Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lewis v. Department of Agriculture (No. 08-128)

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

08128 jy 25 2008

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

, In the

Supreme Court of the United States

Donald R. Lewis

Petitioner

Vs.

Department of Agriculture

Respondent

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To United States

Court Of Appeals

For The Federal Circuit

Petition For Writ Of Certiorani

Donald R. Lewis

Pro Se

P.O. Box 1142

f Kirbyville, Texas 75956

(409) 423-2799

Questions Presented

Did the Respondent commit harmful! procedural!

error under 5 USC 7701 (c) (2) when it violated its

own procedural guidelines for misconduct

investigations and reports and caused substantial

prejudice to Petitioner's individual rights by affecting

the Agency's decisions, violate Petitioner's due

process rights, and deprive him of Equal Protection

under the law when taking away his employment

interest after over 36 years of Federal Service with

No disciplinary record, a history of the highest/near

perfect performance rating, 2 years in the U.S. Army

by way of the draft during the Vietnam War with an

Honorable discharge and Letter of Appreciation

from General William Westmoreland for his war time

service? Further, did the Appeal Court and Merit

Systems Protection Board violate the same stated

rights and abuse their discretion when they failed to

find harmful procedural error? Petitioner and alll

employees should be provided the protection of the

procedural guidelines. Additionally did they

ignore the prohibited personnel practice committed

when the Respondent sought to force Petitioner to

sign a fraudulent position description, initiated the 40

year plus Investigation that he was subjected to

thereafter, and removal?

Did the respondent violate Petitioner's Due Process

Rights, Fifth Amendment of The U.S. Constitution,

Equal Protect Under the Law, and the wrongfully

taking away of his protected property interest in his

employment under the U.S. Constitution's Fifth

Amendment by refusing and failing to provide

requested needed specifics such as descriptive

details of alleged conclusory comments about

employees weight, and dates, times, and places of

the alleged inappropriate comments and then

charging him with making false statements during

an official investigation when he would not agree

with the statement presented under the vague,

conclusory, and non-specific charge? On the same

issue, did the Respondent violate its own procedural

guidelines which states "the report should tell a story

of what happened, who was involved, when and

where it happened and why it happened? Further,

did the Board and Appeal Cour violate the same

rights of Petitioner and improperly shifted to

Petitioner the burden of proving that he did not

make false statements during an official

Investigation? All American citizens deserve above

protections.

Did the Appeal Court and Merit Systems Protection

Board abuse their discretion, violate Petitioner's due

process rights, and deprive him of Equal Protection

of the Law by substituting a new charge to replace

‘directing’ after the hearing in order to find for

Respondente

Did the Appeal Court and Merit Systems Protection

Board abuse their discretion, violate Petitioner's due

process rights, and deprive him of Equal Protection

of the Law by adding a new charge of “pattern of

conduct over time” after the hearing in order to find

for Respondent and seek to justify the Respondent's

inability to provide Petitioner with needed detail

descriptive specifics and dates, times, and places of

alleged incidents and alleged conclusory, vague

comments? Failure to provide such violates

Respondents own procedural guidelines.

Did the Board violate Petitioner's Due Process Rights

and right to Equal Protection under the Law when it

made the erroneous and biased general

demeanor/credibility finding on page 10 of ifs initial

decision and then using the same to harm Petitioner

on credibility and findings for the remainder of the

decision and in wrongfully taking away his property

interest in his employment under the 5th

Amendment of the U.S. Constitution? Did the

Appeal Court violate the same rights of Petitioner

and abuse its discretion in deferring to the Board's

erroneous demeanor/credibility findings including

such error as failing to describe Petitioner's carriage,

behavior, manner, and appearance? Did the

Appeal Court and Board abuse their discretion and

violate Petitioner's due Process Rights, Equal

Protection Under the Law, and the wrongful taking

of his employment by failing and refusing to address

the issues under Seavello v. Department of Navy, 4

MSPB 239 (1980), and the prohibited personnel

practice of seeking to force him to sign a fraudulent

position descnption and reprisal for his failure to do

so?

Did the Respondent violate Petitioner's rights to

Equal Protection Under the Law, due process rights,

and Fifth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution by

10.

charging him with unintentional/negligence and

then applying the element of intent in reaching the

penalty of removal? This would allow an

organization to take away employees employment

rights without proving the element of intent. Further,

did the Appeal Court and Merit Systems Protection

Board violate the same stated rights and abused

their discretion when they sustained the findings and

penalty of removal? Respondent never refuted that

they knew Petitioner was being paid the

compensatory time for over 10 years in the manner

processed by responsible timekeepers?

Did the Appeal Court and Merit Systems Protection

Board abuse their discretion and deprive Petitioner

of Equal Protection of the Law by sustaining a

specification of catching J. Nguyen’'s arm as

inappropriate conduct when she swung at Petitioner

In a playful act that she did not report until many

months later after learning of being impacted by a

reduction-in-force and then clearly testifying

that it was “petty”?

Did the Appeal Court engage in judicial

misconduct, abuse its discretion, and deny Petitioner

Equal Protection of the law, when considering

retirement eligibility wnen making a decision in

Petitioner's case even though the subject was not in

issue?

Did the Appeal Court and Board abuse their

discretion and deny Petitioner. Equal Protection of

the Law by stating that matters are in evidence in

iV

Table of Contents

Cover Page

Questions Presented

Table of Contents

Table of Cited Authorities Cases

Constitution, Statutes, Procedures

Others

Opinions and Orders Below

Jurisdiction

Statement of The Case & Reasons For

Granting The Writ

Conclusion

List of Appendices

Vi - ix

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Barresi v. U.S. Postal Service, 65 MSPR 656, 18

665 (1994)

Blake v. Department of Justice, 81 MSPR 16

394 (1999)

Cheney v. Department of Justice, 479 F.3d 19

1343 (2007)

Edmound C. Broussard v. Department of 4, 14,

Navy, 27 MSPR 382 (1985) 33

EEOC v. Ford Motor Co. 645 F.2d 183 18, 20

(1981)

Garza v. Department of Army, 57 MSPR 25, 26

214 (1993)

Gilbert v. Homar, 520 U.S. 924, 930 (1997) 20

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 267-68 18, 19

(1970)

Goldstein v. Department of 29

Transportation, 51 F.3d 1570 (1995)

Gottlieb v. Veterans Administration 17, 22,

39 MSPR 606 (1989) 24

v7

Hazelwood School District V. United

States 433 U.S. 299 (1977)

Heebe. v. Department of Justice, 288

F.3d 1288 (2002)

Hillen v. Department of Army, 35 MSPR

453 (1987)

Jacques E. Lamour and Scott Roseberg v.

Department of Justice, 2007 MSPR 185

(2007)

Joseph A. Seavello v. Department of the

Navy, 4 MSPR 239 (1980)

King v. Nazelrod, 43 F.3d 663 (1994)

La Chance v. Erickson, 522 U.S. 262 (1998)

La Chance v. Merit Systems Protection

Board, 147 F.3d 1357 (1998)

Mason v. Department of Navy, 70 MSPR

584 (1996)

McIntire v. Federal Emergency

Management Agency, 55 MSPR 578 (1992)

Mendez v. Department of Treasury,

88 MSPR 596 (2001)

20

, 18

Naekel v. Department of Transportation,

782 F.2d 975 (1986)

Nazelrod v. Department of Justice, 54

MSPR 461 (1992)

Nelson v. U.S. Postal Service, 79 MSPR

314 (1998)

Presseisen v. Swarthmore Cci'lege 442 F,

Sapp. 593 (1977)

Ragolla v. U.S. Postal Service, 983 F.2d

1086 (1992)

Riley v. Department of Army, 53 MSPR 683

(1992)

Shaw v. Department of the Air force,

80 MSPR 98 (1998)

Special Counsel v. Eubanks 76 MSPR 405

(1997)

Teamsters v. United States 431 U.S. 324

(1977)

Constitution, States, Procedures

Prohibited Personne! Practice 5 USC 2302

(b)

5th Amendment of the U.S. Constitution

24

16

18, 20

be

17, 24

18, 20

Equal Protection Under the Law

Due Process Rights

Department of Agriculture Procedural

Guidelines For Employee Misconduct

investigations and Reports

5 CFR 1201.56 (c) (3)

5 USC 2302 (b)

5 U.S.C. 7701 (c) (2)

Opinions And Orders Below

Donald R. Lewis V. Department of Agriculture,

2008-3031,March 7, 2008 , United States Court of

Appeals For The Federal Circuit, Decision

Donald R. Lewis v. Department of Agriculture,

Docket Number DA-0752-06-0686-I-1, October 3,

2007, Merit Systems Protection Board, Final Order

Donaid R. Lewis v. Department Of Agriculture,

Docket Number DA-0751-06-0686-1-1, May 10, 2007,

Merit Systems Protection Board, Initial Decision

Donald R. Lewis v. Department of Agriculture, 2008-

3031, May 1, 2008, Order of United States Court of

Appeals For The Federal Circuit denying Petifion For

Rehearing

Jurisdiction

The date on which the United States Court of

Appeals For the Federal Circuit decided my case

was March 7, 2008. Appendix A.

A timely petition for rehearing was denied by the

United States Court of Appeals For the Federal

Circuit on the following date: May 1, 2008, and a

copy of the order denying rehearing appears as

Appendix D.

The Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. Section 1254 (1).

x!

Appendix A

A-1 thru

A-19

Appendix B

B-1 thru

B-4

Appendix C

C-1 thru

C-127

Appendix D

D-1 thru

D-3

Appendix E

E-1 thru

E-4

Appendix F

F-] thru

F-5

Appendix G

G-1 thru

G-8

Appendix H

H-1] thru

H-1]

Index To Appendices

Decision of the United States

Court of Appeals For The

Federal Circuit

Merit Systems Protection Board

Final Order

Merit Systems Protection Board

Initial Decision

Order of The United States Court

of Appeals For The Federal

Circuit Denying Petition For

Rehearing

Deparment of Agriculture

Procedural Guidelines For

Employee Misconduct

Investigations and Reports

Agency Director's Statement

(Jonn Orntego, Former)

Agency Statement (Shirley

LeBlanc)

Psychological Stress Evaluators

(Voice Lie Detector) tests,

Resume. Process, and

x!

Appendix |

l-} thru

I-11

Appendix J

J-1 thru

J-10

Appendix K

K-] thru

K-27

Appendix L

L-1 thru

L-37

Appendix M

M-1 thru

M-3

Appendix N

N-1 thru

N-2

Appendix O

O-1 thru

O-7

Technique

Cecil Mason v. Department of

The Navy, 70 MSPR 584 (1996)

Edmound C. Broussard v.

Department of, The Navy, 27

MSPR 382 (1985)

Agency Statement (Patricia W.

Duvernay) and Additional

Information to Affidavit

USDA Guide to Disciplinary

Penalties

Naomi Riley v. Deparment of

the Army

Agency Statement (Artimese

Epps)

Letter to Chief Judge, U.S. Court

of Appeals for Federal Circuit on

Wrongful Consideration of

Retirement Eligibility

XII

Statement of The Case

The Petitioner entered Federal employment

in 1971 as a Labor Management Relations

Examiner with the National Labor Relations Board.

in February 1989, he transferred to the U:S.

Department of Agriculture, National Finance

Center (NFC), in New Orleans, Louisiana as a GS-12

Supervisory Labor Relations Specialist, up graded

to GS-13. In 1997, former NFC Director John Ortego

selected Petitioner to design, develop, and

manage what later became known as the Equal

Employment Opportunity and Workforce Services

Staff (EEOWSS), due to a crisis of employment

environment issues. See Appendix F.

In the position as manager, Petitioner almost

single-handedly changed the employment

environment of the Agency from one that had

become nationally known for its poor employment

environment to one nationally recognized for ifs

model employment environment. He won nathonal

awards and recognition for himself and the

Respondent, including such awards as the Office

of Personnel Management Directors Award and

the USDA's Secretary's Award for operating an

ficient, effective, and discrimination-free

rgdnization. See Appendix F. Petitioner is the only

manager of EEO or EEOWSS programs for the

Respondent to have won such awards for himself

and the programs. He became known as one of

the most innovative and achieving EEO managers

in the Federal Government, prior to the charges in

]

the within matter, Petitioner, in his over 36 year

employment history with the Federal Government,

had never been the subject of any disciplinary

action. His performance was always at the

Outstanding or Superior levels, with his last

performance rating at the Outstanding level. He

served 2 years in the U.S. Army by way of the draft

during the Vietnam War with an Honorable

Discharge and Letter of Appreciation from General

William Westmoreland for his war time service. The

investigation and charges were instigated and

orchestrated by one employee using if to get a

promotion (Patricia Bachemin), and another

employee (J. Nguyen), and her friends, who

wanted the ultimate decision making responsibility

to determine who would be included in the

reduction-in-force (RIF). In February 2005,

Bachemin actually went to the deciding official

and sought two things: (1) a promotion, and (2)

Petitioner's termination. She received both. The

Agency refused to present her at the hearing so

that she covid be examined by Petitioner. Virginia

Gaye Cook, Head of Operations and Agency

Misconduct Investigation Coordinator, prepared

and sent a promotion position description to

Petitioner for promotion of Bachemin that was

fraudulent. By regulation and practice, Petitioner

should have been the preparer of the position

description. Cook became upset when Petitioner

refused to sign the fraudulent position description.

Bachemin was promoted shortly after Petitioner's

proposed removal and administrative leave. The

refusal of the Board and Appeal Count to address

2

the position description and the Seavello issues

deprived petitioner of due process, equal

protection of the law, and of protection against a

prohibited personnel practice. Kushindana, a

friend of J. Nguyen, told Petitioner that if he

followed through with J. Nguyen being impacted

by the RIF instead of M. Nguyen, that he could

expect fo have problems from her and others in

the office. On August 3, 2005, Kushindana told

Petitioner that since it appeared that he wasn't

going to leave, she was going ic have to run him

off. See Appendix H. Only 16 days later, August 19,

2005, the Investigator who had been operating in

collusion with Kashindana, Bachenin, J Nyagen,

and others, told Petitioner at the opening of his

initial interview, “You ought to be out of here” and

that he should be retired. Given the Investigator’s

conduct and gross procedural violations, it is

Petitioner's position that the Investigator was hired

to build a case for his removal.

Cook, arranged for Petitioner to be

investigated by a contract investigator with whom

she has close ties. The Investigator was instructed

to investigate Petitioner for a period spanning over

40 years including years before his employment by

the Federal Government. The charges were vague

and non-specific as to when and what Petitioner

allegedly did and denied his due process rights.

When Petitioner could not agree with the

conclusory comments under the charges on

employees’ weight, he was charged with making

false statements during an official investigation.

3

The investigator violated every provision of the

procedural guidelines for investigation dated

March 24, 2003 which states that "Investigators

should avoid personal opinions, or conclusions,

and should not make disciplinary

recommendations a part of the report." See

Appendix E. The Investigator violated these

provisions and thereby denied Petitioner due

process and equal protection under the law. This

caused substantial prejudice to Petitioner's

individual rights by affecting the agency's decision.

Tne Appeal Court and tribunals below failed

to find harmful procedural error even though it is

clear that the Respondent violated its own

procedural guidelines in the investigation of

Petitioner and in the use of the Report of

Investigation in reaching the penalty decision to

remove Petitioner. The Appeal Court and tribunals

below violated Petitioner's Due Process Rights, Fifth

Amendment of The U.S. Constitution, and Equal

Protection Under The Law in their findings on

Petitioner being provided conclusory statements

rather than requested needed specifics such as

descriptive details of alleged conclusory

comments, dates, times, and places of alleged

inappropriate comments, and the finding of

Petitioner's inability to agree with the vague,

conclusory, and non-specific charges as making

false statements during an official investigation.

They changed the charge on “directing” after the

hearing and grossly misdescribed employees on

the issue and their relationship with Petitioner. The

4

Appeal Court and tribunals below upheld

Respondents charging Petitioner with

unintentional/negligence and then applying the

element of intent for the same charges by

sustaining the Penalty of Removal on the basis of

intent. See Edmound C. Broussard v. Department

of Navy, 27 MSPR 382 (1985) (Appendix J), wherein

the Agency charged the Appellant with

negligence but improperly removed him based on

the element of intent. The Board and Appeal Court

accepted the Respondent's use of conclusroy,

boiler plate language on penalty without a

balanced and reasoned discussion of all relevant

and mitigating factors. The table of penalties was

not honestly considered.

When it became clear to Petitioner that the

Respondent and this particular group of

employees were determined to destroy him,

Petitioner sought and received favorable

consideration for employment by two other

Federal agencies. One Agency offered Petitioner

a position and he accepted. However, one day

after the agency contacted the Respondent for

transfer of Petitioner, the offer was withdrawn. _

When the other agency contacted Respondent for

reference on Petitioner, the agency stopped their

process of consideration. It became clear fo

Petitioner at this point that the Respondent was

interested in destroying Petitioner and not just

removing him.

On August 29, 2005, Hurricane Katrina made

2

landfall in New Orleans, Louisiana, and Petitioner

evacuated. On February 22, 2006, Petitioner

returned to New Orleans and Respondent facility.

On March 28, 2006, 34 days after Petitioner's return,

Respondent issued Petitioner a proposed removal

letter and placed him on administrative leave.

Effective September 16, 2006, Petitioner was

removed.

On April 18, 2008, during a return call to the

Appeal Court on a request to submit copies of

case decisions, an Appeal Court personnel began

stating/asking Petitioner repeatedly out of the

“blue”, “you can retire can't you2” This placed

Petitioner on notice that the Appeal Court had

considered retirement eligibility wnen making a

decision in his case. Petitioner has never raised an

issue of retirement eligibility with any fribunal

considering his case. See Appendix O.

The Appeal Court states on page 6 of its

decision that Byrne's affidavit stated that she

learned of the contract employee’s conduct from

another employee to whom |, J. Nguyen and

Kushindana had complained. This is not in Byrnes

affidavit, The Appeal Court states on page 8 of

their decision that “Mr. Lewis acknowledged that

on at least one occasion he picked up one copy

of Ms. Nguyen faxes and delivered it fo her.” There

is no evidence in the record that Petitioner ever

made such acknowledgement. On page 49 of the

Board decision, the AJ states “Tne record further

reflects that M. Nguyen's non-work-related

6

activities continued into August 2005.” Not true and

not in the record. M. Nguyen was not in America

from July 26, 2005. thru August 26, 2005. Sne was on

administrative leave from August 26, 2005, thru

November 14, 2005, due to Hurricane Katrina, The

stating that such matters are in evidence in the

record is in error, an abuse of discretion, and

harmed Petitioner by taking away his property

interest in his employment.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Under 5 U.S.C. 7701 (c)(2), the Board is required to

overturn the action of the agency, even where the

agency has met the evidentiary standard in

paragraph (q) of this section, if the appellant:

3 Shows harmful error in the application of the

agency's procedures in arriving at its

decision;

a. Shows that the decision was based on any

prohibited personnel practice described in 5

U.S... 2302 (b): or

3: Shows that the decision was not in

accordance with the law.

Harmful error has been defined as error by the

agency in the application of its procedures that is

likely to have caused the agency to reach a

conclusion different from the one it would have

reached in the absence or cure of the error.

The agency's action constituted harmful error as

defined at 5 CFR 1201.56(c)(3) when it failed to

follow the procedures outlined in its procedure

issued to "“Agency/Mission Area Employee

Misconduct Investigation Coordinators" to ensure

Department wide standards of quality and

consistency in the preparation of employee

misconduct investigation reports. See Appendix E.

The guidelines provides:

iB Investigators should avoid personal opinions

or conclusions, and should not make

disciplinary recommendations a part of the report.

_ The report should tell a story of what

happened, who was involved, when and where it

happened and why it happened.

x 9 investigators should refrain from drawing

conclusions on the merits of the allegations.

Investigators are exposed fo information

during the investigation which may not be

incorporated in the investigative file, but

nevertheless could bias the investigator relative

to any analysis of the allegations and could

8

improperly influence the decision-maker.

4, lf someone gives a statement naming

another person as having information relevant

to the allegations, get a statement from that

person. The procedure guidelines exist for the

protection of all employees of USDA and to

regulate the conduct of "investigators" assigned to

investigate misconduct allegations of any

employee of USDA. The procedure guidelines do

not provide for any employee to be provided

less protection than is in the procedure guidelines.

Appendix E. To say that Respondent can provide

Petitioner and some of its employees less

protection than is provided in tts procedural

guidelines by assigning a contract investigator

rather than an employee investigator

deprives employees of equal protection

under the law andis notin accordance with the

principle of fairness for American Citizens.

The investigator provided personal opinions,

conclusions, and recommendations, including the

recommendation of Petitioner's removal, in her ROI

which was against written USDA procedural

guidelines. Appendix E. The Respondent violated

Petitioner's due process nghts, deprived him of

Equa! Protection under the law, and caused

substantial prejudice to his individual rights by

affecting the agency's decisions.

Without explanation or reason, Petitioner has been

subjected to an investigation spanning over 40

9

years including years before he was employed by

the Federal Government. When asked why this was

done, Lohtink, the deciding official said he did not

know. This took place because the Agency

Investigation Coordinator became upset with

Petitioner for not signing a fraudulent Position

Description, (A prohibited personnel practice and

reprisal).

The Merit Systems Protection Board's (MSPB)position

that the decision maker did not rely on the Report

of Investigation (RO}) is in error, and an abuse of

discretion. In the proposed removal dated March

28, 2006, Jonn White, Deputy Director, states:

The Report of Investigation has now been received

and | have reviewed its findings in detail. The

report substantiates serious mismanagement,

waste, abuse, and personal misconduct by you

requiring removal.

In the removal letter dated September 14, 2006,

the decision-maker states: After reviewing the

proposal letter, the ROI,...1 have reached the

following determinations on each charge.

The decision-maker goes on to stafe fhat:

The Nationa! Finance Center (NFC) issued a letter

dated March 28, 2006, to remove you, Donald

Lewis, from your Federal position based on the

results of a report of investigation (ROI), Allegations

of Misconduct and Mismanagement by Donald

10

Lewis...conducted by Kathryn T. Vengazo,

Consultant for FPMI, Inc.

With the Proposing Official clearly stating that he

reviewed the (ROI) findings in detail and the report

required the Petitioner's removal and the decision-

maker stating in the decision that he reviewed the

proposal ietier and the ROI in making his decision,

it defies any sense of logic and fairness to say the

RO! was not considered in making the decision to

remove the Petitioner. The Appeal Court states,

‘The deciding official did not testify that he did not

rely on the report. He merely stated that he did not

rely on the investigator's recommendation as to

penalty. We therefore find that the Board did not

er in rejecting Mr. Lewis’ affirmative defense.”

Appendix A. This defies all principles of credibility,

logic, and sound human and legal reasoning.

When the deciding

official wrongfully considered the investigator's

findings, personal opinions, conclusions, and other

recommendations regarding Petitioner, he

considered ingredients that go into the making of

penalty determination. The procedural guidelines

recognized the harm that would be caused to a

person when the procedure guidelines are not

followed:

investigators should refrain from drawing

conclusions on the merits of the allegations.

Investigators are exposed to information during the

investigalion which may not be incorporated in the

investigation file, but nevertheless could bias the

1]

investigator relative to any analysis of the

allegations and could improperly influence the

decision-maker.

The procedural guidelines cannot "ensure

Department wide standard of quality and

consistency’ if they do not apply to all employees,

all Investigators, and carry the force of law. The

Respondent ordered the investigation with findings,

conclusions, opinions, recommendations, including

recommendations on penalty. When some one

custom order and pay for a product they fully

intend to use what is ordered. The Respondent's

procedural guidelines should be analyzed under

the standards of a contract. A contract must be

construed in accordance with the terms and

language used in the agreement. If the terms of

the agreement are free of ambiguity and does not

conflict with the policy of the law, the contract will

be deemed to establish the rights of the parties.

Contracts are to be read and understood

according to the natural and obvious import of the

language used therein. The USDA procedural

guidelines does not distinguish between employee

investigators and contract investigators. It is for the

protection of all employees. To say that the USDA

procedural guidelines do not have any legal

weight is unconscionable. The document is replete

with words such as shall and should which are

defined in the dictionary when used in laws,

directives, etc, as an obligation or must. Appendix

E.

The Investigator’s failure to foliow the procedural

guidelines permitted the investigator's biases to

taint the entire investigation and subsequent report

thereby denying the petitioner with a fair and

impartial investigation. The agency failed to

present Bachemin and Lomi Clark, employees

among the group who led the action against

Petitioner, for the hearing. Further, the Board and

Appeal court failed and refused to consider the

prohibited personnel practice of seeking to force

Petitioner to sign a fraudulent position description

for Bachemin. The Appeal Court states on page 4

of its March 7, 2008, decision that: See Appendix A.

From the finding, the Board concluded that

he knew or should have known that he

received the overtime payments in violation of

the agency procedure. That conclusion,

however, does not necessarily follow. Mr. Lewis

may have been aware of the proper

procedures, yet he may not have known

that his timekeeper had not obtained

supervisory approval. In any event, the Board

found that the agency's charge against him did

not require a finding of intent, and it was

undisputed that the proper procedure was not

followed. We agree with the Board that the

charge does not specify an element of intent, and

we therefore affirm the Board's

determination with respect to that charge.

All of the compensatory time earned was

recorded on Petitioner's time and attendance

13

reports that were reviewed and approved by

each of his supervisors from 1994 thru 2005, over 10

years. A review of his T&A's would reveal

Petitioner's supervisors should have never expected

him to use the compensatory time earned

because he was always in a “use or lose” annual!

leave status. Appendix F. Only after Respondent

became upset with petitioner over not signing the

fraudulent position description did this become a

factor and to be part of the 40 years plus

investigation. Petitioner never saw the forms

completed for payment of compensatory time by

Gaydos, Barnes, and M. Nguyen, fimekeepers, and

they did not require his approval. Petitioner was

not negligent under any described standard of

care. He was not aware of who authorized or

approved the unused compensatory time each

year for payments. All he knew was that he

worked the extra hours and earned compensatory

time recorded, his T&A’s for the years 1994 thru

2005 had been reviewed and approved by his

supervisors, and he was paid

for compensatory time that was not used within

the specified time frame because of his inability to

take time off. It is the certifying officer's

responsibility to verify that the forms are signed by

authorized officials prior to payment. From 1994

thru 2005, over 10 years, his supervisors were Qware

that he was being paid for the unused time at the

end of every year by their review of his T&A’s and

their budget reports Appendix F. John Ortego,

NFC's Director from August 1997 to January 31,

2003, and Petitioner's first-level or second-level

14

supervisor during this time period, stated that he

expected the Petitioner to be paid for the

compensatory time earned. Appendix F.

In his response to the proposal notice and dunng’

his deposition, Pefitioner offered to reimburse the

agency for any compensatory payments received

by him that they were contending proper

management approval had not been obtained by

the timekeepers and he did so. During Petitioner's

oral response to the charges on April 26, 2006,

where in a court reporter made a transcript, the

deciding official, speaking of the compensatory

time, stated, “No, and look, | know every hour that

was on these things was approved by whoever

your supervisor was at the time.” “Page 134 of the

oral response transcript. On page 135 of the

transcript, he stated, “Well, |’m not sure it’s illegal. It

just didn't follow a process or whatever we have.”

Notwithstanding the sustaining of the charge as

unintentional/negligence, the Appeal Court and

MSPB abused their discretion and approved the

agency's removal of Petitioner based on the

element of intent. See Edmound C. Broussard v.

Department of Navy, 27 MSPR 382 (1985),

Appendix J, wherein the agency charged the

Appellant with negligence but improperly

removed him based on the element of intent. In

the instant case, the Respondent clearly charged

petitioner with unintentionally /negligence but

clearly used intent in it's penalty.

In regards to the charge of making false

15

statements during an Official investigation, the

Appeal Court states on pages 12-13 of the decision

that "The Board sustained that charge after finding

that Mr. Lewis falsely stated in an affidavit that he

never made derogatory remarks about his

employees’ weight." Appendix A. The Appeal

Court, MSPB, and Respondent violated Petitioner's

due process rights, Fifth Amendment of the U.S.

Constitution, and Equal Protection Under The Law

in regards to the finding on this charge. Further, the

AJ, Board, and Appeal Court improperly shifted to

Petitioner the burden of proving that he did not

make false statements during an official

investigation. Additionally, the Respondent

violated its own procedural guidelines for

misconduct investigation which states that “the

report should tell a story of what happened, who

was involved, when and where it happened and

why it happened.” Petitioner made a timely

request during discovery for detail descriptive

specifics, including dates, times, and places of

alleged incidents but the Agency said they did not

have any. Aft the hearing the Deciding Official

stated that he did not know when the alleged acts

occurred: that they could have occurred any time

with in the last 5 years or more. Yet he was willing

to take away Petitioner's employment after over 36

years without a disciplinary record and near

perfect performance history. Without the

requested specifics, Petitioner cannot determine if

he was at work or present at the place of the

alleged incidents or that any such incident in fact

occurred. See Mason v. Department of Navy, 70

16

MSPR 584, 586-89 (1996) Appendix |. The

Respondent has not met its burden of a specific

incident or pattern of conduct over time and of a

preponderance of evidence that Petitioner falsely

stated in an affidavit that he never made

derogatory remarks about employees weight.

Ortego, the former Director from August 1997 to

January 2003, stated that Petitioner did not

engage in such conduct and that he never

received reports of such on Petitioner. Appendix F.

Shirley LeBlanc, the agency's star witness sfated in

her affidavit that Petitioner made reference to "big

people.” No specifics were provided. Appendix G.

Also, LeBlanc stated that she was upset with

Petitioner because he had never rated her as

Outstanding and because he, as her supervisor,

would not get involved in her application for a

position in another organization over which

Petitioner had no control. Appendix G. Jo Ann

Thomas, the employee referenced by Respondent,

never stated in any manner that Petitioner ever

referred to her as fat ass. Petitioner deserves fair

treatment under the laws of the United States as

would any citizen. The Board has held that to

establish a charge of falsification, the agency must

prove, by preponderant evidence, that the

appellant: (1} supplied wrong information, (2)

knowingly did so with the intention of defrauding,

deceiving. or misleading the agency. Heebe v.

Department of Justice, 288 F. 3d 1288, 1305 (2002),

citing Naekel v. Department of Transportation, 782

F.2d 975, * 7-78 (1986). Falsification and fraud

cases ofte., turn on proof of the element of intent.

}7

However, a finding that an appellant has provided

incorrect information cannot control the question

of intent for purposes of adjudicating a falsification

charge. Mendez v. Department of Treasury, 88

MSPR 596 (2001). Whether intent has been proven

must be resolved by the totality of the

circumstances. Blake v. Department of Justice, 81

MSPR 394 (1999). The Board must consider the

appellant's plausible explanation as an element of

the totality of the circumstances. Nelson v. U.S.

Postal Service, 79 MSPR 314 (1998). Failure to

provide Petitioner with specifics in which to

prepare a response, including to determine

whether he was at work and at the location of the

alleged incident are part of the plausible

explanation. Only the charges and specifications

set out in the agency's proposal notice may be

used to justify punishment because due process

requires that an employee be given notice of the

charges against him in sufficient detail to allow the

employee to make an informed reply. La Chance

v. Merit Systems Protection Board, 147 F.3d 1367,

1371 (1998): Mcintire v. Federal Emergency

Management Agency, 55 MSPR 578, 583 n.4 (1992).

Nor may the Board substitute what it considers to

be a better basis for removal than what was

identified by the agency. Shaw v. Department of

the Air Force, 80 MSPR 98, 106-07 (1998). Rather, the

Board is required to adjudicate an appedi solely

on the grounds invoked by the agency and may

not substitute what if considers fo be a more

appropriate charge. Riley v. Department of the

Armiy, 53 MSPR 683, 688 (1992). Appendix M. See

18

also Goitlieb v. Veterans Administration, 39 MSPR

606, 609 (1989). The Appeal Cour overlooked that

the failure of the Agency to give the Petitioner

adequately detailed nofice prior to the hearing of

the alleged misconduct prejudices his ability to

mount a meaningful defense, denies him due

process and violates Respondents own procedural

guidelines. The Board and the Appeal Court

acknowledges that the Agency could not provide

Petitioner with needed specifics such as dates,

places, and times. Speaking of the charges that

included the specification of derogatory

comments on employees’ weight, the Appeal

Count states:

It was inherent in the nature of the charges

in those specifications, however, that great

specificity was not possible. Three of the four

specifications alleged a pattern of conduct

overtime, rather thana_ particular incident. And

the individual instances of inappropriate

conduct such as angry remorks, insulting

words, were not the types to which witnesses

would ordinarily be expected to recail the precise

date and surrounding circumstances. See

Appendix A. The angry remorks and insulting

words were | infact made by Clark. J.

Nguyen, and Bachemin. See Appendix K.

Petitioner disagrees that a pattern exists. For a

pattern to exist, some specific incidents on specific

dates and times would be needed to support such

a finding. Teamsters v. United States, 431 U.S. 324

19

(1977). The agency, as the charging party, bear

the burden of showing, by a preponderance of

the evidence, that a pattern is the Petitioner's

regular and standard operating procedures.

Teamsters v. United States, 431 U.S. 324 (1997);

EECC v. Ford Motor Co., 645 F.2d 183 (1981):

Presseisen v. Swarthmore College, 442 F. Supp. 593

(1977). A time frame must be provided. The

Petitioner cannot knowingly supply wrong

information with the intent of deceiving without

specifics of dates and times of the alleged

incidents. If a pattern existed then that is more

reason why specifics should be available to be

provided to Petitioner. He did not make false

statements during an official investigation.

The allegation of a pattern of conduct over time

(charge) was not provided to Petitioner until the

March 7, 2008, decision of the Appeal Court.

Therefore, required notice was not provided.

Without the requested specifics such as dates,

times, places, of incidents, Petitioner cannot

determine whether he was at work or present at

the place of the alleged incidents. The law

requires that he be provided sufficient specifics to

provide a meaningful opportunity to be heard and

to exercise his due process rights. See Barresi v. U.S.

Postal Service, 65 MSPR 656 (1994), Goldberg v.

Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 267, 268 (1970), Ragolla v. U.S.

Postal Service 983 F.2d 1086 (1992}, and Mason v.

Department of Navy, supra. Appendix I. The

allegation of a “pattern” cannot be used to deny

an individual of his due process rights. Petitioner

20

was not provided the number of alleged unlawful

acts, the alleged time period over which the

alleged acts occured, requirements of a pattern.

Indeed the deciding official stated that he did not

know when the alleged acts occurred; that they

could have occured any time with in the last five

years of more. Ortego, the former Director (from

August 1997 to January 2003) stated that Petitioner

did not engage in such conduct and he never

received reports of such on Petitioner. Appendix F.

In Jacques E. Lamour and Scott Roseberg v.

Department of Justice, 2007 MSPR 185, 2007, the

Board pointed out that an adverse action proposal

letter needs to be sufficiently detailed to provide

an employee proper notice to the charges against

him. If an agency fails to do this, it denies the

employee a meaningful opportunity to be heard.

In that case, the Agency charged the Appellants

with assault against an inmate but offered no other

details such as when or where it allegedly

occurred. In addition to the statutory requirements

set out in subchapter 11 of chapter 75, sufficient

notice of the basis for an agency's proposed

action against a tenured employee also implicates

due process requirements guaranteed by the Sth

Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. ("No person

shall be deprived of life, liberty, or property, without

due process of law."} See La Chance v. Erickson,

522 U.S. 262, 266 (1998) See also Goldberg v. Kelly,

397 U.S. 254, 267-68 (1970). In Cheney v.

Deparment of Justice, 479 F.3d 1343, 1353 (2007),

the court found that the agency's notice to

Cheney that he had "inappropriately queried or

2)

caused to be queried Law Enforcement

Databases" was akin to informing Mr. Cheney that

his security clearance had been suspended

because he had robbed a bank, with out telling

him where the bank was and when he had

robbed it. It is appropriate to distinguish between a

proposal to terminate employment permanently,

in which case the requirements of due process

may be more comprehensive, and a proposal to

suspend an employee temporarily, in which case

the requirements of due process are generally less

demanding. Gilbert v. Homar, 520 U.S. 924, 930

(1997). Petitioner should be accorded the more

comprehensive requirements of due process

considering that he was an employee with over 36

years of Federal Service, a draftee of the U.S. Army

for Vietnam Wartime service, an unblemished

record, with his performance at the highest rating

level and that he was facing permanent removal.

When the Appeal Court states, “alleged a pattern

of conduct over time," for the first time, the

questions that the jaw indicates Petitioner need

answers for to prepare a proper defense is what

conduct over what period of time with some

specific incidents on specific dates and times.

Teamsters v. United States, 431 U.S. 324 (1997),

Hazelwood School District v. United States 433 U.S.

299 (1977). The Agency, as the charging party,

bears the burden of showing, by a preponderance

of the evidence, that a pattern is the Petitioner's

regular and standard operating procedure.

Teamsters v. United States, 431 U.S. 324 (1977):

EEOC v. Ford Motor Co., 645 F.2d 183 (1981):

22

Presseinsen v. Swarthmore College, 442 F. Supp.

593 (1977). The burden of a pattern has not been

met. The Appeal Court overlooked the fact that

Petitioner provided evidence that the burden was

not met. Ornego, the Director of the Agency and

Petitioner's Supervisor or Manager from October

1997 to January 2003, stated that Petitioner always

conducted himself in a professional manner and

treated him and others with dignity and respect.

He stated that Petitioner did not use vulgar

language or tell inappropriate jokes in his presence

and never did anyone oftribute such behavior to

Petitioner. Appendix F. Patricia Duvernay who

worked with and for Petitioner since 1989, and

whose office was located next to Petitioner, stated,

"Petitioner carmied himself in a professional manner

and did not fell inappropriate jokes about religion

or people's weight.” Appendix K. Diane Barnes, a

retired employee who had worked for Petitioner

since about 1991, and whose office was next to

Petitioner, stated that she had never heard him use

vulgar language or speak inappropriate

comments or jokes and that she never heard him

call anyone fat ass, bastard, or mother fucker.

Hanh Nguyen.an employee who worked in a

cubicle about 10 feet in front of Petitioner's office.

never heard Petitioner use vulgar or profane

language, and never heard hir.: Use the terms

bastard or mother fucker. These overlooked facts

supports the finding that a preponderance of

evidence does not exist fo suppor a pattern. The

Agency did not contest the veracity of their

statements. The Appeal Court overlooked facts

23

and law in regards to the allegation on whether

Petitioner's catching J. Nguyen's arm was

inappropriate conduct. J. Nguyen stated that

Clark, LeBlanc, and Thomas witnessed the incident

of Petitioner catching her arm. LeBlanc and

Thomas testified that they did not witness the

occurrence. The Appeal Court overlooked the fact

that Petitioner was passing the area of

Kushindanda's office door where Kushindana and J.

Nguyen were standing. He was on his way to the

men's room. J. Nguyen, acting in a playful manner,

swung at Petitioner and he caught her arm. He did

not squeeze her arm but held it so that she could

not swing at him again. J. Nguyen did kick

Petitioner with her foot. These all took place in one

continuous motion and transaction. Petitioner

continued on his path to the men's room. Petitioner

did not perceive J. Nguyen's actions to be in anger

but rather a playful act. J. Nguyen has motioned

at Petitioner with her fist many times, but none that

he perceived in anger. The Appeal Court

overlooked the fact that J. Nguyen did not report

this until many months had passed and she

learned of the impact by the RIF. Petitioner should

not be removed for a playful, "petty" act initiated

by J. Nguyen. J. Nguyen clearly testified that the

act was “Petty.” The Appeal Court states on page 9

of its decision that (Appendix A):

"We find, however, that it was reasonable for the

Board to infer that when Mr. Lewis asked his

subordinate employees to perform personal work

for him, the request was equivalent to an order

24

based on the relationship between Mr. Lewis and

the employees."

This finding cannot be reasonable when it is untrue.

The Court of Appeals and the MSPB abused their

discretion, violated Petitioner's due process rights,

and deprived him of Equal Protection of the Law

by substituting new charges for Respondent after

the hearing. The Appeal and Board is required to

adjudicate an appeal solely on the grounds

invoked by the agency and may not substitute

what it considers to be a more appropriate

charge. Riley v. Department of the Army, 53 MSPR

683, 688 (1992); Gottlieb v. Veterans Administration,

39 MSPR 606, 609 (1989). Appendix M. Petitioner

was specifically charged with “directing”

subordinate employees to perform personal work.

Not one employee testified or provided a

statement that the employee was directed by

Petitioner to perform work. The relationship of

Petitioner with the employees is set forth in their

statements as follows:

Hanh Nguyen (July 11, 2006 Affidavit)

“Donald R. Lewis, Chief of EEOWSS, was my

supervisor during my employment in EEOWSS. My

workstation was located in a cubicle about ten

feet from the door of Mr. Lewis’ office. Mr. Lewis

was very supportive of me and the other students

in EEOWSS in our efforts to work and go to college.

He always worked with me in arranging my work

schedule and class exam schedule so that | could

25

accomplish both objectives. | enjoyed working for

Mr. Lewis and found him to have a sense of humor

that made the work environment a comfortable

place to work. Mr. Lewis has never directed or

forced me to perform personal work for him. | have

never felt intimidated by Mr. Lewis. Anything that |

did for Mr. Lewis was done during my break time.

Thanh-Thuy Nguyen (Affidavit July 5, 2006) "Donald

R. Lewis, Chief, Equal Employment Opportunity

and Workforce Services Staff, has never directed or

forced me to type or perform personal work for

him." | never performed any typing for Mr. Lewis

against my will. On some occasions, | actually

asked Mr. Lewis if he had any typing that | could

perform for him. | never felt that | had to type

anything for Mr. Lewis. Some of the typing was

done on what could be considered my break

time. Almost all of the typing was short in length.

Further, it was not frequent that | typed something

personal for Mr. Lewis. As stated in my affidavit on

December 24, 2005, Mr. Lewis was an enjoyable

manager to work with. | have been asked if | have

looked anyone in the eye and said that! hate Mr.

Lewis. | do not hafe Mr. Lewis and | have never told

anyone that | hate Mr. Lewis. Mr. Lewis was very

supportive of me as a student so why could | hate

hime

Thuy Thu Nguyen testified during the hearing

(December 12, 2006) that she gave appellant a

card in which she wrote, "Mr. Lewis, it was nice of

you! | hate to admit this, but you have been so

26

nice and kind in mentoring me throughout the fime

in reaching my professional goals.” She testified

that Petitioner asked her to type something for him.

The law clearly provides that it is the specific

charge that is controlling. The Respondent

specifically charged Petitioner with "directing." The

charge should be decided based on the specific

charge and the preponderance of the evidence.

See: Nazelrod v. Department of Justice, 54 MSRP

461 (1992): King v. Nazelrod, 43 F.3d 663 (1994); Nor

may the tribunal substitute what it considers to be

a better basis for removal than what was identified

by the agency. Shaw v. Department of Air Force,

80 MSPR 98, 106-07 (1998); Riley, supra; Gottlieb

supra.

In regards to credibility, the Appeal Court should

not uphold the MSPB if there is a lack of sufficient

or appropriate findings to sustain the result

reached by the Board. In Goldstein v. Department

of Treasury, 51 F.3d 1570, 1576 (1995) the cour

stated:

Per its own precedent in Hillen v.

Department of Army, 35 MSPR 453 (1987), the

Board must ensure that the AJ has made

appropriate credibility judgments detailing

where and why she credited certain testimony

over other testimony and resolving orreconciling

all material conflicts in the record. Where the AJ

has not, the Board must fill in the gaps,

remanding for further evidentiary hearing, if

27

necessary. Although we review credibility

and other factual determinations under an

extremely deferential standard, where, as here,

the Board and/or the AJ have failed to make

necessary findings, we will not "rubber stamp" the

decision because of a deferential standard of

review.

The Petitioner asserts that the Board's credibility

determinations were abbreviated, based on

improper considerations, unsupported by the

record, and failed to meet the requirements in

Hillen v. Department of Army, 35 MSPR 453 (1987),

Garza v. Department of Army, 57 MSPR 214 (1993).

The Appeal Court does not owe deference to the

Board's AJ's credibility determination where the

findings are incomplete, inconsistent with the

weight of evidence, and do not reflect the record

as a whole. The Board's AJ makes the conclusory

credibility finding on page 10 of the Board's

decision stating, "Furthermore, | found the

appellant's general demeanor while testifying, i.e.,

his carriage, behavior, manner, and appearance

demonstrated a lack of candor.” The AJ did not

describe Petitioner's carriage behavior, manner,

and appearance. See Appendix C. The AJ did not

describe Petitioner's carriage, behavior, manner,

and appearance. The Board's AJ also states that

the Petitioner's behavior reflects a significant lack

of honesty and integrity because he intended to

submit a research paper that the Petitioner

conceded was written by one of his students for his

son's admission to a Ph.D. program. The AJ's finding

28

is arbitrary, capricious, abuse of discretion, and not

supported by substantial evidence. Petitioner

testified that the student wrote some of the paper

that he wrote some of the paper. Petitioner told

the truth. In Soecial Counsel v. Eubanks, 76 MSPR

405, 416 (1997), the Board stated that it is error for a

fact finder to rely on a witness's demeanor to find

that her testimony is untrue without explaining

anything about her manner and appearance that

warranted that conclusion. Petitioner's camiage,

behavior, manner, and appearance should have

been described. The AJ, Board, and Appeal Court

went on to use the erroneous generai credibility

finding to make other credibility findings against

Petitioner and to sustain each charge. Further, it

should be noted that the AJ's description for

Petitioner's demeanor comes directly out of Peter

Broida's "A Guide to Merit Systems Protection Board

Law and Practice” page 865, which states,

"Demecior constitutes the carriage, behavior,

manner, and appearance of a witness Guring

testimony." The elements are the same and in the

same order. The Board should not provide

deference generally reserved for a judge's

credibility finding if those findings suffer from

paucity of explanation. See Garza v. Department

of Army. 57 MSPR 214 (1993).

The Appeal Cut overlooked the law and facts on

the impact of the conduct of thos? who acted in

bad faith and with malice and engaged in

collusion among themselves and with the

Investigator to harm and destroy Petitioner. The

29?

Appeal Court stated on page 3 of it’s decision that

it would address these issues under Seavello v.

Deparment of Navy, 4 MSPB 239, 241(1980) but it

did not. Bachemin spoke with the Investigator and

the other employees acting with malice and in

collusion against Petitioner. Appendix N. The

Investigator went on to make findings, conclusions,

opinions, and recommendations against Petitioner,

including the recommendation of his removal. The

fabrications by Bachemin against Petitioner

because her promotion position description was in

issue and her influencing others against Petitioner

was not cured by tive AJ stating that the Board was

not using her statement. The vine had already

been poisoned. The Misconduct Investigator

Coordinator, became upset with Petitioner when

he would not sign the fraudulent position

description for Bachemin. She ordered the

investigation of Petitioner for a period of over 40

years, a time period exceeding his Federal

employment, and with requirements of personal

opinions, conclusions, and recommendations,

including the recommendation of Petitioner's

removal, all violations of the Agency's procedural

guidelines. Appendix E. A prohibited personnel

practice was committed against petitioner.

Kushindana threatened to cause problems for

Petitioner if J. Nguyen was impacted by the RIF

rather than M. Nguyen and on August 3, 2005,

threatened to run Petitioner off since it did not

appear he was going to leave. Appendix H. The

Bourd and Appeal Court overlooked the law in

Seavello v. Department of Navy, supra, wherein

30

charges based upon conduct that occurred two

years prior were brought to the agency's attention

in an untimely fashion by an emplc yee who knew

of the conduct all along but choose to alert the

agency to it for personal reasons. The charges

were dismissed because there were serious issues

of credibility and because the Board found the

case against the appellant “imevocably tainted by

personal animus." Appendix A and C. The 3o0ard

and Appeai Court ignored the Psychological Stress

Evaluaror (Voice Lie Detector) tests of Petitioner

taken on April 8 and 13, 2006, without explanation

or reason, that included the threats made to harm

him. Appendix H. When the Board and Appeal

Court ignored this evidence of Petitioner, they

harmed him, inciuding the denial of his nght to fully

present his position and abridged his rignts under

the U.S. Constitution. It denied Petitioner Equal

Protection under the law and the U.S. Constitution.

Petitioner pointed out to the Agency, AJ, Board,

and Appeal Court that the Agency knew that

Kushindana was not being honest when she said

Petitioner had spoken to her when he was upset

about not getting a promotion to a GS-15 that he

applied for but was not selected by the Agency

and she asked him if he had thoughts about

retiring. This never took place; he never applied for

a GS-15 at the Agency to be upset about not

being selected. The agency did not have any

records they could produce or Petitioner applying

for a GS-15. It is inherently improbable that a

person would be expressing disappointment over

not being selected for a GS-15 at an organization

3]

when he never applied for a GS-15 there. In an

effort to harm Peiitioner, Kushindana went on to

testify that only Petitioner knew about her

conducting private business on Government time

and equipment. Kushindana alleged that

Petitioner would not take appropriate

management action against a contract employee

on allegation of sexual harassment. However,

when Petitioner reassigned a counseling case affer

Kushindana belatedly told him about comments

made to her by Gary Dukes, she filed a complaint

against Petitioner. Again, as to Kashindana

performing personal work, it is inherently

improbable Petitioner knew because he worked in

a differen suite o office from Kashindana.

The Appeal Court is in error on the law and facts

on the charge of failure to take appropriate

management action. On page 6 of the decision,

the Appeal Court found (Appendix A):

Ms. Byrne's affidavit stated that she !carned

of the contract employee's conduct from

another employee who Ms. Nguyen and Ms.

Kushindana had complained. Based on Ms.

Byrne's affidavit, we find fhat the Board's

conclusion that Mr. Lewis knew of _ the contract

employee's conduct before February 17 to

be supported by substantial evidence. We

therefore affirm the Board's holding with

respect to the second charge.

Byrne's affidavit was provided to the Appeal Court

32

by Respondent, pages 142-143 of their Appendix. A

careful reading of Byrne's affidavit will support a

finding that the findings are not supported by facts.

She has never stated that “another employee" told

her of Kushindana or that Kushindana

communicated any allegation of sexual

harassment to her. Petitioner's communication with

Byrne on the morning of February 17, 2005, that

included reporting J. Nguyen’s and Kushindana's

position on the contract empioyee rather than just

Nguyen's is the

only evidence of Kushindan's position being

conveyed to Byrne. See also Appendix K. The

Appeal Court stated something as fact that is not

in the record. Petitioner asked the Appeal Court to

review Byrne's affidavit in the face of the factual

error but they did not. Prior to February 17, 2005,

Petitioner had asked Nguyen if there were any

issues with the contract employee and she told

him no. Nguyen come to Petitioner once and

asked Petitioner why he did not get his haircut like

the contract employee. At that time Petitioner did

not know the identity of the contract employee.

There was no issue of sexual harassmeni with the

contract employee presented to Petitioner until the

morning of September 17, 2005. When Byrne called

on February 17, 2005, she clearly stated that she

was returning Petitioner's call on Nguyen,

Kushindana, and the contract employee. See

Appendix K.

The employment history of the employee and the

investigator's conduct should be considered in an

33

analysis of the penalty in this case. The Agency

Misconduct Investigator Coordinator, ordered an

investigation of Petitioner for a period of over 40

years without boundaries as to issues and USDA

procedural violations. Given the investigators

conduc}, including that of telling Petitioner upon

the opening of his interview that he should be

gone, and the gross procedural violations it is

Petitioner's position that the investigator was hired

to build a case for his removal. She was upset with

Petitioner for not signing a fraudulent position

description for Bachemin, a prohibited personnel

practice. Bachemin, along with other employees

who were upset with Petitioner over J. Nguyen

being impacted by the RIF rather than M. Nguyen,

orchestrated and encouraged the employees

against Petitioner. Cook ordered the investigation

in total violation of the procedures set forth in the

USDA procedure guidelines for misconduct

investigations, with the procedure guidelines

stating that failure to follow them could improperly

influence the decision-maker. Appendix E.

Petitioner, at the time of the investigation, had over

36 years of Federal service with an unblemished

disciplinary record, a near perfect performance

history record at the highest level with his last rating

being at the highest level, and having served 2

years in the U.S. Army by way of the draft during

the Vietnam War with an Honorable Discharge

and Letter of Appreciation from General William

Westmoreland for his war time service. He won

national awards for himself and the Agency. No

other EEO Manager camied the office and

34

programs to the level of achievement of Petitioner.

See Appendix F. No individual or tribunal has set

forth any analysis of their rational on finding

Petitioner not fit for employment after over 36 years

of basically perfect employment record as fo

performance and conduct. When it became clear

to Petitioner that Respondent and the particular

group of employees were determine to destroy

him, Petitioner sought and received favorable

consideration for employment by 2 other Federal

agencies. One agency offered Petitioner a

position and he accepted. However, one day

after the agency contacted Respondent, the offer

was withdrawn. When the other agency

contacted Respondent for a reference on

Petitioner, the agency stopped their process of

consideration. Respondent's desire to prevent

Petitioner from going on else where with his life and

to hold him within their grip so that they could not

just remove him but rather destroy him has fo be

considered when considering the reasonableness

of the penalty and motive. Respondent has never

set forth any position on why they harmed

Petitioner in his efforts to leave and go on with his

life. When the deciding official was asked why

Petitioner was investigated for over 40 years he

answered that he did not know.

Upon the Investigator, initial contact with Petitioner,

she told him thai, "you ought to be out of here,”

and that he should be retired before having his

position on any issue. Petitioner's rating was at fhe

Outstanding level, the highest rating possible. The

Investigator presented her (ROI) preliminary

findings to the deciding official on January 3, 2006.

She did not have Petitioner's affidavit until after

January 19, 2006.

In reviewing the penalty determination, the

Appeal Court overlooked points of law and facts.

In doing so, the Appeal Court, MSPB, and

Respondent violated Petitioner's Rights of Equal

Protection Under the Law, Due Process Rights, and

Fifth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution by taking

away his protected property interest in his

employment by the Respondent charging him with

unintentional/negligence and the MSPB and

Appeal Court sustaining the Respondent's findings

on the same basis and Respondent removing

Petitioner by applying the element of intent for the

same charges and the Appeal Court and MSPB

abusing their discretion by sustaining the Penalty of

removal by Respondent on the basis of intent. See

Edmound C. Broussard v. Department of Navy, 27

MSPR 382 (1985), (Appendix J) wherein the Agency

charged the Appellant with negligence but

improperly removed him based on the element of

intent. The Board and Appeal Court acknowledge

thaf Respondent never charged or proved the

element of intent against Petitioner yet they

approved his removal on that basis.

An employee with no prior disciplinary record,

gocd prior performance and job dedication

possesses good potential for rehabilitation.

Petitioner presented these and more. His

36

performance was almost always at the highest

level and his dedication to the job is supported by

the many awards won for the Agency, over 25

personal awards, the developing of the office to

the highest level of achievement ever, and over 36

years of Federal Service with no disciplinary record.

See Appendix F. Petitioner's personal development

was gained against the odds. He was restricted by

state action to attending a condemned school. He

never had a text book fhat had not expired unitil

he graduated from high school and made

personal purchases. All of his education was

gained while working.

The Board and the Appeal Cour have refused to

adaress the issue of prohibited personnel practice

of Petitioner refusal to sign the fraudulent position

description on Bachemin. Kushindana threatened

Petitioner including to run him off. See Appendix H.

Bachemin went fo the deciding official and sought

a promotion and Petitioner's removal. She got

both. Petitioner was administered 2 psychological

stress evaluator (voice lie detector) tests that

included the threats with the result being that he

was being truthful. Appendix H. The AJ, Board, and

Appeal Court ignored the test results and never

addressed them. When the Appeal Coun ignored

the tests results it harmed Petitioner, including the

denial of his rights to fully present his position and

abridged his rights under the U.S. Constitution. The

deciding official relied upon information in charges

that he stated he did not know when the alleged

misconduct suppose to have occured, that it

37

could have occurred five years ago or more.

Respondent violated its own procedural guidelines

on investigations which states that “the report

should tell a story of what happened, who was

involved, when and where it happened and why it

happened.” Yet he was willing to take away

everything that Petitioner had worked for as to

employment. The Board and appeal Court did not

properly review the agency's penalty selection to

assure that the Agency conscientiously and

properly considered the relevant factors in

choosing the penalty and striking a reasonable

and responsible balance within tolerable limits of

reasonableness. See also the table of penalties in

Appendix L. For arbitrary, invidious, and capricious

reasons the Appeal Court engaged in judicial

misconduct that was wrong and harmed Petitioner

as a citizen seeking a just and fair review of the

issues in his case. The Appeal Court wrongfully

considered Petitioner's eligibility for retirement. Due

to word limitation, Petitioner respectfully request

thai the Supreme Court read Appendix O for more

information on this judicial misconduct issue.

Petitioner never received a response or answer.

Conclusion

This petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted. The Appeal Court and Board have

decided important questions of federal law in

away that conflicts with relevant decisions of this

Court and failed to consider important questions of

federal law such as prohibited personal practices

38

and reprisal for failure to engage in such. The

Appeal Court has so far departed from the

accepted and usual course of judicial

proceedings as to call for an exercise of this

Count’s supervisory power, to include that of

judicial misconduct and the consideration of

Petitioners eligibility for retirement in reaching its

decision when such was not in issue.

spectfwily Supomifled,

Donald R. Lewis

Sele ee

39

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.