Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Larson v. United States (No. 08-114)

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Lo Mere, Cher ty

In the Supreme Court of the United States

MAJOR JOHN R. LARSON,

Petitioner

Ue

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Timothy M. Cox Shannon A. Bennett

Captain, U.S. Air Force Major, U.S. Air Force

Counsel of Record Air Force Appellate

Defense Division

112 Luke Ave, Ste 343

Bolling AFB, DC 20032

(202) 767-1562

QUESTION PRESENTED

In O'Connor v. Ortega, 480 U.S. 709 (1987), the

plurality and concurrence disagreed that the

reasonableness of a government employee's

expectation of privacy changes according to the

Government’s identity at the time of its intrusion.

Here, supervision could access’ Petitioner’s

password-protected work computer and monitor

his use. However, law enforcement agents

conducting a criminal investigation entered

Petitioner’s private, locked office and searched

his computer without a warrant. Is evidence

discovered in such a search admissible?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

py PS Ge ay 68 y Yt. re lv

EY ST OY 50050 ccsvascocecesenteseevessveseeges 1

inn sn shiek tridnevatartwckbecrenetenerases 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED .......................0. 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ........................0088 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT......... 5

I. CONTRARY TO THE COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ARMED FORCES, THE

FEDERAL CIRCUIT COURTS OF

APPEALS SUGGEST THAT THEY WILL

ENDORSE THE VIEW THAT THE LAW

ENFORCEMENT STATUS OF THE

INDIVIDUAL MAKING THE INTRUSION

IS RELEVANT TO A GOVERNMENT

EMPLOYEE'S EXPECTATION OF

FEES ap env ele ie CO oC RO 8

Il. THE GOVERNMENT AS EMPLOYER IS

DIFFERENT THAN THE GOVERNMENT

TEINS 5. cesacnsicannnystssicnsabeewens oeeine 10

A. Public employees can have private offices

and do lock their office doors................ 12

B. Mere access to a public employee's work

computer by a supervisor or technician

does not necessarily render an expectation

of privacy unreasonable..................... 12

C. Public employees use government-owned

property to conduct their work......... ae

D. Even if engaged in illegal conduct, a

government employee does not enjoy any

lesser expectation of privacy............... 15

E. Conclusion

CONCLUSION

APPENDIX

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Armed Forces (April 25, 2008)

Opinion of the United States Air Force Court of

Criminal Appeals (December 7, 2006)...... 22a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Constitutional Provisions

U3. CADINI ST « IN, BY onic evnsciccsciserecenienes passim

Supreme Court of the United States Cases

Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of the

Federal Bureau of Narcotics,

403 U.S. 388 (1971)

Burdeau v. McDowell,

256 U.S. 465 (1921)

Horton v. California,

496 U.S. 128 (1990)

Katz v. United States,

389 U.S. 347 (1967)

Mancusi v. DeForte,

392 U.S. 364 (1968)

McDonald v. United States,

335 U.S. 451 (1948)

National Treasury Employees Union v. Von Raab,

489 U.S. 656 (1989)

O'Connor v. Ortega,

480 U.S. 709 (1987)

Rakas v. Illinois,

439 U.S. 128 (1978)

United States v. Salvucci,

- 448 U.S. 83 (1980)

Walter v. United States,

447 U.S. 649 (1980)

Waters v. Churchill,

511 U.S. 661 (1994)

United States Court of Appeals Cases

Gossmeyer v. McDonald,

128 F.3d 481 (7th Cir. 1991)

Gudema v. Nassau County,

163 F.3d 717 (2d Cir. 1998)

Leveanthal v. Knapek,

266 F.3d 64 (2d Cir. 2001)

Murck v. Glenayre Electronics,

200 F.Se FEE CFE Cir. ZOO) ........2....0...cceceseesece 17

Reyes v. Maschmerer,

446 F.3d 1199 (11th Cir. 2006)

United States v. Gooch,

6 F.3d 673 (9th Cir. 1993)

United States v. Jones,

286 F.3d 1146 (9th Cir. 2002)

United States v. Larson,

66 M.J. 212 (C.A.A.F. 2008)

United States v. Larson,

64 M.J. 559 (A.F. Ct. Crim. App. 2006)

United States v. Long,

64 M.J. 57 (C.A.A.F 2006)

United States v. Slanina,

283 F.3d 670 (5th Cir. 2002) ............ 8, 12, 13, 17

United States v. Taketa,

923 F.2d 665 (9th Cir. 1991)

United States v. Thorn,

375 F.3d 679 (8th Cir. 2004)

United States v. Whaley,

779 F.2d 585 (11th Cir. 1986)

United States v. Ziegler,

474 F.3d 1184 (9th Cir. 2004)

vi

Vega -Rodriguez v. Puerto Rico Tel. Co.,

110 F.3d 174 (ist Cir. 1997)

United States Federal District Court Cases

Konopka v. Borough of Wyoming,

383 F. Supp. 2d 666 (M.D. Pa. 2005)

Rossi v. Town of Pelham,

35 F. Supp. 2d 58 (D.N.H. (1997)

Trujillo v. City of Ontario,

428 F. Supp. 2d 1094 (C.D. Cal. 2006)

Federal Statutes

10 U.S.C. § 867a(a)

28 U.S.C. § 1259

Miscellaneous

United States Census Bureau, 2002 Census of

Governments, Volume 3, Number 2, Compendium

of Public Employment: 2002 GC02(3) 2, U.S.

Government Printing Office, at 1 (September

United States General Accounting Office, General

Accounting Office: Employee Privacy: Computer-

Use Monitoring Practices and Polices of Selected

Companies, SEVENTH ANNUAL INTERNET LAW

INSTITUTE, at 1049, 1058 (PLI_ Patents,

Copyrights, Trademarks, and _ Literary Prop.

Course, Handbook Series No. 755, 2003) 6

vil

Will Thomas DeVries, Protecting Privacy in the

Digital Age, 18 BERKELEY TECH. LJ. 283, 294

(2003)

The Petitioner, Major John R._ Larson, |

respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to

review the order and judgment of te United States

Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces entered in

his case on April 25, 2008.

OPINIONS BELOW

The order and judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces, United

States v. Larson, 66 M.J. 212 (C.A.A.F. 2008), is

located at Appendix (App.) la. The order and

judgment of the United States Air Force Court of

Criminal Appeals, United States v. Larson, 64 M.J.

559 (A.F. Ct. Crim. App. 2006), is located at App.

22a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Armed Forces was entered on April

25, 2008. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1259(3) (2000) and 10 U.S.C. §

867a(a) (2000).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fourth Amendment to the United States

Constitution states:

The right of the people to be secure in their

persons, houses, papers, and effects, against

unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not

be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but

upon probable cause, supported by Oath or

2

affirmation, and particularly describing the

place to be searched, and the persons or

things to be seized.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In this case, the police conducted a warrantless

search of Petitioner's workplace computer that he

kept in his locked, private office and protected with a

password known only to him.

Petitioner, an Air Force officer, worked as a

satellite communications specialist at Schriever Air

Force Base (AFB) in Colorado Springs, Colorado. In

July 2002, the Colorado Springs Police Department

arrested him at a local mall, after an internet sting

operation identified him as a potential child sexual

predator. Following his arrest, the Air Force Office

of Special Investigations (AFOSI), which had

coordinated with the Colorado Springs Police

Department’s investigation and arrest, went to

Petitioner’s office and _ seized his workplace

computer, without a warrant. AFOSI subsequently

searched the computer, also without a warrant, and

found sexually explicit photographs and movies on it.

The computer was located in Petitioner’s private

office, reserved for his exclusive use during his

assignment at Schriever AFB. He was allowed to

and did lock the office in his absence. Thus, it was

locked at the time AFOSI arrived to seize his

computer. No one else had a key to his office except

the fire department and building manager. In fact,

AFOSI had to summon the fire department to open

Petitioner’s door to seize his computer even though

3

Petitioner's commanding officer was present at the

time of the seizure.

Additionally, Petitioner secured the computer

with a personal password known only to him. No

one else used his computer, although his

commanding officer and a network administrator

could access the computer and any files not protected

by a password if they so desired. The commanding

officer, however, had never done so _ during

Petitioner’s assignment. Furthermore, the evidence

did not suggest that the network administrator had

ever accessed Petitioner’s computer in his time at

Schriever AFB either.

To use his computer, Petitioner had_ to

acknowledge certain conditions listed in an on-

screen banner that appeared when he logged-on.

The banner stated that the computer was property of

the Department of Defense, was for official use and

not illegal activity, and was subject to monitoring.

The banner did not state that users were subject to

monitoring by law enforcement. Notwithstanding

this banner, Petitioner's commanding officer

permitted personal use of the government computers

so long as it did not interfere with the performance

of official duties.

Petitioner was charged with attempted carnal

knowledge with a minor, attempted indecent acts

with a minor, communicating indecent language,

using a facility or means of interstate commerce to

attempt to entice a minor to engage in sexual

activity, and violating a lawful general regulation

prohibiting the viewing of sexually explicit images

on a government computer. The latter charge was

4

based solely on the images found during the

warrantless search of his computer.

He moved to suppress the results of AFOSI’s

search prior to trial, asserting that the agents

required a warrant. The military judge denied the

motion. According to the military judge, the on-

screen banner, the network administrator’s ability to

access the computer, and the government’s

ownership of the computer precluded Petitioner from

having a reasonable expectation of privacy in the

computer. Thus, a warrant was unnecessary.

The Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals affirmed.

It held that since the evidence did not demonstrate

that Petitioner was even aware of the existence of

the files AFOSI discovered during its search, he

could not have entertained a subjective expectation

of privacy in them. Moreover, the court noted that

the computer automatically stored the files as part of

its operating system and the Petitioner would not be

taking the computer with him at the conclusion of

his assignment. As such, the court reasoned that

Petitioner could not expect the contents of the

computer to remain private. The Air Force Court

thus concluded that the military judge did not abuse

his discretion in denying Petitioner's motion to

suppress. App. 30a-3la.

The Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces

granted review of the case to consider AFOSI’s

warrantless search of Petitioner’s computer and

affirmed the Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals’

decision. App. la-2la. The court held that Military

Rule of Evidence 314(d) creates a “rebuttable

presumption” “that there is no_- reasonable

5

expectation of privacy in government property.” and

that Petitioner did not rebut the presumption. First,

the court faulted Petitioner for not testifying, thus

concluding that he failed to show a _ subjective

expectation of privacy. Regardless, “the access to

this computer by both [Petitioner’s] commander and

the system administrator” validated the

presumption against Petitioner’s expectation of

privacy. Furthermore, the court found that

Petitioner, by virtue of the on-screen banner, was on

notice that he could not use the computer for illegal

activity and that “there could be _ third-party

monitoring.” Accordingly, the court concluded that

Petitioner had no expectation of privacy in materials

on his government computer.

The lower courts did not discuss the fact that it

had been law enforcement agents rather than

Petitioner's supervisor who intruded into his

workplace computer.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This Court should grant this petition to resolve

the conflict between the plurality and concurring

opinions in O'Connor v. Ortega, 480 U.S. 709 (1987),

regarding public workplace searches, and more

specifically, a government employee’s expectation of

privacy in the government workplace. Answering

the question presented will impact this country’s

more than 21 million federal, state, and local

government employees as well as provide critical

guidance to countless law enforcement agencies. See

U.S. Census Bureau, 2002 Census of Governments,

Volume 3 Number 2. Compendium of Public

6

Employment: 2002 GC02(3)-2, U.S. Government

Printing Office, at 1 (September 2004).

The Ortega plurahty suggested that’ the

reasonableness of a government employee’s

expectation of privacy depends, in part, on the status

of the Government at the time of the intrusion, 1.e.,

whether the Government is acting as employer or as

sovereign. Jd. at 717. Justice Scalia’s concurring

opinion disagreed, asserting instead that “[tlhe

identity of the searcher (police v. employer) is [not]

relevant []) to whether Fourth Amendment

protections apply.” Jd (Scalia, J., concurring).

Moreover, he feared that the plurality’s decision

failed to provide “police officers” with a “clue” as to

how to assess a public employee’s expectation of

privacy in the Government workplace. Jd. at 729

(Scalia, J., concurring).

Ortega specifically addressed a _ work-related

intrusion by the Government as employer and not a

criminal investigation conducted by the police. See

id. at 723. With the increasing ubiquity of

computers and other technology in the workplace

comes a need for a “clue” in such investigations. Cf

United States General Accounting Office, General

Accounting Office: Employee Privacy: Computer-Use

Monitoring Practices and Polices of Selected

Companies, SEVENTH ANNUAL INTERNET LAW

INSTITUTE, at 1049, 1058 (PLI _ Patents,

Copyrights, Trademarks, and Literary Prop. Course,

Handbook Series No. 755, 2003) (noting increase of

computers in the workplace from eighteen percent in

1998 to almost forty-two percent in 2001). As one

commentator has written, the “digital age has

7

changed crime and criminal investigation.” Will

Thomas DeVries, Protecting Privacy in the Digital

Age, 18 BERKELEY TECH. L.J. 283, 294 (2003).

The Eleventh Circuit has just recently expressed

concern that the Fourth Amendment’s application in

the government workplace is “unclear.” Heyes v.

Maschmerer, 446 F.3d 1199, 1203 (11th Cir. 2006).

Proving this point, the Court of Appeals for the

Armed Forces in this case did not attach any

significance to the fact that AFOSI and not

Petitioner’s commanding officer conducted the

search of the computer. The other federal appellate

courts likely would have. None has squarely decided

the question presented here, but their discussions of

Ortega indicate support for the view that a

government employee’s expectation of privacy does

depend on the status of the Government at the time

of the intrusion. See, e.g., Vega-Rodriguez v. Puerto

Rico Tel. Co., 110 F.3d 174, 180 Gist Cir. 1997);

Gudema v. Nassau County, 163 F.3d 717, 722 (2d

Cir. 1998); Gossmeyer v. McDonald, 128 F.3d 481

(7th Cir. 1997); Unrted States v. Thorn, 375 F.3d 679

(8th Cir. 2004), vacated on other grounds, 543 US.

1112 (2005); United States v. Jones, 286 F.3d 1146

(9th Cir. 2002): Reyes, 446 F.3d 1199.

Petitioner’s work environment was hardly unique.

Like Petitioner, many of the millions of government

employees in this country certainly have private

offices, enjoy the ability to lock their offices when not

there, and use password-protected computers owned

by the Government they know supervision can

monitor. The question presented by this case is thus

timely, relevant, and appropriate to make what is

8

“unclear” clear. Granting this petition will eliminate

what the Fifth Circuit has characterized as a “need

to tread lightly in this relatively new area of Fourth

Amendment jurisprudence.” United States v.

Slanina, 283 F.3d 670, 680 n.8 (5th Cir. 2002),

vacated on other grounds by 537 U.S. 802 (2002).

I.

CONTRARY TO THE COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE ARMED

FORCES, THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

COURTS OF APPEALS SUGGEST

THAT THEY WILL ENDORSE THE

VIEW THAT THE LAW

ENFORCEMENT STATUS OF THE

INDIVIDUAL MAKING THE

INTRUSION IS RELEVANT TO A

GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE’S

EXPECTATION OF PRIVACY.

The lower court never discussed the significance,

if any, of AFOSI agents’ law enforcement status or

their criminal investigation on Petitioner’s

expectation of privacy in his computer. By failing to

do so, the Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces has

implicitly adopted an approach that conflicts with

that of other federal appellate courts. Although they

have not decided the precise question presented,

other federal courts have shown that’ the

Government’s status at the time of a workplace

intrusion is relevant to the question of a government

employee’s expectation of privacy.

For example, the Ninth Circuit recognized “a less

heightened standard of review for public employer

9

searches” than for police searches. See United

States v. Jones, 286 F.3d 1146, 1150 (9th Cir. 2002).

The Second Circuit has explained that “neither a

warrant nor probable cause is required when a

government entity conducts a reasonable search

acting in its capacity as employer rather than law

enforcer.” Gudema v. Nassau County, 163 F.3d 717,

722 (2d Cir. 1998). The Seventh Circuit apparently

will require a warrant when law enforcement

conducting a criminal investigation, as opposed to an

internal misconduct inquiry conducted by

supervision, searches a government employee’s

workplace. See Gossmeyer v. McDonald, 128 F.3d

481, 492 (7th Cir. 1997) (moting that the “presence of

so many [law enforcement] officials . . . did not

transform an agency’s work-related search into a

criminal search requiring probable cause and a

warrant”). Similarly, the Eighth Circuit, in United

States v. Thorn, 375 F.3d 679, 685 (8th Cir. 2004),

vacated on other grounds, 543 U.S. 1112 (2005),

upheld a warrantless, work-related search because

“alt no time did the agency’s investigation into

Thorn’s work-related misconduct devolve into a de

facto criminal investigation that should have been

conducted pursuant to a warrant.” The First Circuit

observed that the “precise extent of an employee's

expectation of privacy often turns on the nature of

an intended intrusion,” implying that a reasonable

expectation of privacy exists against a criminal

investigation but not necessarily as to a work-related

intrusion. See Vega-Rodriguez v. Puerto Rico Tel.

Co., 110 F.3d 174, 180 (ist Cir. 1997). Finally, the

Eleventh Circuit in Reyes, 446 F.3d at 1204 n.i,

noted that it would “distinguish between the

10

government as law enforcer and government as

employer’ to resolve a 42 U.S.C. § 1983 claim, thus

demonstrating the relevance of law enforcement’s

involvement in a workplace intrusion.

Even more directly, a United States District Court

ruled in Konopka v. Borough of Wyoming, 383 F.

Supp. 2d 666, 679 (M.D. Pa. 2005), that a

government employee had a reasonable expectation

of privacy because “a law enforcement official .. .

committed the intrusion.”

Granting review of this case will enable this Court

to establish uniformity of the law impacting over 21

million government employees and will directly

affect law enforcement’s ability to conduct criminal

investigations in the government workplace.

IT.

THE GOVERNMENT AS EMPLOYER

IS DIFFERENT THAN THE

GOVERNMENT AS SOVEREIGN.

When acting as an employer, the Government may

need to make “reasonable intrusions” to ensure the

proper and efficient work of the Government.

Ortega, 480 U.S. at 724. But law enforcement’s “job

is the detection of crime and the arrest of criminals.”

McDonald v. United States, 335 U.S. 451, 455-56

(1948). The two identities of the Government are

different with different interests and priorities.

In Mancusi v. DeForte, 392 U.S. 364, 369 (1968),

this Court suggested that an employee in the private

sector can enjoy a reasonable expectation of privacy

vis-a-vis law enforcement even if not vis-a-vis his

11

supervisor. If true, then a government employee

should have the same expectations. See Ortega, 480

U.S. at 731 (Scalia, J., concurring).

This Court has already established that public

employees have a “diminished expectation of privacy

with respect to office privacy.” National Treasury

Employees Union v. Von Raab, 489 U.S. 656, 671

(1989). When it comes to law enforcement, however,

it cannot be forgotten that although the Fourth

Amendment limits governmental conduct, see

Walter v. United States, 447 U.S. 649, 656 (1980), its

“origin and history clearly show that it was intended

as a restraint upon the activities of sovereign

authority,” Burdeau v. McDowell, 256 U.S. 465, 475

(1921). Indeed, “[a] citizen’s expectation of privacy

against unreasonable government intrusions is at its

most robust when the intruder is a police officer.”

Rossi v. Town of Pelham, 35 F. Supp. 2d 58, 67

(D.N.H. 1997) (citing Bivens v. Six Unknown Named

Agents of Federal Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388,

394 (1971)). Thus, because of the differences

between the Government as employer and the

Government as sovereign, this Court has always

“assumed” that “the government as employer... has

far broader powers than does the government as

sovereign.” Waters v. CAurchill, 511 U.S. 661, 671

(1994) (plurality opinion).

Accordingly, the factors the lower court identified

in this case as to why Petitioner did not have a

reasonable expectation of privacy take on an entirely

different hght. While they might conceivably

militate against an expectation of privacy vis-a-vis

Petitioner’s Government employer, they do evince a

12

privacy interest “too precious to entrust to the

discretion of those whose job js the detection of crime

and the arrest of criminals.” McDonald, 335 U.S. at

455-56.

A. Pubhc employees can have private offices and

do lock their office doors.

Many public employees have private offices they

are able to lock. An employee who essentially has

exclusive use of an office and the ability to lock his

door when absent evinces a subjective expectation of

privacy. See, e.g., United States v. Ziegler, 474 F.3d

1184, 1190 (9th Cir. 2007); S/anina, 283 F.3d at 676

(finding government employee showed a subjective

expectation of privacy because “he had closed and

locked the door to his office”). And under such

circumstances, society would be prepared to accept

that expectation of privacy, at least with respect to

law enforcement, as reasonable. See Mancusi, 392

U.S. at 369. A supervisor or building manager in

possession of a master key does not destroy this

expectation. Otherwise, the existence of such a key

would overcome the legitimate privacy interest of

any hotel, office, or apartment occupant. United

States v. Taketa, 923 F.2d 665, 672-73 (9th Cir.

1991).

B. Mere access to a public employee’s work

computer by a supervisor or technician does

not necessarily render an expectation of

privacy unreasonable.

While the lower court also noted Petitioner did not

have a reasonable expectation of privacy because of

13

his supervisor's and the network administrator’s

ability to access to the computer, the evidence did

not demonstrate that the supervisor’ or

administrator ever did access the computer. More

importantly, the lower court did not claim that any

such access made Petitioner’s computer “so open to

fellow employees or the public that no expectation of

privacy [was] reasonable.” Ortega, 480 U.S. at 718.

Indeed, even some access by an employer, co-worker,

or supervisor docs not make an_ employee’s

expectation of privacy unreasonable. See Slanina,

283 F.3d at 676 (explaining that the ability of a

select few of the defendant’s co-workers to access his

office did not defeat his reasonable expectation of

privacy); Leventhal v. Knapek, 266 F.3d 64, 74 (2d

Cir. 2001) (finding that government employee’s

expectation of privacy was reasonable as _ state

agency's access to computer did not appear to be

frequent, widespread, or extensive); Taketa, 923

F.2d at 672-73 (rejecting argument government

employee lacked a reasonable expectation of privacy

because regulation authorizing inspection had not

been enforced). Whatever such access has on an

employee’s expectation of privacy vis-a-vis his

employer is a different question than the expectation

vis-a-vis law enforcement. The Government-

employer might access the workplace to retrieve a

document or file to effectuate the Government’s

business. That is a far cry from law enforcement

retrieving a document or file as evidence of criminal

activity.

14

C. Public employees use government-owned

property to conduct their work.

The lower court began its analysis in Petitioner’s

case by noting that the Government owned the

computer that AFOSI searched. The lower court

overemphasized the Government’s property interest

in the computer, and Petitioner’s lack thereof. This

Court has countenanced that privacy interests

protected by the Fourth Amendment do not turn on

ownership. See, e. g., Rakas v. Illinois, 439 U.S. 128,

143 (1978) (stating that the “protection of the Fourth

Amendment depends not upon a property rnght in

the invaded place but upon whether the person who

claims the protection of the Amendment has a

legitimate expectation of privacy in the invaded

place"); Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347, 353

(1967) (deciding that the Fourth Amendment

protects people and not simply “areas”); United

States v. Salvucci, 448 U.S. 83, 93 (1980) (observing

that this Court “must... engage in a conscientious

effort to apply the Fourth Amendment by asking not

merely whether the defendant had a_ possessory

interest in the items seized, but whether he had an

expectation of privacy in the area_ searched.”).

Following the lower courts reasoning, no

government employee could claim a_ reasonable

expectation of privacy in government-owned

property in the workplace even if the employee

enjoyed essentially exclusive use of the property.

Ortega’s recognition of an expectation of privacy in

the government workplace consequently becomes

illusory.

15

D. Even if engaged in illegal conduct, a

government employee does not enjoy any

lesser expectation of privacy.

Finally, the lower court cited the log-on banner as

a circumstance negating Petitioner’s reasonable

expectation of privacy. Although the banner warned

the user that illegal use of the computer was

prohibited, such a warning does not effect a person’s

expectation of privacy. Otherwise, doing something

one is not supposed to do would give law

enforcement license to search and seize as it pleased.

This is not the law. As this Court recognized in

Horton v. California, 496 U.S. 128, 137 n.7 (1990),

“even where the object is contraband, this Court has

repeatedly stated and enforced the basic rule that

the police may not enter and make a warrantless

seizure.” Were it not for that basic rule, “no

lawbreaker would have a subjective expectation of

privacy in any place because the expectation of

arrest is always imminent.” United States v. Gooch,

6 F.3d 673 (9th Cir. 1993); see also United States v.

Whaley, 779 F.2d 585, 590 n.8 (11th Cir. 1986)

(noting that “a person [] engaged in criminal conduct

within his home does not, standing aione, destroy a

homeowner’s expectation of privacy”).

Similarly, while the banner put Petitioner on

notice that his use was subject to monitoring, it did

not suggest that the monitoring was for a law

enforcement purpose. Employers undoubtedly may

wish to monitor their employees’ use of a computer

as a means to discover work-related employee

misfeasance, but that is a “substantially different”

16

intrusion than law enforcement seeking to detect

criminal activity.

E. Conclusion

If a government employee's “expectation of privacy

must be assessed in the context of the employment

relation,” Ortega, 480 U.S. at 717, then the

Government’s status at the time of the intrusion

becomes significant. In situations like Petitioner's,

the police do not have an employment relationship

with the individuals that it searches. Accordingly,

what might be permissible for the Government as

employer might not for the Government as law

enforcement. Cf Churchill, 511 U.S. at 671. In fact,

the Government’s status may very well be

determinative. See Ortega, 480 U.S. at 729 (Scalia,

J., concurring). Supervisors and law enforcement, as

do the courts, need to know.

Petitioner’s military status does not affect the

analysis. His workplace was not a hangar, bunker,

or tent in a combat zone, see United States v. Long,

64 M.J. 57, 62 (C.A.A.F. 2006), but rather had all the

trappings associated with a civilian government

employee’s private office. And, his military

commander, whose has more authority and power

than a civilian counterpart, see id., did not conduct

the search — law enforcement did. The Court of

Appeals for the Armed Forces did not identify any

uniquely military interest justifying its conclusion

that Petitioner lacked a reasonable expectation of

privacy. Indeed, its analysis compels the conclusion

that the Colorado Springs Police Department, a law

enforcement agency not associated with the military,

17

would not have required a warrant to search

Petitioner's computer either.

In sum, many government employees are similarly

situated as Petitioner. They work in offices in which

co-workers and supervisors enter, even frequently.

They work on government-owned computers that the

employees know supervision can monitor. Cf Muzick

v. Glenayre Electronics, 280 F.3d 741, 743 (7th Cir.

2002) (noting that “the abuse of access to workplace

computers is so common... that reserving a right of

inspection is so far from being unreasonable that the

failure to do so might well be thought irresponsible”).

Thus, the different interests the Government has as

employer as compared to when it acts as law

enforcement raise the important, unanswered

question of whether “the nature of the

[Government’s}] intrusion can affect whether a

person has a reasonable expectation of privacy [such

that] a person may not have such an expectation

from one type of search, [but] he or she reasonably

may expect privacy with respect to another.” Trujr/lo

v. City of Ontario, 428 F. Supp. 2d 1094, 1103 (C.D.

Cal. 2006).

CONCLUSION

This Court should grant certiorari to provide the

necessary guidance “in this relatively new area of

Fourth Amendment jurisprudence” so _ that

vovernment employees, their supervisors, the police,

and the courts need not “tread lightly.” See S/anina,

283 F.3d at 680 n.8. And in doing so, it will resolve

the competing plurality and concurring opinions in

18

Ortega and a probable split of authority among the

federal appellate courts.

For the foregoing reasons, Petitioner respectfully

requests that this Honorable Court grant his petition

for a writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

TIMOTHY M. COX

Captain, U.S. Air Force

Counsel of Record

SHANNON A. BENNETT

Major, U.S. Air Force

AF Legal Operations Agency

Appellate Defense Division

112 Luke Ave, Ste 343

Bolling AFB, DC 20332-8000

(202) 767-1562

Counsel for Petitioner

la

Appendix

UNITED STATES, Appellee

v.

John R. LARSON, Major,

U.S. Air Force, Appellant

UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE ARMED FORCES

66 M.J. 212

November 27, 2007, Argued

April 25, 2008, Decided

OPINION BY: RYAN

OPINION

Judge RYAN delivered the opinion of the Court.

A general court-martial composed of officer

members convicted Appellant, contrary to his pleas,

of one specification each of attempted carnal!

knowledge and attempted indecent acts with a

minor, violations of Article 80, Uniform Code of

Military Justice (UCMJ), 10 U.S.C. § 880 (2000), one

specification of violating a lawful general regulation,

a violation of Article 92, UCMJ, 10 US.C. $ 892

(2000), and one specification each of communicating

indecent language and using a facility or means of

interstate commerce to attempt to entice a minor to

2a

engage in sexual activity, violations of Article 134,

UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 934 (2000).

The members sentenced Appellant to dismissal

from the service, confinement for nine years, and

forfeiture of all pay and allowances. The convening

authority approved the dismissal and forfeitures, but

reduced Appellant's confinement to six years. The

United States Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals

affirmed. United States v. Larson, 64 MJ. 559 (A.F.

Ct. Crim. App. 2006).

We granted review of the following issues:

I.

WHETHER THE AIR FORCE COURT

OF CRIMINAL APPEALS ERRED IN

HOLDING THAT APPELLANT HAD NO

REASONABLE EXPECTATION OF

PRIVACY IN HIS GOVERNMENT

COMPUTER DESPITE THIS COURT'S

RULING IN UNITED STATES v. LONG,

64 MJ. 57 (CAA.F. 2006).

IT.

WHETHER THE APPELLANT WAS

DENIED THE EFFECTIVE

ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL

GUARANTEED BY THE SIXTH

AMENDMENT AND AATICLE 27,

UCM, WHEN HIS CIVILIAN DEFENSE

COUNSEL, IN HIS OPENING

STATEMENT, DURING FINDINGS,

AND AGAIN IN CLOSING ARGUMENT,

3a

CONCEDED THE APPELLANT'S GUILT

TO VARIOUS CHARGES AND

SPECIFICATIONS. !

1 65M ed. 253 (C.A.A.F. 2007).

After oral argument in November 2007,

Court specified the following related issues:

I.

IN THE MILITARY JUSTICE

SYSTEM, IS THE DECISION TO

CONCEDE GUILT TO ONE OF

MULTIPLE CHARGED OFFENSES

DURING ARGUMENT A _ TACTICAL

DECISION THAT COUNSEL MAY

MAKE WITHOUT OBTAINING

CONSENT OF THE ACCUSED? SEE

FLORIDA v. NIXON, 543 U.S. 175, 125 S.

Ct. 561, 160 L. Ed. 2d 565 (2004),

UNITED STATES v. CARE, 18 CMA.

535, 40 CMR. 247 (1969 UNITED

STATES v. BERTELSON, 3 MZ. 314

(C.M.A. 1977).

II.

ASSUMING, ARGUENDO, THAT

COUNSEL MAY CONCEDE GUILT AS A

TACTICAL MATTER AFTER

CONSULTATION BUT WITHOUT

CONSENT OF THE ACCUSED, DOES

THE RECORD IN THE PRESENT CASE

SUPPORT A CONCLUSION THAT

COUNSEL CONSULTED WITH

4a

APPELLANT PRIOR TO MAKING

SUCH A CONCESSION? IF NOT, WAS

THE FAILURE TO DO SO

PREJUDICIAL AS TO THE FINDINGS

OR SENTENCE? SEE STRICKLAND v.

WASHINGTON, 466 U.S. 668, 104 S. Ct.

2052, 80 L. Ed. 2d 674 (1984). 2

2 65 MU. 449 (CA.A.F. 2007)

For the reasons stated below, we affirm the

decision of the lower court.

I. Appellant's Motion to Suppress

A. Factual Background

Appellant used the government computer in his

military office to obtain sexually explicit material, to

include pornographic images and video, from the

Internet and to initiate instant message

conversations with "Kristin," someone he belheved to

be a fourteen-year-old girl. "Kristin" was actually a

civilian police detective working to catch online

sexual predators.

Civilian police and the Air Force Office of Special

Investigations (AFOSI) cooperated in the

investigation of Appellant. The police used a

proposed meeting between Appellant and "Kristin"

at a local mall as a sting operation. When Appellant

arrived at the mall at the time he had arranged with

"Kristin," the police arrested Appellant. While

conducting a search incident to arrest the police

discovered a receipt for a package of condoms

purchased just fifteen minutes earlier in Appellant's

5a

pocket. During a consensual search of Appellant's

car, police found a package of condoms and a book

entitled Sexaholics Anonymous.

After Appellant's arrest, AFOSI continued to

pursue its own investigation. Appellant's

commander, using a master key to the government

office occupied by Appellant, allowed AFOSI agents

to enter and to seize the government computer in the

office. A search of the computer's hard drive revealed

stored pornographic material, a web browser history

that showed Appellant visited pornographic websites

and engaged in sexually explicit chat sessions in his

office on his government computer, and other

electronic data implicating Appellant in the charged

offenses.

At trial, Appellant asserted that the warrantless

search of his government computer violated the

Fourth Amendment and that the evidence obtained

from it should be suppressed. The military judge

held an Article 39(a), UCMJ, 10 US.C. § 83Ha)

(2000), session to determine the admissibility of the

evidence. Based on the testimony elicited at the

Article 39(a), UCMJ, session the military judge

made initial findings of fact on the record and later

made detailed supplemental findings of fact.

The military judge found that Appellant was

assigned to a private office and haa a key to lock the

office, but other Air Force personnel, including the

fire department and the command's facility manager

also had keys to his office. The office contained a

government computer that was_ provided to

Appeliant to accomplish official business. The

6a

military judge found that Appellant could secure the

computer with a personal password, but a system

administrator could still access the computer. When

Appellant logged on to the computer, he was

required to click a button accepting conditions listed

in a banner, which stated that the computer was

Department of Defense property, was for official use,

and that he consented to monitoring. The military

judge found that, while Appellant "reasonably

understood that he was allowed to send personal e-

mail or visit the internet as long as it didn't interfere

with [his] duties," this did not change the fact that

the government owned the computer and had a right

to access it. This finding was largely based on the

testimony of Appellant's commander, who testified

that he could log onto Appellant's computer with his

own password and access all portions of the hard

drive unless Appellant had protected something with

his own password. Although the military judge did

not specifically reference the commander's access in

his findings, this testimony adds further support to

the military judge's ultimate ruling. Moreover, no

evidence was presented that any of the evidence

recovered from the hard drive was. password

protected.

In hght of these facts, the military judge ruled

that the Government had _ established by a

preponderance of the evidence that Appellant had no

reasonable expectation of privacy in the government

computer because the computer had a "consent to

monitoring" banner that had to be acknowledged

with each log on, the system administrator had

access to every part of the computer, including the

7a

hard drive, and the computer was government

property.

B. Fourth Amendment Analysis

We review the denial of a motion to suppress for

an abuse of discretion. United States v. Khamsouk,

57 M.J. 282, 286 (C_A.A.F. 2002). Findings of fact are

affirmed unless they are clearly erroneous;

conclusions of law are reviewed de novo. United

States v. Flores, 64 MJ. 451, 454 (CA.A.F. 2007)

(citing Khamsouk, 57 M.J. at 286). We consider the

evidence in the hight most favorable to the prevailing

party. United States v. Reister, 44 MJ. 409, 413

(C_A.A.F. 1996).

The military judge concluded that the

Government had carried its burden of establishing

that Appellant had no reasonable expectation of

privacy in the government computer. The lower

court agreed, and held that the military judge did

not abuse his discretion. Larson, 64 M.J. at 563. We

agree.

The Fourth Amendment of the Constitution

generally requires probable cause for searches of

places and things in which people have a reasonable

expectation of privacy. U.S. Const. amend. IV. In

addressing Fourth Amendment privacy claims, the

threshold issue is whether the person has a

legitimate expectation of privacy in the invaded

place. Rakas v. Illinois, 439 U.S. 128, 143, 99 S. Ct.

421, 58 L. Ed. 2d 387 (1978). This inquiry invites a

court to address whether’ the individual had a

subjective expectation of prnvacy, and if so whether

8a

the subjective expectation of privacy is one that

society 1s prepared to accept as reasonable. Smith v.

Maryland, 442 U.S. 735, 740, 99 S. Ct. 2577, 61 L.

Ed. 2d 220 (1979), superseded by statute, Electronic

Communications Privacy Act of 1986, 148 U.S.C. §

3121(a) (2000) (prohibiting installation of a pen

register without a court order).

As the property searched here was a government

computer, Military Rule of Evidence (M.R.E.) 314(d),

which addresses the search of government property,

pertains. It states:

Government property may be searched

under this rule un/ess the person to whom

the property is issued or assigned has a

reasonable expectation of privacy therein

at the time of the search. Under normal]

circumstances, a person does not have a

reasonable expectation of privacy in

government property that is not issued for

personal use... .

Emphasis added. The discussion to this rule

recognizes that the presumption that there is no

reasonable expectation of privacy in government

property is rebuttable. Manua/ for Courts-Martiail,

United States, Analysis of the Military Rules of

Evidence app. 22 at A22-26 (2005 ed.). Whether

there is a reasonable expectation of privacy in

government property is determined under that

totality of the circumstances, which includes the

rebuttable presumption. See, eg, Samson v.

California, 547 U_S. 843, 848, 126 S. Ct. 2193, 165 L.

Ed. 2d 250 (2006), M.R.E. 314(d).

Ya

In this case, based on the _ totality of

circumstances presented including the _ factors

identified below, Appellant fails to rebut and

overcome the presumption that he had no reasonable

expectation of privacy in the government computer

provided to him for official use. M.R.E. 314(d). There

is no evidence Appellant had a subjective expectation

of privacy in the government computer, and he did

not testify that he did. See Flores, 64 MJ. at 454

(factoring into the reasonable expectation of privacy

analysis the fact that the accused did not testify on

the motion to suppress). Moreover the access to this

computer by both Appellant’s commander and the

system administrator supports the validity of the

presumption that he had no reasonable expectation

of privacy in the government computer.

Finally, the mihtary judge found as fact that

when Appellant used the computer "a banner

appeared that stateld] that it was a DOD computer,

it [was] for official use, not to be used for illegal

activity. And that] [ilt also had a statement that

users of the computer consent to monitoring." This

factual finding is supported by the record, is not

clearly erroncous and, taking the facts in the light

most favorable to the prevailing party, establishes

both that Appellant was put on notice that the

computer was not to be used for illegal activity and

that there could be third-party monitoring.

Appellant argues that this case is controlled by

this Court's decision in United States v. Long, 64

M.S. 57 (CA.A.F. 2006), which he claims establ'shes

that he had a reasonable expectation of privacy in

his government computer. That reliance is

10a

misplaced. We made clear in Long that our decision

was rooted in the "particular facts of that case, [and]

we concludeld] that the lower court was not clearly

erroneous in its determination that Appellee had a

subjective expectation of privacy in the e-mails she

sent from her office computer and in the e-mails that

were stored on the government server." /d. at 63.

The present case is factually distinguishable from

Long. Long rested in large part on the testimony of

the command's. network administrator: "the

testimony of the network administrator las to the

agency practice of recognizing the privacy interests

of users in their e-mail] is the most compelling

evidence supporting the notion that Appellee had a

subjective expectation of privacy." /d.

Here, unlike in Long, Appellant presented no

evidence that he enjoyed an expectation of privacy in

materials on his government computer. And, unlike

in Long, the testimony of Appellant's commander

and the military judge's findings of fact established

both monitoring of and command access to the

government computer.

Long does not control the decision here, and we

agree with the CCA that the military judge did not

abuse his discretion in concluding that Appellant

had no expectation of privacy in the government

computer. Larson, 64 M.J. at 563.

II. Appellant's Ineffective Assistance of Counsel

Claim

A. Factual Background

lia

As the trial on the merits began, the military

judge instructed the panel that "the opening

statements are the views of what both counsel

believe the evidence will show you. The opening

statements are not evidence in and of themselves."

Included in Appellant's civilian defense counsel's

opening statement to the members were the

following comments about Appellant's use of his

government computer:

You're going to see that Major Larson

was employed and used his computer in

an inappropriate fashion. There's no

question about that. That's not going to be

an issue in this case. It's going to be

conceded. Major Larson took his computer

and used it inappropriately.

You're going to hear that there is a

regulation or rule that you are not to use

your computer for particular purposes... .

[I]t's mot going to be the defense

contention in this case that Major Larson

-- that it was ever intended for Major

Larson to get on the computer and start

going into. profiles and _é contacting

individuals in chat rooms, and profiles,

and downloading photos. .. . [T]hat is not

going to be an issue in this case.

Civilian defense counsel ended his’ opening

statement in a similar ve.n:

But, when it gets down to the truth of

this case -- and I'm not going to get up

12a

here and try to represent something to

you that's not true -- Major Larson is

guilty of misusing his computer because it

was never anticipated by [Appellant's

superiors] that he was to use _ that

computer for those reasons. It wasn't, and

he shouldn't have done that .... But, he

certainly never attempted to do what

they're claiming he did. And we're going

to ask you at the conclusion of this case to

find him not guilty of those charges and

specifications.

As civilian defense counsel concluded his opening

statement, the military judge again instructed the

panel that “opening statements of both sides are

simply their views and they are not evidence in and

of themselves."

As the case approached its conclusion, and before

closing arguments, the military judge repeated his

instruction about the relationship of arguments and

evidence in the case:

You will hear an exposition of the facts

by counsel for both sides as they view

them. Bear in mind that the arguments of

counsel are not evidence. Argument is

made by counsel to assist you in

understanding and_ evaluating the

evidence, but you must make the

determination of the issues in the case on

the evidence as you remember it and

apply the law as I instruct you.

l3a

In closing argument, civilian defense counsel

argued, as relevant to the granted issues:

In this case, Major Larson is presumed

innocent. It's hard to think of innocence

and the concept of being presumptively

innocent or free of any guilt after you've

had an opportunity to view some of [the}

things that you see in this case. The

despicable photographs, the downloaded

pictures, some of the chats, the indecent

language that was communicated, but the

fact is, is that presumption of innocence is

there and remains there, unless the

prosecution proves every element of every

charge beyond a reasonable doubt.

. . Major Larson has a problem in

viewing sexually explicit materials.

There's no question about that.

I said to you in the opening that he

violated -- he did not obey a lawful order

and that's viewing sexually explicit

material over the internet.

... There are a lot of things that I've

forgotten and there are a lot of issues that

1 won't necessarily raise and bring up and

for that I'm sorry. And I apologize to my

chent if I forgot to mention things that

are important, certainly, that you might

l4a

feel they're important. But I know that

each and every one [of] you are dedicated,

your service here and I know that each

one of you believe that it in order to do

this job right, in order to make sure that

this officer, and yes, an officer that made

bad choices and bad decisions, and he

disobeyed his lawful orders, and certainly

communicated indecent language and he

did things, and thinking this was in the

privacy of his own office, but certainly

took advantage of that and brought, I

think, discredit upon the service, you

know, a disreputable situation and for

that I'm sure you can -- you know that

this man is embarrassed and sorry for

that.

Appellant's civilian counsel's argument, both in

opening and closing, stressed that he did not contest

the fact that Appellant improperly used a

government computer. Appellant filed an affidavit

with the CCA asserting that his civilian defense

counsel did not consult him before making the

decision to not contest that charge, and that this

failure to consult amounted to a violation of his

Sixth Amendment right to counsel. Appellant

claimed that the arguments caused him to rule out

the option of testifying.

That court ordered trial defense counsel to

answer four specific questions, one of which was

what specific discussions occurred between trial

defense counsel and Appellant regarding concessions

of fact concerning Appellant's guilt. Counsel

15a

responded to the CCA's order, but did not answer the

question.

Puzzlingly, the CCA accepted trial defense

counsel's non-response and proceeded to determine

that Appellant's counsel was not constitutionally

deficient. Larson, 64 MJ. 564. Relying on an

affidavit of civilian defense counsel that averred that

the defense team concluded that there was no

plausible defense to the Article 92, UCM, offense of

wrongfully viewing sexually explicit images on the

government computer, the lower court reasoned it

would not “second-guess such tactical decisions made

to seize and retain’ credibility with the members,

particularly when, as here, the trial] defense team's

efforts are directed toward minimizing their clients

punitive exposure." Larson, 64 MJ. at 568.

B. Sixth Amendment Analysis

2.

Defense counsel “undoubtedly has a duty to

consult with the client regarding ‘important

decisions,’ including questions of overarching

defense strategy." Florida v. Nixon, 543 U.S. 178,

187, 125 S. Ct. 551, 160 L. Ed. 2d 566 (2004) (citing

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 688, 104 S.

Ct. 2052, 80 L. Ed. 2d 674 (1984)), see also Pineo v.

State, 2006 ME 119, PP 12-16, 908 A.2d 632, 638-39

(applying Nixon in a non-capital case). Whether the

client must consent to the strategic decision made by

counsel before counsel may proceed is a different

question. See Taylor v. [lrnois, 484 U.S. 400, 417-18,

108 S. Ct. 646, 98 L. Ed. 2d 798 (1988) ("Although

16a

there are basic rights that the attorney cannot waive

without the _ fully informed and __ publicly

acknowledged consent of the client, the lawyer has --

and must have -- full authority to manage the

conduct of the trial.") (footnote omitted).

In Nixon, the Supreme Court determined that,

based on the facts of that case, an attorney who

consulted with his client need not acquire the

consent of the client before making the strategic

decision to concede some or all aspects of a crime at

trial in order to achieve an acceptable overarching

strategic goal as long as the defendant "retained the

rights accorded a defendant in a criniinal trial." 543

U.S. at 188. And federal courts have consistently

held that “conceding guilt to one count of a multi

count indictment to bolster the case for innocence on

the remaining counts is a valid trial strategy which,

by itself, does not rise to the level of deficient

performance." United States v. Holman, 314 F.3d

837, 840 (7th Cir. 2002) see also United States v.

Swanson, 943 F.2d 1070, 1075-76 (9th Cir. 1991)

(recognizing "that in some cases a trial attorney may

find it advantageous to his client's interests to

concede certain elements of an offense or his guilt of

one of several charges"); Clozza v. Murray, 913 F.2d

1092, 1100 (4th Cir. 1990) (holding that because

defense counsel's "remarks were largely attributable

to trial strategy, we cannot, in keeping with

Strickland, second-guess counsel's tactical choices"

to concede).

Nor is it true, as Appellant contends, that this

case falls outside of Mixon because trial defense

counsel's actions in this case foreclosed a contested

17a

trial on the charged offenses and were tantamount to

a confession. ? Just as in Nixon, the Government was

still required "to present during the guilt phase

competent, admissible evidence establishing the

essential elements of the crimes .. . charged . . . .[,]

the defense reserved the mght to cross-examine

witnesses... and... [did] endeavor . . . to exclude

prejudicial evidence." 543 U.S. at 188.

3 Nothing in United States v. Bertelson, 3

M.J. 314 (CMA. 1977), or United States v.

Care, 18 CMA. 535, 40 CM.R. 247 (1969,

dictates a different result. In this case there

was nothing analogous to a guilty plea or

confessional stipulation that might have

allowed the members to abdicate their duty to

find Appellant guilty of every element of each

of the charged offenses.

In this case, the Government presented evidence

on all charges, covered all charges in its opening and

closing argument, and the members were instructed

on each charged offense by the military judge.

Moreover, as noted by the military judge both before

and after argument, counsel's statements during

argument were not evidence; his statements did not

relieve the Government of its burden of proof, inject

new factual matters into the trial, or stand as the

legal equivalent of a confession.

4

If the evidence showed trial defense ceunsel had

at in-depth discussion with Appellant regarding

counsel's strategic choice, this might be a very

18a

different case. See Davenport v. Diguglielmo, 215 F-

App'x 175, 181 (3d Cir. 2007) (stating "“[t]he Court in

Nixon held ‘counsel's strategic choice is not impeded

by any blanket rule demanding the defendant's

exphcit consent’ as long as counsel informed the

defendant of the strategy before he proceeded and it

satisfied the Strickland standard" (quoting Nixon,

548 U.S. at 192). But the response requested, and

non-response accepted, at the lower court on the

question whether such consuitation took place do

not inform this Court as to what, if any, discussions

occurred, and if they did occur, what was said.

Therefore we will assume deficient performance of

counsel for failure to consult on the _ strategic

decision to concede guilt in argument to one of the

offenses charged and move on to determine whether

Appellant was prejudiced. See Strickland, 466 U.S.

at 697 (stating that a court may "dispose of an

ineffectiveness claim on the ground of lack of

sufficient prejudice"); United States v. McConnell, 55

MU. 479, 481 (CA.A.F. 2001) (stating the same).

Appellant argues that he was prejudiced by his

civilian defense counsel's decision to concede his

improper use of a government computer during

argument because it ensured a guilty verdict with

respect to the Article 92, UCMJ, charge and

effectively prevented him from taking the stand in

his own defense. Whether there was _ prejudice

depends on whether there is "“a_ rezsonable

probability that, absent the errors, the factfinder

would have had a reasonable doubt respecting guilt.”

United States v. Polk, 32 Md. 150, 153 (CMA.

1991) (citations and quotation marks omitted). The

19a

appeliant bears the burden of demonstrating that

"there is a reasonable ,yvobability that, but for

counsel's unprofessional errors, the result of the

proceeding would have been different." Strickland,

466 U_S. at 694.

Appellant has not met his burden. We are

convinced beyond a reasonable doubt there was no

prejudice and that there is no reasonable probability

that the factfinder would have had a reasonable

doubt respecting Appellant's guilt but for his civilian

defense counsel's’ error. Based on the evidence

adduced at trial there was no question that

Appellant had in fact attempted carnal knowledge

and indecent acts with a child, attempted to entice a

minor, violated an order regarding the use of his

government computer, and used indecent language.

First, the evidence supporting the charged

offenses was overwhelming. The _ prosecution

presented pornographic material taken from

Appellant's computer, sexually explicit chat sessions

between Appellant and an individual who said she

was underage, Appellant's online profile, which

included his picture, testimony that showed

Appellant was apprehended at a rendezvous based

on a meeting set up in the aforementioned chat

sessions, and evidence that Appellant had purchased

a package of condoms only fifteen minutes before

the meeting. Second, no plausible defense to the

Article 92, UCM, offense of wrongful use of a

computer or other offense has been raised by

Appellant. Relatedly, Appellant fails to tell us what

he would have testified to absent his counsel's

comments. Third, Aypellant does not argue that his

20a

defense at trial to the remaining charges -- that he

beheved he was actually talking to someone of a

more appropriate age -- was in any way undercut by

counsel's strategic choice. And finally, the military

judge instructed the members three times that the

arguments of counsel were not evidence.

While, post hoc, Appellant may wish that his

attorney had engaged in a "useless charade," United

States v. Cronic, 466 U.S. 648, 656 n.19, 104 S. Ct.

2039, 80 L. Ed. 2d 657 (1984), given the facts of this

case we conclude that there was no prejudice

stemming from the fact that he did not.

III. Decision

The decision of the United States Air Force Court

of Criminal] Appeals is affirmed.

CONCUR BY: EFFRON

CONCUR

EFFRON, Chief Judge (concurring):

With respect to Appellant's claim that counsel

was ineffective by conceding guilt in his opening

statement and closing argument as to a charge in a

case involving multiple offenses, I agree that any

error was not prejudicial under the second prong of

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 687, 104 S.

Ct. 2052, 80 L. Ed. 2d 674 (1984). The question of

whether, in the military justice system, the consent

of an accused is required prior to such a concession is

a matter that may be deferred until a case presents

a more clearly developed record on that issue. See

2la

Article 45(a), Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10

U.S.C. § 845(a) (2000), United States v. Honeycutt,

29 M.S. 416, 419 n.4 (CMA. 1990), United States v.

Haye, 29 M.J. 213, 215 (CMA. 1989), United States

v. Bertelson, 3 MJ. 314, 317 (C.MA. 1977), United

States v. Care, 18 CMA. 535, 538-39, 40 CMR.

247, 250-51 (1969; Rule for Courts-Martial (R.C.M.)

811(c); R.C.M. 906(b)(10); R.C.M. 910.

22a

UNITED STATES

Vv.

Major JOHN R. LARSON,

United States Air Force

UNITED STATES AIR FORCE

COURT OF CRIMINAL

APPEALS

64 M.J. 559

December 7, 2006, Decided

COUNSEL: For Appellant: Colonel Carlos L.

McDade, Colonel] Nikki A. Hall, Lieutenant Colonel

Mark R. Strickland, Major Sandra K. Whittington,

and Major Christopher S. Morgan.

For the United States: Colonel Cary F. Spencer,

Lieutenant Colonel Robert V. Combs, and Major Jin-

Hwa L. Frazier.

JUDGES: Before MOODY, MATHEWS, and

THOMPSON, Appellate Military Judges. Senior

Judge MOODY participated in this decision prior to

his retirement.

OPINION BY: MATHEWS

OPINION

OPINION OF THE COURT

MATHEWS, Judge:

23a

The appellant was convicted, contrary to his

pleas, of one specification each of attempted carnal

knowledge and attempted indecent acts with a

minor, both in violation of Article 80, UCMJ, J0

U.S.C. § 880, one specification of violating a lawful

general regulation, in violation of Article 92, UCMJ,

10 USC. § 892% and one specification each of

communicating indecent language and using a

facility or means of interstate commerce to attempt

to entice a minor to engage in sexual activity, ' both

in violation of Article 134, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 934. A

panel of officers sentenced the appellant to dismissal

from the service, confinement for 9 years, and

forfeiture of all pay and allowances. The convening

authority approved the dismissal and forfeitures, but

reduced the appellant's sentence to confinement

from 9 years to 6 years.

1 This offense, a violation of 148 US.C. §

2422(b), was charged under the "crimes and

offenses not capital" clause of Article 134,

UCMYJ, 10 U.S.C. § 934.

On appeal, the appellant assigns the following

errors: first, that the military judge erred by denying

a defense motion to suppress evidence seized from

the government computer assigned for’ the

appellant's use; second, that three of the

specifications were multiplicious; third, that his

trial defense counsel were ineffective; and finally,

that he was entrapped by the government. 2 We find

no error and affirm.

24a

2 This issue was raised by the appellant

pursuant to United States v. Grostefon, 12 M.J.

431 (C.M.A. 1982).

Background

The appellant, a 36-year-old married officer, was

a satellite communication specialist assigned to

Schriever Air Force Base (AFB) in Colorado Springs,

Colorado. At the time of the offenses, he was a

reservist on extended active duty, temporarily filling

in for another officer who was deployed. The office

assigned to the appellant was the same one

previously occupied by the deployed officer, and still

contained some of that officer's personal belongings.

The office contained a computer, which wa.

connected to the Internet, allowing the appellant to

avail himself of the wide variety of services available

there. This computer was programmed to display a

banner stating it was government equipment and

that users consented to monitoring.

One of the services accessed by the appellant was

an instant-messaging (IM) feature of a major

internet company. This particular IM service allows

users to select a user name and to input data about

themselves, including their real name, age, location,

gender, and hobbies. The appellant identified

himself as "Skeeler" and his location as Colorado

Springs. He included his true age on his profile, but

not his real name. He identified his sole hobby as

"Public sex."

On 10 July 2002, the appellant struck up a

conversation with "Kristin," another user of the

25a

same IM service. He quickly learned that Kristin

was 14 years old, lived in Colorado Springs, and, up

until recently, owned a pet hamster. After a few

minutes of further conversation, the appellant

steered the topic of discussion from rodents to sex.

He asked Kristin to send him a picture of herself,

and, on viewing it, told her she was a “hottie.” He

asked Kristin if she'd ever had sex; and when she

said no, he asked if she'd like to. He then asked if

she masturbated, confiding that he did so “often.”

Kristin ended the conversation a few minutes later.

A few days after meeting her online, the

appellant initiated another conversation with

Kristin. He asked if they could meet in person, and

suggested going to a nearby park where he claimed

they could have sex without being seen. Over the

course of the next week or so, the appellant urged

Kristin to masturbate and to touch her anus, to

describe those acts to him after the fact, and also to

describe various aspects of her anatomy to him. As

these discussions progressed, the appellant

repeatedly discussed his desire to engage in sexual

intercourse with Kristin, and asked if she would

perform oral sodomy on him and allow him to anally

sodomize her. Before they could meet in person,

however, the appellant apparently reconsidered,

writing "you know, as much as i'd [sid love to meet

you and hook up, i [sic] really don't think we should

since it is illegal and i [sic] could get arrested if

anyone ever found out..."

A little over an hour later, however, the appellant

had another change of heart: "you know i'm [sid

dying to hook up with you right?" He asked if Kristin

26a

could meet him immediately. When she told him no,

he suggested the following day and she agreed. In

response to her query “u [sicl mean we can stil [sic]

do it?" the appellant wrote, “you have to promise me

you won't tell anyone.” As fate would have it,

however, the appellant's duty schedule intervened,

and he was unable to meet with Kristin as planned.

He sent her an e-mail apologizing, and assuring her

that he would "still like to get together." After more

sexually explicit IM conversations, the appellant and

Kristin again made plans to meet at a fast-food

restaurant in a local mall. Afterward, they agreed,

they would go somewhere else and have sex.

This time, the appellant kept his appointment.

Upon arriving at the scheduled rendezvous point,

however, the appellant was promptly apprehended

by local police. It was only after his arrest that the

appellant learned "Kristin" was not actually a 14-

year-old girl, but was instead an undercover

Colorado Springs police officer who kept verbatim

copies of all the appellant's conversations with

"Kristin." In a search incident to the appellant's

arrest, the police discovered in the appellant's pocket

a receipt for a package of condoms purchased just 15

minutes prior to his arrest.

In the days following’ the appellant's

apprehension by the _ civilian. police, military

authorities were notified of what transpired and

began their own investigation. The appellant's

commander, using a master key to the government

office used by the appellant, allowed agents of the

Air Force Office of Special Investigations (AFOSD to

seize the government computer in that office. A

27a

search of the computer hard drive turned up data

files, stored automatically by the Microsoft Windows

operating system during the appellant's Internet

browsing sessions, indicating the appellant had used

the computer to search the Internet for sexually-

related material and obtain sexually-explicit images.

The Appellant's Trial

The appellant was represented at trial by

military defense counsel and two civilian defense

counsel, Mr. M and Mr. G. The defense team

promptly moved, inter alia, to suppress evidence

taken from the computer used by the appellant on

the grounds that the warrantless search of this

government equipment violated the appellant's

rights under the Fourth Amendment. * The military

judge denied that motion, and several others that

would have had the effect of dismissing all or parts

of the government's case, but granted several!

motions limiting the evidence that the government

could present at trial.

3 U.S. CONST. amend. IV.

The appellant pled not guilty to all Charges and

Specifications. In his opening statement to the

members, Mr. M offered the following view of the

appellant's use of his government computer:

You're going to see that Major Larson

was employed and used his computer in

an inappropriate fashion. There's no

question about that. That's not going to be

an issue in this case. It's going to be

28a

conceded. Major Larson took his computer

and used it inappropriately.

You're going to hear that there is a

regulation or rule that you are not to use

your government computer for particular

purposes. .. . [I]t's not going to be the

defense contention in this case that Major

Larson -- that it was ever intended for

Major Larson to get on the computer and

start going into profiles and contacting

individuals in chat rooms, and profiles,

and downloading photos. .. . [T]hat is not

going to be an issue in this case.

Mr. M concluded his opening statement in a

similar vein:

But, when it gets down to the truth of this case --

and I'm not going to get up here and try to represent

sumething to you that's not true -- Major Larson is

guilty of misusing his computer because it was never

anticipated by [the appellant's superiors] that he

was to use that computer for those reasons. It

wasn't, and he shouldn't have done that... . But, he

certainly never attempted to do what they're

claiming he did. And we're going to ask you at the

conclusion of this case to find him not guilty of those

charges and specifications.

The members found the appellant guilty of all

Charges and Specifications. Although they found the

appellant guilty of misusing his government

computer in violation of an Air Force instruction, the

members excepted some of the language from the

29a

Article 92, UCMd, specification, finding the

appellant not guilty of using the computer to view

sexually explicit movies.

Discussion

1. Search of the Government Computer

The appellant complains the military judge erred

by denying his motion to suppress evidence seized

from the computer in the government office assigned

to the appellant. We review the military judge's

decision for an abuse of discretion. United States v.

Rodriguez, 60 Md. 239, 246 (CA.A.F. 2004). In

determining whether the military judge abused his

discretion, we consider his findings of law de novo

and his findings of fact using a clearly erroneous

standard. United States v. Ayala, 43 M.J. 296, 298

(C_.A.A.F. 1995) (citing United States v. Cardenas, 9

F.3d 11389, 1147 (5th Cir. 1993).

The appellant's commander testified the purpose

of the government office, and of the government

computer, was to accord the person filling the

appellant's position a place and the means necessary

to conduct government business. The military judge

found that access to the office and to the computer,

while limited, was not restricted to the appellant,

but also extended to the appellant's commander and

various administrators and other personnel assigned

to the unit. One of those personnel, of course, would

be the deployed officer for whom the appellant was

filling in, whose personal belongings remained in the

office awaiting his return.

30a

This appears to us to be a case of first impression

in some respects. In military jurisprudence, the focus

of Fourth Amendment litigation involving computers

has primarily been on the expectation of privacy to

be afforded to e-mail: personal communications

between users, sent via computers using networks or

the Internet. See, e.g, United States v. Long, 64

MJ. 57 (CA.A.F. 2006); United States v. Monroe, 52

M.J. 326 (CA.A.F. 2000). The search of the

government computer here did not focus on such

communications. Instead, the AFOSI searched for

certain data files, created as part of the "normal

operating procedure" of the Microsoft Windows

operating system, which record the date, time, and

Internet address of web sites visited by the computer

user, as well as information about the user account

in use on the computer at the time the sites were

visited. * Such files are like a "documented history of

[the user's] travels on the Internet." United States v.

Romm, 455 F.3d 990, 994 n.5 (9th Cir. 2006).

4 The government expert testified that the

computer was logged in using the account

name and password for the user account

‘larsonyjr.'

The military judge concluded the appellant had

no expectation of privacy in the contents of the

computer. We find no abuse of discretion in his

ruling. There is no evidence the appellant was aware

the Internet history files existed, and we are

unconvinced the appellant could entertain a

subjective expectation of privacy in them without

such knowledge. Moreover, we conclude such an

expectation, even if it existed, would on these facts

3la

not be reasonable. The data in question was recorded

automatically, not for law enforcement purposes, but

as part of the computer's operating system. The

appellant could not expect to keep _ private

automatically-recorded data stored on government

property he would reasonably have known would be

turned over to another officer on that officer's return

from deployment. See, e.g., United States v. Conklin,

63 MJ. 333, 3837 (C_A.A.F. 2006 (finding only a

"limited" expectation of privacy in a government

computer in a government office); United States v.

Tanksley, 54 MJ. 169, 172 (CA.A.F. 2000)

overruled in part on other grounds by United States

v. Inong, 58 MJ. 460, 465 (C.A.A.F. 2003) (finding

"at best" a "reduced" expectation in_ personal

computer data kept in a governrent office). See a/so

United States v. Ziegler, 456 F.3d 1138 (9th Cir.

2006) (no expectation of privacy in employer-owned

computers; survey of federal cases). The military

judge did not err.

2. Multiplicity

The appellant contends his convictions under

Article 80, UCMJ, are multiplicious with the Article

134, UCMJ, offense under Title 18; or, in the

alternative, that they represent an unreasonable

multiplication of charges. We disagree.

As our superior appellate court recently noted, /8

U.S.C. § 2422(b/ represents Congress’ "clear choice to

criminalize persuasion and the attempt to persuade"

minors to engage in sexual activity, "not the

performance of the sexual acts themselves." United

States v. Brooks, 60 M.J. 495, 498 (C_A.A.F. 2005)

32a

(quoting United States v. Bailey, 228 F.3d 637, 639

(6th Cir. 2000)). This offense was completed by the

appellant's efforts to cajole "Kristin" to engage in sex

acts with him. The fact that the appellant later took

steps toward the actual commission of those acts is

immaterial.

The Article 80, UCMJ, offenses, however, did

require steps toward the completion oi the acts.

Those steps were not taken until several days after

the Title 18 offense was complete: the appellant

drove to the mall to meet with “Kristin,” purchased a

package of condoms and proceeded to the fast-food

restaurant to keep his rendezvous. Examining the

disparate elements of the Article 80, UCMd, offenses

and the Title 18 offense, as well as the distinct and

separate facts needed to establish the appellant's

guilt of each, we conclude the offenses are not

multiplicious. United States v. Teters, 37 M.J. 270,

376-77 (C.M.A. 1993). Furthermore, we see no

evidence of prosecutorial overreach in_ the

government's charging decision. > Cf United States

v. Quiroz, 55 MJ. 334, 338-39 (C_A.A.F. 2001). There

was no unreasonable multiplication of charges here.

5 The appellant was married at the time of

these offenses, yet the government did not elect

to charge him with the offense of attempted

adultery. We express no opinion on the

propriety of such a charge, but we are

persuaded by its omission that the government

exercised restraint in deciding what charges to

‘ring.

3. Ineffective Assistance of Counsel

33a

The appellant next complains that his counsel,

Mr. M, conceded his guilt during opening statement

and at other points during the tmal. These

concessions, the appellant claims, caused him to

"completely [rule] out the option of testifying" in his

own defense. As a consequence of his counsel's

conduct, the appellant questions "how much

preparation actually went into" his defense.

We analyze claims of ineffective assistance of

counsel under the framework established by the

Supreme Court in Strickland v. Washington, 466

U.S. 668, 104 S. Ct. 2052, 80 L. Ed. 2d 674 (1984).

Counsel are presumed to be competent. The

presumption of competence may be rebutted by a

showing of factual errors unreasonable under

prevailing professional norms. The appellant bears

the burden of establishing that his trial defense

counsel were ineffective. United States v. Garcia, 59

MJ. 447, 450 (CA.A.F. 2004) United States v.

McConnell, 55 M.J. 479, 482 (C_.A.A.F. 2001). lf the

conduct of the trial defense team is sufficiently

egregious that it results in "a total breakdown of the

adversarial process," no further showing of prejudice

is required. United States v. Hennis, 40 M.d. 868,

867 (A.F.CM.R. 1994 (citing United States v.

Cronic, 466 U.S. 648, 104 S. Ct. 2039, 80 L. Ed. 2d

657 (1984)). When the alleged lapse in judgment or

performance does not rise to this level, we test for

prejudice. Strickland, 466 U.S. at 687. See also

United States v. Polk, 32 MJ. 150, 152 (C.M.A.

1991).

Our review of the record leaves us unconvinced

that the appellant has carried his burden. Although

34a

Mr. M did concede elements of the Article 92, UCMJ,

offense, he told the members that the appellant

"certainly never attempted to do what they're

claiming he did," and urged them to find the

appellant not guilty on all of the Charges and

Specifications. The members clearly did not take Mr.

M's comments as a blanket concession of guilt.

Instead, they found the appellant guilty of the

Article 92, UCMJ, offense by exceptions, acquitting

him of some of the conduct alleged by the

government. Thus, we cannot say the adversarial

process was completely broken.

In fact, Mr. M and the other members of the

appellant's trial defense team conducted an

extraordinarily vigorous effort on the appellant's

behalf, making over a dozen motions, orally and in

writing, challenging every aspect of the

government's case. They even took the unusual step,

when a new military judge took over the case after a

lengthy recess in the proceedings, of asking the new

military judge to reconsider and reverse an adverse

ruling made by the original judge. Although

unsuccessful in most regards, they were able to win

the exclusion of some of the government's evidence.

There was no unconditional defense surrender, as

envisioned by Cronicand Hennis.

Nor do we find the defense counsel's conduct

deficient under Strickland and Polk. According to an

affidavit from Mr. M., provided by government

appellate counsel, the defense team concluded there

was no plausible defense to the Article 92, UCM,

charge. Analyzing the entire record, we are unable to

find fault with their analysis. The appellant's

35a

counsel further concluded that asserting a flimsy

defense on this charge -- the least serious of those

faced by the appellant -- would damage their ability

to plausibly maintain the appellant's innocence

against the more serious charges. We generally will

not second-guess such tactical decisions made to

seize and retain credibility with the members,

particularly when, as here, the trial defense team's

efforts are directed toward minimizing their client's

punitive exposure. United States v. Hansen, 36 M.d.

599, 611 (A.F-CM.R. 1992). The appellant's counsel

were not ineffective.

4. Entrapment

Finally, the appellant insists his conduct was the

product of entrapment by the government. For the

appellant to prevail, there must be evidence the

government agents -- here, the Colorado Springs

police -- induced the appellant's behavior, and that

the appellant was not otherwise predisposed to

commit the offenses. See Rule for Courts-Martial

916(g); United States v. Howell, 836 Mu. 354, 359

(CM.A. 1993). Inducement, in this context, means

more than merely providing the appellant the means

or opportunity to commit a crime, or deploying

artifice or stratagems such as pretending to be

someone other than a government agent. Only

“circumstances suggesting overreaching by [the]

government ... or any pressuring .. . of the

appellant to commit these offenses" will suffice.

Howell, 36 M.J.at 360.

Examining the record de novo, we find the

appellant was not entrapped. The Colorado Springs

36a

police officers who created the persona of 14-year-old

"Kristin" did nothing to pressure the appellant, nor

did they overreach. Indeed, it was the appellant who

sought out "Kristin" and initiated a conversation

with her, brought up the subject of sex, and asked

her to engage in sex with him. When she seemed

reluctant to engage in anal sex, or sex in a public

place as the appellant asked, he assured her that he

would stop if she wanted him to stop and that they

wouldn't be caught. The appellant specified the date

and time of their rendezvous, the place they would

meet, and even the clothes "Kristin" would wear. In

short, far from being pressured, the appellant was

firmly in the lead. Moreover, from the biographical

information he entered in his user profile to his

eager pursuit of "Kristin" in their IM conversations -

- telling her he "really, really" wanted to get together

with her and that he was "dying" to "hook up” for sex

-- the evidence as a whole shows appellant was

plainly acting on his own initiative and in

furtherance of his own predispositions. There simply

was no entrapment here. ®

6 We do not find it necessary to consider the

materials seized from the government

computer in_ resolving the question of

entrapment. Those materials, which included

dozens of user profiles of girls "Kristin's" age,

served to undermine the appellant's claims.

Because the appellant's proclivities were so

clearly displayed by his online conversations

with “Kristin,” however, exclusion of the seized

material would not have affected the result.

Conclusion

37a

The findings and sentence are correct in law and

fact, and no error prejudicial to the substantial

rights of the appellant occurred. Article 66(c),

UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 866(c), United States v. Reed, 54

M.J. 37, 41 (C_A.A.F. 2000). Accordingly, the findings

and sentence are

AFFIRMED.

Senior Judge MOODY participated in this decision

prior to his retirement.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.