Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Shamrock Oil & Gas Corp. v. Sheets

Supreme Court brief1941

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

BLANK PAGE

f e

f

‘, f

SUPREME COURT OF THE. UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1940

"No. 727

THE SHAMROCK OIL AND GAS CORPORATION,

* Petitioner, ~

vs. |

G. OBIE SHEETS ann CHESTER SHEETS, Dome

Business as F'n1ona INDEPENDENT Or Company. ‘

\

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT AND BRIEF IN SUPPORT

THEREOF: ¥

/

Mies C. Jonson,

Joseru B. Dootey,

R. E. Uwsperwoop,

\. B.A. Witeor,

W. M. Surron,

Counsel for Petitioner.

‘ e e -_ Poe o

sy ei jie

1 . r ~ ii

. erg We &

q

ad

7

?

}

;

&

BLANK PAGE

Argument and authorities under Point I

Point Il (Referable to Rpecification IIT)...

Gian 70 AS ee a

Argument and authorities under Point

We ae oes Fig

~~ .Oonclusion’’......... Saray oie ee nd bss Given an

ex Appendix: 2... eee eee dete reas

* American Fruit Growers, Inc. v. La Roche (D. C.

SC 2008), OO FOR) DAR. ook os ieee sens:

—2272 :

INDEX.

of Petition:

A Caption ...... Etc eaebakecoed ees Viudevanes

z Statement of matter involved......... gi CNG Boe

a Basis of jurisdiction .......... SPL a A 2.4

me Questions presented ................ Papas sata |

3 Sy RPP eee eee ney See w ees ao

4 Corman TE icieng cae nd was wa enaV tn

#9 Reasons relied on for the allowance of the writ

4 Reason I (Referable to Question I)........

4 Reason II (Referable to Question I).......

: Reason III (Referable to Question I)......

4 Reason IV (Referable to Question IT)......

Z| Camden sc. cies kas eh re eeeee ects ee eees

; Brief : ene

Opinions of courts below.:...................

Grounds on which jurisdiction is vend eghin

Piahumnet OF OHNE 6 ik 55 ob i RN

Bpockhentions of: e9T0r: . .. 6. .5 0.

Specification I ............ pare wien b er es ee

Specification "SRN ates gies Sa ca-diates

Se | | Geoire Wire reneanre ys bones |

¢ ee Gk vin ck iv vdicten coneeees

Point I (Referable to Specifications I and

BAAS Sea

DNONET. ss ie URNS RE Sy: tk eae

bat _

COONAN f Oe g

feck pak fk fk feed fet

So 9 Go ho bo ht fo fe

bat pet

to 0

bo

—_

SS

17

INDEX

Page

Arthur .v. Edmunds (C. C. A. Fifth Circuit), 66 F.

Ce Ne sos oes eee ca br ee eee ee 10, 22

Baker v. Keebler (D. C. Tenn. 1939), 29 Fed. Supp. |

RN Se Be aa ee rey re 7 yy paling per aCe see |

Bankers Securities Corporation v. Insurance Equities,

Corporation (1936, C. C. A. N. J. Third Circuit),

Ap: +} | EEN emreemree ay recto rutrn 6, 15, 16

_ Bender v. The Pennsylvania Company, 148 U. S. 502,

19 BO. 6, 37 Us. Mb. O07 |... ek eee: . 10, 22

Brown v. I ronsdale (1891), 138 U. S. 389, 11 S. C. 308,

ee ke ns ee aes oo 9,18

Carson & Rand Lumber Co. v. Holteclaw (1889, C. C.

SR OB RPP a re pete tie Taare ner 6, 16

Chambers v. Skelly Oil Co. (1937, C. C. x Kan. Tenth

Circuit), 87 F. (2d) 853..... eens prea Ce gen rere 6, 16

Chicago, M. & St. P. Ry. Co. v. City of Bovncor (D. C. |

Towa 1922), 283 Fed. 824.......... reap auth bade ee

Consolidated Textile Corp. v. Iserson (1923 D. C.

ap ee Se Beer ery ere, may 6,16

Ellis v. Peak (1938 D. C. Tex.), 22 Fed. Supp. 908... 19

Employers Reinsurance Corp. v. Bryant (Note 9),

299 U. S. 374, 57 8. C. 273, 81 L. Ed. 289........ 5

Evetts v. Peoples’ Life Insurance Co. (D. C. Tex.

SO he ee Ce ts hooks fein hs eee 17

Gay v. Ruff, 292 U. S. 25, 54 8. C. 608, 78 L. Ed. 1099. 5,11

Glover Machine Works v. Cooke-Jellico Coal Co.

(D, C. Ky. 1915), 222 Fed, 531...... otha ys 17

Groveville Sales Corp. v. Stevens (D. C. N. J. 1936) —

16 Fed. Te. GER. 8203. Sa eR ease. 17

Habermel v. Mong (1929 C. C. A. Sixth Circuit,

| Tenn.), 31 F. (2d) 822 (writ of certiorari denied

‘ ___ in 280 U. S. 587, 74.L. Ed. 636, 30 S. C. 37)... .. 8, 19, 20

Hagerla v. Mississippi River Power Co. (1912 D. . |

Iowa), 202 Fed. 771 .......: POE EOE PES 18,7 6, 8, 16, 20

Hamsen v. Pacific Coast Asphalt Cement Co. (1917

D.C. Onl), S68 Pod. BOG, Bebe ee eis 6, 16

p Houlton oe Bank v. American Laundry Machin-

re ery Co. (D. C. Me. 1934), 7 Fed. Supp. 858...... 17,19

: / Illinois Central Ry. Co. v. A. Waller & Co. (C. C. Ky.

1908), 164 Fed. 358-00... 0. eee eee eee bee. a Ge

‘ ‘

iS —_ ‘ ;

see HE CLERK, ALE SOE RINSE PSOE NSCOR ANS RARE AEE IISA MT

INDEX’ ps | iii

Indiana Mountain Jellico Coal Co. v. Asheville Ice & -

Coal Co. (C. C. N. C. 1905), 185 Fed. 837...... 17

W. S. Kirby v. American Soda Fountain Co, (1904),

194 U. S. 141, 48 L. Ed. 911, 24 8. C. 619: ........ 9,15

Klein v. Wilson & Co. (C. CO. A. Third Cir.), 7 F.2d)

5 2 RE Diag aes a a ha Ue dy 10, 22

Lockhart v. New York Life Insurance Co. (C. C. A.

Fourth Circuit), 71 F. (2d) 684................ 10, 22

Mason City & Fort Dodge Ry. Co. v. Boynton (1907),

204 U. S. 570, 27 S. C. 321, 51 L. Ed. 629....... 9, 18, 19

McKown v. Kansas &é Texas Coal Co. (C. oer: eae

S008): 708 Fed 6 CARs 17

Merchants Cotton Press & Storage Co. y. The Insur-

ance Company of Nor. America (1894), 151 U.S. |

368, 385, 14 S. C. 367, 38 L. Ed. 195, 204..... ante Meee

M erchants Heat & Light Co. v. James B. Clow & Sons i:

(1907), 204 U. S. 286, 51 L. Ed. 488, 27S. C. 285.. 9,15

Mohawk Rubber Co. of New York v. Terrell (D. ae

MMe, 1990), 13 F.. (20) SO. icc len etree e / 017

Niles-Bennett-Pond Co. v. Iron Moulders Union

(1920), 254 U. S. 77, 41 S. C. 39, 65 L. Ed. 145... 9,19

O’Neill Bros. v. Crowley (1938 D. ©. S. C.), 24 Fed.

NN POR. five kup heya epeees an es _.... 6,7, 8,17, 20, 21

Pierce v. Desmond (1926 D. C. Minn.), 11 F, (24) 327,

6, 8, 16, 20

Price & Hart v. T. J. Elis & Co. ast. ©. Ark),

19) Ved: 408 05 SS ES 6, 8, 16, 20

Removal Cases (1879), 100 U. S. 457, 25 L. Ed. 593.. 9,18

San Antonio Suburban Irrigated Farms v. Shandy

(1928 D. C. Kan.), 29 F. (2d) 579........ 7, 8, 17, 20, 21

Venner v. Great Northern Ry. Co. (1908), 209 U. S.

i Ge OS G. OC. SIR, 06 ts: We. GO. ee ec iceces, 9,19

Waco Hardware Co. v. Michigan Stove Co. (C. C. A.

Fifth Cir: 1899), 21 Wed. 260... 2. ae cee 17

Walcott v. Watson (1891 C. C. Nev.), 46 Fed. 529,

68, 16, 20

—Ward-v-Congress Construction Co. (1900 C. C. A

Seventh Cir.), 99 Wed: 006... 2... ced 8, 20.

~ West v. The City of Aurora (1867), 73 U. 8S. 193, a

6 Wall. 189, 18 L. Bi, SY9.. 0:3. i crv reece 8, 19

+

oe

“. s

t

2 ~ty

ne

Ras

af

ey

x

ot

ag

ee

eet)

.

Vee eee

Ag a Rina ages

pane TM A —

De TES Tt ee aes es ee

ee ee ee ee

wos Se oe

: =

iv : _ ‘INDEX

Page

Wichita sie Co. v. City National Bank (1938

C. C. A. Tex. Fifth Cir.), 95 F. (2d) 671, 97 F.

(2d) 249 (1937 D. C. Tex.), 18 Fed. Supp. 609

(affirmed without reference to question of removal

jurisdiction 306 U. S. 103, 83 L. Ed. 515, 59 S. C.

a0 ou BUN 04 CGA EK CORSA ER ea oA ds oa Fe haw 8% 7, 16

Wilson v. Oswego Township (1894),. 151 U. S. 56, 63,

Ty Re ek bak ko We are oe ee 9,18

Zumbrunn v. Schwartz (1927 D. C. Ind.), 17 F. (2d)

BOP ee ee rs 6, 8, 17, 20

; Statutes Crrep.

Act of Sept. 24, 1789 (c. 20, 1 Stat. 73)............ 19

Act of Mar. 3, 1875 (c. 137, Sec. 2, 18 Stat., 470) .. 18

Act of Mar. 3, 1887 (c. 373, 24 Stat. p. ae 7,8, 15

Act of Aug. 13, 1888 (c. 866, 25 Stat. p. 433)... .... 7, 15, 18

Judicial’ Code, Act of Feb. 13, 1925 (c. 229, Sec. 1,

43 Stat. 938 (28 U.S. C. A. Sec. I oie 's Kana 4,11

_ Sudicial Code, Sec. 28 (28 U. S. C. A., Sec. 71),

2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 13

Article 3736, Revised Civil Statutes of ‘Texas, as :

amended 1931 (Note 1 Appendix).............. 24 ee |

Text Books Crrep. |

. Annotation Note 668, Title 28, U. S. C. A., Section 71. 17

Texas Sarispradenee, Vol. 38, P. 292, Section 6.. 14

ee cee TR SS ep mee

FF

—_, o oo

Ee aeaeEEeEeee WLAN ANE MEE SPIE EEE LEM LS NIT ORE TE ER POPE LLY NLT OT

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1940 7

No. 727 |

THE SHAMROCK OIL AND GAS CORPORATION;

Petitioner,

vs.

G. OBIE SHEETS ann CHESTER SHEETS, Dorxe

Busrvess as F'riona InpDEPENDENT On, Company.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT.

To the Honorable the Chief Justice and the Associate

Justices of the Supreme Court of the United States:

Your petitioner, The Shamrock Oil and Gas Corpora-

tion, a corporation organized under the laws of the State

of Delaware, rays this Court for the issuance of a writ of

certiorari to feview a final judgment of the United States

Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, entered on

lg

ee eee eee ee ee Fee

— —

a

-— = et — 3

ema tegen.

ee ee

Gq

EEE TIES BERN TPES PEST

e Trey pi

a ae

we ft rere te

RRS STITT.

ata, 4 RRA eee

2°

the 6th day of December, 1940, reversing a decree of the

United States District Court for the Northern District of

Texas, Amarillo Division, and remanding this case to the

United States District Court for the Northern District of

Texas with instructions to remand same to the State

Court from which it was removed.

Statement of the Matter Involved.

The matter involved herein is a question of removal

jurisdiction and the proper construction of the removal

statute, being Section 28 of the Judicial Code as Amended

(28 U. 8. C. A. Section 71). It was held by the Honorable

Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit (R. 127) that

the petitioner was not entitled under the removal statute

as the cross-defendant in a counterclaim or cross-action

to remove the counterclaim to the Federal Court, the basis

of such, decision being that since the petitioner had been

the original plaintiff, it was not a defendant within the

meaning of the statute referred to..

The petitioner, a Delaware corporation, sued the respond-

\—@nts in the District Court of Potter County, Texas, on an

account for petroleum products sold respondents in the

‘amount of $5,390.42 (BR. 1 to 60). On the filing of a plea of

privilege by respondents (R. 61) the venue of such suit

was transferred to the District Court of Parmer County, ©

Texas (R. 62-63). The respondents filed their original

answer in the District/Court of Parmer County, Texas (R.

_ 64), and in such answer filed their cross-action or counter-.

claim (R. 67-68), wherein respondents, citizens of Texas,

sought to recover damages in amount of $7,200.00 for the

alleged breach of contracts relative to the leasing of an

automobile truck, which contracts were separate, distinct

and unrelated to the indebtedness originally sued upon. _

Petitioner, as defendant in the cross-action, filed its peti-

tion for removal and reméved-the cause to the United States

\

District Court for the Northern District of Texas, Amarillo

Division (R. 69 to 76), on the grounds (R. 69 to 70) that the

cross-action presented a separate and distinct suit by re-

spondents, citizens of Texas, against petitioner, a citizen of

Delaware, for $7,200.00 damages. Respondents moved to

remand (R. 76), which motion was denied (R. 80), and an

unreported opinion of the Trial Court was rendered (R.

108) in open court. After trial on merits and judgment

for petitioner was rendered on both the original suit and

counterclaim (R. 81), respondents filed a motion for recon-

sideration of their motion to remand (R. 85 to 93), which

. motion was overruied by the Trial Court (R. 93). Re-

- gspondents appealed to the United States Circuit Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit from the order overruling

P

_

Le A NRE ESN ONCE ee nae a ee. INT RNE EEL

¢

their motion to remand and from the judgment of the court

overruling respondents’ motion for a reconsideration of

the court’s order overruling motion to remand (R. 103 to

107). :

- The United States Cireuit Court of Appeals entered its

judgment on the 6th day of December, 1940, reversing

the judgment appealed from and remanded this cause to the

‘Trial Court with instructions to remand same to the State

Court from which it was removed (R. 134). An opinion in

this cause was filed by the Circuit Court of Appeals on

the 6th day of December, 1940 (R. 127), 115 F. (2d) 880,

in which it was held that Section 28 of the Judicial Code

as Amended (28 U.S. C. A. Section 71) does not permit the .

removal of a cross-action or counterclaim for more than

Pet ,000.00 involving the alleged breach of contracts distinct

aud separate from the indebtedness originally sued upon,

at the instance of a non-resident cross-defendant, if such

party had been the original plaintiff,in the State Court. The

petitioner filed its petition for rehearing on the 26th day of

Déceniber, 1940 (R. 136), which petition was denied by a

judgment entered on the 14th day of January, 1941 (R. 145).

29 Z .

)

ee

— weed vee se

=a r , a ‘i , + . » =

digeietee’ emesiniiiadicnah Cuaiaiad pe ee ee

2 -

o °

a ee

- 7

= Pee Se Oe ae

Basis of Jurisdiction.

"The judgment scught to bo reviewed is the judgment of

the United States Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth

’ Circuit rendered on the 6th day of December, 1940 (R. 134)

reversing the judgment of the United States District Court

- for the Northern District of Texas, Amarillo Division, and

remanding this case to such court ‘with instructions to re-

‘ . mand same to the State Court from which it was removed.

The nature of the case presented is fully set out in the

preceding statement of the matter involved, but is one

involving a question of removal jurisdiction and the proper

construction of Section 28 of the Judicial Code as Amended

(28 U. 8. C. A. Section 71). The unreported oral opinion

(R. 108) of the District Judge for the United States District

Court for the Northern District of Texas reflects the judg-

| ment of the Trial Court to the effect that this cause was

properly removed to the Federal Court by the petitioner.

The opinion of the United States Circuit Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit filed on the 6th day of December,

1940 (R. 128) 115 F. (2d) 880 reflects the decision of said

“court to be that Section 28 of the Judicial Code does not per-

mit the removal of this case by the petitioner from the

State Court to the Federal Court. Petition for rehearing

was filed on the 26th day of. December, 1940 {(R. 136) and

same was denied on the 14th day of January, 1941 (R. 145).

Petition for writ of certiorari is pronase herein on the

30th day of January, 1941. iy

- The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under Section

240(a) of the Judicial Code as Amended by the Act of

_ February 13, 1925, c. 229, Section 1, (43 Stat. 938) (28 -

U. S. C. A. Section 347). The jurisdiction of this honor-

able Court under such statute to review by certiorari a

judgment of a Circuit Court of Appeals remanding a case

to the District Court with instructions to remand to the

State Court from which it was removed, such as is here

am > -

REE he a A IIOIAR PIO MS RAIS eee See ee eee 4

MENS SPE 7

5

involved, was sustained in Gay v. Ruff, 292 U.S. 25, 54S. C.

608, 78 L. Ed. 1099. Such holding was referred:to and re-

affirmed in Employers Reinsurance Corporation v. Bryant,

(Note 9) 299 U. S. 374, 57 S. C. 273, 81 L. Ed. 289.

Questions Presented.

| ees

The primary question presented is:

Whether a counter-claim or cross-action, set up by

resident defendants in a State Court seeking damages

against the original non-resident plaintiff in the amount \

of $7,200.00 for the alleged breach of a separate and

distinct contract from the $5,390.42 indebtedness due

on open account and originally sued upon, is a suit .

which is removable by the defendant in the cross-action

> (petitioner), who had been the original plaintiff, on the

grounds of diversity of citizenship under Section 28

of the Judicial Code as Amended Aged S. C. A. Sec-

tion 71)?

IL.

A second question is presented in this case, but petitioner ~

does not claim that this question alone would warrant the

granting of a writ of certiorari, but same is presented for

the Court’s consideration and so that it may be papery

preserved:

Whether the order or judgment of the Trial Court

_ overruling respondents’ motion for a reconsideration =

of the Trial Court’s previous order overruling motion

to remand, which motion to reconsider was filed after

final judgment on merits had been entered, is such a

final judgment as would authorize the appeal by re- ‘Bit

spondents to the United States Circuit Court of Ap- E

peals, Fifth Circuit?

eos a

Reasons Relied on for the Allowance of the Writ.

Reasons I to I hereafter are referable. to Question No. L

Reason ie

The judgment and decision of the Circuit Court of Ap-

peals herein, to the effect that the petitioner was not en-

titied to remove the cross-action ‘of respondents to the

Federal court, even though the cross-action admittedly

sought affirmative relief for damages totaling $7,200.00

_ for breach of contracts unrelated to the original suit, for

the reason that Section 28 of the Judicial Code as Amended

(28 U. 8. C, A. Section 71) grants the right to remove a’

suit to the original defendants only, and that such a cross-

action was not a suit within such statute, conflicts with

NN prior dedisions (hereafter cited) of other Circuit Courts

- of Appeals and with a-prior decision of the Circuit Court -

of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. The Circuit Court of

_ Appeals in its opinion hérein acknowledges that its decision

and holding upon such point is in conflict with the following

prior decisions of other Circuit Courts of Appeals and Dis-

trict Courts (R. 129-130): Bankers Securities Corporation

v. Insurance Equities Corporation (1936, C. C. A. N. J.

Third Circuit) 85 F. (2d) 856; Chambers v. Skelly Oil Com-

pany (1937, C. C. A. Kans. Tenth Circuit) 87 F.. (2d) 853; .

Carson & Rand Lumber Co. v. Holtzclaw (1889, C. C. Mo.),

39 Fed. 578; Walcott v. Watson (1891, C. C. Nev.), 46 Fed,

-§29; Price & Hart v. T. J. Ellis & Co. (1904, C. C. Ark.},

129 Fed. 482; Hagerla v. Mississippi River Power Co. (191?.

D. C. Iowa), 202 Fed. 771; Hansen v. Pacific Coast Asphalt

Cement Co. (1917, D. C. Cal.), 243 Fed. 283, 284; Consoli-

dated Teatile Corporation v. Iserson (1923, D. C. N, Y.),

- 294 Fed. 289; Pierce v. Desmond (1926, D. C. Minn.), 11 F..

(2d) 327; Zwmbrunn v. Schwarte (1927, D. C. Ind.), 17 F.

(2d) 609; waded ure. v. — (1938, D. C. 8. C. Jn

Fed. Supp. 705; San Antonio Suburban Irrigated Farms

v. Shandy (1928, D. C. Kans.), 29 F. (2d) 579. Petitioner

further submits that the holding of the honorable Circuit °

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in the case of

: lichita Royalty Company v. City National Bank (1938,

- 60 A. Tex. Fifth Circuit) 95 F. (2d) 671,97 F. (2d) 249,

(1937, D. C. Tex.) 18 Fed. Supp. 609 (affirmed without .

_ reference to question of removal jurisdiction, 306 U. 8. 103, ae

83 L. Ed. 515, 59 S, C. 420), conflicts with the decision and -

_ holding of the Circuit Court of Appeals in this case, though

same was sought to be distinguished by the Circuit Court

of Appeals hereirfrom the instant case on the grounds that

the basis for a therein was a Federal question and

iz not diversity of

tizenship. rage

. Reason II. ii.

- The honorable Circuit Court of Appeals has decided an”

important question of Federal law involving the proper

construction of a Federal statute, to-wit, Section 28 of

Judicial Code as Amended (28 U. S. C. A. Section 71),

which question has not been, but should be, settled by the

Supreme Court. Since the enactment of Section 28 of the

Judicial Code (28 U. 8. C. A. Section 71) in substantially

its present form by the Judiciary Acts of 1887 and 1888

(Act of March 3, 1887, 24 Stat., Ch. 373, p. 522; Act of

$ August 13, 1888, 25 Stat., Ch. 866, p. 433) more than twenty- :

five reported cases have passed upon the question of the — .

Tight of a defendant in a cross-action or counter-claim filed

in a State Court secking affirmative relief to remove such

counter-claim or cross-action to the Federal Courts. These Ne

cases, many of, which are cited under Point I of brief which a

follows are in hopeless conflict and the ho therein - eae

| diametrically opposed upon such question. e Supreme

Court of the United States has not passed upon such ques-

tion under the act of 1887 (Act of March 3, 1887, 24 Stat.,

f

of,

‘ baba

"ee

a

BS

ee

5 ‘

ee

:

ms

Soars tents

ass SAY ROS SPREE SRE OG

StS age Se aE Le ee ee ey ee ene Ree

meen, arerenane

8

Ch. 373, p. 552) and its amendments. The case of West v.

Aurora City (1867),.73 U. S. 193, 6 Wall. 139, 18 L. Ed.

. 819, decided under tle Judiciary Act of 1789 (Act of Sep-

tember 24, 1789, c. 20, 1 Stat. 73) is cited by the Circuit

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in the instant case

as being controlling on the question presented, and on the

construction of the present removal statute. In so holding

the decision of. the honorable Circuit Court of Appeals

conflicts with the decisions in the following cases in which

it was held that the case of West v. Aurora City, supra, is

not applicable to the present removal statute because of

difference in the language of the two acts, or that such.

decision is distinguishable upon other grounds upon the —

question here presented. The cases so holding are: Haber-

mel v. Mong (1929, C. C. A. Sixth Circuit, Tenn.), 31 f. (2d)

822 (writ of certiorari denied Habermel v. Mong [1929] 280

U. S. 587, 74 L. Ed. 636, 30 S. C. 37); San Antonio Suburban

Irrigated Farms v. Shandy (1928, D. C. Kan.), 29 F. (2d)

‘ 579; O’Nedl Bros. v. Crowley (1938, D. C. 8. C.), 24 Fed.

Supp. 705; Zumbrunn v. Schwartz (1927, D. C. Ind.), 17 F.

(2d) 609; Price & Hart v. T. J, Ellis & Co. (Cir. Co. Ark.

1904), 129 Fed. 482; Ward v. Cousvaen Construction Com-

pany (1900, C.&. A. Seventh Circuit), 99 Fed. 598; Pierce

v. Desmond (1926, D. C. Minn.), 11 F. (2d) 327; Hagerla v.

Mississippi River Power Company (1912, D. C.. Iowa), 202

Fed. 771; Walcott v. Watson (1891, Cir. C. Ney.), 46 Fed.

529. The Circuit of Appeals recognizes in its dpinion

(B. 132-133) that sych conflict exists.

Reason Til.

‘The honorable Circuit Court of Appeals, in holding, as

it did in the instant case, that the petitioner, having been

' the original plaintiff in the State Court, was not entitled

under Section 28-of the Judicial Code as Amended (28

‘U. 8. C, A. Section 71), to remove the cross-action filed by

a”

9

.the respondents to the Federal Court, has decided a Federal

question involving the proper construction of such statute

in a way that conflicts with the applicable decisions of the

Supreme Court in the cases of Merchant’s Heat and Light

Company v. James B. Clow & Sons (1907) 204 U. 8. 286, 51

L. Ed. 488, 27 S. C. 285, and W. 8. Kirby v. American Soda

Fountain Company (1904) 194 U. 8. 141, 48 L. Ed..911, 24

S. C. 619, which cases recognize that when an original de-

fendant files a cross-action or counter-claim the original

defendant becomes as to such eross-action the actor or plain-

tiff and the original plaintiff becomes as to such cross-

action or counter-claim the defendant. The opinion and

holding of the Circuit Court of Appeals herein likewise con-

flicts with the following applicable decisions of the Supreme

Court, which hold that under the Judiciary Act of 1887 and

1888 in determining the right of removal the parties should

‘be realigned in accordance with the matter in dispute, and

without regard to the position they occupy in the pleadings

as plaintiff or defendant: Removal Cases, (1879), 100 U. 8.

457, 25 L. Ed. 593; Brown v. Ironsdale, (1891), 138 U. S.

389, 11 S. C. 308, 34 L. Ed. 987; Witson v. Oswego Township

(1894), 151 U. S. 56, 63, 14.8. C. 259, 38 L. Ed. 70; Mer- .

chants Cotton Press & Storage Co. v. The Insurance Com-

pany of North America (1894), 151 U. 8. 368, 385, 14 8. C.

367, 38 L. Ed. 195, 204; Mason City & Fort Dodge R. R. Co.

v. Boynton (1907), 204 U. S. 570, 27 S. C. 321, 51 L. Ed.

629; Venner v. Great Northern Railway Company (1908),

209 U. S. 24, 28 8. C. 328, 52-L. Ed. 666; Niles-Bennett-Pond

Co. v. Iron Moulders Union (1920), 254 U. 8. 77, 41'S. C.

39, 65 L. Ed. 145.

Reason IV hereafter i is referable to — No. T

3. Ee Reason Iv.

In entertaining the REE ¢ respondents from an order

of the District Court overruling a motion for reconsidera-

%

?

a

.

¢ ‘»

|

‘ e hi oat RE aie m

Ee RS [ee Se atacaneaal Sent aie eaeienipean aaah

g

tO ws vet =

Risinak: Seadace teen curt! aterm tele nn SOS

DES SE I a eS

abe

a t

i : |

ae

Va | 10

Va tion of motion to remand, which motion to suiciaamtades

it _ filed subsequent to the rendition of judgment on the merits

1 ‘in the Trial Court, the Citeuit Court of Appeals held in

Wi effect that: such order of the District Court was a final |

i i F - judgment from which an appeal might be taken to the —

. Circuit Court of Appeals. Such action upon the part of the

_ honorable Circuit Court of Appeals is in conflict with the

can ‘not be taken from an order overruling a motion to

_. vemand: Bender v. The Pennsylvania Company, 148 U. S.

. . 602,13 S: C. 640, 37 L. Ed..537; Arthur v. Edmunds (C. C, A.

Fifth Cireuit) 66 F. (2d) 21; Lockhart v. New York Life

Insurance Co. (C. C. A. Fourth Circuit), 71 F. (2d) 684;

Klein v. Wilson & Co. AC. C. A. Third Circuit), 7 F. (2d)

its jurisdiction to review by writ of certiorari the judgment

of the Cireuit Court of Appeals to the end that an important

question of Federal law involving the’ construction of a

Federal statute relating to removal jurisdiction be settled

and an end be put to the conflict in the. decisions of the

Fe : | various Circuit Courts of Appeals and other inferior coufts.

Respectfully submitted,

R. C. Jonson,

JoszPxH B. Dootey,

R. E. Unperwoop,

- BR. A. Wuson,

W.M.Sutros,

All of Amarillo, Texas, —

Attorneys for Petitioner.

holdings in the following cases to the effect that an appeal -

| te re : Conclusion $$$.

it Wherefore, for the reasons herein advanced, it is re-

a a spectfully submitted that the Supreme Court should exercise

es | ) L.

BRIEF IN SUPPORT oF PETITION FOR WRIT OF

: eee

Opinions of Courts Below.

The unreported oral “opinion of the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Northern District of Texas, rendered in

open court, when motion to ‘remand was overruled, ap- ae no

pears at Page 108 of Record.. 3

The opinion of the United States Circuit Court of Ap-_

__peals, Fifth Circuit, rendered on December 6th, 1940, ap-

pears at Page 127 of Record and is reported in 115 F. (2d)

at Page 880.

_ Grounds on Which J urisdiction is Invoked. P

A statement of grounds of jurisdiction is contained in the

petition. “The judgment of the United States Circuit Court

of Appeals (R. 134) reversed the judgment of the District 3 ;

Court and remanded this case to the District Court with in- gos ie. Le ‘

structions to remand to the State Court from which it-was :

removed. Such judgment of the Circuit Court of Appeals §=-—s_|

was entered on the 6th day of December, 1940 (R. 134). A

petition for rehearing was filed December 26, 1940 (R. 136)

and same was denied January 14th, 1941 (R145). Petition

for certiorari is presented herein on the 30th day of Janu-

ary, 1941. Jurisdiction is invoked under Section 240 (a) of

the Judicial Code as Amended by Act of February 13, 1925,

c. 229, Section 1 (43 Stat., 938; 28 U. 8S. C. A. Section 347).

The case of Gay v. Ruff , 292 U. 8. 25, (eh EPs 548. C. we! Beare

608, supports jurisdiction. pe |

Statement of Case. . eS

“k isieciakt’s| te tats eed Ga

“Statement of \iatter Involved’’ in the foregoing petition, = = = = = —

Pages 2 to 3, Mie ~~ A -

aieleaes 3 sr ecroree magpieeracomeeente ete,

a a

ween eee

12

‘emphasize: that the verified account originally sued upon' :

by petitioners (R. 1 to 60) was not denied under oath by *

respondents in their original answer (R. 64 to 68), and that

the correctness of the plaintiff’s account sued upon was

thereby admitted under Article 3736, Reyised C Civil Statutes

of Texas, a8 Amended 1931 (Note 1, Appendix); that the

cross-action filed by respondents against petitioner (R.

67-68) was found by the trial court in its opinion (B. 108 to

117) and the Cireuit Court of Appeals in its opinion (R. <

127 at 127, 128 and 129) to be a counterclaim for damages

in excess of $3,000.00 for breach of contracts unrelated to

the indebtedness sued upon originally by the petitioner, a

citizen of Delaware. It is true that the respondents in

their answer allege defensively that the, products admit-

tedly furnished by petitioner to respondents were furnished

under an agreement violating the Texas Anti-Trust Stat-

_utes, and by such answer respondents sought to defeat all

liability upon plaintiff’s account (R. 64 to 67), but the cross- |

action prayed for $7, 200.00 damages (R. 67-68) for breach

of separate contracts. In the motion to remand filed by

respondents in the Trial Court, respondents admitted (R.

79) that the petition for removal was filed in time required

by law, that is, before the time petitioner was — to

. answer the cross-action. oi

f

‘Specifications of Error.

3 naan I. ; : nae

The Honorable Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit erred in remanding this case and in holding that the

- eross-action filed by the respondents in the District Court

of Parmer County, Texas, in which respondents, citizens

of Texas, sought damages totalling $7,200.00 against peti- -

tioner, a citizen of Delaware, for the alleged breach of con-

tracts separate and distinct from ~ vr originally

Py

"aval pik

Summary:

foe

13. : /

sued upon, was not a suit removable by the petitioner as a |

defendant, for the reason that such decision and holding

‘ incorrectly: egies action 28 of the Judicial Code as

Amended (28 U. 8. ‘A. Section ). ‘and is contrary to the-.

‘weight of ee

Il,

The’ Honorable Circuit Court of Appeals erred in re-

| manding this case and in holding that petitioner, a citizen of

Delaware, was not entitled under the provisions of Section

“98 of the Judicial Code as Amended, as defendant in the

cross-action, to remove the cross-action or counterclaim

filed by respondents, citizens of Texas, in the District Court

of Parmer County, Texas, from such State Court to the’

Federal Court, for the reason that such holding and decision —

improperly interprets such statute and is| contrary to the

weight of authority.

“1.

The Honorable Circuit Court of Appeals erred in enfer-

_ taining the respondents’ appeal to such court fron/ the

order -of the Trial Court overruling respondents’ motion

to reconsider their motion to remand, filed after judgment

on the merits, for the reason that such order or decree was —

not a final judgment from which an appeal lies.

: :

F -

Point E es

The Circuit Court of Appeals orjed | in holding that the

_ eross-action of respondents was not a suit that could be

removed by petitioner as a defendant under the Removal es

Act. pases

_Referable to Question I ont Realons I, HW, and aut in

| Petition, and Specifications of Error x and Tj in Brief:

\ } y

?

A ty i “

; A. Hi / ‘

Ts a j > }

set | | ae se

7A is : 4 . ° . ‘

) eae Ss Baer: sy

i

{

a

*

LANE ESLER BIDE PRD Re PER NEN VE ALOE GA BS pH SIE

» ~ . 5

x ‘

. . -

;

— ton — ‘ .

we tl ee i FF ge ne een rr ad alr pon oh pe

SRE RETE RELI

Briiediny

a Ck

7 For brevity and to avoid being repetitious, the Argument

under Specifications I and II will be combined under this

Arguil@nt and Authorities under Powwt I:

The relevant portion of the statute involved herein, being

a part of Section 28 of the Judicial Code as Amended (28

U. 8. C. A. Section 71) is as follows: . ea8

‘¢ Any other suit of a civil nature, at law or in equity,

of which the district courts of the United States are

given jurisdiction, in any State court,:may be removed

into the district court~of the United States for the

proper district by the defendant or defendants therein,

being non-residents of that State.’’ 3 |

Se "The decision and hdiding of the Circuit Court of Appeals

herein was to the effect that the counterclaim of the respond-

‘ ents was not a suit within such statute and the petitioner

herein was not a defendant within such statute. The cross- ©

action or counterclaim filed by the respondents sought af-

firmative relief for more than $3,000.07 on a matter un-

. related to the verified account sued upon by petitioner.

Under Texas practice such cross-action or counterclaim

_ isasuit. The rule in Texas upon such subject is well stated

in 38 Texas Jurisprudence, Page 292, Section 6, as follows:

‘¢A eross-bill or cross-action, or a plea in reconven-

- tion, or a set off or counterclaim is, or occupies the same

position as, an independent suit by the defendant in the ©

original suit against the plaintiff. As to the matter

__.. ‘asserted in his cross-action or plea the defendant is the

actor or- plaintiff; and he has the rights and responsi-

while the plaintiff in the original

bilities of a plaintiff ;

suit is a defendant, with the privileges wghelosuiginzes

*»

In other words, each party is plaintiff in res tohis ~

ees own particular grievance and each party is defendant

in respect to the grievance of the other. Theré are two

o

Saal bia enecleck Setlan

15

cases which may be tried together in the same proceed-

ing or it has been said two actions are really combined

_____into-ene.”” 5

Such text is amply supported by stitorities cited in such

text.. The Supreme Court of the United States has recog- |

_ nized that the defendait in a eross-action upon the filing of

a cross-action or counterclaim becomes the actor and is as to

such cross-action the plaintiff or actor. Merchants Heat « and

’ Light Company v. James B. Clow & Sons (1907) 204 U. 8S.

286, 290; 51 L. Ed. 488, 490;.27 S. C. 285; W. S. Kirby v.

American Soda Fountain Company (1904), 194 U. 8. 141,

48 L, Hd. 911, 248.C.619.

Since the first enactment of Section 28 of the Judicial

Code in substantially its present form in 1887, and amend- __-.

ment in 1888 (Act of March 3, 1887, ¢. 337, fos, 4 24 Stat.

552; Act of August 13, 1888, c. 866, Sec. 1, 24 Stat. 433)

more than twenty-five reported cases in the District Courts

or Cireuit Courts of Appeals have passed upon the right

of a defendant i in a cross-action seeking affirmative relief

to remove such cross-action or counterclaim to the Federal

Court. The decisions upon such question are in hopeless

conflict. By far the greater number of cases and petitioner ; |

submits the better reasonéd cases, uphold the right of an j .

original plaintiff to remove to the Federal Court such aes Be

cross-action or counterclaim seeking affirmative relief under

the statute above quoted. There are a few cases which deny

- the right to so remove. ~These cases are in the minority,

however, and were decided in many ‘instances before the _ et

beginning of the present: century. The Circuit Court of

' Appeals herein in its opinion (R, 129-130) recognized that

the majority of the decisions were contrary to the decision —

of the Circuit Court of Appeals kerein. The rule that peti- ‘é

-tioner contends governs the ultimate decision in this case

is briefly stated in Bankers Securities O rporation v. Insur: .

a 3

ance Equities Cnianestin (1936 C. C. A. Third Cireuit) 85

F. (2d) 856, as follows :

‘*When a counterclaim i is filed, the plaintiff becomes

the defendant in the cause of action set forth therein,

and this extends to removal prewesne? from a State

court to a Federal court.’? | :

The decisions upholding the right of a plaintiff to remove

_ @ counterclaim filed against it to the Federal Court under -

the removal statute above quoted is coped or —

in the following cases:

Bankers Securities Corporation v. Insurance Equities

Corporation, (C. C. A. Third Circuit N. J. ree 85

F. (2d) 856;

Chambers v. Skelly Oil Company (C. C. A. Tenth ae

~ cuit 1937), 87 F. (2d) 853; :

Wichita Royalty Co. v. City Netiondt Bank (D. C. Tex.),

_ 18 Fed. Supp. 609, Affirmed (C. C. A. Fifth Circuit

1988), 95 F. (2d) 671; Affirmed by the Supreme |

Court without referring to the jurisdictional question,

ie 306 U. S. 108, 83 L. Ed. 515;

Carson and Rand Lumber Co. v. Holteclaw (D. C. Mo.

1889), 39 Fed. 578;

_ Walcott v. Watson (C. C. Nev. 1891), 46 Fed. 529;

Price & Hart v. T. J. Ellis od Co. (C. C, Ark. 1904),

129 Fed. 482;

Hagerla v. Mississippi River Power Co. (0. C. Iowa

1912), 202 Fed. 771;

_Hamsen v. Pacific Coast Asphalt Odiaent Co. (D. C.

Calif. 1917), 243 Fed. 283;

_ Chicago, M. & St. P. Ry. Co. v. City of Spencer (D. C.

Towa 1922), 283 Fed. 824; /

Consolidated Textile Corporation v. Iserson (D. C.

N. Y. 1923), 294 Fed. 289 ; .

Pierce v. Desmond (D. C. Minn. 1926), 11 F. (2d) 327;

~—

_

2 17 4

Mohawk Rubber Co. of New York v. Terrell (D. ©. Mo. oe a4

~ ~~ 1926), 13 F. (2d) 266; AE

? Zumbrunn v. Schwartz (D. C. Ind. 1927), 17 F. (2d)

1 SOR

San Antonio Suburban Irrigated Farms v. Shandy ) ad

(D. C. Kan. 1928), 29 F. (2d) 579; cs - , ot

Evetts v. Peoples Life Insurance Co. (D. C, Tex. 1929), =

36 F. (2d) 832; %

American Fruit Growers, Inc. v. La Roche (D. C. 8..C.

4998), 39 F. (2d) 243; |

~\° Houlton Savings Bank v. American Lomiiey Machia-

ery Company (D. C. Me. 1934), 7 Fed. Supp. 858;

Groveville Sales Corporation v. Stevens (D. C. N. J.

_ 1936), 16 Fed. Supp. 563; ae | : i

O’Neill Bros., Inc. v. Crowley (™. ©. §. C. 1938), 24 oy |

Fed. Supp. 705; a

Baker v. Keebler (D. C. Tenn. 1939), 29 Fed. Supp. 555.

The fgllowing cases deny on one ground or another the

right of removal to a defendant in a cross-Action:

Waco Hardware Company v. Michigan Stove Company

(C. C,.A. Fifth Cireuit 1899), 91 Fed. 289; mt.

McKown v. Kansas and Texas Coal Company (C. C. ae EE

Ark., 1901), 105 Fed. 657; ,

Judidas Mountain Jellico Coal Company v. Asheville | at

Ice and Coal Company (C. C. N. C. ss 135 Fed. ae ££

837;

Illinois Central Ry. Co. v. A. Waller & Co. (C. C. Ky.

1908), 164 Fed. 358;

Glover Machine Works v. Cooke-Jellico Coal Comins

(D. C. Ky. 1915), 222 Fed. 531. |

' The annotator in Note 668 of 28 U. 8. C. A. Section 71

says: : :

_ “The Authorities are in hopeless discord upon the

question whether, when a counterclaim or cross-bill is

+ Say ee! ate Pa yee ah hg < m PST ee ak te

- ‘ oe Pict os Cn acede Bu iw hel - eee bi pte ress

ane : ~ nf ‘

? OP beg tee ?

18

filed, the plaintiff or the defendant to the dviginal suit

is to be regarded as defendant for the purpose of re-

moval.”’

Petitioner submits - ‘is reason of such conflict the Su-

preme Court should exercise its jurisdiction to cose the

‘writ of certiorari.

It is respectfully submitted that the decision and holding

of the honorable Circuit Court of Appeals i in the present

~ ¢ase that the term ‘defendant or defendants” as used in the

portion of the removal statute above quoted does not apply

to a plaintiff or cross-defendant (R. 129), likewise conflicts

with decisions of the Supreme Court and other Circuit

Courts of Appeals. Mr. Justice Holmes, speaking for the

court in Mason City & Fort Dodge Railway Company v.

Boynton, 204 U. 8. 570, 579; 51 L. Ed. 629, 633; 27 S. C.

321, and referring to the statute in question, stated: _

‘‘But this court must construe the act of Congress

regarding removal. And it is obvious that the word

‘‘defendant’’ as. there used is directed toward more

important matters than the burden of proof or the

right to open and close.”’ s.

~ he Supreme Court has repeatedly held that under the

Judicial Acts of 1875 and 1887 (March 3, 1875 c. 137, Sec.

2, 18 Stat. 470; March 3, 1887, c. 373, Sec. 1, 24 Stat. 552;

August 3; 1888, c. 866, 25 Stat. 433). that in determining the

right of removal, the parties should be realigned in accord-

ance with the matter in dispute without regard to the

position they occupy in the pleadings as plaintiff or de-

fendant. Removal Cases (1879), 100 U. S. 457, 25 L. Ed.

593; Brown v. Ironsdale (1891), 138 U. S. 389, 11 S. C. 308,

34 L. Ed. 987 ; Wilson v. Oswego Township (1894), 151 U.S.

56, 63, 148. C. 259, 38 L. Ed. 70; Merchants Cotton Press ¢

Storage Co. v. The Insurance Company of North America

(1894); 151 U. S. 368, 385, 14 S. CG. 367, 38 L. Ed. 195, 204;

x ‘

¢

\

19

Mason City & Fort Dodge R. R. Co. v. Boynton (1907), 204 —

U. 8.570, 27 S. OC. 321, 51 L. Ed. 629; Venner v. Great North-

ern Railway Company (1908), 209 U. 8. 24, 28 8. C. 328,

52 L. Ed. 666; Niles-Bennett-Pond Co. v. Iron Moulders

Union (1920), 254 U. 8. 77, 41 S. C, 39, 65 L. Ed. 145. . The

right. of a third party brought in by a czoss-action_ to

remove under our present removal statute has likewise

ee recognized in Habermel v. Mong (1929 C. C. A.

Sixth Circuit) 31 F. (2d) 822, Writ of. Certiorari denied,

280 U. 8. 587, 74 L. Ed. 636, 50 8. C. 37; Houlton Savings

Bank v. American Laundry Machinery Company (1934

D. C. Me.), 7 Fed. Supp. 858; Ellis v. Peak (1938 D. C.

ily 22 Fed. Supp. 908. :

The honorable Circuit Court of pes vinythe cone

case cites the decision of the Supreme Court in West v. The

City of Aurora (1868) 73 U.S. 18, 6 Wall. 139, 18 L. Ed. 819,

as being controlling in the present case. The facts very

briefly are that the plaintiffs in error were plaintiffs in the

- State court. The nature of the suit was not clear to the

Supreme Court but appeared to be for the recovery of the

amount of interest coupons of certain bonds. The City

filed an answer setting up defensive matter and prayed for

suit and sought to remoye the new y matters to the Federal

Court. The action was remanded. The Supreme Court

held that such action was proper. This case was decided

under the Judiciary Act of 1789 (Act of September 24, 1789, |

c. 20, 1 Stat. 73), the pertinent part (Section pty of such

statute being as follows:

“That if a suit be commenced in any State court

against an alien, or by a citizen of the State in which

the suit is brought against a citizen of another State,

and the matter in dispute exceeds the aforesaid sum or

—_—

™

value of $500.00, exclusive:of costs, to be made to ap.

pear to the satisfaction of the court; and the defendant

shall, at the time of entering his appearance in such

State court, file a petition for the removal of the case

for trial into the next ciréuit court * * *” (His-

torical Note, 28 U. 8. C. A. Section 71). |

This decision of the Supreme Court has been distin-

guished from the question here presented on three distinct

grounds by other Cireuit Courts and District Courts. The.

grounds of such distinction are:

(1) The Act of 1789 and the present seaiaiival: statute

are materially different in that the Act of 1789 limited the

right of removal to a defendant ‘‘who shall at the time of

entering his appearance in such State court * * *”’

file a petition for removal, while such requirement is not in

our present Judicial Code. Habermel v. Mong (1929

CCA; Sixth Cireui ) 31 F. (24) 822, Writ of Seddiondeng

eresenicia

Bros. v. Crowley’ t 538 D. 0. 8. C.) 04 Fed. Supp, 705;

San Antonio Sub ban Irrigated Farms v. Shandy (1928

D. ©. Kan.) 29 F. (2d) 579; Zumbrumn v. Schwartz (1927

D. C. Ind.) 17 F. (24) 609 Price & Hart v. T. J. Ellis and -.

Co. (1904 C. C. Ark.), 129 Fed. 482;

(2) The so-called cross-action filed by the defendant in

the West case presented defensive matters only and was

merely supplemental proceedings ancillary to the main suit.

Ward v. Congress Construction Company (1900 C. C. A.

' Seventh Circuit) 99 Fed. 598; O’Neill Bros. v. Crowley

(1938-D..C. S. C.) 24 Fed. Supp. 705; San Antonio Suburban

Irrigated Farms v. Shandy (1928 D. C. Kan.) 29 F. (2d)

579; Pierce v. Desmond (1926 D. C. Minn.) 11 F. (2d) 371;

Hagerla v. Mississippi River Power Company (1912 D. C.

Iowa) 202 Fed. 771; Walcott v. Watson (1891 C. C. Nev.)

46 Fed. 529; 4 , Le

21 y

(3) The record in the West case, as pointed out by the

court therein, was so fragmentary as to be unintelligible.

O’Neill Bros. v. Crowley (1938 D. ©.'S. C.) 24 Fed. Supp.

705; San Antonio Suburban Irrigated Farms v. Shandy .

(1928 D. C. Kan.) 29 F. (2d) 579.

Point. IT.

Summary:

_ The order of the Trial Court overruling respondents’ —

motion for reconsideration of its order overruling motion to

remand is not a final judgment from which an appeal lies

to the Circuit Court of Appeals.

Referable to Question II and Reason IV in Petition and

- Specification of Error II in Brief:

Argument and Authorities Under Point II:

When this cause was removed to the Federal Court,

_Peapondents filed their motion to remand (R. 76 to 80) which

-was overruled (RB. 80) before trial on the merits. After

rendition of judgment on trial on the merits (R. 81),

‘the respondents filed their motion for new trial and for

reconsideration of their motion to remand (R. 85 to 93).

This was overruled (R. 93-94). Respondents’ notice of

appeal (R. 95), the cost bond (R. 96), respondents’ appli-

cation for leave to appeal (R. 101), the order allowing

appeal (R. 103), and assignments of error (R. 103-107) all

recite in substance that the appeal is taken from the

order of the Trial Court overruling the respondents’

. motion for reconsideration of their motion to remand. No

appeal was taken from the judgment on the merits rendered _

on October 13, 1939 (R. 81). It is respectfully submitted

that such an order or judgment of the Trial Court is not a

final judgment from which an appeal may be taken and it is

respectfully submitted that the action of the honorable

Circuit Court of Appeals in entertaining this appeal is in

89 , |

22

_ conflict with the oi telhaies decisions : Bender v. The Pennsyl-

vania Com mpany (1893) 148 U. S. 502, 37 L, Eid. 537, 13 S. C.

640; Arthur v. Edmunds (1933 C. C. A. Fifth Circuit) 66 F.

(2d) 21; Lockhart v. Now York Life Insurance Company

41934 C. C. A. Fourth Circuit) 71 F. (2d) 684; Klein v. Wil-

son & Co. (1925 C. C. A. Third Circuit) 7 F. (2d) 777; which

cases hold that an order overruling a motion to remand is not

_a final judgment from which an appeal lies. The petitioner

recognizes that on an appeal from a final judgment in a

_ ease or on appéals from interlocutory orders which are

made appealable by statute, that the appellate court has

jurisdiction to review the action of the Trial Court in refus-

ing a motion to remand. In the instant case, no appeal was

attempted to be taken from the final judgment on the merits

rendered on October 13, 1939, but the only judgment or |

order appealed from is an order rendered after final judg-

ment on a motion to reconsider a motion to remand, which

motion to reconsider was filed subsequent to the judgment

on the merits. If action on a motion filed after a

judgment to reconsider a previous interlocutory order

of the Trial Court is a final judgment from which an appeal

may be taken, the power to evade the provisions of the

statute that kn appeal may be taken from a final judgment

only is put in the power of either party and there could be

no limitation as to the time that such. motions might be

filed and appeals taken. }

Conclusion.

It is respectfully submitted that by reason of the im-

portance of the question involved being a question of the

proper construction_of a Federal statute and involving

Yemoval jurisdiction, and because of the trreconeilable~”

conflict between the Circuit Cour.3 of Appeals upon the-

question involved that the Supreme Court of the United

‘States should exercise its jurisdiction and grant a writ of

23

gertiorari in this cause to the United States Circuit Court

of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit to review the judgment

of said court entered on the 6th day | of December

and that upon such review the judgment of saig/court be

reversed and the judgment. of the United Staj

Court for the Northern District of Texas be

. Respectfully —

- RR. C. Jomnson,

. Josep B. Dooxzy,

R. E. Unperwoop,

_ BR. A. Wuson, —

W. M. Surtoy,

All of Amarillo, Texas;

Attorneys for Petitioner.

a pe

Sidbpadini jeoconisin-oianenenpphenepurenstvaniorecepinadivotn

i

+

.

.}

* - . . “.

2

° 3 ‘ fr :

: be . 7

os ° > ; r " } ‘

‘ . : : } i

A “ - + < : ¥ ; Ae ‘ a3 aes : iS rn te Bieri ne OS, Rae Owe a Ree Bo datemint etre ee

‘ : ne Y on . sh ie ee eke Rite ab Xe Ree EE ee a ee ee ONE Pe MO ek ee ROTTS Lee Nae Fe ES Ree ee tye : A

> > > = a anos be ry = . - > ~ _ > rm, . ve

- . “ » " . * . . “a

ij : ; ~ : hes yon De <i pis apy 9th Sa maa Say nd Has SEP a aaa io wise inl PRR ER Tet os piso Sigs he hyiaoadl BR mw pi hace. ‘

o ICPIITRERI arrears Denes en ne nee ten On A ne cean tne eeeeamndiaesieaasenencunensatenesar?” siteesauiedemiarenrnatancutaineemmenin aa Saar UR OARS deivi campers eianae ip arscctrtaainnepetnacreamisne seis rei oR Loe Oe ee nt $e VAS .

° 2 .

4 ° ry iy

x } ne ; mh, : pes a eatee?

. -s >

.

e , : .

4 ; ‘ ; :

chandise, including claims or suits for liquidated money |;

. such account is not just or true, in whole or in part,.and —

24

APPENDIX. |

Nore 1—Article 3736, Revised Civil § Skatates of Texas, "

asamended 1931: 4

‘*When any action or defense is founded 1 upon an open 3

account or other dlaim or claims for goods, wares and mer- §

demands based upon written contracts or based on business ©

dealings between the parties, or for personal service ren- |

dered, on which a systematic record of said account has @

been kept, supported by the affidavit of the party, his agent ~

or attorney, taken before some officer authorized to ad- ~

minister oaths, to the effect that such cause of action is, ¥

within the knowledge of affiant, just and true, that it is =

due, and that all just and lawful offsets, payments and —

credits have been allowed, the same shall be taken as —

prima facie evidence thereof, unless the party resisting ©

such claim shall, before an announcement of ready for trial ©

in said cause, file a written denial, under oath, stating that ~

if in part only, stating the items and particulars which ~

are unjust; provided, that when such counter-affidavit shall *

be filed on the day of the trial the party claiming under ——

such verified account shall have the right to continue such |

cause until the next term of court; when he fails to file such ©

affidavit, he shal! not be permitted to deny the account, or &

any item paren as the case may be.’’ :

» (2272)

Ponte get

a carmen

SrA ene gm

PIES OR 40 PU cee a PYE e II Te &

PeKQReTNR Maney

della altan cee = 9 RAO oon

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.