Opposition Brief — Brunson v. Harris (No. 08-76)

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

NG a

NO. 08-76

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 2008

KAREN BRUNSON, SUPERINTENDENT

CLALLAM BAY CORRECTIONS CENTER

Petitioner,

VS.

Jerry L. Harris,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to

The United States Court of Appeals

For the Ninth Circuit

OPPOSITION TO PETITION

FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Shery! Gordon McCloud

LAW OFFICES OF SHERYL GORDON MCCLOUD

1301 Fifth Avenue, Suite 340)

Seattle, WA 98101-2605

(206) 224-8777

Counse! of Record

tor Jerry L. Harms

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a petitioner is entitled to equitable tolling of 28 U.S.C. §

2244(d)’s one-year time limit for filing his habeas corpus petition, for

relying upon then-controlling authority of Dictado v. DuCharme, 244 F.3d

724 (9" Cir. 2001) — which held that Washington successor post-conviction

petitions statutorily toll the time for filing - when Pace v. DiGuglielmo, 544

U.S. 408 (2005), overruled Dictado following that detrimental reliance?

ll

TABLE OF CONTENTS

oath Sans Si csc ponah wes dnc Caeasocbaelesouse ove

I a i ivcsscsa veseconbicovesscvsssncrosspeisivundeateairarneieOaen |

& SPVERVICW OF STATE COURT FRIAL, ......-cccecrcooscsocicsssons l

ea ON ERI csceisav ste arrinatrsesresneasincsanienancinaestslgonavvabashl 3

lil. STATE POST-CONVICTION PROCEEDINGS

AND FACTS RELEVANT TO EQUITABLE

SSN a eee aR SERN 3

fv. ite HABEAS CORPUS PETITION ................ccocssosssssososereeeses -

RR I Bos cnsan say noncovese ean sv ocevesnectenciercbbseubbeuensiinonnne 7

SIN WANE EMEPY UEIUS FEMS WERE anne. ccccccevcessesscesinrsoviorsonsovvanesanesveenetons 8

L. THERE IS NO CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS

OVER WHETHER THE TIME FOR FILING A

HABEAS PETITION UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 2244

CAN BE EQUITABLY TOLLED - ALL CIRCUITS

IE INET TE MANO ons eceveisccucsncce Siac SScsigwlbionemnenesasiiteaaded 8

ll. THERE IS NO CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS

OVER WHETHER FACTS SIMILAR TO THESE

JUSTIFY EQUITABLE TOLLING - ALL

eee PRES ERPR EEE CII. a cccivcossecticoseseecevernioedonnonse 9

lif} THIS CASE RESTS ON THE PECULIAR

CIRCUMSTANCE OF RELIANCE ON CIRCUIT

PRECEDENT, LATER OVERRULED, IT IS A

POOR VEHICLE FOR CRAFTING BROAD RULES

ABOUT WHEN EQUITABLE TOLLING CAN

II Aiea seisasitndsnldesaibdoanisexeidanasssdpeomeusoeaenaitcamiion peenewen 17

tit

IV. THE STATE NEVER RAISED THE ISSUE OF

WHETHER 28 US.C. §2244(d) CAN BE

EQUITABLY TOLLED IN THE LOWER COURTG............ 17

I PRP sissies satires ier eros res iehedoncdaldcguaneiobanoaeasdiwsgncae aeielacgin ono nde 20

1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Baker v. Horn, 383 F. Supp.2d 720 (E.D. Pa. 2005)... sesssessssessessessescseaneees 12

Banks v. Horn, 27\ F.3d 527 (3d Cir. 2001), rev'd on other grounds,

BOGE ¥. Bante, FAL EB AO IOI) ia ossccicsicc secs ssssiconcsninoesnesonaronts 11,12

Burger v. Scott, 317 F.3d 1133 (10th Cir. 2003) .....ccsccscsssssssessssssesessesseseeeesee 14

Calderon v. United States District Court (Kelly), 163 F.3d 530 (9th

Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 526 U.S. 1060 (1999), overruled on

other grounds, Woodford v. Garceau, 538 U.S. 202 (2003)..........ccee 9

Corjasso v. Ayers, 278 F.3d 874 (9th Cir. 2002)... cece seseeeeeseseeseeeeeeeees 9,14

Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36 (2004)... ssssscssssssesssessersessssesssecsessees 4

De Jesus v. Miller, 215 F. Supp. 2d 410 (S.D.N.Y. 2002) 0... ceceeeeeteteteeeeeeee 12

Dictado v. DuCharme, 244 F.3d 724 (9th Cir. 2001)... cceceeeceeseseeeeseerens passim

Een oT FI ic BF a Wives ies vseshinchs binbldics pec datguorsurtenlesvasintio 12

Espinoza-Matthews v. California, 432 F.3d 1021 (9th Cir. 2005),

enna, BITE TIS, Aaa, TES I iin veisesnsecsiorrincavicninstrcicnci convene 9

Fahy v. Horn, 240 F.3d 239 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 534 U.S. 944

RIE LO RRR Ciencia ee es We eon cette a, 1]

Griffin v. Rogers, 399 F.3d 626 (6th Cir. 2005)...............eccscscssssesececesersreeneeess 12

In re the Personal Restraint of Hankerson, 149 Wash.2d 695, 72 P.3d

PE Belek igs icici escbhiaccnichahbsndec Bhcalnslcicceistecmiche and Pe a d

In re Wilson, 442 F.3d 872 (3th Cir. 2006) 00.0... cecececceseseeeesees RSS Brew 12

Keenan v. Bagley, 400 F.3d 417 (6th Cir. 2005) oo. ctccececeeeeeeesees 10

Knight v. Schofield, 292 F.3d 709 (11th Cir 2002)... essscsccnessecscensarsenees 14

Brame 6. Fiera, S99 US. 327 (2007) 0. .ciseccacesesecscvseecssescesesceseesererecwocns 18

Miles v. Prunty, 187 F.3d 1104 (9th Cir. 1999).......0.......sscscsssssscsceseresseessecersenees 13

Miller v. Collins, 305 F.3d 491 (6th Cir. 2002)...........:cscsscessssssesesesserssececscneereees 1]

New Hampshire v. Maine, 532 U.S. 742 (2001)...........csssecssseeesseeeescseeeeseneenees 19

Pace v. DiGuglielmo, 544 U.S. 408 (2005), 00... ceecee tees eteeseeseseeeeeeees 1, 5, 6, 15

a | | ce 14,15

Prieto v. Quarterman, 456 F.3d 511 (Sth Cir. 2006)... eeeceeeeeeeeeeteeeeeeeeetenees 10

I I OD sec csaensnccnssevecsesevscdecserecensrs 15, 16

NS : EEE 16

State v. Sawyer, 1999 Wash. App. LEXIS 1487 (1999), review

Ce EE SOL. 3

State v. Thomas, 150 Wash. 2d 821, 83 P.3d 970 (2004)... eceeeeeteteseeeeees 3

eR | ) rr 6

York v. Galetka, 314 F.3d 522 (10th Cir. 2003).......... Seiciiinahtebedaiacaninsiaae 10

STATUTES

EES ee

me Uoe. § 274................ CAE Ts Hates See a TR NEL RS NO CRORE! passim

Neen ee cusdaiausiiiavavevaveeuvevueuwmacvomees a el

vi

Neen dias ss vedvvveadgotouesusvedatasesecans |

JURISDICTION

The Ninth Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals issued its opinion on February

8, 2008. Pet. App. la-13a. Its order denying the Petition for Rehearing En

Banc was filed on March 14, 2008. Pet. App. 14a. This Court extended the

time for filing the petition for writ of certiorari until July 14, 2008. The state’s

petition was timely filed under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. OVERVIEW OF STATE COURT TRIAL

Jerry Harris, along with codefendants Michael Sawyer and Brett

Johnson, was charged with aggravated murder in the first degrec, contrary to

Wash. Rev. Code 10.95.020 and 9A.32.030, in October of 1995. They were

charged in the alternative with felony murder in the first degree. Following

a jury trial, Harris was found guilty of aggravated murder in the first degree;

Sawyer was found guilty of first-degree felony murder; and special verdicts

were entered finding each was armed with a deadly weapon. Harris was

sentenced to life in prison without possibility of parole.

There was, however, no conclusive testimony or finding about which

defendant was the one who premeditated, or pulled the trigger, or undertook

the aggravating factors that elevated this from first degree murder

(punishable by a term of years) to aggravated murder (punishable by lite

without possibility of parole). Instead, the evidence placed both Mr. Harris

and a codefendant at the scene of the murder, from which a gunshot was

heard, by a witness who gave a description of two assailants — a description

that changed over time. The evidence also showed that the car in which Mr.

Harris and the two codefendants were arrested contained personal property

of the deceased, thus providing circumstantial evidence of a robbery motive

by at least one of those men.

The admissible evidence thus contained nothing directly proving that

Mr. Harris premeditated or shot victim Renee Vivas, that he robbed Mr.

Vivas {one aggravating factor elevating the murder to aggravated murder

and life without parole) or that he planned witness or crime concealment (the

other aggravating factor).

The critical direct evidence that Mr. Harris premeditated and

committed the murder, and that he was responsible for the aggravating

factors of robbery and crime or witness concealment, was out-of-court, self-

serving statements by codefendant Sawyer, to law enforcement, during

interrogation, admitted into evidence through the testimony of law

enforcement witnesses. Mr. Harris’ : ibeas petition therefore presented

constitutional issues concerning the admission of those out-of-court,

testimonial, declarations of non-testifying codefendant Sawyer which

minimized his own involvement and inculpated Mr. Harris, along with other

claims.

II. DIRECT APPEAL

Mr. Harris’ conviction was affirmed on direct appeal. State v.

Sawyer, 1999 Wash. App. LEXIS 1487 (1999), review denied, 2000 Wash.

LEXIS 152 (2000) (Pet. App. 31a).

Hil. STATE POST-CONVICTION PROCEEDINGS AND

FACTS RELEVANT TO EQUITABLE TOLLING

Mr. Harris then filed a timely, first, personal restraint petition or PRP

on February 20, 2001. It was denied by the Court of Appeals in CA No.

48450-8-I on August 25, 2003. Pet. App. 32a-58a. | His Motion for

Discretionary Review was denied in Wash. S. Ct. No. 74514-5 on December

8, 2003. Pet. App. 59a-62a. A Motion to Modify was denied on February 4,

2004. Pet. App. 63a. A key reason for the denial of relief on the claims

conceming accomplice liability for aggravating factors was that any jury

instruction error on these factors was harmless.

Immediately before the February 4, 2004, denial of relief, however,

the state Supreme Court granted relief on a similar jury instruction claim and

ruled that prejudice from such an error must be presumed when (as in this

case) it affects aggravating factors. Since that decision (State v. Thomas,

130 Wash.2d $21, 83 P.3d 970 (2004)) was so new, it had not been put in

any of the briefing in Mr. Harris’ case. A new PRP was therefore filed (on

March 4, 2004) to bring that new Thomas decision to the state Supreme

Court’s attention. Mr. Harris combined his Thomas argument with claims

arising under Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36 (2004). That PRP was

dismissed as “mixed” on July 27, 2004, for containing both timely and

untimely claims (Pet. App. 64a-66a) — a dismissal that does not preclude

refiling under Washington law. Jn re the Personal Restraint of Hankerson,

149 Wn.2d 695, 72 P.3d 703 (2003).

Mr. Harris therefore filed a third PRP presenting only the Thomas

issue, to avoid dismissal as a “mixed” petition. It was filed on October 11,

2004; it was denied by a Commissioner on March 14, 2005 (Pet. App. 68a);

and a Motion to Modify was denied on June 1, 2005 (Pet. App. 73a).

IV. THE HABEAS CORPUS PETITION

Mr. Harris filed his habeas petition in federal court on May 11, 2005,

in advance of the final Washington Supreme Court denial. The district court

dismissed the petition as time-barred. Pet. App. 16a. It acknowledged that

the habeas petition would have been timely under prior, controlling, Ninth

Circuit law because in Dictado y. Ducharme, 244 F.3d 724, decided in

2001, the Ninth Circuit held that successor state-court PRP’s in Washington

toll the time for filing a federal habeas petition, even if the PRP’s are later

determined to have been procedurally defective under Washington law.

Mr. Harris’ petition was clearly timely under Dictado. As the state

and the district court acknowledged, Mr. Harris filed each PRP shortly after

the previous one was denied; each PRP was based on new and controlling

law and not on authority that could have been raised earlier; and Mr. Harris

immediately filed his federal habeas corpus petition after losing on his final

state PRP — in fact, he filed a couple of weeks earlier, anticipating the final

denial, when Pace was decided. Those dates show that Mr. Harris was not

sleeping on his rights during any of the time preceding his federal filing.

This Court, however, overruled Dictado four years after it was

decided in Pace v. DiGuglielmo, 544 U.S. 408, decided in 2005. In Pace,

this Court ruled for the first time that successor state post-conviction petitions

which are later determined to have been untimely filed do not toll the time for

filing a federal habeas corpus petition under § 2244(d\(2).

In Mr. Harris’ case, the district court ruled that statutory tolling was

therefore unavailable. That much of its decision was correct under Puce.

It continued, however, that although the equitable tolling doctrine

applied, Mr. Harris could not meet its prerequisites. It reasoned that reliance

upon controlling authority did not make it impossible for Mr. Harris to file

earlier, even though it recognized that Mr. Harris’ counsel acted

“presumably in reliance on precedent at that time.” The district court

explained that reliance on controlling Ninth Circuit authority does not

warrant equitable tolling:

Petitioner Harris appeals from a denial of his claims as

time-barred, a procedural ground. The court interprets Harris’

pleadings as acknowledging that the claims are barred under

Pace v. DiGuglielmo, 544 U.S. 408 (2005), whereas they would

have been timely under the prior Ninth Circuit authority.

Dictado v. Ducharme, 244 F.3d 724 (9" Cir. 2001).

Petitioner Harris asks the court to hold that he is entitled

to equitable tolling of the statute of limitations found in the

AEDPA due to the change in controlling authority. While the

court recognizes the harshness of the result, the situation before

the court does not meet the high burden for equitable tolling

established by the Ninth Circuit. Spitsyn v. Moore, 345 F.3d

796, 799 (9"" Cir. 2003). Petitioner Harris could have filed a

timely petition but did not presumably in reliance on precedent

at the time. This does not meet the “impossibility test”

established in equitable tolling cases. ...

+

Order Denying Certificate of Appealibility, pp. 2-3 (emphasis added).

As the emphasized material shows, there is no factual dispute here.

The district court acknowledged — and the state has never disputed — that the

“delay” in filing was due to reliance upon controlling Ninth Circuit

precedent.

The Ninth Circuit reversed. Pet. App. la-13a. It ruled that the time

for filing Mr. Harris’ habeas corpus petition should be equitably tolled for

the period of counsel’s reliance upon then-controlling Ninth Circuit

authority, to Mr. Harris’ detriment.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

As the state candidly admits in its petition, there is no conflict in the

circuits over whether the time for filing a habeas corpus petition under 28

U.S.C. § 2254 is subject to equitable tolling. All the circuits that have

addressed the issue agree that the one-year time limit established in § 2244(d)

is Subject to equitable tolling. Section I.

In addition, there is no conflict in the circurts over whether facts similar

to the ones presented here meet even the strictest prerequisites to equitable

tolling. The Circuit Courts of Appeals have consistently held that reliance

upon a controlling court order — or even a confusing court order, or advice

from court personnel — satisfies the prerequisites to application of equitable

tolling. The state has identified no dispute on this point, either. Section II.

Reliance to a petitioner’s detriment on controlling circuit authority that

iS later overruled ts a fairly rare circumstance. To the extent the state seeks

review to establish general guidelines for equitable tolling, it has chosen a poor

dil Any decision about the scope of equitable tolling in this case would

probably have limited applicability to the run of the mill tolling claims about

which the state is seeking guidance. Section IIL.

Finally, the state never raised the issue of whether 28 U.S.C. 9

2244(d)’s one-year time limit is even subject to equitable tolling in the district

court or the Ninth Circuit. It took the opposite position there; it argued that the

statute could be equitably tolled, but the prerequisites to tolling were not met

in this case. The state should be judicially estopped from relying upon a.

contrary argument to gain review in this Court. Section IV.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. THERE IS NO CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS OVER

WHETHER THE TIME FOR FILING A HABEAS

PETITION UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 2244 CAN BE

EQUITABLY TOLLED — ALL CIRCUITS AGREE THAT

IT CAN.

There is no conflict in the circuits over whether the time for filing a 28

U.S.C. § 2254 habeas corpus petition can be equitably tolled. All eleven

circuits that have considered the question agree that the one year time limit

established by 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d) establishes a statute of limitations tnat is

subject to equitable tolling. In fact, the state itself has collected those cases.

Pet. at 16-18 (collecting cases from the First, Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth,

Sixth, Seventh, £igath, Ninth, Tenth, and Eleventh Circuits which have held

that this statute of limitations is subject to equitable tolling, along with a

decision from the D.C. Circuit acknowledging these holdings but declining

to reach the issue).

li. THERE IS NO CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS OVER

WHETHER FACTS SIMILAR TO THESE JUSTIFY

EQUITABLE TOLLING ~—- ALL CIRCUITS AGREE

THAT IT CAN.

There is not even any conflict in the circuits over whether facts similar

to the ones presented here — reliance on the order of a court — should justify

equitable tolling. The Ninth Circuit has silos held that reliance upon a

controlling court order in determining when a habeas petition should be filed

does justify equitable tolling. Espinoza-Matthews v. California, 432 F.3d

1021, 1026 n.5 (9" Cir. 2005), amended, 2002 U.S. App. LEXIS 2169

(applying equitable tolling to habeas filing deadline); Corjasso v. Ayers, 278

F.3d 874, 877-78 (9"" Cir. 2002) (applying equitable tolling to habeas filing

deadline; citing other cases in which such tolling of the habeas deadline was

granted); Calderon v. United States District Court (Kelly), 163 F.3d 530,

541 (9" Cir. 1998) (en banc) (district court’s order that “stay of the

proceedings prevented [petitioner's] counsel from filing a habeas petition

and, in itself, justifies equitable tolling” was not clearly erroneous but

“clearly correct”), cert. denied, 526 U.S. 1060 (1999), overruled on other

grounds, Woodford v. Garceau, 538 U.S. 202 (2003).

The other circuit courts have aisu granted equitable tolling to AEDPA

b.ucas petitioners where, as here, the petitioner relied to his detriment upon

representations, actions, or decisions, of the courts, concerning the time for

10

filing in federal court. E.g., Prieto v. Quarterman, 456 F.3d 511, 514-16 (5

Cir. 2006) (“Although AEDPA applied to Prieto’s application, the district

court’s order granting him additional time for the express purpose of filing

his petition at a later date was crucially misleading. Prieto relied on the

district court's order in good faith and to his detriment when he filed his

petition. As Prieto submitted his petition within the time expressly allowed

him by the district court, he is entitled to equitable tolling.”); Keenan v.

Bagley, 400 F.3d 417, 421 (6" Cir. 2005) (remanding for district court to

determine whether petitioner “reasonably viewed the Ohio Supreme Court’s

order as granting him extra time to properly file a petition for state

postconviction relief’ and whether he reasonably “assumed that any time

spent pursuing this avenue would toll his federal statute of limitations”).

The circuit courts have granted equitable tolling to AEDPA habeas

petitioners even where the law about the time for filing upon which they

relied was unsettled or unclear, rather than controlling and clear (as it was in

this case). E.g., York v. Galetka, 314 F.3d 522, 528 (10" Cir. 2003) (“at the

time York filed his third petition, the law in this circuit was unsettled on the

issue [of whether a habeas petition is ‘other collateral review’ that tolls

AEDPA time limit], and the statu. 1s ambiguous .... We conclude that the

district court should have applied equitable tolling to relieve York of the

II

one-year statute of limitations.”); Miller v. Collins, 305 F.3d 491, 496 (6"

Cir. 2002) (“In light of Miller’s lack of notice [from state court that relief

was denied], his diligence *: pursuing his claims, and the State of Ohio’s

failure to argue that it will be prejudiced if this limited period of time is

tolled, we hold that the section 2244 one-year statute of limitations was

[equitably] tolled.”); Fahy v. Horn, 240 F.3d 239, 245 (3d Cir.) (“applicable

law is so confounding and unsettled”; “When state law is unclear regarding

the operation of a procedural filing requirement, the petitioner files in state

court because of his or her reasonable belief that a § 2244 petition would be

dismissed as unexhausted, and the state petition is ultimately denied on these

grounds, then it would be unfair not to tol! the statute of limitations.”), cert.

denied, 534 U.S. 944 (2001).

The Third Circuit described the predicament faced by habeas

petitioners trying to timely file, in compliance with controlling law, in a

similar situation, in Banks v. Horn, 271 F.3d 527, 534 (3d Cir. 2001), rev ‘d

on other grounds, Beard v. Band, 542 U.S. 406 (2004). It explained, “In

Fahy v. Horn, we described the state of the [post-conviction filing deadline]

law at the time ... when Banks's petition was pending, as ‘inhibitively

opaque. ... We noted that in Banks, we had required Banks to return to state

court because even we believed the relaxed waiver rule might well apply.

12

How can we expect Banks to have predicted the ultimate ruling of the

Pennsylvania Supreme Court when we could not?” Id. See also Baker v.

Horn, 383 F. Supp.2d 720, 745 (E.D. Pa. 2005) (“Baker sought to present

his claims to the Pennsylvania courts at a time when Pennsylvania law

regarding acceptance of otherwise untimely petitions was ‘inhibitively

opaque’ ... Therefore, Baker exercised even greater diligence ... and meets

the ‘reasonable diligence’ requirement of equitable tolling.”). Accord

Griffin v. Rogers, 399 F.3d 626 (6" Cir. 2005).

In fact, one district court granted equitable tolling in virtually identical

circumstances to those presented here — the filing of a habeas petition that

would have been timely under circuit precedent but, under 2 new Supreme

Court case decided thereafter, became untimely. The district court ruled that

under controlling Second Circuit law, a prior habeas corpus petition had

tolled the time for filing a second habeas petition. But a new Supreme Court

decision — Duncan v. Walker, 533 U.S. 167 (2001) - effectively overruled

that circuit precedent. The district court ruled that the Duncan case

constituted an “extraordinary circumstance[]” warranting equitable tolling.

De Jesus v. Miller, 215 F. Supp.2d 410, 412-13 (S.D.N.Y. 2002).

The court came to essentially the same conclusion in /n re Wilson,

442 F.3d 872 (5" Cir. 2006). In that case, the Fifth Circuit applied equitable

13

tolling to extend the § 2244(d) filing period because controlling authority in

the Circuit (there, the “two-forum” rule) led petitioners and counsel to delay

federal habeas filing until state post-conviction was completed. That is the

same thing that happened to Mr. Harris: controlling authority in the Ninth

Circuit - Dictado — led petitioner and counsel to delay federal habeas filing

until state post-conviction was completed. And there as here, the petitioner

exercised diligence in meeting what he thought was the controlling deadline,

by filing quickly in federal court once his state post-conviction claims were

finished.

At least one court has even granted equitable tolling to a habeas

petitioner due to justifiable and detrimental reliance upon prison authoritics,

not just courts. Miles v. Prunty, 187 F.3d 1104, 1107 (9" Cir. 1999) (“Miles

contends the doctrine of equitable tolling precludes a finding that hts habeas

petition was time-barred. We agree ... as an incarcerated pro se litigant,

Miles depended on prison authorities to draw on his trust account and to

prepare a check for the filing fee ... [and to mail it with the petition]. Once

Miles made his request, any delay on the part of prison officials ... was not

within Miles’ control.”).

Similarly, the circutt courts have granted equitable tolling where

petitioners reasonably relied to their detriment on actions of court personnel.

14

See Burger v. Scott, 317 F.3d 1133, 1143 (10" Cir. 2003) (granting equitable

tolling where evidence showed state court had received state postconviction

document but not stamped it filed for four months); Knight v. Schofield, 292

F.3d 709, 709-10 (11" Cir 2002) (granting equitable tolling where prisoner

was assured by “Georgia Supreme Court Clerk ... that he would be notified

as soon as a decision was made,” but was not”); Corjasso v. Ayers, 278 F.3d

874, 878-90 (granting equitable tolling because of delay caused by district

court clerk’s office mishandling of prisoner’s pro se papers).

There is simply no conflict in the circuits over whether equitable

tolling applies to facts like those in Mr. Harris’ case, that is, where the

petitioner relies to his detriment on a controlling court order or decision.

The circuits that have considered the issue hold that it does support such

tolling. There is not even any conflict in the circuits over whether equitable

tolling applies to petitioner's reliance upon confusing law, or even

seemingly controlling pronouncements by non-judicial personnel such as

prison officials and court clerks. Again, the circuits that have considered the

issue hold that it does.

Even this Court has recognized that habeas petitioners may be entitled

to equitable tolling if they reiv to their detriment upon a court decision. In

Pliler v. Ford, $42 U.S. 225, 234 (2004), this Court remanded to the Ninth

15

Circuit for a determination of whether its “concern that respondent had been

affirmatively misled” by a magistrate judge warranted equitable tolling of

the statute of limitations. Id., 542 U.S. at 235 (O’Connor, J., concurring) (“if

the petitioner is affirmatively misled ... by the court or the State ...,

equitable tolling might well be appropriate”); id. (Stevens, J., concurring in

judgment) (endorsing majority’s approach of remanding to the Ninth Circuit

to determine the propriety of equitable tolling).

The state’s suggestion (Pet., at 26) that Mr. Harris could have easily

filed his habeas petition while continuing his state post-conviction litigation by

using the federal “stay and abey” procedure is incorrect. That option was not

as Clearly available to Mr. Harris as the state suggests. Actually, this Court’s

decision directing those in danger of filing their federal habeas petitions too

late, because of continuing state post-conviction litigation, to file protective

habeas petitions before the conclusion of the state court litigation, was Pace v.

DiGuglielmo itseli. But that was decided on April 27, 2005, well after Mr.

Harris and counsel had already made the decision to follow existing Ninth

Circuit precedent by filing only in state court.

Pace in tum cited to Rhines v. Weber, 544 U.S. 269 (2005), for the

availability of the “stay and abey” procedure. Pace, 544 U.S. at 416. But this

Court decided Rimes on March 30, 2005, also well after the decision to rely

16

on existing Ninth Circuit precedent by filing only in state court had been made

in Mr. Harris’ case.

This 1s critical, because Rhines v. Weber changed Supreme Court law on

this point. Prior to that decision, this Court barred the “stay and abey”

procedure that Rhines v. Weber adopted. As this Court explained of that

history in Rhines v. Weber itself:

Fourteen years before Congress enacted AEDPA, we

held in Rose v. Lundy, 455 U.S. 509 ... (1982), that federal

district courts may not adjudicate mixed petitions for habeas

corpus, that is, petitions containing both exhausted and

unexhausted claims. We reasoned that the interests of comity

and federalism dictate that state courts must have the first

opportunity to decide a petitioner’s claims. /d., at 518-519 ...

Accordingly, we imposed a requirement of “total

exhaustion” and directed federal courts to effectuate that

requirement by dismissing mixed petitions without prejudice

and allowing petitioners to return to state court to present the

unexhausted claims to that court in the first instance. /d., at 522

Rhines v. Weber, 544 U.S. 269, 273-74 (emphasis added).

The argument that Mr. Harris should have availed himself of the benefit

of a “stay and abey” procedure that this Court had not yet endorsed for people

in his situation — a procedure barred to him by then-existing Supreme Court

precedent, i.e, Rose v. Lundy, 455 U.S. 509 - must theretore fail. A habeas

petitioner cannot de expected to be prescient enough to take advantage of a

tiling procedure that was blocked by controlling precedent at the time he filed

17

his state post-conviction petition (and filed it in reliance upon existing circuit

court authority).

Ill. THIS CASE RESTS ON’ THE PECULIAR

CIRCUMSTANCE OF RELIANCE ON CIRCUIT

PRECEDENT, LATER OVERRULED; IT IS A POOR

VEHICLE FOR CRAFTING BROAD RULES ABOUT

WHEN EQUITABLE TOLLING CAN APPLY.

The state argues that the petition should be granted to offer the lower

courts broad guidance about whether equitable tolling applies to the habeas

corpus statute of limitations and, if so, in what circumstances. Pet., at 14-15.

But the Court would never get to that question in this case. The facts

of this case fall way over on the justiZiable end of the equitable tolling

spectrum. As discussed above, all the circuit courts that have considered

whether equitable tolling should apply to facts like these — reliance upon a

controlling court decision or order — have ruled that the answer is yes. If the

state is looking for guidance about how the courts should proceed in the

close cases, which are bogged down in a fact-intensive record, see Pet. at 14-

15, a decision in this case will not help.

IV. THE STATE NEVER RAISED THE ISSUE OF

WHETHER 28 U.S.C. §2244(d) CAN BE EQUITABLY

POLLED IN THE LOWER COURTS.

Finally, the issue of whether § 2244(d)’s time limit can be equitably

tolled is not well developed in this case, because the state never raised that

18

issue in the courts below. Instead, it argued that the statute could be

equitably tolled, but only when circumstances beyond the petitioner’s

control made it “impossible” to file on time.

The state took this position in the Ninth Circuit. £.g., Response, p. 15

(“The statute of limitations is subject to equitable tolling ...”); Response, p.

16 (“habeas petition is untimely ... unless Mr. Harris can demonstrate he is

entitled to either statutory tolling or equitable tolling under the federal

statute of limitations”); Response, p. 19 (“Thus, Mr. Harris’ federal habeas

petition must be dismissed unless he is entitled to further tolling under

equitable tolling principles. But no valid grounds for equitable tolling are

present in Mr. Harris’ case.”); Response, p. 20 (“statute of limitations may

be tolled where extraordinary circumstances beyond a petitioner's control

made it impossible ... to file a petition on time”) (emphasis added);

Response, p. 24 (“He cannot show that the announcement of Pace

constituted an external circumstance which made it impossible for him to

file a timely habeas petition.”) (emphasis added).'

"In fact, the state even acknowledged in the court below that this Court's

recent decision on equitable tolling of the AEDPA statute of limitations

established two prerequisites to equitable tolling: diligence in pursuing

rights and an extraordinary circumstance standing in the way of filing.

Response, p. 26 (discussing Lawrence v. Florida, $49 U.S. 327 (2007). The

state took the position that those two prerequisites to equitable tolling were

not satisfied in this case. Its briefs do not contain the argument that the

19

The state took the same position in the district court. Motion to

Dismiss p., 16 (“The statute of limitations is subject to equitable tolling

...”), id., p. 16 (“his habeas petition is untimely ... unless Mr. Harris can

demonstrate he is entitled to either statutory tolling or equitable tolling ....”);

id., p. 19 (“no grounds for equitable tolling are present in Mr. Harris’ case”).

The state never raised the argument that equitable tolling was

completely unavailable in either court below. It acknowledged that the one-

year time limit was subject to equitable tolling, as the quotes above show.

The state consistently argued, instead, that Mr. Harris’ case did not meet the

prerequisites to equitable tolling established by this Court and by the Ninth

Circuit.”

The state is switching positions. That change in position over the

course of this litigation in order to gain a tactical advantage in this Court

should be rejected on the ground of judicial estoppel. New Hampshire v.

Maine, 532 U.S. 742, 749 (2001) (“judicial estoppel” prevents party from

AEDPA statute of limitations cannot be equitably tolled at all.

* In addition, instead of arguing that the statute of limitations could not be

equitable tolied, the state argued (in part) to the courts below that even under

Dictado v. Ducharme, “his habeas petition would still clearly [have] been

time-parred by the one-year federal statute of limitations.” Response Brief,

p. 10. See also Response Brief pp. 11-14, pursuing this argument. The state

had their dates wrong, though, a matter that they conceded in a document

filed with the Ninth Circuit shortly before oral argument.

prevailing in one phase of a case on one argument and then relying on a

contradictory argument to prevail in a later phase.).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of certiorari should be

denied.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED this day of September, 2008.

LAW OFFICES OF SHERYL GORDON MCCLOUD

Sheryl Gordon McCloud

Counsel of Record for Mr. Harris

710 Cherry St.

Seattle, WA 98104-1925

(206) 224-8777

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — Brunson v. Harris (No. 08-76) | Frix