Brief in Support of Exceptions of the US — Arizona v. California

Supreme Court brief1962

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

a “fi Pri}

is

hae a Fite.

yo Ee

>»

=

or

a 7

"

7 = y My .

° +. , bf Vv :

SO Rear TIES,

7) 2 SABRE

°

=

es

mo hy

Se a =o ‘ted

INDEX

a

Special Master’s ete. Sis ohh alc iicademennnn

Jurisdiction Iola elaine ith be elect dtetllnen nsiisiicosiinienss

i SRD TLE MEE TE oe TOT

Statutes and compact involved--.._-__---------_____-..

. PointsIandII. In making allocations of waters from

Lake Mead among Lower Colorado River Basin

States, the Secretary of the Interior is authorized to

make deductions.to compensate for upstream con-

sumptive use in Arizona and Nevada of water which

would otherwise flow into Lake Mead___--_.-_-__-

Point III. Relative rights intrastate to the delivery

of Colorado River waters, in terms of quantity and

priority, are governed by the terms of the delivery

contracts made under authority of the Project. Act

and by applicable federal law. rather than by)

SA TON sisi nmemnciniangin senipeniammiaiianpenanigrenipansceanbaa

A. The statements in the Report and the provision

~ Of the recommended decree respecting ap-

plicability of State law to the determination

of relative rights intrastate to use the Boulder —

Canyon Project waters are unnecessary to the

recommended. decision and should be elimi-

B. By Section 5 and other provisions of the..

Boulder Canyon Project Act the Secretary

of the Interior is given broad powers in the

administration and disposition of the project _

water supply, including the power, by con-

tract, with water users, to make all appropri-

_ate provisions respecting quantities of water

to be delivered to different users and the con-

" ditions on and under which deliveries will be

595248—-61——__1 : (x) ™

fs ©

if

aot

21

ere

xe

P i

Argument—Continued

Point I1I—Continued

% C. Section 18 of the Project Act does not limit

« the broad authority conferred on the Secre-

tary of the Interior by Sections 1 and 5 to

operate the Boulder Canyon Project and to

_ contract for storage and delivery of the proj- pags

ect water supply 34

Point IV. The Nevada water delivery contract does not

exhaust the authority of the Secretary of the Interior

under Section 5 of the Boulder Canyon Project Act

to contract further for the use of impounded water

within the State of Nevada or to apply unused water

to use on federal projects___—- 48

Point V. The United States is entitled to use on its

wildlife refuges waters salvaged in devélopment of _

the refuge areas without regard to priorities estab- ,

lished by creation of the refuges_.........--...-.- 51

a

Conclusion BOE ESET SS EL ESD ots OES Oe Pa ee 53

REN ES PEST TY REC eee EC I OR 54

C'TATIONS : yi,

Arizona v. California, 283 U.S. 423..--------- 25, 36, 37, 40-

Baltimore National Bank v. Tax Commission, 297 U.S.

EE ERS a eee ~ 40

Camfield v. United States, 167 U.S. 518_-----.-.----- 39

Federal Power Commission v. Niagara Mohawk Power -

Corp., 347 U.S. 239_-..- A OA - 46

Federal Power Commission v. Oregon, 349 U.S. 435_ 25, 88, 39

First Iowa Cooperative v. Federal Power Commassion,

328, U.S, 153.....-. il adeilinialeidipiandiintiehiptanbopperihahines 38, 44

Fourco Glass Co. v. Transmérra Corp., 353 U.S. 222... 40

Gibson v. Chouteau, 13 Wall. 92...------------.----- 39

Ginsberg & Sons v. Popkin, 285 U.S. 204_--...------ 40

Hunt v. United States, 278 U.S. 96_.-- icine ae

Ickes v. Fow, 300 U.S. ees, Garo 8 i ea 43

Ironstone Ditch Co. v. Ashenfelter, 57 Colo. 31._..._- 52

Ivanhoe Irrigation District v. McCracken, 357 U.S.

(Sa Sarcalelieoat in aa otrestotoa 18, 25, 26, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 44

; Maas, In re, 219 Cal. 422, 27 P. I peiensnscaicienessciscnsn 37

- MacEvoy Co. v. United States, 322 U.S. 102_-.----- 40

McCullouch v. Maryland, 4 Wheat. SE aR ei ee

Nebraska v. Wyoming, 325 U.S: 589_.------.-.------ 42, 52

le)

ul

Cases—Continued Page

Oklahoma v. Atkinson Co., 313 U.S. 508_______.____ 24, 38 -

Pacific Live Stock Co. v. Lewis, 241 U.S. 440________ 37

Pomona Land & Water Co. v. Sen Antonie W ator Co, Ae

TE Spin cbiennnutinbinhtnitastedehehen a4 iss 52

Reno v. Richards, 32 Idaho een aes a. 52

Tacoma v. Taxpayers, a See 38

United States v. Appalachian Power Go, 311 USS.

Pil nnsisninebenennssbdumnditibadaeiti cg os 25, 38

United States v. Chandler-Dunbar Co.,229 U.S. 538... 46

United States v. Gerlach Live Stock Co., 889 U.S.

Ee OREN NE ome EAT OO ey MUO RED ID 25, 41, 46

United States v. Grand River Dam, Authority, 363

Ee dee SORES nd COnER RS ery PMN AE 25, 38

United States v. Oregon, 295 U.S. 1 39

United States v. Rio Grande Irrigation Co., 174 US.

ig Ee RS EOE TRE NE ILE Nid 25, 39

United States v. Twin City Power Co., 350 U.S. 222. . 46

Utah Power & Light Co., 243 U.S. 389_..---_-_______ 39

Vineyard Land & Stock Co. v. District Court, 42

NOW. BATE Fine, Bc iphailg sian niet 37

Washington v. Oregon, 297 U.S. 517_-..----______ 52

Winters v. United States, 207 U.S. 564____________ 25, 38, 39

Constitution and statutes:

U.S. Constitution:

ie es We OO Ra i 25

Art. VI, a REET RIE OOP I EID 37

Act of August 13, 1914, 38 Stat. 686, ry 8, 43 US.C.

NR De Ee E its ineoisis 33

Act of May 25, 1926, 44 Stat. 636, 43 U.S.C. 423-4239. 33

Act of September 2, 1958, 72 Stat. 1726________ 21, 28, 81, 47

Sec. Dcvceimsinienainanmimuaiimmitianig . -- 25, 29, 34, 39, 47

‘A HD) ptoase : -.---- 9, 11, 18, 20

Sc NE EIST ME ME RR Ee ae 23. 6,

10, 14, 15, 24, 26, 27, 29, 81, 82, 84, 40, 42, 46, 47, 48,

49, 50, 51.

Wie Oia ee 26, 27, 46

sig i, Nn RE OO Se jiisnaditbaiatcioe 35

tg, Bh OTN EEN PETE a 32

OR. Diictinatcmusin 5, 18, 34, 35, 36, 89, 40, 41, 44. 46 47

a ent

Ei)

ee a

j

Constitution paid statutes—Continued

IV | |

a

, Federal Power Act of J une 10, 1920, 41 Stat. 1063, ch.

285, et seg. | Page

Sec. 9, 16 U.S.C. 802___------ gra th hoes has (44, 45, 46

Sec. 27, TBO, Cc 40, 41, 44, 45, 46

Reclamation Act of June 17, 1902, 32 Stat. 388, et seg. :

Sec. 5, 43 U.S.C. 481, 439-__ Sic j-- " 32

Sec. 8, 43 U.S.C, 872_---.--.------ 88, 40, 41,42, 44,46

Sec. 10, 43 U.S.C. 378_-_--------- dnacewadan, 00, 98/

a Ge Bn she aeiie dk oe!

40 Tia ON 2 Sh A oe ee %

61° Bhat: 0082 scssccs neste cnn cpenapalons §/ i

49 USO: Uli k Meuse Y gy

Oe WBA Wits ct tetccacsiacccgns ~-------~/ a

Upper Colorado River Basin Compact, 63 Stat. 31, }

PivGieks + Vii 2 oe eas py ios

California Limitation Act, hak of March 4, 1929, fh.

16, 48th Sess., Statutes and Amendments to/ the

Codes, 1929, pp. M2) eA i 2.107

Miscellaneous : ne

30-Am. Juir., Irrigation, sec. 8, P: |; See ae sbi its 8T

69 Cong. Ree. : Rad Gah Hers:

00D 2c ca SS PARA O17

sii, _— SPN DO A ES SCL AOE Soe ot

I eae Cee Tak 5 HO) o7

ng Seer eet een aa perth Mle $6

70 Cong. Rec. 593___--_----------- ney Ap eee 35

H. Doc. 415, 80th Cong., 1st Sess___-/_-.--_-- if ae

' ELR. 5778, 70th Cong., 1st Sess.=.-/_-----.__-_---- 26,35

— HR. i Ae See Ao) ve 35]

i Fi SF ea ee BP BP Sal Hag Bea 35

H: Rept. 1657, 69th Cong., 2d Sess. p. at AL Ee ee ae

Hutchins, Law of Water ad 8 in the West, pp.

OOS @- 5a ss2ssccsccccccbstsssccncce lf 52

Kinney, Irrigation and Water Right (2d ed) vol. 8,

3° ee Fe, ee en once nn 31

Wiel, Water Rights in the Western States (8d ed.) vol.

" 2, sec, 1184, p. 1097 eee ce, ESS a,

pik: i es ‘ / ‘ ni y |

a Sh ak

& the Supreme Gourt of the Gnited States

OctoBER TERM, 1960

No..9 ORIGINAL

State oF ARIZONA, COMPLAINANT

v.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, ET AL.

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF EXCEPTIONS OF THE UNITED STATES,

INTERVENER, TO THE SPECIAL MASTER’S REPORT AND

RECOMMENDED DECREE

SPECIAL MASTER’S REPORT

The report of the Special Master dated Deckmber 5,

1960, was received and ordered filed by this Court on

January 16, 1961 (364 U.S. 940).

JURISDICTION

This is an original case in which the jurisdiction

of this Court rests on Article III, Pa 2, of the

Constitution.

‘QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether in making contracts with the States in -

the Lower Colorado River Basin for the storage of

water in, and the delivery of water from, Lake Mead

the Secretary of the Interior is authorized-to make

deductions for upstream consumptive use in Arizona

; (1)

a

2

and Nevada of water which would otherwise flow into

Lake Mead.

. 2. Whether the Secretary of the Interior may de- |

liver water pursuant to contracts under the authority |

of the Boulder Canyon Project Act without regan

for State law. '

3. Whether the contract entered into by the Secre- [7

tary of thé Interior with the State of Nevada exhausts |

his authority under Section 5 of the Boulder Canyon |

Project Act so that he may not contract further for the |

use of impounded water within the State of Nevada or }%

@ se such water for federal projects. Q. ,

4, Whether water salvaged on wildlife’ refuges may :

be used there without regard to priorities otherwise |

applicable. |

STATUTES AND COMPACT INVOLVED

The relevant statutes are the Boulder Canyon Proj- }

ect Act, 45 Stat. 1057, 43 U.S.C. 617; the California

Limitation Act, Act of March 4, 1929, Ch. 16, 48th §

Sess., Statutes and Amendments to the Codes, 1929, |?

pp. 38-39, both of which are set forth in appendices |)

to the Special Master’s Report at pp. 379 and 397, [F

respectively. Also involved is the Colorado River §

Compact signed at Santa Fe, New Mexico, November j

24, 1922, set forth in an appendix to the Special Mas-

ter’s Report beginning at p. 371.

STATEMENT 3

This litigation was commenced by Arizona in 1952

by. a, bill of complaint against California and seven

of its agencies, asking for an adjudication of Ari- &

zotia’s rights to-the use of the waters of the Colorado

AG

8

River. The United States, Nevada, New Mexico, and

Utah became parties either by intervention or by

order of this Court (344 U.S. 919; 347 U.S. 985; 350

U.S. 114, rehearing denied, 350 U.S. 955). ‘The pres-

ent Special Master was appointed on October-10, 1955

(350 U.S. 812). After pre-trial proceedings, exten-

sive hearings were conducted, briefs were exchanged,

a draft report was submitted and commented on both

in writing and at oral argument, and the ‘present re-

port was filed. All of the parties except Utah filed

exceptions to this report in February, 1961; and it is

the consideration of these exceptions which is now be-

fore this Court. |

| SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

A. Our first two exceptions, which are here treated _

together, concern the question of whether Arizona and

Nevada are to be charged with consumptive use of

water upstream from Lake Mead, or whether their full

allocations may be taken from Lake Mead and from

the mainstream below without regard to the extent

that they may have lessened the amount of water flow-

ing into Lake Mead. It is the position of the United

States that the authority of the Secretary of the Interior

‘under Section 5 of the Boulder Canyon Proj ect Act

té contract for the jstorage and delivery of water

includes the authority to make appropriate adjust-

ments for upstream use. 'The Special Master rejected

this position, holding that the only power of physical

control, and therefore the gnly ‘authority to contract,

existed with respect to the water in Lake Mead and

_ the mainstream below Lake Mead.

4

’ e& * &§

The provisions of:the. Boulder Canyon Project Act,

when read in the light of its history, indicate an

intent to authorize the Secretary of the Interior to' |

divide the mainstream waters available in the Lower

.Basin. Hoover Dam was constructed to impound and

‘regulate those waters. This purpose would be im-

paired by permitting Arizona and Nevada to make |

diversions upgtream without a corresponding reduc, |

tion in their entitlements to stored water.

* The Special Master’s rejection of this proposition

rests in part on a theory that to make adjustments

for upstream uses wold impair the permanency of

the Secretary’s contracts in ‘violation of the Project

Act and also in violation of State law. But, as the

United States understands the effect of making such

_ deductions for upstream use, existing contract rights

would not be curtailed. > Either the _ upstream uses

would be subject to prior contract, or, if they are prior,

would result in authority to the Secretary to limit the

quantity’ of water to be allocated by contract to less

than the full amounts In either event, no existing

contracts would lose their required permanency.

We believe that this interpretation gives added

certainty to the allocations under the Project Act and

would give some protection to California’s established

projects.

B. Our: third exception Helntbe to the extent that

Congress has subjected the authority of the Secretary

of thé Interior. under the Boulder. Canyon Project

Act to State law. Although-the Special Master re- |

fused to pass upon the legality of rights of the United

States to make deliveries under contracts it has made,

~j

5

he did include in his findings a statement that rights

under those contracts would be subject to. internal

State law. This position is also refieéted in his rec-

ommended decree. We urge that these conclusions

should be disapproved.

As we read the Project Act, the en tea is given

full authority to build a dam, store mainstream water,

and deliver it to users under contracts to be executed.

by him. We believe that this affirmative authority

is not limited by a requirement that he comply with

State law. This is in accord with general principles

under which the United States may perform its func-

tions without regulation by the States. It is also in

accord with decisions of this Court with respect to

the authority granted the federal government in com-

parable statutes dealing with the use of water where

it has been held that control of the operation of these

federal projects shall rest entirely in the Secretary.

And it is in accord with 59 years of administrative

practice underthe reclamation laws.

The countervailing argument is that by-Section 18

of the Project Act Congress subjected the authority

of the Secretary to State law. Both the legislative

’ history of this section and the interpretation of com-

parable provisions \of the Reclamation Act and the

Federal Power Act indicate that Section 18 does not

mean what the Special Master believed.

C. Our fourth exception takes issue with a single

sentence in the Special Master’s report in which he

held that the Nevada contract, unlike the Arizona .

contract, contemplated that the State should subdivide

the allocation among users. Our position is that Sec-

595248—61——_-2 $

ere aaa

A i lt Naw ROR et NN nN 2 te onan, a

rer ened te aw snccencentepeeet « : ae

tion 5 of the Project Act requires that deliveries from

Lake Mead be made to users only pursuant to con-

tracts with the Secretary of the Interior. Insofar as

the contract with Nevada contemplates use by Nevada,

it may fulfill the requirements of Section 5. With

tespect to other users, -we urge that the language of

the Nevada contract does not show an intent to depart

from the procedure required by Section 5 of the

Project Act and followed in Arizona and California,

D. Finally, we excepted to the failure of the Spe-

cial Master to recognize the right of the United State’. .

to use on its wildlife refuges water reclaimed by

federal work on those refuges. Our position here is

simply predicated on the theory that he who reclaims

water may use it. ait bateora yyodire

ARGUMENT |

‘In large part the United States supports the Special

Master’s Report as filed. However, we have filed

five numbered exceptions which deal with specific sec-

tions of the report and the recommended decree. Al-

though the fundamental conclusions in the report and

major provisions of the decree do not depend upon the

resolution of these issues, they are sufficiently signifi-

cant to make it appropriate to have noted the excep-

tions and to file this brief in support of them. How-

ever, we anticipate that our answering brief in re-

sponse to the exceptions of the other. parties will deal

tére directly with the principal issues in the case on

which we support the report.

Since our Mxceptions I and Ii are closely related,

we shall combine our argument in support of them

7

under a single heading, but will continue to number

the points here to correspond with the numbers given

-the exceptions. at

POINTS I and II

IN MAKING ALLOCATIONS OF WATERS FROM LAKE MEAD

AMONG LOWER COLORADO RIVER BASIN STATES, THE SEC-

RETARY OF THE INTERIOR IS AUTHORIZED TO MAKE DE-

DUCTIONS TO COMPENSATE FOR UPSTREAM CONSUMPTIVE

USE IN ARIZONA AND NEVADA OF WATER WHICH WOULD

OTHERWISE FLOW INTO LAKE MEAD

\

Our Exceptions I and IL are specifically addressed

to the Special Master’s definition of the term “main-

stream” as excluding water above Lake Mead (Re-

port, pp. 173, 183, 185, 225, 226, 316-321; Recom-

__mended_Deeree, p. 345) and to his disapproval of pro- —

visions in contracts between the Secretary of the In-

terior and the States of Arizona and Nevada which

condition the amount of water to be delivered there-

under on the amount of depletion of the flow into Lake

Mead by upstream uses in these States (Report, pp.

° 237-247, 226-228).

*Article 7(d) of the Arizona contract provides as fellows:

“The obligation to deliver water at or below Boulder Dam

shall be diminished to the extent that consumptive uses now

or hereafter existing in Arizona above e Mead diminish

the flow into Lake Mead, and such anAton shall be subject

to such reduction on account of evaporation, reservoir and

river losses, as may be required to render this contract in con-

formity with said compact and said act.” (Report, p. 401,

App. 5.) )

Article 5(a) of the amended Nevada contract contains this

language: 7

- “Subject to the availability thereof for use in Nevada under

the provisions of the Colorado River Compact and the Boulder

8

In broad terms, the issue on both of these excep-.

tions is whether the Special Master was correct in

construing the authority of the Secretary of the In-

terior as limited to water to be taken from Lake Mead

or from the mainstream below Lake Mead without

consideration of upstream uses. We urge that the

Boulder Canyon Project Act authorizes the Secretary

of the Interior to take into consideration all con-

sumptive use of water in Arizona and Nevada which

would have flowed into Lake Mead if it had not been’

used within the Lower Basin. -

A brief discussion of the’ geography involved is

necessary to understand these exceptions. For the

convenience of the Court a slightly altered copy of

—the map which California attached to its exceptions

is attached as an appendix. The dividing line between

the Upper and Lower Colorado River Basins is lo-

cated at Lee Ferry, near the northern boundary of

Arizona. From there, the river flows for 275 miles

before it reaches the upper limits of Lake Mead, the

reservoir formed by Hoover Dam. During much of

the distance the Colorado River traverses. -between

Lee Ferry and Lake Mead there are deep canyons

which make diversion of the .waters impractical.

Canyon Project Act, the United States shall, from stora in

Lake Mead, deliver to the State each year at a point or po1..is

to be selected by the State and approved by the Secretary, so

much water, including all other waters diverted for use within -

the State of Nevada from the Colorado River system, as may

be necessary to supply the State a total quantity not to exceed

Three Hundred Thousand (300,000) acre-feet each calendar

year. Said water may be used only within the State of Ne- .

vada, exclusively for irrigation, household, stock, municipal,

mining, milling, industrial, and other like purposes, but shall

not be used for the generation of electric power.” (Report, pp.

420-491, App. 7.)

9

However, there are areas where, by the building of

extensive facilities, the waters could be diverted, and,

in fact, one of the possible points for diversion for the ——

proposed Central Arizona Project lies in this area. |

Also in this reach of the river, aboye Lake Mead: but

below Lee Ferry, the river is joined by several tribu-

taries, principally the Little Colorado River (Arizona

‘and New Mexico) and Johnson and Kanab Creeks

(Utah and Arizona). The Virgin River (Nevada,

Utah, and Arizona) flows into Lake Mead. The parts

of Arizona, Nevada, Utah, and New Mexico drained

by these tributaries are included in the Lower Basin

’ of the Colorado River system. 1t is obvious that con-

impounded there subject to delivery under contracts

entered into by the Secretary of the Interior.

The United States has asserted that, under a

proper construction of the Boulder Canyon Project:

Act, the Secretary is required to consider uses in Ari-

~ gona and Nevada from the mainstream above Lake

Mead and from tributaries entering the mainstream

between Lee Ferry and Lake Mead. Thus we would

include in the waters to be distributed to California,

Arizona, and Nevada pursuant to Section 4(a) of the

Project Act not only waters impounded in Lake

Mead, but also all water which would have reached

the mainstream above Hoover Dam except for con-

sumptive uses in Arizona and Nevada. The Special

Master disagrees, holding that the Secretary may con-

sider only the waters which are actually impounded

in Lake Mead and are taken therefrom or from the

mainstream below. F

o>

10

Under the terms of the Colorado River Compact,

' the consumptive use of part of the waters of the

Colorado River system was divided between the Up-

per and Lower Basin States. ' Since the effectiveness"

of this Compact depended upon Arizona’s appreval,

which was not forthcoming, the Project Act was made

dependent on a modification of the Compact and Cali-

fornia’s adoption of a Limitation Act accepting a

4,400,080 acre-foot limitation on its use of the initial ©

7,500,000 acre-feet of mainstream water available an-

nually for the Lower Basin. According to the Special

Master’s interpretation, the limitation also permits

the consumptive use in California of not more than

one-half of these waters annually available in excess

of 7,500, 000 acre-feet. As the Special Master

found, the Project Act contemplated the contro] and

use of “‘substantially all the water of the mainstream’”’

(Report, p. 153) and the distribution of this water

under contract by the Secretary of the Interior. It

would frustrate this purpose if some of the States-

could avoid the Project Act allocations by taking the

water prior to its entry into Lake-Mead. |

Section 5 of the Project Act specifically authorizes

the Secretary of the Interior “under such gerieral

regulations as he may prescribe, to contract for the

storage of water in said reservoir and for the delivery

thereof * * *.” To be effective such contracts may

reasonably require that the uses of water of the main-

stream above the dam and the tributaries feeding it

should be accounted for in allecations of the water

in storage. Unless the Secretary’s authority

is read in this manner, there is a serious flaw in his ©

\

+

ihe "

otal Bury, ‘

il

authority to make the distribution among the Lower

Basin States. |

The Special Master’s conclusion that the waters

contemplated by Congress in enactment of Section

4(a) of the Project Act are mainstream waters is

based on the legislative history, reyiewed at pp. 173

to 200 of the Report, which clearly so indicates. His

conclusion that the aggregate waters from which Cali-

fornia’s share is to be derived do not include waters

taken. from the mainstream or the tributaries above

_ Lake Mead—that the waters contemplated by Con-

gress in the enactment of Section 4(a) of the Project

Act are only those which actually arrive in Lake Mead

or in the mainstream below Hoover Dam—is predicated

——primarily on this reasoning: _

* * * The Project ee was esnemened primarily

with the construction and operation of Hoover

Dam, and most of its provisions relate to this

basic purpose. Hoover Dam gives the United

States physical control over the water stored in

Lake Mead and over the use of substantially all

of the water in the mainstream below, but it

does not enable the United States physically to

control the use of water from the mainstream

_above Lake Mead. Consistently with this

physical fact, the provisions of the Project Act

do not purport to govern the mainstream above

Lake Mead. Section 5 authorizes the Secre-

tary of the Interior to contract for the delivery

of. water stored in Lake Mead at points which

may be agreed upon along the Lake and the

mainstream below; that section specifically ap-

plies only to water 3 in Lake Mead and to water

released therefrom. Also Sections 6 and 8 of

the Project Act apply in terms to water con-

12

trolled ma “ae United States: by means of

Hoover Dam. “*

Sectio 4(a) must “he interpreted within the

context just described. -Consistent with the

- other provisions of the Project Act, I interpret

Soi 4(a), as applying only to Lake Mead

and/the mainstream below. * * * [Report, p.

183. See also p. 173.] .

/:

This analysis, however, overlooks the previously de-

termined ° fact @hat Congress authorized a project

which it “realized * * * would impound substantially

all the.water of the mainstream * * *.’’ (Report, p.

153; emphasis added.) It appears to attribute to

Congress a disregard for anything which might hap-

pen above the reservoir to. frustrate or partially to_

frustrate the purposes. of the dam. Such disregard

for the successful accomplishment of the purposes of

the project should not be implied simply from the fact

that Congress gave the Secretary of the Interior

specific instructions with respect to the operation of

the dam and the delivery of waters stored thereby, and

spoke otherwise in terms of water “controlled by the

United States.”* It is more reasonable to ‘conclude

* .. that when Congress authorized the construction of a

- # At page 114 of the Report, the Special Master states that no

new projects in either the Lower or Upper Basins which would

affect Lower Basin mains#eam supply can be constructed without

‘congressional action or acquiescence. While’ we agree with this

statement and that the authorities cited support it, nevertheless —

we think that when Congress (1) authorized the consirzction of

Hoover Dam, which it realized would impound substantially all

of the mainstream waters, and (2) authorized the Secretary of the

Interior to contract for the storage of such waters and the delivery

thereof, it did not contemplate that the contracts the Secretary

might make pursuant to that authorizaton might be defeated by a

future determination: by Congress to divert, or permit the di-

“i :

/

13

dam capable of impounding and controlling “sub-

stantially all the water of the mainstream” and en-

trusted the operation of that structure to the Secre-

tary of the Interior, Congress intended that the

Secretary should do everything reasonably within his

broad powers to assure that the waters of the tribu-’

taries and mainstream.above the dam would not be in-

tercepted before reaching the reservoir.

At pp. 160-161 of the Report the Special Master has

very properly declared:

Clearly the United States may construct a dam

and impound the waters of the Colorado River,

a navigable stream. Arizona.v. California, 283

U.S. 423 (1931); see United States-v. Twin

~~ version of, the mainstream waters before they reach-Lake Mead.

The words of this Court in Jvanhoe Irrigation District v. Me-

Cracken, 357 U.S. 275, 299-300, respecting the Central Valley

Project would seem to be equally applicable to this suggestion

concerning’ the Boulder Canyon Project :

“* * * It would be a physical impossibility to withdraw the

acilities. As for the possibility of discrimination in the ad-

ministration of those facilities, it seems farfetched to foresee

the Federal Government :‘turning its back upon a people who

had been benefited by it’ and allowing their lands to revert to

desert.'°- The prospect is too improbable to figure in our de-

cision.” \ ;

“2° (footnote, 857 U.S. at 300] Senator Gore (then Repre-

sentative) gave’this compelling answer to these trepidations

in 1947; ‘I cannot conceive of a Government that would spend

$384,000,000 building one of the great reclamation-irrigation

projects of the world and suddenly because some evil agent

of Government had gotten into a bureau, turning its back upon

a~people who had’ been benefited by it and who in turn had :

greatly benefited the Nation by production of food stuffs and :

wealth. I just do-not conceive of the United States as being that’ 3

kind. * * *” Hearings before the Subcommittee of the House

Committee on Appropriations on the Interior Department Ap-

propriation Bill for 1948, 80th’ Cong., 1st Sess, 737.” - 3

595243—61—_-3 i

9

2 See

ete

Z

: ae :

~ G | . \ P

’ £4

City Power Co., 350 U.S. 222 (1956); United

States v. Chandler-Dunbar Co., 229-U.S. 53

(1913) ; United States v. Rio Grande Irrigation

| Co., 174 U.S. 690 (1899). Clearly, also, once

\, J the United States impounds the water and

4 thereby obtains physical custody of it, the

United States may control the allocation and

use of unappropriated water so impounded.

Ivanhoe Irrigation District v. McCrackén, 357

U.S. 275 (1958) ; United States v. Gerlach Live

Stock Co., 339 U.S. 725 (1950). * * *

It is just as clear that in making contracts for the

+———— storage and delivery of water which it has impounded

the United States may properly attach conditions re-

_ quiring those with whom it contracts and othérs sub-

ject to their control not to interfere with water which

would otherwise reach the reservoir. And it is equally

clear that in Section 5 and the general scheme of the

‘Project Act Congress has authorized the Secretary

so to condition the contracts he makes. P

The Special Master has’ cited three principal rea-

sons for his conclusion that Article 7(d) of the Ari-

zona, contract and Article 5(ay of the Nevada con-

tract, to the extent they make the quantities of water

deliverabie from Lake Mead dependent upon the ex- .

. tent of depletions in the respective States of inflow

* into Lake Mead, are not authorized by the Project

Act and are therefore not enforceable. He says these

provisions— oe | ,

(1) “are contrary to the command of Sec-

_ .. tion 5 that ‘contracts respecting water for irri-

; gation and domestic uses shall be for permanent

service * * *,’” ;

~~

15

(2) “viclate Section 18 [of the ai jee

Act];”’ and

(3) “result in an allocation of nisiobitronaty -

‘water totally out of harmony with the limita-

tion on California contained in Section 4(a).’’.

1 (Report, p. 237.) } .

There is no inconsistency, between these contract

- provisions and the “perraanent service” requirement

of Section 5 of the Project Act. As the Report recog-

nizes, pp. 152, 162-168, 202, the Secretary of the In-

terior was ne no compulsion to contract With Ari-

zona and Nevada for the delivery of any particular

quantities of water. What he has contracted for is

the delivery from Lake Mead

(1) to Nevada of. so much water, “including all

other waters diverted for use within the State of Ne-

vada from the Colorado River system, as may be

necessary tp supply the State a total quantity not to

exceed Three Hundred ‘Thousand (300,000) acre-feet

each calendar year.’’ (Report, p. 420, App: 7.)

(2) for use in ‘Arizona of the-quantities specified i in’

paragraphs (a) and (b) of Article 7 of the Arizona

contract, less the amount by which consumptive uses

above Lake Mead shall diminish the flow into -Lake

Mead (paragraph (d), Article 7 ). CO pp. 400-

401, App. 5.)

‘We do not understand anyone to contend that at

the present time the amounts of water which the

Secretary of the Interior has contracted to deliver for

uses in Arizona and.Nevada, respectively; when added

to existing upstream appropriations, exceed the

‘amounts allocable to those states. Thus there is no

impediment to the fulfillment of both the contracts

\

8

g ®\

16

and the upstream appropriations as they presently

exist. However, if there should be an overage in

the’ future, the permanence of the Secretary’s con-

tracts would not be impaired If the contrat rights

preceded in time the upstream appropriations, the

Special Master recognizes (Report, Pp. 41) that under

the law of both States the contract rights would be

senior. Thus there would not be »ermitted any diver-

sion upsiream that would interfere with the senior

contract use and thus there wouid be no occasion for

any reduction of deliveries under the contracts and

no impairment of their permanence. If, on the other

hand, new upstream appropriations should precede

the execution of contracts for the full allocations to

these States, then the Secretary would be authorized

>to refuse to entef’ into contracts for the full allot-

ments. Although this would reduce the quantity of

water. which the Secretary would contract to deliver,

it would not affect the permanency of contracts al- -

ready made.

The flaw in the Special Master’s conclusion is the

assumption that upstream uses under new appropri-

ations would cut into deliveries under existing con-

tracts. This is not required either under the State

_law, as interpreted by the Special Master, or by the

provisions of the contracts themselves. Certainly the

uirement ‘for permanency was not intended to per-

mit a State to increase its allotment by contracting

for the delivery of water from Lake Mead and then | ’

proceeding to duplicate its share by withdrawing from’ ’ |

the source of that water. The. United States in con=_|

tracting with a State does its part’to meet the perma-

nency requirement as to. the State when it agrees to

BEM Si

17

wolteer a specified quant ity of stored water for use

in the State unless the State elects to take or to per-

mit its citizens to take its allotment upstream from

the reservoir. oath t 4

The Special Master / ‘errs in suggesting (pp. 239-

240), that the provisions in question “generate new

causes of uncertainty.” On the contrary, they are

designed to protect against the very real uncertainty

which would arise if the Secretary were to contract

for delivery of water from storage without regard to

how far the amounts of, water available for storage

might be affected .by upstream depletions. “It is to be

emphasized that the contracts under discussion are

contracts with the respective States, designed prima-

rily to allocate waters for use within those States;

they are not definitive contracts for the delivery’ of

specified quantities for specific projects. The States

have the choice of having additional projects to be

served with stored water or of foregoing them in favor

of additional upstream projects. As a consequence,

the aggregate water supply for the entire Boulder

Canyon Project, including uses in California as well

, as those’ in Nevada and Arizona, is made more, and

not less, certain. The hazard of impairment of

the Project water supply by uncontrolled depletions

upstream from the dam is removed. With such de- .

pletions taken into account in making commitments

for delivery from Lake Mead, the principal uncer-

tainty as to supply remaining results from the forces

of nature.

The Special Master’s conclusion that Articles 7(d)

‘Sf the Arizona contract and .5(a) of the Nevada

18

contract violate Section 18 of the Project Act, is

equally unsound. Section 18 provides that nothing

in the Project Act— _

‘shall be construed as interfering with such

rights as the States now have either -to the

waters within their borders or to adopt such

policies and enact such laws as they may deem

necessary with respect to the appropriation,

control, and use of waters within their borders, -

except as modified by the Colorado River com-

pact or interstate agreement.

Apparently the Special Master again construes the

contract as requiring rights to delivery under con-

tract!to be terminated by later upstream appropri-

ations.’ He states that this is a flagrant violation of

Section 18 and a dictation to Arizona and Nevada of

priorities within those States. However, as we point

out above, the contract provisions do not require a

termination of rights because of subsequent appro-

priations. Thus this ohjection is merely an alterna-

tive method of stating the first stated objection and

falls for the same reason.

As a third reason cited in the report for the con-

clysion that, the Article 7(d) and Article 5(a) pro-

- visions are illegal, the Special Master states that

enforcement of these provisions would result in an

allocation of mainstream water out of harmony with

the limitation on California imposed by Section 4(a)

of the Project Act (Report, pp. 241-247). In expla-

nation, he.supposes total releases from Hoover Dam

to permit consumptive uses of 7.7 million acre-feet in

*We set forth what we believe to be the correct interpreta-

tion of Section 18, infra, pp. 34-87.

19

California, Arizona, and Nevada in a year when Ari-

zona’s diversions from the Little Colorado deplete the

flow into Lake Mead by .1 million acre feet.

Under the interstate apportionment established

by the Section 4(a) limitation on California

and the delivery contracts with Arizona and

Nevada, of the first 7.5 million acre-feet of

mainstream consumption, Arizona would be

‘allocated 2.8 million acre-feet, California 4.4,

and Nevada .3. Of the .2 million acre-feet

constituting surplus, Arizona and California

would each be allocated one-half. Thus to

California would be apportioned a total con-

sumption of 4.5 million acre-feet for the year

. In question. She could not consume more than

this amount because of the Section 4(a) limi-

tation, which is based on mainstream consider-

ations only. To Nevada would be apportioned

a total consumption of .3 million acre-feet, and

she could not utilize more than this since that -

constitutes her full contractual allotment. To

Arizona would be apportioned a total con-

sumption of 2.9 million acre-feet. But if

Article 7(d) of her contract were applied in

this situation, the Secretary’s delivery obliga-

tion of 2.9 million acre-feet would be reduced

* by the amount of the depletion of the flow into

Lake Mead, and Arizona could consume only a

total of 2.8 million acre-feet from the main-

stream. Thus, although 7.7 million acre-feet

were released for consumption within the three

states for the year, only 7.6 million acre-feet

could be utilized under the statutory and

contractual limitations. 100,000 acre-feet of

water released for consumption could not be

used. [Report, pp. 242-243.]

3

20

We do not agree with this conclusion. We suggest

that the 100,000 acre-feet of Little Colorado deple-

tions is part of the total mainstream supply avail-

able for allocation. This is necessary to achieve Con-

gress’ purpose to impound and regulate ‘‘sub-

stantially all the mainstream water’’ and to

accomplish the interstate allocation established by the.

Section 4(a) limitation on California and the delivery

contracts with Nevada and Arizona. _We urge the

Court to adopt this view. =

The Special Master states at pages 5 243-244 of his

report that charging the States with upstream uses, as

provided by Articles 7(d) and 5(a), presents prob-

lems of measurement since, ‘‘for example, 100,000

acre-feet of consumptive use on the Little Colorado

will result in a depletion of the flow into Lake Mead

by a substantially smaller quantity of water.” It is.

appropriate that Arizona and Nevada should be

charged only to the extent such upstream uses actually

deplete the mainstream supply available for division

between the three States. There is no incompatability

between such measurement of the upstream uses and

the measurement of Lake Mead and downstream uses

by diversions less returns. It is to be remembered

that the Article 7(d) and 5(a) provisions have been

imposed as conditions upon the deliveries for use in

Nevada and Arizona of stored waters in order to

protect the common supply available for downstream

division. It should not be necessary for*the Secretary

to charge those States, against their shares of the

common supply, with a greater quantity of usage than

that quantity by which the upstream uses deplete the

common supply.

—z—X————— eee

21

The task of measuring upstream depletions of the

flow into Lake Mead would present an additional, but

by no means impossible, complication. The measure-

ment at downstream points of depletions of flow by

upstream diversions is based on concepts and stand-

ards which receive rather general acceptance in the

engineering profession today. (Ariz. Exs. 65 and

4.4 654; Upper Colorado River Basin Compact, Article

VI, 63 Stat. 31.) Any problems in administration of

the 7(d) and 5(a) contract provisions (Report, p. 246)

would be relatively slight in comparison with the com-

plications which might well be involved in case of suit

« by California to protect itself against ‘‘undue deple-

tions on the tributaries and the mainstream above

Lake Mead * * *.’’ (Report, p. 247.)

The adverse effect upon California’s established

projects of the ruling with respect to the Article 7(d).

and 5(a) contract provisions ought not<to be imposed

in the absence of a clear requirement therefor in the

controlling statute or its legislative history. We be-

lieve no such requirement exists.

POINT III

RELATIVE RIGHTS INTRASTATE TO THE DELIVERY OF COLO-

RADO RIVER WATERS, IN TERMS OF QUANTITY AND PRI-

ORITY, ARE GOVERNED BY THE TERMS OF THE DELIVERY

° CONTRACTS MADE UNDER AUTHORITY OF THE PROJECT

ACT AND BY APPLICABLE FEDERAL LAW RATHER THAN

BY STATE LAW

The United States urged the Special Master to de-

termine its right to deliver water to’ Boulder City,

Nevada, under the Act of September 2, 1958, 72 Stat.

595243—61—__4

22

1726, and to the several mainstream federal reclama-

tion projects and to nearby lands and users under a

variety of contracts which have been made respecting

such deliveries. ~He has declined to make such de-

terminations for these stated reasons:

The relevant issues for such a decision have not

been tried and it woula be impossible to deter-

mine here all of the relevant rights and priori-

ties under the applicable state laws which

would affect a project’s water rights. Further-

* more, persons who are the most concerned. with

this decision are other users or potential users

in the states, who are not parties to Chis suit.

[Rept. 218, and see 303. ]

__ We do not agre t the relevant issues were not

tried; that it would be impossible in this litigation to

determine the right of the United States to deliver the

waiers: contracted for or otherwise committed to the

several contracting districts and other users; or that

there are others not party to this case who are either

indispensable or necessary parties to such determina-

tion. However, in the interest of expediting a conclu-

sion to this litigation, we have not taken exception to

the Special Master’s refusal to rule now on these

issues.

However, while the Special Maier declined to

‘make the determinations sought in this respect, he did |

' state ‘‘* * * that state law governs intrastate rights |

and priorities to water diverted from the Colorado

River.’’ -(Rept. 216; 303.) And he further de--

clared that ‘‘How much water a particular project —

or user may receive out of a state’s total apportion-

ment as against other users in the state who also have

ee aT

- 23

or may in the future obtain delivery contracts with

the Secretary of the Interior must be decided under

State law.’”? (Rept. 218.) This view is reflected in

the recommended Decree (Art. II(C)(1)), which

would enjoin the United States, its officers, attorneys,

agents and employees from releasing water for “any

use or user in violation of state law” except as other-

wise provided in the recommended Decree and except

as federal statutes otherwise specifically direct.

(Rept. 350.) We have excepted to the quoted state-

ments appearing on pages 216 and 218 of the Report,

the expressions on pages 217-218 in support thereof,

and the’ quoted portion of the recommended Decree, —

as inconsistent with the Special Master’s primary

holding, unnecessary to the decision of this case and

in error. | |

A. THE STATEMENTS IN THE REPORT AND THE PROVISION OF THE

@ RECOMMENDED DECREE RESPECTING APPLICABILITY OF STATE LAW

TO THE DETERMINATION OF RELATIVE RIGHTS INTRASTATE TO USE

THE BOULDER CANYON PROJECT WATERS ARE UNNECESSARY TO

THE RECOMMENDED DECISION AND SHOULD BE ELIMINATED

Since the-Special Master has declined to rule on

- the rights, intrastate, of the United States to deliver

- water to those agencies and other persons with whom

contracts have been made,‘ the statements in the Re-

port respecting the applicability of State laws to such

rights and the rights of users under such contracts

are not necessary to the recommended decision.” This

is likewise true as to the language of Art. II(C) (1)

‘The direction to the Secretary of the Interior by the Act

of September 2, 1958, 72 Stat. 1726, to deliver water to Boulder

City, Nevada, is treated by the Master as the equivalent of a

contract. (Rept. 303.)

24

of the recommended Decree (Rept. 350) which would

enjoin the United States, its officers, from releasing

water for ‘‘any use or user in violation of state law.’’!

It is submitted that, for the reasons hereinafter set

forth, this language in the Report and the related pro-

vision of the recommended Decree are erroneous. <Ac-

ceptance of the Report by the Court without cor-

rection of-the error might be prejudicial, both to the

United States and those with whom contracts have

been made, in future litigation to determine the mat-

ters upon which the Special Master has declined to

_ Tule. It-is accordingly urged that the material re-

ferred to be purged from the Report and the recom-

mended Decree.

B. BY SECTION 5 AND OTHER PROVISIONS OF THE BOULDER CANYON

PROJECT ACT THE SECRETARY OF THE INTERIOR I8 GIVEN . BROAD

POWERS IN THE ADMINISTRATION AND DISPOSITION OF THE PROJ-

ECT WATER SUPPLY, INCLUDING THE POWER, BY CONTRACT WITH

' ‘WATER USERS, TO MAKE ALL APPROPRIATE PROVISIONS RESPECTING

QUANTITIES OF WATER TO BE DELIVERED TO DIFFERENT USERS

AND THE CONDITIONS ON AND UNDER WHICH DELIVERIES WILL

BE MADE | zs

- The Boulder Canyon Project Act was enacted by

Congress in valid exercise of its powers (1) to con-

trol the navigable waters of the United States for the

purposes of commerce, including, inter alia, the con-

trol of floods, improvement of navigation, power pro-

duction, and watershed and river development, Okla-

5 We believe that if this provision of the recommended decree

is to be retained it should be revised to prohibit the violation

of the provisions of applicable law. Certainly as far as the

United States itself is concerned, it is not theoretically pos-

sible for it to violate State law in a field where federal law

is dominant. The suggested modification would recognize any

State law which might be applicable by adoption as federal

law.

el

25 |

homa v. Atkinson Co., 313 U.S. 508; Arizona v. Cali-

. fornia, 283 U.S. 423; United States v. Appalachian

Power Co., 311 US. 377; (2) to-promote the general -

welfare through large-scale projects for-reclamation,

irrigation, and other internal improvement, United

". States v. Gerlach Live Stock Co., 339 U.S. 725; Ivan-

hoe- Irrigation District v. McCracken, 357 U.S. 275;

and (3) to dispose of and make all needful rules and

regulations respecting the territory or other property

belonging to the United States. Constitution of the

United States, Article. IV, Section 3, Clause 2. And

see United States v. Grand River Dam Authority,

363 U.S. 229; Winters v. United States, 207 U.S. 564 ;

Federal Power Commission v. Oregon, 349 U.S. 435;

Umted States v. Rio Grande Irrigation Co., 174 U.S.

690. 7 ~ ; :

In broad language, Section 1 of the Act (Repbrt,

p. 379, App. 3) authorized the Secretary of the In-

terior to construct, operate and maintain the Project,

including Hoover Dam; Imperial Dam, and the All-

American Canal system* “for the purpose of con-

trolling the floods, improving navigation and regulating -

the flow of the Colorado River, providing for stor-

age and for the delivery of the stored waters thereof

for reclamation of public lands and other beneficial

uses exclusively within the United States, and for the

generation of electrical energy as a means of making

* Additional works and projects, such as Parker Dam, Davis

Dam, the Gila Reclamation Project, the distribution system and

appurtenant flood control works for the Coachella Division, All-

American Canal System, Boulder Canyon Project, have since

been authorized to supplement and be integrated with the

works originally authorized. See, ¢.g., 49 Stat. 1039; 61 Stat.

628; H. Doc. 415, 80th Cong., 1st Sess.

id

26

the project herein authorized a self-supporting and

financially solvent undertaking * * *.’’ |

‘With respect to the storage and —— of the

project water. supply, Section 5 (Ré¢port, p. 384,

* App. 3) specifically authorizes the Secretary “to con-

tract for the storage of -water * * * and for the

delivery thereof at such points on the river * * * as

may be agreed upon, for irrigation and domestic

uses * * *.” That section further provides, inter

alia, as follows: —

Contracts respecting water for irrigation and

domestic uses shail be for permanent service

_——~and shall conform to paragraph (a) of section

4 of this-Aet._No person shall have or be

entitled to have the use-for_any purpose of

the water stored as aforesaid except by contract __

, made as herein stated.’

In light of the constitutional background for the

Project, the language of Section 5 is clearly designed

to and does vest in the Secretary of the Interior, as

an element of project operation, full authority to con-:

tract with users of project waters and to specify the

quantities to be delivered to various users and relative

priorities as between them.’ The Section 5 contract

authority is substantially unlimited insofar as the

* The provisions of Sec. 5, and of Sec. 6 hereinafter referred

to, clearly constitute reasonable conditions and limitations on

the use of federal funds, federal property, and federal

privileges. Ivanhoe Irrig. Dist. v. McCracken, 357 U.S. 275.

* The views expressed by opponents of the Act during the de-

‘bates in Congress support this analysis of the Section 5

language, H.R. 5773, 70th Cong., 1st Sess.,,.December 5, 1927,

contained language substantially as enacted in the. first para-

_ graph of Section 5 of the Act. During the debate in the House _

t

27

project water supply is concerned except for (1) the

requirement that contracts shall be “for pe ent.

service and shall conform to paragraph (a) of section

4,” and (2) the provisions of Section 6 prescribing ;

priorities as between the various —_ purposes

enumerated in Section 1.°

regarding H.R. 5773, Mr. Douglas of Arizona, while 5 cared in

opposition to the bill, stated : |

“The bill further provides for congressional amendmen of

State water codes. Further than that, it vests in the Secre-

tary of the Interior complete and absolute control over the

waters of the Colorado below Boulder Dam.” (Cong. Rec., Vol. ©

69, p. 9623.)

During the same discussion, Mr. Colton of Utah stated in

opposition to the bill:

“You are saying that you are going to take it [water] away ~

from the States and place it in the Federal Government, and

Section 5 of this bill asserts that very principle. It provides

that the Secretary of the Interior shall have control of all of

the water stored in the reservoir and its delivery to any part

of the river below.” (Cong. Rec., Vol. 69, p. 9648.)

Mr. Colton. later remarked, after quoting the first taieg of

Section 5: Ae,

“If that does not give him sbebbute control of this ati or if

it does not seek to. ive the Secretary of the Interior absolute

control of this water, I cannot understand the “English

language ; and, gentlemen, that is exactly what we are object-

ing to.” ‘Gend: Rec., Vol. 69, p..9649.)

The proponents - of the bill made no response to this

interpretation.

* Section 6 (Report, p. 387, App. 3) provides as follows:

“That the dam and reservoir provided for by section 1 hereof

shall be used: First, for river regulation, improvement of navi-

gation, and flood control; second, for irrigation and domestic

uses and satisfaction of present perfected rights in pursuance

of Article VIII of said Colorado River compact ; = third, for

power. * * #9)

The requirement for satisfaction of “present seatentad rights”

is dealt with at pp. 307-312 of the Report. And see p. 161.

The broad discretion of the Beatelary i in the matter

of making delivery contracts is recognised at page

215 of the Report: x

.* * * T inter pret the Boulder Canyon Project

Act as empowéririg the Secretary of the In-

terior to contract’ for delivery ‘of mainstream

water to states and to individual users, whethem

pr ivate or public.. Thé Project Act-does not’

require or -even suggest that thé delivery con-

tracts must be made only with states. It is cer-

tainly within the discretion of the Secretary,

. under the Project Act, to contract directly with

individual users in the various states for the

delivery of water. * * *

This holding accords with th@ — statements at

pages 152-153:

The Act itself. élearly reserves to the United

States broad powers over the water impounded

in Lake Mead and delegates this power to the

Secretary of the Interior, as agent éf the

United States. He is specifically authorized

to impound the water of the Colorado River

in Lake Mead and to exercise custody over

the water so impounded through his .control,

management and operation of the dam and

reservoir. No user, whether it be a state or

an individual, may receive the impounded water

unless the Secretary, by contract, agrees to

release it for delivery to that user. Nothing in

the Act purports to require the Secretary to

agree, to deliver specific quantities of water to

any particular state or user, except that Section

6 requires him to satisfy water rights perfected

as of. June 25, 1929. [fn.] On the contrary,

the Act clearly contemplates that water uUn-

~~

/ -

/

j

/

j

f

Py

29

appropriated as ‘of, that date is to be made

available for use within a state only if, the

Secretary, within his discretion, contracts for .

the delivery of the water to that state. In

short, no contract, no water; * * *. [Empha-

sis added; fn. omitted.] ‘

And at page 216.appears this language:

i In other words, the Secretary has agreed

fas with the State of "Arizona that he will deliver

a certain amount of water to Arizona users,

but he has reserved to himself discretion to

“s decide with which users he will contract. This ©

being the case, the Secretary is free, subject to

statutory limitations, te contraet with users in

Arizona qualifying under the reclamation law

for delivery to them of certain amounts of

water out of the total amount allocated to

Arizona. This is precisely what the Secretaty .

has done in the contracts which are before us

in this case.

Pursuant to the broad authority conferred by See-

tions 1 and 5 of the Project Act, the Secretary early

in the life of the Praject Act made contracts with a

number of agencies within the. State of California, in-.

corporating in each the so-called Seven-party agree-

ment. This agreement specifies the quantities of

Colorado River water which the several agencies may

receive and the relative priorities as between them.

(See, e.g., Article (6) of the contract of February

7, 1933, between the United States and the Palo Verde

Irrigation District, Report, pp. 424-429, App. 8.)

The amounts and priorities so specified were ‘‘in

accordance with the recommendation of the Chief of

the Division of Water Resources of the State of

30

California’’ (Report, p. 424), but there has never

been a determination that they accord in all respects

with California law. Regardless of the recommenda-

tion of the Chief of the Division of Water Resources,

the rights of the several agencies party to those con-

tracts to receive, and of the United States to deliver,

‘water in aceordance with the specified quantities and

priorities, do not come about by application of state

law—they are a matter of contract between the

United States and the agencies except as the Project

Act provision for satisfaction of ‘‘present perfected:

rights”? (Report, pp. 307-312) may require a differ-

ent order of delivery.

Also. under the broad guthority vested in him to

contract:for use and disposition of the Project water

supply, the Secretary has made contracts with a

water users association and four irrigation districts in

Arizona, each of which provides for the delivery of

so much water as may be ordered and ‘‘reasonably

required and beneficially used’’ within the particular

project area, subject only to availability of the water

under the Colorado River Compact and applicable

federal laws.” (Report, pp. 212-214.) There are

also Batstanding water right application contracts

with the individual non-Indian landowners in the Res-

ervation Division of the Yuma Project in California

(Report, p. 212). These water right application con-

tracts generally provide for the delivery of either

*° These contracts make no provision as to, relative priority.

Presumably, then, the rule of ratability would’ ‘apply as between

them except as the Project Act requirement for satisfaction

of “present perfected rights” establishes u different order. See

infra, pp. 32-34. ‘

31

a specified quantity of water or so much as may be

required to irrigate the lands to be served, subject

to a limitation that the amount to be delivered, shall

not exceed an ‘‘equitable proportionate share * * *

of the water actually available at the time for all

of the area being watered from the same source of

supply, such proportionate share to be determined by

‘the project manager.’ (Cal. Ex. 380; emphasis

added.) The Secretary has also made a number of

special contracts for the delivery of water through

the facilities of the Yuma, Yuma Auxiliary, and

Gila Reclamation Projects, for use outside the proj-

ect areas. (Rept. 214; Ariz. Ex. 163 and 165.)

Each of them specifies water quantity and, without

regard to the Arizona law relating to priority of

appropriation, provides, in accordance with applicable

federal law (43 U.S.C. 521; 43 U.S.C. 523), that

the use of water thereunder shall be subordinate to

the use of water on the respective project areas.”

The Special Master has found each of these con-

tracts valid with the exception of one special-use con-

tract which he has found violateS the “permanent |

service’’ requirement of Section 5 of the Project Act

(Report, p. 218). He has also found that the Act of

“A more recent demonstration of exercise by the Secretary

of his broad authority to contract with respect to the dis-

position of project water, and in so doing, to determine rights,

quantities and priorities, intrastate, is to be found in the con-

. tract of November 12, 1959 between the United States and:

the City of Yuma. By this contract, executed subsequent to

the conclysion ‘of the evidence before the Master, the Secre-

tary .contracted to deliver a specified quantity of Colorado

River water to the City of Yuma but assigned such contract

a priority subsequent to all earlier Arizona contracts.

ae

32

September 2, 1958, 72 Stat. 1726, providing that the

Secretary of the Interior shall supply Boulder Can-

yon Project water to Boulder City, Nevada, effects

a valid commitment to the use of Boulder City of a

part of Nevada’s entitlement under that state’s

amended contract with the Secretary. (Report, p.

303.) | |

But in addition to the broad authority to make con-

tracts respecting water deliveries which is extended to

the Secretary by Section 5 of the Project Act, Sec-

tion 14 provides: 3

This Act shall be deemed a supplement to the

reclamation law, which said reclamation law

shall govern the construction, operation, and

management of the works herein authorized,

except as otherwise herein provided.

Ever since the Reclamation Act was enacted in

1902 (32 Stat. 388), the rights of landowners to re-

ceive and use the waters developed by a federal

reclamation project have been derived under and

determined by contracts made with the United States

in pursuance of applicable federal law.” As noted

% Section 10 of the Act (32 Stat. 390, 43 U.S.C. 373) con-

ferred on the Secretary of the Interior broad authority “to

perform any and all acts and to make such rules and regulations

as may be necessary and proper for the purpose of carrying

the provisions of this Act into full force and effect.” Section 5

(32 Stat. 389, 43 U.S.C. 431, 439) required that entries upon

public lands to be irrigated’ by project works bein compliance

with the homestead laws and required that at least half the ir-

rigable lands of each entry be reclaimed. Section 5 also pro-

vided that “No right to the use of water” developed by the

. project. works “shall be sold” for a tract exceeding 160 acres to

any one landowner and that, inter alia, “no such right shall per-

manently attach until all payments therefor are made.” For-

feiture of rights for failure to make stipulated payments was

aie

=

33 | a

supra, p. 31, the water right application contracts on

the Yuma Project, one of the earliest projects built

under authority of the Reclamation Act, establish the

rule of ratdPility on an acreage basis in case of short-

age in the project water supply. (Cal. Ex. 379.)

Later applications on the same project expressly pro-

vide that the proportionate share of each landowner

should “be determined by the project manager.”’

(Cal. Ex. 378, 380; Ariz. Ex. 168.) The water-right

applications on the Salt River Reclamation Project

jikewise provided for. The proviso to Section 8 (32 Stat. 390,

43 U.S.C. 372) provides: “That the right to the use of water ac-

. quired under the provisions of this Act shall be appurtenant to

the land irrigated, and beneficial use shall be the basis, the

- measure, and the limit of the right.” ”

Further evidence of the retention and exercise by the United

States, acting through the Secretary of the Interior, of its power

to control the acquisition: and definition of rights to receive and

use the waters of a federal reclamation project is to be found

in many of the subsequent acts of Congress relating to such

projects. (See 48 U.S.C., chapter 12.) E.g., the Act of

, August 13, 1914, 38 Stat. 686, Section 8 (48 U.S.C. 440)

Pal

authorized the Secretary to-make general rules and regulations |

governing the use of water in the irrigation of the lands within

any project and to impose specified requirements respecting the

areas under each water-right application or‘ entry to be re-

* claimedewithin three and five irrigation seasons and to provide

for continued compliance with such requirements. “Failure on

the part of any water-right applicant or entryman to comply

with such requirements shall render his application or entry

subject to cancellation.” And the Act of May 25, 1926, 44 Stat.

636 (43 U.S.C. 423-423¢), established a procedure for ex-

clusion from an éstablished project of lands found to be un-

productive and provided that “the water right formerly appur-

tenant to such permanently unproductive lands shall be disposed

of by the United States under the reclamation law * * *.”

(48° U.S.C. 423.) °

ese ee

&

a

in evidence here contain a similar provision. (U.S.

Ex. 31.)

The rule of ratability so frequently applied in the

34

making of contracts for disposition of a reclamation

project water supply differs greatly from State laws

of prior appropriation. But it is consistent with the

broad authority of the Secretary of the Interior “to

perform any and all acts and to make such rules and

regulations as may be necessary and proper for the |

purpose of carrying the provisions of this Act into ~

full force and effect.’’ (43 U.S.C. 373.) And the

practice which the Secretary has followed. and which

- we believe he is authorized to continue to follow in

the making of contracts relating to the storage and

delivery of the Boulder Canyon Project water supply,

including the fixing, intrastate, of particular quanti-

ties and velative priorities, is equally consistent with

the broad /authority conferred by Sections 1 and 5 of

the Projept Act.

©. SECTION /18 OF ‘THE PROJECT ACT DOES NOT LIMIT THE BROAD

AUTH CONFERRED ON THE SECRETARY OF THE INTERIOR BY

SECTIONS 1 AND 5 TO OPERATE THE BOULDER CANYON ‘PROJECT

AND TO CONTRACT FOR STORAGE AND DELIVERY OF THE PROJECT

WATER) SUPPLY

In eoncluding that “state — governs intrastate

rights and priorities to water diverted from the Colo-

rado age the Special Master relies primarily upon

Section 18 of the Project Act. That section provides

Nothing herein shall be construed as interfer-

ing with ‘such rights as the States now have

- either to the waters within their borders or to

adopt such policies and enact such laws as they

may deem necessary with respect to the ap-

propriation, control, and use of waters within

35

their borders, except as modified by the Colera-

do River compact or other interstate agreement.

But the first thing to note about this language is its

reference »to “‘such rights as the States now have.”’

Although the Report does not discuss the significance

of this language, it was explained when the amend-

ment which became Section 18 was proposed.

During the discussion in the Senate regarding H.R. -

5773, which the House had approved with amend-

ments, Mr. King of Utah offered as an amendment

language identical with Section 18 as enacted. Mr.

Johnson of California, a proponent of the bill, then

stated :

Mr. President, with the understanding that

the verb relates to the present—the rights they

now have to do all of the things that sub-

sequently follow—I have no objection to the

amendment. [70 Cong. Rec. 593.]*

Other proposals which were much more appropriately

worded to accomplish the intent which the Special Master

attributes to Section 18 were not accepted.

The House Committee on Irrigation and Reclamation ap-

pended a draft of a substitute bill to its report on H.R. 9828,

the second version of the third Swing-Johnson Bill. Contained.

in this draft was the following provision: -

“Sec. 8(a) All appropriations of water from the Colorade

River, incident to or resulting from the construction, use, and

operation of the works herein authorized, shall be made arid per-

fected in conformity with the laws of those states which may

or shall have approved the Colorado River compact ratified m

section 12 of this act.” (H. Rept. 1657, 69th Cong., 2d Sess.,

p. 382.)

Neither H.R. 9826 nor the substitute draft were enacted into

law. However, much of the language in the substitute draft

reappeared in the bill which finally became the Boulder Canyon

This emphasis on the word ‘“‘now” makes plain

that Section 18 was intended to do no more than-pre-

serye whatever rights the States of the Lower Basin

theft had to use, and to regulate the use of, waters

thén subject to their jurisdiction. But these States-

were then and, we submit, are now without right or

authority to use or regulate the use of*the waters of

the Colorado River as against the exercise by the

United States of its right and power to use and con-

trol the use of such waters for constitutionally au-

ber purposes. :

The Colorado River is a navigable stream and the

Boulder Canyon Project was authorized and con-

structed in valid exercise of the commerce power

(Arizona v. i 283 U.S. 423) and other fun-°

damental powers of the United States under the Con-

stitution. Supra, pp. 24-25.

In 283 U.S., at pages 451-452, the Court said:

The United States may perform its functions

without conforming to the police regulations of

a state. Johnson v. Maryland, 254 U.S. 51;

Hunt v. United States, 278 U.S. 96. If Con-

gress has power to authorize the construc-

tion of the dam and reservoir, Wilbur is under

vegies 1 a obligation to submit the plans and specifica-

~ tions to the state Engineer for approval. * * *

This holding with respect to the Arizona law which

purported to require submission of the plans and

specifications for Hoover dam to the State Engineer

Project Act, but Section 8(a) of the substitute draft was

omitted.

And see 69 Cong. Rec. 10467.

37

for approval was but the inevitable consequence of

the supremacy clause of the Constitution (Art. VI,

Cl. 2) as it has been construed and applied by this

Court since the decision of McCulloch v. Maryland,

4. Wheat. 316, in 1819. The laws of the several

States relating to the appropriation, control and

use of water which the Special Master says con-

trol quantities of and priorities for project water

~ intrastate are police regulations like that provision of

the Arizona_law. considered in the first Arizona, . *

California decision.”* }

Applying the same principles i: in Ivanhce Irrig. Dist.

v. McCracken, 357 U.S. 275, 295, after upholding the

constitutional authority of the United States to con-

struct and operate the great Central Valley Reclama-

tion Project in California, the Court said:

The lesson 01 these cases is that the Federal

Government may establish and impose reason-

able conditions relevant to federal interest in

the project and—to the over-all objectives

thereof. Conversely, a State cannot compel use

of federal property on terms other than those

prescribed or authorized by Congress. Public .

Utilities Comm’n of Californa.v. United

. States, 355 U.S. 534 (1958). Article VL of the

Constitution, of course, forbids state encroach-

ment on the supremacy of federal legislative

action.

% Vineyard Land & Stock Co. v. Di. trict Court, 42 Nev. 1,

171 Pac. 166, 173, 174 (1918); Pacific Live Stock Co. v. Loisle,

241 U.S. 440, 448, 449 (1916); Jn re Mass, 219 Cal. 422, 424,

27 P. 2d, 373 (1933); Kinney, /rrigation ‘and Water Rights

(2d ed.), vol. 3, sec. 1341, pp. 2428, 2429; Wiel, Water Rights

m the Western States, (3d ed.), vel. 2, sec. 1184, p. 1097; 30

Am. Jur.. Irrigation, sec. 3, p. 851.

The Court’s opinion in First Iowa Coop. v. Fed-

eral Power Commission, 328 U.S. 152, is especially

pertinent:

The [Federal Power] Act leaves to the

States their traditional jurisdiction subject to

the admittedly superior right of the Federal

Government, through Congress, to regulate in-

terstate and foreign commerce, administer the

public lands and reservations of the United

_ States and, in certain cases, exercise’ authority

under the treaties of the United States. * * *

[328 U.S. 171.] 0

The detailed provisions of the Act providing

for the federal plan of regulation leave no room

‘—or need for conflicting state controls. * * *

* * * * *

It is the Federal Power Commission rather

than the Iowa Executive Council that under our

constitutional Government must pass upon

these issues on behalf of the people of Iowa ©

as well as on behalf of all others. [328 U.S.

181--182. ]

See also Tacoma v. Taxpayers, 357 U.S. 320; United

States v. Appalachian Power Co., 311 U.S. 377;

Oklahoma v. Atkinson Co., 313 U.S. 508.

Equally applicable are the decisions of this Court

respecting the States’ lack of authority to impose con-

ditions upon.the use by the United States of its

property.” See Ivanhoe Irrigation District v. Me-

15 We’ do not argue the question of federal ownership of the

right= to use the waters of the Colorado River or the unappro-

priated rights to use the waters of the tributaries. But see:

United States v. Grand River’ Dam Authority, 363 U.S. 229;

Winters v. United States, 207 US. 564; Federal Power Commis-

sion v. Oregon, 349 U.S. 485. Since the contracts for the stor-

39

Cracken, supra, p. 37; Gibson v. Chouteau, 13 Wall.

92; United States v. Rio Grande Irrigation Co., 174

U.S. 690, 703; Winters v. United States, 207 U.S. 564;

Utah Power & Light Co. v. United States, 243 U.S.

389, 404; United States v. Oregon, 295 U.S. 1; Cam-

field v. United States, 167 U.S. 518; Hunt v. United

States, 278 U.S. 96. In Federal Power Commission

v. Oregon, 349 U.S. 435, 445, where the jurisdiction

of the Federal Power Commission rested upon the

- fact that the project involved would be located on

Oo

reserved lands of the United States, the Court said:

To aliow Oregon to veto such use, by requiring .

the State’s additional permission, would result

in the very duplication of regulatory control

precluded by the First Iowa decision.

Statutory language which merely preserves “such

rights as the States now have’’ cannot be construed

as a grant to the States of any part of the federal

government’s authority to control the operation of its

own projects. Freedom of the States to enact laws

does not compel the conclusion that the Secretary of

the Interior is bound by those laws.- Language more.

clear and definitive than that of Section 18 is neces-

sary to warrant the conclusion that “Congress has

specifically declined to give the Secretary of the In-

terior authority to deliver water to users within a

age and delivery of waters impounded by Hoover dam involve

the use of federal funds, federal properties and federal

privileges in the sense of physical facilities, and because the

Project is authorized in part “for reclamation of public lands”

(Project Act §1), decisions respecting the States’ lack of au-

thority to control the use of federal property are applicable.

s)

40

state in disregard of the state’ s water law.” _ .

port, p.-217.)

The second thing to note about then 18 is its gen-

erality in- contrast with the specific ‘contracting au-

thority granted by Section 5. Of course, it is always

held that the specific language of a statute qualifies the

general language thereof and not vice versa. Ivanhoe

Irrigation District v. McCracken, supra; Fourco Glass

— Co.'v. Transmirra Corp., 353 U.S..222, 228-229; Mac-

Evoy Co. v. United States, 322 U.S. 102, 107; Gins-

berg & Sons v. Popkin, 285 U.S. 204, 208; Arizona v.

‘ California, 283 U.S. 423; Baltimore National Bank v.

Tax Commission, 297 U.S. 209, 215. That Section 5~ |

specifically authorizes the making of water delivery |

contracts on such terms as the Secrétary deems appro-

_ priate, except as his discretion may be limited by other

specific provision, is demonstrated in subdivision B,

supra, of this part.

Finally, there is to be noted ‘the similarity of Section

18 to Section 8 of the Reclamation Act of 1902 ” and

Section 27 of the Federal Power Act.”

* The language of this section pertinent to this consideration

is as follows:

“That nothing in this Act shall be construed as affecting or

intended to affect or to in any way interfere with the laws of

‘any State or ‘Territory relating to the control, appropriation,

use, or distribution of water used in irrigation, or any vested

right acquired thereunder, and the Secretary of the Interior, in

carrying out the provisions of this Act, shall proceed in

conformity with such laws * * *,.” (June 17, 1902, chy 1093,

§ 8, 32 Stat. 390, 43.U.S.C. 383.) a5

*“That nothing herein contained shall be construed as

affecting or intending to affect or in any way to interfere with

the laws of the respective States relating to the control,

s ey

41

The Special Master suggests that Section 8 of the

Reclamation Act, together with the fact that the

Project ‘Act’ is denominated “as a supplement” to

reclamation law, ‘‘buttress” . the conclusion “apparent

from the plain language of Section 18: itself, that

state law governs rights and priorities among intra-

state users.’’ (Report, p. 218.) But the fact is that

_ poth Section 8 of the Reclamation Act and Section 27

_of the Federal Power Act have been construed by

this Court as not having the effect which the Report

would attribute to Section 18 of thg Project Act.

In its decisions respecting the meaning of Section

8 of the Reclamation Act, this Court has distinguished

between the acquisition of rights to use water for a

reclamation project and the operation of the project.

This was clearly set forth in Ivanhoe Irrigation

District v. McCracken, 357 U.S. 275. As to acquisi-

tion of rights, the Court said at page 291:

As we read § 8, it merely requires the United

R States to comply with state law when, in the

construction and operation “of a reclamation

project, it becomes necessary for it to acquire

water rights or vested interests therein.”

appropriation, use, or distribution of water used in irrigation or

for municipal or other uses, or any vested right acquired

- therein.” (June 10, 1920, ch. 285, § 27; 41 Stat. 1077,,16 U.S.C.

821.)

1®In this sense § 8 his been construed as meaning that if,

in the construction or operation of a reclamation project, the

United States impairs rights recognized under State law,

compensation must be paid without regard to whether the

rights would be valid as against the United States under federal

law. United States v. Gerlach Live Stock Co,, 3389 U.S. 725.

‘

. | v

4 ™

« é

yas : zs NS i

Y > . eee

© eae > \ ‘\ >

x - ~~?

‘ ¥

> -

: Ce Pa eo

“ 5 * OO eT

But’ the operation of federal reclamation projects

was excluded from any effect by Section 8 by —

statement (td. at 291-292) :

But the acquisition of water rights must not

be confused with the operation of federal proj-

ects. As gthe Court said “in. Nebraska v.

Wyoming, supra, at 615: “We do not suggest

that where Congress has provided a system of

- regulation for federal projects it must give

_ way before an inconsistent state system.” * * *

We read nothing in § 8 that compels the United

States to deliver water en conditions imposed

by the State.

We submit that the Special Master has overlooked

this: distinction in his reliance on Section 8 and the

“eases cited.” g see

** Regardless of what the: language in Jvanhoe may indi-

cate respecting the effect of § 8 as to the relative rights between

a reclamation project and other users within the same State,

that is not the question with which we are here concerned.

Hére, under §5 of the Project Act, “No person shall have

or be entitled to have the use for any purpose of the water

stored as aforesaid except by contract made as herein stated.”

It is the relative rights of users under contracts made in

accordance with this requirement with which we are con-

cerned. There is no question, and there can be none under

the Boulder Canyon Project Act, Tespecting the rights of per-

, Sons who <are not participating in the project water supply

in accordance with the Project Act. In Nebraska v. Wyo-

ming, 325 U.S. 589, 615, the Court made the same distinction

that it made in / eankae’ on indicated in the quotation. in the

text. Moreover, the Court in its discussion of §8 there was

not considering the problem -we are confronted with here—

that of whether relative rights within a federal project to

use the project water supply are governed by State law or by

the contracts which have been made in pursuance of applicable

federal law. The question t was one of title as between the

United States and the project landowners. And while under

——,

@ @ Z 6 =

SIS. J rte . y 43 : 2

The contracts which the Secretary has made with

the reclamation projects, lands bordering reclamation

projects and special users, are for the purpose of

disposing .of or allocating the impounded Colorado®

« River waters.. The power of the Secretary to deter-

mine, without threat of veto by State authorities,

the quantities and. priorities of the water to be de-

the particular facts of that case the Court—held title to the

projet water supply was not in the United States, we think

the following excerpts fairly indicate the true intent of the

holding:

“# * * The water right is appurtenant to the land, the

owner of which is the appropriator. * * * Indeed §8 of the

Reclamation Act provides as we have seen that ‘the right to

the use of water acquired under the provisions of this Act

shall be appurtenant to the land irrigated, and beneficial use

shall be the basis, the measure, and the limit of the right.’

* * * We intimate no opinion whether a different procedure

might have been followed so as to appropriate and reserve to

the United States all of these water rights. No such attempt

was made. * * * [In this case, it is to be noted, an entirely

different procedure has been followed. The United States has

not followéd State prescribed procedures to appropriate the

Boulder Canyon Project water supply.] The rights so ac-

quired are as definite and complete as if they were obtained

by direct cession from the federal Government. Thus even

if we assume that the United States owned the unappropriated

rights, they were acquired by the landowners in the precise

_Manner contemplated by Congress.” (325 U.S. 614-615.)

And in Ickes v. Fox, 300 U.S. 82, without discussing the

holding. as to title to the project water rights, it is even more

plain that the determination of title in the project landowners

was based, not on State law, but rather on contracts made

under federal reclamation law. At page 95 the Court. said:

“Appropriation was made not for the use of the government,

but, wnder the Reclamation Act, for the.use of the land owners;

and by the terms of the law and of the contract already”

referred to, the water-rights became the property of the land

owners * * *.” (Emphasis added})

-

- 44 ' a

livered is as essential-to efficient and effective oper- -

ation intrastate as his power to select the persons

to whom the water will be supplied. Therefore, as ||

these contracts pertain to the operation of the Boulder |

Canyon Project, it is clear under the decision in Ivan-

hoe that there is nothing in $8 of. the Reclamation

Act; or in §18 of the Project Act, to preclude the

Benteines from delivering water in the amounts and

priorities as determined under the contracts, without

regard to state laws relating to appropriation, control

and use of water. ! :

Sections 9(b) and 27 of the Federal Power Act _ |

were construed in First Iowa Cooperative v. Federal |

Power Commission, 328 U.S. 152. The issue before

the Court was whether under the Federal Power

Act a power company, as a condition precedent to

the issuance of a federal license to construct, operate,

and maintain a power project in navigable waters, .

had to prove to the Commission that it had met the

requireme f the laws of Iowa. This Court held °

that it x au required to do so as this would give

the state a veto over the federal project. At page

164 the Court said: j ac.

-_** *-Such a veto power ‘easily could. dnettoy

the effectiveness of the Federal Act. It would

subordinate to the control of the State the

“‘comprehensive”’ planning which the Act pro-

vides shall depend upon the judgment of the

Federal Power Commission or other representa-

tives of the Federal Government.

® ¢

ka 45

After ho¥fing that Section 9(b) ® of the Act does

not ,require compliance’ with State law, the Court *

observed that Section 27 (328 U.S. at 175) :

‘*-* * expressly “saves’’ certain state laws re-

lating to property rights as to the use of water,

so that these are not superseded sel the terms

of the Federal Power Act.

And it. further explained the effect of that section

by this statement (id. at 175-176) :

The effect of § 27, in stein a ‘abs laws

from supersedure, is limited to laws as to the

control, appropriation, use or distribution of

water in irrigation or for municipal or other

uses of the same nature. It therefore has pri-

mary, if not exclusive, reference to such pro-

prietary rights. The phrase “any vested right

acquired therein’’ further emphasizes the appli-

eation of ‘the section to property rights. * * *

. other words, the Court considered Section 27

to be an expression of Congress’ intention not to

exercise its full power to pre-empt the navigable

waters oféthe United States without regard to rights

0 Section 9(b) provides:

“That. each applicant- for—a license hereunder shall submit

~ to the commission—

+ s pl» * * *

_ . “(b) Satisfactory evidence that the applicant has complied

with the requirements.of the laws of the State or States within

which the proposed project is to be located with respect to bed

and banks and to appropriation, diversion, and use of water

for power purposes and with respect to the right to e

in the business of developing, transmitting, and distributing

power, and in any other business necessary ‘to effect the pur-

poses of a license under this act.” June 10, 1920, we 285, § 9,

41 Stat. 1068; 16 U.S.C. pea

&

. «

to the use thereof recognized under state law. See .

_ Federal Power Commission v. Niagara Mohawk Power

Corp., 347 U.S. 239, and, as to Section 8 of the Recla-

mation Act, Umted States v. Gerlach Live Stock Co.,

339 U.S. 725. Cf. United States v. Chandler-Dunbar

Co., 229 U.S. 53; United States v. Twin City Power

‘Co., 350 U.S. 222.

Similar meaning is to be given to Section 18 of the

Project Act. Seetion 18, like Section 87, “saves”

such rights as the States then had to waters subject

to their respective jurisdictions and to enact laws re-

lating thereto, but without extending such saving to all

vested rights recognized by the States ;” but Section 5,

like Section 9, is not limited or controlled by State law

simply because Section 18, as Section 27, ‘‘saves” cer-

tain rights of the States. Similarly, though Congress

by Section 18 has “‘saved” the right of the States to

enact laws_respecting waters subject to their jurisdic-

tion, there is nothing, either in Section 18 or. Section

5, which requires that users under contracts made

with the Secretary of the Interior be “under no dis-

ability to receive such water undér the applicable

state law.’’ ° | |

We are not unmindful that the language to which

we object in Article II(C)(1) of the recommended

Decree is qualified by the words ‘except as federal

statutes may otherwise specifically direct.’’ And we

realize that at page 217, note 83, the Special Master

"The limit: of the Project Act’s recognition of wht might

have ‘qualified as state’ recognized vested rights to -use the

mainstream waters ‘is the: $6 requirement for “the satisfaction

of “present. prefected rights.” Report, pp.307-312, 161.

47

has disclaimed any intention to pass on the question

‘whether ofher federal statutes such as the Gila Project

Reauthorization Act, 61 Stat. 628 (1947), supersede

state law in particular cases.” But we are also aware

that, notwithstanding the specific direction by Congress

to the Secretary of the Interior by the Act of Septem-

ber 2, 1958, 72 Stat. 1726, to deliver water to Boulder

City, Nevada,” the.Special Master apparently does

not consider this statute any more ‘*specific” than he

appears to consider Section 5. For at page 303 of

the Report he declares: ‘Boulder City’s priorities are

to be determined in the same manner as those of all

other Nevada users, under Nevada law, * * *.”

(Emphasis added.) |

We respectfully submit that under Sections 1 and

5 of the Project Act the Secretary of the Interior is

expressly authorized to make contracts for the storage

ot water in Lake Mead and: for*the delivery of such

water for the purposes specified in the Act; that this

authority of necessity includes authority to contract

for the storage and delivery of specific quantities and

~ for the order in which the contracts of the various

users will be: satisfied; and that there is nothing in

Section 18 of the Project Act which can be construed

as taking from the Secretary and vesting ‘in State

agencies any part of the authority so conferred on the

Secretary. ,

2 Section 9 d) of the Act provides that if the requirements

of the municipality shall at any time exceed 3,650 gallons a

minute « the / Secretary may furnish whatever additional water

and: whatever ddditional carrying capacity rad be needed.

48 : eu

POINT IV

THE NEVADA WATER DELIVERY’ CONTRACT DOES NOT EX-

G HAUST THE AUTHORITY; OF THE SECRETARY OF THE

INTERIOR UNDER SECTION 5 OF THE BOULDER CANYON

PROJECT ACT TO CONTRACT FURTHER FOR THE USE OF

DELCURDED WATER WITHIN THE STATE OF NEVADA OR

if! TO APPLY UNUSED WATER TO USE ON FEDERAL PROJECTS

At page 210 of thp Report the oe Master

stated:

_ It should be noted that the Nevada contract,

unlike the Arizona contract, does not require

additional subcontracts between each water

user and the Secretary of the Interior. On the

contrary, the State of Nevada is free to de-

termine who shall use the water, subject only ‘a

to the Secretary’s approval of the points of :

diversion. .

The United States has acwuptid to this an urges that

the language of the reeummended decree, referred to

in the footnote, should not be construed to imple-

ment it.”

23 Article II(B) (6) of the Recommended Decree in the Spe-

cial Master’s Draft Report (p, 309) stated that water appor-

tioned for consumptive use in a state but not consumed

“aohether for the reason that users therein do not have delivery

contracts for the full amount of the state’s apportionment, or

that they’cannot apply all of such water to beneficial uses * * *.”

(Emphasis added.)

might be released by the Secretary of the Interior for use in

other States. Nevada, in commenting on the Draft Report,

proposed that the provision emphasized in the language quoted

be amended so as to give recognition to Nevada’s contention

that the requirements of Section 5 of the Project Act are fully

satisfied by Nevada’s amended contract insofar as uses of

stored water in that State are concerned. The United States

49

Article 5(a) of the contract, as amended January 3,

1944 (Rept. p. 420, App. 7), provides that, subject to

availability of the water for use in Nevada, the United

States shall annually deliver to the State from storage.

in Lake Mead—

so much water, including all other waters di-

verted for use within the State of Nevada from

the Colorado River system, as may be necessary

to supply the State a total quantity not to ex-

. ceed Three Hundred Thousand (300, 000) acre-

feet each calendar year. * * * [Emphasis

added. | ) Sg fe:

In our view this contract, like the Arizona contract,

is effective to allocate for use in the State the quantity

of water therein specified, in accordance with the plan

for interstate allocation of mainstream water contem-

plated by the Project Act. But only to the extent

that Nevada itself may qualify as a user of water does

it satisfy the requirement of Section 5) that no person

shall have or be entitled to have the use of the stored

water except by contract made as stated in that sec-

tion. Uses in Nevada made by others than the State

continue to be governed by that requirement and, as

demonstrated in part III, supra, the validity of such

uses and the extent of the rights therefor must depend

upon their recognition by contracts with the users

opposed this proposal during the argument before the Special

Master August 17-19, 1960. Article II(B)(8) (which is the

counterpart of II(B) (6) -in the earlier draft) of the Recom-

mended Decree reads:

“* * * whether for the reason that delivery ecbibghienl for the

full amount of the state’s apportionment are ‘not in effect or

that users cannot apply all of such {water to beneficial

uses * * #7 Rept, p. 349.) :

oe -.

al a | he ae er |

made by the Secretary in conformity.with all of the

Section 5 requirements. While Nevada may make

recommendations to the Secretary respecting: the:

making of contracts with users in that State, the pro-

visions of Section 5 do not authorize or permit the

substitution of State regulation for the discretion

which the Project Act eae the Secretary to

exercise.

Be submit that aie statement at page 210 of the

Report\to which we have excepted is in conflict with

the pro isiohs of Section 5. We submit further that

it does not give proper meaning to the language of

Article 5(a) of the contract underscored in the quota-

tion above. If that language is read to mean what

it says, the -contract will not only be given literal

meaning, but the conflict with Section 5 of the Act,

which the Master’s interpretation engenders, would

be eliminated.

The underscored language babii from the agree- |

ment to deliver ‘‘to the State” all other diversions for ‘|

use within the State. Such exclusion preserves the |

Secretary’s authority to contract with users in Ne-

vada and precludes the possibility of an attempted

waiver of the Section 5 requirement for contracts

with all users. . It likewise constitutes an. effective

reservation of fhe United States’ general power to

provide, within the unused part of Nevada’s alloca- {

tion, for uses on federal projects within Nevada.

(Rept., 257-266; 292-294 ; 297; 303). So construed, it |

dis plain that the ‘amie of Article 5(a) of the con-

tract providing for delivery “to the State” is but a

shorthand way of saying, as in the Arizona contract

~ » use on federal projects in that State.

51

(Rept. 400, App. 5): “The United States shall de-

liver * *.* water * * * for * * *-use * * * in ag

vada | * * bal ”?

We have shown in Point ITI, swpra, that there is no

basis in the Project Act, or in the decisions of this

Court, for concluding that the Secretary of the In-

terior is subject to the control of Nevada in delivering

water from storage in Lake Mead. The State of Ne-

vada is not “free to determine who-shall use the wa-

- ter.” Nor is it free to determine the priority of the

various water users under such contracts as may be

madé. These matters rest within the discretion of the

Secretary of the Interior in exercising his authority

to make contracts disposing of waters of the Colorado

River impounded by Hoover Dam.*

The Court is requested to reject the veniiialons at

page 210 of the Report, above quoted, and to make

clear that Article II1(B) (8) of the Recommended De-

cree, if it is approved by the Court, does not impair.

either the authority of the Secretary to contract with

users in Nevada;under Section 5 of the Project Act

or the general power of the United States to apply

unused waters within the Nevada apportionment to

Ey

3

ee POIN iT V

. THE UNITED STATES IS ENTITLED TO USE ON ITS WILD-

LIFE REFUGES WATERS SALVAGED IN DEVELOPMENT OF

THE REFUGE AREAS WITHOUT REGARD TO PRIORITIES

ESTABLISHED BY CREATION OF THE REFUGES

With respect, to the Havasu Lake National Wild-

life Refuge and the Imperial National Wildlife

a

52

Refuge, both on the mainstream oi the Colorado

River, the United States proved that the change in

and control of the vegetation which will be effected

by the development, of these refuge areas will result

in water consumption Jess than that which presently

ocecurs in the overflow and undeveloped areas where

the refuges are_ presently located, (Tr. 15,691;

15,694; 15,753; 15,759-60.) The Special Master

omitted to make the Findings of Fact proposed by the

United States reflecting this salvage of water, and

further omitted to provide in the Conclusions of Law

and Recommended Decree that water salvaged by the-

United States from the mainstream of the Colorado

' River may be used by it on federal mainstream Wild-

life Refuges without limitation by the priority dates

decreed for the respective refuge areas.

It is a fundamental maxim of water law that*the

right to use the portion of stream flow salvaged by

means of artificial improvements belongs to the one

making the improvements. Hutchins, Law of Water

: Rights in the West, pp. 361, ff. Decisions in support

of this proposition have been rendered by a number

of the Supreme Courts of the western States.“ Rec-

ognition of the salvage doctrine is to be found also

in the decisions of this Court. Washington v. Oregon,

297 U.S. 517, 522-23; Nebraska v. Wyoming, 325 U.S.

589, 618-9. } |

“For example, Pomona Land & Water Co. v. San Antonio

Water Co., 152 Cal. 618, 623-624 (1908); Reno v. Richards, 32

Idaho 1, 6, 12-13 (1918); Zronstone Ditch Co. v. Ashenfelter,

57 Colo. 31, 43-44 (1914).

rh.

x

: . 53

The application of this principle in this case will not

disarrange the allocation or priority schedule recom-

mended by the Special Master. Quantities and pri-

orities of water rights for the mentioned Refuges are

provided by Article II, Subdivision (C), paragraphs

(2)(g) and (2)(h), of the Recommended Decree

(Rept.,. pp. 352-353). Recognition of the additional

basis. of right, the right to use water salvaged by the

development of these Refuge areas without limitation

by priority dates,,would in no way increase the

quantities used beyond those presently specified in

the Recominended Decree. We believe there should

be added to each of the paragraphs of the Recom-

mended Decree last above noted a proviso to the fol-

lowing effect: :

Provided, That to the extent the water used on

such Refuge shall be salvage water resulting

from development of /Ahe refuge area, such

water may be used without regard to such

priority dates. |

CONCLUSION.

For the foregoing reasons it is respectfully submitted

that the exceptions filed by the United States should

be sustained.

| ARCHIBALD Cox,

Solicitor General.

Joun F. Davis,

_ ‘Assistant to the Solicitor General.

Davip R. WARNER,

WALTER KIECHEL, JR.,

WakRREN WISE,

Attorneys.

May, 1961.

U.S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1961

ie FLAMING : |

Smtianfaty comes pawl

w

n

\ e | @ CARSON C) @ DOENVER

~ ~~

\ | SACRAMENTO 2 U T PS a . : : "

aS

SAN FRANCISCO ba

S)

\

—

—-— a

£. FASO

° |,

LOCATION MAP

PREPARED BY STATE OF CALIFORNIA

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Brief in Support of Exceptions of the US — Arizona v. California · 370 U.S. 930 | Frix