox, and was granted an

interview with the Committee. Petitioner suggests

(Br. 63-64) that the discussion which developed dur

methods of operation, and that the Committee’s investigations

generally are conducted for the purpose of exposure, ngt legisls-

tion, this Court has twice rejected, in Barenbiatt, supra, and in

Watkins, supra, such a claim based on identical eviden

Compare R. 195-254 with the Record, pp. 77, 262, 265-266 an

petitioner’s brief in Barenblait, No. 35, Oct. Term, 1958, and

the Record, pp. 11-16, 58~64 and 93-168 and pinnae

in Watkins, No. 261, Oct. Term, 1956.

*1 The Committee counsel testified that no newspaper reas

was prepared by the Committee (R. 94). Similarly, there is

no basis in the record for petitioner’s claim (Br. 63) that; the

Committee Chairman notified local newspapers of Comets

actions. oe

43

g'the interview shows that the Commitee was not

acting in furtherance of a genuine legislative pur-

ne ‘We disagree. The material portions of the

w are as follows (R. 116):

~~ © Chairman Watrer. Not until we received an

~~ “nsulting telegram. After I received that tele-

».) gram, «then I became aware of the fact that

ere was an election being held. We had pre-

. Ylously absolutely no knowledge of it, and the

_. only reason. we decided on this hearing there

ay was because these people are there. If they

~~ are well enough to be in Fort Wayne, Indiana,

~ ‘working,’ they are well enough to testify. That

is our attitude.

* * * * *

definitely that this was a case of union-busting.

Now, there is no one on this committee inter-

ested in busting unions. All of us have very

_ established records, but all of us are interested

in seeing your union go out of business, be-

cause we do not believe it is good for the United

tes.

pia on this colloquy, the court below on the

first appeal stated (280 F, 2d at 682) :

[I]t can be gleaned that Mr. Walter showed

some displeasure

_ fortunate than judges in at ‘least this

that when attacked unjustly, they are at liberty

_:218-855—66—+4

44

9 vyte defend, themselves and to. express ‘ong

fet forcefully and vigorously.” teportinryt ‘fds

_ While, a continuance.of the scheduled. honring ay

at first denied (R. 15), it was later granted. and the

hearing was, set for February 28 (R,.15-16). The

hearing |ppened,.on; that day with,an announcement

by the Chairman of the subcommittee that the subject

of the inquity was: ‘Communist ‘Party: activities with

in the field of labor; ‘the methods used by the Com

munist Party to ‘infiltrate labor ‘otganizations, and the

dissemination of ‘Communist Party propaganda”

(Statement, supra, p,,8).:,The questions asked peti

tioner showed clearly that the Committee was con-

ducting an investigation of Communist infiltraticn in

the labor, field. No member, of, the Committee, or its

counsel, indicated that, the Committee ..was. engaged

in ‘union busting”’ or was ‘attempting merely to ex-

pose “petitioner! On the ¢ontrary,’ they’ repeatedly

stated that the subcommittee ‘Was seeking information

nnist activities, | ‘Congressman, Doyle’ stated

0 ILG

four times that the purposé of the, hearings, was to

obtain information on; Communist, infiltration, and con-

trol of labor unions ria eg i SUPTO,, cd 9-14,

and n. 42, p,.70, infra)? . fos 2d fo Gartner)

*2 Petitioner points: (Bri) 8): aay 3 ada ie ry spl

rter who wrate to the effect that at the, of

February 14, gence te Hh ‘use ‘Un- Rivecién Aetivi es Com-

mittee’ members frankly Presa: totlay” hey “Are out!'to break

the! salleged ' Comrhuhist-led': Independent United | Electrical

Workérs Union” (RB. 407).” The reporter\ admittéd, ‘however,

fuss accuracy, of the stenographically, reported | conference be

By ta aga ae

representative of the: be Coteus $3)" ‘al hime

** For similar statements to a other i on

Sts

At all-events, shithdithentes stories €s are intebatilnabie

bits-and-pieces , that cannot .outweigh, the, proof of

valid, legislative purpose’ contaizied “in the | transcript

ofithe hearing titgelt,» 1 OF dowog and ai ye

“8. Ttis true that: at ét pétitioner; ’ ‘as well

as other eg etc to! _Sbthe® extént from

the erate ti ch rare re is an inevitable by-

et at

72, 71; a. v. New Hamsphire, No. : 396, this

Term, decile April 4, 1966,” Tf exposure ‘resulting

from. such an: investigation is automatically ‘ito, be

291-222, 225, 939. For. example, £ angressman, jo stated te

4 prior witness, Lawrence, Cover, ( (R,,232);

Mr. Dori. is hd an dp ef

Fue ee notice and no Amowledge Te rhewc any

the t

mt pened a ees “4

iif “set .

ih aes 195). ft Heating toh % Mes Ag; “yt urréd i Lami! ei 7, Oe ie

atit iti hy ~e your t Gi MSIF iti Ay HE in ye ur area th NEG Es wy

We had last ‘Year,

MR ee ies ie tht Cry ) Sf : ss Peres

“we didn to it.

SE NUTEOTH ago we ind .

come My stNt oe t te ed the

Placts i & whole we pa’, 4

3” 603TH T of year 2

it over Be mn Jest

deemed exposure “‘for the sake of exposure’ ang —

thus proof that the investigation did not have a valiq

legislative purpose, no such investigations would be

permissible. Yet, exposure of problem areas is on

of the preliminary steps to remedial legislation, and,

obviously, the identity and activities of particular

individuals may be a vital part of the problem. As

the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia

Cireuit noted in Barsky v. United States, 167 F. &

241, 246 (C.A. D.C.), certiorari denied, 334 U.S, 84,

If Congress has power to inquire into the

subjects of Communism and the Communist

Party, it has power to identify the individual

who believe in Communism and those who be

long to the party, The nature and scope of

the program and activities depend in larg

measure upon the character and number of

their adherents. Personnel is part of th

subject. * * *™

% Accord, Morford vy. United States, 176 F. ad 54, 8

(C.A.D.C.), reversed on other grounds, $39 U.S, 958. Se

also, MePhaul v. United States, 364 U.S, 372; United States,

Bryan, 339 U.S, 323; United States v. Fleischman, 389 US

849. In MePhaul, this Court observed with regard to te

pertinency of records subpoenaed from the “Civil Right

Congress” (p. 881):

Tt would seem clear enough that the auspices under whic

the Civil Rights Congress was organized, the identity ant

extent of its affiliations, the source of its funds and to whom

distributed would be prime considerations in

whether the organization was being used by the Communists

in the Detroit area, If the Civil Rights Congress was alll

iated with known Communist organizations, or if its fant

were received from such organizations or were used to suppor

Communist activities hs iy the Detroit area, those facts, it i

reasonable to suppose, would be shown by the records cle

: 47

~ Similarly it was of obvious importance to this investi-

gation of Communist activities in labor unions, and

particularly the U.B., to determine what officers of

the union were Communist Party members, Such

information would show the extent to which the

unions were Communist-controlled and therefore the

need, or lack of need, for legislation.

On the basis of ‘the evidence introduced at peti-

tioner's trial showing the Committee’s sustained legis-

lative purpose, the district court found (R, 206-207)

that the purpose of the Subcommittee (as

stated at the inception of the hearings and

posure of the defendant, but the ascertainment

of the extent of Communist Party infiltration

into labor, * * *

After reviewing the same evidence, the court of

appeals on the first appeal stated that [t]he record

clearly demonstrates that the Committee hearing was

one constituting a continued investigation which the

Committee was conducting into Communist activities

in the labor field, including infiltration into labor

organizations and Communist propaganda’? (280 F,

2d, p. 681), Upon a thorough review of the record

(see pp. 681-685), the court voneluded (p, 685) :

Exposure no doubt resulted from the inquiry,

t no one can fairly read the record without

__-pereeiving that the dominant purpose of the

_ for by the subpoena, and those facts would be highly pertinent

to the ittee’s inquiry [into Communist activity in

_ the Detroit area),

-Uey Committee: was‘/a' legislative one, namely, 4%

io » lear the extent. of Communist: been

»»domination,of labor unions, “ *.*, |

We veabeeits that these: — are tally mse

by the evidence.) % ea

Oo iegonane Dirtvhtideee 40 ddedeey ‘bin debe “CONSTITUTE ‘A BilL

OF ATTAINDER NOR 18. THE COMMITTER’S AUTHORIZING RESOLUTION

UNOONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE __

We turn, now. to.two, contentions made by petitioner

that, stam; directly. from, his argument that his ques-

tioning \by ;the; Committee on .Un-American. Activities

was devoid of a,valid legislative purpose and designed

solely to expose him for, the sake of. exposure (Br,

51+69, 87-91, 96-118).”.; The premise. of. both con-

tentions' is that exposure for exposure’s’ sake ‘was, in

fact, the dominant purpose of the’ ‘inquiry. Since (as

we have just shown) this premise is false, the con-

tentions fail. —

1. A bill of attainder is a statute which, instead of

regulating in general terms, applies a sanction or dep

rivation to named or specified persons, thereby in

vading the province of the judiciary; such laws are

expressly forbidden by Article I, Section 9 of the

Constitution. Cummings v. Missouri, 4 Wall. aT,

323; United States v. Lovett, 328 U.S. 303, 315-311;

United States v. Brown, 381 U.S. 437. However, we

know of no case in which the public presentation 6 of

facts concerning an individual—exposure—has been

- regarded as an attaint. And, even assuming that a

deliberate congressional attempt, to expose an individ-

* We deal with these contentions briefly since, as presented bj

petitioner, they are substantially interchangeable with the “e-

posure for exposure’s sake” argument dealt with above...

49

"til for the sake of exposure unrelated to a bona fide

gislative purpose could amount to a bill of attainder,

r apparently ‘does not ¢ontend that a con-

gressional hearing would violate the prohibition

against such laws in circumstances where’ exposure was

merely the byproduct of ‘a dona fide investigation

into ‘@ subject which the Legislature was empowered to

consider. Yet such, we have seen (pp. 38-48, supra),

were precisely the cireumistances here. *

2. Petitioner’s contention that the authorizing reso-

lution of the Un-American Activities Committee

(Rule XI of the ‘Rules of the House of Representa-

tives, p. 90, n. 58, infra)’ is unconstitutionally vague is

similarly without merit.“ Rule’ XI authorizes the

Committee ‘to ‘make’ investigations’ of :“whAmericar

propaganda activities” and “subversive and un-Amer-

ican propaganda that is instigated ‘from foreign coun-

tries cr of a domestic origin and attaéks the principle

of the form of government as guaranteed by our Con-

stitution.” Petitioner’s’ complaint is that this man:

date is so vague and broad that it permits the Com-

mittee to make investigations whose sole objects are

exposing for exposure’s sake, ‘‘union »” de-

terring the exercise of freedom of speech’ and of

association, and other purposes not genuinely legis-

lative. Not only is the premise of this argument—that

the Committee’s investigations lack a valid legislative

purpose—false; in addition, the argument rests

®The identical contention was expressly rejected in Baren-

Nels 360 US, P- 116-117. See, also, Wilkinson, 865 U.S.,

“—

Court. .

It is true, of course, that the “standards of pe.

missible statutory vagueness are strict in the area of

free expression.” N.A.A.C.P. v. Button, 371 US

415, 432; see, e.g., Smith v. Califorma, 361 U.S. 14,

151. And it follows that a penal or prohibitey

statute or decree so broad or indefinite that it might

deter the exercise of constitutionally protected rights

of expression isinvalid. N.A.A.C.P. v. Button, 37108,

pp. 432-433, and cases cited. But there is no such

danger here, even granting that Rule XI may bh

rather vague and general in its terms (see Wathingy,

United States, 354 U.S. 178, 202). The statute pro

hibits nothing; it is merely an authorizing resolution

Since it lacks any prohibitory effect or penal sanction,

we do not see how the generality of its language could

prejudice or deter anyone. No person can be com

pelled to testify or cited for contempt of Congress and

convicted under 2 U.S.C, 192 for refusal to. testify

unless he willfully refuses to answer questions thatan

pertinent to a subject under inquiry by, and within

the legislative competence of, Congress; that was tk

case here (see pp. 29-41, supra, and pp. 59-64, infra),

In addition, it is apparent that petitioner’s com

plaint goes not to the wording of Rule XI, butt

the scope of the Committee’s investigations and ib

alleged improper extra-legislative purposes of &

posure and condemnation, Since the Committee’ ; h

vestigations—and specifically that at which peti

was questioned—in fact do have a valid ]

op comccising its broad powers of investigation Con-

gress, of course, is subject to the restrictions imposed

by the Bill of Rights upon all federal governmental

exercise, since, had he cael: the Com q

questions, he would have remained .as free 28 oe

from any form of legal restriction upon ol

tivities, or other forms, of expression., His complaint

rather, is, that. the disclosure of views and activi

that are unorthodox or unpopular may subject him

(and others whom he names) to public obloquy, thus

discouraging them and others from adhering to un-

popular views lest they suffer such a fate in the

future. Obviously, it requires something more than

a literal reading of the First Amendment to hold that

such collateral consequences’ raisé ‘a’ constitutional

question. Moreover, whatever may be the merits of

a “balancing test”’ when dealing with a law that itself

directly abridges freedom of speech or the press, ques- é

tions of judgment and degree surely must be faced

in dealing with governmental activity that affects

freedom of expression only indirectly. As the oe

Justice said in Watkins (p. 198) :

It is manifest that despite the pilose offet

which follow upon compelled disclosure of pri

vate matters, not all such inquiries are barred

‘** * The critical element is the existence of,

and the weight to be ascribed to, the interest of

the Congress in demanding disclosures from

any unwilling witness,,

And in Barenblatt v. United States, 360 U.S. 109, 1%

127, the Court held: a:

Where First Amendment rights are sieeatal

bar governmental interrogation. resolution of

the issue always involves. ia; balancing by the

courts of the competing private. and. eeieat

53

a take in the partoular cireaane

plying : Matai tacthespremnt case, we think

itis clear: that. petitions First Amendment rights

were not invaded.

= hited, jpahiethiriet tobe; necvad: bi pititiosiar’s

testimony was the need for information .concerning

subversive activities in a vital area,in our national

life—labor relations—information that, would be help-

fal not only in reviewing the effectiveness of. existing

legislation’ but also in determining what new Jegisla-

tion’ might be needed to meet existing or threatened

evils. The hearing at which petitioner was questioned

was conducted for the explicit..purpose of securing

information about “Communist Party activities within

the field of labor, the methods used by the Communist

Party to infiltrate labor organizations, and the dissemi-

nation of Communist Party propaganda” (R.

219). These are plainly matters of serious national

concern; the reality of these dangers and the disrup-

tive effects of Communist influence in labor unions

are shown by industrial history. We have already

adverted to the mass of material available in 1947

showing Communist infiltration of labor organizations

not to support and further trade union objectives but

to make them a device for disrupting commerce: and

whenever the dictates of political. policy

might 90 require (see p. 36, supra). . For example,

in 1949 and 1950, the Congress of: Industrial Orga-

nizations found it necessary to expél eleven interna-

ten ‘unions, . ipitenarte simian because._of

alertness to its responsibilities suggests tht ch

Sataovreanion but the possibility of a legislator's reach

ing that conclusion falls far short of demonstrating

that the evil‘does not merit legislative sintbctalelle

‘The special problems posed by Communist activity

in the labor movement make the public interest in this

investigation particularly strong for upholding th

exéreise of congressional power. And, besides thy

potential impact upon the labor movement, the same

general public interest present in the Barenblat,

Witkinson, and Braden cases—the right of self

preservation—is present here. In Barenblaté, th

™ The committee which recommended expulsion of the Unite

Mine, Mill and Smelter Workers Union stated (Official Repors

on the Expulsion of Communist Dominated Ory

the CIO, compiled by the Publicity Department, CIO, Se

1954), p. 18):

The Communist Party is precisely this type of orga

tion which the CIO is under 4. constitutional mandate te

oppose—one which would use power to exploit the peoj

for the benefit of an alien loyalty. The Communist

speaks in the words of unionism and Americanism, Bu

actually it matters not to the Communist Party wh

a particular policy will advance or hinder the best ia

terests of American labor. The sole test is whether th

policy is required by the need of the Soviet Union. @

to the extent that the Soviet line permits will the prop

ganda mill of the Communist Party grind out platfon

which are in consonance with the ideals Sof American

In event of conflict, however, between the needs |

Soviet Union and the best interests of American lab

former must always prevail. .

* We have already pointed out that Congress duke to ene

legistation in 1947, 1954, and 1989 aimed at reducing Comitii

influence in labor unions, See p. 39, supra.

. en the interrogation of a witness concerning

field of education, saying

Ree se to.conduct appropriate investigations in aid

such power has never been questioned by this

_ Court. * *'* Tn the last analysis this power

“ests on! the right of self-preservation, “the

ultimate value of any society,” Donnie v. United

(States, 341 U.S. 494, 509. Justification: for its

~ exercise in turn rests on the long and widely

accepted view that the tenets of the Communist

Party include the ultimate “verthrow of the

ee Government of the United States by force and

violence, a view which has been given formal

expression by the Congress,

was in ‘the presence of Subversives in’ New Hamp-

Shine: that the Attorney

to"believe” that'there was a “‘nexus between We

Fellowship) ‘atid: subversive’ activities” ‘and that

speakers ‘and guests miglit be stibversive’ persons} an

that this nexus was adequate to justify the i

tion! since ‘the investigation was: undertaken “in the |

interest ‘of: belf-preservation’”: (pp: aan In con-

ah tb the’ ‘strong gov

tia om

to, police officers; poe since, ‘the, only hharm-,publi

exposure-—was ‘‘an. inescapable incident of: an investi-

gation into the presence of subversive a a within

a State” mee ASS 941

“Subsequen y, in Witkinson v. vtnitea ‘Stes, 365

US. 399, and ‘Braden ¥. United States, 365. U. S. 431,

the Court sustained like questions. in the course of a:

*In DeGregory.y, New. Hampshire, No. 396, this. T

cided. April 4, 1966, this Court, recently upheld the claim

wittieds that his fofiddl to answer vertath questions pat Wik

eR atangrytbaanpiin insane nosing

n,.of. subversive activiti protected by the

and Tobe nendments. Detnenaiig” Uphaus,

Coutt found | that ‘thé questions ‘asked’ DeGrevory baer

cient soraibigiiectorith the State's interestiin preventing subver

sion, in view of the fact, that they, ted to, activities six J

and mo before the investi ion. that there was no

dieatiia' tHae!

subversive organizations) (or: activities. ‘In phaus—ns: inthe

present case—the questions asked related to. current, subyersin

activities; and. there can be n doubt, we submit, of the pro

pridty “ot such’ ‘Thideed. ‘this’ Court” affitled

' earlier -cohviction' tof: eine na based upon’ his’ refusilote

answer the question whether he, was presently. a, teak

ram Party. PeGivegory, vy. Attorney, @ oneral,

7

“was mitea ‘involved ‘‘twith’ Mf

57

“Badeenional “induiry’ into Communist ‘propaganda,

ject’ the’ witnieiséy” contentions imider the Fitst

ty * ** are SS much within. [the snbeommittee’

"pervasive au Cp ssa activity in educational

we semumist: Pane ation ‘ o'the extit which

roaigare pronto [the St

-,, tions and causes: in,

was pasty not constitutionally b fora jn [th

- ‘sabeommittee’s inquiry. Upon the By terre and ‘au

ee U.S! dt; 125+134; we hold that the rind

‘wi Be ier coat ae a at, Ament rom,

“The lower courts likewise uniformly and

iat that’ thé Prat Prairie ‘does ‘not ‘prohibit’

from investigating: Cormmunist el yt bara

tion necessary in order to _ legislate. E.9., Barsky v= Pnited

ore Spit 9d: 241 246 (C.A.'D.C)); ‘certiorari denied, 334

‘3.848; Latoedn, 'y: ‘States, ss, Wem: 24-49; 62.$3'(CxA)

Dit); bertidiart: dédied, 330 TES. '984 3 United Blatesv) Toseph:

Ps 165 F. 2d 82, 90-92 (C.A. 2), certiorari denied, 838 US!

thane ng Sree AOS: sea OF

ari dismissed, 388 U.S. 888,! United Stites +. 0

FO 8 187 {Ola 8); “Mearahalt v. "Cndeed States, “176° F.

BS LACLS D. Cy, gerol ete Poa ‘US.-983; Denate'v:

ae AL D:C:); “affired ‘on’’other

ds, » ts. 1885 ri ‘Onited States, "259 FR 9a‘g08

(CA DC rsed’ ‘on other’ Brounds, 36°08 376 Pown-

by Grete Soule, 95 F.2d! 352; 361 (O!A: De), certiorari

nied, 308°U.8.: 68S ‘United States v. Lattimore, ans F.2d

847,851 (0.4. DO.) ; Morford v United States, 176K! od B4,

(CA. D.C.), reversed on other grounds, 389° U.S. 958;

58

The. public interest in congressional knowledgs gf

Communist. activities is underscored by the numerom:

decisions. of this Court based upon the pr sin at

the dangers of CORMRARAEE, SRT SEER: ee

cular areas involved, as found by Congress, furnish

an adequate constitutional foundation for s re

tive legislation.” Upon the same premise the { Cor

has ‘upheld; against attack under the Fourtem

Amendment, State legislation aimed at men

the Communist Party, requiring those occupying o

seeking public office to diselaim knowing membérship

in any organization advocating the overthrow ofthe

government by force and violence." The proposition

that there is sufficient public danger in the activitia

of the Communist Party to justify legislative investi

gation and appropriate legislation is thus deeply en

bedded in our constitutional law. To hold that the

First Amendment prevents mere congressional inguin

into Communist membership or activities would ‘ao

only overrule Barenblat, U phaus, Braden, and Wilk

United States v. Kamin, 186 F. Supp. 791, 803(D. Mam)

United States v. Bryan, 72 F. Supp. 58, 62. (D. D.C.), revere

on other grounds, 174 F. 2d 525 (C.A. D.C.), rever

U.S, 393. |

* American Communications Association v. Douds,

382; Osman vy. Douds, 339 U.S. 846; Carlson vy. Landon, &

U.S. 524; Harisiades v. Shaughnessy, 342 U.S. 580; Galuans

Press, 347 U.S. 522; Flemming v. Nestor, 368 U.S. 603;4om)

munist Party v. Subversive Activities Control Board, 36103

1; Seales v. United States, 367 U.S, 203. :

* Gerende vy. Board of Supervisors, 341 U.S. 56; Garner 1.

Board of Public Works, 341. US. ‘716. See, also, Beil an. 5,

Board of Education, 357 U.S. 399; Lerner v. tea: 03 :

468; Adler v. Board of Education, 342. U.S. 485; Gibamn

Florida Legislative Coman., 372 U.S. 539, 549. ;

59

ej ot z basie Premise of the consistent line

na Measure upon its own facts. Hence, we do not

est ‘that, | simply because there is a sufficient in-

erent in legislative knowledge concerning Communist

a vities, in a particular field to justify an appro-

i use ‘of compulsory process to elicit testimony,

ea tomatically follows’ that particular questioning

of 8} particular witness is proper!’ Accordingly; we

sider the reasons for calling petitioner in this case;

ng rag of the information he could’ be“éxpected

‘ish, and ‘the potential harm to protected free-

j and we show that in’ all’ these respects the

i case is ‘Substantially stronger than Barenblat,

on, or Braden,’ .

c may begin by. noting that not only was the Cora-

mittee’s inquiry in’ this case supported Wy ‘strong

consider tions of publie interest, a8 “we Have ‘seen,

it, in dditi on, there Was every reason t0 ‘believe

| 5 cares $b U8, 'p: doa

At the time’ a ‘the Committee

—— that the Uni Lie

Vorkers 0

” tn ttB6? tind

heard sworn fatissony that virtually all the union’s

213-355—¢6——_5

60

officers. were Communist (see, supra, p, 4). >

tioner was admittedly general vice-president 4 s

union and president of District No. 9. The Com

mittee had further information linking petitioner wil

Russell Nixon, a lobbyist for the union who had be

identified by a witness as a member of the Communi

Party, and with. the, American Peace Crusade, whi

the Committee. believed to be a Communist- ont

ganization (see supra, pp. 12-14). As an oftirer ate

union about. which, the Committee had ‘evidence af

such infiltration, petitioner was in a position re

vide, pertinent information, either by affirming

pudiating previous testimony. . And the questions ny

the Committee asked and that petitioner refused b

answer, were fairly designed to elicit such informatin

An. affirmative answer to the question that ford

the basis of count one of the indictment—wh hethe

petitioner, was a member of the Communist | Party

movement and show that Be as could ras

information; a negative response. would have r

-

hee

to. show that. the reports were kaggeri

petal f

rate,,;.In, Barenblatt, three of the five questions th

the witness refused to answer. concerned his member

ship in,the Communist Party“ and this Court sped

ically affirmed, the aga nie Prani f bat

three questions were, proper. _ 115, In W ine

. "=e jo no 4 mane of he Coomnit Par ”; SB

you ‘ever: been s, member; of the Communist P ” 5M

you ever,® member of the Haldane Club of. nme

Party while at the ee he ee 360 USih

62 7

that the witness has saeco information. Kindly,

iealnidnnteccxpedeiben eubitect vinibie tides igati |

be weighed against any. potential. damage ‘to. ma

protected’ by’ the Bill of Rights. But once ‘they

points are covered, the judicial function is exhausted

The ‘Court would be exercising a legislative function

if it! undertook to decide just how necessary—or how

hélpful—particular information would be. :

among relévant lines of inquiry, deciding when'th

ground has been adequately covered, relying upn

testimony already received, or seeking further dis

proof or corroboration are all parts of the proceso

legislative investigation. For the Court to decide sic

issues would be inconsistent with the presumption of

validity due to a coordinate branch of the government

and violative of principles of separation of powén

See Watkins v. United States, 354 U.S. 178, 215

| This precept is as necessary in practice as it #

sound in principle. No one can’ tell how’ helpful4

logically ‘material item of evidence’may be in ‘th

legislative process without studying and drawing it

ferences fromthe ‘evidence’ alréady introduced/

certaining and appraising the other sotirces of it

formation, weighing the kinds’ of : legislation’ thi

might ‘be: drafted, and anticipating the probable’

sponsé: of the Sendte and the ‘House ‘to’ partici

evidence.’ A printed’ record supplies no basis “fet

undertaking such a task; it can he performed onlylj

lawmakers as part of the process of legislation.

In the present case; moreover, it is clear that tht

information sought to be elicited from peti oner

would have been extremely helpful to Congress,

Byen if the Committee had expected to receive only

corroborating testimony from petitioner, there is an

important govermmental: interest,.in ‘having a well-

informed witness ‘confirm previous testimony—par-

ticularly..when the existing evidence is in a contro-

versial area and is therefore likely to be challenged.

If the attempts of the Communist Party to infiltrate

labor organizations were few or unsuccessful, a legis-

lator might well conclude that the dangers did not

justify the costs of legislation. If the infiltration

was on a larger scale and more successful, he might

reach the opposite conclusion.

Furthermore, the Committee was not only seeking

evidence concerning petitioner. The question whether

he was a member of the Communist Party had a

direct bearing on the question of Communist infiltra-

tion. of his union. That question (and the questions

in counts 2 and 3 concerning petitioner’s activitics

and relations with local officers of. the Communist

Party) could have provided information as to the

extent of such infiltration and the methods and means

employed, as well as information concerning Conmmu-

hist aetivity in the labor movement generally. The

question in count four concerning the possible Party

membership of another official of the union clearly fell

within the same category and sought the same type of

information. The questions in counts five and six

concerning petitioner’s possible participation in the

activities of a known Communist-front organization,

and the method by which his activity was solicited, had

an obvious bearing upon the Committee’s interest in

the dissemination of Communist na «.

short, the Committee had reasonable grounds to belien

that petitioner could provide highly useful inform,

tion’ on the’ subject of their’ inquiry.” dia

8) In weighing the ‘governmental interest in obtain

ing information from petitioner against the

interests that he asserts, it is relevant that petitions,

is asserting a right, not to express his beliefs ‘ay

engage in open political activities, but to keep ‘the

secret; and he is complaining, not of any governmental

abridgment of freedom of expression and association,

but of fear of the lawful reactions of those who do no

share his opinions, once the truth is known: Tob

sure, the Consitution implicitly recognizes a funds

mental right of privacy against undue governmental

prying, and a measure of privacy may be essential

freedom of belief and also (in the beginning, at least)

to effective political organization.. See Wathing \,

United States, 354 U.S. 178, 196-198. But the exad

nature of the constitutional right asserted mist b

taken into account in weighing the governmental

against the private interest—an analytical ‘proces

required in this type of case (see pp. 51-53, supra),

It is therefore relevant to note that this is not’ tam

of governmental interference with the political pret

esses essential to the conduct of democratic gover

ment. Of. United States v. Carolene Products (,

304 U.S. 144, 152,n. 4. Nor can petitioner ivan

* We repeat that petitioner’s conviction must be uph el

any of the six counts is sustained, and that here, in ca irate

DeGregory v. New Hampshire (see p. 56, n. 29, Dy

questions. asked petitioner related to present—not pi

versive activities.

65

‘ arpose of constitutional protection of speech

“to foster peaceful interchange of all’ manner : of

thoughts, information and ideas.” See Kunz v. New

fork, 240 US. 290, 295, 302 (dissenting opinion of

Mr. Justice Jackson). The guarantee of freedom of

xpression rests ultimately upon belief in the value

of free. mpetition in ideas when openly and publicly

debated. In Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357,

$72, 375, 377, Justices Brandeis and Holmes, concur-

ring, stated :

Those who won our independence be-

lieved * * * that freedom to think as you will

and to speak as you think are means indispens-

able to the discovery -and spread of political

' truth; that without free speech and assembly

discussion would be futile; that with them,

discussion affords ordinarily adequate protec-

tion against the dissemination of noxious

‘doctrine; that the greatest menace to freedom

is an inert people; that public discussion is a

political duty; and that this should be a funda-

mental principle of the American government.

Petitioner is unwilling to stake his beliefs upon such

atest. He was not called in reprisal for anything

that he had said. ‘His fear is of public knowledge and

- discussion of the information the Committee sought to

eet,

Furthermore, there is much less foundation for

pétitioner’s claim of prejudice to fundamental free-

doms than in Barenblatt, Wilkinson, and Braden.

Barenblat was a college teacher by profession. The

investigation was into Communist infiltration in the

field of education—-an area of special and sensitive

Bacern for freedom of thought and expression (cf.

66

Sweeay v,. New Hampshire, 354 US. 234,

260-264)—-and was necessarily gonenrned.

with ideas. and propaganda. Tn Wil

Braden, the. congressional inquiry was. fe

Communist activities. in.spreading _ propa

Wilkinson, was taxed at the hearings with hay in

sentto Atlanta, Georgia, ‘for the purpose of de

ing a hostile sentiment. to this committee and

work for the purpose of undertaking to bring dress

upon the United States Congress to preclude the

particular hearings.” 365 U.S., p. 416 (di nting

opinion of Mr. Justice Black). And Braden appar

ently was called at.least partly as a, result of publi

letters urging opposition to measures then. pending

in Congress and criticizing the Un-American Acti

ities Committee. 365 U.S., pp. 451-454 (dissenting

opinion of Mr. Justice Douglas). There is ‘no sug.

gestion that the subpoenaing of the present petitioner

had any connection with political. opposition, and,

surely, infiltration of. labor organizations cannot bk

likened to political propaganda or college educati|

II. THE PROCEDURES OF THE INVESTIGATING COMMIT

IN THIS CASE WERE REGULAR AND PROPER, AND FURNBI

NO GROUND FOR REVERSING PETITIONER’S CONTHMM

CONVICTION

In this part of our argument, we consider él

tioner’s challenge to the procedures of the Un-Amen

can Activities Committee in this case, which he om

tends require that his conviction for contend

Congress be reversed.

of the Rules of Procedure of the House

tee on Un-American Activities provides in

ertinent part that ‘‘[n]o major investigation shall

be initiated without approval of a majority of the

Committee.’” Admittedly, there is no direet evidence

that the Committee approved the investigation of

Communist activities in the field of labor of which

the hearings at which petitioner was called to testify

were a part.” But no other reasonable inference can

be drawn from the evidence.

At the time of the hearings in 1955, the Committee

was engaged—and had been since at’ least 1952—in

a continuing investigation of Communist activities

in the labor field. See Statement, supra, ‘pp. 4-5;

280 F. 2d, p. 681. The Committee’s annual reports—

endorsed by all of its members—reported on this

investigation in 1954 and 1955. (Appendices I and II,

“infra, pp. 93-107). In 1953, moreover, the Committee

had: made legislative recommendations based upon

the investigation which were enacted into law (Ap-

pendix I, infra, pp. 93-94). Hence, to hold that the in-

vestigation of Communist activities in labor was not

approved by the Committee it would have to be pre-

sumed that there was no Committee approval of an

* We do not. dispute that this investigation was a.“major”

one and that approval by a majority of the Committee was

“We have printed as Appendices I and II to this -brief

= rom. the Committee’s. annual reports for 1954 and

ints WP TE Bas

‘68 a

investigation continuing over a period of:

four Lee meen on which the

presumption can be indulged. " iby ,

It only. remains to. consider whether be hearing

question ‘were part of this approved investigatic

Clearly they were: The hearings were specifically

linked in the 1955 annual, report to the continuing

investigation of Communist. activities in the Jab

movement (Appendix II,.infra, p. 108). In. additig

the subject matter of the hearings, the opening state ¢

ment of the chairman and other statements made in

the course of the hearings indicate conclusively thi

they. were a part of that investigation. (See State

ment, supra, pp. 7-14, and note 42, p, 70, infra)...

B. THERE WAS A PROPER DELEGATION TO THE SUBCOMMITEEe

- Rule XI of the House of Representatives authorim

the Un-American Activities Committee to delegates

thority to conduct hearings to subcommittees.” Pr

suant thereto, the Committee by resolution of Janumy

* Tt provides in pertinent part et

The Committee on teacA siecle Activities, as a

or by subcommittee, is authorized to make from time to

sah aiee: SE tet

- a . Rs

eu il eebiatiet ac ihas nanan mit

on Un-American Activities, or any subcommittee therea,3

suthorized to sit and act at such times and p veg #

pe Prrage bay Peverar nn tadbioe, spun des sien. viv

witnesses and the production of such books, papemi,

documents, and to take such testimony, ot eee

cary. * * * [Emphasis added.) e

a:

‘aiithorized its Chairman'“‘to appoint sub-

as *'* * for the purpose of performing any

‘acts ‘which the Committee as a whole is au-

“thorized to’ perform.” (Gx 4; R. 210.) We do not

understand petitioner to challenge the propriety of

“gh resolution. ° Subsequently, the full Coramittee

sithorized the particular hearings at which petitioner

‘was’ Subpoenaed ‘to appear and the Chairman ay-

"pointed the subcommittee that took petitioner’s testi-

mony.“ Additional evidence that the subcommittee

‘was authorized is provided by the’ fact that the full

committee reported petitioner’s contempt to the House

(@x8 (unprinted) ). | lel od

“We think the foregoing facts provide ample basis

for concluding that the subcommittee was properly

authorized to question petitioner. See United States

:

¥, Seeger, 303 F. 2d 478, 487 (C.A. 2) (coneurring

opinion). We know of no ease where'a more particu-

larized delegation has been required. Moreover, while

the formal authorizing resolution did not spell out the

: precise area of inquiry which the subcommittee was

- tovexplore in questioning petitioner (nor was such

_ ‘Specification required since the subcommittee was au-

thorized to exercise all the powers of the parent Com-

ee eee? Who made the underlying motion, or the

wervtary taking the

70

mittee), it is clear that, the subcommittee .kn

adhered to the precise areas of interest of the ps :

Committee; and ean in no sense be thought. to hayg

exceeded its delegated authority in interrogating peti.

tioner. ihe

The Committee. Jpsiesil to elicit fiiterbintion ta

petitioner concerning Communist activities in) the

union of which he was. an officer; the subcommittes

carefully sought to carry out this purpose. Thus, in

his opening statement, the subcommittee’s chairman

carefully and fully delineated the subject under in.

quiry by the subcommittee as Communist activities

in the labor field (see Statement, supra, p. 8),

and each witness who appeared before the subcommit-

tee on February 28 and March 1 (the dates of peti-

tioner’s appearance) was questioned concerning the

same subject.“ From these and other indications,

it is evident that the subcommittee—to which the

parent Committee had, as we have seen, duly delegated

its investigatory authority—was carrying out: the

specific wishes of the parent Committee when it ques

tioned. petitioner, rather than embarking on an investi-

gatory frolic of its own. The actions of a subcom

mittee are ordinarily presumed to be within. the scope

of authority conferred by the parent Committee

(Norris. v. United States, .257 U.S. 77; 82), and mot

only is that presumption unrebutted by the evidence

“See testimony. of Julia aneabe, Lawrence Cover, andi

tioner.: .(R.. 219+380.),- a i ay Seis

“For example, . duasing the testimony: of ‘Eavarenoe! Cover,

another meniber. of U.E.;,on. the same day a bore

US

71

ite ‘biit ‘the ‘evidence affirmatively establishes that

n tee was acting in Mi casein: Mere its

ed Bb. 3803 :

FENITIONE's CLAIM THAT HE WAS NOT APPRIBED BY TH CoM:

pari MITTEB OF THE PERTINENCY OF THE QUESTIONS THAT HE REFUSED

‘140 ANSWER 18 NOT PROPERLY HEFORE' THIS COURT AND, IN ANY

| EVENT, LACKS MERIT ”

1, Having Failed To Challenge the Hertha >t iishahiek

' Before the Committee, Petitioner Cannot Now Claim That

He Was Not Apprised of Their Pertinency

* Petitioner claims (Br. 121-123) that ‘he was not

adequately apprised by the subcommittee of the sub-

ject under inquiry so that he Could determine whethe::

‘the questions asked him were pertinent to this subject.

But petitioner failed to raise this objection’ before

the subcommittee and, under this Court’s decisions, is

precluded from raising it for the first time in the

contempt proceeding.

‘(a) In Bale v. Henkel, 201 U.S. 43, the witness

based his refusal to produce documents on the ground

(among others) that it was “impossible for him to

collect ‘them within the time allowed?’ (p. 70): The

Court indicated that it would not consider this’ ob-

Congressman Doyle stated (R.: 288-284) :

[W]e as a committee have had plenty of Silaashae reacties

“that! Aho | tet

. Se Daring Jou and te ther pony er

this investigation if we didn’t have p

Daan, npeetention it wo didnt 2s

72

snihinn bitsaiann: Sihlnd shecwtinenaeDadceliaal

([this} ground, doubtless, the court would, have gig,”

hm. the necessary time’’ (ibid.). _ Similarly, Unites |

States v. Bryan, 339 U.S. 323, held that a witnes

who, having been subpoenaed to appear Sn eae

records. before a congressional committee, appear, |

but refuses to produce the records; may not raise at

his trial for. the first time the issue whether a quorum

of the Committee was present. The Court stated that

[t]he defect im composition of the Committee, if

any, was one which could easily have been remedied,

* * * For two years, now grown to four, the |

mittee’s investigation was obstructed by an objection.

which, so far as we are informed, could have been

rectified in a few minutes’’ (339 U.S., p. 333). More.

over, it was apparent that this witness “would ot

have complied with the subpoenas no matter, how.

the Committee had been constituted at the time. * oe

Here respondent would have the Committee rt

through the empty formality of summoning a quorum

of its members to gather in solemn conclave to hea

her refuse to honor its demands” (pp, 333-33

See, also, United States v. Fleischman, 339 US.

352. “fe

These principles are fully applicable to th? sue

whether the witness is sufficiently apprised of the. sub

ject) under inquiry and.the pertinency “of: the

questions to this subject. “When a witness challenges

the pertinency.of.a question, the congressional. ‘Com.

mittee or its counsel can explain more*fully the sil

ject under inquiry and the relationship " betwe n the

question and the subject, and, if necessary, can I

73

for refusing to answer the question, the pertinency

of the question, like the existence of a quorum (Bryan,

Fleischman), ‘becomes immaterial, since the wit-

ness) would not have answered no matter how clear

the committee made the pertinency of the question

stadia in Watkins v. United States, 354 US.

178, this Court, stated that “(t]he final source of evi-

denee as to the “question under inquiry’ is the Chair:

man’s response when petitioner objected to the ques-

tions on the grounds of lack of pertinency’’ (p. 214;

emphasis added); “[uJnless the subject matter has

been made to appear with undisputable clarity, it is

the duty of the investigative body, upon objection -of

the witness on grounds of pertinency [“] to state for

the record the subject under inquiry at that time and

pertinent, thereto’’ (pp, 214-215; emphasis added. )“

And in Barenblatt Vv. United States, 360 U.S. 109,

123-124, the. Court made express the implication ‘in

Watkins, and squarely. held that the issue of per-

tineney,\ must. be. raised . before. the investigating

Furthermore, the Court held in Barenblatt, the. issue

“Watkins specifically told’ the commities that “I do not be-

lieve ‘that “such questions ‘are relevant to the work of this

comiitittes: * * *." ‘ ; api | '

“The ‘foothote to 'this sentence reads’ “Cf United States v.

Kania, 188 ¥. Supp.'701, 800” (354 U.S, p. 215, n, 55). At

Pege’800°OF ‘the Kamin opinion, then District Judge Aldrich

74

of pertinency ‘is not raised by a memors

mitted by a witness to the committee saying 1}

might wish to * * * challenge the pertinency’ of th

question to the investigation” and quoting, from ;

opinion of this Court, ‘‘language relating to a witney

right to be informed of the pertinency of question

asked him by an administrative agency.’’ P, 1

The Court held that “Tt]hese statements cannot ***

be accepted as the equivalent of a pertinency objection,

At best, they constituted but a contemplated objectin

to questions still unasked, and buried as they were‘

the context of petitioner’s general challenge to th

power of the Subcommittee they can hardly be em

sidered adequate, within the meaning of what was said

in ‘Watkins * * * to trigger what would have bea

the. Subeommittee’s reciprocal obligation had it bea

faced with a pertinency objection’: (pp. 123-12),

See, also, McPhaul v. United at» 364 bri

380-381. ;

Andiin Deutch v. United States, 367 US. 456,

where the Court found that “the petitioner was ‘ne

made aware at the time he was questioned of the que

tion then under ‘inquiry nor of how the question

which were asked related to such a subject”—it never

emphasized the necessity of @ specific objection on ern

The defendant contends that it is not enough for.s@

tion to be pertinent—the witness must be informed of th

subject matter, so that he may have a definite stand

which to. determine whether he should answer. .

he was not so informed he admittedly indicated no i

and did not choose to supplement. any deficiency.

knowledge by asking either the Chairman or h

counsel, I regard this contention as immaterial.

ra reat se

75

. theless did not reverse the witness’ conviction. on this

0° [PYhe thoughts which the petitioner voiced: in

refusing: to. answer the questions about other

_ people ean hardly be considered as the equiva-

. lent of an, objection upon the grounds of per-

_, tineney. Although he did indicate doubt as to

the importance of the questions, the petitioner’s

_ ,, Main concern was clearly his own conscientious

“unwillingness to act as an’ informer: It ‘can

hardly be considered, ‘therefore, that the ob-

jections which the petitioner made at the time

were “adequate, within ‘the meaning of what

» was said in Watkins, supra, at 214-215, to trig-

ger what would have been the Subcommittee’s

, Feeiprocal obligation had it been faced with a

_ pertinency objection.” Barenblat, supra, at

__(b), In the present case, petitioner (who appeared

before the subcommittee with cotinsel) did not make

even the “contemplated” and “buried” objections to

the pertinency of the questions that were made by the

witness in Barenblatt, nor did he indicate any doubt

as to the importance of the questions, such as was

stated by the witness in Deutch. Péetitioner’s pre-

liminary statement was no mére than a penéral chal:

lenge to the power of the subcdmmittee to hold ‘any

hearings ‘or to ask any questions of the witnesses be-

fore: it. ‘The. statement claimed that the ‘Committee

had no. valid legislative purpose, that the hearing

Violated the Bill of Attainder Clause of the Constitu:

tion and the First Amendment, and that ‘the’ Com-

mittee’s authorizing resolution did not authorize the

218-855—¢6——_6

could not constitute an objection to the pertineney of

questions not yet asked: A similar statement attack.

ing the jurisdiction and power of the committee way

made by the witness in Borenblatt, but the Court con.

cluded that this “general challenge to the power of

the Subcommittee” was not adequate ‘to trigger what

would have been the Subcommittee’s reciprocal ob-

eS ee ek Sea NE elrt

to apprise the witness of the pertinency of the Sed

tions. 360 TS., p124"

Petitioner likewise did not question the pertineney

of any of the particular, questions asked him during j

the course of the hearing, Instead, he repeated the

objections in his statement: that the hearing was not

within the power given the Committee by its authoris.

ing resolution; that the hearing was intended ts

“bust” the union, or. to expose petitioner, or. to ty

and convict him, and therefore did not have a valid

legislative purpose; and that the hearing as a

and particular questions violated the First Amend-

ment. In addition, he claimed that the Committee

relied on, informers who were liars. (Statement,

supra, p. 11), None of these objections 80 much

Pathe ye dear ncaa ig a. gan ages

207 88) wi rhe the. record in No, 35, | :

with motion in this case (R.

them sufficiently —

even those “contemplat

prea Aas

me Y

ss hinted to ‘the ‘subcommittee that petitioner .was

claiming that he did not understand the pertinency of

(9) Petitioner was apprised, from at least three

different sources, that the subject under inquiry at

the: hearings was Communist activity in labor unions.

First, at the start of the hearings on February 28,

the day petitioner first testified, the chairman of the

subcommittee specifically stated (R. 219):

» There. will be considered at this hearing

testimony relating to Communist, Party activi-

ties within the field of labor, the

used by the Communist Party to infiltrate labor

» begir of his testimony, indicated that he had

heard Mise, Jacobs? testimony | (R. 242) and subse-

78

quently reaffirmed this fact (R. 274). Motedyg,

counsel representing petitioner also represented Juli

Jacobs and was certainly present when the i

statement was made."

Second, as we have just noted, petitioner adit

knowledge of the testimony of Julia Jacobs, The

questions asked by the Committee of Miss Jacob

concerning the witness’ employment and work in the

labor movement and her possible Communist Pary

membership—clearly showed that the subject of th

Committee’s inquiry was Communist activity in labe

unions (R. 221-227; and see R. 227-241). Mis

Jacobs was questioned concerning many of the same

activities about which petitioner was questioned, i in

cluding the Square D strike (Hearings (GX 12; w

p. 8, n. 2, supra), pp. 30-31) and the pilgrimage b

Washington organized by the American Peace Crusak

(id., pp. 37-38). Moreover, Congressman Doyle «-

plicitly restated the purpose of the hearings a

Miss Jacob’s testimony (R. 222) :

[M]y questions are directed to you because

are interested in findirig out the extent an

through what persons, and how, the Communis

* Petitioner contends (Pet. Br, 122) that the presence of bt

counsel when the opening statement was made is not. suffices

As we have shown, however, there is every indication t

petitioner was present when the statement was made (sek

101-109). In addition, it would certainly seem that! y

could be charged with the knowledge of his

counsel appeared for each of three witnesses (Mise J

Lawrence Cover, and petitioner) who appeared on the 9 :

day of the heariiigs | and the three, Guseah' coldial fil

joint statement objecting to the Committee's wary

ment, supra, pp. 8-9). és

~ | 79

YARN

_. Party in your experience has undertaken to in-

eo ee etl labor unions wherever you know any-

ty +4 Mii .o2here * w *

_ May I make this further statement: I am not

' interested in asking any question or getting you

to answer any question that deliberately or

otherwise is intended to hurt any organization

which is patriotic and law-abiding. ‘That is

whether it is a labor union, or whatever it is.

But I am interested, as I stated before, in get-

ting your cooperation if you will give it to us on

_ helping to uncover any person or any group of

persons who are undertaking to subvert the

labor union of which you are secretary or any

other group to their own Communist Party

objectives. ,

The purpose of this committee sitting here

under Public Law 601 is to get that informa-

tion, if we can, from you and others, looking

_ toward amendments to or strengthening legis-

_ lation dealing with subversive activities.

Third, during petitioner’s appearance before the

subcommittee, he was twice told by Congressman

Doyle the precise subject under inquiry. Before

petitioner was asked. the question involved in count

four, Congressman Doyle told him that the subcom-

mittee was “trying to find out the extent to which

Communists have infiltrated your union, if they haye—

the union of which you are the executive vice presi-

dent” (see Statement, supra, p. 12). Subsequently,

at the time petitioner was directed to answer the ques-

tion involved in count five Congressman Doyle stated

(see Statement, supra, p. 13):

_** * T am also interested in knowing wi

witness knows about the extent to ich

American Communist Party, in connection with

these peace moves or iharwlbe, was using the

leadership of American labor unions, coda

any labor union that the witness might hay

- been a member of at that time or had any em.

nection with. The question is the extent tp

which the Communist Party had infiltrate

American labor: unions * * * the extent

which they were using it then and are using it

now for their conspiratorial purposes."

(b) Thus, the subject of the subcommittee’s

quiry—Communist activity in labor tka tee

clearly and repeatedly brought home to petitioner. hh

addition, all six of the questions upon which petitioner

was indicted and convicted were, either on their face

or as shown by tlie statements made to petitioner a

the time, pertinent to that subject.“ The question

volved in count one—whether petitioner was at th

time of the hearings a member of the Communis

Party—was on its face pertinent to the subject unde

inquiry. This Court in Barenblatt stated that th

pertinency of an identical question (see 360 U.S,p

114) to the subject of Communist activity in education

“was clear beyond doubt” (p. 125). It is equally

‘7 See also the statements of Congressman Doyle at the start

of petitioner’s testimony and after petitioner had refused te

answer all the questions involved in the indictment (see Stair

ment, supra, p. 9, and R, 376).

“* As noted earlier (p. 61, n. 35, supra), the judgment belor

must be affirmed if petitioner’s conviction on: any one‘

counts was valid. tt,

81

ee eee Comeneniet actixitien ne

~ “Petitione ee heebienic of the sistiinatias of

- the’ question involved in count two—‘‘[y]ou have left

“a8 under the impression at this point by reading the

newspapers you knew that Johnson was chairman of

the Communist Party of Indiana and I am asking yoa

if that is the only way you knew Johnson’’ (State-

ment; supra, p. 11). This question, when asked of an

important labor official residing in Indiana, was

clearly pertinent to an investigation of Communist

activities in labor unions, Similarly, petitioner was

apprised of the pertinency of at least half of the in-

formation sought by the question involved in count

three—whether Elmer Johnson or Henry Aron ever

addressed a group of people while petitioner was

present. :

- Before petitioner was asked the question involved

in count four—whether he knew Russell Nixon to

be a Party member—petitioner had been told by Con-

gressman Doyle that the subcommittee was investi-

gating Communist control of the U.E. Petitioner

had admitted that he was acquainted with Mr. Nixon

and that he knew that Nixon was legislative repre-

sentative of the U.E. in Washington (Statement,

supra, pp. 11-12). This question concerning the Com-

munist Party membership of a high union official was

just as pertinent to the subject of Communist

activities in labor unions as the question concerning

whether petitioner himself was a Party member.

The subcommittee also explained to petitioner the

question involved in count five—whether he had “an

active part in the peace pilgrimage to Washi

which was organized by one of the ‘front’ organ

tions known as the American Peace Crusade’’

ment, supra, pp. 12-14): The Committee couns

petitioner that the question was directed to dis

ing “‘the extent to which the Communist leg: ‘

engaged in manipulating peace moves in this county

in behalf of a foreign power.’ And nan

Doyle stated that he wished to discover (Statement,

supra, p. 13): ; ee

* * © [What the witness knows about th

extent to which the American Communist

Party, in connection with these peace movesor

otherwise, was using the leadership of Ameri

can labor unions, especially any labor union

that the witness might have been a member

of at that time or had any connection with

The question is the extent to which the Con-

munist Party had infiltrated American ‘labor

unions * * *, the extent to which they wer

using it tien and are using it now for their

conspiratorial purposes. ie

In addition, before petitioner was asked the question

involved in count six—who had solicited him asa

sponsor of the American Peace Orusade—he Wa

shown an article in the Daily Worker listing a ‘Jom

Gojack, international’ vice-president, URRWMA™®s

an original sponsor of that sce csaeearoscers (Statement

supra, p. 14). Ed

~ @ Petitioner does’ not ‘raise the distinct ise cil

government proved at his:trial that “the questions pro

by the congressional committee were in fact ‘pertinent: tothe

} ADEQUATELY APPRISED THAT HIS OBJECTIONS

8 JURISDICTION HAD BEEN REJECTED

ntends_ that the Committee was re-

failed, to overrule his written objections

Committee’s jurisdiction (Statement, supra,

-{ ), before he was questioned. However, this

contention is not properly before this Court, since, as

jointed out by the court of appeals (348 F, 2d, pp.

356-35 3), it was not raised by petitioner’s experienced

in either the district court or the court of

appeals. Petitioner concedes as much, and offers no

justification or excuse (Pet. Br. 126, n. 118).

In any event, the contention is without merit. Since

petitioner’s objections went not to specific questions,

but to the very jurisdiction of the Committee to pro-

ceed with the inquiry (R, 405-406), the subcommittee’s

action in proceeding with the hearings and calling the

three witnesses—including petitioner—on whose be-

half the objections had been filed was an inescapable

sign to petitioner and the others that the subcommittee

had in fact rejected these objections.” Moreover, al-

though petitioner’s objections were in the form of a

question under inquiry’ by the committee.”. Deutch v. United

States, 367 US. 456, 468, And since this issue was not pre-

sented in the petition for certiorari, it is not before the Court.

In any event, the evidence which we have relied upon to show

that petitioner was apprised of the pertinency of the, questions

when he appeared before the subcommittee likewise demon-

strates that the questions were, in fact, pertinent to the subject

the subcommittee’s counse) stated at the hearings that the

considered by the subcommittee at the be-

i and that. the euboommittes hea

time to overrule it (R. 874-375).

SA

motion to vacate the subpoenas and set aside the

ings, neither counsel nor the witnesses Cnet in

tioner) on whose behalf the motion was filed asked for

a ruling ‘before the witnesses were sworn—as at 4

surely would, haye had they believed the Committe

had not yet considered and disposed of their motion

Counsel merely asked that his motion challenging th

Committee’ s jurisdiction be filed for incorporation i

the record. A further indication that petitioner ‘at

the other witnesses understood perfectly that the Com.

mittee had rejected their objections may be found in

the fact that the witnesses appeared in response to the

subpoenas, were sworn, and answered some questi r

In addition, petitioner was specifically directed to a

swer each question forming the basis of a count of

the indictment (R. 269-270, 287-289, 296-297, 341-369

361-362, 369) ; * he was informed that these directions

to answer were being given to establish a predicate

for a motion to cite him for contempt (R. 265, 260)

(compare Bart v. United States, 349 U.S. 219, 222);

and the subcommittee persisted in demanding answen

to its questions even after petitioner on numerous

casions orally repeated the contention made in iis

written motion that the hearing was completely t a3

authorized, and invalid (¢.g., R. 283, 290, 328, 340)

In these circumstances, we fail to see how petitioner

could have doubted that the Committee had overri le

51 The directions to answer the questions in counts three, 19

five, and ‘six followed Congressman Moulder’s statement

petitioner that the subcommittee “understand[s] you objee t

all the questions being propounded “here to you durin “ae

procedure”’ (R. 292)—another clear ‘indication that thet ie

tions had been rejected by the subcommittee.

85

his’ objection to the hearings. 8." In Quinn v. United

States; $49°S: 156, 170—on which petitioner relies

position tion of an’ objection. . Sinee itis plain that peti-

tinier here was not “forced to guess the committee’s

Taling”’‘on his objection to’ its power to: proceed, we

submit that “he has no to complain” (349 U.S.,

_ IIL THE INDICTMENT SUFFICIENTLY ALLEGED THE

as AUTHORITY OF THE COMMITTEE ©

Petitioner contends (Br. 29-45) that it is not sufi-

cient for the indictment in a contempt-of-Congress

case to allege that the particular subcommittee before

which the witness appeared was authorized to act, but

that the details of that authority must also be pleaded.

In United States v. Seeger, 303 F. 24 478 (C.A. 2)

(following United States v. Lamont, 236 F. 2d’ 319

"That petitioner was aware of the Committee's ruling and

fully intended to persist in his refusal to answer notwithstand-

ing such ruling is shown by the fact that, after the subcom-

mittee counsel’s statement for the record that the subcommittee

had voted unanimously to overrule the motion at the beginning

that he answer (R. 379). ;

* Tn addition, the subcommittee expressly rejected in advance

substantially the same objections petitioner had made in his

motion when they were renewed as to specific questions. Com-

pare petitioner’s motion, described in the Statement, supra pp.

8-9, with the objections made prior to and upon the question-

- ing forming the basis of count one: R. 242, 244, 964, 266, 269.

i Bar

me

Me

Bh ic)

eS

a3

(O,A.2)), the Court of Appeals for the Secong ni x

cuit indicated that an indictment for contempt of Coy

gress involving the House Un-American Ac ia

Committee. must show that the subcommittee w

fact authorized to conduct the inquiry in questign*

The Court of Appeals for. the District of Colu “4

Cireuit, on the other hand, regards a conclusory. all

gation of authority as: sufficient for purposes of the

indictment. Sacher v. United States, 252 F. 2d

reversed on other grounds, 356 U. S. 576; Shelton,

United States, 280. F. 2d 701, reversed on “othe

grounds sub nom, Russell v. United States, “

739."

A. We think that the view of the District of &

lumbia Circuit—that only the ultimate fact. of th

subcommittee’s authority need be alleged—is the be

ter view and fully consistent with the general prin

ciples of this Court’s Russell decision. So far ai

pertinent here, the purpose of an indictment. ine

inform the defendant of the nature of the accusatia

against him.” 369 U.S., p. 767. A conclusory a

legation of authority surely suffices to place wide

% Actually, the holdings of both Seeger and Lamont area

~rower:--See-p, 90; n. 59, infra, and-p, 92,n.-61, infra,

In Russell, supra, this Court, in reversing six

cases from the District of Columbia Circuit on the nd thai

the indictments were insufficient because the subject under ®

quiry had not been alleged, did not pass upon the rule of ti

circuit that the details of a subcommittee’s authority need noth

recited. That rule had been challenged in three of the six om

panion cases. See the briefs for petitioners in Whétman\

United States, Liveright v. United States, and Price v. |

States, Nos. 10, 11 and 12, Oct. Term, 1961.

87

Fpl ia eee arth it any ambiguity or uncer-

inty-of the prec nature of the accusation in a

f to answer pertinent questions when “summoned as a

witness by ‘the authority of either House of Con.

gress” (2° U.8.0. 192). It surely comports with the

spirit as well as the letter of Rule 7(c) of the Federal

Rules of Criminal Procedure, whieh provides that

“t]he indictment * *'* shall be a plain, concise and

definite written statement of the essential facts consti-

tiiting the offense charged”) 6 fs

To be sure, if the defendant refused to answer

questions put to him by a subcommittee not ‘atithor-

ized by Congress’ to conduct the inquiry, he could not

be guilty of violating 2 U.S:0. 192; but that, we think,

is properly a matter of proof rather than pleading.

So long as the fact of authority is pleaded, ‘the de:

fendant should have no difficulty in determining—

from the applicable resolutions of Congress’ and ‘the

Committee (see pp. 88-90, tnfra)—-whether such alle-

gation is true.” There ix certainly no danger here

like that found in Russell, where the indictments

failed to. specify the subject. under ‘inquiry by: the

subcommittee. Without the guidance of such speci-

fication, the defendants and Mie trial and appeal

courts, in this Court’s view, were unable te determine

whethér the questions asked were pertinent. ‘We find

no similar uncertainty in omitting from the indict

“Tf he his afiy question as to the precise dhain ;

he tan file a motion for a bill of particulits.’

tioner in this case filed such a motion—bnt

specification of the chain of authority. (R. 5.)

88

ment, the links, in the chain of authority | |

_- By This, Court. need not, however, resolve inte

present, case the alleged conflict on this point betwem

the Second and District of Columbia Circuits, sing

the; indictment |here was) sufficient even under. th

Second. Circuit’s, striet:\standard. , The present in.

dictment not only. alleges: that the subcommittee wu

authorized but sang narrates..the basis of ‘a

thority. .

.» The, ie ener ssalliene of Oe indictens eesiathe

‘support on this point from United State,

se gt hd Involved in that case was an ip

for perjury, an offense, whi as the Court 1

ve ia ine mana, charges ‘a

pov pe (369 U.S., pi er

- -t. An’

as! to this’

tion, of “duly crested and authorized” is sufficient to sati

element of “competent tribunal” in a perjury case, it shail

we think, suffice here. a

sf: y

«diay ‘be exercised by: subeommittees. The indi

“™ Both the’ Aét’ ‘and ‘the resolution” provide ‘as’ follows!”

fh. Pre oh 4 55 R le x sat tirerces feeds me

H attic) ait darter ie Tt,

es eo

i _* ah * A Oe. Se on ‘¢ ’ ef

"| 1%. Committés' on” Un-American ’ Activiti ies, to consist of

ah? i Sai HBX Pro op ) Rule XI t

eal * ; * i‘

sh toring “edt ot vag. Or tis

*) (D.C) Committes on. Un-American Activities,

(A) Un-American activities,

“United States,’ (ii) the’ diffusion’ ‘within’ thé ‘United

+1 States of subversive: and: un-American propaganda ‘that is

subpoenaing of petitioner to testify at 1h

be conducted by a subcommittee and that ¢

committee to conduct the hearings was

Chairman Walter pursuant to Committes

of January 20, 1955. This resolution (@X 4

209-210) provides, as has been mentioned (pp. 68

supra), that the Chairman is ‘authorized * * mn

appoint subcommittees * * * for the purpo et

performing any and all acts which the mila

a whole is authorized to perform, * * *.” The in

dictment then alleges that the hearings at which pat

tioner testified were held by the subcommittee unde

the specified “appointment and authorizations” (R93).

Thus, the indictment ‘sets forth a éomplete chan

of authority from Congress to the subcommittee .

fore which petitioner appeared. It alleges that Cun.

gress authorized the Un-American Activities Com

mittee to investigate subversive activities and to dele

gate its full investigatory authority to subcommiitts

that the Committee decided to question petitions

in aid of such an invéstigation; and that it da

delegated authority to do so ‘to the su

before which petitioner. enpenrey.. There is

of the subcommittee’s ahithiority ‘were not required

to enable petitioner to defend against the oon

of-Congress charge. | i

Petitioner argues (Br. 31-36) that the 1 missi

is the failure:to allege that the Committée a gat

" United States v. Lamont, 286. F. 2d 819, is, thus not

since in that case there was “no allegation, *.*.*:Jin

inquiry conducted by the subcommittee to the grant of

dispensed to its parent committee.” P. 317.

|

- to be covered

custoinarily includes a general grant of authority to

atut and the authorizing resolution, as we have seen,

cifically provide for’such an exercise of the power

ranted.' And as the examples of authorizing resdlu-

tions gathered by petitioner show (Br. 37), even:whén

the Committee sets forth in writing certain topics

red by the subcommittee, it carefully and

Subcommittee to act on “all other matters

within the jurisdiction of the Committee.” And, of

committ @ before which petitioner appeared was con-

stituted (see pp. 89-90, supra). Although the parent

Committee, when performing its functions through a

subcommittee, may choose to limit the subcommittes’s

Committee, there is no requirement that it do so and

it did not do so here. Therefore, there is no basis

for the allegation that petitioner urges should have

been included in the indictment.”

Thus on the facts of this case, there is no real

conflist’ with the Second Circuit's Seeger decision

(0%, 88 noted above, n. 59,. with the Lamont deci-

a top Sours that subeom tee may not exceed

We do na besdegreng Mapa fe aan eee if, 4s ty ‘

fully sets forth the chain of authority trom Congress to the eal

sion on which the court. in Seeger relied). ‘The |

in the indictment involved in Seeger was that

the authorizing resolutions—an essential step

chain of authority—was left out,” There is x :

defect in the present indictment ; no link in the ain

of authority was omitted. ) Be oi

“The judgment of the court of appeals shoal

affirmed. ¥ 4

oh ectate submitted. & |

; THURGOOD Marsiatt,

Solicitor G 4

J. Waurer YEAGLEY, — m

Assistant Attorney Gen

' Riowarp A. Posner,

Assistant to the Solicitor General,

Kevin T. Maronzy,

Apri, 1966. ae

* The first paragraph aettg ake Comte at sa

substance of a resolution passed by the Committee on Un-

Activities on June 8, 1955 directing the subcommittee to conti

the investigation. The second paragraph then states that “pu

suant to said direction” the subcommittee conducted the her

ings at which Seeger appeared as a witness. But the resolutia

of June 8, 1955 * * * was not such an authorization to &

subcommittee. It was merely a direction to the parent O

tee’s clerk to proceed with an investigation. * * * The resolu

of July 27, 1955 * * *, which actually purports to authori

subeommitiee to proceed with the hearings was nowher ma

tioned. In other words, * * * the indictment contained 4 whel

misleading and incorrect statement of the basis of that au nor

[303 F, 2d, P. 484.)

APPENDIX I

COMMITTEE ON UN-AMERICAN ACTIVITIES ANNUAL REPORT

FOR THE YEAR 1954 .

This Annual Report of the Committee on Un-Ameri-

can. Activities for the year 1954 is. submitted to the

House of Representatives in compliance with that

| section of Public Law 601 (79th Cong.) which pro-

vides: “The Committee on Un-American Activities

shall report to the House (or to the Clerk of ‘the

House, if the House is not in session) the results of

any such investigation, together with such recommen-

dations as it deems advisable.” :

* * * * *

Early in 1954 the Attorney General of the United

previously made by the committee. These were for

capital punishment in instances of espionage commit-

ted in time of peace; immunity for certain. witnesses

appearing before duly authorized Federal bodies; for

the admissibility of evidence. secured by wiretapping

or technical devices; and for legislation to break

Communist control over certain labor unions, The

ess in. 1954 passed and the President signed into

law three: of these recommendations originally pro-

posed by this commi and subsequently requested

by the Attorney General. A law permitting the use

i of the Report were read into the record below, see

Tr. 260-271,

(98)

wee Be .

j

94

of evidence secured by technical devices in cages

volving espionage and matters relating to intera

carta f Mieeme \ppreval

in the Senate. :

Cienpdian ‘nes ted Saal ‘people. The {

these reports was ‘ SGalianidhdiein: of: Ainariengl

Industries’ by the Communist Party of the U

This report reflects the committee’s findings ¢

Communist Party’s endeavors to secure & foothold in

the vital basie industries of the country. nea

mittee points out in this report that the om

Party had directed its intellectuals and white:

workers to leave employment in their own

fields and to obtain positions im industries vitél)

defense, such «as steel, electricity, and the m: ~

In, many. cases, persons were. required to leave {h

homes and travel to. distant sie ip eoler Gale

out this Communist, directive.. The committee. iseuei

this report. to warn and alert the Congress and th

industries involved regarding these efforts by the

Communist Party in the. United States. pS

a) * * *

The committee also reported the details of an er

haustive investigation and hearings relating to 2 a mi

lication, which while posing as a legitimate | de

union journal, is in reality nothing more ft

mouthpiece for Communist propaganda. The

port of ‘the March of Labor’’ clearly establishes:

Communist “front’’ character of that publicat

“e * & &

95? :

N OF COMMUNIST ACTIVITIES IN VARIOUS

ie) Servs aNd erires

at” rats AS ee eS eT ose ge

rough ave , i

g £ * » . .

le “TTR ZEEE 8 5 des eee

State of New York and States. elias

£

business agent for IUE-CIO,

+ efetie ge } st

f, ¥%

Party.

of America (FE-UE).” This testimo

the committee :

answer questions coneerning individuals k

as being members of the Communist Party, #

mittee voted to refer all testimony ing to this,

matter to the Department of Justice for st

Tiroved ths ecuiiiitttea's reodttimendation that Mf |

kins be cited for contempt of er eis

- Dayton, Ohio, Area

Continuing the committee’s main of

munist infiltration. in basie industries throughs

United-States, hearings.

September 13, 14, and 15 of this year. ‘The

was fortunate in having the testimony of one.

Paul Strunk, who had fer more than 7 years nm

finaneial secretary for the Dayton Communist }

while acting as an undercover agent for the

shine en ine eeelion A come

activities of the Communist Party in the

since 1945, but was also able to document andem

pletely expose the part played by the Commu

Party in the Univis Lens strike in 1948. con's

- * * « yee

In connection with role of the Communist Paty

im the Univis Lens strike, your committee was igar

fortunate in having the testimony of one Loethi

Wornstaff, one of the few non-Communist member

of the strike strategy of the UE during this sti

*

o *

97

hearing: could be properly considered as a

, Fey h i vhick the © itt on

“ic vities held in Detroit, Michigan,

As a matter of fact, in 1952 the committee

and the opening of trade channels with

he “People’s Democracies”, China, and the Soviet

Union.

As a result of the heariigs’held in Mic hi

and again in 1954, the Co ittee on.

Activities calls upon n the . reed jean,

in addition to its ever increased vigil

munism, to amend its parent

in order to deny me ship member 0 1

munist Party or any other. ‘group W whic

self to the destruction of American’s way of |

is certainly not within the best interests. of 1

rity of the United States,. nor of the interes

unions, to permit a member of the. ‘Communist

or any other totalitarian party to work 8 hours a4

in an American industry with the protection of a unim

contract and, at the same time, sup ly him | vith

captive audience of thousands through which a

preach his program of destruction. It is said that the

worker if far too smart to be suckered into accepting

the Communist harangue. It is admitted that th

American worker, through education on the evils ol

communism and other totalitarianisms by oth his

union and his employer, has more knowledge « on # th

subject today than at any time during his life. Never

theless, the Communist Party is receiving new n =

cruits daily from the ranks of labor, admittedly ao

so many as in the past. It is difficult to belierg

however, that this recruitment would be as great if

Communist Party organizers and advocates were m

moved from the captive audience which union andi it

dustry place around them in the shop.

4

as Py,

* * * *

<= peers: with the: iieanitheaartlan ‘pe

cedure all investigations during the past year wen

instituted after approval by a majority of the mez

bers of the committee, At the opening of each publi

hearing the presiding chairman clearly outlined th

purpose of the investigation and hearing. At »

public hearing were there fewer than two memben

of-the committee in constant attendance. Person

identified for the first time in public hearing as hay.

ing subversive affiliations were notified of the fae

by registered letter, where practicable.

Wide-ranging investigations and hearings by. o

committee last year uncovered such evidence as the

following:

* * * 2 . ae

Documented proof that a Communist-dominatel

union siphons off workers’ dues for Communist pur

poses was produced in the course of committee inves

tigations and hearings on District 9 of the Unita

Electrical, Radio, and Machine Workers of Ameria.

UE District 9 supervises union locals in Indiana ai

Michigan from headquarters in Fort Wayne, Indiam

These hearings were printed under the title, “Pot

Wayne, Ind., Area.”’

? Portions of the Report were read into the record bon

(100)

101

the Newark )

the Communist Party with the understanding that

such membership was essential to his holding the po-

sitions of international organizer and local president

in the UE. He described Communist Party caucuses

at which 7 or 8 Communist Party members decided

what the union would do at its regular meetings.

Union funds were diverted to various projects of the

Communist Party and its front organizations and to

subscriptions to Communist publications under the

guidances of this minority, whose rule was facilitated

by failure of the majority of union members fo at-

posed of hun

earings. Witness Pollock had joined

tend union meetings.

An extraordinary and courageous fight, waged by a

handful of loyal American trade unionists against

strongly entrenched Communist leaders of a UE local

in Newark, was related to the committee by Anthony

102

DeAquino and Julius ‘Kelovets.” ‘The two

sore 447 repr

oF, WEEe %

for union rules whenever -the i of the

munist Party came in conflict... “They saw union fur ,

drained off for Communist Party campaigns and

front organizations; they participated in a 0

nist-led strike.involving no legitimate labor omni

they obtained documentary evidence that wo

niority records were tampered with in order to sp

the jobs of Communists at the. expense of le

employees. :

When this evidence was finally presented to thei

membership of local 447, Communists were. voted ot

of contro). But not before the two, witnesses suffer

physical violence from Communist gangs as wells

fantastic smear attacks. Mr. DeAquino was. repr

sented as a safe-robber to the union mem ip D

diabolic attempts were made to break up his. hom

Furthermore, to circumvent Communist chicanery i

the crucial union election which ousted the Commi

nists, loyal unionists were required to go to mn

siderable expense of hiring the services of He [on

Ballot Association, hee

This aggressive action by Mr. DeAquino s nd *

Kolovetz. in fighting Communist domination of f i

union is without comparison in the record of this

Lt

pfove ‘profitable to other loyal unionists who

ms‘ of a ruthless Communi leadership.

trol Board has determined such unions to be Com-

munist-infiltrated: and controlled. |

* * * * &

Fort Wayne, Ind., Area

The eommittee’s continued investigation into Com-

munist-dominated unions last year produced docu-

mented proof that leaders of such unions have mis-

appropriated workers’ dues for Communist Party

purposes.

Proof was obtained in the course of preparation

for committee hearings on the activities of District 9

of the United Electrical, Radio, and Machine Work-

ers of America. This district has headquarters in

Fort Wayne, Indiana, and supervises the affairs of

subservience to the Communist Party line. The

committee scheduled an investigation and hearing in

1955 to determine whether the district office which

guides locals in two important Midwest States was

continuing the discredited policies of the national UR

and placing Communist Party objectives a De 7

interests. —— :

‘lvedabieetiletic preceding the heoringe.

District 9 of the UE was in fact. operating

control of Communists and their apolc -"

workers’ interests only a secondary concern wh

party purposes conflicted. In the course of

vestigation, the committee obtained the official m

of various meetings of the executive a

District 9. ‘These documents contained i ver

ble evidence that the leadership of District 9

diverted workers’ union dues to the mppors

Communist Party.

The minutes obtained by the committee ¢ end

meetings of the District 9 executive board hel a

December 16, 1950; February 2, 1952; March 28, 19)

September 10, 1952; and October 6, 1952. With th

record of only five executive board meetings ini

possession, the committee can document the apps

priation of more than $2,000 to Communist ¢atsa

The committee finds this practice particularly mpm

hensible in view of the fact that this money came fim

dues paid by workers who sincerely believed thy

were strengthening legitimate labor objectives, I

than 5 percent of the workers represented by 0

munist union leadership are members of or sympe

thetic to the Communist Party. Therefore, 95 p

cent of the membership of such unions are lop

Americans unwillingly or unwittingly forced t

finance a subversive conspiracy whose ultimate

would destroy the very concept of a free *

movement. aaa

Among the Communist organizations to whide

district 9 executive board diverted workers’ dues am

the National Negro Labor Council, which hast

A number of present or former leaders in the

affairs of UE District 9 were summoned to appear

before the committee in public hearing in order to

explore more fully the Communist abuse of the con-

cept of unionism. i

Witnesses heard by the committee ineluded: John

T. Gojack, president of UE District 9; David Mates,

a UE international organizer assigned to district 9;

and Julia Jacobs, former secretary to John Gojack

in’ Fort Wayne, Indiana, and at the time of her

appearance office secretary of UE Local 931 in St.

bership in the Communist Party.

Mr. Gojack invoked — the First amendment in

abusive and contemptuous testimony before the com-

» The attitude of! “Mr. Gojack eeeare: ae

belied his professions of concern for the

organized labor. So does his record of energeti¢ mp.

PV SP Es Cone ENP Onn e Wer ee oe

years.

Julia Jacobs; the office secretary of local 981):6

Joseph, Michigan, is a Communist servitor whom th

Communist have moved about at will. When she ws

identified as a Communist Party member in Ohio an

her usefulness impaired, she was moved to Fot

Wayne, Indiana, where she became a secretary 4

John Gojack. When need for a militant Communis

became vital in St. Joseph, Michigan, she was agai

moved. In St. Joseph she devoted much of her effort

to deceiving workers into believing that support of th

Communist Party and its members was support of th

trade-union movement as a whole.

David Mates, the UE international organizer, hu

been a Communist Party functionary for years. By-

dence in the possession of the committee indicates thi

he was chairman of the Labor Commission of th

Communist Party for Michigan. Mr. Mates was »

sponsible for the employment of many Communists

loeal union offices. In this manner, the Communit

Party always had informers in the midst of

workers.

The committee has been trying to determine

or not these informers are utilized by the

Party for the purpose of industrial espionage.

three aforementioned witnesses possess i

knowledge which could assist the committee in itsi

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Brief for the United States — Gojack v. United States · 384 U.S. 702 | Frix