Amicus Curiae Brief — Sheppard v. Maxwell

Supreme Court brief1966

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

, ¢

; 2

; ‘

2

F)

6

4

s «

q

t ee

. +

«

Bie 2

A % -

ae Q ;

q

¢

‘

‘ ’

& 5i°

a

‘ "

% a

40 { =

:

¥

° *

a)

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS.

OBJECTIONS TO JURISDICTION __________________ > 1

praveusune or tun Case... 7

a WN 11

ANE ERE ER OE Oe Le EIS 5 16

Introductory Statement _........__.. ________ 16

Reasons for Not Granting the Writ _...________ 17

I Sg lieth ey 18

ae Pe oo 18

B. Publicity During Trial _.....__..._________ 35

II. Disqualification of the Trial Judge _...________ 57

II. Lie Detector Evidence _....._...____________ 64

IV. Misconduct of Bailiffs in Allowing Jurors to Call

Eee Ear 72

V. Other Alleged Constitutional Violations ______ 79

VI. Sufficiency of the Evidence _.......__ 84

VII. The Aggregation of Error _......_--._____ 85

Cemcnueor .........- adeipblicmaithnatinuiccaeaicae eee 86

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.

Cases.

Beck v. Washington, 369 U. S. 541, 8 L. Ed. (2d) 98,

82 Sup. Ct. 955 (1962) ~-..------------------ 5

Buchalter v. People of State of New York, 319 U. S.

427, 63 S. Ct. 1129, 87 L. Ed. 1492 ___----.---- 69

Delli Paoli v. United States, 352 U.S. 232 (1957), 77

S. Ce: 206, 1 2. Ba 26 27S .....-.....-....-.--- 25

Emmert v. State, 127 O. S, 235 ..-.---.----.------- 6

Estes v. Texas, 14 L. Ed. (2d) 543 (1965) ____ 34, 47, 86

Vay v. Neis, 372 U. S. 901. .-.-.......-.-------- 60, 65

Ford v. U. S., 233 F. 2d 56 (C. A. 5th Tex.) (1956) _. 44

Frye v. United States, 293 F. 1013 (D.C. Cir. 1923) -. 67

Holt v. United States, 218 U. S. 245 (1910), 31 S.

oe 4 (4 4)! ee 24

Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U. S. 717, 6 L. Ed. 2d 751, 81 S.

a FI a ai ilacanickinincncakeseccnisticbaiianictbioanes 21, 25, 32

Jones v. Cunningham, 313 F. 2d 347 (4th Cir.)

(1963) ...-.. alii eceaieaiiieaatiatilac taeksisctretad iateniasinsitiesictibiin 59

Knewel v. Egan, 268 U. S. 442, 69 L. Ed. 1037 (1925),

case below 298 Fed. 784 _____._-------------- 10

Mattox v. United States, 146 U. S. 140 (1892) ~_.-_- 17

Moses v. Hudspeth, 129 F. 2d 279 (10th Cir.) (1942),

certiorari denied in 317 U. S. 665, 87 L. Ed. 534,

OB FO eco tcccecconcccemnsccnncase 59

Murchison, In re, 349 U.S. 133 (1955) ~-.--------- 60

New Jersey v. Driver, 183 A. 2d 655 (1962) _..-_--- 67

Ohio v. Smith, 113 O. App. 461 (1960) ~..-..------ 67

Oliver, In Re, 383 U. S. 257, 92 L. Ed. 682, 68 S. Ct.

i TER RS I Sa 9

—.

Opper v. United States, 348 U. S. 84 (1954), 75 S. Ct.

A Als Es II snccniticrintndhcieenenssinncapliian ceuitenn abides 24

Rideau v. Louisiana, 373 U. S. 723, 10 L. Ed. 2d 663,

Ie ie ER CIE ccentarinteccepeemccisiciighesbiecisaiiligaouy 20, 32

Rosier, Ex parte, 133 F. 2d 316 (C. A.D.C., 1942) _. 9

State v. Hilliard, 89 Arizona 129, 359 P. 2d 66 (1961) 44

be os Same, BO Ae oi ieee 6

State v. Sheppard, 121 N. E. (2d) 440 _....__ 80

State v. Sheppard, 352 U. S. 910, 1 L. Ed. 2d 119, 77

Supreme Court 118 (1956) _...__.___________. 2

State v. Sheppard, 77 Supreme Court 323, 352 U. S.

RN II I I tan a a 8 2

State ex rel. Pratt v. Weygandt, 164 O. S. 463

6 AE SMT SC ENE Ney ie, 59, 60

Stroble v. California, 343 U. S..181 (1952) _.______ 5

Townsend v. Sain (1963), 372 U. S. 293, 9 L. Ed. 2d

SAA IN Mt, TIED ccctincttntncacinadindaiertninesemadbee 66, 77

Trombley v. Langlois (R. I.), 163 A. 2d 25 (1960) _. 44

Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927) _____ RA 59, 60

United States v. Sorcey, 7 Cir. 151 F. 2d 899 (1945),

certiorari denied, 327 U. S. 794, 66 S. Ct. 821,

Se AAR SR ta 24

U.S. ex rel. Townsend v. Ogilvie, Sheriff, 334 F. (2d)

SES MEE Detntsctoratusneaiathensiiaediths cee cele 66

Walker v, Johnston, 312 U. S. 275, 85 L. Ed. 830, 61

Se Oe CUNED . wernciiasesniccwcn-cemis adebaious 59

Wolf v. Nash, 313 F. 2d 393 (C. A. Mo.) (8th Cir.)

(1963), certiorari denied, 83 S. Court 1713, 374

Ge Gar, Bean ee Oe ees nS

State Constitution and Statutes.

Ohio Constitution:

fg RAGS, Rr SS CA 83

a caeencemsiplersimenereas 60

Ohio Revised Code:

a selene 80

ET RR ENE OS A ACR RR oe EN ee 60

REI SRES Sken Re ee EN eo 47

i aia ca aoa ens aeessaien on eisineposiontiens 17

I iis nh nln daeclanicienlobs niet 4, 32, 78

Texts.

30A American Jurisprudence, Sec. 172, p. 89 _----- 61

» a TE Bf eR eee ren mee 43

SS eee

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1965.

No. 490.

SAMUEL H. SHEPPARD,

Petitioner,

v.

E. L. MAXWELL, Warden,

Respondent.

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE ON BEHALF OF

RESPONDENT.

To the Honorable Chief Justice and Associate Justices of

the Supreme Court of the United States:

In accordance with Rule 27 of this Court that consent

to the filing of a brief of an amicus curiae need not be had

when the brief is presented for a political subdivision of

a State sponsored by the authorized law officer thereof,

the Prosecuting Attorney of Cuyahoga County, Ohio re-

spectfully requests consideration of the Brief of the Prose-

cuting Attorney in the disposition of the pending pétition

for a writ of certiorari in the above entitled case.

OBJECTIONS TO JURISDICTION.

This State criminal case was tried in 1954 in Cuya-

hoga County, Ohio. The judgment of conviction, the judg-

ment of the trial court overruling the motion for a new

trial, and the judgments of the state appellate courts, have

already been considered by this Court for review on a writ

2

of certiorari, and certiorari was denied. State v. Sheppard,

352 U. S. 910, 1 L. Ed. 2d 119, 77 Supreme Court 118

(1956). Petition for rehearing was denied on December

17, 1956, State v. Sheppard, 77 Supreme Court 323, 352

U.S. 955, 1 L. Ed. 2d 245.

All of the alleged errors and issues that were raised

in the State Courts, including pre-trial publicity, publicity

during trial, whether a change of venue and/or a continu-

ance should have been granted, whether the trial judge

deprived petitioner of a ‘air trial in the handling of the

judicial proceedings, and whether a fair and impartial jury

was impaneled and maintained on the trial of this case,

were before this Court for review in 1956. And the same

editorials, newspaper articles, national comment on the

trial) photographs at the inquest and trial, the demand for

petitioner’s home, affidavit in support of motion for new

trial, transcript of the bail hearing, that are incorporated

in the Appendix to the present petition are to be found in

the Appendix to the former petition that was before this

Court for consideration and review. The several news-

paper articles added to the present petition, together with

the chapter from a book commenting on the case, as well

as the claims made in the petition concerning publicity,

represent a piecemeal presentation to this Court of more

of the same thing that the court was called upon to con-

sider nine years ago, namely, publicity. As the United

States Court of Appeals stated in the majority opinion,

“The main issues in this case are not the belated discovery

of present counsel.” (Pet. Rs. 8.)

In the well reasoned opinion and decision of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, re-

versing the judgment of the federal district court in the

habeas corpus proceeding here involved, Circuit Judge

O’Sullivan, speaking for the majority, said:

ae :

—

“Before detailed discussion of the issues before us,

it should be preliminarily observed that Dr. Sheppard

was released not because of any evidentiary showing

that the jury was prejudiced by the newspaper and

other publicity or that the trial judge exhibited par-

tiality or prejudice in his conduct of the trial, nor be-

cause of any evidence that the jurors’ cal’s to their

homes contained any improprieties. The District

Judge presumed that the judge and the jury must

have been so affected by the publicity and other

events as to be unable to discharge their respective

responsibilities in keeping with constitutional stand-

ards. Reviewing substantially the same record as did

the District Judge here, the appellate machinery of

Ohio, challenged to do so, was unable to discern the

evils now presumed by the District Judge. Aware

that as a matter of formal rule, denial of certiorari

by the United States Supreme Court does not bespeak

its approval of a state court decision, we do mention

that critical points now made by Dr. Sheppard did not

excite the Supreme Court to take for review this case

now characterized by the District Judge as ‘a mockery

of justice.’” (Pet. App. A, s.3-s.4.)

The Court of Appeals said further:

“The facts of this case do not add up to any of the

situations in which the Supreme Court of the United

States or any United States Court of Appeals has

found it appropriate to strike down a judgment

affirmed by the highest court of a state.” (Pet. App. 3,

s.59.)

And when the judgments of the state courts were be-

fore this Court in 1956 for review on a writ of certiorari,

the state courts had not decided a federal question of sub-

stance not theretofore determined by this Court, nor had

the state courts decided any question in a way not in ac-

cord with the applicable decisions of this Court. There is

no substantial federal question in this case.

4

As the Court of Appeals said, there was no eviden-

tiary showing nor any proof offered in the District Court

that the jury was prejudiced by the newspaper and other

publicity or that the trial judge exhibited prejudice in his

conduct of the trial. Nor was any evidence or proof offered

in the District Court that the jurors’ calls to their homes

contained any improprieties. Of a certainty, there is no

proof and the petitioner presents in the present petition

not a single specific item showing that the jury was influ-

enced on the trial of this case by anything except the evi-

dence presented in open court and the law applicable

thereto. Only broad generalities and faulty assumptions

are indulged in and argued in the present petition on the

aspect of publicity.

Section 2945.83 of the Revised Code of Ohio, govern-

ing the state courts on review, provides:

“No motion for a new trial shall be granted or verdict

set aside, nor shall any judgment of conviction be re-

versed in any court because of:

* * *

(C) The admission or rejection of any evidence

offered against or for the accused unless it affirm-

atively appears on the record that the accused was or

may have been prejudiced thereby;

e-.2. 8

(E) Any other cause unless it appears affirm-

atively from the record that the accused was preju-

diced thereby or was prevented from having a fair

trial.”

This state statute is in conformity with the ruling of

this Court in many cases. The United States Court of Ap-

peals said:

“Before examining in detail the nature of the pub-

licity given Dr. Sheppard’s case, it is well to note that

he must carry the burden of demonstrating the con-

| 5

) stitutional vice in his conviction. As stated by the

First Circuit in angther publicity case, ‘the question

whether jurors ‘are impartial in the constitutional

sense is one of mixed law and fact as to which the

challenger has the burden of persuasion * * *,’ Geagan

v. Gavin, 292 F. (2) 244, 246 (CA 1, 1961), cert. de-

nied, 370 U. S. 903 (1962). This burden is one which

must be carried ‘ “not as a matter of speculation but

as a demonstrable reality.” ’ United States ex rel.

Darcy v. Handy, 351 U. S. 454, 462, 100 L. Ed. 1331,

1338 (1956) (emphasis supplied); Stroble v. Califor-

nia, 343 U.S. 181, 198, 96 L. Ed. 872, 885 (1952). See

also Adams v. United States ex rel. McCann, 317 U.S.

269, 281, 87 L. Ed. 268, 276 (1942).” (Pet. App. A,

s.8.)

In Stroble v. California, 343 U. S. 181, 194-196

(1952), Mr. Justice Clark delivered the opinion of the

court and stated:

“* * * Indeed, at no stage of the proceedings has

petitioner offered so much as an affidavit to prove that

any juror was in fact prejudiced by the newspaper

stories. He asks this Court simply to read those

stories and then to declare, over the contrary finding

of two state courts, that they necessarily deprived him

of due process. That we cannot do, at least where, as

here, the inflammatory newspaper accounts appeared

approximately six weeks before the beginning of peti-

tioner’s trial, and there is no affirmative showing that

any community prejudice ever existed or in any way

affected the deliberation of the jury. * + +”

In Beck vs. Washington, 369 U. S. 941, 8 L. Ed. (2d)

98, 82 Sup. Ct. 955 (1962), Mr. Justice Clark delivered the

opinion of the Court and said, 369 U. S., at page 556:

“As in his grand jury attack, petitioner makes no claim

that any particular petit juror was biased. Instead,

he states the publicity which prevented the selection

of a fair grand jury also precluded a fair petit jury.

6

He argues that such a strong case of adverse publicity

has been proved that any jury selected in Seattle at

the time he was tried must be held to be presump-

tively biased and that the trial court’s adverse rulings

on his motions for a change of venue and for continu-

ances was therefore in error. Of course there could

be no constitutional infirmity in the trial court’s ad-

verse rulings on the motions for a change of venue

and for continuances, if petitioner actually received

a fair trial.”

The Court said further, 369 U. S., at page 558:

“While this Court stands ready to correct violations of

constitutional rights, it also holds that it is not asking

too much that the burden of showing essential unfair-

ness be sustained by him who claims such injustice

and seeks to have the eal set aside, and that it be

sustained not as a matter of speculation but as a de-

monstrable reality.”

The laws of the State of Ohio provide for a motion for

new trial and upon the hearing of that motion, the affi-

davits and testimony of the jurors may be received, Em-

mert v. State, 127 O. S. 235; State v. Joseph, 90 O. A. 433.

Although several jurors were subpoenaed and were thor-

oughly interrogated by defense counsel at the hearing on

the motion for new trial, not a word of testimony was pro-

duced to justify the defense claim that the jurors were in-

fluenced by anything other than the evidence produced in

open court, in reaching their verdict. The claim that they

were influenced by news stories or any other outside influ-

ence is not supported by the record.

And the majority opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals in the proceeding here involved, states:

“1) Publicity.

“We should at the outset confess a certain temp-

tation to yield to today’s accelerating current of ex-

7

citement and concern about undue press coverage of

criminal charges and trials, and to affirm petitioner’s

release as dramatic vindication of the bar’s contention

that some of its own members and some of the various

media of information have by misuse of their rights

prevented our courts from according fair trial to all

who are accused of crime. Doubts as to the efficacy

and propriety of such action, however, are supple-

mented by the certain knowledge that it is our duty

as federal judges to avoid a state judgment of convic-

tion only where some constitutional infirmity may be

found. Careful consideration of this case leads to the

conclusion that no such infirmity infects Dr. Shep-

pard’s conviction.” (Pet. App. A, s.6-s.7.)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

The Prosecuting Attorney of Cuyahoga County had

the responsibility and the burden of handling the prosecu-

tion of this case on the trial in 1954, on the appeals

through the State courts, and on certiorari in this Court

in 1956. The State of Ohio, the plaintiff in the original

action, through the office of the Prosecuting Attorney of

Cuyahoga County was, therefore, a real party in interest.

In all fairness then, counsel of record for the prosecution

in the State courts should have been given an opportunity

to appear, defend and be heard on this collateral attack

that was being made on the Cuyahoga County officials.

However, on the day the habeas corpus proceeding

was set for hearing and the writer of this brief put in an

appearance as counsel of record in the State courts, she

waz told by the District Judge that he would not permit

ber in the hearings; that she was not counsel of record in

ihe habeas corpus proceeding, and refused to put on an

order making her counsel of record. Instead, and the same

day, the District Judge made an order, Pre-trial Order No.

: ae

1 (Appendix, Vol. I, 28a), limiting those who could be in

attendance. None of the attorneys listed in Pre-trial Order

No. 1 had any previous connection with the case, but the

District Judge proceeded to meet with them in closed

hearings.

Some time later, an order eventually went on in the

District Court, applied for by the Attorney General’s of-

fice, making the writer counsel of record, but the par-

ticular District Judge who handled this proceeding had

made it clear to the writer by his hostile attitude, that he

did not want her around in the hearings. The court never

came out in the open with the case to give the prosecution

a chance to orally argue the issues that were being

raised.

The habeas corpus proceeding resulted in a one-sided

proceeding, a presentation of only the defense side of the

case. Pre-trial Order No. 2 (Appendix, Vol. I, pp. 3la-

33a) contains the so-called “History of the Case” which

the District Court incorporated in its decision, and it gives

only the' defense version of the evidence.

Pre-trial Order No. 3 (Appendix, Vol. I, pp. 150a(1)-

150a(2) contains a stipulation of the twenty-two alleged

issues that were to be considered by the District Court,

which was later amended to include the twenty-third issue

to the effect that the trial judge should have disqualified

himself.

Subsequently, the District Court made an Order (Ap-

pendix, Vol. III, pp. 295a-296a) that stipulations regarding

publicity and related issues were to be filed, and that all

evidence in the action was to be presented to the District

Court by affidavit and/or deposition. The stipulation that

was filed covered fragmentary excerpts from the record

and material such as a copy of the petition for a writ of

certiorari to the United States Supreme Court and the

; 9

Appendix thereto (Appendix, Vol. III, pp. 296a-297a); and

it was stipulated that such petition could be used as ref-

erence material by the parties. This, if anything, shows

the one-sided proceeding that was conducted.

As to the Order of the District Court requiring stipu-

lations and the presentation of evidence by affidavit and/or

deposition, the record shows that instead of affidavits or

depositions, the petitioner furnished the Court with three

unsworn statements, one taken in New York from the

New York gossip columnist Dorothy Kilgallen Kollmar,

who was not cross-examined, and two taken in Cleveland,

from Fred Garmone, one of the former counsel for peti-

tioner, and from Edward Murray, an employee in the of-

fice of the Clerk of Courts in Cuyahoga County. The Dis-

trict Judge later nt these unsworn statements to be un-

controverted evidence.

The Bill of Exceptions covering the trial of this case,

consisting of 12 volumes and a Supplement, was placed

on file with the District Court, but there is to be found in

the Court’s decision, no independent evaluation of the

voir dire testimony.

What the District Judge did in the handling of this

habeas corpus proceeding, was condemned by this Court

in In Re Oliver, 333 U. S. 257, 92 L. Ed. 682, 68 S. Ct. 499

(1948).

It was held in Ex parte Rosier, 133 F. 2d 316 (C. A.

D. C., 1942), at page 325:

“The decision in Walker v. Johnston that the hearing

on controverted issues of fact must be either ore tenus

or by depositions is responsive to the requirement of

the 5th Amendment that no person shall be deprived

of life, liberty or property without due process of

law. Can it be doubted that ‘due process of law sig-

nifies a right to be heard on one’s defense’? * * *

—

10

The right of hearing under the due process clause in-

cludes the right of each party to a cause to introduce

evidence in support of his claim or defense, to hear

the evidence introduced against him, to test the same

by cross-examination, the right that nothing shall be

treated as evidence which is not introduced as such,

and the right to make argument on both law and

fact.” (Emphasis ours.)

In Knewel v. Egan, 268 U. S. 442, 69 L. Ed. 1037

(1925), case below 298 Fed. 784, which was an appeal

from an order of the District Court discharging on writ of

habeas corpus one convicted of presenting a false insurance

claim, this Court held, at page 447:

“The real parties in interest in prosecuting the appeal

are the state and the present sheriff, who is a public

officer representing the county and the state. The

substitution of the sheriff as appellant should be

made, and the state be allowed to intervene.” (Em-

phasis ours.)

No oral argument was had in the District Court pro-

ceeding. The record shows that petitioner’s counsel waived

oral argument and the matter was submitted on briefs.

The District Court stated in the Conclusion of its de-

cision that the trial can only be viewed as a mockery of

justice, but his findings show that they are not based upon

any examination of the trial record. And, it was a denial

of procedural due process of law to the county authorities

for the court to make a finding that the trial jury was not a

fair and impartial jury without making an examination of

the voir dire record to determine that issue. The District

Court reviewed the State’s case in the light, not of the rec-

ord, but of what the newspapers had to say to the public

before and during the trial, and made a finding that the

jury in this case was not a fair and impartial jury because

of the stories furnished by the newspapers to the public.

ETRE RE IPSN URE RT eee Pm ONE tress 27) FRO A aki

ll

STATEMENT OF FACTS.

The “Statement of Facts” in the body of the present

petition at pp. 8 to 13, contains alleged facts that are not

supported by the record in this case, and other state-

ments pertaining to the proceedings on the trial which

are not representative of the true situation that existed

on the trial.

The statements that “examination of the first floor of

the house disclosed abundant evidence of ransacking (Pet.

p. 9); that petitioner’s narrative of what happened at the

time of the murder “never varied” (Pet. p. 9); that “Dr.

Sheppard exhibited a fractured cervical vertebra” (Pet.

p. 10); that “much alleged evidence was announced and

summarized by the prosecution prior to its offer in court”

(Pet. p. 11); that “a good deal of what was described as

damning evidence was never produced” (Pet. p. 12); that

“newsmen constantly disrupted the proceedings” (Pet. p.

12); and that “petitioner was repeatedly photographed in

the courtroom without his consent” (Pet. p. 12), are not

supported by the record in this case.

The omission by the petitioner of all of the pertinent

evidence presented by the State in the trial of this case,

necessitates our directing the attention of this Court to an

objective statement of the evidence as set forth in the

opinion of the Court of Appeals of Cuyahoga County (App.

Vol. I, pp. 64a-80a). The State proved by direct and cir-

cumstantial evidence that Marilyn Sheppard was brutally

murdered in her bedroom some time between 3 and 4

a.m. on the morning of July 4th, 1954; that at the time she

was murdered the only person in that home, except a six

year old son, was her husband, the petitioner. It was con-

clusive from the evidence that there was a simulated bur-

glary and that nobody but the petitioner had the time and

exclusive opportunity to fake such a burglary to divert

12

suspicion from himself. The evidence was so overwhelm-

ing that the burglary set-up was a fake that even counsel

for the defense was obliged to say to the jury:

“Well, of course, we don’t claim there was a burglary.

I mean I don’t know why the intruder was there. We

claim there was a man there, but whether he was

there for a burglary or not, I don’t know. We never

claimed that he was.” (R. 62, Supp.)

The jury was fully justified in concluding that the only one

who was in a position to and had the time, and who ac-

tually did set up this fake burglary was the petitioner.

That the story told by the petitioner about the bushy-

haired “form” in the house, and on another occasion

“forms” (he wasn’t sure whether there was one or two

“forms’”’) was concocted, is shown by the evidence.

The evidence established that Dr. Lester Hoversten

visited the petitioner at Bay View Hospital on July 5th,

at which time Dr. Steve came into the room, was irritated

and stated that he had left strict orders that no one was

to see Sam unless he, Dr. Steve, was first notified (R.

3803).

Dr. Hoversten testified relative to that incident as

follows:

“Q. Did Steve leave at any time after he came in?

A. Yes. After speaking sharply to me, he turned

on his heel and walked quickly out of the room, and

then he came back in just a few minutes.

Q. And when he came back in, did he say any-

thing? |

A. Yes. I remember I was sitting on the left hand

side of the bed, and Steve sat near the foot of the bed,

and he advised Dr. Sam to go over in his mind several

times a day—

As I recall, Ur. Steve addressed Dr. Sam, and

said in words to ‘his effect, “You should review in your

mind severa) times a day the sequence of events as

=...

they happened so that you will have your story

| straight when questioned,’ and then he gave as an

example, “You were upstairs, you went downstairs,

and from here to there,’ and so forth.” (R. 3812-13.)

The fantastic stories told by the petitioner were so un-

reasonable and absurd as to be, in the opinion of the jury,

unworthy of credence.

The Court of Appeals of Cuyahoga County, after giv-

ing in its opinion a summary of much of the evidence deal-

ing with many of the physical facts and conditions of the

premises as found on July 4th and of the declarations and

actions of the parties involved as testified to by the public

authorities and other witnesses, together with what the

defendant said to others and in his testi®nony upon trial in

relation to the events of the morning, said

“The testimony of the defendant, in dealing with

the events that took place in his presence or the things

that he did, was characterized by the State as vague,

indefinite, uncertain or factually highly improbable.

During the time he was under cross-examination the

defendant gave evasive answers such as ‘I can’t racall’

or ‘I can’t remember,’ approximately 216 times to

questions concerning facts and circumstances that

took place in his claimed presence material to the is-

sues in the case.

“The jury, under the instruction of the court, was

presented with but one question or issue of fact and

that was, had the State shown beyond reasonable

doubt that the defendant purposely killed Marilyn

Sheppard?

“The State’s case is based in part on circum-

stantial evidence. The law of Ohio on this subject

requires that the facts and circumstances upon which

the theory of guilt is based must be established beyond

a reasonable doubt and the facts so established must

be entirely irreconcilable with any claim or theory

of innocence and admit of no other hypothesis than

peernen

the guilt of the accused. Carter vs. State, 4 Oh. App.

193.

“If, therefore, the jury, after careful deliberation,

found that there was any possible hypothesis of in-

nocence, after a consideration of all of the evidence,

then the defendant would be legally entitled to be

discharged, but if the jury found, after full delibera-

tion, there was no possible hypothesis of innocence

based on the facts as they found them to be and that

the facts found are such as to be irreconcilable with

any other reasonable hypothesis, than the guilt of the

accused, then a verdict was required.

“This was a jury question and we hold that there

was sufficient evidence to support the verdict of guilty

as found by the jury.” (Emphasis ours.)

Reference is made in the petition (p. 10) to the in-

juries allegedly sustained by the petitioner. Petitioner’s in-

juries were the subject of conflicting testimony on the trial. -

Whatever injuries the petitioner sustained, he claimed

they were caused by a blow or blows of the fist of the as-

sailant that he encountered in the bedroom where his wife

came to her death as a result of many blows on the head

with a blunt instrument. It was on this occasion and only

then, that the petitioner claimed that there might have

been two assailants, “one working over his wife” and the

other striking the petitioner from the back with his fist.

While petitioner was “chasing” the “form” to the beach

(instead of summoning help for his wife), there was no

suggestion that there was more than one object or form

in front of him.

Reference is made in the petition (pages 3, 10) to

truth serum. To the best of our knowledge and

memory (the Bill of Exceptions is now in Washington)

nothing was proffered on the trial by the State on this sub-

ject, and counsel for the petitioner gives no record ref-

_

15

erence. The publicity concerning truth serum occurred in

the early days of the murder when the petitioner was

being shielded from interrogation.

Reference is made in the petition (p. 11) to the use

of the words “grilling” and “third degree” in a newspaper

editorial (considered by this Court in the former petition).

Those expressions are frequently applied to a thorough in-

terrogation and do not at all necessarily mean the use of

force or violence. No one laid a hand on the petitioner.

Further, that editorial appeared months before the trial.

In the dissent in the Court of Appeals (Pet. p. 11) it

was claimed that the only motive suggested to the jury

was petitioner’s affection for one Susan Hayes. The State

was not required to prove any motive. The only person

who was present in that house and who knew the motive

for the killing was the petitioner, and he wouldn’t talk.

Reference is made in the petition (p. 13) to Mrs.

Ahern’s testimony that Mrs. Sheppard had told her that

the petitioner had discussed the possibility of seeking a

divorce from her with Dr. Chapman while in California.

There was considerable testimony as to conversations the

petitioner had with others (particularly Dr. Hoversten

and Miss Hayes) on the subject of divorce, such conver-

sations being in part admitted by the petitioner.

The transcript of the bail hearing which appears in

the Appendix to the petition is not complete (Appendix

A, s.164). The complete answer of the foreman explain-

ing the “pressure” was as follows:

“Q. What was the pressure that was placed on.

you?

A. Only curious people who wanted to know

what we knew on the Grand Jury.” (Emphasis ours.)

The pressure was for information and not, as suggested,

to indict the petitioner.

16

ARGUMENT.

Introductory Statement.

Due to the broad generalities that are indulged in by

present counsel for the petitioner, the wild assertions and

faulty assumptions, without a single specific item being

cited in support of the claims made, and in view of other

statements in the petition which create or tend to create

impressions not representative of the true situation that

existed in the judicial proceedings of this case in Cuyahoga

County, we deem it important to point out to this Court

that present counsel for the petitioner had no previous

knowledgeable connection with the case by way of repre-

senting the petitioner during the investigation of this

murder, or participating in the trial, the appeals and on

certiorari to this Court. The petitioner had three compe-

tent and experienced counsel at that time and four counsel

when the case was presented to this Court. And it is not

a fact, as present counsel states, that this judgment of

conviction has been under constant litigation during the

past eleven years. This Court denied certiorari and denied

a rehearing in 1956 and there was no further court ac-

tion except a writ of habeas corpus in the Supreme Court

of Ohio in 1959 from the denial of which no appeal was

taken to this Court.

Permeating the present petition is a wholesale de-

nouncement of all of the Cuyahoga County public officials —

who had anything to do with the investigation of this

murder and the trial of the petitioner, and as a result had

had some publicity. The petition also castigates the news

media, particularly the Cleveland Press. Yet, the first we

knew that present counsel from out of the state could have

done a better job all the way round in the handling of this

case, including the handling of the duties of the trial judge,

SALON EEE IE EEE OP EE CLI

17

was when he brought himself to public notice in connection

with the case through the various news media. In other

words, he is using the case for his own ends, for the very

purpose that he condemns in the petition, namely, publicity

for himself. It has been our experience that this case has

attracted its share of publicity seekers.

After the petitioner was released by the District Judge,

a release characterized by the United States Court of Ap-

peals as “improvident,” his present counsel really got the

Sheppard show rolling on television and in the newspapers,

with counsel playing the principal role and publicly threat-

ening libel suits. The publicity that Judge Blythin and the

prosecutor received, for example, was picayune by com-

parison.

REASONS FOR NOT GRANTING THE WRIT.

The decision of the majority of the Court of Appeals

sums up the habeas corpus proceeding as follows:

“The habeas corpus proceeding here involved was

commenced in the United States District Court April

11, 1963, charging, as amended, some 23 separate

constitutional defects in Sheppard's conviction. Some

of these had already been found without merit by the

Ohio Courts and others were new. Indicating his

view that there were probably other constitutional

imperfections in Dr. Sheppard’s trial, the District

Judge bottomed his decision on four separate grounds,

(1) newspaper publicity before and during the

trial denied Sheppard a fair trial,

(2) the trial judge should have disqualified him-

self,

(3) evidence that Sheppard had refused to take

a lie detector test and that another witness had taken

such a test was improperly brought before the jury,

and

ERE I

18

(4) the bailiffs in charge of the jury after the

cause was submitted to it improperly allowed in-

dividual jurors to make telephone calls to their fami-

lies. Grounds 1 and 4 were passed upon in the Ohio

Court of Appeals and Supreme Court and were found

to be without merit. They were also relied upon in

the application to the United States Supreme Court

for certiorari, which was supported by the same

volumes of newspaper publicity as are before us.

Ground 2 and part of Ground 3 were first asserted in

the instant petition for habeas corpus.” (App. A, pp.

s.2-s.3.)

I.

PUBLICITY.

A. Pre-trial Publicity.

Counsel for the petitioner infers and assumes with no

basis in fact that except for the Editor of the Cleveland

Press and his prodding of the public officials to “quit

stalling” and arrest Dr. Sheppard, the petitioner would

not have been suspected and arrested for the commission

of this murder; and, that except for the Coroner and his

inquest, the petitioner would not have been indicted.

Counsel recites what allegedly took place at the inquest

but the record before this court does not contain a record

of that proceeding, other than what was testified to by Dr.

Gerber. The inquest was held in July and months before

the trial.

It should be borne in mind that the legal and constitu-

tional question is whether a fair and an impartial jury

was impaneled, or whether a change of venue and/or a

continuance should have been granted because such a jury

could not be obtained. Counsel for the petitioner avoids

that question in his argument. All that his argument

amounts to is a diatribe against the Editor of the Cleveland

eS FA A IARI OO COC OT RRO TER SI BEEPS ORRIN UE TN ARES PR

19

Press and the Coroner. As to this type of argument, the

Court of Appeals said:

“We need not here decide whether the Bay Village

authorities, or the Cuyahoga County coroner or the

Cleveland police did or did not need the urging pro-

vided by the Cleveland Press. It has not been asserted

that the police authorities were without the faults

charged to them, although it might fairly be inferred

that the Press’ meddling probably impeded more than

it helped.” (App. A, p. s.15.)

The decision of the District Court shows that the court

did not independently evaluate the voir dire testimony,

as this Court held should be done. The Court of Appeals

did, and said:

“In determining whether Dr. Sheppard has carried

the burden of demonstrating the unconstitutionality

of his trial, surrounded as it was by pervasive pub-

licity, it is our duty to review independently this voir

dire examination of the prospective jurors in the state

court. Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U. S. 717, 723 (1961);

United States ex rel. Bloeth v. Denno, 313 F. (2) 364,

372 (CA 2, 1963), cert. denied, 372 U. S. 978 (1963);

United States ex rel. Brown v. Smith, 306 F. (2)

596, 602 (CA 2, 1962), cert. denied, 372 U. S. 959

(1963); Geagan v. Gavin, supra, 292 F. (2) 246-47.

The voir dire examination fills nearly 1600 pages in

the record of the present case. Each prospective juror

was questioned about his acquaintance with the pre-

trial publicity, and each of those who ultimately re-

turned the guilty verdict swore that such publicity

had created in his mind no opinion as to the guilt or

innocence of the defendant and would not affect his

deliberations. A reading of the voir dire discloses its

thoroughness and careful inquiry as to any effect that

publicity might have had on the veniremen. We find

it without substantial fault and neither has counsel

4

20

pointed to any insufficiency or impropriety in it.

* * *” (Pet, App. A, pp. s.11-s.12.)

The Court of Appeals also evaluated the pre-trial

publicity, and stated:

“It should be emphasized that nowhere in the news

items is there any hint or suggestion that Dr. Sheppard

confessed or admitted his guilt, or any claim that he

had a criminal record or had been other than ar. ex-

emplary citizen, or any clear assertion that the press

or the police had any direct evidence of his guilt.

Comments to the press by police officials, and even

prosecutors, occasionally exceeded the bounds of pro-

priety, but they too revealed no more than that some

thought that Dr. Sheppard was guilty. In addition to

the pretrail publicity set forth in the District Court

opinion, the Cleveland papers also published items

emphasizing Dr. Sheppard’s protestations of inno-

cence.” (Pet. App. A, p. s.15.)

As justification for failing to examine the trial record

on the voir dire, the District Court pointed out that in

Rideau v. Louisiana, 373 U. S. 723, 10 L. Ed. 2d 663, 83

S. Ct. 1417 (1963) the Supreme Court did not examine

the transcript of the voir dire in reaching its determina-

tion as to prejudice and held in that case that the assur-

ances of jurors on voir dire may be disregarded. But in

the Ridea»: case, this Court was there considering conceded

circumstances that on the voir dire, counsel for Rideau

had requested that certain jurors who later decided the

case, be excused for cause, and these challenges for cause

had been denied by the trial judge.

Mr. Justice Stewart stated in the majority opinion,

in Rideau, 373 U. S. at page 725:

“Three members of the jury which convicted him had

stated on voir dire that they had seen and heard

Rideau’s televised ‘interview’ with the sheriff on at

SgUbe ts EBA OPES LOY. DUR AE REET BT ALT INT ER IATA INO ERSTE BRC E SH ao eee

w ; , . = as Ae 1 Se e eT VP fast

| 21

least one occasion. Two members of the jury were

deputy sheriffs. Rideau’s counsel had requested that

these jurors be excused for cause, having exhausted

all of their peremptory challenges, but these chal-

lenges for cause had been denied by the trial judge.”

The District Court also cited Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U. S.

717, 6 L. Ed. 2d 751, 81 S. Ct. 1639. But again, in the

Irvin case, the Supreme Court based its findings upon an

examination of the trial record and held at page 756, 6 L.

Ed. 2d, that it is the duty of the federal court on habeas

corpus to independently evaluate the voir dire testimony

of the impaneled jurors.

Juror Barrish is mentioned in the petitioner’s brief,

page 21, together with the reason he gave for having read

about the case. The further extended examination of Juror

Barrish by both parties is omitted from the petition and

the defense omit to state that they accepted Juror Barrish

by passing him for cause (R. 115) and that they had per-

emptory challenges which they chose not to exercise with

reference to Juror Barrish.

There was no proof presented to the District Court

by the petitioner, and the burden of proof was upon the

petitioner, that the jury that was finally impaneled by

both sides was not a fair and impartial jury as a result of

publicity before the trial. Nor do the decisions cited by

the District Court support the proposition that a court

may, on habeas corpus, as the District Court has done,

determine whether a defendant had a fair and impartial

jury impaneled, by reading the newspapers, without regard

to what the trial record shows. The court has indulged in

speculation and conjecture about the adverse effect certain

newspaper articles and headlines, occurring before the

trial, may have had upon the jury that was selected in this

case, and concludes on that basis alone, without any proof,

that the petitioner did not have a fair and impartial jury.

a

22

It must be remembered that the Mayor of Bay Village

was a close personal friend of the petitioner, as were the

police officers in Bay Village for whom he was the police

surgeon; that he was whisked off to Bay View Hospital

by his brothers without permission before the Coroner or

any of the Cleveland police officers arrived; that a pro-

tective shield was thrown around him and that the pe-

titioner and his counsel would permit no interrogation

except under their own terms and by designated friendly

officers; and that the petitioner and his counsel were ob-

structing the public authorities in what should be the nor-

mal investigation of a murder.

It seemed, at least to the newspaper editors, that cer-

tain public officials were “sitting on their hands” and

were fearful, for one reason or another, of proceeding

vigorously in the investigation as they would in any other

case. Certainly, these newspapers had a right to criticize

what they deemed to be a deliberate attempt to shield the

petitioner from interrogation, and a lack of progress on

the part of the public authorities in the investigation and

solution of this crime. It was inevitable that there would

be publicity concerning the petitioner’s unwillingness to

be interrogated save on his own terms and conditions and

that the public officials would be criticized, such criticism

of public officials not being the exclusive prerogative of

defense counsel, or of the American Civil Liberties Union

for that matter. And speaking of that organization, we

just read in the Cleveland Press, the newspaper that is

being so castigated in the present petition, what obviously

is a news release made to the Press by the American Civil

Liberties Union and its Ohio affiliate that they have filed

a brief with this Court in this case, and the newspaper

article quotes extensively from the brief.

The American Civil Liberties Union always make

sure that they are given the “freedom of the press’’ to ex-

Li RRA RNRP SIE 1c AUER AYO ENN oc ROPER APS IPMN RIES) ARSENE SINT PENA BER BENS MS es _—

Pte aa

23

pound their views, while at the same time they attempt to

deny the right of “freedom of speech” in the press to

others, including law enforcement officials. Their theory

seems to be that only a “chosen few” such as the American

Civil Liberties Union should be given the right of “free-

dom of speech” in the press, and “freedom of speech,”

whether a person speaks orally or in writing, is also guar-

anteed by the First Amendment.

Further, that Union, involving itself in cases in the

eleventh hour and not having any knowledgeable connec-

tion with the facts, the evidence and the judicial proceed-

ings, wants this Court to lay down rules and principles

predicated upon broad generalities and faulty assumptions.

Whether we or the Courts agree or disagree with the

opinions expressed by the newspaper editors is entirely

beside the point. It is pertinent to ask: What caused the

publicity before the trial, and who brought it about?

Marilyn Sheppard was murdered—there could be no

doubt about that—and it became the duty of law enforce-

ment officers to thoroughly investigate and to bring to

justice the person who murdered her. Much of the pub-

licity injected into the District Court's decision occurred

months before the trial took place. The murder occurred

on July 4th and the petitioner was not brought to trial

until October 18th. A great deal of the newspaper public-

ity occurring before the trial was inspired by the lack of

cooperation of the petitioner with the authorities begin-

ning immediately after the murder of his wife was com-

mitted, by the protective shield thrown around him, and

by the strategy of his counsel who was hired within hours

after the murder. None of the publicity was deliberately

promoted by the prosecution.

Any sensational murder such as this brings forth

publicity, some more, some less, but in the circumstances

of each case, the issue before the trial court is whether a

24

fair and impartial jury can be obtained. The jurors who

sat in the trial of this case were all thoroughly examined

and definitely stated that they would give to the petitioner

the benefit of the presumption of innocence. They were

fully examined so far as defense counsel desired as to any

knowledge or information they might have of the case.

At no stage of the proceedings in the trial court or on the

appeals did the petitioner offer any evidence to prove that

any juror was in fact hostile, unqualified or prejudiced by

the publicity, and, moreover, a period of two months and a

half intervened between the day of the petitioner’s arrest

and the beginning of the trial.

The presumption is that the jurors followed the in-

structions of the court. A distrust of the jury without any

affirmative showing that they were not to be trusted in

following out the court’s instructions is what the District

Court urges.

Mr. Justice Holmes said in Holt v. United States, 218

U. S. 245, at 251 (1910), 31S. Ct. 2, 6, 54 L. Ed. 1021:

“k * * Tf the mere opportunity for prejudice or cor-

ruption is to raise a presumption that they exist, it

will be hard to maintain jury trials under the condi-

tions of the present day * * *”

In United States v. Sorcey, 7 Cir. 151 F. 2d 899, 903

(1945), certiorari denied, 327 U. S. 794, 66 S. Ct. 821,

90 L. Ed. 1021, the court stated:

‘ok * * we must not permit the integrity of the jury to

be assailed by mere suspicion and surmise; it is pre-

sumed that the jury will be true to their oath and

conscientiously observe the instructions of the court,

* ok 36)?

In Opper v. United States, 348 U.S. 84, at 95 (1954),

75 S. Ct. 158, 165, 99 L. Ed. 101, the court said:

RSA ERR RES MEE, ORS, yfhtes SENET

—

25

“* * * Our theory of trial relies upon the ability of a

jury to follow instructions. * * *”

In Delli Paoli v. United States, 352 U. S. 232, 242

(1957), 77S. Ct. 294, 300, 1 L. Ed. 2d 278, the court said:

‘“* * * Unless we proceed on the basis that the jury

will follow the court’s instructions where those in-

structions are clear and the circumstances are such

that the jury can reasonably be expected to follow

them, the jury system makes little sense. Based on

faith that the jury will endeavor to follow the court’s

instructions, our system of jury trial has produced

one of the most valuable and practical mechanisms

in human experience for dispensing substantial

justice.”

In the instant case, the prospective jurors were ques-

tioned at very great length by both counsel for the State

and the defense, and the Court. In fact, there are three

volumes of the Bill of Exceptions, totaling hundreds of

pages, setting forth such detailed examination. The fact

that prospective jurors had read something about the case

before they were sworn as jurors did not necessarily dis-

qualify them. We know of no principle of law which ex-

cludes such jurors from service merely because they had

previously read or heard something about the case. The

persons who could hear the evidence without bias or preju-

dice and could decide the issues fairly and impartially were

seated. Those who could not, were excused.

It was held in Irvin v. Dowd, supra, 6 L. Ed. 2d, at p.

756:

“It is not required, however, that the jurors be totally

ignorant of the facts and issues involved. In these

days of swift, widespread and diverse methods of

communication, an important case can be expected

to arouse the interest of the public in the vicinity, and

scarcely any of those best qualified to serve as jurors

oie,

tf ess

26

will not have formed some impression or opinion as to

the merits of the case. This is particularly true in

criminal cases. To hold that the mere existence of

any preconceived notion as to the guilt or innocence

of an accused, without more, is sufficient to rebut the

presumption of a prospective juror’s impartiality

would be to establish an impossible standard. It is

sufficient if the juror can lay aside his impression or

opinion and render a verdict based on the evidence

presented in court. Spies v. Illinois, 123 U.S. 131, 31

L. Ed. 80, 8 S. Ct. 21, 22; Holt v. United States, 218

U. S. 245, 54 L. Ed. 1021, 31 S. Ct. 2, 20 Ann. Cas.

1138.”

The process of impaneling the jury in the Sheppard

case demonstrated that there was no unusual difficulty in

securing a fair and impartial jury. The analysis of this

process is briefly stated in the opinion of the Court of |

Appeals of Cuyahoga County as follows:

“The record in this case discloses that a special

venire was called for the trial of this defendant as

provided by Sec. 2945.18 R. C. Seventy-five names

were drawn from the jury box. Of this number, 11

were immediately excused for justifiable reasons or

were not found, and could not be summoned (three in

number) by the sheriff. Of the remaining 64, 13 were

excused because they had formed a firm opinion as to

the guilt or innocence of the accused and 10 were

likewise excused because they were opposed to capital

punishment. Sixteen others were excused for cause.

“The State used four peremptory challenges and

the defendant five. As is provided in Sec. 2945.21

the State in a homicide case where there is but one

defendant, is entitled to six such peremptory chal-

lenges and the defendant a like number so that when

the jury was sworn, the defendant left the right to

one peremptory challenge unused. From the fore-

going analysis of the venire of 75 electors called in

this case, four of those called were not needed in

ET et), Meee gt Ed a Ce Sey

Pied aE PEE ae ee aR get “OR EI urpemaRRNteE tam mere Rts ste MOR

_—_

27

impaneling a jury of 12. Such jury was selected as

provided by law and sworn and accepted by the de-

fendant to well and truly try and true deliverance

make between the State and the defendant.

“The parties agreed to select two alternate jurors

as provided by Sec. 2313.37 R. C. The four remaining

jurors of the original list, together with an additional

venire of 24 summoned as provided by law, were

used for this purpose. Of the 24 summoned, eight

were called and questioned together with the four

from the original venire, in impaneling the two alter-

nate jurors. Of those examined, three were excused

for holding a firm opinion of the guilt or innocence

of the accused, four were excused as being against

capital punishment, one was excused on challenge

for cause and each side used one peremptory chal-

lenge. (Each side had the right to excuse two pro-

spective alternate jurors peremptorily under the

provisions of Sec. 2313.37 R. C.)

“The analysis of the impaneling of the jury in this

case where but 16 prospective jurors out of 72 ex-

amined could not sit because they had prejudged the

guilt or innocence of the accused, clearly shows that

there was no difficulty whatever in impaneling a fair

and impartial jury.” (Appendix, Vol. I, pp. 60a-61a. )

No matter when or where tried, the Sheppard case

would have attracted widespread publicity. This was in-

herent in the very nature of the case itself. The right to

grant a change of venue lies in the sound discretion of the

trial court. The trial court stated on the motion for new

trial in ruling on the denial of the motion for change of

venue and/or for a continuance:

“(3) Denial of change of venue requested by de-

fendant. The request, when made, was based upon

the claim that xtraordinary public attention centered

upon the case in this county by the various media of

news made the securing of a fair and impartial jury

PE REALL OLE GL LIN

—

28

in this county impossible. It is a matter of common

knowledge that the case commanded that same at-

tention throughout Ohio and the United States of

America. It commanded very much attention through-

out the free world. Chief counsel for the defense con-

ceded and asserted this to be a fact and stated fer-

vently that the defendant could not have a fair trial

in Ohio, or even in the United States. The only con-

clusion from that assertion must be that the defend-

ant cannot be tried at all on an indictment for Murder

in the First Degree. Such a claim furnishes its own

answer.

“Seldom indeed has there been a case about which

the average citizen was so confused by the published

stories, or more uncertain about what the facts ac-

tually were. With present-day means of communica-

tion the same precise stories were simultaneously

published in every city and county in the State and it

certainly will not be denied that Cuyahoga County

is the most liberal county in the State and, as a result,

the best in which to conduct a trial involving a much

publicized charge of crime, whatever its nature. It is

to be borne in mind that no issues which break into

flames and which tend to produce passion and prej-

udice were involved in this cause. No issue of race,

corruption, killing an officer, or the like, was in-

volved—what actually was involved was a mere mys-

tery—-a ‘whodunit.’ The only safe and sure way to de-

termine whether a fair and impartial jury can be se-

cured is to proceed to impanel one. The court re-

served ruling on the motion pending such an effort

and became convinced, and is still convinced, that an

intelligent, sincere, patriotic and fair jury was impan-

eled. Upon that being accomplished the court over-

ruled the motion and believes such action was not er-

ror. Section 2945.06 Revised Code of Ohio provides

that a person charged in a case such as this may waive

trial by jury and elect to be tried by a panel of three

judges. While not challenging the right of a defend-

ELLE LLM ATE LA LEIP ENEH ELISE LT IIE IE TEL AE LE EE IE RL EMRE IT EF —

29

ant, in a proper case, to a change of venue it does

seem that the lack of confidence in any jury anywhere,

coupled with the failure to elect to be tried by a panel

of three judges, smacks of objection to any trial at all.

(Emphasis ours.)

“(4) Error in denying application for continuance.

The crime charged in the indictment occurred on July

4. Trial started October 18. Defendant’s counsel had

been engaged and active from a time within hours fol-

lowing the crime and long before defendant’s arrest.

Seventy-five prospective jurors had been summoned

with full knowledge of all counsel long before any

application for continuance was filed. The only ground

stated for a continuance was ‘to permit the extraor-

dinary publicity to quiet down.’ It was not claimed

that counsel were not prepared for trial nor was any

suggestion made as to who was going to ‘quiet down’

the publicity, nor when or how.” (Appendix, Vol.

I, pp. 35a-36a.)

There was no assurance that the publicity would not

continue if a motion for a continuance was granted. Fur-

ther, the trial court was not required to speculate as to

whether a trial at a later date would result in more or

less publicity.

The Constitution provides that the defendant in a

criminal case is entitled to a speedy and public trial. As it

was, the petitioner was not brought to trial until three

and a half months after the crime was committed, and the

trial court was not required, in view of the Constitutional

provision, to delay the trial indefinitely, otherwise the peti-

tioner could be heard to complain that his constitutional

right to a speedy and public trial was violated.

As stated in the opinion of the Supreme Court of

Ohio on this case:

“At the outset of the trial, in response to defend-

ant’s motion for change of venue, the trial court said:

30

‘The motion for change of venue will be held in

abeyance, and we will proceed at 1:15 this after-

noon in an effort to determine whether or not we

can secure a fair and impartial jury. If we are not

able to do that, there will be no question in this

court’s mind at all but what this case ought to go

out of Cuyahoga County, whatever may be the

effect of that.’

“At the conclusion of the impaneling of 12 jurors,

the motion for change of venue was renewed (for the

third time), at which time, in overruling the mo-

tion, the trial court said:

‘That the best evidence in the world is the effort to

select a jury, and what we get here is a picture that

has taken almost two weeks of time. The court is

thoroughly satisfied that we have a fair and impar-

tial group of people to try this case, and I doubt if ‘

under any conditions at any time anywhere in this

state you could have a better looking group of peo-

ple and a more intelligent group of people, as a

whole, to try a case of this kind, and the court is

thoroughly satisfied that they are a group of fair

and impartial people who can properly try this case

under the guidance of the court, and I hope he

will be able to give them that in the manner that

it ought to be given.’

“The same motion, advanced for the same reason,

was renewed on five other occasions during the trial,

and the trial court in each instance overruled the mo-

tion.

“We believe the trial court was justified in those

rulings. In Townsend v. State, 17 C. C. (N. S.), 380,

25 C. D. 408, affirmed without written opinion in 88

Ohio St. 584, 106 N. E. 1083, it is said:

‘The examination of jurors on their voir dire affords

the best test as to whether or not prejudice exists

in the community against the defendant; and where

it appears that the opinions as to the guilt of the de-

SUS a Sch Ta cia a ae Re a ee a etek Maas ca il Mra RRR

—

31

fendant of those called for examination for jurors

are based on newspaper articles and that the

opinions so formed are not fixed but would yield

readily to evidence, it is not error to overrule an

application for a change of venue.’

“For example, in Richards v. State, 43 Ohio App.

212, 183 N. E. 36, it was held that the exercise of the

right to order a change of venue lies in the trial court’s

discretion, and that a refusal to order a change of

venue without prejudice until it can be determined

whether a fair and impartial jury can be impaneled is

not an abuse of discretion. See also, Dorger v. State,

40 Ohio Opp. 415, 179 N. E. 143; State v. Stemen, 90

Ohio App. 309, 106 N. E. (2d) 662; State v. Deem,

154 Ohio St. 576, 97 N. E. (2d) 13.

“If the jury system is to remain a part of our

system of jurisprudence, the courts and litigants must

have faith in the inherent honesty of our citizens in

performing their duty as jurors courageously and

without fear or favor. Of the 75 vrospective jurors

called pursuant to this venire only 14 were excused

because they had formed a firm opinion as to the guilt

or innocence of the defendant. A full panel was ac-

cepted before this venire was exhausted, and defend-

ant exercised but five of his allotted six peremptory

challenges.

“In the light of these facts, and particularly in the

light of the fact that a jury was impaneled and sworn

to try this case fairly and impartially on the evidence

and the law, this Court cannot say that the denial of

a change of venue by the trial judge constituted an

abuse of discretion.” (Appendix, Vol. I, pp. 110a-

11la.)

The District Court states (Appendix, Vol. III, p. 439a)

that the Supreme Court of Ohio failed to consider in this

case that the circumstances were urusually compelling

and the assurances of the jurors could be disregarded, such

32

as was done in Rideau, supra. The Supreme Court of

Ohio was bound by Section 2945.83 of the Revised Code

of Ohio to review the instant case on the record, not by

reading the newspapers. And there were no unusual com-

pelling circumstances in the Sheppard case requiring a

disregard of the assurances of the jurors on the voir dire.

The petitioner did not confess to the crime, not even over

television as was done by the defendant in the Rideau

case, nor is there any showing in the instant case that any

juror sat on the trial who was unqualified or unaccepted

by the defense, as was the situation in Rideau.

Further, the instant case is not comparable with Irvin

v. Dowd, supra, upon which the District Court relied. In

the Irvin case, the prosecutor and police officials issued

press releases stating that the defendant had confessed to

six murders. At the trial, the jury panel consisted of 430

persons; 268 of these were excused for cause as having

fixed opinions as to the guilt of the petitioner; and 8 of the

12 jurors who ‘finally served on the jury admitted on voir

dire that they thought petitioner was guilty.

And there is no comparison of the facts in Irvin,

supra, to the facts surrounding the selection of the jury in

the Sheppard case. None of the pre-trial newspaper articles

in the instant case contain any releases from the prose-

cuting authorities that the petitioner confessed. In fact,

the petitioner garnered a great deal of publicity before

the trial, minimizing any part he may have had in the

commission of the murder. Omitted from the selection by

the District Court of pre-trial newspaper publicity, is the

amount of publicity put out by the defense prior to the

trial. Innumerable stories appeared emanating from the

petitioner, his counsel, his relatives and his friends, mini-

mizing any claim that the petitioner may have committed

the murder. The Court of Appeals has listed some of these

favorable stories.

LAE MAES ON PEPE IEEE ILS EIT LED NAIM ME IME OED IOD IN FN es) PSE

—

33

The District Court includes under this finding on pre-

trial publicity, a newspaper article which appeared in the

Cleveland Press, October 23d, entitled “BUT WHO WILL

SPEAK FOR MARILYN,” (considered by this Court in

the former petition), and claims that this article was

one of the most prejudicial. (Appendix, Vol. III, p. 436a.)

Apart from the fact that there is no showing that the trial

jury read the article, there is nothing in the article con-

taining any facts which would be probative of the peti-

tioner’s guilt of the crime of second degree murder of

which the jury found him guilty on the evidence produced

in open court.

The District Court says (Appendix, Vol. III, p. 443a)

that an overt example of the prejudice against the pe-

titioner was the newspaper report that “the spectators

cheered wildly” and “hugged and kissed the Coroner”

when he ordered petitioner’s counsel ejected from the in-

quest. Counsel for the petitioner refers to the inquest held

in the school auditorium in Bay Village and proceeds to

distort the nature of the proceedings and what occurred.

Ignored entirely is the testimony of Dr. Gerber that he had

made arrangements for the inquest and had actually issued

subpoenas before the Press editorial appeared, and that the

reason it was held in Bay Village was that most of the

witnesses lived there and it would be convenient.

Untold is the fact that the hearing at the inquest was

in perfect order during the testimony of the petitioner, his

parents, his brothers, the doctors, Don Ahern and Nancy

Ahern, Mayor and Mrs. Houk and the Bay Village officers.

There was no disorder until the last few minutes of the last

day of the public hearing when Dorothy Sheppard was re-

called to testify further. It was brought about by Mr. Cor-

rigan, counsel for petitioner, who sought to direct the re-

porter to insert certain matters into the record. Mr. Corri-

—

34

gan was told not to do so and was cautioned that if he per-

sisted, he would be asked to leave. He not only persisted,

but ordered the reporter to make the insertions in the

record, refused to desist when so requested, refused to

sit down when so requested and challenged the authority

of the Coroner to put him out. The Coroner had no alter-

native and was obliged to have Mr. Corrigan removed

from the hearing room.

This occurred within a few minutes before the close

of the hearing. Furthermore, the inquest was held on

July 22d, 23d and 26th and there was at that time no in-

dictment against the petitioner. The disturbance at the

inquest which Mr. Corrigan created has no possible bear-

ing on the trial of this case, nor did it prevent the peti-

tioner from having a fair and impartial jury, nor is there

any showing that the individuals who showed affection

for the Coroner at the inquest, sat on the jury.

It is suggested in the petition (p. 18) that Estes v.

Texas, 14 L, Ed. (2d) 543 (1965), applies to the inquest

held by the Coroner. The events of a two-day pre-trial

hearing in court on motions to prohibit television coverage

and to postpone the trial were the subject of consideration

in that case. The Coroner's inquest was held months be-

fore the trial, not in court, and has no bearing on whether

the petitioner was denied due process on the trial.

And of a certainty, there is no proof in the record,

nor was any affirmative proof presented to the District

Court by the petitioner, no “demonstrable reality,” that

the jury selected in this case was not a fair and impartial

jury, or that the publicity before trial influenced the

jurors who were finally selected by both sides on the two-

week searching voir dire examination, The District Court's

finding to the contrary is merely a matter of speculation,

with no basis in fact.

EN EAR ETS NTL OLE GE LL LILO LDL IE EIN LE IE IRENE PGS

35

B. Publicity During Trial.

Counsel for petitioner again indulges in inferences

and faulty assumptions with nothing specific being shown

that a fair and an impartial jury was not maintained

during the trial. And, had the District Court examined

the record, it would have found that counsel for the peti-

tioner who were present throughout the trial and who

were in a position to know and observe, were satisfied

that they had a fair and impartial jury that was not being

influenced by anything other than the evidence and the

repeated instructions of the trial judge, for counsel for the

petitioner stated to the jury in argument:

“May I take this opportunity—as I started to say,

may I take this opportunity to congratulate you on

the splendid attention, the tireless effort you have dis-

played during these nine weeks. You have been

deprived, probably, of many comforts that you ordi-

narily enjoyed in and around your home with your

family because of the admonitions that you have re-

ceived throughout the trial by his Honor, Judge Bly-

thin.

“The purpose, ladies and gentlemen, of those

admonitions was that we could come to this point in

the lawsuit where your minds would be free, your

minds would be open, and that you could take into

consideration all the facts and all the testimony that

has been submitted to you without any outside in-

fluence, and I am sure, and I say this to you sincerely,

because I have had the opportunity of observation

during this entire period, that you have done just

that.” (R. 5371-5372.) (Emphasis ours.)

The District Court said, “If ever there was a trial by

newspaper, this is a perfect example.” (Appendix, Vol. III,

p. 453a.) The court should become acquainted with the

facts as reflected in the record, showing who was largely

—

36

responsible for the publicity during trial. Certainly, there

is no evidence that either the trial judge or the prosecution

were trying the case in the newspapers. Dr. Steve Shep-

pard, petitioner’s brother and a prospective witness, so

persisted in trying to have the petitioner’s case tried in the

newspapers that the trial court was required to admonish

him that if he did not desist, he, being a witness, would be

excluded from the courtroom (R. 3722). This all took

place in the Court’s chambers just before the Considine

broadcast was brought to the attention of the court, and

the Court said:

“Let it be now understood that if Dr. Steve Sheppard

wishes to use the newspapers to try his case while we

are trying it here, he will be barred from remaining

in the court room during the progress of the trial if he

is to be a witness in the case.” (R. 3722.)

During the trial most of the publicity was given out

by the defense. Petitioner had a former newspaperman

as one of his counsel, and as a former newspaper: man,

defense counsel knew very well how to get favorable

stories in the public press, and he was quite successful.

He held press conferences daily, and frequently more than

once each day; and, with his client, posed for hundreds of

pictures which, together with favorable personal stories,

appeared in all types of news media. The amount of pub-

licity so put out by the defense was enormous, and far

outshadowed the attention given the State. Defense coun-

sel found that by continually denouncing the newspapers

and public officials, he could get an even greater amount

of publicity. Mr. Corrigan’s skill in the art of publicity is

demonstrated by the innumerable stories that appeared,

emanating from the petitioner, his counsel, his relatives

and his friends. The bales of newspapers offered by the

defense in support of their motions show these favorable

37

personal stories and the innumerable photographs for

which the petitioner and his counsel posed.

Mr. Corrigan also demonstrated his accomplishments

as an actor by pretending to object to the pictures and

reading his objection into the record. The photographs

themselves, and the stories which accompanied them, show

complete acquiescence and pleasure. That the objection

made for the record was without justification and mere

pretense is proved by the testimony of Julian Wilson dur-

ing the hearing on the motion for new trial. Mr. Wilson

was a photographer for the Associated Press, assigned to

this trial, and testfied on the motion for new trial that he

made many pictures of Dr. Sam Sheppard and consider-

ably over a hundred of Mr. Corrigan (R. 7088). His testi-

mony speaks for itself:

“Q. Now, did you take any pictures in this court

room while the court was in session?

A. No, sir, I did not.

Q. Now, while the court was not in session, dur-

ing recess or after adjournment, did you take pictures

in this court room and around this building?

A. Many times.

Q. Did you take pictures of Mr. Corrigan?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. About how many times?

A. Roughly—it would run considerably over a

hundred negatives.

Q. About a hundred negatives. And of Dr. Sam

Sheppard?

A. I made many pictures of him.

Q. And Mr. Garmone?

A. He, too, I have made many pictures of.

Q. Now, did Mr. Corrigan ever object to your

taking any of these pictures?

A. A few times he has objected.

Q. When was that?

A. About the middle of the trial or towards the

—

38

end of it, Mr. Corrigan—we were instructed that Mr.

Corrigan didn’t want any pictures made of himself,

the defense, or the defendant.

Q. How many pictures had you taken without

his objection before you received those instructions?

A. Oh, many.

Q. More than 50?

A. Id think so.

Q. And after you received the instructions, did

you stop taking pictures?

. Yes, sir.

And how long did that continue?

About a week and a half, two weeks.

Then what occurred?

We asked Mr. Corrigan’s permission.

And did you get it?

. Yes, sir.

And then resumed taking pictures?

. Yes,

. How many pictures did you resume taking—

did you take after you resumed taking those pictures?

A. I'd say not as many as before because we

didn’t need as many pictures.

Q. More than 20 or 25?

A. About that.

Q. Now, with respect to the defendant, Dr. Sam

Sheppard, is the number of pictures that you took

before the objection by Mr. Corrigan about the same

as what you took of Mr. Corrigan?

A. About, yes.

Q. You took about 50 before. Then there was

this period when you didn’t take any pictures because

of the objection, is that correct?

A. That’s true, sir.

Q. And then did you later resume?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. With whose permission?

A. Well, when we got Mr. Corrigan’s permission,

we resumed taking pictures.

5 os wes a “s ek

LENE SE AIEEE NLL LO RAPPER ET LEE, REN AAI Pee a «tl

OP OPOPOPOD>

4

FEC eM SE

ete exe.

39

Q. And about how many did you take after you

got permission?

A. Somewhere around 15, 20, 25.

* * *

Q. Did you ever take a picture of either Dr. Sam

Sheppard or any of his counsel over their objection?

A. No, six.

* e *

The Court: May I have just one question?

Were you present at the conference which the

Court had with photographers prior to the opening

of the case?

The Witness: Yes, sir, I was.

The Court: And at which the Court stated

what the rule would be as to taking pictures during

the trial?

The Witness: I was.

The Court: Do you recall what that was as to

taking pictures within the court room and of the

defendant and his counsel?

The Witness: Yes, I do recall.

The Court: All right. State it.

The Witness: Your ruling, sir, was that no

pictures would be made at any time when the court

was in session, and you also requested that we

make no pictures of the defendant or the defense

or anyone without their permission. I believe that

is the gist of the thing.

The Court: That’s correct.” (R. 7087-7091.)

It is obvious from the record that objections by the

defense to the newspaper publicity were quite pro forma

and mere pretense.

The District Court injects into its decision (Appendix,

Vol. III, pp. 444a-445a) a newspaper article and certain

newspaper headlines, as though they were before the jury

as evidence in the case, and concludes that the petitioner

was prejudiced by being referred to in the newspaper

40

article as a Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, and that such head-

lines were slanted against the petitioner. This article was

considered by this Court in the former petition. There is

no proof nor was there any proof before the District

Court that the jury read this article or were influenced by

it in reaching their verdict. This witness did testify but did

not disclose such an incident.

On the voir dire, at the outset, the court instructed

the prospective jury that the defendant was presumed to

be innocent unless and untill he was found by a jury to be

guilty of the crime beyond a reasonable doubt and that

finding was to come, not from anyone’s notions or outside

information, but must come on the basis of testimony

heard from the witness stand (R. 31). The prospective

jury were further instructed that they were not to discuss

this case or any feature of it with anyone; that they were

not permitted to have anyone speak to them about it; that

they were not to remain anywhere where other people

were speaking of it among themselves; and that they were

not to speak of it among themselves (R. 35). The prospec-

tive jury were also questioned concerning newspaper

articles and radio broadcasts and whether they would be

influenced or swayed by anything anybody said outside of

the court room (R. 167-168, 214).

The prospective jury were also questioned as tc

whether they would consider the question of the guilt ot

innocence of the defendant solely on the basis of the evi:

dence that was received in the courtroom from the witnes:

stand (R. 236). And they were further questioned as tc

whether they would follow the instructions of the cour

not to read anything about the case in any of the news:

papers and not to listen to any discussion of the case or

the radio or television (R. 279).

EB NORCO NORCROSS ENOL SRENEE 6 IRAE nN SRR 2 Fs acne AO

41

The court said to the jury at Record 1452:

“A fair and an impartial juror is a juror who can sit

here patiently and who can listen to all of the evi-

dence that is produced in a case and to the instruc-

tions of the court as to the law applicable to the

particular case, and who can honestly close out the

rest of the world for the moment and bring a curtain

down on all information he may have about the mat-

ter from other sources, and be guided entirely by the

evidence and the instructions of the court as to the

law applicable to the particular case” (R. 1452).

And when the jury was impaneled, the court in-

structed the jury not to talk about the case to anyone; not

to permit anyone to talk to them about it; not to remain

anywhere where other people were talking about it them-

selves, in the jury room or elsewhere; that it was each

one’s duty as an individual juror and responsible citizen

to keep his own counsel, to listen to the evidence that came

from the witness stand and the instructions of the court

as to the law, and wait until all those are complete before

they formed any opinion or judgment whatever as to the

outcome of the case, which opinions and judgments were

to be expressed only in the jury room after the case was

finally submitted to them for deliberation and decision.

The jury were further told by the court that during the

pendency of the trial, they were not to listen to comments

about it over the radio or otherwise and not to read the

newspapers (R. 1591). The court said: “You will get here

the only facts that you are to consider in the determination

of this case” (R. 1592).

Each juror had agreed that he or she would disregard

everything other than the evidence received in open court

and would, in conformity with the instructions of the court,

render a fair and impartial verdict. The jurors took the

42

oath required by law and there is not a shred of evidence

in the record, nor was there any affirmative proof before

the District Court that each and every juror did not fully

and completely abide by the oath so taken.

There is not a particle of evidence in the record or

before the District Court to show that the jury was in any

way influenced by reports or stories in the newspapers or

over the radio, or anything else, or that the jury or any

juror was biased or prejudiced by any such stories or

broadcasts.

Although several jurors were subpoenaed and were

thoroughly interrogated by defense counsel on the hearing

on the motion for new trial, not a word of testimony was

produced to justify the claim that the jurors were influ-

enced by anything other than the evidence produced in

open court in reaching their verdict. The District Court’s

finding that newspaper publicity during the trial preju-

diced the petitioner is based upon mere speculation and

suspicion, with no basis in fact. Certainly, it is not sup-

ported by the record. A fair and objective analysis of

stories to the public will disclose that they made no effort

to slant the stories, certainly not to influence the jury in

arriving at their verdict. Nor is there any proof whatso-

ever offered by the petitioner that the jury was influenced

by anything other than the evidence produced in court in

reaching its verdict.

The District Court holds that the trial judge com-

mitted error when he failed to question the jury regarding

the Robert Considine broadcast. This incident was before

this Court for consideration in the former petition. Urged

for the first time in the Supreme Court of Ohio by the de-

fense, as error, was the refusal of the trial court on motion

for continuance in the 5th week of trial to ask the jurors

if they heard a broadcast by Bob Considine over Station

@ r 4 Reb Ja Pg eit

BAGS NGS NPS EM STS SET GRP PT LON, UME RIE SORE SITs PPAR DESL OR OOS RE IIR, SEBS, 29 EES

Sc ee Tp RS SIMO ee ee EE Ty CN RN ey PO es Ty 4 A

—

43

WHK in which there was something said about the Shep-

pard case. This matter was brought up in the court’s

chambers and neither the court nor the prosecutors had

any knowledge whatsoever of the alleged broadcast. Mr.

Corrigan, counsel for the petitioner, complained that Bob

Considine had paralleled a denial of the petitioner as set

forth by Officer Schottke with a denial of Alger Hiss when

he was confronted by Whittaker Chambers, without stating

that Dr. Sheppard was in bed in the hospital at the time of

his denial, while Mr. Hiss was strong, mentally and physi-

cally.

Apart from this assertion of counsel, no proof what-

ever was submitted to the court as to the exact nature of

the broadcast, although Mr. Considine was available, it

being conceded by the defense that he was in daily attena-

ance at the trial. When the court stated: “We are not going

to harass the jury every morning,” Mr. Corrigan then

responded, “I can’t help it, Judge. If you don’t that’s all

right with me. I make my exception.” (R. 3725.)

That it was not error for the court to refuse to inter-

rogate or poll the jurors during the trial as to whether

they had read a newspaper article or heard a radio broad-

cast such as the Considine broadcast, is affirmed by the

annotation in 15 A. L. R. (2) 1152, wherein it is stated:

“The present annotation is concerned with the

question of whether, during a criminal trial, the

jurors may be interrogated or polled as to whether

they have read newspaper articles pertaining to the

alleged crime or the trial. As the title indicates, the

annotation involves the propriety of interrogation or

polling after impanelment, as distinguished from that

which occurs on voir dire examination.

“The few cases that involve this specific point all

uphold the trial court where it refuses to interrogate,

or refuses to let a party interrogate, the jurors as to

44

the reading of newspaper articles relating to the trial

or the crime. The decisions generally turn on the fact

that the trial court had instructed the jury not to read

the articles or that there had been no showing by the

moving party that the jurors had in fact read them.”

Whatever the news media, whether it be newspapers or ra-

dio broadcasts, the same principle should apply. As stated

in Trombley v. Langlois (R. I.), 163 A. 2d 25 (1960):

“An impartial trial is one in which jurors reach a ver-

dict upon a consideration of only those matters that

were introduced in evidence during the trial and

matters not so introduced, should not be brought to

their attention through an interrogation of the jury to

determine whether they have knowledge of allegedly

prejudicial material published in the newspapers.”

In State v. Hilliard, 89 Arizona 129, 359 P. 2d 66

(1961), it was held that the granting of the defendant's

request for interrogation of jurors during trial as to

whether they had read newspaper accounts, rested in the

sound discretion of the trial court and refusal to permit

poll was not error.

It was held in Ford v. U. S., 233 F. 2d (C. A. 5th Tex.)

56 (1956) that it is within the discretion of the trial court,

whether after impanelment during criminal trial, the

jurors may be interrogated as to whether they had read

newspaper articles. Refusal of trial judge to permit interro-

gation of jury regarding article was not error, where court

instructed jury at beginning of trial not to read “any stories

in the newspapers about the case.”

Reference is made to publicity of the family of Juror

Lois Mancini. This incident was considered by this Court

in the former petition. Furthermore, Lois Mancini was not

present during the visit of the reporter and did not par-

ticipate in the interview. We wish to also note that she

45

was merely an alternate juror and did not participate in

the deliberations or the verdict.

The District Court comments that during the trial

there was a broadcast by Walter Winchell in which he

related the story of a woman in New York who claimed

she had been a mistress of Sam Sheppard (Appendix,

Vol. III, p. 450a). This incident was referred to in the pre-

vious petition. At the request of defense counsel, the

court inquired of the jurors whether they had heard the

Winchell broadcast and two jurors responded that they

had. The jurors had no knowledge that Mr. Winchell was

to broadcast anything at all pertaining to the Sheppard

case or to Sam Sheppard. The two jurors who heard the

broadcast were asked by the Court: “Would that have any

effect on your judgment?” Both answered, “No.” The

Court stated:

“Have any of you, other than these two ladies, heard

anything about that broadcast last night? And I wish

to ask you two ladies in particular, and all of you in

general, to pay no attention whatever to that kind of

scavenging. It has no place, in my judgment, on the

air at all, but that is not for me to determine, but

surely it has no place whatever in our thinking or

considerations or thoughts in any way, shape or man-

ner in this case. Let’s confine ourselves to this court

room, if you please.” (R. 5429-5430.)

Upon the hearing on the motion for new trial and even

though several of the jurors had been subpoenaed, the de-

fense produced not a word of testimony to support their

claim that the jurors heard the Considine broadcast. There

is in the record no proof that any of the jurors were in-

fluenced by this broadcast or the so-called Winchell broad-

cast, or by anything else other than the evidence produced

in open court.

46

The Court of Appeals stated:

“The presumption that obedient to instructions,

the jurors ignored publicity during the trial has not

been overcome by petitioner. The only showing that

any of them encountered any of this publicity came

when the trial judge questioned the jurors about a

Winchell broadcast during the trial attributing mari-

tal infidelity to Dr. Sheppard. Two jurors advised

that they had heard the broadcast, but would not be

influenced by it, and an appropriate admonition on

the subject was given by the judge. Defense counsel

also requested interrogation of the jury as to their

knowledge of another broadcast in which one Consi-

dine made remarks derogatory to Dr. Sheppard. The

trial judge refused this request, observing that he

did not think the jury should be harassed with interro-

gation each morning. We believe that this action was

itself within the discretion of the judge, and that it

may indeed have been the best thing to do. A discreet

judge might well conclude that repetitive reference

and inquiry as to matters prejudicial to the defense

would harm rather than help. A substantial number

of lawyers skilled in the art of advocacy would, we

think, agree. Compare Estes v. United States, 335 F.

(2) 609, 615 (CA 5, 1964), cert. denied, 379 U. S.

964 (1965); United States v. Provenzano, 334 F. (2)

678, 696 (CA 3, 1964), cert. denied, 379 U. S. 947

(1964); Ford v. United States, 233 F. (2) 56, 61-62

(CA 5, 1956), cert. denied, 352 U. S. 833, 1 L. Ed. (2)

53 (1956). In any event, any effect that this limita-

tion of interrogation during trial might be thought

to have is dissipated by the opportunity accorded de-

fense counsel to interrogate jurors on their motion for

a new trial. Three of the jurors were thus questioned,

but counsel did not see fit to inquire into possible con-

tacts with trial publicity.” (Pet. App. A, pp. s.29-s.30.)

It is claimed that the trial court had a duty sua sponte

to sequester the jurors. There is no requirement under the

SETI IRPD L OPER G” ERG EIS Bt <a

ie Sty > ek apna aes

47

laws of the State of Ohio that a jury be sequestered during

the trial. In fact, the Ohio statute makes it a matter of

discretion on the part of the trial court. Section 2945.31

of the Revised Code of Ohio provides:

“After the trial has commenced, before or after the

jury is sworn, the court may order the jurors to be

kept in charge of proper officers, or they may be per-

mitted to separate during the trial. If the jurors are

kept in charge of officers of the court, proper arrange-

ments shall be made for their care, maintenance, and

comfort, under the orders and direction of the court.

In case of necessity the court may permit temporary

separation of the jurors.”

With the trial lasting over two months, there is no showing

that the trial court abused its discretion, nor was there any

request by the defense that the jury be sequestered during

the trial. To keep the jurors from their families for that

length of time would have imposed an unnecessary hard-

ship upon the jurors. Further, the fact is that there is no

affirmative evidence, nor did the petitioner offer any proof,

and the District Court points to none, that any juror read

any of the alleged prejudicial newspaper publicity during

the trial, contrary to the instructions of the trial court. No

claim was made by the defense in the state courts or on

certiorari that the trial court abused its discretion in not

sequestering the jury during the lengthy trial. Again,

whether a jury should be sequestered is a matter of state

legislation giving the trial court discretion.

Counsel for the petitioner cites Estes, supra, as appli-

cable to the fact that the jury was not sequestered in the

instant case. The Estes trial was a short trial and held

under Texas law. Defense counsel in the instant case could

have objected to any sequestration of the jury. The Court

of Appeals pointed out:

: *

“* * * We cannot speculate now whether able defense

counsel would have welcomed such a procedure, or

whether long insulation and confinement of a jury

trying a first degree murder case might be thought

more likely to lead to conviction and a death penalty

than permitting the jury the relaxation and refresh-

ment of living at home, even with the possible ex-

posure to extracurial publicity.” (Pet. Appendix A, |

s.9.)

The Trial Court stated on the hearing on the motion

for new trial:

“While this Court would not for the world mini- __

mize the importance of guarding this jury—or the __

jury in any other case—from annoyance or influence, __

he must express the thought that human beings,

whether serving as jurors or not, cannot be wrapped

in cellophane and deposited in a cooler during trial

and deliberation.

“The jury in the instant case was jealously

guarded throughout the entire proceedings and it is

worthy of note—and indeed decisive in this Court’s

judgment, that not a suggestion of influence upon the

jury is forthcoming from any person or agency. In-

terference or influence must be the test. If we are to

convict jurors without a scintilla of evidence of un-

due influence on them, it is now pertinent to halt and

ask ourselves what becomes of our faith in our de-

cent fellow-citizens and of what value is the jury

system at all.

“It is claimed that the jurors were. permitted to

separate on one or two occasions within the period of

their deliberations and were so photographed. Fore-

man Bird and Bailiff Francis testified that the so-

called separation of jurors was merely their momen-

tary division in the dining room of the hotel for the

purpose of photographing the men in one group and

the women in the other. It was in the presence of the

5 SS ERATE RAT AEE a ec IIE eS

SF

49

~ two bailiffs, was only a few feet in extent and there

was no communication of any kind with the jury by

the photographer. To term such a petty detail a ‘sep-

aration’ is stretching the imagination to a dangerous

point. It certainly is not the separation prohibited by

law and is hardly worthy of serious thought or com-

ment.

“The Court had complete confidence in the jury

in this case; it was protected at all times from any

possible approach, and its every movement and con-

duct would seem to be an eloquent demonstration of

the fact that it proved itself worthy of the confidence

placed in it to faithfully carry out the admittedly

tremendous responsibilities entrusted to it.” (Appen-

dix, Vol. I, pp. 44a-45a.)

The District Court claims that special note must be

given to the attempt of the newspapers to influence the

jury by taking photographs of the jury so that they would

look for their photographs in the newspaper and thereby

expose themselves to the prejudicial reporting (Appendix,

Vol. III, p. 453a). On the motion for new trial, the trial

court stated:

“Jurors were flash-photographed in their comings and

goings and it is difficult to know how that can be pre-

vented even if, indeed, it should be. Jurors are hu-

man beings and become citizens of special importance

when undertaking a signal public service. Not a single

complaint was registered by any juror in this connec-

tion and it is werthy of note that the defense does not

even claim that any juror was affected in the least by

it. Furthermvre, they were not flashed by agents of

the State nor on its behalf. Such exposures to public

attention are not matters of prejudice for or against

either the State or defendant but matters of news in-

terest to newspapers. They remain wholly neutral if

fed sufficient news or pictures of interest.” (App.,

Vol. I, pp. 40a-41a.)

———

50

The District Court comments that the newspaper ran

editorials praising the trial judge and that he was a canii-

date for re-election; that this certainly was an attempt to

Lring him around to their way of thinking. (Appendix,

Vol. III, p. 453a). And counsel for the petitioner infers in

his argument to this Court, that if the trial judge had not

been running for re-eiection to retain his post, and the

prosecutor had not sought election to the bench, the peti-

tioner would not have been convicted of this crime.

The state judge was not the trier of the facts in this

case. The verdict on the facts was rendered by a jury. Nor

is there any showing that the trial judge or the prosecutor

were, as a result of running for election, denying due proc-

ess to the petitioner. The Court of Appeals appropriately

said:

“Much has been made of the fact that the Shep-

pard trial begun on the eve of a judicial election at

which the trial judge and one of the prosecution staff

were candidates. We must assume that this is empha-

sized to imply that desire for victory may have led

the jury to conduct prejudicial to Dr. Sheppard’s

rights. We would have to entertain a low estimate of

the integrity of our fellow judicial officers to join in

any such inference. In most of the states of the Union

it is traditional that those who occupy judicial office

be required from time to time to account for their

stewardship by submitting to election. If it is sug-

gested that we presume that an elective judiciary can

preserve constitutional rights only at some unde-

fined distance in time from election day, we reject

such suggestion out of hand. As realists we know that

those who seek reelection to judicial office hope that

their conduct will find public approval, but we do

not think that judicial misconduct would be more

attractive to the electorate than conduct marked by

the integrity which we as judges like to believe is

a

51

possessed by electe1 judges as well as those who have

the security of tenure during ‘good behavior.’ Nor

are we prepared to presume that any judge is so far

enamored of his position as to betray its responsibili-

ties, no matter what he thinks would most please the

electorate. Additionally, it is not inappropriate to note

that much of the publicity complained of, and the

actual taking of testimony at Dr. Sheppard’s trial,

occurred after the election had been held. For like

reasons, we must reject Dr. Sheppard’s repetition in

this Court of his broadside charge ‘that the elective

judges of Ohio were so biased and prejudiced against

him that he could not expect fair adjudication of his

case in state courts. * * *’” (Pet. App. A, pp. s.41-

s.43.)

The District Court claimed that the requisite atmos-

phere for a fair trial did not exist. Counsel for the peti-

tioner has submitted a wholly distorted picture of the

arrangements made by the trial court before trial to govern

the news media. For a fair and objective statement per-

taining to such arrangements, we direct the attention of

this Court to the words of the trial judge in his memo-

randum on the motion for new trial.

Regardless of what action was taken by the trial court,

it was certain that all of these newspaper reporters were to

be present and that demands would inevitably be made

upon the trial court by all types of news media. When the

affidavit in support of a motion for new trial (App. A, pp.

s.158-s.164) was filed with the trial court, the trial Judge

stated, in ruling upon the motion for new trial:

“Realizing that the case had caught the public

imagination to an extent leading national and, indeed,

international news media to decide to fully ‘cover’

the trial, and having requests for space for many of

them, the Court decided to make proper arrange-

ments before trial and to control the situation so as

ery

to minimize and, if possible, eliminate confusion dur-

ing the trial. The court room is small.

“The Court assigned specific seats to individual

correspondents in the rear of the court room and

back of the trial area, and issued orders that there

was to be no crowding or congregating at the front

end entrances (one on each side of the bench) of the

court room; that there was to be no passing back

and forth through the trial area and that all

entries to and moving out of the court room be via

the public doorway in the rear of the court room,

Members of the defendant's family were accommo-

dated with seats at all times during the trial. The

same was accorded members of the family of the

murdered Marilyn. Members of the general public

were admitted to the extent of the seating capacity of

the court room and a scheme of rotation was estab-

lished so that many persons attended some sessions

of the trial and no favored members of the general

public were present at all times, nor permitted to be.

“Rules were prescribed for photographers and

representatives of radio and television stations. They

were cautioned that no cameras were to be permitted

in the court room excepting in the morning before

the convening of court and at the close of the day

after adjournment, and that in no event were pictures

of the defendant to be taken in the court room at

any time excepting with his consent or that of his

counsel,

“The Court's arrangements and orders were car-

ried out with one or two simple insignificant excep-

tions, due to over-enthusiasm. The defendant and his

chief counsel were far more gracious to the press,

photographers and gallery than was the Court. A

very large number of pictures of the defendant, his

family, counsel and friends were taken in the court

room (outside of court session periods) with their

permission and without complaint. Counsel for the

a

, .

eee ee eee eee eee Eee ere

defense held press conferences in the court room with

cameras clicking; all to the apparent delight of coun-

sel for the defense, and, naturally, without protest.

“Julian Wilson, a photographer for the Associated

Press, testified on this point at the hearing had on the

motion and supplemental motion. His testimony

stands wholly unchallenged and it states the pro-

cedure followed with perfect clarity.

Coe OR

“Some space outside of the court room which

could be spared for the moment without interference

with the public service was used by publicity agencies

for their typewriters and other equipment but it is

definitely not true, as stated in the motion herein,

that:

‘The Assignment Room, where cases are assigned

for other causes to court rooms, was assigned by

the Court to reporters and telegraphers.’

“Some generally unused space in the Assignment

Room was so assigned. Neither person, record, nor

piece of equipment in the Assignment Room was

moved, removed or displaced and the Assignment

Room functioned normally throughout the entire

period of the trial of this cause. One of the real pur-

poses of assigning that space to the uses mentioned

was to remove them entirely from the immediate

court room area. They were out of the corridors lead-

ing to the court room and permitted free movement

of the public and visitors within the building, whether

there in connection with this case or otherwise, wholly

unaffected by the Assignment Room space activity.”

(Appendix, Vol. I, pp. 39a-41a.)

The Ohio Court of Appeals in its opinion, stated:

“It is claimed also that the court arranged the

courtroom to accommodate a great many represent-

atives of the press, radio and television and other

news-disseminating agencies, thus restricting accom-

modations available for others. The record shows

—

54

that the defendant’s family was provided for and

that the defendant’s brother Dr. Stephen Sheppard,

although a witness, was permitted by order of the

court to remain in the courtroom throughout the trial.

The court in this case was presented with a very diffi-

cult matter because of the unusual amount of cover-

age attempted by the press, radio and television

agencies. The arrangements made by the court were

within its sound discretion. Certainly the defendant

was afforded a public trial, and from a reading of the

record, we cannot say that the court in seeking to

maintain an orderly proceeding abused its discretion

in directing the courtroom arrangements.” (Appen-

dix, Vol. I, p. 84a.)

The Court of Appeals stated:

“The District Judge also concluded that news cov-

erage of the trial deprived petitioner of his constitu-

tional rights because it contributed to a ‘carnival at-

mosphere.’ Stress is laid on the manner in which the

trial judge allocated the seating available in his small

courtroom, giving most of it to the press and install-

ing special tables for them. Now, with the reflection

and the hindsight that an interval of ten years has

provided, and after all of the appellate tribunals have

found the judge’s conduct in this regard without con-

stitutional fault, it is asserted that the trial judge

should have done a better job. We are not told what

alternative measures he should have adopted. Cer-

tainly he was without power to slake the public inter-

est. Should he then have selected news representa-

tives who would be regularly favored with admission

to the courtroom, and let each day’s trial begin with

a scramble by the unfavored to gain access? Should

he have moved the trial out of the courtroom into

some public hall or auditorium where the public and

the press could be accommodated at a greater distance

from the jury and counsel? Shall we now speculate

whether such planning would have reduced or aug-

mented the so-called ‘carnival atmosphere’? It is as-

HOSED, SUNIL, 2 RNR MEL HN A ciiinnidiiiandiinini aaa

f ,

serted also that too many photographs were taken of

the jury, the defendant, and counsel. No photographs

were allowed to be taken in the courtroom while the

court was in session. In view of today’s increasing

dissatisfaction with the aggressive performance of

many of the news media, it may indeed be regretted

that the trial judge did not enforce more rigid disci-

pline of its representatives. But we can no more find

impropriety of constitutional magnitude in what oc-

curred than could the other appellate courts that have

been challenged to do so.

“The claim that the trial judge contributed to a

‘carnival atmosphere’ is further supported by empha-

sis on the installation in the courtroom of a micro-

phone and loudspeakers. This is surprising in view of

the fact that it has become regular practice to install

such electronic equipment in modern courtrooms, in-

cluding those occupied by the United States District

Courts. We find no mefit in this claim.” (Pet. App.

A, pp. s.30-s.31.)

The Court of Appeals said further:

“The opinion of the District Court additionally

criticizes activities of the press as follows:

‘The Court need not be naive, and it does not stretch

its imagination to recognize that one of the purposes

of photographing the jurors so often was to be as-

sured that they would look for their photographs

in the newspapers and thereby expose themselves

to the prejudicial reporting. Also, the newspapers

ran editorials praising the trial judge (he was a

candidate for re-election) and published photo-

graphs and sketches of him in at least 46 separate

issues. This was certainly an attempt to bring him

around to their way of thinking.’ 231 F. Supp. 63.

(Emphasis supplied.)

“Even if we were to join in the apparently gratuitous

inference as to the press’ motives, we have just exam-

ined the reasons why we cannot join in the presump-

a.

tion that the jurors violated their oaths and instruc-

tions by examining the trial publicity. Nor are we

willing to assume the judicial venality or timidity we

would have to assume to find any effect of such pub-

licity on t).e judge in the face of a record which is en-

tirely devcid of any evidence of trial misconduct on

his part.” (App. A, pp. s.31-s.32.)

When present counsel speaks of “substantial disrup-

tons,” “distractions” and a “volatile” atmosphere at the

trial, he: is not talking from any personal knowledge, nor

does the record substantiate his claims. It should be re-

membered that this trial continued for some nine weeks

and that, necessarily there are times when people are re-

quired, for one reason or another, to leave the court room.

The reference by the Ohio Supreme Court to the

words “Roman holiday” merely described the widespread

publicity furnished by the news media to the public at

large and had no reference to the conduct of the trial it-

self, nor to the proceedings in the courtroom. The expres-

sion is also used to mean a “good time” or “field day.” It

by no means follows that the news media slanted the news

or even tried to do so to prejudice or to convict the peti-

tioner. As clearly indicated by Judge Bell in his opinion,

it was a case involving “murder and mystery, society, sex

and suspense.” The curiosity of the public, excessive

though it may have been, necessarily brought about the

widespread publicity.

All we have in the instant case in the finding of the

District Court that the jury was not a fair and impartial

jury is suspicion, surmise, conjecture, and a general dis-

trust of the jury with no basis in fact that the jury was

not to be trusted to render a fair and impartial verdict

based solely upon the evidence produced in court and the

instructions of the court on the law applying to the

evidence.

:

WO ALD Ae? ATT BOT OTS LN AERO TLS LT PLT I. 8 —

_—

57

IL.

DISQUALIFICATION OF THE TRIAL JUDGE.

The District Court made a finding that the trial judge

should have disqualified himself. (App., Vol. III, p. 456a.)

This finding is based solely upon the unsworn state-

ments of the New York gossip columnist Dorothy Kilgal-

len Kollmar to whom the trial judge allegedly said before

the trial, ““Well, he (Sheppard) is as guilty as hell. There

is no question about it.” (App., Vol. III, p. 457a); and

Edward Murray, an employee in the office of the Clerk of

the Common Pleas Court of Cuyahoga County, to whom

the trial judge allegedly said months before the trial,

“Sam Sheppard is as guilty as he (the judge) was in-

nocent.” (App., Vol. III, p. 386a.)

It is a matter of common knowledge around the Court

House in Cuyahoga County that Ed Murray was a patient

of the petitioner’s brother, Dr. Steve Sheppard, and has

a son in the same osteopathic field, who interned at the

Sheppards’ hospital.

It was also well known among the news reporters at

the Criminal Courts Building during the trial, tha’ Dorothy

Kilgallen Kollmar was not on friendly terms with the trial

judge and if anybody made a disturbance during the pro-

ceedings, she did. Judge Blythin had warned her that she

would be barred from the courtroom if she did not obey

his rules. She was always arriving late and rushing around

to get material in a hurry for her noon lead. If anyone

slanted their news stories, she did, in favor of the peti-

tioner. In the Cleveland News, December 1, 1954, is the

headline “Portrait of Dr. Sam One of Variance” in which

article she compares Sam with Marlon Brando and his pro-

file to Henry Fonda. In the Cleveland News, December

2, 1954, appears her headline “Pats Defense for Evidence

Analysis.”” And when the verdict was returned in this case,

58

she headlined it in the New York Journal American as a

“miscarriage of justice.”

A third unsworn statement was made by Mr. Gar-

mone, one of the three trial counsel (Appendix, Vol. III,

p. 382a), which shows that defense counsel were satisfied

that the trial judge would be fair and impartial in the

handling of the trial, and that no affidavit of bias and

prejudice was filed against the trial judge. This statement

is shunted into a footnote in the District Court's decision

(Appendix, Vol. III, p. 461a), apparently because it did

not support the finding of the District Court that the trial

judge should have disqualified himself. While Judge

Blythin’s son was a member of the Cleveland Homicide

Bureau, he did not participate in the investigation of this

crime. The trial record shows who the investigating officers

were.

We do not find that Dorothy Kilgallen’s statement is

a matter of record in the District Court. The Appendix,

Vol. III, pp. 388a-392a, shows her statement in which it is

stated: “By agreement of counsel, no oath is administered

since the integrity of the witness is not in dispute.”’ The

statement was taken on May 9, 1964 in New York, but how

the District Court obtained the statement is not a matter

of record. She was not cross-examined.

On the basis of this highly incompetent matter which

would have no standing in any court, the District Court

impugns the integrity of the state trial judge. The Dis-

trict Court concludes that these unsworn statements are

uncontroverted evidence in this case and must be accepted

as being true. (Appendix, Vol. III, pp. 458a-459a.) Upon

what legal basis must they be accepted as being true?

The statements do not even rise to the level of affi-

davits, and even if they had been made under oath, it has

been held that issues of fact cannot be established in

TS RIE PIM OF —

_ ram

59

habeas corpus proceedings by ex parte affidavits; Walker

v. Johnston, 312 U. S. 275, 285, 85 L. Ed. 830, 61 Sup. Ct.

574 (1941); Moses v. Hudspeth, 129 F. 2d 279, 280 (10th

Cir.) (1942), certiorari denied in 317 U. S. 665, 87 L. Ed.

534, 63 Sup. Ct. 73; Jones v. Cunningham, 313 F. 2d 347

(4th Cir.) (1963).

To have to resort to this type of incompetent evi-

dence to upset the state court conviction, we believe, shows

bias and prejudice on the part of the District Judge against

the state trial judge. Further, the District Court knew

that there is no way of rebutting these statements since

the trial judge has been deceased for some years. To

honor these unsworn statements is analogous to denying

cross-examination. Waiting for some ten years until the

State of Ohio, the plaintiff in the original action, was un-

able to defend by the refuting statement of an esteemed

trial judge has the direct effect of denying the State of

Ohio due process of law. And it is material to ask, where

have these individuals been for the last ten years who are

now claiming that Judge Blythin made such statements

to them, if what they now say is the truth?

The District Court made no examination of the trial

record to support his finding that the trial judge was biased

and prejudiced, and the only proper and competent proof

to determine this issue is the record of the trial which

speaks for itself. Nor is there any showing in the trial

record that the trial judge, in fact, did anything but prop-

erly carry out his duties as a presiding judge in this case

in safeguarding and protecting the rights of this petitioner

to a fair trial by a jury. Judge Blythin was not the trier

of the facts. Issues of fact on the trial were determined

by a jury, not by the judge, and we cannot see that the

cases of State ex rel. Pratt v. Weygandt, 164 O. S. 463

(1956), Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U. S. 510 (1927), and In re

a

60

Murchison, 349 U. S. 133 (1955) cited by the District

Court have any application to the instant case. Further,

no one of these cases lends support to the proposition that

the qualifications of a state trial judge can be passed upon

by a Federal District Judge on habeas corpus. The Mur-

chison case, supra, was decided by the Supreme Court of

the United States on appeal. And the Tumey case, supra,

was also decided on appeal. The Pratt case was an action

in mandamus originating in the Supreme Court of Ohio.

Article IV, Section 3 of the Constitution of Ohio, pro-

vides in part:

“Any judge of the Court of Common Pleas may tem-

porarily preside and hold court in any county; and

until the General Assembly shall make adequate pro-

vision therefor, the Chief Justice of the Supreme

Court of the state shall pass upon the disqualification

or disability of any judge of the Court of Common

Pleas, and he may assign any judge to any county to

hold court therein.”

There is nothing in Fay v. Noia, 372 U.S. 391, upon which

decision the District Court relies, giving a federal district

court »n habeas corpus, jurisdiction to circumvent a state

constitutional provision.

Section 2701.03 of the Revised Code of Ohio reads:

“When a judge of the Court of Common Pleas is inter-

ested in a cause or matter pending before the court,

is related to, or has a bias or prejudice either for or

against a party to such matter or cause or to his coun-

sel, or is otherwise disqualified to sit in such cause or

matter, on the filing of an affidavit by any party to

such cause or matter, or by the counsel of any party,

setting forth the fact of such interest,.bias, prejudice,

or disqualification, the clerk of the Court of Common

Pleas shall enter the fact of such filing on the trial

docket in such cause and forthwith notify the chief

_ —

61

justice of the supreme court. The chief justice shall

designate and assign some other judge to take the

place of the judge against whom such affidavit is filed.

The judge so assigned shall try such matter or cause.

Such affidavit shall be filed not less than three days

prior to the time set for the hearing in such matter

or cause.”

This state legislation requires the timely filing of an affi-

davit of bias and prejudice and both the state constitu-

tional provision and state statute require that the question

of bias and prejudice be determined by the Chief Justice

of the Supreme Court. No affidavit of bias and prejudice

was filed in the instant case in the state court.

It is stated in 30A American Jurisprudence, Sec. 172,

p. 89:

“A judge is not disqualified to sit in a criminal case

merely because he has an opinion as to the guilt of

the accused, or is convinced of his guilt, * * *”

Furthermore, even though the trial judge may have ex-

pressed an opinion as to the guilt of the petitioner to

strangers to the case, there is no showing or any proof that

the trial judge conveyed any such personal opinion to the

jury, who were the triers of the facts. The trial judge did

not render the judgment on the facts.

If the Honorable Judge Edward Blythin were alive

to defend on this issue, he no doubt would reiterate what

he stated so succinctly on the motion for new trial:

“It is to be noted that not a single person or agency

connected with the investigation of, or prosecution for,

the crime involved escapes the anathema of the de-

fense. These include the police, the coroner, his as-

sistants, the prosecuting attorney and his aides, the

State’s witnesses, the grand jury, its foreman, the

trial jury, the public, the bailiffs and the court. The

sense of search for truth and the declaration of justice

62

seems to have vanished from a whole community as

if by magic and overnight. The news agencies of every

kind and character are thrown in for good measure.

In spite of all the charges made not a single specific

item is cited in support of the claims made. Only

broad generalities are indulged in. Reviewing courts

will, we hope, have the duty of passing on all the legal

questions involved and appearing on the record, and

unless it is shown in very clear fashion that some ex-

trinsic forces plowed through the «ffurt to grant the

defendant a fair trial, and succeedec. in disrupting that

effort, it is fair to assume that none did.” (Emphasis

ours.) (Appendix, Vol. I, pp. 46a-47a.)

Further, there is no basis in the record for any find-

ing that the trial judge did not discharge his duties con-

scientiously, carefully, and with dignity and due regard

for the constitutional rights of the petitioner to a fair trial.

The Court of Appeals said:

“We believe that the District Judge was under a

misapprehension in assuming that because Judge

Blythin could not answer the charges against him,

such charges constituted ‘uncontroverted evidence’

that Judge Blythin had made the statements at-

tributed to him. There are many circumstances in

which testimony need not be accepted even though

formally uncontradicted. E.g., Quock Ting v. United

States, 140 U. S. 417, 420-22, 35 L. Ed. 501, 502-03

(1891); Scates v. Isthmian Lines, Ine., 319 F (2)

798, 799 (CA 9, 1963); Ramos v. Matson Nav. Co.,

316 F (2) 128, 132 (CA 9, 1963); D’Orsay Equip.

Co. v. United States Rubber Co., 302 F (2) 777, 779-

80 (CA 1, 1962); Powers v. Continental Cas. Co., 301

F (2) 386, 388-89 (CA 8, 1962); Wooley v. Great Atl.

& Pac. Tea Co., 281 F (2) 78, 80 (CA 3, 1960);

Hasson v. C. I. R., 239 F (2) 778, 782 (CA 6, 1956);

Andrew Jergens Co. v. C. I. R., 125 F (2) 686, 689

(CA 6, 1942); Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co. v. FTC,

101 F (2) 620, 624 (CA 6, 1939), cert. denied, 308

a

63

U. S. 557, 84 L. Ed. 468 (1939); 8 Cyclopedia of Fed.

Proc. § 26.98 (3d ed. 1951); 11 Id. § 47.161 (3d ed.

1963); 7 Wigmore, Evidence, § 2034, pp. 260-63 (3d

ed. 1940). Manifold reasons for rejecting the ‘un-

controverted’ statements adduced by petitioner exist

in the present case. Whether offered to prove the

matter asserted or merely the fact of assertion, testi-

mony as to the uncorroborated oral statement of a de-

ceased person is the weakest form of evidence, viewed

with suspicion and subject to close scrutiny. ‘The

courts consider with suspicion, or lend a reluctant ear

to, statements as to what a deceased person may have

said, especially when corroboration is lacking.’ 31A

C. J. S. Evidence, § 266, p. 689. Such statements ‘are

regarded as of comparatively little probative value.

* * * 20 Am. Jur. Evidence, § 1196, p. 1048, and

‘* * * courts of justice lend a very unwilling ear to

statements of what dead men had said,’ Lea v. Polk

County Copper Co., 62 U. S. (21 How.) 493, 504, 16

L. Ed. 203, 207 (1859). * * *” (Pet. App. A, pp.

s.35-s.36. )

The Court of Appeals said further:

“The only authorities cited by the District Judge

for his finding of constitutional error in the failure of

the trial judge to Zeseue himself, State, ex rel. Pratt

v. Weygandt, Chief Justice, 164 Ohio St. 463, 132

NE (2) 191 (1956); Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U. S. 510,

71 L. Ed. 749 (1927); In re Murchison, 349 U. S. 133,

99 L. Ed. 942 (1955), are completely inapposite. In

the case at bar it was the jury and not the judge who

determined the guilt or innocence of petitioner. Pratt

v. Weygandt was a divorce case to be decided entirely

by the trial judge, and mandamus to compel his re-

placement was refused. McFadden v. United States,

63 F (2) 111 (CA 7, 1933), not cited by the court

below, is also distinguishable as involving a trial to

the judge without a jury. Similarly, in Tumey v.

Ohio, the United States Supreme Court held improper

state provisions for trial of liquor law violations be-

a a

64

fore a village mayor who was to retain the amount of

his costs in each case of conviction, in addition to his

salary. The Court said, ‘But no fees or costs in such

cases are paid him except by the defendant if con-

victed. There is, therefore, no way by which the

mayor may be paid for his service as judge, if he does

not convict those who are brought before him * * *.’

273 U. S. 520, 71 L. Ed. 753. (Emphasis supplied.)

The Court also noted that ‘all questions of judicial

qualification may not involve constitutional validity.

Thus matters of * * * personal bias * * * seem gen-

erally to be matters merely of legislative discretion.’

273 U. S. 523, 71 L. Ed. 754. In re Murchison involved

the Michigan ‘one-man grand jury’ statute and the

Supreme Court held that due | ocess was denied

where the judge presiding at a contempt hearing had

also served as the ‘one-man grand jury’ out of whose

proceedings the contempt charges arose. The distinc-

tion between these cases and the case at bar is ob-

vious.” (App. A, pp. s.39-s-40.)

Ill.

LIE DETECTOR EVIDENCE.

It is not a fact, as stated by present counsel (Pet. v.

32) that defense counsel “cited specifically” the publicity

given petitioner’s refusal to take a polygraph test when

he sought a change of venue and/or a continuance. And,

publicity concerning the lie detector occurred months be-

fore the trial.

The petitioner did not allege as error in the state

courts, the admission of testimony concerning his unwill-

ingness to take a lie detector test, but did complain about

this testimony in the former petition for a writ of certiorari

filed with this Court in 1956.

The District Court finds that it has jurisdiction to

consider this alleged error even though it was not urged

65

on appeal to the Ohio Courts (Appendix, Vol. III, pp.

464a-465a) ; and finds further that the trial judge had the

duty of instructing the jury that no inference could be

drawn from petitioner’s refusal to submit to such a test,

and by failing to do so, he violated petitioner’s constitu-

tional rights. (Appendix, Vol. III, p. 468a.) The court

quotes from Fay v. Noia as authority for taking jurisdic-

tion on this issue although it was not raised in the state

courts.

Failure to obtain review in the state courts on this

issue was not because any appellate remedies were with-

held by the state courts as in Noia, supra, and all that Noia

stands for is that failure to timely appeal from a state con-

viction did not bar federal habeas corpus relief under

exceptional circumstances. For the Supreme Court said

in Nota, 372 U. S. 391, at pages 428-429:

,» “It is a familiar principle that this Court will decline

to review state court judgments which rest on inde-

pendent and adequate state grounds, notwithstanding

the co-presence of federal grounds. See, e.g. NAACP

v. Alabama, 357 U. S. 449, 2 L. Ed. 2d 1488, 78 S. Ct.

1163; Fox Film Corp. v. Muller, 296 U. S. 207, 80 L.

Ed. 158, 56 S. Ct. 183. Section 25 of the Judiciary Act

of 1789, c 20, 1 Stat. 85-87, denied this Court power to

base the reversal of a state court decision on any error

other ‘than such as * * * immediately respects * * *

questions of validity or construction of the said (Fed-

eral) constitution, treaties, statutes, commissions, or

authorities in dispute.’ The deletion of the express re-

striction by the Judiciary Act of February 5, 1867,

c 28, Sec. 2, 14 Stat. 386-387, did not enlarge this

Court’s power in that regard. * * *”

The Supreme Court stated also in Noia, 372 U. S. 391,

at p. 441:

“Noia’s case stands on its own. * * *”

a

We contend that by this piecemeal consideration of

an issue that could have been raised in the state courts,

the District Court encroached upon the state appellate

court’s prerogative to search the record and determine

whether the admission of this testimony and the instruc-

tion of the trial court was error, and if error there was,

whether it was prejudicial.

In Townsend v. Sain (1963), 372 U. S. 293, 317, 9 L.

Ed. 2d 770, 788, 83 Sup. Ct. 745, the court, in reliance upon

the Noia case, held:

“The standard of inexcusable default set down in Fay

v. Noia adequately protects the legitimate state inter-

est in orderly criminal procedure, for it does not sanc-

tion needless piecemeal presentation of constitutional

claims in the form of deliberate by-passing of state

procedures.” (Emphasis ours.)

This case was remanded to the District Court and on ap-

peal, the 7th Circuit reversed in U. S. ex rel. Townsend v.

Ogilvie, Sheriff, 334 F. (2d) 837 (1964). The 7th Circuit

held (pp. 843-44):

“+k + * we conclude a federal court has exhausted its

statutory power in a habeas corpus proceeding after

it has decided a confession, introduced in a state

criminal trial, was voluntarily given. The court does

not possess a residuum of power to search the record

for procedural errors not involving constitutional

rights and issue a writ of habeas corpus for the pur-

pose of providing a new trial in the state court.

“A federal court acting in this fashion would consti-

tute a super appellate tribunal and encroach upon

state appellate court prerogatives; such action would

affront the principles of federalism upon which our

federal-state juridic system operates.” (Emphasis

ours.)

EE

67

And the cases cited by the District Court in the in-

stant case, namely, Frye v. United States, 293 F. 1013 (D.

C. Cir. 1923), Ohio v. Smith, 113 O. App. 461 (1960), and

New Jersey v. Driver, 183 A. 2d 655 (1962) are decisions

in which appellate courts were exercising their appellate

court prerogatives in determining whether there was prej-

udicial reversible error in the admission or exclusion of

evidence pertaining to the lie detector.

As stated in Wolf v. Nash, 313 F. 2d 393 (C. A. Mo.)

(8th Cir.) (1963), certiorari denied, 83 S. Court 1713, 374

U. S. 817, 10 L. Ed. 2d 1041, the due process clause of the

14th Amendment does not enable a federal court to review

errors of state law.

Furthermore, there is no foundation in the record for

the raising of any claim that the petitioner’s constitutional

rights were violated in the admission of conversations

between the petitioner and the officers concerning the lie

detector. The defense went into the matter also on the

trial, on this issue. How was the petitioner denied due

process of law under the circumstances?

The trial court instructed the jury that a person is

not compelled to take a lie detector test (R. 3852). The

trial court had nothing before it upon which to instruct

the jury further concerning the lie detector. In relating

his first conversation with the petitioner about taking a

lie detector test, Officer Schottke testified on direct exam-

ination:

“He was then asked if he would take a lie detec-

tor test and he said ‘yes.’ He asked how a lie detector

worked and we told him that it takes the reaction of

the respiratory system.

* * * He said that due to his present condition,

that he didn’t fee] as though this would be a fair test

e .

and that he would not want to take the test at this

particular time.

We told him that he would be able to take the

test, if he wanted to, at the time when he felt better.”

(R. 3590-3591.)

No objection was made to this testimony.

On cross-examination of Officer Schottke, defense

counsel questioned him as follows regarding a later con-

versation he had with the petitioner:

“Q. Now, during that conversation you asked him

about the lie detector again, didn’t you?

A. I don’t recall at this particular time whether

I did or not.

_Q. Well, to try and refresh your memory, did

you say to him, “Doctor, are you still willing to take

a lie detector test?’

A. I don’t recall at this time, sir.

Q. And did he say to you that, ‘I am willing, but

not one that will be conducted by the Cleveland Police

Department, because you have already accused me’?

Did he answer you that way?

A. I don’t recall.

Q. And did he add that, ‘If you can find some-

body that is competent in a community far removed

from the city of Cleveland,’ that he would be willing

to accompany you and take the test that you request-

ed of him?

A. I don’t recall that conversation.

Q. You don’t recall that. But you wouldn’t say

to this Court and jury, under the oath that you have

accepted to tell the truth, that that conversation didn’t

take place, would you, Officer Schottke?

A. I don’t recall at this time the conversation

that you state.” (R. 3727-3728.)

And on re-cross-examination, Officer Schottke was again

questioned concerning the petitioner’s willingness to take

a lie detector test. (R. 3743.)

pea —

_

69

At Record 3846, Deputy Sheriff Rossbach related his

conversation with the petitioner about taking a lie detec-

tor test. No objection was made to this testimony. It was

not until later on, during Rossbach’s testimony, that the

defense, for the first time, objected to testimony concern-

ing the lie detector (R. 3851) which was followed by the

court’s instruction to the jury that no one is compelled to

take a lie detector test.

Despite the above objection, Dr. Sheppard when tes-

tifying in his own “ehalf on direct examination by his

counsel, told about the first request that he submit to a lie

detector test and stated that he told the officers he would

be willing to submit to such examination “if it was a re-

liable test.”

Further, in their argument to the jury, the defense

stated:

“And then during the course of that conversation he

says, ‘Are you willing to take a lie detector test,’ and

what was the answer that this man gave, he says, ‘I

am.’” (R. 5376-5377.)

The petitioner, of course, had not submitted to any lie de-

tector test, but in view of what the record shows, where is

there any support for holding that the admission of this

testimony constituted prejudicial reversible error, or that

the petitioner was denied due process of law on this issue.

The trial court in instructing the jury that no one is com-

pelled to take a lie detector test was merely applying a

rule of evidence. This raises no federal question. As stated

in Buchalter v. People of State of New York, 319 U. S. 427,

431, 63 S. Ct. 1129, 1131, 87 L. Ed. 1492:

| “The due process clause of the 14th Amendment does

| not enable us to review errors of state law however

) material under that law. Sve also Lisenba v. People

of State of California, 314 U. S. 219, 226-229, 62 S. Ct.

280, 86 L. Ed. 166.”

: 7

The District Court finds that Mayor Houk’s testimony

concerning the taking of a lie detector test permitted the

jury to infer that he had passed the test and that Houk

was not on trial. (Appendix, Vol. III, p. 469a.)

Houk was merely a witness in this case, not the de-

fendant, The petitioner’s brother, Dr. Steve Sheppard,

had filed charges with the police against Mayor Houk, and

Houk’s willingness to take the lie detector test was simply

one item of fact to show both his attitude and conduct. It

certainly does not raise any constitutional issue for the

petitioner because Mayor Houk took a lie detector test,

nor could it be consistently claimed that the petitioner

was denied due process of law because Mayor Houk was

willing to teke a lie detector test.

In the instant case, the State court by its instruction

to the jury concerning the lie detector was merely inter-

preting state law. There is no adequate federal basis for

the finding of the district court on this issue. The mere

suggestion that the petitioner submit himself to certain

tests did not deny him due process of law. He did not take

any tests nor was he compelled to do so.

The Court of Appeals stated:

‘“ * * We cannot find that the handling of this

matter deprived the petitioner of any federally grant-

ed constitutional rights. If there was fault in what

occurred, it was a nonconstitutional error which

should have been assigned on appeal. Habeas corpus

is not to be employed as a substitute for appeal. E.g.,

Oyler v. Taylor, 338 F (2) 260, 262 & n. 3 (CA

10, 1964); Allen v. Bannan, 332 F (2) 399, 402 (CA

6, 1964); Barker v. Ohio, 328 F (2) 582, 584-85 (CA

6, 1964); Worth v. Michigan, 291 F (2) 621, 622 (CA

6, 1961), cert. denied, 368 U. S. 862 (1961); Anderson

v. Jones, 281 F (2) 684, 686 (CA 6, 1960).

FECT LL LOE OSPR PLE LDL LEG LE L ITE ILD ARON Por oo a OI eon ee ll

aaa

71

“We think that the observations of the Seventh

Circuit in United States ex rel. Townsend v. Ogilvie,

334 F (2) 837, 842-44 (1964) are pertinent here.

‘The (federal) court does not possess a residuum

of power to search the record for procedural errors

not involving constitutional rights and issue a writ

of habeas corpus for the purpose of providing a new

trial in the state court.

‘A federal court acting in this fashion would

constitute a super appellate tribunal and encroach

upon state appellate court prerogatives; such action

would affront the principles of federalism upon

which our federal-state juridic system operates.’

“At this distance, we cannot say that the decision

of Dr. Sheppard’s veteran counsel to withhold objec-

tion to the lie detector evidence prejudiced their cli-

ent. It goes without saying that Dr. Sheppard’s con-

viction does not prove such.

“As proud as we are of the great traditions of our

courts and their concern for the rights of those ac-

cused of crime, we are aware that like all human in-

stitutions they seldom act with perfection. It is not

difficult, after ten years of searching analysis and con-

templative study and the announcement of some new

judicial attitudes, to find some imperfections in the

conduct of a trial and to conclude that a judge or any

attorney could have done a better job. But stability

of the law and a nation’s respect for its courts will

disappear if, long after the event, their judgment may

be set aside because a trial judge’s discretion was less

than perfectly exercised or because it is thought that

the trial plan of defense counsel was not the best that

could have been employed. This must be especially

true where an accused has enjoyed adequate and full

opportunities for appellate review.” (Pet. App. A, pp.

s.48-s.49.)

72

IV.

MISCONDUCT OF BAILIFFS IN ALLOWING JURORS TO

CALL THEIR FAMILIES.

This issue was before this Court on the previous peti-

tion for a writ of certiorari.

We wish to point out, at the outset, that the matters

complained of took place in the hotel room when some of

the jurors called their husbands or children on the tele-

phone, and not in the jury room during the deliberations. —

The jurors deliberated in a room above the court room in

the Criminal Courts Building and there is absolutely no

evidence in the record showing any misconduct of the

jury or of the officers in charge.

The telephone calls to the husbands and children of

the jurors, all made in the presence of the bailiff, were not

made during the deliberations of the jury. They were made

from the hotel room to which they had been taken from

the jury room and there is no evidence whatsoever that

the case was even discussed in these telephone calls, much

less anything said prejudicial to the petitioner.

There is no evidence whatsoever of telephone conver-

sations with strangers. The testimony of Bailiff Edgar

Francis follows:

“Q. Do you know, of your own knowledge,

whether there were any telephone communications

made out of any of the respective rooms that were

occupied by any members of the jury?

A. Their phones were cut out, Mr. Garmone.

Q. By whose request?

A. Mr. Steenstra arranged that.

Q. And were there any telephone calls made

from the room that you occupied?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. Did you make the calls, or did the jury make

the calls?

73

A. No. The jury made the calls, and I sat in the

chair right alongside the telephone.

*x* * *

Q. Mr. Bailiff, what was the purpose of the calls

that the jurors made in your presence?

x * *

A. Well, they were made to their husbands and

wives, and those that had children, they talked to the

children.

Q. Was there any conversation whatsoever about

this case or their deliberations?

A. Not one word, Mr. Parrino.” (R. 7084-7085.)

The defense saw fit to call certain jurors to the witness

stand on their motion for new trial and if they wished to

pursue this matter further, they had the right and oppor-

tunity so to do. They chose not to do so and there is noth-

ing in the record whatever of anything having been said or

done either by the bailiffs or by or to the jurors prejudicial

to the petitioner.

The trial court stated when a supplemental motion for

new trial was filed:

“The court named Simon Steenstra, permanent crimi-

nal jury bailiff and Edgar Francis his own courtroom

bailiff as the persons to have charge of the jury in

their movements during the period of deliberation.

They were named in open court in the presence of

all interested parties. Both were well known to all

parties, with the possible exception of defendant, and

not a word of objection was voiced by anyone. Further-

more, one of counsel for the defense saw the court in

chambers prior to the selection of said bailiffs and

inquired oi the court who he intended to appoint to

take charge of the jury during the deliberation period.

Upon being informed that the court would name

Bailiffs Steenstra and Francis he expressed his whole-

hearted approval.” (Appendix, Vol. I, p. 47a.)

74 ee

The Supreme Court of Ohio in the opinion states:

“Defendant contends that he was prejudiced in this

case by the actions of two officers of the court, in

whose charge the jury was committed during its

deliberations, in permitting some members of the jury

to make unmonitored telephone calls in violation of

Section 2945.33, Revised Code, which reads as follows:

‘When a cause is finally submitted the jurors must be

kept together in a convenient place under the charge

of an officer until they agree upon a verdict, or are

discharged by the court. The court may permit the

jurors to separate during the adjournment of court

overnight, under proper cautions, or under super-

vision of an officer. Such officer shall not permit a

communication to be made to them, nor make any

himself except to ask if they have agreed upon a

verdict, unless he does so by order of the court * * *.’

“It is conceded that no authorization for such tele-

phone calls was given by the court.

“At the conclusion of each day’s deliberation, the

members of this jury were housed in the Carter Hotel,

under the supervision of two court bailiffs. The record

reveals that the telephones in the hotel rooms occupied

by individual jurors had been ‘cut out.’ However,

some of them were permitted to make calls on the

telephone in the room of one of the bailiffs.

“In connection with a motion for a new trial, the

record discloses the following cross-examination of

one of the bailiffs by counsel for defendant:

‘Q. Did you make the calls, or did the jury make

the calls?

A. No. The jury made the calls, and I sat in

the chair right alongside the telephone.’

“On redirect examination, the testimony was as follows:

“On redirect examination, the testimony was as

follows:

SSR IAI LEE FEELS EOL INSLEY AL ONCE IE LIEN TEE ELOISE IIE FEA SE IIE Se

—

75

‘Q. Mr. Bailiff, what was the purpose of the calls

that the jurors made in your presence?

* ek *

A. Well, they were made to their husbands

and wives, and those that had children, they talked

to the children.

Q. Was there any conversation whatsoever

about this case or their deliberations?

A. Not one word, Mr. Parrino.’

“Counsel for defendant rely upon State v. Adams,

141 Ohio St. 423, 48 N. E. (2d) 861, 146 A. L. R. 509,

as authority for their contention that the action of the

bailiff in permitting these telephone calls constituted

error prejudicial to the defendant. They cite the third

paragraph of the syllabus of that case, which reads:

‘The violation by a court officer in charge of a jury of

Section 13448-1, General Code (Section 2945.33,

Revised Code), to the effect that he shall not com-

municate with a jury in his charge or custody

except to inquire whether it has reached a verdict,

will be presumed to be prejudicial to a defendant

against whom, after such communication, a verdict

is returned by such jury.’

“A mere reading of the following fourth paragraph

of the syllabus of the Adams case should be sufficient

to distinguish that case from the present one:

‘Where a court bailiff, on being informed by the jury

during its deliberations that it could not agree, stated

to it: “You can’t do that. You must reach a decision

if you have to stay here for three months,’ there is

a violation of the statute which is prejudicial to a

defendant against whom, following such declaration,

a verdict is returned by the jury.’

“The case of Emmert v. State, 127 Ohio St. 235,

187 N. E. 862, 90 A. L. R. 242, although not cited by

defendant, might also be authority for the proposi-

tion that misconduct of a bailiff is ground for reversal.

That case, however, is also readily distinguishable

76

from the present one. In the Emmert case the officer

in charge of the jury, at a time when it «vas not

actually in its deliberative sessions, said to certain

members of the jury: ‘My God, you are all wet. Judge

Stahl expects you to return a verdict of guilty and if

you don’t it will be just too bad.’ Other remarks of a

similar nature to the effect that the jury had to reach

a verdict were made by the bailiff.

“In situations such as those in the Adams and Em-

mert cases, it is easy to presume prejudice to the de-

fendant as a result of the conduct of the bailiff. Can

the same be said of the conduct of the bailiffs here in

permitting jurors, who for several days and nights had

been sequestered and unable to see or hear from their

husbands, wives or children, to telephone those mem-

bers of their families? We do not think so. There

is, on the contrary, every reason to believe that as-

surances of the health and welfare of their loved ones

would tend to ease the jurors’ minds as to personal

matters and would make them better, more conscien-

tious jurors. Time after time, the members of this

jury were instructed by the court not to communicate

with anyone concerning this case or permit anyone

to communicate with them about it. We must assume

they followed the court’s instructions. No complaint is

made that they disregarded these instructions every

night for some seven weeks that they were allowed

to go home at the close of each day’s session of the

trial. It is difficult to visualize a juror who will follow

a court’s instruction during the many hours he spends

each evening and week end with his family and then

deliberately disregard that instruction in a few brief

moments he speaks to a member of his family on the

telephone in the presence of a bailiff.

“The law in Ohio is that no judgment of conviction

shall be reversed in any court for any cause unless it

appears affirmatively from the record that the defend-

ant was prejudiced thereby or was prevented from

having a fair trial. Section 2945.83, Revised Code.

—_

17

There is no such affirmative showing of prejudice here,

and this Court will not presume a prejudice as a matter

of law from the fact that some of the jurors made

telephone calls to members of their immediate

families.” (Appendix, Vol. I, pp. 111a-113a.)

The District Court says that the Supreme Court of

Ohio should have granted a new trial because of the un-

equivocal language of Section 2945.33, supra, and cites

Mattox v. United States, 146 U. S. 140 (1892). But in the

Mattox case, which was heard on appeal, communications

with the jury were shown to be harmful. A newspaper

account of the case was introduced into the jury room

during deliberations, bearing upon the merits of the case.

The record in the instant case, however, affirmatively

shows that the telephone calls made by the jurors to

members of their immediate families were harmless.

The District Court’s conclusion that they were harmful to

the petitioner is again based upon a suspicion that the

jurors were not to be trusted in following the instructions

of the court not to discuss the case with anyone.

Further, we cannot see where a Federal District Court

has any jurisdiction on habeas corpus to interpret a state

statute such as Section 2945.33, or determine how that law

should be applied by the state courts in the light of the

facts in a particular case. The Supreme Court said in

Townsend v. Sain, 372 U. S. 293, 311-12 (1963):

“The whole history of the writ “@* * refutes a con-

struction of the federal courts’ habeas corpus powers

that would assimilate their task to that of courts of

appellate review.”

The Supreme Court of Ohio in interpreting Section

2945.33, supra, in the light of the facts in the instant case,

was exercising appellate jurisdiction over state legislation.

The District Court has attempted to place its own interpre-

aT

78 ,

tation on this legislation and in so doing, has acted as a

super appellate tribunal over the state court on this matter.

Under Section 2945.83, supra, it must affirmatively appear

from the record that these telephone calls were harmful.

There is no proof and none was offered on the motion for

new trial, that the calls were anything but harmless.

The Court of Appeals stated:

«* * * Here again the District Judge placed re-

liance on cases the facts of which disclose their lack of

resemblance to the case before him and us. State v.

Adams, 141 Ohio St. 423, 48 NE (2) 861, 146 ALR .

509 (1943); Emmert v. State, 127 Ohio St. 235, 187

NE 862, 90 ALR 242 (1933); and Mattox v. United

States, 146 U. S. 140, 36 L. Ed. 917 (1892). In State v.

Adams, a bailiff who had been told by the jury that it

could not agree said to them, ‘you can't do that. You

must reach a decision if you have to stay here for

three months.’ In Emmert v. State, the officer in

charge of the jury remarked to certain jurors, ‘My

God, you are all wet. Judge Stahl expects you to re-

turn a-verdict of guilty and if you don’t it will be just

too bad.’ Aside from this obvious inappositeness, these

Ohio cases were found not controlling of this case by

the Ohio Court. Mattox v. United States involved

direct review of a federal trial. Because the dissenting

opinion frequently cites Mattox to support its con-

clusions, we have set out in the margin Chief Justice

Fuller’s recital of the facts in Mattox because it dis-

coses a situation totally different from the facts of the

present case * * *.” (Pet. Appendix A, pp. s.52-

s.54.)

The Court of Appeals continued:

«“* & * The showing that communications were had

with the jurors, accordingly, is not of itself enough to

demonstrate a denial of due process. So in Near v.

Cunningham, 313 F. (2) 929, 933 (CA 4, 1963), the

court ruled that ‘should it appear that prejudicial

PPP LH pace

79

statements were made in the presence or hearing of

the jurors,’ the habeas corpus court must reach its

constitutional decision ‘in the light of all of the sur-

rounding circumstances.’ Here there is no pretense

at showing that prejudicial statements were made to

the jurors by their children or spouses. The pre-

sumption that the jurors remained true to their in-

structions is fortified by petitioner’s neglect of his

opportunity to show that the jurors chose this par-

ticular opportunity among many to violate their in-

structions. In view of the absence of any attempt to

demonstrate or even claim such violations here, we

are satisfied that the Ohio Supreme Court correctly

disposed of this issue, and that in any event the occur-

rence does not present a denial of constitutional due

process.” (Pet. Appendix A, pp. s.55-s.56.)

V.

OTHER ALLEGED CONSTITUTIONAL VIOLATIONS.

The claims under this heading in the petitioner’s brief

are unsupported by any findings by the District Court.

A. It is, of course, not a fact that the petitioner was

arraigned without counsel on a capital charge. The argu-

ment pertains to the arrest of the petitioner on a warrant

and present counsel is evidently not familiar with what

transpired when the petitioner was arrested.

The petitioner was arrested on July 30th, brought be-

fore the Acting Mayor of Bay Village and the case was set

for preliminary hearing on August 9, 1954. Petitioner’s

counsel filed an affidavit of bias and prejudice on August

7, 1954 to prevent the Acting Mayor from proceeding with

any hearing. This affidavit of bias and prejudice was sus-

tained by Judge Frank J. Merrick of the Court of Common

Pleas of Cuyahoga County, on August 13, 1954 and Judge

Merrick transferred the case to Judge William K. Thomas

—

80

of the Court of Common Pleas. Judge Merrick ordered the

Acting Mayor to forthwith deliver to Judge Thomas all

files and papers in the case for further proceedings accord-

ing to law. Judge Thomas, subsequently, released the peti-

tioner on bail. Judge Merrick’s opinion appears in 121

N. E. (2d) 440, State v. Sheppard. The proceeding had

on this affidavit of bias and prejudice is recorded in Special

Docket No. 67061 of the records of the Court of Common

Pleas of Cuyahoga County.

B. It is claimed that defense counsel on the trial were

denied the right to exercise a peremptory challenge, after

Juror Manning was excused and his place taken by alter-

nate Juror Hanson. This same claim was made in the

previous petition for a writ of certiorari filed in 1956. A

faulty legal stipulation was entered into in the District

Court regarding peremptory challenges. The Court of

Appeals of Cuyahoga County stated:

“The defendant entered his exception to the procedure

used by the Court in discharging Juror Manning and

demanded the right to exercise his remaining peremp-

tory challenge when the first alternate juror was

seated in the panel after Manning was discharged,

which request was refused.

“After a jury is sworn and charged with the delivery

of the defendant, the trial is commenced and unused

peremptory challenges cannot thereafter be used and

where an alternate juror has been selected and sworn

as provided by law, he must be seated in the place of

the discharged juror by order of the Court.”

Revised Code Section 2313.37 provides in part:

“If before the final submission of the case to the jury

a juror becomes incapacitated or disqualified, he may

be discharged by the judge, in which case, or if a

juror dies, upon the order of the judge, said additional

or alternate juror shall become one of the jury and

ney —

81

e in all respects as though selected as an original

juror

In any event, there is here no federal question.

C. The petition makes reference to matters concern-

ing the possession of the home of the petitioner and it is

argued that a Dr. Paul Leland Kirk discovered a large

blood spot in the murder room that did not come from the

petitioner; that if the jury had had this evidence, they

would have acquitted.

The claim that the authorities seized the home of the

petitioner was made in the previous petition for a writ of

certiorari filed in 1956. This was made an issue by the

defense on the motion for new trial on the ground of newly

discovered evidence, which motion was denied by the trial

court, affirmed by the Court of Appeals of Cuyahoga

County in 100 Ohio Appeals 399 and dismissed on appeal

by the Supreme Court of Ohio in 164 O. S. 428. No appeal

was taken from the final action of the Supreme Court of

Ohio.

This is just another example of the one-sided pro-

ceeding that was conducted in the District Court. The

affidavit of Dr. Kirk was part and parcel of a Bill of Excep-

tions covering the motion for new trial on the ground of

newly discovered evidence, and is but a fragmentary ex-

cerpt from that record. That Bill of Exceptions also went

ou file with the District Court and contains counter-affi-

davits that would have to be considered along with Dr.

Kirk’s affidavit, as well as on the unfounded claim that the

defense were prevenied from examining the premises. The

Court of Appeals of Cuyahoga County has completely an-

swered this claim in 100 Ohio Appeals at pages 406-407:

“During the trial the defendant subpoenaed the keys

into court through Chief Eaton and demanded the

right to retain them. The trial judge, however, ruled

82

that they must remain in the possession of the police

of Bay Village, which order was carried out until De-

cember 23, 1954, when complete possession of the

house was given the defendant. There is no evidence

that any request to enter the house for the purpose of

investigation and inspection was ever made by the

defendant, nor does the record show any formal appli-

cation to the court at any time for a like purpose. Dr.

A. J. Kazlauckas, a physician and expert who had

spent many years as a deputy coroner of Cuyahoga

County, was in the employ of the defendant. He ex-

amined all the articles of property pertaining to this

case in the possession of the county coroner, together

with the autopsy report, conclusions of laboratory

findings and X-rays of Marilyn Sheppard, and yet

made no effort to make any scientific examination of

the premises. He was not even presented as a witness

during the trial. Assistant Prosecuting Attorney Saul

S. Danaceau deposes in his affidavit that he informed

Arthur E. Petersilge, of counsel for the defendant,

and the brother of the defendant, Dr. Stephen Shep-

pard, in early November, ‘that the said house was

available to the defendant at any and all times to

inspect or conduct investigations therein.” It seems,

however, that it was understood that on all occasions

a police officer would have to accompany the defend-

ant or any representative of his when visiting the

home.”

The record of this case shows the extreme importance

of numerous articles of property within the home and a

number of such articles appear as exhibits in the evidence.

It was also necessary to continue the examination of the

premises for blood spots, fingerprints, etc., by the scientific

unit of the Cleveland Police Department. It was also

necessary to continue the examination and search in and

about the house for possible clues and particularly for the

still missing T-shirt and weapon. The whole episode in

Arb Ee

yee _—

——

83

the closing days of the trisi, and the demand for the

keys to the home in the presence of the jury, was a grand-

stand play and show, and nothing else.

In the meantime, the petitioner and his counsel had,

on more than one occasion, visited the home, went through

all the rooms and examined the house, both inside and out-

side.

D. This is just another example of the numerous

frivolous claims made by the defense, and this claim that

the Ohio Supreme Court was illegally constituted when the

court heard this case, was presented to this Court in the

former petition for a writ of certiorari.

It was at the instance of the defense, and without in-

forming the prosecution of their intention. that the Chief

Justice disqualified himself and appointed another judge.

No objection was made prior to the hearing on this case in

the Supreme Court of Ohio and it was not until after the

court as constituted made its decision adverse to the de-

fense, that they first raised the issue.

This is purely a State constitutional question. Article

IV, Section 2 of the Ohio Constitution, in its pertinent parts

provides as follows:

“* * * Tf any of said Judges shall be unable, by

reason of illness, disability or disqualification, to hear,

consider and decide a cause or causes, the Chief

Justice, or in case of the absence or disability of the

Chief Justice, the Judge having the longest period

of service upon that Court, may direct any Judge of

any Court of Appeals to sit with the Judges of the

Supreme Court in the place and stead of the absent

judge.”

Under that constitutional provision, only in the case of

absence or disability of the Chief Justice (not mere dis-

qualification) is the judge having the longest period of

84

service upon the Supreme Court authorized to direct an

appellate judge to sit. Where the Chief Justice merely

disqualifies himself and is not absent or disabled, it is

the Chief Justice who directs the appellate judge to sit

with the judges of the Supreme Court.

A reading of the opinion of the Supreme Court of Ohio

will show that there was no failure of review in this case, as

claimed.

VI.

SUFFICIENCY OF THE EVIDENCE.

This claim of the petitioner that the evidence on the

trial was insufficient, was considered by the Court of Ap-

peals, and the Court said:

“One further subject should be briefly mentioned.

Dr. Sheppard’s petition claimed that the evidence at

his irial was constitutionally insufficient to justify

submitting the issue of guilt or innocence to the jury.

This claim was neither withdrawn nor sustained upon

the hearing in the District Court. On this subject, the

pe‘itioner’s brief states,

‘The District Judge expressly declined to consider

this issue * * *, although in all fairness it should

be stated that counsel for petitioner-appellee on

several occasions offered to waive this claim of

error. * * * No waiver was required, however,

and the issue remains. This Court no doubt has the

power, since the trial transcript is before it as an ex-

hibit from the District Court to search the record

and conclude that the allegation of insufficiency is

well-taken.’

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.