Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kennedy v. Silas Mason Co.

Supreme Court brief1948

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Dati

AS,

oS) Comes

is Sgt Benue ans

Boma:

Cp

” PETITION FOR WRIT OF PF CERTIORARI.

: Sommary Statement ot The Matters Involved

—

aca ita Gs Yor AN ok Toa Witt .

- wewonaXDUN BRIEP IN SUPPORT OF PE-

\

\

eo

<

68.

5

a

OTIMION

é se .

_ AUTHORITIES CITED. |

: : Albena ¥. King-and Booser, $10 U. 8. La

oh Armour & Company ¥. ‘Wanjock, 328 U. S. 126.

-- -Bell v. Porter, 159 Fed, (24), ——

Brooks v. U. 8. 267 U: S. 482; 45 8. Ct. 345. es

Buckstaff Company v. ‘McKinley, 808 U.S. 858 ~

+ Caminetti v. U. 8. 242 U. 8: 470; BY S: C192

ne Champion v, Ames, 188 U. 8. 821; 288, Ct 821

Crabb v. Welden Bros., 65.F. Supp. 369.

- Garey v. U. 8, 14 U. | eaeeeves Stee Wig

"Finerty v. Bryan, Ind, 16N. E. (2a) "882, $83.

ut Gordon v.B S., (1896) 81 Ct. Cl. 254;. (1908) 26

Op. J Att. Gen. 404... 7

oo .

a ‘ :

. -

» , se «4

2 ‘Pages —

:

“2

mes 4

.

AUTHORITIES CrTED—(Continaed)

ae seuechinnin 5.

i Reid v. Colorado, 187 U. S. 187; 28.8. Ct 92 po

= Sim v. State, 254 N.Y.S, 160,161; 142 Mise. 159...

~< Skidmore y. Swift & Company, 228 U.S. at 1

Statutes: 1. I. Judicial Code, See: 240 (a), Title 28, ae

‘. Keb ot Taly 1940 (Public No. 703, ee

64 Stat. 712, 5 U.S.C.A. 189-a) a

| “8, Fair’ Labor ‘Standards : Act of June

ee. oe "25, 1988 (c-676; 52: Stat. 1000, 2 29 .

USCA. 201) - nee

Swisher ¥-U. 8. 67 Ct. Cl. 123. ia ae

a

Timberlake v. Day & tinineman, ine, 49 F. Sopp oe

. -Umthum 9 Vv. Sel & Zimmerman, Ine. '16 N. Wy. (24) e. 2 :

” 258. a | Eyl 11

"United States v. Hill, 248 US. 3 4205 39S. Ct. 143. M4 i

=

» > —e

\ : IE VA “3

oo e \ ea ’ hee

i o\ - F °

= 6 7 = ;

; Saat : A. 5 ;

7 ~ \ a o? Pi

2 ~~ Sin erne 4 ¢ op . ee

= a - . : ‘ 3 : _ . : ee Ase : ; 2h. <

Sets : «: a 3 ‘oe ie bs) Ne tee aN 2 Fey sg ‘

- 6 z : a » \ : - i ; : 3 > "2 4 be 24 ;

. i ne : ? 2 ys ae ° . 6 ae

Wer. = b Se . 3 3 ‘@% : ‘ . x 3. ‘ss : é Z 3 .

; Ae fe oe va Ck oh . Peary . Foes yg ee : Je

¢ . ' } .

S ' 4 -. , re °

y Bri: . _ 6 z ae AS : *

Ae Rx et Shae x ; Faas ae

mani % f U ts J - \ oom

‘ ~ - °

, % :

| "HARRIS KENNEDY, ft gS ca 4

= neti ee — a

"sILAs MASON ‘COMPANY, Pe .

pany

ae

peeves |

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE 2

__ UNITED STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

To the Honirable the Chief Juation and Aavosate Justion

of the Supreme ‘Court of the United States:

“Your petitioners; Harris Kennedy, Howard Sweatt, — et

L. M. Williams, William S. Jones, Harry Johnson and. |}

James E. —_ praying for writ of certiorari, eacuad eee

show: ao oe

ee + SUMMARY STATEMENT OF THE - a ae

_ MATTER INVOLVED, ee Ne. ;

Petitioners (not. firemen) sh aeons poo ote : =

alties, ant. | pemeai fom, said to “be due them under the ee

_\ment, ind that Silas Mason. Company. shipped out

| _ eee sa the Reames ees 2 2 which -

* "the condhet of the war: (R-2y 21). Petitioners’ work re-

ae The plant and equipment used in the-products, activities, —

, _as well as goods worked on; were the ptoperty of the United —

| 2a tn a 8 (e606, 82

"Stat, 1060, 29 USCA. 2 ), by the Silas Mason Company,

operated this facility for the Government under the con.

ventional’ wartime “cdet-plus-s-fixed-fe contract, and it.

was during the operation of thir facility, | making mm

-itions for war, that petitioners worked. *s Ae .

; A motion for summary judgmienp was bythe:

Silas Mason Company (R-19), setting out that /plant.

belonged to the Government, the title to the raw. materials

' processed into munitions was at all times in:the.Govern-’,

munitions upon orders of the-Government, for the prdee

cotien of the war by the Governioent sod #9 ol ‘The

Ht Wan mapeneat Gat thls was Oss jiged wartime >

. “cost-plus-a-fixed-fee” contract: At this 7 suttebaiae

“ceteed in the maniatacture, fabrication, and loading'af

shells, munitions, bombs and other materials and products, -

which were shipped out of the state of Loyisiana during, :

i.

lated to the manufacture of these munitions» ‘{R-8, 21).

States (R-21) ; ‘and the contract, pursuant to which the -

; Silas Mason Company constructed and operated the plant,

a _ Manon: ee ene :

ustitusé employees of contractor? (R-45, 118). The / ©. .

as to receive specified fees frém the'contract =~

dit: nto reimbursement ‘for costs (R-21), the _

“ contpac Steinar gorepper Chel

-ighte therefrom any amount found as a res Tyee a

« Plegotiation to represent! excessive profits

A contract contemplated compliance by‘t Silas Mason Com -

*.pany with*various federal and state egul:

applicable to private employers, such as complying, ap- :

- (propriate situations, with the Eight Hour Law (R-88, 39, ° ~

| 40; 41,48) and with the Walsh-Healey Act (R-47, 51, 116). —

| Compliance with the Social*Security Aet was required be

: cause included among the reimbursable costs (R-54).

} en iy cas ada Gs ee te

. Workmen’s Compensation Laws and to “procure all neces-

sary permits and licenses, obey and abide by all applicable

~ laws, regulations and ordinances and other rules of the

-. United States-of America, of the state, territory or sub-

Sop cmd pee watery C0). The Sian en

_duly constituted public authority”. (R-75). The Silas -

Mason Gompany bought thé raw materials in. the open —

: . market, but under. the contract .(R-73). “it was stipulated .

“ that title vested in the Government from the moment, of

= —- Silas Mason Company. eee.

+ Bs

~~

~—

. =" J

-He - = are ZENE, an

: >

Bp Phe erveaoprage irr

by the petitioners for transportation outside the state.of

Louisiana did not constitute {interstate commerciy within“

_, the meanja of the Fair Labdr Standards Act, because the

8 goods were the property af thé-JInited States during their i

. manufacture and interstate transportation (R-282, 289). -

_ the Fifth Cnn Got of hype ti yn

“ing with the datrit judge that the petitionins re

Se “engaged in: the. produetion af goods for commerce

ee Fifth Cireuit Court of Appeals additionally held/that the

| Se Mason Compe ws Dit an indent oe acta

eee ~ because the Government exercised a con’ 3

and the. Government, being under the authority |

: Congress. of July 2, 1940 (Public No, 708, 54 St

‘entitled “ Ari“ Act. to Expedite the Strengthening '

sal Defense”), petitioners, were. therefone acjually m

actual Phelea! pomsnien of the ultimate consumer ‘there

eee

ot ai a te prota mec emer

“ing (R-262).. nee hes

prea st 7 : _ JURISDICTION. etl

: "i siglo, pens hh: Ch Os eel

of Appeals was entered. December 12, 1947 (R-251); the -~ :

per Fettelng rovenring wg yenderd ox: Jennary

15, 1 (R269). Ske pie

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under Sec- bps

ie ‘on 4a th Sal Gea edad Ae oF |

s ruary 18, 1925 (Title 28, U:8.C.A.. 347). | |

ee QUESTIONS PRESENTED. . ee ae ae

| sin qeeathion peamaladare,

on toe c/n Whither: weeiilate predueid ina, Goren: e

"ment facility by a “cost-plus-a-fixedYee” contractor with

- the.Government, for shipment out of the United States, ©

_P tly Cer nd ili he retin

of the laté war, are are ene ——

| Fair Labor Standards Act. :

oe “2 Whether munitions of wat, proiueed'in'

fealty belénging to the ‘Government, by a “cost-plus-a-

— 2” contractor, . m raw materiale, title to ch

+ without written crn, ge Hu a again : oo.

o , o>,

. . :

gs

. m =":

» “a

ho eet arpa Subsidiary to the question immediately

"TL above is whether or not the merely constructive possession,

“/.-. mate consumer provision create the exemption, eek.

ag July 2, 1940 (Public No. 703, 64 Stat. 712, 5 USC, Ko , ;

'

I.

-

; - mechanics, within the mieaning of the Act of July 2, 1940

_ <. (Publie No. 708, 54 Stat, 712, 5 U.S.C.A., 189-8).

\ i | phe

~~". gn contractor, or merely an agency of the United States —

of “eqmmerce”, looked to the ultimate purpose of, or the

| “end use of, the munitions; and finding that’ to be “war”, :

“<2 aid that “war” and “commerce” are not synonymous, it _

ah te be ae : fast ces , ; oF:

fois oo

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT.

‘Petitioners amign ax reasons for the truance of

' a writ of certiorari the following: may. |

.. °. 4 Phe issues presented are of.

public importance, due to the fact that mucli }

Uatertal wan produced during ‘ie war by “costplu-e. Ne

_* fixed-fee” ‘contractors, under identical or similar condi- — ¥

rice mane Wut tomes gpg

: volving hundreds, if sot thousands, of litigants, presenting eso

problema here; and it is of prime-importance that the |

en dy a tte en fe .

+.

: 2. ‘The decision 4 d herein by the. Fifth

-Gireuit: is contrary to the of the Seventh Circuit; .

"in the case of Bell v. Porter,-159-F: 2d 117, where the .

Court specifically held that munitions produced under like

cireumstantes. wore ctenmere, within the messing of the ——

"Fair Labor Standards Act. .. ae S 3

. " 3. ‘The ‘doclalon below tn comic: with- rele

- vant decisions of thi Court, in ite holding that a ‘‘cost- an 7

: plus-a-fixed-fee” gontractor, engaged’in the production of. -_.

| munitiona, was mere agency of the United States Gov- Ss

"ernment, conflicting with the decisions of this Court ifithe

cases of Alabama v. King qnd Boozer, $10 0. S. 1; ‘Buck-

ae McKinley, $08 U. S. 58; Curry-v. us,

4

an 818 U_S: PoOUe NG, AS 2s

ree... Tbe Fifth Cireuit has that. this

plow-a-fizpd-fea” ontract, similar to others if

oe /

7 : E ol on e . r

ee eae overnr Tuy the war, was not governed -

‘quoad the workers by xe provisions of the Wage & Hoyr

- Law, but, to the i , by the Act of Congress of July’

|. 2, 1940 (Public No. 703;-54 Stat. 712, 5 U.S.C:A., 189-a),” .

: holding, in effect, that these-employees were employees of e

the War Department of the United States. This is the first

time any ‘court has said this. Thus there is presented the .

: important issue as to whether war workers, under a “cost- .

| plus-e-fixed-fee” cimtvactor, are entitfed to the benefit of:

"the Wage &-Hour Law. < a eee

‘ WHEREFORE, your pititionera saaiaaniaiy pray

--that a ‘writ of certiorari be issued out of and under the

geal of this Honorable Court, directed to the United States —

Cireuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, command-

"ing that Court to certify and send to this Court for its re-__

view and determination, on, a. day certain to be named:

ee therein, a full and complete transcript of the récord ‘and :

"all proceedings in the case No. 11,976, antitled on its docket

“Harrie Kennedy, et al, Appellants, versus “Silas Mason —

/ Company, Appellee”, and that said judgment of the said

., Circuit Court of Appeals may be reversed by this Honor.»

" ‘ble Court, and that your petitioners may have such other >

and further relief in. the premises’ as to thts. Honorable -.

| Court may seem mest and just} and for such other reliet

eee ee ¢ ‘

¢

; LEONARD LLOYD LOCKARD

Attorney for Petitioners. | Ae

904 Ardis Bldg. : eS

. Shreveport, La. ~

* a

. oe

” MEMORANDUM BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION as

| MoR WRIT OF, CERITORARL _

May it please the Court: wns a

“1 ike decision of the Cirentié Court of Appeals has

not bebn’ reported’ but begins at pagp 251 of the record. —

_ Jurisdiction of this Court ii invoked under Section 240(a)

MERE a oe EY a EY

18, 1925 (Title 28, U.S.C.A., 347). a

cee A statement of the case 1s found at pages 1 to 5

_ of the foregping gpplication. SSA oe

oS nage ASSIGNMENT OF ERRORS

ee [Ss ‘The Coutt elow errlffin finding that-com-

‘merce was: not involved in. this case ‘within the meaning

\ of the Fait Labor Standards Aet Law;- et ’

ale he Cote erred in ia ‘conclusion thet the + ‘

: munitions of war. involved herein were not “‘goods” with- .

in sub-paragraph “i”. of Section 3 of the Fair Labor —

ae es

s : < Se Goth ated tn seadlietonh the ae

"> ployees a ‘ “cost-plus-a-fixed-fee” contractor producing -

+ miynitions for. the- United States Government, were not. -

"covered by’ the Fair Labér Standard Act but by provisions

CAS ee ee resid ig eae eeaun cia saad :

180m; Se ie

we ie Mentied ond ati: ne ‘that Silas

# Mason Company, "a twas a ylere agency of, the”

ies of the U tates; |

‘ e :

ae ey slates ek ao. °

10.

, & The Court erred tn locking. to the’ end wee:

fe or ultimate purpde af the goods produced as a test under 3

: the Fair Labor Standards Act, oe ln a

sét out or implied in the act; 7 es

oe is Caer wed be cdacilig Unk ening

i eel eis ia a a a :

~ ARGU =

| The public ,in ortance of the ini iene we

this application ¢ can scarcely’ be overstated. During the

7

last war. the government expended forty billion dollars of .

: its total war effort t6 obtain war supplies through the med- -..

dum of “coat-plus-ti-fixed-fee”, contracts similar to ths in e i

"this case (see : report of the Judiciary Committee in.connec- _

. * tem with the Portal to Portal Act of 1947). -Out of that __

By immense business have arisen multitudes of claims like the - :

‘Sone asserted here, and the lower federal courts a are: now aE

busily engaged i in the disposition of them. These cases’ are

‘being variously degided in thé United States -Distriet

'Coviets and “in the state courts. This Court has-had to

deal with cases arising out of similar circumstances as

: > manifested ini the case of Armour & Co. v. Wantock, 823 _

ae, and the case of Skidmore v. Swift & Co., $23

_ U.S. 184. Among the cases involving similar issues that

are, or have been, in the United States on Courts and

the state courts, we refér to: ee alae F

i e n \ i ¢ a ke ~

. 4 Ps .

. . A " < ae Y 2 : - - a

* ‘ey. ° -

. wes Y e by %

: ‘ Z

;

4“. ° . . nd . ?

: a / @

Bed: Se ° is ‘ ' . y / -

* } i a 2 \ ; .

Umthun ». Day & Zimerman, Ie, 16NW

‘ (@d) 258. .

d jase sy “Timberlake v. Dey & Zimmerman, ne, 49 F.

Supp. 28.

" Lasater Herewles Powder Con 7 WH.

Cases 150: _ spat datba

lee v. St. Johns River 7 Shiphling Co, 69

ee soe tee

Barksdale v. Ford; Baker & Davis, 70 F. ‘Supp.

690.

Deal & Co. v. Leone’, 196 S.W. ) 991.

ere "Steward v. Kaiser Co., 71 F. ‘Stipp. 551.

‘Anderson v. Federal Cartridge Corp., 7 W.A.

-:, Cases is: os

Matlock v. itenlioriees & Porter, 6 ee Hour

Report. 917.

Crabb v. Welden Bros, 65 id Supp. 369.

This is 5 simply illustrative. The issues thus raised. here 7

“are alive—current,. and a devision by this. Court would be _.

Most useful j in the administration of the law. aa

a6

ee. “TM United States Circuit Court of Appeals for the’

Seventh Circuit, in the case ‘of Bell w Porter, 159 F. att

(2d) 117, did squarely reach a position’on the issue of

: . “commerce” — contrary to die — reached by

~

Se ‘complainants on-the issue of “‘commmierce”, , it found against

-. “-was-not’ work time: within the méaning of the Wage &

ee. this Court in recalling the writs without a hearing, but ©

ee : :. 2

the Fifth Circuit in this case. theta ned”

"writ should be granted herein in order.to resolve this con-

‘flict between the circuits.; We observe, of course, that |

‘this Court, after granting a writ of ‘certiorari in the Bell

v. Porter cage, . did later reverse itg position and. recall”

_ the writs without a hearing (67 S. Ct. 1092). But we

- note that in this case, while the circuit court found with.

them on the merits, holding that sleeping. time of firemen.

: ‘Hour Law (petitioners were not firemen). We have ‘no

way of knowing whether. that: or other reasons actuated 3

we make bold to , Suggest, as illustrative ‘of the need of .

clarifying this law, that i v. Porter had been taken

‘and decided, this application and others, doubtjess = :

‘made and to follow, would be unnecessary. <i A

ae ‘Mareover, the contract with Silas Mason Gompaniy et

- here was typical (see opinion of the District Judge in this

"case, R-222) of the’ multitude of other “cost-plus-a-fixed- .

’ fee” contracts entered into by the goverriment, aspects of —

‘which this Court has considered. ‘While not précisely pre-_-

‘senting the-same issues, the decision below is apparently

contrary to: ‘the ruling of this Court that “cost-plus-a-fixed-.

- fee* contractors are not agents or instrumentalities of the

United States, pantionarsy the following cases: =

>

| : Zi ” my .

ee + 2 AS ee x

“A :

‘ 18.

lala King and Beane $10 US. 1.

Aaa Buckstaff Co. v. ‘McKinley, 308 Us. 358.

See? Curry % US. $14 U.S. 1h.

| Penn Dairies v. Milk Contd Commission, $18

US. 861. :

a

* "The decision of the court that: the eerie law

was the Act of July 2, 1940 (Public No. 708, 54 Statutes

712, 5 U.S.C.A. 189-a, entitled An Act to Expedite the —

Strengthening of National Defense”) was an extremely ee

important, ruling, the effect being that the Wage.& Hour.

Law of 1938 was supergeded : and set aside as to employees ©

of the “cost-plus-a-fixed-fee” contractor for the govern-

ment. This is the first time this view has been projected by

any court. Tt presénts an important problem connected with -

interpretation*of the Wage & “Hour Law. If, indeed, on

this point the Fifth Cireuit is correct, it would be disposi- ;

tive of ‘the gréat mass of cases with identical issues now |

— through the federal courts.

This Act of July 2, 1940 provides, { in ‘Sethe 4

: thereof, only for. “laborers and mechanics”: Petitioners

_are described as being either safety inspectors or foremen, =o

— in the category of laborets and ehscmmcces |

‘Swthr US, tC. 128. ae ioe

| 28 Op. ‘Att. Gen, 404 ee

*

«

©

Sim v. State, 254 N.Y.S. ‘150, 151; 18 Mise.

159. fet | =

i, ers

mee ss

fi Finerty » Bryan, Ind. 16 ‘NE. Cr 882, 88s.

38 not:-within the stage We waster i mechanics, “

this Act of July 2, 1940 ‘a. mere pro tanto repeal of the

. Wage & Hour Law, or did it make the Wage & Hour Law

completely | unavailable in the situation we ‘have here?

‘Those are issues that only this Court ean retolve with such,

ney ag | to set — at rest... 3 ,

y, . .

&

: Pinal, the Court of Appeals tak the view Ut

" “ag these munitions were made for war, which might be ,

the very antithesis of commerce, there was no commerce

" within the meaning of the Wage & Hour Law. In that .

connection the Fifth Circuit set’ up and invented!’ wholly |

-arbitrary standard not supplied by the Act. Implicit in ©

-- that decision is the notion.that to be commerce the. product:

| manufactured must be for’ “trade and traffic”, and that .

* alone. The definition in the Wage & Hour Law is much |

'\> broader. The narrow conception of commerce as beihg

ee confined to trade and traffic has, in‘other situations,.been

= rejected by this Court, e.g. Caminetti v. U.S., 242 U.S: 4703

ne 87. S. Ct. 192 (women for immoral purposes) ; ; Champion: :

v: Ames, 188 U.S. 321.28 S. Ct. 321 (lottery tickets);

Reid v. Colorado, 187 US. 137; 23 S. Ct. 92 (diseased —

~ stock) ; United States v. Hill, 248 U.S. 420; 39 S. Ct. 143

. (intoxicating liquors) ; Brooks v is S., 267° U.S. 482; 45 :

S.Ct. $45 (8b

124;. 56.8.CE

. nape per ‘There ia nothing :

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.