Opposition Brief — Griffin v. McCoach
Supreme Court brief1941
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
CS
*
—
1
17
—— —
st GROPLEY
CLERK
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
| „October Term, 1940
9
No. 755
J. Ros Gamrnt, Administrator with Will Annered of the
Estate of Robert D. Gordon, Deceased, Petitiuner,
vs.
Joun D. McGoacn, Trustee. 0
_ BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION TO
THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
8
8 B. CALLAWAY,
Attorney for Respondent.
Frank C. Brooks, 36
Of Counsel.
BLANK PAGE |
‚— — PZ+ꝶ]„»n ee ee ee eee eee ee eee „„ eee ee ee
The 8 Should Be Determined by th
the State of New Vork
ͤ—V—w— ̃ ꝶꝶ“ũꝛ: 2223
Conclusion
—y[— BG =K=ũ— ³ꝛ 3j 6
rr.
2 2
Petey ae
14
5
— . cae Renee aa ae ee
2
*
3
ea 222 ⁵˙ mA g MT ga Mapes Er <3
— - — ah Se. * RLS 2
Table of Cases Cited
9 Page
American National Ins. Co. v. Smith, 13 S. W. Boys
RRA iran ta car ok ea Cac Pe Es pe ee
Bond v. Hume, 243 U. S. ee eae eee 5 11
Cheeves v. Anders, 87 Tex. 28ù)7777ß 8
Equitable Life Ass. Soc. of the U. S. v. Aaron, 108
%%%%%%¼S ͤ Sead ventlgnnverntioten
Erie Railway Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U. S. 64 5, 6,
Giant-Powder Co. v. Oregon Pacific Ry. Co., 42 F. 470
Grigsby v. Russell, 222 U. S. 149 f
Kansas City Life, Ins. Co. v. N 21 F. S. 159 — 4
Malloy v. New Vork Life Ins. Co „ 103 Fed. (2d) 439
Manhattan Life Ins. Co. v. Cohen, 139 S. W. 51 5,
Merrielles v. State Bank of Keokuk, 24 S. W. 564.
Midland Nat'l Bank of Minneapolis v. DeSoto Life
Fee, Si eet. Be BO .. 7.
Mutual Benefit, Health and Accident Ass’n v. Bow-
1 ag te I ia diva sc sesaesack Snide recta enetensstaeyess
New York Life Ins. Co. v. English, 95 Tex. een
Pendleton v. Great Southern Life Ins. Co., 273 Pace.
NE Sete eb hak ⁵mwm ... ean een iieee
. Restatement of the Law of Conflict of Laws, Sec. 332
Restatement of the Law of Conflict of hb Sec. 347
© contre ona
—
2
S O G
Seiders v. ere Life 2 of the United States,
%%
Sharp v. American Nat'l Ins. Co., 126 8. W. (2d) 50 11
Steinback v. Diepenbrock, 37 N. X. S. 279; 158 N. V.
Ir 22222 eee. 11
Walker v. Goetz, 218 8. W. 569 . . .. . . . 10
Warnock v. Davis, 104 U. S. 77 9 11
Wilke v. Finn, 39 S. W. (2d) 836 8 e 8
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
7 es October Term, 1940
No. 755
Estate of Robert D. Gordon, Deceased, Petitioner,
vs.
JohN D. Moos, Trustee.
BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION TO
THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
I.
STATEMENT OF THE case
The following facts should be considered in connection
with the summary statement of the case made by petitioner.
the Prudential Insurance Company in their answer asked
that the proceeds of the policy be adjudged in favor of
John D. McCoach, Trustee (R. 2), and the assignees of
the defendants named asked that judgment be rendered
in favor of John. D., McCoach, ‘Trustee. (R. 9.) The rec-
ord does not show that McCoach; Trustee, claimed as trus-
tee for the three assignees instead of the original members
& 3 |
J. Ros Cairn, Administrator with Will Annexed of *
John D. McCoach, Trustee, was the named beneficiary |
“of the policy of insurance, whose proceeds are in contro-
versy. The defendants in the bill of interpleader filed by
*
—
2
zof the syndicate, but only that in the event he recovered
the proceeds, that he intended to pay over to each of the
assignees their pro rata share. (R. 9.) This is not a suit
‘filed by a citizen of one state against a citizen of another,
but an interpleader suit (R. 2), arising out of an action
filed by petitioner, :
ish I.
ARGUMENT
Petitioner’s six points fall into two classifications: (a)
That the contract involved in this proceeding is a Texas
contract; and (b) that regardless of where the contractual
rights arose, that the trial court by virtue of sitting in
Texas, must apply an alleged public policy of the State
of Texas. They will be answered in that form:
THE CONTRACT IN CONTROVERSY IS NOT A
TEXAS CONTRACT .
There are three contracts or agreements . in
this controversy:
1. The principal contract and the one in controversy _
is the insurance policy issued by the Prudential Insur-
ance Comp&ny of America, and this is conceded to be a
‘New York contract: (This will hereafter be referred to
as the insurance contract.)
2. The second contract which is considered is the agree- |
ment made between Robert D. Gordon and Alfred D.
Leonard, Max I. Brenwasser, George B. Cody, Nathan
Schweiger, John D. McCoach, Frederick W. Mead, and
Julius A. Bates. This is the contract which appellant con-
tends is a Texas contract. ( This will 5 be referred
to as the agreement.)
8. The third contract is in reality three contracts, being
the assignments from Max I. Brenwasser to Harry G. Nel-
. ge, from Julius Ay Bates to George E. Bradnack, and
from Alfred D. Leonard to his son, LeRoy E. Leonard. It
is conceded that all of these assignments were made in the
State of New York, and that all parties involved in the
assignments were citizens of the State of New York. (These
will hereafter be referred to as the assignments.)
The fund which is the subject of controversy in this
cause was paid into the registry of the court by virtue
of the insurance contract issued on the life of Robert D.
Gordon. Any recovery of the fund must be based on the
terms of that contract. Petitioner does not base any of
his rights of recovery upon the terms of this contract.
His contention is that the agreement which was made
by virtue ef correspondence between Gordon in Texas and
the parties in New York, was a contract made in Texas.
This may or may not be true, but he is not claiming any
right of recovery by virtue of the terms of this agreement.
This is not an action to enforce the agreement but to
determine the proper party to recover under the insurance
Contract.
Petitioner clajms no right of recovery by virtue of the in-
surance contract nor by virtue of the agreement, but only
by virtue of the assignments to which he was not a party.
His contention, briefly, is that when the agreement was
made, which is possibly governed by the laws of the State of
Texas, in regard to the New York insurance contract, that
this agreement so affected the original insurance contract
that when subsequent to the agreement, assignments of
——
—— er RP Se PM
— — . —ͤ —
—— 3
.
0 4 5 *
2 2
interest under the insurance contract were vee that these
ents would vest in him some interest.
) : Petitioner contends that the assignments would have been
Ws ed if made in Texas, but e does not contend that any-
ö ing was done within the State of Texas which is for-
„ bidden by or frowned upon by the legislative enactments
* bol this State or the decisions of the State Courts. Every
4 ee _ act complained of by ‘petitioner is not only proper under
ö the laws of the State where performed, but is sanctioned
be by the laws of that State. His contentions are based upon
the assumption that it ‘was necessary to adjudicate the
issues of this case by virtue of the agreement, and not
by virtue of the terms of the insurance contract. All of
the funds in eontroversy wére derived from the insur-
ance contract, and this is admittedly a New York con-
tract and governed by the laws of that State. All that the
Circuit Court of Appeals has decided in this case is that
i where the rights of the parties.in a gontroversy are fixed
| by virtue of a contract entered into under the laws of the
| State of New York, that the rights of the parties under
that contract will, be enforced in accordance with the laws
of the State of New York. : 8
| There is no question involved in this proceeding as to
g the right of the parties to enforce the agreement which
‘is contended to have been made in Texas..The only point
in controversy is who is entitled to receive the proceeds
of the insurance policy. The only thing that was ever done
in Texas in regard to the insurance policy was that while
the insured was living in the State of Texas, he agreed
with the beneficiaries living in the State of New York
that the beneficiary of the policy should be changed. A
ayy Mae
a new contract but only an amendment to the pre-existing
contract, and does not Kons the situs of the original
contract. Pendleton v. Great Southern Life Insurance Co.
(Sup. Ct. of Oklahoma), 278 Pac. 1007. The agreement to
change the beneficiary or to assign part of the proceeds
of the property are separate and independent contracts
. and are governed by the laws of the State where made.
Manhattan Life Insurance Co. v. Cohen, 189 S. . 1.
The fact that some separate independent contract may be
governed by the laws of the State of Texas does not affect
the fact that the principal insurance contract is governed
by the laws of the State of New York.
The assignments made in New York are New York con-
tracts and are valid. They are independent of the agree-
ment claimed to be made in Texas and add en. to that
agreement.
Unless petitioner can show. that the agreement in Texas
makes both the insurance contract and the assignments
subject to the law of the State of Texas his contentions
fail. This he has not neal : :
THE ISSUES SHOULD BE DETERMINED BY THE
LAW OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK :
Petitioner has misinterpreted the decision of the Circuit
Court and the rule laid down i in Erie Railway Company v.
Tompkins, $04 U. S. 64. The Courts of the United States
are required to regard the laws of the several ‘States as
rules of decision in cases where they apply but this does
not require the Courts of the United States to necessarily
apply the laws of the States where they are sitting. Ordi-
|
change of beneficiary in a life insurance policy is not
ee ——
P ;
2
5 1 : 2 7
| ‘warily this will be so because the cause a: action arose
1 in that jurisdietion, but it is not the rule set up to guide
the Courts. As a general rule, a contract is governed by
the law of the State where made, and the law of the State
where made determines. all questions in regard to the ca-
pacity to contract, the illegality of the contract, ete. (Re-
statement of the Law of Conflict of Laws, Sec. 332, 3
= and the forum applies the law of the State wher€ the con-
N tract is made. This Is the Texas rule. This is also the
. Texas rule in regard to insurance contracts. A |
4 : National Insurance Co. v. Smith (writ of error refused),
|
18 S. W. (2d) 720-722.
In Seiders v. Merchants Life Association of the United
1 States (Sup. Ct. of Texas), 98 Ter. 194, the Court applied
te law of the State of Missouri when it found that the
i insurance contract inyolved was a Missouri contract, re-
i gardless of the fact th the insured and beneficiary re-
4 sided in Austin, Texas, 5 the company had a permit
and was doing business in the State of Texas. In New
York Life Insurance Co. v. English (Sup. Ct. of Texas), 95
Tex. $91, the Court applied the statutory law of the State of
New York when it found that the policy was a New York
i : contract, even though the policy was issued on the i of
a citizen of the State of Texas.
As stated by this Court in the Erie case, the statute
1 under consideration (Section 34, Federal Judiciary Act
15 ii . olf September 24, 1789), attempts to promote uniformity
at ok law throughout the United States. The position taken
3 by the petitioner results in the very ‘antithesis of this
aim. If the Courts sitting in each of the other 47 States
a: are to be forced or allowed to wholly disregard the law of
*
7
the State of New Vork dealing with an admitted New
Vork contract, and apply the law of the States in Which c
they are sitting, instead of there merely being disharmony
between the decisions of a State Court and tle Federal
Court sitting in that State, there is a possibility of 47
different interpretations of the laws of the State of New-
Vork. Such a contention is neither within the spirit nor
the letter of the Erie case. The Courts of the United States
since the decision in the Erie case have consistently held
that regardless of where the Court is sitting, when a con-
tract is involved which arose and is governed by the laws
of one State, that the law of the State which begot the
contract ‘will be applied. Mutual Benefit, Health and Acci-
dent Association v. Bowman, 304 U. S. 549.
- Whenever policies of insurance are issued and delivered
in certain States they become contracts of that State and
are governed’by the laws of that State. Equitable Life As-
surance Society of the United States v. Aaron, 108 Fed.
(2d) 777, 778; Malloy v. New York Life Insurance Co.
(writ of certiorari denied, $08 U. S. 572), 108 Fed. (ad)
439, 448.
There is no a between what was done by the
Cireuit Court and what would have been done in the Courts
of the State of Texas. The only contention that petitioner
raises that would take the instant case out of the Texas
Conflict. of Law rule, as announced above, is on the basis
of public
Petitioner insists that certain actions in this cause are
against the public policy of the State of Texas.
“It is easy to say a thing is against public policy,
but that does not make it so. Public alien qs manifest-
*
8 ae —
Sr
a —
4a by public acts, legislative and judicial, and not pri-
ate opinions, however-eminent.” (Giant-Powder Com-
pany v. Oregon Pacific Railway Co., 42 F. 470, 474.)
There has been no statute enacted by the Legislature of
the State of Texas which would prohibit a recovery by
the respondent in this cause. The only thing which can :
be used to determine if there is a public policy, as stated
by the petitioner, are the decisions of the Courts of the
State of Texas. ae ; =
“Petitioner does not cite a single Texas case which holds
that in a situation of this sort that the Texas Courts would
not allow this respondent to recover as beneficiary under
the policy. As shown above the cere, Texas rule is con-
trary to this contention. ee
~Petitioner relies upon Wilke v. Finn, $9 S. W. (2d) 836,
and Cheeves v. Anders, 87 Tex. 287. Those.cases deal, how-
ever, only with Texas contracts, and do not discuss the
point involved in this cause.
The other case relied upon is Manhattan Life Ins. Co.
v. Cohen, 139 S. W. 51, and that case deals with the as-
signment of a policy of insurance. It recognizes that the
assignment of a policy is separate and distinct from the
original contract, and petitioner's only rights in this cause
arise out of such a separate and independent contract
which does not affect the principal contract, and in addi-
tion that case specifically decides that the contract there
under consideration was a Texas contract.
It is apparent that no Texas Court has held as contend-
ed by the petitioner. There is no general public policy
against the assignment of an interest in a life insurance
paliey, and, in fact, it has been held by this Court on sev-
*
eral occasions that such assignments are proper. Midland
National Bank of Minneapolis v. DeSoto Life Insurance
Co., 277 U. S. 846, 350. The effect of holding otherwise
is pointed out in Grigsby v. Russell, 222 U. S. 149.
On other questions of public policy, the Courts of Texas
have not held in conformity with petitioner’s contention. |
The State of Texas has established a public, policy by
a statute which forbids a common carrier from placing
ifi its bill of lading stipulations restricting its liability and
declaring ‘Such stipulations null and void. In the early case
of Ryan and Company v. M. K. & T. Railway Co. (Sup. Ct.
of Tewas), 65 Tex. 18, a contract of carriage had been made
in Missouri by a resident of Texas. The goods were to be
transported from Missouri to Texas. In the contract was
a sStipulation that the carrier was exempt from liability
for loss or damage to the goods by destruction by fire.
The Court, after deciding that the. contract of carriage
was a Missouri contract, even though it would have to be
partially performed in Texas, applied the Missouri law,
disregarding the Texas public policy.
There are numerous statutory enactments in the State
of Texas protecting pfoperty of married women. These
enactments are definite statements of public policy on this
subject. In Merrielles v. State Bank of Keokuk, 24 S. W.
564, an attachment lien had been foreclosed upon the sepa-
rate property of a married woman. In disposing of the
case upon appeal the Court said (page 565, paragraph 4):
„Appellant, in her fourth assignment, complains
that ‘the Court erred in submitting to the jury the
laws of Iowa to create a liability against the separate
real estate of a married woman situated in Texas, con-
*
U 7 N *
*
5
— 2
4 *
cb . e re 2
8
*
—U—ää—ñ ẽä ———— — —
10
/
trary to the Constitution, laws and public policy of
Texas, and in overruling the motion for a new trial.
based on this ground.’ Without undertaking an extend-
ed ‘discussion of this question, we express the conclu-
sion that the Court correctly applied the law of lowa—
the ‘lex loci @ontractus’—in the enforcement of the ob-
ligations in suit. This action, we think, was justified by
the views of our Supreme Court in Ryan v. Railway
Co., 65 Tex. 13, et seq.” . 7 .
In a similar case where the parties resided in Arizona,
the law of the State of Arizona was applied and execu-
tion was allowed to be had upon the separate property of
a married woman even though it was located in Texas.
Walker v. Goetz, 218 S. W. 569. Thus in this proceeding
we have the Court of the United States applying the iden-
tical rule that would have been applied by the Courts of
the State of Texas, and, therefore, a different situation .
from that presented in Sampson b. Channell, 110 Fed. (2d)
7564. ;
In connection with petitioner’s contention about public
policy, it should be borne in mind that in this cause the
respondent was not attempting to enforce any rights as
against the citizens of the State of Texas. An interpleader
suit is nothing more than where two or more persons are
suing a stakeholder, claiming the funds, and the stakehold- .
er confesses liability for the amount sued for and refuses
to pass upon the merits of the claim. The mere fact that
‘the insurance company in the instant case has tendered
the funds into Court does not make this a suit by the
petitioner against the respondent or vice versa. Neither is
asking for a judgment against the other, and no judgment
could be rendered which would decree that one party must
pay to the other so much money. The only judgment that
*
e ee ere le cube w. ere eee
— p LEE LOM LEED SID fae
—— 8
11 5
* ‘ ‘
could be entered is to award one party the 22527 on 5
posit in the * of the Court.
It has long been recognized that “the filing of this inter-
pleader and payment into Court by the insurer does not
affect the rights of the claimed beneficiaries.” ( Kansas
City Life Insurance Co. v. Jones, 21 Fed. Sup., 159, 160)
and that in interpleader situations, even though they in-
volve claimants residing in. different States, the decision
in the interpleader suit should be the same whether the
interpleader is filed in New Vork or Texas. There is no
question as to what the decision in this case would have
been if the interpleader suit had been filed in New Vork.
Steinback v. Diepenbrock, 37 N. F. Sup. 279, 158 N. .
Warnock v. Davis, 104 U. S. 775.
The Courts of the State of N have recognized that
an interpleader suit is not the same as an ordinary cause
of action, and that neither party is attempting to assert
a right against the other, but only to establish a claim
to a fund. Sharp v. American National Insurance Co., 126 ö
8. W. (2d) 50, 52. 3 ghee
At most, the public policy of a State will only protect
the citizens of that State and claims made against them.
It will not reach out and intérfere with the rights of per-
sons of another State as against each other. 8
In this connection, the language of this Court in Bond
v. Hume, 2270 U. S. 15, is peculiarly applicable when it says:
“It is obvious on the face of the pleadings, as stated
in the certificate, that the contract the enforcement of
which was sought was valid under the laws of the State
of New York, the place where it was entered into and
oa
. at
*
where it was executed, and this validity was not and
could not be affected by the laws of the State of Texas,
as, in the nature of things, such laws could have no
extraterritorial operation.”
As heretofore pointed out, petitioner’s rights koala only
arise by virtue of contracts made in the State of New York,
and his attempt to inflict upon those contracts the ‘laws
of the State of Texas is an attempt to give those aa extra-
territorial effect.
It is misleading to say that the opinion of the Circuit
Court holds that an assignment of a life insurance policy
is governed by the laws of the State where the policy was
issued, when this contract of assignment was made in an-
other State. The Circuit Court has correctly held that an
independent contract which incidentally affects a principal
contract. does not change the situs of the principal contract.
ae ay ah CONCLUSION A
‘We submit that the decision of the Circuit Court of
Appeals has correctly decided the issues involved in this
_ controversy in accordance with the applicable. rules of law
of both this Court and the Courts of the State of Texas,
and there is no necessity for the granting of a writ of
certiorari and a review of this case by this Honorable
Court.
Respectfully submitted,
Cart B. CALLAWAY,
Attorney for Respondent.
*
FRANK c. BROOKS,
Of Counsel.
*
BLANK PAGE
J
_— wT
SUPREME COURT ‘OF THE UNITED STATES.
No. 755.—OcTopEr Term, 1940.
1 ——
J. Rob Griffin, Administrator With) 8
Will Annexed of the Estate of On Writ of Certiorari to
Robert D Gordon, nn Pe- the United States Cireuit
tioner, : : Court of Appeals for the
vs. Fifth Cireuit.
John D. McCoach, Trustee. ]
[June 2, 1941.]
Mr. Justice REEp „ Fvered the opinion of the Court.
This is an action, begun in the United States Distriet Court for
the Northern Distriet of Texas, by the personal representatives
substituted for the heirs at law of Colonel Robert D. Gordon, who
died a citizen and resident of Texas, against the Prudential In-
surance Company of America to collect an insurance policy on
the life of the decedent. The Company filed a bill of interpleader
(49 Stat. 1096; 28 U. S. C. A. §41(26)) making the respondent
John D. MeCoach, Trustee, and other alleged claimants parties and
, tendering the net amount due under the policy. The interpleader
6 was allowed, the Company discharged from the litigation and the
interests of all parties to the suit other than petitioner and re-
spondent disposed of by the decree in a manner to which no one
objects here. The controversy still to be decided is as to whether
the estate or the Trustee is entitled to certain portions of the in-
surance. The circumstances giving rise to the issue follow.
Colonel Gordon, the insured, interested seven persons in Texas
oil developments, including McCoach, the Trustee, in his individual
capacity. They operated as a New common law association
called the Middleton Tex Oil Syndi The record here shows
that Prior to the issuing of the policy A thereafter, the members
advanced considerable money to Gordon, and the premiums on the
poliey were paid by the members of the syndicate at Gordon's re-
quest, upon his agreement to repay the syndicate. Premiums were
paid on the policy by the syndicate, in accordance with this agree-
ment and were never repaid by Gordon.“ A term insurance policy
was taken out by Gordon with the Syndicate named as beneficiary.
1
—— . —
0
— 44994 —ů——ů 2 * 39»*uö on
7
Sa Griffin vs. McCoach. - 2
When the policy was issued, and at all times subsequent until his
death, Gordon was a citizen of Texas. The Syndicate originally
had physical possessién of the policy. Two years after its issuance ©
the Syndicate ceased operations. In 1924 due to financial reverses
it ceased to do business and the members formed a new association
called the Protection Syndicate. MeCoach became and continues
as Trustee of the Syndicate. It was organized ‘‘for the sole pur-
pose of paying the premiums on the policy and receiving and dis-
tributing the proceeds among the members. This it did until the
insured’s death. The beneficiary in the policy was changed to make
the members of the Protection Syndicate the beneficiaries. By ar-
rangement between the decedent and the members of the Protection
Syndicate in 1934 a further change of beneficiaries was made by
which, in consideration of the insured’s release of the right to
change beneficiaries on presentation of the policy for endorsement,
hitherto retained, one-eighth of the disability proceeds of the policy
were to be paid the insured and one-eighth of the death proceeds
to his wife and the remaining seven-eighths to the Trustee for the
members of the Protection Syndicate.
„The application for the poliey was ee by Gordon in the
State of New York, and forwarded to the home office of the Pru-
dential Insurance Company in the State of New Jersey, and there
acted upon, and the policy was delivered in the State of New
Vork.“ The later arrangement by which Gordon and his wife
became beneficiaries of one-eighth of the proceeds was consummated
by certain forms furnished by the Prudential and ‘‘transmitted
from Middletown, N. Y., to Tyler, Texas, for Colonel
Gordon’ s signature. They were there executed by Colonel Gordon
before a notary public in Tyler, Texas, and returned to Middle-
town, N. Y., where they were executed by the parties ‘residing there,
from wheine they were sent by Schweiger l agent of the Pru-
dential and a member of the Syndicate], wi the poliey, to the
home office at Newark, N. J., and subsequently the forms were in-
dorsed on the poliey and it was returned directly from New J *
to the beneficiaries in New Vork.
- Thereafter three of the members of the Protection Syndicate sep-
arately assigned their interests in the policy to three individuals not
previously interested in the transaction. These assignees paid their
proportion of the premiums after the respective assignments.
—
4
* 2 q
—
7 :
2. ,
Griffin vs. McCoach. 3
The District Court decreed that Mrs, Gordon should receive her
one-eighth and that the balance of the proceeds should be paid the
Trustee for the benefit of the eross-defendants, members of the Pro-
_ tection Syndicate. The decree was based on a finding that the
policy was a New York contract and that the subsequent changes
were made in New Jersey and delivered in New York, Further the
District..Court concluded that the relation of debtor and creditor
existed between the members of the Syndicate and their assignees -
upon the one hand and the insured upon the other that there-
fore all the cestuis que trustent had an insurable intgrest i in Cones
Gordon's life.
An appeal limited to the ee of the judgment of the trial
court concerning the. persons entitled to receive the assigned in-
terests was prosecuted on an agreed statement of the record under
Rule 76 of the Rules of Civil Procedure. In the statement peti-
tioner sets out two points now relied upon for reversal. First: That
the assignment and change of beneficiary was governed by the law
of Texas; that the Trustee claimed only under the assignment ; that
beneficiaries must have an insurable interest under Texas law and
that the assignees had none. Hence the personal representativ was
entitled to recover their portions of the policy for ‘the estate. Wilke
v. Finn, 39 S. W. (2d) 836. Second: That if the whole transaction
was governed by the law of another state than Texas, in which other
state an insurable interest was not required, the United States
District Court sitting i in Texas was bound by the public policy of
Texas which forbids persons without ‘an-insurable interest to col -
leet in Texas, as beneficiaries, the proceeds of insurance policies.
The Cireuit Court of Appeals affirmed. 116 F. (2d) 261. It
held too that the policy was a New York policy, governed by the law
of that state, and that as the subsequent changes were made pursu-
ant to agreements contained in the original policy, they did not
amount to new contracts or change the governing law. Cf. Aetna
Life Insurance Company v. Dunken, 266 U. S. 389. The Court said:
Under the terms of the policy, a New York contract, no restrie-
tions were placed upon assignments relating to insurable interest.
None was created by the laws of New York. Each of the assign-
ments was executed and delivered in New York by residents of that
state to other residents, They were New York contracts and valid
under its laws. To apply the laws of Texas to the New York con-
tracts would constitute an unwarranted extra-territorial control of
D. a
—— 2
A
*
| .
dre — maak 7 = peas ass er 0
* — FFF .
>
‘2: | Griffin vs. McCoach.
contracts and regulation of business outside of Texas i in
of the laws of New York; this is not changed by the trial of the suit
in a court sitting in Texas.”
As to the violation of the claimed Bublic poliey of Texas against
beneficiaries with non-insurable interests, the Court of Appeals de-
cided that the rule could not be applied where, as here, a fair
and proper insurable in ’? existed when the policy was issued.
116 F. (2d) 261, 264. Certiorari was sought and allowed, 312
V. S. —, on the ground among others of a conflict between the
instant ease and Sampson v. Channell, 110 F. (2d) 754, 759-62,
where the First Circuit held that a United States court must apply.
the conflict of laws ruleg of the state where it sits. :
For the reasons give in /Klaxon Company v. Stentor Electric
Manufacturing Company, o. 741 this term, decided today, we are
_of the view that the federal courts in diversity of citizenship cases
“are governed by the conflict of laws rules of the courts of the states
in which they: sit. In deciding that the changes made in the insur-
ance contract left its governing law unaffected! and that the laws
of Texas could not be applied to a foreign contract in Texas courts,”
the federal courts were applying rules of ylaw in a way which may
or may not have been consistent with Texas decisions. Likewise it
is for Texas to say whether its public policy pe. mits a beneficiary of
an insurance policy on the life of a Texas citizen to recover where no
insurable interest in the decedent exists in the beneficiary. The
opinion does not rest its conclusions upon its appraisal of Texas law
or Texas decisions but upon decisions of this Court inapplicable to
this situation in the light of Erie Railroad v. Tompkins, 304 U. S. 64,
and Ruhlin v. Nei York Life Insurance Company, 304 U. S. 202,
205. The statement in the opinion that it is immaterial, in so far
as the decision of this case is concerned, whether the law of Texas or
the law of New York be applied we understand, from a reading of
the whole opinion, to mean that while an insurable interest is re-
quired in Texas and not in New Vork, the lack of insurable interest
is immaterial in this case even in Texas because „the insurer ac-
1 Or. Miller v. Campbell, 140 N. L. 457. ;
2 Cf. Union Trust Co. v. Grosman, 245 U. S. 412.
Compare Grigsby v. Russell, 222 U. S. 149; Connecticut Mutual Life Ins.
Co. v. Schaefer, 94 U. S. 457, Felied leans below.
Rar „ 4
$4 *
*
0 erat
— e UU ae 12 —— ee 1 ** .
. Grifin vB. McCoach. 8 5
Lsowledged liability and paid the money into court. This being so, 5
not only does the objeetion of wagers disappear, but als the claimed .
principle of public policy.’’ But this is something to be decided
according to Texas decisions to none of which the opinion refers.
Cf. Wilke v. Finn, 39 8. W. (2d) 836; Cheeves v. Anders, 87 Texas
287. The deeision must be reversed and remanded to the Cireuit
Court of Appeals for determination of the law of Texas as —
o the circumstances of this case,
In view of the holding quoted from the opinion below, ‘page 3,
supra, that to apply the laws of Texas to New York contracts when
Texas citizens were ies would constitute an unwarranted extra-
territorial control of contracts and regulation of business, it seems
necessary to fn that position as it may be determined upon
E
remand that these are foreign contracts and under Texas law unen-
forceable as ontrary to the public policy of Texas because the as-
signees have no insurable interest. It would then be necessary to
decide whether the courts of Texas could constitutionally apply;
Texas law to a foreign contract, valid where made, because such con-
tract is contrary to the state’s public policy.* If the Cireuit Court
of Appeals was correct in its view that tag Donstitution foreclosed °
application of such a Texas public policy to this case, the only ques-
tion open on remand would be whether ; - contract sued upon was
& Texas contract.
But the cases relied upon in the Court of Appeals to support its
holding® do not in our opinion decide this question. Overby v.
Gordon. holds that the adjudication of a probate court of Georgia
that the decedent was a resident of that state was a proceeding in
rem and did not bind the courts of the District of Columbia in a °
suit to determine anew decedent’s domicile. New York Life Insur-
ance Company v. Head passed upon the application, by Missouri
courts, of Missouri statutes providing for an extension of insurance
on default of premium to an insurance contract assumed as of
- Missouri, though the insured at the time of issue and thereafter
was a citizen of New Mexico. A New York loan agreement subse-
quent to the issuance of the policy between the insured and the
Company, a citizen of New York, provided: for extension after de-
4Cf. Sampson v. Channell, 110 F. (2d) 754, 759.
s Overby v. Gordon, 177 U. S. 214, 222; New York Life Insurance Co, v.
Dunken, 266 U. 8. 389, 399.
Head, 234 U. S. 149; Bond v. Hume, 243 U. S. 15; Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. 1
— 2 —
ee —t—
<
—— —
+
SS eae
daa AG si
U
—
crete 2 — —
—
— ome =e namo oe em
6 Griffin vs. McCoach.
fault which was contrary to the Missouri statutes. This Court held
the Missouri statutes were ineffective because the New York loan
agreement was beyond Missouri’s jurisdiction. The point that
‘Missouri might refuse enforcement because the agreement, valid in
New. York, was contrary to the public policy of the former was not
discussed. In Bond v. Hume, a few years later, this Court reserved
the principle here in question.“ The Aetna case denied the con-
stitutional power of the Texas courts to apply a Texas statute allow-
ing a penalty and attorneys’ fees against the company in a suit on
an insurance contract made in a foreign jurisdiction with a person
then a citizen of Tennessee because the effect of such application
would be to regulate business outside the State of Téxas and control
contracts made by citizens of other States in disregard of their laws
under which penalties and attorney’s fees are not recoverable.’’
266 U. S. at 399% The freedom from penalty and fee was deemed
a part of the foreign contract and its effect on the public policy
of Texas was/not appraised.’
If upon ¢xamination of the Texas law it 8 that the .
of Texas would refuse enfoptement of an insurance éontract where
the beneficiaries have no insurable interest on the ground of its in.
terference with local law, such refusal would be, in our opinion,
within the constitutional power of the Texas courts. Rights ac-
quired by contract outside a state are enforced within a state, cer.
tainly where its o own citizens are concerned, but that principle ex-
cepts claimed rights so contrary to the law of the forum as to sub-
vert the forum’s view of public policy. Cf. Loucks v. Standard Oi
Co., 224 N. V. 99, 110. It is ‘“‘rudimentary’’ that a state will not
3 lend the aid of its courts to enforce a contract | founded upon a for:
éign law‘where to do so would be repugnant to good morals, would
* lead to disturbance and disorganization of the local municipal law, or
in other words, violate the public policy of the State where the en.
0 243 u. 8. at 25: „And of course we must not be understood
whether the mere existence of a state statute punishing one who
and because of such bad faith, had made an agreement to delivef in a contract
of sale which would be otherwise valid, could ‘become the b of a public
policy preventing the enforcement in Texas of contracts for safe and delivery
made in another State which were there valid N one of tiſe parties might
have made the agreement to deliver in po faith.’’
7 Before Erie Railroad v. Lr 8. N, this Court decided as 2
matter of general law that where time of u iee/is important the foreign law
governs. Boseman v. Insurance Co., 301 U. S. 196, 202. ‘
2 Griffin vs. McCoach. 7
3 of the foreign contract is sought. Bond v. Hume, 243
U. S. 15, 21. Applying that reasoning this Court affirmed the fed-
— eral court in following Texas’ decisions which refused to enforce a
valid foreign contract of guarantyship against a married woman.
Union Trust Co. v. Grosman, 245 U. S. 412. Likewise state courts
have been upheld in refusing to lend their aid to enforce valid
foreign contracts which required the doing of prohibited acts
within the state of the forum. Bothwell v. Buckbee, Mears Com-
pany, 275 U. S. 274, 278. Where this Court has required the
state of the forum to apply the foreign law under the full faith
and credit clause or under the Fourteenth Amendment it has
_recognized that a state is not required to enforce a law obnoxious
to its public policy. Bradford Electric ae Clapper, 286 U. S.
145, 160, 161; Hartford Indemnity Co. v. Delta Co., 292 U. S. 143,
150. The rule was not applied where the parties to the contract ac-
quired rights beyond the state’s borders with no relation to any-
thing done or to be done within the borders. Home Insurance
Company v. Dick, 281 U. S. 397, 410.
In the Head case the foreign and local law differed as to the
manner of extending insurance; in the Aetna case the difference
arose from a local provision for attorney’s fees and penalty; in
the Delta case the time for notice varied in the two jurisdictions.
In New York Life Insurance Company v. Dodge, 246 U. S. 357, it
was said that a statute of the state of the forum, regulating the
- application of insurance reserves in case of default of premium was
not effective, even while the insurance contract was a local con-
tract and the insured a citizen of the state, to govern rights under
a loan agreement made in a foreign jurisdiction. But these fall
short of a public policy which protects citizens against the assumed.
dangers of insurance on their lives held by strangers. It-is for the
state to say whether a contract contrary to such a statute or rule
of law is so offensive to its view ow of public welfare as to require its
4 ecourts to close their doors to its enforcement.
Roveveed.
Mr. Justice FRANKFURTER concurs in the result.
— — ee
————
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.