Brief for the Petitioner — Shenker v. Baltimore & Ohio Railroad
Supreme Court brief1963
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
LIBRARY ‘*<:
: JAN 25 1963
‘RT. Up
‘Sepreme Court ofthe Unite Sate
OCTOBER TERM, 1962
MICHAEL SHENKER. Petitioner,
.
THE. BALTIMORE AND OHIO RAILROAD
COMPANY. Respondent.
—— —
On Writ of Cert‘orari to the United States a of
22 Appeal for the Third Circuit.
BRIEF ror PETITIONER
CHARLES ALAN WRIGHT
2500 Rel River Street
Austin 5. Texas
JOHN RUFFALO
510 Mahoning Bank Building
Youngstown Oho
Attorneys for petit. mer
JAMES A WRIGHT
434 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh. Pa.
JAMES E McLAUGHLIN
606 Frick Building
Pittsburgh 19. Pa.
JAMES P McARDLE
6806 Frick Building
Pittsburgh 19. Pa.
of unsel
Set eFOo8 CO At ae FR NR TERS «88 488 Cet OF Bhi te OF TT SeURGH Ww Pe
e
¢
+ INDEX
PAGE
Citations to Opinions Below 7 J 1
Jurisdiction ...... . V 1
Questions Presente 2
Statutes Involvue tk 8 na
Statement of the Case 1 e 4
Summary of the Argument . 6
Argument:
I. When a majority of the fades portichiating
vote to grant rehearing en banc, such rehear-
ing should be granted ................:.... 7
II. The Federal Employers’ Liability Act im-
poses on an employer a non-delegable duty to.
exercise reasonable care to furnish its em-
ployees a safe place to work, even when they
are off the employer’s premises, and con-
structive knowledge will be imputed to the
employer of any defect which would have
been discoverable upon inspection ......... 11
Conclusion ...... 1 V . 19
TABLE OF CITATIONS
CASES
Alltmont v. United States, 177 F. 2d 971 (3d Cir.
177 Vc 9
Atlantic Coast Line R. Co. v. Robertson, 214 F.2d
| LD 13
Bailey v. Central Vermont Ry., Inc., 319 U.S. 350
Z4ꝙ4ͤ uads shaves deaekeheeaeeenas 12
Beattie v. Elgin, J. & E. R. Co., 217 F.2d 863 (7th
rc seneunons on errr 13, 16
Butz v. Union Pacific R. Co., 120 Utah 185, 233 P.2d =~
3³² 2 PF 15
Table of Cases.
CASES - PAGE
Chesapeake & O. Ry. Co. v. Thomas, 198 F.2d- 783
, et 13
Chicago G. W. Ry: Co. v. Casura, 234 F.2d 441 (8th ;
SS cia cc a deen ke ol ese cs 17
Chicago G. W. Ry. Co. v. Smith, 228 F. 2d 180 (stn
Cir. 1955) JVP 17
Denver & R. G. W. R. Co. v. Conley, 293 F. 20 612
(10th Cir. 19801 ee, 13. 17
Drake Bakeries, Inc. v. Local 50, American Bakery
& Confectionery Workers, 294 F. 2d 399 (2d
Cir. 1961), affirmed 370 U.S. 254 (1962) 10
Ellis v. Union Pacific R. Co., 329 U.S. 649 (1947) .. 12
Harris v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 361 U.S. 15 (1959) 12, 18
Harris v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 168 ‘Ohio St. 582, 156
SE he nes ca ass bacsectascrases 12
Kooker v. Pittsbur h & L. E. R. Co., 258 F. 2d 876
„„ e 13, 14; 18
1 Baltimore and Ohio R. Co., 309 F. 2d 546,
/ 13. 15, 18
Schlueter v. East St. Louis Connecting Ry. Co., 316
Mo. 1266, 296 S.W. 105 0 . . 16
Sinkler v. Missouri Pacific n. co., 356 U.S. 326
ee re 15
‘Terminal R. Ass'n of St. Louis v. n 165 F. 2d
473 (8th Cir. — na ee ae 13
Textile Mills Securities Corp. v. „ of a
Internal Revenue, 314 U.S. 326 (1941) 7
United States v. American-Foreign S.S. Corp., 363
0 « ae 7
Van Horn v. Southern Pacific Co., 141 Cal App.24
528, 297 P.2d 479 (1956) ................... 17
Western. Pacific R. Corp. v. Western Pacific R. Co.,
345 US. 247 (1953) e . 8, 9
i 5 Yi |
f Pd
ui
Statutes and Authorities
STATUTES : ex
28 U.S.C. § 460(e)) enen
A ͤ ˙ e
45 U.S.C. § 1ůII . aes pedoages ..2, 4. 12
f OTHER AUTHORITIES .
Eighth Circuit Rules, Rule 15 ................... 8
H. R. 3498, 79th Cong., ist Seas. 9
H. R. 7124, — Z 9
Louisell & Degnan in American Appel-
; te Comm 32 143 e ‘a
Note, En Banc Procedure in the Federal Courts of
Appeals, 111 U.Pa.L.Rev. 220 (1962) ........ 8, 10
R. C., 51 Harv. L. Rev. 1287 . 10
„
0
Supreme Couto “a the United Stated
NO. 414
OCTOBER TERM, 19622 f
MICHAEL SHENKER, *
4 v.
TIE ‘BALTIMORE AND. OHIO RAILROAD |
COMPANY, 5
On writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of
1 for the Third Cireuit.
BRIEF FOR — |
CITATIONS TO OPINIONS BELOW.
* The opinion of the trial judge, denying defendant's Ba”
motion for judgment notwithstanding the ‘verdict (R.
i. 78-80) is reported at 196 F.Supp. 108. The opinion of the “|
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit (R. 82-88 ) is
_ Feported at 308 . 44 606. ; we.
\
3 JURISDICTION Ser
The opinion. of the Court of Appeals was : filed April
11, 1962. A timely petition for rehearing, filed: ‘May 3,
1962, was denied on June 1, 1962. By order of the Chief
Justice, the time for filing the petition for writ of certio-
rari was extended to ne 14, 1962 (R. 91). ‘Such
_
—
\ 3 — _Btatutes Involved.
.
ition was fled September 5, 1962, and granted Novem-
‘19, 1962 (R. 81). The jurisdiction of this Court is.
in dked under 28 U.. C. 2.
X. 8 *
QUES! ONS PRESENTED
1. Where. only 8 of the eight active judges of a
for its employee who is injured when, in the course of
ier which his employer services
,
The alen provisions involved are 28 U. s. C.
846 (c), and 45 U. S. C. § 51.
28 U.8.C. $46(c): Cases and controversies shall
be heard and determined by a court or division of not
more than three judges, unless a hearing or rehearing |
before the court in banc is ordered by a majority of the
circuit judges of the circuit who are in active service.
A court in banc shall consist of all active circuit tees
of the circuit. 7
45 U.S. C. § 51: ae Pen ges en
while engaging in commerce between any of the several
States or Territories c or between any of the States and
0
appeals take part in the decision of a petition
ing, and four of the six vote grant *
forming work on the car and the .
"Statutes Ingolved.
0
Territories or between the District of Columbia 4050 any
_ of the States or Territories, or between the District of
Columbia or any of the States or Territories and. any
foreign nation or nations, shall be liable in damages to
any person suffering injury while he is employed by such
carrier in such commerce, or, in case of the death of such
employee, to his or her personal representative, for the
.
3 ;
$
—
se
a
5
—
ae
benefit of the surviving widow or husband and children |
of such employee; and, if none, then of such employee’ s
er ; if none, then of the next of kin dependent
upon such employee, for such injury or death resulting
in whole or in part from the negligence of any, of the
officers, agents, or employees of such carrier, or by reason
of any defect or insufficiency, due to its negligence, in its 15
cars, engines, appliances, machinery, track, ‘ roadbed,
Works, boats. wharves, or other equipment.
4 Any employee of a carrier, any part of whose Aten
as such employee shall be the furtherance of interstate.
or foreign commerce; or shall, in any way directly or
closely and substantially, affect such commerce as above
set forth shall, for the purposes of this chapter, be con-
- sidered as being employed by such carrier in such com-
merce. and shail be considered as entitled to the benefits |
ol this chapter. |
Statement of the Case..
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
| Petitioner filed suit in the District Court for the
Western District of Pennsylvania on November 21, 1957, ©
against respondent, Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Com-
pany (hereafter B. & O.“) and agairst the Pittsburgh \
and Lake Erie Railroad Company (hereafter P. & L.E.”)
(R. 1). The jurisdiction of the District Court was in-
| voked because the case, arises under the Federal Em-
ployers’ Liability Act,’ “ U.S. C. 51.
Petitioner was employed, at the time of his injury.
as a baggageman by the B. & O. at its Mahoningtown
Station in New Castle, Pa. At this point the eastbound
and westbound tracks of the B. & O. are immediately
north of the eastbound and westbound tracks of the P.
& L. E. The B. & O. station is north of the four tracks.
A station of the P. & L.E.\is to the south, between the
two P. & LE. tracks (R. 21). The P. & L.E. station is
unmanned (R. 15). The B. & O. ticket agents sold tickets
at the B. & O. station to P. &L.E. passengers (R. 15).
Buy an arrangement between the two railroads (R. 10),
B. & O. employees would service F. & L. E. trains stopping
at Mahoningtown and running pn P. & L.E. tracks (R.
61-62). Although petitioner was employed by the B. &
O., paid by it, and subject only to the authority of B. & O.
aupervisory employees (R. 29, 46), his duties included
loading and unloading baggage in P. & L.E. trains, as
well as B. & O. trains, and janitor work in both the B. &
O. and the P. & L. E. stations (R. 29, 45),
On Oetober 15, 1956, petitioner wh engaged in
loading mail sacks on a P. & L.E. train. Both he and the
baggage car attendant, a P. & L. E. employee, attempted
to open the door on the P. & L. E. car to its full width
Statement of the Case.
(R. 17), but were unable to open it more than 18 or 24
inches (R. 18, 36-37). The baggage car attendant, a P.
— 2 (R. 63), had reported the defective con-
dition of the door to his superiors, but they had failed to
repair it (R. 17, 26). The mail sacks being loaded were
as large as 31 inches wide and 37 inches deep (R. 14).
The larger sacks filled with mail weighed 80 to 100 pounds
(R. 18). To get these large sacks through the 20 inch
opening in the door, petitioner was compelled to exert
unusual pressure, twisting the bags and endeavoring to
"force them through the small opening. In so doing he
injured his back (R. 18). On subsequent examination,
he was found to have sustained a ruptured intervertebral
disc, which eventually required a laminectomy, and re-
~ gulted in permanent disability (R. 79). |
The trial court directed a verdict for the P. & L. E.
finding it was not petitioner's employer within the Fed-
eral Employers’ Liability Act, and that there was no
diversity to support a common law claim (R. 78). The
jury returned a verdict for petitioner against the B. & O.
for $40,000 (R. 3). Motion for 9 n. o. v. was
denied (R. 78-81). | 7
On appeal by the B. & O., the l of the district.
court was reversed, in an opinion by Judge Goodrich,
with whom Judge Ganey joined. Judge Kalodner dis-
sented with opinion (R. 82-89). Petitioner petitioned for
a rehearing. The petition was denied, per Goodrich and.
Ganey, JJ., with Judges Biggs, Kalodner, Staley, and
Smith dissenting from the denial of rehearing. Judges
Hastie and McLaughlin took no part on the motion for
rehearing (R. 90).
— ofthe .—
I. „
en banc in the courts of appeals is to provide that the
active circuit judges shall determine the major doctrinal
trends of the future for their court. This purpose is
not served if a decision must stand though a majority
of the participating judges believe rehearing en banc
should be granted. Only an overly-literal reading of the
statute, 28 U.S.C. §46(c), can justify such a result,
and past decisions establish that this: statute need not
be read with such a debilitating literalness.
‘IL. The Court of Appeals thought that the issue
was whether the negligence of P. & L.E. could be imputed
to the respondent B. & O. In fact respondent should be
held liable for its own negligence, rather than for the
imputed negligence of e else. Respondent was
under a continuing non-delegable duty to exercise rea-
sonable care to provide a ployee in to work. This duty
exists even though the employee is required to perform
duties on the: premises of someone else. In the exer-
cise of reasonable care, respondent could, by inspection
or otherwise, have known of the defective door which
led to petitioner’s injury. It is chargeable, therefore,
with constructive knowledge of the defect, and with
negligence for failure to exercise reasonable care to
provide petitioner with a safe place to work.
| When s majority’ of the judges participating vote. /
to grant rehearing en banc, such rehearing should be/-
granted.
At the time in nn there were eight judges in
active service on the Court of Appeals for the
Circuit. Six judges participated in decision of the peti-
tion for rehearing en banc. Four judges voted ta grant
the petition. Two judges voted to deny the petition.
On those facts, it was held that the petition was denied,
on the ground that “a majority of the circuit judges-of
the circuit who are in active service” had not voted to
grant the petition, as seemingly required by 28 U.S. C.
846 (e). Such a holding may be supported by the literal
language of the statute, but this is a statute which has
‘not been, and should not be, read literally, when, as here
the result is contrary to the purpose of the statute.
a >
In its first decision upholding the right of the courts °
of appeals to sit en banc, this Court said that it was will-
ing to make a “sacrifice of literalness for common sense.”
Textile Mills Securities Corp. v. Commissioner of Inter-
nal Revenue, 314 U.S. 326, 334 (1941). A similar sacri-
fice is required here to avoid an absurd result. The
evident policy of 28 U.S.C. § 46(c), this Court has said,
is to provide that the active circuit judges shall deter-
mine the major doctrinal trends of the future for their
court. United States v. American-Foreign 8.8. Corp.,
363 U.S. 685, 690 (1960). This purpose is. effectively
thwarted if a decision can stand as the decision of the
court of appeals though four of the six judges who have
8 ine .
Argument.
connidered the matter are dissatisfied with it. What
precedential value would such a decision have? Should
district judges within the circuit follow the decision
when it is apparent on the face of the Federal Reporter
that there is a substantial likelihood that a different re-
sult will be reached in the future if the same question
should come.on before a different panel of the court of
appeals, or even before the full court? Such difficult
questions are avoided if the statute is construed sensibly
to mean that a majority of the participating judges are
to prevail, as is the case with every other matter com-
ing before a federal appellate court. |
This Court has already indicated that § 46 (c) is
not to be read literally, by specifically approving as a
possible practice grant of rehearing en banc by a ma-
jority of the three judges of the original panel. West-
ern Pacific Corp. v. Western Pacific R. Co., 345 U.S.
2247, 261 (1953). This is in fact the practice in at least
one circuit. See Rule 15(e), Eighth Circuit Rules; Note,
En Banc Procedure in the Federal Courts of Appeals;
111 U.Pa.L.Rev. 220. (1962). If, consistent with the
statute, the rull court can delegate to the three judges
af the panel the power to order or refuse rehearing, it
-is equally consistent with the statute for the court to
delegate this power to the six judges who participated
in decision of the motion for rehearing. There are many
reasons—iliness, absence from the circuit, statutory
disqualification—why a judge may take no part in de-
cision on a petition for rehearing. On the view taken
by tke court below, a judge who does not participate iu
any way is counted, in effect, as if he had voted to deny
| rehearing. Suppose, for example, that the proceedings
2
Argument.
in the district court in this case had been conducted by
one of the nonparticipating judges of the court of ap-
peals, sitting in the district court by assignment. There
is an absolute statutory bar against such a judge par-
ticipating in decision of the appeal. 28 U.S.C. § 47. Yet.
under the practice followed below, that judge would be
counted as if he had voted to deny rehearing of the de-
cision reversing his own judgment.
The construction which has been put on the —
sentence of 46 (c) is instructive. In the first legislative
draft of what is now 46 (e), the second sentence read:
A court in banc shall consist of all active judges pres-
ent and available in the circuit.” H.R. 3498, 79th Cong.
ist Sess. In the next draft, H.R. 7124, 79th Cong., 2d
Sess., this language was changed to the form in which
it was adopted, so that it read: “A court in banc shall
consist of all active circuit judges of the circuit.” Yet
this Court has said that the two drafts “did not differ
in any material respect,” Western Pacific R. Corp. v.
| Western Pacific R. Co., 345 U.S. 247, 254 (1953), and the
Third Circuit has held that the second ‘sentence is not
to be read literally, and that it can hear a case en banc
even though one of the judges in active service is away
from the circuit and not participating. Alltmont v.
United States, 177 F.2d 971 3d Cir. 1949). It is incon-
gruous to read the second sentence sensibly, in the face
of legislative history which would seem to suggest that
Congress deliberately excluded such a reading, while at
the same time making a fortress of the dictionary in con-
struing the first sentence of the same statute.
Under the rule in the Alltmont case, if rehearing
—
had been granted here, the case could have been heard
10
Argument.
the absence of Judges Hastie and McLaughlin, and a
vote of four-to-two for petitioner would have reinstated
his judgment. If all eight judges had participated after
rehearing was ordered, and four r judges or
petitioner on the merits, the contrary decision of the
panel would be superseded and his judgment affirmed.
Drake Bakeries, Inc. v. Local 50, American Bakery d
Confectionery Workers, 294 F.2d 399 (2d Cir. 1961),
affirmed 370 U.S. 254 (1962); R. C., 51 Harv.L Rev. 1287
(1931); Note, 111 U.Pa.L.Rev. 220, 229-230 (1962). Yet
he is here held to have lost when four judges voted in
his favor on the petition fpr rehearing. The leading stu-
dents of rehearing practices point to “a constant and
understandable tendency on the part of judges *.* * to
blend the question of granting rehearing with the ques-
tion of correctness of the prior decision.” Louisell &
Degnan, Rehearing in American Appellate Courts, 25
F.R.D. 143, 159 (1960). To the extent that the vote of
tour judges in favor of rehearing reflects, even in part,
a determination by them that the decision of the panel
was wrong and that the judgmert below should have
been ‘affirmed, the situation is indistinguishable from
that presented after rehearing has been granted, where
four votes for petitioner would have resulted in affirm-
ance of the judgment. We do not press that argument,
however, for at a minimum, the vote of the four judges
surely demonstrates their unwillingness to have the de-
cision of the panel, without further consideration, set
the law of the Third Circuit for the future. When a ma-
jority of the participating judges evidence such dissatis-
faction with a decision, the purpose of the rehearing
en banc statute demands that the rehearing be granted,
and the language of the statute is not to the contrary.
ety. 11 :
Argument. .
If it is permissible to construe “all active circuit judges
of the circuit” in the final sentence of 28 U.S.C. 46 (c
as meaning all active circuit judges who are not disquali-
fied or otherwise not participating, a similar construc-
tion is permissible, and required by common sense, in the
preceding sentence of that statute.
‘The Federal Employers’ Liability Act imposes on
an employer a non-delegable duty to exercise reasonable
care to furnish its employees a safe place to work, even
when they are off the employer’s premises, and con-
structive knowledge will be imputed to the employer of
any defect which would have been discoverable upon
inspection.
The issue on the merits in this case is whether a
railroad is liable to its employee where he is injured on
the premises of a third party because a defective condi-
tion on those premises creates an unsafe place to work.
The court below undertook to resolve that issue by con-
sidering whether the negligence of the third party is
attributable to the employer carrier as a matter of law..
It decided that it was not, in the circumstances of this
case, citing as sole authority for its decision the Second
Restatement of Agency. 303 F.2d at 598. Decisions of
this Court, and the courts of appeals, have made it plain
‘that refined concepts of common-law agency have no
place in the solution of the problem.
The question here is not whether the negligence of
a third party can be attributed to the employer, but
whether the employer is itself negligent in breaching its
non-delegable duty to exercise reasonable care to furnish
—
12. ,
Argument.
J, Nd
its e a safe place to work. It is settled that the
Federal Employers’ Liability Act, 45 U.S.C. § 51, imposes
such a duty on the employer, and that the duty is a con-
tinuing one which is not relieved by the fact that the
employee's work at the place in question is fleeting or
infrequent.. Bailey v. Central Vermont Ry., Inc., 319 U.S.
350, 353 (1943). It is settled, too, that the duty con-
tinues even when the carrier requires its employees to
go onto other premises to work, and that the carrier is
liable though the defect was in premises over which the
railroad had no control. Ellis v. Union — R. Co.,
329 U.S. 649 (1947). :
The most recent case from this Court in bent is
Herrie a. Pennsylvania R. Co., 361 U.S. 15 (1959), re- .
versing 168 Ohio St. 582, 156 N. E. 2d 822 (1959). Harris
was a Pennsylvania Railroad employee. He was ordered
out as a member of a wrecking crew to assist in retrack-
ing two cars which had left the tracks of the Nickel |
Plate Railroad. He was injured because of of] on a Nickel
Plute tie. There was no evidence that the Pennsylvania
placed the oil there, or knew of its existence. In the view
of the Ohio Supreme Court, this was enough to defeat
liability : ; ö |
Surely the defendant can hardly be held to the
duty of going over the premises of another railroad
with a fine tooth comb to discover every imperfec-
tion thereon before sending its employees there to
do a job for which they have been trained and where
they might expect to meet conditions to be found in ys
the operation of railroads generally.
168 Ohio St. at 587, 156 N.E.2d at 826. Two dissenters
in this Court took a similar position. 361 U.S. at 27. But
13
Argument.
the majority of this Court held that on these facts the
jury could, with reason, find that employer negligence
played a part in producing the injury, and reinstated
‘Harris's judgment against the Pennsylvania.
If the analysis adopted by the Third Circuit in the
present case had been employed in the Harris case,
Harris would have been denied recovery unless it were
found that the Nickel Plate was an agent of the Penn-
sylvania and thus that the negligence of the Nickel Plate
was attributable to the Pennsylvania. That is not the
analysis employed by this Court, in the Ellis and Harris
cases. It is not the analysis employed by the other cir-
cuits, which have held repeatedly that when a
sends its employee to work.ca promises not under the
railroad’s control, it is liable if it fails to exercise
able care to make sure that the employee is given a safe
place to work. Atlafitic Coast Line R. Co. v. Robertson,
214 F.2d 746 (4th Cir. 1954) ; Chesapeake & O. Ry.
Thomas, 198 F.2d 783 (4th Cir. 1952) Payne v.
more and Ohio R. Co., 309 F.2d 546 (6th Cir. 1962);
Kooker v. Pittsburgh & L. F. R. Co., 258 F.2d 876
Cir. 1958) ; Beattie v. Elgin, J. & E. R. Co., 217 F. 2d
(7th Cir, 1954); Terminal R. Ass’n of St. Louis v. Fitz-
john, 165 F.2d 473 (8th Cir. 1948) ; Denver d R. G. W. R.
Co. v. Conley, 203 F.2d 612 (10th Cir. 1961). In the
Terminal Railroad Association case, for example, the
plaintiff was injured while working on premises owned
and controlled by the United States. He was paid by the
railread but worked full time on government property
on a government engine. It was held that he was still an
employee of the railroad, within the Act, and that the
- railroad was liable where conditions on the premises
owned by the government created an unsafe place to
14 . 8 2 a cats
— "Argument.
Vork. An tei Cat Kocher ‘cain ths 5 ag in the |
present: case, occurred. at a point where tracks of the
B. 4 0. parallel tracks of the P. & L.E. Kooker, an em-
ployee of the P. K L.E., E., was walking on a customary path
_ &cross the tracks when he slipped on ice and was injured. _
The Sixth Circuit described evidence from which the
: could have found that Kooker slipped on a portion
of the path under the dominion of the P. & L. E., but went
on to say that this was not necessary:
But the duty of employer to provide his serv-
’ ants with a safe p to work is not so circum-
veribed and there are many federal cases which hold
_ that the obligation of an employer fnay extend be-
vond its premises and to property which third per-
sons have a primary o ligation to maintain.
ca 258 F.2d at 878. 5
Any othir rule would. ddprive railroad — of .
: much of the protection which the Act purports to give.
them. On the view taken by the Third Circuit, an em-
ployee required to work on the line of another carrier,
ceould not recover under the Act from the, other ‘drrier,
-. because he ig not an employee of that carrier. He could
not recover from his own empleyer in the absence of
some showing that the second carrier was an agent of
the employer. It is true, as respondent has suggested,
that such an employee would still have a common law.
right of action against the other carrier, but the Federal
common law remedies are not — protection for
e employees.
The fatal flaw in the agency 3 made by the
XY
~
_ °» Employers’ Liability Act ig premised on a belief that
Third Circuit has been wellexposed by the Utah Su-
wee Court:
\
4 i
\
U
me me ee 15
Argument.
: .. : \
What the employee ‘wants and needs is a rea-
sonably safe place to perforin his duties. He is not
concerned with and indeed cannot know the techni-
- calities of ownership, rental, lease or reciprocal:
exchange of facilities of an involved railroad sys-
tem. For him ‘td have the assurance of safety in
some phases of his work and to be exposed to danger
at his on risk and responsibility in others would be.
contrary to rekson. It might even be argued that
he could better fend for himself on the master’s .
premises where he was acquainted with his sur-
rounding than on premises of third parties with
which he is unfamiliar. The employer exercises
exclusive choice both as to the place of work and
control over safety factors. It is therefore not un-
reasonable to charge him with the m of provid-.
ing a sife plate to work. | :
ute v. Union Pacific. R. Co., 120 Utah 185, 193, 233
P.2d 332, 336 (1951). The Sixth Circuit has recently ex-
pressed a similar view:
Under FELA the employer is the one owing
tbe Wuty to the emplopee. The employee need not
look elsewhere for his protection. He has a right
under FELA to rely on his employer and none
other. When the employer delegates its duty, or
abdicates its control, the employer takes the risk,
= the employee.
Payne v. Baltimore and Ohio R. Co., 309 F.2d
546, 549 (6th Cir. 1962) ö a
a In Sinkler v. Missouri Pacific R. Co., 356 US. 326
(1958), this Court refused to permit an employer to
5
16
Argument.
—
on: avoid its — ae the Act by engaging ‘am
other railroad to perform part of its work. The deci-
Aion below would permit avoidance of responsibility by
sending the employees to work on another railroad.
Tue sound view, amply supported by the authorities.
already cited, is that the duty of the employer is tbe
same when he requires his employee to work on the
premises of another as it is when the employee is work‘
ing on the employer s premises. This duty is one of rea-
sonable ¢are, but it is settled in the cases that construc-
tive knowledge will be imputed to the employer, and
/ thus want of reasonable care found, if the defeet on the
premises to which the employee is sent would have been
discoverable upon inspection. The case most frequently
cited for this proposition is Beattie v. Elgin, J. d E. R.
Co., 217 F. 2d 863, 886 (7th Cir. 3 where * court
sald; grey 3
Inasmuch as plaintiff at the time of the nection ö
was in a place where his assigned duties required
him to be, defendant on the issue of ee he
chargeable with knowledge of the conditions ich
in the exercise of reasonable care it could have
ascertained. |
This is not, however, the only case nor even the earliest
case in point. In Schlueter v. East St. Louis Connecting
Ry. Co., 316 Mo.. 1266, 1282, 296 S.W. 105, 112 (1927),
many cases are cited and discussed in support of the ——
* proposition that a railroad company which runs its en-
gines and trains over tracks owned by another company
is bound to know and to see that those tracks are in a
5 asonably safe condition for use by its own employees,
and that constructive a of the defective track |
8
—
17
Argument. :
writ be attributed to the. employer when the pare wren
shows that the employer should; or could by the exercise
ol ordinary care, have ‘known of the defective condition.
A state court, in Van Horn v. Southern Pacific Co., 141
Cal.App.2d 528, 297 P.2d 479, 481-482 (1956), relied on
the Beattie case, above, for the proposition that re-
spondent had the duty to inspect the pathway and to
warn appeliant of any dangerous condition thereon of
which. respondent had knowledge, either actual or con-
structive.” In Chicago G. W. Ry. Co. v. Casura, 234 F. 2d
441, 448 (8th Cir. 1956), the court recognized a duty to
inspect the premises to which an employee is sent, and
| said that a railroad must use “ordinary care to discover ;
the unsafeness of the place in which plaintiff is required
to work and to use.ordinary care to have it made into a.
reasonably safe place.“ To the same effect see Chicago
G. W. Ry. Co. v. Smith, 228 F.2d 180, 184 (8th Cir. 1955),
and Denver d R. G. W. R. Co. v. — 613
L. 0th Cir. 1961).
The tailure of the door to open more than two feet,
the defect which caused petitioner’s injury, was in fact
known to the P. & L.E. and thus could, by inspection.
have beén discovered by the respondent B. & O. Just
before petitioner was injured, he talked about the’ door
with the P. & L. E. baggageman inside the car he was
loading. The baggageman told him that he had earlier
reported the defective condition of the door to his su-
periors, and that they had failed to repair it (R. 17, 26 2
. Responie nt has: argued heretofore that the rule
which we have described is applicable only where the
defect away from the employer s premises is of a cus-
tomary. and continuous condition, and does not apply
18
| | 8
where the employee is injured by a vient or unusual
defect. There is no such rule. Surely the grease on the
tie which caused Henry Harrie to fall was not à cu
tomary and continuous condition. Indeed the evidence
was very slim on which it was found that there was
grease on the tie at all. Yet Harris was permitted to
recover. Harris v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 361 U.S. 15
(1959). It is beyond belief that the ice and snow. on
_ which Donald Kooker slipped was a customary and con-
tinuous condition, but he too was allowed to recover.
Kooker v. Pittsburgh & L. I. R. Co., 258 F.2d 876 (C. A.
6th, 1958). The accumulation of ashes which caused the
derailment in which Ralph Payne died was caused by
rain during the night preceding the accident. Payne v.
Baltimore and Ohio R. Co., 309 F.2d 546, 548 (6th Cir.
1962).. The length of time the defect has existed is a
factor which the jury will consider in determining
whether the employer could, with reasonable care, have
discovered it, but that is all it is. Here the jury has con-
sidered the matter and determined that res dent
should, in the exercise of reasonable care, hade been
aware of the defective door which led to petitioner's in-
juries. Respondent is, therefore, liable, whether or not on
some nicety of agency law the actual knowledge of the
P. & LE. ‘can be imputed directly to the B & O.
: ar 19
Conclusion.
CONCLUSION
For the reasons stated, the judgment of the court
of appeals should be reversed, either with directions to
reinstate the judgment of the trial court for petitioner.
“ Te
Respectfully submitted,
CHARLEs ALAN WRIGHT
2500 Red River Street
Austin 5 Texas
JOHN Rurr ALM
510 Mahoning Bank Building
Youngstown, Ohio
Attorneys for Petitioner
JaMEs A. WRIGHT
434 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh 28 Pa.
James E. MCLAUGHLIN
606 Frick Building
Pittsburgh 19 Pa.
JAMEs P. McARDLE
606 Frick Building
Pittsburgh 19 Pa.
Of Counsel
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.