Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Trujillo v. Quarterman (No. 07-1244)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme eas) U.S.

FILE

4 3 O 071 244 MAR 2 7 9008

: OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Sn The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

&

MICHAEL MARTINEZ TRUJILLO,

Petitioner,

NATHANIEL QUARTERMAN,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MICHAEL C. GROSS,

Counsel of Record

106 South St. Mary’s Street,

Suite 260

San Antonio, Texas 78205

(210) 354-1919

(210) 354-1920 Fax

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the Court of Appeals failed to follow Miller-

El v. Cockrell, 537 U.S. 322, 123 S.Ct. 1029, 154

L.Ed.2d 931 (2003) and similar cases from the Sixth,

Seventh, Tenth, and Eleventh Circuit Courts of

Appeals in denying a certificate of appealability on a

claim of ineffective assistance of counsel regarding a

failure to request a jury instruction on duress when

evidence of duress was the sole defense presented at

trial?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW............. i

I OF COPE IIIIS oo. cn cc cnccececeseccssenssees ii

ME OF AUITIIORITIOS |. ..........-.--c.cececcccoseccesess iii

NE ooo csc secisessvaccessesscedecosecaes 1

| NERS es oar eee Somer st 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-

SIONS INVOLVED............-.-.- iin Oiteg aies nee ee 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE,.........ssesssssssseedeeseeee 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION..... 6

The United States Court of Appeals has de-

cided an important question of federal law in a

way that conflicts with relevant decisions of

TT ns 6

I. The standard for ineffective assistance of

i a a 6

II. The standard for granting a certificate of

STAI CIID win siviccs ca sicceesnccecscreaviactosys 8

Iii. A COA should have been granted for the

failure to request a jury instruction on du-

TE easasccanniihniccapuincetecscncietetcincsacsves tenure 11

IV. The Fifth Circuit decided this case con-

trary to Miller-El and the Sixth, Seventh,

Tenth, and Eleventh Circuit Courts of Ap-

tide ocscicidiac ructisanaknicbabaédovgehiovieassautamessiians 17

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

APPENDIX

Opinion of the Court of Appeals, dated January

Re andes ewens la

Memorandum and Recommendation and Order

of the Magistrate Judge, dated November 7,

PARI eivsccsiiswacss sak Seeu kala KUiies eave wade nnsinduanawededievsinvs 1b

Order of the District Court, dated January 12, .

tf SSSR Ny ctor nf ELSE IR EES PONE RIN MRIS OF AEP lc

Order of the District Court, dated April 16,

ee og lucua ld

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes .................... le

PURO EG GE PROM hs TIE oi ov oscins cs cc'snsceecccpsnconcscencccceess 1f

1V

TABLE OF AUTHCRITIES

Page

CASES

STATE CASES

Alford v. State, 806 S.W.2d 581 (Tex. App. —

BEE TE BGG Fass casio Loss tidswncedccccciviviniasveaniens 11

Bernal v. State, 647 S.W.2d 699 (Tex. App. —

Ban ANtoniG IGSZ, TO DOC) cc. -eecccccccceccsssssseseorsess 11

Booth v. State, 679 S.W.2d 498 (Tex. Crim. App.

1984)... ee eeesesceeesseenseneesssnsesensesnssesevsseaeeesecseosoenes 11

FEDERAL CASES

Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880, 103 S.Ct.

SSGG, TT UT Dek TOG CAS a sisia cess ccnccincecceccisesces 10

Baxter v. Thomas, 45 F.3d 1501 (11th Cir. 1995) ........ 7

Dando v. Yukins, 461 F.3d 791 (6th Cir. 2006).......... 22

Jones v. McDonough, 2007 U.S. App. LEXIS

1488 (11th Cir., January 24, 2007) (unpub-

OS 2 SEE EOS SOE EE RUDI Hak Oe, RON HRN PERT 18

Kyles v. Whitley, 514 U.S. 419, 115 S.Ct. 1555,

RD ce ee OE ainsi cas can iden tccckcowacasevecas 7,8

Lindsey v. King, 769 F.2d 1034 (5th Cir. 1985)........ 7,8

Lockhart v. Fretwell, 506 U.S. 364, 113 S.Ct.

SG 128 Es eA BD (CIGGS) 5 csncccscecsasceasocsuevssceenes 7

Miller-El v. Cockrell, 537 U.S. 322, 123 S.Ct.

1029, 154 L.Ed.2d 931 (2003)........... 9, 10, 17, 21, 26

Perry v. McCaughtry, 308 F.3d 682 (7th Cir.

IE inline socket casas aucthelekexctiasvbaas dataset 20, 21

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ~ Continued

| Page

Richardson v. United States, 526 U.S. 813, 119

S.Ct. 1707, 143 L.Ed.2d 985 (1999)......................2. 19

Slack v. McDaniel, 529 U.S. 473, 120 S.Ct.

3596, 146 1.0.26 542 (2000) ......................00...... 9, 26

Sonnier v. Johnson, 161 F.3d 941 (5th Cir. 1998)....... 10

Strickland v: Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 104

S.Ct. 2052, 80 L.Ed.2d 674 (1984).............. 6, 7, 8, 17

Thompson v. Konteh, 2006 U.S. App. LEXIS

6252 (6th Cir., March 14, 2006) (partial pub-

is ipecetieans psksbasadanstesgsess 18, 19

United States v. Demeree, 2004 U.S. App.

LEXIS 18508 (10th Cir., September 1, aoa

a SNS RSS ec en 19

Westley v. Johnson, 83 F.3d 714 (5th Cir. 1996) .......... 8

Whitehead v. Johnson, 157 F.3d 384 (5th Cir.

oo coca wntenisdsnpernvenesevcoes 10

STATUTES AND RULES

si ccscnetevnevensunvepccseeusbnnetvesesessessee 2

I ara thindsniccwncsieensoseecsentvoqvevessucssossconses 3

ili a nada vnevewsvensxsorsevvassvehoonsenvesense 2,3

icin seiscewerrecasecswewccnsseesesmess 2,3,9

I itectiicksvnnnsaereisaasnsavenoenvssesvssseessesasens 2,3

SE I I, DD ooo snes ncn nescsocasnncenensenctevenseses 3

Tex. Pen. Code Ann. § 8.05 .............0......... ‘cilbcahciciieiapachiae 11

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

1

Michael Martinez Trujillo respectfully petitions

for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

in this case.

S

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (App., infra,

la) denying the request for a certificate of appealabil-

ity is not published. Trujillo v. Quarterman, No. 07-

50172 (5th Cir., January 16, 2008). The memorandum

and recommendation of the magistrate judge at the

district court level (App., infra, 1b) recommending

denial of the Petitioner’s Petition for Writ of Habeas

Corpus is not published. Trujillo v. Quarterman, No.

SA-06-CA-577-OG (W.D. Tex., November 7, 2006).

The order of the district court (App., infra, 1c) accept-

ing the recommendation of the magistrate judge is

not published. Trujillo v. Quarterman, No. SA-06-CA-

- 577-OG (W.D. Tex.,.January 11, 2007). The district

court order denying a certificate of appealability

(App., infra, 1d) is not published. Trujillo v. Quarter-

man, No. SA-06-CA-577-OG (W.D. Tex., April 14,

2007).

2

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals entered its judgment on

January 16, 2008. There was no motion for rehearing

filed in this case. The jurisdiction of this court is

invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

5

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The constitutional provisions and statutes in-

volved in this case are the Sixth and Fourteenth

Amendments of the Constitution of the United States;

and 28 U.S.C. §§ 2241, 2253, and 2254. The pertinent

text of these constitutional provisions and statutes

are set out at Appendix E.

.%

Vv

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petitioner was charged in the 187th Judicial

District Court of Bexar County, Texas with capital

murder allegedly occurring on December 27, 2001. (T

— 819-320). The Petitioner entered a plea of not

guilty before the jury on May 13, 2003. (R - v.7 — 1,

6). The jury found the Petitioner guilty on May 21,

" The clerk’s record from the trial will be referred to as “T

and page number.” The court reporter’s record from the trial will

be referred to as “R and volume and page number.” The court

reporter’s record from the state writ hearing will be referred to

as “WHC and volume and page number.”

3

2003 which resulted in an automatic life sentence. (R

— v.13 - 1, 93).

The Fourth Court of Appeals, District of Texas, in

an unpublished memorandum opinion, affirmed the

judgment of the trial court. Trujillo v. State, No. 04-

03-00467-CR (Tex. App. — San Antonio, July 14, 2004,

no pet.). Neither a petition for discreticnary review

nor a petition for writ of certiorari was iuled. A state

application for writ of habeas corpus was filed on

August 5, 2005 and was denied by the Texas Court of

Criminal Appeals on June 28, 2006. |

A petition for writ of habeas corpus was filed on

July 3, 2006 in the United States District Court for

the Western District of Texas and was denied without

a hearing on January 11, 2007. Notice of appeal was

timely filed on January 26, 2007. The federal district

court denied a certificate of appealability on April 14,

2007. The Petitioner filed with United States Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit seeking a certificate of

appealability as to ineffective assistance of counsel.

This request was denied on January 16, 2008.

In this habeas case brought by a person in state

custody, the district court had federal jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 2241 and 2254. The Court of

Appeals had federal jurisdiction of the appeal from

the final order and judgment of the United States

District Court for the Western District of Texas

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1291, 2253, 2254, and Rule

22(b) of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure.

4

In opening statement, trial defense counsel

stated that Danny Gonzales, a Mexican Mafia mem-

ber, shot the two complainants in the head with a .25

caliber handgun and that Adam Gomez, also a Mexi-

can Mafia member, then shot the two complainants

with a 9mm handgun. (R — v.12 -— 10, 13). Counsel

stated that Michael Trujillo, Steve Salgado, and

Fernando Gonzales helped Danny Gonzales and

Adam Gomez dispose of the bodies. Jd. at 11. Counsel

stated that Michael, Steve, and Fernando were afraid

of Danny and Adam and that is why they helped

dispose of the bodies. Id. Counsel stated that Michael

was afraid for his lire and that is why Michael helped

dispose of the bodies and cover up the incident. Jd.

Counsel stated that Michael did not report the inci-

dent to the police because Michael was afraid that he

would be shot and killed if he reported the incident.

Id. Counsel stated that the evidence established “a

pattern of intimidation and fear that was placed into

Michael... ” Jd.

Michael’s wife, Lori Trujillo, testified that after

the incident, Michael was in fear for his life. (R — v.12

— 52). Fernando Gonzales testified that he met Danny

Gonzales in November 2001 after Danny Gonzales

was released from prison. Jd. at 70. Fernando testi-

fied that, after the shooting, Danny Gonzales told

Fernando to bring Michael back to the garage where

the shooting had occurred or else Danny Gonzales

and Adam Gomez would kill Michael and his family.

Id. at 99. When Fernando returned with Michael,

Adam Gomez pointed his gun at Fernando, Steve, and

5

Michael and told Fernando to take the keys to Valle’s

car and drive the car to the garage. Jd. at 99-100.

Danny Gonzales then told them to put the bodies into

the car and Michael, Fernando, and Steve loaded the

bodies. Jd. at 101-102. While Danny Gonzales and

Adam Gomez still had their guns, they told Fernando

to drive one car and Michael to drive the other car. Jd.

at 103-104. They disposed of the bodies while Steve

Salgado was told to remain at the garage and clean it.

Id. at 107. Danny Gonzales and Adam Gomez then

told Michael to drive them and Fernando to the home

of the girlfriend of Danny Gonzales. Jd. at 107-108. At

the home, Danny Gonzales told Fernando and Mi-

chael that if they ever told anyone what happened, he

would kill their families and them. /d. at 109. The

next day, Danny Gonzales ordered Fernando and

Michael to clean the garage. (R — v.12 — 112-113).

The trial defense counsel never requested a jury

instruction for the defense of duress. The instructions

read to the jury by the trial judge did not contain an

instruction for the defense of duress. (R — v.13 — 25-

35). During deliberations, the jury sent a note to the

trial judge inquiring if the jury could consider-a lesser

included offense. Jd. at 91. This was clearly not a

strong case against Michael.

In the affidavit of the state direct appeal appel-

late counsel (App., infra, 1f), counsel stated that he

read the reporter’s record and “was immediately

struck by the omission of an instruction in the court's

charge on the defense of duress.” Jd. It was clear

to appellate counsel, after reading the record, that

6

Michael became involved in this incident only be-

cause he was in imminent fear for his life or of immi-

nent serious bodily injury from Danny Gonzales. Id.

Appellate counsel confronted trial defense counsel

about the lack of a duress instruction, and trial

defense counsel seemed to be upset with himself for

not requesting the duress instruction. Jd. Appellate

counsel is of the opinion that Michael received inef-

fective assistance of counsel given this failure to

request a duress instruction. Jd. Appellate counsel is

of the opinion that this failure seriously prejudiced

the defense and resulted in a loss of confidence in the

outcome of the trial. Id. “The failure of {counsel] to

prosecute the duress defense was devastating error

and caused me to have serious doubts about the

validity of the verdict.” Jd.

4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The United States Court of Appeals has decided

an important question of federal law in a way that

conflicts with relevant decisions of this Court.

I. The standard for ineffective assistance of

counsel.

Effective assistance of counsel is a right guaran-

teed by the Sixth Amendment of the United States

Constitution, applied to the States through the Four-

teenth Amendment of the United States Constitution.

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 104 S.Ct.

7

2052, 80 L.Ed.2d 674 (1984). Under this test, one

must show that counsel’s performance was deficient

and that the deficient performance prejudiced the

defense. Id. Prejudice means there is a reasonable

probability that but for counsel’s acts or omissions,

the outcome of the proceeding would have been

different, and a reasonable probability is a probability

sufficient to undermine confidence in the outcome. Id.

An ineffective assistance of counsel claim is a mixed

question of law and fact subject to plenary review

under the Strickland test. Baxter v. Thomas, 45 F.3d

1501, 1512 (11th Cir. 1995). Suppressed impeachment

evidence may have consequences for the case far

beyond discrediting the witness’ testimony. Lindsey v.

King, 769 F.2d 1034, 1042 (5th Cir. 1985). Prejudice

analysis should not focus on determination of out-

come but on whether error ensures that the result of

the proceeding was fundamentally unfair or unreli-

able. Lockhart v. Fretwell, 506 U.S. 364, 371, 113

S.Ct. 838, 122 L.Ed.2d 180 (1993). This ineffective-

ness standard was met in the case at bar and the

decision of the Court of Appeals is contrary to estab-

lished law.

This Court has conducted a materiality standard

for a Brady claim which is the same showing required

to demonstrate the above prejudice from counsel’s

deficient performance. Kyles v. Whitley, 514 U.S. 419,

115 S.Ct. 1555, 131 L.Ed.2d 490 (1995). Materiality

does not require a defendant to demonstrate by a

preponderance of the evidence that the absence of the

error would have ultimately resulted in an acquittal

8

or a life sentence. Jd. at 1565-1566. The test is

whether the error undermines confidence in the jury’s

sentence of death or conviction for capital murder. Id.

at 1566. This is not a sufficiency of the evidence test —

that is, the defendant is not required to demonstrate

‘that after discounting the inculpatory evidence in

light of the undisclosed evidence, there would have

been insufficient evidence remaining to convict or

return a sentence of death. Id. The reviewing court

should view the favorable evidence and determine if

it reasonably puts the whole case in such a different

light so as to undermine confidence in the verdict. Id.;

see Lindsey v. King, 769 F.2d 1034, 1042 (Sth Cir.

1985) (suppressed impeachment evidence may have

consequences for the case far beyond discrediting the

witness’ testimony). Materiality must be assessed in

terms of the suppressed evidence considered as a

whole, not item by item. Kyles v. Whitley, supra, 115

S.Ct. at 1567. Prejudice under Strickland should be

considered in the same manner. See also Westley v.

Johnson, 83 F.3d 714, 719 (5th Cir. 1996) (prejudice

analysis should not focus on determination of out-

come but on whether error ensures that the result of

the proceeding was fundamentally unfair or unreli-

able); Lockhart v. Fretwell, 506 U.S. 364, 371, 113

S.Ct. 838, 122 L.Ed.2d 180 (1993).

II. The standard for granting a certificate of

appealability (COA).

“(W]hen a habeas applicant seeks permission to

initiate appellate review of the dismissal of his petition,

9

the court of appeals should limit its examination to a

threshold inquiry into the underlying merit of his

claims.” Miller-El v. Cockrell, 537 U.S. 322, 123 S.Ct.

1029, 1034, 154 L.Ed.2d 931 (2003), citing Slack v.

McDaniel, 529 U.S. 473, 481, 120 S.Ct. 1595, 146

L.Ed.2d 542 (2000). Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c)(2),

“a prisoner seeking a COA need only demonstrate ‘a

substantial showing of the denial of a constitutional

right.’” Miller-El v. Cockrell, supra, 123 8.Ct. at 1034.

(Emphasis added). “A petitioner satisfies this stan-

dard by demonstrating that jurists of reason could

disagree with the district court’s resolution of his

constitutional claims or that jurists could conclude

the issues presented are adequate to deserve encour-

agement to proceed further.” /d., citing Slack v.

McDaniel, supra, 529 U.S. at 484.

In determining whether to issue a COA, an

appellate court must conduct an overview of the

claims in the habeas petition and a general assess-

ment of the claims’ merits. Miller-Ei v. Cockreil,

supra, 123 S.Ct. at 1039. An appellate court will “look

to the District Court’s application of AEDPA to peti-

tioner’s constitutional claims and ask whether that

resolution was debatable amongst jurists of reason.”

Id. The Petitioner is not required to establish the

appeal will succeed. Id. (Emphasis added). “Accord-

ingly, a court of appeals should not decline the appli-

cation for a COA merely because it believes the

applicant will not demonstrate an entitlement to

relief.” Id. “It is consistent with § 2253 that a COA

10

will issue in some instances where there is no cer-

tainty of ultimate relief.” Jd.

“A prisoner seeking a COA must prove ‘some-

thing more than the absence of frivolity’ or the exis-

tence of mere ‘good faith’ on his or her part.” Miller-El

v. Cockrell, supra, 123 §.Ct. at 1040, citing Barefoot v.

Estelle, 463 U.S. 880, 893, 103 S.Ct. 3383, 77 L.Ed.2d

1090 (1983). For the issuance of a COA, it is not

required that the Petitioner prove that some jurists

would grant the habeas petition. Miller-El v. Cockrell,

supra, 123 S.Ct. at 1040. “Indeed, a claim can be

debatable even though every jurist of reason might

agree, after the COA has been granted and the case

has received full consideration, that petitioner will

not prevail.” Jd. The Petitioner in the case at bar has

made a claim that is debatable among jurists of

reason regarding trial defense counsel’s failure to

request a jury instruction on duress.

In applying the COA requirement, a reviewing

court resolves “any doubt about entitlement to a COA

in favor of granting it.” Sonnier v. Johnson, 161 F.3d

941, 944 (5th Cir. 1998). (Emphasis added). “Should

we have any doubt about issuing a COA... we shall

grant it.” Whitehead v. Johnson, 157 F.3d 384, 386

(5th Cir. 1998). For the reasons set forth below, this

case meets the Barefoot standard, and the Petitioner

was entitled to the issuance of a COA.

11

Ili. A COA should have been granted for the

failure to request a jury instruction on

duress.

Section 8.05 of the Texas Penal Code states that,

“It is an affirmative defense to prosecution that the

actor engaged in the proscribed conduct because he

was compelled to do so by threat of imminent death

or serious bodily injury to himself or another.” Com-

pulsion exists only if the force or threat of force would

render a person of reasonable firmness incapable of

resisting the pressure. Id. The claim of duress must

have an objective, reasonable basis. Bernal v. State,

647 S.W.2d 699, 706 (Tex. App. — San Antonio 1982,

no pet.) (defendant’s fear that co-defendant might get

violent if defendant did not “take his turn” in rape

held not sufficient to raise defense of duress). (Em-

phasis added). It is not enough to think violence

might occur where no actual threats have been made.

The threats must have been made to the extent that

an actor had a reasonable fear for his life or the life of

his family. Alford v. State, 806 S.W.2d 581, 584 (Tex.

App. — Dallas 1991). A defendant is entitled to an

affirmative defensive instruction on every issue raised

by the evidence, regardless of whether it is strong,

feeble, unimpeached, or contradicted, and even if the

trial court ‘s of the opinion the testimony is not

entitled to belief. Booth v. State, 679 S.W.2d 498 (Tex.

Crim. App. 1984). (Emphasis added).

A jury instruction regarding duress is required in

a case such as the case at bar where a defendant and

his family had been threatened by gang members, the

12

defendant owed a complainant money for drugs, the

complainant owed the gang money for selling the

drugs, the defendant invited the complainant and

gang members to his home, gang members shot and

killed the complainants at the home of the defendant,

the defendant did not seem surprised when the

complainants were shot by the gang members, and

the defendant was in fear for his life after the shoot-

ings and was forced by the gang members to help

dispose of the bodies of the complainants.

In th: case at bar, the position put forth by trial

defense counsel and the developed evidence made

clear that the Petitioner, Michael, was afraid of

Danny Gonzales and had good reason to be afraid. In

opening statement, trial defense counsel stated that

Danny Gonzales, a Mexican Mafia member, shot the

two complainants in the head with a 2Z5 caliber

handgun and that Adam Gomez, also a Mexican

Mafia member, then shot the two complainants with

a 9mm handgun. (R — v.12 — 10, 13). Counsel stated

that Michael Trujillo, Steve Salgado, and Fernando

Gonzales helped Danny Gonzales and Adam Gomez

dispose of the bodies. Jd. at 11. Counsel stated that

Michael, Steve, and Fernando were afraid of Danny

and Adam and that is why they helped dispose of the

bodies. Id. Counsel stated that Michael was afraid for

his life and that is why Michael helped dispose of the

bodies and cover up the incident. Jd. Counsel stated

that Michael did not report the incident to the police

because Michael was afraid that he would be shot and

killed if he reported the incident. Jd. Counsel stated

13

that the evidence established “a pattern of intimida-

tion and fear that was placed into Michael ... ” Id.

The groundwork for a duress instruction was prof-

fered by trial defense counsel at the beginning of

trial, and counsel admitted Michael’s involvement

while offering the jury an explanation for Michael’s

fear of Danny Gonzales and Adam Gomez.

Trial testimony indicated that Michael owed a

complainant money for drugs. (R — v.7 — 30-35).

Michael brought one of the shooters, Adam, to Mi-

chael’s house. (R — v.9 — 138-149). After Michael had

the complainants come to his house, they were shot to

death by Adam in the presence of Michael and Steve

Salgado and others. Jd. at 138-256. Testimony indt-

cated that Michael acted nervous and scared but

turned on the radio and shut off the lights. Jd. Steve

Salgado testified at trial that Michael told Salgado

that Michael was sorry that Salgado saw the murders,

that Salgado was in the wrong place during the

murders, and that Michael and his family had

been threatened. (R —- v.9 — 178). Salgado testified

that Michael did not seem surprised when Adam

produced a gun and shot the complainants. Id. at 235-

237. This fear and evidence of threats against Mi-

chael and his family indicate they were made prior

to any criminal activity on the date of offense. This

testimonial evidence alone is sufficient to place

duress in issue in this case deserving of a proper jury

instruction on the defense of duress.

Michael’s wife, Lori Trujillo, testified that after

the incident, Michael continued to be in fear for his

14

life. (R — v.12 — 52). Fernando Gonzales testified that

he met Danny Gonzales in November 2001 after

Danny Gonzales was released from prison. Jd. at 70.

Fernando testified that, after the shooting, Danny

Gonzales told Fernando to bring Michael back to the

garage where the shooting had occurred or else Danny

Gonzales and Adam Gomez would kill Michael and

his family. Id. at 99. When Fernando returned with

Michael, Adam Gomez pointed his gun at Fernando,

Steve, and Michael and told Fernando to take the

keys to Valle’s car and drive the car to the garage. Id.

at 99-100. This testimony is further evidence of

continuing actions on Michael’s part while under

duress. Danny Gonzales then told them to put the

bodies into the car and Michael, Fernando, and Steve

loaded the bodies. Jd. at 101-102.

While Danny Gonzales and Adam Gomez still

had their guns, they told Fernando to drive one car

and Michael to drive the other car. Jd. at 103-104.

They disposed of the bodies while Steve Salgado was

told to remain at the garage and clean it. Jd. at 107.

Danny Gonzales and Adam Gomez then told Michael

to drive them and Fernando to the home of the girl-

friend of Danny Gonzales. Id. at 107-108. At the

home, Danny Gonzales told Fernando and Michael

that if they ever told anyone what happened, he would

kill their families and them. Id. at 109. The next day,

Danny Gonzales ordered Fernando and Michael to

clean the garage. (R — v.12 — 112-113). The testimony

provides clear evidence that Michael was acting

15

under duress throughout any participation in crimi-

nal activity.

Under these facts, trial defense counsel should

have requested a jury instruction on duress. There

was no strategic reason not to request a duress in-

struction. The complete failure to do so is deficient

performance, since sufficient evidence of duress was

before the court and the jury. The instructions read to

the jury by the trial judge did not contain an instruc-

tion for the defense of duress. (R — v.13 — 25-35).

During deliberations, the jury sent a note to the trial

judge inquiring if the jury could consider a lesser

included offense. Jd. at 91. This note is indicative of

how weak the case was against Michael.

In his affidavit (App., infra, 1f), appellate counsel

noted the absence of the duress instruction given the

evidence at trial. Appellate counsel read the re-

porter’s record and “was immediately struck by the

omission of an instruction in the court’s charge on the

defense of duress.” Jd. It was clear to appellate coun-

sel, after reading the record, that Michael became

involved in this incident only because he was in

imminent fear for his life or of imminent serious

bodily injury from Danny Gonzales. Id. Appellate

counsel confronted trial defense counsel about the

lack of a duress instruction, and trial defense counsel

seemed to be upset with himself for not requesting the

duress instruction. Id. Appellate counsel is of the

opinion that Michael received ineffective assistance of

counsel given this failure to request a duress instruc-

tion. Id. Appellate counsel is of the opinion that this

16

failure seriously prejudiced the defense and results in

a loss of confidence in the outcome of the trial. Zd.

“The failure of [counsel] to prosecute the duress

defense was devastating error and caused me to have

serious doubts about the validity of the verdict.” Id.

A jury instruction regarding duress was required

in this case where Michael and his family had been

threatened by gang members, Michael owed a com-

plainant money for drugs, the complainant owed the

gang money for selling the drugs, Michael invited the

complainant and gang members to his home, gang

members shot and killed the complainants at Mi-

chael’s home, Michael did not seem surprised when

the complainants were shot by the gang members,

and Michael was in fear for his life after the shoot-

ings and was forced by the gang members to help

dispose of the bodies of the complainants.

Trial defense counsel failed to consider or request

a jury instruction regarding duress and this failure

was deficient performance. The failure to request a

duress instruction in this case seriously prejudiced

the defense and resulted in a loss of confidence in the

outcome of the trial especially since the jury sent out

a note inquiring if it could consider a lesser included

offense rather than capital murder. The jury was

looking for some way out of convicting Michael for

capital murder. But for this deficient performance,

the result of the proceeding would have been differ-

ent, because the jurors would have received a legal

instruction that placed Michael’s action in context

and the jurors were seeking to find him guilty of a

17

lesser included offense as indicated by the note sent

by them. The Petitioner has demonstrated ineffective

assistance of counsel.

IV. The Fifth Circuit decided this case contrary

to Miller-El and the Sixth, Seventh, Tenth,

and Eleventh Circuit Courts of Appeals.

The threshold question here is the debatability of

this underlying constitutional claim, not the resolu-

tion of that debate. See Miller-El v. Cockrell, supra,

123 S.Ct. at 1042. The district court’s denial of this

ineffective assistance of counsel claim is “debatable

amongst jurists of reason.” A certificate of appealabil-

ity regarding this claim should have issued. The Fifth

Circuit Court of Appeals failed to follow Miller-Ei in

its failure to give adequate consideration to the

ineffective assistance of counsel issue.

The January 16, 2008 order of the Court of Ap-

peals denying Michael’s appeal (App., infra, 1a), was

eleven lines long. Only five lines dealt with the inef-

fective assistance of counsel issue. Jd. at 1-2. There is

a complete omission of any reference to Strickland or

the standard for ineffective assistance of counsel. Id.

The Fifth Circuit acknowledged that Michael argued

that trial defense counsel was ineffective for failing to

request a duress jury instruction. Jd. at 1. The order

then makes the declaration that there has been no

showing that jurists of reason would find it debatable

whether the lower district court was correct in its

ruling and then summarily denies a certificate of

18

appealability. Jd. at 2. No analysis is presented in the

order. Other circuits have granted certificates of

appealability in cases where ineffective assistance of

counsel was raised in regards to jury instruction

issues.

In Jones v. McDonough, it was argued that

counsel’s failure to rely on a Florida case (which held

that a jury instruction on consciousness of guilt based

on evidence of flight was an impermissible judicial

comment on the weight of the evidence) while object-

ing to a jury instruction was ineffective assistance of

counsel under Strickland. Jones v. McDonough, 2007

U.S. App. LEXIS 1488 (11th Cir., January 24, 2007)

(unpublished). The district court granted a certificate

of appealability as to whether trial counsel’s perform-

ance was deficient for failing to make this objection to

the jury instruction. In the case at bar, the Petitioner,

Michael, requested that the Court of Appeals grant

him a certificate of appealability regarding whether

counsel was ineffective in failing to request a duress

instruction when that was the defense at trial. Abso-

lutely no reason was given by the Court of Appeals

regarding why a COA should not be granted or

why Michael’s case was different from Jones uv.

McDonough.

In Thompson v. Konteh, the federal district court

denied the Petitioner’s writ of habeas corpus for his

conviction in an aggravated murder case and denied

a certificate of appealability. Thompson v. Konteh,

2006 U.S. App. LEXIS 6252 (6th Cir., March 14,

2006) (partial publication). Thompson then sought a

19

certificate of appealability from the Sixth Circuit

Court of Appeals, which was granted on the issue of

whether Thompson was denied effective assistance of

counsel for failing to object to an erroneous jury

instruction. Jd. At trial, no objections were made by

defense counsel to the submitted instructions. Jd. The

court examined the instructions for proper applica-

tion of the law regarding Thompson’s arguments that

he was convicted without proof of the requisite culpa-

ble mental state and that the instructions did not

require a unanimous decision on behalf of the jury. Jd.

In the case at bar, the Petitioner, Michael, requested

that the Court of Appeals grant him a certificate of

appealability regarding whether counsel was ineffec-

tive in failing to request a duress instruction when

that was the defense at trial. Absolutely no reason

was given by the Court of Appeals regarding why a

COA should not be granted or why Michael’s case was

different from Thompson v. Konteh.

In United States v. Demeree, the Petitioner’s appli-

cation for a certificate of appealability was denied by

the district court. The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals,

however, granted her a certificate of appealability on

the sole issue of whether the lack of a jury instruction

requiring unanimous jury consent violated Richard-

son v.-United States, 526 U.S. 813, 119 S.Ct. 1707,

143 L.Ed.2d 985 (1999), and whether counsel’s failure

to request such an instruction constituted ineffective

assistance of counsel. United States v. Demeree, 2004

U.S. App. LEXIS 18508 (10th Cir., September 1,

2004) (unpublished). The court found that Demeree’s

20

evened wee im frat ineffantine far: failing,ta ranjiestan

instruction requiring jury unanimity as to the predi-

cate violations undergirding her conviction, since the

instructions given at trial did meet the requirements

of Richardson. Id. Richardson had not yet been

decided at the time of the Petitioner’s trial, but a

claim of ineffective assistance of counsel was made by

her because another circuit had recognized the impor-

tance of such an instruction to correctly establish a

continuing criminal enterprise conviction. Jd. In the

case at bar, the Petitioner, Michael, requested that

the Court of Appeals grant him a certificate of ap-

pealability regarding whether counsel was ineffective

in failing to request a duress instruction when that

was the defense at trial. Absclutely no reason was

given by the Court of Appeals regarding why a COA

should not be granted or why Michael’s case was

different from United States v. Demeree.

In Perry v. McCaughtry, the Petitioner was

sentenced to life in prison for his role as a party to a

murder. Perry v. McCaughitry, 308 F.3d 682 (7th Cir.

2002). Perry exhausted his appeals in the state

system and filed a writ of habeas corpus alleging

ineffective assistance of counsel. Jd. His petition was

denied and he appealed after the district court

granted him a certificate of appealability on the issue

that his counsel was ineffective for failing to ensure

that the jury instruction on “party to a crime” liability

included a reference to the lesser included offense of

felony murder. Jd. Perry’s claim was that the jury had

no basis to find him a party to any other offense and

were limited by the submitted instructions to first

21

_ degree murder, which acted to his detriment. In the

case at bar, the Petitioner, Michael, requested that

the Court of Appeals grant him a certificate of ap-

pealability regarding whether counsel was ineffective

in failing to request a duress instruction when that

was the defense at trial. Absolutely no reason was

given by the Court of Appeals regarding why a COA

should not be granted or why Michael’s case was

different from Perry v. McCaughtry.

The Petitioner’s ineffective assistance of counsel

claim for a failure of trial defense counsel to request a

duress instruction satisfies the Miller-El standard.

See Miller-El, supra, 537 U.S. 322. “Indeed, a claim

can be debatable even though every jurist of reason

might agree, after the COA has been granted and the

case has received full consideration, that petitioner

will not prevail.” Jd.

In the above-cited cases, certificates were

granted, and all the Petitioners were permitted to

appeal their jury instruction issue in the ineffective

assistance of counsel context. Michael Trujillo should

have received the same opportunity, particularly in a

case where the evidence for duress was evident from

the record. The Petitioner in the case at bar has made

a claim that is debatable among jurists of reason

regarding trial defense counsel’s failure to request a

jury instruction on duress and the Court of Appeals

was incorrect to label the claim not subject to debate.

It is worth noting that a certificate of appealabil-

ity involving the investigation into a possible duress

22

issue in an ineffective assistance of counsel context

was granted in another circuit and was later deter-

mined to have merit. Dando v. Yukins, 461 F.3d 791

(6th Cir. 2006). In Dando, the Petitioner was involved

in a crime spree with her boyfriend and pled no

contest to several robbery counts on advice of ap-

pointed trial counsel and later sought to vacate her

pleas. Id. She filed a habeas petition challenging the

state court’s denial of her request for a mental health

expert and an ineffective assistance of counsel claim

for counsel’s failure to pursue a duress defense. Id.

Dando submitted evidence through appointed appel-

late counsel of a history of sexual and physical abuse

and claimed abuse from the male co-defendant Id.

The ineffective assistance of counsel claim was that

no investigation was done regarding duress as a

potential defense to her criminal liability given her

history as a “battered woman.” Jd. The court ulti-

mately found trial counsel’s failure to investigate and

pursue duress as a defense to be ineffective assis-

tance of counsel. The court noted:

The fact that Dando received a relatively le-

nient sentence in exchange for her no contest

plea does not render the failure to investi-

gate Battered Women’s Syndrome and duress

a sound professional judgment. The state

court praised the decision by trial counsel to

raise Dando’s abuse in obtaining a shorter

sentence. However, had counsel investigated

the potential defenses and pursued them at

trial, Dando would have had a chance to be

acquitted altogether, or convicted of only

23

some of the counts charged and acquitted of

others (perhaps if the jury found the duress

to be more immediate during particular por-

tions of the crime spree).

Id. at 800 (Emphasis added).

This same rationale and conclusion apply to the

case at bar. The failure to pursue duress in a special

requested jury instruction when there was evidence

of duress to support such an instruction greatly

prejudiced Michael. Appellate counsel in his affidavit

(App., infra, 1f) deemed this error “devastating” to

Michael’s defense at trial. The jury had no instruction

on which to rely so as to support their inclination to

hold Michael to a much lesser degree of culpability

given the evidence they received. They certainly had

no instructions to guide them as to duress.

Had trial defense counsel requested a duress jury

instruction given the evidence before the jury, there

stood a chance that Michael would have been acquit-

ted for his role in the charged offense. During delib-

erations, the jury sent a note to the trial judge

inquiring if the jury could consider a lesser included

offense (R — v.13 — 91). This note is indicative of both

their inclination to seek out on their own some means

to shield Michael from conviction of the charged

offense and of how weak the case was against Mi-

chael. The purpose behind the defense of duress is to

demonstrate that one’s actions are the result of

coercion and not voluntary conduct with criminal

mens rea. In the instant case, testimony was heard

24

that Michael acted nervous and scared and that

Michael and his family had been threatened. (R — v.9

— 138-256). Fernando testified that, after the shoot-

ing, Danny Gonzales told Fernando to bring Michael

back to the garage where the shooting had occurred or

else Danny Gonzales and Adam Gomez would kill

Michael and his family. Id. at 99. When Fernando

returned with Michael, Adam Gomez pointed his gun

at Fernando, Steve, and Michael and told Fernando

to take the keys to Valle’s car and drive the car to the

garage. Id. at 99-100. Prior to and after the crime,

Michael and his family were being threatened, and

this fact was not lost on the jurors given the note they

sent to the judge during their deliberations. There is

room for jurists of reason to debate this duress jury

instruction issue.

The Court of Appeals, unlike the Sixth, Seventh,

Tenth, and Eleventh Circuit Courts’of Appeals, failed

to give adequate consideration to the ineffective

assistance of counsel issue. The court appeared to

rely on the order from the district court (App., infra,

lc), that in turn, relied on the magistrate judge’s

memorandum and recommendation (App., infra, 1b),

which was adopted by the district court. This memo-

randum, however, focuses only on evidence of duress

after the murders and fails to address any evidence of

duress that was shown to have occurred prior to the

murders. This limited view of the trial evidence is

incomplete and cannot be used to support a rationale

of effective performance, let alone a decision not to

25

grant a COA, given the complete record and the

evidence presented.

The court noted in its order (App., infra, 1b) that

“the.chosen strategy was in direct contradiction to the

defense of duress, which required Trujillo to admit

that he commutted the offense but did so involuntar-

ily.” Id. at 7. The interpretation of the record was that |

since a party instruction was included in the charge,

the strategy must have been to show that the Peti-

tioner was not involved in the crime at all. Jd. This

strategy, however, was never discussed. Appellate

counsel’s affidavit (App., infra, 1f) shows that trial

defense counsel never once considered duress given

his reaction after the omission was brought to his

attention. No discussion on duress was possible

because trial defense counsel never thought of a

duress instruction in the first place.

The magistrate’s memorandum (App., infra, 1b)

goes on to interpret the Petitioner’s claim of failure to

request a duress instruction as now offering an

alternate defense. This too is incorrect since the

Petitioner’s position is that a jury instruction on

duress should have been requested under the evidence

presented, because the jury was not firmly convinced

of the Petitioner’s guilt. (R — v.13 — 91). The jury could

have considered a duress instruction without argu-

ment from either side on the matter, since the jury

had begun considering lesser included instructions on

their own. It is not an alternate defense, but rather

was a defense that was offered to the jury throughout

26

trial, but was never instructed on, to the detriment of

the Petitioner.

Sufficient evidence of duress was presented at

trial. Trial defense counsel was deficient in his per-

formance for failing to request a duress instruction.

But for this deficient performance, the outcome of this

case as to the Petitioner may have been different. The

Petitioner’s constitutional right to effective assistance

of trial counsel was violated. A prisoner seeking a

certificate of appealability need only demonstrate “a

substantial showing of the denial of a constitutional

right.” Miller-El v. Cockrell, supra, 123 §.Ct. at 1034.

“A petitioner satisfies this standard by demonstrating

that jurists of reason could disagree with the district

court’s resolution of his constitutional claims or that

jurists could conclude the issues presented are ade-

quate to deserve encouragement to proceed further.”

Id., citing Slack v. McDaniel, supra, 529 U.S. at 484.

The Petitioner has satisfied this standard. A certifi-

cate of appealability regarding this claim should have

issued.

27

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL C. GROSS

Counsel of Record

106 South St. Mary’s Street,

Suite 260

San Antonio, Texas 78205

(210) 354-1919

(210) 354-1920 Fax

la

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT |

No. 07-50172

USDC No. 5:06-CV-577

MICHAEL MARTINEZ TRUJILLO

Petitioner-Appellant

Vv.

NATHANIEL QUARTERMAN, DIRECTOR,

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE,

CORRECTIONAL INSTITUTIONS DIVISION

Respondent-Appellee

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Texas

(Filed Jan. 16, 2008)

ORDER:

Michael Martinez Trujillo, Texas prisoner

# XXXXXXX, moves this court for a certificate of

appealability (COA) from the denial of his 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254 petition in which he challenged his capital

murder conviction. Trujillo does not address the

district court’s determination that his claim of grand

2a

jury discrimination was procedurally barred and that

his jury misconduct claim was without merit. There- -

fore, Trujillo has abandoned these claims. See Hughes

v. Johnson, 191 F.3d 607, 613 (5th Cir. 1999).

Trujillo argues that counsel was ineffective for .

failing to request a duress jury instruction. Trujillo

has not shown that jurists of reason would find it

debatable whether the district court was correct in its .

ruling. See Slack v. McDaniel, 529 U.S. 473, 484

(2000). Accordingly, Trujillo’s motion for a COA is

DENIED. :

Priscilla R. Owen

PRISCILLA R. OWEN

UNITED STATES

CIRCUIT JUDGE

1b

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

SAN ANTONIO DIVISION

MICHAEL MARTINEZ

TRUJILLO,

Petitioner, |

Vv.

NATHANIEL QUARTERMAN,

Director, Texas Department

of Criminal Justice,

Correctional Inst. Division,

Respondent.

CIVIL NO.

SA-06-CA-0577-OG

%* &¢ & & He eRe He SF HE HE SE

MEMORANDUM AND RECOMMENDATION

(Filed Nov. 7, 2006)

Michael Martinez Trujillo, an inmate in the

custody of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice-

Correctional Institutions Division (“TDCJ-CID”), has

filed an application for a writ of habeas corpus,

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section 2254, challenging his

state court conviction for capital murder. Petitioner

alleges that (1) he received ineffective assistance of

counsel at trial, (2) the grand jury was not composed

of a fair cross section of the community, and (3) the |

jury engaged in misconduct. Respondent has filed an

answer (docket no. 10), to which answer petitioner

has not responded. Having considered the pleadings,

the state court records, and the applicable law, the

2b

Court is of the opinion this habeas petition should be

denied.

Background

Trujillo was found guilty of capital murder by a

jury in the 187th Judicial District Court of Bexar

County, Texas, cause no, 2002-CR-3469B. On May 21,

2003, he was sentenced to a term of life imprisonment

in the TDCJ-CID. His conviction was affirmed by the

Texas Fourth Court of Appeals on July 14, 2004.

Trujillo did not file a petition for discretionary review

with the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals. On August

5, 2005, petitioner filed a state habeas application

under Article 11.07 of the Teas Code of Criminal

Procedure. The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals

denied the application on June 28, 2006. This federal

habeas application was filed July 3, 2006.

Standard of Review

Under the Anti-Terrorism and Effective Death

Penalty Act of 1996 (““AEDPA”), a state prisoner may

not obtain relief with respect to a claim adjudicated

on the merits in state court unless the adjudication

(1) resulted in a decision that was contrary to or

involved an unreasonable application of clearly-

establisned federal law, as announced by the Su-

preme Court, or (2) resulted in a decision that was

based on an unreasonable determination of the facts

in light of the evidence presented in the state court

proceedings. Title 28 U.S.C. Section 2254(d). A

3b

decision is contrary to clearly-established federal law

if the state court arrives at a conclusion opposite to

that reached by the Supreme Court on a question of

law or if the state court decides a case differently

than the Supreme Court on a set of materially indis-

tinguishable facts. Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362,

405-06 (2000). It is not enough that the state court

applied clearly-established federal law incorrectly. Id.

at 411. A state-court decision involves an unreason-

able application of clearly established precedent if the

state court applies Supreme Court precedents to the

facts in an objectively unreasonable manner. Brown

v. Payton, 544 U.S. 133, 141 (2005).

Analysis

, 1. Ineffective Assistance of Counsel

To obtain habeas relief on a claim of ineffective

assistance of counsel, the petitioner must demon-

strate that his counsel was deficient and that the

deficiency prejudiced his defense. Strickland v.

Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 687 (1984). In order to

establish that his counsel’s performance was constitu-

tionally deficient, a convicted defendant carries the

burden of proof and must overcome a strong pre-

sumption that the conduct of his trial counsel falls

within a wide range of reasonable professional assis-

tance. Id. at 689-91. An error by counsel, even if

professionally unreasonable, must be prejudicial to

the defense in order to constitute ineffective assis-

tance under the Constitution. Jd. at 692. The mere

4b

possibility of a different outcome is not sufficient to

prove prejudice. Johnson v. Cockrell, 301 F.3d 234,

239 (5th Cir. 2002). The petitioner must prove that

counsel’s deficient performance rendered the result of

the trial unreliable or the proceeding fundamentally

unfair. Lockhart v. Fretwell, 506 U.S. 364, 372

(1993).

Trujillo asserts that the evidence establishes that

Danny Gonzales and Adam Gomez shot and killed

Jose Manjarrez and Steve Valle on December 27,

2001, and that he, Steve Salgado and Fernando

Gonzales were forced by Danny and Adam to help

dispose of the bodies under fear of death to them-

selves and their families. Reporter’s Record, Vol.

XII, p. 11. Trujillo’s wife testified at trial that Trujillo

was in fear for the lives of his family. Id., 52. Fer-

nando testified that Danny and Adam killed Manjar-

rez and Valle in Trujillo’s garage. Id., pp. 94-98.

While pointing a gun at Steve and Fernando, Danny

ordered Fernando to find Trujillo, who had gone into

his house, or else they would kill Trujillo’s family. Id..,

p. 99.

Fernando and Steve were directed to load the

bodies in Manjarrez’s Lexus. Reporter’s Record,

Vol. XII, pp. 100-03. Trujillo assisted. Id., p. 102.

Three vehicles departed the scene of the murder —

Danny and Adam in the front vehicle, with Fernando

behind them in the Lexus with the bodies, followed by

Trujillo in his own vehicle. Id., pp. 104-05. They drove

to the General Hudnell area where Danny directed

Fernando to park the car. Id., pp. 105-06. Fernando

5b

got into Trujillo’s vehicle, and all of the men went

back to Trujillo’s house. Id., pp. 106-07. They picked

up Steve, who stayed behind to clean the garage, and

then drove to the house of Danny’s girlfriend. Id., p.

107. Danny told Fernando and Trujillo that if they

ever told anyone, they would kill them and their

families. Id., p. 109. The next day, Fernando and

Trujillo were told to clean the blood from the garage.

Id., p. 13.

In this Section 2254 habeas application, Trujillo

asserts that, in opening arguments, his trial attorney

advised the jury that Trujillo was forced to dispose of

the bodies. Trujillo complains that, despite the evi-

dence of coercion, his trial attorney did not request a

jury instruction on the defense of duress. This issue

was raised and addressed in Trujillo’s state habeas

application. The state habeas court entered an Order

noting that Trujillo’s trial attorney, H. Todd McCray,

testified by affidavit that he discussed trial strategy

with Trujillo on numerous occasions, and that they

determined that the best strategy was to convince the

jury that Trujillo did not participate in the events

leading up to the shooting or the acts constituting

essential elements of the offense. State Habeas

Record, pp. 173-77. They also intended to show that

Trujillo’s acts after the murders were involuntary. The

state habeas court found that the chosen strategy was

in direct contradiction to the defense of duress, which

required Trujillo to admit that he committed the

offense but did so involuntarily. The Court referred

to the affidavit of Alex Scharff, Trujilio’s appellate

6b

attorney, who believed that the duress defense in-

struction should have been requested. The - staie

habeas court concluded that defense counsel’s deci-

sion was a matter of trial strategy and did not consti-

tute ineffective assistance. The Texas Court of

Criminal Appeals denied Trujillo’s habeas petition

without a written order based upon the findings of

the trial court.

In evaluating a claim of ineffective assistance,

judicial scrutiny of counsel’s performance must be

highly deferential Strickland v. Washington, 466

U.S. at 689. Courts must indulge a strong presump-

tion that counsel’s conduct falls within the wide range

of reasonable professional assistance. Id. Especially

relevant here is the mandate that strategic choices

made after thorough investigation of law and facts

relevant to plausible options are virtually unchal-

lengeable. Id. at 690; Ransom v. Johnson, 126 F.3d

716, 721 (5th Cir. 1997) (tactical and strategic deci-

sions of counsel, based on informed and reasoned

practical judgment, will not be second-guessed).

Clearly, the decision of McCray to pursue the defense

that Trujillo did not participate in the events leading

up to the shooting or the acts constituting essential

elements of the offense, is a matter of trial strategy.

Also, it is undisputed that this decision was made

with Trujillo’s assent. The reasonableness of counsel’s

actions may be determined or substantially influ-

enced by the defendant’s own statements or actions.

Id., at 691. Trujillo has not satisfied his heavy burden

7b

of overcoming the presumption that McCray’s actions

were reasonable.

The state habeas court correctly found that the

chosen strategy was in direct contradiction to the

defense of duress, which required Trujillo to admit

that he committed the offense but did so involuntar-

ily. As respondent notes, the State sought to prove

that Trujillo was involved in # scheme or plan to

murder Manjarrez and Valle even though he did not

shoot the victims himself. Evidence of his actions.

after the murder in disposing of the bodies was

offered to permit the jury to infer Trujillo’s prior

involvement. The jury in this case was instructed

concerning the elements of murder under Texas law.

Clerk’s Record, Vol. 2, pp. 288-99. Based upon the

facts presented at trial, the jury was also charged on

the law of parties. Id. Under Section 7.02(a)(2) of the

Texas Penal Code, Trujitlo could be found guilty as a

party to the murders only if he acted with the intent

to promote or assist in the commission of the offenses.

The jury was asked to determine whether Adam

Gomez and others murdered Steven Valle and

whether Trujillo, acting with the intent to promote or

assist in the commission of the murder, did solicit,

encourage, direct, aid, or attempt to aid Gomez.

McCray and Trujillo chose to require the State to

prov: this allegation beyond a reasonable doubt. In

support of that defense, McCray obtained an instruc-

tion to the jury that mere presence at the scene of a

crime is insufficient to make a person a party to the

offense.

8b

The alternative defense, now suggested by

Trujillo, was that he did act with the intent to pro-

mote or assist in the commission of the murder of

Valie by soliciting, encouraging, directing, aiding, or

attempting to aid Gomez but that he did so under

duress. To be entitled to the defense of duress, under

Section 8.05(a) of the Texas Penal Code, Trujillo must

admit he engaged in the proscribed conduct, but did

so under threat of death or serious injury to himself

or another. Not only is that position contrary to the

defense presented at trial, Trujillo cites no evidence

establishing that he was coerced into aiding in Valle’s

murder. The evidence cited above indicates that

threats by Danny and Adam against Trujillo and his

family were made efter the commission of the mur-

ders. These facts are consistent with the chosen

defense stritegy.

In making its decision, the state habeas court

chose to credit the testimony of McCray concerning

his strategic choice over the affidavit of Scharff that

the duress instruction should have been requested.

Such credibility determinations by the state habeas

court must be afforded deference. Coleman v. Quar-

terman, 456 F.3d 537, 541 (5th Cir. 2006). Also, as

noted above, the state habeas court concluded that

McCray’s decision was a matter of trial strategy. A

determination of a factual issue by a State court shall

be presumed to be correct and can only be rebutted by

clear and convincing evidence. Title 28 U.S.C. Sec-

tion 2254(e)(1). Trujillo has not satisfied that stan-

dard. The determination by the state habeas courts

9b

that Trujillo was not denied the effective assistance

of counsel, is not contrary to and did not involve

an unreasonable application of clearly-established

federal law.

2. Fair Cross Section

Next, Trujillo alleges that the grand jury that

returned the indictment against him was not com-

posed of a fair cross section of the community. He

states that of the 14 persons on the grand jury that

indicted him in May 2002, only 5 had Hispanic sur-

names. The list of prospective jurors from which these

14 were chosen is unavailable. Trujillo states that, as

of 2003, Hispanics comprised 54.3% of the population

of Bexar County, Texas. On average, 34% of the grand

jurors chosen from 1990 to 2002 had Hispanic sur-

names. Trujillo claims that this disparity demon-

strates that his grand jury was not chosen from a fair

cross section of the community.

As respondent points out, this claim has been

procedurally defaulted. The state habeas courts found

that Trujillo had the opportunity but failed to chal-

lenge the grand jury array in a motion to quash the

indictment prior to trial, as required by Texas law. If

a state judgment rests on a state law ground that is

both independent of the merits of the federal claim

and an adequate basis for the court’s decision, federal

review of an issue of federal law is foreclosed. Harris

v. Reed, 489 U.S. 255, 260 (1989). Procedural! default

bars consideration of a federal claim on either direct

10b

or habeas review if the last state court rendering a

judgment in tae case clearly and expressly states that

its judgment rests on a state procedural bar. Id. at —

263; Cvieman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722, 729-30

(1991). A federal court reviewing a state prisoner’s

habeas claim must respect a state court’s determina-

tion that the claim is procedurally barred under state

law. Williams v. Cain, 125 F.3d 269, 275 (5th Cir.

1997). :

The fact that the Texas Court of Criminal Ap-

peals did not explain the reasons for its decision does

not preclude application of the procedural bar. If the

last reasoned opinion invokes a procedurai bar, then

it is presumed that subsequent, unexplained deci-

sions rested upon the same basis. Yist v. Nuwane-

maker, 501 U.S. 797, 803 (1991). Thus, in Texas,

when the trial court renders a finding of procedural

default on an issue raised in a state habeas petivion

and the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals denies the

petition based upon the findings of the trial court, the

procedural bar applies. Corwin v. Johnson, 150 F.3d

467, 473 (5th Cir. 1998).

A claim that the method of selecting jurors sys-

tematically underrepresented Hispanics can be

procedurally defaulted. Soria v. Johnson, 207 F.3d

232, 249 (5th Cir. 2000); Cervantes Salazar v.

Dretke, 393 F.Supp.2d 451, 472-73 (W.D.Tex. 2005).

Article 19.27 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure

provides that, generally, the exclusive means for

challenging the array of jurors in a grand jury is to

present the challenge before the grand jury has been

11b

impaneled. However, if challenge at this early date is

impossible, as when the offense occurs after the

grand jury is impaneled, the array can be attacked in

a motion to quash the indictment before trial com-

mences. Muniz v. State, 672 S.W.2d 804, 807

(Tex.Crim.App. 1984). In Salazar, as here, the state

trial. court concluded petitioner had procedurally

defaulted his complaint regarding the composition of

his grand jury by failing to present that claim in a

pretrial motion to quash the indictment. 393

F.Supp.2d at 471-72. The Salazar Court also found

that this rule has been a firmly-established principle

of Texas law since 1979. Id. Thus, Salazar was proce-

durally barred from challenging the composition of

the grand jury in a federal habeas proceeding. Id.

Trujillo’s failure to challenge the composition of the

grand jury in accordance with Texas law, and the

state habeas courts’ determination that such failure

caused the grand jury composition claim to be de-

faulted, preclude review of that claim in this Section

2254 proceeding. Trujillo can overcome this proce-

dural bar if he can demonstrate cause for his default

and actual prejudice as a result of the alleged viola-

tion of federal law, or show that failt:re to consider his

claims would result in a fundamental miscarriage of

justice. Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722, 750

(1991). However, he has made no attempt to do so.

3. Jury Misconduct

In his final claim, Trujillo asserts that venireman

George Edward Carter, Jr. misrepresented on his

12b

juror information card that he had never been ac-

cused in a criminal case. In fact, Carter was convicted

in 1986 in Bexar County Court-At-Law of driving

while intoxicated. During voir dire, Carter expressed

an inclination not to grant probation in a murder

case. Defense counsel’s challenge for cause on that

basis was denied by the trial court. Carter was a

member of the jury that convicted Trujillo of capital

murder.

To obtain a new trial on the basis of misinforma-

tion provided by a prospective juror, a party must

first demonstrate that a juror failed to answer hon-

estly a material question on voir dire, and then

further show that a correct response would have

provided a valid basis for a challenge for cause,

McDonough Power Equipment, Inc. v. Green-

wood, 464 U.S. 548, 556 (1984). The defendant must

demonstrate that the juror was actually biased or

fundamentally incompetent. United States uv.

Bishop, 264 F.3d 535, 554 (5th Cir. 2001). This

standard is also applied in federal habeas cases.

Montoya v. Scott, 55 F.3d 405, 418-19 (5th Cir.

1995). The state habeas court denied this claim,

finding that Carter’s false response did not hide

prejudice or bias against Trujillo.

Trujilio has not satisfied either McDonough

factor. Whether Carter had a prior conviction for

misdemeanor driving while intoxicated was not a

material fact in this case. Also, Trujillo has not dem-

onstrated that, had this information been known,

Carter would have been subject to a challenge for

13b

cause. Under Section 62.102 of the Texas Government

Code, as it existed at the time of Trujillo’s trial, only

conviction for a felony disqualified an individual from

serving as a juror. Cf. Jackson v. State of Alabama

State Tenure Com’n, 405 F.3d 1276, 1288 (11th Cir.

2005) (a question about prior felony convictions is

material to jury service and an honest answer would

provide a basis to challenge the juror for cause). See

United States v. Ross, 263 F.3d 844, 847 (8th Cir.

2001) (a juror’s previous brushes with the law is more

likely to create a bias in favor of defendants in gen-

eral). Most importantly, his prior conviction revealed

no bias or prejudice against Trujillo. The determina-

tion by the state habeas courts that Trujillo was not

entitled to reversal and a new trial based upon

Carter’s failure to disclose his prior conviction for

driving while intoxicated, is not contrary to and did

not involve an unreasonable application of clearly-

established federal law.

Recommendation

It is, therefore, the recommendation of the Mag-

istrate Judge that Trujillo's Section 2254 habeas

application be DENIED.

Instructions for Service and Notice

of Right to Appeal/Object

The United States District Clerk shall serve a

copy of this United States Magistrate Judge’s Memo-

randum and Recommendation on all parties by either

14b

(1) electronic transmittal to all parties represented by

attorneys registered as a “Filing User” with the Clerk

of Court, or (2) by mailing a copy to those not regis-

tered by certified mail, return receipt requested.

Pursuant to Title 28 U.S.C. Section 636(b)\(1) and

Rule 72(b), Fed.R.Civ.P., any party who desires to

object to this report must serve and file written

objections to the Memorandum and Recommendation

within 10 days after being served with a copy unless

this time period is modified by the district court. A

party filing objections must specifically identify those

findings, conclusions, or recommendations to which

objections are being made and the basis for such

objections; the district court need not consider frivo-

lous, conclusive or general objections. Such party

shall File the objections with the Clerk of Court

and serve the objections on all other parties and

the Magistrate Judge. A party’s failure to file

written objections to the proposed findings, conclu-

sions, and recommendations contained in this report

shall bar the party from a de novo determination by

the district court. See Thomas v. Arn, 474 U.S. 140,

150 (1985). Additionally, any failure to file written

objections to the proposed findings, conclusions, and

recommendation contained in this Memorandum and

Recommendation within 10 days after being served

with a copy shall bar the aggrieved party, except upon

grounds of plain error, from attacking on appeal the

unobjected — to proposed factual findings and legal

conclusions accepted by the district court. Douglass

v. United Services Automobile Association, 79

F.3d 1415, 1428-29 (5th Cir. 1996).

15b

It is so ORDERED.

SIGNED November 7, 2006.

/s/ John W. Primomo

JOHN W. PRIMOMO

UNITED STATES

MAGISTRATE JUDGE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

SAN ANTONIO DIVISION

MICHAEL MARTINEZ

TRUJILLO,

Petitioner,

Vv

NATHANIEL QUARTERMAN,

Director, Texas Department

of Criminal Justice,

Correctional Inst. Division,

Respondent.

CIVIL NO.

SA-06-CA-0577-OG

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

#

*

*

ok

ORDER

(Filed Nov. 7, 2006)

All matters for which this cause was referred to

the Magistrate Judge having been considered and

acted upon;

16b

It is ORDERED that the above-entitled and

numbered cause be, and it hereby is, RETURNED to

the District Court for all purposes.

It is so ORDERED.

SIGNED November 7, 2006.

/s/ John W. Primomo

JOHN W. PRIMOMO

UNITED STATES

MAGISTRATE JUDGE

lc

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

SAN ANTONIO DIVISION

MICHAEL MARTINEZ

TRUJILLO,

Petitioner,

Vv.

)

)

)

)

) Civil Action No.

NATHANIEL QUARTERMAN, SA-06-CA-0577-OG

)

)

)

)

Director, Texas Department

of Criminal Justice,

Correctional Inst. Division,

Respondent.

ORDER

(Filed Jan. 12, 2007)

Pending before the Court is the Memorandum

and Recommendation of U.S. Magistrate Judge John

W. Primomo (Dkt. #11) and Petitioner’s objections

thereto (Dkt. #13). The Court has reviewed the

objections relating to ineffective assistance of counsel,

conducted an independent review of those portions of

the record relating to such objections, and has re-

viewed the applicable law. See 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1);

FepD. R. Crv. P. 72(b). The Court concludes that Peti-

tioner’s objections lack merit and are OVERRULED.

The Magistrate-Judge’s recommendation is

ACCEPTED, and the habeas petition is DENIED for

2c

the reasons stated in the recommendation. This case

may be closed upon entry of judgment.

SIGNED and ENTERED on the 11 day of Janu-

ary, 2007.

/s/ Orlando L. Garcia

ORLANDO L. GARCIA

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

1d

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT of TEXAS

SAN ANTONIO DIVISION

MICHAEL MARTINEZ

TRUJILLO,

Petitioner,

= 3 Civil Action No.

NATHANIEL QUARTERMAN, § sA-6.CA-577-OG

Texas Department of Criminal §

Justice Correctional

Institutions Division Director, ;

Respondent. §

ORDER

(Filed Apr. 16, 2007)

Petitioner Michael Martinez Trujillo’s Notice of

Appeal construed as a motion for certificate of ap-

pealability (Docket Entry # 16) to appeal the dis-

missal of his 28 U.S.C. $2254 Habeas Corpus

Petition is DENIED for the reasons stated in the

Magistrate Judge’s Report and Recommendation

(Docket Entry # 11) adopted by this Court (Docket

Entry # 14). Petitioner’s Petition and appeal fail to

make “a substantial showing of the denial of a federal

right” as required by Fed. R. App. P. 22 for a certifi-

cate of appealability. See Slack v. McDaniel, 529 U.S.

473, 483, 120 S. Ct. 1595, 146 L. Ed. 2d 542 (2000).

2d

DATED: April 14, 2007

/s/ Orlando L. Garcia

ORLANDO L. GARCIA

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

le

APPENDIX E

SIXTH AMENDMENT

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy

the right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial

jury of the State and district wherein the crime shall

have been committed, which district shall have been

previously ascertained by law, and to be informed of

the nature and cause of the accusation; to be con-

fronted with the witnesses egainst him; to have

compulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his

favor, and to have the Assistance of Ccunsel for his

defense.

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT

... No State shall make or enforce any law which

shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens

of the United States; nor shall any State deprive any

person of life, liberty, or property, without due process

of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction

the equal protection of the laws.

28 U.S.C. § 2241. Power to grant writ

(a) Writs of habeas corpus may be granted by the

Supreme Court, any justice thereof, the district courts

and any circuit judge within their respective jurisdic-

tions. The order of a circuit judge shall be entered in

the records of the district court of the district wherein

the restraint complained of is had.

Ze

(b) The Supreme Court, any justice thereof, and any

circuit judge may decline to entertain an application

for a writ of habeas curpus and may transfer the

application for hearing and determination to the

district court having jurisdiction to entertain it.

(c) The writ of habeas corpus shall not extend to a

prisoner unless —

(1) He is in custody under or by color of the au-

thority of the United States or is committed for

trial before some court thereof; or

(2) He is in custody for an act done or omitted

in pursuance of an Act of Congress, or an order,

process, judgment or decree of a court or judge of

the United States; or

(3) He is in custody in violation of the Constitu-

tion or laws or treaties of the United States; or

(4) He, being a citizen of a foreign state and

domiciled therein is in custody for an act done or

omitted under any alleged right, title, authority,

privilege, protection, or exemption claimed under

the commission, order or sanction of any foreign

state, or under color thereof, the validity and ef-

fect of which depend upon the law of nations; or

(5) It is necessary to bring him into court to tes-

tify or for trial.

(d, Where an application for a writ of habeas corpus

is made by a person in custody under the judgment

and sentence of a State court of a State which con-

tains two or more Federal judicial districts, the

application may be filed in the district court for the

3e

district wherein such person is in custody or in the

district court for the district within which the State

court was held which convicted and sentenced him

and each of such district courts shall have concurrent

jurisdiction to entertain the application. The district

court for the district wherein such an application is

filed in the exercise of its discretion and in further-

ance of justice may transfer the application to the

other district court for hearing and determination.

28 U.S.C. § 2253. Appeal

(a) In a habeas corpus proceeding or a proceeding

under section 2255 before a district judge, the final

order shall be subject to review, on appeal, by the

court of appeals for the circuit in which the proceed-

ing is held.

(b) There shall be no right of appeal from a final

order in a proceeding to test the validity of a warrant

to remove to another district or place for commitment

or trial a person charged with a criminal offense

against the United States, or to test the validity of

such person’s detention pending removal proceedings.

(cX1) Unless a circuit justice or judge issues a

certificate of appealability, an appeal may not be

taken to the court of appeals from —

(A) the final order in a habeas corpus proceed-

ing in which the detention complained of arises

out of process issued by a State court; or

Ae

(B) the final order in a proceeding under section

2255.

(2) A certificate of appealability may issue under

paragraph (1) only if the applicant has made a sub-

stantial showing of the denial of a constitutional

right.

(3) The certificate of appealability under paragraph

(1) shall indicate which specific issue or issues satisfy

the showing required by paragraph (2).

28 U.S.C. § 2254. State custody; remedies in Federal

courts

(a) The Supreme Court, a Justice thereof, a circuit

judge, or a district court shall entertain an applica-

tion for a writ of habeas corpus in behalf of a person

in custody pursuant to the judgment of a State court

only on the ground that he is in custody in violation of

the Constitution or laws or treaties of the United

States.

(b)(1) An application for a writ of habeas corpus on

behalf of a person in custody pursuant to the judg-

ment of a State court shall not be granted unless it

appears that —

(A) the applicant has exhausted the remedies

available in the courts of the State; or

(B)) there is an absence of available State cor-

rective process; or

5e

(ii) circumstances exist that render such process

ineffective to protect the rights of the applicant.

(2) An application for a writ of habeas corpus may

be denied on the merits, notwithstanding the failure

of the applicant to exhaust the remedies available in

the courts of the State.

(3) A State shall not be deemed to have waived the

exhaustion requirement or be estopped from reliance

upon the requirement unless the State, through

counsel, expressly waives the requirement. 7

(c) An applicant shall not be deemed to have ex-

hausted the remedies available in the courts of the

State, within the meaning of this section, if he has

the right under the law of the State to raise, by any

available procedure, the question presented.

(d) An application for a writ of habeas corpus on

behalf of a person in custody pursuant to the judg-

ment of a State court shall not be granted with re-

spect to any claim that was adjudicated on the merits

in State court proceedings unless the adjudication of

the claim —

(1) resulted in a decision that was contrary to,

or involved an unreasonable application of,

clearly established Federal law, as determined by

the Supreme Court of the United States; or

(2) resulted in a decision that was based on an

unreasonable determination of the facts in light

of the evidence presented in the State court pro-

ceeding.

6e

(e)1) In a proceeding instituted by an application

for a writ of habeas corpus by a person in custody

pursuant. to the judgment of a State court, a determi-

nation of a factual issue made by a State court shall

be presumed to be correct. The applicant shall have

the burden of rebutting the presumption of correct-

ness by clear and convincing evidence.

(2) If the applicant has failed to develop the factual

basis of a claim in State court proceedings, the court

shall not hold an evidentiary hearing on the claim

unless the applicant shows that — ;

(A) the claim relies on —

(1) a new rule of constitutional law, made

retroactive to cases on collateral review by

the Supreme Court, that was previously un-

available; or

(ii) a factual predicate that could not have

been previously discovered through the exer-

cise of due diligence; and

(B) the facts underlying the claim would be suf-

ficient to establish by clear and convincing evi-

dence that but for constitutional error, no

reasonable factfinder would have found the ap-

plicant guilty of the underlying offense.

(f) If the applicant challenges the sufficiency of the

evidence adduced in such State court proceeding to

support the State court’s determination of a factual

issue made therein, the applicant, if able, shall pro-

duce that part of the record pertinent to a determina-

tion of the sufficiency of the evidence to support such

Te

determination. If the applicant, because of indigency

or other reason is unable to produce such part of the

record, then the State shall produce such part of the

record and the Federal court shall direct the State to

do so by order directed to an appropriate State offi-

cial. If the State cannot provide such pertinent part of

the record, then the court shall determine under the

existing facts and circumstances what weight shall be

given to the State court’s factual determination.

(g) A copy. of the official records of the State court,

duly certified by the clerk of such court to be a true

and correct copy of a finding, judicial opinion, or other

reliable written indicia showing such a factual de-

termination by the State court shall be admissible in

the Federal court proceeding.

(h) Except as provided in section 408 of the Con-

trolled Substance Acts [21 USCS § 848], in all pro-

ceedings brought under this section, and any

subsequent proceedings on review, the court may

appoint counsel for an applicant who is or becomes

financially unable to afford counsel, except as pro-

vided by a rule promulgated by the Supreme Court

pursuant to statutory authority. Appointment of

counsel under this section shall be governed by

section 3006A of title 18.

(i) The ineffectiveness or incompetence of counsel

during Federal or State collateral post-conviction

proceedings shall not be a ground for relief in a

proceeding arising under section 2254.

1f

APPENDIX F

STATE OF TEXAS

COUNTY OF BEXAR

My name is Alex Scharff. I am over 18 years of

age and fully competent to make this affidavit. I am

an attorney in good standing licensed to practice law

in the State of Texas and have been since November

of 1991. I am fully competent as I have personal

knowledge of the facts contained herein.

I along with attorney Alan Brown represented

Michael Trujillo on the direct appeal of Trujillo's

conviction for capital murder in which he received an

automatic life sentence. I combed the court reporter’s

record several times. I was immediately struck by the

omission of an instruction in the court’s charge on the

defense of duress. It was clear from reading the

record and talking to some witnesses that Trujillo

only became involved in the incident because he was

in imminent fear of his life or of imminent serious

bodily injury from Danny Gonzales. There was

enough evidence adduced at trial to establish a du-

ress defense. However, the trial attorney, Todd

McCray did not object to the charge and did not

request such a defensive charge.

After I had read the record but before I had

written the brief, I talked to Todd McCray one day

while we were both in Judge Mary Roman’s court-

room. McCray asked me how the appeal was going on

Trujillo’s case and if I thought he had made any

mistakes. I told McCray that I thought that the jury

2f

should have been instructed on the defense of duress.

McCray paused and then agreed with me and seemed

to curse himself for not raising the defense.

Based upon my reading of the statement of facts

and talking to trial counsel, I am of the opinion that

Trujillo did not receive the effective assistance of

counsel at his trial. The failure of McCray to prose-

cute the duress defense was devastating error and

caused me to have serious doubts about the validity

of the verdict. His performance and errors was defi-

cient and caused me to lose confidence in the outcome

of the trial. Trujillo’s defense was seriously prejudiced

by McCray’s ineffectiveness.

I swear and affirm that everything contained in

this affidavit is true and correct.

/s/ Alex J. Scharff

ALEX J. SCHARFF

Subscribed and sworn before me on this 28th day of

[June] 2005.

/s/ Cynthia A. Ybarra

NOTARY PUBLIC

CYNTHIA ANN YBARRA

[SEAL} My Commission Expires

December 3, 2007

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.