Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Shaffer v. United States

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

. Si weUiatas +

/ - .

9031635 JUN 2 - 200

NO.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

CURTIS SHAFFER

Petitioner

V.

THE UNITED STATES

Respondent

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari

To The United States Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOHN B. WELLS

Counsel of Record

LAW OFFICE OF JOHN B. WELLS

317 PORTSMOUTH DRIVE

SLIDELL, LA 70460-8429

985-641-1855

II

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the Federal Circuit Erred in Holding That a

Resort to Administrative Remedies Does Not Toll the

Statute of Limitations When This Unique Position is

In Conflict With the Other Circuit Courts of Appeal

Whether a Reservist Can Maintain a Cause of Action

for Military Pay if He is the Victim of an Improper

Discharge

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented for Review .............ccccccces i

Table of Cited Authorities .......... ccc cece ccccccs IV

ee ree Vii

Corporate Disclosure Statement .................... Vii

Pertinent Constitutional Provisions, Treaties, Statutes,

Ordinances and Regulations ....................05. Vili

Sentennent OF TPA occ s ox ksen take l

Fe EE re ro ee 3

I. The Federal Circuit Erred in Holding That a Resort to

Administrative Remedies Does Not Toll the Statute of

Limitations When This Unique Position is In Conflict

With the Other Circuit Courts of Appeal ......... 3

A. The Weight of Opinion Is That Referral to the

Correction Board Is a Mandatory

Administrative Requirement ............ 3

B Under the Law of the Case Doctrine, the

Requirement to Seek Relief from the

Correction Board and Discharge Review

Board Was Mandatory ................. 7

of Under the Doctrine of Equitable Tolling, the

. Statute of Limitations Should Not Be Allowed

to Bar Plaintiff's Action ................ 9

li A Reservist Can Maintain a Cause of Action for

Military Pay if He is the Victim of an Improper

ERO... 6s 0s0d sku 10

Come... 5 « s 0assneduns cee eee 12

Appendix

Decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Pr re ee Appendix 1

Decision of the United States Court of Federal

CN. 05 swe cee a pine ee Appendix 2

il

Decision of the United States Court of Appeals for

ee Bets CWSU . wn cece cect .... Appendix 12

Decision of the United States District Court for the

Western District of Tennessee ........ Appendix 16

Text of Pertinent Constitutional Provisions,

Treaties, Statutes, Ordinances and

a ee abn a 4 hk 046-64 8 Appendix 23

iil

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Cases.

Blassingame v. Secretary of the Navy, 811 F.2d 65 (2d

SN a bce cei eas eae ke Ob nae Cae e we aS 4

Brandt v. Hickel, 427 F.2d 53 (9" Cir. 1970) .......... 10

Champagne v. Schlesinger, 506 F.2d 979 (7th Cir.1974) .. 4

Christianson v. Colt Industries 486 U.S. 800 (1988) ..... 8

Clinton v. Goldsmith, 526 U.S. 529 (1999) ............. 4

Cunningham v. United States, 549 F.2d 753, 212 Ct.Cl. 451

EPR eee Cee eens en near n eT ames 7

Darby v. Cisneros, 509 U.S. 137 (1993) ............. 6, 7

Detweiler v. Pena, 38 F.3d 591 (D.C. Cir. 1997) ........ 5

Dougherty v. United States Navy Bd. for Correction of Naval

Records, 784 F.2d 499 (3d Cir.1986) ................. 4

EEOC v. Kentucky State Police Dep't, 80 F.3d 1086 (6th

ce RS, Fer ee ee re ee eae 9

Gilmore v. United States, 228 Ct.Cl. 829(1981) ......... 5

Guerra v. Scruggs, 942 F.2d 270 (4th Cir. 1991) ........ 4

Graham v. Henderson, 89 F.3d 75 (2d Cir.1996) ........ 8

Green v. United States, 260 F.3d 78 (2™ Cir. 2001) ...... 8

Haines v. Kerner, 404 U.S. 519 (1972) ................ 8

Hodges v. Callaway, 499 F.2d 417 (Sth Cir.1974) ....... 4

Holmberg v. Armbrecht, 327 U.S. 392 (1946) ........... 9

Horn v. Schlesinger, 514 F.2d 549 (8th Cir. 1975) ....... 4

Hudson v. McHugh, 148 F.3d 859, 864 (7th Cir.1998) .... 8

Hurick v. Lehman, 782 F.2d 984 (1986) ............... 3

Irwin v. Department of Veterans Affairs, 498 U.S. 89 (1990),

reh'g denied, 498 U.S. 1075 (1991) ................... 9

Joint Anti-Facist Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341 US.

RE ab ig ae a cues vee a ee ae 9

Larionoff v. United States, 365 F.Supp. 140 (D.C.D.C.1973),

remand on other grounds 533 F.2d 1167, 175 U.S. App.

D.C. 32, cert. grant, 429 U.S. 997 aff'd, 431 U.S. 864 ... 11

Linfors v. United States, 673 F.2d 332 (11th Cir. 1982) ... 4

iV

Martinez v. United States, 333 F.3d 1295 (Fed. Cir. 2003)

cert. denied 124 S.Ct. 1404 (2004) ......... 3, 5, 7, 10, 11

Mindes v. Seaman, 453 F.2d 197(Sth Cir.1971) ......... 4

Ortiz v. Secretary of Defense, 41 F.3d 738 (D.C. Cir. 1994) 4

Osborn v. United States, 47 Fed. Cl. 224 (2000). ....... 3

Parisi v. Davidson, 405 U.S. 34 (1972) ..............6. 4

Perez v. United States, 850 F.Supp 1354 (1994) ......... 7

Saad v. Dalton, 846 F.Supp 889 (1994) ......0........ 7

Seitzinger v. Reading Hosp. and Med. Ctr., 165 F.3d 236

CORT FIO Oe, iv ccs hndeeneienes eee 9

Sherengos v. Seamans, 449 F.2d 333 (4" Cir. 1971) ...... 5

Sims v. Fox, 492 F.2d 1088 (5" Cir. 1974), on reh’g 505 F.2d

S57, cert dented 421 U.S. WOU) occ ccccwcvccccuccess 5

Smith v. Marsh, 787 F.2d 510 (10th Cir.1986) .......... 4

St. Regis Paper Co. v. United States, 368 U.S. 208 (1961) 10

Steel Improvement & Forge Co. v. United States, 174 Ct.Cl.

rw se, | re a co. Srl :

Suro v. Padilla. 441 F.Supp. 14 ( D.C. Puerto Rico 1976)

Watson v. Perry, 18 F.Supp 1403 (W.D. Wash. 1996) ... ;

Statutes.

Pe OF tis oa no bas haere eee eee 2

Pe he SS oak vs padéh akan bee 5, 10, 11

Bis Oe S| Arner me eer urine riper 8 SS. © 6

OP Uh. Oe x vos 5000 eb eee eee eee 6

10 U.S.C. § 10147 ..... PETE NET ee li

ae das Ee 5 4000 d00004nkeet eee eee Vii

ph fa rr me erry eye 12

Ft an BE vi dnsed x0 oe eee 11

ot Un BE 6 h400<60558 eee eee 12

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States.

gg ee rl ee vii, 8, 10, 12

WGP GPS ks kd veedsese gee eee eee Vii

a

i one obb en e0keebies ethene Vil

Other Authorities.

SEE OB EGD his ccevvescedesvewewecueessesents 5

vi

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION

These issues are properly before the Supreme Court of

the United States pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254 and Rule 10

of the Supreme Court rules which govern the review on

Certiorari. The final judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit was entered on March 8,

2004. The submission for filing is within the 90 day

requirement of Rule 13.1 of the Supreme Court Rules. This

proceeding does not question the constitutionality of any Act

of Congress or any State Legislature. Consequently, the

provisions of Rule 29.4(b) and (c) do not apply.

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

This document has not been filed on behalf of a

nongovernmental corporation within the scope of Rule 29.6

Vii

PERTINENT CONSTITUTION ROVISIONS

TREATIES, STATUTES, ORDINANCES AND

REGULATIONS

The following constitutional provisions treaties,

statutes, ordinances and regulations are applicable to this

proceeding:

10 U.S.C. § 938

10 U.S.C. § 1552.

10 U.S.C. § 1557

10 U.S.C. § 1558

1WVU.S.C. § 10147

28 U.S.C. § 1254

37 U.S.C. § 101

37 U.S.C. § 204

37 U.S.C. § 206

32 C.F.R. § 723.3

Pertinent text of citations are set out in the appendix.

Vill

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Curtis Shaffer was hired by the Army Reserves as a

“dual status technician” on July 24, 1983. As a condition of

employment, plaintiff was required to maintain an Army

Reserve unit military membership. Shafer was a career

reservist who has served his country loyally and with honor.

In February of 1991, Shaffer applied and was selected

for a civilian position associated with a Master Sergeant (E-8)

Army Reserve position with the 3291 USARF School. He

never accepted the position but was still promoted to Master

Sergeant (E-8) on 20 February 1991. On March 25, 1992, he

was relocated to Miami Florida to accept another position.

This billet was a GS-9 civilian and Sergeant First Class

(SFC) (E-7) military position.

In April 1992 orders were issued rescinding his

promotion and returning him to the grade of E-7 but through

an oversight, the orders were not sent to Shaffer. On July 16,

1992, Shaffer was directed to stop wearing the E-8

designation and to display E-7 rank indicators. He

immediately complied.

On August 5, 1992, he finally received the orders rescinding

his advancement.

On September 18, 1992, Shaffer made a protected

communication to Congressman Dante Fascell. On January

15, 1993, he received a letter of reprimand which was filed in

his permanent record. On February 23, 1993, plaintiff made

another protected communication to the Commander, 81st U.

S. Army Reserve Command requesting a formal investigation

into the matter. The communication was referred to the

Inspector General.

In reprisal for the protected communications, the

302™ Military Intelligence company issued a sep2ration order

indicating an intent to separate plaintiff from the military

service. Shaffer then submitted a complaint of wrongs

pursuant to Art. 138 of the Uniform Code of Military Justice

(10 U.S.C. § 938). It was denied on August 12, 1993.

On October 13, 1993, a board of officers was

convened at the Headquarters, 125™ Army Reserve

Command, to consider whether Shaffer committed

misconduct and whether he should be retained or separated.

The board voted 2-1 to find misconduct only for improperly

wearing rank insignia and recommended separation under

honorable conditions.

On December 13, 1993, plaintiff was discharged from

the Reserves with a general discharge-under honorable

conditions. On April 2, 1994, plaintiff was terminated from

his civilian position with the Army because of his failure to

maintain membership in the Reserves.

On November 19, 1994, plaintiff submitted an

application for correction of records to the Army Board for

Correction of Military Records.

He then filed a pro se complaint in the United States District

Court for the Western District of Tennessee (96-2204)

seeking relief inter alia under the Fifth Amendment to the

Constitution and requesting that his discharge be set aside.

The court dismissed the suit for failure to exhaust

administrative remedies on March 7, 1997. On June 19,

1997, the Army Discharge Review Board refused to upgrade

plaintiff's discharge. On February 25, 1998, the Army Board

for Correction of Military Records refused to correct his

record.

The United States Couri of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

affirmed the district court on May 1, 1998.

The instant action was filed in the United States Court

of Federal Claims on October 20, 2000. That court dismissed

his suit on September 28, 2001. A timely notice of appal was

filed in the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit. The matter was stayed pending the outcome in the

case of Martinez v. United States, 333 F.3d 1295 (Fed. Cir.

2003) cert. denied 124 S.Ct. 1404 (2004).

ARGUMENT

I. The Federal Circuit Erred in Holding That a

Resort to Administrative Remedies Does Not Toll

the Statute of Limitations When This Unique

Position is In Conflict With the Other Circuit

Courts of Appeal

A. The Weight of Opinion Is That Referral to

the Correction Board Is a Mandatory

Administrative Requirement

The issue in this case is ripe for review pursuant to

Rules 10(a) and (c) of the Rules of the Supreme Court of the

United States. The Federal Circuit stands alone in their

holding that the six year statute of limitations begins to run at

the time of discharge rather than the completion of final

action by the correction board or discharge review board.

Osborn v. United States, 47 Fed. Cl. 224, 233 (2000). See,

Martinez supra. In Martinez, a divided Federal Circuit,

meeting en banc, reaffirmed their previous decision in Hurick

v. Lehman,_782 F.2d 984 (1986). As discussed herein,

Hurick was wrong when it was issued and is still wrong

despite its reaffirmance in Martinez.

The Federal Circuit jurisprudence on this issue is

against the weight of authority. Most federal courts

throughout the nation require military members to resort to

the exhaustion of administrative remedies articulated by

Parisi v. Davidson, 405 U.S. 34, 37 (1972). In the military

context this requires a review of discharge proceedings by the

service record correction board. Champagne v. Schlesinger,

506 F.2d 979 (7th Cir.1974); Hodges v. Callaway, 499 F.2d

417 (Sth Cir.1974); Mindes v. Seaman, 453 F.2d 197, 201-02

(Sth Cir.1971); Linfors v. United States, 673 F.2d 332 (11th

Cir. 1982) (per curiam); Horn v. Schlesinger, 514 F.2d 549,

551 (8th Cir. 1975); Guerra v. Scruggs, 942 F.2d 270, 276

(4th Cir. 1991); Blassingame v. Secretary of the Navy, 811

F.2d 65, 71 (2d Cir.1987).

Although this Court has not addressed this matter

directly, they have noted that the military correction boards

are “final agency action.” Clinton v. Goldsmith, 526 U.S.

529 (1999) In light of Clinton, this Court should re-examine

the Federal Circuit rulings that exhausting remedies before a

correction boards does not toll the statute of limitations.

Reversal of this precedent would bring the Federal Circuit

into agreement with the other circuits that have examined this

matter.

If the resort to the correction board is mandatory, then

the statute of limitations begins to run at the time of their

final decision. Ortiz v. Secretary of Defense, 41 F.3d 738

(D.C. Cir. 1994); Dougherty v. United States Navy Bd. for

Correction of Naval Records, 784 F.2d 499, 501 (3d

Cir.1986); Smith v. Marsh, 787 F.2d 510, 512 (10th

Cir.1986). The courts below have recognized that when

pursuance of administrative remedies is a prerequisite to suit

then the statute of limitations is suspended or tolled by such

action. Steel Improvement & Forge Co. v. United States, 174

4

ATO TET GES SOEUR I NOR ORES” NRE Tata

Ct.Cl. 24, 29, 355 F.2d 627, 631 (1966); Gilmore v. United

States, 228 Ct.Cl. 829, 831 (1981).

The dispute between the Circuits continues to widen

in light of Martinez and the current failure of the Federal

Circuit to require exhaustion may act to deprive military

members of that alternative in seeking to correct injustice.

Prior to the enactment of the correction boards enabling

statute, 10 U.S.C. § 1552, the Congress was inundated with

private bills to correct records and injustice. The purpose of

establishing correction boards was to provide for correction

of military records and for review of discharges and

dismissals. Sims v. Fox, 492 F.2d 1088 (5" Cir. 1974), on

reh’g 505 F.2d 857, cert denied 421 U.S. 1011. See, also,

Suro v. Padilla, 441 F.Supp. 14 (D.C. Puerto Rico 1976).

This administrative “ body of last resort” freed Congress from

dealing with individual applications for corrections of

injustice to servicememebrs. Sherengos v. Seamans, 449

F.2d 333 (4" Cir. 1971).

Should the Federal Circuit position be upheld, it may

jeopardize the military member’s right to seek review under

the correction board. Statutorily and by regulation, the

applicant is required to submit his petition within three years

of the date of the discovery of the injustice. 10 U.S.C. §

1552(b), 32 C.F.R. 723.3(b). Both the statute and the

regulation provide for waiver in the interests of justice. Jd.

The courts have modified this provision, however. In

Detweiler v. Pena, 38 F.3d 591 (D.C. Cir. 1997), the court

held that the statute of limitations does not begin to run until

the applicant has left military service.

Congress has never adopted a firm time period for

consideration of an application. In § 544 the 1999 Defense

Appropriations Act, Congress enacted timeliness standards

?

for the military correction boards. PL 105-261, 112 Stat.

1920, 2021 (codified as 10 U.S.C. § 1557). This enactment

required that 50 percent of all petitions received during the

fiscal years 2001 and 2002 be decided within ten months of

submission. The law requires increased percentages in

subsequent years. Currently it is at 60 percent. While a court

order may accelerate the process somewhat, there is no firm

requirement for a correction board to complete action within

a specified time frame.

Consequently, it is conceivable that the delays

inherent in the correction board system could force the

service member with a choice of remedies. The time

standards are not mandatory and the correction board process

can and has taken several years. In the instant case it took

almost three and one half years for the correction board to

render its decision. Unless the Federal Circuit is reversed,

these type of time constraints could force a service member to

abandon the preferred Congressional remedy and seek the

more expensive and more difficult relief in the Court of

Federal Claims.

Nor can it be said that the adoption of 10 U.S.C. §

1558 strengthens the Federal Circuit’s position. Initially a

plain reading of the statute seems to indicate that unless

designated as a “special board” within the scope of 10 U.S.C.

§ 1558(b)(1)(A), a correction board is exempt from the

statute. 10 U.S.C. § 1558(g)(2). Thus it is inapplicable to the

present case.

This Court should grant certiorari in the instant case

because it represents an unsettled area of the law that should

be settled by this court. Since this Court’s decision in

Darby v. Cisneros, 509 U.S. 137 (1993), several district

courts have been confused as to the application of Darby. As

6

A LOPE NEE ER OO Reet oe SER:

a result, the law has become increasingly unsettled with the

decisions of many district courts in conflict with others.

Compare Saad v. Dalton, 846 F.Supp 889 (1994) with Perez

v. United States, 850 F.Supp 1354, 1360 (1994) and Watson

v. Perry, 918 F.Supp 1403, 1411 (W.D. Wash. 1996). The

effect of Martinez, supra, which claims that Darby applies in

the district courts but not in the Court of Federal Claims has

further heightened the confusion.

B Under the Law of the Case Doctrine, the

Requirement to Seek Relief from the

Correction Board and Discharge Review

Board Was Mandatory

It is well settled that there are circumstances where

recourse to a correction board becomes a mandatory remedy

which must be exhausted before judicial review is available.

Cunningham vy. United States, 549 F.2d 753, 212 Ct.Cl. 451

(Ct.Cl.1977).

When Mr. Shaffer sought relief from the district

court, his complaint was dismissed for failure to exhaust his

administrative remedies by applying to the Army Board for

Correction of Military Records {4BCMR) and Army

Discharge Review Board (AD”..5). The Sixth Circuit

affirmed.’ The plaintiff complied and sought to exhaust his

administrative remedies. This case is really a continuation of

the first case filed ana dismissed in the district court.

Consequently, their finding that Shaffer had to apply to the

administrative boards was binding on the court below.

' The Sixth Circuit did not explicitly address

administrative remedies since the plaintiff had exhausted his

remedies by the time the Sixth Circuit decided the case.

7

The court below found that the complaint filed in the

Tennessee court would not have been actionable in the Court

of Federal Claims. While the complaint filed in that court did

not specifically articulate a cause of action under the Tucker

Act, the various allegations constitute such a complaint.

Shaffer filed his original suit pro se. Pro se litigants

generally are entitled to a liberal construction of their

pleadings, which should be read "to raise the strongest

arguments that they suggest." Green v. United States, 260

F.3d 78, 83 (2™ Cir. 2001); Graham v. Henderson, 89 F.3d

_ 75, 79 (2d Cir.1996); See Haines v. Kerner, 404 U.S. 519,

520 (1972) (per curiam) (holding that the allegations in a pro

se complaint are "h[e]ld to less stringent standards than

formal pleadings drafted by lawyers.” In other words the

court should apply “liberal construction” of the pleadings of

individuals who proceed pro se “to give a pro se plaintiff a

break when, although he stumbles on a technicality, his

pleading is otherwise understandable." Hudson v. McHugh,

148 F.3d 859, 864 (7th Cir.1998).

i

'

i

ERE Some

The district court held that an application to the

correction board and discharge review board was mandatory.

This Court has found that federal courts should routinely

apply law-of-the-case principles to transfer decisions of

coordinate courts. Christianson v. Colt Industries 486 U.S.

800, 815 (1988).

Consequently, the instant case represents a

controversy within the scope of Rule 10(a) since the actions

of the court below are in direct conflict with the precedence

and the mandate of the Sixth Circuit and its district court.

Accordingly, granting certiorari on this issue is necessary to

resolve the contradictions between the circuits.

Rs Under the Doctrine of Equitable Tolling, the

Statute of Limitations Should Not Be Allowed

to Bar Plaintiff's Action

Under the doctrine of equitable tolling, a plaintiff may

sue after the statute of limitations has expired if he was

prevented from filing suit in a timely manner due to

inequitable circumstances. See Seitzinger v. Reading Hosp.

and Med. Ctr., 165 F.3d 236, 240 (3d Cir.1999); EEOC v.

Kentucky State Police Dep't, 80 F.3d 1086, 1094-95 (6th

Cir.1996). The doctrine of equitable tolling applies in suits

against the government as well as against private litigants.

Irwin v. Department of Veterans Affairs, 498 U.S. 89, 95-96

(1990), reh'g denied, 498 U.S. 1075 (1991). This Court has

held that equitable tolling is read into the federal statute of

limitations. Holmberg v. Armbrecht, 327 U.S. 392, 397

(1946).

Here the plaintiff strictly followed the instruction of

the federal district court - apparently to his detriment. He

should not be punished now for acting in good faith upon the

directives of that court. Instead the doctrine of equitable

estoppel should act as a safety net to prevent this case from

being dismissed on such a harsh technicality. As Justice

Frankfurter said, “[t]he heart of the matter is that democracy

implies respect for the elementary rights of men, however

suspect or unworthy; a democratic government must therefore

‘practice fairness.” Joint Anti-Facist Refugee Committee v.

McGrath, 341 U.S. 123, 170 (1951) (Frankfurter, J

concurring). It is a sad day indeed if those who defend

democracy are unnecessarily deprived of the benefits of it. As

Justice Black once said:

Our Government should not by picayunish

haggling over the scope of its promise, permit

9

one of its arms to do that which, by any fair

construction, the Government has given its

word that no arm will do. It is no less good

morals and good law that the Government

should turn square corners in dealing with the

people than that the people should turn square

corners in dealing with their government.

St. Regis Paper Co. v. United States, 368 U.S. 208, 229

(1961) (Black, J., dissenting). Another court put it more

simply:

To say to these appellants, “The joke is on

you. You shouldn't have trusted us,” is hardly

worthy of our great government

Brandt v. Hickel, 427 F.2d 53, 57 (9" Cir. 1970)

The actions of the Federal Circuit are in direct

contravention with the holdings of this Court and the other

Circuits as delineated herein. Accordingly, pursuant to Rule

10(a), certiorari should be granted on this issue.

Il A Reservist Can Maintain a Cause of Action for

Military Pay if He is the Victim of an Improper

Discharge

The Court below by a 7-6 vote in Martinez and in the

instant case, considered the question of whether 10 U.S.C. §

1552 was a money mandating statute. The majority

incorrectly concluded that it was not. Judge Plager, who was

joined by the Chief Judge and four other Judges, believed that

10 U.S.C. § 1552 was a money mandating statute.

10 U.S.C. § 1552 authorizes the Secretary to correct

10

records and provides for the payment of monetary claims “if

necessary to correct an error or remove an injustice." 10

U.S.C. § 1552(a)(1) The statute further provides that the

Secretary:

may pay, from applicable current

appropriations, a claim for the loss of pay,

allowances, compensation, emoluments, or

other pecuniary benefits, or for the repayment

of a fine or forfeiture, if, as a result of

correcting a record under this section, the

amount is found to be due the claimant.

10 U.S.C. § 1552(c).

The Martinez dissent wisely notes that compensation

is required when a record is corrected, and for purposes of

establish jurisdiction, 10 U.S.C. 1552 is a money mandating

statute. Martinez, supra., (Plager, J. dissenting).

Other Circuits have taken a different approach. The

District of Columbia courts found that the purpose of

correction boards includes providing reimbursement of

compensation denied due to an incorrect or unjust record

entry. Larionoff v. United States, 365 F.Supp. 140

(D.C.D.C.1973), remanded on other grounds 533 F.2d 1167,

175 U.S.App.D.C. 32, cert. granted, 429 U.S. 997 aff'd, 431

US. 864.

Additionally, in its opinion the court below found that

the plaintiff improperly relied upon the Military Pay Act.

This analysis ignores the fact that as a reservist, plaintiff was

also required to perform 14 days active duty for training per

year. 10 U.S.C. § 10147. This brings plaintiff within the

scope of 37 U.S.C. 204(a). Plaintiff was a member of the

11

reserve component of a uniformed service. 37 U.S.C. §

101(3). 37 U.S.C. § 206 applies only to inactive duty while

the active duty for training the plaintiff is required to perform

is considered “active duty.” 37 U.S.C. 101(a)(18).

Consequently, certiorari is appropriate under Rule

10(a) because of a divergent view between the circuits.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons delineated herein, petition prays that a

writ of certiorari be issued to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit.

Portsmouth Drive

idell, LA 70460-8469

985-641-1855

12

NOTE: Pursuant to Fed. Cir. R. 47.6 this disposition

is not citable as precedent. It is a public record.

United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

02-5030

CURTIS SHAFFER,

Plaintiff-Appellant

Ve

UNITED STATES

Defendant-Appellee

Judgment

ON APPEAL from the UNITED STATES COURT OF

FEDERAL CLAIMS

in CASE NO(S). 00-CV-626

This CAUSE having been heard and considered, it is

ORDERED and ADJUDGED

Per Curiam (CLEVENGER, RADER and BRYSON,

Circuit Judges).

AFFIRMED, See Fed. Cir. R. 36.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

Jan Horbaly, Clerk

DATED _ March 8, 2004

Appendix |

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF FEDERAL

CLAIMS

No. 00-626C

(Filed September 28, 2001)

FEE EEE +

CURTIS SHAFFER,

Plaintiff

THE UNITED STATES

Defendant

+

*

*

*

+

*

*

v. °

+

+

*

*

*

TTT t ttt ttt ttt ttt ttt ttt ttt tt ee.

John B. Wells, Slidell, LA for plaintiff

Heide L. Hermann, Trial Attorney, Commercial |

Litigation Branch, Civil Division, Department of Justice, |

Washington, D. C. , with whom were Stuart E. Schiffer,

Acting Assistant Attorney General, David M. Cohen,

Director, Commercial Litigation Branch, and James M |

Kinsella, Deputy Director, for defendant.

Opinion and Order |

Appendix 2

a

This military pay case is before the court on

defendant’s motion to dismiss plaintiff's complaint as barred

by the statute of limitations and for failure to state a claim

upon which relief can be granted.

Facts

On July 24, 1983, plaintiff was hired by the Army

Reserves (Reserves)

as a “dual status technician.” Complaint at § II]. Asa

condition of employment, plaintiff was required to maintain

an Army Reserve unit military membership. On February 20,

1991, plaintiff was promoted to Master Sergeant (E-8).

However on December 13, 1993, plaintiff was discharged

from the Reserves with a general discharge under honorable

conditions. Thereafter, on April 2, 1994, plaintiff was

terminated from his civilian position with the Army for

failure to maintain Reserve membership.

Plaintiff's November 19, 1944 application for

correction of recrods to the Army Board for Correction of

Military Records (ABCMR) was denied on March 4, 1998.

The Army Discharge Review Board (DRB) alkso denied

plaintiffs application.

On February 1, 1996, during the ABCMR review,

plaintiff filed a complaint in the United States District Court

for the Western District of Tennessee for Fifth Amendment

relief and the set aside of his discharge. The district court’s

dismissal was affirmed by the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit.

Plaintiff's October 20, 2000 complaint alleges: (1)

violation of the Military Whistleblower Act, 10 U.S.C. §

1034, (2) violation of the Administrative Procedures Act

Appendix 3

(APA), 28 U.S.C. § 702, (3) the ABCMR’s improper failure

to correct his record, and (4) the Army DRB’s improper

failure to upgrade his discharge.

Defendant’s motion to dismiss argued that (1) the

statute of limitations had elapsed prior to plaintiff's filing of

his complaint and (2) the plaintiff failed o state a claim upon

which relief can be granted. See Rule 12(b)(4) of the Rules

of the United States Court of Federal Claims. (RCFC).

Discussion

A. Statute of Limitations

The statute of limitations, which is a jurisdictional

requirement of this court, is six years. See 28 U.S.C. § 2501

(2001). Claims, such as this, alleging wrongful discharge,

accrue on the date of discharge or separation from active

duty. Hurick v. Lehman, 782 F.2d 984, 986 (Fed. Cir.

1986). Plaintiff was discharged from the Army Reserves on

December 13, 1993, and filed this action more than six years

later, on October 20, 2000, after the statute of limitations had

lapsed. Plaintiff contends that the statute of limitations (1)

was tolled by filing his district court complaint, and (2)

should have been tolled equitably while he pursued

administrative remedies.

Plaintiff contends that the six year statute of

limitations was tolled by “constructive transfer” of the district

court complaint, filed February 12, 1996. By “constructive

transfer,” he means that the district court although it in fact

did not, should have transferred plaintiffs case to this court,

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1631, which provides:

[T]he court shall, if it is in the interest of

Appendix 4

justice, transfer such action or appeal to any

other such court in which the action or appeal

could have been brought at the time it was

filed or noticed, and the action or appeal shall

proceed as if it had been filed in or noticed for

the court to which it is transferred on the date

upon which ti was actually filed in or noticed

for the court from which it was transferred.

28 U.S.C. § 1631. However, transfer to overcome the statute

of limitations may "ot be ordered if he transferee court would

have had no subjeci matter jurisdiction over plaintiff's claim

at the time it was filed in the transferor court. See James v.

Caldera, 159 F.3d 573 (Fed. Cir. 1998).

Plaintiff's complaint in the district court could not have been

entertained in this court, because he claimed racial

discrimination based on Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964, 42 U.S.C. §1981, a claim over which this court has no

authority. See Elkins v. United States, 229 Ct. Cl. 607

(1981). Thus, plaintiff's case in district court was not eligible

for transfer to this court under 28 U.S.C. §1631.

Plaintiff erroneously relies upon Rothman v. United

States, 219 Ct. Cl. 595 (1979), for support of its

“constructive transfer” theory. In Rothman, a bankruptcy

trustee for an extended-care facility sued for reimbursement

of Medicare services. After a Medicare Provider Appeal

Committee denied full reimbursement, the trustee sought

relief in district court. Plaintiff's timely-filed complaint was

dismissed by the district court for lack of jurisdiction. Id. at

596. Two months later, and nine weeks after the statute of

limitations had elapsed, plaintiff filed his action in the Court

of claims. The Rothman court denied the motion to dismiss

Appendix 5

because, had plaintiff made a transfer motion, it could and

likely would have been granted. Id. at 596-97. The

Rothman court justified departing from the statute on the

grounds that the plaintiff had a very short time before the

statue of limitations expired to file his complaint in the Court

of Claims, as well as the plaintiff's “technical failure” to file

the transfer motion. This precedent, while binding, never has

been cited by the Court of Claims or Federal Circuit. In any

event, there is no question that Rothman is distinguishable,

because the Court of Claims in Rothman had subject matter

jurisdiction over the complaint(s).

B. Equitable Tolling

Plaintiff contends that the statute of limitations was

tolled equitable by

plaintiff's pursuit of administrative remedies following the

dismissal of the district court case. Statutory limitations on

actions are construed strictly, particularly where the

government is waiving sovereign immunity. Irwin v. Dep*

of Veteran’s Affairs, 498 U.S. 89, 95-96, 111 S. Ct. 452,

456-57 (1900)(“Federal courts have typically extended

equitable relief only sparingly.”). The Supreme Court and the

Federal Circuit have employed the doctrine under limited

circumstances: fraua, Bailey v. Glover, 88 U.S. 342 347

(1874); concealment of facts by the defendant, Japanese

War Notes Claimants Ass’n of the Phillipines, Inc. v.

~ United States, 178 Ct. Cl 630, 373 F.2d 356 (1967); or

timely filing a complaint in the wrong court, Irwin v. Dept.

of Veterans’s Affairs. 498 U.S. 89, 95-96, 111 S. Ct. 452,

458. Plaintiff here alleges no fraud, concealment of facts, or

other governmental misconduct that would have prevented

him form filing his claim within the statutory period specified

by 28 U.S.C. § 2501. While permitting equitable tolling in

Appendix 6

the circumstances above, the courts have precluded its use for

“garden variety” neglect. See Irwin, 498 U.S. at 96, 111 S.

Ct. at 458.

Plaintiff relies on decisions in other circuits to support

his argument that pursing administrative remedies equitable

tolls the statute. However, the Federal Circuit repeatedly has

held that seeking permissive remedies, such as appeals to

ABCMR or the DRB, do not toll the statute of limitations.

See Heisig v. United States, 719 F.2d 1153, 1155 (Fed. Cir.

1983); see also Hurick v. Lehman, 782 F.2d 984, 987 (Fed.

Cir. 1986).

a Failure to State a Claim upon Which Relief Can be

Granted

While the court’s dismissal for lack of jurisdiction

obviates the need to

decide whether it should dismiss the complaint under RCFC

12(b)(4) for failure to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted, the court reaches and decides the issue, in the

alternative, in the interest of judicial efficiency in the event,

on appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit overrules the jurisdictional decision.

Dismissal under RCFC 12(b)(4) is appropriate “when

the facts asserted by the plaintiff do not entitle him to a legal

remedy.” Boyle v. United States, 200 F.#d 1369, 1372 (Fed.

Cir. 2000). The court “must accept all well-pled factual

allegations [in the complaint]as true and draw all reasonable

inference in [he non-movant’s] favor.” Id. In this case, the

relevant facts are not in dispute.

Plaintiff's claims do not, as they must, identify any

Appendix 7

statute creating a “substantive right enforceable against the

United States for money damages.” United States v. Testan,

424 US. 392, 398, 96 S. Ct. 948, 953 (1976)(“The Tucker

Act, of course, is itself only a jurisdictional statute; it does

not create any substantive right enforceable against the

United States for money damages.”) See also Dehne v.

United States, 970 F.2d 890, 893f (fed. Cir.

1992)(“Therefore, in order to state a claim under the Tucker

Act, (plaintiff) must find a substantive right in the

Constitution, as act of Congress, or an executive department

regulation on which to base his claim that ‘can fairly be

interposed as mandating compensation by the federal

Government for the damage sustained.” (Quoting United

States v. Mitchell, 463 U.S. 206, 216-17, 103 S. Ct. 2961,

2967-68 (1983)).

Plaintiffs complaint raises claims under (1) the

Military Whistleblower Protection act, 10 U.S.C. §1034, (2)

the Administrative Procedures Act, §702, (3) 10 U.S.C.

§1552, and (4) 10 U.S.C. §1553. None of these statutes

qualifies as money-mandating under Testan. See generally

Hernandez vy. United States, 38 Fed. Cl. 532 (1997)(no

private cause of action existed in the Military Whistleblower

Protection Act); see Dehne, 970 F.2d at 894 (“Thus, by its

terms, section 1552(c) does not mandate pay at all. Rather it

provides for appropriate discretionary payment by the

Secretary in certain circumstances.”); see Murphy v. United

States. 993 F.2d 871, 874 (Fed. Cir. 1993)([T]he Claims

Court has no authority to invoke the APA [in military pay

cases].”). 10 U.S.C. §1553, which establishes the procedures

for eview of a discharge or dismissal, creates no entitlement

to payment from the government. Because none of the

statutes identified by plaintiff mandates the payment of

money by the government, plaintiff fails to state a claim upon

Appendix 8

which relief can be granted.

Plaintiff's opposition to defendant’s motion to

dismiss requests leave

to amend the complaint to add a claim under the Military Pay

Act, 37 U.S.C. §§204 & 206, which ordinarily is deemed a

money mandating statute for wrongful discharge or

separation claims. 'See Holley v. United States, 124 F.3d

37.U.S.C. 204 (a) provides:

The following persons are entitled to the basic pay of

the pay grade to which assign ed or distributed, in

accordance with their years of service computed under

section 205 of this title-

(1) a member of a uniformed service is on active duty;

and

(2) a member of a uniformed service, or a member of

the National Guard who is not a Reserve of the Army

or the Air Force, who is participating in full-time

training with pay, or other full time duty provided by

law, including participation in exercises or the

performance of duty ....

37 U.S.C. 206(a) provides:

Under regulations prescribed by the Secretary

concerned, and to the extent provided for by

appropriations, a member of the National Guard or a

member of a reserve component of a uniformed

service who is not entitled to basic pay under section

204 of this title, is entitled to compensation, at the rate

of 1/30 of the basic pay authorized for a member of a

Appendix 9

1462, 1465 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (37 U.S.C. §204 applies to active

duty servicemen, while §206 expressly applies to the

Reserves and other inactive-duty members). See also Palmer

v. United States, 168 F.3d 1301, 1314 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Asa

reservist, plaintiff falls under §206, which authorizes pay

only of duties actually performed. See Dehne, 970 F.2d at

893 (37 U.S.C. §206 requires pay only “for the performance

of such other equivalent training, instruction, duty, or

appropriate duties as the Secretary may prescribe.”), 37

U.S.C. §206(a)(1) & (2)(1994)(emphasis added). While the

statute permits compensation for performance missed due to

physical disability, it does not apply when the serviceperson

fails to perform his duties, whether by election of the member

or by decision of the service. Palmer, 168 F.3d at 1314. See

also Dehne, 970 F.2d at 893. Therefore, plaintiffs

nonperformance due to the service’s decision to separate him

involuntarily does not entitle him to be paid for his services.

uniformed service of a corresponding grade entitled to

basic pay- -

(1) for each regular period of instruction, or period of

appropriate duty, at which the member is engaged for

at least two hours, including that performed on a

Sunday or holiday;

(2) for the performance of such other equivalent

training instruction, duty or appropriate duties, as the

Secretary may prescribe.

Appendix 10

Crit

Plaintiff's prayers for nonmonetary relief, such as

reinstatement to a position form which he was wrongfully

removed, are predicated on his entitlement to pay under a

money-mandating statute. Palmer, 168 F.3d at 1314 (citing

Holley, 124 F.3d at 1465). As plaintiff has identified no

applicable money-mandating statute, he is not entitled to such

ancillary remedies.

CONCLUSION

The court concludes that plaintiff's claim is barred by

the statute of limitations. Therefore, plaintiff s compliant is

dismissed, without prejudice, for lack of jurisdiction. The

Clerk of the Court shall enter judgment for defendant. No

costs.

DIANE GILBERT WEINSTEIN

Judge, U.S. Court of Federal Claims

Appendix 11

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

CURTIS SHAFFER, JR., )

Plaintiff-Appellant, ‘

V. | ORDER

TOGO D. WEST, JR., Secretary of the ia

Defendant-Appellee.

Before: KENNEDY, CONTIE, and MOORE, Circuit

Judges.

Curtis Shaffer, Jr., proceeding pro se, appeals a

district court judgment dismissing his amended civil rights

complaint filed under 42 U.S. C. § 1981. This case has been

referred to a panel of the court pursuant to Rule 9(a), Rules of

the Sixth Circuit. Upon examination, this panel unanimously

agrees that oral argument is not needed. Fed R. App. P. 34

(a).

By way of background, in January, 1993, Shaffer was

a dual-status military technician in the United States Army

Reserve. He held the military grade of sergeant first class,

and was also employed in the civilian position of staff

operations and training specialist with the Reserves. On

January 15, 1993, Shaffer’s military commander issued a

letter of reprimand finding that Shaffer had fraudulently worn

the rank and insignia of a master sergeant and had drawn

excess pay in the amount of $1186. The letter recommended

that Shaffer be discharged from the Reserves. Following

administrative proceedings, Shaffer was indeed discharged.

Appendix 12

Naa De ea So Meta gta

Shaffer was terminated from his civilian employment because

that position was conditioned upon his maintaining

membership in the Reserves.

Thereafter, Shaffer filed a complaint against the

Secretary of the Army, alleging that the Army had violated

his Fifth Amendment due process rights by discharging him

from the Reserves without complying with Army regulations

and procedures. He also argued that he was improperly

separated from his civilian employment with the Department

of Defense. In an amended complaint, Shaffer noted that his

complaint should be construed as having been filed pursuant

to 42 U.S.C. §1981. In addition, Shaffer argued that the

defendant discriminated against him by giving him less

favorable assignments, denying him training, and not placing

a minority officer on his separation board to ensure a fair

separation hearing. Shaffer requested damages and equitable

relief, including reinstatement and back pay. The defendant

moved to dismiss Shaffer’s complaint for lack of subject

matter jurisdiction, and Shaffer filed a cross-motion for

summary judgment; each party filed numerous documents in

support of their respective motions. Upon review, the district

court dismissed Shaffer’s complaint without prejudice,

concluding that it lacked jurisdiction over Shaffer’s claims.

Shaffer has filed a timely appeal reasserting his claim that the

defendants improperly discharged him from the reserves.

Initially, we note that Shaffer has expressly withdrawn

his claim that his discharge violated due process, as well as

his claim concerning his termination from his civilian

employment. Thus, we shall consider these claims

abandoned and not reviewable on appeal. See Boyd v. Ford

Motor Co., 948 F.2d. 283 (6thCir, 1991). cert denied, 503

U.S. 939 (1992).

Appendix 13

Upon review, we affirm the district court’s judgment.

We construe the judgment as having granted summary

judgment to the defendant, because it appears that the district

court considered matters outside of the pleadings when it

rendered its judgment. See Fugarino v. Hartford Life &

Accident Ins. Co., 969 F.2d 178, 182 (6" Cir. 1992), cert

denied, 507 U.S. 966 (1993). Moreover, we conclude that the

district court properly granted summary judgment to the

defendant, see Hanover Ins. Co. v. American Eng’g Co., 33

F.3d 727, 730 (6" Cir. 1994).

The defendant was entitled to summary judgment on

Shaffer’s claim that the defendant improperly discharged him

from the Reserves. Even if we accept Shaffer’s allegations as

true, the defendant is not entitled to judgment as a matter of

law because Shaffer can prove no set of facts in support of his

claim that would entitle him to relief. See Meador v. Cabinet

for Human Resources, 902 F.2d 474 (6" Cir.), cert denied,

498 U.S. 867 (1990). Shaffer is barred from pursuing this

action in federal court as he is clearly seeking federal judicial

review of a military personnel decision resulting in his

discharge from the Reserves. See Chappell v. Wallace, 462

U.S. 296, 301-04 (1983). Shaffer may not invoke §1981 to

review specific decisions by his superior officers because the

relationship between enlisted military personnel and their

superior officers is at the heart of the necessarily unique

structure of the military establishment.

Watson v. Arkansas Nat'l Guard, 886 F.2d 1004, 1007-11 (8"

Cir. 1989). Shaffer’s claim is not justiciable because he does

not challenge the constitutionality of a military regulation or

statute, nor does he seek limited review of any final agency

action. See Wood v. United States, 968 F.2d 738, 739-40 (8"

Cir. 1992).

Accordingly, we hereby affirm the district court’s

Appendix 14

ee es ee

ee

judgment. Rule 9(b)(3), Rules of the Sixth Circuit.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF

THE COURT

Clerk

Appendix 15

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

WESTERN DIVISION

CURTIS SHAFFER )

)

Plaintiff )

. |

vs. )No. 96-2204 G/A

)

TOGO D. WEST, JR.) i

)

Defendant )

)

ORDER OF DISMISSAL

Plaintiff, Curtis Shaffer. brought this action against

Togo D, West, Jr. the Secretary of the Army . Plaintiff allege |

that the Department of the Army violated his Fifth

Amendment due process rights and its own regulations in :

discharging him from the United States Army Reserves and

terminating him from a civilian employment position with the

Department of Defense. He also alleges that the discharge

and subsequent termination were motivated by racial

discrimination. Plaintiff and defendant have filed cross-

motions for summary judgment.

The undisputed facts in this case show that on January

15, 1991, plaintiff was a dual-status military technician in the

Appendix 16

United States Army Reserves. Plaintiff held the military

grade of Sergeant First Class (E-7). He was assigned to the

302™ Military Intelligence Company of the 125" Army

Readiness Command in Mernphis, Tennessee. . He also was

employed in the civilian position of staff operations and

training specialist with the United States Army Reserves

124" Combat Support Hospital of the 81" Army Reserve

Command in Perrine, Florida. On January 15, plaintiff's

military commander issued a letter of reprimand finding that

he had fraudulently worn the rank and insignia of a master

sergeant and had drawn excess pay in the amount of

$1186.00. The letter recommended that plaintiff be

discharged from the Army Reserves. Plaintiff filed a rebuttal

an February 15. 1993, denying any improper conduct: and

requesting administrative review of the commander's

decision. Between May 3 and December 1, 1993, the Army

conducted administrative proceedings reviewing the

recommended action and concluded that plaintiff should be

discharged. On December 13, 1993. plaintiff was discharged

from the Reserves.

Plaintiff's civilian employment with the Army was

conditioned upon his maintaining membership in the

Reserves. On February 23, 1994, the plaintiff received notice

that his supervisor was proposing his termination because he

had failed to maintain that membership. On April 2, 1994,

plaintiff was terminated from employment with the

Department of the Army.

On November 19, 1994, plaintiff submitted an

application for correction of military records to the Army

Board for Correction of Military Records (ABCMR). 10

U.S.C. § 1552(b). Plaintiff's application is still pending

before the ABCMR.

Appendix 17

Defendant seeks dismissal of plaintiff's claim of racial

discrimination under 42 U.S.C. § 1981 as barred by sovereign

immunity and by the exclusive remedy available to federal

employees under Title IX. Defendant seeks dismissal o f

plaintiff's claims related to violation of Army regulations and

violation of Title VII on the grounds that plaintiff has failed

to exhaust applicable administrative remedies. Plaintiff has

essentially responded that exhaustion of those remedies is

futile and should not be required.

‘“ [E]nlisted military personnel may not maintain a suit

to recover damages from a superior officer for alleged

constitutional violations. Chappel v. Wallace, 462 U.S.

296, 305 (1983). Furthermore, a member of the miiitary may

not invoke Section 1981 to review specific decisions by his

superior offices._Watson v. Arkansas National Guard, 886

F.2d 1004. 1010-11 (8" Cir. 1989). Equally importantly,

plaintiff may not: maintain an action under section 1981

against the United States because the United States is

protected by sovereign immunity. United States v. T’amons,

672 F.2d 1373, 1380 (11th Cir. 1982).

Insofar as plaintiff contests his termination from his

civilian employment with the federal government, he has no

claim. A federal employee ' s exclusive remedy for illegal

discrimination is the particular federal statute governing the

particular invidious classification. 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-16 is

the exclusive remedy for discrimination on the basis of race

of sex. Brown v. General Services Administration,, 425 U.3.

920 (1976). The Age Discrimination in Employment Act, 29

U .S. C. § 633a is the exclusive remedy for federal employees

alleging age discrimination. Paterson v. Weinberger , 644

F.2d 521, 525 (6" Cir. 1982). The Rehabilitation

act. 29 U.S.C. § 791, 794a. is the exclusive remedy for

handicapped discrimination in federal employment. Johnston

Appendix 18

SRB EI PRES IRR IT Se hel

v. Horne, 875 F.2d 1415, 1420-21 (9" Cir. 1989); Boyd c.

United States Postal Service, 752 F.2d 410 , 413 (9th Cir,

1985). Cf. Hall v. United States Postal Service, 857 F.2d

1073 (6th Cir. 1988) (noting that the plaintiff did not dispute

district court’s dismissal of state law Claims on basis that

Rehabilitation Act: is the sole remedy for federal employees)

Smith v. United States Postal Service, 766 F.2d 205, 207 n.2

(6th Cir. 14B5) (same); Smith v. United States Postal

Service, 742 F,2d 257, 259-60 (6th Cir. 1984) (holding that

Act requires exhaustion regardless of whether plaintiff

invokes remedy under section 791 or section 794). Federal

preference eligible employees contesting the validity of a

termination must exhaust their remedies with the Merit

System Protection Board (MSPB). See, Williams v. Rice,

983 F.2d 177, 180 (10" Cr. 1993).

Exhaustion of administrative remedies is a

prerequisite before filing of an employment discrimination

case. See generally, Zipes v. Trans World Airlines, 455 U.S.

385, 393 (1982); Williams v. Rice, 983 F.2d at 180;

Parsons v. Yellow Freight Systems, Inc., 741 F.2d 873 (6th

Cir. 1984). For federal employees, exhaustion of

administrative remedies is a jurisdictional prerequisite.

Williams v. Rice, 983 P.2d at 180. Plaintiff admits that he

has not exhausted his remedies under either Title VII or the

MSPB procedures. Thus he cannot proceed with any claims

of racial discrimination in employment.

Furthermore, the presently pending ABCMR

procedure provides plaintiff an adequate remedy because that

board, on review of his claims may correct his records and

reinstate him to the Reserves. Plaintiff, however, contends

that he need not exhaust that procedures. He essentially

argues that he and his family have endured economic

hardsi::> while the ABCMR has had his case uncer review.

Appendix 19

Exhaustion of adn. nistrative remedies May

not be required when (1) available remedies

provide no "genuine opportunity for adequate

relief, (2) irreparable injury may occur

without immediate judicial relief; ( 3 )

administrative appeal would be futile and (4)

in certain instances a plaintiff has raised a

“substantial constitutiona! question. "

Guitard v. Secretary of the Navy, 967 F.2d 737, 741 (2™ Cir.

1992). Here, plaintiff cannot pass this threshold because he

cannot show either a lack of genuine opportunity for adequate

relief or irreparable injury.

In Sampson v. Murray, 415 U.S. 61, 94 S.C.

937, 39 L.Ed.2d 166 (1974), the Supreme

Court held that the injuries that generally

attend a discharge from employment -1osc of

reputation, loss of income and difficulty in

finding other employment--do not constitute

the irreparable harm necessary to obtain a

preliminary injunction. 1d. at 89-92. 94 S.C. at

952-54. This reasoning applies with as much

or greater force in the case of a military

discharge. See Guerrera v. Scruggs, 94.2 F.2d

270 , 274-75 (4th Cir. 1991); Hartikka v.

United States, 754 F. 2d 1516, 1518 (9th Cir.

1985); Chilcott v. Orr. 747 F.2d 29, 34 (1*

Cir. 1984). Nor has Guitard shown either that

administrative review would be futile for

reasons other than the lack of merits of his

case or that a substantial constitutional issue is

involved. His claims thus do not fall within

any of the recognized exce; tions to the

exhaustion doctrine.

Appendix 20

Guitard,, 967 F.2d at 742. Similarly, “[i]n this case as in

Sanders, the consequence of delay for Guerrera, —

postponement of his ability to obtain damages — is

outweighed by the considerations of efficiency and agency

expertise in «quiring exhaustion.” Guerrera v. Scruggs, 942

F.2d 270, 277 (4th Cir. 1991) [requiring exhaustion of

ABCMR procedures].’ Plaintiff's position is

indistinguishable Guitard and Guerrera, and he has not

demonstrated the futility of administrative exhaustion.-

Accordingly, as plaintiff has exhausted neither the

procedure for correcting his military records, nor his civilian

employment administrative remedies with the Department of

the Amny, he is not entitled to relief, and his case is

dismissed, without prejudice. Should p'aintiff file a notice of

appeal, it is hereby certified, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §

1915(a)(3), that any appea! in

’ Plaintiff relies on Hickey v. Commandant of the

Fourth Naval District, 461 F.Supp. 1085, 1094 (E. D. Penn

1978) to support his claim that he will suffer irreparable

hardship.

Hickey, however, was a habeas corpus challenge to the

Navy's decision to terminate the petitioner’s enrollment in a

Naval ROTC education program and activate him for full

active duty in the Navy. The irreparable injury or hardship

thus consisted of the petitioners completely serving his

enlistment period. As the period would have expired before

exhaustion of administrative remedies, the court considered

his claim on the merits and denied them. This case is

therefore distinguishable and does not support Shaffer's

contention that economic hardship requires the court to

excuse exhaustion of his administrative remedies.

Appendix 21

this matter by plaintiff is taken in good faith and plaintiff may

proceed on appeal in forma pauperis.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 7" day of March 1997.

JULIA SMITH GIBBONS, Chief Judge

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

Appendix 22

i

TEXT OF PERTINENT CONSTITUTIONAL

PROVISIONS, TREATIES, STATUTES, ORDINANCES

AND REGULATIONS

10 U.S.C. § 938. Art. 138. Complaints of wrongs.

Any member of the armed forces who believes

himself wronged by his commanding officer, and who, upon

due application to that commanding officer, is refused

redress, may complain to any superior commissioned officer,

who shall forward the complaint to the officer exercising

general court-martial jurisdiction over the officer against

whom it is made. The officer exercising general

court-martial jurisdiction shall examine into the complaint

and take proper measures for redressing the wrong

complained of; and he shall, as soon as possible, send to the

Secretary concerned a true statement of that complaint, with

the proceedings had thereon.

10 U.S.C. § 1552. Correction of military records: claims

incident thereto.

(a)(1) The Secretary of a military department may

correct any military record of the Secretary's department

when the Secretary considers it necessary to correct an error

or remove an injustice. Except as provided in paragraph (2),

such corrections shall be made by the Secretary acting

through boards of civilians of the executive part of that

military department. The Secretary of Transportation may in

the same manner correct any military record of the Coast

Guard.

(2) The Secretary concerned is not required to act

through 2 board in the case of the correction of a military

record announcing a decision that a person is not eligible to

enlist (or reenlist) or is not accepted for enlistment (or

Appendix 23

reenlistment) or announcing the promotion and appointment

of an enlisted member to an initial or higher grade or the

decision not to promote an enlisted member to a higher grade.

Such a correction may be made only if the correction is

favorable to the person concerned.

(3) Corrections under this section shall be made under

procedures established by the Secretary concerned. In the

case of the Secretary of a military department, those

procedures must be approved by the Secretary of Defense.

(4) Except when procured by fraud, a correction under

this section is final and conclusive on all officers of the

United States.

(b) No correction may be made under subsection

(a)(1) unless the claimant or his heir or legal representative

files a request for the correction within three years after he

discovers the error or injustice. However, a board established

under subsection (a)(1) may excuse a failure to file within

three years after discovery if it finds it to be in the interest of

justice.

(c) The Secretary concerned may pay, from applicable

current appropriations, a claim for the loss of pay,

allowances, compensation, emoluments, or other pecuniary

benefits, or for the repayment of a fine or forfeiture, if, as a

result of correcting a record under this section, the amount is

found to be due the claimant on account of his or another's

service in the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, or Coast

Guard, as the case may be, or on account of his or another's

service as a civilian employee. If the claimant is dead, the

money shall be paid, upon demand, to his legal

representative. However, if no demand for payment is made

by a legal representative, the money shall be paid--

(1) to the surviving spouse, heir, or beneficiaries, in

the order prescribed by the law applicable to that kind of

payment;

(2) if there is no such law covering order of payment,

Appendix 24

a

pea

in the order set forth in section 2771 of this title; or

(3) as otherwise prescribed by the law applicable to

that kind of payment.

A claimant's acceptance of a settlement under this section

fully satisfies the claim concerned. This section does not

authorize the payment of any claim compensated by private

law before October 25, 1951.

(d) Applicable current appropriations are available to

continue the pay, allowances, compensation, emoluments,

and other pecuniary benefits of any person who was paid

under subsection (c), and who, because of the correction of

his military record, is entitled to those benefits, but for not

longer than one year after the date when his record is

corrected under this section if he is not reenlisted in, or

appointed or reappointed to, the grade to which those

payments relate. Without regard to qualifications for

reenlistment, or appointment or reappointment, the Secretary

concerned may reenlist a person in, or appoint or reappoint

him to, the grade to which payments under this section relate.

(e) No payment may be made under this section for a

benefit to which the claimant might later become entitled

under the laws and regulations administered by the Secretary

of Veterans Affairs.

(f) With respect to records of courts-martial and

related administrative records pertaining to court-martial

cases tried or reviewed under chapter 47 of this title (or under

the Uniform Code of Military Justice (Public Law 506 of the

81st Congress)), action under subsection (a) may extend only

to--

(1) correction of a record to reflect actions taken by

reviewing authorities under chapter 47 of this title (or under

the Uniform Code of Military Justice (Public Law 506 of the

81st Congress)); or

(2) action on the sentence of a court-martial for

purposes of clemency.

Appendix 25

(g) In this section, the term "military record" means a

document or other record that pertains to (1) an individual

member or former member of the armed forces, or (2) at the

discretion of the Secretary of the military department

concerned, any other military matter affecting a member or

former member of the armed forces, an employee or former

employee of that military department, or a dependent or

current or former spouse of any such person. Such term does

not include records pertaining to civilian employment matters

(such as matters covered by title 5 and chapters 81, 83, 87,

108, 373, 605, 607, 643, and 873 of this title).

10 U.S.C. § 1557. Timeliness standards for disposition of

applications before Corrections Boards.

(a) Ten-month clearance percentage.--Of the

applications received by a Corrections Board during a period

specified in the following table, the percentage on which final

action by the Corrections Board must be completed within 10

months of receipt (other than for those applications

considered suitable for administrative correction) is as

follows:

For applications received during-- The percentage on which

final Correction Board

action must be

completed within 10

months of receipt is—

the period of fiscal years 2001 and 2002 .......... eee 50

the period of fiscal years 2003 and 2004... eee 60

the period of fiscal years 2005, 2006, and 2007 ................... 70

the period of fiscal years 2008, 2009, and 2010 ..........0........ 80

the period of any fiscal year after fiscal year 2010 ............... 90

(b) Clearance deadline for all applications.--Effective

October 1, 2002, final action by a Corrections Board on all

Appendix 26

;

applications received by the Corrections Board (other than

those applications considered suitable for administrative

correction) shall be completed within 18 months of receipt.

(c) Waiver authority.--The Secretary of the military

department concerned may exclude an individual application

from the timeliness standards prescribed in subsections (a)

and (b) if the Secretary determines that the application

warrants a longer period of consideration. The authority of

the Secretary of a military department under this subsection

may not be delegated.

(d) Failure to meet timeliness standards not to affect

any individual application.--Failure of a Corrections Board to

meet the applicable timeliness standard for any period of time

under subsection (a) or (b) does not confer any presumption

or advantage with respect to consideration by the board of

any application.

(e) Reports on failure to meet timeliness

standards.--The Secretary of the military department

concerned shall submit to the Committee on Armed Services

of the Senate and the Committee on Armed Services of the

House of Representatives a report not later than June |

following any fiscal year during which the Corrections Board

of that Secretary's military department was unable to meet the

applicable timeliness standard for that fiscal year under

subsections (a) and (b). The report shall specify the reasons

why the standard could not be met and the corrective actions

initiated to ensure compliance in the future. The report shall

also specify the number of waivers granted under subsection

(c) during that fiscal year.

(f) Corrections board defined.--In this section, the

term "Corrections Board" means--

(1) with respect to the Department of the Army, the

Army Board for Correction of Military Records;

(2) with respect to the Department of the Navy, the

Board for Correction of Naval Records; and

Appendix 27

(3) with respect to the Department of the Air Force,

the Air Force Board for Correction of Military Records.

10 U.S.C. view of acti l

correction ili rds i ; judicial

review.

(a) Correction of military records.--The Secretary of a

military department may correct a person's military records in

accordance with a recommendation made by a special board.

Any such correction may be made effective as of the effective

date of the action taken on a report of a previous selection

board that resulted in the action corrected in the person's

military records.

(b) Definitions.--In this section:

(1) Special board.(A) The term "special board" means

a board that the Secretary of a military department convenes

under any authority to consider whether to recommend a

person for appointment, enlistment, reenlistment, assignment,

promotion, retention, separation, retirement, or transfer to

inactive status in a reserve component instead of referring the

records of that person for consideration by a previously

convened selection board which considered or should have

considered that person.

(B) Such term includes a board for the correction of

military records convened under section 1552 of this tide, if

designated as a special board by the Secretary concerned.

(C) Such term does not include a promotion special

selection board convened under section 628 or 14502 of this

title.

(2) Selection board.--(A) The term "selection board"

means a selection board convened under section 573(c), 580,

580a, 581, 611(b), 637, 638, 638a, 14101(b), 14701, 14704,

or 14705 of this title, and any other board convened by the

Secretary of a military department under any authority to

Appendix 28

recommend persons for appointment, enlistment,

reenlistment, assignment, promotion, or retention in the

armed forces or for separation, retirement, or transfer to

inactive status in a reserve component for the purpose of

reducing the number of persons serving in the armed forces.

(B) Such term does not include any of the following:

(i) A promotion board convened under section 573(a),

611(a), or 14101(a) of this title.

(ii) A special board.

(iii) A special selection board convened under section

628 of this title.

(iv) A board for the correction of military records

convened under section 1552 of this title.

(3) Involuntarily board-separated.--The term

"involuntarily board-separated" means separated or retired

from an armed force, or transferred to the Retired Reserve or

to inactive status in a reserve component, as a result of a

recommendation of a selection board.

(c) Relief associated with correction of certain

actions.--(1) The Secretary of the military department

concerned shall ensure that an involuntarily board-separated

person receives relief under paragraph (2) or under paragraph

(3) if the person, as a result of a correction of the person's

military records under subsection (a), becomes entitled to

retention on or restoration to active duty or to active status in

a reserve component.

(2)(A) A person referred to in paragraph (1) shall,

with that person's consent, be restored to the same status,

rights, and entitlements (less appropriate offsets against back

pay and allowances) in that person's armed force as the

person would have had if the person had not been selected to

be involuntarily board-separated as a result of an action the

record of which is corrected under subsection (a). An action

under this subparagraph is subject to subparagraph (B).

(B) Nothing in subparagraph (A) may be construed to

Appendix 29

permit a person to be on active duty or in an active status in a

reserve component after the date on which the person would

have been separated, retired, or transferred to the Retired

Reserve or to inactive status in a reserve component if the

person had not been selected to be involuntarily

board-separated in an action of a selection board the record of

which is corrected under subsection (a).

(3) If an involuntarily board-separated person referred

to in paragraph (1) does not consent to a restoration of status,

rights, and entitlements under paragraph (2), the Secretary

concerned shall pay that person back pay and allowances

(less appropriate offsets), and shall provide that person

service credit, for the period--

(A) beginning on the date of the person's separation,

retirement, or transfer to the Retired Reserve or to inactive

status in a reserve component, as the case may be; and

(B) ending on the earlier of--

(i) the date on which the person would have been so

restored under paragraph (2), as determined by the Secretary

concerned; or

(ii) the date on which the person would otherwise

have been separated, retired, or transferred to the Retired

Reserve or to inactive status in a reserve component, as the

case may be.

(d) Finality of unfavorable action.--If a special board

makes a recommendation not to correct the military records

of a person regarding action taken in the case of that person

on the basis of a previous report of a selection board, the

action previously taken on that report shall be considered as

final as of the date of the action taken on that report.

(e) Regulations.--(1) The Secretary of each military

department shall prescribe regulations to carry out this

section. Regulations under this subsection may not apply to

subsection (f), other than to paragraph (4)(C) of that

subsection.

Appendix 30

(2) The Secretary may prescribe in the regulations

under paragraph (1) the circumstances under which

consideration by a special board may be provided for under

this section, including the following:

(A) The circumstances under which consideration of a

person's case by a special board is contingent upon

application by or for that person.

(B) Any time limits applicable to the filing of an

application for such consideration.

(3) Regulations prescribed by the Secretary of a

military department under this subsection may not take effect

until approved by the Secretary of Defense.

(f) Judicial review.--(1) A person seeking to challenge

an action or recommendation of a selection board, or an

action taken by the Secretary of the military department

concerned on the report of a selection board, is not entitled to

relief in any judicial proceeding unless the action or

recommendation has first been considered by a special board

under this section or the Secretary concerned has denied the

convening of such a board for such consideration.

(2)(A) A court of the United States may review a

determination by the Secretary of a military department not to

convene a special board in the case of any person. In any

such case, the court may set aside the Secretary's

determination only if the court finds the determination to be--

(i) arbitrary or capricious;

(ii) not based on substantial evidence;

(iii) a result of material error of fact or material

administrative error; or

(iv) otherwise contrary to law.

(B) If a court sets aside a determination by the

Secretary of a military department not to convene a special

board, it shall remand the case to the Secretary concerned,

who shall provide for consideration by a special board.

(3) A court of the United States may review a

Appendix 31

recommendation of a special board or an action of the

Secretary of the military department concerned on the report

of a special board. In any such case, a court may set aside the

action only if the court finds that the recommendation or

action was--

(A) arbitrary or capricious;

(B) not based on substantial evidence;

(C) a result of material error of fact or material

administrative error; or

(D) otherwise contrary to law.

(4)(A) If, six months after receiving a complete

application for consideration by a special board in any case,

the Secretary concerned has not convened a special board and

has not denied consideration by a special board in that case,

the Secretary shall be deemed for the purposes of this

subsection to have denied consideration of the case by a

special board.

(B) If, six months after the convening of a special

board in any case, the Secretary concerned has not taken final

action on the report of the special board, the Secretary shall

be deemed for the purposes of this subsection to have denied

relief in such case.

(C) Under regulations prescribed under subsection (e),

the Secretary of a military department may waive the

applicability of subparagraph (A) or (B) in a case if the

Secretary determines that a longer period for consideration of

the case is warranted. Such a waiver may be for an additional

period of not more than six months. The Secretary concerned

may not delegate authority to make a determination under this

subparagraph.

(g) Existing jurisdiction.--Nothing in this section

limits--

(1) the jurisdiction of any court of the United States

under any provision of law to determine the validity of any

law, regulation, or policy relating to selection boards; or

Appendix 32

Vy RE AE EEG

(2) the authority of the Secretary of a military

department to correct a military record under section 1552 of

this title.

10 U.S.C. § 10147. Ready Reserve training requirements.

(a) Except as specifically provided in regulations to

be prescribed by the Secretary of Defense, or by the Secretary

of Transportation with respect to the Coast Guard when it is

not operating as a service in the Navy, each person who is

enlisted, inducted, or appointed in an armed force, and who

becomes a member of the Ready Reserve under any provision

of law except section 513 or 10145(b) of this title, shall be

required, while in the Ready Reserve, to--

(1) participate in at least 48 scheduled drills or

training periods during each year and serve on active duty for

training of not less than 14 days (exclusive of traveltime)

during each year; or

(2) serve on active duty for training not more than 30

days during each year.

(b) A member who has served on active duty for one

year or longer may not be required to perform a period of

active duty for training if the first day of that period falls

during the last 120 days of the member's required

membership in the Ready Reserve.

28 U.S.C. § 1254. Courts of appeals; certiorari; certified

questions.

Cases in the courts of appeals may be reviewed by the

Supreme Court by the following methods:

(1) By writ of certiorari granted upon the petition of any party

to any civil or criminal case, before or after rendition of

judgment or decree;

(2) By certification at any time by a court of appeals of any

question of law in any civil or criminal case as to which

Appendix 33

instructions are desired, and upon such certification the

Supreme Court may give binding instructions or require the

entire record to be sent up for decision of the entire matter in

controversy.

37 U.S.C. § 101 Definitions.

(3) The term "uniformed services" means the Army, Navy,

Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, National Oceanic and

Atmospheric Administration, and Public Health Service.

37 U.S.C. § 101 Definitions.

(18) The term "active duty" means full-time duty in

the active service of a uniformed service, and includes

full-time training duty, annual training duty, full-time

National Guard duty, and attendance, while in the active

service, at a school designated as a service school by law or

by the Secretary concerned.

37 U.S.C. § 204 Entitlement.

(a) The following persons are entitled to the basic pay of the

pay grade to which assigned or distributed, in accordance

with their years of service computed under section 205 of this

title--

(1) a member of a uniformed service who is on active duty;

and

(2) a member of a uniformed service, or a member of the

National Guard who is not a Reserve of the Army or the Air

Force, who is participating in full-time training, training duty

with pay, or other full-time duty, provided by law, including

participation in exercises or the performance of duty under

section 10302, 10305, 10502, or 12402 of Title 10, or section

503, 504, 505, or 506 of Title 32.

Appendix 34

— ee

37 U.S.C. § 206 Reserves; members of National Guard:

inactive-duty training.

(a) Under regulations prescribed by the Secretary concerned,

and to the extent provided for by appropriations, a member of

the National Guard or a member of a reserve component of a

uniformed service who is not entitled to basic pay under

section 204 of this title, is entitled to compensation, at the

rate of 1/30 of the basic pay authorized for a member of a

uniformed service of a corresponding grade entitled to basic

pay--

(1) for each regular period of instruction, or period of

appropriate duty, at which the member is engaged for at least

two hours, including that performed on a Sunday or holiday;

(2) for the performance of such other equivalent training,

instruction, duty, or appropriate duties, as the Secretary may

prescribe; or

(3) for a regular period of instruction that the member is

scheduled to perform

but is unable to perform because of physical disability

resulting from an injury, illness, or disease incurred or

aggravated--

(A) in line of duty while performing--

(i) active duty; or

(i1) inactive-duty training;

(B) while traveling directly to or from that duty or training

(unless such injury, illness, disease, or aggravation of an

injury, illness, or disease is the result of the gross negligence

or misconduct of the member); or

(C) in line of duty while remaining overnight immediately

before the commencement of inactive-duty training, or while

remaining overnight, between successive periods of

inactive-duty training, at or in the vicinity of the site of the

inactive-duty training.

32 C.F.R. § 723.3 Application for correction.

Appendix 35

(b) Time limit for filing application. Applications for

correction of a record must be filed within 3 years after

discovery of the alleged error or injustice. Failure to file

within the time prescribed may be excused by the Board if it

finds it would be in the interest of justice to do so. If the

application is filed more than 3 years after discovery of the

error or injustice, the application must set forth the reason

why the Board should find it in the interest of justice to

excuse the failure to file the application within the time

prescribed.

Appendix 36

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.