Amicus Curiae Brief — South Carolina v. Katzenbach

Supreme Court brief1965

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

preme

FILE

DEC 2 01

JOHN F. DAVIS,

No. 22 Original

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1965

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA,

Plaintiff,

Vs.

NICHOLAS deB. KATZENBACH, Attorney General of the

United States,

Defendant.

BRIEF FOR THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI,

AMICUS CURIAE

Joe T. PATTERSON,

Attorney General,

Ducas SHANDs,

Assistant Attorney General,

CHARLES CLARK,

Special Assistant

Attorney General,

State Capitol Building,

Post Office Box 220,

Jackson, Mississippi.

BL. Muxpenmats, Inec., 926 Cherry Street, Kansas City, Mo. 64106, HArrison 1-3030

Sega OTERO IASG EAE. (RR Ag ARTS EIST HEI AAR

APE ID AR AEE LEE LGN FRR || EES RR ne OI

INDEX

Authority for the Filing of Amicus Curiae Brief ....__

intevest of the Amicus

Request for Permission to Participate in Oral Argu-

NI sipesetsnccnitimeetsncrviertternanistancnirenisiietieparnheniesusoaminansins.....

ee ee

Argument—

I. By the Constitution, the People of the Several

States Created a Central Government of Limited,

I et

II. The Fifteenth Amendment Does Not Vest Au-

thority in Congress to “Suspend” State Literacy

NE eB

A. “Suspension” of the State Literacy Qualifica-

tions for Voting Is Not APPROPRIATE un-

der the Fifteenth Amendment in the Light of

the Legislative History of That Amendment,

Which Discloses That the Fortieth Congress

Considered at Length, but Refused to Include

in the Amendment, a Prohibition of Literacy

cere cs ie, fe IRA SESE TTI RR ie

B. The New Right Which the 15th Amendment

Conferred upon Male Citizens Was the Right

to Vote IN ACCORDANCE WITH STATE

LAW, Free from Denial or Abridgement on

I OT ae

C. There Is No Repugnance or Conflict Between

the Power of State to Fix a Literacy Require-

ment for Electors and the Prohibition of the

15th Amendment o.oo

D. A “Suspension” of the Paramount Power of

the States to Fix Reasonable and Non-Dis-

criminatory Voter Qualifications and to Make

Reasonable Changes in Such Qualifications

Must Be Based upon Authority to Destroy

That Power

10

10

15

24

30

BR ae PIRAEUS PPO PEI! GEST PES PREC ING

II INDEX

III. Neither Misapplication by an Executive Officer

nor Improper Motive or Purpose on the Part of a

Legislator Can Operate to Negate a Statute

Which Is in Fact Constitutionally Valid .............. 32

ia iarcarinicemmenncspewetemosenrcen 38

IV. The Voting Rights Act of 1965 Is a Bill of At-

RRS BERG Sa ee 46

A. In Enacting the Voting Rights Act Congress

Purported to Exercise Purely Judicial Powers

and to Vest Legislative Powers in the Courts 46

B. Legislative Trials Are Abhorrent to the Con-

stitutional Principles of Separation of Powers

SSE AS ES 50

C. The Act Was Drafted to Apply to Known,

Named States and Subdivisions Alone and Its

Purported “Formula” Is Merely a Sophisti-

RGR ec ee nee RS 69

D. The Creation of an Irrational, Irrebuttable

Presumption Results in Legislative Convic-

tion and Forfeiture of Sovereign Rights With-

out Judicial Proceedings ........................:-..0s0c0:« 71

V. The Constitution Does Not Permit the Classifica-

SS SERA SLE ATR 76

sha TAT CT Cee Rca PR OTTO Ree Saat 80

Appendix—

Mississippi Code, as amended June 30, 1965 ............ Al

TABLE OF CASES

Albertson et al. v. SACB, No. 3, Oct. Term 1965,

11/15/65 ...... DE BR EE RR EA AA On 68

Anthony v. Halderman, (1871) 7 Kan. 50, 60 ................ 14, 18

Aptheker et al. v. Secretary of State, 378 U.S. 500, 508,

Fie ee BR LS | ee 49, 68

Bailey v. Drexel Furniture Co., 259 U.S. 20, 42 S.Ct. 449,

66 L.Ed. 817, 21 A.L.R. 1432 FE EIEN De 5

Bell v. Maryland, 378 U.S. 226, 84 S.Ct. 1814, 12 L.Ed.

2d 822 66

INDEX III

Burnet v. Coronado Oil & Gas Co., 285 U.S. 393, 52 S.Ct.

inp cen cee OO ai 25

Cameron v. Johnson, ........ * Se senadunsion i , 14

L.Ed.2d 715 (hind tapacin aamteen ana 62

Carrington v. Rash, ZS. ....... » 85 S.Ct. 775, 13 L.Ed.

SR etiesiirenn i iiebinuena 13, 16

Carter v. Carter Coal Co., 298 U.S. 238, 56 S.Ct. 855, 80

Se ira nntmmreeinrniemttomegnig 47

Chastleton Corp. v. Sinclair, 264 U.S. 543, 44 S.Ct. 405,

coo) relegate NE ee taellaar 65

Civil Rights Cases, 109 U.S. 3, 3 S.Ct. 18, 27 L.Ed. 835 ——

Collector v. Day, 78 U.S. (11 Wall.) 113, 20 L.ka. 122... 25

Coyle v. Smith, 221 US. 559, 31 S.Ct. 688, 55 L.Ed.

Sc ae eee ne ee OL ate idee 25, 79

Cummings v. State of Missouri, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 277,

seit ot hs pene I, etl iain 57

Davis v. Schnell, 81 F.Supp. 872, Aff. 336 U.S. 933, 69

et 4]

Duke Power Co. y. Greenwood County, 91 F.2d 665, 672,

Aff. 302 U.S. 485, 58 S.Ct. 306, 82 L.Ed. 381... 34

Ellis v. U. S., 206 U.S. 246, 256, 27 S.Ct. 600, 51 L.Ed.

ri Ses wept ee ee a ice aa 35

ep siege oo asa 10

"ae L.Ed2d __ ssectireniheitiin a. Al

Gomillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339, 81 S.Ct. 125, 5

L.Ed.2d 110; 167 F.Supp. 405, 270 F.2d 594. | 43

i4

Re. ous

SO Sen epee

Iv INDEX

Grosjean v. American Press Co., 297 U.S. 233, 56 S.Ct.

2” Ag AIAN MITT vwivcipsscacnenineiise in aeibeennlatcncbusesseaddndacces 66

Guinn v. U. S., 283 U.S. 347, 362, 35 S.Ct. 926, 59 L.Ed.

SE nicticketapiiticicgialecneegileniag vatailas ..27, 40

Hale v. Wisconsin, 103 U.S. 5, 11, 26 L.Ed. PED esis 7-8

Hannah v. Larche, 363 U.S. 420, 80 S.Ct. 1502, 4 L.Ed.2d

BN - aise 63

Hepburn v. Griswold, 75 U.S. (8 Wall.) 603, 611, 19

L.Ed. 513 51

Hodges v. United States, 203 U.S. 1, 27 S.Ct. 6, 51 LEd.

SIT sinssbahcaetiacthcliniepcteetieedebataibenepinineliechssaie tag enpeealineaseaiaenniilalcedcaicabeiabincuion 25

Hopkins Federal Savings & Loan Assn. v. Cleary, 296

U.S. 315, 56 S.Ct. 235, 80 L.Ed. 251, 100 A.L.R. 1403... 25

Hunt v. Richards, (1868) 4 Kan. 549 .. 14

Huron Portland Cement Co. v. Detroit, 362 U.S. 440, 80

S.Ct. 813, 4 L.Ed.2d 852, 78 A.L.R.2d 1294 -...0 2. 27

In re Oliver, 333 U.S. 257, 68 S.Ct. 499, 92 L.Ed. 682 .... 47

James v. Bowman, 190 U.S. 127, 23 S.Ct. 678, 47 L.Ed.

979 . 25

Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath,

341 U.S. 123, 146, 71 S.Ct. 624, 95 L.Ed. 817 ............ 52

Karem v. United States, 121 F. 258 (CCA 6th, 1903) .... 21

Kilbourn v. Thompson, 103 U.S. (13 Otto) 168, 190, 26

L.Ed. 377 . 50

Lane v. Wilson, 307 U.S. 268, 59 S.Ct. 872, 83 L.Ed.

BE tiene . 40, 43

Lassiter v. Northampton County Board of Elections, 360

U.S. 45, 79 S.Ct. 985, 3 L.Ed.2d 1072 ..... ra 27, 63

Linder v. United States, 268 U.S. 5, 17, 45 S.Ct. 446, 69

L.Ed. 819, 39 A.L.R. 229 ....... 8

Lindsley v. Natural Carbonic Gas Co., 220 U.S. 61, 31

S.Ct. 337, 55 L.Ed. 368 ....................... 36

Martin v. Hunter’ $s Lessee, 14 USS. e Wheat.) 304, 325,

4 L.Ed. 97 ..

Maxwell v. Dow, 176 US. 581, 20 S.Ct. 448, 44 LEd. 597 10

McCabe v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe eaentied Co.,

235 U.S. 151, 35 S.Ct. 69, 59 L.Ed. 169

INDEX Vv

McCulloch v. Maryland, 17 US. (4 Wheat.) 316, 403,

Weems. 7, 76

McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420, 81 S.Ct. 1101, 6

ayia bear ee Neen aate tata ds 36

McKay v. Campbell, (D.C. Or., 1870) 16 Fed.Cas. 157,

TE I TON eis snrirecninigtionernn 14,17

McPherson v. Blacker, 146 U.S. 1, 13 S.Ct. 3, 36 L.Ed. 869 16

Minor v. Happersett, 88 U.S. (21 Wall.) 162, 22 L.Ed.

OOF sterminrttcoreomnaiestrinerostrtntcnscscdicuene ccc 16

Muller v. Oregon, 208 USS. 412, 28 S.Ct. 324, 52 L.Ed.

ire ee ST 8-9

Nashville, C. & St. L. Ry. Co. v. Browning, 310 U.S. 362,

wn ORE Tee a4

Newberry v. U. S., 256 U.S. 232, 41 S.Ct. 469, 65 L.Ed.

913 ...... see ee nemnoancieanentiinentNanlortetimaiisesiiiity Lg a. (2, 25

Oregon-Wisconsin Timber Holding Co. v. Coos County,

(1914) 71 Ore. 462, 142 p. stay gig, oe 22

Parker v. Brown, 317 US. 341, 63 S.Ct. 307, 87 L.Ed.

OF Sohn slag 26, 31

Permoli v. Municipality No. 1 of the City of New Or-

leans, 44 U.S. (3 How.) 589, 610, 11 L.Ed. ORS 77

Pollard et al. v. Hagan et al., 44 U.S. (3 How.) 212, 224,

EME wiisipiir cc tiketiage 77

Railroad Retirement Bd. v. Alton Railroad Co., 295 U.S.

330, 346, 347, 55 S.Ct. 758, 79 L.Ed. 1468. 8

Railway Express Agency v. Virginia, 358 U.S. 434, 79

<a CC tec

Reynolds v. Simms, 377 U.S. 533, 595, 84 S.Ct. 1362, 12

ENO Reto iteeeinnontininanenteccee

Rhode Island vy. Massachusetts, 37 U.S. (12 Pet.) 657.

ED SUE Ohninnstknnciacene cate

Sinnot v. Davenport, 63 US. (22 How.) 227, 16 L.Ed.

Se Soe nnerct olaniescsedinmmaickerce sc.

Stephenson v. Binford, 287 U.S. 251, 53 S.Ct. 181, 77

L.Ed. 288, 87 A.L.R. TU Pinta.

Stone y. Smith, (1893) 159 Mass. 413. 34 N.F. 521 |

ae... Bey Snaiaiae ernie CURE AIS ENEMIES Sea SAE rg Nn ea aras

VI INDEX

U. S. v. Amsden, 6 F. 819 (D.C. Ind. 1881) 2.000000... ... 18

U.S. v. Baltimore & Ohio R. R. Co., 84 U.S. (17 Wall.)

Ss Te TIS TI Seeceicdiciots ellsnstdnieasceidvsadidtinpehtnsebeeticcbsenensnves 25

U. S. v. Barnett, 376 U.S. 681, 84 S.Ct. 984, 12 L.Ed.2d

SD sai lactchscascbiceaeesteseaateasnsd balielesilelebrsnrcheiaaiataieabiinieaiiaenbiiien 10

US. Brown, ........ US. . ., 85 S.Ct. 1707, 14 L.Ed. 2d

5 SIR EN AES SE orn ne eee Ne eee Pee 32, 52, 56, 57, 68

U. S. v. Carolene Products Co., 304 U.S. 144, 152, 58

I I i | sontiecetneientatinnreniinnensaiie 66

United States v. Constantine, 296 U.S. 287, 299, 56 S.Ct.

SA RTE RE ee ye US 46

United States v. Harris, 106 U.S. 629, 1 S.Ct. 601, 27 L.

I stain inane 25

U. S. v. Lovett, 328 U.S. 303, 66 S.Ct. 1073, 90 L.Ed.

ail 32, 56

U.S. v. Miller, 107 F. 913 (D.C. Ind. 1901) ...........000... 20

U.S. v. Mississippi, 380 U.S. 128, 85 S.Ct. 808, 13 L.Ed.2d

SU aah tecesiadettenbticaceesesiiarsach inci thei aheoonpeteasnicidcanseabiiadeliemaiontl 34, 62, 67

U.S. v. Reese et al., 92 U.S. (2 Otto) 214, 23 L.Ed. 568 ....

Bs LEI n-ne PRA A SR Rae EN OY ONT STE 13, 25, 50

United States v. Romana, No. 2, October Term, 1965,

SS i a icherelenteiinlciomenions 73

United States v. Texas, 339 U.S. 707, 70 S.Ct. 918, 94

Ee ENR ARNE SiS ce ly SE AO SRC Lorne UN TOI 80

Veix v. Sixth Ward Building & Loan Assn., 310 US.

eo Fie Breen aoe 68

Washington v. State, (1884) 75 Ala. 582, 584, 51 Am.Rep.

TIT senccnessessesire seijinchsicseaandhenth recbnaidtcliaaale x: usheaatbdiaahenladashahalaabeiitaaaudsais 18

Wieman v. Updegraff, 344 U.S. 183, 191, 73 S.Ct. 215,

Si aL ammnEn. GUE citciniesencoebalitiaadehcichiciamramninioditaameciednodmil 73

Williams v. Mississippi, 170 U.S. 213, 18 S.Ct. 583, 42

TRMEEG TEMIEE. Gecesrsscsnn-csncincasephentidaedatieiadiassebitiadesoniaiaboctsuch Ailasaantios 43

Wood v. Fitzgerald, 3 Or. 568, 580 20.0... cee 14

Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356, 6 S.Ct. 1064, 30 L.Ed.

UTE coucindsthansdieicdees issveihicnde doch dimciagansdeiadcatanmandee 38. 29, 40, 42, 48

—

CoNsTITUTIONS

INDEX VII

Connecticut—Constitution of 1818, as amended in 1845,

Art. VIII, Laws of 1874, P. 132 14

Illinois—Constitution of 1847, Art. VI, Sec. 1; Starr and

Curtis Anno. Statutes of tL eee 14

Indiana—Constitution of 1851, Art. II, Secs. 2 and 5,

ae ae 14

Kansas—Constitution of 1859, Art. V, Sec. 1 icine ee

Michigan—Constitution of 1850. Art. VII, Sec. 1;

Howell’s Anno. Statutes of « 5 pee 14

Nevada—Original Constitution, Art. IT, Sec. 1; Cutting’s

Complied Laws of Nevada, 1861-1900, Sec. 207 14

Ohio—Constitution of 1851, Art. V, Sec. 1; Swan &

Saylor Code of 1868, P. 336-9; Laws of 1869, P. 424 __ 14

Oregon—Constitution of 1857. Art. II, Sec. 2; Code of

Civ. Proc. (1863), i 14

United States Constitution—

Article I, Sections 2 cle 5 nC AN 6,9

spied in: Sgn tan oh aaa .32, 33

Article IV, Section 3, ME ir ru 76, 80

WHAmninet 9, 13,14

15th Amendment .__ «.3, 4, 6,9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15. 27, 28

NE 6

OE 9

Oe NE er 9

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Act of Admission. December 10, 1817, 3 Stat. (L. & B.

et eetinti ciel 2, 76

Atlantic Monthly, April issue, 1901, p. 473, Daniel H.

Lo se pane hI ia aaa 37

Congressional Globe, ei senin oes, a a 13, 16

Enabling Act of March 1. 1817, 3 Stat. (L. & B. Ed.) 342 2, 76

Federalist. No. 59. Madison Ed..p.279.0 11

|

VIII INDEX

Hearings before Committee on the Judiciary, U. S. Sen-

ate, 89th Congress, S. 1564, Part 1

sense 11, 23, 29, 31, 48, 61, 67, 69, 71, 74

Hearings before Subcommittee No. 5, Committee on the

Judiciary, House of Representatives, 89th Congress,

H.R. 6400, Ser. No. 2 .................... 11, 23, 47, 60, 67, 69. 71, 74

House Hearings; House of Representatives, Report No.

439, 89th Congress, 1st Session, pp. 16-19 ........ 11, 27, 61, 74

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States, Rule

CI cia cata hte cc donndindlentctcanieineniiaduteisniniitiosione 1

United States Senate Report No. 162, Part 3, 89th Con-

I, alee I Mh SE cd bis cincedprcctsseetonineontaemnesnecsoosnvense 12

Voting Rights Act of 1965, Public Law 89-110 ................

sldbibedestniddeadiaietalalsss aiid cionatatbinats 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 11, 28, 52

1962 Weaver Constitutional Law Essay Winner; Ritz,

“Free Elections and the Power of Congress Over

Voter Qualification”; 49 ABA Journal 949 ................ 10

MON CE SAF NEE PNW AEIIE TH 0 Het ERE ce

RPC TIT Lake at, (TIN a FI

No. 22 Original

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1965

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA,

Plaintiff,

Vs.

NICHOLAS deB. KATZENBACH, Attorney General of the

United States,

Defendant.

BRIEF FOR THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI,

AMICUS CURIAE

AUTHORITY FOR THE FILING OF AMICUS

CURIAE BRIEF

The Court’s order of November 5,

permits the filing of this brief.’

ee

1. See also Rule 42 (2) and (4), Rules of the Supreme

Court of the United States.

1965, in this cause

———mag

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS

The State of Mississippi became the 20th member of the

Union in the year 1817 when it was “admitted on an equal

footing with the original states in all respects whatever,”

There is now pending in the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Mississippi, Jackson Division,

Civil Action No. 3312, styled “United States of America,

Plaintiff, v. The State of Mississippi et al., Defendants”,

wherein the constitutionality of the Voting Rights Act of

1965, Public Law 89-110, is precisely drawn in issue as to its

application to and effect upon the new statutes of the State

of Mississippi relating to qualifications required of electors

which are set out in Appendix A hereto. This district court

action directly and not abstractly raises questions of

constitutionality both included within and in addition to

those raised by the South Carolina case. Both the sover-

eignty and equality of the State of Mississippi could be

affected by an improper decision of the cause pending here.

REQUEST FOR PERMISSION TO PARTICIPATE IN

ORAL ARGUMENT

Pursuant to leave granted in the Court’s said order of

November 5, 1965, request is hereby made to the Clerk

of this Court that the State of Mississippi, as Amicus Curiae,

be allowed to participate in the oral argument of this cause

on January 17, 1965, or as soon thereafter as the State may

be heard.

2. Act of Admission, December 10, 1817, 3 Stat. (L. & B.

Ed.) 472. See also Enabling Act of March 1, 1817, 3 Stat. (L.

& B. Ed.) 348. The Act of Admission contained a finding that

the requirement of the Enabling Act for the establishment of a

republican form of government had béen met.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Discussions of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 in the

Congress were based on a false premise. The Constitution

of the United States grants no powers to the State Govern-

ments. That document and its Amendments create a central

government of limited enumerated powers, none of which

powers grant or include authority to affirmatively establish

qualifications for electors in the various states.

The provision of the Voting Rights Act purporting to

“suspend” the rights of selected States to use a literacy

qualification for voting is Particular'y “constitutional in

the light of the history of the adoption of the 15th Amend-

ment. That history discloses that the 40th Congress which

proposed the 15th Amendment expressly debated the in-

clusion of prohibitions against education, property and

religious tests but finally determined to include only pro-

hibitions against race, color or previous condition of

servitude. The history of al] provisions of the original

Constitution and the other Amendments likewise discloses

a complete lack of support for this Act.

The only new right which the 15th Amendment con-

ferred was the right of male citizens to vote if they met

State qualifications which did not deny or abridge the right

to vote on account of race. Every republican form of

government withholds the right of franchise from some

portion of its constituents on the basis of its own ideas of

proper qualifications; and all courts have long affirmed that

the Constitution does not confer suffrage on anyone. In

America, voter qualifications have always been based upon

the laws of the separate States. The privilege of suffrage

becomes a right to vote only when a citizen comes within

the limits of the privilege as defined by State legislation.

—_ Se nee REN.

ira

The central government can have no legitimate concern

with “enlarging representative government” or with

“increasing democracy” because, under our Constitution,

Congress is not empowered to create or require any

particular combination of qualifications for the electors of

any State or all of them. When literacy requirements are

plain and reasonable and equate with the bare mechanical

ability to mark a ballot and comprehend election notices

and voting instructions, such requirements cannot discrimi-

nate on account of race or color. Such a requirement is so

clearly not conflicting with or repugnant to the command of

the 15th Amendment that Congress cannot constitutionally

create a repugnance by its attempts to legislate “enforce-

| ment.”

There is a gross anomaly in this legislation. The Voting

Rights Act was aimed at correcting misadministration.

Congress conceded that they were dealing with voting

standards which did not, on their face, discriminate on

account of race. Therefore when Congress essayed to

destroy such laws in some States on the basis that it was

the easy, convenient way to stop occasions of misuse in

certain counties and parishes, it erred. It was patently

improper to despoil South Carolina’s requirement that

her voters possess marginal literacy, since her “conviction”

was based on the allegations of misadministration of other

laws in other States.

There is no such thing as suspended sovereignty. If

the power to suspend exists it can be exercised to suspend

for 100 years as easily as for five. It can suspend the

entire range of qualifications as easily as it can suspend

one. Insofar as South Carolina's sovereignty is concerned,

there is no difference between the power to suspend and

the power to destroy her voter laws.

5

If a statute be valid and non-diseriminatory by its

plain terms, it cannot be destroyed or rewritten by an

administration which misuses it nor can it be debilitated by

Congress’ looking beneath the surface of the law in an

attempt to divine some improper legislative motive. In

order for a statute, which is Within a State's power to enact,

to be invalid, it must have the inevitable effect of operating

discriminatorily or it must vest arbitrary power in adminis-

trative officials. Laws which are capable of a fair, even

application and have the effect of operating equally may

be vehicles of discrimination in the hands of evi] men but,

in such cases, correction must work on the men not the

statute. This is not to say that misadministration cannot

give rise to a constitutional claim of denial of equal protec-

tion of law, it is only to state that misadministration can

never make a bad statute good nor can it make a good

statute bad.

type of function amounts to a legislative trial and is a bill

of attainder. The States attained under this act are

inflicted with deprivations of their unqualified rights to

use valid, constitutional laws and to make reasonable

changes in their voter requirements for a five-year period

While other states, both with and without past histories

of discrimination, are permitted to use and enforce identical

laws. Such principles of legislation have recently been

condemned by this Court in the field of regulation of

Communist activities. The Constitution is no less available +

to and protective of the sovereign State of South Carolina

than it is to the Communist Party.

Although the act purports to use a formula to deter-

mine its coverage, the “formula” is a subterfuge to cover

6

the fact that Congress was legislating against selected states

that were frequently named in its discussions and were

arbitrarily chosen for legislative adjudication. The “for-

mula” looks exclusively to the past so that it will not in

the future accidentally catch any States other than those

singled out for punishment now. The “formula” does not

define a standard of conduct that bears a reasonable rela-

tionship to proving the claimed wrongdoing, rather, it de-

fines only the States and counties which have been selected.

As drawn, the act clearly violates the right of South

Carolina and every other state to equal footing as respects

political standing and sovereignty within the Union.

Congress exceeded the limits of the Constitution in

enacting the Voting Rights Act of 1965.

ARGUMENT

I.

By the Constitution, the People of the Several States

Created a Central Government of Limited,

Enumerated Powers,

A recurrence to fundamentals is an apt beginning be-

cause throughout committee proceedings and debates Con-

gress discussed the constitutional issues raised by this

legislation in terms, on the one hand, of its power to legis-

late under the 15th Amendment and, on the other hand,

what was referred to as the power “granted” to the states

to fix voter qualifications under Article I, Sections 2 and

4, and under the first section of the 17th Amendment. The

fallacy of this very basic premise is obvious.

Practically since the Ninth and Tenth Amendments of

the Bill of Rights made it explicit, this Court’s opinions have

repeatedly pointed out that our federalism is not built upon

—_

7

a central government possessing general powers, sur-

rounded by satellite states occupying subservient govern-

mental roles. There are no powers granted to the States

by the Constitution. The Court’s own words negate the

congressional premise and best illustrate the true structure

of the United States.

“... (After the adoption of the Constitution) the sover.

eign powers vested in the state governments, by their

respective constitutions, remained unaltered and un-

impaired, except so far as they were granted to the

government of the United States.” Per Story, Justice,

speaking in Martin v. Hunter’s Lessee *

“No political dreamer was ever wild enough to think

of breaking down the lines which separate the states and

of compounding the American people into one common

mass. ... From these (State) conventions the Con-

stitution (of the United States) derives its whole

authority. ... This government is acknowledged by

all to be one of enumerated powers. The principle,

that it can exercise only the powers granted to it, would

seem too apparent to have required to be enforced by

all those arguments which its enlightened friends, while

it was depending before the people, found it necessary

to urge. That principle is now universally admitted.

“Should Congress, in the execution of its powers, adopt

measures which are prohibited by the constitution: or

should congress, under the pretext of executing its

powers, pass laws for the accomplishment of objects

not intrusted to the government; it would become the

painful duty of this tribunal, should a case requiring

such a decision come before it, to say, that such an act

was not the law of the land.” Per Marshall, Chief

Justice, speaking in McCulloch v. Maryland.‘

“The General Government has no powers but such as

are given to it expressly or by implication.

3. 14U.S. (1 Wheat.) 304, 325, 4 L.Ed. 97.

4. 17 US. (4 Wheat.) 316, 403, 405 and 423, 4 L.Ed. 579.

. en

# tn earn aa ta SLOP L BRE ET EEL ERE

IPN RTs fat,» op ES yA VRE ic Cy Re Ee ee

8

“The States and their Legislatures have all such as have

not been surrendered or prohibited to them.” Per

Swayne, Justice, speaking in Hale v. Wisconsin.’

“Congress cannot, under the pretext of executing

delegated power, pass laws for the accomplishment of

objects not intrusted to the federal government. And

we accept as established doctrine that any provision

of an act of Congress ostensibly enacted under power

granted by the Constitution, not naturally and reason-

ably adapted to the effective exercise of such power,

but solely to the achievement of something plainly

within power reserved to the states, is invalid and

cannot be enforced.” Per McReynolds, Justice, speak-

ing in Linder v. United States."

“ Though we should think the measure embodies a

valuable social plan and be in entire sympathy with its

purpose and intended results, if the provisions go be-

yond the boundaries of constitutional power we must so

declare.

“The federal government is one of enumerated powers;

those not delegated to the United States by the Con-

stitution, nor prohibited by it to the states, are reserved

to the states or to the people. The Constitution is not

a statute, but the supreme law of the land to which

all statutes must conform, and the powers conferred

upon the federal government are to be reasonably and

fairly construed, with a view to effectuating their

purposes. But recognition of this principle cannot

justify attempted exercise of a power clearly beyond

the true purpose of the grant.” Per Roberts, Justice,

speaking in Railroad Retirement Bd. v. Alton Railroad

Co.

“It is the peculiar value of a written constitution that it

places in unchanging form limitations upon legislative

5. 103 U.S. 5, 11, 26 L.Ed. 302.

6. 268 US. 5, 17, 45 S.Ct. 446, 69 L.Ed. 819, 39 A.L.R. 229.

7. 295 US. 330, 346, 347, 55 S.Ct. 758, 79 L.Ed. 1468.

—_~>~_——

action, and thus gives a permanence and stability to

popular government which otherwise would be lack-

ing.” Per Brewer, Justice, speaking in Muller y.

Oregon.*

9

The 15th and 19th Amendments prohibit denial or

abridgement of the right to vote on account of race and sex.

The 24th Amendment proscribes poll and other tax

prerequisites in Federal elections. Congress is given the

power to enforce these prohibitions. Article I, Section 4,

gives Congress permission to make or alter regulations

prescribing the times, places and manner of holding elec-

tions for Federal Congressmen. Except for the reduction

of representation clause of the 14th Amendment, the

Constitution of the United States is otherwise silent as to

Congressional power to control the elector qualification and

voting processes of the several States. Therefore, under

proper constitutional precepts the remaining plenary

powers belong to the States to fix and change qualifications

of electors and to prescribe reasonable procedures and

regulations to prevent corrupt practices in voter registra-

tion and elections, subject only to the general judicial

protections of the Constitution applicable to all State action

in the execution and enforcement of its Statutory and

decisional policies.

The Founding Fathers undertook to establish a con-

stitutional republic and explicitly required that each State

be guaranteed a republican form of government. The

persuasions urged upon Congress to assume to extend

suffrage to citizens of selected States, contrary to the laws

of those states, were urgings to create a government of

men and not of laws, and outside of the limits of the Federal

Constitution. In respondent to these urgings by enacting

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, Congress exceeded its con-

stitutional powers.

8. 208 US. 412, 28 S.Ct. 324, 52 L.Ed. 551, 13 Ann’ Cas.

957.

. dS URI PNT ELEMENT EIR ee

5 . RR Ses Ryrthae SHARE ny hea Oe

10

II.

The Fifteenth Amendment Does Not Vest Authority in

Congress to “Suspend” State Literacy Qualifications.

A.

“Suspension” of the State Literacy Qualifications for

Voting Is Not APPROPRIATE under the Fifteenth

Amendment in the Light of the Legislative History of

That Amendment, Which Discloses That the Fortieth

Congress Considered at Length, But Refused to

Include in the Amendment, a Prohibition of Literacy

Qualifications.

This Court has long adhered to the practice of inter-

preting provisions of the Constitution in the light of the

conditions existing at the time of their enactment.’ Rec-

ords of the debates in the Constitutional Convention and

contemporary writings, such as The Federalist papers, are

often quoted in support of interpretations of the original

document. It is equally appropriate to refer to the debates

in Congress and ratifying state legislatures to ascertzin

the true intent and meaning of the several amendments.”

There was certainly no thought of authorizing Con-

gressional setting of voter qualifications in the original

Constitution. Not even the leading exponent of centraliza-

tion, Alexander Hamilton, dared to propose federal regu-

lation of State voter qualification. It was Hamilton who

9. See, e.g., Rhode Island v. Massachusetts, 37 U.S. (12 Pet.)

657, 9 L.Ed. 1233; Maxwell v. Dow, 176 U.S. 581, 20 S.Ct. 448, 44

L.Ed. 597; Ex parte Grossman, 267 U.S. 87, 45 S.Ct. 332, 69 L.Ed.

527, 38 A.L.R. 31; U. S. v. Barnett, 376 U.S. 681, 84 S.Ct. 984, 12

L.Ed.2d 23.

10. For a thoroughly documented discussion of the orig-

inal constitution’s history in the field of voting qualifications

for Federal elections, see the 1962 Weaver Constitutional Law

Essay Winner; Ritz, “Free Elections and the Power of Congress

Over Voter Qualification”; 49 ABA Journal 949.

11

proposed that the Constitution be so framed as to give the

Central Government power to appoint the Chief Execu-

tive of each state, whose appointment would extend dur-

ing good behavior and who would be vested with the power

of absolute veto over any acts of the State legislature. But

when it came to the creation of Federal electors, Hamil-

ton wrote:

“Suppose an article be introduced into the Constitu-

tion empowering the United States to regulate the

elections for the particular States, would any man

have hesitated to condemn it, both as an unwarrant-

able transposition of power, and as a premeditated

engine for the destruction of the state governments?”""

The portions of the Voting Rights Act which are in-

volved in this proceeding depend solely on the 15th

Amendment for their constitutional foundation.!”

11. Federalist No. 59, Madison Edition, p. 279.

12. See, e.g., in Hearings before Subcommittee No. 5, Com-

mittee on the Judiciary, House of Representatives, 89th Congress,

H.R. 6400, Ser. No. 2:

“Mr. Katzenbach: As drafted this is based entirely on

the legislative provision of the 15th amendment which em-

powers Congress to enact legislation in order to effectuate

the substantive prohibitions against discrimination on the

ground of race or color.” (p. 50)

See, also, pp. 12-19 in the House Hearings; House of Rep-

resentatives, Report No. 439, 89th Congress, 1st Session, pp. 16-19;

Rearings before Committee on the Judiciary, United States Senate,

89th Congress, S. 1564, Part 1:

This legislation has only one aim—to effectuate at long

last the promise of the 15th amendment—that there shall

be no discrimination on account of race or color with respect

to the right to vote. That is the only purpose of the pro-

posed bill. It is therefore, truly legisiation “designed to

enforce” the amendment. (p. 20)

“Senator Ervin: Under this bill the literacy test that

12

The legislative history of the proposal of the 15th

Amendment makes it transparant that Congress intended

by the amendment to forbid only the denial or abridge-

ment of the right to vote on account of race, color or pre-

vious condition of servitude. Both branches expressly con-

sidered and extensively debated making the proposal into

a sweeping constitutional veto of state voter qualifications

based upon educational, property and religious tests, in

addition to race; but after the House refused to concur

in a narrowly passed Senate proposal to this effect, the

amendment was proposed to the States in its present form.

Rather than lengthen this brief, we refer to the outstand-

ing thorough and copiously documented treatise on this

subject which is the appendix to the brief filed in this

proceeding by the Commonwealth of Virginia, Amicus

Curiae.

Although we submit that the 14th Amendment was not

intended to furnish any base for the portions of the Vot-

ing Rights Act which are presented by South Carolina's

complaint, and that it could not validly furnish any such

base if it had been put forward, we would also respectfully

refer the Court to Part I B of the dissent of Mr. Justice

Attorney General Katzenbach: That is right, Senator

because this is based on the 15th amendment. And I do not

believe that that situation in New York could be cured under

the 15th amendment.” (p. 75).

Later, the Puerto Rican provision was added [Section 4 (e)] as

was a poll tax provision [Section 10], but neither are involved

here.

Hereinafter, for sake of brevity, these records will be re-

ferred to as House Hearings, Hours Report, and Senate Hear-

ings, respectively. To the same effect is United States Senate

Report No. 162, Part 3, 89th Congress, Ist Session, pp. 1, 17.

See also the Brief filed by the United States in Original Nos.

23, 24 and 25, October Term, 1965, p. 17.

Emphasis in all quotations is added except where otherwise

indicated.

r

13

Harlan in Reynolds v. Simms," in which he demonstrates

by quotations from the debates of the 39th Congress and

references to the various state ratifying actions that the

14th Amendment was in nowise intended to cover the

affirmative fixing of qualifications for electors. Espe-

cially do we assert that the 14th Amendment does not bar

the use by any state of a literacy requirement so reasonable

that it requires no more than that electors possess the

naked manual ability to place the mark they intend upon a

ballot."* The only relationship the 14th Amendment bears

to suffrage is the same which it bears to all types of classi-

fications; namely, it proscribes arbitrary devices and for-

mulae which deny equal protection of law, such as that

condemned in Carrington v. Rash.”

If the 14th Amendment were ever to be distorted into

authority for Congress to demand that all states have the

same federally established or approved elector qualifica-

tions, the Union of the Constitution would be dead. A

greater opportunity to create a self-perpetuating oli-

garchy could not be envisioned than to give to Congress the

power to designate the qualifications of those who could

vote them into office. The very fact that the 15th Amend-

ment was adopted recognizes what Section 2 of the 14th

Amendment implies, and that is that before the adoption

of the 15th Amendment a state could constitutionally limit

the franchise to Caucasians."

13. 377 U.S. 533, 595, 84 S.Ct. 1362, 12 L.Ed.2d 506.

14. History of the 39th Congress which proposed the 14th

Amendment shows that that same Congress chose to impose a

literacy test on all new voters in the District of Columbia, the bulk

of whom were Negroes. It further shows that the District bill

kad the support of most of those who supported the proposal of

the 14th Amendment and thet the bill was Passed over the veto

oi the then President Johnson. (See Volume 39 of the Congres-

sional Globe.)

15. US. » 85 S.Ct. 775, 13 L.Ed.2d 675.

16. U.S. v. Reese et al., 92 US. (2 Otto) 214, 22 L.Rd. 563.

STARS RAB SRF ALE LET ST

14

The States themselves, in the times of the adoption

of the Fourteenth and Fifteenth Amendments, certainly

did not evidence any opinion that the Fourteenth Amend-

ment operated to enfranchise Negro citizens. In fact, just

the opposite appears. At least sixteen States outside the

Confederacy restricted the franchise to Caucasians (and

in some cases, to Indians). Most of them continued this

pattern of racially restricted suffrage after the ratifica-

tion of the Fourteenth Amendment."

This suit presents a direct confrontation between the

Constitution and the Voting Rights Act. Both cannot stand;

17. Oregon-Constitution of 1857 Art. IH, See. 2; Chapter

XIII, Code of Civ. Proc. (1863). Remained in organic law until

self-executing provisions of the 15th Amendment took effect.

See, Wood v. Fitzgerald, 3 Or. 568, 580, and McKay v. Campbell,

Infra, Page 19.

Nevada-Original Constitution, Art. I], See. 1, not amended

until the ratification of Art. XVII in 1880. See Sec. 207, Cutting’s

Compiled Laws of Nevada 1861-1900.

Kansas-Constitution of 1859, Art. V, Sec. 1. See Anthony v.

Halderman, Infra, Page 19 and cf. Hunt v. Richards, (1868) 4

Kan. 549.

Michigan-Constitution of 1850, Art. VII, Sec. 1, not amended

until ratification of amendment in 1870. Howell's Anno. Statutes

of 1882, P. 55.

IUinois-Constitution of 1847, Art. VI, Sec. 1 not amended

until ratification of amendment July 2, 1870. Starr and Curtis

Anno. Statutes of 1885, P. 99.

Connecticut-Constitution of 1818, as amended in 1845, Art.

VIII of amendments, after one unsuccessful attempt in 1869 to

enfranchise Negroes the Legislature deleted the word “white

from the Constitution in 1874. Laws of 1874, P. 132.

Ohio-Constitution of 1851, Art. V, Sec. 1, Severe provisions

enforcing exclusively white suffrage were adopted on April 16,

1868, Swan & Saylor Code 1868, P. 336-9. May 7, 1869, the

Legislature rejected the 15th Amendment reciting that the people

of Ohio had recently rejected “Negro suffrage” by a majority of

over 50,000 votes. Laws of 1869, P. 424.

Indiana-Constitution of 1851, Art. II, Sees. 2 and 5 not

amended until after July 1, 1870. See Davis Supplement to

Gavin & Hard Code.

_

one must fall. To permit the Voting Rights Act to stand

will result in sanctioning: (1) that which was rejected by

the draftsmen of the Constitution of the United States, (2)

that which would have prevented the adoption of that

Constitution by the States which did adopt it, and (3)

that which the 39th and 40th Congresses refused to in-

clude in the prohibitions of either the Fourteenth or the

Fifteenth Amendments.

15

If neither the original document, nor the 14th, nor the

15th Amendment were designed or intended to proscribe

State adoption of a fair, reasonable literacy requirement

as a qualification for electors, a fortiori the action of Con

gress in adopting the Voting Rights Act in a form which

“suspends” just such a qualification in South Carolina and

leaves it in use and available for use in other states is

without semblance of constitutional support.

B

The New Right Which the 15th Amendment Conferred

upon Male Citizens Was the Right to Vote IN AC-

CORDANCE WITH STATE LAW, Free from Denial

or Abridgement on Account of Race.

Although the Fifteenth Amendment has been referred

to as creating universal male suffrage, only a moment’s

reflection is necessary to determine that such a characteri-

zation is wholly inaccurate. Some States extend suffrage

to 18 year olds, others require the attainment of 21 years

of age. Residence requirements, sanity requirements, char-

acter requirements, literacy requirements, poll tax re-

quirements, temporary and permanent registration pro-

cedures and provisions of corrupt practice acts, all serve

to reduce suffrage in varying degrees and to differing

extents in the several States. None allows all males or all

citizens the right of the ballot. Almost 100 vears ago in

16

the debates on the 14th Amendment this same thought

was expressed on the Senate floor, thus:

“All the people, or all the members of a State or com-

munity, are equally entitled to protection; they are all

subject to its laws; they must all share its burdens,

and they are all interested in its legislation and gov-

ernment.

“Notwithstanding this, no State or community pro-

fessing to be republican allows all its people to vote.

Every one fixes for itself some rule which, in its

judgment, will furnish a body of voters or electors

who will most wisely and safely represent the wishes

and interests of the whole people. The right or fran-

chise of voting has, probably, been more widely ex-

tended in these American States than in any other pro-

fessed republican Government, but in the most liberal

of these it has always been confined to a small minor-

ity of the whole people. In none of our States have

females, or males under twenty-one years of age,

ever been allowed to vote.

“The truth is that the whole system of suffrage of any

republican State is wholly artificial, founded upon its

own ideas of the number and class of persons who will

best represent the wishes and interests of the whole

people.”"*

The numerous “voting” cases decided by this Court,

from Minor v. Happersett’® to McPherson v. Blacker” to

the Carrington case™ will obviously be extensively dis-

cussed by the principal litigants.

The amicus feels that it would be of more interest to

the Court to supply in this brief a ready reference to the

reasoning of other courts which have dealt with this sub-

18. 39 Congressional Globe (June 5, 1866), p. 2962.

19. 88 U.S. (21 Wall.) 162, 22 L.Ed. 627.

20. 146 U.S. 1, 13 S.Ct. 3, 36 L.Ed. 869.

21. Footnote 15, supra, p. 13.

17

ject reasonably near to the time of the adoption of the

15th Amendment.

In McKay v. Campbell,?* the Court reasoned:

“The fifteenth amendment above quoted, declares

in effect that citizens of the United States and of the

several states shall vote in their respective states at

all elections by the people, without distinction on ac-

count of race, color or previous condition of servitude.

But the amendment does not take away the power

of the several states to deny the right of citizens of the

United States to vote on any other account than those

mentioned therein. For instance, notwithstanding the

amendment, any state may deny the right of suf-

frage to citizens of the United States, on account of

age, sex, place of birth, vocation, want of property or

intelligence, neglect of civic duties, crime, etc. The

power of Congress in the premises is limited to the

scope and object of the amendment. It can only legis-

late to enforce the amendment, that is, to secure the

right to citizens of the United States to vote in the

several states where they reside, without the distinction

of race, color or previous condition of servitude.”

The Kansas Constitution contained the following arti-

cle on franchise:

“Every white male person, of twenty-one years

and upwards, belonging to either of the following

classes, who shall have resided in Kansas six months

next preceding any election, and in the township or

ward in which he offers to vote at least thirty days

next preceding such election, shall be deemed a quali-

fied elector.”

On the claim of one denied the ballot, the Kansas

Supreme Court wrote:

22. (D.C. Or., 1870) 16 Fed.Cas. 157, 160, Case #8839.

FEE tat AEE ERS TEE OPERA, ORE

18

“The object and effect of the Fifteenth Amend-

ment to the Federal Constitution were to place the

colored man in the matter of suffrage on the same

basis with the white. It does not give him the right

to vote independent of the restrictions and qualifica-

tions, such as age and residence, imposed by the State

Constitution upon the white man. The colored man, to

become a voter, as well as the white man, must be

twenty-one years of age, six months a resident of the

State, and thirty days a resident of the township or

ward. That amendment operates no further than to

strike the word ‘white’ from the State Constitution.”

In U. S. v. Amsden,”' it was succinctly stated:

“The right to vote in the states comes from the states,

while only the right of exemption from discrimination

comes from the United States.”

The Supreme Court of Alabama in a well documented

opinion in Washington v. State,» expressed the following

views:

“It may be laid down as a sound proposition, using

the language of Mr. Cooley, that ‘participation in the

elective franchise is a privilege rather than a right, and

it is granted or denied on grounds of general policy;

the prevailing view being that it should be as general

as possible, consistent with the public safety.—

Cooley’s Con. Lim. (5th Ed.) 752 (*599). Mr. Story,

without undertaking to say whether it has its founda-

tion in natural right or not, says it ‘has always been

treated in the practice of nations as a strictly civil

right, derived from and regulated by each society

according to its own free will and pleasure.’—1 Story’s

Const. (4th Ed.) §§ 579-582. The weight of both rea-

son and of authority, however, as we shall see, sup-

23. Anthony v. Halderman, (1871) 7 Kan. 50, 60.

24. 6 F. 819 (D.C. Ind. 1881).

25. (1884) 75 Ala. 582, 584, 51 Am.Rep. 479.

19

port the view that political suffrage is not an absolute

or natural right, but is a privilege conventionally

conferred upon the citizen by the sovereignty. There

can be practically no such thing as universal suffrage,

and it is believed that no such theory is recognized

among any people. Some are necessarily excluded on

the ground of infancy, and the Privilege is infinitely

varied among others, either upon the ground of public

policy, or for reasons that seem arbitrary. No one can

lawfully vote under any government of laws except

those who are expressly authorized by law. It is well

| settled, therefore, under our form of government, that

| the right is one conferred by constitutions and stat-

| utes, and is the subject of exclusive regulation by the

| State, limited only by the provisions of the Fifteenth

| Amendment to the Federal Constitution, which pro-

hibits any discrimination on account of ‘race, color,

or previous condition of servitude.’—Cooley’s Cons.

Lim. (5th Ed.) 752 et seq.; McCreary on Elec. (2d Ed.)

§ 3; Brightley’s Elec. Cases, 27; Huber vy. Reiley, 53

Penn. St. 112. The States having the power to confer

or to withhold the right, in such manner as the people

may deem best for their welfare, it necessarily fol-

lows that they may confer it upon such conditions

or qualifications as they may see fit, subject only to

the limitation above mentioned.” (Emphasis by the

Court).

The Supreme Court of Massachusetts in Stone vy.

Smith,’ put the rule thus:

“Article 14 of the amendments of the constitution of

the United States (section 2) provides that, ‘when

the right to vote at any election, * * * is denied to

any of the male inhabitants of such states, being

twenty-one years of age and citizens of the United

States, or in any way abridged, except for participa-

tion in rebellion or other cause, the basis of repre-

sentation therein shall be reduced in the proportion

26. (1893) 159 Mass. 413, 34 N_E. 521.

ee

—_ PEG YRORO ST SL AE BO SURIE GED SS ARE IIE REM EIEN arty

20

which the number of such citizens shall bear to the

whole number of such citizens, twenty-one years of

age, in such state.” This distinetly recognizes the

right of a state to deny or abridge the right to vote

of the male inhabitants who are 21 years of age, and

it is well known that many of the states have, from

time to time, by an impartial and uniform rule of

prohibition, denied the right to vote to such of their

male inhabitants as were thought not to possess the

qualifications necessary for an independent and in-

telligent exercise of the right. Article 15 of the amend-

ments of the constitution of the United States pro-

vides that ‘the right of the citizens of the United States

to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United

States or by any state on account of race, color, or pre

vious condition of servitude.” This is the only pro-

hibition on the states contained in the constitution

of the United States which concerns the right to vote.”

In U.S. vy. Miller! it was stated:

“It is manifest that no power is conferred on Con-

gress by the second section to enact legislation for the

regulation and control of elections generally, nor for

securing to the citizens of the United States the right

to vote at all elections, ‘The right of suffrage is not

inherent in citizenship, ner is it a natural and inalien-

able right, like the right to life, liberty, and the pur-

suit of happiness, Unless restrained by constitutional

limitation, the legislature may lawfully confer the

right of suffrage upon such portion of the citizens of

the United States as it may deem expedient, and may

deny that right to all others, Before the adoption of

the fifteenth amendment, it was within the power of

the state to exclude citizens of the United States fram

voting an account of race, age, property, education, or

on any other ground however, arbitrary or whimsical.

The constitution of the United States, before the adop-

tion of the fifteenth amendment, in no wise interfered

et 107 F Os (DC. Ind 1901)

e~*~7VWX"

21

with this absolute power of the state to control the

right of suffrage in accordance with its own views of

expediency or propriety, It simply secured the right

to vote for members of congress to a definite class of

voters of the state, consisting of those who were

eligible to vote for members of the most: numerous

branch of the state legislature, Further than this, no

power was given by the constitution, before the adop

tion of the fifteenth amendment, to secure the right

of suffrage to any one. The fifteenth amendment

does not in direct terms confer the right of suffrage

upon any one. Tt secures to the colored man the same

right to vote as that possessed by the white man, by

prohibiting any discrimination against hira on account

of race, color, or previous condition of servitude.

Subject to that limitation, the states still possess un-

controllable authority to regulate the right of suff rage

according to their own views of expediency.

. * *

“As we have said, this section is bottomed solely

on the fifteenth amendment. It cannot be successfully

contended that the amendment confers authority to

impose penalties for every conceivable wrongful dep-

rivation of the colored man's right to vote, It is only

When the wrongful deprivation is on account of TACe,

color, or previous condition of servitude that congress

may interfere and provide for its punishment. If,

therefore, the section in question goes beyond that

limit, it is unauthorized by the amendment.”

In Karem vo United States, that Civeuit held

“The Fifteenth amendment is therefore a limita-

fion upon the powers of the states in the execution

of their otherwise unlimited right to prescribe the

qualification of voters in their own elections, and the

power of Congress to enforce this limitation is neces-

Sk OYE FE asa (COA @th, Tansy

Sg hayaeaeesaney a

TEE ace Ra RHEE TIRE BR Tie leg eae re :

22

sarily limited to legislation appropriate to the correc-

tion of any discrimination on account of race, color,

or condition. The affirmative right to vote in such elec-

tions is still dependent upon and secured by the Con-

stitution and laws of the state, the power of the state

to prescribe qualification being limited in only one

particular. The right of the voter not to be discrimi-

nated against at such elections on account of race or

color is the only right protected by this amendment,

and that right is a very different right from the af-

firmative right to vote.”

In Oregon-Wisconsin Timber Holding Co. v. Coos

County,” the Supreme Court of Oregon ruled:

“Safely it may be said that the right of suffrage

is not an absolute unqualified personal right, but a

franchise dependent upon law. None of the law

writers include the right to vote among the rights

of property or of person. The only restriction on the

power of the states to regulate the qualifications of

electors is to be found in the fifteenth amendment

to the federal Constitution, which provides that the

right of citizens of the United States to vote is not to

be denied or abridged by the United States, or by any

state, on account of race, color, or previous condition

of servitude. Subject to this constitutional restriction,

the states have exclusive power to regulate the right

of suffrage and to determine the class of inhabitants

who may vote.”

In proposing this legislation and ‘urging its constitu-

tionality to Congress, the Attorney General failed to rec-

ognize that the right to vote in State elections is a right

to vote which is subject to every condition that a State

chooses to impose except those prohibited by the Consti-

29. (1914) 71 Ore. 462, 142 P. 575, 576.

Bas Samia SRSA CRS ENE C %

ee

23

tution. The error of his position is demonstrated in the

following quotation:

“. . . we seek to abolish these (literacy) tests because

they have been used in those places as a device to

discriminate against Negroes.

“It is not this bill—it is not the Federal Government—

which undertakes to eliminate illiteracy as a require-

ment for voting in such states or counties. It is the

states or counties themselves which have done so, and

done so repeatedly, by registering illiterate or barely

literate white persons... . It might be suggested that

this kind of discrimination could be ended in a differ-

ent way—by wiping the registration books clean and

requiring all voters, white or Negro, to register anew

under a uniformly applied literacy test.

“For two reasons, such an approach would not solve,

but would compound our present problem .. . (1)

Negroes have been denied educational opportunity ...

(2) Fair administration of a new literacy test in the

relevant areas would, inevitably, disenfranchise not

only many Negroes, but also thousands of illiterate

whites who have voted throughout their adult lives.

“Our concern today is to enlarge representative gov-

ernment. It is to solicit the consent of all the gov-

erned. It is to increase the number of citizens who

can vote. Surely we cannot even purport to act on

that concern if, in so doing, we reduce the ballot and

correspondingly diminish democracy.”?°

Neither the Attorney General or the Congress, nor the

Attorney General and the Congress, have the constitutional

30. House Hearings, pp. 16 and 17; Senate Hearings, pp.

22 and 23. The remarks of the Attorney General in appearances

before Congress are Particularly significant in as much as he

and his aides were the principal draftsmen and proponents of

this legislation.

BAG PAR EEF DEFRA OT LIES IN ETE LE MG RE ln

ie ROLLE EL LAE ELLIE LE EILEEN CLE TNE

24

prerogative of enlarging representative government, nor

is theirs separately or collectively the prerogative of in-

creasing democracy. The 15th Amendment power of Con-

gress is solely the power to enact appropriate legislation

to enforce a prohibition against racial discrimination in

voting. It is not a source of power to take over state elec-

toral functions nor is it an authorization to create addi-

tional voters, black or white, or both. The Attorney Gen-

eral is certainly not entitled to erect his prejudices into

principles.

In surveying the boundaries and limits of the power

granted to Congress to enforce the 15th Amendment's self-

executing veto of any state law or action which abridges

or denies the right to vote on account of race or color, this

Court should not give the slightest weight to the Attor-

“ney General’s wish for more universal suffrage, rather,

the judicial assay must be conducted with scrupulous re-

gard for the constitutional necessity fo: enforcement of

every nondiscriminatory qualification for voting set by

each of the 50 States of the Urivn.

Cc.

There Is No Repugnance or Conflict Between the

Power of State to Fix a Literacy Requirement for

Electors and the Prohibition of the 15th Amendment.

From time to time during its history this Court has

been called on to review legislation with an eye to deter-

mining whether or not Congress has exceeded the enumer-

ated powers vested in it by the Constitution and thereby

wrongly invaded powers belonging to the States; and in

more than a few cases the Court has found that congres-

sional action has transgressed on the Constitution and on

25

State sovereignty.** Thus, the mere fact that Congress de-

cided to enact the Voting Rights Act cannot be treated

as conclusive evidence that Congress possesses such power.

Otherwise, serious discussion of constitutional limitations

must cease.*”

In Sinnot v. Davenport,** the power of Congress to regu-

late interstate commerce had been exercised through the

medium of a statute requiring the enrollment and license

of vessels engaged in the coasting trade at their home

ports. The State of Alabama, some fifty years later, passed

an act providing for the registration of the names of steam-

boat owners in Alabama and, acting under its law, detained

the New Orleans based steamboat, Bagaby. The validity

of the state statute was brought to this Court’s attention

on a writ of error to the Alabama Supreme Court. This

31. See,eg.:

Collector v. Day, 78 USS. (11 Wall.) 113, 20 L.Ed. 122;

U. S. v. Baltimore & Ohio R. R. Co., 84 U.S. (17 Wall.)

322, 21 L.Ed. 597;

United States v. Reese et al., supra; footnote 16, p. 13;

United States v. Harris, 106 U:S. 629, 1 S.Ct. 601, 27 L.

Ed. 290;

Civil Rights Cases, 109 US. 3, 3 S.Ct. 18, 27 L.Ed. 835;

nS Bowman, 190 U.S. 127, 23 S.Ct. 678, 47 L.Ed.

Hodges v. United States, 203 U.S. 1, 27 S.Ct. 6, 51 L.Ed. 65;

Coyle v. Smith, 221 U.S. 559, 31 S.Ct. 688, £5 L.Ed. 853;

“oe v. U. S., 256 U.S. 232, 41 S.Ct. 469, 65 L.Ed.

Bailey v. Drexel Furniture Co., 259 U.S. 20, 42 S.Ct. 449,

66 L.Ed. 817, 21 A.L.R. 1432;

Burnet v. Coronado Oil & Gas Co., 285 U.S. 393, 52 S.Ct.

443, 76 L.Ed. 815; and

Hopkins Federal Savings & Loan Assn. v. Cleary, 296 U.S.

315, 56 S.Ct. 235, 80 L.Ed. 251, 100 A.L.R. 1403.

(The Reese, James and Newberry cases were related to con-

gresssional restrictions on voting action.)

32. Newberry v. U. S., Footnote 31, supra, p. 25.

33. 63 U.S. (22 How.) 227, 16 L.Ed. 243.

ne

SER SGT RE RR IO FE ie PPS, a ERA EE ROR ERO EL SE oO

26

Court found that the Alabama statute was in direct conflict

with the exercise of the congressional power, and pointed

out that the supremacy clause operated in case of such

conflicts to make the congressional enactment paramount,

This decision sets forth the correct approach to resolving

such questions as that raised in this action, saying:

“We agree, that in the application of this principle

of supremacy of an act of Congress in a case where

the state law is but an exercise of a reserved power,

the repugnance or conflict should be direct and posi-

tive, so that the two acts could not be reconciled or

consistently stand together; and also that the act of

Congress should have been passed in the exercise of

a clear power under the Constitution, such as that in

question. * * *

“The power of Congress, however, over the subject

does not extend further than the regulation of com-

merce with foreign nations and among the several

states. Beyond these limits the states have not sur-

rendered their power over the subject, and they exer:

cise it independently of any control or interference of

the general government; . . =

We submit there is no conflict or repugnance between

the power of a state to prescribe a literacy qualification

and the prohibition of the 15th Amendment. This Court

has uniformly said there is not. In affirming the right of

the State of Oklahoma to use a literacy test for voter

qualification, the Court pointed out:

“In fact, the very command of the (15th) Amendment

recognizes the possession of the general power (over

suffrage qualifications) by the state, since the amend:

ment seeks to regulate its exercise as to the particular

84. Cf. Florida Lime and Avocado Growers V. Paul, 878 US

182, 929, AY S.Ct. 1210, 10 1. Ed. 2d 248; and Parker v. Brown, suv,

U.S. 841, 63 S.Ct, 807, 87 L.Ed, 3158 which reconciled State statutes

alleged to conflict with congressional powers

27

subject with which it deals... . Thus the authority

over suffrage which the states possess and the limita-

tion which the amendment imposes are coordinate

and one may not destroy the other without bringing

about the destruction of both?

Similarly, in the case at bar there is no direct or posi-

tive repugnance or conflict between the power of the State

of South Carolina to prescribe a fair and reasonable liter-

acy qualification as a prerequisite to voting and the com-

mand of the th Amendment prohibiting racial dis-

crimination, Since the two powers possessed by the respec-

tive sovereigns are without repugnance or conflict, conflict

could never be created by what is, truly, appropriate legis-

lation in pursuance of congressional powers. Legislation

which would create a conflict where none exists is neither

appropriate nor constitutional.

Even a brief study of the background and legislative

history of this act shows that literacy requirements of the

type adopted and enforced by South Carolina weren't in-

tended to be covered by the Act. A canvass of the voter

qualifications selected for destruction by this Act. in the

words of Congress:

“.. reveals that they are vague, arbitrary, hy pertech-

nical or unnecessarily difficult, and have little (if any)

bearing upon the capacity to cast an intelligent

ballot."

Plain, reasonable requirements that applicants possess

the simplest of ability to read and write were really not

35. Guinn vo UL S283 US. 847, 362, 35 S.Ct. 926, 59 L.Ed

1840.) This issue was most recently laid to rest in Lassiter vy.

Northampton County Roard of Elections, 360 US 45, 79 Sct

985, 3 L.Ed td 1072.

36. Cf Huron Portland Cement Ce. vy. Detroit, 8362 US 440,

80 S.Ct. 818, 4 L. Bd.2d 852, 78 ALL. Rod 1294.

ST. House Report, p. 18.) The Attorney General used almost

the same language in describing the tests which the Act intended

tocover, See House Hearings, po

i

DIRIGO ONE pL IO SOON NOIR SIE I TREE : inimical J

28

within the contemplated sphere of action, yet the Act in-

vades State sovereignty of South Carolina to proscribe just

such a requirement.

The qualifications now required in Mississippi,” (a state

which was one of the prime targets for this bill) and those

now required in South Carolina,” (a State which just got

“caught”), show on their face that they are simple, ob-

jective and encompass no more than the bare mechanical

ability to mark a knowing ballot and comprehend printed

notices of elections and voting instructions. Such qualifica-

tions are completely compatible with the Constitution and

with a fundamentally sound republican government.

There is yet another basis for demonstrating a com-

plete lack of repugnance or conflict. In adopting the Vot-

ing Rights Act, Congress was not exercising its power to

“regulate” an area of conduct or commerce entrusted to

its care full-sway. The 15th Amendment only vests in Con-

gress authority to enforce a limited and definite prohibi-

tion—a prohibition which this Court has held to be self-

executing. Since the Ist Section of the amendment oper-

ates to ipso facto write out all racially discriminatory terms

and provisions of state voting laws, the appropriate subject

of congressional enforcement power vested under the 2nd

Section must, of necessity, relate to misadministration.

Thus the appropriate legislation which Congress is em-

powered to enact should only be directed to correction

of misapplication and should not attempt to create, through

suspensions of some requirements, a new set of standards

which are in conflict with and repugnant to the particular

combination of qualifications adopted by the sovereign

States.

-

38. See Appendix A.

39. See Exhibit B to the Complaint and Appendix A to

South Carolina’s brief.

SSM IG RENEE NAR SGM -

29

The Attorney General candidly admitted that misad-

ministration was truly the basis for the Act.”

The demonstration of unconstitutionality of the Con-

gressional Act here in question under this principle be-

comes even clearer when it is recalled that the asserted

ground of conflict between state action and federal power

as to South Carolina must have been based upon the as-

sumptions of Congress as to misapplication by registrars

in a portion of the counties of other States of the statutes

of those other states since no widespread misuse of her

laws has ever been suggested and no misuse has been

proven in any court of law. There is no logic to a rule that

would deny the use of a law forbidding prostitution in

Houston, Texas, on a finding that officials in Galveston

had been guilty of widespread systematic flaunting of

that same law. If a law is valid, it ought to be enforced

in every part of the jurisdiction in which it is applicable.

If officers in one or many places are not correctly enforc-

ing the law or are guilty of outright violations of such a

statute, the errant officials ought to be corrected. Just

as burning a barn is no practical way to get rid of a rat, so

destroying a statute is no constitutional way to correct mis-

administration.*!

40. Attorney General Katzenbach: Yes, all literacy tests

are nondiscriminatory as they are written. The difficulty is in

their administration, Senator.

Senator Ervin: Nevertheless, this would wipe out the literacy

test even though the literacy test in words was absolutely non-

discriminatory, and was applied alike to people of all races,

wouldn’t it?

Attorney General Katzenbach: Yes, it would.

Senator Ervin: And it would do that on the basis of an

event which occurred before November 1964.

Attorney General Katzenbach: Yes, it would, Senator.

Senate Hearings, p. 59.

41. See Point ITI, infra, p. 32.

PORE, ty ASO RRP eH GERI IE? PINE MES AAI PRIA 5 SOMERS. 5

POY EE SURINS

30

With even stronger logic we would observe that mis-

creants in other States have no semblance of authority to

negate South Carolina’s laws and Congress can invest them

with none. When Congress casts so large a net that it

creates a conflict between State and Federal functions as

unnecessarily as was done in the instance of this Act, it

clearly leaves every modicum of Constitutional authority

behind.

D.

A “Suspension” of the Paramount Power of the States

to Fix Reasonable and Non-Discriminatory Voter

Qualifications and to Make Reasonable Changes in

Such Qualifications Must Be Based upon Authority to

Destroy That Power.

There is no such thing as suspended sovereignty.

Any valid claim of authority on the part of Congress

to “suspend” state voter qualifications which do not in

fact transcend constitutional prohibitions, or any claim of

authority to prohibit a state from making reasonable

changes in its qualifications without Federal approval,

would have to find a basis in a constitutional grant of

power broad enough to authorize the total destruction of

such state laws. Such authority does not exist in the Con-

stitution.

|

Legislative power to enforce the prohibition of the

15th Amendment is not analogous to the power to regulate

interstate commerce. In the latter instance, the power is

complete and plenary as to the entirety of the topic. Let

the subject matter be in fact interstate commerce, and

Congress is then empowered to take action which occupies

all or any part of the “field.” Its occupancy can suspend

existing state enactments or negate them entirely. It can

ira

31

proscribe present or future state legislation which is or

may be in conflict therewith. For example, in Parker vy.

Brown,” the Court commented:

“Occupation of a legislative ‘field’ by Congress in the

exercise of a granted power is a familiar example of

its constitutional power to Suspend state laws.”

On the other hand, when the grant of power is partial or

limited and the remainder of the power in the “field” is

vested in State sovereignty then Congress must confine

itself to action within the ambit of the part of the power

granted or its acts are unconstitutional. It is elementary

that the grant of authority to establish post offices and post

roads does not include power to establish a grocery store.

Similarly, the power to enforce a limitation on state

sovereignty which forbids that sovereignty to abridge or

deny the right to vote on account of race, cannot rea-

sonably be thought to include the power to withdraw

from some of the states, through the process of so-called

“suspension,” their unquestioned right to require their

electors to possess bare minimum literacy.

The fact that Congress has chosen to use the ingenious

approach of “suspending” rather than frank, direct de-

struction makes the act nonetheless unconstitutional.*"

Obviously this Court would not permit a criminal prose-

cution to be conducted in violation of the 5th and 6th

Amendments just because the convict was punished by a

“suspended” sentence. The power to suspend must in-

clude the power to destroy, for if suspension can be

42. 317 U.S. 341, 350, 63 S.Ct. 307, 87 L.Ed. 315.

43 An unconstitutional act cannot be made valid by a change

of descriptive words. Railway Express Agency v. Virginia, 358

U.S. 434, 79 S.Ct. 411, 3 L.Ed.2d 450. The Attorney General, in

Proposing this legislation, used the words “suspend” and “abolish”

interchangeably. Senate Hearinas, Part 1, p. 162.

UF SIEM OA teh EIST NSE RRR NE IARI ESS IO ey

32

ordered once it can be ordered twice or a hundred times

for a day, a week, a year or a hundred years. These are

only matters of degree. Congress is granted neither the

power to suspend nor the power to destroy as respects the

adoption and use of reasonable, non-discriminatory voter

qualifications in the several states of the Union.

III.

Neither Misapplication by an Executive Officer nor

Improper Motive or Purpose on the Part cf a Legis-

lator Can Operate to Negate a Statute Which Is in Fact

Constitutionally Valid.

Those proponents of the Voting Rights Act of 1965

who were willing to admit that the states all possess the

right and power to establish a reasonable literacy qualifi-

cation for voting, sought to justify the bill on the basis that

selected states should be denied their power because they

said administrative officials in some of those states had

put such tests to discriminatory uses in the past.

Such a contention is completely illogical. Article I,

Section 9, Clause 3, prohibits the enactment by Congress of

any Bill of Attainder or ex post facto law, yet on more than

one occasion the persons occupying the office of Congress-

men and Senators and the President of the United States

have been found guilty of violating this proscription. T+

would be ridiculous to assert that the erronee:s actions

of these officials detracted from the powers which the Con-

stitution granted to the Congress or the President.

The fact that prohibition was honored more widely in

its breach than in observance was never claimed to write

44. See, e.g., Ex parte Garland, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 333, 18

L.Ed. 366; U. S. v. Lovett, 328 U.S. 303, 66 S.Ct. 1073, 90 L.Ed.

1252; and U. S. v. Brown, infra, p. 52. See also Footnote 31,

supra, p. 25, as to violations by Congress of other constitutional

limits.

the 18th Amendment, or the Statutes enacted pursuant to

it, off the books. In fact, on the completely contrary pre-

sumption, Congress Proposed and the States ratified the

21st Amendment to formally bring that era to a Cause.

33

Did the long years of discrimination in freight rates

against the South in clear violation of Article 1, Section 9,

erate to curtail the power of Congress over other phases

of commerce? Of course not. One bad administrator or

There are also vast differences between the “freezing”

p:inciple which some courts of equity have applied to cor-

(1) In the Court cases the State or subdivision had

been given its day in court to meet the case alleged

against it.

(2) The courts Maintain continuing jurisdiction of

such causes to permit the subdivision to, at any

time, show that it has ordered a re-registration of

voters on an even basis in accordance with the

State’s own Statutes.

34

(3) No court ever suspended the requirements that

a voter possess bare minimum literacy of the type

and to the degree required by South Carolina,

which is ne more than such literacy as is mechan-

ically required to cast a knowing vote."

(4) The courts never deprived the subdivision of sim-

ple means of keeping down corrupt practices pur-

suant to the provisions of its own laws.

(5) The court decrees sought to produce compliance

with State standards and not destruction of a por-

tion of those standards, They were designed to

secure equal enforcement of standards set by the

State, not to nullify those standards by stuffing

the voter rolls “to increase democracy” or for any

other high sounding reason.

In Giles v. Harris,“* this Court ruled that it would not

permit the actions of an administrative officer to make a

void and unconstitutional statute valid, saying:

“If the sections of the (State) Constitution concerning

registration were illegal in their inception, it would be

a new doctrine in constitutional law that the original

invalidity could be cured by an administration which

defeated their intent.”

The converse of this situation has also been approved by

this Court in Duke Power Co, v. Greenwood County.’ The

Fourth Circuit, speaking through Judge Parker, emphasized

45. It is also worthy of note that the relief sought by the

Miaintiff in UL S. ¥. Mississippi, 380 U.S, 128, 85 S.Ct. 88, 18

L.Ed.2a 717, would have required the Negro applicant to possess

the ability to read, Voter testing which requires possession of

a 6th grade education level was recommended by the Civil Rights

Commission and was maintained in the Federal law, by the Voting

Rights Act of 1965 (See Section 1S and 42 USCA 1971)

46. 189 U.S, 475, 487, 23 S.Ct. 639, 47 L.Ed. 909.

47. O1 Fe GOS, 672, Aff, 802 US. 485, 58 S.Ct. 306, 83 L.Ed,

35

that a valid statute could not be voided by an improper ad-

ministration. Its reasoning was:

“Confusion in thinking results from the method

employed by plaintiff of arguing that the statute is un-

constitutional ‘as applied by the Public Works. Admin-

istrator’ in making the loan and grant here under con-

sideration. This involves, of course, two questions:

(1) The validity of the act of Congress when tested by

the Constitution; and (2) the authority of the Admin-

istrator when tested by the act of Congress. A statute

may not be held void because of the action of an execu-

tive officer in applying its provisions. Even when there

is an abuse of executive power against which the courts

cannot relieve because of their inability to control ad-

ministrative discretion, the act of Congress under

which the action is taken is not rendered invalid any

more than it is by action which is absolutely unauthor-

ized. The constitutional validity of the statute must be

considered, therefore, without reference to what the

Administrator is doing under it.”

This Court's affirmance expressly approved this reasoning.

As a direct corollary to this line of authority holding

that ministerial or executive officers can neither make a

bad statute good nor a good statute bad, this Court has

committed itself to the rule that if the Congress or a State

Legislature possesses the constitutional power to enact a

statute and it exercises that constitutional power to achieve

& permitted end, the fact that speculation can be raised as

to other motives for the legislation, which could place the

Act beyond legislative power, cannot result in making the

Act invalid. In Ellis v. U.S. the opinion stated:

“Congress, as incident to its power to authorize and

enforce contracts for public works, may require that

they shall be carried out only in a way consistent with

48. 206 US. 246, 256, 27 SCt 600, 51 L.Ed. 1047, 11 Ann.

Cas 589

RAEN Seen EYE OER RAIS i BT IO PT OARS LDS

36

its views of public policy, and may punish a departure

from that way. It is true that it has not the general

power of legislation possessed by the legislatures of

the states, and it may be true that the object of the

law is of a kind not subject to its general control.

But the power that it has over the mode in which con-

tracts with the United States shall be performed can-

not be limited by a speculation as to motives. If the

motive be conceded. however, the fact that Con-

gress has not general control over the conditions of

labor does not make unconstitutional a law otherwise

valid, because the purpose of the law is to secure to it

certain advantages, so far as the law goes.”

In Stephenson v. Binford,® the Court, speaking of

State legislation, said:

“We need not consider whether the act in some

other aspect would be good or bad. It is enough to sup-

port its validity that, plainly, one of its aims is to con-

serve the highways. If the Legislature had other or

additional purposes, which, considered apart, it had no

constitutional power to make effective, that would not

have the result of making the act invalid.”

The true rule of statutory assessment is to be found

in such cases as McGowan v. Maryland,” Rast v. Van Deman

& Lewis Co.,"! and Lindsley v. Natural Carbonic Gas Co*

where this Court has held that if any state of facts reasona-

bly can be conceived that would sustain a statute, it must

be upheld. Statutes come to every court clothed with a

presumption of constitutionality and correctness and the

strong burden is placed on the attacker to demonstrate that

the statute does not rest on any reasonable basis but is

49. 287 U.S. 251, 53 S.Ct. 181, 77 L.Ed. 288, 87 A.L.R. 721.

50. 366 U.S. 420, 81 S.Ct. 1101, 6 L.Ed.2d 393.

51. 240 U.S. 342, 36 S.Ct. 370, 60 L.Ed. 679.

52. 220 US. 61, 31 S.Ct. 337, 55 L.Ed. 369.

37

essentially arbitrary. This very rule will doubtless be

urged in support of the Voting Rights Act, and rightly so.

But if statutes are entitled to this status in the courts, they

are none the less entitled to that status in the Congress. If

they in fact can be shown to rest on a reasonable basis no

congressional conjecture as to bad legislative motive can

topple them and no administrator can be held to have sub-

verted them by wrongful application.

Indeed, if litigants were allowed to delve below the

surface of legislation to reconstruct supposed, submerged

motives and intent, a number of aspersions might be cast

on the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as witness the sentiment

of the remarks of Daniel H. Chamberlain, a northern Re-

publican who served as Reconstruction Governor of a South-

ern State. Writing in the Atlantic Monthly** concerning

the adoption of the post Civil War Reconstruction Acts,

he said:

“Hardly anywhere else in recorded debates can be

found so surprising a revelation of the blindness of

partisan zeal as these discussions disclose. But it may

now be clear to all, as it was then clear to some, that

underneath all the avowed motives and all the open

arguments lay a deeper cause than all others—the will

and determination to secure party ascendancy and con-

trol in the South and the nation through the Negro

vote. If this be a hard saying, let anyone now ask him-

self or ask the public, if it is possibly credible that the

Reconstruction Acts would have been passed if the

Negro vote had been believed to be Democratic?”

Only the last word need be changed for purposes of

present day speculation. Just why Texas “happened” to be

left out and States voting for Goldwater “happened” to be

“caught” would also furnish interesting grist for such a

mill.

53 April issue, 1901, p. 473.

38

When the Voting Rights Act undertakes to translate its

judgment of misadministration into power to nullify the

law being administered, it attempts to do that which the

courts have ruled cannot be done.

Cases Distinguished

An amicus does not customarily have an opportunity

to respond to briefs filed by the parties. We would, there-

fore, beg leave to now distinguish several decisions of this

court which have been urged as detracting from the estab-

lished rule of statutory construction stated above. The first,

and probably the most misconstrued precedent in the field

of constitutional law, is Mr. Justice Matthews’ decision in

Yick Wo v. Hopkins." In this habeas corpus action a Chinese

laundryman sought freedom from imprisonment under the

provisions of ordinances of the City of San Francisco relat-

ing to laundries. The Court’s description of these ordi-

nances was:

“They (the ordinances) seem intended to confer,

and actually do confer, not a discretion to be exercised

upon a consideration of the circumstances of each case,

but a naked and arbitrary power to give or withold

consent, not only as to places, but as to persons; so that,

if an applicant for such consent, being in every way a

competent and qualified person, and having complied

with every reasonable condition demanded by any pub-

lic interest, should, failing to obtain the requisite con-

sent of the supervisors to the prosecution of his busi-

ness, apply for redress by the judicial process of man-

damus to require the supervisors to consider and act

upon his case, it would be a sufficient answer for them

to say that the law had conferred upon them authority

to withhold their assent, without reason and without

responsibility. The power given to them is not confided

to their discretion in the legal sense of that term, but

54. 118 US. 356,6 S.Ct. 1064, 30 L.Ed. 220.

39

is granted to their mere will. It is purely arbitrary, and

acknowledges neither guidance nor restraint.”

The Court then proceeded to examine the record con-

cerning the application of this unreasonable statute which

conferred naked and arbitrary power, and found the record

to disclose that more than 200 Chinese had been denied

the opportunity to operate laundries, while that same right

had been granted to 80 other persons—none of whom were

Chinese subjects but all of whom were similarly situated.

The Court reasoned that equal protection of law not only

forbade discriminatory legislation but also nullified dis-

criminatory administration of a valid law. The words of

the Court expressing this second and separate principle

were:

“Though the law itself be fair on its face, and im-

partial in appliance, yet, if it is applied and administered

by public authority with an evil eye and an unequal

hand, so as practically to make unjust and illegal dis-

criminations between persons in similar circumstances,

material to their rights, the denial of equal justice is

still within the prohibition of the constitution. This

principle of interpretation has been sanctioned by this

court in Henderson v. Mayor of New York, 92 USS.

259; Chy Luny v. Freeman, 92 U.S. 275; Ex parte Vir-

ginia, 100 U.S. 339; Neal v. Delaware, 103 U.S. 370; and

Soon Hing v. Crowley, 113 U.S. 703, S. C., 5 Sup. Ct. Rep.

730.”

As stated, this was a habeas corpus proceeding; so, if Yick

Wo’s imprisonment was caused by an arbitrary, void stat-

ute, he was entitled to be released; and in the alternative,

it was equally true that if his imprisonment was caused by

misadministration of a fair law, he ought to be free. The

Court concluded that both the statute and the administra-

tion of the statute had wrongfully caused Yick Wo’s im-

prisonment, stating:

a

EE PERE OR RY AAR EIEN NG eo RR RON

40

“The fact of this discrimination is admitted. No

reason for it is shown, and the conclusion cannot be

resisted that no reason for it exists except hostility to

the race and nationality to which the petitioners be-

long, and which, in the eye of the law, is not justified.

The discrimination is therefore illegal, and the public

administration which enforces it is a denial of the equal

protection of the laws, and a violation of the fourteenth

amendment of the constitution. The imprisonment of

the petitioners is therefore iliegal, and they must be

discharged.”

Not a single intimation or inference can be properly drawn

from any part of the Court's decision in the Yick Wo case

as support for the principle that misadministration of a fair,

reasonable law—one which would pass the mandamus test

proposed in that opinion—could be negated by the whim, or

desire, or misdeeds of administrative officials.

In Lane v. Wilson," the Court considered the validity

of an Oklahoma statute which was designed to correct the

unconstitutional discrimination condemned in Guinn V.

U. S.* The new statute was condemned on its face as

arbitrarily and unreasonably confined. Its discriminatory

result was “inevitable”. The pertinent portion of the

Court's opinion reads:

“The practical effect of the 1916 legislation was to

accord to the members of the negro race who had been

discriminated against in the outlawed registration sys-

tem of 1914, not more than 12 days within which to

reassert constitutional rights which this Court found

in the Guinn Case to have been improperly taken from

them. We believe that the opportunity thus given

negro voters to free themselves from the effects of dis-

crimination to which they should never have been sub-

jected was too cabined and confined. The restrictions

55. 307 US. 268, 59 S.Ct. 872, 83 L.Ed. 1281

56. Footnote 35, supra, p. 27.

41

imposed must be judged with reference to those for

whom they were designed. It must be remembered

that we are dealing with a body of citizens lacking the

habits and traditions of political independence and

otherwise living in circumstances which do not encour-

age initiative and enterprise. To be sure, in excep-

*[277]

tional cases a supplemental *period was available. But

the narrow basis of the supplemental registration, the

very brief normal period of relief for the persons and

purposes in question, the practical difficulties, of which

the record in this case gives glimpses, inevitable in the

administration of such strict registration provisions,

leave no escape from the conclusion that the means

chosen as substitutes for the invalidated ‘grandfather

clause’ were themselves invalid under the Fifteenth

Amendment. They operated unfairly against the very

class on whose behalf the protection of the Constitu-

tion was (t)here successfully invoked.”

It would distort this Court’s opinion to contend that a rea-

sonably drawn statute, which did not have the inevitable

effect of discrimination, could be voided by an administra-

tion which disregarded its terms. For example, if the stat-

ute had provided a 12-year period instead of a 12-day

period for the supplemental registration procedures and

the Court had found that 12 years was a reasonable period,

then one or more state officials had refused to apply the

law to Negro voters from and after the 12th day, any such

acts of misapplication of the law would be grounds for court

relief; but they could not condemn a proper, valid statute.

Davis v. Schnell sought a judgment declaring that the

Boswell amendment to the Alabama Constitution was ar-

ditrary and void. The District Court found that it was,

stating, in pertinent part:

57. 81 F.Supp. 872, Aff. 336 U.S. 933, 69 S.Ct. 749, 93 L.Ed.

1093.

42

“The language does not call for a simple, fair or

: reasonable understanding or explanation. It does not

: say that the understanding and explanation must be

partial, full, complete, definite, proper, fair, reasonable,

plain, precise, correct, accurate, or give any rule, guide

or test as to the nature of the understanding or ex-

planation that is required. The Amendment does not

say to whose satisfaction the applicant must ‘under-

stand and explain,’ but under the statutes," it must be

to the reasonable satisfaction of a majority of the mem-

bers of one of the 67 boards of registrars that are

provided for the 67 counties of Alabama. * * *

“To state it plainly, the sole test is: Has the ap-

plicant by oral examination or otherwise understood

and explained the Constitution to the satisfaction of

the particular board? To state it more plainly, the

board has a right to reject one applicant and accept

another, depending solely upon whether it likes or dis-

likes the understanding and explanation offered. To

state it even more plainly, the board, by the use of the

words ‘understand and explain,’ is given the arbitrary

power to accept or reject any prospective elector that

may apply, or, to use the language of Yick Wo v. Hop-

kins, 118 U.S. 356, 366, 6 S. Ct. 1064, 1069, 30 L. Ed.

220, these words ‘actually do confer, not a discretion to

be exercised upon a consideration of the circumstances

of each case, but a naked and arbitrary power to give

or withhold consent * * *’ The board has the power

to establish two classes, those to whom they consent

and those to whom they do not—those who may vote

and those who may not. Such arbitrary power amounts

to a denial of equal protection of the law within the

meaning of the Fourteenth Amendment to the Con-

stitution, and is condemned by the Yick Wo and many

other decisions of the Supreme Court.”

Such a statute could not pass the mandamus test set

out in Yick Wo.™

58. Footnote 54, supra, p. 38.

43

The Court further found that the administration of this

arbitrary amendment had unconstitutionally excluded

Negro applicants for the franchise, while white applicants

with comparable qualifications were being accepted. The

District Court concluded that both the amendment and

its administration were unconstitutional. In affirming, this

Court cited both Yick Wo and Lane but called for a com-

parison of these cases with Williams v. Mississippi,” which

distinguished Yick Wo. The former Mississippi election

statutes discussed in Williams were held not to be dis-

criminatory on their face. A showing that evil actions were

possible under these statutes was rejected as not sufficient

to overturn them. Williams’ attorney claimed Williams

had been convicted by a jury from which Negroes had

been excluded by virtue of a law requiring all jurors to be

qualified electors. Thus, the Court correctly pointed out

that Williams would have been wrongfully convicted if he

had shown that a valid election law had been misapplied in

his county, just as his conviction would be erroneous if the

laws had been void on their face. The Court certainly did

not purport to rule that misadministration could void stat-

utes which were, in fact, valid.

In Gomillion v. Lightfoot,” the Court condemned a stat-

ute gerrymandering the rectangular boundaries of an Ala-

bama city into “a strangely irregular 28-sided figure”. The

lower courts sustained a motion to dismiss.“' On appeal,

this Court reversed, stating:

If these allegations upon a trial remained uncon-

tradicted or unqualified, the conclusion would be irre-

sistible, tantamount for all practical purposes to a math-

59. 170 U.S. 213, 18 S.Ct. 583, 42 L.Ed. 1012.

60. 364 U.S. 339, 81 S.Ct. 125, 5 L.Ed.2d 110.

61. 167 F.Supp. 405, 270 F.2d 594.

44

ematical demonstration, that the legislation is solely

concerned with segregating white and colored voters by

fencing Negro citizens out of town so as to deprive

them of their pre-existing municipal vote.

“It is difficult to appreciate what stands in the

way of adjudging a statute having this inevitable effect

invalid in light of the principles by which this Court

must judge, and uniformly has judged, statutes that,

howsoever speciously defined, obviously discriminate

against colored citizens.”

“While in form this is merely an act redefining metes

and bounds, if the allegations are established, the in-

escapable human effect of this essay in geometry and

geography is to despoil colored citizens, and only

colored citizens, of their theretofore enjoyed voting

rights.”

With deference, we emphasize that the Court in this

case was not dealing with a statute which was susceptible

of constitutional application. The allegations admitted by

the motion to dismiss alleged legislation which was solely

concerned with unconstitutional racial segregation. The

Court spoke in terms of a law which had the “inevitable”

and “inescapable human effect” of despoiling “only” Negro

voting rights. Neither good nor bad administration could

help or hurt it.

In Nashville, C. & St. L. Ry. Co. v. Browning,” the

Court held that the State of Tennessee had the power to

classify railroad property in a different “pigeonhole” from

other property for tax purposes. A large volume of evi-

dence had been offered in the courts below to show that

administration of the state’s tax statutes in such a manner

2s to over-tax railroads was the rule and not the exception.

The lower court found the proof offered insufficient to over-

62. 3210 U.S. 362, 60 S.Ct. 968, 84 L.Ed. 1254.

come the presumption that reviewing officials had acted

properly to equalize the taxes. This Court stated that there

was not enough evidence in the record to reverse this find-

ing. The Court further observed that since the State had a

right to classify railroads differently from other property, a

railroad could not be heard to complain that classification

either by law or by practice had harmed them. By way

of obiter dicta, the Court made the following passing corm-

ment in disagreeing with a contention of the State agency

that since the statutes of Tennessee provided for fair taxa-

tion there could be no basis for a claim of denial of equal

protection of laws within the meaning of the 14th Amend-

ment.

45

“Here, according to petitioner’s own claim, all the

organs of the state are conforming to a practice, syste-

matic, unbroken for more than forty years, and now

questioned for the first time. It would be a narrow

conception of jurisprudence to confine the notion of

‘laws’ (within the 14th Amendment phrase ‘equal

protection of the laws’) to what is found written on

the statute books, and to disregard the gloss which

life has written upon it. Settled State practice can-

not supplant constitutional guarantees, but it can estab-

lish what is state law. The equal protection clause

did not write an empty formalism into the Consti-

tution. Deeply embedded traditional ways of carry-

ing out state policy, such as those of which petitioner

complains, are often tougher and true law than the

dead words of the written text.”

What the opinion was saying was that a denial of the 14th

Amendment’s guarantee of equal protection of laws could

not be shielded by the fact that the words of a statute

or “law” did not justify the misdeeds of an officer. If,

over 40 years, the assessors made it a uniform practice

to over-assess railroads, the practice was a denial of equal

protection, just as much as if the inequalitv were written

SOLAS Bae ENYA NTS MT Ee, PERM AR

iia

on the statute books of the state as a “law”. The issue

which this comment in the Nashville case was discussing

is not the question here. We hardily contend that Mr.

Justice Frankfurter was not attempting, by way of this

dicta, to commit this Court to the proposition that any

single officer or any number of officials acting over any

period of time could make a valid statute bad or an un-

© stitutional act good. There is a vast difference be-

tween ruling that misadministration can give rise to a

cause of action or deprive a person of “equal protection

of law” and ruling that it can rewrite a statute.

Certainly no one of these decisions logically supports

an assertion that misuse of valid statutes creates a power

in Congress to abolish or suspend the laws of a State. No

one of them holds that a statute which is valid on its

face can be judicially voided because of an invalid ad-

ministration or by indulging in subjective psychoanalysis

in the field of legislative intent. With the utmost as-

surance, we contend that a statute which cannot be over-

turned through the judicial process cannot be nullified by

legislative fiat.

IV.

The Voting Rights Act of 1965 Is a Bill of Attainder

A.

In Enacting the Voting Rights Act Congress Purported

to Exercise Purely Judicial Powers and to Vest

Legislative Powers in the Courts.

A frank study of the history of this legislation dis-

closes that Congress assumed to (1) conduct a trial-type in-

vestigation, (2) make findings, and (3) pass a fiat enforc-

63. Cf. United States v. Constantine, 296 U.S. 287, 299,

56 S.Ct. 223, 80 L.Ed. 233.

RETAIN TS TSAI I Nn eae HOS

47

ing liabilities in selected states on the basis of past facts.

As indicative of Congressional spirit, we would refer to

the remarks of Congressman McCullough to Attorney Gen-

eral Button of Virginia.‘

“You know, Mr. Attorney General, we sit here as

members of this committee in two capacities, or at

least, some of us do. Some of us sit here as advocates

of legislation which we think is necessary to end dis-

crimination in some States, in violation of the 15th

amendment.

“We also sit here in the nature of judges who are lis-

tening to the presentation of a case by the opponents

and by the proponents. One of our major duties, if not

our major duty, is not only to consider our Position as

advocates but to most seriously take our responsibili-

ties as judges.”

In performing its “advocate-judge” function, Congress

may have acted out of the noblest of motives. Its actions

were, nevertheless, absolutely unconstitutional. No mat-

ter how high its aims, nor how serious its Purposes or

how good its intents, they cannot substitute for consti-

tutional power."

It is perhaps incidental that mixed with its attempts

to adjudicate, Congress wound up improperly placing legis-

lative functions in the hands of the judiciary in this very

same legislation. In the course of the House Hearings,

Attorney Genera] Katzenbach assured Congressman Lind-

Say as follows:

64. House Hearings, p. 569.

65. Carter y. Carter Coal Co., 298 US. 238, 56 S.Ct. 855,

60 L.Ed. 1160. No man can be judge in his own case even where

he is authorized to exercise judicial power. In re Oliver, 333 U.S.

257, 68 S.Ct. 499, 92 L.Ed. 682.

66. P. 105.

ae eng re See eee He¥e

48

“I believe that in setting up the objectives we may

have caught possibly one State, possibly more, that

have not used them (literacy tests) for discrimina-

tory purposes. We may have caught a few coun-

ties that have not used them for discriminatory pur-

poses.

“I think in general we have caught those States and

counties which have discriminated and those which

have not had the opportunity to come in and show

that they have not done so.”

In the Senate Hearings" he exchanged the following

comment with Senator Ervin:

“Senator Ervin. Yes. But do you think that the

Constitution gives Congress the power to determine

by legislative enactment the guiit of a particular State

or particular subdivision of the State on the question

as to whether it violated the 15th amendment or the

19th amendment?

Attorney General Katzenbach. I think that Con-

gress can set down reasonable standards in that re-

spect, and then in addition it makes it possible for

a State to be out from under that by reasonable tests

in the courts as to whether, in fact, that is fair or not.”

Later™ the following remarks passed between Senator Er-

vin and the Attorney General:

“Senator Ervin. You are striking down the liter-

acy test application in the 34 North Carolina counties

in the absence of any evidence. You are striking them

down by congressional recital.

Attorney General Katzenbach. Striking them

down by congressional recital and offering each and

67. P. 83.

68. Senate Hearings.

49

every one of those counties the opportunity to show

that they have not discriminated.”

We respectfully submit that it is clear from these quo-

tations that the thrust of the bill was to cast an overly

large net of guilt in the hope that it would be validated

by a clause letting courts loose any “innocents” that were

“caught”. Just such a procedure was in these words con-

demned in U. S. v. Reese:™

“It would certainly be dangerous if the Legisla-

ture could set a net large enough to catch all possi-

ble offenders and leave it to the courts to step inside

and say who could be rightfully detained and who

should be set at large. This would, to some extent,

substitute the Judicial for the Legislative Department

of the Government. The courts enforce the legislative

will when ascertained, if within the constitutional grant

of power. Within its legitimate sphere, Congress is

supreme and beyond the control of the courts; but if

it steps outside of its constitutional limitation and at-

tempts that which is beyond its reach, the courts are

authorized to and when called upon in due course of

legal proceedings must, annul its encroachments upon

the reserved power of the States and the people.”

Even legislation which is within the express power of a

legislative body has been condemned when its sweep is

made unnecessarily and unreasonably broad.”

69. Footnote 16, supra, p. 13.

70. Cf. Aptheker et al. v. Secretary of State, 378 U.S. 500,

508, 84 S.Ct. 1659, 12 L.Ed.2a 992, and the cases there cited.

=

50

B.

Legislative Trials Are Abhorrent to the Constitutional

Principles of Separation of Powers and Due Process

In Kilbourn v. Thompson,” Mr. Justice Miller, speak-

ing for a unanimous court, stated:

“It is believed to be one of the chief merits of the

American system of written constitutional law, that

all the powers entrusted to governments, whether state

or national, are divided into the three grand depart-

ments of the executive, the legislative and the judicial.

That the functions appropriate to each of these branches

of government shall be vested in a separate body of

public servants, and that the perfection of the system

requires that the lines which separate and divide these

departments shall be broadly and clearly defined. It

is also essential to the successful working of this sys-

tem, that the persons entrusted with power in any one

of these branches shall not be permitted to encroach

upon the powers confided to the others, but that each

shall by the law of its creation be limited to the exer-

cise of the powers appropriate to its own department

and no other. To these general propositions there are

in the Constitution of the United States some important

exceptions. One of these is, that the President is so

far made a part of the legislative power, that his assent

is required to the enactment of all statutes and reso-

lutions of Congress.

This, however, is so only to a limited extent,

for a bill may become a law notwithstanding the re-

fusal of the President to approve it, by a vote of two

thirds of each House of the Legislature.

So, also, the Senate is made a partaker in the func-

tions of appointing officers and making treaties, which

are supposed to be properly executive, by requiring

its consent to the appointment of such officers and the

71. 103 U.S. (13 Otto) 168, 190, 26 L.Ed. 377.

—_~

51

ratification of treaties. The Senate also exercises the

judicial power of trying impeachments, and the House

of preferring articles of impeachment.

In the main, however, that instrument, the model

on which are constructed the fundamental laws of

the States, has blocked out with singular precision,

and in bold lines, in its three primary Articles, the

allotment of power to the executive, the legislative,

and judicial departments of the government. It e2lso

remains true, as a general rule, that the powers con-

fided by the Constitution to one of these departments

cannot be exercised by another.

It may be said that these are truisms which need

no repetition here to give them force. But while the

experience of almost a century has in general shown

a wise and commendable forbearance in each of these

branches from encroachments upon the others, it is not

to be denied that such attempts have been made, and

it is believed not always without success. The increase

in the number of States, in their population and wealth,

and in the amount of power, if not in its nature to be

exercised by the Federal Government, presents power-

ful and growing temptations to those to whom that

exercise is intrusted, to overstep the just boundaries

of their own department, and enter upon the domain

of one of the others, or to assume powers not intrusted

to either of them.”

In Hepburn v. Griswold,” Chief Justice Chase put the

point thus:

“No department of the government has any other

powers than those thus delegated to it by the people.

All the legislative power granted by the Constitution

belongs to Congress; but it has no legislative power

which is not thus granted. And the same observa-

tion is equally true in its application to the execu-

tive and judicial powers granted respectively to the

72. 75 U.S. (8 Wall.) 603, 611, 19 L.Ed. 513,

LPT OSE As BEGET” STS Se SRE * een

52

President and the courts. All these powers differ

in kind, but not in source or in limitation. They all

arise from the Constitution, and are limited by its

terms.

“Not every Act of Congress, then, is to be regarded

as the supreme law of the land; nor is it by every Act

of Congress that the judges are bound. This character

and this force belong only to such acts as are ‘made

in pursuance of the Constitution’.”’

To whatever extent congressional action in the form

of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 undertakes to exercise

a restraint upon and displacement of the judicial power

then, to precisely the same extent, that Act is unconsti-

tutional.

In its June 7, 1965, decision in U. S. v. Brown," this

Court struck down an enactment of Congress as an un-

constitutional Bill of Attainder. The Court began its dis-

cussion with a brief review of the history of that clause

in our Constitution. The relationship between the separa-

tion of the divisions of the national government and the

prohibition of attainders was sharply drawn in this lan-

guage:

“The Constitution divides the National Govern-

ment into three branches—Legislative, Executive and

Judicial. This ‘separation of powers’ was obviously

not instituted with the idea that it would promote gov-

ernmental efficiency. It was, on the contrary, looked

to as a bulwark against tyranny. For if governmental

power is fractionalized, if a given policy can be im-

plemented only by a combination of legislative enact-

73. US. , 85 S.Ct. 1707, 14 L.Ed.2d 484.

74. Another note of historical interest is to be found in the

appendix to the opinion of Mr. Justice Black in Joint Anti-Fascist

Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341 U.S. 123, 146, 71 S.Ct. 624,

95 L.Ed. 817.

—

53

ment, judicial application, and executive implemen-

tation, no man or group of men will be able to impose

its unchecked will. James Madison wrote:

‘The accumulation of all powers, legislative,

executive, and judiciary, in the same hands, whether

of one, a few, or many, and whether hereditary, self-

appointed, or elective, may justly be pronounced the

very definition of tyranny.’

The doctrine of separated powers is implemented by a

number of constitutional provisions, some of which

entrust certain jobs exclusively to certain branches,

while others say that a given task is not to be per-

formed by a given branch. For example, Article III’s

grant of ‘the judicial Power of the United States’

to federal courts has been interpreted both as a grant

of exclusive authority over certain areas. Marbury

v. Madison, 1 Cranch 137, 2 L. Ed. 60, and as a limita-

tion upon the judiciary, a declaration that certain tasks

are not to be performed by courts, e. g., Muskrat v.

United States, 219 U.S. 346, 31 S.Ct. 250, 55 L.Ed. 246.

Compare Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer,

343 U.S. 579, 72 S.Ct. 863, 96 L.Ed. 1153.

The authors of the Federalist Papers took the posi-

tion that although under some systems of government

(most notably the one from which the United States

had just broken), the Executive Department is the

branch most likely to forget the bounds of its author-

ity, ‘in a representative republic * * * where the legis-

lative power is exercised by an assembly * * * which

is sufficiently numerous to feel all the passions which

actuate a multitude; yet not so numerous as to be in-

capable of pursuing the objects of its passions * * *.

barriers had to be erected to ensure that the legisla-

ture would not overstep the bounds of its authority

and perform the functions of the other departments.

The Bill of Attainder Clause was regarded as such a

barrier. Alexander Hamilton wrote:

POSES Winer user eaae RES OLIN. SORRY NSIS TET la ON pint oinienrnd

54

‘Nothing is more common than for a free people,

in times of heat and violence, to gratify momentary

passions, by letting into the government principles

and precedents which afterwards prove fatal to them-

selves. Of this kind is the doctrine of disqualifica-

tion, disfranchisement, and banishment by acts of

the legislature. The dangerous consequences of this

power are manifest. If the legislature can disfran-

chise any number of citizens at pleasure by genera!

descriptions, it may soon confine all the votes to a

small number of partisans, and establish an aristoc-

racy or oligarchy; if it may banish at discretion all

those whom particular circumstances render obnox-

jous, without hearing or trial, no man can be safe,

nor know when he may be the innocent victim of a

prevailing faction. The name of liberty applied to

such a government, would be a mockery of common

sense.’

Thus the Bill of Attainder Clause not only was in-

tended as one implementation of the general prin-

ciple of fractionalized power, but also reflected the

Framers’ belief that the Legislative Branch is not so

well suited as politically independent judges and juries

to the task of ruling upon the blameworthiness, of,

and levying appropriate punishment upon, specific per-

sons.

‘Every one must concede that a legislative body, from

its numbers and organization, and from the very

intimate dependence of its members upon the people,

which renders them liable to be peculiarly suscepti-

ble to popular clamor, is not properly constituted to

try with coolness, caution, and impartiality a crim-

inal charge, especially in those cases in which the

popular feeling is strongly excited,—the very class

of cases most likely to be prosecuted by this mode.”

By banning bills of attainder, the Framers of the Con-

stitution sought to guard against such dangers by

limiting legislatures to the task of rule-making. ‘It is

the peculiar province of the legislature, to prescribe

general rules for the government of society; the ap-

plication of those rules to individuals in society would

seem to be the duty of other departments.’ Fletcher

v. Peck, 6 Cranch 87, 136, 3 L. Ed. 162.

* * *

“Under our Constitution, Congress possesses full legis-

lative authority, but the task of adjudication must be

left to other tribunals.”

55

The Court’s observations in this recent decision con-

firm the precise principles enunciated by Hamilton in the

Federalist Papers. Some pertinent extracts from this rare

document are:

“The standard of good behaviour for the continu-

ance in office of the judicial magistracy, is certainly

one of the most valuable of the modern improvements

in the practice of government. Ina monarchy, it is an

excellent barrier to the despotism of the prince: in a

republic, it is a no less excellent barrier to the encroach-

ments and oppressions of the representative body. And

it is the best expedient which can be devised in any

government, to secure a steady, upright, and impartial

administration of the laws. * * *

The complete independence of the courts of justice

is peculiarly essential in a limited constitution. By a

limited constitution, I understand one which contains

certain specified exceptions to the legislative authority;

such for instance, as that it shall pass no bills of at-

tainder, no ex post facto laws, and the like. Limitations

of this kind can be preserved in practice no other way

than through the medium of the courts of justice; whose

duty it must be to declare all acts contrary to the mani-

fest tenor of the constitution void. Without this, all the

reservations of particular rights or privileges would

amount to nothing.”

75.

Federalist, No. 78, Madison Ed., pp. 363, 364.

CERO TUS ae Ope ea yE TTY) pase rear aaes

56

The fact that Congress was dealing, in the Brown case,

with an area where it had a wide latitude of power, to-wit,

the commerce clause, did not deter the Court from con-

demning the legislation, stating:

“Under the line of cases just outlined, § 504 plainly

constitutes a bill of attainder. Congress undoubtedly

possesses power under the Commerce Clause to enact

legislation designed to keep from positions affecting

interstate commerce persons who may use such posi-

tions to bring about political strikes. In § 504, how-

ever, Congress has exceeded the authority granted it

by the Constitution. The statute does not set forth

a generally applicable rule decreeing that any person

who commits certain acts or possesses certain charac-

teristics (acts and characteristics which, in Congress’

view, make them likely to initiate political strikes)

shall not hold union office, and leave to courts and

juries the job of deciding what persons have committed

the specified acts or possess the specified characteris-

tics. Instead, it designates in no uncertain terms the

persons who possess the feared characteristics and

therefore cannot hold union office without incurring

criminal liability—-members of the Communist Party.”

In the present legislation though the words used do

not call states by name, certain states have been carefully

selected and designated in no uncertain terms.”* The Jack of

a precise appellation to the states brought under this act

does not cause it to be any the less a Bill of Attainder. The

comparable reasoning in Brown was expressed in these

words:

“The Attorney General urges us to distinguish Lovett”

on the ground that the statute struck down there

‘singled out three identified individuals.’ It is of course

true that § 504 does not contain the words ‘Archie

76. See Points C and D, infra, pp. 69 and 71.

77. United States v. Lovett, Footnote 44, supra, p. 32.

57

Brown’, and that it inflicts its deprivation upon more

than three people. However, the decisions of this Court,

as well as the historical background of the Bill of

Attainder Clause, make it crystal clear that these are

distinctions without a difference. It was not uncommon

for English acts of attainder to inflict their depriva-

tions upon relatively large groups of people, sometimes

by description rather than name. Moreover, the stat-

utes voided in Cummings and Garland were of this

nature. We cannot agree that the fact that § 504

inflicts its deprivation upon the membership of the

Communist Party rather than upon a list of named

individuals takes it out of the category of bills of at-

tainder.”

Under the rule of Brown the fact that in this case the dep-

rivations of power to be visited on the “guilty” states are

allegedly designed to be preventive rather than retributive,

does not keep the visitation of these sanctions from being

a form of punishment.

“The Solicitor General argues that § 504 is not a bill

of attainder because the prohibition it imposes does not

constitute ‘punishment’. In support of this conclusion,

he urges that the statute was enacted for preventive

rather than retributive reasons—that its aim is not

to punish Communists for what they have done in the

past, but rather to keep them from positions where they

will in the future be able to bring about undesirable

events. He relies on American Communications Ass’n

v. Douds, 339 U.S. 382, 70 S.Ct. 674, 94 L.Ed. 925, which

upheld § 9(h) of the Taft-Hartley Act, the predecessor

of the statute presently before us. In Douds the Court

distinguished Cummings,”* Garland” and Lovett on the

ground that in those cases

78. Cummings v. State of Missouri, 71 US. (4 Wall.) 277,

18 L.Ed. 356.

79. Ex parte Garland, Footnote 44, supra, p. 32.

SERA. PN. (RIO ALN EDM DISTRESS SCRE RICE ORGIES

58

‘the individuals involved were in fact being pun-

ished for past actions; whereas in this case they are

subject to possible loss of position only because there

is substantial ground for the congressional judgment

that their beliefs and loyalties will be transformed

into future conduct.’ Id., at 413, 70 S.Ct. at 691.

“This case is not necessarily controlled by Douds. For

to prove its assertion that § 9(h) was preventive rather

than retributive in purpose, the Court in Douds focused

on the fact that members of the Communist Party could

escape from the class of persons specified by Congress

simply by resigning from the Party:

‘Here the intention is to forestall future dangerous

acts: there is no one who may not by a voluntary

alteration of the loyalties which impel him to action,

become eligible to sign the affidavit. We cannot con-

clude that this section is a bill of attainder.’ Id. at

414, 70 S.Ct. at 692.

“Section 504, unlike § 9(h), disqualifies from the

holding of union office not only present members of the

Communist Party, but also anyone who has within the

past five years been a member of the Party. However,

even if we make the assumption that the five-year pro-

vision was inserted not out of desire to visit retribution

but purely out of a belief that failure to include it

would lead to pro ferma resignations from the Party

which would not decre?se the threat of political strikes,

it still clearly appears chat § 504 inflicts ‘punishment’

within the meaning of the Bill of Attainder Clause. It

would be archaic to limit the definition of ‘punishment’

- to ‘retribution’. Punishment serves several purposes:

retributive, rehabilitative, deterrent and preventive.

One of the reasons society imprisons those convicted of

crimes is to keep them from inflicting future harm,

but that does not make imprisonment any the less

punishment.

“Historical considerations by no means compel restric-

ticn of the bill of attainder ban to instances of retribu-

59

tion. A number of English bills of attainder were en-

acted for preventive purposes—that is, the legislature

made a judgment, undoubtedly based largely on past

acts and associations (as § 504 is) that a given person or

group was likely to cause trouble (usually, overthrow

the government.) and therefore inflicted deprivations

upon that person or group in order to keep them from

bringing about the feared event. It is also clear that

many of the early American bills attainting the Tories

were passed in order to impede their effectively resist-

ing the Revolution.

‘In the progress of the conflict, and particularly in

its earliest periods, attainder and confiscation had

been resorted to generally, throughout the continent,

as a means of war. But it is a fact important to the

history of the revolting colonies, that the acts pre-

scribing penalties, usually offered to the persons

against whom they were directed the option of avoid-

ing them, by acknowledging their allegiance to the

existing governments.

‘It was a preventative, not a vindictive policy. In the

same humane spirit, as the contest approached its

close, and the necessity of these severities diminished,

many of the states passed laws offering pardons to

those who had been disenfranchised, and restoring

them to the enjoyment of their property * * *.’

“Thus Justice Iredell was on solid historical ground

when he observed, in Calder v. Bull, 3 Dall. 386, 399-

400, 1 L.Ed. 648, that ‘attainders. on the principle of

retaliation and proscription, have marked all the vicis-

situdes of party triumph.’

“We think that the Court in Douds misread United

States v. Lovett when it suggested, 339 U.S., at 413,

“0 S.Ct., at 691, that that case could be distinguished

on the ground that the sanction there imposed was

levied for purely retributive reasons.”

BE RRS eatery cepa te cincenan nang Tee IRENA RRRUIIR Pe TIE

60

The attainder effects of the present legislation can be

seen even more clearly in the provisions restricting states

singled out for inclusion in the act from going about their

normal legislative processes in the future. This prohibi-

tion is based entirely upon a false presumption of future

bad faith and unlawful conduct. This clause, with its ef-

fect of prospective punishment, is a part of an act wherein

Congress hasn’t set up a single legislative standard for

conduct subsequent to November, 1964, which is to have the

effect of bringing new states under the Act or releasing

those “caught” otherwise than by authorizing a judicial

proceeding in which such states are denied the presump-

tion of innocence and are inflicted with a practically im-

possible burden of proof. Attorney General Katzenbach

testified before the House Committee.”

“Mr. Katzenbach. The justification for that (Sec-

tion 5 of the Voting Rights Act covering changes in

State law) is simply this: Our experience in the areas

that would be covered by this bill has been such as

to indicate frequently on the part of State legislatures

a desire in a sense to outguess the courts of the United

States or even to outguess the Congress of the United

States.

* * *

“If you look at the past history on this, it seemed to

us that the State which had been discriminating in

the past should be subjected to some kind of limita-

tions as to any new legislation that it might propose.

* * *

“The Chairman. In other words, your language

on page 7, line 25, is all-sweeping and covers the enact-

ment of any law on voter qualifications.

Mr. Katzenbach: That is correct, Mr. Chairman

”

.

80. House Hearings, p. 60.

61

At the conclusion of these hearings, a report was is-

sued containing the following statement:

“The prevailing conditions in those areas where

the bill will operate offer ample justification for con-

gressional action because there is little basis for sup-

posing that the States and subdivisions affected will

themselves remedy the present situation in view of the

history of the adoption and administration of the sev-

eral tests and devices reached by the bill.”*!

In the Senate hearings,** the Attorney General’s in-

sistence on a legislative conviction appears even stronger.

“Attorney General Katzenbach. Senator, I think

that where there has been prior misconduct and that

has been shown, I don’t see any difficulty to saying

you have to serve a little period of penance here.

“Senator Ervin. Well, also I call attention—

“Attorney General Katzenbach. I will tell you,

if some of the States repealed their literacy tests to-

morrow, I wouldn’t believe it was done in order to

stop discriminating. I think it would be done because

they had a new device.”

Even though § 5 of the Act has not been precisely ap-

plied to the State of South Carolina, inasmuch as she has

not changed or sought to change her laws, it is nevertheless

under attack here in the complaint; and the part that this

section plays in the over-all scheme of congressional ac-

tion should be considered.

Contrary to the Attorney General’s firmly expressed

disbelief that any good thing can come from South Caro-

lina or the other States attained, it is worthy of more than

passing note to point to the actions taken by the Missis-

81. House Report, p. 19.

82. Senate Hearings, p. 62.

a? se 9

a ELLE SAIN AEN GIG SR SAL IEIBE SISP OCIS Mia Oa semana

62

sippi legislature prior to the passage of the Voting Rights

Act, which, so far as the legislative history of the Federal

act discloses, were not even considered by the Congress.“

These new Mississippi statutes (see Appendix A) place

beyond the pale of controversy the possibility that any rea-

sonable contention could be made that these new require-

ments are vague, arbitrary, hypertechnical or unnecessarily

difficult or that they do not have a direct bearing upon the

capacity to cast an intelligent ballot.

Forcing a State against its will to qualify as electors

persons who cannot even write their name does not com-

port with common sense, let alone constitutional princi-

ple. When such a person marks a ballot it is a game of

chance and not an intelligent act. What sort of justifica-

tion can be advanced for forcing that decision on a State

such as South Carolina, with 20% of her adult popula-

tion illiterate, and at the same time permitting the State

of Oregon with a 3% illiteracy rate to continue to impose

a literacy test as a qualification for voting. Why should

the ignorant 3% of Oregonians be denied the ballot when

1/5th of South Carolina’s electorate is federally enfran-

chised and authorized to play a kind of voter’s Russian

83. The author of United States v. Mississippi, Footnote 45,

supra, p. 34, recognized how wrong it was to pass judgment on

a state’s future conduct on the basis of what its officials might

have done in the past. Mr. Justice Black, speaking in Cameron

v. Johneon, ..... US. .-..., ——-. BC. —-... 46 LE ae 715, said:

It is true that we have only recently held that Mississippi

must not deny the constitutional right of Negroes to register

and vote. United States v. Mississippi, 380 U.S. 128. But this,

of course, does not mean that no good or valid law could come

out of the State of Mississippi. We should without hesita-

tion condemn as unconstitutional discriminatory voting laws

of Mississippi or of any other State. We should with equal

firmness, however, approve a law which on its face is de-

signed merely to carry out the State’s responsibility to pro-

tect people who want to get into and out of the State's

public buildings and to move along its highways freely with-

out obstruction.

63

roulette with that State’s government? Lack of educa-

tional opportunity is no answer, for it has never been

shown, as to South Carolina or as to any of the states

“selected”, that sufficient schooling to produce the bare

minimum literacy required to mark a knowing ballot has

not always been available to members of all races. “Liter-

acy and illiteracy are neutral on race, creed and sex, as

reports around the world show.”** When one pauses to

consider how patently this Court approved the use of liter-

acy tests in the Lassiter decision, the conclusion becomes

inescapable that this congressional action was purely and

simply a “legislative trial”—precisely the device condemned

by Mr. Justice Douglas in his dissent in Hannah v. Larche.®

Quoting from Alan Barth’s “Government by Investiga-

tion”, that opinion pointed out that the legislative trial was

a device for condemning men without the formalities of

due process. Continuing to quote, the decision stated:

“The legislative trial serves three distinct though re-

lated purposes: (1) it can be used to punish conduct

which is not criminal; (2) it can be used to punish

supposedly criminal conduct in the absence of evi-

dence requisite to conviction in a court of law; and (3)

it can be used to drive or trap persons suspected of

‘disloyalty’ into committing some collateral crime such

as perjury or contempt of Congress, which can then

be subjected to punishment through a judicial proceed-

ing.”

84. Lassiter v. Northampton County Bd. of Elections, Foot-

note 35, supra, p. 27. Texas, Florida and other States with

heavy Negro populations could adopt voter intelligence require-

ments now which could be based on a 6th grade educational

level, despite the fact that their past schooling has been racially

Segregated. So could California, where inferior Negro schooling

was blamed in the McCone Report for the robberies, arson and

murder stemming from the most recent race riot there.

85. 363 U.S. 420, 80 S.Ct. 1502, 4 L.Ed.2d 1307.

SPEEA AR: 2 FO 4 > eee

) ae a

\

64

He then quotes from Greene v. McElroy: °°

“Certain principles have remained relatively immut-

able in our jurisprudence. One of these is that where

governmental action seriously injures an individual,

and the reasonableness of the action depends on fact

findings, the evidence used to prove the Government's

case must be disclosed to the individual so that he has

an opportunity to show that it is untrue. ... We have

formalized these protections in the requirements of

confrontation and cross-examination. They have

ancient roots. They find expression in the Sixth

Amendment which provides that in all criminal cases

the accused shall enjoy the right ‘to be confronted

with the witnesses against him’. This Court has been

zealous to protect these rights from erosion. It has

spoken out not only in criminal cases, . . . but, also in

all types of cases where administrative and regulatory

actions were under scrutiny.”

In Justice Douglas’ words the opinion continued:

“What we do today is to allow under the head of due

process a fragmentation of proceedings against ac-

cused people that seems to me to be foreign to our

system. No indictment is returned, no commitment

to jail is made, no formal criminal charges are made.

Hence the procedure is condoned as violating no con-

stitutional guarantee. Yet what is done is another

short cut used more and more these days to ‘try’ men

in ways not envisaged by the Constitution. . . . This

is a serious price to pay for adopting a free-wheeling

concept of due process, rather than confining it to

the procedures and devices enumerated in the Con-

stitution itself. ... Men of goodwill not evil ones

86. 360 US. 474, 79 S.Ct. 1400, 3 L.Ed.2d 1377.

| ,

only, invent, under feelings of urgency, new and dif-

ferent procedure that have an awful effect on the

citizen.”*?

65

In three of the states which were “caught”, judg-

ments already rendered by the judiciary are frozen on

these attained States and the courts alike for an arbitrary

period of five years. Such a procedure not only wrong-

fully deprives the courts involved of a portion of their

judicial power, but it also runs afoul of a problem involved

in all anticipatory legislation, which was thus discussed

by this Court in Chastleton Corp. v. Sinclair: *

“... 80 far as this ( legislative) declaration looks to

the future it can be no more than prophecy and is

liable to be controlled by events. A law depending

upon the existence of an emergency or other certain

state of facts to uphold it may cease to operate if the

emergency ceases or the facts change even though

valid when passed.”

Yet under § 4 (a) every Court is arbitrarily deprived of

any discretion for a period of five years to make a find-

ing of changed facts. This inflexible proscriptive period

certainly runs counter to the effect required to be given

to changes of State law (such as have occurred in the

87. Compare the approach of Attorney General Katzenbach

when he was challenged as having placed execessive and arbi-

trary authority in himself to make determinations under Sec-

tions 4, 5, 6, 8 and 9:

“Attorney General Katzenbach: Senator, I don’t like, as

long as I am in this Position, having to make the determina-

tions which you regard as unbridled. But frankly I don’t

know a different way of dealing with it except the way

that we have attempted. To go into court all the time

and running into all those delays—I think if you balance

some discretion on the part of the Attorney General against

repeated denials of the right to vote, people who are entitled

to vote, it is better to let the Attorney General have a little

bit of discretion and get some people voting.”

88. 264 U.S. 543, 44 S.Ct. 405, 68 L.Ed. 841.

YEN SONAR RTT NEY SIRS ES

-

66

State of Mississippi) by this Court’s decision in Beli y.

Maryland.

The voting processes in these three “frozen” states

are to be subjected to the unlawful infusion of a large

percentage of persons who are so illiterate they can’t read

a name on a ballot or write a single letter of the alphabet.

These are people described by President Lyndon Johnson

as living in a world of darkness. Certainly they are cor-

rectly characterized by South Carolina as incompetents in

the field of government.

This Act is coldly calculated to punish the convicted

States by bringing the e masses of persons into the State's

election processes and maintaining them there for a mini-

mum of five years, with the expectation that they will make

such inroads into the government that they can never be

displaced. Such an attempt to adulterate the very political

process that might be expected to right the wrong ought

to be especially scrutinized.”

Although the 5th Amen-ment speaks in terms of the

rights of a “person”, which word does not normally include

a State or governmental subdivision, it is hard to con-

ceive that a central government established on the prin-

ciples of limited, enumerated powers could be held to

possess the power to condemn a portion of its creators

without affording them a hearing.’ No party ought to

89. 378 U.S. 226, 84 S.Ct. 1814, 12 L.Ed.2d 822.

90. Cf. Footnote 4 in U. S. v. Carolene Products Co., 304

U.S. 144, 152, 58 S.Ct. 778, 82 L.Ed. 1234.

91. Cf. Grosjean v. American Press Co., 297 U.S. 233, 56

S.Ct. 444, 80 L.Ed. 660, where the Court recognized that while a

corporation was not a “citizen” within the privileges and im-

munities clause, it was a “person” within the meaning of the

equal protection and due process clauses. The corporation was

permitted to set aside a tax statute which purported to classify

newspapers (that Huey Long didn’t like) but which the Court

could see was just a subterfuge because the legislature knew in

advance exactly who would be covered and who wouldn't.

67

be condemned unheard. No better instrument has been

devised for arriving at truth than to give one who is in

jeopardy of serious loss, notice of the case against him

and an opportunity to meet it. The Voting Rights Act

is not a mere instance of name calling by public officials;

it is a determination of status.°? The Congress ought not

be immune from the historic requirements of fairness

merely because they act, however conscientiously, in the

name of Civil Rights or against whole States rather than

single officials.

Attorney General Katzenbach assumed the position

with Congress that judicial processes were “too slow” when

he asked for the novel powers of this Act. To the House

he said:

“What is necessary, what is essential, is a new ap-

proach, an approach which goes beyond the tortuous,

often-ineffective pace of litigation.”™

In the Senate Hearings, he said:

“It (the condition of low Negro voter registration)

exists largely because the judicial process, upon which

all existing remedies depend, is institutionally inade-

quate to deal with practices so deeply rooted in the

social and political structure.” (p. 9). “In place of

fruitless legal maneuvering, the bill offers a workable

administrative solution.” ( p. 14).

We respectfully submit that when officials of the

Executive Department stand on the threshold of the op-

portunity to make proof in a Court of Law that they are

entitled to bring to bear the broad new procedural rule

made by this Court in U. S. v. Mississippi,“ and blandly

92. House Hearings, p. 9.

93. House Hearings, p. 9.

94. Supra, footnote 45, p. 34.

LORS ROLE IRE NIM LOE APSR IE” ISLAM ERR

68

assert to Congress that judicial processes are “inadequate”

and “too slow”, they do not thereby manufacture any law-

ful right for Congress to exercise judicial power. An

emergency, real or imagined, does not create constitutional

power.”» The Attorney General’s impatience with due

process and his willingness to compromise procedural prin-

ciples for sake of a quick, easy conviction remain beyond

the bounds of the document which is law for rulers and

men alike.

The United States is a nation which is unique in re-

corded time; and, we submit, for a single reason more

than any other—it is governed by a written Constitution

that does not bend or change with temporal winds and

popular cries. This is a nation that is able to contain

many views under the same flag. Some citizens believe

that the Communist party is a menace to our security and

that any process to rid the Country of that “menace”

should be used. This Court does not agree that means

beyond the Constitution are available.” Still other groups

are quite dedicated to the belief that the present govern-

ment of several Southern States are more deserving of

opprobrium than the Communists. Both Communists and

Southerners are lambasted in most new media, and any

person (or court) who asserts that either group is entitled

to the shield of the Constitution is likely to incur great

wrath. But the plain truth is that short-cuts and devia-

tions which respond only to vox populi make awful in-

roads on the rights of everyone, when, in other times,

those precedents cut a different way. The judicial process

95. Veix v. Sixth Ward Building & Loan Assn., 310 US.

2, 60 S.Ct. 792, 84 L.Ed. 1061.

96. Recent examples are found in U. S. v. Brown, Footnote

73, supra, p. 52, and Apthecker v. Secretary of State, Footnote

70, supra, p. 50, and Albertson, et al. v. »ACB, No. 3, Oct. Term

1965, 11/15/65.

69

is not “institutionally inadequate” in any institution which

1s compatible with the Constitution. In this case this Court

is the first, last and only chance for the State of South

Carolina to be accorded the guarantees of that document.

C.

The Act Was Drafted to Apply to Known, Named

States and Subdivisions Alone and Its Purported

“Formula” Is Merely a Sophisticated Subterfuge.

The rule which forbids sophisticated as well as sim-

ple-minded denials of constitutional rights applies to ac-

tions by the Congress equally as it does to State legislative

action. The states selected for inclusion in this Act were

known and often named.” Although Attorney General

Katzenbach indicated that the 50% figure had been selected

because it “is a good round number,” his testimony in

the Senate indicates that something more than happenstance

was involved in the selection of that “good round num-

ber” and the other “trigger” procedures. There he testi-

fied:

“Attorney General Katzenbach. Senator, in search-

ing the test that made a relationship between the 15th

amendment and these factors, I think one could, as I

have said repeatedly here, fairly make this assump-

tion in this test. If checking that against our figures,

it indicated that the States of Mississippi, Louisiana,

Alabama were not included within this test, I would

have had doubts about the test myself, because I know

97. They are Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, South

Carolina, Virginia and 34 counties in North Carolina. See, e.g.,

House Hearings, pp. 12, 19, 42, 69, 77, 78, 85, 96, and Senate

Hearings, p. 17. Alaska and one county each in Arizona, Idaho

and Maine were “caught”.

98.

House Hearings, p. 26.

PAARL

70

those are areas where we have brought repeated cases

where we—where we have won cases and we have

the facts in other cases which I believe establish vio-

lations of the 15th amendment.

“So I am frank to say if, in experimenting as we

did with various tests to try to get them fair and ob-

jective, and with a relationship between that and

the 15th amendment, if I had discovered that a test

worked out in such a way that it included six States

with no Negro populations and eliminated all States

with large Negro populations, I would have looked

again at the test.”

Thus the selected states didn’t just happen to come within

the “test’—the “test” was selected to fix those States

chosen for conviction. If one approaches the resolution of

the legal question here without guile, one must admit that

Congress has legislated against certain designated states

and, therefore, congressional power to pass this legislation

must forthrightly be tested as though Congress had frankly

named the states to be included and pointedly excused

all others not so named, for no one not included now can

do anything which will bring them under the net. It is

wrong and constitutionally false for a prospective voter

in South Carolina of any race to be relieved of the require-

ment of completing an application form required by South

Carolina law, when precisely the same form could be re-

quired in the State of Florida or Texas, where racial dis-

crimination in voting was declared tobe known to exist

in testimony given to Congress, and there be enforced

whether it had been enacted prior to or after the adop-

71

tion of the Voting Rights Act, just because the require-

ment was not on the statute books November 1, 1964.%

D.

The Creation of an Irrational, Irrebutable Presumption

Results in Legislative Conviction and Forfeiture of

Sovereign Rights Without Judicial Proceedings.

Completely without regard to race, color or previous

condition of servitude, of those involved, this Act declares

that wherever less than 50% of the persons of voting age

in a state or subdivision were not in fact registered on a

selected past date, or when 50% of such persons failed or

99. The following dialogue bears this out:

“Mr. Cramer: At the top of page 2, the test and device

that triggers the approach in this bill, is the device or test

which the Attorney General determines was maintained on

November 1, 1964.

Mr. Katzenbach: Yes.

Mr. Cramer: Any State hereafter could enact literacy

test statutes and not be subject to this bill; right?

Mr. Katzenbach: Yes; if it did not have a literacy test

on November 1, 1964, then it could enact a literacy test law.

Mr. Cramer: They could discriminate in the future all

they want to and not be subject to this bill.

Mr. Katzenbach: Congressman, I didn’t intend to say

that literacy tests always discriminate.

Mr. Cramer: I didn’t either.

Mr. Katzenbach: I think we are hitting the areas here

where there has been discrimination and that that discrim-

ination has been through the use of literacy tests. I don’t

like literacy tests but I would have no constitutional ob-

jection to literacy tests in other States.

Mr. Cramer: Florida, Kentucky, and Tennessee could

have literacy tests tomorrow, but they would not be subject

to this bill.

Mr. Katzenbach: Correct.”

House Hearings, p. 107. He could have added Texas and

Arkansas also, both of which contain many counties with low

voter registration and participation in areas of heavy colored

populations, not to mention the District of Columbia. See Senator

Ervin’s statement in the Senate Hearings, p. 777.

72

neglected to vote in a designated past election, and the

state was one of a known, named group of states which

on the past date required its electors to demonstrate or

possess literacy, then such a state is to be stripped of a

part of its sovereign powers to enforce its own valid laws.

This invalidation remains until the state goes to a Federal

Court in Washington, D. C.’” encumbered by a withdrawal

of the presumption of innocence which normally attends

every official act, and there assumes and carries the bur-

den of proving that during the past five years there has

been no denial or abridgement of the right to vote on ac-

count of race or color anywhere within its boundaries as

the result of enforcement of its literacy requirement. Three

states are decreed not to be entitled to even hazard such

a burden for five years because past legal proceedings in

a minor portion of their counties or parishes are made

conclusive statewide for five years into the future.

Thus, the presumption is that if a state was a member

of the group using specified voter qualifications and if

its past statistical record was wrong, it must come in and

prove—not what its 1964 statistics truly were—not that

such statistics were not the result of denials on account

of race or color, or that its 1964 requirements were valid—

but. that for five years no denials of the right to vote be-

100. The Act tacitly admits the novelty of moving the cause

of action from the place it arose and would normally be brought

to Washington when Section 14(d) of the Act permits extra terri-

torial process; but subpoenas for witnesses more than 100 miles

from Washington can only be had, on a showing of cause, under

an order of the Court. The suggestion that fixing the jurisdic-

tion in Washington for the States was done out of a desire for

uniformity of interpretation of the Act is wholly negated by

permitting the Attorney General to range over the entire af-

fected area bringing his suits in any U. S. District Court which

normally has jurisdiction of the selected defendant. Section 12(f).

The plain truth of the matter is that the Congress wanted to slam

the door of every southern courthouse to litigation by the selected

States to discourage and defeat any attempt by them to seek

judicial relief from the legislative fiat.

73

cause of race or color have occurred anywhere in the

state which were in any way connected with its then valid,

yet now condemned, requirements have taken place.

In Wieman v. Updegraff,’" this Court stated:

“Indiscriminate classification of innocent with know-

ing activity must fall as an assertion of arbitrary

power.”

When the Attorney General admits that he has cast a

presumption calculated to bring in innocents who are given

the duty of proving their way out of the entrapment, with

the shield of innocence denied to them, he admits that the

Voting Right Act is arbitrary and unconstitutional because

the presumption ne designed is irrational, in addition to

being, to all practical effects, irrebuttable. Numerous prec-

edents exist in this Court’s past decisions supporting this

point. A number of these precedents were collected in the

brief filed by the State of South Carolina (see pp. 56 and

57). These and other cases were cited in the most recent

pronouncement of the Court on the subject, the case of

United States v. Romano, No. 2, October Term, 1965, No-

vember 22, 1965. There the Court held that while pres-

ence at a still was a sufficient basis for a rebuttable pre-

sumption which would sustain a conviction for carrying

on, aiding or abetting the business of distilling,’ presence

at an illegal still site had no reasonable or rational con-

nection sufficient to support a conviction for possession,

custody or control of such a still.

Low registration figures in areas where members of

the Negro race reside in large numbers could conceivably

have some relationship to racially discriminatory prac-

101. 344 U.S. 183. 191, 73 S.Ct. 215, 97 L.Ed. 216.

102. See Gainey v. United States, 380 US. 63, ae

L.Ed.2d ¥

74

tices. Low registration figures of Negroes as a racial group

in such a community would be more probative.’® But

to completely eliminate any sort of a connection between the

percentages used and racial make up of the population,

groups to which such figures were applied renders the

“formula” of the presumption as irrational as that which

was condemned in the Romano case. The reason the Vot-

ing Rights Act advanced the presumption proposed was

that “experiments” showed it “caught” those states de-

sired to be convicted and few enough others to make it

have a veneer of fairness yet pass the Congress handily.

Perhaps the most crushing proof of the arbitrary notion on

which it is based is disclosed by the fact that its proponents

would not hazard making it prospective but insisted on

limiting its operation only to a past date. It is difficult

to put into written words a more pointed demonstration

of the ex post facto nature and effect of this legislation

than was articulated by Mr. McCullough and Mr. Cramer

and others in the House Report in this way:

“(The Voting Rights Act’s) 50 percent voter-registra-

tion test, or automatic triggering device, being retro-

spective in viewpoint, does not consider the actions

of a State or political subdivision in the present, but

rests upon past occurrences. Despite the gross injus-

tices perpetrated by some individuals and govern-

mental bodies, we find the creation of penalties today,

to be applied in the form of indictments for yester-

day’s sins, to be philosophically undesirable, especially

in the light of the delicate Federal-State relationship

and the constitutional issues involved. There is no op-

portunity open to all for the redemption of wrong-

doers. Good faith compliance with the spirit and letter

103. It was contended that such racial statistics are hard to

compile, but it may be noted that Congress received “evidence”

and “testimony” as to such statistics in a number of areas. E.g.,

House Hearings, pp. 32, 33, 35, 37, 135-257, 587-590: Senate Hear-

ings, pp. 190, 771-773, 850-975, 1175-1445.

75

of the law after passage of this voting rights bill would

be of no avail.

The ‘numbers game’ approach, obviously designed

to hit a pre-designated target, is clearly an arbitrary

device unless we are to believe that, without evidence,

without a judicial proceeding or a hearing of any kir.d,

a contrived mathematical formula is capable of f2‘ rly

delineating those States that discriminate on account of

race or color and those that do not. As noted earlier,

it is conceded by the committee-Celler bill’s proponents

that the figures used do not purport to show a propor-

tionally low ratio of Negro to white registrants or vot-

ers which might reflect a pattern of racial discrimina-

tion. In fact, discrimination prohibited by the 15th

amendment could continue untouched under the for-

mula so long as 50 percent of the voting age popu-

lation on November 1, 1964, was registered or voted—

even if they were all whites. We find it to be quite

illogical to declare, on the basis of the formula, that

Louisiana is guilty of discriminating since it had only

47.3 percent of the eligible population voting in the

1964 election, while Hawaii with 52 percent voting is

deemed innocent (subcommittee transcript, p. 29).

Meanwhile, Texas escapes censure, although it had

only 44 percent participation. Yet, as a result of this

arbitrary calculation, a State’s voting qualifications

are suspended until it comes to a selected court in the

District of Columbia and establishes the fact that its

‘tests and devices’ were never used during the past

5 years to deny or abridge the right to vote.

The fair and effective enforcement of the 15th

amendment calls for precise identification of offenders,

not the indiscriminate scatter-gun technique evidenced

in the 50 percent test. Where local election officials

practice discrimination, a Federal remedy should be

readily available to be swiftly administered even if 99

percent of the eligible voters are properly registered

or voted. However, the committee-Celler bill with

its 50 percent test would engulf whole States in a tidal

wave of Federal control of the election process, even

SR Re RS aR ar TR RRE ONS RO CRE RM PEIRCE

76

though many of the counties or parishes within that

State may be acknowledged by all to be absolutely

free of racial discrimination in voting.’

2

The Constitution Does Not Permit the Classification

of States.

Article IV, Section 3, Clause 1 of the Constitution

provides:

“New States may be admitted by the Congress into

this Union; but no new State shall be formed or erected

within the Jurisdiction of any other State; nor any

State be formed by the Junction of two or more States,

or parts of States, without the Consent of the Legis-

latures of the States concerned as well as of the Con-

gress.”

The decisions of this Court have consistently emphasized

that this permission to admit new states was a permission

to admit such states on a basis of equality with the states

that originally formed the Union. The admitting acts of

the various states have uniformly provided that they are

to be admitted on the same basis as the original states in

all respects whatever.’

A little over a year after Mississippi was admitted to

the Union this Court, in McCullough v. Maryland, supra

(p. 410 of 17 U.S.), stated:

“In America, the powers of sovereignty are divided

between the government of the Union, and those of the

States. They are each sovereign, with respect to the

objects committed to it, and neither sovereign with

respect to the objects committed to the other. We can-

104. House Report, p. 45.

105. See, e.g., the Enabling and Admitting Acts for the

State of Mississippi, supra, p. 2.

77

not comprehend that train of reasoning which would

matitain that the extent of power granted by the

people is to be ascertained, not by the nature and terms

of the grant, but by its date. Some state constitutions

were formed before, some since that of the United

States. We cannot believe that their relation to each

other is in any degree dependent upon this circum-

stance. Their respective powers must, we think, be

precisely the same as if they had been formed at the

same time.”

In Pollard, et al. v. Hagan, et al.’ the Court had

occasion to discuss the status of states admitted out of the

territories ceded by the original states of Virginia and

Georgia (which includes Mississippi). The Court there

pointed out that the deeds of cession contained an express

stipulation as to any new States formed out of the land

cedes that “‘such State shall be admitted by its delegates into

the Congress of the United States, on an equal footing with

the original states in all respects whatever.” In discussing

such a new State’s sovereignty, the Court stated:

“The right of Alabama and every other new State to

exercise all the powers of government, which belong

to and may be exercised by the original States of the

Union, must be admitted, and remain unquestioned,

except so far as they are temporarily, deprived of con-

trol of the public lands.”

In Permoli v. Municipality No. 1 of the City of New

Orleans," the Court held that the act admitting the State

of Louisiana had authorized the framing of a State Con-

stitution which established, among other things, a republican

government. In discussing the relationship of the new State

to the ordinance of Congress which formerly governed the

106. 44U.S. (3 How.) 212, 224, 11 L.Ed. 565.

107. 44US. (2 How.) 589, 610, 11 1... 739.

78

Territory before the State was created, the opinion pro-

vided:

“So far as they conferred political rights, and secured

civil and religious liberties (which are political rights)

the laws of Congress were all superseded by the State

Constitution. Nor is any part of them in force, unless

they were adopted by the Constitution of Louisiana as

laws of the State. It is not possible to maintain that

the United States hold in trust, by force of the ordi-

nance, for the people of Louisiana, all of the great ele-

mental principles, or any one of them, contained in the

ordinance, and secured to the people of the Orleans

territory during its existence. It follows, no repug-

nance could arise between the ordinance of 1787 and an

act of the legislature of Louisiana, or a city regula-

tion founded on such act;”

This reasoning was based upon the fact that Congress had

admitted the State “on an equal footing with the original

states in all respects whatever.”

In speaking of the status of admission of the State of

Illinois in Escanaba and Lake Michigan Transportation Co,

v. City of Chicago,’ this Court stated:

“On her admission she at once became entitled to and

possessed of all the rights of dominion and sovereignty

which belonged to the original states. She was ad-

mitted, and could be admitted, only on the same foot-

ing with them. The language of the act of admission

is, ‘on an equal footing with the original! states in all

respects whatever.’ 3 St. 536. Equality of constitu-

tional right and power is the condition of all the states

of the Union, old and new.” (Emphasis by the Court.)

The leading case in this field and the one which laid

the principle to rest so strongly that it has not substan-

108. 107 U.S. 678, 2 S.Ct. 185, 193, 27 L.Ed. 442.

79

tially arisen since is Coyle v. Smith, where the Court

stated:

“The power is to admit ‘new States into this Union.’

(Emphasis by the Court.)

‘This Union’ was and is a union of states, equal

in power, dignity, and authority, each competent to

exert that residuum of sovereignty not delegated to

| the United States by the Constitution itself. To main-

tain otherwise would be to say that the Union, through

| the power of Congress to admit new states, might

come to be a union of states unequal in power, as

including states whose powers were restricted only

by the Constitution, with others whose powers had

been further restricted by an act of Congress accepted

as a condition of admission. Thus it would result, first,

that the powers of Congress would not be defined by

the Constitution alone, but in respect to new states,

enlarged or restricted by the conditions imposed upon

new states by its own legislation admitting them into

the Union; and, second, that such new states might

not exercise all of the powers which had not been

delegated by the Constitution, but only such as had not

been further bargained away as conditions of ad-

mission.

The argument that Congress derives from the duty

of ‘guaranteeing to each state in this Union a republi-

can form of government,’ power to impose restrictions

upon a new state which deprive it of equality with

other members of the Union, has no merit. It may

imply the duty of such new State to provide itself with

such state government, and impose upon Congress the

duty of seeing that such form is not changed to one

anti-republican,—Minor v. Happersett, 21 Wall. 162,

174, 22 L. ed. 627, 630,—but it obviously does not

confer power to admit a new state which shall be any

less a state than those which compose the Union.”

res

109. 221 U.S. 559, 31 S.ct. 688, 66 L.Ed. 853.

a>

Sis pe 7 EE, ORE eee EN a oe ae one mS as

heii aie aia, : ips $ihgate bites Raab Meigs Se

80

In United States v. Texas,''® the Court reasoned that

what is now referred to as the “equal footing” clause

(Article IV, Section 3, Clause 1, supra) could not be

meant to overcome differences in area, location, geology

and latitude which create diversity in economic aspects,

rather it was reasoned that the clause was intended to

create “parity as respects political standing and sov-

ereignty.”""

Any classification of states such as Congress has at-

tempted to make in th

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.