Opposition Brief — Hospitality Management Associates, Inc. v. Shell Oil Co., Dba Shell Chemical Co.

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

rs ————____—___—-

Pa Supreme Court. U.S

j FILED

t

}

;

No. 03-1431 JUN 17 2004

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

HOSPITALITY MANAGEMENT

ASSOCIATES, Inc., et al.,

Petitioners,

V.

SHELL OIL COMPANY d/b/a SHELL CHEMICAL

COMPANY, HOECHST CELANESE CORPORATION,

and E.1. DuPONT de NEMOURS AND COMPANY,

Respondents.

,

wv

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Supreme Court Of South Carolina

4

v

SHELL OIL COMPANY’S

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

——

Davip T. HARVIN

Counsel of Record

ERICA L. KRENNERICH

VINSON & ELKINS L.L.P.

2300 First City Tower

1001 Fannin Street

Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 758-2368

TIMOTHY W. BOUCH

G. HAMLIN O’KELLEY, Ill

LEATH BOUCH & CRAWFORD, LLP

134 Meeting Street, 5th Floor

Charleston, South Carolina 294(2

(843) 937-8811

Attorneys for Respondent Shell Oil

Company d/b/a Shell Chemical

Company

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964

GR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the South Carolina Supreme Court properly

affirmed the granting of full faith and credit to the final

judgments of the Tennessee and Alabama state courts in,

respectively, Cox v. Shell Oil Co., Case No. 18,844, Chan-

cery Court, Obion County, Tennessee (“Cox”); Spencer uv.

Shell Oil Co., Case No. CV-94-047, Circuit Court. Ureene

County, Alabama (“Spencer”).

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Petitioners have identified all parties in this proceed-

ing.

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.6, Respondent

Shell Oil Company advises the Court that Shell Oil Com-

pany is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Shell Petroleum,

Inc., a Delaware corporation. Shell Petroleum, Inc. is

directly or indirectly owned 60% by Royal Dutch Petro-

leum Company and 40% by The “Shell” Transport and

Trading Company, p.l.c.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

eT FINITE GED vc evcessccsesscsvcccnesvesesesivesessves i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND RULE 29.6

ae silinceinadbewaneidarersssesnsdasshavensy ; &

Ge FER Be Ce ie cecveescsceverecscvccssoesoessecess Vv

EXPLANATION OF RECORD CITEG...................004. vii

SHELL OIL COMPANY ’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION....... 1

STAT eet © OF THE CAGE. ....00cccrccssosescossessesssssoees 3

Bi, FRCEUR BOCRATOUNG 00.600 0000ccccsrsscessssescse000 3

B. Procedural Background.................:.ccsseeee 7

REASONS THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED...... 8

I. There Is No Conflict Among the Circuits or

State Courts of Last Resort Regarding

Proper Application of Full Faith and Credit

Principles to Class Action Judgments ............ 8

A. The South Carolina Supreme Court

Properly Followed the Full Faith and

Credit Principles Enunciated by This

ides Ricekarectidasensnbniabsansdivanestkstie® 9

B. The Stephenson and Homeside Lending De-

cisions Do Not Conflict With the South

Carolina Supreme Court Decision ............... 13

II. The South Carolina Supreme Court Correctly

Held That the Cox Judgment Was Entitled to

rs ares padsadpentnees 16

A. The South Carolina Supreme Court

Properly Rejected Petitioners’ Chal-

lenges to the Manner of Giving Notice to

Ge See BOUT can ccsccescessssreccvescesnceceess 16

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

B. The South Carolina Supreme Court

E.

There Is No Due Process Requirement

That Notice Actually Be Received............

The South Carolina Supreme Court

Properly Held That the Cox Court Ad-

dressed Adequacy of Representation Is-

1. There Was No Conflict Between Class

Counsel and the Class .......ccccssssecccseses

2. Cox Class Counsel Conducted Them-

selves Properly ..........:::scccsssseeeeeeeseeeees

Petitioners’ Amchem Arguments Are Ir-

relevant to This Case. ..........ssccccsecsecseeeeees

CONCLUSION. ..........ccscccssscecseeeeessecssceeseuseceeeeaeeesans

19

21

22

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Amchem Products v. Windsor, 521 U.S. 591 (1997) .. 27, 28, 29

Califano v. Yamasaki, 442 U.S. 682 (1979)........::ccccceeeeees 27

Cox v. Shell Oil Co., Case No. 18,844 (Chancery Ct.,

Obion Cty., Tenn. Nov. 17, 1995) .........ccccccsererees passim

Durfee v. Duke, 375 U.S. 106 (1963) ..2...... ce cceeeeeteeeeees 9, 10

Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S. 156 (1974).......... 17

Epstein v. MCA, Inc., 179 F.3d 641 (9th Cir.), cert.

denied, 528 U.S. 1004 (1999)...............04 11, 13, 22, 27, 29

Fine v. America Online, Inc., 743 N.E.2d 416 (Ohio

Ct. App. 2000), cert. denied, 532 U.S. 942 (2001) ... 11, 28

Greenspun v. Bogan, 492 F.2d 375 (1st Cir. 1974)............ 21

Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32 (1940) ......eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeenes 22

Hospitality Management Associations, Inc. v. Shell

Oil Co., 356 S.C. 644, 591 S.E.2d 611 (S.C. 2004) ....8, 12

In Re Agent Orange Prod. Liab. Litig., 818 F.2d 145

(58 Cle TBF vincivdéstscrsiscscsvssctinecaeenanneaien 13

Ivy v. Diamond Shamrock Chem. Co. (In re Agent

Orange Prod. Liab. Litig.), 996 F.2d 1425 (2d Cir.

DOD iveviierssciivessssssetinvernsseemcneanmananeael 14

James B. Beam Distilling Co. v. Georgia, 501 U.S.

DID CIGD E) esis isidarceccscnessssersretpnessticsaseecnieneenel 27

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Epstein, 516 U.S.

BOT CIGD vcissenersestinatncicinicammnnnnenamennene passim

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339

SF BO FI ov oincccncsiceccanversisteiss eee 17

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797

(1985) ........sscccsssrcccsssorsssseecessncesssssssscessnsssssesssocnecssees passim

Reiter v. Sonotone Corp., 442 U.S. 330 (1979) ......eseser 27

Reynoldsville Casket Co. v. Hyde, 514 U.S. 749

6 :):):) Pee 27

State of Vermont v. Homeside Lending, Inc., 826

A.2d 997 (Vt. 2008) ........cceeeeesseeeeeeesererreeeeeeeeneeereeey 14, 15

Stephenson v. Dow Chemical Co., 273 F.3d 249 (2d

Cir. 2001), aff’d, 5389 U.S. 111 (2003)... 13, 14

Silber v. Mabon, 18 F.3d 1449 (9th Cir. SED ccctsscsncevseiie 22

Spencer v. Shell Oil Co., Case No. CV-94-047

(Circuit Ct., Greene Cty., Ala. Nov. 17, 1995) ........ passim

Underwriters Nat'l Assurance Co. v. North Carolina

Life & Accident & Health Ins. Guar. Ass’n, 455

U.S. 691 (1982) ....cecccccccccccsseceeeeeesssseesneettsasseseeeoees .passim

STATUTES

U.S. CONST. art. IV, §1 (codified at 28 U.S.C.

$ 17BB)......c.csrvecerosrssrosoersessesessessssesosossrosossoasoreasanssssronserees 9

OTHER AUTHORITIES

7B Wright, Miller, & Kane, Federal Practice and

Procedure § 1789 at 238 (2d ed. 1986) .......cserererrerees 22

EXPLANATION OF RECORD CITES

“Pet.” refers to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

“Pet. App. __” refers to the Appendix attached to the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

“Shell App. __” refers to the Appendix attached to Re-

spondent Shell Oil Company’s Brief in Opposition to Writ

of Certiorari.

“R. _” refers to the Record on Appeal filed with the South

Carolina Supreme Court cited by specific page number.

arn

pee sin A ae Be

et

SHELL OIL COMPANY’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

This case involves a collateral attack on the 1995 final

judgments of Tennessee (Cox) and Alabama (Spencer)

approving two nationwide class action settlements.’ No

exceptional circumstances are present here. Petitioners

are members of the Cox and Spencer settlement classes

who did not opt out. They could have obtained the sub-

stantial relief offered by the Cox and Spencer settlements.

Instead, they sued Respondents Shell Oil Company

(“Sheil”), Hoechst Celanese Corporation (“Celanese”), and

E.1. DuPont de Nemours & Co. (“DuPont”) in the hope

they would obtain greater relief through litigation. The

South Carolina Supreme Court affirmed a summary

judgment in favor of Respondents. The issue Petitioners’

case raises is the full faith and credit the United States

Constitution guarantees to the final judgments of the

sister states.

Petitioners seek to avoid the preclusive effect of the

Cox and Spencer settlements by claiming that the notices

provided to absent class members in 1995 were inadequate

and the classes were inadequately represented. All of

Petitioners’ objections about the manner of giving notice,

the content of the notice, and the conduct of class counsel

could have been presented to the Cox and Spencer courts

in 1995. In fact, many of Petitioners’ specific complaints

mimic objections that were actually made in the Cox

proceeding and ruled on by the Cox court. No theory of

collateral review would allow Petitioners to relitigate

these objections.

' Final Judgment in Cox v. Shell Oil Co., Case No. 18,844 (Chan-

cery Ct., Obion Cty., Tenn. Nov. 17, 1995) (Shell App. 40-44) and Final

Order Approving the Class Action Settlement, Attorneys’ Fees and

Expenses, and Awards to Representative Plaintiffs in Cox (filed Nov. 17,

1995) (Shell App. 11-39) (collectively “Cox”); Spencer v. Shell Oil Co.,

Case No. CV-94-047 (Circuit Ct., Greene Cty., Ala. Nov. 17, 1995) (R.

4385-4390) (“Spencer”).

2

The decision of the South Carolina Supreme Court

represents an unexceptional application of traditional full

faith and credit principles. Mindful of this Court’s admoni-

tion that class action judgments are subject to the same

full faith and credit analysis as other judgments, the

South Carolina Supreme Court carefully reviewed the

settlement approval procedures employed by the Tennes-

see and Alabama courts and determined vhat those courts

had scrupulously ensured that absent class members were

accorded the due process this Court requires. As a result,

the South Carolina Supreme Court held, the Cox and

Spencer judgments were entitled to full faith and credit in

the courts of South Carolina. South Carolina is not the

first, but simply the most recent, state that has granted

full faith and credit to the Cox and Spencer final judg-

ments.”

Petitioners ask this Court to rule that they were

entitled to litigate in the South Carolina courts their

objections to the adequacy of notice and the adequacy of

representation as if they were making them for the first

time to the Cox and Spencer courts. (Pet. 14, 29-30).

Notably, however, Petitioners cannot — and do not — cite

any authority for such an extreme proposition. If Petition-

ers’ theory prevailed, it would be virtually impossible for

defendants ever to compromise class action litigation.

Every class settlement would be subject to endless reliti-

gation as absent class members paraded one by one

through every court in this country demanding de novo

review of every class judgment. Fortunately, that is not the

law. To the contrary, where the state court approving a

class action settlement has squarely addressed the due

process issues, absent class members are not entitled

subsequently to relitigate those issues. Labeling those

issues “jurisdictional” does not expand the permissible

? E.g., the Tennessee court’s judgment in Cox has also been given

full faith and credit by courts in Alabama, Arizona, Florida, and

Wisconsin. (R. 3583; R: 3571-3574; R. 3944-3946; R. 3947-3955).

<a REL beet Sead rains

SAI ies A See ee

3

scope of review because, as this Court has held, full faith

and credit principles apply equally to questions of jurisdic-

tion. Underwriters Nat'l Assurance Co. v. North Carolina

Life & Accident & Health Ins. Guar. Ass’n, 455 U.S. 691,

706 (1982).

Because the South Carolina Supreme Court conscien-

tiously applied to the Cox and Spencer judgments the

principles of full faith and credit previously announced by

this Court, Petitioners’ application for writ or certiorari

should be denied.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Factual Background

Petitioners are all members of the 1995 Cox and

Spencer nationwide settlement classes who did not opt out.

Instead, they sought damages from Shell, Celanese, and

DuPont for allegedly defective polybutylene (“PB”) plumb-

ing systems installed in structures they own.”

PB plumbing systems are comprised of PB pipe and

various “fittings” that join sections of the pipe. These

fittings are made from different raw materials and differ-

ent designs. Respondents did not manufacture or sell the

PB piumbing systems or the component parts of those

systems. Rather, Shell manufactured the PB resin that

was sold to third parties who extruded it into PB plumbing

pipes, and Celanese and DuPont manufactured and sold

acetal resins named Celcon and Delrin, respectively, which

were molded into the plastic fittings used to join the pipes

together.

By 1995, litigation over PB plumbing systems had

been pending in many courts around the country for

* Because Petitioners’ Statement of Facts is simply a self-serving

recitation of their allegations, replete with misstatements and mischar-

acterizations of fact and law, Shell respectfully presents its own

Statement of Facts.

4

almost a decade. (Shell App. 18, J 1). In November 1994,

the Spencer lawsuit — a putative nationwide class action —

was filed in Alabama state court against Shell, Celanese,

and DuPont. At that time Respondents were actively

negotiating the settlement of another nationwide <class

action previously filed in Texas state court (“Beeman”).

(Shell App. 18, 7] 2-3). Although the parties reached a

settlement in Beeman, it ultimately fell through when the

Texas court denied preliminary approval in February

1995. (Shell App. 18, J 3). In May 1995, DuPont reached a

settlement in Spencer, and the A!abama court preliminar-

ily approved it. (R. 4155-4169).

In June 1995, the Cox action was filed against Shell

and Celanese in Tennessee.* (R. 4040-4059). After the Cox

court certified a national class,’ Beeman class counsel

joined with Cox class counsel to prosecute the Cox action

on beha!f of owners of structures containing PB plumbing

systems. (Shell App. 19, J 4; R. 2377-2379). Meanwhile the

Spencer court certified a class action against the non-

settling defendants Shell and Celanese. At that point Shell

and Celanese faced two competing nationwide class

actions.

On July 31, 1995, Shell and Celanese reached a

settlement with the Co:: plaintiffs. (Shell App. 20, J 19).

On August 9, 1995, the Cox court heard arguments from

the objectors to the settlement, including Spencer class

counsel, on the adequacy of the proposed notice, the

applicable due process requirements, and the adequacy of

class representation. (R. 3725-3743; R. 3746-3754). On

August 30, 1995, the Cox court heard further arguments

‘ There is no truth to Petitioners’ assertion that Respondents Shell

and Celanese had anything to do with the filing of the Cox case. (Pet. 4-

5).

* It is similarly false that Respondents acquiesced in the Tennessee

class certification. (Pet. 5 n.1). In fact, the Cox court itself noted that

Shell and Celanese contested certification and ultimately agreed to it

for settlement purposes only. (Shell App. 28, 7 35).

;

ae at hE REUSED FA Re ee Se hon.

5

and evidence in favor of, and objections to, the notice

program. (R. 2922-3050). Then, on September 22, 1995,

the Cox court gave final approval! to the forms of notice,

scheduled a fairness hearing, and set opt-out and objection

dates. (R. 3092-3096).

The original Cox settlement required Shell and

Celanese to provide $850 million to pay for replumbs’ for

those claimants who had a qualifying plumbing leak and

for the repair of physical damage to property resulting

from a leak. (Shell App. 30, 7 45, 46). The settlement

created a centralized facility, the Consumer Plumbing

Recovery Center (CPRC), to administer the replumb

program, which was to run until 2009. (Shell App. 21,

q 12(e); R. 4467, §§ 1.1-1.3). The Cox class included not

only past and present owners of structures with PB

plumbing, but also future owners. (Shell App. 36). The

settlement provided for notice to be given to class mem-

bers every three years and for the right of subsequent

purchasers of structures with PB plumbing to opt out

following receipt of these notices. (Shell App. 21, 7 12(e);

R. 2288-2290, § 9). If at any time there were insufficient

funds to pay valid claims, Shell and Celanese had the

option to contribute additional funds to pay those clans.

If they did not elect to do so, those class members whose

claims were not paid were not barred, and they remained

free to sue Shell and Celanese with all applicable statutes

of limitations and/or repose tolled. (R. 2246, 7 12(c); R.

2280-2281, §§ 4.5.2, 4.5.3; R. 2300, § 22.2).

In October/November 1995, class counsel for both Cox

and Spencer, class counsel for cther putative classes, and

Respondents participated in two weeks of lengthy and

intense negotiations under the supervision of Judge

Richard M. Silver of the California Superior Court, who

was presiding over yet another putative class action

* A “replumb” is the replacement of a class member’s leaking PB

plumbing system with a new copper or CPVC plumbing system.

6

brought against Respondents. (Shell App. 19-20, qi 7-9).

Ultimately, the parties agreed upon a joint national

settlement. The global settlement enhanced in several

respects the benefits available to class members under the

original Cox settlement - Shell and Celanese agreed to

increase the settlement fund to $950 million; interest on

the funds would be deposited for the benefit of class

members (and not credited toward the settlement

amount); and the window within which a leak would

entitle a claimant to a replumb without regard to the age

of his plumbing system was increased from one year to two

years. (R. 2516-2518; R. 2572-2577; R. 2646-2655). Judge

Silver issued a report on the settlement negotiations, in

which he recommended that the settlement be approved

and that all courts concerned afford it full faith and credit.

(Shell App. 1-10).

On November 17, 1995, the Cox court entered a final

order approving the class action settlement with Shell and

Celanese, which included $45 million for class counsel and

$3,000 for the class representatives. (Shell App. 38, q 12).

The funds for notice and attorneys’ fees were in addition to

the $950 million in settlement funds, ie., the entire

settlement fund was reserved for class relief. (Shell App.

21, 9 12(f; R. 4468, § 2.1). In addition, the settlement

provided that the CPRC would be governed by an eight-

member board of directors, equally representing the

plaintiffs and Shell and Celanese, subject to removal and

supervision by the court. (R. 2518; R. 2655-2657; R. 4467,

§§ 1.1-1.3). Moreover, the settlement provided for a struc-

tured claims and appeals process, as well as an avenue for

accelerated relief. (R. 2655-2657; R. 2315-2317, § IV; R.

2320-2321, § VID).

In approving the Cox settlement, the Tennessee court

scrupulously followed the requirements of Rule 23 of the

Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure and due process. First,

the court directed that notice of the settlement be given to

the class. (R. 2380-2384). In two separate hearings, the

court addressed the issues related to adequacy of notice.

ni i Raat. x

2 AEE Dee haa

7

(R. 2922-3050; R. 3684-3943). The approved notice cam-

paign cost over $12 million and was described by the

experienced professionals who designed the program as

one of the most comprehensive notice campaigns ever

undertaken in class action litigation. (R. 3002; R. 3097-

3210; R. 4456-4465). The Tennessee court a‘forded class

members notice of the fairness hearing and an opportunity

to exclude themselves from the class or object to the

settlement (See R. 2504-2760). On November 8 a::d 9,

1995, the court held an evidentiary hearing on the fairness

of the proposed settlement that was open to all parties and

class members. (See R. 2504-2760). Finally, on November

17, 1995, the Cox court approved the settlement, finding

that the notice campaign was “unprecedented” in scope

and effectiveness and that the settlement was fair, ade-

quate and reasonable in all respects. (Shell App. 22, { 16

and 28, J 38).

On the same day, the Spencer court gave final ap-

proval to the class action settlement against DuPont.

Simultaneously, Shell, Celanese, and DuPont entered into

an agreement coordinating the two settlements. (R. 1756-

1760). DuPont agreed to pay 10% of all CPRC costs associ-

ated with claims arising from PB plumbing systems with

acetal insert fittings, and 10% of CPRC administrative

expenses (excluding costs for Cox attorneys’ fees or notice).

(R. 1756). These payments by DuPont were to come out of

the Spencer settlement fund. This coordination allows

class members to file a single claim with the CPRC and

obtain relief from both settlements.

B. Procedural Background

In 2002 the trial court in South Carolina granted

Respondents’ motion for summary judgment and dis-

missed Petitioners’ claims. The trial court held that the

Tennessee and Alabama judgments were entitled to full

faith and credit and thus precluded Petitioners’ claims.

With respect to Petitioners’ due process arguments, the

trial court found that “the record unmistakably shows that

8

the [Cox and Spencer] courts fully considered all due

process issues relating to [their] jurisdiction over absent

class members and determined that jurisdiction existed.”

(Pet. 42a). Reviewing the record, the trial court stressed

that “the Cox and Spencer judgments were fully litigated

and decided — after several adversarial proceedings and on

a voluminous record — by the respective Tennessee and

Alabama courts.” (Pet. 46a). Thus, it determined that “the

judgments are entitled to full faith and credit in this court

as guaranteed by the Constitution.” (Pet. 47a). Petitioners

appealed directly to the South Carolina Supreme Court.

On January 12, 2004, the South Carolina Supreme

Court affirmed the decision of the trial court in Hospitality

Management Associations, Inc. v. Shell Oil Co., 356 S.C.

644, 591 S.E.2d 611 (S.C. 2004). The South Carolina

Supreme Court found that procedures to ensure due

process to absent class members “were not only in place in

Spencer and Cox, but were also consciously and steadfastly

utilized.” (Pet. App. 26a). Consequently, the South Caro-

lina Supreme Court agreed that “the trial court correctly

accorded full faith and credit to the Spencer and Cox

orders approving the nationwide settlements and properly

granted summary judgment to respondents.” (Pet. App.

27a).

REASONS THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

I. There Is No Conflict Among the Circuits or

State Courts of Last Resort Regarding Proper

Application of Full Faith and Credit Princi-

ples to Class Action Judgments

Petitioners assert that a conflict exists among the

federal circuits and/or state courts of last resort regarding

the proper approach to the full faith and credit issue when

a judgment approving a class action settlement is subse-

quently collaterally attacked. (Pet. 1-2). Petitioners are

wrong.

9

It is well-established by this Court that, to grant full

faith and credit to another court’s judgment, the reviewing

court must find that the procedures in the prior litigation

afforded a full and fair opportunity to litigate the relevant

jurisdictional issues. The South Carolina Supreme Court

carefully determined that the Cox and Spencer courts fully

and fairly considered the due process requirements neces-

sary to exercise jurisdiction over Petitioners and other

absent class members. Consequently, it correctly held that

the final judgments of the Tennessee and Alabama courts

were entitled to full faith and credit in South Carolina.

A. The South Carolina Supreme Court Prop-

erly Followed the Full Faith and Credit

Principles Enunciated by This Court

Full faith and credit is a Constitutional guarantee for

all state court judgments in which the rendering court had

jurisdiction. U.S. CONST. art. IV, § 1 (codified at 28 U.S.C.

§ 1738); Underwriters Nat'l Assurance Co. v. North Caro-

lina Life & Accident & Health Ins. Guar. Ass’n, 455 U.S.

691, 704 (1982) (citing Durfee v. Duke, 375 U.S. 106, 110

(1963)). The full faith and credit analysis does not change

for class action cases or judgments incorporating a class

action settlement. To the contrary, in Matsushita Elec.

Indus. Co. v. Epstein, £16 U.S. 367, 374 (1996), this Court

held that class action judgments, like all other judgments,

are “presumptively entitled to full faith and credit.”

By its very nature, the issue of whether another

court’s judgment is entitled to full faith and credit involves

some level of collateral review by a second court of the

rendering court’s judgment. In Underwriters this Court

specified the precise inquiry the reviewing court is to

make when determining whether full faith and credit is

due another court’s judgment — even when a party chal-

lenges the jurisdiction of the court rendering the judg-

ment:

10

[A] judgment is entitled to full faith and credit —

even as to questions of jurisdiction — when the

second court’s inquiry discloses that those ques-

tions have been fully and fairly litigated and fi-

nally decided in the court which rendered the

original judgment. The [second court], therefore,

should have determined in the first instance

whether the [original court] fully and fairly con-

sidered the question of . . . jurisdiction. .. . If the

matter was fully considered and finally deter-

mined in the [original] proceedings, the judgment

was entitled to full faith and credit in the [second

court].

Underwriters, 455 U.S. at 706-07 (citing Durfee, 375 U.S.

at 111) and at 709 n.16 (emphasis added).

This Court applied the rule of Underwriters in a class

action context in Matsushita when it found that a Dela-

ware judgment approving a nationwide class settlement

was entitled to preclusive effect. In Matsushita the Court

assured itself that the due process requirements of Shutts'

had been met merely by referencing the Delaware court’s

findings on these matters (notice, the opportunity to be

heard, and adequacy of representation), which revealed

they had been fully and fairly litigated in the rendering

court. Matsushita, 516 U.S. at 378-79. Having verified that

the Delaware court had addressed the relevant due proc-

ess elements, this Court delved no further.

On remand, the Ninth Circuit rejected the exact

argument Petitioners make here — that absent class

7 A state court class action judgment involving non-resident,

absent class members is entitled to full faith and credit elsewhere when

the rendering state court had jurisdiction. Phillips Petroleum Co. v.

Shutts, 472 U.S. 797, 811 (1985). To exercise jurisdiction over absent

class members, a state court must provide them with minimum due

process: (1) reasonable notice, (2) an opportunity to be heard and

participate, (3) the right to opt out, and (4) adequate representation. Jd.

at 811-12.

11

members have a largely unfettered right to challenge

collaterally the adequacy of representation in class ac-

tions. Epstein v. MCA, Inc., 179 F.3d 641, 647-48 (9th Cir.

1999). To the contrary, relying on Matsushita, the Ninth

Circuit held that “broad collateral review of the adequacy

of representation (or of the other due process requirements

for binding absent class members) is not available.” Id. at

649. Absent class members’ due process rights are pro-

tected, not by collateral review, but by the original certify-

ing court. Jd. Collateral review is limited to considering

whether the procedures used by the rendering court

afforded absent class members a “full and fair opportu-

nity” to litigate any due process concerns. That review

does not include any reconsideration of the merits of the

due process issues. Jd. at 648-49. In short, due process

does not allow “collateral second-guessing” of the certify-

ing court’s determinations. Jd. at 648. This Court then

denied certiorari. 528 U.S. 1004 (1999).

Similarly, in Fine v. America Online, Inc., 743 N.E.2d

416 (Ohio Ct. App. 2000), an Ohio court rejected plaintiffs’

collateral attack on an Illinois nationwide class action

settlement. Relying on Matsushita, Shutts, and Epstein,

the Ohio court held that “the appropriate collateral review

involves an examination of procedural due process and

nothing more” because “to hold otherwise would create a

form of collateral review that is inconsistent with both the

spirit of the class action mechanism and the principles at

the very core of the Full Faith and Credit Doctrine.” Id. at

421. To satisfy itself that plaintiffs received the required

due process in Illinois, the Ohio court looked at the Illinois

court’s express findings, determined that it considered the

necessary factors, and held that any further inquiry was

inappropriate. Id. at 422-23. This Court denied certiorari

in that case as well. 532 U.S. 942 (2001).

Carefully adhering to the principles this Court out-

lined in Underwriters, Matsushita, and Shutts, the South

Carolina Supreme Court — like the Epstein and Fine courts

— held that proper review of another state’s class action

12

judgment is limited to determining whether the due

process issues were fully considered i* the original litiga-

tion. Any other level of collateral review would be inappro-

priate because “it would run counter to the class action

goals of efficiency and finality to allow successive reviews

of issues that were, in fact, fully and fairly litigated in the

rendering court.” (Pet. App. 18a). As the South Carolina

Supreme Court stressed, “second guessing the fully-

litigated decisions of our sister courts would violate the

spirit of full faith and credit.” (Pet. App. 18a).

Having carefully examined the law applicable to the

issue at hand, the South Carolina Supreme Court summed

up the standard by which it reviewed the procedures

employed in the Cox and Spencer actions and explained

why it reached the unremarkable conclusion that those

judgments were entitled to full faith and credit in South

Carolina:

(T]he proper scope of collateral review of a ren-

dering court’s rulings on the due process re-

quirements for binding absent class members is

one limited to a consideration of whether the

procedures in the prior litigation allowed a full

and fair opportunity to litigate the due process

issues. It is our opinion that such procedures

were not only in place in Spencer and Cox, but

were also consciously and steadfastly utilized to

accord minimum due process to the absent class

members. Consequently, we hold the trial court

correctly accorded full faith and credit to the

Spencer and Cox orders approving the nation-

wide settlements and properly granted summary

judgment to respondents.

(Pet. App. 26a-27a). This is precisely the full faith and

credit analysis this Court mandated in Underwriters.

Therefore the South Carolina Supreme Court did not err,

and there is no reason to grant a writ in this case.

13

B. The Stephenson and Homeside Lending

Decisions Do Not Conflict With the South

Carolina Supreme Court Decision

Petitioners contend that the judgment of the South

Carolina Supreme Court directly conflicts with the Second

Circuit’s decision in Stephenson v. Dow Chemical Co., 273

F.3d 249 (2d Cir. 2001), aff’d, 589 U.S. 111 (2003). (Pet.

16). However, Stephenson concerned an unusual situation

not present here. Contrary to Petitioners’ claim, Stephen-

son does not hold that broad collateral review of class

action judgments is generally available to absent class

members.

Stephenson concerned the Agent Orange nationwide

class settlement approved by a federal district court in

New York and affirmed by the Second Circuit. In Re Agent

Orange Prod. Liab. Litig., 818 F.2d 145 (2d Cir. 1987). It

was only after all the settlement funds had been paid out

to other class members that the Stephenson plaintiffs

learned for the first time of their allegedly Agent Orange-

related injuries and brought suit. The district court

dismissed their claims, holding that they were barred by

the settlement and their suit was an impermissible collat-

eral attack on the prior settlement. Stephenson, 273 F.3d

at 256.

On appeal, the Stephenson plaintiffs sought to avoid

the settlement’s preclusive effect by claiming that persons

whose injuries manifested themselves only after all the

settlement funds were depleted were inadequately repre-

sented in the class settlement. The Second Circuit allowed

them to collaterally attack the class settlement only

because there had been no prior determination by any

court that “addressed specifically the adequacy of repre-

sentation for those members of the class whose injuries

manifested after depletion of the [class] settlement funds.”

Id. at 257-58. The Second Circuit stressed that for this

reason its ruling was not inconsistent with the Ninth

Circuit’s Epstein decision:

14

Here, neither the district court nor this Court

has determined the adequacy of representation

with respect to these plaintiffs whose injuries did

not arise until after the settlement expired.

Without adopting the Ninth Circuit’s decision in

Epstein, we conclude that plaintiffs’ collateral at-

tack is proper even under its standard.

Id. at 258 n.6 (emphasis in original).

Nothing in Stephenson indicates broad collateral

review would be available generally to class members who

were aware of their injuries at a time when they could

make claims and obtain a share of the settlement. In fact,

the Second Circuit specifically noted that it had previously

rejected a collateral attack on the Agent Orange settle-

ment brought by absent class members who were eligible

for compensation under the settlement. Stephenson, 273

F.3d at 253-55 (citing Ivy v. Diamond Shamrock Chem. Co.

(In re Agent Orange Prod. Liab. Litig.), 996 F.2d 1425 (2d

Cir. 1993)), Petitioners here bear no resemblance to the

Stephenson plaintiffs whose collateral attack was allowed

only because their injuries manifested themselves for the

first time after all settlement funds had been depleted.

Rather, they are in the same position as the Juy plaintiffs

whose collateral attack was rejected by the Second Circuit.

Petitioners were fully aware of their claims and had every

opportunity to participate in the Cox settlement. They

simply choose not to avail themselves of that remedy. Even

the Second Circuit would not allow such absent class

members to collaterally attack the settlement.

Likewise, Petitioners assert that the Vermont Su-

preme Court’s decision in State of Vermont v. Homeside

Lending, Inc., 826 A.2d 997 (Vt. 2003) — in which that

court refused to grant full faith and credit to a class action

judgment rendered by an Alabama court — also conflicts

with the South Carolina ruling. (Pet. 9, 16). Petitioners’

reliance on Homeside Lending, however, is similarly

misplaced.

15

In Homeside Lending, the Vermont Supreme Court

held that Vermont mortgagors were not precluded from

challenging the notorious Hoffman decision —- where an

Alabama court approved a class action settlement that

resulted in absent class plaintiffs frequently “paying more

in attorneys’ fees to class counsel than the economic

benefit they received from ‘prevailing’ in the litigation.”

826 A.2d at 1002 n.4. Although the Vermont Supreme

Court gave three reasons for its decision, the common

thread among them was that the settlement transformed

the Hoffman class members into the functional equivalent

of defendants by effectively turning the “plaintiffs” into

actual or potential debtors to their own class counsel.” Id.

at 1008, 1010, 1015, 1017. Not only did the class members

lack adequate notice of their exposure to this liability, but

no one — class counsel, the defendants, or the Alabama

court ~ was looking out for the class members’ interests in

this regard.

Although the defendants urged the Vermont Supreme

Court to give full faith and credit to the Alabama judg-

ment, the court declined to do so because the Alabama

court in Hoffman never addressed the due process issues

associated with effectively converting plaintiff class

members into defendants and failing to warn them of their

exposure to liability. Jd. at 1019. Thus, the decision in

Homeside Lending has no relevance to the situation here.

The facts are completely different, and, as the South

Carolina Supreme Court correctly found, the Cox and

Spencer courts fully and fairly considered the relevant due

process issues about which Petitioners complain.

* The Vermont Supreme Court noted the case of one class member

whose only recovery as a result of the class settlement was $2.19 in

interest, but who paid an attorney’s fee of $91.33. Jd. at 1003, n.5.

16 ;

IL The South Carolina Supreme Court Correctly

Held That the Cox Judgment Was Entitled to

Full Faith and Credit Under the Constitution

Having correctly concluded that the full faith and

credit due state court class action judgments is determined

by examining the due process procedures utilized by the

rendering courts, the South Carolina Supreme Court then

turned “separately to a review of the procedures utilized

by the foreign courts to ensure proper notice and adequate

representation.” (Pet. App. 19a).

A. The South Carolina Supreme Court Prop-

erly Rejected Petitioners’ Challenges to

the Manner of Giving Notice to Cox Class

Members

Petitioners complain that the Cox notice program was

deficient because not all class members were given per-

sonal notice, as opposed to the multi-media notice-by-

publication campaign.” (Pet. 17-20). Both the trial court

and the South Carolina Supreme Court considered this

argument and properly rejected it.

First, as the tria! court held, “individual notice is not

necessarily required to meet the requirements of due

process.” (Pet. App. 50a). Rather, as the South Carolina

Supreme Court noted, the standard for notice established

by this Court is that it must be “the best practicable,

‘reasonably calculated, under all the circumstances, to

* Because Shell was not a party to the Spencer settlement, this

brief addresses primarily the procedures employed by the Cox court to

ensure that absent class members were accorded due process.

As the South Carolina Supreme Court noted, “over 5.6 million

individual mailed notices were sent; of those, 244,756 were mailed to

South Carolina addresses. In addition, there was a toll free 800

telephone number set up to field questions about the settlement. More

than 1 million calls were received and over 10,000 additional notices

were mailed out.” (Pet. App. 19a).

Neheeraials | ene ee,

17

apprise interested parties of the pendency of the action

and afford them an opportunity to present their objec-

tions.’” (Pet. App. 21a) (citing Shutts, 472 U.S. at 812,

quoting Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339

U.S. 306, 314-15 (1950)); see also Eisen v. Carlisle &

Jacquelin, 417 U.S. 156, 173 (1974). Applying that stan-

dard, the trial court concluded:

The record clearly reveals that the Cox and

Spencer courts carefully considered the issue of

how to best provide notice to unknown class

members and that the issue was fully and fairly

litigated. As such, their decisions that the respec-

tive notice campaigns provided the best practica-

ble notice under all the circumstances are not

subject to relitigation in this Court, and the

Plaintiffs’ argument provides no basis for deny-

ing full faith and credit to the Cox or Spencer

judgments.

(Pet. App. 52a-53a). The South Carolina Supreme Court

agreed:

Clearly, the Cox court designed and utilized vari-

ous procedural safeguards to guarantee sufficient

notice under the circumstances. Pursuant to a

limited scope of review, we need go no further in

deciding the Cox court’s findings that notice met

due process are entitled to deference.

(Pet. App. 22a).

A review of the Cox court’s findings amply supports

these conclusions. First, the Cox court analyzed the

circumstances and made the determination that not all

Settlement Class members were readily identifiable:”

Since not all Settlement Class members were

known or readily identifiable, the notice program

implemented in this case combined multimedia

" Petitioners do not contend Cox class counsel or Respondents had

access to any readily available list of all class members.

18

publication (newspapers, magazines, radio and

television), indiviaaal mailed notice, ongoing

press and media outreach, and a toll-free tele-

phone information service. The purpose of the

program was to make potential Settlement Class

members aware of the Action and the Settle-

ment, and to encourage them to identify them-

selves to the notice providers, so they could

receive further written notices and information,

and be placed on the notice providers’ Settlement

Class member database.

(Shell App. 23, 119). Second, the Cox court reasonably

concluded that the multi-faceted, multi-media campaign

designed by experienced class notice experts complied with

the Shutts standard of giving “the best notice practicable

under the circumstances . . . to members of the Settlement

Class.” (Shell App. 27, { 33). In reaching that conclusion,

the Cox court noted that other courts had used success-

fully multi-faceted notice programs for large consumer or

product liability class actions where most class members

could not be identified at the outset. (Shell App. 27, { 31).

The Cox court carefully considered the adequacy of the

notice on four separate occasions — when it preliminarily

approved the settlement and the notice program. after

conducting two additional hearings and entertaining

objections to the forms of notice, and at the fairness

hearing itself. The Cox court's Final Order contains

detailed findings regarding the extensive scope and reach

of the notice campaign. (Shell App. 22-27, If 15-30). The

Cox court also found it significant that the settlement

provided for supplemental “notice every three years

through the life of the program.” (Shell App. 21, J 12(e)).

After considering all of the evidence, the Cox court found

that the notice campaign “as designed and implemented,

met and exceeded the requirements of the United States

Supreme Court, Tennessee’s Rule 23, due process and the

Constitution, as construed in [Shutts].” (Shell App. 27,

J 32). The Cox court concluded that “the notice program is

one of the most comprehensive class notice campaigns ever

19

undertaken,” that “all reasonable efforts have been made

to reach affected consumers,” and that “the best notice

practicable under the circumstances has been provided to

the settlement class.” (Shell App. 16; Shell App. 27, J 33).

Because the Cox court squarely addressed the notice

issue, this Court’s decision in Underwriters required the

South Carolina courts to give full faith and credit to the

Cox judgment.

B. The South Carolina Supreme Court Prop-

erly Rejected Petitioners’ Arguments

About the Content of the Cox Class Notice

Petitioners also contend that the Cox notice failed “to

make complete and adequate disclosure” of various things

they claim were wrong with the Cox settlement. (Pet. 20-

21). This contention too is foreclosed by the Cox court’s

findings.”

The Cox notice informed class members of the nature

of the pending litigation, including a description of the

lawsuit, the nature of PB plumbing, the criteria for being a

member of the Settlement Class, the plaintiffs’ allegations,

and the relief sought. (R. 3960-3961). Second, the notice

extensively described the terms of the proposed settle-

ment, including the settlement fund, eligible claimants,

the recovery program, the deadline for claims, the re-

quired releases and assignments, and attorneys’ fees.” (R.

3961-3963). Third, the notice informed class members that

complete information was available by calling a toll-free

number, by inspecting the court files, or by writing to class

2 The Cox court found that the “notice accurately and adequately

advised [class members] of this action; the proposed settlement and its

terms, features, and benefits; their rights and options; and the applica-

ble procedures and deadlines for exercising them.” (Shell App. 27, q 33).

* Contrary to Petitioners’ argument (Pet. 21), the notice did

disclose the amount of attorneys’ fees to be paid to Cox class counsel. (R

3963).

20

counsel. (R. 3965). Finally, the Cox notice informed class

members of the procedure for opting out and of the time

and place for the fairness hearing and their right to

participate and be heard. (R. 3964-3965). As a result, the

Cox court found that the notice “fully and accurately

informed Settlement Class members of all material ele-

ments of the proposed Settlement” and complied with all

applicable legai standards. (Shell App. 13; see also Shell

App. 27, 17 32, 33).

The South Carolina Supreme Court agreed, finding

that the notice in Cox “explained the terms of the settle-

ment, provided for the opportunity to participate (e.g., by

filing objections and appearing at the fairness hearing),

and gave information on how to opt out.” (Pet. App. 20a-

21a). As such, the South Carolina court found that the Cox

notice complied with due process. (Pet. App. ‘)2a).

Some of Petitioners’ specific criticisms about the

content of the notice mimic objections to the Cox settle-

ment filed by various parties, all of which were contested

by Cox class counsel and Shell and Celanese. (R. 2468-

2478; R. 3362-3385). For example, the objection was made

in Cox that the notice did not tell class members the

settlement was allegedly not commensurate with prior

jury verdicts and settlements. (R. 3378). Petitioners’ claim

that the notice did not tell class members “thousands of

objectors” were persuaded to drop their objections by the

payment of “disparate settlements” was also considered:

the Cox court found “there is no factual basis for the

asserted objection that settlements in individual cases are

improperly disparate from the Cox settlement.” (Shell App.

33, J 66). The Cox court considered and rejected objections

relating to the assignment to the defendants of class

members’ claims against DuPont. (Shell App. 30, If 42,

45, 46).* In response to these objections, the Cox court

“ The Cox court also anticipated and rejected Petitioners’ criticism

(Pet. 6) that the notice did not describe the results. of the further

settlement negotiations conducted under the supervision of Judge

(Continued on following page)

21

held that “[t]he notice provided to the Settlement Class

was neither misleading nor defective.” (Shell App. 31,

q 50).

Other of Petitioners’ complaints fundamentally

misconceive the function of a class notice. They argue that

the Cox notice also should have described various things

about the settlement they claim were objectionable, e.g.,

that the remedy offered was allegedly not as valuable as

that being provided by the defendants already under a

voluntary claims adjustment process. (Pet. 20). In other

words, the notice should have contained arguments

Petitioners think could have been made against the Cox

settlement. That is not the function of a class notice. There

is “no obligation to include arguments for or against the

settlement in the notice.” Greenspun v. Bogan, 492 F.2d

375, 382 (1st Cir. 1974).

C. There Is No Due Process Requirement

That Notice Actually Be Received

Petitioners argue that because they did not receive

notice” and never appeared in either Cox or Spencer, they

remain free to litigate anew their various due process

challenges to those settlements. (Pet. 15, 22). Not surpris-

ingly, Petitioners cite no authority for this proposition

Silver in California, which obviously it did not because the notice was

published prior to those negotiations:

There is no need to provide additional notice to the entire Settle-

ment Class by reason of the revised terms of the Settlement since

the Court approved the notices disseminated to the Settlement

Class. All changes have been to improve the Settlement over that

described in the notices, and none of the changes has an adverse

impact on any Class member.

(Sheil App. 33-34, J 67).

‘* For the purpose of summary judgment, Respondents accepted as

true Petitioners’ allegation that they never received notice of the Cox or

Spencer settlements.

22

because their argument runs counter to the very represen-

tational nature of a class action.

This Court long ago noted that a class action, or a

“representative” suit, is an exception to the rule that one

cannot be bound by a judgment in personam unless one

was made fully a party in the traditional sense. Shutts,

472 US. at 808 (citing Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32, 40-

41 (1940)); see also 7B Wright, Miller, & Kane, Federal

Practice and Procedure § 1789 at 238 (2d ed. 1986). There

is no requirement that a class member must “appear” in a

class action to be bound by the resulting judgment. The

plaintiffs in Matsushita and Epstein did not appear in the

Delaware court proceedings they were trying to challenge

collaterally. Matsushita, 516 U.S. at 372. Both this Court

and the Ninth Circuit held they were bound by the Dela-

ware class settlement and could not attack it collaterally.

The whole point of the Shutts minimum due process

requirements is to establish when an absent class member

will be bound even though he does not appear. Moreover.

Shutts does not require that an otherwise constitutionally

sufficient notice be actually received. E.g., Silber v. Mabon,

18 F.3d 1449, 1454 (9th Cir. 1994).

D. The South Carolina Supreme Court Prop-

erly Held That the Cox Court Addressed

Adequacy of Representation Issues

Petitioners allege that, for a variety of reasons, the

representation of the class by Cox and Spencer class

counsel was inadequate. (Pet. 24-28). The South Carolina

Supreme Court did not find it necessary to address the

merits of these various objections. The court found it

“patent that both the Spencer and Cox courts had proce-

dures in place to ensure adequate representation.” (Pet.

App. 25a). Moreover, the court concluded, based on its

review of the record, that such procedures were imple-

mented throughout the Cox and Spencer proceedings. (Pet.

App. 26a). In fact, the Cox court specifically addressed

23

most of Petitioners’ complaints about the conduct of Cox

class counsel.

1. There Was No Conflict Between Class

Counsel and the Class

Petitioners claim that class counsel suffered two

“disabling conflicts” of interest with the class: First, they

say Spencer class counsel accepted a $30 million fee

payment allegedly in exchange for withdrawing their

objections to the Cox settlement and assigning $120

million of Spencer settlement proceeds to the Cox fund,

which allegedly reduced the amount of Shell and Cela-

nese’s commitment to the Cox settlement. Second, they

argue that, simultaneous with the class settlements,

Spencer class counsel Fleming settled separately his

individual clients’ claims at “greatly disparate amounts.”

(Pet. 24-28). However, the Cox court itself fully considered

and rejected similar objections.

For example, the Cox court addressed the objection

that the assignment to Shell and Celanese of class mem-

bers’ claims against DuPont had the effect of reducing the

value of the Cox settlement by the $120 million amount of

the Spencer settlement, (see R. 2469-2474, q{ 2B, 2F, 2L,

2X; R. 3362-3385), and held:

Certain objectors have asserted that the

proposed Settlement must be reduced by a pro-

posed settlement of claims against DuPont in the

Spencer case pending in the Circuit Court of

Greene County, Alabama, which the objectors

characterized as a $120 million settlement. ...

The Settlement before this Court, in the

minimum amount of $950 million, provides for

the assignment of Settlement Class members’

claims against DuPont and others to defendants

Shell and Celanese.

Objectors are incorrect in asserting that the

“credit” arising from the assignment reduces the

Defendants’ contribution to the Settlement. The

24

original Cox settlement was $850 million to be

paid by the Defendants. The revised Cox settle-

ment requires the Defendants to pay a minimum

of $950 million to consumers with assignment of

rights, against DuPont, regardless of whether

DuPont ultimately participates in the settle-

ment. The revised Cox settlement substantially

increases benefits to consumers.

(Shell App. 30, 1 42, 45, 46).

The issue of fees for Cox and Spencer class counsel

was scrutinized by not one, but two courts. Acting as a

settlement judge, Judge Richard Silver of the Monterey

Superior Court in California actively supervised the

negotiations among Cox counsel, Spencer counsel, and

Respondents. In recommending the final settlement, he

noted that he was especially vigilant in watching for

possible conflict between class counsel and the class over

the subject of attorneys fees. In his November 8, 1995

report he wrote:

Before I would agree to recommend the settle-

ment, it would have to meet a class fairness

standard. I felt this to be essential to insure that

the resolution of the differences did not turn on

attorneys fees....

* * KK *K

Regardless of the amount of fees, as I stated

above, I set my own standards of fairness for the

class and acted as a buffer against any claim that

the class would suffer on account of fees.

(Shell App. 2, 9). Thereafter the Cox court found, with

respect to the same concern about attorneys fees, that

“It]here is no factual basis for the asserted objection that

there is any conflict of interest with respect to the Cox

Class Counsel.” (Shell App. 33, J 64).

Judge Silver also rejected the claim that one of the

Spencer class counsel suffered a “disabling conflict” by

virtue of his simultaneous settlement of his individual

cases:

> 8 Mate ter Pec a ele Ae sii aad:

a ii

25

I was particularly sensitive to insuring inde-

pendent negotiation with the individual Texas

claimants and the class so that the former would

not control the latter. Although I was seeking

global settlement, I made it clear that if an ap-

propriate settlement was reached with the class,

and no settlement could be reached in Texas, so

be it. In fact Fleming had little or no participa-

tion in negotiating the class settlement. There

was absolutely NO “private inventory sale” con-

ditioned on class settlement. No doubt I was also

concerned that, because of previous animosity,

Fleming not be improperly “cut out”; however, in

no way would I permit him, nor did he ever try,

to condition class settlement on his settlement

I believe the individual settlement of his

claims is rational and reasonable and does not

provide inappropriate “betterments.”

(Shell App. 7). Similarly, the Cox court found that “[t]here

is no factual basis for the asserted objection that settle-

ments in individual cases are improperly disparate from

the Cox settlement.” (Shell App. 33, {| 66).

Because the Cox court addressed these issues, Peti-

tioners were not entitled to relitigate them.

2. Cox Class Counsel Conducted Them-

selves Properly

Petitioners also contend that the conduct of Cox class

counsel demonstrates inadequate representation. (Pet. 26-

27).

However, this issue was fully litigated in the underly-

ing litigation. The Cox court found that the settlement

resulted from good-faith, arms-length, non-collusive

negotiations (Shell App. 18), in which every aspect of the

Settlement Agreement was the “subject of intense prepa-

ration and negotiation, from the amounts, to the terms, to

the amount of leaks, to who was covered, to how long they

26

would be covered, [all of which] was gone over in detail.”

(R. 3723). In fact, the final settlement was the result of a

two-week settlement conference overseen by Judge Silver

in which numerous enhancements to the original settle-

ment were achieved for the benefit of the class. (R. 2516-

2518; R. 2572-2577; R. 2647-2655). Judge Silver’s report

verifies class counsel conducted themselves properly and

that no extraneous factors, such as attorneys fees or class

counsel’s individual cases, altered the negotiations. (Shell

App. 1-10).

Impressed by the procedures utilized in the rendering

court, the South Carolina Supreme Court stressed:

The Cox court responded specifically to various

objections to class counsel’s alleged conflicts of

interest and found such allegations to be without

factual support. Indeed, the court commented on

class counsel’s professionalism in protecting and

promoting the interests of the class. The [Cox]

court also found that the $45 million in attor-

neys’ fees represented only approximately 5% of

the settlement fund and were not deducted from

the settlement fund.

(Pet. App. 26a). After methodically examining the due

process measures employed by the Tennessee court, the

South Carolina Supreme Court reached the unremarkable

conclusion that the Cox judgment was entitled to full faith

and credit in South Carolina.

'* Petitioners’ argument that Cox class counsel failed to adequately

value the class claims is premised on a phony statistic. They claim Cox

class counsel settled for $150 per unit. (Pet. 26). This amount is the

result of dividing $950 million by the estimated 6,000,000 PB plumbing

units in the United States. But the resulting $150 figure is unrelated to

the relief given the class: an eligible class member is not limited to

recovering $150 for his unit. He gets a replumb of his unit no matter

how much it costs. (R. 2284, § 6.3). Appellants’ misuse of statistics

proves nothing and was properly ignored by the South Carolina courts.

27

E. Petitioners’ Amchem Arguments Are Ir-

relevant to This Case

Based on this Court’s decision in Amchem Products v.

Windsor, 521 U.S. 591 (1997), Petitioners argue that

adequacy of representation could be achieved in Cox and

Spencer only by dividing the class into sub-classes. (Pet. 8-

9, 23-25). However, there are two fundamental problems

with Petitioners’ reliance on Amchem.

First, Amchem was not decided until more than 18

months after the judgments in Cox and Spencer became

final. While Amchem might control the disposition of cases

open for direct review at the time of its issuance, judg-

ments open only to collateral attack are shielded from

such retroactive application. See, e.g., Reynoldsville Casket

Co. v. Hyde, 514 U.S. 749, 758 (1995). As this Court has

written, “retroactivity in civil cases must be limited by the

need for finality; once suit is barred by res judicata or by

statutes of limitations or repose, a new rule cannot reopen

the door already closed.” James B. Beam Distilling Co. v.

Georgia, 501 U.S. 529, 541 (1991).

Second, Petitioners’ Amchem argument ignores the

distinction between collateral and direct review of judg-

ment. Amchem was a direct appeal from a judgment

approving a class settiement. Direct review of class certifi-

cation orders involves a de novo review of the applicable

legal principles under an abuse of discretion standard. See

Califano v. Yamasaki, 442 U.S. 682, 703 (1979); Reiter v.

Sonotone Corp., 442 U.S. 330, 345 (1979); see also Am-

chem, 521 U.S. at 630 (Breyer, J., Stevens, J., concurring

in part, dissenting in part). On the other hand, Matsushita

and Epstein establish that a court entertaining a collateral

attack on a class settlement may not determine independ-

ently whether it believes the class was adequately repre-

sented. That determination is for the court rendering the

judgment and those courts to which a direct appeal to the

judgment would lie. The Cox court found that the ade-

quacy of representation requirement was met. Under

28

Matsushita and Epstein that determination is not subject

to “second-guessing.”

The South Carolina Supreme Court held it was not

necessary to address either Petitioners’ or Respondents’

arguments about Amchem. (Pet. App. 25a). Instead, the

South Carolina Supreme Court considered it dispositive

that “both the Spencer and Cox courts had procedures in

place to ensure adequate representation” and “that such

procedures were implemented throughout.” (Pet. App. 25a-

25b). Therefore, the South Carolina Supreme Court

reasoned, the Cox and Spencer judgments were entitled to

full faith and credit.

In any event, there is no merit to Petitioners’ conten-

tion that the interests of class members diverged in any

meaningful way. All Cox class members, whether owners

of a single family house or owners of multi-family units,

shared the same goal of getting relief for any plumbing

that leaked. The Cox settlement addresses that goal in a

common manner: dwelling units that have experienced

qualifying leaks gets replumbed. (R. 2284, § 6.3).

In reality, Petitioners’ complaint is about the substan-

tive terms of the Cox settlement: Petitioners believe that

the terms are not as generous as they should have been.

But the adequacy of the relief does not bear on the issue

whether the trial court correctly extended full faith and

credit to the Cox judgment. Matsushita and Epstein make

clear that full faith and credit analysis does not permit

any subsequent inquiry into the merits of a final class

settlement. The scope of collateral review is limited to

ascertaining whether the rendering court’s procedures

afforded class members due process. As the South Carolina

Supreme Court correctly observed, “‘[m]ere disagreements

with the terms of a settlement cannot provide grounds for

a collateral attack’ on a class settlement.” (Pet. App. 26a,

quoting Fine, 743 N.E.2d at 423).

a ee ee ee eS eee Sl

29

Finally, there is no merit to Petitioners’ complaints

about the inclusion in the Cox settlement class of future

claimants.” The Cox settlement, however, avoids any

Amchem notice issue by providing for successive notices to

class members — every three years until the end of the

program in 2009 — and giving class members who first

purchased a structure of PB plumbing since the last notice

the right to opt out. (Shell App. 21, 7 12(e); R. 2288-2290,

§ 9). In addition, the Cox settlement has several features

that ensure protection of future eligible claimants and

thereby eliminate any conflict between current and future

claimants. For example, there is no cap on the number of

claims payable. The $950 million settlement amount

represents only a minimum contribution by the Cox

defendants (i.e., Shell and Celanese may contribute more

if the number of claims so require it). (R. 2280, §§ 4.5.2,

4.5.3). And, if any future claimants are not afforded the

relief for which they are eligible under the Cox settlement,

they retain their rights to pursue their underlying claims

against Shell and Celanese with all applicable statutes of

limitations and repose tolled. (R. 2300, § 22.2).

Therefore, no conflict of interest existed in Cox that

would necessitate separate representation of sub-classes

under the Court’s reasoning in Amchem.

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be denied. The

Tennessee court conscientiously followed the requirements

of due process in approving the Cox settlement. In granting

full faith and credit to the Cox final judgment, the South

Carolina courts properly applied the rules this Court

outlined in Shutts, Underwriters, and Matsushita. As a

result, Respondents were entitled to summary judgment

" Petitioners themselves are not members of this group of future

claimants for whom they express such solicitude. Accordingly, it is not

likely that Petitioners have any standing to assert this issue.

30

dismissing Petitioners’ collateral attack on the Cox settle-

ment.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID T. HARVIN

Counsel of Record

ERICA L. KRENNERICH

VINSON & ELKINS L.L.P.

2300 First City Tower

1001 Fannin Street

Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 758-2368

TIMOTHY W. BOUCH

G. HAMLIN O’KELLEY, III

LEATH BOUCH & CRAWFORD, LLP

134 Meeting Street, 5th Floor

Charleston, South Carolina 29402

(843) 937-8811

Lp YES TEINS ME TITTY ISLE LIED AOE HE TS BRB EM Oe LT

APPENDIX

Shell App. 1

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA,

COUNTY OF MONTEREY

Date: November 8, 1995

Hon. Richard M. Silver Judge: Deputy Clerk

Bailiff: Reporter

HELEN MEERS et al No. M 30590

Plaintiffs, Minute Order:

vs RECOMMENDATION

SHELL OIL a

COMPANY, et al,

Defendants. RMS/bf

APPEARANCES

Pursuant to the joint order of SPENCER, COX, and

MEERS this court conducted a mandatory settlement

conference commencing October 23, 1996 and continuing

through November 7, 1996. At the beginning of the

sessions the court explained its role and the competing

interests. It is important to reiterate several of those

points in this minute order.

This litigation has been ongoing for almost 10 years.

Two national class actions are now pending with the

plaintiff consumers represented by different counsel. A

substantial number of individual cases are pending in

Texas. Settlements representing small groups of con-

sumer plaintiffs had been reached in the past. Two

settlements in San Diego County have been recently

consummated. if global agreement was net reached, this

litigation could continue for another 10 years. The

competing parties each had substantial disagreements

Shell App. 2

with settlements that had been reached in the two

national class actions. It was the stated purpose of these

settlement discussions to achieve global resolution of

the two national class actions and the individual cases

in Texas. If a fair and appropriate global settlement

could be reached, I indicated I would recommend its

approval to each of the courts presiding over the na-

tional class actions and also recommended that the

courts presiding over the numerous state class actions

accord the settlement full faith and credit.

In addition to the above I also defined my role. It

was important that everyone understood that settle-

ment, simply for the purpose of settlement, was not

appropriate. Before I would agree to recommend the

settlement, it would have to meet a class fairness stan-

dard. I felt this to be essential to insure that the resolu-

tion of the differences did not turn on attorney fees and,

just as significantly, to insure that there was a reason-

able relationship between the class settlement and the

settlement of the individual cases pending in Texas.

Obviously these are also matters to be considered by the

judges in the required fairness hearings. I reiterate

these points to assure all courts that these concerns

were not overlooked and, in fact, guided all my settle-

ment discussions and my recommendations.

I perceived several points of concern with respect to

both national class action settlements and the Texas

settlement. They related to the extent of the funding,

definitions of the class and qualifying leaks, monitoring

performance, and establishing an appropriate basis for

differentiating individual settlements in Texas. I also

wanted to make sure that any differences with the recent

settlements in San Diego were rationally distinguished.

]

a

4

:

4

4

Shell App. 3

Of great concern was finally reaching global settlement

so that the consumer plaintiffs across the nation could

receive similar relief and begin to receive it soon.

When the discussions started the animosity between

counsel and the parties was significant. It was clear that

I needed to deal with this issue in order to make signifi-

cant headway. For this reason I forced people to stay

together and continue to discuss the issues, notwith-

standing the intensity of these discussions. There is no

doubt that I disapproved of some of the discussions. As

people began to come together I let it be known, in no

uncertain words, that as we moved forward into the next

step in the negotiations that I would no longer tolerate

these animosities to control the discussions. The change

was significant, and we did move forward for purposes of

reaching global resolution.

All settlements, by definition, involve compromise.

In making these comments it is not my intent to suggest

that any counsel’s motivations were improper. Each had

valid arguments. In summary, it was my intent to aide

in finding a rational basis for compromise and at the

same time make sure that the settlement met class

fairness requirements. I believe it does do so for the

following reasons:

1. Funding: Under COX I questioned whether the

fund was sufficient to be a truly national class resolu-

tion. If it was insufficient, then the litigation would only

be delayed, not ended, and benefits to class members

who were not “first in line” could be non-existent. Un-

derfunding would also put those individuals and the

judicial system to a risk of 10 more years of litigation.

Under COX any funds paid by DUPONT in Spencer

Shell App. 4

would potentially reduce the fund. In addition the

agreement was unclear as to the disposition of any

funds received from ELGERS. This raised a possibility

of substantial potential reductions in the net “fund”. On

the other hand I also perceived that the funding de-

mands by SPENCER counsel and Fleming were best

case scenarios and subject to substantial contrary legal

arguments. I also had significant concerns with the

SPENCER/DUPONT settlement in that the 8% payment

on replumbs would require a consumer to completely

replumb and pay and pay [sic] the costs, only to receive

a small amount in return. As a result my goal was, if

possible, merge the two settlements, or, as a minimum,

achieve a funding level that would most probably ac-

commodate all persons who have had qualifying leaks,

pay persons unreimbursed damages they have suffered,

and provide an extended “warranty” period of time, with

sufficient probable funding, for those persons suffering

qualifying leaks during this period. Evaluating the

numbers of people responding to both notice programs,

the number of individual claimants in Texas, and the

numbers of persons already having received benefits

through other settlements or relief, I believe the funding

under these combined settlements meets this goal and

that the probability of further litigation, as a result of

underfunding, is minimal. In /act, with the increased

funding, addition of the contingent ELGER’s funding,

and the independent settlement of the substantial

number of claims in Texas, it eppears to at least triple

the net funds available. I realize that there was no limit

in San Diego. However you cannot compare a settlement

in a small area with a settlement for the nation. I

believe that the funding level here will mest probably

satisfy this problem. Althoug2 all plaintiffs counsel

———E—————————

we A te a hind te the tel wenn Put

Shell App. 5

wuld have liked more, it is unrealistic to believe that

the defendants would so agree and still give up the

substantial legal and factual arguments that are com-

promised in this agreement. I believe this settlement

represents a fair compromise and greatly diminishes the

chance that the fund will run out before completion of

its terms.

2. Class definitions and Time periods: COX had a

window period of one year. Other settlements had longer

periods of time. The definitions of qualifying leaks differ

in some of the settlements. COX does not count a hot

water leak within 6 feet of the water heater as a first

leak toward a replumb unless it requires cutting into a

wall, others do. Significantly, any such leak allows for a

claim for damages. There are significant factual dis-

putes as to this issue. The limitation is only as to a first

leak; it only applies if no cut into the wall is required;

the evidence suggests that if the system is defective

there is a probability of multiple leaks. This makes

sense. The modified settlement does provide for an

extended window period from one year to two years. The

remainder of the time periods are consistent with past

settlements. With the modification of the extended

window period, I believe the definition of the class and

the qualifications are fair to the consumer class and

represent a fair compromise of the competing legal and

factual disputes.

3. Monitoring: The settlement as modified creates

a new plumbing claims group that will have plaintiff

representations from both COX and SPENCER and the

defendants. If there are disputes, they are to be resolved

by the judges of the national class action or a special

master appointed by them. This process insures prompt

Shell App. 6

attention to replumbing and payment of damages, an

even handed evaluation of claims and requests for

treatment as “exceptional circumstances”, and a fair

method of resolution of disputes. Of significance is the

monitoring of the replumb procedures by plaintiffs

counsel and the court.

4. Plaintiff's counsel take -on the affirmative

obligation to seek the relief provided for in the EL-

GER/US Brass settlement and, in the event funding is

insufficient, to continue with the litigation. Although I

had no doubt that they would do so, I felt it important to

affirmatively so represent this in the agreement.

Many of the settlements in these actions have had

some differing provisions. In part they are “trade-offs”

depending on the particular situation. I believe this

settlement is as good as or better than the settlements

in San Diego. This settlement pays for unreimbursed

damages, San Diego dees not. The final date for submis-

sion of claims is significantly longer in this settlement

than in San Diego. This settlement includes metal

fittings; San Diego does not. Of great significance is the

fact that this settlement provides for ongoing monitor-

ing of claims by class counsel and court review in the

event of disputes, in addition to the ombudsmen process.

I am bothered by the failure to include that in San

Diego. In that settlement the ombudsmen review is very

limited, and in good part limited to the information

provided by defendants. Review and monitoring by class

counsel is also limited. The increased window period

here, although slightly less than San Diego, is adequate

and compensates for the qualifications on leaks. Overall,

the provisions of and improvements to COX/SPENCER,

Shell App. 7

as reflected in the this [sic] settlement, leads me clearly

to the above conclusion.

In addition to the above, it is important that lI

emphasize certain points. One lawyer continually

proposed that we create a national class action in

California and merge the other two into this new-action.

Although I considered his request, I continually told him

I saw no basis or need for this. I told him I was acting

only as a settlement judge. This role permitted me to

monitor the settlement process and still permit inde-

pendent review at the fairness hearing by the other

respective courts. The Alabama and Tennessee courts

are perfectly capable of monitoring the global settlement

and are the proper courts to do so. The expenses associ-

ated with a whole new notice program would be ill spent

and not necessary.

I was particularly sensitive to insuring independent

negotiation with the individual Texas claimants and the

class so that the former would not control the latter.

Although I was seeking global settlement, I made it

clear that if an appropriate settlement was reached with

the class, and no settlement could be reached in Texas,

so be it. In fact Fleming had little or no participation in

negotiating the class settlement. There was absolutely

NO “private inventory sale” conditioned on class settle-

ment. No doubt I was also concerned that, because of

previous animosity, Fleming not be improperly “cut out”;

however, in no way would I permit him, nor did he ever

try, to condition class settlement on his settlement. It

was I who always kept us concentrated on global settle-

ment.

Shell App. 8

i believe the individual settlement of his claims is

rational and reasonable and does not provide inappro-

priate “betterments”. As indicated above, because of the

law relating to class action, monitoring this issue was

one of my responsibilities. His clients that will receive

some greater relief are all persons who have actively

participated in the litigation process. They are all

named parties in lawsuits and have participated in some

significant way in the litigation, i.e., had their units

inspected and/or answered interrogatories or been

deposed. All settlements, including those negotiated by

attorneys in this case, have acknowledged greater

compensation for individuals who have been named

class representatives and/or actively participated in the

litigation.

I also monitored the proceedings to insure there was

no wrongful “trade of rights” between clients. I had a

specific discussion concerning some of the previous

demands with counsel. It was understood that some

demands were a “really best case scenario” that would

require extremely favorable findings of Aisputed facts

and law, and there was appropriate room for compro-

mise.

There appears to be a significant misunderstanding

of the modified agreements by some counsel. There is no

inappropriate switching of “opt outs”, nor would I allow

it. As noted above there are now substantial improve-

ments reflected in these settlements. With these im-

provements reflected in these settlements. With these

improvements there is nothing wrong with merging the

processes and allowing individuals another opportunity

to consider whether they really want to “opt out”.

si lt diet i Nee a AE i ELE LE

Shell App. 9

The fees and costs in this case are significant. Many

attorneys participated on all sides. The litigation was

hard fought and complex. The fees will be divided

between many attorneys and firms. I did not participate

in the setting of fees. They do not come out of the fund.

Regardless of the amount of fees, as I stated above, I set

my own standards of fairness for the class and acted as

a buffer against any claim that the class would suffer on

account of fees.

It was my intent to try to resolve all disputes.

Unfortunately we could not achieve settlement with

DUPONT, primarily as a result of their dispute with

SHELL and HOECHST CELANESE. I trust and hope

that matter can also be settled. As a result all actions

will remain pending against DUPONT, and it will be the

responsibility of Judge Hardaway to determine the

appropriateness of the proposed SPENCER/DUPONT

settlement at a fairness hearing.

I commend all counsel for their efforts and hard

work and their willingness to ultimately put aside the

strong feelings that had separated them and to bring

this matter to resolution. I regret that settlement could

not be reached with Dupont. I commend the attorneys

for Shell and Hoechst Celanese and those corporations

for their willingness to proceed with the settlements

with the class on the same terms and conditions and not

permit the difficulties with Dupont to prejudice the

class.

All of the above will be reviewed by Judge Maloan

and Judge Hardaway at the fairness hearing and by

each state court judge who considers these matters. All I

can say is that I was fully aware of my responsibilities

Shell App. 10

and do not make this recommendation lightly. As I told

all counsel, when I put my “stamp of approval” on this

settlement, and make this recommendation, it reflects

on my credibility. I would not and do not make this

recommendation “lightly”.

With the assumption that final settlement docu-

ment will be prepared reflecting the principles of

agreement, for the above reasons, I recommend approval

of the settlement and that all concerned courts accord it

full faith and credit.

A copy of the final principles of agreement and

settlement document, as reviewed by this court, will be

presented to all courts and counsel by the attorneys.

DATED: 11-8-95 /s/

RICHARD M. SILVER

Judge of the Superior Court

a

Shell App. 11

IN THE CHANCERY COURT

FOR OBION COUNTY, TENNESSEE

AT UNION CITY, TENNESSEE

TINA COX, CHARLES HOMER ) Civil Action No. 18,844

CLOAR, MARY H. CLOAR, )

MELODY ALFORD, COUNTRY ) CLASS ACTION

VILLAGE MOBILE HOME )

PARK, and PHYLLIS BIR- ) OBION COUNTY

MINGHAM, individually and on )

behalf of all other individuals )

and entities similarly situated,

Plaintiffs,

v.

)

)

)

)

SHELL OIL COMPANY, d/b/a?

SHELL CHEMICAL COMPANY, ?

and HOECHST CELANESE

CORPORATION, |

)

Defendants.

)

FINAL ORDER APPROVING THE CLASS

ACTION SETTLEMENT, ATTORNEYS’ FEES

AND EXPENSES, AND AWARDS TO

REPRESENTATIVE PLAINTIFFS

(Filed Nov. 17, 1995)

This matter is before the Court on motion by the

parties’ for final approval of their proposed settlement

' The parties are the named individual and representative Cox

plaintiffs, on behalf of the certified Settlement Class, and defendants

(Continued on following page)

Shell App. 12

(the “Settlement”) as set forth in the Settlement Agree-

ment filed July 31, 1995, as amended by an Amendment

dated October 6, 1995, a Second Amendment dated

October 24, 1995, and a Third Amendment dated No-

vember 9, 1995 (the “Agreement”). Also before the Court

is the Application of Class Counsel for Award of Attor-

neys «ees and Expenses, and Awards to the Represen-

tative Plaintiffs (the “Application”). A duly noticed

hearing on the motion and Application was held on

November 8 and 9, 1995, (the “Fairness Hearing”)

pursuant to the Court’s Order of July 31, 1995, granting

preliminary approval of the Settlement and the August

7, 1995, order conforming the class definition (collec-

tively the “Preliminary Approval Order”), under proce-

dures set forth in the August 24, 1995, Order Approving

Forms of Notice, Scheduling Fairness Hearing and

Setting Opt-out and Objection Dates.

Notice of the Fairness Hearing was given to poten-

tial class members nationwide in accordance with the

Preliminary Approval Order and the Court approved

notice program. Voluminous pleadings and briefs were

submitted by the settling parties in support of the

Settlement and in response to all objections and motions

filed regarding the Settlement, including the various

objections and related papers filed by objector Tony

Martin, et al., and affiliated objectors through their

attorneys (the “Martin Objectors”). The parties, numerous

interested members of the Settlement Class, and others

appeared at the Fairness Hearing, either individually or

Shell Oil Company d/b/a Shell Chemical Company and Hoechst

Celanese Corporation.

eee ewe Cre Seen Ei

Shell App. 13

by their respective attorneys. The Court heard and

considered evidence in support of the proposed Settle-

ment. This evidence included live testimony, affidavits,

documentary and video presentations, as well as oral

representations by various attorneys. The attorneys for

the parties and others were heard. An opportunity to be

heard was given to all other persons requesting to be

heard in accordance with the Preliminary Approval

Order. This included a significant number of members of

the Settlement Class who, in some instances, had

traveled great distances from other states to appear and

participate in the Fairness Hearing, who were invited to

and did make statements and ask questions regarding

the terms of the Settlement and the relief it provides.

As more fully set forth below, the Court has deter-

mined that the notice given to members of the Settle-

ment Class certified in the Preliminary Approval Order

fully and accurately informed the Settlement Class

members of all material elements of the proposed Set-

tlement; was the best notice practicable under the

circumstances; was valid, due, and sufficient notice to

all Settlement Class members; and complied fully with

Rule 23 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure, the

United States Constitution, and any other applicable

law.

OPINION

The Court has greatly benefited from the fine briefs

and oral arguments of the attorneys in this case, all of

whom are worthy adversaries, and appreciates the

manner in which they have conducted themselves in this

most difficult, complex, and hotly contested litigation.

Shell App. 14

Great credit must be given to Judge Richard Silver of

Monterey County, California for his initiative to coordi-

nate a settlement conference with the Cox and Spencer’

parties. The revised Cox Settlement is due, in no small

part, to his efforts. The Court also commends Judge

Hardaway of Greene County, Alabama, for his willing-

ness to join in this unprecedented effort by three state

courts to coordinate and settle competing national class

actions. As to the settling parties, the plaintiffs, the

plaintiff class, Shell Oil Co., and Hoechst Celanese

Corp., the Court acknowledges that if it were not for

your recognition of this opportunity to reach a global

settlement of these issues, all of these efforts would

have been in vain. You have put aside your armor and

your hardened positions from years of battle and have

finally made peace.

Compromises are favored in the law. Neither this

Court, nor any court, has the resources to fully litigate

all issues, nor is it always fair to the parties to do so.

The time, cost, and lack of finality of protracted litiga-

tion require certain matters to be settled. The polybuty-

lene plumbing litigation’s time has come. Closure is not

only appropriate, but timely. The parties to this and to

the many other individual and group cases that have

comprised the polybutylene plumbing litigation have

fought long and hard with varying degrees of success

and defeat; however, the affected party, the consumer,

has seen very little benefit from these efforts. The Cox

* Spencer, et al. v. Shell Oil, et al., Case No. CV 94-074, Circuit

Court of Greene County Alabama, Honorable Eddie Hardaway, Jr.,

presiding.

_——<

Shell App. 15

settlement agreement is a compromise. In every com-

promise, each side must abandon or set aside its ideal

position and reach an agreement that is fair and rea-

sonable to all concerned under the circumstances, and

not insist on terms only beneficial to one party. The Cox

settlement is not perfect. I would have preferred that

the Agreement include no leak requirements and a

larger claims “window” for class members. The Court

has some concern the $75 million cap on past damages

may not adequately pay all past damages in full; how-

ever, these concerns must be weighed in light of the

numerous unique advantages to the consumer that the

Cox settlement does provide.

The Court finds the Settlement is fair, adequate and

reasonable. The $950 million dollars is a minimum

contribution of the defendants to those who are affected

by polybutylene plumbing. When the court initially gave

preliminary approval to the proposed Settlement, this

factor was the leading factor in granting that approval.

As counsel for the parties have confirmed at various

times in open court as the hearings have progressed in

this matter, the initial funding commitment (now

increased to $950 million) may ultimately be more if

funds are expended and provided by the defendants and

if other responsible parties contribute to the fiind in the

future. Due to the uncertainty of the size of the class

and how many claims will ultimately be filed, this Court

would not have approved a “limited fund” which pro-

vided less than full relief while demanding full release.

If the worst case does present itself, that is, if the class

is as large as six million people, all claims are pre-

sented, and the fund is totally expended; the only

prejudice to the consumer will be the delay caused by

Shell App. 16

the filing of claims and payment of funds. The Agree-

ment tolls statutes of limitations for class members. The

Agreement provides that any consumers not fully

reimbursed or compensated under the terms of the

Agreement would be able to pursue all legal and equita-

ble claims and remedies (including punitive damages)

individually and as a class.

The Court finds the notice program is excellent. As

specified in the findings below, the evidence supports

the conclusion that the notice program is one of the most

comprehensive class notice campaigns ever undertaken.

The Court is satisfied that all reasonable efforts have

been made to reach affected consumers.

The Court must also consider the complexity, the

expense, and the likely duration of these proceedings if

settlement were not reached and approved. The Court

must weigh the benefits of settlement against the likely

outcome of litigation. As the Court has already stated,

much has been spent and much has been done over the

past years in group and individual polybutylene pipe

litigation across the country, but not much has been

accomplished for the benefit of the consumer. The claims

in Cox and Spencer each have their own legal problems,

which, if fully litigated, would delay the ultimate resolu-

tion of these cases for many years to come. If litigated,

complex legal issues would be presented, such as stat-

utes of limitations and repose, choice of appropriate

state laws, liability, and measure of damages. All of

these issues, if litigated and appealed, could clog the

courts across the country for years to come. There is a

question as to whether some state courts would give full

faith and credit to another state court’s determination of

these issues.

Shell App. 17

It is an important aspect of the Settlement that the

plaintiffs’ attorney’s fees and costs are paid by the

defendants in addition to the settlement fund, and are

not deducted from the settlement fund. In the absence of

a comprehensive Class Settlement now, as presented

here in Cox, after the resolution of the contentious

issues described above, any ultimate recovery available

for consumers would be reduced by attorney’s fees.

These normally range from a third to forty percent.

None of this delay, risk, mounting transaction costs and

reduction of recovery by individual fees would be in the

long-term interest of the consumer. In Cox, the attor-

ney’s fees requested are much less; approximately five

percent of the settlement fund; moreover, unlike a

typical contingent fee, they are not paid from the fund.

The request for fees in the case is approved. The Court

finds that they are reasonable under the circumstances,

and the Court is pleased to approve them.

Rees |< aml RNC eae aS,

ET RR ASIII BE Ye eb ia Sot FOLIO

The Court is pleased with the reaction of the class

members to the proposed Settlement. The Court is

greatly comforted by the small number of individual opt-

outs, the removal of objections by Spencer class counsel

and by Tony Martin, who is represented by the Fleming

group, and the support expressed by the consumers who

testified at the Fairness Hearing. The Court finds that

the Consumer Plumbing Recovery Center (“CPRC”)

claims facility procedures which have been outlined to

the Court and which are provided for in the Agreement,

appear to constitute a simple, consumer-friendly and

efficient method of adjusting the claims in this case.

The discussions and negotiations that ultimately

lead to the settlement presented for Court approval were,

from all reports and from the Court’s own observation,

Shell App. 18

intensive, exhaustive, and often heated. The Court finds

the Agreement is the result of good faith, arms-length,

and non-collusive negotiations. The Agreement is fair,

adequate, and reasonable under the circumstances, and

it is approved.

ADDITIONAL FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

The entire matter of the proposed Settlement and

the Application having been fully heard and duly con-

sidered by the Court, the Court further FINDS and

CONCLUDES, in addition to the findings and conclu-

sions in the foregoing Opinion, as follows:

1. The polybutylene plumbing litigation has been

pending, in various forms and in various courts around

the country, for more than a decade. It has included

individual cases, cases with large numbers of individual

plaintiffs, and putative nationwide or statewide class

actions brought in federal court and in many state

courts.

2. The first nationwide polybutylene plumbing

class action was filed in September 1993 by lawyers who

are now members of the team of Cox Class Counsel. The

action, Robert Beeman, et al. v. Shell Oil Company, et

al., No. 93-047363, was filed in a state district court in

Harris County, Texas.

3. Over the course of many months of intensive

negotiations, involving a neutral mediator at many

critical junctures, a tentative settlement of the Beeman

case was achieved in October 1994. In February 1995,

however, the Texas state court denied preliminary

_approval of that settlement without comment.

Shell App. 19

4. After the Court in this case certified the na-

tionwide class on June 13, 1995, Cox Class Counsel

joined with the plaintiffs’ attorneys in the Beeman

action to prosecute this case for the benefit of mobile

and site-built homes with polybutylene plumbing across

the country.

5. Collectively, this combined team of Class Coun-

sel included highly qualified and well-regarded lawyers

with extensive class action and complex litigation

experience, as well as lawyers with vast experience in

polybutylene plumbing litigation.

6. Class Counsel then were able to negotiate a

settlement generally patterned after that originally

arrived in Beeman, although the minimum funding

commitment was $100 million greater, other features

were added, and only two of the three Beeman defen-

dants, Shell and Celanese, were involved.

7. Because of the pendency of a nationwide class

action in Greene County, Alabama, and of other polybu-

tylene actions around the country, with many brought

as class actions, including an uncertified case for a

putative statewide mobile homeowner class in the

Superior Court of Monterey County, California,’ Judge

Hardaway and this Court agreed that Judge Silver in

Monterey would further the cause of final resolution of

polybutylene plumbing litigation if he was appointed to

serve as a settlement judge for all three courts.

* Meers, et al vs. Shell Oil, et al, Case No. M 30590, Superior Court

of the State of California, County of Monterey, Honorable Richard M.

Silver, presiding.

Shell App. 20

8. Judge Silver issued an October 12, 1995 Order

Setting Settlement Conference with the endorsement of

this Court and Judge Hardaway, to convene the coordi-

nated settlement process. Other state courts with

proposed class sections were asked, by the parties and/or

by Judge Silver, to dismiss or stay their proceedings in

deference to the coordinated settlement effort in order to

give it an opportunity to succeed, undistracted by

collateral litigation.

9. Accordingly, from October 23, 1995, through

November 7, 1995, the day before the Fairness Hearing

in this Court, intensive and continuous global settle-

ment negotiations were conducted among Cox Class

Counsel, the Spencer counsel, and defendants’ counsel

and representatives through the mediation and supervi-

sion of Judge Silver.

10. As a result of these concentrated efforts, a

comprehensive settlement was reached, resulting in

significant enhancements to the Settlement as it was

originally presented to the Court and preliminarily

approved on July 31, 1995.

11. The resulting Settlement, documented and as

presented for final approval at the Fairness Hearing,

provides consumers with a recovery program consisting

of reimbursement of otherwise unréimbursed expenses

for repairs to and replacement of leaking polybutylene

plumbing systems and property damage caused by such

leaks, as well as an extensive program for replacement

of'such leaking plumbing systems.

12. Some of the features of this Settlement are

these: '

a le a i So eS.

OR CE BE EE BORN et Ee PR iS

Shell App. 21

a. Free replacement of polybutylene plumbing

systems installed since January 1, 1978, if two or more

qualifying leaks occurred before August 21, 1995, or if

only one such leak occurs either in the two years follow-

ing that date or during a period (of from 10 to 16 years,

depending on the type of structure) following installa-

tion of the system;

b. Reimbursement of the unreimbursed ex-

penses of plumbing repairs, replacements, and property

damage from January 1, 1978, to August 21, 1995, up to

$75 million will be distributed, pro rata if necessary, for

these expenses; and property damage after August 21,

1995, at 100 cents on the dollar;

c. An unlimited funding potential, with the

defendants committed to to [sic] initially provide up to

$950 million for the relief; if additional funds are re-

quired, the defendants will either provide them, or

litigation will be resumed with all applicable statutes of

limitations and repose tolled in the interim;

d. Provision for additional relief to eligible

members of the Settlement Class who experience special

needs in connection with qualifying leaks;

e. A comprehensive notice program, including

notice every three years through the life of the program,

which ends in 2009; and

f. The payment of class counsel’s attorneys’

fees and expenses in addition to the $950 million re-

served for relief for the Settlement Class.

13. The Court is not aware of any other class

action settlement with successive notice as provided in

the Cox Settlement.

Shell App. 22

14. In reaching this Settlement, the defendants

have foregone very significant defenses and issues which

could have precluded or limited liability as to some or

many class members’ claims. These include the statutes

of limitations and repose, selection of the appropriate

states’ laws applicable to various issues, the “economic

loss” limitation on recoveries of the type sought here,

the lack of privity between the members of the Settle-

ment Class and the defendants, the fact that many of

the members of the Settlement Class purchased their

structures “as is,” and, of course, the risk that plaintiffs

would not be successful in preving their allegations. In

agreeing to this Settlement, the defendants-have dis-

played commendable corporate responsibility, respon-

siveness, and good will toward consumers.

15. The Court appointed Rust Consulting, Inc. and

Kinsella Communications Ltd. as class notice providers

in this case. Richard Redfern, president of Rust Consult-

ing, and Katherine Kinseila, president of the communi-

cations firm bearing her name, testified at the Fairness

Hearing. The Court also considered Ms. Kinsella’s

affidavit and the affidavit of Jeffrey Dahl, Executive

Vice President of Rust Consulting, in connection with

their activities as notice providers.

16. Cox Class Counsel and the notice providers

worked with Todd B. Hilsee, an experienced class action

notice consultant, to design a class notice program of

unprecedented reach, scope, and effectiveness. Mr.

Hilsee was accepted by the Court as a qualified class

notice expert at an earlier hearing to approve the com-

mencement of the notice program. He testified at the

Fairness Hearing, and his affidavit was also considered

S.-i ae

Shell App. 23

by the Court, as to the operation and outcome of this

program.

17. The above-mentioned individuals provided

documents, information, and affidavits at the outset of

the notice period that assisted the parties in designing,

and the court preliminarily approving for implementa-

tion, a singularly comprehensive and creative notice

program.

18. Beginning in August, 1995, and extending into

October, 1995, an extensive notice effort was under-

taken in this case to implement the Court approved

notice program specified in the Preliminary Approval

Order.

19. Since not all Settlement Class members were

known or readily identifiable, the notice program im-

plemented in this case combined multimedia publication

(newspap2rs, magazines, radio and television), individ-

ual mailed notice, ongoing press and media outreach,

and a toll-free telephone information service. The

purpose of the program was to make potential Settle-

ment Class members aware of the Action and the Set-

tlement, and to encourage them to identify themselves

to the notice providers, as they could receive further

written notices and information, and be placed on the

notice providers’ Settlement Class member database.

20. Commencing on or before August 21, 1995,

which is the Initial Notice Date as specified in the

Agreement, more than 5.6 million copies of the Court

approved Notice of Class Action and Proposed Settle-

ment were mailed, by first class mail or overnight

service, to Settlement Class members in accordance

with the Preliminary Approval Order.

Shell App. 24

21. During September, 1995, the Court approved

summary notice was published in Parade Magazine,

USA Weekend, People Magazine, and TV Guide in

accordance with the Preliminary Approval Order. The

combined circulation of these consumer publications and

national magazines is over 73 million. During August

and September, 1995, Court approved notice appeared

twice in Friday editions of USA Today, with combined

circulation of over 4.7 million.

22. Also during September, 1995, the Court ap-

proved summary notice appeared in 201 daily and

weekly newspapers in 13 targeted states (Alabama,

Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Louisi-

ana, Maryland, Nevada, North Carolina, South Caro-

lina, Texas, and Virginia) and the District of Columbia.

The combined circulation of these newspapers exceeds

23.6 million. In addition, the notice appeared in Spanish

in 38 Hispanic newspapers, with a combined circulation

over 3 million, in 29 media markets during September,

1995. Moreover, the notice appeared in 247 daily,

weekly, bi-monthly, and monthly African-American

newspapers with a combined circulation of nearly 6

million.

23. Notices were also published in the October,

1995, editions of various trade publications, comprising

a total circulation of 244,000.

24. A 30-second spot television notice was pro-

duced and appeared 213 times from August 21, 1995,

through September 3, 1995, on national and cable

television, including on such networks as ABC, NBC,

CBS, TNN, CNN, and TNT. During the same period, a

30-second Spanish language television notice appeared

Shell App. 25

18 times on the Univision Network, a popular Spanish

language network.

25. A press release, a media advisory, a public

service announcement, a video news release, a radio

news release, and a press kit were all prepared and

disseminated as part of the notice program in this case.

The press release went to 2,000 newspapers, wire

services, magazines, and broadcast points across the

United States through PR Newswire. The press release

and media advisory were also disseminated to 469

media outlets, specifically targeting consumer reporters

and media in the top 250 media markets and 84 local

daily newspapers in the 13 targeted states and the

District of Columbia. 142 outlets, with a combined

circulation of more than 14.5 million, have confirmed

using the press materials to publish articles. It is esti-

mated that the public service announcement was broad-

cast by radio stations yielding nearly 2.9 million gross

impressions; an additional 5.5 million impressions are

estimated from the broadcast of the radio news release.

The video news release was used by at least 21 outlets

with combined viewership of more than 1.7 million.

Finally, a two-column article was provided to 10,000

daily and weekly newspapers.

26. Court approved notice forms were dissemi-

nated through various online computer services, includ-

ing CompuServe, Prodigy, and America Online, and with

Legal Link on the Internet.

27. The various forms of published notice provided

recipients with a toll free “800” telephone number to

which potential Settlement Class members could call to

obtain further information and to request the full notice

la aaaaataiaaataa aia ai aca eect ii

Shell App. 26

packet to be mailed to them. The telephone message was

updated as the notice program progressed, and com-

monly raised questions were answered by live operators,

in English or Spanish as required by the caller. The

parties prepared and updated scripts and information by

which the operators were able to provide the general

information commonly requested by callers.

28. The toll-free telephone facility established for

notice purposes in this case received more than one

million telephone calls in response to the published

notice program. .

29. Over 195,000 requests for a claim form have

been received by the notice providers.

30. Mr. Hilsee demonstrated, by affidavit and in

live testimony at the Fairness Hearing, a number of

significant facts regarding the reach and effectiveness of

the notice. The national media campaign reached an

extraordinarily high percentage of United States adults

aged 35 years and over: approximately 114 million

individuals, or 92.11% of this population. Each of these

adults was exposed to the national media notice an

average of 4.01 times. The national media campaign also

reached approximately 151 million persons in the

United States aged 25 years and over, representing

90.88% of this population. Each of the individuals in

this larger, secondary target group was reached an

average of 3.76 times by the national media notice, a

frequency that also exceed [sic] the primary target reach

in other class actions. These are higher reach and

frequency statistics than have been found adequate by

courts in other class actions. These data do not include

the reach of the notice campaign through means other

Shell App. 27

than the national paid notice campaign, such as the

television and print notices targeted to Hispanic and

African-American media, the local newspaper notices,

the non-paid media and direct mail notices to millions of

Settlement Class members.

31. Multifaceted notice programs like that imple-

mented in this case have been approved by other courts

and utilized successfully for similar purposes in large

consumer or product class actions such as this one,

where most class members are not individually identi-

fied at the outset. See, e.g., In re Domestic Air Transpor-

tation Antitrust Litigation, 141 F.R.D. 534 (E.D. Pa.

1992); 148 F.R.D. 297 (E.D. Pa. 1992); In re Silicone Gel

Breast Implant Products Liability Litigation, MDL 926

(N.D. Ala. 1994); Roberts v. Bausch & Lomb, Inc., 94-C-

1144-W (N.D. Ala. 1995).

32. As other courts have done with respect to the

less comprehensive notice programs they approved, this

Court finds that the notice program described above, as

designed and implemented, met and exceeded the

requirements of the United States Supreme Court,

Tennessee’s Rule 23, due process and the Constitution,

as construed in Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472

U.S. 797 (1985) and its progeny.

33. Thus, the best notice practicable under the

circumstances has been provided to members of the

Settlement Class. That notice accurately and adequately

advised them of this action; the proposed Settlement

and its terms, features, and benefits; their rights and

options; and the applicable procedures and deadlines for

exercising them.

Shell App. 28

34. A full opportunity has been provided to the

members of the Settlement Class to participate in the

Fairness Hearing, both orally and by way of written

submission to the Court.

35. The Court previously found the requirements

of Rule 23 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure

were met and certified a nationwide class for litigation

and trial purposes in the Order of National Class Certi-

fication. While such certification was and is contested by

the defendants, they have agreed to class certification

for settlement purposes, to promote a comprehensive,

classwide resolution of polybutylene pipe litigation.

36. The numerosity, typicality, commonality, and

adequacy requirements of Rule 23.01 of the Tennessee

Rules of Civil Procedure are satisfied as to the Settle-

ment Class in connection with the Settlement in this

case.

37. In accordance with Rule 23.02(3), common

issues of fact and law predominate and make certifica-

tion of the Settlement Class for settlement purposes

efficient and appropriate. The members of the Settle-

ment Class have been afforded the right and opportu-

nity to exclude themselves from the Settlement Class.

38. The settlement encompassed within the

Agreement is in all respects fair, reasonable, and ade-

quate and in the best interests of the Settlement Class.

39 The Court-approved notice program provided

clear and simple procedures and instructions for the

submission of objections by or on behalf of Settlement

Class members. For example, paragraph 10 of the

Court-approved Notice of Class Action and Proposed

Shell App. 29

Settlement required objections to be submitted, in

writing, postmarked not later than October 20, 1995,

and further stated, “if you do not comply with the

procedure and the deadline stated herein, you may not

be entitled to be heard at the Fairness Hearing er to

otherwise contest the approval of the Settlement, or to

appeal from any orders or judgments of the Court

entered thereon.” All objections, however styled, that

failed to comply with the procedures and deadlines set

forth in the notice program, are hereby found to be

procedurally deficient and are disqualified in accordance

with the foregoing statement.

40. The Court has also reviewed the Principles of

Agreement dated November 7, 1995, executed by the

parties, including the terms applicable to U.S. Brass

Corp., Eljer Manufacturing, Inc., and Eljer Industries,

Inc. The terms of the Principles of Agreement appear to

be reasonable and in accordance with the efforts being

made to seek a global resolution of all litigation pertain-

ing to the issues among the parties. The prior Cox

settlement was unclear as to the effect of funds received

from U.S. Brass Corp., Eljer Manufacturing, Inc., and

Eljer Industries, Inc. The revised settlement makes

clear that amounts received from U.S. Brass and/or

Eljers will add to the minimum fund of $950 million. If

that settlement is perfected and approved by the United

States Bankruptcy Court, the minimum fund would

substantially increase.

41. In independently determining to approve the

Settlement and the Application, the Court has consid-

ered the substance of all objections to the Settlement,

whether timely, qualified or not, including those by the

Shell App. 30

Martin Objectors and others that have since been

withdrawn or stricken.

42. Certain objectors have asserted that the

proposed Settlement must be reduced by a proposed

settlement of claims against du Pont in the Spencer case

pending in the Circuit Court of Greene County, Alabama,

which the objectors characterized as a $120 million set-

tlement.

43. The proposed du Pont settlement has not been

approved by the Spencer court, and this Court may not

speculate whether it will be approved by the Spencer

court.

44. The proposed du Pont settlement in Spencer

purports to entitle a claimant to a rebate of 8% of monies

the claimant pays for replumbing his or her structure.

45. The Settlement before this Court, in the mini-

mum amount of $950 million, provides for the assignment

of Settlement Class members’ claims against du Pont and

others to defendants Shell and Celanese.

46. Objectors are incorrect in asserting that the

“credit” arising from the assignment reduces the Defen-

dants’ contribution to the Settlement. The original Cox

settlement was $850 million to be paid by the Defendants.

The revised Cox settlement requires the Defendants to pay

a minimum of $950 million to consumers with assignment

of rights, against du Pont, regardless of whether du Pont

ultimately participates in the settlement. The revised Cox

settlement substantially increases benefits to consumers.

47. Contrary to objectors’ assertions, all interest

earned on funds held by the CPRC will be for the benefit of

Shell App. 31

the Settlement Class and will not be credited against the

Defendants’ obligations under the Agreement.

48. Because of the structure of the Settlement, the

Defendants’ obligation to fund the CPRC on an ongoing,

as-needed basis, and the Defendants’ obligation to pay

reimbursement for Past Expenses in a reasonable time

after the close of the one year claim filing period on Au-

gust 21, 1996, and any related opt out period that may be .

necessary under § 4.5.1 of the Agreement, there is no

significant ability by the Defendants to delay payments

due under the Settlement.

49. Objectors are incorrect in asserting that, even

before the Defendants’ initial funding commitment was

increased from $850 million to $950 million, the “net

funding by Shell and Celanese under ... the agreement

[was] only $547 million.” a

50. The notice provided to the Settlement Class was

neither misleading nor defective.

51. The defendants are each responsible for one-half

of the settlement obligations as specified in the Settlement

Agreement unless and until the respective liabilities are

established by arbitration under the Funding Agreement.

52. The Cox Class Counsel have undertaken a

reasonable risk that each of the defendant companies will

be solvent and capable of fulfilling its obligations under

this agreement.

53. Had the plaintiffs settled at separate times with

Shell and Celanese, it is highly unlikely that there would

ever have been joint and several liability between them.

Shell App. 32

54. The Settlement is more favorable to the Settle-

ment Class than litigation if it is assumed that one of the

defendants will, some years from now, become unable to

pay all claims, since the class will receive payment under

the Settlement promptly, thereby reducing the number of

claimants who would be subjected to proving claims in a

bankruptcy.

55. The Agreement provides broad ranging powers

for the enforcement of a defaulting defendant’s obligations,

including the full panoply of equitable powers this Court

possesses.

56. The Agreement expressly provides that the

default of one defendant does not exonerate the other

defendant of its obligations under the Agreement.

57. Past expenses will be compensated after expira-

tion of one year from August 21, 1995, the Initial Notice

Date under the Agreement.

58. Claimants will not, contrary to an objection, be

required to wait 14 years to receive their entitled reim-

bursements or distributions under the Agreement.

59. The so-called exclusion of a “hot water heater

leak” — a leak occurring within six feet of piping measured

from the take-off at the unit’s hot water heater — does not

apply to any claim for reimbursement of repair costs and

property damage. Thus, the only exclusion is for eligibility

for a replumb, and even there, the exclusion applies only if

(1) it is the first leak in the unit and (2) it can be repaired

without cutting into the unit’s walls, ceilings, or floors.

60. Therefore, a replumb will be provided under the

Agreement even if the hot water heater leak is the first

leak, if to repair the leak would require cutting into the

Shell App. 33

walls, ceilings, or floors of the unit. Similarly, there will be

a replumb if the hot water heater leak is the second leak

in the system.

61. The claimant has the right to select the contrac-

tor to do the replumbing and property damage repair

work.

62. Nothing in the Agreement abrogates the war-

ranty of work done by the contractors and suppliers of pipe

and other components in the replumb.

63. The Agreement permits special relief involving

unusual hardship, so long as the CPRC Ombudsman and

President concur that such relief should be provided. This

provision allows the CPRC to provide relief from a breach

of warranty arising out of replumbing work, where the

warrantor fails to provide or cannot provide corrective

relief. CPRC § VI, E.

64. There is no factual basis for the asserted objec-

tion that there is any conflict of interest with respect to

the Cox Class Counsel.

65. The Cox Class Counsel maintained the highest

standards of professionalism and advocacy in protecting

and promoting the interests of the Class throughout the

prosecution and settlement of this case.

66. There is no factual basis for the asserted objec-

tion that settlements in individual cases are improperly

disparate from the Cox Settlement.

67. There is no need to provide additional notice to

the entire Settlement Class by reason of the revised terms

of the Settlement since the Court approved the notices

disseminated to the Settlement Class. All changes have

Shell App. 34

been to improve the Settlement over that described in the

notices, and none of the changes has an adverse impact on

any Class member.

68. As class action jurisprudence has accumulated,

various federal and state courts, in Tennessee and else-

where, have articulated criteria and factors that courts

may consider in evaluating proposed settlements for final

approval. See, e.g., Third Natl Bank v. Scribner, 212 Tenn.

400, 410, 370 S.W.2d 482 (1963); Clark Equip. Co. uv.

International Union, Allied Indus. Workers, 803 F.2d 878,

880 (6th Cir. 1986), cert. denied sub nom. Jones v. Clark

Equip. Co., 480 U.S. 934 (1987); Williams v. Vukovich, 720

F.2d 909, 922 (6th Cir. 1983); Bailey v. Great Lakes Can-

ning, Inc., 908 F.2d 38, 42 (6th Cir. 1990); In re Warner

Communications Sec. Litig., 618 F. Supp. 735 (S.D.N.Y.

1985) affd, 798 F.2d 35 (2d Cir. 1986); Girsh v. Jepson,

521 F.2d 153, 157 (38d Cir. 1975). This Court has been

guided, generally, by the procedures and criteria recom-

mended in the Manual for Complex Litigation, 3d ed.

(Federal Judicial Center 1995), §§ 30.4 et seqg., since the

federal and Tennessee class action provisions and criteria

are consistent.

69. Factors that may be considered in assessing the

fairness, adequacy, and reasonableness of the proposed

settlement include: the plaintiffs’ likelihood of ultimate

success on the merits balanced against the amount and

form of relief offered in the settlement; the stage of the

proceedings at which the settlement is reached; the extent

of cumulative discovery or investigation; the nature of the

settlement negotiations; the costs, risks, and delays of

establishing liability and damages; the views of experi-

enced counsel; the reaction of the class members them-

selves; the comparison of the settlement’s benefits with

EEO —E—EEEEE——————————E——E—|

Shell App. 35

other settlements or with the alternative of continuing

litigation; and whether approval of the settlement is in the

class members’ and the public interest. As the above

opinion and findings demonstrate, consideration of these

and other recognized factors, such as the participation and

recoramendations of an experienced and able settlement

judge and the testing of the settlement’s merits in the

class of adversary proceedings, demonstrate the Settle-

ment’s entitlement to approval.

70. Expert opinions have been submitted in support

of the proposed Settlement. (See Opinion of Professor

David Rosenberg, Affidavit of Professor Paul H. Rubin). In

approving the Settlement, the Court has considered these

opinions.

71. The Court will retain jurisdiction and address a

supplemental notice program, on a joint motion of the

settling parties, to advise all members of the Settlement

Class on whose behalf a purported or actual request for

exclusion was received of the enhanced Settlement, provid-

ing those individuals with a new opportunity to request

exclusion from the Settlement Class in light of the en-

hanced Settlement.

72. There is no just reason for delay in the entry of a

final judgment and decree by reason of such supplemental

notice and related proceedings or of the retention by the

Court of continuing jurisdiction to oversee the implemen-

tation and enforcement of the Agreement and Settlement.

73. The Application is fair and should be granted.

Based upon the foregoing, it is hereby ORDERED,

ADJUDGED, and DECREED:

a

Shell App. 36

1. The Court has jurisdiction over all claims asserted

in the Action on behalf of all Settlement Class members

and over all parties to the Action, including all members of

the Settlement Class.

2. The Settlement Class is defined as follows:

All persons and entities that (1) own real prop-

erty or structures in the United States in which

there was installed between January 1, 1978 and

July 31, 1995, polybutylene plumbing with acetal

insert or metal insert fittings or a polybutylene

yard service line; (2) own or previously owned |

such real property or structures and have al-

ready incurred any cost or expense, by reason of

leakage from, or from failure, repair, or removal

of, all or any portion of such polybutylene plumb-

ing or yard service line which was installed be-

tween January 1, 1978 and July 31, 1995; or (3)

will own such real property or structures during

the term of entitlement to relief under the Set-

tlement Agreement.

The definition of the Settlement Class excludes:

(1) All persons who, in accordance with the terms

of the Settlement Agreement, execute a timely

request for exclusion from the Settlement Class;

(2) the Defendants; the Released Manufacturers;

the parent and any subsidiary, affiliate and con-

trolled entity of any of them; and the officers and

directors of each of them; and (3) all parties to

Geno Cioe, et al. v. Shell Oil Company, et al.,

Case No. 662214, and Robert L. Williams, et al. v.

Shell Oil Company, et al., Case No. 658403, and

related combined actions (Case Nos. 640245,

654709, 656787, 661372, 665521 and 665527) in

the Superior Court of the State of California in

Shell App. 37

and for the County of San Diego, and all mem-

bers of the certified classes in those lawsuits.

3. All members of the Settlement Class who have not

timely elected to be excluded from the Settlement Class

are members thereof and are bound by this Order and the

Final Judgment being entered herewith.

4. Pursuant to Rule 23.01, Rule 23.02, and Rule

23.03 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure, the Court

confirms the certification of the Settlement Class provided

in the Preliminary Approval Order and maintains such

certification for purposes of final approval of the settle-

ment.

5. The Class Representatives and Plaintiffs’ Class

Counsel designated in paragraph 8 of the Court-approved

Notice of Class Action and Proposed Settlement to repre-

sent the Settlement Class are hereby confirmed.

6. The Agreement and the Funding Agreement

entered into by the Defendants pursuant to the Agreement

are hereby made part of the record in this case and as such

shall have the full force and effect of an order of the Court.

7. Pursuant to Rule 23.05 of the Tennessee Rules of

Civil Procedure, the Court hereby grants final approval of

the Agreement and the Settlement set forth in the Agree-

ment and finds that it-is fair, adequate, and reasonable to

the members of the Settlement Class.

8. The objections that were filed, whether timely or

not, have been considered and are all overruled.

9. Accordingly, the Court directs that the Settlement

be consummated in accordance with the terms and condi-

tions of the Agreement.

Shell App. 38

10. Plaintiffs and all members of the Settlement

Class are-barred and permanently enjoined from prosecut-

ing (in any forum) against Sh» ll Oil Company and/or

Hoechst Celanese Corporation any and all claims, de-

mands, causes of action of every kind and nature, obliga-

tions, damages, losses, and costs, whether known or

unknown, actual or potential, suspected or unsuspected,

contingent or fixed, either arising out of or relating to any

of the facts, transactions, actions, or conduct alleged in

this action, or that were or could have been asserted or

sought in the action, other than any past, present, or

future claim for bodily injury (including wrongful death)

and associated emotional distress and mental anguish.

11. The Complaint as amended, and all claims and

causes of action asserted therein are dismissed with

prejudice and costs, as provided in the Agreement, to be

paid from the settlement fund.

12. The Application is hereby granted. In accordance

with the Funding Agreement referred to in the Agreement,

the defendants shall pay Plaintiffs’ Class Counsel, as

attorneys’ fees and expenses, the sum of $45 million plus

interest at the rate applicable to federal court judgments

entered on July 31, 1995, for the period from July 31,

1995, until the earlier of July 31, 1996, or when paid. In

addition, in accordance with Section 25.1 of the Agreement

and with the Funding Agreement referred to in the

Agreement, the defendants shall pay the sum of $3,000.00

to each single Representative Plaintiff or Representative

Plaintiff married couple.

13. In the event that the Settlement does not become

Final (as more fully defined in the Agreement) in accor-

dance with the terms of the Agreement, then this Order

Shell App. 39

and the Final Judgment and Decree being entered here-

with shall be rendered null and void and be vacated and

the Agreement shall be rendered null and void in accor-

dance with the provisions thereof.

14. Without affecting the finality of this Order or of

the Final Judgment being entered herewith, the Court

shall retain continuing jurisdiction over the Action and the

settling Parties (as more fully defined in the Agreement),

including all members of the Settlement Class; the ad-

ministration and enforcement of the Settlement; and the

benefits to the Settlement Class, including for such pur-

poses as supervising the implementation, enforcement,

construction, and interpretation of the Agreement.

15. Any disputes or controversies arising with

respect to the interpretation, enforcement, or implementa-

tion of the Agreement shall be presented by motion to the

Court.

16. Pursuant to Rule 54.02 of the Tennessee Rules of

Civil Procedure, the Court hereby directs the entry of this

judgment based upon the Court’s finding that there is no

just reason for delay notwithstanding the Court’s reten-

tion of jurisdiction to oversee implementation and en-

forcement of the Agreement and its continuing jurisdiction

to provide for supplemental notice (and related proceed-

ings) to potential members of the Settlement Class as to

whom the Court previously received requests for exclusion

from the Settlement Class.

/s/ W. Maloan

CHANCELLOR

ENTERED: November 17, 1995

Shell App. 40

IN THE CHANCERY COURT FOR OBION COUNTY,

TENNESSEE AT UNION CITY, TENNESSEE

TINA COX, CHARLES ) Civil Action No. 18,844

HOMER CLOAR, MARY H. _ )

CLOAR, MELODY ALFORD, ) CLASS ACTION

COUNTRY VILLAGE ) OBION COUNTY

MOBILE HOME PARK, and

PHYLLIS BIRMINGHAM,

individually and on behalf of

all other individuals and

entities similarly situated,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

SHELL OIL COMPANY,

d/b/a SHELL CHEMICAL

COMPANY, and HOECHST

CELANESE CORPORATION,

Defendants.

a ae ae a a ae a a a a a

FINAL JUDGMENT

(Filed Nov. 17, 1995)

This matter is before the Court on motion by the

parties for final approval of their proposed settlement as

set forth in the Settlement Agreement filed July 31, 1995,

as amended by an Amendment dated October 6, 1995, a

Second Amendment dated October 24, 1995, and a Third

Amendment dated November 9, 1995 (the “Agreement”).

Also before the Court is the Application of Class Counsel

for Award of Attorneys’ Fees and Expenses, and Awards to

the Representative Plaintiffs (the “Application”).

A hearing on the motion and Application was held on

November 8 and 9, 1995, pursuant to the Court’s Order of

Shell App. 41

July 31, 1995, granting preliminary approval of the

settlement and the August 7, 1995, order conforming the

class definition, under procedures set forth in the August

24, 1995, Order Approving Forms of Notice, Scheduling

Fairness Hearing and Setting Opt-outs and Objection

Dates.

This Final Judgment is entered pursuant to a Final

Order Approving the Class Action Settlement, Attorneys’

Fees and Expenses, and Awards to Representative Plain-

tiffs (the “Final Order”) which is entered together here-

with. The Court has determined that the Class Action

Settlement, as encompassed within the Agreement, should

be approved as fair, adequate, and reasonable to the

Settlement Class under Rule 23.05 ot the Tennessee Rules

of Civil Procedure, and that the Application should be

granted.

The Court has further determined that there is no just

reason for delay in the entry of final judgment in accor-

dance with the Final Order pursuant to Rule 54.02 of the

Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure.

Accoraingly, it is ORDERED that judgment is hereby

entered in accordance with the Final Order.

It is further ORDERED that the Settlement Class is

defined as follows:

All persons and entities that (1) own real prop-

erty or structures in the United States in which

there was installed between January 1, 1978 and

July 31, 1995, polybutylene plumbing with acetal

insert or metal insert fittings or a polybutylene

yard service line; (2) own or previously owned

such real property or structures and have al-

ready incurred any cost or expense, by reason of

Shell App. 42

leakage from, or from failure, repair, or removal

of, all or any portion of such polybutylene plumb-

ing or yard service line which was installed be-

tween January 1, 1978 and July 31, 1995; or (3)

will own such real property or structures during

the term of entitlement to relief under the Set-

tlement Agreement.

The definition of the Settlement Class excludes:

(1) All persons who, in accordance with the terms

of the Settlement Agreement, execute a timely

request for exclusion from the Settlement Class;

(2) the Defendants; the Released Manufacturers;

the parent and any subsidiary, affiliate and con-

trolled entity of any of them; and the officers and

directors of each of them; and (3) all parties to

Geno Cioe, et al. v. Shell Oil Company, et al.,

Case No. 662214, and Robert L. Williams, et al. v.

Shell Oil Company, et al., Case No. 658403, and

related combined actions (Case Nos. 640245,

654709, 656787, 661372, 665521 and 665527) in

the Superior Court of the State of California in

and for the County of San Diego, and all mem-

bers of the certified classes in those lawsuits.

It is further ORDERED that the Court directs that

the settlement be consummated in accordance with the

terms and conditions of the Agreement.

It is further ORDERED that the Amended Complaint

and all claims and causes of ection asserted therein are

dismissed with prejudice with costs to be paid from the

settlement fund in accordance with the terms of the

Settlement Agreement.

It is further ORDERED ‘hat, in the event that the

settlement does not become final (as more fully defined in

Shell App. 43

the Agreement) in accordance with the terms of the

Agreement, then this Final Judgment and the Final Order

shall be rendered null and void and be vacated, and the

Agreement shall be rendered null and void in accordance

with the provisions thereof.

It is further ORDERED that, without affecting the

finality of the Final Order and this Final Judgment, the

Court shall retain continuing jurisdiction over this action

and the settling Parties (as more fully defined in the

Agreement), including all members of the Settlement

Class; the administration and enforcement of the settle-

ment; and the benefits to the Settlement Class, including

for such purposes as supervising the implementation,

enforcement, construction, and interpretation of the

Settlement Agreement.

It_is further ORDERED that, subject and pursuant to

the terms and conditions of the Agreement, Plaintiffs and

all members of the Settlement Class are barred and

permanently enjoined from prosecuting (in any forum)

against Shell Oil Company and/or Hoechst Celanese

Corporation any and all claims, demands, causes of action

of every kind and nature, obligations, damages, losses, and

costs, whether known or unknown, actual or potential,

suspected or unsuspected, contingent or fixed, either

arising out of or relating to any of the facts, transactions,

actions, or conduct alleged in this action, or that were or

could have been asserted or sought in the action, other

than any past, present, or future claim for bodily injury

(including wrongful death) and associated emotional

distress and menial anguish.

It is further ORDERED that, in accordance with the

above-described Application and the Funding Agreement

Shell App. 44

referred to in the Agreement, the defendants shall pay

Plaintiffs’ Class Counsel, as attorneys’ fees and expenses,

the sum of $45 million, plus interest at the rate applicable

to federal court judgments entered on July 31, 1995, for

the period from July 31, 1995, until the earlier of July 31,

1996, or when paid.

It is further ORDERED that, in accordance with

Section 25.1 of the Agreement and with the Funding

Agreement referred to in the Agreement, the defendants

shall pay the sum of $3,000.00 to each single Representa-

tive Plaintiff or Representative Plaintiff married couple.

It is further ORDERED, pursuant to Rule 54.02 of the

Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure, that the Court hereby

DIRECTS the entry of this judgment as a final judgment

based upon the Court’s finding that there is no just reason

for delay, notwithstanding the Court’s retention of juris-

diction to oversee implementation and enforcement of the

Agreement as set forth above, and the Court’s continuing

jurisdiction to provide for supplemental notice (and related

proceedings) to potential members of the Settlement Class

as to whom the Court previously received requests for

exclusion from the Settlement Class.

Dated at Union City, Tennessee, this 17 day of No-

vember, 1995.

/s/ W. Michael Maloan

W. MICHAEL MALOAN,

CHANCELLOR

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.