Amicus Curiae Brief — Ginzburg v. United States

Supreme Court brief1966

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

SUBJECT INDEX

Page

Interest Of AMICUS CUTIE ...............-0..--vcccercseeeceeancanceeees 1

SOURIS COND CINE isis ctecipicsanstichieitaplicecapamnicbecenias 2

United States of America: case in chief .................. 7

Ralph Ginzburg et al.’s defense .....................2---- 10

United States of America: rebuttal -........0002.222022.-..--. 26

INES 0 IE | esvncrsvinincctvidintdincgurneniidideinns 29

I sivcnsiieciniciniictiacinapnmninnli tintin tdlscrebaini thiticabbigdkaineen 32

I,

An integrated review of the obscenity case law .... 32

oe PRR ESS we 32

B. The problem of previous restraint cases ........ 38

C. The no clear majority decisions .....................--- 41

D. A major national problem ................00....0.--0--+: 43

E. A problem of communication .....................-0+-+- 45

PF. Weecceiie Ce -0ee occ 51

II.

This Court should affirm the judgment ................ 54

Pic. TR sciiticisesesirseaihinitttnisiintibiiidg titanate 54

B. The Roth-Alberts facts control ..................2...-. 56

C. The Roth-Alberts standards .............00..22:.000002 60

D. The Trial Court followed the Roth-Alberts

I eivscistisactitlicinssncrnsunteicssabaisnpingsncbciainatininien 61

S, eaeee Fe.. £: eS ice 62

2. The Housewife’s Handbook of Selective

FOIE icokitiicicetettitniiadieainae 63

3. Waron Vea; FE Ne. F sccccsssesrccceceececes: 66

os

Ti SOURIS SUNOCO a. scicniieesoreunrsntinanmtdennbnenenitiadipiin 68

1. It is not determined in a vacuum ............ 68

2. Slight social importance does not exculpt

PE SA SEES aL Ce SE REESE I RORY Soh eR Le 77

Appendix A. The Housewife’s Handbook on Selec-

FD civccrtrerntprenganinrconppnrccenpstoisie App. p. 1

iii,

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page

A Quantity of Books v. Kansas, 378 U.S. 205, 84

S. Ct. 1723, 12 L. Ed. 2d 809 .......... 38, 40, 42, 52

Alberts v. California, 314 U.S. 160 200000... eee 58

Alberts v. California, 354 U.S. 476, 77 S. Ct. 1314,

3 } S| Rea 29, 31, 34, 37, 38, 39

PR en REA Berrie iat Tite Maas es NE 40, 53, 55, 56, 58, 60

American Civil Liberties Union v. City of Chicago,

pw Fs ers S & a Gee Nenenmemieeiar 76

Arizona v. Locks, 97 Ariz. 148, 397 P. 2d 949 ........ 42

Astore v. U.S., 288 F. 2d 26, cert. den. 366 U.S.

825, Bi S. Ce. 13552, O.L., Bb Bb TG ceccttcncrcs ce 47

Bantam Books Inc. v. Sullivan, 372 U.S. 58, 83

S. Ct. 631, 9 L. Ed. 2d 584, 176 A. 2d 393 ........ 38, 52

Beauharnais v. Illinois, 343 U.S. 250, 72 S. Ct. 725,

i ete I ciechieh ceded cesiebotildaiacas hecctesnonceminalttain 34

Burstein v. U.S., 178 F. 2d 665 .....................- 62, 66, 69

2 ae Re Ba Re | eee eee nrno nee os 46

Cain, Robert H. v. U.S., 274 F. 2d 598, cert. den.

362 U.S. 952, 80 S. Ct. 864, 4 L. Ed. 2d 869 .... 46

California v. Milton Luros, et al., Superior Court

cS 3 | Reon 43

Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315°U.S. 568, 86 L.

ie oF ££ 3.e, See 33, 34, 62, 72

Chi. v. Charles Kimmel, 63 M.C. 190116 .................... 18

oul, vw. Tien, G6 BE, CI ceeectecreveisnrevivicinetes 18

Ciel, -w. Godoms GB: BEL, REF wieececcnsicnscciccsieciniinetties 18

Chi. v. Westbery, 63 M.C. 104281 .....0. eee 18

Chilo. Word, GB BEC. USGI EP occiscesscsivccsnisinticosniceia 18

Chobot, Joseph v. Wisconsin, 12 Wis. 2d 110, 106

N.W. 2d 286, 368 U.S. 15, 82 S. Ct. 136, 7 L.

Ed. 2d 85, rehear. den. 368 U.S. 936, 82 S. Ct.

OS ge Se |e. ERR Re ee 45, 47, 59

ne ape

SS

iv.

Page

Collier, Frank L. v. U.S., 283 F. 2d 780, cert. den.

365 U.S. 833, 81 S. Ct. 746, 5 L. Ed. 2d 744 ..45, 47

Connecticut v. Andrews, 150 Conn. 92, 186 A. 2d

546 : sinlbinidideahiciaiiabeasiteinenguidedle 39, 50

Connecticut v. Sul, 146 Conn. 78, 147 A. 2d 686 ...... 71

Dale Book Co. v. Leary, 233 F. Supp. 754 .......... 18, 40

Darnell, John III, v. U.S., 316 F. 2d 813, 375 USS.

916, 84 S. Ct. 205, 11 L. Ed. 2d 155, 375 USS.

982, 84 S. Ct. 493, 11 L. Ed. 2d 429 _... 49

Finkelstein, Louis et al. v. New York, 229 N.Y.S.

2d 367, 183 N.E. 2d 661, cert. den., 371 US.

See ee a Oe Pe Sh Be OO nice 48

Freedman v. Maryland, 380 U.S. 51-0000... 38, 52

Fried, Harry v. New York, 238 N.Y.S. 2d 742, 378

U.S. 578, 84 S. Ct. 1904, 12 L. Ed. 2d 1033 ........ 49

Goldstein, Arthur v. Virginia, 372 U.S. 910, 83 S.

he Bs St OE IE eccentricities 45, 48

Grove Press Inc. v. Gerstein, 378 U.S. 577 ........ 41, 42

Hadley v. Arkansas, 205 Ark. 1027, 172 S.W. 2d

WUT ecg cau ttaciisindiimigtid taninicabisbon aah inna sikinakn 39

semen VW. UT, S., BOO FB FF occceeewsnceviecitsovecetereees 45

Heinecke, Alfred J. v. U.S., 368 U.S. 901, 82 S. Ct.

3 TG SRR RARER eee eR 45, 48

Hochman, Samuel R. v. U.S., 277 F. 2d 631, 364

U.S. 837, 81 S. Ct. 70, 5 L. Ed. 2d 61, rehear.

den., 364 U.S. 906, 81 S. Ct. 231, 5 L. Ed.

PET Wiciehbiaileinseaits labia Nonndeseruncetitinortedapiicialinias vita: 46, 47

Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U.S. 184, 84 S. Ct. 1676, 12

Be Ee A PEP consienenesipindies 42, 45, 51, 59, 71, 73, 76

Kahn, Harold S. v. U.S., 300 F. 2d 78, cert. den.

369 U.S. 859, 82 S. Ct. 949, 8 L. Ed. 2d 18 ........ 48

King v. Commonwealth, 233 S.W. 2d 522 .W000000.2...... 39

v.

Page

Kingsley Book Inc. v. Brown, 354 U.S. 436, 77 S.

Cy. 1805; 3 3. BA 2 GS ou a a 39, 59, 71

Larkin v. G. I. Distributors Inc., 14 N.Y. 2d 869 .... 41

Larkin v. G. P. Putnam’s Sons, 14 N.Y. 2d 399 ....41, 75

Luros v. Hanson, Sept. 27, 1965, Oct. Term. 1965,

Wie CD ehictitiuniitndntendid lala diccieiaa 39

Manual Enterprises Inc. v. Day, 370 U.S. 478, 82

S. Ct. 1432, 8 L. Ed. 2d 639, 289 F. 2d 455 ....38, 40

LMC SE ODE MOTE ETT COS ON a aE EE 41, 42, 52

Marcus v. Kansas City Search Warrants, 367 U.S.

717, 81 S. Ct. 1708, 6 L. Ed. 2d 1127, 344 S.W.

BUG’ Lcncintenseinisiidesdecaubeatisinetiehdesitiensanligiiiog 38, 40, 52

Matthews, John G. v. Florida, 356 U. S. 918, 78 S.

Go Fs i BO I FU sichidchchdeisetiberneitenti 46

Mishkin, Edward v. U.S., 317 F. 2d 634, cert. den.

375 U.S. 827, 84 S. Ct. 71, 11 L. Ed. 2d 60 .... 48

Missouri v. Becker, 364 Mo. 1079, 272 S.W. 2d 283 39

Missouri v. Vollmar, 389 S.W. 2d 20 ..........00.0........ 40

Monfred, Harry et al. v. Maryland, 226 Md. 312, 173

A. 2d 173, cert. den. 368 U.S. 953, 82 S. Ct.

es Fabs Se AE escheat cnttacndintciciectinsinecinle 45, 47, 48

Mounce v. U.S., 355 U.S. 180, 2 L. Ed. 2d 187, 247

B. Deb £40 1946 B, Serre, GD aancsecenciecnciecsscosmsres 38

Near v. Minnesota, 283 U.S. 697, 51 S. Ct. 625,

> ED) REE Ae 29, 33, 34, 38, 53

Nebraska v. Jungclaus, 176 Neb. 641, 126 N.W. 2d

New York v. Ray Kirk, Birch, All State News Co.

Inc., et al., 40 Misc. 2d 626, 243 N.Y.S. 2d 525 .. 44

New York v. Richmond County News Co., 175 N.E.

a]

— 7

vi.

Page

Oakley, Roy A. v. U.S., 290 F. 2d 517, cert. den.

368 U.S. 888, 82 S. Ct. 139, 7 L. Ed. 2d 87,

rehear. den. 368 U.S. 936, 82 S. Ct. 358, 7 L.

PE PREY BPs ap DETER ENC MRS 2 TO 45, 47

One Inc. v. Olesen, 355 U.S. 371, 78 S. Ct. 364, 2

es: i ER Be OE PO eckdicenictnteteemntiinss 38

Outdoor American Corporation v. City of Philadel-

phia, 333 F. 2d 1963, cert. den. 85 S. Ct. 192, 13

Bik GRIER. TET detgeilieeentienndeataprcenasiciindinetiins 39

Padell, Max v. U.S., 262 F. 2d 357, cert. den.

359 U.S. 942, 79 S. Ct. 723, 3 L. Ed. 2d 676 .... 46

Parr, Wyman Hulan v. U.S. 255 F. 2d 86, cert. den.

358 U.S. 824, 79 S. Ct. 40, 3 L. Ed. 2d 64 ........ 46

People v. Bruce, 31 Ill. 2d 459, 202 N.E. 2d 497 ..76, 77

Foeople:v. Frise, 13 N.Y. Bb VID ccsieecciecstsiyessoncsensnns 41

People v. The Bookcase Inc. et al., 14 N.Y. 2d 409 .. 41

Poss v. Christenberry, 179 F. Supp. 411 .................... 70

pe ie ek eee eee 32, 34

Roth v. U.S., 354 U.S. 476, 77 S. Ct. 1314, 1

me FP eee 29, 31, 34, 38, 39, 40, 53

disehishontadiiaiibannptsiiidentuablias 56, 58, 60, 65; 67; 71, 72, 76

State v. Andrews, 186 A. 2d 546 .0002..0..c..ccceceeeeeeeeeeee 72

Sunshine Book Co. v. Summerfield, 355 U.S. 372,

78 S. Ct. 365, 2 L. Ed. 2d 352, 249 F. 2d 114,

8B F Seap. SGA sess sssscssscscssssacacscsacssstacatecceccawaees 38, 70

Times Film Corporation v. City of Chicago, 355

U.S. 35, 78 S. Ct. 115, 2d L. Ed. 2d 72, 244 F.

ye Me SD See ane Dae ree 38, 39

Times Film Corp. v. City of Chicago, 365 U.S. 43,

81 S. Ct. 391, 5 L. Ed. 2d 403, 272 F. 2d 90, 180

8, RE RE ee 38

Tralins v. Gerstein, 378 U.S. 576, 84 S. Ct. 1903,

oe Sf | oreo 42

vii.

Page

Trans-Lux Distributing Corp. v. Board of Regents

of the University of New York, 380 U.S. 259, 85

S Ce Sa Fe tee es Be OE tide ce 38, 52

United States v. Kennerley, 209 Fed. 119 .................. 65

United States v. Klaw and Jack Kramer, 350 F. 2d

SD iiaceteconecessinteresdbtaieeddenshinada 45

United States v. Levine, 83 F. 2d 156 ...........--...-- 62, 66

United States v. Linetsky, No. T-CR 582 .......... 45

United States v. Ralph Ginzburg et al., 224 F.

De TD hccnescmnnemsrmacianttonnsanncisicisanghsiblainiaiiictile 28

United States v. Ralph Ginzburg, et al., 338 F. 2d

ETL issthiesebeateiiccbomniaplaies PRT ewes eae ee rere 29

United States v. Roth, 237 F. 2d 796 -.........--:-sc+s-++- 56

United States v. Wasserman No. T-CR 581............ 45

United States v. West Coast News Co., et al., 228 F.

BR, TE ccckicsnntsisccssemsannitsinimaieateiaitinipnatisietigas 19

Wenzler, Harold Eugene, Sr., and John Imlay v.

California, 377 U.S. 994, 84 S. Ct. 1902, 12 L. Ed.

2d 1047, 85 S. Ct. 14, 13 L. Ed. 2d 77 ........ 45, 49, 50

Williamson, Samuel Dodd v. California, 207 Cal.

App. 2d 839, 24 Cal. Rptr. 734, 377 U.S. 994,

84 S. Ct. 1902, 12 L. Ed. 2d 1047, 85 S. Ct. 13, 13

cs BE Fe setieicdewiihic en eteciciinceibitcaailacbielncciiiiids 49

Womack, Herman v. U.S., 294 F. 2d 204, cert.

den. 365 U.S. 859, 81 S. Ct. 826, 5 L. Ed. 2d

PCA Se ee I AMEE PRU ra RAE IES erate RS 47, 48

al seeceneneaienaetaaaiaaeiell 41, 75

Zucker, Harold v. New York, 371 U.S. 863, 83 S.

SRF ff eee 48

Zuideveld, Nirvana Ward v. U.S., 316 F. 2d 873,

376 U.S. 916, 84 S. Ct. 671, 11 L. Ed. 2d 612 .... 49

ach let ARS SEARLES

Viii.

Page

Dictionary

Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, Fifth Edition ........ 32

Miscellaneous

American Law Institute, Model*Penal Code (1957

Srna), Bi: BO, BB cvs iccsestenicnccnnitiiesi 53, 66, 73

American Law Institute, Model Penal Code (1957),

Ss Set GP iiiesnicchdeeecscebicbsaslinthshal hacatachadlstasetesihchi 61

American Law Institute, Model Penal Code (1957),

es EP akichbikce sccciasighisienonitbcaspoutanenabial 63, 65, 67

American Law Institute, Model Penal Code (1962),

BG TEE sastanininiinenscnietuesthuscehenventcinoimasiedbeebasiaiassie 59

41 Chicago Bar Record (1960), pp. 416, 418 ............ 54

IX Frumkin, Robert M., Dr., Journal of Hu-

man Relations (Summer 1962), p. 513 -.............. 5

XL Notre Dame Lawyer, No. 1 (Dec. 1964), p.

ak coitihecindsthcebecuengtindtnichaecbadieathciitacdasiebthiniapictiseridatantnicipattainiaed 54

Statutes

United States Code, Title 18, Sec. 1461 .............. 4, 5, 10

United States Code, Title 28, Sec. 1257 ....0...000.000.... 58

United States Constitution, First Amendment ........ 2

United States Constitution, Fifth Amendment ........ 68

United States Constitution, Sixth Amendment ........ 68

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amenement

oconenmores ageasseeee seseeereeevanenseansourvevensseneser cpeseseuscevensesers cesi 68

i Textbooks

49 American Bar Association Journal (Sept. 1963),

Ss ceihieilia ta sid naa iced names ecea hala teaiasaitegin as dooeasiehagh 40

Black, Handbook of Judicial Precedent (1912), pp.

135-136

Stern and Gressman, Supreme Court Practice, 3rd

Page .

45 Minnesota Law Review, p. 5 ...............-+-- 56, 57, 58

45 Minnesota Law Review, p. 20 .................-s--cceeeee-ee 56

45 Minnesota Law Review, p. 21 .............-..---c-eeeceeeseee 57

45 Minnesota Law Review, p. 22 ...............--c--seccseseeees 57

45 Minnesota Law Review, p. 25 .............c-ecececcceeeees 58

ee ee ERROR OEE E EEO EERE EEE ERE EROS

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1965

No. 42

RaLpH GINZBURG, DocUMENTARY Books, INc., Eros

MAGAZINE, INc., L1aison News Letter, INC.,

Petitioners,

US.

UnITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court

of Appeals for the Third Circuit.

Brief Amicus Curiae of Citizens for Decent Litera-

ture, Inc., an Ohio Corporation, in Support of

Respondent.

Interest of Amicus Curiae.

Citizens for Decent Literature, Inc., an Ohio Corpor-

ation, with local affiliates throughout the United States

is a non-profit, non-sectarian and non-political corpora-

tion with national headquarters in Cincinnati, Ohio,

formed for and dedicated to the cause of good, decent

and wholesome literature with a view to oppose and

eliminate obscene literature, by cooperating with law en-

forcement in the enforcement of the laws. For the

madi.

Court’s convenience amicus curiae is hereinafter re-

ferred to by the single short title, CDL.

CDL believes that there exists a growing flood of

publications, purposely designed and manufactured with

a sensationalized appeal to prurient interest, that threat-

ens to overthrow the basic morality upon which our na-

tion and our Constitution were founded; that while the

First Amendment of our Constitution has, from the

time of our nation’s founding, been construed to afford

no protection to such publications, a loud voice is now

being heard in the court-room advocating the overruling

of this “balancing of interest” interpretation in favor

of an absolutist approach, aimed at nullifying the na-

tion’s basic obscenity laws.

At its national convention in Chicago during October

of 1963, the national organization of Citizens for De-

cent Literature adopted a policy aimed at giving in-

creased support in the fight against “obscenity,”

through legal advocacy in the courtroom in support of

the people’s case.

Ralph Ginzburg, et al. v. United States of America

is a case of nationwide importance which will have a

serious effect on enforcement of the obscenity statutes

throughout the nation.

Statement of the Case.

On August 13, 1962, Eros Magazine, Inc. of 110

West 40th Street, New York, requested an application

to mail without affixed postage from the post office

at’ Middlesex, New Jersey, through General Mailing

Corporation, a mail-order house patron of the Middlesex

post office. Permit No. 8 was issued on August 14,

1962.

Bet a

In letters dated September 4, 1962 and October 18,

1962, Eros Magazine, Inc. wrote the postmasters of

Blue Ball, Pa., and Intercourse, Pa. as follows:

“After a great deal of deliberation we have de-

cided that it might be advantageous for our direct

mail to bear the postmark of your city.”

The letters were on Eros Magazine, Inc. stationery and

were signed by Frank R. Brady, Associate Publisher of

Mr. Ginzburg. The postmaster of Intercourse, Pa., by

letter dated September 8, 1962, replied that his post of-

fice was too small to handle bulk mailings.

Eros Magazine, Inc. of 110 West 40th St., New

York, commenced mailings from Middlesex post office

on October 7, 1962. Approximately 5,053,884 pieces of

bulk mail advertisements for Eros Magazine had been

mailed up to the date of trial, June 10, 1962, at a total

cost of $132,704.93.

On November 20, 1962, Documentary Books, Inc.,

requested an application to mail without affixed post-

age from the post office at Middlesex, New Jersey,

through General Mailing Corporation, a mail-order house

patron of the Middlesex post office. Permit No. 8 was

issued on November 20, 1962. Thereafter 5,543 copies

of “The Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Promis-

cuity” were shipped from that post office.

First-class mailings of Liaison News Letter, Inc.

were also mailed from the Middlesex post office.

An investigation was commenced within days after

the first mailings of Eros at Middlesex, New Jersey.

Thereafter testimony was presented to a Federal

Grand Jury sitting in the Eastern District of Pennsyl-

vania, which on March J°, i963, returned its true bill

scala

of indictment charging petitioners in 28 counts with

mailing obscene publications and advertisements for

such publications, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1461 [R.

la, 6a-13a].

Petitioner Ralph Ginzburg was named in all 28

counts. One of the three corporate petitioners was also

named with Ginzburg as a co-defendant in each of the

28 counts.

Petitioners Ralph Ginzburg and Documentary Books,

Inc. were charged with three counts (Counts 1 through

3) of having caused the mailing of advertisements to

two persons in Philadelphia and one person in Haver-

town, Pa., on November 15, November 17 and Decem-

ber 12, 1962, telling where an obscene book, “The

Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Promiscuity” by

Rey Anthony could be obtained. The same petitioners

were also charged with six counts (Counts 11 through

16) of having caused the mailing of the same obscene

book to six persons in Philadelphia, Pa.

The petitioners Ralph Ginzburg and Liaison News

Letter, Ind. were charged with three counts (Counts 4

through 6) of having caused the mailing of advertise-

ments on November 27, 1963 to three persons in New

Hope, Pa., Havertown, Pa., and Paoli, Pa., telling

where an obscene pamphlet, named “Liaison, Vol. 1, No.

1” could be obtained. The same petitioners were also

charged with four counts (Counts 23 through 28) of

having caused the mailing of the same obscene pamphlet,

“Liaison, Vol. I, No. 1” to four persons in Philadelphia,

Pa., one person in Jenkintown, Pa., and one person in

Valley Forge, Pa.

Petitioners Ralph Ginzburg and Eros Magazine, Inc.

were charged with four counts (Counts 7 through 10)

sein

of having caused the mailing of advertisements on |

March 24, November 17, December 11, and December

18, 1962, to persons in Philadelphia, Pa., Rosemont, Pa.,

Chester, Pa., and Elkins Park, Pa., telling where an

obscene book, named Eros, Vol. 1, No. 4, could be ob-

tained. The same petitioners were also charged with six

counts (Cou..s 17 through 22) of having caused the

mailing of the same obscene book, Eros Vol. 1, No. 4,

to five persons in Philadelphia, Pa., and one person in

Gladwyne, Pa.

On April 11, 1963, petitioners filed a motion to dis-

miss the 18 counts of the 28-count indictment which

pertained to “The Housewife’s Handbook on Selective

Promiscuity” and Liaison Vol. 1, No. 1 on the ground

that such materials were not obscene within the mean-

ing of 18 U.S.C. Section 1461 [R. 13a]. Copies of the

book and pamphlet and advertisements referred to in

the 18 counts were attached to the motion as exhibits.

Annexed to the motion was an affidavit of petitioner

Ralph Ginzburg [R. 14a-l6a] saying that “prior here-

to and in February 1962” he had written 1000 “prom-

inent. persons” asking their view on “The Housewife’s

Handbook” and annexing 69 replies thereto, together

with a book review of the “Handbook” by William J.

Bryan, Jr. M.D. appearing in the Journal of the Ameri-

can Institute of Hypnosis, January 1962 and a book

review of the “Handbook” by Dr. Robert M. Frumkin,

appearing in the Journal of Human Relations, Summer

1962, Vol. IX, page 513.

On May 8, 1963, petitioners acknowledged by stipula-

tion that in all counts in which the three publications or

the advertisements pertaining thereto were involved,

they “did knowingly mail or cause to be mailed the ma-

terials set forth in those counts on the dates set forth,

he

fully knowing the contents of said materials.” [R. 149a

150a, 152a].

On May 17, 1963, the people’s motion to strike the

Ginzburg affidavit and its 69 annexed exhibits was

granted. On May 23, 1963 petitioners’ motion to dis-

miss the 18 counts of the 28-count indictment was de-

nied [R. 15la].

On June 10, 1963, petitioners filed a waiver of trial

by jury [R. 2a]. The case was tried to the court on

June 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14, 1963, and the trial judge

rendered his verdict on June 14, 1963.

During its case in chief, the United States of Amer-

ica called the postmasters of Middlesex, New Jersey,

Blue Ball, Pa., and Intercourse, Pa., the postal inspector

of Middlesex, New Jersey, and the editor of Liaison

Vol. 1, No. 1. After introducing in evidence a copy of

“The Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Promiscuity,”

“Eros Vol. 1, No. 4” and “Liaison Vol. 1, No. 1,” and

the ten advertisements and their mailing envelopes, sup-

porting Counts 1 through 10, the people rested.

In their defense, petitioners called seven witnesses: A

clinical psychologist, an art critic, the author of “The

Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Promiscuity,” a

magazine editor, an attorney, a psychiatrist, and a

Southern Baptist minister/family counselor. Eight

books and pamphlets were introduced into evidence as

examples of “hard-core pornography” and 34 magazines

and paperback books were introduced into evidence as

having been recently purchased in shops in New York

City and Philadelphia, Pa.

In rebuttal the United States Government called

three witnesses: two psychiatrists (one male and one

female), and a Baptist minister/family counselor.

pe ee

United States of America: Case in Chief.

Arthur J. Rodgers, Jr., the Postmaster of Blue Ball,

Pa. testified as follows: In the course of his business as

postmaster he had received a letter on the stationery of

Eros Magazine, Inc. dated October 18, 1962, and signed

by Frank R. Brady, Associate Publisher of Mr. Ginz-

burg, reading in part, “After a great deal of delibera-

tion, we have decided that it might be advantageous for

our direct mail to bear the postmark of your city. .. .”

[R. 152a-155a, Ex. G-1]. The postmaster’s reply was

not offered in evidence, nor was there evidence present-

ed of any mailings from the Blue Ball post office.

Miss Bertha M. Martin, the postmaster of Inter-

course, Pa., testified as follows: In the course of her

business as postmaster, she had received a similar letter

on the stationery of Eros Magazine, Inc., dated Sep-

tember 4, 1962, and signed by Frank R. Brady, reading

in part: “After a great deal of deliberation, we have de-

cided that it might be advantageous for our direct mail

to bear the postmark of your city. .. .” She informed

the originator by letter that, because of limited facili-

ties, the Intercourse post office would not be able to

handle bulk mailings in such a volume [R. 156a-159a].

Robert W. Sanders, the postmaster of Middlesex,

New Jersey, testified as follows: On August 13, 1962,

petitioner Eros Magazine, Inc. of 110 West 40th Street,

New York, requested an application to mail without af-

fixed postage, through General Mailing Corporation, a

mail-order house patron of Middlesex post office. Per-

mit No. 8 was issued on the following day. Substantial

bulk mailings commenced on October 7, 1962 and con-

tinued to the present time (June 10, 1963). Approxi-

mately 5,053,884 pieces of third-class bulk mail contain-

le,

ing advertisements for Eros Magazine went out, at a

mailing cost of $132,704.93. The total pieces of all

classes of mail was 6,067,573 and the cost of mailing

was $163,438.48.

On November 20, 1962, petitioner Documentary

Books, Inc. requested an application to mail without af-

fixed postage, through the same mail-order house pa-

tron of Middlesex post office and Permit No. 8 was

issued by his post office (Middlesex) on the same date.

A total of 5,543 copies of ‘““The Housewife’s Handbook

on Selective Promiscuity” were received for mailing.

Liaison News Letter, Inc. also mailed first-class

mailings through his post office (Middlesex).

J. Shane Creamer, the Assistant United States At-

torney, placed in evidence the ten advertisements and

mailing envelopes which were received through the mail,

which were the basis for the first ten counts of the in-

dictment. The exhibits were the subject of a stipulation

previously filed with the Court on May 8, 1963, in

which the petitioners acknowledged that they did “know-

ingly mail or cause to be mailed” the same “on the

dates set forth, fully knowing the contents of said ma-

terials.” [R. 165a, 149a, 150a, 152a].

Hugh J. McDermott, a postal inspector of Middlesex

post office testified that he began investigating the

case as to a violation of the postal obscenity statutes

within days after the first mailings of Eros at the Mid-

dlesex post office [R. 172a].

John Willis Darr, the editor of “Liaison Vol. 1, No.

1,” the pamphlet named in the indictments, testified that

he had been a writer for twelve years and as such had

been referred to the Eros offices in September or Oc-

a a

tober of 1962, by an employment agency [R. 173a].

After an interview with Warren Boroson, he received a

post card from Mr. Ginzburg inviting him to submit

samples of his past work which he did. Within a week

of the time that he was referred by the employment

agency, he was interviewed by Mr. Ginzburg, who told

him he was looking for an editor and writer for Liai-

son. “Liaison” was to cover the same scope as “Eros,”

but in a more newsworthy fashion [R. 174a]. Follow-

ing this interview and at Ginzburg’s request, he sub-

mitted an article called “How to Run a Successful

Orgy” to their offices, which later appeared in Liaison

News Letter in a revised form [R. 175a]. Later Ginz-

burg telephoned him and said, “When can you start to

work?” [R. 177a]. He was hired at a salary of $7500

a year [R. 18la].

As editor of “Liaison” he inherited a collection of

magazines, newspapers, clippings and notes which he

used as research material and background for the news-

letter [R. 177a]. He identified, as having been written

by him, the statement of policy, appearing on page 1,

the article, “Semen in the Diet,” appearing on pages 4

and 5 and the article, “Sing a Song of Sex Life,” ap-

pearing on pages 5 and 6 of “Liaison Vol. 1, No. 1”

[R. 179a, 18la]. All of the copy for the newsletter was

placed in a basket on the desk of the front office and

from there it was transported up to Ginzburg’s office

upstairs. As a rule he would get the material back on

his desk the next day.

Ginzburg gave him instructions that the last page

should not contain any four-letter words. The newslet-

ter was folded for mailing in such a manner that two-

thirds of the last page was exposed to those handling

a Ss

the mails [R. 179a]. As to the statement of policy,

Ginzburg might have said, “It is all right” or “It is

good” or something like that [R. 179a]. He had a dis-

cussion with Ginzburg about his reaction to the article,

“Sing a Song of Sex Life.” They discussed the line

“The professors have crawled out of the dust and dis-

covered lust”? and he thought Ginzburg liked that line

[R. 18la].

At the time of his termination of employment in No-

vember of 1962, he had completed five issues of “Liai-

son” and two had been published [R. 183a].

The Assistant United States Attorney placed in evi-

dence a copy of “Liaison Vol. 1, No. 1” [Ex. G-16, R.

178a]. “The Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Prom-

iscuity’ by Rey Anthony [Ex. G-17, R. 184a] and

“Eros, Winter, 1962, Vol. 1, No. 4” [Ex. G-18, R.

185a] and rested the Government’s case in chief.

Petitioners’ motion for dismissal of the indictment

on the ground that the Government had failed to make

out a case under 18 U.S.C. Section 1461 was denied.

Ralph Ginzburg et al.’s Defense.

Dr. Charles G. McCormick, a clinical psychologist,

testified that pornographic material could be described

in psychological terms and gave his opinion as to what

he, as a psychologist, considered to be pornography [R.

188a]. In his opinion pornographic material must “com-

bine both the sense of pleasure and the sense of guilt

or shame” in the individual [R. 188a] and that the

sense of guilt or shame was a “sense of being able to

engage in something that is intrinsically bad to the

reader based upon whatever he had accumulated from

="

the air in which he grew up... .” [R. 189a]. He

thought that most pornographic materials “are pub-

lished secretly . . . without acknowledgement . . . won’t

even carry a title page on which the author’s name is

given or the publisher’s name is given. There is no date

.. no commitment for responsibility behind it.” And

that these surreptitious factors gave the person who

would read them the impression that sexual expression

was evil, sex was shameful and that what the material

was about was a shameful item [R. 19la]. In his opin-

ion one of the essential building blocks of pornographic

material was the distortion of reality, such as the reac-

tion of the pre-adolescent girl to her violation in “the

autobiography of the flea.” Such distortion was neces-

sary ‘to bring his readers’ attention exclusively on at-

tempting to absorb the guilty pleasure from the mate-

rial itself.” ““. .. there would have to be something wrong

with the person for’ the pornographic material he re-

ferred to not to act as a sexual stimulant and produce

sexual stimuli. “. . . he would have to be ill in some way,

physically or psychologically.” [R. 193a].

In his opinion, while under certain circumstances, the

view of an attractive nude woman could erotically stim-

ulate an average male and such erotic response would

be felt and experienced by the individual exactly the

same as for pornographic material [R. 194a], the stim-

uli of shame which accompanied pornography would not

be produced in the viewer nor would he have an itching

or a morbid or a licentious sexual arousal unless the per-

son were pathological [R. 195a] or “the publication

were designed to do this, but under ordinary circum-

stances where the publication were a responsible one,

there would be no reason to expect this to be so.”

|, ae

In his opinion, a person would have to be extremely

exhibitionistic (pathological) not to feel uncomfortable

about having his neighbor see him reading the material

which he considered as pornographic.

“... in presenting the exampies of the type of

material which Dr. McCormick has testified to .. .”

[R. 201a] Sidney Dicksteir, the defense counsel, placed

in evidence eight buvks and pamphlets: “A Small Pig”

booklet [Ex. D-1], a pamphlet, “John Dillinger in a

Hasty Exit” [Ex. D-2], a pamphlet, “Mr. Bregar is

Sold on TV” [Ex. D-3], a booklet, “Dagwood Has a

Family Party Let’s Go” [Ex. D-4], a pamphlet, “Se-

crets Will Out” [Ex. D-5], a book, “The Oxford Pro-

fessor” [Ex. D-6], a book, “The Autobiography of a

Flea” [Ex. D-7], and a book, “Devil’s Advocate” [Ex,

D-8]. Dr: McCormick testified that the effect of such

materials on the average person would “be one of revul-

sion, and one of being assaulted.” “In other words, it is

actually destructive for the individual, the ordinary in-

dividual to read that kind of material because he doesn’t

have the emotional base and he doesn’t have the capac-

ity for keeping context... .”

Dr. McCormick testified that he had read “Lady

Chatterley’s Lover.” It was his opinion that while Ex-

hibits D-1 through D-8 and “Lady Chatterley’s Lover”

were all sexually stimulating, the impact on the system

of the ordinary individual was radically different. He

said “There is context. The reality setting, the reality

factors, the complications, the responsibilities of the

author, the attitude of the author as he presents the

material... .” [R. 203a]. In “Lady Chatterley’s Lover”

there “is a responsibility in the sense that the actual

presentation by the author gives you reality situations

rather well... .” [R. 204a]. 7

oe, ae

Dr. McCormick testified that he was acquainted with

“Lolita” by Nabakov. It was his opinion that the sub-

ject matter and themes of “Oxford Professor” (one

incident of which involved the seduction of an immature

girl) and “Autobiography of the Flea” and “Lolita”

(the story of the seduction of a pre-adolescent by an

established psychotic individual} were identical, but the

books were “different” in the way in which they dealt

with the similar subject matter. The difference was re-

ality. “Lolita” was psychologically sound. The author

makes the reader appreciate the fact that “this is one

individual’s distortion, but a reality of distortion” [R.

205a].

Dr. McCormick testified that he had read “The

Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Promiscuity” and

that in his opinion the predominant effect of this ma-

terial was not to create in an average person an itching,

morbid or shameful desire or longing with respect to

sex [R. 206a]. In his opinion the book was not morl)id,

nor did it tend to corrode and turn the reader against

himself in the process of reading [R. 210a], as was the

case with pornographic material. It gave a realistic pic-

‘ture of a woman’s attitude and activities with respect

to sex [R. 210a]. It would not produce a guilty feeling

in the individual because it was supported by a respon-

sible attitude on the part of the author. A reader will

feel informed rather than guilty after having read it

[R. 21la].

Dr. McCormick had read ‘‘Eros Vol. 1, No. 4” and

' was of the opinion that the predominant effect would

not create in the average person an itching or morbid

or shameful desire or longing with respect to sex. He

thought that there were a couple of passages in Eros

ae ae

that would be erotically stimulating to an average per-

son reading it, such as in the article by Frank Harris

[R. 212a] and the article by the Kronhausens [R. 213a]

and that they would not stimulate in the average person

a morbid or unhealthy attitude toward sex, because of

the reality context that the author, wto is quoted,

maintains. “While erotically stimulating, it is not patho-

logical” [R. 214a].

Dr. McCormick had read “Liaison Vol. 1, No. 1” and

was of the opinion that the predominant effect of it

would not create in the average person an itching, mor-

bid or shameful desire or longing with respect to sex, nor

would it be erotically stimulating [R. 215a]. He was of

the opinion that one who was already perverted (a para-

philiac) would be sexually stimulated because of psychic

distortions [R. 215a]. While both the article by Dr, Al-

bert Ellis and the article “Semen in the Diet” had the

tone of an assault on the reader, neither one would have

any erotic effect because they lacked any established as-

sociation with the reader [R. 216a].

Dr. McCormick was of the opinion “The Housewife’s

Handbook” would be quite useful as an educational in-

strument [R. 216a]. It gave a realistic portrayal of the

evolution of sexual awareness and sexual expression of

“an ordinary everyday person with the natural emo-

tional and intellectual limitations who had to grope...

through just like everyone else has to grope his way

through toward some kind of sexual adjustment. . . .”

He considered it a valuable instrument for a person

who was looking for sexual education. He thought the

book would be useful under supervision. The restriction

was imposed for the purpose of guiding the person in

making distinctions “where the layman in reading it

—

—15—

would not be able to distinguish those aspects that were

the individual’s own problems and those aspects of the

material that were a natural universal problem of get-

ting educated.” [R. 217a].

The Assistant United States Attorney did not cross-

examine Dr. McCormick.

Horst W. Janson, an art critic, testified as to the

origin of the etchings, engravings and woodcuts ap-

pearing in “Eros Vol. 1, No. 4” at pages 2, 6, 7, 8, 9,

10, 11, 12, 13 and 81 [R. 219a-220a]. He thought the

photographs on page 73 et seg. in the essay entitled

“Black and White in Color” were “outstanding, beau-

tifully and artistic photographs.” The photographer had

an “extraordinary sense of form and composition” [R.

221a]. He saw the “symbolic expression of blending

together of the equivalence of the two people represent-

ed,” so familiar in certain British postage stamps, used

as an artistic compositional device, in the first photo-

gr vh depicting the Caucasian female’s facial profile

superimposed on the Negro male’s profile, in the full

page photograph of the two eyes, and in the final full

page photograph depicting the full length nude Negro

male and nude Caucasian female in an amorous embrace.

He was of the opinion that in terms of material and

graphic layout and taste displayed in presenting the ma-

terial, Eros was the equal of any magazine being pub-

lished today [R. 222a].

The Assistant United States Attorney did not cross-

examine Mr. Janson.

Lillian Maxine Serett, the author of “The House-

wife’s Handbook on Selective Promiscuity,” testified

that she started writing the book 15 years ago and fin-

ished it three years ago. She had gone into the printing

os eis

eS

business two years prior to finishing the book and had

printed it herself under the title “The Housewife’s

Handbook for Promiscuity” and the printing label,

Seymour Press [R. 223a]. The edition published by

Documentary Books, Inc. had the same textual matter

as her edition [R. 224a] which she originally published

in August and September of 1960. A reprint with an in-

troduction by Dr. Ellis was mailed out to doctors, psy-

chologists, and college professors who were heads of psy-

chology departments. Approximately 400,000 brochures

were mailed since October, 1960 and a little over 12,000

copies had been sold [R. 225a].

She stated that the Kinsey Reports confirmed her

belief that woman’s role in sex was widely misunder-

stood and that she hoped her book, written in a layman’s

language, could communicate to women that the sexual

activities and attitudes they have are not unusual or

unique, that various forms of sexual expression are nor-

mal and healthy things to do and that women do have

sexual rights [R. 226a].

The Assistant United States Attorney did not cross-

examine Mrs. Serett.

Dwight MacDonald, a magazine editor and literary

film critic, testified that he reads about 200 books a

year or about five a week. He had seen a change or

movement in the permissible limits of sexual candor in

our literature, especially in the last five or six years

[R. 230a]. That “Fanny Hill,” which had always been

regarded as “hardcore pornography” should be published

was extremely significant in his judgment, as was the

publication of “Tropic of Cancer” and “Naked Lunch,”

“which is an extremely, really a sick book” [R. 23la].

—

cone

He recalled that six or seven years ago the models in

girlie magazines had to wear brassieres, whereas now

they can expose their bosoms, although “they can’t be

actually nude from the front anyway, but that will per-

haps come.” In the movie industry of the 20’s, one could

not show two people living together who were not mar-

ried, nor could they show a husband and wife in a single

bed [R. 234a]. Now it was possible to show rape, pros-

titution, and explicit scenes of sexual intercourse [R.

235a}.

Dwight MacDonald testified that he had read “The

Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Promiscuity” and

that in his opinion, “Speaking as a long-time student of

mass culture in American society” he would say that it

did not go substantially beyond tue customary limits of

candor that American society permits in its literature at

this time.” He thought that it was not a particularly in-

teresting book, that it had no literary value, and that its

only importance would be as case history for doctors.

In comparing it with “Lady Chatterley’s Lover,” he

thought the latter a work of literary art, whereas “The

Housewife’s Handbook” was not [R. 236a].

He was of the opinion that “Liaison Vol. 1. No. 1”

was “an extremely tasteless, vulgar and repulsive issue”

but that it did not go substantially beyond the custom-

ary limits of candor we tolerate in discussion of sexual

matters and that he did not think it obscene or porno-

graphic [R. 237a].

He was of the opinion that “Eros Vol. 1. No. 4” did

not go substantially beyond the customary limits of can-

dor which we in this country now tolerate and accept

[R. 238a]. He was of the opinion that the following

articles had significance or note for some literary

merit: “Love in the Bible,” “Jewel Box Review,” “Let-

= wen

ters froin Allen Ginsberg,” “Was Shakespeare a

Homo?” “New Twists on Three Great Trysts,” “The

Natural Superiority of Women as Erotisists,” “Black

and White in Color,” and “Lysystrata.” [R. 239a]. He

thought there were a considerable number of articles

that had either trivial or poor literary merit and at least

one, “Bawdy Limericks,” had no merit and was quite

vulgar. Nevertheless, he did not think them obscene or

pornographic [R. 240a].

The Assistant United States Attorney did not cross-

examine Mr. MacDonald.

Sidney Dickstein, the defense counsel, placed in evi-

dence a copy of “Memoirs of a Woman of Pleasure” by

John Cleland [Ex. G-9] as having been discussed by

Dwight MacDonald.

Arthur J. Galligan, the law partner of the defense

counsel, testified that he had visited several stores in

New York City in the vicinity of 6th and 42nd Street

and in Philadelphia, Pa., in the vicinity of 15th and

Market and had made numerous purchases of paper-

back books, girlie and nudist magazines. The following

of his purchases were placed in evidence as Exhibits

D-10 through D-43* [R. 243a-256a] :

D-10 Waterfront Blonde

D-11 Rogue Magazine

D-12 Gang Girl

*Gang Girl and Wild Body held obscene in Chi. v. Wood, 63 -

M.C. 156720; Nymph #4 held obscene in Chi. v. Charles Kimmel,

63 M.C. 190116; Pastime, Vol. 2, No. 4, held obscene in Chi. v.

W estbery, 63 M.C. 104281; Adam, Vol. 7, No. 6, held obscene iti

Chi. v. Soden, 63 M.C. 155883; Escapade, April 1964, held ob-

scene in Chi. v. Dahlia, 64 M.C. 127005; Snap, Vol. 4, No. 2, and

Tip Top, Vol. 3, No. 6, were subjects of federal obscenity indict-

ments in United States v. Milton Luros et al. (trial date Oct. 18,

1965); Gymnos, Oct. 1963, held obscene in Dale Book Co. v.

Leary, 233 F. Supp. 754 (Aug. 12, 1964) ; see also other paper-

D-13

D-14

D-15

D-16

D-17

D 18

D-19

D-20

D-21

D-22

D-23

D-24

D-25

D-26

D-27

D-28

D-29

D-30

D-31

D 32

D-33

D-34

D-34

D-36

D-37

D-38

D-39

D-40

D-41

D-42

D-43

j

anuonmimarscoommery raza g 4

f

J ap eRe

The Sucker

Pushover

Rock-N-Roll Gal

They Couldn’t Say No

Wild Body

Nymph Issue No. 5

Tic Toc Vol. 1 No. 2

Pastime Vol. 2 No. 5

Adam Vol. 7 No. 6

Satan’s Scrapbook Vol. 1 No. 1

Kiss No. 2

Stark Vol. 1 No. 1

French Frills Vol. 2 No. 5

Hip and Toe Vol. 1 No. 2

Vue, July Issue

Photo Button, Series 7

Treasure Box Review, Series 18

Treasure Box Review, Series 19

Tip Top Vol. 2 No. 6

Snap Vol. 3 No. 2

Twilight No. 3

Zoftick Vol. 2 No. 1

Ruby Vol. 1 No. 1

Torch Vol. 2 No. 1

Nude Word Issue No. 6

Gymnos July 1963

The Wrong Turn, and Season of Love

Escapade, August Issue

Cavalcade, August 1963

Scamp, September

M R Spring 1962

back books, girlie magazines and nudist magazines which have

run afoul of the law as tabulated in CDL, Commentaries, Vol. 1,

No. 2 (Nov. 1965). This problem of comparables is analyzed in

United States v. West Coast News Co., et al., 228 F. Supp. 171,

191,

Ae ht NORE ena

—= 2)

Dr. Peter G. Bennett, a psychiatrist, was asked to de-

fine pornography in psychiatric terms. He stated his

opinion that pornography was more than an intense

stimulation of erotic feelings, which in itself was not

harmful or disturbing to the ordinary mature adult.

Pornography had, in addition to the erotic stimulation,

a disturbing disintegrative influence even on the mature

person which is almost impossible to resist and which

abrades the conscience, causing morbid feelings of

shame and guilt [R. 260a]. He stated that the average

well-adjusted person’s deep-seated guilt and shame about

some aspects of sex as a result of his early education or

lack of it will disappear as the person allows himself to

become better acquainted with the subject, and that the

anxiety, caused by sexual realism, may even be turned to

a fuller enjoyment of life ‘as I think might happen

to many as a result of reading “The House-Wife’s hand-

book.” In his opinion, the characteristic of the mind

which was primarily attacked by pornography was its

narcotic appeal to the remnant of infantile narcissism

which is present in every-one—the selfish wish for total

satisfaction without regard for people or responsibility

which is characteristic of the newborn child [R. 262a].

Pornography forcibly stimulates intense narcissistic

fantasy by portraying orgiastic sexual and sadistic sat-

isfaction in the most compelling and unreal way. “The

narcissistic impulses cause a morbid sense of shame and

a desire to regress to infancy to some extent even in

the well-adjusted mature adult, whereas erotic realism

only causes an erotic stimulation without regression for

which the aforementioned individual would feel no

shame or guilt.” [R. 263a].

Dr. Bennett testified that the reading of “The House-

wife’s Handbook” by a mature person who is not men-

onli ee

tally ill would not have the effect upon his psyche that

he attributed to pornographic material [R. 264a].

He testified that he had read “Eros Vol. 1, No. 4”

and that a reading of this volume by an average per-

son would not have the same effect as the reading of

the pornographic material which he had described. He

thought the predominant effect of some of the articles

was sexually stimulating and others was not [R.

265a].

He was of the opinion that there was nothing in

Liaison Vol. 1, No. 1 that would sexually stimulate an

average individual or create morbid or shameful or li-

centious thoughts [R. 266a].

On cross-examination by the Assistant United States

Attorney, he stated that the intent of the person pro-

ducing the material was not a factor in his psychia-

tric definition of pornography. It was his opinion that

what the American society as a whole understood to

be pornographic, 1.e., persons who write things that

stimulate sexual curiousity violently for purposes of fi-

nancial gain, was not his psychiatric definition of por-

nography [R. 268a].

The trial judge asked Dr. Bennett if the acts of sod-

omy performed by Dr. Adler on the author as described

at page 207 would have any shameful effect on the av-

erage reader. Dr. Bennett replied that it would not in the

mature person [R. 27la]. The court inquired whether

those paragraphs “would suggest to a boy or girl near

21 years of age ways (sodomy) of having sexuai inter-

course in order to have greater satisfaction” and Dr.

Bennett answered, Yes, and that it would be permissible

in his opinion. The court asked if Dr. Bennett was

speaking of mental or sexual maturity and Bennett re-

Le NCI EA OLE LON ALL IO

ers

~~

plied he was talking of emotional maturity. Dr. Ben-

nett said that he thought that the average 14-year old

would not be disturbed by reading such material. The

Judge asked if they read this, would they try to do this

in order to have greater sexual satisfaction. Dr. Ben-

nett said, no, not at that age. The Judge called his at-

tention to the paragraph preceding the act of sodomy

(where Dr. Adler tells the author that her husband was

sick, when he said that there were more important things

than sex etc.) and asked him if that would have any

shameful effect on a reader or suggest a moral code

that it was all right to have sexual relations with one

not your spouse. Dr. Bennett agreed that was the au-

thor’s opinion but stated it would not create any shame-

ful effects. He was of the opinion that “A reader who

is old enough to wade through this book—and by that |

mean 12, 13, 14—would recognize that this is the au-

thor’s opinion but not necessarily the moral code or the

code of society.”

George Von Hilsheimer, III, a Southern Baptist

minister, who was trained in psychology and had done

some counseling and therapy with the underprivileged in

both urban and rural areas, testified to the attitudes

toward sex held by Christian groups and to certain

changes that have recently occurred [R. 281a].

He said that he first saw ‘The Housewife’s Hand-

book” in 1960 when one of his colleagues gave him a

copy. He had used it since in his pastoral counseling

and in his psychological counseling with married women

who have a sense of shame, as a means of ventilating

that sense of shame [R. 289a]. He was of the opinion

that it teaches them their own sexual failures are not

unusual [R. 290a]. “We have an almost idolotrous con-

ee

cept of marriage in our country. Little girls are told

practically from the moment of birth that this is the one

road to happiness and almost to salvation. They are

told that somehow a mystical magical experience is going

to occur with this marriage that was made in heaven,

which is a heretical theological notion in itself. They

will meet the man of their dreams, he will be perfect

for them, they will marry and things will be lovely and

beautiful thereafter. They are told this by comic books,

by television, by movies, by every possible medium of

public culture. They are told a lie. They are told a myth

... Now it is necessary for the pastoral counselor and

for the psychologist if he is going to be responsible to

his youth and to his parents to give them a more realis-

tic view of the world in which they live and the prob-

lems that they are going to face and to fit them with the

practical, detailed, immediate, realistic and unshamefully

communicated knowledge about the things which are

most important to them. This to me is the great value

of this book. It says, ‘you are not alone. This is the ex-

perience of many, many people,’ and it gives a certain

amount of hopefulness to it. It is in my mind theologi-

cally quite an innocent book... .” [R. 29la]. In his

opinion the book was a straightforward recount of a

fairly unhappy history of a fairly typical woman and

was not drawn far from the average middle American

experience. Although he thought the standard mar-

riage manuals helpful, the language was too compli-

cated [R. 292a].

On cross-examination by the Assistant United States

Attorney he indicated he did not use the book as a blue-

print for what one was supposed to do but used it as

a means of ventilating a sense of shame [R. 294a].

It’s main value was that it discussed in quite simple

ilies

terms things which were not ordinarily discussed. He

said he would give the book to the person being coun-

seled with a comment, “If you think you have difficul-

ties . . . then look at the book in this way and see what

it has to teach you.” He did not supervise since he be-

lieved that people can read freely and have the ability

to solve their own problems without his intimate and

daily guidance.” [R. 295a]. |

The trial judge asked if it was the kind of a book that

he would like to have in the library of his home if he

had a 14, 15 or 16-year old son or daughter. The Rev-

erend replied that it was in his library at home and

that his wife and the teenage children in his parish read

it [R. 296a]. The Judge asked him if, in his opinion,

the things discussed related to matters of sexual per-

version [R. 296a]. The Reverend replied that the kinds

of relationships the author describes were not commonly

held by psychologists as perversions, but whether or not

this is true, such was a “part of these children’s lives,

the material that is freely available to them is the hard-

core pornography, shamefully discussing lewd, prurient

kinds of garbage... .” “This kind of book in the set-

ting of a person they trust and respect who has said,

‘Read it, We will discuss it’ will form the relationship of

a new kind of understanding.” “If I am to work ef-

fectively with them I must have means to read, of talk,

or give them to read that with ease they can talk about

things they do know about in a distorted way, and then

we can talk about what is the kind of relationship you

should have and I should have, and the proper kind of

relationship.” [R. 297a].

The Court asked: “How about the person who reads

the book and doesn’t have the reverend to go to talk

ee

to him about it and believes this is a code of morals that

should be followed as set fcrth in this book?” The Rev-

erend answered: “This is one of the difficulties to me

of pornography.” [R. 297a]. The Reverend did not

think any person, particularly a teenager, reading the

book was going to be convinced that adultery was a

proper way of life [R. 298a]. He thought the book

would be read “in the context of what kids and adults

are saying to each other.” [R. 300a].

Asked by the Judge if he thought that wide circula-

tion of the book would be perfectly all right, he said

that he thought it would serve as a ventilation from

all the kinds of horrible trash that was freely avail-

able, the books on any newsstand which show sodomy,

lesbianism, homosexuality and adultery freely practiced

|R. 305a]. Asked by tive Judge if such wasn’t in this,

book, he replied: “But dealt with in an unshameful way,

a dry way, a straight forward way.” [R. 305a], He said

that he worked with children “whose common expression

is a four-letter expression. This is their form of greeting

and this is common and extending in our culture. I work

with adults whose common form of recreation is the tell-

ing of dirty and sometimes obscene and pornographic

stories” and that the book has “a tremendous value in

this kind of counseling.” [R. 307a].

Asked by the Trial Judge whether he would approve

of the methods of sexual relationship set forth in the

book (sodomy) the Reverend replied, “No, I would say

again that the intimate relationships of a loving couple

in marriage, so long as they have developed naturally

and with regard for the integrity of one another, that

there is no such thing as perversion.” The Judge then

asked him to read the passages on pages 207 describing

—

enliicn

the sodomy act and asked him the question with regard

to the relationship that is there (between the female

author and the male doctor, unmarried). The Rev-

erend replied, “I repeat, this was not described—so long

as it is in the boundaries I have stated—this does not

describe a perversion and it describes a kind of sexual

relationship which is generally regarded as quite permis-

sible and proper so long as it is within the right frame-

work.” [R. 31 la.]

The defense rested its case.

United States of America: Rebuttal.

The United States Government called three witnesses,

two psychiatrists and one minister. It was stipulated

that their testimony was to be considered for rebuttal

purposes only [R. 335a].

Dr. Nicholas George Frignito, a psychiatrist, testified

that in his opinion “The Handbook” had no medical

value, because it gave a distorted viewpoint of the

sexual behavior of women and the type of behavior that

is prevalent in our community, that it fosters sexual

perversity and implies adultery, fornication and sexual

perversion are all right [R. 320a].

In his opinion it was a danger to the majority but

was not a threat to professional people who had training

and knowledge in this sort of business [R. 321la]. This

type of material would be dangerous for an adult boy

in that it encourages all types of sexual behaviors such

as masturbation and increases sexual promiscuity [R.

322a]. It would incite the average 14-year old to sexual

misconduct [R. 323a] and lead to “self abuse, mas-

turbation and that would lead to other types of sexual

activity” [R. 324a]. As to the average adult person it

seit

would stimulate his prurient interest and certainly would

mislead him into believing that such was acceptable be-

havior in our community. The prurient interest he

referred to was “the stimulation by writing or porno-

graphic books to sexual misconduct or instilling lustful

feelings” [R. 324a].

Asked on cross-examination by the defense counsel

whether the authoress’ view toward sexual practice was

widely held by other commentators on sex, he an-

swered, “I don’t know the exact number, but those men

that I associate with rather closely do not hold to this

type of sexual behiavior. I would say that the majority

of psychiatrists that I am in contact with do not ap-

prove of say abnormal, aberrant sexual acts.” [R.

327a].

Dr. Ann Hankins Ford, a psychiatrist, testified that

she had read ““The Housewife’s Handbook,” and that in

her opinion it had no medical value. In the field of

psychiatry in which she was involved (disturbed per-

sons) it would be a destructive book [R. 337a, 339a].

In her opinion the authoress was emotionally very im-

mature, a very disturbed person, who had not progressed

emotionally from the age of childhood when people are

in a normal homosexual stage [R. 337a]. Asked if the

book had any medical message to it, she replied the only

message she found in the book was “if you are dissatis-

fied with your husband look around and get some

other man” [R. 338a]. “The clitoris is a remnant of the

male penis from fetal development and this is so em-

phasized in this book, it is the only penis this woman

has, and she all but works it to death. She must have

this recognized. She must have great male attention

paid to her substitute penis, and in this way she is not

was

making love to the men. This is not a lovers’ relation-

ship; it is a matter of demeaning, sullying these men

whom she comes in contact with.” [R. 338a]. The

author is so confused and far from understanding what

her problem is that it would reinforce the anguish and

feelings of hostility” that pacients in a similar situa-

tion had [R. 338a]. It would not have any value in

the treatment or counseling of her patients but would

be more disturbing to them [R. 338a].

Reverend Adolph Emil Kannwischer, a Baptist minis-

ter and Profesco~ of Psychology, testified that he would

not use the ‘“Housewife’s Handbook” in counseling

parishoners or people because he regarded it was detri-

mental to a person who already was having problems.

He saw no positive value in it [R. 344a].

The United States Government rested its case.

The Assistant United States Attorney’s motion to

strike Exhibits D-1 through D-43 and the testimony

of the expert witnesses regarding responses of the av-

erage person and community standards was refused

[R. 347a].

The defense attorney’s motion for a judgment of ac-

quittal was refused [R. 348a].

The trial judge found the defendants guilty on all

counts. The trial court’s opinion appears at R. 355a and

in United States v. Ralph Ginzburg et al., 224 F.

Supp. 129 (Nov. 21, 1963). On December 19, 1963, the

trial judge sentenced petitioner Ginzburg to five years’

imprisonment and a fine of $28,000. and fined the cor-

porate defendants $500 on each count [R. 373a-376a].

(A notice of appeal was filed on the same day). [R.

380a].

—

The United States Court of Appeals, Third Circuit,

affirmed the judgment of the District Court in United

States v. Ralph Ginzburg et al., 338 F. 2d 12 (Nov.

6, 1964). This opinion appears at R. 385a.

Summary of Argument.

i.

The public policy of the United States Supreme Court

has always championed the obscenity laws. Yet with all

of this case law support, the communities are being

inundated by a horde of obscenity which the law is not

reaching.

The prosecutors are claiming that they have no reme-

dy and that the Supreme Court stands too eager to re-

verse their successes, when they occur. Amicus do not

picture this to be the true situation.

This Court recognizes that the debasement of sex has

been with mankind down through the centuries and that

the obscenity laws are necessary for a strong commu-

nity life. The Roth-Alberts decision is testimony of the

fact that criminal penalties are authorized procedures

to regulate this type of conduct.

Most of the recent cases before this Court since 1957

have involved “previous restraint” controls, such as

movie licensing cases, search warrant procedures, the

right of the postmaster to refuse mail on the grounds

it is obscene, etc. Whereas an earlier Court in Near v.

Minnesota had indicated “previous restraint’? could

clearly be employed against obscene materials, this mod-

ern Court has restricted that interpretation considerably

by procedural rules. In doing so, a number of obscenity

judgments were reversed on procedural grounds, making

it appear that this Court was releasing the matter as

=

not being obscene. Such decisions have misled and dis-

couraged prosecutors.

In several cases the justices have been unable to agree

on an “Opinion of the Court.’”’ The theories of the case

set forth by the individual justices do not lead to an

orderly understanding of the law.

On the other hand, this Court has denied review in at

least 21 criminal cases which have come before it since

1957. These cases were without opinion and have not

been publicized. They are not generally known to the

individual prosecutors, who lose heart when they see all

losses and no victories.

Then too, some prosecutors do not recognize the dis-

tinction between criminal prosecutions and previous re-

straint cases. A favorable written opinion confirming

the trial court’s findings in this criminal case is essen-

tial to the people’s cause if we are to break the stalemate.

The prosecutors need a direct signal from the Court,

that they can retain their victories in criminal cases.

II.

Petitioners waived a jury at the outset and placed

their fate in the hands of the trial judge. They should

not be allowed to argue on appeal issues which would

not have been available to them had a jury tried the

matter.

The trial judge was receptive to all that the petition-

ers had to offer in the way of evidence. He was not

required to accept their theory of the case, in view of

ee | hen

the subject matter and conduct of the petitioners, which

spoke for itself.

If this Court, in its decision in Roth-Alberts actually

passed upon the obscenity vel non of such subject mat-

ter, that case should be controlling here, because of the

similarity of the material and operations of the peti-

tioners.

The trial court properly followed the Roth standards

in holding petitioners’ three publications obscene. Evi-

dence of the purpose of the publisher in regard to one

publication is probative as to his purpose in the other

two, ag acommon scheme or plan.

Redeeming social value is not determined in a vacuum,

but depends upon all of the circumstances. The variable

nature of obscenity requires this. The obscene portions

of the material must be balanced against its affirmative

values in determining the predominant appeal taken as a

whole.

a. ee

ARGUMENT.

I

An Integrated Review of the Obscenity Case Law.

A. Public Policy.

The public policy of this Court has always cham-

pioned the obscenity laws. See Rosen v. U. S., 161 U.S.

606 (1896),’ decided by the U.S. Supreme Court at

the turn of the century. This favored policy is not dif-

ficult of understanding. Central to our heritage is the ex-

pectation that our Courts should strive to preserve

our heritage and should not give scandal’ by tolerat-

ing anything which tends to debase public morals.

1Rosen attempted to escape a jury conviction on an obscenity

charge on a technicality. He sought his freedom on appeal, argu-

ing that, because the People had not described the obscenity in

their complaint (referred to by the court as “the record’’), he

had not been properly informed of the nature of the crime. United

States Supreme Court Justice John Marshall Harlan, grand-

father of the present United States Supreme Court Justice John

Marshall Harlan, rejected this plea out of hand and, in invoking

the unanimous rule of the courts at that time, drew from the

language of an earlier Massachusetts Supreme Court decision at

page 608:

“Tt can never be required that an obscene book and pic-

ture should be displayed upon the records of the court... .

This would be to require that the People itself should give

permanency and notoriety to indecency in order to pun-

ish it.”

His Massachusetts reference was the first recorded case in the

United States against a book, Commonwealth v. Holmes, (1821).

The book in the Massachusetts case was “Fanny Hill,” a cen-

tury and a half later to find its way before this Court in A

Book Names “John Cleland’s Memoirs of A Woman of Pleas-

ure’ v. Attorney General of Massachusetts, October Term, No.

368.

2Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, Fifth Edition, defines “scan-

dal” as “The distressing effect on others of unseemly or un-

righteous conduct; especially, an occasion of another’s lapse in

faith or morals as to give scandal to one’s children... 3. That

which offends established moral conceptions or disgraces all who

are associated or involved.” Tolerance of indecency, for any rea-

son, even for purposes of administration, had the undesirable ef-

fect of giving notoriety and acceptance to the material and dig-

nifying its appearance.

a

Less than 35 years ago this Court underscored this

same “favored position” of the obscenity laws when, in

Near v. Minnesota, 283 U.S. 697, 51 S. Ct. 625, 75 L.

Ed. 1357 (1931)* the members of that Court made it

clear that immunity from previous restraint did not

extend to obscene publications.

Eleven years later, not one member of the 1942 Court

entertained any doubt that the existence of obscenity

was contrary to the people’s abiding interest in good pub-

lic morals. Neither the prevention of publication (previ-

ous restraint) nor criminal punishment for dissemina-

tion raised any constitutional problems in their view. In

Chaplinsky v. New Hamphsire, 315 U.S. 568, 86 L.

Ed. 1031, 62 S. Ct. 766 (1942) that Court said at

page 571:

“|. There are certain well-defined and narrowly

limited classes of speech, the prevention and pun-

ishment of which have never been thought to raise

any Constitutional problem. These include the lewd

and obscene. . . . It has been well observed that

such utterances are no essential part of any exposi-

tion of ideas, and are of such slight social value

as a step to truth that any benefit that may be de-

rived from them is clearly outweighed by the so-

cial interest in order and morality. . . .”

3“The objection has . . . been made that the principle as to

immunity from previous restraint is stated too broadly, if every

such restraint is deemed to be prohibited. That is undoubtedly

true; the protection even as to previous restraint is not absolutely

unlimited. But the limitation has been recognized only in excep-

tional cases. ‘When a nation is at war many things that might be

said in time of peace are such a hindrance to its effort that

their utterance will not be endured so long as men fight and

that no Court could regard them as protected by any constitu-

tional right.’ Schenck v. United States, 249 U.S. 47, 52. No one

would question but that a government might prevent actual ob-

struction to its recruiting service or the publication of the sailing

dates of transports or the number and location of troops. On

similar grounds, the primary requirements of decency may be

enforced against obscene publications.” (Our emphasis. )

a

Ten years later, the majority of the members of the

1952 Court in Beauharnais v. Illinois, 343 U.S. 250,

72 S. Ct. 725, 96 L. Ed 919 (1952) agreed with the

Chaplinsky Court, adding:

“Certainly no one would contend that obscene

speech, for example, may be punished only upon a

showing of such circumstances (clear and present

danger)...”

When, five years later, in Roth v. U.S. and Alberts

v. California, 354 U.S. 476, 77 S. Ct. 1314, 1 L. Ed

2d, 1498 (June 24, 1957), this present Court was faced

with a broadside attack on the statutes guarding pub-

lic decency, seven members of this modern court stood

firm and enunciated a solid distaste for obscenity. Rosen

v. U.S. (supra), Near v. Minnesota (supra), Chaplin-

ski v. New Hampshire (supra), and Beauharnais v. II-

linois (supra) were all confirmed. The language of

Rosen was cited with approval. Everyone was charged

with notice of what must be deemed obscene. The Roth-

Alberts majority opinion placed emphasis on the lan-

guage of Chaplinski noted above. Obscene utterances

were of such slight social value as a step to truth that

any benefit to be derived from them was clearly out-

weighed by the social interest in order and morality.

The above language of the Beauharnais Court was cited

with approval. No one could contend that obscene speech

could be punished only upon a showing of a clear and

present danger.

Under such a regime, it did appear as though the

communities had the proper defense mechanisms and the

modern assault on public morality could easily be turned

back.

=

Yet with all this unanimity, elegance of language, and

profuseness of citation to buttress the foundations of

our anti-obscenity fortresses, the stockades are present-

ly in danger of collapsing for lack of riflemen, abetted

by confusion. The communities of this nation, eight

years later, find themselves with a horde of filth, print-

ed, visual, vocal and otherwise, of unprecedented force,

threatening to erode the very foundations of the basic

morality upon which our nation and our Constitution

were founded.* In the face of this peril the public prose-

**A tide of printed filth is advancing across the land in a

way which should give every whviesome-thinking person cause

to wonder whether it may not erode the very foundations of the

basic morality upon which our nation and our Constitution were

founded.

In bookstores, railroad stations, air terminals, drug stores,

everywhere that print is displayed and pictures revealed, there

stand pyramids of smut, pornography and obscenicy contaminat-

ing the very air in which they rest. Language which would be

too raw and grating for the dives of cpitim-smoking debauchees

degrades and defaces the paper which carries it.

Magazines with pictures and sketches that would disgrace

oriental harems are sold to children as if they were as innocuous

as bags of popcorn. Exotic rites that would bring the blush of

shame to the faces of the most primitive tribes are described

with nonchalance in high-priced books, medium-priced books,

and low-priced books. Themes which should be the subject only

for clinical studies in the hospitals for the criminal insane are

turned into scarifying stories which are bound to bring harm to

the youths into whose hands they fall.

Acts of degeneracy and unnatural conduct are being portrayed

in contemporary literature as if they were normal and accepted

practice in civilized life. Adultery and every other type of ill

and sinful conduct is being depicted glamorously, as if calling for

* emulation.

The healthful, romantic, and poetic relationship between man

and woman is being treated in the basest and most animalistic

terms.

Under the false guise of instruction and knowledge, so-called

manuals on marriage are being turned out in myriads of copies

for the sole purpose of appealing to prurient and lascivious minds.

The sick outpourings of degenerate brains are being bound in

hardback books and paperback books and sometimes in elegant and

expensive leather. Titles and cover pictures which in themselves

a

cutor bleats that he has no remedy and that it is useless

to prosecute, since the Supreme Court will reverse the

jury’s findings.

CDL is at complete odds with such ideology. Unlike

our knowledge of outer space, which is increasing in ge-

ometric proportions through discoveries in space explo-

rations, our knowledge of sex is profound, for sex has

been with us since the beginning of mankind. As to the

sexual relation, it can be said, with some degree of

truth, that there is “nothing new under the sun.” Simi-

larly, the assault which has as its objective the debase-

ment of sex has been with mankind down through the

centuries. That which motivates the pornographer, in

1965, motivated John Cleland two centuries earlier. Rec-

ognition of the universal need for strong community

are suggestive, pornographic, indecent and obscene shout their vul-

garity to passersby.

it used to be that pornographic literature, to the extent that

it existed, was sold clandestinely. The secrecy and the furtive-

ness with which it was sold and circulated was an indication

that the public looked upon it as something improper and not

in consonance with the morals of the community. But now the

most salacious books, the most degrading publications are sold in

book stores, drug stores, five and ten cent stores, and at the

newsstands. It is difficult to think of a place where print appears

that one’s eyes and spirit will not be assailed by pornography

of the vilest character.

In short, a wide river of filth is sweeping across the nation,

befouling its shores and spreading over the land its nauseating

stench. But, what is most disturbing of all, is that persons,

whose noses should be particularly sensitive to this olfactory as-

sault, do not smell it at all. I refer to district attorneys and prose-

cuting officers throughout the nation. Of course, there are a large

number of district attorneys in the country who are doing their

duty and doing it well, but a larger number of prosecuting of-

ficials are shrugging unconcerned shoulders at this violent as-

sault on law, morality and decency.”

. . . From an address given by Associate Justice Michael

A. Musmanno of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court at

the Waldorf-Astoria New York City on October 23, 1965.

a

controls in this modern era has amply been witnessed

by this Court in Roth-Alberts when it said at page

484:

“But implicit in the history of the First Amend-

ment is the rejection of obscenity as utterly with-

out redeeming social importance. This rejection for

that reason is mirrored in the universal judgment

that obscenity should be restrained, reflected in the

international agreement of over 50 nations, in the

obscenity laws of all of the 48 states, and in the

20 obscenity laws enacted by the Congress trom

1942 to 1956... .”

Nevertheless, there is, in our opinion, a crisis facing this

nation which requires the members of this Court to bear

witness through concrete action and to drive home, once

and for all, the basic fact, which is escaping so many

at the present time, that this Court really has not, in

its decisions since Roth-Alberts underwritten the sale of

“perversion for profit.”

If we understand correctly what has occurred in the

ensuing years since Roth-Alberts, this Court has not

altered the basic position taken by it in those cases;

namely that criminal cases which applied the proper

standard for judging obscenity, did not offend constitu-

tional privileges. This Court held at page 492:

“In summary then, we hold that these statutes, ap-

plied according to the proper standards for judging

obscenity, do not offend constitutional safeguards

against convictions based upon protected material,

or fail to give men in acting adequate notice of

what is prohibited. .. .’”’ (Our emphasis).

— =

B. The Problem of Previous Restraint Cases.

Unfortunately, a line of cases followed which enjoyed

in common the element of previous restraint,’ a factor

not present in the Roth and Alberts cases, which author-

ized criminal penalties as the just consequences of the

defendants’ temerous conduct. This Court did not react

as favorably to this new issue as the earlier Courts in

Near v. Minnesota (supra) which had excluded pre-

vious restraint controls in the case of obscene publica-

tions from the operation of the Blackstone rule, which

held that: .

“The liberty of the press is indeed essential to the

5Previous (prior) restraint was a major issue in each of the

following: Tunes Film Corporation v. City of Chicago, 355

U.S. 35, 78 S. Ct. 115, 2 L. Ed. 2d 72 (1957) (Movie li-

cense—no opinion), reversing 244 F. 2d 432 (7th Cir. 1957)

and 139 F. Supp. 837 (1956); Mounce v. U. S., 355 U.S. 180,

2 L. Ed. 2d 187 (1957) (customs case—no opinion), reversing

247 F. 2d 148 (9th Cir. 1957) and 134 F. Supp. 490 (1955);

One Inc. v. Olesen, 355 U.S. 371, 78 S. Ct. 364, 2 L. Ed. 2d

352 (1958) (right to deposit mail—no opinion) reversing 241

F. 2d 772 (9th Cir. 1957); Sunshine Book Co. v. Summerfield,

355 U.S. 372, 78 S. Ct. 365, 2 L. Ed. 2d 352 (1958) (right

to deposit mail—no opinion) reversing 249 F. 2d 114 (D.C.

Circuit 1957) and 128 F. Supp. 564 (1955); Times Film Corp.

v. City of Chicago, 365 U.S. 43, 81 S. Ct. 391, 5 L. Ed. 2d

403 (Jan. 23, 1961) (movie license) reversing 272 F. 2d 90

(7th Cir. 1959) and 180 F. Supp. 843 (1959); Marcus v.

Kansas City Search Warrants, 367 U.S. 717, 81 S. Ct. 1708,

6 L. Ed. 2d 1127 (June 19, 1961) (Seizure), reversing 344

S.W. 2d 119 (1960); Manual Enterprises Inc. v. Day, 370 U.S.

478, 82 S. Ct. 1432, 8 L. Ed. 2d 639 (June 25, 1962) (right

to deposit mail), reversing 289 F. 2d 455 (D.C. Circuit 1961)

Bantam Books Inc. v. Sullivan, 372 U.S. 58, 83 S. Ct. 631,

9 L. Ed. 2d 584 (Feb. 18, 1963) (Warnings) reversing 176

A. 2d 393; A Quantity of Books v. Kansas, 378 U.S. 205,

84 S. Ct. 1723, 12 L. Ed. 2d 809 (June 22, 1964) (Seizure),

reversing 191 Kan. 13, 379 P. 2d 254 (1963); Freeman v. Mary-

land, 380 U.S. 51, 85 S. Ct. 734, 13 L. Ed. 2d 649 (Mar.

1, 1965) (Movie license), reversing 233 Md. 458, 197 A. 2d

232 (1964); Trans-Lux Distributing Corp. v. Board of Regents

of the University of New York, 380 U.S. 259, 85 S. Ct. 952,

13 L. Ed. 2d 959 (1965) (movie license—no opinion).

~~ =

nature of a free state; but this consists in laying

no previous restraints upon publications, and not in

freedom from censure for criminal matter when

published. Every free man has an undoubted right

to lay what sentiments he pleases before the pub-

lic; to forbid this, is to destroy the freedom of the

press; but if he publishes what is improper, mis-

chievous or illegal, he must take the consequence of

his own temerity” 4 Bl. Com. 151, 152.

The cloud of confusion which was to appear was fore-

case in Kingsley Book Inc. v. Brown, 354 U.S. 436, 77

S. Ct. 1325, 1 L. Ed. 2d 1469 (June 24, 1957), decided

on the same day with Roth-Alberts. In that case, this

Court split five-to-four in approving the New York in-

junctive action which authorized limited previous re-

straint. It was here that Justice Brennan and Warren

parted compar with the majority in the Rotk and the

earlier Courts.

The confusion and disruption commenced one year

later with the per curiam reversals without opinion in

the Times Film Corporation, One Inc., and Sunshine

Book Co. cases* (cited in footnote 5). Later written

®For example, the claim is widespread that Sunshine Book Com-

pany stands for the proposition that nudist magazines are not

obscene, no matter what may be the publisher’s or disseminator’s

intent, the format, method of distribution, policy of the state

etc. See here the recent result in Connecticut v. Martin et al.

(June 17, 1965), where the Appellate Division of the Circuit

Court reversed (2-1) an extremely well reasoned trial court

opinion, solely upon the basis of the Sunshine Book Co. case.

We believe such claim to be utterly groundless. See Outdoor Amer-

ican Corporation v. City of Philadelphia, 333 F. 2d 1963 (June

30, 1964) certiorari denied 85 S. Ct. 192, 13 L. Ed. 2d 176

(Nov. 9, 1964); Luros v. Hanson, petition for certiorari filed

Sept. 27, 1965, Oct. Term, 1965 No. 620; Hadley v. Arkansas,

205 Ark. 1027, 172 S.W. 2d 237 (1943); King v. Common-

wealth, 233 S.W. 2d 522 (Oct. 20, 1950); Missouri v. Becker,

364 Mo. 1079, 272 S.W. 2d 283 (1954), cited with approval in

i,

cull

opinions in Marcus, Manual Enterprises, Inc. and A

Quantity of Books gave specific recognition to the fact

that the obscenity issue was not reached in this Court’s

reversals of those lower Court judgments on previous

restraint grounds. What factor the previous restraint

element played in the 1958 decisions will never be

known.’ Subsequent opinions have revealed a common

disagreement between the justices on what constitutes

the vital phase of the case. See the No Clear Majority

Decisions, infra. Then too, the Court’s membership has

changed.*

As breeding grounds, the 1958 per curiam reversals

acted with catalytic action to spawn the “hard core por-

nography” rule in one of the major centers of porno-

praphic production in the United States. New York v.

Richmond County News Co., 175 N.E. 2d 681 (May 25,

Roth-Alberts at footnote 26; Sunshine Publishing Co. v. George

N. Parris (unreported, Circuit Court, Macomb County April 29,

1963); Nebraska v. Jungclaus, 176 Neb. 641, 126 N.W. 2d

858 (Mar. 13, 1964); Dale Book Co. v. Leary, 233 F. Supp.

754 (Aug. 12, 1964); City of Phoenix v. Fine (unreported, Su-

perior Court Maricopa County, Arizona (Jan. 22, 1965) ; Missouri

v. Vollmar, 389 S.W. 2d 20 (Mar. 8, 1965); Virginia v. Dave

Rosenbloom (unreported, Suffolk County, Richmond, Virginia,

June 10, 1965); Arizona v. Arizona Magazine Distributors Inc.

(unreported, West Phoenix Justice Court, Maricopa County,

(Aug. 26, 1965) ; Arizona v. Al Sacks (unreported, West Phoenix

Justice Court, Maricopa County (Sept. 1, 1965).

7The per curiam decisions are criticized in “Obscenity, Pornog-

raphy and Censorship by Thomas R. Mulroy of the Illinois Bar

in 49 American Bar Association Journal (Sept. 1963) at 869.

The author cites Justice Jackson’s remarks on the empirical

reversal of a case without opinion in Brownell v. Singer, 347 U.S.

403 (1954):

“The Court’s one-word decision reverses concurring judg-

ments of three highly respected courts . . . (by citing) a

single case. . . . I think this Court owed those Courts and

the legal profession something more than reference to an

inapplicable decision.”

SJustices Frankfurter, Whittaker and Burton have been re-

placed by Justices Fortas, White and Stewart.

par” ae

1961.) Abetted by a misconstruction of the no clear

majority opinion decision in the Manual Enterprises

Inc. case and a misapplication of the special view enter-

tained by Justice Harlan in federal cases, the “hard core

pornography” rule spread to the other major centers of

pornographic production. Zeitlin v. Arnebergh, 59 Cal.

2d 901, 31 Cal. Rptr. 800 (July 2, 1963).”

C. The No Clear Majority Decisions.

The common disagreement between the justices has

given birth to a number of “no clear majority” deci-

sions which confound and confuse.’ Manual Enter-

°There is reason to believe that had Justice Desmond recog-

nized the significance of the previous restraint issue in the 19

cases, his deciding vote would have been cast differently and the

minority in that case would have prevailed. See Justice Des-

mond’s concurring opinion in the Richmond County News Co.

case, his concurring opinion in People v. Fritch, 13 N.Y. 2d

119 (June 10, 1963), and his dissenting opinions in Larkin

v. G. 1. Distributors Inc., 14 N.Y. 2d 869 (June 10, 1964) ;

Larkin v. G. P. Putnam’s Sons, 14 N.Y. 2d 399 (July 10,

1964) ; People v. The Bookcase Inc, et al., 14 N.Y. 2d 409 (July

10, 1964).

That the California Supreme Court misinterpreted the Har-

lan view seems apparent from Justice Harlan’s vote to deny cer-

tiorari in Grove Press Inc. v. Gerstein, 378 U.S. 577 (June

22, 1964), a state case. The language of the Zeitlin case sug-

gests however, that the author would have come by the same

result no matter how he chose to interpret Justice Harlan’s opin-

ion in the Manual Enterprises case.

1QOne of the basic postulates of the American case law system

is that the decision of a majority determines the result, and an

“opinion of the court” is written expressing the reasoning agreed

upon by the majority. When a majority agree on the result, the

decision is final as between the litigants. When a majority agree

in the reasoning for the result, the opinion which expresses this

reasoning is called the “opinion of the court.” If a majority agree

on the result, but do not agree in the reasoning for the result,

there is no “opinion of the court,” even though the controversy

is ended as between the parties to the lawsuit.

The decision plus the reasoning found in the “opinion of the

court” determine the precedent value of any particular case. In ~

many obscenity cases, however, there has been no “opinion of

Mahe A

par

prises Inc. v. Day, 370 U.S. 478, 82 S. Ct. 1432, 8 L.

Ed. 2d 639 (1962); Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U.S. 184,

84S. Ct. 1676, 12 L. Ed. 2d 793 (1964) ; A Quantity of

Books v. Kansas, 378 U.S. 205, 84 S. Ct. 1723, 12 L.

Eu. <d 809 (1964); Grove Press Inc. v. Gerstein, 378

U.S. 577, 84 S. Ct. 1909, 12 L. Ed. 2d 1035 (1964);

Tralins v. Gerstein, 378 U.S. 576, 84 S. Ct. 1903, 12 L.

Ed. 2d 1033 (1964). The order in appearance of an

opinion, rather than solid precedent, often controls the

destiny of the people’s defenses against the assaults on

public morality.”

the court,” as where the majority have agreed only upon the re-

sult, (i.e., judgment reversed) but have not been able to agree

upon the supporting reasoning.

Text books on judicial precedent indicates that theoretically

the “no-clear-majority” decision stands only for its general result.

See Wambaugh, The Study of Cases (Second Edition, 1894), at

e 50:

1c “Even when all the judges concur in the result, the value

of the case as an authority may be diminished and almost

wholly destroyed by the fact that the reasons given by the

several judges differ materially. . . . “There must be a con-

currence of a majority of the judges upon the principles,

rules of law, announced in the case, before they can be con-

sidered settled by a decision. If the court is equally divided

or less than a majority concur in a rule, no one will claim that

it has the force of the authority of the court.’ ”

See also Black, Handbook of Judicial Precedent (1912), pages

135-136:

“Tf all or a majority of the judges concur in the result .. .

but differ as to the reasons which lead them to this con-

clusion, the case is not an authority except upon the general

result.”

The confusion of the State courts as to what is taking place

in the United States Supreme Court is spotlighted in Arizona v.

Locks, 97 Ariz. 148, 397 P. 2d 949 (Dec. 30, 1964). That

court said, in error, at page 951:

“This was followed by Manual Enterprises Inc. v. Day,

370 U.S. 478 . . . holding the publication of photographs

of nude male figures designed to appeal to homosexuals not

to be so obscene as to lose the protection of the First Amend-

ment. (Our emphasis).”

The Arizona Supreme Court’s reversal of a jury decision on

girlie magazine subject matter was based largely on a compari-

a ee

D. A Major National Problem.

In the absence of knowledgeable defending riflemen,

compounded by the confusion, those well-buttressed for-

tresses are being subjected to a withering attack. On

October 21, 1965, the Los Angeles County Grand Jury

returned a two count indictment against 14 defendants

in California v. Milton Luros, et al., Superior Court

case No. 295,183, for conspiracy to manufacture and

distribute girlie magazines, nudest magazines and nine

lesbian-type paperback books (including Fanny Hill).

On February 15, 1965, the count covering the girlie

and nudist magazines was dismissed without trial in a

pre-trial motion to dismiss the indictment. Superior

Court Judge Walter R. Evans, in dismissing, had this

to say:

“In view of the time I have had to study it, I

have found it extremely interesting, but absolutely

amazing. I was concerned as to the extent to which

the United States Supreme Court—I am very

frank to say, and I think I am entitled to say

it, that I disagree wholeheartedly with the United

States Supreme Court cases. I think the so-called

founding fathers who promulgated our Constitution

probably would turn over in their graves if they saw

the extent to which the United States Supreme

Court has stretched the protection to this type of

material which to me, has no value to anybody.

However, that is my personal position. I want to get

that off my chest. I think there is nothing but filth

from beginning to end in this material. However,

son with this erroneous reference and belief that Justice Harlan’s

opinion was the opinion of the Court. The Arizona Court had in-

dicated a different view on the subject matter when the case

was before it previously in 372 P. 2d 724 (June 20, 1962)

and 382 P. 2d 241 (May 25, 1963).

en

a

tixat is my personal opinion, and I think that counsel

pointed out that I still have an obligation to follow

what I think are the rules laid down by the United

States Supreme Court. I was interested in reading

one oy the learned justices who said that maybe

some day the balance will start swinging back where

honesty and decency would start entering into a con-

sideration of this thing. I hope it will.”

He thought eight of the lesbian-type paperbacks (but

strangely, not Fanny Hill) a jury issue, and Count 2

was set for trial. The people’s action was short lived

however. Although both the District Court of Appeal

and the California Supreme Court thereafter refused the

defendants a writ of prohibition on the count involving

the lesbian-type paperback books, Trial Judge Joseph

Sprankle dismissed the case, without trial on June 14,

1965. The books’ titles, Lesbian Sin Song, Two Women

in Love, Counterfeit Lesbian, Lesbian Captive, Les-

bians in White, The Girls at Wendy’s, The Three Way

Apartment and Honey Lips, sung out the perversion

they peddled.

In another action by the people-—this time against a

notorious national disseminator located in New York—

a criminal obscenity indictment was short-circuited by

trial judge J. Irwin Shapiro, when he dismissed New

York v. Ray Kirk, Birch, All State News Co. Inc., et

al., 40 Misc. 2d 626, 243 N.Y.S. 2d 525 (Sept. 6, 1963)

without trial. In so holding, Judge Shapiro refused

to follow controlling precedent in his state, for one of

the books supporting the indictment had already been

held obscene by New York’s highest court in New York

v. Harry Fried, 18 A. 2d 996, 238 N.Y.S. 2d 742 (Mar.

26, 1963). Appeal dismissed for want of jurisdiction.

—45—

Treating the paper whereon the appeal was taken as a

petition for writ of certiorari, certiorari is denied (Jus-

tice Black, Douglas and Stewart are of the opinion

probable jurisdiction should be voted and judgment re-

versed 378 U.S. 578, 84 S. Ct. 1904, 12 L. Ed. 2d

1033 (June 22, 1964).”

E. A Problem of Communication.

The confused results reached in the lower courts

noted above does not seem warranted to CDL, when one

considers the overwhelming weight of case law in the

opposite direction. The key to an awakening of law en-

forcement seems bound up in the remarks of Chief

Justice Warren in Jacobellis v. Ohio (supra) at page

1684:

“. . This Court hears cases such as the instant

one not merely to rule upon the alleged obscenity

13Federal courts are equally confused. See United States v.

Klaw and Jack Kramer, 350 F. 2d 155 (2nd Circuit July 15,

1965) and Haldeman v. U.S., 340 F. 2d 59, 62 at fn. 6 (10th

Cir. Jan. 13, 1965):

“Mr. Justice Stewart, concurring in Jacobellis, declined to de-

fine the term ‘hard-core pornography,’ but stated: ‘I know

it when I see it . . .. The writer of this opinion has also

felt that he would ‘know it when he saw it’ but a reading of

some of the published material held to be constitutionally pro-

tected tends to raise doubts regarding one’s perceptive abili-

ties in such matters...”

When District Judge George Templar found himself reversed

as the trial judge in the Haldeman case, he turned around and

dismissed two major federal grand jury indictments against na-

tionally notorious smut peddlers: Louis Linetsky aka John Am-

slow & Co. in United States v. Linetsky, No. T-CR 582 (D.C.

Kansas) (June 24, 1965) and an equally notorious smut mer-

chant in United States v. Wasserman (D.C. Kansas) No. T-CR-

581 (June 29, 1965). The former involved girlie magazines

and illustrations of females in the nude and the latter involved

motion picture films, compare these results with Roth-Alberts

(supra); Frank L. Collier v. U.S. (infra) ; Herman L. Womack

v. U.S. (infra); Chobot v. Wisc. (infra); Roy A. Oakley v.

U.S. (infra) Monfred v. Maryland (infra); Heinecke v. U.S.

(infra) ; Goldstein v. Virginia (infra); Wensler and Imlay v.

Calif. (infra).

ak se te AL AE Be

—

of a specific film or book but to establish principles

for the guidance of lower courts and legislatures.

Yet most of our decisions since Roth have been

given without opinion and have thus failed to fur-

nish such guidance... .” (our emphasis).

With the exception of the four per curiam decisions

in 1958, the only obscenity decisions since Roth-Al-

berts which have been without opinion, were those in

which this Court has dismissed an appeal or denied cer-

tiorari. This Court should call attention to these deci-

sions denying certiorari and dismissing appeals. In so

far as we have been able to ascertain they are 21 in

number :

John G. Matthews v. Florida, writ of certiorari

denied 356 U.S. 918, 78 S. Ct. 702, 2 L. Ed.

2d 714 (March 31, 1958), notwithstanding

the similarity of the statute to the Michigan

Statute in Butler v. Mich., 352 U.S. 80;

Wyman Hulan Parr v. U.S. (film), 255 F. 2d

86, writ of certiorari denied 358 U.S. 824, 79

S. Ct. 40, 3 L. Ed. 2d 64 (Oct. 13, 1958);

Max Padell v. U.S. (paperback books), 262 F.

2d 357, writ of certiorari denied 359 U.S. 942

79 S. Ct. 723, 3 L. Ed. 2d 676 (March 23,

1959) ;

Robert H. Cain v. U.S., 274 F. 2d 598, writ of

certiorari denied 362 U.S. 952, 80 S. Ct. 864,

4L. Ed. 2d 869 ( April 18, 1960) ;

Samuel R. Hochman v. U.S. (paperback books:

“The Sex Factory” and “Virgins Come High”)

277 F. 2d 631, writ of certiorari denied (Jus-

tices Black and Douglas voted to grant cer-

tiorari) 364 U.S. 837, 81 S. Ct. 70, 5 L.

_—

Ed. 2d 61 (Oct. 10, 1960) rehearing denied,

364 U.S. 906, 81 S. Ct. 231, 5 L. Ed.

2d 199 (Nov. 21, 1960) ;

Frank L. Collier v. U.S. (photographs of nude

young men) 283 F. 2d 780, writ of certiorari

denied 365 U.S. 833, 81 S. Ct. 746, 5 L.

Ed. 2d 744 (March 6, 1961) ;

Herman Womack v. U.S. (photographs of nude

young men) 294 F. 2d 204, writ of cer-

tiorari denied 365 U.S. 859, 81 S. Ct. 826, 5

L. Ed. 2d 822 (March 27, 1961);

Astore v. U.S. (film) 288 F. 2d 26, writ of

certiorari denied, 366 U.S. 925, 81 S. Ct. 1352,

6 L. Ed. 2d 384 (May 15, 1961);

Joseph Chobot v. Wisconsin (girlie magazines:

“Spice” “Adam” “Spree” and “Blondes, Bru-

nettes, and Redheads”) 12 Wis. 2d 110, 106

N.W. 2d 286, appeal dismissed for lack of a

federal question (Justices Black, Douglas and

Harlan voted for probable jurisdiction), 368

U.S. 15, 82 S. Ct. 136, 7 L. Ed. 2d 85 (Oct.

23, 1961) rehearing denied 368 U.S. 936,

82 S. Ct. 358, 7 L. Ed. 2d 198 (Dec. 4,

1961) ;

Roy A. Oakley v. U. S. (unretouched photo-

graphs of naked young women) 290 F. 2d 517,

writ of certiorari denied 368 U.S. 888, 82 S.

Ct. 139, 7 L. Ed. 2d 87 (Oct. 23, 1961) re-

hearing denied, 368 U.S. 936, 82 S. Ct. 358,

7 L. Ed. 2d 198 (Dec. 4, 1961) ;

Harry Monfred et al. v. Maryland (girlie maga-

zines: “Candid” “Consort” “Sextet” “Cloud 9”

“Torrid”), 226 Md. 312, 173 A. 2d 173, writ

ae

of certiorari denied 368 U.S. 953, 82 S. Ct.

395, 7 L. Ed. 2d 386 (Jan. 8, 1962) ;

Alfred J. Heinecke v. U.S. (Photographs of nude

young men—similar to U.S. v. Womack) 294

F. 2d 727, writ of certiorari denied (Justices

Black and Douglas voted to grant certiorari),

368 U.S. 901, 82 S. Ct. 173, 7 L. Ed. 2d 96

(Nov. 6, 1961) ;

Harold S. Kahm v. U.S. (for description of sub-

ject matter, see 300 F. 2d 78 at 82), 300 F.

2d 78, writ of certiorari denied 369 USS.

859, 82 S. Ct. 949, 8 L. Ed. 2d 18 (April

23, 1962) ;

Louis Finkelstein et al. v. New York (paper-

back books: “Garden of Evil” and “Queen

Bee’), 229 N.Y.S. 2d 367, 183 N.E. 2d 661

writ of certiorari denied (Justice Douglas voted

to grant certiorari), 371 U.S. 863, 83 S. Ct.

116, 9 L. Ed. 2d 100 (Oct. 15, 1962) ;

Harold Zucker v. New York (3 sado-masochis-

tic books similar to 50 books involved in New

York v. Mishkin, also before this court), writ

of certiorari denied (Justice Douglas voted to

grant certiorari) 371 U.S. 863, 83 S. Ct. 116,

9 L. Ed. 2d 100 (Oct. 15, 1962) ;

Arthur Goldstein v. Virginia (girlie magazines)

writ of certiorari denied 372 U.S. 910, 83 S.

Ct. 726, 9 L. Ed. 2d 720 (Feb. 18, 1963) ;

Edward Mishkin v. U.S. (books not named), 317

F. 2d 634, writ of certiorari denied 375 U.S.

827, 84 S. Ct. 71, 11 L. Ed. 2d 60 (Oct. 14,

1963) ;

—49__

John Darnell, III, v. U.S. (obscene letter), 316

F. 2d 813, writ of certiorari denied (Justice

Douglas voted to grant certiorari), 375 U.S.

916, 84 S. Ct. 205, 11 L. Ed. 2d 155 (Nov.

12, 1963), rehearing denied, 375 U.S. 982, 84

S. Ct. 493, 11 L. Ed. 2d 429 (Jan. 6, 1964);

Nirvana Ward Zuideveld v. U.S., 316 F. 2d 873,

writ of certiorari denied, 376 U.S. 916, 84 S.

Ct. 671, 11 L. Ed. 2d 612 (Feb. 17, 1964) ;

Harry Fried v. New York (paperback books:

“College for Sinners” ‘Sex Cat” and seminude

photographs of women), 238 N.Y.S. 2d 742,

appeal dismissed for lack of jurisdiction.

Treating the papers wherein the appeal was

taken as a petition for writ of certiorari, cer-

tiorari is denied (Justices Biack, Douglas and

Stewart are of the opinion that probable juris-

diction should be noted and judgment re-

versed), 378 U.S. 578, 84 S. Ct. 1904, 12 L.

Ed. 2d 1033 (June 26, 1964) ;

Samuel Dodd Williamson v. California (paper-

back book: “Fear of Incest’), 207 Cal. App.

2d 839, 24 Cal. Rptr. 734, writ of certiorari

denied (Justice Doulas voted to grant cer-

tiorari), 377 U.S. 994, 84 S. Ct. 1902, 12 L.

Ed. 2d 1047 (June 22, 1964), rehearing de-

nied .... U.S. ...., 85 S. Ct. 13, 13 L. Ed. 2d

77 (Oct. 12, 1964) ;

Harold Eugene Wensler, Sr., and John Imlay v.

California (8 mm movie, 12 minutes—“First

Fling” described as girlie magazine subjects in

motion) writ of certiorari denied (Justice

ill

Douglas voted to grant certiorari), 377 US.

994, 84 S. Ct, 1902, 12 L. Ed. 2d 1047 (June

22, 1964), rehearing denied, .... U.S. ...., 85 S.

Ct. 14, 13 L. Ed. 2d 77 (Oct. 12, 1964).

There is rarely any mention made in a trial court or

in a State Supreme Court of any of the criminal con-

victions, which this Court has refused to reverse, or the

obscene matter involved in those cases. The rare ex-

ception is Connecticut v. Andrews, 150 Conn. 92, 186

A. 2d 546 (1962), which, in answer to the defendant’s

claim that the girlie magazines “Modern Man” (July

1960) and “Modern Man—Yearbook of Queens” were

not obscene, said:

“The defendant’s claim that there were no ob-

scene magazines to support his conviction on the

first and second counts is without merit. Monfred

v. State, 226 Md. 312, 317, 173 A. 2d 173, Cert.

denied, 368 U.S. 953, 82 S. Ct. 395, 7 L. Ed. 2

386; State v. Chobot, 12 Wisc. 2, 110, 116, 106

NW2 286, dismissed, for lack of a substantial fed-

eral question, 368 U.S. 15, 82 S. Ct. 136, 7 L. Ed2

Sep

The end result it that the people’s cause suffers.

The bad cases are highlighted and the good cases go

unnoticed.

The Connecticut Supreme Court has recognized what

in our opinion appears to be good logic and good law

if the United States Supreme Court must, in each in-

stance make a constitutional judgment as to whether any

given subject matter is either, as a matter of law, pro-

tected speech; or a question of fact on the issue of ob-

scenity, for the jury to decide, then a denial of review .

—51—~

(either by dismissal of an appeal or by denial of cer-

tiorari) places the material in the latter category.”*

F. Reconciling the Cases.

When the obscenity statutes have been applied as

criminal statutes trying “conduct,” the People’s case has

met with no opposition from the United States Su-

preme Court, except in the case of Jacobellis v. Ohio,

378 U.S. 184, 84 S. Ct. 1674. Unfortunately, the United

States Supreme Court has failed to publicize such

results by way of formal opinion.

Justice Warren, in his dissenting opinion, in Jacob-

ellis v. Ohio, 84 S. Ct. 1674 (June 22, 1964), makes it

clear that this Court is not defending obscenity, but that

it only appears to do so when it is faced with proce-

durally bad cases, at page 1685:

“There has been some tendency in dealing with this

area of the law for enforcement agencies to do only

that which is easy to do— for instance, to seize

and destroy books with only a minimum of protec-

tion. As a result, courts are often presented with

procedurally bad cases and, in dealing with them,

appear to be acquiescing in the dissemination of ob-

scenity. But if cases were well prepared and were

conducted with the appropriate concern for consti-

tutional safeguards, courts would not hesitate to

enforce the laws against obscenity.”

MThe general rule of law that denial of certiorari means

“nothing” or “nothing much,” would seem to have little applica-

tion in free speech cases. See Supreme Court Practice, 3rd Ed.,

Stern and Gressman, P. 182, where the authors discuss this

point in writs of habeas corpus cases.

Our analysis points to a major point of distinction between

those cases which draw into issue the conduct of an individual

and those which involve “prior restraint.”” The final results have

certainly been distinguishable. The seven year history points to

a course of conduct which has meaning.

—

The “procedurally bad cases’ referred to by Justice

Warren were not criminal cases involving “conduct” but

were the cases cited in footnote 5, involving “prior re-

straint.” Where difficulty has been encountered, it has

been in the area of “prior restraint” by administrative

officials (motion picture censor boards and Postmaster

cases and mass seizures under search warrants). “Due

process” considerations were a major issue in such

cases. See here, the four Per Curiam decisions in 1958

(prior restraint—no jury trial on the issue of obscenity;

material kept from mails in preference to criminal trial

for disseminating obscene material, vendor required to

prove his right to distribute by injunctive action) ; Mar-

cus v. Kansas City Search Warrants, 367 U.S. 717,

(prior restraint—mass seizure under general search

warrant, non-criminal proceeding aimed at destruction

of subject matter rather than at conduct of vendor);

Bantam Books, Inc. v. Sullivan, 372 U.S. 48 (prior re-

straint—boycott, rather than criminal trial of vendor);

Manual Enterprises, Inc. v. Day, 370 U.S. 478 (prior

restraint—material kept from mails in preference to

criminal trial for disseminating obscene material, vendor

required to prove right to distribute by bringing an in-

junctive action); A Quantity of Books v. Kansas, 84 S.

Ct. 1723 (prior restraint—mass seizure, non-criminal

proceedings aimed at destruction of subject matter, ra-

ther than at conduct of vendor, no right to jury trial on

issue of obscenity). Freedman v. Maryland, 380 U.S.

51 (prior restraint—movie censor board, exhibitor re-

quired to prove his right to exhibit by injunctive action) ;

Trans-Lux Distributing Corp. v. Board of Regents of

New York, 380 U.S. 259 (prior restraint—movie cen-

sor board, exhibitor required to prove his right to ex-

hibit by injunctive action).

adie

In all of these cases, the People could have brought

the criminal action and held the defendant accountable

for his “conduct” (with the procedural safeguards of

criminal procedure, 1.e., jury trial and burden of proof)

and avoided the prior restraint issue. They chose the

“prior restraint” attack in preference, unaware that

this Court’s policy was to give Near v. Minnesota as

narrow a construction as possible. Unfortunately, the

disinterested prosecutor pictured above, at this late date,

is unaware of this basic distinction in the case law.

Furthermore, he is unwilling to pursue the distinction,

though convinced by logic, without a more direct signal

from this Court.

It appears symbolic therefore that, in this climate of

stalemate, petitioners Ginzburg, et ai. and Mishkin

should now find themselves before this Court at the

same time in criminal cases. Their respective operations

are as unto Roth and Alberts as peas in a pod.”

This Court must now decide if it meant what it said

when it put pornographers Roth and Alberts out of

business in 1957.

The reporter’s comments in the American Law Institute,

Model Penal Code (1957 draft) section 207.10 at page 14 de-

scribes the obscenity offense :

“The gist of the offense we envision, therefore, is a

kind of ‘pandering’ ”

which accurately discribes their separate activities. At page 13,

the reporter comments:

“The main purpose of Section 207.10 is to suppress com-

merce in the obscene. If production and circulation of ob-

scene material for gain can be eliminated, the supply would

be cut off at the source... .”

epithet OAR GARETT I ENTIAL CH ne

en

II.

This Court Should Affirm the Judgment.

A. Introduction.

One should bear in mind at the outset that this is not

the case of a defendant who has been’ deprived of a

right to trial by a jury of his peers in the*tommunity

in which the crime occurred. Under the Federal Stat-

ute, of which the Petitioners stand convicted, they had a

clear right to a trial by 12 jurors and the benefit of

the burden of proof in criminal cases, which requires the

prosecutor to prove to each and every one of these 12

jurors, that the defendant’s conduct was unlawful, be-

yond a reasonable doubt. They waived that right at the

outset, but not without reason, for “defendants in ob-

scenity cases want nothing so little as a jury trial’

XL Notre Dame Lawyer, No. 1 at page 10 (Dec.

1964). Bromberg, Five Tests for Obscenity, 41 Chi-

cago Bar Record, 416, 418 (1960).

Having made that waiver, and placed their fate in

the hands of the trial judge, they now argue on appeal

that which would not be available to them in the case of

a jury verdict. Though ever so subtle, the argument is

that it was the subjective feelings of the trial judge

which decided the matter, not the community’s sense of

responsibility.

16“Tefendant invariably recoils in horror at any suggestion that

the question of obscenity be submitted to a jury. This leads one to

question his sincerity for there is no better way of determining

community standards of morality than the time-tested method of _

trial by jury ...” Bromberg, Five Tests for Obscenity, 41 Chicago

Bar Record 416, 418 (1960).

“Are they not telling the justices that they believe they can pre-

vail only if the community standard is not applied? The Court

hasn’t gotten the message .. .” XL, Notre Dame Lawyer No. 1, 10

(Dec. 1964).

a

abn

At page 28 of their brief, the petitioners argue

“‘Customary limits of candor’ are still measured by

the type of material a trial judge would have in his

library or upon his coffee table.” At page 29: “At-

tempts to treat these concepts as objective standards and

to offer evidence in traditional form on whether a par-

ticular work can, by such standards, be judged ‘ob-

scene’ are rebuffed by triers of fact whose subjective

reaction to the work is too strong to permit enlighten-

ment by objective proof.” At page 34: “Experts on

mass culture .. . are in a much better position to know

what society now tolerates than a judge whose personal

reading habits may be quite different from those of the

crowd.” At page 43: “It does not appear that the trial

court had any special knowledge on matters literary or

artistic. What the trial judge did then was to ‘arbi-

trarily disregard all the expert testimony in the record

and rely upon his unsubstantiated personal beliefs in-

stead of upon evidence . . .” Had the case been tried to

a jury, their arguments would have been swallowed up

in the jury verdict and the result should not be different

here. Having waived the jury, petitioners should not be

permitted to argue what a jury would have found as to

“customary limits of candor,” “what objective proof

constitutes enlightenment,” “what society tolerates,” or

“whether or not the jury would accept the offered ex-

pert testimony,” as against what the trial judge did in

fact find.

The petitioners find themselves in no better position

than petitioner David Alberts who waived a jury trial

in Alberts v. California (supra). As to that defendant,

this Court said at page 489:

“Both trial courts below sufficiently followed the

proper standard. Both courts used the proper def-

pe ie

inition of obscenity . . . in the Alberts case, in rul-

ing on a motion to dismiss, the trial judge indi-

cated that, as the trier of facts, he was judging

each item as a whole as it would affect the normal

person...”

A close reading of the trial transcript reveals no lack of

receptivity on the part of the trial judge to the peti-

tioners’ efforts to “enlighten.” That he should reject

their theory of the case is understandable upon an

examination of the evidence presented at the trial, in-

cluding the exhibits, defendants’ conduct in relation

thereto, and the testimony.

B. The Roth-Alberts Facts Control.

Because the Roth-Alberts defendants and materials

so closely resemble their counterparts in this and the

Mishkin case, also before this Court in Mishkin v. New

York, No. 49, they assume a particular relevance to the

issues raised by these defendants. As to the materials

involved in Roth-Alberts, see 45 Minn. Law Review,

5, 20, et seg. and footnotes 88-102.

In United States v. Roth, 237 F. 2d 796, 800 (Sept.

18, 1956) Judge Clark in the Court of Appeals, Second

Circuit below, said of Roth and his materials:

“As we have indicated, if the statute is to be up-

held at all it must apply to a case of this kind

where defendant is an old hand at publishing and

surreptitiously mailing to those induced to order

them such lurid pictures and material as he can

find profitable. There was ample evidence for the

jury, and the defendant had an unusual trial in

that the judge allowed him to produce experts, in-

cluding a psychologist who stated that he would

nidithicn

find nothing obscene at the present time. Also vari-

ous modern novels were submitted to the jury for

the sake of comparison.”

In his petition for certiorari, Roth raised an issue that

the publications of which he stood convicted were not

obscene.’ One of the books was “American Aphrodite,

Vol. 1, No. 3,” whose description bears considerable re-

semblance to “Eros Vol. 1, No. 4.’* This Court ap-

parently did not consider Roth’s claim substantial, for

in granting the writ,’ jurisdiction and arguments were

limited” to three of the other issues in the jurisdiction-

al statement.

17Petition for Writ of Certiorari, pp. 2-3 ; 45 Minn. L. Rev. 5, 21.

18See 45 Minn. L. Rev. 5, 20, at footnotes 88, 89:

“88. The particular issue of America Aphrodite was volume

1, number 3, as correctly stated in count 24; the reference to

‘Number Thirteen’ in count 17 appears to be a typographical

error. See Record, pp. 19 & 15 respectively.

Among the distinguished authors whose works appeared

in the issue were Herbert Ernest Bates, perhaps best known

in the United States for The Purple Plain, Rhys Davis, whose

The Trip to London delighted thousands of its readers. Pierre

Louys, famous for Aphrodite, and Edwin Beresford Chancel-

ler, author of The Lives of the Rakes and many other histori-

cal works. Here, too, were pieces by Harold Alfred Manhood,

John Cournos, Patrick Kirwan, Henry Miller, and Harry

Roskolenko (Colin Ross).

In England, D. Val Baker criticized the Postmaster Gen-

eral’s earlier exclusion of American Aphrodite from the United

States mail, pointing out the genuine literary quality of its

contents. Baker, Aphrodite in Trouble, 168 Publishers’ Cir-

cular and Booksellers’ Record 924 (1954).”

“89. Record, pp. 1-19; Brief for the United States in Op-

position, pp. 12-13 . . . Since the count involving only Ameri-

can Aphrodite included both the book itself and advertise-

ments for it, the sole element of consistency in the verdict is

the conclusion that the book was obscene .. .”

19The granting of writs of certiorari are discretionary. Supreme

Court Practice, Third Edition, Stern and Gressman, page 118.

20See 352 U.S. 964 and 45 Minn. L. Rev. 5, 22.

Se

On the other hand, David S. Alberts’ approach to

this Court was by way of appeal under 28 U.S.C. sec-

tion 1257,” rather than by petition for writ of certio-

rari. In his jurisdictional statement, one of the issues

raised was whether the statute “upon its face and as

construed and applied” abridged “freedom of speech,

press and thought.’” which should have been suffi-

cient to state grounds for appellate jurisdiction on the

issue of obscenity under 28 U.S.C. section 1257.* This

Court noted probable jurisdiction in Alberts v. Califor-

nia, 314 U.S. 160, which theoretically placed the ob-

scenity issue before this Court. Alberts argued the mat-

ter to some extent in his briefs.”

In its majority opinion in Roth-Alberts (supra), this

Court said on the issue of obscenity vel non at page

476, footnote 8:

“No issue is presented in either case concerning the

obscenity of the material involved . . .”

Was this Court saying that this issue was so unsub-

stantial as to require no discussion?—in effect, that

*1*Where an appeal may properly be taken, the so-called obliga-

tory jurisdiction of the Supreme Court is thereby invoked, in con-

trast to the discretionary jurisdiction over certiorari cases .. .”

Supreme Court Practice, Third Edition, Stern and Gressman,

page 63.

Jurisdictional Statement, pp. 4-5, 45 Minn. L. Rev. 5, 25.

23The ‘validity’ of a state statute is also said to have been sus-

tained, within the meaning of §1257(2), when the state court holds

the statute applicable to a particular set of facts as against the con-

tention that such an application is invalid on federal grounds.

Dahnke-Walker Milling Co. v. Bondurant, 257 U.S. 282. This is

true even though the statute on its face bears no federal impedi-

ment. Thus where the court holds that a particular transaction is

intrastate rather than interstate commerce and that on such basis

the state statute may be applied and enforced, the validity of the

statute has been sustained as to those facts.” Supreme Court

Practice, Third Edition, Stern and Gressman, p. 67.

24See 45 Minn. L. Rev. 5, 25, and footnotes 110, 111.

—59—

without the other major issues the Court would not

have written an opinion, but would have dismissed for

want of a federal question or affirmed the appeal with-

out opinion as in the case of Joseph Chobot v. Wiscon-

sin (supra). Or did the Court, give Mr. Roth and Mr.

Alberts less than justice? Roth was facing a 5-year

sentence and $5,000.00 fine and Alberts was facing a

30-day jail sentence. In their concurring opinions, both

Justices Harlan and Warren reviewed the materials.

One commentator has interpreted this footnote to in-

dicate the majority did not treat the obscenity issue. 45

Minn. Law Review 5. But this is inconsistent with the

role of the jurist expressed by Justice Brennan, its au-

thor in his dissenting opinion in the companion case of

Kingsley Book Inc. v. Brown (supra) at 448:

“Of course, as with jury questions generally, the

trial judge must initially determine that there is a

jury question, i.e. that renaonanrr:| men may differ

whether the material is obscene .

Later opinions of its author have indicated that review

of the subject matter was necessary in free speech

cases.”* Justice Brennan would employ the rule as stated

in the American Law Institute, Model Penal Code

(1962), section 251.4(4) which holds that “The court

shall dismiss a prosecution for obscenity if it is satis-

fied that the material is not obscene.’’”*

*5See, for example, the opinion of Justice Brennan, concurr red i in

by Justice Goldberg, in Jacobellis v. Ohio (supra) at p. 1

“Hence we reaffirm the principle that, in ‘obscenity’ cases as

in all others involving rights derived from the First Amend-

ment guarantees of free expression, this Court cannot avoid

making an independent constitutional judgment on the facts

of the case as to whether the material involved is constiti1tion-

ally protected ...”

*6Jacobellis v. Ohio (supra), footnote 6 of Justice Brennan’s

opinion.

OE IN I LOCI TE ETN I eT

nome ye SET

ee NRE

Lneeembatrone

eels

It should also be noted that in the majority opinion,

Justice Brennan said at page 489:

“Both trial courts below sufficiently followed the

proper standard. Both courts used the proper def-

inition of obscenity .. .”’ (our emphasis).

Does the language “trial courts . . . followed” indicate

that the majority found that the trial court in Alberts

correctly applied “the proper standards to the material ?”

C. The Roth-Alberts Standards.

The majority opinion in Roth-Alberts (supra) ap-

proved four definitions for the word “obscene.” At

page 486, the federal court sponsored tes! in Roth

and the State Court sponsored test in Alberts were set

forth:

“In Roth, the trial judge instructed the jury: ‘The

words obscene, lewd and lascivious as used in the

law, signify that form of immorality which has

relation to sexual impurity and has a tendency to

excite lustful thoughts.’ (Emphasis added.) In Al-

berts, the trial judge applied the test laid down

in People v. Wepplo, 78 Cal. App. 2d Supp. 959,

178 P.2d. 853, namely, whether the material lias ‘a

substantial tendency to deprave er corrupt its nead-

ers by inciting lascivious thoughts or arousing lust-

ful desires.’ ”

The court thereafter held both tests to be within the con-

stitutional standard, when given with proper jury in-

structions relevant to the dominant theme and proper

audience.

At page 489, Justice Brennan gave tacid approval to

a third definition in these words:

“Some American courts adopted this standard but

later decisions have rejected it and substituted this

lila

test: Whether to the average person, applying con-

temporary community standards, the dominant:

theme of the material taken as a whole appeals to

prurient interest. The Hicklin test, judging obscen-

ity by the effect of isolated passages upon the most

susceptible persons, might well encompass material

legitimately treating with sex, and so it must be

rejected as unconstitutionally restrictive of the free-

doms of speech and press...”

At page 487, footnote 20, the majority opinion gave

approval to the definition found in the A.L.I. Model

Penal Code, Section 207.10(2) (Tentative Draft 1957)

and noted no significant difference between this and the

meaning of obscenity developed in the case law:

“ .. A thing is obscene if, considered as a whole,

its predominant appeal is to prurient interest, i.e.,

a shameful or morbid interest in nudity, sex, or ex-

cretion, and if it goes substantially beyond cus-

tomary limits of candor in description or represen-

tation of such matters. . . . See Comment, id., at

10, and the discussion at page 29 et seq.”

D. The Trial Court Followed the

Roth-Alberts Standards.

Trial Judge Body properly followed the Roth Stand-

ards. He noted preliminarily in his opinion at 224 F.

Supp. 129 at 133;

“If material has any socially redeeming importance

it is protected...”

. In his investigation into the matter of “social redeem-

ing importance” he applied the facts at bar, and did

not move in a vacuum, as petitioners would have this

Court do. The variable nature of obscenity requires this.

-_-

Burstein v. U.S., 178 F. 2d 665 (Dec. 28, 1944) ; United

States v. Levine, 83 F. 2d 156, 157 (Apr. 6, 1936.)

1. Liaison Vol. 1, No. 1.

As to “Liaison Vol. 1, No. 1,” he found that the three

articles, “Slaying the Sex Dragon,” “Semen in the

Diet,” and “Sing A Song of Sex Life” covered the most

“perverse and offensive” behavior and that the treat-

ment was “largely superficial”. He noted that the de-

fendants’ own expert, Magazine Editor Dwight Mac-

Donald, testified that it had “no literary value”. If it

could be said there was social redeeming importance in

the magazine, it had to be found in what it advocated,

or in its entertainment value. As to the latter he found

the material beyond contemporary community stand-

ards “even in applying the liberal night club standards.”

As to the former it failed “to serve a legitimate pur-

pose of an author in recording human experience or in

seeking to accomplish a worthwhile objective.”’ The only

idea advocated was complete abandon of any restraint

with regard to any form of sexual expression, which one

can say exists in every form of pornography. He found

the pamphlet “designed obviously and solely for the pur-

pose of appealing to the prurient interest of an ordinary

person.”

Amicus submits the trial judge properly applied the

Roth Standards to “Liaison”, noting further that the

idea expressed by all pornography, 1.e., the complete

abandonment of any restraint with regard to forms of

sexual expression, is too “slight” to be redeeming.

Chaplinski v. New Hampshire (supra).

The finding that the pamphlet was “designed” solely

for its app al to prurient interest is supported by the

common scheme or plan which attended the creation and

inca

dissimination of “Eros Vol. 1, No. 4” and “The House-

wife’s Handbook on Selective Promiscuity.” A.L.L,

Model Penal Code (1957 draft) section 207.10(2)f.

The judge considered the proper audience in making

his findings. This Court approved an instruction in Roth

which held: “The test in each case is the effect of the

book, picture or publication considered as a whole, not

upon any particular class, but upon all those whom it is

likely to reach. In other words, you determine its im-

pact upon the average person in the community .. .”

As to the audience he considered, the trial court said:

“It is also the law that the community as a whole

is the proper consideration. In this community, our

society, we have children of all ages, psychotics,

feeble-minded and other susceptible elements. Just

as they cannot set the pace for the average adult

reader’s taste, they cannot be overlooked as part of

the community. The community as a whole is not

an ideal man who wouldn’t seek and read obscenity

in the first place. Otherwise no restraint at all

be required. Some is proper. Therefore, an ideal

person without any failings or susceptibility is not

the man to protect. Society as a whole, replete of

course with various imperfections, must be pro-

tected.”

2. The Housewife’s Handbook of Selective Promiscu-

ity.

As to “The Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Prom-

iscuity” the trial judge noted that, as in the gase of

“Liaison,” no literary merit was ascribed to the book.

Its only claim to redeeming value was expert testimony

to the effect that it had utility as a clinical device to

“ventilate” persons with sexual inhibitions and miscon-

ceptions. The court expressly rejected that testimony.

ee AE ANE ie har BIO

pa ae

The court noted that the author testified under oath it

was a factual and highly accurate reporting of actual

occurrence, but that he doubted the accuracy of the book

(indirectly, her testimony). It met the prescribed tests

for poruography—it was a bizarre exaggeration, morbid

and offensive. An examination of the book in capsule

form, by book outline bears out the correctness of this

finding (Appendix A).

The court explained its reason for disbelieving the

testimony of the Reverend George von Hilsheimer III,

“This same witness shocked the writer by saying that

this book should be in every home and available for

teen-agers for guidance in sex behavior, but in my

opinion misbehavior . . .” It was petitioners’ expert

witness, Rev. Hilsheimer who first brought up the mat-

ter of the book’s suitability for use by “youth” [R.

291a]. He volunteered in his direct testimony at R.

291la and R. 292a that it was an “innocent book” which

it was necessary for him to give “youth” as a pastoral

counselor, if he was going to be responsible “to his

youth.” The trial judge questioned him further, and

it developed that that was what he meant.

It should be noted that petitioners’ other expert wit-

ness along these lines, Dr. Charles G. McCormick (psy-

chologist) did not agree with Rev. Hilsheimer, who said

he did not supervise the reading, [R. 295a]. Dr Mc-

Cormick applied a restriction [R. 217a] to “guide the per-

son in making distinctions.”

Dr. Bennett, the psychiatrist testified that a 14-year

old would not be disturbed by the “Handbook.” The

trial judge had reason to question the standards he em-

ployed in his expert testimony on the “effects of the

material, and to reject the same.

satin:

The determination of obscenity is ult‘mately with the

fact finder and not with the expert witnesses in any

event. United States v. Kennerley, 209 Fed. 119, 121.

The judge considered the proper cudience in making

his findings. This Court approved an instruction in

Roth which held: “The test in each case is the effect

of the book, picture or publication considered as a whole,

not upon any particular class, but upon all those whom

it is likely to reach. In other words, you determine its

impact upon the average person in the community. . .”

As to the audience he considered, the trial court said:

“It is also the law that the community as a whole

is the proper consideration. In this community, our’

society, we have children of all ages, psychotics, fee-

ble-minded and other susceptible elements. Just as

they cannot set the pace for the average adult read-

er’s taste, they cannot be overlooked as part of the

community. The community as a whole is not an

ideal man who wouldn’t seek and read obscenity in

the first place. Otherwise no restraint at all would

be required. Some is proper. Therefore, an ideal per-

son without any failings or susceptibility is not the

man to protect. Society as a whole, replete of course

with various imperfections, must be protected.”

The prurient nature of “The Handbook” is attested

to by the common scheme or plan which attended the

creation and dissemination of “Eros Vol. 1 No. 4”

and “Liaison”. A.L.I. M.P.C. (1957 draft) section

207.10(2)f. The stipulation as to “knowledge” did not

foreclose other admissible evidence on intent for the

prosecutor reserved that right [R. 152a].

seilliais

3. Eros Vol. 1 No. 4.

As to “Eros Vol. 1 No. 4” the judge properly con-

strued the “balancing” concept of the A.L.I Model

Penal Code (1957 draft) section 207.10 to find no

redeeming social importance. This fact is demonstrated

by his comparison of the novel Lady Chatterley’s Lover

with the work under scrutiny, “It is one thing to create

an integrated work of art containing what would be

obscenity standing alone, and another thing to create

an integrated work of obscenity containing excerpts

from recognized works of art.”

As the Judge noted, the Allen Ginsberg article was a

written statement of policy, purposely contrived and

disseminated—the destruction of all barriers against

sexual behavior of any kind. When this is combined

with independent displays of obscenity, the innocent

will not shield the obscene.

The question of redeeming social importance must be

determined in the light of the facts and-not in a vac-

uum. The variable nature of obscenity requires this.

Burstein v, U.S., 178 F. 2d 665 (Dec. 28, 1944);

United States v. Levine, 83 F. 2d 156, 157 (April 6,

1936).

In the case of Eros, the items of possible merit and

those which are considered innoculous are a mere dis-

guise. The “overriding theme, and the only theme of Eros

is the advocacy of complete sexual expression of what-

ever sort and manner.” The finding that the magazine

was “designed” solely for its appeal to prurient in-

pan

terest is supported by the pattern—the craftily com-

piled overall effect, which purpose!y loads the forbidden

fruits: “Frank Harris, His Life and Love”, “Bawdy

Limericks”, “Natural Superiorty of Women as Erot-

icists” and “Black and White in Color” and seeks to

ameliorate the criminal liability through the disguise.

The whole, however, take on the flavor of the part.

Amicus submits that the “design” of Ginzburg’s

operations on Eros to appeal to prurient interests is

also supported by the common scheme or plan which

attends the creation and dissemination of his other prod-

ucts, “Liaison” and “The Housewives Handbook on

Selective Promiscity.” The stipulation as to “knowl-

edge” did not foreclose other admissible evidence on in-

tent, for the prosecutor reserved that right [R. 152a].

See also A.L.I., MP.C. (1957 draft) section 207.10(2)f.

The judge considered the proper audience in making

his findings. This Court approved an instruction in

Roth which held: ‘The test in each case is the effect

of the book, picture or publication considered as a

whole, not upon any particular class, but upon all those

whom it is likely to reach. In other words, you de-

termine its impact upon the average person in the

community. ...” As to the audience he considered the

trial court said:

“It is also the law that the community as a whole

is the proper consideration. In this community,

our society, we have children of all ages, psy-

chotics, feeble-minded and other susceptible ele-

ments. Just as they cannot set the pace for the

Pe NC SRE ELEI

—

average adult reader’s taste, they cannot be over-

looked as part of the community. The community

as a whole is not an ideal man who wouldn’t seek

and read obscenity in the first place. Otherwise no

restraint at all would be required. Some is proper.

Therefore, an ideal person without any failings

or susceptibility is not the man to protect. Society

as a whole, replete of course with various imper-

fections, must be protected.”

E. Social Importance.

1. Jt Is Not Determined in a Vacuum.

At page 32 of their brief, petitioners argue “Only

if the words of Roth ‘utterly without redeeming social

importance’ mean what they say, can criminal obscenity

statutes survive the challenge that they violate the

Fifth, Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments. Thus, ma-

terial found to have some social value may not be sup-

pressed and certainly may not be the basic for crim-

inal conviction of the utterer or disseminator. Only

when a work is found to be totally devoid of value

can we even begin to subject that work to the other

tests which identify actionable obscenity. . . .” Such an

argument misconceives the very nature of obscenity—

it has a variable quality about it. The guilt or innocence

of the act, display, or publication depends not only

upon the work but also upon the surrounding circum-

stances. The time and manner of acting and motives

involved are always relevant and may even be de-

terminative. Petitioner’s argument lacks a necessary

qualification. The value must be considered in light of

the circumstances.

For example, at page 50 of their brief, petitioners

take issue with the court below, because the trial judge

+ pean engenne se ay,

onlin

found that there was “no credible evidence that the

‘Handbook’ had the slightest valid scientific importance

for treatment of individuals in clinical psychiatry, psy-

chology, or any field of medicine.” In doing so, the

judge indicated he was not won over by the testi-

mony of the Reverend von Hilsheimer, Dr. Bennett and

the author on that score. But assuming that the testi-

mony did indicate some value as a case history or the

like, that value cannot be considered alone and in a

vacuum, independent of the petitioners’ personal condr-t

in relation thereto.

The classic example is Burstein v. U.S., 178 F. 2d

665 (Dec. 28, 1949). A book entitled, “Sterile Sun”

had been published by Macauley Company and issued

by that company in a special edition, the sale of which

was limited to physicians, psychiatrists, sociologists,

social workers, educators and other persons having a

professional interest in the psychology of adolescents.

The book was to be found in the public library upon

the restricted shelves. Burstein made copies of the book,

omitting the statement of the publisher respecting the

limitation of sale, and an introductory note which em-

phasized the statement that the book was written for a

professional group. He gave it a new title called “Con-

fessions of a Prostitute” and mailed circulars advertis-

ing the book as “spicy,” “too sharp for ordinary con-

sumption” and quoted a few especially salacious and

suggestive lines from the book. On his appeal from

convictions for both depositing for mailing an obscene

book, and depositing for mailing a letter giving infor-

. mation as to where and how the book might be ob-

tained, he argued that the book was not obscene as a

matter of law. The Court of Appeals for the Ninth

a

anes

Circuit held that the trial judge was correct in submit-

ting the matter to the jury. Under petitioners theory,

Burstein could go on about his business.

District Judge Bryan expressed the same principle in

Poss v. Christenberry, 179 F. Supp. 411, 416 (Dec.

21, 1959). Poss argued in that case that the per curiam

decision of this Court in Sunshine Book Co. v. Sum-

merfield, 355 U.S. 372, 78 S. Ct. 365, 2 L. Ed. 2d 352,

compelled a holding that his circulars, depicting nude

photographs which advertised nude movies, photos and

color slides, were not obscene. Judge Bryan thought oth-

erwise, at page 416:

“Tn the circular at bar there is little doubt that the

publisher’s purpose is to appeal to the salaciously

minded. No one could be naive enough to suppose

that these photographs have anything whatever to

do with ‘art.’ The circular does not contain any

ideas of redeeming social importance.’ Nor has it

the slightest vestige of literary or artistic merit.

The publisher’s purpose in putting out the material

may well be ‘a cardinal determinative.’ See Glanz-

man v. Schaeffer, D.C. S.D. N.Y., 143 F. Supp.

243, 247.”

See also the discussion at footnote 6.

The Petitioners’ attempt to concentrate the investi-

gation on the “thing” rather than the “conduct, in rela-

tion to the thing.” A number of examples suggest the

fallacy of this concent: A person may utter a four letter

word, or a stream of such words in the restrictive au-

dience of a group, when such conduct is essential to the

portrayal of a character in a play, yet he may find him-

self in difficulty when he utters those same words over

a loud speaker on the grounds of a college campus, in

a en

defiance of community standards. A person may not be

in violation of the criminal statutes were he to relieve

himself (urinating) out of necessity in a public alley

and accidentally be seen by a female from an adjoining

yard. The result would be otherwise if he purposely

summoned the attention of the female and relieved him-

self for the purpose of the public exhibition. In obsceni-

ty cases as in criminal cases in general, the defendant’s

conduct is the central issue. As stated by Chief Justice

Warren in his concurring opinion | in Roth v. U.S., 345

U.S. 476, 494:

“Tt is not the book that is on trial; it is a person.

The conduct of the defendant is the central issue,

not the obscenity of a book or picture. The nature

of the materials is of course, relevant as an attri-

bute of the defendant’s conduct, but the materials

are thus placed in context from which they draw

color and character. A wholly different result

might be reached in a different setting.”

See also Chief Justice Warren’s opinions in Kingsley

Books Inc. v. Brown, 354 U.S. 436, 1 L. Ed. 2d 1469,

1476 (1957), and Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U.S. 184, 84

S. Ct. 1673, 1685 (1964).

The same principle is very well stated by the Su-

preme Court of Errors of Connecticut in Connecticut

v. Sul; 146 Conn. 78, 147 A. 2d 686, 691 Sct 24,

1958) :

“Obscene and indecent are not technical terms of

law and hence susceptible of fine distinctions.

Whether something is obscene or indecent depends

upon all of the surrounding circumstances. Section

8567 comprehends material which from its very

character a person of sound mind must know was

a

obscene and indecent. See Wigmore, Evidence

(third edition) page 43. It also includes material

which by the method of its presentation to the

prospective reader or viewer shows a design to ap-

peal to sordid interests. See Roth v. U.S., supra,

354 U.S. 495, 77 S.Ct. 1314 (concurring opin-

ion). To cite an example; if language and pictures

describing or portraying human sex organs are con-

tained in a book or brochure on medical science and

treat the subject with no more frankness than is

required, they would not be obscene or indecent

within the statute. But if the same language and

pictures were taken from their context and com-

piled in pamphiet form to be sold or shown to chil-

dren, they would be. People v. Muller, 96 N.Y.

408, 413. The purpose of the statute is to prevent

the selling, showing or offering of obscene or inde-

cent material falling within the description stated.”

See also the expression of the Supreme Court of Errors

of Connecticut to the same effect in State v. Andrews,

186 A. 2d 546 at page 550.

2. Slight Social Importance Does Not Exculpt.

At page 31 of their brief, petitioners argue, “The

First Amendment principle bars suppression of any

work of the slightest value, whether the suppression be

accomplished by civil order or criminal sanction.” This

appears to amicus as an exaggerated statement of the

law, easily responded to. At page 476 of Roth-Alberts

(supra), the majority opinion cited with approval the

Chaplinsky Court (supra) opinion, which held:

“There are certain well-defined and narrowly lim-

ited classes of speech, the prevention and punish-

ee ea

ment of which have never been thought to raise

any constitutional problem. These include the lewd

and obscene . . . It has been well observed that

such utterances are no essential part of any exposi-

tion of ideas, and are of such slight social value

as a step to truth that any benefit that may he

derived from them is clearly outweighed by the so-

cial interest in order and morality .. .”

The very language of the Court indicates that speech

may have. “slight social value” and yet be subject to

punishment, because by its nature it is obscene.

In support of this argument, petitioners, at page 31

of their brief cite language in Jacobellis v. Ohio

(supra) that:

“The constitutional status of the material (may

not) be made to turn on a ‘weighing’ of its social

importance against its prurient appeal, for a work

cannot be proscribed unless it is ‘utterly’ without

social importance...”

. The language is that of Justice Brennan, concurred in

by Justice Goldberg and was not the opinion of this

Court. The accuracy of this statement of law is doubt-

ful, if we are to believe that this Court is following

prior case law, as reported in the comments to the

American Law Institute, Model Penal Code (1957

draft) section 207.10. In this regard the reporter states

at page 30:

“The second aspect of the recommended definition,

requiring that appeal to prurient interest be the

predominant appeal of the material, recognizes that

a work of art or literature may contain elements of

prurient interest, which, however, are subordinate

—_ Fh

to other positive values of the work. Policy as well

as constitutional limitations enjoin us to safeguard

freedom of expression by balancing artistic or other

merits of a work against the alleged prurient ap-

peal... .” (Our emphasis).

and at page 40:

“11. Effect of Artistic or Scientific Merit. The

effect of our proposals on definition of the ob-

scene, consideration of the work ‘as a whole,’ and

admissibility of evidence of artistic and other mer-

its is to permit consideration of positive values of

the work in determining whether the predominant

appeal of the work is to prurient interest. This does

not differ substantially from present law.”

and at page 42:

“Our reasons for hesitating to relate the defini-

tion of obscenity directly to appraisal of artistic

merit are as follows. In the first place, great ar-

tistry is not necessarily inconsistent with prurient

appeal; consummate skill in execution might be the

very thing which lends the work its powerful erotic

appeal. ...

Accordingly, we have refrained from making ar-

tistic or other merit a direct and independent issue

in obscenity trials. On the other hand, it is obvious

that the issue of ‘predominant appeal’ involves not

only a judgment that the material in question ap-

peals to prurient interest, but also a judgment that

it has this characteristic more than any other.

Thus consideration is invited to the question of

what other appeal, if any, the material has. And in

subsection (2) (c) we expressly provide for the

—/5—

admissibility of evidence as to artistic, literary,

scientific, educational or other merits.

The slight but real difference between a defense

or justification on the basis of artistic worth and

mere permission to introduce evidence of artistic

merit as bearing on the issue of ‘predominant ap-

peal’ may be seen in the possibility, under the later

arrangement, of (1) convicting notwithstanding

great artistic competence, where the main appeal is

to prurient interest; and (2) acquitting notwith-

standing that the material has little or no artistic

merit and some, but not much, appeal to prurient

interest, in short, is a dull piece with no signifi-

cant ‘appeal’, where a trace of the salacious is lost

in a sea of inanity.

The ultimate question is how prominent is the

appeal to prurient interest in the work as a whole,

whatever the value judgment placed on the balance

of the work.” (Our emphasis).

The employment of such language in a majority opin-

ion of this Court would invite disaster to the federal

governments attempts to control obscenity. The lan-

guage in Justice Brennan’s opinion was taken from the

California Supreme Court opinion in Zeitlin v. Arne-

bergh, 59 Cal. 2d 901, 920, 31 Cal. Rptr. 800, 813, 383

P. 2d 152, 165 (1963) where it has brought about a

sterilization of obscenity law enforcement in that state.

See also the incongruous result reached by four mem-

bers of the New York Court of Appeals, holding that

classic of pornography, Fanny Hill not obscene in Lar-

kin v. G. P. Putnasa’s Sons, 14 N.Y. 2d 399, 252 N.Y.S.

2d 71, 74, because:

“It has a slight literary value and it affords some

insight into the life and manners of mid-18th Cen-

SEIS EON O-D

aren

ae.” a

tury London . . . Some critics, writers, and teach-

ers of stature testified at the trial that the book

has merit, and the testimony as a whole showed rea-

sonable differences of opinion as to its value. It

does not warrant suppression . . .” (our empha-

sis).

It is true that the Illinois Supreme Court in People

v. Bruce, 31 Ill. 2d 459, 202 N.E. 2d 497 (1964)

wrote an opinion upholding contentions similar to those

of the petitioners. In that case, the majority opinion

(Schaefer concurred in the result) noted that it had,

in an earlier opinion in the same case, rejected the de-

fendant’s arguments that the Roth case, struck down the

“balancing test” which was ruling case law in Amer-

ican Cwil Liberties Union v. City of Chicago, 3 IIl.

2d 334, 121 N.E. 2d 585. The Civil Liberties case held

at page 498; that:

“the obscene portions of the material must be bal-

anced against its affirmative values to determine

which predominates. .. .”

Following the Jacobellis decision, the Illinois Supreme

Court reversed its previous ruling, giving as its sole

reason, at page 498:

“Tt is apparent from the opinions of a majority

of the court in Jacobellis that the ‘balancing test’

rule of American Civil Liberties Union is no

longer a constitutionally acceptable method of de-

termining whether material is obscene, and it is there

made clear that material having any social impor-

tance is constitutionally protected.”

aman Janies

The Illinois Court was led into accepting a rule of

law it would not otherwise have adopted, at page 498:

“. . . we would not have thought that constitu-

tional guarantees necessitate the subjection of so-

ciety to the gradual deterioration of its moral fabric

which this type of presentation promotes .. .”

Mr. Lenny Bruce did not fare as well with his argu-

ments in Bruce v. New York (unreported, Dec. 1964).

In that criminal action in New York City he was found

guilty of using obscene words in his nightclub act. On a

petition for certiorari, this Court refused to consider his

case in June 1965.

If the Illinois Supreme Court knew then (Nov. 1964),

what it knows now (June 1965), the Bruce matter un-

doubtedly would have been decided differently. The

strength of People v. Bruce (supra), as a precedent in

Illinois is questionable.

Conclusion.

The judgment below should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES H. KEATING, Jr.,

JAMEs J. CLANCY,

Counsel for Amicus Curiae.

Sy aa oS Ge LTT LOLI IL IL

APPENDIX “A”.

The Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Promiscuity.

By Rey Anthony (240 pages, in two parts). Seventh

printing, cl1962, LC 62-21130. Documentary Books,

Inc., 110 West 40th Street, New York 18, N.Y.

INTRODUCTION

By Albert Ellis, Ph. D., New York City, September

15, 1960.

Dr. Albert Ellis states: “I have no hesitation in stat-

ing that Mrs. Anthony’s Handbook is one of the most

honest, courageous, valuable books on sex that I have

ever read.” (p. 7) He compares her writing to Mrs.

Hilda O’Hare, publisher of the now-defunct scientific

periodical, the International Journal of Sexology, giving

her own views, in terms of personal experience, “on

vaginal versus clitoral orgasm.” (p. 7). Drs. Mary Cal-

derone, Sophia J. Kleegman, and Lena Levine, among

others, have “consistently stated, at meetings, of the

American Association of Marriage Counselors, the So-

ciety for Scientific Study of Sex, and other profes-

sional groups, that the truth about female orgasm will

never be fully known until women themselves give us

their own detailed accounts and studies of what happens

in their minds and bodies when they are engaged in

sexual relations.” (p. 7). “I find that the Handbook

makes a distinctly valuable contribution to sexual

knowledge.” (p. 8). “More power to Mrs. Anthony—and

a copy of her book to many of her (and my) professional

colleagues!” (p. 9). “My own Art and Science of Love,

may prove quite useful to millions of young people who

have much to learn about sexual technique.” (p. 9).

isd ies

PREFACE BY THE AUTHOR‘S DAUGHTER

By Tannette Savelle (age 19), Tucson, Arizona, Au-

gust 1, 1960.

“This book was not written for professional people. It

was written for people like mechanics, beauty parlor

operators, carpenters, and housewives .. . because our

laws are not in accord with our customs, we are a na-

tion of sex offenders. We need laws that are more in

keeping with the times we live in . . . I hope this book

may enrich your life, as knowing my mother has en-

riched mine. During the time she wrote this book, I

have come to know, understand, and admire her even

more than I did before.” (p. 11).

AUTHOR’S FRIENDS

Bill Patterson

Thorndyke Anthony, 3rd husband

Peter Landis

Jon and Vivian Merrick

Dr. Carl Adler

Ruth

Clint Jameson

Bill Canella, 1st husband

Sage, stepfather

Larry and Lorna Scott

Randall “Rock” Brown, 2nd husband

J. C. Smith, neighbor

Eric Summers, homosexual

Dan Jacobs

Laura Baxter, negro

Bill and Bobbie Sanford

Freddie Forman, lesbian

Donald James

Bill Iverson

Floyd Stewart

Al Sanislawski

Daughters

Tanette

Niki-Sue

Shari

Jana Kae

ABOUT THE AUTHOR.

By Rey Anthony, Tucson, Arizona, August 1, 1960.

Rey Anthony was born in a small town of east Texas,

thirty-seven years ago. She finished high school at San

Marcos Academy at fourteen, the youngest person to

ever graduate from there. She attended the University

of Houston for three years, majoring in mathematics,

and interested in the social sciences (anthropology, psy-

chology, and sociology.) She married the first time at

age 17, and has been married and divorced three times

in all. “] could be the woman next door to you, in a

middle-class three-bedroom house.” (p. 14) She is a

P.T.A. member, operates a publishing and printing

house, member of a national business woman’s organiza-

tion. “It is not for my own protection that I have chosen

not to use my own name, but for the protection of my

friends . . . the names have been changed to protect

those who may be, or may seem to be, guilty in terms of

current laws and/or moral codes.” (p. 14) “Legality

does not sanctify sex—any more than illegality makes

sex filthy... . What may appear to be exceedingly pro-

miscuous to one person might be the highly discriminat-

ing and therefore selective act of another person. .. .

—

Therefore, in the title of this book I have included the

paradoxical concept of ‘Selective promiscuity.’” (p. 15)

Rey Anthony is the mother of five daughters.

PART 1... Experiences. (p. 19)

Age 3... Dallas (1926)

The author wants to know where babies come from

. .. her mother says she will tell her when she is older,

The kids in the neighborhood had a contest to see who

could produce the most awful smell. . . . “The most dis-

gusting thing I had ever smelled was my pussy... .

When I peed my mother would say, ‘Wipe yourself,’ I

wined my fingers across my pussy and returned to the

». We all produced our smells and I won. ... There |

was a rumor among the kids that boys didn’t have

pussies . . . one afternoon a boy showed me his peter

... we wee-weed on the floor of my playhouse. . . . My

mother yanked the door of the playhouse open. .. .

She hit me over and over.” (p. 20)

Age 5... Dallas (1928)

“My father died. I asked my mother why it couldn’t

have been her. I loved Daddy best.” (p. 21)

Age 7... Houston (1930)

“My grandfather pawed my pussy. Because of my

great disgust for his ugly face, with the tobacco juice

stringing from the corners of his mouth, I didn’t look

often... . It’s not easy to stand with your legs apart, as

though straddling an unseen object, so that an old man

can explore your privates. . . . His searching fingers

found the tiny opening and he managed to push one of

them into it . . . with his other hand he was feeling

the undeveloped titlets. ... My grandmother would not

es

li

believe me when I told her about his feeling me. She said

he was a man of God. ‘He is a Baptist Minister. It is

sinful of you to tell all those awful lies about this good

man.’” (p. 22)

Age 8... Houston (1931)

“Marjorie’s mother worked. She was gone all day

_,. Marjorie’s brother, Bud had a cute little peter. It

was a little larger around than a pencil. (p. 22) Bud

liked our pussies, and we licked and sucked on his peter.”

(p. 23)

Age 9... Houston (1932)

Pages 24 to 25 describe her technique of masturbating

in the bathtub. “When I took a bath, I slid up and

down in the bathtub on my back. Once, when the water

was running, it splashed on my pussy. It felt so nice I

kept on doing it . . . and reached such a peak, that it

was almost unbearable, and suddenly my hole just jerked

and jerked. ... (p. 24) Running the water all over the

pussy felt good, but running it on the little bump pro-

duced the feeling that finally caused the exciting and

wonderful jerking. I got mamma’s cold cream, and

rubbed it on the bump. I could better control myself

this way.” (p. 25)

Age 10... East Texas (1933)

“My cottsin Sydney showed me how to fuck. I felt as

if I were going to pee. I told him, and he said, ‘Go

ahead.’” (p. 26)

Age 13... San Marcos (1936)

At the San Marcos Baptist Academy, the author’s

roommate Ruth, knew a good deal about life. “She had

a

pate a

already fucked, she said . . . in cars, and in swings,

and on the ground sometimes. .. .” (p. 29) Pages 29 to

31 describe the author as she continues her practice of

masturbating in the bathtub. “I continued playing with

myself in the bathtub. . . . I also played with myself in

bed. . . . I used cold cream to lubricate the little bump.

... 1 was told that some of the girls played with one

another. . . . I never got to know one well enough to

have such an affair. . . . Obviously no one else could do

this to my body as well as I could do it to myself.” (p.

31) She is exposed to pornography at the Academy.

She got her first accurate information about sexual in-

tercourse from “The girl of the Golden West.” (p. 32)

Age 14... San Marcos (1937)

Pages 32 to 34 describe sex discussions by the house

mother of San Marcos Academy. “The house mother

explained in plain and simple terms, with a certain love-

liness added, about sexual intercourse.” (p. 32) “The

boys were said to have sex with the cows that were kept

for milking purposes. If caught, a boy would be ex-

pelled for this. None were caught.” (p. 35)

Age 15... Houston (1938)

“T was shocked at girls who let boys take sexual lib-

erties. . . . The girl who lived behind us . . . allowed

the whole winning football team of Jeff Davis High

School to lay her on the football field. . . . I asked her,

‘Wasn’t it sloppy?’ ‘Oh, not so sloppy; I wiped off in

between times.’”. . . The author says she wants to be a

virgin when she marries. .. . “In spite of all my explor-

ing and the fact that my cousin had had his peter in my

pussy—I mean penis in my vagina—I still thought of

a

myself as a virgin. (p. 38) One of my best girl friends

let her boy friend play with her titties. Breasts, that is.

... My girl friend, after over a year of this fascinating

play, still had small breasts and they didn’t sag... . I

went with one boy who was kissing me and had put his

tongue in my mouth... . He put his hand on my stom-

ach and moved it lower and lower . . . with all my clothes

on and without consciously intending it to happen. I

reached climax.” (p. 40)

Age 16... Houston (1939)

The author meets a young boy, Clint Jameson. “We

spent literally hours kissing each other. . . . Pages 42 to

47 describe this affair in detail. “There were times

when J would masturbate him with my hands. Other

times he would kiss and suck on my clitoris. Now I

put his penis in my mouth . . . even when I menstruated

he kissed my genitals, and caressed, and sucked... .

When we had intercourse we always used contracep-

tives.” (p. 46)

Age 17... Houston (1940)

Clint enlists in the Navy and came home on leave.

... “He put his penis in my vagina and promised not

to reach climax without first putting on a rubber. I

couldn’t face pregnancy alone.” (P. 47.) He betrays her

and fearing pregnancy after her menstrual period is

a week late, she sees the family doctor. “Dr. Marsh

examined me and it hurt. He mashed inside me and

pulled and pushed. . . . I think you will menstruate in

a couple of hours’”’ he said. (P. 49.) She tells Clint

she is through with him.

———

aa.

Age 17. . . Houston (1940)

On reaching simultaneous climax with a man she

says, “I had never wanted to have a climax at the

same time he did. . . . When we were having inter-

course the sensations were pleasant, and I liked paying

total attention to him and making him enjoy the climax

he reached. . . . My girl friend Ruth told me, ‘girls

who jacked off before they started getting screwed

sometimes didn’t come from getting screwed. It seemed

that they got to liking coming from jacking off and |

then weren’t normal.’ ” (P. 51.)

Age 17. . . Houston (1940) |

She meets Bill Canella. Pages 51 to 53 describe her

affair with Bill. “He kissed all of my body in the next

few weeks and I kissed all of his. . . . He could make

me reach climax by stroking the clitoris gently and

kissing the nipple of one breast. . . . Bill could drape

his long body around mine and have his penis inserted

ir, my vagina at the same time.” (P. 52.) They were

matried in November, 1941, and move in with her

mother and her husband, Sage.

Age 18. . . Houston (1941)

Her first daughter, Tanette, is born. Five days later

she and Bill decide to have sex. ““Tanette was lying in

her bed, right by my bed. . . . When Tanette would

squirm I had trouble keeping my mind on reaching a

climax. . . . It was my first really unpleasant sexual

experience. . . . Ruth’s baby, Dana, “was ten months

old when she was observed putting her hand inside

her diaper and looking pleased. When the diaper was

removed it could be seen that she was rubbing or

stroking her clitoris. She was quite happy doing it.”

(P. 60.)

is

Age 19. . . Houston (1942)

When the author’s baby is six months old, she is

pregnant again. . . . She separates from her husband

_ and has an abortion. (P. 64.) “The abortion

was a horrible experience, not because it was an abor-

tion, but the way it had been done.” (P. 66.) Page 66

describes Rey having climax in the front seat of Bill’s

car after he returns to see her a week after she has

had the abortion. “He fondled my ‘Mons Veneris’. He

stroked the sensitive skin at the top of my thighs,

just on the outer edge of the large lips. He put his

finger in my vagina and moved it in and out . . . sitting

in the car I reached climax.” (P. 66.) On the morning

she is to go to court to get her divorce, Bill arrives

and they go to bed. “I know we thought we were the

only two people in the world ever to be getting a di-

vorce and still having sex with each other.” (P. 67.)

Age 20... Houston (1943)

Rey gets a job at a shipyard. She meets Marie, a

whore. “She was charming. She was one of the most

completely gracious people I have ever known. ‘When

you have sex, my dear, do not do it in the back seat of

cars. Do make sure you have the basic conveniences of

life, such as a bed, hot running water, and towels,’

she said.” (p. 69)

Rey’s foreman propositions her and she refuses him.

The next afternoon he fires her. She thought, “You

son of-a-bitch! Can’t you get a woman in bed with you

any other way?” (p. 70) Later she is rehired at the

same shipyard, and in a medical examination she is told

she has syphilis. She goes to another doctor who tells

her it is “monilia albicans”. (p. 73) He tells her it is

.

pe

contagious like any other veneral disease, and tells her it

serves her right for fooling around. She realizes she had

first contracted this infection about four months after

she began having sex with Bill Canella. She is finally

cured of the disease by a woman doctor.

For several months she went without sexual relations

wi

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.